Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Preston v. Georgia Power Co.

Supreme Court brief1998

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court. U.S.

FILED

98 36 JUL 301998

ASIN ka dl Sea

orn re nro — OFFICE GF. He. PLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1997

ROY K. PRESTON,

Petitioner,

GEORGIA POWER COMPANY,

Respondent.

2 —

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The Court Of Appeals Of Eaereress

-——-——— @ —_ —__ -—__—_—-

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

———______—_—_—__—— @ —— _—________

Davip A. Wesster, Eso.

300 Hurt Building

Atlanta, Georgia 30303-2914

(404) 681-3070

Counsel of Record

Harpy Grecory, Jr., Eso.

P.O. Drawer 5230

Cordele, Georgia 31015

(912) 273-7150

Joun M. Hyatt, Esa.

_ocuite 201 Trust Building

“545 North Mc Donough Street

Decatur, Georgia 30030

(404) 378-3635

Counsel for Petitioner

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) M2-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

|. Whether inchoate interests may amount to prop-

erty protected by due process.

2. Whether inchoate rights of action in tort may

amount to property protected by due process

3. Whether the Constitution’s due process clauses

may require notice of physical conditions, imperceptible

to the public, which trigger requirements to act to protect

a future claim.

«

z. Whether the Georgia High-voltage Safety Act,

which denies tort recovery against a public utility absent

report from the public of intended work near high-ten-

sion lines, yet requires no prior notice to the public that a

line is dedicated to high-tension current, violates due

process.

ii

PARTIES BELOW _

In addition to Petitioner and Respondent Georgia

Power Company, two other parties appeared in the Geor-

gia Court of Appeals, whose judgment is sought to be

reviewed here. Ashland Chemical Company was an

appellee (concerning issues different from those affecting

Georgia Power Company). In a companion appeal heard

and decided together with this one, Insurance Company

of North America was an appellant against these same

two appellees.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Ee BE oy a rrr rr i

SP is oaks caves bbntsb dole we €abe Oks ii

MNO RE REE UCU ES oo va pwn vue wh cee ccceu. Vv

NE SIN ONG Fo wag ooo Ono 8 keke Seek ke l

Is Der ee oa l

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVI-

EE ME EEE es cdi ok 4 eck vik eeesba caren. 2

PUN EE, MEY COUES CARES cy ccs ccc ccckcacccvcace 3

A. Petitioner’s Allegations and Claims for Relief .. 3

B. Proceedings Below and Petitioner’s Presenta-

On Of a Federal Question...........0....... 4

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ........... 4

I. THIS CASE POSES SIGNIFICANT UNRE-

SOLVED ISSUES AS TO THE SCOPE OF PROP-

ERTY INTERESTS AND OF DUE PROCESS

(GOES ESURSS SES SSIS gis OIC oleae a eee 10

A. This Case Poses Significant Issues as to the

Scope of “Property Interests”.............. 10

1. This Court Has Not Resolved Whether

Inchoate Interests Are Protected ....... 10

2. This Court Should Decide If Unmateria-

lized Tort Claims Are Protected........ 12

B. This Case Poses Important Issues as to When

Due Process Requires Notice .............. 13

iV

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

C. Respondent’s Arguments Present No Reason

To Deny Certiorari.............-seeeeeeees 16

Il. THE RESULT OF THIS CASE WILL BE PRAC-

TICALLY IMPORTANT 6c. cccccet tec csaseeses 20

A. This Case Affects High Tension Line Victims

Throughout Georgia.............eeeeseeees 20

B. This Case Potentially Affects High Tension

Line Victime Generally... .c. cc csecccevasess 20

COPMCT A TSOGIN os vo rae inp Cesk bees e ee eaten RAS 22

gg iy | 3 + SPDT aE re eh bee ry SOO rey wiry la

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Allenberg Cotton Co. v. Pittman, 419 U.S. 20 (1974) ...4, 5

Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564 (1972)...... 10, 11

Broadrick v. Oklahoma, 413 U.S. 601 (1973) ........... 15

Brown v. Fitzgerald, 177 Ga.App. 859, 341 S.E.2d

| SSRN ETE ele cbtente eae Stat allow nat Am nes MayHONE 20

Buckner v. Colquitt Elec. Mem. Corp., 206 Ga.App.

OF, Ba BEke OOP CRUE) ic ck ones coe Shr ts abe daS 20

Colquitt Elec. Mem. Corp. v. Cvengros, 165 Ga.App.

O02; ae Pe OF CRIM). oo hed ccs awicasecapekens 20

Finberg v. Sullivan, 634 F.2d 50 (3d Cir. 1980)........ 13

Goldsmith v. United States Bd. of Tax App., 270 U.S.

REE, SAOOES ibe SVE E ERA RP CLE RCSA Ly 1]

Gore S. Lapes, 419 US. 565 (1975). eis ei 13

Greenholtz v. Inmates of Nebraska Penal & Corr. Com-

SRON, TR AD BAIT Os ct aie's 6 6p eaedgd oo ee kee 1]

Gregory v. Pittsfield, 470 U.S. 1018 (1985) ............ 11

Habersham Elec. Mem. Corp. v. Dalton, 170 Ga.App.

SOS. Ole Stee Dit CIGOU iio cx hicks cee Soesaee 20

praninerty © ine, Ott US. 32 1S 18

Lamar Elec. Mem. Corp. v. Carroll, 89 Ga.App. 440,

FF WE OA. CEVOOE 4 ada e oir aeeacnueeeda 15,17, 20

Logan v. Zimmerman Brush Co., 455 U.S. 422 (1982)

PREG LN MEATN GOWER LENSE SES LOST RCS ew ee es ik, Bay AD, 16

Lyng v. Payne, 47€ U.S. 926 (1986)................ 11, 16

Mallette v. County Employees’ Retirement Sys. II, 91

Pues Gree (Oh Sul SOPs 65d oe Meee wees hab eves 1]

Malvarez v. Georgia Power Co., 250 Ga. 568, 300

ne Be MERE SS eas els n sd bet xa 06 woe eae 2, 20

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319 (1976) ............. 14

Memphis Light, Gas & Water Div. v. Craft, 436 U.S. 1

Eg | ee ar rg Ee oS aaron Yer ry 13

Morrissey v. Brewer, 408 U.S 471 (1972)...........-.. 14

Mullane v. Central Hanover Bk. & Tr. Co., 339 U.S.

ce te RRREEE MAE UMSEREMEN TE SOO Se CIT 13, 18

Peer v. Griffeth, 445 U.S. 970 (1980)............--..--- 11

Santana v. Georgia Power Co., 269 Ga. 127,

Ree. CRE ic kee CRESS R EEL ACS Ra 8, 9, 20

Schware v. Board of Bar Examiners, 353 U.S. 232

CRS EN ok a Ria RRE OE Ee RES eT 11

Three Notch Elec. Mem. Corp. v. Bush, 190 Ga.App.

G58. S60 Sie: fe CREE ba ss a eee ea ekan 20

Walters v. National Ass'n of Radiation Survivors, 473

CFG SUS CRO OR ss oc ae hs ea Ree ea eee 1]

Willner v. Committe on Character & Fitness, 373 U.S.

RLS | ry PING OE Core FOr Sr ene par ee Le 11

CONSTITUTION AND STATUTES

United States Constitution, Amendment XIV ......... 2

ARS. § 40-360:448 (Arisotay oo ee 21

AS 18.60.685(b) (Alaska) See eee ee Bee Gee he ee ee ee ee wee 21

Ann. Code Md., Lab. & Empl., §§ 6-101 to 6-110.... 21

Ark. Code Ann. 8 LE-G-<SGSG): o35 cates ataco sess ees 21

Cal. Pub. Util. Code § G029 (West). ..0 csc cccatis 15

Code Ala. §§ 37-8-52 to 37-86-55 6... ccc ccc teense: 21

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Code Va. §§ 59.1-406 to 59.1-414.................... 21

on. ev St. Ose a a eee 21

Health & Safety Code § 752.008 (Vernon) (Texas) ....21

ieee Se ma) (RUBMOD 5 os 65 eee ko kkk 21

M.G.L.A. ch. 166 § 21G(b) (Massachusetts) .......... 21

wma. Goode 1972 § 45-19-1909)... |. os os. 21

N.D. Cent. Code § 49-21.1-01 to 49-21.1-05.......... 21

NJSA §§ 34:6-47.1 to 34:6-47.9 (New POON sxc cxces 21

Pe Sd IOUNEES 1. os Ca nk ckk hike 21

N.Y. Lab. Law, § 202-h (McKinney) ................. 21

O.C.G.A. §§ 46-3-30 ff. (Georgia)................... eyo

JS een adh ye ans, SUNN OR EL eT Pe Peterman Me Te

Lat eeOEs TE MORIN ugianectepauneceet cio OS 18

La Rie i MARY Sindioncne sc pceinvwucbemnubes pian 2

ORAS WAR eae

Pais IMO Pe hci os $a k eh ees eee, 2, 19

na i AM RO as ie cas, pie daticv en rua me 21

aD W OAc, BR AT OF 26S oo or oso eee 21

Rev. St. Neb. §§ 48-436 to 48-442 ................... 21

SUCL § 49-32-17 (South Dakota);................... 21

T.C.A. §§ 68-103-101 to 68-103-108 (Tennessee)....... 21

Te SIP Sores ee cee 1

Vill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES —- Continued

Page

Bit Ee Sk ) RM are pean nn were Pepe rey ire 1

Ltn 4 Oe F.. B BOO) bio ds ov ee bo bee ane vee es 21

VAD Se Gere GE oie ke kee cence 21

WS. § 37-3-305 (Wyoming) <...-....s0erers errr iiiee 21

OTHER AUTHORITY

National Electrical Safety Code... cc cock cetccccnwees 4

United States Supreme Court Rule 29.4.............. 2

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Georgia Court of Appeals (App.,

infra, 1a-20a), is reported at 227 Ga.App. 449, 489 S.E.2d

573 (1997). The following orders and dispositions are not

reported: the Georgia Supreme C urt’s denial of cer-

tiorari (App., infra, 21a); the Georgia Supreme Court’s

denial of reconsideration (App., infra, 22a); the final order

of the trial court granting summary judgment, from

which this appeal was taken (App., infra, 23a-35a); the

earlier order of the trial court denying Petitioner’s

motion to strike Georgia Power Company’s defenses

(App., infra, 36a-41a); the order of the trial court certify-

ing this preliminary order for immediate appeal (App.,

infra, 46a); the Georgia Supreme Court’s denial of inter-

locutory review (App., infra, 47a); and the Georgia

Supreme Court’s order transferring Petitioner’s appeal

from summary judgment to the Georgia Court of Appeals

(App., infra, 52a).

JURISDICTION

The Supreme Court of Georgia, that state’s highest

court, denied certiorari on February 20, 1998. (App., infra,

21a) That court denied a motion to reconsider on April 1,

1998. (App., infra, 22a) This Court has jurisdiction to

review the judgment of the Court of Appeals of Georgia

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a).

Petitioner notes that 28 U.S.C. § 2403(b) may apply to

this proceeding. The State of Georgia has received no

previous notice. The notifications required by this Court's

9?

<

Rule 29.4 have been effected by service of this Petition

upon the Attorney General of the State of Georgia.

e

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

United States Constitution, Amendment XIV:

. nor shall any State deprive any person

of . . . property, without due process of law.”

Relevant provisions of the Georgia High-voltage

Safety Act (the “Act”), O.C.G.A. §§ 46-3-30 ff., are set out

in a statutory appendix to this Petition (App., infra,

55a-59a ).

In summary, the Act requires at least 72 hours’

advance report of intended work under or near a high

tension line, to a “utilities protection center.” O.C.G.A.

§ 46-3-34(b). The Act imposes the advance reporting

requirement upon both a contractor or other employer,

and an individual employee at work. O.C.G.A.

§ 46-3-32(3).

Among other penalties, the statute traditionally has

made failure to report work a ground for indemnifying

the utility for any resulting tort claims. O.C.G.A.

§ 46-3-40(b). Until 1992, the utility remained subject to

tort liability despite lack of advance report of the work, if

the utility was negligent in maintaining the line. Malvarez

v. Georgia Power Co., 250 Ga. 568, 300 S.E.2d 145 (1983). In

1992, however, the Georgia General Assembly added the

following penalty: “The owner or operator of high-volt-

age lines shall not be liable for damage or loss to person

or property resulting from work within ten feet of high-

voltage lines unless notice has been given. ... ” O.C.G.A.

§ 46-3-39(a). The Act defines a high-voltage line as one

carrying more than 750 volts. O.C.G.A. § 46-3-32(1). The

Act does not require the utility to post notice that any

given line carries more than 750 volts.

— —?

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Petitioner’s Allegations and Claims for Relief.

Petitioner Preston lost both feet, his left hand and the

use of his right hand when he was severely shocked by

current flowing through high-tension lines operated by

Respondent Georgia Power Company (“Georgia Power”).

Preston worked for a temporary labor service, and was

assigned to various needed manual labor with Ashland

Chemical Company. Ashland operated chemical-laden

railroad cars on a spur line which paralleled Georgia

Power’s high-tension wires.

The interior of Ashland’s cars regularly became

fouled with chemical deposits. Ashland formerly sent

workers into such cars to scrape down the residue. When

OSHA determined this was a health hazard, Ashland

developed the alternative of scrapers attached to very

long poles.

One day in May of 1993, Petitioner Preston was

assigned for the first time to cleaning chemical-encrusted

cars on the railroad siding paralleling Respondent’s high-

voltage line. He was given no instruction on how to clean

in order to avoid danger. The handie of Preston's

ee

“spader” touched Georgia Power's high-tension line as

he worked.

As electrical engineer, appearing as an expert witness

for Petitioner, deposed that Georgia Power’s high-tension

line was closer to the car Preston was cleaning than is

permitted by the National Electrical Safety Code (an

industry-wide standard adopted by the Institute of Elec-

trical and Electronics Engineers, Inc.) and other relevant

safety standards.

B. Proceedings Below and Petitioner’s Presenta-

tion of a Federal Question.

Petitioner presented his federal due process claims to

the highest court in Georgia, the Supreme Court. That

Court’s denial of certiorari amounts to a denial of his

constitutional claims. In fact, Petitioner brought those

claims to the Supreme Court of Georgia not once but

thrice.

The Supreme Court of Georgia, acting as a whole, has

now certified that Petitioner presented his federal due

process issues tc that court, and that it decided those

issues against him. (App., infra, 62a) That court’s order

satisfies this Court’s requirements for such a certificate,

by verifying that Petitioner raised his issues in the

Supreme Court of Georgia, and that they were resolved

against him. Allenberg Cotton Co. v. Pittman, 419 U.S. 20,

22 (1974). Petitioner will forward a certified copy of that 3

court’s Certificate to the Clerk of this Court.

