Opposition Brief — Delew v. Wagner

Supreme Court brief1998

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

FILED

$6 08

No. 98-276 °/

In The

Supreme Court of the United. Sfatés

October Term, 1998

©

MICHAEL C. DELEW; MICHAEL C. DELEW as

Special Administrator of the Estate of Erin Rae

DeLew; H. ROY MAYBERRY; and VICKIE MAYBERRY,

Petitioners,

V.

JANET KATHLEEN WAGNER; LAS VEGAS

METROPOLITAN POLICE DEPARTMENT; STATE OF

NEVADA, EX REL.; NEVADA HIGHWAY PATROL;

LIEUTENANT EDWARD JENSEN; SERGEANT

RICHARD WOMACK; SERGEANT CURTIS ALBERT;

SERGEANT THOMAS HARMON; DETECTIVE

RICHARD HART; DETECTIVE WILLIAM JOHNSON;

OFFICER WILLIAM SMITH; OFFICER KEITH

BOWERS; OFFICER DAVID WAGNER; OFFICER GREG

GOEN; SERGEANT WILLIAM ADAMSON; SERGEANT

HARVEY WEATHERFORD; TROOPER JOSEPH A.

SMITH; TROOPER GARTH GARDNER; TROOPER

JOSEPH WYNGARD; AND TROOPER

JAMES BRANNUM,

Respondents.

t

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Ninth Circuit

+

RESPONDENT LVMPD’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

“

Peter M. ANGULO, Esq.

301 E. Clark Ave., #1000

Las Vegas, Nevada 89101

(702) 384-4012

Counsel for Respondents

Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department,

Lieutenant Edward Jensen, Sergeant Richard

Womack, Sergeant Curtis Albert, Sergeant

Thomas Harmon, Detective Richard Hart,

Detective William Johnson, Officer William

Smith, Officer Keith Bowers, Officer David

Wagner, and Officer Greg Goen

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831 >

\\

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

WHETHER THE NINTH CIRCUIT CORRECTLY

DECIDED, IN A CASE WHERE THE CONSTITU-

TIONAL VIOLATION ALLEGEDLY DEALS WITH

DELIBERATE POLICE “COVER-UP”, THE CAUSE

OF ACTION ARISING FROM SUCH EVENTS DOES

NOT BECOME RIPE UNTIL IT CAN BE SHOWN

THE ACTIONS RESULTED IN MEANINGFUL

DENIAL OF ACCESS TO THE COURTS - SUCH AS

RENDERING STATE COURT REMEDIES INEFFEC-

TIVE.

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Respondents do not disagree with the characteriza-

tion of the parties to this proceeding identified in the

Petition for Writ of Certiorari.'! For the purposes of this

Opposing Brief, Michael C. Delew, Vickie Mayberry and

H. Roy Mayberry will be monickered “DELEWS”.

Respondents Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Depart-

ment; Lieutenant Edward Jensen; Sergeant Richard

Womack; Sergeant Curtis Albert; Sergeant Thomas Har-

mon; Detective Richard Hart; Detective William Johnson;

Officer William Smith; Officer Keith Bowers; Officer

David Wagner; and Officer Greg Goen, will hereinafter be

collectively referred to as “LVMPD”.

Respondent Janet Kathleen Wagner will hereinafter

be referred to as “WAGNER”. Respondents State of Nev-

ada, ex rel.; Nevada Highway Patrol; Sergeant William

Adamson; Sergeant Harvey Weatherford; Trooper Joseph

A. Smith; Trooper Garth Gardner; Trooper Joseph

Wyngard; and Trooper James Brannum will hereinafter be

collectively referred to as “NHP”.

' Respondent would bring to this Court’s attention that

DELEWS are also Cross-Respondents in this action by way of

the Conditional Cross-Petition for Writ of Certiorari filed by

the LVMPD on September 14, 1998.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ............ i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING .................. ii

NS GS Wilh CBR a db did's bie 5 -00ie.caa ve 1

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVI-

I 1

en oS a! 2

mT De) 2

8g. 5

he es iss kena beaes oésnedis 8

I. NO LITIGATION CAN BE BROUGHT BEFORE

RE ee 9

Il. A “COVER-UP” CONSTITUTIONAL VIOLA-

TION CANNOT TAKE PLACE UNTIL THE

UNDERLYING STATE LAW CLAIM (IF ONE IS

PO UTED is ov kiescenscesuscisccsess 13

Ill. THE MAJORITY OF CIRCUITS CORRECTLY

AGREE WITH THE NINTH CIRCUIT......... 15

IV. DELEWS’ CITED CASES ARE INAPPOSITE... 19

OU a ina ncaa s¥acs'ssdescss 20

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Abbott Laboratories v. Gardner, 387 U.S. 136 (1967) .... 10

Allen v. Wright, 468 U.S. 737 (1984) ................. li

Alper v. Stillings, 80 Nev. 84, 389 P.2d 239 (1964) .... 18

American-Arab Anti-Discrimination Committee v.

Thornburgh, 970 F.2d 501 (9th Cir. ss vanstoaur 11

Bell v. City of Milwaukee, 746 F.2d 1205 (7th Cir.

SS 0 0b 00h. sv cn oven sedwhe Rib abedneno. iN 9, 19

Board of Regents v. Tomanio, 446 U.S. 478 (1980)...... 10

Bounds v. Smith, 430 U.S. 817 MUI k € 440 euGcs ken ad 15

Butler v. Dowd, 979 F.2d 661 (8th Cir. 1992), cert.

denied, 113 S. Ct. 2395 SS eae 17

Carey v. Piphus, 435 U.S. 247 (1978) ................. 12

Chambers v. Baltimore & Ohio R.R. Co., 207 U.S. 142

ca CE oe EET TTI )

Dooley v. Reiss, 736 F.2d 1392 (9th Cir.), cert. denied,

aah... . arcane ce seer 14

Duke Power Co. v. Carolina Environmental Study

Group, Inc., 438 U.S. 59 (1978) .................... 11

Felder v. Casey, 487 U.S. 131 (1988).................. 10

Foster v. City of Lake Jackson, 28 F.3d 425 (5th Cir.

i EE Oe IIE IE 15

Hawkins v. Joshua Barney's Lessee, 5 Pet. (30 U.S.)

rn se ee aR 10

Heck v. Humphrey, 512 U.S. 477 NR Gicttadienes 12

0 Aa aig

a

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Hudson v. Palmer, 468 U.S. 517 (1984) ............

Karim-Panahi v. Los Angeles Police Dept., 839 F.2d

os ocdhe spcoadie tha, OYE eer ee

Kelly Broadcasting Co., Inc. v. Sovereign Broadcast,

Inc., 96 Nev. 188, 606 P.2d 1089 (1980) .........

Landrigan v. City of Warwick, 628 F.2d 736 (1st Cir.

cn EEC PETTITT LS SE he en

Lewis v. Casey, 116 S. Ct. 2174 (1996).............

McCabe v. Arave, 827 F.2d 634 (9th Cir. 1987).....

McKenzie v. City of Whitehall, 112 F.3d 313 (8th Cir.

tn rns WedeeE Wns ciwe dh 64s 15s 04 bile bs ces

Memphis Community School District v. Stachura, 477

ee IS CNG ibe bie es <hraca tee sccaeets

Myers v. Scott County, 868 F.2d 1017 (9th Cir. 1989) ....

O'Shea v. Littleton, 414 U.S. 488 (1974)............

Portman v. County of Santa Clara, 995 F.2d 989 (9th

8 Ree re eer ee

ee eee

Ryland v. Shapiro, 708 F.2d 967 (5th Cir. 1983) ....

Semenza v. Nevada Medical Liability Ins. Co., 104

Nev. 666, 765 P.2d 164 (1968)..................

Spencer v. Kemna, __ U.S. __, 118 S. Ct. 978 (1998) ....

Swekel v. City of River Rouge, 119 F.3d 1259 (6th Cir.

1997), cert. denied, 118 S. Ct. 690 (1998) ........

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Thomas v. Union Carbide Agricultural Prod. Co., 473

ee I sos sipnnaducnseessee Teen cs 11

Thompson v. Boggs, 33 F.3d at 847 (7th Cir. 1994),

cert. denied, 514 U.S. 1063 Se ree 16, 19

Vasquez v. Hernandez, 60 F.3d 325 (7th Cir. 1995)... .. 16

Waller v. Butkovich, 584 F. Supp. 909 (M.D.N.C.

cies pe ETL ied te Me NER, a 16

Warth v. Selden, 422 U.S. 490 (1975) ................. 11

Webster v. City of Houston, 689 F.2d 1220 (Sth Cir.

Wn Hau oe she 0 ceed Mb Meg eT CRORE tao. ics. 9

Williamson County Regional Planning Comm'n v.

Hamilton Bank, 473 US. 172 a A Uy 11

RuLEs AND STATUTES

Pe te ae I 5 s's.0:5.0454 nsncebeloues akc Ree 1

Pe WY BF I ssc ee 0sncks cheese see passim

iss taglines inde TET TS l

JURISDICTION

On April 4, 1997, the Honorable Phillip M. Pro of the

United States District Court for the District of Nevada

entered and served an Order which dismissed Peti-

tioners’ litigation in its entirety.?

Thereafter, this matter was timely brought before the

Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals and was subjected to its

briefing schedule. After considering the briefs and hear-

ing oral argument on the matter, the Ninth Circuit issued

its opinion — reversing the decision of Judge Pro. See

Petitioners’ Appendix beginning at p. 1a. The Opinion did

not, however, reach the merits of the case. Instead, it

dismissed the litigation without prejudice — believing the

federal claims were unripe until the pending State court

litigation had concluded.

That Order was issued on May 11, 1998. Petitioners

invoke the jurisdiction of this Court under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1). LVMPD concedes jurisdiction is found pur-

~ suant to Supreme Court Rule 13(1) and (3).

¢

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

LVMPD concedes Petitioners’ Complaint alleged vio-

lations of the constitutional provisions identified in the

Petition for Writ of Certiorari.

*

2 A complete copy of this Order is found in Petitioners’

Appendix beginning at page 10a.

2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. PROCEDURAL HISTORY

On November 10, 1994, Michael Delew filed State

Court litigation against WAGNER in the Eighth Judicial

District Court in Clark County, Nevada. That litigation

averred WAGNER had negligently operated her vehicle

while under the influence of alcohol in such a manner as

to cause the death of Erin Rae Delew. The Complaint was

amended to include Petitioners H. Roy Mayberry and

Vickie Mayberry as parties-Plaintiff. The causes of action

and claims for relief remained the same.

After prodigious discovery had been conducted, in

the State Court litigation, on September 18, 1996 on the

eve of trial, Petitioners attempted to amend the Com-

plaint —- broadening its claim for relief from the wrongful

death action to include civil rights claims against LVMPD

and NHP. In addition, WAGNER was alleged to have

been involved in these civil rights violations. WAGNER

opposed expanding the litigation at that late date.

On September 24, 1996, WAGNER and DELEWS

appeared before the State Court judge to whom the case

was assigned. The Judge determined, since DELEWS had

not filed the litigation against all of the proposed defen-

dants at the outset (or even as discovery progressed), to

bring in new claims when the litigation was on the eve of

trial would be unduly prejudicial. Immediately thereafter,

DELEWS filed a second Complaint in the State Court

containing the exact same Defendants and allegations but

divesting itself of the state wrongful death claims. Upon

being served with the Complaint, LVMPD removed the

matter to the United States District Court for the District

of Nevada on January 23, 1997. WAGNER’s initial appear-

ance in the federal litigation was in the form of a Motion

to Dismiss filed on February 10, 1997.3 Her Motion

argued no 42 U.S.C. § 1983 cause of actior could exist due

to the fact a constitutional right to police investigations

did not exist under extant law. She further argued there

was no evidence for a conspiracy and that Petitioners

were attempting to wrongfully split their cause of action.

The Honorable Judge Phillip M. Pro issued an Order

on April 4, 1997 addressing the Motion to Dismiss and

dismissing the litigation in its entirety.* Noting the action

was commenced on September 26, 1996, Judge Pro accu-

rately described the action as one based on a fatal acci-

dent occurring September 27, 1994 wherein Ms. Delew

was struck while riding her bicycle by a vehicle driven by

WAGNER. He heid DELEWS were not allowed to split

the causes of action by bringing a state wrongful death

action and a separate 42 U.S.C. § 1983 action on the facts

alleged in the case. The accident, alone, failed to provide

a basis for lawsuit under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 against WAG-

NER as a private citizen. To the extent the litigation

attempted to bring in NHP and LVMPD as conspirators

with WAGNER to violate the constitutional rights of the

decedent, he asserted the claim was defective because

there was no allegation of evidence indicating the actions

of the alleged conspirators infringed upon any cogniza-

ble, protected right of Petitioners. Accordingly, the litiga-

tion was dismissed in its entirety.

3 Two separate Answers were filed on behalf of LVMPD

and NHP.

4 This Order is attached to the Petitioners’ Appendix

beginning at p. 10a.

' wane |

On April 21, 1997, this matter was appealed to the

Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals. After briefing and oral

argument, the Ninth Circuit issued its Order on May 11,

1998.° In that Order, the Ninth Circuit believed a poten-

tial constitutional violation for interference with Peti-

tioners’ meaningful access to the courts could arise from

a simple automobile accident.

Under the procedural posture of this case, however,

the Ninth Circuit properly held that, assuming a claim for

unconstitutional cover-up investigation can be made,

such a cause of action is not ripe until a party has been

denied “meaningful access” to the state court. Since that

issue has yet to fully unfold, it is simply premature to

bring litigation which challenges that the alleged cover-

up investigation impaired their access to the Court. Obvi-

ously, if Petitioners are successful at the State Court level,

then — despite any efforts to allegedly cover-up any

wrongful conduct — no constitutional rights would have

been violated. There is, therefore, no reason for this Court

to act to destroy the Ninth Circuit’s decision in this

specific regard.®

° The complete text of this opinion is found at Petitioners’

Appendix beginning at p. la.

® As the Court will notice, however, LVMPD disagree with

the validity of the Order itself so far as it implicates a

constitutional cover-up violation could have taken place. That

issue is more fully developed in the Conditional Cross-Petition

for Writ of Certiorari which LVMPD filed with this Court on

September 14, 1998.

Oe ne ete, me eae

a

oe kones

B. STATEMENT OF FACTS

Setting aside, for the moment, the unsupported his-

trionics contained in DELEWS’ factual statement, it is

respectfully submitted there are only a few sources to

which this Honorable Court may go in determining the

basal facts of the litigation. They are DELEWS’ Complaint

which was ultimately dismissed by Judge Pro, and the

arguments and exhibits found in WAGNER’s Motion to

Dismiss (and its resultant progeny). Reviewing those doc-

uments reveals a “factual” scenario for this Court to use

as the canvas upon which its legal decisions may be

properly based.

On December 27, 1994, at approximately 7:15 p.m.,

Erin Rae Delew was riding her bicycle in the vicinity of

West Lake Mead Boulevard and Ridgemore Street in Las

Vegas, Nevada. LVMPD Respondents’ Supplemental Appen-

dix (“SA”) 5 at J 13. The Complaint asserts WAGNER was

also operating a vehicle in the area and was, at that time,

operating the vehicle at an excessive speed while under

the influence of alcohol. Id. at JY 16-17. WAGNER is

alleged to have caused her vehicle to collide with the

bicycle — causing Erin Rae Delew to be projected approxi-

mately 60 feet from the point of impact and ultimately

causing her death. Id. at { 15.”

7 The independent statement by Susie Olsen indicated she

saw a woman on a dark bike without strobe or lights swerving

quite a bit because she was attempting to negotiate turning

across the street and had a bag of groceries she was carrying. SA

37-39. Ms. Delew apparently also had a headset on. Id. Ms. Olsen

believed WAGNER was unable to see the bicyclist because it

was too dark, the road was curving, and trees blocked

6

At the time of the accident, Lt. Colonel Robert A.

