Brief of the Petitioner — Osaka Shosen Line v. United States
Supreme Court brief1937
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
INDEX
Opinions below - - - ----------- Dicosetekeen ss
eS can as wae cnwnews —
Question presented__-__________-
Statute involved____-_--_-- ae
ee eas Gaon eae 2
Summary of argument__________-_____-----
Argument
I. Section 10 of the Immigration Act of 1917, as amended,
imposes upon officers of vessels a duty to prevent
the landing in the United States of an alien passenger
who embarked at a foreign port for through passage
via American ports to another foreign port__. ____- s
A. The literal meaning of the phrase “bringing an
alien * * * to the United States” imposes _
a duty in the case at bar_____.___. aiehwhanenn 9
B. If the literal meaning of the section were doubtful,
it should be construed to inrpose a duty in a case
of this sort, in order to avoid a grave risk of
entries by undesirable aliens, and in order to pre-
vent a breach in an otherwise complete system
of immigration regulation. ..--..._-_.-- 2 Le. 19
II. Section 10 of the Immigration Act of 1917, : as amended, *
tpso facto imposes a duty to detain, and no notice
from the immigration authorities is required as a
condition precedent to the existenee of the a
NN iin see nasi inline is nod 29
III. If a notice to detain is a condition precedent to the
existence of a duty to detain, the notice in this case
was in proper form and properly served__..___.._- 33
Conclusion________________- Kikoame ssboveneba 37
_ CITATIONS
Cases:
Church of the Holy Trinity v. United States, 143 U. 8S. 457_- 17
Cire vw. Waeeard, 206 U. B. 20h cc ccccccccccccceccses 36
Compagnie Generale Transatlantique v. Elting,298U.S.217. 26,
29, 33, 35, 36
Cunard S. S. Co. v. Mellon, 262 U. 8. 100_........... ~~ 18
Dollar S.‘S. Line v. Elting,-51 F. (2d) 10385..........-.- 9, 18, 25
frapene, The, GS F. (Bd) G1B...cccccccccscocceccoevice 9, 11,18
106831—36——1 iis
~
Cases—Continued. Page
Lloyd Sabaudo Societa v. Elting, 45 (2d) 405 s. ¢. 55 F.
Se: MR chcndgnctecadccudnsabewssbdessteennnenns 27
Lloyd Sabaudo Sociela v. Elting, 287 U. S. 329.__.-.------ 26
Manuel Arnus, The, 75 F. (2d) 943, cert. den. 295 U. S. 756- 26
Morehead v. People ex rel. Tipaldo, Oct. Term, 1935, No. 838,
DO Bg Tic dieccnciccncccccnnsdnssscnnsasnenseses «36
ankles, Tk, Bee PO. Gk cnn weccncecancncescscsease 28
Taylor v. United States, 207 U. S. 120__---- 6, 9, 13, 14-16, 17, 27
United States v. Steamship Coamo, 267 U. 8. 220_-------- 26, 35
Wilson, The, v. United States, Fed. Case No. 17,846, 30 Fed.
EE. Re ee. Repeat 17
Statutes:
Act of May 22, 1918, c. 81, 40 Stat. 559_____--------------- 4
Act of March 2, 1921, c. 113, 41 Stat. 1205___-.----------- 21
Act of March 4, 1929, c. 690, 45 Stat. 1551, see. 2-------. 20,31
- Immigration Act of March 3, 1903, c. 1012, 32 Stat. 1213,
GE Bi tek ceekda nn acete nn nice eatin 13. 30
Immigration Act of Feb. 5, 1917, c. 29, 39 Stat. 874:
ES SO ae ee EN ee RN Fee Caeser in 20
TE [Ai oop ka acids pada sednienecesipsreemactatdncneien nag aioabeag aiaieeenanaies 13
I a aN IR I NN ee 13
Oe a cn eee ea a ee 12
IIE: Tr sa oacc pichindilieasasenanemahagh tn nolan iainaabaidaniadapitadaasaneialebaseaiaimnimaias 12
RN a ok eo adenine meee 12,
REALS Re ear ae en eee) EERE We Rare a MEE 12, 25
, groccocccccccccnsceesce 2,4, 6, 8, 30
| 30
ee a a aR 12, 22
ene eee a eee 13
I i iccescheesnceheciasntlihccmsea aici ele sca thai detieendiein seca deena 32, 35
I icine hens sesecceaitchingeatinnsnilaaasek tlihipakatiastllainceiia arabian eit .- 8%
—_ aici dteiiinceiebeninisalitanapa tniaiiniaiagdiens 22
I, se nastaincecsnsahcdes antic tcc ihn ean had tenatatiaaaaia nai iinian 13
ee ee a 31
ee eee re ee Or a 26
Immigration Act of May 26, 1924, c. 190, 43 Stat. 153:
Ee | | ne 20
SI Tis ssehieceiinicieidndiceeninsbilcpeatinehanenenienetaiaseatindeiabanstsisedabinindeiuahipinit 20
Bee. BB. nccnccasnccnccnececccesccusesccescnssecoses= 26
8) a ee 29
es ic edahcetatin asc toe daisies capt sn ei ccinnacbtenebiesansenthcnieadiaeiteonieaeat 35
he hci ch cetera cect eels iin insite aetna toa 12, 25
I Fitintetienntincinninninininmnnismhiiniinitimdinints 2, 4, 6, 8, 31
BO: Be Ge cde Renncnnnnnnandcdteenminnnetinninn 20
Ill
Miscellaneous: Page
Century Dictionary and Cyclopedia, Vol. 1, p. 685________- ee
Executive Order No. 6166, June 10, 1933_______________ 31
Executive Order No. 5426, Aug. 20, 1930.______________ 21, 35
Immigration Laws and Rules of Jan. 1, 1930, Rule 3, Sub-
division H, par. WOR e Sr iio 21, 35
Murray, New English Dictionary, Vol. 1, p. 1107________. 11
Report of the Senate Committee on Immigration, Senate
Report No. 355 (Calendar No. 297) 63d Cong., 2d Sess.,
tect. Pe ener. RO eee 10
Standard, Dictionary oer. See i 11
Webster, New International wictionaty (2d ed., unabridged,
Ns ME cnnateckasccenstoseucoeki hasan. 11
Arend Ra 2S ee ‘ ee ROR OS
oor
TERM
BR BST TY
Guthe Supreme Gourt of the atnited putes
OcTOBER TERM, 1936
No. 224
OsaKA SHOSEN KatsHa LINE, CLAIMANT OF THE
STEAMSHIP ‘‘SanTOS MARU’’, PETITIONER
v.
THE UNITED StaTes OF AMERICA
ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES CIRCUIT
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT
BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
OPINIONS BELOW
The findings of fact and conclusions of law of.
the District Court appear at R. 7-8, and are re-
ported in 1935 American Maritime Cases, 1176.
The opinion of the Cireuit Court of Appeals, R.
14-18, is reported in 84 B..(2d) 482.
JURISDICTION
The judgment sought to be reviewed was entered
June 10, 1936. (R.18.) A petition for a writ of
certiorari was filed July 24, 1936, and granted Oc-
(1)
CO EE EE, _ ~
Sea RR tere ON et rr, ©
2
tober 12, 1936. Jurisdiction of this Court is in-
voked under Section 240 (a) of the Judicial Code,
as amended by the Act of February 13, 1925.
QUESTION PRESENTED
Whether Section 10 of the Immigration Act of
1917, as amended by Section 27 of the Immigration
Act of 1924, imposes a penalty on an officer of a _
vessel who, having been. notified by the immigration
_ authorities to detain on board an alien who had
embarked at a foreign port for through passage
via American ports to another foreign port, failed
to prevent the landing in the United States of that
alien.
STATUTE INVOLVED
Section 10 of the Immigration Act of February
5, 1917, ce. 29, 39 Stat. 874, 881, as amended by See-
tion 27 of the Immigration Act of May 26, 1924,
e. 190, 43 Stat. 153, 167 (U.S. C., Title 8, See. 146),
’
provides: |
Sec. ‘10. (a). That it shall be the duty of
every person, including owners, masters, of-
ficers, and agents of vessels of transporta-
tion lines, or international bridges or toll
roads, other than railway lines which may
enter into a contract as provided in section
23, bringing an alien to, or providing a
means for an alien to come to; the United ©
' States, to prevent the landing of such alien
in the United States at any time or place
other than as designated by the Immigration
officers., Any such person, owner, master,
eet 1S © ES ty Teel
3
officer, or agent who fails to comply with the
foregoing requirements shall be guilty of a
misdemeanor and on conviction thereof
shall be punished by a fine in each case of not
less than $200 yor more than $1,000, or by
Imprisonment for a term not exceeding one
year, or by both such fine and imprison-
ment; or, if in the opinion of the Secretary
' of Labor, it is impracticable or inconvenient
to prosecute the person, owner, master, offi-
cer, or agent of any such vessel, such person,
owner, master, officer, or agent shall be liable
to a penalty of $1,000, which shall be a lien
upon the vessel whose owner, master, officer,
or agent violates the provisions of this sec-
tion, and such vessel shall be libeled therefor.
in the appropriate United States court. .
