Opposition Brief — Transclean Clean Corp. v. Jiffy Lube Lube International, Inc. (No. 06-1691)

Supreme Court brief2007

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 06-1691

FILED

JUL 18 2007

Sn The

Supreme Court of the Anited States

+

TRANSCLEAN CORPORATION, ET AL.,

Petitioners,

v.

JIFFY LUBE INTERNATIONAL, INC., ET AL.,

Respondents.

¢

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Federal Circuit

¢

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT JIFFY LUBE

INTERNATIONAL, INC. IN OPPOSITION

¢

DAVID J.F. GROSS

JAMES W. PORADEK

AARON D. VAN OORT

Counsel of Record

TIMOTHY E. GRIMSRUD

FAEGRE & BENSON LLP

2200 Wells Fargo Center

90 South Seventh Street

Minneapolis, MN 55402-3901

(612) 766-7000

Counsel for Jiffy Lube

International, Inc.

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2383)

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a federal court of appeals may in its discretion

apply judicial estoppel to refuse to consider a position (1)

that a party takes for the first time during oral argument

on appeal; (2) that is directly opposite the position the

party took in its complaint, its discovery responses, its

briefing in the district court, and its opening brief on

appeal; and (3) that is opposite the position the district

court adopted in reliance on the party’s earlier state-

ments?

li

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

Shell Oil Company is the parent corporation of re-

spondent Jiffy Lube International, Inc.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTION PRESENTED..............scssesseessseeseeeneess x |

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT sssneesseesensesescsseceseesesnssneees ii

TE I oniins csc sncssssnssosecicssccscssnacncsee iii

EGRET TERETE LO wicsicccvercconcscccssccesussccecccess v

Re a sii conc apincnawnnicaanvesiionss eg

STATEMENT OF THE CAGB ...........sccsasssscseessecsessees 2

A. Transclean’s First Suit To Enforce The

PY ulin bs i dciiaeitubstadiennnbadibanhnllbcedientinatiacbaoiiex 3

B. The Proceedings Below In This, Transclean’s |

Second, Suit To Enforce The Patent............... 4

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION............ 9

I. This Case Is A Poor Vehicle For Considering

- The Judicial-Estoppel Question, Because Pe-

titioner’s Underlying Privity Argument Is

Independently Barred By Waiver................... 9

II. The Only Judicial-Estoppel Issue Presented

For Review Is A Correct, Factbound Applica-

tion Of The Court’s Recent Decision In New

FR en eee ee Er ere 12

III. This Case Does Not Implicate Any Circuit

OD iv kknisicikui cdlinchedevinbhndiaipbaissbdutbiinibaaabesinniiabaietie 15

A. The discretionary, factbound test estab-

lished by New Hampshire is an unlikely

source for a true circuit split ................... 15

B. After New Hampshire, no split has de-

veloped on applying judicial estoppel to

I GE BIN iki tecnicos ncdeiccnicsarenne 17

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Page

C. After New Hampshire, there is no dis-

agreement among the circuits over what

kind of success is necessary to trigger

FAA CORI ives seveasiincisaacensissdenoensenie 21

IV. Jiffy Lube Does Not Address The Second

Question Presented In The Petition, Because |

It Relates Only To Other Respondents........... 22

CONCLUSION

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

FEDERAL CASES

1000 Friends of Maryland v. Browner, 265 F.3d 216 3

icc aot cil caeen ee nsidnbennenkendoounetnnn 16, 19, 21

Abercrombie & Fitch Co. v. Moose Creek, Inc., 486

Fe NI PE TF vn dicaiin sh unecdcesatncxtinnseanedidbiendicnanines 16, 22

Ahlberg v. Chrysler Corp., 481 F.3d 630 (CA8 2007)......... 11

Alternative System Concepts, Inc. v. Synopsys, Inc.,

Re IED i tick ch ccnkcanivensescrcunronecausderscnsen 16, 21

Ammex, Inc. v. U.S., 334 F.3d 1052 (CAFed 2003)............. :

Becton Dickinson & Co. v. C.R. Bard, Inc., 922 F.2d

I ho a ca ca waa hagh apron eensadaneaabens 11

Burnes v. Pemco Aeroplex, Inc., 291 F.3d 1282

I a iad a cece cat dias hneibiants 16, 17, 20, 22

In re Cassidy, 892 F.2d 637 (CA7 SE Driviinstannntabinndadnavic 18

Davis v. Wakelee, 156 U.S. 680 (1895)... eee eee 17

Golden Blount, Inc. v. Robert H. Peterson Co., 365.

Be EE NE ivi coicinn nani cechindsiscbencadvoccaescedtbesennss 10

Hall v. GE Plastic Pacific PTE, Lid., 327 F.3d 391

NT nd ero ink Vin ace hibabuxndgnaaynnebinn 16, 20, 21

Hotard v. State Farm Fire & Casualty Co., 286 F.3d

Ic pcdelpubamamiaenimhinawes 20

Jarrard v. CDI Telecommunications, Inc., 408 F.3d :

lr | ECE ESC Pee ree mr ee MONEE eC 16, 22

Johnson v. Lindon City Corp., 405 F.3d 1065 (CA10

SERS RGE EAE SUR Rc eeereme eR 15, 16, 17, 19, 22

Markman v. Westview Instruments, 517 U.S. 370

Salam dsacbiacapepaninndaileiinceiah 18

vi

- TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Minnesota Min. & Manufacturing Co. v. Chemque,

