Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Jordan v. SmithKline Beecham, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1998

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Cou

~ rt, U.S.

FILED

98 80 sus 993

No. 98- OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1998

J. ST. GIRARD JORDAN,

Petitioner,

V.

SMITHKLINE BEECHAM, INC..,

Respondent.

me ee ee ere es me me me ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee

SES SS EE Ee LEE LE S_ LS LE LS LS ee a a

Petition for Writ of Certiorari

to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit

eee eee

oSocoS SSS CS ES SS SS OS SS SE SE ES ES SE ESS

me ee er me ee ee mee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee

SSS OLE LE_LE_LE_—_El

PETER GOLDBERGER

Counsel of Record

ANNA M. DURBIN

PAMELA A. WILK

50 Rittenhouse Place

Ardmore, PA 19003-2276

(610) 649-8200

Attorneys for Petitioner

July 1998

PUBLISHER’S NOTE:

E FOLLOWING PAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE FOR FILMING:

\

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Fete Be rR BIE STOED cicincckvncananvensaesiuasanicesscceners i

RT WN IE IID snc cccpnssuacedsevincnmnnacebedvansivetens i

SE RD PRIME IT. ss... ssccunssactiseunnsiiobensieancecseacnets iii

MR ST PAGS REMIIEE BE BESEE sikcstiss indscdsscdcesncssnccovecesics iv

PETITION

I a cb ipnaiehes 1

RTE SERED SA OCI Ee Tee ON 1

FEDERAL STATUTE and RULE INVOLVED ......... 2

eR GR BEY IE «cass csoscecncdcssacorasicecoonceners 3

BRO COUTSS OF Proceedings .......0....0..ccsssoresessessersoeee 4

a semsecance 5

Statement of Lower Court Jurisdiction ............0...... 7

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The decision of the court of appeals upholding

summary judgment on the statute of limitations

defense, allowing isolated and ambiguous

comments of a plaintiff in his deposition to

defeat his right to trial on the facts underlying

application of the "discovery rule," conflicts with

this Court’s cases on summary judgment and the

GEIIOCINS OE CURGE CATO, ost cn cenesissiccsccscessessoveseneces 7

ME EEIET ciceinidalevcibitincedetiacxinussdatindestrionnsiironesees 14

INDEX TO APPENDIX

A. Memorandum Opinion of the Court of Appeals

B. Memorandum Opinion of the District Court

oe

-lll-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242 (1986) ... 9

Byers v. Burleson, 713 F.2d 856 (D.C.Cir. 1983) ......... 12

Cambridge Plating Co. v. Napco, Inc.,

991 F.2d 21 (1st Cir. ME doris chek slabiceck shal enices 13

Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. S21 (1986) .........0000: 10

Foster v. Johns-Manville Sales Corp.,

787 F.2d 390 (8th Cir. WOE Wat dirduclack,, 13

Goodman v. Lukens Steel Co., 482 U.S. 656 CEPT) vases, 9

Jordan v. SmithKline Beecham, Inc. 958 F.Supp. 1012,

70 Empl.Prac.Dec. 144,735 (E.D.Pa. 1997) .......... 1

Matsushita Electric Industrial Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp.,

WTS WI SPU AAOMR i en ih 9

Maughan v. SW Servicing, Inc.,

758 F.2d 1381 (10th Cir. coe, SO EES 12

Oubre v. Entergy Operations, inc., $22 U.S. ~,

139 L.Ed.2d 849, 118 S.Ct. 838 EWI E visistcsrshccosnis 5

Rose v. A.C.& S., Inc., 796 F.2d 294 (9th Cir. 1986) ... 13

Sellars v. Perry, 80 F.3d 243 Fem Ce: PO oc cesseises 12

United States v. Kubrick, 444 U.S. 111 (1979)... 8

Urie v. Thompson, 337 U.S. 163 i Bee 8

STATUTES AND RULES:

ns Os es a a Ss 7

aD NBA SD SOUND so ecccicnsdcnsn 7

dhcchbent el hott. 4 MC ee 7

bcbg Ee sgscit ROD TTT LOR RTE 7

Oe AON PROD seceding ck ani 1

OOD ORIN i i en a2 7

SS UGE GSM chosen, ch A eee 1

-jv-

|

|

|

|

|

BERT eae | SABRE Merced teettet ame E Dee EADY Or HTONE Em 4,9

GE AIT. FIs si ctnciendetinnsosinsaienciaincnssatninanastamnmboaaleea isis 12

Fe Bs SI pas tcnnctsiinesnialleciniineeagiaietntentominas 4

We Cai Be i sssinitisseresevindincuananninienaiaiintieioni 8

AED DRE, BFS sscncnsnccnciicicsstcsoianctenctoninscnsierpsendanens 9

REPT. SOD} sacctnsessaissrsvinstcnisserssscevesisnnbenanisesnansbaas 7

PO Re < ID iets nnsicinictsesccnseenbicbanaanmnnnntantinnetiepis 9

EAA FOC) sereciacsnsvasionsrsnetsensnsiatunosavsiosaniaciedsaelsn 9

SOX. Rete 29.5, 39.5, F0.1 (EIST BOW.) seseccsevtsinnseennniinecies 1

AD. PRI FA TINY sisiisnscniits tinacsnitaseclactsisensrcinarphtiioens 7

~v-

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

J. ST. GIRARD JORDAN respectfully petitions

this Court for a writ of certiorari to review the judgment

and memorandum of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit affirming the summary judgment

which terminated his race discrimination complaint

against respondent, his former employer.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Opinion of the Court of Appeals is not

published, nor has a notation of it yet appeared in a

Table of Unpublished Decisions. A copy is attached as

Appendix A. The district court’s opinion is published at

958 F.Supp. 1012, 70 Empl.Prac.Dec. 144,735 (E.D.Pa.

1997) (Buckwalter, J.); a copy is Appendix B.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit was filed and entered on

February 4, 1998. Appx. A. No petition for rehearing

was filed. On April 28, 1998, Justice Souter granted peti-

tioner’s timely application for an extension of time to file

this petition to and including July 3, 1998, a Court

holiday. No. A-811. This petition is timely filed on or

before the first business day thereafter. Rules 13.1, 13.5,

30.1 (1997 rev.); 28 U.S.C. § 2101(c). Petitioner invokes

this Court’s jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

sh

FEDERAL STATUTE AND RULE INVOLVED

Section 2000e-S of title 42, United States Code,

provides, in pertinent part:

(e) Time for filing charges; ... A charge under

this section shall be filed within one hundred and

eighty days after the alleged unlawful employ-

ment practice occurred ... except that in a case of

unlawful employment practice with respect to

which the person aggrieved has initially

instituted proceedings with a State or local

agency with authority to grant or seek relief from

such practice or to institute criminal proceedings

with respect thereto upon receiving notice

thereof, such charge shall be filed by or on

behalf of the person aggrieved within three

hundred days after the alleged unlawful employ-

ment practice occurred ....

(f) Civil action by Commission ... or person

aggrieved; preconditions; procedure ... (1)... Ifa

charge filed with the Commission pursuant to

subsection (b) is dismissed by the Commission or

if within one hundred and eighty days from the

filing of such charge or the expiration of any

period of reference [to a state or local agency],

..., Whichever is later, the Commission has not

filed a civil action ... or ... has not entered into a

conciliation agreement to which the person

aggrieved is a party, the Commission ... shall so

notify the person aggrieved and within ninety

days after the giving of such notice a civil action

may be brought against the respondent named in

the charge ... by the person claiming to be

aggrieved ....

Rule 56 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

provides, in pertinent part:

(b) For Defending Party. A party against whom

a claim ... is asserted ... may, at any time, move

with or without supporting affidavits for a

summary judgment in the party’s favor as to all

or any part thereof.

(c) Motion and Proceedings Thereon. ... The

judgment sought shall be rendered forthwith if

the pleadings, depositions, answers to interroga-

tories, and admissions on file, together with the

affidavits, if any, show that there is no genuine

issue as to any material fact and that the moving

party is entitled to a judgment as a matter of law.

** * *

(e) Form of Affidavits; Further Testimony;

Defense Required. ... When a motion for

summary judgment is made and supported as

provided in this rule, an adverse party may not

rest upon the mere allegations or denials of the

adverse party’s pleadings, but the adverse party’s

response, by affidavits or as otherwise provided

in this rule, must set forth specific facts showing

that there is a genuine issue for trial. If the

adverse party does not so respond, summary

judgment, if appropriate, shall be entered

against the adverse party.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner Jordan, a former professional employee of

respondent SmithKline, filed a contract action against

respondent in a Pennsylvania state court. Petitioner later

amended his complaint to include claims of race discrim-

ination under Title VII and the Civil Rights Act of 1866,

which he averred he had only recently uncovered through

discovery in the contract case. The Third Circuit

affirmed the district court’s grant of summary judgment

to respondent on the civil rights claims on statute of

limitations grounds, holding that petitioner should have

discovered the alleged discrimination sooner.

The Course of Proceedings. Petitioner Jordan

brought suit against respondent SmithKline in July 1993

in a Pennsylvania state court. Based on diversity jurisdic-

tion, the action was removed to federal court, remanded,

then removed again. As finally amended, the complaint

set forth claims under Title VII, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e et

seq., the Civil Rights Act of 1866, 42 U.S.C. § 1981, and

various state law causes of action. An African-American

attorney who was formerly employed by respondent as an

assistant general counsel on the corporate staff, he

alleged race discrimination and other unfairness in

relation to the company’s handling of a "Voluntary

Reduction in Force" in 1988-89. The federal claims were

added to the complaint in 1995.

The district court held that a general release,

including a covenant not to sue, signed in connection

with his acceptance of the VRIF was applicable and

binding. App. B11-16. Additionally, the district court

held that two counts failed to make out valid contract

claims under Pennsylvania law, App. B16-20, and that the

balance, including the federal civil rights claims, were

barred by the applicable statutes of limitations. App.

B20-25. The court of appeals affirmed on the latter

basis, without reaching the question of whether the

release applied. App. A4-A10.!

