Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Adventure Resources, Inc. v. Holland, 119 S. Ct. 404 (1998) (No. 98-173)

Supreme Court brief1998

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, u.»s.

} FILED

\

98 173 pn 231998

No. __ ME OF Ie curs

~~

=

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1997

+

ADVENTURE RESOURCES, INC.,

Petitioner,

MICHAEL H. HOLLAND, MARTY D. HUDSON,

ELLIOTT A. SEGAL, PAUL R. DEAN,

Trustees of the UMWA 1950 Pension Trust

And the UMWA 1974 Pension Trust, et al.,

Respondents.

+

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Fourth Circuit

4

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

¢

JOHN A. RO.ins

Counsel of Record

Lewis, FRIEDBERG, GLASSER,

Casey & Routins, LLP

Suite 700, One Valley Square

Charleston, WV 25301

(304) 345-2000

Attorney for Petitioner

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Adventure Resources, Inc. owed pre-bankruptcy con-

tributions to union pension funds and did not assume or

reject its collective bargaining agreement with the union

during its Chapter 11 bankruptcy case. The question pre-

sented is:

Whether the pre-bankruptcy obligations due under

an unrejected and unassumed collective bargaining

agreement are entitled to first priority, administrative

claim status over the pre-bankruptcy claims of non-union

employees and other creditors under the provisions of 11

U.S.C. §§ 365, 1113.

ii

LIST OF PARTIES

In addition to the parties listed in the caption, the

following were parties in the court of appeals: Amigo

Smokeless Coal Company; Tommy Creek Coal Company;

Green Mountain Energy, Incorporated; M.A.E. Services,

Incorporated; Maben Energy Corporation; Raleigh Leas-

ing Incorporated; Stony Coal Company; Spruce Laurel

Coal Company; Hawley Coal Mining Corporation; Bick-

ford Mining, Incorporated; Barrett Fuel Corporation; East

Gulf Fuel Corporation; Coal-X Equipment & Supply Com-

pany, Incorporated; Beckley Repair & Hydraulic Service

Incorporated; Half-Way, Incorporated; Chesapeake Leas-

ing, Incorporated; Piney Fuel Corporation; Lakeside

Leasing, Incorporated; Raleigh Services, Incorporated;

Atlas Leasing Incorporated; Sugar Camp Mining Incorpo-

rated; HD Enterprises, Limited; Jet Coal Services, Incor-

porated; Microblack, Incorporated; Dover Coal Sales,

Incorporated; No. 10 Mining, Incorporated; Panther Red

Ash Land Company, Incorporated; United Mine Workers

of America 1974 Pension Trust; United Mine Workers of

America 1950 Pension Trust; Michael H. Holland, Marty

D. Hudson, Elliott A. Segal, Thomas O. S. Rand, Cariton

R. Sickles, Gail R. Wilensky, William P. Hobgood, Trustees

of the United Mine Workers of America Combined Bene-

fit Fund; United Mine Workers of America Combined

Fund; Michael H. Holland, Marty D. Hudson, Thomas

Connors and Robert D. Wallace, Trustees of the UMWA

1992 Benefit Plan; United Mine Workers of America 1992

Benefit Plan; Michael H. Holland, Marty D. Hudson,

Thomas F. Connors, Elliott A. Segal, Trustees of the

UMWA 1993 Benefit Plan; and Michael H. Holland, Marty

iii

LIST OF PARTIES — Continued

D. Hudson, Elliott A. Segal, Joseph J. Stahl, II, Trustees of

the UMWA Cash Deferred Savings Plan of 1988. All-par-

ent and subsidiary companies of Petitioner, Adventure

Resources, Inc. and of the parties below are included in

the foregoing list of parties.

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

CIRO LIS PIM U oo cheb cedcicsivantvivenss i

Se Ee Ps poe atains 205k tnd ees RT SA TEER ii

TAREE CP AU TEIEREED oo obec dcesccnsesccustanes vi

fy 8 8 Tk rrr ee trey ere rr 1

pias esas 2 | MANES SERE hpe ey DU See ee eer prey or 1

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED............. 2

STATEMENT OF THB CARB oo ocii ik dee ec cceciees oe

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ........... 4

I. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ DECISION CRE-

ATES AN IMPLIED ADMINISTRATIVE CLAIM

TO FAVOR LABOR AGREEMENT CREDITORS

THAT ALTERS STATUTORY CLAIM PRIORI-

Il. THE STATUTORY INTERPRETATION OF THE

COURT OF APPEALS CONFLICTS WITH THE

MORE REASONED POSITION OF THE OTHER

CPR EOE ss Hines beads cen Wepre ee ae hae ee bens 8

Ill. THE PLAIN PROVISIONS OF THE BANK-

RUPTCY CODE WERE MISINTERPRETED BY

THE COURT OF APPEALS . ooscce cescscaceses 13

IV. THE FINDING OF THE COURT OF APPEALS

WILL UNDERMINE REORGANIZING

EMPLOYERS AND FAVOR UNION OVER

NONUNION EMPLOYEES ...............--+-. 18

he | we OS 8 | Be se error mary F 20

ee on

Vv

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

APPENDIX

Adventure Resources, Inc., et al. v. Michael H.

Holland, et al., 137 F.3d 786 (4th Cir. 1998)....

Adventure Resources, Inc. v. Michael H. Holland,

i199 Gu: 707 (5.0. W.Va: 1997) «oo. 6. ices icc

Order on Petition for Rehearing and Suggestion

caw coercion BR SERIO ae

Bankruptcy Code Provisions — Sections 1113, 365,

PG SE oa SSA Orde oo OLAS os 386 ues od ce ek cmek

Page

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Airline-Pilots’ Ass'n Int'l v. Shugrue (In re Ionosphere

Clubs, Inc.), 22 F.3d 403 (2nd Cir. 1994)

0 0 50 0:4 de ood bin OR ea a RD Oa ee 4, 5, 9, 11, 12, 14

Eagle, Inc. v. Local 537 of United Ass'n of Journeymen

and Apprentices of Plumbing and Pipe Fitting

Indus. of U.S. and Canada, AFL-CIO, 198 B.R. 637

CED REN SE eA aia ee Oa Raa Ree Ba SW hes es 11

In re Arlene’s Sportswear, Inc., 140 B.R. 25 (Bankr.

LP. WON, Fe oo 5a 0b 6 60k WR CESK Oo Cea ee cea 11

In re Armstrong Store Fixtures Corp., 135 B.R. 18,

reconsideration denied, 139 B.R. 347 (Bankr. W.D.

ge 2 Pee OE I Een ee Prey eee 10

In re Moline Corp., 144 B.R. 75 (Bankr. E.D. IIl.

1992); 5553 Ek AEW GELS S DEEP REERE SR Mbn est b44r ks 17

In re Ohio Corrugating Co., 115 B.R. 572, 578 (Bankr.

N.D. Ohio 1990), rev'd, United Steelworkers of

America, AFL-CIO v. Ohio Corrugating Co., No. 4:

90CV0810, 1991 WL 213850 (N.D. Ohio 1991) ..... 19

In re Roth American, Inc., 975 F.2d 949 (3rd Cir.

International Union v. Acorn Building Components,

Inc. (In re Acorn Bldg. Components, Inc.) 170 B.R.

S17. (ETD. Fa SRG 5 hes iain ekg we re a 11

Jones Truck Lines, Inc. v. Central States, Southeast

and Southwest Areas Pension Fund (In re Jones

Truck Lines, Inc.), 166 B.R. 885 (Bankr. W.D. Ark.

1994). 6:0s:5i6ss cis ca ep heeeeCa ee Fe 8 ao 10

‘ordan v. Rayman, Martin & Fader, Inc. (In re Ray-

man, Martin & Fader, Inc.), 170 B.R. 286 (D. Md.

DGS) «oa avs cp eee Cae en nk b Ons 48 Ce ees uaa bass 10

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Mass. Air Conditioning & Heating Corp. v. McCoy,

are Ou Coe CEP. BEROR. I9DG). wos cc cecsvieaswecse 16, 17

Metropolitan Distribution Services, Inc. v. Local 153

OPEIU (In re Golden Distributors, Ltd.), 152 B.R.

35 (S.D.N.Y. 1992) (Bankr. D. Mass. 1992)......... 11

Nathanson v. NLRB, 344 U.S. 25 (1952) ............... 6

NLRB v. Bildisco & Bildisco, 465 U.S. 513 (1984)... 5, 8, 15

Nostas Associates v. Costich (In re Klein Sleep Prod-

uete, int.), ve Food 18 (2nd Cir, 1996)... .. 2.6.5... 18

Shipwrights, Joiners and Caulkers Local 2071 of the

‘United Brotherhood of Carpenters v. Uniflite, Inc.

(In re Murray Industries, Inc.), 110 B.R. 585

(Bankr. M.D. Fla. 1990), appeal vacated as moot,

PO Te BO COR As CUMS EPPAD oes ec civsacceseecece 10

Trustees of Amalgamated Ins. Fund v. McFarlin’s,

ic.; For Rad 98 (2nd Cit. 1986) .. oe. 5. ccc veces 6

United States v. Noland, 116 S.Ct. 1524 (1996) ......... 7

United States v. Ron Pair Enters., Inc., 489 U.S. 235

SIRES AEE TANS SAS ag eR SS oe Re a ae 7

United Steelworkers of America v. Unimet Corp. (In re

Unimet Corp.), 842 F.2d 879 (6th Cir.), cert.

denied, 488 U.S. 828 (1988)........ 6S, 40, 11, 12, 16

STATUTES

Be NE Reka naw h bis sy eehek v84 454k ys bees passim

Ser eee OP PET 0 bbe) Gh ws oes A wees nance 8, 14, 15, 18

Pe: Ae OLED os Wes CEN SS ee Sead de oscncceccks 15

Vili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

AE TIGA B BGIS) kc kina xin kh see cen sea eee tees 15

SiS St 8 phe wees cy ee Dg ee a partie 2, 10

AE WK. Be aac ein Ga Se ee cae eees 7,9

ES USA Pas is wh sk sho ees 2, 3,.6, 8, 13,14

RE EIAs rad a ns shoeing ds ous edeweh si eannes 7, 13

1i USA. § SraNS) and (4). «2.65 veces 9, 14, 19, 20

ES MRA BS TEs cis s sais bi onc ks cadadeni passim

Rh. Shs HS RR ces ts wcaeh seh pbc die ees 4, 5, 8, 11

RORY cam Es) RE er ee eae mre iy ay Pee 3, 10

MISCELLANEOUS

Priority of Claims under Unmodified Collective

Bargaining Agreements, 16 Am. Bankr. Inst. J.

Oe TT ns Ok bs Ge ke 0 Cee Ae ER aa ee ne wes 4

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Adventure Resources, Inc. (“Adventure”), by its

bankruptcy trustee, H. Lynden Graham (“Trustee”).

respectfully petitions that a Writ of Certiorari be issued to

review the judgment of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Fourth Circuit entered February 27, 1998,

in order to resolve the conflict between the Second, Third,

Fourth and Sixth Circuit Courts of Appeal on the impor-

tant issue presented herein.

S

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (App. 1) is

reported at 137 F.3d 786. The opinion of the district court

is reported at 193 B.R. 787 (App. 31).

2

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on

February 27, 1998. A petition for rehearing and sugges-

tion for rehearing en banc was denied on April 24, 1998.

App. 55. Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 13.1, this peti-

tion has been filed within 90 days of the denial of rehear-

ing.

The jurisdiction of this Court is envoked pursuant to

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The provisions of the Bankruptcy Code involved are

11 U.S.C. §§ 365, 503, 507, 1113, which are reproduced in

Appendix 61-89.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Adventure and its related companies were parties to

a coilective bargaining agreement with the United Mine

Workers of America (“UMWA”). In December 1992,

Adventure filed a chapter 11 bankruptcy proceeding in

the United States Bankruptcy Court for the Southern

District of West Virginia. During the bankruptcy proceed-

ing, the term of the agreement expired. After expiration

of the agreement in 1993, the UMWA and Adventure

entered into a new collective bargaining agreement. At no

time did Adventure either assume or reject the agree-

ments pursuant to the Bankruptcy Code.

The Adventure reorganization was unsuccessful and

its bankruptcy case was converted to a chapter 7 proceed-

ing. The chapter 7 Trustee for Adventure is now faced

with over $12 million in pre-bankruptcy claims of the

UMWA Health and Retirement Funds (“UMWA Funds”)

arising under the agreements. These claims arose entirely

in the years prior to Adventure’s bankruptcy proceeding

and represent claims for unpaid pension contributions.

During the reorganization proceedings, Adventure

filed an adversary proceeding in the bankruptcy court

seeking a determination of the priority of claims filed by

the UMWA Funds. The district court withdrew reference

ae ON et Wi a pees SY ARUN it Ree N EN BER ie RAE OREO

IE Wie hee ae Spc he SMe” SM BPN RRC ate CORE

NN iin Ac Se as be AB

Pr alle aie.

of the proceeding to decide the issues presented. The

UMWA Funds argued before the district court below that

these pre-petition claims were conferred first priority,

administrative claim status in Adventure’s chapter 11

case under the provisions of Sections 1113 and 1114 of the

Bankruptcy Code. On March 8, 1996 the district court

issued an opinion which rejected that argument and

determined that only post-petition pension contribution

claims were entitled to administrative claim status.! App.

31.

The court of appeals reversed and held that the com-

bined applications of Sections 365 and 1113 of the Bank-

ruptcy Code did provide for administrative claim status

of the pre-petition claims under Section 507. This conclu-

sion was based upon the court of appeal’s view that

Adventure’s failure to reject its pre-petition labor agree-

ment under Section 1113 was tantamount to assuming the

agreement under Section 365. The UMWA Funds’ pension

claims were deemed by the court of appeals to be ele-

vated to administrative status due to the implied assump-

tion of the agreement. The court of appeals did not

reconcile its view with contrary authority or the provi-

sions of Section 365 that only allow bankruptcy debtors to

assume agreements based upon an affirmative request

that is approved by the bankruptcy court.

1 In the post-petition labor agreement entered into by the

UMWA and Adventure in 1993, the parties agreed that the entry

into the agreement would not affect the priority of any claim at

issue in the pending adversary proceeding before the district

court.

Adventure’s petition for rehearing and suggestion for

rehearing en banc were denied.

¢

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The decision of the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals

is in direct conflict with the opinions of the Second and

Third Cireuits of Appeal in Airline-Pilots’ Ass’n Int'l v.

Shugrue (In re Ionosphere Clubs, Inc.), 22 F.3d 403 (2nd Cir.

1994) and In re Roth American, Inc., 975 F.2d 949 (3rd Cir.

1992). The court of appeals’ decision is consistent with

the Sixth Circuit’s decision in United Steelworkers of Amer-

ica v. Unimet Corp. (In re Unimet Corp.), 842 F.2d 879 (6th

Cir.), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 828 (1988). “To date, the 2nd,

3rd and 6th Circuits have issued opinions interpreting

§ 1113(f) differently”. Priority of Claims Under Unmodified

Collective Bargaining Agreements, 16 Am. Bankr. Inst. J. 36

(1997).-Such a-conflict of the circuits must be resolved to

allow a uniform treatment of claims in bankruptcy cases.

The Second and Third Circuit cases both involved

pre-petition claims under unrejected collective bargaining

agreements. These decisions concluded that, in enacting

Section 1113 to establish procedures for the rejection of

collective bargaining agreements, Congress did not

intend to establish a claim priority for claims under the

agreements. Based upon this finding, the Roth and Iono-

sphere courts found that Section 1113 does not create an

administrative claim priority for pre-petition claims.

In contrast to the approaches in Roth and Ionosphere,

the court of appeals in Adventure granted administrative

claim status to the UMWA Funds’ pre-petition claims

based upon Adventure’s presumed assumption of its

labor agreement. While citing with approval the prece-

dent from the Second and Third Circuits, the Adventure

decision reached the opposite result under the same facts.

The articulated difference in Adventure was the Fourth

Circuit’s conclusion that Section 1113 must be read in

conjunction with Section 365. Section 365 has been ii.ter-

preted by this Court, in an opinion issued prior to the

enactment of Section 1113, to provide that the assumption

of any executory contract results in pre-petition claims

being elevated to first priority, administrative status.

NLRB v. Bildisco & Bildisco, 465 U.S. 513 (1984).

The determination in Adventure that pre-petition

claims under unrejected collective bargaining agreements

are entitled to administrative status was the same result

reached by the Sixth Circuit in Unimet. Based on different

applications of the Bankruptcy Code, Unimet and Adven-

ture both granted payment priorities to pre-petition labor

claims out of concern that there must be enforcement of

the provisions of Section 1113(f) requiring debtors not to

breach collective bargaining agreements without court

approval.

The Roth and Ionosphere decisions present a more

reasoned approach. They recognize that the priority of a

bankruptcy claim may not be implied and can only be

established by specific congressional enactment. In con-

trast, Adventure and Unimet imply a claim treatment

where none is specifically provided by statute. The result

of this implied claim treatment is that pre-petition claims

of non-union employees, taxing authorities and trade

creditors are less likely to be paid than the pre-petition

claims of union employees and pension plans.

The analysis of the provisions of Section 1113 and

other provisions differ in the decisions of the four courts

of appeal so as to create a conflict between them which is

clear and irreconcilable. Certiorari is appropriate.

I. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ DECISION CREATES

AN IMPLIED ADMINISTRATIVE CLAIM TO

FAVOR LABOR AGREEMENT CREDITORS THAT

ALTERS STATUTORY CLAIM PRIORITIES.

The ultimate issue presented in Adventure was

whether pre-petition claims of the UMWA Funds may be

moved to the head of the line for bankruptcy payment by

being deemed administrative claims. Priorities for claim

distribution are provided in Section 507 of the Bank-

ruptcy Code. This priority schedule is designed to pro-

vide payment of certain classes of claims by requiring

that they be paid first before others are satisfied.

“Because the presumption in bankruptcy cases is that the

debtor’s limited resources will be equally distributed

among its creditors, statutory priorities are narrowly con-

strued”. Trustees of the Amalgamated Ins. Fund v.

McFarlin’s, Inc., 789 F.2d 98, 100 (2nd Cir. 1986) (citing

Joint Indus. Board v. U.S., 391 U.S. 224, 228 (1968)). “[I]f

one claimant is to be preferred over others, the purpose

should be clear from the statute”. Nathanson v. NLRB, 344

U.S. 25, 29 (1952).

Under the provisions of the Bankruptcy Code, an

administrative claim is normally for “actual, necessary

costs and expenses of preserving the estate, including

wages, salaries or commissions for services rendered

after the commencement of the case”. 11 U.S.C.

a eS i oi ITS Lod

Bs ech nis AE DLE. | is ERE RIN DEMERS AIOE STE,

§ 503(b)(1)(A). Accordingly, this preferred treatment is

normally reserved for claims which arise post-petition.

