Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Ainsworth v. Stanley, Commissioner, New Hampshire Department of Corrections

Supreme Court brief2002

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

supreme Court. US

1); FILED

wl ,

64 648 yu 2 6 200%

No.

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

—?

WAYNE AINSWORTH, et al.,

Petitioners,

HENRY RISLEY, COMMISSIONER, NEW

HAMPSHIRE DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS,

Respondent.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The First Circuit

¢

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

*

MIcHAEL J. SHEEHAN, Eso.

Counsel of Record

58 Pleasant Street

Concord, NH 03301

(603) 225-5240

Counsel for Petitioners

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTION PRESENTED

Does New Hampshire violate the Fifth Amendment

when it compels inmates to enter a sexual offender treat-

ment program, and answer the incriminatory questions

required to gain admission, by (1) denying the inmates

any real chance of parole without completing the pro-

gram, and/or (2) by threatening and making punitive

housing transfers of those who do not incriminate them-

selves to enter the program?

li

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

Petitioners

Petitioners are the following convicted sex offenders

in the custody of the respondent Commissioner of the

New Hampshire Department of Corrections, P.O. Box 14,

Concord, NH, 03302:

a.

b.

Cc.

x 99

et

.

9

” ?

—

Wayne Ainsworth

Kevin Badger

Charles Boetti

Francis Bowen

Donald Carter

Liston Clark, Sr.

Craig Coulter

Albert Dion

David Fortier

Joseph Giles, Sr.

Daniel Goodwin, Sr.

Allen Gould

Carl Graf

Larry Hall

Richard A. Hilton, Sr.

Duane L. Killam

Armand E. Lavertue

Kevin Lavoie

the New Hampshire Department of Corrections (the pre-

sent commissioner is Phil Stanley), 105 Pleasant Street,

Concord, NH, 03301.

iii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING - Continued

s. Walter Martin

t. David Paulsen

u. Darrel H. Rogers

v. Ronald Turgeon

w. Hershell F. Winship

Respondent

Respondent Henry Risley was the Commissioner of

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

en SNE 5020 eee i

Parties to the iommmes COC TET OO NOE li

We OE Ns pices cite boeken ee, iv

Te I cis let oe \

Stained on aE STE Te TERT TR TR AE 1

PR, Seon Soccer ess seeee 1

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved... 2

Statement of the Case............................. 2

Reasons for (ranting the Writ ..................... 7

RN rtesccectadss vee aS 11

Appendix

Appendix A

Court of Appeals Opinion, 4/3/2001........ App. 1

Appendix B

District Court Order, 5/18/00.............. App. 30

Appendix C

Magistrate’s Report and Recommendation,

NN 4 0 va pu nes eng oe buen App. 43

Appendix D

Order denying Petition for Rehearing,

hatch ccincioe ETRE T TET TR App. 67

TABLE OF 4UTHORITIES

Page

Cases

Asherman v. Meachum, 957 F.2d 978 (2d Cir. 1992)

Ok EEE Oe RTT ON Pn Lee eS 11

Ainsworth v. Risley, 244 F.3d 209 (1st Cir. 2001)....... 1

Doe v. Sauer, 186 F.3d 903 (8th Cir. 1999)............ 11

Frisby v. Schultz, 487 U.S. 474 (1988) ................ 10

Lile v. McKune, 224 F.3d 1175 (10th Cir. 2000),

certiorart granted by McKune v. Lile, 121 S.Ct.

1955, 69 U.S.L.W. 3506 (May 14, 2001) (No.

Se Lk ERE TEE EEE TEC TT ere 4,7, 8, 9, 10, 11

Mace v. Amestoy, 765 F.Supp. 847 (D. Vt. 1991)...... 1]

Malat v. Riddell, 383 U.S. 569 (1966).................. 7

State v. Imlay, 813 P.2d 979 (Mont. BeeEe eackeereten. 11

Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78 (1987) ................... 6

CONSTITUTIONS, STATUTES AND RULES

U.S. Constitution, Fifth Amendment............. passim

me Wiis BRR 6k hone code eee 1

Te WG Bh FP 66 in cakes pe

supreme Court Rule 13.1 ...... 2.0.0... ccccsccccccece. 1

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioners Wayne Ainsworth, et al., respectfully ask

that this Court issue a writ of certiorari to review the

judgment and opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the First Circuit.

+

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the First Circuit that gives rise to this petition is reported

as Ainsworth v. Risley, 244 F.3d 209 (1st Cir. 2001),

reprinted in Appendix A at page App. 1. By order filed

May 3, 2001, the First Circuit denied petitioners’ request

for rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en banc.

Appendix D, at App 67. The district judge’s Order and

the magistrate’s Report and Recommendation are not

reported. See Appendix B and Appendix C, at App. 30

and App. 43, respectively.

JURISDICTION

Petitioners invoke this Court’s jurisdiction to review

the final judgment of the First Circuit pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 1254(1). The First Circuit issued its decision on

April 3, 2001, and denied a timely petition for rehearing

and suggestion for rehearing en banc on May 3, 2001.

This petition has been filed within 90 days of the denial

of rehearing. Supreme Court Rule 13.1.

¢

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION AND STATUTE

INVOLVED IN THIS CASE

The Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitu-

tion provides, in relevant part:

No person . . . shall be compelled in any

criminal case to be a witness against himself. . . .

Title 42 U.S.C. § 1983 provides, in relevant part:

Every person who, under color of any stat-

ute, ordinance, regulation, custom, or usage, of

any State or Territory or the District of Colum-

bia, subjects, or causes to be subjected, any citi-

zen of the United States or other person within

the jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation of any

rights, privileges, or immunities secured by the

Constitution and laws, shall be liable to the

party injured in an action at law, suit in equity,

or other proper proceeding for redress. . . .

¢

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

1. Nature of the Suit. Petitioners are inmates at the

New Hampshire State Prison who were convicted of sex

offenses and are in the custody of the respondent Com-

missioner of the New Hampshire Department of Correc-

tions. App. 2.

The prison offers a residential sex offender treatment

program (SOP) that provides treatment, social skills train-

ing, clinical group sessions, and the like to inmates con-

victed of sex crimes, like petitioners. Id. Once an inmate

applies for the program, the SOP staff interviews the

inmate to determine if he is an appropriate candidate. As

|

part of this initial interview, the inmate must admit to his

crime of conviction and must disclose other offending

behavior for which he was neither charged nor convicted.

App. 3. Questions about uncharged conduct typically

stem from review of the presentence report or police

investigations. App. 4; App. 44.

Petitioners fall into one or more of three categories:

1) those who refuse to admit their crimes of conviction

because their cases are not final due to a pending direct

appeal or collateral attack; 2) those who refuse to admit

to their crime of conviction because they testified at trial

and are subject to a perjury charge should they recant;

and 3) those who refuse to admit to uncharged criminal

conduct. App. 4-5. The SOP staff denies entry to the SOP

of any inmate who falls in one of these categories. App. 6.

The incriminating nature of the questions required to

gain entrance to the SOP cannot - and has not - been

challenged:

As the defendant concedes, the plaintiffs

can easily show that the SOP’s required dis-

closures are incriminating. To participate in the

program, the plaintiffs must admit to uncharged

offenses as well as the behavior that led to their

crime of conviction. They receive no guarantee

of immunity from prosecution —- to the contrary,

they are told that incriminating statements will

be reported to police and prosecutors. In addi-

tion, an offender’s admission to his crime of

conviction could expose him to future prosecu-

tion for perjury if he denied guilt at trial, or

could undermine an ongoing appeal.

App. 11-12.

eee

Petitioners claim two things happen as a direct result

of their refusal to incriminate themselves to gain entrance

into the SOP. First, those petitioners in a particularly

favorable housing unit (Medium Custody South, or

“South”) are moved to a significantly less desirable unit

(Hancock Building). Petitioners claim the day-to-day

effects of this transfer are analogous to those found con-

stitutionally significant in Lile v. McKune 224 F.3d 1175

(10th Cir. 2000), certiorari granted by McKune v. Lile, 121

S.Ct. 1955, 69 U.S.L.W. 3506, 3719 (May 14, 2001) (No.

00-1187) (i.e., more crowded cells, less time outdoors,

fewer recreational opportunities and greater risk of phys-

ical harm). Indeed, this very same housing transfer (from

South to Hancock) is one form of punishment imposed

upon other inmates convicted of violating prison disci-

plinary rules. App. 5.

The second consequence of petitioners’ refusal to

incriminate themselves to enter the SOP is the loss of any

meaningful chance for parole because completing the

SOP is, in effect, a condition precedent to parole.

New Hampshire inmates are given sentences with

minimum and maximum terms, e.g., 71/2 to 15 years. See

N.H. Revised Statutes Annotated 651:2, II(d). An inmate

with this sentence is eligible for parole after 7/2 years,

but will serve no more than 15 years. The New Hamp-

shire Adult Parole Board conducts a hearing to consider

an inmate’s request for release any time after he served

the minimum term, in this example, any time after 71/2

years.

The parole board summarily rejects parole for those

sex offenders who have not completed the SOP. The evi-

dence in this case is that the parole board only releases

2-3% of sex offenders who have not completed the SOP

(and those few cases carry extenuating circumstances).

App. 5, App. 20, at n. 12. Therefore, petitioners claim that

parole for sex offenders is conditio ed upon their making

the self-incriminatory statements required to enter and

complete the SOP, App. 11, an assertion the magistrate

judge found compelling: “[t]he facts here demonstrate

that sexual offenders may not be considered for parole if

they have not completed the SOP.” App. 60.

Petitioners filed this action pursuant to 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983 seeking injunctive and declaratory relief from this

constitutional dilemma which they confront at the hands

of the respondent commissioner.

2. The District Court. A magistrate judge held an

evidentiary hearing on petitioners’ request for injunctive

relief and recommended that the district court grant a

preliminary injunction. App. 5-6; App. 65. The magistrate

found that petitioners were not even considered for parole

absent completion of the sex offender program, which

was sufficient compulsion for Fifth Amendment purposes

and thus recommended an injunction precluding the

prison from asking the incriminating questions absent

immunity. App. 6; App. 60-61.

The district judge disagreed with the magistrate and

granted respondent’s motion to dismiss for failure to

state a claim on both theories of compulsion. App. 6;

App. 42. Petitioners timely appealed to the First Circuit.

3. The First Circuit. The First Circuit affirmed the

dismissal, which it treated as a grant of summary judg-

ment because of the reliance upon documents and testi-

mony outside the complaint. App. 6.

The First Circuit began with the assumption “that the

plaintiffs collectively present the strongest set of facts

that support the claim they have developed - in other

words, that they applied tc the SOP and were rejected;

that they risk future prosecution by disclosing uncharged

conduct; that they have been or will be denied parole;

and that they have been or will be transferred to a less

desirable cellblock in the prison,” App. 5 at n. 2, and the

acknowledgment that petitioners “can easily show that

the SOP’s required disclosures are incriminating.” App.

10.

The First Circuit’s analysis then centered on three of

the four factors set forth in Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78,

89-91 (1987) (the fourth being inapposite here): ” ‘whether

the state’s policy serves a valid governmental interest; the

extent to which the prisoner is foreclosed or burdened in

exercising his rights; and the presence or absence of rea-

sonable alternatives for the government to achieve the

same ends by other means without significant cost or

impairment of the governmental interest at stake.’ ”

App. 10 (citation omitted). Although recognizing “the

closeness of the Fifth Amendment self-incrimination

question presented here” because petitioners “do suffer

some burden in the exercise of their Fifth Amendment

rights when they must chose between declining to partic-

ipate in the SOP, which significantly enhances their

chances for parole, or disclosing other criminal conduct,”

App. 26, the First Circuit concluded that this burden does

“not constitute a penalty sufficient to compel incriminat-

ing speech in violation of the Fifth Amendment,” App.

26-27, and affirmed the district court.

The First Circuit also found insufficient the second

claimed source of compulsion, the punitive housing

transfer. App. 27. The First Circuit rejected petitioners’

reliance upon Lile v. McKune, distinguishing the facts of

that case in which the Tenth Circuit found sufficient

compulsion existed where the inmates were transferred

from a medium to a maximum security facility for failure

to make incriminating admissions as part of Kansas’s

sexual offender treatment program.

The First Circuit denied petitioners’ request for

rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en banc. App. 67.

+

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

A. The First Circuit’s Opinion Conflicts With the

Tenth Circuit’s Ruling in Lile v. McKune That a

Punitive Housing Transfer Constitutes Suffi-

cient Compulsion to Trigger Fifth Amendment

Protection.

This writ should be granted “to resolve a conflict

among the courts of appeals.” Malat v. Riddell, 383 U.S.

569, 571 (1966), namely the conflict between the First and

Tenth Circuits as to whether an adverse housing transfer

is sufficiently punitive to be “compulsion” as contem-

plated by the Fifth Amendment.

On May 14, 2001, this Court granted certiorari In Lile

v. McKune (now McKune v. Lile) to address the following

LL, AST TT CER A MCI RT

issue: Does “the revocation of correctional institution

privileges violate the Fifth Amendment’s privilege

against self-incrimination where . . . such revocation is

based upon the inmate’s failure to accept responsibility

for his crimes as part of a sex offender treatment pro-

gram?” See Petition for a Writ of Certiorari in McKune v.

Lile, at page i.

The “institutional privileges” at issue in McKune v.

Lile are those resulting from Mr. Lile’s move from a

medium security facility to a maximum security prison.

Specifically, he would lose his personal TV; he

would have limited access to prison organiza-

tions and activities and would be unable to par-

ticipate in the IMPP; he would have limited

access to the gym and yard area; there would be

a substantial reduction in the amount of money

he could spend in the canteen per pay period

from $140 per payroll at Level III to $20 per

payroll at Level I; he would receive a reduction

in pay and intake property; and he would have

received substantially restricted visitation privi-

leges.

Lile v. McKune, 224 F.3d at 1181; see also, id., at 1185

(relying upon evidence that Mr. Lile would be in a more

dangerous facility and would be moved from a two to a

four-man cell). The Tenth Circuit concluded these “depri-

vations and changes in environment are penalties suffi-

cient to implicate the Fifth Amendment.” Id.

The adverse impact upon petitioners’ daily life

resulting from the move from “South” to “Hancock” are

analogous.

