Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Chicago Title Insurance Corp. v. Magnuson (No. 07-649)

Supreme Court brief2007

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

—— EST aT - wes =e —

AV p> “==

No. 07-___ 07-649 NOV 1 4 2007

IN THE OFFICE OF THE OLERK

Supreme Court of the United States

CHICAGO TITLE INSURANCE CORP.,

Petitioner,

Vy.

FIRST AMERICAN TITLE INSURANCE Co.

AND JAMES A. MAGNUSON,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SiXTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

STEVEN A. GOLDFARB LAURENCE H. TRIBE

HAHN LOESER & PARKS, LLP Counsel of Record

200 Public Square, Suite 3300 Hauser Hall 420

Cleveland, Ohio 44114 1575 Massachusetts Avenue

(216) 621-0150 Cambridge, MA 02138

(617) 495-4621

JONATHAN S. MASSEY

JONATHAN S. MASSEY, PC

7504 Oldchester Road

Bethesda, MD 20817

(301) 915-0990

November 2007

SANNA eS IE iG SIREN AO AMELIE BEN EDIE ASCOT A OSE, SAME IR FOES ALITA A: APIA BEE

BATEMAN & SLADE, [NC BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

This punitive damages case presents three

questions relating to the due process “guideposts” of

BMW of North America, Inc. v. Gore, 517 U.S. 559

(1995), and State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance

Company v. Campbell, 538 U.S. 408 (2003).

1. Whether the due process guideposts govern

only the size of punitive damages awards, or whether

— despite this Court’s overruling of Lochner v. New

York, 198 U.S. 45 (1905) — the guideposts also

license federal judicial interference with a State’s

considered judgment that certain types of misconduct

are so egregious as to warrant punitive liability in the

first instance.

2. Whether the “reprehensibility” guidepost of

Gore and State Farm can support an assessment of

punitive damages when the defendant’s tortious

conduct was malicious, or whether that guidepost

requires a showing of an additional aggravating

factor, such as the financial vulnerability of the

plaintiff or the risk of physical harm.

3. Whether a defendant qualifies as a “repeated

wrongdoer” (for purposes of the “reprehensibility”

guidepost of Gore and State Farm) if it commits

multiple reprehensible acts within a_ single

transaction with the plaintiff, or whether the

“repeated wrongdoer” test requires that additional

acts be committed against parties other than the

plaintiff.

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW

The parties to the proceeding are listed in the

caption.

ili

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

Petitioner Chicago Title Insurance Corporation

(actual name: Chicago Title Insurance Company)

states that it is a wholly owned subsidiary of Chicago

Title & Trust Company, which is a wholly owned

subsidiary of Fidelity National Financial, Inc., a

publicly held company.

1V

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED coccccccccccsccsscsesdcccssscoccseees i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW ........ ii

AFAde BEAD PRP RMRIIMIT AE sessececveesccoverseesscereeceeresennes ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES. ........0.ccccscccscccccssssesssees vil

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI .......... 1

I PON ites secsicksnnsdensnnisinectevsntileverstoomens 1

PR TIINEET,. ssttictstemictinanssaitsedensuiniinasivinceennttcieceve 1

RELEVANT CONSTITUTIONAL AND

STATUTORY PROV ISIOING oseccecescseessesesescosscess 1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE uu... ceceeeeeeeees 1

1. ei ld sabalibaenieal 4

2. The Court of Appeals’ Decision. ......... 6

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ............... 7

I. THE SIXTH CIRCUIT'S

JUDGMENT CONFLICTS WITH

DECISIONS LIMITING THE

GORE FACTORS TO AN

ASSESSMENT OF THE SIZE,

NOT THE FACT, OF A

PUNITIVE ASSESSMENT. ............... 9

Vv

A. The Sixth Circuit’s

Judgment Conflicts With

Decisions Of This Court

Regarding The Nature Of

The Gore Guideposts. ............... 9

B. The Sixth Circuit’s Decision

Represents A Return To

Es vcinthcitivinnsinwistec 11

C. The Court’s Grant of

Certiorari In Exxon

Shipping Heightens The

Need For Review Here. .......... 15

THE SIXTH CIRCUITS

JUDGMENT CONFLICTS WITH

DECISIONS FINDING THAT

MALICIOUS CONDUCT ALONE

ESTABLISHES SUFFICIENT

REPREHENSIBILITY TO

UPHOLD PUNITIVE DAMAGES

PSE MITE LEDs scccéosacssencisrssveceresenece 17

A. The Sixth Circuit’s

Judgment Conflicts With

Decisions of This Court. ......... 17

B. The Sixth Circuit’s

Judgment Conflicts With

Decisions Of Other Courts. .... 21

C. The Sixth Circuit’s Decision

Involves An Important

Question of Law. .................... 30

vl

III. REVIEW IS NEEDED TO

CLARIFY WHETHER A

DEFENDANT QUALIFIES AS A

“REPEATED WRONGDOER’” BY

COMMITTING MULTIPLE

REPREHENSIBLE ACTS

WITHIN THE SINGLE

TRANSACTION WITH THE

CET s. shastcdersennivienteersianeneiiniin 32

GME setisdcerncnessinvetninienreciebioncientounntetentetes 36

APPENDIX:

Appendix A: Opinion of the U.S. Court of

Appeals for the Sixth Circuit dated

Siilee SUEY siteskcesicticcaniaisiesniciiearectianuaanion la

Appendix B: Opinion of the U.S. District

Court for the Southern District of Ohio

dated September 26, 2005 ........... ee 30a

Appendix C: Order of the U.S. Court of

Appeals for the Sixth Circuit dated

PE 5 FIT kntaiitisiceanannn 114a

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

FEDERAL CASES:

BMW of North America, Inc. v. Gore,

ee Eee ee iswindcinsetistiacisasscesnniiibienia passim

CGB Occupational Therapy, Inc. v. RHA Health

Servs., 499 F.3d 184 (CA3 2007)..................008 33

Cooper Indus. Inc. v. Leatherman Tool Group, Inc.,

Pe RFs Me GIR Pep iedicintohssipuncimnincerionernasns 12, 23

Diesel Mach., Inc. v. B.R. Lee Indus., Inc.,

EUS FBG G20 (CAB BD) encecccvccccccccsevcescccesescepsee 24

Eden Elec., Ltd. v. Amana Co.,

370 F.3d 824 (CA8 2004), cert. denied,

ee Fe I anitsndnnesicescsiinesvnsicaniparncctode 24

In re Exxon Valdez,

296 F. Supp. 2d 1071 (D. Alaska 2004),

vacated and remanded, 472 F.3d 600

(CAY9 2006), as amended, 490 F.3d 1066,

COTE. BPGNIO CO. GT-BID) ..cccccececieincsseseceseseevnness 27

In re John Richards Homes Bldg. Co.,

291 B.R. 727 (E.D. Mich. 2003)......................08 27

Kemezy v. Peters,

Oe a EE BD iaticndcdebectertncecccateccerseninnts 31

Kolstad v. American Dental! Ass’n,

yh ik & 1 SRR errr AnEe ae 2k, 31

Vill

Lee v. Edwards,

BOE F re CARS SOUP ese pccvenisssvssssnnsvbnctseicieets 33

Lochner v. New York,

Se Oi Be Ci iaseededitctiennsescisten i, 2, 4, 8, 11,13

Mathias v. Accor Econ. Lodging, Inc.,

SET Fe OTE GAT BO scstti pisercessemisericrrcsaens 23

Motorola Credit Corp. v. Uzan,

SO FBG TO (GAZ DIO]) srciescocrvesvsissavossoteoesesnaveny 22

Pacific Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. Haslip,

Ge Tie. Fe ei tititianeeccedniasce 13

Philip Morris USA v. Williams,

127 S. Ct. 1057 (2007)..............+. 11, 12, 13, 35, 36

Planned Parenthood of Columbia/Willamette Inc. v.

Am. Coalition of Life Activists,

422 F.3d GES (CAD DIGG) ccccicccosorcscssccevccvesss 24, 33

Rhone-Poulenc Agro, S.A. v. DeKalb Genetics Corp.,

345 F.3d 1366 (Fed. Cir. 20038)...............00+ 21-22

Safeco Ins. Co. of America v. Burr,

TF Ee, Sk CE I ivikorictaccisendiccanactiecmicten 32

Smith v. Wade,

GE TFB, FO LT cascentasscsinccansccetinsintiases 14, 20-21

Southern Union Co. v. Southwest Gas Corp.,

415 F.3d 1001 (CA 9 2006) ....ccnvecccocrrcorssesscosseees 33

—————————

ix

State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance

Company v. Campbell,

ee Fi OP CI ccvnccencoeceseveseeseseveveecesecere passim

TXO Prod. Corp. v. Alliance Res. Corp.,

509 U.S. 443 (19938)...........sccsseee 12, 13, 19, 30, 34

Williams v. Kaufman County,

Be BE GOS (CAD BOGS) coccsscessvesssevevsseesssceesesere 10

Willow Inn, Inc. v. Pub. Serv. Mut. Ins. Co.,

Be Be CUR BOG) cccenessocoveevaseseesseccceseesess 23

Zaza Designs v. L'Oréal, S.A.,

BTS B.A GB0 (CAT GOD) ....0sccceresessrecesssssessenseese 31

STATE CASES:

Borne v. Haverhill Golf & Country Club, Inc.,

791 N.E.2d 903 (Mass. App. 2003)..............00 27

Bright v. Addison,

171 S.W.3d 588 (Tex. Ct. App. 2005,

odie a Nivrecaeswerbeveseveserevesereees 27

Casciola v. F.S. Air Serv., Inc.,

120 F.3d 1059 (Alaska 2005) .................ceccccsceees 25

Century Surety Co. v. Polisso,

43 Cal. Rptr. 3d 468 (Cal. Ct. App. 2006)......... 34

Employees’ Benefit Ass’n v. Grissett,

py 25

x

Hayes Sight & Sound, Inc. v. ONEOK, Inc.,

Be Ee Ge CI, Bi sictnrvivcvasecsccviiictcsvenines 34

Mission Res., Inc. v. Garza Energy Trust,

166 S.W.3d 301 (Tex. Ct. App. 2005,

fe RRR Ce NCTA Te UN ND ELDER RT 26

Simon v. San Paolo U.S. Holding Co.,

113 P.3d 63 (Cal. 2005), cert. denied,

Rr ee ee eb iedaticiteidacaicttinininenapanteniindininis 25

Superior Fed. Bank. v. Jones & Mackey Constr.

Co., 219 S.W.3d 643 (Ark. Ct. App. 2005)......... 33

FEDERAL STATUTES:

aks Oe IEE winccsinicanunitensiniciccpeinceniapienial 32

Be eae ae INI wisinsiviiceiserveinnianinenndecenniewteamiaiiainin 32

ee Oe Re ici crriticnstteniessavoackseessenbenicdaniermuldelin 1

Fe ee SEE) cite ttieasincintiincmnvennentianion 31

Be Se ID iaitis terssteesirncinididesacndnaina 32

STATE STATUTES:

Ohio Rev. Code. Ann. § 2315.21(C)(1) woe eee eeeeeees 9

xl

OTHER AUTHORITIES:

A. Mitchell Polinsky & Steven Shavell,

Punitive Damages: An Economic Analysis,

111 Harv. L. Rev. 869 (1998)................ccssssscseses 31

Andrew C.W. Lund, The Road From Nowhere?

Punitive Damage Ratios After BMW v.

Gore and State Farm v. Campbell, 20

POUTO Le. Bev. OES (ZIG)... crccccerecerescescesedessoss 28-29

Erwin Chemerinsky, More Questions About

Punitive Damages, 43 Trial 72 (May 2007)...... 35

George L. Priest, Punitive Damages Reform:

The Case of Alabama, 56 Ala. L. Rev. 825

I eciccaci andsababacehlit tectonics Pade disagstogsebnckasiseds 29

Jeff Bleich, et al., Philip Morris Provides Yet

Another Chapter in the Ongoing Saga of

Punitive Damages in the U.S. Supreme

Court, 67 Or. St. B. Bull. 24 (2007)... 35

Jeffrey R. White, State Farm and Punitive

Damages: Call the Jury Back, 5 J. High

Be Be Be hic sikddcscakcemcicticuetenavbicoxtonien 29

Jenny Jiang, Comment, Whimsical

Punishment: The Vice of Federal

Intervention, Constitutionalization, and

Substantive Due Process in Punitive

Damages Law, 94 Cal. L. Rev. 793 (2006)........ 28

Xli

John Zenneth Lagrow, BMW of North America,

Inc. v. Gore: Due Process Protection

Against Excessive Punitive Damages

Awards, 32 New Eng. L. Rev. 157 (1997).......... 28

Mark K. Moller, Introduction, 2007 Cato Sup.

I Weise nthntacbacisiniinscindvescbaeiucudllbsancians axeiaees 35

Michael I. Krauss, Punitive Damages And The

Supreme Court: A Tragedy In Five Acts,

2007 Cato Sup. Ct. Rev. 316.......0ccccccsssseessevsssees 35

Neil B. Stekloff, Note and Comment, Raising

Five Eyebrows: Substantive Due Process

Review of Punitive Damages Awards After

BMW v. Gore, 29 Conn. L. Rev. 1797 (1997) .... 29

Nitin Sud, Punitive Damages: Achieving

Fairness and Consistency After State Farm

v. Campbell, 72 Def. Couns. J. 67 (2005).......... 29

Robert L. McFarland, BMW v. Gore: Ten Years

Later, 68 Ala. Law. 126 (Mar. 2007)

Stephanie L. Nagel, BMW v. Gore: The United

States Supreme Court Overturns an Award

of Punitive Damages as Violative of the

Due Process Clause of the Constitution, 71

Sk Oy ER sisi dds tice cdetsasasersenccensszess 29

Steven Chanenson & John Yotanda, The Foggy

Road for Evaluating Punitive Damages:

Lifting the Haze From the BMW/State

Farm Guideposts, 37 U. Mich. J.L. Reform

I a iii cancoiices neice Agsacubamsedaceasaicoiens tee: 28

1

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner Chicago Title Insurance Corporation

(“Chicago Title”) respectfully petitions for a writ of

certiorari to review the judgment of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Sixth Circuit’s opinion (Pet. App. la-29a) is

published at 487 F.3d 985 (CA6 2007). The opinion of

the district court (Pet. App. 30a-113a) is not

published but may be found at 2005 U.S. Dist. LEXIS

43884.

JURISDICTION

The Court of Appeals deni~* a timely petition for

rehearing and rehearing en banc on September 7,

2007. Pet. App. 114a-115a. This Court has

jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

RELEVANT CONSTITUTIONAL AND

STATUTORY PROVISIONS

The Fifth Amendment provides in relevant part:

“No person shall be . . . deprived of life, liberty, or

property, without due process of law.” The

Fourteenth Amendment provides in relevant part:

“(Nlor shall any State deprive any person of life,

liberty, or property, without due process of law.”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In BMW of North America, Inc. v. Gore, 517 U.S.

559 (1995), and State Farm Mutual Automobile

Insurance Company v. Campbell, 538 U.S. 408 (2003),

this Court articulated three “guideposts” for judicial

review of the size of punitive damages awards: the

2

reprehensible nature of the defendant’s conduct, the

ratio between punitive damages and the compensable

harm, and a consideration of similar civil and

criminal penalties. This case presents the

fundamental question whether the guideposts

authorize the federal courts not merely to ensure that

the size of an award comports with due process, but

also to prevent a State from enforcing its own statute

imposing punitive liability un certain categories of

misconduct in the first place. In addition, this case

presents two further questions regarding the

meaning of the first (and most important) Gore

guidepost, reprehensibility.

The Sixth Circuit acknowledged that there was

ample evidence that the defendant in this case acted

intentionally and “with malice” (Pet. App. 28a) to

inflict substantial economic injury on the plaintiff.

Yet the Sixth Circuit held that the Gore factors

precluded the imposition of any punitive damages in

cases such as this, where “there were no physical

injuries or threat to personal safety” and where the

plaintiff “was not a financially vulnerable victim.” Id.

The Sixth Circuit’s decision inexplicably converts

the multi-factor Gore analysis, which courts have

heretofore properly confined to a review of the

potential excessiveness of a particular punitive award

on the record and instructions in a specific case, into

a new substantive due process standard for deciding

which sorts of conduct categorically may be made

subject to any punitive damages at all. The Sixth

Circuit’s invocation of due process to prevent Ohio

from punishing the business tort in this case does not

invoke Lochner explicitly but is thinly veiled

Lochnerism nonetheless. It amounts to federal

3

judicial interference with the considered judgment of

the State of Ohio that the kind of misconduct at issue

here is so egregious that it warrants at least some

level of deterrence and punishment through the

mechanism of punitive damages.

Having radically transformed this Court’s test for

reviewing the size of particular damages awards into

a basis for trumping the substantive law of Ohio, the

Sixth Circuit compounded its misuse of the

reprehensibility guidepost by construing it to bar a

State from identifying cases involving malicious and

intentional torts as eligible for punitive damages

unless the defendant has caused “physical injuries or

ja] threat to personal safety,” or the plaintiff is “a

financially vulnerable victim.” Pet. App. 28a. Thus,

the effect of the decision below is to render business

tort cases and cases arising in many statutory

contexts ineligible for punitive damages liability in

the Sixth Circuit, as a matter of federal constitutional

law — even when long-settled state law would entitle

a plaintiff to recover them. Such a restriction on the

authority of States — and, presumably, Congress as

well — to select cases of intentional and malicious

wrongdoing for prevention and punishment through

punitive damages liability is unprecedented and

unprincipled.

Finally, as addressed in the third question

presented, the Sixth Circuit’s decision deepens a

circuit split under the first Gore guidepost on the

issue of whether a defendant may qualify as a

“repeated wrongdoer” if it commits multiple

reprehensible acts within the single transaction with

the plaintiff.