McNeese was in the area and ran to the scene. SA 23-25.

Upon arriving at the scene, he immediately went to the

victim and was unable to find a pulse, identify breathing,

or hear a heart beat. SA 33-34. At the Same time - before

the police and ambulance arrived - a doctor arrived at

the scene and confirmed Ms. Delew was dead. SA 35. A

patrolman who arrived also felt for a pulse and thought

she was dead. SA 35-36. Before any other Police

appeared, an ambulance arrived and the paramedics

therein verified Ms. Delew was dead. SA 36-37.

After this, additional LVMPD police officers arrived:

NHP was contacted and arrived to conduct the investiga-

tion. Petitioners claim the subsequent investigation of the

accident, including the procurement of an independent

witness statement by one Susie S. Olsen (SA 37-39) was

designed to “cover up” wrongful activities of WAGNER;

and, by so doing, deprived Petitioners of access to the

Courts; the right to petition the government for redress of

grievances under the First Amendment; the right to pros-

ecute wrongful deaths without impairment or interfer-

ence; and the right to have a fair and impartial

investigation of a death. See SA 11-13 at ¥ 29(a)-(h).

Sometime after the accident, WAGNER called her

husband. SA 41-42. When her husband arrived many

minutes later, she was unclear whether other officers or

even paramedics had arrived. SA 42, 44.

her vision. Id. Apparently, the bicycle swerved in front of

WAGNER’s vehicle immediately before the impact.

WAGNER testified no officer attempted to separate

her from the scene of the collision or to segregate her

from other people at the scene. SA 44-45. Approximately

an hour or so after the accident, she was asked to give a

statement. SA 45. She was given a field sobriety test

(HGN). SA 69-70. The result of that test, however, was (in

the words of NHP Officer Smith) negative “as far as the

six clues or points that you look for... . ” Id. During this

time, WAGNER needed to use the restroom and was

driven home so she could do that. SA 49-50. As a result of

the exculpatory statement of Ms. Olsen, the negative

results of the field sobriety test, and NHP’s investigation,

WAGNER was not cited for the death of Ms. Delew.

The remainder of the “factual allegations” and asser-

tions in the Petition for Writ of Certiorari may be plainly

seen by this Court - upon review of the record - to be

little more than gross speculation and conjecture. Cer-

tainly there was nothing in the Complaint nor in the

evidentiary record before Judge Pro which supported the

lurid and psycho-historical “factual” reconstruction

DELEWS portray. This is simply an accident involving

WAGNER and Ms. Delew. There is nothing supporting

the fraudulent assertions that, somehow, NHP or LVMPD

was involved in any cover-up.

Moreover, there was simply no evidence adduced

that state court could not vindicate Petitioners’ alleged

interest in punishing WAGNER (assuming their view of

the facts is true). In the pending state court litigation

DELEWS are allowed to cross-examine the investigating

officers, bring up any inconsistencies they believe existed

in the investigation, and set forth all of the evidence in

8

their possession that WAGNER had, in fact, been drink-

ing that evening and was the primary cause of the fatal

accident. They have not been denied the opportunity of

filing a suit, conducting discovery, or being able to pre-

sent evidence in this regard. As it presently stands, Peti-

tioners can prevail in their State court litigation

(assuming their contentions about WAGNER’s culpability

are correct). By the same token, a jury — having consid-

ered all of the relevant evidence — may well conclude

WAGNER did nothing wrong.

The Circuit's primary concern was that before the

litigation could be ripe, Petitioners had to show they

were somehow denied meaningful access to the courts or

a fair opportunity to have their grievances redressed in

State court — based solely upon the actions of LVMPD and

NHP in conducting their subsequent investigation into

the accident itself. In this regard, their decision was con-

sistent with the posture assumed by this Court on other

issues and the majority of other Circuits deciding this

very matter.

e¢——

LEGAL ARGUMENT

Initially, LYVMPD Strongly disagrees with the Ninth

Circuit’s decision that, under the peculiar facts of this

case, DELEWS stated a “cognizable” claim under § 1983.

In fact, as Petitioners’ own cited cases specifically indi-

cate, cover-up conspiracies only apply in the investiga-

tion of a wrong perpetrated by a co-employee under color

of state law or under a wrongful investigation of an

injury perpetrated bya co-employee acting under color of

state law. See Bell v. City of Milwaukee, 746 F.2d 1205,

1261-62 (7th Cir. 1984); see Webster v. City of Houston, 689

F.2d 1220, 1239 (Sth Cir. 1982).8 Assuming arguendo this

Court believes a potential § 1983 violation could exist

under the peculiar facts of this case, it is clear the deci-

sion of the Ninth Circuit was absolutely correct.

I. NO LITIGATION CAN BE BROUGHT BEFORE IT

IS RIPE

This Court has held, for well over ninety (90) years,

that the right of access to the courts is a fundamental

right protected by the Constitution of the United States.

See Chambers v. Baltimore & Ohio R.R. Co., 207 U.S. 142, 148

(1907). While it is true 42 U.S.C. § 1983 provides no

condition precedent to pursuing cognizable claims and is

broadly construed to provide a remedy against all forms

of official violation of federally protected rights, it is not

accurate to state that any claim which could potentially

fall under the auspices of 42 U.S.C. § 1983 can be brought

at any time a plaintiff desires.

DELEWS argue the absence of “timing” language in

42 US.C. § 1983 somehow renders the decision ineffec-

tual. This analysis - albeit simplistic —- grossly fails to

understand the core requirements necessary for any cause

of action (under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 or otherwise). Indeed,

were Petitioners’ argument to be carried to its logical

conclusion, statutes of limitations would have no effect

8 This contention, however, has been addressed with the

Conditional Cross-Petition which is on file with this Honorable

Court and will not be examined in depth here.

«oil

10

on 42 U.S.C. § 1983 causes of action because the statute

itself contains no such language regarding same. Yet, it is

an undeniable fact that statutes of limitation have long

been respected as fundamental to a well-ordered judicial

system. Board of Regents v. Tomanio, 446 U.S. 478 (1980);

Hawkins v. Joshua Barney’s Lessee, 5 Pet. (30 U.S.) 457, 466

(1831). In fact, this court specifically noted — in the case of

42 U.S.C. § 1983 - even though because Congress did not

state a limitations period existed, its existence was always

implied. Felder v, Casey, 487 U.S. 131 (1988).

Just as a statute of limitations is a crucial element of a

well-ordered judicial system, so likewise the concept of

“ripeness” underlies the ability to bring forth any claim.

This concept is designed to ensure, at the time the judici-

ary has the case under consideration, the required ele-

ments necessary to establish both the existence of the

constitutional violation and the presence of damages are

extant. This Court has Specifically noted the ripeness

doctrine is drawn from Article III limitations on judicial

power and from prudential reasons for refusing to exer-

cise jurisdiction. Reno v. Catholic Social Services, Inc., 509

U.S. 43, 57 n. 18 (1993).

Ripeness requires the court to evaluate both the fit-

ness of the issues for judicial decision and the hardship to

Laboratories v, Gardner, 387 U.S. 136, 149 (1967). A claim is

not ripe for adjudication if it rests upon “contingent

future events that may not occur as anticipated, or indeed

11

may not occur at all.” Thomas v. Union Carbide Agricultural

Prod. Co., 473 U.S. 568, 581 (1985).9

For a ripe “case or controversy” to exist, “[a] plaintiff

must allege personal injury fairly traceable to the defen-

dant’s allegedly unlawful conduct and likely to be

redressed by the requested relief.” Allen v. Wright, 468

U.S. 737, 751 (1984). The requisite injury needs to be

“distinct and palpable.” Warth v. Selden, 422 U.S. 490, 501

(1975). It is insufficient to allege an abstract injury. O'Shea

v. Littleton, 414 U.S. 488, 493-94 (1974).10

“Ripeness is peculiarly a question of timing.” Ameri-

can-Arab Anti-Discrimination Committee v. Thornburgh, 970

F.2d 501, 510 (9th Cir. 1991). The inquiry as to ripeness of

a case for federal court action contains both constitutional

and prudential components. Portman v. County of Santa

* For example, in the context of a takings claim, such a

claim is not ripe for review until the litigant has used the

administrative procedures available and been denied just

compensation. See Williamson County Regional Planning Comm'n

v. Hamilton Bank, 473 U.S. 172, 195 (1985); McKenzie v. City of

Whitehall, 112 F.3d 313, 317 (8th Cir. 1997). “While there is no

requirement that administrative remedies be exhausted in cases

brought under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 .. . the claim must be ripe, and

not moot, to be reviewed properly.” McCabe v. Arave, 827 F.2d

634, 639 (9th Cir. 1987).

10 In many ways, the ripeness doctrine is related to the

“standing” doctrine. It requires the plaintiff to demonstrate that

(1) it will sustain injury from the challenged action, (2) the

injury would be redressed by the relief requested, and (3) the

court’s ability to resolve the issues presented would not be

advanced by waiting until the uncompleted event occurs. Duke

Power Co. v. Carolina Environmental Study Group, Inc., 438 U.S. 59,

81-82 (1978).

12

Clara, 995 F.2d 989 (9th Cir. 1993). The constitutional

component focuses on whether there is sufficient injury

while the prudential component focuses on whether there

is adequate record on which to base effective review. Id.

Its rationale is to prevent courts, through avoidance of

premature adjudication, from entangling them in abstract

disagreements.!!

't This Honorable Court has recently held a § 1983 action

“must always and everywhere be available.” Spencer v. Kemna,

_. U.S. __, 118 S. Ct. 978 (1998). However, this does not

constitute a derogation of “ripeness” principle. In Heck v.

Humphrey, 512 U.S. 477 (1994), this Court applied elements of

tort law in determining when a cause of action was ripe. Citing

prior decisions, it noted 42 U.S.C. § 1983 creates a species of tort

liability. 512 U.S. at 483.

{O]ver the centuries the common law of torts has

developed a set of rules to implement the principle

that a person should be compensated fairly for

injuries caused by the violation of his legal rights.

These rules, defining the elements of damages and

the prerequisites for the recovery, provide the

appropriate starting point for the inquiry under

§ 1983 as well.

Id. (citing Carey v. Piphus, 435 U.S. 247, 257-58 (1978)).

Accordingly, it first looked to the common law of torts to

determine whether there would be a bar to the litigation

brought before it. Id. Determining that every element necessary

to establish a civil tort action was not present in that case

(dealing with wrongful conviction claims), this Court held a

claim for damages bearing a relationship to a conviction or

sentence that has not been invalidated is not cognizable and

would not be recognized under 42 U.S.C. § 1983. 512 U.S. at 487.

13

Thus, merely because 42 U.S.C. § 1983 does not dis-

cuss concepts of ripeness, DELEWS err in arguing to this

Court that such concepts do not apply in this litigation.

Clearly they do. The only question, therefore, is whether

the Ninth Circuit correctly applied this concept in deter-

mining when an alleged constitutional violation predi-

cated upon allegations of wrongful cover-up activities

becomes “ripe”. It is respectfully submitted, to the extent

the facts before this Court can establish such a violation,

the Ninth Circuit gauged that timing correctly.

Ii. A “COVER-UP” CONSTITUTIONAL VIOLATION

CANNOT TAKE PLACE UNTIL THE UNDERLY-

ING STATE LAW CLAIM (IF ONE IS FILED) IS

RESOLVED

It cannot be gainsaid Petitioners have already filed a

proceeding in state court to persecute WAGNER for the

allegedly wrongful death of Ms. DELEW. They have con-

ducted an immense amount of discovery, have had access

to police reports (including the identification of all wit-

nesses known at the scene) and have had the opportunity

to take depositions of all persons they deemed relevant to

the case. They have accessed the medical records regard-

ing WAGNER and have her own statements regarding

her behavior that evening. They have records of the phys-

ical evidence collected at the time of the investigation.

Thus, they have not been denied the ability to factually

investigate the events Surrounding the death of Ms.

DELEW or to file a claim based on their belief as to what

“really” happened.

14

Within this context, the Ninth Circuit has consistently

held if a plaintiff, on a cover-up allegation claim, suc-

ceeds in state court then the cover-up allegations are

mooted. Dooley v. Reiss, 736 F.2d 1392, 1394-95 (9th Cir.),

cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1038 (1984).!2 Cf. Landrigan v. City of

Warwick, 628 F.2d 736, 742 (1st Cir. 1980) (dismissing

§ 1983 claim alleging cover-up where plaintiff had in fact

prevailed in previous state court action). In Karim-Panahi

v. Los Angeles Police Dept., 839 F.2d 621, 625 (9th Cir. 1980),

the Circuit specifically held — because the ultimate resolu-

tion of a state court litigation had not been finalized - a

claim for cover-up conspiracy was not ripe for judicial

consideration. Accordingly, while dismissal was appro-

priate, that dismissal should be without prejudice.

Despite Petitioners’ protestations to the contrary,

there is a strong line of reasoning supporting the concept

that the ability to file the litigation seriously limits the

claim of any “cover-up” interfering with the parties’

meaningful access to the courts. In Lewis v. Casey, 116 S. Ct.

2174 (1996), this Court reaffirmed a constitutional prereq-

uisite to prevailing on a “denial of access” claim is that

the plaintiff establish actual injury. In the context of Lewis,

this Court specifically noted an actual injury could exist

only if the party could demonstrate a non-frivolous legal

claim had been frustrated or was being impeded. 116

12 Thus, this Court has already had the opportunity to

consider this precise issue emanating from the Ninth Circuit

and has declined to exercise its jurisdiction for certiorari. It is

submitted the instant situation is not different and, therefore,

certiorari should be denied.

15

S. Ct. at 2180-81. This Court further noted the constitu-

tional right to access to the Court does not extend to

enable a plaintiff to discover grievances or litigate effec-

tively once in court. Id. See also Bounds v. Smith, 430 USS.

817 (1977). Thus, the Ninth Circuit decision in this regard

simply conforms with the pronouncements of this august

body that an actual injury be established by showing the

court that a non-frivolous legal claim had been frustrated

or was being impeded. The decision by the Ninth Circuit

is, at this early date, that actual injury is impossible to

establish. Therefore, the matter is not yet ripe for consid-

eration.

Petitioners claim their access to the court was denied

and that the state judicial process does not allow them to

remedy the wrong alleged. However, proof of a lack of

adequate state remedies is required by Hudson v. Palmer,

468 U.S. 517 (1984), in procedural due process and judi-

cial access cases. Obviously, the federal “right of access to

the courts” is not abridged when state court remains just

as open to provide a remedy as the federal courts. See

Foster v. City of Lake Jackson, 28 F.3d 425, 430 (5th Cir.

1994).

Ill. THE MAJORITY OF CIRCUITS CORRECTLY

AGREE WITH THE NINTH CIRCUIT

This same concept was clearly understood by the

Fifth Circuit in Ryland v. Shapiro, 708 F.2d 967, 974 (5th

Cir. 1983). That decision limited the “interference” associ-

ated with an alleged “cover-up” to the filing of a com-

plaint. This position was recently reasserted in Foster, 28

F.3d at 430 n. 7. The Seventh Circuit reached a similar

16

conclusion in Thompson v. Boggs, 33 F.3d at 847, 852-53

(7th Cir. 1994), cert. derizd, 514 USS. 1063 (1995), where it

held the actions did not amount to denial of right of

access to the courts because the plaintiff had sufficient

facts to properly file a lawsuit.13 Likewise, in Vasquez v.

