Respondents Brief — Duke Power Co. v. Greenwood County

Supreme Court brief1938

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

fi Gg 5 ie] Se, i PY : ae © om

Henne Naat tal | z

Citice - Supreme Court, UL &

ns

dad

HOV 29 1937

a.

ORCPLEY

LE RK

n

erty

| C

i

a

IN THE

4 Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1937

No. 397

DUKE POWER COMPANY and SOUTHERN

- PUBLIC UTILITIES COMPANY, Petitioners,

versus

GREENWOOD COUNTY and E. L. BROOKS, 8. A.

AGNEW ‘and E. I. DAVIS, MEMBERS .OF AND

CONSTITUTING THE FINANCE BOARD OF

. GREENWOOD COUNTY, and HAROLD L. ICKES,

Se arene

AS FEDERAL EMERGENCY ADMINISTRATOR -

OF PUBLIC WORKS, Resronpents.

s

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENTS, GREENWOOD COUNTY

, AND ITS FINANCE BOARD

INDEX

Opinions of the Courts Below......... eenuwes

Statement of Case......... OE tees bre a dia

Disenssion of Facts ............... enaallce

_ Purpose of the Administrator ............... .

Examination by PWA of Duke’s Rates......

Petitioners’ 1+ idence as to Purpose of Admin- -

DE accodueneewesnaneys teasendcws

County’s Control of Plant and Rates :........

PWA Funds Used For Power — In-

MI aac ede t hese bs kone Tre

No Solicitation of Application by PWA iueone.

County’s Rates No Yardstick .. iatsseeeedaase

Damage to Petitioners ............ 2 dearer

. - Summary of Argument .................005-

CWE, so We calecavnan kana chenanesacnuae

J. Petitioners have no standing to attack

the validity of the Loan and Grant ~

; MOUNT 5 aio sceancacnasics cc uhens ;

II. The enactment of .Title IT of the National

Industrial Recovery Act is within the.

powers of Congress under the General |

Welfare Clause .......... verre e

IIL The Aid given by the Federal Govern-

ment to Greenwood County is within the

Powers of Congress waar the Commerce

NN ir a ea

‘TV. Title II of the National we Re-

7 covery Act does not violate the Tenth

URE oa cc ces cusvauansensenel’s

A of WS

95

31

+ 2 wee

er -

.-s INDEX—Continued

V. There is in Title II no unlawful dele-

VII.

VIII.

Conclusion eoeeotcoeeeaeeeoaeeeeeeoevee eee eevee ese eeeee

gation of Legislative Power to the Ex-

ecutive rere ey eer Te oT Tre rT eT ere :

.-In Making the Lone a Grant to Green-

wood County the Administrator is Not

Violating the Statute :.............0.. :

The Petitioners’ Evidence,. Consisting

of the Testimony of Frank T. Post,

Edwin Vennard, D. E. Byerley and -

George Carter and . Plaintiffs’ Ex-

hibits 50 to 74, was not —

Evidence in this Case ......... ee |

A. The Testimony is Irrelevant to > Any

Issue'in this Case ....... Bec ciscces

B. The Testimony is Repugnant to the

EP Pr re ere

Procedure Adopted by the District Court |

. After the Remand was Proper ........

Pace

49

Sukie phe Uae et Fe ee

Oo eee

De Cambra v. Rogers, 189 U. B., BED. oc ccccecse

Hampton & Co. v. U. S., 276 U. S., 394 .....-.

Heslep v. State Highway Dept., 171 S. C., 186,

Duke Power Co. v. Bell, 156 S. G 299, 152

a) OSS.) eee eee

Egan v. Hart, 165 U. S., 188 . pivedesereseucees

Ex Parte Albert Levitt, 82 Ris Bilis Bi vcccdecdes

Field v. Clark, 143 U. S, GE saceaawassaveess

Frost v. Corporation Commission, 278 U. &.,

' esr r errr: Trrrrrry? TrTTtirt

Hammer v v. _Dagenhart, 247 U.S., 251........ in

Helvering v. Davis, 57 S. Ct., 904...........+.

Ee } eee aa

Hill v. Wallace, 259 U. S., 44... 0..-2s0esensee

)

x

A .

. CITATIONS

.Cases cited: PaGE

Alabama Power Co. v. Ickes (App. - C.), 91

Fed. Circuit, 303. .........0ee cece le eeeeees . 25

Allegan v. Consumers’ Power Co. (C. C. A,

6th), 71 Fed. Cireuit, 477...........0++000 25

Arizona v. California, 283 U. S., 423 .......... 36, 39

Arkansas-Missouri Power Co. -v. City of . :

Kennett (C.-C. A., 8th), 78 Fed. Circuit, 991. 16

' . Butterfield v. Stranahan, 192 U. S., 470 ....... AT

Carter v. Carter Coal Co., 298 U. 8., 238 ...-.. 38

Chicago Junction case, 264 U. S., 258 ......... 28

Child Labor Tax Cases, 295 -U. S., 20 ........ 38

Cincinnati Soap Co. v. U. S., 301 U. S., 308 ... 47

City of Joplin v. Southwest Missouri Light Co.,

a 191 U. &., 190+. .cccsegs a PT TTTTTT 27

<- (ollins-v: New Hampshire, 171 U.S&., 30 ...... 37

Dakota Telephone Co. v. South — 250 U.

UGB cnn cc cccepedpaccevccccescectoccepes 55

’ GITATIONS—Continued ~~.

x

Cases Cited:—Continued “Page

Hitchman Coal & Coke Co. v: Mitchell, 245 U.

PM cits Lee speebasindokadeatucnsent ius ., 29

Isbrandtsen-Moller Co. v. U. S., 81 L. Ed., 344, .

BOO UO. B., 19D 2... cece ceececccccgecceces . 49, 55, 59

Levitt, Ex Parte, 82 L. Ed.,1................ 25

Madera Waterworks v. Madera, 228 U. S., 454. - (QT:

Maloney Tank Mfg. Co. v. Mid-Continent Oil ;

Corp. (C. C. A., 10th), 49 F. (2d), 146...... ~ . + 64

Massachusetts v. Mellon, 262 U. S., 447, 482.... 27, 44

® McCray v. U.S., 195 U.S., 27 ............000. 39

Monongahela Bridge v. U. S., 216 U. S., 177 . | 47

‘Morgan v. U. S:,-298 U. S., 468 .............. | 36

New Jersey v. New York, 283 U. S., 336 ...... 36

Northwestern Union Packet Co. v. Clough, 20

Se PERE err rre 63

Page v. Arkansas Natural Gas Corp., 286 U. S., .

errr err rT ree err ere rrr 5

Panama Refining Co. v. Ryan, 293 U. S., 388 .. 46

Park v. Greenwood County, 174 S. C., lees 176

S. E., SRDS pee SOO <a et, 26, 44

Philadelphia Co. v. Stimson, 223 U. S., 605 .... - 85

Pierce v. Society of the Sisters, 268 U. S., 510. : 29

Puget Sound Power & Light} Co. v. City of ,

Seattle, 291 U. S., 618 ....§...........08. 27

Railroad Co. v. Ellerman, 105 U. ay” re 28

Richmond Guano Co. v. DuPont, ete., Co. (C.

hn Oe, Be Bn Oe iin kd iB voor ccecs :

64

Schecter Bros. v. U. S., 295 U. S, 495........ wf 46

- Smith v. Kansas City Title Co., 255 U.S.,180./ . . 39

Sonzinsky v. U. S., 300 U. S., Pe atuacksseess 38

Southern Power Co. v. N. C.. Public Service

Commission, 263 U. S., 508 ...... ere Sea afiily: 4

\ eqwiasrnene--Conttened

Cased Cited: —Continued ‘

Spalding v. Dickinson, 161 U. S., 483 ........-

Sprunt & Son v. U. S., 281 U.S., 249 ..-....--- ,

Steward Machine Co. v. en 81 L. Ed., 779;

mmthe tis damns sees cecndctssreiintascveass

Swayne & Hoyt,.etc., Co. v. U. S., 81 L. Ed.,

400, 22. U. Ba, anna 2 cece ccssccccccccccsce

- Texas & N. O. R. Co., v., Brotherhood of Ry.

Clerks, 281 U. &., 548 .:........seceeeeees

Truax v. Raich, 239 U. S., 33 Sedensawanhudie

Union Bridge Co. v. U. S., 204 U.S., 364 havens

U. S. v. Butler, 297 U.:S., 1 .......... iaaeainn .

U.S. v. Commercial Credit Co., 286 U. S., 63 ..

U.S. v. Doremus, 249 U.S., OR ick etadewsune |

U. S. v. Johnston, 268 U. S., 220 ..........-.--

‘U.S. v. Rio Grande Dam & Navigation Co., 174

Vz: Bg GBD ccc cncccccesccscscsscces aisiads 4

Veazie Bank v. Ferino, 8 Wall, 583 ......%...

West v. Hitchcock, 205 U. S., 80 .......... as

Statutes Cited: ; |

oe ft ee jptiade sl eidiea on

XXXVIII 8. C. Stats., 411, 1392, 1543 ........

XXXVIII Stat, 411, 418 .....5.5. 005 ee cnnees -

Text Books Cited:

1 McQuillin, Municipal Corporations, 642,

athens GEE gcc csccsadbecncciacadases eee |

27 .R. C. L., 1442, ND Sis ens eanee

Wigmore on Evidence (?d. Ed.), Vol. 1,

Page 617, Section 304 ,...........-- pie 2

Page 336, Section 102 ............ prrree aaa

- Pace

31, 45

2s fe

IN THE

me Court of the. United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1937 |

No. 397

*

DUKE POWER COMPANY and SOUPHERN PUB-

LIC UTILITIES COMPANY, Petitioners,

versus

GREENWOOD COUNTY and E. L. BROOKS, S. A.

« AGNEW and E. I. DAVIS, MEMBERS OF AND

CONSTITUTING THE FINANCE BOARD OF

GREENWOOD COUNTY, and HAROLD L. ICKES,

AS FEDERAL EMERGENCY ADMINISTRATOR

OF PUBLIC WORKS, Responpents. 4

e

u

| BRIEF FOR RESPONDENTS, GREENWOOD COUNTY

AND ITS FINANCE BOARD

v

_ OPINIONS OF THE COURTS BELOW

The opinions of the Courts below which have been

officially. reported are as follows:-

Opinion of the District Court on motion to dismiss,

. 10 Fed. Supp., 854 (R. 117, April 23, 1935). ;

Opinion of the District Court on the merjts, 12 Fed.

Supp., 70 (R. 477, August 10, 1935).

Order of Circuit Court of Appeals remanding cause

to District Court, 79 Fed. (2d), 995 (R. 515, Dee. 5, 1935).

Opinion of Circuit Court of Appeals on the merits,

81 Fed. (2d),.986 (Feb. 22, 1936).

Order of this Court remanding the ae

opinion on the merits, 81 L. Ed., 149 (R. 539, Dee. 14, 1936).

Opinion of the District Court upon rehearing of the

cause, 19 Fed. Supp., 932 % 744, May 26, 1937).

Opinion of the Cireuit “Court of Appeals, 91 F. (2d),

665 (R. 848, —— 6, 1937).

STATEMENT OF CASE

This bill in equity was instituted in the District Court

of the, United States for the Western District of South

Carolina on November 7, 1934, against Greenwood County

' and the members of its finance board (R.-2). Harold L.

Ickes, as Federal ergency Administrator of Public

Works intervened and was made a party defendant on

December 4, 1934 (R. 65). , vr

The defendants’ motion to dismiss the bill was over-

riled by the District Court (Rv 117) and the matter. was

referred to a Special Magter to take testimony. (R. 152). |

The Court, after the testimony taken had been reported to

jt (R. 157), granted the injunction prayed for (R. 484).

-From this order the defendants appealed to the United

States Circuit Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit, but Oe a

because of the fact that during the pendency of the appeal ~

the Administrator and the County had entered-into &

. superseding Loan and Grant Agreement, the Circuit Court

of Appeals, upon motion of the Administrator, ‘yenianded

the cause to the District Court (R. 515).

The District Court, after admitting additional testi,

mony, refused by its order dated December 21, 1935, to

vacate the injunction order (R. 518-527). Upon appeal .by”

4

a-<

3

the defendants, the Cireuit Court of Appeals reversed the

injunction orders of the District Court and ordered the

bill dismissed (81 Fed. (2d), 986). e »

Certiorari was granted by this Court on the petition

of Duke Power Company (298 U. S., 651), but, after a hear-

ing had been had, this Court, without expressing an opin-

ion on the merits, reversed the order of the Circuit Court

of Appeals and “remanded the cause to the District Court

with directions to vacate the injunction orders of August

26, 1935, and of December 21, 935, and to retry the case

(R. 540, 81 L. Ed., 149). *

The District Court, after vacating the injunction

orders (R. 541) and gtanting a temporary restraining

order (R. 550), heard the ¢ase on its merits, and by its final

decree (R. 799) denied the relief prayed for by petitioners

and dismissed the petitioners’ bill on the merits, filing its

opinion (R. 744) and findings of fact and conclusions of ©

law (R. 779).

. From the decree of the District re the petitioners

appealed to the-Circuit Court of Appeals. A cross appeal

was prosecuted by the defendants from that portion of the

decree directing that one-half of the costs be taxed against

the defendants. 4

The Circuit Court of Appeals, by its decree dated

August 6, 1937 (R. 878) affirmed the decree of the District

Court except in so far as it taxed one-half of the costs

against the defendants, and as to this the District Court’s

decree was reversed.

The petition for certiorari was granted by this Court

October 25, 1937.

¢

&

Bere:

~~)

- £ ‘¥

’ DISCUSSION OF FACTS

Petitioners’ case has always seemed to us to fest neces-

_ sarily upon the ong of their assumptjon that the

evidence completely blishes certain ultimate conclu-

sions of fact favorable to them. Their arguments on the

fundamental legal questions mvolved all lead from one or

more. of these assumed factual conclusions, are all based

wholly upon these conclusions and are all unavailing if

these conclusions are incorrect. We submit that the Record,

especially in view of the two opinions below, ¢learly shows

these ‘asgumptions of fact to be erroneous and the further, -

use by petitioners of such disproved conclusions as pre-

_ mises in the various portions of their argument to be un-

warranted.

The District Court hae mage complete Findings of Fact

covering all of the factual matters at issue between the

parties in this litigation and as to which evidence was ad-

duced. We could not in any attempted summary hope to

produce.a moye cobcise or coherent picture of the factual

background than that continued in the District Court’s

Findings as they appear on pages 779-790 of the record.

- The Cireuit Court of Appeals, after examining all the

testimony and exhibits in the light of petitioners’ assign-

ments of error accepted these findings as correct and in

confirming them made independent references, at least in

connection with the more important, to those portions of the

Record which established them. This concurrence of the

two lower Courts on the questions of fact raised concludes

‘those questions since this Court has definitely announced

thé rule that if does not grant certiorari to review evidence

and discuss specific facts. U. 8. v. Johnston, 268 U. S., 220;

Southern Power Company v. North Carolina Public Service

Commission, 263 U. S., 508. 0

‘The rule is so well settled that where the findings of

fact by a District Court are concurred in by the Cireuit .°

v

«

, &

¢

~

5 res

‘Court of Apftals they will not be reviewed by this Court

and will be accepted unless clear error is showpthat we cite’

only a few of the more recent cases: .