Petitioner requested the Certificate because the basis

for the Georgia Supreme Court's actions is not explicit,

1S 3)

and even the Georgia Court of Appeals did not address

directly the constitutional issue raised here. Lest there be

any “remaining doubts,” id. at 23 n.2, Petitioner will

describe the procedures below so that this Court may

form its own judgment as to his presentation of the

issues, and their resolution against him.

Petitioner sued Georgia Power and also Ashland

(which was eventually treated as a statutory employer,

exempted from tort liability). He alleged that Georgia

Power was negligent when it placed or maintained a

dangerous instrumentality, a high tension electric line,

too close to the railroad siding where he worked.

Respondent’s answer claimed a defense under Geor-

gia’s High-voltage Safety Act, O.C.G.A. § 46-3-30 et seq

rhat statute requires advance report to Georgia Power of

any work within ten feet of a high-tension line (defined

as a wire carrying more than 750 volts), absent which the

utility will escape tort liability. Petitioner filed h prompt

motion to strike this defense, showing that the statute

violated federal constitutional guarantees. (App., infra,

42a-43a) In particular, his brief argued that the reporting

requirement imposed on him violated due process, in that

he had no prior notice that the wire near which he was

assigned work was a “high-voltage line.” (App., infra,

44a-45a)

The trial court rejected Petitioner’s constitutional

challenge and denied his motion to strike (App., infra,

36a-41a), but granted a certificate of immediate review.

(App., infra, 46a) The Supreme Court of Georgia denied

Petitioner’s ensuing application for interlocutory review.

(App., infra, 47a)

Georgia Power later moved for summary judgment,

asserting only the bar of the High-voltage Safety Act.

Petitioner’s response showed yet again the statute’s

unconstitutionality. The trial court granted summary

judgment on a new and different ground, ruling that

nothing in the record supported Petitioner's burden to

show proximate causation. (App., infra, 23a-35a)

Recognizing the ever-present potential for appellate

affirmance of summary judgment on an alternative

ground (the High-voltage Safety Act), Petitioner appealed

to the Supreme Court of Georgia, which has exclusive

jurisdiction over appeals raising constitutional issues. Ga.

Const. 1983, Art. 6, Sec. 6, Par. 2(1). Petitioner asserted

jurisdiction in the Supreme Court because a ruling based

on the Act necessarily would draw into question its con-

stitutionality. Preston accordingly enumerated both the

grant of summary judgment to Respondent and the

denial of his motion to strike Georgia Power’s defense as

error (App., infra, 51a), and briefed the federal constitu-

tional issues in the Georgia Supreme Court (App., infra,

48a-50a), as did Georgia Power.

The Supreme Court nonetheless transferred Peti-

tioner’s appeal to the Court of Appeals, after determining

that “the issue on which the trial court granted summary

judgment in these cases does not fall within the jurisdic-

tion of this Court” (App., infra, 52a}, apparently because

the trial court’s stated (proximate causation) basis for

summary judgment did not implicate Petitioner’s consti--

tutional due process issues. Georgia Power nevertheless

continued to assert the High-voltage Safety Act as an

alternative ground for affirming summary judgment.

The Court of Appeals declined to adopt the trial

court’s proximate cause reasoning. Instead, that court

affirmed only on the alternative grounds.! It ruled — as

Georgia Power had insisted ever since issue was first

joined in this case — that Preston’s claims were barred by

the High-voltage Safety Act. Preston v. Georgia Power Co.

et al., 227 Ga.App. 449, 489 S.E.2d 573 (1997) (App., infra,

la-20a). At the same time, however, the Court of Appeals

declined to rule on Preston’s constantly-pressed constitu-

tional challenge. That court held that it lacked subject

matter jurisdiction to pass on constitutional issues, but

also “noted” that the challenge was somehow “irrele-

vant.” (App., infra, 8a) (Petitioner will show in his Rea-

sons for Granting the Writ, infra, that the due process

issues are anything but irrelevant.)

Preston sought constitutional review in the Supreme

Court of Georgia for a third time, this time on certiorari.

His Petition made clear that the Georgia Court of Appeals

had invoked the bar of the High-voltage Safety Act, that

that Act was unconstitutional, that its unconstitutional

features were in no way “irrelevant,” and that he sought

the Georgia Supreme Court's aid in deciding the constitu-

tional issues. (App., infra, 53a-54a) Georgia Power like-

wise briefed the constitutional issues.

The Supreme Court of Georgia denied certiorari on

February 28, 1998, in a one-paragraph order expressing

no reasons for its denial. (App., infra, 21a) Petitioner

moved for reconsideration of the denial of certiorari. That

' Thus, for purposes of this Petition, the record as well as

Preston's allegations supports each element of his tort claim,

including injury, negligence and proximate causation.

court denied Petitioner’s motion to reconsider by order of

April 1, 1998. (App., infra, 22a)

This process, in addition to that court’s Certificate,

shows that the Georgia Supreme Court necessarily con-

sidered and rejected Petitioner’s constitutional argu-

ments, even though that court never addressed them

explicitly. The issues were squarely presented to the

Georgia Supreme Court by Preston’s Application for

interlocutory review, by his appeal brief (before transfer

to the Georgia Court of Appeals) and by his Petition for

Certiorari. That Petition culminated a long process in

which Georgia Power continually asserted the statutory

bar of the High-voltage Safety Act, and Preston just as

assiduously asserted that Georgia Power could not

invoke the Act to bar his claim because the Act was

unconstitutional. Thus the history of this action is quite

enough to show that the Supreme Court of Georgia con-

sidered the due process issues and decided them against

Petitioner.

Uniquely in this case, another powerful factor shows

that the Georgia Supreme Court necessarily was pre-

sented with and rejected Petitioner’s constitutional con-

cerns. On February 23, within a week of denying

Preston's Petition for Certiorari, that court also decided

Santana v. Georgia Power Co., 269 Ga. > ae 2” BRE

(1998). That decision resolved constitutional issues

closely parallel to those raised by Preston. (See excerpt,

App., infra, 60a-61a) (Preston also filed an amicus brief

supporting Santana’s constitutional challenges to the

High-\ oltage Safety Act.)

os DomnaSee sp

Moreover, the timing of the two dispositions suggests

that the decision in Santana was the reason for denial of

certiorari in Preston’s case. The Georgia Supreme Court

resolved substantially similar issues, virtually simul-

taneously with its disposition of this case, in an appeal in

which Preston participated (albeit not as a party). Having

resolved the issues for Santana, the court apparently

deemed that it had resolved them for Preston as well.

(The court’s Certificate of presentation and decision in

this case, App., infra, 62a, expressly recites Santana.)

Thus the Georgia Supreme Court has certified that

Petitioner raised and it rejected the due process issues

here presented, and a review of the progress of this case

shows the same.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This Court should grant review for two reasons.

First, this case raises substantial issues, unresolved in this

Court, as to both the scope of protected “property” for

due process purposes and the scope of due process notice

rights. Second, Petitioner’s loss of his potential tort claim,

for lack of notice of imperceptible high voltage current

which triggered statutory responsibilities on his part,

raises significant practical concerns for this and many

other cases.

Petitioner was deprived of the opportunity to pursue

any tort remedy because he was not informed that the

wire around which he worked was a high tension wire.

There was no way he could know what current the wire

carried by looking at it; he needed to be told. Reasonable

10

public notice was easily afforded; all the statute had to

say was that utilities should post high-voltage notices on

poles that support high tension lines. Yet the Georgia

General Assembly omitted any such requirement, while

requiring Preston nevertheless to report his work in order

to protect his rights. Thus the immediate issue is whether

due process may require notice of imperceptible facts

whose existence demands action in order to protect a

potential future claim.

Petitioner freely acknowledges that the prior deci-

sions of this Court do not go far enough to require notice

in this situation. The gaps between those prior opinions

and this case are an important reason why this Court

should grant certiorari.

I. THIS CASE POSES SIGNIFICANT UNRESOLVED

ISSUES AS TO THE SCOPE OF PROPERTY INTER-

ESTS AND OF DUE PROCESS NOTICE.

A. This Case Poses Significant Issues as to the

Scope of “Property Interests.”

1. This Court Has Not Resolved Whether

Inchoate Interests Are Protected.

In Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564 (1972), this

Court declared in obiter dicta: “The Fourteenth Amend-

ment’s procedural protection of property is a safeguard of

the security of interests that a person has already

acquired in specific benefits.” Id. at 576. These dicta from

Roth imply that only persons with present interests in

property may assert due process rights. Under this

approach, a person who claims a protected stake in a

11

benefit, but lacks a present interest, would lack a prop-

erty right. Yet other portions of the Roth opinion, id. at

577, and other decisions of this Court challenge the con-

clusion implicit in the quoted Roth dicta. This Petition

asks whether due process should not extend to certain

interests not yet acquired.

This Court’s older decisions appear to find that

applicants for government grants, licenses or other privi-

leges have constitutionally protected property interests,

specifically in applications for professional licensing.

Willner v. Committee oi Character & Fitness, 373 U.S. 96,

102 (1963); Schware v. Board of Bar Examiners, 353 U.S. 232,

239 (1957); Goldsmith v. United States Bd. of Tax App., 270

U.S. 117, 123 (1926). Similarly, this Court has held that

due process may protect a parole applicant. Greenholtz v.

Inmates of Nebraska Penal & Corr. Complex, 442 U.S. 1, 12

(1979) (liberty interest). Yet in more recent cases, this

Court has characterized as undecided the question

whether applicants for government grants have a pro-

tected stake in their applications. Lyng v. Payne, 476 U.S.

926, 942 (1986); Walters v. National Ass'n of Radiation Sur-

vivors, 473 U.S. 305, 320 n.8 (1985); see also Gregory v.

Pittsfield, 470 U.S. 1018, 1021 (1985) (O’Connor, J.); Peer v.

Griffeth, 445 U.S. 970, 970-71 (1980) (Rehnquist, J.).

Meanwhile, the lower courts almost universally hold

that applicants may have a protected stake, so long as

eligibility follows as an inexorable result from satisfaction

of articulated rules. An excellent catalogue of decisions,

not reproduced here in the interest of time and space, is

found in Mallette v. County Employees’ Retirement Sys. II,

91 F.3d 630, 638-39 (4th Cir. 1996).

12

This Court should grant certiorari and confirm the

many decisions which hold that no present interest in a

benefit is required, to assert a constitutionally protected

property interest.

2. This Court Should Decide If Unmaterialized

Tort Claims Are Protected.

This Court’s decision unmistakably protect personal

injury claims as property, once all their elements have

arisen. Logan v. Zimmerman Brush Co., 455 U.S. 422, 429

(1982) (disability discrimination claim). Preston’s claim

was incomplete, however, because he had not been

injured at the time protective notice to him was necessary

in order to protect his rights. Thus this case poses the

important question whether a property interest may arise

from a tort claim which is as yet unrealized. (This case

differs from the benefit-application cases as well, since in

those cases all facts supporting eligibility normally will

exist at the time of application.)

The Court should grant review to decide whether

these are distinctions without a difference. Petitioner lost

his tort claim and therefore his entire future remedial

interest. It matters not whether his claim was fully

matured at the time he was injured and shortly before,

when he was statutorily required to report in order to

protect his claim. Regardless of the timing, he has lost his

remedy for lack of notice which would have apprised him

of the necessity for action. Regardless of the sequence,

Preston’s future stake in a tort remedy should prompt

this Court to find a property interest.

13

B. This Case Poses Important Issues as to When

Due Process Requires Notice.

This Court has stated in dicta that the reason for

requiring notice is to permit preparation for an impend-

ing hearing. Memphis Light, Gas & Water Div. v. Craft, 436

U.S. 1, 14 (1978). Thus the dicta from Craft suggest that

due process notice serves only purposes related to an

impending or available hearing.2 Comparable dicta in

Logan v. Zimmerman Brush Co., however, open up the

possibility that due process notice may serve much

broader purposes, starting well before a hearing is in the

picture: “[T]he Due Process Clauses protect civil litigants

who seek recourse in the courts . . . as plaintiffs attempt-

ing to redress grievances.” 455 U.S. at 429. Thus where

appropriate, due process might provide procedural pro-

tections well before a claim materializes. Due process, far

from being limited to the context of actual or currently

exercisable hearings, should protect claims procedurally

over the long term.

? Consistent with these dicta, this Court’s opinions thus far

appear to require due process notice in the form of (1) advice of

any official threat to existing property interests, Mullane v.

Central Hanover Bk. & Tr. Co., 339 U.S. 306 (1950); (2) minimally

necessary information as to what procedural steps the notice

recipient may or must utilize to protect those interests, and how,

Craft, 436 U.S. at 14-15; and (3) in case of a proposed

deprivation, a statement of reason(s), Goss v. Lopez, 419 U.S. 565,

580 (1975). Some of the lower courts have added, where

appropriate, (4) advisories as to the most important substantive

rights the notice recipient has available in order to protect those

interests, see, e.g., Finberg v. Sullivan, 634 F.2d 50, 61-62 (3d Cir.

1980) (en banc). This case asks whether due process occasionally

may require a different sort of notice.

14

The procedural demands of our constitution are not

fixed and immutable; “due process is flexible and calls

for such procedural protections as the particular situation

demands.” Morrissey v. Brewer, 408 U.S. 471, 481 (1972).

The extent of due process procedures depends upon:

First, the private interest that will be affected by

the official action; second, the risk of an erro-

neous deprivation of such interest through the

procedures used, and the probable value, if any,

of additional or substitute procedural safe-

guards; and finally, the Government’s interest,

including the function involved and the fiscal

and administrative burdens that the additional

or substitute procedural requirement would

entail.

Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319, 335 (1976). This Petition

asks whether due process notice requirements may flex to

protect future interests in property, without regard to

whether any hearing is either pending or subject to

immediate demand.

Applying the Mathews v. Eldridge factors, this Court

should require notice. Petitioner’s lack of notice prior to

his injury is as important as lack of notice later, in the

context of any hearing or prospective hearing. Because

Preston was not informed that the wire near which he

worked was a high voltage line, he did not know he had

to report his work. Because he did not report his work, he

lost any tort claim.

The risk of erroneous deprivation is palpable. The

Georgia Court of Appeals made clear the value of notice

to workers like Preston, in a similar case: “It is a matter of

common knowledge that a great many wires used, for

| |

15

instance, in telephonic communication are not charged

with electric current of [significant] voltage. . . . Merely

seeing the wires strung over the property would not put

the plaintiff on notice of a dangerous condition.” Lamar

Elec. Mem. Corp. v. Carroll, 89 Ga.App. 440, 454, 79 S.E.2d

832, 841 (1953).