Hernandez, 60 F.3d 325, 329 (7th Cir. 1995), the Court

found there was no constitutional injury where the plain-

tiff did not claim to have been prevented from pursuing

the tort action, or could not prove the value of that action

was reduced by the cover-up. In Waller v. Butkovich, 584

F. Supp. 909 (M.D.N.C. 1984), the Court -— addressing the

effect of a “cover-up” - stated:

The plaintiffs have great difficulty in proving

that they were damaged significantly in these

respects. The very fact that they were able to

institute this suit goes a long way toward prov-

ing the conspiracy to prevent them from obtain-

ing legal redress was unsuccessful, if indeed,

there was such a conspiracy. The plaintiffs, of

course, were not entitled to have the defendants

do investigatory work for them, nor to have the

defendants notify them of the existence of a

cause of action.

584 F. Supp. at 941.

In Swekel v. City of River Rouge, 119 F.3e 1259 (6th Cir.

1997), cert. denied, 118 S. Ct. 690 (1998), the Sixth Circuit

identified the steps to be taken in analyzing whether an

individual’s fundamental right of access to the courts has

been violated. Initially, the court must determine whether

'S Again, as with the prior Ninth Circuit case, this

Honorable Court had a chance to consider these issues on a Writ

of Certiorari and has denied them.

17

the abuse occurred pre- or post-filing. 119 F.3d at 1263. If

pre-filing (as is the situation here), the “plaintiff must

establish that the abuse denied her ‘effective’ and ‘mean-

ingful’ access to the courts.” Id. This fact can only be

established by showing the actions of the defendants

foreclosed her from filing a suit in state court or rendered

ineffective any state court remedy she previously may

have had. Id. at 1264.

in this case, the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals made

the reasoned decision that, assuming a claim for “cover-

up” conspiracy could be established, it would have to be

done in the context of an impairment to the state law

proceeding. Since DELEWS have not been impaired at the

present time in the course of their state law proceeding,

they have not yet suffered an injury.

As noted, the basic purpose of a § 1983 damages

award is to compensate persons for injuries caused by

deprivations of constitutional rights. When a person

seeks damages, the level of damages is ordinarily deter-

mined according to principles derived from the common

law of torts. Memphis Community School District v,

Stachura, 477 U.S. 299, 306 (1986). Accordingly, plaintiffs

seeking relief must establish both causation and damages.

Myers v. Scott County, 868 F.2d 1017 (9th Cir. 1989).

With respect to recovery of damages, in order to

justify a monetary judgment, the amount would reflect

the substance of damages - as proved by substantial

evidence. In other words, the law does not permit arriv-

ing at monetary award of damages by pure conjecture.

Kelly Broadcasting Co., Inc. v. Sovereign Broadcast, Inc., 96

Nev. 188, 606 P.2d 1089 (1980). See Butler v. Dowd, 979 F.2d

_——————

18

661 (8th Cir. 1992), cert. denied, 113 S. Ct. 2395 (1993). In

Nevada, “where damage has not been sustained or where

it is too early to know whether damage has been sus-

tained” an action for damages is premature and should

be dismissed. Semenza v. Nevada Medical Liability Ins. Co.,

104 Nev. 666, 668, 765 P.2d 184, 186 (1988). Causes of

actions do not accrue until damages are certain and not

contingent. Id. See also Alper v. Stillings, 80 Nev. 84, 86-87,

389 P.2d 239, 240 (1964).

In the instant case, DELEWS have already been

allowed to file their lawsuit. They have access to the

court — meaningful access to the court at the present time.

At best, the rather pallid arguments regarding a lessening

of the damage amount they would ultimately be capable

of receiving is ambiguous and can only be resolved at the

conclusion of trial.!4

Of course, in this case, WAGNER is virtually impecu-

nious and has, as her only meaningful asset, a vehicular

insurance policy. It is LYMPD’s understanding that, in the

course of the state law proceeding, the full amount of that

policy has already been tendered in an attempt to resolve

that litigation. Arguably, an award in excess of that insur-

ance policy amount would still be a greater award than

that which Petitioners could ever hope to receive from

14 Of course, this argument raises the interesting question

that since Petitioners have the ability and the opportunity to

challenge the veracity of the investigating officers and

WAGNER, herself, at the time of the state law trial, a decision by

the state law court that the officers and Ms. WAGNER are being

truthful would appear to be fatal to Petitioners’ claim.

19

WAGNER. This fact further destroys the validity of Peti-

tioners’ claims. Therefore, dismissal without prejudice

was completely appropriate.

IV. DELEWS’ CITED CASES ARE INAPPOSITE

As already indicated to this Court, other Circuits -

such as the Fifth, Sixth, and Seventh, agree with the

position taken by the Ninth Circuit that “meaningful

access” to the courts requires more than simple lip ser-

vice. In order to support their contention the Ninth Cir-

cuit ruling is contrary to established precedent,

Petitioners misstate the holding of Bell.!>

In Bell, it was alleged that officers had engaged in a

subsequent cover-up to hide the true facts of the murder

of a private citizen. The state action ended in a mistrial

and was ultimately settled between the parties. Roughly

twenty (20) years thereafter, one of the police officers

involved in the cover-up confessed to what actually

occurred. Immediately another wrongful death action

was brought. The problem in Bell was that the officers

were directly involved in the death of the individual and,

therefore, were the only witnesses to the event. Thus, by

their own efforts, they could completely foreclose investi-

gation. None of those facts are operative here.

By the same token, Petitioners miscite Ryland. In that

case, the cover-up of crucial information resulted in the

15 In citing Bell, Petitioners ignore the more recent Seventh

Circuit case already cited to this Court of Thompson which

sustains the Ninth Circuit’s decision. Therefore, the application

of Bell in making this decision is highly suspect.

20

state court litigation being dismissed for failure to pre-

sent sufficient evidence. Again, that case is inapposite to

the facts before this Court.

Even if these two decisions were applicable to the

case at bar, the analysis underlying those decisions is

flawed. This violation occurs only when parties have

conspired to act in a manner so as to disguise or so as to

keep the victim, or the victim’s family, from discovering

the “true” facts of the event for which the plaintiff is

ultimately seeking relief. However, even the best laid

conspiracy is of no avail unless it effectively forecloses

that avenue of redress. Until some damage can be shown

(such as the inability to file a lawsuit within an applicable

statute of limitations, the wrongful imposition of criminal

charges upon an innocent party, or the inability to recover

monies from litigation based solely on the lies of the

conspirators) then the aims of the conspiracy have not

been realized and, therefore, a constitutional cause of

action for conspiracy is simply not yet ripe for adjudica-

tion.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, LVMPD Respondents

respectfully requests this Court deny Petitioners’ Petition

for Writ of Certiorari and allow the Ninth Circuit decision

to stand — to the extent it does not wish to reconsider the

Ninth Circuit’s position in light of the pending Condi-

tional Cross-Petition for Writ of Certiorari.

21

Respectfully submitted this 14th day of October,

1998.

RAWLINGS, OLSON, CANNON,

GorMLEY & DeEsRUISSEAUX

Peter M. ANGuLO, Esq.

301 E. Clark Ave., #1000

Las Vegas, Nevada 89101

Attorneys for Respondents

SA 1

APPENDIX

COMP

Daniel T. Foley, Esq.

FOLEY & JONES, A PROFESSIONAL CORPORATION

Nevada Bar 1078

302 East Carson Avenue, Suite 901

Las Vegas, Nevada 89101

(702) 383-9852

Attorneys for Plaintiffs

DISTRICT COURT

CLARK COUNTY, NEVADA

MICHAEL C. DELEW,

individually;

MICHAEL C. DELEW, as Special

Administrator of the Estate of

ERIN RAE DELEW; H. ROY CASE NO.

MAYBERRY; and VICKIE A364616

MAYBERRY, DEPT NO. II

iat DOCKET NO. D

Plaintiffs,

VS.

JANET KATHLEEN WAGNER,

LAS VEGAS METROPOLITAN

Nm me ee ee ee ee eee ee”

POLICE DEPARTMENT, STATE OF ) COMPLAINT

NEVADA, EX REL., NEVADA

HIGHWAY PATROL, LIEUTENANT ) Clhed

EDWARD JENSEN, SERGEANT x ng 6)

RICHARD WOMACK, SERGEANT ? Ziv

CURTIS ALBERT, SERGEANT

THOMAS HARMON, DETECTIVE

RICHARD HART, DETECTIVE

WILLIAM JOHNSON, OFFICER

WILLIAM SMITH, OFFICER

KEITH BOWERS, OFFICER DAVID

Ne ee eee ee ee”

SA 2

WAGNER AND OFFICER GREG

GOEN, SERGEANT WILLIAM

ADAMSON, SERGEANT HARVEY

WEATHERFORD, TROOPER

JOSEPH A. SMITH, TROOPER

GARTH GARDNER, TROOPER

JOSEPH WYNGARD AND

TROOPER JAMES BRANNUM.

DOES I through XX inclusive, and

ROE CORPORATIONS XX through

XXX.

Defendants.

Ne Ne ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee

COMES NOW the above-captioned Plaintiffs, by and

through their attorneys, and for causes of actions against

the above-captioned Defendants allege as follows:

ALLEGATIONS COMMON TO ALL

CAUSES OF ACTION

A. PARTIES

1. Plaintiff Michael C. DeLew is now, and at all

times relevant hereto has been, a resident of Clark

County, Nevada.

2. Plaintiff Michael C. DeLew is the husband of Erin

Rae DeLew and was appointed by the Court to serve as

the Special Administrator of the Estate of Erin Rae

DeLew on November 10, 1994.

3. Plaintiff H. Roy Mayberry is the father of Erin

Rae DeLew and is now, and at all times relevant hereto

has been, a resident of Clark County, Nevada.

SA 3

4. Plaintiff Vickie Mayberry is the mother of Erin

Rae DeLew and is now, and at all times relevant hereto

has been, a resident of Clark County, Nevada.

5. Defendant Janet Kathleen Wagner is now, and at

all times relevant hereto has been, a resident of Clark

County, Nevada.

6. Defendant Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Depart-

ment was created pursuant to NRS 280.010 et seq as a

merged police department of the City of Las Vegas and

Clark County. NRS 280.280.4 provides that Department

may sue or be sued with regard to any act or omission to

act on the part of the sheriff, or an officer, employee or

agent of the Department.

7. The Nevada Highway Patrol was created by the

Nevada legislature in NRS. 481-130 as a division within

the State of Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles.

8. Defendants Lieutenant Edward Jensen, Sergeant

Richard Womack, Sergeant Curtis Albert, Sergeant

Thomas Harmon, Detective Richard Hart, Detective Wil-

liam Johnson, Officer William Smith, Officer Keith

- Bowers, Officer David Wagner and Officer Greg Goen are

police officers of the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police

Department and believed to be residents of Clark County,

Nevada.

9. Defendants Sergeant William Adamson, Sergeant

Harvey Weatherford, Officer Joseph A. Smith, Officer

Garth Gardner, Trooper Joseph Wyngard and Trooper

James Brannum are law enforcement officers of the Nev-

ada Highway Patrol and believed to be residents of Clark

County, Nevada.

SA 4

10. At all times mentioned herein Defendant Las

Vegas Metropolitan Police Department was a municipal

corporation of the State of Nevada, and was the employer

of Defendants Lieutenant Edward Jensen, Sergeant Rich-

ard Womack, Sergeant Curtis Albert, Sergeant Thomas

Harmon, Detective Richard Hart, Detective William John-

son, Officer William Smith, Officer Keith Bowers, Officer

David Wagner and Officer Greg Goen and provided each

of these Defendants with an official badge and identifica-

tion card which designated and described its bearer as a

police officer of the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police

Department. The City of Las Vegas is the municipal cor-

poration in whose name the individual police officer

Defendants, and each of them, performed all acts and

omissions alleged here.

11. At all times mentioned herein Defendant Nev-

ada Highway Patrol was a municipal corporation of the

State of Nevada, and was the employer of Defendants

Sergeant William Adamson, Sergeant Harvey Weather-

ford, Officer Joseph A. Smith, Officer Garth Gardner,

Trooper Joseph Wyngard and Trooper James Brannum

and provided each of these Defendants with an official

badge and identification card which designated and

described its bearer as a officer of the Nevada Highway

Patrol. The Nevada Highway Patrol is a municipal corpo-

ration in whose name the individual police officer Defen-

dants, and each of them, performed all acts and

omissions alleged herein.

12. DOES I through XX, inclusive, and ROE Corpo-

rations XX through XXX are named as Defendants for

individual parties or corporations / partnerships that may

be identified during the course of this action. Specifically

SA 5

there may be additional Metropolitan Police Officers or

Highway Patrol Troopers, or agents or representatives or

theirs who may have come in contact with evidence or

witnesses and thereafter participated in covering up the

facts. Upon such occasions, Plaintiffs shall seek leave of

the Court to substitute such party or corporation/ part-

nership for the DOES or ROE Defendants.

B. FACTUAL ALLEGATIONS

13. On September 27, 1994 at approximately 7:15

p-m., Erin Rae DeLew, who was married to Plaintiff,

Michael C. DeLew, was riding her bicycle in the vicinity

of West Lake Mead Boulevard and Ridgemoor Street.

14. At the same time referenced above, the Defen-

dant, Janet Kathleen Wagner, was operating a motor vehi-

cle registered in her husband’s name in the same vicinity

as referenced above.

15. Janet Kathleen Wagner caused the vehicle that

she was operating to collide with Erin Rae DeLew and

her bicycle, causing Erin Rae DeLew to be projected

approximately sixty (60) feet from the point of impact

inflicting numerous lacerations, contusions, and head

injuries, upon her, and causing her death.

16. At the time of the subject accident, Janet

Kathleen Wagner was operating her vehicle in a reckless

and negligent fashion, including, but not limited to, driv-

ing her vehicle at a minimum of thirty (30%) percent

higher than the maximum posted speed limit.

17. At the time of the subject accident, Janet

Kathleen Wagner was operating her vehicle after having

SA 6

willfully and negligently consumed alcohol and was ille-

gally under the influence of alcohol at the time of the

subject accident.

18. After the traffic collision between Erin DeLew

and Defendant Janet Wagner, no fewer than 15 law

enforcement officers of the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police

Department and Nevada Highway Patrol responded to

the scene of the fatal investigation, some within a few

minutes of the collision and prior to Erin DeLew’s death.

19. Immediately upon their arrival at the scene of

the collision, and prior to Erin Delew’s death, Defendant

METRO ard NHP officers realized that Defendant Ofticer

David Wagner’s wife, Defendant Janet Wagner, had been

drinking alcoholic beverages, had been driving her vehi-

cle at speeds in excess of 30% of the posted speed limit,

and had violated the right-of-way of Erin DeLew causing

Erin DeLew’s death. Defendant police officers realized

that Plaintiffs’ daughter and wife, respectively, was

fatally injured.

20. Officer Wagner’s wife, Janet Wagner, admitted

that prior to the fatal collision she had been drinking

alcoholic beverages. All of the Defendant police officers

had substantial experience in the administration of field

sobriety tests, yet took no action to personally determine

Janet Wagner’s sobriety or level of intoxication.

21. Pursuant to the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police

Department policy of investigating traffic accidents and

criminal incidents involving fellow police officers and

their immediate family members, and despite the patent

conflict of interest, Defendant METRO police officers,

who were clothed with decision-making authority with

SA 7

respect to the investigation, proceeded to cover-up the

truth of Erin DeLew’s death.

