Opposition Brief — Century Indemnity Co. v. Nelson
Supreme Court brief1938
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
Subject Index
Concerning statement of the case. .
-
@
Concerning proceedings to date.........
oer eee
First reason assigned by petitioner.........
Second reason assigned by petitioner........
3
— ; ee
BE | Table of Authorities Cited
; ;
1a . Pages
|} ia ims ot Tie, GT Be ia kkk ns Ken nccenceus 14
mi -. Armstrong v. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. (CCA 8), 85 F.
4 EE cea ces GA SURE SAGO SOR ns Re eeanskne cena 8
a | Arthur C. Harvey Co. vy. Malley, : 288 U. §. 415, 77 L. Ed.
P| dene thwakne ee sche s tek wenn daeteeeees WEeRekenns 11
q id Babbit Bros. Trading Co. vw New Home Sowing Machine
i Pe ey EP Me cs pick csecdesoscescnecnas 7
Berges v. Abraham, 65 F. (2d) -765........ eats aautae ‘19, 22, 23
Century Furniture Co. v. Bernhard’s, Inc. (CCA 9), 82
BE. OE ci Jone Sac mr CGN wana ohne Races Ban he 14
i= Columbia Nat. Life Ins. Co. v. Griffith (CCA 8), 73 F. (24)
i” Ml. 6cb chalnentensesddke debe anbkddeeesee hs usa dnasaes 8
4 _, Continental Bank v. National — Bank, ete. (CCA 9), 69
: F. (2d) B12 2... LR RS Pe OEE PEPE Pee 7, 8, 10
Denver Live Stock Com. Co, v. Lee (CCA 8), 18 F. (2a) il 13
Federal Intermediate Credit Bank of Omaha v. L’Herisson
; (CCA 8), 3B FP. (2d) S42... 2... cece cece sete ce eceeses 13
' Fidelity & Deposit Co..of Maryland v. U. S. ex pr Woods
ee ee es A dw ken dda Weaenseweeaness 13
First Nat. Bank of San Rafael v. Philippine Corp: (CCA 9),
aie °° Os pce edeagiebent neheackserdeckssnass 8
ae Ona He #9. 270 U. 8. 349, 70 L. Ed, 624.. 16
) Huron College v. Union. County Trust Co. (CCA 8), 77
: F. (24) @09 ....:. pGesseetelususess rrr rer Creer 8, 14
| - Inland Irving Nat. Bank of Chicago v. American Flange
if an and Mfg. Co. (CCA 7), 75 F. (2d) 553........ batanawa 8
if i | ; Kansas Society Life Ins. Co. v. Shirk et al, (CCA 10), 50
1 F. (2d) SN ck cde lecnbdhevdschantecseeeeasous seats 13
ae 3% v. Mauiteble Life Aen. Society of U. S. (CCA 9), 84
il. PM is acadstevsndsagscatednress hie incase’ 6, 8, 14
a ite v. Phillips Setestoom: Co. boa 8), 72 F. (2d) 347... 13
| ‘Manual of Fed. App. Procedure (2d Ed:)........... ere 7
ai | | |
aa :
wg SEES ES IS RE SRE are netics “—
" wane hc OS one SER Spe Gi x sy" «5
fs at he Sea Pee PR SB, 7 Z is
3 : _
~.
. °
.
e
ae oe
TasLe or AuTHORITIES CITED iii
Pages
McLaughlin v. Pac. Lumber Co., 293 U. S.- 351, 55 S. Ct.
219, 79 Ce, SR scan skseedeseendudeeensewees eseees 14
Mercantile Trust Co. v. Wood, 60 Fed. 346........ errr 14, 15
“— Bros. Const. Co. et al. v. U. S. ete. (CCA 9), 75
et | oh, errr Pry errr rr rere rrr rr ore ' 13
Mides parma Bank v. Ringling (CCA 9), 7 F. (2d) 535.. 13
Sanders v. Magill, 94 Cal. Dec. 34...... Voc daueecenaanees 25
Sanfeliz v. Bank of Nova Scotia (CCA 1), 74 F. (2d) 338... 8
“Thompson Starrett Co. v. La Belle Iron Works, 17 F. (2d): _
536 ee Preeen pre in re errr he ee tT eg Te? 15
-.U. S. F. & G. Co. v. Board of Cininsiadaninie, 145 Fed. 144 15
U. S. v. Martin, ete. (CCA 10), 80 F. (2d) 460...... pee as 14
oN:
s- - >
td = :
; 3
Saye eS ae eS eee Pes RPS
‘ M = DEDRES
su ETE Gee See: ene hae Ses, news iP ang pela Fel Ta es emensie
AS “! eh Seb oA ih ae ee pth Ee
ce FD SEALE
Iu t ie Supreme Court
- OF THE
| United States
OctToBER TERM, 1937
No. 362
THe Century INDEMNITY CoMPANY ;
(a corporation),- | -
ails Petitioner,
VS. ¢
G. NELson, core a
: y Respondent. |
Seer = pe
BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT
IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
to the United States Circuit Court of Appeals”
* for the Ninth Circuit. ie |
; a
CONCERNING PROCEEDINGS TO DATE.
Petitioner’s: ‘‘Summary Statement of Proceedings
- Below” (Pet. page 2) fails to inform the court that
‘after the decision of the Cireuit Court of Appeals on
the first appeal (65 Fed. (2d) 765) wherein judg-
ment for petitioner on the first trial was reversed
4
cameo’ ak
ce i Sd
PEROT TE Rs Ae PSOE ate, OA w
plete Aly a
ss.
=
~~ Yaa
:
Yew
:
b
:
+
+)
_
“6
oe
‘
ed .
