Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Dale v. United States

Supreme Court brief1993

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

| Supreme Seust, ¥.9, '

y-412 4] an

93-4 4 ik SEP 14 1993

No. 93- OFFICE OF THE CLERK

eet

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1993

Davip M. DALE,

Petitioner.

,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Re spondent.

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The District Of Columbia Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JEFFREY S. PARKER

3401 North Fairfax Drive

Arlington, Virginia 22201

(703) 9938-8055

Counsel for Petitioner

David M. Dale

September 14, 1993

Questions Presented for Review

A. Fourth Amendment Issues

1. Can a search warrant otherwise violating the Fourth

Amendment’s particularity requirement be cured by reference to a

probable cause affidavit that neither accompanied the warrant nor

was found to be present at or used in the search, merely because the

officer executing the affidavit was present at the search?

2. Where a search warrant issues on false allegations of

product substitution under a contract with the U.S. Army, does an

uncontested defense showing that any effort by the investigator to

verify the allegations with U.S. Army officials would have revealed

their falsity fail as a matter of law to make a "substantial

preliminary showing" of reckless disregard for truth requiring an

evidentiary hearing under this Court’s decision in Franks vy.

Delaware, 438 U.S. 154 (1978)?

B. Federal Rules of Evidence Issues

3. What is the preliminary standard of reliability for the

admission of tape-recorded evidence under the Federal Rules of

Evidence?

4. Does a district court’s failure to make a preliminary

finding on either the reliability or the authenticity of tape-recorded

evidence comply with the requirements of Fed. R. Evid. 104?

C. Federal Criminal Law and Fifth Amendment Issues

5. Can a defendant be charged and convicted for an alleged

tax evasion conspiracy under either the "defraud" clause or the

"offense" clause of 18 U.S.C. §371, where_ the charged

conspiratorial conduct: (a) produced no tax revenue loss to the

United States, through the defendant’s own self-correction prior (0

the indictment; (b) consisted entirely of conduct covered by 76

U.S.C. §7201 and its lesser included offenses; or (c) included

conduct that neither was nor could lawfully be charged as

constituting an attempt to evade under 26 U.S.C. §7201 or its lesser

included offenses?

6. Can a defendant be charged and convicted cumulatively

of offenses under 18 U.S.C. §§371, 1001, and 1343, and under 26

U.S.C. §§7201 and 7206, when all of the offenses arise from the

same course of conduct that is charged exclusively as intended to

evade income taxes?

7. In instructing the jury, does a district court correctly (a)

omit definitions of "defraud the United States" or specific intent to

defraud in charging on the “defraud” clause of 18 U.S.C. §371, (b)

refuse to define "deductible expense” in a tax evasion case

challenging deductibility, and (c) refuse to instruct that truth is a

defense under 18 U.S.C. §1001?

8. Does a jury instruction defining reasonable doubt as "a

doubt for which you can give a reason" and "such a doubt as would

cause a juror. . . to be so undecided that he cannot say that he has

an abiding conviction of the defendant’s guilt" comply with the Due

Process Clause as construed by this Court?

D. Sentencing Issues

9. Is a district court free to ignore Sentencing Commission

commentary to USSG §1B1.2 requiring a finding of a defendant’s

participation in each object of a multi-object conspiracy beyond a

reasonable doubt as a prerequisite to the application of the

conspiracy sentencing guidelines?

10. Is the application of the "straddle" theory to impose a

guideline sentence to a conspiracy count allegedly "continuing"

beyond the effective date of the guidelines consistent with the Due

Process, Double Jeopardy, and Ex Post Facto clauses of the

Constitution where the result is to impose both pre-guidelines and

post-guidelines sentences for exactly the same pre-guidelines offense

conduct?

iii

List of Parties

The proceeding below was a federal criminal prosecution,

with the United States as plaintiff in the district court and appellee

in the court of appeals, and the following parties as defendants in

the district court and appellants in the court of appeals:

(1) David M. Dale, the Petitioner in this Court;

(2) Michelle Ashton;

(3) Martin Segal;

(4) Automated Data Management, Inc.; and

(5) Terence Sweeney.

iV

Tabie of Contents

Page

I INO oi icicncccshondéurensdceinatbdiedeedmmes i

RE IE sachscstceianwiedanasentinciacsaubannions ili

Re ee IE citittivnontanevasinnvicoduneciantenes vi

I IN Cicéibu titi aiesscdelienh bunteai evens, l

Jurisdiction ....... iidevidiiadapembinesies teaniistacdadaaiddan 2

Constitutional, Statutory and Regulatory Provisions

PII coc clschiueseyeiae peicei uct eee Le, 2

I er i le 2

Reasons for Allowing the Writ .......................0000. 11

I. There Is a Direct and Substantial Conflict

among the Circuits on the Important Fourth

Amendment Question Whether an Invalid

General Search Warrant Can Be Cured by

Reference to an Affidavit that Does Not

Accompany the Warrant at the Search. ............... 11

II. This Court Should Review the Lower Courts’

Application of its Prior Decision

re 14

III. This Court Should Settle the Important Question

of the Threshold Standard of Admissibility

for Tape-Recorded Evidence under the Federal

SO Ge SN Siiilcndscubnisncdeonmuiseabendindodiness 17

IV. This Court Should Review the Application of the

> £r OoR A DS Oe Oe St Mer 5 — on , 2 > ted = 5 ay

zs -_ -) tell —

Vv

General Federa! Fraud and Conspiracy Statutes to

NE HE SIS vcdendvnovscasaceecoveedenesbaaness 20

V. The Reasonable Doub; *: finition Applied Below

Se IS acesicdvodiuseansoseusesennsaeneuens 24

VI. The Sentences Below Disregarded Sentencing

Commission Commentary. ...........scsccecessscecescees 25

VII. The "Straddle" Theory of Guideline

Sentencing Was Unconstitutional as Applied

INS. siidtivacsacectnisaacubecssskenesiekinnipanines 25

RRA AP DL GE ERI ES eee SUNN LGM MeN OE 26

vi

Table of Authorities

Cases

Page

Andresen v. Maryland, 427 U.S. 463

SUIT ten ton cd acaschoabdunsamaieeues 12

United States v. Arch Trading Company,

987 F.2d 1087 (4th Cir. 1993). ...... 21

United States v. Bilzerian,

916 F.2d 1285 (2d Cir. 1991) .......... 21

Bishop v. United States,

Dam Tl, OG COIS) csccvccsccsesecsess 22

Bourjaily v. United States,

— oi Be, 8). :) Sees 20

Cage v. Louisiana,

ge i 2), rns 24

Carpenter v. United States,

Os We CHUTEED ecvcntssaracecceanes 21

Cheek vy. United States,

BEE B, GE GO CRS eD evecasceccccecsns 22

Center Art Galleries-Hawaii, Inc.

v. United States, 875 F.2d 747

GEG: SENET Sucacucsecccessiwans 13-4

Daubert v Merrell Dow

Pharmaceuticals, Inc., -—- U.S.

—, 113 U.S. 2786 (1993) ............ 17

he ee ee 7 8 ee YS a ES

vii

United States v. Decker, 956 F.2d

FID Gas Gat. FERED ssevcresccscccssses 14

United States v. Falcon, 959 F.2d

bog) gt A nn 12

Franks v. Delaware,

SE Uo Bae OU cetdccccevedencens 14-5

United States v. George,

975 F.2d 72 (2d Cir. 1992) ............ 12

United States v. Gahagan,

865 F.2d 1490 (6th Cir. 1989) ......... 13

United States v. Haldeman,

559 F.2d 31 (D.C. Cir. 1976),

cert. denied, 431 U.S. 933 (1977) ..... 18

United States v. Henderson,

386 F. Supp. 1048 (S.D.N.Y. 1974) ..... 21

Huddleston v. United States,

es te CE cdisnccdutocscveces 20

United States v. Hurley,

957 F.2d 1 (ist Cir. 1992) ............ 21

United States v. Ingram,

360 U.S. GIS CISA) <ccceeseescesecees: 22

United States v. Johnson,

690 F.2d 60 (3d Cir. 1982) ............ 12

United States v. King,

587 F.2d 956 (9th Cir. 1978) .......... 18

United States v. Klein,

247 F.2d 908 (2d Cir. 1957) ........... 22

Application of Lafayette Academy,

610 F.2d 1 (ist Cir. 1979) ............ 12

United States v. Lance,

853 F.2d 1177 (Sth Cir. 1988) ......... 18

United States v. Leary,

846 F.2d 592 (10th Cir. 1988) ........ 13-4

United States v. Leon,

468 U.S. 897 (1984) .....00..0000000.. 13-4

United States v. Luk,

859 F.2d 667 (9th Cir. 1988) ........... 14

McNally v . United States,

Ge Wie Be GED vtcetccireva-sassexs 21

United States v. Maxwell,

920 F.2d 1028 (D.C. Cir. 1990) ........ 13-4

United States v. Minarik,

875 F.2d 1186 (6th Cir. 1989) ......... 21

Miller v. Florida,

482 U.S. 423 (1987) ...............c cee. 26

United States v. Money,

949 F.2d 899 (6th Cir. 1991) ........... 21

United States v. Niven,

952 F.2d 289 (9th Cir. 1991) ........... 26

United States v. Pomponio,

a le Bt CEE ccbidcadivetesentsvene 22

ix

Rickert v. Sweeney,

813 F.2d 907 (8th Cir. 1987) ........... 13

United States v. Sandoval,

960 F.2d 587 (6th Cir. 1992) ........... 18

United States v. Sandoval,

709 F.2d 1553 (D.C. Cir. 1983) ......... 18

Sansone v. United States,

3ED U.S. 343, 351 CIGGS) ..0.cccccceses 22

United States v. Slade,

627 F.2d 293 (D.C. Cir.),

cert. denied, 449 U.S. 1034 (1977) ..... 18

Spies v. United States,

SUT US. SEZ, BAT OSES) ccccccvcsecess. 22

Stinson v. United States, ---U.S.--,

ben Be: errr 25

United States v Tagbering,

985 F.2d 946 (8th Cir. 1993) ........... 13

Tanner v. United States,

Ge Soils He CED cbeccetiendecsexcese 21

United States v. Vaughn,

830 F.2d 1185 (D.C. Cir. 1987) ......... 13

United States v. Washington,

852 F.2d 803 (4th Cir. 1988) ........... 13

United States v. Weinstein,

762 F.2d 1522 (11th Cir. 1985) ......... 14

United States v. Wuagneux,

683 F.2d 1343 (11th Cir. 1982) ......... 13

Statutes and Rules

U.S. Const.:

Se OF cxccsnntissewtisicssmecees 1]

Fe Wratae PFE neccsiuiovcetccussnenn 21-3

26 U.S.C. §§7201, 7206 ............... 21-2

POS. KR. BvIG. 106, Fl .cccccecsocsees 17-20

ET GRU sedeevicqnsiieivcsénievaiies 25

Se PO vicosoenavecnnesetcennsionss 26

Secondary Authorities

2 W. LaFave, Search and Seizure

§4.6(a)(2d ed. 1987) ..........60000.... 12

2 McCormick on Evidence §214

_ - } ia 19

9 Wigmore on Evidence §2550

(Chadbourn rev. 1981) .............0.... 18

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1993

No. 93-

Davip M. DALE,

Petitioner,

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Resf ondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED*STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

Petitioner David M. Dale respectfully prays that a writ of

certiorari issue to review the judgment of the United States Court of

Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit.

Opinions Below

The opinion of the court of appeals upon the rendering of its

judgment (al-70)' is reported at 991 F.2d 819 (D.C. Cir. 1993).

An earlier order of the court of appeals (a71-73), remanding the

case for a clarification of certain of the rulings by the district court,

and the district court’s responsive memorandum order (a74-75)

transmitting two previously unfiled memoranda (a76-102), are

unreported. The district court’s opinion on defendants’ motions to

dismiss counts of the indictment (a103-25) is reported at 782 F.

Supp. 615 (D.D.C. 1991). The remaining orders and memoranda

of the district court (a126-60) are unreported.

' Citations to “a-" are to pages of the appendix to this petition. Citations to

"JA-" are to pages of the Joint Appendix in the court of appeals.

2

Jurisdiction

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on April 6,

1993 (al). An order denying rehearing was entered on June 16,

1993 (al61). This Court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. §

1254(1).

Constitutional, Statutory, and

Regulatory Provisions Involved

The pertinent texts of the Ex Post Facto Clause (art.I, §9, cl.3),

the Fourth and Fifth Amendments to the Constitution, 18 U.S.C.

§§371, 1001, & 1343, 26 U.S.C. §§7201, 7203, & 7206, Rules 104

and 901 of the Federal Rules of Evidence, and USSG §§ 1B1.2,

1B1.3, 2T1.1, 271.9, 2X1.1 & the official commentary thereto, are

set forth in the appendix to this Petition (a162-73).

Statement of the Case

This case involves the destruction of a minority-owned defense

contracting firm, through the collaboration of dishonest former

employees of the firm and overzealous enforcement agents of the

federal government.

Under this strange collaboration, an investigation launched on

baseless allegations of government contract fraud, and badly

motivated attacks on the bona fides of the firm as a minority

enterprise, ultimately evolved into a criminal prosecution for purely

imaginary income tax "evasion." As a result, the firm and its

owners now stand convicted, and its owners sentenced to substantial

prison terms, for “evading” income taxes that in fact were paid--

voluntarily and without any deficiency assessment by the Internal

Revenue Service-months and in most cases years prior to the

issuance of the government’s indictment, while the dishonest

employees remain free to pursue further activities, apparently with

the prosecutor’s blessings.2 There is something fundamentally

2 We stress here at the outset that no part of this Petition rests upon factual

error in the courts below, or even ordinary legal error, but is confining to the

issues of general importance that are presented on this record. In the following

statement of the case, except where otherwise noted, we have attempted to state the

case consistently with the court of appeals’ recitation of the government’s version

Ee

3

wrong with a legal structure that produces this result in even one

case, much less as a durable pattern of law enforcement expediency.

In terms of the discretionary jurisdiction of this Court on

certiorari, the strange evolution of this case is important to a

consideration of the unusually wide range of questions now

presented that are worthy of this Court’s attention, for the

government here has overreached the boundaries of legality in law

enforcement in several different directions simultaneously.

First, the government’s misguided investigatory methods raise

two important and recurring issues under the Fourth Amendment:

one has produced a direct and substantial conflict among the courts

of appeals on the question whether the mere presence of an affiant-

not a supporting affidavit--will serve to excuse an unconstitutionally

general search warrant; the other concerns the application of this

Court’s guidelines for controlling the issuance of search warrants

based on false accusations.

Second, the government’s use at trial of tape recordings of

questionable veracity exploited a chaotic state of the law in the

courts of appeals on the broadly important question of the threshold

requirements of reliability for tape-recorded evidence, which ought

to be settled by this Court.

Third, the government’s expansive use of the general federal

conspiracy statute both to criminalize conduct that has not been

prohibited expressly by Congress, and to impose multiple or

increased punishment for a single act--which have become routine

practices in the federal courts today--raises even broader and more

important questions of legality in government. In particular, this

Petition questions whether 18 U.S.C. §371, as construed by most

though not all of the lower courts in recent years, has become a

monstrosity of overcriminalization that not only threatens the

freedoms of individuals in our society, but also, as applied here in

the context of alleged income tax evasion, actually undermines the

of the facts (al-31), which views the evidence "in the light most favorable to the

government"(al), even though some aspects of the government's case where so

exceedingly implausible as to defy credulity in any light (see, ¢.g., al0-11 & n.14

(Bowers’ explanation of his admitted theft of funds from the company))

4

efficacy of the tax collection system through the premature

intervention of the criminal sanction.

This expansion of the general conspiracy statute into the field of

tax offenses has emanated from lower court opinions, and, so far as

we are aware, has not been approved by this Court. Therefore, it

also presents important questions of federal law which have not

been, but should be, settled by this Court.

Background Facts: The Company and its Business

This case focuses on the operations of Automated Data

Management, Inc. ("ADM"), a District of Columbia corporation

that was founded in 1982 by Michelle Ashton, one of the five

defendants in the proceedings below. In late 1984, Ashton hired

David Dale, another defendant below and the Petitioner in this

Court, as executive vice-president of ADM. In addition to his

salary, Dale obtained an 18% equity interest in ADM, while Ashton

retained 82%.

In 1984, ADM had been qualified as a minority business under

the Small Business Administration’s "8(a)" program, and in

February 1985, through that program, ADM was awarded a contract

to supply small computers and associated services to the United

States Army. Over the next several years, ADM underwent a

dramatic expansion of the scale and scope of its operations. !n

order to serve the needs of the forward-deployed Army forces

overseas, ADM established branch offices in Korea and Germany,

and hired two new vice-presidents to Oversee operations in those

areas: David Bowers for Asia; and Terence Sweeney for Europe.

During this same period, ADM hired Charles Roth as marketing

vice-president, and Martin Segal as its chief financial officer; both

Roth and Segal worked out of ADM’s home office in Washington,

D.C.

Because the operations of ADM’s foreign offices were restricted

either by host country law or the host country’s agreements with the

United States, ADM set up foreign affiliates to pursue non-Army

business in those areas. In Asia, those affiliates were two Hong

Kong companies named Swaffham and Gemona, supplemented by

a Guam corporation named ADM Asia. In Europe, ADM set up a

German firm named ADM Hard- und Software Handelgesellschaft

5

GmbH ("ADM H&S"). In each case, the regional vice-president of

ADM--Bowers in Asia, and Sweeney in Europe—received 25% of

the equity in the regional firms, and was placed in general charge

of their operations. Ultimately, transactions involving these ADM

affiliates became the focus of the indictment in this case, but they

were not the precipitating cause of the government’s investigation

of ADM.

