Opposition Brief — Cavel International, Inc. v. Madigan (No. 07-962)

Supreme Court brief2007

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

45 ; Le

!

MAY 1 § 2008

®D OFFICE OF THE CLERK

SUPREME CO

No. 07-962 COURT, U.S.

In the

Supreme Court of the United States

CAVEL INTERNATIONAL, INC., ET AL., PETITIONERS,

v.

LISA MADIGAN, ATTORNEY GENERAL OF ILLINOIS;

RON MATEKAITIS, DEKALB COUNTY STATE’S ATTORNEY;

AND TOM JENNINGS, ACTING DIRECTOR,

ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, RESPONDENTS.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Seventh Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

RON MATEKAITIS LISA MADIGAN

DeKalb County Attorney General of Illinois

State’s Attorney MICHAEL A. SCODRO

JOHN FARRELL Solicitor General

Assistant State’s Attorney Mary E. WELSH*

200 North Main Street Assistant Attorney General i

Sycamore, Illinois 60178 100 West Randolph Street he

(815) 895-7164 Chicago, Illinois 60601

(312) 814-2106

*Counsel of Record

Counsel for Respondents

i

QUESTION PRESENTED

A 2007 amendment to the Illinois Horse Meat Act

(the “Amendment”) prohibits the possession and sale of

horse meat for human consumption, as well as its

import into (and export from) Illinois and the slaughter

\ of horses for this purpose. 225 ILCS 635/1.5 (2007).

The question this case presents is:

Whether the Seventh Circuit correctly held that

petitioners failed to present evidence that the

Amendment violates the Foreign Commerce Clause by

(a) discriminating facially or in effect against foreign

commerce in horse meat for human consumption,

lacking any rational basis, or posing more than a

“slight” burden on foreign commerce that is “clearly

excessive” in relation to the State’s legitimate and

substantial interests, and (b) impairing the national

government’s ability to speak with one voice about

foreign commerce in horse meat for human

consumption.

ra

ee |

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTION PRESENTED .................... i

py Re tg yg yO |. ra v

EMEEE BEM AIEEWOLLION 6 occ ccc ccc eee wines 1

ae soe ko iid a died os wc aebaidy a eevee 3

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION .... 10

I. The Seventh Circuit's Opinion Is Correct,

Breaks No New Ground, and Is Fully

Consistent with This and Other Courts’

Commerce Clause Jurisprudence .......... 11

A. Pike, Japan Line, and Their Progeny

Have Created and Refined the

Analytical Framework for Foreign

Commerce Clause Claims .............. 12

B. The Seventh Circuit Applied These

Well-Established Principles to the

Evidentiary Record Developed Below .... 13

ili

. The Seventh Circuit’s Decision

That the Amendment Does Not

Facially Discriminate Against

Foreign Commerce in Horse

Meat Is Fully Consistent with

Hughes, Natsios, and

MO 5 oo 5 SES bee es

. The Seventh Circuit Applied

Established Law in Determining

That the Amendment Does Not

Discriminate in Effect ...........

. The Purported Confusion § or

Circuit Split Concerning

Application of the Rational Basis

ee ae Te ee ce cs ox

. The Purported Circuit Split

Involving the Pike Balancing

Test Is Illusory and Would Not

Be Implicated by This Case in

Pa PE os kh hack ee es

. There Is No Confusion or Circuit

Split About Japan Line’s “One

REE se ne a hs yoo

. Japan Line Requires No

Additional Articulation ..........

II. Petitioners’ Amici May Neither Supplement

the Evidence in the Record Nor Raise Issues

the Petition Does Not

iv

III. This Case Is Not a Proper Vehicle for

Resolving the Questions the Petition

I ak 6 kaa awe Ee 0 EKO oe UTG SED 35

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

Am. Trucking Ass’ns v. Mich. Pub. Serv. Comm'n,

545 U8. S88 C006) 5 oie 17, 23, 28

Antilles Cement Corp. v. Acevedo Vila,

406 F.3a 4) (ist Cir, 9006)... 2. ew 30

Bankers Life & Cas. Co. v. Crenshaw,

ME eR ed CDG Ag eo kk Oe cee ceases 21

Barclays Bank PLC v. Franchise Tax Bd.,

Ee Be POE) icc cee cceeees 1, 26, 28

Champion v. Ames,

REI AMID 5 bok coed see eee ad ceases 18

Chem. Waste Mgmt., Inc. v. Hunt,

BOG Tie re Che a eke ews 13,14, 15, 16

City of Cleburne v. Cleburne Living Ctr., Inc.,

re re I ooo bee hehe ee ba oe 19

Container Corp. of Am. v. Franchise Tax Bd.,

on SMe ga” | re 13, 26, 27

Corus Staal BV v. United States,

305 F.3d 1343 (Fed. Cir. 2005). °*........... 34

Craig v. Boren, 429 U.S. 190 (1976) ............ 19

Bae

bio

ge

te

.

vi

Crosby v. Nat'l Foreign Trade Council,

ek Oe ee Pe eer eee 33

CTS Corp. v. Dynamics Corp. of Am.,

(AG. OO G08. ................ SA 21

Delta Airlines, Inc. v. August,

450 U.S. 346 (1981) ........ fois ei a aw eats 32

Empacadora de Carnes de Fresnillo,

S.A. de C.V. v. Curry,476 F.3d 326 (5th Cir.),

cert. denied, 127 S. Ct. 2443 (2007) ..... passim

Exxon Corp. v. Governor of Md.,

ee te A a os wa sb ese cn es 12,17

F.C.C. v. Beach Commce'ns,

ee ee ae 20

Hartford Enters., Inc. v. Coty,

529 F. Supp. 2d 95 (D. Me. 2008)........... 31

Hughes v. Oklahoma,

OBR So Sa) oy) ae 14, 15, 19, 30

Humane Soc’y of the United States v. Johanns,

No. 06-625 (D.D.C., March 28, 2007),

on appeal sub nom.

Humane Soc’y of the United States v.

Cavel Int7, Inc., No. 07-5120

(D.C. Cir., March 31, 2008) ..... 3, 9, 26, 27, 35

ITC Ltd. v. Punchgini, Inc.,

462 F.3d 136 Ga Cir. 2007) .......2..2.0.. 33

Vii

Japan Line, Ltd. v. County of Los Angeles,

BGT 5i 50 MR MMOOE 6a vs onc ee kkce cos passim

Kamen v. Kemper Fin. Servs., Inc.,

er ns so a ed ce 32

K.S.B. Tech. Sales uv. N. Jersey Dist. Water Supply 7

Comm’n,381 A.2d 774 (N.J. 1977) .......... 29

Medellin v. Texas, 128 S. Ct. 13846 (2008) ....... 33

Nat Foreign Trade Council v. Natsios,

181 F.3d 38 (1st Cir. 1999), affd on other

grounds sub nom. Crosby v. Nat'l Foreign

Trade Council, 531 U.S. 363 (2000) .... 1, 15, 16

Nat'l Solid Wastes Mgmt. Ass’n v. Charter

County of Wayne, 303 F. Supp. 2d 835

TR, I eco eas rs ce ee ess 29

Nev. Dep't of Human Res. v. Hibbs

Se PE GU na kb S er Se becuse ss aes 21

Nicchia v. New York,

Se So be be eae ek eee 18

Nordlinger v. Hahn,

I ng Sy ale n'y boo 21

Norfolk S. Corp. v. Oberly,

822 F.2d 388 (Sd Cir. 1987) ............ 29, 30

NSK Ltd. v. United States,

510 F.3d 13768 (Ped. Cir. 2007) ............. 34

Vili

Or. Waste Sys., Inc. v. Dep’t of Envtl. Quality of Or.,

OAS BF ee Cae oe i ee eae Es 12

Paris Adult Theater I v. Slaton,

Gi Re OD gf hak os oe kw evade eek 18

Pike v. Bruce Church, Inc.,

OT Maite BOP EAOTUD clk ce ewe wn passim

South Dakota v. Bourland,

ee Ek hk ie ae eka ce wes 34

Thompson v. W. States Med. Ctr.,

Se ari ee CE a ocd ede be ee eees 21

United Haulers Ass’n, Inc. v. Oneida-Herkimer

Solid Waste Mgmt. Auth.,

EBT Pe ee OE ko a a ee hee 12

United States v. Clark,

435 F.3d 1100 (9th Cir. 2006) ............. 30

United States Dep't of Agric. v. Moreno,

MiB TS. BRS Gree ok se eh eS 19

United States R.R. Ret. Bd. v. Fritz,

S60 TB WO Clee 5 ho ko hae eee ee 21

ix

Constitutional Provisions, Statutes, and Rules:

ee ETE GED bc cccccsconedas passim

Consol. Appropriations Act, 2008, Pub. L. 110-161,

ge ie 3, 10, 27

PURI PE EOE boc ciccccsaccccscee 2, 31

rm rane a 34

os kak eeh des kha eae oe 32-33

PRET OEE A 34

EE Dns", ks od ae sae.p ede aen eeee 34

eRe MEME 5 bo cc cec de rnceceivianaee’s 4

EE 95s 5d. obo wap p0ebsas0cd ed 6 baad 27

TO. gs co cccedccsdtcteverenads 34

i Ses es EEE bc dire veescesecenaew¥ een 5

225 ILCS 6356/1 - 635/18 (2007) ................ 3

225 ILCS 635/1.5 (2007) .............06.-- passim

Other Authorities:

95th Gen. Assem., Trans. of House Debates,

RE, £5666 bids be eke e On ane se eeeee 4

95th Gen. Assem., Trans. of Senate Debates,

i eee Ca ain ee Pe peeks Waa oe + 0:4 4

Kenneth M. Casebeer, The Power to Regulate

‘Commerce with Foreign Nations’ in a Global

Economy and the Future of American

Democracy: An Essay,

56 U. Miami L. Rev. 25 (2001) .............. 30

Erwin Chemerinsky, Constitutional Law:

Principles and Policies (3d ed. 2006) ........ 31

Eugene Gressman, et al., Supreme Court

Practice (Oth ed. 2007) ..............5.- 9, 25

Horse Illustrated (July 2002) ................. 22

l

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Petitioners’ case failed below for want of proof.

Petitioners did not show that the Amendment's total

ban on horse meat for human consumption either

discriminates against foreign commerce facially or in

effect, or that it has no rational basis. They also failed

to present empirical evidence that the Amendment

imposes more than a “slight” burden on such

commerce, much less that this slight burden

“excessively outweighs” the State’s legitimate animal

welfare and other interests. Accordingly, the Seventh

Circuit’s rejection of petitioners’ challenge to the

Amendment was fully consistent with the Court’s

precedents, including Pike v. Bruce Church, Inc., 397

U.S. 137 (1970), and with Empacadora de Carnes de

Fresnillo, S.A. de C.V. v. Curry, 476 F.3d 326 (5th Cir.),

cert. denied, 127 S. Ct. 2443 (2007), which upheld a

similar law.

Likewise, petitioners failed to present required

evidence that the Amendment impairs the national

government's ability to “speak with one voice” about

foreign commerce in horse meat for human

consumption. Thus, the Seventh Circuit’s decision was

also fully consistent with the Court’s Foreign

Commerce Clause precedents, including Japan Line,

Ltd. v. County of Los Angeles, 441 U.S. 434 (1979), and

Barclays Bank PLC v. Franchise Tax Bd., 512 U.S. 298

(1994), as well as with NatT Foreign Trade Council v.

Natsios, 181 F.3d 38 (1st Cir. 1999), affd on other

grounds sub nom. Crosby v. Natl Foreign Trade

Council, 531 U.S. 363 (2000), which held that a state

ban on investment in Burma facially discriminated

against commerce with Burma and violated a clear

2

federal directive about commerce with that country.

Rather than creating new law, as petitioners claim, the

Seventh Circuit followed the Court’s Foreign

Commerce Clause precedents step-by-step, including

application of the rational basis standard to state laws

that do not discriminate against out-of-state commerce

facially or in effect. The Seventh Circuit’s decision is

thus a straightforward application of what petitioners

themselves call “longstanding precedents” (Pet. 4) to

the scant evidence petitioners presented at trial. And»

while petitioners attempt to create a question over

whether the Seventh Circuit allegedly came up with its

own, “inducement” rationale for the Amendment (Pet.

26-28), this was not the only (or even the primary)

rationale on which the court upheld the Amendment,

and the State’s reasons for the Amendment embodied

the court’s “inducement” rationale in any event.

The attempts by amici to inject several new issues

into this case—whether the Amendment (a) violates

the United States’ obligations under three trade

treaties; (b) unconstitutionally burdens interstate

commerce in horses as livestock; or (c) “interferes” with

enforcement of the federal Humane Methods of

Slaughter Act (7 U.S.C. §§ 1901-1907)—should be

rebuffed. Not only is an amicus prohibited from

smuggling in issues not raised in a petition, but also

these issues were not preserved below. Likewise,

Belgium’s attempt to augment the record with new,

evidence to bolster petitioners’ argument that the

Amendment'’s effect on foreign commerce in horse meat

is more than “slight” should be firmly rejected, for the

Court’s review is limited to the evidentiary record at

trial.

3

A separate and independent ground also counsels

against granting the petition. In the 2008 fiscal year,

Congress explicitly stated the federal policy toward

slaughter of horses for human consumption by refusing

to fund the United States Department of Agriculture’s

inspection regime under which horses must be

slaughtered. Consol. Appropriations Act, 2008, Pub.

L. 110-161, § 741, 121 Stat. 1844, 1881 (2007). A

federal district court enjoined the USDA’s substitute

fee-for-service inspection system (Humane Soc’y of the

United States v. Johanns, No. 06-625 (D.D.C., March

28, 2007)), and although Cavel obtained a stay of that

injunction pending its appeal, that appeal was recently

dismissed (Humane Soc’y of the United States v. Cavel

Int'l, Inc., No. 07-5120 (D.C. Cir., March 31, 2008) (per

curlam)). Cavel’s petition for rehearing en banc is

pending as of the filing of this brief. Under these

circumstances, this case presents an exceptionally poor

vehicle for resolving petitioners’ Foreign Commerce

Clause claim, because a victory would be unlikely to

have any effect whatsoever on Cavel’s operations.

For all these reasons, this Court should deny the

petition.

STATEMENT

1. In May 2007, the Illinois Horse Meat Act (225

ILCS 635/1 — 635/18 (2007)) was amended to, among

other things, prohibit the possession, sale, or purchase

in Illinois, and the export from (and import into)

Illinois, of horse meat for human consumption, as well

as slaughtering horses for this purpose. 225 ILCS

635/1.5 (2007).

4

During the legislative debates, one representative

observed that Illinois law defines horses as “companion

animals,” like dogs and cats, and stated that they

should be allowed to die of natural causes or be

euthanized, distinguishing “feed animals.” 95th Gen.

Assem., Trans. of House Debates, April 18, 2007, at

123, 133-34. He added that “[i]t doesn’t make sense” to

permit the slaughter of horses for human consumption

when consumption of the meat is banned. 7d. at 116-

17. One senator stated, “plain and simple, this is an

animal cruelty,” to permit a horse to be slaughtered for

human consumption merely because it was no longer

of economic use, emphasizing that few States permit

this practice. 95th Gen. Assem., Trans. of Senate

Debates, May 16, 2007, at 207. Another legislator

expressed concern, after the bill was passed, that

“[pjeople were selling horses not knowing that they

were being used and treated like livestock and ended

up on the slaughter room floor.” Resp. la.

2. The day after the Amendment became effective,

Cavel and some of its employees filed an eight-count

complaint against respondents, who are state and

county officials, seeking declaratory and injunctive

relief. Pet. 6-8. Among other things, petitioners

alleged that the Amendment violated the Foreign

Commerce Clause, was preempted by the Federal Meat

Inspection Act (FMIA) (21 U.S.C. §§ 601-695), and

constituted an unlawful use of police power. Pet. 8.

The district court entered a temporary restraining

order, finding that petitioners had “just cleared” the

“low threshold” of a “better than negligible chance of

succeeding” on the merits, but only on their Foreign

Commerce Clause claim. Doc. 30 at 2-4.

5

At a hearing pursuant to Civil Rule 65(a)(2),

petitioners called only one witness, Cavel’s general

manager, who stated that over 99% of Cavel’s business

is in horsemeat for human consumption, none of which

is sold in the United States. Pet. 19a-20a. He did not

know whether the United States produces even 0.8% of

the horsemeat consumed worldwide. Doc. 134 at 54.

Petitioners’ only other evidence consisted of five

exhibits. Jd. at 56-63. One was a letter to Illinois

Governor Rod Blagojevich from Belgium’s Minister of

Foreign Affairs, stating that Belgium “will be carefully

scrutinizing the compatibility of Horse [sic] Bill 1711

with international trade rules, including those existing

under the World Trade Organisation.” Resp. 4a-5a.

Another was a press release from Governor

Blagojevich, issued the day the Amendment became

effective. Resp. la-3a. A third was the federal

defendants’ one-sentence response to a court order in

Humane Society seeking their position on Cavel’s

motion to stay the injunction pending appeal, which

merely provided that defendants “support[ed] the

Motion” but gave no reason. Resp. 6a. The other two

exhibits were a 1987 document from the United States

Department of Agriculture (USDA), stating that

inspection service was granted for Cavel because a

survey of its facility indicated compliance with FMIA,

and a copy of an Illinois House of Representatives

debate on the Amendment. Doc. 134 at 56-63.