[P]rison officials testified that Hancock is the

prison’s “low rent district” and compared South

to a hotel. The plaintiffs cite several advantages

of living in South. They have greater outdoor

privileges; they live in two-man rather than

eight-man cells; they live in smaller “pods,” or

living groups [24 versus 96 man pods]. As evi-

dence that the move to Hancock is punitive, the

plaintiffs argue that such transfers are used to

punish inmates who break the rules. Some of the

plaintiffs also said that . . . they feel safer at

South because [in] Hancock, where they are sur-

rounded by violent and drug offenders, they are

targets of harassment and assault.

App. 27; see App. 5

The First Circuit concluded these housing differences

are insufficient to amount to compulsion. The First Cir-

cuit thus decided the issue differently than did the Tenth

Circuit in Lile v. McKune giving rise to a circuit conflict.

To the extent the First Circuit did not create a direct

conflict given its attempt to factually distinguish Lile v.

McKune, App. 28 at n. 16, granting this writ is nonetheless

appropriate because this case presents the issue already

before the Court in McKune v. Lile through slightly differ-

ent facts and thus provides the opportunity for this Court

to more fully develop the important Fifth Amendment

issue.

10

B. Conditioning Parole upon Completion of the

SOP Is Sufficient Compulsion.

Petitioners also ask this Court to issue a writ of

certiorari “because the question presented is of substan-

tial importance.” Frisbee v. Schultz, 487 U.S. 474, 479

(1988).

Petitioners here present an issue that the parties liti-

gated in Lile but apparently is not part of their appeal to

this Court: whether petitioners’ de facto ineligibility for

parole for failure to complete the SOP constitutes suffi-

cient compulsion to trigger Fifth Amendment protection.

See Lile v. McKune, 224 F.3d at 1181-82.

The magistrate found that petitioners were ineligible

for parole (as opposed to being considered and rejected

for parole) for failure to complete the SOP. App. 60. The

First Circuit acknowledged that “the SOP’s requirement

that offenders disclose uncharged conduct .. . presents

the plaintiffs with a difficult dilemma,” which “dilemma

undoubtedly imposes some burden on the exercise of

their Fifth Amendment rights.” App. 14-15. The First

Circuit’s conclusion that this burden is sufficiently “miti-

gated” by the “voluntary nature” of applying for the SOP

and that denial of parole “does not follow automatically

from the refusal to speak,” App. 16, deserves further

review. See App. 19, 20 (“[wJhether the choice that the

plaintiffs here face is voluntary in a meaningful sense

seems to us a closer question [and] the defendant does

not dispute that completion of the SOP functions as a de

facto requirement of parole for most New Hampshire sex

offenders”).

11

Other courts have struggled with this issue. See Lile v.

McKune, 224 F.3d at 1181-82; Doe v. Sauer, 186 F.3d 903,

906 (8th Cir. 1999); Asherman v. Meachum, 957 F.2d 978 (2d

Cir. 1992) (en banc); Mace v. Amestoy, 765 F.Supp. 847, 850

(D. Vt. 1991); State v. Imlay, 813 P.2d 979, 985 (Mont. 1991).

Petitioners present the issue in as clean and direct a

manner as will likely occur.

+

“CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, petitioners respectfully

ask that the Court grant this petition for writ of certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

Wayne Ainsworth, et al.

By their attorney

MICHAEL J. SHEEHAN, Esa.

Counsel of Record

58 Pleasant Street

Concord, NH 03301

(603) 225-5240

App. 1

APPENDIX A

United States Court of Appeals

For the First Circuit

No. 00-1678

WAYNE AINSWORTH, et al.,

Plaintiffs, Appellants,

V.

HENRY RISLEY,

COMMISSIONER, NEW HAMPSHIRE

DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS,

Defendant, Appellee.

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF NEW HAMPSHIRE

[Hon. Steven J. McAuliffe, U.S. District Judge]

Before

Torruella, Chief Judge,

Boudin, and Lipez, Circuit Judges.

Michael J. Sheehan for appellants.

Andrew B. Livernois, Attorney, New Hampshire Civil

Bureau, with whom Philip T. McLaughlin, Attorney Gen-

eral, New Hampshire was on brief, for appellee.

April 3, 2001

LIPEZ, Circuit Judge. A group of convicted sex

offenders claim, pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983, that the

New Hampshire Department of Corrections violated their

Fifth Amendment right against self-incrimination by

ee eee

App. 2

requiring them to disclose their histories of sexual mis-

conduct to participate in a sex offender treatment pro-

gram. The plaintiffs argue that the required disclosures

are incriminating because they could lead to future pros-

ecutions or perjury charges, or could affect ongoing

appeals. They argue that the disclosures are compelled

because completion of the treatment program is a de facto

requirement for parole and for maintaining residence in

desired prison housing. The district court granted the

defendant’s motion to dismiss, finding that the plaintiffs

failed to state a cognizable Fifth Amendment claim. We

affirm.

I,

The facts in this case generally are not disputed. The

plaintiffs are 23 inmates in the New Hampshire State

Prison who have been convicted of sex offenses. As sex

offenders, they may apply for the prison’s Sexual

Offender Program (SOP), instituted in 1986. According to

its mission statement, the SOP seeks to “ensure commu-

nity safety and protection” by preventing recidivism. The

program is designed to “address sexual addiction,” “help

offenders understand the thoughts, feelings and behav-

iors which precede their offense,” and “develop relapse

prevention skills.” To that end, the SOP provides residen-

tial therapy to 60 inmates a year.! Participants live

together in a dorm and receive 10 to 15 hours of treat-

ment a week for 12 to 16 months. Treatment includes

' At the time relevant to this litigation, there were about 650

sex offenders in the New Hampshire State Prison.

App. 3

community meetings, social skills training groups, clini-

cal groups, and a year-long structured workbook series.

Inmates must apply to the SOP to be admitted.

Applicants are placed on a waiting list. Within two years

of the earliest date on which an applicant could receive

parole, two SOP staff members assess his eligibility for

the program. Selection criteria include an applicant's

willingness to admit his offense and accept responsibility

for it. “If an applicant appears open and honest, recog-

nizes he has a serious problem and is committed to

changing his behavior, he is approved for programming.”

The program bases these requirements on the belief that

sex offenders must recognize past misconduct before

effective treatment can begin.

Inmates who are accepted by the SOP must sign a

“treatment contract.” Provisions of the contract include:

“I agree to be complete [sic] open and honest and assume

full responsibility for my offenses and my behavior;” and

“Il understand that I have committed a sexual crime and I

will be required to discuss and complete assignments

regarding my sexual history/deviancy. I may be required

to answer many questions about my sexual past and my

current sexual behavior.” Inmates also agree to release

any information about past behavior sought by program

staff, and, if necessary, to take a lie detector test “to

ensure full disclosure of offending history.” Finally, SOP

participants must sign a waiver of confidentiality. The

waiver states, in relevant part:

I have been informed that any staff member at N.H.

State Prison is required by law to report to the appropri-

ate authorities, including but not limited to, the County

Attorney’s Office, the State Police, Local Police, Division

_ App. 4

for Children and Youth Services and Probation Depart-

ment, any actual or suspected sexual offense of a speci-

fically identifiable victim, regardless of how the staff

member gains knowledge of such occurrence or potential

occurrence.” The SOP rejects inmates who refuse to com-

ply with the terms of the treatment contract or to sign a

confidentiality waiver. The program also generally deems

inmates whose cases are on appeal unsuitable for treat-

ment because they have not acknowledged responsibility

for their crime of conviction.

Lance Messinger, director of the SOP, testified about

the disclosure requirements at a hearing on the plaintiffs’

petition for injunctive relief. Messinger said that SOP

staff members do not require applicants to identify other

victims whose names have not already been reported,

and that they discourage them from providing specific

information that could be incriminating. However, Messi-

nger said that if staff members already have information

about an offense with which the applicant has not been

charged, they press the applicant to admit to that offense.

Such information usually comes from an inmate’s presen-

tence report and may concern allegations about an addi-

tional victim. Any admissions of uncharged conduct that

an inmate makes must be reported to police and prosecu-

tors. Messinger said that he has tried on a case-by-case

basis to win immunity from prosecution for specific SOP

participants, with limited success. Messinger said that he

remembered one case within the last ten years in which

the county attorney prosecuted a case based on admis-

sions made through the SOP.

The individual plaintiffs in this case have had a vari-

ety of experiences with the SOP. Some of the plaintiffs

have not applied for the SOP because of the required

ere

App. 5

disclosures. Others have applied and were rejected

because they refused to admit to their crime of convic-

tion, because their case was on appeal, or because they

refused to admit to an uncharged offense involving an

additional victim.

A few of the plaintiffs must complete the SOP as a

condition of their sentence. The majority, however,

applied for the program for two reasons. First, comple-

tion of the SOP is generally, though not always, required

before sex offenders receive parole. At the preliminary

injunction hearing, an official from the New Hampshire

Adult Parole Board testified that to date 97 to 98 percent

of the sex offenders who received parole had completed

the SOP. Second, sex offenders who do not complete the

SOP often are transferred from South Unit to Hancock

Building. Both South and Hancock are medium security

units, but the plaintiffs view South as preferable housing.

South has two-man cells, 24-man pods, extensive outdoor

privileges, and houses mainly sex offenders. Hancock has

eight-man cells, 96-man pods, only one hour of outdoor

access, and houses mainly. drug and violent offenders.

The plaintiffs testified that South is a safer unit for sex

offenders, and some of them said they had been assaulted

or hassled at Hancock. They also point out that transfers

to Hancock are used to punish South inmates who com-

mit minor disciplinary offenses.

2 For the purposes of our analysis, we assume that the

plaintiffs collectively present the strongest set of facts that

support the claim they have developed - in other words, that

they applied to the SOP and were rejected; that they risk future

prosecution by disclosing uncharged conduct; that they have

been or will be denied parole; and that they have been or will be

transferred to a less desirable cellblock in the prison.

App. 6

The plaintiffs filed this action as a petition for declar-

atory and injunctive relief. A magistrate judge held a

hearing on the petition and recommended that the court

grant a preliminary injunction enjoining the defendant

from making admission of uncharged criminal conduct a

condition of participation in the SOP, unless the plaintiffs

received immunity from use of their admissions in future

prosecutions. The district court rejected the magistrate

judge’s recommendation and granted the defendant’s

motion to dismiss for failure to state a claim, finding that

the plaintiffs had failed to establish that the prison’s

policies violated the Fifth Amendment privilege against

self-incrimination.

Normally, a motion to dismiss for failure to state a

claim is based only on the pleadings. See Fed-R. Civ. Proc.

12(b)(6). In this case, the district court had before it

evidence developed at the preliminary injunction hear-

ing. See Developmental Disabilities Advocacy Center, Inc. v.

Melton, 689 F.2d 281, 282 (1st Cir. 1989). Both the court

and the parties repeatedly referred to this evidence, effec-

tively converting the motion to dismiss to a motion for

summary judgment. Fed. R. Civ. Proc. 12(b)(6) (“If, on a

motion . . . to dismiss for failure . . . to state a claim...

matters outside the pleading are presented to and not

excluded by the court, the motion shall be treated as one

for summary judgment.”). We thus review the district

court’s decision according to summary judgment stan-

dards, considering the facts and all reasonable inferences

to be drawn from them in the light most favorable to the

nonmoving party. See F.D.I.C. v. Kooyomjian, 220 F.3d 10,

13-14 (1st Cir. 2000). The moving party prevails if there is

no genuine dispute as to any material fact and the party

is entitled to judgment as a matter of law. See Fed. R. Civ.

App. 7

Proc. 56(c). Our review is de novo. See Garside v. Osco

Drug, Inc., 895 F.2d 46, 48 (1st Cir. 1990).

Il.

The Fifth Amendment prevents any person from

being “compelled in any criminal case to be a witness

against himself.” U.S. Const. amend. V. The Amend-

ment’s self-incrimination clause applies to the states

through the Fourteenth Amendment. See Spevack v. Klein,

385 U.S. 511, 514 (1967). The protection against self-

incrimination extends beyond criminal investigations,

privileging a witness “not to answer official questions put

to him in any other proceeding, civil or criminal, formal

or informal, where the answers might incriminate him in

future criminal proceedings.” Lefkowitz v. Turley, 414 U.S.

70, 77 (1973). A criminal defendant who has been con-

victed retains the privilege after imprisonment as long as

his testimony may be used against him in a future trial

for a crime of which he has not yet been convicted. See

Mitchell v. United States, 526 U.S. 314, 325 (1999); Minne-

sota v. Murphy, 465 U.S. 420, 426 (1984). Two criteria must

be met in order for the privilege to apply: the witness

must reasonably believe that his statements may be used

to incriminate him, Hoffman v. United States, 341 U.S. 479,

486 (1951), and the statements must be compelled.

Lefkowitz v. Cunningham, 431 U.S. 801, 806 (1977) (“the

touchstone of the Fifth Amendment is compulsion”).

Compulsion exists when some factor denies the individ-

ual the “free choice to admit, to deny, or to refuse to

answer.” Lisenba v. California, 314 U.S. 219, 241 (1941).

The Supreme Court has found testimony to be com-

pelled in several contexts. For example, the Court has

App. 8

found that the state impermissibly compelled testimony

by forcing police officers and city employees to choose

between incriminating themselves and losing their jobs.

See Garrity v. New Jersey, 385 U.S. 493 (1967); Gardner v.

Broderick, 392 U.S. 273, 274 (1968); Uniformed Sanitation

Men Ass’n v. Comm'r of Sanitation of New York, 392 U.S. 280

(1968). The Court also has found that the statements of an

attorney made at a disciplinary proceeding under threat

of disbarment were compelled, see Spevack, 385 U.S. at

516. And it has invalidated state statutes that stripped an

attorney of his state political party office and architects of

a city-awarded contract because they refused to waive

their Fifth Amendment privilege. See Cunningham, 431

U.S. at 808; Turley, 414 U.S. at 85.

In these early cases, the consequences of refusing to

give potentially incriminating testimony were economic.

