Opposition Brief — Stewart v. Lambright
Supreme Court brief2002
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
Sent By: David P. Tiers; 520 792 9441; — Jan-2-02 11:16AM; Page
c “ at
oOAGL v4 © ’
\\ ¥ ee No. 01-691
IN THE iL
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
TERRY L. STEWART, DIRECTOR,
ARIZONA DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS,
Petitioners,
VS.
JOE LEONARD LAMBRIGHT,
Respondent.
MOTION FOR LEAVE TO PROCEED IN FORMA PAUPERIS
The Respondent asks leave to file the attached Brief in Opposition to Petition for Writ of
Certiorari without prepayment of costs and to proceed in forma pauperis.
[X] Respondent has previously been granted leave to proceed in forma pauperis in the
following courts:
Pima County Superior Court, Arizona Court of Appeals, Arizona Supreme Court,
United States District Court, Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals, Supreme Court of the United States.
{[ ] Respondent has not previously been granted leave to proceed in forma pauperis in
any other court. |
Respondent’s declaration in support of this motion is attached hereto.
Daie-P-Tiers
35 East University Boulevard
Tucson, Arizona 85705-7736
(S20) 623-4274
Attorney for Respondent
\
Os
Sent By: David P. Tiers; 520 792 9441; Jan-2-02 11:16AM; Page 3
AFFIDAVIT OR DECLARATION
IN SUPPORT OF MOTION FOR LEAVE TO PROCEED IN FORMA PAUPERIS
1, Joe Leonard Lambrightam the petitioner in the above-entitled case. In support of
my motion to proceed in forma pauperis, I state that because of my poverty I am unable to pay
the costs of this case or to give security therefor; and I believe I am entitled to redress.
1. For both you and your spouse estimate the average amount of money received from each of
the following sources during the past 12 months. Adjust any amount that was received
weekly, biweekly, quarterly, semiannually, or annually to show the monthly rate. Use gross
amounts, that is, amounts before any deductions for taxes or otherwise,
Income source Average monthly amount during Amount expected
the past 12 months next month
You Spouse You Spouse
Employment Be ee eae
Self-employment ee. — 0 $
Income from real property SE Rr ° $.
(such as rental income) -
interest and dividends Ban bi $ $ ’ te SS UaNTY.
Gifts ee $ aR, $
Alimony $ a 2 $
Child Support ee $ ¢$__ 9 $
Retirement (such as social $ 0 $ "a $
security, pensions,
annuities, insurance) -
Disability (such as social s ° $ es 5
security, insurance payments)
Unemployment payments $ , $ ..* $
Public-assistance eee $ $ : $
(such as welfare)
0
Other (specify): $ $ $ . $
0
Total monthly Income: §$ a eed, a £ $
Sent By: David P. Tiers; 520 792 9441; Jan-2-02 11:16AM; Page 4
2. List your employment history for the past two years, most recent first. (Gross monthly pay
is before taxes or other deductions.)
Employer Address Dates of Gross monthly pay
Employment
Not Applicable $
$
$
3. List your spouse’s employment history for the past two years, most recent employer first.
(Gross monthly pay is before taxes or other deductions.)
Employer Address Dates of Gross monthly pay
Not Applicable Employment .
; _
$
4. How much cash do you and your spouse have? $__0
Below, state any money you or your spouse have in bank accounts or in any other financial
institution.
Financial institution Type of account Amount you have Amount your spouse has
Not Applicable $ $
$ $
$ $
5. List the assets, and their values, which you own or your spouse owns. Do not list clothing
and ordinary household furnishings.
©) Home C Other real estate
Value Value
2 Motor Vehicle #1 © Motor Vehicle #2
Year, make & model : Year, make & mode!
Value Value
C) Other assets
Description
Value
Sent By: David P. Tiers; 520 792 9441; Jan-2-02 11:17AM; Page 5
6. State every person, business, or organization owing you or your spouse money, and the
amount owed.
Person owing you or Amount owed to you Amount owed to your spouse
your spouse money
Not Applicable
: $ $
$
$
7. State the persons who rely on you or your spouse for support.
Name Relationship Age
Not Applicable
8. Estimate the average monthly expenses of you and your family. Show separately the amounts
paid by your spouse. Adjust any payments that are made weekly, biweekly, quarterly, or
annually to show the monthly rate.
Not Applicable
You Your spouse
Rent or home-mortgage payment 0
(include lot rented for mobile home) t $
Are real estate taxes included? Yes [CJNo
Is property insurance included? [Yes No
Utilities (electricity, heating fuel, 0
water, sewer, and telephone) $ ae 3
0
Home maintenance (repairs and upkeep) $ i nee” |
Food g . $
Clothing ioe $
Laundry and dry-cleaning $ ' $
Medical and dental expenses $ _ ERG Raa
Sent By: David P. Tiers; 520 792 9441; Jan-2-02 11:17AM; Page 6
You Your spouse
Transportation (not including motor vehicle payments) $ 0 $
0
Recreation, entertainment, newspapers, magazines, etc. $ $
Insurance (not deducted from wages or included in mortgage payments)
Homeowner's or renter’s a ee $
Life $_0 $
Health i ne
Motor Vehicle ' § : $
Other: $ : é
Taxes (not deducted from wages or included in mortgage payments)
(specify): “Ei $
Installment payments
Motor Vehicle | $ . $
Credit card(s) s_S 3
Department store(s) . Peat ares?
Other: hic $
Alimony, maintenance, and support paid to others 3 G s
Regular expenses for operation of business, profession, 0
or farm (attach detailed statement) $ :
Other (specify): $ : $.
Total monthly expenses: x Y $
Sent By: David P. Tiers; 520 792 9441; Jan-2-02 11:17AM; Page 7
9. Do you expect any major changes to your monthly income or expenses or in your assets or
liabilities during the next 12 months?
O Yes 43 No If yes, describe on an attached sheet.
10. Have you paid — or will you be paying — an attorney any money for services in connection
with this case, including the completion of this form? (Yes x4tNu
If yes, how much?