(b) Proof-that the alien failed to present
‘himself at the time and place designated by
the immigration officers shall be prima facie
evidence that such alien has landed‘in the
United States at a time or place other than
as designated by the immigration officers.
STATEMENT
The evidence is not reported, but the District
Court made findings of fact under Admiralty Rule
46% (R. 7-8) which the parties have stipulated
“shall be taken as true’? (R. 13), and which may
be summarized as follows:
The Steamship ‘‘Santos Maru’’, belonging to the
petitioner, Osaka Shosen Kaisha Line, arrived’ at
the port of New Orleans on June 11, 1932, with
Salvatore Sprovieri, an alien passenger, on board.
PERS Fig PRET ED CERT es ae Rte rota per
‘.
Sprovieri was not bound for the United States
and not entitled to enter the United States, but was
en route from Brazil to Japan. ‘‘Upon the arrival
of such Steamship at New Orleans, the Immigra-
tion Officers there issued an Order in writing to
‘the Steamship to hold the alien on board at all ports
of the United States at which such Steamship
might toueh. This Order was duly served upon
the Officers of the Steamship.’’ (R.7, fdg. b.)
On June 19, 1932, the Steamship arrived atthe
port of Galveston, Texas, ‘‘and the said alien pas- we
senger was, by the negligence of such Steamship ~—/’ |
and its Officers and Crew, allowed to escape and
land in the United States without the permission
of the Immigration Authorities and in violation of
the Law.’’ (R. 7-8, fdg. ¢). ‘‘Such Steamship
Officers notified the United States Immigration
Authorities of the escape of the said alien passen-
ger, but such Steamship sailed before his arrest.”’
(R. 8, fdg. d.) Later the alien was arrested in
Galveston and deported on another vessel of the pe-
titioner. ‘‘Thereafter notice was given such
Steamship Line of the intention of the Govern- —
ment to proceed against it and the ‘Santos Maru’
for violation of’’ Section 10 of the Immigration
Act of February 5, 1917, c. 29, 39 Stat. 874, 881,
as amended by Section 27 of the Immigration Act
of May 26, 1924, ce. 190,43 Stat. 158, 167. (U.S. C.,
Title 8, Sec. 146). (R.8, fdg.e.) - ~
‘*TIt being in the opinion of the Secretary of La-
bor impractical and inconvenient to prosecute the
Mow LGN eee Octet aad! Bet Seite ces he
matter criminally”’ (R. 8, fdg. f), the Government
filed a libel in rem against the vessel ‘‘Santos
Maru”’ in the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Texas. This libel, after set-
ting forth the facts in much the same manner as we
have just done, stated (R. 3-4, pars. IV, V):
IV .
That by reason of all the foregoing allega-
tions, the Owners, masters, officers and
agents of the 8S. S. “Sanros Maru”’ are
liable to the United States for a penalty of
One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00) ; that said
penalty is now owing and unpaid.
Vv
That by reason of all the foregoing allega-
tious, such peralty of One Thousand Dol-
lars, now due and owing to the United
States, is a lien upon the S. S. “Sanros
Maru,”’ whose “owners, masters, officers
and agents had violated the provisions of
Section 146, Title 8, United States Code an-
notated in the manner and form aforesaid.
To enforce this lien, the libel prayed that the
United States have a decree for its debt and pen-
alty of $1,000 and that the vessel be forfeited to
the. United States or sold to satisfy its lien. (R. 4,
par. VI.) . ?
The District Court held that the Governnient was
not entitled to recover (R. 8) and therefore en-
tered a decreé dismissing the libel (R. 9). That.
106831—36——2
“ee re sk RETR os +, ; Rare it
6
court based its decision upon the ground that Sec-
_tion 10 of the Immigration Act of 1917, as amended
by Section 27 of the Act of 1924, did not apply to
an alien ‘‘through passenger.’’ Upon an appeal
by the Government .(R. 10), the Cireuit Court of
Appeals for the Fifth Ciréuit reversed the decree
of the District Court and remanded the case with
instructions to enter a decree in favor of the United
States (R.18). A petition for certiorari was filed
in this Court July 24, 1936 (R. 21) and granted
October 12, 1936 (R: 21).
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
Section 10 of the Immigration Act of 1917, as
amended, imposes upon vessels, their owners, and
their officers ‘‘bringing an alien to * * * the
United States’”’ a duty ‘‘to prevent the landing of
such alien.”’
The first question is whether the phrase ‘‘bring-
ing an alien”’ is sufficiently broad to cover the case
of a vessel that carries to a port of the United
States an alien ‘‘through passenger’’, that is, one
who had embarked at a foreign port for through
passage via American ports to another foreign
port. We contend for an affirmative answer.
This answer is justified by the ordinary meaning
of the verb ‘‘bring’’, and by: the use of the verb in
other parts of the immigration statutes. The re-
sult reached by this Court in Taylor v. United
States, 207 U. S. 120, is not opposed. Indeed, a
‘negative answer to this first question will create
fs ats
KiseEE eaten. ay
mR Laat rina Ls ARERR CART NaC chia Siw Dieses menial ciel “ieee
7
a breach in an otherwise complete system of im-
migration regulation under’ which carriers are
penalized if they fail to cooperate in preventing
entry into the United States by undesirable aliens.
If our construction is rejected and the petitioner’s
construction is accepted, a carrier that brings to
this country an alien through passenger who is dis-
eased or is a crimuial or an anarchist will go un-
punished even though the alien is landed without
inspection and allowed to roam the. streets of our
sea-coast cities.
The second question is whether, before they are
given by the immigration inspectors any notice to
detain, a vessel and its officers are under.a duty to
detain alien passengers. We contend that the duty -
is automatic and arises before notice. This con-
tention is supported by the words of the statute,
and by its underlying policy of pr eventing a race
for diligence between aliens and immigration
authorities. | ,
- The third question is whether, if a notice to de-
tain is required, the notice in this ease was in
proper form. The petitioner argues that the
~notice was invalid because it did not indicate a
time and place where the alien might be landed,
but instead required detention on board the vessel.
To this argument we answer that neither the words
nor the policy of the immigration law furnish any
basis for the contention that every alien, no matter
how undesirable, is entitled to be landed and to have
his day in the United States.
TaN Be BALTES Rh OL 2
stn AIS RG he NER sk RR i est ti
8
ARGUMENT.
es
SECTION 10 OF THE IMMIGRATION ACT OF 1917, AS
AMENDED, IMPOSES UPON OFF ICERS OF VESSELS A DUTY
TO PREVENT THE LANDING IN THE UNITED STATE is OF
AN ALIEN PASSENGER WHO EMBARKED AT A FOREIGN
PORT FOR THROUGH PASSAGE VIA AMERICAN PORTS TO
ANOTHER FOREIGN PORT
The first sentence of Section 10 of ‘the Immigra-
tion Act of February 5 , 1917, é. "99, 39 Stat. 874,
881, as amended by bextien 27 of the Immigration
Act of May 26, 1924, c. 190, 43 Stat. 153, 167
(U.S. C., Title 8, See. 146) provides:
That it shall be the duty of every person, in-
cluding owners, masters, officers, and agents
of vessels of transportation lines, or inteyna-
tional bridges or toll roads, other than rail-
way lines which may enter into a contract
as provided in section 23, bringing an alien
to, or providing a means for an alien to come
to, the United States, to prevent the landing
of such. alien in the United States at any
time or place other than as designated by
the immigration -officers. [Italics added. ]
In the case at bar this section has been applied by
the lower court to a ship’s officer who négligently
failed to prevent the landing in the United States
of an alien passenger who had embarked at Brazil —
‘for through passage via New Orleans, Louisiana,
and Galveston, Texas, to Japan. - The petitioner
contends that the lower court erred in holding that
this section i imposes any duty to prevent the land-
=
ing in the’ United States of such a so-called
“through passenger.” (Br. pp. 10-13. ) It is its
position that in tr ansporting such a passenger the
vessel was not, in the words of the statute, ‘*bring-
ing analiento * * * the United States.” In
this connection he relies chiefly upon Taylor v.
United States, 207 U.S. 120, and two decisions of
the Circuit Court of Appeals for the Second Cir-
cuit, The Habana, 63 I’. (2d) 812 (C. C. A. 2d), .
and Dollar 'S. S. Line v. Elting, 51 F. (2d) 1035
(C.C. A. . 2d).
We contend that the construction given-to See-
tion 10 by the court below is required by a literal
inter ‘pretation of the statute. We further contend
that any other construction will create a serious
breach in an otherwise complete system whereby
steamship companies are penalized if they allow
any alien to land prior to inspection or if they con-
vey to the United States any alien with a loathsome
disease.
A. The literal meaning of the phrase “bringing an
alien. * * * to the United States” ’ imposes a
duty in the case at bar.
The petitioner (Br. 4) and ourselves are in
accord in believing that the words in Section 10
with which we are particularly concerned are
these:
it shall be the duty of every person, includ-
ing * *.* officers * * * of vessels
hr er Free
.
