Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Fischer v. Florida Division of Elections

Supreme Court brief1998

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Court, 0.8.

: FILED

[6—6d9S 6H 4 UN 1 1998

No. GEEICE OF De CLERK

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

KYLEEN FISCHER,

Petitioner,

v.

STATE OF FLORIDA, DIVISION OF

ELECTIONS AND THE FLORIDA

ELECTIONS COMMISSION,

Respondents.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari

from the First District Court of Appeal

of the State of Florida

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

AND APPENDIX

Mark Herron*

Mark Herron, P.A.

216 S. Monroe St., Suite 200-A

Tallahassee, FL 32301-1859

(850) 567-4878

Counsel for Petitioner

*Counsel of Record

QUESTION PRESENTED

Can the State of Florida impose punishment

upon candidates for political office for state-

ments made in the course of a political cam-

paign which, as a matter of law, are not vio-

lative of the standard established in New York

Times v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254(1964).

—~ >. o “ . aad

il

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The Petitioner is Kyleen Fischer who was a candidate for

election to the School Board of Lake County, Florida, at the

general election held in November of 1994.

The Respondents are the Division of Elections of the State

of Florida and the Florida Elections Commission, which are

responsible for enforcing Florida’s election laws.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ikon. sc sisshianbnciniowend secs chcwunsoidebretvesehecawenes i

OP TIN FIONN vesccsiscsncesssenasosaseisevssacsvepecseecesdstpsieete ii

Statement of Basis for Jurisdiction ..............:.ccccceceeceeeeeeeeeees |

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved ................. 3

I ONE ME I sic cc ccstedevesirensveinoiuzetiecavtbccrvlisweusso¢wanides 4

IIE sins Mir akadadesiebacidiciavirekenehshisusssvroubenapch nepiorbopessseyteors 12

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases

Garrison v. Louisiana,

379 U.S. 64, 85 S.Ct. 209, 13 L.Ed.2d 125

SER docbikcicisnsisncciacaitdinintn beaded dwanben 12, 13

Gertz v. Robert Welsh, Inc.,

BE Rs Bie he ee CS I vcskiccdchenncdntnardeninscinns 19

Jenkins v. State,

FBS Te 15505 LS Fe CER FIG) viincsisinrsvcccctcicterces |

New York Times Co. v. Sullivan,

376 U.S. 254, 84 S.Ct. 710, 11 L.Ed.2d 686

ERED sciisntasinteinssteesben ned 11, 32,43, 15, 16, 17.48

Pestrak v. Ohio Elections Commission,

GZ Fue. Dee Fee Ce I FF ED caiientivacadedvcsccenenness 12

Sadowski v. Shevin,

SRS 2k SI, DIS COTE VITA) voksisccceiendustnsionsersinens 14

Seropian v. Forman,

652 So.2d 490, 493-494 (Fla. 4th DCA 1995) ........ 13

St. Amant v. Thompson,

390 U.S. 727, 88 S.Ct. 1323, 20 L.Ed.2d 262

CO IUMED KictdacaVersicasesaersantcnandielentesnitvapuebeaiihiaeasas 13, 17

Time, Inc. v. Pape,

WEE Pe BT REPEL sccighelissnaiciadeskdthsasaidedacnicens 15, 17

%

3

5

4

e

.

8

4

a

<

€

5

i

2

=

pA

a

4

4

3

Statutes

Section 104.271(2), F. S.

31... | BARRO ORES Dips enecaeate is 3 3, 6b 43. 46, 17, 18

PAID A A AEN x dt TR we Aes wlth wo Sie

SS er

| - “39 I

On January 3, 1997, The Florida Elections Commission (the

“Commission”) rendered an order finding that Kyleen Fischer

(“Fischer”) violated Section 104.271(2), F. S. (1995), on two

occasions by disseminating false statements about an opposing

candidate with actual malice. Appendix I. Fischer timely

appealed this decision to the First District Court of Appeal of

the State o Florida (the “District Court”). Appendix II.

On January 23, 1998, the District Court rendered a “per

curium affirmed” decision without opinion affirming the

decision of the Commission. Appendix III]. On January 27,

1998, the District Court rendered a corrected “per curium

affirmed” decision without opinion affirming the decision of

the Commission, which-indicated that there was a dissent to the

District Court’s decision. Appendix IV.

On February 9, 1998, Fischer timely filed a motion for

rehearing or clarification with the District Court noting that this

case presented a question of first impression and raised

significant First Amendment issues. Appendix V. On March 3,

1998, the District Court, with one judge dissenting, denied

Fischer’s Motion for Rehearing or Clarification. Appendix VI.

Fischer has exhausted all avenues of appeal or review under

Florida law. In Jenkins v. State, 385 So.2d 1356, 1359 (Fla.

1980), the Florida Supreme Court held that on or after April |,

1980, it lacked jurisdiction to review per curium decisions of

the district courts of appeal without opinion. No other

jurisdiction granted under Florida law would permit review by

the Florida Supreme Court or any other judicial body. See,

Article V, Section 3, Fla. Const. Appendix VII.

Counsel for the Florida Elections Commission has been

notified that Fischer intends to seek a writ of certiorar! from

this Court.

~ =

j

“

3

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

is Vici SA Re iN hi

ae

The constitutional and statutory provisions involved in this

case are the First Amendment to the Constitution of the United

States and Section 104.271(2), FS. (1995), which provides as

follows:

re ee ee Bt

noe marge

(2) Any candidate who, in a primary election or

other election, with actual malice makes or

causes to be made any statement about an

opposing candidate which is false is guilty of a

violation of this code. An-aggrieved candidate

may file a complaint with the Division of

Elections pursuant to s. 106.25. The division

shall adopt rules to provide an expedited hearing

before the Florida Elections Commission of

complaints filed under this subsection.

Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the

Florida Elections Commission shall assess a civil

penalty of up to $5,000 against any candidate

j found in violation of this subsection, which shall

be deposited to the account of the General

Revenue Fund of the state.

ae! ee ie ee RA Ne nee ae

of

*

a

3

=

=

4

;

:

4

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In 1994, Fischer was a Republican candidate for the School

Board in Lake County, Florida. Fischer had previously served

on the School Board having won a four-year term in the 1982

general election. She was defeated for reelection in 1986.

Fischer had primary opposition in both the first and second

primaries in 1994,

Fischer’s opponent in the 1994 election was Sandra Green

(“Green”), the incumbent who had won election to the School

Board as a Republican in 1990. However, Green had changed

parties and was running as a Democrat in 1994. Green had no

primary opposition in 1994, Fischer and Green were the

candidates at the general election held in November of 1994.

Fischer’s campaign produced two political advertisements

which are the subject of this case: a flier which was mailed to

voters in Umatilla, a small town in northeast Lake county, and

a radio advertisement which began airing on the Saturday before

the election.

The flier was developed by Fischer’s daughter, Leah, who

volunteered in her mother’s campaign. The subject of the flier

was the possible consolidation of Umatilla High School with

Eustis High School. Leah Fischer had learned of this issue in a

conversation with Holly Newby, the Editor of The North Lake

Outpost. Leah Fischer and Ms. Newby researched past issues

of The North Lake Outpost and found the only article on the

issue in the November 26, 1992 edition. That article became

the basis for the flier.

In the fall of 1992 during School Board budget workshops,

Green proposed the consolidation of Eustis and Umatilla High

3

Schools as an alternative to the expenditure of millions of

dollars to upgrade current facilities. Though no other support

was voiced for the proposal at the workshop, Green called a

meeting of approximately 12-15 persons comprised of teachers,

parents, and former students of hers, to discuss the consolidation

idea. The meeting was held in early November 1992. It was

clear from the meeting that residents of Umatilla did not support

the consolidation concept. During the meeting, Green indicated

she would try to arrange a visit to Lyman High School, a

consolidated high school in Orange County. On November 26,

1992, an article appeared in The North Lake Outpost, a weekly

newspaper circulated in the Umatilla area, which reported on

the meeting Ms. Green had held and provided comments from

some who attended the meeting.

Prior to arranging for such a visit, however, Green learned

of a meeting of residents of Umatilla in opposition to the

consolidation idea. As a result, Green did not arrange a visit to

Lyman High School and did not actively pursue the

consolidation issue further.

The campaign flier consisted of a single sheet of 8-1/2 x | 1"

paper folded in half. The front flap contains a statement in

capitalized, bold letters “ONE SCHOOL BOARD

CANDIDATE WANTS TO CLOSE UMATILLA HIGH

SCHOOL.” The top half of the inside flap of the flier identifies

Democratic candidate Sandra T. Green in response to the

statement on the front flap. Immediately below that

identification is a reproduction of the masthead of The North

Lake Outpost with the date November 26, 1992. Immediately

under the masthead and date is the headline from the newspaper

article of that date and two paragraphs excerpted from the

article. Following those two paragraphs in a box is an excerpt

6

from another paragraph from the article. The boxed portion

reads:

DEMOCRAT GREEN STATE:

“Green said ... she personally favored

consolidation for Eustis and Umatilla.”

- The North Lake Outpost

Following that, on the lower flap of the inside portion of

the flier is a line of stars creating a “definition break” and

demarcating the end of the newspaper article and the beginning

of campaign statements in support of Fischer and her position

on consolidation of Umatilla High School, which she opposed.

The outside of the back flap contains additional campaign

statements regarding Fischer’s support for a separate high

school for Umatilla and requesting support for Fischer’s

election.

The November 26, 1992 article in The North Lake Outpost

represents the only published article regarding the possibility

of consolidating Umatilla High School and Eustis High School.

Green subsequently never made any public statements or issued

any press releases on the issue.

The second campaign advertisement at issue here is a radio

advertisement which aired on WKIQ-AM. The ad falsely stated

that the NAACP had endorsed Sandra T. Green. Fischer

admitted that the statement is false, and the only issue contested

in the lower tribunal was whether the statement was made with

actual malice.

The single most important issue in the School Board races,

at least in the African-American community, was the future of

7

Eustis Middle School. The building was located in the African-

American community in Eustis and had served that community

as a school facility for many years. In the spring of 1994, the

School Board had voted to renovate the existing facility rather

than build a new school. The vote was 3-2 with Green voting

in the minority. She wanted to build a new school at a different

location.

There were three seats on the School Board up for election

in 1994, and the African-American community wanted to

preserve the majority on the School Board who supported

keeping the Eustis Middle School at its present site.

During the general election campaign, Fischer developed a

10-point education platform which stated her positions on a

variety of issues. In her platform, Fischer advocated building a

new Eustis Middle School and converting the old site into a

vocational school. However, Fischer did not indicate support

for a specific site for the new school building.

Tom Poole (“Poole”) was a leader in the minority

community in Lake County. A former school teacher and coach,

he had served for over 25 years as President of the Tri-City

Branch of the NAACP, as well as serving on the state, regional,

and national levels of that organization. He also served a

President of the Voter’s League of Lake County, a political

committee formed for the purpose of voter education,

registration and participation among the minority community.

During each election cycle since its formation in 1978, the

directors of the Voter’s League met to discuss and make

endorsements in election campaigns. The process was informal

and generally was determined based on aconsensus of directors

in attendance. The endorsement decisions of the Voter’s

8

League of Lake County were disseminated to minority voters

by mailing a sample ballot showing the endorsed candidates,

In the 1994 School Board elections, there was no consensus

among the directors of the Voter’s League of Lake County on

the Fischer/Green race. The decision was delegated to Poole

as President.

Neither Fischer nor Phillips were familiar with the Voter’s

League of Lake County. The Voter’s League is not a high profile

organization. Fischer did not have any African-Americans active

in her campaign. Because of Poole’s high profile with the

NAACP, both Phillips and Fischer assumed that any

endorsement by Poole was an NAACP endorsement.

On the Thursday or Friday prior to the election, Poole ran

into Ron Phillips (“Phillips”), a volunteer campaign consultant

for Fischer. The two men knew each other well. Phillips had

been a student of Poole’s years earlier and still referred to Poole

as “Coach.” The conversation primarily focused on

endorsements in the upcoming county elections.

The result of the conversation is disputed, Phillips came

away from the conversation with the understanding that Poole

and his organization (NAACP) would be endorsing Green. Poole

denies that he indicated any endorsement in the Green/Fischer

race. He did, however, tell Phillips the name of the candidate

who was endorsed in another race. Poole knew that Phillips’

primary interest was an endorsement in the Fischer race, and

he admitted that he did not give him a direct answer.

Based on his understanding of this conversation with Poole,

and fearing a late movement in the campaign and the possibility

9

of being sandbagged by this late development, Phillips

recommended, and Fischer agreed, to develop an ad. The

primary purpose of the ad was to reiterate Fischer's stand on

the Eustis Middle School issue. The ad ran twice on the Saturday

prior to the general election and once on Monday morning prior

to the general election.

The endorsement of the Voter’s League of Lake County

ultimately went to Fischer. Poole stated he made the decision

on a “glimmer of hope.” Despite Fischer's platform position,

Poole perceived she was open on the issue of the Eustis Middle

School because she had not advocated a specific new site for the

school and because she had not yet had the opportunity to vote

officially on the issue.

When the error was brought to her attention on Monday

morning, both Fischer and Phillips, who helped develop the ad,

called the radio station, apologized to the NAACP, and asked

that the ad be removed from the air. a

On November 22, 1994 when the Div‘sion of Elections

(“Division”) received a sworn complaint alleging violations of

Florida’s election law by Fischer. After an investigation by the

Division to determine whether the facts alleged in the

Complaint constituted probable cause to believe that Fischer

had violated Section 104.271(2), F.S., was violated. On

December 27, 1995, the Complainant, pursuant to Section

106.25(7), F:S., filed a notice with the Commission appealing

the finding of no probable cause by ihe Division.

On February 2, 1996, the Commission heard the appeal and

on February 9, 1996, reversed the finding of the Division and

entered an Order finding that there was probable cause to

believe that Fischer violated Section 104.271(2), FS. On

10

February 28, 1996, Fischer timely filed her request for a formal

hearing and requested the appointment of a hearing officer with

the Division of Administrative Hearings to conduct the

administrative hearing.

A formal hearing before the Commission commenced on

June 6, 1996 in Tallahassee, Florida. At the formal hearing,

Fischer presented an oral motion to dismiss the charges against

her relating to the publication of the flier concerning school

consolidation. Fischer’s motion was denied.

At the hearing on June 6, 1996, the Division presented the

oral testimony of David Bradford, an investigator for the

Division of Elections, and Tom Poole, Chairman of the Lake

County Voter’s League. Following those witnesses, the hearing

was continued until the Commission’s next meeting on August

2, 1996 in Orlando, Florida. At the reconvened hearing, the

Division presented the oral testimony of Green, the

Complainant, who was Fischer’s opposing candidate in the

election. The Division also presented the oral testimony of

Fischer. The Division offered one exhibit which was admitted

into evidence, presented the testimony of Ron Phillips, a

volunteer in the Fischer campaign, and offered one exhibit.

Fischer and the Division each timely filed written closing

argument and proposed final orders.

On September 12, 1996, the Commission issued a notice of

formal hearing indicating that it would take up the matter at its

meeting on October 4, 1996. At its meeting on October 4, 1996,

the Commission, in light of the written submissions, dispensed

with oral argument and found that Fischer, in two separate

campaign advertisements, made false statements about an

opposing candidate and that such statements were made with

actual malice. The Commission ordered Fischer to pay a total

11

of $5,500.00 for the two separate violations. The Commission's

written final order was issued on January 3, 1997. Appendix I.

Section 104.271(2), F.S. (1995), purports to be consistent

with the New York Times v. Sullivan standard and its progeny

which permits limitations on political speech. Application of

the standard has been central to the Division’s prosecution of

the complaint against Fischer since the initial stages. It was

central to Fischer’s post-hearing submission to the Commission.

