Reply Brief — Missouri River Services, Inc. v. Omaha Tribe
Supreme Court brief2002
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED
@ APR23 2002
No. 01-1149 OFFICK OF THE CLERK
In The
Supreme Court of the United States
+
MISSOURI RIVER SERVICES, INC.,
a Delaware corporation,
Petitioner,
Vv.
OMAHA TRIBE OF NEBRASKA,
a federally recognized Indian Tribe,
Respondent.
¢
On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Eighth Circuit
+
REPLY BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
¢
Brian A. Macoon, Esq.
Joun G. Ne son, Eso.*
Breca & Winters P.C.
1700 Lincoln Street, Suite 2222
Denver, Colorado 80202
(303) 866-9400
. Attorneys for Petitioner
*Counsel of Record
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT.........----eeeeeceees 1
Ee ois bea va Va cho 8 0d bd Ke Keene ese eds 2
A. This Court Should Grant This Petition Because The
G
Eighth Circuit Erroneously Ruled That A Court
May Vacate An Arbitration Award Which Satisfies
All Criteria Set Forth In The FAA But (Assertedly)
Violates Extra-Statutory Requirements Imposed By
The Court, And This Ruling Conflicts With The
Decisions Of Other Circuits ............+eeeeeeee
This Court Should Grant This Petition Because
The Eighth Circuit Erroneously Ruled That
Where A Question Possessing Jurisdictional
Implications Is Intertwined With The Merits Of
An Arbitration Decision, The Federal Courts Not
Only May But Must Disregard This Decision...
Intervention By This Court Is Imperative ......
CIEL oo cccccccccecceducsnsscvvseneseveess
5
ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES
First Options of Chicago, Inc. v. Kaplan, 514 U.S. 938
(1995)... cceccccccccseccnccccscescevecsosserers
Missouri River Services, Inc. v. Omaha Tribe of
Nebraska, 267 F.3d 848 (8th Cir. 2001) ......-..-.
Moses H. Cone Memorial Hospital v. Mercury Const.
Co., 460 U.S. 1 (1983). ...... eee eee e rere ees
Prima Paint Corp. v. Flood & Conklin Mfg. Co., 388
U.S. 395 (1967) ....cccccccvcvcccccscccssceceees
Shearson/American Express, Inc. v. McMahon, 482
U.S. 220 (1987) .....cccccccccccccvcvcessssseers
United Steelworkers of America v. Enterprise Wheel &
Car Corp., 363 U.S. 593 (1960).....--.++eeereees
Swift & Co. v. United States, 276 U.S. 311 (1928) ..
REPLY BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF PETITION
FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
Missouri River Services, Inc. (“MRS”) hereby submits
the following Reply Brief in Support of Petition for Writ
of Certiorari.
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
This Court should issue a writ of certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit
(“Eighth Circuit”) for the following reasons.
First, this case presents important issues concerning
the application and effect of the Federal Arbitration Act,
9 U.S.C. § 1 et seq. (“FAA”). The FAA establishes a “liberal
federal policy favoring arbitration agreements.” Moses H.
Cone Memorial Hospital v. Mercury Const. Co., 460 U.S. 1, 24
(1983); Shearson/American Express, Inc. v. McMahon, 482
U.S. 220, 226 (1987). One of the most important questions
that can arise under the FAA is the standard of review to
be applied to an arbitration award - the precise subject
presented by this Petition. Respondent, the Omaha Tribe
of Nebraska (“Tribe”), does not deny that this issue
merits the Court’s attention.
Second, this case poses questions of first impression
for this Court.? This lack of resolution is reflected in the
profound circuit split identified in MRS’ Petition for Writ
of Certiorari. Once again, the Tribe does not even dispute
1 The Court has addressed the questions presented in MRS’
Petition for Writ of Certiorari only in dicta.
the existence of this circuit split or the need to bring
order to this area of the law.
Third, this case provides a pristine factual back-
ground for the questions presented. The Tribe does not
ever argue that this case may turn on a narrow factual
issue, or that some obscure point in the record may
prevent the Court from reaching these questions. As a
result, this case offers the Court a promising vehicle for
addressing the broad legal issues raised herein.
The Tribe’s primary contention is that MRS mis-
construed the Eighth Circuit’s opinion. The Court readily
can identify the errors in this claim by examining this
opinion.
