Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Lips v. Commandant, United States Disciplinary Barracks

Supreme Court brief1994

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

93-503 ~~ =

No. 93-

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1993

WILLIAM M. LIPs,

Petitioner.

Vv.

COMMANDANT, UNITED STATES

DISCIPLINARY BARRACKS.

Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Tenth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JAN HORBALY

5310 Renaissance Court

Burke, Virginia 22015

(703) 978-7909

Date: September 28, 1993 Counsel for Petitioner

WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co.. INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON. D.C. 20001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

|. Whether an Article Ili judge—who grants a_peti-

tion for a writ of habeas corpus on finding that a service-

man’s constitutional rights were violated at his court-

martial—erred in considering the writ because a military

court “fully and fairly” considered the constitutional is-

sues and found no error.

A. Whether an Article II] judge—who grar.s a ser-

viceman’s petition for habeas corpus on finding that the

prosecutor's extensive references to the serviceman’s post-

arrest silence during cross-examination and closing argu-

ment constituted plain error—erred in granting the writ

because a military court “fully and fairly considered” the

constitutional issue and found no error.

B. Whether an Article III judge—who considers a

serviceman’s petition for habeas corpus alleging he was

denied due process of law at his trial because specific in-

tent evidence, that is, evidence of motive, intent, plan,

and design, was improperly admitted to prove general

intent crimes—erred in considering the writ because a

military court “fully and fairly considered” the constitu-

tional issue and concluded that specific intent evidence

was admissible to prove general intent crimes.

(i)

il

LIST OF PARTIES

Plaintiff-Petittoner ts Wilham M. Lips. Defendant-

Respondent is the Commandant, United States Disciph

vary Barracks.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ... ILD, PR ; i

LIST OF PARTIBS ............... aes il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .............. aes a iv

OPINIONS BELOW ........... ME a ee 1

JURISDICTION .............. = ag SA = core 2

STATUTES INVOLVED . . 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ' . pd 3

A. Facts 3

B. General Court-Martial HERNIA RRS 5

C. United States Air Force Court of Military Re-

view err toe Et Bs a anes oe 9

D. United States Court of Military Appeals 11

E. United States District Court .. 11

F. Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit 14

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .................. 18

I. CONFLICT IN THE CIRCUITS ON THE

SCOPE OF FEDERAL COURT REVIEW OF

MILITARY HABEAS CORPUS PETITIONS... 18

Il. ELIMINATION OF FEDERAL COURT RE-

VIEW OF MILITARY COURT DECISIONS IN

I ona cevcttannbonecenneees 22

Ill. THE MILITARY COURT APPLIED THE

WRONG LEGAL STANDARDS IN REVIEW-

ING THE CONSTITUTIONAL ISSUES PRE-

SENTED BY LIPS IN THE APPEAL OF HIS

COURT-MARTIAL CONVICTION _........ 25

A. Post-Arrest Silence Issue ..... ee MAE SE SEROUS 26

B. Specific Intent Evidence Used to Prove Gen-

eral Intent Offenses 28

CONCLUSION .... 0 OS a 2 Se A ER As ee ee 30

(iil)

ee ee

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Allen v. VanCantfort, 436 F.2d 625 (1st Cir.)

cert. denied, 402 U.S. 1008 (1971) .............0000...... 21

Avrech v. Secretary of the Navy, 520 F.2d 100

(DCC 1975), cert. denied, 425 U.S. 970 (1976). 21

Burns v. Wilson, 346 U.S. 137, rehearing denied,

ey Ca ee RE ee ca ee 19, 20

Calley v. Callaway, 519 F.2d 184 (5th Cir. 1975),

cert. denied sub nom., Calley v. Hoffman, 425

oe Me Ge | nar Nanas NRE oe Te ee 20, 21

Daigle v. Warner, 348 F. Supp. 1074 (D.C. Hawaii

1972), rev’d on other grounds, 490 F.2d 358

| IARI ARR AA SOO ORR TO 21

a hig v. Madigan, 223 F.2d 906 (7th Cir.

| EISEN Fo AP SADIE RRS S31 SE nc E SO 21

Pr v. Zelez, 917 F.2d 1250 (10th Cir. 1990)... 12, 15,

23, 27

Doyle v. Ohio, 426 U.S. 610 (1976) 0.00... 10, 27

Hatheway v. Secretary of the Army, 641 F.2d 1376

(9th Cir.), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 864 (1981). 21

Jackson v. Taylor, 353 U.S. 569 (1957) —....00 0. 21

Kauffman v. Secretary of the Air Force, 415 F.2d

991 (DCC 1969), cert. denied, 396 U.S. 1013

GRASSI Rae nce anette) 2) en OC ND 21

Kasey v. Goodwyn, 291 F.2d 174 (4th Cir. 1961),

cert. denied, 368 U.S. 959 (1962) _....000..0000000... 21

Lips v. Commandant, United States Disciplinary

Barracks, F. Supp. (D.C.K. #88-3396,

I Wt Ie po cel dese ranetans a etbenceesaarnutekon enue , pS

Lips v. Commandant, United States Disciplinary

Barracks, F.2d (10th Cir. #92-3359,

BR ti I oactrincolanietecnuiiecsniassdticadshtauinmeata en oa: 2, oe

Lovely v. United States, 169 F.2d 386 (4th Cir.

1948), cert. denied, 338% U.S. 834 (1949) 28, 29

Morgan v. Hall, 569 F.2d 1161 (1st Cir.), cert.

denied, 437 U.S. 910 (1978) .........0000--e.. 6

Schlesinger v. Councilman, 420 U.S. 738 (1975) . - 20

Shaw v. United States, 357 F.2d 949 (Ct. Cl.

| ARRAS RAPA E SRE Cee Na UN aR ORD 22

United States v. Arnold, 425 F.2d 204 (10th Cir.

PRI Ne Pe ON ELAR 6 SMA Ae ALN ORL SOA RSE a 26

Vv

TABLE OF AU” ~RITIES—Continued

Page

United States v. Biswell, 700 F.2d 1810 (10th Cir.

1983) ...... a a eR aes a ote a tea, 9

United States v. Hic kson, 22 M.J. 146 (CMA

BEDIUED iccscscosecvedindnsdstinnhientigaebicbesinsaniaeiuanesdicatiaamemmmanded 29

United States v. Lips, 20 M.J. 679 (AFCMR

: : IRIS Scents nad earn unarey taN Womr a ennet 1,10, 11

United States v. Lips, 24 M.J. 45 (CMA 1987) ........ 1

United States v. Lips, 24 M.J. 203 (CMA 1987)... 1

United States v. Nolan, 416 F.2d 588 (10th Cir.),

cert. denied sub nom. Nolan v. United States

District Court for the District of Kansas, 396

6 A: Bg | SRR nee eit pr earner 26

United States v. Soundingsides, 820 F.2d 1232

(10th Cir.) pet. for rehearing denied, 825 F.2d

BO TE Ps ssieccstoitinecsninaeeaieeaaaneen 28

Watson v. McCotter, 782 F.2d 143 (10th Cir.),

cert. denied, 476 U.S. 1184 (1986) ..................... 17

Weiss v. United States, 36 M.J. 224 (CMA 1992),

cert. denied, U.S. —— (No. 92-1452, May

Statutes

Rules

A) Rr eeecne er oO eMeu eR erste aR Me Lee 18

White v. Humphrey, 212 F.2d 503 (3rd Cir.), cert.

denied, 348 U.S. 900 (19G4) .........2ccecccccene-cecesoressacese 21

Article 120(a), U.C.M.J. 10 U.S.C. Sec. 920(a)

CRIS soicsaccaciscrusnssoiasiavinaieaebadcatamena ae ae

Article 125, /U .C.M.J., 10 U.S.C. Sec. 925 (1988)... 1,5

Article 128, U.C.M.J., 10 U.S.C. Sec. 928 (1988) ... 1.3

28 U.S.C. Sec. ET CI nintkicsid eee 2. i3

OR UIE Bae, BETES: CRIED cctesccnsncinccscaseneeen aS 2

ae Te A icascccecesvcécbeeensdaubenndianiudagentieaeamandas 11

ee Te I ocisccecenccocszesenstndetasedliabeeielasieaanieenc 11

TE Oe NE BI 5 oo. nconcsseccedcsonanuccoremaacenedettenmeemes 11

WE De ee BOD nok cies cca ssocspoamniissinsecontntnamaienen 11

WEE Oe Ge, BEG OF Don cvicctecsnercneccnseceaemnensnmannneens 6

Articles and Books

J. BisHop, JR., JUSTICE UNDER FIRE: A STUDY OF

MILITARY LAW (New York: Charterhouse, Inc.,

GIG) cccccnsnascetecsnienincctntiimnntclaiduinisianimmmnanmetinants 19, 20

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Bishop, Jr., Civilian Judges and Military Justice:

Collateral Review of Court-Martial Convictions,

81 CoLUM. L. REV. 40 (1961) .................:.0000000......

Burris & Jones, Civilian Courts and Courts-Martial

—the Civilian Attorney's Perspective, 10 AM.