Notice was easily feasible. All Petitioner had to do

was post “high-volte,e” tags on poles supporting lines

carrying high-voltage current. All the statute had to do

was require such notice. California has shown the way.

That state - which does not even have a High-voltage

Safety Act — requires electric utilities to give public notice

of high tension wires. The utility shall either used color-

coded paint or attach signs saying “high voltage.” Cal.

Pub. Util. Code § 8029 (West). Given the consequences in

Georgia of losing his tort claim, Petitioner should have

been afforded such notice as a matter of due process.

Finally, for clarity’s sake, Petitioner distinguishes two

superficially similar yet quite different potential due pro-

cess challenges which he does not assert. First, he does

not claim that the act is vague, for failure to afford notice

of its substantive requirements. Cf. Broadrick v. Oklahoma,

413 U.S. 601 (1973). Preston protests lack of notice to him

of physical conditions requiring him to act.

Moreover, Petitioner does not seek to roll back the

terms of the Georgia High-voltage Safety Act to those in

effect prior to 1992. This Court has held that, consistent

with due process, “the State remains free to create sub-

stantive defenses or immunities for use in adjudication -

or to eliminate its statutorily created causes of action

altogether.” Logan v. Zimmerman Brush Co., 455 U.S. at

16

432. Despite this power to abolish claims, the state may

not impose unreasonable procedural hurdles. Id. at 433.

Petitioner does not contest adoption of the restrictive

1992 amendments. He protests only the omission of

appropriate notice protections.

This Court should grant certiorari to consider the

scope of required due process notice.

C. Respondent's Arguments Present No Reason To

Deny Certiorari.

Respondent undoubtedly will advance two principal

arguments in an attempt to suggest that this case does not

present significant due process issues, and does not

deserve this Court’s attention. First, Georgia Power

argues that this statute on its face gives adequate notice

of Petitioner’s duty to report intended work (and that all

citizens are charged with knowledge of the law and pre-

sumed to know the law). But those arguments do not

avoid the due process issues. A statute standing alone is

constitutionally adequate notice only as to its legal pre-

scription and any facts it conveys. Where a statute or

regulation on its face is asserted as the basis for due

process compliance, the test is whether its publication

provides sufficient facts to enable the reader to determine

his or her rights or duties. See, e.g., Lyng v. Payne, 476 U.S.

at 942-43 (due process notice requirements satisfied

where a disaster relief program and its terms were pub-

lished in the Federal Register).

Here, the statute standing alone cannot possibly con-

vey all necessary facts to the public. Reading the statute

does not tell the reader of the statute when he or she is

17

encountering a high voltage line in the real world. The

statute infosms the public only of its abstract respon-

sibilities to seport, including the high-voltage conditions

under which that responsibility may arise.

Respondent argues that the statute puts the reader on

inquiry notice, so that he or she should affirmatively find

out whether any line carries high voltage. But due pro-

cess ordinarily is violated when statutes are construed as

creating inquiry notice. For example, a statute creating a

responsibility to answer a court complaint, although it

states the conditions under which an answer must be

filed, does not put a defendant on inquiry notice to find

out whether a complaint has been filed. A central pur-

pose of due process is to assure that the property interest

holder need not inquire whether that interest is threat-

ened, but rather will be told when a threat arises. Because

the presence of wires was insufficient to put Petitioner on

notice of risk even to his own safety, Lamar Elec. Mem.

Corp. v. Carroll, supra, it is hard to see how those same

wires standing alone could put him on notice of danger to

his future tort claim.

A second Georgia Power argument was erroneously

credited by the Georgia Court of Appeals in this case.

That court, even though it lacked subject matter jurisdic-

tion to rule on Petitioner’s constitutional claim, opined in

dictum that notice to Preston “appears irrelevant.”

According to that court, Petitioner’s statutory employer

“had actual notice of the high voltage. In light of the

evidence that Ashland was required to give notice to

Georgia Power and was aware of the high voltage carried

by the power lines, Preston’s lack of knowledge is imma-

terial to the application of OCGA § 46-3-39(a).” (App.,

18

infra, 8a). The Court of Appeals’ analysis is misplaced.

Petitioner’s lack of knowledge is relevant in the extreme,

because he had an independent statutory responsibility to

report intended work in order to save his tort claim,

regardless of what Ashland did or did not do. The statute

expressly defined both Petitioner and his employer as

“persons responsible for the wore,” O28) GA:

§ 46-3-32(3), and imposed a duty upon both to report the

work. O.C.G.A. § 46-3-33(1).

Although lack of notice to Petitioner might have

become irrelevant as a practical matter if his employer had

reported the work and obviated the necessity for Preston

to report, Ashland’s awareness itself became irrelevant

when Ashland failed to contact Respondent. The onus

was back on Preston, but he had not been afforded the

information necessary to protect himself. Ultimately,

arguing that lack of notice to Petitioner is “irrelevant”

because of Ashland’s fruitless awareness is like saying

that a defendant in a lawsuit is not entitled to service

once a co-defendant has been served.

Similarly, in Opposing certiorari in the Georgia

Supreme Court, Georgia Power responded to Petitioner’s

due process concerns by arguing that “knowledge by the

employer is imputed to the employee; there is no duty to

personally warn each employee of a danger.” (Brief at 2,

n.2) But due process ordinarily guarantees notice reason-

ably calculated to reach the individual, Mullane, supra,

339 U.S. at 314, not notice to a surrogate with unlike

interests, Hansberry ». fee, 311 US 39 (1940). Thus if

Respondent means to argue that due process notice

Should be imputed to Preston solely by virtue of Ash-

land’s knowledge, the argument is a mirage.

EME OEE IEF 4 Se. Ge THLE BP 2S

19

Alternatively, Respondent may mean to argue that

Ashland as statutory employer* was a surrogate-in-inter-

est for Preston, and could be counted upon to report the

work in order to protect Petitioner’s property interest.

Ashland, however, concretely demonstrated its lack of

interest in the statutory reporting requirements by failing

to report its intended work. Having demonstrated its lack

of concern, Ashland could hardly be counted upon to

share its awareness of the high-tension lines with Peti-

tioner, so that he could report the same work they had

failed to report.

Moreover, the parties’ interests differed dramatically.

Ashland was not Petitioner’s surrogate in any realistic

sense, because Ashland had no affirmative tort rights to

preserve. Ashland lacked incentive to protect Preston’s

tort rights, which belonged only to Preston. Even the

mild incentives Ashland might have had before 1992 to

report intended work have been diluted drastically by the

1992 amendment. Ashland is no longer required to

indemnify Respondent for any injury to Ashland’s

workers (under O.C.G.A. § 46-3-40(c)), because Georgia

Power is now off the hook entirely absent advance report

of the work. But most importantly, Ashland did not share

Preston’s interest in protecting his potential tort claim.

3 In fact, Ashland was not Preston’s employer, except for

purposes of the workers’ compensation exclusion of tort

liability. (App., infra, 4a-7a). Preston worked for a temporary

labor pool. (App., infra, 4a).

20

Il. THE RESULT OF THIS CASE WILL BE PRAC-

TICALLY IMPORTANT

This case is significant practically as well as legally

and conceptually. The result affects similar victims, in

Georgia and potentially elsewhere.

A. This Case Affects High Tension Line Victims

Throughout Georgia.

Most directly affected by the outcome of this case are

not only Petitioner Preston, but also other worker/vic-

tims of high-voltage shocks in Georgia. See, e.g. Santana v.

Georgia Power Co., supra; Malvarez, supra; Lamar Elec. Mem.

Corp. v. Carroll, supra. The reported appellate decisions

make clear that such incidents are frequent. See also, e.g¢.,

Buckner v. Colquitt Elec. Mem. Corp., 206 Ga.App. 69, 424

S.E.2d 299 (1992); Three Notch Elec. Mem. Corp. v. Bush, 190

Ga.App. 858, 380 S.E.2d 720 (1989); Brown v. Fitzgerald,

177 Ga.App. 859, 341 S.E.2d 476 (1986); Habersham Elec.

Mem. Corp. v. Dalton, 170 Ga.App. 483, 317 S.E.2d 312

(1984); Colquitt Elec. Mem. Corp. v. Cvengros, 165 Ga.App.

649, 302 S.E.2d 407 (1983). All such victims will lose their

potential negligence claims if this Court should decide

that utilities need not notify the public of high voltage in

their lines.

B. This Case Potentially Affects High Tension

Line Victims Generally.

Also potentially affected are similar worker/victims

in other states with comparable legislation, which would

raise identical due process notice issues. At least twenty-

Oey Ve eat eee ee Eee eRe ee ee eee Pe TN Ee Sy Ie Ce ET ed ee ae ne Ee eae Ne ee ee

Pe ee eee ee Tv) e

EN a eT

21

three states have adopted some variation of the High-

voltage Safety Act. Eleven of those statutes, like Geor-

gia’s, create a liability to indemnify the utility for failure

to report work in advance.* One other state simply makes

the defaulter liable for all damages resulting.5 Two others

give the utility contribution rights. The remaining nine

States’ statutes’ have no provision for reassigning or

shifting civil liability for resulting personal injuries.

As yet, no other state’s version of the High-voltage

Safety Act permits utilities to escape liability altogether

for their own negligence. But if the Georgia General

Assembly may deprive Petitioner of his tort claim, while

omitting to require that utilities post public notice of high

voltage, then other states may enact similar statutes lack-

ing suitable notice requirements. Citizens may be

+ Those states are Alaska, AS 18.60.685(b); Arizona, A.R.S.

§ 40-360.44B; Arkansas, Ark. Code Ann. § 11-5-305(a); Idaho,

[.C. § 55-2404(2); Massachusetts, M.G.L.A. ch. 166 § 21G(b);

Nevada, NRS § 455.240.3; Oklahoma, 63 Okla. St. Ann. § 984;

South Dakota, SDCL § 49-32-17; Texas, Health & Safety Code

§ 752.008 (Vernon); Utah, Utah Code Ann. § 54-8c-4(3); and

Wyoming, W.S. § 37-3-305.

> Colorado, Col. Rev. St. § 9-2.5-104(2).

6 Mississippi, Miss. Code 1972 § 45-15-13(2); and Missouri,

V.A.M.S. § 319.085.

Alabama, Code Ala. §§ 37-8-52 to 37-8-55; Maryland, Ann.

Code Md. Lab. & Empl., §§ 6-101 to 6-110; Nebraska, Rev. St.

Neb. §§ 48-436 to 48-442; New Jersey, NJSA §§ 34:6-47.1 to

34:6-47.9; New York, N.Y. Lab. Law, § 202-h (McKinney); North

Dakota, N.D. Cent. Code § 49-21.1-01 to 49-21.1-05:;

rg i ania, 43 Pa.C.S.A. §§ 26-1 to 26-7; Tennessee, T.C.A.

§ 68-103-101 to 68-103-108; and Virginia, Code Va. §§ 59.1-406

: 59.1-414.

22

deprived of factual knowledge necessary to protect their

property interests.

This case is important to shock and electrocution

victims as a practical matter, as well as significant to the

development of “property interests” and due process pro-

cedures.

¢--

CONCLUSION

This Court should grant the Petition for writ of cer-

tiorari.

This 30th day of June, 1998.

Respectfully submitted,

Davip A. Wesster, Esq.

300 Hurt Building

Atlanta, Georgia 30303-2914

(404) 681-3070

Counsel of Record

Harpy Grecory, Jr., Esq.

P.O. Drawer 5230

Cordele, Georgia 31015

(912) 273-7150

JoHN M. Hyatt, Esq.

Suite 201 Trust Building

545 North McDonough Street

Decatur, Georgia 30030

(404) 378-3635

Counsel for Petitioner

oC eee

la

WHOLE COURT

July 16, 1997

In the Court of Appeals of Georgia

A97A0776. PRESTON V. GEORGIA POWER CO. ET AL.

SM-045

A97A0777. INSURANCE COMPANY OF NORTH AMER-

ICA V. GEORGIA POWER CO. ET AL. SM-046

SMITH, Judge.

While cleaning a railroad freight car, Roy Preston was

grievously injured by contact with a high-voltage power

line. He sought damages from Georgia Power Company,

the owner of the power line, and Ashland Chemical Com-

pany, for which he was working at the time of the inci-

dent. Insurance Company of North America intervened

seeking to enforce its subrogation rights under OCGA

§ 34-9-11.1(b) for its payment of workers’ compensation

benefits to Preston.!

The trial court granted summary judgment to Ash-

land and Georgia Power. Preston originally appealed to

the Supreme Court because he contended the constitu-

tionality of the High-voltage Safety Act, was called into

question. Ashland moved to transfer the appeals to this

Court, and Preston opposed the transfer on the ground

that a constitutional issue had been raised and ruled

upon by the trial court in an earlier order, as to which the

Supreme Court had refused interlocutory review. The

' In its appeal, Case No. A97A0777, INA has adopted and

incorporated by reference Preston’s briefs.

2a

Supreme Court granted Ashland’s motion to transfer the

appeals to this court on the ground that the trial court

decided no constitutional issue in the order appealed

from. See Raskin v. Wallace, 215 Ga.App. 603, 604(1) (451

S.E.2d 485) (1994).

The trial court granted summary judgment to Ash-

land on the ground of the workers’ compensation tort bar

and to Georgia Power on the ground of lack of proximate

cause. Because Preston was a “borrowed servant” of Ash-

land at the time of his injury, and because Georgia Power

was protected by Ashland’s lack of notice of a hazardous

activity under the High-voltage Safety Act, OCGA

§§ 46-3-30 through 46-3-40, we affirm.

The evidence, construed in Preston’s favor, shows the

following: Ashland received bulk chemicals via railcar on

a siding between its plant and a power line running

parallel to the plant wall and the siding. Occasionally,

chemicals would become clogged in the hoppers of the

railcar, and Ashland employees would be instructed to

clean out the railcar from the top. It is undisputed that for

many years Ashland’s accepted method of cleaning rail-

cars was to lower an employee into the car in a safety

harness with a broom or shovel. In May 1992, Ashland’s

environmental health and safety department recom-

mended a change in this method because of the potential

danger of lowering an employee into a confined space

with chemical dust. Some time after this recommenda-

tion, Ashland began to use a shovel or spader on a 20- to

22-foot metal pole so that employees could stand on top

of the railcars to remove the residue. Ashland employees

used this spader “long-ways,” with the pole parallel to

3a

the length of the railcar, because they were aware they

could be hurt by the power lines.