ROR, MLR CEN Sor i UR ys Be Ranta i>
. : ‘
AE ere
10
*
. it ,
* * * bringing an alien to * * * the
United States, to | aioe the landing of
such alien * *
In view of the legislative history of this section,’
we do not feel justified in arguing that the phrase
‘for providing a means for an alien to come to”
(which appears in the statute between the-phrase
‘“‘bringing an alien to’’ and the eats Uolaad
States’’) is directly * in issue. We believe that the
court below in the case at bar gave too much weight
to this phrase. (R.16.) In our opinion, as in the
opinion of the -Cireuit Court of Appeals. for the
Second Circuit, the whole section must be read
‘The report of the Senate Committee on Immigration,
Senate Report No.°355 (Calendar No. 297), 63d Cong., 2d
Sess., March 19, 1914, to accompany H. R. 6060, which later,
as H. R. 10834, 64th Cong., became the Immigration Act of
1917, explains at page 9 the reason for inserting in Section
10 the phrase “or providing a means for an alien to come to.”
The report states that : “On page 20, line 10, after the words
‘bringing an alien to, insert ‘or providing a means for an -
alien to come to’; this in order to make the provisions of the
section apply to those who conduct toll roads and bridges,
as well as to those operating erdinary vehicles of con-
veyanice,
2 We do, however, contend that the phrase: “providing a
means for an alien to come to” has an indirect bearing. See ,
page 28, infra. By adopting this phrase, Congress im-
posed a penalty even on an international bridge company
which does not prevent an alien who has not been passed
by the immigration authorities from walking for five min-
utes into the United States. Thus it shows that Congress
_intended to penalize transportation companies which did not
detain, until otherwise directed, every alien, no matter how »
short his stay in American territory.
11
distributively, and, so read, the phrase “providing -
a means for an alien to come to’’ applies only to
international bridges and toll roads. The Habana,
63 F. (2d) 812, 813 (C. C. A, 2d).
Conceding that the phrase of chief importance
is ‘bringing an alien to * * * the United
States,’’ we contend that, read literally, it embraces
a case like that at bar where a carrier conveys to a
port of the United States an alien whom he intends,
and has every reason to expect, to take out again
when the ship moves on. |
It is clear that the dictionary definition’ of
‘“‘bring”’ signifies broadly conveyance to or toward
a place. It does not imply a limitation sugh as that
upon arrival the object conveyed will be brought.
in or will come to rest. And it would be peculiarly
inappropriate to.read any such limitation into the
definition where, as here, the verb ‘“‘bring’’ is used
* In the leading dictionaries the first meaning of the verb
“bring” is given as follows:
(1) “implies motion towards the place where the speaker
or auditor is.” Murray, Vew English Dictionary, Vol. 1,
p. 1107. sit
(2) “to convey, carry or conduct to the place where the
speaker is.” Standard Dictionary (1894) Vol. 1, p. 239° —
(3) “to bear, convey or take along in coming.” 7'he Cen-
tury Dictionary and Cyclopedia, Vol. 1, p. 685.
(4) “to cause to come with oneself, as by. conveying, lead-"
ing, or carrying, from one piace to another, the direction of
motion being always toward the place regarded as nearer
to the person from whose point of. view the action is con-.
templated.” Webster’s New Jnternational Dictionary (2d
ed., unabridged, 1936) p. 337.
penn eae ge
12
— with the preposition *“*to’’, not ‘‘in’”’ or
‘into.’
_ As helpful as the dictionaries are the immigra-
. tion statutes themselves in revealing the meaning
of the phrase ‘‘bringing an alien to, * * * the
United States.”’ This phrase, which occurs fre-
quently in the Immigration Acts of 1917 and 1924,
in most ‘instances, is not used narrowly... When
Congress intended to draw a fine line, and to legis-
late only with respect to such transportation as
contemplated the United States as a place of final
destination, it used such expressions as ‘‘come into
the United States,’’ ‘‘bringing an alien ‘nto the
United States”’ or ‘timports.’’ This is plain from
the very sections of the law to which the petitioner
(Br. 12) points as an aid to construction.’ And
4
Py
é
4 t
sea ae nat iinet Tab adres aay 6
‘See, for example, Section 9 et the Sisalainttin Act of
Feb. 5, 1917, ¢. 29, 39 Stat. 880-881, as amended by Section
26 of the Immigration Act of May 26, 1924, ¢. 190, 43 Stat.
166-167, U. S. C., Title 8, Sec. 145; and Section 11 of the
Immigration Act of Feb. 5, 1917, 39 Stat. 882. U. S. C.,
Title 8, See. 11 Te
* The petitjoner (Br. 12) refers.to U. S. Code, Title 8, Sec.
142, which is Section 6 of the Immigration Act of Feb. 5,
1917, 39 Stat..879. There it is made unlawful to “solicit
ee any alien to come into the United States by prom-
ise of employment. * Petitioner next refers to U. S. Code,
Title 8, Sec. 143, which is Section 7 of the 1917 Act; 39
Stat. 879. Again it is made unlawful for a carrier to
“encourage * * * any alien to come into the United
_ States,” and it is provided that a carrier who brings to a
port of the United States “any alien so solicited” shall be
fined. Petitioner also points to U. S. Code, Title 8, Sec. 144,
which is Section 8 of the 1917 Act, 39 Stat. 880. This sec-
tion punishes carriers who “shall bring into or land in the
United States” any alien not entitled te enter.
Ss wa 7
49
iv
from a similar nice use of language elsewhere in
the immigration law we may conelude that the
) phrases ‘‘come into the United States,’’ ‘‘bringing
& an alien into the United States’’* and ‘‘imports’’’
have become the appropriate words of art to indi-
cate a conveyance to a place of final destination.
To assimilate to those words of art the phrase
“bringing * * * to * * * the United States,”’
and to justify an abnormally narrow construction
of this phrase, the petitioner relies on a remark of | - j
Mr. Justice Holmes in Taylor v. United States, 207 4
U. S: 120, 124-125, which, if it is not an obiter ~~
i‘ dictum, is-an alternative and, in our opinion, in-
supportable reason for a result with which ° ‘we
entirely agree. .
In Taylor v.. United States, there was involved
Section 18 of the Immigration Act of March 3, ,
1903, ¢. 1012, 32 Stat. 1213, 1217,° the precursor of 3
® See Immigration Act of Feb. 5, 1917, c. 29; 39 Stat. 874:
Sec. 3, 8th proviso, 39 Stat. 878; Sec. 8, 39 Stat. 880; See 14,
39 Stat. 884; Sec. 16, 39 Stat. 886,
«See the Immigration Act of Feb. 5, 1917, c. 0. 29, 39 Stat.
874: Sec. 4, 39 Stat. 878; Sec. 19, 39 Stat. 889.
*“Sec, 18. That it shall be the duty of. the owners, officers
and agents of any vessel bringing an alien to the United
States to adopt due precautions to prevent the landing of
any such alien from such vessel at any time or place other ~~.
than that designated by the immigration officers, and any
such owner, officer, agent, or person in charge of such vessel
who shall land ‘or permit to land any alien at any time or
place other than that designated by the immigration officers,
shall be deeme@# guilty of a misdemeanor, and shall on con-
viction be punished by a fine for each alien so permitted to
land of not less than one hundred nor more than one
106831—36-———3
ng. Bins Bese a yey as EERO EAT YE A?
ox
SES us Reese
PCAN PE Sa ee oe et f sites ei AA ees, re S RR Gch ea x oe siete b ON
the section with which we are now concerned. In
that case the issue was whether the section applied
to a master of a vessel who allowed to land in New
York an alien sailor who had shipped at Hungary
for the round trip, not to be paid off until he re-
turned. In delivering the opinion of this Court
“that the section does not apply to the ordinary
ease of a sailor deserting while on shore leave’
(207 U.S. at 124), Mr. Justice Holmes said (207
U.S. 124-125):
The reasoning is not long. The phrase
which qualifies the whole section is, ‘‘bring-
ing an alien to the United States.’’ It is
only ‘ ‘such’? officers of ‘‘such’’ vessels that
are .punished. ‘‘Bringing to the United
States’’, taken literally and nicely, means,
as a similar phrase in § 8 plainly means,
& ‘transporting with intent’ to leave in the
United States and for the sake of trans-
port—not transporting with intent to carry
back, and merely as incident to employment
on the instrument of transport. So again,
literally, the later words ‘‘to land’’ mean to
go ashore. To avoid certain inconveniences
the Government and the courts below say
that sailors do not land unless they perma-
nently leave the ship. But the single ‘word
is used for all cases and must mean the same
. ~
thousand dollars, or by imprisonment for a term not ex-
ceeding one year, or by both such fine and imprisonment,
and every such alien so landed shall be deemed to be unlaw-
fully in the United States and shall be deported, as provided
by law.”
» >
.
>a Reece i ee
. ao
thing for all, for sailors and other aliens.
It hardly can be supposed that a master
would be held justified under this section
for allowing a leper to wander through the
streets of New York on the ground that, as
he expected the passenger to return and his
expectations had been fulfilled, he could not
_ be said to have allowed the leper to land.