4

The Sixth Circuit’s holding warrants plenary

review, or summary reversal under the long line of

precedent repudiating Lochner, because it plainly

misconstrues this Court’s instructions regarding the

due process limits on punitive damages and

represents a serious affront both to principles of

federalism and to the separation of powers. In

addition, the Sixth Circuit’s judgment warrants

review because it conflicts with decisions throughout

the Nation on important questions of law regarding

the meaning of this Court’s punitive damages

jurisprudence even in its proper setting.

1. Background.

Chicago Title and First American are rivals in the

“highly competitive” title insurance business. Pet.

App. 4a. In 2002, First American launched a new

title insurance brand, The Talon Group (“Talon”), and

“embarked on an expansion strategy that included

recruiting experienced individuals from industry

competitors.” Jd. First American targeted key

Chicago Title employee James Magnuson

(“Magnuson”) as the lynchpin to a plan to raid

employees and customers from Chicago Title’s

Columbus area offices. First American knew that

Magnuson had an agreement not to compete against

Chicago Title in Columbus and contiguous counties

through 2006. Jd. In feigned deference to the non-

compete agreement, First American purported to

“carvel] out” central Ohio from Magnuson’s area of

responsibility. Jd. at 18a. But the carve-out was a

sham, and First American never intended to honor it.

Instead, the Court of Appeals found that there was

“undisputed evidence” of First American’s deliberate

intent: “First American placed Magnuson its

5

Columbus office building, included him in a local title

insurance industry directory, listed his cell phone

number as the regional office number, placed an

incoming local phone line on his desk, included his

name on marketing materials, and had him

participate in sales calls to Columbus-area clients.”

Id. First American even promised to indemnify

Magnuson for breaching his non-compete agreement.

Id. at 4a. The scheme had the intended devastating

effect on Chicago Title’s central Ohio operations. Id.

at 4a, 25a.

Chicago Title brought a diversity suit under Ohio

law against Magnuson for breaching the non-compete

agreement and First American for intentionally

inducing the breach. The District Court granted

partial summary judgment for Chicago Title on its

tortious interference claim, finding that “no

reasonable mind could conclude that .. . Talon did

not intentionally induce Magnuson into breaching his

contractual obligations.” Jd. at 17a-18a. After a

sixteen-day trial on proximate cause and damages,

the jury awarded Chicago Title $10.8 million in

compensatory damages. Id. at 5a. The jury also

found that First American had acted with malice

under Ohio law and, on that basis, assessed punitive

damages of $32.4 million. Jd. In sustaining the

punitive damages award, the District Court noted

that First American’s deceptive strategy permeated

not only the transaction, but also the testimony it

offered to the jury to explain and excuse its

misconduct. Jd. at 37a-39a. The District Court

characterized the malice as “particularly egregious.”

Id. at 5la.

6

2. The Court of Appeals’ Decision.

The Sixth Circuit upheld the summary judgment

rulings that, under Ohio law, Magnuson was liable

for having breached the non-compete agreement and

that First American was liable for having

intentionally interfered with the contract. Id. at 5a-

18a. The Sixth Circuit nevertheless reversed the

award of compensatory damages, holding that the

District Court had improperly granted Chicago Title’s

motion for judgment as a matter of law on the

mitigation defense rather than submitting that issue

to the jury. Id. at 18a-23a.

The Sixth Circuit then conducted a due process

review under the Gore factors and summarily

rejected the constitutionality of any punitive damages

in cases such as this one, notwithstanding the jury’s

finding of actual malice under Ohio law and the

District Court’s finding (which the Court of Appeals

affirmed) that no reasonable person could find that

First American’s misconduct was anything other than

intentional. Jd. at 17a-18a. The Sixth Circuit

explained that it had “already upheld the district

court’s finding that First American intentionally

interfered with the Contract, so we are willing to

assume, for sake of argument, that First American

acted maliciously rather than by accident.” Jd. at 25a.

Nevertheless, in a remarkable holding with

sweeping implications, the Sixth Circuit concluded

that First American’s malice could not by itself

establish the requisite reprehensibility to justify

punitive damages under the Gore analysis and that,

because this was so, Ohio could not treat the

underlying conduct as warranting punitive damages

at all:

7

Here, the only factor present is that First

American acted with malice. Especially

because there were no physical injuries or

threat to personal safety as a result of First

American’s conduct, and because Chicago

Title was not a financially vulnerable victim,

the fact that First American acted maliciously

is insufficient to support a finding that [its]

behavior was sufficiently reprehensible for an

award of punitive damages.”

Id. at 28a (emphasis added). The Sixth Circuit added

that the remaining two Gore guideposts were

“irrelevant,” “{slince punitive damages are

inappropriate in this case due to insufficient

reprehensibility of First American’s conduct.” Id. at

29a n.9.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Review is warranted to address the basic

question whether this Court’s punitive damages

jurisprudence authorizes federal courts, in the name

of substantive due process, to override state (and,

presumably, federal) choices regarding the kinds of

wrongful and injurious conduct that warrant

punitive damages. The Sixth Circuit licensed the

federal courts to substitute their judgment for that of

a state legislature that has defined by statute the

sort of egregious conduct that may give rise to civil

punishment.

The Sixth Circuit’s decision is flatly inconsistent

with this Court’s teachings regarding the due process

limits on punitive damages. The Court of Appeals

assumed that First American’s conduct was

actionably malicious and accordingly met the criteria

8

for punitive damages under long-settled Ohio law.

Nevertheless, the court invoked “due process” as a

basis for eliminating punitive damages altogether

from the panoply of options available to Ohio for

dealing with such conduct.

The Sixth Circuit’s judgment conflicts with the

decisions of this Court and of lower courts in three

distinct and troubling ways:

First, the Sixth Circuit’s judgment departs from

decisions of this Court and of lower courts regarding

the target of federal due process review. Courts have

properly confined that review to the size of a punitive

damages verdict. When the conduct in question is

sufficiently egregious to warrant punitive damages

under state law, courts (until now) have never

invoked due process to evaluate the propriety of an

underlying finding of punitive liability — preserving

state authority to specify the type and level of

wrongful and injurious conduct that warrants

imposing punitive damages in the first place. The

Court of Appeals’ usurpation of Ohio’s prerogative to

define the elements of punitive liability amounts to a

virtually complete return to the misguided days of

Lochner v. New York, 198 U.S. 45 (1905).

Second, the Sixth Circuit’s judgment creates a

two-factor minimum for the _ reprehensibility

guidepost, which conflicts with decisions of this Court

and of lower courts under which a _ single

reprehensibility factor — particularly malice — is

enough to justify an award of punitive damages.

Third, the Sixth Circuit’s decision conflicts with

decisions in other circuits regarding the meaning of

the “repeated conduct” factor of the reprehensibility

9

guidepost ~— specifically, whether a defendant may

qualify as a “repeated wrongdoer” if it commits

reprehensible acts within the single transaction with

the plaintiff, or whether the repeated acts must be

committed against a variety of different parties, in

addition to the plaintiff, before the defendant may be

deemed to be a recidivist.

I. THE SIXTH CIRCUIT’S JUDGMENT

CONFLICTS WITH DECISIONS

LIMITING THE GORE FACTORS TO AN

ASSESSMENT OF THE SIZE, NOT THE

FACT, OF A PUNITIVE ASSESSMENT..

The Sixth Circuit’s decision warrants review

because it transforms the Gore factors from a test of

whether punitive damages are “grossly excessive” in

a particular case into a test of whether punitive

damages may be imposed at all — even when proper

under settled state law.

A. The Sixth Circuit’s Judgment

Conflicts With Decisions Of This

Court Regarding The Nature Of The

Gore Guideposts.

The Sixth Circuit held that the Gore factors

prevented the State of Ohio from imposing any

punitive liability for business torts against financially

viable defendants, even though the finding of malice

was sufficient to support an assessment of punitive

damages under the applicable Ohio law, which

provided clear statutory notice that conduct

“demonstratling] malice” may lead to punitive

damages. OHIO REV. CODE. ANN. § 2315.21(C)(1).

To Chicago Title’s knowledge, no court anywhere

has ever construed the Gore factors to permit the

10

outright elimination of punitive liability in a category

of cases in which the legal basis for the award of

punitive damages under the governing substantive

law is otherwise satisfied. E.g., Williams v. Kaufman

County, 352 F.3d 994, 1016 (CA5 2003) (rejecting an

interpretation of Gore factors that “would defeat the

ability to award punitive damages at all” in actions

with only nominal compensatory damages).

In both Gore and State Farm, this Court was

careful to limit its decisions to the issue of the gross

excessiveness of particular awards of damages. This

Court did not apply the due process guideposts to

question whether the conduct could be subjected to

punitive damages in the first instance. In Gore, for

example, the Court explained that “[o]nly when an

award can be fairly categorized as ‘grossly

excessive’... does it enter the zone of arbitrariness

that violates the Due Process Clause.” 517 US.

at 568 (emphasis added). The Court explained that it

did not question the authority of the State to impose

some punitive sanction to the conduct at issue: “we of

course accept the Alabama courts’ view that the state

interest in protecting its citizens from deceptive trade

practices justifics a sanction in addition to the

recovery of compensatory damages.” Id. at 585

(emphasis added). The Court’s focus was solely on

the size of the particular punitive award. See id. at

574 (“BMW did not receive adequate notice of the

magnitude of the sanction that Alabama might

impose.”) (emphasis added); id. at 580 (“That conduct

is sufficiently reprehensible to give rise to tort

liability, and even a modest award of exemplary

damages does not establish the high degree of

culpability that warrants a substantial punitive

11

damages award.”) (emphases added); id. at 584-85

(asking “whether a lesser deterrent would have

adequately protected the interests of Alabama

consumers”) (emphasis added).

Similarly, in State Farm, this Court applied the

Gore guideposts to the amount of the award, not the

State’s imposition of punitive liability in the first

place. See 538 U.S. at 419-20 (“While we do not

suggest there was error in awarding punitive

damages|[,] ... a more modest punishment for this

reprehensible conduct could have satisfied the State's

legitimate objectives ....”). Thus, the Court remanded

the matter for “[t]he proper calculation of punitive

damages.” Id. at 429 (emphasis added). See also

Philip Morris USA v. Williams, 127 S. Ct. 1057, 1062

(2007) (“we have emphasized the need to avoid an

arbitrary determination of an award’s amount”)

(emphasis added).’

B. The Sixth Circuit’s Decision

Represents A Return To

Lochnerism.

The Court has recognized that each State has the

authority to determine for itself under the Tenth

Amendment what conduct to define as subject to

' The Sixth Circuit’s sole justification for its radical approach is

an isolated statement in State Farm that “the existence of one”

reprehensibility factor “may not be sufficient to sustain a

punitive damages award.” Pet. App. 28a n.8 (quoting State

Farm, 538 U.S. at 419). But the Sixth Circuit took the reference

out of context. The authority cited in State Farm for the quoted

proposition is Gore. See State Farm, 538 U.S. at 419 (citing

Gore, 517 U.S. at 575). That section of Gore, in turn, focuses on

the relationship between reprehensibility and the size of the

specific award, not punitive liability vel non. See Gore, 517 U.S.

at 575.

12

liability for punitive damages. Thus, the predicate

finding of liability for punitive damages is “entitled to

a strong presumption of validity,” TXO Prod. Corp. v.

Alliance Res. Corp., 509 U.S. 443, 457 (1993), and is

subject to no “heightened scrutiny.” Cooper Indus.

Inc. v. Leatherman Tool Group, Inc., 532 U.S. 424,

431 n.4 (2001); see also id. at 433 (“legislatures enjoy

broad discretion in authorizing and _ limiting

permissible punitive damages awards”). In Gore, the

Court emphasized that, notwithstanding its role in

checking excessive awards of punitive damages, the

Constitution does not constrain a state’s “legitimate

interests in punishment and deterrence” or its

“considerable flexibility” in determining’ the

availability of punitive damages. 517 U.S. at 568. In

State Farm, the Court again underscored the

“discretion” that states enjoy “over the imposition of

punitive damages.” 538 U.S. at 417. In Philip Morris

USA v. Williams, 127 S. Ct. 1057, 1062 (2007), the

Court reaffirmed the same point.

This limitation reflects bedrock principles of

federalism as well as separation of powers. The

constitutional analysis must accommodate not only

the limited institutional role of the federal judiciary

but also “the diverse policy judgments of lawmakers

in 50 States.” Gore, 517 U.S. at 570. “A basic

principle of federalism is that each State may make

its own reasoned judgment about what conduct is

permitted or proscribed within its borders, and each

State alone can determine what measure of

punishment, if any, to impose on a defendant who

acts within its jurisdiction.” State Farm, 538 U.S. at

422. The Sixth Circuit’s decision intrudes on the

13

authority of the States reserves by the Tenth

Amendment.

The Article III judiciary oversteps the boundaries

of the judicial function most conspicuously when it

undertakes to direct policy-makers at any level of

government, state or federal, as to conduct deserving

of civil punishment. The federal judiciary should not,

in the guise of due process, interfere with the power

of a State to determine that malicious conduct

causing injury, whether economic or physical, may be

sufficiently egregious to warrant punitive damages.

Indeed, Members of this Court have expressed doubts

about the legitimacy of exercising substantive judicial

review even over the magnitude of particular

punitive awards.” Whatever the wisdom, as a matter

of stare decisis, in retaining such limited review for

gross excessiveness, the Court should not permit the

Sixth Circuit to engage in a radical expansion of the

Gore guideposts to second-guess essentially political

determinations about the regulation of malicious

business conduct and other species of intentional

torts causing substantial social harm. Such a

transformation of the guideposts would effectively

resurrect the sorry history of the Lochner era.”

* See Philip Morris, 127 S. Ct. at 1067-68 (Thomas, J.,

dissenting); id. at 1068 (Ginsburg, J., joined by Scalia and

Thomas, JJ., dissenting); State Farm, 538 U.S. at 429 (Scalia, J.,

dissenting); id. at 429-30 (Thomas, J., dissenting); id. at 431

(Ginsburg, J., dissenting); Gore, 517 U.S. at 598-602 (Scalia, J.,

joined by Thomas, J., dissenting); id. at 607 (Ginsburg, J., joined

by Rehnquist, C.J., dissenting); TXO, 509 U.S. at 470 (Scalia, J.,

joined by Thomas, J., concurring in judgment); Pacific Mut. Life

Ins. Co. v. Haslip, 499 U.S. 1, 25-28 (1991) (Scalia, J., concurring

in judgment).

* Lochner v. New York, 198 U.S. 45 (1905).

14

Moreover, nothing in the decision below would

limit its application to state-created causes of action:

Congress is equally covered by the Sixth Circuit’s

holding, which simply failed to recognize that a polity

is entitled to deter and punish with special severity

— opting for punitive damages liability as one

available mechanism — what it deems malicious

wrongdoing. “[S]ociety has an interest in deterring

and punishing all intentional or reckless invasions of

the rights of others ....” Smith v. Wade, 461 U.S. 30,

54 (1983).

The Sixth Circuit’s transformation of the Gore

factors into a test of eligibility for punitive liability

will strip the States and the Federal Government

alike of the fundamental authority to choose both the

kinds of conduct they will regulate and the manner in

which they will regulate it — whether .through

criminal fines and imprisonment, punitive damages

assessments, or some mix of these devices. Here,

Ohio is entitled, and its legislature has chosen, to

punish and deter parties that intentionally harm

their competitors even if the only harm 1s economic,

there is no financial vulnerability or recidivism, and

compensatory damages make the plaintiff whole.

While due process places checks on the extent to

which Ohio may punish under these circumstances,

the Sixth Circuit improperly usurped the prerogative

of Ohio to punish at all. Indeed, the Court of Appeals

has essentially invited potential wrongdoers to

violate Ohio public policy through malicious infliction

of economic harm on solvent competitors.

15

C. The Court’s Grant of Certiorari In

Exxon Shipping Heightens The

Need For Review Here.

By Order of October 29, 2007, the Court granted

certiorari in Exxon Shipping Co. v. Baker, No. 07-219,

to examine the imposition of punitive damages under

maritime law. Although the Court did not grant the

petitioner’s request for review of the Ninth Circuit’s

application of the Gore factors, this case is an ideal

“bookend” to Exxon Shipping.

First, this case presents an issue that is in some

respects a mirror image of Exxon Shipping. The first

question presented in Exxon Shipping is whether

maritime law, a species of federal common law,

permits the imposition of punitive damages against a

shipowner for the conduct of a ship’s master at sea,

absent any finding that the owner directed,

countenanced, or participated in that conduct, and

even when the conduct was contrary to policies

established and enforced by the owner. Here, by

contrast, the question is whether due process

prohibits the imposition of punitive damages even

when the defendant corporation directed,

countenanced, and participated in the misconduct,

and even when the conduct was carried out in

fulfillment of the policies established and enforced by

the defendant. In the case at bar, the Sixth Circuit

specifically found that there was “undisputed

evidence” of First American’s deliberate intent and

upheld the District Court’s summary judgment ruling

that First American intentionally interfered with the

contract. Pet. App. 17a. The Sixth Circuit, in other

words, held that punitive damages were prohibited by

due process despite the kind of direct, malicious

16

involvement by the defendant that the Ninth Circuit

held to be unnecessary under maritime law for the

award of such damages.

More fundamentally, this case presents the

opportunity to elaborate on the principles of

federalism that complement the separation-of-powers

principles involved in Exxon Shipping. The second

question presented in Exxon Shipping is whether

federal judge-made law may expand the remedies

provided by Congress in the Clean Water Act, which

specifies the criminal and civil penalties for maritime

conduct but contains no punitive damages liability.

This case, too, involves the principle that the

sovereign responsible for regulating the wrongdoing

at issue enjoys the prerogative to decide whether to

use punitive damages, civil fines, criminal penalties,

or some other sanction altogether to deter that

misconduct and to punish it when it takes place.

