Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Hemmerle v. Federal Deposit Insurance

Supreme Court brief1993

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

93-509

Buprene Sourt, U.S.

FII. ED

Case No.

+ SEP 29-1993

OFFICE OF THE CLinX

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1992

KENNETH HEMMERLE AND

SUN-ISLAND REALTY, INC.,

Petitioner,

VS.

FEDERAL DEPOSIT INSURANCE

INSURANCE CORPORATION, as

Receiver for SUNRISE SAVINGS AND LOAN ASSOCIATION

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

KENNETH V. HEMMERLE

808 Northeast Third Avenue

Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304

(305) 467-6801

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

(1) Whether Petitioner was effectively denied due

process of law as enumerated in the first eight amendments

of the Federal Constitution (afforded by the Fourteenth

Amendment to the United States Constitution) when:

(a) The Florida Courts de.tied due course of law

for injury done in person and property, and thus, violated the

State and Federal Constitutions:

(b) The District Court of Appeal, Fourth District of

Florida exceeded its inherent power when it declare invalid

Chapters 713 and 83 of the Florida Statutes, and, as such,

interfered with eh legislative prerogative preventing Petitioner

— Process;

(c) The State Courts denied Due Process by

denying Petitioner the right to be heard and adjudicate his

Claims regarding genuine issues of material fact, and, as

such, was a denial of access to the courts.

(2) Whether Petitioner was denied equal protection

of the laws in violation of the Fourteenth Amendment to the

Federal Constitution which provides that all persons born or

naturalized in the United States and subject to the jurisdiction

thereof, that no state shall dunes any person of life, liberty,

Or property without due process of law or deny to any person

with its jurisdiction the equal protection of the law, or no

arbitrary spoilation of property, and that equal protection and

security should be given to all under-like circumstances in the

enjoyment of their personal and civil rights; and that all

persons should be equally entitled to pursue their happiness

and acquire and enjoy is property, when:

(a) Petitioner was denied the Declaration of Rights

as to the enunciation of §§ 2, 9, 10 and 21 of the Constitution

of the State of Florida;

(b) The decision of the District Court of Appeal,

Fourth District of Florida was in direct conflict with decisions

of other District Court of Appeal, and the Supreme Court of

Florida on the same question of law;

(c) Petitioner was denied the right of foreclosure

on the basis of res judicata or estoppel by judgment when

there was never a day in court regarding such lien

foreclosure: and

(d) The Court applied res judicata and estoppel by

judgement existed as to any prior litigation.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

SNe IIs 055 Sung bi s-d-b-Gte we ee ok wee oe ees

IR I fe ang gag Same era aa uns ye atlas a tal iv

po dS re rere V

ere rea re rs ee ae vi

ME Coca a a a ee ee ey a awe ee 1

Reference to State Court Opinion ................. 1

Constitutional and Statutory .............. Fas se

eee Ge GG Ss boc eich ery eee ewer ees 5

FOORRON FOr CACMTUN VO wk ce eee 13

PI ie a5 Waa ok ae ck ee ee eels 13

SST ee CEL Oe eee 20

Appendix ee ane ide Re No ae ee eee .. A-1

Cercmte OF SOPWCO 2... cect eeenes A-185

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PAGE

Durley v. Myo

351 U.S. 277, 76 S Ct. 806, 100 L. ED. 1178 (1956) ... 18

Ex Parte Paterson

253 U.S. 300, 64 L. Ed. 919,40S.Ct.543 .......... 19

First Nat’l Bank v. Estherville

215 U.S. 341, 30 S. Ct. 152, 54 L. ED. 223 (1910) .... 17

Kansas Endowment Association v. Kansas

120 U.S. 103, 7 S. Ct. 499, 30 L. ED. 593 ) 17

Miami Copper Co. v. State

V7 ARE. 170, 140 P. 756... we cece... 19

Minnesota v. National Tea Company

309 U.S. 551, 60 S. Ct. 676, 84 L. ED. 920 (1940) .... 18

Sayward v. Denny

158 U.S. 180, 15 S. Ct. 777, 39 L. ED. 941 (1895) .... 17

Slocum v. New York L. Inc. Co.

228 U.S. 364, 57 L.Ed. 379,33S.Ct. ..........._. 19

Florida Constitution; ......................... 19

United States Constitution: __. i, i, 1, 2, 3, 138, 14, 15, 16

Title 28, U.S.C. § 1257(3)........ 1

Florida Statutes,§ 713.20 .............s—s” 15,15

Florida Statutes,§ 85.011 ...... ts” 5

Appendix A

Appendix B

Appendix C

Appendix D

Appendix E

Appendix F

Appendix G

Appendix H

Appendix |

Appendix J

Appendix K

Appendix L

Appendix M

Appendix N

Appendix O

Appendix P

INDEX TO APPENDIX

Ct GF GMD vb iv aveveneseeew es

State Court Complaint ..........

Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss ...

Plaintiffs’ Verified Motion to Strike

Summary Final Judgment .......

Plaintiffs’ Motion for Rehearing... .

NOUCS CEADOOGE 2... cece ceucess

Initial Brief of Appellants

Brief of Appellee ..............

Reply Brief of Appellants ........

Appellate Court Opinion

Motion for Rehearing (Hemmerle)

Motion for Rehearing (Sun-lsiand) .. .

Notice of Appeal and Disc. Jur. oe

Amended Petition for Review .....

Order of Florida Supreme Court

vi

‘ee 0 #46 € *%

JURISDICTION

The United States Supreme Court has jurisdiction to

review this case by Writ of Certiorari pursuant to Title 28

U.S.C. § 1257(3).

On May 6, 1993, the Florida Supreme Court

determined that it should decline to accept jurisdiction, and

therefore, it dismissed the appeal and denied the petition for

review.

REFERENCE TO STATE COURT OPINIONS

On November 14, 1991, the Trial Court, of the Circuit

Court of the Fifteenth Judicial Circuit, in and for Palm Beach

County, Florida, Case No.: CL-10252 (AN), entered Summary

Final Judgment.

After denial of Plaintiff's Motiori for Rehearing and/or

Reconsideration, an Appeal was taken to the District Court of

Appeal, Fourth District of Florida Case No.: 92-0063.

After full briefing by the parties, the Appellate Court,

by Opinion filed September 30, 1992, Appellants each files

their Own version of a Motion for Rehearing, and on

November 18, 1992, the Appellate Court denied both

motions.

On December 9, 1992, Appellants’ filed a Notice of

Appeal and Notice to invoke discretionary jurisdiction in the

Florida Supreme Court.

On May 6, 1993, the Supreme Court of Florida

—~ determined that it should decline-to accept jurisdiction, and

ordered. thes the appeal be dismissed and the petition for

review denied.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

SEVENTH AMENDMENT OF THE UNITED STATES

CONSTITUTION:

In Suits at common law, where the value in

controversy shall exceed twenty dollars, the right of trial by

jury shall be preserved, and no fact tried by jury, shall

otherwise be re-examined in any Court of the United States,

other than according to the rules of common law.

NINTH AMENDMENT OF THE UNITED STATES

CONSTITUTION:

The enumeration in the Constitution, of certain rights,

shall not be construed to deny or disparage other retained by

the people.

FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT OF THE UNITED STATES

CONSTITUTION:

Section 1: All persons born or naturalized in the

United States, and Subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are

citizens of the United States and of the State wherein they

reside. No State shall make or enforce any law which shall

abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of the United

States; nor shall any State deprive any person of life, liberty,

Or property, without due process of law; nor deny to any

person within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws.

CONSTITUTION OF THE STATE OF FLORIDA:

Article |, Section 2, Basic rights. -- All natural

Persons are equal before the law and have inalienable right,

which are the right to enjoy and defend life and liberty, to

pursue happiness, to be regarded for industry, and to

acquire, possess and Protect property; except that the

ownership, inheritance, disposition and possession of real

property by aliens ineligible for citizenship may be regulated

or prohibited by law. No person shall be deprived of any right

because of race, religion or physical handicap.

Article 1, Section 9, Due process. -- No person shall

be deprived of life, liberty or property without due process of

law, or be twice put in jeopardy for the same offense, or be

compelled in any criminal matter to be a witness against

himself.

Article 1, Section 21, Access io courts. -- The courts

shall be open to every person for redress of any injury, and

justice shall be administered without sale, denial or delay.

Article 1, Section 22, Trial by jury. -- The right of trial

by jury shall be secure to all and remain inviolate. The

qualifications and the number of jurors, not fewer than six,

shall be fixed by law.

SECTION 713.30, FLORIDA STATUTES:

Other actions not barred. -- This part | shall be

cumulative to other existing remedies and nothing contained

in part | of this chapter shall be construed to prevent any

lienor or assignee under any contract from maintaining an

action thereon at law in like manner as if he had no lien for

the security of his debt, and the bringing of such action shall

not prejudice his rights under part | of this chapter, except as

herein otherwise expressly provided.

SECTION 85.011, FLORIDA STATUTES:

Enforcement by persons in privity with the owner. -

- All liens on real or personal property for by part | or part ||

of chapter 713 are enforceable by persons in privity with the

owners.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Following the takeover of SUNRISE SAVINGS &

LOAN ASSOCIATION (SUNRISE), by the Federal Savings

and Loan Insurance Corporation (FSLIC), there existed a

construction loan agreement between SUNRISE and

Acquisition Corp. of America (ACA). On September 1,

1987, as part of a settlement agreement between the parties,

the FSLIC, by written stipulation, entered into an agreement

with ACA, it was agreed between the parties that ACA would

improve the real estate during a 120 day period required for

refinancing of the subject property, and that said

improvements on the real property would be in an amount of

$2,000,000.00.

ACAcontracted with KENNETH V. HEMMERLE, d/b/a

HEMMERLE CONSTRUCTION COMPANY (“HCC”) for

such improvements. HCC made improvements on the

property in an amount exceeding $1,886,000.00, which the

FSLIC refused or was unable to fund. The FSLIC refused to

honor the draw request notwithstanding that it was included

in the first modification of the construction joan which was

authored by the FSLIC. There was never a dispute as to

whether or not HEMMERLE performed the improvements

which gave rise to the filing of the Mechanic Lien. It was the

FSLIC’s contention that they were not responsible for the

indebtedness created by ACA for the improvements made on

the subject property, notwithstanding that the improvements

were made pursuant to the orders of the FSLIC, and were

embodies in the unilateral agreement drafted by the FSLIC

through their agents, the Federal Assets Disposition

Association (FADA).

Following the refusal to honor or pay the draw request

made by HCC, on December 30, 1987, HCC filed a

Mechanic’s Lien on the Subject property (App. 1). On

November 2, 1988, HCC filed a Complaint (App. 2-14) to

foreclose his Mechanic Lien together with a Lis pendens on

the subject property, and was joined in this lawsuit by SUN-

ISLAND REALTY, INC (SIR), resulting from an assignment

of certain rights of this lien and a part of the proceeds, in

order to make SIR whole for the hard construction of the

improvements, and in order to comply with the agreement

between ACA and the FSLIC.

On December 19, 1988, the FSLIC filed a Motion to

Dismiss the Complaint and Discharge the Mechanic Lien

(App. 15-18), and on January 13, 1989, the Trial Court denied

the FSLIC’s Motion to Dismiss and Discharge Lien. Following

the Court’s Order denying said motion, the FSLIC filed its

Answer and Affirmative Defenses.

On February 23, 1989, the FSLIC filed a Motion for

Summary Judgment. On April 4, 1989, HCC and SIR filed a

verified Motion to Strike the FSLIC’s Motion for Summary

Judgment as being wholly sham (App. 19-31). The FSLIC’s

Motion for Summary Judgment was denied. On June 30,

1989, the FSLIC filed an Amended Motion for Summary

Judgment, and on July 21, 1989, the Plaintiffs filed a

response to the amended motion for Summary Judgment.

Following an Order setting special hearing on the FSLIC’s

Amended Motion for Summary Judgment, to be heard on

November 8, 1989, and following the hearing on said motion,

the Trial Court ordered Memorandum of Law as to Count | of

Plaintiffs’ Complaint, which was filed on November 17, 1989,

On January 4, 1991, the Court entered its Order

setting a Trial on the Calendar beginning July 1, 1991, and

directing pretrial and mediation procedure.

On February 5, 1991, the FSLIC filed a renewed

Motion for Summary Judgment, together with a Memorandum

in support thereof. And on February 7, 1991, the FSLIC filed

a Motion to Strike the case from jury docket.

On September 11, 1991, HEMMERLE filed an Affidavit

in Opposition to the FSLIC’s Renewed Motion for Summary

Judgment. And on the 19th of September, 1991, the Court

ordered Memoranda from the FSLIC. On October 7, 1991,

the 1991, the FSLIC filed a Supplemental Memorandum in

support of its Renewed Motion for Summary Judgment with

certain exhibits attached thereto. On October 8, 1991, the

Plaintiffs filed a Reply to the FSLIC’s Supplemental

Memorandum.

The FSLIC’s conclusion in its Renewed Motion for

Summary Judgment, was that the Claim of Lien was

subordinate to the FSLIC’s interest in the property, and was

extinguished by the foreclosure sale and subsequent to the

issuance of the certificate of Title to the FSLIC, and, as such.

was meritless in that it, had been determined by the FSLIC’s

initial Amended Motion for Summary Judgment. It was made

clear that, pursuant to the FSLIC’s request and demand by

its unilateral contract, the borrower (ACA), by virtue of that

request and demand, contracted with HEMMERLE for the

improvements demanded by the FSLIC.

By the FSLIC’s Renewed Motion for Summary

Judgment, it was argued that new proofs were submitted at

hearing on said motion, notwithstanding that no such proofs

can be supported by the record. The basis of the FSLIC’s

argument of new proofs, was the doctrine of res judicata

and/or estoppel by judgment, and that such reasoning was

that the judgment entered against the FSLIC, was for the

same imprevements that gave rise to the Claim of Lien. the

record revealed that even if the argument of res judicata

and/or estoppel by judgment stemming from Case No. 88-

818, were for the same improvements, which Plaintiffs’

strongly denied, the amended motion for summary judgment

that was heard and denied on November 9, 1989, was some

55 days after the jury entered its verdict in Case No. 88-818.

The FSLIC at any time from the jury verdict to the date of

10

hearing on its amended motion, could have included the

argument of res judicata and/or estoppel by judgment.

Furthermore, the FSLIC’s argument regarding the judgment

in Case No. 88-818, which was in favor of the appellants,

which amounted to 26.0 million dollars, was reversed with

directions for the Trial Court to enter a Directed Verdict in

favor of the FSLIC. This reversal should have defeated the

argument of payment pursuant to that judgment.

On November 14, 1991, the Court granted the

FSLIC’s Renewed Motion for Summary Judgment. The

Summary Final Judgment, the findings of fact, and the

Court’s Conclusions of Law, as drafted and submitted by the

FDIC (as substituted for the FSLIC) is, on its face, contrary

to the general principals that support a motion for summary

judgment. There was no evidence in the record which would

establish the findings of fact included in the Summary Final

Judgment (App. 32-36).

On November 21, 1991, the Plaintiffs filed a Motion for

Rehearing and/or Reconsideration (App. 37-45), setting forth

11

facts that Summary Judgment, once denied, cannot

subsequently be granted without new proofs. On December

17, 1991, the Trial Court denied Plaintiffs’s Motion for

Rehearing and/or Reconsideration.

In january, 1991, Plaintiffs’ filed their Notice of Appeal

to the District Court of Appeal, Fourth District of Florida (App.

46).

After full briefing (App. 47-100), on September 30,

1992, the District Court of Appeai, entered its opinion of

affirmance of judgment entered by the Trial Court (App. 101-

104).

On October 8, 1992, Plaintiffs/Appellants each filed

their own version of a Motion for Rehearing (App. 104-120).

And on November 18, 1992, the District Court of Appeal

denied Appellants’s Motion for Rehearing (App. 121).

On December 7, 1992, Appellants filed a Notice of

Appeal and a Notice to Invoke Discretionary Jurisdiction in

the Florida Supreme Court (App. 122-123). On the 16th of

january, 1993, Petitioners filed their Jurisdictional Statement

12

which exceeded the maximum Pages permitted by the Florida

Supreme Court Rules, and subsequently field an Amended

Jurisdictional Statement (App. 124-139).

On May 6, 1993, the Supreme Court of Florida,

determined that: Is should decline to accept jurisdiction;

ordered that the appeal be dismissed: and. the petition for

review be denied (App. 140).

REASON FOR GRANTING WRIT OF CERTIORARI

ARGUMENT

The United States Supreme Court has jurisdiction to

review a case from a state court in which to either: (1) the

validity of a state statute is drawn into question on the ground

of it being repugnant to the United States Constitution; or, (2)

a right, privilege, or immunity is specifically set up or claimed

under the United States Constitution. 28 U.S.C. § 1257(3).

Petitioner maintains that, he was denied his

constitutional right to trail by jury (afforded by the Seventh

Amendment to the United States Constitution; his due

process rights; and, equal protection rights (afforded by the

13

Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution)

when: (1) a Florida Circuit Court denied a motion for

Summary Judgment against Petitioner on two separate

occasions, before two different judges, and then, after the

third judge was_appointed to try the case, he entered

summary judgment where no new proof was submitted, and

where there existed genuine issues of material fact as

affirmed but he two prior judges, thus, denying access to the

court, and denying due process (App. 32-36); (2) the Florida

Fourth District Court of Appeal affirmed the entry of Summary

Final Judgment per curiam with opinion (App. 101-104); (3)

the Florida Supreme Court Determined that it should decline

to accept jurisdiction and dismissed the appeal, and denied

the petition for review (App. 140).

PETITIONER RAISED A FEDERAL QUESTION IN THE

STATE COURT

|. Petitioner sufficiently raised a federal question in the

State court when, in the Motions for Rehearing (App. 105-120)

by denying equal protection regarding the mandate of §

14

713.30 Florida Statutes; by failing to apply case law on an

equal basis as to its own decisions, as well as decisions of

other District Courts, and decisions of the Florida Supreme

court, Petitioner sufficiently raised a federal question by

Stating that he was denied his right to trial by jury, his due

process right, and his equal protection right.

The Constitution of the United States declares

that no state shall deny to any person within

its jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws.

Moreover, the due process clause of the

United States Constitution has been held to

embrace equal protection of the laws... The

State and Federal Constitutions accord all

persons equal rights before the law...