SOIC OL ET SOME I WREST ST ERD Sosiek » AiG Reales Sepia of hit
_the petitioner, as losing respondent on that appeal,
applied to this court for a writ of certiorari and its
_ petition was denied.- (Century Indemnity Co. v. Nel-
son, Oct. Term 1933, No. 456, November 6, 1933, 290
U.S. 683, ‘78 L. Ed. 588.) This bears’ sanenety. on
ff petitioner’ s claim here of “plain errer” , as will later
“appear.
* Both opinions of the Circuit COhert of Appeal’ on
the present appeal are now reported in 90 Féd. (2d)
644 where the opinion on rehearing is treated as an
amendment of the original opinion, just as it is on
the record here.
II, .
CONCERNING STATEMENT OF THE CASE.
Some, additions should be made to petitioner’s
‘‘Summary Statement of.the Case”. We will make
these additions in connection with the points to, _—
_ specifically apply. ta 4 “1
af oo ee
; FIRST REASON ASSIGNED BY PETITIONER. :
It is (Pet. page 12) that the Circuit Court of Ap- -
peals erred in refusing to review the action of the trial
judge in adopting the findings proposed by respondent
and in reje¢ting the findings proposed by petitioner
on the ground that such proceedings did not occur
‘during the progress of the trial”. (28 U.S.C. A. __
See. 875.) Thereby the Appellate Gourt refused to ~
v7
©
p
pass on the question whether or not the findings have
support in the evidence and .on other questions
appellant sought to raise on the basis of these sammie
actions of the trial court.
_ The bill of exceptions in the record reads (pages |
130-131): | ? |
‘Mr. Wiseearver (Atty. for Petitioner). I
wish also at this time to make a motion for judg-
@ment and findings. Ta,
Mr. Hadsell (Atty. for Respondent). We do
the same on behalf of the plaintiff, for the full
“Amount, and request findings.
Thereafter, the. case was orally argued before
the court-and was submitted upon wyitten briefs.
Thereafter and on June 1, 1934, ang outside the
presence of the parties, the Court made and en-
tered its order granting judgment to the plaintiff
with findings to be submitted. Thereafter pro-
posed findings of fact and conclusions; of law were _
served and lodged with the, Court by plaintiff, and _
within the time allowed by law the defendant
served and lodged its proposed special findings
- of fact and conclusions of law in lieu of those
proposed. by the plaintiff.
Thereafter and on June 16, 1934 the Court, -
without the presence of the parties, signed the
proposed special findings _of fact and eonclusi —_
of law of the plaintiff and filed same on said date
as the findings and conclusions of the Court, and
judgment was entered on said June 16, 1934.”
The order of the trial court for judgment is at page
21 of the record and reads:
of
. ae a ecmemees . ee wa ora sw ae fi te aE HES MODES SRS 1
tig vi sao
°
" °
Ox
: /
. “This case having been heretofore heard and
' submitted and due consideration having been had,
' tt is ordered that judgment be entered for plain-—
tiff, with interest and costs, upon findipgs of facts
and conclusions of law to be presented.’ 8
So, plainly the trial had been ssiciicillt with the sub-
mission for decision. . .
The court will note:
1. That petitioner’ s motion ap Sindbis did
not specify any: finding whatever that petitioner
desired the trial-court to make and that petitioner -
- with its motion did not offer any findings;
2. That petitioner’s motion as. made was for
_“findings’’. generally and not for any “special
findings”’ then. and there offered ; ee =P
3, That petitioner’s motion did not \ ete,
even generally, what petitioner thought or de-
' sired the purport of the findings should be and
that the petitioner did not “state any — for -
the motion. .
Phe court further will observe that péiftioner’ s chal-
e to the-findings actually made comes by a single
assionment of error filed after judgment (Record
xO OG 5 5 s -
en Satie = PONT ore Poms YO OE ee MEST ONSTAR PK POET. SS
fe eS ai Aw Ens DH - Bp tn eS Pee ee eee ots 5h ws ey St we ce he oe hs ail ° ™ en8 ES BAAN t r x3 aa e aes §
3 — = ASE as 25 . Cee eae eet KY 2. . eos = . ‘ ‘i 3 3 a nods RRA eee =<Fie ag z b
abit eth ib RASA EA. OE eee e Ne Mate © Fe te Rint aie Reena SATS Eo i ere SS == 45 oP : ;
-* ws ~ “i . i
— = = ——— See ey PE IS ee nha sagt rer eg IE SR GE ST es ere Sc
a ones 2 rr a - _— : . + ——-
ip | page 138, Assignment No. 21) and directed only to
Ra one finding, and that.petitioner’s challenge to failures
Pie to find come by ‘other assignments numbered.2, 3, 4,
|| °* 5, 6,8, 9, 10,11, 12, 13, 14,.15, 16, 20 and 24.
trict Court (quoted in full at page 5 of the’ Petition.)
that in this action the making of special findings of
oe oy fry acorn she ge
~ Cr
poppet eer Qos
The court will also note from Rule 42, of the Dis: .:
| “fact is ‘‘in the discretion. of the court’’ and that the
rule provides the procedure by which the trial court
will exercise such discretion.
>. 7 it is important that there shall not be confused
_ into. one thing twa very separate things, namely :
(a) a request for particular findings to a par-
_ ticular effect and in particular cay 2 is, a
| request that the court adopt findings t the
- party has formulated and submits to the court
with the ‘request ; and,
(b) a request that when the trial court shall
‘2 decide a case on the law side it shall exercise its
discretion to make findings by directing that find-
ings shall be made to conform to the court’s de- .
cision.
. To ask for a ees finding to a particular. effect
is one thing; te ask generally that the court make
findings is quite another thing.
__ -To ask the court to make a particular finding to a
particular effect is like asking the courtsto give séme
_ specific instruction to a jury. When the request for
the instraction is made the instruction must be sub-
- , mitted with the .equest. Otherwise the trial court does
not err in failing or refusing to give the instruction.