Inc., 303 F.3d 1294 (CAFed 2002)...................... 16, 17, 22

Mulvaney Mechanical, Inc. v. Sheet Metal Workers

International Association, Local 38, 288 F.3d 491

GEN A hon iocidncedeenseniamsepiehsdcmatslanientsiilesdmslanuiiaiin 16, 21

New Hampshire v. Maine, 532 U.S. 742 (2001)......... passim

Optivus Technology, Inc. v. Ion Beam Applications

S.A., 469 F.3d 978 (CAFed 2006) ..............csssccccesssreeeeeees 11

Orr v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., 297 F.3d 720 (CA8

OUR cae anitncsch ancien liber cidieanales Gatcubicai 10

Pegram v. Herdrich, 530 U.S. 211 (2000) ..............eeeeeeeeeee 17

Pennycuff v. Fentress County Board of Education,

RGA FOG GET (CBG. DODD on vsiesicsincsncsssisscscsvessvessines 16, 19, 2

Sage Products, Inc. v. Devon Industrial, Inc., 126

PN Ba BI hiiisasalisniteichinstinsnscasicecarininsiniernicinss 10

Singleton v. Wulff, 428 U.S. 106 (1976) ....c.cccsccescseseseeen 10

In re Smith, 285 F.3d 6 (CADC 2002).............cseccceeeeees 15, 16

Sewell v. 1199 Natl Ben. Fund for Health and

Human Services, 187 Fed. Appx. 36 (CA2 June

BR Ns scispiniscestelesicecs aateaek beihcdieimadaegiead aicieehnnbaatobinana 19

Sprietsma v. Mercury Marine, 537 U.S. 51 (2002) ........... 10

Stallings v. Hussmann Corp., 447 F.3d 1041 (CA8

BEE isi hicenicisspactivaiasdccninslaticascdussrssoit eases chandlicsmaacaliasata neds 16, 22

Transclean Corp. v. Bridgewood Services, Inc., 290

Fe OBE (CAFO BI vv ccinseccnsssosiscvscsscsnsasesvesnssccnsnss 4,5,7

U.S. v. Pelullo, 399 F.3d 197 (CA3 2005)..........c.ceceseee 16, 21

Zedner v. U.S., 547 U.S. __, 126 S. Ct. 1976 (2006)...15, 21

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

FEDERAL STATUTES AND RULES

a NA ae II aiiacracainichiecablseadisabisideseisaicinbecniatesnanencedseseuvnxenste 4

I SII lich ann cankineatinnastinintipiscniniesenensenieasnnseosssunies 4

RUINS GUNNS SINE BEI ipesisctccicecssninssqeencssessabacsvectensssenss 11

OTHER AUTHORITIES

18 C. Wright, A. Miller & E. Cooper, Federal Prac-

tice and Procedure § 4477 (1981) ...........c.cccccscssseeceeeeeees 17

18 Moore’s Federal Practice § 134.40 (3d ed. 2000).......... 17

INTRODUCTION

This case does not present the question of judicial

estoppel that the Petition raises, because waiver is an

independent, alternative basis for the ruling below. Peti-

tioner Transclean argued in its complaint, its discovery

_ responses, its summary judgment briefing in the district

court, and its opening brief on appeal that privity existed

between Respondents and Bridgewood Services, Inc., a

defendant in a prior suit filed by Transclean. Transclean

made its privity arguments consciously and for a strategic

purpose—to persuade the courts to apply the doctrine ‘of

issue preclusion and bar Respondents from litigating

certain patent infringement issues that Transclean

claimed had been decided in its suit against Bridgewood.

Only when it became clear to Transclean at oral argument

in the Federal Circuit that its position on privity was

going to cost it the case because of the doctrine of claim

preclusion did Transclean attempt to change position and

argue that privity did not exist. But by then, Transclean

had conclusively waived that argument. Respondent Jiffy

Lube preserved the waiver argument below. Waiver is

therefore an independent bar to Transclean’s new privity

argument, and it precludes a grant of certiorari.

Even if the Court could reach the issue of judicial

estoppel, the Federal Circuit’s decision is nothing more

than a correct, factbound application of the discretionary

principles that this Court announced in its unanimous

opinion in New Hampshire v. Maine, 532 U.S. 742 (2001).

Petitioner’s claims of a circuit split rely on decisions that

predate New Hampshire and from which the circuits have

receded in New Hampshire’s wake. No split currently

exists. Even if one did exist, it would not be implicated

by this case, which presents the classic facts for the

2

application of estoppel: A party that persuaded the court to

adopt its position on how the law applied to the particular

facts of its case, then “deliberately chang[ed] positions

according to the exigencies of the moment,” id., at 750, “to

the prejudice of the party who has acquiesced in the

position formerly taken by [it].” Id., at 749. Respondent

Jiffy Lube therefore respectfully asks the Court to deny

review.

Respondent Jiffy Lube does not address the second

question presented by the Petition, regarding the author-

ity of an appellate court to apply the doctrine of claim

preclusion sua sponte to the benefit of parties who did not

appear in that court. That question relates only to certain

other Respondents who did not make appearances in the

district court and the Federal Circuit. It does not relate to

or affect Jiffy Lube.

¢

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This Petition arises out of two successive patent-

infringement suits filed by Petitioner Transclean, the

exclusive licensee of U.S. Patent No. 5,318,080 (“the

Patent”) owned by Petitioners James P. Viken, Jon A.