“Page v. Arkansas Natural Gas Corp., 286 U. S.-

269. .

Texas & N.O. R. Co. v. Brotherhood of Ry. Clerks,

281 :;U. S.,-548. ww

U. 8. v. Commercial Credit Co., 286 U. S., 63.

In view of this rule; of the explicitness of the findings

by the two lower Courle and of the abundant support for

these findings in the Record, we think we are clearly justi-

fied in taking the position that the Findings of Fact by the

District Court, at least insofar as they are specifically con-

curred in by the Circuit Court of Appeals, may. now be re-"

garded ‘as the facts of ‘the case. However, since petitioners

have sought so consistently throughout the litigation to

establish certain allegations as facts and have based their

- ease so completely on the assumption that they are facts,

it is advisable for us:to separately consider the more sig.

nificant of these findings ‘to show how fully they are

established by the record.

Purpose of the Administrator

Petitioners’ contention, which has assumed more and

more importance as the litigation has proceeded and. other

positions have been aveakened, is that. the Administrator

made this loan and grant for the purpose df reducing

petitioners’ rates, so doing because of an established policy

on his part to. use PWA money to reduce power rates :

throughout the country. There is no evidence whatever

establishing the immediate purpose attributed by peti-

tioners to Mr. Ickes-and thé té&timiony as to his general

policy falls far short of proving even the existence of such

a policy. The two Courts below have held that just the -

contrary has been proved and have found as a fact (R.

* .

- .

— .

a=

ome. <a ieeeeegeele ra

es ae

eo s

- 788, 856) that the Administrator in making the loan and

grant to Greenwood County had no purpose of lowering

petitioners’ rates; his-pelicy and that of the Public Works

Administration being correctly set out in the Administra- |

tor’s Report to the U.8. Senate (73rd Congress, second ses-

sion, Senate document 167; defendants’ Exhibit 70) :

>

The fundamental purpose of the Public .Works

Administration is to relieve unemployment and to in-

crease purchasing power through the construction of

useful publi¢ works, thereby increasing the consump: °

tion of goods and also providing émployment in the

capital gcods mmdustry.

The finding as to the general policy of the Public

Works Administration is justified by evidence throughout

the record. Mr. Ickes, testified on the stand in Spartanburg

that he had no intention of exercising any control or in-

fluence over the rates to be charged by Greenwood County

(R. 642) ; that he had no interest in the rates of the county’s

competitors save as af investor in revente bonds of the

county (R. 643); thafgthe statement contained in defend-

ants’ Exhibit 70, Senate Document -169, is a correct state-

ment of the policy of the Puhlic Works, Administration

(R. 645); that in connection with thé application of Green-

wood County he took, into account no considerations other

than those general ones to which he had referred (R. 646) ;

that neither he nor the Public Work&\dministration had

any intention of engaging in the operation, directly or in-

directly, of the Greenwood County project (R. 651); and.,

that he would have made the loan and grant to Greenwood

County regardless:of the rates of the Duke Power Com-

pany, or his opinion of the rates, if Greenwood County had

legal authority to enter into the contract and could satisfy

the Public Works Administration that it could —

the loan (R. 667). -

__ No purpose on the part of any representative of the

Public Works -Administration other .than that: declared in

pO EMERY Reston me

ow

7 , ’

the Act was disclosed or evidenced to any of the representa-

- tives of Greenwood County. Mr. Emmett I. Davis, secretary

of the Greenwood Finance Board, testified (R. 688): *‘I

_ know of no instance either in correspondence or in inter-

views where the Publie Works Administration, or any of

its employees or agents, have said or imiicated that the

direct or implied object of this loan and grant was or is for

the purpose of forcing down Duke Power Company rates.’ :

‘To the same effect is his testimony on page 689 of the reeg P

ord; the teistitnofy of Mr. Barksdale (R.. 668); of Mr.

Sunnie (R. 696), and of Mr. Sweeney ¥R. 698). ,

Examination by PWA of Duke’s Rates

The fact that the Public Works Administration ex-

amined Duke’s rates before approving the application of

Greenwood County does not mean thaf they had any de-

sign to force down those rates. As to this the District Court

made a separate finding (Finding XIX, R. 788) approved

by the Circuit Court (R. 856) pointing dut that, since the - “~

bonds offered by Greenwood County’fér the loan were | ,

revenue bonds depending for their security upon revenues

of the project® the Public Works Administration had to

. satisfy itself that the county could meet the rates of the .

private utility operating in the territory and thus be as- “

sured of the reasonable security required by Co

under Title Il of the National Industrial Recovery Act,

_ Section 203 (a), (Appendix to Government’s Brief, p. 4).

On the originfil hearing Mr. A. C. Bruce, of the Federal

Power Commissi , poigted out the necessity of examtming

the Duke Power mpany’ s rates (. 294)¢ as did-alsg Mr.

C. E. Rose (R. 300) 307).

| Mr: Ickes stated under oath that his interest was tat

ej * of any bond holder, saying (R. 643): |

are I have no interest in the rates of t County’ s “4

- competitors because of our investment in fhe County’s :

J

~

ce P °

plant. The fact that the rates of the plaintiffs were

high or low might indirectly affect the security. of the

County’s bonds. If the plaintiffs reduced their rates

below the cost of producing and supplying current

and the County had to meet these rates in order to hold

its customers, it would have indirectly an effect. Other -

than that which I have just indicated, neithér I nor

the United States Government has any interest in the

plaintiffs’ rates. °

Mr. Ickes states (R. 667), that he would haye made:

the loan and grant to Greenwood County regardless of the

petitioners’ rates if he were otherwise satisfied of the

legality and security of the loan. On cross examination he .

repeated, with perhaps even more emphasis, that his only

interest in the rates of either the County or the petitioners

was the interest of a prospective bond holder (R. 665).

Dr. Clark Foreman, the head of the Power Division of

the Public Works Adulistetration, thus states (R. 671) the

consideration that iggiven to rates when revenue bonds are

offered: 6

If the project is a competitive project, that is to

say, if it would be competitive with the existing private

utility were it built, then we would have to assure our-

selves that. the rates of the project would be suffi-

ciently low to secure business and sufficiently high to

pay out the bonds which we would lend on. * * * We .

do not give consideration to the rates of the pro

‘municipal plant or of the existing private utility for

_ any other purpose than that of reasonable security.

Mr. D. T. Duncan, County Engineer, who designed the.

rate schedule, was moved by the same consideration. He

states in his tegtimony that he realized the County had to

have rates under h they could sell power, and that they

must undersell the steam plants operating im the territory

and the Duke Power Company in order to get customers

(R. 695). : ‘ . ' >

.

os R= GR er ee ee

9

Petitioners’ Evidence as to Purpose of Administrator

In contradiction of these definite and authoritative

statements as to the true policy of the Public Works Ad-

ministration petitioners have only offered certain PWA

press releases, excerpts from Mr. Ickes’ book, ‘‘Back to

Work,”’ remarks madé on cross examination at the original

hearing by an engineering witnéss, C. E. Rose, and the

testimony of the witnesses Vennard, Byerley, Carter and

Postt the last hearing before the District Court. The ex-

cerpts from the press releases and from the Administra-

tor’s book lose the meaning.attributed to them by’ peti-

tionérs when replaced in their original context and the

manner and purpose of their publication is considered. The

remarks of the witness Rose, a PWA subordinate qualified

to speak only as to engineering matters, are equally un-

reliable as evidence of the real policy of the Administra-

tor. All of these—press releases, book and _. testimony of

subordinate—were covered by Mr. Ickes when he was on

the stand and lie flatly contradicted the implications drawn

by petitioners from them (R. 648-51, 666-70).

There remains to be considered then, in this connec-

tion, only the effect of the evidence offered by plaintiffs at

the final hearing before the Distriet Court. The testimony

of the witnesses Post (R. 577), Vennafd (R. 590), Byerley

(R. 606), and Carter (R. 610) and Plaintiffs’ Exhibits 50

to 74 (R. 595-602; 608, 611-14, 619-26, 702) were offered

for the sole purpose of establishing the existence of a

‘power policy’’ in the ‘Public Works Administration—a

policy to procure, in addition to the results anticipated by ©

the statute,‘a reduction in private utility rates. All of this

evidence concerned activities of members of the Electric

Power Board of Review, a blard which at one time existed

in the Public Works Administration for the purpose of ~

reviewing applications for the financing of electric power |

. plants and of making recommendations in connection with

: . ‘re a

+ eae

\o

10

such : deabiodtees to the Adhciistebicanee The individual

- members of the Electric Power Board of Review, according

_ to petitioners’ argument, went beyond this adyisory cap&pity

and in handling applications.used their power for the pur- .

pose of causing private utilities .to lower their rates, thus

evidencing the existence of a fixed purpose on the part of :

the Public Works Administration to reduce utility rates.

We shall argue below that the testimony adduced for

‘ this purpose should not haye been admitted in evidence;

but we say also that, even if it be considered competent, it -

is entitled to little weight as against tlie cleat statements

by the Adniinistrator to Congress and to the Court as to

his purposes and policy. The substance of this testimony

can be stated.as follows: When a utility learned that a

municipality at the time being served by it had applied to

the Public Works Agministration for a loan or grant with ~

which to erect its own generating or distribution system,

the Public Relatichs Counsel of that utility went to Wash-

ington and conferred*there with a member of the Elecgri¢

Power Board of Review, either Mr. Henry T. Hunt or Mr.

Otto Rau, in regard to the city’s application; sometimes

filing a formal protest, sometimes handling the matter in-

formally. In the discussion the quéstion of utility ‘rates

came up; whether raised by the utility representative or

by the Public Works representative is not clear from the

testimony. In some eases the utility: proposed that they —

would reduce their rates an@the municipality would with-

draw its application. When sucli a proposal was made it

was usually referred, as the exhibits will show, to the

municipality, and at times it was suggested to the munici-

pality that it consider the question of WERT EWING © its ap-

plication.

Negotiations of this character were téstified to in re-

gard to numerous municipal applicatipns, but in no instance

did. the petitioners offer testimony as to what was the

?

“a

2 a : 2

ri

11

eventual outcome of the applications. After this testimony

was in, Dr. Clark Foreman, the head of the Power Division,

which is the board now charged with duties similar to those

of the’ old Electric Power Board of Review, attempted,

over petitioners’ objection, to state the final disposition of

the applications referred to. in petitioners’ testimony. In

all cases which it “was possible to trace to a conclusion it

developed that’ ‘the question of lowering utility rates was

not the determining factor. in‘ granting or refusing the

loan, except insofar as the rates affected the security (R.

4673-76). Regardless, therefore, of what discussions took |

place between Mr. Hunt and Mr. Rau and ‘the representa-

tives of the utility companies, none of these discussions had

any effect in determining whether the allotment would be=

- granted or not.

‘Although some of these applications had to do with

general_obligation bonds rather than revenue bonds, the

Public Works Administration would even in those cases

have some legitimate interest in prevailing rates. The 1930

census figures, of which this Court will take judicial notice,

show that the municipalities whose applications were re-

ferred to by petitioners’ witnesses were almost all very-

small in population and there was the likelihood to be con-,

sideged that the revenue from the proposed plant would be

the only source from which the municipality could ohtain

’ funds to pay: the debt. Under a situation of this sort a cau-

tious investor would have a very real interest. in. assuring

himself before purehasing general revenue bonds of a small

municipality that the power plant to be constructed with the

proceeds of the bonds could meet local competition so as

to be operated at a profit and actually provide the munici- ©

_ pality with sufficient funds to retire its bond issue.

~ Another equally important reason for the ineffective-

ness of this line of testimony is that it is wholly ‘concerned

with the activities of on2 ‘small board and the actual au-

12

thority o& that board was definitely and indisputably

limited in scope.* The board was created by an order of

the Administrator dated May 9, 1934 (Plaintiffs’ Exhibit

46, R. 574). This order gave to the Electric Power Board of

Review only:the right to recommend; it reserved to Mr.

Ickes the sole power of making allotments. When it came

_ to the Administrator’s attention that the board was exceed-

ing this authority, he wrote a themorandum to Mr. Hunt

(Defendants’ Exhibit 79, R. 714), admonishing the board to

confine its powers ‘‘to what I originally intended them to

be, namely, the review of pow er projects and the making of

reports and recommendations to me for my -decision.’’ The

board was dissolved by an-order of the Administrator,

/March 16, 1935 (Defendants’ Exhibit 78, R. 713).

” Parenthetically, it occurs to us that regardless of the

_purpose of the members of the board: in carrying on negoti-

ations with power corapanies as to their rates, the effect _

of what they did was to provide the Public Works Admin- —

istration with information extremely valuable in its legiti-

mate determination of whether there existed in each ap-

‘ plication the reasonable security demanded by the Statute.

The result of the negotiations was.a definite ascertainment

of the extent to which the existing utility was willing to

reduce its rates. Having before it the lowest possible figure

at which the private utility was willing to operate, the Pub-

lie Works Administration not only knew that if the pro-

posed municipal .project could approximate those rates

when constructed it could sell power and be self-liquidating,

but was also assured that after construction the municipal

‘plant would not be subjected to ruinous competition.

Furthermore, ‘this whole line of testimony has no

material effect in this case because there is no evidence at

———-__1A_

*In fact, as we shall point out below in discussing the admissibil-

ity of the evidence, the petitioners’ testimony does not even purport to

- show any illegal action by the, Electric Power Board of Review as.a

board. It refers only to statements and sepereanietens made by the indi-

— who composed the Board. -

(18

all that the Electric Power: Board of Review or anyone else

connected with the Public Works Administration negotiated

with petitioners as to their rates or made any effort at all

to foree down their rates. Had there been any correspon-

dene2 between the Public Works Administration and Duke

Power Company suggesting that the Power Company re-

duce its rates, or conversations to that effect, certainly

the petitioners would have offered the correspondence or

testimony as to the conversations in Court.

As a matter of fact, if an examination is made of the

testimony introduced by the Duke Power Company in July,

~1934, before the Board of Review in protesting’ on the

a County application (Defendants’ Exhibit 57),

: it, vill clearly be seen that no such diseussion had been had.

Ww ‘th the Duke Power Company. This exhibit, which is being

sent up with the Record, is a very interesting commentary

on-the liberality of the Public Works Administration in

permitting a protestant. to go into all forms of protest.

which it desired. It will be seen that the board permitted

counsel for Duke Power Company to introduce evidence

relating to the charities of the Duke Endowment because

the Duke Endowment happened to own stock in the Duke

Power Company, something that was far afield in the

matter under discussion. It permitted Duke Power Com-

pany to produce engineering testimony in which they at-

tempted to persuade the Public Works Administration that

the project was not financially, sound. It permitted Duke

Power Company to offer testimony of textile executives

protesting against the Greenwood ‘plant upon the ground |

that it might permit lower power rates to certain textile

mills in Greenwood County which were not served by the

Duke Power Company..

