Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Merrill v. Alabama

Supreme Court brief1998

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

(\) ‘ Supreme Court, So

98 508 SEP 251998

No. 98- OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1997

ROBERT MERRILL,

Petitioner,

Vv.

STATE OF ALABAMA,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

to the Supreme Court of Alabama

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

KENNETH R. RAINES

Counsel of Record

WILKINS, BANKESTER, BILES

& WYNNE

201 East 2nd Street

Post Office Box 400

Bay Minette, Alabama 36507

(334) 937-7024

a ee

QUESTIONS FOR REVIEW

Whether the trial court erred in denying Defendant’s

pretrial Motion to Suppress his statements and erred in

admitting the statements into evidence at trial, when the

evidence unequivocally demonstrated that the Defendant

invoked his Fifth Amendment right to remain silent and

refused to give an oral or written waiver of these rights.

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED i

TABLE OF CONTENTS ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES iv

DECISIONS BELOW 1

STATEMENT OF

JURISDICTION 1

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS,

TREATIES, STATUTES,

ORDINANCES, AND REGULATIONS

INVOLVED IN THIS CASE 1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE 2

I. STATEMENT OF THE FACTS 2

REASONS TO ALLOW THE WRIT 5

Il. LAW ENFORCEMENT CANNOT

IGNORE A SUSPECT’S CLEAR

EQUIVOCATION OF HIS RIGHT TO

REMAIN SILENT AND IMMEDIATELY

CONTINUE INTERROGATION ONCE

THE RIGHT HAS BEEN INVOKED.

THEY MUST CEASE INTERROGATION

AT THAT POINT

5

— wie . i “

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS-—continued

Page

CONCLUSION 12

APPENDIX A

Opinion from the Court of Criminal Appeals

APPENDIX B |

Alabama Supreme Court Denial of Certiorari

APPENDIX C

Excerpts from Trial Record

APPENDIX D

Experts from Trial Court Transcript of Proceedings and

Testimony

APPENDIX E

Supreme Court of the United States Letter Granting

Extension of Time

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Arizona v. Fulminante, 499 U.S. 279,

111 S.Ct. 1246, 113 L.Ed.2d 301

(1991)

Delapt v. Dugger, 890 F.2d 285

(11th Cir. 1989), cert. denied,

ees Ove gcg 110 S.C. 2628,

110 L.Ed.2d 648 (1990)

Edwards v. Arizona, 491 U.S. 477,

68 L.Ed.2d 378, 101 So.Ct. 1880

(1981)

Jacobs v. Singletary, 952 F.2d 1282

(11th Cir. 1992)

Lewis v. State, 535 So.2d 228

(Ala. 1988)

Lightbourne v. Dugger, 829 F.2d 1012

(1ith Cir. 1987)

Malone v. State, 452 So.2d 1385

(Ala. Ct. Cr. App. 1984)

Michigan v. Moseley, 423 U.S. 96,

103 S.Ct. 321, 46 L.Ed.2d 313 (1975)

5, 8

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES-~continued

Page

Moore v. Dugger, 856 F.2d 129

(11th Cir. 1988) 8

Slaton v. State, 680 So.2d 879

(Ala. Cr. App. 1995), aff'd

Ex parte Slaton, 680 So.2d 909

(Ala. 1996) 11, 12

Statutes and Constitutional Provisions

C. Gamble McElroy’s Alabama Evidence

§200.01 (Sth Ed. 1996) 6

l

DECISIONS BELOW

The Circuit Court of Baldwin County, Alabama, the

Honorable James H. Reid presiding, issued an order denying

Merrill’s Motion to Suppress his statement on January 27,

1997. State v. Merrill, CC-96-1198, CC-96-1199 and CC-

96-1257. (January 27, 1997). The Alabama Court of

Criminal Appeals affirmed the order of the trial court by

memorandum. State v. Merrill, No. CR-96-1041, opinion

at November 14, 1997. The Alabama Supreme Court denied

Merrill’s Petition for Writ of Certiorari without opinion on

May 11, 1998. State v. Merrill, No. 1970857.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals affirmed the

Circuit Court’s denial of Merrill’s suppression motion on

November 14, 1997. State v. Merrill, CR-96-1041. Merrill

then filed for Writ of Certiorari to the Alabama Supreme

Court and his Petition was denied on May 22, 1998. State

v. Merrill, 1970857. Merrill was granted an extension of

time until September 25, 1998 by the United States Supreme

Court to file his Petition for Writ of Certiorari. Merrill asks

this Court to review the Alabama Supreme Court’s

affirmance of the denial of the suppression motion. This

Court has jurisdiction to review the judgment of the Alabama

Supreme Court under 28 U.S.C. §1257. Section 1257 gives

the Court jurisdiction to review the decision affirming the

denial of the suppression motion.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, TREATIES,

STATUTES, ORDINANCES AND REGULATIONS

INVOLVED IN THIS CASE

2

No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or

otherwise infamous crime, unless on a presentment or

indictment of a Grand Jury, except in cases arising in the

land or naval forces, or in the Militia, when in actual service

in time of war or public danger; nor shall any person be

subject for the same offense to be twice put in jeopardy of

— or limb; ak SO SSE OS

or senperty.. etthent. dua srmens of lene ‘nor shall private

property be taken for public use without just compensation.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

I, STATEMENT OF FACTS:

The Appellant, Robert Lee Merrill, was originally

arrested and charged with sexually abusing his minor

daughters on June 21, 1996. Merrill and his wife. Sarah,

had the following children: Alana, Faline, Robert and

Miranda. Merrill’s stepsister, Crystal, also lived with him

during this time.

On or about December 16, 1996, a Motion to

Suppress the Defendant’s statement was filed and on January

27, 1997 a hearing was held with respect to said matter.

(Appendix D, p. 217-219). The trial judge denied the

Motion to Suppress the statements and the statements were

introduced at trial. The facts surrounding the taking of the

statement are presented below.

This case originated when a confrontation ensued

between Sarah Merrill and her daughter, Alana Merrill, and

a discussion was had between the two parties implicating

Robert in a sexual abuse incident involving Alana. Upon

receiving this information, Sarah Merrill went to the

iste piel ata asee scit

3

Robertsdale Police Department and a report was forwarded

to the Department of Human Resources and members of the

Baldwin County Sheriff's Department. Shortly thereafter,

members of the Baldwin County Sheriff's Department were

dispatched to arrest Mr. Merrill and charge him with District

Court warrants alleging rape and sexual abuse against the

previously listed parties. The detectives assigned to

investigate the case arrested Mr. Merrill and immediately

transported him to the Robertsdale Police Department for

questioning. (Appendix D, p. 177-181).

When the Appellant was first arrested and taken to

the Robertsdale jail for questioning, he was read his entire

Miranda rights and asked by investigators to speak about the

case. The Defendant was advised he did not have to discuss

the case and was free to cease questioning at any time.

(Appendix D, p. 171-181, 1039, 1040).

Immediately after being advised of his rights, the

Appellant clearly responded "I don’t want to talk about this

right now." (Appendix D, p. 187-200, 1068-1069).

Further, the Appellant corroborated his refusal to speak by

refusing to sign the written waiver portion contained in the

Miranda form. (Appendix D, p. 187-200, 1046, 1047).

Immediately afterward, the detectives initiated

conversation with the Appellant. (Appendix D, p. 187-200,

1069). They elaborated about how burdensome these types

of cases were and how children never lie about their

accusations. (Appendix D, p. 192-193). After finishing

their speech, the detectives stopped and waited for a

response from the Appellant. (Appendix D, p. 192-193).

The accused remained silent. (Appendix D, p. 192-193).

officers. (Appendix D, p. 200-212).

After the third refusal, the State claimed the accused

then made a "voluntary" statement of some kind. (Appendix

D, p. 1125). The detective does not remember what the

statement referenced. (Appendix D, p. 1125).

sacifion st Senses (Appendix D, p. 1274-1278). Again,

the officers tried to coerce the accused into making a

statement and then again initiated further conversation.

Finally, when all of the Defendant’s refusals were ignored,

the accused told the officers that he committed all of the acts

contained on the paper. (Appendix D, p. 1127). Only then,

was the interrogation ceased.

The above cited facts were clearly enunciated at the

Motion to Suppress, and trial, not by the Defendant, but by

" ae ont 2 tl

ee ee oe a a ee

The Alabama Supreme Court’s decision in the Merrill

case conflicts not only with it’s own decisions, but with the

decisions of the United Siates Court of Appeals for the

Eleventh Circuit and the Supreme Court of the United States.

The undisputed testimony indicated that Merril] invocated

repeatedly and unambiguously, that he wished to remain

silent. Merrill stated specifically "I don’t want to talk about

this right now." The officers immediately refused to respect

Merrill’s rights to silence and immediately refused to case

interrogation. The lower courts failed to address this

problem and upheld the admission of the statement on a

completely unrelated theory that Merrill did not really refuse

to speak, he was just embarrassed. The lower courts

specifically failed to factor the officers’ unwillingness to

cease questioning into the totality of circumstances analysis

as required by Jacobs vy. Singletary, 952 F.2d 1282 (11th

Cir. 1992) and Michigan y. Moseley, 423 U.S. 96, 103 S.Ct.

321, 46 L.Ed.2d 313 (1975).

Because the decisions below conflict with the

decisions of other courts, Merrill respectfully asks this Court

to grant a Writ of Certiorari.

Il. LAW ENFORCEMENT CANNOT IGNORE A

SUSPECT’S CLEAR EQUIVOCATION OF HIS RIGHT

TO REMAIN SILENT AND IMMEDIATELY

CONTINUE INTERROGATION ONCE THE RIGHT

HAS BEEN INVOKED. THEY MUST CEASE

INTERROGATION AT THAT POINT.

6

Because all extra judicial concessions are prima facia

involuntary, the State has the burden of proving

voluntariness. Edwards v. Arizona, 491 U.S. 477, 68

L.Ed.2d 378, 101 So.Ct. 1880 (1981); Arizona v.

Fulminante, 499 U.S. 279, 111 S.Ct. 1246, 113 L.&d.2d

301 (1991); Malone v. State, 452 So.2d 1385 (Ala. Ct. Cr.

App. 1984). Unless the trial judge’s conclusion that the

inculpatory statement was voluntary and supported by

evidence, it will not be upheld. Malone v. State, 452 So.2d

1385 (Ala. Cr. App. 1984).

"The test applicable in state and federal prosecution

is whether the confession was free and voluntary; in other

words it must not have been extracted by any sort of threats

or violence, nor obtained by direct or implied promises,

C. Gamble McElroy’s Alabama Evidence, §200.01 (Sth Ed.

1996). The voluntariness must be based on substantial

evidence. Lewis v. State, 535 So.2d 228 (Ala. 1988).