On June 22, 1993, Preston was working for Ashland

as a temporary employee assigned by ProTemps, a tem-

porary labor agency. Preston was given the spader and

instructed to clean out a railcar. This violated Ashland’s

policy that no temporary employees were to be allowed

on top of railcars. Preston was not given any instructions

in the use of the spader. Although he testified he did not

see the power lines, he agreed there was nothing to

prevent his seeing them and he knew it would be dan-

gerous to touch power wires with a pole. While standing

on top of the railcar, he swung the pole at right angles to

the track and contacted the power lines, suffering severe

personal injury. The power lines were between 26 and 28

feet above the ground and approximately 11 feet to one

side of the railroad track; the diagonal clearance was

measured at approximately 13 feet from the top of the

railcar.

Ashland employees testified that they knew of no

personal injury from the power lines on Ashland’s prem-

ises before Preston was hurt. No evidence was presented

that Georgia Power knew Ashland had begun using a 20-

to 22-foot metal pole in the vicinity of existing power

lines. No witness testified that Georgia Power personnel

were present at Ashland on previous occasions when

railcars were on the track, when unloading operations

were taking place, or when the spader was being used.

Georgia Power was never notified that the spader would

be used or that work was to be performed within ten feet

of its lines.

4a

1. With respect to Preston’s claims against Ashland

Chemical, the only issue is the application of the workers’

compensation tort bar, OCGA § 34-9-11(a). At the time of

his injury, Preston was a temporary laborer assigned by

his employer, ProTemps, to Ashland Chemical. Ashland

contends that it is protected by the statutory bar because

Preston was its borrowed servant at the time of his injury.

Ashland presented testimony that Preston was under its

exclusive supervision and control while working at its

facility with respect to the work performed by Preston

and its power to discharge him.

Preston, however, points to the testimony of an Ash-

land “compliance specialist” or safety officer agreeing

that he “wouldn’t have a problem with” ProTemps substi-

tuting another ProTemps worker in Preston’s place, and

the testimony of an Ashland manager that ProTemps

would do the actual firing if Ashland became dissatisfied

with Preston. This testimony, he contends, forestalls sum-

mary judgment on the issue of whether he was a bor-

rowed servant at the time of his injury.

“{I]n order for an employee to be a borrowed

employee, the evidence must show that (1) the special

master had complete control and direction of the servant

for the occasion; (2) the general master had no such

confrol, and (3) the special master had the exclusive right

to discharge the servant.” (Citations and punctuation

omitted.) Six Flags Over Georgia, Inc. v. Hill, 247 Ga. 375,

377(1) (276 S.E.2d 572) (1981). “[A]ll three prongs of the

test must focus on ‘the occasion when the injury

occurred’ rather than the work relationship in general.”

Stephens v. Oates, 189 Ga.App. 6, 7 (374 S.E.2d 821) (1988).

5a

Because a temporary labor service “is in the very busi-

ness of temporarily ‘loaning’ its employees to others,

[cits.],” Sheets v. J. H. Heath Tree Svc., 193 Ga.App. 278, 279

(387 S.E.2d 155) (1989), this court has repeatedly consid-

ered the employment status of such agency employees.

See, e.g., Staffing Resources, Inc. v. Nash, 218 Ga.App. 525,

526 (462 S.E.2d 401) (1995); Sheets, supra; Stephens, supra.

The crucial issue here is whether the extent of control

retained by ProTemps over Preston is sufficient to void

the third part of the “borrowed servant” test: the exclu-

sive right to discharge.

The Ashland manager’s testimony that ProTemps

would do the actual firing at the request of Ashland does

not show a nonexclusive power to discharge; that theory

was expressly addressed and rejected in Nash, supra at

5926. Here, we must decide whether the Ashland

employee’s testimony that he would not object to Pro-

Temps’s removing Preston and substituting another tem-

porary worker in his place deprives Ashland of its

exclusive power to discharge as described in Nash, Sheets,

and Stephens. We conclude that it does not.

Even if ProTemps retained some authority to remove

Preston from his position at Ashland, the power of the

general master to reassign or discharge a borrowed ser-

vant is irrelevant to the servant’s employment status with

the special master. In Six Flags, supra, the Supreme Court

defined the special master’s “exclusive right to dis-

charge” the borrowed servant as the power to unilaterally

discharge from working on the specific task assigned by

the special master and from working for the special mas-

ter. Six Flags, supra at 378(1).

6a

In Stephens, supra, relying on the holding in Six Flags,

this Court reiterated that the focus of the borrowed ser-

vant test must be the special master’s control at the time

of the injury, rather than generally, and that this is also

true of “the rights of the special master to discharge the

servant and to put another in his place.” Id. at 7-8. With

respect to Preston, ProTemps “obviously retained some

control over him, including the right to terminate his

employment as its ‘lendable servant.’ However, once

there was an assignment of appellant to a special master,

[ProTemps] relinquished that control during the existence

of the ‘borrowed servant’ relationship.” Sheets, supra at

279.

This result is consistent with our earlier holding in

Jarrard v. Doyle, 164 Ga.App. 339, 340 (297 S.E.2d 301)

(1982). In Jarrard, a hotel employee was temporarily

assigned to assist a contractor in performing repair work

on the hotel and therefore became a borrowed servant of

the contractor. Even though the hotel retained some

authority over its employee and “could have taken him

off the project and assigned him to other work at any

” id. at 340(1), the contractor, as the special master,

“clearly had the exclusive right to control and direct the

plaintiff’s work on the particular task in question, as well

time,

as to dismiss him from that task for unsatisfactory perfor-

mance” because “the right to discharge that the special

master must have means the right to discharge the ser-

vant from that particular work.” (Citations and punctua-

tion omitted.) Id.

Undisputed testimony was presented that Ashland

had unilateral authority to discharge Preston from the

work assigned to him; on the morning in question it

7a

removed Preston from his task of labeling cans and

directed him to clean the railcar. It could do so without

the permission of ProTemps; a ProTemps officer, by affi-

davit, stated that ProTemps had no authority to counter-

mand such an order. Because Ashland had this unilateral

right to discharge Preston from the particular work he

was engaged in at the time of his injury, the trial court

did not err in holding that Preston was a borrowed ser-

vant and that h. aim was barred by OCGA § 34-9-11(a).

2. Preston also complains of the trial court’s grant

of summary judgment in favor of Georgia Power on the

ground of lack of proximate cause. We need not address

Preston’s contention because summary judgment was

proper under OCGA § 46-3-39(a); Ashland and Preston

failed to notify Georgia Power of work taking place

within ten feet of its line.

We cannot, as the dissent asserts, attempt to examine

the motives of the Supreme Court in first denying an

interlocutory application on the constitutionality of the

High-voltage Safety Act and then transferring these

appeals to this court. The dissent is incorrect in its con-

clusion that the transfer of these appeals to this court is

dispositive of any constitutional issue or circumscribes

our authority to rule on an issue that was raised and

argued below. See Atlanta Independent School System v.

Lane, 266 Ga. 657 (469 S.E.2d 22) (1996) (transfer of case to

Court of Appeals not dispositive of constitutional issues).

It is also incorrect in its assertion that Preston will be

unable to raise this issue at a later time. While Preston’s

interlocutory application to the Supreme Court on the

constitutional issue was denied, he will have yet another

opportunity to raise it on certiorari.

8a

Under the authority of Southeast Ceramics v. Klem, 246

Ga. 294(1) (271 S.E.2d 199) (1980), the Supreme Court had

the power to review the constitutional issue raised in the

court’s earlier interlocutory order when these appeals

were filed. It apparently has declined to do so by trans-

ferring the appeals to this court. We note, however, that

the constitutional issue raised by Preston appears irrele-

vant. Preston’s sole constitutional ground asserts that the

High-voltage Safety Act is unreasonable, arbitrary, and

capricious because it fails to require the utility to identify

which of its lines are high-voltage lines. But a filed and

recorded public document in which Ashland granted an

electrical power easement to Georgia Power clearly iden-

tifies the voltage of the power lines and demonstrates

that Ashland had actual notice of the high voltage. In light

of the evidence that Ashland was required to give notice

to Georgia Power and was aware of the high voltage

carried by the power lines, Preston's lack of knowledge is

immaterial to the application of OCGA § 46-3-39(a).

Whatever the reasons for the transfer, the appli-

cability of the High-voltage Safety Act was raised and

fully briefed below and is before us now. We cannot

decline to decide this issue by speculating on the reasons

for the Supreme Court’s transfer as specifically forbidden

by that Court in Lane. We therefore consider the appli-

cability of the High-voltage Safety Act to this case.?

2 Although we do not reach the issue, the dissent is also

incorrect in its adoption of Preston’s claim that he was “blind-

sided” by the trial court’s grant of summary judgment on the

issue of proximate cause. While the parties’ initial briefs on

9a

Several interlocking provisions of the High-voltage

Safety Act set out the duties of persons responsible for

performing work near high-voltage lines.? OCGA

§ 46-3-33 provides in pertinent part: “No person, firm, or

corporation shall commence any work as defined in para-

graph (6) of Code Section 46-3-32 if at any time any

‘person or any item specified in paragraph (6) of Code

Section 46-3-32 may be brought within ten feet of any

high-voltage line unless and-until: (1) The person respon-

sible for the work has given the notice required by Code

Section 46-3-34.” OCGA § 46-3-34(b) provides: “Where

work is to be done, the person responsible for such work

shall give notice to the utilities protection center during

its regular business hours at least 72 hours, excluding

weekends and holidays, prior to commencing such

work.”

The High-voltage Safety Act provides a restriction on

liability in OCGA § 46-3-39: “(a) The owner or operator of

high-voltage lines shall not be liable for damage or loss to

person or property resulting from work within ten feet of

high-voltage lines unless notice has been given as

summary judgment focused on the High-voltage Safety Act,

issues of negligence and proximate cause were fully briefed and

litigated below in supplemental briefs by both parties.

* “Person responsible for the work’ means the person

actually doing the work as well as any person, firm, or

corporation who employs and carries on his payroll any person

actually doing the work or who employs a subcontractor who

actually does the work.” OCGA § 46-3-32(3). “ ‘Work’ means the

physical act of performing or preparing to perform any activity

under, over, by, or near high-voltage lines.” OCGA § 46-3-32(6).

10a

required by Code Section 46-3-34 and the owner or opera-

tor of the high-voltage line has failed to comply with the

provisions of Code Section 46-3-33. (b) Except as pro-

vided in subsection (a) of this Code section, nothing in

this part shall be construed or applied so as to limit or

reduce the duty or degree of care applicable to owners or

operators of high-voltage lines with respect to damage or

loss to person or property.”

In refusing to grant summary judgment to Georgia

Power on the basis of OCGA § 46-3-39(a), the trial court

relied upon a number of decisions that predate extensive

and substantial amendments to the High-voltage Safety

Act. Ga.Laws 1992, p. 2141, sec. 1. Before the 1992 amend-

ment, the Georgia Supreme Court construed the High-

voltage Safety Act to hold that even if the Act were

violated, the utility nevertheless must show that the lines

were properly located and maintained in order to bar

recovery. Malvarez v. Georgia Power Co., 250 Ga. 568, 569

(300 S.E.2d 145) (1983). In so holding, the Supreme Court

pointed to the language of former OCGA § 46-3-38 (Ga.

Code Ann. § 34B-209), which provided in its entirety:

“Nothing in this part shall be construed or applied so as

to limit or reduce the duty or degree of care applicable to

owners or operators of high-voltage lines with respect to

damage or loss to person or property.” Id. at 569. Brown v.

Southern Bell Tel.&c., Co., 209 Ga.App. 99 (432 S.E.2d 675)

(1993), relied upon by the trial court, expressly stated that

the earlier version of the High-voltage Safety Act was

applicable in that case. Id. at 100. While the date of the

incident in Leonardson v. Georgia Power Co., 210 Ga.App.

574, 575, n. 1 (436 S.E.2d 690) (1993), is not revealed, the

Pep ee fe eee eR EEE Fees ete Oe ORES tS me Ce ee,

%

q

lla

decision simply relies upon Malvarez and does not note

the 1992 amendment.

The language of the former Act provided no express

restriction on liability like that now codified in OCGA

§ 46-3-39(a). It simply forbade the performance of certain

work near high-voltage lines without notification and

without the completion of certain safety measures. See

former OCGA §§ 46-3-31 (Ga. Code Ann. § 34B-202);

46-3-32 (Ga. Code Ann. § 34B-203); 46-3-33 (Ga. Code

Ann. § 34B-205). On this basis, Malvarez and its progeny

held that the failure to obey these provisions of the Act

did not of itself relieve the utility from liability. Malvarez,

supra at 569.

The 1992 amendment of the High-voltage Safety Act

revised the Act in large part and significantly altered the

language relied upon in Malvarez. The amendment for the

first time provided an explicit restriction on liability and

added language that expressly exempts that restriction

from the provision that the power line owner or opera-

tor’s duty or degree of care is not limited or reduced by

the Act. See OCGA § 46-3-39(a), (b).

Under the rules of statutory construction, we must

construe all related statutes together, give meaning to

each part of the statute, and avoid constructions that

result in surplusage and meaningless language. City of

Buchanan v. Pope, 222 Ga.App. 716, 717(1) (476 S.E.2d 53)

(1996). Moreover, we must presume that at the time the

1992 amendment was enacted the legislature was aware

of the existing law and the Malvarez decision. Hart v.

Owens-Illinois, 250 Ga. 397, 400 (297 S.E.2d 462) (1982).

The legislature expressly revised the statute to avoid the

12a

result in Malvarez; we must conclude that they intended

to do so. This conclusion is consistent with this court’s

recent holding in Callaway v. Crown Crafts, Inc. 223

Ga.App. 297, 299(3) (477 S.E.2d 435) (1996) (physical pre-

cedent only),4 in which we applied the High-voltage

Safety Act, as amended, to relieve the owner of a high-

voltage line from liability.

A grant of summary judgment must be affirmed if it

is right for any reason. Malaga Mgmt. Co. v. John Deere Co.,

208 Ga.App. 764, 767(5) (431 S.E.2d 746); see Precise v. City

of Rossville, 261 Ga. 210, 211(3) (403 S.E.2d 47) (1991).

Because Georgia Power was protected under OCGA

§ 46-3-39(a) by Preston’s and Ashland’s failure to give the

appropriate notice, the trial court correctly granted sum-

mary judgment in favor of Georgia Power.

Judgment affirmed. Andrews, C. i Birdsong, P. J.,

Eldridge, J., concur. Beasley, J., concurs specially. Ruffin, J.,

concurs in the judgment only. McMurray, P.J., dissents.

A97A0776. PRESTON V. GEORGIA POWER CO. ET AL.