So here. If, when petitioner ¢sked the trial
to make findings, the petitioner wanted findi
particular words or to a particular effect, petitioner -
then and there should have presented the formulated
'. findings that petitioner wanted the trial court to make.
But: es did not do so. The trial ‘then closed
%
"and the cause was submitted for decision as the record
clearly states. There was no reservation made by |
either. party of any right to’ offer or file proposed _ —
special findings in support of such party’s motion for —
_ findings. The submission for ‘decision was complete.
The “progress of the trial’? was done. - -
’ “When the triaf court; then, was considering the
ease after the parties’ stbmission of the case for de-
cision, the court did not have before’it for gensidera-
'= tion any “‘special findings” whatever as requested by
either party. It was under. these circumstances that “
subsequently, as the bill of. exceptions states, “the. -
court madé and entered its order granting judgment
to the plaintiff with findings to be prepared”’.
Very“hpposite to our case are the words of this —
same Circuit Court of Appeals in a case decided some
. weeks later Than the first decision on the present -
, appeal—Lando -v. Equitable Life Assur. Soc., 84 Fed. -
(2d) 640. Justice Denman, who dissents here heey
* phase of our case, there said for the court: baa
‘‘A jury was properly waived, and prior to the —
submission of the case the insured .appellant
+. moved for j ent in his favor.and also moved
** for ‘special findings. Appellant did: not specify
the ultimate facts desired to be found. His mere
‘ motion that the court make findings one way or
another as to the ultimate facts is not a request
for. findings of specific facts sufficient in itself to
warrant. a review of the evidence. Seaboard
'~ Surety Co. v. U. S., B& F. (2d) 348, decided by,
this court on June 8, . So far as advising the
lower court of the claim that! the evidence re-
quired a judgment in his sever, the situation is
the same as.if the appellant had made no more
than a motion for such a judgme
See reference to this case in note to the court’s second
opinion here.’ (Record page 170.) = = ~ +»
Mr. Paul P. O’Brien, Clerk for the Circuit Court
~ | of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, published in 1929,
for the help of attorneys conducting appeals, a book
entitled “‘Manual of Federal Appellate Procedure’
(Second Edition) to which he also publishes cumu-
lative supplements. In the, “1937—Cumulative Sup-
- plement’’, dated oe 1, 1937, he states at pages
9-10: *
‘“A request for po Ee or for a “declaration
: deci or for special findings of fact and conclu-
of law, made after the case has been sub- |
mi ‘and the trial judge has announced his
decision, but before formal judgthent has been
entered, -comes too late and ‘is not made ‘during -
the progress of the trial’ as required by Par. 700
R. S. (28 USCA See..875). It is esseatial that —
such motiohs be made at or before the submission
. of the cause for decision, both in a case submitted
* upon an agreed statement of all the ultimate
facts, Lore
out a wa:
His citations ares | ~
Continental -Bauk v. National City Penh, etc.”
- (CCA 9), 69 F. (2d) 312;
| - Babbitt Bros. Trading Co. v) New Home Sew-
, ing Machine~Co. (CCA 9), 62 F. (2d) 530,
a 536, co conlturring 0} opinion of besa C. J.;
.
ry : ts
Ry ‘
‘Columbia Nat. Life Ins. Cp. v. Griffith (COA “
73 FB. (24) 244, 248;
5 Sanfeliz v. Rank of Novis Scotia (OCA )), 74
‘F. (2d) 338;
> Huron College v. Union Cael Trust Co,
(CCA 8), 77 F. (2d) 609;
Intand, Irving Nat. Bank of Chicago v, Ameri-~
can Flange and Mfg. Co. stam 1), 75 FB.
(2d) 553; ¢
* Corp. (OCA 9), 51 F. (2d) 218;
Lando v. Equitable Life Ass. Sasinty of U: 8.
(CCA 9), 84 F. (2d) 640;
. Armstrong v. Masopitian Infe Ins. Co.
of
‘Conte Indemnity Co. v. “Nelson (CCA 9).
Of these cases Continental Bank v. National City
- Bank, ete. (COA 9), 69 Fed. (2d) 312; is an important .
iF :
lh a
1
Hat!
1h 7
pint
} Mt =
el
bins
bigs
tii
7 ; ie
was
§ tee
4
Hi
ea ts
ik
wre Be
re .
hi:
“*
"Tt hh
al’
4 if
vith .
Lik
Hi ‘
“a
1 ee
ai tit, < ae
“ii i
;
th
4} i .
af
Hi
et ty
Ha
shh?
a
it
he
- 1 ie
ih
i,
if
17 i
tk
Be fi
j igi
| fi, .
i
i
. 2 2
the’ opinion for the court, saying : | r
“N evertheless, the question remains whether or
not rulings made and exceptions thereto. taken,
case. J udge Mack of New York, sitting here, wrote
not merely after submission of the case, but even.
a aioe fotpmaeh by the court of its opinion
> and inte judgment, but before. rendition of
' the final’ judgment, are. made and taken. ‘in the
. First Nat. Bank of San Rafael v. Philippine |
— (CCA 8), 85 F. (2d) 185, and the + case
»
progress of the trial.’ Ti.the opinion in Edwards
_v. Robinson, supra (8 Fed. (2d) 726, 727—CCA
9), an examination of the record discloses what is
. not entirely clear from the opinion, that there, as
. here, the declarations: of law were requested some .