[Petitioners’] claims... The [Petitioner]

contends that where a party has submitted

himself to the jurisdiction of the courts

concerning the determination of his legal

rights, he is guaranteed the privilege of having

the merits of his cause adjudicated by the

proper judicial tribunal, and where a jury trial

is to be had, before an impartial jury... As

such, equal protection forbids unjust

discrimination. Although the law may be fair on

its fact and impartial in appearance, if in its

application and administration it unjustly and

illegally discriminates between person in

Similar circumstances in a manner so as to

effect their material rights, there is a denial of

equal justice which is prohibited by the

Federal Constitution. It is a denial of equal

protection of the law to make the execution of

15

discretion dependent on the _ unbridled

decision of the Trial Court to deny a jury

verdict... When the Trial Court removed this

right from the province of the jury, it denied

[Petitioners’] fundamental right. The concept

“iberty” in the due process ciause of the

Fourteenth Amendment to the Federal

Constitution embraces all the fundamental

principles of liberty and justice which lie at the

base of all our civil and political institutions...

No state shall make or enforce any law which

shall abridge the privileges or immunities of

citizens of the United States, nor shall any

state deprive any person of life, liberty or

property without due process of law, nor deny

to any person within its jurisdiction the equal

protection of the laws. [quoting the Fourteenth

Amendment]

ll. A Federal question was raised in the District court

of Appeal, when it was argued that “Appellants” were denied

access to the court pursuant to the Florida Constitution,

Article 1, Section 21; was denied equa! protection of the laws

in that the affirmance of the Summary Final Judgment was

contrary to Florida Case Law established in all of the District

Courts of Florida as well as the Florida Supreme Court. Equal

protection forbids unjust discrimination. If the Affirmance by

the State Appellate Court unjustly and illegally discriminates

between person in similar circumstances in a manner so as

16

to effect their material rights, this is a denial of equal justice

which is prohibited by the Federal Constitution. When the

Appellate Court affirmed the Summary Final Judgment,

contrary to all existing state law, not only did it deny equal

protection, but, also, denied Appellants their fundamental

right to a jury trial.

Ill. Sufficient federal questions were raised when the

State court proceeding actually passed or decided upon a

federal question; the record shows that the Florida District

Court expressly and impliedly (1) ruled on the federal

question adversely to the Appellants, and (2) that such ruling

was contrary to the clear mandate of the Federal constitution

for the determination of the case. First Nat’l. Bank v

Estherville, 215 U.S. 341, 30S. Ct. 152, 54 L. Ed 223 (1910);

Kansas Endowment Association v. Kansas, 120 US. 103.

7S. Ct. 499, 30 L. Ed. 593 (1887): Sayward v. Denny, 158

U.S. 180 S. Ct. 777, L. Ed. 941 (1895).

IV. Where HEMMERLE and SIR sought an appeal

and Discretionary Review in the Florida Supreme Court from

the decision of the Fourth District Court of Appeal, and the

Supreme Court of Florida having determined that it should

decline to accept jurisdiction, dismissed the appeal, and

denied the petition for review that rests solely on federal

grounds, the United States Supreme court may take

jurisdiction. Durley v. Myo, 351 U.S. 277, 76 S. Ct. 806, 100

L. Ed. 1178 (1956). The United States Supreme Court has

jurisdiction to review this case because the Supreme court of

Florida impliedly decided upon a federal question when it

merely dismissed the appeal and declined to accept

jurisdiction on the petition for review (App. 140). There were

no adequate, non-federal grounds on which the Florida

Supreme Court could have decided the case. Nothing in the

record suggests that the Florida Supreme Court decided or

passed upon a non-federal question. The record suggest that

the Florida Supreme Court did decide solely upon a federal

question. Minnesota v. National Tea Company, 309 U.S.

551, 60 S. Ct. 676, 84 L. Ed. 920 (1940) (where there is

uncertainty as to state court’s decision, the Supreme court

18

may vacate and remand case for clarification by state court).

V. It is clear that the Constitutional right to a jury trial,

where and insofar as it exists, cannot be made a nullity,

destroyed, annulled, obstructed, impaired, or restricted by

legislative or judicial action. Ex Parte Paterson, 253 U.S. 300.

64 L. Ed. 919, 40 S. Ct. 543; Slocum v. New York L. Inc. Co.

Where the right to a jury trial has been given, if it is a

Substantial one, it should be vigorously enforced. Miami

Copper Co. v. State, 17 Ariz. 179, 149 P. 758.

VI. Equal protection of the law is something more than

an abstract right; it is a command which the states must

respect, the benefits of which every person may demand.

Similarly, the laws to which the Fourteenth Amendment's

guaranty of equal protection have reference, do not relate to

abstract units but are expressions of policy arising out of

specific difficulties, addressed to the attainment of specific

ends by the use of specific remedies. The District Court of

Appeal, Fourth District of Florida, cannot justify failure to

comply with the constitutional mandate requiring equal

19

protection of the law. The Federal Constitution forbids

sophisticated as well as simple-minded modes of

discrimination.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, it is respectfully requested

that this Petition for a Writ of Certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully Submitted,

KENNETH V. HEMMERLE, SR.

808 Northeast Third Avenue

Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33304

Telephone: (305) 467-6801

20

A-1

APPENDIX A

December 31, 1987 87-377966

5531 pg 609

CLAIM OF LIEN

State of Fiorida

County of Broward

Before me, the undersigned Notary, personally

appeared KENNETH V. HEMMERLE, SR. who was duly sworn

and says that he is the holder of the lienor herein

KENNETH VE. HEMMERLE, SR., D/B/A HEMMERLE

CONSTRUCTION CO.

whose address is 808 N.E. Third Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL

33304 and that in accordance with a contract with THE

FEDERAL SAVINGS AND LOAN’ INSURANCE

CORPORATION, as receiver for Sunrise Savings and Loan

Association, and ACQUISITION CORP. OF AMERICA

lienor furnished labor, services or materials consisting of:

A-2

Labor and Materials for the construction of

Building One (1) of COSTA DEL SOL, a

condominium, 7000 Southwest 18th Street,

Boca Pointe, Palm Beach County, Florida

of a total value of One Million Eight Hundred Ejighty-Six

Thousand Five Hundred Sixty dollars $1,886,560.00 of which

there remains unpaid $1,885,560.00 for which amount he

claims a lien on the following described real property in Palm

Beach County Florida

Tract F-1 of the Plat of Boca Pointe No. 4 as

recorded in Plat book 43, pages 194-196 of

the Public Records of Palm Beach County,

Florida, the South boundary line of said Tract

F-1 being shown as "proposed North right of

way line" on said Plat of Boca Pointe No. 4

a/k/a 7000 S.W. 18th Street, Boca Raton, Palm

Beach County, Florida

Owned by ACQUISITION CORP OR AMERICA

and further says that lienor furnished the part of said labor,

services or materials on January 5, 1987 and the last of the

items on December 30, 1987, and if the lien is claimed by

one not in privy with the owner that the lienor served his

notice to the owner on , 19.

Kenneth V. Hemmerle, Sr.

Sworn and subscribed before me on the 30th day of

December 1987

Nancy G. Felcer

Notary Public

A-4

APPENDIX B

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE FIFTEENTH JUDICIAL

CIRCUIT IN AND FOR PALM BEACH COUNTY, FLORIDA

SUN-ISLAND REALTY, INC., a

Florida corporation, C/S/A,

KENNETH HEMMERLE, D/B/A

HEMMERLE CONSTRUCTION CO.,

Plaintiffs,

-YS-

THE FEDERAL SAVINGS AND LOAN

INSURANCE CORPORATION, a

United States corporation,

Defendant,

COMPLAINT

Plaintiff, SUN-ISLAND REALTY, INC, as a principle of

Contribution, Subrogation and Assignment, (hereinafter SUN-

ISLAND), sue THE FEDERAL SAVINGS AND LOAN

INSURANCE CORPORATION (hereinafter FSLIC), and

alleges:

1. Plaintiff is a Florida corporation, having its principal

place of business in Broward County, Florida.

2. Defendant, FSLIC is an instrumentality of the United

States and has the power to sue and be sued, complain and

A-5

defend, in any court of competent jurisdiction in the United

States or its territories or possessions or the Commonwealth

of Puerto Rico, pursuant to U. S. C. Title 12 §1725 and as

such is sui juris.

FACTUAL INTRODUCTORY ALLEGATIONS

3. In December, 1983, KENNETH V. HEMMERLE and

one RON MORRIS purchased each 50% of the shares of

stock in ACQUISITION CORP. OF AMERICA, (hereinafter

ACQUISITION), for the purpose of acquiring a certain parcel

of real estate in the Boca Pointe PUD, located in Palm Beach

County, Florida.

4. The property was purchased for the sole purpose

of erecting thereon a certain real estate development, a

condominium known as COSTA DEL SOL OF BOCA POINTE,

(hereinafter the Project).

5. In December, 1983, SUNRISE SAVINGS AND LOAN

ASSOCIATION (hereinafter SUNRISE), entered into a Note,

Mortgage and Loan agreement with ACQUISITION to fund the

purchase of the land. (acquisitions), and to construct phase

A-6

one of the project, consisting of 179 units of the total 358

units.

6. ACQUISITION entered into a contract with

HEMMEARLE to build the construction project including the

site development, and entered into a contract witn SUN-

ISLAND for the marketing and sales of the project.

7. In 1984, ACQUISITION, through HEMMERLE

CONSTRUCTION CO., (hereinafter HEMMERLE), began

construction improvements. In 1985, SUNRISE began

shorting ACQUISITION’S draw requests and in some

instances did not fund at all which interrupted the progress

of construction.

8. Shortages of draws were due to the financial

problems of SUNRISE, and following these problems, on July

18, 1985, the FSLIC was duly appointed by the Federai Home

Loan Bank Board as sole receiver for SUNRISE, and on that

same day FSLIC took possession and succeeded to all rights

and obligations of SUNRISE.

9. On July 18, 1985, the FSLIC transferred all of the

A-7

assets and liabilities of SUNRISE including all claims, as well

as the Note and Mortgage, and Loan Agreement between

SUNRISE and ACQUISITION, to SUNRISE SAVINGS AND

LOAN ASSOCIATION, a_ Federal Savings and Loan

Association, (hereinafter NEW SUNRISE), which was a newly

chartered federal mutual savings and loan association.

10. Following the formation of the NEW SUNRISE,

FSLIC was a controlling factor in the functions of the NEW

SUNRISE, and sometime between December, 1985 and

March 26, 1986, ACQUISITION and the NEW SUNRISE

through the appointed counsel of the FSLIC agreed to an

amendment to the loan agreement. On February 25, 1986,

drafts of the closing documentation for the modification and

amendment of the loan agreement were reviewed by the

parties. Following changes on March 26, 1986 at the offices

of Blackwell, Walker, Fascell & Hoehl, 2400 Amerifirst

Building, One Southeast Third Avenue, Miami. Florida, closing

on the modification and amendment took place.

11. Although the FSLIC through their agent Mr. David

A-8

Hoyt, and by the terms of paragraph 2 (B) of the Amendment

to the Loan Agreement, which states that Lender will finance

the construction of the improvements with respect to Building

Number 1, Phase 1, as defined in Exhibit “C” to the

Declaration of Condominium of the project, in an amount not

to exceed Two Million Tow Hundred Fourteen Thousand Five

Hundred Sixty Dollars ($2,214,560.00), and that funding shall

be in accordance, setting forth the revised line item

adjustments as approved by the Lender, SUNRISE failed and

refused to fund pursuant to the Amendment to the Loan

Agreement.

12. By the terms of the Amendment to the Loan

Agreement, two additional conditions were made by the

FSLIC through their agent Mr. David Hoyt, and the conditions

were that first, it would be necessary for one of the parties

representing ACQUISITION to purchase the shares of stock

owned by RON MORRIS, and second, that SUN-ISLAND

REALTY would become a guarantor to the Note and

Mortgage as modified.

A-9

13. The parties representing ACQUISITION fully

performed all of the conditions by them to be performed, but

the FSLIC, SUNRISE and their agent failed and refused to

‘und the project as agreed by the terms of the Amended

Loan Agreement.

14. Following the breach of the FSLIC and NEW

SUNRISE, ACQUISITION and SUN-ISLAND filed suit in the

Circuit Court for the Eleventh Circuit of Dade County, Florida.

This action was subsequently transferred to Federal! District

Court and dismissed, such dismissal is now under appeal to

the United States Court of Appeal for the Eleventh Circuit.

15. On December 18, 1986, the FSLIC filed suite

against ACQUISITION, SUN-ISLAND and HEMMERLE in the

Circuit Court of the Fifteenth Judicial Circuit, Case No. 86-

11741 (CL) E. This action was filed t foreclose the original

mortgage as modified by the amended loan agreement.

16. On September 1, 1987, the FSLIC through their

agent FADA, entered into a settlement agreement with

ACQUISITION, SUN-ISLAND and HEMMERLE. The purpose

A-10

of this agreement was to settle all disputes between the

parties. As part of this agreement, the FSLIC had made

certain claims of which ACQUISITION, SUN-ISLAND anc

HEMMERLE strongly denied, however, ACQUISITION, SUN.

ISLAND and HEMMERLE agreed not to contest such claims

as part of the settlement agreement provided that al

conditions were met pursuant to the agreement. As part o

the agreement, the FSLIC agreed that due t the fact tha

SUNRISE had failed to fund as agreed by the amendmen

and modification, there was a failure of consideration for the

guarantee of SUN-ISLAND and as such, the guaranty of SUN

ISLAND was not enforceable.

17. As part of the agreement, ACQUISITION agreed tc

continue construction of the improvements on the projec

through HEMMERLE CONSTRUCTION CO., and to continue

construction in accordance with the plans and specifications

of the improvements. It was further agreed that the ongoinc

improvements pursuant to the settlement agreement woulc

amount to $2,000,000.00. Certain conditions were agreec

A-11

upon orally for the funding of the $2,000,000.00 in

improvements, one of which was that the balance of utility

improvements would be completed. As a part of said utility

improvements, ACQUISITION agreed to complete the main

entrance road which would complete all of the utility

improvements and would further release the completion letter

of credit originally supplied by OLD SUNRISE for the benefit

of ACQUISITION. Although the FSLIC agreed to assist

HEMMERLE in obtaining permission from the County for the

completion of the aforesaid road, FSLIC failed in that

assistance which was necessary in that FSLIC was in

possession of the OLD SUNRISE’S obligation by virtue of the

letter of credit.

18. Another condition to the settlement was that

ACQUISITION would satisfy an agreed debt in the amount of

$8,275,000.00 within 120 days of the execution of the

agreement. At the time of execution of this settlement

agreement, HEMMERLE requested additional time if

necessary for the refinance of the $8,275,000.00. The FSLIC

A-12

through their agent, FADA, agreed t a short extension if need

be for the funding of the $8,275,000.00. FADA informed the

parties at the closing of the settlement agreement that tins

additional time could not be put in contract form due to the

constraints of the FSLIC and a modification at this time would

be far too time consuming. The FSLIC noted that the ongoing

construction would prevent reservation buyers from

canceling

19. Notwithstanding, FSLIC’S agreement to give

ACQUISITION additional time for the funding of the

$8,275,000.00, the FSLIC on request from ACQUISITION for

additional time in which to close a new loan, said time being

February 15, 1988, the FSLIC failed and refused to grant any

additional time exceeding the 120 days, and that payoff in

cash would be necessary on or before the 31st of December

1987

20. Aithough the FSLIC foreclosure action had been

pending since December 1986, no action had taken place

following the Settlement Agreement. At the time of the

A-13

settlement agreement ACQUISITION through SUN-ISLAND

paid over to the FSLIC, as partial payment, $82,750.00.

leaving a balance of $8,192,250.00.

21. Between April, 1987 and December, 1987, SUN-

ISLAND advanced to HEMMERLE CONSTRUCTION CO., an

amount exceeding $1,886,560.00 for the improvements on

the project. The advancement of these funds for the

improvements were so advanced by virtue of the stipulation

and settlement agreement entered into on September 1, 1987

Dy and Detween the FSLIC and ACQUISITION, SUN-ISLAND

and HEMMERLE

22. Due to the FSLIC’S failure to grant additional time

in which to refinance the agreed debt, on Decemper 30.

1987, ACQUISITION made a decision for file a Chapter 11

Bankruptcy Petition. The Petition was filed on December 36

1987. The FSLIC filed a Motion to Dismiss the Bankruptcy on

January 13, 1988. ACQUISITION filed its statement of all

liabilities on January 29, 1988. ACQUISITION responded to

the FSLIC’S Motion to Dismiss on January 28, 1988. The

A-14

Bankruptcy Court dismissed ACQUISITION’S bankruptcy

proceeding for failure to file schedules. On February 2, 1988,

ACQUISITION moved for rehearing of the order dismissing

bankruptcy. On March 3, 1988, the Bankruptcy Court granted

ACQUISITION’S motion for rehearing and reinstated the

Chapter 11 proceeding. The Bankruptcy Court also required

ACQUISITION to pay $5,000.00 to the Clerk of the Court

because of its untimely filing of schedules. The Bankruptcy

Court granted partial stay relief to the FSLIC in which to

proceed with the foreclosure in the state court, but, further

ordered that no sale of the property could take place until

further order of the court. The Bankruptcy Court also required

ACQUISITION to file a plan of reorganization within 30 days

of February 29, 1988. On March 30, 1988, ACQUISITION filed

its plan of reorganization essentially provided that the FSLIC

and all other creditors would be fully paid out of a new

construction loan on the partially improved 358 unit

condominium project. The land and improvements has a

current market value of $25,870,000.00 pursuant to

A-15

ACQUISITION’S M. A. | Appraisal dated September 14, 1987

The amount of FSLIC’S claim pursuant to the September

1987 Settlement Agreement as modified is $8,192,250.00

23. On April 5, 1988, the Bankruptcy Court entered an

order setting hearing to consider approval of disclosure

Statement, setting last day to file application for

compensation, setting hearing on confirmation and setting

last day to accept or reject plan. On May 5, 1988

ACQUISITION filed a revised plan of reorganization and an

amended disclosure statement. On May 5, 1988, the FSLIC

filed its objections to the disclosure statement. On May 9,

1988, a hearing was held before the Bankruptcy Court to

consider approval of ACQUISITION’S disclosure statement

At the May 9, 1988 hearing, ACQUISITION advised the

Bankruptcy Court that a commitment for a 24 million dollar

construction loan had been issued which would be funded

within 60 days. ACQUISITION further advised the Bankruptcy

Court that no creditors were at risk under ACQUISITION’S

plan. The FSLIC stated at the hearing that they filed a proof

A-16

of claim on April 29, 1988 in the amount of $14,198,141.76

which had not been objected to. ACQUISITION advised the

Court that the true claim of the FSLIC was $8,192,250.00

pursuant to the settlement agreement. ACQUISITION

reminded the Court that it had previously ruled that a sale of

ACQUISITION’S property would not be allowed if

ACQUISITION obtained a commitment.