22. Beginning immediately upon their arrival at the

scene of the fatal traffic collision, and prior to Erin

DeLew’s death, and continuing until the present time,

Defendants deliberately and willfully sought to cover up

The facts surrounding the death of Plaintiffs’ daughter

and wife, respectively, in order to protect the wife of their

fellow police officer. Defendant Officer Wagner, from

criminal and civil prosecution for causing the death of

Erin DeLew in violation of Plaintiffs’ constitutional

rights. By so doing, Defendants intentionally interfered

with the Plaintiffs’ right of meaningful access to courts,

protected by the U.S. Constitution, as more fully

described below. These acts and omissions, which were

undertaken in reckless disregard and callous indifference

to Plaintiffs’ rights, include the following:

a. Deliberately refraining from performing a field

sobriety test upon Officer David Wagner’s wife, Janet

Wagner, despite the fact that (1) Janet Wagner smelled of

alcohol; (2) Janet Wagner admitted to drinking alcohol

just prior to the fatal collision; and (3) Janet Wagner had

been speeding, had made an erratic lane change, and had

violated Erin DeLew’s right-of-way causing the death of

Erin DeLew;

b. Deliberately refraining from performing a chemi-

cal blood alcohol test within two hours of the fatal traffic

collision;

c. Failing to accurately record statements of all per-

cipient witnesses, and fabricating other portions of these

witness statements;

SA 8

d. Failing to preserve and record physical eviden-e

at the scene of the accident including skid marks, relevant

debris and Janet Wagner’s level of intoxication;

e. Allowing Defendant Janet Wagner to leave the

scene of the fatal collision during the investigation;

f. Making misrepresentations to Plaintiffs, both oral

and via the traffic collision report, regarding the facts

surrounding their daughter’s and wife’s death;

g. Making misrepresentations to the Coroner’s

Office investigator regarding the facts of the fatality and

concealing material information from the Coroner's

Office;

h. Issuing a false and fraudulent report claiming

Plaintiffs’ daughter and wife, respectively, was responsi-

ble for her own death by making an unsafe lane change

with little or no basis for so concluding, and causing the,

same to be published in newspapers; and

i. Covering up the fraudulent investigation con-

ducted concerning Erin DeLew’s death and thereby

implicating themselves in the continuing conspiracy to

violate Plaintiffs’ constitutional rights; and

j. Failing and refusing to take two blood draws

separated by time when the blood draw was finally

taken.

23. As a result of Defendants actions and inaction

described above and below, Plaintiffs have been injured

and caused to suffer as follow:

a. Emotional distress, grief, aggravated grief

and related damages;

SA 9

b. Loss of consortium and companionship;

c. Economic losses;

FIRST CAUSE OF ACTION

(Violation of 42 U.S.C. 1983)

24. Plaintiffs repeat and reallege each and every

allegation contained in paragraphs 1 through 23 above as

fully set forth herein.

25. This cause of action is to redress the deprivation

under the color of statute, ordinance, regulation, policy,

custom, practice or usage of a right, privilege, and unity

secured to Plaintiffs by the First, Fifth and Fourteenth

Amendments to the Constitution of the United States (42

USC § 1983).

26. Plaintiffs are members of a class of pe sons

involved in traffic incidents or criminal incidents with

members or family members of the Las Vegas Metro-

politan Police Department or the Nevada Highway

Patrol.

27. Defendant police officers, while clothed with

authority as police officers and acting under color of state

law, covered up the true facts of Erin DeLew’s death in

order to protect Janet Wagner from criminal and civil

liability for Erin’s death. Defendants, through their

actions, inaction, and acquiescence, used their power and

position to violate Plaintiffs’ constitutional rights by cov-

ering up the fact that Janet Wagner caused the death of

Erin DeLew.

SA 10

_ 28. The facts alleged above are part of the customs,

practices, policies and decisions of the Las Vegas Metro-

politan Police Department and Nevada Highway Patrol

including, but not limited to, the following:

a. Inadequately and/or fraudulently investigating

allegations of criminal and civil misconduct involving

fellow law enforcement officers and their immediate fam-

ily members, in order to cover-up and protect fellow

police officers and their relatives from disciplinary, crimi-

nal and civil actions;

-b. Covering up the criminal and/or wrongful activ-

ities of fellow law enforcement officers and their immedi-

ate family members by false reporting, false

investigating, perjury and dishonesty;

c. Refusing to supervise, reprimand and/or disci-

pline law enforcement officers who engage in miscon-

duct, whether on or off duty;

d. Investigating traffic and criminal incidents

involving fellow law enforcement officers and their

immediate family members;

e. Failing to administer adequate and standard field

sobriety tests to fellow law enforcement officers or their

immediate family members suspected of driving under

the influence; in effect, giving preferential treatment to

fellow police officers and their immediate family mem-

bers;

f. Failing to enforce the law, rules, regulations and

procedures when an investigation is conducted of a fel-

low law,enforcement officer’s misconduct, or a relative of

a fellow police officer, and therefore, denying Plaintiffs

SA 11

___and similarly situated citizens equal protection of the — —__

laws and meaningful and unimpaired access to the courts

as provided in the U.S. Constitution;

g- Inadequately training and supervising police.

officers with respect to the investigation of misconduct by

fellow law enforcement officers or their immediate my

h. Choosing a policy of not implementing pro-

cedures and policies that would prevent law enforcement

officers from impartially investigating misconduct,

including criminal, traffic and other wrongful incidents,

involving fellow officers and/or their immediate family

members; and

i. Tacitly approving of police officers using their

power and position to protect fellow law enforcement

officers and their relatives through preferential treatment

resulting in interference with other citizens’ rights,

including the right to meaningful access to courts, as

described more fully below.

j. Defendants chose to consciously implement the

above customs and policies from various available alter-

natives.

29. Each of the individual Defendants and METRO

and the NHP separately and in concert, acted willfully,

knowingly, with reckless disregard and deliberate indif-

ference, and purposefully with the intent to deprive

Plaintiffs of their rights and privileges, and did in fact

violate:

SA 12

ae Plaintiffs’ substantive right to meaningful and

unimpaired access to courts as protected by Article 4 of

the Constitution and the Fourteenth Amendment;

b. Plaintiffs’ right to petition the government for

redress of grievances without interference as protected by

the First Amendment right to petition;

c. Plaintiffs’ right to present to the judiciary allega-

tions concerning violations of fundamental constitutional

rights without impairment or interference as protected by

the Due Process Clause of the Fifth and Fourteenth

Amendment;

d.' Plaintiffs’ constitutionally protected right to

prosecute without impairment or interference a wrongful

death suit for the death of their daughter and wife,

respectively, in Nevada State Court;

e. Plaintiffs’ right to substantive due process of law,

including the right to be free of arbitrary and abusive

assertion of governmental power, to be treated with fun-

damental fairness by governmental authorities, and to

maintain their personal integrity and dignity as parents

and citizens;

- f. Procedural due process of law, including the right

to have had a fair and partial investigation of the death of

their daughter and wife, respectively, and to have had

notice and an opportunity to be heard before METRO and

the NHP impaired their property interest to seek total

and full redress for Erin DeLew’s wrongful death; and

g. Equal protection of the law, including the right to

have had a fair and impartial investigation of the death of

SA 13

their daughter and wife, respectively, and to have the _

laws equally applied to them.

h. All of the above rights and privileges are secured

to Plaintiffs by the provisions of the First Amendment

and the due process clause of the Fifth and Fourteenth

Amendments to the Constitution of the United States,

and by Title 42, United States Code Section 1983.

30. The above acts or omissions of Defendant police

officers, both formal and informal, were undertaken

while under color of state law and resulted in the viola-

tion of Plaintiffs’ constitutional rights. Likewise, the cus-

toms, practices, policies and decisions of METRO and the

NHP alleged herein and as applied to Plaintiffs, resulted

in violation of Plaintiffs’ constitutional rights as stated

herein.

31. Despite the fact that they knew or should have

known of the fact that these acts, omissions, decisions,

practices, customs and policies, both formal and informal,

were being carried out by their agents and employees,

METRO and the NHP have taken no steps or efforts to

order a halt to this course of conduct, to make redress to

these Plaintiffs or other citizens injured thereby, or to take

any disciplinary action whatsoever against any of their

fellow law enforcement officers. In effect, Defendants

METRO and the NHP have ratified the wrongful conduct

and custom resulting in violation of Plaintiffs’ civil rights.

32. Asa direct and proximate result of the aforesaid

acts, omissions, customs, practices, policies and decisions

of the individual police officer Defendants, METRO and

the NHP, and each of them, Plaintiffs suffered great men-

tal anguish, fright, nervousness, anxiety, grief, shock,

SA 14

humiliation, loss of consortium, indignity, embarrass-

ment, apprehension all to their damage in a sum to be

determined at trial. Plaintiffs have been greatly humili-

ated a result of the foregoing acts of the Defendants.

Plaintiffs have been forced to incur substantial obligation

for attorney’s fees, court reporter’s fees, investigation

expenses, and other expenses in the vindication of their

constitutional rights.

33. Defendants’ actions were attended by circum-

stances of malice, insult and a reckless disregard for the

rights and feelings of Plaintiffs.

SECOND CAUSE OF ACTION

(Conspiracy to Violate 42 U.S.C. 1983)

34. Plaintiffs repeat and reallege each and every

allegation contained in paragraphs 1 through 33 above as

fully set forth herein.

35. This cause of action is to redress the deprivation

under the color of statute, ordinance, regulation, policy,

custom, practice or usage of a right, privilege and immu-

nity secured to Plaintiffs by the First and Fourteenth

Amendments to the Constitution of the United States by

virtue of a conspiracy between Defendants Janet Wagner,

David Wagner, the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Depart-

ment, State of Nevada, ex rel., the Nevada Highway

Patrol, Lieutenant Edward Jensen, Sergeant Richard

Womack, Sergeant Curtis Albert, Sergeant Thomas Har-

mon, Detective Richard Hart, Detective William Johnson,

Officer William Smith, Officer Keith Bowers, Officer Greg

Goen, Sergeant William Adamson, Sergeant Harvey

Weatherford, Trooper Joseph A. Smith, Trooper Garth

SA 15

Gardner, Trooper Joseph Wyngard and Trooper James

Brannum, Does I through XX inclusive, and Roe Corpora-

tions XX through XXX, to cover up the true facts of Erin

DeLew’s death to protect Janet Wagner from criminal and

civil liability for Erin’s death.

36. During all times mentioned herein, the individ-

ual named law enforcement officers and each of them,

separately and in concert, acted under color and pretense

of law, under color of the statutes, ordinances, regula-

tions, policies, practices, customs and usage’s of the State

of Nevada, the County of Clark and City of Las Vegas.

Each of the individual Defendants here, separately and in

concert, engaged in the illegal conduct here mentioned to

the injury of Plaintiffs and deprived Plaintiffs of the

rights, privileges, and immunities secured to Plaintiffs by

the First, Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the Con-

stitution of the United States and the laws of the United

States, as identified above.

37. On and after September 27, 1994, at said time

and place, and thereafter, while investigating the incident

described herein, Defendants, members of METRO and

NHP, including Defendant law enforcement officers, and

DOES I-XX and XX-XXX, and each of them, while acting

under the color of state law, consciously, willfully, mali-

ciously and intentionally conspired to protect fellow Offi-

cer’s David Wagner’s wife, Defendant Janet Wagner,

from, civil and criminal liability by covering up the true

facts of Erin DeLew’s death These acts, as more fully

described above, include refraining from administering a

field sobriety test to Officer’s David Wagner’s wife or a

blood alcohol test within two hours of the collision, or

two blood draws separated by time, intentionally and

SA 16

willfully refraining from collecting and recording other

evidence at or near the scene of the accident, including

witness statements, skid marks, point and area of impact,

and Janet Wagner’s level of intoxication.

38. Defendants overtly acted in furtherance of this

conspiracy by undertaking the acts described above.

39. Defendant METRO police officers and Defen-

dant NHP officers were clothed with the power and

authority of Clark County, the City of Las Vegas, and the

State of Nevada, respectively, to make decisions on behalf

of these public entities. By virtue of this delegated power

and authority, these Defendants furthered the conspiracy

in such fashion that the conspiracy became an informal

decision, practice or policy of Clark County, the City of

Las Vegas, and State of Nevada.

40. Defendants consciously, intentionally, willfully.

and deliberately conspired and continued to conspire and

agree among themselves to damage Plaintiffs by con-

sciously, intentionally, willfully, and deliberately destroy-

ing, altering, fabricating and/or failing to note and/or

record evidence, in furtherance of the conspiracy to vio-

late Plaintiffs’ civil rights. Moreover, Defendants’ con-

spiracy was executed pursuant to the customs and

policies identified above resulting in violations of Plain-

tiffs’ constitutional rights. Defendants chose to con-

sciously implement these customs and policies from

various available alternatives.

41. The above acts or ommissions of Defendant

police officers, both formal and informal, were under-

taken while under color of State law and resulted in the

violation of Plaintiffs’ constitutional rights. Likewise, the

eS ee es eet ey

SA 17

customs, practices, policies and decisions of METRO and

NHP alleged herein and as applied to Plaintiffs, resulted

in violation of Plaintiffs’ Constitutional rights as identi-

fied above.

42. The above acts, omissions, customs, practices

and/or decisions of METRO and the NHP, while carried

out under color of state law, have no justification or

excuse in law, and instead constitute a gross abuse of

governmental authority and power, shock the conscience,

are fundamentally unfair, arbitrary and oppressive, and

unrelated to any activity in which police officers may

appropriately and legally engage in the course of protect-

ing persons or property, or ensuring civil order. The

above acts, omissions, decisions, customs, practices, or

policies were consciously chosen from among various

alternatives.

43. Asa direct and proximate result of the conspir-

acy to violate their constitutional rights, Plaintiffs have

suffered great mental anguish, fright, nervousness, anxi-

ety, grief, shock, humiliation, indignity, embarrassment,

apprehension all to their damage in a sum to be deter-

mined at trial. Plaintiffs have also been forced to incur

substantial obligations for attorney’s fees, court repor-

ter’s fees, investigation expenses, and other expenses in

vindication of their constitutional rights.

44. Defendants’ actions were attended by circum-

stances of malice, insult and a reckless disregard for the

rights and feelings of Plaintiffs.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiffs pray for judgment in favor

of Plaintiffs, and against Defendants, as follows:

SA 18

FIRST CAUSE OF ACTION

1. For special damages in an amount in excess of

$10,000.00;

\

2. For general damages for each Plaintiff in an

amount in excess of $10,000.00;

3. For exemplary damages, in an amount to be

determined by the trier of fact.

4. For attorney's fees and costs; and

5. For such other and further relief as this Court

deems just and proper.

SECOND CAUSE OF ACTION

1. For special damages in an amount in excess of

$10,000.00;

2. For general damages for each Plaintiff in an

amount in excess of $10,000.00;

3. For exemplary damages in an amount to be deter-

mined by the trier of fact.

4. For attorney’s fees and costs; and

5. For such other and further relief as this Court

deems just and proper.

SA 19

DATED this 26th day of September, 1996.

Respectfully Submitted,

FOLEY & JONES

A PROFESSIONAL CORPORATION

/s/ Daniel T. Foley

Daniel T. Foley, Esq.

Nevada Bar No. 1078

302 East Carson Ave., Suite 901

Las Vegas, Nevada 89101

Attorneys for Plaintiffs

SA 20

0056

KEITH EDWARDS, ESQ.

Nevada Bar No. #002299

EDWARDS & HALE, Ltd.

415 South Sixth Street, #300

Las Vegas, Nevada 89101

(702) 382-1414

Attorneys for Defendant

DISTRICT COURT

CLARK COUNTY, NEVADA

MICHAEL C. DELEW, individually

and MICHAEL C. DELEW, as

Special Administrator of the Estate

of ERIN RAE DELEW; H. ROY

MAYBERRY; and VICKIE

MAYBERRY,

Plaintiffs,

)

)

)

)

)

) Case No.

) A364616

) Dept.’ No. I

vs. )

JANET KATHLEEN WAGNER, )

and DOES I through V inclusive, )

and ROE CORPORATIONS V )

through X, ‘

)

)

Defendants.

