Petition for Writ of Certiorari — FPL Energy Maine Hydro LLC LLC v. Maine Department of Environmental Protection (No. 07-570)

Supreme Court brief2007

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

» Supreme Court, U.S.

/ , FILE D

te a ae 07-570 Gi 24 2U0/

a es OFFICE OF THE CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the Anited States

¢

FPL ENERGY MAINE HYDRO LLC,

Petitioner,

V.

MAINE DEPARTMENT OF

ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION,

Respondent.

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The Maine Supreme Judicial Court

¢

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

MATTHEW D. MANAHAN

(Counsel of Record)

NICHOLAS D. LIVESAY

PIERCE ATWOOD LLP

One Monument Square

Portland, Maine 04101

(207) 791-1100

Counsel for Petitioner

FPL Energy Maine Hydro LLC

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Is a state certifying agency’s authority to issue a

binding water quality certification decision under

Section 401 of the Clean Water Act limited to the one-

year period following the certification request?

li

PARTIES BELOW AND

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

The parties to the appeal before the Maine Su-

preme Judicial Court were Petitioner FPL Energy

Maine Hydro LLC, Respondent Maine Department of

Environmental Protection, and Intervenors Maine

Rivers, Trout Unlimited, Appalachian Mountain Club,

and Natural Resources Council of Maine.

FPL Energy Maine Hydro LLC states that its

parents, subsidiaries, and affiliates that have issued

shares or debt securities to the public are:

FPL Group, Inc.

Florida Power & Light Company

FPL Group Capital Inc

FPL Energy Maine Hydro LLC is a Delaware

limited liability company whose parent is White Pine

Hydro, LLC, whose parent is White Pine Hydro

Holdings, LLC, whose parent is White Pine Hydro

Portfolio, LLC, whose parent is White Pine Hydro

Investments, LLC, whose parent is FPL Energy

Maine, Inc., whose parent is FPL Energy, LLC, whose

parent is FPL Group Capital Inc, whose parent is

FPL Group, Inc., which is a publicly traded company

located at 700 Universe Boulevard, Juno Beach,

Florida, 33408.

FPL Group, Inc. indirectly owns 10% or more of

FPL Energy Maine Hydro LLC’s stock.

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW. ............ i

PARTIES BELOW AND CORPORATE DISCLO-

RF CEPR RITE, cesinsceeccctsindsaserivlneerenivencertstess ii

SP GEE ertbreisecectecievesxicossensttincsenores lil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIEG.......00:.cccccsesocecssecsessessees vi

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI............. 1

Se ee HY oa icccicrvksessenesvhpenaiasieieieecmunkestantes 1

Pe IIE vidcacisabiustusicascdintsscnpcmmmneesveenieetinais 2

STATUTE FEO VION ce vvicsescccececcesscecereesoesorsces 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE .........cccccoscessonsceseseres 3

I. Section 401 and State Water Quality

ANU sci ccchinivinisciduicisniacecnseninapabaatcadetane 3

II. FPL Energy’s Request for Water Quality

Certification and DEP’s Agency Action ....... 4

III. Judicial Review by the Maine Courts.......... 6

A. Tie BROCE CEG orvscvncsecsi ci cecccccceeviveiss 6

B. The Supreme Judicial Court ................. 7

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.............. 8

I]. Background: The Prominence of State

Water Quality Certification in the Federal

Licensing Proceedings and the Signifi-

cance of the One-Year Deadline for State

TO sists visiesteabcieiaepcdeacaaccilestidmpemiiialgcecaccambisk 9

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

II. Courts Outside of Maine Recognize that

Section 401 Requires the Certifying

Agency to Take Final Action Within One

Year After the Request for Certification...... 16

A. The Puerto Rico Sun Oil Decision......... 17

1. Case Background: The Certifying

Agency Issued Final Certification

More Than One Year After the Re-

quest for Certification...................00+ 17

2. The Court’s Analysis: The Certify-

ing Agency Waived its Certification

Right by Failing to Issue Final Cer-

tification Within One Year................ 18

B. The Airport Communities Coalition

SOUR sik cuiientsicsicsniiccencusesinngnenisttents 20

1. Case Background: The Timely

Granted Certification was Amended

by an Agency Appeals Board After

the Expiration of the One-year

| REAR RE aN RODE area te oO 20

2. The Court’s Analysis: The Action of

the Agency Appeals Board After the

One-year Deadline was Not Binding

on the Federal Licensing Agency ..... 22

III. The SJC’s Decision is Inconsistent with

Existing Circuit Court Case Law and Sets

& Dangerous PIecedent .......cccessccsssscovesseesess 25

aes

TABLE OF CONTENTS -— Continued

Page

A. The SJC Departed from Existing Case

Law that Establishes that Action After

the One-year Deadline is Inconsistent

WEEE: FCIIONE GE issiscssactcisheteavstisxescedirense 28

B. Even if Section 401 Does Not Require

Final Agency Action Within One Year,

Action Taken Within One Year Cannot

DO CIES esticsntettitnnoneaioudan 31

C. The SJC’s Interpretation of Section

401 Renders the Waiver Provision

Meaningless, Destroying the Federal/

State Balance it was Intended to En-

IG oes ci cicscvcaduaratiniaseiisamaeie 33

CB IIUE iaiiniesédiscivaiac nce 34

APPENDIX

Maine Supreme Judicial Court Decision —

FPL Energy Maine Hydro LLC v. Depart-

ment of Environmental Protection, 2007 ME

OT, 926 A.B LIST (RO. BOOT. csvscacsesesceneceonesecseress A-1

Maine Superior Court Order — FPL Energy

Maine Hydro, LLC v. Department of Envi-

ronmental Protection, No. AP-04-50 (Me. Su-

per. Ct., Ken. Cty., May 25, 2006) ...........cccccecees A-30

Statutory Provision Involved .................cccceeeeeees A-31

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

FEDERAL CASES

Airport Communities Coalition v. Graves, 280

F. Supp. 2d 1207 (W.D. Wash. 2003).............. passim

American Rivers, Inc. v. FERC, 129 F.3d 99 (2d

E _ } SRR Ree ena M NEE ON CS ee ene 10, 32

California v. FERC, 495 U.S. 490 (1990)............ 12, 13

First lowa Hydro-Electric Cooperative v. FPC,

re SO CRD contexvnscsicasiicnwctasininieets 11, 12,13

Puerto Rico Sun Oil Co. v. U.S. Envtl. Prot.

Agency, 8 F.3d 73 (1st Cir. 1993)... passim

U.S. v. Marathon Dev. Corp., 867 F.2d 96 (1st

an EE aia susconsetctceussevecanbbecdesenianeruacunrendibaesaamiicasnnets 8

STATE CASES

de Rham v. Diamond, 295 N.E.2d 763 (N.Y.

FPL Energy Maine Hydro, LLC v. Dep't of

Envtl. Prot., No. AP-04-50 (Me. Super. Ct.,

Beets. Cly., ERY BB, DOGG? on cscccccesectevscescousencesisess a ¢

FPL Energy Maine Hydro LLC uv. Dep't of

Envtl. Prot., 2007 ME 97, 926 A.2d 1197 (Me.

SMT TEN isis ssldiasinashia cum anapaiadedecamiualeasibecmseaiaeeaa passim

Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. v. New York

State Dept. of Envtl. Conservation, 624

Pe ee GEE Ws SI iceciscnsccnnnsnnciertcitcousvcnuciniaiieen 12

Power Auth. of New York v. Williams, 357

PRD EAE AEE, Ge Bi iccocésevesnevcscctkencmmteconmastn 12

Vill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

S.D. Warren Co. v. Bd. of Envtl. Prot., 2005 ME

27, SEB A.2d 210 (Me. 200B) ...0cccicccesscoscececsseseessacors 27

S.D. Warren Co. v. Me. Bd. of Envtl. Prot., 126

Bh Sy RO RIE bic csdnchcncuiinisendcinipinipuctisahynidbounectsns 27

S.D. Warren Co. v. Me. Dep't of Envtl. Prot., No.

AP-03-70, 2004 Me. Super. LEXIS 115 (Me.

Super. Ct., Cum. Cty., May 4, 2004)......... ee eeceeeee 27

FEDERAL STATUTES

Ba ee NN OI siirivdcinciecdsnstebioanicaanetuaaanians 11

Be re Se Mitrchincicicsievites entuveteiceaidahibtienpsivialeunitiabacoinats 12

Sa RA, Oe fii erased tnd asccdeamnadaeenidassonntmnciatal 12

- ie | oe gl.) SRR e eee enenres i piisiebeinaieleiiaaoaca aes 2

Be ae ae iiss is scieasiticensadaccinensstevnbuedsansiaindeniate 10

eee A ee ee Or NG soshcrsasinnvdiouabendeienoaniecteanion 2

35S 2k | | SRE ete semecemnnnernretprepeoras passim

Be ee Be I ih tdiicenicesansesvacescciovieantsnouaclomseiaes 10, 17

ee i iiiincisccicissiainnaceussancssauiaircaiondeetimmeduantonen 10

re OF Pt iiantrisiiaicsishonencidtapuaicckdsuanidddetiglenia 17

STATE STATUTES

ME. REv. STAT. ANN. tit. 5, § 11001(1).................ccceeneee 2

ME. REV. STAT. ANN. tit. 5, § 11008(1)........0.... eee 2

ME. REV. STAT. ANN. tit. 38, § 341-A(2)...................0000 4

Vill

TAs. 5 OF AUTHORITIES —- Continued

Page

RULES

Bs Bie BD wkiesevcovsivossesianiniitiebivomedeiaigdalciameataa 9g

BE IE ses SUD cicacicecscectinicceantabcsethiodethbechianaambanmemeaa 9

LEGISLATIVE HISTORY

115 Conc. REc. (April 16, 1969)...............c0008 14, 15, 30

H.R. 4148, 91st Cong. § 14(b) (1969)... eeeeeee 14

H.R. Conr. REP. No. 91-940 (1970)...............ccccceeeees 16

WERE. TEMP. PEC, Ge Ca osikiccesccsisoceccsaneecntuncsecvieeeas 12

S, 7, Glak Coma. & 6} CEGGBD .cccenevccsscicncicsecssecszerniocs 14

AGENCY DOCUMENTS

Central Vermont Public Service Co., 113 FERC

TE Fe Cee wrvcieicasncaneviveisvesvioccssestcdioaneied 26, 27

FPL Energy Maine Hydro LLC, 108 FERC

Te OE ek Ce sistiditctsnicnictenmenmnpecsananennrs 26

FPL Energy Maine Hydro LLC, 111 FERC

SF Oh FE te iareticctinccusintidinncaadaneneaen 26

1

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Clean Water Act (“CWA”) Section 401, 33 U.S.C.

§ 1341, provides that a state wishing to issue (or

deny) a water quality certification must act on a

request for certification within a reasonable time,

which shall not exceed one year. FPL Energy Maine

Hydro LLC (“FPL Energy”) petitions for a writ of

certiorari to review the decision of the Maine Su-

preme Judicial Court (“SJC”), which ruled that the

State of Maine, through its Department of Environ-

mental Protection (“DEP”), acted in accordance with

Section 401 even though DEP failed to take final

action to deny FPL Energy’s request for water quality

certification until more than one year after the re-

quest.

*

OPINIONS BELOW

DEP issued two orders associated with FPL

Energy’s request for water quality certification. Both

are unreported. First, by an order dated November

13, 2003, the Commissioner of Environmental Protec-

tion (the “Commissioner”) issued the requested

certification. By subsequent order, dated July 15,

2004, the Board of Environmental Protection (the

“Board”) overturned the Commissioner’s decision and

denied FPL Energy’s request without prejudice. The

Maine Superior Court’s decision, which upheld the

Board’s order and found that the Board’s action was

consistent with CWA Section 401, FPL Energy Maine

2

Hydro, LLC v. Department of Environmental Protec-

tion, No. AP-04-50 (Me. Super. Ct., Ken. Cty., May 25,

2006), is unreported but is reprinted in the Appendix,

beginning at A-30. The SJC’s opinion upholding the

Superior Court’s decision, entered July 26, 2007, is

reported at FPL Energy Maine Hydro LLC v. Depart-

ment of Environmental Protection, 2007 ME 97, 926

A.2d 1197 (Me. 2007), and is reprinted in the Appen-

dix, beginning at A-1.

<

JURISDICTION

The SJC exercised jurisdiction over FPL Energy’s

appeal pursuant to ME. Rev. Stat. ANN. tit. 5,

§§ 11001(1) and 11008(1). The order of the SJC was

entered on July 26, 2007. This Court’s jurisdiction

rests upon 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a).

*

STATUTORY PROVISION

At issue in this case is the Federal Clean Water

Pollution Control Act, 33 U.S.C. §§ 1251 et seq. (the

“Clean Water Act” or “CWA”), in particular Section

401, 33 U.S.C. § 1341. The relevant portion of Section

401 is reprinted in the Appendix, beginning at A-52.

¢

3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

I. Section 401 and State Water Quality Cer-

tification

Clean Water Act Section 401 requires an appli-

cant for a federal license authorizing any activity that

may result in any discharge to navigable waters to

comply with state water quality standards. Certifica-

tion of compliance must be obtained from the state in

which the discharge will originate. Until such certifi-

cation is granted or waived, the federal licensing

agency is prohibited from issuing a license. Further,

any conditions attached to state water quality certifi-

cation must become conditions of the federal license.

Appendix (“App.”) A-52 through A-54.

Section 401 provides for waiver of states’ certifi-

cation rights, as follows:

If the State .. . fails or refuses to act on a re-

quest for certification, within a reasonable

period of time (which shall not exceed one

year) after receipt of such request, the certi-

fication requirements of this subsection shall

be waived with respect to such Federal ap-

plications.

App. A-53.

In Maine, the State’s authority to issue or deny

water quality certifications rests with DEP. App. A-9.

DEP consists of the Commissioner and the Board:

“The department shall consist of the Board of Envi-

ronmental Protection ... and of a Commissioner of

4

Environmental Protection.” ME. REv. Stat. ANN. tit.

38, § 341-A(2); App. A-9.

II. FPL Energy’s Request for Water Quality

Certification and DEP’s Agency Action

FPL Energy owns and operates the Flagstaff

Storage Project (the “Project”), which consists of a

dam (the Long Falls Dam), a reservoir (Flagstaff

Lake), and appurtenant facilities. App. A-2. Operation

of the Project requires a license issued by the Federal

Energy Regulatory Commission (“FERC”). App. A-2.

Prior to the December 31, 1997 expiration of the

FERC license for the Project, the then owner, Central

Maine Power Company (“CMP”),’ commenced license

renewal activities, including filing the required

application with FERC and a request for Section 401

water quality certification with the State. App. A-2

through A-3. CMP submitted its first request to the

State for water quality certification in 1995 by filing

with the Maine Land Use Regulation Commission.

DEP Record Item “R.” 76. In 1996, CMP re-filed its

request, which then was transferred to DEP as a

result of a reshuffling of certification authority among

State agencies.’ R. 102; see also App. A-3.

' FPL Energy acquired the Project from CMP in 1999. App.

A-3.

* In 1996, the Governor of Maine, by Executive Order,

reallocated jurisdiction among State agencies for water quality

certifications. R. 262.

