Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Rugiero v. Department of Justice

Supreme Court brief2002

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

01 907 DEC - 6 2001

No.

Cin oyhe

Supreme Court of the Cnited States

PATRICK RUGGIERO,

Petitioner,

V.

UNITED STATES

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

and

DEPARTMENT OF TREASURY,

Respondents.

_ ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

_ TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

Petition for Writ of Certiorari

David I. Schoen

Counsel of Record

LAW OFFICE OF

DAVID I. SCHOEN

2800 Zelda Road, Suite 100-6

Montgomery, Alabama 36101

(334) 395-6611

Counsel for Petitioner

THE LEX GROUP ¢ 1108 East Main Street ¢ Suite 1400¢ ¢ Richmond, Virginia 23219

(804) 644-4419 © (800) 856-4619 ¢ Fax: (804) 644-3660 ¢ www.thelexgroup.com

QUESTION PRESENTED

A Sixth Circuit panel declined to remand Petitioner’s

FOIA case to the district court for in camera inspection of

selected, contested documents and/or expand the record

relative to Petitioner's claim of bad faith on the part of the

Government in the FOIA litigation, the underlying criminal

prosecution, and the parallel discovery proceedings in the

context of a motion under 28 U.S.C. §2255. The Sixth Circuit

panel determined that Petitioner had not made a strong

enough showing of agency bad faith to warrant remand to

the district court.

Question: Did the Sixth Circuit err in determining that

Petitioner had not demonstrated strong

evidence of Government agency “bad faith” -

a term with no precise definition or criteria -

to warrant remand for an in camera

inspection and/or expansion of the record in

the context of a claim under the Freedom of

Information Act, 5 U.S.C. §552, et seq.?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

eae Ir IIIS 2 UID cccscsicsonvncnrenasivensenseenetooiennenneneevnnenvensies i

Be TD ceereeemcerintinmesinmmmnenmmenenins ii

Fe Br eee certeenenimanennnimnnnmannen iii

OPINIONS BELOW ......cceccscccecsceseceveees Iissiddespeenmmnietstnaionienapennoen’ 1

FE IEE srvcsinciinnnicamnsivnnwenineinicenmetememepirenemeecreteronmen 1

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED..........:+:sesese0 2

| ge Le | SE 2

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT........cs:sccsseseseseseeeeees 10

PITT, csctdeveinenisesssnnnivccrigreinersstnniiensuinininintinintonneninimntecents 11

The Sixth Circuit’s determination that

Petitioner had not made a showing of agency

bad faith sufficient to warrant remand for in

camera inspection and/or to expand the

record regarding agency bad faith was made

in the absence of specified criteria regarding

what constitutes agency bad faith.

Se eisecceicininiantaiitcivdininnnecivieennenivinmisceneneeieerereenesceranietets 20

FPF a iorrin ects nenninrsnnnmnanimmmonenmnmnnnenenmnnernrenenerween App. i

TABLE O* “JTHORITIES

Page(s)

Cases:

Abbotts v. Nuclear Regulatory Commission,

FOG F.28 GOK (OL, Cae, TID cccesercsvecsuvscorvcnrsiccevenincersess 16

Accuracy in Media v. National Park Service,

194 F.3d 120 (D.C. Cir. 1999)....... pili 18, 19

American Friends Service Committee v.

Department of Defense,

UR Sc Re Ct GE, TONE Prienintsisinercccceccensecnivenicnenen 16

Allen v. C.LA.,

Ce Tae Oe Ce a i ererenticcsnineneninreencsipnvnizns 16

; Carter v. U.S. Department of Commerce,

OD Fe Fe AA. Ge, FOF hicsicesinisciicncserseiisaninciienciaciens 16

Castandeda v. United States

757 F.2d 1010 (9th Cir. 1985) ...sssssssssesssssseesssssseen 17,19

Davis v. U.S. Department of Justice,

968 F.2d 1276 (D.C. Cir. 1992).. ilailtidecentaiin 18

Department of Air Force v. Rose,

GE Us Se TO vitcinceninnciinnssistomnantinenneensnevtivnititves 14, 20

artment of Justice v.

Reporter’s Committee for Freedom of the Press,

489 U.S. 749, 109 S.Ct 1468,

108 L.E.2d 774 (1969) .....cesecocscsescseseseseses .20

Favish v. Office of Independent Counsel,

217 F.3d 1168 (9th Cir. 2000)............... sdiidlitiicedagiiti 19

iii

Gr P. i Vv.

166 F.3d 473 (2nd Cir. 1999)

Hunt v. F.BL

972 F.2d 286 (9th Cir. 1992)

Ingle v t of Justice

698 F.2d 259 (6th Cir. 1983)...........ceseseseeees jovemnniiee 11,15

Jones v. F.B.L,

41 F.3d 238 (6th Cir. 1992)

Lam Lek Chong v. US. D.E.A.,

292 F.2d 729 (D.C. Cir. 1991)

11, 13,15

16

Miner v. C.L.A.

88 F.3d 796 (9th Cir. 1996)..........00000

N.L.R.B. v. Robbins Tire and Rubber, Co.,

437 US. 214, 98 S.Ct. 2311,

17

57 L.Ed.2d 159 (1978) q.eosecsssssosesee

Quinon v. F.B.L, |

86 F.3d 1222 (D.C. Cir. 1996)

Rugiero v. U.S. t of i

257 F.3d 534 (6th Cir. 2001)

Rugiero v. U.S. t of i

35 F.Supp.2d 977 (E.D. Mich. 1998)..

Rugiero v. U.S. Department of Justice et al.,

1999 U.S. Dist LEXIS 4528

1,9

(E.D. Mich., March 9, 1999)

Rugiero v. United States,

513 U.S. 878, 115 S.Ct. 208,

130 L.Ed.2d 137 (1994)...

iv

Sinito v. U.S. Department of Justice,

176 F.3d 512 (D.C. Cir. 1999) oat 20

U.S. Department of State v. Ray,

502 U.S. 164, 112 S.Ct 541,

116 L.Ed.2d 526 (1991) 14,15

United States v. Rugiero,

1994 U.S. App. LEXIS 11554

CO Ce, IG, FI ceintentsicccivicinrsnnscrnenensmmemeenmoeonees 2

United States v. Rugiero,

BOSE TERT BOCs. FOGG cncceritnsnsccntnenesceiignentipincoreen 2,3

Statutes:

a Oe sii ciecieesisttitecinrichiacticaniscteitceinctatio so

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1) on 1

y 2h aly. one siinaietaiariintinaceatiniiod passim

Rules:

Fed. R. App. P. 40(a)(2).. .13

Serpette Cote Daae WO cntcccnscssctsneereevemrvensissnsininnctanmanencnres 10

Supreme Court Rule 10 (2)...........cvscsccereevecenssoncesenveeevecveowesenee 10

a GT GB iaessictnicctcrnctionivioninrnaritoreicsinnees 10

Constitutional Provisions:

US. Const. amend V. ; 2

I RI FIG Osis tercereritociininseretntittiniinninieninminmannate 2

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Patrick Rugiero, respectfully petitions for a writ

of certiorari to review the judgment of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit affirming

a district court’s denial of relief on Rugiero’s Complaint

filed under the Freedom of Information Act (“FOIA”),

5 U.S.C. §552, et seq.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion supporting the judgment presented for

review is from the United States Court of Appeals for the

Sixth Circuit and is reported as Rugiero v. U.S. Department

of Justice, 257 F.3d 534 (6th Cir. 2001), and reprinted at App.

1-26 . Panel Rehearing was denied on September 7, 2001.

(App. 49) The opinions of the district court denying relief

are reported as Rugiero v. U.S. Department of Justice, 35 F.

Supp 977 (E.D. Mich. 1998), reprinted at App. 30-48 and

Rugiero v. U.S. Department of Justice, 1999 U.S. Dist. LEXIS

4528, reprinted at App. 27-29.

JURISDICTION

The Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals issued its

opinion on July 12, 2001 and denied Rugiero’s

timely application for rehearing on September 7, 2001.

Rugiero invokes this Court's jurisdiction under

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

This case involves the Fifth and Fourteenth

Amendments to the Constitution of the United States, which

provide in relevant part:

“No person shall

...be deprived of life, liberty, or

property, without due process of

law.” U.S. Const. amend V.

“No state shall

..deny to any person within its

jurisdiction the equal protection of the

laws.” U.S. Const. amend XIV.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In June of 1992, Patrick Rugiero was convicted in a

narcotics conspiracy in the Eastern District of Michigan

following a jury trial before Judge Paul V. Gadola. Mr.

Rugiero was represented pre-trial, at trial, post-trial, at

sentencing, and on appeal by Detroit attorney N.C. Deday

Larene.

On March 22, 1994, the Sixth Circuit Court of

Appeals affirmed Mr. Rugiero’s conviction in a 2 to 1

decision, with a scathing dissent by Chief Judge Merritt.

See, United States v. Rugiero, 20 F.3d 1387, 1395 (6th Cir.

1994). On May 5, 1994, rehearing and rehearing en banc

were denied, with Chief Judge Merritt again noting his

disagreement. See, United States v. Rugiero, 1994 U.S. App.

LEXIS 11554 (6th Cir. May 5, 1994). On October 3, 1994, this

Court denied Mr. Rugiero’s petition for a Writ of Certiorari.

See, Rugiero v. United States, 513 U.S. 878, 115 S.Ct 208, 130

L.Ed.2d 137 (1994).

A number of significant irregularities attended Mr.

Rugiero’s trial. One of the irregularities was the subject of

Chief Judge Merritt's dissenting opinion. Chief Judge

Merritt wrote that he would have reversed Mr. Rugiero’s

conviction because of the prosecutor's gross violation of the

sequestration rule in the case. Government counsel

intentionally had one of the governr ent’s witnesses sit in

the courtroom during the trial, in violation of the

sequestration rule, and then staged a confrontation and

conversation between this witness and the witness who was

testifying while this witness was in the courtroom. The

clear purpose of this action was to get this witness to testify

in a manner that was consistent with the witness then

testifying on the stand. United States v. Rugiero, 20 F.3d

1387, 1395 (6th Cir. 1994) (Merritt, C.J., dissenting).

Another major irregularity arose at trial when,

during the jury’s deliberations, a television news station

reported that Mr. Rugiero’s trial attorney, N.C. Deday

Larene, had ties to organized crime and was going to be

indicted. During individual voir dire, most of the jurors

indicated that they had seen the television news leak and

that the foreman of the jury had discussed the broadcast

with other jurors. Rugiero, 20 F.3d at 1390. At around the

same time, the trial court received a note from a juror

indicating bias or partiality within the jury. That note

eventually was “withdrawn” and the jury proceeded to

render its verdict. Id.

The incident in connection with the television news

leak was the first that Mr. Rugiero learned about suspicions

concerning his attorney's direct involvement with criminal

conduct. At no time did the trial court make further inquiry

about the substance of the matter. The attorney, Larene,

was indicted in the Eastern District of Michigan soon after

the close of Mr. Rugiero’s trial. Nevertheless, he continued

to represent Mr. Rugiero for all purposes during all of the

ensuing proceedings before ‘the trial court and before the

Court of Appeals. At not time was a hearing ever

conducted in any forum to advise Mr. Rugiero about the

3

conflict of interest that arose from his lawyer's indictment

by the same prosecuting authority that was prosecuting Mr.

Rugiero. Similarly, at no time was Mr. Rugiero ever advised

by any court of the possible ramifications of such a conflict

of interest.

It has been ascertained through pending litigation

under 28 U.S.C. §2255, that even the prosecutor who tried

Mr. Rugiero’s case, AUSA Richard Delonis, was aware of

the conflict; but the U.S. Attorney's office for the Eastern

District of Michigan made an affirmative decision to

withhold this information until after Mr. Rugiero’s trial. In

contrast, the same prosecutorial office conspicuously

advised every other client M1. Larene represented during

this time period about the conflict and requested that every

other judge conduct an “on the record” conflict hearing

before letting Larene represent any other defendant.

Pursuing the matter on his own over the next couple

of years, Mr. Rugiero learned that his attorney, Mr. Larene,

had been the object of a massive criminal investigation by

several government agencies all during the pre-trial

investigation and preparation phase of Mr. Rugiero’s case

and during the trial itself. Indeed, he learned that Larene

had retained counsel of his own and had been engaged in a

vigorous effort for many months preceding and during the

Rugiero trial to try by all means possible to stave off his own

indictment. This was at the very time that Larene’s

attention and efforts were to have been devoted to Mr.

Rugiero’s defense.

Eventually, Larene was indicted along with Vito

Giacalone, the reputed mafia boss of the organized crime

family which allegedly has dominated the Detroit area for

many years. Larene and his attorneys negotiated a plea

agreement and he eventually pled guilty, was sentenced to a

term of imprisonment, and lost his license to practice law.

Mr. Rugiero had been unaware of the investigation into his

1 Larene was represented by two Washington attorneys from the

law firm of Williams and Connolly; Gerald Feffer and Steven A.

Steinbach, in addition to local counsel Robert Morgan, Esquire.

4

attorney’s affairs until the “news leak” surfaced during his

trial and, even then, he had no idea of the extent of the

government’s investigation and suspicions concerning

Larene; nor did he have any idea of Larene’s efforts on his

own behalf, undertaken at the very time his attention was

supposed to be dévoted to zealously defending Mr. Rugiero.

Mr. Rugiero’s discoveries led him, on October 28,

1996, to file a motion in the Eastern District of Michigan,

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §2255, seeking to vacate or set aside

his judgment of conviction and sentence based on, inter alia,

the denial of his Sixth Amendment right to the effective

assistance of counsel. The case was assigned to Judge Paul

V. Gadola, who referred it to Magistrate Judge Steven D.

Pepe.

That motion has now been pending before the

District Court for over five years and has been the subject of

over twenty (20) hearings and repeated orders compelling

discovery compliance, all required because of the

government's unrelenting efforts to obstruct the discovery

process and deny Mr. Rugiero any and all documents which

relate to his case and to the investigation of Deday Larene,

which we now know the government intentionally

concealed from Mr. Rugiero until the end of his trial. The

pattern of government misconduct and bad faith that

characterized the criminal trial has been overwhelmingly

continued and expanded upon in the related §2255

proceedings, all designed to thwart Mr. Rugiero’s efforts at

uncovering the truth about his lawyer.