In Exxon Shipping, the relevant sovereign is the

United States, acting through Congress in the Clean

Water Act. The question is whether federal courts

may revise Congress’ decision about the punishment

of maritime misconduct by adding judge-made

punitive damages to specified civil and criminal

penalties. In the instant case, the relevant sovereign

is Ohio, acting through its legislature and courts.

The salient question is whether federal courts may

revise Ohio’s decision about punishment of economic

misconduct by subtracting punitive damages from the

state-created scheme.

Both cases, in other words, involve fundamental

limits on the federal judicial role in second-guessing

the substantive decisions of political bodies.

Granting review in the instant case would allow the

17

Court to consider the principles of federalism that

reinforce the separation-of-powers rules that govern

Exxon Shipping.

Il. THE SIXTH CIRCUIT'S JUDGMENT

CONFLICTS WITH DECISIONS FINDING

THAT MALICIOUS CONDUCT ALONE

ESTABLISHES SUFFICIENT

REPREHENSIBILITY TO UPHOLD

PUNITIVE DAMAGES ASSESSMENTS.

The Sixth Circuit’s judgment warrants review for

an additional reason: Even setting aside its improper

extension of due process review into the fact, rather

than the amount, of a punitive assessment, the

judgment below conflicts with decisions of this Court

and of lower courts’ establishing that the

“reprehensibility” guidepost of Gore can support a

punitive award merely by a showing that the

defendant’s tortious conduct was intentional or

malicious. The Sixth Circuit improperly demanded

evidence of an additional aggravating factor, such as

the financial vulnerability of the plaintiff or the risk

of physical harm.

In State Farm, this Court granted review to

address “the imprecise manner in which punitive

damages systems are administered.” 538 U.S. at 418.

Review is warranted here to clarify the

reprehensibility guidepost and to address the conflict

created by the Sixth Circuit.

A. The Sixth Circuit’s Judgment

Conflicts With Decisions of This

Court.

The first guidepost — the degree of

reprehensibility — is “[t]he most important indicium

18

of the reasonableness of a punitive damages award.”

State Farm, 538 U.S. at 419. The Court has

instructed that judicial review of the

“reprehensibility” guidepost must consider several

factors, including whether the defendant’s conduct

was intentionally malicious:

We have instructed courts to determine the

reprehensibility of a defendant by considering

whether: the harm caused was physical as

opposed to economic; the tortious conduct

evinced an indifference to or a_ reckless

disregard of the health or safety of others; the

target of the conduct had financial

vulnerability; the conduct involved repeated

actions or was an isolated incident; and the

harm was the result of intentional malice,

trickery, or deceit, or mere accident.

Id. at 419 (emphasis added). Hence, the Court

expressly has listed the question of whether a

defendant’s conduct is intentional or malicious as one

of the reprehensibility factors that can warrant a

punitive award.

There is no way to square the Sixth Circuit’s

decision with this Court’s articulation of the

reprehensibility guidepost in State Farm. The Sixth

Circuit refused to treat a showing of intentional

malice as_ sufficient by itself to ‘satisfy’ the

reprehensibility guidepost. The Sixth Circuit held

that two reprehensibility factors must be present —

i.e., that malicious conduct must be coupled with an

additional “aggravating” factor — in order to justify

an award of punitive damages. But this Court has

consistently repudiated efforts to subject the due

process analysis to such a litmus test, much less a

19

test requiring at least two indicia of reprehensibility.

To the contrary: in both Gore and State Farm, this

Court opined that the reprehensibility guidepost was

satisfied by conduct that did not contain any

additional “aggravating” factor beyond the malicious

nature of the defendant’s conduct, by itself.

Indeed, in Gore, the Court found that the conduct

in question met “none” of the reprehensibility factors,

because BMW (unlike First American here) was not

guilty even of intentional affirmative misconduct.

517 U.S. at 576; id. at 579 (“the record in this case

discloses no deliberate false statements, acts of

affirmative misconduct, or concealment of evidence of

improper motive”); id. at 580 (“this case exhibits none

of the circumstances ordinarily associated with

egregiously improper conduct”). Nevertheless, the

Court explained that even conduct without a “high

degree of culpability” could give rise to least a

“modest” punitive award. Id. at 580 (“That conduct is

sufficiently reprehensible to give rise to tort liability,

and even a modest award of exemplary damages does

not establish the high degree of culpability that

warrants a substantial punitive damages award.”).

The Court opined that either intentional acts of

misconduct or the financial vulnerability of the victim

could trigger punitive damages. Id. at 576 (the

“infliction of economic injury, especially when done

intentionally through affirmative acts of misconduct,

or when the target is financially vulnerable, can

warrant a substantial penalty”) (emphasis added).

Moreover, this Court indicated that, for Justice

Kennedy, “the defendant’s intentional malice was the

decisive element in a ‘close and difficult’ case.” Id.

(citing TXO, 509 U.S. at 468 (separate opinion)).

20

Hence, Gore makes clear that malicious conduct alone

can serve as the basis for punitive damages, with

none of the additional aggravating factors demanded

by the Sixth Circuit.

In State Farm, the Court again implied that an

award could be imposed based solely on the

defendant’s malicious conduct. State Farm held that

the vast bulk of the plaintiffs’ reprehensibility

arguments were irrelevant and impermissible

because they related to the defendant’s “nationwide

policies rather than [to] the conduct directed toward

the Campbells.” 538 U.S. at 420. The Court

specifically rejected any claim that plaintiffs had

suffered physical harm or that there was a risk to the

health or safety of others. Jd. at 426. The Court also

found that there was no basis for contending that

State Farm’s conduct involved repeated actions. Id.

at 423.

In short, the Sixth Circuit’s demand for a further

“aggravating” factor — in addition to the defendant’s

malice — flatly conflicts with both Gore and State

Farm. Indeed, the Court has long recognized the

States’ wide constitutional latitude to impose

punitive damages even when a defendant is guilty of

no intentional wrongdoing — let alone the kind of

deliberate tort at issue in this case. In Smith v.

Wade, the Court surveyed the historical record and

concluded that, when the Fourteenth Amendment

was adopted, “|t]he large majority of state and lower

federal courts were in agreement that punitive

damages awards did not require a showing of actual

malicious intent; they permitted punitive awards on

variously stated standards of negligence,

21

recklessness, or other culpable conduct short of actual

malicious intent.” 461 U.S. at 45.

In Kolstad v. American Dental Ass’n, 527 U.S. 526

(1999), the Court also rejected the need for the

additional aggravating factors required by the Sixth

Circuit. In Kolstad, the Court surveyed the common-

law history to find that a plaintiff could recover

punitive damages solely on the basis of a defendant’s

malicious intent, without any showing that the

defendant had engaged in “conduct with some

independent, ‘egregious’ quality before being subject

to a punitive award.” Id. at 538. “Most often...

eligibility for punitive awards is characterized in

terms of a defendant’s motive or intent. Indeed, ‘[{t]he

justification of exemplary damages lies in the evil

intent of the defendant.’ . . . Conduct warranting

punitive awards has been characterized as

‘egregious, for example, because of the defendant’s

mental state.” Jd. (citation omitted). The Sixth

Circuit’s decision therefore urgently warrants this

Court’s review.

B. The Sixth Circuit’s Judgment

Conflicts With Decisions Of Other

Courts.

Next, the Sixth Circuit’s judgment conflicts with

decisions of other circuits and state courts refusing to

require multiple reprehensibility factors and

upholding punitive awards solely on the basis that a

defendant’s conduct was intentional and malicious:

e The Federal Circuit has upheld a punitive

award similar in magnitude to the award in this case

($50 million/3.3:1 ratio) even when malice was the

only reprehensibility factor. See Rhone-Poulenc Agro,

22

S.A. v. DeKalb Genetics Corp., 345 F.3d 1366, 1371

(Fed. Cir. 2003). The Court of Appeals explained that

“lilt is true that the facts alleged herein do not

demonstrate any of the criteria enhancing

reprehensibility mentioned in Gore, such as an act of

violence, disregard for the health and safety of others,

a pattern of misconduct, or the exploitation of a

financially vulnerable target.” Jd. at 1370 (internal

quotation marks omitted). Nevertheless, in contrast

to the Sixth Circuit in the decision below, the Federal

Circuit in Rhone-Poulenc recognized that State Farm

listed the intentional nature of wrongdoing as a

factor that, by itself, can warrant a punitive award:

“(flor the Court’s majority, [intentional malice,

trickery, or deceit] has become an important criterion

of what the Constitution accepts as reprehensible

conduct.” 345 F.3d at 1371. The Federal Circuit held

that the defendant “acted with the necessary

intentional malice, trickery or deceit to satisfy Gore’s

requirement of reprehensibility.” Jd. That holding is

not irreconcilable with the Sixth Circuit’s decision in

the instant case.

e The Second Circuit has also held that the

reprehensibility guidepost counsels in favor of

upholding a punitive award even where any “harm

caused by defendants was not ‘physical as opposed to

economic”; where defendants did not directly

endanger the health and safety of others; and where

plaintiffs were not “financially vulnerable.” See

Motorola Credit Corp..v. Uzan, 388 F.3d 39, 63-64

(CA2 2004). The Second Circuit has opined that

where a punitive damages assessment arises from

economic injury, the due process review should

functionally focus on the ‘severity of [the]

23

misconduct” and the amount “needed to deter other

potential perpetrators,” not mechanistically “on how

many relevant f[reprehensibility] factors” a

defendant’s conduct manifests. Id. at 64.

¢ In Willow Inn, Inc. v. Pub. Serv. Mut. Ins. Co.,

399 F.3d 224, 233 (CA3 2005), the Third Circuit held

that a defendant’s “purposefully indifferent inaction

and intentionally dilatory action” demonstrated

sufficient reprehensibility. The Court of Appeals

noted that “the critical input to the reprehensibility

calculus in this case is whether the delay in settling

the claim was due to legitimate differences of opinion

over its value or, rather, to [defendant’s] dilatoriness

and inertia.” Jd. at 231. The Third Circuit stressed

that the evaluation of whether the conduct was

intentionally malicious or taken in good faith “was

best made by the judge who heard the testimony and

observed the demeanor of all of the significant

participants.” Jd. Accordingly, the Third Circuit

followed this Court’s instruction that “the district

courts have a somewhat superior vantage over courts

of appeal, and even then the advantage exists

primarily with respect to issues turning on witness

credibility and demeanor.” Jd. at 230-31 (quoting

Cooper Indus., 532 U.S. at 424).

¢ In Mathias v. Accor Econ. Lodging, Inc., 347

F.3d 672, 677 (CA7 2003), Judge Posner upheld a 37

to 1 ratio of punitive damages to compensatory

damages as constitutional, where a hotel failed to

fumigate to remove bedbugs. The court explained

that the “defendant’s behavior was outrageous but

the compensable harm” was “slight” and “difficult to

quantify.” Id. at 677.

24

e In Eden Elec., Ltd. v. Amana Co., 370 F.3d 824,

829 (CA8 2004), cert. denied, 543 U.S. 1150 (2005),

the Eighth Circuit affirmed a punitive damage award

approximately 4.5 times greater than the

compensatory damages where the only

reprehensibility factor was that the defendant “was

guilty of malice, trickery, and deceit.” Id. at 829. The

Eighth Circuit acknowledged that the plaintiffs

“compensatory damage recovery was significant and

that this is a commercial case.” Jd. Moreover, the

court conceded that “this is a case of economic rather

than physical harm. [Defendant’s] conduct did not

evince a disregard for the health or welfare of others,

and the fraud involved only a single incident and a

single victim.” Id. Nonetheless, the court of appeals

upheld a punitive award of $10 million. Similarly, in

Diesel Mach., Inc. v. B.R. Lee Indus., Inc., 418 F.3d

820 (CA8 2005), the Eighth Circuit concluded that

the defendant was liable for punitive damages

because it exhibited “a callous disregard for the

dealers’ legal rights,” id. at 840, even though “the

first three reprehensibility factors weigh on

[defendant’s] side. [Plaintiffs] harm was economic,

not physical; the tortious conduct did not jeopardize

personal health or safety; and [plaintiff] was not

financially vulnerable. The punitive damage award is

not doomed, however, simply because some factors

weigh in the defendant’s favor.” Id. at 839.

e The Ninth Circuit has opined that even modest

reprehensibility factors in cases of purely economic

harm can warrant a 4:1 ratio between punitive and

compensatory damages. Planned Parenthood of

Columbia/ Willamette Inc. v. Am. Coalition of Life

Activists, 422 F.3d 949, 962 (CA9 2005) (“In cases

25

where there are significant economic damages and

punitive damages are warranted but behavior is not

particularly egregious, a ratio of up to 4 to 1 serves as

a good proxy for the limits of constitutionality.”).

° In Employees’ Benefit Ass’n v. Grissett, 732

So.2d 968, 979 (Ala. 1998), the Alabama Supreme

Court upheld a punitive award that was 17 times the

compensatory damages, even though it concluded

that “[tlhe degree of reprehensibility in this case is

low.” “[T]he evidence indicates that [the defendant’s

conduct was] ... merely clumsy and dogmatic, not

malicious. There was no evidence at all to indicate

that [defendant] tried to conceal its actions.” Id. at

980. “This present case involves no false

representations.” Id. at 979. “[I]t does not reflect the

degree of reprehensibility, often marked by greed,

that has been the basis of large punitive damages

awards in the past.” Jd. at 980. Nonetheless, the

state court concluded that the defendant’s “dogmatic

adherence to rules and bylaws that are inartfully

drafted and therefore unworkable” justified “an

award of more than token punitive damages.” Id.

The facts in the instant case are far more egregious.

¢ In Casciola v. F.S. Air Serv., Inc., 120 P.3d

1059, 1068 (Alaska 2005), the Alaska Supreme Court

held the reprehensibility guidepost met because

“(t]he superior court found that [defendant’s] actions

were ‘outrageous, malicious and with bad motives’

and ‘the injuries suffered by [plaintiff] flowed from

[defendant’s] ‘intentional malice, trickery, or deceit.”

(citation omitted).

¢ In Simon v. San Paolo U.S. Holding Co., 113

P.3d 63, 76 (Cal. 2005), cert. denied, 127 S.Ct. 48

(2006), the California Supreme Court imposed a

26

punitive award of ten times the compensatory

damages in a case involving purely economic harm.

The court held that the defendant’s intentional

wrongdoing was the only reprehensibility factor met.

The court explained that “the tortious act on which

liability was based was a single false promise (or set

of promises) made in the letter of intent, and no

evidence indicated [defendant] had acted similarly

toward other potential buyers.” Jd. at 76. The injury

suffered was solely economic, and there was no threat

to health or safety. Id. The court concluded that, “of

the five subfactors relevant to reprehensibility, only

one applies. In the universe of cases warranting

punitive damages under California law, the

fraudulent promise or promises ... have to be

regarded as of relatively low culpability.” Td.

Nonetheless, the court concluded that the

reprehensibility guidepost was sufficiently satisfied

to warrant a 10:1 ratio between punitive and

compensatory damages.

e Texas courts have also recognized that

malicious conduct, by itself, can satisfy the first Gore

guidepost. For example, in Mission Res., Inc. uv.

Garza Energy Trust, 166 S.W.3d 301, 318 (Tex. Ct.

App. 2005, pet. granted), the Texas Court of Appeals

upheld a $10 million punitive award by observing

that “(t]he high Court has also explained that

intentional malice can be the decisive element in a

‘close and difficult case.” Jd. at 318 (quoting Gore).

The state court opined that the intentional nature of

the defendant’s conduct satisfied the reprehensibility

guidepost. Jd. (“Although |defendant’s] conduct did

not cause physical injury, it did involve a substantial

amount of economic harm. [Defendant] breached its

27

contract and committed the intentional tort of

trespass. It acted with malice, and its conduct

amounted to felony theft.”). See also Bright v.

Addison, 171 S.W.3d 588, 603-04 (Tex. Ct. App. 2005,

pet dism’d) (“We agree the harm suffered by

[plaintiffs] was economic and did not involve their

health, safety, or financial vulnerability.

[Defendant’s] conduct, however, was an intentional

breach of his fiduciary duty to his clients. .. . The

evidence showed |defendant] acted with intentional

malice, trickery, and deceit rather than mere

accident.”).

The Sixth Circuit’s judgment also conflicts with

many other decisions recognizing that malicious

conduct, by itself, can satisfy the reprehensibility

guidepost. E.g., In re John Richards Homes Bldg.

Co., 291 B.R. 727, 739 (E.D. Mich. 2003) (upholding

punitive damages award because “evidence of

ldefendant’s] bad faith is overwhelming”); Borne uv.

Haverhill Golf & Country Club, Inc., 791 N.E.2d 903,

916 (Mass. App. 2003) (upholding punitive damages

award because defendant was “cavalier and callously

indifferent”).

This Court’s review is also warranted because of

the need for guidance regarding the reprehensibility

guidepost. Lower courts have complained that the

“reprehensibility of a party’s conduct, like truth and

beauty, is subjective. One’s view of the quality of an

actor’s conduct is the result of complex value

judgments.” In re Exxon Valdez, 296 F. Supp. 2d

1071, 1093 (D. Alaska 2004), vacated and remanded,

472 F.3d 600 (CA9 2006), as amended, 490 F.3d 1066,

cert. granted (No. 07-219).

28

To be sure, this Court has attempted to bring

some level of objectivity to the inherently subjective

reprehensibility analysis by promulgating a series of

sub-rules for lower courts to consider when

evaluating defendants’ misconduct. However, as one

commentator has noted, “these sub-rules have, in

fact, done very little in the way of promoting

uniformity.” Jenny Jiang, Comment, Whimsical

Punishment: The Vice of Federal Intervention,

Constitutionalization, and Substantive Due Process in

Punitive Damages Law, 94 CAL. L. REV. 793, 794

(2006).