5

Because a state waives certification if it does not

act on an application within one year (App. A-3), at

DEP’s request, CMP, and subsequently FPL Energy,

withdrew and re-filed the application for certification

each year from 1997 through 2002. App. A-3. FPL

Energy filed its final request on November 15, 2002.

App. A-3. The Commissioner granted water quality

certification (the “Certification”) 364 days later, on

November 14, 2003. App. A-3.

Maine Rivers, Trout Unlimited, the Appalachian

Mountain Club, and the Natural Resources Council of

Maine (collectively, the “non-governmental organiza-

tions,” or “NGOs”) sought additional DEP considera-

tion by appealing the Certification to the Board. App.

A-4. Although the Project itself does not discharge

anything into the water (see App. A-27 through A-28

(noting that this point was not contested)), the NGOs

argued that the way FPL Energy would draw down

the water level of the Flagstaff Lake impoundment

would not comply with EPA-approved state water

quality standards for protection of aquatic life. See

App. A-4.

To ensure that operation of the manmade lake

complied with water quality standards, earlier in

2003 the Maine Legislature had adopted a resolve

stating that Flagstaff Lake should be compared to a

similar impoundment. App. A-20 through A-21.

Because prior to the Legislature’s 2003 resolve the

DEP staff had compared manmade impoundments to

natural lakes, and because EPA did not approve the

Legislature’s 2003 resolve, the NGOs argued that it

6

was improper for the Commissioner to issue a certifi-

cation based on the impoundment-to-impoundment

comparison called for by the Maine Legislature. The

Board agreed with the NGOs. See App. A-4 through

A-5.

On July 15, 2004, nine years after the filing of

the first request for certific ition with the State and

more than one and one-half years after FPL Energy

filed the final certification request with DEP, the

Board reversed the Commissioner’s decision and

denied FPL Energy’s request for water quality certifi-

cation, without prejudice. App. A-4.

The DEP’s denial of the certification reflected the

Board’s objection to the Commissioner’s use of the

legislatively mandated impoundment-to-impoundment

comparison without first obtaining EPA’s approval.

App. A-5.

Ill. Judicial Review by the Maine Courts

A. The Superior Court

On August 9, 2004, FPL Energy timely filed with

the Maine Superior Court a petition for review of the

DEP’s action. App. A-6, A-33. Among the questions

raised by FPL Energy was whether the agency’s

action taken more than one year after FPL Energy’s

request for water quality certification was consistent

with the CWA Section 401 requirement that the State

certifying agency must act on a certification request

within one year. FPL Energy argued that DEP

7

waived its certification rights by failing to take final

action within the one-year deadline, or, alternatively,

that only the agency action taken within the one-year

deadline — the Commissioner’s order — was effective

pursuant to Section 401. App. A-39 through A-40.

Ultimately, the Superior Court determined that

final agency action taken after the one-year deadline

is consistent with the requirements of Section 401.

App. A-49.

B. The Supreme Judicial Court

FPL Energy appealed the Superior Court deci-

sion to the Maine SJC. Among the issues presented

on appeal, FPL Energy questioned the Superior

Court’s interpretation of Section 401. The SJC ob-

served: “Since the Board’s decision was issued more

than one year after the application was filed, FPL

argues that the Department waived certification or,

in the alternative, that the Board’s actions after the

one-year deadline are ineffective.” App. A-9.

Noting that Section 401 “does not define ‘act on’,”

the SJC, found it “unclear from the plain meaning of

the statute whether the requirement is one of some

action or final action.” App. A-10 (emphasis added).

The SJC ultimately determined that the former —

some action ~ is all that is required by Section 401.

App. A-13. The SJC rejected FPL Energy’s alternative

argument, stating that “we conclude that the Board

complied with the [Section 401] requirement that it

act on the application within one year.” App. A-10. By

8

finding that DEP acted in accordance with Section

401, the SJC’s decision is that DEP’s final action —

the denial — is binding on the federal licensing

agency, FERC.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Section 401 of the Clean Water Act ensures that

states play a central role in protecting their water

resources. Any activity that may result in a discharge

into navigable waters and that requires a federal

license or permit first must be subject to state water

quality certification. Therefore, in what otherwise is a

federal licensing process, states have veto authority if

they determine that the proposed activity will violate

water quality standards; the denial of a request for

certification means denial of the federal license. U.S.

v. Marathon Dev. Corp., 867 F.2d 96, 99-100 (1st Cir.

1989) (“The legislative history of section 401 of the

Act (‘Certification’) confirms that Congress intended

to give the states veto power over the grant of federal

permit authority for activities potentially affecting a

state’s water quality.”).

The SJC’s decision means there is no limit on the

time within which states must exercise their veto,

contrary to the express provision of the CWA. Under

the SJC’s reasoning, a state can toll the one-year

deadline in Section 401 simply by taking some action

within the year following a request for water quality

certification, while delaying final action until some

9

future date, or perhaps never taking action at all.

Thus, in addition to being able to veto a federal

permit application on the grounds that the proposed

activity would result in a violation of water quality

standards — the purpose behind Section 401 — the

SJC decision opens the door for states to passively

kill projects, not on water quality grounds, but

through simple delay or incomplete action.

The SJC’s decision sets a dangerous precedent

and calls for an interpretation of Section 401 that

stands in stark contrast to that applied by both the

U.S. Court of Appeals for the First Circuit and by a

U.S. District Court in the Ninth Circuit. To resolve

the conflict between the Maine SJC and these federal

courts, and to resolve this important issue of fed-

eral/state jurisdiction in federal permitting proceed-

ings, FPL Energy respectfully requests that the Court

grant this petition. S. Cr. R. 10(b)-(c).

{

I. Background: The Prominence of State

Water Quality Certification in the Federal

Licensing Proceedings and the Signifi-

cance of the One-Year Deadline for State

Action

Numerous activities in and around water bodies,

whether the water body is a stream, river, pond, lake,

ocean, or wetland, require federal licenses or permits

and otherwise trigger the need for state water quality

10

certification.’ The result is that each state plays an

important role in protecting its waters. As noted

above, Section 401 prohibits any federal agency from

issuing a license for an activity that may result in

any discharge until the state has certified the activity

or waived certification. App. A-53. And any conditions

imposed on the activity in the state water quality

certification must be included as conditions in the

federal license. App. A-53 through A-54; American

Rivers, Inc. v. FERC, 129 F.3d 99, 111 (2d Cir. 1997)

(stating that the federal licensing agency “does not

possess a roving mandate to decide that substantive

aspects of state-imposed conditions are inconsistent

with the terms of Section(s) 401”).

While Section 401 provides states considerable

power in the federal permitting process through their

ability to impose conditions on projects or to veto

them altogether on water quality grounds, it does not

> Clean Water Act Section 402, 33 U.S.C. § 1342, requires a

permit for any activity that may result in a discharge of a

pollutant to navigable waters. The U.S. Environmental Protec-

tion Agency oversees that permit program. CWA Section 404, 33

U.S.C. § 1344, requires a permit for the discharge of dredged or

fill materia] into navigable waters. The U.S. Army Corps of

Engineers oversees that permitting program, which plays a

central role in the protection of wetlands. Under Section 10 of

the Rivers and Harbors Act, 33 U.S.C. § 403, the Army Corps

must issue permits for structures with the potential to impede

navigation. All of these permits are other examples of the type of

federal permits (in addition to FERC hydropower licenses? that

trigger the need for state water quality certification under CWA

Section 401.

11

provide states with unilateral authority to dictate the

timing of the federal process or, potentially, to allow a

project to die on the vine by failing to take final

action within a reasonable period of time.

Federal licensing programs generally reflect the

belief by Congress that, with regard to the licensed

activity, the public interest is best served through a

single, uniform regulatory system. This is the case

with the Federal Power Act (“FPA”), 16 U.S.C.

§§ 791a et seg., which grants FERC primary authority

to license hydropower projects and which was the

“outgrowth of a widely supported effort of the conser-

vationists to secure enactment of a complete scheme

of national regulation which would promote the

comprehensive development of the water resources of

the Nation.” First Iowa Hydro-Electric Cooperative uv.

FPC, 328 U.S. 152, 180 (1946).* The FPA:

provide[s] “a method by which the water

powers of the country, wherever located, can

be developed by public or private agencies

under conditions which will give the neces-

sary security to the capital invested and at

the same time protect and preserve every le-

gitimate public interest.... The problems

are national, rather than local; they tran-

scend State lines and cannot be handled

adequately except by or in conjunction with

national agencies.”

* The Federal Power Commission (“FPC”) was the predeces-

sor agency to FERC.

12

Id. at 180 n.23 (quoting statement of David F. Hous-

ton, Secretary of Agriculture, H.R. Rep. No. 66-61, at

5 (1919)).

While “the FPA establishes a broad and para-

mount federal regulatory role” in the licensing of

hydropower projects and the management of national

hydropower resources, California v. FERC, 495 U.S.

490, 499 (1990), at the same time the FPA is a “highly

complex and long-enduring regulatory regime” that

also respects states’ interests in protecting their

water resources. Jd. at 500. For example, Section 27

of the FPA, 16 U.S.C. § 821, reserves to the states

authority over “the control, appropriation, use or

distribution of water used in irrigation or for munici-

pal or other uses,” while Section 10(a), 16 U.S.C.

§ 803(a), provides an avenue for states to raise con-

cerns about a project’s impact on fish and wildlife and

authorizes FERC to address those concerns through

the adoption of state-proposed conditions.

Section 401 of the CWA provides an additional

role for states in the licensing of hydropower projects,

but it is not intended to disrupt the balance of federal

and state authority otherwise struck in the FPA.

Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. v. New York State

Dept. of Envtl. Conservation, 624 N.E.2d 146, 148

(N.Y. 1993) (FPA establishes comprehensive scheme

for regulation of hydropower projects, and a state’s

role under CWA Section 401 is limited to reviewing

whether the projects meet water quality standards);

Power Auth. of New York v. Williams, 357 N.E.2d

726, 730 (N.Y. 1984) (certifying agency is limited to

13

determining whether applicable ‘water quality stan-

dards are met and is not authorized to engage in a

comprehensive environmental review and balancing

of interests); de Rham v. Diamond, 295 N.E.2d 763,

767-78 (N.Y. 1973) (certifying agency has authority

only to determine whether there is reasonable assur-

ance that the activity will not violate water quality

standards).

The balance of federal/state authority achieved

by federal licensing programs is delicate, with the

potential for natural tension between the federal

licensing agency and the state. Time has proven this

tension exists under the FPA. For example, First

Iowa Hydro-Electric Cooperative v. FPC, 328 U.S. 152

(1946), and California v. FERC, 495 U.S. 490 (1990),

both involved disagreements between FERC and the

state in which a project was located over the scope of

the role each was to play in the permitting of those

hydropower projects.

Recognizing this tension, and aware of concerns

by those subject to federal permitting that states

could use the certification process to indefinitely

delay or passively kill projects, Congress sought to

ensure that the certification process would not unduly

interfere with federal permitting programs, such as

the one created under the FPA, by requiring that

states act on a request for certification within a

reasonable period of time, not to exceed one year.

The legislative history of Section 401 makes this

clear. When the language that ultimately became

14.

Section 401 first was proposed as part of the Water

Quality Improvement Act of 1969, neither the initial

Senate bill nor the House bill amending the CWA

contained a provision requiring the certifying state or

appropriate agency to act on a request for certifica-

tion within a reasonable period of time. S. 7, 91st

Cong. § 14(b) (1969); H.R. 4148, 91st Cong. § 14(b)

(1969). That language came later, in an amendment

to the House bill offered by Representative

Edmondson. 115 Cona. REc. 9264 (April 16, 1969).

The amendment provided that the certification re-

quirements shall be waived if the federal licensing

agency determined that the certifying entity failed to

certify or refused to certify within a reasonable period

of time.” Jd. Language specifying that a reasonable

period of time could not exceed one year was not

included in Rep. Edmondson’s amendment; the fed-

eral licensing agency had discretion to determine

what was reasonable.

The purpose of the amendment was to avoid

delaying the certification process. As Rep. Edmondson

explained, while states are not pressured by the

> The amendment provided:

If an affected State or interstate water pollution control

agency or the Secretary, as the case may be, fails to act

to certify or refuse to certify within a reasonable period

of time as determined by the licensing or permitting

agency after notification of such application, the certifi-

cation requirements of this subsection shall be waived

with respect to such State, agency, or Secretary, as the

case may be, with respect to such application.

115 Conc. REc. 9264.

15

amendment to grant certification, they are “put in the

position with this amendment to do away with dalli-

ance or unreasonable delay and to require a ‘yes’ or

‘no’” within the period of time deemed reasonable by

the federal licensing agency. Jd. “The failure by the

State to act in one way or the other within the pre-

scribed time would constitute a waiver of the certifi-

cation required as to that State.” Jd. (statement by

Rep. Edmondson); see also id. at 9265 (Rep. Holifield

speaking in favor of the amendment: “[T]his amend-

ment guards against a situation where the water

pollution control authority in the State in which the

activity is to be located, or possibly in some other

state, simply sits on its hands and does nothing. ...

[I]t has to take affirmative action to consider the

matter and to decide to withhold the certificate if it

wants to defeat a proposed project.”).

The House bill, including Rep. Edmondson’s

amendment, formed the basis for the legislation that

emerged from conference. A notable difference, how-

ever, is that the discretion of the federal licensing

agency to determine the length of time that qualifies

as a reasonable period within which the certifying

state must grant or deny certification was limited;

Congress determined that in no instance could action

taken after one year be “reasonable.” The Conference

Report made this clear:

In order to insure that sheer inactivity by

the State ... will not frustrate the Federal

application, a requirement, similar to that

contained in the House bill is contained in

the conference substitute that if within a

16

reasonable period, which cannot exceed one

year, after it has received a request to certify,

the State ... fails or refuses to act on the re-

quest for certification, then the certification

requirement is waived.

H.R. Conr. Rep. No. 91-940 (1970), reprinted in 1970

U.S.C.C.A.N. 2712, 2741.

Thus, while Section 401 ensures that states play

a central role in the federal permitting of projects

with the potential to impact water quality, Section

401 also seeks to ensure that state certification is

focused on the preservation of water quality and does

not become a means for states to disrupt federal

permitting programs or unduly delay federal permit

applications. This balance is struck by requiring

states to act on a request for water quality certifica-

tion — either by granting or denying the certification —

within one year of the request. The SJC’s decision in

this case destroys that balance.

II. Courts Outside of Maine Recognize that

Section 401 Requires the Certifying

Agency to Take Final Action Within One

Year After the Request for Certification.

The U.S. Court of Appeals for the First Circuit

and a U.S. District Court in the Ninth Circuit both

have recognized the significance of the one-year

deadline in Section 401 and have found that agency

action taken beyond that deadline is inconsistent

with that section.

17

A. The Puerto Rico Sun Oil Decision

1. Case Background: The Certifying

Agency Issued Final Certification

More Than One Year After the Re-

quest for Certification.

In Puerto Rico Sun Oil Co. v. U.S. Envtl. Prot.

