Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Citizens for Clean Government v. Russell

Supreme Court brief1998

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Cour, U.S.

Ri

) 98 807 se 2-mm

No.

In The OFFICE OF THE CLERK

Supreme Court of the Wnited States

*

October Term, 1997

CITIZENS FOR CLEAN GOVERNMENT,

Petitioner,

vs.

RON RUSSELL, KENT INGRAM, WILLIAM R. AUSTIN, and

ASSOCIATED INDUSTRIES OF ARKANSAS POLITICAL

ACTION COMMITTEE,

-and-

TROY BURRIS, in his official capacity as chairperson of the

Arkansas Ethics Commission and JACK KEARNEY, TOM

ALEXANDER, RITA LOONEY, and BEN ALLEN, in their official

Capacities as members of the Arkansas Ethics Commission,

Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

SCOTT C. TROTTER BURT NEUBORNE

TROTTER & SKELTON Counsel of Record

103 West Capitol Avenue § E. JOSHUA ROSENKRANZ

Suite 1205, Boyle Building © NANCY NORTHUP

Little Rock, AR 72201 ELIZABETH DANIEL

(501) 376-6355 Brennan Center for Justice at

New York University School of Law

161 Avenue of the Americas

Fifth Floor

New York, NY 10013

(212) 998-6730

Attorneys for Petitioners

148343 @J Counsel Press LLC

FORMERLY LUTZ APPELLATE SERVICES

(800) 274-3321 + (800) 359-6859

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1, Whether a state that provides a generous campaign subsidy

dramatically increasing a candidate’s capacity to raise campaign

funds from the general public by providing each taxpayer with an

annual $50 income tax credit ‘for political contributions may,

consistent with the First Amendment as construed in Buckley v.

Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (1976), impose ceilings on campaign

contributions ranging from $300 to $100 per election, when ihe

history and circumstances of the state’s elections indicate that

candidates will be able to raise sufficient funds for effective

advocacy under such a regime.

~ 2. Whether the state’s interest in combating the “actuality

and appearance of corruption,” which, under Buckley v. Valeo,

justifies limits on campaign contributions:

(a) is confined to a quid pro quo arrangement that

resembles bribery or connotes a broader structural evil that includes

candidates’ granting of preferred access and paying heightened

attention to the concerns of large campaign contributors; and

(b) is an adjudicative fact that must be proven with

evidence that public officials have actually altered the performance

of their public duties in return for campaign contributions or may

be established by a showing that the appearance of corruption

linked to large contributions is not illusory.

3. Whether a state’s attempt to cap campaign contributions

in the interest of preventing the appearance or reality of corruption

should be reviewed under a balancing test that weighs the minimal

burden on speech and associational interests against the state’s

compelling interest in combating the appearance and reality of

corruption, especially in a case where the contribution cap is

structurally linked to a public subsidy.

4. Whether a state may, consistent with the First Amendment,

impose a cap of $200 per year on contributions to political action

committees (“PACs”) to prevent contributors from using PACs

as a vehicle for evading the legal limits on the amounts they can

contribute to candidates and where such limits do not prevent PACs

from amassing the resources necessary for effective advocacy.

5. Whether a state may, consistent with the Equal Protection

Clause, stimulate broader public participation in the electoral

process by permitting PACs that collect a large number of very

small contributions to contribute more to candidates than PACs

funded by fewer individuals making much larger contributions

are allowed to contribute to candidates.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Questions Presented ........ pik iene Se bweweesicd é i

EE SEs S000 biiek65 we betes s evens iti

pac ck ei ce hbo hs heeeae none iv

RE a 1

Statement of Jurisdiction ..................eeeee- 1

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved .... 1

i ech ese e whe ad ashae rece vs 4

ee 6

ee EE UY. oo. oi bcc wwcnsscenseess 8

EE ere ee eer 8

EE ccc areccvacdeansacenys 10

Reasons for Granting the Writ .................... 12

Introduction: Three Unresolved Issues Posed by

EE eo ee 12

I. Unless Reviewed, the Eighth Circuit’s Misreading

of Buckley v. Valeo Will Dramatically Inhibit the

Capacity of State and Local Governments to Seek

Imaginative Solutions to the Most Important

Contemporary Challenge Facing American

Democracy — Dealing with the Impact of

Significant Wealth Disparities on the Democratic

I Rae RG 6.50 hn thins ko 444s ese 15

iv

Table of Contents - Continued

Page

II. While Lower Courts Are Hopelessly Divided on

the Issue of the Proof Required Under Buckley to

Justify Limits on Campaign Contributions, the

Eighth Circuit’s Draconian Requirement That the

State Prove Actual Corruption Is in Direct

Conflict with Buckley and Would Have the Effect

of Invalidating All Existing Limits on Campaign

COMME. oi 6 Pic iv'g ebb keeer eens 19

Ill. The Circuits Are Split on the Appropriate Standard

of Review for Contribution Limits. ......... 24

IV. This Court Should Consider the Small Donor Pac

Provision As Another Way That Act I Enhances

Political Participation Without Violating the

Fourteenth Amendment. ...........cccccee: 28

EE Goh kc eee ecaci se Peek eek ene ance 30

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases:

Austin v. Michigan Chamber of Commerce, 494 U.S. 652

SE 66:0 kn a tie chgatinde dndtene tn Vien she 4+ 12, 19

Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (1976) ............... passim

Burdick v. Takushi, 504 U.S. 428 (1992) ........... 26

California Medical Ass'n v. FEC, 453 U.S. 182 (1981)

Giad Bda < he 486K< § DERE ah wa ES 10, 12, 24, 25, 28, 29

California ProLife Council PAC v. Scully, 989 F. Supp.

SP he BOOED nos 05 6a dak Hb GR dvisie bannws 13,23

Carver v. Nixon, 72 F.3d 633 (8th Cir. 1995), cert.denied,

oe Ea re 9, 13, 26

Citizens Against Rent Control v. Berkeley, 454 U.S. 290

ee Cl a Sa lean se enea ven anes 12

Colorado Republican Federal Campaign Comm. v. FEC,

ee nes 12, 19, 25, 26

CSC v. Letter Carriers, 413 U.S. 548 (1973) ........ 21

Driver v. DiStefano, 914 F. Supp. 797 (D.R.I. 1996)

is ai i a ois has ls Rha cbs ek cee aie pan ss 27

FEC v. Massachusetts Citizens for Life, 479 U.S. 238

SR MR Os £6 ct spate ich ie 90% 2 CE dale Hk 0% or '¥ik « 12, 25, 26

vi

Table of Authorities

Page

FEC v. National Conservative Political Action Comm.,

CHO Th Se ee. 0. ns 6500.5 4404 denne ieee 12, 25

First Nat'l Bank of Boston v. Bellotti, 435 U.S. 765

COPPEE ka skda ids Kaayeden Reed ieenthaies ces 12

Gard v. State Elections Bd., 456 N.W. 2d 809 (Wisc.

Meee ee eee PERT ET eee ee OP Ors eee Pe 27

Kentucky Right to Life v. Terry, 108 F.3d 637 (6th Cir.),

cert. denied, 118 S. Ct. 162 (1997) .............. 13, 23

National Black Police Ass'n v. District of Columbia Bd.

of Elections and Ethics, 924 F. Supp. 270 (D.D.C.

1996), vacated as moot, 108 F.3d 346 (D.C. Cir. 1997)

» 0b sae SERRE s CUR RERERT 4 SO UUCKE RATERS ESET LS 23, 27

Pacific Gas & Elec. Co. v. Public Utilities Comm’n of

Calernta; 473 U.S. t CPG) oi ese S ev iicsess 24

Republican Nat'l Comm. v. FEC, 487 F. Supp. 280

(S.D.N.Y.), aff'd, 445 U.S. 955 (1980) .......... 17

Russell v. Burris, 978 F. Supp. 1211 (E.D. Ark. 1997)

opeeded a eR oes es ORS ECESEOERU MESO ES Rakexs 1,9, 10

Russell v. Burris, 146 F.3d 563 (8th Cir. 1998) ......

oioe 6ObRCRRSRERD ORS 1, 6, 9, 10, 11, 13, 18, 20, 21, 26, 28

Service Employees Int'l Union v. Fair Political Practices

Comm'n, 955 F.2d 1312 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 505

UB. SEO URSONS vi sv Gas vdeces}iasuceiaken 13, 26, 27

‘“ ~ —_eon ties Gabe:

vii

Table of Authorities

Page

Shrink Missouri Gov't PAC v. Adams, No. 98-2351, 1998

WL 413477 (8th Cir. July 23, 1998) ........... 13, 20, 21

Timmons v. Twin Cities Area New Party, 117 S. Ct. 1364

ED cn és Canna set haaweknsnesdiavdd nied baal 11, 26

United States v. National Treasury Employees Union, 513

IS 3.) o.6'a yogi 3a NO 446.00 656 000s 22

Vannatta v. Kiesling, 899 F. Supp. 488 (D. Ore. 1995),

aff'd, No. 95-35998, 1998 WL 461920 (9th Cir. Aug.

SES Ticats Cw hee 4kk ean oC ANSAS cha Ra ee 27

Vote Choice, Inc. v. DiStefano, 4 F.3d 26, 33 (1st Cir.

ES GMa CGE Sed eis yh sens Wea ONck sak 27

Constitutions and Statutes:

ee ches c des eeeeriwkvakxen’ passim

es as I 85 ras io Wb catbiNS lab Wi OK bu ws 1, 28

SE IIR RE SAA se an ee Cr en |

po YE SS Se ee ee ee ee 2

TS) ee a eee a ee 3

Ammmmens COGS STB BOG) .n ccc ccc cccccccenes 4,8

Arkansas Code § 7-6-201(12) ..............-0005- 3

vili

Table of Authorities

ATM CORD GS FG cite ccciccccccctsiccsiee

PR PEED osc cccccccceccscseessees

po errr rr rere rr re

Other Authorities Cited:

Thomas F. Burke, The Concept of Corruption in

Campaign Finance Law, 14 Const. Comm. 127 (Spring

ROWE ess c VEEULS CE) FPeRd oka veUSSCA sD EC EKER.

Eliza Newlin Carney, Opting Out of Politics, Nat’|

PE AGE: TF; Pen ee i iad he ck ee eed is

Daniel Hays Lowenstein, On Campaign Finance Reform:

The Root of Evil is Deeply Rooted, 18 Hofstra L. Rev.

PURSUED 05 CEN 005 Cate Wades UL bieeatensss

Michael J. Malbin & Thomas L. Gais, The Day After

Reform: Sobering Campaign Finance Lessons from the

American States 13-20 (1998) .............0005-

Sen. John McCain, The Scandal in Our Midst, Newsweek,

Ram, Fey Fee te SS vccacivcs ceedbeese Hie:

Steven H. Shiffrin, The First Amendment, Democracy and

Roun FECT O) FSO. kc a's's o5 080 ae Ha Oe

Barbara Vobejda, Just Under Half of the Possible Voters

Went to the Polls, Wash. Post, Nov. 7, 1996, at A30

23

15

23

16

15

13

15

APPENDIX

Appendix A — Opinion Of The United States Court Of

Appeals For The Eighth Circuit Decided June 4, 1998

“eevee eeeeeeeevneeveeeeevreeeeeeeneneeeneeeeeeeeeneenene

Appendix B — Order Of The United States District Court

For The Eastern District Of Arkansas Dated October

Di Pika abies wile iieibh Gerideuaed oh es ese

Page

la

Ll

— :

7 ’ 4 “

¥ a i %

% -

-

° -

‘ -

.

*

’

.

‘ - e > a 2

: > —— 7 Pee am tm ARS

ny | Pine —

“ .

. &

- . ie |

is ec nll ca ia ie

ne ae

1

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit,

filed June 4, 1998, is reported at 146 F.3d 563. (Appendix A, 1a-

22a). This opinion affirmed in part and reversed in part an order

of the United States District Court for the Eastern District of

Arkansas, dated October 3, 1997, granting in part and denying in

part the request of plaintiffs Ron Russell, Kent Ingram, William

R. Austin, and Associated Industries of Arkansas Political Action

Committees (hereinafter collectively described as “Associated

Industries”) for a declaratory judgment and permanent injunction.

The district court’s opinion is reported at 978 F. Supp. 1211.

(Appendix B, 23a-63a).

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The Eighth Circuit’s opinion was entered on June 4, 1998.

This Court has jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

First Amendment to the United States Constitution

Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of

religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the

freedom of speech, or of the press; or of the right of the people

peaceably to assemble, and to petition the government for a redress

of grievances.

Fourteenth Amendment to the

United States Constitution, Section One

All persons born or naturalized in the United States, and

subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the United States

and of the state wherein they reside. No state shall make or enforce

any law which shall abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens

2

of the United States; nor shall any state deprive any person of life,

liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor deny to any

person within its jurisdiction the equal protection the laws.

Arkansas Code § 7-6-203

(a)(1) It shall be unlawful fer any candidate for any public

office, except the office of Governor, Lieutenant Governor,

Secretary of State, Treasurer of State, Auditor of State, Attorney

General, and Commission of State Lands, or for any person actiag

on the candidate’s behalf, to accept campaign contributions in

excess of one hundred dollars ($100) per election from any person.

(a)(2) It shall be unlawful for any candidate for the office of

Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Secretary of State, Treasurer of

State, Auditor of State, Attorney General, and Commission of State

Lands, or for any person acting on the candidate’s behalf, to accept

campaign contributions in excess of three hundred dollars ($300)

per election from any person.

(b)(1) It shall be unlawful for any person to make a

contribution to a candidate for any public office, except the office

of Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Secretary of State, Treasurer

of State, Auditor of State, Attorney General, and Commission of

State Lands, or to any person acting on the candidate’s behalf,

which in the aggregate, exceeds one hundred dollars ($100) per

election.

(b)(2) It shall be unlawful for any person to make a

contribution to a candidate for the office of Governor, Lieutenant

Governor, Secretary of State, Treasurer of State, Auditor of State,

Attorney General, and Commission of State Lands, or to any person

acting on the candidate’s behalf, which in the aggregate, exceeds

three hundred dollars ($300) per election.

(d) However, an organized political party, defined in Arkansas

Code 7-1-101(1) and a small donor political action committee may

3

contribute up to two thousand five hundred dollars ($2500) to each

candidate per election.

Arkansas Code § 7-6-201(12)

A “small donor political action committee” means any person

who:

(A) Receives contributions from one or more individuals in

order to make contributions to candidates;

(B) Does not accept any contribution or cumulative

contributions in excess of twenty-five dollars ($25) from any

individual in any calendar year; and

(C) Is registered pursuant to Arkansas Code 7-6-215 prior to

making contributions to candidates. “Small donor political action

committee” shall not include an organized political party, the

candidate’s own committee, or an exploratory committee.

Arkansas Code § 7-6-222

(a) Pursuant to regulations to be adopted by the Arkansas

Department of Finance and Administration, a single credit against

individual Arkansas income taxes shall be allowed for money

contributions made by the taxpayer in a taxable year to one or

more of the following:

(1) A candidate seeking nomination or election to a public

office in an election, or to a candidate’s campaign committee; or

(2) A small donor political action committee as defined

in Arkansas Code 7-6-201; or

(3) An approved political action committee as defined in

Arkansas Code 7-1-201; or

(4) An organized political party as defined in Arkansas

Code 7-1-101(1).

4

(b) The credit allowed by subsection (a) of this section shall

be the aggregate contributions, not to exceed fifty dollars ($50)

on an individual tax return, or the aggregate contributions, not to

exceed one hundred dollars ($100) on a joint return.

Arkansas Code § 7-6-201(9)

“Approved political action committee” means any person

who:

(A) Receives contributions from one (1) or more persons in

order to make contributions to candidates;

(B) Does not accept any contribution or cumulative

contributions in excess of two hundred dollars ($200) from any

person in any calendar year... .

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In the two decades since this Court’s landmark decision in

Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (1976), efforts to reform our system

of campaign financing have taken one of two traditional paths:

(a) the imposition of increasingly stringent

limits on the size and source of campaign

contributions in an attempt to minimize the potential

for electoral corruption, real and apparent; or

(b) the provision of public subsidies to candidates

in an attempt to enhance political equality without

imposing stringent restrictions on campaign

contributions.

Experience has taught that each post-Buckley path, if taken

in isolation, has substantial drawbacks. Stringent limits on political

contributions, standing alone, make it more difficult for candidates

to raise the funds needed to wage a robust campaign. Moreover,

given the First Amendment ban on efforts to limit campaign

5

expenditures recognized in Buckley, an exclusive reliance on

limiting campaign contributions necessarily enhances the relative

power of extremely wealthy candidates and places enormous

pressures on all candidates to cut regulatory corners in an effort to

satisfy a virtually unlimited demand for campaign funds. On the

other hand, public funding of the campaign process, without

meaningful contribution limits, does little to address legitimate

concerns about the ability of wealthy contributors to purchase

access to candidates and officials.

Arkansas, recognizing the pitfalls inherent in the traditional

post-Buckley options, has attempted to meld campaign subsidies

and contribution limits into an innovative, integrated system of

campaign finance regulation that both prevents corruption and

enhances political equality, while emphasizing the importance of

individual participation. Arkansas provides a generous public

campaign subsidy by offering an annual $50 state income tax credit

($100 for joint filers) for political contributions. As a structural

quid pro quo for the huge subsidy, Arkansas imposes contribution

limits of $300 for most statewide races and $100 for other races. '

By linking a generous campaign subsidy in the form of income

tax credits for campaign contributions with restrictions on the size

of campaign contributions, Arkansas has avoided the adverse

impact on the availability of campaign funds often associated with

limits on campaign contributions. In short, the people of Arkansas

have found a way to minimize electoral corruption, encourage

individual participation, and enhance political equality — without

violating the First Amendment ground-rules set forth in Buckley.

