Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Marshall v. Nelson Electric

Supreme Court brief1994

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Roprems Cort, U8

93-662 FILED

OCT 2 7 1993

é rt (oer ate it se . J

Urewc OF THE CLERK

{

No. 93-___

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1993

+

DEBORAH S. MARSHALL,

Petitioner,

V.

NELSON ELECTRIC, a unit of

General Signal, and LUTHER NOAH,

Respondents.

+

Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Tenth Circuit

+

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

+

SANDRA L. TOLLIVER*

Substitute Counsel for

Mary W. Morris, Deceased

Morris & Morris

1616 S. Denver Ave.

Tulsa, OK 74119

(918) 587-5514

Attorneys for Petitioner

*Counsel of Record

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I. Whether a Title VII plaintiff’s co.;duct in a sexu-

ally charged group environment bars a claim for hostile

working environment sexual harassment based on

unwelcome sexual advances, requests for sexual favors,

and other verbal or physical conduct of a sexual nature

by foreman in private.

II. Whether under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of

1964, sexual harassment by a “foreman” can create lia-

bility on the part of an employer for a hostile working

environment.

III. Whether the doctrine of the law of the case

prevents a second judge in a single lawsuit from taking

under advisement a statute of limitations defense pre-

sented on a repeated motion for summary judgment pre-

viously ruled on in a former motion for summary

judgment in favor of the petitioner by the first judge, then

inviting a motion for directed verdict on the same issue,

and thereafter granting a direct verdict and a judgment

notwithstanding the verdict.

IV. Whether the district court is required to follow

the jury’s factual findings when ruling on a Title VII cas:

although a j.n.o.v. is later granted on the grounds that the

case should not have gone to the jury.

li

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED 666s cccserceccdvsstenuews i

TABLE OF AUTTHOOIRERSe < is cccscncepiasnseeienees iv

OPINIONS BELOW. 66. sestectieeietn eee 1

FURIBDOCTIOIN «coco ce tdesexedsyyesaanaenenneea sae 2

STATUTES 0 os decks nepaenuadewet €104ter eee 2

STATEMENT OF THE CARB co se seuvecsserscdisss 3

Proceedings in the Court Below ...............+. 3

5) EET EE er re rr ete OG Da Fs 5

ARGUMENT 050 ccc vkdcvcvesverceuenseseteee em 9

A. INTRODUCTION, oo 6 <ciccicdenve Renee aiees 9

B. WHETHER A TITLE VII PLAINTIFF’S CON-

DUCT IN A SEXUALLY CHARGED GROUP

ENVIRONMENT BARS A CLAIM FOR HOSTILE

WORKING ENVIRONMENT SEXUAL HARASS-

MENT BASED ON UNWELCOME SEXUAL

ADVANCES, REQUESTS FOR SEXUAL FAVORS,

AND OTHER VERBAL OR PHYSICAL CON-

DUCT OF A SEXUAL NATURE BY FOREMAN

IN PRIVATE. «2+ 0+0c0vas scananeuaree peteeeeeae 9

C. WHETHER UNDER TITLE VII OF THE CIVIL

RIGHTS ACT OF 1964, SEXUAL HARASSMENT

BY A “FOREMAN” CAN CREATE LIABILITY

ON THE PART OF AN EMPLOYER FOR A HOS-

TILE WORKING ENVIRONMENT ............. 15

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

D. WHETHER THE DOCTRINE OF THE LAW OF

THE CASE PREVENTS A SECOND JUDGE IN A

SINGLE LAWSUIT FROM TAKING UNDER

ADVISEMENT A STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS

DEFENSE PRESENTED ON A REPEATED

MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT PREVI-

OUSLY RULED ON IN A FORMER MOTION FOR

SUMMARY JUDGMENT IN FAVOR OF THE PETI-

TIONER BY THE FIRST JUDGE, THEN INVITING

A MOTION FOR DIRECTED VERDICT ON THE

SAME ISSUE, AND THEREAFTER GRANTING A

DIRECTED VERDICT AND A JUDGMENT NOT-

WITHSTANDING THE VERDICT ...............

E. WHETHER THE DISTRICT COURT IS REQUIRED

TO FOLLOW THE JURY’S FACTUAL FINDINGS

WHEN RULING ON A TITLE VII CASE

ALTHOUGH A J.N.O.V. IS LATER GRANTED ON

THE GROUNDS THAT THE CASE SHOULD NOT

SE EE DEP EOEES FUPIES ccc sccrmccevecescess

A ee eee

APPENDIX

Order and Judgment of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Tenth Circuit dated June 29,

es Sree ds Soest OV esebicteees cores

Order of the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Oklahoma Granting

Respondents’ Motions for JNOV on the Inten-

tional Infliction of Emotional Distress Jury

Claim, Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law

on Title VII Non-Jury Claim, and Judgment

cae i esedbevebeeeucssees

Judgment of the United States District Court for

the Northern Disirict of Oklahoma dated June

Or iru ks 6 hui én caseveseeveseseese

19

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Baker v. Weyerhaeuser Co., 903 F.2d 1342 (10th Cir.

oo PETE POT Tr TPE rT CP OP ee rr Creer ey 24

Castle v. Sangamo Weston, Inc., 837 F.2d 1550 (11th

Coe Se cmc was Vaden ce enn Reena nec eee hs 25

Dept. of Natural Resources v. United States, 1 Cl. Ct.

FEE SEES os aA ROR RAN ae eo eE TEL oa NOES Orn: 21

Eastern Tunneling Corp. v. Southgate Sanitation Dis-

trict, 487 F.Supp. 109 (D. Colo. 1980).............. 20

Ellison v. Best Foods, 598 F. Supp. 159 (E.D. Ark.

SEG 6 cc Wh as CR a xeon bes ared any ce eae he caeieeaeee 10

Erie Conduit Corp. v. Metropolitan Asphalt Paving,

360 F. Sapp. BOS CEI. FIGs ost icceescccvcses 19

Floyd v. Laws, 929 F.2d 1390 (9th Cir. 1991).......... 24

General Electric Co. v. Gilbert, 429 U.S. 125 (1976).... 15

Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424 (1971)........ 15

Hayman Cash Register Co. v. Sarokin, 669 F.2d 162

eg ae rere rrr rt ry ae ee 20, 21

Hicks v. Gates Rubber Co., 833 F.2d 1406 (1987)....... 18

Howard University v. Best, 484 A.2d 958 (D.C. App.

8 PP POET OTe YO EERE eer rr eee 18

In re: Staff Mortgage & Investment Corp., 625 F.2d

ee eee re ee ere ere 19

Johnson v. Bunny Bread Co., 646 F.2d 1250 (8th Cir.

re ee etre re ee Pry er re Se 10

Kitchen v. Chippewa Valley Schools, 825 F.2d 1004

gs TEE Pee TS PEPE em rer 24

a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Lincoln v. Board of Regents of the University System

of Georgia, 697 F.2d 928 (11th Cir. 1983), cert.

GI ee Se i sok eh bbivoneccetaie 24

Little Earth of the United Tribes, Inc. v. U.S. Dept. of

Housing, 807 F.2d 1433 (8th Cir. 1986)............. 19

Meritor Savings Bank v. Vinson, 477 U.S. 57 (1986). . passim

Messenger v. Anderson, 225 U.S. 436 (1912) ehh epee 21

Miller v. Fairchild Industries, Inc., 885 F.2d 498 (9th

LA BOOEE buds ocueyssevsbbereveusieie ene 24

O'Neill v. United States, 411 F.2d 139 (3rd Cir. 1969) .... 25

Rabidue v. Oscela Refining Co., 805 F.2d 611 (6th Cir.

POU sienceventoeueteveds+bhetanani eee 12

Sandoval v. United States Smelting, Refining & Min-

ing Co., 544 F.2d 463 (10th Cir. 1976).............. 20

Shrout v. Clawson, 689 F. Supp. 744 (S.D. Ohio

WD. eee 18

Skidmore v. Swift & Co., 323 U.S. 134 (1944) ......... 15

Skinner v. Total Petroleum, Inc., 859 F.2d 1439 (10th

Cit. DOGS Seri drcsieceer see 23

Sparks v. Pilot Freight Carriers, 830 F.2d 1554 (11th

CM FOU ocacasvaesesey7 eu nsgberse ee 18

Swentek v. USAir, Inc., 830 F.2d 552 (4th Cir. 1987)

oe aR ew ae We ais See we a 13, 14, 25

The Catts Co. v. Gulf Ins. Co., 723 F.2d 1494 (10th

CAG FORO). ct icerdavavccuntvesrs cen eee 21

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES —- Continued

Page

United States v. Horton, 622 F.2d 144 (1st Cir. 1980) .... 20

United States v. Estrada-Lucas, 651 F.2d 1261 (9th

Coy. FOGG «ce ccsstncatuctesercesonees ea ssueearnens 21

United States v. United States Smelting Refining &

Mining Co., S39 US. TFBS (IRGG) = oc rscvicesccrcess 21

Weiss v. United States, 595 F. Supp. 1050 (E.D. Va.

DUG). vcvcccusuccocseveneseneesueverseieripanen 10

Wyerick v. Bayou Steel Corp., 887 F.2d 1271 (5th Cir.

repr re ren re rn be om a Rh on 13

STATUTES

Be UGA. & TFOGD is cvise ccnsaseo te tetene eee 2

y Rk foe Bs repererrer ery yy ry ree ere 5

y okt Bk) ee reer reer a ma 3

29 CLRR. © 26CR Tita) (UGG R) iv cen cvtccscusessesueuees 12

29 C.F.R. § 1604.11(b) (1985) ....... cece cece eee eens 12

Gl UBC. © FOS 46 ec cdssseeeicciecoae eee 2

CS UAL. BBG eo oooh idndaatersees cesses 5

OTHER

A. Conte, Sexual Harassment in the Workplace:

Le GU TOES CRW OOE <6 vcnecscsneceuesuvenseens 14

EEOC: Guidance on Sexual Harassment: Fair

Employment Practices Manual 8 LAB. REL. REP

EE, SUIAD ss n+ < vc:n:v05 0950 op aeadeueeee ee 13, 17

POG. H. Am GO) oon s ccc licenses cemesseenbeeeeniee 5

|

No. 93-___

+

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1993

Re ’

DEBORAH S. MARSHALL,

Petitioner,

NELSON ELECTRIC, a unit of

General Signal, and LUTHER NOAH,

Respondents.

a

Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Tenth Circuit

o

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

+

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

dated June 29, 1993, is unpublished and is reproduced in

the Appendix (hereinafter “App.”) at 1A-3A. The opinion

of the United States District Court dated June 21, 1991, is

reported at 766 F.Supp. 1018 (N.D. Okla.) and is repro-

duced in App. 4A-58A. The judgment of the United States

District Court is dated June 21, 1991, and is reproduced in

App. 59A.

On June 29, 1993, the United States Court of Appeals

affirmed the District Court’s judgment in favor of respon-

dents Luther Noah and Nelson Electric on petitioner’s

intentional infliction of emotional distress claim and

judgment in favor of respondent Nelson Electric on peti-

JURISDICTION

tioner’s Title VII claim.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28

U.S.C. § 1254(1). On September 15, 1993, this Honorable

Court granted petitioner an extension of time to file this

Writ until October 27, 1993.

42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2. Unlawful employment practices

(a)

+

STATUTES

It shall be an unlawful employment prac-

tice for an employer -

(1) to discriminate against any individual

with respect to his compensation, terms,

conditions, or privileges of employment,

because of such individual’s race, color,

religion, sex, or national origin; . . .

29 C.F.R. § 1604.11. Sexual harassment.

(a)

Harassment on the basis of sex is a viola-

tion of Section 703 of Title VII. Unwelcome

sexual advances, requests for sexual favors,

and other verbal or physical conduct of a

sexual nature constitute sexual harassment

when . . . (3) such conduct has the purpose

or effect of unreasonably interfering with

an individual’s work performance or creat-

ing an intimidating, hostile, or offensive

working environment.

(c) Applying general Title VII principles, an

employer . . . is responsible for its acts and

those of its agents and supervisory

employees with respect to sexual harass-

ment regardless of whether the specific acts

complained of were authorized or even for-

bidden by the employer and regardless of

whether the employer knew or should have

known of their occurrence. .

*

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Proceedings in the Courts below

Petitioner brought this action on September 12, 1988,

against Nelson Electric (“Nelson”) and Luther Noah

(“Noah”) after she had been laid off from Nelson, alleg-

ing violations of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964

and intentional infliction of emotional distress. Petitioner

alleged that Noah, her foreman, created a hostile working

environment for her by engaging in continued sexual

harassment and that Nelson ignored and acquiesced in

that harassment and later retaliated against her for com-

plaining of harassment. Petitioner further alleged that the

actions of Noah and Nelson constituted extreme and

outrageous conduct which caused her severe emotional

distress.

The case was originally assigned to Judge H. Dale

Cook of the Northern District of Oklahoma. During the

discovery period, on or about May 7, 1990, the case was

reassigned to Judge Layn Phillips of the Western District

of Oklahoma, sitting as a visit Judge in the Northern

District.

Judge Phillips allowed the respondents to file a

fourth Motion for Partial Summary Judgment shortly

before trial, asserting a repeated limitations defense as a

bar to petitioner’s state claim for intentional infliction of

emotional distress, which defense had been overruled by

Judge Cook in an earlier motion the previous year. The

issue was simply whether the continuing tort doctrine

extended the statute of limitations. Judge Phillips failed

to completely dispose of the motion. Although he denied

the motion, he took the issue under advisement and

forced the parties to proceed with the jury trial.

The trial began on September 27, 1990. Petitioner

presented her evidence on September 27th and 28th and

on October Ist and 2nd, 1990. Respondents moved for

directed verdict on the limitations issue at the close of the

petitioner’s case which the court took under advisement.

The court then recessed for fourteen (14) days. Respon-

dents began their cases on October 16, 1990, and con-

cluded on October 19, 1990. Judge Phillips was still not

prepared to rule on the limitations issue at the close of

respondents’ cases and continued to keep the issue under

advisement even after the jury granted its award. Judge

Phillips then invited J.N.O.V. Motions from the respon-

dents on the same issue.

The jury awarded petitioner $2,500.00 in compensa-

tory damages and $2,500.00 in punitive damages against

Noah and $93,000.00 in compensatory damages and

$62,000.00 in punitive damages against Nelson on peti-

tioner’s claim for intentional infliction of emotional dis-

tress. On October 26, 1990, the court entered a partial

judgment based on the jury award, continuing to keep

under advisement respondents’ Motion for Directed Ver-

dict and the Title VII matter and later, respondents’

Motions for J.N.O.V. Eight months later, June 21, 1991, the

court granted respondents’ Motions for Directed Verdict

and Motions for J.N.O.V. on petitioner’s intentional inflic-

tion of emotional distress claim, and entered judgment in

favor of Noah and Nelson. The court also disregarded the

jury’s findings and entered judgment in favor of Nelson

on petitioner’s Title VII claim.

Jurisdiction of the district court arose from peti-

tioner’s claim brought pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 2000(e)-5

and was founded on 28 U.S.C. § 1331. The district court

had pendent jurisdiction to hear and decide petitioner’s

state law claim. The notice of appeal to the Tenth Circuit

Court of Appeals was timely filed on July 19, 1991, pur-

suant to Fed. R. App. 4(a).

Facts

Petitioner began working in the manufacturing plant

at Nelson on October 4, 1976, at the age of twenty. In her

first eight years at Nelson, she was successful in obtain-

ing raises and promotions. Petitioner was laid off several

times and was familiar with the union procedures under

the collective bargaining agreement. She began working

under Noah in the Modification (“Mod”) Center of Dept.

411 in 1984 after recall from a layoff. The Mod Center

also had constant noise from the surrounding work areas,

making it difficult to hear what was said in the room.

Noah’s desk was in a corner, visible only from peti-

tioner’s work station. At the time petitioner began work-

ing under Noah, all four employees in the Mod Center

were women, whom Noah referred to as his “little

harem”.

