Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Bugenig v. Hoopa Valley Tribe

Supreme Court brief2002

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

oupreme Court, Us,

o FILED

O1 900 DEC 1 02003

OFFICE

No. OF THE CLERK

In the

Supreme Court of the United States

Se

ROBERTA BUGENIG,

Petitioner,

V.

HOOPA VALLEY TRIBE; THE HOOPA

VALLEY TRIBAL COUNCIL; THE TRIBAL

COURT OF THE HOOPA VALLEY TRIBAL

RESERVATION; BYRON NELSON, JR., Honorable

Judge of the Hoopa Valley Tribal Court; MERV

GEORGE, Chairman of the Hoopa Valley Tribal Council,

Respondents.

+

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United

States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

+

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

+

JAMES S. BURLING

Counsel of Record

Pacific Legal Foundation

10360 Old Placerville Road,

Suite 100

Sacramento, California 95827

Telephone: (916) 362-2833

Facsimile: (916) 362-2932

Counsel for Petitioner

Oe rE |

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The Ninth Circuit held that Congress granted to the Hoopa

Valley Indian Tribe regulatory jurisdiction over fee simple

property belonging te nonmembers (including non-Indians)

when it enacted the Hoopa-Yurok Settlement Act of 1988, 25

U.S.C. §§ 1300i-7.

1. When delegating regulatory jurisdiction ¢ver

nonmember owned fee simple property to an Indian tribe, must

Congress describe that delegation in express and unambiguous

language that refers to nonmember owned fee simple property?

2. Does Congress have the authority to delegate

regulatory jurisdiction over fee simple property belonging to a

nonmember to the Hoopa Valley Indian Tribe?

Se

ii

LIST OF ALL PARTIES

Petitioner: Roberta Bugenig.

Respondents: Hoopa Valley Tribe; the MHoopa

Valley Tribe! Council; the Tribal Court of the Hoopa Valley

Tribal Reservation; Byron Nelson, Jr., Honorable Judge of the

Hoopa Valley Tribal Court; Merv George, Chairman of the

Hoopa Valley Tribal Council.

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED .........-. cece ee cere eee reece i

LIST OF ALL, PARTIES oc ccvcccccccccccvesesvcvecvoens ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .........cceececcceeceeeees V

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI .............+55. ]

os 6. | 0) | ee nen eee ]

En o's cocccusveseesorcescvcreeccsesevenss 2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AT ISSUE ............ 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..........cceccccecceeeces 2

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ...........-+-5-- 8

1. THE COURT BELOW FOUND AN “EXPRESS”

DELEGATION USING STANDARDS EMPLOYED

BY NO OTHER COURT ..........cececececceeces 10

A. The History Behind the Settlement Act Provides

No Support for the Notion That Congress Meant

to Grant the Tribe Jurisdiction over Fee Simple

Property Owned by Non-Indians ............... 1]

B. The Purported Express Congressional

Delegation Is Ambiguous and Overly Reliant

upon a Strained Interpretation of the Tribal

ee edn beutewsedeseeeeeseces 14

C. The Finding of an Express Delegation Is in

Conflict with Decisions of This and Other

Courts Requiring Truly Express and

Unambiguous Language of Delegation .......... 19

D. Assertions of Federal Authority That Impinge

upon State Sovereignty Must Be Strictly

Construed and Not Based upon Ambiguous

Ce ashen es gaucteteeserervesses 22

iV

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Page

Il. THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S FINDING THAT

CONGRESS HAS CONSTITUTIONAL

AUTHORITY TO GIVE THE TRIBE

REGULATORY JURISDICTION OVER FEE

SIMPLE PROPERTY CONFLICTS WITH

NUMEROUS DECISIONS HOLDING THAT THE

FEDERAL GOVERNMENT LACKS PLENARY

REGULATORY AUTHORITY OVER FEE LANDS

BELONGING TO NON-INDIANS ............0.05: 24

CREE. on So naked be desis oa seve edesepuatesnes 30

Vv <

TABLE OF AUTHORI?f 5

Page

Cases

Arizona Public Service Company v.

Environmental Protection Agency,

211 F.3d 1280 (D.C. Cir. 2000), cert.

denied, sub nom. Michigan v. Environmental

Protection Agency, 121 S. Ct. 1600 (2001) ...... 21-22

Atkinson Trading Company v. Shirley,

Dae Wels Gd, LAE Be GE. BED GEOUE) ct ccccvecevcess 9

Bailess v. Paukune, 344 U.S. 171 (1952) ............. 25

Bugenig v. Hoopa Valley Tribe,

ee Be CE EE odie ovecemecesesdves ]

Bugenig v. Hoopa Valley Tribe,

yo Sw rie fo ot eee rer rrr irre rT l

Bugenig v. Hoopa Valley Tribe,

re ER By EE, Lee | er rr rrr rr er l

Bugenig v. Hoopa Valley Tribe,

pT dt) eee eno ere ]

County of Yakima v. Confederated Tribes and

Bands of Yakima Indians, 502 U.S. 251 (1992) ... 18, 29

Dick v. United States, 208 U.S. 340 (1908) ............ 27

Dillon y. Antler Land Co. of Wyola, 341 F. Supp.

734 (D. Mont. 1972), aff'd, 507 F.2d 940 (9th

Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 421 U.S. 992 (1975)........ 25

Gregory v. Ashcroft, 501 U.S. 452 (1991) .......... 22-23

Karuk Tribe of California v. Ammon,

209 F.3d 1366 (Fed. Cir. 2000), cert.

Se Re ee a a err 12

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Levindale Lead & Zinc Mining Co. v.

CRE, BGT UR Sao CRONE cave cccvcccccessees 25

Matiz v. Arnett, 412 U.S. 481 (1973) .......- scene eee 12

Merrion v. Jicarilla Apache Tribe,

Et BREE ob ub ocivckckseveaveatees 26-27

Moe v. Confederated Salish and Kootenai

TPUNE, SIS Gi CEST cccvecccdcveriieecetts 29

Montana v. United States,

BOP Ue. SOG CIGRTD co cccevevevicses 5-9, 19, 24, 28

Nevada v. Hicks, 121 S. Ct. 2304 (2001) .............. 19

Rice v. Rehner, 463 U.S. 713 (1983) .............. 20, 28

Seymour v. Superintendent,

eis Sade win em aes 20, 29

Short v. United States, 486 F.2d 561 (Ct. Cl.

1973), cert. denied, 416 U.S. 961 (1974) ........ 11-12

Short v. United States,

ee Lae Cais Ga SUED ih eicv ees vcccccienss 11-12

Short v. United States, 719 F.2d 1133 (Fed. Cir.

1983), cert. denied, 467 U.S. 1256 (1984) ....... 11-12

Solid Waste Agency of Northern Cook County v.

United States Corps of Engineers,

S31 VB TOPE Ccks cies dcenk vive ceete ss 23

United States ex rel. Noel v. Moore Mill &

Lumber Co., 313 F.2d 71 (9th Cir. 1963) ........... 26

United States ex rel. Warren v. Ickes,

73 Fie WAC. Sa UU os woh bob he ecevesess 26

United States v. Mazurie, 419 U.S. 544 (1975) ... 20, 27-28

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

United States v. Waller, 243 U.S. 452 (1917) ........-. 25

White Mountain Apache Tribe v. Bracker,

BEE SCE Kd AS EG ee ie cere nceereeesees 24

Constitutions

CR Demet GAT. BG icasek en cccerescewcvecseces 2, 28

po) ee ee ee ere ee 2

ME Pere vuGun dare vaswanenr eee eenereseds he 2

Eo lichens es uabadeaNaehleaeentaveses 2, 15-17

ef err ry re eee ere 17

EA cose c ei ds cadens abedercersonsesven a ta Se

Statutes

TRUS. BUISE code civeccn cevodvscescccecseees 20

EDEN Viiv sesntad sed vedebenendeereceess 20, 28

BP RE UND hb. Sv ck i ncty opted ocacveresss ves 20

y LTS Se er Ere hr rere rer rr Tree tt 8

OE as Fe adn SERA CAs Hd te Rech eeeverdesieees 18

1 Pe eee ee ey er eee PT ee eee te eee 18

ED so uvccwesdservcesvdcccneveteveciese’ 18

DD biviccce ds vevssecectovesstsnbessesiens 18

SEDI ang Fes oa Vober diace eee ep piece de cee sd aes 2

DUET. oc.ceei vnus ees be Us ¥O8% Critweee 2, 10, 14-15

St | eer en Pere r rr. Teer ere ee 15

Viil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

a ED EO LIne

OE PEt Pee Ree ane

WE IIE isos ccccsscscccovduncss

I BN oc oii cnvsvesacurcient

II 5s code cecvvdisenscusnas

oe ERA ars NO Neato

wi cavcdawse cen:

SS aaa aes re pe

st Sidi ake

Alaska Statehood Bill, Pub. L. No. 85-508,

FE OU SOP CSTE eh CWE Sewewevwen stein

Idaho Admission Act, ch. 656, 26 Stat. 215 (1890)

Indian Affairs Act of April 8, 1864,

i Te 5 66 ie RS Es 8

Indian General Allotment Act, 24 Stat.

390 (1887) (current version at

25 U.S.C. § 331, et seg. (2001)) ............

Cal Fa Be CS DOPE ov ccc cccccioses

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Supreme Court Rules

Pate pare ors Peers soe eer ee ee ee ee Lee 2

Miscellaneous

134 Cong. Rec. H9406 (Oct. 3, 1988)

(statement of Rep. Bosco) ......-.. see e cree eee 13

134 Cong. Rec. $13967 (Sept. 30, 1988)

(statement of Sen. Inouye) ..........-.-+ee eee: 13-14

Goldschmidt, Walter R., & Driver, Harold E.,

The Hupa White Deerskin Dance, 35 U. of

Cal. Publications in American Archaeology

& Ethnology 1934-1943 (A.L. Krober ed. 1943) ...... 4

Tribe, Laurence H., American Constitutional

Law (26 od. 1988) 2... cc ccccccccccccesucecvcess 23

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Roberta Bugenig respectfully petitions for a writ of

certiorari to review the judgment of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

+

OPINIONS BELOW

The Opinion of the Ninth Circuit Court of / ppeals, en

banc, in Bugenig v. Hoopa Valley Tribe, is reported at 266 F.3d

1201 (9th Cir. 2001), and is reproduced as Appendix A. The

Ninth Circuit’s order vacating an earlier decision and granting

rehearing en banc is reported at 240 F.3d 1215 (9th Cir. 2001),

and reproduced as Appendix B. The original, now vacated,

decision of the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals is reported

at 229 F.3d 1210 (9th Cir. 2000), and reproduced as

Appendix C. The final judgment of the United States District

Court, Northern District of California, March 8, 1999, is

unreported and is reproduced as Appendix E. That court’s

amended Order of March 31, 1999, is unreported and

reproduced as Appendix D.

A prior case in this matter was litigated in Tribal Court.

For this Court’s- convenience, the Opinion of the Northwest

Regional Tribal Supreme Court in and for Hoopa Valley,

decided on April 28, 1998, and reported at 25 Indian L. Rep.

6139 (1998), is attached as Appendix F. The Order of the

Hoopa Valley Tribal Court, July 11, 1996, is attached as

Appendix G.

*-

2

JURISDICTION

The final opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit was issued on September 11, 2001. This

petition is timely filed under Supreme Court Rule 13. This

Court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1254.

+

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AT ISSUE

The Indian Commerce Clause, United States Constitution,

Article I, section 8, gives Congress power “[t]o regulate

commerce with foreign nations, and among the several States,

and with the Indian tribes.”

The Hoopa-Yurok Settlement Act of 1988, 25 U.S.C.

§ 1300i-7, states:

The existing govening [sic] documents of the Hoopa

Valley Tribe and the governing body established and

-elected thereunder, as heretofore recognized by the

Secretary, are hereby ratified and confirmed.

Relevant excerpts of the Hoopa-Yurok Settlement Act of

1988, 25 U.S.C. § 1300i, et seq., are reproduced at Appendix H.

The Hoopa Tribal Constitution, the Preamble, Articles I,

Il, Il, and relevant portions of Article IX, are reproduced at

Appendix I.

4—

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In 1995, Roberta Bugenig purchased 40 acres of fee-

simple land on which she wished to retire. The land was

located within the boundaries of the Hoopa Valley Indian

Reservation, near where her family had lived for nearly 150

years. The land is accessible by and adjacent to a public

highway that Indians and non-Indians traverse freely.

i

3

Mrs. Bugenig is not amember of the Hoopa Valley Indian Tribe

and cannot participate in its government.

So that she could raise enough money to build her

retirement home (and to make room for that home),

Mrs. Bugenig was obliged to cut down some of the second-

growth trees on her land. Her plans were designed to be

consistent with state and county land use policies and practices.

She developed her plans in cooperation with the California

Department of Forestry and the Humboldt County Planning and

Building Department. Throughout the planning process, she

intended only to achieve her modest goal of building a home in

which to live.

‘In July of 1995 Mrs. Bugenig received the necessary

certification from the Humboldt County Planning Division and

a “Less Than 3 Acre Conversion Exemption” from the

California Department of Forestry (CDF). On July 26, 1995,

Mrs. Bugenig, relying on the exemption, began cutting trees on

her land.’ |

Unbeknownst to Mrs. Bugenig, however, the Hoopa

Valley Indian Tribe had adopted a timber management plan on

January 28, 1995 (and ratified that plan on February 2, 1995),

that claimed a permanent buffer zone that prohibited all timber

harvesting activities within one-half mile on either side of the

site of a deer skin dance trail, a trail that begins south of

Mrs. Bugenig’s property near the banks of the Trinity River,

proceeds northward along a public highway, and then proceeds

to a gathering spot to the west of the highway which itself is to

the west of Mrs. Bugenig’s parcel. The dance takes place every

| See Excerpt of Record (ER) at 36, filed with Mrs. Bugenig’s

opening brief to the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals. For the Court’s

convenience, citations to the trial court record will be placed in

footnotes.

4

other year in this area.? All of Mrs. Bugenig’s property is

located within the buffer zone. Appendix at A-10. Two days

after Mrs. Bugenig began harvesting her trees, the Hoopa

Valley Tribal Council (Council) issued to Mrs. Bugenig a

CEASE AND DESIST NOTICE asserting that ONLY the

Hoopa Valley Tribal Council has the authority to make land use

changes.’ Furthermore, the Council threatened to take criminal

and civil actions against Mrs. Bugenig.* On August 10, 1995,

the Hoopa Valley Tribal Court issued an Order of Preliminary

Injunction restraining her from cutting down any trees on her

property.’ In turn, the Tribe brought other legal proceedings

against Mrs. Bugenig and Mrs. Bugenig objected, claiming that

the Tribe lacked jurisdiction over her property.°

On October 10, 1995, the California Department of

Forestry and Fire Protection sent a letter to Mrs. Bugenig

revoking her conversion exemption.’ In a letter sent the

following week, the department advised her that it was

withhold[ing] judgment on whether or not the tribe

has the authority ‘o impose their zoning ordinances

? United States District Court Docket Entry (DE) at Tab 3, Exh. 6,

Declaration of Byron Nelson; see also Walter R. Goldschmidt &

Harold E. Driver, The Hupa White Deerskin Dance, 35 U. of Cal.

Publications in American Archeology & Ethnology 1934-1943 103,

106 (A.L. Krober ed. 1943).

> ER at 6-7; see also Appendix at A-10.

‘ ER at 6-7.

° ER at 14-15; see also Appendix at A-10 to A-11.

® See, e.g., DE at 21, Tab 1, Tab 16, and DE at 21, Tab 44.

7 DE at 21, Tab 48 at 33-34 (Appendix).

———

5

on non-tribal lands or whether the Department will

enforce such ordinances.®

On July 11, 1996, the tribal trial court issued its final

decision and order, granting judgment in favor of the Hoopa

Valley Tribe, ruling in particular that

Humbolt [sic] County does not have authority

or subject matter jurisdiction within the exterior

boundaries of the Hoopa Valley Reservation to

regulate land use. This jurisdictional authority lies

exclusively with the Hoopa Valley Tribal Council

and membership of the Hoopa Valley Tribe.

Appendix at G-6.

On July 19, 1996, Mrs. Bugenig timely filed her notice of

appeal from the decision and order of the Hoopa Valley Tribal

Court, based in part on the assertion that the Tribal Court was

without jurisdiction to hear the matter.’ Subsequently, the Tribe

placed a lien, which is still in place, on Mrs. Bugenig’s property

in a dispute over the removal of the trees that had been

previously cut.'°

_ The decision of the tribal trial court was affirmed by the

Northwest Regional Tribal Supreme Court in and for Hoopa

Valley on April 28, 1998. See Appendix F. The court ruled

that the Tribe had jurisdiction under the second exception of

Montana vy. United States, 450 U.S. 544 (1981), to the general

* DE at 21, Tab 48 at 35 (Appendix). State law, incidentally,

specifically protects Native American religious resources. Cal. Pub.

Res. Code § 5097.9. By utilizing state resources, the Tribe can (and

did) get the state to put a hold on timber harvesting pending further

analysis.

* DE at 21, Tab 44.

'© ER at 28-29; see also Appendix at A-11.

6

rule that tribes do not have jurisdiction over private non-Indian

owned fee property. Specifically, it held that Mrs. Bugenig’s

timber harvesting activities would threaten the health and

welfare of the Tribe by affecting the sanctity of the location of

the dance. Appendix at F-23. The court did not address the

assertion of tribal jurisdiction alleged to be contained in the

language of the Hoopa-Yurok Settlement Act of 1988

(Settlement Act) (the sole basis of the decision by the Ninth

Circuit below). The court determined, furthermore, that there

was no consensual relationship between Mrs. Bugenig and the

Tribe that would invoke the first exception of Montana.

Appendix at F-23.

Mrs. Bugenig filed her complaint in federal district court

in the present case on September 4, 1998.'' The tribal

defendants filed a motion to dismiss on November 30, 1998.

The district court entered an order dismissing the case on

March 4, 1999. Judgment was entered March 8, 1999.