CRIM. L. REV. 189 (1971) ................ aaa eneee ina:

Karlan & Pepper, The Scope of Military Justice,

43 J. CRIM. L. CRIMINOLOGY & POLICE SclI. 285

DUMIMINIDE sescosconsenvvedéeumnausnacecesausoesianit emit ine at aree

Katz & Nelson, The Need for Clarification in Mili-

tary Habeas Corpus, 27 OHIo St. LJ. 193

DIY acinisindasuucebavvesiieanatiateteada te

Rich, Federal Court Scope of Review Over Military

Habeas Corpus Cases, 6 MEMPHIS ST. U.L. REv.

BF EIR shvinrivsieetsceccciemenaudaien ee

Warren, The Bill of Rights and the Military, 37

Peet eeleea OTs SON CHBGE ® occ.

Weckstein, Federal Court Review of Courts-Martial

Proceedings: A Delicate Balance of Individual

Rights and Military Responsibilities, 54 Min. L.

De B COED vvcesevctivscncenennicesiineacedticcinaa

Page

20

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

William M. Lips petitions for a writ of certiorari to

review an opinion and judgment of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit entered on July 1,

1993. The United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth

Circuit reversed the opinion and judgment of the United

States District Court for the District of Kansas which

(1) granted William M. Lips’ petition for a writ of

habeas corpus and (2) ordered that William M. Lips be

retried within 120 days.

OPINIONS BELOW

On September 1, 1984, at Hahn Air Force Base, Ger-

many, William M. Lips was convicted by a general court-

martial of rape in violation of Article 120, Uniform Code

of Military Justice (UCMJ), 10 U.S.C. Sec. 920 (1988);

forcible sodomy in violation of Article 125, Uniform

Code of Military Justice, 10 U.S.C. Sec. 925 (1988);

and aggravated assault (three counts) in violation of

Article 128, Uniform Code of Military Justice, 10 U.S.C.

Sec. 920 (1988). He was sentenced to a dishonorable

discharge, 20 years’ confinement, total forfeiture of pay

and allowances, and reduction to the rank of airman

basic. On direct appeal, the United States Air Force

Court of Military Review affirmed Lips’ conviction and

sentence on May 2, 1986. United States v. Lips, 22 M.J.

679 (AFCMR 1986). The decision appears in the Ap-

pendix at 21a. The United States Court of Military Ap-

peals denied discretionary review on March 2, 1987.

United States v. Lips, 24 M.J. 45 (CMA 1987). The

denial appears in the Appendix at 20a. On April 17,

1987, the United States Court of Military Appeals also

denied William M. Lips’ petition for reconsideration.

United States v. Lips, 24 M.J. 203 (1987). The denial

appears in the Appendix at 19a. On August 13, 1987.

the Judge Advocate General of the Air Force denied

William M. Lips’ motion for a new trial.

On October 27, 1988, while confined in the United

States Disciplinary Barracks at Leavenworth, Kansas,

2

William M. Lips filed a petition for a writ of habeas

corpus under 28 U.S.C. Sec. 2241 (1988) in the United

States District Court for the District of Kansas naming

the Commandant of the Disciplinary Barracks as_ the

defendant. In his petition for habeas corpus, William M.

Lips alleged (1) that the military judge improperly ad-

mitted certain sexually explicit materials at trial; and

(2) that the prosecutor violated his right against self-

incrimination by referring to his post-arrest silence dur-

ing cross-examination and in closing argument.

On July 31, 1992 the United States District Court for

‘the District of Kansas granted William M. Lips’ petition

for habeas corpus holding that the prosecutor’s repeated

comments on William M. Lips’ post-arrest silence resulted

in a violation of his constitutional rights under the Fifth

Amendment of the Constitution. Lips v. Commandant,

United States Disciplinary Barracks, F. Supp.

(D.C.K. # 88-3396, July 31, 1992). The decision appears

in the Appendix at 9a.

On July 1, 1993, the Circuit Court of Appeals for the

Tenth Circuit reversed holding that the District Court

erred in granting habeas corpus relief on the grounds that

the petitioner’s constitutional rights were violated by im-

proper prosecutorial cross-examination and closing argu-

ment. Lips v. Commandant, United States Disciplinary

Barracks. F.2d (10th Cir. #92-3359, July 1,

1993). The decision appears in the Appendix at la.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Tenth Circuit was entered on July 1, 1993. Jur-

isdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. Sec.

1254(1) (1988).

STATUTES INVOLVED

Article 120(a.), U.-C.M.J., 10 U.S.C. Sec. 920(a) (1988)

Rape and Carnal Knowledge

(a) Any person subject to this chapter who commits

an act of sexual intercourse with a female not his wife,

ee

3

by force and without her consent, is guilty of rape and

shall be punished by death or such other punishment as a

court-martial may direct.

Article 125, U.C.M.J., 10 U.S.C. Sec. 925 (1988)

Sodomy

(a) Any person subject to this chapter who engages in

unnatural carnal copulation with another person of the

same or opposite sex or with an animal is guilty of

sodomy. Penetration, however slight, is sufficient to com-

plete the offense.

(b) Any person found guilty of sodomy shall be pun-

ished as a court-martial may direct.

Article 128, U.C.M.J., 10 U.S.C. Sec. 928 (1988)

Assault

(a) Any person subject to this chapter who attempts

or offers with unlawful force or violence to do bodily

harm to another person, whether or not the attempt or

offer is consummated, is guilty of assault and shall be

punished as a court-martial may direct.

(b) Any person subject to this chapter who—

(1) commits an assault with a dangerous weapon or

other means of force likely to produce death or

grievous bodily harm; or

(2) commits an assault and intentionally inflicts

grievous bodily harm with or without a weapon;

is guilty of aggravated assault and shall be punished as

a court-martial may direct.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Facts

In June 1984, William M. Lips was a Senior Master

Sergeant (E-8) serving on active duty in the United

States Air Force and was assigned to the S0Oth Civil

Engineering Squadron at Hahn Air Base, Federal Re-

public of Germany. He had been stationed at Hahn Air

Base for over eight years and he and his wife lived off

post.

ee ee

A

of

On June 2, 1984, William M. Lins talked with Cynthia

Carite at the Foodland grocery store on post where she

was employed. In conversation he invited her to his home

for dinner on June 4, 1984. He also mentioned to Cyn-

thia Carite that his wife was out of the country at a

child care seminar in Texas. William M. Lips and

Cynthia Carite had known each other for some time and

she and her husband had been to Lips’ home and had

socialized with him and his wife previously.

At 5:30 on the evening of June 4, 1984, Cynthia

Carite arrived at William M. Lips’ home. Upon entering

the house, she removed her coat, took off her shoes, and

stood in front of the fireplace. William M. Lips testified

that he offered her a drink and that they watched part

of a Clint Eastwood movie he was preparing to tape.

He also showed her a .357 magnum pistol he had_ bor-

rowed from a friend which is like the one used in the

movie. In the kitchen Cynthia Carite picked up a copy

of Penthouse Variations and began to page through it.