Noah would ask sexual questions of the women in

group meetings. Noah listened in on the women’s conver-

sations and then asked them very personal questions. He

rolled firestop putty into the shape of men’s genitals and

played with them in front of the women. He tried to look

down the women’s blouses. He purposely stood so close

to the women that they would bump or rub against him

when they stood up or walked by. In December 1985,

Noah kept petitioner and a female co-worker in the Mod

Center and would not let them leave until he kissed

them.

Noah's conduct toward petitioner individually was

much more explicit than his conduct toward the group.

At Noah’s desk, out of sight and hearing of the other

women, Noah complained to petitioner that his wife was

sexless and described his admiration for petitioner’s

youth and activity. He read sexual acts from the Bible to

her to indicate that she should share her body with him.

He showed her pornographic pictures from magazines

and expressed his desire for her in certain sexual posi-

tions. He described how he wanted to sexually touch her

with his hands, particularly like a doctor would do in an

examination. He questioned her about her sexual activ-

ities with her husband. He touched her on the breast and

rubbed a ruler between her legs. He even grabbed at her

crotch as witnessed by a co-worker.

Nelson admitted that it had no written policy against

sexual harassment and no written complaint procedure

for its employees to follow. Petitioner complained about

Noah's behavior first to Noah himself, then to her lead

person, Juanita Holloman, and then finally to the union

steward, John Fitzgerald. On June 30, 1986, Fitzgerald

told her that he had spoken with Bill Coleman, Human

Resources Manager, and that Coleman would take care of

the matter with Noah. Coleman never went to the Mod

Center to investigate petitioner’s complaints; nor did he

ask any of the other women in the Mod Center if they

knew what Noah was doing. Noah stopped his conduct

for a little while, but then continued his pursuit of peti-

tioner more aggressively and explicitly. Noah threatened

on several occasions that he would lay off petitioner if

she did not succumb to his sexual demands.

On August 8, 1986, petitioner argued with Noah

when he insisted that she meet him away from work to

have sex with him. Noah laid her off the next work day in

retaliation. She bumped to another department at Nelson,

Dept. 710, and took a cut in pay. Noah still harassed her

in her new department. He wiggled his tongue at her

sexually, tried to touch her, stared at her from the over-

head stairs, called her foreman to ask about her, and

pinched her on the arm real hard.

Noah used employees on loan from other depart-

ments to perform the work previously done by petitioner.

On September 18, 1986, petitioner filed a union grievance

regarding loaners working her job. She was told by the

union steward that sexual harassment could not be

included in the grievance because it was not a proper

subject of a union grievance. Nelson denied the griev-

ance.

Due to Noah’s continued harassment and the denial

of her grievance, on October 16, 1986, petitioner wrote a

letter to the President of Nelson, Ivan Ellsworth, setting

forth the details of Noah’s harassment. She supplemented

the letter at the request of Bill Coleman. Although an

investigation was conducted and Noah was told not to

return to work, she did not get her former job back.

In March 1987, petitioner filed another grievance

because she had not been recalled to her home depart-

ment. In April 1987, the Dept. 411 foreman, told her that

she would never be allowed back in Dept. 411 because

she had filed a harassment complaint against Noah.

Another employee was placed in Dept. 411 after peti-

tioner filed a grievance. Petitioner took a voluntary layoff

from Dept. 710 in June of 1987, and bumped back into

Dept. 411. She bumped an employee, who continued to

work in the Mod Center after being bumped by her.

Within two weeks both she and the other employee were

laid off for “lack of work.” Contrary to the “lack of work”

claim in Dept. 411, another employee took petitioner’s

place in Dept. 411 working as a Dept. 311 employee on

loan to Dept. 411. Petitioner chose not to bump into

another department and left Nelson.

¢

ARGUMENT

A. INTRODUCTION

A hostile working environment was established as an

actionable form of sexual harassment by this Court in

1986. Meritor Savings Bank v. Vinson, 477 U.S. 57 (1986).

While there have been many district court and court of

appeals opinions on this cause of action, the courts have

not ruled consistently with each other or with the EEOC

Guidelines. Definitive law is needed to establish the

essential elements of the cause of action, the parameters

of a defense and the extent of any employer’s liability.

This Honorable Court should grant certiorari to clarify

the ruling in Meritor Savings Bank, supra, with respect to

what conduct by a Title VII plaintiff bars recovery for a

hostile working environment claim and with respect to an

employer’s liability for the acts of a foreman.

This Honorable Court should also grant certiorari

with respect to the doctrine of the law of the case and the

Seventh Amendment protection governing jury’s factual

findings.

B. WHETHER A TITLE VII PLAINTIFF’S CONDUCT

IN A SEXUALLY CHARGED GROUP ENVIRON-

MENT BARS A CLAIM FOR HOSTILE WORKING

ENVIRONMENT SEXUAL HARASSMENT BASED

ON UNWELCOME SEXUAL ADVANCES,

REQUESTS FOR SEXUAL FAVORS, AND OTHER

VERBAL OR PHYSICAL CONDUCT OF A SEXUAL

NATURE BY FOREMAN IN PRIVATE.

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 makes it an

unlawful employment practice to discriminate against an

10

individual with respect to conditions of employment

because of the individual’s sex. 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2. This

Court’s decision in Meritor Savings Bank v. Vinson, 477

U.S. 57 (1986) established the claim for “hostile environ-

ment” sexual harassment as a form of sex discrimination

actionable under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act. The

EEOC Guidelines state that sexual harassment arises

when unwelcome sexual advances, requests for sexual

favors, and other verbal or physical conduct of a sexual

nature create a hostile working environment. 29 C.F.R.

§ 1604.11.

Harassment can be made a condition of employment

due to the pervasiveness of the harassment. Frequency of

harassing comments is pertinent as to whether a hostile

working environment has been created. See Jonson v.

Bunny Bread Co., 646 F.2d 1250 (8th Cir. 1981); Ellison v.

Best Foods, 598 F. Supp. 159 (E.D. Ark. 1984). Repeated

demeaning and offensive comments have the effect of

altering the conditions of employment within the mean-

ing of Title VII. Weiss v. United States, 595 F. Supp. 1050

(E.D. Va. 1984).

Continuous abusive language, whether racist,

sexist, or religious in form, can often pollute a

healthy working environment by making an

employee feel uncomfortable or unwanted in his

surroundings. In more extreme cases such as

this one, it can even severely affect the

employee’s emotional and psychological stabil-

ity.

Id. at 1057.

Petitioner testified that Noah would call her up to his

desk and show her pornographic pictures, read sexual

11

acts from the Bible to her, comment about her body, tell

her that he would like to do specific sexual things to her

because she was young, strong and very active, ask her

what sexual acts and positions she liked, told her to do

specific things to her husband and to ask her husband to

do specific things to her, touch her breasts and crotch and

rub a ruler between her legs, and pressured her to begin a

sexual relationship with him. These comments, advances,

solicitations, and touchings were personal and directed to

petitioner primarily in private. Petitioner did not wel-

come the comments, advances, solicitations and touch-

ings by Noah and found them offensive. Despite such

testimony, the district court found that the sexual harass-

ment was not a condition of petitioner’s employment

because of her participation in group activity wherein sex

was discussed or sexual jokes were told.

In Meritor Savings Bank, supra, this Honorable Court

ruled that voluntary participation did not determine

whether alleged harassment was welcome. The respon-

dent therein engaged in sexual intercourse with her man-

ager over fear of losing her job. She alleged that she had

been constantly subjected to sexual harassment over a

four year period, which included her manager fondling

her in front of other employees, following her into the

women’s restroom, and even forcibly raping her. The

Supreme Court stated:

[T]he fact that sex-related conduct was ‘volun-

tary,’ in the sense that the complainant was not

forced to participate against her will, is not a

defense to a sexual harassment suit brought

under Title VII. The gravamen of any sexual

harassment claim is that the alleged sexual

12

advances were ‘unwelcome.’ 29 C.F.R.

§ 1604.11(a) (1985) . . . The correct inquiry is

whether respondent by her conduct indicated

that the alleged sexual advances were

unwelcome, not whether her actual participa-

tion in sexual intercourse was voluntary.”

Meritor Savings Bank, 477 U.S. at 68. However, the Court also

held that the respondent's sexually provocative speech and

dress was relevant in determining whether she found partic-

ular sexual advances unwelcome. Id. at 69.

Specifically, the Court of Appeals stated that

testimony about respondent’s “dress and per-

sonal fantasies,” which the District Court appar-

ently admitted into evidence, “had no place in

this litigation.” The apparent ground for this

conclusion was that respondent’s voluntariness

vel non in submitting to Taylor’s advances was

immaterial to her sexual harassment claim.

While “voluntariness” in the sense of consent is

not a defense to such a claim, it does not follow

that a complainant’s sexually provocative

speech or dress is irrelevant as a matter of law

in determining whether he or she found particu-

lar sexual advances unwelcome.

Id. at 68-69 (citations omitted).

In 1985, the EEOC Guidelines stated that the trier of

fact must determine the existence of sexual harassment in

light of “the record as a whole,” and the “totality of

circumstances, such as the nature of the.sexual advances

and the context in which the alleged incidents occurred.”

29 C.F.R. § 1604.11(b) (1985). The Sixth Circuit followed

those guidelines in Rabidue v. Oscela Refining Co., 805 F.2d

611, 620-621 (6th Cir. 1986) by finding that the trial court

ee eS TN

13

should consider the totality of the physical environment

of plaintiff’s work area and the lexicon of obscenity that

pervaded the environment.

The EEOC has since taken the position that a plain-

tiff’s use of sexual terms or off-color jokes does not

excuse more extreme and abusive or persistent comments

or a physical assault. EEOC: Guidance on Sexual Harass-

ment, March 19, 1990, [Fair Employment Practices Man-

ual] 8 LAB. REL. REP. 405:6681 (BNA). Further, the

conduct of the plaintiff that is offered by the defendant to

show “welcomeness” must relate to the harasser. Id.

The court of appeals’ opinion since the Meritor Sav-

ings Bank decision, have held that use of foul language or

sexual innuendo does not waive one’s legal protection

against unwelcome harassment. See Swentek v. USAir,

Inc., 830 F.2d 552 (4th Cir. 1987). In Wyerick v. Bayou Steel

Corp., 887 F.2d 1271 (5th Cir. 1989), the plaintiff com-

plained of highly personalized lewd statements and ges-

tures. The plaintiff made sexual comments in reply to the

sexual remarks and gestures. The court held that the

plaintiff’s infrequent replies would not bar her claim. The

court went on to state that any finding by the district

court that the plaintiff was barred as a matter of law from

maintaining a claim for a hostile environment because

her work atmosphere, as a whole, was heavily charged

with sexual comments and gestures, was error because

work environments ‘heavily charged’ or ‘heavily pol-

luted’ with racial or sexual abuse are at the core of the

hostile environment theory. Id. at 1275.

Herein, respondents tried to show that petitioner’s

conduct among the group of women proves that Noah’s

14

conduct to her individually was not offensive to her.

Petitioner was not complaining about the sexual talk

among the women. She was complaining of the direct

solicitations and comments made to her privately by

Noah. The Court must recognize that the responses of a

sexual harassment victim may not be overt and obvious

to everyone in the department.

The response of the harassed employee may

range from overt rejection to complete acquies-

cence, depending on factors such as how much

she needs the job, her socialized perception of

her role as a woman and place in the workforce,

and fear of retribution.

A. Conte, Sexual Harassment in the Workplace: Law and

Practice (1990). The proper inquiry is whether petitioner

welcomed the particular conduct in question from the

alleged harasser. Swentek v. USAir, Inc., 830 F.2d 552 (4th

Cir. 1987).

This Court is requested to grant certiorari to delin-

eate under what circumstances the conduct of a sexual

harassment victim and the type of working environment

in which the harassment took place would defeat a claim

for hostile working environment.

—

15

C. WHETHER UNDER TITLE VII OF THE CIVIL

RIGHTS ACT OF 1964, SEXUAL HARASSMENT

BY A “FOREMAN” CAN CREATE LIABILITY ON

THE PART OF AN EMPLOYER FOR A HOSTILE

WORKING ENVIRONMENT.

The EEOC Guidelines state that an employer is

responsible for its acts and those of its agents and super-

visory employees with respect to sexual harassment

regardless of whether the specific acts complained of

were authorized or even forbidden by the employer and

regardless of whether the employer knew or should have

known of their occurrence. .. . 29 C.F.R. § 1604.11. This

Court in Meritor Savings Bank, supra, chose not to adopt

the EEOC Guidelines. The Guidelines are an administra-

tive interpretation of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of

1964 by the enforcing agency, and are entitled to great

deference. See Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424,

433-434 (1971). While they constitute a “body of experi-

ence and informed judgment to which courts and liti-

gants may properly resort for guidance,” they are not

controlling authority on the courts. General Electric Co. v.

Gilbert, 429 U.S. 125, 141-142 (1976) quoting Skidmore v.

Swift & Co., 323 U.S. 134, 140 (1944).

The Court in Meritor Savings Bank, supra, did not

issue a definitive rule on employer’s liability for sexual

harassment. The Court agreed with the EEOC that Con-

gress wanted courts to look to agency principles for guid-

ance, but refused to impose absolute liability on

employers for the acts of their supervisors.

We therefore decline the parties’ invitation to

issue a definitive rule on employer liability, but

we do agree with the EEOC that Congress

16

wanted courts to look to agency principles for

guidance in this area. While such common-law

principles may not be transferable in all their

particulars to Title VII, Congress’ decision to

define “employer” to include any “agent” of an

employer, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e(b), surely evinces an

intent to place some limits on the acts of

employees for which employers under Title VII

are to be held responsible. For this reason, we

hold that the Court of Appeals erred in conclud-

ing that employers are always automatically lia-

ble for sexual harassment by their supervisors.

Meritor Savings Bank, 477 U.S. at 72.

Title VII and the EEOC Guidelines do not define “super-

visor.” Under agency principles if an employer includes any

agent and if a foreman is responsible for the work environ-

ment, then the foreman should be considered a supervisor

for Title VII purposes for whose acts an employer may be

liable. In a concurring opinion, Justice Marshall stated:

A supervisor’s responsibilities do not begin and

end with the power to hire, fire, and discipline

employees, or with the power to recommend

such actions. Rather, a supervisor is charged

with the day-to-day supervision of the work

environment and with ensuring a safe, produc-

tive workplace.

Meritor Savings Bank, 477 U.S. at 76 (Marshall, J. concur-

ring). An employer’s liability for the acts of its employees

under agency principles should not be defeated by the

lack of “supervisor” title.

The district court herein ignored the testimony of

John Bell, manufacturing and production-manager and

Noah’s supervisor, who stated that Noah was petitioner’s

“direct supervisor,” the testimony of Harold Wallace, a

17

Nelson employee for fifteen (15) years, who described

Noah's position of foreman as one of “total control” over

his area, which included “discretion to hire and fire,” and

the testimony of Jerry Holloman, Shop Manager, who

stated that a foreman had the responsibility to choose

which classification to layoff within his department, and

found that Noah was not a supervisory employee.

The trial court also found that Nelson was not liable

for Noah’s harassment because he was acting outside the

scope of his employment. An employer is liable for

harassment by a supervisor if the employer becomes

aware of it and does nothing to stop it because by acqui-

escing, the employer has brought the supervisor’s actions

within the scope of his employment. EEOC: Guidance on

Sexual Harassment, March 19, 1990, [Fair Employment

Practices Manual] 8 LAB. REL. REP 405:6681 (BNA). Fur-

ther, an employer is liable for a supervisor’s actions if

these actions represent the exercise of apparent authority.

The Commission believes that in the absence of

a strong, widely disseminated, and consistently

enforced employer policy against sexual harass-

ment, and an effective complaint procedure,

employees could reasonably believe that a

harassing supervisor’s actions will be ignored,

tolerated, or even condoned by upper manage-

ment. This apparent authority of supervisors

arises from their power over their employees,

including the power to make or substantially

influence hiring, firing, promotion and compen-

sation decisions. A supervisor } sapacity to cre-

ate a hostile environment is enhanced by the

degree of authority conferred on him: by the

employer, and he may rely upon apparent

18

authority to force an employee to endure a

harassing environment for fear of retaliation.