The FOIA proceedings, the subject of this action, are

now the third forum related to Mr. Rugiero in which the

government overwhelmingly has demonstrated its bad faith

and unwillingness to come clean regarding Mr. Rugiero. It

is exactly this kind of bad faith that requires judicial scrutiny

of the government agencies’ disclosure and withholding

decisions under FOIA.

Just a glimpse at the record at each of the three

stages in Mr. Rugiero’s case demonstrates without question

that the government consistently and overwhelmingly has

5

proceeded in bad faith in connection with each and every

phase of its litigation with Mr. Rugiero - the criminal case,

the §2255 litigation, and the FOIA proceedings.

In the criminal case, as noted, government counsel

intentionally violated the sequestration order, prompting a

scathing rebuke from Chief Judge Merritt and intentionally

concealed defense counsel’s investigation and prosecution

(by the same prosecuting office) until after Mr. Rugiero’s

trial was completed.

In the §2255 litigation, it is hard to know where to

start in describing the omnipresent bad faith by the US.

Attorney's office - one of the agencies whose FOIA

disclosure decisions are at issue in the FOIA litigation. The

government constantly and intentionally has actively

concealed discoverable documents, and then withheld for

months documents and information it already had been

ordered to turn over to Mr. Rugiero. It has answered

discovery requests disingenuously (if not outright

dishonestly), maintained frivolous and untenable legal

positions, and has repeatedly misled the court and Mr.

Rugiero. One recent and egregious example of the

government's bad faith is the following: after claiming for

over three (3) years that they (the U.S. Attorney’s Office)

had lost the Larene files, in November 2000, the Case Agent,

in the course of a court ordered deposition, revealed that he

had had, all along (in an office adjoining the prosecutor's),

two file cabinets full of documents on the Larene

investigation and prosecution. Another year has passed, but

the government has yet to turn over a single document. The

district court’s scathing orders have been to no avail.

Naturally, such conduct can.and will be dealt with in the

context of those proceedings, but the conduct is relevant to

the presumption of good faith and to the level of blind trust

to be accorded to these agencies in the FOIA litigation.

The FOIA Litigation

On June 5, 1995, acting on his own, Petitioner sent

Freedom of Information Act requests to various government

agencies seeking the disclosure of any and all documents

those agencies had, related to him, his investigation, and

his prosecution. His primary purposes were to obtain any

and all Brady material applicable to him in the files of

those agencies and to obtain from those files any and all

documents relevant to the conflict of interest under

which his defense attorney for his criminal case was

operating during his trial preparation period, post-trial,

and during the trial period itself, due to the investigation

and prosecution of this attorney by the government,

through some of these very same agencies. These

agencies also had participated in concealing the conflict

from Rugiero throughout his trial and never revealed the

magnitude and true nature of its investigation against the

attorney until unequivocal documents were obtained by

court order. They left no question about just how serious

this matter was.

Mr. Rugiero was not satisfied with the responses to

the FOIA requests that he received from the agencies;

accordingly, on July 30, 1997, he timely filed a Complaint

for injunctive and declaratory relief in the United States

District Court for the Eastern District of Michigan,

pursuant to the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), 5

U.S.C. §552, et seq. He sought the production from the

various agencies of documents that were in any way

related to him. The case initially was assigned to District

Judge John C. O’Meara; however it was later transferred to

District Judge Paul V. Gadola as a case related to Mr.

Rugiero’s criminal case and his pending case under 28

U.S.C. §2255.

Judge Gadola sat on Mr. Rugiero’s criminal case? and

currently is presiding over Mr. Rugiero’s motion to vacate

or set aside his sentence under 28 U.S.C. §2255.3

On September 9, 1997, the defendants filed their

Answers, amending them on October 15, 1997. On February

18, 1998, the defendants filed motions for summary

judgment with exhibits. Soon thereafter, Judge O’Meara set

the motions down for a hearing. However, on March 11,

1998, the case was reassigned to Judge Gadola, as noted

above.

On June 24, 1998, Mr. Rugiero filed his response to

the motions for summary judgment. The defendants filed a

reply, and on September 15, 1998, the court heard oral

argument on the motions for summary judgment. - There

was no discovery and no evidentiary hearing.

On September 16, 1998, the district court entered an

Order dismissing count III of the Complaint on stipulation

of the parties. On October 19, 1998, the court entered an

Order granting in part and denying in part the motions for

summary judgment and dismissing with prejudice counts I,

Il, V, VI, VIL, VIL, IX, and XI of the Complaint. (App. 30-48)

On October 30, 1998, the Department of Justice filed

a motion for reconsideration of that part of Judge Gadola’s

Order that required production of a document the court had

inspected in camera after the agency had insisted on

withholding it.

On November 4, 1998, the court stayed its Order on

summary judgment, in light of the motion to reconsider and

on November 18, 1999, it granted in part the motion to

reconsider.

2 United States v. Rugiero, et al., District Court Case No. 90-80941.

3 Rugiero v. United States, District Court Case No: 96-CV-40376.

‘ Rugiero v. U.S. Department of Justice, 35 F. Supp.2d 977 (E.D.

Mich. 1998).

The court then granted summary judgment in favor

of the government on Count X of the Complaint. On March

9, 1999, the court entered an Order and Judgment

dismissing Count IV of the Complaint with prejudice and

dismissing the Complaint in its entirety with prejudice. See

Rugiero_v. Department of Justice, et al, 1999 US. Dist.

LEXIS 4528 (E.D. Mich. March 9, 1999)(App. 27-29).

On March 22, 1999, Mr. Rugiero filed a motion for

reconsideration. On May 7, 1999, Mr. Rugiero timely filed

his notice of appeal. On June 7, 1999, the court entered an

Order finally denying the motion for reconsideration.

Petitioner then lodged an appeal in the Sixth Circuit.

In an Opinion and Order filed July 12, 2001, the Sixth Circuit

“affirm[ed] the judgment of the district court in substantial

part, reverse[d] in part, and remand[ed] for further

proceedings.” Rugiero v. U.S. Department of Justice, 257

F.3d 534, 554 (6th Cir. 2001)(App. 1-26). Mr. Rugiero was

grateful at least for the limited remand; however, the Sixth

Circuit decided not to remand for purposes of further

consideration of Petitioner's claim of agency bad faith in the

underlying and related proceedings. About that issue, the

Sixth Circuit stated, “Rugiero has simply not pointed to

strong evidence of bad faith that calls into question the

district court’s decision not to conduct in camera review of

responsive documents.” Id. at 547 (emphasis added).5

Believing that the Sixth Circuit had overlooked ‘his

argument for remand to the district court, so that the record

could be expanded relative to bad faith, Petitioner timely

submitted a motion for panel rehearing, which was denied

by the Sixth Circuit on September 7, 2001.

Rugiero’s trial counsel in the FOIA proceedings mistakenly

t district judge presided over the related

cases would be a part of his

FOIA record and so the evidence of bad faith from each proceeding

would be before the Court. Clearly that was an error; accordingly, Mr.

Rugiero sought a remand for the expansion of the record to put all

relevant evidence from the related cases before the Court.

9

It

|

4

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Rule 10 of the Supreme Court Rules sets forth the

character of the reasons that this Court considers with

respect to a petition for review on a writ of certigrari. Rule

10(a) provides that one relevant consideration is whether a

“United States court of appeals has entered a decision in

conflict with the decision of another United States court of

appeals on the same important matter...” Rule 10(c)

suggests that another relevant consideration is whether “...a

United States court of appeals has decided an important

question of federal law that has not been, but should be

settled by this Court ....” This case presents elements which

directly fit under both of these sections of Rule 10.

This petition is prompted by the complete lack of

both uniformity and definition among the circuits as to what

constitutes agency “bad faith” in the context of providing

citizens with the information or documents that they seek

through the Freedom of Information Act and as to what

universe is relevant for the evaluation of the same (i.e.

whether the “bad faith” examination should be limited to

the agency’s conduct in the FOIA proceedings or whether

conduct in parallel or related proceedings is relevant as

well).

No circuit provides a meaningful definition with

clarity of the standards by which “bad faith” is to be

measured or defined and, to the extent defining the concept

has been attempted, there is great variance among the

circuits. Similarly, there is no uniformity as to the relevant

universe for examination.

As petitioner discusses hereinbelow, various circuit

courts have made reference to agency bad faith (or related

terms and expressions) in considering the merits of

claims made by litigants in FOIA proceedings. The result

from a consideration of all relevant decisions from around

the country is that one is left unable to find any guidance

with any sense of certainty or uniformity as to what

constitutes agency “bad faith” such that greater judicial

10

scrutiny of the agency’s failures to disclose information is

required to assist the citizen in his/her quest for

information from his/her government. This Court must

establish clear and meaningful standards in this area and

provide direction on this important matter to resolve the

lack of wuniformity/consistency and to remove the

arbitrariness that presently exists from the lack of

meaningful standards.

The lack of clarity and definition leaves litigants,

government agencies, and the courts themselves

without proper guidance in addressing the issue of

agency bad faith in the context of the Freedom of

Information Act. .

ARGUMENT

The Sixth Circuit determined in this case that Mr.

Rugiero had not made a showing of agency bad faith

sufficient to warrant remand for in camera inspection of

selected documents or remand to expand the record

regarding agency bad faith. It arrived at its decision ©

without any specified criteria vis-a-vis what constitutes

agency bad faith, let alone “sufficient” or “strong” bad faith.

It has modified its earlier decisions by now introducing the

amorphous concept of “strong” “bad faith,” without more,

and this in untenable.

The primary underlying question that this case

presents is what a FOIA litigant needs to show to obtain a

remand for in camera inspection and/or a remand for

expansion of the record based on an allegation of agency

bad faith.

In the district court decision underlying this matter

the court wrote, regarding Petitioner's claim of agency bad

faith, that, “in this case, plaintiff has come forth with no

substantial showing of evidence. Without some substantial

evidence of the type required by Ingle, and recognized in

Jones, this court will decline plaintiff's request to conduct an

11

in camera review of the documents related to Count 1.”

Rugiero v. U.S. Department of Justice, 35 F. Supp.2d 977, 983

(E.D. Mich. 1998).

Petitioner's claim that the agencies’ bad faith

warranted a remand for in camera inspection was

premised on two distinct arguments. First, Petitioner

argued that there was record evidence in the proceedings

below sufficient to warrant a remand to conduct an in

camera review. Second, Petitioner argued that if the

appellate court determined that the record evidence was

insufficient to warrant remand for an in camera review,

Petitioner at least had made a sufficiently colorable claim

of agency bad faith to warrant a remand to expand the

record.

Additionally, in both his initial brief and his reply

brief on appeal, Mr. Rugiero requested a remand for

the expansion of the record and to give the district judge

a chance to have before him all of the evidence of

agency bad faith that was available from the parallel and

previous related proceedings, but that trial counsel

erroneously had assumed were automatically a part of the

record because the same district judge presided over all

such proceedings.®

The Opinion of the Sixth Circuit was silent on the

issue of Petitioner's request that the matter be remanded for

expansion of the record. Mr. Rugiero argued on rehearing

that the Court had overlooked his requests in this regard

. Trial counsel erred both as to the state of the record and as to

the district judge’s actual familiarity with the record in the related

proceedings. He mistakenly thought that the related proceedings

automatically would be a part of the record. He also assumed that the

district judge was fully familiar with the related §2255 proceedings,

where some of the most egregious bad faith had occurred, not knowing

that the §2255 case actually had been referred to a magistrate judge and

it was that judge who had been forced to conduct over 20 hearings and

issue orders of reprimand and compulsion concerning the government's

conduct in discovery.

12

and that rehearing was, therefore, appropriate under Rule

40(a)(2) of the Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure.’

? The following are references to Mr. Rugiero’s attempts to obtain

a remand to the district court for the expansion of the record:

In his Initial Appellate Brief (IAB) Petitioner specifically

requested that the matter be remanded to the district court so that the

record could be expanded relative to evidence of government bad faith in

the underlying and parallel proceedings. Petitioner's requests included:

1. “The record needs further development to highlight the

evidence of bad faith from the related parallel and

underlying litigation so it can properly be evaluated as this

Court instructed in Jones.” (IAB at 29, n.12).

2. “...[(Clounsel below assumed that the lower court was

familiar with the occurrences in the § 2255 litigation and did

not further supplement this record. That is one of the

reasons it might be most appropriate to remand this case for

further record development.” (IAB at 36).

3. “.,.[T]he record needs further development on remand if it is

fully and accurately to reflect the abundant evidence of bad

faith in the related proceedings.” (IAB at 38).

4. “The Court must remand to the lower court

for...development of the record.” (IAB at 39).

In the Reply Brief (RB) Petitioner made additional requests for remand for

expansion of the record relative to government bad faith in the underlying

and related proceedings. These requests included the following:

1. “These affirmative and direct misrepresentations of the

record require a remand of this case for supplementation of

the record to reflect the record already developed below in

the § 2255 litigation.” (RB at 7).

2. “It may be, in the end, that the appropriate course for this

Court is to remand this case for further development of the

record so that all the true facts relevant to the issues herein,

and especially the ‘bad faith’ issue under Jones can be fully

presented to the Court in all material regards.” (RB at 7-8, =

3. “Mr. Rugiero respectfully suggests a remand

supplementation so that this Court can have all the he

facts before it.” (RB at 9).

4. “The first step must be to remand the case so that the formal

record of this case can be supplemented.” (RB at 14).

5. “[I}n the trial court the record should be supplemented to

first give the district judge a chance to evaluate the claim

under Jones with all the relevant evidence in the record, and

secondly, to give this Court a chance, if necessary, to

~ evaluate the relevant considerations on a competent record.”

(RB at 21).

13

On Petitioner’s claim that the appellate record, in its

present state, warranted remand for in camera review

because of agency bad faith, the Sixth Circuit stated,

“Rugiero has simply not pointed to strong evidence of bad

faith that calls into question the district court's decision not

to conduct an in camera review of responsive documents.”

Rugiero v. USS. Dept. of Justice, 257 F.3d 534, 547 (6th Cir.

2001). ;

It is the phrase “not pointed to strong evidence of

bad faith that calls into question” (emphasis added) that is

central to this petition for writ of certiorari. What

constitutes “strong evidence of bad faith?”

At the heart of this matter rests the question of what

constitutes a sufficient showing of agency bad faith; a

showing sufficient to overcome the presumption of good

faith accorded government agency affidavits in FOIA

proceedings.