Unfortunately, in assessing the constitutionality of the

Arkansas plan, the Eighth Circuit completely ignored the generous

campaign subsidy that is the structural guid pro quo for the

contribution limits. The Eighth Circuit believed that this Court’s

decision in Buckley left it no choice but to consider the contribution

1. Arkansas imposes no limit on the amounts individuals may spend

independently in support of a favored candidate.

6

ceilings in artificial isolation from the integrally related campaign

subsidy and to.invalidate the ceilings unless Arkansas produced

evidence that campaign contributions marginally larger than the

cap had actually caused public officials to alter the performance

of their official duties. Russell v. Burris, 146 F.3d 563, 569 (8th

Cir. 1998) (App. 12a).

The panel of the Eighth Circuit below was profoundly

mistaken on two levels. First, the court below erroneously believed

that Buckley requires a myopic, artificially isolated review of an

innovative effort to link campaign subsidies with contribution

ceilings. Unless corrected, the Eighth Circuit’s holding will scuttle

important efforts at imaginative campaign finance reform, like

the Arkansas plan, that minimize electoral corruption, enhance

political equality, respect individual participation, and encourage

a generous flow of campaign funds to candidates.

Second, the Eighth Circuit imposed an impossibly stringent

burden of justification on Arkansas’ decision to adopt a $300

contribution ceiling in most statewide races and a $100 cap in

other races. Russell, 146 F.3d at 569 (App. 12a). In effect, the

court below required Arkansas to prove that contributions

marginally in excess of $300 in statewide races had functioned as

bribes, causing public officials to alter their official behavior. But

it is precisely because quid pro quo bribery is so difficult to prove

that this Court upheld the $1,000 federal contribution limits at

issue in Buckley without requiring a showing that individual

officials were guilty of criminal acts.

A. Initiated Act I of 19967

In 1996, more than two-thirds of the voters in Arkansas

adopted Initiated Act I, an innovative and comprehensive campaign

financing statute designed to combat the appearance and reality

of corruption in Arkansas politics, while also broadening citizen

2. Arkansas Initiated Act I of 1996 is reprinted in its entirety at

Appendix C, 64a-72a.

7

participation in the political process and encouraging more

candidates to run for office regardless of their financial resources.

Act I furthered these goals through the following means:

Public Funding: Act 1 established a tax credit of

up to $50 per person ($100 for joint filers) for

political contributions to candidates, PACs, and

political parties. Ark. Code Ann. § 7-6-222. This

simple device put directly into the hands of Arkansas

voters a huge public subsidy to fund political speech.

Suddenly, more than one million taxpayers were

empowered to direct a total of at least $50 million

into political speech at no cost to themselves.

Lower Limits on Contributions to Candidates: Act I

lowered the contribution limit from $1,000 per election

to $300 per election for candidates running for most

statewide offices such as governor and lieutenant

governor, and to $100 for most other candidates. Ark.

Code Ann. § 7-6-203(a)-(b). These variable limits

meant, for example, that a candidate for lieutenant

governor who faced a primary, a runoff, and a general

election, might collect as much as $900 from any

person during an election cycle, and that a candidate

for the state house of representatives (where the

average race costs less than $15,000) might raise as

much as $300 from any one person.

TT Gee Ie eee

Higher Contribution Limit for Small Donor PACs: In

order to encourage maximum democratic participation

by large groups of citizens with common interests, Act

I also created a new entity, a broad-based collective

called “small donor political action committees.”

These small donor PACs are prohibited from accepting

donations of more than $25 per person per year. In

exchange for this limit, these small donor PACS are

permitted to give candidates up to $2,500 per election.

The candidate contributions of other PACs are subject

to the same limits as persons. Ark. Code Ann. § 7-6-

203(d).

Act I focused its regulatory scheme on creating mechanisms

that would increase political speech, while reducing the potential

for actual and apparent corruption. It did not limit candidate

campaign expenditures, independent expenditures, or party

expenditures.’ Nor did it limit contributions to a political party.

Nor is its public subsidy offered in exchange for an agreement to

abide by expenditure limits. In short, Act I rejected the option of

restricting the financial resources available to campaigns and opted,

instead, for an integrated approach that promised to expand the

resources available to candidates and other political players, while

minimizing corruption and enhancing political equality.

While Act I limited the amounts that the wealthiest

contributors could contribute directly to. a candidate — and thereby

limited the potential for corruption, undue influence, and

discriminatory access — it delivered a potentially enormous pool

of resources to average citizens, each of whom was granted a

costless mechanism for directing public money to the candidates,

political parties, and PACs of their choice.

B. Proceedings Below

1. District Court

The district court held a seven-day trial, during which it heard

evidence relating to the campaign for Act I and the contribution

patterns that had prompted it. For example, the district court heard

testimony about lucrative fund-raising events held for a state

representative by lobbyists who did not live in the representative’s

district, but who had substantial business before his committee,

3. Act I left intact the $200 limit on contributions to “approved

political action committees” enacted in 1990. Ark. Code Ann.

§ 7-6-201(9).

9

and about evidence of contributions from tobacco interests to the

sponsor of a bill that favored those interests. The court also heard

evidence predicting that candidates would be able to raise sufficient

campaign funds under the new law with its tax credits and lower

contribution limits.

In assessing the $300 and $100 limits on contributions to

candidates, the district court was bound by an earlier ruling of the

Eighth Circuit applying strict scrutiny to invalidate Missouri’s

$300- to $100-per-election-cycle limits. See Carver v. Nixon, 72

F.3d 633 (8th Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 518 U.S. 1033 (1996).

After reviewing the evidence, including the low cost of

Arkansas races, the sources of contributions to candidates, and

the examples of the appearance of corruption, the district court

concluded that, with respect to most races subject to the $100

limit,‘ the limit of $1,000 that preceded Act I was “sufficiently

large to support a reasonable perception of undue influence.”

Russell v. Burris, 978 F. Supp. 1211, 1221 (E.D. Ark. 1997) (App.

44a).

After finding that the government had proven its interest in

preventing the appearance of corruption, the court held that the

$100 limit was not “different in kind” from the $1,000 limit

approved in Buckley because the $100 limit did not “burden the

potential for effective political dialogue.” Jd. at 1223 (App. 49a).

In support of this holding, the court found it “significant that no

officeholder testified that she would be unable to run an effective

campaign with the $100 limit.” Jd. at 1224 (App. 50a). The court

relied on testimony from experts and officeholders about the low

cost of Arkansas elections, showing, for instance, that races for

4. Because of the size of their districts, the court considered the

races for Supreme Court and the Court of Appeals different in kind from

the other elections subject to the $100 limit and struck the $100 limit as

applied to those judicial elections. 978 F. Supp. at 1224. In this petition,

except where otherwise indicated, “$100 limit” will be used to refer to

all races subject to that limit except for the elections for Supreme Court

justice and Court of Appeals judge.

10

the state house averaged only $7,000 to $16,000 an election cycle

and for the state senate averaged $23,000 to $39,000. Jd. at 1223

(App. 49a). The court also took note of evidence that during two

special elections held under Act I the candidates raised, on average,

more money than in the elections prior to Act I. Jd. at 1224 (App.

50a). The court upheld the $100 limit, except as it applied to the

races for Supreme Court justice and Court of Appeals judge. Jd.

(App. 51a).

The district court held, however, that the pre-Act I limit of

$1,000 was not large enough to appear corrupting in statewide

races. Id. at 1222 (App. 44a). The district court based this finding

primarily on the cost of gubernatorial campaigns — approximately

$900,000 per candidate — but did not address the relatively low

cost of other statewide races. Jd. at 1221 (App. 44a). Having found

that the state’s interest in combating the appearance of corruption

was not established, the district court did not consider whether the

$300 statewide limits might be constitutionally tolerable because

the infusion of public funds into the political process from the

newly enacted tax credit would provide an effective alternative to

the need to raise campaign funds from large donors.°

2. Court of Appeals

A panel of the Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit

concluded that every portion of the integrated plan it reviewed

5. Applying the test of California Medical Ass'n v. FEC, 453 U.S.

182 (1981) [“CalMed’”], the district court upheld the differential treatment

between generic PACs and small donor PACs, holding that Act I does not

place a greater burden on the First Amendment rights of generic PACs

because small donor PACs are subject to more burdensome restrictions on

the amount and source of contributions they may accept. Russell, 978 F.

Supp. at 1226-27. Also relying on CalMed, the district court upheld the

longstanding $200 limit on contributions to PACs as serving to prevent the

evasion of the basic contribution limits. Jd. at 1225. The court noted that

under the limit PAC contributions to Arkansas candidates had been “robust”

and that PACs had not been prevented from “ ‘amassing the resources

necessary for effective advocacy.’ ” Jd. (quoting Buckley, 424 U.S. at 21).

11

was unconstitutional, including, most pertinently, Act I’s $300 and

$100 limitations on contributions to candidates. Russell v. Burris,

143 F.3d 563 (8th Cir. 1998). The court below reasoned that Buckley

required that contribution limits be subjected to strict scrutiny, rejecting

the argument that Timmons v. Twin Cities Area New Party, 1178. Ct.

1364, 1370 (1997), requires less exacting scrutiny when, as here, the

restrictions on First Amendment expression are not “severe.” Russell,

143 F.3d at 568 (App. 9a).

The court of appeals held that in the absence of credible evidence

of actual corruption, the government is required to prove its compelling

interest in alleviating the “appearance of corruption” with evidence

showing that a “reasonable person could perceive ... that such

contributions make for undue influence or spawn corruption.” Jd. at

569 (App. 11a). Nevertheless, the court of appeals rejected evidence

presented in the district court demonstrating “specific instances in

which large contributions had given rise to the appearance of undue

influence or corruption” because the state had not proven that any

particular recipient of a $1,000 contribution had actually switched a

vote or otherwise changed position after receiving the contribution,

attempted to hide the contribution from public disclosure, or accepted

contributions in excess of the then-legal limit. Jd. at 570 (App. 13a).

Indeed, the court held that even evidence of a “uniform public

perception” that certain contribution patterns were corrupt was

insufficient to establish the state’s interest when, in the court’s view,

that “uniform perception” was not objectively reasonable. See id. at

569 (App. 12a). In short, the court below required nothing short of

proof of illegal activity as a precondition to upholding the contribution

limits.

Accordingly, the court below held that the state had failed to

prove that there “is real or perceived corruption attributable to large

political contributions.” Jd. (App. 10a). In effect, the Eighth Circuit

found that two-thirds of Arkansas’ voters were “unreasonable” to

conclude that contributions in excess of the limits they enacted seemed

corrupting.

The court of appeals also held that the contribution limits were

“too low to allow meaningful participation in protected speech and

12

association,” and found that Act I’s limits were “different in kind”

from the $1,000 limits upheld in Buckley. Id. at 570-71. But the

court below simply refused to consider whether the huge public

subsidy provided by Arkansas would ameliorate the alleged

financial effect of lower contribution limits on both candidates

and contributors.°

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Introduction: Three Unresolved Issues Posed in Buckley

Twenty-two years have elapsed since the landmark decision

in Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (1976). While this Court has

addressed the constitutional questions posed by campaign finance

regulations in candidate elections on six occasions in the interim,’

it has yet to explain three key unresolved issues arising out of

Buckley that pose particularly difficult problems for the lower

courts and for state and local governments seeking to enact

campaign finance legislation in compliance with Buckley.

6. The court of appeals also struck the provision for small donor

PACs and the $200 annual limit on contributions to any one PAC.

7. See California Medical Ass'n v. FEC, 453 U.S. 182 (1981)

(upholding $5,000 ceiling on contributions to PACs); FEC v. National

Conservative Political Action Comm., 470 U.S. 480 (1985) (invalidating

ceiling on independent expenditures by PACs); FEC v. Massachusetts

Citizens for Life, 479 U.S. 238 (1986) (invalidating ban on independent

expenditures on behalf of federal candidates by grassroots, non-profit

corporations); Austin v. Michigan Chamber of Commerce, 494 U.S. 652

(1990) (upholding ban on independent expenditures by corporations in

state and local campaigns); Colorado Republican Federal Campaign

Comm. v. FEC, 518 U.S. 604 (1996) (invalidating ceiling on independent

expenditures by political parties during period prior to selection of

candidate). The Court has also addressed campaign finance regulation

in referendum campaigns on two occasions. See First Nat'l Bank of

Boston v. Bellotti, 435 U.S. 765 (1978) (invalidating ban on independent

expenditures by corporations in connection with referendum); Citizens

Against Rent Control v. Berkeley, 454 U.S. 290 (1981) (invalidating

$250 contribution limit in connection with referendum).

a w/c ella

13

First, Buckley ruled that the size and source of campaign

contributions may be limited in an effort to prevent electoral

corruption, real and apparent. Jd. at 19. But the precise standard

of review that governs Challenges to contribution limits remains a

matter of dispute. Some courts, including the Eighth Circuit below,

apply classic First Amendment “strict scrutiny.” See, e.g., Russell,

146 F.3d at 568; Carver, 72 F.3d at 638. Others recognize Buckley’s

holding that limits on campaign contributions only marginally

burden First Amendment rights and apply a less exacting standard

of review. See, e.g., Service Employees Int'l Union v. Fair Political

Practices Comm'n, 955 F.2d 1312, 1322 (9th Cir.), cert. denied,

505 U.S. 1230 (1992). Indeed, the standard of review suggested

in Buckley is so unpredictable that it has prompted one academic

observer to note that it “varies paragraph to paragraph.” Steven

H. Shiffrin, The First Amendment, Democracy and Romance 32

(1990).

The disagreement over the appropriate standard of review

turns, in part, on a second unresolved issue generated by the

Buckley decision — continuing confusion over what the Court

meant in Buckley when it recognized that the prevention of electoral

“corruption,” real and apparent, is a compelling governmental

interest justifying reasonable limits on the size and source of

campaign contributions. Buckley, 424 U.S. at 27. Some courts,

including the Eighth Circuit below, read the term “corruption”

very narrowly to mean quid pro quo arrangements that closely

resemble bribery or extortion. See Russell, 146 F.3d at 570; Shrink

Missouri Gov’t PAC v. Adams, No. 98-2351, 1998 WL 413477, at

*1 (8th Cir. July 23, 1998). Other courts, however, implicitly

recognize that “corruption” should be read more broadly to include

a kind of preferential treatment such as increased access or

heightened concern over issues of interest to large contributors.

Cf. Kentucky Right to Life v. Terry, 108 F.3d 637, 648 (6th Cir.)

(approving $1,000 limits without reviewing any evidence of

corruption), cert. denied, 118 S. Ct. 162 (1997); California ProLife

Council PAC v. Scully, 989 F. Supp. 1282, 1294-95 (E.D. Cal.

1998) (noting that the electorate’s concern for corruption need

not be accompanied by evidence of bribery).

14

Finally, as the opinions below demonstrate, lower courts need

guidance in assessing the constitutionality of state and local efforts

to enhance political equality by using subsidies to limit the effect

of concentrations of wealth on the democratic process. In Buckley,

this Court recognized that the enhancement of political equality

was a “legitimate” government interest that justified spending

public funds to subsidize the campaign process. 424 U.S. at 93.

The Buckley Court considered the relationship between campaign

subsidies and expenditure limits, holding that otherwise

unconstitutional limits on campaign spending could be required

as a quid pro quo for the voluntary acceptance of a campaign

subsidy. /d. at 99-100. But, because the issue did not arise in

Buckley, the Court has never considered the relationship between

campaign subsidies and contribution limits.

Lacking explicit guidance from the Buckley opinion, the

Eighth Circuit below believed itself obliged to ignore the subsidy

provided by Arkansas as the structural quid pro quo for the

contribution limits and reviewed the contribution limits as if they

existed in a legal and factual vacuum. But such a myopic approach

is inconsistent with Buckley itself, which explicitly recognized

the constitutional significance of the interplay between subsidy

and limitation, and is unnecessarily destructive of the ability of

state and local governments to combine subsidies and limitations

in an integrated program that limits the corrosive effects of wealth

inequality on the democratic process, while assuring that

candidates receive the generous flow of funds needed to wage

robust campaigns.

15

I. Unless Reviewed, the Eighth Circuit’s Misreading of

Buckley v. Valeo Will Dramatically Inhibit the Capacity of

State and Local Governments to Seek Imaginative Solutions

to the Most Important Contemporary Challenge Facing

American Democracy — Dealing with the Impact of Significant

Wealth Disparities on the Democratic Process.

This case presents the Court with a singular opportunity to

resolve the constitutional relationship between the setting of

campaign contribution limits and a linked speech-enhancing public

subsidy. This Court’s guidance in this area is crucial to ongoing

efforts by state and local governments to reform their campaign

finance systems.

Overwhelming majorities at the state and local levels

throughout the United States are struggling to combat the pervasive

cynicism engendered by the disproportionate political influence

apparently exercised by monied interests in funding our electoral

campaigns — a cynicism that some observers believe is at least

partially responsible for the alarming decline in electoral

participation that resulted, in 1996, in less than half the eligible

electorate voting in a presidential election for the first time since

1824.* See, e.g., Eliza Newlin Carney, Opting Out of Politics, Nat’!