Other scholars have found that, despite this

Court’s desire to illuminate a path for lower courts to

follow,

the Court’s guideposts have not produced a

workable and predictable test for determining

the constitutionality of large punitive awards.

... Although the Court has said that the first

guidepost, the degree of reprehensibility of

the defendant’s conduct, is the “most

important,” it has proved to be amorphous in

application.

Steven Chanenson & John Yotanda, The Foggy Road

for Evaluating Punitive Damages: Lifting the Haze

From the BMW/State Farm Guideposts, 37 U. MICH.

J.L. REFORM 441, 466-67 (2004).*

* John Zenneth Lagrow, BMW of North America, Inc. v. Gore:

Due Process Protection Against Excessive Punitive Damages

Awards, 32 New Eng. L. Rev. 157, 196-97 (1997) (it is unclear

“how courts should determine the proper amount of punitive

damages to assess when the defendant’s conduct falls between

the ranges of violence and pure economic harm”); Andrew C.W.

Lund, The Road From Nowhere? Punitive Damage Ratios After

5

—_

29

The Sixth Circuit’s decision in this case

illustrates the need for additional clarification of the

reprehensibility guidepost. The Court of Appeals

misunderstood the nature of the guidepost and

demanded a showing of “aggravating” factors beyond

malicious and intentional misconduct. That decision

is utterly irreconcilable with this Court’s precedent

and with decisions in the lower courts.

BMW v. Gore and State Farm v. Campbell, 20 Touro L. Rev.

943, 968-69 (2005) (“[T]he punitive damage analog of any

particular level of reprehensibility is extremely murky.”); Robert

L. McFarland, BMW v. Gore: Ten Years Later, 68 Ala. Law. 126,

127 (Mar. 2007) (“The Gore guideposts, much like the infamous

three-pronged Lemon test, possess the deceptive appearance of

utility. It is easy to memorize the three factors, but difficult to

know what they mean.”); Stephanie L. Nagel, BMW v. Gore: The

United States Supreme Court Overturns an Award of Punitive

Damages as Violative of the Due Process Clause of the

Constitution, 71 Tul L. Rev. 1025, 1039 (1997) (“the only

predictable cases are those that land at the extremes of the

reprehensibility scale”); George L. Priest, Punitive Damages

Reform: The Case of Alabama, 56 Ala. L. Rev. 825, 838 (1996)

(reprehensibility “is a very vague concept and hardly susceptible

of careful measurement”); Neil B. Stekloff, Note and Comment,

Raising Five Eyebrows: Substantive Due Process Review of

Punitive Damages Awards After BMW v. Gore, 29 Conn. L. Rev.

1797, 1817 & 1819 (1997) (Gore guideposts are “far too

subjective and malleable to be meaningful”); Nitin Sud, Punitive

Damages: Achieving Fairness and Consistency After State Farm

v. Campbell, 72 Def. Couns. J. 67, 74 (2005) (surveying lower

courts and complaining that “there is little consistency in the

applications of State Farm”); Jeffrey R. White, State Farm and

Punitive Damages: Call the Jury Back, 5 J. High Tech. L. 79

(2005) (noting “(t]he wide variation in the application of these

{reprehensibility] factors by the courts” and predicting that the

variation in approaches in the lower courts “dims the outlook for

more predictable punitive damage awards”).

30

C. The Sixth Circuit’s Decision

Involves An Important Question of

Law.

Review is also justified because the Sixth

Circuit’s decision will have a host of pernicious and

disruptive effects. The Sixth Circuit has held that

due process bars a State from imposing punitive

damages altogether, even in cases involving malicious

and intentional torts, where there are “no physical

injuries or threat to personal safety” and where the

plaintiff is “not a financially vulnerable victim.” Pet.

App. 28a.

The net effect of this decision will be to render

punitive damages essentially unavailable in economic

tort cases with commercial actors, as a matter of

federal constitutional law. Business tort cases

typically do not involve physical injuries, threats to

personal safety, or financially vulnerable victims.

Hence, the Sixth Circuit’s ruling will effectively

insulate business wrongdoers from punitive damages

as a matter of constitutional law, limiting punitive

liability to personal injury cases and other contexts

involving physical injuries, threats to personal safety,

and other aggravating factors cited by the Sixth

Circuit.

Yet it is no accident that one of the few recent

decisions of this Court to uphold a punitive award in

full was a business tort case. TXO Prod. Corp. v.

Alliance Res. Corp., 509 U.S. 443 (1993). Punitive

damages often make good economic sense in

commercial tort cases because they can remove a

defendant’s anticipated financial gain, as adjusted by

the probability of detection, and therefore ensure

31

adequate deterrence. This Court has noted the

plethora of statutes mandating double and treble

damages for a wide variety of business torts —

underscoring the reasonableness of punitive damages

in the commercial context. Gore, 517 U.S. at 581

n.33. Yet under the Sixth Circuit’s new rule, punitive

damages will be essentially unavailable in the one

category of cases in which such damages make the

most obvious economic sense.

Moreover, the Sixth Circuit’s decision calls into

question the availability of punitive damages in many

other contexts in which malicious conduct, by itself,

has been the traditional basis for punitive liability.

For example, the sole statutory requirement for

punitive damages in federal employment

discrimination cases under Title VII is whether a

defendant’s practices exhibit “malice or . . . reckless

indifference to the federally protected rights of an

aggrieved individual.” 42 U.S.C. § 198la(b)(1). Until

now, courts in Title VII cases had uniformly rejected

the additional aggravating elements demanded by

the Sixth Circuit. E.g., Kolstad, 527 U.S. at 538.

Indeed, many federal statutory schemes

authorize the imposition of punitive damages without

the two-factor reprehensibility showing demanded by

the Sixth Circuit. The Fair Credit Reporting Act, for

example, provides that a court may award punitive

damages when a consumer reporting agency willfully

fails to comply with the requirements imposed by the

* See Kemezy v. Peters, 79 F.3d 33, 34-35 (CA7 1996) (Posner, J.);

Zazu Designs v. L’Oréal, S.A., 979 F.2d 499, 508 (CA7 1992)

(Easterbrook, J.); A. Mitchell Polinsky & Steven Shavell,

Punitive Damages: An Economic Analysis, 111 Harv. L. Rev.

869, 874-75 (1998).

32

Act. 15 U.S.C. §1681n(a)(2). A “willful” failure under

the Act includes a violation committed in mere

reckless disregard of statutory obligations. See

Safeco Ins. Co. of America v. Burr, 127 S.Ct. 2201

(2007). Similarly, the Equal Credit Opportunity Act,

15 U.S.C. §169le(b), and the Fair Housing Act, 42

U.S.C. §3613(c), provide for punitive damages

without the requirements imposed by the Sixth

Circuit.

In all of these contexts, malicious conduct, by

itself, is a sufficient basis for the award of punitive

damages. The Sixth Circuit’s decision erecting a

constitutional barrier to the imposition of such

liability therefore threatens substantial disruption to

statutory schemes for the enforcement of important

federal rights.

Ill. REVIEW IS NEEDED TO CLARIFY

WHETHER A DEFENDANT QUALIFIES

AS A “REPEATED WRONGDOER” BY

COMMITTING MULTIPLE

REPREHENSIBLE ACTS WITHIN THE

SINGLE TRANSACTION WITH THE

PLAINTIFF.

The Sixth Circuit’s decision warrants review for a

final reason relating to the meaning of one of the

reprehensibility factors, recidivism. The Sixth

Circuit followed circuit precedent in holding that a

defendant cannot qualify as a “repeated wrongdoer”

under the guidepost unless the acts in question were

committed against different parties, other than the

plaintiff. Pet. App. 26a-27a.

This Court’s review is warranted because the

lower courts are divided on the question. The Second

33

Circuit has agreed with the Sixth Circuit. See Lee v.

Edwards, 101 F.3d 805, 809 (CA2 1996) (citing need

for evidence of repeated misconduct with respect to

other employees rather than repeated misconduct

against the plaintiff).

But the Third Circuit has interpreted the

“repeated wrongdoing” factor differently. The Third

Circuit has held that repeated acts of wrongdoing can

demonstrate reprehensibility even when they involve

parties other than the plaintiff: “[Wlhile the

‘repeated conduct’ subfactor will necessarily have less

force where the defendant’s misconduct did not

extend beyond his dealings with the plaintiff, it may

still be relevant in measuring the reprehensibility of

the defendant’s conduct, based on the particular facts

and circumstances presented.” CGB Occupational

Therapy, Inc. v. RHA Health Servs., 499 F.3d 184,

191 (CA3 2007) (internal quotation marks omitted).

The Third Circuit proceeded to find — in a case of

wrongful employee recruiting with parallels to the

instant case — that the defendant’s persistence in its

wrongful conduct justified a finding of recidivism. Id.

The Ninth Circuit has adopted the same view as

the Third Circuit. Southern Union Co. v. Southwest

Gas Corp., 415 F.3d 1001, 1010 (CA 9 2005) (holding

that conduct toward same plaintiff, including

improper litigation tactics against same plaintiff,

could establish reprehensibility); Planned

Parenthood, 422 F.3d at 959 (citing need to show that

defendant’s past conduct caused harm to particular

plaintiffs before court). State courts have followed

the Third Circuit’s approach as well. In Superior

Fed. Bank. v. Jones & Mackey Constr. Co., 219

S.W.3d 643 (Ark. Ct. App. 2005), the Arkansas Court

34

of Appeals held that the “repeated conduct” factor

was satisfied “given that several statements were

made by [defendant] in what seemed to be a

continuing effort to inflict harm” on the same

plaintiff. Id. at 651. The court explained that Gore

and TXO “recognizled] that evidence of other

transactions may be relevant in determining a

defendant’s degree of reprehensibility. TXO also

considered evidence of a ‘pattern of fraud, trickery,

and deceit.” Jd. at 650 n.3. The court held that a

course of conduct involving the same plaintiff could

satisfy the “repeated wrongdoing” test:

the other defamatory statements that

appellant asks us to disregard were not

directed to other persons and did not involve

separate, unrelated claims; nor were they

dissimilar acts, independent from the acts

upon which liability was premised. Instead,

they were part of a pattern of behavior

directed toward the LLC, and they paint a

telling picture of appellant’s overall conduct

and intent to cause harm.

Id. at 650.°

* See also Century Surety Co. v. Polisso, 43 Cal. Rptr. 3d 468,

499-500 (Cal. Ct. App. 2006) (“While there was no evidence

Century engaged in such tactics with other individuals, its

conduct with respect to the Polissos was hardly limited to a

single event. Century engaged in a course of conduct over a five-

year period of time .. . . Under these circumstances, we conclude

Century’s conduct rates moderately high on the reprehensibility

scale.”); Hayes Sight & Sound, Inc. v. ONEOK, Inc., 136 P.3d

428, 447 (Kan. 2006) (holding that defendant’s conduct was

reprehensible because it “was not an isolated incident,” even

though all evidence referred to the single natural gas well

involving plaintiff).

35

This Court should grant review to address the

divergent approaches by the lower courts. The Sixth

Circuit's decision has created precisely the

constitutional risk that the Court condemned in State

Farm and Philip Morris — namely, that juries and

trial courts might use punitive damages to punish a

defendant for wrongdoing against absent parties

rather than against the plaintiff. See 127 S. Ct. at

1062; 538 U.S. at 422-23. Conversely, when the

repeated acts are all directed at the plaintiff in a

common course of conduct before the court, the acts

necessarily share a joint focus, and the defendant has

ample ability to obtain relevant evidence and mount

a defense.

Granting review would therefore afford the Court

the opportunity to clarify the principles articulated in

State Farm and Philip Morris in the context of the

“repeated wrongdoing” factor of the reprehensibility

guidepost. Commentators have stressed the need for

further guidance in this area.’ This Court should

make clear that a standard focusing on repeated acts

of wrongdoing against the same plaintiff is relevant

" Jeff Bleich, et al., Philip Morris Provides Yet Another Chapter

in the Ongoing Saga of Punitive Damages in the U.S. Supreme

Court, 67 Or. St. B. Bull. 24 (2007) (“[T]he Philip Morris test

may be a difficult one to apply or police, and so it may not

amount to much of a limitation at all.”); Erwin Chemerinsky,

More Questions About Punitive Damages, 43 Trial 72 (May 2007)

(“Appellate courts are left with little guidance on when the size

of a punitive damages award is appropriate and when it is

unconstitutional.”); Michael I. Krauss, Punitive Damages And

The Supreme Court: A Tragedy In Five Acts, 2007 Cato Sup. Ct.

Rev. 315, 333 (‘We can look forward to years of litigation and

circuit splits trying to sort out what the Court hath wrought.”);

Mark K. Moller, /ntroduction, 2007 Cato Sup. Ct. Rev. 1, 5

(complaining that Williams is “no model of clarity”).

36

to the reprehensibility guidepost and, indeed,

minimizes the constitutional concerns expressed by

this Court in State Farm and Philip Morris. The

need to clarify the “repeated wrongdoer” element of

the reprehensibility guidepost is a further reason to

grant certiorari.

CONCLUSION

The petition for writ of certiorari should be

granted. In the alternative, the Sixth Circuit’s

judgment should be summarily reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

STEVEN A. GOLDFARB LAURENCE H. TRIBE

HAHN LOESER & PARKS, LLP Counsel of Record

200 Public Square, Suite 3300 Hauser Hall 420

Cleveland, Ohio 44114 1575 Massachusetts Avenue

(216) 621-0150 Cambridge, MA 02138

(617) 495-4621

JONATHAN S. MASSEY

JONATHAN S. MASSEY, PC

7504 Oldchester Road

Bethesda, MD 20817

(301) 915-0990

November 2007

la

Appendix A: Opinion of the U.S. Court of

Appeals for the Sixth Circuit dated

May 21, 2007

Recommended for Full-Text Publication

Pursuant to Sixth Circuit Rule 206

United States Court of Appeals

for the Sixth Circuit

CHICAGO TITLE INSURANCE CORPORATION, a

Missouri Corporation, Plaintiff-Appellee,

v.

James A. MAGNUSON; First American Title

Insurance Company, c/o Timothy P. Sullivan,

Registered Agent, Defendants-Appellants.

No. 05-4411.

Appeal from the United States District Court

For the Southern District of Ohio at Columbus.

No. 03-00368 — Gregory L. Frost, District Judge.

Argued: Nov. 28, 2006.

Decided and Filed: May 21, 2007.

Before: DAUGHTREY, GIBBONS, Circuit Judges;

EDMUNDS, District Judge.”

EDMUNDS, District Judge.

The numerous questions presented in this appeal

concern a covenant not to compete and the resulting

jury verdict awarding compensatory and punitive

* The Honorable Nancy G. Edmunds, United States District

Judge for the Eastern District of Michigan, sitting by

designation.

2a

damages to Plaintiff-Appellee Chicago Title

Insurance Corporation (“Chicago Title”) for

Defendant-Appellant James Magnuson’s breach of

the agreement and Defendant-Appellant First

American Title Insurance Companys (“First

American’s”) tortious interference with this

agreement. On January 25, 2005, a jury found

Magnuson and First American liable for breaching

the covenant and for tortious interference and

awarded compensatory and punitive damages

totaling over $43 million. The district court denied

several post-trial motions and upheld the verdict in

its entirety. For the reasons discussed below, we

AFFIRM in part, REVERSE in part, and REMAND

this case to the district court for a new trial on

compensatory damages consistent with this opinion.

Chicago Title and First American are competitors

in the title insurance industry, and Magnuson is an

individual with many years of experience in a variety

of positions for companies in this industry. Magnuson

formed a title insurance agency in central Ohio in

1978 along with a partner, James Steller. Magnuson

and Steller built the business and brought on

additional partners until 1991, when the partners

sold the business to Chicago Title for $5.5 million.

In conjunction with the sale, and in an effort to

protect the goodwill of the business that Chicago Title

purchased, Magnuson entered into an employment

contract (the “Contract”) on July 1, 1991, that

included a covenant not to compete (the “Covenant”)

as one of its provisions. Specifically, the Contract

obligated Magnuson to work for Chicago Title for five

years after the sale, and the Covenant prohibited him

from acting in any capacity for a title insurance

company in a seven-county area surrounding, and

including, Columbus, Ohio “(flor a period of five years

3a

after the term of this Agreement.” Steller also took a

position with Chicago Title following the sale, but he

left the Ohio market in 1993.

At the time Steller left Chicago Title’s employ,

Magnuson and Chicago Title amended the Contract

to state that the initial five-year term of employment

would extend for ten-and-a-half years, until

December 31, 2001. According to the modification,

“(ajny other reference to word (sic) ‘term’ in the

Contract and the Exhibits thereto shall be construed

as being the said ten and one half year period.”

Therefore, the five-year non-compete period did not

begin until the term of the agreement ended, and

contractual expiration of the non-compete period was

delayed until the end of 2006.

Throughout his employment with Chicago Title,

Magnuson advanced through a_ variety of

management positions, each with an increasing scope

of geographic coverage. In 1996, Magnuson became

Chicago Title’s Ohio Manager, where he supervised

offices in Cincinnati, Dayton, Cleveland and Akron.

He turned over direct management of the Columbus

office to other Chicago Title managers at that time.

In 1998 or 1999, Magnuson assumed responsibility

over Ohio, Indiana, Michigan and Pennsylvania as

Chicago Title’s Regional Manager. Finally, in 2001,

Magnuson became Regional Manager for all title

insurance brands of Chicago Title’s parent, Fidelity.

In this position, his territory covered Ohio,

Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland,

Virginia and West Virginia.

Once the Contract term expired on its own terms

at the end of 2001, Magnuson and Chicago Title

discussed a two-year employment agreement

containing a one-year post-employment non-compete

4a

clause, but they never executed any documents

related to an extension of the Contract. In August

2002, Magnuson was appointed Division Vice

President of another one of Fidelity’s title insurance

brands and no longer worked for Chicago Title.