Lang, and Donald E. Johnson. Transclean filed the first

suit against Bridgewood Services, Inc., the manufacturer

of a device to change transmission fluid that Transclean

alleged infringed on the Patent. Transclean won that suit

but did not collect on the judgment. Instead, it filed a

second suit—the action below—against Jiffy Lube and the

3

other Respondents,’ who had bought and used the same

physical machines that were at issue in the first suit.

Transclean argued in the second suit that issue

preclusion barred Jiffy Lube and the other Respondents

from relitigating the issue of infringement because they

were in privity with Bridgewood. In response, Jiffy Lube

argued that, because Transclean admitted that privity

existed, Transclean was barred from suing them at all by

the doctrine of claim preclusion. Jiffy Lube’s counter-

argument did not make Transclean back off its position of

. privity. To the contrary, Transclean reaffirmed its privity

concession repeatedly throughout the district court pro-

ceedings and on appeal and opposed claim preclusion only

on other grounds. Only at oral argument on appeal in the

Federal Circuit did Transclean attempt to change posi-

tions on privity. That belated switch prompted the Federal

Circuit’s ruling on judicial estoppel, which Transclean now

asks the Court to review.

A. Transclean’s First Suit To Enforce The Patent

On April 28, 1998, Transclean filed a complaint

against Bridgewood Services, Inc. in the District of Minne-

sota, alleging that Bridgewood “has in the past and con-

tinues in the present to make, use, sell, or offer to sell

products embodying the invention claimed in the ...

Patent, thereby infringing the ... Patent.” Court of Ap-

peals Appendix (“C.A. App.”) 384. The accused product was

' As the Petition explains, some of the defendants below did not

answer the complaint and were defaulted. Other defendants partici-

pated in the litigation. Pet. 3-4. Jiffy Lube submits this brief only on its

own behalf and not on behalf of any other respondent.

4

Bridgewood’s T-Tech automatic-transmission fluid chang-

ing machine. Jd., at 383.

As a sanction for discovery violations, the district

court entered summary judgment of infringement against

Bridgewood on several claims of the Patent. The case then

went to trial. Transclean won and obtained a final judg-

ment against Bridgewood of $1,874,500. That final judg-

ment reflected post-trial deductions of nearly $4 million

dollars from the jury’s award of damages, and the denial of

costs and attorneys fees. Transclean appealed, but the

Federal Circuit affirmed. Transclean Corp. v. Bridgewood

Services, Inc., 290 F.3d 1364, 1375-78, 1380 (CAFed 2002)

(Transclean I).

B. The Proceedings Below In This, Transclean’s

Second, Suit To Enforce The Patent

1. Transclean’s lawsuit against Jiffy Lube. Eight

days after Transclean I, Transclean filed this suit in the

District of Minnesota against Jiffy Lube and more than 30

other fast lube businesses (many of them small, independ-

ently owned shops in Minnesota). The district court had

jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331 and 1338(a).

Although Transclean states in its Petition that it filed

this suit because it “could not” collect on its judgment

against Bridgewood, Pet. 3, the timeline belies that claim,

and no evidence in the record supports it. Only eight days

passed between Transclean I and the filing of Transclean’s

second suit, and Transclean made no effort in the short

period in the interim to collect on the judgment.

Transclean’s positions in this litigation evidenced a

purpose to use the infringement ruling it had obtained

5

through Bridgewood’s discovery violations to increase its

damages recovery. Transclean argued in the district court:

(1) that Respondents were precluded from relitigating the

issue of infringement; (2) that Transclean was not pre-

cluded from relitigating the issue of damages; and (3) that

Transclean’s claims against Jiffy Lube and the other

Respondents were not precluded in their entirety for not

having included them as defendants in the first action.

To advance its argument on issue preclusion,

Transclean took the (necessary) position that privity

existed between Bridgewood and Jiffy Lube and the other

Respondents. In its amended complaint, Transclean

alleged that Jiffy Lube and the other Respondents were

“bound by the findings” of infringement and validity in

Transclean I. C.A. App. 100. When Jiffy Lube asked in an

interrogatory for the factual basis for this contention,

Transclean answered that Jiffy Lube and Bridgewood were

in privity:

As a purchaser of infringing T-Tech Devices

manufactured by T-Tech and/or Bridgewood Ser-

vices, Inc, Jiffy Lube is in privity with T-Tech

and/or Bridgewood Services, Inc. and is bound by

the judgment against them.

C.A. App. 852.

Both Jiffy Lube and Transclean filed motions for

summary judgment, and in the briefing on both motions,

Transclean continued to take the position that Jiffy Lube

and Bridgewood were in privity. To support its own motion

on issue preclusion, Transclean argued that:

[t]he Defendants in this case were in privity with

Bridgewood. They are accused of infringing the

same patent by using the same T-Tech Devices

6

already found to fall within claims 1, 2, 3, 4, and

12 of the ‘080 Patent. As the manufacturer of the

T-Tech Devices, Bridgewood was closely related

to the users of the T-Tech Devices, and had an

identical interest in defeating Transclean’s in-

fringement allegations and invalidating the ‘080

Patent.

C.A. App. 894-895. Transclean further argued that Bridge-

wood and Jiffy Lube were in privity because Jiffy Lube

was “‘closely related’ to Bridgewood with respect to the

accused devices and had ‘nearly identical’ interests in the

outcome of the litigation.” Jd. , at 902-903.