The words must be taker in their literal
sense. ‘‘Landing from such vessel’’ takes
place and is complete -the moment the vessel
is left and the shore reached. But it is nec-
essary to commerce, as all admit, that sailors
should go ashore, and no one believes that
the statute intended altogether to prohibit:
their doing so. The contrary always has
. been understood of the earlier acts, in judi-
cial decisions and executive practice. If we
meget the ambiguous interpretation of ‘‘to _
land’’, as we have, the necessary result can
be reached only by saying that the section
does not apply to sailors carried to an
American port with a bona fide intent to
take them out again whey the ship goes on,
when not only there was no ground for sup-
posing that they were making the voyage a
pretext to get here, desert and get in,*but
there is no evidence that they were doing so
in fact. Whether this result is reached by
the interpretation of the words “‘bringing
‘an alien to the United States’’, that has been
suggested, or on the ground that the statute
cannot have intended its precautions to ap-
ply to the ordinary and necessary landing of
16
. Seamen, ‘even if the- words of the section
embrace it, as in Church of the Holy Trinity
v. United States, 143 U. S. 457, does not
matter for this case. ,
The three principal reasons given in the above
quotation for not applying the section to sailors
are: (1) “‘bringing to the United States’? means
transporting with intent to feave in the United
States and for, the sake of transport—not trans-
porting with intent to carry back, and merely as
- ineident to employment on the instrument of trans-
port; (2) the administrative authorities conceded
that the section had no application to seamen who
land and later return to the ship, vet, without any -
verbal justification for the distinction, they were
attempting to apply the section to seamen who
‘land and do not later return to the ship; and (3)
it is necessary to commerce, as all admit, that .
sailors should go ashore, and no one believes that
~ the statute intended altogether to prohibit their
doing so.
We entirely concur in the second.and third of
these reasons., The first reason requires closer
scrutiny. In the exact form in which it was
phrased in Taylor v. United States, it does not seem
to us, and indeed apparently did not seem to Mr.
Justice Holmes,’ an entirely satisfactory ground
*Note that at page 125, as quoted above, Mr. Justice
Holmes said: “Whether this result is reached by the inter-
pretation of the words ‘bringing an alien to the United
States’, that has been suggested, or on the ground that the
~F
17 r
upon which to rest the judgment. As phrased in
Taylor v. United States, this first reason really
has two subdivisions. First, it is pointed out that
“bringing to the United States’? means trans-.
porting ‘‘for the sake of transport’’—not trens-
porting ‘‘merely as incident to employment on
the instrument, of transport.” (207 U. S. at
125.) Second,-it is said that “bringing to the
United States’’ meanis transporting ‘‘with intent to
leave in the United States’’—not transporting
“*with intent to carry back.” (207 U. S. at 125.)
The first subdivision seems to us sound, and is in
thorough accord with a decision at cireuit by Chief
_ Justice Marshall where he construed an analogous
statute. The Wilson v. United States, Fed. Case
No. 17,846, 30 Fed. Cas. 239, 244 (C. C. D. Va.).”
statute cannot have intended its precautions to apply to the
ordinary and necessary landing of seamen, even if the words
of the section embrace it, as in Church of the Holy Trinity v.
United States, 143 U. S. 457, does not matter for this case.”
*° I nthat case Marshall, C: J., held that the Act of Feb. 28,
1803, c. 10,2 Stat. 205, forbidding any master of a vessel to
import or bring, into any port of the United States, any
negro,*where the importation of such person is prohibited
by the laws of such State, did not apply to colored seamen
employed in navigating such vessel. In so deciding, Mar-
shall, C. J., said (p. 244): :
- The agent, or those who are concerned in the agency
or importation, are not, in common language, said to
be imported or brought in. It is true that a vessel
— into port, is the vehicle which brings in her
crew, but we do not in common language sa , that the
mariners are “imported”, or brought in by a par-
ticular vessel; we rather say that they bring in the
wan. * * *
:
ee Se tos wae Te ee
18. .
The second subdivision, upon which exclusive reli-
ance has been placed by the petitioner in the case
at bar, and by the Circuit Court-of Appeals for
the Second Circuit in The Habana, 63 F. (2d) 812,
813 (C. C. A. 2d) and Dollar S. S. Line v. Elting,
51 F. (2d) 1035, 1037 (C. C.A. 2d), seems to us
unsound. It is contrary to the dictionary mean-
ing of ‘‘bring’’, see page 11, supra," and to the
reasoning of this Court in Cunard S. S. Co. v. Mel-
_ lon, 262 U. S. 100, 122:* Furthermore, it is‘con-
trary to the following example given by Mr. Jus-
tice Holmes himself on the very page of the opin-
~ion in the Taylor ease to which fhe petitioner
points (p. 125):
It hardly can be supposed that a master
would be held justified under this section for
allowing a leper to wander through the
streets of New York on the ground that, as
11 Note that in Dollar S. S. Line v. Elting, 51 F. (2d) 1035
(C. C. A. 2d), Judge A. N. Hand pointed out (p. 1036) that
“Tf taken literally, section 9 might be regarded as justifying
the action of ‘the Department” in‘ construing the phrase
“bringing * * * to the United States” as including
transporting to an American port an alien passenger, whose
original plan was to. proceed with the vessel to Cuba.
12 The National Prohibition Act, considered in that case,
prohibited the “transportation of intoxicating liquors within,
' the importation thereof into, or the exportation thereof from
the United States.” In holding that this forbade a foreign
vessel carrying to a port of the United States intoxicating ~
liquors for beverage purposes as part of a ship’s sea stores,
this Court pointed out (p. 122): “transportation compre-
hends any real carrying about or from one place to another.”
J
‘i |
. 19
s he expected the passenger to return and his
expectations had been fulfilled, he could not
be said to have allowed the leper to land.
This quotation shows that Mr. Justice Holmes
thought the statute would impose on the. master a
duty with respect to a passenger conveyed to the
port of New York even though the passenger had
no intent to stay-in the United States but expected
to continue with the vessel on its way to some other
port. Thus, on the exact facts of this ease, Taylor
v. United States is perhaps as much an authority
in our favor as against us.
B. If the literal meaning of the section were doubt-
ful, it should be. construed to impose a duty in a
case of this sort, in order to avoid a grave risk of
entries by undesirable aliens, and in order to pre-
vent a breach in an otherwise complete system
of immigration regulation.
If the literal meaning of Section 10, as amended,
were doubtful, there are pressing reasons: for
adopting the construction we urge. The petition-
er’s brief (pp. 8-9, 16), undoubtedly in good faith,
gives the impression that Section 10 is, if not su-
perfluous, at least cumulative, and that other pro-
visions of the immigration law will ensure the co-
operation of carriers in guarding against the risk
of entry by an undesirable alien who is making a
“through” trip. This is not the case. It is true
that the individual ‘‘through passenger’’ who en-
ters without inspection will be deported and pun-
ished, if the authorities apprehend him. Section
ae
20
14 of the Immigration Act of May 26, 1924, 43 Stat.
162, U.S. C., Title 8, See. 214; Act of March 4, 1929,
e. 690, 45 Stat. 1551, U.S.C., Title 8, Sec. 180a. But
such apprehension, as the authors of the immigra-
tion law well knew, is a doubtful event and an
ineffective method of enforcement. The true safe-
guard lies in securing the cooperation of the car- .
riér in preventing the entry. And Section 10 is
the only part of the immigration statutes which
enforces carrier cooperation in the ease of a -
“through” passenger. As we propose to show in
detail, unless that section applies, a ‘‘through”’’
passenger who had never been examined by any
doctor, or consul, or immigration officer, could.
easily set foot in any one of our sea-eoast towns,
and could, if he were diseasesd, or a criminal, or an
anarchist, do incaleulable damage before he was
apprehended.
Where an alien, such as Salvatore Sprovieri in
the instant case, starts from a foreign port on a -
vessel that is to carry him via an American port to
another foreign port, he need not have any immi-
gration or passport documents, even though he
plans to, and does in fact, spend a short time in the
United States while his vessel is in port. Though
an alien,” he is not an immigrant,” and so requires
8 Section 1 of the Immigration Act of Feb. 5, 1917, c. 29,
39 Stat. 874; Sec. 28 (b) of the Immigration Act of May 26,
1924, c. 190, 43 Stat. 153, 168.
4* Section 3 (2) of the Immigration Act of May 26, 1924,
c. 190, 43 Stat. 153, 154. :
21
no immigration visa or reentry permit. More-
- over, since he is a “through passenger,’’ he requires
no passport or passport visa, but may land without
documents of any kind, if the immigration officials
consent.” Thus he comes to our ports without ‘any
*® Visas on alien passports are provided for in the Act of
May 22, 1918, c. 81, 40 Stat. 559, as extended by the Act of
March 2, 1921, c. 113, 41 Stat. 1205, 1217. Pursuant to the
authority conferred on him in those statutes, the President
has, by successive executive orders, required that aliens com-
ing to this country under certain circumstances must present
passports duly visaed by consular officers-of the United
States. But these executive orders, including the one which
was in effect when Sprovieri arrived at American ports (Ex-’
ecuthve Order No. 5426, August 20, 1930) have always speci-
fically exempted :
II * * * (2) Aliens who are through passengers
on vessels touching at ports of the United States. In
‘this connection the term “United States” is to be con-
strued as in section 1 of the Immigration Act of 1917.