Docket No. D

MOTION TO DISMISS

(Filed Jan. 24, 1997)

Date of Hearing: 2/20/97

Time of Hearing: 9 AM

COMES NOW, the Defendant, JANET KATHLEEN

WAGNER, by and through her attorneys and moves this

SA 21

Honorable Court pursuant to the provisions of NRCP

12(b) and 56(b) for an order dismissing the Plaintiffs’

Complaint on file herein.

This motion is made on the grounds that the Plain-

tiffs cannot state a valid cause of action and on the

further grounds that there is no undisputed issues of fact

relevant to a final judgment in this action.

This motion is made and based on all files, pleadings

and records on file herein together with the points and

authorities attached hereto.

EDWARDS & HALE, Ltd.

By /s/ Keith Edwards, Esq.

KEITH EDWARDS, ESQ.

Nevada Bar #002299

Attorneys for Defendant,

Janet Kathleen Wagner

415 South Sixth Street, #300

Las Vegas, Nevada 89101

NOTICE OF MOTION

TO: Plaintiffs above-named; and

TO: DANIEL T. FOLEY, ESQ., their attorney;

YOU, AND EACH OF YOU, WILL PLEASE TAKE

NOTICE that the undersigned will bring the foregoing

Motion to Dismiss on for hearing before the above-enti-

tled Court on the 20 day of February, 1997, at the hour of

9:00 o’clock in the forenoon said date in Department No.

II.

SA 22

DATED this 23rd day of January, 1997.

EDWARDS & HALE, Ltd.

a By /s/ Keith Edwards

KEITH EDWARDS, ESQ.

Nevada Bar #002299

Attorneys for Defendant,

Janet Kathleen Wagner

415 South Sixth Street,

Suite 300

Las Vegas, Nevada 89101

POINTS AND AUTHORITIES

On or about September 27, 1997 Janet Rae Delew was

riding her bicycle across Lake Mead Boulevard and rode

into the path of the vehicle operated by the Defendant

JANET WAGNER, where she was struck and killed. On

November 10, 1994 a civil action was filed in the District

Court for Clark County, Nevada by the heirs of Janet Rae

Delew against Defendant JANET WAGNER alleging neg-

ligence and intoxication on the part of the defendant.

That matter proceeded in normal course and extensive

discovery followed including the depositions of over

twenty potential trial witnesses or investigators of the

accident. The depositions that were taken include the

depositions of all but one of the defendants now nan ed

in this action. After taking the depositions of all of the

officers at the scene of the accident and on the eve of the

statute of limitations the plaintiffs filed a motion to

amend their complaint to join the investigating officers as

parties. The motion was denied and this new and sepa-

rate action followed.

"

SA 23

Clearly erroneous allegations

_Apparently in an attempt to state a cause of action

under 42 USC § 1983 the plaintiff has alleged:

19. Immediately upon their arrival at the scene

of the collision, and prior to Erin Delew’s death,

defendant METRO and NHP officers realized

that Defendant Officer David Wagner's wife,

Defendant Janet Wagner, had been drinking

alcoholic beverages, had been driving her vehi-

cle at speeds in excess of 30% of the posted

speed limit, and had violated the right-of-way

of Erin DeLew causing Erin DeLew’s [sic] death.

Defendant police officers realized that Plaintiffs’

daughter and wife, respectively, was fatally

injured.

There appears to be an inconsistency in the allegations

which state that the officers arrived at the scene “prior to

Erin Delew’s death” and then allege in the same Ppara-

graph that the “defendant police officers realized that

[Erin Delew] was fatally injured.” The issue of the time of

Mrs. Delew’s death has some bearing on a § 1983 action

and is resolved very quickly by the testimony of the first

witness at the scene of the accident.

Robert A. McNeese was a Lieutenant Colonel in the

Air Force assigned to Nellis Air Force Base. At the time of

the accident he was walking his dog when he heard a

noise, knew an accident had occurred and ran to the

scene. He stated that he was the first person at the scene.

Deposition transcript pp. 12-13. After arriving at the

scene he went directly to the victim. He testified as fol-

lows:

SA 24

Q. With. respect to the victim, were you

able to render any assistance? |

A. I felt for pulse. Couldn't find a pulse. I

listened for breathing. Couldn’t hear a heart-

beat. Couldn’t hear any breath, you know, with

my ear up to her back as she was laying face

down. There was a lot of blood loss, a massive

head wound. And I checked her pupils and

although I’m not a medical person, I have seen

fatalities before, and I determined in my mind

that she was a fatality. When I got to her, her

eyes were — her pupils were fixed and dilated,

and that usually a pretty good sign of no brain

activity.

Q. Did you have any conversations with

anybody at the scene?

A. Yes. I had a conversation with my wife

because she came over when I told her that I

couldn’t find a pulse and she felt for a pulse

both on the writs and on the victim's neck, and

my wife thought she felt a very, very faint pulse,

and it may have just been some residual. I don’t

think it wasn’t a strong strong pulse. We had

that conversation. And then another woman

who I believe was the woman on the bicycle

came into the street and she was suggesting that

we try to give the victim CPR and I disagreed

with her. I said I didn’t think it would do any

good because I thought the person was already

dead and besides the fact that there’s a bad

trauma to the head and she’s laying on her

stomach and you’d have to roll her over to do

CPR and that could create more problems with a

head or neck injury, and we should probably

just wait and before the police arrive and before

SA 25

the ambulance arrived two gentlemen were jog-

ging by, running by. Both of them ran over and

asked what’s going on?” and one of them said,

“I’m a doctor.” And he bent down over the -

called her the body and said, “I think she’s

dead.” And he did the same thing, lifted up her

eyelid and looked at her eyes and he said, “Yes,

I think she’s dead. There’s nothing that can be

done for her here.” And I said, “The ambulance

is on the way and the police are on the way.”

And he said, “fine,” and continued to run up the

street. Deposition pp. 18-20 (See Exhibit “A”).

The witness went on to explain that a single patrolman

arrived at the scene checked the victim and indicated that

nothing could be done for her. An emergency vehicle

then arrived, hooked up a small portable EKG and got a

flat line and “they said she was deceased at that point.”

(Deposition p. 22).

There is no 42 USC § 1983 cause of action

The foregoing is of significance because of the claim

that Mrs. Delew’s civil rights were violated. However, the

First Cause of Action of the Complaint is not directed at

Mrs. Wagner. The plaintiffs appear to have recognized

that by its terms, § 1983 applies only to individuals acting

“under color” of law. In other words, a defendant cannot

be held liable under 1983 unless his actions can be “fairly

attributable to the state.” Lugar v. Edmondson Oil Co., 457

U.S. 922, 73 L. Ed. 2d 482, 102 S. Ct. 2744 (1982). Perhaps

that is why Janet Wagner is only referred to peripherally

in the First Cause of Action.

SA 26

The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals has ruled that the

civil rights of a person cannot be violated after the death

of that person. Estate of Cartwright v. City of Concord, 618

F. Supp. 722 (ND CA.1985), aff’d 856 F.2d 1437 (9th Cir.

1988).

Defendants argue that no post-death events

could legally interfere with plaintiffs’ alleged

constitutional rights, under the authority of

Guyton v. Phillips, 606 F.2d 248, 250 (9th Cir.

1979); Whitehurst v. Wright, 592 F.2d 834,

840-841 (5th Cir. 1979); McQurter v. City of

Atlanta, 572 F. Supp. 1401, 1419 (N.D. Ga. 1983).

Those authorities are persuasive that the civil

rights of a person cannot be violated after death,

and therefore the scope of an investigation after

death is not actionable.

Plaintiffs’ response is that the lack of thor-

oughness of the investigation was a policy of

defendants, which policy existed prior to Cart-

wrights’ death, and that the policy resulted in

procedures which insulated the city and its per-

sonnel from liability for violations of constitu-

tional rights. See Webster v. City of Houston,

689 F.2d 1220 (5th Cir. 1982), aff'd in part on

rehearing, 739 F.2d 99 illegible Cir. 1984). See

also Gomez v. Whitney, 757 F.2d 1005 (9th Cir.

1985).

The court rejected the claim that the defendants’ inade-

quate investigation and failure to preserve evidence

deprived her of a constitutional right. Id. at 730. In affirm-

ing the lower court decision the Ninth Circuit Court of

Appeals specifically also rejected the claim that there had

been a deprivation of a constitutional right. See 856 F.2d

at 1438.

SA 27

The Ninth Circuit has also ruled that there is no

constitutional right “to have a full and fair police investi-

gation into violence done against themselves or their

children.” In the case of Gomez v. Whitney, 757 F.2d 1005

(9th Cir. 1984), the plaintiffs brought an action when their

son died as a result of an apparent accident while tres-

passing on a construction site with two other juveniles.

The police conducted a cursory investigation and decided

not to recommend that any charges be brought against

the decedent’s companions. When Mr. Gomez, Sr. was

unable to convince the police department to re-open the

investigation he filed an action claiming that his family’s

civil rights had been violated by the police department's

inadequate investigation. In affirming the district court’s

dismissal of the case the appellate court said:

A prerequisite to recovery under the Civil

Rights Act, 42 U.S.C. § 1983, is that the plaintiff

prove that the defendants deprived him of a

right secured by the Constitution and the laws

of the United States. Martinez v. California, 444

U.S. 277, 284, 62 L.Ed. 2d 481, 100 S. Ct. 553

(1980). A threshold question in this appeal, then

is whether or not the appellants’ claim involves

the deprivation of a protected right.

The appellants claim that the right infringed

was a due process right to have a full and fair

police investigation into violence done against

themselves or their children. However, we can

find no instance where the courts have recog-

nized inadequate investigation as sufficient to

state a civil rights claim unless there was

another recognized constitutional right

involved. See, e.g., Smith v. Ross, 482 F.2d 33 (6th

SA 28

Cir. 1973) (police failure to protect against hous-

ing discrimination).

Because the appellants have failed to state

facts that constitute the infringement of a pro-

tected right, their § 1983 claim must necessarily

fail, and the district court was consequently cor-

rect in granting summary judgment against

them. The judgment of the district court is there-

fore AFFIRMED. |

The Plaintiffs’ attempt to link the wrongful death

action of Erin Delew to the subsequent police investiga-

tion is merely a veiled attempt to insert into this action

facts which occurred after the accident which had noth-

ing to do with the death of the bicyclist. The true nature

of this action is best reflected by the eye witness who

simply states that the bicyclist rode her bike across the

path of an oncoming vehicle without looking (see Exhibit

“B”). No matter what the police did or did not do after

the accident will not change the actions of the bicyclist.

However, if the Plaintiffs can insert enough extraneous

and collateral facts into the case to make it appear that

something in the investigation was done wrong, there

might be enough to obscure the actions of the bicyclist

and change the focus of the trial to one of investigative

misconduct. The investigation has nothing to do with the

wrongful death of the bicyclist.

There is no “Conspiracy to Violate 42 U.S.C. 1983”

cause of action

Again for a conspiracy cause of action to have any

substance the victim had to be alive when (as plaintiffs

allege) “[d]efendant police officers realized that . . . [Erin

SA 29

Delew] was fatally injured.” (Complaint J 19) If as

alleged, the officers realized she was fatally injured, there

was already a fatality and there is no violation of civil

rights.

However, the allegations set forth in W1 34 through

44 fail to set forth any conduct of Defendant JANET

WAGNER which indicated her knowledge or participa-

tion in any conspiracy. In fact that conspiracy claim seems

to omit Mrs. Wagner when the Plaintiffs allege in { 40:

Moreover, Defendants’ conspiracy was executed

pursuant to the customs and policies identified

above resulting in violations of Plaintiffs’ consti-

tutional rights. Defendants chose to consciously

implement these customs and policies from var-

ious available alternatives.

Obviously Mrs. Wagner had no customs or policies which

violated the plaintiffs constitutional rights; nor is she

accused of participating [sic] the implementation of those

customs and policies. In short the plaintiffs seem to aim

their conspiracy action at the investigative agencies

rather than at Mrs. Wagner.

In a somewhat analogous case of Scott v. Dally, No.

92-5006-CV-SW-1 (W.D. MO. 1992) the court observed

that:

Plaintiff has not alleged a conspiracy of any sort

between the prosecutor and the individual

defendants in this action. Indeed, the plaintiff

alleges that defendant Gil Stevens, as a repre-

sentative of defendant Brady Stevens Company,

committed “perjury” when he presented his

information to defendant Dally for prosecution.

SA 30

Rather than alleging any conspiracy or agree-

ment between the defendants, plaintiff has

alleged that one defendant (defendant Stevens)

gave false information to another defendant

(defendant Dally). Moreover, in her complaint,

plaintiff makes absolutely no allegations what-

soever regarding defendant McMillan.

Similar to the Scott case the Plaintiffs have not alleged

any overt action on the part of Mrs. Wagner. A conspiracy

requires a willful participation by the participants in

order to meet the requirements of 42 U.S.C. 1983. Shipley

v. First Fed. § & L Ass’n of Delaware, 703 F. Supp. 1122 (D.

Del. 1988).

Plaintiffs are attempting to split their cause of action

The Plaintiffs in this case filed a wrongful death

action over two years ago against Janet Wagner. Now,

after extensive discovery in that case, they seek to aug-

ment that action with this new and separate cause of

action. It has long been established that a party may not

split his cause of action. Louisiana courts hold that a

plaintiff cannot split his claims for personal injuries and

property damage arising from the same accident. Forten-

berry v. Clay, La.App.1953, 68 So.2d 133; Thompson v.

Kivett & Reel, Inc., La.App.1946, 25 So.2d 124. In addition,

in wrongful death cases courts forbid the survivor to split

his damages and the decedent’s damages. See Reed v.

Warren, 1931, 172 La. 1082, 136 So. 59; Norton v. Crescent

City Ice Mfg. Co., 1933, 178 La. 135, 150 So. 855.

The issue was discussed in some depth in the case of

King Gen Contrs., Inc. v. Reorganized Church of Jesus Christ

of Latter Day Saints, 1991 Mo. App. LEXIS 444, (Court of

si a A ee ee ee

SA 31

Appeals of Missouri, Western District, 1991). In that

action the court observed:

A cause of action which is single may not be

split and filed or tried piecemeal, the penalty for

which is that an adjudication on the merits in

the first suit is a bar to a second suit. In general,

the test for determining whether a cause of

action is single and cannot be split is: 1) whether

Separate actions brought arise [*6] out of the

same act, contract or transaction; 2) or whether

the parties, subject matter and evidence neces-

Sary to sustain the claim are the same in both

actions: The word “transactions” has a broad

meaning. It has been defined as the aggregate of

all the circumstances which constitute the foun- ;

dation for a claim. It also includes all of the facts

and circumstances out of which an injury arose.

[Citations omitted].

The cases dealing with res judicata and the

splitting of a single cause of action apply the

same standard as the compulsory counterclaim

rule. In State ex rel. J.E. Dunn, Jr. & Associates,

Inc. v. Schoenlaub, 668 S.W.2d 72, 75 (Mo. banc

1984), our Supreme Court said, in holding

barred a claim which logically should have been

presented as a counter claim in an earlier law-

suit:

The clear function of the [complusory coun-

terclaim] rule is to serve as “a means of bringing

all logically related claims into a single litiga-

tion, through the penalty of precluding the later

assertion of omitted claims.”

As discussed above, the Plaintiffs’ decision to willfully

hold off on their 1983 action was fraught with error. They

have attempted to prejudice Janet Wagner, but have acted

SA 32

at their own peril. Their actions are improper and fail to

follow the rules established by the courts.

Conclusion

As set forth above the Plaintiffs have misconstrued

the facts, intermixed causes of action and failed to set

forth facts necessary to support a 42 U.S.C. 1983 action

against Mrs. Wagner. The cause of action represents an

attempt on the part of the Plaintiffs to split their actions

and use one for discovery and hold off on the other until

they had obtained the depositional statements of the new

defendants in order to prove up their new cause of

action. The Plaintiffs seek to do by indirection that which

cannot be done directly. Their action against Mrs. Wagner

must fail.