If yes, state the attorney’s name, address, and telephone number:
11. Have you paid—or will you be paying—anyone other than an attorney (such as a paralegal! or
a typist) any money for services in connection with this case, including the completion of this
form?
O) Yes Xx No
If yes, how much?
If yes, state the person's name, address, and telephone number:
12. Provide any other information that will help explain why you cannot pay the costs of this case.
I have been incarcerated since 1981 and on death row
since 1982.
I declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true and correct.
Executed on: I /24 20. Ol
(Signature) 7
TER PED ee OP
ee
Sent By: David P. Tiers; 520 792 9441; Jan-2-02 11:17AM; Page 8
No. 01-691
In the
Supreme Court of the United States
Sa
TERRY L. STEWART, DIRECTOR,
ARIZONA DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS,
Petitioner,
Vv.
JOE LEONARD LAMBRIGHT,
Respondent.
+
On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to
the United States Court of Appeals
For the Ninth Circuit
+
BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
DAVID P. TIERS
35 East University Boulevard
Tucson, Arizona 85705-7736
(520) 623-4274
Attorney for Respondent
I
Sent By: David P. Tiers; 520 792 9441; Jan-2-02 11:17AM; Page 9
QUESTIONS PRESENTED
DID THE NINTH CIRCUIT ERR IN ITS DETERMINATION THAT AT THE
TIME OF PETITIONER'S DIRECT APPEAL, ARIZONA'S PROCEDURAL
DEFAULT RULE WAS NOT SUFFICIENTLY CLEAR TO CONSTITUTE AN
ADEQUATE GROUND TO PRECLUDE FEDERAL HABEAS REVIEW?
DID THE NINTH CIRCUIT ERR IN ITS DETERMINATION THAT THE
STATE COURT DID NOT RELY ON AN INDEPENDENT STATE GROUND
TO BAR FEDERAL HABEAS REVIEW?
rrr
Sent By: David P. Tiers; 520 792 9441; Jan-2-02 11:17AM; Page 10
LIST OF PARTIES
ALL PARTIES APPEAR IN THE CAPTION OF THE CASE ON THE COVER PAGE
il
Sent By: David P. Tiers;
APPENDIX A
APPENDIX B
APPENDIX C
APPENDIX D
APPENDIX E
APPENDIX F
APPENDIX G
520 792 9441; Jan-2-02 11:18AM; Page 11
INDEX TO APPENDICES
Lambright v. Stewart, 241 F.3d 1201 (9" Cir. 2001)
Lambright v. Lewis, 932 F.Supp. 1547 (D. Ariz. 1996) (No. CIV 87-
235-TUC-RMB)
Ninth Circuit Order in Lambright v. Stewart (No. 96-99020)
denying State’s Petition for Rehearing En Banc and Suggestion for
Rehearing En Banc, dated May 15, 2001.
State v. Lambright, No. CR 05669 (Pertinent portions of minute
entry denying state post conviction relief, April 17, 1985)
State v. Lambright, No. CR-05669 (Pertinent portions of minute
entry denying state post conviction relicf, March 14, 1986)
Rule 32.2, Arizona Rules of Criminal Procedure
Affidavit of Thomas G. Martin, November 12, 1995
iii
gee
Sent By: David P. Tiers; 520 792 9441; Jan-2-02 11:18AM; Page 12
; TABLE OF CONTENTS
GA PERE I AI Se REE OEE ,
I a ee a a et OY ii
is ics ub dhaud oascubcahideesoardetcieLwa iii
ERR ge itt a RED CO SNRS > BENIN Lee RES v
IRC TI ELEN SORT POT SPE MR On SE l
RRA it aE as BR Dt oR RN LT eA ee RE I
I eg eat es Se ek 2 a a
CONSTITUTION AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED .............cecc0ee. 2
I gd i et ee 2
RAMONE POR CUVEE IIT oo sicccccecciccccccccsccccvcccoceccevess 4
I. THE COURT BELOW PROPERLY CONCLUDED THAT THE
PROCEDURAL BAR APPLIED BY THE STATE COURT WAS NOT A
REGULARLY ESTABLISHED OR CONSISTENTLY APPLIED RULE. ..... 4
A. At The Time Of Respondent’s Appeal No Arizona
Procedural Rule Required Ineffective Assistance Of
Counsel Claims To Be Raised On Direct Appeal. .................. 4
B. Appellate CounselDid Not Believe That Ineffective
Counsel Claims Had To Be Raised On Direct Appeal. ............... 7
©. Arizona’s General Procedural Default Rule Did Not
Require That Ineffective Assistance Of Counsel Claims Be
oi csav no's ku dn cha sew ekes ks kde cesaan 9
1. THE STATE COURT’S PROCEDURAL RULING DID NOT
PUMA PIAL REVIEW. occ ccc icccccccccrenscceccececess 1]
A. The State Court's Last Reasoned Opinion Rejected The
Incompetent Counsel Claim Because It Had Previously
Been Adjudicated On Direct Appeal. ..........2...cccceeccecece 11
$e
Sent By: David P. Tiers; 520 792 9441; Jan-2-02 11:18AM; Page 13
TABLE OF CONTENTS (Continued)
B. The State Court's Second To Last Reasoned Opinion Rejected The
Incompetent Counsel Claim Because It Was Meritless. ............. 15
oe oe bi 6 errr rrr rrr rrr rT rrr rrrrrrriiTirrirt rie rrr tiie ee 16
Sent By: David P. Tiers; 520 792 9441; Jan-2-02 11:16AM; Page 14
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES
Carriger v. Lewis, 971 F.2d 329 (9 Cir. 1992en banc) ......... 202s eee eee ee eee eer eees 6