Statement of Facts. Petitioner Jordan, an African-

American, was employed as an attorney with respondent

SmithKline from 1974 until 1989. He rose to the level of

general counsel of the Animal Health and Consumer

Product business groups, and then to be an assistant

general counsel on the corporate staff. Anticipating

reorganization and a possible merger (which later

ensued) respondent in November 1988 offered

employees at petitioner’s level the opportunity to partici-

pate in a Voluntary Reduction in Force ("VRIF") in

exchange for certain benefits; in early December, 1988,

the deadline for responses to the VRIF offer, petitioner

accepted. His last day of work was to be in July 1989.

In January 1989, SmithKline granted additional stock

options to employees who had rejected the VRIF or who

had rescinded their acceptances. Later that month,

respondent's Board resolved that employees who had

declined the VRIF or who rescinded their acceptances

! This Court should not consider denying certiorari on the

basis that in any event the release would end the case.

The district court’s 1997 opinion on that issue is

inconsistent with this Court’s recent decision in Oubre v.

Entergy Operations, Inc., 522 US. --, 139 L.Ed.2d 849,

118 S.Ct. 838 (1998). See App. B6-B7, B11-16 (discussing

failure to tender back benefits received). If the judgment

is reversed on the statute of limitations issue, a remand

will be necessary to allow the court of appeals to address

the enforceability of the release, an issue it did not reach.

>

would still be eligible for the enhanced severance

package if the anticipated merger occurred and their

positions were terminated in the ensuing 24 months.

This resolution was not publicized to affected employees

at the time, however.

In April 1989 respondent’s CEO circulated a memo-

randum, addressed to "All Corporate Staff" (a category

that would have included petitioner), announcing the

substance of the January Board resolution. In his

complaint, petitioner denied knowing of the Board

resolution-or having seen the memorandum. At his

deposition he testified that he could not recall having

seen the memorandum at the time and that he did not

know of the Board resolution. He also stated, however,

that if the memorandum was, in fact circulated to all

corporate staff, he "should have seen it." In the same

passage of the deposition, petitioner commented that if

someone else in his position said the April memorandum

was circulated or posted, he would accept that as a fact.

App. A3.

Petitioner left respondent’s employment in J uly 1989.

He soon began a period of consulting with respondent,

but the consultancy was terminated eight months later. -

App. B7. Petitioner filed his original civil summons in

State court four years later, on J uly 12, 1993; he amended

it to add the federal civil rights claims at issue here in

December 1995, within the required 90 days after

receiving the right to sue from the Pennsylvania Human

Relations Commission, to which he had complained

within 300 days of the date when he contended he

discovered the factual basis for his discrimination claims

-- during discovery on the contract issues, in February

1995, when he first saw the January 1989 Board resolu-

’

PS ee Re

tion, which allowed those privy to it to receive all the

VRIF benefits, and also to receive additional stock

options, without resigning.

Statement of Lower Court Jurisdiction Under

Rule 14.1(g)(ii). The district court’s jurisdiction was

properly invoked in this case under 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331,

1332(a)(1), 1343(a)(4), 1367(a), and 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-

5(f)(3), in that the complain‘, as amended, alleged

federal civil causes of action arising under federal

statutes providing for civil rights, including Title VII, and

state law claims arising out of the same core of operative

facts, between citizens of different states, valued at more

than $75,000. The jurisdiction of the court below rested

upon 28 U.S.C. § 1291 and was timely invoked by Notice

of Appeal filed within 30 days after entry of the summary

judgment. Fed.R.App.P. 4(a).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The decision of the court of appeals upholding summary

judgment on the statute of limitations defense, allowing

isolated and ambiguous comments of a plaintiff in his

deposition to defeat his right to trial on the facts

underlying the application of the "discovery rule,"

conflicts with this Court’s cases on summary judgment

and the decisions of other circuits.

This Court should grant certiorari in this case to

establish a civil rights plaintiff's right to trial on disputed

facts underlying his or her assertion of the "discovery

rule," which defers accrual of a statute of limitations until

the injured party knew or reasonably should have known

a

of the injury.” Here, petitioner did not know he had been

injured until he knew persons of other races had been

treated better than he in connection with the 1988-89

VRIF.* In contravention of this Court’s cases and in

conflict with the decisions of other circuits, the Court

below deprived him of his right to trial on the question

whether he knew or should have known of that fact more

than 300 days before he brought his Title VII complaint

before the local human relations agency, 42 U.S.C.

§ 2000e-5(e),4 or more than two years before he sued

* See generally United States v. Kubrick, 444 U.S. 111

(1979); Urie v. Thompson, 337 U.S. 163, 168-71 (1949).

> That petitioner, a relatively high-ranking corporate

lawyer, was treated rather well -- a fact that respondents

repeatedly emphasized below and which both courts

below found occasion to imply in their opinions -- in no

way undermines his case. He was entitled to complain if

he had a basis for believing that others -- particularly,

similarly situated white corporate employees -- were

treated better.

* Both the district court and the court of appeals

misstated the statute of limitations for Title VII claims.

See App. A8, B20. It is not the complainant’s lawsuit that

must be brought within 180 days (or 300 days if a local

agency is involved) but rather the administrative charge of

discrimination. 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-S(e). The lawsuit must

be filed within 90 days of issuance of the "right to sue"

letter indicating that the agency has either dismissed the

complaint, or has been unable to conciliate it, or has been

unable to process it within the allowed time. Id. § 2000e-

5(f)(1); see Statute and Rule Involved.

-8. ; |

under 42 U.S.C. § 1981.

[t was respondent’s burden, in moving for summary

judgment on an affirmative defense, to show "that there

[wa]s no genuine issue as to any material fact and that

the moving party [wa]s entitled to a judgment as a matter

of law." Fed.R.Civ.P. 56(c); see Statute and Rule

Involved. The court below did not suggest any overriding

statutory policy reasons, nor could any be imagined, why

summary judgment opponents in civil rights actions

should be held to any special or greater burden than to

advance some evidence on which the factfinder might

rely to find in the complainant’s favor on the discovery

rule issue. Compare Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc.,

477 U.S. 242 (1986) (heightened duty of plaintiff under

Rule 56(e)° where substantive law imposes burden of

proof by clear and convincing evidence); Matsushita

Electric Industrial Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S.

574, 588-98 (1986) (identifying special considerations

where issue is existence of antitrust conspiracy). Rather,

this is an example of the ordinary case, where a legiti-

mate jury issue could be established merely by pointing

* See Goodman v. Lukens Steel Co., 482 U.S. 656 (1987)

(determining statute of limitations for § 1981 action

under Pennsylvania law). The same error in granting

summary judgment wrongly precluded him from proving

Count III of his complaint, charging a breach of the

covenant of good faith and fair dealing, which under state

law carried a four-year statute, App. A6-A7, and Count

VI, under Pennsylvania’s Human Relations Act, 43

Pa.Stat. § 955(a).

© See Statute and Rule Involved.

-9.

to evidence that a factfinder might credit as sufficient to

meet the plaintiff's burden by a preponderance. See

Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 321 (1986).

The court of appeals in this case, like the district

court, focused on the existence of statements in peti-

tioner’s deposition that could be understood by a fact-

finder as unhelpful to his position on the "discovery rule."

See App. A3. But petitioner did not concede respon-

dent’s case; his statements were not fatal admissions. He

testified that he did not remember having seen the April

1989 memorandum summarizing the January 1989 Board

resolution. Id. No one testified that petitioner had seen

it or eveu that it had been sent to him. Other witnesses

testified at depositions either that the memorandum had

been generally circulated or that they, themselves, had

received copies of it at the time. A factfinder might have

concluded from this testimony that petitioner, too, had

received the memorandum in 1989 and therefore "should

have" read and understood it. But the factfinder would

not be bound to draw this conclusion.

The finder of fact might instead conclude that peti-

tioner’s modestly-phrased statement of lack of recollec-

tion was sufficient proof that he had not been sent a copy

of the memorandum when others had, and that discov-

ering this was the essential evidence from which he first

"should have known" that respondent's allocation of

discretionary benefits to its corporate staff was tainted by

racial discrimination.

Petitioner’s theory was not that the April 1989

memorandum contained a "smoking gun" admission of

respondent's discriminatory conduct, but rather that his

discovery of the memorandum within material turned

over as a result of a request for document disclosure led

-10-

him to realize that the offer made in the memorandum

had been extended to others and not to him, because he

was not given a copy of the memo at the time. This, he

contended, was when he first "knew" or "should have

known" that he had been discriminated against on the

basis of race.’

Both courts below made much of petitioner’s deposi-

tion testimony to the effect that if the April 1989 memo-

randum was distributed to all corporate staff then he

"should have seen it." But a factfinder could as easily

have understood this comment as petitioner’s way of

saying that he believed the memorandum had not been

distributed to everyone, but rather only to a favored

group, because he hadn’t seen it at the time. Since he

had not seen it, and if it had been universally distributed

he should have seen it, then it followed that the memo-

randum had not been circulated to everyone.

Likewise, petitioner’s comment that "if someone said

they [i.e., respondent] did either one [i.e., either post or

circulate the April 1989 memorandum], I would accept

that" should not have been given the least favorable

interpretation to himself -- as some kind of offer to

dismiss his case if the other side could produce a single

contrary witness -- but rather as a generous-spirited

suggestion that any of his former colleagues who said

they had seen the memorandum were no doubt telling

’ That he earlier suspected racial discrimination at

SmithKline, or even that he complained about it, App.

B24 & n.13, does not prove that petitioner "should have

known" that he was not given the same notice of favorable

economic opportunities in 1989 as other comparable

corporate staff.

es

the truth. But that statement also cannot logically lead to

a conclusion that no rational factfinder could find for

petitioner on the discovery rule. To the contrary, the

summary judgment record was sufficient to find that peti-

tioner neither knew nor should have known until 1995

that he had been treated differently from others in 1988-

89 on account of race, based on his own testimony that he

did not believe he had seen the April 1989 memorandum,

i.e., that the document and its contents had been invidi-

ously kept from him when he "should" have "seen it," that

is, when it should have been distributed to him, too.