Appendix VIII. It was raised by Fischer in her Initial Brief on

appeal to the District Court.

12

ARGUMENT

The First Amendment, made applicable to the states through

the Fourteenth Amendment, embodies a

profound national commitment to the principle

that debate on public issues should be

uninhibited, robust and wide-open, and that it

may well include vehement, caustic, and

sometimes unpleasantly sharp attacks on

government and public cfficials.

In New York Times v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254, 84 S.Ct. 710,

11 L.Ed.2d 686 (1964), the United States Supreme Court held

that the Constitution limits state power, in a civil action brought

by a public official for criticism of his official conduct, to an

award of damages for a false statement “made with ‘actual

malice’ - that is, with knowledge that it was false or with reckless

disregard of whether it was false or not.” 376 U.S. at 279-280.

Garrison v. Louisiana, supra, held that the New York Times rule

also limits state power to impose criminal sanctions for criticism

of the official conduct of public officials. 379 U.S. at 67. The

New York Times rule is likewise applicable in this case where

the State of Florida, through an administrative agency,

endeavors to regulate and punish political speech. Pestrak v.

Ohio Elections Commission, 926 F.2d, 573, 578 (6th Cir. 1991).

As applied by Florida’s Fourth District Court of Appeal:

So great is the protection given to writers and

speakers under the First Amendment that the

Supreme Court has held that a public official,

such as a plaintiff in this case, can make out a

good claim of damages for defamatory

13

falsehood only where the official can show that

the writer published a defamatory falsehood with

knowledge that it was false, or with reckless

disregard as to whether is true or false. New

York Time Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254, 84 S.Ct.

710, 11 L.Ed.2d 686 (1964). Stated differently,

the burden is to show that the writer deliberately

lied and falsified something or, as an alternative

to a knowing lie, that the writer of a defamatory

falsehood “in fact entertained serious doubts as

to the truth of his publication,” St. Amant v.

Thompson, 390 U.S. 727, 88 S.Ct. 1323, 20

L.Ed.2d 262 (1968), or that he acted with a “high

degree of awareness of *** probable falsity, “

Garrison v. Louisiana, 379 U.S. 64, 85 S.Ct. 209,

13 L.Ed.2d 125 (1964). Moreover, the official

must prove the essential fact, not with the

ordinary evidentiary burden of most civil cases,

called the “greater weight” of the evidence in

Florida, but instead with a higher, more

demanding, burden called “clear and

convincing” evidence. Id. (footnote omitted)

Seropian v. Forman, 652 So.2d 490, 493-494 (Fla. 4th DCA

1995).

By finding a violation of Section 104.271(2), FS., with

respect to the flier, the Commission seeks to punish Fischer for

true statements, albeit in a form not approved by the

Commission, and for statements of opinion and comment

relating to the truthful statement. There is no dispute in the

record to the accuracy of the statement that “Sandra Green...

personally favored consolidation of Eustis and Umatilla” high

14

schools. The Commission disagrees with the phrasing of the

Statement by the Fischer campaign on its flier. The

Commission focuses on the fact that Sandra Green had not

made any public statements on the consolidation issue since

1992.

While the Commission seexs to control the quality of the

information about an opposing candidate during the course of

a campaign, this is not an appropriate or constitutional role for

the Commission. The Commission is placing itself in the

position of defining the issues that can be addressed in a

campaign by restricting the ability of the candidates to raise

issues that they view as important and significant. It is not the

Commission's role to determine whether a statement made in

1992 is an appropriate issue. Rather

[t]he decision as to which contender for a

political office should be entrusted with the

power of that office rests exclusively with the

people. They are entitled to all the information

that each candidate can provide about himself,

his opponent and their respective positions on

the relevant political issues. The entire process

is hampered if the information is restricted or

unavailable. The public’s “need to know” is

most critical during an election campaign.

Sadowski v. Shevin, 345 So.2d 330, 333 (Fla. 1977)

The Commission’s view of its role cannot be squared with the

First Amendment.

The Commission noted that the statement in the flier that

“Green said... she personally favored consolidation for Eustis

and Umatilla” was never made by Sandra Green. The

15

Commission, likewise, notes that the flier omitted qualifying

language that was “material to the campaign” and that

“{w]ithout the qualifying language the statement implied that

Ms. Green would act on her own to bring about the

consolidation of Eustis and Umatilla high schools.” The

Commission concluded Fischer made the statement with actual

malice because she knew the truth and elected to disregard it.

Yet the flier contained a reproduction of the masthead of the

newspaper where the article appeared with the date of the article

and three paragraphs from that article.

The Commission’s conclusion is not supported by United

States Supreme Court precedent. In Time, Inc. v. Pape, 401

U.S. 279 (1971), the Supreme Court held that the failure of a

news magazine article to state that the article regarding a Civil

Rights Commission Report on police brutality, wnich contained

“allegations” of brutality against a public official rather than

proven instances, was not a falsification sufficient in itself to

justify a finding of actual malice. In that case, the Court

concluded:

Time’s omission of the word “alleged”

amounted to the adoption of one of a number of

possible rational interpretations of a document

that bristled with ambiguities. The deliberate

choice of such an interpretation, though

arguably reflecting a misconception, was not

enough to create a jury issue of “malice” under

New York Times. To permit the malice issue to

go to the jury because of the omission of a word

like “alleged,” despite the context of that word

in the Commission Report and the external

evidence of the Report’s overall meaning, would

be to impose a much stricter standard of liability

16

on errors of interpretation or judgment than on

errors of historical fact.

401 U.S. at 290-291. In this case, the Commission focuses on

the allegedly ambiguous statements contained in the quotation

and ignores the essential truth of Green’s statement, namely

that she favors consolidation.

Similarly, the Commission concludes that it was false for

the flier to state that Green wants to close Umatilla High

School. Green’s consolidation proposal contemplated Eustis

Middle School moving to the Eustis High School and Umatilla

Middle School moving to the Umatilla High School, and the

construction of a new consolidated high school to replace both

existing high schools. This proposal would effectively close

Umatilla High School. While the Commission concludes that

Green did not advocate the consolidation of Eustis or Umatilla

High Schools or the closing of Umatilla High School “during

the 1994 elections” , the record clearly reflects her proposal to

do so during her term on the School Board.

In finding a violation of Section 104.271(2), F.S., with

respect to the radio advertisement, the Commission focuses on

the “reckless disregard” prong of the New York Times rule. To

support its conclusion that Fischer acted with “reckless

disregard” of whether statements contained in the radio

advertisement were true or false, the Commission found that

both Fischer and her campaign advisor, Ron Phillips, “were

shocked when they mistakenly jumped to the conclusion that

Mr. Poole (and the Voter’s League) was going to support Ms.

Green.” The Commission found that the Fischer campaign failed

to take any steps to verify the endorsement.

Failure to investigate does not itself establish bad faith.

17

New York Times v. Sullivan, supra, at 287-288. “[R]eckless

conduct is not measured by whether a reasonably prudent inan

would have published, or would have investigated before

publishing. There must be sufficient evidence to permit the

conclusion that the defendant in fact ascertained serious doubts

as to the truth of his publication.” St. Amant v. Thompson, 390

U.S. 727, 731 (1968) With respect to establishing a

requirement of absolute verification, it has been stated:

We create a grave risk of serious impairment of

the indispensable service of a free press in a free

society if we saddle the press with the

impossible burden of verifying to a certainty the

facts associated in news articles with a person's

name, picture or portrait, particularly as related

to a nondefamatory matter.

Time, Inc. v. Hill, 385 U.S. 374, 389 (1967) Within the facts

established at the hearing before the Commission, there was no

other source other than Tom Poole, with whom to verify the

reported endorsement. The endorsement decision had been

delegated solely to Poole. No other member of the Voter's

League was in a position to verify the endorsement information.

The Commission’s conclusion that the radio ad, which

implied that Sandra Green had made a “political deal” in return

for the NAACP’s endorsement, was produced with actual malice

fails to meet the constitutional threshold required by the New

York Times rule. The evidence was constitutionally defective

to support a finding by the Commission that allegedly false

statements were made “about an opposing candidate.” See,

Section 104.271(2), ES. The advertisement does not state that

Green made a deal. It states clearly and unequivocally that

Fischer will not make any political deals. [Jt. Exhibit 14] The

18

reference that Green made a deal is implied by the Commission.

It is akin to legal alchemy by which the Commission creates a

false statement where none is made, imputes motive, and

concludes that punishment is warranted.

The constitutional danger implicit in the Commission’s

actions are the same as noted in New York Times v. Sullivan,

supra, when statements which were attacks on government

were imputed to be attacks on the officials of whom the

government is composed:

Raising as it does the possibility that a

good-faith critic of government will be

penalized for his criticism, the proposition relied

on by the Alabama courts strikes at the very

center of the constitutionally protected area of

free expression. (footnote omitted) We hold that

such a proposition may not constitutionally be

utilized to establish that an otherwise

impersonal attack on governmental operations

was a libel of an official responsible for those

operations.

New York Times v. Sullivan, supra, at 292. The evidence relied

upon the by the Commission to find a violation of Section

104.271(2), FS., was constitutionally insufficient to support a

finding that a statement was made about an opposing candidate.

Even assuming that it is appropriate to imply from the ad

that it falsely states that Green made a deal, such a statement is

a statement of opinion, not of fact. The United States Supreme

Court has stated that

{[U]nder the First Amendment there is no such

19

thing as a false idea. However, pernicious an

opinion may seem, we depend for its correction

not on the conscience of judges or juries to

correct but on the competition of other ideas.

Gertz v. Robert Welsh, Inc., 418 U.S. 323, 339-40 (1974). As a

statement of opinion, the statement is entitled to constitutional

protection.

20

CONCLUSION

For these reasons stated a petition of writ of certiorari should

be issued by this Court.

Dated this M& day of August, 1998.

Matk Herrgn

Mark Heryon, P.A.

216 S. Monroe Street

Suite 200-A .

rallahassee, FL 32301-1859

(850) 567-4878

App. |

APPENDIX

Division of Elections Final Order ...............c..cccccsesesseeseeeees 2

PN Nr PRN i iiaat sc ralibravdsekerskashideeisvabsssvovevennevescceccaveess 33

SEITEN GE TONNE Cy BFPO iccvncccnccgnsssesisavsvecosevsevnsessosconss 35

Corrected Opinion of January 23, 1998.00.00... cece 36

Motion for Rehearing or Clarification .........0......ccccceeeees 37

Order Denying Motion for Rehearing

Neo. csbubvheeckevoeveseces 40

Article V, Section 3, Florida Constitution .................000..0000.. 4]

RUMOUR @ SPOUSE ATA CIRGEE oan icsiscsnccinsessvecienssccssesrsesseees 44

App. 2

STATE OF FLORIDA

FLORIDA ELECTIONS COMMISSION

Division of Elections,

Petitioner,

V. Case No.: FEC 94-122

F.O. No.: DOSFEC 96-88

Kyleen Fischer,

Respondent.

/

FINAL ORDER

THIS CAUSE came on to be heared at formal hearings held

hefore the Florida Elections Commission (Commission) on

June 6 and August 2, 1996, in Tallahassee and Orlando, Florida.

APPEARANCES

For Division: Barbara M. Linthicum

Assistant General Counsel

Department of State

Division of Elections

Room 2002, The Capitol

Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0250

For Respondent: Chris Haughee

Akerman, Senterfitt & Edison, P.A.

216 South Monroe, Suite 200

Tallahassee, Florida 32302-2555

App. 3

STATEMENT OF THE ISSUE

Whether the Respondent violated Section 104.271(2),

Florida Statutes, when she made false statements with actual

malice about Sandra Green, her opposing candidate, on two

occasions during the 1994 elections to the Lake County School

Board.

PRELIMINARY STATEMENT

On November 22, 1994, the Division of Elections rec zived

a sworn complaint alleging violations of Florida’s election laws.

The division conducted an investigation to determine whether

the facts alleged in the complaint constituted probable cause to

believe that the Respondent violated Section 104.271 (2),

Florida Statutes.

On November 27, 1995, the Director of the Division of

Elections signed a Statement of Findings determining that there

was no probable cause to believe that Section 104.271(2),

Florida Statutes, was violated. On December 27, 1995, the

Complainant filed a notice with the Commission, as provided

in Section 106.25(7), Florida Statutes, appealing the Division

of Elections’ dismissal of the case based on the finding of no

probable cause.

On February 2, 1996, the Florida Elections Commission

heard the appeal and on February 9, 1996, entered an Order of

Probable Cause finding that there was probable cause to believe

that the Respondent violated Section 104.271(2), Florida

Statutes. The Respondent timely requested a formal hearing.

On March 25, 1996, the Respondent filed a Motion for

Appointment of Division of Administrative Hearings’ Hearing

App. 4

Officer to Conduct Formal Hearing. The Division responded

and the motion was set for hearing before the Commission on

April 5, 1996, in Tampa, Florida. The Commission, after

hearing arguments of counsel, issued an order on April 12,

1996, denying Respondent’s motion.

The Respondent was noticed to appear before the

Commission for formal hearing on June 6, 1996, in Tallahassee,

Florida. At the formal hearing, The Respondent presented a

Motion to Dismiss the charges against her and a Motion in

Limine to exclude any evidence that identified any allegedly

false statements contained in the campaign material of the

Respondent other than those statements identified in the

Division's answers to interrogatories. The Commission denied

both motions. The Division and Respondent presented a Joint

Stipulation of Facts and 24 joint exhibits, all of which were

admitted into evidence.

The Division also presented the oral testimony of David

Bradford, investigator for the Division of Elections, and Tom

Poole, Chairman of the Voter’s League of Lake County. The

hearing was adjourned until the next meeting of the

Commission on August 2, 1996, in Orlando, Florida.

At the reconvened hearing, the Division presented the

testimony of Sandra Green and Respondent Kyleen Fischer, and

one exhibit that was admitted into evidence. The Respondent

presented the testimony of Ron Phillips, a volunteer in the

Kyleen Fischer campaign, and offered one exhibit.

Two transcripts were prepared in thiscase. Therefore, the

“TI” cite used below refers to the transcript for the June 6,

1996, meeting and the “T2” cite refers to the transcript for the

Axgust 2, 1996, meeting.

App. 5

FINDINGS OF FACT

I - Overview

1. The Florida Elections Commission is charged with

enforcing Section 104,271(2) and Chapter 106, Florida Statutes,

the campaign financing law.

2. Kyleen Fischer (Republican) and Sandra Green

(Democrat) were opposing candidates for the Lake County

School Board, District 5 seat, in the 1994 general election. Ms.

Green lost the election by 1170 votes. (Exhibit 17)

3. Ms. Fischer had primary opponents in the first and

second primaries. (T2 - 32-34) She had previously served on

the School Board from 1982-1986, when she was defeated for

re-election. (T2 - 104) Ms. Green, on the other hand, was the

incumbent, first elected in 1990. Ms. Green had no primary

opponents in 1994, (T2 - 31) (Exhibit 15)

4. The Fischer campaign was run with a volunteer staff that

primarily consisted of the candidate; her daughter, Leah

Fischer; Judy Susie Farley, the campaign manager; Ron

Phillips, a family friend and experienced political operative who

served as advisor and consultant; and other friends and family.