Respectfully submitted,

EDWARDS & HALE, Ltd.

By /s/ Keith Edwards

KEITH EDWARDS, ESQ.

Nevada Bar #002299

Attorneys for Defendant,

Janet Kathleen Wagner

415 South Sixth Street, #300

Las Vegas, Nevada 89101

CERTIFICATE OF MAILING

I hereby certify that I am an employee of EDWARDS

& HALE, Ltd., and that on the 24th day of January, 1997, I

deposited for mailing at Las Vegas, Nevada, a true and

SA 33

accurate copy of the above and foregoing Motion to Dis-

miss addressed as follows:

DANIEL T. FOLEY, ESQ.

FOLEY & JONES

302 E. Carson Avenue, Suite 901

Las Vegas, Nevada 89101

/s/ Barbara E. Shank

BARBARA E. SHANK,

an employee of

EDWARDS & HALE, Ltd.

EXHIBIT A

[p. 18] involved in the accident, or at least it looked to me

as if there had been drinking involved in the accident.

Q. Did you smell any alcohol on her breath?

A. No.

Q. Was her thought process logical?

MR. RASTELLO: No foundation, objection.

THE WITNESS: I couldn’t say it was logical -

whether it was logical or not.

Again she was, you know, just from my observation,

I think she was in shock. She was in shock and didn’t,

you know, just didn’t want to believe what had happened

or, you know, was trying to comprehend what had hap-

pened, but she — I wasn’t surprised at her conduct that,

SA 34

you know, considering what just had happened. She

acted like a lot of people would in the same situation.

BY MR. EDWARDS:

Q. With respect to the victim, were you able to

render any assistance?

A. I felt for pulse. Couldn’t find a pulse. I listened

for breathing. Couldn’t hear a heartbeat. Couldn’t hear

any breath, you know, with [p. 19] my ear up to her back

as she was laying face down.

There was a lot of blood loss, a massive head wound.

And I checked her pupils. And although I’m not a medi-

cal person, I have seen fatalities before, and I determined

in my mind that she was a fatality. When I got to her, her

eyes were — her pupils were fixed and dilated, and that’s

usually a pretty good sign of no brain activity.

Q. Did you have any conversations with anybody at

the scene?

A. Yes.

I had a conversation with my wife because she came

over when I told her that I couldn’t find a pulse and she

felt for a pulse both on the wrist and on the victim’s neck,

and my wife thought she felt a very, very faint pulse, and

it may have just been some residual. I don’t think - it

wasn’t a strong pulse.

We had that conversation. And then another woman

who I believe was the woman on the bicycle came into

the street and she was suggesting that we try to give the

victim CPR and I disagreed with her. I said I didn’t think

it would do any good because I thought the person was

SA 35

already [p. 20] dead and besides the fact that there’s a

bad trauma to the head and she’s laying on her stomach

and you'd have to roll her over to do CPR and that could

create more problems with a head or a neck injury, and

we should probably just wait.

And before the police arrived and before the ambu-

lance arrived, two gentlemen were jogging by, running

by. Both of them ran over and asked, “What's going on?”

And one of them said, “I’m a doctor.” And he bent down

over the - called her the body and I said, “I think she’s

dead.”

‘ And he did the same thing; lifted up her eyelid and

; looked at her eyes and he said. “Yes, I think she’s dead.

There’s nothing that can be done for her here.” And I

said, “The ambulance is on the way and the police are on

the way.” And he said, “Fine,” and continued to run up

the street.

Q. How do you know an ambulance and the police

were on the way?

A. Well, I was assuming that because Mrs. Wagner

had a cellular phone and I believe either she used it or

someone else did. But a guy had driven up shortly after

the accident in another car and he did have a cellular

phone and he, I know, either [p. 21] called 911 or was

using the cellular phone to call for help.

Q. Did you have any other conversations with any-

one at the scene?

A. Various conversations with the ambulance peo-

ple when they first got there, the first policeman on the

scene, and I’m not real sure. I thought it was a motorcycle

SA 36

patrolman because I thought he had a helmet on, but I’m

not a hundred percent sure, but I know the policeman

first got there. I was still with the victim and he came up

and I told him what I thought, and he looked at the

victim and felt for a pulse also and didn’t think that there

was anything that we could do for her at that point.

Q. Do you know if the police or the ambulance

arrived first?

A. I believe the police arrived first. I think a single

patrolman arrived — it seemed like a long time - 10 or 15

minutes after I had been there. And then a while after

that before the ambulance showed up, another five to ten

minutes, at least. It seemed like an eternity before a

policeman showed up. I couldn’t believe it was taking so

long or [sic] an ambulance, anything.

[p. 22] Q. Do you know where the policeman had to

come from?

A. No.

Q. Do you know where the closest - did paramedics

come?

A. It was a normal orange and white square, you

know, ambulance truck type ambulance with two techni-

cians that came. They -

Q. Do you know if they were paramedics?

A. They acted like paramedics. They weren't like

firemen type paramedics that you see when the fire

department comes, but they had the same demeanor

about them and pulled some equipment out of the ambu-

lance. Did the same thing, checked for pulse, checked for

SER ee HOLS

SA 37

breath, and then they put a - looked like an EKG, small

portable EKG machine out on the street. Hooked up the

wires to the victim in the street to try to find, I believe, a

heartbeat. You know, it was iust a flat line, and they, said.

she was deceased at that point.

Q. Do you know if - was there ever a blue and

white ambulance that came to the scene?

A. I don’t remember a blue and white ambulance.

In my mind I see an orange and white ambulance but

maybe that’s because I see those all

7 + *

EXHIBIT B

Page 1 of 2 VOLUNTARY STATEMENT 940927-1625

THIS PORTION TO BE COMPLETED BY OFFICER.

Specific Crime

Fatal Accident

Date Occurred

9-27-94

Time Occurred

1916

Location of Occurrence

W. Lake Mead East & Ridgemoor [X] City

{ ] County

Can You Identify the Suspect? [ ] Yes

[X] No

SA 38

Name _ (Last/First/ Middle)

Olsen Susie S.

Date of Birth

6-28-52

Social Security #

562-84-3019

Race Sex Height Weight Hair Eyes

& F oo 145 Bl Blu

Work Schdl. (Hours) (Days Off)

varies 1

Business / School

Clark County S

Residence Address: (Number & Street)

2313 Huntsville

Bidg./Apt.# City State Zip Code

Las Vegas NV 89134

Res. Phone: 363-7142

Bus. Phone:

Bus. (Local) Address: (Number & Street)

varies

Bldg./Apt.# City State Zip Code

Occupation Depart Date (if visitor)

Best place to contact you during the day

Sub services

Best time to contact you during the day

5-6 PM afternoons

DETAILS

As I came up to Lake Mead (turning right from

Ridgemoor) I saw the woman on the dark bike

ae tee

SA 39

(no strobe or lights) swerving a lot because she

was trying to negotiate turning to cross the

street going uphill, plus she had a bag of groc-

eries she was carrying. She had trouble getting

any speed to cross. She may not have seen the

Explorer coming toward her because she had a

headset on. The Explorer (driver) certainly

could not see her until it was too late because

the road was curving - trees blocked vision in

mid — on divider - as driver came up going no

faster than speed limit - I noted that because

before impact I realized the Explorer would col-

lide with bike rider before it happened. I looked

in my rear view mirror & saw the Explorer

impact & brake & the bicyclist slide off Explorer.

I HAVE READ THIS STATEMENT AND I AFFIRM TO

THE TRUTH AND ACCURACY OF THE FACTS CON-

TAINED HEREIN. THIS STATEMENT WAS COMPLETED

AT (LOCATION) Accident Scene

ON THE 27TH DAY OF SEPT AT 9:30 (AM/PM) 1994

Witness Officer: Illegible #1937

(SIGNATURE)

Witness Officer: Illegible #1937

(ILLEGIBLE)

/s/ Susie Olsen

SIGNATURE OF PERSON

GIVING STATEMENT

DN

SA 40

DISTRICT COURT

CLARK COUNTY, NEVADA

Case No. A339613

Dept No. XIII

DOCKET NO. “G”

DEPOSITION OF JANET KATHLEEN WAGNER

November 7, 1995

MICHAEL C. DELEW, individually; MICHAEL C.

DELEW, as Special Administrator of the Estate of ERIN

RAE DELEW; H. ROY MAYBERRY; and VICKIE MAY-

BERRY,

Plaintiffs,

vs.

JANET KATHLEEN WAGNER, and DOES I through V

inclusive, and ROE CORPORATIONS V through X,

Defendants.

APPEARANCES:

For the Plaintiffs: FOLEY & JONES

By Daniel T. Foley, Esq.

302 East Carson Avenue

Suite 901

Las Vegas, Nevada 89101

(702) 383-9852

HOLLAND & HART

By Timothy M. Rastello, Esq.

P.O. Box 8749

Denver, Colorado 80201-8749

(303) 395-8200

=

§

+

.

.

*

x

=

5

*

¥

%

4

ry

SA 41

For the Defendant EDWARDS & HALE

Wagner: By Keith Edwards, Esq.

415 South Sixth, Suite 300

Las Vegas, Nevada 89101

(702) 382-1414

. 114] A From my cellular phone.

And where were you standing?

In the street.

Okay. In front of your vehicle?

I believe so, yes.

Between your vehicle and Erin?

A Near both the truck and her. I can’t say between

the two.

Q How many people appeared at the scene shortly

after the collision occurred?

A I don’t know exactly. I would say within the first

few minutes there were maybe five or six people there.

Q Okay. And this woman that you took the phone

from, can you describe her for me?

A No, I don’t remember who it was that gave it to

me.

Q And did you take the phone right there and dial?

A After she gave the phone to me, I called my

husband at home.

Q And you called her from where - from that spot

where she -

SA 42

MR. EDWARDS: Counsel, you've asked this

four times. Four times. I can tell you exactly where she

was. You're not going to do this at trial, and you don't

have a right to do it here.

MR. FOLEY: Sure he does.

[p. 123] A Within the year previous?

MR. EDWARDS: She - go ahead.

A Maybe once or twice.

Q (BY MR. RASTELLO) Okay. When did you first

see your husband arrive at the scene?

A I don’t know what time it was. Again, I would

guess that it was probably about 15 minutes after the

accident occurred.

Q And he drove his Monte Carlo from the house to

the scene somewhere, but you don’t know where he

parked?

A Right. I know that he was parked on the street,

and I believe he was parked towards the median. My

guess would be that he was on the median in the west-

bound lane, but I just can’t specifically picture it being

there.

Q And the westbound lane would have been in the

— pointed the same direction as your truck?

A Right.

Q Somewhere behind it?

ae Me tee cane cn ae oa ee

SA 43

A Right.

Q Had any police officers arrived at the time you

first saw your husband?

MR. EDWARDS: She's already answered that.

A_ I don’t remember.

Q (BY MR. RASTELLO) When you saw your hus-

band, what did you do?

* * *

[p. 125] Q Well, what’s your best memory?

A I just remember various people showing up at the

accident scene. Again, I know there was an ambulance

there and police were there, but I really was not cogni-

zant of the sequence of events or the series of events or

what was going on around me.

Q_ How long did you communicate with your hus-

band during that first physical communication with him?

A_ Idon’‘t even remember if there was a verbal com-

munication at that time.

Q_ But how long of a time period were you next to

one another?

A He was next to me most of the rest of the night.

Q_ Did he have his arm around you?

A At sometimes maybe. Not the entire night.

Q Okay. At some point in time did paramedics

arrive at the scene?

SA 44

A_ I again remember seeing an ambulance there. |

would assume there were paramedics there, But |

couldn’t say how many or positively that there was a

paramedic there.

Q Did your husband notice that - the odor of alco-

hol on your breath?

A Not that I'm aware of.

» * *

[p. 129] officer who asked me if I was injured or needed

some attention, and that was the extent of the exchange.

Q Can you describe this police officer for me?

A No, I don’t recall what he looked like.

Q White, black, yellow, or older?

A_ I wasn’t paying attention.

Q Did this police officer ask you for your driver's

license?

A Not that I recall, no. Not at that first initial con-

tact, in other words. I know at one point somebody did

ask me for my driver’s license. I don’t know if it was him

or another officer and, again, I don’t believe it was at that

initial contact.

Q Did any Metropolitan police officer attempt to -

to separate you from the scene of the collision or to

segregate you from other people at the scene?

A No. Not that I’m aware of.

Q And during your first communication with a uni-

formed Metropolitan police officer, the only thing you

SA 45

recall them asking or him asking was whether or not you

were okay?

A Yes.

Q What's the very next thing that you remember

happening after that?

[p. 130] A Just like I said, you know, several people

arriving. Additional police officers and highway patrol

troopers. You know, I was not doing anything in particu-

lar. It wasn’t any specific occurrence that I recall as hap-

pening in any sequence.

Q Well, why don’t you tell me generally what hap-

pened during the next two hours while you were at the

scene of the collision?

A I was just sitting near the street.

Q Where?

A You know answering - various places along the

curb. I was in and out of a couple of different cars. People

would coax me to sit down in a car or something. Again, I

was kind of walking just back and forth down the street,

you know, in a short area by where the accident occurred.

Occasionally somebody would ask me a question. That's

about it.

Q During the first two hours at the scene after the

collision, did any Metropolitan police officer attempt to

take a witness statement from you?

A Yes. There was an officer who asked me generally

what had happened, and I gave a statement to him. I

don’t know what time that was, but I do believe it was

within the first hour and a half or so.

SA 46

[p. 134] Q (BY MR. RASTELLO) Do you know the

reason Officer Wagner did not inform any other Metro-

politan police officer that you had been drinking?

MR. EDWARDS: Object. Instruct the witness

not to answer.

MR. FOLEY: You know, for the record, I think

she’s waived the privilege at least to a limited extent to

this issue given that she has now testified about a com-

munication she had with her husband which was not

objected to when she told him that she had been drink-

ing.

MR. EDWARDS: Appreciate your ruling on it.

MR. FOLEY: I didn’t rule on it, Keith, or were

you just trying to be cute?

Q (BY MR. RASTELLO) After your husband arrived

at the scene, is it fair to say that you and he were

physically together for the next hour and a half at the

scene of the collision?

A We were - you know, at times close together and

at times we weren't. Again, I was walking around and up

and down and not in one stationary place, and so at times

he was next to me and at times he was, you know, maybe

several feet or yards away.

Q During the first two hours after the traffic colli-

sion, what did you observe the

* * *

SA 47

[p. 141] A No, I don’t.

Q Do you know if your husband called Sergeant

Albert that night?

MR. EDWARDS: I'll object. Instruct the witness

not to answer.

MR. RASTELLO: That's really — I’m not going

to argue with you.

Q (BY MR. RASTELLO) Did your husband call Ser-

geant Albert that night?

MR. EDWARDS: Object. Instruct the witness

not to answer.

MR. RASTELLO: Keith, that has nothing to do

with the communication between married people.

MR. FOLEY: It really doesn’t. It was something

communicated by Albert to Mrs. Wagner.

MR. RASTELLO: It could have been something

she observed. Don’t be an obstructionist. We’re just going

to spend a lot of time and money for very little gain by

both sides, including your client.

MR. EDWARDS: Why don’t you ask her if she

knows how Sergeant Albert found out about the accident.

Q (BY MR. RASTELLO) Sure. I’ll ask that.

A Do I know how Sergeant Albert found out about

the accident?

Q Right.

A_ I know now that my husband called him and [p.

142] I think it was because he used my cellular phone,

SA 48

although I’m really not sure. But I have gathered that,

that he called him at some point. I think he - my husband

may have told me that he called him.

Q Okay. And did Sergeant Albert come to the

scene?

A Yes.

Q And did you speak with him?