Id.

At least one court of appeals has found to the con-

trary. Following Meritor Savings Bank, supra, the Tenth

Circuit determined that an employer is liable when the

harassment is within the scope of the supervisor’s

employment, and noted this situation is unlikely to occur

because “ ‘[sexual harassment] simply is not within the

job description of any supervisor or any other worker in a

reputable business.’ ” Hicks v. Gates Rubber Co., 833 F.2d

1406, 1417-18 (1987).

Other courts have ruled differently. In Shrout v.

Clawson, 689 F.Supp. 744 (S.D. Ohio 1988), the plaintiff

was subjected to specific instances of sexual harassment

when her supervisor withheld annual performance eval-

uations and sales reviews after she refused his sexual

advances. She brought an action against her employer for

harassment, Title VII violations and intentional infliction

of emotional distress under both agency and strict lia-

bility principles.

Similarly, in Howard University v. Best, 484 A.2d 958

(D.C. App. 1984), the incidents of alleged sexual harass-

ment occurred during faculty, administrative or other

professional meetings attended by the parties in their

professional capacities. The court held that the university

was subject to liability for any sexual harassment commit-

ted by a dean against a faculty member, because the

conduct “was foreseeable as being within the range of

responsibilities entrusted to the employee.” Id. at 987. In

Sparks v. Pilot Freight Carriers, 830 F.2d 1554 (11th Cir.

1987), the court found that the supervisor had used his

19

authority to facilitate his harassment of the plaintiff by .

repeatedly reminding her that he could fire her if she

refused to comply with his advances.

This Court should accept certiorari to establish a

definite rule on employer liability for harassment by its

employees who have supervisory functions.

D. WHETHER THE DOCTRINE OF THE LAW OF

THE CASE PREVENTS A SECOND JUDGE IN

A SINGLE LAWSUIT FROM TAKING UNDER

ADVISEMENT A STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS

DEFENSE PRESENTED ON A REPEATED

MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT PRE-

VIOUSLY RULED ON IN A FORMER

MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT IN

FAVOR OF THE PETITIONER BY THE FIRST

JUDGE, THEN INVITING A MOTION FOR

DIRECTED VERDICT ON THE SAME ISSUE,

AND THEREAFTER GRANTING A

DIRECTED VERDICT AND A JUDGMENT

NOTWITHSTANDING THE VERDICT.

The doctrine of the “law of the case” concerns the

continued application of a rule of law previously deter-

mined in the same case. In re: Staff Mortgage & Investment

Corp., 625 F.2d 281 (9th Cir. 1980). The purpose of the

doctrine of the law of the case is to protect settled expec-

tations of the parties, ensure uniformity of decisions, and

promote judicial efficiency. Little Earth of the United Tribes,

Inc. v. U.S. Dept. of Housing, 807 F.2d 1433 (8th Cir. 1986).

“Law of the case rules have developed to maintain con-

sistency and avoid reconsideration of matters once

decided during the course of a single lawsuit.” Erie Con-

duit Corp. v. Metropolitan Asphalt Paving, 560 F.Supp. 305,

20

307 (E.D.N.Y. 1983). The rules reflect the respect one

judge owes another in the same case. Id.

Adherence to law of the case principles is even

more important in this context where the trans-

feror judge and the transferee judge are not

members of the same court. Here, the principles

of comity among courts of the same level of the

federal system provide a further reason why the

transferee court should not independently re-

examine an issue already decided by a court of

equal authority.

Hayman Cash Register Co. v. Sarokin, 669 F.2d 162, 169 (3rd

Cir. 1982).

In ruling on a motion for summary judgment, the

trial court’s discussion of the applicable law becomes the

law of the case. Eastern Tunneling Corp. v. Southgate Sanita-

tion District, 487 F.Supp. 109 (D. Colo. 1980). The ruling

on a motion for partial summary judgment is the law of

the case on the issues decided therein. United States v.

Horton, 622 F.2d 144 (1st Cir. 1980). Denial of a summary

judgment does not preclude directed verdict. In Sandoval

v. United States Smelting, Refining & Mining Co., 544 F.2d

463, 464 (10th Cir. 1976):

“Appellant here contends the trial court erred

by granting a directed verdict when it had ear-

lier denied appellee’s motion for summary judg-

ment. She argues that since evidence garnered at

the discovery stage was virtually identical to

that introduced at trial, the court’s directed ver-

dict, when summary judgment was previously

denied, was improper. However, a denial of

summary judgment does not rule out the possi-

bility of a directed verdict.” (citations omitted).

akg OR Ne ea SPR

és Ga! Ste Ne AS eT Dead Se

21

Accord, The Catts Co. v. Gulf Ins. Co., 723 F.2d 1494, 1502

(10th Cir. 1983).”

A trial judge retains at all times the power to re-

examine and if necessary alter a previous ruling in order

to avoid perpetuation of error. United States v. United

States Smelting Refining & Mining Co., 339 U.S. 186 (1950),

and Messenger v. Anderson, 225 U.S. 436 (1912). A decision

of law in a case, once made, however, should not be

changed ‘absent clear error in the original ruling or a

change in circumstances. United States v. Estrada-Lucas,

651 F.2d 1261 (9th Cir. 1980). The clearly erroneous test is

very stringent and applies only in exceptional circum-

stances. Dept. of Natural Resources v. United States, 1 Cl. Ct.

727 (1983). A judge must follow a previous decision on

the same issue in the same case unless “unusual circum-

stances” exist that permit a different conclusion. Hayman

Cash Register Co., supra at 169.

Nelson filed its first Motion for Partial Summary

Judgment on March 1, 1989, alleging in part that peti-

tioner’s claim for intentional infliction of emotional dis-

tress was barred by the statute of limitations. Magistrate

Wolfe heard the motion and filed his Report and Recom-

mendation on May 23, 1989, denying Nelson’s Motion in

total. Nelson filed its objections to the Report and Recom-

mendation, but Judge Cook affirmed the Magistrate’s

ruling and adopted the Magistrate’s recommendation

with regard to Nelson’s Motion for Partial Summary

Judgment as the Order of the Court which was entered on

October 11, 1989.

22

After this case was reassigned, Judge Phillips

allowed Nelson to file its Fourth Motion for Partial Sum-

mary Judgment in July 1990, only two (2) months prior to

trial, alleging again that petitioner’s claim for intentional

infliction of emotional distress was barred by the statute

of limitations. Judge Phillips denied the motion “based

on the previous rulings of other judges in the Northern

District and the existence of factual disputes,” but kept

the limitations issue under advisement by stating in his

order entered August 6, 1990, that he would “carefully

monitor the evidence supporting this claim at trial.” He

allowed the case to proceed through a two (2) week trial,

wherein no new evidence on this issue was presented,

then invited motions for directed verdict and motions for

j.n.o.v., and then eight (8) months later, entered his order

granting respondents’ motions.

The Court should accept certiorari to decide whether

the doctrine of the law of the case prevents a second

judge in the same case from considering a limitations

defense, after the first judge had overruled the defense,

and then granting a directed verdict and/or a j.n.o.v. on

the limitations issue in defendant’s favor without any

new facts or change in the law.

tai 1 still tae a

iat bain

“a a So ORRIN ASRS ol sl dB

23

E. WHETHER THE DISTRICT COURT IS

REQUIRED TO FOLLOW THE JURY’S FAC-

TUAL FINDINGS WHEN RULING ON A

TITLE VII CASE ALTHOUGH A J.N.O.V. IS

LATER GRANTED ON THE GROUNDS THAT

THE CASE SHOULD NOT HAVE GONE TO

THE JURY.

Petitioner brought a claim arising under Title VII for

sexual harassment and retaliatory layoff and a claim aris-

ing under the law of the State of Oklahoma for inten-

tional infliction of emotional distress. The jury found that

within the two (2) year period preceding the filing of this

action, Nelson took outrageous actions against Petitioner,

separate and independent of Noah’s harassment, which

caused her severe emotional distress. The jury found that

Nelson ignored the conduct of Noah after it knew or

should have known of Noah’s sexual harassment. The

jury also found that the loaning of employees into Dept.

411, petitioner’s layoff from Dept. 411 in July 1987,

employment of other individuals in Dept. 411 after Sep-

tember 12, 1986, the conduct of the Dept. 411 foreman in

March or April 1987, Nelson’s conduct after September

12, 1986, particularly Nelson’s actions inconsistent with

documented procedures for layoffs, bump rights, and

recall rights, were outrageous and caused petitioner

severe emotional distress.

In a case where the trial is both to the court and to

the jury, any essential factual issues central to both trials

must be tried first to the jury with the jury’s findings

binding on all common issues. Skinner v. Total Petroleum,

Inc., 859 F.2d 1439 (10th Cir. 1988). It would be a violation

of the Seventh Amendment right to a jury trial for the

24

trial court to disregard a jury’s finding of fact. Floyd v.

Laws, 929 F.2d 1390 (9th Cir. 1991). The trial court is

required by the Seventh Amendment to follow the jury’s

explicit or implicit factual determinations when the trial

court resolves the equitable claim. Miller v. Fairchild

Industries, Inc., 885 F.2d 498 (9th Cir. 1989)

Factual issues central to an emotional distress claim

are similar to the factual issues in a Title VII claim, but

the court’s opinions are not clear as to how identical the

issues have to be in order for the jury’s factual findings to

be binding on the trial court. In Baker v. Weyerhaeuser Co.,

903 F.2d 1342, 1345 (10th Cir. 1990), the court said:

Weyerhaeuser argues that the district court’s

finding in the Title VII action did not have to be

in accord with the district court’s understanding

of the general verdict returned by the jury since

the essential elements of the Title VII claim were

not the same as the essential elements in the

present claim. Be that as it may, we do not

regard the district judge’s comment to indicate

that he was “bound” to follow his understand-

ing of the jury’s verdict.

See also Kitchen v. Chippewa Valley Schools, 825 F.2d 1004,

1013-14 (6th Cir. 1987) (jury verdict on § 1983 claim does

not have binding effect upon Title VII issues due to

different standards on employer liability for employees’

acts); Lincoln v. Board of Regents of the University System of

Georgia, 697 F.2d 928, 935, n. 6 (11th Cir. 1983), cert.

denied 464 U.S. 826 (Section 1981 jury verdict would not

have binding effect upon Title VII issues if § 1981 liability

based upon disparate impact rather than disparate treat-

ment).

en Le ewe, ees

25

The trial court’s factual findings on petitioner’s Title

VII claim were inconsistent with the jury’s findings of

fact. The court took the position that it did not have to

conform its findings to those of the jury because the state

claim should not have been submitted to the jury in the

first place, thereby making the jury’s findings “infirm”.

This Honorable Court should decide if a jury’s find-

ings are infirm because the trial court decided after the

fact that the case should not have gone to the jury based

on the statute of limitations. The case of Swentek v. USAir,

Inc., 830 F.2d 552 (4th Cir. 1987) refers to a jury verdict

being “infirm” when the verdict has been set aside as

against the clear weight of the evidence. Hence, where

the jury verdict was not held by the trial court to be

against the weight of the evidence, but was set aside

because the court found that the cause of action was

barred by the statute of limitations, the factual findings

on the common issues may still be valid.

In Castle v. Sangamo Weston, Inc., 837 F.2d 1550 (11th

Cir. 1988), the trial court granted j.n.o.v. in favor of the

defendants, but then specified that if the jury verdict was

allowed to stand, that the court would grant certain dam-

ages and not others. The 11th Circuit held that the deter-

mination of damages was purely academic when made

because, at the time, the court had set aside the liability

verdict. Id. at 1560. Similarly, in O'Neill v. United States,

411 F.2d 139 (3rd Cir. 1969), the district court entered

judgment in favor of the defendants, then assessed the

plaintiff's damages in a sum certain. When the appellate

court vacated the judgment and remanded the case, a

new finding on damages was to be made because the

26

assessment of damages was subsequent to the decision

where there was no liability. Id. at 146.

The policy behind ordering a new trial on damages

as well as liability is to protect against unfairness in the

determination of damages when the determination had

no legal effect. “It is not sound judicial policy to let a

damage finding stand which, in the contemplation of the

jury making it, is divorced from practical effect.” Romer v.

Baldwin, 317 F.2d 919 (3rd Cir. 1963). Where there was no

risk of unfairness on the party of the jury in making its

factual findings with regard to liability and in determin-

ing the amount of Plaintiff’s damages, the jury’s findings

should be binding.

CONCLUSION

This Honorable Court is respectfully petitioned to

further define the rights of a Title VII plaintiff to make a

claim for hostile working environment sexual harassment

without her own conduct barring a claim. The Court is

requested to find that petitioner’s own conduct in the

group setting did not bar her claim of sexual harassment

for her foreman’s conduct in private and remand the case

to the district court. The Court is further petitioned to

adopt a rule of employer liability for sexual harassment

by a foreman with supervisory responsibilities and find

that respondent Nelson was liable for the sexual harass-

ment of petitioner by respondent Noah and remand the

case to the district court.

The Court is petitioned to apply the doctrine of the

law of the case to the decision of the first judge in

hee

27

overruling a statute of limitations defense so that the

issue of law was established as the law of the case which

could not be reversed by the second judge in the case

without a clear showing of error or change in circum-

stances. The Court is requested to find that the granting

of the j.n.o.v. was in error and should be reversed and the

jury verdict reinstated.

The Court is petitioned to apply the Seventh Amend-

ment to a Title VII case being tried with a state claim and

hold that the district court is bound by the jury’s findings

on the factual issues central to the Title VII claim.

Respectfully submitted,

SANDRA L. ToLtiver*

Substitute Counsel for

Mary W. Morris, Deceased,

Morris & Morris

1616 S. Denver Ave.

Tulsa, Oklahoma 74119

(918) 587-5514

Attorneys for Petitioner

*Counsel of Record

1A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

DEBORAH S. MARSHALL,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

NELSON ELECTRIC, a Unit of

General Signal; LUTHER

NOAH, and DOES I-x,

inclusive,

Defendants-Appellees.

DEBORAH S. MARSHALL,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

V.

NELSON ELECTRIC, a Unit of

General Signal,

Defendant-Appellant,

and

LUTHER NOAH and DOES

I-X, inclusive,

Defendants.

No. 91-5114

(D.C. No. 88-

C-1213-P)

(N.D. Okla.)

No. 91-5123

(D.C. No. 88-

C-1213-C)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

) (N.D. Okla.)

)

)

)

)

ORDER AND JUDGMENT*

(Filed June 29, 1993)

* This order and judgment has no precedential value and shall

not be cited, or used by any court within the Tenth Circuit,

except for purposes of establishing the doctrines of the law of

the case, res judicata, or collateral estoppel. 10th Cir. R. 36.3.

2A

Before SEYMOUR and TACHA, Circuit Judges, and

ROGERS,** Senior District Judge.

After examining the briefs and appellate record, this

panel has determined unanimously that oral argument

would not materially assist the determination of these

appeals. See Fed. R. App. P. 34(a); 10th Cir. R. 34.1.9. The

cases are therefore ordered submitted without oral argu-

ment.

Plaintiff Deborah Marshall appeals from a judgment

entered in favor of defendants in this hostile environment

Title VII action. Following a two-week trial, the jury

found in favor of plaintiff on her state law claim for

intentional infliction of emotional distress. The court took

under advisement a statute of limitations question

regarding that claim, as well as the Title VII matter. The

court ultimately issued an order granting defendants’

motion for judgment notwithstanding the verdict on the

state claim and ruling in favor of defendant Nelson Elec-

tric Company on the Title VII question. See Marshall v.

Nelson Elec., a Unit of Gen. Signal, 766 F. Supp. 1018 (N.D.