Also in 2002, The Talon Group (“Talon”), a

division of First American, ‘embarked on an

expansion strategy that included recruiting

experienced individuals from industry competitors.

Attracting employees who possessed established

relationships with customers and employees was

critical to generating business growth, as the title

insurance business is highly competitive with

minimal product differentiation among competitors.

As part of this effort, First American convinced

Magnuson to leave Chicago Title and join Talon.

During the negotiation process, Magnuson made

Talon aware of the existence of his non-compete

agreement with Chicago Title, and First American

agreed to indemnify Magnuson for any liability he

might incur as a result of making the move. Shortly

thereafter, Steller also joined First American.

Once with First American, Magnuson was based

out of an office located in Columbus, and the company

began recruiting other key Chicago Title customers

and employees from central Ohio. Within the first

three months, thirty Chicago Title employees

switched to First American, and a significant number

of Chicago Title’s customers in the area also ended up

moving over.

The district court below granted Chicago Title’s

motions for summary judgment as to liability on its

breach of contract claim against Magnuson and its

tortious interference claim against First American

before submitting the case to the jury on the issue of

5a

damages. The jury returned a verdict of $10.8 million

in compensatory damages and $32.4 million in

punitive damages, and the district court denied

various motions for a new trial by Magnuson and

First American, leading to the instant appeal.

Magnuson and First American challenge the

following rulings of the district court: (1) finding that

the Covenant was reasonable and_ therefore

enforceable, (2) granting summary judgment for

Chicago Title on the issue that Magnuson breached

the Covenant, (3) granting summary judgment for

Chicago Title on the issue that First American’s

actions constituted tortious interference, (4) granting

judgment as a matter of law on the issue that

Chicago Title was a lost volume seller, (5) instructing

the jury that the Covenant was reasonable for the full

five-year period, (6) finding that punitive damages

were appropriate for the jury to consider, (7) not

remitting the jurys punitive damages award as

unconstitutionally large in relation to the amount of

compensatory damages awarded, (8) failing to order a

new trial on punitive damages, and (9) giving

improper jury instructions that tainted the jury’s

verdict.

Magnuson and First American filed a timely

appeal. We have appellate jurisdiction under 28

U.S.C. § 1291.

A. Reasonableness of the Covenant

An appellate court reviews “the district court’s

conclusions of law de novo and its findings of fact for

clear error. Questions of contract interpretation are

generally considered questions of law subject to de

novo review.” Golden v. Kelsey-Hayes Co., 73 F.3d

648, 653 (6th Cir.1996) (internal citations omitted).

Here, the district court’s decision involved a question

6a

of law, as it required a determination of whether the

Covenant was reasonable under the circumstances

and was therefore enforceable. Furthermore, under

Ohio law, which the parties have chosen to govern

the Contract, a non-compete clause’s enforceability is

a matter of law for the court. UZ Engineered Prods.

Co. v. Midwest Motor Supply Co., 147 Ohio App.3d

382, 770 N.E.2d 1068, 1078 (2001). Thus, we review

the district court’s ruling on the Covenant’s

reasonableness de novo, but accept the district court’s

findings of fact unless they were clearly erroneous.

1. The Covenant period at issue

Although the Covenant is contained in a single

document that was extended by amendment on one

occasion, there are actually two separate covenant

periods at issue here between the parties. At the time

of the 1991 sale, Chicago Title and Magnuson agreed

that Magnuson would be employed for five years,

after which time the five-year non-compete period

would begin. Since the Contract was entered into at

the same time Magnuson sold the business and

mentions the acquisition itself, the original covenant

is properly viewed as incident to the sale and not as

an employment-related covenant.

At the time of the 1993 amendment, the

amendment’s provisions explicitly provided that the

post-employment covenant period remained in effect

and would begin at the end of Magnuson’s

employment term, as extended by the amendment to

December 31, 2001. The amendment’s sole focus,

however, was on extending the period of Magnuson’s

employment with Chicago Title, and not the sale that

occurred two years prior. The Covenant was no longer

tied to the original ten-year period of protection

contemplated when Magnuson sold his business to

7a

Chicago Title, as nothing in the amendment mentions

the sale. Thus, the two covenants are: (1) a sale-

related covenant not to compete for five years,

beginning on July 1, 1996, and ending June 30, 2001,

and (2) an employment-related covenant not to

compete for five years (the one referred to as the

“Covenant”), beginning on January 1, 2002, and

ending on December 31, 2006.’

2. The Covenant is reasonable for at least two

years

Under Ohio law, “[i]Jn determining the validity of

a covenant or agreement in restraint of trade, each

case must be decided on its own facts.... A covenant

restraining an employee from competing with his

former employer upon termination of employment is

reasonable if it is [1.] no greater than is required for

the protection of the employer, [2.] does not impose

undue hardship on the employee, and [3.] is not

injurious to the public. Courts are empowered to

modify or amend employment agreements to achieve

such [reasonable] results.” Raimonde v. Van Vlerah,

42 Ohio St.2d 21, 325 N.E.2d 544, 547 (1975). The

party seeking to enforce the covenant “is required to

adduce clear and convincing evidence as to each of

these factors” in order to prove that the covenant is

‘ The first period is not in dispute, as Chicago Title contends

that Magnuson’s breach occurred when he accepted the new

position with First American in December 2002, after the

expiration of the initial covenant period tied to the sale of his

business. As a result, the cases that Chicago Title cites from

other jurisdictions distinguishing between covenants not to

compete arising under a sale of business and those from

standard employment contracts are inapplicable here.

* Magnuson limits his challenge to the first prong of this test,

and does not address any hardship on himself or public injury.

8a

reasonable.’ Levine v. Beckman, 48 Ohio App.3d 24,

548 N.E.2d 267, 270 (1988). “Clear and convincing

evidence is that measure or degree of proof which is

more than a mere ‘preponderance of the evidence,’

but not to the extent of such certainty as is required

‘beyond a reasonable doubt’ in criminal cases, and

which will produce in the mind of the trier of facts a

firm belief or conviction as to the facts sought to be

established.” Estate of Schmidt v. Derenia, 158 Ohio

App.3d 738, 822 N.E.2d 401, 405 (2004) (quoting

Cross v. Ledford, 161 Ohio St. 469, 120 N.E.2d 118,

119 (1954)).

Additional considerations that courts should

assess in reviewing the reasonableness of a covenant

include:

whether the covenant imposes temporal and

spatial limitations, whether the employee had

contact with customers, whether’ the

employee possesses confidential information

or trade secrets, whether the covenant bars

only unfair competition, whether’ the

covenant stifles the employee’s inherent skill

and experience, whether the benefit to the

employer is disproportionate to the

employee’s detriment, whether the covenant

destroys the employee’s sole means of

* Chicago Title cites a number of cases for its assertion that the

proper burden of proof on this issue is a preponderance of the

evidence. This position results from a failure to recognize that

the clear and convincing standard required for an injunction to

issue and the preponderance of the evidence standard that must

be met to obtain monetary damages are the requisite burdens of

proof to obtain either of these legal remedies. Each of these is

distinct from a plaintiff's initial burden to show that a covenant

not to compete is reasonable by clear and convincing evidence in

order for there to be a viable claim for breach of the covenant.

9a

support, whether the employee’s talent was

developed during the employment, and

whether the forbidden employment is merely

incidental to the main employment.

Basicomputer Corp. v. Scott, 973 F.2d 507, 512 (6th

Cir.1992) (quoting Raimonde, 325 N.E.2d at 547).

We need not determine whether the Covenant

was valid for its full five-year term because

Magnuson’s actions that Chicago Title claims violated

the Covenant occurred just over one year after his

defined term of employment ended. So, as long as the

Covenant was reasonable for at least two years, we

must affirm the district court’s decision to award

summary judgment to Chicago Title on the issue of

liability.

The district court below noted that Chicago Title’s

vice president and manager of Ohio, Michael Nolan,

testified that the five-year duration was necessary in

order to give Chicago Title “time to secure the

relationships.” While this is not particularly strong

evidence on its own, the district court made findings

of fact regarding the competitive nature of the title

insurance industry and the “importance of

relationships within the ... industry.” See also Ticor

Title Ins. Co. v. Cohen, 173 F.3d 63, 71 (2d Cir.1999)

(discussing the significance of strong customer

relationships). Given this backdrop, and how quickly

Magnuson was able to bring employees and

customers over to First American after leaving

Chicago Title, it appears reasonable for an employer

to seek to restrict an employee from moving to a

competitor and taking customers and _ other

employees with them for two years following the

employee’s departure. This is especially true with an

employee such as Magnuson, who was a “key figure

10a

in the central Ohio title insurance industry” and had

“exposure to Chicago Title’s inner workings in Ohio.”

Magnuson argues that Chicago Title’s failure to

present evidence justifying the specific length of five

years (as opposed to a one-year or two-year non-

compete period), means that the Covenant is

unreasonable. See Economou v. Physicians Weight

Loss Centers of Am., 756 F.Supp. 1024, 1034

(N.D.Ohio 1991) (finding a three-year covenant

unreasonable without support for that particular

length of time); Cole Nat’l Corp. v. Koos, No. 66760,

1994 WL 716522 at *3-4 (Ohio Ct.App. Dec. 22, 1994)

(reaching the same result for a one-year covenant).

Both of these cases are distinguishable, as the

appellant-employers in Cole “wanted a longer period

of time but [were] told by counsel that twelve months

would be reasonable.” Cole, 1994 WL 716522 at *3.

The court continued, reasoning that the employers

chose “a time period not because of what was

necessary but because it was the longest they

expected would be enforced.” Jd. Similarly, in

Economou, the plaintiff produced “no relevant

testimony” whatsoever on this point. 756 F.Supp. at

1034.

Magnuson asserts that a plaintiff must state

specific reasons for a particular covenant length in

order for the covenant to be found reasonable, but he

does not cite any cases in support of this proposition.

Even though the Economou court had no testimony

before it as to whether the particular time period

sought was reasonable, it still assessed a number of

the other factors outlined in Raimonde before coming

to its final conclusion that the covenant at bar in that

case was not reasonable. This mode of reasoning

refutes Magnuson’s position that a failure to provide

specific justification for a covenant’s length

lla

automatically means that the covenant is

unreasonable.

Based upon all of the facts found by the district

court to justify the Covenant, we are satisfied that

the Covenant is reasonable for at least two years

even though Chicago Title’s testimony did not provide

justification for a specific time period.

3. Magnuson’s remaining challenges are

meritless

Magnuson also challenges several of the district

court’s factual grounds for finding that the Covenant

was reasonable. First, he asserts that consideration

of Chicago Title’s desire to protect its employee

relationships was inappropriate because Chicago

Title could have protected its interests through less

restrictive means by entering into covenants with

those employees directly. Busch v. Premier Integrated

Med. Assoc., Ltd., No. 19364, 2003 WL 22060392 at

*6-7 (Ohio Ct.App. Sept.5, 2003) (holding that a

desire of “maintaining stability” was not sufficient to

make a covenant not to compete reasonable in a

medical practice setting). Here, however, Chicago

Title was concerned with more than merely

maintaining the stability of its workforce. The district

court’s opinion states that the relationships between

a title company’s principals and its employees are

important in maintaining business and relationships

with customers. As this item goes to the heart of a

company’s ability to compete in the marketplace, we

do not find Busch applicable here, since a desire to be

able to effectively compete is a stronger justification

than a desire to retain stability among employees.

Furthermore, we reject Magnuson’s argument for

extension of Busch to all cases, as nothing in Busch

indicates that its holding was to be construed so

12a

broadly. Therefore, it was appropriate for the district

court to consider this justification in assessing the

Covenant’s reasonableness.

Next, Magnuson argues that protecting Chicago

Title’s customer relationships was not a valid reason

because he was not the “sole customer contact and

not actively engaged in the market at issue.”

(Appellants’ Br. at 29; citing Economou, 756 F.Supp.

at 1034.) The district court found, however, that

Magnuson, in fact, was “the key figure in the central

Ohio title insurance industry, even if he was not the

day-to-day point man with each customer.” Magnuson

challenges this finding by asserting his own view that

he was not an important customer contact by this

time. Such an argument is unavailing at this stage,

since assessing the credibility of various witnesses

was the district court’s responsibility, and the district

court’s finding of fact on this point was not clearly

erroneous. Therefore, this was also a valid factor to

consider in the reasonableness inquiry.

Finally, Magnuson posits that protecting Chicago

Title’s trade secrets and confidential information is

an insufficient reason to justify the Covenant on

these facts because Chicago Title employees were not

required to sign confidentiality agreements and the

company’s information systems were not password

protected. Although this is Chicago Title’s weakest

justification for the Covenant’s necessity, Raimonde

lists the protection of trade secrets as only one item

to consider in assessing reasonableness, so this

potential deficiency is not dispositive of the issue.

Overall, because Chicago Title had critical

customer and employee relationships to protect,

because these relationships directly affected Chicago

Title’s ability to compete in the market, because

13a

Magnuson could influence the continuity of these

relationships, because the Covenant contained

appropriate geographic and temporal limits, because

Magnuson had other means to support himself (i.e.

his law degree), and because at least some of

Magnuson’s_ relationships were established or

strengthened during his employment with Chicago

Title, we find that the district court properly

concluded that the Covenant was reasonable for at

least two years following Magnuson’s departure from

Chicago Title.

B. Grant of Summary Judgment to Chicago

Title on the Contract Claim Against Magnuson

Magnuson next argues that the district court

erred in granting summary judgment to Chicago Title

on the issues of the Covenant’s enforceability and

Magnuson’s breach. Specifically, he claims that (1) he

presented sufficient evidence of a novation to avoid

Chicago Title’s motion for summary judgment, (2) the

evidence, in fact, supported a grant of summary

judgment to Magnuson on _ the _ issue. of

reasonableness, and (3) the court’s decision

prejudiced him at trial. Only the first and third

arguments merit attention here, as we previously

* Magnuson is correct that courts have refused to enforce

covenants not to compete in situations where an employee

possessed skills that were developed prior to the employment

with the party seeking enforcement. See Patio Enclosures, Inc. v.

Herbst, 39 Fed.Appx. 964, 968 (6th Cir.2002); Raimonde, 325

N.E.2d at 547. Here, Magnuson had a wealth of experience in

the title insurance industry prior to joining Chicago Title, which

weighs against enforcement, but he also had ten years of

employment with Chicago Title with which to strengthen his

relationships with its customers, and this factor supports

enforcement.

l4a

affirmed the district court’s finding regarding

reasonableness.

Appellate courts review a district court’s grant of

summary judgment de novo. Leary v. Daeschner, 349

F.3d 888, 896 (6th Cir.2003). Summary judgmert

must be granted if “there is no genuine issue as to

any material fact, and ... the moving party is entitled

to a judgment as a matter of law.” Fed.R.Civ.P. 56(c).

“Initially, the moving party has the burden of proving

that no genuine issue as to any material fact exists

and that it is entitled to a judgment as a matter of

law. To meet this burden, the moving party may rely

on any of the evidentiary sources listed in Rule 56(c)

or on the failure of the nonmoving party to produce

‘more than a mere scintilla of evidence’ which would

create a genuine dispute for the jury. In reviewing

the district court’s decision to grant summary

judgment, we must view all evidence and draw all

reasonable inferences in the light most favorable to

the nonmoving party.” Leary, 349 F.3d at 897

(internal citations omitted). The standard prohibits a

court from making credibility determinations. Arnett

vu. Myers, 281 F.3d 552, 559 (6th Cir.2002).

1. No genuine issue of fact existed regarding

novation

Under Ohio law, “[a] contract of novation is

created where a _ previous valid obligation is

extinguished by a new valid contract, accomplished

by substitution of parties or of the undertaking, with

the consent of all the parties, and based on valid

consideration.” McGlothin v. Huffman, 94 Ohio

App.3d 240, 640 N.E.2d 598, 601 (1994). The party

asserting a novation defense carries the burden of

showing “evidence of clear intent to form a new

contract...."Am. Vineyards Co., Inc. v. Wine Group, 20

15a

Ohio App.3d 366, 486 N.E.2d 854, 857 (1984). The

existence of a novation “will never be presumed.”

Fitness Experience, Inc. v. TFC Fitness Equip., 355

F.Supp.2d 877, 891 (N.D.Ohio 2004) (citing Bolling v.

Clevepak, 20 Ohio App.3d 113, 484 N.E.2d 1367, 1379

(1984)).

Despite Magnuson’s citation of several items in

the record that indicate the Contract may no longer

have been in effect, none of these showed that the

parties agreed on a substitute contract to replace the

earlier one, so the district court did not err in finding

that a novation did not occur here.

2. Evidence of Magnuson’s recruiting activities

was properly admitted at trial

Next, Magnuson alleges that the district court

granted summary judgment on liability without

specifically finding that Magnuson’s recruitment of

Chicago Title employees violated the Covenant. He

cites no authority for his argument that the district

court must have listed all possible ways that the

covenant was breached in order tor the jury to

properly calculate damages. With language as broad

as that in the Covenant prohibiting Magnuson from

engaging in “any business ... whether as owner,

director, officer, investor, employee, or otherwise,

which is in competition with the business of [Chicago

Title] ... in the [counties surrounding Columbus,

Ohio],” a district court need not list all possible ways

that the defendant might violate the covenant in

order te properly grant summary judgment to the

plaintiff on the issue of liability. In addition, such

actions were properly considered on the issue of

proximate cause for the damages that Chicago Title

suffered as a result of Magnuson and First

16a

American’s breach of contract. As a result, the

argument on this point is without merit.

For the above reasons, we affirm the district

court’s grant of summary judgment to Chicago Title

on the issue of Magnuson’s liability for breach of

contract.