Finally, id j is our position that even if this testimony

does tend to show the existence of a purpose on the part of

the Electric Power Board of Review to reduce private utility

i

iA

an

\

a

ieee 14

’ rates and this purpose be attributable to the Administrator,

still at the time of the execution of the present contract

between the Public Works Administration and Greenwood

County on November 30, 1935, the Electric Power Board of

Review had been dissolved for ten months, its actions re-

pudiated by the Administrator and its policies abandoned.

At that time the Power Division had been established and,

- its policy in making recommendations is clearly set out in

the testimony of Dr.. Clark Foreman, its director (R. 670-

72). Dr. Foreman stated that no consideration is given to |

the rates of a proposed municipal plant or of the existing

private utility ‘‘for any purpose other than that of reason-

able security.’’ He stated: that since he has been director

of the power division he frequently discussed matters of

policy with the Administrator and that there has been no

change in policy since his appointment (R. 673).

The holding is implicit in both opinions below that the

fact that an extraneous’ power pdlicy once existed and

motivated the actions of some of the boards or departments

‘of the Public Works Administration cannot affect our

case if. ‘that policy had been abandoned. The Courts below

in interpreting the testimony as to the policy of the Public

. Works Administration from the time of its inception to the

present adopted the view that at one time an emphasis had

been placed upon the social desirability of lowering power

rates but that such policy was abandoned. We do not agree

with the lower Courts in this interpretation of the evidence,

but we do rely upon their conclusion that, even accepting as

a fact the existence at one time in the handling of applica-

tions by the Public Works Administration of a policy apart

. from the purposes of Title II and the purposes announced

by the Administrator in his Report to the Senate, the exis-

tence of that erstwhile policy does not affect the policy

now existing or invalidate acts done under that proper

.

7

15

| policy. The petitioners have no vested right in i an adminis- ¢.

trative error. .e

Courity’s Control of Plant and Rates

It seems to us that any purpose to force down peti-

tioners’ rates by subsidizing competition with petitioners

by the County would on its face be futile unless the Ad-

ministrator had the power to control the rates of the Coun-

ty. Both Courts below have found that no-such right to con-

trol the rates exists (R. 783, 854)..Paragraphs 12 and 13 of

the contract of November 30, 1935 (R.:501), could not more

definitely evidence the intention of the parties that after

the plant is constructed all matters of operation, including

the right to fix rates, will be under the control of the Coun-

ty. The only rights which the contract gives the Adminis-

trator as to rates for ‘serviee are those rights which a —

holder of revenue bonds would have regardless of contract

under the Constitution and laws of South Carolina.

It might be well.at this point to discuss briefly the

changes made in the contract of December 8, 1934, by the

contract of November’ 30, 1935, and the reasons for those

changes. The 1934 contract contained a provision requir-

ing the borrower to;have adopted a resolution as to rates.

satisfactory to the Administrator before the Government

should be under any obligation to make the loan. This pro-.

vision was intended by the parties to the contract to apply

only to the initial rates (R. 650) and we believe by its terms

had only such application. However, this provision. was

construed by the District: Court on the original motion to

’ dismiss (R. 122, 480) as giving to the Administrator con-

tinuing control over the rates. Thus construed the provision

violated the South Carclina Revenue Bond Act (Appendix

to Government’s Brief, p. 56), which required the: munici-

pality to ‘reserve the right to alter the rates in order. to

‘properly service the bonded debt. Because of the respect

which respondents had for the District Court’s construction °

16 .

of this provision, a new contract was drawn with a view

to clarifying the language so that by no possible interpre-

tation could it be said to violate the State Act. $

It was also thought advisable to change the contract in

another respect. The contract of December 8, 1934, con-

tained GéFtain provisions as to labor which were construed

in the case of Arkangas-Missourt Power Company v. City

of Kennett, Mo., 78 F. (2d), 911, as giving to the Adminis-

‘trator the right to impose new labor conditions after con-

struction had been started. The Court of Appeals in the

Kennett case held that.this constituted an illegal delegation

of the municipality’s right to control municipal construc-

tion. This point was never raised in our case, but, when the -

opinion in the Kennett case was called to Mr. Ickes’ atten-

tion, he decided to submit new contracts to the various mu-

-nicipalities eliminating these labor provisions as well as

the provisiens found by the District Court in our case to

be objectionable te State law (R. 643-45). 5

‘Petitioners’ brief makes the point that since Green-

wood County’s rates, which were adopted prior to the

change of the contract (November 30, 1935), were readopted

by the County after.the new contract, there is no substan-

tial difference between the two contracts, and the further

point that the date of the original allotment, July, 1934,is

thedetermining date on the question’ of legality of the proj-

. ect. Petitioners’ counsel, however, fail to point out that the

rates proposed for the Greenwood County project were

designed by the County ’s engineers prior to the time the

application was made to PWA, and have never been

changed since that time. This fact was thoroughly estab-

lished by the District Judge’s sixth Finding of Fact (R.

781-782), to which’ no error was assigned when the peti-

tioners appealed to the Cireuit Court of Appeals. It is clear,

therefore, that Greenwood’s rates were not a result of any

conference between the Administrator and the County.

it een

PWA Funds Used for Power Projects Insignificant

Another fact which disproves the existence of any ef-

fort by the Administrator to use the funds appropriated

to the Public Works Administration to carry out a policy

of reducing private utility rates is that only a very small

proportion of the funds available to him for the construc-

tion of public works has been used to promote competitive

power projects. Both of the lower Courts were impressed

by the unimportance of this field of PWA activity in com-

parison with the work done by it in other fields (R. 786,

856). They both stressed the fact that as of January +

1937, there were 9,389 non-Federal projects of the Public.

Works Administration of which only 282 were power -proj-

ects and only 92 of these 282 involved competition with

existing private companies. The total amount involved in

these 92 so-called competitive projects was only $27,339,947

as compared with '$1,480,612,543 involved in the 9,389 non-

Federal projects. This is less than 1%<of th total number

of allotments and .98% of the total amount of allotments.

The Courts below quite logically adopted the view that it

does not seem reasonable to say that Mr. Ickes acted as

Administrator with the primary purpose of causing com- -

petition to private utilities and yet used so ‘sparingly his

broad powers and the vast funds available to him to carry

out that purpose. a

No Solicitation of Application by PWA

The factual position taken in petitioners’ argument that

_ the Publi¢ Works Administration solicited or- instigated

Greenwood County’s application for the loan and grant so

thatcompetition would be given the petitioners and their

: rates forced down is without support in the record, the evi-.

dence being definitely tq-the contrary and amply support-

ing the concurrent findings by the two lower Courts (R.

784, 853) that the determination to engage in the genera-

Q . s

18

tion and distribution of electric power was made by the

properly constituted authorities of Greenwood. County of ©

’* their own free will and that there was no solicitation nor

coercion on the part of the Public Works Administration

~

or.any of its Tepresentatives. *, .

* Plaintiffs’ Exhibit 38 (R. 368-370) shows that the Spe- |

- @ial Board for Public Works approved Greenwood Ceanty’s

application and made an allotment on June 20, 1934; ‘that

it was approved by the President on June 27, 1934, and that

after reconsideration had been given to the allotment by -

reason of the protest of the Duke Power Company (de-

fendants’ Exhibit 50, R. 463; defendants’ Exhibit 57); the

allotment was nedifbemed’ by the Board and the President -

on November 7th and 8th, 1934°(R. 368-69), and was in-

cluded in a list signed by the Presidert on the latter date

(R: 370).

The uncontradicted dentienony of Mr. D. T. Niele,

Chief Engineer for the County (R. 267-274), shows tliat the

rates for the proposed Greenwood County project, were de-

signed by him upon his own calculations of the costs, finane-

ing and possible market for the project. These rates set up

prior to the application of the County to the Public Works

Administration are the. same rates which the County now

expects to charge. They were fixed by resolution of, the

’ County Board passed pursuant to the South Carolina Reve-

nue Bond Act (R. 20-33). They were reaffirmed in the rate

resolution of December 2, 1935 (defendants’ Exhibit 73), —

adopted immediately after the executing of the existing

loan and grant agreenient of cast eeian 30, i.

Mr. Davis states (R. 687) :

Neither the Public Works Administration of the

Bederal Government or ‘any other branch or repre-

sentative of the Federal Government, so far as I know,

solicited or suggested the filing of this. application.

Greenwood County has taken the initiative-in filing the

application, pressing the Public Works Administra- .

4

4

»

‘ ,

rem RE coe URE Ree arte

*

q 19 .

tion for an allotment and in litigation involving the

case.

He further states (R. 689) :

I have not received at any time from anyone con-

nected with the Public Works Administration’ a sug-

' gestion that Greenwood County withdraw its applica-

tion in exchange for a lowering of rates in territory

served by the Duke Power Company.

Mr. Duncan said this (R. 693) :

The original rates fixed in the application were

fixed by me and by my engineering staff without any

advice or suggestions from anyone connected with the

Public Works Administration. In going over these mat-

ters again at the request of the Finance Board my

- engineering staff has acted independently of the Pub-

-lic Works Administration and recommended these fig-

ures to the Board without consultation with the Public

Works Administration engineering staff. * * * No one

connected with: the Public Works Administration or

any other branch of the Federal Government solicited -

this application from me, or, as far as I know, from

any member of the Board. Greenwood Count filed the

application and has pressed it with the Public Works

Administration as vigorously as possible. * * * At

all times the County has been the body pressing for

this allotment, It has not been solicited in any fasiiion,

_.as far as I know, by the Public Works Administration.

the;

Secretary Ickes states unequivocally (R. 646) :

_In no instance did I solicit specific applications.

The applications came voluntarily from the community

that wanted tlie public works projects, accompanied by

engineering and legal data. Sometimes it was incom-

plete and we had to send it back for additional infor-

mation, but it was always initiated by the local com-

munity.

Specifically as to the Greenwood County application

istrator said (R. 646) :

~ "Neither I, nor the Public Works Administration,

nor the United Stages Government, initiated or insti-

>

“ .

. eee

a

the loan and g

ahs ibe rar 3

‘ 20 /

gated or induced the making 6f onetiealnas for com-

petitive power projects. We did not%i in the pagfieular’

ease of Greenwood County.

The period of time elapsing between the filing of the

County’s application and the approval of the project in it-

self sufficiently refutes the idea that the Administrator had

urged or jvas hastening th@ construction of a plant to com-

pete with the petitioners. The application was made on

November 16, 1933, and was not approved until eight

" morfths,th thereafter, on July 19, 1934 (R. 267,,368, 370, 695).

Because of protests by the Duke Power Company which

the Publie Works Administration scrupulously gave ear

to (RK. 181, 363), no contract was entered into until Decem-

ber 8, 1934 (R. 513, 521), a period of another six months.

During all this time Greenwood County was the party that

was pressing for action (R. 687).°

A's denying’ the existence of petitioners’ coritended for

‘‘power poligy’’ in the Public Works Administration, these -

simple facts stand on a par with the previously discussed

showing of how comparatively little of the appropriations

for public works went to — power _—

County’ s Rates No Yardstick

- All of the facts discussed above, of course, go.to refute

petitioners’ bro sition that the Administrator in making

+ pie acting in furtherance of his policy

to’bring about a reduction of private utility rates. Peti- .

tioners, however, make the further contention that.regard- .

less of the existence or non-existence of this policy the

¢ffect of this loan and grant will be to set up a yardstick

for the fixing of private utility rates and for this reason

* alone must be considered jllegal. We -shall have more to

say as to the legal aspects of this argument below, ‘but it

is enough to point out at this time that the District Court

found as a fact that the rates charged by the Greenwood

County project could not be. used as a yardstick for rates

ch

7" «

charged by electrical utilities in South Carolina. There is,

‘the Court said (finding XX, R. 789), no logiftal compari-

‘. son possible between the factors necessarily used by the _

two plants in rate computation. The District Court’s find-

ing as to this is clearly sound and was held by the Circuit

Court to be amply supported ‘by the testimony (R. 858).

The Greenwood County plant would clearly have two com-

‘petitive advantages : (1) the fact that a portion. of its con-

struction’ cost came as a grant from the Federal Govern-

ment and (2) at least partial exemption from taxation. The

private ity ‘on the other hand would also have two ad-

vantages: (1) the fact that in a large system the overhead

cost per K.W.H. would be substantially less than in the .

small municipal plant and (2) freedom from the labor and

material provisions inthe PWA eontrackand resulting re-

duction in construction cost. Ae. 2

Petitioners’ witnesses. agree that there would be no.

“usable yardstick, Mr. Reed stating '(R. 565) that a compari-

son of the rates of the Greenwood County project with the —

rates of Duke- Power Company woyld be fallacious; as

does also Mr. Marshall (R. 179, 184)..

F Damage to Petitioners

Another Finding of Fact by the District Court pare we

should like to comment upon briefly is that concerned with

the alleged neetssity that- petitioners reduce thelr rates

throughout-their entire system to meet the competition in

Greenwood County. That finding (XXI, R. 789) is another

of those specifically approved by the Circuit Court of Ap-

peals (R. 858) andisas follows: ~

The testimony shows that at the most the Green-

wood County plant will produce about 25,000,000 K.W.

_H. Of this amount ‘the County has tentative plans to

sell about. 12,000,000 K.W.H. to parties who are now

_ eustomers of Duke Power Company. Duke Power Com-

‘ pany, in the Piedmont Section of the Carolinas i in 1936

e *

: =

— “Z . On ea eh > ‘

—_

22

sold 2,476, 000 000, K.W.H. The sicolciliacs their 1935

sales was over 380 000,000 K.W.H. Thus the loss of

12,000,000 K.W.H. to Greenwood County will amount

to only about 3% of the annual increase of the Duke

Power Company. From a practical standpoint, it is in- }

conceivable that this small competition would result, . =

under all of the evidence in this case, in a forced redue- | 4

tion throughout the entire Duke system. P é

In any event, the Duke Company in appearing be- ,

tows the South Carolina regulatory body with respect .

to its rates could show these pertinent facts in a very

definite manner. We do not conclude that the competi-

tion of the Greenwood County plant would necessarily

force the Duke Company to lower its rates throughout

‘ the system.

The evidence substantiates the finding that the loss by

Duke Power Company to the Greenwood County project

will not result in a general reduction of Buke Power Com-

pany’s rates. Plaintiffs’ Exhibit 18 (R. 340) lists the cus-

_ tomers of tke Duke Power fompany with whom Greenwood

County has made contracts and shows that Greenwood

County will sell to such present customers of Duke only

about 12,000,000 K.W.H. annually. It is not the County’s

intention to confine its sales of electricity to customers of

the petitioners, Mr. Davis saying (R.‘687) :

Greenwood County has not heretofore and does 4

not intend to confine its.efferts to selling power to Duke ;

Power Company customers alone. .Greenwood. County

hopes to sell the major part of its primary current out-

put to municipalities, rural sections and small indus-

tries in’ Greenwood, Newberry and Laurens Counties

and surplus primary and secondary to large industrial .

users. The undeveloped rural load in the three coun-

ties plus the developed industrial load in Greenwood ~

_ County, not now sold by Duke Power Company,. is

sufficient to liquidate loan at proposed rates.

Mr. Dunean’s testimony is to thie same effect (R. 694).

Mr. Davis states (R. 690) that ¢ enwood County will

not have generating capacity sufficient’ to take on many

Bs soy

DATs

Fi Eee

*

|

23

more large industrial customers and that it will be only

a comparatively short time before the municipal and rural

areas will begin to absorb the entire output of the plant.