Levine v. Torvik, 986 F.2d 1506 (6" Cir.1993), cert denied, 509 U.S. 907 (1993) .........-- 14
Snase v. Carviger, ¥43 Asia. 142, 692 P.24991 (1904) .....--.eeesecceeeeeseereeeees 8, 10
State v. Watton, 164 Ariz. 323, 793 P.2d 80(1990) ....... uvetlesevdedueauceckmeane 15
Bargas v. Burns, 179 F.3d 1207 (9" Cir. 1999)... 2... eee cece cree cence eeeeeeeseees 1
Barr v. City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 146 (1964) .... 6... cece reece ener ne eeeerrereneees 4
Bennett v. Whitley, 41 F.3d 1581 (Sth Cir.1994) 0.0... cece eee reece reer eee ee reeees 13
Caldwell v. Mississippi, 472 U.S. 320 (1985) .....6 60. e cece eee e eee e renner eeees 12
Coleman v. Thompson, 501 U.S. 722 (1991) «0.66 eee ccc eee errr nent eeene ees 14-16
Ford v. Georgia, 498 U.S. 411 (1991)... 6... cece ccc recente e eee n ee neeeeeeeeeeees 5
Harris v. Reed. 489 U.S. 255 (1989) .... 0... - cece ccc cece eee teen tenet eeeeees 12-14, 16
James v, Kentucky, 466 U.S. 341 (1984) 2... 0.6 ccc cece eee erence eee eeeeneennes 4,5
Jenkins v. Nelson, 157 F.3d 485 (7 Cir. 1998), cert. denied, 527 U.S. 1039 (1999) ......... 16
Lambright v. Lewis, 932 F. Supp. 1547 (D. Ariz. 1996) .....-----0eeeee errr reer erences: |
Lambright v. Stewart, 191 F.3d 1181 (9% Cir. 1999)... 0... c cece cere eee e eee e eee ee cees 3
Lambright v. Stewart, 241 F.3d 1201 (9 Cir. 2001) ..-... 6-0 ese e creer eee ree ces Passim
NAACP vy. Alabama ex rel. Patterson, 357 U.S. 449 (1958) «0.2... 6c cece ere ener ence ees 5
State v. Carriger, 132 Ariz. 301, 645 P.2d 816 (1982) ...... PRR ame 6, 8,9, 11
State v. Fisher, 152 Ariz. 116, 730 P.2d 825 (1986) ..... 2... . cece eee eee ee eee e renee 5,9
State v. Gerlaugh, 144 Ariz. 449, 698 P.2d 694 (1985)... 2.2.2 eee eee eee e ener renee 5,9
vi
——————_—
Sent By: David P. /1ers; 27fU fe 3SSS!; vJal-e-Ue 11.1 SAM, Fey: '#
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (Continued)
SUNTe Oe. EUG, TEE Aas, STO GI Ge FED IGE oo onc cee ncecivncesccsccetcdssccensess 14
Shate v. Nemes, 135 Aziz. 257, 660 P.2d GSE (1963) 0... cece cicccccccccsccccceces 5,9
State v. Schrock, 149 Ariz. 433, 719 P.2d 1049 (1986) 2.0.0... ccc cee cece eee eee eens 15
State v. Stone, 151 Ariz. 455, 728 P.2d 674 (App.1986) ...... 6. cece eee cece eect eees 5,9
State v. Thompson, 139 Ariz. 552, 679 P.2d S75 (App. 1984) 2.0... ee ccc eee eee ee 5,9
Grate e. Pen, BSD Aske. DF FIG Pee SEP IG 6 vccccvscccsnevcccscssccvescedscociss 10
State v. Watson, 114 Ariz. 1, 559 P.2d 121 (1976), cert. denied, 430 U.S. 986 (1977) ....... 10
Sets 6 Teale, S95 Ae, FH GO ae PLETED v6 cin ve ve cedcenceennstesvesenesss 8,11
Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668 (1984)... 2.0... cc eee cece eee eee eee 14
Pees Sorel, TIS FDO TIS e e, CUGOD vic ccc vveccvsececctcnsavnsuucccess 15
eee SE, Te Chas FE COPED 6 a6 seve vnddeeedcccucesavavaseveeuxen 12-14, 16
CONSTITUTION, STATUTES AND RULES
es LED 6 SniSeeek ensvsccousben eed 0eeseeeterviedresusdheanseenetauaete l
ee Es 660.00 8 da ec Go bee 0 b-05sup ce debneh er aess behawhahetebat enekesenes 3
FE PN See v ev ccdcudcericesnbesdelsuccenqucscesecebesoionasensens 16
ee en MINDY, oo 6 in becndo'ncduuseweeakes cy baa khetcndnvsetassdaveuewea 10
BK re ey rT ry te ee er rrr rere 12
ee A sg 0c cs vad nae Gh NS eo bw vn escnbasanedeassereeys Passim
ee nh MI, gc cece endive s0ubs str pean bene dsuures bb ddiaseesetes 7
Se LRN 4 0: 0s Socewnes kden bUdenens badd hendenseeeuewaanieenssanee 10
Vii ‘
ee
vent By. WVavilo F. 40s; wtlvVv foe oem 's wali-e-VeE tt. OAM, reyes 'v
IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
Respondent respectfully prays that Petitioner's Petition for Writ of Certiorari to review the
judgment below be denied.
+
OPINIONS BELOW
The opinion of the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals appears at Appendix A to the Brief in
Opposition and is reported at Lambright v. Stewart, 24) F.3d 1201 (9" Cir. 2001).
The Decision of the United States District Court of Arizona denying the Amended Petition
: appears at Appendix B to the Brief in Opposition and is reported at Lambright v. Lewis, 932 F. Supp.
1547 (D. Ariz. 1996).
+
JURISDICTION
The date on which the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals decided the case was March 6, 2001.
A Petition for Rehearing and Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc filed by Petitioner was
denied by the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals on May 15, 2001. A copy of the Order denying
rehearing appears at Appendix C to the Brief in Opposition.
The jurisdiction of this court is under 28 U.S.C. §1254(1).