She read aloud from one of the articles. She giggled and

they began to talk about “kinky sex.” (R. 897).

While dinner was cooking they returned to the living

room. Cynthia Carite complained about her low-paying

job. Lips commented jokingly, “I know where you can

get a part-time job that pays a hundred dollars an hour

. . Pll take the first twenty minutes.” Cynthia Carite

laughed and said, “I’ve been told !'m sitting on a gold

mine.” (R. 899-900). Cynthia Carite then stood up.

undressed herself, and walked over to William M. Lips.

William M. Lips testified that it was Cynthia Carite who

initiated this activity and the sexual relations that fol-

lowed. They discussed “kinky sex” further and partici-

pated in some bondage sex.

They dressed and then returned to preparing dinner.

While the steaks were cooking in the fireplace she fixed

herself another drink and teased him about tying lousy

knots. After dinner. they watched a film for twenty or

thirty minutes and then went upstairs where they engaged

in further sexual activity. When they finished, Cynthia

5

Carite asked William M. Lips if he had enjoyed himself

and if he knew of anyone who was “a senior NCO. . .

mature . . . not young, [who] had money, [and] who

would be willing to pay for this?” The clear inference is

that she was willing to prostitute herself. William M.

Lips said he would inquire.

Before leaving at about 9:30, Cynthia Carite kissed

William M. Lips and said, “How abe ‘t something for the

gold mine . . . to keep it open?” William M. Lips gave

her $60 in cash. She responded that she thought she

was worth $200, or his wife would find out. William M.

Lips said he would meet her outside the Base Exchange

at 10:00 the next morning with the rest of the money.

Cynthia Carite threatened to ruin his career if he didn’t

and she warned him not to cross her. The next day at

10:00 he looked for her at the Base Exchange and later

at Foodland, but he could not find her. He returned to

work and was informed that Air Force Office of Special

Investigation (OSI) agents were looking for him.

Cynthia Carite’s story is considerably different. Ac-

cording to Cynthia Carite, soon after she arrived, William

M. Lips. threatened her with a knife, pointed a gun at

her, and forced her to perform “kinky sex.” After dinner

She and William M. Lips went upstairs and engaged in

further sexual conduct. She was in fear of her life. The

next day she discussed the evening with the man she was

living with and later reported William M. Lips to the

authorities. William M. Lips was arrested the same day,

read his rights, and on the advice of defense counsel,

made no statement to the authorities.

B. General Court-Martial

On September 1, 1984, Senior Master Sergeant Wil-

liam M. Lips was tried by general court-martial at Hahn

Air Force Base, Germany, on charges of rape in viola-

tion of Article 120, Uniform Code of Military Justice

(UCMJ), 10 U.S.C. Sec. 920 (1988); forcible sodomy

in violation of Article 125, UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. Sec. 925

(1988); and aggravated assault (three-counts) in viola-

a

6

tion of Article 128, UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. Sec. 928 (1988).

He was convicted of the offenses and sentenced to a dis-

honorable discharge, 20 year’s confinement, total for-

feiture of pay and allowances, and reduction to the rank

of airman basic.

At trial the defense counsel called Senior Master Ser-

geant William M. Lips as a witness to testify. At the

beginning of his examination, the defense counsel asked

Sergeant Lips the following two questions:

Q. Senior Master Sergeant Lips, is this the first state-

ment that you have made, the first statement pub-

licly to government officials?

A. Yes, Sir.

Q. Why is that?

A. The day I was apprehended, or late that evening,

about eleven o’clock, I talked with Captain

Hallett-Weller, the [Assigned Defense Counsel],

on the telephone. She advised me not to make

any statements to anyone under any circum-

stances about what had occurred in my apart-

ment on the 4th of June... .’

In response to additional questions asked by defense

counsel, William M. Lips testified that Cynthia Carite

came to his home while his wife was away, had sexual

relations with him, had dinner with him, had sexual in-

tercourse with him after dinner, and then asked him for

money in return for not telling his wife about what

occurred.

1 (R. 838). These two questions asked by the defense counsel are

improper and should have been objected to by the prosecutor. In

the absence of an objection from the prosecutor, the military judge

should have admonished counsel. Mil. R. Evid. 512(a)(1) of the

Manual for Courts-Martial specifically prohibits either trial or de-

fense counsel from referring to the defendant’s post-arrest silence.

Mil. R. Evid. 512(a) (1), MCM, 1984 at III-31. See also Morgan

v. Hall, 569 F.2d 1161, 1168 (1st Cir.), cert. denied, 407 U.S. 910

(1978) (although defense counsel first raised the matter of defend-

ant’s post-arrest silence, the prosecution improperly used the silence

to undermine the accused’s testimony).

|

7

On cross-examination the prosecutor asked Sergeant

Lips the following questions: ,

Q.

O >

>

OP

Is there any part of it that I’ve mentioned to you

that you have not had for weeks before you

cla]me in here for first time and tfold] your

story about this?

This is not the first time I’ve told my story about

this, sir.

We've been through that, Sergeant Lips. I asked

you a simple question. This is, in fact, the first

time you’ve told your story to anyone who is not

required to keep from disclosing it?

Before you came in this courtroom and told your

story to anybody that had anything to do with

the prosecution of this case, any official con-

cerned with it for that matter who was not re-

quired to keep what you told them quiet, before

that happened, you had every bit of material I’ve

talked about here and you [had] it for weeks, did

you not?

Yes, Sir.

And you have measured your account of this

against that material and waited until this time to

tell it, correct?

I have not measured my account against that ma-

terial, no, sir.

You have waited until this time—

I have examined all that material, yes, sir.

—and you have waited until this time to provide

this account, correct?

I didn’t have any other opportunity to provide

this account, sir.

I didn’t ask you that, Sergeant Lips. We went

through that again. Do you want to do it again?

You don’t think the OSI would have talked to

you? You don’t think I would have talked to

you? You don't think Captain Basten would

8

have talked to you? You don’t think the security

police would have talked to you?

A. Objection, Your Honor.

Q. You know that what’s going on here is that you

have chosen not to talk about this for the reasons

that you told us because it was the advice of

counsel and because you thought it was in your

best interests. But you also know that if you

wanted to talk about it, you could have each and

every day. You could have talked to me [the

prosecutor]. You could have talked to Captain

Basten [the assistant prosecutor]. You could

have talked to the OSI [criminal investigators].

You could have talked to your commander. You

could have talked to any number of people.

(R. 1235-38). The trial judge did not halt this line of

questioning or give limiting instructions to the jury.

In closing argument the prosecutor stated that no evi-

dence of guilt could be inferred from the fact that Ser-

geant Lips waited until the trial to tell his story, but

then the prosecutor proceeded to comment extensively on

Lips’ post-arrest silence. how the victim had told her story

to the police immediately, but how the accused had said

nothing until the trial, and how Lips had time to fabri-

cate a story after hearing the evidence.

He’s getting the fruits of everything she says. He

can mull over and sort through what she’s had to

say about this, and he can turn and twist the story

in-between. More important than mulling over or

sorting through what she’s had to say about this, he

can mull over and sort through the other evidence,

things that have been found in his house, things that

have been found out about him. And he can try to

weave the lic between those things. He has the op-

portunity to do that for weeks and weeks, and weeks,

undistracted. Then he comes in this courtroom and

he sits down here and testifies. And in terms of try-

ing to find out whether or not he’s lying, there’s not

Scena

9

six Other stories that he’s told on six other occasions

to measure it against... .

(R. 1700).

But what happened is, this guy sat here and he

told a story on Saturday. Nobody’s ever heard it

before. Nobody’s ever had a chance to study, think,

and figure out how to take him apart. And nobody

knows what his answers to the on and on and on

questions will be. So I stand up here and jerk him

around, trying him out. And you all see the product.

Now, again, contrast that with the situation that the

girl was in. Her story’s been told from the Sth of

June, on.