Instead, the principal cause was the disaffection of Bowers, the

Asian regional vice-president, and Roth, the marketing vice-

president, with their positions at ADM. Although their precise

grievances and objectives are somewhat obscure on this record,

apparently both Bowers and Roth believed that had been promised--

or could obtain--equity positions in ADM, if only they could, in

Bowers’ own testimony to the Grand Jury, "get rid of Mr. Dale”

(JA817). In June 1987, Roth was fired from ADM, and Bowers

resigned in August 1987.’ On his way out in August, Bowers stole

all of the remaining funds belonging to the ADM Hong Kong

affiliates by forging corporate minutes to give himself sole signing

authority and then transferring the funds to another company under

his exclusive control. (al0-11; JA2114,2149). In the meantime,

Bowers and Roth had retained a lawyer who demanded payments

totalling $1.5 million from ADM. The demands were refused.

Ten months later, federal agents appeared at ADM’s office with

a search warrant that had been obtained primarily on the basis of

unverified--and false--allegations of government contract fraud made

by Bowers and Roth against ADM.

The Government’s Investigatory Activities and the Search

In February 1988, Bowers_was questioned by an agent of the

Defense Department’s Defense Criminal Investigation Service

("DCIS") concerning allegations against Bowers on a matter

unrelated to ADM. In that connection, Bowers--later joined by

Roth and two other disaffected former employees of ADM--began

to make allegations of wrongdoing against ADM, Ashton, and Dale,

primarily focused on product substitution under ADM’s Army

> While they were still working for ADM, Bowers and Roth had set up their

own separate firm to compete with ADM (JA1781-83).

contract.

Those allegations were repeated in an affidavit dated June 14,

1988, by DCIS Special Agent Heide Shintani (JA253-60)* submitted

in Support of an application for a search warrant (JA252), which

was issued by Magistrate Dwyer on that same date (JA249). There

is nothing in the record to indicate that Shintani did anything at all

to verify the allegations, including the obvious and simple step of

checking with the Army. Had she done so, she would have

discovered that the product substitution allegations were entirely

without substance: from the outset of the contract in 1985, Army

officials were aware of and approved the use of a different brand of

hard disk drive in the Wang computers that ADM was supplying to

the Army, which in fact improved the quality and cost-effectiveness

of the product to the Army (see JA267-87), and there were Army

records verifying this fact (JA284). Ultimately, the court of appeals

ruled that these facts, while indicating that Shintani was negligent

(a40), as a matter of law did not constitute a substantial preliminary

showing that she was reckless, and that ruling creates one of the

questions presented (#2) for this Court’s review.

The search warrant was executed on June 16, 1988, by fifteen

federal agents who searched throughout ADM’s offices for 10 hours

and seized 75 boxes of materials, some of which were later used at

trial. Agent Shintani apparently was present at the search, but there

is no finding in this record that her affidavit was served with the

warrant Or was present at or used in conducting the search. The

court of appeals, after holding that the warrant in itself "was not

sufficiently particular" (a44-45), noted that "it is not altogether clear

that the affidavit accompanied the warrant at the search" (a48), but

nonetheless ruled that Shintani’s presence at the search "sufficiently

limited the discretion of the executing agents" (a48), thus framing

the other Fourth Amendment question presented (#1) by this

Petition.

* Shintani’s affidavit described ADM as “purports to be minority owned and

operated” (JA253), and misstated the ownership shares(JA254). At that point, the

allegations of tax evasion were a minor afterthought (J A258-59) to the main thrust

of government contract fraud, which also was supplemented by allegations of

rebates, payoffs, etc., all of which were unsubstantiated.

7

The product substitution aspect of the government’s activities

came to naught when the government’s agents later discovered the

truth. No charges were brought on that ground. Nonetheless, the

government continued to target ADM and its officers, under a new

theory also invented by Bowers and Roth, and when the indictment

issued some eighteen months later, it was based upon this new

theory of a tax evasion conspiracy.

The Indictment and the Challenged Transactions

On January 11, 1990, the Grand Jury returned a 10-count

indictment (JA141-74) against ADM, Ashton, Dale, Sweeney, and

Segal. The only present or former officers of ADM that were not

charged were Bowers and Roth, who were providing the

government with its theory of prosecution.

Count 1 of the indictment was an all-encompassing conspiracy

charge under both the "defraud" and “offense” clauses of 18 U.S.C.

§371, alleging an overall goal of “defrauding the United States of

tax revenues” (JA146). The substantive counts 2-10 alleged

offenses under 18 U.S.C. §§ 1001 & 1343, and under 26 U.S.C.

§§7201 & 7206, based on conduct that completely overlapped with

count 1.°

In essence, the government’s case was based on challenges to the

bookkeeping treatment of six different transactions or series of

transactions involving the ADM regional affiliates--four in Asia and

two in Europe. The precise timing of these transactions and their

subsequent tax treatment is important to an understanding of the

federal criminal law issues presented by this Petition.

Of the four Asian transactions, all of which were orchestrated by

Bowers, one-a loan from ADM funds through the Guam affiliate to

another ADM affiliate in the United States--had no potential income

tax consequences at all, as a loan is neither income nor expense.

The other three were: (1) cash advances to Ashton and Dale during

1986 from ADM’s Korean bank account, which were reported as

personal income by Ashton in an amended 1986 return filed in

December 1987, and by Dale in his 1987 return; (2) $417,532 paid

5 As the indictment charged offenses under federal criminal statutes, the district

court had original jurisdiction under 18 U.S.C. $3231.

lle

8

by ADM in 1986 for consulting and marketing services by the Hong

Kong affiliates, which was never claimed as a tax deduction by

ADM; and (3) a 1986 accrual of $500,000 in respect of further

services to be invoiced in the future by one the Hong Kong

affiliates, Swaffham, which was reversed in an amended corporate

tax return filed on March 30, 1989, after ADM’s non-Army Asian

activities had fallen apart in the wake of Bowers’ departure.

The two European transactions both involved payments by ADM

to an unrelated Swiss firm named Bourbonia for consulting services.

The first payment of $316,000 in December 1986 was reversed in

an amended corporate income tax return filed on August 25, 1988.

The second payment of $102,655 was never claimed as a tax

deduction by ADM. In both cases, the expenses were reallocated

to ADM H&S, the European affiliate, on the rationale that the

consulting services, which related to non-Army_ business, should be

borne by that entity, whose ownership shares differed from the

parent firm, ADM.

Significantly for the questions presented in this Court, the

substantive tax counts of the indictment (Counts 2-4) only

challenged two of these transactions--the $500,000 Swaffham

accrual, and the $316,000 payment to Bourbonia, both of which

were the subject of amended corporate tax returns filed long before

the indictment issued, but after the government’s misguided search

of ADM’s offices.

The remaining counts of the indictment were purely derivative:

Count 5 charged that the payment of the same $316,000 to

Bourbonia by wire transfer also constituted wire fraud in violation

of 18 U.S.C. §1343, and Counts 6-10 charged Ashton, Dale, and

ADM with violations of 18 U.S.C. §1001, based upon alleged

failures to disclose Ashton and Dale’s interests and directorships in

the ADM Hong Kong affiliates (which were wholly owned by U.S.

citizens) as "foreign connections" or “foreign interests" in various

forms filed with the Defense Department concerning ADM’s Army

contract.

The substantive counts all involved alleged offense conduct

completed prior to November 1, 1987, the effective date of the

federal sentencing guidelines. However, and significantly to the

sentencing issues here presented, the conspiracy was alleged to have

9

"continued" beyond that date, primarily through actions allegedly

“misleading the Internal Revenue Service" (JA164) by filing

amended tax returns (see JA164-66).

Proceedings in the District Court

In the district court, the defendants moved to dismiss the

indictment for Grand Jury abuse and for substantive insufficiency,

and to suppress the fruits of the government’s search of ADM’s

offices. Defendants also moved to suppress tape recordings

purportedly made by Bowers and Roth of telephone conversations

with Ashton, Dale, and other ADM employees during 1987, on the

ground that the recordings were made in violation of Title III of the

Omnibus Crime Control and Safe Streets Act of 1968. The district

court denied all of these motions, and also denied defendants’

request for an evidentiary hearing on the question whether the false

product substitution allegations were knowingly or recklessly

included in the Shintani affidavit.

At trial, defendants further objected to the admission of the tape

recordings on the ground that they were untrustworthy, and in

support of their objection submitted an expert’s report finding

physical and scientific evidence of tampering and alteration of the

tapes. On the basis of testimony by Bowers and by a government

agent who had custody of the tapes prior to trial, the district court

ruled the tapes admissible, without making any preliminary finding

of either their authenticity or their reliability.

Following trial, all defendants were convicted on all counts of

which they were charged. Petitioner Dale was convicted on Counts

1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 9, and 10. Following the verdict, the district court

ruled that Count | was subject to sentencing under the guidelines

(al48). Petitioner was sentenced to 41 months’ imprisonment on

that Count, and to concurrent 30 month sentences on each of the

remaining counts, plus 3 years of supervised release, $675,000 in

fines, and approximately another $60,000 in assessments and costs

of incarceration and supervised release. (JA1831-35).

Of course, there was no restitution ordered by Dale or any of the

other defendants, because there was no tax deficiency.

ee

10

Proceedings in the Court of Appeals

All defendants appealed their convictions and sentences to the

D.C. Circuit. Following briefing and argument on appeal, the court

of appeals took the unusual step, in its order of January 8, 1993

(a71-73), of remanding the case for “a clarification of the district

court’s ruling and the reasons in support thereof” (a73) on the

application Title III] to the Bowers/Roth tape recordings used at trial.

With its responsive memorandum order filed on January 21, 1993

(a74-75), the district court transmitted two undated and previously

unfiled memoranda, one on the Title III questions (a77-81), and the

other, more pertinent here, on the Fourth Amendment questions

presented by the search of ADM’s offices(a83-102). The parties

then submitted supplemental briefs addressing these new documents

(see a35, a38), which are called the "Tapes Memorandum" and the

"Warehouse Memorandum” in the court of appeals’ decision.

On April 6, 1993, the court of appeals rendered its judgment and

opinion (a1-70), affirming all of the convictions but remanding for

resentencing with instructions to vacate the sentences under Counts

2 and 3 for violations of 26 U.S.C. §7206, on the holding that those

lesser offenses merged into the convictions on Count 4 for attempted

tax evasion under 26 U.S.C. §7201 (a67-70). However, the court

of appeals declined to apply this same principle to either the wire

fraud charge in Count 5 or to the false statement charges in Counts

6-10 (a69n.61), expressly rejecting the defense argument that "the

Internal Revenue Code supplies the exclusive basis for tax fraud

prosecutions" (a49). The court of appeals further rejected the

defense’s objections to the jury charge on the "defraud" branch of

18 U.S.C. §371, the definition of “deductible expense," the defense

of truth to a charge under 18 U.S.C. §1001, and the definition of

reasonable doubt (see a52-58).

The court of appeals disagreed in part with the district court’s

Fourth Amendment analysis in the recently forwarded "Warehouse

Memorandum,” and ruled that "the warrant, by itself, was not

Sufficiently particular" (a44-45) to comply with the Fourth

Amendment. Furthermore, though the court of appeals felt that the

warrant included sufficient words of reference to incorporate the

Shintani affidavit, it found that the record failed to show that "the

affidavit accompanied the warrant at the search” (a48).

Eee

11

Nevertheless, the court of appeals declined to suppress, holding that

the presence of the affiant at the search could substitute for the

presence of the affidavit (a48), thus joining in a growing conflict

among the circuits on this point. The court of appeals also upheld

the district court’s denial of an evidentiary hearing on the false

allegations contained in the affidavit (a38-43).

The court of appeals further upheld the district court’s admission

of the tape recordings without a preliminary finding, interpreting the

district court’s inaction as an "implicit" finding (see a36, 38) that

“was not an abuse of discretion" (a36). Similarly, the court of

appeals also approved the district court’s application of the

sentencing guidelines to Count | on the “straddle” theory (a58-60),

and rejected the defense’s objections, inter alia, that the sentencing

judge had failed to make the requisite findings of each defendant's

participation in each of the ‘object offenses by a reasonable doubt

standard, as required by guidelines commentary, by referring to the

district court’s “adoption” of the presentence investigation reports

(see a59 & n.54; a61).

Defense motions for rehearing, including one by Petitioner Dale,

were denied on June 16, 1993 (a161).

REASONS FOR ALLOWING THE WRIT

I. There Is a Direct and Substantial Conflict among the Circuits

on the Important Fourth Amendment Question Whether an

Invalid General Search Warrant Can Be Cured by Reference to

an Affidavit that Does Not Accompany the Warrant at the

Search.

The Fourth Amendment provides that "no Warrants shall issue,

except upon probable cause, . . . and particularly describing. . .

the . . . things to be seized." U.S. Const., amd. IV. One might

think that, of all the possible issues presented under the Fourth

Amendment, this simple and indeed minimal requirement of

governmental regularity, explicitly set forth in the constitutional

text, would be relatively straightforward in application: either the

warrant meets the particularity requirement, in which case it is

lawful; or it does not, in which case the search is unlawful and any

12

evidence seized should be suppressed. But such simplicity is not the

case in the lower federal courts today. To the contrary, there is a

sharp conflict among decisions of the federal courts of appeals,

including the decision below in this case, on just how far the

government may deviate from its responsibilities before the

individual’s constitutional right will be enforced.

The precise issue decided here stems from a body of doctrine

developed in the lower federal courts in response to the obviously

frequent occurrence--judging from the large number of reported

decisions--that the warrant itself plainly does not meet the

Constitution’s particularity requirement, as the court of appeals held

here (a44-45).° In that context, the general doctrine has evolved

that the government’s violation of the Fourth Amendment will be

excused or “cured” by reference to the underlying affidavit in

support of the warrant application, assuming it is sufficiently

descriptive, where: (1) the affidavit’s description is incorporated by

reference in the warrant; and (2) the affidavit “accompanies” the

warrant at the search.’

That development alone would merit this Court’s attention. But

the development, and the divisions among the federal courts of

appeals, extend much further, both to varying interpretations of the

excusing criteria and to the questions whether both, either, or

neither of the two excusing elements are necessary to a decision

permitting the fruits of the search to be used. The First,* Second,’

Third,” Ninth,"’ and Tenth’? Circuits require the affidavit to be

* Thus, this Court’s decision in Andresen v. Maryland, 427 US. 463 (1976),

is not implicated here.

’ For a discussion of the general authority in this area, see 2 W. LaFave,

Search and Seizure §4.6(a)(2d ed. 1987). And see the cases cited below.

* United States v. Falcon, 959 F.2d 1143 (1st Cir. 1992); Application of

Lafayette Academy, 610 F.2d 1 (1st Cir. 1979).

* United States v. George, 975 F.2d 72 (2d Cir. 1992).

'° United States v. Johnson, 690 F.2d 60 (3d Cir. 1982).

7

13

both incorporated by reference and to accompany the warrant, while

the Fourth,” Eighth,"* and Eleventh’® Circuits permit either

element to suffice. The law of the Fifth and Sixth Circuits is

unclear, but a Sixth Circuit decision on the related requirement of

particularity in describing the place to be searched suggests that

neither of the excusing elements would be strictly required in that

court.'®

Prior to the decision below in this case, the D.C. Circuit

appeared to require both excusing elements,’’ but by the decision

in this case, the D.C. Circuit now has shifted into the category of

those Circuits allowing only one of the two excusing elements to

suffice, at least where, as here, there is an indication that the officer

executing the affidavit was present at the search.

Furthermore, there is yet another layer of disagreement among

the courts of appeals on the applicability of this Court’s decision in

United States v. Leon, 468 U.S. 897 (1984), in this context of

deficient particularity in the warrant. One group of decisions

reasons that Leon’s good faith exception is inapplicable, as Leon’s

predicate of a facially valid warrant is not met where the description

of things to be seized is not sufficiently particular on the face of the

'"! Center Art Galleries-Hawaii, Inc. v. United States, 875 F.2d 747 (9th Cir.

1989).

'2 United States v. Leary, 846 F.2d 592 (10th Cir. 1988).

'3 United States v. Washington, 852 F.2d 803 (4th Cir. 1988).

4 United States v Tagbering, 985 F.2d 946 (8th Cir. 1993), Rickert v.

Sweeney, 813 F.2d 907 (8th Cir. 1987).

'S United States v. Wuagneux, 683 F.2d 1343 (11th Cir. 1982).

'6 United States v. Gahagan, 865 F.2d 1490 (6th Cir. 1989).

'7 United States v. Maxwell, 920 F.2d 1028 (D.C. Cir. 1990); United States v.

Vaughn, 830 F.2d 1185 (D.C. Cir. 1987).

14

warrant."* A competing group of decisions applies Leon in this

context,’® holding that officers may reasonably rely on such a

warrant, at least where there are other mitigating factors, such as

the affiant’s presence at the search.”

Thus, there is a continuing and indeed growing conflict among

the courts of appeals on the criteria, if any, that will excuse the lack

of sufficient particularity in a search warrant. The conflict is well-

developed by the numerous reported decisions in the Circuits, and

it rests fundamentally on a clash of principle: whether the

particularity requirement is solely a matter of limiting the executing

officers’ discretion, or also extends to providing fair notice to the

defendant of the items subject to seizure. The question is ripe for

this Court’s decision, and is of manifestly broad importance, as the

issuance and execution of search warrants are the daily routine of

law enforcement throughout the Nation.