Appendix E. An amended order was filed March 31, 1999.

Appendix D. The district court below based its decision on its

interpretation of the Settlement Act, an issue not reached by the

tribal appellate court, finding that the language of the statute

served to give the Tribe jurisdiction over Mrs. Bugenig’s

property. Jd. at D-8 to D-9. The court’s decision did not touch

upon the Tribe’s suggestion that the two exceptions in Montana

applied.

A three-judge panel of the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals

reversed on October 3, 2001. Appendix at C-26. The panel

began by noting: “The fact that nothing in the Settlement Act

itself explicitly confers upon the Tribe jurisdiction to regulate

nonmembers raises serious questions as to how carefully

Congress considered whether it was making any grant of

regulatory authority to the Tribe.” Appendix at C-11. Turning

to the legislative history of the Act, the court found no clear

"! ER at 39-45.

7

indication that Congress had intended to grant to the Tribe

jurisdiction over fee simple property such as Mrs. Bugenig’s:

“The legislative history contains no indication that Congress

considered giving or intended to give the Tribe authority to

exercise jurisdiction over fee-patented land owned by

non-Indians such as Bugenig.” Appendix at C-11. Examining

the words of the Act itself, the court noted that nowhere in the

statute were the usual words or indications that this Court has

always found to be persuasive in determining that there has

been an express delegation. Appendix at C-14 to C-18.

Finding no express delegation the court found no reason to

examine the constitutional question of whether Congress could

have granted the Tribe jurisdiction in this case. Appendix at C-

18 n.5. Finally, the court concluded that none of the Montana

exceptions provided authority for tribal jurisdiction over

Mrs. Bugenig’s property. ©

The Ninth Circuit granted the Tribe’s petition for

rehearing en banc. Appendix B.

A divided en banc panel of the Ninth Circuit affirmed the

district court decision. In words described by three dissenters

as “a marvelous act of interpretation, bordering on

thaumaturgy,” Appendix at A-43 (Fernandez, J., dissenting), the

court held that the Settlement Act delegated to the Tribe

regulatory authority over Mrs. Bugenig’s property. It relied on

language in that Act that Congress “ratified and confirmed” the

Tribal Constitution and thereby adopted language in that Tribal

Constitution, and the local laws enacted pursuant to that

constitution, all of which together allegedly served to extend

tribal jurisdiction to all land within reservation boundaries,

including fee simple property owned by non-Indians. Appendix

A, passim. The court further held that Congress had the

constitutional authority to make such a delegation. Appendix

at A-13 to A-16, A-27 to A-37. The court did not reach the

question of whether tribal jurisdiction over Mrs. Bugenig’s

8

property could be supported by any of the exceptions of

Montana.

Three judges dissented, describing the purported language

of delegation as being too ambiguous and too lost in “the midst -

of a fuliginous cloud of words” for there to be an effective and

express delegation. Appendix at A-38 (Fernandez, J.,

dissenting). Employing a gladitorial metaphor of a warrior with

a net and trident, the dissenting opinion further suggested that

the court should not “decide that by using the constitution’s

unexceptional language the Tribe, like a retiarius, ensnared and

skewered Congress, thereby obtaining exceptional jurisdiction.”

Appendix at A-42 (Fernandez, J., dissenting). The dissenters

further described the tribal “constitution’s bland language as

a power grab over land and peoples not related to the Tribe

itself or to its government.” Jd at A-42 (Fernandez, J.,

dissenting).

+

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

It is undisputed that the fee land that is now owned by

Mrs. Bugenig first became private property as a result of the

Indian General Allotment Act, 24 Stat. 390 (1887) (current

version at 25 U.S.C. § 331, et seg. (2001)). ‘The General

Allotment Act, after the passage of a trust period, provided that

patent should issue and then each and every allottee shall have

the benefit of and be subject to the laws, both civil and

criminal, of the State or Territory in which they may reside. 25

U.S.C. § 349. The end result of the Allotment Act was to

diminish tribal jurisdiction over certain non-Indian owned fee

lands. As this Court has made clear, because the intent of the

Allotment Act was to do away with the reservation system, it

was only natural that the non-Indian owners of the allotments

were to be under state, rather than tribal, jurisdiction.

9

It defies common sense to suppose that Congress

would intend that non-Indians purchasing allotted

lands would become subject to tribal jurisdiction

when an avowed purpose of the allotment policy was

the ultimate destruction of tribal government.

Montana, 450 U.S. at 559 n.9; quoted most recently in Atkinson

Trading Company v. Shirley, 532 U.S. 645, 121 S. Ct. 1825,

1830 n.1 (2001). This Court in Montana noted exceptions to

the general rule that tribes lack jurisdiction over fee property

purchased by non-Indians:

But exercise of tribal power beyond what is

necessary to protect tribal self-government or to

control internal relations is inconsistent with the

dependent status of the tribes, and so cannot survive

without express congressional delegation.

450 U.S. at 564 (emphasis added). The opinion further

elaborated the exceptions to the general rule against tribal

jurisdiction:

A tribe may regulate, through taxation, licensing, or

other means, the activities of nonmembers who enter

consensual relationships with the tribe or its

members, through commercial dealing, contracts,

leases, or other arrangements .... A tribe may also

retain inherent power to exercise civil authority over

the conduct of non-Indians on fee lands within its

reservation when that conduct threatens or has some

direct effect on the political integrity, the economic

security, or the health or welfare of the tribe.

450 U.S. at 565-66 (citations omitted).

While the tribal supreme court found tribal jurisdiction

through the political integrity exception, the Ninth Circuit relied

instead upon the finding of an “express congressional

delegation.” However, it did so by relying on ambiguous

10

statutory language that purported to incorporate an ambiguous

Tribal Constitution. This manner of “express” delegation is in

conflict with every other delegation countenanced by Congress

or this Court. The Ninth Circuit also purported to find a

delegation of authority that Congress never had in the first

place, a delegation in conflict with numerous decisions of this

and other courts relating to the extent of federal jurisdiction

over allotted lands on Indian reservations.

This leads to the questions presented to this Court: Did

Congress expressly grant to the Tribe jurisdiction over fee

simple property using language far more ambiguous than the

delegation standards of this Court and a lower court that

examined the issue? And, did Congress actually have authority

under the United States Constitution to grant to the Tribe land

use regulation that had previously been exercised exclusively by

the State of California?

I

THE COURT BELOW FOUND AN

_ “EXPRESS” DELEGATION USING STANDARDS

EMPLOYED BY NO OTHER COURT

The Ninth Circuit’s finding of a delegation to the Hoopa

Valley Indian Tribe of regulatory authority over fee simple land

owned by non-Indians is unprecedented both in terms of the

scope of the delegation, granting unlimited regulatory authority

over fee lands, but also in the manner in which the delegation

is purported to have been effected. As will be shown, there is

not a single word in the Settlement Act itself that discusses such

a delegation of jurisdiction. Instead, the delegation is purported

to exist in the Tribal Constitution that the Settlement Act

“ratified and confirmed.” 25 U.S.C. § 1300i-7. As will be

further shown, the Tribal Constitution is also quite ambiguous,

and there is no clear indication of the unprecedented usurpation

of jurisdiction that the Ninth Circuit reads into that document.

In every other case of delegation, both Congress and this Court

1]

have been very careful to make sure that the language of

delegation is clear and unambiguous. In fact, in every other

case of delegation, Congress has employed explicitly clear

language that expressly refers to patented fee lands. The utter

lack of any such reference in the Settlement Act puts the Ninth

Circuit’s opinion in stark contrast to and in conflict with

numerous holdings of this Court.

A. The History Behind the Settlement Act Provides

No Support for the Notion That Congress Meant

to Grant the Tribe Jurisdiction over Fee Simple

Property Owned by Non-Indians

The Settlement Act does not discuss in terms ambiguous

or otherwise any express delegation of jurisdiction to the Tribe.

Absent any statutory ambiguity, resort to legislative history

should be unnecessary. However, to the extent that a majority

of the en banc court below was able to find an express

delegation of authority contained within the Settlement Act,

there is at least an argument that the language is ambiguous.

Therefore, in order to understand whether the language of the

Settlement Act contains the language of delegation that courts

traditionally have relied upon, it is helpful first to understand

the historical context of the Settlement Act. Prior to the

Settlement Act, no one tribe had exclusive jurisdiction over the

reservation. This fact led to a long and bitter dispute between

members of the Hoopa Valley Tribe and members of other

tribes that lived on the reservation. The problem was that

members of the Hoopa Valley Indian Tribe collected all the

timber revenues from reservation lands, to the exclusion of

members of other tribes who had been lawfully settled upon the

reservation. See, e.g., Short v. United States, 486 F.2d 561, 564

(Ct. Cl. 1973), cert. denied, 416 U.S. 961 (1974) (Short q;

Short v. United States, 661 F.2d 150 (Ct. Cl. 1981) (Short I),

aff'd, 719 F.2d 1133 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (Short III), cert. denied,

12

467 U.S. 1256 (1984). This dispute was not resolved until the

passage of the Settlement Act.”

The history of the reservation, as summarized in the Short

opinions, as well as in Mattz v. Arnett, 412 U.S. 481 (1973),

shows that the core of the reservation (the Square) was first

created in 1864 by the California Superintendent of Indian

Affairs pursuant to powers ratified in the Indian Affairs Act of

April 8, 1864, ch. 48, 13 Stat. 39. Since the reservation was

formed, the Hoopa Valley Indian tribe was only one of many

Indian tribes that occupied the reservation. Short J, 486 F.2d at

565. The Short J court expressly found the Hoopa Indians did

not have exclusive or vested rights in the resources of the

reservation. /d. Nor were the Hoopa Indians the sole aboriginal

occupants of the Square. Jd. at 564.

Unlike the traditional view of Indian reservations, where

resources are considered held in trust for the tribal entity, the

Short courts found that the resources were not held by the

Hoopa Valley Indian tribe, or any other tribe. Instead, these

resources were owned by the individual members of all the

tribes inhabiting the reservation. Short JI, 661 F.2d at 154

(rejecting theory that the Reservation und its resources are tribal

property rather than the common property of the individual

Indians); at 155-56 (noting that it was appropriate that

individual Indians (rather than the tribes) receive payments and

that there was no functioning tribal entity for the Yuroks). In

fact, the Hoopa Valley Tribe was recognized only in 1950,

Short ITI, 719 F.2d at 1136, many years after new allotments on

the reservation had ceased being issued in 1933, Short J, 486

F.2d at 568. As the Hoopa Valley Tribe did not have

jurisdiction over the resources on the reservation it would be

2 Even with the Act, some disputes remain. See, e.g., Karuk Tribe

of California v. Ammon, 209 F.3d 1366 (Fed. Cir. 2000), cert.

denied, 121 S. Ct. 1402 (2001).

13

illogical to presume that it had jurisdiction over fee-simple

property.

It was with this often bitter history in mind that Congress

passed the Settlement Act in order to give the Hoopa Valley

Indian Tribe jurisdiction over the “Square,” the Yuroks

jurisdiction over an “addition” to the reservation, and to help

resolve the status and rights of the many other Indians, who

were not members of either the Hoopa or Yurok tribes, but who

had been settled on the reservation. Congress wanted to ensure

that the Hoopas could govern the Hoopa reservation without the

acrimony and uncertainty caused by the claims brought by the

Yuroks and members of other tribes.'? See 134 Cong. Rec.

S13967 (Sept. 30, 1988) (statement of Sen. Inouye), at §13972:

13 See 134 Cong. Rec. H9406 (Oct. 3, 1988) (statement of Rep.

Bosco), at H9410:

As the Hoopa Tribe began to take advantage of a booming

timber market, however, a dispute arose over the

distribution of revenues from timber sales. This dispute

turned the people against each other. It brought them to

the courtrooms of Eureka, San Francisco, and the U.S.

Supreme Court in a legal battle that has lasted some 25

years.

Sadly, these people are some of the poorest in our

country, suffering unemployment rates of over 60 percent.

The money and energy expended on this protracted legal

battle could better have been spent to strengthen these

tribes and build the schools, health facilities, roads and

other improvements needed by these people.

The legislation recognizes that some Yurok Indians

prefer to live in an organized community and others would

simply want to receive funds held in trust for the tribes.

This legislation will make funds available to the organized

tribes and to individuals who heretofore would r % be

entitled to a distribution of such funds.

14

As aresult of some 25 years of litigation, the Hoopa

Valley Tribe has lost its capacity to govern . . . the

reservation square, and provide those programs it has

so long delivered.

There is absolutely nothing, however, in the legislative history

demonstrating any congressional desire to give either tribe

jurisdiction over fee simple property belonging to non-Indians.

With this history in mind, attention must be turned next to the

language of the purported delegation.

B. The Purported Express Congressional Delegation

Is Ambiguous and Overly Reliant upon a Strained

Interpretation of the Tribal Constitution

The purported delegation reads in its entirety:

The existing govening [sic] documents of the Hoopa

Valley Tribe and the governing body established and

elected thereunder, as heretofore recognized by the

Secretary, are hereby ratified and confirmed.

25 U.S.C. § 1300i-7. This, of course, says nothing on its face

about there being any delegation of authority from the United

States to the Tribe of land-use regulatory authority over fee

simple property. Nevertheless, the Ninth Circuit began its

odyssey of delegation by focusing on the words “ratified and —

confirmed,” finding that these words served to incorporate the

Tribe’s constitution as federal law, and then finding that the

language of the Tribal Constitution unambiguously exerted

jurisdiction over fee simple land belonging to non-Indians.

This delegation is unlike any delegation of congressional

authority previously encountered, and falls far short of the

standards traditionally followed for determining whether there

has been a delegation.

The three dissenters on the en banc panel quoted verbatim

the original panel’s vacated finding that this “ratify and

confirm” language is not an express delegation:

15

The fact that nothing in the Settlement Act

itself explicitly confers upon the Tribe jurisdiction to

regulate nonmembers raises serious questions as to

how carefully Congress considered whether it was

making any grant of regulatory authority to the Tribe.

Moreover, the Settlement Act uses the same “ratified

and confirmed” language to recognize the newly

created Yurok Tribe, 25 U.S.C. § 1300i-8, which

suggests that this language may simply represent

Congress’s attempt to establish the Hoopa Valley

Tribe and the Yurok Tribe as the governing

authorities for their respective reservations, rather

than a consciously made delegation of authority to

the tribes to exercise jurisdiction over nonmembers

Despite this ambiguity with respect to the

Settlement Act as a grant of power over tribal

nonmembers, the district court interpreted § 1300i-7

as a congressional delegation of authority to the

Tribe to exercise such jurisdiction. The district court

reasoned that § 1300i-7’s “ratified and confirmed”

language works to “give[] every clause in the

document being ratified the full force and effect of a

congressional statute.”

Appendix at A-39 to A-40 (Fernandez, J., dissenting),

Appendix at C-11 to C-12.

There being no express delegation within the four comers

of the Settlement Act, the district court and the en banc panel

below focused instead on two articles, Article II and Article

IX, of the “ratified and confirmed” Tribal Constitution as

containing the grant of delegation. These will be taken in turn.

16

Article III states:

The jurisdiction of the Hoopa Valley Tribe shall

extend to all lands within the confines of the Hoopa

Valley Indian Reservation boundaries as established

by Executive Order of June 23, 1876, and to such

other lands as may hereafter be acquired by or for the

Hoopa Valley Indians.

Appendix at I-] to J-2. The court below saw the perfunctory

“all lands” reference as being the sine qua non of the

- delegation. However, this really is not clear at all. Referring to

this section the dissenters noted that

the district court was surely wrong when it

determined that the language in question clearly

conferred jurisdiction over non-Indians on

non-Indian land within the boundaries of the

reservation. There is not a whisper of that in the

language in question; nor is there any reason to think

that Congress divined that intention lurking in the

words. To assume that jurisdiction means a general

plenary jurisdiction over others and that all we need

to do is ruminate on its territorial scope is to beg the

question.

As it is, there is nothing remarkable about a

tribal constitution’s declaration that the reach of

tribal authority will extend to its own boundaries,

and that is all the language at hand declares. That is

a far cry from saying that the tribe will have

unrestricted authority to regulate the use of

non-Indian land within those boundaries, regardless

of the fact that a tribe generally has no such powers.

Appendix at A-41 (Fernandez, J., dissenting). Another reason

why the “all lands” language is inadequate as an express grant

17

of jurisdiction is because the final clause of Article II refers “to

other lands as may hereafter be acquired by or for the Hoopa

Valley Indians.” These “other lands” logically include fee

simple property that belongs to non-Indians such as

Mrs. Bugenig. If that is a logical reading of this part of Article

Ill, then this is anything but an express congressional

delegation.

Second, the panel below found that Articie 1X, section

1(1), of the Tribal Constitution dispositive. That section reads

in relevant part:

Section 1. The Tribal Council shall have the

following powers subject to any limitations imposed

by federal statutes or by the Constitution of the

United States.

(1) To safeguard and promote the peace, safety,

morals and general welfare of the Hoopa Valley

Indians by regulating the conduct of trade and the

use and disposition of property upon the reservation,

provided that any ordinance directly affecting non-

members of the Hoopa Valley Tribe shall be subject

to the approval of the Commissioner of Indian

Affairs or his authorized representative.

Appendix at I-2. The en banc panel found that this section of

its constitution is “unambiguous” and that it “unequivocally”

delegates jurisdiction over nonmembers if that jurisdiction is

claimed in any tribal ordinance. Appendix at A-23. But as the

dissenters and vacated panel decision point out, “that language

appears to do no more than allow for regulation of ‘consensual

commercial dealings between tribal members and

nonmembers.’” Appendix at A-41 n.2 (quoting Appendix at C-

13).