C. Grant of Summary Judgment to Chicago

Title on the Tortious Interference Claim

Against First American

The same de novo standard of review that applies

to Magnuson’s argument regarding the district

court’s grant of Chicago Title’s motion for summary

judgment on breach of contract liability governs the

tortious interference issue. First American’s

arguments regarding the district court’s grant of

summary judgment to Chicago Title on the issue of

whether First American tortiously interfered with

Chicago Title’s employment contract and _ the

associated covenant with Magnuson are: (1) Chicago

Title has not proven that a valid contract existed due

to either (i) the Covenant being unenforceable, or (ii)

the alleged novation, and (2) First American

presented sufficient evidence on the issue of intent to

defeat Chicago Title’s motion for summary judgment.

As noted above, the Covenant was enforceable for the

relevant period and Magnuson failed to establish a

novation as a matter of law, so First American’s

initial argument on this point is without merit.

Once the party moving for summary judgment

has met its burden of raising sufficient facts to entitle

its motion to be granted as a matter of law under

Rule 56(c), the opposing party “has an affirmative

duty to direct the court’s attention to those specific

portions of the record upon which it seeks to rely to

create a genuine issue of material fact.” In re Morris,

17a

260 F.3d 654, 665 (6ti, Cir.2001). A district court is

not required to “search the entire record to establish

that it is bereft of a genuine issue of material fact.”

Street v. J.C. Bradford & Co., 886 F.2d 1472, 1479-80

(6th Cir.1989). Furthermore, the Sixth Circuit “will

not entertain on appeal factual recitations not

presented to the district court” when reviewing a

district court’s decision. Guarino v. Brookfield Twp.

Trustees, 980 F.2d 399, 404 (6th Cir.1992). “In

reviewing summary judgment, we look at [the] record

in the same fashion as the district court.” Jd. (quoting

Estate of Mills v. Trizec Prop., 965 F.2d 113, 115 (6th

Cir.1992)).

First American’s appellate brief cites to numerous

items from the record in an attempt to establish that

disputed items of material fact existed regarding its

intent to cause Magnuson to breach his covenant not

to compete with Chicago Title. Under Guarino,

however, our proper focus is on the factual evidence

submitted below.

First American’s sole assertion of fact regarding

this tortious interference claim before the district

court was that First American carved out and

excluded the Columbus area from Magnuson’s

assigned territory. Chicago Title’s undisputed

evidence, however, showed that First American

placed Magnuson in its Columbus office building,

included him in a local title insurance industry

directory, listed his cell phone number as the regional

office number, placed an incoming local phone line on

his desk, included his name on marketing materials,

and had him participate in sales calls to Columbus-

area clients. In the face of such evidence, the district

court did not err in granting summary judgment to

Chicago Title on the issue of liability for tortious

interference because “no reasonable mind could

18a

conclude that ... Talon did not intentionally induce

Magnuson into breaching his contractual obligations”

by placing him in the Columbus market despite the

alleged exception of this territory from his

responsibilities.

For the above reasons, we affirm the district

court’s grant of summary judgment to Chicago Title

on the issue of First American’s liability for tortious

interference.

D. New Trial on Compensatory Damages

Magnuson and First American argue for a new

trial on compensatory damages because the district

court erred by: (1) finding that Chicago Title was a

lost volume seller as a matter of law, and (2)

instructing the jury that the Covenant was

enforceable for the full five-year period.

1. Chicago Title’s duty to mitigate damages

We review the district court’s grant of a motion

for judgment as a matter of law de novo. “The motion

may be granted only if in viewing the evidence in the

light most favorable to the non-moving party, there is

no genuine issue of material fact for the jury, and

reasonable minds could come to but one conclusion, in

favor of the moving party.” Gray v. Toshiba Am.

Consumer Prods., Inc., 263 F.3d 595, 598 (6th

Cir.2001).

In general, an aggrieved party has a duty to

mitigate its damages arising out of a breach of

contract under Ohio law. Young v. Frank’s Nursery &

Crafts, Inc., 58 Ohio St.3d 242, 569 N.E.2d 1034,

1037 (1991). One exception to this rule is a “lost

volume seller” situation, where the aggrieved party

could have made both (i) the sale that was lost due to

the breach, as well as (ii) a second, subsequent sale.

19a

Under such a scenario, traditional contract damages

would not fully compensate the damaged party for its

losses because the second sale would likely mitigate

nearly all of the party’s lost profit damages from the

first sale, thus depriving the party of its profit on the

second sale. To ameliorate this unjust result, Ohio

law allows a damaged lost volume seller to recover its

lost profits from the breached sale in addition to

traditional breach of contract damages. Lake Erie

Boat Sales, Inc. v. Johnson, 11 Ohio App.3d 55, 463

N.E.2d 70, 73 (1983) (citing Ohio Rev.Code §

1302.82(B) (2006), Ohio’s version of § 2-708(2) of the

Uniform Commercial Code prior to the 2003

amendments to Article 2). Although this case involves

services rather than a sale of goods, the lost volume

seller theory extends to service providers in a number

of jurisdictions, and there is no indication that the

Ohio Supreme Court would hold otherwise.’ See

Evergreen Int'l Airlines, Inc. v. Asiana Airlines, 136

Fed.Appx. 95, 97 (9th Cir.2005); Gianetti v. Norwalk

Hosp., 266 Conn. 544, 833 A.2d 891, 897 (2003).

In order to qualify as a lost volume seller,

Chicago Title must prove that it had access to

sufficient supply to make both sales and that it would

have completed the additional sale even if it made the

first sale. Tigg Corp. v. Dow Corning Corp., $62 F.2d

1119, 1130 (3d Cir.1992). Below, First American

attempted to present evidence that Chicago Title had

to turn away business during 2002 because its

existing employees were too busy and the company

did not have physical capacity to hire additional

employees. If believed, this evidence suggests that

* Furthermore, Magnuson and First American do not dispute

that Chicago Title could be considered a lost volume seller even

though it provides only services and not goods.

20a

Chicago Title might not have been able to take on any

additional business beyond that which it ended up

losing to First American and, thus, was not a lost

volume seller. The district court excluded this

evidence, however, because it arose prior to the

relevant damages period that began in March 2003

after Magnuson had influenced other employees and

customers to leave Chicago Title.

“We review a district court’s decision to exclude

evidence for abuse of discretion. ‘Under this standard,

we will leave rulings about admissibility of evidence

undisturbed unless we are left with the definite and

firm conviction that the [district] court ... improperly

applie[d]) the law or use[d] an erroneous legal

standard.” U.S. v. Lucas, 357 F.3d 599, 608 (6th

Cir.2004) (quoting U.S. v. Bartholomew, 310 F.3d

912, 920 (6th Cir.2002) (internal quotations omitted)).

Although this is a deferential standard, existing case

law establishes that the district judge applied the law

incorrectly by excluding evidence of Chicago Title’s

ability to take on new business prior to March 2003.

While Chicago Title provides no cases holding that

such evidence is improper to consider, numerous

courts have recognized the propriety of allowing pre-

breach evidence in making the determination of

whether a party is a lost volume seller. See R.E.

Davis Chem. Corp. v. Diasonics, Inc., 924 F.2d 709,

711 (7th Cir.1991) (citing to evidence that the seller

was “beating the bushes for all _ possible

sales,"““pursued ‘every possible lead,’ and attempted

to ‘identify every possible qualified customer’ in 1984”

prior to the 1985 breach); Ullman-Briggs, Inc. v.

Salton, Inc., 754 F.Supp. 1003, 1009 (S.D.N.Y.1991)

(considering evidence of the seller’s business with the

defendant prior to the breach). Where, as here, a

party is seeking to dispute the other side’s claim that

2la

it is a lost volume seller, evidence of the seller’s

business practices within a year of the breach is

relevant and should have been admitted.

In addition, Magnuson and First American

should also be able to present evidence of Chicago

Title’s post-breach conduct relative to obtaining new

business, as that would be relevant to Chicago Title’s

capacity and ability to take on additional work. This

would not be an improper indicator of whether

Chicago Title did or did not mitigate its damages, so

long as the evidence is limited to the stated purpose

of determining Chicago Title’s ability to service new

customers.

Lastly, Chicago Title argues that it adequately

proved mitigation, which would make the district

court’s decision regarding its status as a lost volume

seller irrelevant. Because neither the district court

nor the jury considered this evidence below, it is

premature for us to make a determination on this

issue.

This is not to say that the evidence conclusively

shows that Chicago Title was or was not a lost

volume seller, but merely that the district court

improperly excluded this evidence from

consideration. With this evidence, a genuine issue of

material fact exists, and a reasonable person could

find that Chicago Title was not a lost volume seller.

Therefore, we reverse the district court’s grant of

Chicago Title’s motion for judgment as a matter of

law that it was a lost volume seller and remand the

case for a new trial on damages on this ground.

2. Enforceability of the Covenant for five years

Magnuson and First American also argue that

this case should be remanded for a new trial on

22a

compensatory damages because the district court

erred in instructing the jury that the Covenant was

valid for the full five-year period. Although we have

found that the Covenant was reasonable for at least a

two-year period, we express no decision one way or

another as to the Covenant’s validity for the full five-

year period as written. This uncertainty does not

affect our previous discussion of the district court’s

grant of summary judgment to Chicago Title on the

question of Magnuson’s liability for breach of the

Covenant, because evidence of his conduct that

breached the Covenant and supported that decision

occurred during the first two years previously

determined to have been a reasonable period to

protect Chicago Title’s legitimate interests. As

Magnuson and First American argue, however, the

district court subsequently instructed the jury that

the Covenant was enforceable through 2006, the full

five-year period. Although the district court had both

sides brief the issue of the full period’s

reasonableness prior to instructing the jury, the court

failed to incorporate its findings of fact on the issue in

any written opinion. The only record is a brief

mention of this instruction in the district court’s

opinion denying Magnuson and First American’s

post-trial motions. This indicates that the jury’s

damage calculation may have improperly considered

actions taken by Magnuson beyond the time when the

Covenant was enforceable.

Numerous Ohio state courts have _ upheld

covenants that extended for three to five years,

finding that a covenant of five years is not per se

unreasonable. See, e.g., Briggs v. Butler, 140 Ohio St.

499, 45 N.E.2d 757, 763 (1942) (upholding a five-year

non-compete provision); Procter & Gamble Co. uv.

Stoneham, 140 Ohio App.3d 260, 747 N.E.2d 268, 276

23a

(2000) (three years); Matrix Corp. v. Faber, 104 Ohio

App. 8, 146 N.E.2d 447, 451 (1957) (five years).

Without any further factual development in the

district court record as to the reasonableness of the

Covenant for a period of five years, however, we are

unable to perform the requisite review under

Raimonde for this longer period of time. For the

above reasons, we affirm the district court’s ruling

that the Covenant was reasonable and enforceable for

at least two years, but reverse for a new trial on

damages on this additional ground.

E. Constitutionality of the Punitive Damages

Award

In contrast to compensatory damages, which are

designed to compensate victims for actual harm

suffered as a result of another’s wrongful conduct, the

purpose of punitive damages is grounded in

retribution and deterrence. Cooper Indus., Inc. v.

Leatherman Tool Group, Inc., 5382 U.S. 424, 432, 121

S.Ct. 1678, 149 L.Ed.2d 674 (2001). The Supreme

Court has overturned jury verdicts awarding punitive

damages that are so large that they constitute

“grossly excessive or arbitrary punishments.” State

Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Campbell, 538 U.S. 408,

416, 123 S.Ct. 1513, 155 L.Ed.2d 585 (2003). Such

punishments do not put citizens on sufficient notice of

the possible legal repercussions they may face as a

result of their actions, and thus do not satisfy the

Constitution’s guarantee of due process of law. Id. at

416-17, 123 S.Ct. 1513. In State Farm, the Court

confirmed three guideposts for lower courts to use

when considering the constitutionality of a punitive

damage award that were initially enunciated in BMW

of North America, Inc. v. Gore, 517 U.S. 559, 116

S.Ct. 1589, 134 L.Ed.2¢d 809 (1996). Under these

guideposts, a court’s decision must be informed by:

(pase ener emenr ers imeetetinih meester rene iy

24a

“(1) the degree of reprehensibility of the defendant’s

misconduct; (2) the disparity between the actual or

potential harm suffered by the plaintiff and the

punitive damages award; and (3) the difference

between the punitive damages awarded by the jury

and the civil penalties authorized or imposed in

comparable cases.” State Farm, 538 U.S. at 418, 123

S.Ct. 1513 (citing Gore, 517 U.S. at 575, 116 S.Ct.

1589).

“(Clourts of appeals should apply a de novo

standard of review when passing on district courts’

determinations of the constitutionality of punitive

damages awards.” Cooper Indus., 532 U.S. at 436,

121 S.Ct. 1678.

1. Reprehensible nature of First American’s

conduct

“(T]he most important indicium of the

reasonableness of a punitive damages award is the

degree of reprehensibility of the defendant’s conduct.”

Gore, 517 U.S. at 575, 116 S.Ct. 1589. In making this

assessment, the Court has instructed an inquiry into

a number of factors, specifically, whether:

the harm caused was physical as opposed to

economic; the tortious conduct evinced an

indifference to or a reckless disregard of the

health or safety of others; the target of the

conduct had financial vulnerability; the

conduct involved repeated actions or was an

isolated incident; and the harm was the result

of intentional malice, trickery, or deceit, or

mere accident. The existence of any one of

these factors weighing in favor of a plaintiff

may not be sufficient to sustain a punitive

damages award; and the absence of all of

them renders any award suspect. It should be

~ nema

25a

presumed a plaintiff has been made whole for

his injuries by compensatory damages, so

punitive damages should only be awarded if

the defeindant’s culpability, after having paid

compensatory damages, is so reprehensible as

to warrant the imposition of further sanctions

to achieve punishment or deterrence.

State Farm, 538 U.S. at 419, 123 S.Ct. 1513. The

harm here was economic, not physical, and the health

or safety of others were not in danger. Therefore, the

primary considerations to be addressed are Chicago

Title’s financial vulnerability, whether First

American’s conduct was repeated, and the culpability

of First American’s actions. We have already upheld

the district court's finding that First American

intentionally interfered with the Contract, so we are

willing to assume, for sake of argument, that First

American acted maliciously rather than by accident.

As a result, only two of the factors merit discussion

here.

a. Chicago Title was not financially vulnerable

First American presents Chicago Title as the

antithesis of an entity that could be considered to

exhibit financial vulnerability, due to the company’s

large size, as wel! 2s its self-professed status as still

having the number ore position in Ohio a year after

Magnuson’s departure On the other hand, there was

evidence in the record that a realtor in the area

believed that “Chicago Title would be out of business

in six months” as a result of First American’s actions,

that employee morale within Chicago Title “was at

the very bottom,” and that rumors existed that

Chicago Title was no longer a viable company.

Regardless of the cases cited by the parties, the

decisive fact on the instant record is Chicago Title’s

26a

own testimony that it maintained the number one

position in Ohio a year after Magnuson left. Such

evidence indicates a general lack of financial

vulnerability on Chicago Title’s part, despite the

initial predictions that the company was placed in

dire straits following First American’s actions. If

First American’s conduct was insufficient to unseat

Chicago Title as the top player in this market within

a year, it would violate the plain meaning of the term

to hold that Chicago Title was financially vulnerable.

On these facts, Chicago Title does not meet the

criteria for being a financially vulnerable victim, and

the district court incorrectly found this factor to be

present.

b. First American’s conduct was not repeated

against other companies besides Chicago Title

In Bach v. First Union Nat'l Bank, 149 Fed.Appx.

354, 356 (6th Cir.2005), and citing to Gore, we

interpreted the repeated conduct factor to “require

that the similar reprehensible conduct be committed

against various different parties rather than repeated

reprehensible acts within the single transaction with

the plaintiff.” Chicago Title argues that this

interpretation disregards another teaching of State

Farm, illustrated in our recent decision in Clark uv.

Chrysler Corp., 436 F.3d 594, 609-10 (6th Cir.2006),

that the court is not to consider actions taken outside

of the forum state when awarding punitive damages.

Chicago Title’s argument overlooks a distinction

between two different aspects of the analysis. When

assessing whether the defendant’s behavior was

sufficiently reprehensible to support an award of

punitive damages, the Supreme Court has noted that

consideration of the defendant’s conduct against

other parties across the country is instructive to the

27a

analysis. State Farm, 538 U.S. at 419, 123 S.Ct. 1513.

When it comes to assessing the amount of damages

awarded, however, such information is not to be

considered, as that would allow a court to punish

behavior outside of its jurisdiction that might be

lawful in the second state.° Jd. at 420, 123 S.Ct. 1513.

Here, therefore, Chicago Title’s argument that we

should disregard Bach as inconsistent with the

principles of State Farm is misplaced.

In this case, Chicago Title presented evidence

that First American’s conduct of hiring experienced

individuals from other title insurance companies was

part of its nationwide expansion plan, but the district

court did not find that First American engaged in the

same type of tortious behavior against other

competitors that it displayed against Chicago Title.’

Without an indication that First American employed

tortious tactics against other competitors, its actions

here were not repeated, as we have interpreted this

factor of the reprehensibility analysis.

* Similarly, the Court recently affirmed this distinction in

reversing a punitive damages verdict that was possibly based

upon harm to other individuals who were not parties to the case

at bar, although such evidence could be relevant to the

reprehensibility issue. Philip Morris USA v. Williams, 549 U.S. -

---, 127 S.Ct. 1057, 1064, 166 L.Ed.2d 940 (2007).

" Chicago Title’s argument that the district court “precluded [it]

from introducing evidence of similar misconduct by [First

American] in another market” does not have merit. A review of

that portion of the trial transcript reveals that Chicago Title

was merely using a deposition from another case against First

American for impeachment purposes, and not attempting to

demonstrate similar conduct in other markets.