Yet the Court described compulsion in relatively broad

terms. In Spevack, the Court said that a “ ‘penalty’ is not

restricted to fine or imprisonment” but instead means

“the imposition of any sanction which makes assertion of

the Fifth Amendment privilege ‘costly.’” Spevack, 385

U.S. at 515 (citing Griffin v. California, 380 U.S. 609, 614

(1965)). In Cunningham, the Court said that the Fifth

Amendment protects against state-imposed “potent sanc-

tions” or “substantial penalties.” Cunningham, 431 U.S. at

805. The Court also “rejected the notion that citizens may

be forced to incriminate themselves because it serves a

governmental need,” saying that the interests of the state,

even if compelling, do not “justify infringement of Fifth

Amendment rights.” Id. at 808.

Later Supreme Court cases, however, have qualified

the application of these broad, rights-protective state-

ments in cases involving prisoners, holding that courts

sos aa tt

pial eet ie ah a

App. 9

must consider the state’s interest in imposing a rule or

requirement related to imprisonment when deciding

whether that requirement violates an inmate’s constitu-

tional rights. The watershed case is Turner v. Safley, 482

U.S. 78 (1987), in which the Court said that “when a

prison regulation impinges on inmates’ constitutional

rights, the regulation is valid if it is reasonably related to

legitimate penological interests.” Id. at 89. As we have

said before in assessing the impact of Turner, “[w]here

burdens are laid upon the exercise of constitutional rights

by prisoners, the Supreme Court’s current approach is to

give very substantial latitude to the state’s judgment.”

Beauchamp v. Murphy, 37 F.3d 700, 704 (1st Cir. 1994), cert.

denied, 514 U.S. 1019 (1995).3

As was the case in Beauchamp, Turner differs from

the case at hand because it involved “the actual running

of prisons and the most practical considerations of disci-

pline, security, administrative feasibility and cost.” Id.

The state offers treatment to sex offenders out of concern

about prisoners’ post-release conduct - most pressingly,

in hopes that such treatment will reduce recidivism rates

3 The Supreme Court has used Turner’s reasonableness test,

for example, in rejecting prisoners’ First Amendment claims.

See, e.g., O’Lone v. Estate of Shabazz, 482 U.S. 342 (1987) (prison

officials acted reasonably by precluding Islamic inmates from

attending weekly Friday religious service and thus did not

violate the First Amendment); Thornburgh v. Abbott, 490 U.S. 401

(1989) (reasonable and so constitutional to regulate prisoners’

mail). And the Court has been similarly deferential to the state’s

interests in Fifth Amendment due process cases, holding that

prisoners’ liberty interests extend only to freedom from

restraint that “imposes atypical and significant hardship on the

inmate in relation to the ordinary incidents of prison life.”

Sandin v. Conner, 515 U.S. 472, 472 (1995).

App. 10

by helping to rehabilitate SOP participants — rather than

out of concern about effective prison management. Still,

the state’s interest remains relevant to determining

whether the SOP’s required admissions violate the plain-

tiffs’ Fifth Amendment rights. “The limitations on the

exercise of constitutional rights arise both from the fact of

incarceration and from valid penological objectives -

including deterrence of crime, rehabilitation of prisoners,

and institutional security.” O’Lone v. Shabazz, 482 U.S. 342,

348 (1987). In light of Turner, the burden that a prison rule

or requirement places on an inmate’s constitutional rights

cannot be unreasonable, and reasonableness largely turns

upon the facts. With some emphases peculiar to prison

regulation, Turner itself identifies pertinent criteria:

“whether the state’s policy serves a valid governmental

interest; the extent to which the prisoner is foreclosed or

burdened in exercising his rights; and the presence or

absence of reasonable alternatives for the government to

achieve the same ends by other means without significant

cost or impairment of the governmental interest at stake.”

Beauchamp, 37 F.3d at 705 (citing Turner, 482 U.S. at

89-91).4

As the defendant concedes, the plaintiffs can easily

show that the SOP’s required disclosures are incriminat-

ing. To participate in the program, the plaintiffs must

admit to uncharged offenses as well as the behavior that

4 We set aside a fourth consideration in Turner, the effect of

the remedy sought on the prison and other inmates, because it is

“linked peculiarly to prison operations.” Beauchamp, 37 F.3d at

705 n.1.

App. 11

led to their crime of conviction. They receive no guaran-

tee of immunity from prosecution - to the contrary, they

are told that incriminating statements will be reported to

police and prosecutors. In addition, an offender’s admis-

sion to his crime of conviction could expose him to future

prosecution for perjury if he denied guilt at trial, or could

undermine an ongoing appeal. See Lile v. McKune, 224

F.3d 1175, 1180 (10th Cir. 2000) petition for cert. filed, 69

U.S.L.W. 3506 (U.S. Jan. 22, 2001) (No. 00-1187).

Thus the real question before us is whether the dis-

closures required by the SOP are unconstitutionally com-

pelled within the meaning of the Fifth Amendment. The

plaintiffs offer two sets of facts to show that the conse-

quence of their refusal to make the admissions required

by the SOP is a penalty sufficient to constitute compul-

sion. First, the plaintiffs claim that because the parole

board has denied or will deny them parole until they

complete the SOP, they have no choice but to comply with

the program’s requirements. Second, they argue that fail-

ure to complete the SOP has led or will lead to a “puni-

tive transfer” from South Unit to Hancock Building, and

that this transfer is sufficient punishment to compel their

admissions. With particular attention to the burden ele-

ment, we apply Turner’s three-part test to determine

whether the denial of parole or the prison housing trans-

fer are penalties sufficient to compel speech within the

prohibition of the Fifth Amendment. See Lile, 224 F.3d at

1190 (applying Turner to prisoners’ Fifth Amendment

claims).

App. 12

A. Denial of Parole

1. Valid Government Interest

New Hampshire law gives the parole board discre-

tion over release decisions, directing the board to base its

judgment on whether there is a “probability that the

inmate will remain at liberty without violating any law

and will conduct himself as a good citizen.” N.H. Code of

Admin. Rules. Ann. § 301.01. Whether a sex offender has

completed the SOP is one factor that the New Hampshire

parole board may consider in deciding whether a sex

offender merits early release. See N.H. Code of Admin. R.

Ann. § 301.02(h) (parole board may take into account

evidence of “self-improvement” achieved through prison

programs, “specifically programs which addressed prob-

lems or issues that contributed to the inmate’s prior

criminal conduct”). The question under Turner is whether

this consideration is based on a valid governmental inter-

est.

Unquestionably, the state has an acute interest in

seeking to rehabilitate sex offenders in hopes of deterring

future crime, particularly given the large body of research

showing that sex offenders commit repeat crimes at

alarming rates.5 To that end, New Hampshire established

the SOP. The program’s requirement that participants

admit to their crimes is widely believed to be a necessary

° See Katie Isaac, Kansas v. Hendricks: A Perilous Step Forward

in the Fight Against Child Molestation, 35 Hous. L. Rev. 1295, 1296

(1998) (citing a 1993 study that found that “forty-two percent of

imprisoned child molesters are later reconvicted for violent or

sexual crimes”).

App. 13

prerequisite to successful treatment. While some

research stresses the difficulty of drawing conclusions

about the success rates of sex offender treatment,” other

studies show that treated sex offenders are less likely to

commit new crimes.® Indeed, the SOP may be achieving

some success. Director Lance Messinger testified that

twelve percent of untreated offenders released from the

prison since 1980 returned on a new sex-offense convic-

tion, while only six percent of those who completed the

SOP did. New Hampshire unmistakably has a valid gZov-

ernment interest in establishing the SOP, and in requiring

sex offenders to admit past conduct to participate in it.

° See Brendan J. Shevlin, “[BJetween the Devil and the Deep

Blue Sea:” A Look at the Fifth Amendment Implications of Probation

Programs for Sex Offenders Requiring Mandatory Admissions of

Guilt, 88 Ky. L.J. 485, 485 (2000); Jonathan Kaden, Therapy for

Convicted Sex Offenders: Pursuing Rehabilitation Without

Incrimination, 89 J. Crim. L. & Criminology 347, 365 n.103(1998);

Scott Michael Solkoff, Judicial Use Immunity and the Privilege

Against Self-Incrimination in Court Mandated Therapy Programs,

17 Nova L. Rev. 1441, 1450 (1993).

” See David DePugh, The Right to Treatment for Involuntarily

Committed Sex Offenders in the Wake of Kansas v. Hendricks, 17

Buff. Pub. Int. L.J. 71 n.140 (1999); Jessica Wilen Berg, Give Me

Liberty or Give Me Silence: Taking a Stand on Fifth Amendment

Implications for Court-Ordered Therapy Programs, 79 Cornell L.

Rev. 700, 700 n.2 (1994).

8 See Kaden, supra note 6, at 365 n.103 (citing one study in

which 60 percent of untreated offenders committed another

crime, and another in which only eight of 100 treated offenders

did so); Solkoff, supra note 6, at 1450 (citing study in which the

four-year recidivism rate decreased from 60 percent for

untreated offenders to 25 percent for treated offenders).

App. 14

2. Burden on the Exercise of Plaintiffs’ Rights

The plaintiffs argue that the denial of parole is a

penalty because it forces them to serve a longer prison

term than they otherwise would. For example, an inmate

with an indeterminate sentence of seven to fifteen years

who has no disciplinary infractions would become eligi-

ble for parole after serving seven years, but would most

likely serve his full sentence if he does not complete the

SOP. The defendant counters that parole is not a right but

a privilege. He points out that inmates do not have a

“liberty right” to parole under the Due Process Clause of

the Fifth Amendment, see Greenholtz v. Inmates of Nebraska

Penal and Correctional Complex, 442 U.S. 1, 7 (1979), or

under New Hampshire law, see N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann § 651-

A:6(I) (providing that a “prisoner may be released on

parole upon the expiration of the minimum term of his

sentence”) (emphasis added); Knowles v. Warden, New

Hampshire State Prison, 666 A.2d 972, 975 (N.H. 1995);

Baker v. Cunningham, 513 A.2d 956, 960 (N.H. 1986).

The lack of a liberty interest in parole, however, does

not settle the question of whether the denial of parole can

constitute a penalty for the purpose of Fifth Amendment

compulsion. From Garrity to the recent case Ohio Adult

Parole Authority v. Woodard, the Supreme Court has evalu-

ated Fifth Amendment self-incrimination claims without

reference to a liberty interest analysis. See, e.g., Garrity,

385 U.S. at 496-501; Woodard, 523 U.S. 272, 285-88 (1998);

compare Lile, 224 F.3d at 1183.

The SOP’s requirement that offenders disclose

uncharged conduct, at the risk that their admissions will

App. 15

be reported to police and prosecutors, presents the plain-

tiffs with a difficult dilemma. This dilemma undoubtedly

imposes some burden on the exercise of their Fifth

Amendment rights. The extent of the burden is mitigated,

however, by three factors: the kind of burden the plain-

tiffs face, the voluntary nature of their choice about

whether to participate in the SOP, and the fact that the

denial of parole does not follow automatically from the

refusal to speak.°

First, parole involves relief from a penalty that has

already been imposed - the full period of incarceration to

which the plaintiffs were sentenced. There is no new or

additional penalty for refusing to participate in the SOP.

To the extent that such labels are useful, the SOP is a

benefit that New Hampshire makes available to sex

offenders, and parole is a further benefit that the state

may condition on completion of the program. See Green-

holtz, 442 U.S. at 11 (“That the state holds out the possi-

bility of parole provides no more than a mere hope that

the benefit will be obtained.”).1°

® The plaintiffs’ brief asserts that some of the plaintiffs

apply for the SOP “because their sentence specifically requires

completion.” These plaintiffs may have a stronger claim of Fifth

Amendment compulsion. However, the plaintiffs in no way

develop this argument in their brief, precluding our

consideration of the implications of any such sentencing

requirements.

10 The plaintiffs unsuccessfully look for support to Neal v.

Shimoda, 131 F.3d 818 (9th Cir. 1997). In Neal, the Ninth Circuit

held that a prison regulation that labeled inmates as sex

offenders and required completion of a sex offender treatment

program as a condition for parole eligibility created a liberty

interest and some due process protection for prisoners who had

App. 16

Because the plaintiffs have not yet obtained release,

the nature of the penalty they face differs from the one at

issue in Minnesota v. Murphy, 465 U.S. 420 (1984). Murphy

was required to attend a treatment program for sex

offenders as a condition of his probation. When his pro-

bation officer questioned him about admissions Murphy

made during the course of treatment regarding an

uncharged rape and murder, he confessed to those

crimes. See id. at 424. His statements were then used to

prosecute him. Murphy argued that his statements were

compelled because his probation would have been

revoked had he refused to answer. See id. at 434. The

court agreed that the state could not directly link invoca-

tion of the Fifth Amendment privilege to revocation of

probation, stating:

There is thus a substantial basis in our cases for

concluding that if the state, either expressly or

by implication, asserts that invocation of the

privilege would lead to revocation of probation,

it would have created the classic penalty situa-

tion... and the probationer’s answers would be

deemed compelled and inadmissible in a crimi-

nal prosecution.

not been convicted of sexual misconduct. See id. at 830. Since

Neal found that an inmate’s due process rather than Fifth

Amendment self-incrimination rights were violated by the

prison regulation at issue, it is not contrary to our holding here.

Moreover, the Ninth Circuit emphasized the automatic nature of

the denial of parole in finding a liberty interest to be at stake. See

id. at 829 (“[B]ecause the State’s regulations render the inmate

completely ineligible for parole if the treatment program is not

satisfactorily completed, the attachment of the ‘sex offender’

label to the targeted inmate has a practical and inevitable

coercive effect on the inmate’s conduct.”) (emphasis in original).

t

iF

App. 17

Id. at 435. The Court held, however, that Murphy’s

confessions were not compelled because there was “no

suggestion that his probation was conditional on his

waiving his Fifth Amendment privilege.” Id. at 437.11

While both Murphy and the case at hand involve the

issue of prosecution based on criminal admissions made

during a sex offender treatment program, Murphy's “clas-

sic penalty” scenario does not apply here. A probationer

or parolee has already achieved liberty, and thus has an

expectation of retaining it. An inmate who has not been

granted parole has no such expectation. See Greenholtz,

442 U.S. at 9 (“There is a crucial distinction between

being deprived of a liberty one has, as in parole, and

being denied a conditional liberty that one desires.”).