In Jacobs v. Singletary, 952 F.2d 1282 (11th Cir.

1992), three defendants were charged with murder and

kidnapping and eventually taken into custody for questioning.

The facts almost mirror the facts in this case. After being

arrested, Jacobs was read her Miranda rights and did not

respond. Jacobs was then asked her name and responded "it

didn’t matter and it didn’t make a difference." She was then

asked to sign the Miranda rights card and refused. Shortly

after, upon arriving at the police station, she again refused

to answer questions. Jacobs, at 1292.

Within twenty minutes of the above Miranda

questioning, Jacobs was questioned again, read Miranda

rights, executed a waiver of rights form, and made a

statement. Jacobs, at 1293.

7

About an hour later, a third conversation ensued with

law enforcement and the Defendant. Jacobs, at 1293.

The U. S. Court of Appeals directly addressed each

statement and ruled that the first two statements referenced

above were taken in violation of the Defendant’s Miranda

rights, that the police failed to scrupulously honor the

Defendant’s right to remain silent, and that the two

statements should have been suppressed at trial. Jacobs, at

1282. Further the U. S. Court of Appeals directly set out

the law regarding a suspect’s invocation of his right to

remain silent.

"Once a suspect demonstrates her desire to

terminate questioning, law enforcement

officials may not take statements from her

unless they scrupulously honor her right to

remain silent; although determining whether

police have scrupulously honored a Suspect’s

right requires a case-by-case approach,

prophylactic standard minimally requires that

for a significant period of time after suspect

has exercised her right to remain silent, police

must refrain from questioning her unless

Suspect both initiates further conversation and

waives previously asserted rights to silence.

U.S.C.A. Const. Amend. 5."

“Determination whether there has been a

"significant period’ of noninterrogation

following invocation of right to remain silent,

as an inquiry merely corollary to that of

determining whether police have scrupulously

honored a suspect’s right to cut off

questioning, involves careful scrutiny of

8

totality of the circumstances. U.S.C.A.

Const.Amend. 5"

Jacobs, at 1283-1284.

This standard is further enunciated in Lightbourne v.

Dugger, 829 F.2d 1012 (11th Cir. 1987).

Law enforcement officials must cease an interrogation

if the suspect provides merely an equivocal or ambiguous

indication of her desire to remain silent. Delapt v. Dugger,

890 F.2d 285 (11th Cir. 1989), cert. denied, __: U.S. ___,

110 S.Ct. 2628, 110 L.Ed.2d 648 (1990). The suspect must

only in some manner evidence a refusal to talk further.

Moore v. Dugger, 856 F.2d 129, (11th Cir. 1988).

In Jacobs, the U. S. Court of Appeals examined three

factors from Michigan v. Moseley, 423 U.S. 96, 103 S.Ct.

321, 46 L.Ed.2d 313 (1975).

(1) Whether the police immediately ceased

interrogation once the suspect invoked his

right to silence.

(2) Whether the police resumed

questioning only after the passage of

"significant time" and after administration of

fresh Miranda warnings; and

(3) Whether the police in their second

round of questioning focused on a different

crime.

In Jacobs, the Court noted that the Defendant

established that she wished to cut off questioning and that

9

her non-responsive and responsive statements required the

police to cease interrogation. The Court further noted that

the continued conversation by law enforcement was only an

attempt to elicit further information from the suspect.

Accordingly, the statement was held inadmissible. Jacobs,

at 1293.

Also, the Court noted that the twenty minute delay

between questioning was not a Significant period of time

between the invocation of silence and the actual delivery of

the second statement. Again, the statement was ruled

inadmissible. Jacobs, at 1293.

In the case before this Court, we have almost an

identical invocation of silence, with the exception that Robert

passed by n_the continued interrogation. Nowhere did

the officer try and clarify Mr. Merrill’s Statement; the reason

no clarification statement was made is because the officer

KNEW, contrary to the State of Alabama’s assertion in their

brief, that "I don’t want to talk" means "I don’t want to

talk." The officer refused to cease interrogation and decided

to take his chances with the Court. Also, just as in Jacobs,

Robert Merrill refused to Sign the waiver form at the same

time he refused to discuss the case with police. How could

an invocation of silence become any clearer than the exact

fact pattern before this Court?

Yet incredulously, the police would have this Court

believe the statement ultimately received was voluntary.

This position does not hold water and is seen in the

following testimony:

10

KEN RAINES:

Q.

“Let me ask you deputy, if you

believe that a person, when

you go and interrogate them,

does not have to talk to you,

what else do they have to say

besides I don’t want to talk to

you, to get you to recognize

their rights?”

DEPUTY:

A. "If. he would have told me, I

do_not want to talk to you, I

would have interpreted that as,

-- Vv

nights. But his statement was,

I do not want to talk to you

about it nght now, or talk to

you right now. I - indicating

that he might later."

"So if he makes the statement,

I do not want to talk to you,

that’s enough of an invocation

right, in your opinion, and if

you add "right now" to that

sentence, then that’s different

in your opinion?"

"That indicates that he might

be willing to talk about it

later."

a i a li oh ta wre

1]

Q. "If he makes the statement

that, I do not want to talk to

you, period, in your presence,

and he makes that statement to

Deputy Cook, then you are

saying that you had to stop and

cease questioning when you

heard it, is that correct?"

A. "If he would have said, I do

not want to talk to you

period?"

Q. “Yes sir."

A. "Yes sir.”

The fallacy behind this position is two-fold. First,

: : iad :

the policeman did _not_wait_until later to try and_re- 1 He j fiatel ‘ued on witl

the interrogation. (Appendix D, p. 191). Secondly, if one

enunciates that "I do not want to talk to you,” what is to

keep the officer from continuing to initiate conversation on

the premise that the interrogator is unsure if the accused is

referring to right now or later with respect to conversation?

The State’s position is unsupported by the law of this State,

the law of this land, and good old fashioned common sense.

In the lower Court’s previous memorandum affirming

the trial court, the lower Court tried to use Slaton v State,

680 So.2d 879 (Ala. Cr. App. 1995), aff'd Ex parte Slaton,

680 So.2d 909 (Ala. 1996) as persuasive authority to indicate

that the invocation of silence by this Defendant was just the

product of embarrassment or fear. Such an argument holds

no water.

12

In Slaton, the Alabama Supreme Court correctly held

that the Defendant’s response "Oh, God, I don’t feel like

going through all this" is ambiguous and was not an

unequivocal invocation of the right to remain silent. Slaton,

at 886-887.

The Defendant in this case said "I don’t want to talk

a tien et sn secrogempeeirytd

The officers could have waited, come back later, and

inquired if the suspect would talk to them. These deputies

chose not to wait, not to follow the law, and to roll the dice.

If the U. S. Supreme Court and the U. S. Court of Appeals

for the Eleventh Circuit’s prior interpretation of the law as

to an individual’s right to remain silent carries any weight,

then this decision will be reversed. Counsel for the

Defendant submits this is bad law.

How can one argue that when a person says "I don’t

want to talk about it,” that the statement means something

else? That is the State’s position. If the State’s position is

upheld, then from now own, when a suspect says, "I don’t

want to talk about it,” that’s not clear enough to tell a person

he wishes to remain silent. If that’s the case, what other

magic language exists that is clear enough to tell a person

that you don’t want to talk about it?

CONCLUSION

Robert Merrill implores this Court to uphold an

individual’s right to remain silent and not encourage law

enforcement’s disregard for the law or create a brand new

language necessary to convey one’s thoughts to another.

13

As such, Merrill respectfully asks this Court to grant

a Writ of Certiorari to address the lower courts’ rulings

regarding the invocation of silence by Merrill.

Respectfully submitted,

KENNETH R. RAINES

Wilkins, Bankester, Biles & Wynne

Post Office Box 400

Bay Minette, Alabama 36507

(334) 937-7024

Counsel of Record for Petitioner

la

APPENDIX A

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF ALABAMA

May 22, 1998

1970857

Ex parte R. M. PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS (In re: R. M.

V. State) (96-1041) (Baldwin: CC-96-1198;-1199;-1257)

CERTIFICATE OF JUDGMENT

Writ Denied

The above cause having been duly submitted, IT IS

CONSIDERED AND ORDERED that the petition for writ

of certiorari is denied.

COSTS TAXED TO PETITIONER.

ALMON, J. — Hooper, CJ., Houston, Cook and Lyons,

JJ., concur.

I, Robert G. Esdale, as Clerk of the Supreme

Court of Alabama, do hereby certify that the

foregoing is a full, true and correct copy of the

instrument(s) herewith set out as Same appear(s) of

record in said Court.

Witness my hand this 22 day of May, 1998

/s/ Robert G. Esdale

Clerk, Supreme Court of Alabama

2a

APPENDIX B

COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS

STATE OF ALABAMA

Judicial Building, 300 Dexter Avenue

P.O. Box 301555

Montgomery, AL 36130-1555

FRANCIS ALLEN LONG, SR. Clerk’s Office

Presiding Judge (334) 242-4590

H. WARD McMILLAN

SUE BELL COBB

JEAN WILLIAMS BROWN

PAMELA W. BASCHAB

Judges

[stamp—RELEASED; NOV 14 1997; CLERK;

ALA COURT CRIMINAL APPEALS]

MEMORANDUM

CR-96-1041 Baldwin County Circuit Court

No. CC 96-1198, CC 96-1199, CC 96-1257

R. M. v. State

Affirmed by memorandum.

The appellant was convicted in a jury trial of nine counts

of sexual abuse in the first degree and six counts or rape in

the first degree. Specifically, the appellant was convicted of

one count of statutory sexual abuse in the first degree, in

violation of § 13A-6-66(a)(3), Code of Alabama 1975, and

six counts of rape by forcible compulsion, in violation of

§ 13A-6-61(a)(1), Code of Alabama 1975, all committed

against A.M., his step-daughter. He was convicted of four

counts of sexual abuse in the first degree by forcible com-

3a

pulsion, in violation of § 13A-6-66(a)(1), Code of Alabama

1975, all committed against C.R.M., his step-sister. Finally,

he was convicted of four counts of statutory sexual abuse in

the first degree, in violation of § 13A-6-66(a)(3), Code of

Alabama 1975, all committed against F.M., his daughter.

The trial court sentenced the appellant to serve ten years

in prison on the one count of sexual abuse and to life im-

prisonment on each of the six counts of rape involving A.M.