Okla. 1991). This appeal followed. Defendant Nelson

Electric filed a cross-appeal. We affirm.

Plaintiff makes four arguments in this appeal. They

are 1) that the district court erred in concluding, -as a

matter of law, that her emotional distress claim is barred

**Honorable Richard D. Rogers, United States District Judge for

the District of Kansas, sitting by designation.

on

Pade incest ial Lat NT 0 Wii A lit at sl te ER he. rs aN

— So

ek. Li A abhi Sarmt <>

3A

under the applicable statute of limitations,’ 2) that the

district court’s factual findings are clearly erroneous, 3)

that the trial court erred in conditionally granting defen-

dants’ motion for new trial, and 4) that the court’s ruling

on the Title VII claim was in error.

We have carefully reviewed the appendices which the

parties have submitted. We have also conducted an

exhaustive review of the pertinent authorities. We con-

clude that the district court’s disposition was correct, and

we therefore affirm for substantially the reasons set forth

in that court’s lengthy and well-reasoned opinion. In light

of this disposition, we need not reach the issues raised in

the cross-appeal.

The judgment of the United States District Court for

the Northern District of Oklahoma is AFFIRMED.

Entered for the Court

Stephanie K. Seymour

Circuit Judge

1 In connection with this issue, plaintiff contends the trial

court erred in granting j.n.o.v. on the statute of limitations claim

after the court previously denied defendants’ motion for sum-

mary judgment on this issue. We have specifically held, how-

ever, that the denial of summary judgment does not rule out the

possibility of a directed verdict. See Catts Co. v. Gulf Ins. Co., 723

F.2d 1494, 1502 (10th Cir. 1983).

4A

si

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OKLAHOMA

DEBORAH S. MARSHALL,

Plaintiff, No. 88-C-1213-P

Vv.

)

)

)

)

NELSON ELECTRIC, a Unit?

of General Signal, et al.,

)

Defendants.

ORDER GRANTING DEFENDANTS’ MOTIONS FOR

JNOV ON THE INTENTIONAL INFLICTION OF

EMOTIONAL DISTRESS JURY CLAIM, FINDINGS

OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW ON TITLE

VII NON-JURY CLAIM, AND JUDGMENT

(Filed June 21, 1991)

I. INTRODUCTION

Plaintiff, Deborah Marshal! (“Marshall”), after being

laid off by her employer, Nelson Electric, filed the instant

action alleging violation of Title VII of the Civil Rights

Act of 1964, and intentional infliction of emotional dis-

tress. Defendants are Nelson Electric and Luther Noah

(“Noah”).

Marshall alleged Noah, an employee of Nelson Elec-

tric who served as a foreman during most of Marshall's

tenure there, engaged in continued sexual harassment at

the workplace, and further alleged Nelson Electric

ignored and acquiesced in that harassment. Marshall also

alleged defendants retaliated against her because she

refused to succumb to this harassment. Marshall alleged

these actions constituted extreme and outrageous conduct

5A

which caused her to suffer severe physical and emotional

distress.

Defendants denied Marshall’s claims and asserted

Marshall initiated and participated in much of the sexu-

ally-related conduct which occurred at the workplace.

Defendants further asserted Marshall’s layoff was not in

| retaliation for her actions but rather was a result of a

significant economic downturn at the Tulsa location.

Finally, defendants denied that any physical or emotional

distress suffered by Marshall was due to any conduct of

the defendants, but rather was due to conditions unre-

lated to Marshall’s employment at Nelson Electric,

including but not limited to Marshall’s prior suicide

attempt, physical abuse she was suffering at the hands of

her husband, an extramarital affair she was having while

employed at Nelson Electric, and other factors.

| The intentional infliction of emotional distress claim

was determined by the jury. The Title VII claim against

Nelson Electric was tried to the Court. Although both

claims were tried simultaneously, the Court heard some

. brief testimony outside the presence of the jury which

pertained only to the Title VII claim.! At the conclusion of

1 This testimony related to the arbitration hearing. The

| Arbitrator’s Decision and Award contains the following perti-

nent findings:

Finally, I find that there is not sufficient evidence in

the record to show that sexual harassment on the part

of Grievant's Supervisor played a role in selecting her

for layoff. I further find that there was an admitted

economic reason which justified the Company’s deci-

sion to call a layoff, and because it appears that Griev-

ant has the low seniority among Electricians in the

6A

the evidence, both defendants moved for a directed ver-

dictthe-€ourt took these motions under advisement. On

the intentional infliction of emotional distress claim, the

jury awarded Marshall $2,500 compensatory damages

against Noah, $93,000 compensatory damages against

Nelson Electric, $2,500 punitive damages against Noah,

and $62,000 punitive damages against Nelson Electric.

The Court entered a partial judgment based on the jury

award on October 26, 1990, and took the Title VII matter

under advisement. Both defendants subsequently filed

motions for judgment notwithstanding the verdict

(“jnov”) on the intentional infliction of emotional distress

claim and filed proposed findings of fact and conclusions

of law on the Title VII claim. Marshall filed a brief in

opposition to defendants’ motions for jnov on the emo-

tional distress claim, and also filed proposed findings of

fact and conclusions of law on the Title VII claim.

The Court grants the defendants’ motions for

directed verdict and jnov on the emotional distress claim,

finds in favor of Nelson Electric on the Title VII claim,

and renders judgment in favor of defendants.

Il. WITNESSES AND EXHIBITS

Marshall called the following witnesses at trial: Tom

Birmingham, John Bell, George T. (Terry) Camp, Bill

Department, I conclude that sufficient neutral reasons

have been shown to explain her selection for layoff.

There is no evidence at all to show Grievant was laid

off for complaining to the Company about being sex-

ually harassed. I conclude that Grievant was not

improperly laid off on August 15, 1986.

See Defendant’s Exhibit 18.

vO a?

7A

Coday, Bill Coleman, John Edwards, Randy Edwards,

John Fitzgerald, Thomas Goodman, M.D., Jerry Hollo-

man, Juanita Holloman, Jackie Howell, David Huettner,

Ph.D., Charles Marshall, Deborah Marshall, Metta McGee

(by deposition), Luther Noah, Wayne Schnee, Harold

Wallace, and Vicki Williams.

Defendants called the following witnesses at trial: Dr.

Jan Capehart, Dr. William Chop, Billy G. Coleman, Randy

L. Edwards, Patricia A. McDannald, Luther Noah, Doris

W. Skock, and Edward M. Wall.

The Court received into evidence numerous exhibits

at trial, introduced by both plaintiff and defendant. The

Court’s rulings on the offer of these documentary exhibits

are reflected in the trial transcript.

Ill. STIPULATIONS

The parties entered into the following factual stipula-

tions:

1. Plaintiff was employed at Nelson Elec-

tric from October 4, 1976 until July 2, 1987.

2. On August 16, 1986, plaintiff was laid

off from Department 411 and chose to bump

into Department 710.

3. Luther Noah’s employment with.

Nelson Electric ceased as of November 1,

1986.

4. On June 15, 1987, plaintiff voluntarily

chose to be laid off from Department 710

and chose to bump into Department 411.

8A

5. Effective July 2, 1987, plaintiff and

Jackie Howell were laid off from Depart-

ment 411.

6. Plaintiff filed a formal complaint of sex-

ual harassment with the Oklahoma Human

Rights Commission on December 16, 1987.

7. On September 12, 1988, plaintiff filed

this lawsuit.

See Jury Instruction No. 3 (Oct. 18, 1990). The Court

adopts these stipulations.

IV. SUMMARY OF KEY TESTIMONY

Although numerous witnesses testified in this matter,

the following testimony is pertinent to the pending

motions for jnov and provides an overview of the allega-

tions advanced by both sides.

Marshall testified that during her tenure at Nelson

Electric, Noah embarked on a course of conduct that

constituted sexual harassment. Marshall testified Noah

referred to the women who worked for him as his “little

harem”; asked Marshall if her jeans rubbed her crotch

and made it wet; asked her how far or deep a man could

“go inside” her; stated he wanted to marry her, wanted

her to lay around the house naked and put his face in her

“snatch”; and quoted repeatedly from the Bible in a way

that suggested it was proper for Noah to have sex with

her. He also allegedly told her that he would be very

“gentle” with her and cause her to have multiple

orgasms.

Marshall further testified Noah physically touched

her in a variety of ways; grabbed at her; deliberately

—— eee

9A

bumped into her rear and breasts; sneaked up behind her

when she was bent over; and showed her pictures from

Penthouse magazine. She described one occasion at work

when Noah touched her between the legs and on the

breast and then claimed “the devil made me do it.” She

also described several occasions when Noah fashioned

male penises out of putty, put them in his pants, and

pranced around the work area. He also allegedly threat-

ened her job if she did not “meet with him in private.”

Marshall testified she never succumbed to these

advances.

On cross-examination, Marshall acknowledged she

also used “dirty talk” in the workplace; admitted from

time to time she had asked others at work whether they

had sex the night before; admitted she did not mention

sexual harassment in the union grievance she pursued in

connection with her layoff; conceded she was involved in

an incident when Noah’s pants were pulled down at

work; and acknowledged that despite this alleged harass-

ment at the hands of Noah, she repeatedly contacted

Nelson Electric management after her transfer to another

department asking to be transferred back into Noah's

department and placed under his supervision.

One of the key witnesses called by the defense was

Dr. William Chop, Marshall's treating physician. Psychia-

try is an integral part of Chop’s practice. Unlike other

expert witnesses specifically retained to render opinions

for this litigation, Chop began treating Marshall before

the lawyers on both sides of this lawsuit arrived on the

scene. Chop, however, was not called as a witness by

Marshall. Instead, Chop was called as a defense witness

by Nelson Electric.

10A

Chop began treating Marshall on January 14, 1988,

for pain, numbness and physical complaints. He last saw

her on March 29, 1988. Despite the fact that Chop treated

Marshall for two months, absent from Chop’s testimony

and medical records is any prelitigation reference by

Marshall to sexual harassment at her workplace. Instead,

Marshall blamed her symptoms on a workrelated injury

that occurred in March of 1987. According to Chop, Mar-

shall specifically attributed her weight gain problem to

the worker’s compensation accident. She also related to

Chop a suicide attempt which resulted from her husband

beating her. In Chop’s opinion, it was “almost impossi-

ble” to determine the source of Marshall’s many prob-

lems, including depression. Chop testified that sexual

harassment was an unlikely cause of Marshall’s emo-

tional problems.

Nelson Electric’s exhibit 54 contains Dr. Chop’s

notes, as well as several other papers. The third page of

the exhibit, bearing a page no. of 499, contains Chop’s

notes of the oral history given by Marshall to Chop

during Marshall’s initial visit. There is no reference to -

any sexual harassment. It states in part:

Patient presents with long, somewhat vague his-

tory of ten months of problems with pain in her

neck, back and numbness extending into the

arms and the hands with a very worried affect

about this .. . She has had a normal EMG on the

left upper extremity where she has experienced

most of her numbness and shooting pain a

month after the initial work accident which .

occurred 3/2/87, where she was spun around

by a machine...

11A

The next page of exhibit 54, bearing page no. 500, con-

tains Chop’s notes regarding Marshall’s visit of January

27, 1988. There is no reference to harassment. There is

mention, however, of Marshall’s suicide gesture, which

Chop described in part as follows:

In addition, patient has transverse scars on the

left wrist from a suicidal gesture about ten to 15

years ago that resulted when her husband was

beating her quite a bit.

Dr. Chop also noted that Marshall had a “[hlistory of

being abused by her current husband.” The notes regard-

ing Marshall's visits of February 25, 1988, and March 29,

1988, are shown on pages 503 and 504 of the exhibit.

There is no reference to any harassment. The only refer-

ence to any harassment in the entire exhibit is contained

on pages 505-506 which is the note Marshall gave to Chop

on April 5, 1988. The note, which was written for litiga-

tion purposes, states in part:

Dr. Chop my lawyer reeds a copy from you, & I

am also getting one from my pshyc., Dr. Farley.

He needs the date in Jan. that I first came in and

put me on med. & referred me to pshyc.

1. Date in Jan. temporarily disabled to work

due to harassment from work &/or injury.

* + *

My lawyer is putting me back on drawing work-

man’s comp. again & making them pay for my

pshyco. but he also needs the copy from you

that started temp. disabled to work starting

Jan...

during his testimony, Chop discussed this note and his

refusal to provide Marshall’s attorney the information

12A

requested by Marshall because, according to Chop, he

“wasn’t willing to try to make this appear to be a work-

related injury.”

Nelson Electric’s exhibit 55 contains eleven pages in

Marshall’s handwriting, explaining her problems. There

is no reference in the exhibit to any alleged harassment.

Marshall admitted during her cross-examination that she

prepared this document for Dr. Chop to describe the pain

that she was suffering.

V. THE JURY’S VERDICT AND ANSWERS TO SPE-

CIAL INTERROGATORIES

The jury was given the following instructions con-

cerning the intentional infliction of emotional distress

claim:

Elements of Liability — Intentional Infliction

of Emotional Distress

For the plaintiff, Deborah Marshall, to

recover from the defendants Nelson Electric and

Luther Noah on plaintiff’s claim of emotional

distress, you must find that plaintiff has estab-

lished by a preponderance of the evidence the

following essential elements:

1. A defendant intentionally injured

the plaintiff, or realized that plaintiff was

likely to suffer the injuries complained of,

or acted with willful disregard of injuries

that plaintiff might suffer;

2. A defendant's actions were extreme

and outrageous taking into consideration

the atmosphere and circumstances in which

such actions occurred; and

13A

3. The plaintiff suffered severe emo-

tional distress as a direct result of a defen-

dant’s conduct. Injuries to the nervous

system and mental pain are physical inju-

ries which also qualify as severe emotional

distress.

If you find plaintiff has proved each of the

above elements by a preponderance of the evi-

dence, then you must find in favor of the plain-

tiff.

On the other hand, if you find plaintiff has

failed to prove her claim, then you must return a

verdict in favor of the defendants.

See Jury Instruction. No. 18 (Oct. 18, 1990). These are the

elements of the tort of intentional infliction of emotional

distress under pertinent Tenth Circuit and Oklahoma

decisions. Baker v. Weyerhaeuser Co., 903 F.2d 1342 (10th

Cir. 1990); Guinn v. Church of Christ of Collinsville, 775 P.2d

766 (Okla. 1989); Eddy v. Brown, 715 P.2d 74 (Okla. 1986);

Williams v. Lee Way Motor Freight, Inc., 688 P.2d 1294

(Okla. 1984); Breeden v. League Services Corp., 575 P.2d 1374

(Okla. 1978); Floyd v. Dodson, 692 P.2d 77, 79-80 (Okla.

App. 1984) (discussing Oklahoma Uniform Jury Instruc-

tion — Civil, No. 19.1).

After returning a verdict in favor of Marshall and

against each defendant on this claim,? the jury answered

a series of special interrogatories as follows:

2 As noted in the introductory plaintiff compensatory dam-

ages in the amount of $2,500 against Noah and $93,000 against

Nelson Electric; and awarded plaintiff punitive damages in the

amount of $2,500 against Noah and $62,000 against Nelson Elec-

tric.

|

14A

[QUESTION #1 with JURY’S ANSWERS]

Question 1: Was Nelson Electric’s liability

based in whole or in part on the following:

A. Nelson ignoring the conduct of Noah after

it knew or should have known of the harass-

ment?

Yes X No _ (check one)

B. Nelson acquiescing in the conduct of Noah

after it knew or should have known of the

harassment?

Yes X No _ (check one)

C. Nelson failing to take prompt action after it

knew or should have known of the conduct of

Noah in sexually harassing plaintiff?

Yes X No _ (check one)

D. Loaning of employees into Dept. 411?

Yes X No _ (check one)

E. Plaintiff's layoff from Dept. 411 in July,

1987?

Yes X No _ (check one)

F. Employment of other individuals in Dept.

411 after September 12, 1988?

Yes X No _ (check one)

G. Conduct of Bill Hardee in March or April

1987?

