Opposition Brief — Washington v. Oregon

Supreme Court brief1936

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

eu. ae &

—————

IN THE

: Supreme ni of the | nited Si |

OCTOBER TERM, 1930

Original No. ® H

IN EQUITY

THE STATE OF WASHINGTON, COMPLAINANT,

| ; a “i ©.

THE STATE OF OREGON, DEFENDANT.

|. Defendant's Brief in Opposition to Motion to Strike

Affirmative Defenses

Orr a Pen Eg GR wer yr

‘ I. H. VAN WINKLE,

; Attorney Gencral,

‘ JAMES A. FEE

CHARLES Z. RANDALL,

« GEORGE T. COCHRAN,

Special Counsel,

Counsel for Defendant.

Tee

Ci ak Ra ak is ak ak Do ere ae a el

SUBJECT INDEX |

| TEXTBOOKS

‘Parnham, Waters and Water Rights, Vol. 2, p. 1678, § 508 1

| Kinney on Irrigation and Water Rights, 2d Ed., Vol. 2,

aol chuck stat cihiscaschinicssseocinanedcsaabacanin 11

‘6c. J. 48 and 49, § 19(3), and cases cited in notes 27

“CO. J. 692 and 693, § 983 (4), and notes 55, 56 and 57...

RENEE nenenene enna

INDEX OF CASES

“Allen v. Roseburg, 126 Pac. 900; 70 Wash. 422 ................ 7

ma V. California, 288 U. S. 428, 459; 75 L. Hd. 1154,

i a encinccnneseenntestinnsin 8

E

Saryman v. Kast Hoquiam, Boom & Logging Co., 124

Sa I _.sanipabensinnniteinniaonsionontiis 7

‘Bunker Hill, Etc., Co. v. Polak, 7 Fed. (2d) 583, 585

23 (Certiorari denied 269 U. S. 581; 70 L. Ed. 423) ........ 2

Cit of/Raymond v. Willapa Power Co., 167 Pac. 914-

E 916; 98 Wash. Sh iar 7

fissioners v. Buckner, 48 Fed. 533, 536 -................... 5

Farwell v. Brisson, 119 Pac. 314, 66 Wash. 305 _............. 7

Indian v. Kentucky, 186 U. S. 479, 510, 511; 34 L. Ed.

wee e ee meme ewes wesc sees eeseeeseeees

s

we &

:

S

2

"s

a

Larsen v. Johnson et al., (Ariz.) 203 Pac. 874 0

Louisiana v. Mississippi, 202 U. S. 1, 53; 50 L, ah

QS, GBD .....n..n----.c.--20.0--220--e-eeeee-naeeeee-a--secensccsnnnsscensanennn 4

Maryland v. West Virginia, 217 U.S. 1, 41 to 43; 4

Ed. 645, 657 to 658 ae

North Dakota v. Minnesota, 263 U. S. 365, 375, 376; es

Li, Ed. 342, B46 ......-....--..--.-----ceeno--o-rcenn--seessensnassssnsennes —_—

Smith v. Nechanicky, 211 Pac. 880-882; 123 Wash. 8 _... 1

Wyoming v. Colorado, 259 U. S. 419, 468; 66 L. Ed. 999,

4 Gara ent: 8, 6, 7, 11,12

ss

S

—

Sy,

=e

;—- a

2

i

Original No. 17

ferne

IN EQUITY

THE STATE OF WASHINGTON, COMPLAINANT,

Vv.

THE STATE OF OREGON, DEFENDANT.

Defendant’s Brief in Opposition to Motion to Strike

| Affirmative Defenses

STATEMENT

The state of Washington has filed a motion to strike

certain portions of the answer filed by Oregon. Such

4 motion “cannot ordinarily take the place of or be

teed Initerchangeably with a demurrer.” 49 C. J. 686,

39%.

“A motion to strike out a pleading as an entirety

cannot be sustained where one or more of the counts,

defenses, or paragraphs therein are sufficient. So a

motion to strike a paragraph or count for irregularity

thowld be denied if any ‘pertion of it is relevant or

fespitidive.” 49°C. J.-692-and 693, $'988(4), and notes

06, 66 and 57 citing cases from 16 states and the U.

k courts.

2

Such is the direct holding of the U. S.C. C. A,

ninth circuit, in the case of, Bunker Hill, Etc., Co. 9,

Polak, 7 Fed. (2nd) 583, 585. (Certiorari denid

U.S. 581; 70 L. Ed.. 423). |

Washington’s brief and motion are directed against

certain portions of Oregon’s answer which it is claimed

set up the defenses of : First—Vested Rights; Second—

Adverse Use; and Third—Estoppel.

THEORY OF THE CASE

The brief accompanying the motion is upon th

theory that because the state of Washington is\the

complainant the rules governing the determination of

the relative rights to the use of the water of the stream

are essentially different from those which would apply »

if the case were between individuals.

I.

In a controversy between states as to the relative

rights to the use of the waters of an interstate streas,

the “Complainant State” brings its suit in its qua

sovereign capacity as “parens patriae, trustee, guart

ian, or representative” of that portion of its iti

whose rights are affected.

Kansas v. Colorado, 206 U.S. 46, 99; 51 L, B4. 956%

| North Dakota +: Minne rota, 263 U. S. 166.

68 L. Ed. $42; 346. -

Krall 0. United States, 79 Fed. 241:

’ ‘Larsen v. Johnson et al., (Ariz.) 203 Pac. ee 28 RS

as a 2

3

Ih.

“Insuch a suit the rights of the state are “‘Indissoln-

bly linked with the rights of the apprepriators” and

“heir situation and what has been accomplished by

them cannot be ignored.”

Wyoming v. Colorado, 259 U. 5. 419, 468; 66 L. Ed.

999, 1015.

ITI.

In such a suit the rights of the appropriaters must

be determined as though the accident of the state line

did not exist and all of the apprepriations had been

made in a single state.

Wyoming v. Colorade, 259 U.S. 419, 470, 471; 66 L. Ed.

999, 1056. ,

We are taught by the case of Wyoming v. Colorado

that the doctrine of appropriation must furnish the

basis for the decision of this case. 7

The doctrine of appropriation recognized in both

states (Complainant’s Bill, page 11) is a doctrine of

vested rights.

“To appropriate water means to take and divert a

specific quantity thereof and put it te beneficial use in

accordance with the Inws of the state where such water is

found, and, by so doing, to acquire under such laws, a

vested right to take and divert from the same source, and

to use and consume the same quantity of water annually

forever, subject only to the right of prior appropriations.”

Arizona v. California, 288 U. S. 428, 459; 75 L. Ed.

1154, 1168.

4

Oregon has alleged that she has done this, in the

paragraph on page 23 of Oregon’s answer, against

which Washington has moved.

Since Washington has asked for the determination

of the relative rights to the use of the waters in emp.

troversy, an allegation on the part of Oregon as to the

existence of certain vested rights in her citizens is

manifestly pertinent to the issues and goes to th

merits of the controversy.

It is true that this allegation is followed by a state.

ment to the effect that the bill filed by Washington is

an attempt to deprive the owners of their property

rights without due process of law and that neither th —

United States nor the state of Washington can do this

Possibly this statement is a conclusion of th

pleader.

If so, it does not render the entire paragraph sb

ject to the motion to strike. The allegations as to the

existence of the rights are pertinent. Under the mk

as set forth at the beginning of this brief the moum

must be denied if any part of the paragraph moved

against is pertinent. re

' “Ordinarily a pleading is not rendered wholly insuffi

cient because it contains legal conclusions in »

the facts which properly belong in it. In other words d

addition of a conclusion of law which may be

drawn from the facts pleaded will not invalidate the

ing. A conclusion of law at variance with, or unsd

by, the facts stated cannot be relied on, and must yied®

the conflicting averments of fact. A statement of ®

conclusions, together with the facts supporting

49 C. J. 48 and 49, § 19(3), and cases cited in notes

27 to 34 citing cases from the United States courts

and from almost every state in the Union.

This is directly held by the U. S. C. C. A., seventh

cireuit, in the case of In Re Marion Mfg. Co., 1 Fed.

{2nd) 903.

In the case at bar the conclusion of the pleader

does not render the paragraph moved against insuffi-

Gent, and because the paragraph contains pertinent

allegations the motion as aguinst this paragraph must

fail.

ADVERSE USER

The authorities cited in the brief of the state of

Washington unde: this head on pages 14 to 19 of the

brief are not in point in a case in this Court between

two sovereign states.

" They have application only to a suit by a subject

against a sovereign. '

> The distinction is pointed out by the Court in Com-

er” ©, Fechner, £8 Fed. 558, S00, where it is

os “The states of this Union, as between each other, or as

them and the United States, are not excepted from

" tets of limitations as to bringing suits by the application

of this maxim.” (Nullum tempus oceurrit regi.)

=

a

Furthermore, this Court has applied the doctrine

of acquisition of title by prescription and adverse pos.

session as against the sovereign states of this Union

in the following cases:

Indiana v. Kentucky, 1386 U. S. 479, 510 to 511; 34 L,

Ed. 329, 333.

Maryland v. West Virginia, 217 U. S. 1, 41 to 48; 54

L. Ed. &45, 657 to 658.

Louisiana v. Mississippi, 202 U. S. 1, 53; 50 L. Ed

913, 932.

These cases are decided not only on the basis of

what the states had done but also what their citizens

had done and the acts of the citizens were considered

in determining the rights of the state.

As riled in the case of Wyoming v. Colorado, supra,

the rights of the state are “indissolubly linked with the

rights of the appropriators.” (259 U. S. 468, 66 L.

Ed. 1015.)

It is alleged in the answer, page 27, that both the

states of Oregon and Washington by statute and de-

cisions recognize the same principles of law as to

adverse possession, laches, and estoppel, and limitation

of time within which real property may be recovered

For the purpose of this motion this allegation must be

deemed admitted. Entirely aside from this technial

admission the state of Washington has recognized tht

the right to the use of water may be acquired by pre

scription in the following cases:

7

Smith v. Nechanicky, 211 Pac. 880-882; 123 Wash. 8.

City of Raymond v. Willape Power Co., 167 Pac. 914-

916; 98 Wash. 317.

Allen v. Roseburg, 126 Pac. 900; 70 Wash. 422.

Berryman v. East Hoquiam, Boom & Logging Co., 124

Pac. 130; 68 Wash. 657.

Farwell v. Brisson, 119 Pac. 814, 66 Wash. 305.

The decisions of the Supreme Court of the state of

Oregon also recognize this rule.

The same principles which led this court to hold

in the case of Wyoming v. Colorado, supra, that the

doctrine of appropriation should be applied to the dis-

pute because recognized by the courts and statutes of

both states would warrant the application to this case

of the doctrine that water rights may be acquired by

adverse possession and prescription.

That being true, if the citizens of the state of Ore-

gon have acquired by prescription and adverse user

the right to use any waters formerly claimed by the

state of Washington, that right must of necessity be

recognized by this Court in determining their relative

rights, |

In the case of Wyoming v. Colorado, this court

recognized that the rights of the respective states to

the use of the water of an interstate stream rested

upon the right of the individual appropriators and that

the right of these appropriators and what has been

done and accomplished by them must.be considered.

“These constituted the foundation of all rural home

building and agricultural development. If they were re-

- 8g .

jected now the lands would return to their naturally arid

condition, the efforts of the settlers and the « itures.

‘of others would go for naught and values mounting into

large figures would be lost.” (259 U. S. 468, 66 L. Ea

' 1016.) . . ; :

It follows then that the allegations in that portion

of page 25 to which the motion is directed and which

are to the effect that the state of Oregon and its citi.

zens “diverted, appropriated, and used under a claim

of right and color of title pursuant to the laws of the

state of Oregon and the recognized custom of appr -

priating waters from said stream in said territory at

said time and applied to beneficial uses,” certain quan-

tities of water with certain priorities and that the

appropriators had “taken, used, held, and carried away

the said waters of said stream openly, notoriously, and

adversely to the state of Washington, its citizens and -

all the world since the dates hereinbefore alleged” are

allegations of the facts upon which the rights of the

appropriators in Oregon depend.

It cannot be held that such an allegation is mt |

pertinent to the issues nor can it be held that such is

an allegation merely of adverse user. It is an allegation

‘of the appropriation which must be the basis of the

decision of the rights of the people of the state of Or

gon. It is therefore pertinent to the matter in issue,

and, under the authorities cited at the beginning df

this brief, even if the words “openly, notoriously, and

_ adversely” be taken as conclusions of the pleader, the

motion could still not be allowed because of the allege.

PAG ATEN ARLE TSE DOL PIO LIL ICG OIE LLL IL LORE GIELE DEP ELIE SE ELON LAE EAA LOE SRLE SG :

|

ions of the pertinent fact included in the paragraph

moved against. We do not think these words consti-

tute conclusions. They are descriptive of the method

of use and are allegations of the ultimate fact in that

respect. What these citizens did is the basis of their

rights and that of the state of Oregon. The dates of

priority are important since under the doctrine of

appropriation which is the basis of the decision in

this case, this court has held “the car dinal rule of

that doctrine is that priority of appropriation gives

superiority of right.” (259 U.S. 470, 66 L. Ed. 1015.)

.

ESTOPPEL

_ The complainant has moved to strike a portion of

page 26 of the answer. . This portion alleges in sub-

stance that the people of the state of Oregon have ex-

pended large amounts and constructed valuable works

and improvements with the notice and knowledge of

the state of Washington and its people and in reliance

upon the appropriations of water made from this

stream, and that neither the state of Washington nor

its people ever protested against the diversion, appro-

priation, ar use of the water, and that by reason of

their conduct they are estopped from claiming any

Tight in the waters or its use, or from interfering

With the appropriations or diversions from this stream.

This paragraph alleges that these things were done

during all of the dates alleged in the answer which is

from 1864 down to date.

| .

10

We thus have an allegation that the people of Ore

gon apprepriated and used the water, went to grest

| expense in relianee upon that use, developed large tracy

of land and built homes, and roads, all upon the faith

of the appropriations and with the actual knowledge

of Washingten and its citizens and that this continued

without protest on the part of the state of Washingt

from 1864 down te the present time.

Under such circumstances the individual appre

priaters in Washington would be estopped. “Equity |

will not restrain the wrongful diversion of a stream

when a land owner permitted the defendant to proceed

with the erection of works and diversions of the water

at very heavy expense, without taking any legal steps

to prevent it for so long a period as seven years’

(Farnham, Waters and Water Rights, Vol. 2, p. 1673,

§ 508.) os

«phe lower owner may lose the right to relief by

permitting the upper owner to make large expe |

tures to effeet the diversion of the water, under te

toppel, the authorities are not quite harmonious. Tie

true rule, as we view the subject, is that unless te |

silence upon the part of the owner can be constr

as a consent or at least an aequiescence, am estapee

will not be worked. Of course, if the silence is conti

for the full period of the statute of limitations asa

- to an action for the recovery of real property, by te

11

laghes of the owner, and the adverse possession and

weer | of the one seeking a right, a prescriptive right

may be acquired.”

Kinney on Irrigation and Water Rights, 2d Ed., Vol. 2,

p. 2037, § 1127.

‘ Particularly is this true as to the claim of. the state

of Washington for injunctive relief.

The authorities cited by the state of Washinaten

in their brief under this head are, like the authorities

upon adverse possession, not in point. They apply only

tocases between a subject and a sovereign and do not

‘apply to cases brought in the United States courts

between two states.

‘ Under the case of Wyoming v. ainda supra, the

measure of Washington’s rights is the rights acquired

by the citizens. If its citizens have lost their rights by

an estoppel, Washington has correspondingly lost its

right.

Furthermore, it will be observed that the case of

Wyoming v. Colorado is decided partly upon'a consid-

eration as to what had been done by the diversion of

_ water in the state of Colorado. It is therefore pertinent

for the state of Oregon to allege what it is doing and

what it has done by means of diversion of water in the

state of Oregon. That being true, so much of the para-

graph as refers to what has been accomplished by the

‘use of the water is pertinent to the issue. Since a por-

tion of the matter ‘moved against is. pertinent, the

motion. must fail as to this paragraph under the | au-

er first .cited in this brief.

12

The state of Washington, acting; as it is, to protes

the rights of its citizeris cannot escape the restilty ¥

the conduct of those citizens in the past. It has a dire

bedring and effect upon the extent of those Citizens’

rights.

That part of page 27 of the answer against which

the motion is directed is an allegation that the states

<o:4 BRO 79% 2:53 >

adverse possession, aches, caper and limitation.

The case of Wyoming v. Colorado, supra, is ay.

thority for the proposition that Where the two stabs

both recognize the same doctrine by their statutes and

their décisions the doctrine will be applied to contre

versiés between the states. In so ruling the Court held:

“Bach of these states applies and enforces this rule in

her own territory and it is the one to which intending |

appropriators would naturally turn for guidance. The

principle on which it proceeds is not less applicable #

interstate streams and controversies than to other

Both states pronounce the rule just and reasonable a

applied to the natural conditions in that region.” (25

U. S. 470, 66 L. Ed. 1015, 1016.) This reasoning

applies with equal force to the paragraph of the pleat

ing under disc ussion. Since both states recognize thes

rules, there is no reason why they should not be appliel

in these proceedings. They are the rules whieh har

governed appropriations of water in the Western stals

since the doctrine of appropriation was first origina

13

They are the rules which govern the rights of the

isfividual appropriators in each state. They are the

‘aes which govern all the appropriations made from

, this stream. It cannot be supposed that they would be

applied in determining the relative rights of the Ore-

gm appropriators and of the Washington appropria-

iors in their respective states and that their application

would then stop at the state line.