Journal, Jan. 17, 1998, at 106; Sen. John McCain, The Scandal in

Our Midst, Newsweek, Aug. 17, 1998, at 13. Turnouts in state

and local races are even lower. Almost invariably, given the options

open after Buckley, state and local majorities seeking to build

confidence in the electoral process have turned to contribution

8. See Barbara Vobejda, Just Under Half of the Possible Voters

Went to the Polls, Wash. Post, Nov. 7, 1996, at A30. Electoral

participation fell below 50% of the eligible electorate in the 1924

presidential election, but only because the massive influx of newly

eligible women voters had not yet been fully integrated into the

democratic process.

16

limits as the primary weapon in the arsenal of reform. By 1997, at

least 39 states had imposed limits on individual contributions to

candidates. Michael J. Malbin & Thomas L. Gais, The Day After

Reform: Sobering Campaign Finance Lessons from the American

States 13-20 (1998).

While contribution ceilings curb the potential for corruption

and enhance the public’s confidence in democracy, these benefits

come at a cost. Limiting the ability of candidates to raise funds

efficiently through large contributions can diminish candidates’

ability to communicate with voters. Moreover, contribution limits

inadvertently enhance the political power of extremely wealthy

candidates who are free, under Buckley, to expend unlimited

amounts of their personal fortunes on their campaigns. Buckley,

424 US. at 54.

In contrast, Arkansas has fashioned an ingenious approach to

campaign finance reform) that increases the amount of money

available to candidates even as it caps the amount that any one

individual can give a candidate. Arkansas’ approach, if

constitutionally permissible, may well be the wave of the future.

Increasingly, states and localities are melding campaign subsidies

with contribution limits in an integrated plan that both minimizes

corruption and increases the availability of campaign funds. See

Malbin & Gais, The Day After Reform, supra, at 21-23. If the

Eighth Circuit’s opinion in this case stands, however, states and

localities throughout the United States will abandon the promising

approach of linking effective contribution limits with subsidies

designed to enhance the availability of funds to candidates. Without

further guidance from this Court, innovative reformers, who thus

far have been cooking without a constitutional recipe, will be forced

to leave the kitchen.

While Buckley did not provide clear guidance on how to

evaluate an integrated system of campaign finance regulation that

couples limits on contributions with extensive subsidies, the

Buckley decision strongly suggests that the panel of the Eighth

Circuit below was simply wrong in ignoring the subsidy half of

17

the equation when it assessed the constitutionality of the

contribution limits. Buckley held that limits on campaign

contributions do implicate the First Amendment rights of

contributors and candidates. 424 U.S. at 21. Because contributions

“fuel” candidate speech and allow supporters to signal their

support, Buckley held that it would be impermissible to impose

contribution limits that are unreasonably low — at least where the

candidate has no other source of funding. Tellingly, however, the

Court made clear that campaign contributions were not “direct”

speech, since they merely empowered a third person to speak. Jd.

Moreover, held the Buckley Court, reasonable contribution limits

amount to “marginal restrictions” on a contributor’s First

Amendment rights, and are fully justified by the “compelling”

government interest in ridding the electoral process of the reality

and appearance of corruption. /d. at 21-29.

Indeed, despite the First Amendment interests underlying

campaign contributions, the Buckley Court held that the

government could prohibit a// contributions to a candidate where

it couples that ban with public funding. That was exactly the nature

of the presidential campaign finance system upheld in Buckley, it

prohibited any candidate who accepted public funds from accepting

a penny from contributors — notwithstanding a would-be

contributor’s ardent desire to express support with a contribution.

See Republican Nat’l Comm. v. FEC, 487 F. Supp. 280, 286-87

(S.D.N.Y.) (three-judge panel) (describing and evaluating First

Amendment rights of contributors), aff'd, 445 U.S. 955 (1980).°

If federal law can bar a supporter entirely from contributing

to a candidate, so long as the public funding mechanism provides

9. It is true, of course, that presidential candidates are able to choose

whether to accept public funds and the attendant restrictions, but that

difference cannot possibly be relevant to the constitutional rights of the

contributors. A person who wishes to contribute to a presidential

candidate has no say as to whether the candidate will accept public funds,

so he cannot in any sense be said to have voluntarily accepted the bar on

contributing.

18

sufficient “fuel” for the candidate’s communication, then surely

Arkansas may take the less restrictive step of merely limiting

contributions under similar circumstances. Where, as here,

adequate public funds are provided to “fuel” a candidate’s

campaign, and where persons may “signal” support by making

substantial contributions directly to the candidate, or unlimited

personal expenditures in support of the candidate, a contributor’s

legitimate First Amendment interests, as described in Buckley,

are fully respected. Yet the Buckley decision provides confusing

instruction on whether there are residual First Amendment interests

that should be given constitutional weight when these other

interests are satisfied.

At best, the Buckley decision leaves unaddressed the important

questions of whether a public subsidy scheme that neither caps

election spending nor hinders fund-raising, but in fact encourages

moderate contributions and participation from voters, would

counterbalance any restraints on speech caused by contribution

limits. The Buckley Court praises public campaign subsidies, when

linked with spending and contribution limits, as part of a desirable

effort to “use public money to facilitate and enlarge public

discussion and participation in the electoral process, goals vital to

a self-governing people.” Buckley, 424 U.S. at 92-93. The Court

goes on to note that the public subsidy system “furthers, not

abridges, First Amendment values.” Jd. The Buckley Court also

recognizes that facilitating communication between the candidate

and the public is a valid and important government goal of

campaign regulation. Jd.

Notwithstanding this Court’s history of viewing techniques

of enhancing speech through a different lens, the Eighth Circuit

declined to consider the public subsidy as it evaluated the

contribution limits. Russell, 146 F.3d at 567 (App. 10a). Instead,

the court of appeals applied strict scrutiny to find that the $100

and $300 limits were “too low to allow meaningful participation

in speech and association,” id. at 570, and were not narrowly

tailored to address the reality or perception of corruption in

Arkansas. The court of appeals’ refusal to address the speech and

19

debate enhancing elements of the tax credit/subsidy cries out for

this Court’s attention.

II. While Lower Courts are Hopelessly Divided on the Issue

of the Proof Required Under Buckley to Justify Limits on

Campaign Contributions, the Eighth Circuit’s Draconian

Requirement That the State Prove Actual Corruption is in

Direct Conflict with Buckley and Would Have the Effect of

Invalidating All Existing Limits on Campaign Contributions.

In Buckley, this Court described the threshold for proving the

sufficiency of a government’s interest in “the prevention of

corruption and the appearance of corruption spawned by the real

or imagined coercive influence of large financial contributions.”

424 U.S. at 25. Buckley makes clear that the appearance of

corruption can exist, and can erode confidence in representative

government, even when the “coercive influence of large financial

contributions on candidates’ positions and on their actions if elected

to office” has no basis in reality, but is instead “imagined.” Jd.

One of the core assumptions underlying Buckley is that the

appearance of impropriety is “inherent in a regime of large

individual contributions.” Jd. at 27 (emphasis added); see also

Colorado Republican Federal Campaign Comm. v. FEC, 518 U.S.

604, 616 (1996) (plurality); Austin v. Michigan Chamber of

Commerce, 494 U.S. 652, 660 (1990) (state had sufficiently

demonstrated a danger of real or apparent corruption caused by

corporate political expenditures because “corporate wealth can

unfairly influence elections”) (emphasis added). Indeed, in

rejecting an overbreadth challenge to the $1,000 contribution limits

for all federal elections, the Court assumed that “most large

contributors do not seek improper influence over a candidate’s

position or an officeholder’s action.” Buckley, 424 U.S. at 29. Also,

the Court did not find it significant that much more than $1,000

would be needed to “enable an unscrupu!ous contributor to exercise

improper influence over a candidate or officeholder.” Jd. at 30.

20

The Eighth Circuit’s decision implicitly rejects these basic

tenets of the Court’s campaign finance jurisprudence by creating

a new and impossibly stringent standard of proof for establishing

the requisite appearance of corruption. The court of appeals

described this new requirement as “objective reasonableness,” 146

F.3d at 569, but, in application, the court required proof of actual

bribery or extortion in order to support any claim of apparent

corruption. /d. at 570.

In applying this new and unsupported standard, the court of

appeals repeatedly complained of the government’s failure to show

that any legislator had changed his vote in exchange for campaign

contributions, violated the pre-existing contribution limits, or

illegally concealed the source of his contributions. See id. at 569-

70. In other words, the court required evidence of unlawful

behavior before it would consider the public’s perception of

corruption reasonable. Indeed, the court of appeals acknowledged

the evidence that “there was a ‘uniform’ public perception of

corruption associated” with one bill and that one lawmaker

received substantial contributions from lobbyists who had business

before his committee, id. at 569, yet found this evidence insufficient

to support a public perception of corruption because, in that court’s

view, it was unreasonable. The court of appeals created a standard

of proof that a perception of corruption is “reasonable” only when

it is based on actual quid pro quo exchanges of money or other

clearly unlawful conduct.

The difference is far from semantic, as the Eighth Circuit

confirmed just weeks ago, when it enjoined contribution limits

of $1,075 — limits that exceed the limits currently in place

under federal law. Shrink Missouri Gov't PAC v. Adams, No.

98-2351, 1998 WL 413477, at *1 (8th Cir. July 23, 1998).

Relying heavily on its opinion in this case, the Eighth Circuit

concluded that

it is likely that the state has failed to show “that a

reasonable person could perceive, on the basis of

21

the evidence presented at trial, that such

contributions make for undue influence or spawn

corruption.”

Id. (quoting Russell, 146 F.3d at 568) (emphasis added). As

Shrink Missouri demonstrates, under the Eighth Circuit’s logic

in this case, it will be virtually impossible to prove an

appearance of corruption, which would mean the automatic

invalidation not only of virtually every contribution limit

adopted in the states, but also of the federal limits approved in

Buckley.

The Eighth Circuit’s newly minted “objective reasonableness”

test not only obliterates the distinction between the reality and the

appearance of corruption, it flies in the face of Buckley’s repeated

recognition that any showing of perceived corruption that is not

merely “illusory” is sufficient. The Buckley Court recognized that

“the scope of such pernicious practices [could] never reliably be

ascertained,” and concluded that anecdotal evidence was sufficient

to show that “the problem [of corruption] is not an illusory one.”

Buckley, 424 U.S. at 27 & n.28 (describing the “deeply disturbing”

examples of large contributions that surfaced after the 1972

presidential election). The Court, in fact, relied on the public

awareness of the “opportunities” for abuse without tying it to a

requirement of proving that abuse had actually occurred, or was

even likely to occur. Jd. Because such appearances can severely

undermine public confidence in representative government,

“Congress could legitimately conclude that the avoidance of the

appearance of improper influence ‘is also critical.’ ” Jd. (quoting

CSC v. Letter Carriers, 413 U.S. 548, 565 n.29 (1973)); see also

id. at 30 (“Congress was justified in concluding that the interest in

safeguarding against the appearance of impropriety requires that

the opportunity for abuse inherent in the process of raising large

monetary contributions be eliminated.”’).

The Buckley Court recognized that the very possibility of

making large contributions triggered an appearance of corruption,

22

stating that in a “system permitting unlimited financial

contributions,” the threat to the public’s confidence in the system

is self-evident. Jd. at 28.

This Court’s recent decision in United States v. National

Treasury Employees Union, 513 U.S. 454 (1995) (“NTEU”),

illustrates the flaw in the Eighth Circuit’s analysis. In NTEU, this

Court addressed whether a ban on honoraria given to lower-level

federal employees unconstitutionally restricted the First

Amendment rights of those employees. There, the Court required

the government to show that the harms allegedly caused by the

honoraria were “real, not merely conjectural.” Jd. at 475 (internal

quotation omitted). The NTEU Court agreed that “Congress could

reasonably assume that payment of honoraria to judges or high-

ranking officials in the Executive Branch might generate [an]

appearance of improper influence.” Jd. at 473 (emphasis added).

But the Court refused to extend that assumption to lower-level

employees “with negligible power to confer favors on those who

might pay to hear them speak or read their articles” in the absence

of some greater showing of need. Jd.

Thus, the N7EU Court was prepared to assume that honoraria

paid to high-level officials would generate an appearance of

improper influence, much like the Buckley Court’s assumption of

harm from “large contributions.” Indeed, the dissent in N7TEU

would have accorded the government even more deference to find

that the ban should continue to apply to all employees. Jd. at 494

(Rehnquist, C.J., dissenting). Surely, the assumption that financial

rewards to high-ranking executive officials would generate the

appearance of improper influence is applicable, as well, to

substantial campaign contributions to legislators, attorneys general,

and governors.

While no other lower court has approached the Draconian

standard applied by the Eighth Circuit, in recent years, lower courts

have struggled, without success, to apply uniform standards in

cases challenging contribution limits. The Sixth Circuit, in stark

contrast with the Eighth, for instance, seems to embrace the Buckley

23

presumption that large contributions are corrupting, and upheld

limits on individual and corporate contributions to candidates

without an analysis of the evidence of actual or perceived

corruption. See Kentucky Right to Life, Inc. v. Terry, 108 F.3d

637, 646-48 (6th Cir. 1997). On the other hand, a federal district

court in California recently grumbled that although in 1989 “ ‘the

boundaries of the notion of the appearance of corruption ha[d] not

been fully developed’ . . . [L]ittle has happened since then to help

clarify the notion.” California ProLife Council PAC v. Scully, 989

F. Supp. 1282, 1294-95 (E.D. Cal. 1998) (internal citation omitted).

The court also reviewed the evidence to note that several bribery

convictions and a government investigation of the state legislature

indicate, at the least, that the “problem [of corruption] is not

illusory,” and that, thus, the government had proved its “legitimate

interest” in limiting contributions. Jd. Another court, reviewing

contribution limits for a variety of local offices in the District of

Columbia, held that “vague or inapposite evidence” of the

government’s interest in preventing corruption or appearance of

corruption might not be sufficient to support limits as low as $50

per election cycle. National Police Ass'n v. District of Columbia

Bd. of Elections and Ethics, 924 F. Supp. 270, 281 (D.D.C. 1996),

vacated as moot, 108 F.3d 346 (D.C. Cir. 1997) (contribution limits

increased in interim).

The confusion in the lower courts is exacerbated by

widespread disagreement over the meaning of “corruption” as the

term is used in Buckley. Is it limited to acts that constitute bribery

or extortion? Or, does it encompass serious distortions in the

democratic process that afford wealthy contributors unfair

influence by granting them preferred access and heightened

concern? See generally Daniel Hays Lowenstein, On Campaign

Finance Reform: The Root of Evil is Deeply Rooted, 18 Hofstra L.

Rev. 301 (1989) (reviewing the access and influence of

contributors); Thomas F. Burke, The Concept of Corruption in

Campaign Finance Law, 14 Const. Comm. 127 (Spring 1997).

The deeply unsatisfactory nature of the lower courts’ radically

varying approaches to efforts to limit campaign contributions cries

out for guidance from this Court.

24

Ill. The Circuits are Split on the Appropriate Standard of

Review for Contribution Limits.

The Buckley Court’s review of contribution limits begins with

the observation that such limits impose “only a marginal restriction

upon the contributor’s ability engage in free communication,”

Buckley, 424 U.S. at 21, and continues with the holding that the

$1,000 limits at issue there “do not undermine to any material

degree the potential for robust and effective discussion of

candidates and campaign issues,” id. at 29. After discussing the

government’s interest in fighting corruption and the limits’ “precise

focus” on that interest, however, the Court holds that under the

“rigorous standard of review established by our prior decisions,

the weighty interests served by restricting the size of financial

contributions to political candidates are sufficient to justify the

limited effect upon First Amendment freedoms” caused by the

contribution limits. Jd. |

Then-Justice Rehnquist has since stated that

[the] Court in Buckley v. Valeo, never suggested that

the interest served by the campaign limitation provision

was a “compelling one,” nor examined the provision

to determine whether it was sufficiently tailored to the

interest to survive “heightened scrutiny.” The Court

was Satisfied that the provision had only an indirect

and minimal effect on the First Amendment interests,

as well as a rational basis.

Pacific Gas & Elec. Co. v. Public Utilities Comm'n of California,

475 U.S. 1, 29 n.2 (1985) (Rehnquist, J. dissenting) (emphasis

added). In California Medical Ass'n v. FEC, 453 U.S. 182 (1981)

25

[“CalMed”], the Court was conflicted about whether Buckley

applied a different — lower — standard of scrutiny to

contribution limits than to spending limits. Compare CalMed,

453 U.S. at 196 (plurality) (stating that “speech by proxy,” such

as contributions, is not “entitled to full First Amendment

protection”) with id., at 202 (Blackmun, J., concurring)

(disagreeing with the plurality’s suggestion that contribution

limits receive a level of scrutiny less than “rigorous”).

Recently, a pluraiity of this Court went so far as to suggest

that a weighing test applies even to the evaluation of the more

highly protected spending limits, stating that when considering

campaign finance regulations,

the Court essentially weigh{s] the First Amendment

interest in permitting candidates (and their

supporters) to spend money to advance their political

views against a “compelling” governmental interest

in assuring the electoral system’s legitimacy,

protecting it from the appearance of corruption.