Sd
Sent By: David P. Tiers; 520 792 9441; Jan-2-02 11:19AM; Page 17
CONSTITUTION AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED
1. Bule 32.2(a) of the Arizona Rules of Criminal Proced
Rule 32.2. Preclusion of remedy
a. Preclusion. A petitioner will not be given relief under this rule based upon any
ground:
(A) Still raisable on direct appeal under Rule 31 or on post trial motion under rule
24;
(B) Finally adjudicated on the merits on appeal or in any other previous collateral
proceeding;
(C) Knowingly, voluntarily and intelligently not raised at trial, on appeal, or in
any previous collateral proceeding.
+
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
On March 30, 1982, a Pima County, Arizona jury found Respondent and his codefendant,
Robert Douglas Smith, guilty of the crimes of kidnaping, sexual assault and first degree murder.
(App. B). On May 27, 1982 the trial court sentenced Respondent to death on the murder conviction.
(Id.) Smith was also sentenced to death. On direct appeal the Arizona Supreme Court affirmed the
convictions and death sentences of both defendants. (Id.)
On October 24, 1984, Respondent filed his first Petition for Post-Conviction relief under
Rule 32 of the Arizona Rules of Criminal Procedure in state court, alleging inter alia, that he had
been denied his constitutional right to the effective assistance of counsel! at trial and sentencing..
BLD Dt: PLN Bee + «
(Id.) On Apri] 17, 1985, the trial court summarily denied Respondent’s petition. (App. D.)
Thereafter, Respondent filed a motion to rehear the trial court’s denial of the Rule 32 petition. The
Petition for Rehearing was denied on March 4, 1986. (App. E.) The trial court minute entry orders
denying the initial petition and the petition for rehearing later formed the basis for the District
Court’s determination of procedural bar and are at issue in this Petition. The Arizona Supreme Court
2
Sent By: David P. Tiers; 520 792 9441; Jan-2-02 11:19AM; Page 18
denied review on July 9, 1986.
On April 14, 1987, Respondent filed a Petition for Writ of Habeas Corpus under 28 U.S.C.
§2254 in the United States District Court for the District of Arizona in Tucson, Arizona. (App. B.)
Because the Petition contained a number of unexhausted claims, the District Court dismissed the
Petition without prejudice, but retained jurisdiction and continuing the stay of execution. (Id.) With
new counsel, Respondent returned to state court with his second Rule 32 petition. The trial court
again summarily denied Respondent’s claims. The Arizona Supreme Court denied review on May
14, 1994.
Shortly thereafter, in preparation for the filing of an Amended Petition for Writ of Habeas
Corpus, Respondent sought authorization from the District Court for funds to develop Respondent's
ineffective assistance of counsel claims. Ina series of orders the District Court denied these requests
finding that Respondent's claim of ineffective assistance and been procedurally defaulted in state
court. (App. B.)
On February 23, 1995, Respondent filed his Amended Petition for Writ of Habeas Corpus
in District Court which included the claim of ineffective assistance of counsel raised in the first Rule
32 petition. In an Amended Memorandum Opinion and Order dated July 9, 1996, the District Court
denied the Amended Petition, finding Respondent’s ineffectiveness claim to have been waived and
procedurally defaulted in state, and therefore barred from federal review. (App. B.)
On Appeal to the Ninth Circuit, the court granted relief on one of Respondent’s trial claims
(dual jury issue), but thereafter granted Petitioner's Motion for Rehearing En Banc and reversed the
panel ruling. See, Lambright v. Stewart, 191 F.3d 1181 (9" Cir. 1999). The court then remanded
the case to the original panel for consideration of Respondent's remaining claims. Id.
In Lambright v. Stewart, 241 F.3d 1201 (9" Cir. 2001), the court addressed the merits of
3
Sent By: David P. Tiers; 520 792 9441; Jan-2-02 11:19AM; Page 19
Respondent's ineffective of assistance of counsel claim. finding that at the time of Respondent's
direct appeal, Arizona’s procedural default rule was “so unclear that it did not provide the habeas
petitioner with a fair opportunity to seek relief in state court.” The court also found that even if the
state procedural rule had clearly existed, “the state court's order ... does not “clearly and expressly”
rest on an independent state ground so as to bar federal habeas review. The court found further that
Respondent was entitled to an evidentiary hearing because he has raised a colorable claim of
ineffective assistance of counsel and no state court had ever granted him an opportunity to develop
his claim. (App. A.)
Petitioner filed a timely Petition for Rehearing and Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc of the
decision in Lambright v. Stewart, and that Petition was denied by Order dated May 15, 2001. (App.
C.) On August 13, 2001 Petitioner filed a timely Petition for Writ of Certiorari in this Court. The
Petition was placed on the docket November 13, 2001.
‘+
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT
Respondent respectfully requests this Court to deny the Writ for the following reasons.
I.
THE COURT BELOW PROPERLY CONCLUDED THAT THE
PROCEDURAL BAR APPLIED BY THE STATE COURT WAS NOT A
REGULARLY ESTABLISHED OR CONSISTENTLY APPLIED RULE.
A. At The Time Of Respondent’s Appeal No Arizona Procedural
Rule Required Ineffective Assistance Of Counsel Claims To Be
Raised On Direct Appeal.
Before a procedural default can be found to bar the implementation of federal constitutional
rights, it must be shown that the procedural requirement was both “firmly established and regularly
followed.” James v. Kentucky, 466 U.S. 341, 348-49 (1984). See also Barry, City of Columbia. 378
4
|
Sent By: David P. Tiers; 520 792 9441; Jan-2-02 11:20AM; Page 20
U.S. 146, 149 (1964) (state procedural rules “not strictly or regularly followed” may not bar our
review). “Novelty in procedural requirements cannot be permitted to thwart review ..-applied for by
those who, in justified reliance upon prior decisions, seek vindication in state courts of their federal
constitutional rights." NAACP v. Alabama ex rel, Patterson, 357 U.S. 449, 457-458 (1958). Even
if the rule appeared “in retrospect to form part of a consistent pattern of procedures,” a state
procedural rule cannot be applied if the defendant could not be “deemed to have been apprised of
its existence.” Id., at 457.
Here, no rule “even remotely satisflies] the James requirement . . . that an adequate and
independent state procedural bar to the entertainment of constitutional claims [be] firmly established
and regularly followed” at the time it was to be applied. Ford v, Georgia, 498 U.S. 411, 424 (1991).