This controversy is essentially a proceeding to

determine the relative rights between all of the appro-

priators from this stream. No different rules will be

applied in determining such rights than if the appro-

priators were all in one state.

The state of Washington appears only for the pro-

tection of the rights of its citizens. There is no magic

worked by the appearance of the state as complainant.

The rights of the state depend upon the rights acquired

or lost by its citizens. These rights must be determined

under the laws and customs applicable and in force in

the territory concerned.

Respectfully submitted,

I. H. VAN WINKLE,

Attorney General,

JAMES A. FEE,

CHARLES Z. RANDALL,

GEORGE T. COCHRAN,

Special Counsel,

Counsel for Defendant.

—

OF THE

UNITED STATES

a ~ fd

a , $35

No“Mf ORIGINAL

OCTOBER TERM, 1932.

THE STaTE OF WASHINGTON,

Complammant,

v.

Tue Stare or Onecon, Defendant. |

RETURN TO RULE TO SHOW GAUSE

G. W. Hamitton,

: Attorney General,

JOHN ©. Hurspoon,

Assistant Attorney General,

FRED J. CUNNINGHAM,

. Attorneys for Complainant,

State of Washington. « sy

is Qaes and Postotice Addreas: ee ee ;

IN THE

“SUPREME COURT

OF THE

UNITED STATES

NO. 17 ORIGINAL

OCTOBER TERM, 1932.

- Tue State or WASHINGTON,

Complainant,

v.

Tue State or OrEcoN, Defendant.

RETURN TO RULE TO SHOW CAUSE

G. W. HaMILTon,

Attorney General,

JOHN C. HuRSPOOL,

Assistant Attorney General,

Frep J. CUNNINGHAM,

Attorneys for Complainant,

State of Washington.

4 Office and Postoffice Address: Temple of Justice, Olympia, Washington.

_- aT 5

POEL ENE PEPE

IN THE

SUPREME COURT

OF THE

UNITED STATES

NO. 17 ORIGINAL

OCTOBER TERM, 1932.

THE STATE OF WASHINGTON,

Complainant,

v.

THE STATE OF OREGON, Defendant. |

RETURN TO RULE TO SHOW GAUSE

To the Honorable, the Supreme Couri of the

Umited States

The State of Washington, complainant in the

above entitled suit, does hereby make return to the

rule and order to show cause why the above entitled

case should not be dismissed for want of prosecution

and for cause why said case should not be dismissed

and respectfully shows to the honorable court:

That the above entitled suit was instituted in

good faith for the purpose of securing an adjudica-_

tion of the rights to the use of the waters of the Walla

Walla river, an interstate stream, between the state

of Washington and its citizen users of the waters of

? ao i

PN 7

, |

said stream and the state of Oregon and its citizen

users of the waters of said stream on the other; that

at the time of the commencement of said suit the

dates of appropriation and priority of the users of

the waters of such stream in the state of Washington

and the amount to which each was entitled had been,

as between themselves, adjudicated in the state of

Washington by a decree of the superior court of -

Walla Walla county, Washington, and adjudication

; proceedings had been pending before the circuit court

of the state of Oregon for Umatilla county for a de-

termination of priorities and rights of the users of

the waters of said stream in the state of Oregon, as

between themselves, for more than a year and all the

testimony relating thereto had been taken, and it was

anticipated that very shortly after the institution of

the present suit a decree determining such priorities

and rights ~vould be filed in the circuit court of Uma- —

tilla county, Oregon, in which such stream was lo-

cated; that after consultation with the attorneys for

the state . | gonit was deemed advisable in the in-

terest of economy and clearness to await the entry of

such decree and thereupon stipulate such priorities

and other matters as might be agreed upon; that con-

; trary to expectations said cireuit court did not enter

4 its final decree adjudicating such water rights until

the 16th day of May, 1932; that certain of the claim-

4 ants to such waters, not being satisfied with such de-

cree, appealed from the same to the supreme court of

the state of Oregon, where said cause was not decided

MRC it Se Re

ieee

DTS RT TE TS Me Ee ee Na |

| _

until December 13, 1932 (In re Waters of Walla

Walla River, see 16 Pac. (2d) 939).

That the taking of the testimony in the adjudica-

tion of the water rights in said stream in the state of

Washington with certain tributaries occupied a pe-

riod of three months, and the taking of the testimony

in the adjudication of the water rights in said stream

and its tributaries in the state of Oregon occupied a

like or longer period, both due to the fact that the

lands involved were in small tracts, making the num-

ber of claimants in each instance very large and the

expense of taking such testimony very great; and it

was felt by the attorneys for the state of Washington

that, upon the entry of the decree in the Oregon court

finally adjudicating the water rights in that state, it

was probable that in a great portion of the cases the

priorities between the users in the two states could

be stipulatec and the issues so narrowed as to elimi-

' hate a large portion of the expense and in the end an

earlier determination of the present suit be reached,

and this seemed to be concurred in by the attorneys

for the state of Oregon; that the delay caused by the

failure of the circuit court of Umatilla county, Ore-

gon, to enter its décree and the taking of the appeal

_ from such decree and the additional delay caused

thereby were not anticipated since no appeal was

taken from the decree of the superior court of Walla

Walla county, Washington, adjudicating such wa-

ters; and it still is complainant’s belief that the

course pursued was the best suited to the situation;

6

that, in addition to the above situation, it seemed best

to counsel for both states that additional studies he

made for the purpose of determining the duty of wa-

ter, the flow of seepage and such matters which might

aid in a solution of the matter before the court, and

both the state of Washington and the state of Oregon

have, during the irrigating season of 1932, had

studies made of these matters and such studies have

been made by experts from the United States Depart-

ment of Agriculture engaged in similar work in

Washington and Oregon and loaned to the respective

states for such purpose, together with other men fa-

miliar with such matters, such investigators working

in cooperation with each other; that because of the

other work in which the investigators for the state of

Washington have been engaged, their reports were

delayed and have just been received.

That notwithstanding the taking of the appeal

to the supreme court of the state of Oregon from the

decree of adjudication by the-circuit court of Uma-

tilla county, Oregon, counsel for the state of Wash-

ington were having their assistants check over the

‘report of the state engineer of Oregon and the decree

of said circuit court so as to be prepared as soon as

possible after any decision in the supreme court of

Oregon to take up with counsel for the state of Ore-

gon the question of the stipulation hereinbefore re-

ferred to.

_In addition, it was suggested by the state of Ore-

gon that additional investigations and studies be

ai sae eit

Pee ree vane ae

Yr

7

made over a period of years. This, however, after a

thorough discussion and conference, was not agreed

to and counsel for the state of Washington, deeming

that a master should now be appointed, were prepar-

ing an application for such appointment which is

filed with this answer.

That both states have expended considerable

money in making the investigations hereinbefore de-

scribed and in otherwise preparing for a trial of this

cause, and the issues involved are of great impor-

tance to the two states concerned and their inhabi-

tants and a dismissa! would result in hardship and

loss.

WHEREFORE, the complainant prays that the rule

and order to show cause why said cause should not be

dismissed be vacated and dissolved and that petition-

er’s application for the appointment of a master be

considered and granted.

G. W. Hamiuton,

Attorney General,

JOHN C. Hurspoo.,

Assistant Attorney General,

FRED J. CUNNINGHAM,

Attorneys for Complainant,

State of Washington.

STATE OF WASHINGTON,

County of Thurston. | ‘ou

G. W. HaMILTon, being duly sworn on his oath °

according to law, deposes and says: That he is the at-

torney general of the state of Washington and who,

as such, at the direction and upon the request of the ©

governor of said state, instituted the foregoing suit +

and makes the foregoing return to rule to show cause;

that he has read the return and that the facts therein

set forth, save and excepting where averred on infor-

mation and belief, are true, and that as to the facts

therein alleged as upon information and belief affiant

is credibly informed and verily believes that the said

facts are true.

G. WV HAMILTON

Subscribed in my presence and sworn to before

me this 31st day of January, 1933.

JENNIE M. TATTERSALI,

Notary Public in and for the State at

Washington, residing at Olympia

© FILE COP Peas

2 Canis ClLMURE OF

peo one ne ett

7

bee PONE ome Se eee + eee

IN THE

SUPREME COURT

UNITED STATES

_

OCTOBER TERM, 1930

NO. ¥, ORIGINAL

//

\

THE STATE OF WASHINGTON,

Complainant,

Vv

THE STATE OF OREGON,

Defendant.

REPORT OF THE SPECIAL MASTER

WILLIAM W. RAY,

Special Master.

ert aleetee on’, ee =e ec es

INDEX TO REPORT

P.

Submission of the Report of the Special Master ......... a

Report of Special Master ....... 2... 600-0 eee e ce eeeuee, 3

Thee PReRGIMGS 6occccccccccccccnccssccsscecesesescees ay

BM of Complaint ....ccccccccccccccscccsscsccces 1 |

Answer ........ee000: PUT TTTTTTTITPT TTT Tre 7 |

BOMNY oc ccc cccccccccccccccccccescccscsscssceses li

Stipulations ..........ccccecccccccescescscccsscenass 20

Stipulation No. 1 ........--.ececeeeeccceeeeseees 20

Stipulation No. 2 .........- sees ec eeeeeeeeecceens 21

Stipulation No. 3 ......... cece cece eee eeeeees 26

Stipulation No. 4 ......... cece cece cence eeeenens 38

Stipulation No. 5 ........00: cece eeee eee eeeenens 38

Stipulation No. 6 ...........ccecceeeeeeeeeneenes 43

Stipulation No. 7 .......6.. ee cece cece eee eeeeeees 44

Stipulation No. 8 .........60e eee eee cece eeeeeeees 44

Stipulation No. 9 ......... 6. cece e eee eee eee eeees 44

Stipulation No. 10 .........- cece cece ener eeeees 45

Stipulation No. 11 ..........-. cece eee cece eeeees 45

- D.. PPPPPPPTTTETTTETITILIT ETI 46

The Law Applicable to Division of Waters of

Interstate Streams ............. 0 cece cc ececenees 46

Wine Was onccccccccccccccssccccccccccsccesessccess 51

Development in Washington ..........---++++555: 51

Development in Oregon ...........-+00seee000% 53

The Gardena Filing .............--eeeeeeeceeeees 59

Water Uses within the State of Oregon ........---++++: 75

Evidence as to Ground Water and Use of Wells in

PPP errr rrr rr rrr rr rrr errr rere 100

Summary of Findings of Facts

Legal Conclusions ...........---sseeeeeceeeereeee

Recommendations for a Decree

TABLE OF CASES

Page

Carnes v. Dalton (Ore.) 110 Pac. 170 .................. 50

Connecticut v. Massachusetts, 282 U.S. 660 ........ 47, 48, 49

ps EE 66560600050 0060460040000:000006060m0 71

Ide v. United States, 263 U.S. 497, 506 ................ 109

In re Water Rights in Silvies River, 237 Pac. (Or.)

RE er ere rere re Peer rer ree 69

In re Water Rights in Alpowa Creek, etc., 224 Pac.

SPIE odd ec aba b¥ss-e0es bans éa'as se bene) 70

Kansas v. Colorado, 206 U.S. 46 ..................... 47, 50

Kendall v. Joyce, 93 Pac. (Wash.) 1091 ................ 70

Nebraska Inv. Co. v. Corlett (Wash.) 172 Pac. 851 ....... 50

New Jersey v. New York, 283 U.S. 386 ................ 47

Sander v. Bull, 135 Pac. (Wash.) 489, 491 .............. 70

Savage v. McCorkle (Or.) 21 Pac. 444 ...............:.. 50

Savage v. Tacoma (Wash.) 112 Pac. 78 ................ 50

Sowards v. Meagher, 108 Pac. (Ut.) 1112,1116.......... 69

eS wl haw 109

Wiel’s Water Rights in the Western States, Third

Edition, Vol. 1, page 406 ....... MOET TT OFT ET PPP eeee 71

Wrathall v. Johnson, 40 Pac. (2d) (Ut.) 755, 783 ........ 71

Wyoming v. Colorado, 259 U.S. 419 .................. 47, 48

— —

IN THE

SUPREME COURT

OF THE

UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1930—NO. 17, ORIGINAT.

THE STATE OF WASHINGTON,

. Complainant,

THE STATE OF OREGON, ;

Defendant.

Submission of the Report of the Special Master.

In the cause entitled The State of Washington v. The

State of Oregon, being No. 17 Original, October Term, 1930.

order dated February 20, 1933, as follows:

“The return of the complainant to the rule issued

herein to show cause why this case should not be

dismissed for the want of prosecution, is received

and filed.

“The motion for the appointment of a_ special

master is granted, and it is ordered that William

W. Ray, Esquire, of Salt Lake City, Utah, be, and

he is hereby, appointed special master in this cause,

with authority to summon _ witnesses, issue sub-

poenas, and to take such evidence as may be intro-

duced and such as he may deem it necessary to call

for. The master is directed to make findings of fact

and conclusions of law, and to submit the same to

this Court with all convenient speed, together with

his recommendations for a decree. The findings,

conclusions and recommendations of the master shall

be subject to consideration, revision or approval by

the Court. The master shall be allowed his actual

expenses and a reasonable compensation fo. his ser-

vices to be fixed hereafter by the Court. The allow-

this Honorable Court appointed me as Special Master by its

2 RPSL a

2

ances to him, the compensation paid. to his steno-

graphic and clerical assistants, and the cost of print-

ing his report shall be charged against and be borne

by the parties in such proportions as the Court here-

after may direct. If the appointment herein made

of a master is not accepted, or if the place becomes

vacant during the recess of the Court, the. Chief

Justice shall have authority to make a new desig-

nation which shall have the same effect as if origi-

nally made by the Court herein.”

Pursuant to the above order, and.at the request of both

parties, I heard the case on stipulations of fact and oral

testimony. I held public hearings as follows:

Portland, Oregon, April 3, 1933.

. Walla Walla, Washington, August 23 and 24,

1933. —

Portland, Oregon, February 12, 1934.

Walla Walla, Washington, March 26, 27, 28, 29,

30, 31, April 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6, 1934;

at which hearings the parties appeared before me as Special

Master by their respective counsel, presented their evidennee,

consisting of 1195 pages and forty-seven exhibits, and there

- after submitted to me abstracts of the testimony and briefs

with respect to findings of fact, conclusions of law and recom-

mendations for a decree which they respectively desired made

in the case.

Pursuant to the above order of this court, I have

reported the testimony and the exhibits received by me as

Special Master by the filing of the same in the office of the

Clerk of this Court, with my certificate; and 1 hereby sub

mit to the Court my findings of fact, conclusions of la¥

and recommendations for a decree.

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM W. RAY, |

Special Master.

ne

Ps Ee.

—

8

IN THE

SUPREME CouRT

OF THE

_UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1930

NO. 17, ORIGINAL

Complainant,

‘THE STATE OF WASHINGTON,

.

, 3 ;

\

THE STATE OF OREGON,

Defendant.

REPORT OF THE SPECIAL MaSTER

THE PLEADINGS

The State of Washington, on July 22, 1931, filed, with

leave of court, its bill of complaint in the Supreme Court

of the United States. In response to process duly served,

the State of Oregon, October 5, 1931, filed its answer to

said bill of complaint, to which answer a reply was filed

_ May 2, 1932.

The purpose of the suit, as disclosed by the allegations

of the complaint, and the relief sought, is to have this court

determine the relative rights of the states of Washington and

Oregon to the use of the waters of the Walla Walla River

and its tributaries,

4 non-navigable interstate streani flowing

?

bh Bh

—_

4

within both states, and to enjoin the State of Oregon from con-

tinued interference with the rights of thy State of Wash-

ington.

Bill of Complaint.