Based in part on Transclean’s privity concession, Jiffy

Lube moved for summary judgment on the basis of claim

preclusion. C.A. App. 358-360. Transclean opposed the

motion, but not on the basis that privity was lacking.

Instead, it stated to the district court that Jiffy Lube and

Bridgewood were “in privity because Bridgewood was a

manufacturer of the infringing product and Jiffy Lube is a

user of the same infringing product,” id., at 670, and that

“there exists privity between Bridgewood and Jiffy Lube,”

id., at 670-671 n. 3.

2. The District Court’s summary judgment

decision. Based on this record, the District Court took it

as given that Jiffy Lube was in privity with Bridgewood.

Addressing Jiffy Lube’s motion for summary judgment on

claim preclusion, the District Court quoted Transclean’s

express admission in its brief in opposition to Jiffy Lube’s

motion that privity existed, Pet. App. 36a, then concluded

that Transclean does not “dispute that Jiffy Lube is in

privity with the defendant in the prior litigation.” Ibid.

The court determined that the remaining factors for claim

preclusion were met and therefore granted summary

judgment for Jiffy Lube. Jd., at 37a-38a.

With respect to Transclean’s motion for summary

judgment of infringement based on issue preclusion, the

district court began by noting that the only dispute be-

tween the parties was whether infringement was “actually

litigated” in Transclean I. Pet. App. 44a. The District

Court held that, because the ruling of infringement in

Transclean I was assessed as a discovery sanction, the

merits of the issue had not actually been litigated. Jd., at

44a-45a. Accordingly, Respondents could not be precluded

from relitigating the infringement issue. /d., at 45a.

Transclean did not move for reconsideration or rehear-

ing on the issue of privity.

3. Proceedings in the Federal Circuit. Transclean

appealed the district court’s decision to the Federal Cir-

cuit, but it did not challenge the District Court’s finding of

privity between Jiffy Lube and Bridgewood in its opening

brief on appeal. To the contrary, Transclean affirmatively

argued that the district court had gotten it right and that

privity existed for purposes of claim preclusion: |

“[To} prevail on a claim of [claim preclusion],

the party asserting the bar must prove that (1)

the parties are identical or in privity; (2) the first

suit proceeded to a final judgment on the merits;

and (3) the second claim is based on the same set

of transactional facts as the first.” Ammex, Inc. v.

U.S., 334 F.3d 1052, 1055 (Fed. Cir. 2003.)

The first element is met here. As the District

Court correctly noted, and as they admitted

themselves, the Participating Appellees have a

8

“special relationship” of privity with Bridgewood.

The second element also is met....

Appendix to Brief in Opposition (“App.”) 5-6, infra. Jiffy

Lube accordingly noted in its Appellee’s Brief that

Transclean had waived any right to challenge the exis-

tence of privity. Jiffy Lube Br. at 22 n. 5.

Nor did Transclean retract its admission in its reply

brief. In a footnote, Transclean stated that, because the

Federal Circuit reviews claim preclusion rulings de novo,

the Federal Circuit “could determine that the Participat-

ing Appellees and Bridgewood were not in privity.” App. 10

n. 2, infra. But it did not ask the Federal Circuit to so

hold. Only at oral argument, after hearing the views of the

panel, did Transclean finally try to retreat from its prior

privity admissions.

4. The Federal Circuit’s Decision. The Federal

Circuit identified the issue before it as “whether, having

failed to bring infringement claims against the users in

the first litigation, Transclean should be barred under the

doctrine of claim preclusion from bringing those claims in

a second suit.” Pet. App. 8a. Regarding the element of

privity, the Federal Circuit explained that the “issue of

privity was not in dispute before the trial court because

Transclean admitted several times that the defendants in

this case were in privity with Bridgewood.” Jd., at 10a.

The only issue, therefore, was whether Transclean’s

prior admissions barred it from reversing its position.

Pet. App. 12a-13a. The Federal Circuit explained that

Transclean “initially believed it could avoid the application

of claim preclusion even though it conceded the existence

of privity between Bridgewood and its customers.” Jd., at

13a. But, “[alpparently recognizing the problem with that

9

position,” Transclean now contended “that privity cannot

be admitted because it is a question of law and that we are

free to determine that Bridgewood and the Participating

Defendants were not in privity if that conclusion is sup-

ported by the actual facts.” Jd. Appiying this Court’s

decision in New Hampshire v. Maine, 532 U.S. 742 (2001),

the Federal Circuit held that “even if Transclean is correct

that the issue should be characterized as a legal conclu-

sion, we think Transclean should be bound by its. conces-

sion under the doctrine of judicial estoppel.” Pet. App. 13a.

As the Federal Circuit concluded:

Transclean made the choice to concede privity be-

tween Bridgewood and its customers after choos-

ing not to join the customers in the first

litigation. Under the circumstance presented by

this case, we believe Transclean should be held to

the consequences of its choices. Transclean

should not be permitted to reverse course this

late in the proceedings simply because it now re-

alizes its litigation strategy was unsuccessful.

Pet. App. 14a.

Transclean subsequently filed a Petition for Rehearing

or Rehearing En Banc, which the Federal Circuit denied.

S

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

I. This Case Is A Poor Vehicle For Considering

The Judicial-Estoppel Question, Because Peti-

tioner’s Underlying Privity Argument Is inde-

pendently Barred By Waiver.