They may land temporarily, under regulations pre-
scribed by the Secretary of Labor * * *
The only pertinent regulation prescribed by the Secretary
of Labor and in force at the time Sprovieri arrived in the
United States was Rule 3, Subdivision H, paragraph 6, of
the “Immigration Laws and Rules of January 1, 1930,” dis-
cussed at page 35, infra, which provides (p. 125): _
Par. 6. Aliens who are through passengers on ves-
sels touching at ports of thé United States may land
temporarily without visaed passports, for the limited
period of time during which the vessel lies over in
port, in cases where the amining officer is satisfied
that they will depart on Fie vessel at the time it pro-
ceeds on the same voyage. In every case the alien
shall be informed that - is landed upon that con-
dition. Where the examining officer is not so satis-
fied he shall notify the master in writing that landing
privilege is denied the alien and call the master’s at-
tention to the requirements and fine provisions of
section 27 of the immigration act of 1924. Aliens
eee DR scitssrieisent Ras ee
pilectet sc
a eee Tee ae ee
22
fo
preliminary examination of any sort, and any
. dangerous disease or revolutionary traits that he
may have are unknown to our authorities.
..To protect us against the danger that such an
alien presents, the petitioner seems to suggest (Br.
8-9) that we have the safeguard of Sections 11 and
18 of the Immigration Act of February 5, 1917,
@, 29, 39 Stat. 874, 881, 887, U.S. C., Title 8, Sees.
147° and 154. But we submit that sete: of these
is an adequate protection.
Section 11 *° (referred to by the petitioner as Sec-
tion 147) provides _ for the purpose of deter-
"landing with. the intention of remaining beyond the
“period for which the vessel is to be at port must
present visaed passports and’ e examined in the
same manner and to the same extent as any other
alien applying for temporary admission.
[General Order No. 201, dated March 3, 1933, w hich is
referred to by the Circuit Court of Appeals (R. 17) was not
. adopted until after the time that Sprovieri arrived in the
United States. ]
© “Sec. 11. That for the purpose of determining whether
_ aliens arriving at ports of the United States belong to any
of the classes excluded by this Act, either by reason of being
afflicted with any of the diseases or mental or physical de-
fects or disabilities mentioned in section three hereof, or
otherwise, or whenever the Secretary of Labor has received
Sislicereanitians showing ,that any aliens are.coming from .a
country or have embarke®” at a place where any of said
diseases are prevalent or epidemic, the Commissioner Gen-
eral of Immigration, with the approval of the Secretary of
Labor, may dire@ that such aliens shall be detained on board
the sone bringing them, or in a United States immigration
station at the expense of such vessel, as circumstances may
require or justify, a sufficient time to enable the immigration
officers and medical officers stationed at such ports to sub-
9
<a Doped mathew e Daley cai sin. OGM nk RRA 5 tallies NaN tae ‘op
mining whether . aliens arriving at ports of the
United States are excludable, ‘‘the Commissioner
General of Immigration, with the approval of the
Secretary of Labor, may direct that such aliens
shall. be detained on board the vessel bringing
them.’’ The first point to notice about this sec-
tion. is that it imposes no penalty whatsoever.
Hence it is an almost useless provision. A second
point is that it requires detention of aliens ‘‘on
board the vessel ‘bringing them; or in a United
States immigration station.”’ If a ‘‘through pas-
senger’’ is not. “brought’’ within the meaning of
Section 10, then it would sea¥ that he is not
‘‘brought’’ within the meaning of Section 11. (Cf.
Petitioner’s Brief, pp. 12-13.) rate
_ Section 18" (xeferred to by the petitioner as
Section 144) has two provisions which might be |
. Ject such aliens to an observation and examination sufficient _
to determine whether or not they belong to the said excluded 4
classes by reason of being afflicted in the manner indicated : ;
Provided, That, with a vfew to avoid undue delay in land-
ing passengers or interference with commerce, the Commis-
sioner General of Immigration may, with the approval of
the Secretary of Labor, issue ‘such regulations, not incon-
sistent with law, as may be deemed necessary to effect the
purposes of this section: Provided further, That it shall be
the duty of immigrant inspectors to report to the Commis-
sioner General of Immigration the condition of all vessels
bringing aliens to United States ports.”
- . 17 “Sec, 18. That all aliens brought to this country in vio-
lation of law shall be immediately sent back, in accommoda-
tions of the same class in which they arrived, to the country
whence they respectively came, on the vessels bringing them,
unless in the opinion of the Secretary of Labor immediate
6
Sex eda ds bic ha re —
.
- ea ee a eunniedintanahindinaeebmmmiiniienasameaatieiameidatie ananassae aan
°
24
thought relevant. The first stipulates that it shall
be unlawful for a carrier to refuse to receive back
on board, and detain when returned, aliens brought
to this country in violation-of law. This provision
does’ not, prevent the damage of-an undesirable
entry; it merely charges the carrier with the re-
deportation is not practicable or proper. The cost of their
maintenance while on land, as well as the expense of the re-
turn of such aliens, shall be borne by the owner or owners
of the vessels on which they respectively came. That it
shall be unlawfyl for any master, purser, person in charge,
agent, owner, or consignee of any such vessel to refuse to—
receive back on board thereof, or on board of any other ves-
sel owned or operated by the same interests, such aliens; or
to fail to detain them thereon; or to refuse or fail fo return
them in the manner aforesaid to the foreign port from which
they came; or to fail to pay the cost of their maintenance
while on land; or to make any charge for the return of any
such alien, or to take any security for the payment of such
charge; * * * and if it shall appear to the satisfaction
of the Secretary of Labor that such master, purser, person
in charge, agent, owner, or consignee has violated any of the
foregoing “provisions, or any of the provisions of section
fifteen hereof, such master, purser, person in charge, agent,
owiier, or consignee shall pay to the collector of customs of
the district in which the port of arrival is located, or in
which any vessel of the line may be found, the sum of $300
for each and every violation of any provision of said sec-
tions; * * *. No alien certified, as provided in section
sixteen of this Act, to be suffering from tuberculosis in any
form, or from a loathsome or dangerous contagious disease
other than one of quarantinable nature, shall be permitted
to land for medical treatment thereof in any hospital in the
United States, unless the Secretary of Labor is satisfied that
to refuse treatment would be inhumane or cause unusual
hardship or’ suffering, in which case the alien shall be
treated in the hospital under the supervision of the immi-
gration officials at the expense of the vessel transporting
ae =
aE + Steno Seti aend - poetical
‘
25
sponsibility of taking back and detaining a pas-
senger who has already disembarked. Moreover,
‘like Sections 10 and 11, it refers to aliens ‘‘brought
to this country,” and if the. phrase has the narrow’
limitations for which the petitioner contends, then
the petitioner, to be consistent, must admit that the
provision does not embrace ‘‘through passengers.”
The other pertinent provision in Section 18 pro-
hibits the landing of an alien who has already been
examined and certified as diseased. There are
three reasons why this provision is not very help-
ful: (1) no penalty is attached; (2) the only de-
fect guarded against is disease, so that, for ex-
ample, an anarchist is not covered; and (3) the
provision goes into effect only after examination
and certificate; and does not prohibit landing an
alien prior to those events. |
From this analysis of other parts of the immigra-
tion law, we conclude that the only provision that
‘an be effectively applied to require the detention
of diseased or revolutionary ‘‘through passengers ”’
and prevent them walking the streets of our sea- °
coast cities is Section 10 of the Immigration Act
as amended.”
18 The petitioner may point to Section 9 of the Immigra- :
tion Act of 1917 as amended by Section 26 of the Immigra-
tion Act of 1924, U. S. C., Title 8, Sec. 145; but that section,
like. the one with which we are. now concerned, speaks of 4
carriers who “bring to the United States” an alien. The 4
sections are in pari materia, and undpubtedy the phrase
would receive the same construction in each case. Cf. Dollar
S. S. Line v. Elting, 51 F. (2d) 1035, 1036 (C. C. A. 2d).
ORG CoRR NE SGN Herd Sd aie
ROA EE
Pei SAE I ain HME DER a a Do ci ERR IIE 4 AB Se RO si de AE BI ED de I ie MAAS AREAON TE 2 0 ae Sa ai EAR
26
The petitioner’s construction of Section 10 not
only leaves us without this essential safeguard, it
creates for the “through passenger’’ a unique ex-
ception to an otherwise complete system whereby
carriers are penalized if they allow aliens to enter
prior to inspection or consent by the immigration
authorities. Of course, carriers may be required
to detain immigrants and those coming to this
country temporarily for business or pleasure.