Other circuits have been far more favorable to

plaintiffs than the court below when reviewing summary

judgments granted on statute of limitations grounds, over

assertion of the "discovery rule." For example, in Sellars

v. Perry, 80 F.3d 243 (7th Cir. 1996), the court reversed

the grant of summary judgment on limitations grounds in

a § 1983 case, where there was no evidence that the

plaintiff in fact even knew he had been terminated; the

court remanded for further factual development on

whether he should have known.

Similarly, in non-civil rights contexts, many circuits

have found the "should have known" aspect of the

discovery rule a particularly poor candidate for summary

judgment. The District of Columbia Circuit (with then-

Judge Scalia on the panel) carefully reviewed the

standard for summary judgment on a "discovery rule"

issue that threatened to undo the plaintiff's legal

malpractice case, finding the issue a complex one

factually, on which reasonable minds could differ. Byers

vy. Burleson, 713 F.2d 856 (D.C.Cir. 1983).

In Maughan v. SW Servicing, Inc., 758 F.2d 1381

(10th Cir. 1985), the same principles required reversal of

<3.

watt a

a summary judgment on statute of limitations grounds,

where the issue was when the plaintiff's should have

known of a potential causal link between their family

members’ leukemia deaths and the defendant’s uranium

plant. Accord, Rose v. A.C.& S., Inc., 796 F.2d 294, 296-

98 (9th Cir. 1986) (summary judgment inappropriate on

question of when widow should have known asbestos that

caused husband’s death was unreasonably dangerous);

Foster v. Johns-Manville Sales Corp., 787 F.2d 390 (8th

Cir. 1986) (summary judgment inappropriate on question

of when widow should have known husband’s death was

caused by defendant’s asbestos). See also Cambridge

Plating Co. v. Napco, Inc., 991 F.2d 21, 26-30 (1st Cir.

1993) (business dispute over functioning of waste-water

plant; discussing "could have known" standard vs. "should

have known" for discovery rule; summary judgment

reversed).

The decisions of the courts below in petitioner

Jordan’s case are inconsistent with this Court’s guidance

and with the decisions of the other Circuits. This Court

should grant certiorari to clarify that standard for

summary judgment, and to resolve the conflict between

the ruling below and those of other circuits leaving to

factfinders the ultimately issue of what a plaintiff "should

have known" and when he "should have known" it.

<f%..

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, petitioner J. ST.

GIRARD JORDAN prays that this Court grant his

petition for a writ of certiorari to review the judgment

and opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Third Circuit and remand to that court to consider

reinstating his complaint against respondent.

Respectfully submitted,

By: PETER GOLDBERGER

Counsel of Record

ANNA M. DURBIN

PAMELA A. WILK

50 Rittenhouse Place

Ardmore, PA 19003-2276

(610) 649-8200

Attorneys for Petitioner

July 6, 1998.

-14-

APPENDIX A

NOT FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 97-1273

J. ST. GIRARD JORDAN,

Appellant

¥,

SMITHKLINE BEECHAM, INC.

On Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania

(D.C. No. 95-cv-05705)

District Judge: Hon. Ronald L. Buckwalter

Submitted Pursuant to Third Circuit LAR 34.1(a)

January 20, 1998

Before: SLOVITER, Chief Judge,”

LEWIS and GARTH, Circuit Judges

* Judge Sloviter was Chief J udge of the Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit at the time this appeal was

submitted. Judge Sloviter completed her term as Chief

Judge on January 31, 1998. —

(Filed FEB 04 1998)

MEMORANDUM OPINION

SLOVITER, Chief Judge.

Before us is the appeal of plaintiff Jack St. Girard

Jordan from the order granting summary judgment to his

former employer, SmithKline Beecham, Inc., on

[*2ordan’s complaint alleging employment discrimina-

tion and several state law claims. The relevant facts are

fully set forth in the district court’s opinion, which is

reported at 958 F.Supp. 1012 (E.D.Pa. 1997), and thus

we describe them only briefly.

I.

Jordan, an African American, had worked as an

attorney for SmithKline from 1974 until 1989. In 1988,

he accepted SmithKline’s offer to participate in a

“Voluntary Reduction in Force" ("VRIF") which offered

enhanced severance benefits provided the employee

signed a general release, signed up for the program by

December 7, 1988, and agreed to continue working for

up to one year at SmithKline’s request. Following

Jordan’s last day of employment in July, 1989, he

received the promised severance pay and benefits. He

also laier received a merit bonus for $23,300 for the

seven months he worked in 1989.

In January of 1989, the SmithKline Board of

Directors passed a resolution that those employees who

had not accepted the VRIF or who had accepted and

then revoked it would still be eligible for the VRIF

benefits in the event of a "change of control" and involun-

aa ce is paalll

tary termination during the next 24 months. Jordan

testified at his deposition that he understood that he

could revoke his acceptance of the VRIF package. App.

at 52-55. According to SmithKline, the company circu-

lated a memorandum on April 6, 1989, authored by

Henry Wendt, SmithKline’s Chief Executive Officer at

the time, to "All Corporate Staff Employees," (a group

which would include Jordan) summarizing the substance

of the January resolution. App. at 183, 246. Jordan

contends that he does not [*3]recall seeing the memo and

that he was unaware of its contents. At his deposition,

Jordan testified:

A: I don’t recall seeing [the memo dated

April 6th, 1989], but it [sic] went to all corpo-

rate staff employees, I should have seen it.

Q: Do you have any reason to believe, one

way or the other, that this document did not

go to all corporate staff employees?

A: No. Often times the policy was to or

procedure, I should say, was posted on the

Board, it may have been posted or it may have

gone out, but if someone said they did either

one, I would accept that.

App. at 91.

In January of 1989, SmithKline granted stock

options to those management level employees who had

not accepted the VRIF or who had revoked their accept-

ance. Jordan, who had accepted the VRIF and had not

revoked his acceptance, was not granted those options.

On July 12, 1993, Jordan began his state court

action which, ultimately, following removal to federal

court based on diversity jurisdiction and several amend-

ments, alleged in Count I, a claim for the cash value of

the January 1989 stock option grant; Count II, a claim for

an additional bonus amount for his work in 1989; Count

III, a claim for Breach of the Covenant of Good Faith

and Fair Dealing; Count IV, a claim for violation of Title

VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. 2000e et

seq.; Count V, a claim for violation of the Civil Rights

Act of 1[8]66, 42 U.S.C. § 1981; Count VI, a claim for

violation of the Pennsylvania Human Relations Act, 43

Pa. Stat. Ann. § 955(a); Count VII, a claim for Negligent

Misrepresentation. The last five claims were [*4]added

in December of 1995.

In granting summary judgment for SmithKline,

the district court held that the release that Jordan signed

as part of the VRIF program was valid and applicable.

Much of the argument on this appeal was directed to that

ground. However, we do not reach that issue because

other bases, also relied on by the district court, support

the court’s judgment.

II.

a. Count I

Count I of Jordan’s complaint alleging that he was

wrongfully excluded from the J anuary 1989 stock option

grant assumes entitlement because Jordan had received

stock options several times during his employment

‘pursuant to SmithKline’s published policies," and

SmithKline communicated its policy to award stock

option grants through its "Prospectus" and other notices

to employees.

In granting summary judgment on this count, the

district court relied on the decision of the Pennsylvania

Supreme Court in Morosetti v. Louisiana Land and

Exploration Co., 522 Pa. 492 (1989), where the Court

held that former employees did not have a contractual

At.

3

i

i

|

;

:

3

Da

right to severance benefits, even though the employer

may have had a "policy" of granting such benefits in the

past. In this case, Jordan only alleged that he was

granted stock options in the past and that the company

had a "policy" of granting stock options. As the district

court noted, the documents that are available in the

record regarding the company’s policy on granting stock

options specifically preserve the [*S]company’s discretion

to select the employees to receive the options and to

determine the number of shares to be distributed. 958

F.Supp. at 1021-22. The district court did not err in

holding that SmithKline was entitled to summary

judgment on this count.

b. Count II

In Count II, Jordan seeks an additional bonus.

Jordan alleges that the bonus of $23,300 SmithKline paid

him for the seven months that he worked in 1989 "repre-

sented less that [sic] 50% of the amount Piaintiff should

have received for employees in the same management

level," even though "[w]hen bonuses were declared they

were to be equal for all employees of the same manage-

ment level." App. at 12.

The district court held that under the principles

set out in Morosetti, Jordan had not put forth any

evidence showing that he had a binding contract with

SmithKline to be paid a certain bonus. As with Count I,

SmithKline was entitled to summary judgment on this

count.

ce. Count III

Count III of Jordan’s complaint alleges that

SmithKline breached its covenant of good faith and fair

dealing with him by 1) not informing him of the January

1989 Board resolution during a period of contractual

negotiations concerning his employment and 2) by failing

to “fulfill the reasonable and justified expectations of the

Plaintiff that all information would be made available to

him during the period of negotiations concerning his

separation." App. at 12-13.

The district court found that this claim was barred

by the statute of [*6] limitations. The limitations period

for a claim of-breach of the covenant of good faith and

fair dealing is four years, the period governing breaches

of contract. See Engstrom v. John Nuveen & Co.. 668

F.Supp. 953, 958 (E.D.Pa. 1987) (breach of good faith

and fair dealing claim treated as contract claim); 42

Pa.C.S.A. § 5525. The alleged wrong would have

occurred before December 8, 1988, or at the latest, given

Jordan’s ability to revoke before leaving, J uly of 1989.

As those events took place over 6 to 7 years before

Jordan filed his amended complaint in federal court in

December 1995, which first raised this claim, Count III is

not within the limitations period.

For this claim and the remainder of his claims,

Jordan attempts to invoke the "discovery rule" to argue

that the statute of limitations has not run. Jordan argues

that he first "discovered" the basis for his claims, the

January 1989 Board Resolution, in February of 1995

when he was conducting discovery on his state law claims

and thus that is when the statute of limitations began to

run.