Agency, 8 F.3d 73 (1st Cir. 1993), the First Circuit

addressed Sun Oil’s appeal of a federal pollutant

discharge license, issued by the U.S. Environmental

Protection Agency (“EPA”), that incorporated the

conditions of a Section 401 water quality certification

issued by the Puerto Rico Environmental Quality

Board (“EQB”).° The court found that EPA acted

arbitrarily and capriciously in the manner in which it

incorporated EQB’s water quality certification into

the final waste discharge license. In the course of its

analysis, the First Circuit addressed a procedural

claim by Sun Oil that, because EQB’s certification

was issued beyond the Section 401 one-year deadline,

“Puerto Rico’s final certification came too late and

therefore could not furnish the basis for EPA’s own

final permit.” Jd. at 79.

* CWA Section 402, 33 U.S.C. § 1342, requires the licensing

of al] activities that may resuJt in the discharge to navigable

water of a pollutant from a point source. All activities requiring

a discharge license under Section 402 also must obtain state

certification under Section 401. For the purpose of the CWA,

Puerto Rico is treated as a state. Puerto Rico Sun Oil, 8 F.3d. at

74 (referencing 33 U.S.C. § 1362(3)).

18

Sun Oil had submitted its application for a

discharge license to EPA on May 27, 1988. On Octo-

ber 31, 1988, EPA forwarded the application to EQB

and requested water quality certification. EQB issued

a draft certification in January 1989, within one year

of the October 31, 1988 request. EQB did not issue

final certification, however, until July 24, 1990, more

than one and one-half years after certification had

been requested by EPA. Id. at 74-76 (setting out the

timeline).

2. The Court’s Analysis: The Certify-

ing Agency Waived its Certification

Right by Failing to Issue Final Cer-

tification Within One Year.

The First Circuit conducted a two-step analysis

in its review of Sun Oil’s claim. First, the court asked

whether EQB acted in accordance with Section 401’s

one-year deadline even though EQB did not take final

action within the year following the request for

certification. This is the same issue presented in this

Petition.

The First Circuit found that EQB’s action was

untimely and inconsistent with the deadline in

Section 401. The court noted: “EPA was entirely free,

once Puerto Rico had ignored the clear deadlines for

a final certification, to treat the Commonwealth as

an interested bystander with no further veto author-

ity.” Id. at 78 (emphasis added). The court added:

“Under the statute ... , the price of failing to meet

19

the deadlines is that the state agency waives its right

to dictate permit terms that go beyond what [the

federal licensing agency] would do on its own.” /d. at

79.

In short, according to the First Circuit, final

agency action is what is required by Section 401

within the one-year certification deadline. Not only is

this evident from the language quoted above, but also

from the fact that EQB had issued a draft permit

within the one-year deadline — a fact that clearly

evinces “some action” — and the court found that

action insufficient to meet the Section 401 deadline.

Also evident from the court’s decision is that any

action taken by the certifying agency after the one-

year period is not binding on the federal licensing

agency.

The First Circuit then proceeded, in the second

step of its two-step analysis, to address whether,

consistent with Section 401, the federal licensing

agency may exercise some level of discretion and

accept certification conditions issued after the one-

year deadline. The court determined that, while a

certifying agency waives its certification right by

failing to take final action within one year after a

request for certification - meaning that after the one

year period lapses the federal agency is free to treat

the certifying agency as a bystander — the federal

licensing agency (in that case EPA) may, in some

situations, choose to accept certification conditions

issued after the one-year deadline. Jd. at 79-80.

20

Because the Board decision here did not seek to

impose conditions on the federal agency’s license, but

instead purported to deny the certification entirely,

this second step in the Puerto Rico Sun Oil analysis is

not directly relevant here. Rather, this petition fo-

cuses on the first step in the Puerto Rico Sun Oil

analysis, and the authority of a state certifying

agency to issue a binding water quality certification

decision after the one-year deadline. As explained

more fully below, the SJC’s decision here directly

conflicts with that portion of the First Circuit’s deci-

sion in Puerto Rico Sun Oil.

z

B. The Airport Communities Coalition Deci-

sion

1. Case Background: The Timely

Granted Certification was Amended

by an Agency Appeals Board After the

Expiration of the One-year Deadline.

Airport Communities Coalition v. Graves, 280

F. Supp. 2d 1207 (W.D. Wash. 2003) (“A.C.C.”), in-

volved a challenge brought by a group of cities and

other municipal government bodies (the “Coalition”)

to a federal dredge and fill permit issued by the U.S.

Army Corps of Engineers (the “Corps”). The Corps

permit authorized the filling of wetlands in order to

expand the Seattle-Tacoma International Airport;

state water quality certification was required prior to

the issuance of the Corps permit. The Coalition

claimed, among other things, that the Corps’s deci-

sion to issue the permit was arbitrary and capricious

21

because “the Corps failed to incorporate into the

permit various conditions placed on the project by the

state Pollution Control Hearing Board (‘PCHB’)” as

part of the state water quality certification process.

A.C.C., 280 F. Supp. 2d at 1214.

In A.C.C., the Corps had published final public

notice of the dredge and fill application on January

17, 2001. The court viewed the date of that final

notice as the start of the one-year period within

which state certification was required by Section 401.

The Washington State Department of Ecology

(“WDE”) issued its certification on September 21,

2001, well within the one-year time period. The

Coalition then appealed WDE’s action to PCHB, an

independent administrative review board that is part

of a separate state agency that hears appeals of

orders and decisions issued by WDE. Id. at 1214

(showing the timeline).

On August 12, 2002, more than one year after the

initial request for certification, PCHB affirmed the

certification issued by WDE, but also added 16 new

conditions. When it issued the dredge and fill permit,

the Corps chose to incorporate only seven of the 16

conditions. Jd. The Coalition’s challenge followed.

2. The Court’s Analysis: The Action of

the Agency Appeals Board After the

One-year Deadline was Not Binding

on the Federal Licensing Agency.

The A.C.C. court, applying the First Circuit’s

reasoning in Puerto Rico Sun Oil, rejected the

22

Coalition’s claim that the Corps erred by not includ-

ing all of the 16 additional conditions in the final

federal license. Jd. at 1217 (citing Puerto Rico Sun Oil

in support of its conclusion). The court found that the

disputed conditions were issued by PCHB more than

one year after the request for certification (id. at

1214), and held that only certification conditions

issued within one year after the request for certifica-

tion meet the waiver deadline established in Section

401. Id. at 1217. Further, the court determined that

administrative appeals of state certifications, heard

at the agency level, must be completed within one

year of the request for certification to be consistent

with the Section 401 deadline. Jd.

Central to the Coalition’s claim was its interpre-

tation of Section 401(d). The Coalition argued that,

pursuant to that provision, all conditions of a state

water quality certification must be made part of the

final federal permit. Jd. at 1215. Section 401(d)

provides, in relevant part:

Any certification provided under this section

shall set forth any effluent limitations and

other limitations, and monitoring require-

ments necessary to assure that any applicant

for a Federal license or permit will comply

with any applicable effluent limitations and

other limitations, ... and shall become a

condition of any Federal license or permit

subject to the provisions of this section.

App. A-53 through A-54. The A.C.C. court, however,

found that the Coalition’s interpretation of Section

293

401(d) “renders the time bar in Section 401(a) super-

fluous.” A.C.C., 280 F. Supp. 2d at 1215.

The court reasoned as follows: “If the time bar is

to mean anything, .. . it must mean that the issuance

of state certification conditions outside the one-year

time period must be treated differently than the

issuance of such conditions occurring within that

period.” Jd. The difference between certifications

issued before and after the one-year deadline, the

court concluded, is that only the former are consistent

with the requirements of Section 401, thus requiring

incorporation of the attached conditions into the

federal permit pursuant to Section 401(d). After the

one-year certification deadline passes, states waive

their certification rights under Section 4061. As a

result, while not barred outright by Section 401,

certification conditions issued after that one-year

deadline have no binding effect on the federal permit-

ting agency. Jd. at 1217 (“Accordingly, the court holds

that Section 401 requires that the Corps incorporate

only those state certification conditions issued within

a year of issuing the notice of the request for certifica-

tion.”).

Notably, in the course of reaching this conclusion

the court addressed whether Section 401 could be

read as merely requiring some action, as opposed to

final action, within the one-year period following a

request for certification. The court also considered

whether agency-level administrative appeals must be

completed within that one-year period. The court

rejected the notion that some action - or, as the

24

A.C.C. court termed it, “some process” — is all that is

needed to satisfy the Section 401 deadline. Jd. at

1215. The court explained:

[T]he time limit was inserted in order to

avoid a state from interminably blocking a

federal permit by stalling the Section 401

certification. Whether a state begins to act

but does not complete the issuance of a certi-

fication or whether the state entirely fails to

act at all, the legislative history of Section

401 makes clear that either of those two

situations was unacceptable to Congress be-

cause both result in delays in issuing Federal

permits.

Id. at 1216.

The court determined that by requiring state

certification to be completed within one year after the

request for certification, Section 401 established that

agency-level administrative appeals, too, must be

concluded within that period to be consistent with

Section 401. The court indicated that states were free

to structure their certification programs as they saw

fit, and if a state was concerned about waiving its

certification authority by failing to take final action

within the one-year deadline, the state could modify

its certification program accordingly. See id. at 1217.

25

III. The SJC’s Decision is Inconsistent with

Existing Circuit Court Case Law and Sets

a Dangerous Precedent.

In its FPL Energy decision, at issue here, the SJC

concluded that so long as some action is taken, pro-

vided that action is taken within one year after the

request for certification, the requirement in Section

401 that a state “act on” a request for certification

“within a reasonable period of time (which shall not

exceed one year),” has been satisfied. The SJC went

on to reason that, once satisfied, the waiver provision

contained in Section 401 ceases to apply and all

subsequent action taken by the state, even if taken

after one year, must be treated as consistent with

Section 401. Thus, according to the SJC, Section 401

does not impose any time constraints on a certifying

agency’s final action, but uses the risk of waiver to

motivate states only to commence the certification

process by taking some initial action within one year

of the certification request. App. A-8 through A-13.

Applying this reasoning to the facts before it, the

SJC concluded that, although the Board did not

issue its denial of certification until more than one

year after FPL Energy’s final request, “the Board

complied with the [Section 401] requirement that it

act on the application within one year.” App. A-10.

The import of this conclusion is that a state certify-

ing agency — despite finally acting more than one

year after the request for certification — does not

waive its right to certify or deny certification for

projects requiring a federal license, notwithstanding

26

the prescribed one-year deadline in Section 401 to

“act on” the certification request. Thus, according to

the SJC, the state agency’s final action, here DEP’s

denial of certification in the form of a Board order, is

binding on the federal licensing agency, here FERC.’

" FERC has adopted a position similar to that of the SJC,

concluding that DEP did not waive certification by failing to

take final action within one year. FPL Energy Maine Hydro

LLC, 108 FERC J 61,261 at 9 7 (2004), reh’g denied, 111 FERC

4 61,104 (2005). FERC initially reasoned that nothing in the

language of Section 401 expressly calls for the state to resolve

all appeals within one year, and therefore that intra-agency

appeals do not need to meet the one-year deadline, even if

completion of such appeals necessarily precedes final agency

action. Jd. On rehearing, FERC backed away from its prior

reasoning, stating instead that “we see nothing in section 401

that gives the Commission any authority to determine the

finality of state-issued certification decisions. Issues concerning

the validity of state actions under section 401 are for state

courts to decide, and federal courts and agencies are without

authority to review these matters.” FPL Energy Maine Hydro

LLC, 111 FERC 7 61,104 at J 8 (2005). In addition to the flaws

in FERC’s initial reasoning (see infra note 9), the implication

that a state certifying agency can toll the one-year requirement

contained in Section 401 is directly at odds with other FERC

decisions. For example, in Central Vermont Public Service Co.,

113 FERC 9 61,167 at 99 15-16 (2005), Vermont's certifying

agency took issue with what it thought was an overly rigid

definition of the term “act” in Section 401 as requiring a denial

or grant of certification within the one-year deadline. The

Vermont agency argued that such an interpretation was incon-

sistent with FERC’s practice of issuing “‘tolling’ orders” to stay

other deadlines. Jd. at J 16 n.15. FERC rejected the agency’s

claim, reasoning — contrary to FERC’s initial reasoning in its

2004 FPL Energy decision — that Section 401 does not allow

states to toll or extend the certification deadline past one year.

(Continued on following page)

27

The SJC’s FPL Energy decision conflicts with

existing case law. This departure appears to be the

result of the SJC brushing aside established prece-

dent in an effort to achieve the desired result — pro-

tecting the State’s cumbersome certification process

so that neither existing state procedural require-

ments, nor the behavior of the certifying agency,

needs to be modified to comport with federal law.’

This ends-driven approach guts the Section 401 one-

year deadline provision. The SJC’s reading of Section

401 allows the very state behavior — inaction and

delay resulting in undue state interference in federal

licensing actions — that Congress sought to prevent.

Id. Granting this petition would help resolve the confusion at

FERC as well as in the courts.

* Although in this case DEP did not take final agency action

within the one-year period established in Section 401, Maine’s

existing water quality certification process does allow sufficient

time for the Commissioner to issue (or deny) a certification and

for that certification decision to be fully reviewed by the Board

within one year. See S.D. Warren Co. v. Bd. of Envtl. Prot., 2005

ME 27, 43, 868 A.2d 210, 213 (Me. 2005), aff’d on alternate

grounds, 126 S. Ct. 1843 (2006) (an example of DEP taking final

agency action on a request for certification, in the form of a

Board order following appeal of the Commissioner’s grant of

certification, within one year); S.D. Warren Co. v. Me. Dep't of

Envtl. Prot., No. AP-03-70, 2004 Me. Super. LEXIS 115, at *2

(Me. Super. Ct., Cum. Cty., May 4, 2004) (noting that the request

for certification was filed on December 20, 2002 and that DEP

took final action in October 2003). In the present case, however,

the Commissioner did not issue certification until the 364th day,

making it impossible for the Board to complete its review, and

thus for DEP to take final agency action, within the statutorily

required, one-year period.

28

It is to resolve this conflict among the courts, and

settle this important issue of federal/state jurisdiction

in federal permitting processes, that FPL Energy

asks this Court to grant this petition.

A. The SJC Departed from Existing Case

Law that Establishes that Action After

the One-year Deadline is Inconsistent

with Section 401.

The SJC’s opinion is directly at odds with First

Circuit’s decision in Puerto Rico Sun Oil and the

similar reasoning applied in A.C.C. While in both of

those cases the court ultimately found that the fed-

eral licensing agency possessed some amount of

discretion to accept certification conditions issued

after the one-year deadline, that conclusion was

predicated on the initial determination — contrary to

the SJC’s determination here — that by failing to act

finally within the one-year deadline in Section 401

states waive their certification right. In both cases,

only because the state certifying agency had waived

its right provided for in Section 401 was it necessary

for the court to consider whether the federal licensing

agencies possessed some level of discretion to accept

late-filed certification conditions. Had the states not

waived their certification right, the issue concerning

the level of discretion possessed by federal licensing

agencies would not have been presented, because,

absent waiver, state action on a request for certifica-

tion must be respected by the federal licensing agency

and any conditions of the certification must be made

29

part of the final federal license, and a denial of certi-

fication bars issuance of the federal license alto-

gether.