(T2 - 112, 142-143, 167-169)

5. On November 22, 1994, the Division of Elections

received a sworn complaint signed by Sandra Green alleging

that Kyleen Fischer had published and circulated political

advertisements that contained false and malicious statements

about Sandra Green, in violation of Section 104.271(2), Florida

Statutes. (Exhibit 21) One such advertisement was a campaign

flyer published by Ms. Fischer that concerned the consolidation

of the Eustis and Umatilla high schools. (Exhibit 13) The other

App. 6

was a radio advertisement that aired on WKIQ in Eustis during

the last weekend of the campaign and concerned the alleged

endorsement of Ms. Green by the NAACP. (Exhibit 14)

Il - The Flyer

6. The Fischer campaign, with the candidate’s review and

approval, produced a political advertisement as a mailing flyer

during the general election campaign. (T2 - 76-78, 169)

(Exhibit 13) The flyer dealt with Green’s purported advocacy

of the consolidation of the Eustis and Umatilla high schools and

closure of Umatilla High School, a position (if it had been

espoused by a candidate) which would have been of great

importance in the campaign. (T2 - 145, 149, 153) The flyer was

mailed to residents in Umatilla, a community of approximately

2200.

7. Leah Fischer’s statement indicated that she learned of

the possibility of the consolidation issue being used against Ms.

Green from Holly Newby, editor of the North Lake Outpost,

when they were discussing issues of concern to the residents of

Umatilla. (Stipulation 43) Leah Fischer and Ms. Newby

researched past issues of the North Lake Outpost and found the

only article regarding Green’s position on the issue in the

November 26, 1992 edition. (Stipulation 43)

8. Kyleen Fischer, Leah Fischer and Ron Phillips

participated in drafting the language that was used in the

political advertisement. (Stipulation 74) In drafting the

language in the political advertisement, they relied exclusively

on the newspaper article. (T2 - 77) The Fischer campaign

mailed the political advertisement to the Umatilla area the week

prior to the general election. (T2 - 77, 149) The political

advertisement was paid for from the Fischer campaign account.

App. 7 —

(Exhibit 6)

9. The political advertisement contained the following

statement: “One Schoo! Board Candidate Wants to Close

Umatilla High School.” (E.S.) (Exhibit 13) This statement was

not true. Sandra Green testified that she did not want to close

Umatilla High School in 1994. (T2 - 20) In fact, in the Spring

of 1994, Ms. Green and the Lake County School Board voted

to spend several million dollars on a new media center for

Umatilla High School, further showing that she did not intend

to seek to close the high school in 1994. (T2 - 20, 60) At no

time during the 1994 elections did Ms. Green advocate either

the consolidation of Umatilla and Eustis high schools or the

closing of Umatilla High School. (T2 - 20)

10. The political advertisement also contained the following

statement: “A group of parents and teachers from Eustis and

Umatilla, under the guidance of school board member Sandra

Green are examining the possibility of consolidating Umatilla

and Eustis High Schools.” (E.S.) (Exhibit 13) This statement

was also untrue. The only meeting held by Ms. Green to

examine the possibility of consolidating Umatilla and Eustis

high schools was held two years before the 1994 elections. (T2

- 24) No meetings were held to discuss this issue during the

1994 elections. (T2 - 24)

11. The Lake County School Board never formally

considered the consolidation of Umatilla and Eustis high

schools. (Stipulation (6) The only time the issue was

mentioned was at a 1992 workshop session on facilities

funding. (Stipulation ¥6) At that time, Ms. Green suggested

consolidating Eustis High School and Umatilla High School as

an alternative to spending approximately $26 million needed to

upgrade facilities at those two schools. No support was

App. 8

expressed by other board members in attendance at the

workshop. (Stipulation {6)

12. In November of 1992, after the School Board workshop,

Sandra Green called a meeting of approximately 12 to 15

teachers, parents, and former students to discuss consolidation

of the Eustis and Umatilla high schools. (Stipulation (7) Also

at the meeting were representatives from South Lake High

School, a high school that had already been consolidated.

(Stipulation 7)

13. Paul Bryan, formerly a student of Sandra Green’s and

currently a resident of Umatilla, attended the meeting.

(Stipulation 8) Mr. Bryan opposed the consolidation of the

two schools. (Stipulation (8) Mr. Bryan stated that Sandra Green

appeared to be in favor of consolidation, but she did not state at

the meeting that she would pursue the issue after the meeting.

(Stipulation 8)

14. Teena Stoneking, another former student of Sandra

Green’s and a Umatilla resident, attended the meeting and

spoke in opposition to consolidation. (Stipulation {9) Ms.

Stoneking stated that Ms. Green appeared to favor

consolidation, but she did not hear Ms. Green state that she

would pursue the issue. (Stipulation (9)

15. Both Bryan and Stoneking said that they expected the

issue of consolidation to be discussed further in a public setting.

(Stipulation {10) After the meeting, they formed a group of

Umatilla residents to oppose the issue. (Stipulation (10) They

both stated that they never heard Sandra Green discuss the issue

again until Kyleen Fischer circulated the attached political

advertisement in her 1994 campaign for a seat on the school

board. (Stipulation 910)

a

App. 9

16. The political advertisement continued as follows:

DEMOCRAT GREEN STATED: “Green said...she personally

favored consolidation for Eustis and Umatilla.” (E.S.) (Exhibit

13) This statement was untrue. Although the advertisement

said, “DEMOCRAT GREEN STATED,” the advertisement

quoted the North Lake Outpost article and not Ms. Green. (T2

- 81) Ms. Green never made the statement quoted in the

advertisement. (T2 - 27, 80 - 81) The newspaper's reporter

paraphrased Ms. Green when she wrote, “Green said while she

personally favored consolidation for Eustis and Umatilla, and

the expanded curriculum it should bring, that it would

ultimately be up to the parents to decide whether to proceed

with the concept or not.” (Exhibit 23)

17. The language in the flyer also omitted the language that

qualified Ms. Green’s position on consolidating the high

schools without indicating that the qualifying language was

omitted, thus rendering the statement in the flyer misleading.

(T2 - 81, 83) This omission was material to the campaign.

Without the qualifying language, the statement implied that Ms.

Green would act on her own to bring about the consolidation of

Eustis and Umatilla high schools. Such a position would have

inflamed public opinion against her in light of the importance

to small communities such as Eustis and Umatilla of retaining

their local high schools.

18. Kyleen Fischer stated that she had reasonable grounds

to believe that Sandra Green favored the consolidation of the

Eustis and Umatilla high schools, as Sandra Green had stated in

1992. (Stipulation (11) Ms. Fischer based her statement on the

fact that she had no information that Sandra Green had changed

her stand on this issue. (Stipulation {1 1) However, Ms. Fischer

said that she never heard Ms. Green make a public statement

during the 1994 elections that she wanted to close Umatilla

App. 10

High School. (T2 - 78) Further, Ms. Fischer testified that she

never saw any campaign literature during the 1994 elections in

which Ms. Green said she wanted to close Umatilla High

School. (T2 - 78)

19. Sandra Green stated that the newspaper article that was

quoted in the political advertisement was two years old.

(Stipulation 12) Since !992, she never publicly sought or

indicated a subsequent desire or intent to close Umatilla High

School. (Stipulation 412)

20. Sandra Green stated in May of 1996, that she still

personally considered consolidation of two schools a good idea,

because it would allow for an expanded curriculum as well as

other benefits for students. (Stipulation 413) However, she also

stated that if she were a school board member, she would rely

on the input of her constituents on the issue. (Stipulation 13)

She still believes that it would ultimately be up to the parents

and students to decide the issue. (T2 - 17, 18)

Ill - The Radio Advertisement

A - The Broadcast

21. The Fischer campaign aired a political advertisement on

WKIQ radio station in Eustis the weekend before the election.

The advertisement was broadcast on several dates, possibly on

Friday, November 4, 1994; twice on Saturday, November 5,

1994, during the Florida State University football game; and

once on Monday, November 7, 1994, the day before the

election. (T2 - 31, 150, 158-59, 186)

App. ||

The advertisement stated as follows:

During the 1994 elections season here in Lake

County, we have seen many political deals.

There is one Republican School Board

candidate who refuses to make political deals.

Kyleen Fischer has refused to change her

position on building a new Eustis Middle

School. This position has cost her politically.

The NAACP has endorsed her opponent, Sandra

T. Green. Kyleen Fischer will not make

political deals with out children’s future. On

November 8, vote “No” on political deals. Vote

“Yes” for Kyleen Fischer, School Board. Paid

Republican Political Ad, Campaign Fund for

Kyleen Fischer. (Exhibit 14)

22. The single most important issue in the school board race

was the fate of the Eustis Middle School that was in a state of

disrepair. (T1 - 158, 169, 171) The Eustis Middle School,

formerly the all black Cartwight High School, was located in

and serviced the African-American community in Eustis. (T1 -

169) In the Spring of 1994, the Lake County School Board, by

a vote of three to two, decided not to build a new middle school,

but to repair the existing school. (TI - 169) The dissenting

members, one of whom was Sandra Green, wanted to build a

new school at a different location.

B - The Voter’s League, the NAACP, and Endorsements

23. In the 1994 elections, three of the five school board

seats were up for election. (T1 - 169) The African-American

community was very interested in retaining its majority on the

issue and in electing candidates who wanted to keep the Eustis

App. 12

Middle School at its present site. (Tl - 170) As a result, Tom

Poole, President of the Voter’s League of Lake County, became

actively involved in evaluating each candidate’s position on the

Eustis Middle School and providing that information to the

African-American community. (TI - 153)

24. The Voter’s League of Lake County is a political

committee that was formed in 1978 to encourage individuals in

the minority community to register and vote and to provide

education and guidance to the community on the position of

candidates on issues important to the minority community. (T]

- 153) Since 1978, it has been the practice of the League, on the

Thursday or Friday prior to each election, to mail to each

member of the African-American community in Lake County

a sample ballot marked with the names of the candidates

endorsed by the League. (T1 - 159) In the 1994 Lake County

School Board election, the endorsement of the League was

based exclusively on the candidate’s position on the Eustis

Middle School. (TI - 185)

25. The general procedure used by the League in selecting

candidates began with the League holding a preliminary

meeting of its directors who come from each of the

communities in Lake County. (TI - 162) The directors would

talk generally about each race and assign people to research

each candidate. (T1 - 160, 193-195) Researching each

candidate involved reading newspaper accounts about the

candidate, examining the candidate’s record, listening to

speeches, and reading campaign literature. (T1 - 161, 162)

26. The directors would meet again approximately a week

before the election and mark a sample ballot with their

selections. (Tl - 163) The ballot would be given to the area

directors who mailed the ballot to all minority voters in their

App. 13

home town. While no formal notice to candidates of an

endorsement was made by the Voter’s League, the endorsed

baliot was also mailed to the candidates on the Thursday or

Friday before the Tuesday election. (T1 - 163-164, 210 242)

27. The League would not make a public announcement of

its endorsements, other than the mailings, because it wanted to

avoid the possibility that the candidate who was not endorsed

would use it against the candidate who was. (TI - 165-166,

179, 232) Mr. Poole testified that residents in lake County know

that the sample ballot comes from the Voter’s League of Lake

County. (TI - 195, 211)

28. The Voter’s League of Lake County had been a

consistent supporter of Kyleen Fischer during her political

career. (T1 - 107) The League first supported Ms. Fischer when

she ran successfully for the school board in 1982. (TI - 158)

(Exhibit 3) The League also supported her in the 1994

Republican primaries for the District 5 school board seat. (T1

- 32) (Exhibit 8) Finally, the League actually selected Kyleen

Fischer over Sandra Green in the 1994 general election for the

School Board of Lake County, District 5. (Exhibit 16)

29. Tom Poole was president of the Tri-City branch of the

National Association for the Advancement of Colored People

(NAACP) from 1968 until 1994. (T1 - 151) The constitution of

the NAACP prohibits all of its branches from endorsing

candidates. (Tl - 153) (Exhibit 2) The Tri-City Branch of the

NAACP (which includes the school board district) did not

endorse either Sandra Green or Kyleen Fischer in the school

board race. (T1 - 99, 153; T2 - 135) (Exhibit 2)

30. Prior to the radio advertisement aired by the Kyleen

Fischer campaign, Mr. Poole had never seen any candidate

App. 14

advertise that the NAACP endorsed his candidacy for public

office. (T1 - 154-155, 250-251) Mr. Poole testified that the

radio advertisement is the first time in his experience in Lake

County politics that a candidate has asserted that the NAACP,

instead of the Voter’s League of Lake County, endorsed a

candidate. (Tl - 248) Ms. Green testified that she knew the

NAACP did not endorse candidates. (T1 - 99; T2 - 31-32, 35)

31. Mr. Poole testified that the reason why the Voter's

League of Lake County endorsed Kyleen Fischer over Sandra

Green was because Sandra Green was “deadly opposed” to the

Eustis Middle School staying at its present location. (T1 - 170)

Mr. Poole believed that there was no flexibility in Ms. Green’s

position; she was “solid” on the issue. (T1 - 172)

32. Further, Ms. Green had publicly taken a position against

leaving the school in its present location. (T1 - 170; T2 - 41)

While a member of the Lake County School Board, Ms. Green

had voted to move the school to a new site. (T1 - 170; T2 - 41)

(Exhibit 25) Ms. Green proposed establishing a magnet school

on the Eustis Middle School site. (T1 - 238-239) (Exhibit 25)

33. Kyleen Fischer, however, was viewed by the African-

American community as the swing vote on the issue of

relocating the Eustis Middle School. (T1 - 171, 233) Mr. Poole

spoke to Ms. Fischer early in the campaign and Ms. Fischer

said she was open on the issue. (T1 - 172, 222) Although as the

campaign progressed, Ms. Fischer indicated that she favored a

new Eustis Middle School, she never took a firm position on the

site of the new school before she aired the radio advertisement.

(TI - 173; T2 - 40, 108-110) Bob Green, the radio announcer

for WKIQ, said on the air the Monday before the election that

he had spoken to Ms. Fischer and while she said she favored a

new Eustis Middle School, she would remain open on the

. App. 15

location of the school, if elected. (T1 - 120)

34. Mr. Poole talked to Ms. Fischer during the last month

of the campaign, and he also said that she had told him that she

remained open on the issue of the location of the new school.

(T1 - 202-207) Ms. Fischer’s Ten Point Plan simply indicated

that if the school was moved to a different location, she favored

a vocational high school on the old site. (T1 - 204-205; T2 -

53-54) Her plan did not advocate building a new school at a

different site. (T1 - 205; T2 - 41) (Exhibit 12)

35. On the issue of the Eustis Middle School, Mr. Poole’s

position and the position of the Voter’s League of Lake County

was clearly more consistent with the position of Ms. Fischer

than with Ms. Green’s. (Tl - 170-175) Further, if the Eustis

Middle School was not going to remain at its present location,

Ms. Fischer’s alternative, to locate a vocational school at the

site, was more acceptable to Mr. Poole and the Africa-American

community than Ms. Green’s alternative, to locate a magnet

school at the site. (T1 - 174-175, 238-239)

36. Ms. Fischer testified that Ms. Green told he repeatedly

during the campaign that Mr. Poole for the Voter's League of

Lake County endorsed her. (T2 - 107-108) At a round table

discussion in mid-October of 1994, Ms. Green told Ms. Fischer

that Mr. Poole endorsed her. (T1 - 89) Ms. Fischer responded

by saying that she appreciated the endorsement. (TI - 89) She

went on to say that she would like to see that school stay in the

community as a vocational high school. (T1 - 89)

37. Ms. Green never solicited the endorsement of the

Voter’s League of Lake County during the campaign. (T2 - 49)

In fact, she never spoke with Mr. Poole about the Eustis Middle

School issue. (T2 - 36) She recognized that her position was

App. 16

contrary to the position of the League. (T2 - 49)

38. Ms. Green did not make any deals with the NAACP, the

League, or Mr. Poole. (T1- 184-187; T2 - 50) The statement in

the radio advertisement that Ms. Green had been endorsed by

the NAACP was false, a fact conceded by Ms. Fischer

(Respondent’s Proposed Findings of Fact 26)

C - The Poole — Philips Meeting and the Creation

of the Radio Advertisement

39. On Friday, November 4, 1996, Tom Poole and Ron

Phillips met outside the offices of the Lake Sentinel in Tavares.