Yes X No _ (check one)

H. Conduct of Nelson Electric after September

12, 1986?

Yes X No _ (check one)

15A

[QUESTION #1 continued]

If ves, briefly describe such conduct. You may

also refer to any of the above questions which

you may have answered “Yes” in responding to

this question. If you answer “No” to this ques-

tion, fill in nothing below.

[JURY’S ANSWER]

It was our feeling that Nelson was not con-

sistant [sic] with documented procedures in:

A. Layoffs

B. Bump Rights

C. Recall Procedures

It was also our feeling that Nelson had lim-

ited procedures on what identified sexual

harassment and no procedures on methods

of employees or management to deal with

this problem.

[QUESTION #2]

Question 2: Focusing on your compensatory dam-

age awards, why was the amount of compensa-

tory damages against Noah $2,500, whereas the

amount of compensatory damages against Nelson

$93,000? Briefly explain.

[JURY’S ANSWER]

Noah was under employment of Nelson

Electric who focused on production, not

employee relations. Had proper procedures

been documented for sexual harassment

and correction, more of the responsibility

16A

would have fallen on Noah. Refer to Ques-

tion — 1A, B, C.

October 19, 1990 /s/ Jack M. Hough

Foreperson

See Special Interrogatories (Oct. 19, 1990) (emphasis in

original).

VI. TO WHAT EXTENT ARE THE FINDINGS OF THE

JURY WITH RESPECT TO PLAINTIFF’S INTEN-

TIONAL INFLICTION OF EMOTIONAL DIS-

TRESS CLAIM BINDING UPON THE COURT IN

THE DETERMINATION OF THE NON-JURY

TITLE VII CLAIM?

When a case such as this involves both a jury

trial (on the emotional distress claim) and a bench trial

(on the Title VII claim) “any essential factual issues which

are central to both claims must be first tried to the jury, so

that the litigants’ Seventh Amendment jury trial rights

are not foreclosed on common factual issues.” Skinner v.

Total Petroleum, Inc., 859 F.2d 1439, 1443 (10th Cir. 1988)

(citing Dairy Queen, Inc. v. Wood, 369 U.S. 469, 472-73

(1962)). “Moreover, the court is bound by the jury’s deter-

mination of factual issues common to both the legal and

equitable claims.” Skinner, 859 F.2d at 1443.

However, to the extent the essential elements of the

legal and equitable claims are not the same, the court is

not bound by the jury’s verdict. Baker v. Weyerhacuser Co.,

903 F.2d 1342, 1345 (10th Cir. 1990). For example, in a case

similar to the instant case, where the plaintiff alleged

both a Title VII quid pro quo claim and a claim for inten-

tional infliction of emotionai distress, the jury found in

favor of plaintiff on the emotional distress claim and the

17A

district court found in favor of defendant on the Title VII

quid pro quo claim. Both findings were upheld on appeal.

Snider v. Circle K Corp., 923 F.2d 1404 (10th Cir. 1991)

(affirming the district court in part and reversing in part,

on other grounds).

In the instant case Marshall asserted a Title VII hos-

tile work environment claim and a claim for intentional

infliction of emotional distress. The essential elements of

each claim are set forth below.

In order to prevail on a claim for intentional infliction

of emotional distress plaintiff must prove:

1. Defendant intentionally injured the

plaintiff, or realized plaintiff was likely to suffer

the injuries complained of, or acted with willful

disregard of injuries plaintiff might suffer;

2. Defendant’s actions were extreme and

outrageous taking into consideration the atmo-

sphere and circumstances in which such actions

occurred; and

3. Plaintiff suffered severe emotional dis-

tress as a direct result of defendant’s conduct.

Injuries to the nervous system and mental pain

are physical injuries which also qualify as severe

emotional distress.

Eddy v. Brown, 715 P.2d 74 (Okla. 1986); Williams v. Lee

Way Motor Freight, Inc., 688 P.2d 1294 (Okla. 1984); Breeden

v. League Services Corp., 575 P.2d 1374 (Okla. 1978); Floyd v.

Dodson, 692 P.2d 77, 79-80 (Okla. App. 1984) (discussing

Oklahoma Uniform Jury Instruction - Civil, No. 19.1).

In order to prevail on a Title VII “hostile work envi-

ronment” claim, plaintiff must prove:

18A

1. Plaintiff belongs to a protected group;

2. Plaintiff was subject to unwelcome sex-

ual harassment;

3. the harassment was based on sex;

4. the harassment affected a ‘term, condi-

tion, or privilege’ of employment; and

5. the employer knew or should have

known of the harassment in question and failed

to take proper remedial action.

Jones v. Wesco Investments, Inc., 846 F.2d 1154, 1156 (8th

Cir. 1988). “For sexual harassment to be actionable, it

must be sufficiently severe or pervasive to ‘alter the

conditions of [the victim’s] employment and create an

abusive working environment.” Hicks v. Gates Rubber Co.,

833 F.2d 1406, 1414 (10th Cir. 1987) (quoting Meritor Sav.

Bank v. Vinson, 477 U.S. 57, 67 (1986)).

In the instant case the jury returned a general verdict

in favor of Marshall against each defendant on Marshall’s

intentional infliction of emotional distress claim. Thus,

the jury necessarily found Marshall proved each of the

essential elements of that claim with respect to each

defendant. Moreover, subsequent to receiving the jury’s

general verdict, the Court asked the jury to return to the

deliberation room and answer a series of questions to

help the Court interpret the verdict and to serve as an

advisory aid to the Court on the remaining Title VII

claim. The questions were prefaced with the following

note from the Court: “Ladies and Gentlemen of the Jury:

What follows is a series of questions known as special

interrogatories. Please answer these questions to help us

19A

interpret your verdict.” See Special Interrogatories (Oct.

19, 1990).

The jury’s answers to these special interrogatories

likewise constitute factual findings of the jury. Fed. R.

Civ. P. 49(b); 9 C. Wright & A. Miller, Federal Practice and

Procedure, § 2513 at 532 (1971) (a jury’s verdict, whether

general, special, or by special interrogatories accompany-

ing a general verdict, constitutes the definitive findings of

fact); 5A Moore’s Federal Practice, | 49.04 at 49-58 (2d Ed.

1991) (the jury’s answers to special interrogatories are the

jury’s “more specific findings of fact”).

However, if the intentional infliction of emotional

distress ciaim should not have been submitted to the jury

in the first place, the jury’s findings are viewed as an

academic exercise, a nullity, and nothing more than advi-

sory. Under such circumstances, the jury’s factual find-

ings would not be binding on the Court for purposes of

the Title VII claim. Castle v. Sangamo Weston, Inc., 837 F.2d

1550, 1560 (11th Cir. 1988) (trial court’s conditional rul-

ings concerning damages, in the event its ruling on the

motion for jnov was reversed, were “advisory” only and

were not binding); Williams v. Slade, 431 F.2d 605, 609 (5th

Cir. 1970) (courts have refused to grant a partial new trial

on liability alone where the damages issue had been

resolved in a “purely academic atmosphere”); O'Neill v.

United States, 411 F.2d 139, 146 (3rd Cir. 1969) (trial

court’s conditional assessment of damages, in the event

the defendant’s judgment was reversed on appeal, bore

the characteristic of an “advisory opinion,” was “purely

academic” when made, and did not pass through the

refining pressure of reality”); Romer v. Baldwin, 317 F.2d

919, 923 (3rd Cir. 1963) (when the jury assessed damages

20A

in favor of plaintiff despite finding no liability on the part

of defendant, the jury’s assessment was “merely an intel-

lectual exercise” and not binding on remand); Swentek v.

USAir, Inc., 830 F.2d 552, 559 (4th Cir. 1987) (Seventh

Amendment does not require the trial court to conform

its findings to a jury verdict that is infirm); see also Wil-

liams v. Cerberonics, Inc., 871 F.2d 452, 458, n.4 (4th Cir.

1989).

VII. DEFENDANTS’ MOTIONS FOR JUDGMENT

NOTWITHSTANDING THE VERDICT

A.. Standard of review for motions for jnov

“Motions for directed verdict and for judgment not-

withstanding the verdict are considered under the same

standard.” Hurd v. American Hoist & Derrick Co., 734 F.2d

495, 498 (10th Cir. 1984).> The standard was recently

summarized by the Tenth Circuit: the test is whether

there is evidence upon which the jury could properly find

a verdict for the party opposing the motion for directed

verdict or motion for jnov. Rajala v. Allied Corp., 919 F.2d

610, 615 (10th Cir. 1990). In making that determination

the court “may not weigh the evidence, pass on the

credibility of witnesses, or substitute its judgment for

that of the jury,” but rather “must view the evidence most

3 Here the defendants moved for a directed verdict at the

close of the plaintiff’s case and again at the close of the evi-

dence. The Court took these motions under advisement and

invited jnov motions after the return of the jury’s verdict in

favor of plaintiff. See Lucas v. Dover Corp., 857 F.2d 1397 (10th

Cir. 1988). The court now grants the motions for directed verdict

as well as the motions for jnov.

rc

21A

favorably to the nonmoving party and give that party the

benefit of all reasonable inferences from the evidence.”

Brown v. McGraw-Edison Co., 736 F.2d 609, 613 (10th Cir.

1984); see also Rajala, 919 F.2d at 615; Berry v. City of

Muskogee, Okla., 900 F.2d 1489, 1496 (10th Cir. 1990); Sand-

lin v. Texaco Refining & Mktg, Inc., 900 F.2d 1479, 1483 n.5

(10th Cir. 1990); Abercrombie v. City of Catoosa, Okla., 896

F.2d 1228, 1231 (10th Cir. 1990); Royal College Shop, Inc. v.

Northern Ins. Co. of N.Y., 895 F.2d 670, 677 (10th Cir. 1990);

Zimmerman v. First Fed. Sav. & Loan Ass'n, 848 F.2d 1047,

1051 (10th Cir. 1988).

The district court’s ruling on a motion for directed

verdict or for jnov is reviewed de novo by the Tenth

Circuit, applying the same standard as that used by the

district court. Rajala, 919 F.2d at 615; Sandlin, 900 F.2d at

1483 n.5; Brown, 736 F.2d at 613.

The Court notes that this standard of review has

recently become somewhat blurred. The following three

recent opinions of the Tenth Circuit that could be said to

stand for the proposition that a ruling on a motion for

directed verdict or for jnov is reviewed under a manifest

abuse of discretion standard: Snider v. Circle K Corp., 923

F.2d 1404, 1409 (10th Cir. 1991); Sil-Flo Inc. v. SFHC, Inc.,

917 F.2d 1507, 1519 (10th Cir. 1990); and Key v. Liquid

Energy Corp., 906 F.2d 500, 502 (10th Cir. 1990).

In Snider the district court apparently denied Circle K’s

motion for directed verdict. On appeal the Tenth Circuit

stated: “Circle K alternatively argues that the district court

should not have submitted Snider’s . . . claim to the jury. .

[W]e review the district court’s decision under an abuse of

discretion standard.” Snider, 923 F.2d at 1409.

22A

In Key the district court denied a motion for directed

verdict and a motion for jnov. The Tenth Circuit stated:

“In ruling on an appellant’s request to overturn a trial

court for failure to direct a verdict or grant a JNOV, the

appeals court must determine whether the trial court’s

refusal to set aside the jury verdict constituted a manifest

abuse of discretion.” Key, 906 F.2d at 502.

Both Snider and Key cited Karns v. Emerson Elec. Co.,

817 F.2d 1452, 1456 (10th Cir. 1987), to support the “abuse

of discretion” standard. However, Karns’ “manifest abuse

of discretion” language referred to the standard for

reviewing a district court’s ruling on a motion for new

trial, not a motion for directed verdict or for jnov. Karns,

817 F.2d at 1456. Key also cited Brown v. McGraw Edison

Co., 736 F.2d 609, 616 (10th Cir. 1984). Again, the Brown

“abuse of discretion” language referred to the standard

for reviewing a ruling on.a motion for new trial. Brown,

736 F.2d at 616.

Sil-Flo reviewed the district court’s denial of defen-

dant’s motion “for jnov or new trial” and used both

standards without distinguishing between them. Sil-Flo,

917 F.2d at 1519. For example, the paragraph discussing

the standard of review contains four sentences, each fol-

lowed by a case citation. First, for its “manifest abuse of

discretion” language, Sil-Flo cited Harvey ex rel. Harvey v.

General Motors Corp., 873 F.2d 1343, 1346 (10th Cir. 1989).

Harvey was a “new trial” case. Second, for its language

that “so long as a reasonable basis exists for the jury’s

verdict, we will not disturb the trial court’s ruling,” Sil-

Flo cited McAlester v. United Air Lines, Inc., 851 F.2d 1249,

1260 (10th Cir. 1988). McAlester used the quoted language

with reference to reviewing a ruling on a motion for new

23A

trial. Third, for its language that “our role is not to

determine anew whether in our judgment [defendant]

should have been liable on these claims,” Sil-Flo cited

Patty Precision Prods. v. Brown & Sharpe Mfg. Co., 846 F.2d

1247, 1251 (10th Cir. 1988). Patty Precision was also a “new

trial” case. And fourth, for its language that “we consider

only whether the evidence and all reasonable inferences

to be drawn therefrom so clearly mandates that [defen-

dant] could not be held liable that reasonable minds

could not differ on this result,” Sil-Flo cited Ryder v. City

of Topeka, 814 F.2d 1412, 1418 (10th Cir. 1987). Ryder was a

“jnov” case.

After carefully studying these authorities, there is no

question in this Court’s mind that a district court’s ruling

on a motion for directed verdict or for jnov is reviewed de

novo by the appellate court, and a ruling on a motion for

new trial is reviewed for manifest abuse of discretion.

These two standards were clearly described by Chief

Judge Holloway in Brown v. McGraw Edison Co., 736 F.2d

609 (10th Cir. 1984), and have been often repeated.

Accordingly, this Court is convinced the three recent

opinions discussed above do not properly state the law if,

and to the extent, they hold a district court’s ruling on a

motion for directed verdict or for jnov is reviewed under

an abuse of discretion standard.

B. Factual arguments directed toward sufficiency

of plaintiff’s evidence

Clearly, not every discrimination claim, whether it is

based on age, race, national origin, or gender, automatically

24A

supports a claim for intentional infliction of emotional dis-

tress. Grandchamp v. United Air Lines, Inc., 854 F.2d 381, 384-85

and n.8 (10th Cir. 1988). Only if the manner of discrimination

is beyond all possible bounds of decency or is regarded as

utterly intolerable in a civilized community may plaintiff

reach the jury on an intentiona! infliction of emotional dis-

tress claim. Id. at n.8.

In the instant case, defendants make two arguments

that Marshall’s evidence was insufficient to warrant sub-

mission of the emotional distress claim to the jury. First,

both defendants argue Marshall failed to introduce suffi-

cient evidence of truly outrageous conduct on the part of

Noah. Second, defendant Nelson Electric argues that

because Marshall failed to introduce any evidence of

outrageous conduct other than the acts of Noah, Nelson

Electric cannot be held liable. For purposes of the instant

motion, the Court accepts Marshall’s testimony at face

value and views it in the light most favorable to her.

In that light, the Court rejects defendants’ first argu-

ment. Considering the evidence as summarized in Section

IV, supra, the Court finds there was sufficient evidence

from which the jury could find Noah engaged in extreme

and outrageous conduct causing Marshall emotional dis-

tress.

4 The Court submitted the intentional infliction of emo-

tiona! distress claim to the jury, but took under advisement the

statute of limitations issue discussed in Secion [sic] VII.C. of this

order. The defendants subsequently moved for directed verdicts

on the statute of limitations issue at the close of plaintiff's

evidence, and for jnov on the statute of limitations issue follow-

ing the return of the verdict.