A At various points in the night, I did talk to him,

Q What did you talk to Sergeant Albert about?

A Nothing in particular. I mean I wasn’t talking

much about anything. You know, like I said, I’m sure he

asked me how I was or, you know, if I wanted something

to eat or drink and that was the extent of it.

Q Did Sergeant Albert ask you if you had been

drinking?

A No.

Q Did you tell Sergeant Albert that you had been

drinking?

A No.

Q Did you see your husband speaking with Ser-

geant Albert outside of your presence that evening?

A He - he might have. I don’t recall.

+ * +

SA 49

[p. 145] were driving, from what I gathered.

Q

Q

Any other car, patrol car?

Yes. I sat in a patrol car.

Just one patrol car or more than one?

Once or twice. I don’t recall if it was the same car

Okay. Do you know whose patrol car it was?

No.

How is it that you ended up sitting in a patrol

car? What led to sitting in that patrol car?

A

It was sometime after the accident had occurred,

and I asked if I could go home to use the restroom, and

they drove me to the house to do that.

Q

A

Q

A

Q

A

Q

A

Q

Okay. Who drove you to the house?

I don’t know who they were.

Was your husband with you?

Yes.

And where were you sitting?

In the back seat of the car.

And where was your husband sitting?

In the back seat of the car.

And were there two officers in the front?

SA 50

A Yes.

Q And you don’t know which officers they were?

* + *

SA 51

DISTRICT COURT

CLARK COUNTY, NEVADA

Case No. A339613

Dept. No. XIII

DOCKET NO. “G”

DEPOSITION OF JANET KATHLEEN WAGNER

November 7, 1995

MICHAEL C. DELEW, individually; MICHAEL C.

DELEW, as Special Administrator of the Estate of ERIN

RAE DELEW; H. ROY MAYBERRY; and VICKIE MAY-

BERRY,

Plaintiffs,

Vs.

JANET KATHLEEN WAGNER, and DOES I through V

inclusive, and ROE CORPORATIONS V through X,

Defendants.

APPEARANCES:

For the Plaintiffs: FOLEY & JONES

By Daniel T. Foley, Esq.

302 East Carson Avenue

Suite 901

Las Vegas, Nevada 89101

(702) 383-9852

HOLLAND & HART

By Timothy M. Rastello, Esq.

P.O. Box 8749

Denver, Colorado 80201-8749

(303) 295-8200

SA 52

For the Defendant

Wagner: EDWARDS & HALE

By Keith Edwards, Esq.

415 South Sixth, Suite 300

Las Vegas, Nevada 89101

(702) 382-1414

* * *

[p. 114) A From my cellular phone.

And where were you standing?

In the street.

Okay. In front of your vehicle?

I believe so, yes.

Oo >? © F A

Between your vehicle and Erin?

A Near both the truck and her. I can’t say between

the two.

Q How many people appeared at the scene shortly

after the collision occurred?

A I don’t know exactly. I would say within the first

few minutes there were maybe five or six people there.

Q Okay. And this woman that you took the phone

from, can you describe her for me?

A No, I don’t remember who it was that gave it to

me.

Q And did you take the phone right there and dial?

A After she gave the phone to me, I called my

husband at home.

BE ia alii hs: MS IY RR APT Rs

beac a

*

eS

SA 53

Q And you called her from where - from that spot

where she -

MR. EDWARDS: Counsel, you've asked this

four times. Four times. I can tell you exactly where she

was. You're not going to do this at trial, and you don’t

have a right to do it here.

MR. FOLEY: Sure he does.

* + *

[p. 123] A Within the year previous?

MR. EDWARDS: She - go ahead.

A Maybe once or twice.

Q (BY MR. RASTELLO) Okay. When did you first

see your husband arrive at the scene?

A I don’t know what time it was. Again, I would

guess that it was probably about 15 minutes after the

accident occurred.

Q And he drove his Monte Carlo from the house to

the scene somewhere, but you don’t know where he

parked?

A_ Right. I know that he was parked on the street,

and I believe he was parked towards the median. My

guess would be that he was on the median in the west-

bound lane, but I just can’t specifically picture it being

there.

Q And the westbound lane would have been in the

— pointed the same direction as your truck?

A Right.

SA 54

Q Somewhere behind it?

A Right.

Q Had any police officers arrived at the time you

first saw your husband?

MR. EDWARDS: She’s already answered that.

A I don’t remember.

Q (BY MR. RASTELLO) When you saw your hus-

band, what did you do?

[p. 125] happened next.

Q Well, what’s your best memory?

A I just remember various people showing up at the

accident scene. Again, I know there was an ambulance

there and police were there, but I really was not cogni-

zant of the sequence of events or the series of events or

what was going on around me.

Q How long did you communicate with your hus-

band during that first physical communication with him?

A I don’t even remember if there was a verbal com-

munication at that time.

Q But how long of a time period were you next to

one another?

A He was next to me most of the rest of the night.

Q Did he have his arm around you?

A At sometimes maybe. Not the entire night.

SA 55

Q Okay. At some point in the time did paramedics

arrive at the scene?

A_ I again remember seeing an ambulance there. |

would assume there were paramedics there. But |

couldn’t say how many or positively that there was a

paramedic there.

Q_ Did your husband notice that - the odor of alco-

hol on your breath?

A Not that I’m aware of

* * *

[p. 129] officer who asked me if I was injured or needed

some attention, and that was the extent of the exchange.

Q Can you describe this police officer for me?

A No, I don’t recall what he looked like.

Q White, black, yellow, or older?

A_ I wasn’t paying attention.

Q Did this police officer ask you for your driver’s

license?

A_ Not that I recall, no. Not at that first initial con-

tact, in other words. I know at one point somebody did

ask me for my driver's license. I don’t know if it was him

or another officer and, again, I don’t believe it was at that

initial contact.

Q | Did any Metropolitan police officer attempt to -

to separate you from the scene of the collision or to

segregate you from other people at the scene?

SA 56

A No. Not that I'm aware of.

Q And during your first communication with a uni-

formed Metropolitan police officer, the only thing you

recall them asking or him asking was whether or not you

were okay?

A Yes.

Q What's the very next thing that you remember

happening after that?

[p. 130] A Just like I said, you know, several people

arriving. Additional police officers and highway patrol

troopers. You know, I was not doing anything in particu-

lar. It wasn’t any specific occurrence that I recall as hap-

pening in any sequence.

Q Well, why don’t you tell me generally what hap-

pened during the next two hours while you were at the

scene of the collision?

A_ I was just sitting near the street.

Q Where?

A You know answering - various places along the

curb. I was in and out of a couple of different cars. People

would coax me to sit down in a car or something. Again, I

was kind of walking just back and forth down the street,

you know, in a short area by where the accident occurred.

Occasionally somebody would ask me a question. That's

about it.

Q During the first two hours at the scene after the

collision, did any Metropolitan police officer attempt to

take a witness statement from you?

oS lS oy ae ae og) :

SA 57

A Yes. There was an officer who asked me generally

what had happened, and | gave a statement to him. |

don’t know what time that was, but I do believe it was

within the first hour-and-a half or so

* . *

[p. 145] were driving, from what I gathered.

Q Any other car, patrol car?

A Yes. I sat in a patrol car.

Q Just one patrol car or more than one?

A Once or twice. I don’t recall if it was the same car

or not.

Q Okay. Do you know whose patrol car it was?

A No.

Q How is it that you ended up sitting in a patrol

car? What led to sitting in that patrol car?

A It was sometime after the accident had occurred,

and I asked if I could go home to use the restroom, and

they drove me to the house to do that.

Okay. Who drove you to the house?

I don’t know who they were.

Was you husband with you?

Yes.

And where were you sitting?

Awe Oo >. oO

In the back seat of the car.

0? Ce

SA 58

And where was your husband sitting?

In the back seat of the car.

And were there two officers in the front?

Yes.

And you don’t know which officers they were?

* * *

SA 59

KEITH EDWARDS, ESQ.

Nevada Bar No. 002299

EDWARDS, HALE, STURMAN & ATKIN, LTD.

415 South Sixth Street, #300

Las Vegas, NV 89101

(702) 382-1414

Attorney for Defendant

JANET KATHLEEN WAGNER

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF NEVADA

MICHAEL C. DELEW, individually; )

MICHAEL C. DELEW, as Special )

Administrator of the Estate of ERIN )

RAE DELEW; H. ROY MAYBERRY; )

and VICKIE MAYBERRY, )

nee ) Case No.:

ne ) CV-5-97-00090-

v. ) PMP(LRL)

~"

JANET KATHLEEN WAGNER, LAS

VEGAS METROPOLITAN POLICE ) DEFENDANT

WILLIAM JOHNSON, OFFICER

WILLIAM SMITH, OFFICER KEITH

BOWERS, OFFICER DAVID

WAGNER AND OFFICER GREG

GOEN, SERGENT [sic] WILLIAM

ADAMSON, SERGEANT HARVEY

DEPARTMENT, STATE OF ) ee

NEVADA, EX REL., NEVADA ) Sean

HIGHWAY PATROL, LIEUTENANT ) WER’

EDWARD JENSEN, SERGENT [sic] ) SLAINTIFES’

RICHARD WOMACK, SERGEANT ? BIEGEITION

CURTIS ALBERT, SERGENT [sic] ) OF WAGNER'S

THOMAS HARMON, DETECTIVE . MOTION TO

RICHARD HART, DETECTIVE ) DISMISS

)

)

)

)

)

, SRS Ser Wy BS <a

SA 60

WEATHERFORD, TROOPER

JOSEPH A. SMITH, TROOPER

GARTH GARDNER, TROOPER

JOSEPH WYNGARD AND

TROOPER JAMES BRANNUM,

DOES I through XX inclusive,

and ROE CORPORATIONS

XX THROUGH XXX,

Defendants.

mee eee eee ee ee”

COMES NOW, Defendant, JANET KATHLEEN WAG-

NER, by and through her attorneys, EDWARDS, HALE,

STURMAN & ATKIN, Ltd., and submits the following

rebuttal in support of her Motion to Dismiss.

I.

INTRODUCTION

There are three issues are [sic] presented by the

Plaintiffs Complaint in this action:

(1) can private citizens be joined in a 42 USC §1983

action for conspiracy when there was no “color of law”

involved in the wrongful death?

(2) can the plaintiff state a cause of action for 42 USC

§1983 after the plaintiff has already suffered her injury/

death?

(3) can the plaintiffs split their causes of action and

bring a state wrongful death action and file a separate

action under 42 USCA § 1983?

ARGUMENT

The 42 USCA § 1983 Action

Federal Court jurisdiction has been asserted in this

case pursuant to 42 USC § 1983, 42 U.S.C. @[sic] 1983

provides:

Every person who, under color of any statute,

ordinance, regulation, custom, or usage, of any

State or Territory, subjects, or causes to be sub-

jected, any citizen of the United States or other

person within the jurisdiction thereof to the

deprivation of any rights, privileges, or immu-

nities secured by the Constitution and laws,

shall be liable to the party injured in an action at

law, suit in equity, or other proper proceeding

for redress.

In this case the plaintiffs have sued JANET WAGNER in

state court for wrongful death.! Now they are attempting

to bring a second action against her for violation of the

plaintiffs decedent’s civil rights by conspiring with the

investigating officers and agencies in the investigation of

the accident which caused ERIN RAE DELEW’s death.

Not only have the plaintiffs attempted to split their

causes of action against the Defendant Janet Wagner, but

they seek jurisdiction under a statute which clearly does

not apply to a private citizen. Complaint { 25.

42 U.S.C. @[sic] 1983 (1981 & Supp. 1992). By its

terms, @[sic] 1983 applies only to individuals

1 Delew v. Wagner, case # A339613 was filed November 10,

1994 (45 days after the accident in which Erin Delew died) and is

set for trial to commence in Dept. II] on November 10, 1997.

SA 62

5 acting “under color” of law. In other words, a

3 defendant cannot be held liable under @(sic]

5 1983 unless his actions can be “fairly attributa-

% ble to the state.” Lugar v. Edmondson Oil Co.,

457 U.S. 922, 73 L. Ed. 2d 482, 102 S. Ct. 2744

(1982). In Drum v. Nasuti, 648 F. Supp. 888, 897

(E.D. Pa. 1986), aff’d mem, 831 F.2d 286 (3d Cir.

1987) (quoted in Shipley v. First Fed. S & L

Ass'n of Delaware, 703 F. Supp. 1122, 1127 (D.

Del. 1988)), the court stated:

the requirement of action under color of law

is satisfied . .. when a private person will-

fully participates in joint action with a state

official. . . . Thus, [to survive the defen-

dant’s motion for summary judgment,]

plaintiff must demonstrate a genuine issue

of material fact that there existed between

the private defendant and the state official

an understanding, agreement, or conspiracy

to deprive the plaintiff of a federal right. He

must show a genuine factual issue of a com-

bination, agreement, or understanding

among the defendants. . . . These [sic] must

also be a genuine factual issue that the

defendants plotted, planned, or conspired

together to carry out the chain of events.

Dicola v. Fulmele, civil action No. 93-0263 (E.D. PA. 1994).

(Plaintiffs must allege that the defendant’s conduct was

taken under color of state law Vasquez v. Hernandez, 60

F.3d 325, 328 (7th Cir. 1995), reh’g denied, cert. denied,

134 L. Ed. 2d 648, 116 S. Ct. 1545, 1996.)

The plaintiffs must not only show some conspiracy

between the private citizen and the state official, but they

must also demonstrate “that the defendants plotted,

planned, or conspired together to carry out the chain of

SA 63

events.” Those events must be actions fairly attributable

to the state. Finally, the party asserting the constitutional

right must have been living at the time that her rights

were breached. Whitehurst v. Wright, 592 F.2d 834, 840 (5th

Cir. 1979); Guyton v. Phillips, 606 F.2d 248 (9th Cir. 1979)

(“the Civil Rights Act, 42 U.S.C. @@[sic] 1983 and 1985,

does not provide a cause of action on behalf of a deceased

based upon alleged violation of the deceased's civil rights

which occured after his death.”).

In this case the decedent rode her bicycle into the

path of the vehicle operated by JANET WAGNER. She

was struck and the plaintiffs have attempted to create an

[sic] question of fact concerning whether or not she was

alive during the accident investigation (in an effort to

assert that her constitutional rights were violated by the

alleged conspiracy surrounding the investigation.2) The

formal pronouncement of death apparently did not occur

until 9:30 p.m. However, the plaintiffs face something of a

dilemma (at least in one circuit); because “the Civil

Rights Act, 42 U.S.C. 1983 and 1985, does not provide a

cause of action on behalf of a deceased based upon

alleged violation of the deceased’s civil rights which

occured after his death.” Guyton v. Phillips, 606 F.2d 248

* The plaintiffs argument that Erin Delew’s constitutional

right to access to the courts was violated by the conspiracy

between the investigating officers suggests that at some time

she was going to seek redress through the courts and that the

conspiracy affected her ability to unimpaired access to the

courts. The fact that her death occurred before or

contemporaneously with the investigation suggests that such an

argument is only of academic interest and has no real

application in this case.

SA 64

(9th Cir. 1979) but “the victims of a cover-up are the

decedent's survivors, not the decedent himself” Gibson v.

City of Chicago, 910 F.2d 1510, 1523 (7th Cir. 1990), the

plaintiffs must either acknowledge that Ms. Delew died

before the alleged conspiracy or they must withdraw any

personal claim of a conspiracy. The Ninth Circuit has not

recognized a cause of action for the survivors of a victim

to a “cover up” after a decedent's death. Hence the plain-

tiffs argue that ERIN DELEW was alive during the inves-

tigation. The issue can be resolved through limited

discovery should it become necessary.