(R. 1708). The defense counsel did not object to the

prosecutor's improper references to Sergeant Lips’ post-

arrest silence; nor did the military judge instruct the

jurors that such references to Sergeant Lips’ post-arrest

silence were improper and that no inference of guilt

should be drawn from them.

At Sergeant Lips’ trial, the prosecutor also introduced

into evidence a 65-minute pornographic video tape and

four sadomasochistic magazines which were shown to the

jurors. Sergeant Lips objected to the introduction of the

magazines and the video tape on the grounds that the

items were admitted in violation of Military Rules of Evi-

dence 403 and 404(b).° After reviewing the magazines

and video tape, the military judge admitted the items in

evidence and showed the 65-minute pornographic video

tape in its entirety to the jury and showed the magazines

to the jurors.

C. United States Air Force Court of Military Review

Senior Master Sergeant William M. Lins appealed his

court-martial conviction to the United States Air Force

Court of Military Review. In his brief, Senior Master

Sergeant William M. Lips argued that the prosecutor’s

2 United States v. Bisweil, 700 F.2d 1310, 1316 (10th Cir. 1983)

(probable value of prior acts substantially outweighed by danger

of unfair prejudice under Rule 403).

10

improper comments on Lips’ post-arrest silence during |

cross-examination and closing argument was unconstitu- |

tional under Doyle v. Ohio, 426 U.S. 610 (1976).®

The three military officers serving on the United States

Air Force Court of Military Review rejected Lips con-

stitutional challenge to the prosecutor’s comments in three

sentences. United States v. Lips, 22 M.J. 679, 883

(1986). See App. at 28a. In addressing the Doyle issue,

the Air Force Court of Military Review never discussed

Lips’ contention that the prosecutor impermissibly com-

mented on _ Lips’ post-arrest silence during cross-

examination.

In the Air Force Court of Military Review, Senior

Master Sergeant Lips also challenged the admissibility of

3In his brief to the Air Force Court of Military Review Senior

Master Sergeant Lips argued as follows:

Appellant’s trial included approximately two weeks of evi-

dence taking and witnesses. During trial counsel’s cross-

examination of appellant, appellant was questioned extensively

as to when he first talked to anyone concerning the alleged

incident and in particular, why he chose not to talk to anyone

other than his counsel prior to trial, (in fact, trial counsel’s

phraseology consistently utilized the attorney-client privilege to

indicate that the appellant’s version of the incident was some-

how improperly withheld until trial.) (R. 1235-42) The ap-

parent purposes of this line of questioning were twofold on the

part of trial counsel. First, he was seeking to establish a nega-

tive inference which he later vigorously argued to the members,

from the fact that appellant had remained silent prior to trial.

Secondly, trial counsel was on a fishing expedition for any

matter protected by the attorney-client privilege that he could

get the appellant to divulge on cross-examination.

Appellant’s Brief submitted to the Air Force Court of Military

Review (emphasis added). In addition, William M. Lips argued in

his brief to the Air Force Court of Military Review that:

“('t|hrough cross-examination, and again several times during

his argument on findings, trial counsel relied on a theory that

commenting upon a failure of appellant to speak up prior to

his trial is appropriate to impeach appellant, a theory unsup-

ported by law. Doyle v. Ohio, 426 U.S. 610, 96 S.Ct. 2240, 49

L.Ed.2d 91 (1976).”

Id. (emphasis added).

<<<

11

the pornographic 65-minute video tape and the sexually

explicit magazines under Military Rules of Evidence 403

and 404(b).* The Court concluded that the evidence

was properly admitted to establish Lips’ “motive, intent,

plan and design,” and that the “trial judge was within

the broad discretion given him to admit the challenged

evidence.” ° The Air Force Court also concluded the

“photographs and the video tape depicted scenarios for

non-consensual sex.” °

D. United States Court of Military Appeals

The United States Court of Military Appeals denied

discretionary review on March 2, 1987. App. at 20a. On

April 17, 1987, the United States Court of Military Ap-

peals also denied William M. Lips’ petition for reconsid-

eration. App. at 19a. And on August 13, 1987, the Judge

Advocate General of the Air Force denied William M.

Lips’ motion for a new trial.

E. United States District Court

On October 27, 1988, while confined in the United

States Disciplinary Barracks at Leavenworth, Kansas,

William M. Lips filed a petition for a writ of habeas

corpus under 28 U.S.C. Sec. 2241 (1988) in the United

States District Court for the District of Kansas naming

the Commandant of the Disciplinary Barracks as the de-

fendant. In his petition for habeas corpus, William M.

Lips alleged (1) that the military judge improperly ad-

4 Military Rules of Evidence 403 and 404(b) are identical to

Federal Rules of Evidence 403 and 404(b).

5 United States v. Lips, 22 M.J. 679, 682-83 (AFCMR 1986).

App. at 25a and 27a.

® Jd. at 682. App. at 26a. The trial judge admitted the evidence

at trial even though he recognized that the type of activity revealed

in the video tape “would always purport to demonstrate consensual

conduct, not forcible conduct on an unwilling victim.” (R. 212). The

Air Force Court of Military Review thus inaccurately and incor-

rectly. states that the “photographs and the video tape depicted

scenarios for non-consensual sex.” Id.

. call

12

mitted certain sexually explicit materials at trial; and (2)

that the prosecutor violated his right against self-

incrimination by referring to his post-arrest silence dur-

ing cross-examination and in closing argument.

On July 31, 1992 the United States District Court for

the District of Kansas granted William M. Lips’ petition

for habeas corpus holding that the prosecutor’s repeated

comments on William M. Lips’ post-arrest silence resulted

in a violation of his constitutional rights under the Fifth

Amendment of the Constitution. Lips v. Commandant,

United States Disciplinary Barracks, F. Supp.

(D.C.K. #88-3396, July 31, 1992). App. at 9a. The

District Court denied William M. Lips’ second conten-

tion that 65-minute pornographic video tape and 4 sex-

ually explicit magazines were improperly admitted into

evidence in violation of Military Rules of Evidence

404(b) and 403. The District Court concluded that the

“trial judge admitted the evidence to show motive, intent,

plan, and design” and that Sergeant Lips “failed to show

that the trial judge’s ruling resulted in a fundamentally

unfair trial.” App. at Ila.

In considering William M. Lips’ petition for habeas

corpus, the District Court acknowledged that “its review

of a claim made in a military habeas corpus petition is

- limited.” Jd. The District Court also applied the four-

part test set forth by the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals

in Dodson v. Zelez. 917 F.2d 1250, 1252-53 (10th Cir.

1990), for reviewing petitions for habeas corpus from

military servicemen. See App. at 5a and infra at 15. In

applying the four-part test, the District Court concluded

(1) “that the asserted error, impermissible comment on

petitioner’s post-arrest silence, is of substantial constitu-

tional dimension”; (2) that “the issue before the court is

clearly one of law rather than a fact question previously

determined by the military tribunal”; (3) that there are

“no unique military considerations which apply to this

issue”; and (4) that “the issue was raised before the mili-

tary courts of review,” but was summarily dismissed on

a :

13

the grounds of “waiver for lack of contemporaneous ob-

jection.” App. at 12a.

Having decided that William M. Lips’ “ciaim meets the

requirements for review,” the District Court considered

the issue of whether prosecutor’s repeated comments on

Lips’ post-arrest silence violated his Fifth Amendment

rights under the Constitution. 7d. The District Court re-

viewed the transcript and found it “reveals numerous occa-

sions during cross-examination where the prosecutor re-

peatedly referred to petitioner’s failure to ‘tell anyone his

story until now.’”‘ In addition, the District Court notes

the existence of “other exchanges throughout the tran-

script where direct comment was made [by the prosecutor]

concerning petitioner’s post-arrest silence.” Jd.

Based on the record, the District Court “concludes that

the manifest intent of the prosecutor was to comment on

the petitioner’s post-arrest silence and, thus, attack his

credibility” and that “the natural and necessary impact is

that the jury would draw the conclusion that the com-

ments and questions concerned petitioner’s right to remain

Silent.” /d.

The District Court notes that defense counsel objected

at least once in response to the prosecutor’s questions.