Colorado Republican Federal Campaign Comm. v. FEC, 518

U.S. 604, 609 (1996) (emphasis added) (citing FEC v.

Massachusetts Citizens for Life, 479 U.S. 238, 256-63 (1986);

FEC v. National Conservative Political Action Comm., 470 U.S.

480, 493-501 (1985); CalMed, 453 U.S. at 193-199; Buckley,

424 U.S. at 14-23). Whether this “weighing test” is only a

reformulation of strict scrutiny or is a form of “less exacting

scrutiny” that takes into account speech accorded “less than

full First Amendment protection” continues to divide this Court

and confuse lower courts. Compare Colorado Republican, 518

U.S. at 640 & n.7 (Thomas, J. dissenting), with CalMed, 453

U.S. at 196, and Buckley, 424 U.S. at 27 (expressly rejecting

requirement that government must use least restrictive means

when regulating contribution limits).

26

The plurality’s view in Colorado Republican is consistent

with the standard of review applied by the Court in other areas of

First Amendment jurisprudence. In Timmons v. Twin Cities Area

New Party, 117S. Ct. 1364, 1370 (1997), the Eighth Circuit applied

strict scrutiny to invalidate Minnesota’s ban against a single

candidate running for office as the nominee of two different parties.

This Court reversed, noting that the ban did not impose a “severe

burden” on either voters or political parties because adequate

alternative methods of pursuing their respective First Amendment

interests existed. /d. at 1372. In the absence of a “severe burden,”

the Court subjected the ban to “less exacting review.” Jd.; see

also Burdick v. Takushi, 504 U.S. 428, 434 (1992) (applying less

exacting review to Hawaii’s ban on write-in votes because the

ban did not severely burden First Amendment rights). Despite

Timmons, the court below declined even to consider whether the

provision of a generous public subsidy provided an adequate

alternative means of “fueling” a candidate’s speech, rendering the

use of strict scrutiny inappropriate.

The court of appeals here insisted that any standard of review

more lenient than strict scrutiny was inappropriate in its

consideration of the constitutionality of Act I’s contribution limits,

and declared that the “weighing” analysis in Colorado Republican

was a mere “restatement or reformulation ... of the Court’s

familiar strict scrutiny analysis.” Russell, 146 F.3d at 568; see

also Carver v. Nixon, 72 F.3d 633, 638 (8th Cir. 1995) (insisting

that “strict scrutiny” was the proper standard), cert. denied, 518

U.S. 1033 (1996).

Other circuits, even before Colorado Republican, recognized

that Buckley hardly restates “the Court’s familiar strict scrutiny

analysis.” For instance, the Ninth Circuit held that “a somewhat

less stringent test than strict scrutiny [applies] to decide the

constitutionality of contribution limitations.” Service Employees

Int'l Union v. Fair Political Practices Comm'n, 955 F.2d 1312,

1322 (9th Cir.) (citing Buckley, 424 U.S. at 29; Massachusetts

Citizens for Life, 479 U.S. at 259-60), cert. denied, 505 U.S. 1230

27

(1992). Other courts have taken the kind of practical “balancing

approach” suggested by the Buckley Court. See National Black

Police Ass'n v. District of Columbia Bd. of Elections and Ethics,

924 F. Supp. 270, 274 (D.D.C. 1996) (describing the disagreement

over the standard but applying a balancing test even after finding

that the contribution limits had a “severe impact” on First

Amendment rights), vacated as moot, 108 F.3d 346 (D.C. Cir.

1997).

When the lower courts have reviewed other types of

restrictions on contributions, they have also reflected this confusion

over the standard. One court called on to review contribution limits

that were based on whether the candidate agreed to spending limits

and accepted a partial subsidy described a kind of weighing test

— the more disproportionate the burden, the more likely the statute

will be held unconstitutional. Vote Choice, Inc. v. DiStefano, 4

F.3d 26, 33 (1st Cir. 1993); see also Driver v. DiStefano, 914 F.

Supp. 797 (D.R.I. 1996) (applying type of weighing test to

contribution limits based on the calendar year). Yet, the Wisconsin

Supreme Court, purporting to apply Buckley to its analysis of a

limit on the aggregate amount a candidate could receive from

committees, applied strict scrutiny to find the limits constitutional.

Gard v. State Elections Bd., 456 N.W. 2d 809 (Wisc. 1990); see

also Vannatta v. Kiesling, 899 F. Supp. 488 (D. Ore. 1995)

(applying strict scrutiny to strike law limiting contributions from

out of district), aff'd, No. 95-35998, 1998 WL 461920 (9th Cir.

Aug. 11,1998) (affirming judgment but applying “rigorous

scrutiny”).

The circuit courts, state supreme courts, and other lower courts

are, therefore, in disagreement and confusion over whether to apply

strict scrutiny, some form of intermediate scrutiny, or a weighing

test when they review efforts to impose contribution limits. That

disagreement and confusion is only intensified when, as here, the

contribution limits are bracketed with a public subsidy, which

lessens any burden on First Amendment rights by enhancing

candidates’ ability to amass resources. Accordingly, this Court

28

should grant certiorari to clarify and enunciate the proper standard

of review in connection with efforts to link contribution ceilings

and public subsidies in an effort to prevent electoral corruption,

enhance political equality, and encourage individual participation

in the democratic process.

IV. This Court Should Consider the Small Donor PAC

Provision as Another Way that Act I Enhances Political

Participation Without Violating the Fourteenth

Amendment.

Along with the tax credit provision, Arkansas’ Act I had

another creative means of enhancing the political speech and

participation of its citizens — the small donor PAC provision.

That new law allowed PACs that only receive contributions no

larger than $25 to contribute up to $2,500 per election while regular

donor PACs were subject to the standard contribution limit for

persons. While this Court’s decision in CalMed, 453 U.S. at 204,

makes clear that the state can impose different campaign finance

regulations on different types of organizations, it leaves open the

question of whether the state is permitted to allow PACs that are

subject to much greater regulation to contribute substantially more

to individual candidates than the standard, less regulated PACs.

Although this is an open question, the court of appeals’

analysis of this issue in striking down the small donor PAC

provision is at odds with the analysis in Ca/Med. In evaluating an

equal protection challenge to different campaign finance

regulations imposed on different types of organizations, CalMed

instructed courts to consider whether the regulation in question

burdened the First Amendment rights of one group more than it

burdened the same rights of the other group and, if so, whether the

distinction was justified. The court of appeals here applied strict

scrutiny, requiring the differential treatment to be narrowly tailored

to serving a compelling state interest. Russell, 146 F.3d at 572

29

(App. 17a). Moreover, the court of appeals declined to consider

key justifications for the differential treatment of the two types of

PACs — that is, that the small donor PACs are less likely to be

used as a means of circumventing individual contribution limits

and that they enhance democratic participation by involving more

citizens in the electoral process.'® Instead, the court of appeals

held that small donor PACs would not combat corruption because

they had larger contribution limits than individuals or regular

PACs.

Arkansas used the small donor PAC as another device — like

the tax credit — to insure that candidates could continue to raise

sufficient funds for their campaigns under Act I’s lower

contribution limits. Additionally, like the tax credit, Arkansas saw

the small donor PAC as way to encourage grass roots political

involvement. This Court should grant review in order to instruct

lower courts on how to evaluate the constitutionality of this

innovative campaign financing device.

10. Similarly, the court of appeals’ decision striking down the $200

limit on contributions to the ordinary PACs is intertwined with its

decision striking the $100 and $300 limits because the problem that

donors might circumvent those limits with PAC contributions recedes

when the limit returns to $1,000. Nonetheless, the court of appeals’

construction of CalMed is flawed. As with Act I’s individual contribution

limits, the $200 limit on contributions to PACs triggers only minimal

First Amendment protection because the donor is free to spend unlimited

amounts independently and can continue to give to candidates.

30

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for writ of certiorari

should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

BURT NEUBORNE

Counsel of Record

E. JOSHUA ROSENKRANZ

NANCY NORTHUP

ELIZABETH DANIEL

Brennan Center for Justice at

New York University School of Law

161 Avenue of the Americas

Fifth Floor

New York, NY 10013

(212) 998-6730

SCOTT C. TROTTER

TROTTER & SKELTON

103 West Capitol Avenue

Suite 1205, Boyle Building

Little Rock, AR 72201

(501) 376-6355

Attorneys for Petitionerss

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A — OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

DECIDED JUNE 4, 1998

Ron Russell, Kent Ingram, William R. Austin, and

Associated Industries of Arkansas Political Action

Committee, Appellants,

v.

Troy Burris, In His Official Capacity as Chairperson of

the Arkansas Ethics Commission; Rita Looney, In Her

Official Capacity as a Member of the Arkansas Ethics

Commission; Tom Alexander, In His Official Capacity as

a Member of the Arkansas Ethics Commission; Ben Allen,

In His Official Capacity as a Member of the Arkansas

Ethics Commission; Jack Kearney, In His Official

Capacity as a Member of the Arkansas Ethics

Commission: 2nd Citizens for Clean Government,

Appellees.

American Civil Liberties Union of Arkansas, James

Madison Center for Free Speech, Shrink Missouri

Government PAC, and Zev David Fredman,

Amici Curiae on Behalf of Appellants.

Connecticut, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Massachusetts,

Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, New Mexico, North

Dakota, Utah, and Vermont, Amici Curiae on

Behalf of Appellees.

Ron Russell, Kent Ingram, William R. Austin, and

Associated Industries of Arkansas Political Action

Committee, Appellees,

PATA EE ER AT ER

aah

Pee

NE Rd) UNC Nai Ore

oe > ay fs

ee OY

se ch ha a es SN DO iN

2a

Appendix A

Vv.

Troy Burris, In His Official Capacity as Chairperson of

the Arkansas Ethics Commission; Rita Looney, In Her

Official Capacity as a Member of the Arkansas Ethics

Commission; Tom Alexander, In His Official Capacity as

a Member of the Arkansas Ethics Commission; Ben Allen,

In His Official Capacity as a Member of the Arkansas

Ethics Commission; and Jack Kearney,

In His Official Capacity as a Member of the

Arkansas Ethics Commission, Appellants, and

Citizens for Clean Government, Intervenor as Defendant.

James Madison Center for Free Speech, Shrink Missouri

Government PAC, and Zev David Fredman,

Amici Curiae on Behalf of Appellees.

Connecticut, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Massachusetts,

Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, New Mexico, North

Dakota, Utah, and Vermont, Amici Curiae on

Behalf of Appellants.

Ron Russell, Kent Ingram, William R. Austin, and

Associated Industries of Arkansas Political Action

Committee, Appellees,

v.

Troy Burris, In His Official Capacity as Chairperson of

the Arkansas Ethics Commission; Candi Sue Russell, In

Her Official Capacity as a Member of the Arkansas

Ethics Commission; Marvin Delph, In His Official

3a

Appendix A

Capacity as a Member of the Arkansas Ethics

Commission; Rita Looney, In Her Official Capacity as a

Member of the Arkansas Ethics Commission; and Norton

Wilson, In His Official Capacity as a Member of the

Arkansas Ethics Commission, Defendants, and Citizens

for Clean Government, Appellant.

James Madison Center for Free Speech, Shrink Missouri

Government PAC, and Zev David Fredman,

Amici Curiae on Behalf of Appellees.

Nos. 97-3922, 97-4033 and 97-4038

United States Court of Appeals,

Eighth Circuit.

Submitted: April 13, 1998

Decided June 4, 1998

Before WOLLMAN, BEAM, and MORRIS SHEPPARD

ARNOLD, Circuit Judges.

MORRIS SHEPPARD ARNOLD, Circuit Judge.

In 1996, the people of Arkansas, by voter initiative,

approved a campaign finance reform measure entitled Initiated

Act I. Prior to Act I, Arkansas law limited individuals and

political action committees to contributions of $1,000 per

candidate during each election cycle. Act I reduced the

contribution limit to $300 for the offices of governor, lieutenant

4a

Appendix A

governor, secretary of state, treasurer, auditor, attorney general,

and commissioner of state lands, see Ark. Code Ann. § 7-6-

203(a), § 7-6-203(b), and to $100 for all other state public

offices, see Ark. Code Ann. § 7-6-203(a)(1), § 7-6-203(b)(1).

Act I also created a special category of political action

committee (PAC), see Ark. Code Ann. § 7-6-201(9), § 7-6-

201(10), known as a small-donor PAC. See Ark. Code Ann. §

7-6-201(12). Under Act I, a small-donor PAC may accept no

contribution larger than $25, see Ark. Code Ann. § 7-6-

201(12)(B), and it may contribute no more than $2,500 per

election to any candidate, see Ark. Code Ann. § 7-6-203(d).

Act I authorized as well the creation of a campaign fund-raising

entity known as an independent expenditure committee. See

Ark. Code Ann. § 7-6-201(14). An independent expenditure

committee may, like any person, make unlimited independent

expenditures (that is, ones not coordinated with a candidate) to

advocate the election or defeat of a clearly identified candidate

for office. See Ark. Code Ann. § 7-6-201(13), § 7-6-201(14).

Such a committee, however, may accept no more than $500

from any person annually. See Ark. Code Ann. § 7-6-203(k).

Finally, Act I authorized local governments to set reasonable

limitations on fund-raising for campaigns for local offices. See

Ark. Code Ann. § 7-6-224. Ron Russell, Kent Ingram, William

Austin, and the Associated Industries of Arkansas Political

Action Committee challenged each of these Act I provisions in

the district court, as well as a pre-Act I provision limiting

contributions to any one PAC to $200 annually, see Ark. Code

Ann. § 7-6-201(9)(B).

Following a bench trial, the district court held that the

contribution limits of $300 for certain statewide offices and of

$100 for state judicial offices were unconstitutional because

Sa

Appendix A

they violated the First Amendment’s prohibition against

limitations on the freedom of speech. See Russell v. Burris,

978 F.Supp. 1211, 1222, 1224, 1229 (E.D. Ark. 1997). The

trial court, however, upheld the $100 contribution limit as to

all other offices and the $200 contribution limit to PACs. Id. at

1223, 1225, 1229. The trial court also held that the differential

treatment for ordinary PACs and small-donor PACs did not

violate the Fourteenth Amendment’s equal protection clause.

Id. at 1227, 1229. The trial court declined to reach the merits

on the other two issues, finding that the plaintiffs did not have

standing to contest the limit on contributions to independent

expenditure committees, id. at 1217, 1229, and that the

provision authorizing relevant actions by local governments

was not ripe for a constitutional challenge. Id. at 1217-18, 1229.

All parties appeal the rulings unfavorable to their litigating

positions. We affirm in part and reverse in part.

I.

Standing is, of course, a threshold issue in every case before

a federal court: If a plaintiff lacks standing, he or she cannot

invoke the court’s jurisdiction. See Boyle v. Anderson, 68 F.3d

1093, 1100 (8th Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 516 U.S. 1173, 116

S.Ct. 1266, 134 L.Ed.2d 214 (1996). In order to invoke the

jurisdiction of a federal court, one must meet three

requirements. First, a plaintiff must have suffered an “injury in

fact,” and such an injury must be concrete, particularized, and

either actual or imminent. Id. at 1100-01. Second, a would-be

litigant must make out a causal connection between the alleged

injury and the conduct challenged. Id. at 1100. Third, he or she

must show that the injury is likely to be redressed by a favorable

decision. Id.

6a

Appendix A

The trial court determined that each of the plaintiffs had

Article III standing as to all but one of their challenges, see

Russell, 978 F. Supp. at 1217, and the defendants do not contest

that determination here. The plaintiffs maintain, however, that

the trial court erred in finding that they did not have Article III

standing to challenge the provisions of Act I relating to

independent expenditure committees.

The trial court found that the plaintiffs did not face a

credible threat of present or future prosecution with respect to

this part of their claim, and thus could show no actual or

imminent “injury in fact,” because none of them “could think

of an independent expenditure committee to which they had

contributed in the past or to which they planned to contribute.”

Id. Indeed, one plaintiff testified, “Well, in all honesty, I’d have

to tell you it would take a stretch of my imagination to figure

out why I’d want to contribute anything to an independent

committee.” Another simply testified that he did not know if

he would ever contribute to such a committee.

We are mindful that where “plaintiffs allege an intention

to engage in a course of conduct arguably affected with a

constitutional interest which is clearly proscribed by statute,

courts have found standing to challenge the statute, even absent

a specific threat of enforcement.” United Food & Commercial

Workers International Union v. IBP, Inc., 857 F.2d 422, 428

(8th Cir. 1988). But the plaintiffs have not demonstrated any

such intention: They have indicated neither that they would

contribute to a specific independent expenditure committee nor

that, but for the limitations of Act I, they would form an

independent expenditure committee. Standing may not be

predicated merely upon a conjectural or hypothetical injury or,

as one of the plaintiffs here would have it, upon a stretch of the

7a

Appendix A

imagination. See Lujan v. Defenders of Wildlife, 504 U.S. 555,

564, 112 S.Ct. 2130, 119 L.Ed.2d 351 (1992). We therefore

affirm the trial court’s determination that the plaintiffs lacked

standing to challenge the provisions relevant to independent

expenditure committees.

Il.