Moreover, the parole board has already weighed the

safety risk posed by the probationer or parolee and

decided that he or she is fit to rejoin the community.

Before release, an inmate has not passed this threshold

test. In Greenholtz, the Court viewed these differences as

support for its holding that inmates do not have a consti-

tutional due process right to parole, in contrast to already

released offenders, who do have due process rights when

the state seeks to revoke their parole or probation. See id.

at 9. Similarly, a treatment program that conditioned par-

ticipation on incriminating admissions might violate the

Fifth Amendment if that program was in turn a condition

of probation or of maintaining parole, but a program that

1 Of course, the quoted statement in Murphy is 17-year-old

dictum, and we do not know how the present Supreme Court

would view disclosure obligations imposed on parolees.

Compare Asherman v. Meachum, 957 F.2d 978 (2d Cir. 1992).

App. 18

conditioned participation on incriminating admissions as

a condition of obtaining release on parole does not. The

case law recognizes this distinction. Following Murphy,

some courts have found Fifth Amendment violations

where sex offenders were required to disclose past mis-

conduct for treatment programs that were a condition of

probation or a court-suspended sentence. See Mace v.

Amestoy, 765 F.Supp. 847, 850 (D. Vt. 1991); State v. Fuller,

915 P.2d 809, 814 (Mont. 1996); State v. Imlay, 813 P.2d 979,

985 (Mont. 1991); State v. Kaquatosh, 600 N.W.2d 153, 158

(Minn. Ct. App. 1999); cf. United States v. Davis, 2001 WL

224550 *2 (1st Cir. 2001) (probationer free to challenge

revocation of supervised release as a penalty for exercise

of Fifth Amendment privilege should revocation occur);

but see Asherman v. Meachum, 957 F.2d 978 (2d Cir. 1992)

(en banc). But courts have denied claims where treatment

programs were a condition of initial parole eligibility. See

Doe v. Sauer, 186 F.3d 903 (8th Cir. 1999); Russell v. Eaves,

722 F. Supp. 558 (E.D. Mo. 1989).

The second factor that mitigates the burden imposed

by the SOP’s disclosure requirement is the relatively vol-

untary nature of the plaintiffs’ decision about whether to

participate in the program. The relevant precedent is Ohio

Adult Parole Authority v. Woodard, 523 U.S. 272 (1998).

Woodard, who had been sentenced to death, said that

Ohio’s clemency process violated his Fifth Amendment

rights by forcing him to answer questions at his one

guaranteed clemency interview, or, if he remained silent,

permitting his silence to be used against him. He argued

that the “interview unconstitutionally condition[ed] his

assertion of the right to pursue clemency on his waiver of

the right to remain silent.” Id. at 285-86.

App. 19

The Court rejected this argument on the ground that

Woodard was not required to attend or speak at his

clemency hearing. The Court said: “It is difficult to see

how a voluntary interview could ‘compel’ respondent to

speak. He merely faces a choice quite similar to the sorts

of choices that a criminal defendant must make in the

course of criminal proceedings, none of which has ever

been held to violate the Fifth Amendment.” Id. at 287. The

Court recognized that Woodard faced a choice between

“providing information to the [Parole] Authority - at the

risk of damaging his case for clemency or for postconvic-

tion relief — or of remaining silent.” Id. at 287-88. But that

choice, despite its consequences, did not support a claim

within the meaning of the Fifth Amendment’s self-incrim-

ination clause. The Court said that the “pressure to speak

in the hope of improving [respondent’s] chance of being

granted clemency does not make the interview com-

pelled.” Id. at 288.

Whether the choice that the plaintiffs here face is

voluntary in a meaningful sense seems to wus a closer

question. By making the admissions required by the SOP,

the plaintiffs risk not only damaging their cases on

appeal, but also exposing themselves to future prosecu-

tion. If the plaintiffs refuse to speak, they face the strong

possibility of serving more years in prison than they

otherwise would. Still, like Woodard, the plaintiffs have a

choice about participating in the SOP, despite the conse-

quences that follow from that choice. The plaintiffs’

choice about whether to disclose past misconduct is vol-

untary as Woodard understands the term.

The third factor we consider is whether the denial of

parole follows automatically from the plaintiffs’ refusal to

App. 20

speak. Some of the plaintiffs testified that prison officials

told them that they would not be granted parole unless

and until they completed the SOP, and the defendant does

not dispute that completion of the SOP functions as a de

facto requirement of parole for most New Hampshire sex

offenders. At the same time, the defendant has shown that

a few inmates who have not completed the SOP receive

parole each year under special circumstances.!2 These

unusual grants of release are possible because New Hamp-

shire’s parole statute nowhere states that the board must

reject a parole applicant because he has not completed the

SOP. As we have noted, New Hampshire’s parole statute

gives the parole board broad discretion to decide whether

an inmate is likely to obey the law and observe the terms

of his release. See Baker, 513 A.2d at 960.

The distinction between a highly probable de facto

requirement and a statutorily mandated one has legal

significance. In the early Supreme Court cases that we

have discussed, the state imposed automatic penalties on

those who refused to waive their right against self-

incrimination. The police officers in Gardner and Garrity

and the city employees in Uniformed Sanitation Men Asso-

ciation were discharged because they invoked their Fifth

Amendment rights and refused to testify. The lawyer in

Spevack was disbarred for the same reason. In Turley and

Cunningham, the Court declared unconstitutional New

York statutes that automatically stripped government

12 At the preliminary injunction hearing, a parole board

official testified that one offender who had been released was

convicted of a relatively minor offense and had an elderly, blind

mother for whom he was the sole provider.

App. 21

contracts and political party office from anyone who

refused to waive his or her immunity.

By contrast, Baxter v. Palmigiano, 425 U.S. 308 (1976),

concerned the question of whether prison officials could

draw an adverse inference from an inmate’s silence at a

disciplinary proceeding. The Court held that the Fifth

Amendment did not forbid the state from drawing such

an inference, given the civil nature of the disciplinary

proceeding.'° The Court distinguished Baxter from its

previous holdings on the ground that the state did not

require Palmigiano to waive his privilege, but rather said

that his silence could be used against him if he did not

waive it. In addition, Palmigiano could not be “automat-

ically found guilty” as a consequence of his refusal to

testify because prison regulations required that substan-

tial evidence support a disciplinary decision. Id. at

317-318.14 In finding that drawing such an inference

was permissible, the Court noted that the state had not

“insisted or asked” that the defendant waive his Fifth

13 Baxter noted that no criminal proceedings were pending

against Palmigiano and distinguished the case from earlier

holdings in part on that ground. See Baxter, 452 U.S. at 317.

However, this court has applied Baxter in cases involving

criminal charges. See, e.g., United States v. Stein, 233 F.3d 6, 16n.5

(1st Cir. 2000).

14 Cunningham distinguished Baxter on this ground, stating:

“Respondent’s silence in Baxter was only one of a number of

factors to be considered by the finder of fact in assessing a

penalty, and was given no more probative value than the facts of

the cases warranted; here, refusal to waive the Fifth

Amendment privilege leads automatically and without more to

imposition of sanctions.” Cunningham, 431 U.S. at 808 n.5.

App. 22

Amendment privilege. Id. at 317. Nor was the defendant

“in consequence of his silence automatically found guilty

of the infraction with which he has been charged.” Id. On

the ground that an inmate’s silence “in and of itself” did

not trigger a sanction, the Court distinguished Baxter

from earlier cases such as Garrity and Turley. Id. at 317-18.

We recently relied on Baxter and its reading of prece-

dent in rejecting an attorney’s claim that her testimony

before the Massachusetts Board of Bar Examiners was

coerced because she believed that she would be disbarred

if she remained silent. See United States v. Stein, 233 F.3d 6

(1st Cir. 2000), petition for cert. filed, (U.S. Feb. 26, 2001)

(No. 00-1354). We discussed the automatic penalties faced

in Gardner and Garrity, and concluded:

Where, however, invocation of the Fifth Amend-

ment does not, by itself, result in forfeiture of

the job or license in question, the fact that claim-

ing the Fifth may, as a practical matter, result in

damage to one’s chances of retaining the privi-

lege at stake does not necessarily establish a

constitutional violation.

Id. at 15. Three related facts led us to reject the

attorney’s claim. She was not subject to automatic disbar-

ment for remaining silent; the Board of Bar Examiners

was not required to disbar her; and the board had no

formal rule or unwritten policy or practice of disbarring

attorneys for invoking their Fifth Amendment privilege.

See id. at 16.15

15 The Second Circuit relied on a related rationale in two

cases cited by the defendant, Asherman v. Meachum, 957 F.2d 978

(2d Cir. 1992) (en banc), and Johnson v. Baker, 108 F.3d 10 (2d Cir.

App. 23

Parallel facts are present here. The plaintiffs do not

automatically lose parole eligibility because they remain

silent, the parole board is not required to deny them

parole, and the board has no formal rule denying parole

to sex offenders who do not complete the SOP. See, e.g.,

Lile, 224 F.3d at 1182 (inmates required to admit past

misconduct for admission to a sex offender treatment

program could not show Fifth Amendment compulsion

based on denial of parole because they were not required

to complete the treatment program for parole eligibility).

According to the plaintiffs, the board does have such an

unwritten policy or practice. But the defendant in Stein

made a similar argument to no avail, and we see no

reason to distinguish this case on that ground. It is

entirely permissible for a parole board to take into

account an inmate’s efforts to rehabilitate himself by par-

ticipating in a prison program designed to address his

prior criminal conduct. But to say that the parole board

1997). In Asherman, the court found that revocation of a

prisoner’s supervised home release for his refusal to answer

questions at a psychiatric evaluation did not violate the Fifth

Amendment. In Johnson, the court found that an inmate’s Fifth

Amendment rights were not violated by a sex offender

treatment program that required admissions of past

misconduct, and that was a prerequisite for a program that

allowed inmates to spend extended time with their families.

Both cases distinguished between a state’s adverse action

against an individual for invoking the right to self-

incrimination and an action taken “for failure to answer a

relevant inquiry.” Asherman, 957 F.2d at 982. The court found

that the inquiries made of the defendants in these cases were

relevant to the state’s public responsibilities. Id. at 983. In

Johnson, these responsibilities concerned sex offender

rehabilitation. See Johnson, 108 F.3d at 11.

App. 24

may consider an inmate’s completion of a prison treat-

ment program is not to say that it must make a decision

on that basis. That the board often weighs heavily com-

pletion of the SOP in deciding whether to parole sex

offenders does not change the calculation. See Stein, 233

F.3d at 17 n.6 (fact that defendant “could have had good

reason to fear disbarment if she did not testify is not the

same as being faced with automatic disbarment for fail-

ure to testify”); United States v. Indorato, 628 F.2d 711, 716

(1st Cir. 1980) (fear of punishment as a result of invoking

the Fifth Amendment does not protect against subsequent

use of self-incriminating statements at a criminal trial).

3. Reasonable Alternatives

The third step under Turner requires us to consider

whether reasonable alternatives exist for the government

to achieve its ends without significant cost or impairment

to the governmental interest at stake.

Some states address the incrimination dilemma

posed by sex offender treatment programs by asking

inmates seeking treatment only to admit to misconduct of

which law enforcement officials are already aware. See

Neal v. Shimoda, 131 F.3d 832, 833 n.18 (9th Cir. 1997)

(citing provision of sex offender consent to treat contract

stating, “I understand that I am not required to provide

information about crimes that no one knows about”);

Russell v. Eaves, 722 F. Supp. 558, 560 (E.D. Mo. 1989).

Courts have also suggested that states grant use immu-

nity to sex offenders before requiring them to disclose

past misconduct during the course of treatment. See Lile,

App. 25

224 F.3d at 1192; Mace, 765 F. Supp. at 852; Fuller, 915 P.2d

at 816; Imlay, 813 P.2d at 985.

A grant of limited use immunity need not conflict

with public safety, since it allows the state to prosecute

the recipient “for any crime of which he may be

guilty . . . provided only that his own compelled testi-

mony is not used to convict him.” Cunningham, 431 U.S.

at 809 (comparing use immunity to broader transactional

immunity, which immunizes witnesses from prosecution

for any transaction about which they testify). Granting

use immunity may in fact further the state’s goal of

rehabilitation by encouraging inmates to admit their sex

offenses, thus removing an obstacle to treatment. See Lile,

224 F.3d at 1192. Use immunity is the solution proposed

by commentators concerned about the tension between

an inmate’s right against self-incrimination and the

State’s interest in pressing sex offenders to admit past

misconduct as a first step toward effective treatment. See

Shevlin, supra note 6, at 486; Kaden, supra note 6, at 350;

Solkoff, supra note 6, at 1444. In his testimony at the

preliminary injunction hearing, SOP Director Lance Mes-

singer expressed similar concerns, saying that he tries to

obtain use immunity for inmates when he thinks they

could be prosecuted on new charges based on informa-

tion disclosed during treatment.

This may indeed be a desirable outcome. But we

agree with the district court that the decision about

whether to grant immunity to sex offenders is a policy

choice that lies in the state’s hands. We think that it is for

New Hampshire to say whether it could do so without

impairing the governmental interest at stake.

aS ee

App. 26

4. Conclusion under Turner

Our Turner analysis reflects the closeness of the Fifth

Amendment self-incrimination question presented here.

Given the stakes in parole and the avoidance of further

prosecutions, the plaintiffs do suffer some burden in the

exercise of their Fifth Amendment rights when they must

choose between declining to participate in the SOP, which

significantly enhances their chances for paroie, or disclos-

ing other criminal conduct. The availability of use immu-

nity at least suggests the possibility of an alternative

means of advancing the state’s interest in securing inmate

participation in the SOP without necessarily compromis-

ing future prosecutions for other instances of sexual mis-

conduct.

On the other hand, the state’s interest in reducing the

recidivism of sex offenders is substantial. There may be

undesirable penological and law enforcement implica-

tions to the grant of use immunity in the sensitive context

of sexual misconduct cases that we do. not fully appreci-

ate. The burden on the exercise of the Fifth Amendment

rights of the plaintiffs is lessened significantly by the

factors we have cited: the denial of parole does not

impose a new penalty on the plaintiffs, the plaintiffs may

choose not to participate in the SOP, and the denial of

parole does not automatically follow from a decision not

to participate.