SM-45

A97A0777. INSURANCE COMPANY OF NORTH AMER-

ICA V. GEORGIA POWER COMPANY ET AL. SM-46

BEASLEY, Judge, concurring specially.

[ concur fully in Division 1 but I do not fully concur

in Division 2.

* The special concurrence in Callaway incorrectly applied

Malvarez, supra, and its progeny without reference to the 1992

revisions of the Act. Callaway, supra at 300(2).

l3a

For one thing, I do not agree that Preston will have

an opportunity to pursue his claim of unconstitutionality

of the High-voltage Safety Act on petition for certiorari. If

the Supreme Court grants his petition, should he file one,

its review will be limited to this Court’s rulings, as it will

be this Court’s action and not that of the superior court

which will be subject to review. As stated in Daniels v.

State, 248 Ga. 591, 592 fn. 1 (285 S.E.2d 516) (1981), when

a petition for certiorari is granted and the case is before

the Supreme Court, “in its discretion [that] court can

consider any matter presented to or decided by the Court

of Appeals.” Southeast Ceramics v. Klem, 246 Ga. 294 (271

S.E.2d 199) (1980), is an illustration. The Constitution

provides that “The Supreme Court may review by cer-

tiorari cases in the Court of Appeals which are of gravity

or great public importance.” Ga. Const. 1983, Art. VI, Sec.

VI, Par. V. The scope of certiorari, then, is comprised of

matters presented to or decided by the Court of Appeals.

This Court cannot decide the constitutionality vel

non of a statute (Ga. Const. 1983, Art. VI, Sec. VI, Par.

II(1)), and the matter was not and, for the jurisdictional

reason, could not be, presented to us. In fact, the issue

was presented to the Supreme Court by appellant, but it

transferred the case to the Court of Appeals. Even if, as a

matter of jurisdictional jurisprudence, the Supreme Court

could reach around the Court of Appeals decision and

take up on certiorari an issue decided only by the supe-

rior court and outside the competency of the Court of

Appeals, it is unrealistic to propose that it would do so.

Had the Supreme Court viewed the constitutionality

issue properly before it on the appeal taken directly to it

l4a

by appellant, it would have been compelled by the consti-

tution to accept the case because of its exclusive jurisdic-

tion of such matters. Ga. Const. 1983, Art. VI, Sec. VI, Par.

II(1). Instead, it transferred the appeal to this Court.

Preston’s claim in this regard has effectively been fore-

closed. The trial court denied plaintiff Preston’s motion to

strike Georgia Power Company’s defense founded on the

Act, which motion was based in part on the charge that

the Act was unconstitutional. Preston argued that it vio-

lated his rights to equal protection and due process.

Although he referred to both the federal and the state

constitutions, he did so generally and without any cita-

tion to specific provisions. The trial court did not

expressly differentiate in its ruling either, although it

ruled that Preston had no Standing to complain of the

lack of equal protection and it ruled that federally pro-

tected due process was not contravened by the Act. The

court granted a certificate of immediate review at plain-

tiff’s request, but the Supreme Court denied interlocutory

appeal. It did not explain its denial.

The Supreme Court has now transferred to this Court

Preston’s appeal from the order granting both Ashland’s

and Georgia Power Company’s motions for summary

judgment. In that order, the trial court noted: “Plaintiff

also raises constitutional challenges to the High Voltage

Safety Act on equal protection and due process grounds.

This court has already ruled adversely to plaintiff on

these constitutional issues in the order filed November

17, 1994.” Thus, the trial court reiterated and confirmed

its ruling on constitutionality and made it part of the

summary judgment order as well. That ruling was neces-

sary to its ruling on the remaining grounds, which

l5a

depended upon an application of the Act; had it been

unconstitutional, Georgia Power Company would not

have been entitled to summary judgment.

This Court could not have addressed the issue of

constitutionality, for lack of subject matter jurisdiction,

and the transfer to this Court merely means that the

Supreme Court has discerned some reason it need not

exercise its exclusive jurisdiction over the constitu-

tionality issue. In the words used in Atlanta Independent

School System v. Lane, 266 Ga. 657(1) (469 S.E.2d 22) (1996),

“[the] transfer merely represents [the Supreme Court's]

determination that [this] was not a case involving a con-

stitutional issue over which [it] had exclusive jurisdic-

tion.” Id. This does not mean that the constitutional issue

does not have merit. Id. at 658.

The Supreme Court's order states that the case is

transferred to this Court “[b]lecause the issue on which

the trial court granted summary judgment . . . does not

fall within the jurisdiction of this Court.” The constitu-

tionality issue falls by the wayside.

On another subject, I must point out that I do concur

in footnote 4. In 1992, the general liability of owners and

operators of high-voltage lines was eliminated in the ten-

foot circumstances described in OCGA § 46-3-39(a).

Because of the 1992 amendments to the High-voltage

Safety Act, the liability for injury or damage caused by

improperly located or improperly maintained lines which

is discussed in Malvarez v. Ga. Power Co., 250 Ga. 568 (300

S.E.2d 145) (1983), applies only to instances outside the

exception created in subsection (a). See OCGA

§ 46-3-39(b). The date of the accident in Callaway v. Crown

l6a

Crafts, Inc., 223 Ga.App. 297 (477 S.E.2d 435) (1996), was

after the effective date of the 1992 amendments.

A97A0776. PRESTON V. GEORGIA POWER CO. ET AL.

A97A0777. INSURANCE COMPANY OF NORTH AMER-

ICA V. GEORGIA POWER COMPANY ET AL.

McMURRAY, Presiding Judge, dissenting.

I respectfully dissent as to Division 2 of the majority

opinion because, in my view, a fair and sensible reading

of the Supreme Court's order transferring the cases sub

judice to the Court of Appeals precludes this Court's

review of any issue concerning application of the 1992

amendment to Georgia’s High-voltage Safety Act, OCGA

§ 46-3-39(a). I believe the unique procedural circum-

Stances in these cases (both in the trial court and on

appeal) takes [sic] the trial court’s summary judgment

order outside the “right for any reason” rule and focuses

[sic] this Court on the sole basis of the trial court's order

granting summary judgment to Georgia Power Company

(“Georgia Power”), i.e., proximate cause. And as to this

issue, | would vacate that part of thé trial court’s judg-

ment granting summary judgment to Georgia Power, and

remand the case to the trial court, because Roy Preston's

attorneys were unfairly blind-sided by the proximate

cause issue while defending the sole basis of Georgia

Power’s motion for summary judgment, “whether the

action against [Georgia Power] is barred by the provi-

sions of Georgia’s High-voltage Safety Act (OCGA

§ 46-3-30), which was amended in 1992.”

Although the trial court rejected Roy Preston’s con-

stitutional challenge to OCGA § 46-3-39(a) in an earlier

17a

interlocutory order, the trial court concluded on summary

judgment that this 1992 amendment to Georgia’s High-

voltage Safety Act does not preclude Preston’s claims

against Georgia Power. The trial court, nonetheless,

granted summary judgment based on a finding that Geor-

gia Power’s noncompliance with the National Electric

Safety Code was not a proximate cause of Roy Preston's

injuries. This procedural posture is the basis for the fol-

lowing transfer order entered by the Georgia Supreme

Court: “Because the issue on which the trial court granted

summary judgment in these cases does not fall within the

jurisdiction of this Court, the appeals are hereby trans-

ferred to the Court of Appeals. All the Justices concur,

except Sears, J., who dissents.”

I believe the Georgia Supreme Court's transfer order

removes this Court’s authority to apply OCGA

§ 46-3-39(a) based on the “right for any reason” rule and

focuses this Court’s review to the sole basis of the trial

court’s order granting summary judgment to Georgia

Power, i.e., proximate cause. Saying otherwise, precludes

Roy Preston’s right to challenge the constitutional val-

idity of the very Code subsection which is the basis of the

majority’s opinion, OCGA § 46-3-39(a).° I, therefore,

> Even so, I cannot go along with majority’s view that

OCGA § 46-3-39(a) nullifies the Supreme Court’s holding in

Malvarez v. Georgia Power Company, 250 Ga. 568 (300 S.E.2d 145),

“that lack of notification [under OCGA § 46-3-34] is a bar to

recovery only where the lines are ‘otherwise properly located

and maintained.’ Carden v. Ga. Power, [231 Ga. 456, 457 (202

S.E.2d 55)].” Malvarez v. Georgia Power Co., 250 Ga. 568, 569,

supra. As Judge Beasley accurately pointed out in a special

concurrence in Callaway v. Crown Crafts, Inc., 223 Ga.App. 297,

18a

believe it appropriate to zero-in on the trial court’s ruling

that Georgia Power’s noncompliance with the National

Electric Safety Code was not a proximate cause of Roy

Preston's injuries.

“ “Although our law concerning motions for sum-

mary judgment allows a trial court to grant, sua sponte, a

summary judgment, a trial court’s authority to do so is

not unlimited. The grant of summary judgment must be

proper in all other respects. (Cit.) “This means that in

addition to ensuring the record supports such a judg-

ment, the trial court must ensure that the party against

whom summary judgment is rendered is given full and

fair notice and opportunity to respond prior to entry of

summary judgment. (Cits.)” (Cit.)’ Hodge v. Sada Enter-

prise, 217 Ga.App. 688, 690(1) (458 S.E.2d 876) (1995).

‘“The crucial point is to insure that the party against

whom summary judgment is sought has had a full and

final opportunity to meet and attempt to controvert the

assertions against him.” (Cit.)’ Famble v. State Farm Ins.

Co., 204 Ga.App. 332, 336(4) (419 S.E.2d 143) (1992).”

300(2) (477 S.E.2d 435), the Malvarez rule recognizes the distinct

duty imposed upon one maintaining high-tension lines to

“ “maintain them in such a manner and at sucha location as not

to injure persons who might reasonably be expected to come in

contact with them.’ (Emphasis removed.) [Buckner v. Colquitt

EMC, 206 Ga.App. 69, 70 (424 S.E.2d 299)].” Callaway v. Crown

Crafts, Inc., 223 Ga.App. 297, 300(2), supra. Since there is

evidence in the cases sub judice that Georgia Power did not

comply with this duty by failing to maintain its power line

within standards prescribed by the National Electric Safety

Code, I believe genuine issues of material fact remain as to

Georgia Power’s liability (breach of duty) for any such

noncompliance.

19a

(Emphasis in the original.) Aycock v. Calk, 222 Ga.App.

763 (476 S.E.2d 274.)

Georgia Power narrowed the scope of its motion for

summary judgment with the following statement in its

supporting brief: “The sole issue raised by Georgia

Power’s Motion for Summary Judgment is whether the

action against it is barred by the provisions of Georgia’s

High-voltage Safety Act (OCGA-§ 46-3-30), which was

amended in 1992. It is believed that this is the first

occasion for the new Act to be construed.” Although the

trial court rejected this assertion, Roy Preston was blind-

sided by the proximate cause issue in the trial court’s

summary judgment order. That is to say, Roy Preston’s

attorneys were simply not given a fair opportunity to

address the fact intensive proximate cause issue in the

trial court because they were concentrating on Georgia

Power’s sole request for the trial court to resolve

“whether the action against it is barred by the provisions

of Georgia’s High-voltage Safety Act (OCGA § 46-3-30),

which was amended in 1992.” Since proximate cause is a

matter which should be resolved only in plain, palpable

and undisputed cases where reasonable minds cannot

differ as to the conclusions to be reached, Wade v. Mit-

chell, 206 Ga.App. 265, 268(4) (424 S.E.2d 810), I believe

Roy Preston’s attorneys should be provided an oppor-

tunity to refine the evidentiary record and do whatever

else is necessary to defend the proximate cause issue in

the trial court. I stand firm in this view because, even

though the evidentiary record in the case sub judice

appears well-developed, I believe it unfair to hit a person

from the left (so to speak) when that person is defending

a blow from the right.

J PAS hays.

20a

| would vacate that part of the trial court’s judgment

granting summary judgment in favor of C

eOrgia Power

and remand the case to the tri

al court.

2la

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF GEORGIA

CLERK’S OFFICE

ATLANTA

DATE: February 20, 1998

john M. Hyatt

HYATT & HYATT, P.C.

Suite 201 Trust Building

545 North McDonough Street

Decatur GA 30030

Case No. $97C1845

ROY K. PRESTON V. GEORGIA POWER COMPANY et al

COURT OF APPEALS CASE NO. A97A0776 A97A0777

[he Supreme Court today denied the petition for

certiorari in this case.

All the Justices concur.

Sincerely,

Sherie M. Welch, Clerk

7

SUPREME COURT OF GEORGIA

Case No. $97C1845 Atlanta, April 01, 1998

[he Honorable Supreme Court met pursuant to

adjournment.

[he following order was passed:

ROY K. PRESTON V. GEORGIA POWER COMPANY et al.

Upon consideration of the Motion for Reconsidera-

tion filed in this case, it is ordered that it be hereby

denied.

SUPREME COURT OF THE

STATE OR GEORGIA

Clerk’s Office, Atlanta

| hereby certify that the above is

a true extract from the minutes

of the Supreme Court of

Georgia. Witness my signature

and the seal of said court hereto

affixed the day and year last

above written.

Sherie M. Welch, Clerk.

23a

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF DEKALB COUNTY

STATE OF GEORGIA

ROY K. PRESTON,

Plaintiff,

v. - Civil Action

GEORGIA POWER COMPANY | Gi So39°7

and ASHLAND CHEMICAL, INC., ~

Defendants.

ORDER

(Filed July 24, 1996)

The plaintiff in this action was an employee of Pro

Search & Pro Temps, Inc. (“Pro Search”). He was assigned

to work for defendant Ashland Chemical Inc. (“Ash-

land”) and on June 22, 1993 was directed to clean out a

railway car owned by defendant Norfolk Southern Rail-

way Company (“Norfolk”), which was parked on railroad

tracks near a high-voltage power line owned by Georgia

Power Company (“Georgia Power”). While cleaning out

the railway car, plaintiff allegedly struck the power line

with the aluminum pole of the spader he was using.

Plaintiff asserts that he was severely shocked, thrown

from the railroad car, and suffered severe injuries. This

case is currently before this court on Ashland’s motion

for summary judgment, Georgia Power's motion for sum-

mary judgment, and plaintiff’s motion to compel.

24a

A. Ashland’s Motion for Summary Judgment

1. O.C.G.A. § 34-9-11.1

Ashland argues for summary judgment on two

grounds. One is that Preston’s claims against Ashland are

barred under O.C.G.A. § 34-9-11.1 because he did not sue

Ashland within one year of the injury. The statute in

effect at the time of the injury stated that if the employee

failed to sue within one year, the employer or his insurer

had an assignment of the employee’s tort cause of action.