The district court entered judgment for

respondents on the three claims petitioners raised at

the hearing. Pet. 16a-40a, 41a. Relying on

Empacadora, the court first rejected petitioners’ FMIA

preemption claim, finding that the federal law

concerned pre- and post-slaughter inspection, whereas

6

the Amendment regulates which meats people may

possess or consume. Pet. 23a-27a. It also rejected

petitioners’ claim that the Amendment had no rational

basis, stressing that the rational basis test required

that the Amendment be upheld so long as there was

“any reasonably conceivable state of facts that could

provide a _ rational basis,” including “rational

speculation unsupported by evidence or empirical

data.” Pet. 37a-40a (internal quotation marks

omitted). The court found that the Illinois legislature

could have rationally concluded that a_ horse’s

temperament, agility, and wariness made it more

difficult to kill methodically than livestock, which in

turn made it inhumane to slaughter a horse before its

useful life ends and more humane to euthanise it with

drugs and then dispose of the carcass by rendering or

other means. Pet. 38a. The court further found that

the Illinois legislature could have rationally concluded

that the Amendment was a reasonable regulation of

food for human consumption, given our country’s

cultural history and views about consuming companion

animals, such as cats, dogs, and horses, unlike animals

that are raised for food. Pet. 37a-40a.

The court also rejected petitioners’ Foreign

Commerce Clause claim. Pet. 27a-37a. It first found

that the Amendment’s complete ban on horsemeat for

human consumption does not discriminate against

foreign or interstate commerce. Pet. 28a-31a. Next, it

found that the record did not include evidence the court

would need to assess whether the Amendment placed

any burden on foreign commerce in horse meat, noting

that petitioners presented no evidence of how much

Illinois horse meat Belgians consume or what

percentage of all horse meat consumed in Belgium is

7

produced in Illinois. Pet. 3la-33a. The court also

found significant that petitioners had neither proven

what percentage of the world’s horse meat supply

comes from Cavel nor quantified Cavel’s exports, either

in total or to any particular country. Pet. 33a.

Finally, the court found that petitioners failed to

prove that the Amendment impedes the federal

government’s ability to “speak with one voice” about

foreign commerce in horse meat for human

consumption, as Japan Line required, for their

evidence did not permit the court even to begin to

assess any risk of a conflict with any other country.

Pet. 32a-33a. Addressing petitioners’ only evidence on

this point, i.e., the Belgium Foreign Affairs Minister’s

letter, the court found that the “mere mention of an

intent to examine [the Amendment] does not, in and of

itself, indicate a substantial risk of [such] conflict.”

Pet. 32a. The.court also found significant petitioners’

concession that they knew of no formal or informal

action by any trading partner in response to the

Amendment. Pet. 32a.

Petitioners’ motion for an injunction pending

appeal was denied (Pet. 44a), but, over a dissent, the

Seventh Circuit granted their motion for an injunction

pending appeal (Pet. 43a-51a).

3. The Seventh Circuit unanimously affirmed the

judgment. Pet. la-15a.

Addressing petitioners’ Commerce Clause claim,

the court first held that the only provision of the

Amendment applicable to Cavel was the ban on the

slaughter of horses for human consumption, which did

not facially discriminate in favor of Illinois producers

8

or merchants. Pet. 6a-7a. Nor does the law have a

constitutionally proscribed effect on interstate

commerce, the court concluded, so long as it satisfies

the test set forth in Pike: “Where the statute regulates

evenhandedly to effectuate a legitimate local public

interest, and its effects on interstate commerce are

only incidental, it will be upheld unless the burden.

imposed on such commerce is clearly excessive in

relation to the putative local benefits.” Pet. 8a

(quoting Pike, 397 U.S. at 142) (emphasis in Cavel).

The court then concluded that petitioners’ evidence

revealed that the Amendment’s burden on commerce

was only “slight” and that “States have a legitimate

interest in prolonging the lives of animals that their

population happens to like,” citing bans on bullfights

and cockfights as well as on animal abuse and neglect.

Pet. lla. Evenif the Amendment did not in fact result

in horses living longer lives, the court continued, a

State “is permitted, within reason, to express disgust

at what people do with the dead,” such as banning the

slaughter of dogs and cats for human consumption.

Pet. 12a. The court also held that Illinois may balance

these interests against those of its residents, and may

do soa step atatime. Pet. 1la. For these reasons, the

court also concluded: that petitioners failed to prove

that the Amendment has no rational basis. Pet. 10a.

Turning to Japan Line’s analytical framework, the

court stressed that petitioners never presented

evidence of the Amendment’s effect on foreign

commerce, or even evidence of Cavel’s share of the

European market for horse meat. Pet. 13a-14a. The

court also found significant that petitioners presented

no evidence of any risk of conflict: the Belgium Foreign

9

Affairs Minister’s letter did not say that Belgium

opposed the law, and petitioners presented no evidence

of opposition by either another foreign government or

the federal government. Pet. 14a. Concluding that the

Amendment was nondiscriminatory facially and in

effect, interfered only minimally with the nation’s

foreign commerce in horse meat for human

consumption, and could not be said to lack a rational

basis, the court affirmed the judgment. Pet. 14a-15a.

No petition for rehearing was filed.

4. Meanwhile, after Congress refused to

appropriate funds for the USDA’s mandatory

inspections for horse slaughtering, the USDA enacted

regulations creating a fee-for-services inspection

program, which was enjoined in March 2007.' Humane

Soc’y of the United States, No. 06-625 (D.D.C., March

28, 2007). The federal defendants did not appeal the

injunction. Cavel, which had intervened as a

defendant in that case, did appeal, and on May 1, 2007,

the D.C. Circuit granted Cavel’s motion to stay the

injunction pending appeal, based in part on Cavel’s

assertion that it would “go out of business absent a

stay, because it will be unable to operate during the

pendency of this appeal as a result of the district

court’s order.” Humane Soc’y of the United States, No.

07-5120, 2007 WL 4723381, at *1 (D.C. Cir., May 1,

2007). Cavel’s appeal was dismissed as moot on March

31, 2008, but its petition for rehearing and rehearing

en banc is pending as of the filing of the instant brief.

' The Court may take judicial notice of these

court records. Eugene Gressman et al., Supreme Court

Practice, 727-28 (9th ed. 2007).

10

Congress again prohibited the use of federal funds

for the USDA fee-for-service inspections in the 2008

fiscal year. Consol. Appropriations Act, 2008, Pub. L.

110-161, § 741, 121 Stat. 1844, 1881 (2007). Without

these inspections, no one may slaughter horses for

human consumption in the United States.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

This case doesinot warrant Supreme Court review.

The Seventh Circuit’s decision adheres to Pike and

Japan Line and their progeny, and it breaks no new

ground. It is also fully consistent with Natsios, which

struck down a facially discriminatory statute barring

state dealings with a particular country and in direct

conflict with a clear congressional directive. Nor is this

case a vehicle for addressing alleged confusion over the

best articulation of the framework for evaluating

Foreign Commerce Clause challenges, for—despite

occasional dicta about the ongoing role of Pike and

Japan Line—the Seventh Circuit reached its

conclusions only by rigorously applying those

precedents. And there is nothing to petitioners’

complaint that the Seventh Circuit purportedly came

up with its own rationale for the Amendment, when

that was not the only rationale on which the court

relied in upholding the law, and it was embodied by

the State’s articulated reasons for the legislation in

any event.

The amici seek to add issues to the case and fill

obvious gaps in the evidentiary record, but their

belated attempts should be firmly rebuffed. And even

if those new questions—involving trade treaty

obligations, the Humane Methods of Slaughter Act,

RTP yO Pee SS ee ee ee ee Oe eee Fey eee a Le oe et ewe es pee eee eS Se eee ee a Ce wr es

1]

and interstate commerce in_ livestock—were

considered, none requires the Court’s attention.

Lastly, but critically, petitioners ask the Court to

resolve legal issues that are unlikely to have any effect

on them, given Congress’s refusal to fund USDA

inspections for horse slaughter and Cavel’s

unsuccessful litigation to defend USDA regulations

that would circumvent that refusal. Certiorari should

be denied.

I. The Seventh Circuit’s Opinion Is Correct,

Breaks No New Ground, and Is Fully

Consistent with This and Other Courts’

Commerce Clause Jurisprudence.