(T1 - 176-182, 221-224, 249) (Exhibit 20) Ron Phillips asked

Tom Poole whether he was going to support Ms. Fischer in the

election. (Tl - 176-182, 221-224, 249) Mr. Poole asked Mr.

Phillips why he should support Ms. Fischer. (T1 - 176-182,

221-224, 249) Mr. Phillips gave Mr. Poole a summary of Ms.

Fischer’s strong points. (T1 - 176-182, 221-224, 249)

40. Mr. Poole then explained how important the Eustis

Middle School issue was and told Mr. Phillips that he and his

organization needed to know where Ms. Fischer stood on that

issue. (T1 - 176-182, 221-224, 249) Mr. Phillips waffled and

Mr. Poole replied that he knew where Sandra Green stood on

the issue. (Tl - 176-182, 221-224, 249) Mr. Phillips took that

statement to mean that Mr. Poole was going to support Sandra

Green. (Tl - 176-182, 221-224, 249) (Exhibit 22)

41. While Mr. Phillips also testified that Poole told him that

“we are going to go with the other lady (Green),” it is the

Commission’s finding, in light of the fact that Mr. Poole and

the Voter’s League had not yet made a formal decision, that this

statement is not credible. (Exhibit 22)

App. 17

42. Shortly after his conversation with Mr. Poole, Mr.

Phillips called Ms. Fischer to tell her about his conversation

with Mr. Poole. (T2 - 205) Both Ms. Fischer and Mr. Phillips

testified that he told Ms. Fischer that Mr. Poole said that the

NAACP was endorsing Sandra Green. (T2 - 180) However, for

the reasons set forth in Paragraph 41, the Commission finds that

the testimony of both Ms. Fischer and Mr. Phillips is not credible

on this point.

43. Mr. Phillips signed an affidavit indicating that he asked

Mr. Poole whether he had cut a deal with Ms. Green. (Exhibit

20) He further indicated in his affidavit that in response, Mr.

Poole smiled. (Exhibit 20) Mr. Poole denied any conversation

about a political deal. (T1 - 184-185) He said that he did not

make a deal with Ms. Green and that in his 28 years in Lake

County politics he had never made a political deal. (TI - 184-

185, 187) He also said that Mr. Phillips did not ask him whether

a deal was made. (T1-182)

44. Ms. Fisher testified that Mr. Phillips did not tell her that

Mr. Poole had made a deal with Ms. Green. (T2 - 112-113) Mr.

Phillips did not mention it when he called her shortly after his

conversation with Mr. Poole or when he met her at the radio

station to edit and record the radio advertisement. (T2 - 160-

161) Clearly no evidence of a political “deal” between Mr.

Poole and Ms. Green was communicated by Mr. Phillips to Ms.

Fischer.

45. Both Ms. Fischer and Mr. Phillips testified that they

were shocked when they mistakenly jumped to the conclusion

that Mr. Poole (and the Voter’s League) was going to support

Ms. Green. (T2 - 216) (Exhibit 20) Mr. Phillips felt that way

because it was his understanding that Ms. Green’s position on

the Eustis Middle School was diametrically opposed to Mr.

App. 18

Poole’s. (T2 - 216) Ms. Fischer was shocked because she

expected to get the endorsement of the Voter’s League. (T2 -

117) Although both Ms. Fischer and Mr. Phillips were surprised

and nonplused at the news of the “endorsement,” Ms. Fischer

aired the radio advertisement before taking any steps to verify

the “endorsement.” (T2 - 117-118)

46. During the telephone conversation with Ms. Fischer,

Mr. Phillips suggested that they go public on the issue. (T2 -

181-182) Mr. Phillips, therefore, wrote the advertisement, and

Ms. Fischer joined him at the radio station and edited and

helped record the radio advertisement. (T2 - 150-151, 160) The

Fischer campaign paid for the radio advertisement. (Exhibit 6)

47. When the political advertisement spoke of “political

deals,” one of the “deals” that Ms. Fischer was referring to was

a “deal” on the Eustis Middle School. (T2 - 97) Mr. Poole

testified that everyone in the community understood the radio

advertisement to mean that Ms. Green had made a political deal

on the Eustis Middle School with the NAACP to get its

endorsement. (T1 -245-246) No such deal had been made and

the Fischer campaign had no evidence pointing to such a deal.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The Commission has jurisdiction over the parties to and

the subject matter of this cause, pursuant to Sections 104.271

and 106.26, Florida Statutes.

2. The Respondent is charged with violating Section

104.271(2), Florida Statutes, which provides as follows:

Any candidate who, in a primary election or

other election, with actual malice makes or

App. 19

causes to be made any statement about an

opposing candidate that is false is guilty of a

violation of this code.

3. Therefore, to prove a violation of this section, the

Division must prove by clear and convincing evidence! the

following four elements: 1) The Respondent made or caused to

be made the statement at issue in the case. 2) The statements

were made about a candidate opposing the Respondent. 3) The

statements made about the opposing candidate were false. 4)

The Respondent made the statements with actual malice.

4. As to both the flyer and the radio advertisement, there is

no dispute that the first two elements are present. Both

advertisements were produced and authorized by Ms. Fischer

and both were explicitly aimed at her opponent, Ms. Green.

Ms. Fischer admitted at the hearing that she helped draft and

approved the flyer before it was mailed, and edited and helped

record the radio advertisement before it was aired. Ms. Fischer

also admitted, and her campaign treasurer’s reports show, that

she paid for both advertisements out of her campaign account.

Both advertisements mentioned Ms. Green specifically and

made factual assertions about Ms. Green’s activities in order to

sway voters to support Ms. Fischer in the campaign.

5. The evidence shows that the statements contained in the

flyer and the radio advertisement were false and misleading. As

a necessary corollary to the requirement that the statements be

false, they must also be derogatory, defamatory, or otherwise

be actionable as knowing misrepresentations of an opposing

candidate’s positions that are intended to result in damage to the

‘Dep't of Banking and Finance v. Osborne Stern and Co., 670

So. 2d 933 (Fla. 1996); Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc., 418 U.S. 323 (1974).

oe

App. 20

candidate’s electoral prospects. Cf. State v. Petersilie, 432 S.E.

2d 832, 839 (N.C. 1993).

6. In determining whether the statements at issue herein are

damaging or derogatory, it is necessary to analyze both the

overall impact of and the implications contained in the

statements. Cf. Jones v. American Broadcasting Companies,

Inc., 694 F. Supp. 1542, 1551-1554 (M.D. Fla. 1988), aff’d

(after remand), 961 F. 2d 1546 (1 Ith Cir. 1990).

7. In the context of Section 104.271(2), Florida Statutes, it

is Clear, at the very least, that a false statement made about a

candidate is actionable is such a statement damages the

candidate by attributing a position to the candidate that is false.

Clearly, in the midst of a campaign nothing is more damaging

to a candidate than to have an opposing candidate make false

assertions, purportedly based upon facts, which tie a candidate

to positions that are unpopular with the electorate.

8. An examination of the flyer shows that it contained

several false statements. During the 1994 elections, Ms. Green

did not “want to close Umatilla High School,” nor was she

“examining the possibility of consolidating Umatilla and Eustis

High Schools.” Ms. Fischer testified that her campaign workers

obtained material used to provide the statements in the flyer

from a newspaper article in the North Lake Outpost printed two

years before the election. Although Ms. Fischer did not hear

Ms. Green make any statement or see her circulate any

campaign material about the consolidation of Eustis and

Umatilla high schools in the 1994 elections, Ms. Fischer

worded the statements in the flyer in the present tense.

10. Ms. Green testified that she never wanted to close

Umatilla High School, only to consolidate it with Eustis High

~ App. 21

School. Ms.Green further testified that the only action she took

regarding the consolidation of Eustis and Umatilla high schools

was to call a meeting of teachers, parents, and former students

to discuss the issue a full two years before the election. Ms.

Green never sought or indicated a desire or intent to consolidate

Umatilla and Eustis high schools after that meeting. In fact, she

voted to build a several million dollar media center at Umatilla

High School, further showing her intent not to close or

consolidate the school. Therefore, these two statements made

by Ms. Fischer in the campaign flyer were false.

11. However, the most egregious of the false statements in

the flyer was the statement in the middle of the inside page that

in large letters read: DEMOCRAT GREEN STATED: “Green

said...she personally favored consolidation for Eustis and

Umatilla.” Green never made that statement and she testified

that was not her position in the 1994 elections. The newspaper

article from which Ms. Fischer obtained her information did not

contain any quotations from Ms. Green. Although the flyer

used the words: “DEMOCRAT GREEN STATED,” Ms.

Fischer actually quoted the reporter who wrote the newspaper

article and not Ms. Green.

12. Further, the language quoted from the newspaper article

was substantially altered to change its meaning. The statement

that Ms. Green favored consolidation was qualified by the

following language in the newspaper article at the end of the

language quoted in the flyer: “that it would be ultimately up to

the parents to decide whether to proceed with the concept or

not.”

13. The impact of the deletion of the qualifying language is

amplified by the fact that the flyer was a targeted mail piece for

the Umatilla area and was intended to tar Ms. Green with

App. 22

actively espousing a position that, if implemented, would result

in a small rural community losing its high school. The failure

to include the qualifying language or to indicate that language

was omitted substantially changed the meaning of the statement

and would lead a reader to the conclusion that Ms. Green had

announced a firmly held position to vote to consolidate the two

high schools.

14. It takes no special knowledge to see that the attribution

to Ms. Green of a position that would result in the substantial

diminution of the Umatilla community’s identity through the

closure of its own high school would not have endeared her to

the Umatilla electorate. It is obvious that the flyer was intended

to damage Ms. Green’s campaign in just this way. In light of

the plain language of Section 104.271(2), Florida Statutes,

clearly just such a tactic is intended to be prohibited by the

statute, if the statements are false and disseminated with actual

malice.

15. The radio advertisement also contained false statements.

As admitted by Ms. Fischer in her Proposed Final Order, the

NAACP does not endorse candidates running for public office.

The constitution of the NAACP prohibits all branches of the

organization from endorsing candidates. Mr. Poole, the

president of the Tri-City Branch of the NAACP from 1968 to

1994, testified that the organization’s’s constitutional

prohibition is adhered to by the Tri-City Branch. He further

testified that it was the Voter’s League of Lake County and not

the NAACP that made endorsements. In fact, the Voter’s

League endorsed Ms. Fischer and not Ms. Green.

16. The radio advertisement, taken as a whole, falsely

implied that Ms. Green made a deal with the NAACP on the

Eustis Middle School to obtain its endorsement. As Mr. Poole

App. 23

testified, everyone in the community understood the radio

advertisement to mean that Ms. Green had made a political deal

on the Eustis Middle School with the NAACP to get its

endorsement. No such deal, however, had ever been made.

17. The law does not require that Ms. Fischer make an

explicit statement that Ms. Green had made a political “deal” in

order for her advertisement to make the defamatory assertion

that Ms. Green lacked integrity. What is required, is that the

statement necessarily results in that conclusion and that the

conclusion is false, because the “facts” upon which it is based

are false.3

18. Since Section 104.271, Florida Statutes, regulates

political speech, it must be construed in accordance with the

United States Supreme Court’s pronouncements concerning the

? Once again, in the context of this particular campaign Green

had publicly adopted a hard and fast stand which was contrary to the

NAACP’s (Voter’s League's) position on the Eustis Middle School issue.

Thus, such an assertion of a political “deal” could only be considered to

be an attempt by Fischer to cast aspersions upon the integrity and

character of Green by implying that Green had not stuck to her

announced position but had reversed field in order to gain support.

* The advertisement’s underpinnings are grounded in concrete

real world assertions of fact—the NAACP endorsement, the Eustis Middle

School issue and the implied volte-face on the part of Green to get the

endorsement. Thus, the context of the radio advertisement shows that its

assertions are not “imaginative expressions or rhetorical hyperbole” and

are not in the realm of “faise opinion” but are rather statements of

purported fact and thus are within the ambit of unprotected speech if they

are false and made with actual malice. Cf. Milkovich v. Lorain Journal

Co., 497 U.S. 1, 20-21, 110 S. Ct. 2695, 2706-2707 (1990), Pullam vy.

Johnson, 647 So. 2d 254, 256-258 (Fla. Ist DCA 1994) rev, den. 654 So.

2d 919 (Fla. 1995).

App. 24

protection afforded this type of speech by the First Amendment

to the United States Constitution.

19. In 1964, the Supreme Court in the case of the New York

Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254 (1964), established the

standard of what must be shown before a public figure can

recover damages for a defamatory falsehood relating to his

official conduct. New York Times v. Sullivan and it’s progeny,

therefore, must be followed in determining whether the facts of

this case meet the “actual malice” standard required by the

statute and the First Amendment. “Actual malice” requires a

showing that the Respondent made the false statements with

knowledge that the statements were false or with reckless

disregard of whether they were true or false. Id. at 280.

20. The evidence shows that at the time Ms. Fischer mailed

the flyer on consolidation to the Umatilla area one week before

the election, she knew the false statements made in the flyer

were, in fact, false. As Ms. Fischer testified, the flyer was

based on the one newspaper article from the North Lake

Outpost published in 1992. Ms. Fischer admitted that during

the 1994 campaign, she had not heard Ms. Green make

statements about the consolidation issue and she had not seen

any other written material from the newspaper, Ms. Green, or

the Lake County School Board on the issue. Therefore, when

Ms. Fischer published the flyer on consolidation, she knew the

truth and elected to disregard it.

21. As mentioned above, the false statement in the

*In Sullivan, the police commissioner of Montgomery, Alabama

sued certain civil rights and the newspaper for inaccuracies in a

newspaper advertisement soliciting donations to the civil rights

movement.

Danaea ne er ean orate a

App. 25

\

consolidation flyer that allegedly quoted Ms. Green was

particularly egregious. The Supreme Court has recognized that

quotation marks around a statement add authority to that

statement. In Mason v. New Yorker Magazine,Inc., 501 U.S.

496, 511 (1991), the Supreme Court held:

In general, quotation marks around a passage

indicate to the reader that the passage

reproduces the speaker’s words verbatim. They

inform the reader that he or she is reading the

statement of the speaker, not a paraphrase or

other indirect interpretation by an author. By

providing this information, quotations add

authority to the statement and credibility to the

author’s work. Quotations allow the reader to

form his or her own conclusions and to assess

the conclusions of the author, instead of relying

upon the author’s characterization of her

subject.

22. Because quotation marks may be a devastating

instrument for conveying false meaning, the Supreme Court

concluded that the deliberate alteration of the words spoken by

another may equate with knowledge of the falsity of the

statement, if the alteration results in a material change in the

meaning conveyed by the quoted statement and the material

change defames or harms the alleged speaker. Id. at 517-520.

23. Here, Ms. Fischer attributed to Ms. Green a statement

that was never made by Ms. Green. The language came from a

newspaper article that did not attach quotation marks to any

statement of Ms. Green and was at best an asserted paraphrase

of Ms. Green by the reporter who wrote the newspaper article.

Nevertheless, Ms. Fischer, in her flyer, attributed the actual

App. 26

statement to Ms. Green herself by using quotation marks around

the paraphrased material and by introducing the quoted

language with the salutation — DEMOCRAT GREEN

STATED.