In Oshiver v. Levin, Fishbein, Sedran & Berman,

38 F.3d 1380 (3d Cir. 1994), we reviewed the parameters

of the discovery rule. We stated, "A claim accrues in a

federal cause of action as soon as a potential claimant is

aware, or should be aware, of the existence of and

source of an injury .... Thus, the ‘polestar’ of the

-A6-

pias: EE Oe

Se ONE SRS ren area! i

discovery rule is not the plaintiff's actual knowledge of

injury, but rather whether the knowledge was known

[sic], or through the exercise of reasonable diligence,

knowable to the plaintiff." Id. at 1386 (citations omitted).

SmithKline introduced evidence that Wendt’s

. April 6, 1989 memorandum [*7]addressed to all corpo-

rate staff employees was distributed on or about that

date. Jordan himself conceded that "it may have been

posted or it may have gone out, but if someone said they

did either one, I would accept that." App. at 91. The

district court appropriately discounted the employee who

signed the one supporting affidavit in which he averred

that he also did not see the memorandum because he was

not employed at SmithKline at the time the April 1989

memorandum was distributed.

Inasmuch as there is no evidence that the April

1989 memorandum summarizing the January 1989 Board

Resolution had not been distributed as SmithKline

contends, and Jordan conceded that if it were he "should

have seen" it, under Oshiver’s "reasonable diligence"

standard, Jordan should have been aware of the memo-

randum in April of 1989. Thus, the statute of limitations

still acts as a bar to Jordan’s claims, since over six years

passed between the time that he filed his complaint in

1995 and the time that he "should have seen" the April

1989 memorandum summarizing the January 1989 Board

Resolution.

Nor are we persuaded to invoke the equitable

tolling doctrine, as Jordan seeks. The principal situations

for invocation of the equitable tolling doctrine are 1)

where the defendant has actively misled the plaintiff

respecting the plaintiff's cause of action; 2) where the

plaintiff in some extraordinary way has been prevented

from asserting his or her rights; or 3) where the plaintiff

has timely asserted his or her rights mistakenly in the

wrong forum. See Oshiver, 38 F.3d at 1387. This

doctrine is not applicable here, as there is no evidence

that SmithKline actively attempted to mislead

[*8 Jordan, and we affirm on the basis of the Statutory .

bar.

d. Count IV

Much of the discussion in the preceding section is

also applicable to the judgment on the other counts

disposed of on the basis of the statute of limitations. In

Count IV, Jordan alleges that SmithKline’s actions

constituted racial discrimination under Title VII because

it failed to inform him that he could revoke his accept-

ance of the VRIF without losing his eligibility for

enhanced benefits. The district court found that Jordan’s

Title VII claims were barred by the applicable statute of

limitations.

Title VII requires that a plaintiff file suit either

within 180 days of the alleged discrimination or, if the

plaintiff files first with a state or local agency, within 300

days. 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(e). The alleged discrimination

on which the failure to disclose claim is based took place

in 1988 when Jordan was negotiating his VRIF package

or, at the latest, in 1989 when the Board issued its resolu-

tion. Jordan did not file his administrative charges until

August of 1995, and thus the district court did not err in

holding the failure to disclose claim barred by the statute

of limitations.

Jordan also appears to assert a constructive

discharge claim, which is based on action which would

have taken place in 1988 when he was negotiating his

VRIF or when his employment was terminated in 1989.

-A8-

The constructive discharge claim began to accrue when

Jordan learned of his actual injury, which would have

been when his employment at SmithKline ended in July

of 1989. In Oshiver, which presented a comparable issue

regarding the termination of a female attorney, we held

that the statute [*9]began to run in April of 1990 when

the plaintiff was discharged and told that there was not

enough work to support her position, rather than in April

of 1991 when she learned that a male employee had been

hired to replace her. We stated that the fact that

"Oshiver may have been deceived regarding the

underlying motive behind her discharge is irrelevant for

the purposes of the discovery rule." Oshiver, 38 F.3d at

1391.

Although we note that Jordan made references to

racial discrimination at SmithKline in letters that Jordan

wrote to SmithKline officials in attempting to secure the

stock options, App. at 247-53, and this evidence may

belie his contention that he only recently "discovered" the

basis for his race discrimination claims, we need go no

further than our discussion above in affirming the

summary judgment on this claim.

e. Count V

The statute of limitations similarly bars Count V

of Jordan’s complaint which asserts discrimination under

the Civil Rights Act of 1[8]66, 42 U.S.C. § 1981, by

alleging that SmithKline interfered with his rights to

make and enforce contracts and his right to "full and

equal benefit of all laws." The district court found that

this claim also was barred by the applicable statute of

limitations.

The statute of limitations period for actions under

§ 1981 is two years after the date of the discrimination.

See Goodman v. Lukens Steel Co., 482 U.S. 656, 662

(1987). As the relevant events took place in 1988 and

1989, the limitations period had passed by the time the

§ 1981 count was added.

{*10]}f. Count VI

In Count VI, Jordan alleges discrimination in

violation of the Pennsylvania Human Relations Act

(PHRA), 43 Pa. Stat. Ann. § 955(a). The statute of limit-

ations under the PHRA is 180 days from the date of the

alleged discrimination. Oshiver, 38 F.3d at 1385.

Because the alleged discrimination here took place in

1988 and 1989, these claims, like Jordan’s Title VII

claims, are barred. Our earlier rejection of Jordan’s

effort to use the discovery rule is also applicable here.

g. Count VII

Count VII of Jordan’s complaint alleges negligent

misrepresentation on the basis of SmithKline’s "non-

communication of employment opportunities." The

statute of limitations governing this claim is two years.

Aamco Transmissions, Inc. v. Harris, 759 F.Supp. 1141,

1144 (E.D.Pa. 1991); 42 Pa.C.S.A. § 5524. The district

court found that this count also was barred by the appli-

cable statute of limitations, and we agree for the reasons

set forth above.

III.

For the foregoing reasons, we will affirm the

district court’s grant of summary judgment on all of

Jordan’s claims.

-A10-

‘

¥

:

4

2

3

‘

*

APPENDIX B

958 F.Supp. 1012

(70 Empl. Prac. Dec. 1 44,735)

J. St. Girard JORDAN, Plaintiff,

v.

SMITHKLINE BEECHAM, INC., Defendant.

Civil Action No. 95-5705.

United States District Court,

E.D. Pennsylvania.

April 3, 1997

*1015 Richard L. Gerson, Willan F. Joseph,

Philadelphia, PA, for Plaintiff.

M. Frances Ryan, Frederick G. Herold, Dechart, Price

& Rhoads, Philadelphia, PA, for Defendant.

MEMORANDUM

BUCKWALTER, District Judge.

I. INTRODUCTION

Plaintiff J. St. Girard Jordan ("Plaintiff") has brought

this action against SmithKline Beecham, Inc.

("SmithKline") alleging discrimination and other claims

related to his employment with SmithKline.

Currently before the Court is defendant SmithKline’s

Motion for Summary Judgment and the response of

Plaintiff thereto. For the following reasons, SmithKline’s

motion will be granted.

Il. STATEMENT OF FACTS!

A. Plaintiff's Work History

Plaintiff first joined SmithKline in 1963. Deposition

of J. St. Girard Jordan ("Jordan Dep.") at 11. In 1970,

Plaintiff left SmithKline in order to attend law school.

Jordan Dep. at 12. Plaintiff returned to SmithKline in

1974 and worked as an attorney in SmithKline’s Law

Department until 1989, when he resigned under the

terms of an enhanced separation package.

During Plaintiffs career at SmithKline, he was

promoted a number of times. Jordan Dep. at 15-18.

Plaintiff became General Counsel for the Animal Health

and Consumer Product business groups and, by 1986, he

became Assistant General Counsel for the corporation.

Jordan Dep. at 18. Plaintiff *1016 received steady salary

increases and periodic merit bonuses, so that by 1988-89

he was earning $104,507.00 per year. See SmithKline

Beecham’s Motion for Summary Judgment ("Smith-

Kline’s Motion") at Exhibit ("Ex.") A-1. Plaintiff also

received significant stock option grants between 1979 and

1988, that due to increases in stock prices, had a value of

approximately $500,000 after they vested and he

exercised them. Jordan Dep. at 64-67.

B. The December 1988 VRIF

In 1988 SmithKline underwent a reorganization.

Jordan Dep. at 96. In addition, rumors circulated during

' The following facts are based on the evidence of record

viewed in the light most favorable to Plaintiff as the

nonmoving party, as required when considering a motion

for summary judgment. See Sempier v. Johnson &

Higgins, 45 F.3d 724, 727 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 515 U.S.

1159, 115 S.Ct. 2611, 132 L.Ed.2d 854 (1995).

-B2-

} mae

|

this same time period regarding the possibility of a

merger with a British company.” SmithKline’s Motion at

Exhibit A, P 9; Jordan Dep. at 96, 108-112. The

reorganization and the likelihood of a merger caused

uncertainty among SmithKline’s executives and

employees about job security, since it appeared that the

company would have to change or eliminate positions.

Id.

In late 1988, SmithKline decided to offer employees

in certain business groups the chance to voluntarily

resign in exchange for enhanced severance benefits so

that the company would have to fire fewer people,

making the anticipated reorganization and/or merger

smoother. The voluntary resignation program was titled

"Voluntary Reduction in Force" ("VRIF"). SmithKline’s

Motion at Ex. A, P 2; Jordan Dep. at 97-99. pe:

In November 1988, the Chief Executive Officer of

SmithKline sent a letter to employees from selected

business groups, including Jordan’s group, offering a

VRIF opportunity. The VRIF package included the

following terms:

1. The employee had to sign a general release in

order to receive the benefits;

2. The employee had to sign up for the VRIF

program by December 7, 1988;

3. The employee had to work until the comple-

tion of the assignment as specified by the

Company, up to one year;

4. If a long-term employee (like Jordan)

complied with the terms of the program, he or

she would receive:

2 A merger between SmithKline Beckman and Beecham

was finally announced in April 1989.