Compare United States v. Steamship Coamo, 267
U. S. 220. They are also responsible for the un-
authorized landing of stowaways, The Manuel
Arnus, 75 F, (2d) 943 (C. C. A. 2d), certiorari
denied, 295 U. 8. 756, and (under statutes passed
since Taylor v. United States) of seamen whose
detention ‘s requested. Section 20 of the Immi-
gration Act of May 26, 1924, ¢. 190, 43 Stat. 153,
164, replacing Section 32 of the Immigration Act
of February 5, 1917, ¢. 29, 39 Stat. 874, 895. Com-
“pare Compagnie Generale Transatlantique v. Elt-
ing, 298 U.S. 217. And the reasoning of this Court
in Lloyd Sabaudo Societa v. Elting, 287 U.S. 329,
340,” indicates that carriers would be responsible
1° Tn that case there was involved Section 9 of the Immi-
gration Act of 1917 as amended by Section 26 of the
Immigration Act of 1924 (43 Stat. 166; U. S. C., Title 8,
Sec. 145), which penalizes carriers who “bring to the United
States” diseased aliens. A vessel of the Lloyd Sabaudo
Line carried to New York one Capaldo, who intended to
pass in transit through the United States to Canada.
Capaldo was in fact diseased, and for carrying him the line
was required to pay a fine exacted by the Secretary of Labor.
PTR aT eC ee i , 4 mth.
: oo
. ‘
27
€
for failure to detain, pending examination, a pas-*
senger who was not coming tothe United States to
stay here, but who was in transit through Ameri-
ean territory to a foreign destination. |
We submit that there is no reason to apply a
different rule to ‘‘through passengers.’’ The de-
mands of such through passengers are neither im-
perative nor unforeseeable. Unlike sailors, through
passengers are not habitually granted shore leave
and would not feel restrained if prevented from
landing. Moreover, in those eases in which through
passengers may ask to get off in port and view the
city while the vessel is in the harbor, their request
is foreseeable by the carrier. The carrier knows
that the possibility of landing exists and may be
realized even though the passenger has no immi-
gration Visa or passport. See pages 20-22, supra.
To penalize the carrier who does not detain the
‘through passenger”? until landing permission is
given is, therefore, not unreasonable. And such a
The carrier brought suit to recover the fine, urging that
Capaldo was not “brought” to the United States since both
, he and the line intended that he should go to Canada. In
making this argument the carrier laid particular stress both
in the lower courts and in this Court on Zaylor v. United
States. See Lloyd Sabaudo Societa v. Elting, 45 F. (2d) 405,
409 (S. D.N. Y.);s.¢. 55 F. (2d) 1048, 1051 (C. C. A. 2d).
See briefs in this Court, Oct. Term, 1932, No. 48, Pet.’s Br.,
i p. 49; Resp.’s Br., p. 37. However, this Court sustained the
fine, 287 U. S. 329. The reasoning of this Court applies
pari passu to Section 10 of the Immigration Act of 1917, as
amended, which is obviously in pari materia with Section 9.
See preceding footnote.
— * — P a ae eee 3 ae
28
penalty is at least as necessary as one placed upon
an international bridge company which has not
prevented an alien from walking across the bridge
into the United States for five minutes. See foot-
note 2, page 10, supra. ,
The reading of the phrase ‘‘bring to the United
States’’ for which the petitioner contends estab-
lishes without reason, and in defiance of that ad- ‘*
ministrative simplicity which is essential to expedi-
tious handling of aliens, a preferred classification
_ for through passengers. Moreover, it creates a
- serious breach in Section 10, and, by parallel rea-
soning, in Section 9 and other parts of the immi-
gration law. To avoid such consequences, the
phrase, even if its literal definition were narrow,
should be broadly construed to cover through pas-
sengers. We submit that in taking the normal,
broad construction, the Cireuit Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Cireuit in this case, and the Circuit
Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit in The
Nanking, 290 Fed. 769, 772 (C. C. A. 9th), have
reached the only result consistent with the policy of
the immigration laws, and that the narrower view
taken by the Circuit Court of Appeals for the Sec-
ond Circuit opens the door whereby a host of aliens
- may enter without any prior inspection.
ak om See ee ee
29 .
Il
SECTION #0 OF THE IMMIGRATION “ACT OF. 1917, AS
AMENDED, IPSO FACTO IMPOSES A DUTY TO DETAIN, AND
NO NOTICE FROM THE IMMIGRATION AUTHORITIES IS
REQUIRED AS A CONDITION PRECEDENT PO THE EXIST-
ENCE OF THE OBLIGATION. .
In some parts of the immigration law, a carrier
or officer is under_no duty to detain an alien until
he receives from the immigration authorities notice
todoso. This, for example, is true of that part of.
Section 20 (a) of the Immigration Act of 1924
which was considered by this Court at the last term.
Compagnie Generale Transatlantique v. Elting,
298 U.S. 217. See footnote 22 on page 33, infra.
But in Section 10 of the Immigration Act of
1917, as amended, the duty is absolute and auto-
matic. The immigration authorities do not need to
take any action as a condition precedent to creating
an obligation to detain. They do, however, have the
power to terminate the obligation since they may
permit Janding. Thus it may be said that they
have the power to loose, but not to bind.
That this is the correct interpretation of Section
10 is shown by its wording, and by its a
‘policy.
The statute, without ambiguity, states ‘‘That it
shall be the duty of * * * officers * * * of
vessels * * * bringing analiento * * * the
United States, to prevent the landing of such alien
in the United States at any time or place other than
30
as designated by the immigration officers. Any
such person * -* * who fails to comply with the
feregoing requirements shall * * * be pun-
ished.*? The only requirement is the absolute obli-
gation to prevent the landing, not to obey an or rder
of some administrative official.
Petitioner suggests (Br. 6-7) that the unambigu-
ous words of subsection ¢a) which we have just
quoted mean something different from what they
appear to mean on first impression. Petitioner
suggests that the duty they prescribe-is not a duty
to prevent landing, but aduty to present aliens at a
- particular time and place, and then only if such
time and place are designated by immigration offi-
cers. To justify sO distortéd - a construction of the
plain words of subsection (a), petitioner invokes
the aid of subsection (b), which provides that:
(b) Proof that the alien failed to present
himself at the time and place designated by
the immigration officers shall be prima facie
evidence that such alien has landed in the
United States at‘a time or place other than
‘as designated by the immigration officers.
In the first place, this subsection is of doubtful aid
~ in the construction of subsection (a) because it was
not adopted. contemporaneously with it. Subsec-
tion (a) has along history, and appears in much
its present form in Section 18 of the Act of March
3, 1903, e. 1012, 32 Stat. 1213, 1217, Section 10 of
the Immigration Act of February 5, 1917, ¢. 29,
31
39 Stat. 874, 881, and Section 27 of the Immigra-
tion Act of May 26, 1924, c. 190, 43 Stat. 153, 167.
On the other hand, subsection (b) did not appear
until the 1924 Act. (43 Stat. 168.) In the second
place, subsection ‘(b) does not purport to be co-
extensive with subsection (a). It is designed
merely to furnish a ready method of proof in one
of a number of situations that may arise under
the operation of subsection (a), and not to cover
all of them. An obvious example will show that .
subsection (b) is not co-extensive with and does
not set limits to subsection (a). If an immigra-
tion inspector saw a ship’s master helping an im-
‘migrant to disembark before inspection, clearly the
inspector’s testimony would be enough to sustain
a-conviction of the master under Section 10,
although the inspector had never stopped to issue
~ an order requiring the master to present that alien
20
at some particular time and place.
©In order to show that the carrier’s duty is a duty to
present aliens at a particular place when so requested, rather
than a duty to detain aliens until otherwise instructed, peti-
tioner also (Br. 7-8) relies on’Section 23 of the Act of Feb.
5, 1917, c. 29, 39 Stat. 892, U. S. C.. Title 8, See. 102, and
Section 2 of the Act of March 4,.1929, c. 690, 45 Stat. 1551,
' U.S. C., Title 8, Sec. 180 (a). The former section js clearly
irrelevant. It merely gives to the Commissioner General of
Immigration (whose title since Section 14 of Executive
Order No. 6166, June 10, 1933, see United States Code
Annotated, Title 5, Sec. 132, has been changed to the Com-
missioner of Immigration and Naturalization) the power to
make appropriate contracts with railroad carriers so that
trains will not be held up at the border but may, while the
32
The construction for which we contend, i. e., one
that imposes an automatic duty to detain until
otherwise notified, is required by the policy as well
as the language of the statute. If the carrier were
under no duty to detain until he. received notice,
then the carrier could with immunity allow the
landing of any alien who moved more quickly than
the immigration officials. To allow such a race
against authority would cripple the strength of
Section 10. We submit that the plain policy of
immigration inspectors pass through the cars, proceed into
the United States. This is an unusual privilege which, as
Section 10 itself recognizes, is an exception to the normal
duty of a carrier to detain aliens until otherwise directed,
and which, as Section 23 states, is given “so as not unneces-
sarily to delay, impede, or annoy persons in ordinary travel.”
Section 2 of the Act of March 4, 1929, is likewise of no value
in supporting petitioner’s position. This statutery provi-
sion, which is obviously not part of the 1917 or 1924 immi-
gration Acts, and is therefore of doubtful aid-in construing
them, penalizes not carriers but aliens. Moreover, it penal-
-izes.an alien not only if he “enters the United States at any
time or place other than as designated by immigration
officials”, but also if he “eludes examination or inspection by
immigration officials.” In other words, the alien is required
to stay out of the United States until he is inspected and
until he is told he may enter. Such a requirement parallels
the requirement which we say is imposed upon the carrier
and is difficult to reconcile with the requirement which peti-
tioner says is imposed upon the carrier.