In the district court proceedings, the court wrote,

“plaintiff has come forth with no substantial showing of

such evidence” [referring to “evidence” of agency bad faith].

In the appellate court proceedings the court wrote that

“Rugiero has simply not pointed to strong evidence of bad

faith.” (Emphasis added) There do not appear to be any

criteria or standards that are enunciated by the various

courts to provide guidance to plaintiffs, government

agencies, and courts themselves as to what constitutes a

sufficient showing of agency bad faith.

This Court and each circuit court of appeals has

recognized the inherent imbalance of FOIA and the methods

for proceeding that have developed for lack of more efficient

alternatives. See e.g., Department of Air Force v. Rose, 425

U.S. 352, 360-61 (1973); United States Dep’t of State v. Ray,

502 US. 164, 173 (1991).

This imbalance, which gives such great deference to

the agency without oversight carries with it the critical need

to be able to trust that the agency will fulfill its duties

appropriately and with the requisite faithfulness to the

presumption of openness that the Act intended and to

14

which the citizenry is entitled. Id. The imbalance also,

therefore, requires clear standards as to when the agency

has evinced bad faith with respect to such duties, thereby

making appropriate and necessary outside scrutiny, even if

limited to in camera sampling inspections which would

avoid sacrificing the efficiency of the courts in the mix.

In Ingle v. United States Dept. of Justice, 698 F.2d

259, 265 (6th Cir. 1983), the coutt held that “The court is

entitled to accept the credibility of the affidavits [referring to

government agency affidavits in support of the agency’s

position in FOIA matters] so long as it has no reason to

question the good faith of the agency.” (Emphasis added).

Ingle, however, contains no description of what might

constitute an adequate basis for calling into question the

presumption of good faith accorded agency affidavits.

Under any circumstances, however, Mr. Rugiero certainly

adduced ample evidence to cross the first hurdle, raising

suspicion (and therefore greater scrutiny); but the Court

here then added the element of the strength of the evidence

and the sufficiency of the bad faith, without anything more

concrete.

In Jones v. F.B.I., 41 F.3d 238 (6th Cir. 1994), the court

seemed to have settled the question as to the relevant

universe for examining agency bad faith and dealt with the

first inquiry as well, setting up the issue in presumption

format. The court held that “...agency actions and affidavits

are normally entitled to a presumption of good faith. US.

Department of State v. Ray, 502 U.S. 164, 112 S.Ct 541, 550,

116 L.Ed.2d 526 (1991). This presumption may be overcome

where there is evidence of bad faith in the agency's handling

of the FOIA request. Even where there is no evidence that

the agency acted in bad faith with regard to the FOIA action

itself there may be evidence of bad faith or illegality with

regard to the underlying activities which generated the

documents at issue.” Id. at 243. However, in Jones, as with

Ingle, the court did not offer any definitions or criteria

relative to what would constitute a sufficient showing by a

litigant of agency bad faith.

15

In Allen v. CLA., 636 F.2d 1287, 1298 (D.C. Cir.

1980), the court held that “Where there is evidence of bad

faith on the part of the agency, the representations of the

agency lose all trustworthiness. In camera inspection in

such situations is ‘plainly necessary’.” (Emphasis added).

As with the other opinions, though, the Allen court failed to

give any substance to its pronouncements. Allen includes

no language which defines “bad faith on the part of the

agency,” nor does Allen define what is meant by “lose all

trustworthiness.” In the absence of such definition or

criteria, litigants, government agencies, and the courts

themselves are left without specific guidance regarding

when and where to determine that bad faith has been

demonstrated.

In American Friends Service Committee __v.

Department of Defense, 831 F.2d 441, 444 (3rd Cir. 1987), the

court held that “An agency is entitled to summary judgment

when the agency’s affidavits are not contraverted by either

contrary evidence in the record nor by evidence of agency

bad faith. (quoting Abbotts _v. Nuclear Regulatory

Comunission, 766 F.2d 604, 660 (D.C. Cir. 1985))” (Emphasis

added).

In Carter v. U.S. Department of Commerce, 830 F.2d

388 (D.C. Cir. 1987) the Court held that “If there is evidence

of agency bad faith ...then in camera inspection may be

necessary to insure [sic] that agencies do not misuse the

FOIA exemptions to conceal non-exempt information.” Id.

at 393. (Emphasis added). The Carter court went on to note

that “Where there is evidence of bad faith on the part of the

agency...in camera inspection is plainly necessary.” Id. at

393. Finally, the Carter court commented that “there must

be tangible evidence of bad faith.” Id. at 393 (emphasis

added). =

In Lam Lek Chong v. US. D.E.A., 929 F.2d 729, 735

(D.C. Cir. 1991) the court held that “In camera inspection

may be appropriate...when evidence of agency bad faith is

before the court.” (Emphasis added). In Quinon v. F.B.1., 86

F.3d 1222, 1228 (D.C. Cir. 1996) the court held that “In

16

camera review may be particularly appropriate

when...there is evidence of bad faith on the part of the

agency.” (Emphasis added).

In Miner v. CLA, 88 F.3d 796 (9th Cir. 1996)

the court held that “Upon a showing of agency bad

faith, a court must not accord agency affidavits

‘substantial weight.’ Instead, a court must review the FOIA

request with heightened scrutiny.” Id at 803 (Emphasis

added).

In Grand Central Partnership, Inc. v. Cuomo, 166

F.3d 473, 489 (2d Cir. 1999), the court held that FOIA

petitioner had not made a sufficient showing of agency “bad

faith,” without giving an adequate clue as to what showing

would have been sufficient.

So a variety of circuits (Second, Third, Sixth, Ninth,

and the District of Columbia) have used the term “bad

faith” relative to FOIA proceedings, but not one of the

circuits has given substantive definition to what the term

means; nor has any of the circuits offered criteria that

should be applied in assessing the presence, or lack of “bad

faith.” The cases make clear that agency bad faith is

relevant; but they do not provide any clarity as to what it is,

what is “sufficient” to trigger scrutiny (overcome the

presumption of good faith), nor do they uniformly address

the question of what is the relevant universe for

examination.

Some additional FOIA cases, without using the term

“bad faith,” have addressed the issue of what a litigant must

prove to overcome the presumption of good faith accorded

representations made by government agencies and

government officials in FOIA cases; but still the issue

remains unclear and the cases risk, if not invite,

arbitrariness.

In Castaneda v. United States, 757 F.2d 1010, 1012.

(9th Cir. 1985) the court held that “Where it appears that the

motives or truthfulness of the [government official] are in

doubt, the public need for supervision and disclosure is

17

necessarily heightened.” (Emphasis added). What is the

standard for assessing whether or not the “motives or

truthfulness” of a government official are “in doubt?”

In Davis v. U.S. Department of Justice, 968 F.2d 1276,

1282 (D.C. Cir. 1992) the court held that, “When

governmental misconduct is alleged as the justification for

disclosure, the public interest is insubstantial unless the

requester puts forward compelling evidence that the

agency denying the FOIA request is engaged in illegal

activity and shows that the information sought is necessary

in order to confirm or refute that evidence.” (Emphasis

added). There is no definition of “compelling evidence” nor

is there any criteria that specifies what constitutes “illegal

activity” that requires a judicial conviction in a court of law

of the subject agency. That would be far beyond the pale of

what a FOIA petitioner could prove. It is, however, the lack

of precision and definition that this Petitioner is attempting

to highlight. The amorphous language of the case decisions

leaves a litigant unable to define and plan a knowledgeable

strategy for prevailing.

In Hunt v. F.B.L, 972 F.2d 286, 289-90 (9th Cir. 1992)

the court held that “Where there is no evidence...that there

was wrongdoing on the part of a government employee

the public interest in disclosure is diminished.” (Emphasis

added). The Hunt court went on to note that “The public

interest in ensuring the integrity and the reliability of

government investigation procedures is greater where there

is some evidence of wrongdoing on the part of the

government official.” (Emphasis added). As with all cases

cited above, here too there is no specificity. There is no

definition of terms, criteria, or standards. What does

“wrongdoing on the part of a government employee” mean?

What constitutes “ some evictence , bss

F.3d 120, 124 (D.C. Cir. 1999), iccoatt bald at “[Litigant]

must show ‘compelling evidence that the agency denying

the FOIA request is engaged in illegal activity, and access

to the [sought after information] is necessary in order to

18

confirm or refute that evidence.’ Safecard. 926 F.2d at 1205-

06.” (Emphasis added). The Accuracy in Media court went

on to note, “While we agree that falsification by the agencies

would show government illegality - under the present facts,

indeed, illegality on a massive scale - there is no persuasive

evidence of such falsification, much less compelling

evidence.” (Emphasis added).

As with all the other cases cited, here too there is no

uefinition of terms; the decisions do not include any criteria

or standards to be applied in determining when a litigant’s

burden of proof is satisfied.

In Favish v. Office of Independent Counsel, 217 F.3d

1168, 1172-73 (9th Cir. 2000), the court held that “nothing in

the statutory command conditions agency compliance on

the requesting party showing that he has knowledge of

misfeasance by the agency, although at times such

knowledge has been referred to as enhancing the urgency

of the request.” (Emphasis added). What constitutes

“knowledge of misfeasance by the agency?”

In Castaneda, supra (“motives or truthfulness...are

in doubt’); David, supra (“requester puts forward

compelling evidence that agency...is engaged in illegal

activity”); Hunt, supra (“wrongdoing on the part of a

government employee” and “some _ evidence of

wrongdoing”); and Accuracy in Media, supra (“compelling

evidence that the agency...is engaged in illegal activity”);

the courts have used language that suggests certain

standards that must be satisfied by a litigant seeking a

determination that the presumption of good faith usually

accorded government agencies must be set aside, and

government affidavits must be examined with a far higher

degree of scrutiny. However, the suggestion of standards is

not followed by a definition or description of such

standards.

CONCLUSION

tes Desatenn oh tne tee 489 US. 749, 109 S.Ct 1468, 103

L.Ed.2d 744 (1989) (quoting Department of the Air Force v.

Rose, 425 U.S. 352, 272, 96 S.Ct 1592, 48 L.Ed.2d 11 (1976)),

the Supreme court gave concise definition to the

purpose of the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) when it

wrote, “The basic purpose of the Freedom of Information

Act is to ‘open agency action to the light of- public

scrutiny’.” 489 U.S. at 772. In N.L.R.B. v. Robbins Tire and

Rubber Co., 437 U.S. 214, 98 S.Ct 2311, 57 L.Ed.2d 159

(1978), the Supreme Court held that “The basic purpose of

the FOIA is to insure an informed citizenry, vital to the

functioning of a democratic society, needed to check

against corruption and to hold the governors

accountable to the governed.” 437 U.S. at 242. In Sinito v.

U.S. Department of Justice, 176 F.3d 512, 514 (D.C. Cir.

1999), the court recited two primary sources of the FOIA

and added an observation of its own. The Sinito

court quoted the 120 Cong. Rec. 17,038 (1974) (Statement

of Senator Weicker) to the effect that “none of the abuses

[by government officials] that we have seen come out

of this system would have happened if more people,

more eyes, more ears, had been on the scene.” The Sinito

court went on to cite H.R. Rep. No. 89-1497, reprinted

in 1966 US.C.C.A.N. 2418, 2419 thusly: “The FOIA

was enacted because ‘the weed of improper secrecy

had been permitted to blossom and was choking out

the basic right to know.” The Sinito court concluded

its recitation of some of the history of the FOIA by

noting, “one of [FOIA’s] paramount goals...is to

deter secrecy in government and the corruption it

can breed.”

How then are the purposes of FOIA, as recited by the

Supreme Court and reflected upon by the Sinito court, to be

achieved where there exist allegations of agency bad faith?

How is a litigant to approach meeting his/her burden of

proof in the context of allegations of agency bad faith when

the comments of various and numerous federal appellate

courts are devoid of criteria or standards for determining

agency bad faith?

It is those questions that Petitioner seeks answers in

this petition for writ of certiorari.

Respectfully Submitted,

Patrick Rugiero |

By Counsel

David I. Schoen

Counsel of Record

2800 Zelda Road, Suite 100-6

Montgomery, Alabama 36101

(334) 395-6611

21

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Appendix to Petition

Page

Opinion

United States Court of Appeals

for the Sixth Circuit

Bille I reecccrnnnecepneresscveqnevorntnnveseeencenn App. 1

Memorandum Opinion,

Order and Judgment of

The Honorable Paul V. Gadola

United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Michigan

Southern Division

Re: Dismissing Complaint with Prejudice

GIREIOG BARI D, BOD D ovaecccerccsecesescevesesrvsnencccwsceene App. 27

Memorandum Opinion of

The Honorable Paul V. Gadola

Re: Granting in Part and Denying in Part

Defendants’ Motions for Summary Judgment

entered October 19, 1998 ........cserererereererereseeenes App. 30

Order

United States Court of Appeals

for the Sixth Circuit

Re: Denying Petition for Rehearing

entered September 7, 2001 ..........s:ssssessessseserereees App. 49

App. i

Case No. 99-1608

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

Patrick Rugiero,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.

United States Department of Justice;

Department of Treasury,

Defendants-Appellees.

Argued: November 2, 2000

Decided and Filed: July 12, 2001

[Entered: July 12, 2001]

Before: KRUPANSKY, BATCHELDER, and

GILMAN, Circuit Judges.

COUNSEL

ARGUED: David I. Schoen, Montgomery, Alabama, for

Appellant. William L. Woodard, ASSISTANT UNITED

STATES ATTORNEY, Detroit, Michigan, for Appellees.

ON BRIEF: David I. Schoen, Montgomery, Alabama, for

Appellant. William L. Woodard, ASSISTANT UNITED

STATES ATTORNEY, Detroit, Michigan, for Appellees.

App. 1

OPINION

ALICE M. BATCHELDER, Circuit Judge. Patrick

Rugiero filed requests with eleven components of the

United States Departments of Justice and Treasury under

the Freedom of Information Act, 5 U.S.C. § 552 ("FOIA" or

"Act"), for information regarding himself. Unsatisfied with

the responses he received, Rugiero filed a complaint seeking

declaratory and injunctive relief against all eleven divisions.

Prior to commencement of discovery, the defendants filed

motions for summary judgment, which the district court

granted as to most of the defendant components. Rugiero v.