According to petitioners, this Court’s review is

required to resolve purported “confusion” in the lower

courts over the proper Commerce Clause inquiry,

confusion that petitioners attribute to the Court’s

“inconsistent” Interstate Commerce Clause cases and

its “undeveloped” Foreign Commerce Clause

jurisprudence. Pet. 15-19. As described more fully

below, however, the questions that petitioners seek to

have this case answer are simply not presented here:

there is no debate over the proper framework for

resolving Foreign Commerce Clause cases, and even if

there were confusion along the lines that petitioners

describe, it would not be implicated in this case; nor

does this case provide an opportunity to revisit the

ongoing viability of Pike and Japan Line, or of Pike’s

application in the absence of discrimination, for the

Seventh Circuit expressly applied both Pike and Japan

Line, meaning petitioners received the benefit of the

very rules whose application petitioners (incorrectly)

suggest are in question.

12

In fact, the bedrock principles of Commerce Clause

analysis, both foreign and interstate, are well-

established, and the Seventh Circuit applied those

principles step-by-step to the evidence presented below.

A. Pike, Japan Line, and Their Progeny

Have Created and Refined the Analytical

Framework for Foreign Commerce

Clause Claims.

In its “dormant” form, the Commerce Clause (U.S.

Const. art. I, § 8, cl. 3) has been held to implicitly

restrain state authority to regulate commerce. See,

e.g., United Haulers Ass’n, Inc. v. Oneida-Herkimer

Solid Waste Mgmt. Auth., 127 S. Ct. 1786, 1792-93

(2007). The general principles governing dormant

Commerce Clause analysis are well-established. Alaw

that discriminates against interstate or foreign

commerce “is virtually per se invalid. By contrast,

nondiscriminatory regulations that have only

incidental effects on commerce are valid unless ‘the

burden imposed on such commerce is clearly excessive

in relation to the putative local benefits,” under the

Pike balancing test. Or. Waste Sys., Inc. v. Dep't of

Envtl. Quality of Or., 511 U.S. 93, 99 (1994) (quoting

Pike, 397 U.S. at 142) (citations omitted). The Court

has defined “discrimination” in this context as

“differential treatment of in-state and out-of-state

economic interests that benefits the former and

burdens the latter.” Jd. at 99. Of significance here are

two additional principles: the Commerce Clause

forbids discrimination against commerce, protecting

the market as a whole rather than any particular

enterprise (Exxon Corp. v. Governor of Md., 437 U.S.

117, 127-28 (1978)), and a complete ban on a product

13

discriminates against that product, not against

commerce therein (Chem. Waste Mgmt., Inc. v. Hunt,

504 U.S. 334, 347 n.11 (1992)).

It is equally established that Foreign Commerce

Clause claims require a more extensive inquiry—

whether a state law will impair federal uniformity by

preventing the national government from “speaking

with one voice when regulating commercial relations

with foreign governments.” Japan Line., 441 U.S. at

448-51 & n.14, 446. A state law survives this “one

voice” inquiry so long as it neither implicates foreign

policy issues that must be left to the federal

government nor violates a clear federal directive.

Container Corp. of Am. v. Franchise Tax Bd., 463 U.S.

159, 194 (1983).

In sum, the general principles for Foreign

Commerce Clause claims are well established. The

Seventh Circuit’s decision adhered to those principles.

B. The Seventh Circuit Applied These Well-

Established Principles to the Evidentiary

Record Developed Below.

The Seventh Circuit properly applied Pike, Japan

Line, and their progeny and held that petitioners failed

to show that the Amendment'’s total ban on horse meat

for human consumption discriminates against

commerce, either facially or in effect, or that it has no

rational basis. Likewise, the court held that

petitioners failed to present evidence that the

Amendment posed a burden on commerce that was

more than “slight,” much less a burden that was

“clearly excessive” in relation to the State’s interest in

animal welfare, as Pike required. Lastly, the court

14

held that petitioners failed to present evidence that the

Amendment impairs the federal government’s ability

to speak with “one voice,” applying Japan Line. These

rulings are fully consistent with Foreign Commerce

Clause precedent. Indeed, the confusion or debate over

the Clause that petitioners attempt to show in the

lower courts is entirely manufactured, and the issues

that petitioners identify for this Court’s resolution

would not be implicated in this case in any event.

1. The Seventh Circuit’s Decision That

the Amendment Does Not Facially

Discriminate Against Foreign

Commerce in Horse Meat Is Fully

Consistent with Hughes, Natsios, and

Empacadora.

As explained above, the first step in Commerce

Clause analysis is to determine whether a state law

discriminates against commerce facially or in effect.

Because the Amendment completely bans horsemeat

for human consumption in Illinois (Pet. 56a), it

manifests hostility to this product, not to commerce

therein, so it is “at least nondiscriminatory.” Chem.

Waste Mgmt., 504 U.S. at 347 n.11. Accordingly, the

Seventh Circuit’s conclusion that the Amendment’s

prohibition against slaughtering horses does not

facially discriminate against commerce in horsemeat

for human consumption (Pet. 7a) was dictated by

Chem. Waste Mgmt.

Petitioners nevertheless complain that this holding

conflicts with Hughes v. Oklahoma, 441 U.S. 322

(1979), which struck down a state law they call

“indistinguishable” from the Amendment. Pet. 19-20.

But the Oklahoma law facially discriminated against

Ss a4

15

interstate commerce, permitting intrastate commerce

in minnows while prohibiting interstate commerce

therein. 441 U.S. at 336-37. In stark contrast, the

Amendment prohibits al] commerce in (or possession

of) horse meat for human consumption, whether

intrastate, interstate, or foreign. Thus, the

Amendment is easily distinguished from Hughes's

facially discriminatory ban on interstate commerce.

Indeed, to call the Amendment facially discriminatory

would conflict with Chem. Waste Mgmt.’s rule that

total bans on a product are “at least

nondiscriminatory.” 504 U.S. at 347 n.11 (emphasis

added). The same is true of amicus Belgium’s

complaint that the Amendment discriminates against

foreign commerce in horse meat by acting as an export

ban. Belgium 4. Furthermore, under Belgium’s

argument, the Commerce Clause would require Illinois

to permit the production of an item it bans for its

residents, e.g., dog and cat meat for human

consumption or pornography, whenever it is produced

only for export. None of the Court’s precedents

permits, much less requires, this absurd result.

Petitioners also contend that the Seventh Circuit’s

decision “stands in tension with” Natsios’s holding that

a law need not distinguish between foreign and

domestic producers to be facially invalid. Pet. 20-21

(citing 181 F.3d at 67). But Natsios merely held that

the law at issue there, which prohibited any and all

investment in Burma, was facially discriminatory

because it was designed to limit commerce with a

particular country. 181 F.3d at 67-68. Like the

facially discriminatory law in Hughes, the facially

discriminatory law in Natsios stands in sharp contrast

to the Amendment, which is not a “direct attempt to

16

regulate the flow of foreign commerce” in horse meat

for human consumption. In short, there is no “tension”

between Natsios and the Seventh Circuit’s decision.

Furthermore, the Seventh Circuit’s decision is in

accord with Empacadora, to which petitioners give

short shrift because a Foreign Commerce Clause claim

was not implicated there. Pet. 21 n.5. But the first

step in all Commerce Clause cases, including

Empacadora and the instant case, is to determine

whether a state law discriminates against out-of-state

commerce, and Empacadora held that Texas’s ban on

processing and selling horse meat for human

consumption was not facially discriminatory because it

was a “blanket prohibition” against this product. 476

F.3d at 335. This decision, like the Seventh Circuit’s,

was mandated by Chem. Waste Mgmt.’s holding that

total bans are “nondiscriminatory.” 504 U.S. at 347

n.11.

2. The Seventh Circuit Applied

Established Law in Determining

That the Amendment Does Not

Discriminate in Effect.

Having concluded that the Amendment is facially

nondiscriminatory, the Seventh Circuit turned to

whether it nevertheless discriminates against foreign

commerce “in effect,” and concluded that petitioners

failed to present evidence sufficient to support this

argument. Pet. 7a-8a. To the extent that petitioners

now argue that the Amendment’s effect on Cavel,

specifically, demonstrates discriminatory effect on

foreign commerce in horse meat (Pet. 20), that

argument would run afoul of Exxon’s rule that the

17

Commerce Clause does not protect any particular

interstate enterprise. 437 U.S. at 127-28.

In the end, at issue here is merely an evidentiary

dispute, for the Seventh Circuit concluded that

petitioners failed to present evidence that Cavel’s

closing would have any non-trivial effect on foreign

commerce in horse meat. Pet. 7a-8a. Indeed, the court

held that petitioners’ evidence showed at best a “slight” .

effect on such commerce. Pet. 14a. Given the dearth

of petitioners’ evidence, this decision was fully

consistent with the Court’s rule that empirical

evidence must be presented to support a claim of

discriminatory or burdensome effect on commerce. Am.

