Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Conte v. Washington (No. 07-339)

Supreme Court brief2007

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

ew’

No. ees Supreme Court _

In The

Supreme Court of the ChARV Sawer

¢

JOHN GILBERT CONTE, FRANK FRANCIS

COLACURCIO, JR., FRANK FRANCIS COLACURCIO, SR.,

AND MARSHA MARIE FURFARO,

Petitioners,

v.

STATE OF WASHINGTON,

Respondent.

¢

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The Washington Supreme Court

¢

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

S

ROBERT S. MAHLER

Counsel of Record

BARBARA J. RHOADS-WEAVER

BULLIVANT HOUSER BAILEY PC

1601 Fifth Avenue, Suite 2300

Seattle, WA 98101

(206) 521-6435

RICHARD A. HANSEN

ALLEN, HANSEN & MAYBROWN

600 University Street, Suite 3020

Seattle, WA 98101

(206) 447-9681

IRWIN H. SCHWARTZ

LAW OFFICES OF IRWIN H. SCHWARTZ

710 Cherry Street

Seattle, WA 98104

(206) 623-5084

JOHN W. WOLFE

WOLFE LEINBACH

701 Fifth Avenue, Suite 6110

Seattle, WA 98104

(206) 389-6218

_-~—_-—-—

ose ee

COOCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING COO est) 22.) eet

OR CALL CODD Fe Pete2 342-2835)

07-339 SEP 10 2007

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Does the decision of a state’s highest court to remand

a case for criminal prosecution constitute a final judgment

under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a), as construed by Cox Broadcast-

ing Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469 (1975), when the constitu-

tional question to be decided is whether the Petitioners

were deprived of due process because the laws proscribing

their conduct did not provide fair notice that criminal

prosecution was possible?

Whether the remedies provision of a state’s campaign

finance law, which is entitled “Civil Remedies and Sanc-

tions” and expressly provides only for civil remedies, but

also contains a general reference to “any other remedies

provided by law,” provides fair notice as required by the

Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment that

individuals acting in violation of the statute may be

subject to criminal prosecution and punishment?

li

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW

Petitioners John Gilbert Conte, Frank Francis Cola-

curcio, Jr., Frank Francis Colacurcio, Sr., and Marsha

Marie Furfaro were defendants in the Washington Supe-

rior Court for the County of King, and respondents before

the Washington Supreme Court. Respondent State of

Washington was plaintiff in the superior court and appel-

lant before the Washington Supreme Court.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ............0csscescsssssssecssccossessees i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW............... il

Re GIT ENCE sibeccesdesscnvestoviensieninvcsrsiveesovntcones ili

RE FF BC ois dctarsndnctnnrdntnsevineveoxasdavesives Vv

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI................00. 1

ON ad scasescttarsencvbnas 1

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION ............cccc cece cece 1

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED............ 1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE .............cccccccsscsecssecescesseees 2

1. Specific state and municipal civil laws govern

campaign finance and disclosure ................c00000 3

2. Washington’s bait and switch........0...00.0ccceceeeeeeee 4

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT..........0..00..0.2. 7

1. This case is an opportunity for the Court to

clarify the fourth Cox exception’s “federal pol-

Be IU sisdetiva dacdactudsdccel elceneeccaiiceidded sitthteteaa

A. The “federal policy” criterion of the fourth

Cox category needs clarification................

B. Cox failed to clarify the scope of the “fed-

eral policy” criterion or to provide a stan-

Lg. Milani See Mec eee ome

C. The “federal policy” criterion has not been

clarified in the more than thirty years

since Cox was decided................cccccceesssssseeee

10

11

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

D. Where the constitutional challenge goes

to the very right of the state to proceed

against an individual, federal policy

should permit review under Cox...........60006. 19

2. Does a statutory scheme that explicitly pro-

scribes certain conduct and subjects violators

to “civil remedies and sanctions,” provide fair

notice that violators may be subjected to

criminal prosecution and punishment? ............. 20

PRI INN bss ca sahalicrsvansssaviosicidesaieaivasiateiisucienaee 25

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Abney v. United States, 431 U.S. 651 (1977)... cece eeeeee 19

Batson v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 79 (1986).............c..cc000e 15, 16

Construction Laborers v. Curry, 371 U.S. 542

a aaa is slot cease oatuaisisiielbiatidin 11, 12, 14, 19

Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469

SEIU iis siililesitiaislgasliidcantsdnpunhesdtestasienicediiauiieredymansieaedl passim

Florida v. Thomas, 532 U.S. 774 (2001) ....... eee 14, 16

Flynt v. Ohio, 451 U.S. 619 (1981)............... 8, 14, 16, 17, 18

Fort Wayne Books, Inc. v. Indiana, 489 U.S. 46

SUI iii bik icnicieiinisdeinnuteinhtus- chick dedsaildadionzes dcamscancntadpewin 14,17

Healthscript, Inc. v. State of Indiana, 770 N.E.2d

I SEINE? «\ cocutbindedibisnssnusdimtinkettdninntseessiotoineiiind 22, 23, 24

Jefferson v. City of Tarrant, 522 U.S. 75 (1997) .........cceecee 8

Johnson v. California, 541 U.S. 428 (2004)........... 10, 14, 15

Jordan v. DeGeorge, 341 U.S. 223 (1951) ......ccececseeeeeeeeees 20

Kaiser Aluminum & Chem. Corp. v. Bonjorno, 494

RSIS eee retin aaice tee manne 21

Kansas v. Marsh, 548 U.S. ___, 126 S. Ct. 2516, 165

REESE eh Ramone IED RN OE Ne ey ap 18

Landgraf v. USI Film Prods., 511 U.S. 244 (1994) .......... 21

Market Street R. Co. v. Railroad Comm’n of Cal.,

RES Pat ke dr aa ree ARE 8

McBoyle v. United States, 283 U.S. 25 (1931) ............. 20, 23

Mercantile National Bank v. Langdeau, 371 U.S.

nS eR ACE Ne San RSE Cee 12, 13, 14, 19

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— Continued

Page

Miami Herald Publishing Co. v. Tornillo, 418 U.S.

A ST i iavininsinsnniininwliwigttplcinatah litt aee reais. 13, 14, 17

Nike, Inc. v. Kasky, 539 U.S. 654 (2003)............ 8, 15, 16, 17

Pennsylvania v. Ritchie, 480 U.S. 39 (1987)........00.....c0008-. 11

Rogers v. Tennessee, 532 U.S. 451 (2001)...........ccccccceseeccee 20

State v. Conte, et al., 159 Wash. 2d 797, 154 P.3d

BE I IE iitiiticdiicnaitta err re 1,6

State v. Gunwall, 106 Wash. 2d 54 (1986).............::cccceseeee 6

State v. Sullivan, 143 Wash. 2d 162 (2001) ........ccccccccceseeess 6

United States v. Bass, 404 U.S. 336 (1971) .0......cccccccecceeee 23

United States v. Lanier, 520 U.S. 259 (1997)..........cccccee. 20

United States v. Sisson, 399 U.S. 267 (1970).......ccececeeeeeee 11

CONSTITUTION

as a MI a passim

STATUTES

Sg ee a 1, 7,10

I ae 22

I a 22-23

Ind. Code § 35-43-7.1(a)(1) (Supp. 1997) ........ccceeee eee 22

Seattle Municipal Code (“SMC”) §§ 2.04.150 et seg.

REEL ES MON LIDS gO AN ERE ERT SCRAP Ee OE) 3

En I ra a +

a ee IND CIID i iiccccscianvavexcstcosdanmmrencreccccodedsaveds 3,4

vil

TABLE OF. . "'HORITIES -—- Continued

Page

ae ee ae EEE CIID ches chcvcnsernissuscancdscnsissvasvcncncstenets 3,4

ee Pe CET ois vets csnvtiicccesecncsstenciceiascetencanensstia 4

a ie CI I Bi iiveedvvnccsniiciccdsdectwevecedensevecscrsains 5

Wash. Rev. Code § 42.17.080 (1989) (amended 2006)......... 3

Wash. Rev. Code § 42.17.120 (1975) .........ecetcecscesscccceeseeeeees 3

Wash. Rev. Code § 42.17.390 (1993) (amended 2006)..... 4, 6

Wash. Rev. Code §§ 42.17.6100 et Seq. ........:ccccecseeesseeeeeeseenees 3

I I eB oba sctictcndinccd xadvndiiivseniatenvdncvbeuntenie 3

Ts Te Ns SF hcirspoccnticerttnkenisessntntcerocsersianroesers 5

MISCELLANEOUS

J. Hall, General Principles of Criminal Law 59 (2d

ee EE ihicssilbacaccacis pacvcnscridipiaiesiabddaabiipaibcladbvinedatinandvidbgsatesrons 20

J. Hall, Nulla Poena Sine Lege, 47 Yale L.J. 165

UT Pid aisLiinisssiileadeniacsincsbicies biseinasinaiegiiited “alka sniinidasth alee actagwicwasits a1, 20

T. Morrison, Fair Warning and the Retroactive

Judicial Expansion of Federal Criminal Statutes,

Pe ee ees hie PR Se ED ercorsitesinchcsntssendiaptrsevaasies 20, 21

H. Packer, The Limits of Criminal Sanction 79-80

PI daiciisasiit ascites intcadcsaonaleseaccdadacalchiresiaamenvnnenetbesieanisienes 20

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioners John Gilbert Conte, Frank Francis Cola-

curico, Jr., Frank Francis Colacurico, Sr., and Marsha

Marie Furfaro (“Petitioners”) respectfully petition for a

writ of certiorari to the Washington Supreme Court in

State v. Conte, et al., No. 78995-9.

°

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Washington Supreme Court is

published at 159 Wash.2d 797, 154 P.3d 194 (Wash. 2007),

and is attached at App. at 1-28. The Washington Supreme

Court’s order denying Petitioners’ motion for reconsidera-

tion, filed June 11, 2007, is unpublished, and is attached

at App. at 58. The relevant trial court order is unpub-

lished, and is attached at App. at 47-49.

o

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The opinion of the Washington Supreme Court was

filed March 15, 2007. App. 1. ‘he Washington Supreme

Court denied Petitioner’s motion for reconsideration on

June 11, 2007. App. at 58. This Court’s jurisdiction is

invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a), as construed by Cox

Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469 (1975).

¢

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

The Fourteenth Amendment to the United States

Constitution provides in relevant part: “... nor shall any

2

State deprive any person of life, liberty, or property,

without due process of law... .”

#

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case comes to the Court from the Supreme Court

of Washington, which overturned a trial court decision

dismissing criminal charges against Petitioners. The trial

court’s dismissal was based on state law grounds. The

Washington Supreme Court not only reversed the trial

court on the state law grounds, but also rejected Petition-

ers’ federal constitutional argument that the statutes

proscribing their conduct, which expressly limited the

State to seeking civil remedies, failed to provide constitu-

tionally adequate notice that they could be subjected to

criminal prosecution and punishment. Reversing the trial

court’s order of dismissal, the State Supreme Court re-

manded the case for trial.

This case presents important issues of both federal

jurisdiction and constitutional law. It affords an opportu-

nity to provide guidance on the scope of the “federal policy”

criterion used to determine whether a judgment of a

state’s highest court remanding a case for trial, constitutes

a final judgment under Cox’s fourth exception. That

exception permits review of cases in which “a refusal

immediately to review the state-court decision might

seriously erode federal policy,” even though further pro-

ceedings have been ordered in the state’s lower courts.

Cox, 420 U.S. at 483.

This case also presents the question whether Wash-

ington’s novel theory of prosecution, which “criminal-

ized” conduct that was expressly proscribed by statutes

3

providing only for civil sanctions, runs afoul of the fair

notice doctrine enshrined in the Fourteenth Amendment’s

Due Process Clause.

1. Specific state and municipal civil laws govern

campaign finance and disclosure.

Both the State of Washington and City of Seattle

regulate individuals’ campaign contributions to candi-

dates for elective office. State statutes and local ordi-

nances limit the amount of campaign contributions

individuals may make to candidates, Wash. Rev. Code

§§ 42.17.610 et seq. (1993); Seattle Municipal Code

(“SMC”) § 2.04.370(D) (2002);' require candidates to

publicly disclose contributions received, Wash. Rev. Code

§ 42.17.080 (1989) (amended 2006); SMC §8§ 2.04.150

et seq. (1991); and prohibit acts by individuals designed

to conceal the original source of campaign contributions

and subvert public disclosure, including the act of

reimbursing others for making contributions to candi-

dates. Wash. Rev. Code §§ 42.17.120 (1975),’ and

42.17.780 (1995);° SMC § 2.04.290(A) (2002).’

’ E.g., SMC § 2.04.370(D) provides, in relevant part: “No candidate

for... member of the City Council .. . shall solicit or receive campaign

contributions of more than Six Hundred Dollars ($600) from any person

in an election cycle... .”

* Wash. Rev. Code § 42.17.120 provides, in relevant part: “No

contribution shall be made ... by one person through an agent, relative,

or other person in such a manner as to conceal the identity of the source

of the contribution or in an other manner so as to effect concealment.”

> Wash. Rev. Code § 42.17.780 provides, in relevant part: “A person

may not, directly or indirectly, reimburse another person for a contribu-

tion to a candidate... .”

* SMC § 2.04.2901\A) provides, in relevant part: “No contribution

shall be made and no expenditure shall be incurred, directly or

(Continued on following page)

4

The municipal campaign finance disclosure law

subjects violators to civil penalties and expressly excludes

the possibility of criminal prosecution for violations. SMC

§ 2.04.500(B) (1997) provides, in relevant part: “Whether

or not there is an administrative determination as pro-

vided in Section A, the violation or failure to comply with

the provisions of Sections 2.04.160 through 2.04.290

(regarding campaign reporting), for] Section 2.04.370

(regarding contribution limitations) ... shall constitute an

infraction, not subject to the Seattle Criminal Code.... ”

(emphasis added). The state campaign finance disclosure

law also sets forth civil remedies and sanctions to be

imposed for violations. Wash. Rev. Code § 42.17.390 (1993)

(amended 2006). Wash. Rev. Code § 42.17.390 is entitled

“Civil Remedies and Sanctions.” It provides, in relevant

part: “One or more of the following civil remedies and

sanctions may be imposed by court order in addition to

2. Washington’s bait and switch.

In 2005, Washington accused Petitioners of engaging

in “political money laundering” to improperly influence the

2003 Seattle City Council elections. For purposes of the

federal question this Court is asked to review, the factual

allegations against all four Petitioners are identical. The

state alleges the Petitioners reimbursed some individuals

in cash for contributions those individuals made to three

then Seattle City Council members seeking reelection in

2003. App. at 4. The state’s novel theory further asserts

indirectly, ... by one person through an agent, relative, or other person

in such a manner as to conceal the identification of the source of the

contribution or in any other manner so as to effect concealment.”

that the Petitioners’ alleged reimbursement of campaign

contributions, caused the three candidates to file false

campaign disclosure reports in violation of Wash. Rev.

Code § 40.16.030, which makes the offering of a false

instrument for filing a class C felony. App. at. 6. The false

instrument law is a general criminal -atute enacted in

1909. It provides:

Every person who shall knowingly procure or of-

fer any false or forged instrument to be filed, reg-

istered, or recorded in any public office, which

instrument, if genuine, might be filed, registered

or recorded in such office under any law of this

state or of the United States, is guilty of a class C

felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in

a state correctional facility for not more than five

years, or by a fine of not more than five thousand

dollars, or by both.

Wash. Rev. Code § 40.16.030. This general criminal statute

has never in the history of the state been used to impose

criminal penalties for conduct similar to Petitioners’

alleged acts. The Information charged Petitioners in

various counts based upon each Petitioner’s alleged

reimbursement of campaign contributions with causing

the various campaigns’ treasurers to file false campaign

disclosure reports. App. at 4. Each Petitioner pleaded not

guilty.

The trial court granted Petitioners’ motion to dismiss

on statutory interpretation grounds, ruling that the state’s

campaign finance disclosure laws (Wash. Rev. Code ch.

42.17), not the state’s false instrument law (Wash. Rev.

Code § 40.16.030), governed Petitioners’ alleged actions. As

the campaign finance disclosure law only provides for

imposition of civil remedies and sanctions, the trial court

6

dismissed the criminal charges. App. at 29-56. Because the

trial court granted Petitioner’s motion on statutory

grounds, it did not reach Petitioners’ due process argu-

ment. App. at 49. The state appealed, and the Washington

Supreme Court accepted certification of the case from the

Washington Court of Appeals. App. at 5.

On appeal, Petitioners argued that if the trial court

was reversed on statutory interpretation grounds, then the

Washington Supreme Court could and should uphold the

dismissal on the due process grounds raised but not

reached in the trial court. App. at 21. In its reply, the state

asked the Washington Supreme Court to “consider [Peti-

tioners’] due process claim only under federal constitu-

tional law” because the Petitioners did not provide the

analysis required by State v. Gunwall, 106 Wash. 2d 54

(1986), for consideration of an independent state constitu-

tional law claim. State v. Conte, et al., No. 78995-9, Appel-

lant’s Reply Brief at 12 (emphasis added) (citing State v.

Sullivan, 143 Wash. 2d 162, 180 n.73 (2001)).