It sentenced him to serve ten years in prison on each of the

four counts of sexual abuse in the first degree involving

C.R.M. It also sentenced him to serve ten years in prison on

each of the four counts of sexual abuse in the first degree

involving F.M. The court ordered the sentences for all

counts involving the same victim to run concurrently, while

ordering the sentences imposed under each indictment! to

run consecutively. The appellant raises several issues in this

appeal.

I.

The appellant argues that because Deputies Cook and

Stewart? of the Baldwin County Sheriff's department ob-

tained his statement by violating his right to remain silent

under Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436, 16 L. Ed. 2d 694,

86 S. Ct. 1602 (1966), the trial court committed reversible

error by denying his motion to suppress his statement.

Because the appellant never unequivocally invoked his rights

under Miranda, we disagree. :

' The grand jury issued three indictments against the appellant. Each

indictment included the allegations of the acts committed by the appellant

against a different victim.

* Stewart is referred to at various times in the record as ‘Sergeant

Stewart,’’ ‘““Deputy Stewart,’’ and ‘‘Investigator Stewart.”’

4a

The record reflects that, on June 21, 1996, after Stewart

arrested the appellant at his home, Stewart gave the appel-

lant his Miranda rights from memory, but did not ask him

any questions. After the appellant was taken to the Roberts-

dale Police Department, Stewart, joined by Deputy Cook,

began to interview him. Before interviewing the appellant,

Cook gave him his Miranda rights a second time, this time

using a ‘‘Statement of Miranda Rights’’ form. This form set

forth the individual rights guaranteed an accused under

Miranda anc contained a brief section, followed by a signa-

ture line, for one to signify that he had waived his Miranda

rights.

Both Cook and Stewart testified that no one threatened the

appellant or made any promises to induce him to make a

Statement. The two deputies testified that no one either

suggested that things would go easier for the appellant if he

cooperated and gave a statement, or implied that things

would be more difficult for him if he refused to cooperate.

The deputies testified that the appellant’s speech was

coherent and he did not appear to be under the influence of

drugs or alcohol at that time. Cook stated the appellant

appeared to understand the rights read to him.

Cook read each of the five rights included on the form to

the appellant. As Cook finished reading him each right, he

asked the appellant to place his initials beside that right.

After placing his initials beside the fifth right, the appellant

told Cook ‘‘he didn’t want to talk about that [the case] right

now’’ and refused to sign the waiver form. (R. 189); (R.

1124,.

’ The appellant raised the admissibility of his statement to Deputies

Cook and Stewart in a pretrial motion, and a hearing on this issue was

held immediately prior to his trial. The court denied the appellant’s

motion before the beginning of his trial. The appellant also raised this

issue at trial, and the court once again allowed the parties to present

evidence in support of their respective claims. We have summarized all

the relevant evidence presented on both occasions.

Sa

After this remark, Stewart continued to talk to the appel-

lant for several minutes about the case generally, but he did

not ask him any questions. Stewart stated that he later asked

the appellant if he was too embarrassed to talk about what

happened. Stewart testified that after the appellant told the

deputies that he did not want to talk about the allegations

against him, he asked the appellant if he was invoking his

Miranda rights and that the appellant did not respond to this

question. (R. 190-91). Stewart told the appellant the allega-

tions he and Cook were investigating came from the appel-

lant’s children, not from him and Cook. Stewart told the

appellant that they took children’s claims of sexual abuse

seriously because children did not make such claims lightly.

Stewart said to the appellant that, if he had a problem, the

two deputies would be glad to talk with him about it because

that was why they were there. Stewart further suggested that

the appellant needed to consider his relationship with the

children and what they were dealing with. As Stewart was

talking to him, the appellant made a sudden comment about

one of the girls. Cook did not hear what the appellant said,

but stopped him and read him his Miranda rights for a

second time from the form.*

Once the appellant signed the waiver section of the form,

Cook handed him one complaint at a time and explained to

him what that complaint charged him with. Cook then

allowed the appellant to read each complaint himself. Cook

testified that, after he read each complaint, the appellant

commented, ‘““Yes, that happened.’’ Cook testified the

appellant was initially uncertain as to the dates in some of

4 Stewart and Cook gave the appellant his Miranda rights a total of

three times. Stewart gave the appellant his rights once orally as Stewart

placed him under arrest at his home. Deputy Cook read him his rights

twice using the form while the appellant was at the Robertsdale Police

Department.

6a

the complaints, but he then agreed that if those were the

dates the girls said the acts happened, then that’s when they

happened.

The appellant testified at trial but did not testify at the

suppression hearing. The appellant testified that after they

read him his rights, he told the deputies that he ‘‘did not

want to talk to anybody, period. I just wanted them to leave

me alone.’’ (R. 1275). The appellant testified he told one of

the deputies he had no idea why he was arrested and that the

deputy handed him all of the complaints at one time, telling

him these were the charges. The appellant denied he had had

an opportunity to read any of the complaints. The record

contains no indication, other than the appellant’s own testi-

mony, that the appellant asked to speak to an attorney.

In Davis v. United States, 512 U.S. 452, 114 S.Ct. 2350,

129 L.Ed.2d 362 (1994), the United States Supreme Court

reasoned that, to adequately invoke his right to counsel

under Miranda, a suspect’s request for must be clear enough

so that a reasonable police officer under the circumstances

would be aware that the suspect is requesting counsel. /d.,

114 S.Ct. at 2355. ‘‘Invocation of the Miranda right to

counsel ‘requires, at a minimum, some statement that can

reasonably be construed to be an expression of a desire for

the assistance of an attorney.” McNeil v. Wisconsin, supra,

501 U.S., at 178, 111 S.Ct. at 2209.’" Davis v. United

States, 512 U.S. at 459.

In Ex parte Cothren [Ms. 1961250, August 22, 1997] __

So.2d ____ (Ala. 1997), the Alabama Supreme Court af-

firmed our court’s refusal to extend the rule of law in

Edwards v. Arizona, “*1 U.S. 477, 101 S. Ct. 1880, 68 L.

Ed. 2d 378 (1981), to cases in which the appellant makes

***an ambiguous or equivocal reference to an attorney.’ ”’

slip op. at 2. (Citation omitted). In holding that the appel-

lant’s purported request for counsel was equivocal because it

7a

was capable of equally plausible, differing interpretations,

the Cothren court reasoned as follows:

‘* “(T]he suspect must unambiguously request counsel.

As we have observed, ‘‘a statement either is such an

assertion of the right to counsel or it is not.’’ Smith v.

Illinois, 469 U.S., at 97-98 (brackets and internal

quotation marks omitted). Although a suspect need not

‘“*speak with the discrimination of an Oxford don,”’

post, at 476 (Souter, J., concurring in judgment), he

must articulate his desire to have counsel present

sufficiently clearly that a reasonable police officer in

the circumstances would understand the statement to be

a request for an attorney. If the statement fails to meet

the requisite level of clarity, Edwards does not require

that the officers stop questioning the suspect. See

Moran v. Burbine, 475 U.S. 412, 433, n.4, 106 S.Ct.

1135, 89 L.Ed.2d 410 (1986) (‘‘[T]he interrogation

must cease until an attorney is present only [i]f the

individual states that he wants an attorney’’) (citations

and internal quotation marks omitted).

Ex parte Cothren, supra.

In Slaton v. State, 680 So.2d 879 (Ala.Cr.App. 1995),

aff'd, Ex parte Slaton, 680 So.2d 909 (Ala. 1996), the

appellant, ‘‘an admittedly scared’’ 17 year-old, was arrested

for murder and rape and taken to the police station for ques-

tioning. One of the detectives interrogating Slaton read him

his Miranda warnings and Slaton signed a waiver form

which relinquished his rights under Miranda. During his

interrogation, the appellant exclaimed, ‘‘Oh, God, I don’t

feel like going through all this.’’ On appeal, Slaton argued

that this statement meant that he wanted to stop talking to

the police and was invoking his right to remain silent. The

Slaton court noted that:

8a

‘*The United Stated Supreme Court has held that police

officers must inform people of their constitutional rights

before beginning custodial interrogations. Miranda v.

Arizona, 384 U.S. 436, 86 S.Ct. 1602, 166 L.Ed.2d

694 (1966). Included in the right to remain silent is a

right to cut off questioning. Miranda, 384 U.S. at 474.

When a defendant invokes his right to remain silent,

that request must be ‘scrupulously honored.’ Michigan

v. Mosley, 423 U.S. 96, 96 S.Ct. 321, 46 L.Ed.2d 313

(1975).

‘**This court recently stated that whether someone

has invoked his right to remain silent is determined

on a case-by-case basis.

** “Whether there was a waiver of the right to

remain silent and the right to counsel and whether

the confession was knowingly, voluntarily, and

intelligently made must be decided from the par-

ticular facts and circumstances of each case, in- -

cluding the background, experience, and conduct

of the accused—the totality of the circumstances.’

**Holmes v. State, 598 So.2d 24, 26 (Ala.Crim.App.

1992); see also Thomas v. State, 373 So.2d 1167 (Ala.

1979), vacated on other grounds, 448 U.S. 903, 100

S.Ct. 3043, 65 L.Ed.2d 1133 (1980); Magwood v.

State, 494 So.2d 124 (Ala.Crim.App. 1985), aff'd, 494

So.2d 154 (Ala.), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 995, 107

S.Ct. 599, 93 L.Ed.2d 599 (1986).”’

Slaton v. State, 680 So.2d at 886-87. In affirming the trial

court’s judgment, this court characterized the appellant’s

remark as follows:

‘“We are not persuaded that Slaton’s response, “Oh

God, I don’t fell like going through all this,” was an

unequivocal invocation of his right to remain silent. It

9a

does not strike us as any kind of conscious request that

he be allowed to remain silent. Instead, Slaton’s

comment seems a natural outburst borne of the fear and

anxiety created by the circumstances in which he found

himself. Therefore, we hold that Slaton’s statement was

not an invocation of his right to remain silent, that his

Miranda rights were not violated, and that his statement

was properly used at trial.”’

Slaton v. State, 680 So.2d at 887.

Moreover, in affirming our judgment, the Alabama

Supreme Court concluded that, taken in its proper context,

the appellant’s outburst had nothing to do with an attempt to

invoke his Miranda rights. Rather, the court determined

that the appellant simply disliked having to discuss ‘‘the

sexual details of what he says happened... .”’ Ex parte

Slaton, 680 So.2d at 914.

Here, as in Slaton, the appellant’s statement seems to be

the product of his fear and embarrassment caused by the

discovery of his crimes, not an attempt to invoke his rights

to remain silent or speak with an attorney. Cook and Stewart

could have reasonably interpreted the appellant’s comment

that ‘‘he didn’t want to talk about that [the case] right now’’

to mean that he would not object to discussing the case a few

minutes later. There is no reason why appellant’s comment

would have alerted a reasonable police officer under the

same circumstances to the fact that the appellant was request-

ing counsel. Davis v. United States, supra; McNeil v.