Such administrative claims have first priority in the pay-

ment of unsecured claims under Section 507(a)(1). The

other priorities established under Section 507(a)(2)-(8) are

for specified, pre-petition claims which are granted a

payment priority below that provided for administrative

claims.

While the court of appeals in Adventure implied a

claim priority for pre-petition claims of union employees

and pension funds, where no rejection of their collective

bargaining agreement occurs, there is no provision in the

Bankruptcy Code that provides for such treatment. The

court of appeal’s finding was instead based upon the

assumption that a failure to reject a collective bargaining

agreement under Section 1113 is an implied assumption

of that agreement under Section 365. In reaching this

result, the court of appeals ignored the provisions of

Section 365 that provide that agreements may only be

assumed by an affirmative assumption by the debtor

upon approval by the bankruptcy court. The novel con-

struction of the statutes in Adventure to create a new

administrative claim contradicts this Court’s direction

that courts must give effect to the Bankruptcy Code and

catrinot make policy decisions to alter Congress’ intent.

United States v. Noland, 116 S.Ct. 1524, 1527-28 (1996);

United States v. Ron Pair Enters., Inc., 489 U.S. 235, 241

(1989).

II. THE STATUTORY INTERPRETATION OF THE

COURT OF APPEALS CONFLICTS WITH THE

MORE REASONED POSITION OF THE OTHER

CIRCUITS.

A consideration of the analysis of the court of

appeals in Adventure reveals an erroneous interpretation

of Sections 365, 507 and 1113 that is at odds with prior

authority. This consideration begins with the provisions

of Section 1113 which provide that a bankruptcy debtor

may only modify or reject a collective bargaining agree-

ment under certain defined procedures that must be

reviewed and approved by the bankruptcy court. Until

any court approved rejection or modification, the debtor

is directed by the statute to not alter or breach the terms

of the agreement. 11 U.S.C. § 1113(f).

Section 1113 was enacted under the 1984 amend-

ments to the Bankruptcy Code to protect collective bar-

gaining employees from arbitrary use of the provisions of

Section 365(a). Section 365(a) provides that a debtor may,

with court approval, either assume or reject any execu-

tory contract. 11 U.S.C. § 365(a). Until the passage of

Section 1113, Section 365 had been applied to collective

bargaining agreements. NLRB v. Bildisco & Bildisco, 465

U.S. at 522. The standard under Section 365 for the bank-

ruptcy court to approve a request by a debtor to assume

or reject any contract is whether the requested act is in

the best interest of the bankruptcy estate. Since this stan-

dard provided only limited protection for bargaining

employees, Congress responded to Bildisco by enacting

Section 1113.

After the passage of Section 1113, union employees

and pension plans began to argue that Congress intended

this provision to enhance the bankruptcy payment prior-

ity for wages and benefits defined by a collective bargain-

ing agreement. Since this section provides a debtor shall

not breach or terminate a union agreement until it is

modified or rejected upon approval of the bankruptcy

court, the union claimants argued that failure to reject

such an agreement meant all pre-petition claims of union

employees and benefit plans must be paid. The error in

this position was that Section 1113 states nothing about

claim priority.

Prior to the enactment of Section 1113, both union

and non-union employees and benefit plans already had -

administrative priority for all post-petition wages and

benefits under Section 503(b)(1)(A). Pre-petition wages

and benefits had priority treatment after administrative

claims up to $2,000 per employee.? 11 U.S.C. § 507(a)(3)

and (4). The new issue presented by Section 1113 was

whether the pre-petition wages and benefits of union

employees and retirees could be elevated from their pre-

petition priority under Section 507(a)(3) and (4) to post-

petition, administrative status under Section 503(b), if

their collective bargaining is never rejected.

The Second and Third Circuits expressly rejected this

argument in Roth and Ionosphere based upon the finding

that, in enacting Section 1113, Congress did not intend to

2 The $2,000 per employee limit was increased to $4,000

under the 1994 amendments to the Bankruptcy Code.

10

upset the careful ordering of claim priorities under Sec-

tion 507. This finding has been adopted by a majority of

the recent decisions of the lower courts. E.g., Jordan v.

Rayman, Martin & Fader, Inc. (In re Rayman, Martin & Fader

Inc.), 170 B.R. 286 (D. Md. 1994); Jones Truck Lines, Inc. v.

Central States, Southeast and Southwest Areas Pension Fund

(In re Jones Truck Lines, Inc.), 166 B.R. 885 (Bankr. W.D.

Ark. 1994); In re Armstrong Store Fixtures Corp., 135 B.R.

18, reconsideration denied, 139 B.R. 347 (Bankr. W.D. Pa.

1992). Also, see Shipwrights, Joiners and Caulkers Local 2071

of the United Brotherhood of Carpenters v. Uniflite, Inc. (In re

Murray Industries, Inc.), 110 B.R. 585 (Bankr. M.D. Fla.

1990), appeal vacated as moot, 140 B.R. 298 (M.D. Fla. 1992).

Courts following Roth have distinguished the con-

trary position of the Sixth Circuit’s decision in Unimet. In

Unimet, a bankruptcy debtor sought to reject its collective

bargaining and was denied that authority by the bank-

ruptcy court. The lower courts later denied administra-

tive status to the union retirees’ medical claims upon the

finding that only employees were protected by Section

1113 and that the claims arose pre-petition. In reversing

this decision, the Sixth Circuit determined that retirees

were also protected by Section 1113 and found retirees’

claims were entitled to priority, whether or not they

qualified as Section 503 administrative claims.* 842 F.2d

at 884. In reaching its conclusion, the Sixth Circuit

implied a priority in payment based upon the provisions

3 11 U.S.C. § 1114 was enacted after the Unimet decision to

protect retiree benefit plans. The retiree plans protected by

Section 1114 include health and death benefits, but do not

include pension plans.

11

of Section 1113(f), prohibiting unilateral modification of a

collective bargaining agreement. Despite the limitations

of the Sixth Circuit decision, many lower courts have

interpreted Unimet to support an administrative or super

administrative claim priority for claims under collective

bargaining agreements. E.g., Eagle, Inc. v. Local No. 537 of

United Ass'n of Journeymen and Apprentices of Plumbing and

Pipe Fitting Indus. of U.S. and Canada, AFL-CIO, 198 B.R.

637 (D. Mass 1996); International Union v. Acorn Building

Components, Inc. (In re Acorn Bldg. Components, Inc.), 170

B.R. 317 (E.D. Mich. 1994); Metropolitan Distribution Ser-

vices, Inc. v. Local 153 OPEIU (In re Golden Distributors,

Ltd.), 152 B.R. 35 (S.D. N.Y. 1992); In re Arlene's Sportswear,

Inc., 140 B.R. 25 (Bankr. D. Mass. 1997).

Adventure is at odds with the more recent opinions in

Roth and Ionosphere, but does not explain the difference

nor does it even suggest there is a difference between its

decision and those in the other circuits. On the other

hand, the court of appeals indicated its disapproval of

Unimet, but ultimately reached the same result in Unimet.

Rather than rely on the disapproved analysis of Unimet

under Section 1113(f), the court of appeals in Adventure

created a new rationale under Section 365.

The conflict of the Adventure decision is even more

remarkable when one considers that the facts in Adven-

ture are the same on all relevant points as those in Roth.

In Roth, the employer had filed bankruptcy while it was a

party to a collective bargaining agreement with the Inter-

national Brotherhood of Teamsters. 975 F.2d at 950. Dur-

ing the bankruptcy, the collective bargaining agreement

expired, without the debtor’s assumption or rejection of

12

the agreement. The debtor then entered into a new collec-

tive bargaining agreement which was also not assumed

or rejected. Later, the debtor had to cease operation and

sell off its business in the bankruptcy proceeding, which

gave rise to unpaid claims under both the pre-petition

and post-petition collective bargaining agreements. Id. at

951.

The Roth panel rejected the union argument that ben-

efit claims due under the pre-bankruptcy agreement were

administrative claims based on the theory that the debtor

had assumed the agreement by its failure to reject the

agreement under Section 1113. In rejecting the position

adopted by the Adventure decision, the Second Circuit

stated in Roth:

The Union contends that since Roth American

has not sought to reject the collective bargaining

agreement under Section 1113, Roth American

has “assumed” the collective bargaining agree-

ment by operation of law, and that Roth Ameri-

can thus is bound by all of its terms. We agree

with the Union up to this point. But it simply

does not follow, as the Union contends, that all

claims under unrejected collective bargaining

agreements are entitled to first priority. .. . [W]e

will also conclude that 11 U.S.C. § 1113 does not

create a super priority or automatic first priority

for claims under an unrejected collective bar-

gaining agreement.

975 F.2d at 957-58.

The Roth opinion was later endorsed by the Second

Circuit in Ionosphere as a better reasoned position than

that articulated in Unimet. Ionosphere, 22 F.3d at 407. This

more reasoned position was adopted by the district court

13

below and should have been affirmed by the Fourth

Circuit on appeal.

Ill. THE PLAIN PROVISIONS OF THE BANK-

RUPTCY CODE WERE MISINTERPRETED BY

THE COURT OF APPEALS.

The court of appeals misinterpreted or ignored the

plain language of the Bankruptcy Code. This is reflected

by the strained construction in Adventure attached to the

provisions of Sections 365, 507 and 1113. The Adventure

decision begins by the supportable position that the claim

priorities of Section 507 cannot be upset by implication,

but ends by misinterpreting those priorities.

[a] bankruptcy claim arising from the breach of

a collective bargaining agreement may be

accorded priority status only insofar as it fits

into one of the categories singled out for prefer-

ential treatment in section 5(7. Fortunately for

the Funds, the claims of the Pension Trust are

the proverbial round peg.

App. 25.

The foregoing analysis is irreconcilable with the final

determination in Adventure that the UMWA Funds claims

are administrative claims. Section 507 does not provide

any specific “categories” for administrative claims, but

merely states administrative claims under Section 503

have a payment priority over various categories of pre-

petition claims identified in that section. 1s V.-C.

§ 507(a)(1). The only categories in Section 507 constituting

pegs for collective bargaining agreement claims are the

pre-petition priorities provided for employee wages and

14

benefit funds in Sections 507(a)(3) and (4). While the

UMWA Funds’ claims are pre-petition claims which fit

within the type of claims described in 507(a)(3) and (4),

these provisions do not grant administrative status to

such claims. Instead, these claims are granted a lesser

priority behind administrative claims. Given the conflict

between these provisions and Adventure’s finding of

administrative status of the UMWA Fund claims, it would

appear that the court of appeals erred in construing the

normal application of Section 507.

To further support administrative claim status, the

Adventure court goes on to introduce a new view not

adopted in Roth and related decisions. Adventure con-

cludes that, upon an employer’s failure to reject a collec-

tive bargaining agreement, an employer must be deemed

to have assumed the agreement. The decision then looks

to Section 365 to determine the effect of assumption as

being the duty to pay all claims under the agreement,

including those arising pre-petition. To the extent Section

365 dictates the result in Adventure, it would also be

equally applicable in Roth, Ionosphere and cases with

unrejected collective bargaining agreements with which

Adventure is irreconcilably in conflict. The only seeming

explanation for the discrepancy is that the court of

appeals erred in not accounting for the provisions of

Section 365(a) which require a debtor to affirmatively act

to assume any executory contract.

The court of appeal’s misconstruction of this section

is better understood by viewing the difference between

assumption and rejection of contracts under Section 365

from that provided under Section 1113. Under Section

365, a contract is not deemed assumed simply because it

15

is not rejected. In order to assume a contract under this

section, a debtor must specifically seek and obtain the

bankruptcy court’s approval to assume the contract. 11

U.S.C. § 365(a).

Section 365 does not dictate a specific priority for

pre-petition claims upon the assumption of a contract,

but states that to gain bankruptcy court approval for an

assumption of a contract, all defaults in the contract must

be cured. 11 U.S.C. § 365(b)(1). This provision has been

interpreted to provide that all obligations under an

assumed contract, including those due pre-bankruptcy,

must be paid in full as administrative claims. This Court

noted in Bildisco that:

Should the debtor-in-possession elect to assume

the executory contract, however, it assumes the

contract cum onere (citation omitted) and the

expenses and liabilities incurred may be treated

as adrhinistrative expenses, which are afforded

the highest priority of the debtor’s estate, 11

U.S.C. § 503(b)(1).

Rildisco at 531-532. If the bankruptcy court grants a rejec-

tion of the contract, or under certain circumstances the

contract is not assumed, then it is automatically deemed

rejected and the pre-petition obligations due under the

contract are treated as general, unsecured claims, pur-

suant to 11 U.S.C. § 502(g).

Section 1113(a) provides that a bankruptcy debtor

“may assume or reject a collective bargaining agreement

only in accordance with the provisions of this section”.

While subparagraph (a) of Section 1113 refers to both

assumption and rejection, the balance of the provisions of

this section only deal with how and what a debtor must

16

show to modify or reject a collective bargaining agree-

ment. There is no provision in Section 1113 for how or

what a bankruptcy debtor or trustee must do to assume a

collective bargaining agreement.

The Adventure court interprets the Congressional

omission in Section 1113 of a procedure for the assump-

tion of a collective bargaining agreement to mean that

there is an automatic assumption of a collective bargain-

ing agreement upon the failure to reject the agreement.

This position does not logically harmonize Section 1113

with Section 365. The Trustee submits that the more con-

sistent conclusion is that, to assume a collective bargain-

ing agreement, one would turn to Section 365 to

determine the procedure for assumption, just as the court

of appeals looked to this section to determine the effect of

assumption. The procedure provided by Section 365 is a

court approved request by the debtor for such an

assumption. Without following this procedure, no con-

tract is assumed under Section 365.

No decision since Unimet supports Adventure’s inter-

pretation of Section 1113 as removing the plain require-

ments of Section 365(a) that an express assumption must

be approved by the court. The court of appeals did rely

on the district court’s opinion in Mass. Air Conditioning &

Heating Corp. v. McCoy, 196 B.R. 659, (D. Mass. 1996) for

that proposition. The McCoy court only concluded that

Section 365 continues to apply to collective bargaining

agreements, except where it conflicts with the provisions

of Section 1113. The district court in McCoy did not

determine, as the court of appeals did in Adventure, that

failure to reject a collective bargaining was tantamount to

assuming the agreement under Section 365. Instead, the

17

bankruptcy court in McCoy required the debtor employer

to make a specific election to assume or reject its collec-

tive bargaining agreement. The debtor chose to assume

the agreement and this assumption was approved by the

bankruptcy court. Thus, when the McCoy court found

that the debtor had a duty to pay pre-petition claims

under the assumed agreement, it did so only upon an

express assumption under the provisions of Section 365.

The Adventure decision notes that it does not tread

any new ground in finding that assumption of an execu-

tory contract under Section 365 means pre-petition claims

arising from the contract are to be paid as administrative

claims.* There is no error in the finding of the court of

appeals that assumption of an executory contract results

in pre-petition obligations under the contract being

treated as an administrative expense. The conflict pre-

sented by Adventure is its finding that contract assump-

tion can occur without an affirmative act by the

bankruptcy debtor and approval of that act by the bank-

ruptcy court after notice to creditors.

While the duty of a debtor employer to comply with

the terms of a collective bargaining agreement in post-

4 In all but one of the six decisions cited for this proposition

in the Adventure decision, the debtor affirmatively assumed a

lease under Section 365. See footnote 18, App. 29. A pre-Roth

decision of In re Moline Corp., 144 B.R. 75 (Bankr. E.D. Ill. 1992)

did involve a collective bargaining agreement that had not been

assumed or rejected. During the pendency of the bankruptcy, a

union moved for its claims to be granted administrative claim

status and the bankruptcy court denied that request finding the

debtor had not yet assumed the contract.

18

bankruptcy employment is undisputed, the implied con-

clusion of Adventure that this requirement elevates pre-

petition obligations under the wage agreement to admin-

istrative status, has no support. Under Section 365, var-

ious types of executory contracts are required to be

performed to the extent of post-bankruptcy obligations,

but there is no provision that pre-petition obligations

must be paid uniess and until a court approves the

assumption of the agreement. See e.g., Nostas Associates v.

Costich (In re Klein Sleep Products, Inc.), 78 F.3d 18, 26 (2nd

Cir. 1996).

The Trustee submits that the conflict of Adventure

with the other circuits should be resolved by this Court

determining that a debtor must act to assume a collective

bargaining agreement with bankruptcy court approval

under Section 365 before pre-bankruptcy claims arising

under the agreement are treated as administrative claims.

IV. THE FINDING OF THE COURT OF APPEALS

WILL UNDERMINE REORGANIZING

EMPLOYERS AND FAVOR UNION OVER NON-

UNION EMPLOYEES.

The issues presented in Adventure have a significant

impact on the administration of bankruptcy cases. In a

case where a debtor is successful in reorganizing, the

assumption and payment in full of all collective bargain-

ing obligations seems well founded. The debtor could

seek to assume the agreement under Section 365(a) and

other pre-bankruptcy creditors could participate in a

hearing to protect their interests in the event payment of

19

their claims was adversely affected by such an assump-

tion. On the other hand, when a business in reorganiza-

tion fails, the simple fact that a pre-petition claim is

related to a collective bargaining agreement should not

allow that claim to come ahead of all other pre-petition

creditors based upon a mythical assumption of the agree-

ment. Consumer creditors, taxing authorities and non-

union employees holding pre-petition claims all suffer

under such an inequitable result. While their claims are

elevated in priority under Section 507(a)(3)-(8), the

Adventure decision provides that these claims can only

receive payment, if there are sufficient funds in the bank-

ruptcy to pay the administrative claims of the collective

bargaining employees and plans in full.

As noted by the Third Circuit in Roth, having an

unknown amount of pre-petition obligations automat-

ically becoming equal to new post-petition credit in a

bankruptcy could be detrimental to a reorganization case.

The Roth court stated that “[i]f post-petition administra-

tive expenses can be, in effect, wiped out by pre-petition

employment obligations, a strong disincentive to reorgan-

ization under Chapter 11 would be created”. Roth at 956,

quoting In re Ohio Corrugating Co., 115 B.R. 572, 578

(Bankr. N.D. Ohio 1990). The application of the Adventure

position would hamper the reorganization efforts of

chapter 11 debtors with collective bargaining agreements

since the debtors would be less likely to obtain new

credit.

Adventure creates a further disparity in the treatment

of union and non-union wage and benefit claims. The

pre-petition claims of all employees or their benefit plans

20

for wages or contributions are treated as pre-petition

claims under Section 507(a)(3) or (4) with a payment

priority after administrative claims. On the other hand,

Adventure provides union employees and benefit plans

administrative claims for pre-petition claims ahead of

non-union employees and plans, where there is no court

approved rejection of the collective bargaining agree-

ment. There is no statutory support or rational basis to

suggest that Congress intended to grant such a special

claim priority to union claimants by enacting Sections

1113 to the detriment of other employees and benefit

plans of a bankruptcy debtor. The disparity created by

Adventure should be resolved by the Court following the

plain language of the Bankruptcy Code.