21 Furthermore, it would prevent the full application of
Section 15 of the Immigration Act of 1917, U. S. C., Title 8,
Sec. 151, which declares+that “upon the arrival at a port of
the United States of any vessel bringing aliens it shall be
-
33
‘the statute is to require the carrier to detain unless
and until the authorities have given permission for
landing.”
Ill
IF A NOTICE TO DETAIN IS A CONDITION PRECEDENT TO
THE EXISTENCE OF A DUTY TO DETAIN, THE NOTICE IN
THIS, CASE WAS IN PROPER FORM AND PROPERLY
SERVED.
In this case the District Court found that notice
was ‘‘duly served.upon the Officers of the Steam-—
ship’? Santos Maru ‘‘to hold the alien [Spro-
the duty of the proper immigration officials to go or to send.
competent assistants to the vessel and there inspect all such
aliens * * *,” . 2
22 We submit that the petitioner is mistaken in contending
(Br. 8-9) that our construction of Section 10 of the Immi-
gration Act of 1917 is inconsistent with Section 20 (a) of
the Immigration Act of 1924. U. S..C., Title 8, Sec. 167.
That section deais with detention of seamen in two different
situations. Prior to examination of the seamen by immi-
gration authorities, the carrier has an absolute duty to de-
tain, as this Court seems to have recognized in Compagnie
Generale Transatlantique v. Elting, 298 U. S. 217, 223, line
8. After examination, “A duty so to detain does not arise
‘unless and until such detention is required by the immigra-
tion officer.” “298 U. S. 223, lines 12-14. The reason for
this distinction in Section 20 (a) is obvious and consonant
with our argument. Prior to examination, the immigration
officials cannot know whether or not they want the alien
detained, so an absolute duty rests€on the carrier. After
the examination, the carrier cannot know its result, but the °
immigration officials do know. Hence, if they want the alien
detained, they, having the information revealed by the ex-
amination, must give the carrier notice.
RA! DANES alas MON M0 Hatt ace seed
34
vieri] on board at all ports of the United
States at which such Steamship might’ touch.’’
(R. 7, fdg. b.) The order of detention was v10-
lated and ‘‘said alien passenger was, by the negli-
gence of such Steamship and its Officers and Crew,
allowed to escape and land in the United States
without the permission of the Immigration
Authorities and in violation of the Law.’’ (R: 8,
fdg.¢.) In the libel it was charged that the ‘‘own-
ers, masters, officers and agents [of the SanrTos
~ #® Marv] had violated the provisions of Section
146, Title 8, United States Code,” i. e., Section 10
of the hnmiegration Act of 1917, as amended. (R.
4, par. V, lines +6.) And for this violation it’was
prayed that the United States have a decree for
its penalty. of $1,000 and that the ‘‘Santos Maru”’
be forfeited or sold to satisfy the Government’s
lien for that penalty. (R.4, par. VI.)
The petitioner contends (Br, 8-10) that the
notice to detain was improper because it required
the ship’s officers to keep the alien on board and
did not name any time or place at which the alien
could be landed.
“ It is our position that the statute does not pur-
port to require that every alien shall have his day
in the United States. It-is unthinkable that be-
cause a leper or anarchist is brought to our shores,
we must accommodate him. There is nothing in
the language of this particular section that goes so
far. Indeed, other provisions of the immigration
. Pep SECT CMEC SO hae se ak Sn ech Neal nee haa DRiate Bai Rid ai Aa AB ADin TAD Oi bie aided A LAY EE NME
4
35 Be
laws show that there exists no unqualified right to
land even for inspection.” |
That the right to land even temporarily.is a mat-
ter within the discretion of the immigration off-
cials is shown not only by the statute but also by
Executive Order No. 5426, which we have already
quoted at page 21, supra, and by Immigration Rule
0, Subdivision H, paragraph 6, quoted at pages 21-
22, supra, and adopted pwrsuant to authority con-
ferred by Section 23 of the Immigration -Act of
February 5, 1917, ¢. 29, 39 Stat. 892, and Section
24 of the Immigration Act of May 26, 1924, c. 190,
43 Stat. 166.
Of course, the fact that naaaiithiias as in United
States v. Steamship Coamo, 267 U. 8. 220, relied
upon by the petitioner (Br. 9, 13), the immigration
authorities do, as a matter of grace, indicate a time
and place for landing, does not establish for car-
riers, as by some sort of prescription, a right
always to land all passengers.
~~
Another point, which has not been stressed -by
the petitioner, seems to us, in view of Compagnie
Generale Transatlantique v. Elting, 298 U. S..217,
°8 Thus in Section 15 of the Immigration Act of February
5, 1917, c. 29, 39 Stat. 874, 885, it is provided that immigra-
tion officers shall have discretion to examine aliens, either
on board the vessel or at land stations to which they are
removed. See also Sections 11 and 18, quoted in part and
discussed at pages 22-25, supra.
IORI LMR INEN WE REMAN TEV a Re Ae
ST ac Ses
SE LO LINNEY ANTRAL MAD Pt
eS SH et eke ee
CT AAALE Siar RS Atak Pd
ad aes
eAthena th de Gap ins aa nly LW NG tt st P88 PS he LB Witty Be AEE Stig Be 0055 0 tS
36
to deserve some mention: that is, assuming argu-
endo that a notice of detention is required, the
question arises whether it was served upon the
party now sought to be charged. :
We do not believe that this point is open to the
petitioner since in his petition for certiorari he
did not set forth any ‘specification of error based
upon it, and since his brief does not touch it.
Morehead v. Peo ple ex ret. Tipaldo, Oct. Term, 1935,
No. 838, June 1, 1936; Clark v. Williard, 294 U.S.
211, 216. However, if the point were open, we sub-
mit it would be without merit. The notice to detain
was ‘‘duly served upon the Officers of the Steam-
ship.”’ (R. 7, fdg. b.) And this libel proceeding
was based on the fact that the ‘‘owners, masters,
officers and agents had violated the provisions of”’
Section 10 cf the Immigration Met of 1917 as
amended. (R.4,par.V.) Thus the officers of the
vessel, who are the ones against whom the penalty
is invoked (ef. R. 15, line 2) were given due notice.
The situation is unlike that before this Court in
the Compagnie Generale Transatlantique case,
supra, where the notice was given to the master, °
but the duty and the penalty were sought to be im-
- posed upon the owner.
37
CONCLUSION
Wherefore it is respectfully submitted that the
decree of the court below should be affirmed. -
— ¥ STANLEY REED, .
- Solicitor General.
. Brien McManon,
Assistant Attorney General.
. CHARLES E. WyZANSKI, IJr.,
Special Assistant to the Attorney General.
. Witttam W. Barron, _
JOHN M. SULLIVAN,
Attorneys.
Brien 8S. OdEM,
Assistant United States Attorney.
v ALBERT E. REITZEL,
Assistant Solicitor of the
Department of Labor.
VEpwarp J. GARRAHAN,
Attorney.
NOVEMBER 1936.
U.S GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE: 1936
*
‘
x
:
i aide eT AA RAE SG WE TIRBE A Lo BI gf 1S CEs Oh LACE ed
.
‘
-
®
bitin cs a cat : ek Ya Ssh Bip SUA Et tli a 9s Sia A SATS i ig is Yt St ti oi ilar ihe RULE GALA LIBR a]
Oe ee ee CEOS ere ae 2
. i
f
*s
ay
. .
+
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES.
No. 224.—OcToBer TERM, 1936.
DF Evatt tnd eR we ARAN Ra
sa a a
Osaka Shosen Kaisha Line, Claimant of)
the Steamship ‘‘Santos Maru’’,
Petitioner,
On Writ of Certiorari to
the United States Circuit é
f ‘Court of Apppeals for f
the Fifth Circuit. ‘
VS.
The United States of America. °
[February 1, 1937.]
Mr. Justice SUTHERLAND delivered the opinion of the Court.
Section 10 (a) of the Immigration Act of February 5, 1917, as
amended, Title 8 U. S. C. § 146, makes it the duty of.every person
-ineluding ofners, masters, officers, and agents of vessels @) trans- (YY
portation ines, ‘‘bringing-an alien to, or providing a means for
an alien to come to, the United States, to prevent the landing of
such alien in the United States at any time or place other than as
designated by the immigration officers.’’ Failure to comply with
the provision constitutes a misdemeanor punishable by fine or
imprisonment or both. If the Secretary of Labor is of opinion that
a prosecution is impracticable or inconvenient, a penalty of $1,000
is imposed and a lien upon the vessel is created for which such
vessel shall be libeled in the appropriate United States court.
By subdivision (b) of § 10, proof that the alien failed to present
himself at the time and place designated by the immigration officers
constitutes prima facie evidence that the alien has landed at a time
or place other than that designated. - - :
On June 11, 1932, the Santos Maru came into the port of New
Orleans with Salvatore Sprovieri, an alien passenger, on board.