The Washington Supreme Court reversed the trial

court. It first addressed the statutory issue and construed

the phrase “any other remedies provided by law,” in Wash.

Rev. Code § 42.17.390, to include criminal punishment.

App. at 13. Accordingly, it reversed the trial court’s order

of dismissal on this statutory interpretation ground.

Next the Washington Supreme Court turned to the

due process issue raised but not reached in the trial court.

The court held it would “only consider [the Petitioners’]

due process claim under federal constitutional law.” App.

at 21 (citing Sullivan, 143 Wash. 2d at 180 n.73). Consider-

ing the Petitioners’ due process claim under federal consti-

tutional analysis, App. at 21, the Washington Supreme

Court rejected Petitioners’ argument that they would be

deprived of their due process rights to fair notice if the

state was allowed to proceed with criminal prosecutions

against them based upon allegations they reimbursed

others for campaign contributions made to Seattle City

Counsel members seeking reelection. App. at 21-22. The

Washington Supreme Court reversed the trial court and

reinstated the charges against the Petitioners and re-

manded the case to the trial court for further proceedings.

App. at 22.

Petitioners seek review of the Washington Supreme

Court’s decision denying their claim that they will be

deprived of due process guaranteed by the Fourteenth

Amendment if the state is allowed to proceed with prose-

cutions where the state legislature failed to put them on

fair notice that their alleged actions subjected them to

criminal punishment.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. This case is an opportunity for the Court to

clarify the fourth Cox exception’s “federal pol-

icy” criterion.

Under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a), this Court has certiorari

jurisdiction to review “[flinal judgments or decrees ren-

dered by the highest court of a State in which a decision

could be had ... where any title, right, privilege or immu-

nity is specially set up or claimed under the Constitution

. of ... the United States.” Generally, to be “final” for

purposes of this Court’s certiorari jurisdiction, the state-

court judgment must be “‘an effective determination of the

litigation and not merely interlocutory or intermediate

8

steps therein.’” Jefferson v. City of Tarrant, 522 U.S. 75,

81 (1997) (quoting Market Street R. Co. v. Railroad

Comm’n of Cal., 324 U.S. 548, 551 (1945)). “Applied in the

context of a criminal prosecution, finality is normally

defined by the imposition of the sentence.” Flynt v. Ohio,

451 U.S. 619, 620 (1981).

However, this Court “has interpreted the [jurisdic-

tional] statute’s phrase ‘final judgment’ to refer, in certain

circumstances, to a state court’s final determination of a

federal issue, even if the determination of that issue

occurs in the midst of ongoing litigation.” Nike, Inc. v.

Kasky, 539 U.S. 654, 671 (2003) (Bryer, J., dissenting).

This Court has treated four categories of state-court

rulings, in which further proceedings were to take place in

the state courts, as falling within the jurisdictional stat-

ute’s meaning of “final judgment or decree.” The four

categories are outlined in Cox, 420 U.S. at 477-483. Peti-

tioners invoke this Court’s jurisdiction under Cox’s fourth

category of cases. Jd. at 482-483.

The cases that fall within Cox’s fourth exception to the

general finality rule were described as follows:

[T]hose situations where [1] the federal issue has

been finally decided in the state courts with fur-

ther proceedings pending in which [2] the party

seeking review here might prevail on the merits

on nonfederal grounds, thus rendering unneces-

sary review of the federal issue by this Court,

and [3] where reversal of the state court on the

federal issue would be preclusive of any further

litigation on the relevant cause of action rather

than merely controlling the nature and character

of, or determining the admissibility of evidence

in, the state proceedings still to come. In these

circumstances, [4] if a refusal immediately to

9

review the state-court decision might seriously

erode federal policy, the Court has entertained

and decided the federal issue, which itself has

been finally decided by the state courts for pur-

poses of the state litigation. Jd. at 482-483.

The Washington Supreme Court’s opinion below meets

the first three criteria for application of Cox’s fourth

category. The state court “finally decided” the federal issue

by rejecting Petitioners’ argument that the campaign

finance disclosure law’s general reference to other laws did

not provide them with fair notice that their alleged con-

duct would subject them to criminal liability. App. at 21-

22. According to the Washington Supreme Court, nothing

remains to be decided with respect to whether the state’s

campaign finance disclosure law is repugnant to Petition-

ers’ due process rights under the Fourteenth Amendment.

Additionally, “the part[ies] seeking review here,” Petition-

ers, “might prevail on the merits on nonfederal grounds.”

Cox, 420 U.S. at 482. Petitioners deny reimbursing others

for contributions made to candidates for Seattle City

Council. If the state is unable to prove the alleged conduct

beyond a reasonable doubt at trial, Petitioners will “pre-

vail on the merits on nonfederal grounds.” Jd. Finally,

“reversal of the state court on the federal issue would be

preclusive of any further litigation on the relevant cause of

action.” Jd. at 482-483. If this Court held the state cam-

paign finance disclosure law failed to provide Petitioners

with fair notice that their alleged conduct could subject

them to criminal liability, and accordingly reversed the

Washington Supreme Court’s decision on federal due

process grounds, the state would be precluded from pursu-

ing criminal prosecution in further proceedings.

10

A. The “federal policy” criterion of the fourth

Cox category needs clarification.

At issue is whether there is a federal policy that may

be eroded by delaying review of the state court opinion

below. However, to answer this question the scope of the

“federal policy” criterion needs to be clarified.

In Johnson v. California, 541 U.S. 428 (2004) (per

curiam), the Court directed the bar to “assure themselves

that the decision for which review is sought is indeed a

“(flinal judgmen|[t]” under § 1257.” Jd. at 432 (holding the

fourth Cox category does not apply and dismissing the case

for want of jurisdiction). Yet, the Court has not articulated

the scope of the federal policy criterion, leaving counsel

without necessary guidance to determine whether a

particular decision is “indeed a “[flinal judgment/t]” under

§ 1257.” Id. Nor has the Court set forth a standard that

counsel could apply to determine whether the federal

policy criterion is met. Thus, counsel are left without the

tools necessary to comply with the Court’s direction to

“assure themselves” that the decisions for which they seek

review are final judgments under § 1257. Instead, counsel

must speculate which federal policies a majority of the

Justices might be interested in protecting by immediate

review, to invoke the Court’s jurisdiction under § 1257, as

construed by Cox.

Cox did not articulate with clarity the scope of its

federal policy criterion, and it did not set forth a standard

* While the vote of only four Justices is necessary for the Court to

exercise its discretion to entertain a petition for certiorari, a vote of a

majority of Justices is necessary to find jurisdiction or the writ of

certiorari will be dismissed as improvidently granted.

11

to be applied to determine in the future which federal

policies deserve the Court’s immediate review. And the

opinions in which jurisdiction has depended upon applica-

tion of Cox’s fourth exception, whether by the Court as a

whole or by individual Justices, in the over three decades

since Cox was decided, have not clarified the category of

federal policies that deserve the Court’s immediate review.

Nor have the opinions that have followed Cox articulated a

standard to be applied to determine whether a particular

federal policy at issue warrants invocation of the Court’s

jurisdiction for immediate review.

While the Court has recognized the importance of

clarity in matters of jurisdiction, see United States v.

Sisson, 399 U.S. 267, 307 (1970), and the waste of great

energy by the courts and the parties “not on the merits of

dispute settlement, but on simply deciding whether a

court has the power to hear a case,” id., in the absence of

such clarity, the efficiency justification for finality, see

Pennsylvania v. Ritchie, 480 U.S. 39, 49, n.7 (1987), will

continue to be undermined until the Court gives the bar

guidance as to the scope of the federal policy criterion

under the fourth Cor exception.

B. Cox failed to clarify the scope of the “federal

policy” criterion or to provide a standard to

be applied.

As then Associate Justice Rehnquist noted in his

dissent, Cox’s fourth category is a “virtually formless

exception to the finality requirement.” Cox, 420 U.S. at 505

(Rehnquist, J., dissenting). Cox discussed three prior cases

as examples of the cases that fall within its fourth cate-

gory. The first case Cox discussed is Construction Laborers

v. Curry, 371 U.S. 542 (1963). Cox, 420 U.S. at 483. In

12

Curry, the state courts rejected labor union claims that the

National Labor Relations Board had exclusive jurisdiction

over the controversy and temporarily enjoined the labor

union’s picketing. The Court recognized a federal policy,

based upon federal labor statutes, that gave the National

Labor Relations Board, not state courts, jurisdiction over

the controversy. Curry, 371 U.S. at 550. The Court was

also convinced that the case was concluded in the state

courts for all practical purposes. Given the practical

posture of the case and to protect the recognized federal

labor policy, the Court took jurisdiction. No explanation

was given as to how the federal labor policy would be

eroded if review were delayed until after the conclusion of

all state court proceedings. Rather, it appears the mere

violation of the federal labor statute (state court assertion

of jurisdiction over a controversy in which exclusive

jurisdiction rested with the National Labor Relations

Board) was sufficient erosion to warrant the Court’s

immediate review.

The second case Cox discussed is Mercantile National

Bank v. Langdeau, 371 U.S. 555 (1963). Cox, 420 U.S. at

483-484. In Langdeau, two national banks asserted a

federal venue statute immunized them from suit on claims

of conspiracy to defraud an insurance company in the

courts of the county in which they were sued. In asserting

jurisdiction, the Court recognized it would serve the policy

of the federal venue statute to immediately decide the

issue of which state courts the banks could be sued instead

of delaying such a decision until the conclusion of the state

court proceedings. Langdeau, 371 U.S. at 558. Judicial

efficiency and fairness principles appear to provide the

underlying support for the immediate need to protect the

policy of the federal venue statute. Specifically, the Court

13

noted the undesirability of subjecting the two banks “to

long and complex litigation which may be all for naught”

by postponing review. Id.

The third case discussed by the Cox majority opinion

as an example of its fourth category is Miami Herald

Publishing Co. v. Tornillo, 418 U.S. 241 (1974). Cox, 420

U.S. at 484. In Tornillo, a newspaper claimed the First

and Fourteenth Amendments immunized it from suit for

damages by a candidate for public office based on the

newspaper’s refusal to print the candidate’s reply to the

paper’s editorial critical of him, which was alleged to be in

violation of a state “right to reply” statute. In its jurisdic-

tional holding, the Court noted it would be “intolerable to

leave unanswered ... an important question of the free-

dom of the press under the First Amendment.” Tornillo,

418 U.S. at 247, n.6. There is little discussion of how the

Court reached its jurisdictional holding. However, the

contention of both parties that the Court had jurisdiction

coupled with their joint claim that the exercise of First

Amendment rights would be restricted until the Court’s

review along with the possibility that review could be

rendered unnecessary by further state court proceedings

appears to have persuaded the Court that delaying review

would erode the federal policy underlying the First

Amendment.

In Cox, the Court was asked to review a state supreme

court decision that a state law prohibiting the publication

of rape victims’ names and identities was a legitimate

limitation on the First Amendment’s guarantee of freedom

of the press. Although the state supreme court had re-

manded the case for further proceedings in the state trial

court, the Court held the state court decision was final for

purposes of jurisdiction. In support of its jurisdictional

14

holding, the Court noted that if the state court had “erro-

neously upheld the statute, there should be no trial at all,”

Cox, 420 U.S. at 485, and that delaying review would leave

the press in the state to operate “in the shadow of the civil

and criminal sanctions of a rule of law and a statute the

constitutionality of which is in serious doubt,” id. at 486.

There is no common characteristic shared by the

federal policies at issue in Curry, Langdeau, Tornillo, and

Cox other than the Court’s determination that immediate

review was warranted. In Curry and Langdeau, federal

statutes provided the basis for the federal policies to be

protected from erosion by delayed review. In Tornillo and

Cox, the United States Constitution, in particular the

First Amendment thereto, provided the basis for the

federal policies that warranted immediate review. How-

ever, the fact that a federal policy is enshrined in the

Constitution or codified by federal statute does not mean

the Court will determine it is necessarily worthy of protec-

tion by immediate review. See, e.g., Fort Wayne Books, Inc.

v. Indiana, 489 U.S. 46, 56 (1989) (citing Flynt v. Ohio, 451

U.S. 619 (1981) for the proposition that the federal policy

embodied in the Equal Protection Clause does not deserve

protection from erosion similar to the federal policy em-

bodied in the First Amendment).

C. The “federal policy” criterion has not been

clarified in the more than thirty years

since Cox was decided.

The lack of clarity concerning the scope of Cox’s fourth

exception has resulted in a waste of the Court’s energy and

that of the parties on more than one occasion. Worse, the

cases, in which certiorari was initially granted but the

15

case was ultimately dismissed for want of jurisdiction, do

not clarify the scope of the exception.

For example, in Johnson v. California, 541 U.S. 428

(2004) (per curiam), although certiorari was _ initially

granted, the Court ultimately dismissed the case for want

of jurisdiction following argument on the merits and

supplemental briefing on the jurisdictional issue. In

Johnson, the petitioner sought review of a state supreme

court’s decision rejecting his Batson claim and reinstating

his conviction. The state supreme court had also remanded

the case to the state intermediate appellate court to

address the petitioner’s evidentiary claims. The petitioner

argued the case fit within Cox’s fourth exception. However,

the Court held the fourth exception inapplicable because

“petitioner can make no convincing claim of erosion of

federal policy that is not common to all decisions rejecting

a defendant’s Batson claim.” Jd. at 430 (citing Florida v.

Thomas, 532 U.S. 774, 780 (2001)).

There is no further discussion of the scope of Cox’s

fourth category of cases other than the implicit suggestion

that the scope of the “federal policy” criterion might be

limited to require the erosion that might occur by delay be

unique to the petitioner.’ Because none of the other cases

the Court has recognized as falling within Cox’s fourth

* Batson v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 79 (1986).

’ Nor did Chief Justice Rehnquist provide additional discussion of

the scope of the fourth Cox category in his opinion for a unanimous

Court in Florida v. Thomas. In contrast to the more lengthy discussion

of each of the other Cox categories, Thomas, 532 U.S. at 777-780, the

discussion of the fourth Cox category merely notes that “the State can

make no claim of serious erosion of federal policy that is not common to

all run-of-the-mill decisions suppressing evidence in criminal trials.” Jd

at 780.

16

exception involved potential erosion of a federal policy

unique to the petitioner, the Court’s jurisdictional holding

in Johnson may rest more on the fact that it has viewed

the federal policies enshrined in the Equal Protection

Clause as undeserving of protection by immediate review.®

Nike, Inc. v. Kasky, 539 U.S. 654 (2003) (per curiam),

is another example of a case in which the writ was “dis-

missed as improvidently granted.” Id. at 655. In Nike, a

state supreme court had reversed a state trial court’s

dismissal of the respondent’s complaint, which had been

affirmed by an intermediate state appellate court, and

remanded for further proceedings. The respondent had

sued Nike for unfair and deceptive practices under the

state’s laws based upon the company’s public statements

concerning working conditions under which Nike’s prod-

ucts are made. The Court had granted certiorari to decide

whether a corporation participating in a public debate may

be subjected to liability for factual inaccuracies and

whether the First Amendment protects such commercial

speech. The Court provided no reasoning for its decision to

dismiss the writ.

Justice Stevens articulated three possible reasons for

the dismissal in his concurring opinion, in which he was

" This basis does not explain the Court’s holding regarding the

fourth Cox category in Thomas. However, another justification may

account for the limited discussion of the fourth Cox category and the

Court's jurisdictional holding in Thomas: the underlying concern that

asserting jurisdiction to immediately decide the Batson issue might

lead to piecemeal review and the need for later review of a Chimel

issue. See Thomas, 532 U.S. at 780; see also Nike, Inc. v. Kasky, 539

U.S. 654, 660 (2003) (Stevens, J., concurring) (citing Flynt v Ohio, 451

U.S. 619, 621 (1981) (per curiam) (“no probability of piecemeal review

with respect to federal issues”)).

17

joined by Justice Ginsberg: the state supreme court

decision was not “final,” the parties lacked standing to

invoke the Court’s jurisdiction, and the lack of a developed

record below, which might aid the Court, militated judicial

restraint. Jd. at 656-665.

Three Justices dissented. Justice Kennedy did not

provide a reason for his dissent. Justice Breyer in his

dissenting opinion, which was joined by Justice O’Connor,

reasoned the state court decision on the First Amendment

issue met the criteria for a final decision under Cox’s

fourth category. Jd. at 681-683. In the dissenting Justices’

view, the federal policy in favor of free speech would be

seriously eroded absent immediate review because the

state court’s decision would “chill” the exercise of free

speech rights by corporations doing business in the state.

Id. at 682.

Unlike Flynt, where the issue presented was viewed

by a majority of the court as whether a state court decision

disregarded the Fourteenth Amendment’s equal protection

guarantee, there is no doubt that the issue presented in

Nike is whether a state court decision disregards the First

Amendment’s freedom of speech guarantee. Yet, without

explanation, the Court reaches the opposite jurisdictional

holding from Tornillo and Cox. Thus, even the scope of the

First Amendment federal policy that warrants the protec-

tion of immediate review is unclear. The conflicting results

suggests the Court views the freedorn of the press federal

policy as demanding immediate review whereas the

freedom of speech federal policy is on par with the equal

protection federal policy.