¢

CONCLUSION

The Petition for a Writ of Certiorari should be

granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Joun A. ROo.tins

Lewis, FRIEDBERG, GLASSER,

Casey & Ro.utns, LLP

Suite 700, One Valley Square

Charleston, WV 25301

(304) 345-2000

. Attorney for Petitioner

July 23, 1998

APPENDIX A

APPENDIX

Page

Adventure Resources, Inc., et al. v. Michael H.

Holland, et al., 137 F.3d 786 (4th Cir. 1998)....... Al

Adventure Resources, Inc. v. Michael H. Holland,

EO MMs FOF p COEs. WE. VOs ADEE) vv cscw evens evecees A31

Order on Petition for Rehearing as Suggestion for

a eee er er ee Pee eee eRe Eee A55

Bankruptcy Code Provisions - Sections 1113, 365,

ie Thi a Vida Ciena As wea Ova we deans te bess Aél

Al

APPENDIX

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

ADVENTURE Resources, INCORPORATED, a

West Virginia corporation; Amico

SMOKELESS Coa Company, a West

Virginia corporation; Tommy CREEK

Coat Company, a West Virginia

corporation; GREEN Mountain ENERGY,

INCORPORATED, a West Virginia

corporation; M.A.E. Services,

INCORPORATED, a West Virginia

corporation; Masen ENERGY

CorporaTION, a West Virginia

corporation; RALEIGH LEASING,

INCORPORATED, a West Virginia

corporation; Stoney Coat Company, a

West Virginia corporation; Spruce

Laure. Coat Company, a West

Virginia corporation; Haw.Ley Coat

MINING CorporRATION, a West Virginia

corporation; BickrorD MINING,

INCORPORATED, also knewn as Allports

Coals, Incorporated, a West Virginia

corporation; Barrett Fue.

CorPORATION, successor by merger to

Beckley Lick Run Company, a West

Virginia corporation; East Gutr Fuer

CorporaTION, a West Virginia

corporation; Coat X Equipment &

Suppty COMPANY, INCORPORATED,

formerly known as Lakeside Supply

Company, Incorporated, a West

Virginia corporation; Beck.tey Repair

& Hyprautic Service, INCORPORATED, a

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

No. 96-1557

A2

West Virginia corporation; Halfway,

Incorporated, a West Virginia

corporation; CHESAPEAKE LEASING,

INCORPORATED, a West Virginia

corporation; Piney Fuet CORPORATION,

a West Virginia corporation; LAKEsIDE

Leasinc, Incorporated, formerly

known as Airplane Leasing,

Incorporated, a West Virginia

corporation; RALEIGH SERVICES,

INCORPORATED, a West Virginia

corporation; AtLas Coat LEASING,

INCORPORATED, a West Virginia

corporation; SuGAR CAMP MINING,

INCORPORATED, a West Virginia

corporation; H.D. Enterprises, Limiteb,

a West Virginia corporation; Jet Coal

Services, Incorporated, a West

Virginia corporation; Microblack,

Incorporated, a West Virginia

corporation; Dover Coat SALEs,

INCORPORATED, a West Virginia

corporation; No. 10 Minna,

INCORPORATED, a West Virginia

corporation; PANTHER Rep AsH LAND

ComPaANY, INCORPORATED, a West

Virginia corporation,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

v.

MicHaAe, H. Hoititanp, Marty D.

Hupson, E.tuot A. Seca, Pau R.

Dean, Trustees of the UMWA 1950

Pension Trusts and UMWA 1974

Pension Trusts; UNirep Mine WorKeERS

or AMERICA 1974 PENsION TRUST;

ee ee eee OOO OO OO ae Or”

A3

Unrrep Mine Workers oF AMERICA

1950 Pension Trust; Micuaet H.

Ho.tianp, Marty D. Hupson, ELuiot

A. Secat, THomas O.S. RaNnpb, CARLTON

R. Sicxies, and Gam R. WILENsky,

WituiaM P. Hoscoop, Trustees Of The

United Mine Workers of America

Combined Benefit Fund; Unirrep Mine

Workers OF AMERICA COMBINED FUND;

MicHaet H. Hoiitanp, Marty D.

Hupson, THomMaAs F. Connors and

Rosert D. Wa.tace, Trustees of The

-_UMWA 1992 Benefit Plan; Unrrep

Mine Workers OF AMERICA 1992

Benerir PLAN; MicHAet H. HOLiANp,

Marty D. Hupson, THomas F.

Connors, E.uiot A. Seca, Trustees of

The UMWA 1993 Benefit Plan;

Unitrep Mine Workers OF AMERICA

1993 Benerit PLAN; and Micnaet H.

HoLLANbD, Marty D. Hupson, ELuiot

A. SEGAL, JosePH J. StAHt, II, Trustees

of The UMWA Cash Deferred

Savings Plan of 1988; Unrrep MINE

Workers OF AMERICA CASH DEFERRED

SAVINGS PLAN OF 1988,

Defendants-Appellants,

and

Donna E. SHa.ata, Secretary,

Department of Health & Human

Services, Social Security

Administration of the United States

of America,

Defendant.

er er a a a a a a a a ee eee ie i i aS a eS ws

A4

ADVENTURE RESOURCES, INCORPORATED, a

West Virginia corporation,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

and

Amico SMOKELESS Coat Company, A

West Virginia Corporation; Tommy

Creek Coat Company, A West Virginia

Corporation; GREEN MOuNTAIN ENERGY,

INCORPORATED, a West Virginia

corporation; M.A.E. Services,

INCORPORATED, a West Virginia

corporation; Masen ENERGY

CorporaTION, a West Virginia

Corporation; RALEIGH LEASING,

INCORPORATED, a West Virginia

Corporation; Stoney Coat Company, a

West Virginia corporation; Spruce

Laure. Coat Company, a West

Virginia corporation; HAwLey Coa

MINING Corporation, a West Virginia

corporation; Bickrorp MINING,

INCORPORATED, also known as Allports

Coals, Incorporated, a West Virginia

corporation; Barrett Fuet

CorPORATION, successor by merger to

Beckley Lick Run Company, a West

Virginia corporation; East Gur Furr

CorporaTION, a West Virginia

corporation; Coat X Equipment &

Suppty ComMPANy, INCORPORATED,

formerly known as Lakeside Supply

Company, Incorporated, a West

Virginia corporation; Becktey Repair

& Hyprautic Service, INCORPORATED, a

No. 96-1938

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

A5

West Virginia corporation; Hatrway,

INCORPORATED, a West Virginia

corporation; CHesaPeaAkE LEASING,

INCORPORATED, a West Virginia

corporation; Piney Fue. Corporation,

a West Virginia corporation; Laxesipe

LEASING, INCORPORATED, formerly

known as Airplane Leasing,

Incorporated, a West Virginia

corporation; RALEIGH SERviceEs,

INCORPORATED, a West Virginia

corporation; Attas Coat LEasiNG,

INCORPORATED, a West Virginia

corporation; SuGAR Camp MINING,

INCORPORATED, a West Virginia

corporation; H.D. Enterprises, Limirep,

a West Virginia corporation; Jer Coat

SERVICES, INCORPORATED, a West

Virginia corporation; MicrosLack,

INCORPORATED, a West Virginia

corporation; Dover Coat Sates,

INCORPORATED, a West Virginia

corporation; No. 10 Minna,

INCORPORATED, a West Virginia

corporation; PANTHER Rep Ash LAND

Company, INCORPORATED, a West

Virginia corporation,

Plaintiffs,

Vv.

MicHaet H. HoLtanp, Marry D.

Hupson, E.uiot A. Secat, Paut R.

Dean, Trustees of the UMWA 1950

Pension Trusts and UMWA 1974

Pension Trusts; United Mine Workers

of America 1974 Pension Trust;

Unitrep Mine Workers OF AMERICA

et eet et et ee ee Se eet See ee ee See ee Se Ne Se Se See Se Nee Nee Se ee Se Nee ee We Nee ee Nee Net ee Ne ee ee ee es ee

A6

1950 Pension Trust; Micuaew H.

Hottanp, Marty D. Hupson, Evuior

A. Seca, THomas O.S. Ranp, CARLTON

R. Sicxies, and Gan R. Wicensky,

WiuuiamM P. Hoscoop, Trustees of the

United Mine Workers of America

Combined Benefit Fund; Unrrep Mine

Workers oF AMERICA ComBINeD FuND;

Micuaet H. Hoiitanp, Marry D.

Hupson, THomas F. Connors and

Rosert D. Wattace, Trustees of the

UMWA 1992 Benefit Plan; Unirep

Mine Workers or America 1992

Benertit PLAN; MicHaset H. Hoitanp,

Marty D. Hupson, THomas F.

Connors, Etuior A. Seca, Trustees of

the UMWA 1993 Benefit Plan; UNitep

Mine Workers oF AMERICA‘1993

Benerit PLAN; and Micuaet H.

Ho.ttaAnp, Marty D. Hupson, E.uor

A. Secat, JoserH J. Stant, IL, Trustees

of the UMWA Cash Deferred Savings

Plan of 1988; Unirep Mine Workers

or AmeriIcA CasH Dererrep SAVINGS

PLAN oF 1988,

Defendants-Appellees,

and

Donna E. SHALALA, Secretary,

Department of Health & Human

Services, Social Security

Administration of the United States

of America,

Defendant.

ee eee ee”

A7

Appeals from the United States District Court

for the Southern District of West Virginia,

at Charleston.

Charles H. Haden II, Chief District Judge.

(CA-94-858-2, BK-91-50509, AP-93-197)

Argued: August 13, 1997

Decided: February 27, 1998

Before RUSSELL,* Circuit Judge, HALL, Senior Circuit

Judge, and MICHAEL, Senior United States District Judge

for the Western District of Virginia, sitting by designa-

tion.

Affirmed in part, reversed in part, and remanded with

instructions by published opinion. Senior Judge Hall

wrote the opinion, in which Judge Russell and Senior

Judge Michael joined.

COUNSEL

ARGUED: Jami Wintz McKeon, Morgan, Lewis &

Bockius, L.L.P., Philadelphia, PA, for Appellants. John

Allen Rollins, Lewis, Friedberg, Glasser, Casey & Rollins,

Charleston, WV, for Appellees. ON BRIEF: David W.

Allen, Larry D. Newsome, Barbara Locklin-George, Brian

H. Benjet, Office of the General Counsel, UMWA Health

& Retirement Funds, Washington, DC; Marilyn L. Baker,

Mooney, Green, Baker, Gibson & Saindon, P.C., Washing-

ton, DC, for Appellants.

* Judge Russell participated in the decision of this case, but

died prior to the time the opinion was issued. The opinion is

filed by a quorum of the panel pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 46(d).

A8

OPINION

HALL, Senior Circuit Judge:

The primary question before us in this appeal is

whether a debtor in bankruptcy operating under the

aegis of Chapter 11 may, with regard to an executory

contract in effect at the time of the filing of the petition

for reorganization, continue to reap the benefits of its

bargain without concern that the non-debtor party will be

made whole for the debtor’s unfulfilled prepetition obli-

gations. We hold, in accordance with the pronouncement

of the Supreme Court in NLRB v. Bildisco & Bildisco, that it

may not.

I.

A.

The Adventure Group comprises forty-six com-

panies, all of which are affiliates or subsidiaries of

Adventure Resources, Inc. The Adventure companies are

involved, to varying degrees, in nearly every aspect of

the production of coal. For instance, certain of the com-

panies merely own or lease the mine properties and the

coal beneath them. Other Adventure companies actually

mine and prepare the coal, and still others provide sup-

port services such as supplies and equipment.

In December 1992, twenty of the Adventure com-

panies filed petitions for reorganization under Chapter 11

of the Bankruptcy Code. Among the myriad of Adven-

ture’s creditors were six trusts established to provide

pension, health, disability, and death benefits to members

AY

of the United Mine Workers of America and their depen-

dents. Together, these trusts constitute the UMWA Health

and Retirement Funds (“the Funds”).

Four of the trusts (the 1950 Pension Trust, the 1974

Pension Trust, the Cash Deferred Savings Plan of 1988,

and the 1993 Benefit Plan) were created as the result of

NBCWAs - collective bargaining agreements negotiated

by the UMWA with the Bituminous Coal Operators Asso-

ciation.! The remaining two trusts (the Combined Benefit

Fund and the 1992 Benefit Plan) exist by operation of law;

they were established as a result of the enactment of the

Coal Industry Retiree Health Benefit Act, 26 U.S.C.

§§ 9701-9722 (the “Coal Act”).

Adventure was among the coal operator signatories

to the NBCWA of 1988, the collective bargaining agree-

ment in effect at the time of the bankruptcy filing. Pur-

suant to the 1988 agreement, the employers undertook to

ensure the funding of employee pension and health bene-

fits initially payable during the contract term. In addition,

the employers guaranteed the funding of benefits already

being administered by the 1950 and 1974 Pension Trusts;

those trusts were “incorporated by reference and made a

part of this Agreement.” Nationat Bituminous Coat WAGE

AGREEMENT OF 1988 art. XX, §§ (b), (c)(1).

Adventure did not live up to its part of the bargain.

Instead, as evidenced by the preliminary report of an

1 NBCWA is an abbreviation for “ National Bituminous Coal

Wage Agreement.”

Al0

independent business analysis prepared in 1988, Adven-

ture engaged in a deliberate strategy of expanding its

mining operations at the expense of its employees:

In 1985 and a portion of 1986, the companies

began extensive mine development. . . . [M]ine

development and sustaining capital costs are

not easily financed, and management was faced

with significant cash obligations. Management

felt that expanding vendor credit beyond the

level being used at the time was impossible and

sought other sources of funds. The decision was

made to not make payments, as due, to the

mineworkers pension and benefit funds. . . .

This “funding” mechanism was viewed as short-

term but necessary, and the deferral of these

payments was undertaken.

May 5, 1988, Preliminary Report of David A. Harrah,

CPA, to John P. Lamond, Treasurer, Westmoreland Coal

Co.

Adventure’s “deferral” of its pension and health ben-

efit contributions was anything but short-term. Once it

had initially defaulted on its payments to the Funds,

Adventure continued to remain in arrears. Even after

filing for reorganization, Adventure satisfied neither its

ongoing obligations to the 1950 and 1974 Pension Trusts,

nor those subsequently imposed by the Coal Act and the

1993 NBCWA.? As a result of Adventure’s business

2 To comply with the Coal Act, Adventure was required to

make payments to the Combined Benefit Fund and to the 1992

Benefit Plan (the “Coal Act trusts”). Consistent with the terms of

the 1993 NBCWA, Adventure agreed to contribute to the Cash

Deferred Savings Plan of 1988 and to the 1993 Benefit Plan.

All

“ ‘funding’ mechanism,” the Funds’ claims may exceed

$25 million, including approximately $4-5 million

assessed during the 43-month duration of the Chapter 11

bankruptcy.®

B.

The twenty Adventure companies in Chapter 11,

joined by eight non-debtor affiliates, filed this adversary

proceeding in the bankruptcy court to determine the via-

bility and priority of the claims filed by three of the

trusts. See 28 U.S.C. § 157(b)(1) (conferring jurisdiction

upon the bankruptcy judges over certain “core” bank-

ruptcy proceedings, as outlined in § 157(b)(2)). By order

dated June 23, 1994, the district court, pursuant to its

authority under 28 U.S.C. § 157(d), withdrew its reference

of the proceeding to the bankruptcy court. The remaining

three trusts were subsequently granted leave to intervene

as additional defendants and to file a counter-complaint

against Adventure.

Following a period of discovery, the Funds moved for

partial summary judgment, contending that virtually all

of their claims were entitled to be designated administra-

tive expenses of the bankruptcy estate. See 11 U.S.C.

§ 507(a)(1) (according first priority to “administrative

expenses allowed under section 503(b) of this title”).4 The

* On July 25, 1996, after the notice of appeal was filed in the

instant matter, the bankruptcy court, upon Adventure’s motion,

converted the case to a liquidation proceeding under Chapter 7.

4 Adventure’s creditors have filed over $160 million in

claims relating to its pre-bankruptcy operations. During the oral

Al2

district court, by memorandum opinion and order dated

March 8, 1996, granted the motion as to the claims filed

by the Coal Act trusts. See note 2, supra. However, with

respect to the vast bulk of the Funds’ claims, i.e., the pre-

bankruptcy amounts owed by Adventure to the 1950 and

1974 Pension Trusts, the court below denied the motion.

Adventure Resources, Inc. v. Holland, 193 B.R. 787 (S.D.W.

Va. 1996).5

The district court concluded that the Funds’ claims

pursuant to the Coal Act did not accrue until after the

filing of the Chapter 11 petitions in late 1992. The initial

contributions and benefit premiums exacted by the terms

of the Coal Act are, the district court ruled, taxes on the

bankruptcy estates, and are therefore administrative

expenses within the contemplation of 11 U.S.C.

§ 503(b)(1)(B)(i). 193 B.R. at 793-96.

Regarding Adventure’s obligations to the 1950 and

1974 Pension Trusts, the district court dismissed the

Funds’ arguments that 11 U.S.C. §§ 1113(f) and 1114(e)

(addressing, respectively, the rejection in bankruptcy of

argument of this matter, counsel for the Chapter 7 trustee

surmised that the sale of the estate’s assets will generate only

enough cash to pay the secured claims, the costs of the

liquidation, and an unspecified portion of the expenses

associated with the administration of the Chapter 11

bankruptcy.

5 The parties do not appear to dispute that the claims filed

by the 1993 Benefit Plan and the Cash Deferred Savings Plan of

1988, to the extent that they are attributable to obligations

assumed by Adventure pursuant to its 1993 wage agreement, see

note 2, supra, are entitled to priority as postpetition

administrative expenses of the bankruptcy estates.

Al3

collective bargaining agreements and the payment of cer-

tain health insurance benefits to retired employees of

Chapter 11 debtors) conferred first priority status upon

the entirety of those claims, regardless of whether they

accrued prior to the filing of the petitions. The district

court determined instead that any claims for benefit con-

tributions payable pursuant to an NBCWA were entitled

to administrative expense priority only insofar as they

had initially arisen postpetition. 193 B.R. at 796-98.

The Funds appeal that portion of the district court’s

order denying them summary judgment as to the claims

of the Pension Trusts originating prior to Adventure’s

immersion in bankruptcy. The Chapter 7 trustee cross-

appeals the remainder of the order granting summary

judgment to the Funds on the Coal Act claims; the notice

of crossappeal incorporates the district court’s order of

June 26, 1996, denying Adventure’s post-proceeding

motions for relief under Fed. R. Civ. P. 59(e) and 60(b).