The District Court found, however, that “even if the [Air

Force Court of Military Review] did not find [the objec-

tion sufficient to preserve the issue], under plain error

analysis, the continuous and repeated comment on peti-

tioner’s post-arrest silence was ‘obvious and _ substantial

error that affected the fairness, integrity or public reputa-

tion of the judicial proceedings.’” App. at 17a.

The District Court concludes that the “prosecutor’s re-

peated comments on petitioner’s post-arrest silence re-

sulted in a violation of [petitioner’s] constitutional rights

guaranteed under the Fifth Amendment.” App. at 17a-

18a. For this reason, the District Court ruled that “peti-

7 App. at 10a. See App. at 13a-14a for examples of the prosecu-

tor’s comments on cross-examination.

14

tioner did not receive a fair trial” and granted petitioner’s

writ of habeas corpus. /d.

F. Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit

The United States appealed the District Court’s deci-

sion to the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals. On July /,

1993, the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals reversed hold-

ing that the District Court (1) erred in considering peti-

tione1’s contention that he was denied a fair trial because

sexually explicit evidence was improperly admitted at his

court-martial, and (2) erred in granting habeas corpus

relief on the grounds that the petitioner’s constitutional

rights were violated by the prosecutor’s improper cross-

examination and closing argument.

In its decision the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals con-

cluded “that although the federal district court had juris-

diction to entertain Lips’ petition, its scope of review was

. . . limited to determining whether” the military courts

gave full and fair consideration to the issues Lips raised

in his federal habeas corpus petition. App. at 4a. If the

issues “were given full and fair consideration by the mili-

tary courts,” the Court of Appeals notes, “the district

court should have denied the petition.” /d.

After revicwing the record of trial, the Court of Ap-

peals concluded that the military courts did give “full and

fair consideration” to the constitutional issues Lips raised

in his federal habeas corpus petition. App. at 4a, 6a. Be-

cause the constitutional issues raised by Lips were fully

and fairly considered oy the Air Force Court of Military

Review, the Court of Appeals reversed the District Court's

decision granting the writ of habeas corpus and remanded

the case “to the district court with directions to deny the

petition.” App. at 4a.

In reversing the District Court’s decision, the Tenth

Circuit Court of Appeals notes that the scope of review

applied by federal courts in reviewing habeas corpus feti-

tions from military personnel is narrower than that ap

plied in reviewing civil cases. App. at 5a. Thus, accord-

——ae eee

15

ing to the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals, the “function

of the civil courts” in reviewing military habeas corpus

petitions is limited to determining whether the claims

raised by a military service member have been given full

and fair consideration by the military courts. App. at 6a.

Consistent with this view, the Tenth Circuit Court of

Appeals outlined in Dodson v. Zelez, 917 F.2d 1250 (10th

Cir. 1990), a four-part test for federal courts to use in

determining if a constitutional issue in a military habeas

corpus petition has been fully and fairly considered bv a

military court.

|R leview by a federal district court of a military con-

viction is appropriate only if the following four con-

ditions are met: (1) the asserted error is of sub-

stantial constitutional dimension; (2) the issue is one

of law rather than of disputed fact already deter-

mined by the military tribunal; (3) there are no

military considerations that warrant different treat-

ment of constitutional claims; and (4) the military

courts failed to give adequate consideration to the

issues involved or failed to apply proper legal

standards.

App. at 5a-6a. The District Court applied this four-part

test and held “the military failed to give adequate con-

sideration to Lips’ contention” that his Fifth Amend-

ment rights were violated by the comments made by the

prosecutor on Lips’ post-arrest silence in cross-examination

and during closing argument. App. at 6a. The District

Court, however, did not apply the four-part test in deny-

ing “Lips’ claim regarding the [improper] admission of

the sexually explicit materials.” /d.

The Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals, applying the

same standard, reaches a different result and concludes

“that the military courts [gave] the matters raised in

[Lips’] federal habeas corpus proceeding full and fair con-

sideration and that the district court erred in reviewing

these matters de novo.” App. at (7)a.

16

The Tenth Circuit states that Lips, in his brief to Air

Force Court of Military Review, sets forth as a separate

issue the prosecutor's improper comments made during

closing argument on Lips’ post-arrest silence. However,

the Tenth Circuit notes that Lips “did not set forth as a

separate issue [in his brief] the prosecutor’s cross-exami-

nation of Lips and [the Court further notes that Lips]

made only passing reference to improper cross-examina-

tion in his argument under ‘Issue V.’” ” *

With respect to the prosecutor's comments on closing

argument, the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals concludes

that “the United States Air Force Court of Military Re-

view gave the issue of improper closing argument ‘full

and fair consideration, as required by Burns v. Wilson

., and also gave ‘adequate consideration’ to the issue

and applied ‘proper legal standards,’ as required by our

Dodson v. Zelez ...” App. at 7a. See App. at 28a. For

this reason, the Tenth Circuit concludes that “the district

court erred in granting habeas corpus relief based on im-

proper prosecutorial closing argument.” 7d.

With respect to the issue of the prosecutor’s improper

comments on Lips’ post-arrest silence during cross-

examination, the Tenth Circuit observes that “defense

counsel made only one nonspecific objection to this line

of questioning” and “did not raise the issue of improper

cross-examination on appeal to the United States Air

Force Cour! of Military Review.” /d. “Because defense

counse! did not make a timely and specific objection and

also dic not assert the issue of improper cross-examination

on appeal,” the Tenth Circuit concludes that “the matter

. was not raised in the military courts.” /d.

Finding nothing in the record indicating an “ ‘excuse’

for either of these procedural defaults,” the Tenth Circuit,

applying the “cause and prejudice” standard used in re-

viewing state and federal habeas cases, concludes that the

“ “cause and actual prejudice’ standard was not met,” and

held that “the claim of improper cross-examination will

8 See supra note 3 and accompanying text.

es

17

not be reviewed ‘on the merits’ in the present habeas

corpus proceeding.” App. at 8a. ;

In the alternative, the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals

States that the Air Force Court of Military Appeals fully

and fairly considered the issue of prosecutor’s references

to Lips’ post-arrest silence in cross-examination, even

though the court issued no opinion on the issue, and that

the District Court committed error in ruling on the issue.

Even assuming that counsel’s objection at trial to

the prosecutor’s cross-examination was adequate and

further assuming that the matter of improper cross-

examination was presented to the United States Air

Force Court of Military Review, the fact that the

court did not specifically address the question of

improper cross-exXamination in its Opinion is not

controlling.

App. at 8a n.2. The Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals notes

that the absence of a discussion in the Air Force Court

of Military Review’s opinion concerning the prosecutor’s

references in cross-examination to Lips’ post-arrest silence

is not critical because the Air Force Court of Military

Review states at the end of its opinion that it has “ ‘ex-

amined the remaining assignments of error and resolved

them against the appellant.’ ” /d.

The practice of allowing military courts to decide con-

Stiutional issues summarily, the Tenth Circuit Court of

Appeals notes, was approved by it in Watson v. McCot-

ter, 782 F.2d 143, 145 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 476

U.S. 1184 (1986).

When an issue is briefed and argued before a military

board of review, we have held that the military tri-

bunal has given the ciaim fair consideration, even

though its opinion summarily disposed of the issue

with the mere statement that it did not find the issue

meritorious or requiring discussion. 782 F.2d at

145.

App. at 8a n.2. In short, the Tenth Circuit Court of

Appeals concludes that because the Fifth Amendment

18

issue concerning the prosecutor's comments on Lips’ post-

arrest silence during cross-examination was briefed and

argued before the Air Force Court of Military Review, it

was fully and fairly considered by the military court even

though the issue was summarily disposed of with the

Statement: “We have examined the remaining assigned er-

rors and resolve them against the appellant.” App. at 30a.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The Supreme Court of the United States should

GRANT * the petition for a writ of certiorari in the pres-

ent case for three reasons: First, the decision of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit is in

conflict with decisions of the First, Third, Fourth, Fifth,

Eighth, Ninth, District of Columbia, and Federal Circuit

Courts of Appeal on the issue of the scope of federal

court review of military habeas corpus petitions; Sec-

ond, the decision of the Court of Appeals for the Tenth

Circuit dramatically restricts the scope of federal court

review of constitutional issues raised in military habeas

corpus petitions; and Third, the decisions of the Court

of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit and the Air Force Court

of Military Review uphoiding prosecutorial comment on

a defendant’s post-arrest silence and the government’s use

of specific intent evidence, /.e., plan, intent, motive, and

design, introduced under Rule 404b and 403, to prove

general intent crimes are contrary to decisions of the

Supreme Court and Court of Appeals for the Fourth

Circuit.