The bill of complaint alleges that the Walla Walla

River is a non-navigable stream rising in the Blue Moun-

tains- in the Northeastern corner of Umatilla County, State

of Oregon, and flowing thence northwesterly about thirty

miles within the State of Oregon to the Washington-Oregon

jine, and thence northwesterly for a distance of about thirty

miles within the State of Washington to its juncture with

the Columbia River; that the first twelve or fifteen miles

of the river is through a narrow canyon with no irrigable

lands adjacent to the stream; that the remainder of the

river in Oregon is bordered with irrigable lands; that the

stream divides into several designated branches within the

. State of-Oregon, which. branches are the recipients of the

waters arising in small streams and springs adjacent to such

branches; that it is necessary to the production of successful

crops that the lands along the stream be irrigated; that a

like condition obtains as to much of the laud along the

stream in Washington; that certain soils available to irriga-

tion from the river will produce abundantly when irrigated;

that the waters of the Walla Walla River come from

springs and from the mel‘ing of snow and the rainfall in

the Blue Mountains; that after about June first of each

year, because of the melting of the snow and the want of

sufficient rainfaH, the flow of the river is dependent up0o

springs; that as a result the amount of stream flow in late

July and August is much less than during the earlier moiiths;

that the stream flow is variable from year to year, but that

in normal years the early spring flow is about 400 cubic feet

5

per second of time and in late July and August about 150

cubic feet per second; that due to drought prevailing during

the past eight or ten years the stream flow has heen only

about two-thirds of the normal amount; that the lands

riparian to the Walla Walla River both in Oregon and

Washington were settled and segregated from the public

domain mostly prior to 1870, but that the cultivation of

land prior to 1870 was largely confined to sub-irrigated

lands lying along the banks of the stream; that about 1870

there commenced the use of water upon lands along the

river which required irrigation, and that such use gradually

increased until in 1892 there were so irrigated in Oregon

about 1200 acres of land and about 8500 acres of land in

Washington; that of the 8500 acres of land being farmed

in Washington at least 7000 acres were of such character

and so situated that they required irrigation for the produc-

tion of crops; that in 1892 the irrigated areas had so

increased that it required all of the flow of the Walla Walla

River and its tributaries during the late summer months

to properly irrigate such lands; that the 7000 acres of land

in the State of Washington are in a high state of cultivation

devoted to the growing of fruits, alfalfa and other crops, and

furnish homes for more than one thousand people and have a

value, except for the fact that they are deprived of water

by the wrongful acts of the State cf Oregon, in excess of

$20,000; that since 1892, and particularly since 1920, addi-

tional lands have been put under irrigation in the State of

Oregon, which lands have drawn water from the flow of the

Walla Walta River during the ‘low water season; that said

hew lands put under irrigation in Oregon have been located

at greater distances from the stream where the topography of

the country is such that the waste and seepage water no

longer returns to the stream ; that the flood waters occurring

SP ir CPA, OK

6

in the early spring are now diverted for the irrigation of

large areas of lanc in the State of Oregon under appropria-

tions subsequent to the Washington appropriations and that

the appropriators of flood waters extend their use of waters of

said stream beyond and after the flood water period, thereby

depriving the State of Washington of water to which it is

entitled and lowering the ground water table and destroying

the sub-irrigation of land in the State of Washington; that

such diversions and uses have been made under permits from

the State of Oregon and that the State Engineer of the

State of Oregon threatens to and will continue to issue

further permits and license further wrongful diversion of

the waters of said river within the State of Oregon; that

in addition thereto the State of Oregon has fixed and per-

mitted an excessive dut:’ of water in disregard of the rights

of the users of water in the State of Washington, which

excessive use deprives the water users in the State of Wash-

ington of water to which they are entitled; that thereby the

water users in the State of Washington have been and are

being deprived of sufficient water to properly irrigate sir

lands and are unable to successfully grow crops, and that

unless the wrongful conduct of the State of Oregon shall be

restrained, lands in the State of Washington will be rendered

wholly unproductive, to the great and irreparable injury of

the State and its land owners; that the State of Washington

and the State of Oregon each by their statutes and the

decisions of their courts recognize the doctrine of riparian

rights, so that the owner of land riparian to a stream is

entitled to his proportionate share of the waters of suc

stream for the purpose of irrigation, subject to the require-

ment that such riparian user shall beneficially apply such

water within a reasoncble time; that each of said states

further recognizes the doctrine of appropriation whereby

7

the first appropriator in time is first in right, subject only

to vested riparian rights; that the amount of the appropria-

tion is fixed as of the time when the work necessary to put

the water so appropriated to a beneficial use is initiated,

accompanied with due diligence; that the more recent de-

velopments in Oregon have been on non-riparian lands;

that the State Engineer of the State of Oregon is empowered

to supervise the appropriation and distribution of waters

within such state, and that the State of Washingon has

requested of said State Engineer an equitable division of

the waters of said stream, which request has been denied;

that unless restrained the State of Oregon will continue the

wrongs above set forth until all of the waters of the Walla

Walla River are diverted and the citi7@ms of the State of

Washington deprived thereof during the irrigation season.

The State of Washington offers to do complete equity in the

premises and alleges that it has no adequate remedy at law

and no remedy in any court except the Supreme Court of

the United States. The State of Washington asks that this

court exercise its sole jurisdiction over the determination of

the respective rights of the States of Washington and Oregon

and their citizens to the use of the waters of the Walla

Walla River and its tributaries in said states, and that the

State of Oregon be enjoined and restrained from diverting

from the Walla Wallar River any of the waters of said

Streams to which the State of Washington and its citizens

are found to be entitled.

Answer.

The answer filed by the State of Oregon adraits the

auegations of the bill as to the sources and the course of

the Walla Walla River, but denies some of the allegations

8

of the Washington complaint as to the dividing of the river

into branches in its course. The defendant admits that after

the stream separates at Milton, Oregon, it flows in a wide

valley and that several springs and small streams arise in the

valley, which springs and streams naturally flow into and

join the main branches of the river either before or after

they pass into the State of Washington, but alleges that

the amount of flow from such source during the summer

and irrigation season of each year is limited. Defendant

admits the necessity of irrigation to the successful gyowing

of fruit, alfalfa and vegetables within the State of/ Oregon

and admits that along certain parts of the river jn Wash-

ington irrigation is necessary to the production of crops.

The answer then proceeds to set forth in detail the

areas in Oregon along the river which require irrigation,

the amount so required and the reasons for such water

requirement; admits that the waters of the Walla Walla

River come from springs, from melting of the snow and the

rainfall in the Blue Mountains in which it rises, but alleges

that after about the first of June of each year little of said

flow comes from melting snow or rainfall directly; alleges

that the springs contributing to said river gradually de

crease in flow, so that ordinarily the flow of the stream

in the latter part of July and during August of each year

is greatly diminished in volume as compared with the flow

during earlier months; that said stream varies from year

to year and that in normal years the flow in the early spring

is about 400 cubic feet per second, but the defendant denies

that in the later part of the irrigation seeson the normal

flow is 150 cubic feet per second or thereabouts or that

during the past eight or ten years it has been any amount

in excess Of 80 cubic feet per second. Defendant admits

that during the last eight or ten years the flow of the river

—- - 5

9

has been decreasing, but denies that it is only two-thirds of

the normal flow. Defendant admits that the lands riparian

to the Walla Walla River both in the States of Oregon and

Washington were settled mostly prior to 1870, but denies

that the cultivation of lands along the banks of the stream

was limited largely to comparatively narrow strips of sub-

irrigated land, or that the existence of such sub-irrigated

lands was the cause of early settlement. Defendant alleges

that during and prior to 1870 there had been diverted and

appropriated from said stream system by means of ditches,

dams and headgates for stock, domestic, irrigation and power

purposes about 19 cubic feet per second of water, which

water had been applied to the irrigation of about 700 acres

of land and to power purposes, which waters so appropriated

are still beneficially used within the State of Oregon. De-

fendant admits that since 1870 such uses have gradually

increased. Defendant denies that about the year 1892 there

were irrigated from said stream system in the State of

Oregon only 1200 acres of land and alleges that on said

date not less than 5831 acres of land were irrigated in Um-

atilla County, Oregon, from the waters of said stream and

its tributaries. The defendant denies that 8500 acres of land

vere irrigated or were using water for the production of

crops within the State of Washington at the end of the year

1892, or that there was any larger acreage irrigated from

said stream or its tributaries than 6167.69 acres. The de-

fendant alleges that of said 6167.69 acres irrigated in

Washington during 1892, 3,024 acres lay along the Walla

Walla River, the East and West branches of the Little Walla

Walla, along Mud and Pine Creeks, and that said lands are ;

principally Sub-irrigated from the waters of said stream;

the defendant further alleges that no part of said 7000 acres

in the arid belt within the State of Washington was placed

oe CADPR ce TH

«

.

SO et ee

10

under irrigation until the year 1898, when 80 acres were

irrigated, and that thereafte> the reduction of said lands

to cuitivation was slow, small in amount, and that in the

year 1907 only about 1500 acres were irrigated; that in the

year 1908 or 1909, because of shortage of water for the

irrigation of said lands, a contract was entered into with

the City of Walla Waila for the use of sewage water from

the City of Walla Walla upon said lands, and that a pipe-

line was constructed four and one-half miles in length with

a carrying capacity of sixteen cubic feet per second for the

utilization of said sewage water, and that thereby said

sewage water was made available for the use of Washington

irrigators in the year 1912. The defendant admits that the

7000 acres of land lying in the arid belt in the State oi

Washington along the Walla Walla River will not produce

crops without irrigation, but denies that any of said lands

required water in the year 1892 or that the same were

irrigated at that time. Defendant denies that said 7000

acres, or any acreage in excess of 5,000 is in a high state

of cultivation or devoted to the growing of crops or the

furnishing of homes for any number of people in excess of

600, or that the same is worth a sum in excess of $20,000,

or any other sum; admits that since 1892 there have been

additional lands put under irrigation in the State of Oregon

and that more of the full flow of said stream, during the

summer months, has been taken therefrom and used upon

said lands; defendant denies that said increase has been

more particularly since 1920 or that said lands brought under

irrigation have been further away from the banks of the

stream or that the topography of the country is such that

waste and seepage water does not return to the stream #&

was the case with earlier appropriations; denies that flood

or excess waters of the stream in the early spring have

11

been appropriated for the irrigation of large areas of land

in Oregon or that said appropriations so made are subsequent

to Washington appropriations or that said appropriators

of flood waters have increased from time to time their

appropriations in disregard of thé rights of Washington

users or extended their use of flood waters beyond and after

the recession of the flood waters to the detriment of Wash-

ington users, or that any such use has lowered the water

table along the stream and destroyed the sub-irrigation

of Washington lands; admits that diversions from the

stream have been made under permits issued by the State

Engineer of Oregon and alleges that since the year 1909 said

permits have been granted under the general law of the

State of Oregon; denies that the State of Oregon has in the

past issued, or threatens in the future to issue permits for

the wrongful use of the waters of Walla Walla River or that

the State Engineer has fixed the duty of water at an exces- 5

sive amount without consideration of the rights of Washine- ;

ton users or that any use in Oregon has deprived the Wash- i

ington users of water to which they are entitled: denies that i

by reason of use in Oregon, Washington appropriators have

been or are being deprived of sufficient water to irrigate

their lands or are unable to successfully grow crops on their

lands or that their crops and orchards are being destroved

or will be rendered wholly or at all unproductive.

The State of Oregon by way of defense, alleges that

in the past the State of Washington and its users have

from year to year increased their irrigated acreage without

regard to the rights of prior appropriators and have

unreasonably and excessively increased the amount of water

taken from the stream and its tributaries, and are them-

Selves thereby causing loss and injury to the irrigators in

Washington if said irrigators are suffering because of an

SPP EEE I ON ETNA IPI st

12

insufficient water supply; that Walla Walla County, Wash-

‘acton, and that part thereof in which the Walla Walla

iver, Mill. Yellowhawk, Garrison, Titus, Cottonwood, Blue,

tteser, Russell, Pine. Mud, Little Mud, Done and Stone

Creeks lie, is in the same water shed as the Walla Walla

River, the Tum-a-lum River and the tributaries of said Walla

\VValla River and said Tum-a-lum River on the Oregon side of

the state line; that all of said streams in Walla Walla County

sve tributaries of the Walla Walla River; that Walla Walla

is 2 municipal corporation having a population of fifteen to

twenty thousand; that said city appropriates and uses for

municipal purposes from Mill Creek, which stream arises

in the State of Oregon and is the principal tributary of the

\Walla Walla River in the State of Washington, from 22 to

28 cubic second feet of water; that said water is completely

consumed by said city for municipal purposes; that since

the vear 1919 and up to 1926, there has been appropriated

and used in Walla Walla County, Washington, from the

above named streams, water for the irrigation of 3490.76

neres of land and that during said period of time only

1573.98 acres of land within the State of Oregon have been

»laced under irrigation from the waters of the Walla Walla

River and its Oregon tributaries; that the State of Wash-

ington, through its agencies, has permitted and allowed

excessive use of waters upon Washington lands; that between

'919 and 1926, said state permitted and allowed the use

of one cubie second foot of water from April Ist to July Ist

for the irrigation of each 75 acres of: land; one cubic second

foot of water to each 106 acres. of land from July Ist to

Oetober Ist of each vear, and frem October Ist to April Ist

of each year one cubic foot of water per second to each 5)

acres of land; that during the same period Washington

‘srigators have increased their use from said streams natur-

13

ally tributary to the Walla Walla River to a greater extent

than Oregon irrigators have increased their use from the

Oregon tributaries; that the State Engineer of the State of

Oregon has established a duty of water of one-half inch to

the acre for the irrigation season in said territory and has

made all permits granted since 1909 for the use upon lands

irrigated under Oregon permits subject to all prior existing

rights; that in the year 1926 there were more acres irrigated

in Walla Walla County, Washington, than in Umatilla

County. Oregon, from the Walla Walla River and its tribu-

taries; that in the State of Washington during said year

theie were 25,269 acres under irrigation; that 23,271 acres

were farmed and irrigated while 2,018 acres were under

existing ditches in various stages of development, and that

the duty of water fixed by the State of Washington was

applied to the lands so irrigated; that during the same

year the State of Oregon had but 18,269 acres under irri-

gation from the Walla Walla River and its tributaries; that

about 1904, there was commenced the deveiopment of the

Attalia project in Walla Walla County, Washington, con-

sisting of about 2400 acres; that in 1926 the flume carrying

Water to said Attalia lands was destroyed and part of the

dam diverting said water was washed away; that neither

said flume nor said dam has ever been replaced, and that

since 1926, only about 100 acres of said land has been

irrigated, and that the water uppropriated for said use is

now flowing unused into the Columbia River and that about

20 second feet of water flows in the Touchet River above said

Attalia project and is not being put to a beneficial use.

Defendant admits that the states of Washington and Oregon

each recognize by their statutes and court decisions the

existence of the doctrine of riparian rights prior to 1909, but

denics that the owner of land riparian to a stream in Oregon

ae al

14

is entitled to his proportionate share of the waters flowing

in such stream for the purpose of irrigation or subject. to

any such requirements as that such riparian use be perfected

within a reasonable time or limiting such riparian right

+4 such beneficial use or together with the” doctrine of

appropriation whereby the first appropriator in time is first

in right, subject only to previously acquired riparian rights,

or that the amount of the appropriation is to be dated as

of the time when the work was instituted for the putting

of the water to a beneficial use by the exercise of due dili-

gence.

The state of Oregon, by way of further«defense alleges

that in the year 1909 a statute was passed by Oregon pro-

viding a system for the regulation, control. and distribution

and use of waters of the state and providing that, subject

to existing rights, all waters within the state of Oregon

may be appropriated for beneficial use and that any person

intending to acquire the right to the use of any water shall,

before commencing the ‘construction of any ditch or other

works, make application to the State Engineer for a permit

to make such appropriation; application of water to a bene-

ficial use prior to the passage of the act or under authority

of a riparian proprietor shall create in such riparian propri-

etor a vested right to the extent of the water beneficially

used; that since the passage of the act of 1909 the highest

court of Oregon,has decided that “a settler upon a non-

navigable stream has an election, either to rely upon his

right as a riparian proprietor or to make an appropriation

of the water, if it is subject to appropriation, and claim as

an appropriator’” and “the right of appropriation is incom-

patible with the rule of riparian proprietorship. The doctrine

of appropriation excludes the idea of equality and makes

each water right superior to all others subsequently initiated

ws

x

15

. while the characterizing feature of riparian ownership,

when applied to irrigation, is equality or, perhaps to speak

more exactly, the right of each person is correlated with the

right of every other person, although a riparian owner may

take all of the water in a stream if needed to satisfy do-

mestic wants;” that ever since such decision was made, the

rules there announced have been and are the law of Oregon;

that said act further provides that where any riparian

proprietor, at the date of the passage of the act, was engaged

in good faith in construction of works for the application

of water to beneficial use, the doctrine of relation may be

applied. Defendant denies that the Oregon lands to which

waters have been appropriated in recent years have been

non-riparian lands or lands which have lost their riparian

rights by failure to irrigate the same within a .easonable

' time. Defendant denies that a request has been made upon

Oregon for the equitable division of the waters of the River

_ or any division except a division dictated by the State of

Washington, and denies that Oregon has failed to recognize

the rights of the State of Washington and alleges that the

State of Oregon permits all and more water than that to

Which the State of Washington is entitled to flow across

the line between said two states without interference, but

that the State of Washington is permitting said water to be

wasted ; denies that uniess restrained by this honorable court,

the State of Oregon will continue to use or divert the water

of the Walla Walla River to which the citizers of the State

of Washington are entitled.

Oregon alleges that more than twenty years jefore

the commencement of this suit the courts of the State of

Oregon adjudicated and determined the rights of the Oregon

users, and that the rights so fixed have been continuously

since used and are valuable property rights that have become

, : i,

4 ‘ 7 ‘ 16

vested under the laws of Oregon and the United States;

that in the year 1888, 2250 inches of the water of said

stream, measured under a six-inch pressure, miner’s measure-

ment, were appropriated for power purposes, and in 1898,

500 additional inches so measured were appropriated for

power purposes, and that ‘other amounts of water were

appropriated from said stream at various times both before

and after said dates for power and irrigation uses, all of

which waters were diverted from the channel of the Walla

Walla River and from the Tum-a-lum River and used for

power and irrigation purposes in a direction northwesterly

from said point of diversion and that all of said waters were

diverted into the Little Walla Walla River and thereafter

flowed and still flow in a northwesterly direction away from

the main stream. The defendant further alleges that in the

early days the Tum-a-lum River carried the main flow of

the waters of the Walla Walla River, but that for about

forty years or more past said Tum-a-lum River has been

absolutely dry during the summer and irrigation season of

each year from a. point about four miles above the state

line to a point about two miles above said state line,

but that water reappears in said stream about two

miles above the state line in Oregon and flows therefrom

into Washington, and that from the point of reappearance of

said stream it is fed by many springs, seeps and marshes;

that the State of Oregon and its people diverted, appropriated

and used in good faith ‘under claim of right and color of

‘itle and pursuant to the laws cf the State of Oregon and the

recognized custom of appropriating water from streams in

said territorv, and applied to a beneficial use, from about

the year 1864 to 1895, water from said river and its trib-

utaries for the irrigation of 5,831 acres of land and about

4,000 miner’s inches measured under a six-inch pressure for

17

power purposes, and have since held and used said water

for said purpuscs and from 1892 to 1909, appropriated and

used water for the irrigation of 6712.73 acres, and from 1908

to 1921, appropriated and used water for the irrigation of

3,042.82 acres, and from 1927 to the present have appropri-

ated and used water for the irrigation of 1,573.78 acres;

said appropriators have taken, used, held and carried away

said waters from said stream openly, notoriously and ad-

versely to the State of Washington; that during the times

mentioned above, the State of Oregon and its people have

built dams, headgates, main and lateral ditches, leveled and

cultivated lands, planted orchards, vineyards, pastures,

lawns, meadows, alfalfa fields, ornamental and shade trees,

and built and established homes upon said lands, constructed

roads and highways, expended enormous sums of money,

and during all of said time the State of Washington and its

people had notice and knowledge of said developments and

that neither the State of Washington nor its people have

ever protested against the diversions, appropriations or

use of waters of said stream as enumerated, and are thereby

estopped from claiming or asserting any damages, or claim-

ing any right or interest in or to the waters of said stream

SO appropriated, or from inter fering with said appropriations

and diversions; that both states recognize by their statutes

and the decisions of their courts the same principles of Lay

as to adverse possession, laches, estoppel and limitation of

time within which real property may be recovered. Oregon

prays that the said suit may be dismissed.