United States Dep't of Justice, 35 F. Supp. 2d 977 (E.D. Mich.

1998). When those remaining processed Rugiero's FOIA

request or released particular documents, the district court

dismissed these defendants. Rugiero moved for

reconsideration, but the district court denied the motion as

untimely. For the reasons set forth below, we affirm in part,

reverse in part, and remand for further proceedings

consistent with this opinion.

I. Statement of Facts

A. Rugiero's Trial and Conviction

On June 19, 1992, a jury convicted Rugiero of

distributing cocaine and conspiracy to distribute, or possess

with intent to distribute, cocaine and heroin, but returned a

verdict of not guilty to charges of distributing heroin,

‘intimidating a witness, and using a firearm during a violent

crime. United States v. Rugiero, 804 F. Supp. 925, 928 (E.D.

Mich. 1992). On the evening following submission of the

case to the jury, local news broadcasts identified Rugiero's

defense counsel, N.C. Deday LaRene, as the target of a

federal criminal investigation for his alleged ties to

App. 2

organized crime figures. Two days later, a juror passed a

note to the court expressing concern about the deliberations.

Shortly thereafter, the jury indicated that it had reached a

verdict, and the juror who authored the first note sent a

second note to the court asking that the first note be

disregarded. After receiving the verdicts, the court polled

each juror individually and assured itself that, although

several jurors had seen or heard about the news report,

outside prejudicial information did not influence the

verdicts.

The district court denied Rugiero's motion for a new

trial based on the prejudice resulting from outside

influences on the jury. Id. at 931. We affirmed the conviction

on appeal. United States v. Rugiero, 20 F.3d 1387 (6th Cir.) (2-

1 decision), cert. denied, 513 US. 878 (1994). LaRene

represented Rugiero in all phases of his criminal trial and

appeal, and Rugiero claims that during the course of his

criminal trial he never knew—and that the government

withheld from him _ information—that the federal

government was preparing to indict LaRene. Viewing his

attorney's impending indictment as a conflict of interest that

prejudiced his defense at trial and on appeal, Rugiero has

filed an action under 28 U.S.C. § 2255 seeking to set aside his

conviction. Frustrated by the government's purported

obfuscation of his requests for discovery and alleged

misconduct in the section 2255 proceeding, Rugiero turned

to the FOIA as an alternative means of learning information

to use in his efforts to set aside his conviction. The same

district court judge has presided over all of these actions, the

criminal trial, the section 2255 action, and this FOIA case.

App. 3

B. Rugiero's FOIA Requests

The complaint in this case identifies the eleven

components from which Rugiero requested records in

separate counts. The following defendants figure

prominently in the discussion in this appeal: the Executive

Office of the United States Attorneys ("EOUSA") named in

Count IV; the United States Secret Service ("USSS"); the

Internal Revenue Service ("IRS"); the Tax Division of the

Department of Justice ("DOJ Tax"); and the Drug

Enforcement Agency ("DEA") named in Count XI.

Rugiero requested, pursuant to the FOIA, "a copy of

any and all records, documents and any type of information

that your agency has or had in its possession that is in any

way connected to, related to or even remote [sic] in

reference to my name." Each defendant responded to the

request by searching its records, which resulted in

production of over one thousand pages of responsive

documents in total, with the vast majority withheld in full or

in part pursuant to claims of statutory exemption under the

Act. Three defendants, the USSS, IRS, and DOJ Tax, Iccated

no responsive documents.

The EOUSA, United States Marshals Service, and the

DEA each conducted additional searches either at the

administrative appeals level or in response to this suit and

identified new documents subject to disciosure in response

to Rugiero's FOIA request. The IRS asked Rugiero to narrow

the scope of his request, and he identified all "Criminal

Investigation Division records that may have been compiled

between the years 1984 and 1993 inclusive" as the object of

his FOIA query.

During the district court proceedings, DOJ Tax

maintained that it never received Rugiero's FOIA request.

Rugiero, 35 F. Supp. 2d at 986. When Rugiero produced a

copy of it, however, the district court ordered DOJ Tax to

process the request immediately. Id. Once DOJ Tax

complied, the district court granted the division's motion for

summary judgment.

Also, Rugiero contested the EOUSA's withholding of

several specific documents. Document 2 is a letter from the

federal prosecutor in Rugiero's criminal case to LaRene

regarding intimidating conduct and threats directed at

jurors and other third parties associated with Rugiero's

criminal trial. Because the document had already been

disclosed to Rugiero’s defense counsel, the district court

ordered the EOUSA to release the document in its entirety

to Rugiero, id. at 984, though the court later modified this

order to redact the names of jurors and third parties. The

district judge conducted an in camera review of Document 3,

a letter from a federal prosecutor to an FBI agent regarding

jury tampering in Rugiero's criminal case, Document 5, a

document on which the United States Probation Department

relied in preparing Rugiero's presentence report, and

Documents 9 and 10, allegedly containing correspondence

between a federal prosecutor and third parties regarding the

investigation of LaRene. Id. at 984-85. Upon review, the

court declined to order the EOUSA to produce any of these

documents. Id.

II. Standard of Review

An agency's denial of a FOIA request is reviewed by

a district court de novo. 5 U.S.C. § 552(a)(4)(B). Similarly,

this court reviews the propriety of a district court's grant of

summary judgment in a FOIA proceeding de novo. Abraham

& Rose, P.L.C. v. United States, 138 F.3d 1075, 1078 (6th Cir.

1998) (citing Detroit Free Press, Inc. v. Department of Justice, 73

F.3d 93, 95 (6th Cir. 1996)). Summary judgment is proper if

"the pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories, and

admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if any, show

that there is no genuine issue as to any material fact and that

the moving party is entitled to a judgment as a matter of

law." Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c). When reviewing a motion for

App. 5

summary judgment, the evidence, all facts, and any

inferences that may be drawn from the facts must be viewed

in the light most favorable to the nonmoving party.

Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574,

587 (1986). To prevail, the non-movant must show sufficient

evidence to create a genuine issue of material fact. Klepper v.

First Am. Bank, 916 F.2d 337, 342 (6th Cir. 1990). A mere

scintilla of evidence is insufficient; "there must be evidence

on which the jury could reasonably find for the [non-

movant]." Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 US. 242, 252

(1986). Entry of summary judgment is appropriate "against a

party who fails to make a showing sufficient to establish the

existence of an element essential to that party's case, and on

which that party will bear the burden of proof at trial."

Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 322 (1986).

Ill. Applicable Provisions of the FOIA

The FOIA generally provides that every federal

agency shall promptly make available upon request records

reasonably described. 5 U.S.C. § 552(a)(3)(A). Under the Act,

an agency may not withhold or limit the availability of any

record, unless one of the FOIA's specific exceptions applies.

Id. § 522(d). These exceptions are to be narrowly construed,

Department of the Interior v. Klamath Water Users Protective

Ass'n, 121 S. Ct. 1060, 1065 (2001) (quoting United States

Dep't of Justice v. Tax Analysts, 492 U.S. 136, 151 (1989)), and

the burden is on the agency to justify its action. 5 U.S.C. §

552(a)(4)(B). Therefore, the structure of the Act reflects "a

general philosophy of full agency disclosure unless

information is exempted under clearly delineated statutory

language." Department of the Air Force v. Rose, 425 U.S. 352,

360-61 (1976) (quotation omitted).

To ensure the breadth of disclosure, the Act

authorizes courts to examine documents in camera when

reviewing the propriety of an agency's withholdings. 5

USC. § 552/a)(4)(B). In camera review is a discretionary

measure taken after consideration of: (1) judicial economy;

App. 6

(2) actual agency bad faith, either in the FOIA action or in

the underlying activities that generated the records

requested; (3) strong public interest; and (4) whether the

parties request in camera review. Ingle v. Department of

Justice, 698 F.2d 259, 267 (6th Cir. 1983), overruled on other

grounds by United States Dep't of Justice v. Landano, 508 U.S.

165 (1993). This circuit, however, encourages use of in camera

review sparingly, when no other procedure allows review of

the agency's response to a FOIA request. Id.

Procedurally, district courts typically dispose of

FOIA cases on summary judgment before a plaintiff can

conduct discovery. Jones v. FBI, 41 F.3d 238, 242 (6th Cir.

1994). This posture creates a situation in which a plaintiff

must argue that the agency's withholdings exceed the scope

of the statute, although only the agency is in a position to

know whether it has complied with the FOIA unless the

court reviews a potentially massive number of documents in

camera. Id. One means developed to address this situation is

the use of a "Vaughn index," a routine device through which

the agency describes the documents responsive to a FOIA

request and indicates the reasons for redactions or

withholdings in sufficient detail to allow a court to make an

independent assessment of the claims for exemptions from

disclosure under the Act. Id. at 241-42; Vaughn v. Rosen, 484

F.2d 820 (D.C. Cir. 1973). Ordinarily, the agency may justify

its claims of exemption through detailed affidavits, which

are entitled to a presumption of good faith. Jones, 41 F.3d at

242 (citing United States Dep't of State v. Ray, 502 U.S. 164,

179 (1991)). Evidence of bad faith on the part of the agency

can overcome this presumption, even when the bad faith

concerns the underlying activities that generated the FOIA

request rather than the agency's conduct in the FOIA action

itself. Id. at 242-43. Unless evidence contradicts the

government's affidavits or establishes bad faith, the court's

primary role is to review the adequacy of the affidavits and

other evidence. Ingle, 698 F.2d at 265 (quoting Cox v. United

States Dep't of Justice, 576 F.2d 1302, 1312 (8th Cir. 1978));

App. 7

Silets v. United States Dep't of Justice, 945 F.2d 227, 231 (7th

Cir. 1991) (citing Kimberlin v. Department of Treasury, 774 F.2d

204 (7th Cir. 1985)). “If the Government fairly describes the

content of the material withheld and adequately states its

grounds for nondisclosure, and if those grounds are

reasonable and consistent with the applicable law, the

district court should uphold the government's position."

Ingle, 698 F.2d at 265 (quoting Cox, 576 F.2d at 1312).

IV. Bad Faith

Rugiero's most insistent argument is that evidence of

the government's bad faith in this FOIA action, the parallel

section 2255 proceeding, and the underlying criminal

conviction militate in favor of in camera review of at least a

random sample of the documents responsive to his FOIA

requests. A showing of bad faith would rebut the

presumption of regularity the government enjoys in

responding to FOIA requests, Jones, 41 F.3d at 242, and

would weigh heavily in the decision to conduct an in camera

review of responsive documents withheld or redacted. Ingle,

698 F.2d at 267.

Rugiero offers the saga of Document 2 as the best

example of bad faith in these FOIA proceedings. The

EOUSA's Vaughn index describes the document as

"[c]orrespondence from AUSA to attorneys re: jury

tampering" and indicates that its contents involve

"discussions with jurors, third party individuals, and

threats, intimidating conduct directed at and reported by

several jurors in course of Rugiero prosecution." Pursuant to

5 U.S.C. § 552(b)(6) and (7)(C), the EOUSA initially withheld

the entire document. Rugiero, 35 F. Supp. 2d at 984. Noting |

that a copy of the letter had been sent to LaRene, the district

court ordered the document released in its entirety to

Rugiero. Id. Later, the court reconsidered and allowed the

EOUSA to redact the names of individuals in the letter.

Disputing the characterization of the contents of the letter,

Rugiero invites us to review its contents. In relevant part,

App. 8

the correspondence redacted pursuant to 5 US.C.

§ 552(b)(7)(C) describes a discussion a prosecutor had with

jurors following the criminal trial:

Having talked to juror [7C], I made a general

inquiry of the several jurors who were still

present, asking them if they had encountered

any unusual events during the course of the

trial. Juror [7C] said that, on one occasion,

[7C] noted a [7C] colored vehicle driving

slowly down [7C] block as if the driver were

searching for an address, but that event had

no impact upon [7C's] role as a juror.

Additionally, juror [7C] advised that in

travelling home after court one day, a car

which [7C] believed to be occupied by [7C]

[7C] on the freeway. While that event

bothered [7C], it did not preclude [7C] from

deciding the case solely upon the evidence

and, in fact, finding [one of Rugiero's co-

defendants] not guilty. No other jurors

reported any unusual events occurring to

them during the course of the trial. I did hear

later, however, that some of the jurors were

disturbed by the fact that an investigator,

apparently retained by the defense, had

contacted or tried to make contact with them.

In response to Rugiero's motion for reconsideration of the

order allowing the EOUSA to redact portions of this letter,

the district court concluded that "the document can fairly be

read to contain exactly the information DOJ and EOUSA

indicated that the document contained." We agree. Though

the document nowhere uses the words "threat" or

"intimidation," from the perspective of the jurors involved,

this characterization is fair. More importantly, the

description of the document in the Vaughn index appears

accurate. Although Rugiero expresses outrage that the

App. 9

EOUSA has redacted portions of a document already

released to his attorney, we have clearly held that no

diminution of privacy interests occurs despite the fact that

the identifying information is already publicly available.

Abraham & Rose, 138 F.3d at 1083. Therefore, these

redactions were proper, and upon inspection Rugiero's

prime example of bad faith on the part of the government in

this proceeding amounts to nothing more than proper

application of the law.

With regard to bad faith elsewhere in this action, the

district court specifically found that Rugiero had failed to

offer any such evidence with respect to the defendants that

identified responsive documents, except the EOUSA.

Rugiero, 35 F. Supp. 2d at 983, 985. These findings provided

the basis for the district judge's refusal to review the

documents in camera. Id. Although he failed to make a

similar finding explicitly with regard to the other

defendants, their lack of bad faith is readily discernible.

Because the USSS, IRS, and DOJ Tax found no responsive

documents and DOJ Tax required prodding from the district

court to conduct its search, Rugiero constructs an argument

of bad faith dependent on the adequacy of these defendants'

searches. Yet even an inadequate search does not necessarily

imply bad faith, and the record lacks any evidence

supporting Rugiero's argument that the USSS, IRS, or DOJ

Tax acted in bad faith in responding to the FOIA requests.

With respect to the EOUSA, the district judge reviewed

several documents, in addition to Document 2, in camera.

That review resulted in no action other than the modified

order producing Document 2 with redactions. Rugiero

contends that, since the EOUSA initially sought to withhold

Document 2 in its entirety, the district court's release of the

document should trigger heightened scrutiny of others. This

argument overlooks the in camera review of the other

documents from which the district court concluded that the

EOUSA properly withheld materials Rugiero sought to have

released. Moreover, one instance of failing to release a

App. 10

record—without more—does not constitute bad faith,

especially when as here the agency has processed a

voluminous body of responsive documents.