18

The court below overreached when it translated the words

of Article IX, “directly affecting nonmembers,” into a blanket

congressional grant of regulatory jurisdiction over nonmember

activities on non-Indian fee land. This provision could best and

most easily be interpreted to refer to in personam jurisdiction

over non-Indians within the reservation, an interpretation that

would be consistent with the presumption against tribal

regulatory jurisdiction over non-Indian fee lands. See County

of Yakima v. Confederated Tribes and Bands of Yakima

Indians, 502 U.S. 251, 264-65 (1992). Because this section

refers to the nonmembers and not their fee land, the Tribe’s

interpretation is too much of a reach. In short, there is no

showing that Congress understood that it was agreeing to

anything except allowing for Hoopa tribal regulation of

activities (by members and nonmembers) involving Hoopa

reservation lands."* —

'* The court’s expansive reading of the words “ratifies and

confirms” has some potentially significant ramifications for other

congressional acts dealing with Indian Tribes that have employed

similar language. See, e.g., 25 U.S.C. § 1725(b)(1) (ratifying and

confirming the Maine Implementing Act, affecting state jurisdiction

over the Passamaquoddy Tribe and the Penobscot Nation); 25 U.S.C.

§ 941m(e)-(f) (settlement agreement between South Carolina and

Catawaba Tribe “ratified and confirmed,” including ability of State

and Tribe to amend the settlement agreement). See also various

ratifications and confirmations of other tribal settlement agreements

at 25 U.S.C. § 640d (Navajo and Hopi); § 672 (Ute); § 1750b

(Miccosukee); § 1771 (Wampanoag); § 1773 (Puyallup); § 1776b

(Crow); and § 1778b (Torres-Martinez Desert Cahuilla). Similarly,

statehood acts employ such language in ratifying and confirming

state constitutions. See, e.g., Idaho Admission Act, ch. 656, 26 Stat.

215 (1890); Alaska Statehood Bill, Pub. L. No. 85-508, 72 Stat. 339

(1958).

19

C. The Finding of an Express Delegation Is

in Conflict with Decisions of This and

Other Courts Requiring Truly Express

and Unambiguous Language of Delegation

There can be no argument that before the Settlement Act

the State of California had regulatory jurisdiction over fee

simple property on the Hoopa Valley Indian Reservation.

Similarly, there can be no argument that tribes are presumed

not to have regulatory jurisdiction over non-Indian fee lands.

See Montana, 450 U.S. at 565-66. As emphasized by this Court

last term:

Hitherto, the absence of tribal ownership has been

virtually conclusive of the absence of tribal civil

jurisdiction; with one minor exception, we have

never upheld under Montana the extension of tribal

civil authority over nonmembers on non-Indian land.

Nevada v. Hicks, 121 S. Ct. 2304, 2310 (2001).

And, absent a relevant exception of Montana, there must

be a valid congressional delegation of authority in order for the

Tribe to regulate non-Indian fee property. Furthermore, in order

to find that Congress has delegated the power to regulate such

fee lands to tribes, this Court has always required that such an

intent be made in express terms. See, e.g., Montana, 450 U.S.

at 564.”°

The usual and traditional way for Congress to express its

intent to delegate to a tribe regulatory authority over non-Indian

fee property has been to include specific language in the

particular act in question. Thus, when Congress passes a statute

'S Similarly, with respect to attempts to convey navigable waters to

a tribe, this Court warned one “must not infer such a conveyance

‘unless the intention was definitely declared or otherwise made very

plain’ . . . or was rendered ‘in clear and especial words.’” Montana,

450 U.S. at 552 (citations omitted).

20

giving tribes authority to carry out some governmental function

on fee simple lands, Congress expressly states that the statute

applies to all land in a reservation “notwithstanding the

issuance of any patent.” See, e.g., 18 U.S.C. § 1151 (defining

Indian Country in context of tribal and federal criminal

jurisdiction); 23 U.S.C. § 402(i) (jurisdiction of highway safety

programs); 25 U.S.C. § 3902(3)(A) (defining Indian country for

purposes of open dump cleanups on Indian lands); 30 U.S.C.

§ 1291(9) (jurisdiction over surface mining operations); 33

U.S.C. § 1377(h) (defining Indian reservations for possible

treatment as state in Clean Water Act regulation); 42 U.S.C.

§ 7410(0) (defining scope of jurisdiction over tribal air quality

plans pursuant to “tribal ‘implementation plans” in Clean Air

Act). Each one of these statutes contains the express

“notwithstanding the issuance of any patent” language and each

one therefore contains an unambiguous expression of

congressional intent to delegate to the Tribe regulatory authority

over fee simple non-Indian property.

Indeed, in the only cases where this Court has found that

Congress delegated regulatory jurisdiction over fee lands to a

tribe, the “notwithstanding the issuance of any patent” language

was dispositive. Thus, this Court in United States v. Mazurie,

419 U.S. 544, 547 n.3 (1975), and in Rice v. Rehner, 463 U.S.

713, 729 (1983), found congressional delegations to the tribes

(and states) of the federal authority to regulate the sale of liquor

on Indian reservations contained in a combination of 18 U.S.C.

§ 1151 and § 1161, the former of which contains the

“notwithstanding” proviso.

Similarly, in Seymour v. Superintendent, 368 U.S. 351,

353 (1962), this Court noted that the “notwithstanding the

issuance of any patent” language removed any “uncertainty”

over the extent of federal criminal jurisdiction in “Indian

country.”

oe

Since Congress has always employed the “notwithstanding

the issuance of any patent” language in its express delegations,

and since this Court has found express delegations only when

that language has been present, the decision of the Ninth Circuit

is in conflict with the holdings of this Court.

There has been only one other significant case resolving

whether there has been an express delegation of congressional

authority to an Indian tribe. In Arizona Public Service

Company v. Environmental Protection Agency, 211 F.3d

1280 (D.C. Cir. 2000), cert. denied, sub nom. Michigan v.

Environmental Protection Agency, 121 S. Ct. 1600 (2001), the

United States Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit found that

Congress had authorized tribal jurisdiction over non-Indian fee

property for purposes of 42 U.S.C. § 7601(d)(2), a provision of

the Clean Air Act. Section 7601(d)(2) allows tribes, under

certain circumstances, to enforce the Clean Air Act within the

boundaries of an Indian reservation. The Court found that

Congress provided an express delegation of federal authority

over fee property despite the absence of the “notwithstanding

the issuance of any patent” language in this subsection. 211

F.3d at 1288. Nevertheless, the court also noted that the

particular “notwithstanding” language was found elsewhere in

the act, at 42.U.S.C. § 7410(0), which deals with tribal

enforcement of “tribal implementation plans” and which cross-

references § 7601(d).” 211 F.3d at 1295.

Judge Ginsburg, however, wrote in dissent that although

there was an express delegation of federal authority (utilizing

the “notwithstanding” language) to the tribes over fee simple

non-Indian land in section 7410(o), that such a delegation could

not be imputed to the more expansive section 7601(d)(2). 211

F.3d at 1302-03. In language that was adopted by the original,

now vacated, Ninth Circuit decision in Bugenig, Judge

Ginsburg found that employment of the “notwithstanding the

issuance of any patent” language was the “gold standard” for

delegations. While congress may certainly express its intent to

22

delegate its authority in other ways, he wrote, it ought to at least

be as clear and unambiguous, rather than an “obscure and

never-before-attempted formulation to accomplish the same

result.” 211 F.3d at 1303.

Nonetheless, unlike the Settlement Act at issue in this

case, at least Congress had employed the “notwithstanding”

proviso somewhere in the Clean Air Act and cross-referenced

that proviso to other provisions of the statute.

D. Assertions of Federal Authority That

Impinge upon State Sovereignty Must

Be Strictly Construed and Not Based

upon Ambiguous Language

Another reason why this Court should grant

Mrs. Bugenig’s petition for writ of certiorari is that the decision

below is inconsistent with this Court’s repeated admonitions

not to find congressional intent that impinges on state

sovereignty unless Congress’ intent is plain. Thus, in Gregory

v. Ashcroft, 501 U.S. 452 (1991), this Court wrote that when

interfering with attributes of state sovereignty,

“it is incumbent upon the federal courts to be certain

of Congress’ intent before finding that federal law

overrides” this balance. We explained recently: “If

Congress intends to alter the ‘usual constitutional

balance between the States and the Federal

Government,’ it must make its intention to do so

‘unmistakably clear in the language of the statute.’

... Congress should make its intention ‘clear and

manifest.’”

501 U.S. at 460 (citations omitted).

Pointedly, this Court called for “special care when

interpreting alleged congressional intrusions into state

sovereignty under the Commerce Clause.” Jd. at 463 n.*. The

same principle should apply with equal force to the Indian

23

Commerce Clause. As shown above, the Settlement Act is, at

best, ambiguous as to whether it demonstrates a congressional

intent to delegate authority to the Tribe. As this Court also

noted: “To give the state-displacing weight of federal law to

mere congressional ambiguity would evade the very procedure

for lawmaking on which Garcia relied to protect states’

interests.” 501 U.S. at 464 (citing Laurence H. Tribe, American

Constitutional Law § 6-25, at 480 (2d ed. 1988)).

More recently, in Solid Waste Agency of Northern Cook

County v. United States Corps of Engineers, 531 U.S. 159

(2001), this Court determined that ambiguous language in the

Clean Water Act did not give the Corps jurisdiction over

isolated wetlands. This Court noted that the “(rjegulation of

land use [is] a function traditionally performed by local

governments,” 531 U.S. at 174 (citation omitted), and refused

to acquiesce to an administrative interpretation of a statute that

impacted a local government function; especially when that

very statute expressed an intent not to interfere with “the

primary responsibilities and rights of States . . . to plan the

development and use . . . of land and water resources.” Id.

(quoting 33 U.S.C. § 1251(b)).

The decision of the court below conflicts with this Court’s

wariness to find congressional intrusions upon state sovereignty

and land use planning prerogatives.

24

I

THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S FINDING

THAT CONGRESS HAS CONSTITUTIONAL

AUTHORITY TO GIVE THE TRIBE

REGULATORY JURISDICTION OVER FEE

SIMPLE PROPERTY CONFLICTS WITH

NUMEROUS DECISIONS HOLDING THAT

THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT LACKS

PLENARY REGULATORY AUTHORITY OVER

FEE LANDS BELONGING TO NON-INDIANS

Even if Congress had expressed an intent to grant the

Tribe jurisdiction over fee simple property, the question

remains whether Congress had the power to do so. The

problem here is that once lands were allotted, they became

subject to state regulatory jurisdiction in derogation of tribal

and federal control. The Ninth Circuit suggests, however, that

the federal government retains “plenary” authority over the

reservations and therefore can delegate its plenary authority to

the tribes. Appendix at A-28 to A-32.

The term “plenary” may be an accurate enough description

of the federal government’s power to regulate tribal relations

and the reservation land that remains in trust for the Indian

tribes. See, e.g., White Mountain Apache Tribe v. Bracker, 448

U.S. 136, 145-46 (1980). But there is no authority for the

proposition that the federal government retains any sort of

plenary regulatory authority over nonmember fee land. Instead,

the court below infers, incredibly, such authority from Montana

because that case recognized that the tribes might, in

exceptional circumstances, have jurisdiction under the

exceptions of that case. Appendix at A-30. This not only turns

Montana on its head, but it is in conflict with virtually every

case that has examined the extent of federal jurisdiction over

allotted lands—including cases from the Ninth Circuit.

Numerous decisions of several courts have held that once

a patent is issued for an allotment the trust relationship between

25

the federal government and the owner of the fee ends. For

example, in an opinion affirmed by the Ninth Circuit, the

District of Montana held:

The issuance of the fee patent had a broader effect

than merely to free plaintiff to sell her land—it freed

the United States from its trustee duties and altered

the relationship of the land and plaintiff to the State

of Montana.

Dillon v. Antler Land Co. of Wyola, 341 F. Supp. 734, 741 (D.

Mont. 1972), aff'd, 507 F.2d 940 (9th Cir. 1974), cert. denied,

421 U.S. 992 (1975).

In Levindale Lead & Zinc Mining Co. v. Coleman, 241

U.S. 432, 438 (1916), this Court noted:

We find no indication of an intent that they [federal

restrictions on trust land] should apply to lands, or an

interest in lands, which had come lawfully into the

ownership of white men who were non-members of

the tribe.

Cited with approval in Bailess v. Paukune, 344 U.S. 171, 173

(1952).

Similarly, this Court found: “As to them [patented

allotments] the Government has no further interest in or control

over the lands.” United States v. Waller, 243 U.S. 452, 463

(1917). Continuing, the Court wrote:

With those restrictions entirely removed and the fee

simple patent issued it would seem that the situation

was one in which all questions pertaining to the

disposal of the lands naturally would fall within the

scope and operation of the laws of the State.

243 U.S. at 463 (emphasis added).

26

The District of Columbia Circuit has noted that once

allotted lands are patented the federal supervision ceases:

[T]he supervision of the Secretary over the royalties

collected under the lease automatically ceased with

the removal of the restrictions which occurred on...

the termination of the special estate.

United States ex rel. Warren v. Ickes, 73 F.2d 844, 847 (D.C.

Cir. 1934), Continuing, the court held:

On removal of the restrictions the owner of the land

and the funds was at full liberty to use, dispose of,

and contract with relation to them in his or her

individual capacity, without reference to approval or

disapproval of the Secretary of the Interior, subject

only to approval of the court of competent

jurisdiction, in this instance the county court of

Hughes county, Okl.

Id. at 848 (emphasis added). Cited with approval in United

States ex rel. Noel v. Moore Mill & Lumber Co., 313 F.2d 71,

73 (9th Cir. 1963).

In sum, these cases demonstrate that once a fee patent

issued on these allotted lands, the federal government had

divested itself of direct (or plenary) regulatory oversight over

these properties.

Nor is the Indian Commerce Clause a carte blanche for

federal or tribal jurisdiction. For example, in Merrion v.

Jicarilla Apache Tribe, 455 U.S. 130, 153-54 (1982), the Court

held:

To date, however, this Court has relied on the

Indian Commerce Clause as a shield to protect

Indian tribes from state and local interference, and

has not relied on the Clause to authorize tribal

27

regulation of commerce without any constitutional

restraints.

Congress no more has plenary land use regulatory authority

over fee simple non-Indian owned land on Indian reservations

deriving from the Indian Commerce Clause than it has plenary

land use regulatory authority over fee simple non-Indian owned

land outside the reservation pursuant to the (ordinary)

Commerce Clause. The court below is in conflict with this

great weight of authority.

The Ninth Circuit is also in error when it relies on liquor

cases such as Mazurie in support of the notion that the federal

government retains land use authority over fee simple property

owned by non-Indians. See Appendix at A-30. That is because

the very activity regulated, liquor sales to Indians, implicates

actual commerce with Indians rather than an activity with

limited impact on tribal members or tribal governments.

Indeed, courts have long upheld restrictions on liquor sales

from allotted fee property. In Dick v. United States, 208 U.S.

340, 354 (1908), this Court explained:

[Tt was necessary that the Indians, remaining on the

unallotted and retained lands, should be protected

against the pernicious influences that would come

from having the allotted lands used by citizens of the

United States as a storehouse for intoxicants. Only

the authority of the United States could have

adequately controlled the conduct of such citizens.

If intoxicants could be kept upon the lands of the

allottees in severalty, it is easy to perceive what

injury would be done to the Indians living on the

other lands, who, in order to obtain intoxicating

liquor, could go regularly or frequently to the places

near by, on some allotted lands, where intoxicants

were stored for sale or exchange.

Lee ee a ees eNO RE PO oh RENTON LINEN Cele ERIS oF oN TE SESE

28

In contrast to local land use regulation, the ability to

regulate the sale of liquor within Indian Country is squarely

within the ambit of the Indian Commerce Clause. Liquor sales

within Indian Country were banned at least since 1832, and

lesser bans were effected during the Colonial Era. Rice v.

Rehner, 463 U.S. at 722. There is nothing in the terms of the

Allotment Act that served to rescind the long-standing

prohibition against liquor sales in Indian Country. The

regulation of liquor sales was delegated to Indian Tribes in

1953. See 18 U.S.C. § 1161, United States v. Mazurie, 419

U.S. at 547." In Mazurie, the Court upheld this delegation,

finding first that Congress had the power to regulate liquor sales

in Indian Country and second that it could delegate this power

to Indian tribes."”

Mazurie, however, does not stand for the blanket

proposition that Congress can take jurisdiction over regulatory

activities that it never had and delegate that authority to a tribe.

The regulation of activities on private fee property that do not

involve commerce with Indians is not subject to Congress’

authority under Article 1, section 8, unless either of the

Montana exceptions exist. As noted, the court below did not

rely on a Montana exception for its holding. Because Congress

has no inherent power to assert land use regulation over

'© Because the 1953 act required conformance with state law, the

regulation of liquor in Indian Country can best be described as

concurrent jurisdiction. Rice, 463 U.S. at 722-23. The concept of

concurrent jurisdiction is not at issue in this case as the Tribe asserts

that only it has regulatory jurisdiction over Mrs. Bugenig’s property.

Appendix at G-6. Furthermore, there is no authority for finding that

prohibitory land use regulation is amenable to concurrent

jurisdiction.

'” To be precise, this Court upheld the federal enforcement of federal

law that incorporated a tribal liquor regulation.

29

Mrs. Bugenig’s property, it cannot delegate that power to the

Tribe."*

To the extent that the court below relies on cases involving

federal jurisdiction over crimes committed by non-Indians on

tribal and allotted lands, see, e.g., Seymour v. Superintendent,

Appendix at A-30, the court confuses in personam jurisdiction

over non-Indians who happen to be within Indian Country with

in rem jurisdiction over activities on fee simple property. This

Court has made the distinction plain. In County of Yakima v.

Confederated Tribes and Bands of Yakima Indians, 502 US.

251, this Court was confronted with the question of whether the

County could impose certain real estate taxes on fee lands

within the Yakima reservation. The Tribe argued, citing Moe

v. Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes, 425 U.S. 463

(1976), that the Allotment Act had essentially been repealed and

that any state assertion of jurisdiction over fee lands was

unlawful. This Court disagreed. When looking at the entirety

of the Allotment Act, this Court concluded that because

“Yakima County’ s assertion of jurisdiction over reservation fee-

patented land . . . is in rem rather than in personam, it is

assuredly not Moe-condemned, and it is not impracticable

either.” Jd. at 264-65. The Court therefore found that the

county could impose certain taxes over all fee lands—owned by

Indians and non-Indians alike. In other words, cases like

Seymour that provide federal in personam jurisdiction over non-

Indians acting within Indian country do not diminish the weight

of authority against finding any federal authority over land use

on fee simple property. |

18 To the extent that Congress has delegated to tribes regulatory

authority in the context of clean air and clean water legislation, such

a delegation would be permissible if Congress asserted appropriate

Commerce Clause authority over all activities that significantly

affect clean air and clean water.