Reply.

Washington by its reply admits the allegations of

Oregon’s answer to the effect that during the summer, or

irrigation season of the year, no water is dischar ved into

18

the Walla Walla River from the east or west branches of

the Crocket or from the Ford branch so far as the present

time is concerned, and aileges that by means of dams and

other controlling works, water has been in recent vears

diverted in the State of Oregon froin the main stream into

the Little Walla Walla River and into the various branches

thereof and other drainage channels and into. irrigation

ditches in that locaiity, and the water has thus been pre-

vented from returning to the main «hannel of the Walla

Walla River in the State of Washingiun above the principal

diversions of said Walla Walla River within the State of

Washington. , Washington denies the allegations on page 8

of Oregon’s an¥wer that 700 acres of land had been irrigated

in the State of Oregon prior to 1870 and alleges that the

amount so irrigated was approximately 70 acres. Washing-

ton denies that in 1892 there were under irrigation 5,831

acres of land in Umatilla County, Oregon, taking water

from the Walla Walia River, and alleges that said acreage

did not exceed 1200: Washington admits the construction of

a pipeline for a distance of 41% miles from the City of

Walla Walla for the carriage of sewage water, but d_nies

that any quantity of sewage water in excess of live cubic

feet per second was ever carried in such pipeline. The re-

ply admits that between 1919 anc 1926 an undefined acreage

has been placed under irrigation in the State of Washington,

but alleges that the larger portion of such lands were not

irrigated from the Walla Walla River or its Oregon tribu-

taries or from waters which could be used in the State of

Oregon, but that such lands were irrigated from the tribu-

taries of the Walla Walla River anc the Walla Walla River

within the State of Washington. It is further alleged that

in the vear 1926 only approximately 6,000 acres of Wash-

ington land received water from the Walla Walla River and

§

Yaa

PINE SLI ATR HR

19

its tributaries, during the summer irrigation season: that

the balance of the lands irrigated in the State oi Washing-

ton as set torth in the Oregon answer, (pages 17 and 18)

having rights of late priority, receive water only intermit-

tently during the winter and spring run-off. Replying to

the allegations of defendant on page 18 of its answer as to

the number of acres of land irrigated in Walla Walla County,

Washington, from the Walla Walla River and its trivutaries,

complainant alleges that of the lands so alleged by defendant

to be irrigated in said County, not to exceed 11,000 acres

are irrigated from the Walla Walla River cr its tributaries,

or from waters which are or can be used for irrigation in

the State of Oregon, and of those so irrigated a considerable

portion are irrigated only during the non-irrigating season,

when the waters would otherwise be wasted. It is alleged

that all of the water in the Walla Walla River at or below

the mouth of the Touchet River is return and seepage water

Which had been put to a beneficial use, and that no part

of said water can be used for irrigation of iands in the

State of Oregon or the State of Washington. Complainant

aimits that the amounts of water diverted from the Walla

Walla River and from the Tum-a-lum River for power and

irrigation purposes have been discharged into the Little

Walla Walla River as alleged on page 24 of defendant’s

answer, but the complainant denies that said waters so di-

verted flowed and still continued to flow away from the

main stream in a northwesterly direction from a point just

below the forks of the Tum-a-lum and Little Walla Walla

Rivers, and alleges that such waters have reached and unless

Wrongfully diverted will reach the main stream of ihe Walla

Walla River above the principal Washington diversions. It

is further admitted in the reply that during the last ten years

at short intervals the citizens of Oregon have diverted all

: Axia ie

20

of the waters of the Walla Walia River above the Tum-a-lum

section, the period of diversion varying according to the

season, but alleges that during the past forty years or more,

at no time has the whole supply of said section of the Walla

Walla River been diverted during the entire summer and

irrigation season.

The reply makes appropriate denial of all of the affir-

mative defensive matters set forth in the answer of the

State of Oregon except as qualified above.

STIPULATIONS.

The parties hereto, after the filing of the complaint,

the answer and the reply, entered into a series of stipula-

tions, eleven in number, which stipulations embody agree-

ments of the parties as to facts material to the issues in-

volved. These stipulations have very materially limited the

record in this case and have obviated the taking ot testi-

mony upon all issues as to which the parties were able,

after diligent effort, to come to an accord.

A summary of these stipulations ‘is as follows:

STIPULATION NO. 1

The lecrees of the courts of the states of Washington

and Oregon and the abstract of water permits of the State

Engineer of the State of Oregon and the abstract of water

permits issued by the State Supervisor of Hydraulics of

the State of Washington are admissible in evidence as tix-

ing the relative individual rights of the parties named

therein and their successors in interest to the use of water,

in the amounts, for the purposes and at the places oF on

the lands set forth in said respective permits and in said

respective decrees; with the provision that the admission

———___,,

of these decrees and permits shall not be construed as or

held to be an admission, waiver, abridgment or modifica-

tion of the rights of either state as against the other rela-

tive to the right claimed by the city of Walla Walla, Attalia

Irrigation District, Touchet River, Mud and Pine Creeks,

and that said stipulation shall not be a waiver of the claims

of the State of Oregon upon the ground of adverse use and

estoppel, and the distribution of water in Oregon as a sep-

arate stream system.

STIPULATION NO. 2.

Paragraph 1 of this stipulation is an agreed statement

as to the stream system in the two states and is as fol-

lows:

“The Walla Walla River rises in the western

slopes of the Blue Mountains in Northeastern Oregon.

Two branches, called the North Fork and the South

Fork, unite about four miles above the city of Milton.

From this point the river flows through a narrow

irrigated valley, approximately one-half mile wide,

until it reaches Milton, where the river divides in a

delta formation. The pipe line of the city of Milton

diverts water from the South Fork at a point in the

Southeast quarter of the Southeast quarter of Section

22, Twp. 5 North, Range 36 E. W. M., and furnishes

water for its power plant, which is located in the

Northwest quarter of the Southwest quarter of Sec-

tion 18, Twp. 5 North, Range 36 E. W. M. Couse

Creek, flowing from the west, enters the main stream

a short distance above the city of Milton and just

below the city’s hydroelectric power plant.

“The delta formation comprises lands in Sec-

tions 12, 1, 2 and 3, Twp. 5 North, Range 35 E. W.

M., and in Sections 34, 35, 36, 25, 26 and 27, Twp. 6

North, Range 35 E. W. M.

“The first division of the stream in this delta

formation is immediately below the bridge crossing

the river in the Southwest quarter of the Northeast

—————————eo™SSS——

_ Crocket, which unite in the Northeast quarter of

22

quarter of Section 12, Twp. 5 North, Range 35 E.

W. M. At this point the stream divides into the

Little Walla Walla and the Tumalum (as called in

Oregon) or Main Walla Walla (as called in Wash-

ington).

“The Little Walla Walla in turn, after flowing

a distance of about a mile, at a point in the North-

east quarter of Section 2, Twp. 5 North, Range 35

E. W. M. (called locally ‘the Frog’), divides into the

Ford Branch and the Crocket Branch. It is at this

point that the water is measured into the ditch of

the Milton, Freewater & Hudson Bay Irrigation

Company.

“The Crocket Branch, immediately below, di-

vides into the East and West branches of the Crocket,

and the West branch of the Crocket divides into three

prongs. The two easterly of these prongs join, about

a mile and a half below, the East branch of the

Crocket and discharge into the East Prong of the

Little Walla Walla Spring Branch, which in turn

empties into the East Little Walla Walla River across

the line in the State of Washington. The East Little

Walla Walla River discharges inio the main stream

near the Northeast corner of Section 10, Twp. 6

North, Range 35 E. W. M., in the State of Wash-

ington.

“The several prongs of the West branch of the

Section 26, Twp. 6 North, Range 35 E. W. M., with

the East branch of the Crocket to form the East

Prong of the Little Walla Walla River Spring Branch,

contribute little, if any, water to this Spring Branch

during the irrigation season.

“Beginning in Sections 23 and 24, Twp. 6 North,

Range 35 E. W. M., there are numerous springs which

supply the water during the irrigation season to this

East prong Spring branch, Ballou Spring Creek, Big

Spring Branch and Grandview Creek, which form the

East Little Walla Walla River in Washington.

“Lewis Spring Branch rises to the west of these

springs in the Southeast quarter of the Southwest

23

quarter of Section 23, Twp. 6 North, Range 35 E.

W. M., in the State of Oregon. Its waters are all

diverted for irrigation during the irrigation season.

The natural drainage of the lands watered from the

Lewis Spring Branch is toward the Northwest. These

waters come to the surface in a spring arising just

across the line in the State of Washington. This

spring forms the beginning of Walsh Creek in that

state.

“The Westerly prong of the West branch of the

Crocket unites with the Ford branch at a point in

Section 22, Twp. 6 North, Range 35 E. W. M., to

form the West prong of the Little Walla Walla, which

crosses the line into the State of Washington, where

it is known as the West Little Walla Walla River.

The West Little Walla Walla River empties into the

main stream in Section 31, Twp. 7 North, Range 35

E. W. M., in the State of Washington, below the

intake of the canal of the Gardena Project.

“The Westerly prong of the West branch of the

Crocket unites with the Ford branch in Section 22,

Twp. 6 North, Range 35 E. W. M., to form the West

prong of the Little Walla Walla. These two branches,

however, furnish little, if any, water to the West

prong during the irrigation season. Springs in and

near the channel of the West prong constitute sub-

stantially its only supply of water during the irri-

gation season.

“West of the center line of Sections 22 and 27,

Township 6 North, Range 35 E. W. M., rises the

East branch of Mud Creek and the Middle branch of

Mud Creek, which unite to form Mud Creek in Wash-

ington, which flows into the Walla Walla River in

Section 36, Twp. 7 North, Range 33 E. W. M.

“Further west is South Mud Creek, Schwartz

Spring Branch and Dry Creek, which are tributaries

of Pine Creek. South Mud Creek crosses the State

Line North of Section 15, Twp. 6 North, Range 34

E. W. M., and flows westerly in the State of Wash-

ington about a quarter of a mile from the State Line

to Pine Creek. It is known as Little Mud Creek in

a

_ e

ee

&

i 4

v4

?

A

Sh

2

J

be

;

ss

a9

ou

«~a

24

Tar ) 6A

the State of Washington. Pine Creek enters the main

stream in Section 2, Twp. 6 North, Range 33 E. W.

M., below all the diversions on the main stream in-

volved in these proceedings. Johnson Creek, Goodman >

Spring branch and Dugger Creek are spring branches

in Oregon in the water shed of Pine Creek, but have

no surface channel -connection therewith.

“Birch Creek rises in the State of Oregon and

flows Northwesterly and westerly not far from the

State Line, until a short distance from’ the main

stream, where it turns northerly, crosses the line,

and enters the main stream in Section 13, Twp. 6°

North, Range 35 E. W. M., in the State of Wash-

ington just North of the State Line. ;

“Shortly after passing the line. into the State of

Washington, the main stream turns and flows through

wide valleys in a westerly direction a distance of ap-

proximately thirty miles, where it empties. into the

Columbia River, near Wallula.

“The principal tributary of the main stream in

the State of Washington is Mill Creek, which also

rises in the Blue Mountains in the State of Oregon.

None of the waters of the water shed of this tribu-

tary reaches the main stream in the State of Oregon.

Approximately twelve miles above the confluence of

Mill Creek with the Walla Walla River, the tributar)

divides, one branch forming Yellowhawk Creek. Yel- -

lowhawk Creek, in turn, divides, one branch forming

Garrison Creek. The courses of Yellowhawk Creek

and Garrison Creek diverge for a ways, then run

nearly parallel in’ a southwesterly direction to the

main stream, Garrison Creek entering the main

_stream in the Northeast quarter of the Southeast

quarter of Section 4, Twp. 6 North, Range 35 E. W.

M., and Yellowhawk Creek entering the same in the

Northeast quarter of the Northwest quarter of Sec-

tion 11, Twp. 6 North, Range 35 E. W. M. The

intake of the Gardena Project is located on the mail

stream between the two points.

“Garrison Creek has no tributaries, ‘except 4

few inconsequential spring branches.

25

“Cottonwood Creek, Russel Creek and | Lasater

_ Spring Branch are tributaries of Yellowhawk; the

lower of these tributaries entering the same about

one mile and a half above its mouth. Reser Creek

in turn is a tributary of Russell Creek. About a mile

and a half above the Yellowhawk division, Mill Creek

divides, one branch being Titus Creek, which paral-

lels and then: unites with Mil’ Creek about a mile

below the Yellowhawk division. Mill Creek runs

through the City of.Walla Walla and enters the main

stream near the Whitman Mission, in Section 31,

Twp. 7 North, Range 35 E. W. M. r

“At the point of the Yellowhawk division of Mill

Creek, controlling works have been constructed and

the waters of Mill Creek are apportioned between the

two streams in accordance with the priorities of the

rights of persons entitled to water from the two

streams, except rights in. lower Mill Creek, below

the Southeast quarter of the South east quarter of

Section 23, Twp. 7 North, Range 35 E. W. M., which

for practical purposes are administered independent

of the rights on the upper -portion of the stream.

~~ wee

’ above that point.

“Stone Creek is a tributary of the main stream,

entering the same below Yellowhawk i1 the South-

west quarter of Section 3, Twp. 6 Nortn, Range 35

E. W. M., and below the intake of the’ canal of the

Gardena Project. Doan Creek is a tributary ‘of

lower Mill Creek and enters the same in the North-

_ . West quarter of the Northwest quarter of Section 32;

Twp. 7 North, Range 35 E. W. M. The Touchet

River is a tributary of the main stream, entering

the same in Section 4, Twp. 6 North, Range 33 E. W.

M. McEvoy Spring Branch enters the main stream

in the Southwest quarter of Section 3, Twp. 6 North,

Range 35 E. W. M., above the intake of the canal of

the Gardena Project. There are other spring branches

entering the stream which are two inconsequential

to mention specifically. Yellowhawk Creek, East Lit-

tle Walla Walla River; McEvoy Spring Branch and

Birch Creek are the only tributaries entering the

PR ee ee ee ae eS ee

TR Law

Abt PTE Sid

NAR mor eb ERD # rans

4

'

j

:

:

26

main stream in the State of Washington above the

intake of the canal of the Gardena Project.”

Paragraph 2 is a limitation of ihe issues as to the City

of Walla Walla, Attalia Irrigatibn District, Touchet River,

Mud and Pine Creeks, and effectually eliminates these speci-

fied rights and tributaries from further consideration by the -

court.

STIPULATION NO. 3.

Stipulation No. 3 is an agreed statement as to (1) land

forms, drainage and climate; (2) irrigation practices;

(3) crop production ; (4) community development; (5) pop-

ulation, farm acreage and assessed values, priorities and

approximate acreage. It is not deemed advisable to in any

way abbreviate or abstract this stipulation. It is therefore

set forth in full: ; ;

“cc 1.

LAND FORMS, DRAINAGE AND CLIMATE

(Based largely on the report of A. M. Piper)

“The Walla Walla Basin is part of a plateau

extending from the Columbia River to the Blue Moun-

tains. The western edge of the adjacent Blue Moun-

tain section is about 10 miles East of the city of

Walla Walla. This plateau has moderate relief, rang-

ing from 1900 feet elevation along the flank of the

Blue Mountains to 400 feet in the river bottoms at

the Western edge of the area. The only extensive

flat areas are-the flood plains and terraces developed

by the larger streams. For the most part, the upland

areas comprise sub-parallel ridges tending North. 20

degrees East, separated by V-shaped valleys which -

commonly are 50 to 300 feet deep. These ridges

and slopes have a deep fertile soil. The Walla Walla

ee

27

Valley is rudely triangular, and from apices in the

canyons of Mill Creek and the Walla Walla River,

converges westward to the head of the gorge which

begins 20 miles to the West. Near Whitman, where

the Walla Walla River and Mill Creek join, the

valley is ten miles wide. At Touchet it is about four

miles in width. The valley comprises three distinct

physiographic divisions. In order of decreasing age,

these are: the Gardena terrace, whose remants in

places are as much as 120 feet above the flood

plains of the river; the Low terrace, whose rem-

_ nants parrallel the flood plains and are commonly

less than 20 feet above them; and finally the alluvial

fans of the Walla Walla River and of Mill Creek

and the flood plains of the river and its tributaries.