However, the above suggestion does not hold true for

the Court's jurisdictional holding in Fort Wayne Books, Inc.

18

v. Indiana, 489 U.S. 46 (1989). There, the Court recog-

nized the broad federal policy of adjudicating the proper

scope of the First Amendment’s protections fell within the

scope of Cox’s fourth exception.

In Flynt v. Ohio, 451 U.S. 619 (1981) (per curiam), a

divided court dismissed the writ of certiorari for want of

jurisdiction. Magazine publishers sought review of a state

supreme court decision rejecting their claim that obscenity

charges against them for publishing a political cartoon

should be dismissed on the ground that they were singled

out for prosecution in violation of the Equal Protection

Clause because of their exercise of First Amendment

rights. The Court found no “identifiable federal statutory

or constitutional policies which would have been under-

mined” by delayed review. Id. at 622. The view of the four

dissenting Justices that violations of the Constitution

erode federal policy within the meaning of the fourth Cox

exception, id. at 623-624, finds support in Justice Scalia’s

view that the Court’s “solemn responsibility” is to “ensure

that when courts speak in the name of the Federal Consti-

tution, they disregard none of its guarantees.” Kansas uv.

Marsh, 548 U.S. __, 126 S. Ct. 2516, 2531, 165 L. Ed. 2d

429 (2006) (Scalia, J., concurring).

In the absence of clear guidance from the Court as to

the scope of the federal policy criterion of Cox’s fourth

exception, energy of the Court and parties will continue to

be wasted. This case provides the Court an opportunity to

articulate a definitive category of federal policies that will

be eroded by delayed review. Such policies are those in

which the principle aim is against allowing further state

court proceedings.

19

D. Where the constitutional challenge goes

to the very right of the state to proceed

against an individual, federal policy should

permit review under Cox.

The Court has already implicitly recognized that

federal policies aimed at prohibiting state court proceed-

ings will be eroded by delayed review, and therefore, fall

under Cox’s fourth exception. In Curry, the federal labor

statute vested exclusive jurisdiction over the controversy

in the National Labor Relations Board. Without jurisdic-

tion, further state court proceedings were prohibited.

Similarly, in Langdeau, the issue was whether the federal

venue statute prohibited further state court proceedings in

the county in which the banks were sued. In these cases,

the state court’s authority to continue with further pro-

ceedings was contested based upon a federal policy.

The federal policy that would be eroded here if review

is not granted is one the Court can easily articulate and

embrace as a bright line rule to guide application of the

fourth Cox exception. It is a policy the Court is familiar

with and has applied in other contexts. The Petitioners’

here are “contesting the very authority of the [state] to

hale [them] into court to face trial on the charge[s] against

{them].” Abney v. United States, 431 U.S. 651, 659-660

(1977) (addressing the finality of a pretrial order denying a

motion to dismiss an indictment on double jeopardy

grounds). They allege that Washington’s campaign finance

disclosure law fails to provide fair notice, as required by

the Fourteenth Amendment guarantee of due process, that

their alleged conduct subjects them to criminal prosecu-

tion and punishment. Petitioners urge the Court to accept

certiorart to determine whether a federal constitutional

challenge that goes to the very authority of the state to

20

hale them into court, is one that warrants immediate

review under Cox. In these circumstances, failure to

review a constitutional challenge would seriously erode a

federal policy of needlessly subjecting an individual to the

opprobrium of criminal prosecution. See id.

2. Does a statutory scheme that explicitly pro-

| scribes certain conduct and subjects violators

to “civil remedies and sanctions,” provide fair

notice that violators may be subjected to

criminal prosecution and punishment?

This Court has repeatedly stated “statutes which fail

to give due notice that an act has been made criminal

before it is done are unconstitutional deprivations of due

process of law.” Jordan v. DeGeorge, 341 U.S. 223, 230

(1951). The Due Process Clause’s “fair warning require-

ment,” United States v. Lanier, 520 U.S. 259, 265 (1997)

(quoting McBoyle v. United States, 283 U.S. 25, 27 (1931)),

stems from the fundamental principle expressed by the

maxim nulla poena sine lege. Rogers v. Tennessee, 532 U.S.

451, 470 (2001) (Scalia, J., dissenting). Nulla poena sine

lege, which means no punishment without a law authoriz-

ing it, dates back to the ancient Greeks and is described as

“one of the most ‘widely held value-judgment|[s] in the

entire history of human thought.’” Jd. at 467-468 (quoting

J. Hall, General Principles of Criminal Law 59 (2d ed.

1960)).

The maxim is known as the “principle of legality,”

which has been described as “the first principle” of the

criminal law. T. Morrison, Fair Warning and the Retroac-

tive Judicial Expansion of Federal Criminal Statutes, 74

S. Cal. L. Rev. 455, 462, n.28 (2001) (quoting H. Packer,

The Limits of Criminal Sanction 79-80 (1968)): see also

21

J. Hall, Nulla Poena Sine Lege, 47 Yale L.J. 165, 184

(1937) (“it must be remembered that in the last analysis

nulla poena represents the most cherished of all values

involved in the administration of the criminal law.”). This

first principle and most cherished value of criminal law

rests upon a simple premise: “it is unjust that what was

legal when done should be subsequently held criminal,

that what was punishable by a minor sanction when

committed should later be punished more severely.” Hall,

47 Yale L.J. at 171.

The fundamental principle that gave birth to the fair

warning requirement is related to the “timeless and

universal” principle that the legal effect of conduct should

be assessed under the law as it existed at the time the

conduct took place, Kaiser Aluminum & Chem. Corp. uv.

Bonyjorno, 494 U.S. 827, 855 (1990) (Scalia, J., concurring),

which “is deeply rooted in our jurisprudence, and embodies

a legal doctrine centuries older than our Republic.” Land-

graf v. USI Film Prods., 511 U.S. 244, 265 (1994).

These two principles similarly serve common interests

and provide guarantees against governmental abuses.

Both assure that criminal laws give fair warning of their

effect, and both further the notion of fundamental justice

that governments must abide by the rules of law they

establish in order to deprive a person of life or liberty.

Morrison, 74 S. Cal. L. Rev. at 463-464. Without the law

providing notice of the conduct the legislature has made

criminal or the law giving notice of the penalty to be

imposed for conduct that has been made criminal, the

government is not authorized to subject individuals to

criminal lability for alleged violations of the law.

22

The first principle and most cherished value of crimi-

nal law is not limited to the definition of crimes at the

time conduct took place, but also extends to and encom-

passes the penalty to be imposed for engaging in prohib-

ited acts. By its plain language, the maxim prohibits

penalties not authorized by law. The underlying premise

acknowledges the unjust result of increasing the severity

of penalty for specific conduct after the conduct has taken

place. Hall, 47 Yale L.J. at 171 (“it is unjust ... that what

was punishable by a minor sanction when committed

should later be punished more severely.”).

But the Court has not answered the important ques-

tion whether the Due Process clause’s constitutional

guarantee of fair notice extends and encompasses the

punishment available for engaging in prohibited acts. This

case invites the Court to determine how this fundamental

principle is to be applied where the state’s theory of

prosecution for violations of a general criminal law rests

upon alleged conduct that is in violation of specific civil

laws. Specifically, does a general reference to any other

remedies in the specific civil statute give fair notice that

conduct in violation of the civil statue may subject the

individual to criminal punishment?

In Healthscript, Inc. v. State of Indiana, 770 N.E.2d

810 (Ind. 2002) the Indiana Supreme Court held a general

reference to a particular article of the state code was

insufficient notice to prosecute the defendant for alleged

acts in violation of the cross-referenced penal statute. In

Healthscript, the state charged defendant with Medicaid

fraud under Ind. Code § 35-43-7.1(a)(1) (Supp. 1997),

which makes it a class D felony to knowingly or intention-

ally file a Medicaid claim in violation of Indiana Code § 12-

15. The state’s theory was that the defendant violated Ind.

23

Code § 12-15-21-1 by allegedly filing Medicaid claims for

more than its usual and customary charges, which the

state argued was a class D felony under the penal statute.

Healthscript’s motion to dismiss, which argued the general

cross reference to Medicaid statutes deprived defendant of

due process because it failed to give fair warning that the

specific alleged conduct was criminal, was denied. On

appeal, the Indiana Supreme Court reversed the trial

court and ordered the trial court to dismiss the informa-

tion against Healthscript.

The Indiana court reasoned that while the state’s

theory was plausible because of the specific cross reference

to the article of the state code concerning Medicaid, such

reference was insufficient to meet due process require-

ments because it failed to give “fair warning ... in lan-

guage that the common world will understand, of what the

law intends to do if a certain line is passed.” Healthscript,

770 N.E.2d at 816 (quoting United States v. Bass, 404 U.S.

336, 348 (1971) (quoting McBoyle v. United States, 283

U.S. 25, 27 (1931))).

Like Healthscript, this case involves a circumstance

where the state’s theory of prosecution is based upon

alleged conduct in violation of a statute other than the

statute charged. And Petitioners, like the defendant in

Healthscript, moved to dismiss the information against

them arguing they were deprived of fair warning that the

specific alleged conduct was criminal. Despite a specific

cross reference to a particular article of the Indiana Code,

the Indiana high court held such reference was insuffi-

cient. In contrast, the Washington Supreme Court in this

case rejected Petitioners’ argument that a general refer-

ence to “any other remedies provided by law” deprived

24

them of fair notice that their specific alleged conduct

subjected them to criminal punishment.

The Washington campaign finance disclosure law at

issue here provides less warning that Petitioners’ specific

alleged conduct is criminal than the Indiana Medicaid law

that was at issue in Healthscript. The penal statute under

which Healthscript was charged specifically referenced the

article of the Indiana Code that prohibited Healthscript’s

alleged specific conduct. Here, the penal statute under

which Petitioners were charged makes no reference to the

statute that specifically prohibits Petitioners’ alleged

conduct (i.e., remmbursing others for campaign contribu-

tions they made), and the cross reference in the campaign

finance disclosure statute at issue is more vast and less

specific than the cross reference at issue in Healthscript.

Accordingly, Petitioners here received less notice that their

specific alleged conduct was criminal than the notice

provided to the defendant in Healthscript. Yet, Washing-

ton’s highest court found the notice comported with due

process requirements, while Indiana’s highest court

reached the opposite conclusion in Healthscript.

The Indiana court reasoned that fair notice is not

provided where one must wade through an entire article in

the state’s code on a specific subject and then through the

agency regulations on the subject to determine what

conduct a specific statute proscribes as criminal. In con-

trast, the effect of the Washington court’s holding is that

one must wade, not only through one article of a state’s

code, but rather the state’s entire criminal code to deter-

mine what conduct a specific statute makes criminal.

This case provides an opportunity for the Court to

resolve the conflicting opinions of state high courts and set

25

forth the standard applicable for determining whether fair

notice that specific conduct may subject one to criminal

punishment, as required by the Fourteenth Amendment,

has been provided by a remedial statute’s general refer-

ence to other remedies provided by law.

°

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for writ of

certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT S. MAHLER

Counsel of Record

BARBARA J. RHOADS-WEAVER

BULLIVANT HOUSER BAILEY PC

1601 Fifth Avenue, Suite 2300

Seattle, WA 98101

(206) 521-6435

RICHARD A. HANSEN

ALLEN, HANSEN & MAYBROWN

600 University Street, Suite 3020

Seattle, WA 98101

(206) 447-9681

IRWIN H. SCHWARTZ

LAW OFFICES OF IRWIN H. SCHWARTZ

710 Cherry Street

Seattle, WA 98104

(206) 623-5084

JOHN W. WOLFE

WOLFE LEINBACH

701 Fifth Avenue, Suite 6110

Seattle, WA 98104

(206) 389-6218

App. l

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE

STATE OF WASHINGTON

STATE OF WASHINGTON,

Appellant, No. 78995-9

V.

)

)

)

)

JOHN GILBERT CONTE; ) En Banc

FRANK FRANCIS COLA- )

CURCIO, JR.; FRANK FRANCIS ?

COLACURCIO, SR.; and .

)

)

MARSHA MARIE FURFARO,

Respondents.

Filed March 15, 2007

MADSEN, J. — The defendants, John Conte, Frank

Colacurcio, Jr., Frank Colacurcio, Sr., and Marsha Furfaro,

were charged with nine counts of violating RCW 40.16.030.

The charges relate to campaign disclosure reports filed by

three Seattle City Council members during their 2003

reelection campaigns. The State alleges that contributions

made by some individuals to these council members were

reimbursed in cash by the defendants. The State further

alleges that as a result of the defendants’ scheme, the

candidates filed false campaign disclosure reports because

they did not identify the true source of the contributions.

The trial court granted the defendants’ motion for

dismissal of the charges, holding, as a matter of law, that

the public disclosure act (PDA), chapter 42.17 RCW,

provides the exclusive penalties for the conduct alleged by

the State.

The State maintains that chapter 42.17 RCW does not

bar prosecution of the defendants under RCW 40.16.030.

We agree. Accordingly, we reverse the trial court, reinstate

App. 2

the charges against the defendants, and remand for

further proceedings.

FACTS

On July 12, 2005, the State filed an information

charging the defendants with one count each of conspiracy

to offer a false instrument for filing or record, in violation

of RCW 40.16.030 and RCW 9A.28.040(1).’ The informa-

tion also charges each of the defendants with at least one

count of knowingly procuring, offering, or causing an

innocent person to offer a false instrument for filing or

record in violation of RCW 40.16.030 and RCW 9A.08.020(1)

and (2)(a) (a total of eight additional counts each applying

to one or two of the defendants).”

According to the certification for determination of

probable cause, which was prepared by an investigator for

the Seattle Ethics and Elections Commission:

The Colacurcio family owns and operates

Rick’s, an adult entertainment establishment

commonly called a strip club ... [and] sought a

rezone to obtain more parking for Rick’s for a

' RCW 9A.28.040(1) provides that “[a) person is guilty of criminal

conspiracy when, with intent that conduct constituting a crime be

performed, he or she agrees with one or more persons to engage in or

cause the performance of such conduct, and any one of them takes a

substantial step in pursuance of such agreement.”

* RCW 9A.08.020(1) provides that “[a] person is guilty of a crime if

it is committed by the conduct of another person for which he is legally

accountable.” RCW 9A.08.020(2Xa) provides that “[a] person is legally

accountable for the conduct of another person when ... [a]cting with

the kind of culpability that is sufficient for the commission of the crime,

he causes an innocent or irresponsible person to engage in such

conduct.”

App. 3

number of years. In the 1980’s additional parking

was created on property owned by Rick’s without

city approval. Rick’s was given the option of re-

moving the parking lot or paying a fine, and

chose to pay the fine. Rick’s then initiated efforts

to get the parking approved for use by obtaining

a rezone. Attempts to get the rezone failed in

1988 and 1998.

Rick’s applied again in September 2002. The

rezone was opposed by the City [of Seattle] and

denied by a hearing examiner. Rick’s appealed, so

the rezone issue was set to be decided by the City

Council, acting as a quasi-judicial body. When is-

sues are to be resolved by the City Council acting

in a quasi-judicial capacity, City Council rules

prohibit council members from undisclosed ex-

parte contact with litigants or their agents. On

July 7, 2003, the City Council approved the re-

zone 5-4.

In the fall of 2003 the Seattle Ethics and

Elections Commission ... fined council members

Jim Compton and Heidi Wills for violation of

[Seattle Municipal Code (SMC)] 4.16.070(1)(a)

when they voted on the rezone after undisclosed

ex-parte contacts with representatives of Rick’s.

Judy Nicastro was fined $200 for violating SMC

4.16.070(3)(a) because she accepted a lunch paid

for by Albert D. Rosellini, ... a close personal

friend of the Colacurcio family ... [djuring

[which he] lobbied Nicastro to grant the zoning

change.... Wills was fined $1,500 for voting

with impaired judgment, because she had toured

the Rick’s rezone site with Albert Rosellini.. . af-

ter she had been notified the rezone issue was

quasi-judicial.

App. 4

News reports ... mentioned that Compton,

Nicastro, and Wills had received a total of about

$36,000 from “people connected to Frank Cola-

curcio, Jr.” (Seattle Times July 19, 2003 article.)

... These contributions were received by the

candidates’ reelection committees before the re-

zone was approved. After these contributions

came to light, each of the three candidates re-

funded all of the contributions.

Clerk’s Papers (CP) at 6-7. The certification for determina-

tion of probable cause explains that in November 2003 the

commission learned two contributors to Nicastro’s cam-

paign had been reimbursed for their contributions, and

then “[iJnvestigators began looking at the bank records of

other persons who contributed to Compton, Nicastro, or

Wills and who were known to have ties to the Colacurcios.”

CP at 9. The investigators identified 14 persons whose

contributions were reimbursed by the defendants. The

certification also explains some of the campaign contribu-

tion reporting requirements of the SMC and the PDA. The

certification states that the defendants caused the council

members’ election campaign committees to file false

campaign finance reports with the Seattle City Clerk, the

Washington State Public Disclosure Commission, or both,

pursuant to the SMC and the PDA.