II. This Court Should Review the Lower Courts’ Application of

its Prior Decision in Franks v. Delaware.

In Franks v. Delaware, 438 U.S. 154 (1978), this Court sought

to establish guidelines for evidentiary challenges to the veracity of

probable cause affidavits. The application of those guidelines made

by the decision below would completely eviscerate the protections

envisioned by this Court in Franks, by setting an impossibly high

threshold standard for obtaining an evidentiary hearing. In this

way, the decision below is in conflict with this Court’s decision in

Franks.

For purposes of this Petition, we limit our focus to the sole

question of Agent Shintani’s failure to seek any verification of the

'* United States v. Leary, 846 F.2d 592 (10th Cir. 1988); United States v.

Decker, 956 F.2d 773 (8th Cir. 1992); Center Art Galleries-Hawaii, Inc. v. United

States, 875 F.2d 747 (9th Cir. 1989).

'9 United States v. Wuagneux, 683 F.2d 1343 (11th Cir. 1982); United States

v. Weinstein, 762 F.2d 1522 (11th Cir. 1985); United States v. Luk, 859 F.2d 667

(9th Cir. 1988).

United States v. Maxwell, 920 F.2d 1028 (D.C. Cir. 1990); United States v.

Luk, 859 F.2d 667 (9th Cir. 1988).

15

ex-employees’ allegations of illegal product substitution in ADM’s

Army contract, which, as the district court noted, was "[t}he

gravamen of the allegations in the affidavit" (a84). On this point,

unlike some of the others raised below by the defense,” there is

no question of the materiality of the allegations to the probable

cause determination, nor is there any question on this record of the

falsity of the allegations. The only question is whether Shintani’s

inclusion of those false allegations in the affidavit was a deliberate

or reckless falsehood, or, more precisely under Franks, whether the

defendants made "a substantial preliminary showing," Franks, 438

U.S. at 156, so as to require an evidentiary hearing.

In Franks, this Court described the requisite threshold showing as

follows:

"To mandate an _ evidentiary hearing, the

challenger’s attack must be more than conclusory

and must be supported by more than merely a mere

desire to cross-examine. There must be allegations

of deliberate falsehood or of reckless disregard for

the truth, and those allegations must be

accompanied by an offer of proof. They should

point out specifically the portion of the warrant

affidavit that is claimed to be false; and they shouid

be accompanied by a statement of reasons.

Affidavits or sworn or otherwise reliable statements

of witnesses should be furnished. . . ."

438 U.S. at 171. In this case, the defendants complied in every

way with the requirements of Franks: they specifically identified

the false allegations in the affidavit, and they submitted sworn

statements by Army officials showing that the allegations were false

(JA267-87), including a copy of an Army document showing the

Army’s full awareness and approval of the products being delivered

(JA284). This showing demonstrated not only that the allegations

were false, but also that it would have been extremely simple for

Shintani to discover that fact with a minimal amount of effort.

Nonetheless, the defendants were denied an evidentiary hearing

21 The defendants also challenged Agent Shintani’s reliance on the credibility

of her “informants,” the ex-ADM informants (see 240-42).

a

16

in the district court, and that ruling was affirmed on appeal. The

court of appeals’ decision noted a split in the Circuits on the

standard of review on appeal from a denial of a Franks hearing

(a39n.44), but it did not choose between them, holding that the

district court’s determination could be affirmed under either a

clearly erroneous or a de novo standard, thus effectively ruling as

a matter of law.

But aside from references to the general principle that an affiant

is not required to exhaust every possible lead, and the court of

appeals’ somewhat paranoic speculation that "Shintani’s failure to

contact Army officials may have been entirely prudent given the

possibility of a leak back to ADM” (a40),” the court of appeals’

analysis consists only of announcing its legal conclusion that "the

agent’s actions amounted to at most negligence which is insufficient

to warrant a Franks hearing" (a40 (emphasis by the court of

appeals)).

If the court of appeals’ ruling represents a correct interpretation

of the Franks standard, then Franks should be recast or overruled,

because it certainly is not achieving its purpose of controlling the

use of false allegations by government affiants, for it is difficult to

imagine a more aggravated situation of recklessness than the one

presented here. After all, Agent Shintani was not a policewoman

walking a beat or even an FBI agent. She was an employee of the

investigative arm of the Defense Department, the same Department

that includes the Army and that is charged with the protection of

this Nation’s security and its most sensitive secrets. If the failure

of such an agent to do any checking within her own Department to

verify allegations from untested informants does not, as a matter of

law, make even a “substantial preliminary showing” of reckless

~ There is no evidence in the record to support this speculation. The court

of appeals apparently was referring to the an allegation in Shintani’s affidavit that

ADM would "certainly destroy” documents if subpoenaed (see a40), attributed by

the affidavit to a source interviewed two days after the purported execution date

of the affidavit (see JA256). Even crediting that allegation, it is difficult to see

what it would have to do with a confidential consultation with Army officials or

with a review of the Defense Department’s own files, which would have revealed

the truth and could not have been destroyed by ADM.

17

disregard for truth, then what does? Furthermore, how do appellate

courts distinguish as a matter of law between negligence and

recklessness, especially on a preliminary record such as this? If

they cannot do so, should the Franks standard be reconsidered?

These questions all merit this Court’s attention, in this important

aspect of Fourth Amendment law that also is a part of the daily

routine of law enforcement.

IiI. This Court Should Settle the Important Question of the

Threshold Standard of Admissibility for Tape-Recorded

Evidence under the Federal Rules of Evidence.

Just recently, in Daubert v Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals, Inc.,

-- U.S. —, 113 U.S. 2786 (1993), this Court settled the uncertain

question of the threshold standard of admissibility for expert and

scientific evidence under the Federal Rules of Evidence. This case

presents the analogous question for another important category of

evidence--tape-recorded evidence of telephone conversations--that is

equally or more unsettled in the lower federal courts, and to some

extent is an aspect of the same question involved in Daubert,

because sound recordings in effect are scientific ewidence.

The questions presented here are broadly important, because

sound recordings--which already are common in criminal

prosecutions--are likely both to be used more frequently in all types

of litigation and to present unique problems of reliability, because

they are so easily altered or falsified by sophisticated means that lay

juries are unlikely to detect.

The admissibility threshold for sound recordings is all the more

appropriate for this Court’s attention because of the changes

wrought by the Federal Rules of Evidence, which on their face do

not treat the unique problems of sound recordings in any systematic

way and leave a doctrinal ambiguity in the assessment of sound

recordings’ reliability. In the decision below, as in other recent

decisions, this doctrinal ambiguity has produced an erosion of the

previously recognized standard of reliability. Moreover, that same

ambiguity seems to be at least partially responsible for the failure of

the decision below to observe this Court’s prior decisions on the

requirement of a preliminary determination under Rule 104 of the

Federal Rules of Evidence.

18

A. The Reliability Threshold

Prior to the enactment of the Federal Rules, the reliability of

sound recordings usually was treated as an aspect of the common-

law evidence doctrine of competency.” On that basis, the lower

federal courts evolved a general approach that is exemplified by the

D.C. Circuit’s own prior decision in United States v. Haldeman,

559 F.2d 31 (D.C. Cir. 1976), cert. denied, 431 U.S. 933 (1977),

which established a threshold reliability requirement that the

recordings be authentic, accurate, and trustworthy, and required the

trial court to find that “the possibilities of misidentification and

adulteration eliminated, not absolutely, but as a matter of reasonable

probability,” Haldeman, 559 F.2d at 107.

However, since the enactment of the Federal Rules of Evidence,

the approach of Haldeman and similar cases has been eroded by the

lack of any clear doctrinal basis in the Federal Ruies for applying

the threshold standard of competency,” and that development is

exemplified by the court of appeals’ decision in this case, which

essentially conflates the Haldeman standard into the distinct

requirement of authentication (see a36-38), and thereby deprives the

district court of its essential function of screeening out unreliable

evidence that the jury is unable fairly to evaluate.

The problems thus created are aptly illustrated by the context in

which the issue arose in this case in the district court. Unlike most

prior federal decisions involving sound recordings--where the

recordings had been made in the carefully supervised environment

of government wiretapping orders--but like the probable future

context of these issues in both civil and criminal litigation, here the

tapes proffered by the government purportedly were made by

private individuals, Bowers and Roth, using their own equipment,

* On the distinction between competency and relevancy, see generally 9

Wigmore on Evidence §2550 (Chadbourn rev. 1981).

* See, e.g., United States v. Slade, 627 F.2d 293 (D.C. Cir.), cert. denied,

449 U.S. 1034 (1977); United States v. King, 587 F.2d 956 (9th Cir. 1978); United

States v. Sandoval, 709 F.2d 1553 (D.C. Cir. 1983); United States v. Lance, 853

F.2d 1177 (Sth Cir. 1988); United States v. Sandoval, 960 F.2d 587 (6th Cir.

1992).

19

by their own private means and for their own private motives.

There was no officially supervised recording, no specially trained

operators, and no elaborate chain-of-custody testimony to eliminate

the problem of tampering or alteration.

To the contrary, there was obvious physical evidence of

tampering with the tape housings and a scientific analysis by a

defense expert finding electronic evidence of alteration (JA824-906).

But the district court simply threw the question to the jury, without

any preliminary finding or resolution of the scientific issues

presented, and the court of appeals affirmed that decision,

essentially on am abuse of discretion standard.

But the reliability questions raised in the district court were quite

different from the typical problems of authentication addressed by

Federal Evidence Rule 901, or by the "Best Evidence” Rule

provisions of Article X of the Federal Rules. The questions of

where and how, under the Federal Rules, questions of this sort

should be addressed, are questions that ought to be settled by this

Court.

A sensible approach would be to recognize that sound recordings

in fact are a form of scientific evidence, and therefore are directly

subject to the Daubert standard of reliability. Sound recordings are

neither testimony nor documents in the usual sense, but are, in

effect, "mechanical" or “electronic” testimony as to particular

historical events, and therefore depend for their probative force on

the reliability of the equipment, procedures, and underlying

scientific principles used to create the recording. Thus, sound

recordings--at least those whose accuracy is questioned--are more

analogous, for example, to x-rays than to ordinary photographs,~

and therefore should be subject to the standards of scientific

reliability.

Whether this approach should be taken, or some other is more

appropriate under the Federal Rules, is a decision that should be

made by this Court now, rather than allowing the lower courts to

% For a discussion of the distinction between the “demonstrative” theory

sometimes applied to ordinary photographs and the "silent witness” theory of

scientific foundation usually required for x-rays, and a consideration of the sound

recordings in this context, see 2 McCormick on Evidence §214 (4th ed. 1992).

acinar

20

continue struggling with the problem for years to come, to the

detriment of the fairness and efficacy of federal trials.

B. The Preliminary Determination

Regardless of the appropriate threshold showing, the decision

below was incorrect in excusing the district court’s failure to make

a preliminary determination of either reliability or authenticity under

Rule 104, under this Court’s prior decisions in Bourjaily v. United

States, 483 U.S. 171 (1987), and Huddleston v. United States, 485

U.S. 681 (1988).

If a reliability finding is required, then the district court’s failure

to make an explicit finding of the preliminary fact under Rule

104(a), as interpreted by this Court in Bourjaily to require the

application of a preponderance standard, plainly was error. See also

Daubert, 113 S. Ct. at 2796 & n.10. But even if the only

prerequisite was a sufficiency determination under Rule 104(b)--as,

for example, would be the case if only the Rule 901 authentication

standard is applicable--then this Court’s decision in Huddleston still

requires that the district court "decides whether" the sufficiency

showing has been made, see Huddleston, 485 U.S. at 689.

Under either standard, the district court is not permitted to do

nothing, nor does it have the "discretion" whether or not to make

the preliminary determination, as the court of appeals apparently

held here (see a36-38).

IV. This Court Should Review the Application of the General

Federal Fraud and Conspiracy Statutes to Income Tax Offenses.

What is the public policy justification for federal prosecutors’

well-known proclivities to multiply the counts of their indictments

by charging violations of the general federal conspiracy, fraud, and

false statement statutes in virtually every imaginable context?

Surely, it is not to make prosecutors’ lives easier, nor to

maximize the coverage of the federal net of criminalization, nor to

place a large part of the citizenry in fear of federal incarceration.

Nor can it be to permit federal prosecutors or juries to make up the

crimes as they go along, for that would contradict the fundamental

precepts of legality in criminal law. And particularly where the

— ———

21

Congress has acted to regulate an area of activity very specifically,

and defined an intricate technical sequence of specific criminal

offenses-as in the case of the Internal Revenue Code--what justifies

the continued application of these vague general statutes to

criminalize what the Congress may have chosen to exclude from the

criminal sanction, for good reason?

These questions have not much troubled the lower federal courts

in recent years, although there are some notable exceptions,

particularly in the context of tax offenses. The Sixth Circuit’s

decision in United States v. Minarik, 875 F.2d 1186 (6th Cir.

1989), raised the problem of “allow[ing] the fact situation to define

the crime,” 875 F.2d at 1191, in the context of applying the

"defraud" clause of 18 U.S.C. §371 to a situation otherwise

governed by 26 U.S.C. §7206, which is one of the charging statutes

involved here. And the well-regarded District Judge Weinfeld of

New York raised a similar concern in United States v. Henderson,

386 F. Supp. 1048 (S.D.N.Y. 1974), in the context of the

cumulative application of the mail fraud and internal revenue

offenses. Neither decision has been very popular in the other lower

federal courts,” including the courts below in this case.

But then again, the "intangible rights" theory of the federal mail

and wire fraud statutes was extremely popular in the lower federal

courts before this Court disapproved the theory in McNally v .

United States, 483 U.S. 350 (1987) and Carpenter v. United States,

484 U.S. 19 (1987); see also Tanner v. United States, 483 U.S. 107

(1987)(limiting the scope of 18 U.S.C. §371), and the reasoning of

McNally was to some extent anticipated by Judge Weinfeld in

Henderson and relied upon by the Sixth Circuit in Minarik.

What is perhaps most remarkable and significant about the

expansion of the general fraud and conspiracy statutes into the area

% for decisions distinguishing or criticizing Minarik, see, e.g., United States

v. Hurley, 957 F.2d 1 (1st Cir. 1992); United States v. Bilzerian, 916 F.2d 1285

(2d Cir. 1991); United States v. Arch Trading Company, 987 F.2d 1087 (4th Cir.

1993); United States v. Money, 949 F.2d 899 (6th Cir. 1991), and the district

court’s opinion in this case on the motions to dismiss the indictment (a106-11).

The court of appeals’ decision below collects authorities criticizing Henderson

(a50), although the court conceded that the decision “gives us some pause" (a49).

22

of tax offenses is the extent to which the development has proceeded

without the considered approval of this Court. The entire idea of

a violation of the “defraud” clause of 18 U.S.C. §371 through a

conspiracy to evade income taxes appears to have originated with

the Second Circuit’s decision in United States v. Klein, 247 F.2d

908 (2d Cir. 1957), and the theory often is called a “Klein

conspiracy” after that decision. But our research has failed to locate

a single instance in which this Court has even cited Klein.

Moreover, even the “offense” clause of 18 U.S.C. §371 to a tax

offense appears to have been involved significantly in only one

decision of this Court, United States v. Ingram, 360 U.S. 672

(1959). Ingram does not endorse the application of the “offense”

clause to attempted tax evasion, which is not as straightforward as

might at first appear, given the special characteristics of tax offenses

as they have been defined by the Congress and construed by this

Court.

Therefore, this very important area of the law appears not to have

been considered systematically by this Court, but to be primarily an

artifact of extensive development in the lower courts, as was the

"intangible rights" doctrine. That factor stands in contrast to the

Court’s prior attention to the substantive tax offenses, emphasizing

the integrated nature of the Internal Revenue Code’s offense

structure, as establishing "a penalty suitable to every degree of

delinquecy," Spies v. United States, 317 U.S. 492, 497 (1943); see

also Sansone v. United States, 380 U.S. 343, 351 (1965), which in

its “capstone” offense under 26 U.S.C. §7201 is strictly limited by

a stringent mens rea requirement, see Cheek v. United States, 111

S. Ct. 604 (1991); United States v. Pomponio, 429 U.S. 10 (1976);

Bishop v. United States, 412 U.S. 346 (1973).

There is an obvious tension between the strict and integrated

interpretation of the Internal Revenue Code offenses by this Court,

and the expansive importations of the general fraud and conspiracy

Statutes into the tax context by the lower courts, which merits this

Court’s attention.

The potential abuses of the expansive charging practices in the

lower courts are amply illustrated by the situation in this case,

where tax convictions were obtained without any actual or

realistically threatened revenue loss to the government. The only

23

tax “evasion” that occurred here was in the imagination of the

prosecutors, or, even viewing the evidence in the light most

favorable to the government, in the imaginations of the defendants.

But thoughts are not crimes, and the imposition of the criminal

sanction here is very probably unnecessary and counterproductive

from the standpoint of the criminal law, and almost certainly

detrimental to the government’s interest in maintaining a system of

revenues based primarily on self-assessment and self-correction.

The indictment here challenged a total of six transactions in its

expansive conspiracy count, only two of which were challenged as

constituting an attempt to evade under 26 U.S.C. §7201 or a lesser

included tax offense. Thus, the conspiracy count alone expanded

the reach of criminalization beyond that permitted by Congress in

the substantive tax offenses, in effect to reach back into an earlier

stage of development that the Congress chose not to criminalize in

the tax code--precisely the problem that troubled the Sixth Circuit

in Minarik.