30

Thus, the federal government’s power over activities on

allotted lands is limited to those powers enumerated in the

Constitution; this has never been held to include the police

power of general land use regulation over private property.

That leaves the State of California as the only entity with

appropriate regulatory jurisdiction over timber harvesting

activities on Mrs. Bugenig’s property. The decision of the

Ninth Circuit, therefore, is in conflict with the decisions of this

and the lower federal courts.

4-

CONCLUSION

The petition for writ of certiorari should be granted.

DATED: December, 2001.

Respectfully submitted,

JAMES S. BURLING

Counsel of Record

Pacific Legal Foundation

10360 Old Placerville Road,

Suite 100

Sacramento, California 95827

Telephone: (916) 362-2833

Facsimile: (916) 362-2932

Counsel for Petitioner

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Opinion from the United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit (September 11, 2001)

Order from the United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit (February 28, 2001)

Opinion from the United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit (October 3, 2000)

Amended Order Granting Defendant's Motion to Dismiss

and Denying Plaintiff s Motion to Strike (March 31, 1999)

Judgment from the United States District Court for the

Northern District of California (March 8, 1999)

Decision from the Northwest Regional Tribal Supreme

Court in and for Hoopa Valley (April 28, 1998)

Decision and Order from the Hoopa Valley Tribal Court,

Hoopa California (July 11, 1996)

Excerpts from 25 U.S.C. § 1300i, ef seq.

Excerpts from the Constitution and Bylaws of the Hoopa

Valley Tribe, Hoopa Valley Indian Reservation (Amended

June 18, 1996)

Decision of Hoopa Valley Tribal Council (January 28,

1995)

= =

a see i a rs

i i te i a Ne eee

a; Sa

Appendix A-1

FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

ROBERTA BUGENIG,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

HOOPA VALLEY TRIBE; No. 99-15654

THE HOOPA VALLEY

TRIBAL COUNCIL; THE D.C. No.

TRIBAL COURT OF THE CV-98-03409-CW

HOOPA VALLEY TRIBAL

RESERVATION; OPINION

HONORABLE BYRON

NELSON, JR., Judge of the

Hoopa Valley Tribal Court;

MERV GEORGE, Chairman

of the Hoopa Valley Tribal Council,

Defendants-Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of California

Claudia Wilken, District Judge, Presiding

Argued and Submitted

July 18, 2000—Seattle, Washington

Opinion Filed October 3, 2000

Rehearing En Banc Granted February 28, 2001

Argued and Submitted

June 19, 2001—San Francisco, California

Filed September 11, 2001

Appendix A-2

Before: Mary M. Schroeder, Chief Judge, and Procter Hug, Jr.,

Ferdinand F. Fernandez, Thomas G. Nelson, Andrew J.

Kleinfeld, Barry G. Silverman, Susan P. Graber, M. Margaret

McKeown, Kim McLane Wardlaw, Richard A. Paez, and

Marsha S. Berzon, Circuit Judges.

Opinion by Judge Graber;

Dissent by Judge Fernandez

COUNSEL

James S. Burling, Pacific Legal Foundation, Sacramento,

California, for the plaintiff-appellant.

Thomas P. Schlosser and K. Allison McGaw, Morisset,

Schlosser, Ayer & Jozwiak, Seattle, Washington, for the

defendants-appellees.

- Anne R. Traum, Appellate Section, Environment & Natural

Resources Division, U.S. Department of Justice, Washington,

D.C.; and Michael D. Beach, Faegre & Benson LLP,

Minneapolis, Minnesota, for the amici curiae.

OPINION

GRABER, Circuit Judge:

The issue for decision is whether the Hoopa Valley Indian Tribe

(Tribe) has authority to regulate logging by a non-Indian on fee

land that she owns, located wholly within the borders of the

Tribe’s Reservation, in order to protect tribal lands of cultural

and historic significance. The district court held that Congress

expressly delegated such authority to the Tribe. We agree, and

we affirm.

FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

We begin with a brief overview of the historical context in

which the present question arises.

Appendix A-3

A. Establishment of the Reservation

In the middle of the Nineteenth Century, numerous conflicts

between White settlers and Native Americans in

northern California. As California grew, due in part to the

discovery of gold, clashes between the White settlers and the

tribes increased in frequency and severity, usually to the

detriment of the Native American populations. In response,

Congress determined that “the best policy was to set aside small

tracts of land in the new state for the tribes,” in order to protect

them from the worst effects of settlement. See Partitioning

Certain Reservation Lands Between the Hoopa Valley Tribe

and the Yurok Indians, to Clarify the Use of Tribal Timber

Proceeds, and for Other Purposes, S. Rep. No. 100-564, at 4

(1988) (Senate Report). In accordance with that policy,

Congress enacted legislation authorizing the President to

establish four Indian reservations in California. Act of April 8,

1864, 13 Stat. 39, er seq.

Pursuant to the 1864 Act, President Lincoln appointed Austin

Wiley as Superintendent of Indian Affairs for the State of

California. Wiley then issued a proclamation, which was

subject to the approval of the President, establishing the Hoopa

Valley Reservation on the Trinity River in Klamath County,

California. Short v. United States, 486 F.2d 561, 563 n.1 (Ct.

Cl. 1973) (quoting text of proclamation); see also, generally

Byron Nelson, Jr., Our Home Forever: A Hupa Tribal History

(1978) (providing a detailed history of the Hupa Tribe). The

Reservation extended six miles on either side of a twelve-mile

stretch of the Trinity River, up to the junction of the Trinity and

the Klamath Rivers. The “Square,” the common name of the

Reservation, did not garner presidential authorization until

1876, when President Grant issued an executive order

approving Wiley’s action. Short, 486 F.2d at 563 n.3. As

defined by President Gram, the Square consisted of 89,572.43

acres on an area of land populated primarily by the Hoopa

Valley Tribe. Jd.; Senate Report at 5-6.

Appendix A-4

Fifteen years later, in 1891, President Harrison issued an

executive order enlarging the Square by adding a tract of land

one mile wide on each side of the Klamath River, extending to

the Pacific Ocean. See generally Mattz v. Arnett, 412 U.S. 481,

485-94 (1973) (providing a detailed history of the Klamath

River Reservation). The 1891 order created a single reservation

by joining the Square with the Klamath River Reservation,

which was populated mainly by the Yurok Indians but was not

officially recognized as a reservation. The original Klamath

River Reservation became known as the “Extension” or

“Addition.” ;

B. Congress Changes Course: Allotment and Reorganization

Contemporaneously with the events just described, Congress

began to rethink its policy toward Native Americans. Instead

of encouraging communalism and separatism through land

grants to the tribes, Congress decided to encourage individual

land ownership and, hopefully, eventual assimilation into the

larger society. Solem v. Bartlett, 465 U.S. 463, 466-67 (1984).

With that new goal in mind, in 1887 Congress passed the Indian

General Allotment Act, 24 Stat. 388, codified at 25 U.S.C.

§ 331 (1887). That Act

permitted the President to make allotments of

reservation lands to resident Indians and, with tribal

consent, to sell surplus lands. Its policy was to

continue the reservation system and the trust status

of Indian lands, but to allot tracts to individual

Indians for agriculture and grazing. When all the

lands had been allotted and the trust expired, the

reservation could be abolished. Unallotted lands

were made available to non-Indians with the

purpose, in part, of promoting interaction between

the races and of encouraging Indians to adopt white

ways.

Matiz, 412 U.S. at 496.

| Appendix A-5

The allotment policy did not have its desired effect; that is, in

many respects it did not benefit Native Americans. Philip P.

Frickey, A Common Law for our Age of Colonialism: The

Judicial Divestiture of Indian Tribal Authority over

Nonmembers, 109 Yale L.J. 1, 14-15 (1999). One result of

allotment was that large swaths of reservation land were lost

from Indian control altogether, due to sales and tax

foreclosures. Congress recognized this problem, so it reversed

course and passed the Indian Reorganization Act (IRA) in 1934,

25 U.S.C. 461-479), in which it proclaimed that “no land of any

Indian reservation . . . shall be allotted in severalty to any

Indian.” 25 U.S.C. § 461. The IRA was an “attempt to

encourage economic development, self-determination, cultural

plurality, and the revival of tribalism.” Felix S. Cohen,

Handbook of Federal Indian Law 147 (1982 ed.).

Section 16 of the IRA, 25 U.S.C. § 476, gave each Indian tribe

“the right to organize for its common welfare, and... adopt an

priate constitution and bylaws,” which were to be

approved by the Secretary of the Interior (Secretary). The Tribe

did so and, in 1952, the Secretary approved its constitution and

bylaws.

Although the IRA was Congress’ attempt to reduce the negative

effects of allotment, Congress did not try “to undo the dramatic

effects of the allotment years on the ownership of former Indian

lands. It neither imposed restraints on the ability of Indian

allottees to alienate or encumber their fee-patented lands nor

impaired the rights of those non-Indians who had acquired

title.” County of Yakima v. Confederated Tribes & Bands of the

Yakima Indian Nation, 502 U.S. 251, 255 (1992). Thus, the

policy of allotment shriveled some reservations; much property

that once was under Indian control was sold off to non-Indians.

Cohen at 137-38.

The Square emerged from this period mostly, although not

completely, unscathed. That outcome was due, in part, to the

Appendix A-6

government’s unwillingness to commit to wide-scale allotment

on the Hoopa Valley Reservation. Nelson at 153-58, 195-96.

The court below, the Northwest Regional Tribal Supreme Court

for the Hoopa Valley Tribal Court of Appeals, found that less

than one percent of the Square’s approximately 90,000 acres is

presently owned by non-Indians,' Bugenig v. Hoopa Valley

Tribe, No. A-95-020, 25 Indian L. Rep. 6139, 6141 (Apr. 23,

1998). This one percent includes the land that now is owned by

Plaintiff Roberta Bugenig and is at issue in this case.’

C. The Settlement Act

Members of at least four different Native American tribes lived

within the boundaries of the Hoopa Valley Reservation. Senate

Report at 6. However, neither the 1864 congressional act nor

the 1876 or 1891 executive orders, by their terms, granted any

governing rights to any particular tribe. Short, 486 F.2d at 568.

Despite that omission, throughout the Twentieth Century, the

Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) governed the Reservation as if

the Square were a reservation for the Hoopas and as if the

' Facts found by a tribal court are given deference unless they are

“clearly erroneous.” FMC v. Shoshone-Bannock Tribes, 905 F.2d

1311, 1313 (9th Cir. 1990). The record contains a map showing that

2.8 percent of the Reservation is held in fee by “Indian and

non-Indian owners,” but it does not distinguish between the two.

Plaintiff presented no evidence to contradict the tribal court’s

finding. Accordingly, we defer to the tribal court's finding.

? The tribal court found that Plaintiff's property was allotted

originally to members of the Hoopa Valley Tribe under the General

Allotment Act. A twenty-acre portion, held in trust for Mae Wallace

Baker, was converted to a fee simple patent in 1947, while another

parcel, held in trust for Robert Pratt, was sold out of trust status in

1958 to Don H. Gould. Those parcels then became the property of

a California Limited Partnership called the Gould Family

Partnership, which sold them to Plaintiff in 1995. 25 Indian L. Rep.

at 6141.

Appendix A-7

Extension were a reservation for the Yuroks, Senate Report at

7. That distinction became important, because the Square was

a source of substantial revenues from the sale of commercial

timber, all of which was being divided among the Hoopas.

Short, 486 F.2d at 562.

Not surprisingly, the Yuroks were dissatisfied with those

financial arrangements. In 1963, they sued the Secretary of the

Interior, challenging his decision to exclude them from sharing

in the revenue from the harvest of timber grown in the Square.

Ten years later, the Court of Claims agreed with the Yuroks’

position. Jd. at 561. The Court of Claims held that the

executive orders and congressional acts described above

established a single reservation for the benefit of all the Indians

who were living within its boundaries. The federal acts did not

vest in any particular tribe rights to the Reservation’s natural

resources, at least not to the exclusion of any other tribe that

was living in the Hoopa Valley. Jd. at 567-68. Therefore, the

Court of Claims concluded that all the “Indians of the

reservation” were entitled to the proceeds from the sale of the

Square’s natural resources. /d. at 568.

After Short was decided, several Yuroks filed another action

against the BIA and the Hoopa Tribe, alleging that those

defendants had “violated their rights to participate in

reservation administration and to benefit from the reservation’s

~ resources.” Puzz v. United States, No. C80-2908-THE, 1988

WL 188462, at *1 (N.D. Cal. Apr. 8, 1988), order vacated

Dec. 21, 1988 (dismissing as moot after passage of the

Settlement Act). The crux of the Yuroks’ complaint was that,

although several tribes resided in the Hoopa Valley

Reservation, only one tribe, the Hoopas, was allowed to

administer it. As noted, the Hoopas had formed a tribal

government in which non-Hoopa Indians were ineligible to

participate. Id.

Appendix A-8

The district court agreed that the executive orders and

congressional acts did not grant any territorial or political rights

to the Hoopa Valley Tribe to the exclusion of other Indians

living on the Reservation. /d. at *3. The court ordered the BIA

to “exercise supervisory power over reservation administration,

resource management, and spending of reservation funds, to

ensure that all Indians receive the use and benefit of the

reservation on an equal basis.” Jd. at *10.

Congress entered the fray 1988 with the Hoopa-Yurok

Settlement Act (“Settlement Act”). a 6 Uk.

§§ 1300i-1300i-11. In the Settlement Act, Congress sought to

establish a “fair and equitable settlement of the dispute relating

to the ownership and management of the Hoopa Valley

Reservation.” Senate Report at 14. Congress did so by

partitioning the Reservation. The Square became the Hoopa

Valley Reservation, with the “unallotted trust land and assets

. .. held in trust by the United States for the benefit of the

Hoopa Valley Tribe,” while the Extension became the Yurok

Reservation, with a similar trust arrangement for the Yurok

Tribe. 25 U.S.C. § 1300i-1(b) & (c).

Congress also established a Settlement Fund and authorized the

Secretary to prepare a roster of all persons who could be

considered “Indian[s] of the Reservation” as discussed by the

Court of Claims in Short. 25 U.S.C. §§ 1300i-3 and 1300i-4.

Moreover, as part of its plan to define the rights of the parties

involved in the Settlement Act, Congress stated:

The existing govening [sic] documents of the Hoopa

Valley Tribe and the governing body established and

elected thereunder, as heretofore recognized by the

Secretary, are hereby ratified and confirmed.

25 U.S.C. § 1300-7.

Congress provided that the partition of the Reservation, and the

ratification and confirmation of the Hoopa Valley Tribe’s

Appendix A-9

governing documents, were contingent on the Tribe’s adopting

a resolution that (i) waived any claim that the Tribe otherwise

might have against the United States arising out of the

Settlement Act, and (ii) consented to the establishment of the

Settlement Fund. 25 U.S.C. § 1300i-l(a)(2)(A). The resolution

had to be reviewed by the Secretary and published in the

Federal Register, both of which occurred. 53 Fed. Reg. 49361

(Dec. 7, 1988).

D. The Present Dispute

Article IX of the Tribe’s Constitution provides that the

governing body of the Tribe is the Hoopa Valley Business

Council (Council). The jurisdiction of the Tribe is set forth in

Article Ill: “The jurisdiction of the Hoopa Valley Tribe shall

extend to all lands within the confines of the Hoopa Valley

Reservation boundaries . . . and to such other lands as may

hereafter be acquired by or for the Hoopa Valley Indians.” One

of the Council’s enumerated powers, found in Article IX,

section (1)(]), is to

safeguard and promote the peace, safety, morals, and

general welfare of the Hoopa Valley Indians by

regulating the conduct of trade and the use and

disposition of property upon the reservation,

provided that any ordinance directly affecting

non-members of the Hoopa Valley Tribe shall be

subject to the approval of the Commissioner of

Indian Affairs ....

On January 28, 1995, pursuant to those constitutional

provisions, and after a public notice and period for public

comment, the Council adopted a timber-harvesting plan. The

plan included a mitigation measure, adopted after consultation

with the BIA, that was designed to protect certain sites of

cultural significance to the Tribe. The plan established a

one-half-mile buffer zone, where no timber could be harvested,

around the White Deerskin Dance Ground. The White

Appendix A-10

Deerskin Dance Ground is located on a trail that winds through

the Reservation, and on a portion of the Reservation called Bald

Hill. The prohibition against harvesting timber applied to

“tribal trust land, trust allotments, and fee land within the 4

mile buffer.” Decision of Hoopa Valley Tribal Council:

Alternative for FY 1995 Timber Sale Program (Jan. 28, 1995).

The parties dispute somewhat the religious centrality of the

White Deerskin Dance, although they agree that it is of

significant historical and cultural importance to the Tribe. The

Tribe describes the dance as “a world renewal dance.” The

Tribe also asserts that the Bald Hill dance site “is the most

important dance site of . . . all dances that the Tribe has....

The site is very ancient. There’s scientific evidence that

indicates that it could be one of the oldest dance sites, oldest

ceremonies in the country.” Bugenig, 25 Indian L. Rep. at

6139.

Shortly after the Council passed its timber-harvesting plan,

Plaintiff purchased her property, which is located on Bald Hill

within the buffer zone. Plaintiff applied to the California

Department of Forestry and the County of Humboldt for a

“timberland conversion” to convert approximately 2.5 acres of

her land from timberland to pasture. The state granted the

permit. Plaintiff then applied to the Tribe for a permit to haul

logs over Reservation land. The Tribe denied the request.