Following arraignment, each of the defendants pled

not guilty to the charges against him or her. On January

20, 2006, the defendants filed motions to dismiss on

various grounds. Only the first motion is at issue. In this

motion the defendants argued that the civil enforcement

provisions of chapter 42.17 RCW “preempt” the general

criminal penalties in RCW 40.16.030. They also argued

that criminal prosecution under RCW 40.16.030 would

violate their due process rights. Judge Michael J. Fox

App. 5

granted the motion. The State appealed. On July 28, 2006,

we accepted the Court of Appeals certification of the case.

ANALYSIS

A trial court’s pretrial dismissal of criminal charges

pursuant to a Knapstad motion’ is subject to de novo

review. State v. Freigang, 115 Wn. App. 496, 501, 61 P.3d

343 (2002). Similarly, because the issue whether chapter

42.17 RCW precludes prosecution under RCW 40.16.030 is

an issue of statutory construction, appellate review is de

novo. In re Custody of Shields, 157 Wn.2d 126, 140, ¥ 35,

136 P.3d 117 (2006). Our goal is to determine whether the

legislature intended that the penalty provisions of chapter

42.17 RCW bar prosecution under RCW 40.16.030. See id.

The State maintains that the trial court erred in

dismissing the information, arguing that the “general-

specific” rule applied by the trial court is not applicable

under the circumstances. Under this rule, if “concurrent

general and special acts are in pari materia and cannot be

harmonized, the latter will prevail, unless it appears that

the legislature intended to make the general act control-

ling.” Wark v. Wash. Nat'l Guard, 87 Wn.2d 864, 867, 557

P.2d 844 (1976); see also In re Estate of Kerr, 134 Wn.2d

328, 343, 949 P.2d 810 (1998) (“[a] more specific statute

supersedes a general statute only if the two statutes

pertain to the same subject matter and conflict to the

extent they cannot be harmonized”). State v. Presba, 131

Wn. App. 47, 52, 49, 126 P.3d 1280 (2005) (“when a

specific statute punishes the same conduct punished under

a general statute, they are concurrent statutes and the

* State v. Knapstad, 107 Wn.2d 346, 729 P. 2d 48 (1986).

App. 6

State must charge only under the specific statute”); Port

Townsend Sch. Dist. No. 50 v. Brouillet, 21 Wn. App. 646,

655, 587 P.2d 555 (1978) (“[iJt is a fundamental rule of

statutory construction that where a general statute and a

subsequent special statute relate to the same subject

matter, the provisions of the special statute will prevail

unless it appears that the legislature intended expressly to

make the general statute controlling”).

RCW 40.16.030, which the defendants argue is the

superseded general statute, enacted in 1909, provides:

Every person who shall knowingly procure or of-

fer any false or forged instrument to be filed, reg-

istered, or recorded in any public office, which

instrument, if genuine, might be filed, registered

or recorded in such office under any law of this

state or of the United States, is guilty of a class C

felony and" shall be punished by imprisonment

in a state correctional facility for not more than

five years, or by a fine of not more than five

thousand dollars, or by both.

The statutes that are said to constitute the “special”

or “specific” statute are found in chapter 42.17 RCW. To

place them in context, we provide a brief explanation of

the relevant statutory scheme. In 1972 and 1992 the

voters enacted two initiatives that comprise the greater

part of the PDA. Initiative 276 (1-276) was approved by the

voters in 1972 and codified as chapter 42.17 RCW. Among

other purposes of 1-276 are the following, codified at RCW

42.17.010:

* Laws of 2003, ch. 53, § 216, effective July 1, 2004, inserted: “is

guilty of a class C felony and.”

App. 7

It is hereby declared by the sovereign people to

be the public policy of the state of Washington:

(1) That political campaign and lobbying

contributions and expenditures be fully disclosed

to the public and that secrecy is to be avoided.

(3) That the people shall be assured that

the private financial dealings of their public offi-

cials, and of candidates for those offices, present

no conflict of interest between the public trust

and private interest.

(10) That the public’s right to know of the

financing of political campaigns and lobbying

and the financial affairs of elected officials and

candidates far outweighs any right that these

matters remain secret and private.

Modifications have been made to chapter 42.17 RCW since

1-276 was implemented in 1973. Chief among these, in

1992 the voters approved Initiative 134 (1-134), the Fair

Campaign Practices Act (Laws of 1993, ch. 2, $§ 1-36),

which supplemented and amended the chapter. Senate

Republican Campaign Comm. v. Pub. Disclosure Comm’n,

133 Wn.2d 229, 233, 943 P.2d 1358 (1997).

The statutes in chapter 42.17 RCW, then, require that

the public be informed of campaign and lobbying contribu-

tions and, through this disclosure, help to ensure the

integrity of government, and they require that campaign

contributions be limited to prevent disproportionate or

controlling influence by financially strong groups. See

Nelson v. McClatchy Newspapers, Inc., 131 Wn.2d 523,

532-33, 936 P.2d 1123 (1997); State v. (1972) Dan J. Evans

App. 8

Campaign Comm., 86 Wn.2d 503, 507-08, 546 P2d 75

(1976); Fritz v. Gorton, 83 Wn.2d 275, 284, 517 P2d 911

(1974).

Chapter 42.17 RCW includes two statutes that the

defendants concede would be violated if the State’s allega-

tions were proven and its theory of the law was correct.

RCW 42.17.120 provides that

(njo contribution shall be made and no expendi-

ture shall be incurred, directly or indirectly, in a

fictitious name, anonymously, or by one person

through an agent, relative, or other person in

such a manner as to conceal the identity of the

source of the contribution or in any other manner

so as to effect concealment.

And RCW 42.17.780 provides: “A person may not, directly

or indirectly, reimburse another person for a contribution

to a candidate for public office, political committee, or

political party.”

As the trial court determined, violation of either of

these statutes would subject the defendants to the puni-

tive and enforcement sections of chapter 42.17 RCW, RCW

42.17.390 and .400. RCW 42.17.390 provides that “[o]ne or

more of the following civil remedies and sanctions may be

imposed by court order in addition to any other remedies

provided by law” and then lists a number of possible

sanctions. RCW 42.17.400 governs enforcement and

provides that the attorney general and the prosecuting

authorities of the State’s political subdivisions “may bring

civil actions in the name of the state for any appropriate

civil remedy, including but not limited to the special

remedies provided in RCW 42.17.390.” RCW 42.17.400(1).

It also provides for citizens’ actions if the attorney general

App. 9

and prosecuting attorney fail to bring an action within

specified time periods. RCW 42.17.400(4).

The trial court determined that the PDA constitutes a

comprehensive statutory scheme setting out prohibited

acts and requirements, including reporting requirements,

for candidates and contributors. The court granted the

motion to dismiss on the basis that because the act

“treated the entire subject area of political contributions to

\ local and state-wide campaigns,” the general-specific rule

applies, with the penalty provisions of chapter 42.17 RCW

being the controlling “specific statute” under which the

State must charge. Tr. of Proceedings (Feb. 16, 2006) at

26.°

For a number of reasons, we disagree. First, RCW

42.17.390 expressly provides that “other remedies pro-

vided by law” are not displaced by chapter 42.17 RCW.

Second, the “general-specific” rule is not applicable both

because chapter 42.17 RCW and RCW 40.16.030 are not in

conflict and because there is insufficient support for any

conclusion that the legislating body, the people, intended

that chapter 42.17 RCW supersede RCW 40.16.040. And

finally, we do not believe the rule applies where a criminal

* Some of the trial court’s reasoning seems couched in language

relating to preemption of one statute by another, while other parts of

the court’s explanation show the basis of the decision being the applica-

tion of the “general-specific rule.” While each of these theories has

specific application in specific circumstances, here we are concerned

with whether enactment of chapter 42.17 RCW, and in particular RCW

42.17.390 and .400, bar prosecution under RCW 40.16.030 where the

conduct at issue involves filing false campaign contribution reports. The

chief dispute is whether the “general-specific” rule applies. We note that

some cases refer to application of the “general-specific” rule as involving

repeal of the general statute by the specific or special statute.

App. 10

statute and civil statute are in question. Absent explicit

legislative command that a civil statute precludes prosecu-

tion under an existing criminal statute or that the crimi-

nal statute is repealed, the “general-specific” rule does not

apply because its application would infringe on the prose-

cuting attorney’s discretion to charge a crime.

Turning to the first of these reasons, as set out above,

RCW 42.17.390 expressly states that the civil remedies

and sanctions set forth in the statute “may be imposed by

court order in addition to any other remedies provided by

law.” (Emphasis added.) Thus, the PDA expressly provides

that any remedy available under any other statute may be

imposed.

The defendants maintain, however, that no lay voter

would reasonably construe the reference to “other reme-

dies” to mean criminal penalties. They contend that a

court must view the language as the average informed lay

voter would read it, relying on State ex rel. Evergreen

Freedom Foundation v. Washington Education Association,

140 Wn.2d 615, 637, 999 P.2d 602 (2000) and Senate

Republican Campaign Committee, 133 Wn.2d at 243.

However, because the statute mentions a number of

monetary fines and penalties, and repeatedly refers

specifically to “civil penalt{ies],” RCW 42.17.390(3), (4), (5),

it appears to us just as reasonable (if not more so) that the

informed lay voter would think that the reference to “any

other remedies provided by law” means penalties other

than the “civil penaltlies],” i.e., criminal penalties. RCW

42.17.390 (emphasis added).

Moreover, once an initiative is enacted into law, the

same principles of statutory construction apply as apply

when the legislature enacts a measure. McGowan v. State,

App. 11

148 Wn.2d 278, 288, 60 P.3d 67 (2002); Wash. State Repub-

lican Party v. Pub. Disclosure Comm’n, 141 Wn.2d 245,

280, 4 P.3d 808 (2000); City of Spokane v. Taxpayers of

Spokane, 111 Wn.2d 91, 97, 758 P.2d 480 (1988). One of

these principles of statutory construction is that the

legislature is “‘presumed to have full knowledge of exist-

ing statutes affecting the matter upon which they are

legislating.’” Martin v. Triol, 121 Wn.2d 135, 148, 847 P.2d

471 (1993) (quotation marks omitted) (quoting Bennett v.

Hardy, 113 Wn.2d 912, 926, 784 P.2d 1258 (1990)). Thus,

the voters must be presumed to have known that RCW

40.16.030 made it a felony to knowingly offer any false or

forged instrument for filing when they enacted 1-276 in

1972 and I-134 in 1992. Yet, the initiative did not provide

that the criminal statute was no longer effective.

The defendants maintain, however, that the voters

intended this statutory scheme to exclusively regulate the

field and knew that it would necessarily preempt the

earlier general statute. See Wark, 87 Wn.2d at 866. The

defendants maintain that the sole provisions regarding

penalties and remedies, RCW 42.17.390 and .400, do not

impose or authorize any criminal sanctions. Further, they

urge, unlike other statutes that expressly preserve the

right to bring criminal actions, such as state securities

law, RCW 21.20.420, and the workers’ compensation law,

RCW 50.36.010, chapter 42.17 RCW does not contain such

a provision. These considerations, the defendants main-

tain, lead to the conclusion that when the voters enacted I-

276 in 1972 and [1-134 in 1992, they intended that the

provisions in chapter 42.17 RCW would preempt any other

statutes penalizing conduct within their purview.

But the defendants point to no express indicator that

the voters intended to foreclose criminal prosecutions

App. 12

under existing statutes. Further, the reference to “any

other remedies provided by law” in RCW 42.17.390 ex-

pressly shows that other civil remedies are not precluded.

If other civil penalties are not foreclosed, then it necessar-

ily follows that the act is not intended to be exclusive or to

“preempt the field,” contrary to the defendants’ claim.

The defendants also contend, though, that because

the term “any other remedies provided by law” in RCW

42.17.390 follows the phrase “civil remedies and sanctions”

the two should be read together, and “and other remedies

provided by law” should be understood to mean other

consistent civil remedies. We do not find this argument

convincing. Rather than suggesting that only the same

kind of remedies are preserved, the words “any other”

suggest additional remedies can be of any kind, including

criminal remedies.

The defendants also rely on United States v. Hansen,

249 U.S. App. D.C. 22, 772 F.2d 940, 946 (1985), where the

court, addressing the phrase “‘[s]uch remedy shall be in

addition to any other remedy available under statutory or

common law’” (quoting 2 U.S.C. § 706), said that it “seems

specifically directed to civil actions since criminal sanc-

tions are rarely described as ‘remedies.’” But in contrast,

this court has expressly made reference to “criminal

remedies” on a number of occasions, and, more importantly

for present purposes, so has the legislature. See, e.g., In re

Det. of C.W., 147 Wn.2d 259, 282, 53 P3d 979 (2002)

(referring to “‘civil and criminal remedies’”); Winchester v.

Stein, 135 Wn.2d 835, 849, 959 P.2d 1077 (1998) (referring

to “both civil and criminal remedies” available under the

Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations Act, 18

U.S.C. §§ 1961-1968, and the Washington Criminal Profi-

teering Act, chapter 9A.82 RCW); City of Tacoma v. State,

App. 13

117 Wn.2d 348, 351, 816 P.2d 7 (1991) (referring to “crimi-

nal remedies” under the domestic violence act of 1979);

RCW 49.60.020 (providing that nothing contained in the

provisions of Washington’s law against discrimination

“shall ... be construed to deny the right to any person to

institute any action or pursue any civil or criminal remedy

based upon an alleged violation of his or her civil rights”

(emphasis added)).

The defendants also maintain that the Court of

Appeals has read the phrase “other remedies” narrowly,

citing Crisman v. Pierce County Fire Protection District

No. 21, 115 Wn. App. 16, 60 P.3d 652 (2002). Crisman does

not support the defendants’ argument. There, the plaintiff

claimed that the phrase “in addition to any other remedies

provided by law” permitted recovery through a private tort

action. The court rejected the claim, finding that chapter

42.17 RCW does not show legislative intent to create an

implied private tort cause of action. In the present case, in

contrast, the question is whether an existing criminal

statute can be utilized in addition to civil remedies.

Crisman is not analogous.

We conclude that the express acknowledgement in

RCW 42.17.390 that the remedies listed do not preclude

“any other remedies provided by law” shows that chapter

42.17 RCW is not intended to preclude a criminal action

under RCW 40.16.040.

The second reason that the trial court’s conclusion is

incorrect is that, as noted, “[a] more specific statute

supersedes a general statute only if the two statutes

pertain to the same subject matter and conflict to the

extent they cannot be harmonized.” Jn re Estate of Kerr,

App. 14

134 Wn.2d at 343. Here, as the State argues, there is no

conflict between RCW 40.16.040 and chapter 42.17 RCW.

Under RCW 42.17.400, the attorney general or a

county prosecuting attorney can bring an action to impose

a fine or other civil remedy for a violation of a provision of

chapter 42.17 RCW. Under RCW 42.17.390, a civil penalty

of not more than $10,000 can be imposed for a violation of

any provision of the chapter; violations of RCW 42.17.640

(setting campaign limits) are subject to fines of $10,000 or

three times the amount of the illegal contribution, which-

ever is greater; fines of $10 per day may be imposed for

each day a properly completed statement of report re-

quired by the chapter is delinquent; and a civil penalty

equivalent to the amount an individual fails to report as a

contribution or expenditure may be imposed.

Working in tandem, RCW 40.16.030 provides that a

person can be convicted of a felony for filing or causing to

be filed a campaign finance report that he or she knows is

false, and then only if all the elements of the offense are

proven beyond a reasonable doubt. As the State argues, it

is only when a person “knowingly” causes the public to be

provided with false information that an individual “crosses

the line” into criminal accountability.

The State also maintains that the two statutes are not

concurrent, and thus the “general-specific” rule does not

apply. We agree. Statutes are concurrent for purposes of

the rule if “the general statute will be violated in each

instance where the special statute has been violated.”

State v. Shriner, 101 Wn.2d 576, 580, 681 P.2d 237 (1984).

“It is not relevant that the special statute may contain

additionai elements not contained in the general statute.”

Id. Initially, as the State maintains, the burden of proof for

App. 15

the criminal statute, beyond a reasonable doubt, is not the

same as it is for a civil violation under chapter 42.17 RCW.

Further, as the State maintains, RCW 40.16.030 contains

a mens rea requirement. Violations of chapter 42.17 RCW

can occur that would not meet the beyond a reasonable

doubt standard and would not involve a “knowingly”

mental state. Thus, the two statutes are not concurrent.°

The defendants say, though, that RCW 42.17.920

precludes reliance on RCW 40.16.030. RCW 42.17.920

states that “filn the event of conflict between the provi-

sions of this act and any other act, the provisions of this

act shall govern.” But there is no conflict. In addition,

RCW 42.17.920 must be read in conjunction with RCW

42.17.390, which expressly authorizes “any other remedies

provided by law.” Because chapter 42.17 RCW expressly

authorizes such “other remedies,” they are not in conflict

with the chapter.

The State says a prosecution and conviction under

RCW 40.16.030 is consistent with the declaration of policy

found in the first section of I-276: “It is hereby declared by

the sovereign people to be the public policy of the State of

Washington ... [t]hat political campaign and lobbying

contributions and expenditures be fully disclosed to the

public and that secrecy is to be avoided.” Laws of 1973,

ch.1, § 1 (1-276). Thus, rather than acting in conflict with

* The defendants point out that if a violation of chapter 42.17 RCW

is intentional, penalties may be trebled. RCW 42.17.400(5). Therefore,

they contend, the act includes a mens rea requirement. However, this

does not mean that all violations of chapter 42.17 RCW would necessar-

ily occur with a “knowingly” mental element, and thus it does not

undercut the conclusion that the two statutes are not concurrent.