Furthermore, the same problem arises under either clause of 18

U.S.C. §371, as applied even to the most serious of the tax

offenses. Under the "offense" clause, the application of §371

creates an offense of "conspiracy to attempt to evade," which is an

oxymoron in terms of general criminal law, which recognizes either

conspiracies or attempts, but not conspiracies to attempt--a concept

that, so the extent it has any coherence at all, simply is too far

removed from the threatened harm. Under the "defraud" clause,

§371 effectively would criminalize that which is not a crime at all,

because, by definition, the underlying conduct was insufficient to

support even the charge of "conspiracy to attempt to evade." -

In this context, the logic of Minarik is entirely sound: if the

prosecutors cannot charge under the specific Congressional

prohibition, then they should not be permitted to charge under the

general statutes. Absent some affirmative indication of

Congressional intent to the contrary, it is not logical to suppose that

the Congress took great pains to define the specific tax crimes only

to have those prohibitions trumped by the vague prohibitions of the

general statutes. At least, if that is to be the law of the United

States, it should be so declared by this Court.

Furthermore, in examining these questions, the Court should re-

24

examine its interpretation of the offense definitions in the Internal

Revenue Code itself, to determine whether the actus reus

requirement should be sharpened from the current standard of “any

affirmative act," based on this Court’s decisions in Spies and

Sansone. To some extent, this formulation suffers from the same

problems of vagueness and prematurity as the expansive applications

of the general fraud and conspiracy statutes, as there is no bright-

line test for incurring criminal liability. Under these circumstances,

the absence of a “safe harbor" from criminal liability actually may

impair the efficacy of the tax-collection system, by giving taxpayers

an affirmative disincentive to correct prior errors, and in this regard

it is of no moment whether the prior errors were deliberate or not.

If a taxpayer knows that it will obtain no protection from self-

correction, or, worse yet, that it will increase its exposure by self-

correction--as appears to have occurred in this case, where only the

self-correcting acts of filing amended returns were charged as

substantive tax offenses--then obviously taxpayers will have a

disincentive to correct those errors. The same level of deterrence

can be obtained, with more efficiency in tax collections, by more

sharply defining the point of criminal liability.

Finally, to the extent that the Court examines this subject, it also

should review the errors assigned by the defendants to the district

court’s instructions on the offenses involved, which are framed in

paragraph 7 of the questions presented by this Petition.

V. The Reasonable Doubt Definition Applied Below Was

Unconstitutional.

The district court’s jury instruction defining "reasonable doubt,"

and the court of appeals’ failure to reverse on that basis (a57-58),

are inconsistent with this Court’s decision in Cage v. Louisiana, 498

U.S. 39 (1990) (per curiam), which held a similar instruction

unconstitutional as a violation of the Due Process clause. Like the

instruction in Cage, the district court’s definition here placed undue

emphasis on the amount of uncertainty required for acquittal,

Stressing that the jurors had to be "so uncertain" that they did not

have an “abiding conviction” of guilt. Furthermore, the phrase "a

doubt for which you can give a reason" was inappropriate,

particularly as it followed immediately after the phrase "a doubt

25

based on reason" (see a57), thus indicating to the jurors that

something more than reasonable doubt was required, and implying

that the jurors that they could be called upon to justify their doubts

to the court.

VI. The Sentences Below Disregarded Sentencing Commission

Commentary.

In Stinson v. United States, --U.S.—-, 113 U.S. 1913

(1993), this Court held that Sentencing Commission commentary

that interprets or explains a sentencing guideline is binding on the

federal courts. That decision requires that Petitioner’s sentence on

the conspiracy count be vacated, because the district court failed to

follow commentary to USSG §1B1.2 requiring that sentencing on a

multi-object conspiracy count be predicated upon a finding by the

trial court, applying a reasonable doubt standard, that the defendant

was responsible for each object of the conspiracy. The commentary

is clearly set forth in Application Note 5 to that section and the

accompanying statement by the Commission upon the addition of

that note (see al69-70). Both the district court and the court of

appeals disregarded the reasonable doubt standard (see a61l).

Although the conspiracy here was alleged to have only the single

object of income tax evasion, it embraced several different object

offenses. Because the guidelines essentially “pass through" the

conspiracy count to the underlying object offense, a trial court

finding of guilt beyond a reasonable doubt is necessary as to each

one of the object offenses under the guidelines, because a jury

verdict logically could rest on any one of them and therefore the

verdict itself establishes none.

VI. The "Straddle" Theory of Guideline Sentencing Was

Unconstitutional as Applied in this Case.

The decision below applied the so-called "straddle" theory

to sentence the Petitioner under the sentencing guidelines only on

Count 1, while all other counts were sentenced under pre-guidelines

law (see a58-60). Whatever the merits of the “straddle” theory

more generally, as applied here the theory violates the Double

Jeopardy Clause’s prohibition against multiple punishments because

26

it bases two legally distinct sentences--both guidelines and pre-

guidelines, on exactly the same conduct. This effect results from

the “relevant conduct” provisions of the guidelines, which require

the consideration of an entire course of allegedly related conduct,

see USSG §1B1.3, and thus force a duplicative sentence, which

violates Double Jeopardy unless the pre-guidelines conduct is

separated out and sentenced solely under prior law, United States v.

Niven, 952 F.2d 289 (9th Cir. 1991). Furthermore, if the pre-

guidelines conduct is not separated out from consideration from the

guidelines sentence, then the guidelines as applied would have the

retrospective effect of increasing the total sentence for offense

conduct that was, by definition, complete prior to the effectiveness

of the guidelines, and in that instance also would violate the Ex Post

Facto clause under the standards of this Court’s decision in Miller

v. Florida, 482 U.S. 423 (1987).

Conclusion

For the reasons stated above, a writ of certiorari should issue to

review the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the

District of Columbia Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

JEFFREY S. PARKER

3401 North Fairfax Drive

Arlington, Virginia 22201

(703) 993-8055

Counsel for Petitioner

David M. Dale

September 14, 1993

APPENDIX

ae SS Ne ee ee

al

Notice: This opinion is subject to formal revision before publication in

the Federal Reporter or U.S.App.D.C. Reports. Users are requested to

notify the Clerk of any formal errors in order that corrections may be made

before the bound volumes go to press.

Gnited States Court of Appeals

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

Argued November 18, 1992 Decided April 6, 1993

No. 91-3228

Unitep States oF AMERICA.

APPELLEE

Vv.

Davin M. Date.

APPELLANT

No. 91-3229

Unitep Srartes or AMERICA,

APPELLEE

Vv.

MICHELLE ASHTON,

APPELLANT

Bills of costs must be filed within 14 days after entry of judgment.

The court looks with disfavor upon motions to file bills of costs out

of time.

a2

No. 91-3230

Unitep STATES OF AMERICA

APPELLEE

v.

MartTIN SEGAL,

APPELLANT

No. 91-3231

Unitep StaTes oF AMERICA,

APPELLEE

v.

AUTOMATED DaTA MANAGEMENT, INC.,

APPELLANT

No. 91-3232

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

APPELLEE

v.

TERENCE SWEENEY.

APPELLANT

a3

Appeals from the United States District Court

for the District of Columbia

(Criminal No. 90-00027)

Samuel J. Buffone for appellant David M. Dale in No. 91-

3228

Paul Mogin, with whom Brendan V. Sullivan, Jr. was on

the brief, for appellant Michelle L. Ashton in No. 91-3229.

Alan M. Dershowitz, with whom R. Stan Mortenson and

Scott L. Nelson were on the brief, for appellant Martin Segal

in No. 91-3230. 7

W. Neil Eggleston, with whom Laura S. Shores was on the

brief, for appellant Terence A. Sweeney in No. 91-3232.

Kenneth Michael Robinson was on the brief for appellant

Automated Data Management, Inc. in No. 91-3231. Robert

F. Muse also entered an appearance for appellant Automated

Data Management, Inc.

Stephen P. Anthony, Assistant United States Attorney,

with whom Jay B. Stephens, United States Attorney, and

John R. Fisher, Robert J. Meyer and Helene Kazanjian,

Assistant United States Attorneys, were on the brief, for

appellee.

Before Wap, Rutu B. Ginssurc and Henperson, Circuit

Judges.

Opinion Per CuriaM.

Per Curiam: The defendants, a corporation and its officers,

challenge their convictions and sentences on various counts of

fraud against the United States and its agencies. For the

reasons set out below, we affirm their convictions in toto but

remand for resentencing pursuant to Part X(F) of this opin-

ion.

I. Facts

On appeal from a criminal conviction, this court must view

the evidence in the light most favorable to the government,

allowing it the benefit of all reasonable inferences that may

eee hhh

a4

be drawn from the evidence and permitting the jury to

determine the weight and credibility of the evidence. United

States v. Smith, 964 F.2d 1221, 1223 (D.C. Cir. 1992); United

States v. Butler, 924 F.2d 1124, 1126 (D.C. Cir.), cert. denied,

112 S. Ct. 205 (1991). So viewed, the evidence reveals the

following material facts. ~

Defendant Automated Data Management, Inc. (ADM) is a

Washington, D.C. firm founded in the early 1980s by defen-

dant Michelle Ashton, its president. In late 1984, Ashton

hired defendant David Dale as “Executive Vice-President”

and at about the same time issued to him 18% of ADM’s

stock, retaining the other 82% for herself. In early 1985,

ADM obtained a contract to sell computers to the United

States Army under the “minority set-aside” program of the

Small Business Administration (SBA).

In late 1985, ADM established offices abroad in Germany

and Korea and hired a new vice-president to manage each:

defendant Terence Sweeney in Germany and defendant David

Bowers in Korea. In addition, defendant Martin Segal was

hired as ADM’s in-house accountant in September 1986 and

later received the title “Chief Financial Officer.”

In August 1987 Bowers left ADM after a falling-out with

Dale and Ashton—and after secretly taping telephone conver-

sations he had with each of them. Bowers subsequently

assisted a government investigation of ADM’s operations that

led to the defendants’ indictments and convictions. Those

convictions were based on the defendants’ allegedly fraudu-

lent tax treatment of various financial transactions involving

ADM’s Asian and European operations and on certain alleged

misrepresentations or nondisclosures on government forms

completed by defendants Ashton and Dale. We now summa-

rize the facts underlying the convictions.

A. Tax Fraud

All five defendants were convicted both of tax fraud and of

conspiracy to commit tax fraud. While the substantive tax

fraud counts involved only ADM’s 1986 corporate return, the

conspiracy count involved other aspects of ADM’s operations

lal

ad

in both Asia and Europe. We describe separately the fraudu-

lent activity relating to each location.

1. Asia

After taking charge of ADM’s Korean operations, defen-

dant Bowers determined ADM should take advantage of

Asian business opportunities unrelated to its Army contracts.

In order to circumvent legal restrictions on such activity,’

Bowers, after consulting with Dale, arranged for Nancy Ed-

wards, a legal adviser to ADM’s Korean office, to set up a

Guam corporation which would not be subject to the restric-

tions. Edwards and her husband incorporated Asia Manage-

ment Systems, Inc. in late summer 1986. Soon thereafter the

corporate name was changed to ADM Asia and ownership

transferred to Ashton, Dale and Bowers. Ashton and Dale

each acquired a 37.5% interest in the company, while Bowers

received the remaining 25%. Upon Dale’s instruction to

acquire additional companies, Bowers arranged for Edwards

to purchase four Hong Kong corporations, Capulus, Fossano,

Swaffham and Gemona, which were apparently shells with no

assets other than documents of incorporation. During late

October and early November 1986 ownership of Swaffham

and Gemona was transferred to Ashton, Dale and Bowers in

the same percentages as ADM Asia.” There followed a

number of financial transactions involving the related corpo-

rations on which the government based some of its tax fraud

charges.

First, during 1986 Bowers arranged for Dale and Ashton to

obtain payments totalling $50,000 from ADM funds chan-

nelled through the Korean office. Dale received $20,000 in

February 1986% and Ashton received $20,000 in

1 Provisions in a “Status of Forces Agreement” prohibited ADM

from doing business in Korea with any party other than the United

States government.

2 Ownership of the other two corporations was transferred to

Bowers and his wife for their own development.

3On a visit to Korea, Dale gave Bowers a check from ADM for

$50,000, purportedly to cover operating expenses. A deposit slip

a

a6

May‘ and $10,000 in September.® Neither Dale nor Ashton

reported these amounts as personal income on their 1986

federal income tax returns.

Second, between August 1986 and March 1987 ADM made

three payments to related companies that it treated, falsely,

as legitimate business deductions.

In August 1986, ADM paid $200,000 to Arlington Associates

(Arlington), a company owned in equal shares by Dale and

Ashton.’ This payment was recorded in Arlington’s books as

a bank loan from Guam National Bank. Sometime in late

summer or early fall 1986, Dale instructed Bowers to draft

documents representing that the $200,000 payment was a loan

to Arlington from Asia Management Systems, Inc., the Guam

corporation that Ashton, Dale and Bowers had acquired on

August 29, 1986, and subsequently renamed ADM Asia, Inc.

During December 1986 ADM paid a total of $417,532 to

Swaffham and Gemona, the two Hong Kong companies ac-

quired by Ashton, Dale and Bowers, for studies and services

dated February 29, 1986, reflects a deposit to ADM’s Korean

checking account of a $50,000 check, less $20,000 received in cash.

ADM’s check register characterizes the transaction as simply a

$30,000 deposit.

‘ During a visit to Korea by both Dale and Ashton, Dale gave

Bowers two checks, each in the amount of $50,000, for “Korea

Operating Expenses” and instructed Bowers to give him two signed

checks for $10,000 each, with the payee left blank. These checks

were later dated June 3, 1986, and made out to the order of “D.C.

National Bank”—the funds were apparently used by Ashton to

purchase a condominium.

5 Bowers cashed a $10,000 check drawn on ADM’s Korean check-

ing account and sent the proceeds to Ashton who was in Hong

Kong. |

. §At Dale’s request, Bowers wrote a $205,000 check on ADM’s

Korean account, payable to his wife; the check was deposited into

the Bowerses’ joint checking account and Bowers then wrote a

personal check to Arlington for $200,000.

ee

a7

never actually performed.’ ADM recorded these payments

as deductible business expenses.

Finally, in March 1987 Bowers and Dale created a phony

debt of $500,000 to Swaffham and documentation to support

it. The debt was for software development purportedly

performed by Swaffham but actually performed by employees

of ADM in Korea at a cost of only about $30,000. The debt

was treated as an accrual and deducted as a business expense

on ADM’s 1986 tax return.

2. Europe

In Germany, defendant Sweeney hired Larry Knight in

February 1986 as a consultant to assist with the European

operations. Later that same year, Sweeney and Knight

formed an interim German partnership to enable ADM to

take advantage of non-Army business opportunities in Germa-

ny until a German corporation could be established.’ On

November 18, 1986, a German corporation, ADM Hard- und

7 At Dale’s direction, Bowers created three bogus invoices: two

from Gemona, dated November 11 and December 15, 1986, seeking

payment of, respectively, $89,000 and $185,422 for marketing and

product studies, and one from Swaffham, dated December 15, 1986,

seeking payment of $143,110 for consulting services. While visiting

Washington, D.C. in December 1986, Bowers received from Segal

three checks for the invoiced amounts, one signed by Ashton, the

other two by Dale. Bowers deposited the checks into Gemona’s and

Swaffham’s Hong Kong bank accounts.

8In February 1987 Dale told Bowers to create invoices for the

work from either Swaffham or Gemona. They decided on the

$500,000 amount only after some discussion and apparently based

on how much they thought they “c[ould] get away with.” See infra

note 36. Incident to the arrangement, Bowers created a phony

“Software Development Contract,” backdated letters between Bow-

ers and Swaffham and an invoice which he sent by facsimile to Dale.

* Apparently, German law prohibited ADM itself from entering

into or performing any contracts other than the Army contract that

brought it to Germany.

a8

Software Handelgesellschaft GmbH in Deutschland (ADM

H&S), was incorporated to assume the partnership’s busi-

ness.!° Qwnership of ADM H&S was divided among Ashton

(37.5%), Dale (37.5%) and Sweeney (25%) and Knight was

appointed general manager."

Over the next two years, ADM made substantial payments

to Bourbonia Invest AG, a Swiss investment firm operated by

Gerd Wormer, an investment counselor and old friend of

Knight. At trial, the government asserted and furnished

evidence to show that these payments in fact accrued to the

benefit of Ashton, Dale, ADM and ADM H&S and were

fraudulently treated by ADM as business deductions.

The first Bourbonia payment, for $316,000, was made in

December 1986, pursuant to two invoices signed by Wormer

and dated December 11, 1986, a time when Sweeney and

Knight were in the midst of a two-day meeting with Wormer

at Wormer’s home. One of the invoices sought payment for

“Product Development Consulting for the period March 86, to

December 86,” Joint Appendix (JA) 1984, and the other “for

Services rendered in accordance with letter contract as of

March 11, 1986 for Machine Language Translation Research

and Development Project,” JA 1985. Request forms to ADM

10 As of that date the earlier partnership was dissolved and all of

its business activities transferred to ADM H&S.