He testifies that since the preparation .of plaintiffs’ Ex-

hibit 18, the County had obtained some prospective con-

tracts with one of Mr. Abney’s mills, which is not now

served by Duke. aoe

The field\of customers unsold by Duke Power Com-

pany is ample for the Greenwood project to’ sell all of its

power. Mr. Davis states (R. 313-314) that Duke furnishes

only 8% to 10% of the power used in Greenwood County. ;

In 1934 a cotton mill owner at Clinton, S. C., built a

steam plant and began to. furnish, power to former cus;

tomers of Duke (R. 313; defendants’ Exhibit 45, R. 430).

The loss of these customers, the City of Clinton, ,Clinton

Cotton Mills, Lydia Cotton Mills and Panola Cotton Mills, *

is admitted by petitioners’ witnesses, Marshall (R.181),and —

Reed (R. 563). The amount lost to: these customers was

about the same amount of business as the Greenwood Coun- |

by project will take from Duke (Reed’s testimony, R. 563).

Despite these losses, Duke Power Company is continuing

to do business and has not had to reduce its rates (R. 564).

Duke’s sales in 1936 were the highest in the history of

the system (Reed, R. 563; Nabow, R. 629; defendants’ Ex-

hibits 90 and 91, R. 734), being an increase over 1935 sales.

_of approximately 380,000,000 K.W.H., or sixteen times

Greenwood County’s maximum annual production of £25,-

000,000 K.W.H. (R. 565).

In the opinion of the County’s witnesses, Chapman,

Duncan, ‘and Sweeney, the construction of the Buzzard

Roost project and the sale by Greenwood County of all its

- available’ power will not materially affect the Duke Power

Company system (R. 668, 696, 698). ibaa

_° his opinion is substantiated by petitioners’ witness

Reed, who admitted that the proposed Buzzard Roost plant,

x ’ .

> ;

ee eee 2r = vette ne .

~

24

because of its small size, could not materially damage the

Duke Power Company in dollars and cents (R. 565).

We have not in this rather disjointed treatment of the

facts as established by the Courts below gone into all of

the factual elements of the case, but have confined ourselves

to the Findings most strongly contested by petitioners. and

which they must overcome before they can hope to succeed

in this appeal. We believe that we have demonstrated from

the Record how inevitable those findings are.

,

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Since Greenwood County has full constitutional and

statutory aufhority to operate its plant in competition with

the Duke Power Company, the latter has no standing in

Court to investigate the source from which the County ob-

tains the funds to build the plant, and therefore. the, legality

of the Administrator’s action in making the loan and grant

does not present a justiciable controversy in this Court.

The Congress of the United States, under the provi-

sions of the General Welfare Clause, had’a right to allocate

funds to the several States, and their subdivisions, to be

used by them in a comprehensive program of public’ works

' in order to relieve national unemployment.

_ Title II of the Recovery Act in delegating to the Pres-

ident the powers to select individual projects to be included

in the. comprehensive program. under the standards ‘and

classifications set out in the Act did not violate the consti-

— tutional prohibition against the exercise of legislative pow-

er by the executive.

. The Congres having directed the President, through

the Administrator of Public Works, to include in the com-

prehensive program projects for the development .of water

power and for the transmission of electrical energy, the

Administrator and the President complied with the Act

when they allocated funds to Greenwood County for the

‘

«

eS eEEEeeoeorrrerroorooa—S>EPES>=EOWOO OOOO

.

25

a

-

construction, of a hydro-electric plant on the Saluda River

and for transmission lines to convey this electrical energy. |

Any incidental non-national effect which the Recovery

. Act may have or which this particular project may have, .

does not render the allocation of these funds illégal.

ARGUMENT ;

I

Petitioners have no Standing to Attack the Validity of the

Loan and Grant Agreement . ;

a

Both of the courts below, apart from their decisions in

favor of defendants on the constitutional questions in-’

volved, held that the determination of those questions was

not necessary, petitioners having no standing in court to

question the expenditure of federal funds, either upon the

ground that Title II of the National Industrial Recovery

Act is unconstitutional or upon the ground that the statute

has not been complied with. This holding is in accord with

that of every appellate court to which the question has been |

presented.* ae

It is elementary that before a party is entitled to ask

for any relief under our system of jurisprudence he must

show that he has a legal right that-has been invaded or ‘is

threatened with iftvasion by the acts of which he complains.

This Court has had occasion during the present term to re-

affirm this rule. In Ex Parte Albert Levitt, 82 L. Ed. 1, the

per curiam order contains the following language:

- It is an established principle that to entitle a pri-

vate individual to invoke the judicial power to deter-

mine the validity of executive or legislative action he

must show that he has sustained or is immediately in -

danger of sustaining a direct injury as the_result of

* The decisions of other Circuit Courts of Appeal are: Alabama

Power Co. v. Ickes (App. D. C.), 91 Fed. (2d), 303; Arkansas-Missouri

Power Company v. City of Kennett (C. C. A., 8th), 78 Fed. (2d), 911;

Allegan v. Consumers’ Power Company (C. C. A., 6th), 71 Fed. (2d), 477.

26 |

that action and it is not sufficient that he has merely

. a general interest common to all members of the pub-

lic. Tyler v. Judges of Court of Registration, 179 U.S.,

405, 406, 45 L. Ed., 252, 253, 21S. Ct., 206; Southern R.

Co. v. King, 217 U. S., 524; Newman» United States,

238 U. S., 537, 549, 550, 59 L. Ed., 1446, 1451, 1452,

39 S. Ct., 881: Fairchild v. Hughes, 258 U. .5., 126, 129,

66 L. Ed., 499, 504, 42 S. Ct., 274; Massachusetts v. Mel-

lon, 262 U. S., 447, 488, 67 L. Ed., 1078,. 1085, 43S. Ct.

597. (Italics supplied. )

We submit that the petitioners have not shown a direct

injury or invasion of a legal right by any act or combination

of acts on the part of the defendants. What they are really

complaining of is the creation of a situation containing po-

tential damage to their business—a situation made up of

two separate elements, (1) the undertaking by Greenwood |

County to engage in competition with them in the manufac-

ture and sale of electric power, and (2) the financing of this

competition by the. Public Works Administration through a

Joan and grant to the County. If neither the first elenient —

nor the second, nor a combination of the two constitutes an

- invasion of petitioners’ legal rights they clearly have no

standing i in Court. ; ‘

We do not believe that petitioners any longer seriously

- wquestion the legal right of Greenwood County to engage in

competition with them. The County.was given full power by

the Legislature of South Carolina (XXXVIIIS. C. Statutes

411, 1392, 1543; Appendix to Government’s Brief, pp. 46,

65) to build and operate a hydro-electric plant at Buzzard

Roost on the Saluda River; to sell the power in the three

counties of Greenwood, Newberry and Laurens; to receive

a gift of money from the United States; to borrow money

for the construction of this project and to issue revenue

bonds as security for the loan. The decision of the South

Carolina Supreme Court in Park v. Greenwood County, 174

S. C., 35, 176 8. E., 870, fully settled all questions of consti-

tutional and statutory power under state law.

27 . \

The right of Greenwood County to build its plant and

“ sell its power is not made less absolute by the fact that in

doing so it will compete with the petitioners: This Court has

held, in every case that has come before it involving an at-

tempt by a holder of a non-exclusive franchise (such as pe-

titioners have here) to avoid competition by a state or its

political subdivision, that property rights in a public utility _

‘plant or in a franchise did not include the right to be free™

from competition, but that competition even by the sove

ereignty giving the franchise was a risk which was accepted

’ by the private utility when it entered the field. Puget Sound .

Power and Light Co. v. City of Seattle, 291 U.S., 618; Ma-

dera Waterworks v. Madera, 228 U. 8., 454; City of Joplin

- v, Southwest Missouri Light Co., 191 U. 8., 150.

Given this undeniable right of the County to engage

‘in competition with petitioners and taking it to be equally

as well settled that an unauthorized expenditure of federal,

funds by the Administrator in itself gives petitioners no

right to complain (Mass. v. M ellon, 262 U. S., 447), it only

remains to consider petitionexs, contention that the combi- |

nation of the County’s conipetition and the Administrator’s

expenditure of federal funds constitutes a legal injury and

| gives them a standing ‘in Court. This contention is based

| upon the premise that petitioners’ position as public utili-

| ties with franchises from the State gives the right to be-

free from illegal competition and that competition aided -

by an unauthorized expenditure of federal funds by a fed-

eral officer is illegal. It is true that this Court has in the case

°° of Frost v. Corporation Commission, 278 U. S., 515, an-

nounced the rule that the holder of even a non-exclusive

franchise has the right to enjoy the use of that franchise

‘free from illegal competition and may appeal to the Courts

for protection when such competition threatens. The fallacy _

in petitioners’ attempted use of this principle lies in the

fact that the rule is prdéperly /and necessarily limited to

cases where the competition itSelf is illegal, 1.e., where it is

id

28 |

in violation of valid laws of the particular state that has

granted the franchise and prescribed the rights and duties

attaching to it. When the state has specifically said through

its Legislature and its highest Court, as South Carolina has

done in our case, that the competition is lawful, the doctrine

of Frost v. Corporation Commission and similar cases has

no application.

Damages directly resulting from lawful competition

are damnum absque injuria, even though that competition is

cansed or made possible by thajynlawful conduct of a third

person; Railroad Company v. Ellerman, 105 U. S., 166; Chi-

cago Junction Case, 264 U. S., 258; Sprunt & Son v. U. S.,

281 U. S8., 249.* The fact that the third party whose illegal

act aided the lawful competition happened to be a publie

officer does not alter the principle upon which the deci-

sions are based. To have any relief in the courts against

the actions of such an official it must first of all be shown

that his actions, disregarding their official nature, inflicted

a legal injury on the plaintiff: It would only be after that

determination that his official capacity would have any

bearing on the situation. oe

The damage suffered by Duke Power Compdny would

be the same regardless of where the money to build the

Counfy’s plant came from.,Let us suppose that instead of

being a cabinet officer making this loan and grant, as peti- .

tioners charge, in violation of the statute and Constitution,

the lender-were an embezzler and making the loan and grant

from federal funds which he had embezzled. Under thosé

circumstances petitioners’ legal injury—an injury suffered

in common with all other citizens because of the illegal use

of federal funds—could not be added to the damage result-

ing from the legal gompetition of the County so as to give

rise to-a cause of action. Petitioners’ injury from the Ad-

ministrator’s acts in the case at bar is of exactly the same

} * Since the Government’s Brief will undoubtedly contain a detailed ;

ny ad of these important cases, we shall not attempt any discussion

them

29

nature as in the case imagined. Neither in itself gives peti-

tioners standing to sue and neither makes out a cause of ac-

tion when combined with damage from legal competition.

* Petitioners cite such cases as Hitchman Coal and Coke

Company v. Mitchell, 245 U. S., 229; Truax v. Raich, 239 U.

S., 33; Hammer v. Dagenhart, 247 U.S., 251; and Pierce v.

Society of Sisters, 268 U.S., 510, as authority for the grant-

‘ing of :njunctive relief against the Administrator if it can be

shown that his illegal acts made possible the damage to the

petitioners even though the immediate cause of that dam-

age was the admittedly legal act of the County. An exam-

ination of these cases will show that in all of them the third

party against whose illegal acts relief was granted was in-

ducing the consummation of the damaging transaction by

fraud or intimidation with the direct and sole purpose of

causing damage to the petitioners. The touchstone of every |

decision in this line of eases is the element-of malicious in-

tent manifesting itself in a scheme or conspiracy to cause

_ directly the very damage complained of. No such element of

malice can possibly be found in the facts presented here. -

Even admitting that the evidence establishes all that the.

petitioners ask of it—that the Federal Government in mak-

ing loans and grants has been motivated by a purpose of re-

ducing private utility rates throughout the eountry—that

objective is far different i in the eyes of the law from mali-

cious intent to do harm to the petitioners.

‘The Distriet Court, while completely adopting in its

Conclusion of Law No. 7 the view that petitioners cannot

assert a cause of action based upon damages resulting

from lawful competition, such damages being damnum

absque injuria, held that petitioners would have a right to

relief if they could show a regulation of their intra-state

affairs by any agency other than the State of South Caro-

lina regardless of whether such regulation resulted in dam-

age to them or not. We do not agree with this theory of the

District Court that a Court of Equity can allow injunctive |

” 4

’

30

relief without a showing of substantial damages, either

suffered or immediately impending; but we submit that.

when the Court adopted this view and still did not grant pe-

titioners the relief they prayed, it gave an importance to its

finding that there wodld in fact be no regulation of petition- °

ers’ rates. by the Federal Government that such finding

could not otherwise have had. Petitioners,were put in the .

position of being able to sustain their case by showing mere-

ly that the situation would result in some type of regulation

by the Federal Government This they failed to do. By as-

suming a legal position as favorable as possible to petition-

ers upon their right to sue, the District Court threw open

the doors to the merits of petitioners’ ease. It allowed them

to go fully into the alleged Federal regulation and then with .

all the evidence before it and looking only for proof that

Federal regulation, even if harmless, might: result, the-

Court found a§ a fact that petitioners and their rates would

‘. not be subjected to any form of Federal regulation. by this

loan and grant to Greenwood County (R. 764, 870).

The Circuit Court of Ap veals refused to follow this

theory ‘of the District Court as to the right to sue and re-

ee Oe are Ne RM

o

_ iterated its former holding that the bill should have been

dismissed for lack of equity, adopting the simple and unas- °

_ sailable reasoning that (1) the county-violates no legal ’

right of the petitioners by competing with them; (2) the

Administrator violates no legal: right of petitioners in

_making loans and grants of public funds; and (3) there is

no principle ‘‘upon which action which violates no right

may be’ enjoined betause in aid of another action which ~

violates no right”’ - 870).

Notieeere

AY

a

- IL

The Enactment of Title II of the National Industrial Re-

covery Act ig Within the Powers of Congress

» . Under the General Welfare Clause

Since this litigation began, what was perhaps the most

important constitutional question originally presented was

definitely settled by this Court when it held in the case

of United States v. Butler, 297 U.S., 1, that the power of

.the National Congress to make appropriations urfder the

General Welfare Clause is not confined to those matters as

to which Congress is given the right under the Constitution

to legislate.-After this putting to rest of a nationgold con-

‘ troversy, the only questions as to the power of Congress

to enact Title II of the National Industrial Recovery Act

which remained open were whether the relief of unem-

ployment was in fact for the general welfare and whether

a program of public works construction was a proper

method for the relief of unemployment.

‘The first of these questions, at least, was settled during

the last term of this Court in the Social Security decisions ;

Steward Machine Co. v. Davis, 57 S. Ct., 883, Helvering v.

Davis, 57 S. Ct., 904, where it was held that the raising and

spending of funds for the relief of unemployment and for

benefits to the aged were proper exercises of the power of

Congress to levy taxes and make expenditures to promote

the general welfare. In the Steward case, the Court said:

During the years 1929 to 1936, when the country

was passing through a cyclical depression, the num-

ber of the unemployed mounted to unprecedented

‘heights. Often the average was more than 10 million ;

at times a peak was attained of 16 million or more.