App. 16

chapter 42.17 RCW, RCW 40.16.030 serves the purposes of

the PDA.

The State’s observation that a criminal prosecution

under RCW 40.16.030 can effectuate public policy set out

in chapter 42.17 RCW also highlights the distinctive

nature of RCW 40.16.030. Prosecution under the criminal

statute will always effectuate the goal of another statute

or regulation. In State v. Hampton, 143 Wn.2d 789, 793-

94, 24 P.3d 1035 (2001), we repeated the test for defining

an instrument falling within the scope of the statute:

“RCW 40.16.030 encompass[es}] a document

which is required or permitted by statute or valid

regulation to be filed, registered, or recorded in a

public office if (1) the claimed falsity relates to a

material fact represented in the instrument; and

(2a) the information contained in the document is

of such a nature that the government is required

or permitted by law, statute or valid regulation to

act in reliance thereon; or (2b) the information

contained in the document materially affects sig-

nificant rights or duties of third persons, when

this effect is reasonably contemplated by the ex-

press or implied intent of the statute or valid

regulation which requires the filing, registration,

or recording of the document.”

(Quoting State v. Price, 94 Wn.2d 810, 819, 620 P.2d 994

(1980) (alteration in original).) “RCW 40.16.030 requires

that a document be ‘required or permitted by law, statute

or valid regulation.’” Hampton, 143 Wn.2d at 794 (quoting

Price, 94 Wn.2d at 819).

The defendants argue that chapter 42.17 RCW is not

ambiguous, but if it were found to be ambiguous, the

history and context of 1-276 would support their claim.

App. 17

They point out that nothing in the ballot title of I-276

mentions the possibility of criminal prosecution and a

section of the 1972 voters’ pamphlet entitled “The Law as

it now exists” noted only that “[pjresently, candidates

seeking nomination at a primary election must file a

statement indicating the expenditures made for the

purpose of obtaining their nomination. Violation is a

misdemeanor.” CP at 47. The defendants conclude that the

people were thus informed they were being asked to

approve a comprehensive scheme imposing only civil

penalties and that doing so would repeal existing criminal

penalties on the subject.

We do not agree. Nothing in the voters’ pamphlet or

in 1-276 stated that 1-276 was intended to repeal RCW

40.16.030, either in whole or in part.

The defendants say, though, that in the same election

the ballot included an alternative campaign finance law

proposed by the legislature, Referendum Bill 25 (R-25),

with the ballot title and text informing voters of the

referendum’s criminal penalties (those violating the act

would be guilty of misdemeanors). Because the voters

chose 1-276 over R-25, the defendants claim, this shows

they understood the State’s campaign laws would be

enforced strictly through civil penalties.

As this court has often reasoned, legislative intent

cannot be gleaned from the failure to enact a measure,

particularly where there are several different components

of it, any one of which might be critical to the decision to

reject. See, e.g., Leeper v. Dep't of Labor & Indus., 123

Wn.2d 803, 816, 872 P.2d 507 (1994) (rejection of a bill

with five sections, four of which had nothing to do with the

subject matter at issue, was not evidence of legislative

App. 18

intent); Spokane County Health Dist. v. Brockett, 120

Wn.2d 140, 839 P.2d 324 (1992) (court will not speculate as

to why the legislature rejects a proposed amendment).

Here, speculation would not only be required for a meas-

ure with multiple sections (R-25 contained 20 substantive

sections regulating electoral campaign financing), but,

more significantly, it would be required for purposes of

determining what rejection of one measure means to a

separate measure altogether. We decline defendants’

invitation to speculate.

There is no conflict between RCW 40.16.030 and

chapter 42.17 RCW. Both can be given effect and harmo-

nized.

The final reason why the “general-special” rule does

not apply is because one of the statutes at issue is criminal

and the other is civil. In two cases the Court of Appeals

has addressed the “general-specific” argument in the

context of a criminal! statute and a civil statute. In each of

the cases, Division Two rejected the claim that chapter

70.24 RCW is a special statute precluding prosecution

under RCW 9A.36.011(1)(b), first degree assault with

sexual motivation. Each case involved a defendant who

had been diagnosed HIV (human immunodeficiency virus)

positive and then engaged in unprotected sexual encoun-

ters. Chapter 70.24 RCW authorizes a public health officer

to counsel a person with a sexually transmitted disease

and, if necessary, to issue an order to cease and desist

conduct that endangers the health of others, and, if other

procedures have been exhausted, to bring an action to

detain the person in a designated facility for a period of

counseling and education not to exceed 90 days.

App. 19

In State v. Whitfield, 132 Wn. App. 878, 134 P.3d 1203

(2006), the court explained, as it had in an earlier case,

that while chapter 70.24 RCW provides a potential civil

remedy, nothing in the chapter precludes the prosecutor

from choosing to file criminal charges rather than ex-

hausting available civil remedies. Jd. at 889, J 22 (citing

State v. Stark, 66 Wn. App. 423, 431-32, 832 P.2d 109

(1992)). The court also noted that “[t}]he exercise of prose-

cutorial discretion on whether to criminally charge some-

one involves a number of considerations, not the least of

which is the public interest.” Stark, 66 Wn. App. at 431.

Absent a very clear indication that the legislature

intended that a civil statute preclude prosecution under a

criminal statute, we will not apply the “general-specific”

rule to foreclose the exercise of prosecutorial discretion or

to negate the legislature’s determination that the conduct

described by the criminal statute is subject to prosecution

as a crime.

Moreover, it is not unusual for criminal and civil

statutes to “co-exist,” as the State puts it. E.g., United

States v. Ursery, 518 U.S. 267, 116 S.Ct. 2135, 135

L. Ed. 2d 549 (1996) (criminal prosecution and civil prop-

erty forfeiture for the same offense do not violate double

jeopardy); State v. Catlett, 133 Wn.2d 355, 945 P.2d 700

(1997) (same). The “general-specific” rule should be ap-

plied to preclude a criminal prosecution only where the

legislative intent is crystal clear.

We hold that chapter 42.17 RCW does not preclude

prosecution under RCW 40.16.030.

We briefly note other arguments made by the defen-

dants. Although the defendants maintain that the doctrine

of repeal by implication does not apply in this case, the

App. 20

parties have devoted considerable attention to the issue.

The matter is readily resolved. Implied repeal is disfa-

vored and will be found only (1) where the later act covers

the entire field of the earlier one, is complete in itself, and

is intended to supersede prior legislation, or (2) where the

two acts cannot be reconciled and both given effect by a

fair and reasonable construction. Amalgamated Transit

Union Legislative Council v. State, 145 Wn.2d 544, 552, 40

P.3d 656 (2002); Local No. 497, Int'l Bhd. of Elec. Workers

v. Pub. Util. Dist. No. 2 of Grant County, 103 Wn.2d 786,

788-89, 698 P.2d 1056 (1985). The first of these tests is not

satisfied because chapter 42.17 RCW does not cover the

entire subject matter of RCW 40.16.030. For example, as

the State points out, RCW 40.16.030 applies to instru-

ments such as child support orders. State v. Sanders, 86

Wn. App. 466, 937 P.2d 193 (1997). As to the second test,

as explained above the State shows that the two statutes

can be harmonized and both given effect.

The defendants also argue that the public disclosure

commission’s regulations and the SMC interpret chapter

42.17 RCW to preclude criminal penalties. As to the latter,

it makes no difference how drafters of the SMC interpret

chapter 42.17 RCW. As to the former, the defendants rely

on regulations that encourage the parties to consider

alternative, informal resolution procedures. WAC 390-37-

010; -090. However, the PDC’s preference for informal

resolution does not preclude a prosecutor’s decision to file

criminal charges based on the same conduct or conduct

which is more egregious.

The parties debate whether giving effect to both

statutes would undermine enforcement under chapter

42.17 RCW. The defendants maintain that if the State can

criminally prosecute the defendants under RCW 40.16.030,

App. 21

then the State would also be free to ignore the civil stat-

utes. Br. of Resp’t’s at 34. As the State points out, however,

a number of campaign law violations will not rise to the

level of the felony conduct described by RCW 40.16.030.

Moreover, the State’s ability to charge under two statutes

is not a reason to hold that one of the statutes must

prevail over the other.

The defendants next argue that if we reverse the trial

court on statutory interpretation grounds, as we do, we

should nonetheless affirm the trial court’s dismissal of the

charges on the alternative basis that the defendants were

not provided with fair notice that their conduct would be

subject to criminal prosecution. Defendants due process

claim is based on article I, section 3 of the Washington

Constitution. They do not argue that a different due

process analysis applies under the state constitution than

applies under the federal constitution and therefore the

federal analysis will be applied here. See State v. Sullivan,

143 Wn.2d 162, 180 n.73, 19 P.3d 1012 (2001).

The defendants’ due process argument fails because

they make absolutely no argument at all about RCW

40.16.030 itself and whether this statute provides fair

notice of the conduct that it proscribes and standards to

prevent arbitrary enforcement. State v. Harner, 153 Wn.2d

228, 237, 103 P.3d 738 (2004); State v. Riles, 135 Wn.2d

326, 348, 957 P.2d 655 (1998). Because they have not even

addressed RCW 40.16.030, they clearly have not met their

burden of establishing the unconstitutionality of the

statute under which they were charged beyond a reason-

able doubt.

App. 22

Accordingly, the trial court’s dismissal of the charges

will not be affirmed on the alternate due process ground

asserted by the defendants.

CONCLUSION

Through its disclosure and limitation requirements,

chapter 42.17 RCW helps to ensure the integrity of gov-

ernment by preventing disproportionate or controlling

influence by financially strong groups. To carry out this

public purpose, conduct prohibited under the chapter may

be sanctioned through civil remedies under the chapter “in

addition to any other remedies provided by law.” RCW

42.17.390. We hold that chapter 42.17 RCW is not a

specific statute that precludes prosecution under RCW

40.16.030 for conduct that is subject to the penalty provi-

sions of both statutes. Thus, in the appropriate case, one

remedy available to prosecuting authorities is prosecution

under RCW 40.16.030. We reverse the trial court, rein-

state the charges against the defendants, and remand for

further proceedings consistent with this opinion.

AUTHOR:

Justice Barbara A. Madsen

WE CONCUR:

Chief Justice Gerry L. Alexander

Justice Susan Owens

Justice Mary E. Fairhurst

Justice James M. Johnson

App. 23

Justice Bobbe J. Bridge

SANDERS, J. (dissenting) - John Conte, Frank

Colacurcio, Jr., Frank Colacurcio, Sr., and Marsha Furfaro

were charged with nine counts of violating RCW

40.16.030. Defendants allegedly reimbursed individuals

for campaign contributions, thereby concealing the iden-

tity of the contributors and sources of the contributions.

Because of defendants’ alleged scheme, certain Seattle

City Council members’ election campaign committees filed

false campaign finance reports.

Initiative 276 (I-276), overwhelmingly approved in

1972 by the people of Washington, specifically regulates

and prohibits this precise conduct. Seeber v. Pub. Disclo-

sure Comm’n, 96 Wn.2d 135, 138, 634 P.2d 303 (1981).

Now codified at chapter 42.17 RCW, I-276 “provides a

comprehensive financial reporting scheme for lobbyists,

campaign committees, public officials and candidates.”

Seeber, 96 Wn.2d at 138. The peuple created the initiative

for the “expressed purpose of fostering openness in their

government”; its creation reflects our belief that the

electorate “has the right to know of the sources and

magnitude of financial and persuasional influences upon

government.” Fritz v. Gorton, 83 Wn.2d 275, 309, 517 P.2d

911 (1974). See RCW 42.17.010(2) (“[T]he people have the

right to expect from their elected representatives at all

levels of government the utmost of integrity, honesty, and

fairness in their dealings.”).

As the majority states, “(clhapter 42.17 RCW includes

two statutes that the defendants concede would be violated if

——

App. 24

the State’s allegations were proven and its theory of the

law was correct.” Majority at 7. Yet despite these two

statutes specifically proscribing defendants’ precise con-

duct and the State’s concession that RCW 40.16.030 has

never before been applied to a campaign violation, the

majority holds chapter 42.17 RCW does not bar prosecu-

tion of defendants under RCW 40.16.030. I disagree as the

public disclosure act (PDA), chapter 42.17 RCW, limits the

State to civil recoveries.

1. The Plain Meaning of Chapter 42.17 RCW Limits

the State to Civil Remedies

Our goal is to ascertain and implement the legisla-

ture’s intent. Dep’t of Transp. v. State Employees’ Ins. Bd.,

97 Wn.2d 454, 458, 645 P.2d 1076 (1982). To determine

legislative intent, “we begin with the statute’s plain

language and ordinary meaning.” Nat’? Elec. Contractors

Ass’n vu. Riveland, 138 Wn.2d 9, 19, 978 P.2d 481 (1999). “If

a statute is plain and unambiguous, its meaning must be

primarily derived from the language itself.” Cockle v. Dep’t

of Labor & Indus., 142 Wn.2d 801, 807, 16 P.3d 583 (2001).

“Plain language does not require construction.” Koenig v.

City of Des Moines, 158 Wn.2d 173, 181, 142 P3d 162

(2006) (citing State v. Thornton, 119 Wn.2d 578, 580, 835

P.2d 216 (1992)).

As defendants correctly observe, the unambiguous

language of chapter 42.17 RCW indicates the act’s penal-

ties are “complete, exclusive and non-criminal.” Br. of

Resp’ts at 12. The trial judge correctly determined chapter

42.17 RCW “constitute[s] a comprehensive statute provid-

ing for a series of prohibited acts and requirements on

political candidates and contributors|;] ... [the statute]

treat|s] the entire subject area of political contributions to

App. 25

local and state-wide campaigns.” Transcript of Proceedings

(Feb. 16, 2006) at 26. RCW 42.17.390 and .400 provide the

act’s “sole provisions regarding penalties and remedies”

and neither authorizes the imposition of criminal sanc-

tions. Br. of Resp’ts at 12. Chapter 42.17 RCW empowers

and specifically limits state attorneys and county prosecu-

tors to bring only “civil actions” for “civil remed|[ies];” it

provides: 2

The attorney general and the prosecuting au-

thorities of political subdivisions of this state

may bring civil actions in the name of the state

for any appropriate civil remedy, including but

not limited to the special remedies provided in

RCW 42.17.390.

RCW 42.17.400(1) (emphasis added).

“[A]lny appropriate civil remedy” should end our

analysis as it explicitly limits the State to civil remedies.

The “special remedies” provided in RCW 42.17.390 and the

statute’s reference to “any other remedies provided by law”

(upon which the majority incorrectly fixates) is merely a

subset of “any appropriate civil remedies.” Contrary to the

majority’s belief, the clause “any other remedies provided

by law” is not an invitation for the State to impose crimi-

nal sanctions.

2. RCW 40.16.030 Is Not Remedial

RCW 42.17.400(1) authorizes the State to bring “civil

actions ... for any appropriate civil remedy.” (Emphasis

added.) The “special remedies” provided in RCW 42.17.390

also limit enforcement options to civil remedies and

sanctions. See RCW 42.17.390 (“[o]ne or more of the

following civil remedies and sanctions may be imposed by

App. 26

court order in addition to any other remedies provided by

law” (emphasis added)). As stated above, the majority

mistakenly emphasizes the phrase “any other remedies

provided by law,” believing it indicates “additional reme-

dies can be of any kind, including criminal remedies.”

Majority at 12. But the majority fails to focus on the

statute’s reference to the word “remedies.” Because RCW

40.16.030 is neither civil nor remedial, it does not qualify

as one of the intended “other remedies” cited by the

statute. See United States v. Hansen, 249 US. App. D.C.

22, 772 F.2d 940, 946 (1985) (criminal sanctions are rarely

described as “remedies”).

RCW 42.17.390’s language aptly reflects the predomi-

nantly remedial character of the legislation. See RCW

42.17.390(1) (providing for an election to be held void if the

court finds a violation of this chapter probably affected the

outcome of an election and stating, “[i]t is intended that

this remedy be imposed freely ... to protect the right of

the electorate to an informed and knowledgeable vote”);

RCW 42.17.390(2) (providing for a lobbyist’s registration to

be revoked or suspended should he violate this chapter);

RCW 42.17.390(3) (“lalny person who violates any provi-

sions of this chapter may be subject to a civil penalty”);

RCW 42.17.390(6) (providing for injunctive relief). See 3

Norman J. Singer, Sutherland Statutory Construction

§ 60.02, at 152-53 (5th ed. 1992) (“Usually ‘remedial’ is

used in connection with legislation which is not penal or

criminal in nature, in that such laws do not impose crimi-

nal or other harsh penalties.”).

By contrast, RCW 40.16.030 is punitive: “Every

person who shall knowingly procure or offer any false or

forged instrument to be filed, registered, or recorded in

any public office ... shall be punished by imprisonment

App. 27

. or by a fine....” Unlike civil statutes, which are

considered remedial, criminal statutes are generally

associated with punitive consequences.’ United States v.