As the lower court properly found, at the time of petitioner's appeal, Arizona’s procedural law did
not require that ineffective assistance of counsel claims be raised on appeal. Lambright v, Stewart,
241 F.3d 1201, 1203 (9th Cir. 2001). In fact, and as recognized by the Ninth Circuit, no such rule
has ever existed in Arizona law. Before and after 1983 (when Respondent’s direct appeal was
decided), competency claims against trial counsel were routinely raised for the first time in state
postconviction proceedings, and no findings of waiver or preclusion were made. State v. Nunez, 135
Ariz. 257, 660 P.2d 858 (1983); State v. Thompson, 139 Ariz. 552, 679 P.2d 575 (App. 1984); State
v. Gerlaugh, 144 Ariz. 449, 698 P.2d 694 (1985); State v, Stone, 151 Ariz. 455, 728 P.2d 674
(App.1986); State v. Fisher, 152 Ariz. 116, 730 P.2d 825 (1986).'
‘These cases disprove Petitioner's claim that it “was the regular practice ... to raise
ineffective counsel claims on direct appeal...” Petition, p. 15 n.4. While claims of ineffective
assistance of counsel were, from time to time raised on direct appeal, in many other cases they
were not. Moreover, a “regular practice” may not be a “firmly established and regularly
followed” rule at the time of petitioner's purported default requiring ineffectiveness claims to be
raised on direct appeal. Ford v, Georgia, 498 U.S. at 423-424.
5
ee eR SCE ae PRN ENR Fee Perens, SLE 2 ON MO ANS 2 SE RE EN RE es
|
Sent By: David P. Tiers; 520 792 9441; Jan-2-02 11:20AM; Page 21
Nor did the lower court, as Petitioner contends, contradict or implicitly reject Carriger v.
Lewis, 971 F.2d 329 (9 Cir. 1992)(en banc). As the lower court noted, its holding in Carriger did
not control the decision in this case. Carriger was argued and decided on different grounds.
We werc not, however, faced with the same challenge we confronted here: that the
paraticular procedural default rule the state court relied on was insufficiently clear,
in light of the rule prohibiting claims that relied on evidence outside the record from
being raised on appeal, to bar federal review.
Lambright v. Stewart, 241 F.3d at 1204 n. 3.
Moreover, and as explained more fully below, that case addressed an entirely different aspect
of Arizona’s procedural default rule: whether additional aspects of a claim raised in state
postconviction proceedings that had previously been raised on direct appeal were subject to
procedural] default. Cariger v, Lewis, 971 F.2d at 333. Here, unlike Carriger, no claim of
ineffective assistance of counsel was raised on direct appeal. Rather, all ineffectiveness claims were
raised for the first time in state postconviction proceedings. Lambright v. Stewart. 241 F.3d at 1203.
In addition, and as also set forth more fully below, Carriger rejected state claims that ineffective
assistance of counsel at sentencing claims, raised for the first time in state postconviction
proceedings, were procedurally defaulted, even though ineffective trial counsel claims had been
raised on direct appeal. State v. Carriger, 132 Ariz. 301, 304, 645 P.2d 816, 819 (1982). The lower
court’s decision does not contradict Carriger v. Lewis, or any other circuit court decision.
Because Petitioner can no cite no case to clearly establish the purported procedural rule
requiring ineffective assistance of counsel claims to be raised on direct appeal, it is forced to argue
that this Court should grant certiorari and reverse the lower court because |) Respondent’s appellate
counsel had “actual notice” that he was required to raise ineffective claims on appeal, and 2) that
Arizona had a general procedural rule subjecting all claims, of every type and kind, that were
Sent By: David P. Tiers; 520 792 9441; Jan-2-02 11:20AM; Page 22
“[k]nowingly, voluntarily and intelligently not raised ... on appeal” to a finding of waiver.
Ariz.R.Crim.P. 32.2(a). These propositions are belied by the facts.
B. Appellate Counsel Did Not Believe That Ineffective Counsel
Claims Had To Be Raised On Direct Appeal.
Petitioner’s contention that Respondent's appellate counsel had “actual knowledge” that he
was required to raise his ineffectiveness claims on direct appeal, but simply “chose not to” raise
them, fatally misrepresents the contents of the affidavit at issue. Petition, p.5.n2. In fact, appellate
counsel said ‘ust the opposite:
ae the time of my sepeeecenenen | in this case oa em penne pe
and precluded from later review in
state or federal court.
App. G (emphasis added).
The language Petitioner relies on from counsel's affidavit to argue otherwise addresses an
entirely different point: that had counsel known he was required to raise ineffective claims on direct
appeal and “had” he “reviewed” the record in search of such claims, he would have raised counsel’s
ineffectiveness at trial and sentencing. Id. That statement does not evince counsel’s knowledge that
a rule required such claims be raised on appeal. As counsel previously unequivocally stated, he “was
not aware of any” such rule. That is not surprising, since as the court below properly found, no such
rule existed. Lambright v, Stewart, 241 F.3d at 1203.
Petitioner next relies on the District Court’s conclusion that counsel's affidavit “indicates that
Lambright’s appellate counsel knew that ineffectiveness could be raised on direct appeal.” Petition,
p. 5 (emphasis in original). At most, this excerpt suggests that appellate counsel may have been
aware that a claim of ineffective assistance of counsel, based on the trial court record, could have
been raised on direct appeal. Such awareness is entirely consistent with the belief that no state
7
Sent By: David P. Tiers; 520 792 9441; Jan-2-02 11:20AM; Page 23/32
procedural rule required such a claim to be raised. Appellate counsel unambiguously stated in his
affidavit that “he was not aware of any Arizona state procedural rule requiring that a claim of
ineffective assistance of trial counsel must be raised on direct appeal...” (App. G. ) Additionally,
and as noted by the court below, Arizona law has always been clear that review on direct appeal is
limited to matters appearing in the trial court record. [d., 241 F.3d at 1204. Because of this
limitation, had Respondent chosen to raise his extra-record ineffectiveness claims on direct appeal,
he would have been denied an adequate forum in which to raise his claims. As noted in State v.