“Where at all possible, government must curtail speech

only to the degree necessary to meet the particular problem at

hand, and must avoid infringing on speech that does not pose

the danger that has prompted regulation.” Federal Election

Commission v. Massachusetts Citizens for Life, 479 U.S. 238,

265, 107 S.Ct. 616, 93 L.Ed.2d 539 (1986). Government

attempts to limit campaign contributions, therefore, are

“* “subject to the closest scrutiny.” ’” Carver v. Nixon, 72

F.3d 633, 636 (8th Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 518 U.S. 1033, 116

S. Ct. 2579, 135 L.Ed.2d 1094 (1996), quoting Buckley v.

Valeo, 424 U.S. 1, 25, 96 S.Ct. 612, 46 L.Ed.2d 659 (1976)

(per curiam), itself quoting NAACP v. Alabama, 357 U.S. 449,

461, 78 S.Ct. 1163, 2 L.Ed.2d 1488 (1958). Under this standard,

a significant interference with protected rights of political

association may be sustained only when the state demonstrates

a compelling interest and means closely drawn to avoid

unnecessary abridgement of associational freedoms. Carver, 72

F.3d at 636.

Intervenor (as a defendant) Citizens for Clean Government

(CCG) argues that we should apply a more lenient standard of

review to the legislation in this case because Act I included not

only contribution limits but also a public subsidy scheme. For

this proposition, CCG relies upon the Supreme Court’s ruling

in Buckley that upheld a ban on general election campaign

Appendix A

contributions to, and a limitation on general election campaign

expenditures by, a presidential candidate who elected to receive

a public subsidy. See Buckley, 424 U.S. at 85-109, 96 S.Ct.

612.

But the Buckley Court was clear that it was the optional

nature of the contribution and expenditure limit scheme, not

the subsidy, that rendered the scheme constitutionally

permissible: “Just as a candidate may voluntarily limit the size

of the contributions he chooses to accept, he may decide to

forgo private fundraising and accept public funding.” Id. at 57

n.65, 96 S. Ct. 612. Similarly, we recently upheld a voluntary

campaign subsidy and limitation scheme in Minnesota because

the scheme “presents candidates with an additional, optional

campaign funding choice, the participation in which is

voluntary.” Rosenstiel v. Rodriguez, 101 F.3d 1544, 1552 (8th

Cir. 1996), cert. denied, U.S. __, 117 S. Ct. 1820, 137

L.Ed.2d 1028 (1997). It is true that Act I provided a subsidy

2ud limitation scheme, but unlike the schemes upheld in

Buckley and Rosenstiel, Act I was imposed upon all candidates:

Candidates do not have the power to opt out. We therefore

decline this invitation to apply a standard of scrutiny to this

case that is different from the one that we adopted in Carver.

CCG argues for a more lenient standard of review on the

basis of two recent Supreme Court decisions as well, but neither

of these authorities modifies the standard of review appropriate

to this case. In Colorado Republican Federal Campaign

Committee v. Federal Election Commission, 518 U.S. 604, 609,

116 S.Ct. 2309, 135 L.Ed.2d 795 (1996) (opinion of Breyer,

J.), a case involving the application of federal campaign

expenditure limits, three justices resorted to what CCG calls a

weighing test, rather than strict scrutiny, to decide the case.

9a

Appendix A

See id. at 616, 618, 116 S.Ct. 2309. These justices described

their approach as consistent with cases in which the Court

“essentially weighed the First Amendment interest in permitting

candidates (and their supporters) to spend money to advance

their political views against a ‘compelling’ governmental

interest in assuring the electoral system’s legitimacy, protecting

it from the appearance and reality of corruption.” Id. at 609,

116 S.Ct. 2309. This adjudicatory approach appears to us to be

a restatement or reformulation, not a modification, of the

Court’s familiar strict scrutiny analysis.

We are aware that during the last term, in Timmons v.

Twin Cities Area New Party, 520 U.S. 351, 117 S. Ct. 1364,

1370, 137 L.Ed.2d 589 (1997), the Supreme Court upheld an

election regulation that barred a political party from choosing

as its nominee a candidate already appearing on another party’s

ballot. The Court held that while regulations “imposing severe

burdens on plaintiffs’ rights must be narrowly tailored and

[must] advance a compelling state interest,” lesser burdens

“trigger [a] less exacting review.” Id. We believe, however,

that restrictions on individual contributions to candidates and

on candidates’ amassing sufficient resources to run for office

are more severe than the restrictions at issue in Timmons. Where

the regulations impose severe burdens on First Amendment

rights, as here, Timmons reiterates the Court’s position that

strict scrutiny applies.

We must therefore first determine what interest can be

sufficiently compelling to permit the state to restrict First

Amendment freedoms. The compelling state interest identified

in Buckley was “the prevention of corruption and the

appearance of corruption spawned by the real or imagined

coercive influence of large financial contributions on

10a

Appendix A

candidates’ positions and on their actions if elected to office.” -

Buckley, 424 U.S. at 25, 96 S.Ct. 612. The Court reiterated

this position five years later, holding that “Buckley identified

a single narrow exception to the rule that limits on political

activity were contrary to the First Amendment. The exception

relates to the perception of undue influence of large contributors

to a candidate.” Citizens Against Rent Control v. Berkeley,

454 U.S. 290, 296-97, 102 S.Ct. 434, 70 L.Ed.2d 492 (1981)

(emphasis omitted). Subsequently, the Court stated flatly that

“[p]reventing corruption or the appearance of corruption are

the only legitimate and compelling government interests thus

far identified for restricting campaign finances.” Federal

Election Commission v. National Conservative Political Action

Committee, 470 U.S. 480, 496-97, 105 S.Ct. 1459, 84 L.Ed.2d

455 (1985).

Only three years ago, we emphasized in Carver, 72 F.3d at

638-39, that the state may abridge political speech in the form

of campaign contributions only to address the reality or

perception ot undue influence or corruption attributable to large

contributions. We turn, then, to a consideration of whether the

challenged provisions can pass muster under this standard.

Il.

We consider first the provisions of Act I that limited direct

contributions to candidates to $300 per election for certain

statewide offices, see Ark. Code Ann. § 7-6-203(a), § 7-6-

203(b), and to $100 per election for all other state offices, see

Ark. Code Ann. § 7-6-203(a)(1), § 7-6-203(b)(1). The

defendants must prove first that there is real or perceived undue

influence or corruption attributable to large political

contributions in Arkansas, and then that these challenged

Ie ciacenceeemaceaeamiaiaiaaiiitiaiial

lla

Appendix A

provisions of Act I are narrowly tailored to address that reality

or perception. We find that the defendants failed to carry their

burden before the trial court.

We note that our review of the trial court’s judgment may

involve the review of some of the factual determinations that it

made. The Supreme Court has instructed that, in cases involving

the First Amendment, appellate courts are to make an

independent examination of the whole record to ensure that

their judgments do not constitute a forbidden intrusion on the

right of free expression. See New York Times Co. v. Sullivan,

376 U.S. 254, 285, 84 S.Ct. 710, 11 L.Ed.2d 686 (1964). But

we are also mindful of Fed. R. Civ. P. 52(a), which provides

that a trial court’s factual findings are typically reviewed for

clear error.

To reconcile these two legal propositions, we held last

year that, in cases involving the First Amendment, we would

review findings of noncritical facts for clear error, but would

conduct an independent review of critical facts. See Families

Achieving Independence and Respect v. Nebraska Department

of Social Services, 111 F.3d 1408, 1411 (8th Cir. 1997) (en

banc). Accordingly, in the discussion that follows, we give due

deference to the trial court’s determination of noncritical facts,

while we review independently those facts that we believe to

be critical.

We begin with the observation that no defendant provided

any credible evidence to the trial court of actual undue influence

or corruption stemming from large contributions. We are left,

then, to determine whether the defendants proved that a

reasonable person could perceive, on the basis of the evidence

presented at trial, that such contributions make for undue

influence or spawn corruption.

12a

Appendix A

CCG presented proof at trial that was intended to

demonstrate specific instances in which large contributions had

given rise to the appearance of undue influence or corruption.

Much of this proof focused on the introduction in the Arkansas

legislature of a bill that would have prohibited local

governments from regulating tobacco. The bill’s sponsor, State

Representative James Dietz, had received as much as $2,700

in contributions the previous year from various sources related

to the tobacco industry, such as the Tobacco Institute. Many

other supporters of the bill had apparently also received

contributions from pro-tobacco sources. An opponent of the

bill, State Representative Ted Thomas, testified that there was

a “uniform” public perception of corruption associated with

the bill’s having been introduced and supported by legislators

who had received contributions from tobacco interests.

Even assuming that Mr. Thomas was correct that there

was a public perception of corruption, we must determine

whether that public perception was reasonable, and whether

that perception of corruption derived from the magnitude of

the contributions to Mr. Dietz and other supporters of the bill.

We believe, after an independent review of the facts presented

to the trial court, that the defendants did not prove that the

perception of corruption to which Mr. Thomas alluded was

objectively reasonable. A newspaper article admitted into

evidence quoted Mr. Dietz as saying that he supported the

preemption measure because he believed that one “ought to

have the right to say what goes on inside his building as long

as it’s legal.” That Mr. Dietz received political contributions

from those whose interests he tended to support hardly indicates,

on its own, any corruption.

The defendants provided no evidence at trial, for instance,

that Mr. Dietz changed his position on the tobacco bill due to

i

;

13a

Appendix A

an intervening contribution. Nor did the defendants provide

evidence that Mr. Dietz sought to conceal his contributions from

tobacco-related sources. If it were reasonable to presume

corruption from the fact that a public official voted in a way

that pleased his contributors, legislatures could constitutionally

ban all contributions except those from the public official’s

opponents, a patent absurdity. That would spell the end to the

political right, protected by the First Amendment, to support a

candidate of one’s choice.

The defendants’ objections to Mr. Dietz’s activities are

also, we believe, essentially unrelated to the size of the

individual contributions that he received. The defendants did

not provide evidence, such as that produced by the government

in Buckley, of multi-million-dollar contributions to Mr. Dietz.

Indeed, our review of the evidence presented to the trial court

indicates that Mr. Dietz reported no individual contribution

larger than $1,000 from any source, tobacco-related or

otherwise. We believe that $1,000 is simply not a large enough

sum of money to yield, of its own accord and without further

evidence, a reasonable perception of undue influence or

corruption.

The defendants essentially criticize Mr. Dietz for offering

a bill favorable to interests from whom he had already accepted

campaign contributions. The difficulty pointed to, then, seems

to be the identity of the contributors and their subsequent

interest in legislation rather than the size of their contributions.

We note that even if Mr. Dietz had received twenty-seven

individual contributions of $100 from various tobacco-related

sources instead of a few somewhat larger contributions, the

defendants could make the same criticism of his activities as

they made here. We therefore conclude that the evidence that

l4a

Appendix A

the defendants presented regarding the tobacco legislation does

not permit a finding of a reasonable perception of corruption

or undue influence due to large contributions.

The defendants also produced proof at trial that was related

to contributions by lobbyists to State Representative Ode

Maddox. In April, 1996, a group of lobbyists held a fund-raiser

for Mr. Maddox at the Arkansas Poultry Federation in Little

Rock. According to the trial court, at that event Mr. Maddox

raised a total of more than $22,000 from various lobbyists,

PACs, and corporations. Our independent review of the record

shows that Mr. Maddox received no contribution in excess of

$1,000 from any single source.

The record does not indicate any change in Mr. Maddox’s

political behavior following these donations, nor does it indicate

that Mr. Maddox sought to conceal his contributions or their

sources. Indeed, the defendants did not even demonstrate that

Mr. Maddox voted in any particular fashion with respect to

any relevant issues following the receipt of these donations. At

bottom, the defendants’ complaint about Mr. Maddox’s

contributions is that they came from lobbyists who live outside

his district and have business before his committee from time

to time. But this complaint is not related to the size of the

contributions made to Mr. Maddox, and thus does not satisfy

the compelling state interest standard established in Buckley

and Carver. We conclude, then, that the evidence that the

defendants offered regarding Mr. Maddox’s fund-raising

practices does not permit a finding of a reasonable perception

of corruption or undue influence stemming from large

contributions.

The defendants also adduced proof at trial of contributions

by “real estate interests” to members of the Little Rock

aaah aii

15a

Appendix A

municipal government. But, again, the defendants’ declared

interest in regulating these has to do with the identity of the

contributor and that contributor’s interests rather than with the

size of individual contributions. According to records provided

to the trial court, no member of the Little Rock municipal

government received more than $1,000 from any so-called “real

estate interest.” The record does not indicate any change in

any Official’s behavior following such contributions, nor did

the defendants demonstrate that any official attempted to

conceal the source of the contributions. The evidence instead

shows that the “real estate interests” contributed to candidates

who supported initiatives with which the contributors agreed

— that is, the “real estate interests” appear to have chosen well

which candidates to support.

We cannot say that this evidence is sufficient to establish

that there could be a reasonable perception of corruption or

undue influence due to large contributions. The defendants

identify, instead, a concern that “real estate interests” gave

money to officials of a municipal government, and that those

officials then voted on issues relevant to real estate. This

concern, as we have said above, is ne related specifically to

the size of the contributions, and thus is outside the scope of

the compelling state interest as defined by Buckley and Carver.

We also believe that the candidate contribution limits set

forth in Act I are too low to allow meaningful participation in

protected speech and association. See Carver, 72 F.3d at 641-

42. In Buckley, 424 U.S. at 20-35, 96 S.Ct. 612, the Supreme

Court approved a $1,000 contribution limit as a narrowly

tailored means to address the problem of large campaign

contributions. As we noted in Day v. Holahan, 34 F.3d 1356,

1366 (8th Cir. 1994), cert. denied, 513 U.S. 1127, 115 S.Ct.

16a

Appendix A

936, 130 L.Ed.2d 881 (1995), inflation has eroded

approximately 60 percent of the value of a dollar since 1976.

A $1,000 contribution in 1976 would thus be worth about the

same as a $2,500 contribution today. We recognize that the

contribution limit upheld in Buckley does not constitute a

constitutional minimum and that we may not fine-tune the

contribution limits established by Act J. See Carver, 72 F.3d at

641. We must, however, invalidate the contribution limitations

if they are different in kind from those that Buckley upheld.

See id.

The provisions of Aci I challenged here limited

contributions to a candidate to only $100 or $300, depending

upon the office. See Ark. Code Ann. § 7-6-203(a), § 7-6-203(b).

The limits prescribed by Act I, then, are (adjusted for inflation)

approximately 4 percent or 12 percent, respectively, of the limit

upheld in Buckley. In Day, 34 F.3d at 1366, we concluded that

a limitation of $100, or 4 percent of the inflation-adjusted limit

upheld in Buckley, constituted a difference in kind from the

limit upheld in Buckley. In Carver, 72 F.3d at 641-42, we held

that contribution limitations of $100 or $300 per election cycle

(2 percent or 6 percent, respectively, of the limit approved in

Buckley) were “dramatically lower,” and thus different in kind,

from the limit upheld in Buckley. We believe that the limitations

in question here are similarly dramatically lower than, and

different in kind from, the limits approved in Buckley, and thus

are unconstitutionally low.

We note, finally, that even if there were a compelling state

interest to prevent the perception of corruption or undue

influence due to any of the various concerns identified here by

the defendants — that is, supporting tobacco legislation,

accepting contributions from those appearing before or having

17a

Appendix A

interests before one’s legislative committee, accepting

contributions from supporters outside one’s district, or the like

— Act I was not narrowly tailored to address them. As we have

already noted, “[w]here at all possible, government must curtail

speech only to the degree necessary to meet the particular

problem at hand, and must avoid infringing on speech that does

not pose the danger that has prompted regulation.”

Massachusetts Citizens for Life, 479 U.S. at 265, 107 S.Ct.

616. Act I, however, is at once both overinclusive and

underinclusive, by limiting the free speech of al! who would

contribute without addressing the specific concerns identified.

IV.

The plaintiffs challenged two provisions relating to the

activities of political action committees. The first of these was

a provision, enacted in 1990, that prohibited persons from giving

more than $200 each year to any one political action committee.

See Ark. Code Ann. § 7-6-201(9)(B).

State-enforced limits on contributions to political action

committees stifle “not only free political speech, but also free

political association,” and are reviewed according to a strict

scrutiny standard. Day, 34 F.3d at 1365. We must therefore

determine whether the defendants demonstrated that the

provision was narrowly tailored to address the compelling state

interest in avoiding corruption or the appearance of corruption

that stems from large contributions.

We hold that this provision, like the provision that we

invalidated in Day, is not narrowly tailored to serve a

compelling state interest, because the annual limit is so low as

to be different in kind from the limit approved in Buckley. See

18a

Appendix A

id. at 1366. In Day, we noted that a $100 limit (in 1994 dollars)

for contributions to political action committees was, adjusted

for inflation, equal to approximately 4 percent of the

contribution limit upheld in Buckley. Id. Thus, a $200 limit (in

1998 dollars) is equal to no more than 8 percent of the

contribution limit approved in Buckley. That limit is also less

than 5 percent, even before any adjustment for inflation, of the

$5,000 limitation on contributions to PACs approved by the

Supreme Court in California Medical Association v. Federal

Election Commission, 453 U.S. 182, 195-99, 101 S.Ct. 2712,

69 L.Ed.2d 567 (1981) (plurality opinion).

There is also less of a danger of quid pro quo corruption,

such as the sort that one might presume from large contributions

given directly to candidates, when a contribution is given to a

PAC that does not itself wield legislative power. Cf. Day, 34

F.3d at 1365. We believe that a $200 limit (in 1998 dollars)

will significantly impair the ability of individuals to exercise

their political rights. The limit is simply too low to allow for

appropriately robust participation in protected political speech

_ and association, and thus violates the protections for free

political speech and free association that the First Amendment

affords.