I. CONFLICT IN THE CIRCUITS ON THE SCOPE

OF FEDERAL COURT REVIEW OF MILITARY

HABEAS CORPUS PETITIONS

The first reason the Supreme Court should grant the

petition for a writ of certiorari in the present case is be-

®In the alternative, the Supreme Court may want to HOLD this

petition for the Court’s decision in Weiss v. United States, 36 M.J.

224 (CMA 1992), cert. granted, ——- U.S. ——— (No. 92-1492, May

24, 1993) invoking the Appointments Clause and terms-of-office for

military judges and Court of Military Review judges.

19

cause the decision of the Court of Appeals for the Tenth

Circuit is in conflict with decisions of the Courts of Ap-

peals for the First, Third, Fourth, Fifth, Eighth, Ninth,

District of Columbia, and Federal Circuits on the issue of

the scope of federal review of military habeas corpus

petitions.

After World War II and at the end of Korean War

the Supreme Court of the United States decided Burns v.

Wilson, 346 U.S. 137, rehearing denied, 346 U.S. 844

(1953). In Burns, the Supreme Court broadened the

power of the federal courts to review military cases be-

cause of the great number of American citizens who were

serving or had served in the armed forces.”

In affirming the judgment of the Circuit Court of Ap-

peals for the District of Columbia to deny petitions for

habeas corpus submitted to the Court from service mem-

10T suppose it cannot be said that the courts of today are more

knowledgeable about the requirements of military discipline

than the courts in the early days of the Republic. Nevertheless,

events quite unrelated to the expertise of the judiciary have

required a modification in the traditional theory of the auto-

nomy of military authority.

These events can be expressed very simply in numerical

terms. A few months after Washington’s first inauguration,

our army numbered a mere 672 of the 840 authorized by Con-

gress. Today, in dramatic contrast, the situation is this: Our

armed forces number two and a half million; every resident

male is a potential member of the peacetime armed forces; such

service may occupy a minimum of four per cent of the adult

life of the average American male reaching draft age; reserve

obligations extend over ten per cent of such a person’s life;

and veterans are numbered in excess of twenty-two and a half

million. When the authority of the military has such a sweep-

ing capacity for affecting the lives of our citizenry, the wisdom

of treating the military establishment as an enclave beyond the

reach of the civilian courts almost inevitably is drawn into

question.

Warren, The Bill of Rights and the Military, 37 N.Y.U.L. Rev. 181,

107-88 (1982). See J. BisHop, Jr., JusTICE UNDER FIRE: A STUDY

OF MILITARY LAW 122-33 (New York: Charterhouse, Inc., 1974).

20

bers, Chief Justice Vinson in a plurality opinion,” states

that “it is the limited function of the civil courts to deter-

mine whether the military have given fair consideration

to each of [the accused’s] claims” and “when a military

decision has dealt fully and fairly with an allegation

raised in [the accused’s] application, it is not open to a

federal civil court to grant the writ simply to re-evaluate

the evidence.” ”

The standard that has evolved is that Article III courts

can review court-martial judgments on two grounds: the

first ground is that a court-martial judgment is void be-

cause the court lacked jurisdiction, and the second ground

is that the court-martial is defective or procedurally unfair

in some fundamental way.’*

Since Burns, the Circuit Courts of Appeal have dis-

agreed over what the proper scope of federal court review

of military habeas corpus petitions should be.’* Some

courts have viewed the decision in Burns v. Wilson,’ as

expanding “the scope of review slightly, or, at least, to

1

11 Chief Justice Vinson’s opinion was joined by Justice Reed,

Justice Burton, and Justice Clark. Justice Jackson concurred in

the result. Justice Minton concurred in affirming the judgment.

Justice Frankfurter thought the case should be reargued. And

Justice Douglas’ dissenting opinion was joined by Justice Black.

12 346 U.S. at 144 and 142.

13 Schlesinger v. Councilman, 420 U.S. 738, 747 (1975).

14 Calley v. Callaway, 519 F.2d 184, 198-99 n.20 (5th Cir. 1975),

cert. denied sub nom., Calley v. Hoffman, 425 U.S. 911 (1976).

See Rich, Federal Court Scope of Review Over Military Habeas

Corpus Cases, 6 MEMPHIs ST. U.L. REV. 83 (1975). See also Bishop,

Jr., Civilian Judges and Military Justice: Collateral Review of

Court-Martial Convictions, 81 CoLUM. L. REV. 40, 70 (1981);

Weckstein, Federal Court Review of Courts-Martial Proceedings:

A Delicate Balance of Individual Rights and Military Responsibili-

ties, 54 MIL. L. REV. 1, 28-54, 74-81 (1971) ; Burris & Jones, Civilian

Courts and Courts-Martial—the Civilian Attorney’s Perspective,

10 AM. CRIM. L. REV. 139 (1971); J. BisHop, Jr., JUSTICE UNDER

FIRE: A STUDY OF MILITARY LAW 135-36 (New York: Charter-

house, Inc., 1974); Katz & Nelson, The Need for Clarification in

Military Habeas Corpus, 27 OHIO ST. L.J. 198 (1966).

15 346 U.S. 137, rehearing denied, 346 U.S. 844 (1953).

———

iain

21

have shifted the emphasis from mere ‘jurisdiction’ and

‘power, as the proper subjects for civilian court review,

to broader considerations of the ‘fullness’ and ‘fundamen-

tal fairness’ of the court-martial proceedings.” ** Other

courts have developed their own interpretations of the

“full and fairness” standard.*' The standard adopted by

16 De Coster v. Madigan, 223 F.2d 906, 909 (7th Cir. 1955), com-

panion case rev’d., Jackson v. Taylor, 353 U.S. 569, 571 (1957). See

Jackson v. Taylor, 353 U.S. 569, 572 n.2 (1957).

17 See First Circuit: Allen v. VanCantfort, 436 F.2d 625, 629

n.8 (1st Cir.), cert. denied, 402 U.S. 1008 (1971) (ineffective assist-

ance of counsel reviewed even though the issue was fully considered

by the military appellate courts) ;

Third Circuit: White v. Humphrey, 212 F.2d 508 (3rd Cir.), cert.

denied, 348 U.S. 900 (1954) (full and fair consideration standard

ignored and denial of constitutional due process issue reviewed) ;

Fourth Circuit: Kasey v. Goodwyn, 291 F.2d 174, 178 (4th Cir.

1961), cert. denied, 368 U.S. 959 (1962) (denial of constitutional

due process issue summarily considered and denied) ;

Fifth Circuit: Calley v. Callaway, 519 F.2d 184, 228 (5th Cir.

1975), cert. denied sub nom., Calley v. Hoffman, 425 U.S. 911 (1976)

(extensive review of constitutional issues even though most of the

constitutional issues were fully and fairly considered by the military

appellate courts) ;

Ninth Circuit: Daigle v. Warner, 348 F. Supp. 1074, 1078 (D.C.