Disaster to the breadwinner meant disaster to depend-

ents. Accordingly the roll of the unemployed, itself

formidable enough, was only a partial roll of the des-

titute or needy. The fact, developed quickly that the

_states were’ unable to give the requisite relief. The

¥

7 o 6

.

TOT eg? I RE Ament >

’

32

problem had become national in area and dimensions.

There was-need of help from the nation if the people

were not to starve. It is too late today foyghe argu-

ment to be heard with tolerance that in a.cfisis ‘so ex-

treme the use of“the moneys of the nation%to relieve

the unemployed and their dependents is a use for any

purpose narrower than the promotion of the general

welfare. Cf. United States v. Butler, 297 U.S., 1, 65, 66,

56 S. Ct., 312, 319, 80 L. Ed., 477, 102 A. L. R., 914;

Helvering v. Davis, 300 U. S., .., 57 S. Ct., 904, 81 L.

Hid., .., decided herewith. The nation responded to the

call of the distressed. Between January 1, 1933, and

July 1, 1936, the states (according to statistics sub-

mitted by the government) incurred obligations of

$689,291,802 for emergency relief; local subdivisions”

an additions] $775,675,366. In the same period the ob-

ligations for.emergency relief incurred by the national

government were -$2,929,307,125, or twice the obliga- .

tions of states and local agencies combined. According

to the President’s budget message for the fiscal year

1938 the national government expended for public

works and unemployment relief for .the three fiscal

years 1934, 1935, and 1936, the stupendous total of $8,-°

681 ,000,000.

Equally forceful language / ‘is found in the Helwcring

case where it is particularly pointed out that the discretion

necessarily existing in the determination of what appropri-

ations are for the general welfare as distinguished from«

local welfare is a discretion belonging to Congress and be- .

fore an exercise of Congress’ spending power can be found

by the Court to be unconstitutional there must be a showing

that by no reasonable possibility can the challenged legis-

‘lation fall within the wide range of discretion permitted to

the Congress.

It is interesting to note that the District Court rested

the constitutionality of Title II of the Recovery Act, at least

in part, upon a power broader and more fundamental

_ than that usually considered to be granted by the General

Welfare Clause, holding (R. 764-67) that appropriation of

A

“D 33 | ae

monies by the Federal Government to subdivisions of stbhes

for the construction of public works is justified by the —

power, inherent.in the very nature of our dual form of gov-

ernment, of one sovereignty to aid another. It is certainly

true that this Court in the Social Security. cases upheld

the right of Federal and State Governments to deal with

each other as sovereigns in coping ‘with problems com-

mon to both which neither could effectually meet alone, and

~whether or not it was intended to state this power as one

distinct from that given to the Federal Government by the

General Welfare Clause, the deéisions have added im-

measurably to our concept of, the sovereignty of both Fed-

eral and State Government.

| There remains, then, only the equation as to on

admitting the power of Congress under the General Wel-

fare Clause to relieve nation-wide unemployment, appro-

priations for the construction of public works throughout

the nation is a proper form for such relief to take. The idea

of a program of public works as a means of alleviating un-

employment is, of course, not novel, it having been accepted

by economists and political philosophers since the days of

Pericles as perhaps the most practical method of giving .

work to those who need it and obtaining at the same time

something of lasting value to all. Congress, realizing, as .

other Congresses and other Administrations had done be-

fore, that such a program would increase employment not

-only in the actual construction of the project but in all

industries connected with the production and transporta-

tion of materials, seized upon. this historic method as being

as appropriate a weapon against unemployment. as was

available to it. The results have justified Congress’ hope.

Defendants’ Exhibit 76, a Department of Labor peaeennes

entitled ‘‘Employment Created by PWA Construction”’,

which is being sent up with the. Record, contains Sndinis

by the Bureau of Labor Statistics that the-activity of the

_Public Works Administration had resulted by — 1936,

“PEL SE RAT PE te ae: oe 4

f

34

in the employment of approximately 6,475 man-months of

labor: Ht is stated as a conservative estimate that for each

person put to work at the site of the projects 214 additional

persons were given employment away from the site.

Petitioners* position as to the unconstitutionality of

*Congress’ authorizing the construction of public works for

the relief of unemployment comes simply to saying that

since each separate project is local in it? nature, the pro-

gram cannot’ be for the general welfare. In Title II of the

_National Industrial Recovery Act Congress did not at-

tempt to make appropriation for any individual project,

the appropriation being instead for “a comprehensive pro-

gram of public works.’’ The construction of individual proj-

ects might be,-when taken by themselves, of only local bene-

fit but the program as a whole is for the benefit of the na-

‘tion. Thevrelief of unemployment, to have any national

effect must necessarily be aecomplished in unconnected lo-,

calities by’ putting’ unconnected individuals back to work.

Petitioners seem to argue further, that the program

of. publie works authorized by the Act is not for the general

welfare because the uses of the various projects after con-

struction will be for the benefit of the. localities where they

are situated. ‘The purpose of Congress in providing for a

“ comprehensive program of public works is fulfilled in the

construction of the projects so as to provide for an increase

in employment. The use after construction was not within

the purview of the Act and the fact that incidental local

benefits: will result through the use of the projects cannot

affect the fundamental fact that Federal aid in their con-

struction is part of a comprehensive national program of

public works 7 — to, promote the gen-

eral welfare.*

*In saying ‘that Congress, being ~— engaged: in relieving

‘unemployment, was not interested in the local benefits derived from

the use of the ptblic works, we are not implying a belief that a consid-

eration of such local incidental benefits or a manifest desire for them ‘by

- Congress would make the _ any the less constitutional. The greatest

——

——

39

There is no justification for petitioners’ argument that

Title II. is beyond the powers of Congress because power

plants which might compete with those of private industry

are included in the list. of projects eligible for loans and

grants. The determination of the type of project desired was

naturally left by Congress to the applicant. Whether or not |

a competitive power plant was desirable was a question of

policy for the state government to decide. Greenwood.

County wanted such a plant and the. Legislature of South

Carolina has determined that it is proper for the county to

have and operate such a plant. We do not believe that Con-

gress would have been justified in saying to us that. we

could not have a power plant because of possible competi-

tion with private utilities and that since we did not need

-or desire any other type of project we could have no. part ,

at all in the public works program.

; In the list of eligible projects contained in Title II, no

emphasis is given to competitive power plants or any other

type of-competitive projects. Certainly it cannot be said

that a simple refusal by Congress to exclude power proj-.

ects from this-list makes the Act unconstitutional.

ITI.

The Aid Given by the Federal Government to Greenwood

County is Within the Powers of Congress Under

| the Commerce Clause

Although our fundamental position is that Congress

has validly authorized the making of this loan and grant

under the General Welfare Clause of the Constitution and

the Courts below have passed only upon this power, we be-

lieve that this particular loan and grant has, in addition,

advantage of a pro of public works ever other systems of unem-

loyment relief is the accomplishment of permanent local .benefits, and

it cannot be said that in order to pass a valid Act Congress had to close

its eyes to this advantage. The Federal Government can: manifest the

cooperation with state sovereignties approved by this Court in the Social

Security cases in no more salutary manner than by aiding the states and

their sub-divisions in the acquisition of much-needed public works.

o@

36

constitutional validity under the Commerce Clause as an

aid to navigation.

' Although the Saluda River at the point where the Buz-

zard: Roost dam will be built.is not accessible to water

craft from the sea, the flow of the river at this point does

affect the navigability of the Congaree-Santee system (R.

400-402). |

The Federal ‘Power: Commission which has vines

to act only upon a showing that the navigability of rivers.“

affects interstate commerce (16 U.S. C. A., 797), has found

that the project here does affect interstate commerce (R.

‘ 400). The determination by the Federal Power Commis-

sion of this question of fact. is conclusive.

Morgan v. U. S., 298 U.S., 468.

This Court has frequently confirmed Congress’ right

to control the flow of water in streams which affect naviga-

tion, even though the stream at the point involved is not

actually navigable. ;

U. S. v. Rio Grande vow & Irrigation Co., 174 U.

S., 690.

Egan v. Hart, 165 U. S., 188.

New Jersey v. New York, 283 U.S., 336.

That purposes other than navigation, will also be

served in the construction of the dam is immaterial.

Arizona v. California, 283 U.S8., 423.

>

Title II of the National Industrial Recovery “Act Does

Not Violate the Tenth Amendment

. Petitioners argue their contention that Title II in-

fringes upon the reserved rights of the state and violates

the Tenth Amendment as a proposition separate and dis-

tinct from the fundamental question of Congress’ powers

under the General Welfare Clause. To us their position

that the statute intrudes upon ‘the réserved rights of the

O

7

“y

37.

state is simply the converse of their position that no con-

stitutional power exists for the enactment. If a particular

power is found to have been delegated by the Constitution

to the Federal Government, the Tenth Amendment by its

very language has no application: This view seems to us

to be supported by the Court’s treatment of the constitu.

tional questions in the Social Security cases, particularly

_ Helvering v. Davis, supra. This separation of approaches

to what should be the same basic inquiry may itself be

taken to demonstrate the fallacy inherent in petitioners’

argument.. Not being able to find any invalidity in what

Congress has done by regarding the Act itself with its

undeniably legitimate purpose, petitioners find it neces- |

sary to go further and argue that unconstitutionality is es-

tablished because of collateral and indirect effects of the

legislation. They are contending that, even if this Court

finds ample authority under the Constitution for Congress

to have enacted Title II of the National Industrial Re-

covery Act, that power must be disregarded and considered

as non-existent if the Statute can be shown in some aspects

of its application to have the effect of regulating matters

non-federal in character; and this although the instances

involving alleged regulation are infinitesimal in proportion

to other applications of the statute.

We submit that there is no authority for such position.

When the power of Congress to enact a particular law can

be pointed out in the Constitution the fact that the ‘inci-

dental effect of the legislation might be beyond the scope. of

the Government’s enumerated powers does not invalidate

the law. Petitioners have cited on page 55 of their brief the

eases of Collins v. New Hampshire, 171 U. S., 30, and Ham-

mer v. Dagenhart, 247 U.S., 251, for the rule that the pur-

pose of an act of Congress ‘‘must be determined by its

- natural and reasonable effect.’’ They cannot seriously be

contending that the natural and reasonable effect of the

comprehensive statute we are considering is to regulate.

ea

38

their electric rates in South Carolina. They have never

even argued that the underlying purpose of Congress in

enacting Title II of the National Industrial Reeovery Act

was to force them to reduce their rates.

Collateral Effects Cannot Invalidate Statute

We understand the well-settled rule of constitutional

interpretation to be that where a statute itself contains

no regulatory provisions the Court will not condemn it as

violative of the Tenth Amendment even if its collateral

effeet is the regulation of intrastate activities. This prin-

ciple has been established in a long line of cases, has never —

been denied or questioned hy any decision of this Court

_and has been recently re-stated and re-affirmed in the case ~

' of Sonzmsky v. United States, 300 Ut 8., 506. The petitioner

there contended that the tax imposed bythe National Fire

Arms Act, the violation of which:he was convicted of was

not a true tax but a penalty imposed for the purpose of

regulating trafiic in fire arms, the local regulation of which

“~ reserved to the states under the Tenth Amendment. This

Court in a unanimous opinion held that the tax was valid

as an exercise of a proper Congressional power and that

it could not consider whether it operated as a regulation or

was intended by Congress as a regulation of matters be-

-yond the Congress’ power.

The Court, in reviewing the authorities, demonstrated

that there were two separate lines of decisions necessitat-

ing different approaches—one, exemplified by the Child La-

bor Tax Cases, 295 U.S., 20, Hill v. Wallace, 259 U. S., 44,

and Carter v. Carter Coal Co., 298 U. S., 238, holding that

where a statute although purporting to be-passed under an

admitted federal power such as the taxing power, actually

contained provisions regulating or authorizing the regula-

tion of intrastate activity, it must be condemned as viola-

tiveof the Tenth Amendment; the other, holding that where

eee

.

39

a statute comes within proper Congrss:ional power and

contains on its face no regulatory provisions, it will not be

stricken down even though its collateral and incidental ef-

fect will be to accomplish something which Congress has no

power under the Constitution.to accomplish directly. As ex-

amples of the latter line of décisions the Court cites Veazie

Bank v. Fenno, 8 Wall., 533; U. S. v. Doremus, 249 U. S.,

86; McCray v..U. S., 195 U. S., 27; Smith v. Kansas City

Title Co., 255 U. S., 180; Arizona v. California, 283 U. S.,

423; Hampton & Co. v. U.S., 276 U.S., 394.

In some of these cases, notably Hampton & Co. v. Uz

S., and Smith v. Kansas City Title Co.; it will be found that

the rule was applied, although Congress had declared in the —

Act that it had a desire for the collateral result. .

The case of U. S. v. Butler, 297 U. S., 1, relied on al- —

most exclusively by the petitioners in their argument as to

violation of the Tenth Amendment, when examined is found .

to be of that class of cases dealing with statutes which them-.

selves contain explicit provisions authorizing the regula-

tion of intrastate activities.’"The Court, in the Butler case,

held that the tax resisted was an incident of a statutory

plan for regulating agricultural production, which statu-

tory plan invaded the reserved rights of the states. The

Agricultural Adjustment Act showed a direct purpose on

the part of Congress to regulate, the plan for the regula-

tion and control of intrastate avtivities appearing clearly |

- throughout the statute.

On the other hand, in Title II of the National Indus-

trial Recovery Act there is no provision at all regulating

or authorizing the regulation of intrastate rates. There is

- no indication in the Act that Congress desired Or even an-

ticipated that régulation:of intrastate rates would result.

If such regulation does in fact occur, it will be a collateral

or incidental, result of the operation of the statute so as to

come within the rule applied in the Sonzinsky case rather

than within the rule applied in the- Butler case.

40 .

It is clear that Congress in enacting Title II had no

purpose to regulate petitioners’ rates, nor, we submit, was

there present even a purpose to cause competition to the

petitioners. The competition will be purely an incidental

consequence of Congress’ primary purpose, the promotion |

of the general welfare by increased employment. The only

way that Congress could have avoided the incidental effect

would have been to provide that no loans and grants could

be made where competition with private industry might re-

sult. This it refused to do, and wisely, because it is clear

that such-a provision would have almost completely nulli-

fied the program. Not only, to avoid competition with pri-

vate industry, would Congress have had to deny loans and

grants for power projects, but other types of projects

would have had limited. It is difficult to imagine any .

type of useful project which might not offer competition to

an established private enterprise. Public hospitals would

compete with private hospitals; public schools with private

schools; public swimming pools with private swimming

pools; publicly owned bridges with private toll bridges, and

so on through the entire list. States and municipalities

would have found it difficult, if not impossible, to select

projects which they desired and which they were willing to

borrow money in order to possess. It seems to us an unwar-

rantable proposition that the mere fact that Congress per-

mitted the making of loans and grants for competitive

power projects could invalidate the Congressional Act.