Wisconsin, supra; Ex parte Cothren, supra.

Il.

The appellant contends that the state failed to offer suffi-

cient evidence to support each of his fifteen convictions. We

disagree.

iliac

10a

In determining the sufficiency of the evidence to sustain a

conviction, a reviewing court must accept as true all evi-

dence introduced by the State, accord the State all legitimate

inferences therefrom, and consider all evidence in a light

most favorable to the prosecution. Faircloth v. State, 471

So. 2d 485 (Ala. Crim. App. 1984), aff'd, 471 So. 2d 493

(Ala. 1985). Furthermore, a judgment of conviction will not

be set aside on the ground of insufficiency of the evidence

unless, allowing all reasonable presumptions for its correct-

ness, the preponderance of the evidence against the judgment

is so decided as to clearly convince the reviewing court that

it was wrong and unjust. Jackson v. State, 516 So. 2d 726

(Ala. Crim. App. 1985).

Section 13A-6-66, Code of Alabama 1975, states, in

pertinent part:

**(a) A person commits the crime of sexual abuse in the

first degree if:

‘*(1) He subjects another person to sexual contact by

forcible compulsion; or

‘*(3) He, being 16 years old or older, subjects another

person to sexual contact who is less than 12 years old.”’

‘*Sexual contact’’ is defined in § 13A-6-60(3), Code of

Alabama 1975 as ‘‘[aJny touching of the sexual or other

intimate parts of a person not married to the actor, done for

the purpose of gratifying the sexual desire of either party.’’

Section 13A-6-61(a)(1), Code of Alabama 1975, which

provides that ‘‘{[a] male commits the crime of rape in the

first degree if . . . [hJe engages in sexual intercourse with a

female by forcible compulsion.’’ Section 13A-6-60(8), Code

of Alabama 1975, defines ‘‘forcible compulsion’’ as

‘‘[p]hysical force that overcomes earnest resistance or a

threat, express or implied, that places a person in fear of

lla

immediate death or serious physical injury to himself or

another person.’’ Jd. Evidence that victim engaged in sexual

intercourse with defendant because she was scared that she

would be killed unless she acquiesced constituted ‘‘forcible

compulsion’’ within the meaning of the rape in the first

degree statute. Alldredge v. State, 453 So. 2d 1332 (Ala.

Crim. App. 1984). The element of forcible compulsion for

both first degree rape and sexual misconduct is identical.

Martin v. State, 504 So. 2d 335 (Ala. Crim. App. 1986).

‘In Powe v. State, 597 So.2d 721 (Ala. 1991), this

Court held that the element of forcible compulsion

could be established by the relationship of a child

victim with the defendant charged with a sex crime

involving forcible compulsion.”’

Howell v. State, 636 So.2d 1260, 1261 (Ala. 1993). The

Howell and Powe courts recognized that an implied threat of

disciplinary action exists between a child and an adult

relative because of the authoritative role the adult plays in a

child’s world. Thus, the standard for ‘‘forcible compulsion’’

must be somewhat more stringent where the actor is

someone in a parent-type role. Cf. Powe v. State, 597 So.2d

721, 728 (Ala. 1991).

In this case, the State established sufficient evidence to

support each of the appellant’s fifteen convictions. Each of

the counts charged against the appellant appears to involve

continuous conduct by the appellant, and the State was

required under the doctrine of election to elect a specific

offense it sought to prove. J.D.S. v. State, 587 So.2d 1249,

1256 (Ala.Cr.App. 1991). Although the State does have to

prove that the elected incident occurred, the time and place

of the offense are not necessary elements of a sexual of-

fense. Dilbeck v. State, 594 So.2d 168, 174 (Ala.Cr.App.

1991). The testimony of appellant’s child, step-child, and

his sister, if believed by the jury, was sufficient evidence

12a

upon which to support the appellant’s convictions. Myers v.

State, 677 So. 2d 807 (Ala. Crim. App. 1995). Each of the

victims testified that the appellant had either forcible sexual

contact or intercourse with them or that they were under the

age of twelve when the appellant had sexual contact with

them. Much of the appellant’s conduct was witnessed by his

youngest daughter, M.R.M., and by his son, R.K.M.

Moreover, R.K.M. was forced by the appellant to have sex

with his sister while the appellant watched.

The record reflects that the appellant’s child, step-child

and sister feared the appellant. The appellant was either

trained in the martial arts or caused the children to believe

that he was. A.M. testified that the appellant ‘‘knew all the

pressure points’’ one could use to kill another person and he

could break bricks with his bare hands. A.M. testified that

the appellant had threatened to kill her if she ever told

anybody what he had done to her. Clearly, the State not only

established ‘‘forcible compulsion,’’ as defined by § 13A-6-

60(8), Code of Alabama 1975, but also under the standards

of Powe v. State, 597 So.2d 721, 728 (Ala. 1991), as well.

That, together with the children’s testimony that the acts

took place, was sufficient to support the appellant’s convic-

tions.

Ill.

The appellant argues that the trial court erred to reversal

by finding that he failed to establish a prima facie violation

of Batson v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 79, 90 L. Ed. 2d 69, 106

S. Ct. 1712 (1986). We disagree.

Here, there were five blacks on the venire. The State used

two of its strikes to remove blacks from the venire, leaving

three blacks on the jury. In his attempt to make a prima

facie showing of discrimination, appellant’s counsel did not

bring to the trial court’s attention any factor that might show

———

13a

that the prosecutor discriminated against jurors on the basis

of race. The tr 4l court found that the appellant had not

made a prima facie showing of purposeful racial discrimina-

tion and that the State was therefore not required to give

reasons for its strikes. We agree that the appellant failed to

establish a prima facie case under Batson and Ex parte

Branch, 526 So.2d 609 (Ala. 1987). Ashley v. State, 606

So.2d 187 (Ala.Cr.App. 1992); Hood v. State, 598 So.2d

1022 (Ala.Cr.App. 1991); Parker v. State, 571 So.2d 381

(Aia.Cr.App. 1990).

IV.

A.

The appellant argues the trial court erred by allowing the

State to impeach him with a copy of a jail intake report

because the report was unauthenticated hearsay and thus

inadmissible for impeachment purposes. We disagree.

S.M., the appellant’s wife, testified for the State. During

cross-examination, the appellant asked her if she had been

diagnosed with a sexually transmitted disease when their

child M.R.M.° was born. S.M. answered that she had been

diagnosed with herpes at that time. The appellant then asked

his wife if they had ever engaged in unprotected sexual

intercourse after she was diagnosed with herpes and she

replied that they had. Finally, the appellant asked his wife

whether any of her children had been examined to determine

if they had any sexually transmitted diseases and she re-

sponded that they had not.

* M.R.M. was seven years old at the time of the appellant’s trial and

was not a victim in this case. She did witness some of the events alleged

in the three indictments against the appellant and testified against the

appellant at trial.

l4a

During the trial, defense counsel asked the appellant

whether he ‘‘could have’’ contracted [herpes] from unpro-

tected sex with his wife, and the appellant testified that ‘‘I

don’t see how I couldn’t . . . .”” During cross-examination,

the prosecutor showed the appellant what he identified as the

jail intake form that was completed from information sup-

plied by the appellant when he was booked. This form was

signed by the appellant and asked a number of questions

concerning the appellant’s health. The appellant admitted

during cross-examination that the intake form indicated that

he did not have any sexually transmitted diseases. This form

was not offered into evidence by the State, but was used

solely to impeach the appellant.

‘‘A common method of impeachment is to ask a witness

on cross-examination about the witness’ prior statements that

are inconsistent with present trial testimony. Such self-

contradiction has long been held relevant to credibility

whether the inconsistent statement is oral or in

writing . . . ."” C. Gamble, Gamble’s Alabama Rules of

Evidence § 613(a) (1995) (footnotes omitted). See also, Rule

613, Ala.R.Evid.

The appellant complains the State failed to lay the proper

predicate for impeachment using this document. However,

the appellant’s argument is clearly refuted by Rule 613(b),

Ala.R.Evid.:

**(b) Extrinsic evidence of a prior inconsistent state-

ment by a witness is not admissible unless the witness

has been confronted with the circumstances of the

statement with sufficient particularity to enable the

witness to identify the statement and is afforded an

opportunity to admit or to deny having made it... .”’

The appellant’s argument that the trial court improperly

impeached him by using his responses on the jail intake form

is therefore without merit.

15a

B.

The appellant further argues he was not given a copy of

the appellant’s jail intake or ‘*hbooking’’ form in discovery

and that the State’s use of this document to impeach hin

violated Rule 16, A.R.Crim.P. The appellant therefore

argues that he is entitled to a new trial. We disagree.

Discovery by the defense in a criminal case is governed

by Rule 16.1, Ala.R.Crim.P. We are unable to find any

provision of Rule 16.1 that would require the State to

provide a record whose sole purpose is to document the

physical condition of the defendant when he is booked into

jail. We have also reviewed the appellant’s motions for

discovery and production and can find no pleading filed by

the appellant that would require the production of his jail

intake form. Because the State had no obligetion under Rule

16.1, Ala.R.Crim.P., to produce the appellant’s jail intake

form, the trial court did not err by allowing the State to

impeach the appellant with this form.

V.

The appellant next argues that ‘(t]he trial court erred in

allowing the prosecutor . . . to improperly comment on the

Defendant’s Fifth Amendment right of self incrimination

(sic) and impose upon him a burden to present evidence, a

burden which he did not possess.’’ We disagree.

On cross-examination, the appellant's attorney asked two

of the victims, A.M. and C.R.M., and Deputy Cook

whether any law enforcement officers had examined the

appellant’s employment records at Fovil Manufacturing.

Defense counsel also asked the appellant ‘‘has anybody from

the Sheriff’s office gone out and pulled any of your work

records.’’ The appellant replied, ‘“‘Not to my knowledge.’

The appellant was then asked a series of questions about his

employment records at Fovil Manufacturing, his wife's

i

16a

employment at the Riviera Centre, and the victim’s school

records. Thereafter, the following exchange occurred be-

tween defense counsel and the appellant:

‘*(Defense Counsel]: Let’s talk about all of these dates.

Would you agree that if we had

those records before us, that we

could pin down some times, to say

absolutely some things could not

have happened during this time and

some things could have happened

possibly during this other time?

‘‘(The Appellant]: That would be a way to tell them.’’