Ursery, 518 U.S. 267, 277, 116 S. Ct. 2135, 135 L. Ed. 2d

549 (1996). Because RCW 40.16.030’s sanctions are puni-

tive it is not a “civil remedy” contemplated by chapter

42.17 RCW and is therefore inapplicable to defendants.

3. The History of Chapter 42.17 RCW and the 1972

Voters Pamphlet Confirms the PDA Limits the State

to Civil Remedies

Generally, only when the language of an initiative is

ambiguous do we look to other extrinsic sources, such as

the voters pamphlet, to determine electoral intent. Parents

Involved in Cmty. Sch. v. Seattle Sch. Dist. No. 1, 149

Wn.2d 660, 671, 72 P.3d 151 (2003). Since chapter 42.17’s

language unambiguously allows the State to seek only

civil remedies, our analysis need not go further. However,

even if the statutory language was ambiguous, the history

of I-276 supports defendants’ position. I-276’s ballot title,

explanatory comments, and the text of the initiative itself

informed voters the act would provide only “civil penal.

ties.” Clerk’s Papers (CP) at 46-47, 50-61, 68.

Importantly, the 1972 ballot included an alternative

campaign finance law, Referendum Bill 25, described by its

supporters as “a strict, realistic approach to the reporting

and limiting of campaign contributions and expenditures.”

' Furthermore, RCW 42.17.400(5) states, “li]f the violation is found

to have been intentional, the amount of the judgment ... may be

trebled as punitive damages.” Such a clause provides the extent of

punitive sanctions available to the State and does not suggest the State

may seek further punitive measures in other criminal statutes.

App. 28

CP at 48. Referendum Bill 25 also proposed a comprehen-

sive statutory scheme for regulating campaign contribu-

tions and expenditures, yet provided for “criminal

penalties” instead of civil. CP at 48, 68 (voters were

informed violators of Referendum Bill 25 “would be guilty

of misdemeanors”). Voters were asked to compare and

choose between the two competing measures in the 1972

election. By choosing I-276 over Referendum Bill 25,

voters expressed specific intent to enact a comprehensive

campaign finance law that provided exclusively for civil

penalties.

Accordingly, I dissent.

AUTHOR:

Justice Richard B. Sanders

WE CONCUR:

Justice Tom Chambers

Justice Charles W. Johnson

App. 29

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF THE

STATE OF WASHINGTON

IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF KING

STATE OF WASHINGTON ) 05-C-08807-5S

) 05-C-08808-3S

) 05-C-08808-3S

JOHN CONTE, FRANCIS ) 05-C-08810-5S

COLACURCIO, SR.

FRANCIS COLACURCIO, JR.,

MARCIA MARIE FUFARO,

Defendants.

vs.

eZ" SS Se

TRANSCRIPT OF PROCEEDINGS

before the Honorable MICHAEL FOX, Judge,

presiding on February 16, 2006.

HEARING.

APPEARANCES:

For the State of Washington: MARILYN BRENNEMAN, Esq.

SCOTT PETERSON, Esq.

JOHN CARVER, Esq.

For the Defendant Conte: RICHARD HANSEN, Esq.

For the Defendant

Colacurcio, Sr. IRWIN SCHWARTZ, Esq.

For the Defendant

Colacurcio, Jr. JOHN WOLFE, Esq.

ROBERT LEINBACH, Esq.

For the Defendant Fufaro: ROBERT MAHLER, Esq.

REPORTED BY

J. Dan Lavielle, RPR

Official Court Reporter

State of Washington

App. 30

{2] INDEX

WITS. DIRECT CROSS REDIRECT RECROSS VD

None.

EXHIBITS FOR IDENTIFICATION IN EVIDENCE

None.

[3] MR. LIENBACH: I have a handout for you

for ease of referring to certain of the cases and the stat-

utes.

As a brief introduction to all the motions, the genesis

of these is essentially that there is a statute on the books,

RCW 42.17, which governs the conduct prescribed and

alleged by the government in this case and that there have

been a number of times enforcement actions have been

brought against people for violating 42.17. This is the first

time that when conduct alleged in 42.17, that we’re aware

of, that the state is using 40.16 to prosecute the defen-

dant’s criminally.

With that background, that’s sort of what the reason

why we brought all these motions here today.

THE COURT: I'll ask you one question.

I know that a number of you practice in the Federal

courts, you might have the information anecdotally or

otherwise. I recall several years ago that there was a

federal prosecution of an individual who had made contri-

butions through other people to a city initiative campaign

regarding district election of the Seattle city Council, I

believe that was prosecuted in federal court.

Now, I think that was a plea and there is [4] nothing

on it here but can you tell me where that came from? |

App. 31

mean when I was looking at both of your arguments about

the interplay between the civil and criminal statutes, that

was the only thing that I could recall where there was a

criminal prosecution of either the Seattle municipal

Ordinances or the UCC and I just would be curious if

there was — how that wound up in federal court and what

statute was implicated there. I presume it wasn’t the state

statute.

MR. LEINBACH: I assume you're speaking of

the Buckley case.

THE COURT: No, it’s the Stewart case.

MR. WOLFE: My recollection is a little different

about the factual predicate in the Stewart case in the

courts.

In Stewart there were investigations, as I recall,

relating to campaign contributions directed to a congres-

sional candidate, councilman Peter Vonreichbauer (pho-

netic), as well as issues concerning campaign contributions

that may have been governed by Title 40 that were local.

The prosecution in federal court and the guilty plea

relating to Mr. Stewart involved the contributions made to

Mr. Vonreichbauer, who I [5] represented. So I have some

knowledge of this and it was not — while there was, I

believe, a state investigation related to this, as well, that

prosecution was predicated upon the federal elections

campaign.

THE COURT: So didn’t involve the Seattle City

Council?

MR. WOLFE: No.

App. 32

MR. LEINBACH: Apologize for being too green.

THE COURT: Goes back a few years.

MR. LEINBACH: Before I get into the substance

of the first motion to dismiss, the state raised a procedural

objection. I believe we dealt with that sufficiently in our

brief showing the only issues before the court are issues of

law.

If Your Honor has any concerns about that procedural

argument, I’m happy to add —

THE COURT: No, go to the meat of the matter

that is the repeal by implication versus the concurrent

specific versus general rule.

MR. LEINBACH: There is no dispute between

the parties that 42.17 prescribes the conduct alleged here.

Look at the state’s opposition brief, three of the pages of

opposition is devoted to legislative history of 42.17, a

lengthy discussion of that.

[6] The reason that we bring the motion to dismiss is

because 42.17 contains a comprehensive and inclusive

remedial scheme that does not permit the filing of criminal

charges here.

Now, the real question for Your Honor today is what

was the intent of the people in 1972 when they passed I-

276 and the intent of the legislature when they subse-

quently amended it and left the penalty provisions at

civilly only over a 30-year period of time, whether you look

at the question in terms of a statutory interpretation

analysis, whether you look at in terms of a general versus

specific analysis or even a repeal by implication analysis,

we believe the answer to that question is it was only

App. 33

meant to be civil under all three of those analyses because

all three of those doctrines are in place to do the same

thing, which is to give effect to the intent of the people

when they passed the legislation and not allow the state to

usurp the powers of the people and pick and choose where

they want to.

So taking a look first at a statutory interpretation

analysis and looking at the clear language of the statute,

itself, and in the package that I handed up it includes the

relevant, at least what I submit are the relevant statutes

related to the [7] penalty provisions of 42.17.

And you can see on the top 1.400, the attorney general

and prosecuting authority of political substances division

of this state may bring civil actions in the name of the

state for any appropriate civil remedy. It’s clear the legis-

lature the people, when they passed initiatives, are giving

the prosecution the ability to bring civil claims.

Now, any doubt about that you can look at the title

.390 which innumerates the varying civil remedies and

sanctions. See the title says Civil Remedies and sanctions.

And as Mr. Mahler pointed out in his brief, under the

constitution the title has to relate to just one substantive

law. And the differences where I can demonstrate this is in

tab number six - actually the state brought this up, and

that is they brought up the example of, hey, look, the SEC

contains examples where there are civil and criminal

penalties that go side-by-side. But if you look at the last

page of that, in the RCW 21.20 related to securities act

there is a section entitled criminal Punishment, chapter

not exclusive, which says nothing in this chapter shall

limit the power of the state to punish any person for any

conduct that constitutes a crime.

App. 34

[8] That is showing you an example of what — if the

legislature intended for criminal penalties, that is the type

of thing reported under a separate title that allows for

criminal penalties.

Another section on the top page, 42.17.920, also shows

you that the expressed language in the statute is meant to

be civil only. That says in the event of conflict between the

provisions of this act and any other act, the provisions of

this act shall govern.

So, in other words, the people and the legislature

when they amended it, understood there may be potential

conflicts, conflicts like in the penalty provision where

someone might try impose criminal penalties like the state

is doing here and the people clearly set out if there is a

conflict, this statute governs, the civil penalties govern.

So I submit to you that under the statutory interpre-

tation analysis where the first step is look at the clear

language of the statute that it’s dispositive, that the

language is clear, it’s not ambiguous, that it was meant to

encompass the field related to violations under 42.17 and

that it was meant to have civil remedies only.

So I would say you don’t necessarily have to [9] look at

the legislative history in this case, but if you do, I submit

that the legislative history confirms that civil only was

intended.

Tab two shows you the voter pamphlet - excuse me,

tab one shows you the voter pamphlet of I-276 when it was

passed in 1972. As we state in our brief, there was another

initiative at the same time, R-25. Both of them dealt with

the consequences of campaigns, campaign contributions

App. 35

and public disclosure. In the title of 276 at the bottom says

and providing civil penalties. At the bottom of the title —

THE COURT: I’ve read this material in the brief

with regard to what is in the voter’s pamphlet. Frankly,

I’m not interested in that, I think this ought to be deter-

mined on the words of statute and the case law. Move to

that.

MR. LEINBACH: Your Honor, the state basi-

cally throws out one section of the statute in order to try

and defeat the fact that the words, itself, in the statute are

clear and expressed and that is they say there is a clause

in there that says any other remedies provided by law.

Now -

THE COURT: What portion of the statute are

you saying that the state is discarding or ruling out?

[10] MR. LEINBACH: I'm saying that the state

is ignoring the fact when in conflict 42.17 governs but

what they are saying is they are allowed to bring criminal

prosecution because a part of the statute says that these

civil remedies are available in addition to other remedies.

That is the statute, that is the part of the statute they are

citing.

Well, the court of Appeals has addressed this in

Chrisman, and | tab that as number two. In Chrisman an

individual sued the Pierce County Fire Department and

said they violated some of the provisions of 42.17 and tried

to bring a private civil cause of action under 42.17. The

Court of Appeals said you can’t do that.

And the same argument the state is making today, the

Chrisman plaintiff stated. Chrisman, he contended that

the statute expressly allows the court to impose civil

App. 36

remedies and sanctions in addition to any other remedies

provided by law. He said, this clause provided him with

recovery for private tort action. The court rejected that

and said we look at the statute and the statute is clear. It

has all of the different civil things, it allows the prosecutor

to bring a civil action only, it does not allow you to bring a

private citizens right of action.

[11] So if the court of Appeals is saying we’re not going

to read into this a private civil remedy, then how can we

write into it a felony criminal penalty, which has much

greater consequences.

So I believe that the Court of Appeals has spoken to

the issue and, secondarily, as we stated in our brief, in

order to make sense of the provision any other remedies

which occurs under the civil remedies, it only makes sense

if it follows that it be civil.

THE COURT: Your primary argument here is

with regard to the specific versus the general rule, as I

understand it, and the applicability of statutes when one

statute deals specifically with a certain type of violation

and the other is a more general application and as has

been pointed out over and over again in your memoranda

from both the state and the defense, all of the case law in

this state deals with two criminal statutes who are in that

category and none of them deal with a criminal statute

and a civil statute.

Now, that I think is the main thing that I'd like to

hear from you more on about why the cases that you cite

are applicable to a civil and criminal situation, as opposed

to criminal, criminal and whether that doctrine still

applies in that context. [12] And here, one of the things

that, when I’ve gone over the statute, is clear that there

App. 37

are punitive civil sanctions in the public disclosure act, as

opposed to just remedies, for example, that someone pay

back the cost of investigation or something like that.

Is there any distinction anywhere in the law with

regard to a civil statute like that that does have punitive

sanctions, as opposed to a civil statute that perhaps has

remedies but not punitive sanctions?

MR. LEINBACH: I understand Your Honor’s

question.

Before I get into that exact answer, I'd like to reiterate

the primary argument we’re making is statutory interpre-

tation, just reading the statute, itself, shows 42.17 is

exclusive.

THE COURT: I understand the argument there.

MR. LEINBACH: I wanted to reiterate because

the general versus specific argument is underneath that

argument, I think that first argument is looming larger.

But it’s true, we were not able to find a situation whereby

the general versus specific doctrine was used in a civil

versus a criminal context but I think that the purpose of

the rule is to give affect to the legislature’s intent.

THE COURT: But in terms of the 30, 29, [13]

whatever it is, 34 years since this legislation passed by

initiative, there has never been a criminal prosecution

under this statute for a violation of the type that is before

us today, is that correct?

MR. LEINBACH: I am not aware of one. I think

that speaks volumes to it.

App. 38

The other couple of things that support that, I did not

make a copy of this, I apologize, but the WAC 390-37-090 ~

I can hand this up. It talks about a settlement mechanism

for when —

THE COURT: Did you provide this to the state?

MR. LEINBACH: I have not, I’m sorry.

THE COURT: This is with regard to the Wash-

ington Administrative Procedure Act, I presume.

MR. LEINBACH: In regards to enforcement

actions under 42.17.

THE COURT: Okay, all right.

MR. LEINBACH: And what is interesting about

it is it provides for a settlement mechanism whereby it

asks defendants to go in, quickly resolve these, be creative,

talks about be creative in settlement of these type of

actions.

If the people are subject to criminal liability, then it

basically renders this provision [14] moot because who is

going to go in and quickly try and settle the civil when

they are subject to crimivxst lia ility? I just think there are

examples everywhere, the distinction between what is in

the Washington Securities Act and what is here. The fact

that the court of Appeals said you can’t write something in

that show that what was intended by the legislature,

which is what the general versus specific is meant to do,

basically what they are saying is you can’t — prosecutor

you can’t choose, you have to go with what is stated.

And let’s be honest, if 42.17 wasn't on the books, they

would have no cause of action against the defendant. They

App. 39

can’t bring anything without the fact that 42.17 prescribes

the exact conduct here at issue. They have to it have

42.17. What they are doing is saying we're going to choose

these sections of 42.17 which we like and cite those to the

court but we don’t like the penalty provision so we’re going

to go over here in 40.16 and choose the penalty provisions

over here, and they can’t have it both ways and that’s the

underlying policy behind the general versus specific

statute.

I'll touch on the repeal by implication doctrine because

that’s what the state relies on for [15] the majority of their

case.

And I think that the appeal by implication doctrine

actually weighs in our favor, as well. That’s for three

reasons. Two of the reasons are because again, as I’ve

stated, I don’t believe the repeal by implication doctrine

really has application because the Hansen case which they

rely on heavily, there are two things about the Hansen

case which are different here. One is there is no where in

the Hansen case that I could see that there is a similar

provision of where there is a conflict we govern under

42.17.

THE COURT: That’s the federal case, right?

MR. LEINBACH: Yes.

So that alone differentiates the results in Hansen.

But, secondly, Scalia, his whole argument was about

there was this long legislative history where the senators

knew that 1,001 in that case might have application to the

Ethnics in Government Act, and they talked about it in

legislative history they talk about whether or not it would

App. 40

apply and they decided the only way we can pass it is be

silent on it, get it through and cross our fingers.

That’s very different from this case where we [16]

have legislative history where the people actually rejected

criminal penalties to apply.

And finally, the repeal implication doctrine says if

they are clear and manifestly inconsistent, then we will

say it’s repealed by implication and here I submit that the

penalty provisions are clear and manifestly inconsistent

and I think if you look at — to me that’s clear in both 42.17

but even more clear in the Seattle municipal code provi-

sion.

And remember, the state has brought — they say we

filed false documents with the PDC and with the Seattle

city clerk and so they are relying on the Seattle municipal

Code provision for that and as you see at the top of my —

the Seattle municipal code says violation of this shall

constitute infraction not subject to the Seattle Criminal

code.

So they were even more explicit, they said instead of

putting in a in-case-of-conflict-we-govern, which is what

42.17 did, they said huh-uh, no criminal.

So even under the repeal by implication doctrine it is

clearly inconsistent and, therefore, 42.17 governs.

THE COURT: Thank you.

MR. MAHLER: May I make a quick statement

in [17] answer to the court’s question about the fact that

the specific versus general rule applies in criminal stat-

utes typically, and the court pointed out, there are puni-

tive sanctions here.

App. 41

The one thing I wanted to point out to the court that

the fact that punitive sanctions exist here doesn’t rendered

it a statute, that is somewhat akin to a criminal statute

and the Supreme court recognized that in some of its

double-jeopardy cases like Gore versus VFW so that where

punitive sanctions do apply it can be treated in the light

fashioned to a criminal statute.

So this is more like a criminal and a criminal statute

than a statute that may only have, for example, injunctive

relief or equitable relief.