Nevertheless, Plaintiff sent the Tribe a check to cover the

hauling fee, but the Tribe returned it to her. The Tribe also

included a letter that explained the Tribe’s position that, within

the Square, “ONLY the Hoopa Valley Tribal Council has the

authority to make land use changes.”

Undeterred, Plaintiff began clearing timber, which she

eventually hauled off her land. The Hoopa Valley Tribal Court

issued a temporary restraining order and a notice of hearing.

After the hearing, which Plaintiff declined to attend, the court

issued a preliminary injunction enjoining her “from carrying out

Appendix A-11

any timber operations” within the buffer zone. Shortly

thereafter, the state revoked Plaintiff's logging permit, stating

that “no timber operations are allowed on significant historical

or archaeological sites [defined as ] sites that have significant

or religious importance to California Indians.”

After another hearing, the Tribal Court held that the Tribe “has

the power and authority to define areas of sacred significance

and, through establishment of the buffer no-cut zone in the Bald

Hill area, has exercised that power.” Hoopa Valley Tribe v.

Bugenig, C-95-020, 25 Indian L. Rep. 6137, 6138 (July 11,

1996). In support of its decision, the Tribal Court cited

Montana v. United States, 450 U.S. 544 (1981). The Tribal

Court then found that Plaintiff had acted with “blatant disregard

of tribal law.” Bugenig, 25 Indian L. Rep. at 6138.

Accordingly, the court issued a permanent injunction, which

barred Plaintiff's logging activities in the buffer zone and

ordered Plaintiff to undertake certain remedial measures

respecting the trees that she already had felled. Id.

The injunction was affirmed on appeal by the Tribal Court of

Appeals. That court held that the Tribe had acted pursuant to

its inherent authority to regulate non-members’ land in certain

circumstances, and also pursuant to the express authority

delegated to it by Congress in the Settlement Act. Plaintiff did

not comply with the injunction. On October 11, 1996, the

Tribal Court held her in civil contempt and ordered her to pay

a sanction of $100.

Plaintiff then filed a complaint in the Northern District of

California, seeking declaratory and injunctive relief. She

argued that, because she is a non-Indian who owns her land in

fee simple, neither the Tribe nor the tribal courts have

regulatory or subject-matter jurisdiction over her land. The

district court disagreed, holding that Congress, in the Settlement

Act, had delegated authority to the Tribe to regulate all the

lands within the Square, regardless of ownership.

Appendix A-12

Plaintiff filed this timely appeal.

STANDARD OF REVIEW

We review de novo a district court’s decision concerning the

scope of a tribe’s authority to regulate matters affecting

non-Indians. Ariz. Pub. Serv. Co. v. Aspaas, 77 F.3d 1128,

1132 (9th Cir. 1996). Additionally, the question whether

Congress delegated regulatory jurisdiction to the Tribe in the

Settlement Act involves the interpretation of a federal statute,

which we likewise review de novo. United States v. Fiorillo,

186 F.3d 1136, 1146 (9th Cir. 1999), cert. denied, 528 U.S.

1142 (2000).

DISCUSSION

A. The Analytical Framework

At the outset, it bears repeating that certain important facts are

undisputed: (1) The Square was created pursuant to an 1864

congressional act and an 1876 executive order; (2) the land that

Plaintiff bought had become private property as a result of the

operation of the 1887 General Allotment Act; and (3) in 1988,

Congress partitioned the Hoopa Valley Reservation and ratified

and confirmed the Tribe’s governing documents.

Those facts are noteworthy because the Supreme Court-has

ruled that, after allotted land is conveyed to a non-Indian

pursuant to the General Allotment Act, the Indian tribe loses

“the right of absolute use and occupation of lands so conveyed”

and no longer has “the incidental power to regulate the use of

the lands by non-Indians.” South Dakota v. Bourland, 508

U.S. 679, 688 (1993). The Court has observed that, although

Congress eventually repudiated the policy behind the General

Allotment Act, “‘it defie[s] common sense to suppose that

Congress would intend that non-Indians purchasing allotted

lands would become subject to tribal jurisdiction.’” Atkinson

Trading Co. v. Shirley, 121 S. Ct. 1825, 1830 n.1 (2001)

(quoting Montana, 450 U.S. at 559 n.9).

Appendix A-13

This presumption against tribal jurisdiction over fee land owned

by non-Indians within reservation boundaries is not absolute,

however. The Supreme Court has set out three “limited

exceptions” to the general rule. Jd. at 1828-29. First, a tribe

can regulate non-members on non-Indian fee land that is within

a reservation if that power is delegated to the tribe by Congress.

Id. at 1830; United States v. Mazurie, 419 U.S. 544, 553-54

(1975). The other two exceptions come from an Indian tribe’s

retained, inherent sovereignty to (a) “regulate, through taxation,

licensing, or other means, the activities of nonmembers who

enter consensual relationships with the tribe or its members,

through commercial dealing, contracts, leases, or other

arrangements” and to (b) “exercise civil authority over the

conduct of non-Indians on fee lands within its reservation when

that conduct threatens or has some direct effect on the political

integrity, the economic security, or the health or welfare of the

tribe.” Montana, 450 U.S. at 565-66; see also Nevada v. Hicks,

121 S. Ct. 2304, 2309-10 (2001), These two exceptions are the

so-called Montana exceptions.

In the present case, the district court held that the first exception

was satisfied; Congress, in the Settlement Act, delegated

authority to the Tribe to regulate Plaintiff's land. That is, even

if the Tribe no longer retained inherent authority to regulate

timber harvesting on non-Indian land within the Reservation’s

boundaries in order to protect cultural resources, the Settlement

Act gave the Tribe authority to do so.

There is ample support for the general proposition that

Congress can delegate jurisdiction to an Indian tribe. The

Supreme Court has stated, repeatedly, that Congress can

delegate authority to an Indian tribe to regulate the conduct of

non-Indians on non-Indian land that is within a reservation.

See, e.g., Atkinson Trading Co., 121 S. Ct. at 1830; Strate v.

A-1 Contractors, 520 U.S. 438, 445 (1997); Bourland, 508 U.S.

at 694-95 & n. 15; Brendale v. Confederated Tribes & Bands of

the Yakima Indian Nation, 492 U.S. 408, 426 (1989) (White, J.)

Appendix A-14

(plurality opinion); Montana, 450 U.S. at 564; Mazurie, 419

U.S. at 553-54.

Whether Congress actually delegated authority here is a

difficult question, however, because the Supreme Court has

discussed only rarely the concept of express congressional

delegation. Indeed, the only opinion in which the Court has

done so in any depth is Mazurie. See Cohen at 253 (noting the

paucity of cases discussing Congressional delegation of

jurisdiction to Indians).

At issue in Mazurie was a tribal ordinance that required every

liquor store located within the Wind River Reservation to

obtain a tribal liquor license. The Wind River Tribes had

enacted the ordinance pursuant to a federal statute that

prohibited the introduction of alcoholic beverages into “Indian

country,” unless it was done in conformity with both state law

and “an ordinance duly adopted by the tribe having jurisdiction

over such area of Indian country.” 18 U.S.C. § 1161. For the

purposes of § 1161, “Indian country” is defined as “all land

within the limits of any Indian reservation,” but excluding

“fee-patented lands in non-Indian communities or rights-of-way

through Indian reservations.” 18 U.S.C. §§ 1151, 1154(c).

The defendants in Mazurie owned a bar on private, non-Indian

fee land within the boundaries of the reservation. The land did

not fit the definition of the statutory exclusion because,

although the land was “fee-patented,” it was not in a

“non-Indian community.” Mazurie, 419 U.S. at 550-52.

Defendants, who were non-Indians, were arrested by federal

officers for operating their bar without a tribal liquor license

and were convicted in federal district court. The Court of

Appeals reversed the convictions, holding that 18 U.S.C.

§ 1161 was an invalid congressional attempt to delegate

Appendix A-15

authority to Indian tribes. Jd. at 550.° The Supreme Court

reversed, holding that

Congress has the constitutional authority to control

the sale of alcoholic beverages by non-Indians on

fee-patented land within the boundaries of an Indian

reservation, and that Congress could validly make a

delegation of this authority to a reservation’s tribal

council.

Id, at 546.

In reaching that conclusion, the Court first noted that Article 1,

section 8, of the United States Constitution grants to Congress

the power to regulate commerce “with the Indian Tribes.” Jd.

at 554. This clause, the Court observed, combined with Court

precedent, leaves no “room for doubt” that Congress has the

power to regulate the sale of alcoholic beverages to Indians and

to regulate the introduction of alcoholic beverages into Indian

country, even if the affected land is owned by a non-Indian and

even if the person regulated is a non-Indian. Jd at 554-56.

Having determined that Congress possessed the power to

regulate the defendants’ land and business, the Court then

analyzed whether this power could be delegated to the Wind

Valley Tribes. The Court said “yes.” Although there are limits

on the authority of Congress to delegate its legislative power,

[t]hose limitations are . . . less stringent in cases

where the entity exercising the delegated authority

itself possesses independent authority over the

subject matter. Thus it is an important aspect of this

case that Indian tribes are unique aggregations

possessing attributes of sovereignty over both their

members and their territory; they are a separate

3 The Tenth Circuit also had held that the statutory definition of the «

term “Indian country” was impermissibly vague, a ruling that the

Supreme Court reversed. Mazurie, 419 U.S. at 552-53.

Appendix A-16

people possessing the power of regulating their

internal and social relations.

Id. at 556-57 (citations and internal quotation marks omitted);

see also Rice v. Rehner, 463 U.S. 713, 730 (1983) (approving

Mazurie’s holding after Montana); Atkinson Trading Co., 121

S. Ct. at 1835 (citing Mazurie with approval).

Mazurie instructs that any determination that Congress

expressly delegated to the Tribe authority to regulate logging on

Plaintiffs land involves two distinct questions. First, we must

be sure that Congress, in the Settlement Act, actually delegated

regulatory authority to the Tribe. Second, if we conclude that

Congress did delegate such authority, we must analyze whether

that delegation was lawful. We answer each question in turn.

B. Dj ‘ ;

ee ee ee ical R 2

The Tribe’s delegation argument goes as follows: In § 1300i-7

of the Settlement Act, Congress stated that the “existing

[governing] documents of the Hoopa Valley Tribe and the

governing body established and elected thereunder, as

heretofore recognized by the Secretary, are hereby ratified and

confirmed.” (Emphasis added.) That section, argues the Tribe,

gave their 1972 Constitution, an “existing [governing]

document,” the force of law.‘

Article III of the 1972 Constitution states that the “jurisdiction

of the Hoopa Valley Tribe shall extend to all lands within the

confines of the Hoopa Valley Reservation boundaries as

established by Executive Order of June 23, 1876, and to such

other lands as may hereafter be acquired by or for the Hoopa

Valley Indians.” (Emphasis added.) Article IX, section (1)()),

* The Tribe’s 1952 Constitution was amended in 1972 and again

approved by the Secretary.

Appendix A-17

states that the Hoopa Valley Business Council, the Tribe’s

“governing body,” may regulate the “use and disposition of

property upon the reservation, provided that any ordinance

directly affecting non-members of the Hoopa Valley Tribe shall

be subject to the approval of the Commissioner of Indian

Affairs.” (Emphasis added.) Therefore, the Tribe concludes,

when Congress ratified and confirmed the Tribe’s Constitution,

Congress delegated power to the Tribe to regulate the use of all

non-members’ land that is within the boundaries of the

Reservation, in certain circumstances.

In response, Plaintiff observes that the Supreme Court has ruled

that any delegation of power to an Indian tribe to regulate a

non-Indian must be express. Because the Settlement Act and

the Tribe’s Constitution are subject to varying interpretations,

argues Plaintiff, they do not rise to the level of “express”

delegation that the Supreme Court has required.

For the reasons that follow, we agree with the Tribe.

1. Inthe Settlement Act, Congress “Ratified and Confirmed”

he Tribe’s Constitut

As with all matters of statutory interpretation, we begin by

examining the statute’s text. Consumer Prod. Safety Comm'n

v. GTE Sylvania, Inc., 447 U.S. 102, 108 (1980). Title 25

U.S.C. § 1300i-7 states that the Tribe’s governing documents

are “hereby ratified and confirmed.” It is notable that Congress

used those terms of art. Black’s Law Dictionary 1135 (Sth ed.

1979)° defines “ratification” as “the confirmation of a previous

act[,] ... [t]he affirmance ... ofa prior act . .. whereby the act

. . . 1S given effect as if originally authorized.” Similarly,

“confirmation” is defined as to “give formal approval .... The

ratification or approval of executive acts by a legislature.” Jd.

* We examine the meaning of statutory terms as of the date of the

enactment in question, Perrin v. United States, 444 U.S. 37, 42

(1979}—here, 1988.

Appendix A-18

at 270. Referring to the ordinary legal significance of the terms,

when Congress “ratified and confirmed” the governing

documents that were “heretofore recognized by the Secretary,”

Congress was authorizing, giving effect to, and formally

approving the Tribe’s 1972 Constitution.

The phrase “ratified and confirmed” has additional significance

because it is the same phrase that Congress historically has used

to give legal recognition to agreements between Native

Americans and the United States. See, e.g., Act of Feb. 28,

1877, 19 Stat. 254 (establishing that an agreement between the

“Manypenny Commission” and the Sioux Indian Tribes was

“ratified and confirmed”); Act of Mar. 3, 1891, 26 Stat. 1027,

1029 (establishing that two agreements between the

Commissioner of Indian Affairs and the Coeur d’ Alene Indian

Tribe were “ratified and confirmed”); Curtis Act, 30 Stat. 495,

505 (establishing that an agreement between the Dawes

Commission and the Choctaw and Chicksaw Tribes was

“ratified and confirmed”).°

Furthermore, in 1988, Congress was well aware of the

significance of the term “ratified,” for the Supreme Court

recently had held that an agreement with an Indian tribe is given

the force of law when “ratified” by Congress. In Antoine v.

Washington, 420 U.S. 194 (1975), the Court had to interpret a

statute “ratifying” an agreement between the Colville

Confederated Tribes and the United States. Jd. at 198 (quoting

34 Stat. 1015, 1050-1051 (1907)). The question before the

Court was whether a provision in the ratified agreement

preempted a Washington state law. The Washington Supreme

° The Settlement Act, unlike the congressional acts cited, “ratified

and confirmed” a tribal constitution, rather than an agreement

between the United States and an Indian tribe. But the fact that

Congress used the words that it typically uses when it gives the force

of law to a document involving an Indian tribe still illuminates

Congress’ intent.

TS en et Ee ENGEL OTT Te ee EE Re ee re eT ee ee

Appendix A-19

Court had interpreted the statute as not giving the agreement the

force of law because the agreement was not a treaty. The

Supreme Court disagreed, holding that, “[o]nce ratified by Act

of Congress, the provisions of the agreements become law, and

like treaties, the supreme law of the land.” Jd. at 204. We

presume that Congress knew of this interpretation. See

Goodyear Atomic Corp. v. Miller, 486 U.S. 174, 184-85 (1988)

(“We generally presume that Congress is knowledgeable about

existing law pertinent to the legislation it enacts.”).

In view of the usual meaning of the terms, their historic usage,

and the Supreme Court’s interpretation, the plain text of the

Settlement Act establishes that, when Congress “ratified and

confirmed” the Tribe’s governing documents, it intended to

give the Tribe’s Constitution the force of law.

Our conclusion is buttressed by the legislative history, which

makes clear that the Settlement Act was a response to confusion

over who had the right to “make management decisions relating

to the lands and resources of the ‘Square’ or, for that matter, the

reservation as a whole.” Senate Report at 9. The Senate Report

explains that Congress’ understan<ing of the law governing the

Reservation was that, “absent statutory delegations,” the

Hoopas could not manage the Square. Jd. The ratification and

confirmation of the Tribe’s Constitution was exactly that: a

“statutory delegation[ ]” of authority to the Tribe to “make

management decisions relating to the lands and resources of the

. Square. 999

The dissent argues that any delegation of authority to regulate

non-members’ land within the Reservation was not

“consciously made” and hypothesizes that Congress’ use of the

words “ratified and confirmed” in § 1300i-7, when juxtaposed

‘against Congress’ repetition of those words in § 1300i-8,

expressed Congress’ intent to recognize the Tribe and the

Yuroks as the “governing authorities of their respective

reservations.” (Dissent at 12917.) That forced parallelism will

Appendix A-20

not withstand contextual scrutiny. The phrase “ratified and

confirmed” cannot exist in isolation; it requires an object.

Section 1300i-8 “ratifies and confirms” the Yurok Tribe’s status

“as an Indian tribe,” a status that was previously unrecognized,

while § 1300i-7 “ratifies and confirms” the Hoopa Tribe’s

“[governing] documents.” (Emphasis added.) As we have

explained, the Hoopa Valley Tribe had a longstanding

government, while the Yuroks had none.

In sum, the natural reading of § 1300i-7—confirmed by its

context and history—is that Congress was giving legal force to

the Tribe’s governing body and governing documents, and that

is the reading that we give it. We turn now to the meaning of

the Tribe’s Constitution with respect to the use of fee lands

within the Reservation.

2. The Constitution G he Tribe Authori Plaintif?

Land.

The Tribe points to two provisions of its constitution that, it

claims, give it regulatory authority over Plaintiff s land in order

to protect the Tribe’s cultural and natural resources: Articles Ill

and IX(1)(]). We agree that the plain text of those provisions

supports the Tribe’s position.

Article Ill states that the jurisdiction of the Hoopa Valley Tribe

shall extend to all lands within the confines of the Hoopa Valley

Reservation boundaries as established by Executive Order of

June 23, 1876, and to such other lands as may hereafter be

acquired by or for the Hoopa Valley Indians.” (Emphasis

added.) Article III is clear. The Tribe has jurisdiction over “all

lands” within the borders of the Square.’

Plaintiff argues that the last clause of Article II, which refers to

“such other lands,” renders ambiguous the first clause, “shall

7 “Confines” means “border or limit; boundary.” The American

Heritage Dictionary 279 (1976).

Appendix A-21

extend to all lands within the confines” of the Reservation.