-B3-

(a) Enhanced severance benefits

(b) Enhanced pension benefits

(c) A 6-month extension of medical and

dental benefits

(d) Pay for 1989 vacation and personal days.

See SmithKline’s Motion at Exs..A-2, A-3 and A-4.

Plaintiff decided to accept the VRIF package on

December 7 or 8, 1988, with his last day of work to be in

July 1989. Jordan Dep. at 107-110, 115. Plaintiff testified

that he liked the company and that the decision to resign

was a very difficult one that was motivated primarily by

uncertainty concerning whether his position would

survive the reorganization and/or the expected merger.

Jordan Dep. at 135-38.

C. The January 1989 Stock Option Grant

In January 1989, after Jordan declared his decision

to resign under the VRIF program, SmithKline granted

stock options to designated management level employees

who had either decided to remain with the company or

had rescinded their acceptances of the VRIF package.

SmithKline’s Motion at Ex. A, PP 7-8. Consistent with

this policy, SmithKline did not offer the stock option

grant to Plaintiff or to any other employee who had

accepted the VRIF package. Id.

D. The January 1989 Board Resolution

In late January 1989, the SmithKline Board of Direc-

tors passed a resolution which stated that the Corporate

staff employees who had not taken the VRIF package or

revoke their acceptances of it, would still be eligible for

the enhanced VRIF separation package if there was a

"change in control" of the corporation and their positions

were involuntarily terminated during the following 24

months. See SmithKline’s Motion at Ex. A-10. The

3

resolution did not guarantee that any position would

remain after the merger; in fact, it addressed what would

happen to *1017 severance benefits if the company had

to eliminate positions.

When it became clear in early April 1989 that a

change was imminent, Henry Wendt, the Chief Executive

Officer, circulated a memorandum to "All Corporate

Staff Employees" (of which Jordan was one) which

announced the substance of this resolution--namely that

they (the corporate staff) would be entitled to the

enhanced severance package if their jobs were eliminated

within 24 months from January 25, 1989. See Smith-

Kline’s Motion at Ex. A, PP 10-11; Ex. A-11; Ex. B, P 6;

and Exhibit C, P 4. Plaintiff testified that he does not

recall having seen this memorandum "but if it went to all

corporate staff employees, I should have seen it." Jordan

Dep. at 347. Plaintiff also testified that he had no reason

to believe that this document did not go to all corporate

staff employees and stated that "[o]ften times the policy

was to or procedure, I should say, was posted on the

Board, it may have been posted or it may have gone out,

but if someone said that they did either one, I would

accept that." Jordan Dep. at 347.

_ Avery limited number of SmithKline employees,

who like Plaintiff, took the VRIF package in December

1988, later decided to revoke their resignations.

SmithKline’s Motion at Ex. A, P 5. Plaintiff testified that

he understood that he could have revoked his VRIF

election and that he had discussions with his supervisors

about it. Jordan Dep. 144-51. He decided not to revoke

his acceptance, however, because he did not receive

assurances that his position would survive a reorganiza-

tion or a potential merger and he was concerned that he

-BS-

would lose the VRIF benefits. Jordan Dep. at 151-52.

Plaintiff remained as a SmithKline employee until July

14, 1989, at which point his resignation became effective.

E. The Release

Pursuant to his VRIF election, Plaintiff Signed a

general release which contained a covenant not to sue.?

See SmithKline’s Motion at Ex. A-5. During Plaintiff's

exit interview with Sheila McDowell on or about June 14,

1989, Plaintiff acknowledged that he had signed the

release and that he had completed his agreed-upon term

of employment so that he was eligible for the enhanced

severance package. See SmithKline’s Motion at Exs. B-4

and B-S. The severance election form, which plaintiff

signed during this interview, informed those who resigned

voluntarily: "You will not receive severance pay if you do

not execute the General Release form." SmithKline’s

Motion at B-5; Jordan Dep. at 163-64. Plaintiff testified

that he understood that he was obligated to "sign and

7 In the general release, Plaintiff agreed to release and

discharge:

SmithKline Beckman Corporation, its ...

Successors ... from all claims and/or causes of

action, known or unknown, which I may have or

claim to have against the Company arising from

or during my employment or as a result of the

termination of my employment, and I hereby

agree not to sue the Company on any such claim

or cause of action. This release includes but is

not limited to claims arising under federal, state

or local laws prohibiting employment

discrimination ....

EEE MOE oT eee

if

Aa

:

2

-

4

;

‘

4

4

8

4

—~——_—--

return the General Release form and work until the

conclusion of [his] assignment" in order to receive the

benefits. Jordan Dep. at 180.

F. SmithKline’s Payments to Plaintiff

Following his last day of employment in July 1989,

Plaintiff received $172,437 in severance pay plus back

vacation pay, an enhanced pension program, continued

medical benefits and all of the other promised

components of the VRIF package. Jordan Dep. at 118-

119; SmithKline’s Motion at Ex. A, P 12. To this date,

Plaintiff has never offered to refund the corporation for

the enhanced severance benefits he received.

SmithKline’ Motion at Ex. A, P 12.

In addition, Plaintiff negotiated a 2 1/2 year consul-

ting arrangement and stayed on as a consultant for the

SmithKline Consumer Product Division. Jordan Rep. at

14°, . 18-24. Pursuant to this consultant’s agreement,

Plainuff was to earn $2,550 per week for 25 1/2 hours of

work or approximately $132,600 per year. Jordan Dep. at

223-24. In early 1990, approximately eight months into

Plaintiff's consulting arrangement, SmithKline underwent

another reorganization and had to terminate Plaintiff's

agreement. Jordan *1018 Dep. at 229-30. Although

Plaintiff stopped working for SmithKline at that time, he

later received a final payment in 1990 of $137,222 under

this agreement. Jordan Dep. at 231-33. That same year,

SmithKline also gave Plaintiff a bonus of $23,300 for the

seven and a half months he worked at the company in

1989. SmithKline’s Motion at Ex. A, P 13.

As set forth above, between December 1988 (when

Plaintiff announced his decision to resign) and the

middle of 1990 (when Plaintiff's consulting agreement

ended), Plaintiff received the following compensation

from SmithKline:

-B7-

* Seven and a half months worth of his annuclized

salary of over $104,507 for his seven and a half

month period of employment in 1989

* Severance pay of $172,437

* Continued medical and dental payments, payment

for unused vacation days and eligibility for

enhanced pension benefits

* A $23,300 bonus for his seven and a half months

work in 1989

* $2,550 per week for the approximately eight

- months that he worked under the consulting

agreement

* $137,222 in payment when SmithKline terminated

his consulting agreement

After he resigned, Plaintiff also exercised his

accumulated stock options and received approximately

$500,000 more. Jordan Dep. at 64-67.

G. Procedural History and Plaintiff's Current Claims

On July 12, 1993, approximately four and one half

years after the January 1989 stock option grant, Plaintiff

filed a Praecipe for a Writ of Summons in the Philadel-

phia Court of Common Pleas. SmithKline’s Motion at

Ex. D. Plaintiff's Civil Cover Sheet indicated that he

would file a contract claim worth more than $50,000.

The parties eventually removed the case to this

Court based on diversity of jurisdiction. Subsequently,

Plaintiff filed a Complaint which contained two counts.

SmithKline’s Motion at Ex. E. In Count I, Plaintiff stated

that SmithKline should have included him in the stock

option grant in 1989 and he sought cash value of this

grant. In Count II, Plaintiff alleged that the bonus he

received for his seven and one half months of work in

1989 was less than he should have received and he sought

payment of more money to make up for an unspecified

alleged shortfall.

This case was later remanded to the Court of

Common Pleas due to a jurisdictional defect. After a

passage of time, Plaintiff hired another attorney and

notified counsel for SmithKline in August 1995 that

Plaintiff had decided to amend his complaint to add a

federal race discrimination charge and other similar

claims. SmithKline then removed the case to this Court

again, this time on the basis of the proposed new federal

statutory claims.

Shortly before filing the Amended Complaint,

Plaintiff filed a charge of race discrimination with the

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission ("EEOC")

and the Pennsylvania Human Relations Commission

("PHRC"). See SmithKline’s Motion at Exs. F and G.

His charge read, in its entirety, as follows:

I am the victim of racial discrimination by my

former employer, SmithKline Beecham, Inc.

("SmithKline").

On or about February 13, 1995, I learned that

SmithKline favored similarly situated white

employees over me with regard to the terms

and conditions of my employment. Specifically,

SmithKline in 1989 discriminated against me

with regard to a separation package that the

company offered.

White employees were given favorable treat-

ment and offered the opportunity to revoke

acceptance of a separation package to retain

their jobs and if terminated within 24 months to

retain entitlement to the enhanced separation

package. I was not given the opportunity and

-B9-

thereby discriminated against and suffered

detrimentally with respect to the terms and

conditions of my employment.

SmithKline’s Motion at Ex. F.

After the case was removed to this Court, Plaintiff

moved for leave to amend his complaint to add his new

claims. On December *1019 21, 1995, Plaintiff filed his

Amended Complaint, which contains the following

claims:

Count I: The original stock option claim

Count II; The original bonus claim

Count III: A claim for breach of the covenant of

good faith and fair dealing with respect to "negoti-

ations" concerning Plaintiff's employment and

termination, based on SmithKline’s purported

failure to inform Plaintiff of the January 1989

board resolution extending VRIF eligibility.

Count IV; A Title VII claim for race discrimination,

including a claim that Plaintiff was constructively

discharged, based on SmithKline’s purported

failure to inform Plaintiff of the January 1989

board resolution extending VRIF eligibility.

Count V: A race discrimination charge under 42

U.S.C. § 1981 based on the same claim.

Count VI: A race discrimination charge under the

Pennsylvania Human Relations Act based on the

same claim.

Count VII; A claim for negligent misrepresentation

due to a "non- communication" of information by

SmithKline, again based on the company’s

purported failure to inform Plaintiff of the

January 1989 board resolution extending VRIF

eligibility.