“The Gardena terrace is now thoroughly dis-

sected, and is represented by numerous remants,

which range in size from flats 18 miles in length

to hillocks 100 yards across. The most prominent

remant lies south of the Walla Walla River, in the

Western part of the area upon which is situated

the Gardena irrigated district, from which this land

form is named. This remnant in places stands 120

feet above the flood plain of the river, southeast of

Touchet, and 40 feet above the flood plain of Dry

Creek in Oregon, 10 miles to the East. The remnant

flanks the Southern wall of the valley for a dis-

tance of 12 miles. The larger remnant of the Gar-

dena terrace lies North of Walla Walla. In the

central plain of the basin the terrace has been

thoroughly dissected by the several distributaries of

the Walla Walla River and Mill Creek, which have

left long narrow remnants. In general the gradient

of the Gardena terrace is slightly less than that of

the adjacent flood plain. Remnants in the flood plain

of the area are 100 to 120 feet above the flood plain,

and slope westward less than 20 feet to the mile.

Those in the Eastern part of the area stand only

10 to 25 feet above the fans of the Walla Walla and

Mill Creek and decline westerly 60 to 75 feet in a

mile.

of ~

hig SE Pe

~~ a -

a ae ale

LEAR AB PRES, ISAT PS

.

ae as 4 ‘ 2

ps Sar Tei aS i VERY A TIS ei CIE OE LB s vr

28

“The Low terrace is inconspicuous and is repre-

sented by remants less than one mile wide and as

much as 8 miles long, and which border the flood

plains. Remnants of the Low terrace are readily dis-

cernible in the Western part of the area, where they

are 5 to 20 feet above the flood plain. Upstream

they become lower and less discernible and commonly

merge into the flood plain without any topographical

break.

“The alluvial fan of the Walla Walla River

slopes North from an apex at the mouth of the

rock-walled canyon at Milton, and is about 4 miles

long and 4 miles wide along the outer margin. At

its apex the fan is about 1070 feet above sea level.

From this altitude it descends about 50 feet to the

mile and stands about 850 feet above sea level at

its outer margin. This feature is delimited to the

North and West by the upstream ends of the several

remnants of the Gardena and Low Terraces. The

Walla Walla River, commonly called the Tumalum,

follows its East margin. Below the fan the Walla

Walla River and its several distributaries have de-

veloped flood plains which generally are less than

0.5 miles wide and which are separated or bordered

by long narrow remnants of the Low terrace or by

higher remnants of the Gardena terrace. The allu-

vial fan of Mill Creek is less prominent than the fan

of the Walla Walla at Milton. This fan originates at

an apex about 2 miles east of Walla Walla and is

roughly relimited by Yellowhawk Creek on the South,

by the main channel of Mill Creek on the North, and

by several narrow remnants of the Gardena terrace

on the West. The maximum width of one and a half

miles is attained at Walla Walla. Both above and

below the fan, the flood plain of Mill Creek aver

ages 0.5 miles wide. The gradient of the Walla Walla

River decreases progressively downstream. At the

jvnetion of the canyons of the North and South forks

‘t is about 80 feet in a mile. Across the fan North

of Milton the average s!ope is about 60 feet in a mile.

At Whitman, in the central part of the valley, the

itunes

29

slupe is 40 feet to the mile, and further downstream,

between Touchet and the head of the gorge, it be-

comes less than 10 feet to the mile. The Walla Walla

River drains about 150 square miles above Milton,

its drainage area being moderately rugged and mod-

erately high in altitude. Little rain falls on the drain-

age area in the summer, and a large part of the pre-

cipitation in the winter is snow. Under these condi-

tions, the stream is subject to an annual spring

freshet and is flashy throughout the year.

“The gradient of Mill Creek is about 100 feet to

the mile at the mouth of the canyon, 65 feet to the

mile at Walla Walla, and 50 feet to the mile near

Whitman, which is just above its junction with the

Walla Walla River. ‘

“The Walla Walla Basin has a semi-arid climate,

with warm dry summers and cold wet winters. The

mean temperature in the warmest month, which is

generally July, is 73.9 deg. F. at Milton, 76.5 deg. F. at

Walla Walla, and 72.8 deg. F. at Lowden. In the

coldest month, which generally is January, it is 31

deg. F. at Milton, 30.9 deg. F. at Walla Walla, and

29.1 deg. F. at Lowden. The meen annual tempera-

ture is 52.6 deg. F. at Milton, 53.9 deg. F. at Walla

Walla, and 51.3 deg. F. at Lowden. During the past

ten years, the highest recorded temperature was 107

deg. §. and the lowest was —15 deg. F. During the

same period, the latest killing frost in the spring has

ranged from March 9th to May 9th and the earliest

killing frost in the autumn from September 2l1st to

November 12th. The average growing season or

frost-free period, is 193 days. The average annual

rainfall at Milton, during the 11 year period 1922-

1932, was 12.99 inches, of which 1.54 inches fell

during the three summer months, July, August and

September. The average annual fainfall at Walla

Walla during that period was 14.37 inches, of which

1.64 inches fell during the three summer months.

The average annual rainfall at Lowden, during the

Same period, was 9.52 inches, of which 1.25 inches

fell during the three summer months.

-t

an

30 .

Il.

IRRIGATION PRACTICES.

“The growing season in the Walla Walla Basin

extends from April to October, inclusive. Irrigation

during this growing season is called herein summer

irrigation, and irrigation during any other part of

the year is herein called winter irrigation. Winter ir-

rigation is practiced on the lands served by the Milton,

Freewater & Hudson Bay Irrigation Company, and

on some of the lands of the Gardena project. The

balance of the Walla Walla Basin is served by sum-

mer irrigation. In ali cases where the water supply is

not sufficient to supply water during the entire grow-

ing season, the practice is to store water in the soil,

where possible, by irrigation prior to the growing

season and whenever water is available. In the sum-

mer irrigation of orchards, alfalfa and grain, out-

side of the gravelly soil, the practice is to apply

water about once every two weeks. In areas of grav-

elly land, the practice is to apply water to such crops

once a week. In the gravelly soil in and around Mil-

ton and Freewater, for strawberries, tomatoes, garden

vegetables and short-rooted crops, ihe practice is

apply water two to three times a week. Where the

application is made several times a week, the period

of application is from two to four hours each time.

Where it is once a week, the time of application is

from eight to twelve hours. Where application is

made at longer intervals, the length of time depends

upon the amount of acreage, and in most cases a

continuous flow to each irrigator is used. The flood-

ing method of irrigation is not practiced. Nearly

all the irrigation is by what is known as the corru-

gation method.

“It is the general practice in the orchards to

grow cover crops of clover, alfalfa and the like, as

a protection against evaporation. These crops are

usually chopped into the soil as fertilizer.

“Controlling works are found at the principal

points of diversion from the stream. Weirs for meas

31

uring individual rights are in general use through-

out the valley.

“Rotation is practiced to a considerable extent.

In Oregon, in the deep soiis, the rotation period is

from one ti, two weeks for alfalfa and grain. In the

gravel soils, for orchards and alfalfa, the average

irrigated acreage for a group of rotaters is about

60 acres, and rotation is practiced on a weekly basis.

Where the gravel soil about Milton and Freewater

is cultivated to strawberries, tomatoes, vegetables and

short rooted crops, the average irrigated acreage for

a group of rotaters for such crops is from 10 to 20

acres and rotation is practiced on both a twice a

week and a thrice a week basis. Rotation under the

Oregon decree may be enforced by the water master,

and in some instances is carried out by agreement

of the parties. In Washington, rotation is practiced

under all ditches operated by irrigation districts, and

in the vicinity of Walla Walla, by private arrange-

ment between the individual water users. The period

of rotation varies greatly, but averages, it is esti-

mated, about ten days.

“In some instances there is a run-off from the

irrigated lands, caused by the use of a large head of

water. This run-off, locally called waste water, is

utilized on succeeding tracts.

“In the section around Milton and Freewater,

there are approximately 300 wells which pump water

from the lower gravel strata and apply it to irriga-

tion. In Washington there is little irrigation from

wells.

III.

CROP PRODUCTION.

“Oregon. In Oregon the crops consist of wheat,

alfalfa, hay, prunes, apples, cherries, tomatoes, ber-

ries, vegetables and nursery stock. In the irrig.:ted

section there are from 3000 to 4000 acres of prunes,

yielding about 6 tons to the acre; from 1000 to 1800

acres of apples, yielding about 8 tons to the acre;

200 to 300 acres of cherries, yielding about 4 tons to

the acre; about 200 acres of tomatoes, yielding 10

tons to the acre. (The acreage of tomatoes has been

cut down this year from past years, in accordance

with the general policy of cutting the amount of pro-

duction. Last year the acreage was about 300 acres.)

There are about 125 acres of berries, yielding about

a ton to the acre. Nursery stock of about 175 acres

supplies about 40 carloads per year, besides the local

market. Alfalfa hay is raised on from 2000 to 2500

acres of land, and yields from & to 7 tons per acre,

depending on the length of time that water is avail-

able for irrigation. In this district there are approxi-

mately 2500 dairy cattle, exclusive of those kept for

family purposes only. In the line of vegetables,

squash, melons, potatoes and other varieties yield in

proportion to the tomatoes. There has also developed

a considerable flower trade. A number of growers

specialize in peonies, supplying the trade not only

with peony blooms but with the plants.

“Washington. The crops of the valley in Wash-

ington consist principally of alfalfa, wheat, vegetables

and fruits. It is estimated that 40,000 tons of alfalfa

are raised in this area annually. The average acreage

yield is 6 tons. Wheat on irrigated land is generally

raised as part of the rotation between alfalfa plant-

ings. It is estimated that 1000 acres of wheat are

irrigated in this area annually. The average acreage

yield is 50 bushels. Crops of vegetables are grown

quite extensively. The average annual vield of the

following varieties is: Head lettuce, 49 cars; cab-

bage, 16 cars; rhubarb, 35 cars; onions, 300 cars;

spinach, 100 cars; tomatoes, 30 cars; cantaloupes, 46

cars; potatoes, 307 cars; mixed vegetables, 84 cars.

The average acre yield of the following varieties is:

Asparagus, 500 boxes to the acre; spinach, 500 boxes

per acre; onions, 600 sacks per acre; potatoes, 200

sacks per acre. Fruits are also grown in this area.

In 1932, 125 cars of apples and 302 cars of prunes

V7"_

33

were estimated to have been shipped out of Walla

Walla. Apples in this territory yield from 5 to 10

boxes per tree. Prunes yield as high as 600 boxes to

the acre. The sweet varieties of cherries are grown,

yielding as high as 100 pounds to the tree. It is es-

timate that 145 tons of cherries were raised in 1929.

Peaches and pears are grown successfully, princi-

pally for the local market. 16 tons of peaches were

raised in 1929. An average of 10 cars of grapes are

shipped from Walla Walla annually. Strawberries

yield as high as 600 crates to the acre. Approxi-

mately 100 acres in this area are devoted to berry

culture. It is estimated that there are 4000 milk cows

on the farms in this area. Two and three-quarters

million gallons of milk were produced in 1929. Poul-

try is also raised extensively. 7500 turkeys, 1600

ducks and 1000 geese were estimated to have been

raised in this area in 1929. $47,000.00 was also rea-

lized from the sale of chickens in that year.

IV.

DEVELOPMENT OF COMMUNITY.

“Oregon. The Oregon community supports a

flour mill, a sawmill and box factory, cider works, a

dehydrating plant and a vinegar plant, in addition to

a number of commission houses and fruit and vege-

table distributors. In order to handle the fruit and

vegetable crops, five cold storage houses have been

erected and are operated by the various companies.

“The district contains ten grade schools, having

a total of about 1000 pupils, and a splendid Union

High school. There are about ten churches. This

Property, together with the municipal buildings of

the two towns, represents a value of about half a

million dollars.

“Washingion. In the city of Walla Walla there

are 66 manufacturing plants, including four flour and

feed mills, a meat packing house, a cannery, special-

i

34

izing in vegetable canning, three creameries, an iron

products foundry, two sash and docr factories, a con-

crete pipe and conduit plant, and other small manu-

facturing enterprises. The annual value of the prod-

ucts of these industries is $6,279,166.00.

“The city of Walla Walla supports a high school,

six grade schools, three parochial schools, three music

schools and two colleges, with an aggregate average

annual attendance of 5300 students. Thefe are twen-

ty-four churcues, representing all principal denomi-

nations, four theatres and three hospitals. Grade

schools and churches exist and are wel: distributed

outside the city in this area.

V.

POPULATION, FARM ACREAGE AND ASSESSED

VALUATION.

“The territory herein considered excludes all

that part of the river basin which by stipulation has

been heretofore removed from any issue in the case.

“Oregon. The related territory in Oregon, ex-

cluding the Hudson Bay lands, has a population, ac-

cording to the 1930; census, of 4772, of which 2308

is urban, being the cities of Milton and Freewater,

and 2464 is rural. In addition, the Hudson Bay lands

are occupied by about 65 families, which would raise

the total population of the district to about 5000.

“The irrigated lands are farmed intensively. The

6233.87 acres irrigated from the Walla Walla River,

spring branches and East Prong of the Walla Walla,

are divided in 889 farms, with an average acreage

of 7.01 acres. The West Prong and Lewis Spring

Branch have 618.74 acres, divided into 36 farms with

an average acreage of 17.19. The Pleasantview Ditch

Company irrigates 1249.18 acres, divided into 62

farms with an average acreage of 20.15. The Milton,

Freewater & Hudson Bay Irrigation Company irri-

gates 2675.41 acres, divided into 57 farms, with an

35

average acreage of 47 acres. This makes a_ total

acreage in the related area of 10,777.20, divided inio

1044 farms, or an average acreage of 10.32 acres.

“This acreage has an assessed valuation, on the

1932 roll, exclusive of the Hudson Bay acreage, of

$1,543,120.00. The Beauchamp land, of 86.67 acres,

irrigated under the Hudson Bay, is assessed at $11,-

810.00, and the Markham land, 200 acres, is assessed

at $21,560.00. Based upon these assessments, it is

estimated that the assessed value of the Hudson Bay

lands is substantially $250,000.00. The assessed valu-

ation of the cities of Milton and Freewater is $915,-

975.00. This makes a total assessed valuation of the

related district of 52,709,095.00. The assessed valua-

tion is usually counted as averaging about fiity per

cent of the actual value.

“Washington. The related territory in Washing-

ton, outside the incorporated towns, has a population

of 7090, according to the 1930 U. S. census. The

population of the city of Walla Walla, according to

the same authority, is 15,976. There are 9615 acres

of irrigated land in the vicinity of Walla Walla. The

size of the farming units in this area varies from 1

to 500 acres. The average is 17 acres. In the vicinity

of Lowden there are 3231 acres, ranging in size of

unit from 2 to 160 acres with an average of 38 acres.

In the Gardena district, the smallest unit is 4 acres,

the largest 200 acres, and the average 70 acres.

“The above described acreage in the vicinity of

Walla Walla has an aggregate assessed valuation, on

the 1932 tax roll, of general taxes, of $3,845,942.00.

The assessed valuation of lands in the city of Walla

Walla for the same year is $8,137,409.00. In the

vicinity of Lowden, lands were assessed for the same

year at $225,670.00, and in the Gardena District, at

$234,663.00. The total aggregate assessed valuation

of the land in the reiated area is $12,443,684.00. Un-

der the law in the State of Washington, lands are

assessed for taxation purposes at fifty per cent of

their actual value.

ETA ee

ae a tas a

eS ne ee ee ere

4

Bence nde

Year

1859

1861

1862

1863

1864

1865

1866

1867

1868

1869

1870

1871

1872

1873

1874

1875

1876

1877

1878

1879

1880

1881

1882

1883

1884

1885

36 ;

“PRIORITIES AND APPROXIMATE ACREAGES,

AS SHOWN BY DECREES AND PERMITS.

“The following tabulation shows the approxi-

mate acreage under each year’s date of priority, as

shown by the several decrees of the two states, for

the related area, excluding all that part of the river

basin which by stipulation has been heretofore re-

moved from any issue in the case, and including the

Cardena appropriation, the priority of which is con-,

tested by Oregon.

|

OREGON WASHINGTON

Walla Walla West Pg.

Walla West Pg. Walla . Tribu- (Little

River Waste inOregon River | taries W. W. R.)

37.15

314.00

35.84

83.50

28.22 , 81.61

37.12 124.23

3.30 137.13

8.24

60.28 89.90

4.18 44.45

47.31 — 160.00 8.583

11.06

55.78 79.75

65.50 13.00

25.26

291.47 20.40

72.90 15.00 . 1.32

87.73 | 12.00

81.74 54.77

31.55

180.17 43.80 . 25.20

123.46 7.50 51.50

86.90 91.00

55.09 13.00 61.73

16.50 , 125.00 149.48

135.35 14.00 94.88

Year

1886

1887

1888

11889

1890

1891

1892

1893

1894

1895

_ 1896

1897

1898

1899

1900

1901

1902

1903

1904

1905

1906

1907

1908

1909

1910

1911

1912

1913

1914

1915

1916

1917

1918

1919

1920

1921

1922

OREGON

Walla

~ Walla

River

54.51

217.76

93.38

65.86

113.72

131.49

264.05

157.54

102.12

242.07

30.72

128.31

44.37

7.06

198.99

87.69

165.90

2725.04

23.02

136.35

40.06

80.99

193.82

316.71

33.25

962.14

392.25

14.00

97.00

28.80

59.00

28.00

59.00

27.50

12.00

140.00

Waste

10.00

10.00

_ 49.90

33.90

15.30

8.70

12.80

8.75

38.84

8.00

15.00 ©

113.00

|

WASHINGTON

Walla

West Pg. Walla

9.25

32.00

. InOregon River

32.00

$221.11

431.96

180.79

40.00

330.00

50.00

15.00

5.00

50.00

Tribu-

taries

~ 141.35

30.50

98.91

48.50

178.67

647.63.