24. Also, Ms. Fischer changed the meaning of the

paraphrased material by omitting critical qualifying language

used in the newspaper article and by leading the reader to

believe that any language omitted from the statement did not

relate to Ms. Green’s position on the consolidation issue. Ms.

Fischer’s conduct was malicious, because she knew the truth

and elected to disregard it.

25. Ms. Fischer’s false statements made in her radio

advertisement were also made with “actual malice.” However,

in this case, the advertisement was made with reckless disregard

of whether the statements were true or false, rather than with

actual knowledge that they were false.

26. The Court has explained the parameters of the “reckless

disregard” portion of the definition of “actual malice.” In

Garrison v. Louisiana, 379 U.S. 64, 74 (1964),5 the Court held

that “only those false statements made with the high degree of

awareness of their probable falsity ...may be the subject of

either civil or criminal sanctions.” The Court warned that

“calculated falsehoods” do not enjoy constitutional protection.

Id. In St. Amant v. Thompson, 88 S. Ct. 1323, 1325 (1968),® the

* In Garrison, the New Orleans’ district attorney was convicted

pursuant to Louisiana’s criminal defamation statute, based on his

criticism of the local judiciary at a press conference.

* In St. Amant, a deputy sheriff sued a candidate for public

office, claiming that the candidate's remarks about him in a televised

App. 27

Supreme Court held that reckless disregard also means that

“{t]here must be sufficient evidence to permit the conclusion

that the defendant in fact entertained serious doubts as to the

truth of his publication. Publishing with such doubts shows

reckless disregard for truth or falsity and demonstrates actual

malice.”

27. Finding “actual malice” requires proof of the speaker’s

state of mind at the time that she circulated the false statement,

Bose Corp. v. Consumers Union, 466 U.S. 485, 498, (1984).

The speaker’s state of mind may be proved either through direct

evidence or circumstantial evidence. St. Amant, supra. Simple

professions of good faith by the speaker are unpersuasive.

Id. In determining whether the speaker had a high degree of

awareness of the probable falsity of that statements contained

in the political advertisement or whether she entertained serious

doubts as to their truth, it is appropriate to look at the

information the speaker had available to her at the time she

spoke. McFarlane v. Sheridan Square Press, Inc., 91 F.3d 1501

(D.C. Cir 1996).

28. Although Ms. Fischer testified at hearing that she did

not know the difference between the NAACP and the Voter’s

League of Lake County when she aired the radio advertisement,

the evidence shows that her statement is not credible. Ms.

Fischer is a successful and actively involved candidate in Lake

County politics and has been for over 15 years. For virtually

the same time period, beginning in 1978, the League also has

been actively involved in Lake County, endorsing candidates

and distributing sample ballots to the minority community.

speech imputed gross misconduct to him.

App. 28

29. In addition, Ms. Fischer was involved with the Tri-City

Branch of the NAACP, at least to the extent of attending its

annual Pass the Torch Banquet. In contrast to the League, the

NAACP has never endorsed a candidate. In fact, it is prohibited

by the NAACP constitution from doing so. Mr. Poole testified

that Ms. Fischer’s advertisement was the first time any

candidate in Lake County has said that the NAACP endorses

candidates.

30. Ms. Green, with less pclitical experience than Ms.

Fischer, knew that it was the League and not the NAACP that

endorsed candidates. Ms. Green testified to those facts at the

hearing, but she also made the same statement when she called

WKiQ the Monday before the election challenging the

truthfulness of the radio advertisement. Ms. Green told the

commentator, Bob Green, that she knew it was not the policy of

the NAACP to endorse candidates. She also said that a letter

had gone out from the League indicating that it endorsed

Ms. Fischer in the primary election.

31. Considering these facts, the Commission concludes that

Ms. Fischer would have had obvious reasons to doubt any

report from Ron Phillips, even if it had occurred, that the

NAACP had endorsed a candidate in the Lake County School

Board race. In addition, Ms. Fischer would have had obvious

reasons to doubt that Ms. Green was the candidate endorsed.

32. As indicated above, during her political career, Ms.

Fischer had enjoyed the consistent support of the Voter’s

League of Lake County. The League endorsed her for the first

time in her 1982 race for the school board. The League also

endorsed her in both primary elections in the 1994 race and Ms.

Fischer knew that she had been endorsed by the League in the

primaries. Ms. Fischer acknowledged that on many occasions

App. 29

during the campaign that she was told by Ms. Green that the

Voter’s League endorsed her. One occasion in mid-October

1994, Ms. Fischer even stated her appreciation for the

endorsement.

33. Another important factor in determining whether Ms.

Fischer entertained serious doubts about whether the NAACP

had endorsed Ms. Green, is the candidates’ positions on the fate

of the Eustis Middle School. Both candidates knew that the

endorsement of the Voter’s League of Lake County was going

to be based on the single, most important issue in the campaign

— whether to relocate or repair the Eustis Middle School. Ms.

Fischer’s position was much closer to the position of the

League than was Ms. Green’s. While Ms. Green voted at a

school board meeting to build a new Eustis Middle School at a

different site, Ms. Fischer never took a firm position on that

issue during the campaign, and in October of 1994, she

communicated this fact to Mr. Poole.

34. The evidence also shows that Ms. Fischer actively

solicited the endorsement and support of the Voter’s League of

Lake County, while Ms. Green testified that she recognized the

futility of seeking the endorsement and, therefore, made no

effort to do so. As the president of the League, Mr. Poole’s

testimony on this question is persuasive. He said that Ms.

Green was, as he put it, “deadly opposed” to keeping the Eustis

Middle School at its present location; she was “solid” on the

issue. Mr. Poole also said that the community viewed Ms.

Fischer as the swing vote on this issue while Ms. Green had

already taken a position publicly by her vote on the school

board.

35. In further support of the Commission’s conclusion that

Ms. Fischer doubted the truth of the news that the NAACP was

App. 30

endorsing Sandra Green was her reaction when she stated that

she became “aware” of this “fact.” Although both Ms. Fischer

and Mr. Zhillips seriously doubted the truth of the

“endorsement”-and were “shocked” that it had occurred, Ms.

Fischer did not take any steps to verify the accuracy of Mr.

Phillip’s report.’

36. Ms. Fischer never explained upon what facts she based

her statement made in the radio advertisement concerning

Sandra Green being involved in “political deals.” Ms. Fischer

testified that Mr. Phillips never mentioned anything to her about

a political deal. He never mentioned it when they had their

telephone conversation shortly after Mr. Phillips’ conversation

with Mr. Poole; he never mentioned it when Ms. Fischer met

him later at the radio station to edit and record the

advertisement. The Commission, therefore, finds Ms. Fischer’s

statement in her radio advertisement that Green was making

deals in return for the supposed NAACP endorsement, is either

a fabrication without any basis in fact, or that it was so

inherently improbable as to make its dissemination reckless.

See St. Amant, supra.8

” Although the failure to investigate before publishing not

sufficient to establish reckless disregard, purposeful avoidance of the

truth may be. Harte-Hanks Communication, Inc. v. Connaughton, 491

U.S. 657 (1989).

* The Supreme Court in St. Amant identified three types of

circumstantial evidence that would likely support a finding of actual

malice: They are evidence establishing (1) “where the story was

fabricated,” (2) “when the publisher’s allegations are so inherently

improbable that only a reckless man would put [it] in circulation,” or (3)

“where there are obviously reasons to doubt the veracity of the informant

or the accuracy of his reports.” St. Amant v. Thompson, 390 U.S. at 732.

App. 31

37. The stated or implied factual premise for the defamatory

allegation that Ms. Green had made “political deals” was that

such had been made in return for the endorsement of the

NAACP. Since that “fact” was untrue and Ms. Fischer was

aware of the great likelihood of its untruthfulness, then it is

apparent that the act of disseminating the radio advertisement,

accusing Ms. Green of entering into a non-existent political deal

in return for a non-existent endorsement, occurred with actual

malice.

CONCLUSION

Based upon the foregoing facts and conclusions of law, the

Florida Elections Commission finds that the Respondent

violated Section 104.271(2), Florida Statutes, on two occasions

by disseminating false statements about an opposing candidate

with actual malice. Therefore, it is

ORDERED that the Respondent shall remit a civil penalty

in the amount of $5500 based upon a fine of $2500 for the

improper flyer and $3000 for the radio advertisement. The civil

penalty shall be paid to the Florida Elections Commission,

Room 2002, The Capitol. Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0250,

within 30 days of the date this Final Order is received by the

Respondent.

DONE AND ENTERED by the Florida Elections

Commission and filed with the Clerk of the Commission on

January 3, 1997, in Tallahassee, Florida.

/S/

Carlso Alvarez, Chairman

Florida Elections Commission

Room 2002, The Capitol

Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0250

App. 32

Copies furnished to:

John Rimes, Assistant Attorney General

Barbara M. Linthicum, Assistant General Counsel

Sandra T. Green, Complainant

Chris Haughee, Attorney for Respondent

Kyleen Fischer, Respondent (certified mail)

Emogene W. Stegall, Filing Officer

App. 33

STATE OF FLORIDA

FLORIDA ELECTIONS COMMISSION

DIVISION OF ELECTIONS,

Petitioner/Appellee,

VS. Case No. FEC 94-122

F.O. No. DOSFEC 96-88

KYLEEN FISCHER,

Respondent/Appellant.

/

NOTICE OF APPEAL

Notice is given that KYLEEN FISCHER,

Appellant/Respondent, appeals to the First District Court of

Appeal, the order of the State of Florida Elections Commission

rendered on January 3, 1997. The nature of the order is a Final

Order of the Florida Elections Commission finding that Kyleen

Fischer violated Section 104.271(2), Florida Statutes, on two

occasions by disseminating false statements about an opposing

candidate with actual malice. -

A conformed copy of the Final Order is attached to this

Notice of Appeal.

Respectfully submitted this 3rd day of February, 1997,

/S/

CHRIS HAUGHEE

Florida Bar #242985

MARK HERRON

Florida Bar #199737

App. 34 —

Akerman, Senterfitt & Eidson, P.A.

216 South Monroe Street, Suite 200

Post Office Box 10555

Tallahassee, Florida 32302-2555

(904) 222-3471

Counsel for Respondent

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I HEREBY CERTIFY that a true and correct copy of the

foregoing has been furnished by hand delivery to Barbara

Linthicum, Assistant General Counsel, Division of Elections,

Room 2002, The Capitol, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0250, this

3rd day of February, 1997.

/S/

CHRIS HAUGHEE

App. 35

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL

FIRST DISTRICT, STATE OF FLORIDA

NOT FINAL UNTIL TIMES EXPIRES TO

FILE MOTION FOR REHEARING AND

DISPOSITION THEREOF IF FILED.

KYLEEN FISCHER

Appellant,

Vv. CASE NO.: 97-435

DIVISION OF ELECTIONS,

Appellee.

/

Opinion filed January 23, 1998.

An appeal from an order of the Florida Elections Commission.

Christopher R. Haughee and Mark Herron of Akerman,

Senterfitt & Eidson, P.A., Tallahassee, for Appellant.

Robert A. Butterworth, Attorney General; John J. Rimes, III,

Assistant Attorney General, Tallahassee, for Appellee.

PER CURIAM

AFFIRMED.

BENTON, VAN NORTWICK AND PADOVANO, JJ.,

CONCUR.

App. 36

CORRECTED COPY 2/27/98

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL

FIRST DISTRICT, STATE OF FLORIDA

NOT FINAL UNTIL TIMES EXPIRES TO

FILE MOTION FOR REHEARING AND

DISPOSITION THEREOF IF FILED.

KYLEEN FISCHER,

Appellant,

V. CASE NO.: 97-435

DIVISION OF ELECTIONS,

Appellee.

/

Opinion filed January 23, 1998.

An appeal from an order of the Florida Elections Commission.

Christopher R. Haughee and Mark Herron on Akerman,

Senterfitt & Eidson, P.A., Tallahassee, for Appellant.

Robert A. Butterworth, Attorney General; John J. Rimes, III,

Assistant Attorney General, Tallahassee, for Appellee.

PER CURIAM

AFFIRMED.

VAN NORTWICK AND PADOVANO, JJ., CONCUR AND

BENTON, J., DISSENTS without opinion.

MEELIS EOE T BORE Reh,

App. 37

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL

FIRST DISTRICT, STATE OF FLORIDA

KYLEEN FISCHER,

Appellant,

v. CASE NO.: 97-435

DIVISION OF ELECTION,

Appellee.

/

MOTION FOR REHEARING OR CLARIFICATION

This Motion for Rehearing or Clarification is submitted

pursuant to Rule 9.330, Florida Rules of Civil Procedure.

Rule 9.330(a), Florida Rules of Civil Procedure, requires

that “a motion for rehearing or clarification shall state with

particularity the points of law or fact that the court has

overlooked or misapprehended.” Because of the Court’s “per

curium affirmed” order, this is a practical impossibility without

running afoul of the Rule’s requirement that “[t]he motion shall

not re-argue the merits of the court’s order.” Rule 9.330(a),

Florida Rules of Civil Procedure.

The challenge to Section 104.271(1), Fla. Stat., raised by

Appellant’s appeal is a question of first impression and raises

significant First Amendment issues. “A brief opinion in such

cases, while understandably of little consolation to the

unsuccessful appellant, would at least assuage the thought that

the point had been overlooked.” Brastrom v. Grider, 215 So. 2d

501 (Fla. 1968).

App. 38

In Williams v. State, 627 So. 2d 524 (Fla. Ist DCA 1993),

this Court granted a motion for clarification as to the basis of a

“per curium affirmed” decision, apparently concluding that a

Statement of its basis was significant in that case.

Determination of First Amendment rights can be no less

significant.

Dated this 9th day of February, 1998.

Respectfully submitted,

/S/

MARK HERRON, Esquire

MARK HERRON, P.A.

216 South Monroe Street Suite 200

Tallahassee, FL 32301

Florida Bar No. 199737

(850) 567-4828

and

CHRISTOPHER R. HAUGHEE

Florida Bar No. 242985

AKERMAN, SENTERFITT &

EIDSON, P.A.

216 South Monroe Street, Suite 200

Post Office Box 10555

Tallahassee, Florida 32302-2555

Telephone: 850-222-3471

Facsimile: 850-222-8628

Counsel for Appellant

KYLEEN FISCHER

App. 39

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

E I HEREBY CERTIFY that a true and correct copy of the

foregoing was furnished by United States mail to BARBARA

LINTHICUM, Esquire, Executive Director, Florida Elections

‘ Commission, Room 2002, The Capitol, Tallahassee, FL

32399-0250; and ROBERT A. BUTTERWORTH, Attorney

: General, and JOHN H. RIMES, III, Assistant Attorney General,

1 Office of the Attorney General, PL-01, The Capitol,

Tallahassee, FL 32399-1050 _ this 9th day of February, 1998.

| /S/

; MARK HERRON

App. 40

DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL, FIRST DISTRICT

Tallahassee, Florida 32399

Telephone No. (90)488-6151

March 3, 1998

CASE NO. 97-00435

L.T. CASE NO. FEC 94-122

Kyleen Fischer _ v. Division of Elections

Appellants(s), Appellee(s).

BY ORDER OF THE COURT:

Motion for rehearing or clarification, filed February 9, 1998,

is DENIED.

VAN NORTWICK AND PODAVANO, JJ., concur.

BENTON, J., dissents.

| HEREBY CERTIFY that the foregoing is (a true copy of) the

original court order,

Jon S. Wheeler, Clerk

By: /S/

Deputy Clerk

Copies:

Christopher R. Haughee Mark Herron

Barbara Linthicum John R. Rimes, III

App. 41

CONSTITUTION OF THE STATE OF FLORIDA

Article V

SECTION 3. a State statute or a provision

Supreme court.— of the state constitution.