The SJC’s opinion appears to have been the

product of a desire to preserve Maine’s water quality

certification process in the face of federal law re-

quirements. For example, the SJC’s claim that the

issue presented by FPL Energy in its appeal is dis-

tinct from the issue addressed in A.C.C., and there-

fore from the issue addressed in Puerto Rico Sun Oil,

has no basis. The court appears either to have chosen

to ignore or to have failed to recognize that the A.C.C.

court, in finding that the Corps did not have to adopt

all the PCHB’s additional conditions, first determined

that PCHB’s action came after Section 401’s one-year

deadline and therefore that PCHB had waived its

certification right. The issue presented in this peti-

tion — is a state certifying agency’s authority to issue

a binding certification decision under Section 401

limited to the one-year period following the certifica-

tion request — is no different than the issue addressed

in A.C.C. and Puerto Rico Sun Oil.

The SJC’s review of the legislative history of

Section 401, explaining Congress’s intent in adding

the requirement that states must act on a request for

certification within one year, does little to dispel the

appearance that the SJC’s decision was erids driven.

The SJC notes with acceptance that:

The legislative history of [Section 401] shows

that Congress intended to prevent states

30

from effectively denying approval of a project

through lengthy delays. In 1969, Congress-

man Edmonson [sic], the sponsor of this pro-

vision, explained that, without the provision,

the state “does not have any particular pres-

sure to compel certification,” but with the

provision the state must “do away with dalli-

ance or unreasonable delay” and vote “a yes”

or “no.” 115 CoNnG. REC. 9259, 9264 (1969).

Congressman Holifield explained that the

provision prevents the state from “simply

sit[ting] on its hands and doling] nothing.”

115 Conc. REc. 9259, 9265.

App. A-10 (emphasis added). Despite recognizing that

Congress intended Section 401 to require a yes or no

determination on a request for water quality certifi-

cation within one year after the request — a clear call

for final agency action within that period — the SJC

interpreted the legislative history as reflecting Con-

gress’s intent that only some agency action is required

by Section 401 within the year following the request

for certification.” App. A-13. Thus, the SJC concluded

* The SJC stated that if Congress had intended that “all in-

state appeals” must be completed within Section 401’s one-year

deadline, Congress would have used specific language to that

effect. App. A-13. However, there is a sizable gap in the SJC’s

logic that it leaves un-bridged. At issue in the present case is

whether DEP “acted on” FPL Energy’s request for certification

within the required one-year period even though the agency did

not take final action until more than one year after the request.

That final action was in the form of the Board’s denial order on

appeal. “All in-state appeals,” which would include appeals to

state court, encompass a much broader group of appeals than

(Continued on following page)

31

that while Congress sought to prevent states from

sitting on their hands and doing nothing in the year

immediately following a request for certification,

Congress was indifferent to such inactivity after that

first year passed.

This curious treatment of the legislative history,

and the cursory effort to distinguish a denial of

certification after the one-year deadline from the

federal agency’s discretion to accept conditions im-

posed by the state after the deadline, creates the

appearance that the SJC was seeking to preserve

Maine’s potentially lengthy certification process in

the face of the language in Section 401 that requires

prompt action by the state.

B. Even if Section 401 Does Not Require

Final Agency Action Within One Year,

Action Taken Within One Year Cannot

Be Disturbed.

Assuming arguendo, as the SJC reasoned, that

the requirement in Section 401 that a certifying

agency “act on” a request for certification within one

the intra-agency appeal that occurred here. Notably, while an

administrative agency has control over its process and how

rapidly it makes decisions, an agency lacks similar control over

state courts. It therefore does not follow, as the SJC contends,

that the absence of specific statutory language in the CWA

requiring that “all in-state appeals” must be completed within

one year means that the words “act on” in Section 401 cannot

mean final agency action.

32

year does not require final agency action, but simply

some action, the SJC still made the wrong decision.

While DEP as the certifying agency did not take

final action within the statutory deadline, the Com-

missioner did take some action, in issuing the certifi-

cation. The SJC concluded that the Commissioner’s

action was sufficient to prevent waiver because the

Commissioner “acted on” the request within the

statutorily allowed time. But, even if that were true,

it does not follow that further agency action beyond

the one-year deadline can have the effect of reversing

the agency action taken within the one-year deadline.

Rather, as contemplated by Section 401, such action

within the one-year deadline is the state’s certifica-

tion decision under Section 401, and it may be sup-

plemented after the one-year deadline only with non-

binding conditions, as discussed in Puerto Rico Sun

Oil and A.C.C.

Pursuant to the SJC’s own reasoning, then, the

DEP’s only legally effective action consisted of the

Commissioner’s certification, not the Board’s post-

deadline denial of certification. That legally effective

Commissioner’s action, taken before the waiver

deadline, in turn must become part of the final fed-

eral license. See American Rivers, Inc. v. FERC, 129

F.3d 99, 111 (2d Cir. 1997) (stating that the federal

licensing agency “does not possess a roving mandate

to decide that substantive aspects of state-imposed

conditions are inconsistent with the terms of Sec-

tion(s) 401”).

33

C. The SJC’s Interpretation of Section 401

Renders the Waiver Provision Meaning-

less, Destroying the Federal/State Bal-

ance it was Intended to Ensure.

The precedent set by the SJC is dangerous.

According to the SJC, so long as a certifying agency

takes some action within one year after the request

for certification, all subsequent action by that agency

is insulated from waiver. This means there is no

deadline by which a certifying agency must take final

action, but rather only a deadline for commencing the

certification process by taking some action. The

practical result is that, so long as state certifying

agencies take some action within one year, federal

licensing agencies must wait, potentially indefinitely,

for final certification.

A state agency thus effectively could deny a

federal permit application or kill a project through

incomplete action. Section 401 does not allow such a

result. As Puerto Rico Sun Oil and A.C.C. demon-

strate, agency action taken more than one year after

the request for certification is inconsistent with

Section 401 and, contrary to the SJC’s holding in FPL

Energy, is not binding on the federal licensing agency.

+

34

CONCLUSION

The balance of federal/state authority achieved

by federal licensing programs is delicate. Whether

Section 401 is allowed to be interpreted so as to

destroy tliat balance is at issue here.

Section 401 of the Clean Water Act ensures that

states, should they choose, may play an important

role in the federal licensing of projects with the

potential to impact water quality. The only constraint

placed on a state’s authority to grant or deny certifi-

cation is the requirement that however the state

chooses to act, it must do so within a reasonable

period of time, which Congress has said may not

exceed one year from the date of the certification

request. A state’s failure to act within a reasonable

time period results in that state waiving its certifica-

tion right.

The courts in Puerto Rico Sun Oil and A.C.C.

recognized the significance of Section 401’s one-year

deadline in preserving the balance of federal/state

authority in federal licensing programs. Those deci-

sions also ensure that the one-year deadline both

promotes and protects reasonable business invest-

ments by requiring completion of state certification

within a reasonable period of time. The Maine SJC’s

FPL Energy decision, however, marks a dangerous

departure from existing precedent and throws open

the door for states to play an unintended, and poten-

tially destructive, role in the federal licensing of

35

projects. FPL Energy asks this Court to grant certio-

rari so that this Court can resolve the conflict among

the courts and ensure that, through the proper inter-

pretation and application of Section 401, the state

water quality certification process functions as Con-

gress intended.

Respectfully submitted,

MATTHEW D. MANAHAN

(Counsel of Record)

NICHOLAS D. LIVESAY

PIERCE ATWooD LLP

One Monument Square

Portland, Maine 04101

(207) 791-1100

Counsel for Petitioner

FPL Energy Maine Hydro LLC

A-1

Reporter of Decisions

MAINE SUPREME JUDICIAL COURT

Decision: 2007 ME 97

Docket: Ken-06-365

Argued: January 17, 2007

Decided: July 26, 2007

Panel: SAUFLEY, C.J., and CLIFFORD,

ALEXANDER, LEVY, and SILVER, J-J.*

FPL ENERGY MAINE HYDRO LLC

V.

DEPARTMENT OF

ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION

SILVER, J.

[J1] FPL Energy Maine Hydro LLC appeals

from a judgment entered in Superior Court (Kenne-

bec County, Marden, J.) affirming the Board of

Environmental Protection’s denial of water quality

certification for the Flagstaff Storage Project, owned

and operated by FPL. The Board’s denial reversed

an earlier decision by the Department of Environ-

mental Protection, which certified the Project. FPL

argues that (1) because the Board acted after the

one-year statutory deadline, either the Department

waived certification or the Board’s reversal of the

Department’s determination is ineffective; (2) the

* Justice Howard H. Dana Jr. sat at oral argument and

participated in the initial conference but retired before this

opinion was certified.

A-2

Board applied the wrong standard when analyzing

the water quality; and (3) the Board erred in conclud-

ing that the Flagstaff Project does not meet the Class

C water quality standards of 38 M.R.S.A. § 465(4)

(2001 & Supp. 2003).' Because the Board’s interpreta-

tion of the statute, the statute it is charged with

administering, is reasonable, we affirm.

I. BACKGROUND

({2] This case concerns the Flagstaff Storage

Project, which consists of a dam, known as the Long

Falls Dam, a reservoir, called Flagstaff Lake, and

appurtenant facilities. The Project is located on the

Dead River in Somerset and Franklin counties.

Originally constructed between 1948 and 1950, the

dam was intended to control flooding, enhance log

driving, and generate electricity.

[43] The Federal Power Commission, now

called the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

(FERC), originally licensed the Project to the Cen-

tral Maine Power Company (CMP) from April 12,

1979, to December 31, 1997. Before expiration of the

' The Legislature has amended this statute several times

since the Department and Board’s judgments in this case. Title

38 M.R.S.A. § 465(4B) (2091) was amended by P.L. 2003, ch.

664, § 1 (effective July 30, 2004) and then repealed and replaced

by PL. 2005, ch. 409, § 2 (effective June 20, 2005). Title 38

M.R.S.A. § 465(4C) (2001) was amended by PL. 2005, ch. 182,

§ 5 (effective Sept. 17, 2005). The current version of the statute

is codified at 38 M.R.S. § 465(4) (2006).

A-3

Project’s license, CMP filed two applications: one with

the Department to obtain water quality certification,

which would allow the Project to continue; and an-

other with FERC requesting a new license for the

Project.’ CMP subsequently withdrew its application

to the Department for water quality certification and

refiled it once each year between 1997 and 1999.° FPL

acquired the Project from CMP in 1999.

[{4] FPL continued to refile the application for

renewal of the Project until November 15, 2002, when

FPL made its final filing. On November 14, 2003, 364

days later, the Department granted water quality

certification for the continued operation of the Pro-

ject. Specifically, when analyzing the aquatic habitat

of Flagstaff Lake, the Department found in relevant

part that, “[t]he available evidence indicates that the

structure and function of the resident biological com-

munity in Flagstaff Lake is the structure and function

that would be expected to exist in a water storage

reservoir with a drawdown of similar magnitude,” and

* Pursuant to 33 U.S.C.S. § 1341(aX1) (2006), no federal

license or permit shall be granted until the State, interstate

agency, or Administrator, as the case may be, has granted or has

waived certification.

* CMP did this at the request of the Department because a

state waives certification if it does not act on an application

within one year. See 33 U.S.C.S. § 1341(aX1).

* The parties agree that in order to determine whether

Flagstaff Lake meets Class C water quality standards, the lake's

resident biological community must be assessed against an

appropriate baseline. The standard employed by the Department,

which compares an impoundment to another impoundment with

(Continued on following page)

A-4

it, therefore, concluded that FPL’s proposal for manag-

ing water levels would be sufficient to meet applica-

ble water quality standards.

[15] Subsequent to the certification, a group of

non-governmental organizations, including Maine

Rivers, Trout Unlimited, Appalachian Mountain Club,

and the Natural Resources Council of Maine, filed a

timely appeal of the order to the Board. The Town of

Eustis, where part of the Dead River is located, also

filed an appeal and requested a public hearing.

(16] On July 15, 2004, the Board issued a

judgment, vacating the Department’s decision and

denying, without prejudice, FPL’s application for

water certification. The Board found that the De-

partment had employed a new standard for assessing

water quality when it used an impoundment-to-

impoundment standard, which compares a storage

reservoir to another storage reservoir with similar

drawdowns. The old standard, referenced by the

Board in its decision, is -a natural lake standard,

which compares a storage reservoir to a natural lake.

similar drawdowns, is referred to by the parties as the “im-

poundment-to-impoundment standard.” The two other possible

baselines, as described by the parties, are a natural lake,

referred to as the “natural-lake standard” or the hydropower

impoundment itself, referred to as the “what-you-see-is-what-

you-get standard.”

* Because the Board reversed the Department’s decision,

the Board found it unnecessary to consider the appeal of the

Town of Eustis from that same decision.

A-5

[17] Having found that the Department used a

new standard for assessing the water quality of the

Project, the Board concluded that in order to obtain

certification for this Project under the impoundment-

to-impoundment standard, either the Department

has to obtain EPA approval for its new standard or

FPL should conduct a use attainability analysis

(UAA), a review conducted when a state seeks to

create a water sub-classification with less stringent

standards. The Board also rejected FPL’s argument

that, regardless of whether an impoundment-to-

impoundment standard applies, the Project meets

Class C standards as a matter of law because it does

not discharge a pollutant, as required by 38 M.R.S.A.

§ 465(4)(C) (2001) and 38 M.R.S. § 361-A (2006).°

* Specifically, the Board made the following finding:

With respect to the applicant’s argument that a

hydropower project would by definition meet the stan-

dards for resident biological community because there

is no discharge of a pollutant, the Board finds that

this reading of the law is too narrow and is inconsis-

tent with a long line of FERC, EPA and DEP interpre-

tations of the applicable laws vested in them. Indeed,

the reason that FERC requires water quality certifi-

cation for the relicensing of this project, and the rea-

son that the Department took action upon it, all as

consistent with other, similar projects across the state

and the nation, stand as testament to the fact that the

law requires certification. The absence of a pollutant

does not ensure certification nor does it constitute

compliance with the aquatic life standard. Rather,

with respect to assessing compliance with the aquatic

life standard, the comparison must be, at a minimum,

(Continued on following page)

A-6

[78] On August 9, 2004, FPL filed a petition for

review of the Board’s judgment to the Superior Court.

On May 26, 2006, the court entered a judgment

affirming the Board’s decision to deny water quality

certification. The Superior Court concluded that the

Board’s interpretation of the standard for water

quality certification is entitled to deference, and thus,

FPL should either obtain EPA approval for its im-

poundment-to-impoundment standard or it should

conduct a UAA to recalibrate the water quality stan-

dards for water storage reservoirs. The court also

concluded that the federal Water Quality Act requires

certification because the Project releases a “dis-

charge,” and is, thus, subject to existing water quality

standards.

[¥9} While certification was pending at the

state level, FERC, the agency in charge of issuing

federal licenses, was also taking action on FPL’s

application for a federal license. On March 30, 2004,

after the Department granted certification, FERC

issued an order granting FPL a new license for the

Flagstaff Project. FPL Energy Maine Hydro LLC, 106

FERC J 62,232 (2004). The Appalachian Mountain

Club filed a request for rehearing, and while the

request was pending, the Board issued its order

denying certification. FPL Energy Maine Hydro LLC,

108 FERC 4 61,261 (2004). On September 21, 2004,

FERC stayed its new license application because of

to a “habitat which is free from the discharge of any

pollutant.”