Trucking Ass’ns v. Mich. Pub. Serv. Comm’n, 545 U.S.

429, 436 (2005).

3. The Purported Confusion or Circuit

Split Concerning Application of the

Rational Basis Test Is Illusory.

Petitioners focus on statements by the court prior

to its ultimate decision on appeal, including two select

statements from a panelist at oral argument, to

suggest that the Seventh Circuit harbors doubts about

the State’s interest in the Amendment. See, e.g., Pet.

27-28 (citing Pet. 80a, 82a). But of course it is only the

court’s ultimate decision that has the force of law, and

in that decision the court affirmatively rejected

petitioners’ claim that the Amendment lacks a rational

basis. Pet. 15a, 10a. This conclusion followed from a

straightforward application of this Court’s and circuit

precedent.

Petitioners also complain that the court articulated

its own rationale for the Amendment—“ending an

Fe ON) Lae SEE AN SRS ee ee Ae aN he eee Soe tae SAE Se he Boe Ie

18 ;

inducement to slaughter” horses (Pet. 26)—and even

suggest that this is itself grounds for review (Pet. i, 27).

But this suggestion fails for multiple reasons. First, as

set out below (at pp. 20-21), the rational basis test

considers any “hypothesized justifications” for a law.

Second, the court did not-rely on this “inducement”

theory as the sole (or even the primary) rational basis

for the Amendment. Rather, the court ultimately

concluded that the Amendment was a _ proper

expression of “disgust at what people do with the dead,

whether dead human beings or dead animals.” Pet.

12a.? Finally, the State had, in fact, identified an

interest in preventing the slaughter of these

companion animals (see supra p. 4; Pet. 37a-40a), and

petitioners’ willingness to pay money for horses is not

? Petitioners contend that “the moral judgment

of the government majority” is insufficient for the |

rational basis test (Pet. 28), but they make no

meaningful argument to this effect, and indeed any

such argument would conflict with the rule that “[t]he

States have the power to make a morally neutral

judgment that... commerce in [certain] material, has

a tendency to injure the community as a whole, to

endanger the public safety, or to jeopardize in Mr.

Chief Justice Warren’s words, the States’ right .. . to

maintain a decent society.” Paris Adult Theater I v.

Slaton, 413 U.S. 49, 69 (1973) Gnternal quotation

marks omitted). Indeed, it is well established that

regulation of morals is a valid state interest

(Champion v. Ames, 188 U.S. 321, 356-57 (1903)), as is

regulation of animals (Nicchia v. New York, 254 U.S.

228, 230-31 (1920)), and compassion for them (Paris

Adult Theater I, 413 U.S. at 69 n.15).

19

some distinct problem articulated for the first time in

the appellate court; it is simply the reason why,

without the Amendment, horses would be tendered to

petitioners for slaughter.

Petitioners also imply that the Court has reserved

the question of whether a State’s counsel may propose

a “post hoc rationalization.” Pet. 27. For the reasons

just stated, however, the “inducement” rationale was

not a post hoc rationalization, nor was it the primary

rational basis on which the Seventh Circuit relied. In

any event, both cases petitioners cite on this score

concern facially discriminatory laws that were not

subject to the rational basis test in the first place:

Hughes (facial discrimination against interstate

commerce); and Craig v. Boren, 429 U.S. 190, 197-98

(1976) (overt gender discrimination). Petitioners’ other

two authorities are likewise in accord with the Seventh

Circuit’s rational basis analysis and finding. Those

cases involved laws that had no conceivable relation to

their proffered rationales. In City of Cleburne v.

Cleburne Living Ctr., Inc., 473 U.S. 432, 449-50 (1985),

a zoning ordinance that required special use permits

for group homes for the mentally retarded, but not for

other multiple dwellings, was not rationally related to

the government’s asserted interests, i.e.,

unsubstantiated fears of elderly residents, negative

views of nearby property owners, proximity to a school

(with mentally retarded students), the possibility of a

flood, and the size of the home. Similarly, in United

States Dep’t of Agric. v. Moreno, 413 U.S. 528 (1973),

denying food stamps to households that included

- someone unrelated to another household member was

not rationally related to the asserted interests in

20

maintaining adequate nutrition, stimulating the

agricultural economy, and minimizing fraud.

Here, by contrast, there are several plausible,

reasonable policy reasons for the Amendment, some of

which were even explicitly articulated by Illinois

legislators, and the relationship between those policies

and the Amendment is not attenuated in a way that

would render the Amendment arbitrary or irrational.

Indeed, the legislature provided multiple reasons for

the Amendment: ensuring that horses, like cats and

dogs and other companion animals, are allowed to die

of natural causes or be euthanized, and preventing

‘animal cruelty, in the form of slaughtering horses just

because they have outlived their economic usefulness.

See supra p. 4. Respondents asserted animal welfare

as a basis for the Amendment throughout the

litigation, and the district court relied on that interest.

Pet. 37a-40a. Similarly, the Seventh Circuit relied on

(among other things) the State’s interest in animal

welfare, analogizing the Amendment to bans on

bullfighting, cockfighting, and animal abuse and

neglect. Pet. lla-12a. (Empacadora suggested still

other rational bases when it upheld the similar Texas

law: preserving horses, preventing the consumption of

horse meat, and removing an incentive for horse theft.

476 F.3d at 336.)

In the end, petitioners are merely criticizing the

level of deference afforded by the rational basis test

itself; a law “is not subject to courtroom factfinding

and may be based on rational speculation unsupported

by evidence or empirical data.” F.C.C. v. Beach

Commce’ns, 508 U.S. 307, 315 (1983) (emphasis added).

Even “hypothesized justifications” may be used

21

(Thompson v. W. States Med. Ctr., 535 U.S. 357, 373

(2002)), and the government need not “actually

articulate at any time the purpose or rationale

supporting its classification” (Nordlinger v. Hahn, 505

U.S. 1, 15 (1992) (emphasis added)). Moreover,

whether a “reasonably conceivable” basis was the

legislature’s actual rationale is “constitutionally

irrelevant.” United States R.R. Ret. Bd. v. Fritz, 449

U.S. 166, 179 (1980) (internal quotation . marks

omitted). The rational basis test is satisfied whenever

“there is a plausible policy reason for the classification,

the . . . facts on which the classification is apparently

based rationally may have been considered to be true

by the governmental decisionmaker, and _ the

relationship of the classification to its goal is not so

attenuated as to render the distinction arbitrary or

irrational.” Nordlinger, 505 U.S. at 11.

The amici, too, disregard these well-established

standards when they assert that the Amendment lacks

a rational basis because, they say, ultimately it will

not achieve its goal. American Quarterhorse 8-19.

That argument, ‘however, conflicts with several

rational basis test principles: (1) courts may not

second-guess a legislature’s empirical judgments (CTS

Corp. v. Dynamics Corp. of Am., 481 U.S. 69, 92

(1987)); (2) an imperfect fit between a law and its

effects does not render it unconstitutional (Bankers

Life & Cas. Co. v. Crenshaw, 486 U.S. 71, 85 (1988));

and (3) a law’s rationale may be “probably not true” in

most cases’ (Nev. Dep't of Human Resources v. Hibbs

> Amici’s speculation about unintended

consequences of the Amendment (Horsemen's Council

22

538 U.S. 721, 735 (2003) (internal quotation marks

omitted)). And although some amici claim that the

Amendment is the final step rather than the first

(Horsemen’s Council 19-22), the rational basis test

asks only whether the Illinois General Assembly could

have reasonably believed that at least some of the

many thousands of horses that would otherwise be

slaughtered by Cavel are not killed before the end of

their useful lives. Moreover, if the Amendment should

prove as ineffective as petitioners and their amici

claim, the legislature may take additional measures.

4. The Purported Circuit Split Involving

the Pike Balancing Test Is Illusory

and Would Not Be Implicated by This

Case in Any Event.