The new corporation was capitalized with $88,000 paid by

ADM, allegedly in return for research performed by Knight. To

support the payment, Sweeney prepared and signed what can only

be a back-dated letter which “authorized Mr. Larry Knight acting

in behalf of ‘Hard- und Software Handelgeselleschaft mbH fuer

Deutschland’ [sic] (H&S), a company which is the process [sic] of

being licensed to operate in West Germany, to begin a market

project to provide the basic guidance required to form a business

plan and direct the efforts of ADM into these new markets.” Joint

Appendix 2032. The letter further stated: “Based on my negotia-

tions, I estimate the cost of this project to be approximately

$90,000. The project will be completed by the end of this year. I

will develop a contract in the near future for your review and

approval.” Jd The letter was dated January 12, 1986, some seven

or eight months before ADM H&S’s corporate name was selected.

2 a

a9

for checks to pay the Bourbonia invoices were marked “OK

MS from D. Dale 12/22/86” and “Sent Via Bank Wire

12/22/86” and one of them was signed by Segal. ADM

deducted the $316,000 payment as a business expense on its

1986 tax return. In late 1986, Bourbonia made a payment to

ADM H&S of about $125,000 to purchase five vehicles, one

for Knight’s use and the other four to be leased to ADM., Inc.

Sweeney and Knight characterized the payment as a loan, but

the government maintains the funds came from the $316,000

Bourbonia payment and were never intended to be repaid,

which in fact they were not.

The second Bourbonia payment was made in January 1988

pursuant to an invoice dated December 26, 1987, requesting

payment of $102,655 for “consulting services for 1987 as per

sep. agreement.” Ashton signed a check request form dated

January 5, 1988, indicating payment had been requested by

Segal and authorizing payment of the requested amount.

Dale signed a check to Bourbonia for $102,655 dated January

26, 1988.

Ashton and Dale both maintained investment accounts with

Bourbonia at least as early as 1987. Forms filed with the

IRS indicated that in 1987 each had $10,000-$50,000 in an

account with Wormer, while in 1988 the balance in each

account had grown to more than $100,000.

B. Other Fraudulent Activity

Apart from tax fraud, the jury also convicted Dale, Ashton

and ADM of fraud in connection with four forms Dale and

Ashton submitted to government agencies.

The first three frauds involved forms Dale and Ashton filed

with the Department of Defense (DOD) in early 1987 to

obtain a security clearance for ADM. In late January and

early February 1987, Dale and Ashton each completed a DOD

“Personnel Security Questionnaire,” on which each responded

“yes” to the question “Do you have any foreign property or

business connections or have you ever been employed by or

acted as a consultant or representative for a foreign govern-

ment” and each identified the 37.5 % interest held in ADM

H&S and ADM Asia. Neither mentioned any connection with

al0 j

Gemona or Swaffham, although each had acquired a 37.5%

interest in the two companies by November 1986. In early

February 1987 each also completed a DOD “Statement of

Full Disclosure of All Foreign Connections,” purporting to

“hereby explain and fully disclose my foreign connections”

but listing only their interests in ADM H&S. Finally, about

the same time, Ashton signed a DOD “Certificate Pertaining

to Foreign Interests” in which she responded “no” to the

question “Does your organization have interlocking directors

with foreign interests.” Dale also signed the document to

certify that Ashton had authority to act on ADM’s behalf.

The fourth fraud related to an “Application for Small

Business Determination” Ashton filed with the Small Busi-

ness Administration (SBA) on April 10, 1987. On the form

she identified herself and Dale as officers of ADM and

answered “yes” to the question “Are any of the persons listed

[above as owners, partners, officers, directors, & principal

stockholders] owners, partners, directors, officers, employees

or principal stockholders in any other company?” In re-

sponse to a direction to identify the other companies and

offices held, however, she failed to mention her or Dale’s

interests in or positions with Arlington, Swaffham, Gemona,

ADM, ADM H&S or ADM Asia.”*

C. Bowers’ Disaffection and Its Aftermath

According to Bowers, in early 1987 he became concerned

about his future with ADM and about potential criminal

liability. As a result, he took a number of measures in

contemplation of departing ADM. First, in March 1987, he

began to tape record telephone conversations he had with

both Ashton and Dale, in an apparent effort to protect

himself.'* Next, in April 1987 Bowers withdrew about $100,-

000 from Gemona’s and Swaffham’s bank accounts, reasoning

12 Ashton identified no other companies or offices for herself and

for Dale identified only a nonprofit organization of which he was an

officer.

13 At trial, Bowers explained:

ea ceaiaeaeaaliall

all

that the funds represented his 25% interest in the two

corporations. Later, sometime after mid-July, he withdrew

the remaining money from the corporations’ accounts, again,

according to his testimony, to protect himself. Finally, on

August 14, 1987, Bowers faxed a resignation letter to Ashton

in the United States.

In response to Bowers’ resignation, Ashton and Segal flew

to Korea and negotiations ensued during which Ashton,

through Segal, attempted to persuade Bowers to turn over all

business records, including all tape recordings of telephone

conversations, to surrender his interests in ADM Asia,

Gemona and Swaffham and to agree to several measures

designed to protect the interests of ADM, Dale and Ashton.”

Ultimately, Bowers returned to the United States, without

succumbing to Ashton’s demands, and sought legal counsel.

After Bowers’ resignation ADM and its principals took

steps to alter the tax treatment of many of the transactions

described above.

First, sometime in August or September 1987, Segal in-

formed ADM’s outside accountant, Grant Thornton, that

I believed that one of the problems, if I was to extricate myself

from a situation that I had put myself in, was that I wanted it

clear that it wasn’t just me that was giving directions and

replying to requests, and I just wanted the record clear in that

respect, I wanted to make sure that I was protected.

JA 1097.

14 Bowers testified at trial: “I didn’t want the money to be moved

and then me made out to be—you know, everything tried to be

erased like it never happened, and I be put in a position where I

could be accused of things.” JA 1109.

18 At one point, Bowers was presented with a proposed settlement

agreement under which he was to indemnify ADM, Ashton and Dale

for any liability arising from the Korean activities, to refrain from

testifying against them in a pending lawsuit by another ADM vice

president, Chuck Roth, to acknowledge certain facts regarding

Roth’s terms of employment, to give up all interest in ADM Asia,

Gemona and Swaffham and to “turnover [sic] to M. Ashton all

documents, tapes, statements and evidence of any kind which he or

Roth may ever have intended to use against {[ADM, Ashton and

Dale).” JA 2715.

al2

ADM’s records had to be changed because of recently discov-

ered information, namely that the $417,532 paid to Gemona

and Swaffham in December 1986, allegedly for marketing

studies, was not deductible and that there were additional

Korean revenue of $348,337 that had not previously been

“booked.” The accountants accordingly prepared ADM’s

1986 tax return, which, pursuant to an extension, was not

filed until September 15, 1987, to reflect this information. An

amended return, filed in 1988, reduced the amount of the

additional revenue to $311,643.

Second, on November 30, 1987, Dale and Ashton met with

their personal accountant and told him they had received

expense advances in 1986 that had not been included on their

1986 individual returns. After this meeting, Ashton filed an

amended 1986 tax return dated December 2, 1987, adding to

her taxable income $40,000 that she characterized as “travel

advances not included in her 1986 W-2 wages.” JA 2217-18.

Dale decided against filing an amended return because he

wanted to determine whether his extra $10,000 might be

offset by amounts ADM owed him. He subsequently added

the $10,000 to the taxable income reported in his 1987 tax

return.

Third, at some point, probably after August 21, 1987, Dale

and Ashton signed a promissory note to repay ADM the

$200,000 it had furnished to Arlington in August 1986. The

payment to Arlington had initially been recorded as a loan

from Guam National Bank and was later characterized by

Dale as a loan from Asia Management Systems, Inc.'’ This

note is now marked “paid 12/31/87.”"* JA 1979.

16 There is no apparent explanation in the record for the discrep-

ancy between the amounts Ashton and Dale reported to the IRS,

$40,000 and $10,000 respectively, and the amounts each received

according to Bowers’ testimony, $30,000 and $20,000 respectively.

See supra pp. 5-6.

17 August 21, 1987 is the date that appears on the note’s face but

it is unlikely that both Dale and Ashton signed it on that day since

it appears Ashton was then in Korea and Dale was in Washington.

18 A document from Dale’s and Ashton’s personal accountant’s file

indicates that as of February 29, 1988, the “Guam National Bank

loan” was stil] outstanding and no payments had been made,

although the next entry states: “Paid w/ $206,250 capital contribu-

tion from David M. Dale, $200,000 loan, $6250 interest.” Trial

al3

Fourth, at some point, apparently during summer 1988

after federal agents searched ADM’s headquarters on June

16, 1988, Segal informed one of ADM’s accountants that in

December 1986 ADM had mistakenly paid $316,000 in con-

sulting fees on behalf of ADM H&S and asked what should be

done. The accountant then prepared an amended 1986 re-

turn, dated August 25, 1988, and signed by Ashton, eliminat-

ing the deduction previously taken for the December 1986

Bourbonia payment. In a memorandum to the accountant

dated August 8, 1988, Segal explained that both that payment

and the $102,655 payment in the following year “were paid in

error by ADM, Inc.” JA 2349. The memo further stated

that “a loan will be set up in Michelle’s and David’s name to

ADM, Inc. for the amounts sent to Bourbonia” and that

“{iJnterest on the notes will accrue from the day the funds

were disbursed from ADM, Inc.” Jd. Subsequently, four

promissory notes were prepared, dated August 10, 19838,

dividing the indebtedness between Dale and Ashton according

to their respective ownership interests in ADM. Ashton and

Dale each signed two of the notes and Segal witnessed all

four. Each note is now marked “Paid 8/12/88.” See JA 2034,

2035.

Finally, in March 1989, after additional government investi-

gation and subpoenaing of documents, Segal told one of

ADM’s accountants that he had discovered a $500,000 accrual

taken as a deduction in 1986 that had not been reversed when

it later went unpaid. Accordingly, the accountant prepared

an amended return, dated March 30, 1989, deleting the $500,-

000 deduction, and Segal signed it. The amended return

explained its purpose as “[t]o adjust consulting expense for

amounts accrued in 1986 but never paid subsequent Decem-

ber 31, 1986 [sic] and erroneously not reversed by Accounting

Department.” JA 2253.

Transcript 3073-75. The accountant testified that he had no per-

sonal knowledge of the repayment but had merely been informed of

it by Dale.

al4

D. Indictment and Trial

On January 11, 1990, an indictment was returned against

ADM, Dale, Ashton, Sweeney and Segal, charging the follow-

ing counts:

(1) Against all five defendants: conspiracy (in violation

of 18 U.S.C. § 371) (a) to defraud the United States by

impeding the IRS’ assessment and collection of taxes and

(b) to commit the following offenses against the United

States: (i) tax evasion (26 U.S.C. § 7201), (ii) subscribing

to a false return and aiding and abetting the preparation

of a false return (26 U.S.C. §§ 7206(1) and 7206(2)) and

(iii) false statements and concealing facts by trick,

scheme and device from the IRS, the SBA and the DOD

(18 U.S.C. § 1001); '

(2) Against Dale and ADM: subscribing to a false tax

return (in violation of 26 U.S.C. § 7206(1)) (for signing

the 1986 ADM tax return falsely deducting the $500,0000

debt to Swaffham and the $316,000 payment to Bourbo-

nia);

(3) Against Ashton, Sweeney and Segal: aiding and

assisting in the preparation and presentation of a false

and fraudulent return (in violation of 26 U.S.C.

§ 7206(2)) (for actions related to ADM’s 1986 return and

its two fraudulent deductions);

(4) Against all five defendants: attempted tax evasion

(in violation of 26 U.S.C. § 7201) and aiding and abetting

(in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 2) (for actions related to the

underreporting of taxable income on ADM’s 1986 re-

turn);

18 Count 1 specifically identified as acts of the tax evasion conspir-

acy the following transactions: the deduction of the $417,532 Gemo-

na payment, the $500,000 Swaffham accrual and the $316,000 and

$102,655 Bourbonia payments, the failure to treat as income the

$200,000 Arlington disbursement and the $50,000 payments to Dale

and Ashton and the creation of phony explanations in amended

returns for the initial treatment of the $500,000 accrual, the $316,-

000 payment and the $50,000 payments.

al5

(5) Against Dale, Ashton, Sweeney and ADM: wire

fraud (in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1343) and aiding and

abetting (in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 2) (for causing the

wire transfer of the $316,000 Bourbonia payment with

intent to commit tax fraud);

(6) Against Ashton and ADM: concealing facts by

trick, scheme and artifice (in violation of 18 U.S.C.

§ 1001) and aiding and abetting (in violation of 18 U.S.C.

§ 2) (for Ashton’s nondisclosure of her relationship with

Gemona or Swaffham in the DOD “Personnel Security

Questionnaire”);

(7) Against Dale and ADM: concealing facts by trick,

scheme and artifice (in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1001) and

aiding and abetting (in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 2) (for the

same nondisclosure in Dale’s “Personnel Security Ques-

tionnaire”);

(8) Against Ashton and ADM: concealing facts by

trick, scheme and artifice (in violation of 18 U.S.C.

§ 1001) and aiding and abetting (in violation of 18 U.S.C.

§ 2) (for Ashton’s nondisclosure of her Swaffham and

Gemona interests in her February 1987 “Statement of

Full Disclosure of All Foreign Connections”);

(9) Against Dale and ADM: concealing facts by trick,

scheme and artifice (in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1001) and

aiding and abetting (in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 2) (for

Dale’s identical nondisclosure); and

(10) Against Dale, Ashton and ADM: making false

statements (in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1001) and aiding

and abetting (in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 2) (for denying

the existence of interlocking directorships with foreign

interests in the “Certificate Pertaining to Foreign Inter-

ests”).

JA 141-74.

On July 23, 1990, after a lengthy trial, a jury returned a

guilty verdict on each count against each defendant named

therein. On July 15, 1991, the trial court sentenced Dale,

Ashton, Segal and ADM. Dale was sentenced to 4] months’

imprisonment on count 1, vith concurrent 30 month sentences

a 16

on each of the other counts against him, 2 years’ supervised

release, a special assessment of $350 and a $675,000 fine and

was assessed $58,037.96 for incarceration costs. Ashton was

sentenced to 37 months’ imprisonment on count 1, with

concurrent 30 month sentences on each of the other counts

against her, 2 years’ supervised release and a $225,000 fine

and was assessed $52,375.72 for incarceration costs. Segal

was sentenced to 24 months’ imprisonment on count 1, with

concurrent sentences of 12 months on each of the other

counts against him. ADM was assessed a $360,000 fine and a

$450 special assessment. Sweeney’s sentencing was delayed

until August 13, 1991, when he was sentenced to concurrent

prison terms of 18 months on counts 1, 3, 4 and 5, 2 years of

supervised release and a $15,000 fine. The defendants chal-

lenge both their convictions and sentences and we address

their various arguments below.

II. SuFFicieENCY OF THE EVIDENCE

Each defendant challenges the sufficiency of the evidence

to support the convictions. The court’s review here is a

narrow one. First, as noted above, we must view the evi-

dence in the light most favorable to the government, defer-

ring to the jury’s weight and credibility determinations.

United States v. Smith, 964 F.2d 1221, 1223 (D.C. Cir. 1992);

United States v. Butler, 924 F.2d 1124, 1126 (D.C. Cir.), cert.

denied, 112 S. Ct. 205 (1991). In addition, the court must

affirm each conviction if any rational trier of fact could have

found the essential elements of the offense charged beyond a

reasonable doubt. United States v. Long, 905 F.2d 1572, 1576

(D.C. Cir.), cert. denied, 111 S. Ct. 365 (1990). Applying

these principles, we reject seriatim each defendant’s sufficien-

cy challenge.

A. Ashton

Defendant Ashton contends there was insufficient evidence

to support her conviction on any of the counts on which she

was convicted, namely counts 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8 and 10. For the

al7

following reasons, we find the evidence suificient to support

her convictions on all seven counts.”

First, Ashton argues we must reverse her convictions on

counts 6, 8 and 10, charging her with concealing facts from

and making false statements to the federal government in

violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1001” and those portions of count 1

alleging conspiracy to violate that section because the evi-

dence was insufficient to establish either that her misstate-

ments or nondisclosures on the DOD and SBA forms were

made “knowingly and willfully,” as required under the stat-

ute, or that they were material. We find neither contention

persuasive.

Ashton’s first challenge to her convictions on counts 6, 8

and 10 is that under a reasonable interpretation of the forms

cited in those counts, her statements on them were literally

true and complete. While Ashton’s interpretation of the law

regarding section 1001 appears consistent with the holdings

in other circuits,“ we nevertheless conclude her convictions

2 For the same reasons, we also reject ADM’s sufficiency chal-

lenge which adopts Ashton’s arguments by reference. See ADM

Brief at 8.

21 This section provides:

Whoever, in any matter within the jurisdiction of any depart-

ment or agency of the United States knowingly and willfully

falsifies, conceals or covers up by any trick, scheme, or device a

material fact, or makes any false, fictitious or fraudulent state-

ments or representations, or makes or uses any false writing or

document knowing the same to contain any false, fictitious or

fraudulent statement or entry, shall be fined not more than

$10,000 or imprisoned not more than five years, or both.

18 U.S.C. § 1001.

2 See, e.g., United States v. Gahagan, 881 F.2d 1380 (6th Cir.

1989); United States v. Race, 632 F.2d 1114, 1120 (4th Cir. 1980);

United States v. Vesaas, 586 F.2d 101, 104 (8th Cir. 1978); United

States v. Anderson, 579 F.2d 455, 459-60 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 439

U.S. 980 (1978); United States v. Diogo, 320 F.2d 898, 906-07 (2d

Cir. 1963).

CS

al8

must be affirmed because her statements on those forms

were not literally true under a reasonable interpretation of

the forms.