(R. 1264). The implication of defense counsel’s questioning

was that the records referenced in his questions, if available

to the jury, would exonerate the appellant of at least some of

the charges against him and would cause doubts as to many

of the remaining charges. On cross-examination, the prose-

cutor asked the appellant if he or anybody else had brought

his employment records with him to trial and defense coun-

sel objected.

‘****A party who has brought out evidence on a certain

subject has no valid complaint as to the trial court’s

action in allowing his opponent or adversary to intro-

duce evidence on the same subject.’’’ Hubbard v.

State, 471 So.2d 497, 499 (Ala.Cr.App. 1984) (quoting

Brown v. State, 392 So.2d 1248, 1260 (Ala.Cr.App.

1980), cert. denied, 392 So.2d 1266 (Ala. 1981). See

Dulaney v. Burns, 218 Ala. 493, 496, 119 So. 21

(1928), overruled on other grounds, Whitten v. Allstate

Ins. Co., 447 So.2d 655, 659 (Ala. 1984). “Whenever

defense counsel injects an issue into a case during

cross-examination, the State may, within the discretion

of the trial judge, question the witness as to that

matter.’ Austin v. State, 434 So.2d 289, 292

17a

(Ala.Cr.App. 1983). See also Garrett v. State, 580

So.2d 58, 60 (Ala.Cr.App. 1991)... .”’

Sistrunk v. State, 596 So. 2d 644, 647 (Ala.Cr.App. 1992).

‘*[T]his court determined, in Twilley v. State, 472 So. 2d

1130 (Ala. Crim. App. 1985), that ‘[t}he defense, by

initially putting this matter into evidence, opened the door

for the State to rebut such evidence if it could.’ Twilley, at

1138. Long v. State, 621 So.2d 383, 388 (Ala.Cr.App.

1993).

By implying that his employment records would have

disproved many of the State’s charges against him, the

appellant opened the door for the State to cross-examine him

concerning these records. Sistrunk v. State, supra; Long v.

State, supra.

VI.

Finally, the appellant appears to argue that the trial court

erred to reversal by including in each of the written verdict

forms a summary of the allegations that comprised that

count. He argues that including this information on the

verdict forms constituted a comment by the trial court on the

evidence and was reversible error. We disagree.

At the conclusion of the trial court’s oral charge, the court

stated the following to the jury:

‘‘Now, to aid you in the proper wording of a verdict

in this case, I have prepared forms for your verdict.

Each page is a separate verdict. You must return a

verdict as to each one of those counts. I’ll read the

verdict forms to you.

‘*This is the verdict form as to count one, and I have

it titled A.M., and you will know who it is when you

Start considering that verdict form.

‘And I have some information on there for you, this

is not to be considered by you as evidence, the informa-

18a

tion on the verdict form, it’s simply to clarify and help

you understand which count you are considering.

Remember, the evidence is what you heard in the court-

room.

**This is just an aid, to help you what you are consid-

ering at any particular time (sic).

‘‘Here’s the information concerning count one. This

is the first occasion of alleged sexual abuse when A.M.

was five years old and when it was alleged that the

defendant rubbed his penis between her legs.

‘**Now, as to these allegations of count one, if you

find that the defendant is guilty of that charge, your

verdict would be, We the jury find the defendant guilty

of sexual abuse in the first degree.

“If you find that the defendant is not guilty of that

charge, then as to the allegations in count one, We the

jury find the defendant not guilty. And that’s what you

do when you get to count one.’”’

(R. 1379-80) (Emphases supplied). The trial court proceeded

in this manner throughout the remaining fourteen counts of

the three indictments. Where language describing the

defendant’s conduct appears in a given count, it was always

preceded by the word ‘‘alleged.”’

As the judge read to the jury Count III of the first indict-

ment, which involved the appellant’s rape by forcible

compulsion of A.M., and the numerous lesser included

offenses, he reiterated the following:

‘“‘There are five more of those and I’m not going to

read them. They are all the same. I'll just read you the

factual information.

‘‘T’ll just read you the [factual] information at the top.

I’m calling it information, because I want to show you

19a

what you are considering. I’m not saying it’s fects in

the case.

(R. 1383) (Emphasis supplied). Thereafter, while summariz-

ing the allegations of the cases involving C.R.M.., the trial

court stated as follows:

*‘Again, its your determination as to whether those

are facts or not in the case. That’s just information to

help you sort it out.”’

(R. 1385-86) (Emphasis supplied).

The appellant cited no authority to support his argument

that the inclusion of the explanatory information within the

verdict forms constitutes a comment by the court on the

evidence. Neither were we able to locate any such authority.

Nor have we have found any case law or other authority that

States what may or may not be included in verdict forms.

However, we do find helpful our court’s recent decision in

Williams v. State, [Ms. CR-92-0382, August 23, 1996] ee

So.2d___ (Ala.Cr.App. 1996):

“Rule 21, Ala.R.Cr.P., gives the trial court discre-

tion to send indictments to the jury room in a complex

case. Eddins v. State, 501 So. 2d 574 (Ala.Cr.App.

1986); Thompson v. State, 473 So. 2d 1205

(Ala.Cr.App. 1985). This was a complex case, involv-

ing four indictments. There were two charges of capital

murder and two of attempted murder, and numerous

lesser included offenses were involved.”’

Williams v. State, supra.

This was a complex case which involved three victims,

three indictments, and fifteen counts. The time periods

involved in the various counts overlapped greatly. The

appellant filed, and the trial court granted, a Motion for a

More Definite Statement. When the State filed its More

20a

Definite Statement, the Defendant filed a second Motion for

a More Definite Statement, demanding still more

information. The trial court included the additional facts in

each verdict form so the jury would understand each of the

fifteen counts on which it was voting. The trial court

repeatedly stated to the jury that the summaries included

within each verdict form were not evidence and stated when

it began its explanation of the verdict forms that

‘*Remember, the evidence is what you heard in the court-

room.’’ (R. 1380).

In a case this complex, we cannot find error in the trial

court’s inclusion on each verdict form sufficient allegations

to give the jurors some information of what they were voting

on. This is especially true where, as here, the trial court

exercised such diligence in insuring that the jury would not

mistake its summaries for evidence. We believe including a

summary of the allegations contained in each count is vastly

superior to allowing the jury to take the indictment and/or

More Definite Statement with it when it began its delibera-

tions, as we permitted in Williams v. State, supra.

Vil.

The appellant also alleges that the trial court erred by

failing to cover the lesser included offenses as to Counts IV

through VII involving the victim, A.M. However, the

appellant’s second argument is raised for the first time on

appeal, and is therefore not preserved for appellate review.

Kennard v. State, 531 So.2d 938, 940 (Ala.Cr.App. 1988);

Bolding v. State, 428 So.2d 187, 191 (Ala.Cr.App. 1983).

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the trial court

is affirmed.

Affirmed by memorandum.

All judges concur.

2la

APPENDIX C

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF BALDWIN COUNTY

CASE: CC 96 001198.00

JUDGE: JHR

STATE OF ALABAMA

VS

: MERRILL ROBERT LYNN

| BALDWIN CO CORR CTR

| P O BOX 1329

BAY MINETTE, AL 36507 0000

DOB: 07/02/59 RACE: W SEX:M HT:511 WT: 195 HR: EYE:

SSN: 421922688 ALIAS NAMES:

CHARGE1:SEXUAL ABUSE 1ST CODE1: SXAI LIT:SEXUAL

ABUSE 1S TYPE:F

CHARGE2:RAPE IST DEGREE CODE2: RAPI_ TYPE:F

CHARGE3:RAPE IST DEGREE CODE3: RAP! TYPE:F

MORE?: Y OFFENSE DATE: 01/31/93 AGENCY/OFFICER: COOK

DATE WAR/CAP ISS: DATE ARRESTED: 06/21/96

DATE INDICTED: 07/29/96 DATE FILED: 08/12/96

; DATE RELEASED: DATE HEARING:

. BOND AMOUNT: $325,000.00 SURETIES:

: DATE1: DESC: TIME: 0000

DATE2: 09/27/96 DESC: ARRG _‘ TIME: 0900 A

DEF/ATY: RAINES, KENNETH R TYPE:R ‘TYPE:

PROSECUTOR: WHETSTONE, JOHN D

Consolidated Cases: CC-96-1198, 1199 & 1257

; OTH CSE: DC962440 CHK/TICKET NO: 96201234 GRAND JURY: 07-150

i COURT REPORTER SID NO: 000000000

DEF STATUS: JAIL DEMAND: Y

4 CASE ACTION SUMMARY

: CIRCUIT CRIMINAL

22a

DATE ACTION, JUDGMENTS, CASE NOTES

COUNT IV THRU VII — RAP1 — RAPE 1ST DEGREE

9-19-96—Motion To Transfer

9-19-96—Plea of Not Guilty and Waiver of Arraignment

9-20-96—Order To Transfer—Copy to D.A. & K. Raines &

Judge Reid

9-20-96—Scheduling Order—Copy to D.A. & K. Raines

10-8-96—Motion To Reduce Bond

10-9-96—Motion To Preserve Evidence & Request For

Production

10-8-96—Motion To Limit Interview of Witnesses

10-8-96—Motion For Discovery & Production of All Psy-

chiatric And/or Counseling Records And/Or

Information of Listed Victims In Indictments

10-8-96—Motion For Discovery & Production of DHR

Investigative Report & Request For Any And All

Exculpatory Information Related Thereto

10-8-96—Motion For More Definite Statement

10-8-96—Objection To Consolidation & Request For Oral

Argument

10-8-96—Motion To Determine Pre Trial Admissibility of

Evidence

12-16-96—Motion To Suppress

12-16-96—Motion For More Definite Statement

10-18-96—State’s Response To Deft’s Motion To Reduce

Bond

10-18-96—State’s Response To Defts Motion To Limit

Interview

10-1 $-S9:—Motion To Consolidate

ie oe Pees POR A PO Pe ee

ey

23a

10-18-96—State’s Response To Deft’s Motion For Discov-

ery & Production of DHR Report, etc.

10-18-96—State’s Response To Deft’s Motion To Determine

Pre-Trial Admissibility of Evidence

10-21-96—State’s Response To Deft’s Motion For Discov-

ery & Production of DHR Report

10-24-96—Order To Consolidate - (CC-96-1198, 96-1199 &

96-1257) Copy to D.A. & K. Raines

11-15-96—State’s Response to Defendant’s Motion for More

Definite Statement

11-15-96—State’s Response to Defendant’s Motion for

Discovery and Production of All Psychiatric

and/or Counseling Records and/or Information of

Listed Victims in Indictments

11-15-96—State’s Response to Defendant’s Motion for More

Definite Statement

11-19-96—Motion For Depositions Pursuant To A.R.C.P.