25A

Defendant Nelson Electric’s next argument is that it

cannot be liable because Marshall introduced evidence of

Noah’s conduct only, and failed to introduce any evi-

dence of outrageous conduct on the part of Nelson Elec-

tric. In response, Marshall points out she advanced two

theories of liability with respect to Nelson Electric: (1)

that Nelson Electric is vicariously liable for the acts of

Noah, under the theory of respondeat superior, since Noah

was acting within the scope of his employment; and (2)

that Nelson Electric is directly liable as a result of its own

conduct in ignoring and acquiescing in Noah’s conduct.

As noted earlier, there was evidence regarding how

Nelson Electric responded to Noah’s conduct, and the

jury expressly found Nelson Electric ignored and acqui-

esced in Noah’s conduct and failed to take prompt correc-

tive action. Moreover, the Tenth Circuit has expressly

upheld an intentional infliction of emotional distress jury

award against an employer who ignored and acquiesced

in the conduct of one of its employees. Baker v.

Weyerhaeuser Co., 903 F.2d 1342, 1347 (10th Cir. 1990)

(“Baker’s action against Weyerhaeuser was based on

Weyerhaeuser’s own conduct, namely, its utter failure

through its officers and supervisors to take action against

[co-worker] Caldwell, a known sexual harasser of

females.”). Accordingly, the Court also rejects Nelson

Electric’s second argument.

Thus, defendants’ motions for jnov are denied to the

extent they argue Marshall’s evidence was insufficient to

submit the intentional infliction of emotional distress

claim to the jury

26A

This, however, does not end the inquiry because at

the time the Court submitted the emotional distress claim

to the jury it expressly reserved ruling on the statute of

limitations issue.

C. The statute of limitations issue

The Court expressed concern about the statute of

limitations issue at the time the emotional distress claim

was submitted to the jury. Now, after careful consider-

ation, the Court concludes the emotional distress claim

should not have been submitted to the jury.

The applicable statute of limitations for the claim of

intentional infliction of emotional distress is two years.

Chandler v. Denton, 741 P.2d 855 (Okla. 1987). Marshall

filed her complaint on September 12, 1988. Thus, absent

some exception to the general rule, her claim is barred to

the extent it is based on conduct that occurred before

September 12, 1986.

Viewing Marshall’s evidence in the light most favor-

able to her, Noah’s harassment began in 1985. However,

Marshall left Department 411 on August 12, 1986, and

thus was no longer in the same department as Noah.

Marshall testified Noah’s harassment “pretty much

stopped” at that time, and she acknowledged Noah's

conduct was less frequent and less explicit when com-

pared to his conduct while she was in Department 411.

Her testimony concerning Noah’s conduct after she left

Department 411 and entered Department 710 can be sum-

marized as follows: Noah wriggled his tongue at her in a

sexual way, brushed against her in the hallway, called her

supervisor in Department 710 to ask where she was,

« ~~ eae

27A

watched her working, and approached her in the new

department and touched her by pinching her on the arm.

See Plaintiff’s Second Proposed Findings of Fact and Con-

clusions of Law at 4-5 (Oct. 15, 1990).

“It is the trial court’s responsibility initially to deter-

mine whether the defendant’s conduct may reasonably be

regarded as sufficiently extreme and outrageous to meet

the §46 standards. Only when it is found that reasonable

[persons] would differ in an assessment of this critical

issue may the. . . claim be submitted to a jury.” Eddy v.

Brown, 715 ?.2d 74, 76-77 (Okla. 1986). Liability does not

extend to “mere insults, indignities, threats, annoyances,

petty oppressions, or other trivialities.” Id. at 77 (quoting

Restatement of Torts (Second) §46, comment d). To be

actionable, the conduct must be beyond all possible

bounds of decency in the setting in which it occurred or

be regarded as utterly intolerable in a civilized commu-

nity. Id. at 77; Haynes v. South Community Hospital Manage-

ment, Inc., 793 P.2d 303, 306 (Okla. App. 1990); Bostwick v.

Atlas Iron Maters, Inc., 780 P.2d 1184, 1188 (Okla. App.

1988).

Since Marshall filed her Complaint on September 12,

1988, the applicable limitatins [sic] period begins on Sep-

tember 12, 1986. The Court finds as a matter of law the

conduct that occurred after September 12, 1986, was not

sufficiently extreme and outrageous to constitute inten-

tional infliction of emotional distress. Moreover, in oral

argument on this issue Marshall conceded as much.°

5 In oral argument on this issue on November 9, 1990,

Marshall’s counsel conceded Noah’s conduct after August 12,

28A

However, in a good faith attempt to defuse this conces-

sion, Marshall argues Noah’s conduct was a continuing

tort and the Court must therefore consider all of Noah’s

acts, no matter how long ago they occurred, since some

non-extreme/non-outrageous acts occurred after Septem-

ber 12, 1986.

This argument presents a difficult and close question

of law. However, after careful consideration and for the

reasons set forth below, the Court rejects Marshall's argu-

ment. The Court concludes that under the circumstances

of this case the statute of limitations requires the Court to

initially consider the conduct that occurred within the

limitations period. Unless the conduct that occurred

within the limitations period was sufficiently extreme

and outrageous to support an intentional infliction of

emotional distress claim, plaintiff’s claim is time-barred.®

1986 (when she transferred into a different department) was not

sufficiently extreme and outrageous to support a claim for

intentional infliction of emotional distress. Marshall indirectly

made the same concession in her brief. See Plaintiff’s Brief in

Response to Nelson Electric’s Motion for Directed Verdict at

13-14 (Oct. 12, 1990) (“Plaintiff only testified that the harass-

ment pretty much stopped after she left Department 411

because the conduct by Noah was less frequent and less explicit

when compared to his conduct in the Mod Center.”)

© During the trial of the case, the Court admitted evidence

of defendant's conduct outside the statute of limitations on the

assumption the continuing tort doctrine might apply, with the

understanding the matter would be reviewed at the close of the

evidence. The Court also believed evidence outside the statute

of limitations period would be admissible under Federal Rule of

Evidence 404(b) if defendants’ statute of limitations arguments

were overcome.

29A

While the continuing tort doctrine has long been

applied to a variety of actions, including trespass, nui-

sance, and false imprisonment, it has only in recent years

begun to be applied to claims for intentional infliction of

emotional distress.

There are no decisions from Oklahoma courts or from

the Tenth Circuit on this exact issue. However, the Tenth

Circuit addressed a strikingly similar issue in Manders v.

Oklahoma ex rel. Dept. of Mental Health, 875 F.2d 263 (10th

Cir. 1989), and other jurisdictions have addressed the

issue.

In Manders, plaintiffs raised sexual harassment claims

against their supervisor under Title VII and 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983. The statute of limitations on a section 1983 claim

is two years. Since the plaintiffs filed their complaint on

May 5, 1986, the Tenth Circuit looked at the evidence

concerning defendant’s conduct after May 5, 1984, and

found no acts or allegations sufficient to support plain-

tiffs’ claim. The plaintiffs argued defendant Haney con-

tinued to sexually harass them after May 5, 1984, by

acting vengefully in response to their rebuffs. Manders,

875 F.2d at 265. Plaintiffs contended Haney’s vengeful-

ness was a continuation of his earlier sexual harassment

because it was intended to punish them for not acquiesc-

ing to his sexual advances. Id. However, the Tenth Circuit

disagreed and affirmed the trial court’s decision to grant

summary judgment based on the statute of limitations.

Similarly, in Koster v. Chase Manhattan Bank, 609 F.

Supp. 1191 (S.D.N.Y. 1985), plaintiff sued for sex discrimi-

nation under Title VII and for intentional infliction of

30A

emotional distress. Applying the New York one-year stat-

ute of limitations for the emotional distress claim, the

court held “all acts occurring before the limitations

period are excluded from consideration.” Id. at 1198.

Since there was no evidence that any conduct occurring

within the limitations period “in and of itself [was] suffi-

ciently extreme, outrageous and uncivilized to be action-

able,” the court entered summary judgment in favor of

defendant. Id.

The Eighth Circuit appears to take the same approach

as that taken by the Tenth Circuit in Manders and by the

district court in Koster. In Gross v. United States, 676 F.2d

295 (8th Cir. 1982), a farmer sought damages for inten-

tional infliction of emotional distress allegedly resulting

from a government agency’s actions to thwart plaintiff’s

participation in the United States Department of Agricul-

ture’s feed grain program. The Eighth Circuit held the

statute of limitations for the claim of intentional infliction

of emotional distress “generally runs from the date of the

last tortious act.” Id. at 300. “[T]he focus should be on

when the last tortious act occurred.” Id. In Gross the

appellate court could not determine from the record

whether the last tortious act occurred within the limita-

tions period and accordingly remanded for a determina-

tion of that issue. Although the district court had made a

finding concerning an incident that occurred within the

limitations period, the district court had not made clear

whether the incident was an extreme and outrageous act

constituting intentional infliction of emotional distress.

Id. The Eighth Circuit stated that unless that incident

constituted tortious (i.e. extreme and outrageous) con-

duct, plaintiff’s action must be dismissed as outside the

31A

statute of limitations. Id. Here, there clearly was no tor-

tious (extreme and outrageous) conduct by Noah within

the two year statute of limitations.

The Ninth Circuit has taken a somewhat different

approach. Applying California law, the Ninth Circuit

focused on the severity of the harm done to the plaintiff,

holding that a cause of action for intentional infliction of

emotional distress accrues at the moment plaintiff’s

injury is “severe enough to constitute intentional inflic-

tion of emotional distress.” Eisenberg v. Insurance Co. of

North America, 815 F.2d 1285, 1292 (9th Cir. 1987). Even

applying this standard, however, plaintiff’s intentional

infliction claim arose well prior to September 12, 1986.

There are authorities apparently holding any continu-

ing act that occurs within the limitations period is suffi-

cient to bring with it all the previous acts that occurred

outside the limitations period. In Page v. United States, 729

F.2d 818 (D.C.Cir. 1984), a veteran sued the Veterans

Administration for injuries allegedly resulting from being

subjected to harmful drugs during a course of treatment

from 1961 to 1980. The Court of Appeals held “the cause

of action [based on] continuous drug treatment did not

accrue, and the statutory limitations did not come into

play, until the allegedly tortious conduct came to a halt in

1980.” Id. at 823. In Everly v. United Parcel Service, Inc.,

1989 WL 81961 (N.D.Ill. 1989) (not reported in F.Supp.),

the plaintiff alleged she was subjected to years of harass-

ment, insults and discriminatory treatment at the work-

place. The district court denied defendants’ motion to

dismiss the action, finding the cumulative effect of the

conduct stretching across the years was sufficiently outra-

geous to defeat the dismissal motion. On the statute of

32A

limitations issue, the court stated “the statute of limita-

tions does not begin to run on a continuing wrong until

the wrong is ‘over and done with’ . . . and [plaintiff's

claim] is not time barred by the statute of limitations.” Id.

The court focused on the last act of the defendant, appar-

ently without regard to whether that act was extreme and

outrageous. In Twyman v. Twyman, 790 S.W.2d 819 (Tex.

App. 1990), error granted, No. 3-88-095-CV (Dec. 19, 1990),

plaintiff sought damages for negligent infliction of emo-

tional distress based on her husband’s continued

attempts, over a period of years, to have her engage in

deviant sexual acts with him. The Texas appellate court

stated the statute of limitations on plaintiff's claim did

not begin to run “until the tortious acts [had] ceased.” Id.

at 821. Also, in Rochon v. FBI, 691 F.Supp. 1548 (D.D.C.

1988), involving raciai discrimination claims under Title

VIL, 42 U.S.C. § 1985, and a claim for intentional infliction

of emotional distress, the court applied the continuing

tort doctrine and held the statute of limitations did not

start running until the time the tortious conduct ceased.

Id. at 1563.

The Court recognizes this legal issue is a close one.

However, the Court believes it should follow the Tenth

Circuit’s approach in Manders as discussed above. Fur-

ther, the Court believes the reasoning underlying the

decisions in Manders, Koster, and Gross is sound. Any

other result would subject defendants to never-ending

liability for such claims, which could at any time be

triggered by non-extreme, non-outrageous, and non-tor-

tious acts. Merely alleging that such non-actionable con-

duct was an extension of actionable conduct would

resurrect stale time-barred conduct. Such a result would

33A

be fundamentally foreign to the purpose of statutes of

limitation.

“Statutes of limitation are vital te the welfare of

society and are favored in the law. They are found and

approved in all systems of enlightened jurisprudence.”

Wood v. Carpenter, 101 U.S. 135, 139 (1879). They balance

“the interests in favor of protecting valid claims” against

“the interests in prohibiting the prosecution of stale

ones.” Johnson v. Railway Express Agency, Inc., 421 U.S.

454, 463-64 (1975).

Once the statutory period has passed, a party can

carry on its affairs with confidence that it need not worry

about contingent liabilities.

[Statutes of limitation] are statutes of repose;

and although affording plaintiffs what the legis-

lature deems a reasonable time to present their

claims, they protect defendants and the courts

from having to deal with cases in which the

search for truth may be seriously impaired by

the loss of evidence, whether by death or disap-

pearance of witnesses, fading memories, disap-

pearance of documents, or otherwise.

United States v. Kubrick, 444 U.S. 111, 117 (1979). Courts

recognize that the application of “statutes of limitation

result in hardship to plaintiffs in some cases.” Steele v.

United States, 599 F.2d 823, 828 (7th Cir. 1979). However,

“alleviation of that hardship is a matter of policy for the

Congress.” Kaltreider Const., Inc. v. United States, 303 F.2d

366, 368-69 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 371 U.S. 877 (1962).

{Statutes of limitation] are by definition arbi-

trary, and their operation does not discriminate

between the just and the unjust claim, or the

34A

voidable and unavoidable delay. They have

come into the law not through the judicial pro-

cess but through legislation. They present a

public policy about the privilege to litigate.

Chase Sec. Corp. v. Donaldson, 325 U.S. 304, 314 (1945)

(footnote omitted). Legislatures enact a statute of limita-

tions to apply to all cases covered by the statute. Since the

legislature is the appropriate body to make such policy

decisions, the only task for the courts is to determine

whether the claim is within the coverage of the statute.

Here, faced with this limited task, the Court deter-

mines that Marshall’s claim is not within the coverage of

the statute.

In the instant case Marshall concedes, and the Court

finds as a matter of law, the alleged conduct that occurred

during the two-year period immediately preceding the

filing of the complaint, that is, the conduct that occurred

after September 12, 1986, was not sufficiently extreme

and outrageous to constitute intentional infliction of emo-

tional distress. Because no “extreme and outrageous”

conduct occurred within the statute of limitations period,

and because Marshall cannot use the continuing tort doc-

trine to resurrect the time-barred conduct under the cir-

cumstances of this case, Marshall’s claim is barred by the

statute of limitations.

Accordingly, defendants’ motions for directed verdict

and jnov on Marshall’s emotional distress claim are

granted based on the two-year statute of limitations.’

? Because the intentional infliction claim should not have

been submitted to the jury, the jury’s findings on this claim are

not binding on the Court. See Section VI, supra.

35A

D. If the Court’s grant of jnov is incorrect as a

matter of law, the Court conditionally grants

defendants’ motion for a new trial

Rule 50 of the Federal Rules of Civil procedure is

titled “Motion for a Directed Verdict and for Judgment

Notwithstanding the Verdict.” Rule 50(c)(l) provides, in

pertinent part:

(c) [Motion for Judgment Notwithstanding the

Verdict]: Conditional Rulings on Grant of

Motion.

(1) If the motion for judgment notwith-

standing the verdict . . . is granted, the court

shall also rule on the motion for new trial, if any,

by determining whether it should be granted if

the judgment is thereafter vacated or reversed,

and shall specify the grounds for granting or

denying the motion for the new trial... .

Fed. R. Civ. P. 50(c)(1).

The Eleventh Circuit has noted “the only conditional

ruling allowed by Fed. R. Civ. P. 50 is a conditional ruling

for a new trial should the trial court’s grant of a motion

for judgment n.o.v. be overruled.” Castle v. Sangamo

Weston, Inc., 837 F.2d 1550, 1561 (11th Cir. 1988).