We agree with the district court that the Funds’

claims under the Coal Act did not arise until after Adven-

ture had already filed its petitions for reorganization.

Inasmuch as these claims are for unpaid taxes, they must

be accorded administrative expense priority. Conse-

quently, we affirm the district court’s grant of summary

judgment to the Funds as to the Coal Act claims.

The district court also correctly determined that the

plain language of 11 U.S.C. §§ 1113(f) and 1114(e) does

not accommodate the notion that Congress specifically

intended to address through those statutes the priority of

claims for unpaid pension benefit obligations. In the

absence of specific direction from the legislative branch,

Al4

we conclude that, where such claims emanate from the

breach of a collective bargaining agreement, they are to

be granted priority in accordance with the law governing

the treatment in bankruptcy of executory contracts in

general.

Thus, where the Chapter 11 debtor has assumed the

benefits and obligations of an existing collective bargain-

ing agreement, but does not comply with its statutory

duty to cure all defaults then extant, any claims arising

from the debtor’s failure to cure are entitled to first

priority as administrative expenses of the bankruptcy

estate. Because the district court held to the contrary, i.e.,

that the Funds’ claims are not entitled to any priority to

the extent that they are attributable to prepetition

defaults, we reverse its grant of summary judgment to

Adventure as to the applicable Pension Trust claims. We

will explain the reasons for our holdings in more detail

below.

Il.

The parties agree that no genuine issue of material

fact exists at this stage of the litigation. Our task is simply

to determine, on the undisputed facts, which party is

entitled to judgment as a matter of law concerning the

issues on appeal. Fep. R. Crv. P. 56(c). In that respect, our

review of the district court’s application of the law is, as

always, de novo. Patten v. United States, 116 F.3d 1029, 1031

(4th Cir. 1997).

Congress passed the Coal Act to redress the “looming

insolvency” of the trusts that had been established by

prior NBCWAs to provide health care benefits to retired

coal miners. LTV Steel Co., Inc. v. Shalala (In re Chateaugay

Corp.), 53 F.3d 478, 484-85 (2d Cir. 1995). To that end, the

Act created the Combined Benefit Fund to secure the

continuation of health benefits for those retired miners

who had been receiving them under the old system as of

July 20, 1992. 26 U.S.C. § 9703(f). The Act also devised the

1992 Benefit Plan, which covered two other groups of

miners: (1) those eligible for benefits as of February 1,

1993, and who retired by September 30, 1994; and (2)

those “orphaned” upon the insolvency of an individual

employer benefit plan. § 9712(b).

With regard to both new trusts, the Coal Act assessed

initial, “prefunding” contributions against the coal opera-

tors who had signed the 1988 NBCWA. See §§ 9704(i)

(Combined Fund), 9712(d)(1)(A) (1992 Plan). The Act also

specified that, beginning on February 1, 1993, the affected

operators would pay health benefit premiums to the

trusts, based on the number of beneficiaries assigned to

them by the Social Security Administration. See

§§ 9704(b) (Combined Fund), 9712(d)(1)(B) (1992 Plan).

Lastly, the Act required the operators to pay additional

premiums to the Combined Fund to provide death bene-

fits for their employees and to ensure health coverage for

the industry’s unassigned beneficiaries. § 9704(c), (d).

Al6

B.

Section 503 of the Bankruptcy Code provides for the

payment of expenses incurred in administering the bank-

ruptcy estate. Allowable administrative expenses com-

monly include the direct costs of preserving the estate

(for example, postpetition wages earned by the debtor’s

employees) and compensation for services rendered to

the estate by professionals, such as attorneys and accoun-

tants. See 11 U.S.C. § 503(b)(1)(A), (4). We are more con-

cerned at present, however, with that category of

administrative expenses comprising “any tax . . . incurred

by the estate[.]” § 503(b)(1)(B)(i).© Claims for taxes, like

those for wages, professional fees, and other administra-

tive expenses, are entitled to priority over all other

unsecured claims. § 507(a)(1).

1

1.

The trustee contends that the assessments mandated

by the Coal Act are not “taxes.” The pertinent case

authority is to the contrary. See In re Leckie Smokeless Coal

Co., 99 F.3d 573, 583 (4th Cir. 1996) (Coal Act premiums

are taxes whose validity may be determined in the federal

6 Section 503(b)(1)(B)(i) excepts from its reach “a tax of a

kind specified in section 507(a)(8) of this title.” The latter

provision, in turn, addresses the priority accorded claims of

“governmental units” for, inter alia, certain income, property,

employment, and excise taxes. Regardless of how one might

characterize the Funds’ Coal Act claims within the broader

rubric of “taxes,” the Funds themselves are not governmental

units, and, therefore, their claims are not within the ambit of

§ 507(a)(8). Adventure Resources, 193 B.R. at 795 n. 15. This aspect

of the district court’s ruling has not been challenged on appeal.

Al7

courts notwithstanding the asserted jurisdictional bars of

the Anti-Injunction Act and the Declaratory Judgment

Act), cert. denied, 117 S.Ct. 1251 (1997).

In Leckie, we recognized that Coal Act obligations

“are involuntary pecuniary burdens imposed by Con-

gress for the public purpose of restoring financial stabil-

ity to coal miners’ benefit plans,[”] and those burdens

have been imposed as an exercise of Congress’s taxing

power.” Id., citing Chateaugay at 498.8 There is no doubt,

then, that the assessments meet this circuit’s definition of

a x.”

7 Cf. New Neighborhoods, Inc. v. W. Va. Workers’ Comp. Fund,

886 F.2d 714, 718 (4th Cir. 1989) (“The ‘public’ purpose of

systems such as the [workers’ compensation scheme] in force

and effect in West Virginia is to allocate the burden of the costs

of injured employees and/or their dependents among

employers rather than among the general public.”).

8 The court in Chateaugay was faced with the precise issue

before us. The Second Circuit concluded that Coal Act

assessments are taxes within the meaning of § 503(b)(1)(B)(i),

entitled to administrative expense priority under § 507(a)(1).

9 See United States v. City of Huntington, W. Va., 999 F.2d 71,

73 n. 4 (4th Cir. 1993):

For the purpose of determining claim priority in the

context of bankruptcy, the courts have established the

following elements of a tax: “(a) An involuntary

pecuniary burden, regardless of name, laid upon

individuals or property; (b) Imposed by, or under

authority of the legislature; (c) for public purposes,

including the purpose of defraying expenses of

government of undertakings authorized by it; and (d)

Under the police or taxing power of the state.”

(quoting In re Lorber Industries, 675 F.2d 1062, 1066 (9th Cir.

1982)). :

Al8

2.

Remaining is the question of whether the taxes levied

by the Coal Act were, in the case of the Adventure

companies, “incurred by the estate[s].” The trustee argues

in the negative, pointing out that the Coal Act was signed

into law on October 24, 1992, antedating the filing of the

bankruptcy petitions by more than a month. Under the

terms of the statute, however, no claim could accrue to

the Combined Fund and the 1992 Plan until February 1,

1993, well after the bankruptcy estates had been cre-

ated.10

A “claim” is a “right to payment, whether or not such

right is reduced to judgment, liquidated, unliquidated,

fixed, contingent, matured, unmatured, disputed, undis-

puted, legal, equitable, secured, or unsecured[.]” 11

U.S.C.A. § 101(5)(A) (West 1993). Claims, however, do not

exist in a vacuum; they must be possessed by creditors.

See § 101(10) (“creditor” defined as, inter alia, an “entity

that has a claim against the debtor that arose at the time

of or before the order for relief concerning the debtor”).

10 See 26 U.S.C.A. § 9702(c) (“The first plan year of the

Combined Fund shall begin February i, 1993. ...”) and 26

U.S.C.A. § 9712(b)(2) (“[T]he term ‘eligible beneficiary’ means

an individual who . . . but for the enactment of this chapter,

would be eligible to receive benefits from the 1950 UMWA

Benefit Plan or the 1974 UMWA Benefit Plan, based upon age

and service earned as of February 1, 1993[.]”) (West Supp. 1997);

In re CF & I Fabricators of Utah, Inc., 169 B.R. 984, 987 (D.Utah

1994) (“[S]ection 9702 of the Coal Act establishes the Combined

Fund and merges the UMWA 1950 and 1974 Benefit Plans into

the Combined Fund effective February 1, 1993... . [SJection 9712

of the Coal Act establishes the 1992 Benefit Plan, which also

became effective on February 1, 1993.”).

Al9

Neither the Combined Fund nor the 1992 Plan were

capable of being anyone’s creditor until at least February

1, 1993, the earliest date on which the trusts could have

been entitled to collect their first premiums. See note 10,

supra; 26 U.S.C.A. § 9704(a) (West Supp. 1997) (“Each

assigned operator shall pay to the Combined Fund for

each plan year beginning on or after February 1, 1993, an

annual premium|[.]”). Consequently, the entirety of the

Coal Act claims filed against Adventure by these two

trusts must necessarily have arisen postpetition.!! We

therefore affirm the district court’s determination that

those claims be accorded administrative expense priority

as taxes incurred by the estates.!?

‘1 We speculated in Leckie that a debtor’s liability for future

Coal Act premiums may attach prior to the filing of the

bankruptcy petition, inviting the conclusion that a trust’s

entitlement to such premiums constitutes a prepetition claim. 99

F.3d at 580-81 & n. 9; In re Westmoreland Coal Co., 213 B.R. 1, 12

(Bankr. D.Colo. 1997) (“[T]he Fourth Circuit [in Leckie]

concluded that Coal Act obligations fell within the bankruptcy

definition of a claim and characterized future premium

obligations under § 9712 as unmatured and contingent

rights[.]”). In Leckie, however, none of the eight debtors filed for

bankruptcy prior to February 1, 1993, the date that the trusts’

credi:or status was effectively established. See 99 F.3d at 577 n.

3, 578 n. 6 (first petition filed on April 16, 1993).

‘2 The Funds have argued alternatively that the Coal Act

claims should be accorded first priority status by virtue of 11

U.S.C. § 1114(e), which provides, in pertinent part:

(1) Notwithstanding any other provision of this

title, the debtor in possession, or the trustee . . . shall

timely pay and shall not modify any retiree benefits,

except [by court order after notice and a hearing, or as

the parties may agree]... .

A20

IV.

The final matter on appeal involves the Pension Trust

claims, the lion’s share of which the district court deemed

ineligible for priority status as having initially accrued

prior to the filing of the bankruptcy petitions. The Funds

assert that the district court’s ruling was in error, relying

primarily on 11 U.S.C. §§ 1113 and 1114, enacted by

Congress during the 1980s in response to a perceived

threat to labor stability and to retiree health benefits

posed by the bankruptcy reorganization of numerous

large employers.

A.

Section 1114 simply has no application to the claims

of the Pension Trusts. Although it commands that the

trustee or debtor-in-possession pay “any” retiree benefits

as an administrative expense of the bankruptcy estate, see

§ 1114(e) and note 12 supra, the term “retiree benefits” is

limited to

(2) Any payment for retiree benefits required to

be made before a plan confirmed under section 1129

of this title is effective has the status of an allowed

administrative expense as provided in section 503 of

this title.

(emphases supplied). The trustee contends (and the district

court held) that § 1114(e) applies only to benefit payments due

after the filing of the bankruptcy petition. The Funds respond

forcefully that the word “any” in paragraphs (1) and (2)

encompasses both pre- and postpetition payments. Inasmuch as

we have already decided that all of the Coal Act claims arose

postpetition, we leave for another day the task of ascertaining

the scope of § 1114(e).

A21

payments to any entity or person for the pur-

pose of providing or reimbursing payments for

retired employees and their spouses and depen-

dents, for medical, surgical, or hospital care benefits,

or benefits in the event of sickness, accident, disabil-

ity, or death under any plan, fund, or program

-- . Maintained or established in whole or in part

by the debtor prior to filing a petition commenc-

ing a case under this title.

11 U.S.C.A. § 1114(a) (West 1993) (emphasis supplied).

True to their designations, the Pension Trusts administer

only pension benefits for retired coal miners. None of their

claims are for the types of benefits enumerated in

§ 1114(a).

B.

1.

Section 1113, Ly contrast, affects the treatment of

pension benefits in bankruptcy to the extent that those

benefits exist pursuant to a collective bargaining agree-

ment. The statute provides that a Chapter 11 debtor (or

trustee) may reject a collective bargaining agreement

“only in accordance with the Provisions of this section.”

11 US.C.A. § 1113(a) (West 1993).13 The whole of the

'S If the debtor believes that its obligations under a

collective bargaining agreement would inhibit its effective

reorganization, it must first make a good-faith effort to

negotiate a modification of the contract with its employees’

authorized representative. § 1113(b). In the event of an impasse,

the bankruptcy court may, after notice and a hearing, permit the

debtor to reject the collective bargaining agreement only if (1)

the debtor’s proposed modifications are “necessary to permit

A22

agreement is protected, as are its components: “No provi-

sion of this title shall be construed to permit a trustee to

unilaterally terminate or alter any provisions of a collec-

tive bargaining agreement prior to compliance with the

provisions of this section.” § 1113(f).

The parties acknowledge that, during the course of

its attempted reorganization, Adventure never sought to

reject or modify its labor agreement with the UMWA in

accordance with § 1113; it merely continued to breach its

contractual obligation to pay the premiums due the Pen-

sion Trusts. The Funds maintain that Adventure’s breach,

in essence, unilaterally altered the pension contribution

provision of the 1988 NBCWA, in contravention of

§ 1113(f). According to the Funds, the only means of

giving full force and effect to the statute is to compensate

the Pension Trusts for the breach by granting all of their

claims for unpaid premiums priority in distribution from

the bankruptcy estates.

The Funds’ position finds some support in the hold-

ing of In re Unimet Corp., 842 F.2d 879, 884 (6th Cir. 1988).

In that case, the court of appeals opined that § 1113(f)’s

“unequivocal” prohibition against the modification of

collective bargaining agreements means that a debtor in

Chapter 11 “cannot escape its obligations in [that]

regard.” Id. Unimet was therefore ordered to continué

the reorganization of the debtor and assures that all creditors,

the debtor and all of the affected parties are treated fairly and

equitably”; (2) the employees’ authorized representative has,

without good cause, refused to accept the debtor’s proposal;

and (3) the balance of the equities clearly favors rejection of the

collective bargaining agreement. § 1113(c).

A23

paying health and life insurance premiums on behalf of

its retirees, pursuat to its prepetition agreement with the

steelworkers’ union.

We agree that the language employed by Congress in

§ 1113 is unequivocal, insofar as it goes. It plainly

imposes a legal duty on the debtor to honor the terms of a

collective bargaining agreement, at least until that agree-

inent is properly rejected. By implication, the statute cre-

ates a claim on behalf of the debtor’s employees in the

event that the debtor fails to comply with the law.

Section 1113, however, offers no advice as to how this

new category of claims should be treated vis a vis other

categories competing for payment. The statute’s silence

stands in stark contrast to § 1114, see Section IV-A supra,

which clearly states that “[a]Jny payment for retiree bene-

fits required to be made before a plan confirmed under

section 1129 of this title is effective has the status of an

allowed administrative expense[.]” 11 U.S.C.A.

§ 1114(e)(2) (West 1993).

The Unimet court explicitly declined to decide

whether benefit premiums payable under § 1113 are

administrative expenses, deeming resolution of the issue

immaterial to its conclusion that the premiums had to be

paid. 842 F.2d at 884. To the extent that the Sixth Circuit's

rationale has been followed by the lower courts, a so-

called “superpriority” has attached to claims within the

purview of § 1113. E.g., Eagle, Inc. v. Local No. 537 of

United Ass'n of Journeymen and Apprentices of Plumbing and

Pipe Fitting Indus. of United States and Canada, AFL-CIO,

198 B.R. 637, 638-39 (D.Mass. 1996).

A24

The obvious difficulty with the approach taken in

Unimet and its progeny is that it engenders disharmony

between § 1113 and the carefully ordered hierarchy of

priorities embodied in § 507. “Section 507 is intended to

be the exclusive list of priorities in bankruptcy. Priorities

are to be fixed by Congress. Courts are not free to fashion

their own rules of superpriorities or subpriorities within

any given priority class.” 3 Lawrence P. KINGET ET AL.,

COLLIER ON Bankruptcy { 507.02[2] (15th ed. 1996), cited in

In re Ionosphere Clubs, Inc., 22 F.3d 403, 408 (2d Cir. 1994)

(Ionosphere II).

The Second and Third Circuits have both observed

that, on those infrequent occasions where Congress has

intended to supersede the general priority scheme set

forth in § 507, it has done so explicitly. See Ionosphere II at

408 (citing § 1114(e)(2)’s allowance of claims for retiree

benefits as administrative expenses); In re Roth American,

Inc., 975 F.2d 949, 956 (3d Cir. 1992) (citing § 364(c)(1)’s

authorization for the bankruptcy court to accord “priority

over any ox all administrative expenses of the kind speci-

fied in section 503(b) or 507(b) of this title” to credit

obtained or debt incurred for the purpose of operating

the debtor’s business). As we have noted, explicit instruc-

tion from Congress concerning the priority of claims

under § 1113 is conspicuously absent from the statute.

“[T]here is no indication either from the language or the

legislative history of section 1113 that Congress intended

to address the priority to be given claims based on a

collective bargaining agreement.” Roth American at 956.

A25

We believe that, to the extent possible, Sections 507

and 1113 must be construed harmoniously. It is impera-

tive to the orderly administration of the bankruptcy pro-

cess that § 507 remains, unless otherwise clearly specified

by Congress, the final word on the priorities of compet-

ing claims. We can faithfully adhere to that principle in

this case without doing violence to the legislative pur-

pose inherent in § 1113:

Section 507 only establishes the priority of

[§ 1113] claims[;] it does not affect the underly-

ing obligation. . . . Judicial ordering of benefit

claims pursuant to § 507 is not equivalent ‘to

employer avoidance of obligations under a col-

lective bargaining agreement. The collective bar-

gaining agreement is respected, but the financial

obligations issuing from it are accorded priority

consistent with the Bankruptcy Code.

Ionosphere II at 407 (citation and quotation marks omit-

ted); see Roth American at 957 (“The congressional goal

ernbodied in section 1113 to give special consideration to

a collective bargaining agreement and encourage the

debtor and the union to reach a mutually acceptable

agreement . . . can be satisfied without interfering with

the previously established statutory priorities.”).

ye

We conclude that a bankruptcy claim arising from the

breach of a collective bargaining agreement may be

accorded priority status only insofar as it fits into one of

the categories singled out for preferential treatment in

§ 507. Fortunately for the Funds, the claims of the Pen-

sion Trusts are the proverbial round peg.

A26

i.