24. After the May 9, 1988 hearing, ACQUISITION filed

its objections to the proof of claim filed by the FSLIC.

ACQUISITION also field an adversary proceeding against the

FSLIC in the Bankruptcy Court challenging the amount and

validity of the claim of the FSLIC.

25. On May 12, 1988, the Bankruptcy Court entered

its written order on disclosure statement based upon the May

9, 1988 hearing. The order required that ACQUISITION

deposit $15,000,000.00 in a bank located in the Southern

District of Florida which account was to be clearly identified

as being held for the benefit of the FSLIC, otherwise, the sale

of the project would take place at 11:00 A.M. on Monday,

A-17

May 16, 1988. On May 11, 1988, ACQUISITION moved the

Bankruptcy Court to deny any relief from the automatic stay

of the foreclosure sale and rehearing and reconsideration of

its order on disclosure statement announced in open court on

Monday, May 9, 1988.

26. On December 30, 1987, HEMMEARLE filed his

claim of Lien based upon the labor and material in place

pursuant to the settlement agreement between the FSLIC and

ACQUISITION. By virtue of the settlement agreement,

HEMMERLE is in privity with the FSLIC. On December 31,

1987, HEMMERLE assigned all f his right title and interest in

and to the claim of lien to SUN-ISLAND, as SUN-ISLAND had

advanced all funds for the improvements and interest in the

claim on the property

COUNT |

MECHANIC LIEN FORECLOSURE

27. This is an action to enforce a mechanic’s lien on

real property in Palm Beach County, Florida.

28. Paragraphs 3 through 26 are realleged.

29. On September 1, 1987, the FSLIC through the

A-18

Federal Asset Disposition Association, (hereinafter FADA)

entered into a contract with SUN-ISLAND, HEMMERLE and

others which provided in pertinent part that within 120 days

following the execution of the contract, improvements totaling

$2,000,000.00 would be made on the property which is now

owned by the FSLIC. (Copy attached as Plaintiff's Exhibit

“A”),

30. Pursuant to the contract aforementioned Plaintiff

furnished the first of its work on or about September 2, 1987,

the work, having a total value of $1,886,560.00 of which there

remains unpaid $1,886,560.00, although Plaintiff has made

demand upon the previous owner, ACQUISITION CORP. OF

AMERICA, (hereinafter ACQUISITION), and FSLIC having full

knowledge of the aforesaid improvements fails and refuses to

pay this amount.

31. On December 30, 1987, HEMMEARLE filed a Claim

of Lien at the office of the Clerk of the Circuit Court of Palm

Beach County, Florida, for the sum of $1,886,560.00, a copy

of which is attached as Plaintiff's Exhibit “B”. Plaintiff has

A-19

caused a copy of the Claim of Lien to be delivered to

ACQUISITION and ACQUISITION has received a copy of said

lien.

32. On May 16, 1988, the FSLIC became owners of

the subject property by virtue of a Certificate of Sale, and as

such is obligated for any and all liens attached to the

property not foreclosed by the foreclosure action.

33. On December 30, 1987, HEMMERLE assigned his

interest in the Claim to SUN-ISLAND in that SUN-ISLAND

became subrogated thereto of such assignment attached

hereto and made a part hereof as Plaintiff's Exhibit “C”.

34. SUN-ISLAND has been required to retain the

services of the undersigned attorney and has promised to

pay a reasonable attorney’s fee and cost for the presentation

of this action; and the FSLIC is liable therefore in accordance

with applicable Florida law.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiff, SUN-ISLAND prays that this

Honorable Court will:

a) Enter its Final Judgment adjudicating that the

A-20

Plaintiff has a lien against the above described property in the

amount of $1,886,560.00, plus pre-judgement interest costs

and reasonable attorney’s fee, and;

b) That in default of payment of the amount to the

Plaintiff, that the above described property be sold at judicial

sale in accordance with law, and;

c) Should a deficiency occur after application of the

proceeds of the sale, the Plaintiff, SUN-ISLAND, be granted

a deficiency decree against the FSLIC as owners, and;

d) Grant such other and further relief as the Court

deems just and proper.

COUNT II

BREACH OF CONTRACT

36. SUN-ISLAND realleges paragraphs 3 through 26

and alleges further.

37. On or about March 26, 1986, ACQUISITION and

the FSLIC executed an amended loan agreement in which the

FSLIC agreed to have the NEW SUNRISE fund the

construction loan as amended for Phase (1) one of the

COSTA DEL SOL project. This amended loan agreement was

A-21

executed by the parties with the full knowledge that

HEMMERLE CONSTRUCTION CO. was the General

Contractor.

38. Notwithstanding the FSLIC’S agreement to fund

the amended loan agreement through the NEW SUNRISE,

upon request from HEMMERLE CONSTRUCTION CO., tine

FSLIC through the NEW SUNRISE failed and refused to fund

said request as requested although the labor and materials

on which the request was made was completed as

requested.

39. On September 1, 1987, ACQUISITION, SUN-

ISLAND and HEMMERLE entered into a Settlement

Agreement (Exhibit “A”) with the FSLIC, whereby FSLIC

requested that part of the settlement agreement was that an

additional $2,000,000.00 in construction be completed within

the 120 days following the execution. At the time of the

execution of the settlement agreement, the FSLIC well knew

that HEMMERLE CONSTRUCTION CO. was the General

Contractor for the construction of phase one of the COSTA

A-22

DEL SOL project, and in fact, expected HEMMERLE

CONSTRUCTION CO. to make the $2,000,000.00 in

improvements on the subject property.

40. The FSLIC through their agent FADA, at the time

of the execution of the settlement agreement, agreed that an

extension of the 120 days would be granted, if needed to

refinance the construction loan and to satisfy the agreed debt

between the FSLIC and ACQUISITION.

41. The FSLIC failed and refused to permit

ACQUISITION the additional time needed to refinance the

construction loan and satisfy the agreed debt, with the

knowledge that $1,886,560.00 in improvements had been

made on the project, and at the time of execution they

received $82,750.00 as consideration for the execution of the

settlement agreement.

42. The FSLIC had breached the settlement

agreement, and consequently breached the construction

contract in which to make funds available for the payment of

the improvements.

A-23

43. The FSLIC owes SUN-ISLAND $1,886,560.00 for

work performed subsequent to the settlement agreement,

although demand has been made upon the FSLIC by virtue

of the Claim of Lien, the FSLIC has failed and refused to pay

same to SUN-ISLAND.

44. SUN-ISLAND has performed all conditions

required to be performed by it, or the conditions are excused

WHEREFORE, SUN-ISLAND prays this Court award

damages in amount exceeding $1,886,560.00, pre-judqment

interest, costs of this action, reasonable attorney fees and

further request a trial by jury as to all issues so triable

COUNT Ill

FRAUD IN THE INDUCEMENT

45. SUN-ISLAND realleges the statements of facts in

paragraph 3 through 26 as its paragraph 45 and alleges

further

46. Defendant, the FSLIC, through their agent FADA,

assured SUN-ISLAND that following the execution of the

settlement agreement, setting forth the terms of satisfying the

agreed debt, that if an extension was needed to refinance the

A-24

agreed debt, it would be granted for a short period of time.

47. The FSLIC, through their agent FADA further

agreed that as an inducement to enter int the settlement

agreement the project should improve in the amount of

$2,000,000,00 on or before the expiration of the 120 day

period and further stated that the aforesaid improvements

would inure to the benefits of the FSLIC in the event of a

breach by ACQUISITION.

48. In performing the aforesaid improvements, SUN-

ISLAND relied upon the fact that if the FSLIC became owners

of the subject property due to a breach by ACQUISITION, the

FSLIC would then become responsible for payment of any

improvements made on the subject property due to the

insistence of the improvements.

49. At the time SUN-ISLAND and the FSLIC agreed

upon the terms of the settlement agreement between the

FSLIC and ACQUISITION on September 1, 1987, it was fully

understood that any improvements made to the subject

property during the 120 day period of construction and the

A-25

cost involved for such improvements would run with the

subject property and be the responsibility of the owner of the

property at the time the costs were satisfied.

50. The agreement for payment was made for the sole

purpose of inducing HEMMERLE CONSTRUCTION CO. t

make said improvements and for SUN-ISLAND to advance

the funds necessary for said improvements, at the time of

such inducement the FSLIC never intended t satisfy the debt

incurred by the improvements, and as such created fraud in

the inducement.

WHEREFORE, SUN-ISLAND prays that this Court

enter judgment against the FSLIC in an amount exceeding

$1,886,560.00, for damages suffered by SUN-ISLAND for the

improvement created by Fraud in the Inducement, pre-

judgment interest on such funds, and for such other and

further relief as the Court deems right and proper. SUN-

ISLAND demands trial by jury as to all issues so triable.

COUNT IV

ASSUMPSIT

51. SUN-ISLAND realleges the factual allegations

A-26

contained in paragraphs 3 through 26 are its paragraph 51

and alleges further.

52. The FSLIC is indebted to SUN-ISLAND in the sum

of $1,886,560.00 for improvements made on the Costa Del

Sol Project at the request of the FSLIC, the project more fully

described as:

Tract F-1 of the Plat of Boca Pointe No. 4, as

recorded in Piat Book 43, pages 194-196 of

the Public Records of Palm—Beach County,

Florida, the South boundary line of said Tract

F-1 being shown as proposed North right-of-

way line, on said Plat of Boca Pointe No. 4,

a/k/a 6850 and 7000 S.W. 18th Street, Boca

Pointe, Palm Beach County, Florida.

53. SUN-ISLAND paid, laid out, expended and

advanced for the benefit of the FSLIC the sum of

$1,886,560.00.

54. The FSLIC has not paid to SUN-ISLAND any part

or portion of the sum herein alleged, and the wnole thereof

is now due and unpaid.

WHEREFORE, SUN-ISLAND prays this Court award

actuai damages in the amount of $1,886,560.00 resulting from

the improvements paid by SUN-ISLAND for the benefit of the

A-27

FSLIC and for such and other relief as the Court deems right

and proper. Plaintiff demands trial by jury as to all issues so

triable

COUNT V

QUANTUM MERUIT

95. SUN-ISLAND realleges the factual allegations

contained in paragraphs 3 through 26 as its paragraph 55

and alleges further

06. On September 1, 1987, the FSLIC requested by

virtue of a Settlement Agreement (Exhibit “A”) between the

FSLIC and ACQUISITION CORP. OF AMERICA, that

improvements be made to the Costa Del Sol project in the

amount of $2,000,000.00

97. SUN-ISLAND was a party to the Settlement

Agreement, and as such advanced to HEMMERLE

CONSTRUCTION CO. (Project’s General Contractor), the sum

of $1,886,560.00 for the improvements requested by the

FSLIC and incorporated in the Settlement Agreement, (Exhibit

“A”)

58. The reasonable value of the work. labor. and

A-28

services performed, and the materials supplied for such work,

labor and services is in excess of $2,000,000.00, of which an

amount equal to an excess of $1,886,560.00 was advanced

by SUN-ISLAND.

59. The FSLIC though requested, has not paid SUN-

ISLAND said sum of money, or any part thereof, and refuses

to do so.

60. The FSLIC has been unjustly enriched as a result

of the improvements on the project by virtue of their

ownership interest in the said Costa Del Sol project, and

SUN-ISLAND has been damaged in the amount of

$1,886,560.00 thereby.

WHEREBY, SUN-ISLAND prays judgment against the

FSLIC for damages in excess of $1,886,560.00, for pre-

judgment interest, from September 1, 1987 pursuant to the

time advanced, costs of this action and for such and other

relief as this Court deems just and equitable.

LEWIS A BERNS

808 Northeast Third Avenue

Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33304

A-29

Telephone: (305) 467-6801

Fla. Bar No. 393509

A-30

APPENDIX C

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE FIFTEENTH JUDICIAL

CIRCUIT IN AND FOR PALM BEACH COUNTY, FLORIDA

CASE NO. CL88-10252 (AQ)

SUN-ISLAND REALTY, INC., a

Florida corporation, C/S/A,

KENNETH HEMMERLE, D/B/A

HEMMERLE CONSTRUCTION CO.,

Plaintiffs,

-YS-

THE FEDERAL SAVINGS AND LOAN

INSURANCE CORPORATION, a

United States corporation,

Defendant,

/

DEFENDANT’S MOTION TO DISMISS

COMPLAINT AND DISCHARGE LIEN

Defendant, the Federal Savings and Loan Insurance

Corporation, as Receiver for Sunrise Savings and Loan

Association ("FSLIC"), moves this Court for an order

dismissing the complaint filed herein, and in support thereof

states as follows:

1. On or about November 2, 1988, plaintiff

commenced this action seeking to foreclose a mechanics lien

A-31

and for certain other relief, by filing said complaint; plaintiff

has never served defendant.

2. Plaintiff seeks to foreclose upon a Claim of Lien

filed by Kenneth Hemmerle d/b/a Hemmerle Construction Co

in the sum of $1,886,560.00 which lien was recorded on

December 31, 1987, against property then owned by

Acquisition Corp. of America (the "Claim of Lien"). The Claim

of Lien alleges that Kenneth Hemmerle, d/b/a Hemmerle

Construction Co., pursuant to a contract with defendant

FSLIC and Acquisition Corp. of America, furnished labor and

materials for construction of a building at a condominium

project located in Boca Raton known as Costa Del Sol (the

"Property"). A copy of the Claim of lien is annexed hereto as

Exhibit "A’

3. In addition to a course of action to foreclose the

Claim of Lien, plaintiff's complaint asserts causes of action for

Breach of Contract (Count Il), Fraud in the Inducement

(Count III), Assumpsit (Count IV) and Quantum Merit (Count

V) all premised upon the alleged contract identified in the

A-32

Claim of Lien. Plaintiff Sun-lsland Realty, Inc. brings this

action based upon an assignment by Hemmerle of his rights,

title and interest in the Claim of Lien to Sun-lsland Realty, Inc.

4. Plaintiff's Claim of Lien was extinguished by the

public sale of the Property held on May 16, 1988, as a result

of a Partial Summary Judgment of Foreclosure dated March

17, 1988, in favor of FSLIC and against Acquisition Corp. of

American in an action pending in this court entitled Federal

Savings and Loan Insurance Corporation, as Receiver for

Sunrise Savings and Loan Association v Acquisition Corp. of

America, et al.. Case No. 86-11741 (CL)E. This foreclosure

action was filed on December 19, 1986, together with a

Notice of Lis Pendens which was recorded in Official Records

Book 5113 at Page 48. The Claim of Lien at issue herein,

which was recorded on December 31, 1987 at Official

Records Book 5531 at Page 609, was filed well after the

foreclosure proceeding. Florida Statute §48.23(1)(b).

5. The issues raised in this litigation involving

allegations of breach of a settlement agreement entered into

A-33

between the parties have been previously decided by the

court in the aforestated foreclosure action. Therefore, plaintiff

is precluded by re judicata or collateral estoppel from raising

the same issues in its complaint in this action.

6. Plaintiff's action and the underlying Claim of Lien

are premised upon a Settlement Agreement entered into

between the parties on September i, 1987. (Complaint,

Exhibit A). Plaintiff contends that by the terms of the

Settlement Agreement FSLIC is obligated to pay for

improvements Hemmerle made on the Property (Complaint

11 29,30). However, the Settlement Agreement specifically

provides that the improvements made on the property we "

. at Borrower's [Acquisition Corp. of America’s} sole cost

and expense .. . " (emphasis added), which was agreed to

by Hemmerle and plaintiff Sun-island Realty, Inc. (Complaint,

Exhibit A, p. 12). Thus, plaintiff's contention that defendant

FSLIC is obligated to pay for the improvements allegedly

made on the Property is belied by the very agreement which

plaintiff contends such obligation arose.

A-34

7. Pursuant to the terms of the Settlement Agreement

Hemmerle released and discharged defendant FSLIC from "

_all.. . actions, cause and causes of actions, claims . . .

suits .. . contracts ... agreement... liens, claims of lien,

damage ... either now accrued or hereafter maturing... "

(Complaint, Exhibit A, p. 15). By virtue of the aforestated

release, this action must be dismissed.

8. Plaintiff's actions in recording the Claim of Lien and

commencing this action in light of the foregoing constitutes

willful and gross negligence as the constitute a fraudulent lien

entitling defendant to damages pursuant to Florida Statute §

713.31(2)(c).

WHEREFORE, defendant FSLIC respectfully requests

that this court enter an order dismissing the complaint and

discharging the claim of lien, together with damages

including costs and reasonable attorneys’ fees.

Squire, Sanders_& Dempsey

Attorneys for Plaintiff

320 Royal Poinciana Plaza

Palm Beach, FL 33480

(407) 832-6000

A-35

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

| HEREBY CERTIFY that a true and correct copy of the

foregoing Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss Complaint and

Discharge Lien was mailed this 19th day of December, 1988

to Lewis A. Berns, 808 Northeast Third Avenue, Fort

Lauderdale, FL 33304

Gary A. Woodfield

A-36

APPENDIX D

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE FIFTEENTH JUDICIAL

CIRCUIT

IN AND FOR PALM BEACH COUNTY, FLORIDA

SUN-ISLAND REALTY, INC., a

Florida corporation, C/C/A,

KENNETH HEMMERLE, D/B/A

HEMMERLE CONSTRUCTION CO.,

Plaintiffs,

-VS- CASE NO. CL-88-10252 (AO)

THE FEDERAL SAVINGS AND LOAN

INSURANCE CORPORATION, a

United States corporation,

Defendant.

VERIFIED MOTION TO STRIKE DEFENDANT’S MOTION

FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT AS BEING WHOLLY SHAM

Plaintiff, KENNETH HEMMERLE, D/B/A HEMMERLE

CONSTRUCTION CO.., (hereinafter HEMMERLE for brevity),

moves to strike Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment

as Being Wholly Sham, and as grounds therefore would show

the following:

1. Defendant's allegation in its Paragraph |, which

A-37

States that Plaintiff's Claim of Lien was extinguished by the

public sale of the property held on May 16, 1988, as a result

of a Partial Summary Judgment of Foreclosure, is untrue and

known to the Defendant to be untrue, and is alleged in an

attempt to trick or deceive the Court and/or delay this action,

when in truth and in fact, Defendant has full knowledge that

the claim of lien resulted from a contract in which Defendant

made it mandatory to improve the property subsequent to

September |, 1987 which followed the commencement of the

action referred to in Paragraph I986, some nine months prior

to the commencement of the lien that forms the basis of this

action.