(a) ORGANIZATION.—

The supreme court shall

consist of seven justices,

each appellate district shall

have at least one justice

elected or appointed from

the district to the supreme

court who is a resident of the

district at the time of his

original appointment or

election. Five justices shall

constitute a quorum. the

concurrence of four justices

shall be necessary to a

decision. When recusals for

cause would prohibit the

court from convening

because of the requirements

of this section, judges

assigned to temporary duty

may be substituted for

justices.

(b) JURISDICTION.—

The supreme court:

(1) Shall hear appeals

from final judgments of

trial courts imposing the

death penalty and from

decisions of district courts

of appeal declaring invalid

(2) When provided by

general law, shall hear

appeals from final

judgments entered in

proceedings for the

validation of bonds or

certificates of indebted ness

and shall review action of

Statewide agencies relating

to rates or service of

utilities providing electric,

gas, or telephone service.

(3) May review any

decision of a district court

of appeal that expressly

declares valid a state

Statute, or that expressly

construes a provision of the

state or federal constitution,

or that expressly affects a

class of constitutional or

state officers, or that

expressly and directly

conflicts with a decision of

another district court of

appeal or of the supreme

court on the same question

of law.

(4) May review any

decision of a district court

aaa aaaaa aaa aaa aaa iil 6

App. 42

of appeal that passes upon a

question certified by it to be

of great public importance,

or that is certified by it to

be in direct conflict with a

decision of another district

court of appeal.

(5) May review any order

or judgement of a trial court

certified by the district

court of appeal in which an

appeal is pending to be of

great public importance, or

to have a great effect on the

proper administration of

justice throughout the state,

and certified to require

immediate resolution by the

supreme court.

(6) May review a question

of law certified by the

Supreme Court of the

United States or a United

States Court of Appeals

which is determinative of

the cause and for which

there is no controlling

precedent of the supreme

court of Florida.

(7) May issue writs of

prohibition to courts and all

writs necessary to the

complete exercise of its

jurisdiction.

(8) May issue writs of

mandamus and quo

warranto to state officers

and state agencies.

(9) May, or any justice

may, issue writs of habeas

corpus returnable before the

supreme court or any

justice, a district court of

appeal or any judge thereof,

or any circuit judge.

(10) Shall, when requested

by the attorney general

pursuant to the provisions of

Section 10 of Article IV,

render an advisory opinion

of the justices, addressing

issues as provided by

general law.

(c) CLERK AND

MARSHAL.— The

supreme court shall appoint

a clerk and a marshal who

shall hold office during the

pleasure of the court and

perform such duties as the

court directs. Their

compensation shall be fixed

by general law. the marshal

shall have the power to

execute the process of the

court throughout the state,

and in any county may

deputize the sheriff or a

eT:

(0b CARIES SOD ep BET PP RENE I AEE 8 AS LENE RA A tt

App. 43

deputy sheriff for such-

purpose.

History.—SJ.R 52-D. 1971. adopted

1972: Am. CS for SJ.R's 49. 81. 1976.

adopted 1976. Am. SJ.R 20-C. 1979.

adopted 1980. Am HJ.R. 71. 1986.

adopted 1986.

App. 44

STATE OF FLORIDA

FLORIDA ELECTIONS COMMISSION

DIVISION OF ELECTIONS,

Petitioner,

VS.

CASE NO. FEC 94-122

K YLEEN FISCHER,

Respondent.

/

RESPONDENT’ P D FI

Pursuant to notice, the above matter was heard before the

Florida Elections Commission in Tallahassee, Florida on June

6, 1996 and in Orlando, Florida on August 2, 1996.

APPEARANCES

For Petitioner: Barbara Linthicum, Esquire

Florida Elections Commission

The Capitol, Room 2002

Tallahassee, Florida 32399-1007

For Respondent: Christopher R. Haughee, Esquire

Akerman, Senterfitt & Eidson, P.A.

216 South Monroe Street, Suite 200

Tallahassee, Florida 32301

App. 45

STATEMENT OF THE ISSUE

The issue to be resolved in this proceeding is whether Kyleen

Fischer violated Section 104.271(2), FS., as alleged in the Order

of Probable Cause issued by the Florida Elections Commission

on February 9, 1996.

PRELIMINARY STATEMENT

This action arose upon the filing of a sworn complaint

against the Respondent with the Division of Elections. The

Division of Elections conducted an investigation and found no

probable cause existed to believe Ms. Fischer had violated

Section 104.271(2), F.S. The Complainant timely appealed the

Division’s finding to the Florida Elections Commission. The

Commission after a hearing and consideration of the Division’s

Statement of Findings, documents submitted by the

Complainant, video and audio tapes and the arguments of the

Division and the Complainant, found there was probable cause

to believe that Ms. Fischer had violated Section 104.271(2),

F.S., in relation to two separate campaign advertisements. The

Commission issued an Order of Probable Cause on February 9,

1996 informing Respondent of her right to a hearing.

Respondent timely requested a formal hearing and further

requested that the matter be referred to the Division of

Administrative Hearings for hearing. After the filing of a

motion and hearing, the request to refer the matter to the Division

of Administrative Hearings was denied. Thereafter the matter

was set for formal hearing before the full Commission.

The cause came on for hearing as noticed. Petitioner

presented the testimony of David S. Bradford, T. H. “Tom”

Poole, Sr., Sandra T. Green, and Kyleen Fischer.

- App. 46

The Respondent presented the testimony of Ron Phillips.

The Petitioner offered exhibits 1-17, 20, 22-24 which were

admitted into evidence without objection. Petitioner offered

exhibit 25, a composite exhibit, which was admitted into

evidence over objection. One exhibit was offered on behalf of

Respondent. :

The parties presented a Stipulation related to one of the

campaign advertisements which was accepted by the

Commission.

Two separately numbered transcripts, one from each hearing

site, were issued. References to the transcript(s) will be

identified as I-T {indicating the transcript from the

Tallahassee hearing} and II-T_____ [indicating the transcript

from the Orlando hearing] followed by the appropriate page

number(s). References to the Petitioner’s exhibits will be

identified as P. Ex. followed by the appropriate number.

References to the Respondent’s exhibit will be identified as R.

Ex. |. References to the joint stipulation will be identified as

Stipulation.

FINDINGS OF FACT

GENERAL

1. Kyleen Fischer was the Republican candidate for the Lake

County School Board, District 5 seat, in the 1994 general

election. She had primary opponents in the first and second

primaries. (II-T32-34) Ms. Fischer previously served as a

School Board member from 1982 to 1986. She was defeated

for reelection in 1986. (II-T104)

App. 47

2. Sandra Green was the Democratic candidate for the Lake

County School Board, District 5 seat, in the 1994 general

election. Ms. Green was the incumbent, having been initially

elected to the Board in 1990, when she ran as a Republican

(Exhibit 15). She had no primary opponents in 1994. (II-T31)

3. The Fischer campaign was run informally from Ms.

Fischer’s house with a volunteer staff consisting of her daughter

Leah; a friend, Judy Susie Farley, who served as campaign

manager; Ron Phillips, a family friend who served as

adviser/consultant; and other family members and friends

assisting. (II-T112, 142-143, 168)

4. During the campaign, Ms. Fischer developed a written

Ten Point Education Platform to provide a definitive statement

of her position on various issues. No other candidate had such

a written platform, and Ms. Fischer’s platform served to

distinguish her from other candidates. (II-T143, 233) The

platform was distributed by mail and as a handout during the

general election campaign. (II-T143-144; P. Ex. 11, 12)

THE FLIER

5. During the 1994 general election campaign, the Kyleen

Fischer campaign produced a political advertisement in a

mailing flier format (hereinafter referred to as “the flier”).

Kyleen Fischer reviewed and approved the flier prior to it being

circulated. (II-T76-77; P. Ex. 13)

6. The flier dealt with the issue of the possible consolidation

of Eustis High School and Umatilla High School, and was

mailed to residents in Umatilla, a community of approximately

2,200 people. (II-T145, 149, 153; P. Ex. 13)

ia i Fi ia aa

App. 48

7. The consolidation issue had been brought to the attention

of the campaign by Holly Newby, editor of The North Lake

Outpost, a weekly newspaper circulated in the Umatilla area,

as an issue of current concern to the residents of Umatilla. Local

resident, Paul Bryan, a neighbor of Ms. Fischer, also shared that

concern with the campaign. Leah Fischer and Holly Newby

researched past issues of The North Lake Outpost and found the

only article on the issue in the November 26, 1992 edition.

(11-T77, 230; P. Ex. 23; Stipulation)

8. Based on the November 26, 1992 article, Leah Fischer,

Ron Phillips and Kyleen Fischer participated in the preparation

of the design, layout and copy of the flier. (II-T78, 169;

Stipulation)

9. The flier production, printing and postage was paid for

by the Fischer campaign. (Stipulation; P. Ex. 6)

10. The following statements contained in the flier are

alleged to be violations of §104.271(2), FS.:

a. One school board candidate wants to close Umatilla

High School. (II-T19-20; P. Ex. 13)

b. A group of parents and teachers from Eustis and

Umatilla, under the guidance of school board

member Sandra Green are examining the possibility

of consolidating Umatilla and Eustis High Schools.

(II-T23-24; P. Ex. 13)

“ “Green said ... she personally favored consolidation

for Eustis and Umatilla.” (II-T24-25; P. Ex. 13)

11. The flier consisted of a 8 1/2" x 11" piece of paper

App. 49

folded in half. The front mailing label side contains the

statement noted in paragraph 10.a. above. The top half of the

inside flap consists primarily of excerpts from the article in The

North Lake Outpost on November 26, 1992. The masthead of

the newspaper and the date of the article are clearly displayed.

The statements noted in paragraphs 10.b. and 10.c. above are

set forth below the masthead. The statement noted in paragraph

10.c. above is contained in a box and the statement is clearly

attributed to “The North Lake Outpost.” Below the box is a line

of stars serving as a definition break. Below the stars, on the

bottom half of the inside of the flier and continuing on the back

flap, the flier contains election campaign language regarding

Kyleen Fischer’s position against consolidating Umatilla High

School. (II-T80-81, 169-170; P. Ex. 13)

12. The suggestion to consolidate the two schools was first

made by Sandra Green at a 1992 school board budget workshop

on facilities’ needs. No other board members expressed support

for the suggestion at the workshop. (II-T 14-16, 58; Stipulation)

13. Subsequent to the 1992 workshop, Sandra Green held a

meeting to which she invited parents, teachers, former students

of hers who were residents of the communities affected, as well

as representatives from a recently consolidated school in south

Lake County. The meeting was held in late October or early

November 1992 and was attended by approximately 12-15

persons. (II-T15-16, 65; Stipulation)

14, Umatilla residents at the meeting expressed opposition

to consolidation. Sandra Green agreed to arrange a visit to

Lyman High School, another consolidated school in the area.

Prior to scheduling the visit to Lyman High School, Sandra

Green learned that some Umatilla residents had met to organize

opposition to consolidation. Sandra Green never scheduled the

App. 50

visit to Lyman High School and did not pursue the issue of

consolidation thereafter. Ms. Green did not communicate to

anyone that she had dropped the issue and did not have any

other contact with the opponents to convey that she had

abandoned the issue. (II-T17, 26-27, 57-60).

15. The newspaper article was published several weeks after

the meeting. Though Sandra Green spoke to the reporter who

was writing the article, she did not receive or otherwise obtain

a copy of the article until the flier was circulated during the

1994 general election campaign. The article accurately quoted

Sandra Green. (II-T18, 54-57; P. Ex. 23).

16. Leah Fischer and Ron Phillips researched the

consolidation issue in conjunction with the production of the

flier. They found no other newspaper articles or other public

statements by Sandra Green on the issue. Ms. Green was not

aware of any other published articles on the issue. (II-T57, 77-

78, 169-170; Stipulation).

17. Ms. Green was serving her first term on the school

board. The consolidation issue arose late in 1992, about

midway through her term. (Stipulation)

18. Ron Phillips testified that, based on his extensive

experience in campaigns, an incumbent’s entire record,

especially that developed during the current term, is relevant

and subject to scrutiny and comment during an election

campaign. The 2 year difference here was not significant.

(I1-T 172-173)

19. The boxed quote noted in paragraph 10.c. above is a

portion of a longer statement contained in The North Lake

Outpost article. The complete statement in the article reads,

App. 51

“Green said while she personally favored consolidation for

Eustis and Umatilla, and the expanded curriculum it would

bring, that it would ultimately be up to the parents to decide

whether to proceed with the concept or not.” (Stipulation; P Ex.

23) Ron Phillips testified that the boxed quote in the flier

should have ended with elipses (3 dots) but that the printer

failed to show that. (II-T171) Neither Kyleen Fischer nor Ron

Phillips thought that the conditional or qualifying language

affected Ms. Green’s personal position. (II-T149, 171)

20. Neither Kyleen Fischer nor Ron Phillips had any

concerns that the flier was inaccurate or misleading. The

relevant statements in the flier were extracted from a published

newspaper article, the source and date of the article are clearly

noted in the flier, and research failed to reveal any contrary or

conflicting information. It was considered an appropriate issue

for comment and the campaign received no complaints about

the flier during the campaign. (II-T144-145, 170; Stipulation;

P. Ex. 13)

21. In May 1996, Ms. Green stated that she still personally

considered consolidation of the two schools a good idea.

(Stipulation). In her hearing testimony, Sandra Green did not

deny that she still personally supported consolidation, but

distinguished her personal and professional opinions from any

action she took as a school board member. (II-T 25, 27). That

same distinction is evident in her statement contained in the

newspaper article. (Stipulation; P. Ex. 23). Even Ms. Green

concedes that it is a matter of semantics and the flier statement

is simply taken out of context. (II-T24-25). That distinction

does not affect the veracity of the statement contained in the

flier; it is not a false statement. ©

22. Ms. Green’s consolidation proposal contemplated Eustis

App. 52

Middle School moving to Eustis High School and Umatilla

Middle School nvoving to Umatilla High School, and the

construction of a new consolidated high school to replace both

existing high schools. (II-T15) This would effectively close

Umatilla High School. Accordingly, the statement located on

the front flap of the flier is not false.

23. The statement on the inside flap referred to in paragraph

10.b. is an accurate reproduction of the original newspaper

article. The flier plainly displays the date and source of the

_ Statement. The use of the present verb tense is consistent with

the attribution source and date. (Stipulation; P. Ex. 13) The

statement is no? false.

RADIO ADVERTISEMENT

24. During the last week of the general election campaign,

the Kyleen Fischer campaign produced a radio advertisement

(“the ad”) which stated, in part, “The NAACP has endorsed her

opponent, Sandra T. Green.” (P. Ex. 14). The ad aired three

times, twice on the Saturday immediately prior to the election

and once on Monday morning, the day before the election. The

air time was paid for by the Fischer campaign. (II-T119, 121,

150, 186)

25. The ad was produced, including the drafting of the

script, by Ron Phillips. Kyleen Fischer reviewed and approved

of the ad prior to its airing. (II-T84, 125, 150, 160, 175-176)

26. The statement in the ad that the NAACP had endorsed

Sandra Green is admittedly false. (II-T84)

27. The statement in the ad that the NAACP had endorsed

App. 53

Sandra Green was based on information supplied by Tom Poole

to Ron Phillips on Thursday or Friday prior to the election when

Mr. Phillips encountered Mr. Poole at the offices of the Lake

Sentinel, a local newspaper. (II T176)

28. In 1994, Tom Poole was the President of the Tri-City

Branch of the NAACP. He had served as the President since

1968. He was also serving as state President of the NAACP,

Chairman of the Fifth Region of the NAACP (which includes 7

southeastern states), and a member of the National Board of

the NAACP. (I-T150-152, 187-188: P. Ex. 24). Tom Poole

was one of only 3 persons in the United States to serve as a

local, state, and national officer of the NAACP. (P. Ex. 24).