-B10-

Si) ge ee a a.

Ow ee ee

Defendant SmithKline responded with an Amended

Answer, as well as two similar Counterclaims. Smith-

Kline’s Counterclaims allege that Plaintiff violated the

terms of the general release he executed in order to

receive his VRIF benefits and breached the covenant not

to sue contained in the release when he filed the instant

lawsuit.

III. DISCUSSION

A. Summary Judgment Standard

Summary judgment is appropriate only when the

admissible evidence fails to demonstrate a dispute of

material fact and the moving party is entitled to judgment

as a matter of law. Sempier v. Johnson & Higgins, 45 F.3d

724, 728 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 515 U.S. 1159, 115 S.Ct.

2611, 132 L.Ed.2d 854 (1995). When the moving party

(here, SmithKline) does not bear the burden of persua-

sion at trial, the moving party must show that the

nonmoving party’s (here, J. St. Girard Jordan) evidence

is insufficient to carry its burden of persuasion at trial.

Id.; Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 323- 25, 106

S.Ct. 2548, 2552-54, 91 L.Ed.2d 265 (1986). Thereafter,

the nonmoving party creates a genuine issue of material

fact if sufficient evidence is provided to allow a

reasonable jury to find for him at trial. Anderson v.

Liberty Lobby, 477 U.S. 242, 248, 106 S.Ct. 2505, 2510, 91

L.Ed.2d 202 (1986).

B. Argument

1. The Release

[1] As discussed earlier, Plaintiff signed a release

that contained a covenant not to sue on December 7,

1988 in order to be eligible to receive the VRIF package.

Plaintiff also reaffirmed the release in the severance

election form that he signed in his exit interview in June

1989.

-B1l-

As a threshold issue, SmithKline asserts that Plain-

tiff's claims are barred solely on the basis of this release

because (1) Plaintiff ratified the release by not returning

the consideration he received and (2) Plaintiff has not

identified any misrepresentation on which he bases his

claims of fraud. In response, Plaintiff argues that this

release does not bar his claims because (1) certain causes

of action accrued and were discovered after the release

was signed and (2) SmithKline made material

misrepresentations to secure the release. I agree with

SmithKline’s arguments and adopt them as follows.

[2] A long line of Pennsylvania cases hold that a

release covers only those matters which may be fairly said

to have been within the contemplation of the parties

when the release was given. Restifo v. McDonald, 426 Pa.

5, 230 A.2d 199, 201 (1967) (citations omitted). There-

fore, as Plaintiff correctly argues, the general words of

the release "will not be construed as to bar the enforce-

ment of a claim which has not accrued at the date of the

release." Jd.

[3][4] However, a party cannot evade the clear

language of the release by contending *1020 that he did

not subjectively intend to release the claim in question.

Buttermore v. Aliquippa Hosp., 522 Pa. 325, 561 A.2d 733,

735 (1989). Likewise, where a release includes unknown

claims, a party cannot avoid its effect by arguing that he

did not know of the matter in question when he signed

the release. Jd.; See also Emery v. Mackiewicz, 429 Pa.

322, 240 A.2d 68, 70 (1968) (release of unknown claims

bars claims of injuries which were discovered after the

execution of the release).

In this case, Plaintiff's claims arose out of his

employment or the termination of his employment,

-B12-

. OSI LSA NI i aN Apion ox.

Be SG ot we le 2. bs ee

3

subjects specifically covered in the Plaintiff's general

release. Additionally, Plaintiff signed the severance

election form, thereby reaffirming his intent to release all

claims in exchange for payment of enhanced severance in

the amount of $172,437. This reaffirmation of his release

clearly occurred. after all of the events which form the

basis of the suit that Plaintiff now seeks to assert.

[5] Plaintiff next contends that the release is void

because it was induced by fraud. However, Plaintiff

completely ignores the argument that a claimant may not

seek to invalidate a release based on purported fraud

where he failed to return to the other party the consider-

ation he received for the release. Plaintiff's failure to do

so constitutes ratification of the release. See Blistein v.

St. John’s College, 74 F.3d 1459, 1466-67 (4th Cir.1996)

(plaintiff who released all claims arising from termination

of employment was barred from pursuing claim because

he ratified the release by retaining the severance benefits

after he discovered the purported basis for voiding the

release)*; Blakeney v. Lomas Info. Sys., Inc., 65 F.3d 482,

485 (Sth Cir.1995), cert. denied, --- U.S. ----, 116 S.Ct.

1042, 134 L.Ed.2d 189 (1996) (same); Ponzoni v. Kraft

* In Blistein, the plaintiff had not even signed the release

form which his employer had requested that he sign. 74

F.3d at 1464. The court still found an implied release

because the employee had clearly elected to participate

in the voluntary retirement program in exchange for

valuable benefits and had failed to return the benefits

before bringing suit. Jd. at 1466-67.

> In Blakeney, the court refused to permit a plaintiff who

had released all claims "growing out of any legal

restrictions on the company’s right to terminate its

-B13-

General Foods, 774 F.Supp. 299, 316 (D.N.J 1991), aff'd,

968 F.2d 14 (3d Cir.1992) (same).

(6}[7}[8] More fundamentally, Plaintiff has stil] not

identified the misrepresentation upon which he bases his

claim of fraud. In order to state a prima facie case of

fraud, a plaintiff must show 3

(1) a representation; (2) which is material to the

transaction at hand; (3) made falsely, with

knowledge of its falsity or recklessness as to

whether it is true or false; (4) with the intent of

misleading another into relying upon it; (5) justi-

fiable reliance on the misrepresentation; and (6)

the resulting injury was proximately caused by

the reliance.

Gibbs v. Ernst, 538 Pa. 193, 647 A.2d 882, 889 (1994).

The misrepresentation must be "a misrepresentation of a

past or present material fact"--"a prediction of a future

event is not a misrepresentation." BMB Assocs. v.

Ortwein, 1994 WL 314330, at *4 (E.D.Pa. June 29, 1994),

aff'd, 60 F.3d 813 (3d Cir.1995).

In this case, it appears that Plaintiff has only alleged

the "non-communication" of the possibility of a future

(continued)

employees" to bring a claim based on the company’s

failure to rehire the plaintiff after he had executed the

release. 65 F.3d at 484. The court held that such a claim

is not a "future claim," but rather is simply an attempt to

revive a claim the plaintiff was paid to release. Jd. at 485.

Since the claim arose out of the termination, it was

barred by the release which the plaintiff had ratified by

refusing to return the consideration that the company

had paid. Id.

-B14-

bitte ie

Se Te eee ae SN ee eT ee

event--the possibility that in January 1989 the Board

would decide to pass a resolution that changed the VRIF

rules for certain employees who had not yet accepted the

VRIF package or who had elected it and then revoked

the election. Plaintiff has offered no evidence that

anyone in the Company knew on December 8, 1988 when

Plaintiff first signed the release that the Board would

pass a resolution in Januaiy 1929.

Plaintiff, however, contends that this board resolu-

tion may not have been a future event because Smith-

Kline may have contemplated *1021 allowing certain

employees to revoke their VRIF acceptances before

December 7, 1989 and therefore misled Plaintiff into

signing the release by representing that he would lose the

enhanced benefits. In making this argument, Plaintiff

ignores the evidence that, in a memorandum dated April

6, 1989, SmithKline informed "All Corporate Staff

Employees" of the very facts which Plaintiff claims that

the company concealed from him. As Plaintiff re-

affirmed his general release after this disclosure, he

cannot sustain the claim that the Court should invalidate

the release due to fraudulent concealment.®

® In his deposition, Plaintiff states that he does not recall

having seen this memorandum "but [as] it went to all

corporate staff employees, I should have seen it." Jordan

Dep. at 347. Plaintiff also testified that he had no reason

to believe that this document did not go to all corporate

staff employees and stated that "[o]ften times the policy

was to or procedure, I should say, was posted on the

Board, it may have been posted or it may have gone out,

but if someone said that they did either one, I would

accept that." Jd.

-B1S-

Although SmithKline is entitled to summary

judgment solely on the basis of the release, I will address

Plaintiff's additional claims.

2. Count I--Contractual Right to the January 1989

Stock Option Grant

[9] In Count I of the Amended Complaint, Plaintiff

alleges a breach of contract claim as he contends that

SmithKline should have included him in the January

1989 stock option grant. SmithKline argues that (1)

Plaintiff's claims are barred by the statute of limitations

and (2) Plaintiff cannot prove that he had a contract

which required SmithKline to issue any stock options to

Plaintiff. As I agree that SmithKline retained the

authority to determine which of its employees would

receive stock options, I conclude that Plaintiff did not

have a contractual right to the 1989 stock option grant.’

[10] In order to prove an enforceable contract in

which an employer grants a specific benefit to an

employee, the employee must prove that the employer

communicated an intentional offer with definite terms,

that the employer intended to be bound by the offer and

that the employer made the offer to induce the employee

to accept or continue employment with the company.

Morosetti v. Louisiana Land and Exploration Co., 522 Pa.

492, 564 A.2d 151, 152 (1989).

In Morosetti, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court held

that employees did not have a contractual right to

severance pay despite the fact that the company had a

policy of granting it. The court held that it was insuffi-

” As I will reach a decision on the merits, I will not

address SmithKline’s statute of limitations argument in

this instance.

-B16-

eas. ee ee

cient for an employee to show that the employer

occasionally granted these benefits or even that the

employer had a policy awarding these benefits to all

employees. Morosetti, 564 A.2d at 152-53. In support of

its conclusion, the court reasoned that

It is basic contract law that one cannot suppose,

believe, suspect, imagine or hope that an offer

has been made.... Nor can one be bound

because they are contemplating making an offer,

or that they would or should have or that

someday they might.

A company may indeed have a policy upon

which they intend to act, given certain circum-

stances or events, but unless they communicate

that policy as part of a definite offer of employ-

ment they are free to change as events may

require.

Id.