2. Next, Paragraph 2 of Defendant's Motion states that

the FS.IC is not contractually obligated to pay for the

improvements allegedly made on the property. This allegation

is another untruth, in that FSLIC is in direct privity with the

contract that made it mandatory for such improvements.

Further, at the time of the improvements the FSLIC had an

equitable and beneficial interest in the land and

A-38

improvements.

3. In Paragraph 3 of Defendant’s Motion, it is stated

that Plaintiff is precluded by res judicata or collateral estoppel

from raising the issues that support the lien foreclosure

action. Again, this is a fictitious narrative in that HEMMERLE

CONSTRUCTION CO. was never a party to any action that

could relate to res judicata or collateral estoppel between the

parties to this action.

4. In Paragraph 4 of Defendant’s Motion, it is stated

that any judgment in this action is subject to a complete set

off as a result of a judgment previously entered in favor of the

FSLIC and against KENNETH HEMMEARLE in the sum of

$14,198,141.76. This Paragraph is also a blatant falsehood in

that this judgment was improperly obtained and is now under

appeal and is known by the Defendant to be wprepery

obtained. Further, in order to properly obtain this judgment,

Defendant has filed another lawsuit for the same relief in

Case No. CL 88-818 (AA).

5. In Paragraph 5, Defendant attempts to rely on the

A-39

settlement agreement entered into between Defendant and

the other parties set forth in that paragraph. However,

Defendant fails to inform the Court that the FSLIC breached

this agreement

by not granting the agreed extension for final payment, and

the

FSLIC has alleged that the other parties breached this

agreement by not paying the agreed debt on or before

December 31, 1987. As a result of both parties breaching the

agreement, the agreement is void or rescinded by consent.

6. Defendant in its final argument states that the Court

lacks subject matter jurisdiction pursuant to 12 U. S. C.

Section 1464 (d) (6) (c). This argument not only lacks merit,

but it is well known to the Defendant that the United States

Supreme Court has this month stated that such section does

not deprive any Court of subject matter jurisdiction.

7. In support of Defendant’s Motion for Summary

Judgment, the Affidavit of attorney GARY A. WOODFIELD is

offered. The affidavit is in itself a sham, in that it purports to

A-40

allege facts that could not be known by the affiant.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

8. Following shortages in draw requests,and finally

failing to fund the construction loan agreement, on March 26,

1986, the FSLIC through their agent, Mr. David Hoyt, entered

into an amendment to said loan agreement and by the terms

of Paragraph 3(B) of the Amendment to the Loan Agreement

which states that Lender will finance the construction of the

improvements with respect to Building Nurnber |, Phase |, as

defined in Exhibit "C" to the Declaration of Condominium of

the project, in an amount not to exceed Two Million Two

Hundred Fourteen Thousand Five Hundred Sixty Dollars,

($2,214,560.00), and that funding shall be

in accordance, setting forth the revised line item adjustments

as

approved by the Lender. SUNRISE failed and refused to fund

pursuant to the Amendment to the Loan Agreement.

9. By the terms of the Amendment to the Loan

Agreement, two additional conditions were made by the

A-41

FSLIC through their agent Mr. David Hoyt, and the conditions

were that first, it would be necessary for one of the parties

representing ACQUISITION to purchase the shares of stock

owned by RON MORRIS, and second, that SUN-ISLAND

REALTY, INC. would become a guarantor to the Note and

Mortgage as modified

10. The parties representing ACQUISITION fully

performed all of the conditions to be performed by them, but

the FSLIC, SUNRISE and their agent failed and refused to

fund the project as agreed by the terms of the Amended

Loan Agreement

11. Following the breach of the FSLIC and NEW

SUNRISE, ACQUISITION, HEMMERLE and SUN-ISLAND

REALTY, INC. filed suit in the Circuit Court for the Eleventh

Circuit of Dade County, Florida. This action was subsequently

transferred to Federal District Court and dismissed. Such

dismissal is now under appeal to the United States Court of

Appeal for the Eleventh Circuit.

12. On December 18, 1986, the FSLIC filed suit against

A-42

ACQUISITION, SUN-ISLAND and HEMMERLE in the Circuit

Court of the Fifteenth Judicial Circuit, Case No. 86-11741 (CL)

E. This action was filed to foreclose the original mortgage as

modified by the amended loan agreement.

13. On September |, 1987, the FSLIC through their

agent, FADA, entered into a settlement agreement with

ACQUISITION, SUN-ISLAND and HEMMERLE. The purpose

of this agreement was to settle all disputes between the

parties. As part of this agreement, the FSLIC had made

certain claims of which ACQUISITION, SUN-ISLAND and

HEMMERLE strongly denied, however, ACQUISITION,

SUN-ISLAND and HEMMERLE agreed not to contest such

claims as part of the settlement agreement provided that all

conditions were met pursuant to the agreement. Due to the

fact that there was a failure of consideration for the guarantee

of SUN-ISLAND, the guaranty of SUN-ISLAND is not

enforceable.

14. As part of the agreement, ACQUISITION agreed to

continue construction of the improvements on the project

A-43

through HEMMERLE CONSTRUCTION CO., and to continue

construction in accordance with the plans and specifications

of the improvements. It was further agreed that the ongoing

improvements pursuant to the settlement agreement would

amount to $2,000,000.00. Certain conditions were agreed

upon orally for the funding of the $2,000,000.09 in

improvements, one of which was that the balance of utility

improvements would be completed. As part of said utility

improvements, ACQUISITION agreed to complete the main

entrance road which would complete all of the utility

improvements and would further release the completion letter

of credit originally supplied by OLD SUNRISE for the benefit

of ACQUISITION. Although the FSLIC agreed to assist

HEMMERLE in obtaining permission from the County for the

completion of the aforesaid road, FSLIC failed in that

assistance which was necessary in that FSLIC was in

possession of the OLD SUNRISE’S obligation by virtue of the

letter of credit.

15. Another condition to the settlement was that

A-44

ACQUISITION would satisfy an agreed debt in the amount of

$8,275,000.00 within 120 days of the execution of the

agreement. At the time of execution of this settlement

agreement, HEMMERLE requested additional time if

necessary for the refinancing of the $8,275.000.00. The FSLIC

through their agent, FADA, agreed to a short extension if

needed for the funding of the $8,275,000.00. FADA informed

the parties at the closing of the settlement agreement that this

additional time could not be put in contract form due to the

constraints of the FSLIC and a modification at this time would

be far too time consuming. The FSLIC noted that the ongoing

construction would prevent reservation buyers from

canceling.

16. Notwithstanding FSLIC’S agreement to give

ACQUISITION additional time for the funding of the

$8,275,000.00, the FSLIC on request from ACQUISITION for

additional time in which to close a new loan, said time being

February 15, 1988, the FSLIC failed and refused to grant any

additional time exceeding the 120 days, and that payoff in

A-45

cash would be necessary on or before the 31st of December,

987, thus creating a breach in the agreement

17. Although the FSLIC foreclosure action had been

pending since December, 1986. no action had taken place

following the Settlement Agreement. At the time of the

settlement agreement, ACQUISITION. through SUN-ISLAND

Paid over to the FSLIC, a partial payment of $82,750.00

leaving a balance of $8,192,250.00.

18. Between April, 1987 and December, 1987

SUN-ISLAND advanced to HEMMERLE CONSTRUCTION

CO., an amount exceeding $1,886,560.00 for the

improvements on the project. The advancement of these

funds for the improvements were so advanced by virtue of

the stipulation and settlement agreement entered into on

September |, 1987 by and between the FSLIC and

ACQUISITION, SUN-ISLAND and HEMMERLE.

19. The FSLIC’S equitable and beneficia! interest in

the property at the time of the improvements in effect defines

the FSLIC as an owner By virtue of the Mechanics’ Lien Law.

A-46

"Owner" means a person, party or entity who is the owner of

any legal or equitable interest in real property, which interest

can be sold by any legal process, thus, creates a situation

where a mechanics’ lien may attach to the equitable interest

in the land, since the word "owner" includes the owner in

equity as well as at law. See, Amatrudi v. Blake, 117 So. 2d

416 (Fla. 3rd DCA, 1960), holding that the beneficial interest

in land created by a trust agreement that gave legal title to a

bank is subject to a mechanics’ lien. In the case at bar, the

FSLIC and their predecessor "SUNRISE" had a beneficial

interest in the land that is subject to the lien being foreclosed.

20. In addition to the beneficial interest of the FSLIC,

the FSLIC was the party that created the necessity of the

improvements by virtue of the settlement agreement,

requiring and making in mandatory to make such

improvements as a part of such settlement.

21. HEMMERLE CONSTRUCTION COMPANY and

SUN-ISLAND REALTY, INC., as assignee and/or successor in

interest to this contractor holds a valid lien on the real

A-47

property that forms the subject matter of the foreclosure

action. The FSLIC, the present owner of the real property was

in fact the responsible party for the creation of the lien due to

the demands for such improvements, and Florida Law

dictates that the lien attached to the property follows such

property and any subsequent owner absent dissolution of

Said lien

22. A right to lien exists on real property under the

Statute if a party performs services or labor or furnishes

materials for the improvements to make the real property

increase in value, or by order of the owner or any party who

has an equitable or beneficial interest to the property. In other

words, a lien may result either directly through privity of

contract with the owner or derivatively from a contract

between an owner and a Party in interest such as the FSLIC

23. It is clear that a party may obtain a mechanics’ lien

for labor or service performed or materials furnished in

accordance with a contract, whether such contract be direct

or not. A contract that requires a party to improve the real

A-48

property between the parties in interest is without doubt all

that is required to create a lien on the improved property if

the performing party is not paid for such improvements. In

other words the lien that is being foreclosed was grounded

on an express and implied contract between ACQUISITION

CORP. OF AMERICA, the then owner, and the FSLIC, who

had an equitable and beneficial interest in the property, the

now owner.

24. By virtue of the settlement agreement between the

FSLIC and ACQUISITION CORP. OF AMERICA, it was made

abundantly clear that the FSLIC, as receivers for SUNRISE

could upon default, become the owner of the real property

lt was further made clear that the improvements performed by

HEMMERLE were mandatory due to the irisistence of the

FSLIC and/or their agent, FADA, and as such, they were not

only the contracting party, but were in direct privity with the

contractor that made such improvements.

25. As has been noted, Plaintiffs have alleged that

under the terms of the settlement agreement, the FSLIC

A-49

requested and required that improvements be made to the

project in an amount of $2,000,000.00, these improvements

were made pursuant to such requests, and as such the

FSLIC is obligated to pay for such improvements due to

being unjustly enriched.

26. The FSLIC claims that the claim of lien was

extinguished by the public sale in their foreclosure action

against ACQUISITION CORP. OF AMERICA. Nothing could be

further from the truth. The prior foreclosure cannot adjudicate

a mechanics’ lien when the parties to such lien are not made

a party to the foreclosure action. The foreclosure action was

filed in December, 1986, and sought to foreclose the claims of

various defendants. HEMMERLE CONSTRUCTION COMPANY

and its claim of lien were not made a part of said foreclosure

action. Further, the foreclosure judgment did not adjudicate

the lien that forms the subject of this action.

27. Due to the fact that the claim of lien in this action

was never a part of the prior foreclosure action, the FSLIC

took the property subject to the lien in this suit. HEMMERLE

A-50

CONSTRUCTION COMPANY acquired its rights to payment

for improvements made to the project in an agreement with

the FSLIC well after the foreclosure action was commenced.

HEMMERLE CONSTRUCTION COMPANY was not made a

party to such foreclosure action, nor was the claim of lien an

issue in the prior foreclosure action, and as such the prior

foreclosure decree does not affect the claim of lien being

foreclosed therein

WHEREFORE it is respectfully requested that the

Court to enter an Order striking Defendant’s Motion for

Summary Judgment on the grounds that such motion is

wholly sham and for such other and further relief as the Court

deems right and proper

KENNETH HEMMERLE

STATE OF FLORIDA )

: SS

COUNTY OF BROWARD )

A-51

BEFORE ME, the undersigned authority, personally

appeared KENNETH HEMMERLE, who after being first duly

sworn according to law, deposes and says that he has full

knowledge of the facts set forth in the above and foregoing

motion and that such facts are true and correct to the best of

nis Knowledge and belief

Notary Public

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

| HEREBY CERTIFY that a copy of the foregoing

Motion to Strike has been furnished to GARY A. WOODFIELD

ESQUIRE or Squire, Sanders & Dempsey, 320 Royal

Poinciana Plaza, Palm Beach, Florida 33480 this day of

March. |989

KENNETH HEMMERLE

808 Northeast Third Avenue

Fort Lauderdale, Fl 33304

Telephone: (305) 467-680

A-52

APPENDIX E

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE FIFTEENTH JUDICIAL

CIRCUIT IN AND FOR PALM BEACH COUNTY, FLORIDA

SUN-ISLAND REALTY, INC., a

Florida corporation, C/S/A,

KENNETH HEMMERLE, D/B/A

HEMMERLE CONSTRUCTION CO.,

Plaintiffs,

-VS- CASE CL-88-10252 (AN)

THE FEDERAL SAVINGS AND LOAN

INSURANCE CORPORATION, a

United States corporation,

Defendant.

/

SUMMARY FINAL JUDGEMENT

This cause came before the court for consideration of

the Renewed Motion for Summary Judgement filed by

defendant, the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, as

Receiver for Sunrise Savings and Loan Association ("FDIC")/

The Court has reviewed the motion and memoranda

submitted in support of and in opposition thereto, has heard

argument of counsel, and has reviewed the file and become

otherwise fully advised in the premises. The Court finds as

follows:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. On December 15, 1983, Acquisition Corp of

America ("Acquisition") executed and delivered to FDIC’s

predecessor, Sunrise Savings and Loan Association of

Florida, a promissory note and a mortgage on certain real

property in Palm Beach County, Florida (the "property’).

Payment of the loan was guaranteed by plaintiff Sun-isiand

Realty, Inc. ("Sun-lsland") and Kenneth V. Hemmerle

("Hemmerle")

2. On December 18, 1986, FDIC’s predecessor, the

Federal Savings and Loan Insurance Corporation, as Receiver

for Sunrise Savings and Loan Association ("FSLIC") sued

Acquisition, Hemmerle, Sun-lsland and other to foreclose the

mortgage and to enforce the terms of the note and the

guarantees

3. On September 1, 1987, FSLIC, Acquisition, Sun-

island and Hemmerle entered into a written settlement

agreement and stipulation (collectively the "Agreement") to

A-54

resolve all outstanding disputes between the parties. The

Agreement provided, inter alia, for entry of a judgement of

foreclosure against Acquisition, without notice or hearing, if

FSLIC had not received payment of $8.2 million on or before

December 31, 1987. Additionally, Hemmerle and Sun-lsland

executed and delivered to FSLIC a conditional guarantee of

paymeni, guaranteeing payment of the debt owed FSLIC in

the event, inter alia, Acquisition should seek bankruptcy relief.

4. On December 30, 1987, Acquisition filed a Chapter

11 bankruptcy petition.

5 On December 31, 1987, Hemmerle, d/b/a

Hemmerle Construction Co., recorded the claim of lien which

is the subject of this action in the amcunt of $1,886,560 on

the property. Thereafter, Hemmerie, d/b/a/ Hemmerle

Construction Co., assigned the claim of lien to Sun-isiand.

6. FSLIC did not receive any payment due pursuant to

the Agreement by December 31, 1987.

7. Pursuant to the agreement, and after obtaining stay

relief from the bankruptcy court, FSLIC obtained a partial

A-55

summary judgement of foreclosure as to the property.

Following a public sale of the property, FSLIC took title to the

property in May, 1988.

8. In January 1988, FSLIC commenced an action

against Hemmerle and Sun-lsland to enforce the terms of the

conditional guarantee of payment executed in connection

with the Agreement. FSLIC v Sun-lsland Realty. Inc. and

Kenneth Hemmerle, Case No. 88-818, in the Circuit Court of

Palm Beach County, Florida ("Case no. 88-818") Sun-lsland

and Hemmerle answered the complaint and asserted

numerous affirmative defenses and counterclaims arising from

FSLIC’s alleged breach of the Agreement. In its breach of

contract claim, Sun-lsland sought damages exceeding $1.9

million based on alleged improvements it had made to the

property. Hemmerle asserted a claim for breach of the

Agreement as well. Sun-lsland and Hemmerle also asserted

defenses and counterclaims of fraud and fraudulent

inducement in connection with the execution and

performance of the Agreement. All of the parties

A-56

counterclaims except breach of contract claims asserted by

Hemmerle and Sun-lsland, judgment was entered on jury

verdicts in favor of Sun-lsland and Hemmerle awarding Sun-

Island $1.9 million and awarding Hemmerle $25 million.

9. In December 1988, Sun Island commenced this

action, seeking foreclosure of the claim of lien, asserting that

it made improvements to the property in excess of $1.9

million pursuant to the Agreement. Sun-island also asserted

claims of fraud in the inducement, quantum meruit, assumpsit

and breach of contract. All of Sun-isiand’s claims were

predicated on its allegations that FSLIC fraudulently breached

the Agreement.

10. Hemmerle has at various times during the course

of these proceedings sought to intervene as a part plaintiff

herein. No Order has been entered with regard to

Hemmerle’s requests to intervene. To the extent Hemmerle is

considered a party plaintiff to this proceeding, this judgement

applies to him as well! as Sun-lsland.

A-57

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Sun-lsland and Hemmerle have already litigated their

claims arising from assertions that FSLIC breached the

Agreement by failing to pay for improvements Sun-lsland

made to the property. Consequentiy, they are precluded from

maintaining another suit for the same relief pursuant to

principles of res judicata and estoppel by judgement. Wise v

Tucker, 399 So 2d 500 (Fla. 4th DCA 1981). The parties

claims in this case and their counterclaims in case no. 88-818

are ultimately concerned with execution and performance of

the Agreement. Since those claims were disposed of in case

no. 88-818, principles of res judicata and collateral estoppel

apply to bar another suit based on the same claims, Wise v

Tucker, supra.

Based on the foregoing, it is hereby ORDERED AND

ADJUDGED that FDIC’s Motion for Summary Judgement is

hereby granted and plaintiffs shall take nothing by this action

and defendant FDIC shall go hence without day.

DONE AND ORDERED in Chambers, West Palm

A-58

Beach, Palm Beach County, Florida on

, 1991.