*
~ y e . . ? j
eee es * ‘ be : Pd
time after the judge had filed his opinion which |
concluded with the words ‘the complaint will be
dismissed’—but also some time. before the ‘trial
- judge signed and filed the actual judgmeyt of dis-
missal and his own findings. This court there
said that no motion or request for a finding in
favor of. plaintrff was made ‘until long after the
*
close of the trial, and not until 10 days after a
decision in favor of the defendants hadébeen an-
nounced by the court.. Under such circumstances,
we are without jurisdiction to consider the suf-
_ ficiency of the testimony to support the findings.’
‘There are also expressions of opinion in -other
cases that,. for these purposes, the progress. of the
_ trial is concluded when the cause is submitted to
the judge, or at least when hé announces his deci-
sion. See Babbitt Bros. Trading Co. v. New Home
Sewing Machine Co., 62 F. (2d) 530, 535, 536
(CCA 9th, 1932) (J udge Wilbur’s concurring
., Opinion) ; Merriant v. Huselton, 45 F. (2d) 983
_ C.C. A. 8th, 1930); United States v. Smith, 39 F.
(2d), 851, 854 (C,C.A. Ist, 1930); Southern
Surety Cor of Des. ‘Moines v. United States, 23 |
F. (2d) 55, 58 (C.C.A. 8th, 1927); Ewert v.
-. Thompson, 281 F. 449, 450 ((C. C: A. 8th, 1922).
- This interpretation accords with the function. of
_the request for ruling and exception to the denial:
_ thereof; it is to direct the judge’s attention to the
. specific proposition of law relied upon, so that
' prior to the announcement of his conclusions he .
may have the opportunity to consider it. True it
is that after entry, and until the end of the term
during which, the judgment has been entered, it
may .be set aside. and a new trial granted or if
tried without jury, a fie site mania’ entered,
9
- untenable and in conflict with the decision of a
ae. ot
. That, however, is‘ a matter entirely witiiin the
court’s discretion, and offers no guide tothe scopé>/
of the general rule. We conclude that there were -
ho rulings ‘in the progress of the trial’, properly -
before us for review, other than that on the evi-
: dence coeur considered.”’ a
This hindeiaes was made for the Ninth Circuit long.
before the second trial of our case and was therefore
available as a guide to petitioner on such trial.
Thereupon the Continental N ational Bank peti-
tioned this court for a writ of certiorari-in. a cause
entitled ‘Continental National Bank v. National City
~ Bank of, New York, and numbered 34 in October Term
. 1933. The petition was denied. (293 U.S. 557, 79 L.
Ed. 659.) One of the reasons urged for the petition .
was that the decision of the Circuit Court of Appeals
on the question in procedure, as above quoted, ‘
Circuit Court of Appeals on the same matter and in
conflict with the weight of authority.’’ nate | Pet. page
11.) Said petitioner:
_ “This case having been ‘tried before ‘a judge,
without a jury, on a stipulation of facts spread ‘at
large upon the record and having special findings
of fact and conclusions of law signed. incorporat-
ing such stipulation of facts, the Circuit Court of —
Appeals erroneously refused to review the facts
© 4 ascertain if the same supported the judgment,
because of an alleged failure to reqfiest a declara-
tion of rieey prior to the minute order for judg-
me
Citing cases.
11
Also (page 12): 7
“If such request for a declaration of law were
necessary, then.timely application therefor was
made by petitioners as such application was made
before final judgment and in the same term of
court.”’ a
This reason for -the petition was stated also in the
specifications of errors (Pet. page 21) and at pages oy
33-36 of the petition authorities and argument. are
_ presented for the contention. ‘The respondent filed a
brief in opposition to the petition wherein at pages"
19-23 respondent distinguished or discounted peti-
tioner’s authorities and cited many authorities against
petitioner’s contention. Therefore we would urge
upon the court that its denial of the petition was.in -—
effect an affirmance of Judge Mack’s opinion and is
decisive against the petitioner in the present pro-..
ceeding.
We fortify this conclusion ‘with what this court .
itself, in Arthur C. Harvey Co. v. Malley, 288 U. S. 5
415, 418, 77 L. Ed. 866, 867, approved as rightly said
in that*case. by the Cireuit Court of Appeals for the |
First Circuit: oa ;
‘‘Exceptions, following an order of ied
to alleged rulings in a written opinion of the ©
judge assigning reasons for ordering a judgment
for either party, are not rulings in the course of
the trial.’’
So here—exceptions to findings proposed by re-
spondent and adopted by the court after the order for
judgment for respondent was made ‘‘are not rulings
; aS Le &
4 ; 3 ees
RI Neg cree nse seas so the ns era eee
z - 5 .
>
in thé course of the trial’’; and the same is true of
exceptions to the trial court’s rejection of findings
proposed by petitioner — —— to the
order for Judgment.
The specific order of the salon in our case was that
‘‘judgmenit be entered for plaintiff * * * upon-findings
of fact * * *to be presented.’ Thereby the court had
determined what the findings should do; namely, that
the findings should find the facts as respondent con-
tended them to be and as entitled plaintiff to judg-
ment. In effect the trial court had then ruled on the
facts and’the law and the trial had then ended in any
event—even if the trial had not ended previously when
the parties had unreservedly submitted the cause for
decision. All that remained to be done was to formu:-
late findings that should comply with the trial court’s
order for judgment. There was to be no further
‘“‘trial’’.. ‘
Rule 42 of the District Court does not help peti-
tioner. The purpose of that rulé’was not to extend
the trial but simply to provide a means whereby the
trial court would secure aid in formulating findings
expressive of a decision already rendered. The Cir-
cuit Court of Appeals very properly so held in.its last
opinion for the reasons there stated. (Record page
170, Note 1.) . oe
This view of the rule is embodied, in effect, in
O’Brien’s 1937 Supplement where he states at page 9:
‘‘The making of special findings of fact in an
action at law, tried by the court, on the waiver of
a jury, is ey with the trial court, and
13
“ite sieht in making such findings, in refusing: to- -
«make- requested ‘findings, or -in refusing to amend
findings made, is not subject to exception, or to a
subsequent review in a federal appellate court”’;
and cites:
Denver Lite Stock Com. Co. v. Lee (COA t 8),
18 F. (2d) 11, 16;
Modoc County Bank v. Ringling (CCA 9), 7
F. (2d) 535, 5365
Kansas Society Life: Ins. Co. v. Shirk et al. .