18.00

477.97

246.75

141.25

160.00

6.50

99.33

105.45

38.00

147.06

884.58

25.05

123.75

153.15

202.55

42.00

32.28

50.00

371.00

33.19

138.50

63.10

9.40

63.28

49.90

29.00

61.74

75.52

3.60 .

West Pg.

(Little

W. W.R.)

20.00

462.90

29.00

187.70

65.00

1.00

52.00

10.90 —

106.00

33.00

. 21.00

35.00

32.00

BERT ESI TINCT LT RIE PEDO INNO ET ALPS SS "ALIN tare Sart ri

OREGON WASHINGTON

Walla Walla West Pg.

Walla West Pg. - Walla Tribu- (Little

Year River Waste in Oregon River . taries W.W.R.)

1923 140.00 37.00 . 11.00

1924 91.00 5.00 35.00 | 6.00

1925 41.00 25.00 0.50

1926 3.00 - 10.00 880.00 1419.80 49.00

1927 90.40 15.00 .

1928 281.15 25.00

1929 30.00 “ 7.50

1930 © 44.80

1931 1.00

STIPULATION NO. 4

This stipuiation qualifies for admission as evidence (1)

Youngs’ soil map, (Washington Exhibit 15); (2) report of

A. M. Piper and others on ground water, (Washington Ex-

hibit 16); (3) Map of lands involved in the adjudication of ~

rights in the Walla Walla River showing Walla Walla River

tributaries and diversions, (Washington Exhibit 17); (4)

state constitutions and statutes in argument or by reference.

STIPULATION NO. 5

‘ This stipulation embodies such facts. relative to the

history and rights of the Gardena Farms District as the

parties were able to agree upon. It sets forth that the

diversion by the Gardena Farms_ District, formerly the

Walla Walla Irrigation Company, is the largest diversion

from the Walla Walla River in the State of Washington -

and fixes the point of this diversion and the course of the

canal. By decree of the Superior Court of the State of

Washington for Walla Walla County, the Waila Walla Irriga-

tion Company was given a priority of 1892 with the right

39

to irrigate 7,000 acres of land with a maximum amount of

93.333 ¢.f.s. of water from April 1st to July 1st, and 70

c.f.s. of water from July 1st to October 1st, subject to the

ivllowing limitation:

“That claimant’s 5,000 acres of land, which was

the amount irrigated at the time of the hearing of

the claim of said Walla Walla Irrigation Company

before the referee, to wit, on the 29th day of March,

1926, is entitled to use of water to the extent of

66.67 cu. ft. per second from April 1st to July Ist,

50 cu. ft. per second from July 1st to October 1st,

and 1 cu. ft. per second for each 50 acres of land

for winter irrigation; provided, that from and after

said 29th day of March, 1926, the remaining lands

susceptible to irrigation which may in the future

be developed, shall be entitled to a quantity of water

for irrigation at the rate herein allotted, as said

lands may be brought into cultivation from time to

time until a maximum of 7,000 acres are developed

and the maximum of water herein awarded is used;

and that the amount of land to which this claimant

is entitled to water under the above provision shall

be determined at the beginning of the spring irriga-

tion season each year, by the State Supervisor of

Hydraulics.”

The certificate of water right following upon the de-

Cree is attached to the stipulation and marked Exhibit “A.”

In 1928 the Gardena Farms District succeeded to the rights

of the Walla Walla Irrigation Company. In the beginning

J. F. Boyer, J. T. Kirk and W. F. Courtnay caused preliminary

- Surveys to be made and a canal route to be located. Several

notices of appropriation were posted at the proposed point

of diversion and recorded in the proper office for the re-

cordation of such notices. No diversion was ever made from

the Little Walla Walla River.

Sasa ree ee

e.

i

RIK ETAL SAT NNER eae Stig

Te he is

40

The stipulation then proceeds:

“In the spring of 1892, E. C. Burlingame, a con-

tractor, became interested in the project and made

further surveys and investigations of the route of

the canal, and thereafter acquired an interest therein.

“Soon thereafter in the same year a corporation

was formed, known as the Walla Walla Irrigation

Company. On November 5, 1892, formal conveyances

of the rights of the individual appropriators were

q made to the Company, by deed recorded January 24,

: 1893, in Book 53, at page 179, Deed Records of

Walla Walla County, Washington.

“Mr. Burlingame performed the construction

4 work for the Company using his own equipment and

teams up to the time of the formation of the irriga-

tion district which succeeded to the rights of the

Company in 1928.

“In August, 1892, actual construction work on

the canal was begun.

“Prior to the year 1905 the canal was constructed

from the diversion point in the McBean donation

land claim in the SW14, SW, Section 3, Twp. 6

North Range 35 E. W. M. along the route of the

canal as shown on the official map herein, to a point

in Lot 3 of Fractional Section 13, Twp. 6 North

Range 34 E. W. M. where the map indicates that the

canal divides. From said divisional point one division

of the canal was constructed in a Southwesterly direc-

tion into the State of Oregon, and also from said

2 divisional point, prior to the year 1905, one division

3 was constructed in Northwesterly direction along the

: route indicated on the map to a point in Sectioa

: 5, Twp. 6 North Range 34 E. W. M. About a mile

‘ from the upper end of the syphon.

“In the winter and spring of the year 1905 an

inverted syphon was constructed from a point in

the SW14, of the NW14, of said Section 5, to a point

in the NE1, SE}, of Section 12, Twp. 6 North Range

33 E. W. M. from which point the distribution system

for the irrigation of the lands West and South of

J DE rt LENS He et

Aes adrnaaxt) ~~. - -.

© 4 lees ELA A AARON, 0 kN Se

41

the syphon was constructed and has been extended

as the demands of irrigation required. This syphon

has a head of 145 feet, carries the water of the canal

across the valley of Pine Creek a mile and a half in

width, ard is built of wood Staves and steel bands.

It was originally of a diameter of 38 inches and

has since been replaced by Gardena Farms District

by one 44 inches in diameter.

“For the first three miles of the course of the

canal from the river the soi] conditions presented

no serious difficulties in construction. From there

to the head of the syphon the course of the canal was

in light and ashy soil requiring the canal to be pud-

dled and causing some breaks and slides. The exca-

vation and filling was done with teams and scrapers.

“As a part of this construction work there were

cuts two of which were approximately 26 feet in

depth at their deepest point, one about 1500 feet and

the other about 1000 feet, in length. Some fills also

had to be made. The canal was constructed 16 feet

on the bottom from the diversion point to the division

of the canal at the point in Lot 3 of Fractional Sec-

tion 13, Twp. 6 North Range 34 E. W. M. and from

that point to the head of the syphon is now 10 feet

on the bottom, all with Side slopes of 1% to 1 and

with a depth of about 6 feet. The canal has a fall

of .5 of a foot to a 1000 feet and a capacity of 150

¢. f. s. in that portion with 16 inches bottom.

There is then set forth the structures along the canal

and the devices installed for the purpose of water use. The

expenditures upon the canal from 1901 to 1925 are set forth

a8 $227,078.56, which expenditures are segregated as to

their nature and as to the years in which they were made

in an exhibit attached to the stipulation.

In the year 1910 the company entered into arrange-

ments to receive sewage water from the City of Walla Walla.

The stioulatio,, provides:

\

—

Ska OD IN, TO Raa NPE.

42

“In the year 1910 the Company entered into

arrangements to receive sewage water from the City

of Walla Walla and during the years 1910, 1911

and 1912 expended $49,253.92 for concrete sewer |

pipe, $3954.02 for construction work, $1471.64 for

engineering, and $1771.60 for rights of way, for the

purpose of conveying such sewage water to the Com-

pany’s canals. This water was used until the year

1924 when such use was discontinued and the works

abandoned, with the exception of a small part of the

concrete pipe used for a spillway: from the canal.

From about 1920 to 1924 the Company contracts for

the sale of water contained the following clause: ‘It

is understood that sewage water from the City of

Walla Walla is part of said water supply.’

“In the year 1907 the Company expended $798.00

in investigation of reservoir sites. No reservoir has

been secured. The Company also expended for the

drilling of wells the following sums: In 1905, $240.-

50; in 1909 $6155.50; and from 1910 to 1913 the

sum of $441.25, and in 1924 and 1925 the sum of

$3149.08, making a total of $9980.33 expended for

work in an attempt to develop an additional water

supply from wells, which was without result.

“Water was first diverted from the river into

the canal in the year 1893 for puddling purposes

and turned out through the spillway into the West

Little Walla Walla River. In the year 1898 water

was first used for irrigation when 68 acres along the

line of the canal were irrigated. In 1899, 20 ad-

ditional acres were irrigated but these latter men-

tioned lands have since been abandoned. In 1901,

280 acres were irrigated in Oregon from the canal

running from the divisional point in Lot 3 of Frac

tional Section 13, Twp. 6 North Range 34 E. W. M.

into Oregon, and between 1901 and 1918, 72 addi-

tional acres in Oregon were irrigated from the canal,

but the irrigation of these lands was discontinued in

1919, when the Company abandoned the operation of

this canal. These lands are now irrigated from the

43

Milton-Freewater and Hudson Bay ditch. In 1898,

68 acres were watered from the canal; in 1899 20

acres additional were watered in Washington, which

were later abandoned.

“In 1904, 193 acres were watered from the canal

in Washington, including the 20 acres above men-

tioned as later abandoned. Approximately 1133.4

acres East of the syphon in Washington are now

irrigated from the canal. The balance of the lands

irrigated from the canal lie West and South of the

syphon. Water was first run through the syphon

in 1905 and used for irrigation.”

There is then set forth by years the amount of irriga-

tion company stock sold and the names of the individuals

to whom said stock was sold. This tabulation shows that

from 1898 to 1930 there was a continuous sale of the stock

of the company which water shares so sold provide in total

for the irrigation of 5793.09 acres, of which 372 acres have

been abandoned, leaving water stock outstanding for the

irrigation of 5421.09 acres, of which 216.56 acres are not

now being irrigated. A survey by Oregon indicates that in

1933 there were ivrigated from the system 4530.2 acres in

Washington and 721.3 acres in Oregon, or a total of 5251.5

acres.

The soil west of the siphon is rich and with irrigation

Produces abundant crops. Approximately 85 families live

on the land served by this irrigation system. West of the

siphon is a church and a school employing two teachers.

STIPULATION NO. 6

Stipulation No. 6 is merely a statement of the conten-

tions of the parties as to the Gardena right.

ate eile i

RO SS eT ee ne

BMRA

STIPULATION NO. 7

_ Stipulation No. 7 is a statement of the parties as to

their respective contentions as to water requirements upon

the lands to which water has been awarded under the de-

crees of the courts and by the water administrators of the

two states. It contains no statements of agreed fact.

STIPULATION NO. 8

This stipulation provides that the findings and orders

of determination of the State Water Board or State Engineer

of the State of Oregon, and the findings and reports of the

Referee of the State of Washington, filed in the cases in

which decrees are admitted in evidence, may be admitted

in evidence as a part of the respective decrees.

STIPULATION NO. 9

This stipulation sets forth the contentions of the parties

as to the wells from which water is used within the State

of Oregon.

The State of Washington denies the right of the State

of Oregon to grant permits for the sinking of wells without

reference to the rights of the irrigators in the State of

Washington. Broadly the State of Washington contends

that by the sinking of the wells the sub-surface water is

intercepted and the otherwise available supply of the river

to Washington irrigators is diminished, and that the water

produced by the wells is wastefully and not beneficially

used. Oregon denies these allegations and alleges that they

may capture the sub-surface water without regard to Wash-

ington rights; that the waters in the wells are mere per-

colating waters and that the owner of the surface land has

45

the right to capture them as a part of the property of the

owner. Oregon contends that its permits to sink wells do

not grant a water right; that the water right is already

in the owner of the land, but that the permit is merely

to record the use, and that such water right could not be

interfered with either by the State of Washington or the

State of Oregon. Oregon contends further that the waters

intercepted are not a part of the stream flow of the Walla

Walla River and do not in any way reduce the surface supply

available in the State of Washington; that the digging of

the wells and the expenditures incident thereto and to the

production of the water is indicative of the inadequacy of

the surface water supply.

STIPULATION NO. 10

This stipulation is in the nature of a supplemental

pleading or an argument and sets forth the respective con-

tentions of the parties as to adverse use, estoppel, vested

rights, and the claim of Oregon that the Tum-a-lum River

in the State of Oregon has been administered as a separate

stream in the State of Oregon.

STIPULATION NO 11

This stipulation sets forth historically the political

history of the states of Washington and Oregon and further

that title to the lands now in private ownership within

said two states has generally been acquired under the public

iand laws of the United States. Paragraph 3 of the stipula-

tion materially limits the pleadings in the case in the fol-

lowing particular:

“It is agreed that, for the purposes of this case,

the individual rights of the respective land owners

Biter

46 |

and water users concerned in both states are

governed by the doctrine of appropriation, and that

no issue of riparian ownership as to such individual

rights shall be raised in this case by either state.”

THE ISSUES

Under the pleadings as framed this court is required to

decide :

(a) Is the State of Oregon depriving the State of

Washington of the use of an equitable proportion of the

waters of the Walla Walla River, a non-navigable interstate

stream flowing within said two states ?

(b) If so, to what extent”

(c) Shall an injunction issue restraining the State of

Oregon from the wrongful diversion of the waters of the

Walla Walla River?

THE LAW APPLICABLE TO DIVISION OF WATERS OF

INTERSTATE STREAMS

This suit is a bill in equity brought by the State of Wasb-

ington against the State of Oregon as an original proceeding

in this court to adjudicate the relative rights of the two states

to the use of the waters of the Walla Walla River. a non-

navigable interstate stream. Each state, under the allega-

tions of the pleadings, claimed riparian rights for the lands

adjacent to the stream and in addition thereto rights “origi-

nating under the law of prior appropriation. After issue

was joined the parties filed their stipulation containing

among other provisions the following:

“It is agreed that, for the purposes of this case

the individual rights of the respective land owners

and water users concerned in both states are governed

i a ira:

47

by the doctrine of appropriation, and that no issue

of riparian ownership as to such individual rights

shall be raiscd in this case by either side.” (Stip.

No. 11.)

ftp ager nae ger

The case is to be adjudicated, therefore, as one in which

each of the contending states has adopted the taw of prior

appropriation as to the origin of rights to the use of water.

The jurisdiction of this court to adjudicate such a con-

troversy 1s supported by ample authority.

Kansas v. Colorado, 206 U. S. 46.

Wyoming v. Colorado, 259 U. S. 419.

Connecticut v. Massachusetts, 282 U. S. 660.

New Jersey v. New Yerk, 283 U. S. 336.

The rules of Jaw applied by this court in the determina-

tion of cases involving interstate streams, whether the rights

sought to be protected arise under the doctrine uf riparian

right or under the law of prior appropriation, are stated

by this court as follows: :

Kansas Vv. Colorado, 206 U. S. 46, 97:

“One cardinal rule, underiying all the relations

of the states to each other is, that of equality of

right. Each state stands on the level with all the

rest. It can impose its own legislation on no one of

the others and is bound to yield its own views to

none. Yet, whenever, as in the case of Missouri v.

Illinois, 180 U. S. 208, the action of one state reaches

through the agency of natural laws into the territory

of another state, the question of the extent and the

limitation of the rights of the two states becomes a

matter of justiciable dispute between them, and this

court is called upon to settle that dispute in such a

way as will recognize the equal rights of both and

at the same time establish justice between them.”

Biiiwistl se ctiowss Le Sin pee

_—_

Connecticut v. Massachusetts, 282 U. S. 660, 669, 670:

48

“The governing rule is that this court will net

exert its extraordinary power to control the conduct

of one state at the suit of another, unless the threat-

ened invasion of rights is of serious magnitude and

established by clear and convincing evidence.”

“For the decision of suits between states, federal,

state and international law is considered and applied

by this court as the exigencies of the particular case

may require. The determination of the relative rights

of contending states in respect of the use of streams

flowing through them does not depend upon the

same considerations and is not governed by the same

rules of law that are applied in such states for the

solution of similar questions of private right. Kansas

v. Colorado 185 U. S. 125, 146. And,-while the muni-

cipal law relating to like questions between indi-

viduals is to be taken into account, it is not deemed

to have controlling weight.

’ “Ag was shown in Kansas V. Colorado, 206 U. S.

46, 100, such disputes are to be settled on the basis

of equality of right. But this is not to say that

there must be an equal division of the waters of an

interstate stream among the states through which it

flows. It means that the “les of right and

equity shall be applied having regard to the ‘equal

level or plane on which all the states stand, in point

of power and rignt, under our constitutional system,

and that upon a consideration of the pertinent laws |

of the contending states:and al. other relevant facts,

this court will determine what is an equitable appor-

tionment of the use of such waters. I yoming V.

Colorado, 259 U. S. 419, 465, 470.

The suit of Wyoming v. Colorado, 259 U. S. 419, Was

brought by the plaintiff to prevent the diversion of water

of the Laramie River arising in Colorado and flowing into

Wyoming. Both states are in the arid region and apply the

49

doctrine of appropriation. The problem there presented was

expressed by Justice Van Devanter as follows, page 470:

“We are thus brought to the question of the

basis on which the relative rights of these states in

the waters of this interstate stream should be de-

termined. Should the doctrine of appropriation,

which each recognizes and enforces within her

borders be applied? Or is there other basis which

is more consonant with right and equity ?”