CIRCUIT COURT JUDGE

Copies Furnished to:

Suzanne H. Youmans, Esquire

Squire Sanders & Dempsey

320 Royal Poinciana Plaza

Palm Beach, Florida 33480

Richard G. Doggett, Esquire

808 N.E. 3rd Avenue

Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304

Kenneth Hemmerle

808 N.E. 3rd Avenue

Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304

day of

A-59

APPENDIX F

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE FIFTEENTH JUDICIAL

CIRCUIT IN AND FOR PALM BEACH COUNTY, FLORIDA

SUN-ISLAND REALTY, INC. a

Florida corporation, C/C/A.

KENNETH HEMMERLE, D/B/A

HEMMERLE CONSTRUCTION CO.

Plaintiffs,

-VS- CASE NO. CL-88-10252 (AN)

THE FEDERAL SAVINGS AND LOAN

INSURANCE CORPORATION, a

United States corporation,

Defendant.

/

MOTION FOR REHEARING AND/OR RECONSIDERATION

Pursuant to the letter of this Court, Plaintiffs’ SUN-

ISLAND REALTY, INC., (hereinafter "SUN") and KENNETH

HEMMERLE (hereinafter HEMMERLE) files this their Motion

for Rehearing and/or Reconsideration of the Order Granting

Summary Final Judgement in favor of the defendant, and in

support hereof would show unto the Court the following:

ARGUMENT RES JUDICATA

The Court granted Summary Judgement on the basis

A-60

of the doctrines of res judicata and estoppel by judgement,

and in support cited Wise v. Tucker, 399 So. 2d 500 (Fla. 4th

DCA 1981). In the conclusions of law and the grant of

Summary Judgement the Court overlooked that in order for

the doctrine of "res judicata" to bar a subsequent suit certain

prerequisites must be met. The law with respect to the

doctrine of res judicata is well settled. The legal percept

comprehended in the phrase "res judicata" is defined as the

doctrine that an existing final judgement or decree rendered

on the merits without fraud or collusion, by a court of

competent jurisdiction, is conclusive of the rights, questions

and facts in issue, as to the parties and their privies, in other

action in the same or in another court. The judgement or

decree puts at rest and entombs all justiciable issues. By this

Court’s conclusion of law regarding “res judicata", it appears

that it overlooked the material fact that neither SUN or

HEMMERLE has ever had a day in court regarding the

Mechanic Lien foreclosure. Next, the Court overlooked that a

judgement not rendered on the merits, or without fraud or

A-61

collusion cannot be the basis of “res judicata" in which to bar

a subsequent suit. In stating the doctrine of res judicata, the

courts must refer to the fact that an adjudication sought to be

used as a basis of the doctrine was rendered upon the

merits. It is clear, that not only was the judgment sought to

be used in support of res judicata, not rendered upon the

merits, it was a stipulated judgement obtained by fraud, as

such, presents a question of fact preciuding summary

judgement. It is well settled that for "res judicata" to bar a suit,

four identities must be present: (1) the identity of the thing

sued for; (2) the identity of the cause of action: (3) the identity

of the person and parties, and (4) the identity of the quality or

Capacity of the persons for or against whom the claim is

made. It is clear that none of the four identities are present in

which to apply the doctrine of res judicata to the cause sub

judice. It is an absolute rule that a judgement or decree

rendered on any grounds which do not involve the merits of

the action may not be used as the basis for the operation of

the doctrine of res judicata. Allbright v Hanft, 333 so 2d 112

A-62

(Fla. 2d DCA 1976). The former adjudication in regards to

HEMMERLE which Defendant attempts to use as the basis of

res judicata was based on a breach of contract claim which

differs from the present claims, and as such, cannot be

deemed on the merits. O’Neal v Percival, 25 FLA. 118, 5 So.

809 (1889).

In Sunshine Utilities Equioment, Inc. v Treasure Coast

Utilities, Inc., 421 So. 2d 1096 (Fla. 4th DCA 1982), in

reversing, the Fourth District Court of Appeal held that: (1) In

identifying the issues previously adjudicated, in order to apply

doctrine of res judicata or estoppel by judgement, the Court

may consider only the record of the prior action and that the

same principle applies to the doctrine of merger, and (2) the

trial court erred by considering extrinsic evidence concerning

the prior judgement. It is clear that the record of the prior

action was not made part of this action, nor was the prior

issues framed by the Defendant or tendered by the pleadings

and put in issue in this cause. In Culloden v Music, 226 So.

2d 240, 244 (Fla. 2d DCA 1969) the court reversed holding

7

that "The test with reference to res adjudicata or estoppel by

A-63

judgement is, and should be, whether the evidence in both

cases is in essence the same albeit under estoppel by

judgement it must be determined that every point and

question presented in the second action was actually litigated

and decided in the first. We hold the view that the expression

‘precise facts’ has been, and should be, given the same

signification as the words ‘every point and question’." In

treating the definition of "Res Adjudicata" (1) This doctrine "is

not controlling except in an instance wherein the second suit

is between the “same parties" and is predicated upon the

“same cause of action” as was the first." In Seaboard Coast

Line Railroad Co. v Industrial Contracting Co., 260 So. 2d 860

(Fla. 4th DCA 1972) the Court reversed summary judgement

holding that to bring the doctrine of res judicata into valid

play there must be: (1) identity in the thing sued for; (2)

identity of the cause of action; (3) identity of the person and

parties to the actions; and (4) identity of the quality or

capacity of the person for or against whom the claim is

a

A-64

made. If these condition "do no concur’, the doctrine of res

judicata is “not applicable", citing Matthews v Matthews, 133

So. 2d 91, at p. 94. In Youngbloud v Taylor, 89 So. 2d 503

(fla. 1956) the Supreme Court held that judgement for

defendant in an action brought by father on behalf of his son

as a next friend, arising out of the same accident for which

father brought an action in his own behalf for damages

recoverable by him as a result thereof, did not estop father

from maintaining subsequent action against defendant on his

own account since father, as next friend, was not a real party

to the first suit and therefore there was no identity of the

parties-plaintiff in the two actions. As in the case at bar,

Hemmerle Construction Co. has never been a party to any

action where the defendant was a party, and that the claim of

lien is that of Hemmerle Construction Co., notwithstanding

that the proceeds have been assigned to SUN for sums of

money owed to SUN. Likewise, SUN has never been a party

to any action between the herein named defendant, with the

exception of the FSLIC v Sun-Island Realty Inc. and Kenneth

A-65

Hemmerle, Case No. 88-818, Although SUN sought damages

in the amount of $1.9 million, the damages sought in that

case were based upon a breach of contract and not the

foreclosure of a mechanic lien. Thus, the identities required

for the purpose of res judicata are missing and as such the

doctrine of "res judicata" will not apply.

ARGUMENT AS TO COLLATERAL ESTOPPEL

Collateral Estoppel, sometimes referred to a Estoppel

by judgment is akin to the doctrine of "res judicata". Collateral!

Estopped and Estoppel by Judgement require that the real

parties in interest in both suits be identical and that the issue

in the second action that is sought to be estopped from

relitigation be identical to necessary and material issues

resolved in the first suit. It is clear that at no time has a

mechanic lien foreclosure between the parties to this action

and that of any other action been resolved or tried. It is well

settled that for a judgement in a prior action operate as an

estoppel, it must be only on those matters in issue or the

points controverted, on the determination of which the finding

A-66

was rendered or those right or issues necessarily involved in

the conclusion reached. Since no conclusion has ever been

reached in regard to the mechanic lien foreclosure, the

doctrine of collateral estoppel will not apply to bar the

subsequent action for such foreclosure. While the principle of

collateral estoppel is applicable where the two causes of

action are different, in which case the adjudication in the first

suit only estopps the paities from litigation in the second suit

issues or question common to both causes of action, which

were actually adjudicated in the prior litigation. Seaboard

C.L.R. co. v Industrial Contracting Co., 260 So 2d 860 (Fla.

2d DCA 1972); Seaboard Coast Line R. Co. v Cox, 338 So.

2d 190 (Fla. 1976). In Newport Division, Tenneco Chem., Inc.

v_ Thompson, 330 So 2d 826 (Fla. 1st DCA 1976) the court

held that “the mutuality doctrine is but one application-in favor

of the party who was present at the prior judgement, against

one who wasn't-of the well-settled rule that there must be an

"identity of persons end the parties to the action” for an

estoppel to arise. Citing Daigneau v National Cash Register

A-67

Co., 247 So. 2d 465 (Fla. 4th DCA 1971). In Krug v Meros.468

So. 2d 299 (Fla. 2d DCA 1985) the court held that where

issue is not litigated in prior suit, estoppel by judgement does

not arise.

Although, Defendant's argument in support of the

doctrine of res judicata and collateral estoppel appear to be

grounded on the breach of contract suit in Case No. 88-818.

it is clear that the issues raised by the complaint in this action

was not litigated in that action. in Allstate Insurance co v

A.D.H., Inc., 397 So 2d 928 (Fla. 3d DCA 1981) the court

reversed holding that in action by contractor against

carpentry and masonry subcontractors for indemnity, defense

of estoppel by judgement was not proven by equivocal jury

verdict in prior action by widow of employee killed at a job sit

against contractor. As in the case at bar, the issue was not

before the court or jury in which to make a determination

regarding the mechanic lien. Furthermore, the jury verdict in

that action awarding SUN $1.9 million dollars has since been

reversed by the 4th DCA, and as such Defendant's original

A-68

claim as to that verdict being the amount determined by the

jury is the same as the amount claimed in this case now

loses all validity attempted by the Defendant in its motion for

summary judgement.

Even the case cited in support of Defendant’s Motion

for Summary judgement, Wise v Tucker, defeats their motion.

lt is clear that the Defendant has never raised the affirmative

defense of res judicata or collateral estoppel, and as such is

preciuded from arguing its existence in this action. Headnote

2, Wise. Doctrine of estoppel by judgement applies where

two Suits involve different causes of action and precluded

relitigation of those issues which were actually litigated and

determined in the prior action and, thus, where two suits were

based on common question, estoppel by judgement will

prevent defendant from maintaining later One. Headnote 4,

Wise. It is clear that the issue of mechanic lien foreclosure

has never been litigated, and as such Wise would defeat

summary judgement.

It is well settled that a "contractor" who complies with

A-69

all provisions of the Mechanics’ Lien Law and has

substantially preformed improvements on real property, is

entitled to a mechanics’ lien. Florida Statutes, Section 713.05.

lt is clear that pursuant to the Settlement Agreement entered

into on September 1, 1987, and by the terms of that

agreement, ACQUISITION CORP OF AMERICA (hereinafter

ACA) contracted with Hemmerle Construction pursuant to the

demands of the FSLIC for certain improvements on the

subject property that formed the subject of the Mechanic

Lien. Hemmerle Construction has not been paid one cent

pursuant to the agreement between the FSLIC and ACA.

Although demand has been made for such improvements,

and the fee owner, the Defendant in this cause, is obligated

for the performance of labor and materials pursuant to that

agreement. It is clear that by the terms of the settlement

agreement, an agency relationship existed between the FSLIC

and ACA, and as such the Defendant cannot now argue that

it is not obligated for the amount due on the mechanic lien.

WHEREFORE, premises considered, it is respectfully

A-70

requested that a rehearing be had or reconsideration of the

Order of Summary Final Judgement, and that such be revised

as to both law and fact, believing that a re-examination of the

record made by the Court in Case No. 88-818 will result in a

revision of the present order, and that a miscarriage of justice

will occur if the Summary Final Judgment is not vacated.

KENNETH HEMMERLE, RICHARD G. DOGGETT, Esq.

d/b/a HEMMERLE CONST. 808N.E. Third Avenue

Co. Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33304

808 N.E. Third Avenue 305-767-9055

Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 Florida Bar No. 301426

305-467-6801

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

WE HEREBY CERTIFY that a true and correct copy of

the foregoing Motion for Rehearing and/or Reconsideration

has been furnished facsimile transmission this 20th day of

November, 1991, to SUZANNE H. YOUMANS, ESQ., FAX NO.

407-832-0085.

KENNETH V. HEMMERLE RICHARD G. DOGGETT, Esq.

A-71

APPENDIX G

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE FIFTEENTH JUDICIAL

CIRCUIT

IN AND FOR PALM BEACH COUNTY, FLORIDA

SUN-ISLAND REALTY, INC., a

Florida corporation, C/S/A

KENNETH HEMMERLE, D/B/A

HEMMERLE CONSTRUCTION CO.

Plaintiffs, Appellants,

-VS- CASE NO. CL-88-10252-AN

FEDERAL DEPOSIT INSURANCE

CORPORATION, as Receiver for

SUNRISE SAVINGS AND LOAN

ASSOCIATION,

Defendant, Appellee.

/

NOTICE OF APPEAL

NOTICE IS GIVEN that SUN-ISLAND REALTY, INC.

and KENNETH HEMMERLE, Plaintiffs, Appellants, appeal! to

the District Court of Appeal, Fourth District of Florida, the

Summary Final Judgment entered the 14th day of November,

1991, and the Order denying Plaintiffs’ Motion for Rehearing

and Reconsideration dated the 17th day of December, 1991.

the nature of the Order entered the 14th day of November,

A-72

1991, is a Final Order of Summary Judgment, and the nature

of the Order dated the 17th of December, 1991, is a Final

Order denying Rehearing and/or Reconsideration.

RICHARD G. DOGGETT, P.A.

KENNETH HEMMERLE, pro se 808 N.E. 3rd Ave.

808 Northeast 3rd Avenue Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304

Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (305) 767-9055

Telephone: (305) 467-6801 Attorney for Sun-lsland Realty

By

RICHARD G. DOGGETT, ESQ.

Florida Bar No. 301426

— A-73

APPENDIX H

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL

FOURTH DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

CASE NO. 92-0063

L. T. CASE NO. 88-10252 (AN)

SUN-ISLAND REALTY, INC.,

and KENNETH HEMMERLE

Appellants,

-VS-

FEDERAL DEPOSIT INSURANCE

CORPORATION, etc.,

Appellees.

INITIAL BRIEF OF APPELLANTS

Appeal from the Fifteenth Judicial Circuit Court

in and for Palm Beach, County, Florida

KENNETH HEMMERLE, Appellant RICHARD G. DOGGETT,

808 Northeast Third Avenue Counsel for SUN-ISLAND

Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33304 808 Northeast Third Ave.

Telephone: (305) 467-6801 Ft. Lauderdale, Fl 33304

(305) 767-9055

A-74

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On September 1, 1987, The Federal Savings and Loan

Insurance Corporation (FSLIC) entered into an agreement

with Acquisition Corp. of America (ACA); Sun-lsland Realty,

Inc. (SIR); and KENNETH HEMMERLE (Hemmerle), whereby

it was agreed between the parties that ACA would improve

certain real property during a 120 day period, which

improvements would total $2,000,000.00.

ACA contracted with KENNETH HEMMERLE d/b/a

HEMMERLE CONSTRUCTION CO., for such improvements.

HEMMERLE improved the real property known as the Costa

Del Sol project in an amount exceeding $1,886,000.00, of

which ACA was unable to pay, and the FSLIC failed and

refused to pay notwithstanding it was the FSLIC’S

requirement for the improvements made to the property that

is now wie by the FSLIC’S successor in interest as

receiver for Sunrise Savings and Loan Association, the

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC).

Following refusal to pay by both ACA and the FSLIC

A-75

for the improvements made by HEMMERLE, with funds

borrowed SUN-ISLAND on October 30, 1987, HEMMERLE

filed a Mechanic's Lien on the subject property. Pursuant to

an agreement with SUN-ISLAND, HEMMERLE assigned the

rights of the proceeds to SUN-ISLAND with an agreement to

prefect his lien. (Exhibit to the Complaint R-1-46), and on

November 2, 1988, HEMMERLE filed a Lis Pendens on the

subject property (R-47).

On December 19, 1988, the FSLIC filed a Motion to

Dismiss Complaint and Discharge the Mechanic Lien

(R-48-51), and on January 13, the Court below denied the

FSLIC’S Motion to Dismiss and Discharge Lien. Following the

Court's Order denying said motion, the FSLIC filed its Answer

and Affirmative Defenses (R-53-57).

On February 23, the FSLIC filed a Motion for Summary

Judgment (R-58-59). On March 24, 1989, and Affidavit of

Gary A. Woodfield was filed in support of the FSLIC’S

Motion for Summary Judgment (R-63-100).

On April 4, 1989, Plaintiffs’ filed a verified Motion to

A-76

Strike Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment as being

wholly sham (R-106-113).

On April 10, 1989, the FSLIC filed a Motion for leave

to Amend Affirmative Defenses (R117-123), and on April 26,

1989 Plaintiffs entered into an agreed order on the FSLIC’S

Motion to Amend Affirmative Defenses (R-127). On April 27,

1989, the FSLIC’S Amended Affirmative Defenses and

additional exhibits were filed (R-128-132).

Following the filing of the Amended Affirmative

Defenses, on June 30, 1989, the FSLIC filed an Amended

Motion for Summary Judgment (R-133-218), and on July 21,

1989, the Plaintiffs filed a response to the amended motion

for summary judgment (R-226-233). Following an Order

setting special hearing on the FSLIC’S Amended Motion for

Summary Judgment, to be heard on November 8, 1989, and

following the hearing on said motion, the Court ordered

Memorandum of Law as to Count | of Plaintiffs’ Complaint,

which was filed on November 17, 1989 (R-239-247).

On November 17, 1989, the court denied the FSLIC’S

A-77

Motion for Summary Judgment.

On January 4, 1992, the Court e -d its Order

setting Jury Trial on the Calendar beginning July 1, 1991 and

directing pretrial and mediation procedures (R-364-366).

On February 5, 1991, the FSLIC filed a renewed

Motion for Summary Judgment, together with a memorandum

in support thereof (R-367-449). And on February 7, 1991, the

FSLIC filed a Motion to Strike the case from jury docket

(R-450-453).

On February 19, 1991 Plaintiffs filed their Response to

the FSLIC’S renewed Motion for Summary Judgment

(R-454-462)

On September 11, 1991, HEMMERLE filed an Affidavit

in Opposition to the FSLIC’S Renewed Motion for Summary

Judgment. And on the 19th of September, 1991, the Court

ordered Memoranda from the FSLIC (R-481-482). On October

7, 1991, the FSLIC filed a Supplemental Memorandum in

Support of its Renewed Motion for Summary Judgment with

certain exhibits attached thereto (R-483-494). And on October

A-78

8, 1991, the Plaintiffs filed a Reply to the FSLIC’S

Supplemental Memorandum (R 495-506).