Mr. Poole’s affiliation with the NAACP is well known in the

community. (Ii-T185, 232-233)

29. The Constitution and By-Laws for branches of the

NAACP provide for a political action committee to increase

registration and voting and to work for a favorable legal and

legislative environment. The committee is directed to be

nonpartisan and is prohibited from endorsing candidates. This

applies to all levels of the NAACP. (I-T152-153:; P. Ex. 1),

30. In 1994, Tom Poole was also serving as President of the

Lake County Voters League, a position he had held since he

founded the organization in 1978. The Voters League was

founded to provide and promote voter education, voter

participation and voter registration. It also offers guidance,

through endorsements of candidates, to the minority community

regarding candidates who may be amenable to help solve

problems in the minority community. (I-T153, 166).

31. Tom Poole taught in the public schools of Lake and

Orange Counties for 39 years, primarily as a science and

App. 54

physical education teacher and coach. He was active in the

Lake County Education Association, serving as an officer and

labor negotiator. Mr. Poole was actively involved in the civil

rights movement. In 1978, he was appointed by Governor

~Askew to serve on the Florida Human Relations Commission.

Mr. Poole was, and is, a recognized and respected leader in

Lake County and is a spokesman for the minority community.

(I-T150-152, 176; Il-T61; P. Ex. 24).

32. The Voter’s League is currently organized as a registered

political committee. It has previously operated as a registered

committee of continuous existence, though this registration

lapsed for a period of time in the 1980s. (I-T192; R. Ex. 1).

Membership dues are minimal, meetings are infrequent. The

number of members is not readily known. (I-T154) The Voter’s

League relies on area directors as resource people. Area

directors represent the various communities in Lake County.

(I-T159).

33. Unlike the NAACP, the Voters League is not a high

profile organization. The Voters League does not hold banquets,

fund raisers or other high profile events. (I-T216).

34. The endorsement process used by the Voter’s League in

1994 was informal, replacing a more formal process which

previously included candidate forums and interviews with

candidates. The Voters League Constitution does not contain

any reference to endorsements. (I-T212; P. Ex.7) Under the

informal process, the executive committee_comprised of the

officers and the area directors (approximately 17-18 people),

meets to discuss candidates and issues, focusing on races and

issues of importance to the minority community.

Responsibilities are delegated to members to obtain pertinent

information pe candidates and to attend campaign events,

App. 55

listening and monitoring issues and positions. Approximately

a week prior to the election, the executive committee meets

again to decide which candidates to endorse. A sample ballot

is utilized to designate endorsed candidates. These ballots are

then distributed by area directors in their communities using the

mail as well as hand distribution. Generally, the endorsements

are distributed as late as possible, on or after the Thursday

immediately prior to the election. (I-T159-165, 192-193).

35. There is no formal notification of endorsed candidates

by the Voter’s League. Normally, the candidate will be mailed

a sample ballot by the Secretary of the Voter’s League.

However, because there was a new Secretary in 1994, Mr. Poole

could not confirm that endorsed candidates were sent a mailed

ballot. (I-T164, 209-210). Tom Poole did not notify either Ms.

Fischer or Ms. Green of endorsements in 1994. (I-T210-211)

Even if a mailing had been made to a candidate in 1994, the

sample ballots did not have any identification of the Voters

League on them. Thus, it would not have been clear who was

making the endorsement(s). (I-T211; P. Ex. 8, 16)

36. The Voters League does not file statements relating to

its endorsements with the Supervisor of Elections or the

Division of Elections as required by Section 106.144, FS. (I-

T208)

37. In the 1994 District 5 school board race, the Voter’s

League executive committee could not decide who to endorse.

The decision was delegated to the President, Tom Poole, in

consultation with the other officers. (I-T223). In order to get

the endorsement included on the sample ballot, the decision had

to be made by Thursday or Friday at the latest. Tom Poole

ultimately made the decision. (I-T230)

App. 56

38. The difficulty of the executive committee in making an

endorsement in the school board race stemmed from the

candidates’ positions on the Eustis Middle School (EMS) issue.

The EMS issue was the single most important issue in the black

community for the school board race. (I-T158, 170).

39. The existing EMS had historically served as a black

educational facility. It was an historic building recommended

for inclusion on the registry of historic buildings. (I-T168;

II-T15).

40. There was a need to build a new middle school and the

question was whether to build on the existing site or at a new

location. The black community wanted the new school built at

the same location. The school board had voted to build on the

existing site, but the vote was 3-2 and efforts to move the

school continued. Sandra Green had voted to move the school

and continved to support building it in a new location.

(I-T 169-170; II-T41-42; P. Ex. 25). Her position was solid.

(I-T 170-173).

41. There were three seats on the school board up for

election in 1994, and the previous vote of the board was subject

to reconsideration if anew majority favored moving the school.

The Green-Fischer race was viewed by Tom Poole as providing

the crucial swing vote on the board. (I-T169-171, 233).

42. Kyleen Fischer favored moving the new school from the

existing location and using the current facility as a vocational

high school. Ms. Fischer’s written Ten Point Platform for the

general election clearly laid out her position in points 2 and 3.

(II-T109-111, 143; P. Ex. 12).

43. Tom Poole was aware that Ms. Fischer favored a new

App. 57

school—so did he—but he was not satisfied that she wanted

the new school built at a new site. In his limited discussions with

her, he sensed some flexibility on the issue. She had not had an

Opportunity to vote on the matter, and Mr. Poole held out hope

that Ms. Fischer would keep an open mind. (I-T172-174,

199-202, 204, 206-207)

44. When Ron Phillips encountered Tom Poole at the Lake

Sentinel office, Mr. Poole knew he had to make a decision on

endorsing a candidate in the Green-Fischer race, though Mr.

Phillips was not aware of that. (I-T222-224) Mr. Phillips had

similar concerns at that meeting. He wanted to know what

endorsements had or would be made in various races.

(I1I1-T 177-179)

45. Ron Phillips was a volunteer advisor and consultant to

the Kyleen Fischer campaign. He had known Ms. Fischer and

her family for many years. His mother served on the school

board with Ms. Fischer in the early 1980s. (II-T168)

46. Ron Phillips, who was born and raised in Lake County,

had worked in politics and campaigns since adolescence. He

had worked in campaigns from the local level to the national

level, from grassroots volunteer to finance director to campaign

manager. In addition to his volunteer work on the Fischer

campaign in 1994, he also served as the campaign manager for

Catherine Hanson, a county commissioner candidate. (1I-T 167)

47. Ron Phillips had known Tom Poole for well over 10

years. Mr. Poole had been Ron Phillips’ physical education

teacher in middle school. Mr. Phillips knew of Tom Poole’s

long and distinguished service with the NAACP. Mr. Phillips

respected Mr. Poole as an educator and community leader and

he trusted him. (I-T176; I]-T177, 232)

App. 58

48. Ron Phillips had actively sought Tom Poole’s support

during the campaign. (II-T194-195). However, when he

encountered Tom Poole at the Lake Sentinel office late in the

campaign, he had not heard from Mr. Poole or anyone else

regarding that support. He was concerned that a late

development could take the campaign by surprise.

(11-T 177-179)

49. Though both men had complementary needs and

purposes, the encounter did not help either man satisfy his

concern. When Ron Phillips asked Tom Poole“who he was

going to endorse, Mr. Poole responded by asking Mr. Phillips

what Kyleen Fischer’s position was on the EMS issue. Mr.

Phillips’ answer didn’t give Mr. Poole any more comfor* or any

better information than he already had. In additici., Mu. 2oole

was not sure Mr. Phillips could officially represent Ms.

Fischer’s position. As a result, Mr. Poole did not push hard for

a more definitive answer. He was not in a position where he

could rely on the answer Mr. Phillips gave him. Tom Poole

also recognized that Ms. Fischer offered only a glimmer of hope

on the issue, given her previously stated position. (I-T177-180,

222-224, 233).

50. Tom Poole knew Ron Phillips was interested in learning

about the endorsements, especially for Kyleen Fischer's race.

It was a question Mr. Poole knew he could not answer for two

reasons. First, the endorsement decision had not been made.

The executive committee had deferred the issue, and it was up

to Mr. Poole and the other officers to decide. Secondly, the

Voter’s League does not routinely advise people about their

endorsements. (I-T226). The endorsements are primarily

targeted to Voter’s League members and others in the minority

community. (I-T166, 226, 232; P. Ex. 15).

App. 59

51. So, when Ron Phillips asked about the endorsement,

Tom Poole did not give him the satisfaction he sought. Mr.

Poole described his response on a radio talk show on the

Monday just prior to election day, only a couple of days after

the encounter.

And my answer was of a professional politician

of long-standing. I gave him an answer that said

nothing to him. It indicated to him that I did not

endorse his candidate because a decision had not

been made. So in taking that answer I gave him,

I don’t even remember how I said it...

(emphasis added) (I-T225; P. Ex. 15).

52. Though neither Tom Poole nor Ron Phillips can recall

exactly what was said, it is clear Mr. Poole did not give Mr.

Phillips a direct answer. He did not tell him the truth, that no

endorsement had yet been made, that, even if it had been made,

he could not tell Mr. Phillips because it was contrary to

established policy. Instead, he chose to confuse him with

political double-talk. (1-T177-179, 232).

53. Tom Poole considers himself an “average country

politician.” He does not use the direct approach to obtain

information. Even when he spoke to Ms. Fischer during the

last month of the campaign, he did not ask her directly about

her position on the EMS issue. (I-T202-203).

54. Ron Phillips testified that Tom Poole told him that “we

are going to go with the other lady.” (II-T177, 208) Mr.

Phillips was surprised and shocked at this endorsement. He

knew Sandra Green’s position was diametrically opposed to

Mr. Poole’s. (II-T178, 215-216). Mr. Phillips then asked about

another important race—the county commission race between

App. 60

Hope Lamb and Bill Good. Mr. Poole quickly and directly told

him that Bill Good had that endorsement. (I-T179-180,

226-227; II-T178). Mr. Phillips then returned to the

endorsement in the Green-Fischer race and asked Mr. Poole to

explain. Mr. Poole’s response was evasive, hemming and

hawing, with a lot of body language. (II-T177-178). Mr. Phillips

told Mr. Poole he had made a terrible mistake with his

endorsement, to which Mr. Poole did not respond. (I-T182,

236-238).

55. Despite his campaign experience, Ron Phillips was not

aware of the existence of the Voter’s League. He had never

seen a sample ballot endorsement or heard of Voters League

endorsements. (I-T229;II-T 189-192, 196) Neither had Ky!een

Fischer. (I-T231; II-T146, 151-152) To Ron Phillips, Tom

Poole personified the NAACP; they were alter egos in Lake

County. (II-T185, 232-233). Ron Phillips was not aware that

the NAACP could not endorse or give support to candidates.

(II-T 184-185, 188)

56. Tom Poole is aware of his high profile with the

NAACP. (I-T187-188; 229). When people refer to him or the

NAACP in an election or campaign context about support for

candidates, he assumes they mean the Voter’s League.

(I-T 178-179). He assumes that astute politicians know the

Lake County Voter’s League exists. He expects to be approached

by candidates because of his long political activity. (I-T 168,

195-196, 248).

57. Based on his conversation with Tom Poole, Ron Phillips

assumed that the endorsement of Sandra Green was by the

NAACP, though Mr. Poole had not so specified. (I-T 177, 189,

208, 236). He called Kyleen Fischer to tell her what he had

learned. (II-111, 180, 199)

App. 61

58. Kyleen Fischer was also shocked at this news. It came

as a surprise to her since Sandra Green had been saying

throughout the campaign that Ms. Fischer had Tom Poole’s

endorsement. Ms. Green had also stated during the campaign

that it was her belief that a candidate could not get Mr. Poole’s

endorsement unless they were with him on the EMS issue.

(I1-T74, 117-118, 161-162, 215; P. Ex. 11)

59. Ron Phillips recommended an advertisement in response

because he was concerned that the endorsement would be used

by the Democratic Party against Ms. Fischer. (II-T176,

179,-180, 206, 235). He was afraid the Fischer campaign would

get sandbagged by the late endorsement without the opportunity

to react and respond. (II-T176, 179, 219).

60. The ad was intended to reemphasize Kyleen Fischer’s

principled stand on issues, especially EMS. (II-T180) It was

designed to champion a candidate who stood by her positions

on the issues regardless of the consequences. (II-T85-104, 164,

180, 184, 233, 237)

61. The ad was also intended to correct Sandra Green’s

allegations during the campaign that Kyleen Fischer had Tom

_ Poole’s support. (II-T74, 121, 158, 163; P. Ex. 11)

62. It was not a negative ad aimed at either Sandra Green or

the NAACP. The ad does not attack anyone or any group. It

was not racially motivated or intended to create a backlash

against the NAACP endorsement. (II-T218-219, 237-239)

Neither Tom Poole nor Sandra Green considered the ad to be

racially motivated. (I-T228-230, 242, 250-251; II-T71) The

reference to the NAACP endorsement of Sandra Green was

worked into the ad to head off any late breaking attack by the

Democratic Party. (II-T219)

App. 62

63. The ad was designed to describe the charged political

atmosphere and tone of the campaign and the context of the

community which had been adversely affected by the politics of

the religious right/Christian Coalition and other events. This

kind of campaign was new for Lake County. Republicans

supporting Democrats. Union support in the primaries which

was withheld in the general election. Unprecedented

involvement of the school board administration in the political

process. The ad refers to “political deals” generally, without

specifically identifying any deals. (II-T84-104) It doesn’t say

the NAACP made a deal; it doesn’t say Sandra Green made a

deal. (P. Ex.14)

64. Ron Phillips suspected a deal or some political

posturing. (I-T246-246; II-T98-104, 180-181, 208-209, 234-

235) Kyleen Fischer assumed Ms. Green had changed her

position on the EMS issue. (II-T113, 164) In spite of these

suspicions and assumptions, the ad does not voice them. (P.

Ex. 14)

65. Kyleen Fischer admits the statement—that the NAACP

has endorsed Sandra Green—is false. (II-T84) The statement is

false not just because it refers to the NAACP. The statement is

false because there was no endorsement of Sandra Green, by

any organization associated with Tom Poole. The statement

would be false even if it had referred to the Voter’s League,

instead of the NAACP.

66. Initially, both Ron Phillips and Kyleen Fischer thought

their error was citing the NAACP as the endorsing group.

(11-T187-188; P. Ex. 15). Both publicly apologized to the

NAACP and immediately pulled the ad from the air. (II-T146,

188; P. Ex. 15)

sae

a,

App. 63

67. There was no ill-will between Ms. Green and Ms.

Fischer. There was no evidence that the campaign had been

marked by personal attacks or negative ads. The campaign was

conducted in a friendly, civil manner, on the issues. This is

clear from the televised forum which aired on cable television.

(II-T64; P. Ex. 11).

68. Though Ms. Fischer had received the Voter’s League

endorsement in her 1982 campaign and in the 1994 primaries,

Ms. Fischer, herself, was not aware of those endorsements.

(II-T52, 104-108, 155; P. Ex. 11). During the 1994 general

election campaign, Sandra Green repeatedly stated that Kyleen

Fischer has Tom Poole’s endorsement. In the televised forum

which was admitted as Petitioner’s Exhibit 11, Ms. Green does

not refer to the Voter’s League or the NAACP during her

statement ab, at such an endorsement. (II-T47-48, 107-108; P.