Weighing these factors, and drawing upon the mean-

ing of compulsion under the Fifth Amendment developed

by the precedents we have cited, we conclude that the

reduced likelihood of parole for refusing to participate in

the SOP does not constitute a penalty sufficient to compel

<<<

App. 27

incriminating speech in violation of the Fifth Amend-

ment.

B. Prison Housing Transfer

anal a” sain

The alternate basis for the plaintiffs’ claim of compul-

sion is the transfer from South Unit to Hancock Building

| that often follows a refusal to participate in the SOP. The

| plaintiffs claim the transfer is a penalty for Fifth Amend-

ment purposes because it significantly affects their living

circumstances. This question is not close.

Plaintiffs’ preference for South housing is under-

standable. At the preliminary injunction hearing, prison

officials testified that Hancock is the prison’s “low-rent

district” and compared South to a hotel. The plaintiffs

cite several advantages of living in South. They have

greater outdoor privileges; they live in two-man rather

than eight-man cells; they live on smaller “pods,” or

living groups. As evidence that the move to Hancock is

punitive, the plaintiffs argue that such transfers are used

to punish inmates who break the rules. Some of the

plaintiffs also said that even though both facilities are

classified as medium security, they feel safer at South

because most of the other inmates are also sex offenders.

In Hancock, where they are surrounded by violent and

drug offenders, they are targets of harassment and

assault.

Se eo ets Wrenn

oe ee

The plaintiffs’ claim that the transfer from South to

Hancock is a penalty for Fifth Amendment purposes fails

under the Turner analysis. First, the state has a valid

governmental interest in controlling where prisoners will

RR ek, ARs eal en nee Cre ae ml ee ms he ln

App. 28

be housed. Once an offender has been sentenced, New

Hampshire gives broad discretion to prison officials over

the “terms, conditions, and place of incarceration.” State

v. Peabody, 438 A.2d 305, 308 (N.H. 1981); see also N.H.

Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 651:25. At the hearing on the plaintiffs’

petition for injunctive relief, prison officials testified that

they offer housing transfers as an incentive to encourage

inmates to act in particular ways. Prisoners may earn a

place in South because they have a clean disciplinary

record or because they participate in a treatment program

like the SOP. In either case, the transfer to South is a

benefit conferred on inmates who earn it. This kind of

reward system easily meets Turner’s legitimate penologi-

cal interest standard.

The second and third Turner factors also weigh

against the plaintiffs. The quality-of-life differences

between South and Hancock are not severe enough to

burden the exercise of the plaintiffs’ constitutional rights.

Nor is there a reasonable alternative to giving prison

officials broad discretion over inmate housing. For the

reasons stated, the housing transfers do not rise to the

level of a penalty that establishes Fifth Amendment com-

pulsion. 16

16 We distinguish’ this case from Lile v. McKune, 224 F.3d

1175 (10th Cir. 2000), in which the Tenth Circuit found a Fifth

Amendment violation where sex offenders who refused to

disclose their past misconduct in order to participate in a prison

treatment program were automatically transferred from a

medium to a maximum security facility. The transfer resulted in

loss of the following privileges: personal television; limited

access to prison organizations, activities, gym, and yard;

reduction in spending allowed in the canteen per pay period

remand Rowan RAD it ata.

App. 29

IV.

We are unpersuaded by the plaintiffs’ claim that their

Fifth Amendment right against self-incrimination was *

violated by New Hampshire’s requirement that they dis-

close their histories of sexual misconduct to participate in

a prison treatment program that affects their chances of

obtaining early release on parole and of maintaining resi-

dence in desired prison housing. The defendant is enti-

tled to judgment as a matter law. We affirm the district

court.

Affirmed.

from $140 to $20; reduction in pay and intake property;

restricted visiting privileges. See id. at 1181. The consequences

of the transfer described in Lile are more severe than those the

plaintiffs say accompany a transfer from South to Hancock. In

addition, the transfer in Lile automatically followed from an

inmate’s decision not to pursue treatment, whereas the transfers

to Hancock complained of here are likely rather than automatic.

See id. ;

App. 30

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF NEW HAMPSHIRE

Wayne Ainsworth, et al.,

Plaintiffs Civil No.

. 99-447-M

Opinion No.

Edda Cantor, Acting 2000DNH121

Commissioner, New Hampshire

Dept. of Corrections,

Defendant

ORDER

(Filed May 18, 2000)

Plaintiffs, a group of 23 inmates at the New Hamp-

shire State Prison, filed this civil rights action seeking a

declaration that aspects of the prison’s sexual offender

treatment program violate their Fifth Amendment right

against compelled self-incrimination. They also seek pre-

liminary and permanent injunctive relief.

Plaintiffs say the sexual offender treatment program

violates their rights against self-incrimination because

they must fully disclose their history of sexual miscon-

duct, including uncharged criminal conduct, as a condi-

tion of admission. And, they claim that they are

“compelled” to participate in the sexual offender pro-

gram (and, in so doing, provide potentially incriminating

evidence against themselves) because, unless they partici-

pate: (1) they are subjected to punitive transfers within

the prison; and (2) are not granted parole.

App. 31

On February 3, 2000, the Magistrate Judge issued a

Report and Recommendation, recommending that the

court grant plaintiffs’ request for a preliminary injunc-

tion, enjoining defendants from “conditioning admission

to the SOP upon admission by plaintiffs to uncharged

criminal conduct, unless plaintiffs are immunized from

use in any way of those admissions in any subsequent

criminal proceedings.” Report and Recommendation

(document no. 17) at 29. Pending before the court are the

parties’ objections to various aspects of that Report and

Recommendation, as well as defendant’s motion to dis-

miss.

Background

In order to participate in the prison’s sexua! offender

treatment program, an inmate nuust, among other things,

freely and openly accept responsibility for his past sexual

misconduct (both that underlying his conviction(s), as

well as any uncharged misconduct). In the professional

judgment of those administering the program, such can-

dor is essential to effective treatment. Beyond obtaining

effective treatment, however, participation in the pro-

gram can bring more concrete benefits as well for, gener-

ally speaking, the parole board rarely grants parole to a

sexual offender if he has not successfully completed that

program. So, the chances for parole substantially increase

for those sexual offenders who do choose to participate

effectively. On the other hand, if an inmate denies his

offense conduct, or refuses to candidly disclose and

accept responsibility for all past sexual misconduct, he

will not be admitted to the sexual offender program, is

unlikely to be granted parole, and will probably be

App. 32

required to serve his full sentence. There are, however,

exceptions to the general rule - the parole board has, on

occasion, paroled sexual offenders who did not suc-

cessfully complete the program.

Discussion

I. Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss.

Plaintiffs argue that the disclosure requirement oper-

ates to compel them to provide incriminating evidence

against themselves, in violation of the Fifth Amendment's

protection. They say that if they refuse to acknowledge

their histories of sexual misconduct, they are refused

admission to the program and that, in turn, has substan-

tial adverse consequences. So, in effect, they are “com-

pelled” to provide self-incriminating statements because

failing to do so results in a form of punishment. First,

they say that if they do not participate in the sexual

offender program, they are subject to transfer from one

cell block to another, less desirable, cell block. Next, they

claim that failure to fully disclose past sexual misconduct

precludes admission to or completion of the program,

which effectively precludes parole, which means they

will be imprisoned for a longer period than otherwise

would be the case. Neither argument, however, has merit.

A. Eligibility for Parole.

That an inmate will likely not be granted parole until

he completes the sexual offender program does not,

under the circumstances of this case, implicate constitu-

tional concerns. Both this court and the New Hampshire

App. 33

Supreme Court have addressed this issue on several occa-

sions. The reasoning underlying the holdings in those

opinions need not be recounted again. See Wellington v.

Brodeur, No. 96-189-M (D.N.H. Dec. 30, 1996); Knowles v.

Cunningham, No. 96-228-JD (D.N.H. Jan. 24, 1997); Well-

ington v. Commissioner, 140 N.H. 399 (1995); Knowles v.

Warden, N.H. State Prison, 140 N.H. 387 (1995).

It is enough to note that prisoners have no constitu-

tionally protected liberty interest in parole. Nor does the

prison violate an inmate’s Fifth Amendment rights by

conditioning admission to its sexual offender program

upon the inmate’s disclosure and acceptance of respon-

sibility for all past sexual misconduct (both charged and

uncharged). Plaintiffs are not “compelled” to relinquish

their Fifth Amendment rights by the program’s require-

ments because participation in the sexual offender pro-

gram is entirely voluntary. Thus, an inmate may freely,

and without coercion, determine whether it is in his best

interest to participate in that program (and openly dis-

cuss his history of sexual misconduct), or decline to par-

ticipate, hoping that he will be among the relatively few

inmates granted parole notwithstanding their failure to

complete the program. It may be a difficult choice for

plaintiffs - some may rationally choose to avoid the risks

of full disclosure at the cost of a realistic chance for

parole; others may accept those risks to obtain valuable

help and enhance their chances for parole. But, whether

the State’s policy choices in this regard (presumably the

State would want to encourage every sexual offender to

undergo treatment before release) are wise or productive

is not at issue here. Those policy choices belong to the

App. 34

State, and the State’s requirements do not violate any

federal constitutional guarantees.

At this juncture, it is probably worth clarifying some

confusion in the record by noting that plaintiffs do not

claim that they are being denied parole hearings as a

result of their failure to complete the sexual offender

program. As defendant readily concedes, under New

Hampshire law all inmates are entitled to a parole hear-

ing after they have completed the minimum term of their

sentence, even if they are sexual offenders who have not

completed the sexual offender program.

What plaintiffs do claim is that satisfactory comple-

tion of the sexual offender program “is a de facto require-

ment of parole,” saying that it is “common knowledge

that a sex offender will not be paroled until he has

completed the program.” Amended Petition for Declara-

tory and Injunctive Relief (document no. 13) at 7. Plainly,

however, evidence introduced at the preliminary injunc-

tion hearing flatly refutes plaintiffs’ claim. Some inmates

(albeit relatively few) are paroled notwithstanding their

failure to complete the program, though that fact is not

critical because no inmate enjoys a right to parole.

Returning to defendant’s motion to dismiss, however,

it is clear that the State may legitimately consider an

inmate’s failure to complete the sexual offender program

as a factor counseling against granting that inmate parole.

See Brooker v. Warden, No. 98-466-JD, slip op. at 13

(D.N.H. June 22, 1999). See also Doe v. Sauer, 186 F.3d 903,

906 (8th Cir.1999) (“the denial of parole is permissible if it

is based on the prisoner’s refusal to participate in his

rehabilitation and not based on his invocation of his

App. 35

privilege.”). That the State considers an inmate to be a

more attractive candidate for parole if he completes the

sexual offender program, a point that hardly seems argu-

able in light of the State’s interest in protecting the pub-

lic, does not amount to unconstitutional “compulsion” to

participate in the treatment program. As this court

(DiClerico, J.) held in Brooker:

A voluntary statement or interview .. . even

when given in the hope of improving the

inmate’s chances for parole, is not compelled

and, therefore, is not protected by the Fifth

Amendment. . . . Offering the possibility of

earning a benefit is certainly an incentive to

participate, but it is not coercion. In other

words, the possibility of parole is a carrot, not a

stick.

Brooker v. Warden, No. 98-466-JD, slip op. at 12 (D.N.H.

June 22, 1999) (citations omitted). See generally Ohio Adult

Parole Authority v. Woodard, 523 U.S. 272 (1998) (holding

that inmate faced with decision to accept death sentence

or voluntarily testify at clemency hearing, at which he

would likely be asked to provide self-incriminatory infor-

mation, was not “compelled,” within the meaning of the

Fifth Amendment, to incriminate himself). Sentenced

prisoners are not deprived of any constitutional right

under these circumstances if they are required, or choose,

to serve the full sentence lawfully imposed.

Little more need be said. This court (and others) have

previously addressed and rejected plaintiffs’ claim that

conditioning participation in the sexual offender treat-

ment program on therapeutic cooperation, i.e. acceptance

of responsibility for all prior sexual misconduct, amounts

App. 36

to a Fifth Amendment violation. As to that claim, plain-

tiffs’ petition fails to state a viable cause of action.

B. Transfers for Non-Participating Inmates.

Plaintiffs’ remaining argument is that they are being

unconstitutionally compelled to provide self-incriminat-

ing statements in order to avoid being transferred from

the prison’s South Unit to H-Building. Specifically, they

say:

Most sex offenders (and most plaintiffs) are clas-

sified as medium custody inmates and are

housed in a unit within the state prison called

“South.” South’s inmate population consists of

about 90% sex offenders. Those who “refuse”

the SOP (by denying guilt, pursuing appeals or

collateral attacks on their convictions, and/or

refusing to disclose other victims or offenses)

are “punished” by being transferred from South

unit to Hancock Building, or “H-Building.”

Those who fail the SOP once admitted (e.g., for

refusing to disclose other victims, minimizing

guilt, etc.) are also transferred to H-Building.

Although H-Building also contains medium

security inmates, it contains the more trouble-

some medium custody inmates and the condi-

tions of H-Building and the consequences of

being moved to H-Building are sufficiently more

restrictive than South, so as to give rise to the

compulsion to invoke the Fifth Amendment

privileges.

Amended petition at 10-11.

Se ee ee me ee! FP ay eh ge

App. 37

While thoughtfully presented, plaintiffs’ argument

lacks force. Just as inmates have no constitutionally pro-

tected interest in being confined in a particular prison,

they have no constitutionally protected interest in being

confined in a particular section or cell block of a prison.

See Meachum v. Fano, 427 U.S. 215, 224 (1976) (“The initial

decision to assign the convict to a particular institution is

not subject to audit under the Due Process Clause,

although the degree of confinement in one prison may be

quite different from that in another. The conviction has

sufficiently extinguished the defendant's liberty interest

to empower the State to confine him in any of its

prisons.”). But cf. Vitek v. Jones, 445 U.S. 480, 493 (1980)

(holding that the transfer of an inmate from a prison to a

mental hospital did implicate a liberty interest because

placement in the mental hospital was “not within the

range of conditions of confinement to which a prison

sentence subjects an individual,” and because it brought

about “consequences . . . qualitatively different from the

punishment characteristically suffered by a person con-

victed of crime.”).