However, the statute was amended effective July 1, 1995

to clarify that the employee has a cause of action until the

applicable statute of limitations runs, but the employer or

his insurer has the right to file suit if the employee does

not sue within one year of the injury.

The amendment states it is retroactive to injuries

occurring on or after july 1, 1992. The Georgia Supreme

Court upheld this retroactivity as a change in the statute

of limitations affecting no vested rights. Vaughn v. Vulcan

Materials Co., 266 Ga. 163 (1996); Accord, Moore v. Savair-

nah Cocoa, Inc., 217 Ga. App. 869 (1995). Preston’s injury

occurred June 22, 1993 and suit was filed against Ashland

within the statute of limitations on August 19, 1994. Ash-

land’s motion for summary judgment on the basis that

Preston’s claims are barred under O.C.G.A. § 34-9-11.1 is

hereby denied.

2. Borrowed Servant

Ashland’s other argument for summary judgment is

that Preston was its borrowed servant and his tort claim

against Ashland is barred by the exclusive remedy of

workers’ compensation. O.C.G.A. § 34-9-11 states that

25a

“[t]he rights and the remedies granted to an employee by

this chapter shall exclude all other rights and remedies of

such employee . . . at common law or otherwise. :

Furthermore, O.C.G.A. § 34-9-23, which became effective

on July 1, 1994, reaffirmed this exclusivity provision. That

section states that “[t]his chapter is intended to provide a

complete and exclusive system and procedure for the

resolution of disputes between employers and

employees.” See also, Pappas v. Hill-Staton Eng'rs., Inc., 183

Ga. App. 258, cert. denied, 183 Ga. App. 906 (1987).

In Georgia, an employee who is a “borrowed ser-

vant” may recover for work-related injuries under

workers’ compensation from either the general master or

the special master, sometimes from both, but may not

recover workers’ compensation benefits from one

employer and maintain an action in tort against the other.

Coca-Cola Co. v. Nicks, 215 Ga. App. 381 (1994), citing U.S.

Fidelity & Co. v. Forrester, 230 Ga. 182 (1973). In Six Flags

Over Georgia, Inc. v. Hill, 247 Ga. 375 (1981), the Supreme

Court set forth a three-prong test for a “borrowed ser-

vant” to be considered an employee of the special master

as well [as] of the general master: 1) the special master

had complete control and direction of the servant for that

occasion, 2) the general master had no such control, and

3) the special master had exclusive right to discharge the

servant. In addition, there must be notice to and assent by

the servant as to the special relationship.

Preston in the case sub judice agrees that the first two

prongs of the test are met but argues that the temporary

agency retained the right to discharge him from employ-

ment, therefore Ashland did not have the unilateral right

26a

to discharge him and Preston was not a borrowed ser-

vant.

he Six Flags court analyzed the third prong “exclu-

sive right to discharge” in terms of the particular job the

employee was doing at the time of injury, holding that Six

Flags had the unilateral right to discharge the employee

from work on the task of the moment, the Mindbender

(where he was injured), and from work at Six Flags. The

court Was not concerned with whether the general master

had the right to discharge the employee, as well. This is

in accord with Fulghum Industries v. Pollard Lumber Co.,

l06 Ga. App. 49 (1962), cited by the Six Flags court.

Fulghum clarifies the third prong as “(3) that the special

master must have the exclusive right to discharge the

servant, to put another in his place or to put him to other

work. [Cits]” Fulghum at 52.

A later case which is in accord and tactuaily on point

is Stephens v. Oates, 189 Ga. App. 6 (1988). A Kelly Tempo-

rary Services employee was assigned to work side-by-

side with TG & Y warehouse employees. Kelly paid the

temporary employee, but TG & Y supervised her and told

her how and when to work. The injured employee argued

that Kelly had the exclusive right to discharge her, not TG

& Y. The Court of Appeals upheld the trial court's grant

of summary judgment to TG & Y on the basis that the

employee was a borrowed servant in its employ, citing

Six Flags that the three-prong test is to be applied as of

the time of the injury and that the third prong was met if

the special master could discharge the employee for

unsatisfactory work at that job assignment. Accord, Nash

v. Staffing Resources, Inc., 218 Ga. App. 525 (1995) (holding

that a temporary employee was a borrowed servant of an,

la J

27 a

employer when the employer made the decision to termi-

nate the worker from a temporary assignment but the

staffing agency actually fired the temporary employee it

had placed with the employer.) See also, Jarrard v. Doyle,

164 Ga. App. 339 (1982) (defining the third prong as the

“right to discharge from that particular work.”)

Charter Builders, Inc. v. Sims Crane Service, Inc., 150

Ga.App. 100 (1979) is factually distinguishable in that the

special master had to call the general master before

removing a crane operator from the job. The crane opera-

tor was held not to be a borrowed servant. In Sheets v. ].H.

Heath Tree Service, Inc., 193 Ga. App. 278 (1989), a Labor

Pool employee was assigned work with the tree service

(Heath). The Court of Appeals upheld the trial court

grant of summary judgment that the employee was

Heath’s borrowed servant on the basis that Heath had the

exclusive right to control and discharge insofar as this job

was concerned. Plaintiff in the case sub judice seizes on

language in Sheets that the Labor Pool relinquished con-

trol over the employee when assigned to the special

master, and argues that in the case sub judice, Pro Temps

did not relinquish its control. That is inapposite here, as

Pro Temps did relinquish day-to-day control of plaintiff’s

work.

In Southern Railway Co. v. Hand, 216 Ga. App. 370

(1995), Hand was employed by Bankhead Maintenance

Co. as a foreman of welding crews working on the rails of

Southern Railway (“Southern”). Southern moved for

summary judgment that Hand was its borrowed servant

when injured and proved that Southern assigned his

daily work, took him to job sites many times, helped him

unload his truck and prepare his work sites, could

28a

remove him from one job site or move him to another job,

and could make him re-do a job. The Court of Appeals,

citing Six Flags, held that Southern failed to establish that

Southern had the exclusive right to discharge the

employee and that Bankhead had no control or direction

over him for the occasion at issue. Preston asserts Hand as

authority that Ashland must prove it alone could dis-

charge Preston.

Hand, when read in conjunction with Six Flags,

requires that the analysis of “unilateral right to dis-

charge” be done in regard to the particular job Preston

was on when he was injured. Because Ashland had the

right to tell Preston to stop work on the railroad car and /

or leave Ashland’s premises just prior to the injury, and

could have done that without permission of Pro Temps, the

third prong of the Six Flags test is met.

This court notes that O.C.G.A. § 34-9-11(c), which

became effective April 7, 1995, grants immunity from tort

liability to a business using a temporary service when

workers’ compensation is provided either by the tempor-

ary service or by the business. Plaintiff argues this was

done to remedy a gap in existing law and cites to other

sections of the workers’ compensation code which pro-

vide that a “temporary help contracting firm” and

“employee leasing company” are employeers who must

provide workers’ compensation benefits to temporary

workers. However, the new code section also provides

that such temporary firms are statutory employers for

workers’ compensation purposes. Given the sizable and

consistent body of case law cited previously which holds

both employers to have tort immunity, it appears this

new section merely codifies existing case law.

Wie. HOE PDI AB ie

29a

Since plaintiff was Ashland’s borrowed servant,

plaintiff’s tort claim is barred by the exclusive remedy of

workers’ compensation, and Ashland’s motion for sum-

mary judgment is granted.

B. Georgia Power's Motion for Summary Judgment

Georgia Power argues that O.C.G.A. § 46-3-39 bars

any recovery for plaintiff because it was not given notice

of the work within ten feet of the high voltage line so that

it could shut off the power or otherwise make the area

safe. Affidavits submitted from a Georgia Power super-

visor and a supervisor at the Utilities Protection Center

attest that there is no record of any notice being given.

Georgia Power also argues that plaintiff and his

employer, defendant Ashland, are strictly liable for the

damage because of their lack of notice to the utility under

O.C.G.A. § 46-3-40(b).

Plaintiff agrees that Georgia Power is not liable

under the High Voltage Safety Act (HVSA) for the acci-

dent itself since it was not given notice and had no

opportunity to turn off the power, but that Georgia Power

remains liable for any negligence based on failure to

maintain the high voltage line at a proper distance under

three other sources of liability, the National Electrical

Safety Code (NESC), Georgia Power’s own in-house stan-

dards, and common law liability. Plaintiff cites Carden v.

Georgia Power, 231 Ga. 456 (1973) for the basis of common

law liability, that Georgia Power has a duty to maintain

the high voltage lines “in such a manner and at such a

location as not to injure persons who might be reasonably

30a

expected to come in contact with such lines.” Carden at

456-457.

Plaintiff also raises constitutional challenges to the

High Voltage Safety Act on equal protection and due

process grounds. This court has already ruled adversely

to plaintiff on these constitutional issues in the order filed

November 17, 1994.

Plaintiff also cites Malvarez v. Georgia Power, 250 Ga.

568 (1983) that lack of notice under this statute will bar

recovery by an employee only if the high voltage line was

“properly located and maintained.” Id. at 569. Malvarez

referenced then O.C.G.A. § 46-3-38 [which is now

O.C.G.A. § 46-3-39(b)] that “[njothing in this part shall be

construed or applied so as to limit or reduce the duty or

degree of care applicable to owners or operators of high-

voltage lines with respect to damage or loss to person or

property.” Georgia Power contends the July 1992 amend-

ment which added subsection (a) to O.C.G.A. § 46-3-39

negates the Malvarez holding. O.C.G.A. § 46-3-39(a) states

that Georgia Power “shall not be liable for dam-

age .. . resulting from work within ten feet . . . unless

notice has been given . . . and [Georgia Power] has failed

to” cut off the power or otherwise make the area safe.

Plaintiff argues that he was not engaged in a “trade

7,

or business” [the only activity for which notice is

required pursuant to the definition section, O.C.G.A.

§ 46-3-32] because he was a temporary employee and that

since he never knew what he would be working on from

one moment to the next, he could not give the required

72-hour advance notice. Georgia Power argues that plain-

tiff was engaged in his employer’s “trade or business”

3

a

,

3

3la

even though his employment was short-term. The evi-

dence shows plaintiff was engaged in the trade or busi-

ness of his employer.

Plaintiff also argues that the indemnification lan-

guage used in O.C.G.A. § 46-3-40(b) must mean that

Georgia Power has liability, because such language would

not be necessary without liability. However, this language

clearly applies in situations where Georgia Power may be

held liable to a third-party because of an accident, e.g.,

for power outages, or for property damage to its own

property or others’ property, regardless of how the acci-

dent occurred.

This court has reviewed the HVSA prior to the July

1992 amendment and after that amendment. At the time

Carden, supra, was decided, former code O.C.G.A.

§ 46-3-31 exempted a worker from notification respon-

sibility, and made his employer liable to him for any

injuries resulting from a failure of the employer to notify

Georgia Power. That section was repealed effective July 1,

1992 when O.C.G.A. § 46-3-39(a) was added and the

definition of “person responsible for the work” was

rewritten to include the worker as well as the employer.

The indemnification section was also added July 1992, as

“was O.C.G.A. § 46-3-40(c) which makes Georgia Power

liable for costs incurred by the employer if Georgia

Power delays in making the area safe. Read as a whole,

the July 1992 amendments broaden the definition of who

is to give notice by adding those actually doing the work

as well as the employer, and by requiring notice in more

situations, when work is done within 10 feet of the power

line rather than 8 feet. O.C.G.A. § 46-3-33, formerly

O.C.G.A. § 46-3-32.

x

32a

Plaintiff was a “person responsible for the work” and

his activity was “work” done in the pursuit of his trade or

business, and therefore he did have notification respon-

sibility under O.C.G.A. § 46-3-39. It is undisputed that

notice was not given. However, the July 1992 amend-

ments did not relieve Georgia Power of responsibility for

properly locating and maintaining power lines. Malvarez,

supra; Carden, supra. Two recent cases make this plain.

Leonardson v. Georgia Power Co., 210 Ga. App. 574 (1993)

cited Malvarez in a footnote for the proposition that negli-

gent installation or maintenance of high-voltage lines

which cause injury is actionable even though no notice

was given. Brown v. Southern Bell Tel. & Tel Co., 209 Ga.

App. 99 (1993) held that a claim of negligence against

Southern Bell was barred by the lack of notice, after

finding that the wire height met industry standards.

In the case sub judice, plaintiff was using a 20-foot

metal pole with a spader on the end while on top of the

railroad car. Nies Dep. at 38-39, 44, 47. According to

plaintiff’s expert, plaintiff's pole either touched one of

the power lines or came within about one inch of the

power line somewhere in the last five feet of the 20-foot

long pole. Nies Dep. at 46-48. The power line did not

cross over the railroad track. Nies Dep. at 52-53. Plain-

tiff’s expert based his Opinion on the 1987 NESC stan-

dards, but the standards in effect at the time of the 1993

accident were the 1990 NESC standards. Nies Dep. at 49,

107. Plaintiff’s expert calculated that the actual vertical

clearance of the power line was 26 feet, 7 inches com-

pared to the 1990 NESC standard of 26 feet, 6 inches. Nies

Dep. at 62-63, 128. The evidence shows that the actual

horizontal clearance was 11 feet, 1 inch compared to the

33a

1990 NESC standard of 11 feet, 6 inches [15 feet less than

the vertical clearance standard.] Nies Dep. at 76-77, 66,

127. The evidence shows that the third NESC standard,

the diagonal clearance from the top of the railroad car to

the power line, was 6 feet, 6 inches in 1990 [20 feet less

than the vertical clearance standard] and that clearance

was met. Nies Dep. at 67. The NESC standards are based

on an assumed height of a railroad car of 20 feet but the

railroad car in question was actually less, about 17 feet

high. Nies Dep. at 68-69. Therefore, there was greater

working room atop the railroad car than required by the

NESC standards.

Plaintiff’s expert testified that Georgia Power in-

house standards were higher than NESC standards for

the vertical clearance, at 33 feet. Nies Dep. at 86, 101-102.

He testified that he could not find any specifications in

the in-house manual for horizontal and diagonal clear-

ances so he presumed NESC standards applied. Nies

Dep. at 101-102. Georgia Power's specifications sheets in

evidence show that the 33 feet clearance applies where

power lines cross over railroad tracks and do not show

the applicable clearance where power lines run alongside

the tracks. Distribution Specifications filed July 21, 1995

at p.2.10. Those specifications sheets show that NESC

standards apply in general. Distribution Specifications

filed July 21, 1995 at p.2.01.

The movant for summary judgment must show there

is nO genuine issue of material fact and the undisputed

evidence, when viewed most favorably to the nonmo-

vant, warrants judgment as a matter of law. O.C.G.A.