Zuck, 134 Ariz. 509, 658 P.2d 162, 168 (1982),
“[W)here the issue of competency of trial counsel has been raised, we have always
resolved the matter with whatever was before us in the record and without giving trial
counsel an opportunity to be heard.”
Moreover, and as also explained above, had counsel decided to raise record-based ineffective trial
counsel claims on appeal, any ineffective trial counsel claims discovered in later state postconviction
proceedings based on outside record investigation, could be found waived. See State v. Carriger,
143 Ariz. 142, 147, 692 P.2d 991, 996 (1984)(where defendant “intentionally sought substitute
appellate counsel in order to raise claims of ineffective assistance of counsel,” and did raise such
claims on appeal, defendant found to have knowingly, voluntarily and intelligently waived later
ineffective counsel claims discovered in state postconviction proceedings).’
*Petitioner misrepresents the lesson of State v. Carriger. supra. See Petition, pp. 14-15.
Carriger did not announce or confirm a rule requiring ineffective counsel claims be raised on
direct appeal. All Carriger stands for is the unremarkable proposition that if a defendant makes a
deliberate decision to raise claims of ineffective counsel on appeal-which it concluded the
defendant in Carriger did based on the defendant’s specific statements and conduct--other
instances of trial counsel’s ineffectiveness, even those based on outside record investigation, are
subject to a finding that they were knowingly, voluntarily and intelligently waived. State v,
Carriger, 143 Ariz. at 147, 692 P.2d at 996. Carriger also makes clear, however, that such a
finding of waiver does not reach claims of ineffective sentencing counsel not raised on direct
appeal. Id.; State v. Carriger, 132 Ariz. at 304, 645 P.2d at 819.
rrr rrr TT
Sent By: David P. Tiers; 520 792 9441; Jan-2-02 11:21AM; Page 24/32
However, even in that stark setting, where counsel chose to raise a record based ineffective
assistance of counsel at trial claim on direct appeal, Arizona law nevertheless permitted the
defendant to raise ineffective assistance of counsel at sentencing claims in later state postconviction
proceedings. State v. Carriger, 132 Ariz. 301, 304, 645 P.2d 816, 819 (1982)(finding counsel at
sentencing to have been ineffective and remanding for a new sentencing hearing, noting that
defendant's prior appeal did not raise “inadequate representation at the sentencing,” and rejecting
state’s arguments of procedural bar). Even if this Court were to accept Petitioner’s argument that
ineffective trial counsel claims were required to be raised on direct appeal, Casriger clearly
established that ineffective sentencing counsel claims could be raised for the first time ina later state
postconviction proceeding. Id.
C. Arizona's General Procedural Default Rule Did Not Require
ay ne pene eee
Petitioner’s second attempt to establish a procedural default where none exists, is to argue
that Arizona's general procedural default rule was clearly established by Ariz.R.Crim.P. 32. That
attempt fails as well.
Arizona's general procedural default rule in existence at the time of Respondent's direct
appeal, did not require that ineffective counsel claims be raised on direct appeal. It stated only, that
"any ground” "[k]nowingly, voluntarily and intelligently not raised at trial, on appeal, or in any
previous collateral proceeding” was subject to a finding of waiver. Ariz.R.Crim.P. 32.2(aX3). As
set forth above, ineffective assistance of counsel claims, based on both the trial court record and
outside record facts, were not subject to this general waiver rule when raised for the first time in
postconviction proceedings. See, c.g. State v. Nunez, supra; State v. Thompson, supra; State v.
Gerlaugh, supra; State v. Stone, supra; State v, Fisher. supra, That is not surprising, since review
9
LL LLL LLL LL
Sent By: David P. Tiers; 520 792 9441; Jan-2-02 11:21AM; Page 25/32
on direct appeal was limited strictly to matters appearing in the trial court record and, as the lower
court and Arizona courts recognize, most successful ineffective counsel claims require an
investigation of facts not contained in the appellate record. Lambright v. Stewart, 241 F.3d at 1204;
State v. Watson, 114 Ariz. 1, 14-15, 559 P.2d 121, 134-135 (1976), cert. denied, 430 U.S. 986
(1977)(record-based ineffective counsel at trial claim raised on appeal denied, but hearing needed
to resolve extra-record allegations of ineffective counsel raised in postconviction proceedings
brought under Ariz.R.Crim.P. 32). Additionally, because a record based claim of ineffective trial
counsel raised on appeal subjected other allegations supporting that claim based on outside record
facts to a finding of procedural default, State v. Carriger, 143 Ariz. at 147, 692 P.2d at 996, prudent
counsel would not raise any part of an ineffectiveness claim on direct appeal.
Petitioner’s claim that the purported requirement to raise all claims on direct appeal was “not
obviated” by the “possibility” that a claim of ineffective assistance might involve matters outside the
trial court record, because an appeal could be stayed pending the resolution of a Rule 32 petition,
implicitly acknowledges the inconsistency of its own position. Arizona Rule of Criminal Procedure
31.4, did provide that an appellate court could stay an appeal, “while a ... petition under Rule 32 is
pending.” However, as the lower court fully recognized and as petitioner now tacitly concedes, a
postconviction proceeding under Rule 32, rather that a direct appeal, was always the proper forum
in which to raise ineffectiveness claims. Lambright v. Stewart, 241 F.3d at 1204. Whatever
ambiguity may have existed in the past regarding the appropriate forum in which to raise ineffective
assistance of counsel claims was resolved fully by the Arizona Supreme Court in 1989. “If the
defendant wishes to raise an ineffective assistance of counsel issue, he should ordinarily begin
someplace other than this court.” State v. Valdez, 160 Ariz. 9, 770 P.2d 313, 318 (1989).