This case is ill-suited to address the judicial-estoppel

question presented in the Petition, because Transclean

10

consciously, repeatedly, and conclusively waived any

argument that Jiffy Lube and the other Respondents were

not in privity with Bridgewood in both the district court

and the Federal Circuit. If the Court were to grant review,

it would therefore never reach the estoppel issues, because

it would simply affirm first on grounds of waiver. Alterna-

tively, if the Court addressed the judicial-estoppel issues

first, its ruling would have no practical significance,

because Transclean’s waiver would still independently bar

it from raising its no-privity argument. The Court should

therefore deny the Petition.

Transclean first waived its no-privity argument by

failing to present it to the district court. Federal courts of

appeals apply the discretionary doctrine of waiver to

refuse to consider issues that were not first presented to

the district court. A party who does not raise an argument

in the district court “cannot ... be heard to make the

argument for the first time on appeal.” Golden Blount, Inc.

v. Robert H. Peterson Co., 365 F.3d 1054, 1062 (CAFed

2004). See also Orr v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., 297 F.3d 720,

725 (CA8 2002) (same). “If a litigant seeks to show error in

a trial court’s overlooking an argument, it must first

present that argument to the trial court.” Sage Products,

Inc. v. Devon Indus., Inc., 126 F.3d 1420, 1426 (CAFed

1997). As this Court stated, “liJt is the general rule, of

course, that a federal appellate court does not consider an

issue not passed upon below.” Singleton v. Wulff, 428 U.S.

106, 120 (1976). See also Sprietsma v. Mercury Marine, 537

U.S. 51, 56 n. 4 (2002) (“Because this argument was not

raised below, it is waived.”). Transclean never presented to

the district court its argument that Respondents and

Bridgewood were not in privity. Indeed, it expressly took

the opposite position and asked the district court to find

11

that privity existed. Transclean therefore waived the right

to argue on appeal that privity did not exist.

Transclean also and independently waived its no-

privity argument by failing to raise the argument in its

opening brief on appeal to the Federal Circuit. The courts

of appeals apply the discretionary doctrine of waiver to

refuse to consider issues that an appellant does not raise

in its opening brief. “[A]n issue not raised by an appellant

in its opening brief... is waived.” Becton Dickinson & Co.

v. C.R. Bard, Inc., 922 F.2d 792, 800 (CAFed 1990). See

also Optivus Technology, Inc. v. Ion Beam Applications

S.A., 469 F.3d 978, 989 (CAFed 2006) (same); Ahlberg v.

Chrysler Corp., 481 F.3d 630, 634 (CA8 2007) (same). This

Court applies the same type of waiver rule to briefs filed

with it. See, e.g., Supreme Court Rule 15.2 (“Any objection

to consideration of a question presented based on what

occurred in the proceedings below ... may be deemed

waived unless called to the Court’s attention in the briefin

opposition.”). Far from raising its argument that Respon-

dents and Bridgewood were not in privity, Transclean

affirmatively declared in its opening brief to the Federal

Circuit that the district court had correctly concluded that

they were in privity. That is an unambiguous waiver of the

right later to argue the opposite.

Jiffy Lube identified Transclean’s waivers in its

appellee brief in the Federal Circuit. Jiffy Lube Br. at 22

n. 5. The waiver argument is therefore fully preserved and

stands as an independent bar to Transclean’s no-privity

argument. Hence, either the Court would never reach the

judicial-estoppel issues if it addressed waiver first, or its

decision would have no practical significance if it ad-

dressed estoppel first but then found the privity argument

12

waived in any event. Because of these vehicle problems,

the Court should deny review.

II. The Only Judicial-Estoppel Issue Presented

For Review Is A Correct, Factbound Applica-

tion Of The Court’s Recent Decision In New

Hampshire v. Maine.

Even if the Court could reach it, the judicial-estoppel

issue is not worthy of review because the decision below is

nothing more than a correct, factbound application of the

controlling principles that the Court established in New

Hampshire v. Maine, 532 U.S. 742, 750 (2001).

The general principles that govern judicial estoppel

are already settled, because the Court devoted its unani-

mous opinion in New Hampshire to establishing them. The

purpose of the doctrine is “to protect the integrity of the

judicial process by prohibiting parties from deliberately

changing positions according to the exigencies of the

moment.” 532 U.S., at 749-50 (citation and quotation

marks omitted). In the words of a lower court that this

Court adopted, “judicial estoppel prevents parties from

playing fast and loose with the courts.” Jd., at 750 (quota-

tion marks omitted).

The doctrine of judicial estoppel is discretionary and

its application factbound. The Court expressly declined in

New Hampshire to establish “inflexible prerequisites or an

exhaustive formula for determining the applicability of

judicial estoppel.” Jd., at 751. Instead, it laid out three

factors that courts may consider, among others. First, “a

party’s later position must be ‘clearly inconsistent’ with its

earlier position.” Jd., at 750. Second, “courts regularly

inquire whether the party has succeeded in persuading a

13

court to accept that party’s earlier position, so that judicial

acceptance of an inconsistent position in a later proceeding

would create ‘the perception that either the first or the

second court was misled.’” Jd. Third, courts consider

“whether the party seeking to assert an inconsistent

position would derive an unfair advantage or impose an

unfair detriment on the opposing party if not estopped.”