Ashton first claims she could not be convicted under counts

6 and 8 because the expressions “foreign ... business connec-

tions” in the “Personnel Security Questionnaire” (count 6) and

“foreign connections” in the “Statement of Full Disclosure of

All Foreign Connections” (count 8) can reasonably be inter-

preted to refer only to “actual status as an owner or director

of a foreign company,” and that she did not enjoy that status

when she completed those forms because certain formalities

required under Hong Kong law had not yet been satisfied.”

We reject this claim summarily, finding Ashton’s interpreta-

tion of “connections” far too restrictive. In its common

usage, the word “connection” has a broad meaning™ that

certainly embraces Ashton’s relationship to the two Hong

Kong corporations of which she was by January 1987 indis-

putably both an owner and director, if not de jure at least de

2 Ashton asserts the record does not establish she was a legal

owner or director of the two Hong Kong corporations before she

signed the cited DOD forms because (1) corporate minutes indicate

the transfer of ownership in the company was approved only

“subject to stamping,” meaning subject to stamping by the Stamp

Duty Office in Hong Kong, and there is no evidence stamping

occurred before the forms were completed in late January and early

February 1987; (2) notices of change of directors for the two Hong

Kong corporations were not filed with the Hong Kong Registrar of

Companies unti] February 27, 1987; and (3) a letter dated March

12, 1987, from Edwards to a Hong Kong law firm noted that the

firm “had never received new bank signature cards nor any docu-

ments effecting change of directors and transfer of shares” and

stated: “If you could effect such changes and provide the bank with

the appropriate signature cards I would be most appreciative.” JA

2744.

“4 See Webster’s Third New International Dictionary 481 (1981)

(defining “connection” as “the state of being connected or linked”

and as “a social, professional, or commercial relationship in a

practical or active way”).

al9

facto. Because Ashton’s proffered construction of the

forms’ language was unreasonable, we reject her challenge to

her convictions on counts 6 and 8.”

We similarly reject Ashton’s challenge to count 10. Ashton

contends her denial on the 1987 “Certificate Pertaining to

Foreign Interests” that ADM had “interlocking directors with

foreign interests” was literally true because foreign interests

can reasonably be construed to exclude foreign corporations

owned by American citizens. We disagree. A “foreign cor-

poration” is clearly a “foreign interest” regardless of owner-

ship, as Ashton herself acknowledged when, on the “State-

ment of Full Disclosure of all Foreign Connections,” she

identified herself as a “Representative of a Foreign Interest”

based on her interest in ADM H&S.

Ashton also asserts the count 10 conviction must be re-

versed because the misrepresentation alleged in that count,

the denial of any “foreign interests” in the January 1987

“Certificate Pertaining to Foreign Interests,” was not materi-

al. Ashton reasons that, because the interlocking director-

ships between ADM and ADM H&S were discoverable from

the February 1987 “Statement of Full Disclosure of All

Foreign Connections,” in which she identified ADM H&S as a

foreign interest in which she, Dale and Sweeney were di-

rectors, it could not have influenced or been material to the

DOD. We find this argument also unavailing. Admittedly, in

order to give rise to criminal liability under section 1001, a

2% The Gemona and Swaffham corporate minutes of meetings

conducted October 21, 1986 note that Dale, Ashton and Bowers

were “appointed as Directors ... with immediate effect.” JA 2106,

2127. In addition, Ashton signed a notice that she “consented to act

as Director” of each corporation “as from October 21, 1986,” JA

2109, 2129, and in fact attended a shareholder’s meeting for each on

November 2, 1986, the minutes of which reflect that a “shareholder

vote” “did unanimously resolve” to increase the outstanding shares

in each corporation to 100: 37.5 for Dale, 37.5 for Ashton and 25 for

Bowers. JA 2131, 2110.

% Our disposition here applies equally to Dale’s adoption by

reference of the same argument to challenge his conviction on count

9. See Dale Brief at 1.

a 20

concealment or affirmative misrepresentation must be materi-

al. United States v. Hansen, 772 F.2d 940, 949 (D.C. Cir.

1985), cert. denied, 475 U.S. 1045 (1986). Nevertheless, even

assuming that the earlier disclosure of ADM’s relationship

with ADM H&S rendered nondisclosure of that relationship

here immaterial, it does not affect Ashton’s liability for failing

to disclose the interlocking directorships with Swaffham and

Gemona which had not been otherwise disclosed to the DOD

and therefore were material.”’

Ashton’s final sufficiency challenge is that the trial evi-

dence failed to establish that she “willfully” participat-

ed in the fraudulent tax deductions alleged in counts 3

and 4, as required under 26 U.S.C. §§ 7206(2)% and

27In light of this disposition, we need not decide whether, as

other circuits have held, it is a misrepresentation’s potential to

influence, irrespective of the recipient’s knowledge vel non of its

falsity, that determines materiality under section 1001. See United

States v. Whitaker, 848 F.2d 914, 916 (8th Cir. 1988); United States

v. Goldfine, 538 F.2d 815, 8820-21 (9th Cir. 1976). We note in this

regard, however, that this Circuit has consistently held:

The test of materiality is whether the statement “has a natural

tendency to influence, or was capable of influencing, the deci-

sion of the tribunal in making a [particular] determination.”

Proof of actual! reliance on the statement is not required; the

Government need only make a reasonable showing of its poten-

tial effects.

Hansen, 772 F.2d at 949 (quoting United States v. Diggs, 613 F.2d

988, 999 (D.C. Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 446 U.S. 982 (1980)), cert.

denied, 475 U.S. 1045 (1986); see also Weinstock v. United States,

231 F.2d 699, 701-02 (D.C. Cir. 1956).

% This subsection provides in part:

Any person who—

Willfully aids or assists in, or procures, counsels, or advises the

preparation or presentation under, or in connection with any

matter arising under, the internal revenue laws, of a return,

affidavit, claim, or other document, which is fraudulent or is

————————

a 21

7201, or that she had a “conscious knowing intent to de-

fraud” in connection with the wire transfer of funds to

Bourbonia alleged in count 5, as required under 18 U.S.C.

§ 1343, the wire fraud statute.” All three of the challenged

counts alleged fraud in connection with ADM’s claimed

1986 deductions of the $500,000 Swaffham accrual and the

$316,000 Bourbonia payment. Ashton argues there was no

evidence that she was aware the Bourbonia payment was not

false as to any material matter, whether or not such falsity or

fraud is with the knowledge or consent of ine person autho-

rized or required to present such return, affidavit, claim, or

document; ...

shall be guilty of a felony and, upon conviction thereof, shall be

fined not more than $100,000 ($500,000 in the case of a corpora-

tion), or imprisoned not more than 3 years, or both, together

with the costs of prosecution.

26 U.S.C. § 7206(2).

2 This section provides:

Any person who. willfully attempts in any manner to evade or

defeat any tax imposed by this title or the payment thereof

shall, in addition to other penalties provided by law, be guilty of

a felony and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not more

than $100,000 ($500,000 in the case of a corporation), or impris-

oned not more than 5 years, or both, together with the costs of

prosecution.

26 U.S.C. § 7201.

%* This statute provides:

Whoever, having devised or intending to devise any scheme or

artifice to defraud, or for obtaining money or property by

means of false or fraudulent pretenses, representations, or

promises, transmits or causes to be transmitted by means of

wire, radio, or television communication in interstate or foreign

commerce, any writings, signs, signals, pictures, or sounds for

the purpose of executing such scheme or artifice, shall be fined

not more than $1,000 or imprisoned not more than five years,

or both.

18 U.S.C. § 1343.

a 22

deductible or that the Swaffham payment was ever made,

much less that it was not deductible. We disagree, finding

ample evidence to support a finding of the requisite intent.

The evidence against Ashton here is similar in nature and

weight to the evidence in United States v. Treadwell, 760

F.2d 327 (D.C. Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 1064 (1986),

in which this court affirmed the conviction of Treadwell, a

real estate firm’s chief executive officer, for conspiring with

subordinates to violate federal law even though Treadwell

exercised little control over day-to-day operations and

claimed to have reimbursed the project and fired one of her

subordinates after she learned of the misconduct. The

Treadwell court upheld the conviction based on the following

circumstantial evidence: *' (1) Treadwell’s close personal and

business relationships with the malfeasant subordinates, (2)

her regular meetings with them, (3) her extensive experience

“as a government-grant entrepreneur” and (4) her attempt to

conceal the misconduct by altering and destroying documents.

Id. at 333-35. The court concluded: “Combining these fac-

tors with the sheer magnitude of the [illegal acts], many

involving other businesses that she controlled, would fully

support a reasonable inference that Treadwell knew of and

condoned her subordinates’ malfeasance.” Jd at 335. Simi-

lar evidence here, when viewed most favorably to the govern-

ment, supports Ashton’s conviction.

The record yields the following facts to support the finding

that Ashton willingly participated in the frauds alleged: (1)

she was the majority shareholder in all of the corporations;

(2) she took an active role in the corporations, signing autho-

rizations and travelling to the foreign offices; (3) the frauds

conferred a financial benefit on ADM, Swaffham and ADM

H&S, in which she owned controlling interests, as well as on

her personal Bourbonia investment account; (4) these trans-

actions were part of a much larger scheme to defraud the

31 The court noted that “[{iJn determining whether the government

has met its burden of proof, ... no legal distinction may be drawn

between direct and circumstantial evidence.” 760 F.2d at 333

(citing United States v. Davis, 562 F.2d 681, 684 (D.C. Cir. 1977).

a

a 23

government, which included Ashton’s personal withdrawals of

ADM funds which she failed to report as income and misrep-

resentations to government agencies; (5) one of her other .

misrepresentations was the concealment of the existence of

Swaffham, one of the corporations benefited by the frauds;

and (6) she personally assisted in covering up many of the

frauds, including the $316,000 Bourbonia deduction. As in

Treadwell, the combination of these facts suffices to support

the jury’s finding that Ashton willfully and intentionally par-

ticipated in the frauds alleged.

B. Sweeney

Sweeney challenges the sufficiency of the evidence to sup-

port his conviction on counts 1, 3, 4 and 5, advancing two

arguments: (1) the evidence did not establish that the pay-

ments to Bourbonia, or their tax treatment, were fraudulent

and (2) assuming there was fraud, the evidence did not

support a finding of specific intent on his part to evade taxes.

We find neither argument persuasive and conclude the evi-

dence is sufficient to support Sweeney’s conviction on all four

counts.

Sweeney first asserts there was insufficient evidence to

establish that the invoices to Bourbonia were in fact fraudu-

lent. We find, however, that the record contains substantial

evidence that the invoices were issued for the express pur-

pose of diverting tax-free funds for the benefit of Ashton,

Dale and ADM H&S, while conferring a tax benefit on ADM,

and that the services identified in them were never intended

to be performed.”

First, although the December 1986 invoices purported to

charge for “Product Development Consulting for the period

March 86, to December 86” and “for Services rendered in

%2 She signed the August 25, 1988, amended 1986 return which

gave a phony explanation of why the $316,000 payment had been

deducted.

%3 This conclusion also disposes of Dale’s adoption by reference of

the same challenge to his convictions. See Dale Brief at 1.

a 24

accordance with the letter contract as of March 11, 1986 for

Machine Language Translation Research and Development |

Project,” JA 1984-85, Knight, who had been a consultant to

ADM since February 1986, who had frequently spoken by

phone with Wormer during that time, who was the only

employee of ADM H&S as of December 1986, and who was

meeting with Sweeney and Wormer the entire day of Decem-

ber 11, 1986, the date on the invoices, nevertheless “had no

knowledge” that as of December 1986 Wormer had performed |

$316,000 worth of work for ADM H&S or that ADM had

entered any contract with Bourbonia. In addition, despite

government subpoenas, no contract with Bourbonia has ever

been produced and Crystal Day, ADM’s “Director of Con-

tracts,” testified that despite a thorough search she was

unable to find such a contract and was in fact informed by

Sweeney that none existed. Nor was Day able to discover

any actual reports from either year, although the 1987 invoic-

es expressly stated that “specific reports were produced or

are now underway.” Trial Transcript (Tr.) 2573. In fact,

Day herself testified she never heard of Bourbonia before |

December 1988, although she attended weekly meetings with

Ashton, Dale and “mid-level management.” Further, despite

Sweeney’s assertion in a February 19, 1988, memorandum

that Bourbonia “provides invaluable services to me on virtual-

ly a day-to-day basis,” JA 1994, three witnesses who worked

in ADM’s German office between 1986 and 1987, namely

Lyddi Hudson, Yvonne Burr and Sally Frank, testified they

were unaware of any consultation arrangement with Bourbo-

nia, or any Swiss firm, even though Burr had been with the

German office since its establishment and the other two

women had attended weekly meetings with Sweeney and the

other “key players.” Finally, after the federal investigation

began, ADM took steps to reverse the initial tax treatment of

the $316,000 and $102,655 Bourbonia payments as deductible

expenses and Dale and Ashton assumed personal responsibili-

ty for repaying both amounts to ADM, signing promissory

EE

a 25

notes and, according to notations on those notes, paying them

off.*

Sweeney next asserts that even if the invoices were fraudu-

lent, there is no evidence that he personally knew the fraud

was committed for the purpose of tax evasion. In support of

his argument, Sweeney relies heavily on the Ninth Circuit's

opinion in United States v. Salerno, 902 F.2d 1429 (9th Cir.

1990). We find the reasoning in Salerno inapplicable here.

In Salerno the Ninth Circuit reversed the tax evasion

conviction of a former casino manager and his assistant who

had embezzled money from the casino through a scheme that

made it appear that the missing money had been won by

customers, thereby entitling the casino to deduct the stolen

amounts on its tax returns. The Salerno court properly

found the evidence insufficient because it failed to show the

two defendants embezzled the money “not merely for their

own benefit but with a specific intent to cause the casino to

file false tax returns.” Jd. at 1432. In so finding, the court

explained:

The government at trial identified no persons other than

[the defendants], the cashier and the runner as being

involved in the scheme. None of the four individuals was

an officer, shareholder, or director of the taxpayer corpo-

ration. There was no evidence that any of those individ-

uals had anything to do with the preparation of [the

corporation’s] tax returns. There was no evidence link-

ing the embezzlement scheme to any officer, director or

shareholder of the taxpayer corporation. There was no

evidence that the defendants had any motive for conduct-

ing a scheme to defraud the government, or that they

% The government also urges strongly that the alleged consulta-

tion work performed in 1986 is inconsistent with Knight’s testimony

that to the best of his knowledge Sweeney first met Wormer on

December 10, 1986, when Sweeney and Knight drove together to

Wormer’s home. What Knight actually said, however, is that as far

as he knew that was the first occasion Sweeney and Wormer

“physically met,” suggesting they had had previous contact by

telephone or otherwise. See JA 1130.

a 26

ever mentioned their own taxes, much less the tax re-

turns of the casino.

Id. at 1432. In fact, the court concluded: “In this case the

filing of the corporate return appears irrelevant to the defen-

dant’s conduct.” Jd. at 1433. Not so here. Sweeney was a

corporate vice-president who, according to the evidence, may

have been promised an equity position. Further, the fraud,

as alleged, involved a conspiracy among Sweeney and both

principals of the corporation and its only apparent purpose

was to obtain unwarranted favorable tax treatment through

untaxed disbursements to Ashton, Dale and ADM H&S and

unjustified deductions for ADM. Sweeney was certainly in a

position to be aware of such a motive and the jury could

reasonably have so inferred. Accordingly, we find the evi-

dence, taken as a whole, sufficient to support a finding of

specific intent by Sweeney to evade tax liability on ADM’s

behalf.

C. Segal

Finally, Segal challenges the sufficiency of the evidence to

support his conviction on counts 1, 3 and 4 and, in addition,

challenges the trial court’s denial of his motion for a new trial.

We reject both challenges, addressing each separately.

First, Segal contends his convictions should be reversed

because the evidence was insufficient to establish beyond a

reasonable doubt that he knowingly participated in any of the

fraudulent activity, asserting he was merely an innocent

employee performing the accounting responsibilities his job

required. We conclude, however, that the evidence, viewed

most favorably to the government, reveals the following facts

sufficient to support a finding of knowing participation in the

tax frauds: (1) Segal was ADM’s Chief Financial Officer and

as such reported directly to Ashton and Dale and attended

high-level company meetings with them around the world; (2)

Segal failed to disclose to Grant Thornton, ADM’s outside

accounting firm, that the suspect transactions with ADM

Asia, Gemona, Swaffham and ADM H&S were related-party

transactions—in fact, he signed a letter to Grant Thornton,

dated May 27, 1987, stating, inter alia, that “(rjelated party

transactions and related amounts receivable or payable, in-

a 27

cluding sales, purchases, loans, transfers, leasing arrange-

ments and guarantees” had been “properly recorded or dis-

closed in the financial statements,” JA 2298, while as of that

date the $200,000 Arlington payment, the $417,532 payments

to Swaffham and Gemona and the $500,000 Swaffham accrual

had already occurred but not been identified as related-party

transactions; * (3) Segal knew or should have known that the

amount of the $500,000 Swaffham invoice was artificial and

that the invoice itself was not bona fide; * (4) it was Segal

whom Ashton selected to accompany her to Korea in August

1987 and to negotiate with Bowers, even though it was likely,

if not inevitable, that the negotiations would involve discus-

sion of some of the fraudulent activities, as in fact they did; *”

% According to a Grant Thornton accountant, when asked why

the related party transactions had not been disclosed, Segal re-

sponded “No one asked me.” JA 1542.