Here, while plaintiffs claim that life in H-Building is

less pleasant than that in South, they do not assert that it

is “qualitatively different from the punishment charac-

teristically suffered by a person convicted of a crime.”

That prison officials might choose to reward those

inmates who elect to participate in the sexual offender

program by assigning them to South also does not

amount to state-sanctioned “compulsion” to participate

in program. As Judge DiClerico noted, “[oJ]ffering the

possibility of earning a benefit is certainly an incentive to

participate, but it is not coercion.” Brooker, slip op. at 12.

App. 38

To be sure, some courts have concluded that prison

authorities violate an inmate’s Fifth Amendment rights

when they punish him or withhold a benefit because he

invokes his privilege against self-incrimination in a con-

text in which he might expose himself to criminal lia-

bility. See McMorrow v. Little, 109 F.3d 432, 435 (8th

Cir.1997) (collecting cases). Here, however, plaintiffs are

exposed to transfer from South not because they have

invoked Fifth Amendment rights, but because they have

chosen not to enroll (or meaningfully participate) in the

sexual offender program. The distinction is an important

one because prison authorities may deny benefits to

inmates who refuse to participate in prison programming

or who refuse to divulge information essential to the

proper administration of that program. See, e.g., Asherman

v. Meachum, 957 F.2d 978, 982-83 (2d Cir.1992) (en banc)

(concluding that prison authorities were entitled to

revoke an inmate’s supervised home release after he

refused to discuss the details of his criminal conduct,

notwithstanding the fact that providing such details

entailed the risk of self-incrimination); McMorrow, 109

F.3d at 436 (“prison officials may constitutionally deny

benefits to a prisoner who, by invoking his privilege

against self-incrimination, refuses to make statements

necessary for his rehabilitation, as long as their denial is

based on the prisoner’s refusal to participate in his reha-

bilitation program and not his invocation of his privi-

lege.”).

As noted above, plaintiffs do not claim that they are

being transferred as a form of punishment for having

invoked their Fifth Amendment rights. Instead, they say

that they are subject to transfer for failure to enroll in (or

App. 39

satisfactorily complete) the sexual offender program.

Transfers within the prison on that basis do not infringe

plaintiffs’ constitutionally protected rights. Nor do such

transfers constitute any sort of “compulsion” to waive

their Fifth Amendment rights.

II. The Report and Recommendation.

At this juncture, the court pauses to address the

Magistrate Judge’s Report and Recommendation because,

if one of the premises underlying that report is correct, it

obviously undermines the court’s disposition of defen-

dant’s motion to dismiss, as well as its decision not to

accept the Magistrate Judge’s recommendation that a pre-

liminary injunction be issued.

Although not advanced by plaintiffs in their petition,

the Magistrate Judge considered whether prison authori-

ties could lawfully refuse to even consider an inmate for

parole if he had not completed the sexual offender pro-

gram. Defendant has readily acknowledged that, under

New Hampshire law, inmates do enjoy a statutory right

to a parole hearing following completion of the minimum

term of their sentence (it is parole itself, not a parole

hearing, to which they have no right). Consequently, as

the Magistrate Judge noted, if prison authorities refused

to grant a statutorily qualified inmate a parole hearing

until he first completed the sexual offender program, that

inmate might have a legitimate basis for complaint.

However, the evidence adduced at the hearing sug-

gests that the prison does, in fact, consider all eligible

inmates for parole (and occasionally actually grants

parole to sexual offenders who have not completed the

ee

App. 40

treatment program). No evidence was presented estab-

lishing that any plaintiff was eligible for, but was denied,

a parole hearing simply because he had not completed

the sexual offender program. John Eckert, Executive

Assistant to the Parole Board, testified that successful

completion of the sexual offender program is just a factor,

among others, the Board considers when deciding

whether to grant parole, albeit a significant factor. He

also testified that “a handful [of inmates] a year, two or

three perhaps” are granted parole notwithstanding the

fact that they have not completed the program. (That

number represents somewhere between 3% and 6% of all

sexual offenders paroled annually.) Lance Messinger,

Director of the Sexual Offender Program, provided simi-

lar testimony. Finally, none of the plaintiffs who testified

at that hearing said that he had been denied a parole

hearing simply based upon his refusal to participate in the

sexual offender program. In fact, plaintiffs’ amended

petition acknowledges that at least one plaintiff was

granted a parole hearing notwithstanding his failure to

participate in the program. See First Amended Petition, at

para. 4(q).

In any event, plaintiffs’ petition does not assert that

they have unlawfully been denied parole hearings. See

generally First Amended Petition for Declaratory and

Injunctive Relief (claiming only that satisfactory comple-

tion of the sexual offender program is a de facto condi-

tion of parole, not a precondition to receiving a parole

hearing). A claim that plaintiffs have been denied all

consideration for parole describes a different case that

must be presented in a new complaint; of course, under

the strictures of Fed.R.Civ.P. 11. At this point, however, it

a

App. 41

would be inappropriate for the court to rule on a claim

that was neither presented in plaintiffs’ petition nor

addressed in the parties’ subsequent filings.

III. Fifth Amendment Concerns and Immunizing

Inmates.

Finally, the court briefly addresses a concern identi-

fied in the Report and Recommendation. The Magistrate

Judge alluded to a problem arising from the requirement

that participants in the sexual offender program disclose

and accept responsibility for all past sexual misconduct,

including both charged and uncharged conduct. Because

inmates are not granted any sort of immunity from pros-

ecution (and because evidence produced at the hearing

suggests that they might well be prosecuted for such

conduct), the program’s requirements create a strong dis-

incentive for some inmates to participate. That disincen-

tive is unfortunate (and perhaps unintended) since

Statistics maintained by the State suggest that partici-

pants in the sexual offender program are far less likely to

re-offend than are those offenders who receive no treat-

ment. The State’s data suggest that the public may be

better served if, prior to his release, a sexual offender

participates in (and successfully completes) the treatment

program.

Nevertheless, whether to grant immunity (and

thereby eliminate an impediment to some inmates’ mean-

ingful participation) is a policy matter committed to the

State’s discretion. This court cannot prescribe the criteria

for admission to the sexual offender treatment program,

or extend immunity to its participants.

App. 42

Conclusion

Defendant’s motion to dismiss (document no. 8) is

granted. Plaintiffs’ claims that the completion of the sex-

ual offender program is a “de facto” condition of parole

and that the risk of transfer within the prison amount to

unconstitutional compulsions to waive their Fifth

Amendment right against self-incrimination fail to state

viable causes of action. The Clerk of Court shall enter

judgment in accordance with this order and close the

case.

SO ORDERED.

/s/ Steven J. McAuliffe

Steven J. McAuliffe

United States District Judge

May 18, 2000

cc: Michael J. Sheehan, Esq.

Daniel J. Mullen, Esq.

App. 43

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

DISTRICT OF NEW HAMPSHIRE

Wayne Ainsworth, et all.

v. Civil No. 99-447-M

Edda Cantor, Acting Commissioner

N.H. Dept. of Corrections, et al.

REPORT AND RECOMMENDATION

(Filed Febr. 3, 2000)

Plaintiffs are 23 inmates at the New Hampshire State

Prison who brought this action seeking review of the

prison’s sexual offender rehabilitative programs, which

they claim deprive them of their right against self-incrim-

ination in violation of the Fifth Amendment. They moved

for a preliminary injunction, which was referred to me for

a recommendation of disposition. See 28 U.S.C. § 636(b)(1)

(B). An evidentiary hearing was held on December 22,

1999, at which four plaintiffs and four prison officials

testified. After carefully considering the evidence and

legal arguments submitted by both sides, for the reasons

set forth below, I recommend that the motion for prelimi-

nary injunction (documents no. 5), and the amended peti-

tion for injunctive relief (document no. 13), be granted.

Discussion

1. Background

Plaintiffs are all convicted sexual offenders. As part

of its rehabilitation programs, the New Hampshire State

Prison (“NHSP”) offers two sexual offender programs, an

App. 44

“Intensive Sexual Offender Program” and an “Enhanced

Relapse Prevention Program.” See Plaintiffs’ Exhibit 1,

NHSP Sexual Offender Programs manual. The manual

explains “(t]he major difference between the two pro-

grams are quantitative, not qualitative,” as “the basic

admission criteria, program objectives and goals and

completion requirements are the same for both [pro-

grams].” Id. at 10. Accordingly, I will refer to both pro-

grams by the single acronym, the “SOP.”

Most convicted sexual offenders are required to suc-

cessfully complete the SOP before being considered for

parole. Those sexual offenders who participate do so

because participation was required as part of the sentence

imposed, or it was recommended by a prison official, or it

could lead to a reduced sentence or earlier release on

parole. Not all those recommended for the program, how-

ever, actually complete it. There are more inmates who

need the SOP than it can accommodate. As a result,

admission to the program is selective.

Admission to the SOP follows a set procedure. The

inmate must initiate the process, by requesting program-

ming with his correctional counselor or case manager. See

id. at 3. The counselor then submits a referral form to the

program coordinator, who enters the information

received into a sexual offender data base which tracks all

referred offenders. See id. When the inmate is within two

years of his minimum parole date, he is interviewed to

determine whether he meets the program’s eligibility

requirements. Those eligibility requirements include,

among other things, that the inmate “admits offending

[conduct] which is consistent with victim reports.” See id.,

“Selection Criteria.” If he satisfies the other remaining

App. 45

criteria, generally the inmate will be assigned to either

SOP program depending on his treatment needs. See id.

Evidence elicited at the hearing demonstrated that

inmates are not admitted to the SOP if they refuse to

accept responsibility not only for the offense[s] for which

they were convicted, but also for any other reported

offenses.! Plaintiff Donald Carter testified that he has

been denied admission because he refuses to admit to

sexually assaulting a daughter named Kelly. This testi-

mony was substantiated by the prison’s response to his

third request for admission, when Lance Messinger, the

director of the SOP, replied to Carter, “Are you now

willing to admit your offending against Kelly?” Plaintiff's

Exhibit 5. Another plaintiff, Carl Graf, testified that he

has been denied admission to the SOP because he refuses

to accept responsibility for the offense which led to his

incarceration. He had testified at his trial that he was not

guilty of the charges lodged against him, and his convic-

tion is on appeal; however, if he participates in the SOP

he could get two years taken off his minimum sentence.

The remaining two plaintiffs who testified, Wayne

Ainsworth and Kevin Badger, have been denied access to

the SOP because each refuses to admit guilt of their

crimes of conviction because each of them claims to be

innocent.

1 The program anticipates offenders will admit to their

entire deviant sexual history, whether or not known to prison

officials; -however, if specific offenses have been reported by

victims and are, therefore, known by the prison, the evidence

showed that, at a minimum, the NHSP required the offender to

acknowledge that particular behavior.

App. 46

Once in the program, continued acceptance of

responsibility for past sexual misconduct is expected of

the inmate. Messinger testified that being “open and

honest” about past deviant sexual conduct was a critical

component of rehabilitation. See e.g., id. at 9 (listing

among the criteria for program completion acceptance of

“full responsibility .. . for offending without minimizing

or blaming others”). In Phase I of the SOP, clinical group

therapy requires participants to provide “full and open

disclosure, sexual autobiography, contributing factors in

offending.” Id. at 5. These disclosures, however, are not

protected by any grant of immunity or assurance of confi-

dentiality. The SOP “Treatment Contract,” id. at 12, speci-

fically provides for the participant to agree to sign an

“Acknowledgment of Confidentiality” waiver.

Messinger testified that although he is concerned

about how the program affects inmates’ right against self-

incrimination, he does not have the authority to immu-

nize his patients from potential criminal liability for

admissions made in the program. Evidence elicited at the

hearing demonstrated that at least one participant was

prosecuted for an offense admitted during treatment.

Messinger explained that he has a duty to report

uncharged offenses learned of during treatment and,

although he tries to arrange for immunity, the decision

whether to pursue charges lies with the appropriate pros-

ecuting authorities.

John Eckart, the executive assistant to the N.H. Adult

Parole Board, testified that among the factors considered

by the Parole Board is whether the inmate has completed

the SOP and that, as a general rule, a sexual offender will

not be considered for parole unless he has completed the

App. 47

SOP. A few sexual offenders, however, are released with-

out having completed the SOP while incarcerated, but

only about two or three annually. Other sexual offenders

are paroled without completing the SOP if they were not

designated to receive the institutional program, but those

parolees receive community based sexual offender reha-

bilitation programming.?

Finally, the evidence showed that prisoners at the

NHSP are moved from: one building to another for a

variety of reasons, including as incentive for desired

behavior and as punishment for aberrant behavior.

Although plaintiffs claim they are punished for not par-

ticipating in the SOP by being moved from “South”

building, a desired housing location, to “Hancock” or

“H” building, a less desirable alternative, the evidence

failed to substantiate that contention. Both buildings are

medium security housing units, although the testimony

consistently described South as the preferred housing

assignment because of its accommodating features. The

NHSP generally tries to move sexual offenders into South

as an incentive to participate in the SOP, and when such

moves are made others are transferred out of South who

have not cooperated with the prison’s rehabilitation

efforts. The evidence demonstrated that most of the

prison’s sexual offender population is housed in South,

2 Eckart testified that between 55-75 sexual offenders have

been paroled annually since 1996.

3 In fact, the one inmate Eckart spoke of who had just been

released without completing the SOP was required to

participate in a community based sexual offender rehabilitation

program.

ee

App. 48

but sexual offenders are dispersed throughout the institu-

tion. Testimony at the hearing suggested the NHSP had a

policy of transferring uncooperative sexual offenders

from South to Hancock if they refused to participate in

the SOP, but, of the plaintiffs, only Ainsworth has actu-

ally been moved, and it was unclear whether his transfer

was pursuant to that policy. The other plaintiffs who

testified had not been moved because of their nonpar-

ticipation in the SOP.4

\

2. Standard of Review

Whether a preliminary injunction should be issued

depends on the plaintiffs’ showing of (1) their likelihood

of success on the merits of their claims, (2) the potential

for irreparable harm if the injunction is denied, (3) the

balance of hardship to the plaintiffs if the injunction is

denied compared to the defendant’s hardship if it is

granted, and (4) the effect, if any, of the court’s decision

on the public interest. See Ross-Simons of Warwick, Inc. v.