We begin with the unremarkable premise that unex-

pired collective bargaining agreements are executory con-

tracts. NLRB v. Bildisco & Bildisco, 465 U.S. 513, 521-22

(1984).!4 Their treatment in bankruptcy is, therefore, gov-

erned generally by 11 U.S.C. § 365, pertaining to execu-

tory contracts and unexpired leases entered into by the

debtor prior to the filing of the bankruptcy petition. Id. at

522-23.

In Bildisco, the Supreme Court held that a debtor

attempting a Chapter 11 reorganization may reject a col-

lective bargaining agreement that “burdens the estate,”

provided that “after careful scrutiny” the equities balance

in favor of rejection. Id. at 525-26; see 11 U.S.C. § 365(a)

(stating that the trustee “may assume or reject any execu-

tory contract or unexpired lease of the debtor”). It was

precisely this holding that inspired Congress’s almost

immediate enactment of § 1113 “to preclude employers

from using bankruptcy law as an offensive weapon in

labor relations by going into bankruptcy and unilaterally

rejecting or modifying the extant collective bargaining

agreement (or exerting leverage at the bargaining table

14 Upon examining the legislative history of the relevant

portion of the Bankruptcy Code, the Supreme Court ascertained

that Congress intended the term “executory contract” to

describe those contracts “on which performance is due to some

extent on both sides.” Bildisco at 522 n. 6 (quoting H.R.Rep. No.

95-595, at 347 (1977), reprinted in 1978 U.S.C.C.A.N. 5963, 6303).

Collective bargaining agreements typically impose reciprocal

obligations on the employer and the union, on which

performance is due at all times for the duration of the contract.

A27

by threatening to do so).” Roth American at 956 (citation

omitted).

However, in erecting § 1113’s substantive and pro-

cedural obstacles to the unilateral rejection of collective

bargaining agreements, Congress did not indicate that it

intended to otherwise restrict the general application of

§ 365 to those agreements. Section 1113 “governs only the

conditions under which a debtor may modify or reject a

collective bargaining agreement{.]” Id. (quoting In re Ohio

Corrugating Co., 115 B.R. 572, 578 (Bankr. N.D.Ohio 1990),

rev'd,15 United Steelworkers of America, AFL-CIO v. Ohio

Corrugating Co., No. 4:90CV0810, 1991 WL 213850

(N.D.Ohio Jan. 3, 1991)).

Thus, § 365 continues to apply to collective bargain-

ing agreements, except where such an application would

create an irreconcilable conflict with § 1113. Mass. Air

Conditioning & Heating Corp. v. McCoy, 196 B.R. 659, 663

(D.Mass. 1996) (“Section 1113 is designed to provide

additional procedural requirements for rejection or mod-

ification of collective bargaining agreements, and only to

that degree supersedes and supplements the provisions

in § 365.”) (citing Norfolk and Western Ry. Co. v. American

Train Dispatchers Ass'n, 499 U.S. 117, 136 n. 2 (1991)

(Stevens, J., dissenting)). The essential character of collec-

tive bargaining agreements as executory contracts, made

plain in Bildisco, was left undisturbed by Congress.

15 The bankruptcy court’s denial of priority status to the

union’s claims for wages and benefits in Ohio Corrugating was

summarily reversed by the district court as inconsistent with the

Sixth Circuit’s interpretation of § 1113 in Unimet.

A28

ii.

The collective bargaining agreement between the

UMWA and Adventure was assumed in bankruptcy as

the result of the latter’s failure to reject it in accordance

with § 1113. Roth American at 957. Where the debtor-in-

possession assumes an executory contract, “it assumes

the contract cum onere |.|"Bildisco at 531 (citation omit-

ted).1© That the obligations of an executory contract be

accepted along with its benefits is made plain by the

Bankruptcy Code’s requirement that, as conditions of the

contract’s assumption, the debtor cure any existing

default and compensate all non-debtor parties for actual

pecuniary losses that have resulted therefrom. See

§ 365(b)(1).

Upon assumption of the contract, “the expenses and

liabilities incurred may be treated as administrative

expenses, which are afforded the highest priority on the

debtor’s estate.” Bildisco at 532; In re Stewart Foods, Inc.,

64 F.3d 141, 145 (4th Cir. 1995).17 There can be no doubt,

of course, that the statutory duty to cure any existing

default is a “liability” incurred by the debtor by virtue of

its assumption in bankruptcy of an executory contract.

16 “What is taken cum onere is taken subject to an existing

burden or charge.” Biack’s Law Dictionary 342 (5th ed. 1979).

17 If the contract is instead rejected, the resulting damages

(including any prepetition breach) constitute general,

unsecured claims against the estate. Bildisco at 531; see Stewart

Foods at 144-45 (“[R]egardless of the nature of the contract, if at

the time of the bankruptcy filing the debtor has an obligation

under the contract to pay money to the non-debtor party, that

obligation is handled as a pre-petition claim in the bankruptcy

proceedings.”).

A29

Hence, when Adventure assumed the collective bar-

gaining agreement, it undertook a legal obligation to cure

its existing defaults under that agreement, including the

arrears to the Pension Trusts. Adventure’s failure to com-

ply with its legal obligation gave rise, under Bildisco and

Stewart Foods, to an administrative expense claim on

behalf of the Pension Trusts for the entirety of the

arrearage. In effect, Adventure’s postpetition assumption

of its executory labor contract with the UMWA trans-

formed the prepetition claims of the Pension Trusts, once

not cured, into new claims arising postpetition. In re

Mushroom Transp. Co., Inc., 78 B.R. 754, 759 (Bankr. E.D.Pa.

1987).18

18 We tread no new ground in holding that prepetition

defaults of executory contracts and leases assumed in

bankruptcy, left uncured, constitute postpetition administrative

expenses of the estate. A number of learned colleagues and

commentators have blazed that trail before us. See, e.g., LJC

Corp. v. Boyle, 768 F.2d 1489, 1494 n. 6 (D.C. Cir. 1985); Mass. Air

Conditioning & Heating, 196 B.R. at 663; In re Moline Corp., 144

B.R. 75, 79 (Bankr. N.D.Ill. 1992); In re French, 131 B.R. 138, 141

(Bankr. E.D. Mo. 1991); In re Leon’s Casuals Co., Inc., 122 B.R. 768,

771 (Bankr. S.D. Ala. 1990); In re Monroe Well Serv., Inc., 83 B.R.

317, 321 (Bankr. E.D. Pa. 1988); Mushroom, 78 B.R. at 759; 2

Lawrence P. KING ET AL., COLLIER ON BANKruptTcy {J 365.08[1] (15th

ed. 1996) (“[A] trustee must proceed cautiously in electing

whether to assume or reject [an executory contract} since an

assumption will have the effect of making the expenses and

liabilities incurred expenses of administration.”); Jesse M. Fried,

Executory Contracts and Performance Decisions in Bankruptcy, 46

Duxe L.J. 517, 525 (1996):

If the trustee “assumes” the [executory] contract,

Section 365 binds the bankruptcy estate to the

contract, permitting the estate to seek performance

from the other party under the contract’s original

A30

We conclude that the district court erred as a matter

of law by declining to accord administrative expense

priority to the Pension Trust claims insofar as the

arrearage they represent initially accrued prior to the

filing of the bankruptcy petitions. We therefore reverse its

grant of summary judgment to Adventure as to those

claims.

V.

We affirm the district court’s orders of March 8, 1996,

and June 26, 1996, granting summary judgment to the

Funds regarding the priority classification of the Coal Act

claims. We reverse the district court’s order of March 8,

1996, to the extent that it granted summary judgment to

Adventure regarding the priority classification of the

Pension Trust claims. We remand the matter to the district

court with instructions to enter summary judgment for

the Funds as to the Pension Trust claims, according them

administrative expense priority.

AFFIRMED IN PART, REVERSED IN PART, AND

REMANDED WITH INSTRUCTIONS.

terms. [O]bligations in connection with assumed

contracts . .. are treated as postpetition

administration claims. . . . Thus, the effect of

assumption is that the estate acquires all of the

debtor’s rights and obligations under the contract.

A31

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF WEST VIRGINIA

CHARLESTON DIVISION

ADVENTURE RESOURCES, INC., et al.,

Plaintiffs,

Vs. CIVIL ACTION NO. 2:94-0858

MICHAEL H. HOLLAND, et al.,

Defendants.

AND

MICHAEL H. HOLLAND, et al.,

Intervenor Counter-Plaintiff Trusts,

VS.

ADVENTURE RESOURCES, INC., et al.,

Counter-Defendants.

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

Pending is the motion for partial summary judgment

of the Defendant/Intervenor Counter-Plaintiffs (the

Funds).! For the reasons set forth below, the Court

GRANTS in part and DENIES in part the Funds’ motion.

! The Funds is a shorthand reference to the UMWA Health

and Retirement Funds. The Funds consists of six trusts: (1) the

UMWA 1950 Pension Trust; (2) the 1974 Pension Trust; (3) the

Cash Deferred Savings Plan of 1988; (4) the UMWA Combined

Benefit Fund (Cembined Fund); (5) the UMWA 1992 Benefit

Plan (1992 Plan); and (6) the UMWA 1993 Benefit Plan. The first

three trusts are referred to collectively as the “Pension Plans.”

bd

A32

I. INTRODUCTION

The substance of this adversary proceeding raises

complicated issues under the Coal Act, the Bankruptcy

Code and the parties’ collective bargaining agreements.

Accordingly, it is helpful to provide some background on

these statutes and contracts.

An exhaustive treatment of the Coal Act is unneces-

sary. The Act’s details and the history leading to its

enactment can be found elsewhere. See, e.g., Carbon Fuel

Co. v. USX Corp., 891 F. Supp. 1186, 1189-92 (S.D. W. Va.

1995) (Haden, C.J.), appeal pending, No. 95-2496 (4th Cir.

Aug. 9, 1995). Only a general outline of the Coal Act is

necessary to provide a frame of reference for some of the

arguments asserted by the Funds.

The Coal Act was enacted on October 24, 1992 and

became effective February 1, 1993. In re Chateaugay Corp.,

53 F.3d 478, 486 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 116 S. Ct. 298 (1995).

The Coal Act contains three mechanisms for the provision

of health care benefits to retired miners. First, the Act

continues the Individual Employer Plans (IEPs) created

The Pension Plans were established under a series of

National Bituminous Coal Wage Agreements (NBCWAs) to

provide pensions, retirement savings opportunities and death

benefits to retired coal miners and their surviving spouses. The

Combined Fund and the 1992 Plan were established in

accordance with the Coal Industry Retiree Health Benefit Act of

1992 (the “Coal Act” or the “Act”), 26 U.S.C. §§ 9701 et seq. to

provide retiree health benefits to two specific sets of

beneficiaries. The 1993 Benefit Plan was established by the most

recent NBCWA and provides retiree health benefits to a third set

of beneficiaries under separate eligibility rules.

A33

pursuant to the 1978 NBCWA and maintained by the

successor NBCWAs.? See 26 U.S.C. § 9711(a).

The other two mechanisms are the Combined Fund

and the 1992 Plan, which are financed in large part

through per beneficiary premiums payable by companies

to whom responsibility is attributed for individual bene-

ficiaries of those plans. See 26 U.S.C. §§ 9702(a)(1),

9722(a}(1), 9704(b)(2), 9712(d)(1)(B). Each of these alterna-

tive multiemployer plans is discussed in more detail

below.

The Combined Fund covers, beneficiaries eligible tor

and receiving benefits from the UMWA 1974 Benefit Plan

and the 1950 Benefit Plan as of July 20, 1992. 26 U.S.C.

§ 9703(e). These separate plans were merged into the

Combined Fund effective February 1, 1993. 26 U.S.C.

§§ 9702(a)(2). The Combined Fund is authorized to collect

claims pre-existing the Act. 26 U.S.C. § 9708. Every coal

operator who signed or otherwise became bound to an

NBCWA at anytime is required to participate in the Com-

bined Fund’s financing. 26 U.S.C. § 9701(b), (c)(1); Davon

Inc. v. Shalala, 75 F.3d 1114, 1117 (7th Cir. 1996). The

premium scheme for the Combined Fund invoives several

2 Carbon Fuel briefly explains the gencsis of the IEP:

In 1978, the UMWA and the BCOA negotiated a -

slightly different NBCWA. The new agreement

partially dismantled the system developed in 1974.

The union and operators agreed to shift from a

centralized multiemployer benefit trust to a

decentralized scheme in which each signatory

operator established and financed its own individual

health benefit delivery plan or. . . “IEP”[.]

Carbon Fuel, 891 F. Supp. at 1190.

A34

coordinated mechanisms. The primary financing of the

Combined Fund comes from per beneficiary premiums

paid by “assigned operators” and their related persons

under § 9704(a), based on the number of beneficiaries

assigned to them by the Secretary of Health and Human

Services according to an assignment process. See generally

26 U.S.C. § 9706. These premiums were to be calculated

“for each plan year beginning on or after February 1,

1993. ...” 26 U.S.C. § 9704(b)(2).

The 1992 Plan is essentially the new “orphan plan.”

The 1992 Plan is required to provide health coverage for

certain individuals who are not receiving benefits from

the Combined Fund or from their last signatory opera-

tor’s § 9711 plan. 26 U.S.C. § 9712(b)(2); see Holland v.

Double G. Coal Co., 898 F. Supp. 351, 354 (S.D. W. Va. 1995)

(stating the 1992 Plan was intended as a “backstop” to the

Combined Fund and the IEP scheme).

3 Section 9712(b)(2) sets forth the reach of coverage for the

1992 Plan in its definition of “eligible beneficiary,” which is

defined as an individual who

(A) but for the enactment of this chapter,

would be eligible to receive benefits from the

1950 UMWA Benefit Plan or the 1974 UMWA

Benefit Plan, based upon age and service earned

as of February 1, 1993; or

(B) with respect to whom coverage is

required to be provided under section 9711, but

who does not receive such coverage from the

applicable last signatory operator or any related

person,

and any individual who is eligible for benefits by

reason of a relationship to an individual described in

subparagraph (A) or (B). In no event shall the 1992

A35

The 1992 Plan enrolls beneficiaries upon determining

they are eligible for coverage. The Coal Act imposes an

ongoing duty on the last signatory operator and its

related persons to pay annual prefunding premiums and

monthly per-beneficiary premiums to the 1992 plan for

every month the 1992 Plan provides health benefits to the

operator’s retirees. 26 U.S.C. § 9712(d)(1)(B).

There are also payment obligations associated with

the applicable NBCWAs. In addition to Adventure’s stat-

utory obligations under the Act, it may be required to pay

contributions under these wage agreements.‘

UMWA Benefit Plan provide health benefits coverage

to any eligible beneficiary who is a coal industry

retiree who retired from the coal industry after

September 30, 1994, or any beneficiary of such

individual.

ld.

4 Coal industry retirees have been promised pensions and

health benefits under collective bargaining agreements dating

back to 1947. See generally Carbon Fuel, 891 F. Supp. at 1189-91.

The UMWA and the Bituminous Coal Operators Association

established several multiemployer plans, including the UMWA

1950 Pension Trust, 1974 Pension Trust, the 1950 Benefit Plan, and

the 1974 Benefit Plan. The 1993 NBCWA established the 1993

Benefit Plan to provide health benefits for certain retirees not

covered by the Coal Act and requires employer contributions to

the Cash Deferred Savings Plan of 1988 to defray the costs of

administering the trust. While Congress, via ERISA, has sought

to assure timely payment and streamlined collection of

delinquent contributions to multiemployer pension plans,

Adventure has often acted to the contrary. See Ex. 8 to Funds’

Mot. for Partial Summ. Jgt., Connors v. Adventure Resources, Inc.,

No. 5:90-0209 (S.D. W. Va. Nov. 8, 1991). The exhibits to the

Funds’ motion will hereafter be denominated “Ex. ‘{blank]’.”

A36

Il. FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

Given the facts are not disputed, the Court will sum-

marize how this controversy developed.

H. Paul Kizer, the owner of the Adventure com-

panies, started Maben Energy in 1971 and acquired an

ownership interest in many of the Adventure companies

in 1977. By the mid-1980s, the number of companies had

proliferated. Nevertheless, all were consolidated under

Kizer’s sole ownership before bankruptcy. By the late

1980s, Adventure was touted as “the largest independent

coal producer in West Virginia and the 49th largest inde-

pendent coal producer in the United States.” Ex. 25.

Unfortunately, the Adventure companies began to

experience financial setbacks resulting in, inter alia, the

December 1992 filing of petitions by twenty companies

related to Adventure Resources, Inc., under Chapter 11 of

the Bankruptcy Code. Proofs of claim for unpaid contri-

butions and premiums were filed timely by the Funds.

On December 14, 1993 Adventure® initiated this adver-

sary proceeding by filing a complaint seeking disal-

lowance of the Funds’ claims.

There are over 500 beneficiaries for whom the

Adventure companies are responsible, including retired

5 “Adventure” refers to the twenty Plaintiff Chapter 11

debtor companies as well as to eight to ten Plaintiff non-

bankrupt affiliates. In all, there are 46 Adventure companies,

some operating and some defunct. Various members of the

group have been signatory to NBCWAs since 1974. Adventure is

currently signatory to a 1993 NBCWA under the names of

Maben Energy Corporation and a list of affiliates. See Ex. 2.

A37

miners and eligible dependents.® Adventure has not paid

per beneficiary premiums to the Combined Fund since

December 1994. As of November 25, 1995 Adventure’s

delinquent Combined Fund premiums totalled over 1.2

million dollars, and currently accrue at a rate of over one

hundred fifty thousand dollars ($150,000) per month.

Adventure never has paid per beneficiary premiums to

the 1992 Plan.”? The 1992 Plan is owed over 1.7 million

¢ The Funds acknowledge the precise numbers of

attributable beneficiaries in the Combined Fund and the 1992

Plan go up or down as more beneficiaries are enrolled in the

plans, leave the plans due to mortality or other circumstances,

or as the Social Security Administration’s assignments are

adjusted.

” Adventure maintained for a good portion of this litigation

that it was providing coverage to its retirees through a § 9711

plan. In reality, however, Adventure was merely processing

claims through ‘ts self-insured plan. It eventually came to light

that Adventure had been failing to pay timely its beneficiaries’

medical bills and that health care providers were refusing to

serve these beneficiaries. The following is an excerpt from an

August 1995 letter to the Funds’ counsel from the Chief

Financial Officer of the Adventure Resources Group:

In regard to your inquiry please be advised that

employees, retired and active, which have filed

claims under any of the Maben Energy Company-

affiliated health care plans have not had any such

claims funded after October 6, 1994. All active claims

which entered the system after October 7, 1994

remain unpaid.

Ex. 5, letter from David A. Harrah, CPA, to Susan Cannon-Ryan

(Aug. 29, 1995). The 1992 Plan stepped in after this cessation of

coverage and determined Adventure’s beneficiaries were not

receiving § 9711 benefits from Adventure. Accordingly,

Adventure’s beneficiaries were enrolled in the 1992 Plan

retroactively to the date coverage from Adventure’s purported

A38

dollars for per beneficiary premiums as of January 15,

1996, which continue to accrue at a rate of over seventy-

three thousand dollars ($73,000) per month. Adventure

also apparently failed to pay any pre-funding premiums,

which also are included in the Funds’ proofs of claim.