A-7

the Board’s denial of certification. Jd. FPL filed a

request for rehearing and on April 19, 2005, FERC

denied FPL’s request. FPL Energy Maine Hydro LLC,

111 FERC { 61,104 (2005).

[J10] On June 9, 2006, FPL filed a notice of this

appeal to us.

II. STANDARD OF REVIEW

(¥11} Generally, “[s]tatutory construction is a

question of law, subject to de novo review,” however,

“[w]hen a dispute involves an agency’s interpretation

of a statute it administers, the agency’s interpreta-

tion, although not conclusive, is entitled to great

deference and will be upheld unless the statute

plainly compels a contrary result.” Town of Eagle

Lake v. Comm’r, Dep't of Educ., 2003 ME 37, 7 7-8,

818 A.2d 1034, 1037 (quotation marks omitted). When

the statute is ambiguous, we will “review whether the

agency's construction is reasonable.” /d. J 8, 818 A.2d

at 1037 (quotation marks omitted).

[712] When interpreting a statute, we first look

to the plain meaning of the text, “to discern from the

plain language the real purpose of the legislation,

avoiding results that are absurd, inconsistent, unrea-

sonable, or illogical.” Jd. J 7, 818 A.2d at 1037 (quota-

tion marks omitted). If there is an ambiguity in the

plain meaning, we then look “beyond that language to

the legislative history.” Jd. Finally, we will “consider

the whole statutory scheme for which the section

at issue forms a part so that a harmonious result,

A-8

presumably the intent of the Legislature, may be

achieved.” Jd. (quotation marks omitted).

[{¥13] “When the Superior Court acts in an

intermediate appellate capacity to review an adminis-

trative agency’s decision pursuant to M.R. Civ. P. 80C,

we directly review the agency’s decision for errors of

law, abuse of discretion, or findings not supported by

substantial evidence in the record.” Town of Jay v.

Androscoggin Energy, LLC, 2003 ME 64, 4 10, 822

A.2d 1114, 1117.

[714] When an agency “act[s] as a tribunal of

original jurisdiction, that is, as factfinder and deci-

sion maker, we review its decision directly.” Stewart v.

Town of Sedgwick, 2000 ME 157, 7 4, 757 A.2d 773,

775; see also Aviation Oil Co. v. Dep't of Envtl. Prot.,

584 A.2d 611, 614 (Me. 1990) (reviewing directly the

Board’s decision); 38 M.R.S. §341-D(4\A) (2006)

(“The board is not bound by the commissioner’s

findings of fact or conclusions of law but may adopt,

modify or reverse findings of fact or conclusions of law

established by the commissioner.”). In this case, the

Board made its own findings of fact and conclusions

of law; therefore, we review those findings directly

and grant deference to the Board.

III. DISCUSSION

A. The Requirement that the Board “Act on”

the Application Within One Year

(415) Pursuant to 33 U.S.C.S. § 134l(a\1)

(2001), an applicant for federal licensing of an activity

A-9

that might cause a “discharge” into navigable waters,

must first obtain either water quality certification

that the activity complies with federal and state

water protection laws, or waiver of such certification,

by the state from which the discharge originates. See

S.D. Warren Co. v. Me. Bd. of Envtl. Prot., 126 S. Ct.

1843, 1846 (2006). The state must “act on a request

for certification, within a reasonable period of time

(which shall not exceed one year) after receipt of such

request.” 33 U.S.C.S. § 1341(a)(1). If the state does

not “act on” a request within a year, then “the certifi-

cation requirements... shall be waived.” Jd.

(416) The Department is the agency in Maine

responsible for water quality certifications. S.D.

Warren Co., 126 S.Ct. at 1847. The Department

includes the Board of Environmental Protection and

the Commissioner of Environmental Protection. 38

M.R.S. § 341-A(2) (2006). With the exception of cer-

tain applications described in 38 M.R.S. § 341-D(2)

(2006), the Commissioner makes determinations as to

water quality certification. 38 M.R.S. § 344(2-A)

(2006). An aggrieved party may appeal the Commis-

sioner’s certification judgment to the Board within

thirty days of the filing of the Board’s decision. 38

M.R.S. § 341-D(4).

[417] Since the Board’s decision was issued

more than one year after the application was filed,

FPL argues that the Department waived certification

or, in the alternative, that the Board’s actions after

the one-year deadline are ineffective. We must, there-

fore, address the section 1341 requirement that a

A-10

state “act on” an application within one year. Based

on our analysis of the legislative history and caselaw,

we conclude that the Board complied with the section

1341 requirement that it act on the application

within one year.

[418] Section 1341 does not define “act on” and

it is, therefore, unclear from the plain meaning of the

statute whether the requirement is one of some

action or final action. See 33 U.S.C.S. § 1341. Since

the statute is ambiguous on its face, we must attempt

to discern the legislative intent.

{{419] The legislative history of section 1341

shows that Congress intended to prevent states from

effectively denying approval of a project through

lengthy delays. In 1969, Congressman Edmonson, the

sponsor of this provision, explained that, without the

provision, the state “does not have any particular

pressure to compel certification,” but with the provi-

sion the state must “do away with dalliance or unrea-

sonable delay” and vote “a ‘yes’ or ‘no.’” 115 Conc.

Rec. 9259, 9264 (1969). Congressman Holifield ex-

plained that the provision prevents the state from

“simply sit[ting] on its hands and doling] nothing.”

115 ConG. REc. 9259, 9265.

* In full he said:

[T)his amendment guards against a situation where

the water pollution control authority in the State in

which the activity is to be located, or possibly in some

other State, simply sits on its hands and does nothing.

(Continued on following page)

A-11

[720] We have not had occasion to define what

constitutes “act{ing] on” a request for certification to

meet the one-year requirement. FERC recently

considered and rejected FPL’s waiver arguments in

its federal licensing proceeding for the Flagstaff

Project.* In its order, FERC rejected FPL’s arguments

that the Department had waived certification by

failing to complete the appeal within one year. FPL

Any such dalliance could kill a proposed project just

as effectively as an outright determination on the

merits not to issue the required certificate. Thus while

this bill would still permit one State to make a deci-

sion that would have extraterritorial effect upon an-

other, at least now it cannot do so passively — it has to

take affirmative action to consider the matter and to

decide to withhold the certificate if it wants to defeat

a proposed project.

115 Conc. REc. 9259, 9265 (1969).

* FPL also argues that the FERC decision renders this issue

moot. We find this argument unpersuasive. Despite “rais[ing] a

justiciable controversy at the time the complaint was filed,” an

appeal is moot “if the passage of time and the occurrence of

events deprive the litigant of an ongoing stake in the contro-

versy.” Carroll F- Look Constr. Co. v. Town of Beals, 2002 ME

128, | 6, 802 A.2d 994, 996 (quotation marks omitted). However,

if “sufficient practical effects can flow from the litigation to

justify the use of Jimited judicial resources,” then the case is not

moot. Jd.

In this case, FERC only “stayled] the new license ...

pending the outcome of any appeal of the certification denial,

and reserveld][its) authority to modify the new license as

necessary to incorporate the conditions to any new certification

that is issued.” FPL Energy Maine Hydro LLC, 108 FERC

4 61.261 (2004). Thus, further litigation may have an effect on

the agency’s decision and the issue is not moot.

A-12

Energy Maine Hydro LLC, 108 FERC {7 61,261. The

agency held that “[t]here is nothing in the language of

Section 401 to suggest that a state must not only act

on the certification request but also take action on

any appeals that might subsequently be filed within

one year.” Id.

(421) Although we normally pay deference to an

agency’s interpretation of a statute, a number of

federal courts have held that FERC is not entitled to

deference in its interpretation of the Clean Water Act.

See, e.g., Ala. Rivers Alliance v. FERC, 325 F.3d 290,

296-97 (D.C. Cir. 2003); Cal. Trout, Inc. v. FERC, 313

F.3d 1131, 1133-34 (9th Cir. 2002); Am. Rivers, Inc. v.

FERC, 129 F.3d 99, 107 (2d Cir. 1997). Although we

do not accord total deference, we look to the FERC

decision for cogent analysis.

(¥22] FPL relies on a case from the U.S. Dis-

trict Court for the Western District of Washington,

Airport Communities Coalition v. Graves, 280

F. Supp. 2d 1207, 1214-17 (W.D. Wash. 2003), which

held that where a state board issued a decision on

appeal more than one year after the certification

request, and the board’s decision affirms certification

subject to additional conditions, the federal agency

“need only incorporate such conditions issued after a

year solely in its discretion.” The District Court did

not hold that the agency’s failure to issue a decision

on appeal within a year of the request meant that the

certification was deemed waived. /d.

A-13

[123] We conclude that the Board’s failure to

decide the appeal within a year of FPL initial re-

quest for certification does not waive certification or

render its decision ineffective. Our analysis of the

legislative history indicates a congressional intent

that an agency take action on an application within

one year. There is no indication, however, that Con-

gress intended for all in-state appeals to be completed

within the same one-year deadline. If Congress

intended to impose such extreme time pressure, it

would have used specific language to that effect. We,

thus, agree with the reasoning of FERC and conclude

that the Board’s actions were timely.

B. The Baseline Standard for Class C Water

Quality

1. Deference to the Board’s Interpretation

(124) In this case, the Board concluded that

“[thhe impoundment-to-impoundment comparison,

which compares one disturbed site to a similarly

disturbed site, constitutes a dramatic change in the

[applicable] Class C [water quality] standard and, as

such, legally requires the approval of EPA prior to

implementation in accordance with provisions of the

federal Clean Water Act.” We have held that the

Board is entitled to deference in its interpretation of

the statutes it is charged with administering. See,

e.g., S.D. Warren Co. v. Bd. of Envt'l Prot., 2005 ME

27, 1 5, 868 A.2d 210, 214; Maritime Energy v. Fund

Ins. Review Bd., 2001 ME 45, 7 9, 767 A.2d 812, 814.

Since the Board is charged with administering the

A-14

water quality standards in Maine pursuant to 38

M.R.S.A. § 465 (2001 & Supp. 2003), we must grant

deference to the Board’s interpretation as long as its

construction is reasonable. See Maritime Energy,

2001 ME 45, 7 10, 767 A.2d at 814. “The rationale

underlying our deference to [the Board’s] interpreta-

tions is that the [Board] has greater expertise in

matters of environmental concern and greater experi-

ence administering and interpreting those particular

statutes.” S.D. Warren Co., 2005 ME 27, 9 5, 868 A.2d

at 214. We must, therefore, determine whether the

Board’s conclusion is reasonable and comports with

legislative intent.

2. Plain Meaning of 38 M.R.S.A. § 465(4)

[{25] The first step in statutory interpretation

is to discern legislative intent from the plain meaning

of the statute. DaimlerChrysler Corp. v. Executive

Dir., Me. Revenue Servs., 2007 ME 62, 9 9, 922 A.2d

465, 469. Pursuant to the Clean Water Act and its

implementing regulations, states are required to

designate uses of waterbodies within their borders. 33

U.S.C.S. § 1313 (2001); 40 C.F.R. § 131.10 (2006).

Once such designated uses have been established and

approved by the EPA, states are permitted to adopt

subcategories of use for specific waterbodies, requir-

ing less stringent criteria, provided they conduct a

UAA and obtain EPA approval of any subcategory. 40

C.F.R. §§ 131.10(g), (), 131.20(c) (2006). Class C is

Maine’s minimum EPA-approved water quality stan-

dard for hydropower impoundments and, therefore,

A-15

under federal law, Maine is not permitted to apply a

less stringent standard than Class C to a hydro-

power impoundment unless a UAA has been con-

ducted and EPA approval has been obtained.

See 38 M.R.S.A. § 464(9) (Supp. 1992); 38 M.R.S.A.

§ 465(4)(C); 33 U.S.C.S. § 1313; 40 C.FR. §§ 131.10(g),

(j), 131.20(c).

[26] At the time FPL’s certification was pend-

ing, the Class C water classification standards

provided that “[djischarges to Class C waters may

cause some changes to aquatic life, provided that the

receiving waters shall be of sufficient quality to

support all species of fish indigenous to the receiving

waters and maintain the structure and function of

the resident biological community.” 38 M.R.S.A.

* Title 38 M.R.S.A. § 465(4) (2001 & Supp. 2003) provided:

§ 465. Standards for classification of fresh sur-

face waters

The department shal] have 4 standards for the

classification of fresh surface waters which are not

classified as great ponds.

4. Class C waters. Class C shall be the

4th highest classification.

A. Class C waters must be of such quality

that they are suitable for the designated uses of

drinking water supply after treatment; fishing;

agriculture; recreation in and on the water;

industrial process and cooling water supply; hy-

droelectric power generation, except as prohib-

ited under Title 12, section 403; navigation; and

as a habitat for fish and other aquatic life.

(Continued on following page)

A-16

§ 465(4) (C) (emphasis added). The Class C standards

further provided that the waters “shall be of such

quality that they are suitable ... as a habitat for fish

and other aquatic life.” 38 M.R.S.A. § 465(4)(A).

([{27] The statute creates a hierarchy of stan-

dards, with Class AA standards being the highest and

Class C standards being the lowest. See 38 M.R.S.A.

§ 465. At the time of certification, the statute pro-

vided that Class AA waters “shall be characterized as

B. The dissolved oxygen content of Class C

water may be not less than 5 parts per million or

60% of saturation, whichever is higher, except

that in identified salmonid spawning areas

where water quality is sufficient to ensure

spawning, egg incubation and survival of early

life stages, that water quality sufficient for these

purposes must be maintained. Between May

15th and September 30th, the number of Es-

cherichia coli bacteria of human origin in these

waters may not exceed a geometric mean of 142

per 100 milliliters or an instantaneous level of

949 per 100 milliliters. The board shall promul-

gate rules governing the procedure for designa-

tion of spawning areas. Those rules must include

provision for periodic review of designated

spawning areas and consultation with affected

persons prior to designation of a stretch of water

as a spawning area.

C. Discharges to Class C waters may cause

some changes to aquatic life, provided that the

receiving waters shall be of sufficient quality to

support all species of fish indigenous to the re-

ceiving waters and maintain the structure and

function of the resident biological community.

A-17

free flowing and natural,”” “[t]he aquatic life, dis-

solved oxygen and bacteria content ... shall be as

naturally occurs,”” and “[t]here may be no direct

discharge of pollutants to Class AA waters, except

storm water discharges.” 38 M.R.S.A. § 465(1)A), (B),

(C).

{128} Based on a plain reading of the statute, it

is not clear what baseline was intended for the Class

C standards. However, the Board interpreted the

baseline to be a “natural lake” standard and such a

reading is reasonable based on the language of the

statute. The Legislature created a hierarchy of stan-

dards, with Class AA being the highest and Class C

being the lowest. Since Class AA standards require

“natural” conditions, it is reasonable to read all other

standards as measured against the Class AA base-

line. We must next examine the legislative history

of section 465 to determine whether the Board’s

interpretation is aligned with the Legislature’s intent

and is reasonable pursuant to the statute’s history.

° Title 38 M.R.S. § 466(9) (2006) defines “[nJatural” as

“living in, or as if in, a state of nature not measurably affected

by human activity.”