ARGUMENT
A. This Court Should Grant This Petition Because The
Eighth Circuit Erroneously Ruled That A Court
May Vacate An Arbitration Award Which Satisfies
All Criteria Set Forth In The FAA But (Assertedly)
Violates Extra-Statutory Requirements Imposed By
The Court, And This Ruling Conflicts With The
Decisions Of Other Circuits
The Tribe insists that the Eighth Circuit did not apply
extra-statutory criteria in striking down the arbitration
award. According to the Tribe, the Eighth Circuit’s deci-
sion “had nothing to do with the merits of the case, but
everything to do with the arbitrator’s authority.” Brief in
Opposition at 9. This view is inaccurate.
The Eighth Circuit did not focus on whether the
arbitrator was asked to decide the issues before her. This
point was not open to serious question. Indeed, in an
earlier phase of the case, the Tribe stipulated that each
claim filed in the arbitration proceeding was subject to
arbitration (App. at 58-60). The District Court entered an
Order encapsulating this stipulation (App. at 47-48), and
the Tribe did not appeal this Order.
Rather, the Eighth Circuit’s inquiry focused on
whether the arbitrator’s decision was correct. The Eighth
Circuit had access only to a “cold” record. As a result, the
court was not well positioned to second-guess the arbitra-
tor’s decision. Relying on this record and its own views
of the case, the Eighth Circuit determined that the arbi-
trator had erred.
The Eighth Circuit expressly based this decision
upon non-statutory grounds. The Eighth Circuit first
noted that the FAA provides for vacation of an arbitration
award if the arbitrator exceeds the scope of his or her
authority. Missouri River Services, Inc. v. Omaha Tribe of
Nebraska, 267 F.3d 848, 854 (8th Cir. 2001) (App. at 12).
The Eighth Circuit then stated that “in addition to” this
statutory criterium, an award may be set aside based
upon non-statutory grounds. Id. at 854 (App. at 12). The
Eighth Circuit concluded that MRS’ arbitration award
violated these judge-made criteria. Id. at 855 (App. at 12)
“we find that the award failed to draw its essence from
the agreement”).
The Tribe later suggests that even though the Eighth
Circuit did apply non-statutory criteria, its decision still
did not conflict with the decisions of other circuits. Brief
in Opposition at 11-12. According to the Tribe, “(t]he very
language which supposedly creates the conflict among
circuit courts has been used, not only by the Eighth
Circuit in this case, but also by the United States Supreme
Court itself.” Id. at 12. This may be so. The fact remains,
however, that the case law of Second, Fifth, Seventh, and
Ninth Circuits expressly holds that an arbitration award
may be vacated only upon the grounds set forth in the
FAA, while other circuits hold otherwise. The Tribe does
not even deny the existence of this disagreement.
Moreover, the Tribe’s assertion that this Court
already has ruled that the lower courts may strike down
arbitration awards based upon non-statutory criteria is
erroneous. United Steelworkers of America v. Enterprise
Wheel & Car Corp., 363 U.S. 593 (1960), concerned labor
arbitration. This case did not apply or construe the FAA.
Further, this decision, which is over 40 years old, may not
reflect the modern view of arbitration. See Petition for a
Writ of Certiorari at 21-23 for a discussion of changing
judicial perspectives on arbitration.
The second case cited by the Tribe, First Options of
Chicago, Inc. v. Kaplan, 514 U.S. 938 (1995), was decided
under the FAA. The issue in that case, however, was
whether the court or the arbitrator should decide the
question of arbitrability. Id. at 942. Any discussion con-
cerning the application of extra-statutory criteria to arbi-
tration awards set forth in the Court’s opinion was dicta.
The fact is that this Court never has resolved the
question raised by this Petition. This lack of resolution is
reflected in the disarray of the lower courts’ decisions.
This Petition offers the Court an opportunity to settle this
important question. MRS respectfully submits that the
Court should accept this opportunity.
B. This Court Should Grant This Petition Because The
Eighth Circuit Erroneously Ruled That Where A
Question Possessing Jurisdictional Implications Is
Intertwined With The Merits Of An Arbitration
Decision, The Federal Courts Not Only May But
Must Disregard This Decision
The second issue in this case is whether a Federal
Court to which an arbitration award is submitted for
confirmation may independently determine a question
possessing jurisdictional implications where the jurisdic-
tional question is inextricably intertwined with the merits
of the case and necessarily was resolved by the arbitrator.
The Tribe presents a scattering of arguments for the posi-
tion that the Court should not grant certiorari on this
issue. None is persuasive.