On November 14, 1991, the Court granted the

FSLIC’S Renewed Motion for Summary Judgment. On

November 21, 1991, the Plaintiffs filed a Motion for Rehearing

and/or Reconsideration setting forth facts that Summary

Judgment once denied, cannot subsequently be granted

without new proofs. On December 17, 1991, the lower Court

denied Plaintiffs Motion for Rehearing and/or Reconsideration.

lt is from the Order of Summary Judgment and the

Order denying Plaintiffs Motion for Rehearing, that Appellants

have taken this appeal.

STATEMENT OF THE FACTS

There has never been a dispute as to whether or not

HEMMERLE performed the improvement which gave rise to

the filing of the Mechanic Lien. It has been the FSLIC’S

contention that they were not responsible for the

indebtedness created by ACA for the improvements made on

the subject property, notwithstanding the improvements were

A-79

made pursuant to the orders of the FSLIC that was embodied

in the unilateral agreement, drafted by the FSLIC through

their agents the Federal Assets Disposition Association

(FADA)

The FSLIC (hereinafter FDIC) conclusion in its

Renewed Motion for Summary Judgment, that the Claim of

Lien was subordinate to the FSLIC’S interest in the property

and was extinguished by the foreclosure sale and subsequent

issuance of the Certificate of Title to the FSLIC was meritless

in that it had been determined by the FSLIC’S initial Amended

Motion for Summary Judgment (R-248).

lt is clear that pursuant to the FSLIC’S request and

demand by its unilateral contract, the borrower (ACA), by

virtue of that request and demand, contracted with

HEMMERLE CONSTRUCTION CO., for the improvement

demanded by the FSLIC.

In the FSLIC’S Renewed Motion for Summary

Judgment it was argued that new proofs were submitted at

hearing on said motion. A review of the Record will establish

A-80

that no new proof were ever submitted which is required

upon a moving party in a second attempt for Summary

Judgment.

The FSLIC’S alleged new proof was that the Judgment

entered on September 19, 1989, in Case No. 88-818, was a

basis of res judicata and/or estoppel by judgment, and such

reasoning was that judgment entered against the FSLIC, was

for the same improvements that gave rise to the Claim of

Lien. The record reveals that even if the argument of res

judicata and/or estoppel by judgment stemming from Case

No. 88-818 were for the same improvements, which Plaintiffs

strongly denied, the amended motion for summary judgment

that was heard and denied on November 9, 1989 was some

55 days after the jury entered its verdict in Case No. 88-818.

The FSLIC could have at any time from the jury verdict to the

date of hearing on its amended motion included the

argument of res judicata and/or estoppel by judgment.

Although the judgment in Case No. 88-818 has been

reversed by this Court, such reversal surely defeats the

A-81

argument of payment pursuant to that judgment, and even ii

this Court had affirmed the jury verdict in Case No. 88-818,

that judgment was for Breach of Contract and had no

connection with the Mechanic Lien Foreclosure action

(R-495-506).

The FSLIC’S reliance on the doctrine of res judicata

and/or estoppel by judgment is clearly misplaced, in that not

only was the cause of action different in this case as opposed

to Case No. 88-818, but the parties were aiso different.

Neither of the two cause of action share together or have

unity of interest (R-495-506).

The Summary Final Judgment, the findings of fact,

and the Court’s Conclusions of Law, as drafted and submitted

by the FDIC, is on its face contrary to the general principals

that support a motion for summary judgment. The purpose of

summary judgment is to determine if there is sufficient

evidence to justify a trial on the issues made by the

pleadings, and must appear from the pleadings, depositions,

affidavits, or other evidence before the court that there exists

A-82

no genuine issue of material fact to be tried. A review of the

Findings of Fact, paragraph 1 through 10 of the Summary

Final Judgment, clearly show genuine issues of material fact.

There is no evidence in the record which would establish the

findings of fact included in the Summary Final Judgment.

Such factual issues as credibility determinations, the weighing

of the evidence, and the drawing of legitimate inferences are

functions for the trier of fact, and it appears thai the finding of

fact included in the Summary Final Judgment are in fact

genuine issues of fact to be determined by a trier of fact

(R-524-528).

The Conclusions of Law incorporated in the Summary

Final Judgment, are not conclusions of law, but rather

additional factual issues which should preclude a summary

final judgment. Whether or not the parties’ claims in the case

sub judice and their counterclaims in Case No. 88-818 were

in fact disposed of, and that the principles of res judicata and

collateral estoppel apply to bar the suit below, is a matter of

fact to be determined by the trier of fact (R-524-528).

A-83

STATEMENT OF ISSUES

The Court below committed reversible error in entering

Summary Final Judgment on four major grounds:

(1) The lower Court erred in determining that new proof

were submitted by the FDIC in its Renewed Motion fo

Summary Judgment. It is clear that no new proof were

submitted at the hearing on the FDIC’S Renewed Motion for

Summary Judgment, and the sole basis of argument by the

FDIC was res judicata or estoppel by judgment stemming

from Case No. 88-818. Clearly, a genuine issue of material

fact.

(2) The lower Court erred in its determination that the

judgment entered September 19, 1989, in Case No. 88-818,

and that such judgment could not have been argued in its

initial motion for summary judgment that was denied.

(3) The lower Court erred in its determination that it is

incumbent upon the non-moving party to show the existence

of genuine issues of material fact, and not on the moving

was the basis of res judicata and/or-esteppel-by-judgment——__—

A-84

party to show an absence of genuine issues of material fact.

(4) The lower Court erred in its determination that the claims

in the case sub judice and the claims in Case No. 88-818

were the same, and that breach of contract and mechanic

lien foreclosure are in fact the same, and relied upon the

naked allegations of the FDIC that such were the same.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The FDIC submitted a supplemental memorandum in

support of it’s Renewed Motion for Summary Judgment as

requested by the Court (R-483-494). This memorandum

included each and every allegations and/or proof relied upon

for the support of its renewed motion.

In paragraph 1, of said memorandum, the FDIC

attempted to argue that new proofs were submitted at

hearing on the Renewed Motion for Summary Judgment. It

was Clear that no new proof were submitted at that hearing,

and the only basis of argument was that the doctrine of res

judicata or estoppel by judgment applied stemming from

Case No. 88-818 to support said motion.

|

|

A-85

Next, the FDIC, mislead the lower Court by alleging

that the judgment entered September 19, 1989, in Case No.

88-818, was an absolute basis of res judicata and/or estoppel

by judgment, and that such allegations were made part of its

renewed motion for summary judgment, and was well after

the filing of the FDIC’S first motion for summary judgment.

The FDIC further argued that the existence of the judgment

in Case No. 88-818 and the arguments directed to that

judgment were not, and could not have been set forth in its

first motion. Clearly, the record reveals that the judgment in

Case No. 88-818 was in fact available in the first motion. The

order setting special hearing on the first amended motion for

summary judgment was entered August 18, 1989 (R-238),

scheduling the FDIC’S Amended Motion for Summary

Judgment to be heard on Wednesday, November 8, 1989 at

9:30 a.m., some 55 days after the jury entered its verdict in

Case No. 88-818. The FDIC at any time from the date of the

jury verdict to the hearing on it’s amended motion for

summary judgment could have included the jury verdict in the

A-86

amended motion if such verdict was in fact a determination

of the same issues as in the case sub judice in which to give

rise to the doctrine of res judicata or estoppel by judgment.

Clearly, the jury verdict found damages for breach of contract

and not a mechanic lien foreclosure.

In paragraph 2 of the FDIC’S memo, it is alleged that

Plaintiffs failed to show the factual dispute. Although Plaintiffs

have shown by allegations of their complaint and subsequent

memorandum, the factual disputes the FDIC failed to

recognize, the Appellants would argue that is not incumbent

upon the non-moving party to show anything whatsoever. It

is clear that the burden is on the moving for summary

judgment to establish the absence of any issue of material

fact, and the party against whom summary judgment is

sought is not required to file any opposing affidavits or

demonstrate the existence of an issue of material fact in order

to avoid having a summary judgment rendered. It is sufficient

for the non-moving party to disclose intentions to offer proof

of facts, in good faith, which, if those facts contradict the facts

A-87

to be adduced in evidence by the adversary, and/or to

present such fact to a jury, would preclude summary

judgment

In paragraph 3 of the FDiC’S memorandum, it is

claimed that the claims in Case No. 88-818, are the same as

those asserted in the case sub judice, and that Plaintiffs’

assertion to the contrary is blatantly incorrect. Appellants’ in

their reply to the FDIC’S supplemental memorandum

(R-495-506) requested a review of Sun-lsland’s Counterclaim

in Case No. 88-818, and the Complaint in the case which

summary judgment was entered, which would show that not

only are the claims different, and that the claim in the case

sub judice is for mechanic lien foreclosure, and the claims in

Case No. 88-818 was for breach of contract. Furthermore, the

parties are different, in that KENNETH HEMMERLE, d/b/a/

HEMMERLE CONSTRUCTION CO., has never been

mentioned in any other action involving the FDIC, the FSLIC

or any of it’s predecessors in interest. Breach of Contract and

Mechanic Lien Foreclosure are not required to be brought in

A-88

the same suit, and it is clear that the term "contract" has been

defined as a promise or set of promises for the breach of

which the law gives a remedy, or the performance of which

the law in some way recognizes as a duty. Whereas the

Mechanics’ Lien Law finds section in the dictates of natural

justice and in the equitable principle that everyone who, by

his labor or materials, has contributed to the preservation of

enhancement of the property of another, and as such,

thereby acquires a right to compensation. Neither of the two

cause of action share together or have unity of interest

whereby, the lien foreclosure could have or should have been

concluded in Case No. 88-818, and as such, neither res

judicata or estoppel by judgment would apply to the case at

bar. As shown in the FDIC’S memorandum, the special

interrogatory verdict forms upon which judgment was entered

in Case No. 88-818, established that the ultimate issue

addressed in that case, were and are different than the issues

claimed in the Court below. The FDIC’S argument that

because the jury awarded $1.9 million in damages for the

A-89

FSLIC’S breach of payment in Case No. 88-818 was and is

the same as the claim of lien for $1,886,000.00, which formed

the claim of lien that is the subject of the case sub judice.

The trial court relied on this assertion made in the FDIC’S

memorandum, and entered Summary Final Judgment, which

on it’s face is error

Again, the case on appeal is for Mechanic Lien

Foreclosure and not Breach of Contract as argued by the

FDIC. An issue of fact arises as to whether any part of the

judgment in Case No. 88-818 could be made to satisfy the

mechanic lien placed on the property well prior to Case No

88-818. If it is the FDIC’S argument and belief that such

judgment or any part thereof would be applied to satisfy the

claim of lien in the suii below, than it would be incumbent

upon the FDIC to prove such a claim to a trier of fact and not

by the way of summery judgment

Although, the FDIC cites Wise v. Tucker 399 So. 2d

500, 502 (Fla. 4th DCA 1981) for the proposition that two suits

based on a common question bars a later action, and the

A-90

lower court relied on such argument when granting Summary

Final Judgment, finding that even if the causes of action differ

in the two suits the doctrine of estoppel by judgment would

apply. The FDIC’S argument and the Court’s findings and

conclusions in that regard is misplaced, in that in Wise the

Court reversed holding that the doctrine of estoppel by

judgment applies where two suits involve different causes of

action and precludes relitigation of those issues which were

actually litigated and determined in the prior action. It is clear

that the Mechanic Lien Foreclosure action has never been

litigated or determined in any action, and it is further clear

Plaintiff, lienor, HEMMERLE CONSTRUCTION CO., has never

been a party to any action with the FDIC, the FSLIC, or any

predecessor of interest. Next, the lower court relied on the

FDIC’S argument and reliance on New River Yachting Center

v. Bacchiocchi, 407 So. 2d 607, 609 (Fla. 4th DCA 1981).

Again, misplaced, in that the holding in New River supports

Plaintiffs’ position, holding “Once a party has had an

opportunity to litigate a matter in an action in a court of

A-91

competent jurisdiction, he should not be permitted to litigate

it again to the harassment and vexation of his opponent." At

the time Plaintiffs in the case sub judice filed it’s Counterclaim

in Case No. 88-818, the foreclosure action had already been

filed, and as such could not be brought in Case No. 88-818.

Case No. 88-818 did not address the Lien Foreclosure action,

and could not have addressed such an action, in that

Plaintiffs’ Counterclaim in Case No. 88-818 was a compulsory

counterclaim which arose from the case in chief, and this

action could not be permitted in the prior action, either as a

compulsory or permissive counterclaim, being removed from

a Breach of Contract action. Had the FDIC (FSLIC), the

Plaintiff in Case No. 88-818 wanted to try the foreclosure

action in Case No. 88-818, they could have moved to

consolidate. It is unclear to the Appellants how the FDIC

coerced the lower court to believe that the Lien Foreclosure

action could have been tried in Case No. 88-818, and that

because it was not tried in Case No. 88-818, the cause

became res judicata or estoppel by judgment.

A-92

ARGUMENT

POINT | ON APPEAL

DID THE VERDICT IN CASE NO. 88-818 IN THE CIRCUIT

COURT OF THE FIFTEENTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT FOR

BREACH OF CONTRACT BAR THE LIEN FORECLOSURE

ACTION IN THE CASE ON REVIEW?

APPELLANTS’ ANSWER: NO. The Court granted Summary

Final Judgment on the basis of the doctrines of res judicata

and estoppel by judgment, and in support of the Summary

Final Judgment relied upon Wise v. Tucker, 399 So. 2d 500

(Fla. 4th DCA 1981). In the conclusions of law and the grant

of Summary Judgment the lower Court overlooked such facts

that for the doctrine of "res judicata" to bar a subsequent suit

certain prerequisites must be met. The law with respect to the

doctrine of res judicata is well settled. The legal precept

comprehended in the phrase "res judicata" is defined as the

doctrine that an existing final judgment or decree rendered on

the merits without fraud or collusion, by a court of competent

jurisdiction, is conclusive of the rights, questions and facts in

A-93

issue, as to the parties and their privies, in other action in the

Same or in another court. The judgment or decree puts at

rest and entombs all justifiable issues. By the lower Court's

conclusion of law regarding “res itidicata", it appears that it

overlooked the material fact that neither SUN-ISLAND or

HEMMERLE has ever had a day in court regarding the

Mechanic Lien foreclosure. Next, the lower Court overlooked

the fact that a judgment not rendered on the merits, or

without fraud or collusion cannot be the basis of "res judicata’

in which to bar a subsequent suit. In stating the doctrine of

res judicata, the courts must refer to the fact that an

adjudication sought to be used as a basis of the doctrine was

rendered upon the merits. it is clear, that not only was the

judgment sought to be used in support of res judicata not an

issue in the case sub judice, it has since been reversed by

this Court. It is well settled that for "res judicata" to bar a suit,

four identities must be present: (1) the identity of the thing

sued for; (2) the identity of the cause of action; (3) the identity

of the person and parties, and (4) the identity of the quality or

A-94

capacity of the persons for or against whom the claim is

made. It is clear that none of the four identities were present

in which to apply the doctrine of res judicata to the case sub

judice.

lt is an absolute rule that a judgment or decree

rendered on any grounds which do not involve the merits of

the action may not be used as the basis for the operation of

the doctrine of res judicata. Allbright v. Hanft, 333 So. 2d

112 Fla 2d DCA 1976). The former adjudication in regards

HEMMERLE which the FDIC used in the court below as the

basis of res

judicata was based on a breach of contract claim which

differs from the claims made by the Appellants, and as such

cannot be deemed on the merits. O’Neal v. Percival, 25 Fla.

4485. Se-809-41889). —

In Sunshine Utilities Equipment, Inc. v. Treasure

Coast Utilities, Inc., 421 So. 2d 1096 (Fla. 4th DCA 1982), in

reversing, this Court held that: (1) In identifying the issues

previously adjudicated, in order to apply doctrine of res

A-95

judicata or estoppel by judgment, the Court may consider

only the record of the prior action and that the same principle

applies to the doctrine of merger, and (2) the trial court erred

by considering extrinsic evidence concerning the prior

judgment. It is clear that the record of the prior action was

not made part of the action in the court below, nor was the

prior issues framed by the FDIC or tendered by the pleadings

and put in issue in the case sub judice. In Culloden v.

Music, 226 So. 2d 240, 244 (Fla. 2d DCA 1969) the court

reversed holding that the “The test with reference to res

adjudicata or estoppel by judgment is, and should be,

whether the evidence in both cases is in essence the same

albeit under estoppel by judgment, and it must be

determined that every point and question’ presented in the

second action was actually litigated and decided in the first.

We hold the view that the expression precise facts’ has been,

and should be, given the same signification as the words

‘every point and question’." In treating the definition of "Res

Adjudicata" [1] This Doctrine "is not controlling except in an

A-96

instance wherein the second suit is between the "same

parties" and is predicated upon the “same cause of action" as

was the first." In Seaboard Coast Line Railroad Co. v.

Industrial Contracting Co., 260 So. 2d 860 (Fla. 4th DCA

1972), this Court reversed summary judgment holding that to

bring the doctrine of res judicata into valid play there must be

the four identities previously cited. If these conditions "do

not concur’, the doctrine of res judicata is "not applicable",

citing Matthews v. Matthews, 133 So. 2d 91, at p. 94. In

Youndbloud v. Taylor, 89 So. 2d 503 (Fla. 1956) the

Supreme Court held that judgment for defendant in an action

brought by father on behalf of his as a next friend, arising out

of the same accident for which father brought an action in his

own behalf for damages recoverable by his as a result

thereof, did not estop father from maintaining subsequent

action against defendant on his own account since father, as

next friend, was not a real party to the first suit and therefore

there was no identity of the parties-plaintiff in the two actions.

As in the case sub judice, HEMMERLE CONSTRUCTION CO.

A-97

has never been a party to any action where the

defendant-appellee was a party, and that the claim of lien is

that of HEMMERLE CONSTRUCTION CO., notwithstanding

that the proceeds have been assigned to SUN-ISLAND for

sums of money owed to SUN-ISLAND. Likewise, SUN-ISLAND

has never been a party to any action between the FDIC, with

the exception of the FSLIC v. Sun-island Realty Inc. and

Kenneth Hemmerle Case No. 88-818. Although SUN-ISLAND

sought damages in the amount of $1.9 million, the damages

sought in that case was based upon a breach of contract and

not the foreclosure of a mechanic lien. Thus, the identities

required for the purpose of res judicata are missing and as

such the doctrine of “res judicata" will not apply.