(CCA 10), 50 F. (2d) 1046.
Later, at page 11, O’Brien states:
“whether the® record contains any substantial ‘evi-. -
dence to support the findings and judgment ~
against him, it is.incumbent ypon him to make a —
‘““Tf a party seeks to have reviewed the question
motion for judgment in his’ favor on that ground,
or to request a declaration of law to that effect, or
to take some other equivalent step, and secure a
ruling by the trial court, and to take exception to
such ruling ¢and include the same in bill of ex-
ceptions)”, = |
and cites to his statement:
_ Federal Intermediate Credit Bank of Onthe v.
L’Herisson (CCA 8), 33 F. (2d) 841, 843;
Lyle v. Phillips Petroleum Co. (CCA 8), 72. F.
(2d) 347;
. Fidelity & Deposit Co. of Maryland v. U. S. ex
rel. Woods (CCA 9), 72 F. (2d) 828; ,
_ Mittry Bros. Const. Co. et al. v. U.S. ete. (CCA
®); 15 F. (24) 79.
14
- See, also,
“hy Huron College v. Union County Trust Co.
ct | - (CCA 8), 77 F. (2d) 609;
McLaughlin v. Pac, Lumber Co., 293 U.S. 351, ,
55 S. Ct. 219, 79 L. Ed. 423; — |
U.S. v. Martin, ~_— 10), 80 F. (2d) 460;
Century Furniture Co. 'Bernhard’s, Ine.
(CCA 9),: 82 F. (2d) 206;
Lando v. Equitable Life Ass. Society of U.S.
(CCA 9), 84 &: (2d) 640. |
Plainly petitioner had not complied with any of these
requirements.
‘Phe cases cited by petitioner are not ogninet us.
In Alexaftder v. Machan, 147 U. S. 72, there were
sixteen exceptions to findings and thirty-five excep-
tions to refusals to find; and the statement. of this
court, as quoted from that case by petitioner, is quali-
fied by the clause “‘and an exception be taken’’. But
the court’s 6pinign does not say what the procedure
should be and the report does not disclose what the
actual procedure was. So the opinion is of no help |
here. re’ eu
- The case of Mercantile Trust Co. v..Wood, 60 Fed.
346, is in our favor because it says, as quoted by
petitioner: ; |
“The finding of the meee whether general or _
Special, performs the office of a verdict of a jury: |
When it is made and filed the trial is ended.
Exceptions to the finding or to statements of legal ©
conclusions contained in it, or in an opinion in
which-it is contained, or in an opinion filed with - -
— _ eas — bis nn 5 Ee Ee 2st a ie)
15
it, avail nothing. They are as futile as exceptions |
to the verdict of a jury.”’
So exceptions to the findings in our cage ‘‘avail noth-
Neither does U. S. F. & G. Co. v. Board of Commis-
sioners, 145 Fed. 144, aid petitioner. The same judge
wrote the opinion there as wrote the opinion in Mer- |
cantile Trust.Co: v. Wood, supra, and cited the earlier
case, with others, as deciding |
‘“'Phe trial ends only when the finding is filed, or, -
if no finding is filed before, when the judgment is -
rendered.”’
But, for the reason that the trial is ended when the
findings are filed, there cannot be any exception to the
. findings as the exception does not occur “‘during the
progress of the trial’’. Nor, after findings filed, can
there be any exceptions to any failures to make find-
ings; for the trial is ended and such exceptions come
too late. . oe oe .
Petitioner’s fourth case, Thompson-Starrett Co. v.
La Belle Iron Works, 17 Fed. (2d) 536, is also favor-
able to us rather than to petitioner. The quoted lan-
guage:
“Tt seems to us a needless and idle form to
require the party. aggrieved to request a ruling
that putative future findings, or special findings
already made, are without any evidence, and we
regard an exception taken on that ground befcre
final action of the court an exception to rulings
made ‘in the progress of the trial?”
ee er eae
. . .
.
— ee ee ee ee ee
pons means that it is sufficient, where special hiidinws
have already been’ made, to except, before final action
‘ of the. court, on the. ground that such findings are with-
. out evidence. But when findings have been filed final
action has béen taken and an exception eomes too late _
; * —the very thing that has happened in our case: |
at asf iy ” pate aa
lee | The correct procedure was forcibly ‘stated by this
Ete fh
y + - eourt in Fleischmann C. Co. v. U. S., 270 U.S. 349, 70
4 q L. Ed. 624, in these words: ;
1 ‘“To obtain a review by an secitiles court of the
: conclusions of law a party must either obtain
rail from the’trial court special findings which raise
ima _. the legal propositions, or present the propositions °
|e ’ of law to the court -and“obtain a ruling on them.
Hh nee ‘Norris v. J ackson, ‘supra, 129 (9 L. ed. 609); |
igi _ Martinton v. Fairbanks, 112 .U. S. 673, 28 L. ed.
lai. .°.. - 863, 5 Sup. Ct. Rep. 321. That is, as was said in ~
f + Humphreys ¥. Third Nat. Bank, 21 C. C. ‘A. 538,
“| « '- 430.8. App. 698, 75 Fed. 855, the should request
ee spetial findings of fact by the court, framed like
_a special verdict of a jury, and then reserve his
‘exceptions to those special findings, if he deems |
¢hem not to be sustained by any evidence; and if
_ he wishes to except to the conclusions of law drawn
by the court from the facts found he should have
them’ separately stated and excepted to. In this :
way, and in this way only, is it possible for him to
review completely the action of the court patow
:¢ upon the merits’.’’
i | a 7 "Petitioner failed completely to follow these require-
"SECOND REASON ASSIGNED BY PETITIONER.