The cases which deal with the right to bring an action

for a police conspiracy to cover up a death seem to

involve cases in which the police were actually culpable

for the death. See generally Crowder v. Sinyard, 884 F.2d

804, 811 (Sth Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 496 U.S. 924, 110 L.

Ed. 2d 638, 110 S. Ct. 2617 (1990); Whitehurst v. Wright,

supra; Guyton v. Phillips, 606 F.2d 248 (9th Cir. 1979); Bell

v. City of Milwaukee, 746 F.2d 1205, 1264 (7th Cir. 1984).

This case calls into question several issues which are

somewhat unique and which challenge the very purpose

for which § 1983 was enacted. Historically § 1983 was

passed to provide a remedy to individuals who were

subjected to harassment and deprivation of rights by

governmental officers and agencies. Monroe v. Pape, 365

U.S. 167 at 187, 81 S. Ct. 473 at 484, 5 L. Ed. 2d 492 (1961).

3 Section 1979 came onto the books as @[sic] 1 of the Ku

Klux Act of April 20, 1871. 17 Stat. 13. It was one of the means

whereby Congress exercised the power vested in it by @[sic] 5 of

the Fourteenth Amendment to enforce the provisions of that

SA 65

The unique feature of this case is that the plaintiffs

are attempting to bring a § 1983 conspiracy case based on

Amendment. n3 Senator Edmunds, Chairman of the Senate

Committee on the Judiciary, said concerning this section:

“The first section is one that I believe nobody

objects to, as defining the rights secured by the

Constitution of the United States when they are

assailed by any State law or under color of any State

law, and it is merely carrying out the principles of the

civil rights bill, n4 which has since become a part of

the Constitution,” n5 viz., the Fourteenth

Amendment. Its purpose is plain from the title of the

legislation, “An Act to enforce the Provisions of the

Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution of the

United States, and for other Purposes.” 17 Stat. 13.

Allegation of facts constituting a deprivation under

color of state authority of a right guaranteed by the

Fourteenth Amendment satisfies to that extent the

requirement of R. S. @[sic] 1979. See <=17> Douglas v.

Jeannette, 319 U.S. 157, 161-162. So far petitioners are

on solid grounds. For the guarantee against

unreasonable searches and seizures contained in the

Fourth Amendment has been made applicable to the

States by reason of the Due Process Clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment. Wolf v. Colorado,

338 U.S. 25; Elkins v. United States, 364 U.S. 206, 213.

II.

There can be no doubt at least since «=20> Ex parte Virginia, 100

U.S. 339, 346-347, that Congress has the power to enforce

provisions of the Fourteenth Amendment against those who

carry a badge of authority of a State and represent it in some

capacity, whether they act in accordance with their authority or

misuse it. See Home Tel & Tel. Co. United States v. Classic, 313

U.S. 299. We conclude that it did so intend.

SA 66

an inadequate or deceptive police investigation (inten-

tionally interfering with Plaintiff’s right of meaningful

access to courts). The plaintiffs do not claim that any

other civil right has been violated. It is not alleged that

the police were involved in causing the death of ERIN

RAE DELEW. It is not alleged that any of the plaintiffs

were deprived of rights guaranteed under the first,

fourth, fifth, eighth or fourteenth amendments to the

constitution. There is no wrongful death action against

the governmental agencies — that cause of action has been

split off and filed only against the DEFENDANT JANET

WAGNER.

Although there is some divergence between the var-

ious circuits* the case of Andrews v. Fowler, 98 F.3d 1069

(8th Cir. 1996) seems to deal with that issue. In that action

the plaintiff complained, among other things, that the

sexual assault committed against her was not properly

investigated. (It was alleged that the rape had been com-

mitted by a police officer). In denying relief under § 1983

the court observed:

* The Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals has a number of cases

(see Plaintiffs’ brief) in which it attempts to define the

constitutional right of “access to the courts.” The right was

originally recognized in criminal cases in which prisoners were

to provided [sic] certain minimal equipment to assist them in

gaining access to the courts. It subsequently was recognized as

an infringement in a civil case when the police failed to advise a

family of the facts surrounding the death of their son. See also

Foster v. City of Lake Jackson, 28 F.3d 425 (5th Cir. 1994). Since that

time there have been numerous actions to expand the “access to

the courts” argument to include “meaningful access to the

courts.”

SA 67

While Price’s failure to investigate the rape may

have violated state law and common sense, it

did not rise to the level of a separate constitu-

tional violation of Andrews’ rights. She made no

showing that the alleged failure to investigate

was on account of her gender so the claim does

not implicate equal protection. See Gomez v.

Whitney, 757 F.2d 1005, 1006 & n.1 (9th Cir.

1985) (stating “we can find no instance where

the courts have recognized inadequate investi-

gation as sufficient to state a civil rights claim

unless there was another recognized constitu-

tional right involved”).

It is pointed out in Crowder v. Sinyard, 884 F.2d 804 (5th

Cir. 1989) that § 1983 actions were primarily designed to

deal with overt conduct or action by a governmental

agent or agency; see also general discussion Jenkins v.

Meyers 338 F.Supp. 383 (ND Ill. 1972) which distinguishes

between a § 1983 willful acts done under color of state

lew and the unintentional common law tort resulting

from the alleged negligence not cognizable under § 1983.

The Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals has taken a broader

view of cases involving “investigative coverups.” How-

ever, even in that circuit the cases which recognize such a

right seem to be connected with other governmental mis-

conduct. Love v. Bolinger, 927 F. Supp. 1131 (SD Ind. 1996)

in which victim of state-occasioned killing, and/or his

survivors, asserted rights violated by a state-occasioned

cover-up; Means v. City of Chicago, 535 F. Supp. 455 (ND

Ill. 1982) conspiracy consisting of the false arrest,

unjustified shooting, failure to provide medical attention

and attempting to cover up the alleged events after the

fact; Ryland v. Shapiro, 708 F.2d 967 (Sth Cir. 1983).

SA 68

This case appears to present some rather unique

issues regarding the potential liability of police officers

and private citizens arising out of the investigation of a

vehicle accident. Plaintiffs have quoted a number of cases

from the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals to suggest that an

estate may bring an action under § 1983 on behalf of the

deceased. However, the plaintiff has done nothing to

distinguish the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals cases

which hold that there is no constitutional right “to have a

full and fair police investigation into violence done

against themselves or their children.” Gomez v. Whitney,

757 F.2d 1005 (9th Cir. 1984); see also Estate of Cartwright

v. City of Concord, 618 F.2d Supp. 722 (ND CA 1985), aff’d

856 F.2d 1437 (9th Cir. 1988).

Janet Wagner’s Rights Were Compromised

By The Investigation

The suggestion that JANET WAGNER was a co-con-

spirator of the police investigation is ludicrous. No one

can point to any “conversation or action” between Mrs.

Wagner and the investigating officers that reflected an

agreement between the officers and her. In fact, had there

been such an agreement Mrs. Wagner certainly would

never have been subjected to either a field sobriety test or

a blood test.

The plaintiffs’ desire to implicate Mrs. Wagner in the

police investigation ignores the undisputed facts in this

case. JANET WAGNER had the right to a properly con-

ducted investigation which included freedom from

improper chemical testing without probable cause. Mrs.

Wagner was not properly subjected to any inquiry until

SA 69

some “probable cause” existed to suggest that she had

been using alcohol. After “probable cause” existed she

could then be given a field sobriety test (HGN). Until she

had been administered and failed a field sobriety test she

should not have been subjected to any chemical testing.

Each of the officers at the scene of the accident was asked

what contact they had with JANET WAGNER and if they

smelled her breath. Officer Adamson indicated that he

was advised upon his arrival at the accident scene that an

officer had smelled alcohol on Mrs. Wagner’s breath.

Adamson deposition pp. 73-74, Officer Alpert testified:

Dave Wagner didn’t know anything about

her drinking. I had been sitting next to her for

two and a half to three hours and never smelled

any alcohol on her, and I was sitting shoulder to

shoulder with her.

Q. Did you attempt to smell any alcohol on

her?

A. To be honest with you, it never — the

thought never entered my mind, but when

you're sitting that close to somebody if they’ve

been drinking - and I’m a non-drinker — you can

normally smell it. And I was as surprised as

Dave was. Depo pp. 55-56

Q. Did you subsequently come to learn that

she had been drinking?

A. Yes.

Q. How did you learn that?

A. When she was going down for the blood

alcohol test and Dave - well, the NHP officer

was standing right there, and Dave had asked,

did she pass her field sobriety? And he had said,

a

we

P }

ns

a

ou

tel

va)

SA 70

yes, she did — or did she fail it? Either way she

passed her test - I don’t remember the exact

words he used - and that they had requested a

blood alcohol test from her. And Dave had

asked why. And the trooper had said, she had

had a beer. And that’s when I learned of it.

Alpert Deposition p. 67.

Officer Joseph Smith testified that Officer Wyngard

thought he smelled alcohol on Mrs. Wagner’s breath.

Officer Smith then performed a field sobriety test (hori-

zontal gaze nystagmus or HGN) on Mrs. Wagner.

Q. Okay. Going back to Mrs. Wagner and the

HGN test, did you perform an HGN test upon

her?

A. Yes, I did.

Q. And what did you observe?

A. Nothing.

Q. You made no observations?

A. Well, her — I mean as far as the six clues or

points that you look for, there weren’t any.

Besides the eyes being bloodshot and watery

from crying, I didn’t see any nystagmus what-

soever or smell any order of alcohol coming

from her. J. Smith Deposition pp. 115-116.

Officer Wyngard testified, “I smelled this light order

unknown alcoholic beverage on her, about her person.

(Wyngard deposition p. 50). He also testified that he is

“pretty good” at detecting the order of alcohol; that he

can smell it when no one else can. Id. at 51. Officer P.

Smith was the first Metro officer to arrive at the scene

and he testified that he was within 18 to 24 inches of Mrs.

Wagner when he interviewed her for her account of the

SA 71

accident and that he did not detect any odor of alcohol. P.

Smith Deposition p. 85. The other officers were not

involved with Mrs. Wagner and never had occasion to

speak with her or get close enough to smell her breath.

Until Officer Wyngard smelled a “light odor of alco-

hol about her person” there was no “probable cause” for

a field sobriety test. Once Mrs. Wagner passed the field

sobriety test there was nothing to justify a blood test.

Even at that, if a blood test was going to be performed it

had to be done pursuant to the statute which requires:

484.379. Driving under the influence of intox-

icating liquor or controlled substance: Unlawful

acts; affirmative defense

1. It is unlawful for any person who:

(a) Is under the influence of intoxicat-

ing liquor;

(b) Has 0.10 percent or more by

weight of alcohol in his blood; or

(c) Is found by measurement within 2

hours after driving or being in actual physical

control of a vehicle to have 0.10 percent or more

by weight of alcohol in his blood, to drive or be

in actual physical control of a vehicle on a high-

way or on premises to which the public has

access.

2. It is unlawful for any person who is an

habitual user of or under the influence of any

controlled substance, or is under the combined

influence of intoxicating liquor and a controlled

substance, or any person who inhales, ingests,

applies or otherwise uses any chemical, poison

or organic solvent, or any compound or combi-

nation of any of these, to a degree which renders

SA 72

him incapable of safely driving or exercising

actual physical control of a vehicle to drive or be

in actual physical control of a vehicle on a high-

way or on premises to which the public has

access. The fact that any person charged with a

violation of this subsection is or has been enti-

tled to use that drug under the laws of this state

is not a defense against any charge of violating

this subsection.

3. If consumption is proven by a prepon-

derance of the evidence, it is an affirmative

defense under paragraph (c) of subsection 1 that

the defendant consumed a sufficient quantity of

alcohol after driving or being in actual physical

control of the vehicle, and before his blood was

tested, to cause the alcohol in his blood to equal

or exceed 0.10 percent. A defendant who

intends to offer this defense at a trial or prelimi-

nary hearing must, not less than 14 days before

the trial or hearing or at such other time as the

court may direct, file and serve on the prosecut-

ing attorney a written notice of that intent.

Despite the fact that Mrs. Wagner’s use of alcohol was

within 15 minutes of the accident and despite the fact that

there was no probable cause to subject Mrs. Wagner to a

blood alcohol test and despite the fact that the test was

taken more than two hours after the accident, and despite

the fact that the results of the test showed a blood alcohol

level of 0.05% after the most recent intake had finally

entered the blood stream>. Mrs. Wagner’s rights were of

> At the time of the accident the alcohol which has been

drunk with [sic] 15 minutes was not in the blood stream, but

after three hours, despite the trauma of having hit a “darting

bicyclist” the most recently ingested alcohol had finally entered

the blood stream.

SA 73

secondary consideration to the investigating officers.

Although the investigating officers made mistakes during

the investigation those mistakes were to the detriment of

Mrs. Wagner and cannot form the basis for a conspiracy.

Splitting Actions

The plaintiffs seem to ignore this defendant's objec-

tion to having to defend two lawsuits. As was pointed

out (without opposition) in the original Motion to Dis-

miss the criteria for determining if the plaintiffs have

attempted to split their causes of action are:

1) whether separate actions brought arise out

of the same act, contract or transaction; 2) or

whether the parties, subject matter and evidence

necessary to sustain the claim are the same in

both actions. The word “transaction” has a

broad meaning. It has been defined as the aggre-

gate of all the circumstances which constitute

the foundation for a claim. It also includes all of

the facts and circumstances out of which an

injury arose. [Citations omitted].

The cases dealing with res judicata and the

splitting of a single cause of action apply the

same standard as the compulsory counterclaim

rule.

King Gen Contrs., Inc. v. Reorganized Church of Jesus Christ

of Latter Day Saints, 1991 Mo. App. LEXIS 444, (Court of

Appeals of Missouri, Western District, 1991). The action

against JANET WAGNER should have been asserted at

the time of the initial complaint. The attempt to now

bring a new separate cause of action is ill founded and

contrary to cited precedent.

oe

SA 74

Ill.

CONCLUSION

The plaintiffs have attempted to make a claim against

a private citizen under 42 USCA § 1983, but in so doing

have ignored the law in this circuit. Additionally, the

attempt to make Mrs. Wagner defend two separate law-

suits arising out of the same facts and circumstances is

improper. For the foregoing reasons it is respectfully

requested that this court grant DEFENDANT JANET

WAGNER’s Motion to Dismiss.

DATED this 17th day of March, 1997.

Respectfully Submitted,

By /s/ Keith Edwards

KEITH EDWARDS, ESQ.

Nevada Bar No. 002299

EDWARDS, HALE, STURMAN

& ATKIN, LTD.

415 South Sixth Street, #300

Las Vegas, Nevada 89101

Attorney for Defendant

JANET KATHLEEN WAGNER

:

j

4

d

SA 75

CERTIFICATE OF MAILING

I HEREBY CERTIFY that on the 17th day of March,

1997, I served DEFENDANT, JANET KATHLEEN WAG-

NER’S REPLY TO PLAINTIFFS’ OPPOSITION TO WAG-

NER’S MOTION TO DISMISS by depositing a true copy

thereof in the U.S. Mails, postpaid and addressed as

follows:

Walter R. Cannon, Esq.

RAWLINGS, OLSON, CANNON,

GORMLEY & DESRUISSEAUX

301 East Clark Ave., #1000

Las Vegas, Nevada 89101

Daniel T. Foley, Esq.

FOLEY & JONES, P.C.

302 East Carson Ave., #901

Las Vegas, Nevada 89101

Frankie Sue Del Papa

ATTORNEY GENERAL

Bridget A. Branigan, Esq.

-DEPUTY ATTORNEY GENERAL

Department of Motor Vehicles

and Public Safety

555 East Washington Ave., #3900

Las Vegas, Nevada 89101

/s/ Illegible

An employee of EDWARDS, HALE, STURMAN

& ATKIN, Ltd.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Opposition Brief — Delew v. Wagner · 525 U.S. 1015 | Frix