Baccarat, Inc., 102 F.3d 12, 15 (1st Cir. 1996). “Likelihood

of success is the main bearing wall of the four-factor

framework.” Id. at 16 (citing precedent). As a result, if

plaintiffs are unable to convince the court that they are

likely to succeed on the merits, they will not obtain the

injunction sought. See Weaver v. Henderson, 984 F.2d 11, 12

(1st Cir. 1993) (explaining how likelihood of success is the

“sine qua non” of the preliminary injunction analysis).

* Badger and Graf testified they were still housed in South;

Carter has been housed in Hancock since he was first

incarcerated in 1998.

App. 49

In this action, plaintiffs pursue the single issue of

whether the SOP’s “open and honest” requirement vio-

lates the Fifth Amendment by causing them to potentially

incriminate themselves. Plaintiffs are not contending that

they have any liberty interest in parole or in being con-

sidered for parole, or any liberty interest in being housed

in a particular building at the NHSP. Instead, they weave

those issues into their Fifth Amendment claim. They

assert the SOP policy of requiring each participant to

admit to past deviant sexual conduct before admission

into or successful completion of the program exposes

them to potential future criminal liability. They further

contend that the NHSP practice of not considering them

for parole and moving them out of favorable housing

conditions into more restrictive environments if they

refuse to participate in the SOP are sufficiently coercive

responses to their decision not to make certain admis-

sions to constitute the compulsion element of a Fifth

Amendment violation. The success: of plaintiffs’ Fifth

Amendment claim turns on this narrow issue, of whether

the prison’s response to plaintiffs’ refusal to make the

self-incriminating admissions constitutes compulsion.

(a) The Merits of Plaintiffs’ Claims.

The Fifth Amendment of the U.S. Constitution, which

applies to the States through the Fourteenth Amendment,

see Allen v. Illinois, 478 U.S. 364, 368 (1986), provides “No

person .. . shall be compelled in any criminal case to be a

witness against himself... . ” The privilege extends not

just “to answers that would in themselves support a

conviction . . . but likewise embraces those which would

/

App. 50

furnish a link in the chain of evidence needed to pros-

ecute the claimant... .” Hoffman v. United States, 341 U.S.

479, 486 (1951) (discussing the scope of the privilege

asserted before a federal grand jury). It is well-settled

that the privilege

“not only permits a person to refuse to testify

against himself at a criminal trial in which he is

a defendant, but also ‘privileges him not to

answer Official questions put to him in any other

proceeding, civil or criminal, formal or informal,

where the answers might incriminate him in

future criminal proceedings.’ ”

Allen, 478 U.S. at 368 (quoting Supreme Court precedent).

The privilege extends to convicted inmates to protect

them from being compelled to make incriminating state-

ments regarding any crime other than that for which they

have been convicted. See Minnesota v. Murphy, 465 U.S.

420, 426 (1984) (discussing the scope of the Fifth Amend-

ment privilege probationers enjoy); see also U.S. v.. Perez-

Franco, 873 F.2d 455, 462 (1st Cir. 1989) (explaining how

defendants who plead guilty are still protected by the

privilege for other crimes that are not part of the agree-

ment); Lile v. McKune, 24 F. Supp. 2d 1152, 1156

(D.Kan.1998) (citing Baxter v. Palmigiano, 425 U.S. 308

(1976) to extend the privilege to inmates).

The Fifth Amendment problem in this case arises out

of the SOP policy of requiring participants to admit to

their deviant sexual history. This policy would violate the

Fifth Amendment if: (1) the SOP program is considered a

“proceeding,” within the meaning of the Fifth Amend-

ment; (2) if the answers sought are self-incriminating; and

(3) if the answers are in some way compelled by the

App. 51

government. The first two elements of a Fifth Amend-

ment claim are readily satisfied based on the facts before

the court; the third element, that of compulsion, however,

is more problematic. Each element is discussed below in

turn.

As part of its selection process and treatment pro-

gram, the SOP requires inmates to admit to and accept

responsibility for all prior deviant sexual behavior,

including unreported or uncharged offenses. Because the

SOP is a structured rehabilitation program with very

specific admission procedures, selection criteria, and

treatment goals and objectives to achieve, see e.g. Plain-

tiffs’ Exhibit 1, I believe it falls within the meaning of an

informal administrative proceeding, see Allen, 478 U.S. at

368, for purposes of this Fifth Amendment analysis. See

Perez-Franco, 873 F.2d at 462 (applying the privilege to an

interview with a probation officer conducted as part of a

pre-sentence report and explaining that the privilege

depends on the incriminating nature of the answers

sought, not on the nature of the proceeding in which the

questions are asked).

Likewise, the requirement that all participants

“admit[ ] offending [conduct] which is consistent with

victim reports,” Plaintiff’s Exhibit 1 at 3, with no grant of

immunity or guarantee of confidentiality, is patently self-

incriminating. The evidence was clear and consistent that

an inmate would have to be “open and honest” about his

entire history of sexual misconduct, including uncharged

or unreported deviant behavior. See e.g. id. at 5 (describ-

ing group therapy in phase I of the program as requiring

“full and open disclosure, sexual autobiography”), 12 (the

App. 52

SOP Treatment Contract’s first condition requires the par-

ticipant to “agree to be complete[ly] open and honest and

assume full responsibility for [his] offenses and [his]

behavior.”). The evidence also clearly and consistently

showed that such admissions could and would be used

against the inmate in future criminal proceedings. See e.g.

id. at 12, Treatment Contract, waiver of confidentiality

provision. Messinger testified that although he has

sought immunity for SOP participants, he has been

unable to guarantee such protection, that he has a duty to

report disclosures made in the SOP, and that the pros-

ecuting authorities determine whether to pursue charges.

Clearly, then, with respect to conduct of which they have

not been convicted, the inmates are required to incrimi-

nate themselves within the meaning of the Fifth Amend-

ment. See Hoffman, 341 U.S. at 486-87 (explaining that the

privilege may be asserted whenever it is “evident from

the implications of the question, in the setting in which it

is asked, that a responsive answer to the question or an

explanation of why it cannot be answered might be dan-

gerous because injurious disclosure could result.”); see

also Allen, 478 U.S. at 368 (citing precedent to demonstrate

the Supreme Court’s well-settled holding that the privi-

lege affords protection where answers might lead to

future criminal proceedings).

The third and final component of a Fifth Amendment

violation, that such self-incriminating statements are

compelled by the government, is the critical element of

plaintiffs’ claim. There is no dispute that participation in

the SOP is entirely voluntary, even if it is recommended

by the NHSP or as part of a sentence, because refusal to

participate merely results in the inmate serving the full

aia Ti saaeaeaaiiemimmneneaenaemmemmemmneaeiimeaememmmmmeanemeiaee

App. 53

sentence originally imposed. The resolution of this case

turns on whether there is any compulsion in this volun-

tary program.

Compulsion has been found where the government

threatens “ ‘potent sanctions,” Lile, 24 F. Supp. 2d at

1158, or some other penalty if the answers sought are not

provided. See Perez-Franco, 873 F.2d at 462-63 (discussing

cases where the Supreme Court has found a Fifth Amend-

ment violation because of the threatened or imposed

penalty for failing to answer). An answer is not volun-

tarily given if it is given only to avoid a penalty, because

that denies the individual a “ ‘free choice to admit, to

deny or to refuse to answer.’ ” Minnesota v. Murphy, 465

U.S. at 429.

In each of the so-called “penalty” cases, the

State not only compelled an individual to

appear and testify, but also sought to induce

him to forgo the Fifth Amendment privilege by

threatening to impose economic or other sanc-

tions “capable of forcing the self-incrimination

which the Amendment forbids.” In most of the

cases, the attempt to override the witnesses’

privilege proved unsuccessful, and the Court

ruled that the State could not constitutionally

make good on its prior threat. These cases make

clear that “a State may not impose substantial

penalties because a witness elects to exercise his

Fifth Amendment right not to give incriminat-

ing testimony against himself.”

Id. at 434 (citations omitted). Thus, if a substantial pen-

alty is likely to result for failing to respond to the ques-

tion asked, the incriminating disclosure is considered

App. 54

compelled, even if it was voluntarily given. See Perez-

Franco, 873 F.2d at 462.

Plaintiffs argue here that the NHSP in fact compels

the self-incriminating statements by (i) conditioning con-

sideration for parole on successful completion of the SOP

and (ii) transferring inmates to less desirable housing if

they refuse to make the admissions and participate in the

SOP. Their housing argument may be summarily dis-

missed, because it is well-settled that inmates have no

constitutional right to any specific housing in any partic-

ular institution. See Olim v. Wakinekona, 461 U.S. 238, 244

(1983) (citing Meachum v. Fano, 427 U.S. 215 (1976) and

Montanye v. Haymes, 427 U.S. 236 (1976) to support the

conclusion that prisoners have no liberty interest protect-

ing them from either intrastate or interstate transfers); see

also State v. Peabody, 121 N.H. 1075, 1078-79, 438 A.2d 305

(1981) (explaining that the warden determines the “terms,

conditions, and place of incarceration once a person has

been sentenced to the New Hampshire State Prison”).

Moreover, the evidence was consistent that the mini-

mal transfers which have been made have been to hous-

ing at the same custody classification. There was no

evidence of punitive transfers having been made as a

result of any refusal to admit prior sexual misconduct.

While one prison building may be more accommodating

than another, absent any evidence of a punitive transfer

into a higher security level unit, the housing decisions

appear to be “ ‘within the normal limits or range of

custody which the conviction has authorized the State to

impose.’ ” Olim, 461 U.S. at 246-47 (quoting Meachum, 427

U.S. at 225). Accordingly, I find plaintiffs have failed to

demonstrate that any transfers, or threat of transfers, of

App. 55

sexual offenders have imposed a “penalty” which could

be understood as compelling them to provide the self-

incriminating statements required by the SOP to establish

a Fifth Amendment violation.

On the other hand, the allegation that plaintiffs are

denied consideration for parole is a more onerous

response. New Hampshire law reflects a clear policy to

release inmates on parole as “a means of supervising and

rehabilitating offenders without continued incarceration

and a means by which prisoners can be aided in the

transition from prison to society.” N.H.Rev.Stat. Ann.

(“RSA”) 651-A:1 (1996). It is well-settled, however, that

release on parole is considered a privilege within the

discretion of the state adult parole board, not a right

prisoners can expect to have protected. See e.g. Baker v.

Cunningham, 128 N.H. 374, 380-81, 513 A.2d 956 (1986)

(holding New Hampshire law does not create a constitu-

tional or statutory right to parole); see also Bussiere v.

Cunningham, 132 N.H. 747, 752-52, 571 A.2d 908 (1990)

(explaining how the parole board rules do not limit the

board’s discretion to give rise to a protected liberty inter-

est in parole). Yet what is at issue here is not the right to

be released on parole, but the right to be considered for

parole. If plaintiffs have some right to be considered for

parole, which the NHSP deprives them of when they

refuse to provide the details of their deviant sexual his-

tory, then the NHSP has created the classic “penalty”

situation which denies plaintiffs of “ ‘the free choice to

admit, to deny, or to refuse to answer,’ ” Perez-Franco, 873

F.2d at 462, that violates the Fifth Amendment.

App. 56

Under New Hampshire law, a prisoner

may be released on parole upon the expiration

of the minimum term of his sentence, minus any

credits received pursuant to RSA 651-A:23, plus

the disciplinary period added to such minimum

under RSA 651:2, Il-e, any part of which is not

reduced for good conduct as provided in RSA

651-A:22, provided that there shall appear to the

adult parole board, after having given the notice

required . . . to be a reasonable probability that

he will remain at liberty without violating the

law and will conduct himself as a good citizen.

RSA 651-A:6, I (1996). This provision also addresses when

inmates serving multiple sentences may first be consid-

ered for parole. See RSA 651-A:6, II. These statutes create

an expectation that any inmate will be considered for, not

released on, parole approximately two years before the

completion of his minimum sentence, adjusted to account

for his prison record.5 Thus while the right to parole must

be earned and is a privilege, see e.g. Bussiere, 132 N.H. at

753, eligibility for parole arises automatically with the

passage of time. See RSA 651-A:6, I. And yet, under the

current system, plaintiffs are not considered for parole

unless they are willing to make incriminating admissions,

° This expectation is bolstered by the parole board’s

practice of, in fact, usually considering sexual offenders for

parole approximately two years before the minimum release

date based on their sentence. See e.g. Plaintiff’s Exhibit 1 at 3

(“When an inmate is within two years of his MPD (Minimum

Parole Date) or possible parole date as determined by possible

sentence reduction, then an interview will be set up to

determine whether or not an offender meets the program

eligibility requirements.”).

Se

App. 57

even though they are statutorily eligible to be considered

for release on parole.

All four plaintiffs who testified at the hearing stated

that they had been denied admission to the SOP because

of their refusal to admit to specific criminal conduct, and

none of them has been considered for parole.6 The New

Hampshire Supreme Court addressed a challenge to the

SOP like that asserted here in Knowles v. Warden, 140 N.H.

387, 666 A.2d 972 (1995). The Court held that the SOP

admission policy did not violate the Fifth Amendment

because the inmate s freedom to choose not to admit his

guilt or not to participate in the SOP eliminated the

element of “compulsion” needed for a Fifth Amendment

violation. “The plaintiff's refusal to admit guilt will not

cause him to serve additional prison time; he simply may

be required to serve the sentence he received originally.”

Id. at 393. In distinguishing a case which found a Fifth .

Amendment violation where probation was revoked for

failing to admit guilt of the crime of conviction, the Court

concluded that a decision-to deny parole was quali-

tatively different from a decision to revoke parole once

granted, since the inmate’s interest in parole before

release is merely a hope. Id.