-. he claim is that, despite insufficiency of: assign-
- ments and specifications of error, there is such ‘“plain)
error’’ inthe record that the Circuit Court of Appeals,
in its second opinion on this appeal, should have passed -
_ °‘on the merits.and should have reversed the judgment.
Te (a)
© Petitioner-admits (Pet. pAges 6-7) that the Circuit
Court. of Appeals, in its first opinion on this present
7 appeal, ‘decided the merits of the case ageinst peti-
tioner. Petitioner states:
“Notwithstanding a technical outlook on the
procedural aspect of the case the Circuit Court of
Appeals commented on the merits of the appeal
and concluded that the judgment possessed evi-
ey dentiary support (R. 163) ;-that the judgment was:
~ -supported by the findings of fact (R. 162); that aa
’ the judgment was not contrary to the law. of the
casé (R. 162); and that there was no error in-the .
rulings on.evidence (R. 162). It saw-no occasion
to notice plain error (R. 164).’’
If, then, the Cireuit Court of Appeals had, in its
"- second opinion, gone again into the merits there is no
reason to believe that the result would have been any
different.
' Why the Circuit Court of Appeals refused, in its
second opinion, to go into the merits is cléar enough. ~
i. ‘ For at the erid of its first opinion, after passing on the
- merits, it said — page 164):
207° Pit SUA abn SOL ia OTe OD aI ES Doe
b- 18 ; a“
‘There is,*therefofe, no reason for relaxing our
~ rule with reference to the specifications of error
and there’is no basis for relaxing the rule with
reference to assignments of error as should be
done only in case of Sggp lain error unassigned
(rule 11) and so clearly prejudicial.as to result in —
injustice. In re Morgan (C.C.A. 6), 26 F. (2d) |
183; Mutual Life Ens. ‘Co. v. Parkinson, C.C.A. 6),
72 FB. (2d) 759.”
= ~ 7 -
ee ee
s
aa °
ep RNP OSEEenteees cere nen epee
Li aa dn canine eS
eS ey ee: x - —
eee eae
-
ae That is, in the court ’s view, any refusal of the court to
lay recognize unassigned (or insufficiently assigned) plain
F ‘error on this appeal would not be “‘so clearly preju-
hi dicial as to result in injustice”. When, therefore, the.~
y court. in its second opinion concluded (as it had al-
ie | ready concluded in its first opinion) that the errors
4 on which petitioner really relied were not asdigned or
_ were not sufficiently assigned it had no-reason_ to go
- _ further to examine the ‘merits under any claim of
‘‘plain error unassigned’’. When the two opinions are
taken together they must be deemed to hold that on this
_ appeal the court would not overlook failures in assign-
ments and specifications and go into the merits of the
bo =
: LET
ve on et se ~ poe:
snakraaed SEae 4s Oe ee “
Tee eee scares Meme ent me
= .
——— nee
- ES
os
| | case on the basis of unassigned plain error—all for the
at » ‘reason thatrefusal to do so was not ‘‘so clearly preju-
is dicial as to result i in injustice”’.
ie
i Zz (b)
et Unassigned plain error will only be noticed where
he He -. d refugal to do so will be ‘‘so acd prejudicial as to
Ha _ result in injustice”. ,
. aes ‘The question then is:
(|. — . . Would, that be the case here?
ii
19
“In its first: opinion the Circuit Court of Appeals.
unanimously answered ‘‘no’’. After rehearing it main-.
tained its stand by majority vote.
. Even the dissenting opinion on the second decision
on this appeal does notsay that the merits of the case
should be otherwise decided than on thé first degision
on this appeal. Mr. J ustice Dennijar#imply egntends
‘that the decision on the rehearifg should be. on the -
merits and not on technical proceduré. For*in his view
there were sufficient assignments to justify that course.
To understand the problem we. must go back to the
first appeal.
On the first trial the Pe roll in ane v.
Abraham was admitted into evidence. (Record, page
45; No. 456 in this court for October term 1933.) In
its opinion on the first appeal (65 Fed. (2d) 765) the
Circuit Court of Appeals said (page 768) :
“According to, the findings of fact in the Supe-.
rior Court action the corporation, San Francisco
Iron & Metal Company, which is alleged to be one
of the copartners, together with L: Silberman, H.
‘Silberman, and N. Abraham, acting under the firm
name of N: Abraham Mercantile Company, was.
originally jointly liable for-the indebtedness sued
upon. N. Abraham Meréantile Compény, the co-
_ partnership, transferred all the property of the °
‘ _ eopartnership to the corporation in consideration
of an agreement on the part. of the corporation to
pay. all the debts of the former partnership. This
agreement would constitute the corporation a
principal and the members of the copartnership
and ~ copartnetatip | sureties. a, v. ‘Heim-
, ‘ . .
‘ ¥ : . ;
SG AmA ate RE EEN 4 iG. She Japan tt aia e .
SRM rw SR pete OS Sige
‘
“ 7 Spt es hs ab Se ee Cake Ee roel Pie ee a sre A ‘
aire RAT EES A NS gor hs Ry PERS a eS She
20
bach, 15 Cal. 261, 17 P. 199; Cutting Packing Ce
Tackeian? Exch.. 86 Cal. 574, 25 P. 52,10 L. R.A.
369, 21 Am. St. Rep. 63; Imperial Refining Co. v.