THE COURT: Thank you, Mr. Mahler.

Mr. Carver?

MR. CARVER: Id like to start off by talking

about the overall statutory scheme that we have here.

I think from reading some of the pleadings here and

hearing the arguments today, one might get the impres-

sion 42.17 and 40.16.030 present the conflict of overlap-

ping morass of statutes that are impossible to disintangle

and hopelessly confused. The I submit respectfully that’s

not the case.

[18] Instead I think what we have is a specific gradu-

ated system that increases in severity as the conduct gets

more and more offensive. In other words, in 42.17, to use

42.17.390, I think what the defendants most emphasize,

42.17.390, subsection four, provides a civil penalty of $10 a

day if you don’t get your statements in on time, reports.

Subsection five of that same statute provides a civil

penalty if you fail to report a contribution or expenditure

you may be subject to a civil penalty equivalent to the

amount you failed to report.

App. 42

So those are civil penalties and you will notice there is

no mens rea requirement in that at all. The legislature, in

this case the people in its initiative, one campaign treas-

urers and other people that file these reports to be very

carefully so its a strict liability standard. You leave out an

expenditure, you may be dinged for the amount you failed

to report.

THE COURT: There are other sanctions in the

statute that allow considerably higher monetary sanctions,

I think can be triple the amount or $10,000, whichever is

higher, something like that, I can’t remember the precise

words for other types of violations as well. Right?

{19} MR. CARVER: I’m sure you are right, I’m

not sure which provisions I was looking at .390 in particu-

lar.

But as I said, none of those civil statutes, none of

those civil penalties in 42.17 require any kind of mens rea

and none of them have to do with filing false reports and

that’s where the felony provisions of 40.16.030 kick in,

when you knowingly, knowing it’s false, you file a false

report or cause someone else to file a false report. The

reporting is key. That is the mechanism by which this

information about campaign contributions and who is

getting what money from whom, that’s how it gets to the

public and that is the backbone of both initiatives 276 and

— and that’s the reason I included alot of that legislative

history, as well as —- supreme court commentary.

The point is that’s the thrust of what these were

designed to protect, the public’s right to know. And when

you cross that line, when you knowingly file those false

reports so the public gets false information about these

App. 43

campaign contributions, that’s the key. You crossed the

line, you committed a crime, committed a class C felony.

That’s what distinguishes 40.16.030 from all [20] the

provisions in 42.17.

THE COURT: If that’s the case, why, since we’ve

had the PDC in place since 1973, 33 years, why is this the

first criminal prosecution for this laundering situation?

Because I presume not only the matters that have reached

the paper with regard to this, that have been journalisti-

cally recorded, but I presume that the PDC has been

taking enforcement action for all of those 33 years with

regard to so-called laundered contributions and there has

never been a criminal prosecution for it.

If that’s the case, maybe there has been in some other

county that I’m not aware of.

MR. CARVER: No reported decisions on that, in

fact, there is very few recorded situations on 40.16.030 at

all. I think Hansen, Sanders and Price which was the first

one.

THE COURT: None of them deal with campaign-

type violations?

MR. CARVER: Correct.

THE COURT: Fish tickets and stuff like that?

MR. CARVER: Child support orders, I believe,

in Sanders so forth.

I really can’t say why except to think — one reason I

think is alot of times it is hard to find [21] these things,

alot of this may happen and never get reported, notwith-

standing the efforts of the elections board here in the city

App. 44

of Seattle or the public disclosure section in Olympia. I

think alot it probably never sees the light of day.

The second reason, I speculate, other than King

county, I work in the fraud division, as to Miss Brenneman

and Mr. Peterson, we see this all the time in other coun-

ties, they call us up when they have a fraud case, any kind

of large-scale theft or fraud they call us, they don’t have

the experience or institutional expertise to deal with the

cases, don’t have the resources. You get outside of King

county, maybe Pierce County, Snohomish County, Spokane

County, very hard to have resources, and it’s a matter of

discretion, you figure I have other things to do, this is an

elected prosecutor, I'll deal with this civilly and let the

PDC, whatever county office deal with it, I think. I’m only

speculating, I don’t know the answer to that.

On the specific to general defense the defense is

urging the court to adopt, I think we’ve already discussed

the fact that there is no case, not in this state, not in any

other state, not in any federal case where a court has held

that a criminal [22] case and a civil case are concurrent,

which is the basis for the specific versus general analysis,

and of course leaving to the statutory interpretation the

legislature obviously only intended to punish with this.

There no case considered a criminal statute and civil

statute concurrent as the defendants urge in this case.

Talking about Hansen, I submit, and I’m not going to

go into the details in Hansen, I've know - read — dis-

cussed. Mr. Leinbach talks about the legislative history

that then Circuit Judge Scalia went through in Hansen. |

think it’s clear whatever history he went through, he

based it on the principal of repeal by implication in the

face of the statute not only legislative history and, in fact,

App. 45

Hansen, over a hundred congressmen signed a friend of

the court brief led by Senator Hatch saying Ethnics in

Government Act was not meant to apply to a prosecution

under 18 USC 1001, false statement statute, basically the

federal analog to 40.16.030.

Few more points here. The other point about repeal by

implication is the conflict.

THE COURT: The what?

MR. CARVER: The conflict. The defense is

urging that there’s this - even under statutory [23} impli-

cation by repeal the court can avoid that principal by

finding irreconcilable conflict between — I submit there is

no conflict in 42.17.390 that statute begins by saying in

addition to any other remedies provided by law. The

defense says that limited to civil remedies not criminal

remedies.

Even so, the point is it’s not even exclusive as to civil

remedies — how can it possibly be read as excluding any

criminal penalties. In fact, as Circuit Judge Scalia said in

Haasen - that same point was brought up because there is

a statute in the federal election campaign — section — Title

2 of United States Code, Section 706 authorized the US

attorney general to bring a civil action similar to — and the

DC Court of Appeals concluded there is no difficulty in

applying both 18 USC section 1001 — and to USC 706 and

I submit the same thing should apply here.

There is no conflict between the long-standing statute

pass in the 1909 — the defendants were warned and it’s

been on the books since then and the provisions of 42.17,

that being the case there is no conflict. | think the provi-

sions of repeal by implication should control here.

App. 46

Also one more factor on that. As the Washington

courts have said, if you got a repealer in [24] statutory

scheme, as we do here in 42.17, you have a repealer that

makes the disinclination to define repeal by implication

even stronger. As I cited in the my response, there is a

repealer, it repeals specific statutes in the Revised Code of

Washington, does not repeal 40.16.030.

Under all those circumstances, I urge the court to

deny the motion to dismiss.

THE COURT: Mr. Leinbach?

MR. LEINBACH: Of course, in I-276 it included

the exact statutes that used to prescribe the public disclo-

sure-type of actions and so it put those in as repealing. But

it also went further and said in case of conflict, we govern.

It couldn’t throw out every other statute so it made the

practical decision to say if there a conflict, we govern.

Quickly on Hansen, again. Two things. One is there no

provision like that in the Hansen case and, two, Scalia,

himself, said if the word “remedy” is used, remedy means

additional civil remedies, it does not — he says it says in

their case that they cite that remedies does not mean a

criminal penalty or criminal sanction.

Finally, Your Honor, the state mentioned Price, and

I'm glad they did, I'd forgotten to mention [25] it on my

brief but Price, when it found that they could bring a cause

of action like this under 40.16, the court specifically said

we are not cited to any statute within the gaming code nor

any regulations providing penalties for ticket violations.

This appears to be the reason the state relies upon RCW

40.16 for charges on the steelhead ticket. That because

App. 47

there wasn’t anything else, the court said you can bring a

40.16 case.

Completely different here where there is something

occupying the field and specifically covering the prescribed

conduct in saying you can only do so civilly. I think Your

Honor’s question to Mr. Carver was the essence of this,

why now, why is it that now the state is choosing to ignore

the penalties provisions of 42.17 when it hasn’t in the past

and we believe, Your Honor, that they should have to and

should bring civil penalties and civil enforcement action

against the defendant so the public has the right to know.

THE COURT: I'll rule on the first motion now.

This matter comes before the court on a motion of the

defense with regard to all the counts against all the

defendants. I’m going to grant the [26] motion to dismiss

in motion number one.

In 1973 the Public Disclosure Act was implemented

after being passed in an initiative process in 1972, and the

initiative basically constituted a comprehensive statute

providing for a series of prohibited acts and requirements

on political candidates and contributors, and established a

reporting system through the public disclosure commission

and also passed certain enforcement mechanisms within

the statute that involved some compensatory remedies and

some punitive sanctions. And as I said, the initiative was

comprehensive and treated the entire subject area of

political contributions to local and state-wide campaigns.

Now I think the specific versus general rule is a rule

that applies here. Now, the interesting thing about this

case is as far as I know, | think neither the prosecution or

the state have pointed to any Appellate court decisions

App. 48

that have dealt with the application of the specific versus

general rule with regard to a criminal and a civil statute.

As far as I know this is the first case that comes before a

court that may well find its day into the Court of Appeals

with regard to this subject. I think it’s a very significant

subject.

[27] Here I think it is significant that the initiative,

itself, provides for punitive sanctions and it’s of the nature

of defining what in some other laws are called infractions

and provides for sanctions that are essentially fines that

may be imposed by the PDC and, of course, there’s an

appeal right by anybody aggrieved from the decision of the

administrative agency to the court system.

Now, here I think that the — because of the compre-

hensive nature of the public disclosure law dealing with

contributions and reporting and specifically with regard to

the precise charges that are before this court, which is

individuals reimbursing other individuals to make contri-

butions to campaigns and then submitting information

that these contributions are only being made in the name

of the so-called pass through people. That is the specific

subject that is dealt with very specifically in the statute

and it is clear that it is prohibited, and it’s prohibited in

order to give meaning to the disclosure requirements that

will let everybody see, through the public disclosure

commission., who is contributing to what candidate and

how much.

And all of that information now-a-days, 33 years after

the passage of the act, is available [28] almost instantly to

the public through the public disclosures systems Web site

and the legislation accomplished its goal of transparency

in campaigns.

App. 49

Again, for the reasons that I’ve indicated, I do find

that the general versus specific rule does apply in this case

and in this circumstance it precludes the state from

criminal prosecution under the statute originally passed in

1909, which is the subject matter of all of these counts

against the defendants.

So I am going to dismiss on that ground and that

ground alone.

Now, I will sign an order to that effect. I want to

indicate to you I know that the general doctrine is that

with regard to the remaining motions that generally if the

court acts on one, it should not deal with the others. And I

recognize that this is a clearly appealable issue by the

state and, frankly, I think the trial court would be well

served with some appellate instructions with regard to

this novel issue, and I’m not going to rule on the other

three grounds advanced by the defense, although I want to

say on the record that my strong inclination, based on my

reading of the memoranda that have been submitted, is

that none of those other three motions have merit [29] and

my inclination based on the memoranda was to deny

those.

I’m not ruling on them and I recognize that for the

purposes of the record that has no bearing on how the

Court of Appeals may look on it, they would not review, I’m

sure, the ones that I haven’t ruled on.

Counsel, I'll sign an order to that effect. I'll hear from

Miss Brenneman if you would like to make any points and.

MS. BRENNEMAN: Making a motion at this

juncture the defense be ordered by the court to turn back

to the state every shred of discovery pending the appellate

App. 50

resolution of this matter. We do not want — we have a

reason for that. I think it’s important that we keep track of

it, if we start over at some other time with new counsel

that we have full sets to give instead of having to recoup

it. None the factual bases on this case will impact their

ability to deal with the appeal and some of the sensitive

materials that were turned over including inquiry judge

subpoenas and court orders of special inquiry judge, those

should be in the possession of the prosecuting attorneys

until were are scheduled for the, trial in this matter.

[30] THE COURT: When you talk about every

shred of discovery, you have to understand I’m not aware

of all the papers exchanged. I’ve been involved in some

rulings, I’m not aware of the volume of the material you’re

talking about or the nature, let me -

MS. BRENNEMAN: I would be sensitive to the

fact they may need time to do this and may separate out

any materials that constitute —

THE COURT: Let me ask this because this is

something I would ask Mr. Wolfe, anyway, so I might as

well hear your comment on it now.

Normally when we have a situation like this, we deal

with it with a protective order of some kind requiring that

the materials be protected so that if there were copies

retained, we would make sure they would not be distrib-

uted to persons not authorized to receive them inconsis-

tent with the orders of court, and things like that, but still

they would be kept together so that if, for example, this

matter does go back to the trial court, that there would be

a consolidated record.

App. 51

Would a protective order be adequate for the prosecu-

tor’s interest? I presume they don’t have the originals.

MS. BRENNEMAN: No, they have copies.

[31] Because the material is sensitive and because it deals

with some very highly public materials and because life is

uncertain, and while the best intentions of the people

before this court I do not impugn in any way, shape, or

form, they may not — by the time this thing goes through

the appellate process, I'll be grayer, things can happen,

and I’ve had occasion to have full sets of discovery for

longer — offices get moved, I’ve lost material when other

offices moved, it happens.

I think it’s going to be more safe in our hands and

we'll be in no position to complain if it happens in our

hands and I would keep it sealed and keep it with the

names of the attorneys on it and returned to them if we’re

successful in the Court of Appeals.

MR. WOLFE: Agree to a protective order. I

maintain comprehensive files, I have closed files that are

complete. My fee agreement advises clients that I main-

tain this material, depending upon the jurisdiction, for

between three to five years after the conclusion of case and

there is a reason for it, because if other litigation ensues,

they need complete files.

Second, the suggestion that — the first [32] suggestion

that they don’t want it disseminated because of the IJ

material, the IJ issued orders, authorized the dissemina-

tion of this material to a number of other entities, and to

suggest that officers of the court can’t be trusted to main-

tain the confidentiality of that when issued to other officers

of the court or individuals who are not is preposterous,

App. 52

there is no justification for it. I’ve never heard of such a

procedure.

If the court wants us to shred it, we'll shred it and Ill

file a certification to that extent. Then we can start all

over with discovery, which is going to delay the start up of

this case.

The way I work, I take notes, make comments in the

margins, and I am not prepared to turn over work product,

sealed or otherwise, to the state.

THE COURT: Does anybody on behalf of any of

the other defendants want to be heard on this matter?

MR. HANSEN: Is the state asking we destroy

our copies because we always keep the originals complete

and make working copies, or does the state want the

originals back?

MS. BRENNEMAN: I get a protective order for

the working copies and get the originals back and have a

full set in case Mr. Conte decides —

133] MR. WOLFE: She has a full set.

THE COURT: Were the originals of fhese

documents turned over to any of the defendants?

MS. BRENNEMAN: No.

MR. HANSEN: I meant the original copy.

MS. BRENNEMAN: Original copy is expensive

and time-consuming and we have limited resources. If I

have to make four more sets of copies, it will be an expense

to the state. This case is expensive, it’s not reasonable to

the state to ask them back, these attorneys win the Lotto,

App. 53

decide to retire or moving vans get lost or have a terrorist

attack, I need to have a feeling that we have control of the

material so it can be turned over, we can get on the with

the case quickly.

THE COURT: I’m not going to rule on this today,

I want to give you a chance to discuss whether a suitable

protective order could be put in place and if you can’t agree

on this, then I'll rule on this motion and hear anything

else you want to say.

But this wasn’t contemplated today, I think people

ought to have time to reflect on the issue and whether

there are reasonable ways in which to protect what the

prosecution has indicated but also protect the rights of

defendant.

[34] Now, one thing that occurs to me and I’m sure

occurs to you, as I said, I think an appeal here by the state

is allowed and I think this is the type of case that can be

reviewed, frankly, very quickly in the Court of Appeals

because there is a limited record, there is no trial record

here and I’ve ruled on strictly legal grounds.

So I would think that — and I think that there is a

good argument that could be advanced by the state that

this is a matter of significant public interest, that it might

even be able to obtain accelerated review and with that in

mind I think a protective order that would essentially seal

all the documents that defense ..as in some way and

provide for its safekeeping would be appropriate. I think

there could be a protective order that could be crafted,

we've done it in civil cases where the materials from each

of these offices could be sealed and placed in a place that

was secure and was not going to be moved by moving van

or anything like that, and that the order could provide it

App. 54

wouldn’t be moved unless with court order and designate

where it was to be kept. You can keep things like this in

safe deposit box if you want to go to that extent.

But Id like to give you all a chance, those [35] of you

who are familiar with this case, to try to work something

out that will protect all of your legitimate interests and if

you can’t resolve it within a week, the state is welcome to

file a motion with the court and I'll hear from you again.

MS. BRENNEMAN: Thank you. we'll be able to

work something out, hopefully. My colleague and I would

like the court to rethink the idea, and Ill let Mr. Peterson

address it, the other issues.

MR. PETERSON: I’m not sure if there is any

objection, I think it would be — I’m Scott Peterson for the

prosecutor’s office. If we had rulings on each issue not

necessarily today but in time to take them up on appeal

and resolve them all at one time.

THE COURT: You know the problem that I have

is that there is alot of case law that says that when —- many

of these arguments are constitutional and there is a long

doctrine, well-established, that the court should not reach

the constitutional question if it disposes of a case on non-

constitutional grounds and | have not ruled on a constitu-

tional issue under the state or Federal Constitution today.