The plaintiffs also challenged the provision in Act I that

permitted small-donor political action committees to give as

much as $2,500 to a candidate (in contrast to the lower limits

applicable to contributions by ordinary political action

committees). See Ark. Code Ann. § 7-6-203{d); see also Ark.

Code Ann. § 7-6-201(a), § 7-6-201(b). We believe that such

differential treatment must be evaluated according tv a strict

scrutiny standard. “Because the right to engage in political

expression is fundamental to our constitutional system, statutory

© EEN CALS ET Ra

19a

Appendix A

classifications impinging upon that right must be narrowly

tailored to serve a compelling governmental interest.” Austin

v. Michigan Chamber of Commerce, 494 U.S. 652, 666, 110

S.Ct. 1391, 108 L.Ed.2d 652 (1990).

The defendants argue that the differential treatment of

ordinary and small-donor PACs is justified because of the

difference in regulations as to their method of raising money.

The only compelling government interest that might permit this

infringement of First Amendment rights, as we have said, is

preventing the reality or perception of undue influence or

corruption that might arise from large contributions. As the

Supreme Court has held, “To the extent that large contributions

are given to secure a political quid pro quo from current and

potential office holders, the integrity of our system of

representative democracy is undermined.” Buckley, 424 U.S.

at 26, 96 S.Ct. 612. Ostensibly to alleviate this potential for

corruption, Act I limited individuals and ordinary PACs to

giving $300 to certain candidates and $100 to others (although

we note that our holding above returns these limits to their pre-

Act I limits of $1,000). See Ark. Code Ann. § 7-6-201(a), § 7-

6-201(b). Act I allowed small-donor PACs, however, to give

$2,500 to any candidate. See Ark. Code Ann. § 7-6-203(d).

This differential treatment is said to be acceptable because

small-donor PACs themselves receive that money in

contributions of $25 or less, see Ark. Code Ann. § 7-6-

201(12)(B).

This explanation, however, is manifestly flawed, because

it focuses on the source of the funds given to a PAC rather than

on the entity from which the candidate receives the funds.

Because a small-donor PAC receives small donations, it is true

that it is unlikely that any one contributor to a small-donor

——

20a

Appendix A

PAC will be able to control that PAC. Act I, however, ignored

the possibility that the small-donor PAC itself will seek to

control a given candidate. A $2,500 contribution would be even

more likely to exacerbate this difficulty than the $1,000

contribution limit applicable to most other contributors. Indeed,

if any contribution is likely to give rise to a reasonable

perception of undue influence or corruption, it would be one

from an entity permitted to contribute two-and-a-half times the

amount that most others are allowed to contribute. The small-

donor PAC provision is not, then, narrowly tailored to serve

the compelling government interest of combating the reality or

perception of undue influence or corruption.

We reject the defendants’ argument that the plaintiffs

(namely, three individuals and a political action committee)

may not assert this equal protection argument because they are

not burdened to a greater extent by this provision than small-

donor PACs are. Ordinary PACs may, it is true, raise more

money per contribution than a small-donor PAC, but the issue

is their ability to speak freely by contributing money to

candidates for office. Insofar as that freedom is at issue, the

ordinary PACs are burdened more than the small-donor PACs,

because ordinary PACs may donate only the amount that

individuals may donate, while small-donor PACs may donate

$2,500. We believe, then, that the plaintiffs here meet the

requirements set forth in California Medical Association, 453

U.S. at 200, 101 S.Ct. 2712.

¥,

The plaintiffs also challenged the constitutionality of Ark.

Code Ann. § 7-6-224. This provision states only that local

governments “shall have the authority to establish reasonable

©

21a

Appendix A

limitations” on campaign contributions and expenditures, and

appears to be simply an allocation by the state of Arkansas of

certain of its plenary powers to local governments: It does not

set any specific limits on campaign contributions or

expenditures, and thus cannot restrict the First Amendment

freedoms of any person or entity seeking to contribute to or

spend the revenues of a political campaign. Were a local

government to exercise the power granted it by § 7-6-224, its

action might then be challenged in the same manner as the

actions of the defendants were challenged in this suit. But no

such action has yet been taken and brought to the attention ofa

court. Ark. Code Ann. § 7-6-224 thus does not present a federal

constitutional controversy that is ripe for adjudication at this

time.

VI.

Those provisions of the Arkansas statutes in conflict with

our analysis above are unconstitutional and unenforceable. We

must now determine whether the invalid provisions of Act I

may be severed from the remainder of its provisions.

Severability is a matter of state law. Leavitt v. Jane L.,

518 U.S. 137, 139, 116 S.Ct. 2068, 135 L.Ed.2d 443 (1996)

(per curiam). The Supreme Court of Arkansas looks to two

considerations to determine severability: “(1) whether a single

purpose is meant to be accomplished by the act; and (2) whether

the sections of the act are interrelated and dependent upon each

other.” U.S. Term Limits, Inc. v. Hill, 316 Ark. 251, 872 S.W.2d

349, 357 (Ark. 1994). The court provided further guidance,

moreover, in its observation that “it is important whether the

portion of the act remaining is complete in itself and capable

of being executed wholly independent of that which was

22a

Appendix A

rejected.” Id. at 358. A severability clause, such as the one

provided in Act I, is relevant but not determinative of whether

individual provisions of the act will be considered severable.

Id.

Applying the principles set forth in U.S. Term Limits, we

find no single purpose behind Act I with which our ruling could

interfere. Act I provided for a series of campaign finance

reforms, including the independent expenditure committee and

certain tax provisions, that remain unaffected by the outcome

of this case. We can find no reason not to honor the intent of

the drafters of Act I that, to the extent possible, its various

provisions should stand on their own.

VIL.

We therefore affirm in part and reverse in part the judgment

of the trial court. We remand the case to the district court for

the entry of declaratory and injunctive relief consistent with

this opinion.

Psat aeee te becibiatihd. Bnet Las wide easiest

heal

23a

APPENDIX B — ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF

ARKANSAS DATED OCTOBER 3, 1997

Ron RUSSELL, Kent Ingram, William R. Austin, and

Associated Industries of Arkansas Political Action Committee,

Plaintiffs,

Vv.

Troy BURRIS, in his official capacity as chairperson of the

Arkansas Ethics Commission, and Candi Sue Russell, Marvin

Delph, Rita Looney, and Norton Wilson, in their official

capacities as members of the Arkansas Ethics Commission,

Defendants,

and

Citizens for Clean Government, Defendant-Intervenor.

No. LR-C-97-0089.

United States District Court,

E.D. Arkansas.

Oct. 3, 1997.

* * *

MEMORANDUM & ORDER

WILSON, District Judge.

The plaintiffs seek a declaratory judgment that Arkansas

Initiated Act I of 1996 (Act I) violates their First Amendment

24a

Appendix B

rights to freedom of political speech and association,' and their

Fourteenth Amendment right of equal protection of the laws.

They seek to enjoin the enforcement of both Act I and Arkansas

Code 7-6-201(9)(B), a law that pre-dated Act I. The plaintiffs’

motion is granted in part and denied in part:

A. Enforcement of Arkansas Code section 7-6-203(a)(2)

and (b)(2), which imposes a $300 per election contribution

limit applicable to enumerated statewide offices, is

enjoined.

B. Arkansas Code section 7-6-203(a)(1) and (b)(1), which

imposes a $100 per election contribution limit applicable

to all other offices, is upheld, except as to the offices of

Supreme Court Justice and Court of Appeals Judge.

Application of this section to the offices of Supreme Court

Justice and Court of Appeals Judge, is enjoined.

C. Arkansas Code section 7-6-201(9)(B), which imposes

a $200 per year limit on contributions to approved political

action committees, is upheld.

D. Arkansas Code sections 7-6-201 and -203(d), pertaining

to small donor political action committees, are upheld

against the plaintiffs’ challenge on equal protection

grounds.

E. The plaintiffs lack standing to challenge Arkansas Code

sections 7-6-201(13) and (14), and 7-6-203(k), which

1. First Amendment protections are made applicable to the states

by the Fourteenth Amendment. See McIntyre v. Ohio Elections Comm'n,

514 U.S. 334, 336 n. 1, 115 S.Ct. 1511, 1514 n. 1, 131 L.Ed.2d 426

(1995).

4

¥

25a

Appendix B

address contributions to an independent expenditure

committee.

F. The plaintiffs’ challenge to Arkansas Code section 7-

6-224, concerning the authority of local jurisdictions to

enact more restrictive campaign contribution regulations

than state law, is dismissed because it is not ripe.

I. Background

A. ActI

Act I, which amended Arkansas’ existing campaign

contribution laws, was approved by voters on November 5,

1996, by a two-to-one margin. Before Act I, a candidate could

receive up to $1000 in contributions per election from

individuals, corporations, unions, political action committees

(PACs) and other groups. Ark.Code Ann. §§ 7-6-201(1), -203(a)

(Michie Supp.1995). In addition, a state political party could

contribute up to $2500 per election to that party’s candidate.

Id. § 7-6-203(d). Since 1990, approved PACs have been limited

to contributions of no more than $200 per year from any person.

Id. § 7-6-201(9). While not established by Act I, this limitation

is attacked by the plaintiffs in this action.

Act I made substantial changes to Arkansas’ campaign

contribution law. Under the Act I amendments, candidates for

the offices of Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Secretary of

State, State Treasurer, State Auditor, Attorney General, and

Commissioner of State Lands (“statewide candidates”) may not

accept campaign contributions exceeding $300 per election

from any person.” Candidates for all other offices, including

2. Section 2 of Act I states in part:

(Cont’d)

26a

Appendix B

Arkansas Supreme Court Justices and Court of Appeals Judges,

are limited to contributions of no more than $100 per election

from any person.’ Although state Supreme Court Justices run

(Cont'd)

Arkansas Code 7-6-203(a) [and] (b) ... are hereby amended

to read as follows:

(a)(2) It shall be unlawful for any candidate for the office

of Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Secretary of State,

Treasurer of State, Auditor of State, Attorney General, and

Commissioner of State Lands, or for any person acting on

the candidate’s behalf, to accept campaign contributions in

excess of three hundred dollars ($300) per election from

any person.

(b)(2) It shall be unlawful for any person to make a

contribution to a candidate for the office of Governor,

Lieutenant Governor, Secretary of State, Treasurer of State,

Auditor of State, Attorney General, and Commissioner of

State Lands, or to any person acting on the candidate’s

behalf, which, in the aggregate, exceeds three hundred

dollars ($300) per election.

3. Sectior 2 of Act I provides in part:

Arkansas Code 7-6-203(a) [and] (b) . . . are hereby amended

to read as follows:

(a)(1) It shall be unlawful for any candidate for any public

office, except the office of Governor, Lieutenant Governor,

(Cont’d)

LUMA Maat eit, ta STEIN ARE De ET TAR RT MAIN 0

ap

e

f

-

3

B

27a

Appendix B

statewide, they are not included in the category of “statewide

candidates” under the Act I limitations. Arkansas Court of

Appeals Judges are elected from districts of approximately

400,000 persons. By way of comparison, Arkansas Senate

districts include approximately 68,000 persons; Arkansas

House of Representative districts include a population of

approximately 24,000.

Act I did not disturb the right of political parties to

contribute up to $2500 to a candidate per election,‘ and it creates

(Cont’d)

Secretary of State, Treasurer of State, Auditor of State,

Attorney General, and Commissioner of State Lands, or for

any person acting on the candidate’s behalf, to accept

campaign contributions in excess of one hundred dollars

($100) per election from any person.

(b)(1) It shall be unlawful for any person to make a

contribution to a candidate for any public office, except

the office of Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Secretary of

State, Treasurer of State, Auditor of State, Attorney General,

and Commissioner of State Lands, or to any person acting

on the candidate’s behalf, which, in the aggregate, exceeds

one hundred dollars ($100) per election.

4. Section 2 of Act I requires in part:

Arkansas Code 7-6-203 . . . {d) [is] hereby amended to read

as follows:

(Cont’d)

28a

Appendix B

a small donor PAC subject to the same $2500 limit.* Neither

did the Act alter the definition of “persons,” which remains:

“any individual, proprietorship, firm, partnership, joint venture,

syndicate, labor union, business trust, company, corporation,

association, committee, or any other organization or group of

persons acting in concert. It shall also include organized

political parties. . . .” Id. § 7-6-201(1). Because approved PACs

are persons by definition, Act I limits their contributions to

statewide candidates to $300 per election and contributions to

other candidates to $100 per election. Act I also limits aggregate

contributions by any person to independent expenditure

(Cont'd)

(d) However, an organized political party as defined in

Arkansas Code 7- 1-101(1) and a small donor political

action committee may contribute up to two thousand five

hundred dollars ($2500) to each candidate per election.

5. Section | of Act I requires in part:

Arkansas Code 7-6-201 is hereby amended to add the

following new subdivision[ ]:

12) A “small donor political action committee” means any

person who: (A) Receives contributions from one or more

individuals in order to make contributions to candidates;

(B) Does not accept any contribution or cumulative

contributions in excess of twenty-five dollars ($25) from

any individual in any calender year; and (C) Is registered

pursuant to Arkansas Code 7-6-215 prior to making

contributions to candidates. “Small donor political action

committee” shall not include an organized political party,

the candidate’s own committee, or an exploratory

committee.

29a

Appendix B

committees® to $500 per calendar year.’ Introducing a public

subsidy element, Act I provides for state tax credits for

6. Section I of Act I provides in part:

Arkansas Code 7-6-201 is hereby amended to add the

following new subdivisions:

(13) An independent expenditure is any expenditure which

is not a contribution and: (A) expressly advocates the

election or defeat of a clearly identified candidate for office;

and (B) is made without arrangement, cooperation, or

consultation between any candidate, or any authorized

committee or agent of such candidate, and the person

making the expenditure or any authorized agent of that

person; and (C) is not made in concert with, or at the request

or suggestion of, any candidate, or any authorized

committee or agent of the candidate.

(14) “Independent expenditure committee” means any

person who receives contributions from one or more persons

in order to make an independent expenditure and is

registered pursuant to Arkansas Code 7-6-215 prior to

making expenditures.

7. Section 3 of Act I declares:

Arkansas Code 7-6-203 is hereby amended to add the

following new subsection:

(k) An Independent expenditure committee may not accept

any contribution or cumulative contributions in excess of

five hundred dollars ($500) in value from any person in

any calendar year.

30a

Appendix B

campaign contributions of $50 per year on an individual return

and $100 on a joint return.* Additionally, Act I allows

8. Section 10 of Act I provides the following:

Arkansas Code Title 7, Chapter 6, Subchapter 2 is amended

by adding the following new section:

7-6-222. Tax Credits for Certain Individual Political

Contributions.

(a) Pursuant to regulations to be adopted by the Arkansas

Department of Finance and Administration, a single credit

against individual Arkansas Income taxes shall be allowed

for money contributions made by the taxpayer in a taxable

year to one or more of the following:

(1) A candidate seeking nomination or election to a public

office at an election, or to the candidate’s campaign

committee; or

(2) A small donor political action committee as defined in

Arkansas Code 7-6-201; or

(3) An approved political action committee as defined in

Arkansas Code 7-6-201; or

(4) An organized political party as defined in Arkansas

Code 7-1-101(1).

(b) The credit allowed by subsection (a) of this section shall

be the aggregate contributions, not to exceed fifty dollars

($50) on an individual tax return, or the aggregate

contributions, not to exceed one hundred dollars ($100) on

a joint return.

RED Ms

a a a

'

3la

Appendix B

municipalities, counties and townships to set contribution limits

lower than those set by state law.°

B. The Parties

The plaintiffs are three individuals and a registered

Arkansas PAC. Plaintiff Kent Ingram is a businessman, former

state senator, and frequent campaign contributor, who had made

numerous campaign contributions at levels that would exceed

the Act I limits, and who desires to continue to contribute at

the higher levels. Plaintiff William R. Austin is a businessman

who wishes to contribute in amounts exceeding the Act I limits.

Plaintiff Ron Russell is the Executive Vice-President of the

Arkansas Chamber of Commerce, a former mayor, and

campaign contributor in amounts that would exceed current Act

I limits. Mr. Russell also wishes to contribute at the higher

levels. Plaintiff Associated Industries of Arkansas Political

Action Committee (AIAPAC) is an approved PAC favoring

business interests, that asserts the right to contribute $2500 per

election to candidates, just as a small donor PAC may do.

9. Section 12 of Act I provides:

Arkansas Code Title 7, Chapter 6, Subchapter 2 is amended

by adding the following new section:

7-6-224. Authority of Local Jurisdictions Municipalities,

counties and townships shall have the authority to establish:

reasonable limitations on the time periods candidates for

local office shall be allowed to solicit contributions; limits

on contributions to local candidates at amounts lower than

those set by state law; and voluntary campaign expenditure

limits for candidates seeking election to their respective

governing bodies.

32a

Appendix B

Plaintiffs Ingram and Russell are officers of the State Chamber

PAC. Plaintiffs Austin and Russell are officers of AIAPAC.

- The defendants are the individual members of the Arkansas

Ethics Commission, sued in their official capacities. The

Commission administers Arkansas campaign finance and

disclosure laws and investigates alleged violations of these laws.