After holding that petitioners failed to show that

the Amendment discriminates facially or in effect, or

that it failed the rational biisis test, the lower courts

properly applied the Pike balancing test, under which

the Amendment must be upheld unless petitioners

showed that any burden it places on commerce is

“clearly excessive in relation to the putative local

5-22) is contrary to experience elsewhere. In 1999,

California banned selling horses for slaughter for

human consumption, but saw no increase in neglected

or starved horses. Horse Illustrated, July 2002 at 96

(quoting Carolyn Stull, Ph.D., an animal welfare

specialist at the Veterinary Medical Extension of the

University of California, Davis). And although horses

could be transported to neighboring states for

slaughter, this would decrease the profit and thus was

unlikely. Id. at 98.

oe

23

benefits.” 397 U.S. at 142. As noted above, petitioners

were obliged to present empirical evidence of this

burden (Am. Trucking, 545 U.S. at 436), yet they did

not (Pet. 32a-33a, 14a). Because petitioners’ evidence

showed that the Amendment’s burden on foreign

commerce was no more than “slight” — perhaps even

less than 1% worldwide — that de minimis burden by

definition could not “excessively outweigh” the State’s

interests in animal welfare. Under these

circumstances, petitioners’ complaint that the Seventh

Circuit did not explicitly consider how to achieve the

State’s purpose with less impact on the market, as Pike

requires (Pet. 29 n.7 (citing 397 U.S. at 142)), makes

little sense. Moreover, the Seventh Circuit’s conclusion

(unlike petitioners’ argument) was wholly consistent

with that of the only other circuit court to address this

issue: Empacadora held that the State’s interest in

animal welfare was advanced by completely banning

horse meat for human consumption, and that “it is a

matter of commonsense” that this interest was not

being served by the existing alternatives. 476 F.3d at

336.

Petitioners and their amici make much of the

Seventh Circuit’s aside that circuit courts disagree

about whether Pike is available to plaintiffs who do not

demonstrate “at least ‘mild’ discrimination.” Pet. 21-22

(citing Pet. 8a-9a). The Seventh Circuit quickly

explained, however, that any disagreement about

whether to apply Pike was academic because a law

with no rational justification is unconstitutional (under

the Due Process Clause) even if it is nondiscriminatory

(Pet. 9a-10a), and any disagreement over Pike would be

immaterial to this case in any event, for the Seventh

Circujt applied Pike (Pet. 8a-12a), meaning petitioners

.

24

obtained the benefit of its standard even without a

threshold showing of discrimination. Petitioners also

stress the Seventh Circuit’s aside about Pike’s

usefulness due to the overlap between Pike and due

process analysis, under which a law will be held

invalid if it has no rational basis (Pet. 22 (citing Pet.

10a)), but the Seventh Circuit recognized that it did

not need to pursue that question (Pet. 10a). In any

event, the Seventh Circuit applied Pike here, correctly.

5. ThereIs No Confusion or Circuit Split

About Japan Line’s “One Voice” Test.

Because the Amendment is nondiscriminatory and

passes both the rational basis test and Pike's balancing

test, petitioners could prevail only if they presented

empirical evidence on the “more extensive

constitutional inquiry” Japan Line requires for Foreign

Commerce Clause claims. They did not.

As explained above, petitioners presented no

evidence of the Amendment’s burden on foreign

commerce, not even the most fundamental fact of

all—Cavel’s share of the commerce in horse meat for

human consumption in Europe or elsewhere abroad.

Petitioners criticize the Seventh Circuit for looking at

the price of horse meat in Europe, on the ground that

the Foreign Commerce Clause protects our country’s

commerce with other countries, not global markets.

Pet. 24 (citing Pet. 14a). The court, however, merely

acknowledged the unremarkable point that a price

increase could have been empirical evidence that

demonstrated the Amendment’s effect on the supply

and thus on foreign commerce.

tp

25

Belgium attempts to rescue petitioners by

providing additional evidence of the Amendment’s

effect on foreign commerce in horse meat for human

consumption. Belgium 2. But an amicus may not

present facts relating to the case at hand that are not

already in the record. Eugene Gressman et al.,

Supreme Court Practice 727-28 (9th ed. 2007). Thus,

Belgium may not ask the Court to consider this new

evidence in the first instance. And in any event,

Belgium’s attempt fails, for it appears to cover the

period before the Texas law at issue in Empacadora

closed the other two horse slaughterhouses in the

United States, and thus may not take into account the

effect of the Texas law on commerce in horse meat for

human consumption. And even assuming Cavel alone

were the third largest supplier of horsemeat for human

consumption to Europe, as Belgium implies, its market

share may be less than 0.8% of the world market, as

the record indicates. Doc. 134 at 54. If so, the

Amendment’s effect on foreign commerce in horse meat

still would be only de minimis.

Petitioners also presented no evidence on Japan

Line’s “one voice” test, such as any formal or informal

opposition to the Amendment by the federal

government or any of its trading partners, as the

Seventh Circuit observed. Pet. 14a. Petitioners point

to the Foreign Affairs Minister's letter (Resp. 4a), but

the Seventh Circuit rightly gave the letter no weight —

the letter was not one of “protest,” which might have

demonstrated a need for federal uniformity. Pet. 14a.

Rather, it merely stated that Belgium was

“scrutinizing” the Amendment. As the district court

observed (Doc. 134 at 78), Belgium’s scrutiny could

have revealed that the Amendment was perfectly

26

compatible with the federal government’s trade

obligations.

_ As noted above, Japan Line and its progeny

require either a “clear federal directive” or a foreign

policy issue for which federal uniformity is essential to

invalidate a state law on Foreign Commerce Clause

grounds. Container Corp., 463 U.S. at 194. Petitioners

tout the federal government’s “join[ing]” Cavel’s motion

to stay the injunction order in Humane Soc’y, which

they complain the Seventh Circuit disregarded. Pet.

25-26 n.6. They insist that this single sentence, filed

only after a court order (Resp. 7a), “speaks to” the

federal interest in foreign commerce in horse meat for

human consumption. The rules at issue there, however,

concerned how inspections at horse slaughterhouses

are funded, so that one-sentence document cannot be

construed as “speaking to” commerce in horse meat for

human consumption. Moreover, to give this single

document from the executive branch dispositive weight

here would appear to conflict with Barclays Bank’s rule

that executive branch statements that lack the force of

law cannot render a state law invalid.‘ 512 U.S. at

330.

And in any event, far more telling than the federal

defendants’ tepid support for the stay in Cavel’s other

* Contrary to petitioners’ belief (Pet. 26), there

is no “tension” in the Court’s precedents on this point,

for the cases they cite merely state two sides of the

same coin: the lack of an amicus brief is not, standing

alone, enough for a State to prevail on the “one voice”

inquiry, and a statement by the executive branch is

not, standing alone, dispositive against the State.

27

appeal are that (1) the federal defendants did not

appeal the injunction, or participate in Cavel’s appeal

in any way, or file any other documents in support of

the stay, despite Cavel’s candid admission that the

stay was necessary for it to operate lawfully (Humane

Soc’y, 2007 WL 4723381, at *1); and (2) the federal

government has neither intervened nor appeared as an

amicus at any stage in the instant case (Container

Corp., 463 U.S. at 195-96). Even more telling is that

Congress refuses to fund the inspections, without

which there can be no slaughter of horses for human

consumption anywhere in the United States. Consol.

Appropriations Act, 2008, Pub. L. 110-161, § 741, 121

Stat. 1844, 1881 (2007).

Petitioners likewise complain that the Seventh

Circuit ignored the FMIA, which they call a

“congressional finding” that meat regulated by the Act

(including horse meat) substantially affects interstate

and foreign commerce. Pet. 25 (citing 21 U.S.C. § 602).

But this provision is no more than the typical

statement used to demonstrate Congress’s Commerce

Clause authority to regulate a subject matter.

Moreover, the Seventh Circuit rejected petitioners’

construction of the FMIA, holding that it does not

require States to allow horses to be slaughtered for

human consumption, and instead merely requires that

certain procedures must be followed if a State does

allow this. Pet. 5a.

Lastly, petitioners perceive two conflicts in this

area, neither of which affected the result here and

therefore are not implicated in this case. Petitioners

are troubled by the Seventh Circuit’s dicta questioning

whether Japan Line’s “one voice” test survived

28

Barclays Bank. Pet. 22-23, 24 (citing Pet. 10a, 13a-

14a). Yet the Seventh Circuit assumed that Japan

Line survived Barclays Bank and then applied it,

meaning petitioners received the benefit of its rule and

any split would not be implicated here. Pet. 13a-14a.

Petitioners also complain that the Seventh Circuit

created new law by “adopting a requirement for the

quantification of a burden to foreign commerce,” but

they appear to confuse the “burden” inquiry with

Japan Line’s “one voice” test. Pet. 24-26. Indeed, the

Seventh Circuit’s evidentiary analysis was fully

consistent with Am. Trucking Ass’ns’ rule that a

plaintiff must support its claim of a burden on

commerce with empirical evidence. 545 U.S. at 436.

In sum, the Seventh Circuit’s decision is fully

consistent with Japan Line and its progeny, for

petitioners failed to present any evidence that the

Amendment impairs the federal government’s ability

to speak with one voice about foreign commerce in

horse meat for human consumption. Indeed, it is

petitioners’ arguments that conflict with Japan Line,

Barclays Bank, and Am. Trucking Ass'ns.

6. Japan Line Requires No Additional

Articulation.