16.6

11-26-96—State’s More Definite Statement

11-15-96—State’s Response to Defendant’s Motion to Pre-

serve Evidence and Request for Production of

Materials

1-6-97—Order (see file copy) Copy to DA, Atty, DHR 1-7-

97

1-14-97—Motion for Continuance

1/31/97—The Jury having been struck on 1/27/97, this case

was tried and submitted to the Jury on 1/31/97 and

the following verdicts were returned: As to Count

I: ‘‘We, the Jury, find the Defendant guilty of

: Sexual Abuse in the First Degree.’’ As to Counts

24a

II, M1, IV, V, VI, VII: ‘“We, the Jury, find the

Defendant guilty of Rape in the First Degree as

charged in the Indictment. Anne Barber, Foreper-

son.”’ whereupon the Court adjudged the Defend-

ant guilty in each count and orders a presentence

investigation with a report to be filed with this

Court on or before 2/18/97. Sentencing is set

2/20/97 at 9:00 a.m. in Courtroom 1, Baldwin

County Courthouse, Bay Minette, Al.

/s/ James H. Reid, Judge.

2-6-97—Copy to State Parole

2-20-97—Comes now the defendant and counsel and counsel

for the State of Alabama before the Court for the

defendant’s sentencing on his conviction of all

counts of this case, and the Court enters the at-

tached sentencing orders. The defendant entered

an oral notice of appeal. Counsel for the defend-

ant’s appeal is retained.

/s/ James H. Reid, Judge

3/6/97—Notice of Appeal to Court of Criminal Appeals,

Att. General, DA, Ken Raines & Lou Ann Schell.

3-7-97—Commitment Mailed

3-10-97—Reporters Transcript Order

3-21-97—Docketing Statement

25a

APPENDIX D

EXCERPTS FROM PROCEEDINGS

« * . * * * . * *

[R-177] told that he would be there in a little bit. So, we

waited down the road for him to come home.

What happened when he arrived?

I went to his house and I placed him under arrest.

Did he make any statements at that point to you?

No, sir.

Did you read him his Miranda rights?

Verbal statement, right.

You did read them off a card or from memory?

Memory.

What did you tell him?

He had the right to remain silent.

He had the right to have an attorney present before any

questions were asked of him.

That he had the right to have an attorney present.

[R-178] And that he didn’t have to make a statement.

Q_ Did he make a statement?

No.

‘

~

Fen SCALE Ra NaN A i rg ae fe aa te a oe ah ae a oe a i

> HO FH F&F HD F&O PY

ON PO IER, Se PIE z ie nea

A

Q_ Did he ask for an attorney at that time?

A_ No, sir.

Q Was this before or after you placed him in the police

r?

A This was before he was placed in the car.

26a

Q Where did you go after you transported him?

A A marked unit transported him to the Robertsdale

Police Department.

Q_ Did he make any statements at that time?

A During transport? He was transported by another

officer. So, none that I know of.

Q Tell us again where you interviewed the Defendant.

A In Chief Bob Williams’ [R-179] office, located at the

Robertsdale Police Department.

Q And who was present during the interview?

A Myself, Mr. Merrill and Deputy Cook.

Q And what was his, the Defendant’s physical aapear-

ance during the interview?

A Slightly embarrassed, couldn’t make eye contact,

teary eyed.

Q When you read him his rights, upon arrest, did he

appear to understand those rights?

A Yes, he did.

Q What was, whenever you heard him talk, was his

speech coherent?

A Yes.

Q During the interview in Robertsdale, what did he say?

MR. RAINES: And I’m going to object, and during the

interrogation what happened.

MR. BECK: Let me clear it [R-180] up. I’ll withdraw the

question.

MR. RAINES: Okay.

nee AOS ee

27a

BY MR. BECK:

Q Now, was Mr. Merrill Mirandized again?

A_ Yes, he was.

Q How was that explained?

A Deputy Cook, after arriving in the office, Deputy

Cook took a Miranda form, standard form, from the Sher-

iff’s Department, and he read from the form.

Q What’s contained on that form?

The Miranda rights and the waiver.

What is that?

That’s the form that was read to Mr. Merrill.

What does the form say?

The form says the statement of Miranda rights:

One. You have the right to a remain silent.

[R-181] Two. Anything you say can and will be used

against you in a court of law.

> OP AO YP

Three. You have the right to talk to lawyer and have him

present with you while you are being questioned.

Four. If you cannot afford to hire a lawyer, one will be

appointed to represent you before any questioning, if you

wish.

Five. If you decide at any time to exercise these rights

and not answer any questions or make any statements, you

can decide at any time to exercise those rights.

Q_ Were those rights read to Mr. Merrill individually?

A_ Yes.

Q One after another?

A Yes.

28a

Q_ There a place for Mr. Merrill to sign that form?

A Mr. Merrill initialled each

* * * * * * cad * *

[R-187] Q Involving Alana Merrill and one count of sex

abuse in the first degree involving Crystal Merrill and one

count of sex abuse involving Faline Merrill?

A Right.

Q And Faline, by virtue of her age, and the other two by

virtue of forcible compulsion, is that right?

A Yes, sir.

Q And after the Defendant read those complaints, his

Statement was, yes, that happened.

MR. RAINES: And I object to that. There’s no testimony

even that the Defendant was asked anything. He was just

read his rights.

THE COURT: Well, you are being repetitious, John. You

have already covered this.

MR. BECK: All right. I pass the witness.

CROSS-EXAMINATION

BY MR. RAINES:

{[R-188] Q John, did you make any statements, o* Mr.

Merrill, that you didn’t tell us about?

A Yes, I did.

Q Can you tell me at what point in the conversation you

made those statements?

A Well, it was after the reading of the Miranda form to

him.

29a

Q_ I want to try and back up, take it as it occurred. He’s

at the Robertsdale Police Department. You read him the

Miranda form?

A (Nods head affirmatively).

Is that right?

Deputy Cook reads the Miranda form.

You are sitting there watching?

Right.

Q Once he finishes reading, Deputy Cook finishes

reading the Miranda form, what’s the first thing said by

either one of —

[R-189] A After finishing the Miranda form, Mr. Merrill

made the statement—Actually there was two statemems. You

know, there was two readings. And the first reading of it,

Mr. Merrill made the statement, I do not want to talk about

it right now.

Q Once he said he didn’t want to talk about it, what did

you do?

A I just talked to him. I asked him.

Q Well, let me ask you. He made the statement, I don’t

want to talk about it now. What is the next thing said by you

or Deputy Cook? Or do you know?

A It was made by me.

> O > 0

Q And what did you say after he said, I do not want to

talk about it right now?

A What did I say after that?

Q Yes, sir.

30a

A_ I asked him if it was something that was too embar-

rassing. I [R-190] believe I asked him if he in fact was

invoking his rights or wanted an attorney.

Q Do you know if you asked him that?

A About the attorney?

Q Yes.

A_ I know at one point I did. As to whether or not it was

right then, I don’t know. But I know I asked him, was he

embarrassed. His head was down and he wouldn’t make eye

contact. And I asked him was it too hard to talk about. Too

embarrassed to taik about. it. And in fact, at that point, I

asked him, was he invoking his rights?

@ Do you know at that point in time, if you asked him

that question or if it was later on in the conversation?

A I don’t know if it was that point in time or not.

Q. Okay.

A But during our conversations I did ask him that.

{[R-191] Q At some point later on in the discussion, you

know that you made that statement?

A Right, because he didn’t answer me, you know, right

back.

Q And it’s a fair statement to say then that when y’all

asked him to give a statement, he says he doesn’t want to

talk about it, and then you initiated a conversation from that

point forward?

A Be said he did not wish to talk about it right now.

Q And then you continued to initiate the conversation at

that point by asking him if he was too embarrassed?

A Yes.

3la

Q Now, I believe you mentioned there was another point

in time where you asked him if he wanted to talk about it.

And does he then say again, do you want to talk about it?

A He was read his rights and [R-192] he started talking

about it. He started talking about some of the stuff that was

going on. Deputy Cook said, you know, don’t say anything,

I’ve got to reread you the rights. And he read them to him

again. That’s when he signed the waiver.

Q Would you agree with me that there was another point

in time, I believe, you made a statement, he was silent,

didn’t give you an answer, and you asked him another ques-

tion?

A That’s correct.

Q Explain what happened in that particular conversation.

A This was when I had talked to him about it being

embarrassing and stuff. And I just told him in a general

conversation, I knew it was embarrassing, I could

understand that. And it was something that would be hard to

talk about.

Q Are you saying after you said that, that he stayed

silent after [R-193] you made that particular statement to

him?

A Well, he was silent. He never spoke. I was speaking

to him.

Q Okay. Once you made that statement, Deputy Stewart,

and then you testified that he stayed silent, what’s the next

thing that’s said?

A I discussed with him the case in general.

Q What did you say?

A Exact words, what I said?

Q Well, you know?

—

32a

A Talked about the charges that had been made.

Q What did you say about the charges that had been

made?

A That the allegations had come from the children and

that the children —

Q Did you just say these allegations have come from the

children?

A Yeah, because that’s where [R-194] the allegations

had come from, from the children. It was not allegations

that I or Deputy Cook had brought or made.

Q What else did you say?

A I talked to him about the problems that the children

who made these allegations and stuff had, you know, the

things that they lived with.

Q_ What type of problems?

A The problems that they deal with in making these

allegations. These allegations normally don’t come lightly,

and it’s not easy for a child to say these things if it’s not the

truth, because it’s hard on them.

Q Would you agree with me at that point in time,

Deputy Stewart, you are telling him these children usually

don’t make up these things, in an effort to get him to talk to

you?

A No.

Q Did you say—

A_ Restate your. Give me your question again.

{[R-195] Q Would you agree with me Deputy Stewart, the

reason you tell him children usually don’t make these things

up, it’s hard on them, is that you are saying those things in

an effort to get Mr. Merrill to respond to you?

33a

A Mr. Merrill’s not responding to me. I’m just

explaining the case to him, in general, what we’re dealing

with, what the children are dealing with and what he’s

dealing with.

Q_ What else did you say?

A I explained that. And I explained to him, you know

that, about the difficulty and just the mere fact of being

accused makes it difficult. I talked with him about, if there

was a problem and he wanted to talk about it, that’s what we

were there for.

Q What did you say about that, specifically, other than

what you just said?

A About what, the problem.

[R-196] Q Well, that’s what we’re there for.

A That’s all I said. I might have —

Q Are you saying — well, go ahead.

A I might have told him, you know, if you have got a

monkey on your back that you are dealing with.

Q That you need to share it and get it off your back?

A_ No, I did not, Mr. Raines. That’s not what I told him.

I told him if there was a monkey on his back, he needed.