Specifically, Plaintiff posits that, if the “other” lands that may

be acquired later must be “acquired by or for the Hoopa Valley

Indians,” then the original lands referred to in the first clause

also must be assumed to include only lands “acquired by or for

the Hoopa Valley Indians” and thus must be assumed to

exclude fee lands owned by non-Indians.

Plaintiff's reading of Article III is labored; it gives too much

weight to the word “other” and gives too little weight to the

word “all.” Article III’s reference to “all lands within the

confines of the Hoopa Valley Reservation boundaries as

established by Executive Order of June 23, 1876, “means the

Square. “[O]ther lands” simply adds to the first clause—lands

in addition to the Square, which may be acquired later by or for

the Tribe.

Plaintiff also argues that the reference to “such other lands as

may hereafter be acquired” must mean all land that the Tribe

did not own at the time of the Settlement Act, including fee

land such as hers. Under that interpretation, fee land does not

qualify for inclusion in “all lands within the confines of the

Hoopa Valley Reservation boundaries.” To read Article III

otherwise, she says, would be to make the second clause

“surplusage.”

That conclusion does not follow. The “such other lands” clause

refers to a meaningful category of lands—lands outside the

Square—that could be acquired later, but that do not fall within

the category of “all lands” within the Square.

Our understanding of Article I] makes perfect sense when it is

read in the light of the overall historical context. The first

clause of Article III refers to “all lands within the confines of

the Hoopa Valley Reservation boundaries as established by

Executive Order of June 23, 1876.” (Emphasis added.) At that

time, there was no fee land yet checkerboarding the

Reservation, because the General Allotment Act was not passed

Appendix A-22

until 1887. Thus, our reading of the first clause gives meaning

to the historical reference in Article III, while Plaintiff's does

not.

Additionally, the Indian Reorganization Act authorizes the

Secretary of the Interior to acquire Jand for Indians “within or

without existing reservations,” 25 U.S.C. § 465, and to “add

such lands to existing reservations,” 25 U.S.C. § 467. The

second clause of Article III appears to be designed to foresee

that contingency, extending tribal jurisdiction over any new

lands so acquired.

In short, Article III provides that the Tribe has jurisdiction over

“all lands” within the borders of the Square. We conclude that

this assertion of jurisdiction includes Plaintiff's land.

The second provision on which the Tribe relies is Article

IX(1)(i). Article IX sets out the “powers” of the Hoopa Valley

Business Council Section 1(]) grants the Council the power to

safeguard and promote the peace, safety, morals, and

general welfare of the Hoopa Valley Indians by

regulating the conduct of trade and the use and

disposition of property upon the reservation,

‘provided that any ordinance directly affecting

non-members of the Hoopa Valley Tribe shall be

subject to the approval of the Commissioner of

Indian Affairs... .

(Emphasis added.)

That provision unambiguously contemplates tribal regulation of

the use of property upon the reservation, even if the regulation

affects “non-members.” Plaintiff acknowledges that Article

IX(1)(]) refers to non-members as individuals, but notes that it

does not refer to non-members’ fee lands. Again, we are not

persuaded.

Appendix A-23

Plaintiff's position is that fee lands owned by non-Indians do

not count as “property upon the reservation.”* In view of our

reading of Article III, however, we believe that Article IX(1)(1)

plainly refers to all property upon the Square, whoever owns it.

Moreover, Plaintiff's reading of Article [X(1)(1) would make

some of its provisions meaningless. The proviso that “any

ordinance directly affecting non-members” is subject to

approval contains no further limitation; that is, it assumes that

any of the kinds of ordinances covered by Article [X(1)(1) could

affect non-members. (Emphasis added.) Plaintiff's

interpretation gives full force to the grant of power to regulate

non-members’ “conduct of trade” but would give no force to

the grant of power ‘to regulate non-members’ “use and

disposition of property.” If the Tribe could not regulate non-

members’ fee lands, there would be no reason to provide for

approval of ordinances that affect for example, non-members’

“disposition of property upon the reservation.”

Like Article II, Article [X(1)(1) is unambiguous. It states

unequivocally that the Council can pass an ordinance that

affects non-members and their lands, so long as the ordinance

safeguards and promotes the peace, safety, morals, and general

welfare of the Tribe and is approved by the Commissioner of

Indian Affairs. An ordinance that is designed to protect a

tribe’s significant historical and cultural resources “safeguard(s]

and promote{s] the peace, safety, morals, and general welfare”

of the tribe. It is undisputed that the ordinance was approved by

the Commissioner of Indian Affairs.

* Plaintiff does not argue that “property” refers only to personal

property, rather than real property, and indeed Article IX(1)(]) would

not support such a limitation.

Appendix A-24

Under Article III and Articie [X(1)(]), then, the Tribe had the

power to pass the ordinance that affected Plaintiff's logging

activity on her fee land within the borders of the Reservation.’

3, ; ‘ “ie

| Read Together with the Inbal Constituuon. the Settlement E Delegati he Tri

Plaintiff argues that, even if the Settlement Act and the Tribal

Constitution, read together, constitute a delegation of authority

to the Tribe, it is not the kind of “express” authorization that the

Supreme Court has required before a tribe may regulate

non-Indian lands that are within a reservation’s boundaries. See

Strate, 520 U.S. at 445 (“Our case law establishes that, absent

express authorization by federal statute or treaty, tribal

jurisdiction over the conduct of nomnembers exists only in

limited circumstances.”). We come to the opposite conclusion.

As the preceding analysis establishes, neither the Settlement

Act nor the Tribe’s Constitution contains any ambiguity. When

Congress ratified and confirmed the Tribe’s Constitution,

Congress delegated authority to the Tribe to regulate all the

lands within the Square, including that owned by Plaintiff.

We presume, as we must, that Congress understood the contents

of the governing documents that it ratified and confirmed. As

the Supreme Court has taught, the argument that “Congress was

unavare of what it accomplished or that it was misled by the

groups that appeared before it” lacks force. United States R.R.

Ret. Bd. v. Fritz, 449 U.S. 166, 179 (1980). “If this test were

* When Congress enacted the Settlement Act in 1988, the Tribe did

not yet have delegated authority to regulate private land,

notwithstanding the provisions of Article II] and Article [X(1)J).

The Tribe may have retained inherent authority to do so, but we need

not decide whether it had inherent authority. Even if the tribal

assertion of jurisdiction over non-members’ fee lands within the

Reservation was ultra vires in 1972, Congress “ratified and

confirmed” the Tribe’s Constitution in 1988—that is, it validated and

confirmed the Tribe’s previous act.

Appendix A-25

applied literally to every member of any legislature that ever

voted on a law, there would be very few laws which would

survive it.” Jd. If the text of a statute is clear, as it is here, we

must assume that “Congress intended what it enacted.” Jd.

Even if that presumption did not apply, the events surrounding

the enactment of the Settlement Act show that Congress

understood the scope of its delegation. As noted, the legislative

history makes clear that Congress was under the impression

that, “absent statutory delegations,” the Hoopas could not

“make management decisions relating to the lands and

resources of the ‘Square.’” Senate Report at 9.

The Tribe had been attempting to make such “management

decisions” before Congress enacted the Settlement Act. In

doing so, the Tribe took the position that its constitution

enabled it to promulgate ordinances affecting non-members and

their fee lands within the Square. For example, section 1.1.04

of the Law and Order Code of the Hoopa Valley Tribe, which

was enacted in 1986, asserts that

the effective area of this Code shall include all

territory within the Hoopa Valley Indian

Reservation, as defined by . . . the Hoopa Tribal

Constitution, including fee patent lands, allottments

[sic], assignments ... and existing and future lands

outside the boundaries of the Reservation owned or

controlled by the Hoopa Valley Tribe.

Similarly, the Comprehensive Plan for the Hoopa Valley Indian

Reservation, adopted in 1973, grants the Tribe’s government

the power to “provide for assessments or license fees . . . [of] all

commercial ventures within the limits of the Reservation,”

while at the same time acknowledging that “95 percent of all

commercial business services are owned by non-Indians and are

located on former Tribal land.” Hoopa Valley Indian

Reservation Comprehensive Plan §§ 1.604, 1.608 (adopted

June 21, 1973).

Appendix A-26

Moreover, it is significant that the ratification of the Tribe’s

Constitution was not self-executing. Instead, its

implementation was contingent on actions that were to occur

within sixty days alter the Act’s passage. Section

1300i-1(a)(2)(A) provided that the partition of the reservation

and the ratification and confirmation of the Tribe’s governing

documents would occur only if the Tribe passed a resolution

waiving claims against the United States and consenting to the

Settlement Fund. The tribal resolution had to be approved by

the Secretary and published in the Federal Register.

The Tribe passed the requisite resolution and had it approved by

the Secretary and published in the Federal Register. The

resolution sheds more light on the circumstances surrounding

the Settlement Act. It stated, among other things, that the Puzz

and Short cases had “crippled the power of the Hoopa Valley

Business Council to exercise the authorit[y] granted under the

Tribe's Constitution. .. to governnon-members.” 53 Fed. Reg.

at 49361 (emphasis added). With the Settlement Act, Congress

expressly gave that authority to the Tribe.

After that resolution was published and approved, Congress

amended the Settlement Act, see Pub. L. 101-301, but it did

nothing to alter the Tribe’s interpretation, which the Secretary

had approved, and which had been duly published. “Although

postenactment developments cannot be accorded the weight of

contemporary legislative history, we would be remiss if we

ignored these authoritative expressions concerning the scope

and purpose” of the statute. N. Haven Bd. of Educ. v. Bell, 456

U.S. 512, 535 (1982) (citation and internal quotation marks

omitted). When “an agency’s statutory construction has been

fully brought to the attention of the public and the Congress,

and the latter has not sought to alter that interpretation although

it has amended the statute in other respects, then presumably the

legislative intent has been correctly discerned.” Jd. (citation

Appendix A-27

We acknowledge that the Settlement Act does not contain a

detailed explanation, such as “we hereby delegate to the Tribe

the power to regulate all lands within the Reservation,

notwithstanding any patent owned by non-Indians.” But no

particular verbal formula is required.

On this issue, we agree with the District of Columbia Circuit’s

opinion in Arizona Public Service Co. v. EPA, 211 F.3d 1280

(D.C. Cir. 2000), cert. denied, 121 S. Ct. 1600 (2001). There,

the court responded to an argument that because Congress had,

in the past, delegated authority to regulate non-Indians to Indian

tribes by using the words “notwithstanding the issuance of any

patent,” any delegation that did not use these words could not

be an express delegation of authority to regulate non members.

The court disagreed and observed: “That a provision uses a

new formulation is not dispositive of the question as to whether

it constitutes an express delegation.” 211 F.3d at 1289.

The Settlement Act is not ambiguous. When Congress ratified

and confirmed the Tribe’s Constitution, it gave that constitution

the force of law. Neither is the Tribe’s Constitution ambiguous.

It contemplates regulation of all land within the Square, in order

to protect the general welfare of the Tribe, even if that

regulation affects the use of lands owned in fee by

non-members. In sum, when the Tribe passed the ordinance, it

was acting pursuant to authority expressly granted by Congress.

C. Could Congress Delegate That Authority to the Tribe?

Plaintiff's final argument is that Congress could not delegate

such authority to the Tribe, even if it meant to. Plaintiff asserts

that “there is no authority or precedent for finding that an Act

of Congress can take regulatory jurisdiction over fee-simple

non-Indian owned property away from a state government and

give it toa tribe.”

Plaintiff has framed the question incorrectly, because her

question assumes that state and federal jurisdiction cannot exist

EE Se te Fg Se Tae Ps

Appendix A-28

simultaneously over fee-patented land within a reservation. It is

true that a state has some jurisdiction over fee-patented land

within an Indian reservation. E. g., County of Yakima, 502 U.S.

at 257-58, 268; Cohen at 352. It also is true, however, that

federal jurisdiction reaches activities that occur on fee patented

land within a reservation. £.g., 18 U.S.C. §§ 1151, 1152;

Mazurie, 419 U.S. at 555. Put differently, the want of state

regulatory jurisdiction over land is not a necessary condition for

federal, regulatory jurisdiction over the same land. See White

Mountain Apache Tribe v. Bracker, 448 U.S. 136, 142-43

(1980) (explaining preemption law applicable to Indian

reservations).'° In fact, the Supreme Court has suggested that

tribal jurisdiction and state jurisdiction are not mutually

exclusive. See Brendale, 492 U.S. at 440 n.3 (“The possibility

that the county might have jurisdiction to prohibit certain

land uses . . . does not suggest that the Tribe lacks

similar authority.”) (Stevens, J.) (plurality opinion); see also

Confederated Tribes v. Washington, 591 F.2d 89 (9th Cir.

1979) (holding that tribal fishing regulations on waters within

the Colville Reservation did not preempt state fishing

regulations concerning the same waters).

Regardless, the question whether California may also have

jurisdiction over Plaintiff's land is not before us; we are

concerned only with whether Congress, in order to protect sites

of cultural or religious significance to a tribe, can regulate

timber ‘h=r'vesting on private property that is located within a

reservation and, if so, whether it can delegate that power to the

Tribe. apts ibis vise cw teal

Congress’ sovint srvat Willd Andiaa cai leita

our federal system because it includes general federal authority

” This principle is not unique to fee-patented lands within the

borders of Indian reservations. The use of private property routinely

is subject to regulation by both the federal and state governments.

Appendix A-29

to legislate over health, safety, and morals.” Cohen at 219. It

is “now generally recognized that the power derives from

federal responsibility for regulating commerce with Indian

tribes and for treaty making.” McClanahan v. State Tax

Comm'n, 411 U.S. 164, 172 n.7 (1983) (citing U.S. Const. art.

I, § 8, cl. 3; U.S. Const. art. Il, § 2, cl. 2). The Supreme Court

has referred to Congress’ power over Indian affairs as “plenary”

and has noted that,

“in the exercise of the war and treaty powers, the

United States overcame the Indians and took

possession of their lands, sometimes by force,

leaving them needing protection against the

selfishness of others and their own improvidence.

Of necessity the United States assumed the duty of

furnishing that protection, and with it the authority to

do all that was required to perform that obligation

and to prepare the Indians to take their place as

independent, qualified members of the modern body

politic.”

Morton v. Mancari, 417 U.S. 535, 552 (1974) (quoting Bd. of

County Comm'rs v. Seber, 318 U.S. 705, 715 (1943)). Of

course, the power of Congress in Indian affairs, although

“plenary,” is not absolute; it must be “rationally related” to the

‘on of Indians. Del. Tribal Bus. Comm. v. Weeks, 430

U.S. 73, 86 (1977).

It is clear that Congress, exercising its plenary power Over

Indian tribes, could enact the ordinance in question and could

regulate all the land within the Reservation that is owned by the

Tribe or held in trust for the Tribe. White Mountain Apache

Tribe, 448 U.S. at 145-46. And we do not read the Supreme

Court’s cases as holding that Congress’ plenary power to act on

bebalf of Native Americans necessarily ends at the border of

allotted land, owned by a non-Indian, that is located wholly

within a reservation. Rather, although the ownership status of

Appendix A-30

land is one factor in determining the jurisdictional reach of the

federal government, it is not dispositive.

As we noted earlier, the Court has held that Congress can

delegate to an Indian tribe the power to regulate a private

landowner whose property is located wholly within a

reservation. £.g, Montana, 450 U.S. at 564. By necessary

implication, it follows that Congress itself could regulate the

same property in the first instance.

A more express version of that proposition is found in Mazurie,

in which the Court noted that the federal government retains

authority, under its Indian Commerce Clause power, to regulate

the use of land within a reservation that is owned by a

non-Indian, if the regulation—in that case, a regulation

pertaining to the sale of alcohol—is meant to benefit the tribe.

419 U.S. at 555. Indeed, the Court in Mazurie upheld the

constitutionality of 18 U.S.C. § 1151, which defines “Indian

country,” the purposes of federal criminal jurisdiction, as

including fee-patented lands. Jd. at 555."

The Court in Mazurie was guided by two other cases, Seymour

v. Superintendent of Washington State Penitentiary, 368 U.S.

351 (1962), and Perrin v. United States, 232 U.S. 478 (1914).

In Seymour, the Court held that the federal government had

jurisdiction over a crime committed by an Indian on land

patented in fee to anon-Indian. 368 U.S. at 358. In so holding,

the Court reasoned that making criminal jurisdiction dependent

on land ownership would create an “impractical pattern of

checkerboard jurisdiction,” which would be unworkable. Jd.

Similarly, in Perrin, the Court held that the federal government

could regulate the sale of alcohol on surplus lands that were

formerly part of a reservation (as distinct from allotted land

! Other cases have extended 18 U.S.C. § 1151 to include civil .

jurisdiction. E.g., DeCoteau v. Dist. unperonee tes beem 425,

427 n.2 (1975).

Appendix A-3!

within a reservation.), but now were owned by non-Indians.

732 U.S. at 486-87. The defendant argued that the federal

regulation exceeded the power of Congress, but the Court

disagreed. Congress did have the authority to protect the tribe:

As the power is incident only to the presence of the

Indians and their status as wards of the Government,

it must be conceded that it does not go beyond what

is reasonably essential to their protection, and that, to

be effective, its exercise must not be purely arbitrary,

but founded upon some reasonable basis.

Id. at 486.

Mazurie, Seymour, and Perrin establish that, when evaluating

a regulation aimed at protecting a tribe, land ownership and

tribal membership are not determinative of jurisdiction. More

support for that proposition can be found in the legal doctrine

that has developed around the “surplus land act” cases, in which

the Court has attempted to define the applicable jurisdictional

regime on unallotted surplus reservation lands that Congress

opened to non-Indian settlement. Generally, the Court has

instructed, the states have jurisdiction over unallotted surplus

lands “if the applicable surplus land act. . . diminished the

reservation boundaries.” Solem, 465 U.S. at 467. By contrast,

if a surplus land act “simply offered non-Indians the

opportunity to purchase land within established reservation

boundaries, then the entire opened area remained Indian

country,” including non-Indian fee land, and was subject to

federal regulation. South Dakota v. Yankton Sioux Tribe, 522

U.S. 329, 343 (1998) (citation and internal quotation marks

omitted).