Next, the FDIC suggested to the court below, that should res

judicata not apply, than collateral estoppel should. The lower

Court in it’s Order of Summary Final Judgment and

conclusions of Law found that SUN-ISLAND and HEMMERLE

had litigated their claims arising from the assertion that the

FSLIC had breached the Agreement by failing to pay for

A-98

improvements SUN-ISLAND made to the property, and

consequently, they were precluded from maintaining another

suit for the same relief pursuant to the principles of res

judicata and estoppel by judgment. The lower court

concluded that the parties claims in the case sub judice and

their counterclaims in Case No. 88-818 are ultimately

concerned with execution and performance of the agreement.

Since those claims were disposed of in Case No.

88-818, the principles of res judicata and collateral estoppel

apply to bar another suit based on the same claims, citing

Wise v. Tucker, supra. As heretofore pointed out, none of

the claims in the case sub judice were ever litigated in any

other case, and the lower court should have denied the

summary judgment and permitted a trier of fact to determine

whether or not any of the issues had been tried in any prior

action.

Collateral Estoppel, sometimes referred to as Estoppel

by Judgment is akin to the doctrine of "res judicata".

Coilateral Estoppel and Estoppel by Judgment require that

A-99

the real parties in interest in both suits be identical and that

the issue in the second action that is sought to be estopped

trom relitigation be identical to, necessary and material issues

resolved in the first suit. It is clear that at no time has a

mechanic lien foreclosure between the parties to the case

sub judice and that of any other action been resolved or

tried. It is well settled that for a judgment in a prior action

operate as an estoppel, it must be only on those matters in

issue or the points controverted, on the determination of

which the finding was rendered or those right or issues

necessarily involved in the conclusion reached. Since no

conclusion has ever been reached in regard to the mechanic

lien foreclosure, the doctrine of collateral estoppel will not

apply to bar the subsequent action for such foreclosure.

While the principle of collateral estoppel is applicable where

the two causes of action are different, in which case the

adjudication is the first suit only estops the parties from

litigation in the second suit issues or question common to

both causes of action, which were actually adjudicated in the

A-100

prior litigation. Seaboard C.L.R. Co. v. Industrial

Contracting Co., 260 So. 2d 860 (Fla. 2d DCA 1972);

Seaboard Coast Line R. Co. v. Cox, 338 So. 2d 190 (Fla.

1976). In Newport Division, Tenneco Chem., Inc. v.

Thompson, 330 So. 2d 826 (Fla. 1st DCA 1976) the court

held that “the mutuality doctrine is but one application in favor

of the party who was present at the prior judgment, against

one who wasn’t-of the well-settled rule that there must be an

“identity of persons and the parties to the action" for an

estoppel to arise. Citing, Diagneau v. National Cash

Register Co., 247 So. 2d 465 (Fla. 4th DCA 1971). In Krug

v. Meros, 468 So. 2d 299 (Fla. 2d DCA 1985) the court held

that where issue is not litigated in prior suit, estoppel by

judgment does not arise. _

Although, the FDiC’S argument in support of the doctrine of

res judicata and collateral estoppel appear to be grounded

on the breach of contract suit in Case No. 88-818, it is clear

that the issues raised by the complaint in the case sub

judice was not litigated in that action. In Allstate Insurance

A-101

Co. v. A.D.H., Inc., 397 So. 2d 928 (Fla. 3d DCA 1981) the

court reversed, holding that in an action by a contractor

against a carpentry and masonry subcontractors for

indemnity, defense or estoppel by judgment was not proven

by equivocal jury verdict in prior action by widow of employee

killed at job site against contractor. As in this case, the issue

was not before the court or jury in Case No. 88-818 in which

to make a determination regarding the mechanic lien.

Furthermore, the jury verdict in that action awarding

SUN-ISLAND $1.9 million dollars has since been reversed by

this Court, and as such the FDIC’S original claim as to that

verdict being the amount determined by the jury to be the

same as the amount claimed in the case sub judice now

loses all validity attempted by the FDIC to support it’s

renewed motion for summary judgment.

Even the case cited in support of the FDIC’S motion

for summary judgment, Wise v. Tucker, supra., and the

lower court's reliance on that case, defeats the motion, and

is grounds for reversal. It is clear that the FDIC has never

A-102

raised the affirmative defense of res judicata or collateral

estoppel, and as such, should have been precluded from

arguing its existence in the court below. In headnote 2, Wise,

Doctrine of estoppel by judgment applies where two suits

involve different causes of action and precluded relitigation of

those issues which were actually litigated and determined in

the prior action and, thus, where two suits were based on

common question, estoppel by judgment will prevent

defendant from maintaining later one. Headnote 4 Wise. It is

clear that the issue of mechanic lien foreclosure has never

been litigated, and as such, Wise should have defeated the

renewed motion for summary judgment.

It is well settled that a "contractor" who complies with

all provisions of the Mechanics’ Lien Law and has

substantially performed improvement on real property, is

entitled to a mechanics’ lien. Florida Statutes, Section

713.05.

It is clear, and never been refuted by the FDIC or the

FSLIC, that pursuant to the Settlement Agreement entered

A-103

into on September 1, 1987, by and between the FSLIC and

Acquisition Corp. of America, and by the terms of that

agreement, ACA _ contracted with HEMMERLE

CONSTRUCTION CO., pursuant to the demands of the FSLIC

for certain improvement on the subject property that formed

the subject of the Mechanic Lien. HEMMERLE

CONSTRUCTION CO., has not received one cent pursuant to

that agreement between the FSLIC and ACA, notwithstanding,

that demands have been made for such improvements, and

the fee owner, the FSLIC, now the FDIC, is obligated for the

performance of labor and materials pursuant to that

agreement. It is clear that by the terms of the settlement

agreement, and agency relationship existed between the

FSLIC and ACA, ard as such, the FDIC cannot now argue

that it is not obligated for the amount due on the mechanic

lien, nor will it use this Court to assist it in such an illegal act.

Accordingly, genuine issues of material fact existed

that should have precluded Summary Final Judgment. The

standard of review under Fla. R. Civ. P. 1.510 is well settled:

A-104

Credibility determinations, the weighing of the evidence, and

the drawing of legitimate inferences are functions for the trier

of fact, and neither res judicata or collateral estoppel is

present to support the Summary Final Judgment. Clearly, res

judicata or collateral estoppel will not be applied where, in the

prior action, there was not an unquestionable, clear-cut

Official adjudication. Universal Constr. Co. v. Fort

Lauderdale, 68 So. 2d 366 (Fla. 1953). Since the Mechanic

Lien Foreclosure has never been tried in any other action,

and the issues of said lien has never been determined, the

FDIC’S renewed motion for summary judgment should have

been denied. In Nationwide Mutual Fire Insurance Co. v.

Race, 508 So. 2d 1276 (Fla. 3d DCA 1987) the Court

reversed summary judgment holding that a party claiming

defense of collateral estoppel has burden of establishing the

issue in question was actually litigated and determined in the

prior action. Citing Mobile Oil Corp. v. Shevin, 354 So. 2d

372 (Fla. 1977). It was clear that the existence of an issue on

a material fact respecting the right to a lien precludes entry

A-105

of a summary decree in a Suit to foreclose the lien. First

National Bank v. Burnup & Sims of Melbourne, Inc., 137

So. 2d 13 (Fla. 2d DCA 1962). The remedy of summary

judgment is designed to meet a situation where the salient

facts are clearly not in issue, and

where the controversy is purely one of law to be decided

upon undisputed facts. Thus, the corollary principle that

summary judgment will not be decreed where a genuine

issue as to a material fact is presented, as in the case sub

judice. Genuine issues of fact existed as to the issues

relating. inter alia, whether or not the lien foreclosure has

been determined in a prior action; issue of fact existed as to

whether or not the cause of action is the same as that of

Case No. 88-818; issue of fact existed as to whether or not

HEMMERLE CONSTRUCTION CO. was a party in Case No.

88-818: issue of fact existed as to whether or not the FDIC

met the element requirement necessary to establish the

doctrine of res judicata or estoppel by judgment. It should

have been clear that the FDIC was not entitled to summary

A-106

judgment on the grounds of res judicata or estoppel by

judgment

CONCLUSION

In view of the foregoing, and the case law cited,

justice dictates that the Summary Final Judgment be reversed

as a matter of law, and that the Plaintiffs-Appellants be

permitted their day in court as afforded by the Florida

Constitution, Article 1, Section 21.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE,

WE HEREBY CERTIFY, that a true and correct copy

of the foregoing Initial Brief has been furnished by U. S. Mail

this 13th day of March, 1992 to: SUZANNE H. YOUMANS,

ESQ. 320 Royal Poinciana Plaza, Palm Beach, Fiorida 33480.

RICHARD G. DOGGETT, P.A.

KENNETH V. HEMMERLE, prose _ 808 Northeast Third Ave.

808 Northeast Third Avenue Fort Lauderdale, Fl. 33304

Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33304 (305) 767-9055

Telephone: (305) 467-6801 Attorney for Sun-island

By

RICHARD G. DOGGETT, ESQ.

A-107

APPENDIX |

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL

FOURTH DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

CASE NO. 92-0063

L. T. CASE NO. 88-10252 (AN)

SUN-ISLAND REALTY, INC.,

and KENNETH HEMMERLE,

Appellants,

-VS-

FEDERAL DEPOSIT INSURANCE

CORPORATION, etc.,

Appellees.

BRIEF OF APPELLEE

Suzanne H. Youmans, Esquire

Florid Bar No. 661104

SQUIRE, SANDERS & DEMPSEY

320 Royal Poinciana Plaza

Palm Beach, Florida 33480

407-832-6000

PREFACE

Appellee Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, as

A-108

Receiver for Sunrise Savings and Loan Association is

designated "FDIC" or "Appellee". Appellant Sun-isiland Realty,

Inc. is designated "Sun-lsland”. Kenneth Hemmerle is

designated "Hemmerle". Sun-lsland and Hemmerle are

collectively referred to as Appellants.

Citations tothe record appearasR.__.. Citations to

the appendix appearasA. __.

STATEMENT OF THE FACTS AND OF THE CASE

FDIC disagrees with the statements of the case and of

the facts submitted by appellants, which contain several

inaccurate and irrelevant ‘“facts", and are unduly

argumentative. Accordingly, pursuant to Fla.Rf.App.P.

9.210(c), FDIC submits the following statement.

In 1983, Acquisition Corp. of America ("Acquisition’),

a corporation controlled by Hemmerle, executed and

delivered to FDIC’s predecessor, Sunrise Savings and Loan

Association of Florida, a promissory note and a mortgage on

certain real property in Palm Beach County, Florida (the

“property") (R.1). In December 1986, the Federal Savings and

A-109

Loan Insurance Corporation, as Receiver for Sunrise Savings

and Loan Association ("FSLIC")' sued Acquisition, Hemmerle,

Sun-lsland and others to foreclose the mortgage and to

enforce the terms of the note and certain guaranties executed

by Sun-lsland and Hemmerle (R.3).

On September 1, 1987, FSLIC, Acquisition, Sun-lsland

and Hemmerle entered into a written settlement agreement

and stipulation (collectively the "settlement agreement") to

resolve all outstanding disputes between the parties (R. 3, 14;

A.1). The settlement agreement provided, inter alia, for entry

of a judgment of foreclosure against Acquisition if FSLIC did

not receive payment of $8.2 million on or before December

31, 1987 (A.1-28; Ex. "A"). Additionally, as part of the

settlement agreement, Hemmerle and Sun-lsland executed

~ and delivered to FSLIC a conditional guaranty of payment,

guaranteeing payment of the debt owed FSLIC in the event,

'/ FDIC has succeeded to FSLIC in this action and all

other matters herein discussed pursuant to the

Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery § and

Enforcement Act of 1989 Pub.L. 101-73, 103 Stat. 183.

A-110

inter alia, Acquisition should seek bankruptcy relief (A. 1-28;

Ex. "B").

FSLIC did not receive the payment of $8.2 million on

or before December 31, 1987. Instead, Hemmerle caused

Acquisition to file a Chapter 11 bankruptcy petition on

December 30, 1987 (R.5). On December 31, 1987, Hemmerie,

d/b/a/ Hemmerle Construction Co., recorded a claim of lien

in the amount of $1,886,560 against the property (R.8, 43)

On the same day, Hemmerle assigned the claim of lien to

Sun-lsland (R.7, 44-46).*

Pursuant to the settlement agreement, FSLIC obtained

a partial summary judgment of foreclosure as to the property

(R.5-7; R.369, 427), and took title to the property at public

The complaint herein was filed by Sun-lsland (R.1).

Later, Hemmerie twice sought leave to intervene as a

party plaintiff (R.297, 344). The trial court deferred

ruling on Hemmerle’s first motion (R.318-319), and no

dispositive order ever was entered on Hemmerle’s

motions to intervene. However, the summary final

judgment frorn which this appeal is taken provides

that "[tlo the extent Hemmerle is considered a party

plaintiff to this proceeding, this judgment applies to

him as well as Sun-isiand.” (R.527).

A-111

sale in May 1988 (R.8; R.369,431).

In January 1988, as a result of Acquisition’s

bankruptcy, FSLIC sued Hemmerle and Sun-island to enforce

the terms of the conditional guaranty Hemmerle and Sun-

Island executed in connection with the settlement agreement.

Fed. Sav. and Loan Ins. Corp. v. Sun-island Realty, Inc. and

Kenneth Hemmerle, Case No. 88-818 in the Circuit Court of

Palm Beach County, Florida (R.369-370) (the “guaranty

action”). Sun-lsland and Hemmerle answered FSLIC’s

complaint and asserted numerous affirmative defenses and

counterclaims arising from FSLIC’s alleged fraudulent

inducement and breach of the settlement agreement (R.432-

449: A.2, pp. 1-18).° In its breach of contract claim, Sun-

The essence of appellants’ claims was _ their

contention that FSLIC fraudulently induced their

execution of the settlement agreement by verbally

agreeing to extend the written payment deadline

contained in the agreement, that FSLIC breached its

alleged verbal agreement to extend the payment

deadline, and that FSLIC committed various other

breaches of the settlement agreement (R.432-449;

A.2, 3, 4). See generally, Fed. Deposit Ins. Corp. v.

Hemmerle, 592 So.2d 1110, 1112 (Fla. 4th DCA

1991): see also, Acquisition Corp. of America, et al v.

A-112

Island sought damages exceeding $1.9 million based on

improvements it allegedly made to the property (R.370,445;

A.3, p.11). Hemmerle asserted an identical claim for breach

of the settlement agreement (A.2, p.15), and sought damages

for the construction costs he allegedly incurred in connection

with the improvements (A.2, p. 15; A.3, pp. 27-28).

Following trial on appellants’ counterclaims in the

guaranty action, judgment was entered on jury verdicts in

favor of Sun-lsland and Hemmerle, awarding Sun-lsland $1.9

million and Hemmerle $25 million (R.448-449). FDIC appealed

and this Court reversed, instructing the trial court to enter

directed verdicts in favor of FDIC on appellants’

counterclaims. Fed. Deposit Ins. Corp. v. Hemmerle, 592

So.2d 1110, 1112 (Fla. 4th DCA 1991).

In December 1988, Sun-lsland commenced this action

against FSLIC, seeking foreclosure of its claim of lien,

asserting that it advanced funds exceeding $1.9 million for

Fed. Deposit Ins. Corp., 760 F.Supp. 1558, 1560-1562

(S.D. Fla. 1991).

A-113

improvements to the property pursuant to the settlement

agreement (R.1, 708). Sun-lsland also asserted claims for

breach of contract, fraud in the inducement, quantum meruit,

and assumption (R.9-13). All of Sun-lsland’s claims were

predicated on allegations that FSLIC fraudulently induced its

execution of the settlement agreement and breached the

settlement agreement (R.1-13).

FDIC moved for summary judgment on the grounds

that appellants’ claims were barred pursuant to the doctrines

of res judicata and collateral estoppel by virtue of the

judgment entered in the guaranty case (R. 367-372). The trial

court granted FDIC’s motion for summary judgment (R.524-

528). Appellants moved for rehearing and/or reconsideration,

which motion was denied by Order dated December 17, 1991

(R.540-541). Appellants appeal both orders (R.542).

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

There is no genuine issue regarding the fact that

appellants litigated the claims and issues raised in the case

sub judice in the guaranty action. Consequently, the trial

A-114

court properly determined, as a matter of law, that appellants’

claims were barred by the doctrines of estoppel by judgment

and res judicata. The issues in the guaranty action and the

issues in this case both concern alleged breaches of the

settlement agreement, and were disposed of in the guaranty

action. Thus, estoppel by judgment precludes appellants from

litigating the same issues again in this proceeding. Similarly,

the judgment entered in the guaranty action was a judgment

on the merits as to the claims asserted herein,a nd therefore

concludes all issues which were raised or which could have

been raised in the guaranty action.

In this action, appellants seek compensation for

approximately $2 million of improvements they purportedly

made to the property pursuant to the settlement agreement.

However, the settlement agreement explicitly required

Acquisition to construct $2 million of improvements to the

property at its sole cost and expense. Thus, FDIC is entitled

to judgment, as a matter of law, pursuant to the express

rovisions of the settlement agreement.

A-115

ARGUMENT

I. Appellants’ Claims are Barred by the Doctrines

of Estoppel by Judgment and Res Judicata as

a Matter of Law.

As established above, there is no genuine issue as to

any fact material to these proceedings. Significantly, as it

does here, in the trial court FDIC relied solely on facts alleged

in appellants’ pleadings to establish the basis for summary

judgment. Based on appellants’ own aliegations, which were

necessarily deemed true, the trial court properly ruled as a

matter of law that appellants’ claims were barred by the

doctrines of estoppel by judgment and res judicata.

A. Estoppel by Judgment

This is not the first or even the second time this Court

has had the opportunity to visit the claims appellants assert

herein. This Court is now reviewing for the third time the very

same arguments appellants made in the cases styled Fed.

Deposit Ins. Corp. v. Hemmerle and Sun-lsland Realty, inc..,

592 So.2d 1110 (Fla. 4th DCA 1991), and Hemmerle v. Fed.

A-116

Deposit Ins. Corp., 556 So.2d 457 (Fla. 4th DCA 1990).°

Because appellants’ claims herein were litigated in the

guaranty action, they are barred pursuant to the doctrine of

estoppel by judgment as a matter of law.

[Estoppel by judgment] applies where two

Suits involve different causes of action .

(and) precludes relitigation of those issues

which were actually litigated and determined in

the prior action ... where two suits are based

on a common question, estoppel by judgment

will prevent a defendant from maintaining the

later one.