Ex. 11). Ms. Green offered no support for her statement, and

none was provided to Ms. Fischer from any source. (II-T52,

104-108)

69. Because of the EMS issue, any such support or

endorsement would have been an indication-ef the candidate’s

stand on the new school. (II-T74, 181, 223; P Ex. 1!) Since

Kyleen Fischer’s position was nearly identical to Sandra

Green’s, Ms. Fischer viewed any allegation by Ms. Green of

such support or endorsement as an attempt to mischaracterize

her position and hurt her with voters. (II-T73-74, 111, 159)

70. The 1994 Voter’s League sample ballot endorsements

do not contain any identification of the Voter’s League. (I-T211;

P. Ex. 8, 16). The sample ballot endorsement for the second

primary, which was received as Petitioner’s Exhibit 8, has

handwritten comments on it. It was not distributed with those

comments. The general election sample ballot, which is

4

App. 64

Petitioner’s Exhibit 16, does note Tom Poole as President and

Sannye G. Jones as Secretary/Treasurer, but no organization is

listed. Likewise, there is an address at the top, and at the

bottom of the ballot there is a boxed group of phone numbers to

call for more information in various communities. But the

sample ballot fails to identify any organization. Thus, even if

Ms. Fischer had received a copy of the sample ballots, it would

not have been obvious from whom they were sent. (P. Ex. 8,

16).

71. Neither Ron Phillips or Kyleen Fischer made any

attempt to verify the information about the NAACP

endorsement of Sandra Green. (II-T118, 185-186)

72. Ron Phillips and Kyleen Fischer knew, respected and

trusted Tom Poole and had no reason to doubt what Tom Poole

said. (II-T118, 145, 232)

73. Kyleen Fischer knew and trusted Ron Phillips. He was

a long time family friend and loyal advisor. She had no doubts

about the information he provided to her. (II-T!12, 118, 146,

148, 156; P. Ex. 15)

74. Neither Kyleen Fischer nor Ron Phillips knew with

whom to verify the endorsement other than with Tom Poole.

The information came from the most knowledgeable person that

they knew would have such information. (II-T147, 185-186,

232-233).

75. Even if Ms. Fischer and/or Ron Phillips had sought to

verify the endorsement, the effort would have led back to Tom

Poole. The Voter’s League executive committee had deferred

the decision to-him and the other officers. The decision was

ultimately made by Tom Poole. (I-T223-224, 231)

es

App. 65

76. Both Kyleen Fischer and Ron Phillips had made efforts

to contact Tom Poole during the campaign regarding his

support and endorsement Those efforts were largely

unsuccessful, resulting in “phone tag.” No meaningful

discussions occurred. (II-123, 126, 133-135, 210, 214)

77. It is unclear whether anyone else would have been in a

position to timely verify the endorsement. The ad was drafted

on the Friday prior to the election and aired twice on Saturday

and once on Monday morning. (II-T125, 186) Tom Poole

testified that his decision was made after his conversation with

Ron Phillips. There is no evidence of how and to whom he

communicated his decision. Tom Poole testified that the

sample ballot endorsements are given to area directors for

mailing or hand distribution for delivery on the weekend prior

to the election or Monday at the latest. (I-T159, 163, 165-166)

78. Kyleen Fischer did not have a minority voters

coordinator in her campaign nor were any African-American

supporters active in her campaign. (II-T118, 146).

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The Florida Elections Commission has jurisdiction over

the parties and the subject matter of this proceeding pursuant to

Sections 104.271(2), and 106.26, FS.

2. The burden of proof in an administrative proceeding is on

the party asserting the affirmative of the issue. See, Department

of Transportation v. J.W.C. Company, Inc., 396 So.2d 778,

(Fla. Ist DCA 1981). Accordingly, here the Division of

Elections, as the Petitioner, has the burden of presenting

proving that Respondent has violated Section 104.271(2). ES.

App. 66

3. Section 104.271(2), FS., provides:

104.271 False or malicious charges against,

or false statements about, opposing

candidates; penalty.

(2) Any candidate who, in a primary election or

other election, with actual malice makes or

causes to be made any statement about an

opposing candidate which is false is guilty of a

violation of this code. An aggrieved candidate

may file a complaint with the Division of

Elections pursuant to s. 106.25. The division

shall adopt rules to provide an expedited hearing

before the Florida Elections Commission of

complaints filed under this subsection.

Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the

Florida Elections Commission shall assess a

civil penalty of up to $5,000 against any

candidate found in violation of this subsection, —

which shall be deposited to the account of the

General Revenue Fund of this state.

4. There are three essential elements necessary for a

violation of the statute:

(a) a false statement;

(b) about an opposing candidate;

(c) made or caused to be made with actual malice.

5. A violation of Section 104.271(2), F.S., subjects the

offender to a civil penalty of up to $5,000. This fine is punitive

in nature. As a result, the Division must prove a violation of the

statute by clear and convincing evidence. Ferris v. Turlington,

App. 67

510 So.2d 292 (Fla. 1987);

Stern and Co., 670 So.2d 932 (Fla. 1996). This is a higher and

more demanding standard than the ordinary evidentiary burden

in civil cases — preponderance of the evidence or the greater

weight of the evidence. The Division has failed to carry this

burden.

THE FLIER

6. There is no competent substantial evidence that the

statements contained in the flier are false.

7. Two statements are alleged to be false because they are

phrased in the present tense. Despite the fact that the

consolidation issue had arisen two years prior to the 1994

election, it was a viable issue, capable of springing to active

Status at the initiative of Ms. Green or anyone else. A two year

difference does not make the issue inappropriate for comment

and discussion in the present tense, especially under the

circumstances presented in this case. =

8. The context of the issue is clea~'y indicated in the flier.

The background information source, The North Lake Outpost,

and the date the source article was published, are plainly

displayed in the flier. Ms. Green conceded that the newspaper

story was accurate. There were no subscquent public

Statements to the contrary. The use of the present tense

represents fair comment under these circumstances. Those

Statements are not false.

9. There is no competent, substantial evidence that the

statement on the front cover of the flier is false. While Sandra

Green may not have ever said she wanted to close Umatilla

High School, the result of her consolidation proposal would

es > belie eat

App. 68

have that effect. It is unlikely, and unreasonable to conclude,

that any newly consolidated school would be named Umatilla

High School given the relative sizes of the existing

communities and schools. In addition, Ms. Green’s

consolidation concept included Umatilla Middle School moving

into the current Umatilla High School facility which would

require a name change for the existing school.

10. The boxed quote that Ms. Green “personally” favors

consolidation is not false. Ms. Green concedes as much. She

believes consolidation is an economical approach to address

facility needs. That is why she proposed the concept in 1992.

Her position is unchanged.

11. The Division, and Ms. Green, base the falsity of the

statement on the fact that the statement is taken out of context

and is incomplete. However, neither the complete statement

nor the context change the truth of the statement. The complete

statement in context clarifies and distinguishes Ms. Green’s

position as aschool board member on the issue. Ms. Green has

two positions—a personal position and a position as a public

officer on a potential public agenda item. Her personal position

regarding consolidation is unaffected by her public officer

position, a point Ms. Green made abundantly clear in her

hearing testimony.

THE RADIO AD

12. Only one statement in the radio advertisement is about

Sandra Green. The remainder of the ad comments on the tone

and context of the 1994 election campaign and on Kyleen

Fischer’s principled and unwavering position on the Eustice

Middle School issue. Section 104.271(2), FS., prohibits false

statements about an opposing candidate. It does not punish any

App. 69 “

other type of false statement, and it does not prohibit

suggestions, implications, or innuendo contained in political

advertisements. We cannot read between the lines and create a

statement where none exists. We refuse to read what is not

written or hear what is not spoken.

13. There is no dispute that the statement is false. Both

Kyleen Fischer and Ron Phillips agree. Having satisfied the

first two e!ements of the statute, we must now consider the

issue of malice.

MALICE

14. Section 104.271(2), F.S., requires that the false

statement about an opposing candidate be made with “actual

malice.” This is not a “reasonable person” standard; it is an

objective test. Therefore, to be a violation, we must determine

that Kyleen Fischer knew that the statement was false, or that

she acted with reckless disregard of its truth or falsity.

15. The consideration of malice necessarily takes place in

the arena framed by the constitutional guarantees of free speech

contained in the First Amendment to the United States

Constitution and in Article I, Section 4 of the Florida

Constitution. That arena is also shaped by the seminal case of

New York Times Company v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254, 84 S.Ct.

710, 11 L.Bd.2d 686 (1964). That case, and its progeny, give

protection to those who criticize public officials, allowing

damages for defamatory falsehoods only when the statement

was made with actual malice; i.e., with knowledge that it was

false or with reckless disregard of its truth or falsity. This is the

same standard—actual malice—required by Section 104.271(2),

F.S., and these cases provide guidance for our examination of

the issue.

App. 70

16. In Seropian v. Forman, 652 So.2d 490 (Fla. 4th DCA

1995), the Fourth District Court of Appeal sets forth a pertinent

summary:

So great is the protection given to writers and

speakers under the First Amendment that the

Supreme Court has held that a public official ...

can make out a good claim of damages for

defamatory falsehood only where the official can

show that the writer published a defamatory

falsehood with knowledge that it was false, or

with reckless disregard as to whether it was true

or false. New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376

U.S. 254, 84 S.Ct. 710, 11 L.Ed.2d 686 (1964).

Stated differently, the burden is to show that the

writer deliberately lied and falsified something

or, as an alternative to a knowing lie, that the

writer of a defamatory falsehood “in fact

entertained serious doubts as to the truth of his

publications.” St. Amant v. Thompson, 390 U.S.

727, 88 S.Ct. 1323, 20 L.Ed.2d 262 (1968), or

that he acted with a “high degree of awareness

of * * * probable falsity,” Garrison v.

Louisiana, 379 U.S. 64, 85 S.Ct. 209, 13

L.Ed.2d 125 (1964). Moreover, the official

must prove the essential fact, not with the

ordinary evidentiary burden of most civil cases,

called the “greater weight” of the evidence in

Florida, but instead with a higher, more

demanding, burden called “clear and

convincing” evidence. Jd.

(emphasis original) Seropian, supra., at 493-494.

17. Elections-reiated and campaign-related statements are

App. 71

given even greater deference by Florida courts.

Finally, we recognize that a libel action growing

out of a political campaign must be considered

“against the background of a profound national

commitment to the principle that debate on

public issues should be uninhibited, robust, and

wide-open, and that it may well include

vehement, caustic, and sometimes unpleasantly

sharp attacks” upon candidates for public office.

New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. at 270,

84 S.Ct. at 720.

Cronley v. Pensacola News-Journal, Inc., 561 So.2d 402, 405

(Fla. Ist DCA 1990),

It has also been held that in cases of this nature,

which involve the First Amendment area and

where the issue is recklessness employed in the

publication of allegedly false and libelous

information, that summary judgments should be

more liberally granted. (citation omitted)

Menendez v. Key West Newspaper Corporation, 293 So.2d 751,

752 (Fla. 3rd DCA 1974).

18. It is clear that the courts tread lightly in this arena.

Although this case does not involve a claim for libel or

defamation, the standard(s) and analytical process are the same.

19. There is no competent, substantial evidence that Kyleen

Fischer knew the statement to be false. She had no direct

information about the endorsement. Despite efforts by Tom

Poole and her to discuss issues of mutual concern during the

campaign, no meaningful conversation had occurred. Tom

Poole would not have been in a position to discuss an

App. 72

endorsement until the last week of the general election, and it

is unlikely he would have told Ms. Fischer of any endorsement

even if there had been substantive discussions.

20. It is also clear that Kyleen Fischer was unaware of the

Voter’s League endorsement of her in the 1994 primaries.

There was no testimony or other evidence that such an

endorsement was ever communicated to Ms. Fischer. The only

evidence presented on this matter was the videotape of the

candidate forum in early October 1994. In that forum, Sandra

Green tells Ms. Fischer that Ms. Fischer has Tom Poole’s

endorsement. There is no mention of the Voter’s League or the

NAACP. Ms. Fischer denied any knowledge of the

endorsement at the forum. No other evidence or support for

the endorsement was provided by Ms. Green.

21. There was no exhibit offered of a sample ballot

endorsement for the first primary election in 1994, The sample

ballot endorsement for the second primary which was received

in evidence has no identifying markings to indicate it was from

the Lake County Voter’s League. It does, however, have

writing on it extraneous to the sample ballot form, which

suggests that the ballot was not sent out with that extraneous

writing. Finally, there is no competent, substantial evidence

that Kyleen Fischer ever received a copy of the second primary

sample ballot endorsement.

22. Since Kyleen Fischer did not have actual knowledge that

the statement was false, actual malice rests on whether Kyleen

Fischer acted with reckless disregard about the truth or falsity

of the statement.

23. Ms. Fischer knew and trusted Ron Phillips. She had no

reason to doubt what he told her. Likewise, she respected Tom

App. 73

Poole. He was the most knowledgeable person she knew who

could provide the information about such an endorsement. She

had no cause to believe Tom Poole would deliberately deceive

or mislead her or Ron Phillips. She believed the information

she received was reliable.

24. There was no competent, substantial evidence that

Kyleen Fischer harbored serious doubts about the truth of the

statement. The fact that she and Ron Phillips were surprised or

even shocked about the endorsement is insufficient to support

the finding of actual malice. Politics and campaigns regularly

offer surprises depending on one’s knowledge and involvement

in the process. The Lake County political environment had

undergone a transformation, due primarily to the emergence of ©

conservative, religious elements. The county had been thrust

into the national spotlight as a result of new policies and

programs. New alliances and allegiances (“strange

bedfellows”) developed which were unprecedented. The

existence of another surprising development, without more

evidentiary support to suggest that Kyleen Fischer had serious

doubts regarding the veracity of the information, does not

provide the necessary foundation for a finding of malice under

these circumstances.

25. There is no clear, direct evidence of malice in this case.

Under the high evidentiary standard requiring proof by clear

and convincing evidence, malice cannot be inferred under the

circumstances presented here.

Circumstantial evidence is often used to prove

intent and is often the only available evidence

of a person’s mental state. However, in order to

be legally sufficient evidence of [a statutory

violation], circumstantial evidence must be

App. 74

inconsistent with any reasonable hypothesis of

innocence. (footnote omitted)

The Florida Bar v. Marable, 645 So.2d 438, 443 (Fla. 1994).

26. Ms. Fischer’s actions in publishing the statements at

issue in this case were not unreasonable or reckless. Her actions

may be subject to criticism by some, but they fall far short of

malice required under the statute.

CONCLUSION

Based on the foregoing Findings of Fact, Conclusions of

Law, the evidence of record, the candor and demeanor of the

witnesses and the pleadings and argument of the parties, it is

ORDERED that the complaint filed against Respondent,

Kyleen Fischer, is DISMISSED.

Carlos Alvarez, Chairman

Florida Ethics Commission

App. 75

Respectfully submitted this 20th day of September, 1996.

/S/

Mark Herron

Florida Bar # 199737

Chris Haughee

Florida Bar # 242985

Akerman, Senterfitt & Eidson, P.A.

216 South Monroe Street, Ste. 200

Post Office Box 10555

Tallahassee, Florida 32302-2555

(904) 222-3471

Counsel for Respondent

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I HEREBY CERTIFY that a true and correct copy of the

foregoing has been furnished by U.S. mail to Barbara

Linthicum, Assistant General Counsel, Division of Elections,

Room 2002, The Capitol, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0250, this

20th day of September, 1996.

/S/

CHRIS HAUGHEE

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.