These premiums accrue at a rate of one hundred twenty-

one dollars ($121.00) times the number of eligible and

potentially eligible 1992 Plan beneficiaries attributable to

Adventure. Finally, Adventure has failed to pay any con-

tributions under the applicable NBCWAs since January

1995 and has accrued an estimated four hundred thou-

sand dollars ($400,000) in unpaid contributions since

November 1995, which continue to accrue at a rate of

over forty-two thousand dollars ($42,000) per month.

There are essentially two types of obligations at issue

in this adversary proceeding: (1) monthly per beneficiary

premiums owed under the Coal Act; and (2) monthly

contributions owed under the applicable NBCWA. The

Funds claim all of these obligations are Chapter 11

administrative expenses under various Bankruptcy Code

provisions. There are two bases for the Funds’ assertion.

First, the Funds assert the premiums accrued and

accruing under the Coal Act are administrative expenses®

because, in the alternative, (1) the premiums are a tax on

the Debtors’ estates under 11 U.S.C. § 503(b)(1)(B); and

(2) the premiums are an actual, necessary expense of the

§ 9711 plan ceased. Adventure then was billed for the 1992 Plan

premiums.

8 For the uninitiated, administrative expenses are payable

by the trustee as a first priority expense under 11 U.S.C.

507(a)(1).

A39

estates under 11 U.S.C. § 503(b)(1)(A). Second, the Funds

assert the contributions accrued and accruing under the

applicable NBCWA are administrative expenses (1) to the

extent they accrued and are accruing post-petition; and

(2) to the extent they accrued pre-petition, alternatively,

under either 11 U.S.C. § 1113(f), dealing with rejection of

collective bargaining agreements in bankruptcy, or 11

U.S.C. § 1114(e), dealing with the treatment of retiree

benefits in bankruptcy.’

Ill. LAW AND ANALYSIS

A. The Summary Judgment Standard:

The well-settled standard governing the disposition

of a motion for summary judgment recently was restated

by our Court of Appeals:

A moving party is entitled to summary judg-

ment ‘if the pleading|s], depositions, answers to

interrogatories, and admissions on file, together

with the affidavits, if any, show that there is no

genuine issue as to material fact and that the

9 In its complaint, Adventure also challenged the Funds’

claim for contingent benefit plan withdrawal liability. As noted

by the Funds, however, “separate withdrawals giving rise to

such a claim could only occur if the Adventure companies are

not alter egos, joint employers or a single employer for purposes

of this action . . . [and] entry of summary judgment on this issue

in favor of the Funds would render the contingent claim moot.”

Funds Mem. in Supp. of Summ. Jgt. at 2 n.3; see also Funds Reply

Mem. at 3 (“The Funds’ contingent claim for benefit plan

withdrawal liability is . . . moot.”). Given the Court’s favorable

ruling for the Funds on the related person/alter ego/joint

employer/single employer issue, supra note 5, there is no

necessity to reach the Funds’ contingent claim.

A40

moving party is entitled to judgment as a matter

of law.’ Fed.R.Civ.Pro. 56(c). See Charbonnages de

France v. Smith, 597 F.2d 406 (4th Cir.1979).

A genuine issue exists ‘if the evidence is

such that a reasonable jury could return a ver-

dict for the nonmoving party.’ Anderson v. Lib-

erty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 248, 106 S.Ct. 2505,

2510, 91 L.Ed.2d 202 (1986). In considering a

motion for summary judgment, the court is

required to view the facts and draw reasonable

inferences in a light most favorable to the non-

moving party. Id. at 255, 106 S.Ct. at 2514. The

plaintiff is entitled to have the credibility of all

his evidence presumed. Miller v. Leathers, 913

F.2d 1085, 1087 (4th Cir.1990), cert. denied, 498

U.S. 1109, 111 S.Ct. 1018, 112 L.Ed.2d 1100

(1991). The party seeking summary judgment

has the initial burden to show absence of evi-

dence to support the nonmoving party’s case.

Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 325, 106

S.Ct. 2548, 2554, 91 L.Ed.2d 265 (1986). The

opposing party must demonstrate that a triable

issue of fact exists; he may not rest upon mere

allegations or denials. Anderson, 477 U.S. at 248,

106 S.Ct. at 2510. A mere scintilla of evidence

supporting the case is insufficient. Id.

Shaw v. Stroud, 13 F.3d 791, 798 (4th Cir.), cert. denied, 115

S.Ct. 68 (1994); see also Carbon Fuel, 891 F. Supp. at

1188-89.

B. Joint and Several Liability Under the Coal Act

and the Wage Agreements:

As an initial matter, the Court notes the Funds devote

a substantial portion of its opening brief and exhibits

A4l

toward establishing the joint and several liability of the

Adventure Plaintiffs/counter-Defendants and their other

affiliates for the obligations sought in this proceeding.

Adventure does not dispute the factual statement in its

response and proffers no authority otherwise from the

record. Adventure does appear to make a brief policy

argument, without citation to supporting authority, seek-

ing to avoid the imposition of joint and several liability.

This, of course, is insufficient to contradict the Funds’

undisputed and well-supported factual assertions for

purposes of Rule 56, Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

Accordingly, the Court concludes as a matter of law

Plaintiff, each related Plaintiff bankruptcy estate and the

non-bankrupt Plaintiffs are jointly and severally liable for

the claims asserted by the Funds.

C. Are the Coal Act Premiums Entitled to Adminis-

trative Expense Priority:

The Funds assert the premiums accrued and accruing

under the Coal Act are administrative expenses because,

in the alternative, (1) the premiums are a tax on the

Debtors’ estates under 11 U.S.C. § 503(b)(1)(B); and, or (2)

the premiums are an actual, necessary expense of the

estates under 11 U.S.C. § 503(b)(1)(A).

As to the tax argument, the Funds claim all per

beneficiary premiums are recognized as post-petition

A42

taxes under § 503(b)(1)(B) of the Bankruptcy Code.!°

Adventure appears to concede its Combined Fund pre-

miums are taxes and thus administrative expenses. It

argues, however, the 1992 Plan premiums are pre-petition

claims and in the nature of excise taxes under 11 U.S.C.

§ 507(a)(8)(E), thus according them less than first priority

status."!

10 Sections 503(b)(1)(A) and (B) provide in pertinent part as

follows:

(b) After notice and a hearing, there shall be allowed

administrative expenses . . . including -

(1) (A) the actual, necessary costs and expenses of

preserving the estate, including wages, salaries,

or commissions for services rendered after the

commencement of the case; [and]

(B) any tax -

(i) incurred by the estate, except [an excise

tax under 11 U.S.C. 507(a)(8)(e).]

Id.

11 Section 507(a)(8)(E) provides, in pertinent part, as

follows:

(a) The following expenses and claims have priority

in the following order:

(8) Eighth, allowed unsecured claims of

governmental units, only to the extent that such

claims are for -

(E) an excise tax on -

(i) a transaction occurring before the

date of the filing of the petition for which

a return, if required, is last due, under

applicable law or under any extension,

after three years before the date of the

filing of the petition; or

A43

The seminal case, and one of the very few cases

anywhere, addressing the classification and priority of

Coal Act claims is In re Chateaugay Corp., 53 F.3d 478, 486

(2d Cir. 1995). In Chateaugay, LTV Steel Company, Inc. and

several subsidiaries appealed a judgment of the district

court holding that LTV’s obligations under the Coal Act

were incurred taxes for purposes of § 503(b)(1)(B) and

thus entitled to administrative priority under § 507(a)(1).

LTV, along with over fifty subsidiaries and affiliates, filed

for protection under Chapter 11 on July 17, 1986. The

Coal Act was enacted on October 24, 1992 and became

effective February 1, 1993. Signing Stmt. of President

George Bush attached to the Energy Policy Act of 1992,

reprinted in 1992 U.S.C.C.A.N. 1953, 2534-1 at 3; In re

Chateaugay, 53 F.3d at 487. The district court in Chateaugay

held the assessments accruing during the bankruptcy

period under the Coal act were in the nature of a tax and

therefore entitled to administrative priority treatment.

The Second Circuit concluded the critical issue was

whether the premiums assessed under the Coal Act were

in the nature of a “claim” pre-existing the Chapter 11

petition which would, of course, have to be “disallowed.”

Id. at 496. A “claim,” for purposes of the Bankruptcy

Code, is defined in 11 U.S.C. § 101(5) as a “right to

payment, whether or not such right is reduced to judg-

ment, liquidated, unliquidated, fixed, contingent,

(ii) if a return is not required, a

transaction occurring during the three

years immediately preceding the date of

the filing of the petition;

Id. (emphasis added).

A44

matured, unmatured, disputed, undisputed, legal, equita-

ble, secured, or unsecured. ...” Id. As noted in Cha-

teaugay, “ ‘Congress unquestionably expected this

definition to have wide scope.’ . . . [and intended] to

invest the term ‘claim’ with the ‘broadest possible’ scope

so that ‘all legal obligations of the debtor . . . will be able

to be dealt with in a bankruptcy case.’” Id. at 496-97

(quoting In re Chateaugay, 944 F.2d 997, 1003 (2d Cir.

1991); Pennsylvania Dep't of Pub. Welfare v. Davenport, 495

U.S. 552, 558 (1990); and H.R. Rep. No 95-595, at 310

(1977), reprinted in 1978 U.S.C.C.A.N. 5787, 6267).!2 Nev-

ertheless, the term does not have “infinite” reach. In re

Chateaugay, 53 F.3d at 497. The court in In re Chateaugay

determined no right to payment existed at the time of

LTV’s petition because, inter alia, no conceiveble “right to

payment. . . existed until the enactment of the Coal Act

six years after the filing of LTV’s petition.” Id. at 497. The

court went on to hold “the portion of LTV’s Coal Act

liability accruing during the pendency of its bankruptcy

is entitied to treatment as an administrative expense of

the estate pursuant to section 507(a)(1).”'5 Id. at 498.

Adventure would have the issue framed similarly to

the analysis in In re Chateaugay, i.e., whether the enact-

ment of the Coal Act in October 1992 (predating the

12 Our Court of Appeals has similarly construed “claim” in

sweeping fashion. See In re Carolina Motor Express, Inc., 949 F.2d

107, 111 n.4 (4th Cir. 1991), rev'd on other grounds sub nom. Reiter

v. Cooper, 504 U.S. 907 (1993).

13 Adventure also appears to argue the contribution

obligations under the Coal Act are not taxes within the meaning

of 503(b)(1)(B). This argument clearly is without merit. In re

Chateaugay, 53 F.3d at 498.

A45

Chapter 11 petition by a couple of months) operates to

give the Funds a lower priority or extinguishable pre-

petition right to payment of per beneficiary premiums

under the 1992 Plan.!4

The analysis undertaken by the court in In re Cha-

teaugay is, of course, not binding on this Court. Were the

Court to apply the right-to-payment analysis arising from

In re Chateaugay, however, it would conclude the “obliga-

tions” contained in the Act at the time of the petition

were simply too removed and attenuated to constitute a

pre-petition right to payment. As noted, the Act did not

become effective until February 1993.

The Court concludes it is more appropriate to make

the straightforward determination of whether the obliga-

tions at issue here were “incurred by the estate” pursuant

to § 503(b)(1)(B).!5 If so, they fall squarely within that

‘4 There is one general fallacy surfacing throughout

Adventure’s argument which bears correction. Adventure

seems to suggest their obligations are controlled not by the Coal

Act, but rather by the prior NBCWAs to which Adventure was

signatory. This clearly is not the law in this judicial district. In re

Chateaugay, 53 F.3d at 497 (stating “The obligations here at issue

are exclusively statutory in origin and cannot be considered a

‘pay-back’ for pre-petition labor. . . . LTV’s liability to the

Combined Fund is newly imposed by the Coal Act, not a revival

of old contractual obligations.”); Carbon Fuel, 891 F. Supp. at

1198 (stating “The parties’ contractual obligations entered prior

to the enactment of the Coal Act are not continued under the

Act. The private provisions required by the applicable NBCWAs

do not survive, nor are they codified, ratified, confirmed, or

renewed.”)

15 Section 503(b)(1)(B) does not accord administrative

expense status to “a tax of a kind specified in section 507(a)(8),”

A46

-

section, and are thus entitled to administrative priority

status without reference to § 101(5)(A). If the Court can

determine the 1992 Plan per beneficiary premiums were

i.é., an excise tax, regardless of when it is incurred. Accordingly,

the Court must address whether the premiums here constitute

such a tax. Adventure half-heartedly asserts the 1992 Plan per

beneficiary premiums are in the nature of a pre-petition excise

tax under § 507(a)(8)(E)(ii), and thus outside the reach of

§ 503(b)(1)(B). While the Court is aware of contrary authority, it

cannot conclude the premium obligations here are excise taxes.

Section 507(a)(8)(E)(ii) provides that such a tax is levied on “a

transaction occurring during the three years immediately

preceding the date of the filing of the petition.” While it is

possible to identify conceptually a transactional component

which might support imposition of the 1992 Plan per beneficiary

premiums, see In re Rauer, Bk. No. 95-20332, slip op. at 5, that

analysis appears to stretch the limits of the section. If the

remaining requirements of § 507(a)(8) were present in this case,

however, it is conceivable under circuit precedent Adventure

might be able to identify the necessary transactional component

for application of § 507(a)(8)(E). Cf. New Neighborhoods v. West

Virginia Workers’ Comp. Fund, 886 F.2d 714, 719 (4th Cir. 1989)

(holding premiums due the West Virginia Workers’

Compensation Fund were excise taxes under § 507, in part,

because “[t]he obligation imposed upon employers by the West

Virginia statute is imposed upon employers as a class and

liability arises through the transacticn or act of employing.”)

(emphasis added). The remaining requirements of § 507(a)(8)

are clearly not satisfied though. Section 507(a)(8) requires the

collecting authority to be a “governmental unit.” Adventure

itself forcefully (and curiously) argues against the Funds’

governmental unit status, and the Court concurs in that

analysis. See Pls.’ Resp. at 14 (stating “the Coal Act § 9712(a)(1)

clearly establishes the 1992 UMWA Benefit Plan as a private

plan, not a ‘governmental unit’ as defined under Section 101(27)

of the Code.”) Accordingly, the 1992 Plan per beneficiary

premiums cannot be excise taxes under § 507(a)(8)(E).

A47

incurred by the estate, it also would determine “neces-

sarily” the premiums were post-petition because “there

can be no bankruptcy estate until the petition in bank-

ruptcy is filed.” United States v. Friendship College, Inc.,

737 F.2d 430, 431 (4th Cir. 1984).

The Bankruptcy Code does not delineate precisely

when a tax obligation is “incurred” for purposes of

§ 503(b)(1)(B). The United States Court of Appeals for the

Sixth Circuit, however, recently adopted the appropriate

construction of the term. In re Columbia Gas Trans. Corp.,

37 F.3d 982 (6th Cir. 1994), cert. denied sub nom. West

Virginia State Dep't of Tax & Rev. v. Internal Rev. Serv., 115

S. Ct. 1793 (1995). The court observed: “a tax liability is

generally ‘incurred on the date it accrues, not on the date

of the assessment or the date on which it is payable.’ ” Id.

at 985; see also 2 William L. Norton, Jr. et al., Norton

Bankruptcy Law and Practice 2d § 42.19 (1994) (“The tax is

usually deemed to be incurred at one of two times: the

date of assessment of the tax or the date of accrual of the

tax.”) In common parlance, accrual occurs when an oblig-

ation “come[s] into existence as an enforceable claim.”

Webster’s Third New International Dictionary 13.

The 1992 Plan per beneficiary premiums come due

based on a premium rate set by the Trustees of the 1992

Plan multiplied by the number of beneficiaries attributa-

ble to the former employer who are then receiving bene-

fits from the 1992 Plan. 26 U.S.C. §§ 9712(d)(2)(A),

9712(d)(1)(B) and 9701(c)(4). So long as an employer pro-

vides benefits for these retirees directly through the

employer’s own plan, as required under 26 U.S.C. § 9711,

the beneficiaries are not enrolled in the 1992 Plan. This

A48

means the employer has no 1992 Plan beneficiaries attrib-

uted to it and the Funds have no enforceable claim for per

beneficiary premiums. When Adventure ceased the main-

tenance of its § 9711 plan in 1994, however, there arose in

the Funds “an enforceable claim” for per beneficiary pre-

miums and the premiums thus accrued on that date.

The Court therefore concludes Adventure incurred

the tax obligations due the Funds after the filing of the

Chapter 11 petition. Accordingly, the per beneficiary pre-

miums for the 1992 Plan are post-petition taxes under

§ 503(b)(1)(B) and entitled to first priority treatment

under § 507(a)(1).'© The Funds’ motion for partial sum-

mary judgment on this issue is GRANTED.’ .

D. Are Adventure’s Due and Owing Pre-Petition

Contributions For Retirees Under the Applicable

NBCWAs Entitled to Administrative Expense

Priority Under 11 U.S.C. § 1114(e):

The Funds next assert the pre-petition contributions

due under the applicable NBCWAs are entitled to admin-

16 While not specifically challenged, the same result would

appear to apply with respect to the Combined Fund premiums.

Prior to February 1, 1993 the Funds did not have an enforceable

claim against any operator to pay Combined Fund premiums. 26

U.S.C. §§ 9702(c), 9704(a).

17 Adventure apparently does not challenge the treatment

of prefunding premiums required under § 9712(d)(1)(A) as

administrative taxes. See Pls.’ Resp. at 2. The Funds also have a

persuasive argument that the Coal Act premiums are an actual,

necessary expense of the estates under 11 U.S.C. § 503(b)(1)(A).

Given the disposition under § 503(b)(1)(B), however, the Court

need not address this argument.

A49

istrative expense status under 11 U.S.C. § 1114(e).'®

Adventure disagrees, asserting § 1114 was enacted only

18 Adventure does not dispute the NBCWA contributions

which came due post-petition are entitled to administrative

expense priority.

In addition to its § 1114(e) argument, the Funds also assert

the NBCWA contributions are entitled to administrative

expense status under 11 U.S.C. § 1113(f). A good and very recent

general discussion of § 1113 can be found in In re Lady H Coal

Company, No. 94-20449 (Bankr. S.D. W. Va. Feb. 28, 1996). Section

1113(f) provides as follows:

(f) No provision of this title shall be construed to

permit a trustee to unilaterally terminate or alter any

provisions of a collective bargaining agreement prior

to compliance with the provisions of this section.