As indicated previously, the statute of limitations

issue in this case is a difficult and close one. Recognizing

that the Court’s grant of defendants’ motion for judgment

notwithstanding the verdict on statute of limitations

grounds might be reversed on appeal given the split of

authority on the statute of limitations issue, the Court

next proceeds to determine whether the defendants’

36A

motion for new trial should be conditionally granted.

Fed. R. Civ. P. 50(c)(1); see also 9 C. Wright & A. Miller,

Federal Practice and Procedure § 2537-2540 (1971 & Supp.

1991).

In this case, the jury found Noah’s harassment was

extreme and outrageous and awarded compensatory

damages in the amount of $2,500 against Noah. The jury

also found Nelson Electric’s conduct was extreme and

outrageous and awarded compensatory damages in the

amount of $93,000 against Nelson Electric. Because of the

jury’s varying awards of compensatory damages against

Noah and Nelson Electric, and because these varying

awards are so contrary to the evidence, the Court finds

the jury’s verdict may not stand even if the statute of

limitations question was wrongly decided.

Compensatory damages are meant to compensate 4

plaintiff for actual injuries. Moffett v. Gene B. Glick Co., 621

F. Supp. 244, 288 (N.D. Ind. 1985). Such damages are not

intended to provide a windfall to plaintiff. Corporate Air

Fleet of Tennessee, Inc. v. Gates Learjet, Inc., 589 F. Supp.

1076, 1082 (M.D. Tenn. 1984). Nor are they for the pur-

pose of punishing a defendant or deterring similar con-

duct in the future. In Re Klotz, 53 B.R. 148 (D.N.M. 1985).

The jury explained the differing amounts of actual

damages in their responses to special interrogatories. The

jury believed Nelson Electric did not act consistent with

its documented procedures regarding layoffs, “bump

rights,” and recalls. The jury also believed Nelson Electric

had limited procedures concerning the identification of

sexual harassment and had no procedures concerning

how its employees or management personnel were to

37A

deal with the problem. The jury believed Nelson Electric

focused on production rather than on employee relations.

Finally, the jury stated: “Had proper procedures been

documented for sexual harassment and correction, more

of the responsibility would have fallen on Noah.” Special

Interrogatories (Oct. 19, 1990) (Jury’s answer to question

#2).

While the jury clearly found fault with Nelson Elec-

tric’s conduct, which conduct they punished by way of

punitive damages, the varying awards of $93,000 com-

pensatory damages against Nelson Electric and $2,500

compensatory damages against Noah are irreconcilably

inconsistent and against the great weight of the evidence.

Swentek v. U.S. Air, Inc., 830 F.2d 552, 559 (4th Cir. 1987)

(Seventh Amendment does not require the trial court to

conform its findings to a jury verdict that is infirm); see

also Williams v. Cerberonics, Inc., 871 F.2d 452, 458, n.4 (4th

Cir. 1989).

While it is, of course, impossible to determine the

jury’s actual intention when it awarded such drastically

differing amounts of compensatory damages, it is more

likely than not that the awards arose out of the jury

instructions on compensatory damages, which permitted

jury confusion on the issue. Although the jury instruc-

tions may not have made it clear, the injury to Marshall

may not be reasonably or logically divided in the way the

jury attempted to do it. The jury apparently attempted to

apportion damages between the individual defendant

and the deep-pocket corporate defendant. But, if defen-

dants are liable to Marshall for tortious conduct, they are

jointly and severally liable, Bell v. Mickelson, 710 F.2d 611

38A

(10th Cir. 1983), and the jury’s attempted apportionment

of compensatory damages was improper.

Accordingly, the Court conditionally grants defen-

dants’ motion for a new trial pursuant to Federal Rule of

Civil Procedure 50 in the event the Court’s directed ver-

dict/jnov ruling is reversed.

VIII. FINDINGS OF FACT ON MARSHALL’S TITLE

VII CLAIM AGAINST NELSON ELECTRIC

If any finding of fact in this order should more prop-

erly be designated a conclusion of law, it is hereby

deemed a conclusion of law.

A. Stipulated Facts

1. Piaintiff was employed at Nelson Electric from

October 4, 1976 until July 2, 1987.

2. On August 16, 1986, plaintiff was laid off from

Department 411 and chose to bump into Department 710.

3. Luther Noah’s employment with Nelson Electric

ceased as of November 1, 1986.

4. On June 15, 1987, plaintiff voluntarily chose to be

laid off from Department 710 and chose to bump into

Department 411.

5. Effective July 2, 1987, plaintiff and Jackie Howell

were laid off from Department 411.

6. Plaintiff filed a formal complaint of sexual

harassment with the Oklahoma Human Rights Commis-

sion on December 16, 1987.

39A

7. On September 12, 1988, plaintiff filed this law-

suit.

B. Noah’s conduct and Marshall’s participation in

the sexually charged atmosphere

1. Marshall was an employee of Nelson Electric, a

Unit of General Signal Corporation, from October 4, 1976

to July 2, 1987. In 1978, Marshall transferred into the

Modification (“Mod”) Center of Department 411, Cast

Assembly. Approximately four women worked in the

Mod Center as regular employees in 1985 and 1986.

Department 636, Flame Seals or firestop putty, was added

to the workload of Department 411 in the mid-80’s. For

all accounting and labor reports, Department 636 work

was treated as part of Department 411. During the years

1985 and 1986, while employed with Nelson Electric and

working in Department 411 with foreman Noah, Marshall

was subjected to numerous specific instances of sexual

harassment. This harassment was not made a condition of

her continuing employment. She was the victim of offen-

sive touchings by Noah and was subjected to sexual

comments and innuendos by Noah.

2. Noah also subjected other women, including

Juanita Holloman, to similar harassments, but of less

magnitude.

3. Specifically, Noah would call Marshall up to his

~ desk and show her pornographic pictures, read sexual

acts from the Bible to her, comment about her body, tell

her that he would like to do specific sexual things to her.

40A

4. Marshall's version of the alleged harassment was

seriously called into question. Moreover, sexual harass-

ment was an unlikely source of Marshall’s emotional

problems. Her treating physician, Dr. Chop, credibly

demonstrated this point.

(a) Chop began treating Marshall on January

14, 1988, for pain, numbness and physical complaints. He

last saw her on March 29, 1988. Despite the fact the Chop

treated Marshall for two months, absent from Chop’s

testimony and medical records is any prelitigation refer-

ence by Marshall to sexual harassment at her workplace.

Instead, Marshall blamed her symptoms on a work-

related injury that occurred in March 1987.

(b) According to Chop, Marshall specifically

attributed her weight gain problem to the worker’s com-

pensation accident. She also related to Chop a suicide

attempt which resulted from her husband beating her. In

Chop’s opinion, it was “almost impossible” to determine

the source of Marshall’s many problems, including

depression. Chop credibly testified that sexual harass-

ment was an unlikely cause of Marshall’s emotional prob-

lems.

(c) Nelson Electric’s exhibit 54 contains Dr.

Chop’s notes as well as several other papers. The third

page of the exhibit, bearing a page number of 499, con-

tains Chop’s notes of the oral history given by Marshall

to Chop during Marshall's initial visit. There is no refer-

ence to any sexual harassment. It states in part:

Patient presents with long, somewhat vague his-

tpry of ten months of problems with pain in her

neck, back and numbness extending into the

41A

arms and the hands with a very worried affect

about this. .. . She has had a normal EMG on the

left upper extremity where she has experienced

most of her numbness and shooting pain a

month after the initial work accident which

occurred 3/2/87, where she was spun around

by a machine... .

(d) The next page of exhibit 54, bearing page

number 500, contains Chop’s notes regarding Marshall's

visit of January 27, 1988. There is no reference to harass-

ment. There is mention, however, of Marshall’s suicide

gesture, which Chop described in part as follows:

In addition, patient has transverse scars on the

left wrist from a suicidal gesture about ten to 15

years ago that resulted when her husband was

beating her quite a bit.

(e) Chop also noted that Marshall had a

“{hjistory of being abused by her current husband.” The

notes regarding Marshall’s visits of February 25, 1988,

and March 29, 1988, are shown on pages 503 and 504 of

the exhibit. There is no reference to any harassment. The

only reference to any harassment in the entire exhibit is

contained on pages 505-506 which is the note Marshall

gave to Chop on April 5, 1988.

(f) The note, which was written for litigation

purposes, states in part:

Dr. Chop my lawyer needs a copy from you, & |

am also getting one from my pshyc., Dr. Farley.

He needs the date in Jan. that I first came in and

put me on med. & referred me to pshyc.

1. Date in Jan. temporarily disabled to work

due to harassment from work &/or injury.

42A

My lawyer is putting me back on drawing work-

man’s comp. again & making them pay for my

pshyco. but he also needs the copy from you

that started temp. disabled to work starting

Jan. ...

During his testimony, Chop discussed this note and his

refusal to provide Marshall’s attorney the information

requested by Marshall because, according to Chop, he

“wasn’t willing to try to make this appear to be a work-

related injury.”

(g) Nelson Electric’s exhibit 55 contains eleven

pages in Marshall's handwriting, explaining her prob-

lems. There is no reference in the exhibit to any alleged

harassment. Marshall admitted during her cross-exam-

ination that she prepared this document for Chop to

describe the pain that she was suffering.

5. Noah was a poor witness as well. His testimony

was likewise impaired on cross-examination by plaintiff's

counsel. Moreover, it was clear to the Court that Noah

was, indeed, a “dirty old man.” Unfortunately, however,

many of Marshall’s claims regarding Noah were exagge-

rated, with the Court being left to sift through the tat-

tered remains of the credibility of these two witnesses.

The Court finds that the truth is somewhere between the

two versions advanced, but only as reflected in these

findings. Significantly, however, the Court finds that the

harassment and sexual atmosphere discussed in this

Order was not made known to Nelson Electric's manage-

ment until late in the game, and when it was, Nelson took

proper remedial action.

43A,

6. Marshall welcomed much of Noah’s conduct and

did not find it offensive on many occasions. On other

occasions she asked Noah to leave her alone.

on

7. On cross-examination, Marshall acknowledged

she also used “dirty talk” in the workplace; admitted —

from time to time she had asked others at work whether

they had sex the night before; admitted she did not

mention sexual harassment in the union grievance she

pursued in connection with her layoff; conceded she was

involved in an incident when Noah’s pants were pulled

down at work; and acknowledged that despite this

alleged harassment at the hands of Noah, she repeatedly

contacted Nelson Electric management after her transfer

to another department asking to be transferred back into

Noah’s department and placed under his supervision.

Several other witnesses corroborated Marshall’s central

role in the sexually charged atmosphere of Department

411.

8. While working in Department 411, Marshall

molded firestop putty, a product of Nelson Electric, into

penises and figures with large genitals. These molded

figures were proudly displayed by Marshall and by her

co-employees in Department 411, Metta McGee, Juanita

Holloman and Pat Souhrada McDannald. Marshall's co-

employees testified that Marshall made many of the pen-

ises, at least as many as the other employees, and seemed

to enjoy making them. This rebuts Marshall's testimony

that she only made one such penis in an attempt to

embarrass Noah so that he would quit making them.

Marshall’s rebutted testimony is rejected by the Court.

44A

9. The Court also rejects Marshall’s claim that on

Friday, August 8, 1986, Noah pressured her to meet him

at his church to have sex. The Court further rejects the

notion that a heated argument ensued when Marshall

refused, that Noah threatened to lay her off, and that in

retaliation Noah informed Marshall on the next Monday

that she was being iaid off. The Court finds this testi-

mony unworthy of belief.

10. Marshall was not subjected to continuous and

relentless instances of sexual harassment by Noah, as she

alleges, especially when viewed in light of her own con-

duct, the indications she gave to her co-workers regard-

ing such conduct, the totality of circumstances and the

context and environment of Department 411. Acquies-

cence in sexual harassment was not a condition of her

continuing employment. Marshall was a leading partici-

pant, if not the leader, in the sexually charged environ-

ment, according to the credible testimony of her co-

workers, witnesses Metta McGee, Pat Sourhada, Juanita

Holloman, and of Noah.

11. Noah did not keep Marshall out of Department

411 in retaliation for her refusal to have sex with him.

12. After Marshall left Department 411 and began

working in Department 710, Noah did not continue to

harass her. As Marshall testified, the harassment “pretty

much stopped” at that time. The Court finds it stopped

altogether after Marshall left Department 411.

45A

C. Additional findings regarding liability of

Nelson Electric.

1. On June 30, 1986, John Fitzgerald, the Union

Shop Steward, told Bill Coleman, Human Resources Spe-

cialist for Nelson Electric, that there was a problem with

“dirty talk” in Department 411 but that he believed he

had solved the problem, that Coleman did not need to

take any action, and that if he needed assistance from

Coleman in the future he would notify Coleman.

2. As the Union Shop Steward, Fitzgerald was

responsible for handling Marshall’s complaints and Cole-

man was justified in relying upon Fitzgerald’s representa-

tions that he believed he had the problem concerning

“dirty talk” in Department 411 solved. Both Fitzgerald

and Coleman thereafter checked the Department 411

work area on occasion and observed no problem. After

June 30 and until October 20, 1986, Marshall did not

complain again. Indeed, in September of 1986, after she

had been laid off from Department 411 and bumped into

Department 710, she filed a grievance seeking to return.to

Department 411. These circumstances were further indi-

cations to Nelson Electric that Marshall did not object to

the environment in Department 411. On October 20, 1986,

Marshall complained directly to Nelson Electric for the

first time.

3. On August 16, 1986, Marshall was laid off from

Department 411 solely due to economic conditions.

Orders for products im ‘te Marshall's product group

decreased significantly tor four to six weeks before Mar-

shall was laid off. Labor hours in Marshall’s product

group also decreased at the time Marshall was laid off.

46A

4. After her layoff from Department 411, and while

Noah still worked in that department, Marshall continu-

ously attempted to return to the department. Marshall

testified at her arbitration hearing: “[I] was continuously

trying to get back into Department 411.”

5. Ultimately, on October 20, 1986, Marshall com-

plained about the harassment to the President of Nelson

Electric, Ivan Ellsworth, and also filed her complaint with

the EEOC thereafter. Ellsworth instructed the Human

Resources Department to conduct an investigation, which

it did. Bill Coleman, the Human Resources Manager for

Nelson Electric, took recorded statements of the

employees in the Mod Center.

6. Nelson Electric took immediate action after

receiving Marshall’s written complaint. An investigation

was conducted and Marshall’s coworkers were inter-

viewed. Upon completion of the investigation Noah was

notified that he would no longer work at Nelson Electric

effective November 1, 1986. After November 1, 1986,

Marshall had no contact with Noah until she filed this

lawsuit.

7. On July 2, 1987, Marshall and a male coworker

were laid off from Department 411. Upon being notified

of this layoff, Marshall read and signed a form indicating

she did not wish to bump into any other position.

8. During 1986 and 1987 the non-salaried work-

force at the plant where Marshall worked decreased from

198 to 115 employees. The economic downturn in Depart-

ment 411 merely reflected the continuing decrease in the

overall work force at Nelson Electric during these years.

47A

9. Marshall's layoffs were accomplished pursuant to

and in compliance with the terms of the Collective Bar-

gaining Agreement.

10. Moreover, Noah was not acting within the scope

of his authority as a foreman at Nelson Electric when he

sexually harassed Marshall.

11. Nelson Electric had established an effective

means for employees to voice complaints of harassment

without having to go through the alleged harasser, and

had a policy against sexual harassment.

D. Other factual findings

1. The Court finds Marshall belongs to a protected

group.

2. The Court finds Marshall was subject to

unwanted sexual harassment by Noah between 1985 and

August 12, 1986.

3. However, the Court also finds that although

Noah was a foreman, he was not a supervisory employee

within the meaning of Title VII. Thus, Nelson Electric is

not automatically liable for the acts of Noah under Title

VII. Rather, Nelson Electric is liable for the acts of Noah

only if it knew or should have known of the harassment

and failed to take appropriate remedial action.