In ‘those cases, the Court has determined jurisdiction by

examining the text of the surplus land act in question, as well

as the historical context surrounding the act and the subsequent

Appendix A-32

treatment of the land. Jd. at 344. Notably, in Solem, the Court

observed that, “[o}nce a block of land is set aside for an Indian

Reservation and no matter what happens to the title of

individual plots within the area, the entire block retains its

reservation status until] Congress explicitly indicates otherwise.”

465 U.S. at 470 (emphasis added).

From that jurisprudence we derive support for the principle that

federal jurisdiction within a reservation is not dependent solely

on the ownership status of the land in question. Instead,

following the cases described above, we must (a) examine

whether Congress intended to divest itself of all jurisdiction

when it authorized allotment of the Reservation, and (b) then

determining whether the ordinance is necessary for the

protection of the Tribe.

We do not believe that Congress intended to divest itself of

jurisdiction in this case. The Hoopa Valley Reservation, even

after allotment, remains 97.2 percent intact. Less than one

percent of the land is owned in fee simple by non-Indians.

Again, reasoning by analogy to the surplus land act cases, when

determining Congress’ intent to divest itself of jurisdiction,

“Congress’s own treatment of the affected areas . . . has some

evidentiary value, as does the manner in which the [BIA] and

local judicial authorities dealt with unallotted open lands.”

Solem, 465 U.S. at 471. Here, less than one percent of the land

is owned in fee by non-Indians, due primarily to the federal

government’s own unwillingness to authorize large-scale

allotment in the Square. See Nelson at 195-96 (summarizing

the history of allotment on the Hoopa Valley Reservation).

That unwillingness also is illustrated by Congress’ failure to

pass an allotment act that was directed specifically to the Hoopa

Valley Reservation, as it did for several other reservations. See

Matiz, 412 U.S. at 497 (noting that “Congress occasionally

Appendix A-33

enacted special legislation in order to assure that a particular

reservation was in fact opened to allotment”).

The Supreme Court’s opinion in Mattz is especially instructive.

There, the question for the Court was whether the Klamath

River Indian Reservation (i.e., the Extension) was terminated by

congressional act, or whether it remained “Indian country.” The

State of California argued for the former result, It reasoned that,

although in 1891 the Extension was joined to the Square, in

1892 Congress passed an “act to provide for the disposition and

sale of lands known as the Klamath River Indian Reservation,”

which opened the Extension to allotment to Indians and to

homesteading by non-Indians. Jd. at 494-95. The 1892 statute,

said the state, extinguished the entire Extension’s “reservation

status.” Id. at 496.

The Supreme Court disagreed. The Court noted that the 1892

act was similar to the 1887 General Allotment Act, in which

Congress had established its intention “to continue the

reservation system and the trust status of Indian lands, but to

allot tracts to individual Indians for agriculture and grazing.

When ail the lands had been allotted and the trust expired, the

reservation could be abolished.” Jd. (emphasis added). The

Court determined that the provisions of the 1892 Act “do not

differ materially from those of the General Allotment Act of

1887” and, therefore, “allotment under the 1892 Act is

completely consistent with continued reservation status.” Id.

at 497 (emphasis added). The Court then stated that ““when

Congress has once established a reservation all tracts included

within it remain a part of the reservation until separated

therefrom by Congress.” Jd. at 504-05 (emphasis added)

(quoting United States v. Celestine, 215 U.S. 278, 285 (1909)).

As we have noted, the Supreme Court also has held that land

retains its “reservation status” after being ceded to non-Indians

under a surplus land act and, thus, may be subject to federal

jurisdiction. This is in contrast to a statute that diminished the

Appendix A-34

reservation boundaries, leaving the non-Indian fee land outside

the reservation. See Yankton Sioux Tribe, 522 U.S. at 333, 343

(evaluating whether ea landfill was subject to federal

environmental regulations by determining whether the land,

which was owned in fee by a non-Indian, was still a part of the

reservation, and concluding that it was not part of the

reservation). The key to determining “reservation status” is

Congressional intent. Jd. at 343. And Mattz establishes that

Congress meant for tracts of land within a reservation that were

allotted pursuant to the General Allotment Act to retain their

reservation status until all reservation lands eventually could be

allotted and the reservation could be abolished. 412 U.S. at

496.

The foregoing analysis, combined with Mazurie’s holding that

it is constitutional for Congress to regulate non-Indians’

conduct on privately owned, allotted land within a reservation,

leads us to conclude that Plaintiff's land—which is wholly

within a reservation and which was allotted pursuant to the

General Allotment Act—remains subject to plenary federal

jurisdiction.

It is true, as Plaintiff points out, that the Court has stated that it

“defies common sense to suppose that Congress would intend

that non-Indians purchasing allotted lands would become

subject to tribal jurisdiction.” Montana, 450 U.S. at 559 n.9.

However, that statement was a reference to a tribe’s inherent

authority, not to the jurisdiction of the United States that may

have remained after allotment. Jd.

Moreover, even concerning a tribe’s remaining inherent

authority, the Court recently held that Congress “could not have

intended,” in enacting the General Allotment Act, “that tribes

would lose control over the character of their reservations upon

the sale of a few, relatively small parcels of land.” Brendale,

492 U.S. at 441 (Stevens, J.) (plurality opinion) (emphasis

added). In Brendale, the Court, in a fractured opinion, held that

Appendix A-35

an Indian tribe retains authority to zone a 1f0n-Indian’s fee land

that is within a “closed” part of a reservation. Id We believe

that the same can be said of Congress’ plenary authority over

the Square. Congress could not have intended, after “the sale

of a few, relatively small parcels of land,” id., to lose its power

to pass regulations that protect the Tribe, including regulations

that encompass the entire Reservation.

b. The Ordinance Protects the Tribe.

The ordinance in question, like the regulations in Mazurie,

Perrin, and Brendale, is a role of general applicability that is

intended to protect “the internal and social relations of tribal

life.” Mazurie, 419 U.S. at 557. While Plaintiff has

deconstructed the ordinance into a regulation that is only about

cutting trees, we view it more holistically as a reasonable means

to preserve and protect tribal resources that possess significant

historical and religious value. We see no principled reason why

the federal government can prohibit a non-Indian from selling

alcohol on land that he owns in fee within a reservation, in

order to protect the physical health of an Indian tribe, but cannot

prohibit a non-Indian from using such lands so as to put the

spiritual health of a tribe at risk.

We conclude, then, that the federal government did retain

jurisdiction to protect the cultural and natural resources of the

Reservation, despite the fact that land owned by non-Indians

would be affected by such regulation.

Finally, we must determine whether Congress could delegate

- that regulatory authority to the Tribe. Again, we look to

Mazurie for our answer. There, the Court noted that, although

there are “limits on the authority of Congress to delegate its

legislative power,” those limits are “less stringent in cases

Appendix A-36

U.S. at 556-57. Indian tribes, the Court observed, “are unique

aggregations possessing attributes of sovereignty over both their

members and their territory.” Jd. at 557; see also Atkinson

Trading Co., 121 S. Ct. at 1835 (citing Mazurie with approval).

This case, like Mazurie, involves the regulation of a

non-Indian’s conduct on land owned by a non-Indian wholly

within the boundaries of a reservation. As in Mazurie, the

ordinance at issue affects “the internal and social relations of

tribal life,” a subject as to which the Tribe retains at least some

independent authority. 419 U.S. at 557; see also Brendale, 492

U.S. at 441 (holding that an Indian tribe retained inherent

authority to zone land held in fee by a non-member in a closed

area of a reservation); Montana, 450 U.S. at 566 (noting that

Indian tribes retain inherent power to exercise civil authority

over the conduct of non-Indians on fee lands within the

reservation “when that conduct threatens or has some direct

effect on the . . . health or welfare of the tribe”).

Plaintiff also argues that Congress could not delegate regulatory

power to the Tribe because she cannot become a member of the

Tribe and therefore cannot participate in its government. The

Court in Mazurie rejected a similar argument, noting that

non-members were protected from arbitrary tribal conduct in at

least two ways: (1) by 25 U.S.C. § 1302, which applies

constitutional prohibitions to tribal governments; and (2) by the

fact that the tribal ordinances had to be approved by the

'2 The Court’s reference to Indian tribes’ “independent authority

over the subject matter” is not an instruction for us to undertake a

Montana-like analysis to see whether the Tribe actually retains

inherent authority over Plaintiff's land. Instead, we read the Court

to mean only that Congress can delegate to Indian tribes those

powers that are within the sphere of the Indian Commerce

Clause—powers that are “rationally related” to the protection of

Indians. Del. Tribal Bus. Comm. v. Weeks, 430 U.S. 73, 86 (1977).

Congress could not, for example, delegate to a tribe the power to

regulate commerce with foreign nations.

Appendix A-37

Secretary. 419 U.S. at 558 n.12. The same is true here.

Section 1302 applies to the Tribe and, pursuant to the Tribe’s

Constitution, any ordinance directly affecting non-members

must be approved by the Secretary—as this ordinance was.

Because the Tribe possesses unique “attributes of sovereignty,”

and because the Tribe has at least some “independent authority

over the subject matter” at issue, we hold that the federal

government could delegate to the Tribe its authority to protect

cultural and historical resources of significance, “even though

the lands were held in fee by non-Indians, and even though the

persons regulated were non-Indians.” Mazurie, 419 U.S. at

554, 557.

CONCLUSION

We hold that Congress expressly delegated authority to the

Tribe to enact the ordinance in question and that Congress had

the power to do so.

AFFIRMED.

Sot ee

Appendix A-38

FERNANDEZ, Circuit Judge, with whom KLEINFELD and

WARDLAW, Circuit Judges, join, Dissenting:

Because I disagree with the majority’s holding that Congress

has expressly conferred jurisdiction upon the Hoopa Valley

Tribe over lands held in fee by non-Indians, | dissent.

In reaching this conclusion, I have given, as I must, the greatest

deference to the Supreme Court’s insistence that jurisdiction

over non-Indians on non-Indian land is exceptional. That is

because tribes have limited authority and jurisdiction over

non-Indians. See Atkinson Trading Co., Inc. v. Shirley, U.S

__,__, 121 S. Ct. 1825, 1830, 149 L. Ed. 2d 889 (2001); Strate

v. A-] Contractors, 520 U.S. 438, 446, 117 S. Ct. 1404,

1409-10, 137 L. Ed. 2d 661 (1997); Montana v. United States,

450 U.S. 544, 549, 101 S. Ct. 1245, 1250, 67 L. Ed. 2d 493

(1981). That limitation is surely proper and should be treated

with respect, especially in light of the fact that if jurisdiction

exists non-Indians will have no representation in the

government or councils of the tribes, but will be subjected to

the demands of a separate sovereign within the boundaries of

the United States itself.' Thus, before finding that Congress has

expressly authorized a tribe to assert jurisdiction over non

indians and their lands, the authorization should, in my view, be

truly pellucid. We should not have to ferret it out in the midst

of a fuliginous cloud of words. We should expect great clarity

when Congress is ceding sovereignty to entities in which those

' As the Court recently noted: “Hitherto, the absence of tribal

ownership has been virtually conclusive of the absence of tribal civil

jurisdiction; with one minor exception, we have never upheld under

Montana the extension of tribal civil authority over nonmembers on

non-Indian land.” Nevada v. Hicks, U.S.__, _,121 S. Ct. 2304,

2310, 69 L. Ed. 2d 4528 (2001). That, it seems to me, lays bare the

fondemental fact that the scope of the jurisdiction asserted here is

truly unusual.

Appendix A-39

who are affected will have no say. With that in mind, | turn to

the issue at hand.

be improved upon.

The original panel set out the issue in words that cannot easily

I shan’t try, but will instead rather

extensively quote its language.

The statutory provision at issue provides, in full, as

follows: “The existing governing documents of the

Hoopa Valley Tribe and the governing body

established and elected thereunder, as heretofore

recognized by the Secretary, are hereby ratified and

confirmed.” 25 U.S.C. § 1300i-7.

The fact that nothing in the Settlement Act itself

explicitly confers upon the Tribe jurisdiction to

regulate nonmembers raises serious questions as to

how carefully Congress considered whether it was

making any grant of regulatory authority to the Tribe.

Moreover, the Settlement Act uses the same “ratified

and confirmed” language to recognize the newly

created Yurok Tribe, 25 U.S.C. § 1300i-8, which

suggests that this language may simply represent

Congress’s attempt to establish the Hoopa Valley

Tribe and the Yurok Tribe as the governing

authorities for their respective reservations, rather

than a consciously made delegation of authority to

the tribes to exercise jurisdiction over nonmembers.

Indeed, legislative history makes clear that

Congress’s overriding concern in passing the

Settlement Act was ending the acrimonious disputes

between the Hoopa and non-Hoopa Indians living in

_ the Hoopa Valley by creating two separate

_ seservations, one for the Hoopa and one for the

Yurok, in which each group would be free to govern

itself without interference from the other. See, e.g.,

134 Cong. Rec. $13967-02, 1988 WL 177595, at

Appendix A—40

*34 (Sept. 30, 1988) (statement of Sen. Inouye)

(explaining the Hoopa Tribe’s loss of its ability to

govern the area that ultimately became its exclusive

reservation); 134 Cong. Rec. H9406-01, 1988 WL

176807, at *35 (Oct. 3, 1988) (statement of Rep.

Bosco) (explaining the Settlement Act as “lay[ing]

the groundwork for strong, healthy tribal

communities”). The legislative history contains no

indication that Congress considered giving or

intended to give the Tribe authority to exercise

jurisdiction over fee-patented land owned by

non-Indians such as Bugenig.

Despite this ambiguity with respect to the Settlement

Act as a grant of power over tribal nonmembers, the

district court interpreted § 1300i-7 as a congressional

delegation of authority to the Tribe to exercise such

jurisdiction. The district court reasoned that

§ 1300i-7’s “ratified and confirmed” language works

o “give[ ] every clause in the document being

ratified the full force and effect of a congressional

statute.” Turning to the Tribe’s governing

documents, the district court looked to Article III of

the Tribal Constitution, which provides that the

Tribe has jurisdiction over “all lands within the

confines of the Hoopa Valley Indian Reservation

boundaries as established by Executive Order of

June 23, 1876, and to such other lands as may

hereafter be acquired by or for the Hoopa Valley

Indians.” The district court held that “under the

plain language of Article III, the Hoopa Valley Tribe

has jurisdiction over Bugenig’s land” as Jand located

within the boundaries of the reservation.

Appendix A-41

Bugenig v. Hoopa Valley Tribe, 229 F.3d 1210, 1215-16 (9th

Cir. 2000) (Bugenig 1).’

As | see it, the district court was surely wrong when it

determined that the language in question clearly conferred

jurisdiction over non-Indians on non-Indian land within the

boundaries of the reservation. There is not a whisper of that in

the language in question; nor is there any reason to think that

Congress divined that intention lurking in the words. To

assume that jurisdiction means a general plenary jurisdiction

over others and that all we need to do is ruminate on its

territorial scope is to beg the question.

As itis, there is nothing remarkable about a tribal constitution’s

declaration that the reach of tribal authority will extend to its

own boundaries, and that is all the language at hand declares.

That is a far cry from saying that the tribe will have unrestricted

authority to regulate the use of non-Indian land within those

boundaries, regardless of the fact that a tribe generally has no

such powers. Still, there are occasions when a tribe is

empowered to regulate others, even without an express

conferral of jurisdiction by Congress. The Supreme Court said

as much before this tribal constitution was ratified by Congress,

and Congress must have been aware of that. I speak, of course,

of the so-called Montana exceptions. See Montana, 450 U.S.

at 565-66, 101 S. Ct. at 1258. Those exceptions have been

carefully circumscribed. See, e.g., Atkinson Trading, US.

at _, 121 S. Ct. at 1832-35 (2001.); County of Lewis v. Allen,

163 F.3d 509, 515 (9th Cir. 1998). Nonetheless, the exceptions

2 The district court also pointed to Article IX, § 1(1) of the

constitution, which allows regulation of trade and the use and

disposition of property, if the Commissioner of Indian Affairs

approves of it. However, as the panel pointed out, that language

appears to do no more than allow for regulation of “consensual

commercial dealings between tribal members and nonmembers.”

Bugenig I, 229 F.3d at 1216.

Appendix A—42

do exist, and a tribe whose jurisdiction does not extend to non-

Indian land when they do exist might well find that it could not

“*protect tribal self-government or . . . control internal

relations.”” Atkinson Trading, _U.S.at__, 121 S. Ct. at 1835

(20011) (citation omitted). In that sense, then, it is perfectly

reasonable to believe that when the Tribe drafted its

constitution, it intended to reach out and accept all jurisdiction

that properly belonged to it, but there is no reason to believe

that Congress read the constitution’s bland language as a power

grab over land and peoples uot related to the Tribe itself or to

its government. The Tribe simpiy could not authorize itself to

do that. We should not act as if it could, or as if Congress

thought that the Tribe had tried to do so and then ratified the

attempt. Nor should we decide that by using the constitution’s

unexceptional language the Tribe, like a retiarius, ensnared and

skewered Congress, thereby obtaining exceptional jurisdiction.

I would, therefore, hold that the language in question, even

coupled with the ratification statute, was not an express

conferral of additional authority or jurisdiction, but, rather, a

mere confirmation of the general jurisdictional rights that every

tribe must have.’ .

That being said, I see no real need to explore the outer limits of

the meaning of express authorization. Wherever they may be,

the language of the tribal constitution did not reach them. The

panel found a mere ambiguity in the language. Bugenig I, 229

F.3d at 1216-17. With all due respect, I believe that in doing so

> Incidentally, when the provision in question is read as a whole it

can also be seen as an express liynitation of jurisdiction to land that

is held “by or for the Hoopa Valley Indians.” That is, when it refers

to “other lands” acquired “by or for” the Indians, implicit in that is

the thought that the words “all lands within the confines of . . .

Reservation boundaries” also concerns those that are “by or for” the

Hoopa Valley Indians. I eschew that reading, however, lest it

foreclose tribal jurisdiction under circumstances when the Montana

exceptions would allow it. .