Id., at 751. -

The Federal Circuit correctly quoted and applied New

Hampshire to the facts of this case. First, the Federal

Circuit correctly found that Transclean’s new position was

“clearly inconsistent” with its old one. As the court ex-

plained, the “determination that Transclean asks us. to

make—that Bridgewood and the [Respondents] were not

in privity for claim preclusion purposes—is clearly incon-

sistent with the position it advocated before the trial court

and in its opening brief on appeal.” Pet. App. 14a.

Second, the Federal Circuit correctly found that

Transclean had succeeded in persuading the district court

to adopt its position. Just as in New Hampshire,

Transclean agreed with the opposing side on a question of

law applied to the facts of the case, and the court adopted

that position in reliance on the party’s position. In New

Hampshire, the State of New Hampshire agreed with

Maine on the interpretation of a 1740 decree of King

George II of England setting their mutual boundary at the

“Middle of the River,” and this Court incorporated the

interpretation into a consent decree. Jd., at 747. Here,

Transclean agreed with Jiffy Lube that Jiffy Lube was

in privity with Bridgewood for purposes of claim preclu-

sion, and the district court relied on and adopted that

position in its order on summary judgment. The “trial

court accepted Transclean’s admission of privity, and the

14

defendants relied on that admission during both the trial

and appellate phases of this litigation.” Pet. App. 14a. If

Transclean were allowed to switch positions now, it would

create the perception—because it would be true—that the

district court was misled.

Third, there is no doubt that Transclean “deliberately

chang[ed} positions according to the exigencies of the

moment,” id., at 750, “to the prejudice of the party who

has acquiesced in the position formerly taken by [it}.” Jd.,

at 749 (quotation marks omitted). Transclean’s abrupt

switch from arguing that privity existed between it and

Jiffy Lube to arguing that it did not exist falls within the

heart of the doctrine, which aims to prevent parties from

playing fast and loose with the courts. As the Federal

Circuit concluded:

As part of its litigation strategy, Transclean

made the choice to concede privity between

Bridgewood and its customers after choosing not

to join the customers in the first litigation. Under

the circumstances presented by this case, we be-

lieve Transclean should be held to the conse-

quence of its choices. Transclean should not be

permitted to reverse course this late in the pro-

ceedings simply because it now realizes its litiga-

tion strategy was unsuccessful.

Pet. App. 15a. The Federal Circuit correctly protected the

courts against Transclean’s opportunism. There is no

reason for this Court to grant review.

Finally, to the extent that Transclean now complains

that the Federal Circuit’s estoppel analysis was less

extensive than it would have preferred, that is a problem

entirely of Transclean’s own making. Transclean did not

attempt its switch until oral argument, so the parties had

15

no opportunity to brief the issue of estoppel. The Federal

Circuit was left to its own resources—and that i is a reason

not to grant review, but to deny it.

III. This Case Does Not Implicate Any Circuit Split.

The foregoing discussion should make it clear that

this case does not implicate any circuit split. The decision

below is a factbound, discretionary decision that correctly

applies New Hampshire and does not conflict with any |

other circuit decision.

A. The discretionary, factbound test estab-

lished by New Hampshire is an unlikely

source for a true circuit split.

Petitioner’s claim of a split ignores the existence and

effect of the Court’s decision in New Hampshire. New

Hampshire “altered the legal landscape” of judicial estop-

pel. Johnson v. Lindon City Corp., 405 F.3d 1065, 1068

(CA10 2005). |

New Hampshire first of all has introduced uniformity

into the general principles of judicial estoppel. The Court

itself applied New Hampshire to resolve an estoppel issue

last Term. Zedner v. U.S., 547 U.S. __, 126 S. Ct. 1976,

1987 (2006). Two circuit courts that categorically rejected

judicial estoppel before New Hampshire—the Tenth

Circuit and the D.C. Circuit—have reversed course and

now recognize the doctrine. Johnson, 405 F.3d, at 1068

(CA10); In re Smith, 285 F.3d 6, 9 (CADC 2002). Moreover,

in cases beginning in 2001 and continuing through this

year, every circuit except the D.C. Circuit has expressly

employed the factors articulated in New Hampshire in

helping to determine whether or not to apply judicial

16

estoppel in particular cases, and the D.C. Circuit has cited

the case favorably. See Alternative System Concepts, Inc. v.

Synopsys, Inc., 374 F.3d 23, 31-33 (CA1l 2004); Mulvaney

Mechanical, Inc. v. Sheet Metal Workers Int'l Ass’n., Local

38, 288 F.3d 491, 504 (CA2 2002), certiorari granted,

vacated, and remanded on other grounds, 538 U.S. 918

(2003); U.S. v. Pelullo, 399 F.3d 197, 222-23 (CA3 2005);

1000 Friends of Maryland v. Browner, 265 F.3d 216, 226-

27 (CA4 2001); Hall v. GE Plastic Pacific PTE, Lid., 327

F.3d 391, 395-400 (CA5 2003); Pennycuff v. Fentress

County Bd. of Educ., 404 F.3d 447, 452-53 (CA6 2005);

Jarrard v. CDI Telecommunications, Inc., 408 F.3d 905,

914-15 (CA7 2005); Stallings v. Hussmann Corp., 447 F.3d

1041, 1046-47 (CA8 2006); Abercrombie & Fitch Co. v.