———

28a

c. First American’s conduct was not sufficiently

reprehensible to support a punitive damage

award

By meeting a higher number of _ the

reprehensibility factors, a plaintiff has a better

chance of supporting a jurys award of punitive

damages. In State Farm, however, the Supreme

Court did not set a threshold number of the five

factors that must be met in order for the defendant’s

conduct to be sufficiently reprehensible. In fact, the

Court stated that the existence of one factor might

not be enough, but left open the possibility that an

award could still be upheld even if none of the factors

were present.”

Here, the only factor present is that First

American acted with malice. Especially because there

were no physical injuries or threat to personal safety

as a result of First American’s conduct, and because

Chicago Title was not a financially vulnerable victim,

the fact that First American acted maliciously is

insufficient to support a finding that First American’s

behavior was sufficiently reprehensible for an award

of punitive damages. As the Supreme Court

instructed in State Farm: “It should be presumed a

plaintiff has been made whole for his injuries by

compensatory damages, so punitive damages should

only be awarded if the defendant’s culpability, after

having paid compensatory damages, is_ so

reprehensible as to warrant the imposition of further

sanctions to achieve punishment or deterrence.” 538

U.S. at 419, 123 S.Ct. 1513. Therefore, an award of

* “The existence of any one of these factors weighing in favor of a

plaintiff may not be sufficient to sustain a punitive damages

award; and the absence of all ef them renders any award

suspect.” State Farm, 538 U.S. at 419, 123 S.Ct. 1513.

29a

punitive damages is inappropriate here, and we

reverse the district court on this issue.’

Ill

For the foregoing reasons, we AFFIRM the district

court’s opinion in part, REVERSE in part, and

REMAND this case to the district court for a new

trial on compensatory damages consistent with this

opinion.”

* Since punitive damages are inappropriate in this case due to

insufficient reprehensibility of First American’s conduct, a

number of its additional arguments are now irrelevant: (1) the

two remaining guideposts from State Farm (that the ratio

between punitive and compensatory damages was too high, and

a consideration of similar civil and criminal penalties), (2) that

Ohio law and the Ohio state constitution prohibit punitive

damages in this case, (3) that Chicago Title’s trial conduct

prejudiced the jury, and (4) that the case should be remanded

for remittitur of the punitive damages award. Thus, we need not

address these issues further.

Although we decline to reverse the district court on the issue

that the jury instructions did not distinguish between the

damages arising from Magnuson's breach of contract and First

American’s tortious interference with the contract, we note that

it is usually proper trial practice to do so. Here, the

unavailability of punitive damages and the fact that First

American indemnified Magnuson reduce the possible prejudicial

effect from the omission. Still, the differing legal characteristics

of contract and tort claims suggest that it is typically prudent to

request that the jury assign an independent damage figure to

each separate theory of recovery.

30a

Appendix B: Opinion of the U.S. District Court

for the Southern District of Ohio dated

September 26, 2005

UNITED STATES DISTRICT

COURT FOR THE SOUTHERN

DISTRICT OF OHIO,

EASTERN DIVISION

CHICAGO TITLE INSURANCE CORPORATION,

Plaintiff,

Vv.

JAMES A. MAGNUSON, et al., Defendants.

Case No. 2:03-cv-368

2005 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 43884

September 26, 2005, Filed

OPINION AND ORDER

This matter is before the Court for consideration

of the following sets of filings:

(1) a motion for judgment as a matter of law or a

new trial, or, in the alternative, motion for remittur

based upon punitive damages issues (Doc. # 192) filed

by Defendant First American Title Insurance

Company (“First American”); a memorandum in

support of that motion (Doc. # 206); a memorandum

in opposition (Doc. # 215) filed by Chicago Title

Insurance Corporation (“Chicago Title”); and a reply

memorandum (Doc. # 220) filed by First American;

(2) a motion for judgment as a matter of law or a

new trial based upon causation and compensatory

3la

damages issues (Doc. # 193) filed by First American;

a memorandum in support of that motion (Doc. #

207); a memorandum in opposition (Doc. # 216) filed

by Chicago Title; and a reply memorandum (Doc. #

219) filed by First American;

(3) a motion for judgment as a matter of law or a

new trial (Doc. # 194) filed by Defendant James

Magnuson; a memorandum in support of that motion

(Doc. # 208); a memorandum in opposition (Doc. #

214) filed by Chicago Title; and a reply memorandum

(Doc. # 224) filed by Magnuson;

(4) a motion for entry of permanent injunction

(Doc. # 196) and supporting memorandum (Doc. #

197) filed by Chicago Title; a memorandum in

opposition (Doc. # 213) filed by First American; and a

reply memorandum (Doc. # 222) filed by Chicago

Title; and

(5) a motion for determination and entry of award

of attorneys’ fees and costs (Doc. # 198) filed by

Chicago Title; a memorandum in opposition (Doc. #

212) filed by First American; and a _ reply

memorandum (Doc. # 223) filed by Chicago Title.

I. Background

In 1978, Magnuson and a business partner,

James Steller, formed a title insurance agency known

as Northern Title Insurance Agency (later known as

Chicago Title Agency of Central Ohio, Incorporated).

In July 1991, Magnuson, Steller, and four other

business partners later added as shareholders sold

their interests in their company to the legal

predecessor of Chicago Title, which is a national title

insurance underwriter that does business in Ohio. As

part of this sale, the parties entered into a 1991

purchase agreement that required the sellers,

32a

including Magnuson, to enter into employment

contracts with Chicago Title that would contain non-

competition clauses. (Doc. # 21, Ex, A, Purchase

Agreement, at 6 § 10.) Magnuson’s employment

contract therefore contained a _ section entitled

“Competitive Employment,” which provided in

relevant part:

For a period of five years after the term of

this Agreement, [Magnuson] shall not, except

with prior written consent of [Chicago Title],

directly or indirectly, engage in any business,

including that of a title insurance agency ...

whether as owner, director, officer, investor,

employee or otherwise, which is in

competition with the business of [Chicago

Title] or any affiliates of [Chicago Title] in the

Counties of Franklin, Union, Madison,

Delaware, Licking, Fairfield and Pickaway, in

the State of Ohio. Any breach of this covenant

shall be sufficient to permit [Chicago Title] to

terminate this Contract for cause and also, at

its option to be entitled to injunctive relief

against [Magnuson] in a court of appropriate

jurisdiction enforcing this restriction.

(Ex. P-4, Employment Contract, at 3.) Absent early

termination for inapplicable reasons specified in the

contract, Magnuson’s employment was originally set

to terminate on June 30, 1996. (Doc. # 21, Ex, A,

Employment Contract, at 1.) Magnuson and Chicago

Title subsequently amended the employment contract

in June 1993, however, extending its duration until

December 31, 2001. (Doc. # 21, Ex. A, First

Amendment to Employment Contract, at 1.) The

amendment did not expressly modify the non-

compete clause and provided that “[lelxcept as

expressly modified herein, all other terms and

33a

provisions of the said Employment Contract shall

remain in effect and unchanged.” (Doc. # 21, Ex. A,

First Amendment to Employment Contract, at 2.)

Magnusom continued to work in_ various

capacities for Chicago Title, Fidelity, Security Union,

and Ticor until his resignation on December 2, 2002.

He then began to work as an employee and officer of

Talon Title--also known as The Talon Group--which is

a division of First American, a title insurer that

competes with Chicago Title in Ohio and elsewhere.

The negotiations between Magnuson and First

American initially contemplated that Magnuson

would be in charge of Talon’s Ohio and Indiana

operations. After Magnuson disclosed his non-

competition covenant with Chicago Title, however,

Magnuson and Talon included the following provision

in his Talon/First American employment agreement:

[Magnuson] has informed [Talon] that in

connection with the sale of a prior business

there was a covenant not to compete that

covered certain counties in the Columbus,

Ohio metropolitan area. In no event do either

of the parties hereto want or intend

[Magnuson] to violate this covenant not to

compete. Therefore, subject to the terms and

conditions of this Agreement, [Talon] employs

[Magnuson] to serve in an executive and

managerial capacity as Vice President

managing the states of Indiana and Ohio

(except the Columbus metropolitan area) as

well as a [sic] providing assistance in other

areas especially the state of Florida.

(Doc. # 52, Ex. 7, Employment Agreement, at 1 § 1.)

An additional provision indemnified Magnuson

against

34a

an action brought by a third party ... to

impose liability or penalty ... for an act

alleged to have been committed by

[Magnuson] while [Magnuson] was employed

by and acting in good faith on behalf of

[Talon], within the scope of his job

responsibilities and for a purpose which

[Magnuson] reasonably believed to be in the

best interests of [Talon or its shareholders].

(Doc. # 52, Ex. 7, Employment Agreement, at 4 § 12.)

In addition to assisting in Talon’s development of

Ohio business, Chicago Title asserts, Magnuson has

also been involved in the successful recruitment of

thirty-two individuals from Chicago Title to work for

Talon.

On April 24, 2003, Chicago Title initiated this

action (Doc. # 1), later amending its Complaint to

assert only the following three claims: breach of

contract against Magnuson, seeking damages and

enforcement of the non-competition agreement;

tortious interference with contractual relations

against First American/Talon, for purportedly

interfering with the Magnuson-Chicago Title non-

competition agreement; and tortious interference

with business relations against Talon and Magnuson,

for hiring employees away from Chicago Title to

Talon. Magnuson in turn asserted a counterclaim

against Chicago Title and a third-party complaint

against Ticor and Fidelity for their refusal to pay him

a 2002 bonus and incentive compensation, as well as

for breach of the 1991 employment agreement and

the 1993 amendment. (Doc. # 91, at 8 PP 1-4.)

All the parties moved for summary judgment. In

arn August 25, 2005 Opinion and Order (Doc. # 98),

the Court granted summary judgment on liability

35a

only in favor of Chicago Title on several aspects of the

case, but found that genuine issues of material fact

precluded entry of summary judgment on other

remaining aspects of the case. The matter proceeded

to a jury trial on January 3, 2005. On January 25,

2005, the jury returned a verdict in favor of Chicago

Title and against First American and Magnuson in

the amount of $ 10.8 million in compensatory

damages and $ 32.4 million in punitive damages.

(Doc. # 185.)

Following entry of judgment (Docs. # 187, 188),

First American filed two motions for judgment as a

matter of law or a new trial (Docs. # 192, 193),

Magnuson filed one motion for judgment as a matter

of law or a new trial (Doc. # 194), and Chicago Title

filed a motion for entry of a permanent injunction

(Doc. # 196) and a motion for attorneys’ fees and costs

(Doc. # 198). The parties have exhaustively briefed

the issues involved, and these motions are now ripe

for adjudication.

II. Defendants’ Motions

A. Standards Involved

Defendants’ motions join two types of requests: a

motion for judgment as a matter of law under Federal

Rule of Civil Procedure 50(6) and a motion for a new

trial under Rule 59. The Sixth Circuit has explained

that “[a] judgment as a matter of law pursuant to

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 50(b) may only be

granted where, in viewing the evidence in the light

most favorable to the non-moving party, no genuine

issue of material fact remains for the jury, and all

reasonable minds would necessarily find in favor of

the moving party.” Bach v. First Union Nat'l Bank,

149 Fed. Appx. 354, 2005 WL 2009272, at *5 (6th Cir.

2005) (citing Gray v. Toshiba Am. Consumer Prod's.,

36a

Inc., 263 F.3d 595, 598 (6th Cir.2001)). In conducting

this inquiry, a court cannot weigh the evidence,

evaluate the credibility of the witnesses, or substitute

its judgment for the jury verdict. 149 Fed. Appx. 354,

[WL] at *5 (quoting Wehr v. Ryan’s Family Steak

Houses, Inc., 49 F.3d 1150, 1152 (6th Cir. 1995)).

A court can grant a new trial under Rule 59 “for

any of the reasons for which new trials have

heretofore been granted in actions at law in the

courts of the United States.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 59(a)(1).

Thus, a new trial is warranted “where the jury has

reached a seriously erroneous result, as evidenced by

(1) the verdict being against the weight of the

evidence, (2) the damages being excessive, or (3) the

trial being unfair to the moving party in some

fashion.” Medlin v. Clyde Sparks Wrecker Serv., Inc.,

59 Fed. Appx. 770, 776 (6th Cir. 2003) (citing Holmes

vu. City of Massillon, 78 F.3d 1041, 1045-46 (6th Cir.

1996)).

B. First American’s Motion on Punitive

Damages Issues (Doc. # 192)

First American predicates its motion for

judgment as a matter of law or for a new trial on

three basic grounds. None of these grounds are well

taken.

1. Evidence of Malice

The company first argues that Chicago Title failed to

prove malice as required under Ohio law. Proving

malice is indeed a prerequisite for recovering punitive

damages, because

Ohio law provides that an award of punitive

damages is available only upon a finding of

actual malice. Berge v. Columbus Community

Cable Access (1999), 136 Ohio App.3d 281,

37a

316, 736 N.E.2d 517. The “actual malice”

necessary for purposes of an award of

punitive damages has been defined as “(1)

that state of mind under which a person’s

conduct is characterized by hatred, ill will or

a spirit of revenge, or (2) a conscious

disregard for the rights and safety of other

persons that has a great probability of

causing substantial harm.” /d., quoting

Preston v. Murty (1987), 32 Ohio St.3d 334,

512 N.E.2d 1174, syllabus.

Kemp v. Kemp, 161 Ohio App. 3d 671, 681, 2005 Ohio

3120, 831 N.E.2d 1038, 1045 (Ohio App. dth Dist.

2005). See also Calmes v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber

Co., Inc., 61 Ohio St. 3d 470, 473, 575 N.E.2d 416,

419 (1991).

First American’s argument is premised in part on

the remarkable assumption that the jury believed its

evidence that the company proceeded “in a cautious

and good faith manner” in employing Magnuson and

that it “was taking reasonable precautions to protect

Chicago Title’s interests, not disregard them.” (Doc. #

206, at 7, 8.) But such a circular, self-serving

contention ignores that the incredulous jury was free

to disbelieve the often impeached testimony of First

American’s witnesses. The jury was free to conclude

that First American did not in fact make any attempt

whatsoever to follow the course of conduct in which

the company claims to have engaged. In other words,

just because First American said it did something or

offered an innocent explanation for what it did does

not mean that the jury was required to believe that

such proper conduct occurred or that the company did

not act with malicious intent. The jury was free to

evaluate the credibility of the witnesses, weigh the

evidence (including reasonable inferences), and draw

38a

its own conclusions as to First American’s conduct

and intent.

Equally dubious is First American’s alternate

premise that it was punished for seeking greater

marker share within its industry or for engaging in

“industry-appropriate” recruiting practices that are

the norm in its industry. Again, First American’s

loaded premise begs the answer, but the company

again errs in framing the issue. Chicago Title did not

argue that malice existed based on mere competition,

but instead asserted that First American’s competing

by improper means reflected malice. Further, there

was little evidence supporting First American’s

“industry norm” argument, and even if there were,

even industry-wide impropriety does not excuse the

specific misconduct involved here. It is axiomatic that

a party cannot excuse its tortious conduct by pointing

to the alleged tortious conduct of its peers. It is also

axiomatic that the jury was free to determine

whether the impropriety involved here indicated

malice or simple unfair business practices. The jury

obviously found that malice existed.

Similarly unpersuasive is First American’s

reasoning that no malice could be found in the

compensation scheme the company set for Magnuson.

Just as First American errs in continuing to regard

the indemnity agreement as impermissible evidence,

the company also errs in arguing that because

Magnuson never actually received any bonus or stock

related to Ohio profits, he could not have been

motivated by the possibility of receiving such

additional compensation. This is an illogical inference

that the jury was free to reject, just as the jury was

free to reject the company’s explanation that the

compensation scheme was the product of mere

oversight.

39a

Also unconvincing is First American’s argument

that Chicago Title misled the jury into finding malice

based on the fact that First American defended itself

at trial. In making this argument, First American

either unintentionally misconstrues or purposefully

mischaracterizes much of the substance of Chicago

Title’s closing.

The Court agrees with First American that

counsel for Chicago Title pointed tu the fact that First

American earns approximately $2.0 million in net

profit per day, noted that the trial took approximately

fifteen days, and asked for a minimum of $2.0 million

in punitive damages for each of those days. But these

closing remarks targeted the amount of punitive

damages Chicago Title sought, not the factual

predicate for awarding those damages. (The Court

also recognizes that the jury apparently simply

evaluated the compensatory damages involved in this

case--presumably in light of First American’s $2.0

million a day in net profits--and tripled the

compensatory damages award to arrive at its

punitive damages award.) This does not equate to

punishing a party for exercising its right to litigate

its interests, and there is no actual evidence here that

the jury did such a thing in this case. Further,

despite First American’s strategic labeling of Chicago

Title’s closing as “a thinly-veiled attack on the Court”

for having let the matter proceed to trial (Doc. # 206,

at 11), the Court itself finds no basis here for

granting the paternalistic First American’s joint

motion.

In its memorandum in opposition, Chicago Title

has exhaustively and correctly set forth the predicate

evidentiary chain that can support the jury’s punitive

damages award. The Court need not repeat that

evidence here in more detail than the above

40a

references. But the Court must note that viewing all

the evidence in a light most favorable to the non-

moving Chicago Title, the Court cannot say that First

American is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.

Further, given the jury’s ability to wholly disregard

the testimony of First American’s witnesses, the

Court also cannot say that the jury’s verdict was

against the weight of the evidence so as to warrant a

new trial.

2. Jury Instructions and Interrogatories

As a second ground for invalidating the jury’s

punitive damages award, First American contends

that there were errors in the instructions and

interrogatories submitted to the jury. Specifically, the

company asserts that the instructions did not include

the proper standard for awarding punitive damages

and that the interrogatories failed to provide for

separate assessment of the contract and tort damages

to sustain a compensatory or punitive damages

award.