Kanotex. Refinery Co. (©. C. A.), 29 F. (2d) 193,
199.. If, therefore, the property seized by the |
sheriff was the property of the edrporation, justice —
would require that this property be first subjected
to the payment of.the judgment. fot which the
corporation .was primarily liable before’ the prop-
_erty of N. Abraham, one of the partners for which
-appellant.is surety, or of the other partners, is
applied to the judgment, although the corporation
is only a eo-judgment debtor upon the face of the .
' judgment.’
_ And then, in reversing the jadi. the court laid
- down the law for the case thus:
“Tf: it should. appear from the évidence upon a
new trial that there was sufficient property of the
San Francisco Tron & Metal Company seized by —
the sheriff to satisfy the judgment, then the appel- —
lant surety. (respondent on this second appeal),
representing. the rights of a joint debtor wk was
in law a surety on the obligation of that corpora-
‘tion, would be entitled. to enforce the entire judg-
ment against the property of the corporation and
therefore against the bond issued to release the
| property of the corporation,
“Tf, on the other hand, th aceaelly of the cor-
potation thus released is“insufficient to pay. the ©
judgment, the plaintiff (respondent on this second -
appeal) would be entitled to have the value thereof *.
first applied to the judgment and as to any balance
thereon to have.one-half of the remainder thereof
paid by L. Silberman and the enforcement of the
21
payment of that portion of the judgment against
the undertaking of the ee exeouted on his
behalf. sd
The judgment was reversed and ‘‘the case remanded
for further proceedings not inconsistent herewith’’.
"On the retrial the _ court’ — (Record, pages
39-41):
: “That thereaftér, on the 14th day of February,
1929, said bond was: amended ‘as hereinafter men-
tioned and a eiaaaar ial was entered into as fol-
lows: oe %
‘In the Superior Court of the State of =
California, in and for the City and.
‘County of San Francisco
No. 204,668 - |
V. Berges, ae
| | Plaintiff,
a | . > ; "
N.Abraham,etal, = | - ; me
’ Defendants. re, |
“Stipulation oe .
——e hereby stipulated and agreed between Bee
“plaintiff, defendants San Francisco Iron & we" 8
Company, a corporation, H. Silberman, Sr., H. ..-
Silberman, Jr., and L. Silberman and the Century ay
* Indemnity Company, as follows: | | oe
1. That the bond of the Century Indemnity Ee
Company dated February 14, 1929, be and it is’
hereby corrected so as to change “Silverman” to
“Silberman”. .
‘
'
Si and ae eee RS
mA bee
mea
’
BP cae
$
. .
a lileeediesahemeeeeinaal eile tees
SB a PYMLYS LD! DD
~
—, * — * . ees teens —— . : — . .
= ~ * . o x =. ‘ . 2 . ~ “ we s . ~4
in 5 é : <a ab wae Re. : ya3
as _— —- - .
a i .
é . |
: ¥ -
’ e -
.
. 2. That for the purposes of said bond, the plain-.
tiff has before February 14, 1929, attached prop-
_ erty, credits and effects of each of said four de-
fendants of the then value of $6000.00 each.
3. That said bénd supersedes and takes the
place of the Century Indemnity Company bond
heretofore filed in the above matter and said
me former bond is.hereby declared to be null and void ««
> and without effect. | :
Dated, February 14, 1929.
Robert E. Hatch,
_ Attorney for Plaintiff.
~ Louis E. Goodman, /
Attorney for Defendants.
The Century Indemnity Company, ~
By F.J. Crisp, a
Attorney t in Fact.’ ”’ 4
i we oo ‘
This accorded with the allegations of the complaint
(Record, pages 5-7) and the admissions in petitioner’s
answer. (Record, page 12.) So, by the very: stipulation. |
of this petitioner,.‘‘property, credits and effects” of
6 .
San Francisco Iron & Metal Company had been at-—
tachedgto the extent of $6000.00; and, as the amount of
. respofident’s claim‘(the judgment obtained by. Berges
in Berges v. Abraham et al.) was only $5643.65 prin--
cipal plus a little interest and some costs (Record,
' jage 105), the respondent became, as the Circuit Court -
of Appa ruled in its opinion on the first appeal,
_ “entitled to enforce the entire judgment against
| ' ‘the property: of the corporation and therefore
R against the bond issued to release the. hlltied “dl
the corporation’’. ee
23
The District Court accordingly followed the directions
of the Circuit Court of Appeals and gave judgment to
_ respondent on that basis. (Record, page 49.) The judg-
ment was for an even $6000.00 because the: principal,
interest and costs that had accumulated in Berges v.
Abraham et al. to date of commencement of this action
on September 24, 1931 exceeded — 00, tae principal
__ of petitioner’s bond. —
Also the District one again admitted in evidence
the judgment roll in Berges v. Abraham.: (Record,
page 58.) It also took additional evidence (Record,
- pages 119 to 130), namely the testimony of one Lon
_ Harry Silberman. In its first opinion on. this appeal
the court reviewed Silberman’s testimony ‘and said
(Record, page 163): |
‘‘This evidence -alone was suflicient to sienent
the implied conclusion of the trial court that the
San Francisco Iron-& Metal Company had. as-
sumed the obligations of the copartners. It is clear
he a that the judgment. and findings in action No.
. 204668 are conclusive that the indebtedness sued
upon was that of the partnership. It is therefore
- of no importance whether the findings in the supe- .
rior court No. 204668 relative to the assumption
of the entire debt by the San Francisco Iron &-
Metal Company is conclusive upon the parties to .
the action. We may assume as appellant contends
that without additional evidence it isnot.’
Whitefore it is clear epaihd argument that under the
law of the case as pronounced on the first — sos
judgment was correct.