Rugiero also contends that bad faith in the section

2255 proceeding and his criminal trial obligated the district

court to conduct an in camera review of the responsive

documents. With respect to the section 2255 action, the

parties argue whether the government has played a "shell

game" by telling Rugiero there that he can obtain documents

for the collateral challenge to his conviction in this FOIA

action while saying here that he can receive material

through discovery in the section 2255 proceeding.

Regarding the criminal trial, the parties debate whether the

failure to disclose LaRene’'s then-impending indictment

constituted bad faith. Relying on the line of cases originating

in Holloway v. Arkansas, 435 U.S. 475 (1978) (holding that an

attorney's conflict of interest gives rise to a claim of

ineffective assistance of counsel under the Sixth

Amendment and establishes prejudice per se), see also Riggs

v. United States, 209 F.3d 828, 831-32 & n.1 (6th Cir. 2000),

Rugiero maintains that the collateral nature of bad faith in

FOIA proceedings under Jones obligated the district judge to

conduct an in camera review of redacted and withheld

responsive documents.

We express no opinion on the merits of Rugiero's

argument that he suffered a deprivation of his Sixth

Amendment rights. That question is the subject of the

section 2255 action and is not properly before us. We do

believe, however, that Rugiero misunderstands our

discussion of bad faith in Jones. There, the FBI had targeted

the leader of a black nationalist group as a part of its now

infamous COINTELPRO program and played a role in the

prosecution of Jones for the murder of two police officers.

Jones used documents obtained from the FBI through FOIA

requests to secure his release through the issuance of a writ

of habeas corpus and subsequently filed suit under the

FOIA to compel release of withheld material. Although an

App. 11

agency's processing of a FOIA request ordinarily enjoys a

presumption of good faith, we noted that "[e]ven where

there is no evidence that the agency acted in bad faith with

regard to the FOIA action itself there may be evidence of

bad faith or illegality with regard to the underlying

activities which generated the documents at issue." Jones, 41

F.3d at 242. Later, we quoted Ingle v. Department of Justice for

examples of the type of bad faith that might lead a district

court to conduct an in camera review: "where it becomes

apparent that the subject matter of a request involves

activities which, if disclosed, would publicly embarrass the

agency or that a so-called ‘cover up' is presented, government

affidavits lose credibility." Jones, 41 F.3d at = (quoting

Ingle, 698 F.2d at 267) (emphasis added).

Employing this standard, we concluded that Jones

presented a clear case of bad faith warranting in camera

review because the nature of the FBI's COINTELPRO

investigation went beyond the ordinary detection and

prevention of criminal activity to well-documented

infringements of civil liberties whose disclosure threatened

public embarrassment of the FBI. Id. In reaching this

conclusion, we recognized that Jones presented an unusual

case and defined the collateral nature of bad faith in FOIA

actions according to a very high standard that would

infrequently be met. Id. ("[T]he courts of this circuit should

not process this case in the same manner as they would a

request for documents regarding a routine FBI

investigation.").

We think that the public controversy surrounding

COINTELPRO and the FBI's direct role in securing a tainted

conviction in Jones suffices to distinguish Rugiero's case,

which falls much closer to a "routine investigation" and

prosecution entitled to a presumption of good faith. While

we do not condone the withholding of a possible conflict of

interest from the district court, Rugiero has simply not

pointed to strong evidence of bad faith that calls into

question the district court's decision not to conduct an in

App. 12

camera review of responsive documents. To the extent that

Rugiero has sought to use the FOIA to aid his section 2255

action, we repeat that "a FOIA request is not a substitute for

the normal process of discovery in civil and criminal cases."

Jones, 41 F.3d at 250 (citing John Doe Agency v. John Doe Corp.,

493 U.S. 146, 153 (1989), and Irons v. Bell, 596 F.2d 468,475 &

n.15 (1st Cir. 1979)).

V. Adequacy of Searches for Responsive Documents

Rugiero next claims that the district court erred in

not evaluating the adequacy of the searches conducted in

response to his FOIA requests. His brief focuses on the

searches conducted by the IRS, USSS, and DOJ Tax, all of

which found no documents responsive to his request.

In response to a FOIA request, an agency must make

a good faith effort to conduct a search for the requested

records using methods reasonably expected to produce the

requested information. Campbell v. United States Dep't of

Justice, 164 F.3d 20, 27 (D.C. Cir. 1998). The FOIA requires a

reasonable search tailored to the nature of the request. Id. at

28. At all times the burden is on the agency to establish the

adequacy of its search. Patterson v. IRS, 56 F.3d 832, 840 (7th

Cir. 1995); Steinberg v. United States Dep't of Justice, 23 F.3d

548, 551 (D.C. Cir. 1994) (quoting Weisberg v. Dep't of Justice,

745 F.2d 1476, 1485 (D.C. Cir. 1984)). In discharging this

burden, the agency may rely on affidavits or declarations

that provide reasonable detail of the scope of the search.

Bennett v. DEA, 55 F. Supp. 2d 36, 39 (D.D.C. 1999) (citing

Perry v. Block, 684 F.2d 121, 127 (D.C. Cir. 1982)). "In the

absence of countervailing evidence or apparent

inconsistency of proof, [such affidavits] will suffice to

demonstrate compliance with the obligations imposed by

the FOIA." Id. The question focuses on the agency's search,

not on whether additional documents exist that might

satisfy the request. Steinberg, 23 F.3d at 551 (quoting

Weisberg, 745 F.2d at 1485).

x App. 13

- After outlining the basic structure of the agency's

Master Central Index computer system, the declaration

from the USSS indicates. that three individuals searched

the agency's computer system on three separate

occasions from three different offices. Each of these

searches looked for documents by name, date of birth, and

social security number. This search appears to be the

model of responsiveness under the FOIA. Rugiero

contends, however, that the USSS cannot possibly have

no documents pertaining to him since an agent testified

at his trial. The declaration of the agency responds that

the agent who testified maintained no paper files

relative to him and had minimal contacts with Rugiero

since another agency conducted the investigation.

Because our legal standard focuses on the adequacy of the

search, not the chance that additional responsive

documents exist, id., summary judgment for the USSS was

appropriate.

With regard to the IRS, the declaration outlined

operation of its Integrated Data Retrieval System and

stated that Rugiero's request for documents pertaining to

himself within the Criminal Investigation Division

compiled between 1984 and 1993 inclusive was processed

twice, each time seeking to identify files with Rugiero's

social security number. Rugiero again protests that the IRS

must have records on him since the agency introduced his

tax returns at his criminal trial. The Criminal Investigation

Division, however, investigates violations of the criminal

provisions of Title 26. Rugiero did not face such charges at

his criminal trial. Moreover, the district court harmonized

the introduction of tax records and the lack of responsive

documents at the oral arguments on defendants’ motions

for summary judgment: ©

App. 14

[I]In a drug case when the tax returns are

introduced, it's not necessarily because

there's any charge, of course, of tax evasion,

but usually it's introduced to produce some

evidence from which the jury could infer that = -

the individual has some . . . illicit source of

income that he's not disclosed on the tax

returns because his lifestyle far exceeds

what's shown on the tax return. That arises

fairly often in drug cases.

Additionally, Rugiero questions the good faith of the IRS in

responding to his request since the agency required him to

narrow his search-before processing it. The FOIA requires

that a request "reasonably describe" the documents sought. 5

U.S.C. § 552(a)(3)(A). Accordingly, a request to narrow the

scope of a search is entirely permissible under the Act.

When the IRS asked Rugiero to narrow his request, the

agency provided an overview of the types of records its

divisions could be expected to have. Again, the focus is on

the adequacy of the search, and there is no indication that

the IRS failed to conduct an adequate search for the records

requested. Therefore, summary judgment for the IRS was

proper. Rugiero remains free, of course, to submit FOIA

requests to other divisions within the IRS.

Finally, Rugiero challenges the adequacy of the

search conducted by DOJ Tax, which initially maintained it

had never received a FOIA request from Rugiero and only

conducted its search when ordered to do so by the district

court. The only file identified in the search related to this

FOIA request, and no records relating to a criminal

investigation of Rugiero were found. Because the

declaration submitted by DOJ Tax fails to describe the

methods of its search and states simply that the agency

searched its "indices," this response to Rugiero's FOIA

requests verges on the impermissibly conclusory. Bennett, 55

F, Supp. 2d at 40 ("An affidavit must give reasonable detail

App. 15

of the scope of the search in order to satisfy the agency's

burden of proof; simply stating that 'any and all records’

were searched is insufficient."). The declaration does state

that DOJ Tax maintains its files by the name of the subject of

an investigation, so whatever files the agency searched in

response to Rugiero's request would have turned up any

documents if he were the target of an investigation. Of

course, Rugiero requested all documents relating to him, not

just those pertaining to an investigation of himself, and DOJ

Tax has not given any indication that it conducted this

broader search. Our inquiry focuses on the reasonableness

of the search, not the potential existence of additional

responsive documents. Steinberg, 23 F.3d at 551 (quoting

Weisberg, 745 F.2d at 1485). We think that DOJ Tax

conducted a reasonable search in response to Rugiero's

FOIA request and that the declaration demonstrates

compliance with the obligations the Act imposes on the

agency. Therefore, since the record lacks any countervailing

evidence, the district court properly granted summary

judgment.

VI. Exemptions from Disclosure

A. Relevant Exemptions under the FOIA

Defendants have invoked five of the FOIA's

exceptions in withholding in full or in part materials

released in response to Rugiero's requests. First, section

552(b)(2) exempts records “related solely to the internal

personnel rules and practices of an agency." This court

employs a two-prong test developed in other circuits to

determine the applicability of this exception. Abraham &

Rose, 138 F.3d at 1080. The agency must show that the

requested information it seeks to withhold relates

predominantly to an agency's rules and practices for

personnel. Id. The agency must further show that the public

has no legitimate interest in the information requested. Id.

App. 16

This exemption applies to routine matters of merely internal

significance. Jones, 41 F.3d at 244 (quoting Lesar v. United

States Dep't of Justice, 636 F.2d 472, 485 (D.C. Cir. 1980)). This

court has upheld the use of this exemption to withhold file

numbers and symbols used to identify informants. Id. at

244-45 (citing Kiraly v. FBI, 728 F.2d 273, 276 n6 (6th Cir.

1984)). Information that merely has the potential for

bringing to light the practices by which an agency collects

and processes information does not come within the ambit

of the exception. Abraham & Rose, 138 F.3d at 1081.

Second, section 552(b)(3) covers matters "specifically

exempted from disclosure by statute" when the statute

leaves no discretion about the decision to withhold

information from the public or establishes specific criteria

for withholding particular types of matters. Accordingly,

the scope of the inquiry under this exemption is limited: if a

statute exempts materials from disclosure and the requested

materials fall within that statute's scope, that is the end of

the matter. Though not previously addressed in this circuit,

courts have unanimously held that Rule 6(e) of the Federal

Rules of Criminal Procedure constitutes a statute under

section 552(b)(3) of the FOIA so that an agency may

withhold grand jury materials. E.g., Solar Sources, Inc. v.

United States, 142 F.3d 1033, 1037 n.4 (7th Cir. 1998); Church

of Scientology Int'l v. United States Dep't of Justice, 30 F.3d 224,

235 (1st Cir. 1994); McDonnell v. United States, 4 F.3d 1227,

1246-47 (3d Cir. 1993); Fund for Constitutional Gov't v.

National Archives & Records Serv., 656 F.2d 856, 868 (D.C. Cir.

1981). Rule 6(e)(3) outlines the exceptions to the Rule's

general prohibition against disclosure of grand jury

materials. Nonetheless, documents identified as grand jury

exhibits or containing testimony or other material directly

associated with grand jury proceedings fall within the

exemption under section 552(b)(3) without regard to

whether one of the Rule 6(e)(3) exceptions allows disclosure.

Church of Scientology, 30 F.3d at 235. Documents created for

App. 17

reasons independent of a grand jury investigation do not. Id.

(citing United States v. Dynavac, Inc., 6 F.3d 1407, 1412 (9th

Cir. 1993)).

Third, section 552(b)(5) exempts “inter-agency or

intra-agency memorandums or letters which would not be

available by law to a party other than an agency in litigation

with the agency." This provision protects documents that a

private party could not discover in litigation with the

agency. Schell v. United States Dep't of Health and Human

Servs., 843 F.2d 933, 939 (6th Cir. 1988) (citations omitted).

Courts have construed this exception to preserve the

recognized evidentiary privileges, such as the attorney-

client privilege, the attorney work-product privilege, and

the deliberative process privilege. Klamath Waier Users

Protective Ass'n, 121 S. Ct. at 1065-66; Schell, 843 F.2d at 939

(citing Parke, Davis & Co. v. Califano, 623 F.2d 1, 5 (6th Cir.

1980)). To come within this exception on the basis of the

deliberative process privilege, a document must be both

“predecisional," meaning it is “received by the

decisionmaker on the subject of the decision prior to the

time the decision is made," and "deliberative," the result of a

consultative process. Schell, 843 F.2d at 940 (citing Parke,

Davis & Co., 623 F.2d at 6). Although this privilege covers

recommendations, draft documents, proposals, suggestions,

and other subjective documents that reflect the opinions of

the writer rather than the policy of an agency, the key issue

in applying this exception is whether disclosure of the

materials would “expose an agency's decisionmaking

process in such a way as to discourage discussion within the

agency and thereby undermine the agency's ability to

perform its functions." Id. (quoting Dudman Communications

Corp. v. Department of the Air Force, 815 F.2d 1565, 1568 (D.C.

Cir. 1987)).

Fourth, section -552(b)(6) exempts "personnel and

medical files and similar files the disclosure of which would

constitute a clearly unwarranted invasion of personal

privacy." We have read this section as establishing a two-

App. 18

prong inquiry: (1) whether the file includes personnel,

medical, or "similar" data; and (2) if so, whether disclosure

constitutes a "clearly unwarranted" invasion of privacy.