§ 9-11-56(c); Lau’s Corp. v. Haskins, 261 Ga. 491 (1991). The

defendant may do so by showing an absence of proof of

ESE ENE enon neers at sc nc eroU eT EEN OE TET SE

34a

at least one element of the plaintiff’s case. Lau’s Corp.,

supra. Ordinarily, issues of negligence and proximate

cause are jury questions, but in clear and palpable cases

may be properly decided as a matter of law. Gammage v.

Graham, Case No. A96A0820 (May 1, 1996).

The issue in the case sub judice is whether the power

line was properly located according to the 1990 NESC

which was in effect at the time of the June 1993 accident.

NESC 1990 Edition at 013B1, 013B3. There is no evidence

of improper maintenance, nor that Georgia Power’s in-

house standards for a power line running alongside a

track were different from NESC standards. Based on the

testimony of plaintiff's expert, the power line was not

directly over the railroad car, but approximately 11 feet

oft to the side and more than 26 feet in the air. The NESC

vertical and diagonal standards were met, and the hori-

zontal standard was five inches short of being met. The

key is the diagonal clearance because it was the working

space atop the car where plaintiff was handling the pole,

Plaintiff's evidence shows that the pole cold have come in

contact with, or within one inch of, the power line any-

where within the last five feet of the pole and therefore

fails to show that an additional five inches of horizontal

clearance would have made any difference.

There being no evidence that any negligent location

or maintenance of the power line under either NESC or

Georgia Power in-house standards was a proximate cause

of the incident, this court grants Georgia Power’s motion

for summary judgment.

———————————————

35a

me Plaintiff ‘Ss Motion to C ‘ompel -

In view of this court’s rulings on the motions for

summary judgment, plaintiff's motion to compel discov-

ery from defendant Ashland is moot.

SO ORDERED this 22nd day of July, 1996.

‘s/ Daniel M. Coursey, Jr.

Daniel M. Coursey, Jr.

Judge, DeKalb County

Superior Court

copies sent to:

Hardy Gregory, Esq.

Phillip S. McKinney, Esq.

Robert L. Pennington, Esq.

James M. Poe, Esq.

PRA NY Nene eR R Ce mee ae eee

36a

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF DEKALB COUNTY

STATE OF GEORGIA

ROY K PRESTON,

Plaintiff, Civil Action File No.

V. 94-7233-7

GEORGIA POWER

COMPANY, NORFOLK

SOUTHERN RAILWAY

COMPANY, and -

ASHLAND CHEMICAL

COMPANY, a division of

Ashland Oil, Inc.,

Defendants.

(Filed Nov. 17, 1994)

The plaintiff in this action was an employee of Pro

Search & Pro Temps, Inc. (“Pro Search”). According to the

allegations in the complaint, he was assigned to work for

defendant Ashland Chemical Inc. (“Ashland”) and on the

day the accident occurred was directed to clean out a

railway car owned by defendant Norfolk Southern Rail-

way Company (“Norfolk”), which was parked on railroad

tracks underneath a high-voltage power line owned by

Georgia Power Company (“Georgia Power”). While

cleaning out the railway car, plaintiff allegedly struck the

power line with the aluminum pole of the brush he was

using. Plaintiff asserts that he was severely shocked,

thrown from the railroad car and suffered severe injuries.

This case is currently before this court on plaintiff's

motion to strike the first defense of Georgia Power and

defendant Norfolk’s motion to add insurance Company

37a

of North America (“INA”) and Pro Search as party plain-

tiffs.

A. Motion to Strike

In its answer to the complaint, Georgia Power raised

a number of defenses. As its first defense, Georgia Power

stated, “Plaintiff’s right to recover damages from this

Defendant is barred by the terms of O.C.G.A. § 46-3-30 et

seq. in that Plaintiff was working within ten feet (10') of a

high voltage line without any notice of such work having

been given to this Defendant or the Utilities Protection

Center.” Plaintiff asserts in his motion to strike that this

defense is not sufficient for several reasons. First, he

argues that the defense is not sufficient because the High-

voltage Safety Act (the “Act”), codified at §§ 46-3-30 et

seq., is a bar only where the power lines are otherwise

properly located and maintained. Second, plaintiff argues

that the defense is insufficient because the circumstances

alleged in the complaint are not within the scope of the

Act or the Act provides a specific exception for the

alleged circumstances. Third, he argues that the defense

is insufficient because Georgia Power already had notice

of the work. Finally, plaintiff argues that the defense

Should be struck because the statute is an unconstitu-

tional violation of both equal protection and due process.

Defendant Georgia Power responded to all of the argu-

ments made in plaintiff's motion.

O.C.G.A. § 9-11-12(f) provides, “[u]pon motion made

by a party within 30 days after the service of the pleading

upon him . . . the court may order stricken from any

pleading any insufficient defense. ...” The law in this

State, however, is very clear that motions to strike are not

38a

favored “[A] motion to strike a defense should not be

granted unless it appears to a certainty that the plaintiff

would succeed despite any state of facts which could be

proved in support of the defense.” Medlin v. Carpenter,

174 Ga. App. 50, 55 (1985). See also, Unigard Ins. Co. v.

Kemp, 141 Ga. App. 698, 699 (1977); West v. Griggs, 144 Ga.

App. 285, 286 (1977); Potpourri of Merrick, Inc. v. Gay

Gibson, Inc., 132 Ga. App. 565, 567 (1974); Wellboum v.

Murphy, 122 Ga. App. 654, 655 (1970). In responding to

the motion, defendant Georgia Power offered several

arguments which, if proved in support of the defense,

would bar plaintiff’s claim under the statute.

In addition to the factual arguments, plaintiff raised a

constitutional challenge to the statute as a violation of

equal protection and due process. Plaintiff first argues

that the statute violates equal protection because the Act

insulates owners and operators of high voltage lines from

liability, which is a special privilege not given to the

owners and operators of other businesses. As Georgia

Power correctly points out, plaintiff does not have stand-

ing to raise an equal protection challenge on this ground.

One who is not injured by this part of the statute cannot

bring an equal protection claim against it. E.g., Davis v.

Shavers, 263 Ga. 785 (1994); C.W. Matthews Contracting Co.

v. Gover, 263 Ga. 108 (1993); Tempo Management v. DeKalb

County, 258 Ga. 713 (1988).

Next, plaintiff argues that the Act violates due proc-

ess for two reasons. First, he argues that the Act is uncon-

stitutional because it eliminates a common law right of

action. This court notes however, that this argument is

completely unsupported by law. For over one hundred

years the United States Supreme Court has held that the

|

x

,

‘

3

a

rc

;

z

39a

Constitution and the due process clause does not forbid

this type of legislative action. See, Duke Power Co. v.

Carolina Env’l Study Group, 438 U.S. 59, 88 n.32 (1978), and

cases cited therein.

Second, plaintiff argues that the Act violates due

process because it gives a utility company the right to

own and operate high-voltage electric lines without also

requiring disclosure to the public as to the voltage in the

electric lines. Plaintiff asserts that because there is no way

for the general public to determine what is and is not a

high-voltage line, the Act is unconstitutional. However,

under Constitutional due process analysis a statute is

sufficiently clear if men of common intelligence need not

guess at its meaning or differ as to its application. See,

Broaderick v. Oklahoma, 413 U.S. 601 (1973); Gouge v. City of

Snellville, 249 Ga. 91, 93 (1982). The High-voltage Safety

Act meets this standard. The Act explicitly defines “high-

voltage lines” as any “electric line or lines installed above

ground level having a voltage in excess of 750 volts

between conductors or from any conductor to ground.”

O.C.G.A. § 46-3-32(1). Simply because the Act does not

impose an affirmative duty on owners or operators to

post notice of the voltage does not mean that the general

public cannot determine whether an electrical line is

“high-voltage.”

For the above reasons, plaintiff's motion to strike is

denied.

B. Motion to Join a Necessary Party

Defendant Norfolk filed this motion to join INA and

Pro Search as “necessary parties” to this action. Briefly,

40a

INA is the workers’ compensation carrier for Pro Search,

plaintiff’s employer at the time of his injury. Defendant

Norfolk argues that under O.C.G.A. § 34-9-11.1, INA and

Pro Search may have a right of subrogation against Nor-

folk for workers’ compensation benefits paid to plaintiff.

In addition, Norfolk attached a copy of the notice of

INA’s lien in this case for $318,183.46 plus any future

benefits paid to plaintiff. Because INA and Pro Search

may have rights against Norfolk it argues that they are

necessary parties and Norfolk cannot obtain complete

relief in this action without their presence as plaintiffs.

The motion is denied. Under this Code section, the

right of action belongs to the injured employee or his

heirs, and the employer or insurance carrier “shall have a

subrogation lien” against the employee for any recovery

made in any cause of action. O.C.G.A. §§ 34-9-11.1(a) and

(b). If the employee fails to bring the action within one

year, however, that failure “shall operate as an assign-

ment to the employer or such employer’s insurer of any

cause of action in tort which the injured empley-

ee... may have against any other person for such injaTy

or death...” In the latter situation, the employer or

insurance carrier would have claims against any defen-

dant in tort, including Norfolk in this action.

In the present case, the alleged injury occurred on

June 22, 1993, and this action was filed on June 14, 1994,

within the one year period of limitations. Since this action

was filed within one year, INA and Pro Search’s right to

subrogation is against plaintiff, and defendant Norfolk’s

rights will not be affected by the subrogation lien filed by

INA. For the above reasons, this court finds that Nor-

folk’s rights can be fully adjudicated without the addition

4la

of INA or Pro Search, and

parties is denied.

SO ORDERED this 14th day of November, 1994.

/s/

copies sent to:

Edgar A. Neely, Jr., Esq.

Hardy Gregory, Jr., Esq.

John M. Hyatt, Esq.

Robert L. Pennington, Esq.

Phillip S. McKinney Esq.

the motion to join necessary

Daniel M. Coursey, Jr.

Daniel M. Coursey, Jr.

Judge, DeKalb County

Superior Court

42a

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF DEKALB COUNTY

STATE OF GEORGIA

ROY K. PRESTON,

Plaintiff,

arent Case No. 94-7233-7

V.

GEORGIA POWER COMPANY

and GEORGIA SOUTHERN

AND FLORIDA RAILWAY

COMPANY,

Defendants.

Ne ee ee ee ee eee ee”

PLAINTIFF’S MOTION TO STRIKE THE FIRST

DEFENSE OF DEFENDANT GEORGIA

POWER COMPANY

COMES NOW plaintiff and moves the Court pur-

suant to O.C.G.A. § 9-11-12(f) to strike the first defense of

defendant Georgia Power Company and respectfully

shows to the Court as follows:

As

The first defense raised by defendant Georgia Power

Company is as follows: “Plaintiff's right to recover dam-

ages from this Defendant is barred by the terms of

O.C.G.A. § 46-3-30 et seq. in that Plaintiff was working

within ten feet (10') of a high voltage line without any

notice of such working having been given to this Defen-

dant or the Utilities Protection Center.”

Said defense is an insufficient defense for if the stat-

ute upon which it is based is applied to the circumstances

alleged in the complaint in this case, it is unconstitutional

under the federal and state constitutions in that it denies

equal protection of law and due process of law.

This 1 day of August, 1994.

DAVIS, GREGORY, CHRISTY &

FOREHAND

By: /s/ Hardy Gregory, Jr.

HARDY GREGORY, JR.

State Bar No. 310100

By: /s/ Gary C. Christy

GARY C. CHRISTY

State Bar No. 125525

By: /s/ David A. Forehand, Jr.

DAVID A FOREHAND, JR.

State Bar No. 006860

Post Office Drawer 5230

Cordele, Georgia 31015

[912] 273-7150

HYATT & HYATT, P.C.

By: /s/ John M. Hyatt

JOHN M. HYATT

Ww. permission HG]

State Bar No. 381350

Suite 201 Trust Building

5945 North McDonough St.

Decatur, Georgia 30030

[404] 378-3635

44a

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF DEKALB COUNTY

STATE OF GEORGIA

ROY K. PRESTON,

Plaintiff, Case No. 94-7233-7

Ve

GEORGIA POWER COMPANY

and GEORGIA SOUTHERN

AND FLORIDA RAILWAY

COMPANY,

Defendants.

ee

BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF PLAINTIFF’S MOTION TO

STRIKE THE FIRST DEFENSE OF DEFENDANT

GEORGIA POWER COMPANY

* + *

It is a denial of due process of law for the Georgia

statutes to confer upon a utility company the right to own

and operate high voltage power lines which are an undis-

closed peril and at the same time require those who are

unaware of the undisclosed peril to give notice that they

are in close proximity to the undisclosed peril. The High

Voltage Act applies only where the line has a voltage in

excess of 750 volts between conductors or from conductor

to ground. O.C.G.A. § 46-3-32(1) There are many, many

power lines all across this state and some of them are

high voltage lines and many of them are not. The public

simply has no way of knowing which are which. The

peril of high voltage is thus undisclosed by the utility

companies to the public. To require someone to give

notice that he is in proximity to an undisclosed: peril

45a

denies due process of law. Perhaps the statute could be

corrected to require the utility company to post reason-

able and adequate warning that the line is a high voltage

line and that notice of any work to be done within ten

feet of the line must be given. To expect the public at

large to know which lines are high voltage lines and

which-are not is unreasonable to such an extent as to

deny due process of law. Cf. Davis v. City of Peachtree City,

251 Ga. 219(1), 304 S.E.2d 701 (1983).

DAVIS, GREGORY, CHRISTY &

FOREHAND

By: /s/ Hardy Gregory, Jr.

HARDY CRECORY, JR.

State Bar No. 310100

By: /s/ Gary C. Christy

GARY C. CHRISTY

State Bar No. 125525

By: /s/ David A. Forehand, Jr.

DAVID A FOREHAND, JR.

w. permission HG]

State Bar No. 006860

Post Office Drawer 5230

Cordele, Georgia 31015

[912] 273-7150

HYATT & HYATT, P.C.

By: /s/ John M. Hyatt

JOHN M. HYATT

State Bar No. 381350

Suite 201 Trust Building

545 North McDonough St.

Decatur, Georgia 30030

[404] 378-3635

4

4

46a

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF DEKALB COUNTY

STATE OF GEORGIA

ROY K. PRESTON, )

si Tg

Plaintiff, ) ClvIL ACTION FILE

)

vs. ) NO. 94-7233-7

GEORGIA POWER COMPANY, }

NORFOLK SOUTHERN

RAILWAY COMPANY and

)

)

)

ASHLAND CHEMICAL, INC.,

Defendants.