Q To what?

A He needed to think about that in relationship to the

children, what the children were going through, what he was

going through. I never offered him any inducement for any

remarks. He was not making remarks. I was the only one

making statements there.

[R-197] Q How long would you say that you continued to

make statements to him?

A Three, four minutes, maybe.

34a

Q What else was said during this period of silence?

A From-whom?

Q From you, I’m sorry.

A From me. Okay. Basically just that. Going over the

children’s feelings and where the allegations originated

from.

Q And did you ever explain to Mr. Merrill that it would

be better for him to make a statement in order to help his

children?

A I did not.

Q_ And did you ever try and encourage that, that it would

be better for him to make a statement?

A No, I did not.

Q After you finished making the statements during this

period of silence, is there anything that you [R-198] said we

haven’t covered during this particular time-frame?

A_ Not that I remember.

Q What happens next?

A He makes a few comments.

Q What does he say?

A He refers to one of the girls. And then Deputy Cook

interrupted him and tells him, you know, if he’s going to

say something, that he needs to reread him his rights.

Q_ And was it at that point in time that he was reread his

rights?

A That’s correct. And that was at the point of time when

he initialled each individual rights and signed the waiver.

Q Two separate Miranda forms?

A_ No, it was the same form.

a eS PSE a ae a a eee

35a

Q Once you read those rights and he signed the waiver?

A Yeah.

Q_ What was the first thing said after that?

[R-199] A That’s when Deputy Cook started sharing the

complaint forms with him.

Q What did Deputy Cook do exactly?

A He took the complaint forms and handed them to Mr.

Merrill, and Mr. Merrill read them. And if there was any

question, and there was on a couple that there was a ques-

tion, he would ask Deputy Cook.

And Deputy Cook would answer the questions concerning

the Miranda form.

Q Did Deputy Cook, before he handed Mr. Merrill the

complaint, did he make any statements about the complaint

or did he just hand it to him?

A He told him, these were the individual complaints that

he was being charged with.

Q What else did he say?

A I discussed the charge. He [R-200] discussed the

actual warrant part of it, the complaint being one sheet and

then there was a warrant sheet with it.

Q Anything else?

That Deputy Cook said to him?

Yes, sir.

No, sir, after he would do one, he would do the other.

Once he did one, would he give that to Mr. Merrill?

Yes.

> O > 0 >

36a

Q And did he ask Mr. Merrill any questions once Mr.

Merrill received the sheet?

A Not that I remember. Mr. Merrill responded back to

him.

Q What specifically, to the best of your knowledge, did

Mr. Merrill say about the warrant sheet?

A The complaint sheet, the complaint form, the com-

plaint form, that’s right, I don’t know about the time.

cad i ih lt SN 5 Li inl lel Sy li a Sad a fo ined Me ee Ld a TE ET BE GV A EAS RT A ee REST TRAC ee COM ORE TE Te ees

OMAR ESET SAT ASG OLS SPL SCG IOE TRI SIE LSID GME BES LLATY 4 MSAD CIE ,

37a

[R-201]

THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE TWENTY-EIGHTH

JUDICIAL CIRCUIT OF ALABAMA

- BALDWIN COUNTY -

CC-96-1198, 1199, 1257

STATE OF ALABAMA,

Plaintiff,

VS.

ROBERT L. MERRILL,

Defendant.

VOLUME II of VII

Pages: 201 - 400

LOU ANN ROSSI SCHELL

OFFICIAL COURT REPORTER

[R-202] Q Generally speaking, for the purpose of brevity,

did he make any statement with respect—

A_ To the complaint forms?

Q Yes.

A Yes, he made the statement to all of the complaint

forms.

Q What specifically was said all the other times, other

than what you said?

A That’s about all he said about the time.

38a

~ MR. RAINES: I think that’s all I have.

THE COURT: John, do you have any additional wit-

nesses?

MR. BECK: If I could have just a second, Judge.

BY MR. RAINES:

Q One question. Who took him from the house to Rob-

ertsdale P.D.?

A_ I believe Deputy Robinson.

Q Do you know if they had any conversation in the

vehicle?

[R-203] A No, because Deputy Robinson wasn’t even

familiar with it. We just called him out of the territory to

transport.

Q Do you know if they had had any conversation in the

vehicle?

A I don’t know for a fact that they did. If there was,

Deputy Robinson never relayed any information to us con-

cerning that.

Q It’s possible, though, there was a conversation in the

vehicle that you are not aware about, is that correct?

A There could have been.

MR. RAINES: Thank you.

THE COURT: You may step down.

MICHAEL COOK,

the witness, was sworn in to tell the truth, the whole

truth, and nothing but the truth, was examined and testified

as follows:

39a

DIRECT EXAMINATION

[R-204] BY MR. BECK:

State your name, please.

Mike Cook.

How are you employed?

Baldwin County Sheriff’s Department.

Is that the Miranda form that was used in this?

Yes, it is.

In this interview?

Yes, it is.

Is that the Miranda form that you read Mr. Merrill his

9

It is.

And Mr. Merrill initialled each one of those rights?

Yes, he did.

Did he initial them after you read each individual

That’s correct.

Is that your name signed on the bottom of it?

It is.

Did Mr. Merrill sign that in [R-205] your presence?

Yes, he did.

MR. BECK: We move to admit the statement of Miranda

rights?

= 5

>O>O>RO>O> EO >O>O>O>O

40a

MR. RAINES: Is this the first or the second? I know it’s

one form. I didn’t know if you were introducing it for the

purposes of first or second Miranda.

BY MR. BECK:

Q Did you read it to him one time and then have him

Sign it a second time after you reread it to him?

A (Nods head affirmatively).

Q_ And then had him sign it?

A Actually, it’s the third Miranda, because there was

one verbal, also. But one form was used, the first time. I

read it to him. He made that statement. The second time is

when he signed off on the waiver part of the bottom of it.

Q That’s this one right here?

A That’s correct.

[R-206] Q _ And in all, to your knowledge — .

MR. BECK: We move to admit.

MR. RAINES: We object to that, Judge.

Did you testify the first time that you didn’t sign the

waiver portion of the Miranda form?

THE WITNESS: No. From the waiver part of the bottom,

where he initialled the five, there’s five numbers there.

That’s the initial part, and then the signature is at the bot-

tom.

MR. RAINES: Did he sign the buttom part the first time?

THE WITNESS: Ken, I’m not sure, I don’t know if he

did or not.

MR. RAINES: And we object to that. There’s no waiver

that’s been proven.

Sa cn i

4la

THE COURT: Overrule the objection and order it ad-

mitted.

(Admitted into evidence, [R-207] State’s Exhibit

Number One).

BY MR. BECK:

Q To your knowledge, Mr. Merrill was read his Mi-

randa rights on all three occasions?

A Right.

Q At least twice in your presence?

A All three times.

Q_ All three times in your presence?

A Right, that’s correct.

~

And did you or anybody in your presence make any

threats, promises, or try to coerce Mr. Merrill during any of

his statements?

A No, sir.

Q_ And did you threaten him?

A No, sir.

Q Anybody in your presence threaten him?

A No.

Q You or anybody in your [R-208] presence tell him it

would be better for him to make a confession or make a

statement?

A No.

Q Did anybody, you or anybody your presence, tell him

it wouldn’t be worse for him if he didn’t make a confession?

A No, sir.

42a

Q And in your opinion, was his statement freely and

voluntarily given?

A Yes, sir.

Q You heard Deputy Stewart testify?

A Yes, I did.

Q And the statements that Mr. Merrill made, was that an

accurate account of what Mr. Merrill said?

A Yes, it was.

Q_ And that was in your presence as well?

A_ It was.

MR. BECK. Okay. Pass the witness.

[R-209]

CROSS-EXAMINATION

BY MR. RAINES:

Q Deputy Cook, you heard Deputy Stewart testify.

Would you agree with his testimony exactly what was said,

when it was said and the conversations at the Robertsdale

Police Department?

A Yes, sir.

Q Would you agree that the first statement, after you

read him his rights, Robert Merrill says, I don’t want to talk

about this right now?

A After the Miranda?

Q Yes, sir.

A Yes, sir.

Q Would you agree at that point in time that Sergeant

Stewart talked with him?

A_ Yes, sir.

PURE PA Mee eae Tae oe Oe ae” eS ee ee || a

aoe gS Medea) ot 4 ,

43a

Q You heard Sergeant Stewart testify he was the only

one that said anything during this period of time, would you

agree with that? ;

[R-210] A John was doing pretty much all of the talking.

If I said anything, it was very short, just interjected some-

thing there.

Q Do you remember, if anything, what you said?

A_ No, sir. Like I said, John was doing most of the talk-

ing. If I interjected anything, it was small.

Q Do you remember making a statement after he said, I

don’t want to talk about this right now, do you remember

testifying previously that, we, being you— Sergeant Stewart

and yourself, that he had to sign the waiver form if he was

going to talk to you? Or testifying to that effect?

A_ Yes, sir, I said that.

Q Do you remember testifying that Mr. Merrill refused

to talk specifically about any of these acts with you?

A Yes, sir, I remember him saying that.

[R-211] Q Do you remember questioning him specifically

about the specifics of the acts?

A I remember him not specifically talking with us about

it. I do think I would try to get specific with him, and I

don’t believe we would talk specific about it.

Q With respect to the conversation, when was it that you

tried to get specific with him and he refused to talk with

you?

A_ It would have been after the conversation with John.

Q Which one?

44a

A After getting there, specifically, it would have been

after the Miianda form, his signing of the waiver of the

Miranda form.

Q Either the first or the second time between when he

signed it?

A Yes, sir, but which one, I’m not sure.

Q Would you agree with me, [R-212] based on your

testimony so far and Sergeant Stewart’s testimony so far,

that we have at least four times pinned down where my

client had said he doesn’t want to talk to you, he has refused

to answer your questions?

A_ No, sir. I believe he made that statement one time.

Q What about the time referencing Sergeant Stewart,

where he asked him the questions and Mr. Merrill didn’t

answer, stayed silent?

A Well, he never said he wanted, he just said, I don’t

want to talk about this right now.

Q But there were times that he asked questions and he

stayed silent, as Deputy Stewart just stated?

A That’s correct.

Q_ And then there’s a time that you questioned him about

specific acts, and he would not get specific with us on any of

the acts, 1s that correct?

A_ Yes, sir, that’s correct.

* * * * * * * * *

45a

[R-217] that. He said it. The deputy said it. Deputy John

Stewart said it. They then initiated further contact. Any my

client again refused to speak.

They then again initiated further contact, telling him how

it would be on his children, his family, et cetera. My client

Stayed silent.