Heights Cmty. Cong. v. Veterans Admin., 732 F.2d 526, 528 (6th

Cir. 1984) (citing United States Dep't of State v. Washington

Post Co., 456 U.S. 595, 601-02 (1982)). Under the threshold

requirement, the exception applies to any government

"records on an individual which can be identified as

applying to that individual." Id. (quoting Washington Post,

456 U.S. at 601-02). Determining whether disclosure works a

clearly unwarranted invaSion of privacy requires a

balancing test under which courts identify the privacy

interest at stake and weigh it against the public interest in

disclosure. Id. at 529. "The central inquiry is whether public

access to the information is tantamount to an invasion of

privacy; if so we ask whether such an invasion is justified by

any countervailing public benefit from disclosure." Id.

(quoting Madeira Nursing Ctr., Inc. v. NLRB, 615 F.2d 728,

730 (6th Cir. 1980)) (alterations omitted). A clear privacy

interest exists with respect to such information as names,

addresses, and other identifying information even where

such information is already publicly available. Abraham &

Rose, 138 F.3d at 1083 (citing United States Dep't of Defense v.

Federal Labor Relations Auth., 510 U.S. 487, 500 (1994)).

Fifth, section 552(b)(7) exempts records or

information compiled for law enforcement purposes, but

only if certain conditions are met. This court has adopted a

per se rule under which any documents compiled by a law

enforcement agency fall within the first part of the section

552(b)(7) exception. Jones, 41 F.3d at 245. This rule applies

not only to criminal enforcement actions, but to records

compiled for civil enforcement purposes as well. Abraham &

Rose, 138 F.3d at 1083 (citing White v. IRS, 707 F.2d 897, 901

(6th Cir. 1983)). Accordingly, for a law enforcement agency

to withhold information under this section, one of the

specific provisions of section 552(b)(7) alone need apply.

Four of these are relevant:

App. 19

(1) Section 552(b)(7)(C). Information compiled

for law enforcement purposes the disclosure

of which "could reasonably be expected to

constitute an unwarranted invasion of

personal privacy" does not come within the

FOIA's disclosure mandate. 5 USC. §

552(b)(7)(C). This court construes this section

as requiring a balancing test similar to that

conducted under section 552(b)(6). Jones, 41.

F.3d at 246 (citing Rose, 425 U.S. at 372-73).

(2) Section 552(b)(7)(D). Section 552(b)(7)(D)

excepts records that "could reasonably be

expected to disclose the identity of a

confidential source." Here, the question is not

whether the document is of a type the agency

normally treats as confidential, but whether

the particular source spoke with an

understanding of confidentiality. United

States Dep't of Justice v. Landano, 508 U.S. 165,

172 (1993). Unless a _ promise of

confidentiality is expressly given, the

government is not entitled to a presumption

of confidentiality outside of a narrowly

defined set of circumstances supporting such

an inference, such as the use of a paid

informant. Id. at 173-79. Although not defined

in the Act, the Supreme Court has defined

“confidential” in this section as referring to a

degree of confidentiality less than total

secrecy. Id. at 174. If a confidential source is

later revealed, we nonetheless restrict public

access to documents under this section so

long as the informant and the agency

intended the identity of the source to remain

undisclosed at the time the agency compiled

the information. Jones, 41 F.3d at 249.

App. 20

(3) Section 552(b)(7)(E). This provision allows

the withholding of materials that would

"disclose techniques and procedures for law

enforcement investigations or prosecutions,

or would disclose guidelines for law

enforcement investigations if such disclosure

could reasonably be expected to risk

circumvention of the law." This provision,

however, only protects techniques and

procedures not already well-known to the

public. E.g., Davin v. United States Dep't of

Justice, 60 F.3d 1043, 1064 (3d Cir. 1995)

(quoting Ferri v. Bell, 645 F.2d 1213, 1224 (3d

Cir. 1981)); Rosenfeld v. United States Dep't of

Justice, 57 F.3d 803, 815 (9th Cir. 1995)

(citations omitted).

(4) Section 552(b)(7)(F). This section exempts

from disclosure material that "could

reasonably be expected to endanger the life

or physical safety of any individual."

B. Defendants' Reliance on Exemptions

Rugiero claims that the district court erred by failing

to analyze the claims of exemption with sufficient specificity

and detail as required by the Act. Defendants dismiss this

argument as simply rehashing claims of bad faith. The

government's position overlooks this court's obligation to

review the affidavits, declarations, and Vaughn indices of

agencies to ensure compliance with the Act. Ingle, 698 F.2d

at 265. In none of the orders granting defendants' motions

for summary judgment did the district court scrutinize the

claims for exemption in the affidavits produced by the

agencies. Although the government remains entitled to a

presumption of regularity absent a showing of bad faith, the

role of the district court is to review the adequacy of the

affidavits. Id. "If the Government fairly describes the content

App. 21

of the material withheld and adequately states its grounds

for nondisclosure, and if those grounds are reasonable and

consistent with the applicable law, the district court should

uphold the government's position." Id. (quoting Cox, 576

F.2d at 1312). This standard demands that the district court

review the affidavits justifying the withholding of

documents responsive to a FOIA request against the law

governing application of the Act's exemptions. The record

gives no indication that the district court did this.

Accordingly, we are forced to conclude the district court

erred in failing to review the adequacy of the grounds for

nondisclosure stated in the affidavits as required by Ingle.

Upon review of the agencies’ affidavits, we conclude

that only one defendant applied incorrect legal standards in

withholding some documents responsive to Rugiero's FOIA

request. The DEA identified 399 pages of responsive

material, redacted 102, and withheld 288 in their entirety.

The agency relied on section 552(b)(2) to withhold violator

identifiers; on the exception in section 552(b)(7)(C) to

withhold identifying information on agents, personnel, and

third parties after balancing the privacy interests against

public disclosure; and on section 552(b)(7)(F) to withhold

information about DEA agents. With respect to these

matters, the affidavit adequately describes the content of the

material withheld and applies the governing legal standards

for nondisclosure under these exceptions properly. The

agency's Vaughn index adequately describes responsive

documents and the content of material withheld. In

applying the exception in section 552(b)(7)(D), relating to

confidential sources, however, the DEA's affidavit indicates

that the agency withheld information on two types of

informants: (1) those assigned an internal "Cooperating

Individual Code" after receiving express assurances of

confidentiality; and (2) those who received implied

assurances of confidentiality pursuant to agency policy,

which treats the "circumstances of the interview itself [as]

creat[ing] an atmosphere in which -a promise of

confidentiality is understood." _-

Pursuant to Landano, the agency properly withheld

information on those who received express assurances of

confidentiality. In contrast, the affidavit indicates that the

DEA has adopted a blanket rule that any informant who has

not received an express assurance of confidentiality will be

treated as having received an implied promise of

confidentiality. Landano does not countenance such a

uniform policy, requiring instead that the agency assess

confidentiality based on the particular circumstances

applicable to each source. Accordingly, the DEA has applied

an incorrect standard to confidential informants falling in

the second category identified in its affidavit. The DEA's

Vaughn index fails to distinguish between these types of

confidential sources, necessitating review of all documents

the DEA has withheld in full or in part based on this

exception. On remand, the district court should take

whatever measures it deems appropriate to ensure that the

DEA has complied with Landano in responding to Rugiero's

FOIA request, taking into account that a “bald assertion that

express assurances were given amounts to little more than

recitation of the statutory standard, which we have held is

insufficient." Billington v. United States Dep't of Justice, 233

F.3d 581, 584 (D.C. Cir. 2000) (citing Campbell, 164 F.3d at

30). The DEA cannot rely on conclusory assertions of

compliance with Landano. Rather, the agency must provide

assurances that sources in fact received promises of

confidentiality before withholding information under

section 552(b)(7)(D).

The remaining defendants properly applied the

governing legal standards and described the responsive

documents and materials withheld in sufficient detail to

warrant summary judgment. We have reviewed the

affidavits and Vaughn indices submitted by each

component and are satisfied that each has correctly

App. 23

identified and applied the legal standards governing

exemptions from disclosure under the FOIA and described

responsive documents with sufficient particularity to allow

Rugiero to challenge the withholding of individual

documents, as evidenced by the district court's in camera

review of Document 2 among others. :

VIL. Segregability

Consistent with its aim of maximum disclosure, the

FOIA requires disclosure of "any reasonably segregable"

portion of a record that falls within one of the statute's

exceptions. 5 U.S.C. § 552(b). In such cases, the redactions

are to be indicated on the record produced to the requesting

party. Id. The agency has the burden to show that portions

withheld are not segregable from the disclosed material.

Davin, 60 F.3d at 1052. Under this principle of segregability,

an agency cannot justify withholding an entire document

simply because it contains some material exempt from

disclosure. Krikorian v. Department of State, 984 F.2d 461, 467

(D.C. Cir. 1993) (quotations omitted). Rather, an agency

must supply a relatively detailed justification and explain

why materials withheld are not segregable. Id. (quotations

omitted). A district court errs by approving the withholding

of an entire document without entering a finding on

segregability. Church of Scientology of Cal. v. United States

Dep't of the Army, 611 F.2d 738, 744 (9th Cir. 1980).

Rugiero urges that the district court erred in failing

to require the EOUSA and the DEA to produce all

reasonably segregable material in documents withheld in

their entirety. Specifically, he objects to the agencies’

conclusory assertions of nonsegregability and, because of

the government's alleged bad faith, seeks in camera review of

these materials to assure compliance with the Act.

With respect to the EOUSA's withholding in full of

821 pages of grand jury materials, the district court found

that the Vaughn index identifies these documents as

containing transcripts of witness testimony, exhibits, and

App. 24

other materials identifying witnesses. Rugiero, 35 F. Supp. 2d

at 984. As defendants point out, this finding discharges the -

district court's obligations under the FOIA so far-as these

documents are concerned. The EOUSA, however, withheld

888 pages in their entirety, and the district court did not

consider the segregability of the remaining documents. The

Vaughn index indicates that the EOUSA's decision to

withhold many documents in their entirety consists solely of

a conclusory statement that they do not contain segregable

material. By comparison, the index also lists some

documents as containing responsive material that is "so

intertwined with other third party and protected material as

to be inextricable and nonsegregable." Nowhere does the

EOUSA describe the process by which it determined that all

reasonably segregable material had been released or state

why some materials are not reasonably segregable. See

Davin, 60 F.3d at 1052. Therefore, we remand Count IV to

the district court for further proceedings to determine

whether documents withheld in their entirety by the

EOUSA contain material that can be reasonably segregated

and disclosed. The district court retains discretion to decide

whether to undertake this determination based on

affidavits, in camera review, or some other procedure that

strikes the appropriate balance between disclosure and

protecting exempted materials.

Similarly, in response to Rugiero's request, the DEA

withheld 288 pages in their entirety and released 102 with

redactions. The affidavit in support of the DEA's motion for

summary judgment simply asserts that none of the withheld

material is reasonably segregable. None of the attached

supporting exhibits offers any additional explanation

regarding segregability. Nor does the extensive Vaughn

index suggest that the agency even considered the issue.

Therefore, we also remand Count XI for the district court to

determine whether any documents withheld in their

entirety by the DEA contain segregable material that should

be disclosed under the FOIA.

App. 25

VIII. Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we affirm the judgment of

the district court in substantial part, reverse in part, and

remand for further proceedings (1) to apply the

"confidentiality" standard under section 552(b)(7)(D) to

documents the DEA withheld in Count XI; and (2) to

determine the segregability of documents withheld in their

entirety by the DEA and the EOUSA, excluding the 821

pages of grand jury materials withheld pursuant to Rule 6(e)

by the latter. On remand, the district court has available all

of the tools normally available in FOIA actions to ensure

agency compliance with disclosure obligations under the

Act. We recognize that our ruling today will not necessarily

result in production of these documents in whole or in part

to Rugiero. Rather, we seek to ensure agency compliance

with the governing legal standards for disclosing

information under the FOIA and think that the Act compels

this disposition.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN

SOUTHERN DIVISION

1999 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 4528

PATRICK RUGIERO,

Plaintiff,

v. CIV. ACTION NO. 97-40520

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE and

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF TREASURY,

Defendants.

March 9, 1999, Decided

[March 9, 1999, Entered]

DISPOSITION:

[*1] Plaintiff, Patrick Rugiero, take nothing in this action

against defendants, and that his July 30, 1997 complaint

DISMISSED with prejudice.

COUNSEL:

For PATRICK RUGIERO, plaintiff: Alan C. Applebaum,

Southfield, MI. For DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE,

DEPARTMENT OF THE TREASURY, defendants: Charles

H. Keen, U.S. Department of Justice, Washington, DC. For

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE, defendant: William L.

Woodard, United States Attorney's Office, Detroit, MI.

JUDGES:

HONORABLE PAUL V. GADOLA, U.S. DISTRICT JUDGE.

OPINION BY:

PAUL V. GADOLA

App. 27

OPINION:

ORDER

On July 30, 1997, plaintiff, Patrick Rugiero, filed an

eleven-count complaint pursuant to the Freedom of

Information Act, 5 U.S.C. @ 552 et seq. ("FOIA"). On

September 16, 1998, this court entered an order dismissing

with prejudice Count III of plaintiff's complaint pursuant to

stipulation of the parties. On October 19, 1998, this court

entered an order dismissing with prejudice Counts I, I, V,

VI, VU, VIL, IX and XI of plaintiff's complaint. In that order,

this court also ordered certain relief pursuant to the claims

contained in Count IV of the complaint, but dismissed the

remaining portion of Count IV with prejudice. On January

22, 1999, [*2] this court entered an order dismissing with

prejudice Count X of plaintiff's complaint.

Accordingly, this court having reviewed the

submissions of the parties and being fully advised in the

premises, Count IV being the only count remaining in

plaintiff's complaint, and the substantive claims contained

in Count IV having been disposed of by this court's prior

orders in this matter, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the

remaining claims contained in Count IV of plaintiff's July 30,

1997 complaint are DISMISSED with prejudice.

SO ORDERED.

Dated: 3/9/99 PAUL V. GADOLA

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

JUDGMENT

This action came before this court, the Honorable

Paul V. Gadola, District Judge presiding, and the issues

having been fully presented and the court being fully

advised in the premises, and a decision having been duly

rendered,

App. 28

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that

the plaintiff, Patrick Rugiero, take nothing in this action

against defendants, and that his July 30, 1997 complaint be

DISMISSED with prejudice.

SO ORDERED.