As in Morosetti, Plaintiff has only alleged that

SmithKline had a program for stock option grants and

that SmithKline had granted Plaintiff stock options in the

past. Amended Complaint at PP 13-15. Plaintiff does

not contend that anybody ever promised to grant him the

January 1989 stock option grant; rather he only claims

that he was among the employees of the corporation who

were eligible to receive stock option grants. Amended

Complaint at P 14.

Moreover, the documents governing SmithKline’s

stock option program provide that the company retained

the discretion at all times to select the persons to receive

the options and to determine the number of shares to be

distributed. See SmithKline at Ex. A, PP 6-8; Ex. A-6 at 3

(May 20, 1997 *1022 Prospectus); Ex. A-8 at 1 (Incentive

-B17-

Compensation Plan). Thus, as Plaintiff has no

contractual right to the grant, his claim fails.8

3. Count II--Contractual Right to a Larger Bonus

In Count II of the Amended Complaint, Plaintiff

a alleges that SmithKline "paid Plaintiff a bonus in 1990

which represented less that [sic] 50% of the amount

Plaintiff should have received for employees in the same

management level." Amended Complaint at P 29.9

® SmithKline also argues that Plaintiff was ineligible for

the stock option grant for the additional reason thata

grantee could not exercise this stock option grant unless

he or she remained with the company for a year or more

and that Plaintiff would be leaving before this time

expired. See SmithKline’s Motion at Ex. A-7, D000534.

Plaintiff counters that SmithKline should have included

him in the stock option grant because the corporation

later accelerated the exercise date as part of the

Beecham merger. As such, Plaintiff concludes that

SmithKline could not exclude him on the basis that only

employees who planned to remain with the company for

a year or more were eligible.

Plaintiff's argument fails because the exercise date is

irrelevant. Here, SmithKline retained the discretion to

determine which employees would receive stock options.

See SmithKline’s Motion at Ex. A, PP 6-8; Ex. A-6 at zx

Ex. A-8 at 1. As stock options served to provide

incentive for future performance, SmithKline had the

right to offer them only to employees who either revoked

their VRIF acceptances or who elected to remain with

the company. See SmithKline’s Motion at Ex. A, P 8.

9 In 1990, Plaintiff received $23,300 for his seven and a

half months of employment before his resignation on July |

-B18-

I

er al ae aor es

SmithKline argues that Plaintiff cannot prove a right to a

larger bonus as (1) the level of bonuses was within the

company’s discretion and (2) SmithKline never promised

Plaintiff a particular bonus.

As discussed above, the burden falls upon the

employee to prove a definite offer to pay an additional

benefit. Morosetti, 564 A.2d at 152-53. In this case,

Plaintiff testified that the level of bonuses for individual

employees was within the discretion of the corporation. !°

Since Plaintiff admits that he had no contract for

(continued)

14, 1989.

10 Tn particular, Plaintiff stated that "the very nature of

bonuses is with discretion. I mean, bonus is something

that’s not guaranteed, that’s the very nature of the

bonus." Jordan Dep. at 62-63. Plaintiff then testified as

follows:

Q: Did anyone at SmithKline ever promise you

either orally or in writing, that you would get a

bonus at a certain level for services rendered in

1989?

A: Not to my knowledge, no. No, I mean, it’s

accepted, as a matter of general operating policy

since I’ve been there, that if the corporation met

certain levels of profitability, they paid bonuses.

Now, no one went around and told individuals

that you were going to get that bonus because it

was an accepted policy of the corporation year in

year out. No one tapped me on the shoulder and

said, Jack, you’re getting a bonus next year.’

Jordan Dep. at 63.

-B19-

payment of a bonus at any particular level for service

rendered in 1989, I conclude that SmithKline is also

entitled to judgment on Count II of the Amended

Complaint.

4. Race Discrimination Claims

Plaintiff asserts race discrimination claims under .

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C.

§§ 2000e et seg. (Count IV), under 42 U.S.C. § 1981

(Count V) and under the Pennsylvania Human Relations

Act, 43 Pa.S.A. § 955(a) (Count VI).

Again, SmithKline’s attack on Plaintiff's allegations

is two-pronged. First, SmithKline contends that Plaintiff

did not promptly file his claims with the EEOC and

therefore his charges are time-barred. Second, Smith-

Kline argues that Plaintiff has adduced no evidence that

the company’s decision was pretextual. Plaintiff disputes

the alleged untimeliness and further suggests that he was

not informed of the opportunity to revoke his VRIF

acceptance due to his race.

I agree with SmithKline that Plaintiff did not file his

claims within the time period allotted under the statute

of limitations and that Plaintiff has not provided any

evidence of discrimination.

a. Statute of Limitations

[11] Under Title VII, a plaintiff may bring suit within

180 days of the alleged discrimination; however, if the

plaintiff initially filed a complaint with a state or local

agency with the authority to adjudicate the claim, he or

she is allotted 300 days from the date of the alleged

discrimination within which to file a charge of employ-

ment discrimination *1023 with the EEOC. 42 U.S.C.

-B20-

§ 2000e-5(e).!

[12}[13][14][15] In order to extend this time period in

which to file charges of discrimination, a plaintiff may

invoke the discovery rule.!* Under the discovery rule, a

11 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(e) states in the pertinent part:

A charge under this section shall be filed within

; one hundred and eighty days after the alleged

i unlawful employment practice occurred ...

7 except that in a case of unlawful employment

practice with respect to which the person

aggrieved has initially instituted proceedings

with a State or local agency with authority to

. grant or seek relief from such practice or to

institute criminal proceedings with respect —

: thereto upon receiving notice thereof, such

! charge shall be filed by or on behalf of the

person aggrieved within three hundred days after

the alleged unlawful employment practice

occurred ....

12 A plaintiff may also employ equitable tolling to extend

this deadline. Equitable tolling functions to stop the

statute of limitations from running where the claim’s

: accrual date has already passed. Oshiver v. Levin,

| Fishbein, Sedran & Berman, 38 F.3d 1380, 1387 (3d

Cir.1994). Equitable tolling is appropriate in three

principle although not exclusive situations: (1) where the

defendant has actively misled the plaintiff respecting the

plaintiff's cause of action; (2) where the plaintiff in some

extraordinary way has been prevented from asserting his

or her rights; or (3) where the plaintiff has asserted his or

her rights mistakenly in the wrong forum. /d. (citations

-B21-

Sisal ee.

;

iil

plaintiff may toll the time limit for filing a charge until he

"has discovered, or, by exercising reasonable diligence,

should have discovered (1) that he or she has been

injured, and (2) that the injury has been caused by

another party’s conduct." Oshiver v. Levin, Fishbein,

Sedran & Berman, 38 F.3d 1380, 1386 (3d Cir.1994)

(emphasis added).

[16][17] The awareness which is at issue under the

discovery rule is the plaintiff's awareness or constructive

awareness of his "actual injury," not the awareness that

this injury constitutes a legal wrong. Jd. at 1386. In order

to take advantage of the discovery rule, the plaintiff must

"take reasonable measures to uncover the existence of an

injury." Jd. at 1390.

In Oshiver, the defendant (a law firm) dismissed

plaintiff (an attorney) on April 10, 1990 with the explana-

tion that the firm did not have sufficient work to sustain

her position. Jd. at 1384. On May 21, 1991 ata hearing

to secure unemployment compensation, plaintiff

discovered that the firm had instead hired a male

attorney to assume her former duties. id. at 1385. The

district court granted defendant’s motion to dismiss,

holding that plaintiff's claims were time-barred as the

statutory limitations period had begun to run on the day

that the firm dismissed her. Jd.

On appeal, the Third Circuit ruled that the discovery

rule does not preserve a claim where the claimant knew

of her injury (the fact that she was no longer employed)

(continued)

omitted). As Plaintiff does not assert that SmithKline

engaged in any of the above delay tactics, I will not apply

the equitable tolling doctrine in this case.

-B22-

a

..

1

4

4

2

e

but she did not discover some of the alleged evidence

(the fact that the firm had replaced her with a male

attorney) until it was too late to file a claim. Oshiver, 38

F.3d at 1391. if

in this case, Plaintiff contends that he did not

discover that he had a legal claim against SmithKline

until February 1995, when, as part of the discovery in this

case, he received a copy of the January 1989 Board Reso-

lution which caused him to believe that other SmithKline

corporate staff employees were treated differently from

Plaintiff in the administration of the VRIF program when

they were informed of its 24 month extension. However,

Plaintiff has not identified any injury which he first

discovered in 1995. The only thing that Plaintiff claims to

have discovered is the purported evidence of his claim of

discrimination, ie., the January 1989 Board minutes.

The injuries Plaintiff is claiming in this suit are (1) the

fact that he did not receive certain stock options and

(2) the fact that he is no longer employed by SmithKline.

Plaintiff does not dispute that he knew of those facts

much more than 300 days before he filed his administra-

tive charges.

Moreover, it is undisputed that SmithKline commun-

icated the substance of the January 1989 board resolution

to all corporate staff on April 6, 1989, in a memorandum

which Plaintiff testified he "should be seen." See Jordan

*1024 Dep. at 347-48; SmithKline’s Motion at Ex. A-11,

(April 6, 1989 Memorandum); Ex. A, PP 10-11; Ex. B, PP

6-7; Ex. C, P 4. Even if Plaintiff did not, in fact, see the

April 6, 1989 memo, he cannot dispute that if he had

exercised the reasonable diligence required by the

discovery rule he should have seen it when it was circu-

lated to all corporate staff.

-B23-

Finally, as a general matter, it is clear from Plaintiff's

own correspondence that Plaintiff cannot possibly claim

that a race discrimination suit never entered his mind

before 1995. In Plaintiff's letters to SmithKline in May

and June 1992, he complained about race discrimination

at SmithKline and the alleged "special, private arrange-

ments" whereby executives purportedly received more

favorable treatment in the administration of the VRIF

program.'* See SmithKline’s Motion at Exs, A-14 and A-

15. Yet he did not pursue such claims for several years

after he wrote those letters.