% Segal wrote Bowers a letter dated March 5, 1987, stating that

“a bill is needed for the consulting work that David Dale requested.

My understanding is that the work was performed last year for a

total cost of approximately $150,000. The consultant’s report is also

needed as backup to the bill.” JA 2055. When Bowers subsequent-

ly received an invoice for $149,000 in mid-March, he made a call to

Dale which he recorded. During that conversation Bowers remind-

ed Dale of a previous agreement regarding the invoice amount:

“We agreed for 750, and then we were to back ... back it down to

500. Remember, I was to prepare some paper work, two or three

exchanges, and, uh, it was to be backed down to 500.” JA 2387.

Later in the conversation, Dale remarked “I don’t know whether

Marty can handle seven hundred and fifty thousand,” JA 2389, and

that they would “have to find out what Marty thinks we can get

away with,” JA 2391. The actual $500,000 invoice arrived at ADM a

week later, back-dated to December 30, 1986. Segal informed

Grant Thornton of the amount sometime before March 15, 1987.

37 During the negotiations, Ashton and Bowers attempted to

persuade Bowers to sign a document agreeing to hand over the

incriminating recordings and acknowledging that the $200,000 pay-

ment to Arlington had been “formally loaned” by ADM Asia. See

JA 2714-15. In addition, handwritten notes made by Segal while in

Korea reveal his knowledge of the tapes and Ashton’s desire to

aii:

a 28

(5) after the Korean sojourn, Segal continued to conceal from

Grant Thornton some of the fraudulent tax transactions of

which he must have known by then; *™ and (6) in 1988 Segal

furnished ADM’s accountants a false explanation of why the

1986 tax return had to be amended to eliminate the deduction

of the $316,000 Bourbonia payment.” Accordingly, we reject

Segal’s first sufficiency challenge.

Next, Segal asserts that even if the evidence was sufficient

to support his conviction, the district court nevertheless erred

in denying his motion for a new trial on the grounds that the

verdict was against the weight of the evidence and that newly

discovered evidence, namely testimony given by Sweeney

after trial but before sentencing, established Segal’s inno-

cence.” A motion for new trial on either of the grounds

asserted is committed to the trial court’s sound discretion and

may be reversed only for abuse of that discretion. See

United States v. Rogers, 918 F.2d 207, 213 (D.C. Cir. 1990);

United States v. Sensi, 879 F.2d 888, 901 (D.C. Cir. 1989).

We conclude there was no abuse of discretion here.

First, we find no error in the district court’s denial of the

motion insofar as it was based on the weight of the evidence.

In considering a new trial motion based on the weight of the

evidence the district judge “weighs the evidence and evalu-

ates the witnesses’ credibility and decides whether ‘a serious

obtain them and expressly indicate that “money was laundered”

through the Korean office. JA 2058.

% He said nothing at that time about the $200,000 Arlington

payment or the $500,000 Swaffham accrual.

3° The accountant testified that “the substance” of Segal’s expla-

nation was that “some bills had been paid by ADM U.S.... and

that the expenses were really incurred by a related corporation,

ADM GmbH,” referring to ADM H&S. Tr. 3176. In fact, the

invoices were unrelated to ADM H&S.

“ At a hearing conducted February 22, 1991, Sweeney, pursuant

to an agreement with the government, provided extensive sentenc-

ing testimony regarding ADM’s business activities, some of which

suggested Segal may not have been directly involved in ADM’s

fraudulent conduct.

a 29

miscarriage of justice may have occurred.’” Rogers, 918

F.2d at 213 (quoting Tibbs v. Florida, 457 U.S. 31, 38 n.11

(1982)). Our review of the district court’s decision is particu-

larly narrow when the court denies the new trial motion

because the court’s decision accords with the jury’s. Hutch-

inson v. Stuckey, 952 F.2d 1418, 1420 (D.C. Cir. 1992) (citing

McNeal v. Hi-Lo Powered Scaffolding, Inc., 836 F.2d 637,

646 (D.C. Cir. 1988)). Given this limited scope of review and

the evidence set out above supporting Segal’s knowing partic-

ipation in the tax evasion scheme, the trial court’s rejection of

Segal’s weight of the evidence argument cannot be character-

ized as an abuse of discretion and must therefore be upheld.

See United States v. Kelly, 748 F.2d 691, 701 (D.C. Cir. 1984)

(holding that, as long as the weight of the evidence clearly

weighs in favor of conviction, not against it, there is no abuse

of discretion in denying a new trial motion).

Nor do we find error in the judge’s refusal to grant a new

trial based on Sweeney’s post-trial testimony. To obtain a

41 Segal maintains that comments made by the trial judge at

sentencing indicate he applied the wrong standard, deferring entire-

ly to the jury’s judgment and abdicating his responsibility to review

the evidence himself. The challenged language states:

(I)n looking at the verdict of the jury, the court cannot sit back

and say to the jury, “I disagree.” Whether I disagreed with

their verdict in your case, and I'm not going to tell you whether

I did or did not, but whether I disagreed with the jury verdict

in your case is of no moment. That isn’t a basis for setting

aside the verdict or giving you a new trial. There are stan-

dards that the court must follow, and with respect to the

evidence, as long as the evidence has been presented to the

jury in a fair manner and under fair and correct instructions,

and as long as the court has decided and concluded that the

jury has considered those matters, it’s a verdict for the jury to

decide, it’s not for the court.

JA 1825-26 (emphasis added). The highlighted language satisfies

us that the judge properly assessed the jury’s verdict in light of the

credible evidence and the weight one could reasonably ascribe to it.

—— il

a 30

new trial based on newly discovered evidence, a convicted

defendant must offer evidence that “‘ha[s}] been discovered

since the trial.’” Sensi, 879 F.2d at 901 (quoting United

States v. Mangieri, 694 F.2d 1270, 1284 (D.C. Cir. 1982)).

The unanimous view of circuits that have considered the

question is that this requirement is not met simply by offer-

ing the post-trial testimony of a co-conspirator who refused to

testify at trial. See United States v. Reyes-Alvarado, 963

F.2d 1184, 1188 (9th Cir. 1992) (“‘[W]hen a defendant who

has chosen not to testify comes forward to offer testimony

exculpating a codefendant, the evidence is not “newly discov-

ered.”’”) (quoting United States v. Diggs, 649 F.2d 731, 740

(9th Cir.), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 970 (1981)); United States v.

Gustafson, 728 F.2d 1078, 1084 (8th Cir.) (finding no abuse of

discretion in denying new trial motion based on probability

that post-trial testimony of convicted co-defendants, who had

agreed to provide government with information in return for

lenient sentence, would deviate from their trial testimony and

no longer implicate defendant-appellant), cert. denied, 469

U.S. 1189 (1984); United States v. Metz, 652 F.2d 478, 480

(5th Cir. Unit A Aug. 3, 1981) (rejecting contention that

“ ‘newly available’ evidence is synonymous with ‘newly discov-

ered’ evidence” and finding no abuse of discretion in denial of

new trial motion based on co-defendant’s post-conviction ex-

culpating affidavits); United States v. Jacobs, 475 F.2d 270,

286 n.33 (2d Cir.) (“{W]e fully agree with the judge’s alterna-

tive ground [for denying a new trial motion], that a court

must exercise great caution in considering evidence to be

‘newly discovered’ when it existed all along and was unavail-

able only because a co-defendant, since convicted, had availed

himself of his privilege not to testify.”), cert. denied, 414 U.S.

821 (1973). We recently acknowledged this principle in the

administrative context to hold that the National Transporta-

tion Safety Board had reasonably concluded the proffered

testimony of an FAA inspector who had invoked his fifth

amendment privilege at a pilot certification hearing but had

since pleaded guilty to charges related to the hearing’s sub-

ject-matter did not constitute “newly discovered” evidence

under an NTSB rule so as to warrant reconsideration of the

SE

a 3l

certification denial. See Chirino v. NTSB, 849 F.2d 1525

(D.C. Cir. 1988). In light of our holding in Chirino and the

holdings of the other circuits in the cited cases, we conclude it

was not an abuse of discretion to deny a new trial based on

Sweeney’s post-trial testimony.

III. Apmission or Tapes

A. Title Il

Title III of the Omnibus Crime Control and Safe Streets

Act of 1968, 18 U.S.C. § 2510 et seq., provides, in relevant

part, that a person may intercept wire, oral or electronic

communications to which the person is a party “unless such

communication is intercepted for the purpose of committing

any criminal or tortious act in violation of the Constitution or

laws of the United States or of any State.” 18 U.S.C.

_§ 2511(2)(d). In their motion to suppress the tape recordings

made by Bowers and Roth, the defendants argued that the

taping violated Title III because the purpose for taping was

to blackmail Dale and Ashton for stock and money. The

government responded with three independent arguments:

(1) Title III does not apply extraterritorially and therefore is

inapplicable to Bowers’ taping in Korea of phone calls to and

from the United States; (2) even if Title III applies extrater-

42In Chirino, this court stated:

To assess the reasonableness of [the NTSB’s) interpretation,

we pause to observe that, in an admittedly different but

analogous context, cases construing Rule 33 of the Federal

Rules of Criminal Procedure governing new trials are instruc-

tive on the question of what constitutes “newly discovered”

evidence. In the Rule 33 setting, several courts have conclud-

ed that post-trial testimony of a co-defendant who initially

asserted his or her Fifth Amendment privilege does not consti-

tute “newly discovered” evidence within the meaning of the

Rule....

These decisions from the criminal law setting provide a direct

analogy to the situation before the Board in this case.

849 F.2d at 1532 (citations to Metz, Diggs and Jacobs omitted).

a 32

ritorially and Bowers and Roth made the tapes for an illegal

purpose, Title III does not mandate suppression where the

government is the innocent recipient of tapes made by unin-

dicted co-conspirators in the course of criminal activity; and

(3) the defendants failed to meet their burden of proving that

Bowers’ or Roth’s primary purpose in taping was either

criminal or tortious. The district court did not state explicitly

why it denied the motion to suppress, explaining only that it

had conducted a three-day evidentiary hearing and that “(a)f-

ter careful consideration of the motion, the opposition thereto

and the entire record in this case,” the motion should be

denied. JA 917. The defendants did not object to the

district court’s failure to state its essential findings of fact on

the record. See Fed. R. Crim. P. 12(e).

On appeal, the defendants and the government repeated

the same arguments regarding suppression of the tapes that

they made to the district court. Normally, where the district

court denies a motion to suppress but fails to make findings

of fact on the record, we may sustain the district court’s

decision “if there is any reasonable view of the evidence that

will support it.” Scarbeck v. United States, 317 F.2d 546, 562

(D.C. Cir. 1962), cert. denied, 374 U.S. 856 (1963); see also

United States v. Mitchell, 951 F.2d 1291, 1299 (D.C. Cir.

1991), cert. denied, 112 S. Ct. 1976 (1992); United States v.

Caballero, 936 F.2d 1292, 1296 (D.C. Cir. 1991), cert. denied,

112 S. Ct. 943 (1992); United States v. Allen, 629 F.2d 51, 57

(D.C. Cir. 1980). However, we declined to exercise this

option here because we did not know which of three separate

legal theories advanced by the government the district court

hadi adopted and what facts, if any, it relied on to support its

choser. theory.

By order dated January 8, 1993, we remanded the record to

the district court for a clarification of its reasons for admit-

ting the tapes and any relevant factual findings made in

support of its admissibility ruling. See United States v.

Williams, 951 F.2d 1287, 1290-91 (D.C. Cir. 1991) (remand to

the district court is appropriate where neither the legal

reasoning nor factual findings supporting the denial of a

motion to suppress are apparent because it is not clear “[oJne,

a 33

that the district court asked the right legal questions in

making its ruling; two, that it actually weighed the evidence

bearing on the facts needed to answer them”). On January

21, 1993, the district court responded with an order explaining

that a memorandum had been prepared subsequent to the

court’s denial of the defendants’ motion to suppress the tapes,

but while “[{iJt was the Court’s understanding that the Memo-

randum had been filed; it now appears that the Memorandum

was not filed. The Memorandum sets forth the reasons the

Court ... denied the motion to suppress tapes.... [A] copy

of the Memorandum has been signed and is attached as Court

Exhibit A.” United States v. Dale, Crim. No. 90-0027,

Memorandum Order at 1-2 (D.D.C. Jan. 21, 1993).

In the memorandum, which was filed and made a part of

the record, the district court expressly eschewed the first two

legal theories pressed by the government, that Title III does

not apply extraterritorially or that it does not apply to the

government’s innocent receipt of recordings made by a co-

conspirator, stating that “(flor the purpose of this motion, the

Court will assume without deciding that Title III applies to all

of the tape recordings at issue.” United States v. Dale, Crim.

No. 90-0027, Memorandum at 2 n.1 (D.D.C. Jan. 21, 1993)

(“Tapes Memorandum”). Instead, the court found that the

evidence supported the government’s third theory and con-

cluded that the “defendants have failed to establish that the

motivation for the taping by either Bowers or Roth was

criminal or tortious.” Jd. at 3. The district court explained

that although Bowers

was a willing participant in the illegality in the beginning,

there came a time when he became an unwilling partici-

pant because he felt that there was a possibility that all

of the responsibility for these activities could be placed

on him. Bowers stated that he began taping conversa-

tions with the defendants at about this time in order to

make sure his interests were protected. Specifically,

Bowers asserted that with the taping he wanted to make

a record which detailed the participation of defendants

Ashton and Dale in the criminal activities taking place in

a 34

Asia and show(ed] that he was receiving directions [from

them] as to those activities. It was important to him

that it was clear on the recordings that he was not acting

alone since he feared that defendants would seek to

portray him in that light.

Id. at 5-6. The district court credited this testimony and

found that the defendants had not rebutted Bowers’ explana-

tion for the taping. Jd Similarly, the district court found

Roth’s explanation that he made the tapes to keep a record of

his employment dispute with ADM and not for purposes of

extortion to be “entirely credible.” Jd at 4. We permitted

the parties to file supplemental briefs addressing these find-

ings, and after reviewing those briefs and the district court’s

memorandum, we conclude that the district court’s factual

findings were not clearly erroneous.

The burden was on the defendants to prove that Bowers

and Roth made the tapes for criminal or tortious purposes,

see Traficant v. Commissioner, 884 F.2d 258, 266 (6th Cir.

1989); United States v. Phillips, 540 F.2d 319, 326 (8th Cir.),

cert. denied, 429 U.S. 1000 (1976), and the evidence supports

the district court’s conclusion that the defendants failed to

meet their burden. In their supplemental brief, the defen-

dants contend that because the district court failed to mention

every bit of evidence allegedly probative of Bowers’ and

Roth’s intent, the court necessarily overlooked or ignored this

evidence. However, the district court was obligated to state

only its essential findings on the record, see Fed. R. Crim. P.

12(e), and we do not find that the district court neglected to

consider any dispositive evidence in the record. Indeed, the

district court noted that “the evidence presented by defen-

dants to support their claim that Roth conspired with Bowers

in a blackmail and extortion plan is scant and unpersuasive,”

and further that it “was not persuaded by defendants’ efforts

to rebut Bowers’ testimony.” Tapes Memorandum at 4, 6.

In any event, simply because the factual record could reason-

ably lead a factfinder to conclude that Bowers and Roth did

have an illegal or tortious purpose in taping does not mean

that the district court’s contrary, and at least equally permis-

a 35

sible, view of the facts is clearly erroneous. See Anderson v.

Bessemer City, 470 U.S. 564, 574 (1985).

Neither do we find that the district court erred in its legai

analysis. Taping phone calls to make an accurate record of a

conversation “in order to prevent future distortions by a

participant” is not illegal, see United States v. Underhill, 813

F.2d 105, 110 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 482 U.S. 906 (1987), even

when the recording is made in the hopes of producing evi-

dence of an illegal conspiracy, see By-Prod. Corp. v. Armen-

Berry Co., 668 F.2d 956, 959-60 (7th Cir. 1982). A person

may even tape confederates in the hope of obtaining evidence

to reduce his own sentence. See United States v. Ruppel, 666

F.2d 261, 271 (5th Cir. Unit A), cert. denied, 458 U.S. 1107

(1982). Given the district court’s determination that Bowers’

purpose for taping was to protect himself and Roth’s purpose

was to establish a record of his employment dispute, it would

appear that the district court correctly concluded that the

tape recordings were not made in violation of Title III. The

defendants argue, however, that the district court “may well

have applied an erroneous legal standard” by concluding that

Title III is not violated where the primary purpose for taping

is legal, even though a second, unlawful factor also motivated

the taper. Appellants’ Joint Supplemental Brief at 6-7.

The defendants are correct that a violation of Title III is

established when “it is shown either (1) that the primary

motivation, or (2) that a determinative factor in the actor’s

motivation for intercepting the conversation was to commit a

criminal, tortious, or other injurious act.” See United States

v. Vest, 639 F. Supp. 899, 904 (D. Mass. 1986), affd, 813 F.2d

477 (1st Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 965 (1988). Al-

“In Vest, the court rejected the defendant's position that sup-

pression is appropriate under Title III if any part of the motivation

is criminal or tortious, explaining:

It is characteristic of human experience that individuals usual-

ly—perhaps even always—act with mixed motives. To adopt

the interpretation of the statute advanced by the defendant

would impose on the government the nearly insurmountable

a 36

though the district court at one point in the memorandum

referred to Roth’s “primary” purpose for taping, Tapes Mem-

orandum at 3, it is clear to us that the district court, which

cited Vest, recognized that the defendants were obligated to

demonstrate only that some determinative factor in the tap-

ing was impermissible. Unfortunately for the defendants,

there is no indication that the district court found any of the

purposes motivating Bowers and Roth to be illegal. Instead,

the court quite clearly stated that “defendants have failed to

sustain their burden of proving that Roth acted with an

impermissible purpose,” and that “defendants’ argument that

Bowers’ motivation behind his taping was illegal or tortious is

unconvincing.” Jd. at 5-6. In sum, the district court correct-

ly applied the appropriate legal standard in refusing to sup-

press the tapes.