10
rrr rrr
Sent By: David P. Tiers; 520 792 9441; Jan-2-02 11:21AM; Page 26/32
Nor did the lower court, as Petitioner contends, find that a state rule is not adequate, “unless
expressed in a judicial decision applying it to a similar issue.” After rejecting the state’s continued
reliance on State y, Zuck, as support for the contention that such a rule existed, the lower court
specifically examined and rejected Petitioner's alternative reliance on Rule 32.2's general procedural
default rule. Having fully considered both judicial decisions and Arizona’s procedural default rule,
there is no conflict with the Ninth Circuit’s own decision in Bargas v. Burns, 179 F.3d 1207, 1212
(9" Cir. 1999). Bargas held quite simply, that “where a state procedural rule is sufficiently clear to
put a petitioner on notice that he must raise all claims or risk default, the petitioner must raise all
claims.” (emphasis added.) Arizona's procedural rule was not sufficiently clear, either from judicial
decision or black letter law.
As explained above, Arizona's general procedural default rule did not prohibit ineffective
assistance of counsel at sentencing claims raised for the first time in state postconviction
proceedings, even when ineffective trial counsel claims were raised and decided on direct appeal.
See State v. Carriger, 132 Ariz. at 304, 645 P.2d at 819. The review of judicial decisions and
Arizona’s general procedural default rule clearly demonstrate that the lower court ruling does not
conflict in any way with any of this Court’s decisions or decisions of other circuit courts.
II.
THE STATE COURT'S PROCEDURAL RULING DID NOT FORECLOSE
FEDERAL REVIEW.
A.
Alternatively, the lower court concluded that even if a procedural default rule clearly existed
that required ineffective counsel claims be raised on direct appeal, the state court's order “does not
1}
Sent By: David P. Tiers; 520 792 9441; Jan-2-02 11:22AM; Page 27/32
‘clearly and expressly’ rest on such a rule.” Lambright v. Stewart, 241 F.3d at 1205. In reaching this
conclusion, the circuit court did not stray from this Court's settled case law.
The federal court looks to the “last reasoned opinion on the claim" tv determine whether a
state procedural ruling bars federal review. Yist v. Nunnemaker, 501 U.S. 797, 804 (1991). The last
explained state court judgment must “clearly and expressly’” rely on an adequate state procedural
bar before federal review can be denied. Harris v, Reed, 489 U.S. 255, 263 (1989) quoting Caldwell
vy, Mississippi, 472 U.S. 320, 327 (1985)).
The circuit court below properly applied these principles. Lambrighi v, Stewart, 241 F.3d
at 1205. Because the Arizona Supreme Court order denying the petition for review from the trial
court's order denying postconviction relief was silent, the circuit court looked at the last reasoned
opinion of the state trial court. Jd. As all agree, see Petition, p. 17, that opinion was the trial court’s
order denying Respondent's motion for reconsideration. What the state trial court said about the
incompetent counsel claim was this:
Ineffective assistance of counsel.
Paragraph a--this issue existed factually prior to appeal; the Arizona Supreme Count
looked at the entire sentencing process exhaustively, testing it for error of
constitutional dimensions and found none. There is therefore the suggestion, and
strong inference, that this claim is precluded under Rule 32.2(a)(2); however, it [sic]
not, the Court finds that since it clearly could have been raised on direct appeal, that
it has been knowingly, voluntarily and intelligently waived by failure to raise it, end
is therefore precluded pursuant to Rule 32(a)(c) and (c).
Id, The state court's first ruling then rests on its finding that a “strong inference” demonstrates that
the claim of ineffective sentencing counsel was decided and rejected on direct appeal by the Arizona
Supreme Court when it “looked at the entire sentencing process exhaustively.” Based on this
finding, the state court found this claim “therefore” “precluded” under Ariz.R.Crim.P. 32.2(a){2).
Id. Ariz.R.Crim.P. 32.2(a)(2) bars from further state court review claims that were already “[flinally
12
Sent By: David P. Tiers; £20 792 9441; Jan-2-02 11:22AM; Page 28/32
adjudicated on the merits on appeal or in any previous collateral proceeding.” Ariz.R.Crim.P.
32.2(a(2).
The state trial court's determination that the incompetent counsel claim had already been
adjudicated on direct appeal, and was thus res judicata, however, is not an independent and adequate
state law ground barring federal review. As this Court previously explained, the “effect of such state
court rules “on the availability of federal habeas is nil..." Yist v. Nunnemaker, 501 U.S. 797, 804
n.3 (1991). That is because a state court rule “preventing the relitigation on state habeas of claims
raised on direct appeal” is “not a procedural bar in the traditional sense.” Bennett v. Whitley, 41
F.3d 1581, 1583 (Sth Cir.1994). All such & rule decides is that the state court will not reconsider the
same claim previously considered and rejected in an earlier state appeal.
After finding this strong inference that the ineffective counsel claim had been previously
adjudicated and denied on the merits (a finding that does not bar federal review), the state court
made a second finding: that if the claim were not reviewed on direct appeal as it strongly inferred
it was, it would be waived under Ariz.R.Crim.P. “32(a)(c) and (c).” Assuming the state court meant
to refer to Ariz.R.Crim.P. 32.2(a)(3), that rule bars claims from state court review that could have
been raised earlier but were knowingly, voluntarily and intelligently waived.
As the lower court correctly found, these two simultaneous conclusions are “mixed and
inconsistent.” Lambright v. Stewart, 241 F.3d at 1206. They are, at best, ambiguous, and do not
“clearly and expressly” invoke a procedural bar to federal review. Harris v. Reed, 489 U.S. at 263.
Petitioner first complains that the lower court’s holding misapplies Harris v, Reed, 489 U.S.
255, 263 (1989), because the state court ruling “certainly” does not rest on federal law. Petition, p.
18. Petitioner is wrong. The state court’s ruling that sentencing counsel’s ineffectiveness was
“exhaustively” considered and rejected by the Arizona Supreme Court “for error of constitutional
13
§ent By: David P. Tiers; 520 792 9441;
dimensions” does indeed fairly appear to invoke federal law. Arizonareviews claims of incompetent
counsel under the Sixth Amendment. See e.g., State v. Lee, 142 Ariz. 210, 214, 689 P.2d 153, 157
(1984) (adopting Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668 (1984) test for reviewing ineffective
counsel claims under sixth amendment). Because the trial court found that the claim had already
been reviewed and rejected on the merits, the claim could not be adjudicated again. That ruling does
not bar federal review. Yist v. Nunnemaker, 501 U.S. at 804 n.3.