MR. PETERSON: I believe that rule is designed

for appellate courts so they are not unnecessarily reaching

constitutional issues that wind [36] up in a published deci-

sion when it doesn’t have to, be reached in a trial court’s

decision. If there are pending motions that can be resolved

on appeal, I’m sure the court of Appeals appreciate this, too.

If we take them all at once, we can resolve them all.

7

App. 55

My thought is this: I understand you may have

formed some thoughts after reading the briefs and consid-

ering them, how you would rule. You might not be the

judge when we come back and another judge may decide

one of the other issues they raise and one that has merit

and might dismiss the case and have sequential appeals

on all the issues. I hope that defense counsel, too, would

like to have all the issues resolved at once.

My proposal is this: We could continue and have brief

argument on them today, all agree, maybe let you decide

them on the briefs. We could come back another day.

THE COURT: Why don’t we take a brief recess

and let me give you an opportunity to discuss this among

counsel, see if you — because | think this is probably

unanticipated. I think Mr. Peterson’s suggestion is one

that deserves attention and might well serve the interest

of defense, as well as the state. But I want to give you a

chance to think about [37] that and talk about it and see

whether that’s something you can agree on.

MR. WOLFE: Could I make a suggestion? I don’t

mean to belabor, I’m not sure all these attorneys are going

to be able to huddle, the defense is going to want to huddle

separately and discuss, work through the issues and try to

get you an answer this morning.

What I would suggest is that the written order of

dismissa! that the court is indicated it will sign be delayed

for ten days, that we try to work through those issues and

if we can't, then the court, I guess, we'll come back on the

27th or 28th, if we can, and you can decide how we're

going to proceed. But at this point the court dismissed it

and indicated inclinations not to proceed, which I agree

with but we haven't had a chance to think it through.

App. 56

THE COURT: What about that Mr. Peterson?

MR. PETERSON: Sounds good. If we could

choose a date now?

THE COURT: Go off the record.

(Off-the-record discussion)

THE COURT: We have discussed off the record

scheduling with regard to the issues we just been discuss-

ing and we set Friday March 10, 9:30 in the [38] morning

for this matter to be brought before the court.

Again, if the parties can reach agreement on this,

although I’m conscious of the case law that | indicated and

the general doctrine that I mentioned, I think it would be

in potentially the interest of all concerned to have all the

issues ruled on so there could be an appeal, for example, if

the defense or prosecution wanted to take an appeal from

any of the court’s proposed ruling with regard to defense

motions two, three, and four.

Thank you.

(Adjourned)

(39] STATE OF WASHINGTON _ )

COUNTY OF KING )

I, James D. Lavielle, RPR, an Official Court Reporter

for the Superior Court, County of King, State of Washing-

ton, hereby certify that the foregoing comprises a full, true

and correct transcription of my stenographic notes taken

in the above-entitled cause.

App. 57

Dated this 17th day of February, 2006.

OFFICIAL COURT REPORTER

James D. Lavielle, RPR,

CSR 1991

App. 58

THE SUPREME COURT OF WASHINGTON

STATE OF WASHINGTON, )

= ; ORDER DENYING

, MOTION FOR

JOHN GILBERT CONTE; FRANK ) RECONSIDERATION

I .

PRANK FRANCIS COLACURCIO ) (Filed Jun. 11, 2007)

SR., and MARSHA MARIE

FURFARO, .

Respondents. )

The Court having considered the Motion for Reconsid-

eration;

Now, therefore, it is hereby

ORDERED:

That Respondents’ Motion for Reconsideration is

denied.

DATED at Olympia, Washington this llth day of

June, 2007.

For the Court

/s/ Gerry L. Alexander

CHIEF JUSTICE

159 Wn.2d 797

App. 59

Seattle Municipal Code

SMC 2.04.150 Intent of chapter - Interpretation -

Construction.

A. Itis the public policy of the City:

1. That political campaign contributions and expenditures

be fully disclosed to the public and that secrecy in the

sources and application of such contributions be avoided;

2. That the people have the right to expect from their

elected representatives the utmost of integrity, honesty,

and fairness in their dealings;

3. That the people shall be assured that the private

financial dealings of their public officials, and of candi-

dates for those offices, present no conflict of interest

between the public trust and private interest;

4. That our representative form of government is

founded on a belief that those entrusted with the offices of

government have nothing to fear from full public disclo-

sure of their financial and business holdings, provided

those officials deal honestly and fairly with the people;

5. That public confidence in municipal government is

essential and must be promoted by all possible means;

6. That public confidence in municipal government can

best be sustained by assuring the people of the impartial-

ity and honesty of the officials in all public transactions

and decisions;

7. That it is desirable to have legislation at the municipal

level complementary to the concept of disclosure estab-

lished in Initiative 276 (RCW Chapter 42.17);

App. 60

8. That small contributions by individual contributors

are to be encouraged, and that not requiring the reporting

of small contributions may tend to encourage such contri-

butions;

9. That the public’s right to know of the financing of

political campaigns far outweighs any right that this

matter remain secret and private; and

10. That, mindful of the right of individuals to privacy

and of the desirability of the efficient administration of

government, full access to information concerning the

conduct of municipal government must be assured as a

fundamental and necessary precondition to the sound

governance of a free society.

B. The provisions of this chapter shall be liberally

construed to promote complete disclosure of all informa-

tion respecting the financing of political campaigns so as

to assure continuing public confidence of fairness of

elections, and so as to assure that the public interest will

be fully protected. In promoting such complete disclosure,

however, this chapter shall be enforced so as to ensure

that the information disclosed will not be misused by

arbitrary and capricious purposes and to ensure that all

persons reporting under this chapter will be protected

from harassment and unfounded allegations based on

information they have freely disclosed.

~ ©. Further, it is the intent of the Council that this chapter

be interpreted and applied consistent with the de minimus

maxim, that inadvertent minor viclations of this chapter

may be corrected and cured without full hearing in a

manner consistent with the spirit and intent of this chapter.

App. 61

Seattle Municipal Code

SMC 2.04.290 Identification of contributions and

communications.

A. No contribution shall be made and no expenditure

shall be incurred, directly or indirectly, in a fictitious

name, anonymously, or by one person through an agent,

relative, or other person in such a manner as to conceal

the identity of the source of the contribution or in any

other manner so as to effect concealment.

B. 1. All audio and video broadcast political advertising,

whether relating to candidates or ballot propositions, shall

include the sponsor’s name. All other political advertising,

whether relating to candidates or ballot propositions, shall

include the sponsor’s name and address. Political advertis-

ing paid for by someone other than an agent of the com-

mittee that benefits from the advertising, i.e., in-kind

contributions, must state “paid for by ...” followed by the

name and address of the person who paid for the advertis-

ing, and “sponsored by” followed by the name and address

of the committee(s) that will benefit from the advertising.

The use of an assumed name shall be unlawful.

2. In addition to the materials required by subsection Bl

of this section, all political advertising undertaken as an

independent expenditure by a person or entity, other than

a bona fide political party as defined in RCW 42.17.020(5),

must include the following statement on the communica-

tion “NOTICE TO VOTERS (Required by law): This

advertisement is not authorized or approved by any

candidate. It is paid for by (name, address, city, state).” If

the advertisement undertaken as an independent expendi-

ture is undertaken by a nonindividual, other than a bona

fide political party as defined in RCW 42.17.020(5), then

App. 62

the following notation must also be included: “Top Five

Contributors,” followed by a listing of the names of the five

persons or entities who or which, during the twelve (12)-

month period before the date of the advertisement, made

to the sponsor of the advertisement the largest contribu-

tions reportable under this chapter.

3. The statements and listings of contributors required

by subsections B1 and B2 of this section shall:

a. Appear on the first page or fold of the written commu-

nication in at least ten (10)-point type, or in type at least

ten (10) percent of the largest size type used in a written

communication directed at more than one (1) voter, such

as a billboard or poster, whichever is larger;

b. Not be subject to the half-tone or screening process;

c. Be set apart from any other printed matter; and

d. Be clearly spoken on any broadcast advertisement.

Seattle Municipal Code

SMC 2.04.370 Mandatory limitations on contribu-

tions.

A. No person shall make a contribution to any candidate

for Mayor, member of the City Council, or City Attorney of

the City, except in the election cycle for that candidate as

defined in Section 2.04.010(7).

B. No person shall contribute more than Six Hundred

Dollars ($600) to any candidate for Mayor, member of the

City Council, or City Attorney of the city, in any election

cycle.

App. 63

C. Acandidate for Mayor, member of the City Council, or

City Attorney of the City, may only accept or receive a

campaign contribution during an election cycle as defined

in Section 2.04.010(7).

D. No candidate for Mayor, member of the City Council

or City Attorney of the City shall solicit or receive cam-

paign contributions of more than Six Hundred Dollars

($600) from any person in any election cycle; provided:

1. a. The limitations imposed by this section shall not

apply to a candidate’s contributions of his or her own

resources to his or her own campaign, or contributions to

the candidate’s campaign by the candidate or the candi-

date’s spouse of assets of their marital community;

b. The limitations imposed by this section apply to

contributions of the candidate’s spouse’s separate property;

2. The limitations imposed by this section shall not apply

to independent expenditures as defined by this chapter;

and

3. The limitations imposed by this section shall not apply

to the value of in-kind labor; and

4. The limitations imposed by this section shall not apply

to contributions consisting of the rendering of clerical or

computer services on behalf of a candidate or an author-

ized political committee, to the extent that the services are

for the purpose of ensuring compliance with City, county,

or state election or public disclosure laws.

E. Adjustment Index.

1. In March of each even-numbered calendar year, the

Commission shall promulgate a rule in accordance with

App. 64

Chapter 3.02 of the Seattle Municipal Code. This Rule

may increase the dollar amount in subsection A based on

changes in economic conditions as reflected by the Implicit

Price Deflator of the United States Domestic Product as

published by the United States Department of Commerce

Bureau of Economic Analysis (IPD). If application of the

IPD wouid result in a decrease in the dollar amount, the

dollar amount shall remain unchanged.

2. The new dollar amounts established by the Commis-

sion shall be determined by multiplying the base amount

provided in this section (Six Hundred Dollars $600)) by the

percentage change in the most recently published IPD

since January 1, 2000. The resulting amount shall be

added to the amount derived from the multiplication of the

base amount, and the amount resulting from that calcula-

tion shall be rounded to the nearest whole dollar amount

that can be divided by fifty (50). In cases where the un-

rounded amount derived from this procedure is exactly

Twenty-five Dollars ($25) different from the two (2) near-

est numbers evenly divisible by Fifty Dollars ($50), the

amount shall be rounded up to the next number evenly

divisible by Fifty Dollars ($50). The new dollar amount

shall become effective May lst of the even-numbered

calendar year. Once adopted, any increase in the contribu-

tion limit shall be effective for all election cycles that have

not ended by May Ist of that even-numbered year.

3. This subsection shall expire six (6) years after the

effective date of the enabling ordinance.’

’ Editor’s Note: Ordinance 120321] was passed by the City Council

April 9, 2001

App. 65

Seattle Municipal Code

SMC 2.04.500 Civil remedies and sanctions.

A. 1. Upon determining pursuant to Sections 2.04.070

through 2.04.090 that a violation has occurred, the Com-

mission may issue an order requiring the party to take

particular action in order to comply with the law, and in

addition, or alternatively, may impose sanctions up to Five

Thousand Dollars ($5,000) for each violation.

2. Upon determining that a contribution was illegally

made or accepted, in addition to the remedies in subsec-

tion /.1, the Commission may order the return of a contri-

bution illegally made, and impose a penalty of two (2)

times the amount of a contribution illegally made or

accepted by a person who violates Section 2.04.180,

2.04.200, 2.04.210, 2.04.215, 2.04.240, 2.04.290, 2.04.300,

2.04.370, or 2.04.480.

3. Upon determining that a report was filed excessively

late, in addition to the remedies in subsection Al, the

Commission may impose a penalty of two (2) times the

amount of each deposit or expenditure for each deposit or

expenditure that was reported excessively late. A report is

excessively late if it was due more than twenty-one (21)

days before the election in which the candidate or ballot

proposition appeared on the ballot, but was not filed at

least twenty-one (21) days before that election. A report is

also excessively late if it was due within twenty-one (21)

days before the election in which the candidate or ballot

proposition appeared on the ballot, but was not timely

filed.

4. In addition to the actions in subsections Al, A2, and

A3 above, the Commission may forward the determination

App. 66

of violation to the Seattle City Attorney or the King

County Prosecutor for prosecution. If the court finds that

the violation of any provision of this chapter by any

candidate or political committee probably affected the

outcome of any election, the result of the election may be

held void and a special election held within sixty (60) days

of such finding. Any action to void an election shall be

commenced within one (1) year of the date of the election

in question. It is intended that this remedy be imposed

freely in all appropriate cases to protect the right of the

electorate to an informed and knowledgeable vote.

B. Whether or not there is an administrative determina-

tion as provided in subsection A, the violation or failure to

comply with the provisions of Sections 2.04.160 through

2.04.290 (regarding campaign reporting), Section 2.04.370

(regarding contribution limitations) or Section 2.04.310 of

this chapter (regarding political signs) shall constitute an

infraction, not subject to the Seattle Criminal Code, for

which a monetary fine, not to exceed Five Thousand

Dollars ($5,000), may be assessed by a court, however, a

person or entity who violates Section 2.04.370 may be

subject to a civil fine of Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000) or

be required to return the illegal contribution and pay a

penalty of two (2) times the amcunt of the contribution

illegally made or accepted, whichever is greater. Violation

of the ordinance and existence of an infraction may be

proven by a preponderance of the evidence and need not be

proven beyond a reasonable doubt. An action seeking to

establish the fact of an infraction and imposition of a

monetary fine under this section may be commenced by

the City Attorney at a request of a majority of the Com-

mission.

App. 67

C. Any candidate who fails to comply with the require-

ments of Chapter 2.04 of the Seattle Municipal Code or

conditions of his/her campaign contract shall be ineligible

to receive further such. funds until in compliance. Any

candidate who exceeds the expenditure limitation for

which he/she has contracted shall immediately return to

the appropriate City account Three Dollars ($3) for every

One Dollar ($1) he/she has overspent in that election to a

maximum amount equal to the total sum of public funds

he/she has received.

D. The following persons shall be liable for violation of

this chapter, and shall be subject to all penalties, civil

remedies and sanctions set forth in this section, in Section

2.04.330, or elsewhere in this chapter:

1. Each candidate whose campaign has violated any

provision of this chapter;

2. Each officer of a ballot proposition political committee

or continuing political committee whose committee has

violated any provision of this chapter;

3. Each individual violating any provision of this chapter.

App. 68

RCWA 40.16.030. Offering false instrument for filing

or record

Every person who shall knowingly procure or offer any

false or forged instrument to be filed, registered, or re-

corded in any public office, which instrument, if genuine,

might be filed, registered or recorded in such office under

any law of this state or of the United States, is guilty of a

class C felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in a

state correctional facility for not more than five years, or

by a fine of not more than five thousand dollars, or by

both.

RCWA 42.17.080. Reporting of contributions and

expenditures - Inspection of accounts

(1) On the day the treasurer is designated, each candi-

date or political committee shall file with the commission

and the county auditor or elections officer of the county in

which the candidate resides, or in the case of a political

committee, the county in which the treasurer resides, in

addition to any statement of organization required under

RCW 42.17.040 or 42.17.050, a report of all contributions

received and expenditures made prior to that date, if any.

(2) At the following intervals each treasurer shall file

with the commission and the county auditor or elections

officer of the county in which the candidate resides, or in

the case of a political committee, the county in which the

committee maintains its office or headquarters, and if

there is no office or headquarters then in the county in

which the treasurer resides, a report containing the

information required by RCW 42.17.090:

App. 69

(a) On the twenty-first day and the seventh day immedi-

ately preceding the date on which the election is held; and

(b) On the tenth day of the first month after the election;

and

(c) On the tenth day of each month in which no other

reports are required to be filed under this section: PRO-

VIDED, That such report shall only be filed if the commit-

tee has received a contribution or made an expenditure

in the preceding calendar month and either the total

contributions received or total expenditures made since

the last such report exceed two hundred dollars.

When there is no outstanding debt or obligation, and the

campaign fund is closed, and the campaign is concluded in

all respects, and in the case of a political committee, the

committee has ceased to function and has dissolved, the

treasurer shall file a final report. Upon submitting a final

report, the duties of the treasurer shall cease and there

shall be no obligation to make any further reports.

The report filed twenty-one days before the election shall

report all contributions received and expenditures made as

of the end of the fifth business day before the date of the

report. The report filed seven days before the election shall

report all contributions received and expenditures made as

of the end of the one business day before the date of the

report. Reports filed on the tenth day of the month shall

report all contributions received and expenditures made

from the closing date of the last report filed through the

last day of the month preceding the date of the current

report.

(3) For the period beginning the first day of the fourth

month preceding the date on which the special election is

App. 70

held, or for the period beginning the first day of the fifth

month before the date on which the general election is

held, and ending on the date of that special or general

election, each Monday the treasurer shall file with the

commission and the appropriate county elections officer a

report of each bank deposit made during the previous

seven calendar days. The report shall contain the name of

each person contributing t

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.