B. Authentication

The defendants next argue that the district court erred by

failing to make an explicit threshold determination that the

tapes were trustworthy, especially in light of a defense ex-

pert’s report concluding there was a possibility that some

tapes had been altered or recorded over. The admission of

recordings into evidence is committed to the sound discretion

of the trial court, so long as the tapes are authentic, accurate

and trustworthy. See United States v. Sandoval, 709 F.2d

1553, 1554 (D.C. Cir. 1983); United States v. Slade, 627 F.2d

293, 301 (D.C. Cir.), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 1034 (1980);

United States v. Haldeman, 559 F.2d 31, 107 (D.C. Cir. 1976),

cert. denied, 431 U.S. 933 (1977). It was not an abuse of

discretion for the district court to admit the tapes into

evidence without expressly stating that the tapes were reli-

able because the record indicates that the court accepted the

government’s proffer of trustworthiness and rejected the

defendants’ concerns. We believe that in admitting the tapes

into evidence, the district court implicitly found that “ ‘the

burden of eliminating the possibility that an improper motive

played any part in the decision to intercept the communication.

639 F. Supp. at 904.

hn eeeeennenienennneenmen|

a 37

possibilities of misidentification and adulteration [were] elimi-

nated, not absolutely, but as a matter of reasonable probabili-

ty.”” Haldeman, 559 F.2d at 107 (quoting Gass v. United

States, 416 F.2d 767, 770 (D.C. Cir. 1969)).

To meet its burden of demonstrating the authenticity and

accuracy of the tapes, see United States v. King, 587 F.2d

956, 961 (9th Cir. 1978), the government first produced IRS

Special Agent Kenneth Buck who testified and was cross-

examined at length regarding the tapes and in particular,

about how the government had inadvertently damaged one

part of one tape. Next, Bowers described the mechanism by

which he taped telephone conversations, explained the cir-

cumstances under which he handed tapes over to government

agents and testified that the tapes were fair and accurate

recordings of conversations to which he was a party. In

addition, the court engaged in a lengthy colloquy with counsel

on the accuracy and reliability of the tapes, and the findings

of the defense expert regarding potential tampering with the

tapes. Finally, the district court gave the defendants the

option of having the FBI technician who produced noise-

reduced versions of the tapes testify regarding whether the

tapes might have been tampered with prior to receipt by the

FBI, which offer the defendants declined. Only after all of

the foregoing did the district court admit the tapes into

evidence and allow them to be played to the jury.

There is no single rigid standard for determining whether a

tape recording may be admitted into evidence. See United

States v. Lance, 853 F.2d 1177, 1181 (5th Cir. 1988) (federal

courts do not require “conclusive proof of authenticity” before

admitting tapes); Haldeman, 559 F.2d at 107 (evidence of

admissibility of tapes “need not conform to any particular

model”). Tapes may be authenticated by testimony describ-

ing the process or system that created the tape, see United

States v. Sivils, 960 F.2d 587, 597 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 113

S. Ct. 130 (1992); Haldeman, 559 F.2d at 107-09, or by

testimony from parties to the conversation affirming that the

tape contained an accurate record of what was said. See

Lance, 853 F.2d at 1181-82; Sandoval, 709 F.2d at 15565.

The district court’s decision to admit the tapes was obviously

eee

a 38

based on its conclusion that the testimony of both the origina-

tor Of the tapes and of the IRS agent established the authen-

ticity, accuracy and trustworthiness of the tapes notwith-

standing the misgivings of the defendants’ expert. Given the

extended discussion of the objections and the government’s

evidence in court, we are satisfied that the district court

committed no reversible error in failing to make the basis of

its ruling explicit.

IV. Apmission or Evipence rrom Searcu

On May 18, 1990, the district court denied, without elabora-

tion, the defendants’ motion to suppress evidence seized in a

search of ADM’s offices and warehouse. In responding to

our January 8, 1993 request to set forth its reasons for

denying the defendants’ motion to suppress the tapes made

by Bowers and Roth, the district court has provided this

court with a second memorandum, also mistakenly believed

by the district court to have been filed in 1990, explaining in

detail why the court refused to suppress evidence seized in

the search of ADM’s offices. United States v. Dale, Crim.

No. 90-0027, Memorandum Order (D.D.C. Jan. 21, 1993)

(“Warehouse Memorandum”). In their supplemental briefs,

the parties have addressed the search and suppression issues

in light of the district court’s memorandum.

A. Franks Hearing

The defendants argue that the trial court erred in refusing

to hold an evidentiary hearing under Franks v. Delaware, 438

U.S. 154 (1978), to investigate alleged defects in the affidavit

of Defense Criminal Investigation Service Special Agent

Heidi Shintani supporting the warrant to search ADM’s

offices and warehouse in Washington, D.C. Although a

search warrant is presumptively valid, if the defendant is able

to make

a substantial preliminary showing that a false statement

knowingly and intentionally, or with reckless disregard

for the truth, was included by the affiant in the warrant

affidavit, and if the allegedly false statement is necessary

a 39

to the finding of probable cause, the Fourth Amendment

requires that a hearing be held at the defendant’s re-

quest.

Id. at 155-56; see United States v. Sobamowo, 892 F.2d 90, 94

(D.C. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 111 S. Ct. 78 (1990). The

defendants contend that they made such a showing before the

district court by proffering evidence that: allegations in the

warrant that ADM illegally substituted products in executing

contracts with the Army were false and the affiant Shintani

acted with reckless disregard for the truth by failing to

investigate the validity of the allegations; the affiant misrep-

resented the credibility of David Bowers by failing to disclose

that Bowers was himself under investigation; and the affiant

lied about information provided by former ADM employees.

We conclude that the district court properly rejected each of

these claims.“

First, the defendants produced affidavits from Army offi-

cials to establish that ADM had approval from the Army to

“ The circuits are split on the question whether a district court’s

decision not to hold a Franks hearing is reviewed under the clearly

erroneous or de novo standard of review. Four circuits adhere to

the clearly erroneous standard. See United States v. Buchanan,

1993 WL 34834 at °6 (8th Cir. Feb. 16, 1993); United States v.

Skinner, 972 F.2d 171, 177 (7th Cir. 1992); United States v.

Hadfield, 918 F.2d 987, 992 (1st Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 111 S. Ct.

2062 (1991); United States v. One Parcel of Property, 897 F.2d 97,

100 (2d Cir. 1990). Two review such decisions de novo. See United

States v. Homick, 964 F.2d 899, 904 (9th Cir. 1992); United States

v. Mueller, 902 F.2d 336, 341 (5th Cir. 1990). We have not

definitively resolved the issue in this circuit. In United States v.

Richardson, 861 F.2d 291, 293 (D.C. Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 489

U.S. 1058 (1989), we invoked the clearly erroneous standard to

review a district court's finding on the good faith belief of the police

officer in executing the disputed affidavit but we did not explicitly

discuss which standard would apply to the ultimate decision not to

hold a Franks hearing. For purposes of this case, we need not

resolve the precise scope of Richardson or take sides in the circuit

conflict because we find that the district court’s decision not to hold

a hearing passes muster under either standard of review.

a 40

substitute Magna hard drives for the Wang or Yipcon hard

drives originally contracted for. According to the defendants,

Agent Shintani’s sole reliance on affidavits from former ADM

employees and her failure to contact any Army officials

amounted to reckless disregard for the truth. But in general,

the failure to investigate fully is not evidence of an affiant’s

reckless disregard for the truth. See United States v. Miller,

753 F.2d 1475, 1478 (9th Cir. 1985); United States v. Mastroi-

anni, 749 F.2d 900, 909-10 (1st Cir. 1984); United States v.

Young Buffalo, 591 F.2d 506, 510 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 441

U.S. 950 (1979). As the district court explained, probable

cause “does not require an officer to exhaust every possible

lead, interview all potential witnesses, and accumulate over-

whelming corroborative evidence.” Warehouse Memorandum

at 18. In fact, Agent Shintani’s failure to contact Army

officials may have been entirely prudent given the possibility

of a leak back to ADM. According to the affidavit, one

informant “indicated that Dale and ADM President Ashton

would certainly destroy any incriminating records if they

were subpoenaed. She stated Dale would do anything to

avoid detection.” JA 258. Rather than evincing a reckless

disregard for the truth, the agent’s actions amounted to at

most negligence which is insufficient to warrant a Franks

hearing. See Franks, 438 U.S. at 171.

The defendants next argue that the affiant misrepresented

Bowers’ credibility in the affidavit by describing him as a

“Confidential Informant” when Bowers was himself under

investigation.” However, an affiant’s failure to disclose the

backgrounds and alleged biases of informants does not estab-

lish the affiant’s reckless disregard for the truth. See United

* The government asserts that arguments relating to the affiant’s

alleged misrepresentation of Bowers’ credibility have been waived

because they were not raised below. See Government Brief at 44

n.18. However, in their Memorandum in Support of Motion to

Suppress Tangible Evidence and Its Fruits Seized in Search of

ADM Offices, the defense counsel complained of the “bias of

Bowers” who “himself was under investigation.” JA 240-41. Fur-

ther, at the argument on the suppression motion, defense counsel

reiterated this concern.

EE ee

—_

a4l

States v. Wold, 979 F.2d 632, 634 (8th Cir. 1992) (failure to

disclose that informant had been drug dealer, was cooperat-

ing with police in order to receive leniency and was being paid

by police did not amount to misrepresentation); United

States v. Levasseur, 816 F.2d 37, 43-44 (2d Cir. 1987). More-

over, including in the affidavit the fact that Bowers was

himself under investigation would not have defeated probable

cause because Bowers’ information was corroborated by other

informants. According to the district court, “Bowers’ credi-

bility would have been of no moment” to the magistrate since

three other informants had corroborated Bowers’ testimony

with “independent, consistent, interlocking information.”

Warehouse Memorandum at 13; see United States v. Hum-

phreys, 982 F.2d 254, 258-59 (8th Cir. 1992) (defendant “fails

to understand that, while he may believe that the informants

lacked credibility, where the informants’ information is at

least partially corroborated, attacks upon credibility and relia-

bility are not crucial to the finding of probable cause”);

United States v. Coronel, 750 F.2d 1482 (11th Cir. 1985)

(description of informant as “legitimate businessman,” even if

recklessly false, did not defeat probable cause which existed

apart from informant’s status); United States v. Haimowitz,

706 F.2d 1549, 1556 (11th Cir. 1983) (failure to disclose

- informant’s criminal record did not undermine probable cause

where informant’s first-hand information was corroborated by -

other sources); United States v. Dennis, 625 F.2d 782, 791

(8th Cir. 1980).“

“The defendants also argue that the affiant’s failure to disclose

that Bowers had previously given several contradictory statements

to two different government agents also warranted a Franks hear-

ing. However, the district court carefully considered the alleged

discrepancies and found that, by and large, each could be “effort-

lessly harmonized.” Warehouse Memorandum at 10-12. Further,

as indicated above, the district court reasoned that “(elven if [the

magistrate] had rejected Bowers’ statements as coming from a

source unworthy of belief, she would still be left with the sufficient

content in the warrant affidavit to support a finding of probable

cause ‘because the tainted information ... was merely cumulative of

criminal activity.’” Jd at 13 (quoting United States v. Grunsfeld,

enieeienneinieee

a 42

Finally, the defendants charge that the Shintani affidavit

falsely stated that former employee Margo George had

served as an informant because the affidavit of a defense

investigator, William Corboy, reported George as saying that

she had never provided information about ADM to any law

enforcement agency. The district court correctly rejected

this contention as well. A Franks hearing should be justified

by “{a]ffidavits or sworn or otherwise reliable statements of

witnesses ... or their absence satisfactorily explained.”

Franks, 438 U.S. at 171. It is problematical whether a

defense investigator's summary of unsworn statements of an

informant generally fits the description of “otherwise reli-

able.” Here the district court reasonably concluded that

where the “defendants have not made any attempt to explain

the absence of an affidavit from George herself,” an affidavit

from an investigator purporting to describe George’s state-

ments to him was insufficient to warrant a Franks hearing.

Warehouse Memorandum at 20-21. In addition, given the

defendants’ assertion in their motion to suppress that George

was “terminated for incompetence” and that she “bore ill will

toward” ADM, JA 240, it is not surprising that George might

deny to an investigator employed by ADM that she had given

information about ADM to a law enforcement agency. Fur-

ther, the information allegedly provided by George in the

affidavit was so precise, including exact locations of particular

documents at ADM, that in order for the district court to

credit the Corboy declaration, it would have been necessary

for the court to conclude that Agent Shintani had herself

fabricated much of that specific information.”

558 F.2d 1231, 1240 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 872 (1977)).

We have no cause to disturb these conclusions.

‘7 The defendants also allege that the agent misrepresented in

her affidavit that informant Charles Roth had knowledge of ADM’s

tax evasion because Corboy reported that Roth told him that he had

no independent knowledge of ADM’s tax evasion. However, Agent

Shintani’s affidavit did not purport to reflect Roth’s independent

knowledge but stated only that Roth knew of the establishment of

dummy corporations for the purpose of evading taxes.

a 43

The Supreme Court has admonished lower courts that

affidavits for search warrants

must be tested and interpreted by magistrates and

courts in a commonsense and realistic fashion. They are

normally drafted by nonlawyers in the midst and haste of

a criminal investigation. Technical requirements of elab-

orate specificity once exacted under common law plead-

ings have no proper place in this area. A grudging or

negative attitude by reviewing courts toward warrants

will tend to discourage police officers from submitting

their evidence to a judicial officer before acting.

United States v. Ventresca, 380 U.S. 102, 108 (1965). Against

this backdrop, it is apparent that the district court correctly

refused to hold a Franks hearing because the defendants

failed to make a substantial preliminary showing that the

government had knowingly, intentionally or recklessly disre-

garded the truth.”

B. Warrant

The Fourth Amendment prohibition against general war-

rants requires the government to provide a particular de-

scription of the items to be seized. See United States v.

Maxwell, 920 F.2d 1028, 1031 (D.C. Cir. 1990). In assessing

particularity, courts “ ‘are concerned with realities of adminis-

tration of criminal justice. It is sufficient if the warrant

“In their supplemental brief, the defendants assert that the

district court may have erroneously subjected them to the higher

burden of actually establishing the affiant’s reckless disregard for

the truth because at one point the court stated that the defendants

had not “shown that the affiant in fact entertained serious doubts as

to the truth of [her affidavit].”. Warehouse Memorandum at 17

(internal quotation omitted) (emphasis added). However, it is abun-

dantly clear to us that the district court, which repeatedly correctly

noted that the defendants were required to make only a substantial

preliminary showing of the affiant’s reckless disregard for the truth,

see Warehouse Memorandum at 5, 7, 8, 21, recognized and applied

the correct legal standard and in the single passage cited by the

defendants was merely substituting the abbreviated “shown” for the

more cumbersome “made a substantial preliminary showing.”

a 44

signed by the judicial officer is particular enough if read with

reasonable effort by the officer executing the warrant.’”

United States v. Vaughn, 830 F.2d 1185, 1186 (D.C. Cir. 1987)

(quoting Moore v. United States, 461 F.2d 1236, 1238 (D.C.

Cir. 1972)). In this case, the defendants urge that the

warrant was not particular enough and therefore that the

district court erred in refusing to suppress the evidence

seized from ADM’s offices.

The search warrant sought “records and documents as

further described in Attachment B.” JA 249. Attachment B

in turn stated that the property to be seized consisted of

documents which “are believed to contain specific information

regarding the false statements and claims made by ADM.”

JA 262. More specifically, Attachment B permitted seizure

of “business records including, but =ot limited to,” various

categories of documents, such as invoices, receipts and corre-

spondence. Each category was divided in the sentence by

semi-colons and at the end of the list, followed by a comma,

was the phrase “and other records which relate to the crimi-

nal scheme outlined in the above affidavit” of Agent Shintani.

Finally, the records to be seized were limited to those that

“relate to the period June 1, 1984 through the present.” The

defendants complain that the warrant was unduly general

because some of the items identified (e.g., “internal docu-

ments, including agenda and minutes of board of directors

meetings”) were too broad, and because the permission to

seize records “including, but not limited to” those listed

exposed any and all documents to seizure.

The district court found that the warrant was not overly

broad because first, the warrant identified specific and limited

categories of records to be seized, and second, the warrant

limited the search to documents associated with the allega-

tions made in the Shintani affidavit. Warehouse Memoran-

dum at 24-25. We cannot agree with the district court’s first

ground for upholding the search. The warrant’s explicit

authorization to the agents to seize “business records includ-

ing, but not limited to” those specifically identified subjected

essentially all of ADM’s records dated after June 1, 1984 to

seizure and therefore the warrant, by itself, was not suffi-

a 45

ciently particular. See Center Art Galleries-Hawaii, Inc. v.

United States, 875 F.2d 747, 749-50 (9th Cir. 1989); Rickert

v. Sweeney, 813 F.2d 907, 908-09 (8th Cir. 1987). However,

we concur in the district court’s view that incorporation of

Agent Shintani’s affidavit into the warrant provided a suffi-

cient limi

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.