Contrary to Petitioner’s argument, the state court’s ruling, thus, is entirely unlike that in
Coleman v, Thompson, 501 U.S. 722 (1991), where the state supreme court “stated plainly” that it
was granting the state’s motion to dismiss “based solely on Coleman's failure to meet the Supreme
Court's time requirements.” [d., at 740. Here, the state court denied Respondent’s incompetent
counsel claim because it had previously been “exhaustively” reviewed and rejected on direct appeal.
The state court rule barring relitigation of claims considered on direct appeal does not prevent federal
review. Yist v. Nunnemaker, 501 U.S. at 804 n.3.
As we have also shown, the circuit court decision also does not misapply Harris. The state
court ruling plainly stated its strong inference that the incompetent counsel claim had already been
adjudicated on the merits on direct appeal during the state supreme court's “exhaustive(]” review.
It then went on to note that if that were not so, then the claim would be barred from review because
it was knowingly, voluntarily and intelligently not raised on direct appeal.
Given the strong inference that this claim had already been considered and rejected on the
merits, and absent a clear statement that the claim is barred because it was not raised in the direct
appeal, federal review is not barred. See Levine v, Torvik, 986 F.2d 1506, 1517 (6" Cir.1993), cert
denied, 509 U.S. 907 (1993) federal review not barred where state court found that “the defendant
has waived these claims since he failed to raise them with the trial court. ... Furthermore, this court
14
Jan-2-02 11:22AM; Page 29/32
an eS ncnneecmmmcummrartmmmcumececammuatatatitacteceamman eae i tense een
Sent By: David P. Tiers; 520 792 9441; Jan-2-02 11:23AM; Page 30/32
in substance addressed and overruled these claims in the defendant's prior appeal....”). The state trial
court’s language that a strong inference existed that this claim had previously been considered and
rejected on the merits is not an "independent state ground” precluding federal review. But even
assuming ambiguity in the state trial court’s ruling, such ambiguity is insufficient to preclude review
of this claim. Coleman v. Thompson, 501 U.S. at 735. See also, Tankleff v. Senkowski, 135 F.3d
235, 247 (2™ Cir. 1998)(state trial court ruling that the defendant's contentions are “either meritless
or unpreserved" is not a clear and express statement that the judgment rests on procedural bar
precluding federal review).
B. ’s d
Realizing the consequences of the state court’s last reasoned opinion finding the incompetent
counsel claim had previously been adjudicated and rejected on direct appeal, Petitioner changes
positions and argues that the court below should have considered the state trial court's second to last
reasoned order denying relief on the incompetent counsel claim. Petition, p. 21. Of course, that is
not what Yist requires. But even a review of that order does not help Petitioner.
In the first order denying relief on this claim, the trial court clearly rejected the claim on the
merits. After discussing the allegations of the claim, it found it “[t}he ineffective claim is not a
colorable claim.” (App D.) Under Arizona law, a claim is colorable if assuming “defendant's
allegations are true,” they “might have changed the outcome.” State v. Watton, 164 Ariz. 323, 328,
793 P.2d 80, 85 (1990) (citing State v. Schrock, 149 Ariz. 433, 441, 719 P.2d 1049, 1057 (1986)).
See also Ariz.Crim.P, Rule 32.6. That, of course, is a clear and express ruling on the menits.
The state court's later passing mention of a procedural default based on the failure of
appellate counsel to raise the claim on direct appeal does not change its earlier ruling expressly
15
Sent By: David P. Tiers; 520 792 9441; Jan-2-02 11:23AM; Page 31/32 |
rejecting the claim on the merits. The procedural ruling is plainly an alternative one that does not
preclude federal review. See Jenkins v, Nelson, 157 F.3d 485, 491 (7 Cir. 1998), cert, denied, 527
U.S. 1039 (1999)(no procedural default occurs if the state court's alternative finding constituted a
finding on the merits.); where it is unclear if the state court dismissed the petition because of a state
law procedural default or on the merits of the petitioner's federal constitutional claims, federal review
of a claim is not precluded). Here, the alternative finding was plainly an afterthought. The state
court’s decision “rested primarily on resolution” of the incompetency claim. Coleman v. Thompson.
$01 U.S. at 735.
But of course it is to the state court’s last reasoned opinion to which the federal courts must
look, as the court below did here. That opinion rejected the state court’s earlier mention of
procedural default for failing to raise the claim on direct appeal. It found instead a strong inference
that the claim had in fact been considered and rejected on the merits by the state appellate court in
the direct appeal. It is that court’s final word on which the circuit court below reasonably and rightly
relied, following the mandates of Harris, Ylst and Coleman.
CONCLUSION
For all these reason, certiorari must be denied. Nothing about the panel's analysis is either
incorrect or exceptional, and nothing contravenes this Court’s decisions or that of other circuit
courts. The panel’s conclusion remanding this case for an evidentiary hearing applied settled
principles to the facts here and was correct. Certiorari should be denied. See U.S.S.Ct.R. 10.
RESPECTFULLY Submitted this / Day of December, 2001.
DAVID. P. TIERS, Esq.
Attorney for Respondent
16
; Jan-2-02 11:23AM; Page 32/32
Sent By: David P. Tiers; ' 520 792 9441; .
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
I hereby certify that on the 13th day of December, 2001, I caused the
Respondent JOE LEONARD LAMBRIGHT’s Brief in Opposition to be served by causing
one copy of the brief to be mailed, postage pre-paid, to Bruce Ferg, Assistant Arizona
Attorney General, 400 West Congress Street, Suite S-315, Tucson, Arizona, 85701,
counsel for the petitioner.
DAVID P. TIERS
Attorney for Respondent
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.