Moose Creek, Inc., 486 F.3d 629, 633 (CA9 2007); Johnson,

405 F.3d, at 1068-69 (CA10); Burnes v. Pemco Aeroplex,

Inc., 291 F.3d 1282, 1285-86 (CA11 2002); In re Smith, 285

F.3d, at 9 (CADC); Minnesota Min. & Mfg. Co. v. Chemque,

Inc., 303 F.3d 1294, 1303-04 (CAFed 2002).

New Hampshire also established that the process of

applying judicial estoppel’s general principles is a flexible,

discretionary one that turns on the particular circum-

stances of the case—and the circuits have embraced that

aspect of the holding as well. See Alternative System

Concepts, 374 F.3d, at 33 (“Each case tends to turn on its

own facts.”); 1000 Friends, 265 F.3d, at 226 (“the circum-

stances under which judicial estoppel may appropriately

be invoked are probably not reducible to any general

formulation of principle”); Hall, 327 F.3d, at 396 (“judicial

estoppel is an equitable doctrine invoked by a court at its

discretion”); Pennycuff, 404 F.3d, at 453 (same); Jarrard,

408 F.3d, at 914 (“Judicial estoppel is an equitable doctrine

to be applied flexibly with an eye toward protecting the

17

integrity of the judicial process.”); Johnson, 405 F.3d, at

1068-69 (judicial estoppel is “a discretionary remedy”

courts may invoke “to prevent ‘improper use of judicial

machinery”); Burnes, 291 F.3d, at 1285 (courts have

“flexibility in determining the applicability of the doctrine

of judicial estoppel based on the facts of a particular

case”); Minnesota Mining, 303 F.3d, at 1303-04 (the New

Hampshire factors are “flexible and non-exhaustive”).

B. After New Hampshire, no split has devel-

oped on applying judicial estoppel to ques-

tions of law.

After New Hampshire, the circuit split that Petitioner

claims on the application of judicial estoppel to questions

of law does not exist. Certainly, no circuit has indicated

that the doctrine is unavailable on the facts of this case,

which do not implicate a pure question of law but at most

a mixed question of law applied to fact.

The Court’s discussion and holding in New Hampshire

disposes of any argument that judicial estoppel cannot be

applied to inconsistent positions on questions of law. The

Court did not suggest at any point in New Hampshire that

judicial estoppel is limited to factua. » sertions. To the

contrary, the Court stated that judicial estoppel can apply

to inconsistent “positions,” “argument|s],” “claim[s],” and

“theories.” See 532 U.S., at 749 (quoting Davis v. Wakelee,

156 U.S. 680, 689 (1895); Pegram v. Herdrich, 530 US.

211, 227 n. 8 (2000); 18 Moore’s Federal Practice § 134.40

(3d ed. 2000); 18 C. Wright, A. Miller & E. Cooper, Federal

Practice and Procedure § 4477 (1981)). The cases the Court

quoted and relied upon as authority, moreover, applied the

doctrine to legal arguments. In the cited Davis case, the

petitioner was estopped from challenging a judgment

18

whose validity he had earlier conceded. 156 U.S., at 689.

In the cited case of Jn re Cassidy, 892 F.2d 637 (CA7 1990),

the court not only applied judicial estoppel to a legal

argument, but expressly rejected the position that it was

limited to assertions of fact. Id., at 641-42.

Indeed, in New Hampshire itself, the position that the

Court estopped New Hampshire from contradicting was a

legal position. New Hampshire was estopped from chang-

ing its position on the interpretation of a 1740 decree by

King George II that established part of the boundary

between New Hampshire and Maine. As this Court has

held; the interpretation of written documents has histori-

cally been deemed to be a question of law for the court

because “the construction of written instruments is one of

those things that judges often do and are likely to do

better than jurors unburdened by training in exegesis.”

Markman v. Westview Instruments, 517 U.S. 370, 388

(1996) (holding that the construction of patent terms is a

question of law). Thus, New Hampshire unequivocally

supports the view of the circuits that have held that

judicial estoppel can apply to questions of law as well as

questions of fact. Pet. 13-15. At a minimum, New Hamp-

shire leaves no doubt that the doctrine was properly

applied in this case, where Transclean’s concession was

not on a pure issue of law, but rather on the question

whether privity existed between the parties on the par-

ticular facts of this case.

In addition, New Hampshire has tangibly changed the

view of those circuits that Transclean contends had taken

an “intractable” position limiting the doctrine to questions

of fact. Pet. 11-13. The Second Circuit, which appeared to

limit judicial estoppel to factual assertions prior to New

Hampshire, recently issued an unpublished decision in

19

which the panel applied judicial estoppel to a party that

had earlier represented to the court that it was making no

breach of contract claim against a defendant in the litiga-

tion, Sewell v. 1199 Nat'l Ben. Fund for Health and Hu-

man Services, 187 Fed. Appx. 36, 40 (CA2 Jun. 14, 2006).

This Court then denied review. 127 S.Ct. 1841 (2007). The

Fourth Circuit, which appeared to limit judicial estoppel to -

factual assertions prior to New Hampshire, recently

softened the test by stating that this factor and other

factors apply only “generally” to the doctrine and agreeing

with New Hampshire that “the circumstances under which

judicial estoppel may appropriately be invoked are proba-

bly not reducible to any general formulation of principle.”

1000 Friends, 265 F.3d, at 226-27. The Tenth Circuit,

which did not recognize judicial estoppel before New

Hampshire, now recognizes the doctrine and allows for

flexibility in its application, stating only that “the position

to be estopped must generally be one of fact rather than of

law or legal theory.” Johnson, 405 F.3d, at 1068-69 (em-

phasis added).