Regulation is Illusory

We have argued that the collateral or incidental ef-

fects of the Federal Statute, even if those effects were a

regulation of intrastate rates, would not invalidate the

statute. It is our position, however, that Title II cannot be

said to have even the incidental effect of regulating the pe-

; titioners’ rates. It is true ‘that the construction of the

41

Greenwood County project will result in competition to the

Duke Power Company although the evidence shows that the

competition from this small. hydro-electric project will be

of no great importance. Such competition is, we submit, not

regulation in any sense and certainly not in the sense of

regulation in violation of the Tenth Amendment. The only

actual regulation of petitioners’ rates possible in South

Carolina is regulation by the State. The Federal Govern-

ment does not have in South Carolina, and cannot have as

long as our system of dual sovereignty exists, any system

or machinery whereby it could regulate intrastate rates

even if it desired to do, so. Its rights under the existing loan

and grant agreement with the county; as we have demon-

strated and as we believe petitioners admit, certainly give

it no such right of regulation.

_The State of South Carolina has client its power to

regulate the petitioners’ rates to’a state agency, the South

Carolina Public Utilities Commission, which has the power

to apply any just standard that it desires to the petitioners’

rates to, determine whether or not they are proper. If the

yardstick which petitioners claim will be afforded. by the

rates of Greenwood County is in fact a just yardstick, meas-

uring exactly 36 inches, petitioners cannot complain of its

application by the Commission. If, however, as the two

Courts below have found, the rates of Greenwood County

do not constitute a just yardstick on account of the en-

tirely dissimilar nature of the financial and political setup

of the two systems, the Public Utilities Commission will not

use it. In neither case can plaintiffs be damaged.

Since Commissions and Courts in fixing utility rates

take into consideration reproduction cost, and since Green- ”

wood’s econstructien contracts will be public records, it-may

be that the South Carolina Public Service Commission will

obtain from the Greenwood records certain information as

to the cost of items which go into electric utility construc-

tion. Similar information, however, would be available to

;

42

, a

the Public Service Commission whether the plant-were built

in the United States or in a foreign country, and a private

‘utility cannot complain because the Public Service Commis-:

sion obtains correct information about construction costs.

_We insist that competition is not regulation, but even

if we accept petitioners’ position ‘that the competition here

does amount to regulation, we think it is clear that such

regulation will be regulation by the State of South Car-

olina and its sub-division, Greenwood County. The Federal

Government will have absolutely no right to control or

regulate the operation of the rates of the Greenwood County

_ plant. Such control and regulation is in Greenwood County,

subject to the general powers of the State Legislature. The

State, through its sub-division, will be doing only those

things which it has always had a right to do and petitioners -

have no more right now to complain of the doing of those-

things than they have always had. If, as petitioners con-

tend, the rates of the Greenwood County plant are to be

used as a yardstick to apply to their rates, the yardstick

will be a State. yardstick and one which the State ha, al-

ways had ~ wieiae to use.

The Statute Involves’ no Coercion of the Sovereignty

of the State

Petitioners’ argument is that the State by the accept-

ance through its subdivision, Greenwood County, of Fed-

eral funds for the financing of the proposed project has

been coerced into giving up matters properly within its eXx-

elusive control. Authority for this position is sought from

the case of United States v. Butler, supra, where this. Court

held as violative of the Tenth Amendment ‘‘a scheme for

purehasing with federal funds submission to federal regu-

lation of a subject reserved to the states:’’ The difference.

between the coercion found to exist in the Butler case and

the elements of our case alleged by plaintiffs to show co-

43

‘ ercion are obvious. Under the Agricultural Adjustment Act

the Federal Government was found to be giving money to

private persons for the purpose of controlling matters

properly under state control, This was being done without

the consent of the state and very possibly in direct opposi-

tion to state policy. The Administrator’s actions in. our

case do not in any sense restrict the powers of the state

but only furnish to the state means of exercising a power

that has always existed. It cannot be said that the state’s

power is encroached upon by the giving or accepting of

financial aid in the furtherance of a declared state policy.

The State did not accept the loan and grant under any

compulsion or coercion. It knew that federal monies for

the construction of -public works were available to it if it

could satisfy certain conditions, but it was purely a matter

of choice for the state, or its subdivision as to whether it

would avail itself of a loan and grant from these funds for

construction of a public works project. It was also a mat-.

ter of choice for the state as to what type of project it

desired. .

We of the County submit; and the evidence in this con-

nection is uncontradicted, that it was Greenwood County’s

. desire for a hydro-electric plant, uninspired by any fed-

eral agency, that led to the application and that it was

’ Greenwood County’s perseverance that led to the allotment.

Our volition has never been swayed or attempted to be

swayed by any word or act of a federal employee.

Furthermore, neither Greenwood County nor the State

of South Carolina has giveg up anything as a result of

Title II or as a result of the Administrator’s acts. The con-

trol of rates remains in the sovereignty of the State of

South Carolina where it has always been. This control goes

not only to the rates of Duke Power Company, but also to

the rates of the municipal plant. That the South Carolina

Legislature can control County government and all matters

“ .

4 |

2

44

connected therewith throughout the state is a doctrine well

preserved by our South Carolina Courts.

'-Park v. Greenwood County, 174 S. C., 35, 176 S.

E., 870, *

Heslep v. State Highwey Department, 171 S. C.,

186, 171 S. E., 913..

Duke Powér Company v. Bell, 156 S. C., 299, 152

S. E., 865:

Although at the present time rates charged by govern-

mental subdivisions maintaining public utilities are not

controlled ‘by the Public Service Commission of the staté,.

there is nothing in our State Constitution or in any of the.

decisions of our highest Court indicating that the Legisla-

-- ture cannot put such ‘rates within the jurisdiction of the

Public Service Commission or supervise them in any man-

ner it sees fit.

1 McQuillin, Municipal cians 642, Sec. 251.

27 R. C. L., 1442, See. 59.

There was presented to us no choice of yielding or suf-

fering ruin as was found:by this Court in the Butler deci- -

sion to have been offered to the farmers under the Agricul-

4 tural Adjustment Act. The langnage of Mr. Justice Suther-

land in Massachusetts v. Mellon, 262 U. S., 482, is applica-

ble in this connection:

Nor does the statute require the states to do or

yield anything. If Congress enacted it with the ulte-

rior purpose of tempting them to yield that purpose —

1 may be effectively frustrated ads the simple expedient

of not yielding. ,

Even more to the point is the opinion of this Court in

the recent case of Steward Machine Company v. Davis, su-

pra, where the argument that the sovereignty of individual

' states was being relinquished in exchange for benefits of-

fered by federal statute was capable of a much stronger

presentation than it is in the case at bar. Under Title LX of

the Social Security Act the states were in effect given their

.

°° ©

45

choice of creating a state unemployment compensation fund a

or seejng all of the tax imposed by the federal statute go to .

the federal fund. In our case the decision by the state not

to apply for a federal loan and grant would involve no dis-

advantage other than not possessing the completed plant,

with the accompanying financial obligations. In other words,

South Carolina under Title II of the National Industrial

Recovery Act had the choice of getting something which |

they did not have or of keeping what they had. The states

under Title IX of the Social Security Act were given the -

far more urgent choice of getting something or of giving up

something which they had.

- The Cireuit Court of Appeals thus discusses the effect

of the Steward case upon the Tenth Amendment argument

presented by the petitioners here (R. 861):

Likewise, our conclusion that the statute cannot

be condemned és an invasion of the reserved powers

_of the states is fortified by the decision: in Steward

Mach. Co. v. Davis, supra, wherein the Court said that

.. before a statute could be’ condemned on this ground

there must be a showing that the things which it au-

thorizes are ‘‘weapons of coercion, destroying’ or im-' ~

pairing the aatonomy of the “states,*.57 8. Ct., 890.

The carrying out of the program of ‘public. works au-

thorized by the statute for the relief of unemployment

cannot possibly have this effect; and, specifically, the -

making of loans and grants to municipal corporatyons

to enable them to engage in enterprises which the States

have ‘authorized them to engage in cannot, in any use’

of language, be said to abridge. or invade the powers of

the states. As we said in our former opinion, ‘It is an

entirely different thing from giving or lending money

‘to private persons for the purpose of defeating a state

policy or regulating matters under state control.’’ Any.

effect which such loans and grants may have upon rates

will be incidental to the competition engendered by the

construction of the projects; and where the state itself

authorizes the projects and the procuring of the loans

and grants for their construction, as did South Caro-

>

SEYRET - atte

46

lina in this case (Park'v. Greenwood County, supra),

- and retains the right of regulating the rates through °,

the exercise of state power, it cannot be contended with —

any show of reason that the power of the state is en-

eroached upon by the making of the loans and grants.

_or by the competition resulting from the construction

of the projects which they make possible:

V.

There is in Title II no Unlawful Delegation of Legislative

Power to the Executive

The authority conferred by Title II of the National In-

dustrial Recovery Act upon the President and the Adminis-

‘trator of Public Works is not such delegation of legisla-

tive power to a branch of the executive as was condemned

- by this Court i in the case of Panama Refining Co. v. Ryan,

293 U. S., 388, and Schecter Bros. v. U. S., 295 U.S., 495.

‘The standard laid down in the Panama Refining Com-.

. pany case, following the established precedents of Hamp-

- ton v. U. 8., 276 U. S., 395, and Field v. Clark, 143 U. S.,

649, may be found in‘the following language:

Accordingly we look to the statute to see whether

_ the Congress has declared a policy with respect to that

subject; whether the Congress has set up a standard

for the President’s action; whether the Congress has

required any finding by the President, in the exercise .

_ of the authority to enact the prohibition.

In the statute contested here the policy of the Congress Be

to provide a comprehensive program of public works for

the relief of unemployment could be no more clearly stated. —

In Sections 202 and 203 we find ample standards to guide

the President in making his allocations. Various classes of

_ eligible projects are enumerated and the President and Ad- .

’ ministrator are required to find in the making of each loan

that it will increase-employment quickly and that the.

United States Government will be reasonably secured in it.

' That it was necessary for the — to _— in ad-

~~

47

ministrative officers certain discretion in the approving of |

particular projects is obvious. It would have been i impossi- .

ble for Congress in 1933 .to determine which of the thou-

sands of applications should be granted, regarding in each

case the legal and financial soundness. The rule is well es-

tablished that the necessities of the case will justify leaving

a broad discretion in administrative officers.

Butterfield v. Stranahan, 192 U.8., 470.

Union Bridge Co. v. U. S., 204 U. 8., 364.

Monongahela Bridge v. U. 8.,216 U. S., 177.

This rule was recognized in both the Schecter and the

Panama Refining Company cases.

_ The recent decision of: Cincinnati Soap Company v.

United States, 301 U. S., 308, is in itself almost a complete

. answer to petitioners’ argument as to delegation of legisla-

tive power. There Congress had provided for the payment

to the Philippine Government of the -proceeds of a tax

levied on the processing of Philippine. coconut oil without

placing any restrictions upon the use by the Philippine Gov-

ernment of the funds paid over to it. Mr. Justice Suther-

land, speaking for the whole Court, said:

The validity of the act disposing of the tax is also

attacked as constituting an unlawful delegation of leg-

islative power. That Congress has wide discretion in

the matter of prescribing details of expenditures for

which it appropriates must, of course, be plain. Appro-

priation and other acts of Congress: are repléte with in-

stances.of general appropriations of large amounts, to

be allotted and expended as directed by designated gov-

ernment ageficies. A striking and pertinent example

is afforded by-the Acttof June 17, 1902, c. 1093, 33Stat.,

388, where all moneys received from the sale and dis-

t

‘

posal of public lands in a large number of states and -

territories are set aside as a special fund to. be ex- .

pended for the reclamation of arid and semi-arid lands

within those states and territories. The expenditures

are to be made under the direction of the Secretary

of the Interior upon such projects as he may deter- |

cr f

“ud > P ?

. ‘

OARS eR Nera een Ste ep mene . —

mag ee SLEEP Ng NAEP UR NNU ORRIN NTS ah tl Nc PSO RR

48

mine to be practicable and advisable. The constitution-

ality of this delegation of authority has never been

seriously questioned. See United States v..Hanson, 167

-Fed., 881, 884-885.

Even if it could be said that the ee? Recovery Act

did not provide sufficiently definite standards. for -the ac-

tions of the Administrator and gave to him legislative

power, Congress: by subsequent enactments has so adopted.

the previous administrative interpretation of the Act as to

s _provide adequate standards to guide the Administrator in

his future expenditures:

Pursuant to Senate Resolution 190, the, Administrator

furnished to the Senate a document, Defendants’ Exhibit

70, giving an account of his stewardship to date, setting out

clearly the policies of the PWA, its organization, the pro-

cedure used in handling allotments, the standards applied,

and a list showing the approved projects.

Thereafter Congress enacted the Emergency Appro-

priation Act, Fiscal year 1935 (Appendix to Government’s

Brief, p. 24), autharizing expenditures of $500,000;000.00

for public works under Title II. On April 8, 1935, Congress

enacted the Emergency Relief Appropriation Act of, 1935

(Appendix to~ Government’ s Brief, p. 26), which con--

tinued the existence of the Public Works Administration

and authorized the continuance of its functions. On June

22, 1936, Congress passed the First Deficiency Appropria-

tion Act, Fiscal year 1936 (Appendix to Government’s

Brief, p. 37), by which the: Public Works Admiristration

was authorized to spend $300,000,000.00 for the making of

loans and grants ‘‘of the kind and character for which the

_-/ ° Federal Emergency Administration of Public Works has

heretofore made loans and grants pursuant to Title IT of the

.. “- National Industrial Recovery Act or the Emergency Relief

ae Appropriation Act of 1935.’’

This continuation by the onion: of the functions of

the Publie Works Administration, with the facts.as to what

ee SII IIREN BESSON LRN LIG ED OT AOE RAY BOGS GLY ASEM Ht SE BNE ATMS OIG NI SES Re SEERA IR PE PAR TOROTAS ey

zw Sudo he Sa - =: sate fo a all . = > wie t9

arte mae mare ne men es Qe a rn een em re ne cen ree = me

49

the Administration was doing fully before it, amounts to

complete ratification of the acts of the Administrator and

the adoption by Congress as proper of the standards and

' procedure used by the Administrator.

It is to be noted that the 1936 statute particularly rati-

fied the Greenwood County project.

For legal authority as to the effect of these subsequent

ratifications and adoption by Congress of what has been

done by the executive, it is necessary only to cite the two

recent cases of Isbrandsten-Moller Co. v. U. 8., 300 U. S.,

139, and Swayne & Hoyt, etc., Co. v. U. S., 81 L. Ed., 400.

VI.

In Making the Loan and Grant to Greenwood County the

Administrator is Not Violating the Statute

Petitioners’ argument as to the alleged violation of the

statute by the Administrator stresses only slightly the con-

_ tention which actually should be the whole of their argu-

ment as to the Administrator’s actions; 7. ¢., that Title I

of the National Industrial Recovery Act does not authorize

the making of loans and grants to aid in the construction of

electric plants which will compete with private enterprise.

Title II does clearly authorize the making of the loan

and grant here contested. The construction of hydro-elec-

tric projects is clearly facluded within the enumeration of

the items that by Section 202 of the Act make up the. com-

prehensive program. The legislative history of the Act dis-

closes that Congress intended to include within the program

projects of the type here involved (77 Congressional Ree-

ord, 5°53; Appendix to Government’ s Brief, iste 78 et

seq.).