Defendant-Intervenor Citizens for Clean Government

(Citizens), is a coalition of organizations including the

Association of Community Organizations for Reform Now

(ACORN), Common Cause, the New Party, and a local union.

Citizens was the principal proponent of Act I.

C. The Issues

The plaintiffs claim that the following provisions of Act I

violate their rights to freedom of political expression (speech)

and association under the First Amendment: (1) the $100 and

$300 limits on campaign contributions to candidates; (2) Act

I’s authorization for local jurisdictions to set even lower

contribution limits; and (3) the $500 limit to annual

contributions a person may give to an independent expenditure

committee. The plaintiffs challenge, on the same grounds,

Arkansas’ $200 per person limit on annual contributions to an

approved PAC. As noted earlier, this latter limit was approved

by a ballot initiative in 1990, and thus pre-dated Act I. The

plaintiffs claim further that in allowing small donor PACs to

contribute $2500 per election to a candidate, Arkansas denies

equal protection of the laws to approved PACs, which are

subject to the $100 and $300 individual contribution limits.

The defendants and Citizens argue that plaintiffs lack standing

to assert these claims.

i

;

er)

ef

‘a

%

%,

®

wy

M

7

*

Ye

iy

»

ca

A

3

¥

;

i

b

*~

>

a

3

%

i

#

a oy 2 Aga pega

33a

Appendix B

II. Discussion

A. Standing

This Court’s jurisdiction is restricted by the U.S.

Constitution, which allows federal courts to hear only “cases”

and “controversies.” U.S. Const. art. III, § 2, cl. 1. The Court

cannot render advisory opinions. Whether a plaintiff has

standing to invoke the jurisdiction of the federal courts is a

threshold question in any case. To establish standing a plaintiff

must show: (1) that she suffered an injury in fact — “an

invasion of a legally protected interest” that is both “concrete

and particularized,” and “actual or imminent, not ‘conjectural’

or ‘hypothetical’ ”; (2) a causal connection between the injury

and the challenged action; and (3) that a favorable decision is

likely to redress her injury. Lujan v. Defenders of Wildlife,

504 U.S. 555, 560-61, 112 S.Ct. 2130, 2136, 119 L.Ed.2d 351

(1992) (citations omitted). When a party brings “a pre-

enforcement challenge to a statute that both provides for

criminal penalties and abridges First Amendment rights, ‘a

credible threat of present or future prosecution itself works an

injury that is sufficient to confer standing.’” Minnesota

Citizens Concerned for Life v. FEC, 113 F.3d 129, 131 (8th

Cir.1997) (quoting New Hampshire Right to Life Political

Action Comm. v. Gardner, 99 F.3d 8, 13 (1st Cir.1996)). The

Honorable H. Franklin Waters discusses this precise issue in a

case challenging the constitutionality of Act I. Arkansas Right

to Life State Political Action Comm. v. Butler, 972 F.Supp.

1187 (W.D.Ark.1997).

In Arkansas Right to Life, the defendants argued that the

plaintiffs lacked standing to raise a claim against Defendant

Butler, a State Attorney for Benton County, Arkansas. The

34a

Appendix B

defendants contended that there was no real and immediate

threat that Butler would prosecute the plaintiffs, because

prosecutors had not brought criminal charges for violations of

state contribution limits since the limits were enacted in 1975.

The court rejected this reasoning, concluding instead that this

time span was not sufficient to show that failure to prosecute

under the Act was a “deeply embedded way that Arkansas

carries out state policy. The fact that Arkansas has recently

chosen to address the issue through passage of the Act provides

ample grounds for belie~ing that a credible threat of prosecution

exists under the Act.” Id. at 1192. Finding that the defendants

had failed to introduce compelling evidence that the plaintiffs

did not face a credible threat of prosecution, Judge Waters

concluded. “the Act has been recently enacted, it facially

restricts the plaintiffs, and violation of the statute can subject

the plaintiffs to criminal prosecution.” Id. at 1192.

Here, the plaintiffs testified that they want to contribute

more to candidates, PACs, and independent expenditure

committees than is allowed by the limits established by

Arkansas law as amended by Act I. The defendants and Citizens

counter that these assertions are largely speculative and

unsupported by the facts. I find that the Act I amendments

present a credible threat of present or future prosecution with

respect to each of the plaintiffs’ claims. Arkansas Right to Life,

972 F.Supp. at 1192. Therefore, the Plaintiffs have standing,

except in their challenge to the $500 limit to annual

contributions a person may give to an independent expenditure

committee. This exception arises because none of the plaintiffs

could think of an independent expenditure committee to which

they had contributed in the past or to which they planned to

contribute, although they stated they may wish someday to

contribute to such a committee. The plaintiffs’ stated desire to

35a

Appendix B

contribute to independent expenditure committees is too

conjectural to support a finding of a credible threat of present

or future prosecution. Therefore, on this issue, I find that the

plaintiffs lack standing.

B. Ripeness

One other claim fails to meet a threshold requirement. The

plaintiffs allege a violation of their First Amendment rights

because Act I authorizes local jurisdictions to set even lower

contribution limits than the state imposes. This issue is not

ripe for consideration, because no local jurisdiction has yet set

a lower contribution level. I can “only hypothesize that such

an event will come to pass, and it is only on this basis that the

constitutional claim could be adjudicated at this time.” Babbitt

v. United Farm Workers Nat’! Union, 442 U.S. 289, 304, 99

S.Ct. 2301, 2312, 60 L.Ed.2d 895 (1979). See Abbott

Laboratories v. Gardner, 387 U.S. 136, 148-49, 87 S.Ct. 1507,

1515-16, 18 L.Ed.2d 681 (1967).

C. Limits on Contributions

1. Contributions to candidates

Any analysis of the constitutionality of limited

contributions to candidates under Act I must begin with Buckley

v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1, 96 S.Ct. 612, 46 L.Ed.2d 659 (1976). In

Buckley, the Supreme Court upheld as constitutional provisions

of the Federal Election Campaign Act of 1971 (FECA) limiting

campaign contributions in federal elections. The Court upheld

FECA’s $1000 per election contribution limit to single

candidates by an individual contributor or group, and a $5000

limit to candidates by a political committee. 424 U.S. at 23-24,

ie ee Ba a

36a

Appendix B

35-36, 96 S.Ct. at 637, 642-43. After recognizing that the

freedoms of speech and association “lie[ ] at the foundation of

a free society,” the Court warned that “[nJeither the right to

associate nor the right to participate in political activities is

absolute.” Id. at 25, 96 S.Ct. at 637-38 (citations omitted).

The Court instructed that these rights may be limited if the

limitation is “closely drawn to avoid unnecessary abridgment

of associational freedoms” and if the state “demonstrates a

sufficiently important interest.” Id., at 25, 96 S.Ct. at 637-38.

In a decision directly applicable here, the Eighth Circuit,

only two years ago, decided the constitutionality of a Missouri

initiative on campaign contribution limits. The court found

the initiative’s limits too low to pass constitutional muster, in

spite of the fact that the initiative passed by a three-fourths

majority. Carver v. Nixon, 72 F.3d 633 (8th Cir.1995), cert.

denied, U.S.__, 116 S.Ct. 2579, 135 L.Ed.2d 1094 (1996)."°

This Missouri law limited campaign contributions by a person

or committee to a candidate or candidate committee to: (1)

$100 for candidates in districts with populations of less than

100,000; (2) $200 for non-statewide candidates in districts with

a population of 100,000 or more; and (3) $300 for statewide

candidates. Id. at 635. Statewide candidates were defined by

the Missouri statute as Governor, Lieutenant Governor,

Attorney General, Auditor, Treasurer, and Secretary of State.

The Missouri limits applied to an “election cycle,” defined by

Missouri statute as “the period of time from general election

for an office until the next general election for the same office.”

Id. at 635 & n. 3 (citing Mo.Ann.Stat. § 130.100 (Vernon

Supp.1995)). An election cycle included both the primary and

10. For a thoughtful discussion of Carver, see William J. Connolly,

How Low Can You Go? State Campaign Contribution Limits and the

First Amendment, 76 B.U.L.Rev. 483 (1996).

37a

Appendix B

the general election. Id. Thus, a candidate for statewide office

in Missouri could receive a total of $300 for both the primary

and general elections. Conversely, Arkansas’ limit is $300 per

election. In Arkansas, a candidate for one of the enumerated

statewide races could receive a total of $900, assuming a

primary race, a run off, and then a general election.

In Carver, the plaintiff argued, as the plaintiffs do here,

that the contribution limits unconstitutionally infringed on his

First Amendment rights to political expression and freedom of

association. After noting that individual Justices of the U.S.

Supreme Court had voiced differing opinions on the level of

scrutiny applicable to contribution limits, the Carver court

concluded that, “[t]he Court has not ruled that anything other

than strict scrutiny applies” in cases involving such limits. Id.

at 637.'' The court thus applied strict scrutiny and required the

11. In his partial concurrence and dissent in Buckley, Justice White

argued that while campaign contributions help produce speech, they are

not themselves speech protected by the First Amendment. Justice White

reasoned that “[FECA] regulates ... giving and spending money, acts

that have First Amendment significance not because they are themselves

communicative with respect to the qualifications of the candidate, but

because money may be used to defray the expenses of speaking or

otherwise communicating about the merits or demerits of federal

candidates for election.” 424 U.S. at 259, 96 S.Ct. at 745. Justice White

would not have decided the challenge to contribution limits on First

Amendment speech grounds. Rather, he saw the issue as one depending

on whether the government’s nonspecch interests in regulating “the use

of money in political campaigns are sufficiently urgent to justify the

incidental effects” that limits have on the First Amendment rights of

candidates. Id. at 260, 96 S.Ct. at 746. Justice White reiterated this

view almost 10 years after Buckley:

The First Amendment protects the right to speak, not the right to spend,

and limitations on the amount of money that can be spent are not the

(Cont’d)

38a

Appendix B

state to prove that the statute’s limitations were “narrowly

tailored to meet a compelling state interest.” Id. at 638. The

court emphasized that when government defends a regulation

on speech it must demonstrate that the regulation will “alleviate

these harms in a direct and material way.” Id. at 644 (citing

Turner Broad. Sys., Inc. v. FCC, 512 U.S. 622, 664, 114 S.Ct.

2445, 2470, 129 L.Ed.2d 497 (1994) (Kennedy, J., plurality)).

Where First Amendment freedom of association concerns are

threatened, the court found that, under Buckley, the regulation

must be “closely drawn to avoid unnecessary abridgment” of

these freedoms. Id. at 644 (quoting Buckley, 424 US. at 25, 96

S.Ct. at 637-38).

Addressing the state’s compelling interest, the Eighth

Circuit declared that the Buckley Court “identified the

compelling interest as ‘the prevention of corruption and the

appearance of corruption spawned by the real or imagined

(Cont'd)

same as restrictions on speaking. I agree with the majority that the

expenditures in this case “produce” core First Amendment speech. But

that is precisely the point: they produce such speech; they are not speech

itself. ... Such a house-that-Jack-built approach could equally be used

to find a First Amendment right to a job or to a minimum wage to

“produce” the money to “produce” the speech.

FEC v. National Conservative Political Action Comm., 470 U.S. 480,

508, 105 S.Ct. 1459, 1474, 84 L.Ed.2d 455 (1985) (internal citation

omitted).

It has been suggested, in jest, that if “spending money in politics is really

speech, then the laws against bribery should be unconstitutional.” Robert

Peck, et al., Constitutional Implications of Campaign Finance Reform,

8 Admin.L.J.Am.U. 161, 186 (1994) (comments of Professor Jamin B.

Raskin). I think the point is that limiting campaign contributions should

not be equated with limiting protected speech. If I were writing on a

clean slate, I might well be persuaded that Justice White’s view is correct;

but his opinion has remained a minority view.

39a

Appendix B

coercive influence of large financial contributions on

candidates’ positions and on their actions if elected to office. ”

Id. at 638 (quoting Buckley, 424 U.S. at 25, 96 S.Ct. at 638)

(emphasis in original).'? The Eighth Circuit concluded that the

district court, which had upheld the Missouri statute as

constitutional, had erred in extending Buckley to limit all

contributions, not just large ones. Id. at 639. In other words,

under the explicit holding in Carver, if $1000 is not large, the

analysis ends and the plaintiffs win. This leaves me the difficult

task of determining what a “large” contribution is in the context

of Arkansas elections.

The Carver court concluded that the district court had

posed, but had not answered, the question of whether the

Missouri limits were unconstitutionally low. Id. at 640. The

court noted that the district court’s conclusions extended only

to the question of whether the limits were narrowly tailored.

Id. (“The fact that [the Missouri initiative] sets forth graduated

limits has nothing to do with whether the limits are-so-low as

to be unconstitutional.”) Turning once more to Buckley, the

court observed that, “[a]lthough we certainly are not free to

fine tune the limits established by [the Missouri statutes], and

we generally accept the limits established by the legislature,

Buckley instructs that we must invalidate that judgment when

the ‘distinctions in degree’ become ‘differences in kind.’ ” Id.

at 641 (quoting Buckley, 424 U.S. at 30, 96 S.Ct. at 640). After

independently reviewing the facts, the Eighth Circuit held that

the contribution limitations did, in fact, amount to a “difference

in kind” compared to the $1000 limits upheld in Buckley. Id.

at 645. At first blush, it might appear that Carver requires an

12. This portion of Buckley quoted in Carver is actually the Supreme

Court’s characterization of the parties’ definition of the state interest,

and was not an explicit holding of the Supreme Court.

40a

Appendix B

out-of-hand ruling for the plaintiffs. However, I believe that a

close inspection reveals constitutionally important differences

between the Carver case and the claims in this case.

As noted, the Carver court held that the state’s compelling

interest in burdening political activity protected by the First

Amendment was that of limiting “the reality or perception of

undue influence and corruption from large contributions.” Id.

at 639. Prior to the passage of the law challenged in Carver,

Missouri had no contribution limits. The court noted two

extreme examples of corruption presented at trial: a $420,000

contribution from a corporation’s PAC to various local races,

and the “Keating Five” scandal. Id. at 642. In fima.ng that the

Missouri law was not narrowly- tailored to avoid corruption,

the court declared that “[a] $420,000 contribution is a far cry

from the [Missouri] limits.” Id. In contrast, Arkansas has limited

individual contributions to $1000 since 1975," and there was

no evidence at trial of campaign contributions exceeding $1000.

I believe that the contribution limits in place prior to Act I

were intended to address Arkansas’ interest in limiting real or

perceived undue influence or corruption from extremely “large”

contributions, such as the $420,000 contribution mentioned by

the Eighth Circuit in Carver, and the $2 million contribution to:

the 1972 Presidential campaign from dairy interests referred to

in Buckley. 424 U.S. at 27 n. 28, 96 S.Ct. at 638 n. 28 (citing

the D.C. Circuit’s discussion of contribution abuses in the same

case, Buckley v. Valeo, 519 F.2d 821, 840 n. 36 (D.C.Cir.1975)

(per curiam)). However, I conclude that Arkansas, having

initially established contribution limits intended to avoid

13. The Arkansas Legislature first established a $1000 per election

contribution limit in 1975, which it increased to $1500 per election in

1981. In 1990, the voters passed Initiative Measure No. 1, returning the

limit to $1000. Ark.Code Ann. § 7-6-203 (historical notes).

mwa wwewtwWwYae0”™

4la

Appendix B

corruption associated with large contributions, may

subsequently lower the level of such limits, if the limits have

not adequately addressed that harm, and the lower limits are

not so low as to render them a difference in kind rather than a

difference in degree. So, what is “large,” and what is “too

low”? “Ay, there’s the rub.”

I find that, at least regarding the non-statewide offices, the

defendants and Citizens have shown that Arkansas’ campaign

contribution laws prior to Act I have not adequately addressed

the harm of real or perceived undue influence or corruption

arising from large contributions. For example, the defendants

and Citizens introduced evidence of an April 1996 fundraiser

organized by registered business interest lobbyists for

Representative Ode Maddox, the Chairman of the Arkansas

General Assembly’s House Insurance and Commerce

Committee. The event was held at the Arkansas Poultry

Federation office in Little Rock. Representative Maddox’s

district is in the Ouachita Mountains in the western part of the

state. None of the contributors resided in Representative

Maddox’s district, and most if not all of these contributors had

lobbied before members of the Insurance and Commerce

Committee. Significantly, of the more than $30,000

Representative Maddox raised for his campaign, over $22,000

came from various lobbyists, business related PACs, and

corporations, including several contributions of $1000.

I hasten to point out that no evidence of actual undue

influence was introduced, and the defendants and Citizens did

not contend there was any such evidence. Representative

Maddox’s uncontradicted testimony was that he had never

solicited “a dime” in contributions in any race during his more

14. William Shakespeare, Hamlet, act 3, sc.1, 1. 56.

42a

Appendix B

than forty years of service in the Arkansas General Assembly.

Furthermore, Representative Maddox testified that he gave all _

interested parties an equal opportunity to be heard before his

committee, regardless of contributions. I credit this testimony.

Nonetheless, the question of appearances remains.

Defendants and Citizens introduced evidence concerning

the sponsoring of a “tobacco bill” sponsored by State

Representative James Dietz. This bill, if enacted, would have

kept local governments from passing ordinances regulating

tobacco, leaving all such regulation to the state. The evidence

reflected that Representative Dietz received contributions

totaling $2700 from tobacco interests in one election cycle.