Appendix A-43

it conceded too much. Because it did, however, the panel felt

the need to press on. I consider that to be a divagation, but to

those who are interested in exploring the subject, I commend

the panel’s discussion. See id. at 1216-19.

Once the express authorization issue is resolved as | have

resolved it, the next question is whether the Tribe’s desire to

protect the area in question is sufficient to bring its assertion of

regulatory power over non-Indian lands within the Montana

exception for “conduct [that] threatens or has some direct effect

on the political integrity, the economic security, or the health or

welfare of the tribe.” Montana, 450 U.S. at 566, 101 S. Ct. at

1258. As the Court has told us, that would require that the

impact of the non-Indian conduct was “demonstrably serious”

and regulation was necessary to “protect tribal self-government

or to control internal relations.” Atkinson Trading, U.S. at

__, 121 S. Ct. at 1835 (2001) (citations and internal quotation

marks omitted). The district court did not really explore those

issues which are, to say the least, fact intensive. Thus, I would

remand this case so that the district court could further develop

the record and decide in the first instance whether the exception

does apply.

In sum, it seems plain to me that the Hoopa Valley Tribe’s

constitution could not, and did not, reserve or confer upon the

tribe what it did not have and could only obtain through a

separate express gift from Congress—plenary jurisdiction over

other peoples’ lands. It seems equally plain that on its face the

constitution did no more than reserve all of the jurisdiction that

it could reserve—jurisdiction over tribal lands and, in special

circumstances, jurisdiction over non-tribal lands as well. So

plain it seems, it would take a marvelous act of interpretation,

bordering on thaumaturgy, to read the constitution as expanding

Appendix A—44

the Tribe’s jurisdictional reach beyond the norm. There is no

reason to believe that Congress did so.‘

Thus, I respectfully dissent.

‘ Because my framing of the nature of the problem may mislead

some regarding my position, see for example the majority opinion at

12898, let me be, perhaps redundantly, explicit. I would not hold that

an inattentive or ill-informed Congress misunderstood the plain

meaning of its own enactment, or the proper reading of the

provisions of the tribal constitution. 1 would hold, instead, that the

plain and proper reading of the tribal constitution is what I have

already indicated, and that Congress must be deemed to have

upon us.

Appendix B—1

FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

FILED: February 28, 2001

ROBERTA BUGENIG, )

) No. 99-15654

Plaintiff-Appellant, )

) DC No. CV-98-03409-CW

v. )

) ORDER

HOOPA VALLEY TRIBE; )

THE HOOPA VALLEY )

TRIBAL COUNCIL; THE )

TRIBAL COURT OF THE )

HOOPA VALLEY TRIBAL +)

RESERVATION; BYRON )

NELSON, Jr.. HONORABLE )

JUDGE OF THE HOOPA )

VALLEY TRIBAL COURT; _)

MERV GEORGE, CHAIRMAN)

OF THE HOOPA VALLEY

TRIBAL COUNCIL,

BEFORE: SCHROEDER, Chief Judge.

Upon the vote of a majority of nonrecused regular active

judges of this court,’ it is ordered that this case be reheard by

the en banc court pursuant to Circuit Rule 35-3. The three-

' Judge Fisher was recused.

Fie ey a

2h J

2 phar .< -

ERE eae ae S

cited as precedent by or to this

Appendix B-2

not be

court of the Ninth Circuit, except to the

the en banc court.

judge panel opinion

court or any district

extent adopted by

nes

+o

3

ab

+

Be OT B®

Appendix C—1

FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

ROBERTA BUGENIG,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

No. 99-15654

v.

D.C. No.

CV-98-03409-CW

OPINION

)

)

)

)

HOOPA VALLEY TRIBE; )

THE HOOPA VALLEY )

TRIBAL COUNCIL; THE )

TRIBAL COURT OF THE )

HOOPA VALLEY TRIBAL _)

RESERVATION; BYRON )

NELSON, Jr.. HONORABLE)

JUDGE OF THE HOOPA )

VALLEY TRIBAL COURT; _)

MERV GEORGE, CHAIRMAN)

OF THE HOOPA VALLEY _)

TRIBAL COUNCIL, )

Defendants-Appellees. )

)

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of California

Claudia Wilken, District Judge, Presiding

Argued and Submitted

July 18, 2000—Seattle, Washington

Filed October 3, 2000

Appendix C-2

Before: Thomas H. Reaviey,’ Diarmuid F. O’Scannlain, and

Ronald M. Gould, Circuit Judges.

Opinion by Judge O’Scannlain

SUMMARY

Government Law/Native Americans

The court of appeals reversed a judgment of the district

court and remanded. The court held that an Indian tribe can not

regulate timber harvesting on fee-patented private property

within the reservation boundary.

The Hoopa-Yurok Settlement Act of 1988 (Settlement

Act) resolved conflicts between the Hoopa and Yurok Indian

tribes, partitioned an Indian reservation into two parts, one for

each of these tribes, and “ratified and confirmed” existing

governing documents of appellees the Hoopa Valley

Indian Tribe (Tribe) and the Hoopa Valley Tribal Council (Tribal

Council). The Tribal Council adopted a forest management/

timber harvest plan prohibiting all logging within a half-mile

buffer zone around the sacred White Deerskin Dance Site and

the trail leading to it. Appellant Roberta Bugenig, a

nonmember of the Tribe and a non-Indian, shortly after estab-

lishment of the buffer zone, purchased in fee simple forty acres

of land located within the Hoopa Valley Reservation and the

buffer zone. The state of California issued Bugenig a logging

permit for her land. The Tribe filed suit against Bugenig in the

Hoopa Valley Tribal Court (Tribal Court) seeking injunctive

relief and damages resulting from her logging activities in

’ The Honorable Thomas H. Reaviey, Senior United States Circuit

__ Judge for the United States Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit, sitting by

designation.

Appendix C-3

violation of the forest management plan. The state revoked her

logging permit. The Tribal Court found that the Tribe had

jurisdiction over Bugenig’s land and permanently enjoined her

from harvesting timber in the buffer zone. Bugenig sought

declaratory and injunctive relief against the Tribe and various

tribal defendants in federal district court. |

The district court granted the Tribe’s motion to dismiss

Bugenig’s action, finding that Congress conferred upon the

Tribe the authority to regulate Bugenig’s land in the Settlement

Act, which “ratified and confirmed” tribal governing documents

that asserted tribal jurisdiction over nonmembers.

[1] Nothing in the Settlement Act itself explicitly

conferred upon the Tribe jurisdiction to regulate nonmembers.

The legislative history contained no indication that Congress

considered giving or intended to give the Tribe authority to

exercise jurisdiction over fee-patented land owned by

non-Indians such as Bugenig.

[2] Language in the Tribal Constitution, which was

“ratified and confirmed” by the Settlement Act potentially, but

not definitively, delegated this authority to the Tribe.

[3] There must be express authorization for an Indian tribe

to exercise authority over nonmembers.

[4] There are few examples of congressional delegation of

authority to tribes.

[5] Federal law expressly delegates power to Indian tribes

to regulate the distribution of alcoholic beverages in “Indian

country,” defined as Indian reservation land, “notwithstanding

the issuance of any patent.” This recognized delegation

language is conspicuously absent from the Settlement Act.

- [6] Congress can make express delegations of power to

Indian tribes to regulate the actions of nonmembers, but

because of the presumption against tribal jurisdiction over

Appendix C-4

nonmembers, any such delegation must truly be express. If

Congress uses the “notwithstanding the issuance of any patent”

proviso, which is an easily invoked gold standard for

delegation, then an appropriate delegation has been made. Ifa

tribe claims that some other statutory language represents a

conferral of jurisdiction, however, any such alternative

language must, on its face, represent a pellucid delegation of the

claimed authority.

[7] The provision of the Settlement Act relied upon by the

Tribe for its authority to regulate timber harvesting on

Bugenig’s property, which contained no explicit authorization

of jurisdiction, but simply incorporated by reference tribal

documents that were themselves subject to varying

interpretations, fell well short of the required standard.

[8] An Indian tribe may have the authority to regulate the

conduct of nonmembers through either congressional delegation

or inherent tribal authority.

[9] As a general proposition, the inherent sovereign

powers of an Indian tribe do not extend to the activities of

nonmembers of the tribe. There are two narrow exceptions

to this general rule: Tribes may exercise civil jurisdiction

over nonmembers when (1) nonmembers enter consensual

relationships with the tribe or its members, through commercial

dealing, contracts, leases, or other arrangements; or

(2) nonmembers engage in conduct on fee lands within a tribal

reservation that threatens or has some direct effect on the

political integrity, the economic security, or the health or

welfare of the tribe.

[10} At issue in this case was whether the Tribe’s exercise

of regulatory jurisdiction over Bugenig’s land through

enforcement of the buffer zone could be upheld under the

second exception, which is narrowly construed. This exception

allows for tribal jurisdiction over nonmembers only to the

Appendix C—5

extent that such authority is necessary to protect self-

government or contro] internal relations.

[11] The Tribe’s regulation of Bugenig’s use of her

fee-owned land, even if justified by reference to some tribal

interest, did not implicate tribal self-government or internal

tribal relations. The exception did not apply.

COUNSEL

James S. Burling (argued), Pacific Legal Foundation,

Sacramento, California, for the plaintiff-appellant.

Thomas P. Schlosser (argued), K. Allison McGaw, Morriset,

Schlosser, Ayer & Jozwiak, Seattle, Washington, for the

defendants-appellees.

Ethan G. Shenkman, Anne R. Traum, United States Department

of Justice, Environment and Natural Resources Division,

Washington, D.C.; Sandra J. Ashton, Office of the Solicitor,

United States Department of the Interior, Washington, D.C., for

amicus United States of America.

OPINION

O’SCANNLAIN, Circuit Judge:

This case presents questions of Indian law regarding the

scope of tribal jurisdiction over the activities of nonmembers:

specifically, to what extent can the tribe regulate land use of

fee-patented private property within a reservation boundary?

Se

Appendix C-6

]

In 1864, the Superintendent of Indian Affairs set aside the

Hoopa Valley and its adjacent mountains, located in north-

western California, as the Hoopa Valley Indian Reservation.

The boundaries of the original reservation, defined by statute in

1876, were subsequently extended by executive order in 1891.

The expanded reservation was occupied jointly by the Hoopa

Indians and a group of non-Hoopa Indians. This arrangement

led to numerous disputes, and a great deal of litigation, over the

proper allocation of political authority and reservation income

(primarily from the sale of timber) between the two groups. See

Short v. United States, 661 F.2d 150, 151-53 (Ct. Cl. 1981)

(describing the history of the Hoopa Valley Indian Reservation

and the disputes between the Hoopa and non-Hoopa Indians);

Puzz v. United States, No. C80-2908-THE, 1988 WL 188462,

at *1-2 (N.D. Cal. April 8, 1988) (same).

Congress attempted to resolve these conflicts through

passage of the Hoopa- Yurok Settlement Act of 1988, 25 U.S.C.

§§ 1300i-1300i-11 (“the Settlement Act”). The Settlement Act

partitioned the expanded reservation into two parts: (1) the

original reservation as defined in 1876, which was sev aside as

the Hoopa Valley Indian Reservation (“the Reservation”); and

(2) the extension added in 1891, which was set aside as a

reservation for a newly recognized tribe of non-Hoopa Indians

called the Yurok Tribe. See id § 1300i-1 (partitioning the

expanded reservation); id. § 1300i-8 (recognizing the Yurok

Tribe). The Settlement Act also provided that (1) “[t]he

existing governing documents of the Hoopa Valley Tribe and

the governing body established and elected thereunder, as

heretofore recognized by the Secretary [of the Interior], are

hereby ratified and confirmed,” id § 1300i-7; and (2) the

“status as an Indian tribe” of the newly recognized Yurok Tribe

“is hereby ratified and confirmed,” id. § 1300i-8(a)(1).

Appendix C-7

The Hoopa Valley Tribe (“the Tribe”) is a federally-

recognized Indian tribe. The Tribe is organized under a

constitution and amendments approved by the Secretary of the

Interior and is governed by the Hoopa Valley Tribal Council

(“Tribal Council”), pursuant to the Hoopa Valley Tribal

Constitution.

Every other summer, the Tribe holds its well-known

White Deerskin Dance, a ten-day dance dedicated to “world

renewal.” The dance is a public event imbued with cultural,

social, and religious significance for the Tribe. The dance,

which is accompanied by feasting and celebration, takes place

at the sacred White Deerskin Dance Site (“the Site”) on Bald

Hill, as well as at four other locations throughout the

Reservation.

On January 28, 1995, after providing notice to affected

land owners and holding public hearings, the Tribal Council

adopted a forest management/timber harvest plan prohibiting all

logging within a half-mile buffer zone around the Site and the

trail leading to it. The Tribal Council justified its action by

citing the need to preserve the integrity and sanctity of the Site.

The establishment of the buffer zone was approved by the

Bureau of Indian Affairs.

Roberta Bugenig is a nonmember of the Tribe and a non-

Indian whose ancestors migrated to the Hoopa Valley area

approximately 150 years ago. On March 22, 1995, shortly after

establishment of the half-mile buffer zone around the Site,

Bugenig purchased in fee simple forty acres of land located

within the Reservation’s external boundaries and the buffer

zone. Non-Indians such as Bugenig own less than three percent

of the land within reservation boundaries.

Bugenig sought to harvest some second-growth timber on

less than three acres of her forty-acre parcel in order to help pay

for the construction of her retirement residence. On June 19,

1995, Bugenig applied to the State of California (“the State”)

Appendix C-8

for a logging permit to harvest trees selectively on her land.

Also on June 19, Bugenig appeared before the Tribal Council

to request a hauling permit to transport harvested timber on a

tribal road running over reservation land. The Tribal Council

denied her request for a hauling permit.

After receiving a logging permit from the State in early

July 1995, Bugenig sent a check for $140 to the Tribal Council

on July 24, 1995, as intended payment for a hauling permit. On

July 26, Bugenig began cutting down and harvesting trees on

her land. On July 28, the Tribal Council returned Bugenig’s

check and ordered her to cease and desist from logging inside

the buffer zone.

On August 3, 1995, the Tribe filed suit against Bugenig in

the Hoopa Valley Tribal Court (“Tribal Court”), seeking

injunctive relief and damages resulting from her logging

activities in violation of the forest management plan. The

Tribal Court issued a temporary restraining order that same day,

followed a week later by a preliminary injunction barring

Bugenig from harvesting timber on her land. On October 10,

1995, the State revoked Bugenig’s logging permit, explaining

that “no timber operations are allowed on significant historical

or archeological sites [defined as] sites that have significant or

religious importance to California Indians.”

On July 11, 1996, the Tribal Court held that the Tribe has

jurisdiction over Bugenig’s land, and it permanently enjoined

her from harvesting timber in the buffer zone, The Tribal Court

also ordered Bugenig to clean her property, to cooperate with

the Hoopa Valley Tribal Forestry Department in developing a

reforestation plan, and to pay the Tribe’s costs. Bugenig was

Appendix C-9

subsequently found in contempt for failing to comply with the

Tribal Court’s order.’

Bugenig appealed the Tribal Court’s decision to the

Northwest Regional Tribal Supreme Court (“Tribal Supreme

Court”). On April 23, 1998, the Tribal Supreme Court affirmed

~ the Tribal Court’s holding that the Tribe has jurisdiction over

Bugenig’s activities and her land. The Tribal Supreme Court

based its decision on (1) the second exception to the main rule

of Montana v. United States, 450 U.S. 544 (1981);? and (2) the

Settlement Act.

On September 4, 1998, having exhausted her remedies

within the tribal court system, Bugenig filed suit in federal court

against the Tribe and various tribal defendants. Bugenig sought

declaratory and injunctive relief against the Tribe’s exercise of

regulatory jurisdiction over her land use and the tribal courts’

exercise of adjudicatory jurisdiction over her disputes with thé

? The Tribal Court’s injunction remains in effect, and a lien has

been placed on Bugenig’s property for the collection of the Tribal

Court’s $190 fine for contempt. The State’s revocation of Bugenig’s

logging permit does not render this case moot, because it is possible

that Bugenig will apply for a new logging permit and begin to

harvest timber on her property if the injunction is lifted. See Allee v.

Medrano, 416 U.S. 802, 810 (1974).

> As discussed infra, the first Montana exception permits certain

tribal regulation of “the activities of nonmembers who enter

consensual relationships with the tribe or its members,” while the

second exception authorizes tribal jurisdiction over nonmember

conduct when such conduct “threatens or has some direct effect on

the political integrity, the economic security, or the health and

welfare of the tribe.” 450 U.S. at 565-66. The Tribal Supreme Court

reversed a portion of the Tribal Court’s decision finding the first

Montana exception applicable and affirmed as to the applicability of

the second exception.

Appendix C-10

Tribe. The Tribe filed a motion to dismiss pursuant to Federal

Rule of Civil Procedure 12(b)(6).

The district court granted the Tribe’s motion to dismiss.

The district court held that through passage of the Settlement

Act, which “ratified and confirmed” tribal governing documents

- that assert tribal jurisdiction over nonmembers, Congress

conferred upon the Tribe the authority to regulate Bugenig’s

land. Because it found express congressional authorization for

the Tribe’s exercise of jurisdiction, the district court did not

reach the issue decided by the tribal courts regarding the Tribe’s

claim of inherent authority to regulate under the second

Montana exception.

Bugenig filed this timely appeal.‘

I

We begin by addressing whether the relevant section of

the Settlement Act relied upon by the Tribe and the district

court constitutes an “express authorization by federal statute or

treaty [of] tribal jurisdiction over the conduct of nonmembers.”

Strate v. A-] Contractors, 520 U.S. 438, 445 (1997).

A

The statutory provision at issue provides, in full, as

follows: “The existing governing documents of the Hoopa

Valley Tribe and the governing body established and elected

thereunder, as heretofore recognized by the Secretary, are

hereby ratified and confirmed.” 25 U.S.C. § 1300i-7.

* The United States, which did not participate in the district court

proceedings, submitted an amicus cur

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.