The Administrative interpretation of the Act and the

fact that within the program was included numerous hydro-

electric projects in territories where private utilities were

serving was brought to the notice of Congress by Reports

50

: ~

of the Administrator (Defendants’ Exhibits 70, 71, 72, 73

and 74). With this knowledge, Congress made further ap-

propriations for and continued the functioning of the Pub-

lie Works Administration in three consecutive years, as we

pointed out under V above. |

In enacting the Emergency Relief Appropriation Act

of 1935, Congress rejected a proposal to limit public works

projects to those which would be non-competitive with >ri-

vate ——— (Appendix to Government’s Brief, p.

78).

* In the First Deficiency Appropriation Act, Fiscal year

1936, Congress made special provision to insure that mu-

nicipal power projects involved in litigation would not be

defeated by a lapse of time (Appendix to Government’s

. Brief, p. 38).

It is undeniable then that the ndcdulbbentae 4 is acting

. within the express authority of the statute when he makes

a loan and grant for-the construction of a municipal power

plant. What petitioners say, however, is that regardless of

the clear authority under the statute for the Administrator

to do just what he has’ done here, if he has made this loan

and grant looking to a reduction of petitioners’ rates, the

loan and grant is invalid. Although they admit that the |

leged regulation and that this effect would ordinarily fol-

low the making of the loan and grant regardless of. the pur-

peses or policies behind its making, they take the position

that if the reduction of private utility rates is desired by

the Administrator, is planned by hin, is a part of his broad

- policy or is used as a criterion in passing on ———,

- that in itself makes his action illegal.

This contention that an improper motive or desire ac-

companied the doing by the Administrator of an authorized

act so as to invalidate the act was met by the Circuit Court

of Appeals on three separate grounds. The Court said:

~ effect of the loan and grant is what will accomplish their al-'

ol

There are several answers to this, each of which

‘seems to us to be complete and final.

_ In the first place, the Court below has found, and

the finding is supported by evidence, that the Admin-

istrator was not actuated by such motive in making the

—_ and grant to the County. * * * (R. 866).

In the second place, the Administrator in selecting

projects to which loans and grants are to be made un-

der the statute must necessarily exercise an adminis-

trative discretion, so as to extend aid ta projects which

are financially sound and the construction of which will

be in the public interest. If, in exercising this discre-

tion, he adopts the policy of not making loans and

grants for municipal projects which will not provide

rates to the public lower than competing private enter-

prises, such policy would seem to accord both with

sound finance and with the requirements of justice to

existing enterprises (R. 866).

* * *

In the third place, even if the Administrator had

the motive attributed to him by plaintiffs, and even if

this be an improper motive, the validity of his action is

not affected thereby (R. 867).

Since we have gone rather fully under our Dimes

of Facts, above, into the evidence supporting the District

Court’s finding that the Administrator in making the loan

and grant to Greenwood County had no purpose other than

that of relieving unemployment through the construction

of useful public works, we do not consider any further dis- -

cussion of the facts establishing this to be necessary. We

do not believe that all the ‘testimony brought forward by

the petitioners to show that the.Administrator is using his

office for the accomplishment of his ‘personal desire to re-

duce utility rates can even tend to refute the combination

of two simple and uncontradicted facts: (1) that the allot-

ment to Greenwood County was obtained only after

vigorous and persiatent efforts ad the County, and (2) om

b ; ; bd

sec Agee — iaiiae

= ir aa

- 52

of the entire number of Public Works projects approved by

the Administrator only 98/100 of 1% have been competi-

tive power projects.

We further believe that the Cireuit Court of Appeals’

second answer to the petitioners’ argument as to improper

' motives is sound, although neither we of the County nor

counsel for the government argued this view in the Courts

_below.. We have shown that the Administrator had of ne-

cessity very broad discretion in approving applications

for public works projects. There were many applications

for power projects and not all of them could be approved. °

If the construction of two projects would equally create

employment, if the loans to both would be equally secure,

and if the other statutory requirements. were met in both

eases and the Administrator must still choose between

_them, he would naturally give the project to the community

\ in which it would do the most good. The determination of

which project would be of the greatest and most lasting

benefit to the citizens of the community would in most cases

rest upon whether the proposed municipal plant would give

rates lower than those then being provided by private

utilities. As Judge Parker said in his opinion:

_ * * © There is nothing in law or common sense which

requires the Administrator to ignore such considera-

tions in the exercise of the discretion reposed in him.

Congress could certainly have provided that no loans —

or grants should be made under the Act to a municipal

enterprise in cases where an existing private enter-

prise was furnishing service to the public as cheaply .

as the municipal enterprise would furnish it; and we

see no reason why such criterion may not and should

not be adopted by the Adntinistrator. He is not re-

quired to select the projects on his program by lot or

_ to close his eyes to the interests of the public or the

social desirability of projects among which he must

choose. * * * | ;

pene roy wig cents patos ib niptiniesasi rhe eiarabeiera aie 2 henner

SER EG RN RE pe ne = RR ae ane ae ttn jo

53

‘What. petitioners are really saying is that the Admin-

istrator would never be justified in making a loan and grant

for a publicly owned power plant if any competition with

private industry would result. Competition and resulting

damage to private business could not be avoided by the

Administrator if he were to carry out the Public Works

program as it was intended. Conceivably almost any use-

ful project desired by an applicant might result in compe-

tition for some industry. For him arbitrarily to have re-

fused allotments where there was danger of competition

would have caused the collapse of the Act’s administration

and thwarted Congress’ purposes to relieve unemployment.

Petitioners in that section of their Brief beginning on

page 38, give the impression that the Administrator was

free under Title II to make up the Comprehensive Program

of Public Works of whatever types of projects he saw fit

and that, it was in the exercise of his own discretion that

power plants were included among the projects for which

loans and grants were available. This position is unjustified

since the Administrator was specifically instructed by the

Act to make loans and grants for projects of the type in-

volved here. |

Section 203-(a) of Title IT (Appendix to Government’s

Brief, page 4) provides:

With a view to increasing. employment quickly

_* © * the President is authorized * * * to

construct, finance or aid in the construction or firianc-

ing of any public-works project included in the pro-

- gram prepared pursuant to Section 202 * * *.

‘Section 202 of Title II (Appendix to Government’s

Brief, page 3) provides that

The Administrator, under the direction of the

President, shall prepare a comprehensive program of

public works, which shall include among other things

the following: * * * (b) conservation and de-

velopment of natural resources, including” control,

utilization and purification of waters, * * _de-

: - 84

velopment of water power, transmission of electrical .

energy and harbor improvement and flood control * * *.

Thus it is obvious that even had the Administrator de-

sired to, he could not have refused to make loans and grants

for municipal power projects without violating. the statute

under which he was acting. The Act required the inclusion -

of power plants in the public works program, whether the

Administrator approved of that inclusion or not, and no act

or statement of the Administrator: could defeat Congress’ .

desire of having loans and grants made for municipally

owned power projects. Petitioners, it seems, would deny

this. Their argument actually comes to saying that since the

Administrator has indicated a personal approval of muni-

cipal power projects, no loan and grant for such a proj-

ect can be valid, being presumably a furtherance of the Ad-

‘ministrator’s own desires rather than of the will of Con-

gress. If this theory were true and Mr. Ickes had been an

enemy of municipal ownership, he could have completely

defeated the clear language of the Act by the simple expedi-

- ent of announcing publicly that he was in favor of lower

rates and proposed to use his power as Administrator to ac-

complish a lowering of existing rates.

The statute authorized the Aqpinistrator to take as

security for the loans he was insjpucted to make either

_ general obligation bonds or revenue bonds. At the time the

Recovery Act was passed and the Administrator began to

carry out the program, the finances of State governments

and their political subdivisions were in precarious condi-

tion, most of the governmental units having already |

reached state constitutional limits on general obligation

-bonds. Therefore, if the Administrator’ were to make suffi-

cient loans to carry out the purpose of Congress to increase ©

employment throughout the nation, he had to take revenue

bonds which could be financed outside of constitutional debt

limitations, and which necessitated the construction of proj-

ects which would. actually produce revenue. Projects of this

55 -

character are much more likely to.compete with private en-

‘terprise than the ordinary type of projects secured by gen-

. eral obligation bends. The incidental creation, therefore, of :

competition is caused not by the Administrator’s volition

~ but by the necessities of the case.

We come, finally, to the third position assumed by theg

Circuit Court, that is, that even if the Adminisfrator has

the motive attributed to him by the petitioners, and even if

this is an improper motive, the validity of his action is not

affected thereby. The existence of an ulterior motive on the

part of a public officer cannot invalidate his official acts if

_ those acts are within his proper powers.

Dakota Telephone Co. v. South Dakota, 250 U. 8. 163 ~

Spalding v. Dickinson, 161 U. 8S. 483.

West v..Hitchcock, 205 U.S. 80.

De Cambra v. Rogers, 189 U.S. 119.

Philadelphia v. Stimson, 223 U. S., 605.

The principle esfablished by these eases has been re-

7 cently re-affirmed by this Court in the case of Isbrandtsen-

Moller Company v. United States, 300 U. S. 139. The com-

-plainant there charged that an order of the Secretary of

Commerce, despite its recitals: of legitimate purpose,

sprang from illegal motives. The Court in a unanimous

opinion said that the case-was controlled by “‘the principle

that if. the order is justified by a lawful purpose, it is not .

_-rendered: illegal by some other motive in the mintOf the e

officer issuing rt.’’ |

_ Since the first decision of the Circuit Court of Appeals —

in this case holding that the motive of the Administrator

was immaterial and since the opinion in the Isbrandtsen

Case was handed down, the petitioners have changed the

_, name of the element which they claim can be added: to the

Administrator’s admittedly legal actions so as to make

them illegal from ‘‘motive”’ to ‘‘criterion’’. In change the

name, however, they have not changed their argument.

What they are now saying, as we understand it, is this

Syn Np at ey

Nee t-te

tes

rhs

aig

wares y-ide

_~ 56

That sithough the Loan and Grant Agreement with Green-

wood County is on its face legal, it “becomes illegal because

in passing upon the application an illegal criterion has been

used by the Administrator—this criterion being whether

or not existing electric rates will be reduced ‘by on making

of the loan and grant.

To us there is no-real distinction between the meaning ~

of the word ‘‘criterion”’ as now used, and the word ‘‘mo-

tive’’ as formerly used by petitioners in their argument.

What petitioners object to and what they claim will damage

‘them is the alleged requirement that electric rates be re-

duced. Whether. this requirement is manifested in an ille- —

gal criterion or is the result of an illegal motive, it seems

to us to come to the same thing. In all of the cases which we

~ have cited holding that where an Act is within the power

of an officer it is not rendered illegal by any improper in-

tention on the part of that officer, the Court uses the word

‘‘motive’’. It is inconceivable that the result of any of these

decisions would have been changed had the Court substi-

tuted the phrase, ‘‘the applicetion of an extraneous cri-

terion’’ for ‘‘the existgpce of an ulterior motive’’.

Petitioners have themselves conceded that the Admin-

_istrator’s intention is irrelevant by taking the position that,

regardless of the use of this alleged criterion or the exist-

ence of this alleged motive, the necessary and unavoidable

effect of the making of the loan and grant to Greenwood

County would be ajforcing down of their rates through ©

competition. By thegr own argument they will suffer exact-

ly the same results, no matter whether those results were

intended. by the Administrator or not, since competition

flows directly from any administration of the statute that

pean loans and grants for power proj

In other words, petitioners’ a ent comes in its

final analysis toa contention that ‘the collateral effect of

_ the ‘statute can invalidate it, a complete answer to which

o7

ae a >

‘position is found in the Sondinsky Case, supra, and the

eases therein cited. -

If petitioners’ argument is sound that allotments can-

not be made where they will result in lower power rates,

that entire portion of the Recovery Act which provides for

financing projects to develop water power and transmission

of electric energy will fail. If the proposed municipal plants .

must charge higher rates than the competing private utility,

no plants will ever be built and this for two reasons: (1)

_ Local communities would not ask for a plant which would

- result in higher rates than those prevailing in the locality;

and (2) loans from the Federal Government would not be

reasonably secured because the municipal plants would be

unable at higher rates to obtain the business.

VI.

The Petitioners’ Evidence, Consisting of the Testimony

of Frank T. Post, Edwin Vennard, D. E. Byerley

and George Carter and Plaintiffs’ Exhibits

50 to 74, was Not Competent Evi-

dence in This Case

The testimony of these witnesses and these Exhibits

were received by the District Court at the time of the final

hearing but their existence in the Record did not keep either

the ‘District Court or the Circuit Court of Appeals from

holding that the Administrator was not motivated in mak-

ing this loan and grant by any purpose or plan unau-

thorized by the statute. We have, therefore, in our Discus-

sion of ,Facts above, treated this evidence as- properly be-

fore the Court. However, we do believe it was clearly incom-

petent and offen the position that it was improperly in the

Record as additional grounds: to: sustain the decisions be-

low.

This evidence consists of the recounting of conversa-

tions between representatives of power companies and em-

GD RII SANT 9 OG

. ’

58

ployees of the Public Works Administration, .and cor-

respondence between the same parties, with reference to

“. - applications. for loays to municipalities other: than Green-

wood County. Petitidners offered this evidence for the pur-

= pose of showing that the Public Works.Administration in

considering applications from these municipalities did not

grant or refuse allocation of funds om the basis of the stand-

ard set up in Title I]-of the Recovery Act and of the rules

made pursuant thereto, but granted or refused the loans ,

9 upon the basis of whether or not the privaterutility* ‘in that

area would reduce its rates.

_ The most important thing to note is that no testimony

showing any connection between the handling of Green-

a wood County’s application and the handling of the applica-

tion of any of these municipalities was offered: No applica-

tion from South Carolina was included in the group, which

a aa _ consisted of municipalitiés in the mid-west, Texas, Idaho,

and one in Florida. The defendants objected to all this evi-

_ dence upon numerous grounds (R. 572), including the,

’ ground that it was irrelevant; was not admissible as an

admission against interest so far as Greenwood County

was concerned; that it was hearsay; that there was no proof

of the authority of the person writing the letters and mak-

ing the statements; tliat the terms of the contract between

Greenwood County and the Public Works Administration

are clear and the contract itself reqaired no evidence for

- explanatory Joi sma

A. The testimony { is , irrelevant to _ in this case.

The only issue involved’in this case .to which petition-

ers could possibly contend this testimony is relevant is as

to whether the Administrator in making the loan and grant

to Greenwood County (iolated the terms of Title IT of the

National Industrial Recovery Act. Their argument, as We

understand it, is that the testimony is admissible as prov-

ing that the Administrator applied an illegal criterion to all

y

a~s

59

~

applications for municipal power plants ard dientddte

as proving that he applied an illegal criterion to the Green-

~wood County application. In the first place, as we have dem-

onstrated in‘ other portions of this argument, there is no

legal distinction between the alleged existerice of an extra-

statutory criterion used in passing upon applications for

power projects and the alleged existence of an ulterior mo- .

tive in the mind of the Administrator. That an ulterior mo-

tive on the part of a public officer in doing an act which he

has a legal right to do cannot invalidate that.act is settled

by the case of. Isbrandtsen-Moller Co. v. U. S., supra,.and

_authorities referred to therein. The existence of a fotive

or criterion being immaterial, evidence going only to show -

such existence is irrelevant.