The passenger was en route from Brazil to Japan upon a through
ticket ; and was not entitled to enter the United States. On arrival
of the steamship, the immigration officers at New Orleans issued a 5
written order to the steamship to hold the alien on board at all.
ports of the United States at which the ship might touch—the order
being duly served upon the officers of the ship. A few days later,
FEN RON, SS ESR GF rita ere x:
as Bats bee. Piet 6 ee ON Mele ee
2 Osaka"Shosen Kaisha Line vs. The United States.
the ship arrived at the port of Galveston, Texas; and there, by the
negligence of the ship, its officers and crew, the alien passenger was
allowed to escape and land in the United States without permis-
sion of the immigration officers and in violation of their order.
Officers of the ship notified the immigration authorities of the
escape of the passenger; but the ship sailed before his arrest. Sub-
sequently, the passenger was arrested and deported on another
vessel of the same line.
The Secretary of Labor was of opinion that it was impracticable
and inconvenient to prosecute the matter criminally; and a libel
was filed.on behalf of the United States in the appropriate federal
district court, praying a decree for the $1,000 penalty and to enforce -
the lien therefor against the ship.
The district court took the view that, the alien passenger not
being bound for the United States but en route from Brazil to
‘Japan, the ship was not liable, and dismissed the libel with pre-
judice. The circuit court of appeals held otherwise, reversed the
decree and remanded the-eause with instructions to enter a decree
for the United States. 84 F. (2d) 482.
The basie contention of petitioner, in its assault upon the latter
decree, is that one who transports an alien passenger from one
foreign country to another, does not bring him to the United
States, within the meaning of § 10, by entering, with the alien on
board, an American port of call on the way. If it were not for a
sentence contained in the opinion of this court in Taylor v. United
States, infra, of which we shall speak later, we might dispose of
‘this contention by simply saying that it is contrary to the unam-
biguous terms of the section. Nothing can be plainer than that a
ship which enters one of our ports has come to the United States;
and a passenger on board obviously has come with the ship, and
consequently has been brought by the ship to the United States.
And this remains none the less the fact, although the ship con-
tinue on her way to a foreign port, and although it was intended
that the passenger should go with her, and not be left in the United
States. To say that the passenger has not been brought to the
United States unless the intent was to leave him here, is not to
construe the statute but to add an additional and qualifying term
to its provisions. This we are not at liberty to do.under the guise
a Pe te eC ee isin ee ar me ke
Osaka Shosen Kaisha Line vs. The United States. 3
of construction, because, as this court has so often held, where the
words are plain there is no room for construction. United States
v. Wiltberger, 5 Wheat. 76, 95-96; Hamilton v. Rathbone, 175 U. 8.
414, 419, 421; United States v. Hartwell, 6 Wall. 385, 396; Crooks
yv. Harrelson, 282 U. 8. 55, 59-60.
It is urged that the statute is highly penal in character and should
therefore be construed strictly. But the object of all construction,
whether of penal or other statutes, is to ascertain the legislative
intent; and in penal statutes, as in those of a different character,
‘if the language be clear, it is conclusive.’’ United States v.
Hartwell, supra, pp. 395-396; United States v. Corbett, 215 U. S.
233, 242; Sacramento Nav. Co. v. Salz, 273 U. 8. 326, 329-330.
The duty of the ship-is to prevent the landing of through alien
passengers except by permission. The United States is under no
obligation to permit the temporary landing of such passengers at
its ports at all. A detention order is not necessary, although one
was issued in this instance; for the case is not one where landing
is permitted if not forbidden by the immigration officials, but where _
it is forbidden unless permitted. Section 10 is not like, for example,
§ 20 of the Immigration Act of 1924, which imposes a fine upon
the owner, charterer, agent, consignee, or master of a vessel arriv-
ing in the United States who fails, after inspection, to detain an
alien seaman employed on the vessel ‘‘if required’’ by the immigra-
tion officer in charge of the port to do so. Under that provision, ‘‘A
duty so to detain does not arise unless and until such detention is
required by the immigration officer.’’ Compagnie Generale v. Elt-
ing, 298 U. 8. 217, 223. Under § 10, however, the duty is imposed
by the statute and not by requirement of the immigration officials.
The matter is taken care of by a regulation of the Secretary
Labor (Rule 3, subdivision H, 76, ‘‘ Immigration Laws and .Rufés
of January 1, 1930’’, p. 125), which provides that through alien
passengers ‘‘may land temporarily without visaed passports, for
the limited period of time during which the vessel lies over in port,
in cases where the examining officer is satisfied that they will depart
on the vesselNat the time it proceeds on the same voyage . . .”’
_ The main reliance of petitioner is on Taylor v. United States,
207 U. S. 120, 124, 125. That case arose under § 18 of the Immi-
gration Act of March 3, 1903, which imposes the duty upon a ship
‘ iat, |
'
4
H
§*
Ef
t
g
ELE TET FLITE RE NORRIE OIE ey MR ENS rat
+f
i . —— . - - 2 . ‘ .
Na hii 0h iA ai Nai ANS REAR KE COE BTEC IMEEM Dh Aho Es hc n,n NTS 0 saab SDB abet 20d ia tan
Po 7
.
4 Osaka Shosen Kaisha Line vs. The Umited States.
bringing an alien to the United States to adopt due precautions
to prevent the landing of such alien at any time or place other than
that designated ‘by the immigration officers. This court held that
the provision did not apply ‘‘to the ordinary case of a sailor desert-
ing while on shore leave.’’ In the course of the opinion it was said
that ‘the phrase ‘‘bringing an alien to the United States’’ meant
‘‘transporting with intent to leave in the United States and for
the sake of transport—not transporting with intent to carry back,
and merely as incident to employment on the instrument of trans-
port.’’ ‘‘Intent to leave’’ is right enough as applied to a seaman on
the ship, but it may not be extended to include an alien through
passenger.
The court there was dealing with and thinking of a sailor, and
not of an alien through passenger; and-its language must be read -
accordingly, for—‘‘It is a maxim, not to be disregarded, that gep-
eral expressions, in every opinion, are to be taken in connection
with the case in which those expressions are used. If they go be-
yond the case, they may be respected, but ought not to control the
judgment i in a subsequent suit, when the very point is presented for
\_ decision.’’ ~Cohens v. Virginia, 6 Wheat. 264, 399; Humphrey’s
Ezecutor v. United States, 295 U. S. 602, 626-627. The point to
be observed in the Taylor case is that the transportation of the
sailor was merely as an ‘‘incident to entployment on the instru-
ment of transport.’’ That i i to say, the sailor was one of the agen-
cies which brought the ship in, rather than an alien brought in by
the ship. ‘‘It is true’’, Chief Justice Marshall said in The Wilson v.
United States, 1 Brock. 423, 30 F. Cas. 239, 244, ‘‘that a vessel
coming into port, is the vehicle which brings in her crew, but we do
not in common language say, that the mariners are ‘imported,’ c
brought in by a particular vessel; we rather say they bring in the
vessel.’” The generality of the affirmative. phrase, ‘‘transporting
with intent to leave in the United States,’’ is obviously qualified by
the negative form of expression immediately following, ‘‘not trans-
porting with intent to carry back and merely as incident to em-
ployment on the instrument of transport.’’ (Italics supplied.)
When we consider the relation of the sailor to the ship—that he
is, for all practical purposes, a part of it and not, like a passenger,
apart from it—it is quite apparent that the word ‘‘alien’’ as used
.
‘ai = — — 66) Bn ohm a rae
a he a PN le i GoD
*
Osaka Shosen Kaisha Line vs. The United States. 5
in § 10 does not, and was not intended to, include an alien sailor.
Some of those engaged in the operation of a vessel must go
ashore. They may be required to load and unload the cargo, to
communicate with the local representatives of the line, and neces-
sarily to perform a variety of duties which require their presence
ashore. A denial of the privilege would be so likely to adversely
affect commerce as to require much plainer language than we find
in § 10 to justify the conclusion that Congress had denied it. ‘To
adopt that conclusion ‘would be to declare that the act was vio-
lated whenever a member of the crew was sent ashore to performan fF
act imperatively necessary in the service of the ship.
Petitioner cites, also in support of its contention, The Alfonso |
XIII, 53 F. (2d) 124, 126; Dollar 8.8. Line v. Elting, 51 F. (2d) !
1035; and The Habana, 63 F. (2d) 812; but those decisions were
expressly based upon what was regarded as the controlling effect
of the phrase which we have quoted from the Taylor case; and from
a reading of the opinions it seems quite evident that but for that .
the decisions would have been otherwise. For example, Judge )
Woolsey, in The Alfonso XIII, said that if he were dealing with |
the matter de novo, uninstructed by judicial authority above him, -
he would have found it difficult to give the words “bringing an
alien to the United States’’ a meaning different from what they
literally mean. .
We reject the notion that in the case with which we are now
concerned it is necessary to constitute the act of bringing an alien
to the United States that there should be an intent to leave him
here.’
We see nothing in the suggestion that subdivision (b) of §10 fF
sustains petitioner’s view of the ease. That subdivision simply
provides a rule of evidence affecting the: burden of proof, and
we think does not in any way restrict the plain meaning of § 10 (a)
as we have found it.
Decree affirmed.
A trad im:
Test :
Clerk, Supreme Court, U. 8.
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.