Wise _v. Tucker, 299 So.2d 500, 502 (Fla. 4th DCA 1981)

(citations omitted) (cited with approval in Fed. Deposit Ins.

Corp. v. Hemmerle, 592 So. 2d at 1117).

Since the issues in the guaranty action and this case

ultimately concern execution and performance of the

settlement, and since such claims were disposed of in the

Indeed, this is actually Hemmerle’s fourth bite at this

apple, and Sun-lsland’s third bite. See, Acquisition

Corp. of America, Sun-lsland Realty, Inc. and Kenneth

Hemmerle v. Fed. Deposit Insurance Corp., 760

F.Supp. 1558 (S.D. Fla. 1991) (A.4). In each of the

cited cases, Sun-lsland and/or Hemmerle

unsuccessfully argued that they were fraudulently

induced to execute the settlement agreement and that

FSLIC breached the settlement agreement.

A-117

guaranty action, estoppel by judgment precludes

appellants from relitigating the same issues in this case.

Wise: Hemmerle.

Sun-lstand’s own pleadings provide the best evidence

that the issues in both cases are identical. In the guaranty

action, Sun-lsland alleged (i) that pursuant to the settlement

agreement, it “agreed to continue construction on the

mortgaged property to the extent that said property would be

improved in the amount of $2 million", (ii) that it was

Appellants’ argument that the causes of action herein

differ from those asserted in the guaranty action is

immaterial. Estoppel by judgment applies "whether

the causes of action in the two suits be identical or

different." McGregor v. Provident Tr. Co., 162 So.323,

327 (Fla. 1935).

Appellants argue that Hemmerle, d/b/a Hemmerle

Construction Co., (a) has never been a party to any

litigation with FDIC or its predecessors and (b) is,

therefore, not bound by earlier judgments (Initial Brief,

p.13, 18). As this Court held in Fed Deposit Ins.

Corp. v. Hemmerle, 592 So.2d at 1117, “a ruling

adverse to a controlling person of a corporation

precludes the corporation from litigating that claim in

a subsequent action." This rationale certainly applies

to a sole proprietorship such as Hemmerle, d/b/a

Hemmerle Construction Co.

A-118

damaged because “Sun-lsland and others have paid out to

improve the mortgaged property an amount in excess of $1.9

million", and (iii) Sun-lsland-requested damages "in an

amount exceeding $1.9 million" (R.445). In this case, Sun-

Island alleged (i) that pursuant to the settlement agreement

it advanced $1,886,560 for improvements to the property

(R.5), (ii) that it was owed $1,886,560 for work performed

subsequent to and pursuant to the settlement agreement

(R.5,7-8,9,10,12), and (iii) it requested “damages in an

amount exceeding $1,886,560" for work performed pursuant

to the settlement agreement and as a result of FSLIC’s

alleged fraudulent inducement thereof (R.8,10,11,12).

Appellants’ pleadings in the guaranty action and the

instant case unequivocally establish that the ultimate factual

and legal issues for determination in both cases are identical:

matters surrounding execution, performance and/or breach

of the settlement agreement. Consequently, appellants are

precluded from relitigating those issues in this case. New

River Yachting Center v. Bacchiocchi, 407 So.2d 607, 609

A-119

(Fla. 4th DCA 1981) review denied, 415 So.2d 1360 (Fla.

1982) ("Once a party has had an opportunity to litigate a

matter in a court of competent jurisdiction, he should not be

permitted to litigate it again to the harassment and vexation

of his opponent.")

Appellants’ argument that they have never litigated the

claims raised in this case is absurd. Appellants have litigated

these claims over and over again to the harassment and

vexation of FDIC. E.q., Fed. Deposit Ins. Corp. v. Hemmerle,

592 So.2d 1110 (Fla. 4th DCA 1991); Hemmerle v. Fed.

Deposit Ins. Corp., 556 So.2d 457 (Fla. 4th DCA 1990);

Acquisition Corp. of America, Sun-lsiand Realty, Inc. and

Kenneth Hemmerle v. Fed. Deposit Ins. Corp., 760 F.Supp.

558 (S.D. Fla. 1991).

B. Res Judicata

Appellants’ claims are likewise barred as a matter of

law pursuant to the doctrine of res judicata. It is well

established that "[uJunder the doctrine of res judicata, a final

judgment or decree on the merits, by a court of competent

A-120

jurisdiction, constitutes an absolute bar to a subsequent suit

on the same cause of action, and concludes all issues which

were raised or could have been raised in the action." Wise

v. Tucker, 399 So.2d 500, 502 (Fla. 4th DCA 1981) (citations

omitted).

In their brief, appellants argue that the guaranty action

was not decided on the merits (Initial Brief at pp.15-16). This

could not be further from the truth. Appellants’ claims were

submitted to a jury, judgment was entered on the verdicts,

and plenary review in this Court followed. Fed. Deposit Ins.

Corp. v. Hemmerle, 592 So.2d 1110 (Fla. 4th DCA 1991).’

Appellants erroneously maintain that since they did

not assert a mechanic's lien claim in the guaranty action, that

decision is not res judicata as to their mechanic's lien claim.

The decision in the guaranty action is res judicata as to all

claims raised or which could have been raised therein. Wise

v. Tucker, 399 So.2d at 502. Appellants’ unsupported

7

That this Court reversed the judgment in favor of

appellants does not change the fact that appellants’

claims were fully and finally litigated on the merits.

A-121

conclusion that the mechanic’s lien claim could not be

brought in the guaranty action (see pp. 13-14 of Initial Brief)

is specious. Obviously, the mechanic's lien claim is based

on the settlement agreement which was the subject of the

guaranty action and thus was a proper counterclaim therein.

See, Fla.R.Civ.P. 1.170. Moreover, the record in the guaranty

action (of which this Court can take judicial notice, e.g.

Lagarde v. Outdoor Resorts of America, Inc., 428 So.2d 669

(Fla. 2d DCA 1982) establishes that appellants never

attempted to assert the mechanic's lien claim, despite the

pendency of the guaranty action at the time of

commencement of the case sub judice.

Since Sun-lsland and Hemmerle fully litigated their

claims against FDIC in the guaranty action, res judicata bars

their assertion of those same claims and concludes all issues

which were raised or which could have been raised with

respect to fraudulent inducement and breach of the

settlement agreement. Wise v. Tucker, 399 So.2d at 502; see

also, Fed. Deposit Ins. Corp. v. Hemmerle, 592 So.2d 1110,

A-122

1115 (‘the doctrine of res judicata barred [appellants’]

affirmative defenses and _ counterclaims [fraudulent

inducement and breach of the settlement agreement] as a

matter of law’).

Appellants have failed to identify either (i) a single

distinction between their earlier claims in the guaranty action

and the claims raised herein or (ii) any genuine issue of fact

regarding the resolution on the merits of their claims.

Consequently, the trial court properly determined as a matter

of law that appellants’ claims in this action were barred

pursuant to the doctrines of estoppel by judgment and res

judicata.

i. FDIC is Entitled To Judgment as a

Matter of Law Pursuant to the

Settlement Agreement

The settlement agreement explicitly obligated

Acquisition to construct at least $2 million of improvements to

the property at “its sole cost and expense" (A.1, pp. 12-13).

Obviously, any claim arising from such improvements lies

against Acquisition, not FDIC. Consequently, FDIC is entitled

A-123

to judgment as a matter of law on this basis alone.

Although this issue was not addressed by the trial

court, this Court has recognized that "even when based on

erroneous reasoning, a conclusion or decision of a trial court

will generally be affirmed if the evidence or an alternative

theory supports it." Parker v. Gordon, 442 So.2d 273, 273

(Fla. 4th DCA 1983).

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, appellee respectfully requests that

this Court affirm the judgment of the trial court in all respects.

Respectfully submitted,

SQUIRES, SANDERS & DEMPSEY

320 Royal Poinciana Plaza

Palm Beach, Florida 33480

(407) 832-6000

By:

Suzanne H. Youmans

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

| HEREBY CERTIFY that a true and correct copy of the

foregoing document was mailed this day of

April, 1992, to Kenneth Hemmerle, 808 Northeast Third

Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33304: and Richard

A-124

Doggett, Esquire, 808 Northeast Third Avenue, Fort

Lauderdale, Florida 33304

Suzanne H. Youmans

A-125

APPENDIX J

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL

FOR THE FOURTH DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

CASE NO. 92-0063

L. T. CASE NO. 88-10252 (AN)

SUN-ISLAND REALTY, INC.,

and KENNETH HEMMERLE,

Appellants,

S-

FEDERAL DEPOSIT INSURANCE

CORPORATION, etc.,

Appellee.

REPLY BRIEF OF APPELLANTS

On Appeal from the Seventeenth Judicial Circuit Court

in and for Broward County, Florida

KENNETH HEMMERLE, Appellant RICHARD G. DOGGETT,

808 Northeast Third Avenue Counsel for SUN-ISLAND

Fort Lauderdale, Fl. 33304 808 Northeast 3rd Ave.

Telephone: (305) 467-6801 Ft Lauderdale, FL 33304

(305) 767-9055

A-126

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

CITATIONS OF AUTHORITY ........ 4

PROT st le a te ee

STATEMENT OF THE FACTS AND OF THE CASE . 1-2

RESPONSE TO SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .. . 2-3

RESPONSE TOARGUMENT ......... 37

CRG. a ee ate eee OF

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE... . 8

CITATIONS OF AUTHORITY

PAGE

Hittel v. Rosenhagen

492 So. 2d 1086 (Fla. 4th DCA 1986) ..... 4

Krug v. Meros

468 So. 2d 299 (Fla. 2d DCA 1985) pir eeoe scm

Nail v. Rinker Materials Corp.

528 So. 2d 450, rev den 537 So. 2d 569 (Fla. 4th DCA 1988)

A-127

4

Pipkin v. Wiggins

526 So. 2d 1002 (Fla.3dDCA1988) ..... 4

Quality Industries, Inv.v. Keys. . . . 5

Rutenberg-Sarasota, Ltd. v. Eisner

509 So. 2d 398 (Fla. 2d DCA 1987) Le the ee ae

Wise v. Tucker 399 So. 2d 500 (Fla. 4th DCA 1981).... 4

PREFACE

Appellants’ SUN-ISLAND REALTY, INC., and KENNETH

HEMMERLE will be designated as Appellants.

Appellee will be designated as Appellee.

All emphases appearing will be that of the author

unless otherwise noted.

STATEMENT OF THE FACTS AND OF THE CASE

Appellants vehemently disagrees with several assertions

made in Appellee’s Statement of the Facts and of the Case.

The Appellee alleges that in 1983, Acquisition Corp. of

America ("Acquisition"), a corporation controlled by

Hemmerle, executed and delivered to FDIC’S predecessor,

A-128

Sunrise Savings and Loan Association of Florida, a

promissory note and mortgage on certain real property in

Palm Beach County, Florida (the "property"). To correct

this assertion, it is clear that Hemmerle never

controlled Acquisition.

Next, Appellee contends that Hemmerle caused

Acquisition to file a Chapter 11 bankruptcy petition on

December 30, 1987. Again,a misrepresentation by the

Appellee.

Appellee’s Claim that Appellants’ claims were predicated

on allegations that the FSLIC fraudulently induced

execution of the settlement agreement is another untrue

statement. It is clear that the FSLIC did in fact fraudulently

induce the execution of the settlement agreement, but it is not

true that the claims for lien foreclosure is predicated on such

allegations.

Appellee states that it moved for Summary Judgment on the

grounds that Appellants’ claims were barred pursuant to the

doctrines of res judicata and collateral estoppel by virtue of

A-129

the judgment entered on the guaranty case. Appellee fails to

show that it previously moved for summary judgment which

was denied, and that no new proof were presented on its

second motion for summary sbaiainh Appellee fails to

inform the Court that the doctrines of res judicata and

collateral estoppel were available at the time of its first motion

for summary judgment since the hearing on this motion was

well after the final judgment in Case No. 88-818 (AA).

Appellants do not dispute the remainder of Appellee’s

Statement of the Facts and of the Case.

RESPONSE TO SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

Appellee claims that there is no genuine issue

regarding the fact that Appellants litigated the claims and

issues raised in the case sub judice in the guaranty action. It

appears that this argument is nothing more than a far

reaching attempt to avoid the real issues sought to be

reviewed by this Court. It is clear that the judgment entered

in the-quaranty action was not a judgment on the claims

asserted in this action. Simply because the amount of

A-130

compensation in both action appear to be similar amounts,

the Cause of action is not similar.

A Lien foreclosure action differs in every respect to that of

a guaranty action or a breach of contract action. Clearly a lien

may be had for the performance of labor or services

constituting an improvement or part of an improvement done

on land or other real property for its permanent benefit. The

action for guaranty and breach of contract in no way relates

to the action for mechanic lien foreclosure. And even if the

such claims did relate, it is clear that Hemmerle Construction

Co., the contractor for the improvements, was never a part of

any other action between the Appellee in this cause in which

to support the doctrines of res judicata or estoppel by

judgment.

RESPONSE TO ARGUMENT

|. Are Appellants’ Claims Barred by the Doctrines of Estoppel

by Judgment and Res Judicata as a Matter of Law.

Appellants suggest that their claims are not barred by the

doctrines of estoppel by judgment or res judicata for the

A-131

following reasons. It is clear that a genuine issue of material

fact existed as to whether or not the doctrines above

mentioned applied to the mechanic lien foreclosure action.

A. Estoppel by Judgment

lt appears that the crux of Appellee’s argument in support of

Estoppel by Judgment as set fort in it’s argument appears on

page 6, and states that this is not the first or even the second

time this Court has had the opportunity to visit the claims

appellants assert herein. In support of this allegations,

Appellee cites prior appeals made to this Court between the

same parties. However, a review of the prior appeals will

clearly show that none of such appeals even touched on a

claim of Mechanic Lien Foreclosure. What Appellee is

suggesting, is that since some of the parties to this action

has had appeals before this Court, they are estopped from

further appeals. Appellee suggest that this Court rule that

Article 1, Section 22 (Access to the Courts) of Florida

Constitution should not be afforded to the Appellant, and that

the Appellee should have special privileges in this Court in

A-132

which to prevent any type of redress by Appeilants.

Appellee argues that Appellants’ claims herein were litigated

in the guaranty action, and that they are barred pursuant to

the doctrine of estoppel by judgment as a matter of law. In

support of this contention, Appellee cites Wise v. Tucker, 399

So. 2d 500, 502 (Fla. 4th DCA 1981). A review of the Tucker

case will clearly show that it does not apply to this case. This

court held in Nail v. Rinker Materials Corp., 528 So. 2d 450,

review denied 537 So 2d 569 (Fla. 4th DCA 1988) that

judgment for the employer in a malicious prosecution action

did not bar false arrest and false imprisonment action on res

judicata or collateral estoppel grounds; issues were not the

same, even thcugh essential facts alleged in both action were

the same. By this holding, it is clear that the issues in the lien

foreclosure action were not the same as the guaranty or

breach of contract action, and as such, Wise v. Tucker

cannot apply to support a summary judgment where the

issues are different.

B. Res Judicata

A-133

It is clear that there has never been adjudication of the

Mechanic Lien foreclosure in any action whatsoever, and is

supported by this Court’s holding in Hittel v. Rosenhagen 492

So. 2d 1086 (Fla. 4th DCA 1986). In Pipkin v. Wiggins 526 So.

2d 1002 (Fla. 3d DCA 1988) the Court stated that Collateral

Estoppel did not bar relitigation of a jurisdictional issue

where jurisdiction in a later action was based on acts of

solicitation within the state which were not present or

pertinent in the previous jurisdictional determination. Although

jurisdictional determination is not before this Court, the

findings in Pipkin applies to that case sub judice, since the

lien foreclosure was

never present in any other action. In Krug v. Meros 468 So.

2d 299 (Fla. 2d DCA 1985) it was heid that the doctrine of

estoppel by judgment does not apply when unanticipated

subsequent events create a new legal situation.

Under Florida Statutes, Section 713.30 provides that the

Mechanics’ Lien Law is cumulative to other existing remedies.

In Quality Industries, Inc. v. Keys it was held that tendency of

A-134

an action to enforce a contractor’s lien against property did

not preclude the contractor’s independent contract action

against the property owners to recover the outstanding

balance on the contract to improve property. As in the case

at bar, the contract was between Acquisition and Hemmerle

Construction Co. for certain improvements required and

demanded by the FSLIC in the settlement agreement which

Hemmerle Construction Co. was not a part of. For the FSLIC

or its

successor in interest to now disclaim any obligation for

payment on property owned by them for the improvement

made by the contractor, is in direct violation of the statutory

mechanic lien law, and such violation would effectively permit

an act of larceny of the part of the Appellee.

Since it is clear that neither Sun-isiland or Hemmerle

Construction Co. ever litigated their claims for mechanic lien

foreclosure, neither res judicata or estoppel by judqment

would apply. Consequently, the lower court erred in granting

summary judqment on the basis of the doctrines of estoppel

A-135

by judgment and res judicata.

ll. The FDIC is not Entitled to Judgment as a Matter of Law

Pursuant to the Settlement Agreement.

Although Appellee’s statement that the settlement agreement

explicitly obligated Acquisition to construct at least $2 million

of improvement to the property at "its sole cost and expense",

it is not true that any claim arising from such improvements

lies against Acquisition and not the FDIC.

lt is clear that the owners of the property upon which the

Mechanic Lien attached, are the parties obligated for the

payment of such improvements. See 1987 amendments to

the Mechanics’ Lien statute. 62 Fla. BU #3 21. Section 713(3),

Florida Statutes, provides that persons who are in privity with

an owner and who perform labor or services or furnish

materials constituting an improvement or part thereof shall

have rights to a lien on real property as provided in Section

713.05. In Rutenberg-Sarasota, Ltd. v Eisner, 509 So. 2d 398

(Fla. 2d DCA 1987) the court held that subcontractor’s

employees, whose employment agreement was a properly

A-136

authorized contract with subcontractor and whose

agreement was based upon subcontractor’s direct contract

with owner and developer for improvement of real property,

had standing to utilize mechanics’ lien law. It is clear by

Appellee’s own admission, that the settlement agreement

explicitly obligated Acquisition to construct at least $2 million

of improvements to the property, and is it further clear that

the than owned real property by Acquisition is now owned by

the FDIC pursuant to that settlement agreement, and as such

Acquisition’s obligation for the improvement to the property

in now the obligation of the FDIC as the contracting party to

the settiement agreement given rise for improvements made.

The FSLIC was in fact the demanding party for such

improvements which caused the mechanic lien. Appellee’s

argument that any claim arising ‘rom such improvement l

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.