' After an elaborate discussion of the facts the court said:

_ “We conclude that Colorado’s objections to the

doctrine of appropriation as a basis of decision are

not well taken and that it furnishes the only basis

which is consonant with the principles of right and

equity applicable to such a controversy as this.”

This doctrine was again announced in the case of Con-

necticut ¥. Massachusetts, 282 U. S. 660 at 672.

The rule adopted in the Wyorming-Colorado case as to

priorities is not one of law, but one of equity. Under the

conditions existing in that case such ‘rule was applied as the

measure best adapted to work out the equities between the

parties.

Speaking in Kansas V. Colorado, this court Says:

“We must consider the effect of what has been

done upon the conditions in the respective states and

‘SO adjust the dispute. upon the basis of equality of

rights as to secure as far as possible to Colorado the

benefits of irrigation without depriving Kansas of

the like beneficial effects 6f a flowing stream.” 206

U. S. 100, 109.

In the case of Kansas V. Colorado, above cited, after

having tabulated the growth in population, cultivation and

50

production which had accrued to the State of Colorado by

virtue of the use of the waters involved in the controversy,

the court uses this language:

“Whatever has been effective in bringing about

this development is certainly entitled to recognition,

and should not be wantonly or unnecessarily des- -

troyed or interfered with. That this development is

largely owing to irrigation is something of which,

from a consideration of the testimony there can be

no reasonable doubt. It has been a prime factor in

securing this result, and before, at the instance, of a

sister state, this effective cause of Colorado’s de-

velopment is destroyed or materially interfered with,

it should. be clear that such sister state has not

merely some technical right, but also a right with a

corresponding benefit.” id. 109.

“It cannot be denied, in view of all the testimony

(for that which we have quoted is but a sample of

much more bearing upon the question), that the di-

minution of the flow of water in the river by the

irrigation of Colorado has worked. some detriment

to the southwestern part of Kansas, and yet, when

we compare the amount of this detriment with the

great benefit which has obviously resulted to the

counties in Colorado, it would seem that equality of

right and equity between two states forbids any in-

terference with the present withdrawal of water in

Colorado for purposes of irrigation.” a |)

No state can legislate for or-impose its own policy -

=

upon another state, nor can the decrees entered in one state

have any binding effect upon persons who were not parties

thereto.

Kansas v. Colorado, 206 U.S. 46.

Nebraska Inv. Co. v. Corlett (Wash.) 172 Pace.

851. 2

Savage v. Tacoma (Wash.) 112 Pac. 78.

Savage v. McCorkle (Ore.) 21 Pac. 444,

Carnes v. Dalton (Ore.) 110 Pac. 170.

Develpoment in Washington

51

In the Wyoming v. Colorado case, (at pp. 464, 465) this

court. in commenting on the Kansas v. Colorado case, used

the following language:

“* * * As respects the scope and interpreta-

tation of the ultimate conclusion in that case it

should be observed, first, that the court was there

concerned, as it said, with a controversy between two

States, ‘one recognizing general!y the common-law

rule of riparian rights’ and the other the doctrine

of appropriation; secondly, that the diversion com-

plained of was not to a watershed from which none

of the water could find its way into the complaining

State, but quite to the contrary; and _ thirdly,

that what the complaining State was seeking was

not to prevent a proposed diversion for the benefit

of lands as yet unreclaimed, but to interfere with a

diversion which had been practiced for years and

under which many thousands of acres of unoccupied

and barren lands had been reclaimed and made pro-

ductive. In these circumstances and after observing

that the diminution in the flow of the river had re-

sulted in ‘perceptible injury’ to portions of the valley

in Kansas, but in ‘little, if any, detriment’ to the

great body of the valley, the court said, ‘it would

seem equality of right and equity between the two

States forbids any interference with the present

withdrawal of water in Colorado for purposes of

irrigation;’ * * * What was there said about

‘eqality of right’ refers, as the opinion shows (p.

97), not to an equal division of the water but to the

equal level or plane on which all the States stand.

in point of power and right, under our constitutional!

System. * * *»”

THE FACTS

¢

Washington’s Exhibit No. 17 is a map of the area in-

volved in this litigation and shows the interrelated streams

PARE ON SOIT +

a

making up the Walla Walla River and available for the

irrigation of the lands involved in the controversy. The

City of Walla Walla is the center of a highly developed

agricultural area. (Stip. No. 3). There have grown up

in and about it such industries as its raw material and its

52

market can sustain. It must be quite evident that the

agricultural and industrial development of the area involved

has proceeded without regard to state lines. As this de-

velopment has progressed more lands have been made avail-

able for irrigation than the dependable water supply will

now adequately irrigate. Without protest, so far as the

record shows, the City of Walla Walla, Washington, went

into the State of Oregon at the headwaters of Mill Creek,

a tributary of the Walla Walla River, and secured for itself

a dependabie supply of water for domestic and culinary

uses. While this water right is not in controversy, the fact

of its development and use indicates that the State of

Oregon had permitted water from the available supply to

be taken, appropriated and used exclusively within the State

of Washington. At the same time this use was being de-

ve..ped along the Mill Creek branch of the Walla Walla

River, lands were being brought under cultivation along Mill

Creek and its tributaries. Coincident with this development

in the State of Washington farmers in the State of Oregon

were applying the waters of the Oregon tributaries to irti-

gable lands in that state. The two developments were coin-

cident. The City of Walla Walla wes the largest community

to grow out of the productivity of the cembined area. The

industries were largely centered there and the profits accru-

ing from the interchange of raw materials for merchandise

built up and developed that city. The record discloses n0

purpose, as this development proceeded, to devote water to

lands which would be taxable only within one State or the

—

53

other. Both communities were more interested in the bene-

fits accruing from the general development than from a

competitive effort to develop one community against another.

Development in Oregon

The record does not disclose whether, at some time

prior to the settlement of the Oregon area, the Little Walla

Walla River or the Tum-a-lum River was the main channel

through which the waters arising above the division of the

Walla Walla River into the Little Walla Walla and the

Tum-a-lum were carried north into Washington. Whatever

the fact may be in that particular, it is apparent from the

testimony that at least as early as 1880 the Tum-a-lum River

carried the principal flow of the water north across the

Washington line. All of the streams contributing to the

Walla Walla River are supplied in the main from the snow

falling during the winter period in the Blue Mountains.

With the warmer temperatures of spring these snows are

melted and the streams carrying off this water attain their

highest stream flow. As the temperature is variable. so the

stream siows are variable. They vary not only between the

spring and the summer, but they vary from day to day and

from month to month. Warm winds and sunshine give them a

large supply and colder weather shrinks them. The summer

rains covering 150 square miles of drainage area are gathered

into these streams and augment their flow.

An agricultural community cannot develop and main-

tain itself upon sporadic supplies of water. The farmer

must be able to place reasonable dependance upon the water

supply if he shall make the expenditures and put forth the

effort necessary to reap the harvest incident to the combi-

nation of the soil with the water. The evidence discloses

that the bed of the Tum-a-lum River in Oregon, lying be-

tween the Nursery Bridge in the NE', of the NW!, of

fhe

Ae BLIP TSE ILS TOOTS ee IMEI

a

| Dedbialseyridine

a eee. se

54

Section 1. Township 5 North, Range 35 East, and the McCoy

Bridge on the line between Sections 24 and 25, Township 6

North, Range. 35 East, varies in width from 150 to 1500

feet. and runs through cobble rocks underlain to great

depths with gravel. The evidence does not disclose whether

or not in this area of the river, during the low water period

and prior to irrigation or diversions, there moved anv sub-

stantial amount of surface water. It is conclusively shown,

however, that this channel is an extremely wasteful channel.

In order to avoid this waste and to make the waters of the

Tum-a-lum River available for use within the State of

Oregon the irrigators began as early as 1880 to put crude

and temporary dams across the channel of the river at the

Red Bridge in the SW', of the NE!, of Section 12, Town-

ship 5 North, Range 35 East, and thereby and thereafter

during periods of low water, diverted all of the waters of

the Walla Walla River into the channel of the Little Walla

Walla River, permitting to flow by said dain only that small

quantity of water necessary to supply the right of the East

Side ditch, which takes out of the river just below the dam.

This action upon the part of Oregon irrigators, at least

from 1880 until the date of the trial of this action, rendered

the channel of the Turn-a-lum River, between the Nursery

Bridge and the McCoy Bridge, dry. (Or. Abs. Froiseth, pp.

25, 26), Fee (id. pp. 40, 41), Alta Rogers (id. pp. 33, 34).

Elba Rogers (id. p. 28), Charles Schwald (id. pp. 32, 33),

Mason (id. p. 54), Burlingame (id. pp. 21, 22), Roeder (id.

p. 41), Perry (id. p. 47). The evidence is uncontradicted

that each year from 1880 to 1930, when the spring high

water ceased, the irrigators within the State of Oregon

continuously and without interruption and without protest,

appropriated to their use all of the flow of the Walla Walla

River arising above the Red Bridge.

55

Dr. Woodburn, a witness for the State of Washington,

(k. p. 441) in discussing this question testified:

“Q. And in the months of June, July and

August the stream between the Nursery Bridge and

the McCoy Bridge is naturally a falling stream,

isn’t it?

A. No, it has already fallen. There is no water

there.

Q. And would you consider it an economical

method of distribution of water to attempt to get 22

second feet down the Tum-a-lum Branch during June,

July and August?

A. Well, it isn’t a good irrigation canal if that

is what you mean. It is a natural stream bed, which

is broad in ‘spots, and the water would be somewhat

dispersed. It is not an ideal irrigation canal by a

long shot.”

. The use of the water in the State of Oregon was with

the knowledge of many of the irrigators within the State

of Washington. (Wash. Abs. pp. 41, 42, 52, 64, 67; Or.

Abs. p. 121). The testimony shows that as early as 1891

there was being irrigated from the Walla Walla River,

through the Little Walla Walla River, within the State of

Oregon something more than 2200 acres of land. (Stip.

No. 3). Whatever this amount of land was, the diversion

of the water of the Walla Walla River at the Red Bridge

was complete and continuous. The use may not have been

as economical as modern irrigation methods, in a developed

agricultural district, would dictate, but the fact remains that

all of the water was taken and that it did not during the

Same period, return directly to the channel of the Walla

Walla River through the Ford branch or the Crocket branch,

which are the channels which would have conducted any ex-

cess diversion back into the main river. (Wash. Ex. 17, Or.

TELE OLE NIT NGM

OE RAD a ra

ee PPO ELL TID lie PORT LY

Sere reece corey dae al : big Su

Abs. pp. 3, 7, 33, 34, 42, 48). The wastefulness of the channel

of the Tum-a-lum River between the Nursery Bridge and

the McCoy Bridge is illustrated by actual experiments set

forth in the record. Orin Bowman, a witness called by the

State of Oregon, (Or. Abs. 24), testified that he has had

charge of distributing the water for the Hudson Bay Canal

since 1920: that in 1928 there was turned over the dam at

the Red Bridge 25 c.f.s. of water, and that after forty-eight

hours this substantial quantity of water had not reached

the McCoy Bridge. W. C. Mason, deputy water master on

the Little Walla Walla River since 1923, (Or. Abs. pp. 54,

55) testified that on November 1, 1933, 21 c.f.s. was turned

past the dam and 25 feet was turned down on November

2nd, the following day, and that the waters so turned ran,

during the forty-eight hour period only one-half mile below

the Nursery Bridge. Aubrey E. Perry, an irrigation engineer

employed by Oregon, testified (Or. Abs. p. 48) that in 1928,

25 second feet was turned below the dam at the Red Bridge

and that at the end of three or four days none of this water

had reached the McCoy Bridge. Burlingame, a witness for

the State of Oregon, testified as follows:

“Q. Mr. Burlingame, the development there

upon Gardena, was that largely completed at the

time you left the company and got out of the com-

pany?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. And before the Gardena Farms District was

organized ?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. You left the company at the time the Gar-

dena Farms District was organized, did you?

A. No, sir.

Q. Before that?

A. Before that.

Q. Can you tell us when?

g

E

a-lum River for the purpose of making any

development there during the short season, the

months of July and August and late June?

A. Only what runs under the bridge there and

what comes through those ‘spring branches that run

to the headgate.

Q. Now, Mr. Burlingame, when you say what

water runs under the bridge you refer to that that

rises at the McCoy Bridge?

A. Yes.

Q. And when we refer to the springs you

mean Big Spring and East Spring?

A. Yes.

Q. Or the East Prong, called the East Little

Walla Walla in Washington, isn’t it?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. And there is a McEvoy Spring Branch that

runs in there too, is there not?

A. Well, there’s numerous springs that head in

above the headgate.

Q. Mr. Burlingame, do you know the first year

that rights up Yellowhawk and up Mill Creek were

shut off for the purpose of allowing the priority to

Gardena?

A. I know it was done, but I can’t remember

the date.

Q. Was that done before or after you left the

company do you recall?

A. I think it was done before.”

Dr. Woodbi rn testified that in June, 1932, he and Mr.

Humphrey were making a joint study of the stream and

a a al De”

i

58

that 20 ¢.f.s. of water passed the bridge but did not go

across the dry area, but might have gone under it. (Wash,

Abs. 142).

During the period when the channel of the Tum-a-lum

River trom the Nursery Bridge to the McCoy Bridge has

been dry after the recession of the high water, the earea

lving two miles to the south of the Washington-Oregon

State line has continued to produce a substantial amount of

water available for the irrigation of Washington lands.

Wash. Ex. 30, page 12, shows that in 1933, in July and

August, when the channel of the Tum-a-lum River had been

completely shut off at the Red Bridge, there was a flow

across the state line into Washington ot trom i2 to 22

second feet of water.

The foregoing recitals impel two conclusions: first, that

for more than fifty vears last past, during the summer

irrigation season, the Oregon irrigators have appropriated t¢

themselves all of the flow of the Walla Walla River at the

Red Bridge ai.d permitted none of it to go on down to Wash-

ington users: and second, that to permit quantities oi water

to flow past the Red Bridge during the low water stages ot

the river is wasteful and uneconomic. During the period

when Oregon was so diverting the water away from the Tum-

a-lum River, and into the Little Walla Walla fiver. the

State of Washington, as shown by the tabulation of the

decrees of the states of Washington and Oregon (Or. Abs.

9) and the stipulations on file herein, has continuously in-

creased its irrigated acreage at substantially the same rate

that Oregon has increased its irrigated areas. (Or. Hriet,

p. 16).

-

59

THE GARDENA FILING

On the 24th day of July, 1891, J. T. Kirk, J. F. Boyer

and W. F. Courtnay filed a notice of intention to appropriate

500 cubic feet per second ot time “of the waters of the

Walla Walla River now in said river at the place opposite

where this notice is posted.” (Stip. No. 5). Apparently

this notice lapsed or was subject to lapse, because of ‘failure

to begin work within the period provided by the law of the

State of Washington. Successive notices of intention te

appropriate water from the Walla Walla River were there-

after filed in February, 1892, end in July, 1892. Almost

immediately after the filing of these applications E. C.

Burlingame organized and became the head of the Walla

Walla Irrigation Company, which company succeeded to the

above mentioned applications, and proceeded to make sur-

veys, begin the construction of canals and ultimately to take

water from the Walla Walla River for irrigat‘on purposes. °

The original applications for the use of this water show

that the lands to be irrigated lie within the State of Wash-

ington and the State of Oregon and include large areas of

land unindentified except by township and range. (Stip. No.

5, Exs. “B”, “C” and “D’”). The main diversion canal took

out of the Walla Walla River, as shown upon Washington's

Ex. 17, at a point in the McBean Donation claim and below

the point where Stone Creek, Yellowhawk Cree: and the

East Little Walla Walla River flow into the main channel

of the Walla Walla River and continued Westerly o distance

of about twelve miles to a tract of some seven thousand

acres of land delineated upon Wash. Ix. 17 2s “Gardena

Tracts.” In 1928 an irrigation district was formed. under

the Washington law, known as the Gardena Farms District,

Which district acquired all of the water rights of the Walla

60

Walla Irrigation Company. During the period between 1892

and 1928 there was expended upon this project, as set torth

in Ix. “F” attached to Sitpulation No. 5, the sum ef $297...