Dated: 3/9/99 PAUL V. GADOLA

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

App. 29

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN

SOUTHERN DIVISION

35 F. Supp. 2d 977; 1998 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 19573;

82 A.F.T.R.2d (RIA) 7393

PATRICK RUGIERO,

Plaintiff

v. CIV. ACTION NO. 97-40520

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE and

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF TREASURY,

Defendants.

October 19, 1998, Decided

October 19, 1998, Filed

[October 19, 1998, Entered]

DISPOSITION:

[**1] Defendants' motions for summary judgment pursuant

to Fed. R. Civ. P. 56 GRANTED in part and DENIED in part.

COUNSEL:

For PATRICK RUGIERO, plaintiff: Alan C. Applebaum,

Southfield, MI. For DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE,

DEPARTMENT OF THE TREASURY, defendants: Charles

H. Keen, U.S. Department of Justice, Washington, DC. For

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE, defendant: William L.

Woodard, United States Attorney's Office, Detroit, MI.

JUDGES:

HONORABLE PAUL V. GADOLA, U.S. DISTRICT JUDGE.

OPINION BY:

PAUL V. GADOLA

OPINION: '

[*979] MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

GRANTING IN PART AND DENYING IN PART

DEFENDANTS' MOTIONS FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT

Before the court are two separate motions for

summary judgment filed by defendants, United States

Department of Justice and United States Department of

Treasury. This court held oral argument on the instant

motions on September 15, 1998. At that time, this court took

the majority of issues related to the motions for summary

judgment under advisement. However, on September 16,

1998, this court did enter an order disposing of a number of

matters. This court is now prepared to rule on the remaining

issues raised in the motions for summary judgment. For the

reasons set forth below, this court will grant defendants’

motions in part, and deny them in part. ;

Factual Background

This is an action brought under the Freedom of

Information Act, 5 U.S.C. @ 552 (FOIA). FOIA provides for

disclosure of information to the public unless the requested

records are exempt under one or more of [**2] the nine

statutory exemptions. Department of the Air Force v. Rose, 425

US. 352, 360-61, 48 L. Ed. 2d 11, 96 S. Ct. 1592 (1976). The

plaintiff is Patrick Rugiero, and the defendants are the

United States Department of Justice and Department of

Treasury.

Plaintiff submitted FOLA requests seeking disclosure

of any and all documents about himself from several

components of the Department of Justice and Department of

Treasury. Those components include the Criminal Division

of the Department of Justice (DOJ-Crim. Div.), the Detroit

Field Division of the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI-

Detroit), Headquarters of the Federal Bureau of

Investigation (FBI-HQ), Executive Office of United States

Attorneys (EOUSA), United States Secret Service (USSS),

App. 31

United States Marshal Service (USMS), United States

Customs Service (USCS), Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and

Firearms (ATF), and the United States Drug Enforcement

Administration (DEA). Plaintiff also claims that he

submitted FOIA requests to the Internal Revenue Service

(IRS) and Tax Division of the U.S. Department of Justice

(DOJ-Tax).

The components responded to plaintiff's requests by

searching their records to determine whether any [**3]

responsive documents existed. DOJ-Crim. Div. (Count ])

located two responsive documents. It released one of the

documents to plaintiff with certain information redacted

pursuant to 5 U.S.C. @ 552(b) (6) and (b)(7)(C). It determined

that the other document originated in EOUSA, so it referred

the document to that component for processing and direct

response to plaintiff. EOUSA reviewed the document and

released it in full to plaintiff.

FBI-Detroit (Count II) located one document with

five pages responsive to plaintiff's request, and released to

plaintiff one page in its entirety and the remaining four

pages with certain information redacted under 5 U.S.C. @

552 (b)(7)(C). FBI-HQ (Count III) searched its records and

found no pertinent records responsive to plaintiff's FOIA

request.

EOUSA (Count IV) located 1, 211 pages of

responsive documents. Of this total, it released 292 pages to

plaintiff in their entirety and 31 pages with portions

withheld. It withheld 888 pages in their entirety (821 of

which were grand jury materials). EOUSA withheld the

information pursuant to the FOIA exemptions under 5

US.C. @ 552(b)(3), (6)(5), (6)(6), (6)(7)(C), (6)(7)(D), (6)(7)(E),

and (b)(7)(F). EOUSA [**4] also determined that an

additional 175 pages in its possession had originated with

DEA and an additional 73 pages had originated with ATF,

so it referred those pages to DEA and ATF for FOIA

processing and direct response to plaintiff.

_

App. 32

USSS (Count V) searched its records and found no

pertinent records responsive to plaintiff's FOIA request.

USCS (Count VI) located one responsive document

consisting of two pages, which it [*980] released to plaintiff

with certain information redacted pursuant to 5 U.S.C. @

552(b)(2) and (b)(7)(C).

USMS (Count VII) located 46 documents responsive

to plaintiff's request. It withheld none of these documents in

their entirety, released one document to plaintiff in its

entirety, and released 43 documents to plaintiff with certain

information redacted pursuant to 5. U.S.C. @ 552(b)(2),

(b)(7)(C), and (b)(7)(E).

USMS determined that the remaining two

documents had originated in EOUSA, so it referred those

document to EOUSA for disclosure determination and

direct response to plaintiff.

ATF (Count VIII) located 105 pages responsive to

plaintiff's FOIA requests, and released all responsive

document to plaintiff with information redacted pursuant to

5 U.S.C. @ 552(b)(7)(c), [5] (6)(7)(D), and (b)(7)(F).

The Internal Revenue Service (Count IX) claimed

that it found no responsive documents.

DOJ-Tax (Count X) claims that plaintiff never

properly complied with the administrative procedures

required under FOIA, and thus it has not produced any

documents related to a request by plaintiff.

DEA (Count XI) located 399 pages of responsive

document. It released 100 pages to plaintiff with portions

redacted, and withheld the remaining 299 pages in their

entirety. DEA asserts that it redacted or withheld

information pursuant to the FOIA exemptions set forth in 5

US.C. @ 552(b)(2), (b)(7)(C), (b)(7)(D), and (b)(7)(F).

In the present suit, plaintiff seeks to compel

disclosure of documents or information withheld by the

components on grounds that they are exempt under FOIA.

Count I pertains to the FOIA request made to DOJ-

Crim.Div.; Count I pertains to FBlI-Detroit; Count III

App. 33

pertains to FBI-HQ; Count IV pertains to EOUSA; Count V

pertains to the USSS; Count VI pertains to the USCS; Count

VII pertains to the USMS; Count VHI pertains to ATF; Count

IX pertains to the IRS; Count X pertains to DOJ-Tax; and

Count XI pertains to DEA.

Discussion

1, Standard for [**6] summary judgment pursuant to

Rule 56

Rule 56(c) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

provides that summary judgment "shall be rendered

forthwith if the pleadings, depositions, answers to

interrogatories, and admissions on file, together with the

affidavits, if any, show that there is no genuine issue as to

any material fact and that the moving party is entitled to

judgment as a matter of law." Summary judgment is

appropriate where the moving party demonstrates that

there is no genuine issue of material fact as to the existence

of an essential element of the non-moving party's case on

which the non-moving party would bear the burden of

proof at trial. Martin v. Ohio Turnpike Commission, 968 F.2d

606, 608 (6th Cir. 1992); Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317,

322, 91 L. Ed. 2d 265, 106 S. Ct. 2548 (1986). In considering a

motion for summary judgment, the court must view the

facts and draw all reasonable inferences therefrom in a light

most favorable to the non-moving party. 60 Ivy Street

Corporation v. Alexander, 822 F.2d 1432, 1435 (6th Cir. 1987).

The court is not required or permitted, however, to judge

the evidence or make findings of fact. Id. at 1435-36. [**7]

The moving party has the burden of showing conclusively

that no genuine issue of material fact exists. Id. at 1435.

A fact is "material" for purposes of summary

judgment where proof of that fact would have the effect of

establishing or refuting an essential element of the cause of

action or a defense advanced by the parties. Kendall v.

Hoover Co., 751 F.2d 171, 174 (6th Cir. 1984). In other words,

App. 34

the disputed fact must be one which might affect outcome of

the suit under the substantive law controlling the issue.

Henson v. National Aeronautics and Space Administration, 14

F.3d 1143, 1148 (6th Cir. 1994). A dispute over a material fact

is genuine "if the evidence is such that a reasonable jury

could return a verdict for the non-moving party." Id.

Accordingly, where a reasonable jury could not find that the

non-moving party is entitled to a verdict, there is no

genuine issue for trial and summary judgment is

appropriate. Feliciano v. [*981] City of Cleveland, 988 F.2d 649

(6th Cir. 1993).

Once the moving party carries its initial burden of

demonstrating that no genuine issues of material fact are in

dispute, the burden shifts to the non-moving party to

present specific [**8] facts to prove that there is a genuine

issue for trial. To create a genuine issue of material fact, the

non-moving party must present more than just some

evidence of a disputed issue.

As the United States Supreme Court stated in

Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 249-50, 91 L. Ed.

2d 202, 106 S. Ct. 2505 (1986):

There is no issue for trial unless there is

sufficient evidence favoring the non-moving

party for a jury to return a verdict for that

party. If the [non-moving party's] evidence is

merely colorable, or is not significantly

probative, summary judgment may be

granted.

(Citations omitted); see also Celotex, 477 U.S. at 322-23;

Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S.

574, 586-87, 89 L. Ed. 2d 538, 106 S. Ct. 1348 (1986).

Consequently, the non-moving party must do more than

raise some doubt as to the existence of a fact; the non-

moving party must produce evidence that would be

sufficient to require submission of the issue to the jury.

App. 35

Lucas v. Leaseway. Multi Transp. Serv., Inc., 738 F. Supp. 214,

217 (E.D. Mich. 1990), aff'd, 929 F.2d 701 (6th Cir. 1991).

2. FOIA

The FOIA statute provides in relevant part: [**9]

Each agency, upon request for records which

(A) reasonably describes such records and (B)

is made in accordance with published rules

stating the time, place, fees (if any), and

procedures to be followed, shall make the

records promptly available to any person.

5 US.C. @ 552(a)(3).

However, not all public records are subject to

production under the Act. Subsection (b) of the statute sets

forth a number of exemptions to disclosure of records:

(b) This section does not apply to matters

that are-

(2) related solely to the internal personnel

rules and practices of anagency;

(3) specifically exempted from disclosure

by statute .... provided that such

statute (A) requires that the matters

be withheld from the public in such a

manner as to leave no discretion on

the issue, or (B) establishes particular

criteria for withholding or refers to

particular types of matters to be

withheld;

: App. 36

(5) inter-agency or intra-agency

memoranda or letters which would

not be available by law to a party

other than an agency in litigation with

the agency;

(6) personnel and medical files and

| similar files the disclosure of which

would constitute a clearly [**10]

unwarranted invasion of personal

privacy;

(7) records or information compiled for

law enforcement purposes, but only to

the extent that the production of such

law enforcement records or

information (A) could reasonably be

expected to interfere with enforcement

proceedings, (B) would deprive a

person of a right to a fair trial or an

impartial adjudication, (C) could

reasonably be expected to constitute an

unwarranted invasion of personal

privacy, (D) could reasonably be

expected to disclose the identity of a

confidential source, including a State,

local, or foreign agency or authority or

any private imstitution which

furnished information on a

confidential basis, and, in the case of a

record or information compiled by

criminal law enforcement authority in

the course of a criminal investigation

or by an agency conducting a lawful

law enforcement investigations or

prosecutions, or would disclose

guidelines for law enforcement

investigations or prosecutions if such

disclosure could reasonably be

expected to risk circumvention of the

[*982] law, or [**11] (F) could

reasonably be expected to endanger

the life or physical safety of an

Any reasonably segregable portion of

a record shall be provided to any

person requesting such record after

deletion of the portions which are

exempt under this subsection.

5 US.C. @ 552(b).

Defendants claim that the withheld or redacted

records in this case are exempt from disclosure under

subsections (2), (3), (5),(6),(7(C)(7)(D), (7)(E), and (7)(F) of

subsection 552(b). Under the statute, the burden is on the

governmental agency to show that the materials sought may

be withheld due to an exemption. See Vaughn v. United

Stetes, 936 F.2d 862, 866 (6th Cir. 1991); 5 USC. @

3821a)(4)(B).

3. Defendants’ motion as it pertains to Counts I-VIII

and XI

a. Count I

In response to the request that gives rise to Count I

of plaintiff's complaint, the DOJ-Crim. Div. disclosed one

document in full, and one cover sheet with material

redacted. Plaintiff's argument that the DOJ-Crim. Div.

App. 38

performed an inadequate search for documents rests

primarily on the fact that the redacted cover sheet contains

the language, "YOU ARE ADVISED THAT THE FILE

DESCRIBED BELOW HAS BEEN /[**12] CLOSED."

Essentially, plaintiff contends that the fact that a file has

been closed necessarily indicates that the file has been

opened. Plaintiff argues simply that there must have been

more than one document in addition to the cover sheet in

the file. Accordingly, plaintiff contends that the search must

have been inadequate.

In response, the government has submitted the

declaration of Linda J. Joachim, which indicates that, indeed,

the only document contained in the file at issue was the one

document submitted to plaintiff in response to his FOIA

request. Against such a declaration, plaintiff's

unsubstantiated conjecture that the file must have contained

additional documents will not, without more, enable

plaintiff's claim to survive a motion for summary judgment.

Plaintiff also argues that this court should review in

camera the redacted portions of the cover sheet to determine

whether the information redacted is, in fact, exempt under

the statute.! However, courts faced with similar claims have

clearly held that a court should not engage in an in camera

review of documents if the court can resolve the question of

the adequacy of the governmental agency's search for

responsive [**13] documents by examining the Vaughn

Index? and other affidavits and declarations of the

1 This court notes that plaintiff raises this argument repeatedly

throughout his responses to defendants’ motions for summary judgment.

(See, e.g., discussion of Counts II, VI, VII, VIII and XI, infra.)

2 "Vaughn Index" is a term derived from Vaughn v. Rosen, 157 U.S.

App. D.C. 340, 484 F.2d 820 (D.C. Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 415 U.S. 977, 39 L.

Ed. 2d 873, 94 S. Ct. 1564 (1974). The index usually consists of a detailed

affidavit, 35 F. Supp. 2d 977, *983; 1998 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 19573, **14; the

purpose of which is to permit the court system effectively and efficiently

to evaluate the factual nature of disputed information. See John Doe

Agency v. John Doe Corp., 493 US. 146, 110 S. Ct. 471, 474 n. 2, 107 L. Ed. 2d

462 (1989).