‘' “As naturally occurs” is defined as “conditions with

essentially the same physical, chemical and biological character-

istics as found in situations with similar habitats free of meas-

urable effects of human activity.” 38 M.R.S. § 466(2) (2006).

A-18

3. Legislative History

[129] FPL contends that there are three events

in the legislative history of 38 M.R.S. § 464, which

demonstrate legislative intent that the baseline

standard for Class C waters be the “impoundment-to-

impoundment” standard, rather than the “natural

lake” standard. FPL points to the March 1992

amendment of the statute, the legislative resolve

passed in May 2003, and Maine’s antidegradation

law. We examine each in turn.

4. The March 1992 Amendment

[{30] In March 1992, the Legislature amended

the water classification laws by enacting 38 M.R.S.A.

§ 464(9) (Supp. 1992) to provide that Maine’s hydro-

power impoundments comply with the certification

standards if “[t]he existing impounded waters are

able to support all species of fish indigenous to those

waters and the structure and function of the resident

biological community in the impounded waters is

maintained.” PL. 1991, ch. 813, § A-1 (effective June

30, 1992). According to the parties, this standard

became known as the “what-you-see-is-what-you-get”

standard because it attempted to maintain the status

quo for Maine’s hydropower impoundments.

[131] On January 14, 1993, the EPA formally

disapproved of 38 M.R.S.A. § 464(9) as amended,

explaining that it is inconsistent with federal re-

quirements because it attempts to create a new

subcategory without requiring a UAA and providing

A-19

for public participation.” As a result of the EPA’s

disapproval, the Legislature amended the statute to

apply the “what-you-see-is-what-you-get” standard to

only one impoundment, the Ripogenus impoundment,

because a UAA had been conducted for that im-

poundment. See P.L. 1993, ch. 344, § 2 (effective Oct.

13, 1993) (codified at 38 M.R.S.A. § 464(9) (Supp.

1992)). The amendments made clear that Class C

water quality standards apply to all other hydropower

impoundments. Jd. Title 38 M.R.S.A. § 464(9), effective

at the time of the Commissioner’s certification in this

” Prior to this formal disapproval, the EPA sent a letter to

the Department on May 19, 1992, communicating its concern

that 38 M.R.S.A. § 464(9) (Supp. 1992), as amended, would not

meet federal requirements. Attached to the letter, the EPA

provided its “[rjeview and [a]nalysis” of the new statute, which

stated:

[The] EPA could approve the legislation if it is

only clarifying that for all existing GPA hydropower

impoundments, including those with significant level

fluctuations, that the Class GPA “natural” aquatic life

criteria are not applicable but that the impoundment

must meet the minimum requirement of the Class C

aquatic life criteria. ... Moreover, Part A may be ac-

ceptable even if it creates a new subcategory of Class

C which goes below the minimum aquatic life criteria

of Class C, provided that the provision is found, by the

State Attorney General, to require the State to follow

the necessary federal procedures before a waterbody

is placed into this new subcategory. ... Under federal

law, before the State can move an impoundment into

this new subcategory, it must first provide the neces-

sary justification (i.e., UAA) and opportunity for pub-

lic participation.

(Emphasis in original.)

A-20

case, contained identical language to the statute as

amended in 1993.

{{32] FPL contends that the 1992 amendments

to section 464 show that the legislative intent has

always been to compare hydropower impoundments

to impoundments rather than natural lakes. We do

not view this history as FPL does. The events in 1992

reflect an attempt by the Legislature to impose lower

standards without following the proper procedures.

The EPA’s express disapproval of the Legislature’s

actions in 1992 shows that such standards were a

departure from the norm. Furthermore, the standard

proposed in 1992, which required a comparison

between an impoundment and itself, is a different

standard from the “impoundment-to-impoundment”

standard at issue now. This history does not under-

mine the Board’s conclusion that the “impoundment-

to-impoundment” standard is a new standard requir-

ing EPA approval.

5. The 2003 Resolve

[733] In May 2003, the Legislature passed a

Resolve, which directed the Department to “adopt

rules” requiring that “the structure and function ...

that must be maintained in a water storage reservoir

is the structure and function that would be expected

to exist in a water storage reservoir with a drawdown

A-21

of similar magnitude.”” L.D. 1059 (121st Legis. 2003).

The Resolve defined water storage reservoir as “an

impoundment associated with a hydropower project.”

'’ The Legislature’s Resolve stated in full:

Sec. 1 Water storage reservoirs; rules.

Resolved: That the Department of Environmental

Protection, Board of Environmental Protection shall

adopt rules under the Maine Revised Statutes, Title

38, section 464, subsection 5 relating to protocols and

procedures for evaluation of the resident biological

community in water storage reservoirs. In adopting

the rules, the Board of Environmental Protection

shall recognize that water storage reservdirs are arti-

ficial and are not natural water bodies, and the rules

must ensure that the existing uses of water storage

reservoirs are maintained and protected. In issuing

licenses, permits and certifications prior to final adop-

tion of the rules, the Department of Environmental

Protection shall recognize that water storage reser-

voirs are artificial and are not natural water bodies

and shall ensure that the existing uses of water stor-

age reservoirs are maintained and protected. The goal

of the rules and any license, permit or certification

must be to require that the structure and function of

the resident biological community that must be main-

tained in a water storage reservoir is the structure

and function that would be expected to exist in a wa-

ter storage reservoir with a drawdown of simular

magnitude. As used in this resolve, “water storage

reservoir” means an impoundment associated with a

hydropower project, as defined by Title 38, section

632, that was in existence prior to November 28, 1975,

was not primarily lacustrine in its natural state, is

classified under Title 38, section 465-A and is man-

aged to store and release water on an annual cycle to

benefit downstream hydropower generation.

A-22

[734] Pursuant to 38 M.R.S. § 342(9) (2006), the

Commissioner of the Department “may submit to the

board new or amended rules for its adoption.” It is the

Board, however, that has final authority to adopt a

new rule pursuant to 38 M.R.S. § 341-D(1-B) (2006).”

Following the passage of the 2003 Resolve, the Com-

missioner drafted an order granting water quality

certification to the Flagstaff Project, using the crite-

ria articulated in the Resolve.

[135] On November 10, 2003, the EPA sent a

letter to the Department disapproving of the Com-

missioner’s use of this standard because “this new

legislation is not in effect for federal law purposes

and cannot be relied upon for [the Clean Water Act]

certification.” The EPA wrote “[the Department] now

asserts that, rather than comparing a storage reser-

voir to a natural lake as it has done since 1995, [the

Department] is now adopting the policy (at least

* Title 38 M.R.S. § 341-D(1-B) (2006) states:

§ 341-D. Board responsibilities and duties

1-B. Rulemaking. Subject to the Maine Admin-

istrative Procedure Act, the board shall adopt, amend

or repeal reasonable rules and emergency rules neces-

sary for the interpretation, implementation and en-

forcement of any provision of law that the department

is charged with administering. The board shall also

adopt, amend and repeal rules as necessary for the

conduct of its business.

(Footnote omitted.)

A-23

orally) that storage reservoirs shall be compared to

other impoundments with similar drawdowns.”

({736] FPL contends that the 2003 Resolve

indicates clear legislative intent that the impound-

ment-to-impoundment standard is, and has always

been, the appropriate standard to determine compli-

ance with Class C water quality standards pursuant

to 38 M.R.S.A. § 465(4). Although we agree with FPL

that the Resolve indicates legislative intent that the

impoundment-to-impoundment standard apply now,

we see no reason why the Legislature would issue a

resolve directing the Commissioner to “adopt rules” if

such a standard already existed. The 2003 Resolve

demonstrates the Legislature’s intention to promul-

gate a new rule. However, because of the EPA's disap-

proval, a new rule was not adopted. "

6. The Antidegradation Law

[137] Also effective in 2003 was Maine’s antide-

gradation law, 38 M.R.S. § 464(4)(F) (2006), which

" Title 38 M.R.S. § 464(4XF) (2006) provides in relevant

part:

4. General provisions. The classification sys-

tem for surface waters established by this article shall

be subject to the following provisions.

F. The antidegradation policy of the State is

governed by the following provisions.

(1) Existing in-stream water uses and the

level of water quality necessary to protect those

(Continued on following page)

A-24

existing uses must be maintained and protected.

Existing in-stream water uses are those uses

which have actually occurred on or after Novem-

ber 28, 1975, in or on a water body whether or

not the uses are included in the standard for

classification of the particular water body.

Determinations of what constitutes an existing

in-stream water use on a particular water body

must be made on a case-by-case basis by the de-

partment. In making its determination of uses to

be protected and maintained, the department

shall consider designated uses for that water

body and:

(a) Aquatic, estuarine and marine life pre-

sent in the water body;

(b) Wildlife that utilize the water body;

(c) Habitat, including significant wetlands,

within a water body supporting existing popula-

tions of wildlife or aquatic, estuarine or marine

life, or plant life that is maintained by the water

body;

(d) The use of the water body for recrea-

tion in or on the water, fishing, water supply, or

commercial activity that depends directly on the

preservation of an existing level of water quality.

Use of the water body to receive or transport

waste water discharges is not considered an ex-

isting use for purposes of this antidegradation

policy; and

(e) Any other evidence that, for divisions

(a), (b) and (c), demonstrates their ecological sig-

nificance because of their role or importance in

the functioning of the ecosystem or their rarity

and, for division (d), demonstrates its historical

or social significance.

(1-A) The department may only issue a waste dis-

charge license pursuant to section 414-A, or approve a

(Continued on following page)

A-25

provides that “[e]xisting instream water uses and the

level of water quality necessary to protect those

existing uses must be maintained and protected.” The

water quality certification pursuant to the United

States Clean Water Act, Section 401, Public Law 92-

500, as amended, when the department finds that:

(a) The existing in-stream use involves use of

the water body by a population of plant life, wild-

life, or aquatic, estuarine or marine life, or as

aquatic, estuarine, marine, wildlife, or plant

habitat, and the applicant has demonstrated

that the proposed activity would not have a sig-

nificant impact on the existing use. For purpose

of this division, significant impact means:

(i) Impairing the viability of the existing

population, including significant impair-

ment to growth and reproduction or an al-

teration of the habitat which impairs

viability of the existing population; or

(b) The existing in-stream use involves use of

the water body for recreation in or on the water,

fishing, water supply or commercial enterprises

that depend directly on the preservation of an

existing level of water quality and the applicant

has demonstrated that the proposed activity

would not result in significant degradation of the

existing use.

The department shall determine what constitutes a

population of a particular species based upon the de-

gree of geographic and reproductive isolation from

other individuals of the same species.

If the department fails to find that the conditions of

this subparagraph are met, water quality certification,

pursuant to the United States Clean Water Act, Section

401, Public Law 92-500, as amended, is denied.

(Footnotes omitted.)

A-26

statute defines an “existing in-stream water use” to

include “[t]he use of the water body for ... water

supply, or commercial activity that depend: directly

on the preservation of an existing level of water

quality.” 38 M.R.S. § 464(4)(F)(1\d). The antidegrada-

tion law requires an applicant seeking protection as

an “existing in-stream use” to “demcnstrate[] that

the proposed activity would not have a significant

impact on the existing use” in order to obtain water

quality certification pursuant to the Clean Water Act.

38 M.R.S. § 464(4)(F)(1-A)(a).

(¥38] We do not interpret Maine’s antidegrada-

tion law as exempting the Project from the require-

ments of the Clean Water Act simply because the

Project is an existing in-stream use. Instead, 38

M.R.S. § 464(4F)(1-A) provides an additional re-

quirement that must be met in order for FPL to

obtain water quality certification pursuant to the

Clean Water Act.

(¥39] This history demonstrates legislative

attempts to change the baseline standard against

which hydropower impoundments are to be judged,

however, it does not support FPL's contentions that

the “impoundment-to-impoundment” standard has

always been the applicable standard. We conclude

that based on the legislative history, the Board's

judgment that the “impoundment-to-impoundment”

standard represents a “dramatic change from past

practice” and, thus requires EPA approval, is reason-

able. We, therefore, defer to the Board’s expertise and

affirm its conclusion.

A-27

C. Compliance with Class C Standards

[740] FPL finally argues that the Project meets

the definition of Class C water quality standards

under 38 M.R.S.A. § 465(4)(C) because the Project

does not discharge pollutants. The Board found this

interpretation of the statute “too narrow” and “incon-

sistent with a long line of FERC, EPA and [Depart-

ment] interpretations of the applicable laws vested in

them.”

[741] The Class C water quality standards

provide that “[djischarges to Class C waters may

cause some changes to aquatic life.” 38 M.R.S.A.

§ 465(4\(C). Title 38 M.R.S. § 361-A(1) (2006) defines

“discharge” to mean “any spilling, leaking, pumping,

pouring, emptying, dumping, disposing or other

addition of any pollutant to water of the State.” Title

38 M.R.S. § 361-A(4-A) (2006) defines “[pJollutant” as

“dredged spoil, solid waste, junk, incinerator residue,

sewage, refuse, effluent, garbage, sewage sludge,

munitions, chemicals, biological or radiological mate-

rials, oil, petroleum products or by-products, heat,

wrecked or discarded equipment, rock, sand, dirt and

industrial, municipal, domestic, commercial or agri-

cultural wastes of any kind.””

* We note that the definition of “(pjollutant” includes “sand

(and) dirt.” Generally the water flowing into hydropower im-

poundments is filled with sand and/or dirt that gets trapped in the

impoundment, thus increasing the levels of these “pollutants” in

(Continued on following page)

A-28

[9142] We once again defer to the Board’s exper-

tise in interpreting this provision. The Board found

FPL’s argument unpersuasive because “this reading

of the law is too narrow and is inconsistent with a

long line of FERC, EPA and [Department] interpreta-

tions of the applicable laws vested in them.” The

Board’s interpretation is reasonable because, without

the discharge requirement, the Class C certification

process for hydropower impoundments would be no

more than rubber stamp approval. See, e.g., S.D.

Warren Co., 2005 ME 27, 9 17, 868 A.2d at 217 (in-

terpreting the term “discharge” in the Clean Water

Act to include the “addition” of water from one body

to another), aff’d, 126 S. Ct. 1843 (2006).

[143] Because we defer to the agency interpre-

tation, and the Board’s findings are reasonable, we

affirm the Board’s decision.

The entry is:

Judgment affirmed.

Attorneys for plaintiff:

Mathew D. Manahan, Esq.

Catherine R. Connors, Esq. (orally)

Pierce Atwood LLP

One Monument Square

Portland, ME 04101

the water. However, since the Department does not make this

argument, we do not address its merits.

A-29

Attorneys for defendant:

G. Steven Rowe, Attorney General

Gerald D. Reid, Asst. Atty. Gen. (orally)

6 State House Station

Augusta, ME 04333-0006

Attorneys for intervenors Maine Rivers, Trout

Unlimited, Appalachian Mountain Club and

Natural Resources Council of Maine:

Andrew A. Cadot, Esq.

Christopher M. Dargie, Esq. (orally)

Perkins Thompson, P.A.

P.O. Box 426

Portland, ME 04112-0426

Attorney for amicus curiae New England Legal

Foundation:

James B. Haddow, Esq.