Petitioners contend that this Court’s review is

needed because Foreign Commerce Clause cases are

few, and lower courts have expressed uncertainty

about how to apply them. Pet. 15-19. Even if

petitioners were correct (and they are not), this is not

a sufficient ground for review in this case, for

petitioners do not (and cannot) claim that any method

Oe

29

for resolving this purported uncertainty would change

the result here.®

Indeed, petitioners merely complain that courts

sometimes use different locutions to describe Japan

Line’s additional considerations for Foreign Commerce

Clause claims (Pet. 15-16), but petitioners fail to

identify a single case in which different words made a

difference in the outcome. Instead, they cite a pre-

Japan Line state court case upholding a “Buy

American” provision in state contracts (K.S.B. Tech

Sales v. N. Jersey Dist. Water Supply Comm'n, 381

A.2d 774 (N.J. 1977)), and a twenty-year-old case

upholding a Delaware ban on product transfer facilities

in its coastal zone for (as here) lack of a cognizable

burden on foreign commerce (Norfolk S. Corp. uv.

Oberly, 822 F.2d 388, 405 (3d Cir. 1987)). Petitioners

also cite a district court case, and they imply

(erroneously) that it used the term “super strict”

scrutiny (it did not) (Pet. 16),° but in any event that

> Thus, for example, petitioners contend that

some courts apply the framework developed for

dormant interstate commerce cases to dormant foreign

commerce claims, rather than applying stricter review

in cases implicating foreign commerce. Pet 15. Even

if this were true, the Seventh Circuit applied Japan

Line’s stricter standard for Foreign Commerce Clause

cases, and petitioner therefore received the benefit of

the more favorable rule.

* Petitioners may be confusing Japan Line’s

“more extensive constitutional inquiry” for Foreign

Commerce Claues cases with the “strictest scrutiny”

“a! eee eae

J ¥ Sole oe

Se eae

30

case merely noted the well-established, “more

demanding” inquiry accorded Foreign Commerce

Clause claims (that is, an inquiry that goes beyond

Pike to include Japan Line's “one voice” test), in the

course of striking down a law that was discriminatory

per se. Natl Solid Wastes Mgmt. Ass’n v. Charter

County of Wayne, 303 F. Supp. 2d 835, 840-41 (E.D.

Mich. 2004). In short, petitioners’ authorities do not

support the notion that courts are “struggling” in

“uncertainty” when applying Japan Line. Pet. 17.

Petitioners also assert that courts and

commentators have indicated a need for guidance in

Commerce Clause cases, but their authorities do not

support them on this point either. Pet. 15-19. For

-example, in United States v. Clark, 435 F.3d 1100,

1103 (9th Cir. 2006), the court expressed uncertainty

about the scope of Congress’s power under the Foreign

Commerce Clause, not the States’ power. And that

some commentators may be troubled by the law being

undeveloped as to Congress’s Commerce Clause power

is of no import here. Pet. 16 (citing Kenneth M.

Casebeer, The Power to Regulate ‘Commerce with

Foreign Nations’ in a Global Economy and the Future

of American Democracy: An Essay, 56 U. Miami L.

Rev. 25 (2001)). Petitioners’ remaining citations

merely state the obvious: this Court has not decided

many Foreign Commerce Clause cases. See, e.g.,

Antilles Cement Corp. v. Acevedo Vila, 408 F.3d 41 (1st

given to laws that actually discriminate against out-of-

state commerce. Norfolk S., 822 F.2d at 400 (quoting

Hughes, 441 U.S. at 337).

31

Cir. 2005); Hartford Enters., Inc. v. Coty, 529 F. Supp.

2d 95 (D. Me. 2008).

Another commentator’s view that the Court’s cases

concerning facially neutral laws “seem quite

inconsistent” is likewise no cause for concern. Pet. 19

(citing Erwin Chemerinsky, Constitutional Law:

Principles and Policies, § 5.3, at 433 (3d ed. 2006)).

Indeed, Professor Chemerinsky later cautions that “it

is important to note that these cases do not disagree as

to the legal standard: All of the cases indicate that

proof of discriminatory impact is sufficient for a facially

neutral law to be deemed discriminatory,” and that

this requires case-by-case analysis. Jd. at 436

(emphasis added). He also lists several factors that

“seem particularly important” on this issue, none of

which is present here: excluding virtually all out-of-

staters, but not in-staters, from a market; costs on out-

of-staters that in-staters do not bear; and a

protectionist purpose. Ibid.

Lastly, the 14-year period since this Court last

decided a Foreign Commerce Clause case cuts against,

not for, petitioners’ speculation that this issue will

surely recur with “increasing frequency.” Pet. 5.

II. Petitioners’ Amici May Neither Supplement

the Evidence in the Record Nor Raise Issues

the Petition Does Not.

Apparently dissatisfied with both the legal

arguments and the factual record developed below,

petitioners’ amici make varying attemptstochangethe ~

nature of the case for the first time in this Court. One

rewrites the Questions Presented. Livestock 2-3. Two

raise arguments not asserted in the petition or decided

32

by the Seventh Circuit: @ purported burden on

interstate commerce in livestock or purported

“interference” with the Humane Methods of Slaughter

Act (7 U.S.C. §§ 1901-1907) (“Humane Slaughter Act”)

(Livestock 3-7), and purported conflicts between the

Amendment and the United States’ obligations under

various treaties (Belgium 5-6). In addition, Belgium

tries to work in new evidence about the effect of the

Amendment on foreign commerce. Belgium 4. But

questions not raised or preserved in the Seventh

Circuit are not properly raised now (Delta Airlines, Inc.

v. August, 450 U.S. 346, 362 (1981)), and it is not the

Court’s usual practice to address issues raised only by

an amicus (Kamen v. Kemper Fin. Servs., Inc., 500 U.S.

90, 97 n.4 (1991)).

Even if amici’s conduct were permitted, however,

their arguments are not certworthy. One of the new

issues the Livestock Association raises is “the critical

statutory issue” of the Amendment’s purported

“interference” with the Humane Slaughter Act, which

requires that livestock be rendered insensible to pain

prior to slaughter for human consumption. Livestock

3-5. Just as the FMIA does not require the States to

‘allow slaughter of horses for human consumption (Pet.

5a), however, nothing in the Seventh Circuit’s opinion

prohibits use of the captive bolt method when killing

horses for other purposes. The other issue the

Livestock Association seeks to inject into this case is its

own cause of action: it argues that the Amendment

impermissibly burdens interstate commerce in the

market of horses to be slaughtered for human

consumption. Livestock 4, 7.

33

Belgium’s brand new issue is that, after having

undertaken the scrutiny it suggested in the letter from

its Minister of Foreign Affairs, it has concluded that

the Amendment “may constitute a ban on exports and

fall within the scope of Article XI of the’ General

Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT), though it

does not explain how. Belgium 5 (emphasis added).

This is too little, too late.

To the extent that Belgium is asking the Court to

consider the merits of an alleged GATT violation,

moreover, the Court has already held that Congress

“foreclosed suits by private persons and foreign

governments challenging a state law on the basis of

GATT in federal or state courts, allowing only the

National Government to raise such a challenge.”

Crosby, 530 U.S. at 386 n.24 (emphasis added); see also

19 U.S.C. §§ 3512(b)(2)(A), 3512(c)(1). Tellingly, the

United States has not challenged the Amendment.

Should a foreign government wish to challenge a state

law as inconsistent with the WTO agreement, it may

request consultations with the United States at the

WTO pursuant to the Understanding on Rules and

Procedures Governing the Settlement of Disputes, in

which case the United States must consult with the

State. 19 U.S.C. § 3512(b)(1)(C).

Belgium is silent about whether the GATT is self-

executing and thus binding domestic law. See Medellin

v. Texas, 128 S. Ct. 1346, 1356 & n.2 (2008). In fact,

the GATT is not self-executing. ITC Lid. v. Punchgini,

Inc., 482 F.3d 135, 161-62 (2d Cir. 2007) (holding that

GATT agreements “are not self-executing and thus

their lega) effect in the United States is governed by

implementing legislation”). Thus, even if the

34

Amendment were challenged successfully before the

WTO Dispute Settlement Body and found to be

inconsistent with the United States’ obligations under

the GATT, that decision would not be binding on the

‘United States. Corus Staal BV v. United States, 395

F.3d 1343, 1349 (Fed. Cir. 2005). Instead, the United

States Trade. Representative, in consultation with

congressional and executive bodies and agencies, is

authorized to decide whether and how to implement

that finding. Jd. at 1349 (citing 19 U.S.C. §§ 3533(),

(g), 3538); see also NSK Ltd: v. United States, 510 F.3d

1375, 1380 (Fed. Cir. 2007).