Hawaii 1972), rev’d on other grounds, 490 F.2d 358 (9th Cir. 1973)

(full and fair consideration standard “has been subject to different

interpretations, [but] the underlying rationale is that review on

(military habeas corpus petitions| should be afforded when the peti-

tioner has allegedly been denied a basic constitutional right, the

absence of which materially affected his rights to a fair hearing) ;

Hatheway v. Secretary of the Army, 641 F.2d 1376 (9th Cir.), cert.

denied, 454 U.S. 864 (1981) (Burns plurality does not preclude civil

court consideration of the constitutional defects alleged here where

it is not clear the issue was fully and fairly considered because no

military court articulated an analysis of them) ;

District of Columbia Circuit: Kauffman v. Secretary of the Air

Force, 415 F.2d 991 (DCC 1969), cert. denied, 396 U.S. 1013 (1970)

(rejecting government’s contention that civilian court review of

alleged constitutional errors in court-martial proceeding is precluded

where military courts have fully and fairly considered the constitu-

tional issues) ; Avrech v. Secretary of the Navy, 520 F.2d 100 (DCC

1975), cert. denied, 425 U.S. 970 (1976) (constitutional issues

22

the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals in the present case—

that once an issue is briefed and argued before a military

court, it is considered to be fully and fairly considered by

the military courts and cannot be reviewed by a District

Court if the issue is raised in a military habeas corpus

petition—is one of the narrowest interpretations of the

“full and fair” consideration standard."*

In short, different standards of review are being used

in the various Circuit Courts of Appeals to review con-

Stitutional issues raised in military habeas corpus peti-

tions. Service members, in other words, who raise a con-

stitutional issue in a petition for habeas corpus filed with a

District Court, are not having their petitions reviewed

uniformly by courts throughout the country. For these

reasons, Counsel for Petitioner respectfully requests the

Court GRANT the petition for a writ of certiorari in the

present case to ensure that all service members who file

petitions for writs of habeas corpus in the federal courts

receive uniform consideration of the constitutional issues

raised in their petitions.

II. ELIMINATION OF FEDERAL COURT REVIEW OF

MILITARY COURT DECISIONS IN THE TENTH

CIRCUIT

The second reason the Supreme Court should GRANT

the petition for a writ of certiorari in the present case is

because the decision of the Court of Appeals for the

raised by service members in military courts are reviewable by

federal courts) ;

Federal Circuit: Shaw v. United States, 357 F.2d 949, 953 (Ct. Cl.

1966) (court of claims will review constitutional issues raised by

service members even though the issues have been reviewed by mili-

tary courts).

18 Lips v. Commandant, United States Disciplinary Barracks,

F.2d —— (10th Cir. #92-3359, July 1, 1993) (Article III judge’s

finding that prosecutor’s continuous and repeated comments on

service member’s post-arrest silence was an “obvious and substantial

error that affected the fairness, integrity, or public reputation of

judicial proceedings” reversed where military court fully and fairly

considered the issue and denied it summarily without opinion).

23

Tenth Circuit so restricts federal court review of constitu-

tional issues raised in military habeas corpus petitions that

the right of a service member to file a petition for habeas

corpus in the Tenth Circuit is rendered meaningless.

The Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals’ interprets the

standard announced by the Supreme Court in Burns to

mean that once a constitutional issue is briefed and ar-

gued in a military court, there is an unrebuttable pre-

sumption that the issue has been fully and fairly con-

sidered by the military court irrespective of whether the

military court writes an opinion on the issue or disposes

of it summarily.

In Dodson vy. Zelez, 917 F.2d 1250, 1252-53 (10th

Cir. 1990), the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals outlined

a four-part test for determining when federal court review

of a military conviction on habeas corpus is appropriate.”

Part four of the test states that a military court must give

the issue adequate consideration and apply proper legal

standards in reviewing it before the issue can be reviewed

by a District Court in a military habeas corpus petition.

In other words, a District Court in the Tenth Circuit can-

not consider a constitutional issue raised in a military

habeas corpus petition unless (1) the issue has been

briefed and argued before a military court, (2) the mill-

tary court has given the issue adequate consideration, and

(3) the military court has applied proper legal standards

in reviewing it.

The analytical problem presented is that if the consti-

tutional issue is briefed and argued before a military court,

and is addressed by the military court in either an opin-

ion or is disposed of summarily, the Tenth Circuit con-

siders that the issue has been fully and fairly considered

by the military courts and therefore cannot be reviewed

by a District Court if the issue is raised in a military

habeas corpus petition.

In effect, the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals has elim-

inated federal court review of military court decisions in

19 See supra at 15.

La aa

24

the Tenth Circuit and has denied the writ of habeas

corpus to service members who believe their constitutional

rights have been violated by the military justice system.

If a service member is required to brief and argue a

constitutional issue in a military court before the issue

can be reviewed by a District Court in a petition for

habeas corpus, and if every issue briefed and argued be-

fore a military court is deemed by the Tenth Circuit

Court of Appeals to be fully and fairly considered by the

military court, even if it is dismissed summarily, then no

federal district court will ever be able to review a petition

from a military court in the Tenth Circuit because every

issue will be fully and fairly considered by the military

courts and hence not subject to federal court review.

The Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals’ application of

the Burns full and fair consideration standard is so re-

Strictive that it virtually eliminates federal court review of

military court decisions in the Tenth Circuit and renders

the right of service members to habeas corpus relief in

the Tenth Circuit nonexistent.

The importance of denying effective habeas corpus re-

lief to active duty and reserve military personnel is im-

portant when one considers that over two million men and

women are serving in the armed forces of the United

States—all of whom are subject to the Uniform Code of

Military Justice and military criminal justice system. This

group is larger than the number of citizens subject to

criminal codes in the States of Alaska, Wyoming, Ver-

mont, Delaware, North Dakota, South Dakota. Montana,

Nevada. New Hampshire. Idaho. Rhode Island, Hawaii,

Maine. New Mexico, Utah, Nebraska, and West Vir-

ginia.””

The policy of denying access of young men and women

serving in the armed forces of the United States to

20In World War IJ, there were over 12,300,000 young men and

women who served in the armed forces and were subject to the

military justice system. Karlan & Pepper, The Scope of Military

Justice, 43 J. CRIM. L. CRIMINOLOGY & POLICE ScI. 285, 286 (1962).

25

federal courts and of discouraging them from raising le-

gitimate constitutional issues in petitions for habeas corpus

is not a policy that his Court should encourage. Not only

are these young citizens defending the Constitution and

willing to give up their lives for it if necessary, but also

they on occasion may need assistance from the federal ju-

diciary and the benefit of civilian review of a constitu-

tional issue.

In the present case petitioner William M. Lips, a career

serviceman. was convicted in 1984 by general court-

martial and received a 20-year sentence. To date the con-

stitutional violations he raised on appeal have been fully

and fairly considered only by military officers. A federal

district court judge in the Tenth Circuit did rule that Lips’

Fifth Amendment rights were violated in his trial, that

the constitutional violation amounted to plain error, and

that Lips should be retried. But the Tenth Circuit Court

of Appeals reversed that decision holding that military

officers had fully and fairly considered the constitutional

violations raised by Lips in his military habeas corpus

petition and that the federal district court judge erred in

considering his petition.

To avoid the kind of injustice William M. Lips has had

to suffer—no civilian review of his constitutional claims

and to ensure that all military personnel with legiti-

mate constitutional claims will have access to the federal

courts if the need arises, the Court should grant the

petition for a writ of certiorari in this case and estab-

lish rule for federal courts to follow in reviewing habeas

corpus petitions filed by service members.

Ill. THE MILITARY COURT APPLIED THE WRONG

LEGAL STANDARDS IN REVIEWING CONSTITU-

TIONAL ISSUES PRESENTED BY LIPS IN THE

APPEAL OF HIS COURT-MARTIAL CONVICTION

The third reason the Supreme Court should grant the

petition for a writ of certiorari in the present case is be-

cause the Air Force Court of Military Review applied

the wrong legal standards in deciding both the post-arrest

26

silence issue and the evidentiary due process issue raised

by Lips in the appeal of his court-martial conviction. On

the post-arrest silence issue and the 404b and 403 evi-

dentiary issues, the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals con-

cludes that Lips’ constitutional cliams were fully and

fairly considered by military authorities and properly

denied.