While that analysis could dispose of the present

~ claim, the facts in Knowles, at least as presented by the

Court, are distinguishable. First and most significantly,

the plaintiff there refused only to accept responsibility for

6 Carter and Graf testified that if they successfully

complete the SOP, not only could they be considered for parole,

but they could petition the court for, in Carter’s case, a

suspension, and in Graf’s case, a reduction, of their sentences.

aii

App. 58

the crimes of which he had been convicted. See id. at 388;

see also Brooker v. Warden, No. 98-466-JD, slip op. at 12-13

(D.N.H. June 22, 1999) (dismissing similar Fifth Amend-

ment challenge to the SOP admissions policy where the

plaintiff was “not compelled to make statements about

other criminal acts”); Knowles v. Cunningham, No. 96-228-

JD, slip op. at 7-8 (D.N.H. Jan. 24, 1997) (similar unsuc-

cessful challenge where petitioner was required to admit

guilt as to only the conduct for which he was convicted).

Since the plaintiffs’ conviction extinguishes their right

against self-incrimination regarding the acts for which \

they were convicted, see Reina v. United States, 364 U.S.

507, 513 (1960); United States v. Johnson, 488 F.2d 1206,

= 1209 (1st Cir. 1973) (“conviction, of course, removed any

claim of privilege based upon liability for that offense”);

see also United States v. Albert, 773 F.2d 386, 389 (1st Cir.

1985) (affirming assertion of privilege not for the crime to

which witness pled guilty but to protect testimony that

could lead to other charges), the problem arises with the

requirement to admit to as yet uncharged crimes. See id.;

see also Johnson, 488 F.2d at 1209-10 (explaining that con-

viction of one crime does not “erase[ ] the privilege as it

relates to others”).

Based on the record before the court, one inmate was

required to do just that and was prosecuted based on his

admissions, and plaintiff Carter has been expected to

admit to criminal conduct his daughter Kelly has

reported.” Carter has been denied admission to the SOP

” The remaining three plaintiffs who testified, Ainsworth,

Badger and Graf, refused to accept responsibility for the crimes

for which they were convicted. Because their right against self-

ee

App. 59

apparently only because he refuses to admit to the con- -

duct Kelly has reported. Yet he testified that if he were to

complete the SOP, the remainder of his sentence would be

suspended. Thus his refusal to admit his guilt with

respect to Kelly, not with respect to the other victims for

whom he was convicted, is penalizing him by eliminating

his ability to have the remainder of his sentence sus-

pended. By contrast to the plaintiff in Knowles, here the

plaintiffs seek protection for admissions regarding unre-

ported and uncharged crimes.

Second, the Court summarized one of the SOP objec-

tive’s as requiring “self-disclosure of the inmates entire

sexual offending history.” Id.; see also Knowles, No. 96-228-

JD, slip op. at 3 n. 1 (finding that disclosure of sexual

history was an objective of the SOP, not a criterion for

admission to it). The evidence at the hearing consistently

demonstrated that the SOP required the offenders to

admit openly their sexual autobiography, as part of the

admission procedure and group therapy. Messinger

incrimination with respect to that conduct was extinguished by

their convictions, see Reina, 364 U.S. at 513, they do not have a

Fifth Amendment claim based on the current record of just that

criminal conduct. Graf, however, testified that because his

conviction is on appeal, and he took the stand during his trial

and denied his guilt, he would not admit to it now. Clearly such

an admission would create the risk of perjury charges based on

his trial testimony. Moreover, there are 19 other plaintiffs in this

action; what their individual circumstances are regarding their

sexual history is not yet in evidence. Messinger’s testimony

substantiated plaintiffs’ allegation that they are required to

admit to conduct which, as yet, may not have been reported, let

alone charged against them. The potential for self-

incrimination, therefore, is real.

App. 60°

clearly testified that offenders were required to be “open

and honest,” which meant specific admissions which

could be, and in fact have been, used against inmates in

other criminal proceedings. These facts were not before

the New Hampshire Supreme Court when it determined

that the SOP policy, as applied to the plaintiff there, did

not compel incriminating answers. Accordingly, I am not

persuaded that the result in Knowles disposes of the issue

presented here.

The facts here demonstrate that sexual offenders may

not be considered for parole if they have not completed

the SOP or, in other words, have not made potentially

incriminating admissions about other crimes they com-

mitted in the past. Although Eckart testified that in a few

exceptional cases sexual offenders have been released

without completing the SOP, the evidence supported the

general rule that sexual offenders must complete the SOP

before the parole board will even consider whether

release on parole would be appropriate.® A policy of

denying consideration for parole if an offender asserts his

Fifth Amendment right may be inferred from the parole

board’s practice, even though it is not explicit in the

parole statute or rules. See Minnesota v. Murphy, 465 U.S.

at 435 (holding that the State there could have created the

“classic penalty situation” “if [it], either expressly or by

implication, asserts that invocation of the privilege would

lead to revocation of probation”).

8 Plaintiffs Graf and Carter are faced not just with the loss

of consideration for parole, but also with the loss of a right to

petition the court for a reduction and suspension of their

respective sentences.

ee

App. 61

In other “penalty” cases, the loss, or threatened loss,

of a job, or other economic hardship has constituted a

sufficient sanction to find compulsion on the part of the

government. See e.g. Minnesota v. Murphy, 465 U.S. at

434-35 (citing cases); Garrity v. New Jersey, 385 U.S. 493

(1967) (threatened discharge from employment for failing

to provide the incriminating answers sought constituted

compulsion); Uniformed Sanitation Men v. Commissioner of

Sanitation, 392 U.S. 280, 284 (1968) (same); Perez-Franco,

873 F.2d at 462-63 (summarizing Supreme Court prece-

dent as settling “ ‘that government cannot penalize asser-

tion of the constitutional privilege against compelled self-

incrimination by imposing sanctions to compel testimony

which has not been immunized.’ ”) (quoting Lefkowitz v.

Cunningham, 431 U.S. 801, 806 (1977)). Also, refusing to

give credit for a statutory sentence reduction where the

_ defendant accepted responsibility for only one count of a

multi-count indictment has been held to impose a penalty

in violation of the Fifth Amendment. See id. at 463-65; see

also United States v. Corbin, 988 F.2d 1377, 1389-90 (7th Cir.

1993) (noting a split among the courts of appeals and

citing cases consistent with Perez-Franco’s holding).

The evidence presented in support of this prelimi-

nary injunction motion showed that plaintiffs were not

considered for parole because of their refusal to abide by

the SOP admissions policy, despite any statutory eligi-

bility for parole consideration. If potential economic

losses or longer sentences create penalties which are sub-

stantial enough to satisfy the compulsion element of a

Fifth Amendment violation, then the loss of the right to

be considered for parole, or to be considered for a reduc-

tion or suspension of one’s sentence, would appear to be

App. 62

at least as onerous of a sanction. See Perez-Franco, 873 F.2d

at 463 (finding “imprisonment is one of a wide variety of

penalties which can serve to trigger a constitutional viola-

tion”); Lile, 24 F. Supp. 2d at 1158-59 (holding loss of

privileges and transfers to maximum custody were suffi-

ciently penalizing to compel self-incriminating admis-

sions); cf. Minnesota v. Murphy, 465 U.S. at 435-37 (finding

no Fifth Amendment violation because the probationer

was not faced with a choice between remaining silent and

having his probation revoked or incriminating himself).

* I reach this conclusion even in light of the Supreme

Court’s recent decision in Ohio Adult Parole Authority v.

Woodward, ____ U.S. __, 118 S. Ct. 1244 (1998). In Woodward, the

Court held Ohio’s clemency procedure did not violate the Fifth

Amendment, because the challenged clemency interview was

voluntary. Although the inmate was facing death and was not

guaranteed immunity for any answers provided during the

interview, the Court found no compulsion because any

“undoubted pressures - generated by the strength of the

Government’s case against him - pushing the criminal

defendant to [be interviewed]” did not constitute “compulsion”

for Fifth Amendment purposes. Id. at 1253. The Court

concluded that “this pressure to speak in the hope of improving

his chance of being granted clemency does not make the

interview compelled.” Id . In Woodward, the inmate’s refusal to

be interviewed, however, did not eliminate his right to a

clemency hearing before the parole board, a clemency

recommendation to the governor by the parole board, or a final

decision by the governor on the clemency issue. He, therefore,

was not faced with the choice between self-incrimination or loss

of his life, as some courts have found, see e.g. Searcy v. Simmons,

68 F. Supp. 2d 1197, 1201 (D.Kan. 1999) (holding that if the

choice in Woodward between self-incrimination or loss of life

was not sufficient compulsion to render the answers

involuntary, then the choice between loss of privileges or self-

incrimination cannot be compulsion under the Fifth

App. 63

While ultimate success on the merits is far from

certain, I find at this preliminary stage of the proceedings

that plaintiffs are likely to prevail on the merits of their

claim with respect to denial of consideration for parole.

In other cases where no Fifth Aznendment violation has

been found despite the elicitation of self-incriminating

answers, generally immunity has been provided by the

government. See e.g. Allen, 478 U.S. at 367-68 (holding

Illinois’ requirement that sexual offenders submit to com-

pulsory examinations under its “Sexually Dangerous Per-

sons Act” does not violate the Fifth Amendment because

the proceedings are civil and the answers provided could

not be used against the offender in any subsequent crimi-

nal proceeding); Neal v. Shimoda, 131 F.3d 818, 833 (9th

Cir. 1997) (finding no Fifth Amendment violation despite

the compelled incriminating answers because any admis-

sion made could not be used against the plaintiffs); Grand

Jury Subpoenas v. United States, 40 F.3d 1096, 1101-03

(allowing the grand jury to consider compelled state-

ments as long as they are not the basis of future criminal

prosecution against the speaker) (10th Cir. 1994); see gen-

erally Kastigar v. United States, 406 U.S. 441, 448 (1972)

(affirming the constitutionality of immunity statutes

which enable the government to obtain incriminating

Amendment), because his right and ability to be considered for

clemency remained intact. By contrast, in the instant case

plaintiffs’ refusal to answer eliminates, for all practical

purposes, any chance of being considered for release on parole

or having a sentence reduced or suspended. I, therefore, still

conclude at this preliminary stage in the proceedings based on

that evidence which is currently before the court, that the NHSP

has created a substantial penalty which compels the answers

sought.

App. 64

answers in return for immunity from prosecution based

on those answers); Minnesota v. Murphy, 465 U.S. at 435 n.

7 (“Our cases indicate, moreover, that a State may validly

insist on answers to even incriminating questions and

hence sensibly administer its probation system, as long as

it recognizes that the required answers may not be used.

in a criminal proceeding and thus eliminates the threat of

incrimination.”). A similar accommodation for plaintiffs

here would appear to reasonably balance the State’s inter-

est in successfully rehabilitating sexual offenders with the

plaintiffs’ Fifth Amendment rights.!°

(2) The Remaining Factors.

The remaining factors tip the scales in favor of grant-

ing a preliminary injunction. The loss of liberty which

would result from a future criminal conviction for con-

duct admitted to in the course of the SOP would harm the

plaintiff in a manner which could not be redressed with

money damages. More importantly, however, both the

balancing of the equities factor and the public interest

factor weigh heavily towards granting the injunction

10 For a discussion of efforts which have been made to

balance the conflict between the State’s interest in rehabilitation

and public safety and the plaintiffs’ interest in not incriminating

themselves, see Scott Michael Solkoff, Note, Judicial Use

Immunity and the Privilege against Self-Incrimination in Court

Mandated Therapy Programs, 17 Nova L.Rev. 1441 (1993).

Significantly, protecting plaintiffs from future prosecution

based on admissions made during rehabilitation would not

prevent the government from prosecuting a plaintiff based on

evidence independently obtained. See id. at 1490.

App. 65

sought. The evidence showed that successful rehabilita-

tion requires inmates to admit their deviant sexual histo-

ries, and successful rehabilitation reduces the recidivism

rate by as much as 50%. It is clearly in the public’s

interest to have these plaintiffs rehabilitated, yet the cur-

rent SOP admissions policy has repelled them and has

created a situation in which sexual offenders may com-

plete their sentences and be entitled to release from incar-

ceration without getting the mental health care so critical

to the public safety. Under such circumstances and based

on the current record, I find that the four factors relevant

to the determination of whether or not a preliminary

injunction should be granted favor granting an injunc-

tion.

Conclusion

Accordingly, for the reasons set forth above, I recom-

mend that the plaintiffs’ request for a preliminary injunc-

tion be granted, but only as follows: defendants are

enjoined from conditioning admission to the SOP upon

an admission by plaintiffs to uncharged criminal conduct,

unless plaintiffs are immunized from use in any way of

those admissions in any subsequent criminal proceed-

ings. This recommendation is only for a preliminary

injunction, which means that, if accepted, it will be effec-

tive only for the duration of this lawsuit until the issues

raised herein may be disposed of finally.

Any objections to this Report and Recommendation

must be filed within ten (10) days of receipt of this notice.

Failure to file objections within the specified time waives

the right to appeal the district court’s order. See

Pn

App. 66

Unauthorized Practice of Law Committee v. Gordon, 979 F.2d

11, 13-14 (1st Cir. 1992); United States v. Valecia-Copete, 792

F.2d 4, 6 (1st Cir. 1986).

/s/ James R. Muirhead

James R. Muirhead

United States

Magistrate Judge

Date: February 3, 2000

cc: Michael J. Sheehan, Esq.

New Hampshire Dept. of Justice

Daniel J. Mullen, Esq.

App. 67

APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

No. 00-1678

HERBERT AINSWORTH, ET AL.,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.

COMMISSIONER, NEW HAMPSHIRE DEPARTMENT

a OF CORRECTIONS, HENRY RISLEY,

Defendant-Appellee.

BEFORE

TORRUELLA, Chief Judge,

SELYA, BOUDIN, LYNCH and LIPEZ Circuit Judges,

ORDER OF COURT

Entered: May 3, 2001

The panel of judges that rendered the decision in this

case having voted to deny the petition for rehearing and

the suggestion for the holding of a rehearing en banc

having been carefully considered by the judges of the

court in regular active service and a majority of said

judges not having voted to order that the appeal be heard

or reheard by the court en banc,

App. 68

It is ordered that the petition for rehearing and the

suggestion for rehearing en banc be denied.

By the Court:

Phoebe D. Morse, Clerk

By: JANICE M. O’NEIL

Chief Deputy Clerk

[cc: Messrs. Sheehan and Livernois]

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Ainsworth v. Stanley, Commissioner, New Hampshire Department of Corrections · 536 U.S. 953 | Frix