~—
nti
j
1
yt
‘ee
RT
a
1;
|:
1
iH
posse Male | Rabatuecay ose uate x aN ‘
24
The substance of the decision on the first appeal i.
this: that Abraham and Silberman and San Francisco —
. Iron & Metal Company were partners or joint adven-
turers and incurred .a liability to the assignor of |
: Berges; that thereafter San Francisco Iron & Metal
Company assumed and agreed to pay the obligation ;
that Berges sued the three obligors and levied writs of
attachment upon them separately and Abraham put up
the bond of Fidelity & Casualty ‘Company of New York —
in release of the attachment on him and the Century
Indemnity Company put up.a similar bond on behalf
of Silberman and San Francisco Iron & Metal Com-
pany in release of attachments on them; that‘a judg-
ment was later obtained by Berges against the three
obligors and in the pleadings, findings .and judgment:
it was made to appear-that San Francisco Iron & Metal -
Company had assumed the obligation of the three
defendants to Berges’ assignor and had agreed to pay
it; and that under these circumstances, when Fidelity
& Casualty Company of New York paid Berges
through Nelson on the basis of its bond and taok an:
assignment of the judgment i in Nelson’ s name, Nelson
was entitled to recover the full ‘amount of Berges’
judgment from Century Indeyinity Company.
That is the basis on which the casé was retried and
then decided i in. respondent’ s favor. |
That -also constitutes the ‘unassigned plain error”’
. that petitioner ae to be ‘‘so atiiad ees as to
result i in injustice’’.
The injustice, if any, originated i in the law of the
_- Case as established on the first appeal—seemingly. ap-
proved by this court when it denied certiorari. ~
£0 2 RNR ee ta Re meet rere
95
But we submit that justice has been done for the
. reasons stated in the opinion of the Circuit Court of
Appeals on the first. appeal.
whe a a,
The second decision on this appeal was rendered
June 7, 1937. Petitioner promptly filed a petition for —
another rehearing and respondent replied. In our
reply we called the court ’s attention to a case. decided
by the Supreme Court of California on June 28, 1937,
entitled Sanders v. Magill, 94 Cal. Dec., page 34, where
that court has fully confirmed our position. There
Magill executed a note for $15,000.00 to a bank which
he secured by a deed of trust upon real property.
Later Magill transferred the property to one, Lyon,
who, by Magill’s deed to him, assumed and agreed to .- .—
pay the encumbrance. At a later date Lyon endorsed
and guaranteed the note at the bank and also pledged . :
_ with the bank certain shares of ‘stock which became aa
the subject matter of the suit. The court said: )
‘‘By this transaction, Lyon ‘became the principal
and the Magills the sureties of said note. (Braun
v. Crew, 183 Cal. 728; Williams -v. Naftziger, 103
Cal. 438, 440; Tompkins v. Powers, 106 Cal. App.
464, 466, and’ authorities cited in last cited case.)
a act of Lyon or of any subsequent owner of said
*- reel property could affect or in any way alter this
_ _xight of the Magills without their consent.
<A, H. Magill, being a surety on said note, even
~~. ‘though he was the original principal thereon, upon
| paying said note under compulsion, or voluntarily
acquiring the same by assignment was subrogated
to all vights of the bank in and to —_ note. ~
" 5 —. 2 Dh Rater gee; ‘3 es Eat er a MES et 8.3 2 ane ote OE gt, SE ee ee
PRES SRST IRIE PS EONS ES GE ORI AEE PIERS OE FEST SG PM
(Beach v. Waite, 21 Cal. App. 304, 307; Vincent
vy. Garland, 86 Cal. App. Dec.-5.) By right of
subrogation, or as’ the owner of said note by
written assignment from the bank, Magill could
proceed against all persons liable for the payment
of the balance due on said note. The acquiring of
an obligation by the surety does not. extinguish
the obligation, but the same remains in-full force
and effect in so far as the rights“of the surety to
recover from third parties liable upon the obliga-
tions are concerned. The bank then is in error in
contending that the pleadings and evidence show.
no right of recovery exists in favor of Magill.
Magill, not only had the right to pursue any en-
dorser of said note who was personally liable for
the balance due thereon, but he was entitled to any -
existing securities given for the purpose of secur-
ing payment of said promissory note. No rule of
_ law is more firmly established than that a surety
- upon payment of the principal obligation succeeds
to all the rights of the principal in and to said
obligation. (Secs. 2848 and 2849, Civ. Code; 23
Cal. Jur., p. 1078.) ”’
Fede PT PY tee Te eae
RS oh te ee sah tae
eae ee. Ra
RUNES Os RS
Accordingly, the court affirmed the jadgmans in
Magill’s favor against the bank for the recovery of the
stock pledged by Lyon to secure the note.
In our case Abraham is Magill and the San Fran-
cisco Iron & Metal Company is Lyon and the stock is
the bond of the Century Indemnity Company and the
bank is the Goodyear Redwood Lumber Company,
Berges’ assignor. :
, So the State Supreme Court has now established
the law of the state in accordance with the decision of
. . .
+ AE NS OL ey : Se t9 299: GS ALT SUES ORs IES SEE TODA IES 8
pee Ey ae ceiat ee S2e SLT ot : STRODE Sey EE a i
i . a
2
7 :
7)
_ the Cireuit Court of Appeals in our case and petitioner “
has no ground left for net. | sehr ) |
‘Doubtless the decision of the State Sborene Court. <-- '
convinced the Circuit Court of Appeals all the more
firmly that its refusal to notice petitioner’s claim of ©
.. unassigned plain error did not do petitioner any in-
justice. “i
We respectfully submit, therefore, that the petition _ ts
should be denied. <n ; \
Dated, San Francisco, California, ie
September 15, 1937. | |
- JoOEG.Sweer, .. | ‘ q
Counsel for Respondent. :
Hapse.y, Sweet, IncaLts & LAMB, |
D. HADSELL, ~
Of Counsel.
° rf
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.