Chicago Title initially responds to _ both

allegations by pointing out that because First

American failed to object to the pertinent instructions

and interrogatories, the company lost the right to

assert error now. Chicago Title correctly directs this

Court to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 51, which

requires an objection on the record to “an instruction

or the failure to give an instruction.” Fed. R. Civ. P.

51(c)(1). The consequent waiver that a failure to

object produces also extends to the failure to object to

jury interrogatories. Johnson v. Howard, 24 Fed.

Appx. 480, 485 (6th Cir. 2001).

First American in turn directs this Court to case

law indicating that the mere request for an

instruction preserves the issue. What First American

4la

does not discuss, however, is that after much

discussion at the charging conference, its trial

counsel expressly elected to pursue only select

objections. These five objections, set forth at pages

3203 to 3205 of the trial transcript, simply do not

include the punitive damages issues First American

now asserts, and defense counsel expressly stated

that he had no further objections than these five

when later given another opportunity to object. (Tr.

at 3423-24.) Accordingly, in light of the fact that trial

counsel either had apparently elected to abandon the

issues sub judice or had determined that their

arguments were substantively deficient, the Court

concludes that First American forfeited or abandoned

its allegations of the purported errors in the

instructions and interrogatories and can now only

assert its arguments as plain error.

Even assuming arguendo that First American did

not forfeit its arguments, the Court finds these

arguments substantively wanting. First American

complains that the Court delivered an incomplete

instruction to the jury by failing to tell the jury that

Chicago Title had to adduce procf of actual damages

that resulted from its malicious or fraudulent acts or

omissions. But the Court instructed the jury as

follows:

Chicago Title also brought suit against First

American claiming that First American knew

about the terms of the noncompetition

provision of the contract that Mr. Magnuson

had with Chicago Title and interfered with

the contract by inducing Mr. Magnuson to

breach his contract with Chicago Title. The

Court already found that First American did

interfere with the employment contract

between Mr. Magnuson and Chicago Title by

42a

inducing Mr. Magnuson to breach it.

Therefore, as to First American, the question

for you to decide -- questions for you to decide

are whether Chicago Title proved by a

preponderance of the evidence that First

American proximately caused Chicago Title to

suffer compensatory damages, and if so, how

much. If you find that Chicago Title is

entitled to compensatory damages, you will

decide whether Chicago Title has proved by

clear and convincing evidence that it is

entitled to punitive damages.

(Tr. at 3401-02.) The Court also instructed the jury a

few moments later:

[Yjou must decide whether Chicago Title

proved by a preponderance of the evidence

that First American proximately caused

compensatory damages to Chicago Title. If

you find that First American proximately

caused these damages to Chicago Title, then

you must decide what amount of

compensatory damages, if any, that Chicago

Title proved by a preponderance of the

evidence should be awarded.

The compensatory damages claim by Chicago

Title for Mr. Magnuson’s breach of contract

and for First American’s__ intentional

interference with contractual relations are

the same. Chicago Title claims that its

compensatory damages for both claims

include, among other items of damage, the

lost profits from customers that moved. If you

find that Chicago Title proved by a

preponderance of the evidence that it suffered

compensatory damages proximately caused

43a

by First American, then you must further

decide whether Chicago Title proved by clear

and convincing evidence that First American

is liable for punitive damages, and if so, in

what amount.

(Tr. at 3403-04.) And the Court later repeated this

point, explaining:

The compensatory damages available to

Chicago Title in its claim against First

American are the same as are available on

the claim against Mr. Magnuson. If you find

for Chicago Title and award compensatory

damages on its claim against First American,

you will proceed further to decide whether

you will separately award punitive damages

against First American. If you do not find

compensatory damages, you cannot consider

punitive damages.

You will decide whether First American shall

be liable for punitive damages in addition to

any compensatory damages that you award to

Chicago Title for interference for contractual

relations. The purpose of punitive damages is

to punish the offending party and to make the

offending party an example to discourage

others from similar conduct. You may decide

that First American is liable for punitive

damages if you find by clear and convincing

evidence that First American's acts or failures

to act demonstrated malice, aggravated or

egregious fraud, oppression, or insult.

(Tr. at 3408.) These instructions told the jury that it

could not award punitive damages without first

awarding compensatory damages on the tort claim

against First American. The instructions also

44a

explained that the jury could not award punitive

damages without finding by clear and convincing

evidence that First American’s acts or failures to act

demonstrated malice, aggravated or egregious fraud,

oppression, or insult. This satisfies the substance of

the model instruction First American references

because it predicates the award of punitive damages

on malicious acts or omissions that produced tort-

related compensatory damages; the instruction does

not enable the jury to consider other malicious acts,

even if stray comments by Chicago Title’s counsel

referenced other acts. The jury therefore was

informed that the essence of Chicago Title’s case was

that the out-of-the-ordinary, improper, and malicious

conduct caused compensatory damages and that only

acts causing these damages--not trial conduct--could

provide a basis for punitive damages. The Court

agrees with Chicago Title that to the extent First

American argues otherwise, First American

mischaracterizes the litigation.

The Court emphasized in its instructions that any

compensatory damages arising from the tort were

necessarily the same as any compensatory damages

arising from the breach of contract. The latter flowed

from the former, and as cited above, the Court

emphasized that only compensatory damages for the

tort could lead to punitive damages. (Tr. at 3408 (“If

you find for Chicago Title and award compensatory

damages on its claim against First American, you will

proceed further to decide whether you will separately

award punitive damages against First American. If

you do not find compensatory damages, you cannot

consider punitive damages.”).) Moreover,

Interrogatory No. 3 targeted the total amount of

compensatory damages, and given the evidence

produced and the amount the jury awarded, any

45a

suggestion that the jury doubled the compensatory

damages is uncertain, speculative, and unwarranted.

Johnson, 24 Fed. Appx. at 486. Interrogatory No. 4 in

turn asked the jurors to answer whether any of the

compensatory damages indicated in Interrogatory No.

3 were proximately caused by First American.

Because the Court repeatedly told the jury that the

compensatory damages available in the contract

claim were the same as in the tort claim, the fourth

interrogatory functioned to test whether the

compensatory damages awarded against First

American could enable punitive damages. This was a

scheme with wording upon which all parties agreed

(Tr. at 3201)--after much discussion and suggestions

by the Court and counsel during the charging

conference--and to which no party objected (Tr. at

3422). The Court is frankly surprised that First

American would now argue otherwise, despite the

presence of new counsel. Presumptively, new counsel

has reviewed what occurred at the charging

conference with First American’s trial counsel (who

still represent Magnuson) and should be aware of the

fact that all parties accepted the interrogatories,

which were ultimately the product of discussions with

counsel. Thus, even if the interrogatories were in

error, the concept of invited error applies here.

Moreover, again assuming arguendo that the

instructions or interrogatories were confusing, the

evidence presented and counsel’s own explanations to

the jury of what punitive damages were possible

preclude any prejudice to First American. See

Coggins v. KILLM, Inc., 146 Fed. Appx. 9, 2005 WL

1869512, at *2 (6th Cir. 2005) (citing the evidence

presented and counsel’s closing remarks as clarifying

verdict forms for the jury so as to preclude prejudice).

The interrogatory responses and damages awarded

46a

reconcile with the evidence presented at trial;

Chicago Title claimed approximately $13 million in

compensatory damages and the jury awarded

approximately $10 million in compensatory damages.

Further, Chicago Title’s counsel explained to the jury:

The focus is not on what Jim Magnuson did

in consciously disregarding anything.

[Chicago Title] is not asking for punitive

damages against Jim Magnuson, we can't get

punitive damages against Jim Magnuson.

The tort claim, the intentional inducement, is

against First American Title Insurance

Company.

(Tr. at 3385-86.) Such comments target the core

punitive damages issue: that such damages were tied

only to the tort compensatory damages and the tort

was against only First American. The end result is

that the jury was fully informed that (1) any

compensatory damages resulting from Magnuson’s

contractual breach flowed from First American’s

tortious inducement of that breach, (2) there could be

no different compensatory damages for the tort than

there could be for the breach of contract, and (3) the

compensatory damages resulting from the tort were

the only damages that were of import to the punitive

damages issue. First American’s arguments to the

contrary are unpersuasive.

3. Federal Due Process and State Limitations on

Damages

First American argues that the punitive damages

award at issue in this case violates the Due Process

Clause of the United States Constitution and Section

16, Article I of the Ohio Constitution, as well as state

court precedent. The company also asserts that the

punitive damages award is against the weight of the

47a

evidence and is the product of a jury infected by

passion and prejudice. Alternatively, First American

seeks a remittitur of the award.

The key issue here is whether the jury’s punitive

damages award, which is presumptively valid, was

grossly excessive. The Sixth Circuit has explained the

necessary analysis:

The Supreme Court’s approach to reviewing

the constitutionality of a punitive damage

award is laid out in the [case of State Farm

Mutual Automobile Insurance Company v.

Campbell, 538 U.S. 408, 123 S. Ct. 1513, 155

L. Ed. 2d 585 (2003)]. In State Farm, the

Supreme Court noted that punitive awards,

designed as tools of deterrence and

retribution, have upward limits imposed by

the elementary notions of fairness contained

in the Due Process Clause. 538 U.S. at 416-

17. The Supreme Court laid out three

guideposts for courts to consider in reviewing

the constitutionality of punitive damage

awards: (1) the reprehensibility of the

defendant’s conduct; (2) the disparity between

the actual harm suffered by the plaintiff and

the size of the punitive damage award; and

(3) the difference between the punitive

damages awarded and the civil or criminal

penalties imposed or _ authorized for

comparable misconduct. Id. at 418.

Bach, 149 Fed. Appx. 354, 2005 WL 2009272, at *8.

This Court shall therefore address each guidepost or

factor in turn.

In regard to the first guidepost, the Court

initially concludes that the reprehensibility of

Defendants’ conduct supports the punitive damages

48a

awarded. In reaching this conclusion, the Court is

guided by the relevant indicators of reprehensibility

that govern such an inquiry:

(1) whether the harm caused was physical or

economic; (2) whether the conduct showed an

indifference or reckless disregard for the

health or safety of others; (3) whether the

target of the conduct was financially

vulnerable; (4) whether the conduct involved

repeated actions or was merely the result of

an isolated instance; and (5) whether the

harm was caused by intentional malice,

trickery or deceit or was rather accidental.

Bach, 149 Fed. Appx. 354, 2005 WL 2009272, at *9

(State Farm, 538 U.S. at 419). Here, the harm

involved was undeniably solely economic, which leads

to two conclusions. First, as Chicago Title notes, the

United States Supreme Court has recognized that

“(the] infliction of economic injury, especially when

done intentionally through affirmative acts of

misconduct ... or when the target is financially

vulnerable, can warrant a substantial penalty.” BMW

of North America, Inc. v. Gore, 517 U.S. 559, 576, 116

S. Ct. 1589, 134 L. Ed. 2d 809 (1996) (citation

omitted). Although “this observation does not convert

all acts that cause economic harm into torts that are

sufficiently reprehensible to justify a _ significant

sanction in addition to compensatory damages,” id., it

also does not mean that substantial punitive

damages are not wholly appropriate for only economic

damages. Second, “because [Defendants’] actions

occurred in the ‘economic realm,’ it cannot be said

that the tortious conduct displayed an indifference or

reckless disregard for the health and safety of others.

Therefore, the second indicator of reprehensibility is

not met.” Jd.

49a

The third factor, whether Chicago Title was

financially vulnerable, is less clear cut. The larger

Chicago Title company certainly possessed a more

substantial ability to absorb the damage caused by

Defendants than its subdivisions viewed separately.

Also less than dispositive is the fact that although

Defendants’s conduct involved repeated actions

spread out over a notable period of time, the jury was

not permitted to consider evidence of a nationwide

pattern of allegedly tortious conduct, such as the

Arizona case. See Bach, 149 Fed. Appx. 354, 2005 WL

2009272, at *9 (explaining that State Farm

apparently requires inquiring whether misconduct

replicates prior transgressions). In this case, then,

although the Court was informed of numerous other

instances of similar conduct nationwide-about which

the Court expresses no opinion as to whether they

create liability--the jury only considered that there

was not one infraction but multiple infractions

involved in Defendants’ business plan to profit from

their misconduct here. Finally, the harm inflicted by

Defendants was not accidental but was caused by

intentional malice, trickery or deceit. Defendants’

misconduct formed the foundation of their business

plan and can in no way be regarded as mere accident.

The jury in fact specifically found that Defendants’

misconduct evinced malice, and the fact that Chicago

Title placed First American’s wealth before the jury

to inform the amount of damages does not mean that

the jury relied upon such information to determine

whether any such damages were justified. First

American’s contrary proposition is unfounded

speculation that finds no more support in the record

than does its assertion that Chicago Title

impermissibly used it’s opponents’ out-of-state status

to justify punitive damages.

50a

The Court thus concludes that Chicago Title’s

Ohio operation presented a financially vulnerable

victim subject to malicious acts of trickery and deceit.

At least two of the reprehensibility factors therefore

exist, distinguishing this case from the one-factor

Bach and providing some support for a finding of

reprehensibility.

The second guidepost to be addressed is the

disparity between the harm Chicago Title suffered

and the size of the punitive damages awarded. This

inquiry requires that the Court examine the ratio

between the amount of actual or compensatory

damages that Chicago Title suffered and the punitive

damages awarded. 149 Fed. Appx. 354, [WL] at *10.

The damages ratio here is precisely 3:1--$ 32.4

million punitive damages in relation to $ 10.8 million

compensatory damages.

There is no bright-line rule for when a punitive

damages award is unconstitutional, although the

Supreme Court has explained that “awards exceeding

a single-digit ratio will rarely be upheld against a

constitutional challenge” with “a four-to-one ratio ...

‘close to the line of constitutional impropriety.” Id.

(quoting State Farm, 538 U.S. at 424-25). Further,

“where the amount of compensatory damages is high,

a lesser amount of punitive damages, perhaps only in

an amount equal to the compensatory damages, may

comport with due process.” Id. (citing State Farm, 538

U.S. at 425).

First American argues that State Farm and its

progeny indicate that when only economic damages

are involved, at best a 1:1 ratio of punitive to

compensatory damages comports with due process.

The company cites to a number of cases presented to

support this general proposition. But these cases do

5la

not carry the day here, because they are

distinguishable insofar as the case sub judice involves

a particularly egregious act. No binding precedent

imposes a limit of a ratio of 1:1, and for the Court to

impose one here would be to abuse its discretion by

invading the province of the jury. The facts and

circumstances of this case and the gravity of the

harm to Chicago Title support upholding the punitive

damages award. State Farm, 538 U.S. at 415. The

United States Supreme Court recognized that well

over five hundred years of jurisprudence support

“sanctions of double, treble, or quadruple damages to

deter and punish.” Jd. This Court should not and will

not ignore that principle here, just as numerous other

courts to which Chicago Title cites have not ignored

that principle. See Doc. # 215, at 27 (collecting cases

upholding punitive damages awards exceeding 1:1

ratio).

The Court disagrees with Chicago Title’s theory

that the punitive damages award could also be

upheld on the grounds that it functions to

compensate the company for losses sustained beyond

the period contemplated by the compensatory

damages award. (Doc. # 215, at 27-28.) Such

reasoning runs directly contrary to the dual purposes

of deterrence and punishment recognized under both

federal and state law as justifying punitive damages.

There is no evidence here that the jury applied such a

“future losses” theory in arriving at the punitive

damages here, and to the extent that Chicago Title

attempts to rely on that theory now, the dubious

attempt is wholly and absolutely unpersuasive.

This leaves the third and final guidepost for

determining whether the amount of punitive

damages awarded is impermissible: the difference

between the jury’s award of punitive damages and

52a

the civil or criminal penalties imposed or authorized

for misconduct comparable to that found here. State

Farm, 538 U.S. at 428. First American asserts that

“the punitive damages in this case far outweigh any

civil penalty that could have been assessed against

defendants for comparable conduct. In fact, there is

no comparable civil penalty in this case.” (Doc. # 206,

at 26.) Chicago Title in counters by drawing an

analogy between the conduct at issue here and the

unfair competition prohibitions contained in The

Lanham Act, the Ohio Consumer Sales Practices Act,

and various other attenuated statutes--violation of

which often carries penalties of up to treble or

quadruple the actual damages a party suffers. Such

reference to these statutes provides some limited

support for Chicago Title’s defense of its punitive

damages award, although this skeptical Court is

cautious in wholly endorsing these statutes as truly

comparable conduct. In any event, even drawing no

firm conclusion on this point, the Court recognizes

that the balance .of the factors considered above

favors Chicago Title’s position in regard to both First

American’s federal and state due process concerns.

Although the Ohio Constitution certainly applies

with independent force here, see Dardinger v. Anthem

Blue Cross & Blue Shield, 98 Ohio St. 3d 77, 2002

Ohio 7113, 781 N.E.2d 121 (2002), its protections

yield no different a result than that produced by the

foregoing analysis. Given the amount of profit First

American generates on a daily basis, the Court can

only conclude that anything less than the award here

would fail to punish First American for its

misconduct and _ perhaps deter such future

transgressions. This does not punish First American

for being successful; rather, it merely punishes the

53a

company for achieving a portion of its success

through tortious means tainted with malice.

First American also asserts, however, that “a

punitive award of this size for this type of injury has

no precedent in Ohio. It is higher than the largest

punitive damages award ever upheld on appeal in

state history, and is over eight times that of the

highest Ohio punitive award in an economic ivijury

case.” (Doc. # 206, at 1.) But this argument does not

accommodate either the high compensatory damages

involved in this case or the specific facts underlying -

this litigation. Moreover, the company’s Ohio-

centered ratio argument fails to recognize that Ohio

courts have endorsed punitive damages awards far

exceedin

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.