Petrucelli, Martin & Haddow, LLP

50 Monument Square, 6th floor

Portland, ME 04101

A-30

STATE OF MAINE SUPERIOR COURT

CIVIL ACTION

KENNEBEC, ss. DOCKET NO. AP-04-50

FPL ENERGY MAINE

HYDRO, LLC,

Petitioner

V. DECISION AND ORDER

DEPARTMENT OF

ENVIRONMENTAL

PROTECTION,

Respondent

This matter is before the court on petition of FPL

Energy Maine Hydro, LLC’s (“FPL” or “petitioner”)

for review of final agency action pursuant to M.R. Civ.

P. 80C (2005) and petitioner’s motion to strike, pur-

suant to M.R. Civ. P. 80C(d) and (f).

This case involves the certification of the Flag-

staff Storage Project (“Project”) (which consists of a

dam, reservoir, and appurtenant facilities), and

whether or not clean weter standards for the Project

should be based on cther similar bodies of water (an

“impoundment te imapoundment” standard) or on

“natural” bodies of water. Water quality standards

are implicated because of the large drawdowns hy-

droelectric dams call for in order to produce energy.’

' Hydroelectric dams can deplete reservoirs over 30 feet at a

time, thereby reducing the chance of survival of aquatic life. The

(Continued on following page)

A-31

The parties agree on the facts pertinent to the dis-

pute, but there are numerous procedural and legal

differences between the parties that constitute the

bulk of their dispute.

The petition alleges the following: FPL owns and

operates the Project, which it acquired from Central

Maine Power in 1999. The federal Clean Water Act

requires applicants for a federal license that might

involve a discharge into navigable waters to obtain

certification of water quality from the state in which

the discharge originates. Federal Water Pollution

Control Act (the “Clean Water Act”) § 401, 33 U.S.C.

§ 1341(a)(1) (2005). From December 1996 (when CMP

still owned the Project) to November 15, 2002, an

application for certification was filed and then with-

drawn on an annual basis with Maine’s Department

of Envircnmental Protection (“DEP” or “respondent”),

without the DEP acting on it. FPL filed its requests

for certification with a reservation to challenge the

applicability of the certification requirement. On

November 14, 2003, the DEP Commissioner issued

the certification pursuant to Maine and federal law,

indicating that the continued operation of the Project

would not violate applicable water quality standards,

subject to numerous conditions. See 38 M.R.S.A.

$§ 361-A, 464 (2005); 33 U.S.C. § 1341(a)(1).

Department of Environmental Protection recommends draw-

downs of no more than 11 feet.

A-32

On December 9, 2003, Maine Rivers, Trout

Unlimited, Appalachian Mountain Club, and the

Natural Resources Council of Maine (“the NGOs”)

filed a timely appeal to the Board of Environmental

Protection (“BEP” or “Board”). On July 15, 2004 the

BEP granted the appeal, reversing the Commis-

sioner’s certification of the Project. This petition

followed, sounding in two counts. First, that DEP

exceeded its authority by engaging in the certification

process at all. The Clean Water Act requires clean

water certification only if there is a discharge into

navigable waters and that discharge contains pollut-

ants. See 33 U.S.C. § 1341. Further, the DEP has one

year to act on a certification application, and if it does

not do so, certification is waived. See id. Count I

alleges that DEP’s failure to act in a timely manner,

and DEP’s engaging in the certification process at all

when no discharge or pollutant was involved resulted

in DEP exceeding its mandate.

Second, FPL alleges that the Board committed

errors of law and abused its discretion when it made

conclusions relating to the water quality standards

and procedures for applying those standards (to be

discussed further infra), including granting standing

to the NGOs for filing their appeal in the first place.

The petition for review was filed on August 9,

2004. The certification of the record was disputed by

both parties, culminating in a decision and order of

April 22, 2005, denying the admission of an audio

tape of BEP deliberations, but also denying the

inclusion of a Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

A-33

(“FERC”) decision, which was made after the DEP’s

ruling denying certification, and thus not a decision

that was relied upon by the DEP.

The petitioner’s 80C brief, the DEP’s and inter-

venor NGOs response briefs,’ and the petitioner’s

reply brief were all filed in a timely manner, pursuant

to a scheduling order. An amicus curiae brief in

support of petitioner’s position was filed. The peti-

tioner then filed a motion to strike and respondent

DEP timely filed a reply.

When the decision of an administrative agency is

appealed pursuant to M.R. Civ. P. 80C, this Court

reviews the agency’s decision directly for abuse of

discretion, errors of law, or findings not supported by

the evidence. Centamore v. Dep't of Human Services,

664 A.2d 369, 370 (Me. 1995). “An administrative

decision will be sustained if, on the basis of the entire

record before it, the agency could have fairly and

reasonably found the facts as it did.” Seider v. Board

of Exam’r of Psychologists, 2000 ME 206 7 9, 762 A.2d

551, 555 (Me. 2000) (citing CWCO, Inc. v. Superin-

tendent of Ins., 1997 ME 226, 96, 703 A.2d 1258,

1261 (Me. 1997)). In reviewing the decisions of an

administrative agency, the Court should “not attempt

* Note that the NGOs are seeking to intervene pursuant to

5 M.R.S.A. § 11005 and M.R.C.P. 80C; section 11005 provides

that “all parties to the agency proceeding who wish to partici-

pate in the review shall file a written appearance ... ” Peti-

tioner disputes the intervenors’ claim that they are a party to

the agency proceeding.

A-34

to second-guess the agency on matters falling within

its realm of expertise” and the Court’s review is

limited to “determining whether the agency’s conclu-

sions are unreasonable, unjust or unlawful in light of

the record.” Imagineering v. Superintendent of Ins.,

593 A.2d 1050, 1053 (Me. 1991). The focus on appeal

is not whether the Court would have reached the

same conclusion as the agency, but whether the

record contains competent and substantial evidence

that supports the result reached by the agency.

CWCO, Inc., 1997 ME 226, 703 A.2d 1258, 1261.

“Inconsistent evidence will not render an agency

decision unsupported.” Seider, 762 A.2d 551 (citations

omitted). The burden of proof rests with the party

seeking to overturn the agency’s decision, and that

party must prove that no competent evidence sup-

ports the Board’s decision. /d.“[Petitioner] must prove

that no competent evidence supports the Board’s

decision and that the record compels a contrary

conclusion.” Bischoff v. Board of Trustees, 661 A.2d

167, 170 (Me. 1995).

Factual determinations must be sustained unless

shown to be clearly erroneous. /magineering, 593

A.2d at 1053 (noting that the Court recognizes no

distinction between the clearly erroneous and sub-

stantial evidence in the record standards of review for

factual determinations made by administrative

agencies). “A party seeking review of an agency’s

findings must prove they are unsupported by any

competent evidence.” Maine Bankers Ass’n v. Bureau,

684 A.2d 1304, 1306 (Me. 1996) (emphasis added).

A-35

“When the dispute involves an agency’s interpre-

tation of a statute administered by it, the agency’s

interpretation, although not conclusive on the Court,

is accorded great deference and will be upheld unless

the statute plainly compels a contrary result.” Maine

Bankers Ass'n, 684 A.2d at 1306 (citing Centamore v.

Department of Human Services, 664 A.2d 369, 370

(Me. 1995)).

Petitioner’s Brief

The substantive dispute between the parties

involves which water quality standard to apply to the

Project. Petitioner’s brief outlines the contours of that

debate, stating that between 1995 and 2003, DEP

maintained that the Project’s water quality should

match that of a “natural” lake, while FPL (and CMP

previously) contended that a distinct standard should

apply to water storage reservoirs. The confusion

surrounding the applicable water quality standard

originated in 1986, when water storage reservoirs

were classified as “natural” by the (then) current

legislation, 38 M.R.S.A. § 465-A(1)(A), § 466(9). By

1991, when FERC re-licensed another reservoir

system in Maine (Chesuncook Lake), DEP became

concerned that the large drawdowns of water that

occur in reservoirs meant that those impoundments

would not be able to meet “natural” aquatic stan-

dards. A Maine law was thus passed in 1992 amend-

ing 38 M.R.S.A. § 464(9), to acknowledge that

Chesuncook Lake would have to meet less stringent

water quality standards, but that all other “existing

A-36

impoundments” would have to meet so-called “Class

C” standards.’ Such an amendment of standards

required a Use Attainability Analysis (“UAA”) that

had to be approved by the EPA. FPL maintains that

such approval was granted by the EPA in 1993, and

the Maine legislature amended 38 M.R.S.A. § 464(9)

accordingly.

Prior to 2003, FPL and DEP agreed that Class C

standards applied to the Project, but DEP interpreted

that to mean that the Project had to maintain aquatic

life in the reservoir akin to what would be found in a

“natural” lake. FPL argues that the legislative

amendments discussed supra were adopted precisely

to combat this interpretation. Alternatively, the lower

“what you see is what you get” standard applied to

Chesuncook Lake would not pertain, as that lower

standard was approved only for that particular

project. FPL thus urges the adoption of a “middle

road” — a standard higher than that adopted for

Chesuncook Lake, but one lower than that applied to

“natural” bodies of water. It thus concludes that a

comparison to water storage reservoirs with draw-

downs of similar magnitude would be the most ap-

propriate way to assess whether or not the Project

met acceptable water quality standards.

> Class C standards still require that aquatic life be sus-

tained, but that “some changes” to aquatic life are permissible.

See 39 M.R.S.A. § 46514 C) (2005)

A-37

In 2003, Governor Baldacci signed L.D. 1059,

Resolves 2003, ch. 37 (“Chapter 37”) which stated in

part, “The goal of the rules and any license, permit or

certification must be to require that the structure and

function of the resident biological community that

must be maintained in a water storage reservoir is

the structure and function that would be expected to

exist in a water storage reservoir with a drawdown of

similar magnitude.” There was some dispute at the

state level as to whether or not Chapter 37 triggered

the need for EPA approval, as it could be interpreted

as introducing a new water quality standard. There-

fore, without reference to Chapter 37, the DEP Com-

missioner approved the FPL certification application

on November 14, 2003, essentially embracing the FPL

position on water quality standards by stating that

DEP was interpreting existing standards, not intro-

ducing a new one.

The NGOs then appealed the Commissioner’s

decision to the BEP. The BEP overturned the Com-

missioner’s certification of the FPL Project, stating

that the “impoundment to impoundment” standard

used by DEP was contrary to that which the EPA

approved in 1992, and contrary to how DEP had been

interpreting existing law in recent years. The BEP

urged the DEP to either obtain EPA approval of

the “impoundment to impoundment” standard (em-

bodied in Chapter 37), or conduct a UAA in order to

* Chapter 37 amended 28 M.R.S.A. § 466(10), which defines

“resident biological community.”

A-38

recalibrate the water quality standards for water

storage reserv«®. Ss.

As a threshold matter, petitioner argues over the

standard of review, asserting that reliance on the

Commissioner’s initial decision should outweigh the

importance of the reversal of that decision by the (lay)

BEP. It is the Commissioner, and not the BEP, who

has the requisite expertise to interpret and adminis-

ter relevant statutes. Citing S.D. Warren Co. v. Bd. of

Envtl. Prot., FPL maintains that though BEP is

accorded deference when interpreting federal envi-

ronmental statutes, that deference is due to BEP’s

having greater experience than do courts, not the

Commissioner, in interpreting those statutes. See

2005 ME 27, 9 5, 868 A.2d 210, 214. FPL also asserts

that legislative intent trumps agency interpretation

of a statute when the two conflict. See Cent. Maine

Power Co. v. Maine Pub. Utils. Com., 436 A.2d 880,

885 (1981). As discussed infra, FPL will attempt to

demonstrate that the legislative intent behind

Maine’s water classification standards conflicts with

the DEP’s interpretation of those standards, and thus

the legislative intent should prevail.

As a secondary threshold matter, petitioner

argues that the NGOs did not have standing to have

appealed the Commissioner’s decision to the BEP

because they did not suffer a “particularized injury.”

See Storer v. Dep't of Envtl. Prot., 656 A.2d 1191, 1192

(Me. 1995). According to petitioner, DEP regulations

regarding standing are similar to the test used in

Maine courts, namely whether or not a party has

A-39

suffered a particularized injury as a result of a licens-

ing or other decision. The petitioner asserts that the

NGOs refer to their broad missions of environmental

protection, but do not allege a sufficient harm to

create standing on their behalf or through their

members on their behalf. Petitioner also points out

that only one of the four NGOs participated in the

drafting of the new water certification standards, and

the comments made at that time are in direct conflict

with those made in the subsequent appeal to the BEP.

If the NGOs had no standing to appeal the certifica-

tion of FPL, then the BEP decision supporting that

appeal must be invalidated and reversed.

Next, FPL argues that DEP waived certification

altogether by failing to do so within the one year

deadline established by federal statute. See 33 U.S.C.

§ 1341(a). In the alternative, the BEP decision revers-

ing FPL’s certification was made after the one-year

deadline, and thus should not be upheld. FPL traces

legislative history describing how an Executive Order

of Governor King named the DEP as the water qual-

ity standard certifying agency under FERC regula-

tions. The Commissioner and BEP are part of the

DEP, but it is the DEP and not either one of these

entities comprising it that has certification authority.

Though the DEP Commissioner certified the Project

within one year of FPL’s most recent application, the

BEP decision reversed that certification after that

one-year deadline. The BEP decision was the “final

agency action” and as that final agency action oc-

curred tu) ‘ate, DEP should be viewed as having

A-40

waived certification altogether. FPL’s interpretation

of timelines necessitates that it view section 401 as

requiring “final agency action” when it states “If the

State, interstate agency, or Administrator, as the case

may be, fails to act on a request for certification,

within a reasonable period of time (which shall not

exceed one year) after receipt of such request, the

certification requirements of this subsection shall be

waived with respect to such Federal application.”

Section 401. FPL concedes that a court, pursuant to

an 80C petition for review would be able to overturn a

final agency action after that one year deadline;

however an agency cannot overturn its own decision

outside of that one year deadline, which is what the

BEP did on July 15, 2004. FPL cites a recent Wash-

ington District Court decision — clearly not controlling

authority in Maine — for the proposition that inter-

pretations of deadlines pursuant to section 401 “must

mean that the issuance of state conditions outside the

one-year time period must be treated differently than

the issuance of such conditions occurring within that

period.” See Airport Communities Coalition v. Graves,

280 F. Supp. 2d 1207, 1215 (W.D. Wash. 2003).

FPL’s most substantive argument points to the

Project’s not needing to be certified at all under the

Clean Water Act because it does not discharge any-

thing, let alone pollutants, into navigable waters. The

Law Court has recently determined that a discharge

results when “dams remove water from its natural

course, exercise private control over the water, and

then add the water back into the river.” S.D. Warren

A-41

Co. v. Bd. of Envtl. Prot., 2005 ME 27, J 13, 868 A.2d

210, 216 (emphasis in original).? The Law Court

urged a broad interpretation of “discharge,” to include

releases from a source point that are both polluting

and non-polluting. See id. at J 14, 868 A.2d at 216

(citation omitted). As section 401 applies to dis-

charges into navigable waters, the Law Court has

held that hydroelectric dams and reservoirs release

such discharges, and thus certification by the DEP is

required.