The Tribe states that “[t]he first problem with peti-
tioner’s argument on this point is that none of the cases it
cited dealt with arbitration, and therefore are factually
remote to the case before the court.” Brief in Opposition
at 13. This point is not novel. MRS conceded in its Peti-
tion that this factual distinction between the cases exists.
Petition for Writ of Certiorari at 27. This fact, however,
does not mean that the Court should reject this case. The
cases cited by MRS are closely analogous to the instant
case. These cases strongly support MRS’s argument. In
light of the established federal policy favoring the
enforcement of arbitration agreement, this Court should
establish that the same rule applies in the instant case.
The Tribe further asserts that “the jurisdictional issue
was not in any way ‘intertwined’ with the merits of the
case, or the arbitration award.” Brief in Opposition at 13.
This puzzling assertion is not supported by the facts. The
jurisdictional question identified by the Eighth Circuit
may be stated as follows: whether the Tribe’s waiver of
its tribal sovereign immunity was broad enough to permit
the relief awarded by the arbitrator. Missouri River Ser-
vices, Inc. v. Omaha Tribe of Nebraska, 267 F.3d 848, 852-854
(8th Cir. 2001) (App. at 6-11). The arbitrator necessarily
resolved this issue when she issued her award.? As a
result, the jurisdictional question not only was “inter-
twined” with the merits, but it was identical to the case
decided on the merits.
The Tribe next avers that “[s]overeign immunity has
always been viewed by the courts as a limitation on their
jurisdiction, and as a matter for the court to examine and
decide on its own.” Brief in Opposition at 14. The first
half of this statement undeniably is true; sovereign
immunity is a jurisdictional issue. The latter allegation,
however, is erroneous. In cases where a jurisdictional
issue is intertwined with the merits, the proper approach
is to assume jurisdiction exists and deal with the objec-
tion as an attack on the merits of the plaintiff’s case. See
Petition for Writ of Certiorari at 24-25 and cases cited
therein. The Tribe’s unsupported assertion that parties
may ask a court to intrude on the responsibilities of the
finder of fact by challenging federal jurisdiction does
2 The arbitrator could not have awarded the relief she
selected without first determining that this relief was not
contemplated by the Tribe’s waiver of its immunity.
nothing to impair the case for certiorari in this proceed-
ing.
The Tribe finally maintains that the real issue in this
case is whether the court or the arbitrator should decide
whether a question is arbitrable. Brief in Opposition at
15-16. This assertion is erroneous. As set forth above in
this memorandum, the parties stipulated that each claim
filed in the arbitration proceeding was subject to arbitra-
tion. (App. at 58-60). The District Court entered an Order
incorporating this stipulation (App. at 47-48), and the
Tribe did not appeal this Order.* Thus, the question of
arbitrability was not before the Eighth Circuit, and is not
at issue in this Petition.
C. Intervention By This Court Is Imperative
The ultimate question in this case is whether the
federal policy favoring arbitration is to be maintained. As
set forth above in this memorandum, the FAA establishes
a “liberal federal policy favoring arbitration agreements.”
Moses H. Cone Memorial Hospital v. Mercury Const. Co., 460
U.S. 1, 24 (1983); Shearson/American Express, Inc. v.
McMahon, 482 U.S. 220, 226 (1987). The “unmistakably
clear” purpose of the FAA is to ensure that arbitration,
when selected by the parties to a contract, be “speedy
and not subject to delay or obstruction in the courts.”
Prima Paint Corp. v. Flood & Conklin Mfg. Co., 388 U.S. 395,
3 Even if the Tribe had attempted to appeal this Order, this
appeal would not have been effective. Swift & Co. v. United
States, 276 U.S. 311, 324 (1928) (“a decree that appears to have
been entered by consent, is always affirmed, without
considering the merits of the case.”).
404 (1967). The Court regularly has accepted arbitration
cases in recent years where necessary to effectuate this
policy.
The determination of the standard of review to be
applied to an arbitration award is critical to the achieve-
ment of this policy objective. Further, the deep split
between the circuits makes it apparent that the lower
courts are not likely to resolve this issue without leader-
ship from this Court. MRS accordingly, and respectfully,
suggests that intervention on the part of the Court is
imperative.
CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, this Court should grant
MRS’ Petition for a Writ of Certiorari.
Dated this 19th day of April, 2002.
Respectfully submitted,
Breca & Winters P.C.
Brian A. MAGOON
Joun. G. NeLson*
1700 Lincoln Street, Suite 2222
Denver, CO 80203
(303) 866-9400
"Counsel of Record
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.