The evidence also revealed that tobacco interests had made

several contributions to the members of the House Committee

who voted for the bill. While Representative Dietz publicly

defended this bill on the merits (according to a newspaper article

introduced into evidence), it received widespread media

attention, and was roundly condemned as “bad,” “special

interest” legislation. It would be hard to argue that the media,

and presumably, therefore, the public, did not in this instance

perceive undue influence from “large” contributions.

Citizens also introduced an August 1997 report compiled

by ACORN of the 1994 election cycle for the Arkansas House

and Senate races. The report examined contributions in excess

of $100, and found that special interest group contributions

made up seventy percent of the total. After subtracting

contributions from non-business related interest groups, the

report noted that business related interest groups still accounted

for between sixty-two and sixty-five percent of contributions

in excess of $100. Defendants’ witness Robert Stern testified

concerning a study conducted by the Center for Governmental

43a

Appendix B

Studies that listed campaign contribution patterns over the past

three election cycles in Arkansas. Mr. Stern’s testimony echoed

the findings of the ACORN report. He explained that business

interest contributions had provided the major part of campaign

contributions.

The evidence presented here convinces me that a “large”

contribution depends — at least in part — on its size relative to

total campaign expenses. The Supreme Court has instructed

that the compelling interest at issue “relates to the perception

of undue influence of large contributions to a candidate: ‘[t]o

the extent that large contributions are given to secure a political

quid pro quo from current and potential office holders, the

integrity of our system of representative government is

undermined. . . .’ ” Citizens Against Rent Control/Coalition for

Fair Housing v. City of Berkeley, 454 U.S. 290, 297, 102 S.Ct.

434, 437-38, 70 L.Ed.2d 492 (1981) (citations and quotations

omitted). I take this to mean that a contribution large enough

to support at least the appearance of a political quid pro quo is

“large.” This interpretation is, of necessity, fact-specific. The

record here, unlike the meager record available to the court in

Carver makes such a determination possible.

In the case of Representative Maddox, for example,

approximately seventy percent of his campaign funds came from

business interests in individual contributions ranging between

$200 and $1000. Assuming Representative Maddox spent

everything he raised, a single $1000 contribution accounted

for more than three percent of his total expenses. It is both the

large size of these contributions relative to Representative

Maddox’s total campaign expenditures and the nature of the

contributors that could give rise to a reasonable perception of

undue influence. Similarly, of his total campaign expenses,

44a

Appendix B

Representative Dietz raised roughly twenty percent from

tobacco interests, which contributed in amounts between $200

and $1000. Considered in the light of Representative Dietz’s

subsequent support for the tobacco bill, these contributions are

large enough to support a reasonable perception of undue

influence.

According to Mr. Stern’s study, in the general election races

for the Arkansas State Senate in 1992, 1994, and 1996,

candidates raised an average of $22,500 including the

candidates’ own money and loans. During the same election

years, candidates for the Arkansas House of Representatives

raised, on average, $7550, also including personal contributions

and loans. Of these averages, a single $1000 contribution

equates to over four percent in the Senate races, and over

thirteen percent in the House races. Clearly, a single $1000

contribution in these elections is significant. Therefore, I find

that, for these non- statewide races, a $1000 contribution is

sufficiently large to support a reasonable perception of undue

influence.

In contrast, in Arkansas’ 1994 gubernatorial general

election, each candidate spent over $900,000. Of this total,

$1000 is only about one-tenth of one percent. I conclude that

under these facts, a $1000 contribution in a statewide race is

not large enough to readily support a reasonable’ perception

of undue influence. This conclusion finds support in the fact

that the Buckley Court did not consider a $1000 contribution

to be large. The FECA contribution limits considered in Buckley

applied to races for both houses of Congress as well as the

15. I use the word “reasonable” because I assume that any

contribution would cause some supersensitive souls to perceive undue

influence.

45a

Appendix B

Presidential race. Of course, U.S. Senators are elected in each

state on a statewide basis, and U.S. Representatives on a district

basis. As of the 1990 census, Arkansas has four congressional

districts, each with a population of roughly 590,000. While

Buckley did not hold that $1000 is a “constitutional minimum,”

it seems clear that a $1000 contribution in 1997 dollars is not

“large” in a statewide race when it was not large in 1976 dollars

(when Buckley was decided), or in 1971 dollars (when FECA

was enacted). '® e

Having decided that a $1000 contribution is not large for

statewide races in Arkansas, I find that the State lacks the

compelling interest necessary to justify further limiting

contributions in the “statewide races,” as well as elections for

the offices of state Supreme Court Justices and Judges of the

Court of Appeals.

But what of non-statewide races? Because I have concluded

that a $1000 centribution to candidates for non-statewide races

in Arkansas is large, I must consider whether the $100 limit

imposed by Act I is too small to be constitutional. In Buckley,

the Supreme Court observed that the FECA limits were not

structured to take into account the widely ranging financial

needs of the congressional and presidential campaigns. The

Court declared, “ ‘[i]f it is satisfied that some limit on

contributions is necessary, a court has no scalpel to probe,

whether, say, a $2,000 ceiling might not serve as well as

$1,000.” Such distinctions in degree become significant only

16. The Eighth Circuit, in Day v. Holahan, 34 F.3d 1356, 1366

(8th Cir.1994) noted that a $100 contribution in 1976 dollars was worth

$40.60 in 1994. Dr. Herbert Alexander, a witness for the plaintiffs,

testified that a $1000 contribution when FECA went into effect (1971)

would be worth from $300 to $325 in 1997.

46a

Appendix B

when they can be said to amount to differences in kind.”

Buckley, 424 U.S. at 30, 96 S.Ct. at 640 (quoting Buckley v.

Valeo, 519 F.2d at 842).

As noted, the Carver court found the Missouri contribution

limits to be a difference in kind compared to the FECA limits

considered in Buckley. Carver, 72 F.3d at 644. In its degree-

versus-kind analysis, the Carver court emphasized: (1) the

Missouri limits were per election cycle as opposed to per

election in Buckley; (2) after adjusting for inflation, the

Missouri limits were an even smaller fraction of the FECA

limits upaeld in Buckley than the bare numbers would indicate;

(3) the state’s evidence concerning corrupting contributions

involved amounts in the hundreds of thousands of dollars,

whereas the contribution limits imposed by the challenged

statute ranged only from $100 to $300 dollars; (4) the state

adduced no evidence that the particular limits chosen were

narrowly tailored to address corruption or the appearance of

corruption associated with large campaign contributions; and

(5) a much higher percentage of contributors would be affected

by the Missouri limits than were affected by the FECA limits

at issue in Buckley. Carver, 72 F.3d at 641-44.

In deciding whether the $100 limit represents a difference

in kind, | begin by addressing the factors upon which the Eighth

Circuit telied in Carver. First, Act I’s contribution limits apply

on a perelection basis. This means that the Act’s limits apply

anew in each election within an election cycle — primary,

general election, and any run-off. In contrast, the Missouri law

applied ‘o the election cycle as a single unit.

Second, the Carver court discussed the erosive effects of

inflatior in comparing FECA limits at issue in Buckley to the

47a

Appendix B

Missouri limits. This discussion applies here as well. In 1976

dollars, Act I’s $100 limit shrinks to less than forty percent of

its face value, and only four percent of the federal $1000 limit

upheld in Buckley. See Carver, 72 F.3d at 641 (citing Day v.

Holahan, 34 F.3d 1356, 1366 (8th Cir.1994)).

Third, in contrast to Carver, where state contribution limits

were imposed for the first time, here the perceived undue

influence argued by the defendants and Citizens occurred in

spite of the $1000 limit already established by Arkansas. As to

statewide races, a $1000 contribution is not large, and Act I’s

$300 limit is unconstitutionally low. However, as to non-

statewide races, I do find a $1000 contribution to be “large.”

The defendants’ argument that the $100 limit has been narrowly

tailored is convincing, particularly in light of Carver. I see this

as a close call.

Fourth, in contrast to the Carver case, the defendants and

Citizens introduced substantial evidence of the need for the

reduced limits found in Act I. For example, the Stern study, as

well as reports compiled by ACORN, indicate that large

contributions, as defined by this Court, have led to the

perception of undue influence in non-statewide races.

Fifth, in Carver, the Eighth Circuit noted that a sizable

percentage of contributors would be affected by the new limits.

An even higher percentage of contributors will apparently be

affected by the Act I limits here. Mr. Stern’s study indicates

that the $100 limit will affect as much as eighty percent of

contributions in Arkansas Senate and House races.

I find persuasive the Citizens’ argument that contribution

limits amount to a difference in kind, when compared to the

48a

Appendix B

limits upheld in Buckley, because the limits do not permit the

same quality of political expression and association that the

FECA limits allowed. In upholding FEC,’.’s $1000 contribution

limit, the Buckley Court concluded that the limit:

focuses precisely on the problem of large campaign

contributions the narrow aspect of political

association where the actuality and potential for

corruption have been identified while leaving

persons free to engage in independent political

expression, to associate actively through

volunteering their services, and to assist to a limited

but nonetheless substantial extent in supporting

candidates and committees with financial resources.

Significantly, [FECA’s] contribution limitations in

themselves do not undermine to any material degree

the potential for robust and effective discussion of

candidates and campaign issues by individual

citizens, associations, the institutional press,

candidates, and political parties.

424 U.S. at 28-29, 96 S.Ct. at 639-40. See also id. at 21, 96

S.Ct. at 636 (“contribution restrictions could have a severe

impact on political dialogue if the limitations prevented

candidates and political committees from amassing the

resources necessary for effective advocacy”). Thus for Act I’s

limits to impermissibly affect First Amendment rights, the limits

must “undermine to [a] material degree the potential for robust

and effective discussion of candidates and campaign issues by

individual citizens, associations, the institutional press,

candidates, and political parties.” Id. at 29, 96 S.Ct. at 639-40.

49a

Appendix B

I conclude that Act I’s $100 contribution limits applicable

to candidates in non-statewide races (excepting races for the

offices of Arkansas Supreme Court Justice, and Arkansas Court

of Appeals Judge) do not burden the potential for effective

political dialogue to the extent that the limits can be said to

represent a difference in kind. Applied in this case, the factors

on which the Carver court relied do not alone provide a clear

answer as to the degree-versus-kind question. However, this

Court has had the benefit of evidence presented during a seven-

day trial, including evidence derived from special elections

vonducted under the Act I limits.

The defendants and Citizens introduced evidence showing

that the cost of running Arkansas House of Representatives and

Senate races in the past three election cycles averaged between

$7000 and $16,000 per election for the Arkansas House and

between $23,000 and $39,000 per election for an Arkansas

Senate seat. If a candidate for each of these positions raised

all of her funds from $50 contributions (half of the Act I limit),

a House candidate would need 320 contributors, and a Senate

candidate would need 780 contributors to mee* the highest of

these historical cost levels. This hypothetical does not include

contributions from political parties, small donor PACs, or

candidates’ personal contributions. Evidence admitted at tzial

showed that the population of an Arkansas House district is

roughly 24,000 and that of a senate district is &pproximately

68,000. Thus I find credible the testimony of state legislators,

including former Arkansas Representative Mark Pryor and

Arkansas Senator Phil Wyrick (also a former Representative),

that they will be able to raise adequate funds to run effective

campaigns."’ I consider it significant that no officeholder

17. As a candidate for State Representative in two successful races

prior to Act I, Mr. Pryor testified he raised sufficient funds to run effective

(Cont’d)

50a

Appendix B

testified that she would be unable to run an effective campaign

with the $100 limit, although two professional fundraisers did

Sc testify. In the two special elections held in January 1997

under Act I, the evidence shows that the candidates were able

to raise contributions exceeding the average amount raised by

open-seat candidates in primary elections during the past three

election cycles. Senator Wyrick, for example, testified that he

raised approximately $24,000 for his successful Arkansas

Senate race under the Act I limits, while his opponent raised

about $40,000.

There are two exceptions to the finding that the $100 limit

is constitutional. Act I omits from its definition of statewide

offices the office of state Supreme Court Justice, even though

these judges are elected in statewide races. Act I sets a $100

per election limit on the twelve judges of the Court of Appeals,

who are elected from districts of equal populations."* In

Arkansas, judicial candidates and judicial races are subject to

more stringent restrictions in solicitation than other candidates.

Under Canon 5C(2) of the Arkansas Code of Judicial Conduct,

a judge or candidate for judicial office subject to a public

election may neither personally solicit nor accept campaign

contributions. Canon 5C(2) also restricts candidate committees

acting on behalf of judges or candidates from soliciting earlier

than 180 days prior to a primary election, or later than forty-

(Cont'd)

campaigns under a self-imposed contribution limit of $250. Mr. Pryor

ran an unsuccessful race for the statewide office of Attorney General in

1996, and intends to run for that office again in 1998.

18. Ark.Code Ann. § 16-12-101. Prior to July 1, 1995, the Arkansas

Court of Appeals was composed of six members. After that date, the

membership was increased to twelve. Id.

Sla

Appendix B

five days after the last contested election in which the candidate

participates.

The defendant’s witness, Mr. Stern, testified that the $100

limit on contributions to Arkansas Supreme Court Justices was

the most troubling aspect of Act I, although he suggested that

this requirement was justifiable. I am also troubled by the limit,

and do not think it justifiable. Several witnesses explained that

a candidate is typically her own best fundraiser. Yet a judge

cannot personally solicit funds. A Supreme Court Justice must

nevertheless mount a statewide campaign, and Court of Appeals

Judges must run in districts much larger than state senate

districts. '* I conclude that this combination of obstacles prevents

candidates for these judicial positions from “amassing the

resources necessary for effective advocacy.” Therefore, I find

that Act I’s $100 limit, as applied to Arkansas Supreme Court

Justices and Arkansas Court of Appeals Judges, amounts to a

difference in degree when compared to those upheld in Buckley.

It is, thus, unconstitutionally low.

2. Contributions to PACs

The plaintiffs also complain that the $200 limitation on

contributions to approved PACs is so low that it

unconstitutionally infringes on their First and Fourteenth

Amendment rights to free speech and association. Each party

cites California Medical Ass’n v. FEC, 453 U.S. 182, 101 S.Ct.

2712, 69 L.Ed.2d 567 (1981) as controlling on this issue. In

California Medical, a federal PAC complained of FECA’s

$5000 per year limit on contributions to multicandidate federal

PACs. Upholding the challenged provision of FECA, a plurality

of the Court concluded that the limitations on contributions to

19. Arkansas currently has 35 senate districts.

52a

Appendix B

PACs was justified by the government’s interest in “preventing

the actual or apparent corruption of the political process.” Id.

at 197, 101 S.Ct. at 2722. The plurality feared that actual or

perceived corruption would arise if individuals and

unincorporated associations were able to channel unlimited

funds through PACs to candidates, thereby circumventing the

$1000 limit on contributions to individual candidates. Id. at

198, 101 S.Ct. at 2722-23. Further, the Court reasoned that

when a contributor’s First Amendment rights are not infringed

by limits on his contributions to a candidate’s campaign, those

rights “are similarly not impaired by limits on the amount he

may give to a multicandidate political committee. ...” Id. at

197, 101 S.Ct. at 2722.

The plaintiffs point out that FECA limited contributions

to candidates to $1000 per election, and contributions to PACs

to $5000 per year. They then suggest that it would be irrational

for Arkansas to limit contributions to PACs to only $200 per

year while allowing $300 contributions to individuals per

election. The defendants counter that the 1990 limit allows

substantial participation in Arkansas’ elective process while

serving to prevent circumvention of the limits imposed on

individual contributions. Citizens add that a limit on

contributions to PACs is even more warranted in Arkansas than

under the federal scheme. They note that the federal PACs in

California Medical were required to enlist at least fifty

contributors and contribute to no fewer than five candidates.

Id. at 185 n. 1, 101 S.Ct. at 2716 n. 1. Arkansas imposes.no

such requirements. Similarly, Citizens argue, Arkansas has no

corollary to FECA’s $25,000 annual limitation on total

contributions by an individual. See Buckley, 424 U.S. at 38,

96 S.Ct. at 644.

53a

Appendix B

Having determined that Act I’s $300 per election limit on

contributions to candidates for statewide race are

unconstitutionally low, this Court is sympathetic to the

argument that a $200 limit on annual contributions to PACs is

similarly infirm. This view finds support in Day v. Holahan,

34 F.3d 1356 (8th Cir.1994). In Day, the court deemed

unconstitutional a Minnesota law limiting contributions to a

political committee or political fund to no more than $100 per

year. The Day court recognized the state’s compelling interest

in avoiding “corruption or the appearance of corruption in the

political process that could result from large amounts of special

interest money circulating in the system... .” Id. at 1365.

However, it declared that “the fighting issue” presented was

whether the $100 limit had been narrowly tailored to serve that

interest, in the light of the burden it placed on political speech.

Id. The court based its finding that the limit was too low to

allow meaningful participation in protected political speech and

association on: the reduced danger of actual or perceived

corruption when contributions are to a political committee

rather than a candidate; the fact that $100 in 1994 dollars was

a scant four percent of the $1000 limit upheld in Buckley; and

the fact that one-fourth to one-third of the Appellant political

fund’s contributions in the previous election cycle had exceeded

$100. Id. at 1365-66.

I find Day distinguishable and conclude that the $200 limit

is constitutional. I am impressed by the fact that even though

the limit has been in place since 1990, the plaintiffs do not

c

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.