Plaintiff's second and related basis for his race

discrimination claims, his alleged constructive discharge,

is also untimely for the same reasons set forth above.

The discovery rule cannot toll the time limit for filing a

charge because the Plaintiff's purported injury

(discharge) occurred with his full knowledge by July

1989, when he resigned from SmithKline. See Oshiver,

38 F.3d at 1386.

13 Specifically, on May 11, 1992, Plaintiff claimed that:

Not to receive this value due would constitute a

double economic impact for me. It is an obvious

fact that African Americans (and in many

instances, women) have not received anything

approaching the level of advancement and

income for equal service, time and contribution.

SmithKline’s Motion at Ex. A-14.

Plaintiff also stated that there was a "blatant case" for

race discrimination should one be interested and that the

“implications of race ... discrimination" were his

"motivating force" because "the structural bias permeates

all levels." SmithKline’s Motion at Ex. A-15.

-B24-

CE i IO LDN TED SPOR COA iti Ns aie bh

[18] Plaintiff's additional race discrimination claims

in Count V (under 42 U.S.C. § 1981) and Count VI

(under the Pennsylvania Human Relations Act) fail as

well. The statute of limitations under 42 U.S.C. § 1981 in

federal court in Pennsylvania is two years from the date

of the alleged discrimination. Goodman v. Lukens Steel

Co., 482 U.S. 656, 662, 107 S.Ct. 2617, 2621-22, 96

L.Ed.2d 572 (1987). Plaintiff did not assert a § 1981

claim until 1995, over six years after the alleged

discrimination and after Plaintiff knew or should have

known of the substance of the board resolution.

Therefore, his § 1981 claim is barred by the statute of

limitations, as well.

[19][20] The time limit for filing a charge under the

Pennsylvania Human Relations Act ("PHRA") is 180

days after the occurrence of the alleged unlawful employ-

ment practice. Oshiver, 38 F.3d at 1385. Plaintiff did not

file a charge with the PHRC within 180 days of the

alleged employment practice or within 180 days of the

date he knew or should have known of the substance of

the Board Resolution. As such, the PHRA claim in

Count VI is also time-barred.

b. Merits

Even though Plaintiff's race discrimination claims

are untimely, I will address his substantive arguments.

[21] Plaintiff's race discrimination claims are based

on Plaintiff's allegations that SmithKline purposely did

not inform him of the Board’s January 1989 resolution

because of his race. Plaintiff contends that he has estab-

lished his prima facie case because (1) he is black, (2) his

job qualifications were undisputed, (3) he was treated

less favorably than white employees and (4) others

similarly situated were not subject to the same adverse

-B25-

action. In response, SmithKline asserts that it did not

treat white employees more favorably than black and that

it informed all corporate staff of the January 1989 resolu-

tion when it circulated the April 6, 1989 memorandum.

[22] When the defendant offers a legitimate reason

for its employment action, the plaintiff generally must

submit evidence which: (1) casts sufficient doubt upon

each of the legitimate reasons proffered by the defendant

so that a factfinder could reasonably concluded that each

reason was a fabrication *1025 or (2) allows the fact-

finder to infer that discrimination was more likely than

not a motivating or determinative cause of the adverse

employment action. Fuentes v. Perskie, 32 F.3d 759, 762

(3d Cir.1994).

In this case, the only evidence that Plaintiff has

provided to support his claim that SmithKline only

informed white employees of the substance of the

January 1989 board resolution is the Affidavit of

Matthew D. Clayton, Esq., a former SmithKline

employee. See Plaintiff's Motion in Opposition to

Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment ("Plaintiff's

Motion") at Ex. B. This employee, who states that he did

not receive the April 6, 1989 memorandum, also avers

that his employment with SmithKline terminated in

February 1989. Id. Since he was not employed at the

company when SmithKline issued this memorandum, it is

not surprising that he did not receive it. As such, his

testimony is irrelevant.

On the contrary, one of the employees, who specifi-

cally recalls receiving the April 1989 memorandum, is

African American. See SmithKline’s Motion at Ex. C, PP

4-5. Even more compelling is the fact that Plaintiff

-B26-

5 Bias i att Bees

himself does not even deny that the information set forth

in the memorandum was sent to all corporate staff.

[23][24][25] Plaintiff's related claim of constructive

discharge fails as well. Constructive discharge may exist

where an employer knowingly permitted conditions of

such intolerable discrimination that a reasonable person

would feel compelled to resign. Spangle v. Valley Forge

Sewer Auth., 839 F.2d 171, 173 (3d Cir.1988); Gray v.

York Newspapers, Inc., 957 F.2d 1070, 1079 (3d Cir.1992).

However, an employee can still maintain a constructive

discharge claim even if an employer treats him or her in a

“civil, businesslike, gentlemanly fashion;" verbal or

physical harassment is not a necessary element. EEOC v.

Hay Assocs., 545 F.Supp. 1064, 1087 (E.D.Pa.1982).

Here, Plaintiff argues that the fact that SmithKline

allegedly kept certain information from him created an

intolerable workplace. Yet, he has only testified that he

had "great affection" for the company and that he wanted

to continue his work. Jordan Dep. at 136, 138, 414, 416.

In light of these comments and the fact that Plaintiff does

not assert that his working conditions were unpleasant or

difficult but merely that SmithKline kept information

from him, I will dismiss Plaintiff's constructive discharge

claim, as well.

(26][27] Finally, Plaintiffs claim under 42 U.S.C.

§ 1981 (Count V) is also meritless for all the above

14 Plaintiff testified that he had no reason to believe that

this document did not go to all corporate staff employees

and he specifically stated that "[o]ften times the policy

was to or procedure, I should say, was posted on the

Board, it may have been posted or it may have gone out,

but if someone said they did either one, I would accept

that." Jordan Dep. 347

-B27-

reasons and because Plaintiff has not alleged discrimina-

tion prohibited by § 1981. The Civil Rights Act of 1991

amendments to § 1981 are not applicable to conduct

which occurred before November 21, 1991. Rivers v.

Roadway Exp., Inc., 511 U.S. 298, 301-03, 114 S.Ct. 15 10,

1514, 128 L.Ed.2d 274 (1994). Claims previous to this

date are governed by Patterson v. McLean Credit Union,

491 U.S. 164, 185-86, 109 S.Ct. 2363, 2377-78, 105

L.Ed.2d 132 (1989). Under Patterson, § 1981 only applies

to claims based on certain hiring or promotion decisions.

Id. As Plaintiff has not alleged a hiring or promotion

claim, I will grant summary judgment for SmithKline.

5. Remaining State Law Claims

In Count III of the Amended Complaint, Plaintiff

states a cause of action for the breach of the covenant of

good faith and fair dealing based on SmithKline’s alleged

failure to provide Plaintiff with notice of the January 25,

1989 board resolution and to otherwise ensure that "all

information was available to him" during the course of

the negotiations leading up to the signing of Plaintiff's

general release on December 8, 1988. Amended

Complaint at PP 31-32; Jordan Dep. at 391. In Count

VII, Plaintiff asserts a claim of misrepresentation based

on the same alleged failure to provide information.

Amended Complaint at P 44. I will grant summary

judgment for SmithKline on these Counts, as well.

*1026 a. Statute of Limitations

[28][29] A claim for breach of good faith and fair

dealing should be treated as a breach of contract claim.

Engstrom v. John Nuveen & Co., Inc., 668 F.Supp. 953,

958 (E.D.Pa.1987) (claim purporting to be based ona

breach of good faith and fair dealing in an at-will employ-

ment relationship is analyzed as a breach of contract

-B28-

claim). The statute of limitations governing a breach of

contract claim is four years. See 42 Pa.C.S.A. § 5525.

Count III is therefore time-barred, since the alleged

breach occurred prior to December 8, 1988, but Plaintiff

did not assert the claim in Count III until he filed his

Amended Complaint in December 1995, seven years

later.

|30] Count VII, is governed by the two year statute of

limitations for negligence. See 42 Pa.C.S.A. § 5524;

AAMCO Transmissions, Inc. v. Harris, 759 F.Supp. 1141,

1144 (E.D.Pa.1991). Since the alleged negligence

occurred in 1988, this claim is also untimely. Moreover,

even if the "discovery rule" applied, this claim would be

untimely because Plaintiff is aware, or should have been

aware of the existence of the board resolution by April 6,

1989, when SmithKline distributed the memorandum

describing the substance of the resolution.

b. Merits

[31]}|32] Plaintiff bases his allegations in Count III on

SmithKline’s alleged failure to provide Plaintiff with

notice of the January 25, 1989 board resolution. In order

to state a claim for breach of good faith and fair dealing,

a party must plead facts which would give rise to a

contractual obligation to provide information, such as

offer, acceptance or consideration. See Engstrom, 668

F.Supp. at 957-58; Garvey v. National Grange Mut. Ins.

Co., 1995 WL 461228, at *1 (E.D.Pa. Aug.2, 1995) (duty

to act in good faith and deal fairly arises from the

contract itself).

In this case, SmithKline had no obligation to inform

its employees of future plans 0. resolutions of its Board

of Directors. Moreover, it did take these measures by

posting the April 6, 1989 memorandum.

-B29-

[33][34] In order to state a claim for negligent

misrepresentation, the plaintiff must allege a misrepre-

sentation of material fact, among other elements. Gibbs

v. Ernst, 538 Pa. 193, 647 A.2d 882, 890 (1994). In Count

VII, Plaintiff has alleged nothing more than a “non-

communication" of information. Therefore he has failed

to allege an essential element of his claim. Additionally,

the information that Plaintiff claims that SmithKline

concealed from him was published in the April 6, 1989

memorandum.

IV. COUNTERCLAIM

Based on the foregoing analysis, it is clear that

plaintiff violated the terms and conditions of the release

by breaching the covenant not to sue the defendant. The

issue of damages cannot be resolved by the present

summary judgment motion.

V. CONCLUSION

For the above reasons, SmithKline’s Motion for

Summary Judgment is granted in its entirety.

-B30-

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.