CERTIFICATE OF IMMEDIATE REVIEW

(Filed Nov. 23, 1994)

This Court having denied Plaintiff Roy K. Preston’s

Motion to Strike certain defenses raised by Georgia

Power Company by Order dated November 17, 1994,

now, and within ten (10) days of the entry of such Order,

pursuant to O.C.G.A. Section 5-6-34, the Court hereby

certifies that the Order is of such importance to the case

that immediate review should be had, and that direct

appeal is proper.

This the 23rd day of Nov., 1994.

/s/ Daniel M. Coursey, Jr.

Daniel M. Coursey, Jr., Judge,

Superior Court/Stone Mountain

Judicial Circuit

Submitted By:

/s/ John M. Hyatt

John M. Hyatt

GA Bar No. 381350

Attorney for Plaintiff

47a

SUPREME COURT OF GEORGIA

Case No. $9510405 Atlanta, January 3, 1995

The Honorable Supreme Court met pursuant to

adjournment.

The following order was passed:

ROY K. PRESTON V. GEORGIA POWER COMPANY et

al.

From the Superior Court of DEKALB County.

Upon consideration of this Application for Interlocu-

tory Appeal, it is ordered that it is hereby denied.

All the Justices concur, except Hunt, C. J., and

Thompson, J., who are disqualified.

[SEAL]

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF GEORGIA

Clerk’s Office, Atlanta

I hereby certify that the above is a true extract from

the minutes of the Supreme Court of Georgia.

Witness my signature and the seal of said court

hereto affixed the day and year last above written.

/s/ Lynn M. Stinchcomb, Chief Deputy Clerk.

48a

IN THE SUPREME COURT

STATE OF GEORGIA

ROY K. PRESTON, (

Appellant, :

v. ) NO. $97A0022

GEORGIA POWER COMPANY, _ )

NORFOLK SOUTHERN )

RAILWAY COMPANY, and i

ASHLAND )

CHEMICAL COMPANY, ‘

)

Appellees. )(

BRIEF OF APPELLANT

HARDY GREGORY, JR.

Georgia Bar No. 310100

DAVIS, GREGORY, CHRISTY & FOREHAND

708 Sixteenth Avenue, East

Post Office Drawer 5230

Cordele, Georgia 31010

(912) 273-7150

JOHN M. HYATT

State Bar No. 381350

HYATT & HYATT, P.C.

Suite 201 Trust Building

545 North McDonough St.

Decatur, Georgia 30030

(404) 378-3635

Attorneys for Appellant

49a

RECEIVED BY HAND DELIVERY

AND FILED:

OCT. 04, 1996

/s/ Jan Eidson

SUPREME COURT OF GEORGIA

* * *

The constitutional tlaw in the statute is that it has no

requirement that the utilit;; company identify which of its

lines are high voltage lines. Of the thousands of lines

criss-crossing the state, some are high voltage and some

are not. The public has no way of knowing the difference

by looking at the lines themselves. The lines involved in

this case were not identified as high voltage lines. (R.

1289-1291. Dep. Straka, pp. 63-65; R. 902. Dep. Perkins, p.

31) If one does work near a power line that has a voltage

of 750 or less the statute is not violated, no crime is

committed and liability is not removed from the utility

company. If one does work within ten feet of a line

having a voltage above 750 these criminal and civil penal-

ties exist under the statute. But the difference between

high voltage and non high voltage lines is not apparent to

the public. It is entirely arbitrary from the standpoint of

the public whether a line is high voltage or not. Thus the

statute is unreasonable, arbitrary and capricious. The

simple solution would be for the statute to require the

utility to identify its high voltage lines. It is not a suffi-

cient answer to impose a duty on the public to determine

who is the owner of the line and track that entity down

and wait for information regarding the voltage of a given

line when it would be so easy to identify the line when it

50a

is installed. The law is unreasonable and arbitrary with-

out some notification of which lines are high voltage

lines

Sla

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF GEORGIA

ENUMERATIONS OF ERROR

* « *

2. The trial court erred in granting summary judg-

ment to Georgia Power Company. (R. 2056. Order) Prior

to granting summary judgment the trial court erred in

denying Plaintiff’s Motion to Strike. (R. 201. Order deny-

ing Motion to Strike)

* + *

52a

[LOGO] SUPREME COURT OF GEORGIA

‘ Case Nos. S97A0022

S97A0024

Atlanta December 2, 1996

The Honorable Supreme Court met pursuant to

adjournment.

The following order was passed

ROY K. PRESTON v. GEORGIA POWER COMPANY et al.

INSURANCE COMPANY of NORTH AMERICA vy.

GEORGIA POWER COMPANY et al.

From the Superior Court of DeKalb County.

Because the issue on which the trial court granted

summary judgment in these cases does not fall within the

jurisdiction of this Court, the appeals are hereby trans-

ferred to the Court of appeals. All the Justices concur,

except Sears, J., who dissents.

[SEAL]

SUPREME COURT OF

THE STATE OF GEORGIA

Clerk’s Office, Atlanta

I certify that the above is a true

extract from the Minutes of the Supreme

Court of Georgia.

Wiiness my signature and the seal of

said court Hereto affixed the day and

year last above written.

/s/ Lynn M. Stinchcomb,

Chief Deputy Clerk

53a

IN THE SUPREME COURT

STATE OF GEORGIA

ROY K. PRESTON, )(

Petitioner. :

V. NO. F97C1845

GEORGIA POWER COMPANY, _ ’!

and ASHLAND CHEMICAL M

COMPANY, ‘

Respondents. Y

PETITION FOR CERTIORARI

DAVIS, GREGORY,

CHRISTY & FOREHAND

By: /s/ Hardy Gregory, Jr.

HARDY GREGORY, JR

State Bar No. 310100

P.O. Drawer 5230

Cordele, Georgia 31015

(912) 273-7150

HYATT & HYATT P.C.

By: /s/ John M. Hyatt

Ww. permission HG

JOHN M. HYATT

State Bar No. 381350

Suite 201 Trust Building

545 North McDonough St.

Decatur, Georgia 30030

(404) 378-3635

54a

IN THE SUPREME COURT

STATE OF GEORGIA

ROY K. PRESTON. (

Petitioner, :

V. ) NO.

GEORGIA POWER COMPANY. _ )

and ASHLAND CHEMICAL )(

COMPANY, ?

Respondents. )(

PETITION FOR CERTIORARI

* * *

Preston has been unable to obtain a review of his consti-

tutional challenge, twice made in the trial court, against

the statute that the Court of Appeals has used to destroy

his claim.

+ * *

[He challenged] the failure of the statute to require

the utility to identify its high-voltage lines so that per-

SOns are aware and can give notice of work to be com-

menced. This raised a due process argument.

+ * *

This issue did not become ripe for a constitutional

challenge until the Court of Appeals held in the opinion

now being challenged that Preston must give notice.

* * *

55a

Official Code of Georgia Annotated

46-3-30. Short title.

This part shall be known and may be cited as the

“High-voltage Safety Act.” (Code 1981, § 46-3-30, enacted

by Ga. L. 1992, p. 2141, § 1.)

46-3-31. Purpose of part.

The purpose of this part is to prevent injury to per-

sons and property and interruptions of utility service

resulting from accidental or inadvertent contact with

high-voltage electric lines by providing that no work

shall be done in the vicinity of such lines unless and until

the owner or operator thereof has been notified of such

work and has taken one of the safety measures prescribed

in this part.

46-3-32. Definitions.

As used in this part, the term:

(1) “High-voltage lines” means an electric line or

lines installed above ground level having a voltage in

excess of 750 volts between conductors or from any con-

ductor to ground.

(2) “Notice” means actual notification given to the

center.

(3) “Person responsible for the work” means the

person actually doing the work as well as any person,

firm, or corporation who employs and carries on his

payroll any person actually doing the work or who

employs a subcontractor who actually does the work;

56a

(4) “Utilities protection center” or “center” means

the corporation or other organization formed by utilities

which receives advance notifications regarding work and

distributes such notifications to its utility members.

(5) “Utility” means any person operating or main-

taining high-voltage lines within the state.

(6) “Work” means the physical act of performing or

preparing to perform any activity under, over, by, or near

high-voltage lines, including, but not limited to, the oper-

ation, erection, handling, storage, or transportation of

any tools, machinery, ladders, antennas, equipment, sup-

plies, materials, or apparatus or the moving of any house

or other structure whenever such activity is done by a

person or entity in pursuit of his trade or business.

46-3-33. Required conditions for commencing work

within ten feet of high-voltage line.

No person, firm, or corporation shall commence any

work as defined in paragraph (6) of Code Section 46-3-32

if at any time any person or any item specified in para-

graph (6) of Code Section 46-3-32 may be brought within

ten feet of any high-voltage line unless and until:

(1) The person responsible for the work

has given the notice required by Code Section

46-3-34; and

(2) The owner or operator of such high-

voltage line has effectively guarded against dan-

ger from accidental contact by either deenergiz-

ing and grounding the line, relocating it, or

ene

57a

installing protective covering or mechanical bar-

riers, whichever safeguard is deemed by the

owner or operator to be feasible under the cir-

cumstances.

46-3-34. Utilities protection center; funding of activ-

ities; notice of work; delay; responsibility for

completing safety requirements.

* * *

(b) Where work is to be done, the person responsi-

ble for such work shall give notice to the utilities protec-

tion center during its regular business hours at least 72

hours, excluding weekends and holidays, prior to com-

mencing such work and such notice shall:

(1) Describe the tract or parcel of land

upon which the work to be done is to take place

with sufficient particularity to enable the owner

or operator of the high-voltage lines to ascertain

the precise tract or parcel of land involved;

(2) State the name, address, and telephone

number of the person who will be in charge of

the work;

(3) Describe the type of work to be

engaged in by the person; and

(4) Designate the date upon which the

work will commence and will be completed.

(c) After receipt of the notice required by subsection

(b) of this Code section, the owner or operator of the

high-voltage line shall contact the person whose name is

given as required by paragraph (2) of subsection (b) of

this Code section within a reasonable time, so that appro-

priate satisfactory arrangements can be made for the

58a

completion of the safety precautions required by Code

Section 46-3-33, including coordination of work schedules

and payment of costs required to effect such safety pre-

cautions. Upon completion of such arrangements, the

owner or operator of such high-voltage line shall effect

such safety precautions within a reasonable time.

* * *

46-3-39. Restriction on liability of owners and opera-

tors of high-voltage lines; effect of part on

duty or decree [sic] of care.

(a) The owner or operator of high-voltage lines

shall not be liable for damage or loss to person or prop-

erty resulting from work within ten feet of high-voltage

lines unless notice has been given as required by Code

Section 46-3-34 and the owner or operator of the high-

voltage line has failed to comply with the provisions of

Code Section 46-3-33.

(b) Except as provided in subsection (a) of this

Code section, nothing in this part shall be construed or

applied so as to limit or reduce the duty or degree of care

applicable to owners or operators of high-voltage lines

with respect to damage or loss to person or property.

46-3-40. Criminal penalty; strict liability for injury or

damage; indemnification; liability for cost of

delay.

(a) Any person responsible for the work who vio-

lates any of the provisions of this part shall be guilty of a

misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be liable

59a

for a fine of $1,000.00 for a first offense and $3,000.00 for

a second or subsequent offense.

(b) Any person responsible for the work who vio-

lates the requirements of Code Section 46-3-33 and whose

subsequent activities within the vicinity of high-voltage

lines result in damage to utility facilities or result in

injury or damage to person or property shall be strictly

liable for said injury or damage. Any such person shall

also indemnify the owner or operator of such high-volt-

age lines against all claims, if any, for personal injury,

including death, property damage, or service interrup-

tions, including costs incurred in defending any such

claims resulting from work in violation of Code Section

46-3-33.

(c) In the event the owner or operator of the high-

voltage line fails to effect the safeguards required by

Code Section 46-3-33 within a reasonable time after notice

is given and appropriate arrangements are made pur-

suant to Code Section 46-3-34, such owner or operator

shall be liable for the reasonable costs incurred by any

such delay.

60a

In the Supreme Court of Georgia

Decided: FEB 23 1998

S97A2055, SANTANA et al. v. GEORGIA POWER CO. et al.

BENHAM, Chief Justice.

3. Appellants maintain their due process rights

were violated because the HVSA does not require the

owner or operator of power lines to advise the public that

a particular line is high-voltage, thus making the Act so

vague as to be unconstitutional. A statute violates due

process if it is so vague that persons of common intel-

ligence must necessarily guess at its meaning and differ

as to its application. Fisch v. Randall Mill Corp., 262 Ga.

861(1) (426 SE2d 883) (1993); Sliney v. State, 260 Ga. 167

(391 SE2d 114) (1990). The language of the HVSA is clear

and unambiguous in its requirement that notice be given

before work is commenced in proximity to high-voltage_

lines, and in its provision that lack of such notice insu-

lates the owner of the lines from liability. Although per-

sons of common intelligence may not be sure which

power lines qualify as “high-voltage lines,”? and may

have to ask to find out, there is no doubt engendered by

the statute about the necessity of giving notice prior to

working in proximity to such lines or about the effect of

2 OCGA § 46-3-32(1): “High-voltage lines” means an

electric line or lines installed above ground level having a

voltage in excess of 750 volts between conductors or from any

conductor to ground.

6 l a

failing to give the notice. Thus, persons of common intel-

ligence need not guess at the meaning of the statute and,

once in possession of the necessary facts, should not

differ as to its application. We conclude, therefore, that

appellants’ vagueness attack on the statute is without

merit.

ee

62a

[SEAL] SUPREME COURT OF GEORGIA

Case No. $97C1845

Atlanta May 29, 1998

The Honorable Supreme Court met pursuant to

adjournment.

The following order was passed:

ROY K. PRESTON v. GEORGIA POWEK COMPANY et al.

This Court hereby certifies that Petitioner Roy K.

Preston raised in this Court, and this Court considered,

the issue of whether the immunity provisions of the

Georgia High Voltage Safety Act, OCGA 46-3-30 et seq.,

violate the due process guarantee of the Fourteenth

Amendment to the United States Constitution. It was the

judgment of this Court that the challenged provisions of

the Georgia High Voltage Safety Act do not violate the

federal constitutional due process clause. See also Santana

v. Georgia Power Co., 269 Ga. 127 (__ SE2d ___) (1998).

All the Justiccs concur, except Fletcher, P.J., Carley

and Hines, JJ., who dissent.

[SEAL]

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF GEORGIA

Clerk’s Office, Atlanta

I hereby certify that the above is a true extract

from The minutes of the Supreme Court of Georgia

Witness my signature and the seal of said court

hereto affixed the day and year last above written.

/s/ Lynn M. Stinchcomb, Chief Deputy Clerk

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.