Id. The Funds rely heavily on the decision in In re Unimet, 842

F.2d 879 (6th Cir.), cert. denied sub nom. Unimet Corp. v. United

Steelworkers of America, 488 U.S. 828 (1988), which essentially

interpreted § 1113(f) to provide a superpriority for the payment

of retiree benefits. Id. at 884. The Court declines to apply

§ 1113(f) in similar fashion to the retiree obligations in question

here. The holding in Unimet was subsequently codified by

Congress in § 1114. In re lonosphere Clubs, Inc., 22 F.3d 403, 408

(2d Cir. 1994) (stating “That Congress was compelled to act

suggests that the protection it provided in section 1114 was not

already compelled by section 1113.”) The decision in In re

lonosphere Clubs, Inc., 134 B.R. 515 (Bankr. S.D.N.Y. 1991)

clarifies the respective scopes of § 1113 and § 1114:

§ 1114 is the exclusive provision relating to the

modification or termination of retiree benefits. § 1114

specifically and unequivocally addresses retiree

issues that are otherwise generally covered by § 1113.

Id. at 519 (emphasis added). There is significant evidence of

Congressional intent supporting the exclusivity analysis of

lonosphere. Rather than adopting a new comprehensive

provision dealing with retiree benefits, congressional bills

predating § 1114 sought merely to amend § 1113 to make clear

A50

to protect retiree benefits post-petition. A brief examina-

tion of the history of § 1114 is in order.!9

In the mid-1980s, the fortunes of the steel industry

sank dramatically. This resulted in the closure of

numerous steel production facilities followed inevitably

by Chapter 11 filings. Despite the presence of § 1113,

many Chapter 11 debtors ceased payments for retiree

benefits, arguing the Bankruptcy Code did not permit

that its requirements regarding termination or alteration of the

provisions of a collective bargaining agreement included any

provision relating to benefits for retirees. See, e.g., H.R. 5490,

99th Cong., 2d Sess., 132 Cong. Rec. H6507 (daily ed. Sept. 9,

1986). Congress ultimately rejected this approach. Based on the

authority discussed above, the Court concludes the Funds’

administrative expense argument for contributions in the

nature of retiree benefits is controlled by § 1114. Section 1113 is

not implicated.

To the extent administrative expense status is sought for

contributions not in the nature of retiree benefit obligations, and

with an awareness of contrary authority, the Court concludes

§ 1113(f) does not assist the Funds. Section 1113 simply does not

address the priority in bankruptcy of obligations under a

collective bargaining agreement.

'° The formal legislative history of § 1114 is limited to the

somewhat sketchy Senate Report on Senate Bill 548. See S. Rep.

No. 119, 100th Cong., Ist Sess., reprinted in 1988 U.S.C.C.A.N.

683. The Court, however, has located a thorough analysis by a

senior attorney at the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation,

discussing at length the legislative process that led to the

enactment of § 1114. Andrea J. Winkler, Legislative History of the

Retiree Benefits Bankruptcy Protection Act of 1988, reprinted in

App. 1 Lawrence P. King et al., Collier on Bankruptcy, Part XIX

(15th ed. 1995). Also helpful on the background of § 1114 is

Susan J. Stabile, Protecting Retiree Medical Benefits in Bankruptcy:

The Scope of Section 1114 of the Bankruptcy Code, 14 Cardozo L.

Rev. 1911 (1993).

A51

such post-petition payments. The impetus for Congres-

sional action was the Chapter 11 filing of LTV Corpora-

tion on July 17, 1986. LTV promptly suspended retirement

benefit payments to over 78,000 former employees when

it filed for bankruptcy protection.

Illustrating the urgency of the situation, the Senate

completed enactment of a remedial measure just 13 days

after LTV’s suspension of payments requiring LTV and its

subsidiaries to continue paying all medical and life insur-

ance benefits to retirees. See 132 Cong. Rec. $9882 (daily

ed. July 30, 1986). Following a series of stopgap measures

over the course of the next two years, President Reagan

signed the Retiree Benefits Bankruptcy Protection Act,

thus putting § 1114 into effect.

Section 1114(e) provides as follows:

(e) (1) Notwithstanding any other provision of

this title, the debtor in possession, or the

trustee if one has been appointed under the

provisions of this chapter (hereinafter in this

section ‘trustee, shall include a debtor in

possession), shall timely pay and shall not

modify any retiree benefits, except that -

(A) the court, on motion of the trustee

or authorized representative, and after

notice and a hearing, may order mod-

ification of such payments, pursuant to

the provisions of subsections (g) and

(h) of this section, or

(B) the trustee and the authorized

representative of the recipients of those

benefits may agree to modification of

such payments,

A52

after which such benefits as modified shall con-

tinue to be paid by the trustee.

(2) Any payment for retiree benefits

required to be made before a plan con-

firmed under section 1129 of this title is

effective has the status of an allowed

administrative expense as provided in sec-

tion 503 of this title.

Id.20

The Court cannot simply presume Congress intended

to accord high priority status to pre-petition retiree bene-

fit claims because of the general importance of such bene-

fits or the seeming unfairness of a decision otherwise.

Rather, in the absence of specific direction, the Court

must be guided by a general thesis underlying the Bank-

ruptcy Code:

20 Several courts have bemoaned the arduous task of

interpreting § 1114. The following excerpt from a recent

decision of the United States Court of Appeals for the Second

Circuit is indicative:

As our exhaustive experience with RICO has

taught us, a statute which at first glance appears to be

‘plain on its face,’ may require substantial judicial

interpretation. Section 1114 turned out to be such a

statute.

In re Ames Dep't Stores, Inc., 76 F.3d 66, 68 (2d Cir. 1996) (citations

omitted); see also In re lonosphere Clubs, 134 B.R. at 517 (stating

“[§ 1114] has spawned diverse and sometimes inconsistent

interpretations and theories as to the substantive and

procedural standards necessary for modification of retiree

benefits. Expressed colloquially, these interpretations are all

over the lot. Some are well reasoned, some conclusory with

limited analysis.”).

A53

‘One of the central themes of the Bankruptcy

Code is equality of distribution. [In] In re Mam-

moth Mart, 536 F.2d 950 ([ist Cir.] 1976), the

Court held “if one claimant is to be preferred

over others, the purpose should be clear from

the statute. To give priority to a claimant not

clearly entitled thereto is not only inconsistent

with the policy of equality of distribution, it

dilutes the value of the priority for those credi-

tors Congress intended to prefer.” ’

In Re Rayman, Martin & Fader, Inc., 170 B.R. 286, 290 (D.

Md. 1994) (quoted authority omitted).

Aside from this general principle, there are specific

indications Congress sought only to accord priority status

to post-petition retiree benefits. While there is little rea-

soned case law on point, the commentator perhaps most

familiar with the legislative history surrounding § 1114

has surmised as much. See Winkler, Legis!ative History of

the Retiree Benefits Bankruptcy Protection Act of 1988, 1

reprinted in App. 1 Lawrence P. King et al., Collier on

Bankruptcy, Part XIX, 1894 (15th ed. 1995) (stating § 1114

“provided that retiree benefits paid during the pendency of

the case have the status of allowed administrative

expenses”) (emphasis added). A leading bankruptcy com-

mentator concurs. See 4 William L. Norton, Jr. et al.,

Norton Bankruptcy Law & Practice 2d § 84:10 (1995) (stating

“Section 1114(e)(2) grants administrative expense priority

status to benefits payments accruing post-petition up to the

reorganization plan confirmation date. Effectively, this

means that any retiree insurance benefits coming due

between the filing of the petition and the confirmation date are

subordinate only to the claims of secured creditors.”)

(emphasis added).

A54

It is clear the purpose of § 1114 was to remedy the

harm caused by debtors such as LTV who suspend retiree

benefit following the filing of a Chapter 11 petition. The

C. art is not inclined to extend the reach of § 1114 further

without explicit Congressional direction. Accordingly, the

Court will not accord administrative priority status to

Adventure’s pre-petition contributions due under the

applicable NBCWAs. The Funds’ motion for partial sum-

mary judgment on this issue is DENIED.

IV. CONCLUSION

Based on the foregoing analysis, the Court GRANTS

in part and DENIES in part the Funds’ motion for partial

summary judgment. Administrative expense status will

be accorded the Funds’ claims as discussed herein. Each

bankruptcy estate and the non-bankrupt Plaintiffs are

jointly and severally liable for the claims asserted. The

Court leaves the determination of the appropriate allow-

able amount of the claims to the Bankruptcy Court, pend-

ing the receipt of updated information from the Funds.

With relief, this case is DISMISSED from the Court's

docket.

The Clerk is directed to send a copy of this Order to

counsel of record.

ENTER: March 8, 1996

/s/ Charles H. Haden II

Charles H. Haden II, Chief Judge

A55

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

(Filed Apr. 24, 1998)

No. 96-1557

CA-94-858-2

BK-91-50509

AP-93-197

ADVENTURE RESOURCES, INCORPORATED, a West

Virginia corporation; AMIGO SMOKELESS COAL

COMPANY, a West Virginia corporation; TOMMY

CREEK COAL COMPANY, a West Virginia corporation;

GREEN MOUNTAIN ENERGY, INCORPORATED, a

West Virginia corporation; M.A.E. SERVICES,

INCORPORATED, a West Virginia corporation;

MABEN ENERGY CORPORATION, a West Virginia

corporation; RALEIGH LEASING, INCORPORATED, a

West Virginia corporation; STONEY COAL COMPANY,

a West Virginia corporation; SPRUCE LAUREL COAL

COMPANY, a West Virginia corporation; HAWLEY

COAL MINING CORPORATION, a West Virginia

corporation; BICKFORD MINING, INCORPORATED,

also known as Allports Coals, Incorporated, a West

Virginia corporation; BARRETT FUEL CORPORATION,

successor by merger to Beckley Lick Run Company, a

West Virginia corporation; EAST GULF FUEL

CORPORATION, a West Virginia corporation; COAL X

EQUIPMENT & SUPPLY COMPANY, INCORPORATED,

formerly known as Lakeside Supply Company,

Incorporated, a West Virginia corporation; BECKLEY

REPAIR & HYDRAULIC SERVICE, INCORPORATED, a

West Virginia corporation; HALFWAY,

INCORPORATED, a West Virginia corporation;

CHESAPEAKE LEASING, INCORPORATED, a West

Virginia corporation; PINEY FUEL CORPORATION, a

West Virginia corporation; LAKESIDE LEASING,

INCORPORATED, formerly known as Airplane

A56

Leasing, Incorporated, a West Virginia corporation;

RALEIGH SERVICES, INCORPORATED, a West

Virginia corporation; ATLAS COAL LEASING,

INCORPORATED, a West Virginia corporation; SUGAR

CAMP MINING, INCORPORATED, a West Virginia

corporation; H. D. ENTERPRISES, LIMITED, a West

Virginia corporation; JET COAL SERVICES,

INCORPORATED, a West Virginia corporation;

MICROBLACK, INCORPORATED, a West Virginia

corporation; DOVER COAL SALES, INCORPORATED,

a West Virginia corporation; NO. 10 MINING,

INCORPORATED, a West Virginia corporation;

PANTHER RED ASH LAND COMPANY,

INCORPORATED, a West Virginia corporation

Plaintiffs - Appellees

V.

MICHAEL H. HOLLAND, MARTY D. HUDSON,

ELLIOT A. SEGAL, PAUL R. DEAN, Trustees of the

UMWA 1950 Pension Trusts and UMWA 1974 Pension

Trusts; UNITED MINE WORKERS OF AMERICA 1974

PENSION TRUST; UNITED MINE WORKERS OF

AMERICA 1950 PENSION TRUST; MICHAEL H.

HOLLAND, MARTY D. HUDSON, ELLIOT A. SEGAL,

THOMAS O. S. RAND, CARLTON R. SICKLES, AND

GAIL R. WILENSKY, WILLIAM P. HOBGOOD,

Trustees of the United Mine Workers of America

Combined Benefit Fund; UNITED MINE WORKERS OF

AMERICA COMBINED FUND; MICHAEL H.

HOLLAND, MARTY D. HUDSON, THOMAS F.

CONNORS and ROBERT D. WALLACE, Trustees of

the UMWA 1992 Benefit Plan; UNITED MINE

WORKERS OF AMERICA 1992 BENEFIT PLAN;

MICHAEL H. HOLLAND, MARTY D. HUDSON,

THOMAS F. CONNORS, ELLIOT A. SEGAL, Trustees

of the UMWA 1993 Benefit Plan; UNITED MINE

A57

WORKERS OF AMERICA 1993 BENEFIT PLAN; and

MICHAEL H. HOLLAND, MARTY D. HUDSON,

ELLIOTT A. SEGAL, JOSEPH J. STAHL, II, Trustees of

the UMWA Cash Cash Deferred Savings Plan of 1988;

UNITED MINE WORKERS OF AMERICA CASH

DEFERRED SAVINGS PLAN OF 1988

Defendants — Appellants

and

DONNA E. SHALALA, Secretary, Department of

Health & Human Services, Social Security

Administration of the United States of America

Defendant

No. 96-1938

CA-94-858-2

BK-91-50509

AP-93-197

ADVENTURE RESOURCES, INCORPORATED, a West

Virginia Corporation

Plaintiff — Appellant

and

AMIGO SMOKELESS COAL COMPANY, a West

Virginia corporation; TOMMY CREEK COAL

COMPANY, a West Virginia corporation; GREEN

MOUNTAIN ENERGY, INCORPORATED, a West

Virginia corporation; M.A.E. SERVICES,

INCORPORATED, a West Virginia corporation;

MABEN ENERGY CORPORATION, a West Virginia

corporation; RALEIGH LEASING, INCORPORATED, a

West Virginia corporation; STONEY COAL COMPANY,

A58

a West Virginia corporation; SPRUCE LAUREL COAL

COMPANY, a West Virginia corporation; HAWLEY

COAL MINING CORPORATION, a West Virginia

corporation; BICKFORD MINING, INCORPORATED,

also known as Allports Coals, Incorporated, a West

Virginia corporation; BARRETT FUEL CORPORATION,

successor by merger to Beckley Lick Run Company, a

West Virginia corporation; EAST GULF FUEL

CORPORATION, a West Virginia corporation; COAL X

EQUIPMENT & SUPPLY COMPANY, INCORPORATED,

formerly known as Lakeside Supply Company,

Incorporated, a West Virginia corporation; BECKLEY

REPAIR & HYDRAULIC SERVICE, INCORPORATED, a

West Virginia corporation; HALFWAY,

INCORPORATED, a West Virginia corporation;

CHESAPEAKE LEASING, INCORPORATED, a West

Virginia corporation; PINEY FUEL CORPORATION, a

West Virginia corporation; LAKESIDE LEASING,

INCORPORATED, formerly known as Airplane

Leasing, Incorporated, a West Virginia corporation;

RALEIGH SERVICES, INCORPORATED, a West

Virginia corporation; ATLAS COAL LEASING,

INCORPORATED, a West Virginia corporation; SUGAR

CAMP MINING, INCORPORATED, a West Virginia

corporation; H. D. ENTERPRISES, LIMITED, a West

Virginia corporation; JET COAL SERVICES,

INCORPORATED, a West Virginia corporation;

MICROBLACK, INCORPORATED, a West Virginia

corporation; DOVER COAL SALES, INCORPORAYED,

a West Virginia corporation; NO. 10 MINING,

INCORPORATED, a West Virginia corporation;

PANTHER RED ASH LAND COMPANY,

INCORPORATED, a West Virginia corporation

Plaintiffs

V.

A59

MICHAEL H. HOLLAND, MARTY D. HUDSON,

ELLIOT A. SEGAL, PAUL R. DEAN, Trustees of the

UMWA 1950 Pension Trusts and UMWA 1974 Pension

Trusts; UNITED MINE WORKERS OF AMERICA 1974

PENSION TRUST; UNITED MINE WORKERS OF

AMERICA 1950 PENSION TRUST; MICHAEL H.

HOLLAND, MARTY D. HUDSON, ELLIOT A. SEGAL,

THOMAS O. S. RAND, CARLTON R. SICKLES, AND

GAIL R. WILENSKY, WILLIAM P. HOBGOOD,

Trustees of the United Mine Workers of America

Combined Benefit Fund; UNITED MINE WORKERS OF

AMERICA COMBINED FUND; MICHAEL H.

HOLLAND, MARTY D. HUDSON, THOMAS F.

CONNORS and ROBERT D. WALLACE, Trustees of

the UMWA 1992 Benefit Plan; UNITED MINE

WORKERS OF AMERICA 1992 BENEFIT PLAN;

MICHAEL H. HOLLAND, MARTY D. HUDSON,

THOMAS F. CONNORS, ELLIOT A. SEGAL, Trustees

of the UMWA 1993 Benefit Plan; UNITED MINE

WORKERS OF AMERICA 1993 BENEFIT PLAN; and

MICHAEL H. HOLLAND, MARTY D. HUDSON,

ELLIOTT A. SEGAL, JOSEPH J. STAHL, II, Trustees of

the UMWA Cash Deferred Savings Plan of 1988;

UNITED MINE WORKERS OF AMERICA CASH

DEFERRED SAVINGS PLAN OF 1988

Defendants — Appeliees

and

DONNA E. SHALALA, Secretary, Department of

Health & Human Services, Social Security

Administration of the United States of America

Defendant

A60

On Petition for Rehearing with Suggestion

for Rehearing In Banc

The appellees’ petition for rehearing and suggestion

for rehearing in banc were submitted to this Court. As no

member of this Court or the panel requested a poll on the

suggestion for rehearing in banc, and

As the panel considered the petition for rehearing

and is of the opinion that it should be denied,

IT IS ORPERED that the petition for rehearing and

suggestion for rehearing in banc are denied.

For the Court,

/s/ Patricia S. Connor

CLERK

Aél

§ 1113. Rejection of collective bargaining agreements

(a) The debtor in possession, or the trustee if one

has been appointed under the provisions of this chapter,

other than a trustee in a case covered by subchapter IV of

this chapter and by title | of the Railway Labor Act, may

assume or reject a collective bargaining agreement only in

accordance with tke provisions of this section.

(b)(1) Subsequent to filing a petition and prior to

~ filing an application seeking rejection of a collective bar-

gaining ageement, the debtor in possession or trustee

(hereinafter in this section “trustee” shall include a

debtor in possession), shall -

(A) make a proposal to the authorized rep-

resentative of the employees covered by such

agreement, based on the most complete ana reli-

able information available at the time of such

proposal, which provides for those necessary

modifications in the employees benefits and

protections that are necessary to permit the reor-

ganization of the debtor and assures that all

creditors, the debtor and all of the affected par-

ties are treated fairly and equitably; and

(B) provide, subject to subsection (d)(3), the

representative of the employees with such rele-

vant information as is necessary to evaluate the

prop»sal.

(2) During the period beginning on the date of the

making of a proposal provided for in paragraph (1) and

ending on the date of the hearing provided for in subsec-

tion (d)(1), the trustee shall meet, at reasonable times,

with the authorized representative to confer in good faith

A62

in attempting to reach mutually satisfactory modifica-

tions of such agreement.