App. 39

government agency that conducted the search. See, ¢.g.,

Ingle v. United States Dep't of Justice, 698 F.2d 259, 264-66 (6th

Cir. 1983). In Ingle, the Sixth Circuit quoted with approval

the following passage from Cox v. United States Dep't of

Justice, 576 F.2d 1302, 1312 (8th Cir. 1978):

'A court's primary role . . . is to review the

adequacy of the affidavits and other evidence

presented by the Government in support of

its position .. . . If the Government fairly

describes the content of the material withheld

and adequately states its grounds for

nondisclosure, and if those grounds are

reasonable and consistent with the applicable

law, the district court should uphold the

government's position. The court is entitled

to accept the credibility of the affidavits, so

long as it has no reason to question the good

faith of the agency.

[*983] Ingle, 698 F.2d at 265. Unless there is evidence

that contradicts the Government's affidavits, or some other

evidence of bad faith on the part of the agency, this court

will not accept plaintiff's invitation to conduct an in camera

review [**14] of documents in this case. See Silets v. United

States Dep't of Justice, 945 F.2d 227, 231 (7th Cir.

1991)(holding specifically that courts should. require

evidence of bad faith, as opposed to mere assertions of bad

faith before engaging in an in camera review of documents);

Vaughn v. United States, 936 F.2d 862, 868-69 (6th Cir.

1991)(holding that sufficiently clear affidavits are adequate

to substantiate claims of FOLA exemptions in the absence of

evidence to the contrary or evidence of bad faith on the part

of the agency). :

[**15] With respect to Count I, plaintiff has not

offered any evidence of agency bad faith, or any other

evidence that would suggest an in camera review of the

redacted document would be appropriate. Rather, plaintiff

App. 40

merely contends that an in camera review is "necessary and

is requested by plaintiff to test [defendant's] claims of

exemption." (PL's Resp. at 4.) At oral argument, plaintiff's

counsel repeatedly indicated that plaintiff believes he is

unable to trust that the government has adequately

addressed his requests. Counsel relied heavily on Jones v.

Federal Bureau of Investigation, 41 F.3d 238 (6th Cir. 1994), in

which the court noted that "even where there is no evidence

that the agency acted in bad faith with regard to the FOIA

action itself there may be evidence of bad faith or illegality

with regard to the underlying activities which generated the

documents at issue." Id. at 242. The court went on to note

that "where such evidence is strong, it would be an

abdication of the court's responsibility to treat the case in the

standard way and grant summary judgment on the basis of

Vaughn affidavits alone." Id. at 242-43 (emphasis added).

However, [**16] Jones is distinguishable from this

case because in Jones, the Sixth Circuit made a ifi

finding that there was strong evidence of bad faith. The

court even went so far as to note that "infringements of civil

liberties seemed well documented ... ." Id. at 243. In this

case, plaintiff has come forth with no substantial showing of

such evidence. Without some substantial evidence of the

type required by Ingle, and recognized in Jones, this court

will decline plaintiff's request to conduct an in camera

review of the documents related to Count I.

Accordingly, this court will grant defendants' motion

for summary judgment with respect to Count I.

b. Count II

In response to the FOIA request that gives rise to

Count II of plaintiff's complaint, FBI-Detroit located one 48-

page memorandum, five pages of which it asserts are

responsive to plaintiff's request. Accordingly, FBI-Detroit

released one page in its entirety and four pages with

information redacted pursuant to exemption @ 502(b)(7)(C).

Plaintiff contends that "it is beyond the scope of believability

App. 41

that 43 pages contain so much personally identifying

information as to be exempt from disclosure under [**17] @

502(b)(7)(C)." (PL's Resp. at 5.) In response to that

contention, defendants have submitted an affidavit which

indicates that, in fact, the other 43 pages of this document do

not pertain to plaintiff at all, and as such, those pages are

non-responsive to plaintiff's request.

Plaintiff has not come forth with any evidence to

suggest FBI-Detroit conducted its search in bad faith. Nor

has plaintiff produced any substantial evidence or argument

that would suggest that FBI-Detroit's characterization of

those 43 pages as non-responsive to plaintiff's FOLA request

is incorrect. Accordingly, this court will decline to examine

the memorandum in camera, and this court will grant

defendants’ motion for summary judgment with respect to

Count II.

c. “Count [IV

In response to the FOIA request giving rise to Count

IV, EOUSA released approximately 300 pages in their

entirety, and 31 pages with portions redacted. EOUSA

claims it withheld 888 documents in their entirety, 821 of

which were grand jury materials. Plaintiff first claims, and

defendant concedes, that the 31 redacted pages were issued

without page numbers, making it very difficult for plaintiff

to compare the documents to the [**18] Vaughn Index.

Plaintiff has [*984] requested that defendant be required to

re-release those 31 pages with page numbers so that plaintiff

may more easily evaluate the claims of exemption. This

court has indicated that such a request appears reasonable,

and accordingly, this court entered an order on September

16, 1998 requiring EOUSA to re-release those pages.

Next, plaintiff claims that defendants have failed to

demonstrate that the withheld documents related to the

grand jury proceedings are actually exempt from disclosure

because defendants have failed to show that the documents

App. 42

would reveal the scope and inner workings of the grand

jury. See Church of Scientology Int'l v. United States Dep't of

Justice, 30 F.3d 224, 235 (1st Cir. 1994). Moreover, plaintiff

contends that defendants did not specifically address the

question of whether any of the purported grand jury

documents were segregable.

Contrary to plaintiff's contention, the various

affidavits, declarations and portions of the Vaughn Index

indicate that the defendants did, in fact, consider whether

any documents related to this request are segregable.

Moreover, in Item 1 of its Vaughn Index, EOUSA clearly set

forth exactly [**19] what kinds of documents were contained

in the 821 pages of grand jury materials. It is true that

Church of Scientology makes clear that, despite the fact that

grand jury materials are often completely exempt, there is a

distinction between grand jury exhibits and testimony on

the one hand, and business records or similar documents

created for purposes independent of grand jury

investigations which have legitimate uses unrelated to the

substance of the grand jury proceedings on the other.

However, as the Vaughn Index in this case clearly indicates,

the 821 pages of grand jury materials in this case are

comprised of transcripts of witness testimony and actual

exhibits, as well as other documents that specifically name

grand jury witnesses. Pursuant to Church of Scientology, all

such documents are exempt under FOIA.

Plaintiff next takes issue with EOUSA's withholding

of a number of specific documents:

i. Document (2)

First, plaintiff claims that he is entitled to possession

of a copy of what has been labeled "Document (2)." which is

a letter from the federal prosecutor regarding discussions

with jurors and third parties about threats of intimidating

conduct directed [**20] at and reported by several jurors

during plaintiff's criminal trial. It is undisputed that

App. 43

plaintiff's criminal trial counsel, N.C. Deday LaRene,

received a copy of this correspondence. Despite the fact that

this document was once disclosed to plaintiff's attorney,

there are clear privacy interests that weigh in favor of

withholding this letter pursuant to (b)(7)(C). In order to

resolve the issue, this court ordered defendant to produce

the document for an in camera inspection.

Upon a thorough review of Document (2), this court

finds that plaintiff is entitled to possession of the document.

While this court does recognize that certain privacy interests

are implicated by the release of the document, the fact that

the Assistant United States Attorney already disclosed the

information contained in this document to plaintiff's

criminal trial counsel suggests to this court that those

privacy interests do not outweigh plaintiff's right to the

information contained in Document (2). Accordingly, this

court will direct EOUSA to release a copy of this document

to plaintiff.

ii. Document (3)

Second, plaintiff asserts he is entitled to a copy of

what has been labeled as "Document [**21] (3)," which is a

letter from an Assistant U.S. Attorney to an FBI Special

Agent regarding possible jury tampering. Defendants assert

that the letter constitutes protected attorney work product.

While plaintiff asserts there is a distinction between factual

and deliberative work product, the law is clear that for the

purposes of a (b)(5) exemption, both factual and deliberative

work product are exempt from release under FOIA. See

Norwood v. Federal Aviation Admin., 993 F.2d 570, 576 (6th

Cir. 1993). Accordingly, this court rejects plaintiff's

argument with respect to this document.

App. 44

iii, | Document (5)

Third, plaintiff objects to the withholding of what

has been labeled as "Document (5)," which consists of a

communication between EOUSA and the U.S. Probation

department. Plaintiff contends that the Probation

Department relied on the document when it prepared

plaintiff's presentence report, and as such, plaintiff contends

that he is entitled to it. This court has noted that, to the

extent Document (5) was used as an aid in the preparation

of the presentence report which this court consulted prior to

sentencing plaintiff, plaintiff has a strong interest in

ensuring that the contents [**22] of the document are

accurate. Accordingly, this court ordered. EOUSA to submit

Document (5) for an in camera inspection.

Upon review of Document (5), this court is satisfied

that the document was not used as an aid in the preparation

of plaintiff's presentence report. Accordingly, this court

finds that EOUSA properly withheld Document (5).

iv. Documents (9) and (10)

Finally, plaintiff asserts he is entitled to what have

been labeled as "Documents (9) and (10)," which are two

pieces of correspondence from an Assistant U.S. Attorney to

attorneys for third parties. Plaintiff contends that these

letters relate to an investigation of his attorney, N.C. Deday

LaRene. Plaintiff sought an in camera inspection of the

documents to determine whether LaRene is in fact the

subject of the documents. Given the slight burden that

would result, this court ordered production of Documents

(9) and (10) for in camera review.

Upon review of Documents (9) and (10), this court is

satisfied that LaRene is not the subject of those pieces of

correspondence. Therefore, this court finds that EOUSA

properly withheld Documents (9) and (10).

App. 45

Accordingly, for the reasons set forth above, this

[**23] court will grant in part and deny in part defendants'

motion summary judgment as it relates to Count IV.

d. Count V

In response to the request that gives rise to Count V

of plaintiff's complaint, the USSS searched its records and

found no responsive documents. Plaintiff contends that a

document he received in the context of another request

reveals that the USSS had an "ongoing investigation" against

him. Accordingly, plaintiff asserts that the USSS should not

be able to claim that it has no documents related to his

request. However, a review of that document suggests only

that Rugiero's name was mentioned in the context of an

investigation report prepared by Treasury-ATF. Defendants

have submitted a declaration which indicates that the

investigation related to that document was directed at

someone other than plaintiff. Accordingly, the document is

not sufficient to produce a genuine issue of material fact as

to whether USSS has responsive documents that it did not

disclose to. plaintiff. Therefore, this court will grant

defendants' motion for summary judgment as to Count V.

e. Counts VI, VIL, VIII and XI

With respect to the requests related to these Counts,

plaintiff [**24] again merely asks for an in camera review of

the relevant documents to determine whether defendants'

claims of exemption are well-founded. Again, plaintiff has

produced no evidence to suggest that there is any bad faith

on the part of the agencies involved. Accordingly, pursuant

to Ingle and Silets, this court rejects plaintiff's invitation to

conduct an in camera review. Therefore, this court will grant

defendants’ motion for summary judgment with respect to

these counts.

4. Defendants' motion as it pertains to Counts IX

and X

a. Count IX

Count IX relates to a request made to the Internal

Revenue Service. In response to that request, the IRS

claimed that it had no responsive documents. Plaintiff

contends, however, that the federal tax return records of

plaintiff were introduced as evidence by the government in

the course of prosecuting plaintiff. Accordingly, plaintiff

contends that the response by the IRS is disingenuous, and

they should be required to run another search. However, as

counsel for defendant indicated at oral argument, the

specific search requested by defendant was for any [*986]

documents related to any IRS Criminal Investigation

Division investigation [**25] of him between the years of

1984 and 1993. Plaintiff has not been charged with tax

evasion, and the mere fact that the government introduced

his federal tax returns in the course of prosecuting him for

non-tax-related offenses does not suggest that there must

have been a Criminal Investigation Division investigation.

Therefore, this court will grant defendant's motion for

summary judgment with respect to Count IX.

b. Count X

Count X arises out of a request made to the

Department of Justice-Tax Division. Defendants' motion for

summary judgment as to Count X is based on the claim that

plaintiff did not comply with the administrative process

required under FOIA when he made. his _ request.

Specifically, defendants contend that the Tax Division never

received the initial FOIA request dated June 5, 1995.

Moreover, defendants claim that plaintiff never sent the

required identity verification form. In response, plaintiff

points out that the initial FOIA request, dated June 5, 1995,

with the clear heading that it was addressed to the Tax

App. 47

Division, is attached as an Exhibit to defendants’ motion for

summary judgment with respect to Counts I-VIII and XI. In

addition, plaintiff has submitted [**26] an affidavit in which

he asserts that he executed the identity verification form and

forwarded same to the Tax Division on October 26, 1995.

Given these circumstances and in the interests of judicial

economy, on September 16, 1998 this court ordered the Tax

Division to accept an identity verification form from

plaintiff and immediately begin processing his request.

Therefore, this court will deny defendants’ motion

for summary judgment as it relates to Count X. ;

Conclusion

For the reasons set forth above, this court having

reviewed the submissions of the parties and being fully

advised in the premises,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that defendants’ motions

for summary judgment pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 56 are

GRANTED in part and DENIED in part in accordance with

the terms set forth in this opinion.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Counts [, II, V, Vi,

VIL, VII, IX and XI of plaintiff's complaint are DISMISSED

with prejudice.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Count IV is

DISMISSED in part with prejudice in accordance with the

terms set forth in this opinion.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that EOUSA shall

release a copy of "Document (2)" to plaintiff within ten [**27]

(10) days of the date of entry of this order.

SO ORDERED.

Dated: 10/19/98 PAUL V. GADOLA

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

Case No. 99-1608

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH C™RCUIT

ORDER

Patrick Rugiero,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

United States Department of Justice;

Department of Treasury,

Defendants-Appellees.

Filed: September 7, 2001

[Entered: September 7, 2001]

Before: KRUPANSKY, BATCHELDER, and

GILMAN, Circuit Judges.

Upon consideration of the petition for rehearing filed

by the appellant,

It is ORDERED that the petition for rehearing be,

and it hereby is, DENIED.

ENTERED BY ORDER OF THE COURT

\s\

Leonard Green, Clerk

App. 49

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.