In order to distinguish the FPL Project from the

situation that was under review in Warren (five

contiguous hydroelectric dam projects on the Pre-

sumpscot River in Cumberland County), the peti-

tioner asserts that Warren did not address “the

question of whether Maine Water Quality Law re-

quires the presence of a pollutant to trigger the need

for certification.” Petitioner maintains that this law

unambiguously links “pollutant” with “discharge,”

such that if no pollutant is discharged, no certifica-

tion is required. See 38 M.R.S.A. § 361-A(1) (defining

“discharge” as “any spilling, leaking, pumping, pour-

ing, emptying, dumping, disposing or other addition

of any pollutant to water of the State.”). Petitioner

asserts that it will operate the Project in much the

same manner in which it has been operated for dec-

ades, with “additional environmental enhancements”

> The Law Court decision was affirmed by the United States

Supreme Court on May 15, 2006, No. 04-1527.

A-42

that will not produce any discharge into navigable

waters. See id.

FPL further contends that if certification were

required, federal EPA approval was not necessary

because no new standard was created for the Project.

In its decision reversing the Commissioner’s certifica-

tion of the Project, BEP maintained that her doing so

departed significantly from past DEP practice, creat-

ing a new standard for reservoirs (below Class C) and

doing so would need EPA approval. As discussed

supra, FPL states that the Project should be evalu-

ated based on Class C criteria, which it interprets to

encompass a comparison to other reservoirs, not

“natural” lakes. In addition, FPL asserts that the

Commissioner’s interpretation of the standards does

not change the standards themselves, further negat-

ing the need for EPA approval of the certification.

Drawing its argument to a close, FPL says that

reversing the certification violates the Antidegreda-

tion Law, which states that “existing in-stream uses

‘must be maintained and protected.’” See 38 M.R.S.A.

§ 464(4)(F\(1). Any in-stream use that has been in

effect since 1975 qualifies for such protection, and

FPL does not interpret the statute as prioritizing

preservation of aquatic life over use of a body of water

to generate electricity. See id. By not certifying the

Project, the DEP would be disrupting an established

in-stream use and thus not only violate the Antide-

gredation Law, but also offend Maine’s stated energy

policy goals, which include supporting the continued

use of “indigenous hydro energy resources.”

A-43

Respondent’s Brief

The DEP begins its brief with an overview of the

statutory and regulatory scheme pertaining to the

certification of water quality in Maine. First, it out-

lines the requirements of the Clean Water Act, which

echo FPL’s interpretation of the statute, so will not be

rehashed here. Next, DEP outlines the role of FERC

in issuing new licenses for existing hydropower dams.

Seel6 U.S.C. § 808(a)(2). FERC also requires state

certification of water quality (or a waiver) in order to

issue a federal license. DEP also reviews the intro-

duction of Chapter 37, but clarifies that it could not

be made into law until the EPA approves the new

water quality standard implicit in it, which EPA

informed DEP that it would not do by letter in No-

vember 2003.

DEP next introduces a different spin on the

repeated denials of first CMP’s and then FPL’s certifi-

cation of the Project. DEP contends that since it knew

the Project would not meet the Class C standards in

the years 1996-2002, it encouraged FPL to withdraw

its application to prevent its being rejected. DEP then

recounts how the Commissioner’s decision to certify

excluded a reference to the disapproved Chapter 37,

but used the rational [sic] behind that policy anyway.

DEP thus finds the Commissioner’s contention that

she was merely reinterpreting existing standards,

and not relying on the EPA-disapproved Chapter 37

standards to be disingenuous.

A-44

With regard to the standard of review, DEP

asserts that FPL’s reliance on the fact that the BEP is

a lay board and thus should not be accorded deference

in interpreting statutes is misplaced and also violates

Law Court precedent. DEP cites its enabling legisla-

tion to bolster its assertion that the BEP has both the

responsibility to hear appeals of the Commissioner’s

decisions and that in doing so, it may “adopt, modify,

or reverse the findings of fact or conclusions of law

established by the Commissioner.” See 38 M.R.S.A.

§ 341-D(4)(A). In Warren, the Law Court specifically

addressed the fact that a lay board is due deference,

and that “The standard is whether the subject matter

is beyond the scope of BEP expertise.” 2005 ME 27,

q 6, 868 A.2d 210, 214. DEP states that BEP has the

requisite experience and expertise in interpreting

relevant statutes as evidenced by the appeal it con-

sidered in the Warren case.

DEP then refutes the argument that the NGOs

lack standing by emphasizing that “aggrieved person”

is broadly defined by departmental regulations, as

including any individual, partnership, corporation,

government entity, association or public or private

organization of any character that the Board deter-

mines may suffer particularized injury as a result of a

licensing or other decision. The DEP contends that

the BEP had substantial evidence before it, including

affidavits from members of the NGOs. indicating that

the intervenors met that standard.

DEP then addresses FPL’s contention that DEP

waived certification because final agency action was

A-45

not completed within one year, per section 401 of the

Clean Water Act. A portion of DEP’s argument relies

on a different interpretation of Airport Communities

Coalition v. Graves, the Washington case that FPL

relied upon in its brief, for the proposition that an

agency cannot overturn its own decision outside of

the one-year deadline. DEP contends that Airport

Communities is more properly read to provide the

federal agency with discretion to consider state

agency decisions made outside of the one-year dead-

line. The remainder of DEP’s argument in this section

relies on the FERC decision specifically stricken from

the record by this court, and thus subject to peti-

tioner’s separate motion to strike.” DEP maintains

that the FERC decision dismisses FPL’s arguments

that an agency must act and decide any appeals

relating to that action within a one-year deadline.’

DEP next invokes the Law Court’s Warren deci-

sion in an effort to definitively refute FPL’s conten-

tion that the Project can escape the need for

certification. Until the Supreme Court ruled on the

appeal, the Law Court’s decision from earlier this

* See FPL Energy Maine Hydro LLC, 108 F.E.R.C. 4 61261

(September 21, 2004), 2004 FERC LEXIS 1939, rehearing denied

at 111 FERC { 61104 (April 19, 2005), 2005 FERC LEXIS 1003.

"In its Response to FPL’s Motion to Strike, the DEP

contends that it relies on the FERC decision as persuasive legal

authority, and not as part of the certified administrative record,

from which the FERC decision was excluded by this court.

Because the FERC decision is submitted as part of argument,

the motion to strike must be denied.

A-46

year was controlling law on the matter, and the Law

Court unanimously rejected FPL’s arguments regard-

ing the meaning of “discharge” and the relationship of

that term to the certification process. See S.D. Warren

Co. v. Bd. of Enuvtl. Prot., 2005 ME 27, J 13, 868 A.2d

210, 216. Further, DEP emphasizes that Maine state

law incorporates federal law by reference, the rele-

vant federal law being that which requires states to

certify water quality before federal hydropower

licenses are issued. DEP thus properly participated in

the certification process and it was necessary that it

do so in order to comply with both state and federal

regulations.

As for the anti-degredation policy, DEP agrees

that some sort of balancing test is necessary to weigh

the importance of the competing uses of in-stream

water-sustaining aquatic life versus generating

energy; that balancing test exists in the form of a

UAA. DEP opines that a UAA may indeed determine

that hydro energy generation should be prioritized

over sustaining aquatic life, but until the proper

analysis is performed, the anti-degredation policy

does not in and of itself require certification, or

prioritize the energy-related use.

Finally, DEP argues that the Project does not

meet applicable water quality standards as a matter

of law. Focusing again on the term “discharge,” DEP

takes issue with FPL’s relying on a definition of the

term that necessitates pollutants to be present for

there to be a discharge. As the Project does not involve

pollutants, so FPL argues, there is no discharge, so it

A-47

should be exempt from the certification process. But

as DEP points out, depleting 95% of a reservoir in

order to generate energy substantially degrades the

water quality whether or not pollutants or a dis-

charge are involved. By enacting water quality stan-

dards, it was the Maine’s legislature’s intent to

“restore and maintain the chemical, physical, and

biological integrity of the State’s waters and to pre-

serve certain pristine state waters.” See 38 M.R.S.A.

§ 464(1). The DEP maintains that the major depletion

of the reservoir involved in the Project does not

maintain the “integrity” of the body of water and thus

frustrates the legislative intent behind Maine’s water

classification scheme. Further, DEP notes that there

would not have been a need to introduce Chapter 37,

which attempted to relax the water quality standard

for impoundments, if some type of water quality

standards did not apply to impoundments in the first

place.

Petitioner’s Reply Brief

With regard to the standard of review, FPL

repeats its argument from its petition, agreeing with

the need for the BEP to have expertise in environ-

mental statutory interpretation, but then contending

that a lay board could not possibly have such exper-

tise. But the case FPL cites to support this proposi-

tion, Jsis Dev., LLC v. Town of Wells, concerns a local

zoning board, not the BEP, which is charged with and

has experience in interpreting a complex regulatory

A-48

and statutory scheme. See 2003 ME 149, J 3, n. 4, 836

A.2d 1285.

As for the NGOs lacking standing, FPL dismisses

the significance of the organization members’ affida-

vits, which attest to their personally fishing, canoe-

ing, and hunting waterfowl in the waterways affected

by the Project. FPL maintains that its proposed

operation of the Project will not affect these activities,

and thus without a “particularized injury” the NGOs

had no standing to file their appeal, and it should be

dismissed.

The thrust of the petitioner’s reply hones in on

the interpretation of “discharge,” emphasizing that it

is only hydroelectric facilities that discharge pollut-

ants that are subject to certification; as FPL does not

discharge pollutants, it should be exempt from the

process. FPL also reviews the legislative history and

intent behind the appropriate water quality standard

that should apply to the Project, fine-tuning in detail

the arguments it made in its petition.

An angle that was relegated to footnotes in the

initial briefs, but is given some prominence in the

reply is the notion of whether a denial of certification

would result in an unconstitutional taking of the

Project from FPL. It is worth noting that the BEP’s

denial of certification was without prejudice, however,

and allows for a UAA to determine the appropriate

water quality standards to apply to the Project. Only

then will a final determination be made as to whether

the Project can be operational. Though FPL urges the

A-49

court to interpret statutes to avoid an unconstitu-

tional result (a taking), the BEP’s decision does not

end the process of certification, but extends that

process out to include a UAA.

The court is satisfied the intervenors or NGOs

have standing. While standing is a question of law,

the issue is factually driven. The court accepts the

BEP determination of their qualification as interve-

nors based upon its findings of fact.

The court is satisfied that Airport Communities

Coalition v. Graves stands for the proposition that the

federal agencies are not bound by the decisions when

the state “fails or refuses to act on a request for

certification within a reasonable period of time

(which shall not exceed one year) after receipt of such

request” by decisions issued beyond the one-year

limitation. 280 F.Supp.2nd at 1217; 33 U.S.C.

§ 1341(a)(1). The court finds no jurisdictional implica-

tions for state action affecting the final agency action

of the DEP.

The petitioner asserts that the so-called Chapter

37 Resolve does not change the class C water quality

classification and therefore it may rely upon the 1993

EPA water quality standards and no further approval

by the EPA is necessary. The DEP posits that to the

extent the resolve attempts to change a “natural lake”

standard to a “impoundment to impoundment” stan-

dard, it is a change in the water quality standard

requiring EPA approval. It appears to the court

that whether or not it is a change of standard is a

A-50

technical decision based upon the facts of the science,

clearly a matter within the expertise of the agency

and not subject to decision by this court based upon

the evidence put before it. This deference requires the

court to reject the argument of petitioner to overturn

the agency action based upon the resolve. The court

particularly notes the position of the BEP suggesting

that the DEP either obtain EPA approval of the

Chapter 37 water quality standard or conduct a UAA

to recalibrate the water quality standards for water

storage reservoirs. This court infers that such a policy

statement by the BEP would prevail in the future

actions of the DEP.

The remaining and most substantive issue before

this court is whether or not the certification in ques-

tion is required under the federal Water Quality Act

based upon a jurisdictional requirement of the exis-

tence of a “discharge” and whether the facts of this

case give rise to the existence of a “pollutant” as

defined in that law. The thrust of FPL’s arguments

were disposed of by the Law Court in Warren, and the

affirming decision of the U.S. Supreme Court is

controlling. The Project releases a “discharge” and is

thus subject to existing water quality standards,

which were justly interpreted by the BEP to deny

certification to FPL for the Project.

The entry will be:

Petitioner’s motion to strike respondent’s

extra-record materials referenced in and at-

tached to intervenor’s and respondent’s brief

A-51

is DENIED; the Board of Environmental

Protection Order granting appeal and deny-

ing water quality certification dated July 15,

2004, in the matter of FPL Energy Maine

Hydro, LLC is AFFIRMED.

Dated: May 25,2006 /s/ Donald H. Marden

Donald H. Marden

Justice, Superior Court

A-52

STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED

The issue presented involves interpretation of

the Federal Water Pollution Control Act (the “Clean

Water Act”), 33 U.S.C. §§ 1251 et seq., specifically

Section 401 of that Act, 33 U.S.C. § 1341. The perti-

nent text from Section 401 follows.

Clean Water Act

33 U.S.C. § 1341. Certification

(a) Compliance with applicable require-

ments; application; procedures; license sus-

pension

(1) Any applicant for a Federal license or

permit to conduct any activity including, but

not limited to, the construction or operation

of facilities, which may result in any dis-

charge into the navigable waters, shall pro-

vide the licensing or permitting agency a

certification from the State in which the dis-

charge originates or will originate, or, if ap-

propriate, from the interstate water pollution

control agency having jurisdiction over the

navigable waters at the point where the dis-

charge originates or will! originate, that any

such discharge will comply with the applica-

ble provisions of sections 1311, 1312, 1313,

1316, and 1317 of this title. In the case of

any such activity for which there is not an

applicable effluent limitation or other limita-

tion under sections 1311(b) and 1312 of this

title, and there is not an applicable standard

under sections 1316 and 1317 of this title,

A-53

the State shall so certify, except that any

such certification shall not be deemed to sat-

isfy section 1371(c) of this title. Such State or

interstate agency shall establish procedures

for public notice in the case of all applica-

tions for certification by it and, to the extent

it deems appropriate, procedures for public

hearings in connection with specific applica-

tions. In any case where a State or interstate

agency has no authority to give such a certi-

fication, such certification shall be from

the Administrator. If the State, interstate

agency, or Administrator, as the case may be,

fails or refuses to act on a request for certifi-

cation, within a reasonable period of time

(which shall not exceed one year) after re-

ceipt of such request, the certification re-

quirements of this subsection shall be waived

with respect to such Federal application. No

license or permit shall be granted until the

certification required by this section has

been obtained or has been waived as pro-

vided in the preceding sentence. No license

or permit shall] be granted if certification has

been denied by the State, interstate agency,

or the Administrator, as the case may be.

* k *

(d) Limitations and monitoring require-

ments of certification

Any certification provided under this section

shall set forth any effluent limitations and

other limitations, and monitoring require-

ments necessary to assure that any applicant

for a Federal license or permit will comply

A-54

with any applicable effluent limitations and

other limitations, under section 1311 or 1312

of this title, standard of performance under

section 1316 of this title, or prohibition, ef-

fluent standard, or pretreatment standard

under section 1317 of this title, and with any

other appropriate requirement of State law

set forth in such certificatior’, and shall be-

come a condition on any Federal license or

permit subject to the provisions of this sec-

tion.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.