_ Petitioners offer this evidence to prove not only the

existence of an extra-statutory criterion but also the appit-

cation of that criterion in the transactions between the Ad-

ministrator and Greenwood County. They are saying that

the testimony of these witnesses proves the application by

the Public Works Administration-of the alleged extra-

statutory criterion in conn®¢tion with some loans and

grants, and that therefore it is proof of the application of

.the same criterion in regard to thé Greenwood County loan

+ and grant. This they contend although the record clearly

shows that’ no criterion other than that prescribed by the

statute was used in the approval of the Greenwood County

application.

We thgnk that netitinnere’ error as to the admissibili-

ty of this evidence lies in ‘the fact that they do not realize

that what they are trying to get from this evidence AS

proof of the actual doing of an act; i. e., the applying of a

non-statutory criterion. There is @ very great difference in

the law. between’ proving what intent accompanied an act,

admittedly done, by evidence as to the intent in the doing. of

similar acts, and in showing the commission of the act it-

<

mete ne

pag eae &

ates

a y

self by such evidence. The. requirements of similarity for

the latter are much mafe exacting.

Dean Wigmore-in his standard work-on Evidence (2d. .

Ed. ), clearly states this proposition, Vol. I, page 617 AR04:

‘When the very doing of the act charged is still to

be proved, one of the evidential facts receivable is the

person’s design or plan to do it. This in turn may be

evidenced by conduct of sundry sorts as welk as by

direct assertions of the design. But ‘where the conduct

offered consists merely in the doing of other similar

acts, it is abvious that something more is required than

the mere ‘shailacity, which. suffices for evidencing in-

tent..The object here is not merely to negative an

innocent intent at the time of the act charged, but to

ie prove a pre-existing design, system, plan or scheme,

> directed forwards to the doing of that act. In the

- former case (of intent) the attempt is merely to nega-

tive the innocent state of mind at the time of the act

charged; in the presght ease the effort is to establish

‘ -a definite prior design gr system which included the

‘ act charged as a part of its consummation. ga ‘the

a - former case, the result is té give a complexion toa 4

3 conceded act, and ends with thats_ia the present case

the result is to show (by ability) a precedent de-

sign which in its turn is fo evidence (by eed )

the doing of the act desjgned.

+» , The element, then, must be not merely a similarity

-in results, but such a concurrence of common features

€ _that the various acts are naturally to be explained as

; caused by a general plan of which they are the in-

dividual manifestations.

The testimony which the petitioners introdngon all

dealt with conferences and communications between,rep

sentatives of the,Public Works Administration and repre-

sentatives of power comipanies which were protesting the

making of. grants to communities which they seryed. If such

conferences or. communications had.taken place in regard

_ to the Greenwood grant the petitioners. must necessarily.

have been parties thereto. Petitioners have offered no evi- |

ee

‘

‘WwW

—_ on this point. says (page 336, § 102):

-

‘61

ie as to negotiations between themselves and the Public

communications testified to by the representatives of: other

power gompanies. This in-itself, we submit, shows such an

obvious dissimilarity between the handling of the Green- ©

wood County application and the handling of the other ap-

plications as to make the er inadmissible. :

Furthermore, the instances hike petitioners cite are

too limited in number and unconnected’to have probative

value even.as to the existence of any plan or scheme or use

of any criterion in the Public Works. Administration, much

less as to its exercise in the approval of the Greenwood

County application. The testimony deals with negotiations

between the Public Works Administration and only four

representatives of power companies. The PWA had han-

died several hundred applications for power projects and

a reasonable percentage of these have been approved. Yet —

with a special sample of a few handpicked cases the peti-

tioners seek to establish a general design or plan of such ©

fixity and purposefulness as to. -evidence the doing of an

act in the Greenwood County case where there is no scin- |

tilla of evidence to show that such act was done. Mr. Wig-

?

The ‘probative value of such a design or plan, for

the purpose of admissibility, will depend chiefly on

two elements, either. of which may -be very weak in a

given instance—the fixedness or absolute quality of

the design, in its subjection to no contingencies or

. ‘conditions, and the specific direction of it to the act

in question, 7. e%, application not merely to a class of

acts indefinitely foreseen, but to the exact deed in

question.

We submit that the testimony introduced by t the peti-

tioners fails absolutely to meet this test and is therefore

—

rks Administration even resembling the confergnces, and.

=

. ete a Rial “

B. The Testimony is Repugnant to the Hearsay Rule

' The test'mony of the wjenesses, Post, Vennay(, Byer-

ley and Carter and the exhibits relative thereto were ob-

jected to as hearsay but the evidence was admitted by the

District Court on the ground that the declarations, letters

and telegrams were statements against the interest of the

Administrator and therefore were not subject to the opera-

tion of the hearsay rule. ©

Although the rules regarding admissions or statements

against. interest had their origin as an exception to the

hearsay rule, they have become so broad and diversified

that they are now usually treated as a part of the substan-

tiye law of evidence, particularly wheye the person making.

the statement is a party to the swit i in ae it is sought to |

be introduced. .

The theory is that where a person has made an admis-

sion or a statement.which is against his interest at that time

or against an intérest Which subsequently develops and is

being maintained in court, that admission or statement is

admissible, not to impeach his testimony, but to contradict

his position. Now, since the statement is made outside of

court, not under oath or subject: to. cross examination, it

is obvious that it must either be made by the person against

whom it ié being introduced, or, if made by his agent, it

must be shown independently that it was made whilé that

agent was engaged in some transaction on behalf of hig

- principal and acting within the scope of his express or im-

plied authority. We submit‘ that this had not been. done in

> regard to the testimony introduced by the petitioners,

The evidence objected to involved only transactions

with the Electric Power Board of Review, and, waless that

Board was acting within the scope of its authority from the

Administrator, nothing that it did is admissible against the

Administrators It should be pointed out that this case |

invéives no rights of a third party who has relied to his

e

ie

detriment upon the declarations or acts of niember# of the

Beard. The petitioners here are strangers tosthe transac-

tions as to Which they seek to introduce testimony. The

. petitioners did not rely on any of the acts or declarations

of the members of the Board by which they now seek to

bind the Administrator. The petitionegs introduce this tes-

timony as to acts and declarations of members of the Board

and contend that they are acts and declarations of the Ad-

ministrator merely to show that the Administrator did cer-.

tain e¢ts, thought certain thoughts, or had certain policies ;

and we submit that the petitioners must first show, by evi-

dence other than the declarations of members of the Board,

that the Board members were acting within the scope of

their actual-or implied authority during these transactions.

This the petitioners | >ve failed ‘to do, and, frém the very

_ nature of the agency, are unable to’ do.

That the authority of the Electric Power Board of

Review was definitely limited to reviewing disapprovals of

power applications and making recommendations to the

Administrator in regard to applications is clearly estab-—

lished by the order ef the Administrator establishing the

Board (Plaintiffs’ Exhibit 46, R. 574). The order did not.

give the Board authority, either express or implied, to. —

. * negotiate with the power companies for the lowering of —

esteanen or to ipdicate to the power companies upon

- what conditions the applications would be approved or dis-

approved, or to make any declarations or announcements

as to the policies of the Administrator: We submit that this -

testimony as to deélarations of the Board members w hile

engaged in unauthorized acts is inacesinsite against the

. Administrator.

In Northwestern Union Packet C Company v. Clough,

20 Wall., 528, this Court said:

Declarations of an agent are, doubtless, in’ sqgme

eases, admissible against his principal, ‘but only: so

: “age

et ey eee nrene ir nt ee <

a

a tee

et ee

64°

>

- far aS he had authority to make them, ~ the au-

_ thority to make them is not necessarily to be inferred

from power to do certain acts.

The petitioners béing strangers to the transaction have

no standing to*put forward the doctrine of apparent au-

' thority because, so far as the petitioners are concerned, the

Board had no apparent authority while dealing with others '

and the petitioners cannot claim the position of one who

has relied to his détriment upon the declarations and ap- :

parent authority of an agent.

Richmond Guano Co. v. Dupont, etc., Co. (C.C. A,

4th), 284 Fed., 803.

_ Maloney Tank M fg. Co. v. Mid-Continent Oil Corp.

(C. C. A., 10th), 49 F. (2d),146. —

There is complete failure on the part.of the petitioners

to show any ratification of the acts and declarations of

members of the Electric Potger Board of Review -testified

to by petitioners’ witnesses. The evidence shows that when

‘the unauthorized acts of the members,of the Board came

to the Administrator’s attention he reprimanded: Mr. Hunt,

the Chairnan of the Board, i in writing {Defendants’ Ex-

hibit 79, R. 714), and ordered the Board ta confine itself —

to the duties for which it had been establiShed. This, in

itself, would refute any argument of ratification, since it

shows that as soon as the knowledge which would be neces-

sary for ratification came to the Administrator he expressly

refused to ratify their acts. The testimqny shows further

(R. 713) that the Administrator subsequently abolished the

Board because he felt, that its members had taken to them-

selves powers which he had not intended for. them to have.

The testimony of the Administrator and others shows

that the use of the words, ‘‘For the Administrator’’

did not ‘mean that the Administrator had authorized’ the

writing cf the letters to which they were appended. That

was merely a form of Signature used throughout one office

TEENIE LIES LOPE DEL CE ERT AGE AEDS A. ry hi ale re

Ws

.

65

and appeared on most of the letters written by PWA em--

ployees (R. 671). ;

Another independent consideration which shows the |

incompetency of the evidence objected to is that the peti-

tioners’ witnesses did not testify as to ations of the Board

but-rather as to statements and representations of the in-

dividual members of ‘the Board. They do not testify as to*

what the Board did in regard to the variéns applications,

but as to what Mr. Hunt or Mr. Rau said in regard to the

_ applications. It is fundamental that when a Board has been

given authority by a superior to act as a Board, it must

act in that capacity if it is to exercise the granted authority.

No effort was made to introduce any evidenee of the action

of the Board regarding any of these municipal applications.

val. ¢

Procedure Adopted by the District Court After the

| _ Petitioners argue that the District Court should have

* limited the scope of the retrial to such changes in the case

as might have intervened since the entry of the origirial

decree. Whether or aot the District Court was right in

fusing to so limit the hearing before it, depends altogether

upon the interpretation, of the order of remand made by

this Court on December 14, 1936 (81 L. Ed., 149). We be-

liéve that the interp taticpeplaced on this order by. the

District Court was edrrect but we shall notcattempt tq

argue to this Court the effect of its own order.

It is our position that the record, even eliminating all

the evidence taken since the original hearing, establishes

our right to prevail against the. contentions of the peti-

tioners, However, we do feel it our duty to point éut that

_when pefitioners state on page 54 and on pages 87, et seq.,

- of their brief, that the motion, pursuant to which the Cir-

cuit Court of Appeals originally remandéd the cause to —

A a

*#

‘

} it pa 7

we | ¥

m

Fs the District Court, contained allegations untrue in a fact, that °

ii they are in error.

. * ee The December 8, 1934, contract contained a provision

(R. 81, 83):

23. Conditions Precedent to the Government’s

= | Obligations. The Government shall be under no obliga-

a tion, to pay for any of the Bonds or to make any Grant:

7. > >

(i) Rate Resolution and Bond Resolution. If the

Borrower shall not have adopted a resolution satisfac-

tory in form and substance to the Administrator, pro-

viding for rates to be charged for services afforded by

the hydro-electric systém, and shail not have adopted

a resolution satisfactory in form and substance to the

Administrator, authorizing the issuance of the Bonds.

The Revenue Bond Acof South Carolina (1933 Acts

' 299, XXXVIITI Stat., 411, 418; Appendix to Government’s |

Brief, page 56) provided:

21. Rates for Service.—Rates for . services fur-

nished by any such system or combined system shall

be fixed precedent to the issuance of the bonds. Such

* rates shall be sufficient to provide for the payment of

the interest upon and the principal. of all such bonds

as and when the same become due and payable, to

create a Bond and Interest Redemption Fund therefor,

to provide for the payment of the expenses of admin-

istration and operation and such expenses for main-

tenance of the system or combined system necessary to

preserve the same in good repair and working order,

to build mp a reserve for depreciatiorf of the existing

system, project o ined system, and to build up

a reserve for impr ents, betterments and exten-

sions of the existing system, project or combined

system, other than those necessary to maintain the

same in good repair and working order as hereinbefore

in this Section provided, Such rates shall be fixed and

revised from time to time so as to produce these

amounts, and the governing body shall covenant and

agree in the ordinance authorizing the issuance of

67

such bonds, and on the face of each bond at all times

to maintain such rates for services furnished by such

system, project or combined system as shall be suf-

ficient to provide for the foregoing, (Italics supplied.)

Judge Watkins, in passing upon this provision of the .

contract (R@122) found: |

7. The rates for the sale of power to be produced

by said Buzzard Roost project were fixed by Green-

wood County, subject to th rroval of the Adminis-

trator, under the terms of the Ioan and grant agree-

ment entered into December 8, 1934, providing that,

as a condition of the loan and grant, the County should

adopt a resolution satisfactory in form and substance

to the Administrator providing for rates to be charged _

for services afforded by the hydro-electric system.

. And again in his opinion of August 10, 1935 (R. 477,

490): |

“It (the December 8th contract) also requires the

fixing of rates agreeable to the Administrator. Strictly

speaking supervision may consist in directing either

‘. what shall or shall not be done.

_. The South Carolina Revenue Bond Act, in the quoted

provision, required the issuing municipality to reserve the

right to revise rates. In our opinion, and in the opinion of

Secretary Ickes (R. 650), the contract of December 8, 1934,

in the quoted provision, referred only to the initial rate

resolution, and did ‘not violate the terms of the State Act.

Judge Watkins’ language, héwever, while not entirely clear,.

is open to the interpretation (81 F. (2d), 986, 989, R. 874),

that he found the language of the cgntract to mean that the

Administrator would have the right-+estipervise the rates

after the original rate resolution. The contract so con-

strued, we submit, wold violate the provisions of the Soutif

Carolina Act; arid while Judge Watkins gid not say in ex-

press language that it violated the South Carolina Act, hig

findings certainly support the position taken in the motion

..for, remand (R. 493) as quoted in the opinion of: the Su-

preme Court (81 L. Ed. 150).- hears aa

‘a | x

*

Se

68

The argument is made in the petitioners’ Brief (page

54) that Judge Watkins, in passing.upon the contract of

December 8, 1934, held that it violated Federal, not State,

law because Judge Watkins’ decision said that all State -

questions had been settled by Park v. Greenwood, 174 S.

C., 35. However, the Park decision was rendered by ‘the

South Carolina Supreme Court on October 31, 1934, and

-thé contract to which reference is made was not entered

into until December 8, 1934. The South Carolina Supreme

’ Court could not, therefore, have passed upon the question

of whether this contract complied with State law. _!

~ \_° CONCLUSION

We eitundt or the reasons above stated that the decree

of the Circuit Court of Appeals: should be affirmed and pe-

titioners’ bill dismissed.

Respectfully submitted,

J w. H. NICHOLSON,

R. F. DAVIS,

JAMES*#. DREHER,

j D. W. ROBINSON, JR.,

Attorneys for Greenwood

County and its Finance

, Board. ,

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.