Belgium also complains that the Amendment

“impinges” on obligations in two other treaties

(Belgium 6), but this argument deserves little

attention. Belgium is not a party to the North

American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA), of course,

and petitioners never presented evidence that any

party to NAFTA objects to the Amendment. And as

with the GATT, only the United States can challenge

a state law as inconsistent with NAFTA, and if a

NAFTA member challenged a state law inconsistent

with NAFTA, the United States must consult with the

State in any ensuing dispute settlement process. 19

U.S.C. § 3312. As for the Agreement Between the

United States of America and the European

Community on Sanitary Measures to Protect Public

and Animal Health in Trade in Live Animals and

Animal Products (Belgium 6 (citing 9 C.F.R. § 94 et

seq.)), Belgium cites no particular provision. Such

undeveloped arguments are not considered. See, e.g.,

South Dakota v. Bourland, 508 U.S. 679, 697 (1993).

aS

III. This Case Is Not a Proper Vehicle for

Resolving the Questions the Petition

Presents.

The Court’s review is unwarranted on a separate

and independent ground.

As noted above, Cavel admitted that it cannot

operate without USDA inspections, which Congress

refuses to fund. Moreover, Cavel’s appeal from a

federal district court injunction against the USDA’s

alternative inspection system has been dismissed as

moot.’ Accordingly, even if this Court were to grant

the petition, and petitioners were to prevail on their

Foreign Commerce Clause claim, it is unlikely to have

any practical effect. Without inspections, no one in the

United States may slaughter horses for human

-consumption, regardless of the Seventh Circuit’s

decision in this case.

” Cavel’s petition for rehearing and rehearing en

banc is pending as of the filing of this brief. Humane

Soc’y of the United States, No. 07-5120 (D.C. Cir.).

36

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be

denied.

Respectfully submitted,

RON MATEKAITIS LisA MADIGAN

DeKalb County Attorney General of Illinois

State’s Attorney MICHAEL A. SCODRO

JOHN FARRELL Solicitor General

Assistant State’s Attorney Mary E. WELSH*

200 North Main Street Assistant Attorney General

Sycamore, Illinois 60178 100 West Randolph Street

(815) 895-7164 Chicago, Illinois 60601

(312) 814-2106

*Counsel of Record

May 16, 2008

| APPENDIX

ree

la

OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR

Rod R. Blagojevich * Governor

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

May 24, 2007

Gov. Blagojevich signs legislation banning the

slaughter of horses in Illinois for human

consumption

SPRINGFIELD — Governor Rod R. Blagojevich today

signed legislation that bans the slaughter of horses in

Illinois for human consumption. House Bill 1711,

sponsored by State Representative Robert S. Molaro

(D-Chicago) and State Senator John Cullerton

(D-Chicago), bans importing or exporting horsemeat if

any horsemeat will be used for human consumption.

“It’s past time to stop slaughtering horses in Illinois

and sending their meat overseas. I’m proud to sign

this law that finally puts an end to this practice,” Gov.

Blagojevich said.

The Governor announced his support for the legislation

after hearing from advocates, including Bo Derek,

actress and longtime activist for the protection of

horses, in April. Violations of the new state law are

punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a fine of $1,500.

“People were selling horses not knowing that they were

being used and treated like livestock and ended up on

the slaughter room floor,” said Sen. Cullerton. “This

bill will ensure that using horses for the purpose of

human consumption is illegal throughout the State of

Illinois just as it is in 48 other states in the nation.”

2a

“IT am grateful to my colleagues and the Governor for

joining with me in ending this shameless slaughter of

these beautiful animals for the sole purpose of

ensuring fine dining in European restaurants,” said

Rep. Molaro.

“There is no domestic market for horsemeat and,

therefore, no need for this practice to continue in

Ilinois,” Agriculture Director Chuck Hartke said.

“Meat from the slaughtered horses is being shipped

overseas to places like Belgium, France and Japan.”

- Illinois is home to the sole remaining horse

slaughterhouse in the United States, Cavel

International in DeKalb. Two other horse

slaughterhouses in the country, both in Texas, closed

earlier this year after an appellate court rejected their

appeals of a lower-court ruling that the plants were

operating in violation of Texas state law.

“As both a horsewoman and a compassionate person, I

applaud the resolve of the people of Illinois to end the

cruel, bloody trade in horsemeat,” said actress Bo

Derek. “My family hails from the State of Illinois and

I know they would be proud of the actions taken on

behalf of our horses by Gov. Blagojevich, Rep. Molaro

and Sen.Cullerton.”

“With a stroke of his pen, Gov. Blagojevich has brought

the brutal slaughter of horses in the United States to

an end. Hereafter, may we only hear of horse slaughter

recounted in history books as a sign of how we have

progressed in our treatment of these majestic animals,”

said Chris Heyde, deputy legislative director for the

Society for Animal Protective Legislation.

3a

“On behalf of our national coalition that includes

thousands of Illinois horse owners, we are deeply

. grateful to Gov. Blagojevich, Rep. Molaro, Sen.

Cullerton, and all members of ‘the Illinois General

Assembly who have worked so hard to pass this

essential legislation to protect horses from the cruel

practice of horse slaughter,” said Gail Vacca of Top of

the Hill horse farm in Wilmington. “Illinois horse

owners are proud today in the knowledge that our state

legislature has set the bar in raising the standard for

the humane treatment of our nation’s horses.”

4a

Kingdom of Belgium

The Minister for Foreign Affairs

KABBZ/TL/BA/ap/

Ask for Thomas Lambert

Phone number 02/5014107

annexes) 1

datum

Governor Rod R. Blagojevich

Office of the Governor

207 State House

Springfield, IL 62706

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Concern : Horse Bill 1711, amending the Illinois Horse

Meat Act

Dear Sir,

Belgium is a traditional horse meat consuming and

importing country. It was brought to our attention by

Belgian horse meat importers that the State of Illinois

has recently approved an amendment to the Illinois

Horse Meat Act. This Act seeks to prohibit the

purchase, processing, transportation and _ sale

(including exportations) of horsemeat for human

consumption. We were also informed of the fact that no

consumption of horsemeat takes place in the State of

Illinois and that all current producers of horsemeat

located in Illinois export their products.

Belgium is amongst one of the destinations of

horsemeat from Illinois.

Sa

Horse Bill 1711 was enacted by the Illinois General

Assembly on May 16, 2007. Given the interest Belgium

takes in this type of exportations frum Illinois, we will

be carefully scrutinizing the compatibility of Horse Bill

1711 with international trade rules, including those

existing under the World Trade Organisation.

Attached to this letter you will find some figures about

the importance of horse meat consumption from

Belgium.

Sincerely,

Vu pour Ja legalisation de la signature de:

Gezien voor de legalisalie van de handtekening van:

De Gucht, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Belgium

Karel

Washington

N’ 4112070613012924

Cette legalisation ne garantit pas l’authenticite du

contenu du document.

Deze legalisalie waarborgt de authenticiteit van de

inhoud van he) document niet.

/s/ Karel De Gucht

13/06/2007

6a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

THE HUMANE SOCIETY OF THE UNITED STATES,

et al., Plaintiffs

Vv.

MIKE JOHANNS, Secretary, United States

Department of Agriculture, et al., Defendants.

Civil Action No. 06-0265(CKK)

THE FEDERAL DEFENDANTS' RESPONSE

TO THE COURT'S APRIL 2, 2007 ORDER

The Federal Defendants, Mike Johanns, Secretary,

U.S. Department of Agriculture, and Barbara J.

Masters, Administrator, Food Safety and Inspection

Service, respectfully submit this response to the

Court's April 2, 2007 Order. In its Order, the Court

requested that “[t]he Federal Defendants . . . state

their position with respect to Defendant-Intervenor

Cavel International, Inc.’s Emergency Motion to Stay

by April 3, 2007, at 9:00 a.m., [also] indicating whether

they intend to file briefing on this matter.” This

morning, April 3, 2007, the Court granted the Federal

Defendants’ motion for an enlargement of time to 3:00

pm today to file their response to the €ourt's April 2,

2007 Order.

Regarding Defendant-Intervenor Cavel’s Motion,

the Federal Defendants support the Motion and the

relief requested therein, but will not file a brief as the

Ta

Federal Defendants’ previous filings comprehensively

present the Federal Defendants’ position.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ Jeffrey A. Taylor, United States Attorney

/s/ Rudolph Contreras, Assistant United States

Attorney

‘s) Beverly M. Russell, Assistant United States

Attorney : |

U.S. Attorney’s Office for the District of Columbia,

Civil Division

555 4th Street, N.W., Rm. E-4915

Washington, D.C. 20530

Ph: (202) 307-0492

Of Counsel:

Thomas Bolick, Esq.

Rick Herndon, Esq.

U.S. Dept. of Agriculture

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.