(c) The court shall approve an application for rejec-

tion of a collective bargaining agreement only if the court

finds that -

(1) the trustee has, prior to the hearing,

made a proposal that fulfills the requirements of

subsection (b)(1);

(2) the authorized representative of the

employees has refused to accept such proposal

without good cause; and

(3) the balance of the equities clearly favors

rejection of such agreement.

(d)(1) Upon the filing of an application for rejection

the court shall schedule a hearing to be held not later

than fourteen days after the date of the filing of such

application. All interested parties may appear and be

heard at such hearing. Adequate notice shall be provided

to such parties at least ten days before the date of such

hearing. The court may extend the time for the com-

mencement of such hearing for a period not exceeding

seven days where the circumstances of the case, and the

interests of justice require such extension, or for addi-

tional periods of time to which the trustee and represen-

tative agree.

(2) The court shall rule on such application for

rejection within thirty days after the date of the com-

mencement of the hearing. In the interests of justice, the

court may extend such time for ruling for such additional

period as the trustee and the employees’ representative

A63

may agree to. If the court does not rule on such applica-

tion within thirty days after the date of the commence-

ment of the hearing, or within such additional time as the

trustee and the employees’ representative may agree to,

the trustee may terminate or alter any provisions of the

collective bargaining agreement pending the ruling of the

court on such application.

(3) The court may enter such protective orders, con-

sistent with the need of the authorized representative of

the employee to evaluate the trustee’s proposal and the

application for rejection, as may be necessary to prevent

disclosure of information provided to such representative

where such disclosure could compromise the position of

the debtor with respect to its competitors in the industry

in which it is engaged.

(e) If during a period when the collective bargain-

ing agreement continues in effect, and if essential to the

continuation of the debtor’s business, or in order to avoid

irreparable damage to the estate, the court, after notice

and a hearing, may authorize the trustee to implement

interim changes in the terms, conditions, wages, benefits,

or work rules provided by a collective bargaining agree-

ment. Any hearing under this paragraph shall be sched-

uled in accordance with the needs of the trustee. The

implementation of such interim changes shall not render

the application for rejection moot.

(f) No provision of this title shall be construed to

permit a trustee to unilaterally terminate or alter any

provisions of a collective bargaining agreement prior to

compliance with the provisions of this section.

A6é4

Added Pub.L. 98-353, Title II, § 541(a), July 10, 1984, 98

Stat. 390.

§ 365. Executory contracts and unexpired leases

(a) Except as provided in sections 765 and 766 of

this title and in subsections (b), (c), and (d) of this section,

the trustee, subject to the court’s approval, may assume

or reject any executory contract or unexpired lease of the

debtor.

(b)(1) If there has been a default in an executory

contract or unexpired lease of the debtor, the trustee may

not assume such contract or lease unless, at the time of

assumption of such contract or lease, the trustee —

(A) cures, or provides adequate assurance

that the trustee will promptly cure, such default;

(B) compensates, or provides adequate

assurance that the trustee will promptly com-

pensate, a party other than the debtor to such

contract or lease, for any actual pecuniary loss

to such party resulting from such default; and

(C) provides adequate assurance of future

performance under such contract or lease.

(2) Paragraph (1) of this subsection does not apply

to a default that is a breach of a provision relating to -

(A) the insolvency of financial condition of

the debtor at any time before the closing of the

case;

A65

(B) the commencement of a case under this

title; :

(C) the appointment of or taking possession

by a trustee in a case under this title or a custo-

dian before such commencement; or

(D) the satisfaction of any penalty rate or

provision relating to a default arising from any

failure by the debtor to perform nonmonetary

obligations under the executory contract or

unexpired lease.

(3) For the purposes of paragraph (1) of this subsec-

tion and paragraph (2)(B) of subsection (f), adequate

assurance of future performances of a lease of real prop-

erty in a shopping center includes adequate assurance -

(A) of the source of rent and other consider-

ation due under such lease, and in the case of an

assignment, that the financial condition and

operating performance of the proposed assignee

and its guarantors, if any, shall be similar to the

financial condition and operating performance

of the debtor and its guarantors, if any, as of the

time the debtor became the lessee under the

lease;

(B) that any percentage rent due under such

lease will not decline substantially;

(C) that assumption or assignment of such

lease is subject to all the provisions thereof,

including (but not limited to) provisions such as

a radius, location, use, or exclusivity provision,

and will not breach any such provision con-

tained in any other lease, financing agreement,

or master agreement relating to such shopping

center; and

A66

(D) that assumption or assignment of such

lease will not disrupt any tenant mix or balance

in such shopping center.

(4) Notwithstanding any other provision of this sec-

tion, if there has been a default in an unexpired lease of

the debtor, other than a default of a kind specified in

paragraph (2) of this subsection, the trustee may not

require a lessor to provide services or supplies incidental

to such lease before assumption of such lease unless the

lessor is compensated under the terms of such lease for

any services and supplies provided under such lease

before assumption of such lease.

(c) The trustee may not assume or assign any execu-

tory contract or unexpired lease of the debtor, whether or

not such contract or lease prohibits or restricts assign-

ment of rights or delegation of duties, if —

(1)(A) applicable law excuses a party, other

than the debtor, to such contract or lease from

accepting performance from or rendering per-

formance to an entity other than the debtor or

the debtor in possession, whether or not such

contract or lease prohibits or restricts assign-

ment of rights or delegation of duties; and

(B) such party does not consent to such

assumption or assignment; or

(2) such contract is a contract to make a

loan, or extend other debt financing or financial

accommodations, to or for the benefit of the

debtor, or to issue a security of the debtor;

(3) such lease is of nonresidential real prop-

erty and has been terminated under applicable

nonbankruptcy law prior to the order for relief;

or

Pe Lee) ee. ae

A67

(4) such lease is of nonresidential real prop-

erty under which the debtor is the lessee of an

aircraft terminal or aircraft gate at an airport at

which the debtor is the lessee under one or more

additional nonresidential leases of an aircraft

terminal or aircraft gate and the trustee, in con-

nection with such assumption or assignment,

does not assume all such leases or does not

assume and assign all of such leases to the same

person, except that the trustee may assume or

assign less than all of such leases with the air-

port operator's written consent.

(d)(1) In a case under chapter 7 of this title, if the

trustee does not assume or reject an executory contract or

unexpired lease of residential real property or of personal

property of the debtor within 60 days after the order for

relief, or within such additional time as the court, for

cause, within such 60-day period, fixes, then such con-

tract or lease is deemed rejected.

(2) In a case under chapter 9, 11, 12, or 13 of this

title, the trustee may assume or reject an executory con-

tract or unexpired lease of residential real property or of

personal property of the debtor at any time before the

confirmation of a plan but the court, on the request of any

party to such contract or lease, may order the trustee to

determine within a specified period of time whether to

assume or reject such contract or lease.

(3) The trustee shall timely perform all the obliga-

tions of the debtor, except those specified in section

365(b)(2), arising from and after the order for relief under

any unexpired lease of nonresidential real property, until

such lease is assumed or rejected, notwithstanding sec-

tion 503(b)(1) of this title. The court may extend, for

A68

cause, the time for performance of any such obligation

that arises within 60 days after the date of the order for

relief, but the time for performance shall not be extended

beyond such 60-day period. This subsection shall not be

deemed to affect the trustee’s obligations under the pro-

visions of subsection (b) or (f) of this section. Acceptance

of any such performance does not constitute waiver or

relinquishment of the lessor’s rights under such lease or

under this title.

(4) Notwithstanding paragraphs (1) and (2), in a

case under any chapter of this title, if the trustee does not

assume or reject an unexpired lease of nonresidential real

property under which the debtor is the lessee within 60

days after the date of the order for relief, or within such

additional time as the court, for cause, within such 60-day

period, fixes, then such lease is deemed rejected, and the

trustee shall immediately surrender such nonresidential

real property to the lessor.

(5) Notwithstanding paragraphs (1) and (4) of this

subsection, in a case under any chapter of this title, if the

trustee does not assume or reject an unexpired lease of

nonresidential real property under which the debtor is an

affected air carrier that is the lessee of an aircraft terminal

or aircraft gate before the occurrence of a termination

event, then (unless the court orders the trustee to assume

such unexpired leases within 5 days after the termination

event), at the option of the airport operator, such lease is

deemed rejected 5 days after the occurrence of a termina-

tion event and the trustee shall immediately surrender

possession of the premises to the airport operator; except

that the lease shall not be deemed to be rejected unless

the airport operator first waives the right to damages

So Ee er

Neat llth a is

™ LS

A69

related to the rejection. In the event that the lease is

deemed to be rejected under this paragraph, the airport

operator shall provide the affected air carrier adequate

opportunity after the surrender of the premises to remove

the fixtures and equipment installed by the affected air

carrier.

(6) For the purpose of paragraph (5) of this subsec-

tion and paragraph (f)(1) of this section, the occurrence of

a termination event means, with respect to a debtor

which is an affected air carrier that is the lessee of an

aircraft terminal or aircraft gate -

(A) the entry under section 301 or 302 of

this title of an order for relief under chapter 7 of

this title;

(B) the conversion of a case under any chap-

ter of this title to a case under chapter 7 of this

title; or

(C) the granting of relief from the stay pro-

vided under section 362(a) of this title with

respect to aircraft, aircraft engines, propellers,

appliances, or spare parts, as defined in section

40102(a) of title 49, except for property of the

debtor found by the court not to be necessary to

an effective reorganization.

(7) Any order entered by the court pursuant to

paragraph (4) extending the period within which the

trustee of an affected air carrier must assume or reject an

unexpired lease of nonresidential real property shall be

without prejudice to -

(A) the right of the trustee to seek further

extensions within such additional time period

A70

granted by the court pursuant to paragraph (4);

and

(B) the right of any lessor or any other party

in interest to request, at any time, a shortening

or termination of the period within which the

trustee must assume or reject an unexpired lease

of nonresidential real property.

(8) The burden of proof for establishing cause for an

extension by an affected air carrier under paragraph (4)

or the maintenance of a previously granted extension

under paragraph (7)(A) and (B) shall at all times remain

with the trustee.

(9) For purposes of determining cause under para-

graph (7) with respect to an unexpired lease of nonresi-

dential real property between the debtor that is an

affected air carrier and an airport operator under which

such debtor is the lessee of an airport terminal or an

airport gate, the court shall consider, among other rele- |

vant factors, whether substantial harm will result to the |

airport operator or airline passengers as a result of the

extension or the maintenance of a previously granted

extension. In making the determination of substantial

harm, the court shall consider, among other relevant fac-

tors, the level of actual use of the terminals or gates

which are the subject of the lease, the public interest in

actual use of such terminals or gates, the existence of

competing demands for the use of such terminals or

gates, the effect of the court’s extension or termination of

the period of time to assume or reject the lease on such

debtor's ability to successfully reorganize under chapter

11 of this title, and whether the trustee of the affected air

nme re menor

ee ee ee ee ee

A71

carrier is capable of continuing to comply with its obliga-

tions under section 365(d)(3) of this title.

(10) The trustee shall timely perform all of the obli-

gations of the debtor, except those specified in section

365(b)(2), first arising from or after 60 days after the

order for relief in a case under chapter 11 of this title

under an unexpired lease of personal property (other

than personal property leased to an individual primarily

for personal, family, or household purposes), until such

lease is assumed or rejected notwithstanding section

503(b)(1) of this title, unless the court, after notice and a

hearing and based on the equities of the case, orders

otherwise with respect to the obligations or timely perfor-

mance thereof. This subsection shall not be deemed to

affect the trustee’s obligations under the provisions of

subsection (b) or (f). Acceptance of any such performance

does not constitute waiver or relinquishment of the les-

sor’s rights under such lease or under this title.

(e)(1) Notwithstanding a provision in an executory

contract or unexpired lease, or in applicable law, an exec-

utory contract or unexpired lease of the debtor may not

be terminated or modified, and any right or obligation

under such contract or lease may not be terminated or

modified, at any time after the commencement of the case

solely because of a provision in such contract or lease that

is conditioned on -

(A) the insolvency or financial condition of

the debtor at any time before the closing of the

case;

(B) the commencement of a case under this

title; or

A72

(C) the appointment of or taking possession

by a trustee in a case under this title or a custo-

dian before such commencement.

(2) Paragraph (1) of this subsection does not apply

to an executory contract or unexpired lease of the debtor,

whether or not such contract or lease prohibits or restricts

assignment of rights or delegation of duties, if -

(A)(i) applicable law excuses a party, other

than the debtor, to such contract or lease from

accepting performance from or rendering per-

formance to the trustee or to an assignee of such

contract or lease, whether or not such contract

or lease prohibits or restricts assignment of

rights or delegation of duties; and

(ii) such party does not consent to such

assumption or assignment; or

(B) such contract is a contract to make a

loan, or extend other debts financing or finan-

cial accommodations, to or for the benefit of the

debtor, or to issue a security of the debtor.

(f)(1) Except as provided in subsection (c) of this

section, notwithstanding a provision in an executory con-

tract or unexpired lease of the debtor, or in applicable

law, that prohibits restricts, or conditions the assignment

of such contract or lease, the trustee may assign such

contract or lease under paragraph (2) of this subsection;

except that the trustee may not assign an unexpired lease

of noniesidential real property under which the debtor is

an affected air carrier that is the lessee of an aircraft

terminal or aircraft gate if there has occurred a termina-

tion event.

A73

(2) The trustee may assign an executory contract or

unexpired lease of the debtor only if -

(A) the trustee assumes such contract or

lease in accordance with the provisions of this

section; and

(B) adequate assurance of future perfor-

mance by the assignee of such contract or lease

is provided, whether or not there has been a

default in such contract or lease.

(3) Notwithstanding a provision in an executory

contract or unexpired lease of the debtor, or in applicable

law that terminates or modifies, or permits a party other

than the debtor to terminate or modify, such contract or

lease or a right or obligation under such contract or lease

on account of an assignment of such contract or lease,

such contract, lease, right, or obligation may not be termi-

nated or modified under such provision because of the

assumption or assignment of such contract or lease by the

trustee.

(g) Except as provided in subsections (h)(2) and

(i)(2) of this section, the rejection of an executory contract

or unexpired lease of the debtor constitutes a breach of

such contract or lease -

(1) if such contract or lease has not been

assumed under this section or under a plan

confirmed under chapter 9, 11, 12 or 13 of this

title, immediately before the date of the filing of

the petition; or

(2) if such contract or lease has been

assumed under this section or under a plan

confirmed under chapter 9, 11, 12, or 13 of this

title -

A74

(A) if before such rejection the case has

not been converted under section 1112,

1208, or 1307 of this title, at the time of such

rejection; or

(B) if before such rejection the case has

been converted under section 1112, 1208, or

1307 of this title —

(i) immediately before the date of

such conversion, if such contract or

lease was assumed before such conver-

sion; or

(ii) at the time of such rejection, if

such contract or lease was assumed

after such conversion.

(h)(1)(A)_ If the trustee rejects an unexpired lease of

real property under which the debtor is the lessor and -

(i) if the rejection by the trustee

amounts to such a breach as would

entitle the lessee to treat such lease as

terminated by virtue of its terms, appli-

cable nonbankruptcy law, or any agree-

ment made by the lessee, then the

lessee under such lease may treat such

lease as terminated by the rejection; or

(ii) if the term of such lease has

commenced, the lessee may retain its

rights under such lease (including

rights such as those relating to the

amount and timing of payment of rent

and other amounts payable by the les-

see, and any right of use, possession,

quiet enjoyment, subletting, assign-

ment, or hypothecation) that are in or

appurtenant to the real property for the

Pe eee ne eee ek Ve a

ee eee Ne PP oe ho a ea aD

A75

balance of the term of such lease and

for any renewal or extension of such

rights to the extent that such rights are

enforceable under applicable non-

bankruptcy law.

(B) If the lessee retains its rights under

subparagraph (A)(ii), the lessee may offset

against the rent reserved under such lease

for the balance of the term after the date of

the rejection of such lease and for the term

of any renewal or extension of such lease,

the value of any damage caused by the non-

performance after the date of such rejection,

of any obligation of the debtor under such

lease, but the lessee shall not have any other

right against the estate or the debtor on

account of any damage occurring after such

date caused by such nonperformance.

(C) The rejection of a lease of real

property in a shopping center with respect

to which the lessee elects to retain its rights

under subparagraph (A)(ii) does not affect

the enforceability under applicable non-

bankruptcy law of any provision in the

lease pertaining to radius, location, use,

exclusivity, or tenant mix or balance.

(D) In this paragraph, “lessee”

includes any successor, assign, or mort-

gagee permitted under the terms of such

lease.

(2)(A) If the irustee rejects a timeshare interest

under a timeshare plan under which the debtor is the

timeshare interest seller and -

(i) if the rejection amounts to such a

breach as would entitle the timeshare

A76

interest purchaser to treat the timeshare

plan as terminated under its terms,

applicable nonbankruptcy law, or any

agreement made by timeshare interest

purchaser, the timeshare interest pur-

chaser under the timeshare plan may

treat the timeshare plan as terminated

by such rejection, or

(ii) if the term of such timeshare

interest has commenced, then the

timeshare interest purchaser may retair.

its rights in such timeshare interest for

the balance of such term and for any

term of renewal or extension of such

timeshare interest to the extent that

such rights are enforceable under appli-

cable nonbankruptcy law.

(B) If the timeshare interest purchaser

retains its rights under subparagraph (A),

such timeshare interest purchaser may off-

set against the moneys due for such

timeshare interest for the balance of the

term after the date of the rejection of such

timeshare interest, and the term of any

renewal or extension of such timeshare

interest, the value of any damage caused by

the nonperformance after the date of such

rejection, of any obligation of the debtor

under such timeshare plan, but the

timeshare interest purchaser shall not have

any right against the estate or the debtor on

account of any damage occurring after such

date caused by such nonperformance.

(i)(1) If the trustee rejects an executory contract of

the debtor for the sale of real property or for the sale of a

timeshare interest under a timeshare plan, under which

A77

the purchaser is in possession, such purchaser may treat

such contract as terminated, or, in the alternative, may

remain in possession of such real property or timeshare

interest.

(2) If such purchaser remains in posses-

sion —

(A) such purchaser shall continue to

make all payments due under such contract,

but may, offset against such payments any

damages occurring after the date of the

rejection of such contract caused by the

nonperformance of any obligation of the

debtor after such date, but such purchaser

does not have any rights against the estate

on account of any damages arising after

such date from such rejection, other than

such offset; and

(B) the trustee shall deliver title to such

purchaser in accordance with the provisions

of such contract, but is relieved of all other

obligations to perform under such contract.

(j) A purchaser that treats an executory contract as

terminated under subsection (i) of this section, or a party

whose e

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.