They went again. And we don’t know exactly where the

conversation went from there. But we do know that Deputy

Cook interjects and asked him about the specifics of the

allegation. And my client won’t talk about that. My client

has done number five. That is, he has a right not to answer

any questions. And he says, I don’t want to talk about it. It’s

as Clear as it can be. And the officers agree, as well as my

client.

And we think the whole statement should be suppressed.

And I can submit case law to Your Honor or whatever. But I

think it’s kind of [R-218] clear in this particular case, Judge.

THE COURT: What say the state?

MR. BECK: Judge, first of all, he never asserted his right

to counsel. If anything, he just said that, I didn’t want to

talk about this. Not necessarily specifically he didn’t want to

ialk. I don’t want to talk about this.

The law of the Supreme Court says it must be totally

unambiguous. I believe what Mr. Raines— the case that

Mr. Raines, I understand that case has been overturned by

the Supreme Court anyway.

MR. RAINES: This is the most recent decision, 1996,

second time it went up. They turned around and reversed

their rulings on two of the co-defendants. But the co-

defendants that I cited has been upheld.

MR. BECK: The law says it must be totally unambiguous.

46a

[R-219] THE COURT: All right. You already said that.

What else?

MR. BECK: He was re-Mirandized. He was Mirandized

three times, and he understood those rights. And he made

any statement that he made or any communication that he

made was after a long period of time, where he initialled

each statement, each portion on the Miranda rights, and

Deputy Cook went through them one by one.

And I don’t think it’s very clear that it was, that this

conversation was initiated by law enforcement to keep Mr.

Merrill talking.

THE COURT: All right. I deny the Motion to Suppress.

All right. That’s all? Okay. Bring the jury in.

(Jury in).

THE COURT: Ladies and Gentlemen, first of all, let me

apologize to you for the delay. We had

* * * * * * * * *

{R-1039] Q All right. I want to hand you what’s been

marked for identification as Defendant’s Exhibit One, and

tell me what that is.

A It’s a Miranda form that was read to Mr. Merrill,

signed by Mr. Merrill, signed by Deputy Cook and myself

on 6-21-96.

Q What’s contained on that form?

A_ A Statement of Miranda rights and waiver of rights.

Q_ What are the rights that are on that form?

A You have the right to remain silent.

Anything you say can and will be used against you in a

court of law.

47a

You have the right to talk to a lawyer and have him

present with you while you are being questioned.

If you cannot afford to hire a lawyer, one will be ap-

pointed to [R-1040] represent you before any questioning, if

you wish.

And you can decide at any time to exercise these rights

and not answer any questions or make any statements.

Q Is there anything else on that form?

A Yes, sir, the waiver of rights.

Q And what does that say?

A I have read the above statement of my rights and I

understand each of those rights. Having these rights in mind,

I waive them and willingly make a statement.

Q Is there a place for uxe defendant or for the defendant

who is about to be questioned to sign that?

A_ Yes, sir.

Q And was that in fact signed by the defendant?

A Yes, sir.

Q How do you know that the

o* * * * * ok x * *

[R-1046] Q time.

Q Okay. First time he was given his Miranda warnings,

was that off the form that you just testified to?

A Yes, sir.

Q What, if any statement, did the defendant make after

he was given the Miranda warnings that time.

48a

MR. RAINES: And I object, unless he testifies that the

first time was when the defendant signed the waiver on the

bottom of the form and waived his rights.

THE COURT: Well, if you know. -

THE WITNESS: What now?

MR. RAINES: Deputy Stewart, can you tell me, in your

opinion, did the defendant sign the waiver portion at the

bottom of the Miranda form and waive his rights the first

time you advised him of his rights.

THE WITNESS: Well, I didn’t [R-1047] advise him of it,

but he signed it on the second reading.

MR. RAINES: All right, then. So, the first time he never

made a waiver? He never signed the waiver?

THE WITNESS: That’s correct. But neither did he make

a statement.

MR. RAINES: And I object to anything—

BY MR. BECK:

Q Was he read the waiver the first time?

A Yes, sir, he was.

Q And did, in your opinion, he appear to understand

what was contained on the waiver:

A Yes, sir.

Q What was said?

MR. RAINES: And I object, unless it’s the first or second

time. Specify which one.

THE COURT: All right. Y’all come up here.

* * * * * * * * *

49a

(R-1068} my objection, and that’s because of proper predi-

cate.

THE COURT: He did try to go into it and you objected

to it.

MR. RAINES: And the last time I came up, I with-

drew it.

THE COURT: All right. We’ll do it this way. Since he’s

got him on cross, he can take him on cross and you can go

back into it on direct.

MR. RAINES: I won’t object to that.

BY MR. RAINES:

Q Didn’t he say that? When you asked him that the first

time, didn’t he tell you that?

A Tell me what you are saying that he said to me?

That he didn’t want to talk to you.

That was not his exact words.

What were his exact words?

A His exact words: I do not [R-1069] want to talk about

it right now.

Q You are a hundred percent positive that’s what he

said?

A Yes, sir.

Q Do you also remember, once he made that statement,

making the next statement to him? Once he made that state-

ment, I do not want to talk about this right now, do you

remember making another statement to him?

A I made several statements after he said that. I talked to

him for a bit.

Q You talked to him for a bit?

O }- #0

50a

A But I did not ask him any questions.

Q Right. You were telling him that he needed to do

things, based upon his family or his wife or other peopie, is

that correct?

A No, sir, I did not.

Q Did you ever tell him that he needed to say something

so that you could call and tell his family that

* * * * * * * * *

[R-1125] Q Well, during the intervening time, what was

going on?

A (Shakes head negatively).

Q When he said, I don’t want to talk about that right

now, until— from that point there until he acknowledged

what he had done —

A Sergeant Stewart was talking to him.

Q Was he questioning him?

A He was talking to him.

Q Was he applying any coerceive tactics, in your

opinion?

A No, sir.

Q And while Sergeant Stewart was talking to him, what

happened? What’s the next thing that Mr. Merrill did?

A Mr. Merrill made a statement, what that statement

was, I don’t know. I stopped him and I said, Mr. Merrill

we've got to go over this again, sign your waiver. We went

over the rights again and he signed the

* oe a * * * * * *

Sla

[R-1127] spoke to him, I told him the victim, what the

charge was and I handed it to him. And Mr. Merrill read it.

How do you know he read it?

A I sat there and watched him read it.

Q Okay.

A And he said, yes, that happened.

Q

A

©

And did he say anything about the dates?

After each one he says, I’m not sure about the dates,

but if that’s the dates they said it happened, that’s when it

happened.

Q Did he say anything else after he read over the war-

rants and complaints?

A Like Sergeant Stewart said, he became teary eyed and

asked us to take him outside of the police department and

shoot him.

MR. BECK: I pass the witness.

* * * * * * * * *

[R-1274; that time, you were taken to the police station, is

that correct?

A Yes, sir.

Q And I believe you were taken by another deputy, do

you remember his name, not these folks, but somebody else?

A Right. I didn’t know the man.

Q Once you got to the police station, there was

testimony that the officers had to read you your rights three

times. First time they read your rights, you didn’t Say any-

thing, did you?

A (Shakes head negatively).

S2a

Q Second time you didn’t want to say anything, did you?

A_ No, sir.

MR. BECK: Object to the leading.

THE COURT: Overruled.

BY MR. RAINES:

Q After they kept on for [R-1275] awhile, did you

finally say something?

A Yes, sir, I told them that I didn’t want to talk to

anybody, period. I just wanted them to leave me alone.

Q Was this statement that these officers have testified to

when you were at Robertsdale, did they get a tape recorder

and tape record any piece of any conversation you had with

them?

A_ No, sir.

Q. Any, any piece?

A_ Not to my knowledge.

Q Did they get a video camera and videotape any piece

of any alleged conversation between you and them?

A Not to my knowledge, no, sir.

Q_ Did the officers say anything to you about letting you

go or letting you see your children or taking— letting you go

take care of your family if you talked to them?

A Well, they kept trying to talk, and I kept telling them

that I [R-1276] didn’t want to talk, period. Just leave me

alone. And they kept on and on. And one of them, said, Do

you know why you are arrested?

And I said, No, sir, I don’t have any idea why I am

arrested.

53a

And he said, Well, here. And he stuck these papers in my

hand. And he said, These are the charges against you.

Q There’s been testimony that you read those charges.

And did you read the charges?

A Well, I had all of them at one time and I just kind of

glanced at them. I didn’t really read them thoroughly or

anything. I just looked at them.

Q Well, there was testimony that they handed them to

you individually. Is that correct? Or did you have them all at

one time?

A Not to my knowledge. They just handed me the

papers. Said, These [R-1277] are the charges.

Q Do you know what the statute 13A-11-88, means?

A I don’t have any idea.

MR. BECK: And we object to that, there’s no such thing.

BY MR. RAINES:

Q Well, eight. Pick a number. Any of them. Code

Statute.

A I don’t have any idea.

Q Dash 66-8 rape, sexual abuse or any of those?

A (Shakes head negatively).

Q Can you admit to doing something in violation of

13A-66 dash 1 A-3?

A_ No, sir, I don’t know the definition of that.

Q First time they read you your rights, you understood

them, didn’t you?

A Yes, sir.

Q And—

-_

54a

A That’s why I told them I [R-1278] didn’t want to talk

to anybody. Just leave me alone. Didn’t want to talk,

period.

Q But they wouldn’t stop, would they?

A_ No, sir.

Q_ And they did it again and they wouldn’t stop?

A No, sir, they wouldn’t stop.

Q You're aware that the officers, after this meeting is

over, they don’t go and take any steps to go and try and

gather any other evidence in this case, is that correct?

A That’s correct.

Q Let me ask you. To your knowledge, did any of your

children go testify at grand jury?

A To my knowledge, I didn’t know anything they did.

I was locked up.

Q Do you have, since you have been arrested, have you

tried to contact your children or threatened

* * * * * * * * *

55a

APPENDIX E

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

WASHINGTON, DC 20543

WILLIAM K. SUTER AREA COPE 202

CLERK OF THE COURT 479-3011

August 12, 1998

Mr. Bayless E. Biles

201 East 2nd Street

P.O. Box 400

Bay Minette, AL 36507

Re: R. M.

v. Alabama

Application No. A-130

The application for an extension of time within which to

file a petition for a writ of certiorari in the above-entitled

case has been presented to Justice Kennedy, who on August

12, 1998, extended the time to and including September 25,

1998.

This letter has been sent to those designated on the at-

tached notification list.

Sincerely,

WILLIAM K. SUTER, Clerk

By /s/ Jeffrey D. Atkins

Jeffrey D. Atkins

Assistant Clerk

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.