4. The Court finds Nelson Electric, through its offi-

cers and supervisors, neither knew nor should have

known of the sexual harassment by Noah until October

1986.

48A

5. Moreover, the Court finds that once Nelson Elec-

tric was made aware of the harassment, Nelson took

proper Temedial action. Nelson did not ignore the con-

duct of Noah, nor did Nelson acquiesce in the conduct of

Noah.

6. The Court finds that none of the layoffs of Mar-

shall were due to sexual discrimination. Rather the lay-

offs were due solely to economic motives concerning the

business turndown at Nelson Electric and/or the lack of

work in Department 411.

7. The Court concludes Marshall was not laid off in

retaliation for her complaint about harassment.

IX. CONCLUSIONS OF LAW ON MARSHALL’S

TITLE VII CLAIM AGAINST NELSON ELECTRIC

If any conclusion of law in this order should more

properly be designated a finding of fact, it is hereby

deemed a finding of fact.

1. Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 makes it

“an unlawful employment practice for an employer .. . to

discriminate against any individual with respect to [his or

her] compensation, terms, conditions, or privileges of

employment, because of such individual’s race, color,

religien, sex, or national origin.” 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(a)(1).

The phrase “terms, conditions, or privileges of employ-

ment” encompasses the entire spectrum of disparate

treatment of men and women in employment. Meritor

Sav. Bank v. Vinson, 477 U.S. 57, 64 (1986).

2. Sexual harassment is a form of employment dis-

crimination prohibited by Title VII: Id. at 65; Jones v.

49A

Flagship Int’l., 793 F.2d 714, 719 (5th Cir. 1986), cert. denied,

479 U.S. 1065 (1987).

3. Circuit courts have expressed their strong con-

cern for the “menace of sexual harassment in the work-

place.” See, e.g., Starett v. Wadley, 876 F.2d 808, 815 n.9

(10th Cir. 1989); see also Williams v. Maremont Corp., 875

F.2d 1476, 1477 and 1485 (10th Cir. 1989) (employer had

legal right to terminate supervisory employee based in

part on evidence that he pulled down his zipper and told

female employee “if you want.it here it is”).

4. Two distinct forms of sexual harassment are

actionable under Title VII: (a) quid pro quo and (b) hos-

tile work environment. Henson v. City of Dundee, 682 F.2d

897 (11th Cir. 1982). See also Meritor, 477 U.S. at 66.

5. In this case Marshall sought relief under the hos-

tile work environment theory.

6. In order to state a prima facie case under the

hostile work environment theory Marshall must prove:

a. she belongs to a protected group;

b. she was subject to unwelcome sexual

harassment;

c. the harassment was based on sex;

d. the harassment affected a “term, condi-

tion, or privilege” of employment; and

e. Nelson Electric knew or should have

known of the harassment in question and failed

to take proper remedial action.

Jones v. Wesco Investments, Inc., 846 F.2d 1154, 1156 (8th

Cir. 1988).

50A

7. “[N]jot all workplace conduct that may be

described as “harassment” affects a ‘term, condition, or

privilege’ of employment within the meaning of Title

VII.” Meritor, 477 U.S. at 67. “For sexual harassment to be

actionable, it musi be sufficiently severe or pervasive ‘to

alter the conditions of employment and create an abusive

working environment.’” Id. (quoting Henson v. City of

Dundee, 682 F.2d 897, 904 (11th Cir. 1982)). “[T]Jhe trier of

fact must determine the existence of sexual harassment in

light of ‘the record as a whole and ‘the totality of circum-

stances, such as the nature of the sexual advances had the

context in which the alleged incidents occurred.’ ” Meri-

tor, 477 U.S. at 69 (quoting 29 C.F.R. § 1604.11(b) (1985)).

8. Courts may properly resort to EEOC guidelines

for guidance in sexual harassment cases. Meritor, 477 U.S.

at 65.

9. Title 29 C.F.R. § 1604.11 sets forth the EEOC

guidelines defining sexual harassment.

(a) Harassment on the basis of sex is a viola-

tion of Sec. 703 of Title VII. Unwelcomed sexual

advances, requests for sexual favors, and other

verbal or physical conduct of a sexual nature con-

stitute sexual harassment when .. . (3) such con-

duct has the purpose or effect of unreasonably

interfering with an individual’s work performance

or creating an intimidating, hostile, or offensive

working environment.

* * *

(c) Applying general Title VII principles,

an employer . . . is responsible for its acts and

those of its agents and supervisory employees with

respect to sexual harassment regardless of

51A

whether the specific acts complained of were

authorized or even forbidden by the employer

and regardless of whether the employer knew or

should have known of their occurrence. . . .

(d) With respect to conduct between fellow

employees, an employer is responsible for acts of

sexual harassment in the workplace where the

employer (or its agents or supervisory

employees) knows or should have known of the

conduct, unless it can show that it took immedi-

ate and appropriate corrective action.

29 C.F.R. § 1604.11 (a),(c),(d) (1988) (emphasis added).

10. In Meritor Sav. Bank v. Vinson, 477 U.S. 57 (1986),

the United State Supreme Court rejected the standard of

strict liabiiity of an employer for sexual harassment by its

supervisors in a hostile work environment claim.®

11. Title VII defines “employer” to include any

“agent” of the employer. Thus, the determination

depends on agency principles. In Meritor, the Supreme

Court discussed the issue of employer liability for the

acts of its employees, but “decline[d] to issue a definitive

rule on employer liability.” Meritor, 477 U.S. at 72.

The trial court in Meritor had determined that the

bank (employer) was not liable because it did not have

notice of the alleged conduct, finding that notice to the

alleged harasser (who was the vice president of the bank

® Prior to Meritor the EEOC and some cases held the

employer strictly liable for the acts of its supervisors, regardless

of knowledge; other courts held that the employer was liable

only if it knew or should have known of the harassment and

failed to take prompt remedial action. Henson, supra; Katz v.

Dole, 709 F.2d 251 (4th Cir. 1983).

52A

and the manager of the branch office where the conduct

occurred) was not the equivalent of notice to the bank.

The Court of Appeals took the opposite view and held

the bank strictly liable for the manager’s conduct even

though the bank did not know and could not reasonably

have known of the alleged misconduct. The Court of

Appeals held that “a supervisor, whether or not he pos-

sesses the authority to hire, fire, or promote, is neces-

sarily an ‘agent’ of his employer for all Title VII purposes,

since ‘even the appearance’ of such authority may enable

him to impose himself on his subordinates.” Id. at 69-70.

The Supreme Court rejected the strict liability view

adopted by the Court of Appeals. The Supreme Court

described the varying positions taken by the plaintiff, the

defendant, and the EEOC (amicus curiae), but declined to

adopt any of those positions. Instead, the Court said:

We do agree that Congress wanted courts to

look to agency principles for guidance in this

area... . Congress’ decision to define ‘employer’

to include any ‘agent’ of the employer surely

evinces an intent to place some limits on the acts

of employees for which employers under Title

VII are to be held responsible. For this reason,

we hold that the Court of Appeals erred in

concluding that employers are always automat-

ically liable for sexual harassment by their

supervisors. See generally Restatement (Second)

of Agency §§ 219-237 (1958). For the same rea-

son, absence of notice to an employer does not

necessarily insulate that employer from liability.

Id.

in addition, the Supreme Court rejected the view that the

mere existence of a policy against discrimination and a

53A

grievance procedure coupled with the plaintiff’s failure

to invoke the procedure, necessarily insulates the

employer. In Meritor the policy was a general one and did

not address sexual harassment in particular; moreover,

the grievance procedure required the complainant to

complain first to the direct supervisor who, in this case,

was the alleged harasser. Meritor, 447 U.S. at 72-73.

12. In Hicks v. Gates Rubber Co., 833 F.2d 1406,

1417-18 (10th Cir. 1987), the Tenth Circuit described its

application of the agency principles suggested by the

Supreme Court in Meritor. The Tenth Circuit said:

We find guidance in the Restatement (Sec-

ond) of Agency § 219 (1958). Under § 219(1), an

employer is liable for any tort committed by an

employee “while acting in the scope of . . . em-

ployment.” Id. However, as one commentator

noted, ‘a sexual harassment simply is not within

the job description of any supervisor or any

other worker in any reputable business.’ Thus,

‘confining liability . . . to situations in which a

supervisor acted within the scope of his author-

ity conceivably could lead to the ludicrous

result that employers would become account-

able only if they explicitly require or con-

sciously allow their supervisors to molest

women employees.

Although § 219(1) . . . provides scant assis-

tance in assessing employer liability under Title

VII, § 219(2) is more helpful. In particular,

§ 219(2) creates employer liability when (1) the

master was negligent or reckless, and (2) where

the servant purported to act or to speak on

behalf of the principal and there was reliance on

54A

apparent authority, or he was aided in accom-

plishing the tort by the existence of the agency

relation.

Hicks, 833 F.2d at 1418 (citations omitted). With those

principles in mind, the Tenth Circuit remanded, noting

that “Gates might be liable for the acts of sexual harass-

ment of Gleason.” Id. at 1418. (Gleason was a supervisor

at Gates Rubber Company.)

13. The following factors, though not exclusive, are

relevant to determining employer liability for its own

conduct in allowing a hostile environment situation to

occur:

a) notice to the employer and the employer’s

failure to take prompt remedial action;

b) the lack of any policy against sexual harass-

ment;

c) the lack of an established or effective means

for employees to voice complaints of harass-

ment without having to go through the alleged

harasser;

d) pervasive and long continuing harassment

which would constitute constructive knowledge

to the employer.

14. Unlike the quid pro quo case, a hostile work

environment claim may arise from the harassing conduct

of co-employees. Where non-supervisors are involved, the

general rule is that the employer is liable only when it

has actual or constructive knowledge of the harassment

and fails to take immediate and appropriate remedial

action. Baker v. Weyerhaeuser Co., 903 F.2d 1342 (10th Cir.

1990); Rabidue v. Osceola Refining Co., 805 F.2d 611 (6th Cir.

55A

1986); Barrett v. Omaha National Bank, 726 F.2d 424, 427

(8th Cir. 1984).

15. The Court concludes Marshall belongs to a pro-

tected group.

16. The Court concludes Marshall was subject to

unwanted sexual harassment by Noah between 1985 and

August 12, 1986.

17. However, the Court also concludes that

although Noah was a foreman, he was not a supervisory

employee within the meaning of Title VII. Thus, Nelson

Electric is not automatically liable for the acts of Noah

under Title VII. Rather, Nelson Electric is liable for the

acts of Noah only if it knew or should have known of the

harassment and failed to take appropriate remedial

action.

18. The Court concludes Nelson Electric, through its

officers and supervisors, neither knew nor should have

known of the sexual harassment by Noah until October

1986.

19. Moreover, the Court concludes that once Nelson

Electric was made aware of the harassment, Nelson took

proper remedial action. Nelson did not ignore the con-

duct of Noah, nor did Nelson acquiesce in the conduct of

Noah. Unlike Baker v. Weyerhaeuser, 903 F.2d 1342, 1347

(10th Cir. 1990), here the employer, Nelson Electric, did

not engage in an “utter failure through its officers and

supervisors to take action against [co-worker] Caldwell, a

known sexual harasser of females.” Here, Nelson did not

ignore or acquiesce in the conduct of its employee Noah.

56A

To the contrary, Nelson investigated the matter and Noah

was removed.

20. The Court concludes that none of the layoffs of

Marshall were due to sexual discrimination. Rather the

layoffs were due solely to economic motives concerning

the business turndown at Nelson Electric and the lack of

work in Department 411.

21. The Court concludes Marshall was not laid off

in retaliation for her complaint about harassment.

22. Marshall is not claiming in this lawsuit that her

layoff from Department 411 in August, 1986, and the

subsequent denials of recall to Department 411, were

violations of Title VII.

23. Nelson Electric committed no acts toward Mar-

shall which constitute sexual harassment or which cre-

ated a hostile work environment, either when analyzed

subjectively or objectively, in light of Marshall’s own

conduct and the work atmosphere in Department 411.

Marshall’s conduct indicates that the work environment

at Nelson Electric was not offensive or unwelcome to her.

24. Nelson Electric is not responsible or liable under

Title VII for the improper conduct of Noah. Nelson Elec-

tric was not negligent or reckless in handling Marshall’s

complaints, and Marshall has not proven that Noah, in

engaging in the offensive conduct, purported to speak or

act on behalf of Nelson Electric, relied upon apparent

authority from Nelson Electric, or that his offensive con-

duct was aided by the existence of an agency relationship

with Nelson Electric.

57A

25. Marshall has not satisfied her burden of proving

that a discriminatory motive played a part in her layoff

on July 2, 1987.

26. Nelson Electric established a proper non-dis-

criminatory economic motive for laying Marshall off in

August, 1986 and June, 1987. Marshall has not satisfied

her burden of showing that such motive was mere pretext

for discrimination.

27. Marshall was laid off pursuant ot [sic] the terms

of the valid and binding collective bargaining agreement

in effect at Nelson Electric.

28. The Arbitrator’s decision rendered as a result of

Marshall's grievances is entitled to substantial weight.

X. BILL OF COSTS

Marshall filed a bill of costs to which defendants

objected. In light of this Order, Marshall's bill of costs is

DENIED and defendants’ objections are deemed MOOT.

XI. ATTORNEY’S FEES

Title 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(k) grants the Court discre-

tion to award attorney’s fees to the prevailing party in a

Title VII action and the Supreme Court has clearly

defined the standard for making such an award to a

prevailing defendant. A defendant is entitled to recover

attorney’s fees in a Title VII action only if the Court

makes a finding that the action was brought in bad faith

or was frivolous, unreasonable, or without foundation.

Christiansburg Garment Co. v. EEOC, 434 U.S. 412 (1978);

58A

EEOC v. St. Louis-San Francisco R.R., 743 F.2d. 739, 744

(10th Cir. 1984).

In the instant case, the Court is not able to make such

findings. The issues were both novel and complex and there

were numerous close legal and factual questions. Indeed, the

statute of limitations question was sufficiently close that the

Court took the matter under advisement.

While counsel for both sides were contentious at

times and the case was hard fought by both sides, the

Court finds Marshall's Title VII action was not brought in

bad faith and cannot be characterized as frivolous, unrea-

sonable or without foundation.

Accordingly, defendants are not entitled to recover

their attorney fees as the prevailing party in this matter.

XII. JUDGMENT

A judgment in favor of defendants accompanies this

Order, and is filed separately. The Court’s previous par-

tial judgment entered on October 29, 1990, in favor of

Marshall on the intentional infliction of emotional dis-

tress claim is now withdrawn. The accompanying judg-

ment represents the final judgment of this Court in this

matter.

IT IS SO ORDERED THIS 21st DAY OF JUNE 1991.

/s/ Layn R. Phillips

LAYN R. PHILLIPS

UNITED STATES

DISTRICT JUDGE

59A

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OKLAHOMA

DEBORAH S. )

MARSHALL,

Plaintiff, No. 88-C-1213-P

v.

NELSON ELECTRIC, a

Unit of General Signal, et

al.,

eee eee ee”

Defendants.

JUDGMENT

(Filed June 21, 1991)

In accordance with the Court's order granting defen-

dants’ motions for judgment notwithstanding the verdict

on plaintiff’s intentional infliction of emotional distress

claim, together with findings of fact and conclusions of

law on plaintiff’s Title VII non-jury claim, entered this

same date, the Court hereby enters JUDGMENT in favor

of defendants Luther Noah and Nelson Electric and

against plaintiff Deborah S. Marshall on plaintiff’s claim

of intentional infliction of emotional distress, and JUDG-

MENT in favor of defendant Nelson Electric and against

plaintiff Deborah S. Marshall on plaintiff's Title VII claim.

DATED THIS 21st DAY OF JUNE 1991.

/s/ Layn R. Phillips

LAYN R. PHILLIPS

UNITED STATES

DISTRICT JUDGE

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Marshall v. Nelson Electric · 510 U.S. 1092 | Frix