0738.65. This development resulted in the awarding by the

Washington court, to said Walla Walla Irrigation Company

and its successors, the Gardena Farms District. a wate

right on the Walla Walla River with a priority of 1892; wut

which priority had certain marked limitations. This certifi-

cate of water right was granted in an action entitled, “State

of Washington, Plaintiff v. Charles Ackerson, et al, Defen-

dants,” filed in the Superior Court of the State of Washing.

ton for the County of Walla Walla. (Stip. No. 5, Ex. “A”)

(Wash. Ex. 11, page 69). This water right is set forth in

the decree (Wash. Ex. 11. pp. 76 and 146) as follows :

“*That claimant’s 5,000 acres of land, which

was the amount irrigated at the time of the hearing

of the claim of said Walla Walla Irrigation Com-

pany before the referee, to wit: on the 29th day of

March, 1926, is entitled to the use of water to the

extent of 66.67 cu. ft. per second from April Ist td

July Ist; 50 cu. ft. per second from July ist to

October Ist, and 1 cu. ft. per second for each 50

acres of land for winter irrigation; provided, that

from and:after said 29th day of March, 1926, the

remaining lands susceptible to irrigation which may

in the future be developed, shall be entitled to a

quantity of water for irrigation at the rate herein

allotted, as said lands may be brought into cultiva-

tion from time to time until a maximum wf 7,000'

acres are developed and the maximum ef water here

in awarded is used; and that the amount of land to

which this claimant is entitled to water under the

above provision shall be determined at the beginning

of the spring irrigation season each year, by the

State Supervisor of Hydraulics.’ ”

61

XK

Paragraph 14 of the decree at page 146, provides:

““That « superior right on the Walla Walla river

or any of its tributaries runs. against all inferior

rights on the tributary to which said right is at-

tached as well as against all inferior rights on tribu-

taries entering the stream above the point of diver-

sion of such right except that prior ckass rights of

the Walla Walla Irrigation Company will not run

against inferior class rights on either Mil] Creek or

Garrison Creek by conveyance of water through

Yellowhawk Creek, nor will the prior class rights of

the Attalia Irrigation District run against inferior

class rights for lands located in the Walla Walla

valley. A superior right does not run against in-

ferioy rights on other tributaries that entey the

stream below the point of diversion of said superior

right.’ ”

On pages 72, 73, and 74 of that decree, under class 30,

with 1892 priority, are claims Nos. 588. 590, 591, 592, 594.

a

611, 614, 615, 617, 624. 606, 607, 608. 609. 610 and 619 (a

total of 1,095 acres), followed by a note on page 74 which

refers to ¢hese proof numbers and says:

“NOTE: By virtue of the decree in the case of

the Lowden Company et al. v. The Walla Walla Irri-

gation Company, records of this court, all rights of

the above named claimants in this class taking water

from the Walla Walla river are prior to that of the

Walla ‘Walla Irrigation Company given in Class 30."

In Class 31> under priority of 1893. on pages 77, 78.

of that decree, are found proof numbers 583° and 599

for a total of 388.96 acres. And following them is 4 note

Which reads as follows:

“NOTE: Under provisions of the decree iy the

case of the Lowden Company et al. vy. The Walla

62

Walla Irrigation Company, records of this court, all

the above lands included in this class taking water

from the Wall: Walla river are entitled to a priority

over the lands included in the claim of the Walla

Walla Irrigation Company.”

To this action the State of Oregon was not a party

and no irrigator within the State of Oregon was a party.

The record shows that the development of the Gardena

project beginning in 1892 was slow and intermittent. (Stip.

No. 5). It was financed in two ways: First, by the e:fort

of Mr. Burlingame, its head, and second, by the sale of stock.

The evidence shows without dispute that from 1892 to the

year 1930, there was no ‘dlaim of right and no exercise of

a right to have the Oregon irrigators, after the period when

the flow of the stream had so receded that all of it was

diverted to supply the Oregon requirements, turn water

past the Red bridge for use within the State of Washington. -

Coincident with the development of Gardena, and after

1911, Burlingame, (Or. Abs. p. 21) the President and large

owner of the Walla Walla Irrigation Company, wes also

interested in and operating another - canal beginning at a

point in the Siate of Oregon on the Tum-a-lum River below

the Red Bridge. This development was the Hudson bay

Canal, which runs west from the point of diversion for a

distance of substantially ten miles. The Hudson Bay right

: .

it

in the Oregon decrees is given a priority of 1905. it Is

based upon the right of the Hudson Bay Company to have

the use, during the winter and early season, of the water

of the Tum-a-lum River. The water if so usea is in deroga-

tion of the right of the Walla Walla Irrigation Company

to have water tlow down the Tum-a-lum to supply the uses

under the Gardena appropriation. At no time did the Walla

63

Walla Irrigation Company deny the right of the Hudson Bay

Company to take into its canal the quantity of water de-

creed to it under the Oregon decrees. Mr. Burlingame was

for a long period in charge of both companies at the same

time. This conduct upon the part of Burlingeme impels

but one conclusion—that never at any time after the original

appropriation of 1892 did the Walla Walla Irrigation Com-

pany rely upon or claim right to the use of the waters

of the Walla Walla River above the Red Bridge. The Hudson

Bay right is a secondary right. The record shows that

upon the recession of the high waters, the Hudson Bay use

is discontinued. (Wash. Ex. 27). In this connection it is

further significant that during the period of high water the

Washington users do not need to impinge upon the Oregon

uses. (Barney, Wash. Abs. 36: Wash. Ex. 27, Wash. Ex.

18 p. 11 et seq., p. 120 et seq.).

The evidence shows that during the years 1929, 1930,

1931, 1932 and 1933 when the Washingtor Water Master

began the regulation of wzter within the State of Wash-

ington and shut off Washington appropriators with priorities

subsequent to 1892 the Iludson Bay Ditch was substantially

dry and the Gardena Canal was stil] getting practically its

decreed amount. In other words, when the Gardena project

was short of water the Hudson Bay Company had been cut

down to 2 point where its draft upon the river was negligibie.

Bowman testified (R. p. 516) that in 1919 he went to

work for the Milton-Freewater and Hudson Bay Irrigation

Company: that in 1920 a headgate was constructed in the

channel of the Tum-s-lum River under the direction of Carl

Hartvedt, Superintendent of the Gardena project. which

headgate was designed to divert the waters of the Tum-a-lum

River into the Hudson Bay Canal. This of course was ample

3

Zz

*

ie

64

notice of the intention of the Hudson Bay Company to take

the water and that it was taken with the knowledge and

consent of the Walla Walla Irrigation Company.

The high water in the Washington tributaries to the

Walla Walla River during the period of flush flow was suffi-

cient to supply the demands of all of the Washington users,

and after the secondary rights on the Oregon side were all

shut off, the Washington users were still unregulated and

using such quantity of water as their necessities might

dictate. (Barney, Wash. Abs. 36, Wash. Ex. 27, Wash. Ex.

18, p. 11 et seq., D. 120 et seq.). There can be no question

but that through all the years from 1892 until 1930, Bur-

lingame, President of the Walla Walla Irrigation Company,

knew that when the waters receded from their spring flow,

the Oregon users appropriated the entire stream. When,

on the 24th of July, 1891, Mr. Kirk, Mr. Boyer and Mr.

Courtnay posted their notice of intention to appropriate,

the entire flow of the Walla Walla River in the State of

Oregon above the Red Bridge had been diverted into the

Little Walla Walla River and was not then passing the

point where the notice was posted and never thereafter

passed or {lowed to that point of diversion during the months

of late June, July and August. In 1939 we have evidence

of the first claim upon the part of the State of Washington

or its irrigators that the conduct of the State of Oregon,

in the complete and exclusive use, during the summer season,

of that part of the Walla Walla River flowing above the

Red Bridge, is in derogation of the rights ot W @shington

irrigators. Wash. Ex. 24, a telegram from the State Engi-

neer of the State of Washington to the State Engineer of

‘

Oregon, reads as follows:

65

“April 23, 1930.

Rhe Luper, State Engineer

Salem, Oregon

Just advised entire Walla Walla River being

diverted at Freewater.

Charles J. Bartholet.”

On the same day a telegram, Wash. Ex. 25, was sent as

follows:

| “Rhea Luper

| Salem, Oregon

Will you take steps to enforce a more economic

use of water from Walla Walla River in Milton and

Freewater sections or cause a regulation which will

give Washington water users waters to which they

claim they are entitled Stop Complaint comes from

Water Master and Walla Walla Irrigation District.

Charles J. Bartholet.”

To this the State Engineer of the State of Oregon replied on

April 24, 1930, Wash. Ex. 26:

“Believe it has always been customary to divert

in Oregon the entire flow of the Walla Walla

River. After such diversion. return seepage has sup-

plied the Washington side. We have no authority

| Without court order or compact to recognize rights

| . outside of State.

Rhea Luper, State Engineer.”

| It is significant that as late as 1930 the State Engineer

| of the State of Washington, in charge in that state of the

distribution of waters, and particularly of the Gardena Farms

District, should wire to the State ef Oregon, not to claim a

priority for the Garc ‘na lands, but to insist upon a more

economic use of the waters by the irrigators within the

State of Oregon. (Barney, Wash. Abs. 39).

PO DP TONO

~~

|Z PE ROTA WT

When on April 25, 1930. the first of the above tele-

grams Was sent, the Gardena Canal had been receiving since

April 1, 116 ¢.f.s. of water under a decree allowing it but

66.67 c.f.s. during this period, and on April 22nd, the day

before that telegram was sent, the amount of water the

Gardena Canal was receiving had been reduced to 62% c¢.t.s.,

| an amount still near its decreed right. (Barney, Wash.

Abs. 39, Wash. Ex. 18, p. 21). In 1930 the Washington

water master, Barney, did not begin to regulate Washington

users until June 10th and did not close all rights with

priorities subsequent to 1892 until July 6th. (Wash. Ex.

27).

Notwithstanding the fact that the State of Washington

now contends that at all times the State of Oregon has

diverted waters from the Walla Walla River to which its

users, and particularly the Walla Walla Irrigation Company,

were entitled, the Walla Walla Irrigation Company, needing

additional water, spent during the years 1910, 1911 and 1912,

the sum of $56,451.18 to secure sewage water from the

City of Walla Walla for the irrigation of its lands, and

during the years 1905, 1909, 1910, 1913, 1914 and 1925

spent approximately $10,000 in drilling wells in search of a

new water supply. So far as the evidence shows, during all

of this period until 1930, on no occasion did the State of

Washington or any of its irrigators assert a claim to, or

make an effort to secure, the use of waters arising above

the Red Bridge during the low water period.

Paragraph II of Stipulation No. 3 indicates that the

rights of the Milton-Freewater and Hudson Bay Company

and of the Gardena project have been recognized as inade-

quate for summer irrigation. Each Ccempany has resorted

to winter irrigation in order to provide against summer

: eh

mn we

: “

67

water shortage. The Washington court decreed to Gardena

a winter irrigation right of fifty second feet of water. This

practice must result from the fact that other claimants

have exercised the right to the prior use of the water dur-

ing the irrigation season.

In 1891 the law of the State of Washington controlling

the appropriation of waters contained the following pro-

visions:

“*(2) Notice of Appropriation. Any person,

persons, corporation or association desiring to ap-

propriate water must post a notice in writing in a

conspicuous place at the point of intended storage

or diversion, stating therein: (1) That such appro-

priator claims the water there lying, being or flow-

ing to the extent of one cubic foot of water per sec-

ond of time, or some multiple or some fractional

portion thereof; (2) The purpose for which said

water is appropriated and the place or places, as near

as may be, of intended use; (3) the means by which

it is intended to store or divert the same; (4) a copy

of the notice must, within ten days after it is posted,

be filed for record in the office of the county auditor

of the county in which it is posted. (L. 1891, p. 327,

Sec. 2; Rem.—BEal., Sec. 6317.)

see

(3) Construction of Works, When to Begin.

If said use is by storage, the appropriator must,

within three months after the notice is posted, com-

mence the construction of the works by which it is

intended to store the same. If said use is by diver-

Sion, the appropriator must, within six months after

the notice is posted, commence the excavation or con-

struction of the works by which it is intended to

divert the same; it being herein expressly provided

that such works must be diligently and continuously

prosecuted to completion, unless temporarily inter-

rupted by the elements. (L. 1891, p. 328, Sec. 3;

Rem.—Bal., Sec. 6318.)

+ Te RRR

Deltas te

ict Bic SS ac IOGEAR NES

i AMES GALLE S

My et ey eed

.

ES neste LE = RAE Ts,

68

***(4) Veined’ Right—Forfeiture by Non-Compli-

ance. ‘By a strict compliance with the above rules,

the appropriator’s right to the use of the water

actually stored or diverted relates back to the time

the notice was posted; but a ‘ailure to comply there-

with deprives the appropriator of the right to the use

of the water as against a subsequent appropriator

who faithfully complies with the same. (L. 1891, p.

328, Sec. 4; Rem.—Bal., Sec. 6319.)’”

As shown by Ex. No. 5, in 1898 the Walia Walla lrriga-

tion Company began the sale of stock entitling the holder

to the use of water and continued the sale ot such stock

until the year 1930. This stock entitled its owner to a pro

rata share of the water belonging to the Company. During

the entire period no water user was delivered any water

arising on the Oregon side above the Red Bridge when the

water so arising was necessary to meet the requirements of

Oregon users. Instead of resorting to their claim against

Oregon, the Company first secured the right to the use of

the sewage water of the City of Walla Walla and then under-

took to increase its water supply by the drilling of wells.

In 1917 the Public Service Commission of the State of

- Washington appointed Hartvedt to take charge in their be-

half of the Walla Walla Irrigation project. (Wash. Abs.

page 69). At that time water stock had been issued fer

2245 acres of land. (Wash. Abs. 70). This stock so issued

was given a preferential right, and called Class “A” stock.

Stock thereafter issued was denominated Class “B” stock,

and such Class “B” stock had a right secondary to Class

“A” stock. This action of the State of Washington, through

one of its instrumentalities, is significant. Without calling

for water from the Staie of Oregon it then recognized an

inadequate right for this project—a high water or flood

69

right as to all lands in excess of 2245 acres. (Wash. Abs.

page 70).

This conduct seems entirely inconsistent with the present

claim made by the plaintiff state. The complaint in this

case alleges and by stipulation it is agreed, that during the

past eight or ten years there has been a marked shortage of

water in the Walla Walla River and its tributaries. With

the failure of the sewage supply and the failure of the wells

to produce and the shortage of the water in the water shed

generally, the State of Washington, for the first time in

1930 made its demand upon the State of Oregon for an

economical use of waters within that state.

A water right is finally perfected and fixed by the ap- .

plication of the water sought to be appropriated to a benefi-

cial use. The following cases and texts set forth the law

upon this subject:

In re Water Rights in Silvies River, 237 Pac. (O» )

322, 336.

“As a general rule, to constitute a valid appropri-

ation of water, three elements must exist: (1) An

intent to apply it to a beneficial use, existing at the

time or contemplated in the future; (2) a diversion

from the natural channel by means of a ditch, canal,

or other structure; and (3) an application of it with-

in a reasonable time to some useful industry.”

Sowards v. Meagher, 108 Pac. (Ut.) 1112, 1116:

“The three principal elements to constitute a

valid appropriation of water, and, as stated by the

court in the case of Low v. Rizor, 25 Or. 557, 37

Pac. 82, and approved by the same court in the case

of the Nevada Ditch Co. v. Bennett, 30 Or. 59, 45

Pac. 472, 60 Am. St. Rep. 777, are: ‘(1) An intent

to apply it to some bneficial use; (2) a diversion

from the natural channel by means of a ditch, canal,

70

or other structure, and (3) an application of it within

a reasonable time to some useful industry.’ ”’

Continuing in this case, the court uses this language; (p,

1117):

“Whatever else is required to be or is done,

until the actual application of the water is made for

a beneficial purpose, no valid appropriation has been

effected. This was. so before the statute, and it is still

so under the statute. The filing of the application

with the state engineer, as required by the statute does

not establish an appropriation of water. It Lut takes

the place of, and is, the preliminary notice of intention

to appropriate. Unless the construction of the works

are commenced and completed within the time al-

lowed by the engineer, and the water diverted and

applied to the veneficial purpose of the proposed ap-

propriation the filing of the application is for naught,

and no completed valid appropriation has been made.”

Sander Vv. Bull, 135 Pac. (Wash.) 489, 491:

“Appropriation of water consists in an intention

to appropriate followed by reasonable diligence in

applying the water to a beneficial use.”

In re Water Rights in Alpowa Creek, etc., 224 Pac.

(Wash.) 29, 31:

“An appropriation of water consists of an inten-

tion to appropriate followed by a reasonable diligence

in applying the water to a beneficial use.”

Kendall v. Joyce, 93 Pac. (Wash.) 1091.

In this case the court holds that one who, at a time

when the law did not authorize it, tiled a notice with the

~ auditor of the county reciting that he claimed 500 inches

of water from a stream at a certain point and an additional

‘

o——

500 inches at a certain other point, but did not divert the

water and apply the same to beneficial use within a reason-

able time, acquired no rights.

Wrathall v. Johnson, 40 Pac. (2d) (Ut.) 755, 783:

“Essential to the appropriation is that of use.

An appropriation is the act of turning, setting aside,

taking possession of, or applying te a particular use

a definitely ascertained quantity of water to a par-

ticular and beneficial purpose.”

67 C. J. page 982:

“The right initiated by notice is an inchoate

right until perfected. This inchoate right may be lost

by failure to perfect or by abandonment.”

Wiel’s Water Rights in the Western States, Third Edi-

tion, Vol. 1, page 406:

“Sec. 376. NOTICE ALONE NOT ENOUGH —

It need hardly be said that merely posting a notice is

not enough unless the other requisites of a bona fide

intent, diligence and completion, are also complied

with. It is well settled that the posting of a notice

gives no rights if the other requisites are not com-

plied with.”

Id. P. 430:

“* * * and this has been followed generally

in the desert States and became the accepted form of

statement, viz., that there can be no appropriation

until the actual use is made.’

Note, P. 430:

““The final step, and the most essential element,

to constitute a completed valid appropriation of water,

is the application of it to a beneficial purpose. What-

ever else is required to be or is done, until the actual:

72

application of the water is made for a Dbeneficia]

purpose, no valid appropriation has been effected,’

Sowards v. Meagher (Utah, 1910), 108 Pac. 1113.

Hagerman Co. v. McMurray (N. M.), 113 Pac. 823.”

During the period after the recession of the high waters

in the tributaries of the Walla Walla River, none of the

waters arising above the Red Bridge were ever applied to

a beneficial use within the State of Washington. ‘The record

further shows, as herein elsewhere cited, that quantities of

water as much as 25 second teet, half of the Gardena right

after July lst, turned over the da

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.