A. Post-Arrest Silence Issue

The Air Force Court of Military Review devotes three

sentences in its opinion to the Doyle issue raised by

William M. Lips in the appeal of his court-martial con-

viction:

[Lips] also contends he is entitled to a new trial be-

cause of improper findings and sentencing arguments

by government counsel. [Lips’] counsel entered no

objection at trial to the new challenged statements

made during argument. In view of this, we consider

this issue to be waived on appeal in the absence of

plain error, which we find no basis here to invoke.

See supra 10 and at 2la. The military court concludes

that the Doyle issue was waived because no objection was

made during argument.

In United States v. Arnold, 425 F.2d 204 (10th Cir.

1970), however, the defense counsel did not present a

Doyle issue objection on closing argument until the case

was before the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals. In ad-

dressing the issue and reversing the defendant’s conviction,

the Tenth Circuit states:

We are in complete agreement that the record re-

flects more than ample evidence to support convic-

tion and that the trial court correctly determined that

no claim of error presented to support the motion for

a new trial had merit. However, appellate counsel

presents an-additional assignment of error, made for

the first time in this court, that is so clearly meritor-

ious in view of our decision in United States v.

Nolan, 10 Cir., 418 F.2d 588, that we are compelled

to reverse the judgment regardless of the lateness of

presentation. . . . The error climaxes, as in Nolan,

27

with a prejudicial closing argument by the govern-

ment attorney.

Id. at 205. Despite its decision in Arnold, the Tenth

Circuit Court of Appeals concludes the military court

applied the correct legal standard in holding that Lips

waived his objection to the prosecutor’s prejudicial closing

argument. “We think,” the Tenth Circuit states, “the

United States Air Force Court of Military Review gave

the issue of improper argument ‘full and fair considera-

tion, as required by Burns v. Wilson, . . . and also gave

‘adequate consideration’ to the issue and applied ‘proper

legal standards.’” App. at 7a.

In its Lips opinion, the Tenth Circuit also states that:

In cross-examination, the prosecutor attempted to

show that the real reason Lips made no post-arrest

statements was that he desired to hear Cynthia

Carite’s testimony in court before giving anyone his

version of events so that he could “tailor” his testi-

mony and make it believable. Further, in closing

argument to the military jury, the prosecutor stated

that while Lips’ post-arrest silence was no evidence

of guilt, Lips had nonetheless waited until trial “to

tell his story,” so that he could first hear Cynthia

Carite’s testimony.

App. at 4a. In these two sentences, the Tenth Circuit

Court of Appeals correctly summarizes the intent of the

prosecutor in commenting on Lips’ post-arrest silence.

In Doyle v. United States, 426 U.S. 610 (1976) the

Supreme Court of the United States held that this line of

questioning and argument used by the prosecutor is

improper.

The State pleads necessity as justification for the

prosecutor’s action in these cases. It argues that the

discrepancy between an exculpatory story at trial and

silence at the time of arrest gives rise to an inference

that the story was fabricated somewhere along the

way, perhaps to fit within the seams of the State’s

case as it was developed at pretrial hearings... .

28

Despite the importance of cross-examination, we

have concluded that the Miranda decision compels

rejection of the State’s position.

Id. at 616-17. Despite the clearness of the holding in

Doyle, the Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit finds no

violation of Lips’ Fifth Amendment rights to a fair trial.

By concluding that the military court applied the cor-

rect legal standard in deciding the post-arrest silence

issues presented by Lips, and by approving the military

court’s decision on the issues, the Tenth Circuit erred.

B. Specific Intent Evidence Used to Prove General

Intent Offenses

With respect to the evidentiary issue and the introduc-

tion of sexually explicit materials at Lips’ court-martial.

the Air Force Court of Military Review states that the

pornographic video tape and four sexually explicit mag-

azines were introduced “to establish motive, intent, plan

and design” on the part of Lips. App. at 25a. On this

due process issue the District Court and the Tenth Circuit

Court of Appeals agree that the military court applied

the correct legal standard. All three courts agree, in

other words, that specific intent evidence, that is, evidence

of motive, intent, plan, and design admitted under Rule

404b, can be introduced by the government to prove a

general intent offense.”

21 See App. at 25a. Intent, motive, etc. are not issues in Lips’ case

because the offenses with which Lips is charged—rape, sodomy,

assault and battery—are general intent offenses, not specific intent

offenses. It is not clear why the government had to introduce the

sexually explicit evidence to establish intent, motive, etc. when Lips

is charged with general intent offenses. See United States v.

Soundingsides, 820 F.2d 1232 (10th Cir.), pet. for rehearing denied,

825 F.2d 1468 (1987) (per curiam) (evidence of other crimes,

wrongs or acts is inadmissible in a general intent case); Lovely

v. United States, 169 F.2d 386 (4th Cir. 1948), cert. denied, 338

U.S. 834 (1949), (evidence admitted to prove intent, motive, etc.

held inadmissible in general intent rape case where the only issue

is whether the sexual contact was consensual or nonconsensual).

29

However, this finding is contrary to the decision of the

Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals in Lovely v. United

States, 169 F.2d 386 (4th Cir. 1948), cert. denied, 338

U.S. 834 (1948). In Lovely, the Fourth Circuit held

that the introduction of specific intent evidence was error

in a general intent case where the outcome of the case

turns on the credibility of the witnesses as it does in Lips’

case. In Lovely, the defendant was charged with rape

and the trial court permitted the introduction of evidence

of a prior rape under similar circumstances to prove

motive, intent, plan, etc., on the part of the defendant.

In holding that the trial court erred in admitting testi-

mony about the “other rape,” the Fourth Circuit Court

of Appeals stated that “[t]here was no issue of identity in

the case, nor of knowledge, motive or intent, and the

crime was not the sort, like a stock swindling scheme or

murder for insurance, where the commission of other

crimes may tend to establish a plan from which the crime

charged can be said to have resulted.” J/d. at 388. In-

deed, the Court notes that the defendant admitted he was

with the victim in his car and that he had sexual relations

with her; thus, “the only question [in the case as in Lips’

case is} whether he had had carnal knowledge of her

forcibly and against her will.” /d.

The fact, if it was a fact, that he had ravished another

woman some weeks before, threw no light whatever

on that question. It showed merely that he was a

bad man, likely to commit that sort of crime; and

this is precisely what the prosecution is not allowed

to show in a criminal case.”

Like the trial court in Lovely, the military judge in Lips’

trial permitted the prosecutor to introduce specific intent

evidence to prove the same kind of general intent offense

tried in Lovely.

However, unlike the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals,

the Air Force Court of Military Review approved the

prosecutor's introduction of specific intent evidence to

*2 Id. See United States v. Hickson, 22 M.J. 146, 150 (CMA

1986) (rape is a general intent offense).

30

prove the general intent offenses Lips was charged with

committing. The Tenth Circuit's holding that the mili-

tary court applied the correct legal standard in reviewing

Lips’ evidentiary due process issue thus is contrary to the

holding of the Fourth Circuit in Lovely.

In sum, the Air Force Court of Military Review applied

the wrong legal standards in reviewing the post-arrest silence

issue and in reviewing the introduction of specific intent

evidence under Ruie 404b, and the Tenth Circuit is wrong

in its conclusion that the Air Force Court “fully and

fairly” considered Lips’ constitutional claims. Because

the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals held that Lips is not

entitled to civilian review on these issues, Lips has never

received a full and fair review of the constitutional issues

he raised on appeal from the court-martial conviction he

received in 1984.

CONCLUSION

Counsel for Petitioner respectfully requests that the

Supreme Court of the United States grant the petition for

a writ of certiorari in the present case (1) because the de-

cision of the Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit is

in conflict with decisions of numerous other Circuit

Courts of Appeals on the issue of the scope of federal

court review of military habeas corpus petitions; (2) be-

cause the decision of the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals

virtually eliminates federal court review of military habeas

corpus petitions in the Tenth Circuit; and (3) because the

military court applied the wrong legal standards in review-

ing Lips’ constitutional claims and in doing so denied

him a fair trial.

Respectully submitted,

JAN HORBALY

5310 Renaissance Court

Burke, Virginia 22015

(703) 978-7909

Date: September 28, 1993 Counsel for Petitioner

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.