Transclean also suggests that the Sixth and Eleventh

Circuits would not apply judicial estoppel outside the

context of factual assertions because those circuits limit

the doctrine to allegedly inconsistent statements made

under oath. Pet. 13. Those circuits, however, have also

retreated from their categorical requirement after New

Hampshire. The Sixth Circuit recently applied the New

Hampshire factors without mentioning an oath require-

ment. Pennycuff, 404 F.3d, at 452-53. The Eleventh Circuit

likewise recently cited New Hampshire and stated that the

sworn oath factor is “not inflexible or exhaustive; rather

courts must always give due consideration to all of the

circumstances of a particular case when considering the

20

applicability of this doctrine.” Burnes, 291 F.3d, at 1285-

86.

Although conceding that “Fifth Circuit law is not

clear” on the issue, Transclean nonetheless argues that it

appears that this circuit follows the view that judicial

estoppel is limited to factual assertions. Pet. 13.

Transclean’s authority for that assertion is a single sen-

‘tence from a footnote in a 1993 decision. Transclean

ignores, however, the Fifth Circuit’s lengthy discussion of

New Hampshire in Hall v. GE Plastic. In that case, the

Fifth Circuit made it clear that it has the ability to apply

judicial estoppel broadly to any party that “‘advance[s]

one argument and then, for convenience or gamesmanship

after that argument has served its purpose, advance[s] a

different and inconsistent argument.’” 327 F.3d 391, 397

(CA5 2003) (quoting Hotard v. State Farm Fire & Cas. Co.,

286 F.3d 814, 818 (CA5 2002)).

The “intractable” split that Petitioner claims thus no

longer exists after New Hampshire. Moreover, even if some

split did exist about the outer bounds of how judicial

estoppel applies to pure questions of law, this case would

not implicate it. Some courts have held that privity is a

pure question of fact, and at most it is a mixed question of

law applied to fact. No decision, after New Hampshire, has

held that the doctrine of judicial estoppel is inapplicable in

the situation presented by this case, where a party urges

the district court to reach one conclusion based on the

facts of the case, repeats that position in its opening brief

on appeal, and then at oral argument takes the exact

opposite position, without any claim that the facts or the

law have changed, only its strategy.

21

C. After New Hampshire, there is no disagree-

ment among the circuits over what kind of

success is necessary to trigger judicial es-

toppel.

Transclean’s second attempt to manufacture an

“intractable” circuit split is even less well grounded than

the first. Transclean contends that there is a disagreement

between the circuits on the kind of legal success necessary

to trigger the doctrine. That is not correct. In New Hamp-

shire, the Court clearly defined what “success” means in

the context of judicial estoppel: “[C]ourts regularly inquire

whether the party has succeeded in persuading a court to

accept that party’s earlier position, so that judicial accep-

tance of an inconsistent position in a later proceeding

would create ‘the perception that either the first or the

second court was misled.’” 532 U.S., at 750 (emphasis

added). The Court repeated exactly this articulation of the

success factor last term in Zedner, 126 S. Ct., at 1987.

Thus, contrary to the argument that Transclean makes in

its petition, the Court does not require that a party must

win on the merits to achieve success for purposes of

judicial estoppel. Under New Hampshire, the “success”

factor asks only whether the party succeeded in persuad-

ing a court to accept that party’s earlier position.

Not a single circuit disagrees with the Court’s defini-

tion of “success.” Since New Hampshire, virtually every —

circuit—including the First and Third Circuits, which

Transclean identifies as the sources of the claimed circuit

split—has expressly defined “success” in a manner similar

or identical to the Court’s definition. See Alternative

System Concepts, 374 F.3d, at 33 (CA1); Mulvaney Me-

chanical, 288 F.3d, at 504 (CA2); Pelullo, 399 F.3d, at 222-

23 (CA3); 1000 Friends, 265 F.3d, at 226 (CA4); Hall, 327

22

F.3d, at 396 (CA5); Pennycuff, 404 F.3d, at 453 (CA6);

Jarrard, 408 F.3d, at 914 (CA7); Stallings, 447 F.3d, at

1047 (CA8); Abercrombie & Fitch Co., 486 F.3d, at 633

(CA9); Johnson, 405 F.3d, at 1069 (CA10); Burnes, 291

F.3d, at 1285 (CA11); Minnesota Mining, 303 F.3d, at 1303

(CAFed). }

In addition, under any definition of “success,”

Transclean succeeded in advancing its privity position

with respect to claim preclusion in the district court. Jiffy

Lube and the other Respondents did not dispute it, and

the district court quoted Transclean’s admission and relied

on it in the court’s opinion granting summary judgment.

No circuit split therefore exists, and even if there were

some theoretical split, it would not be implicated by the

facts of this case.

IV. Jiffy Lube Does Not Address The Second Ques-

tion Presented In The Petition, Because It Re-

lates Only To Other Respondents

In addition to the judicial-estoppel question that Jiffy

Lube has addressed, the Petition raises a second question

about the authority of an appellate court to apply the

doctrine of claim preclusion sua sponte to the benefit of

parties who did not appear in that court. That second

question relates only to the Respondents who did not

participate in the case in either the district court or the

Federal Circuit. Because Jiffy Lube appeared in the case

and asked for a judgment of claim preclusion in both the

district court and the Federal Circuit, the second question

does not apply to it, and Jiffy Lube will not address it. In

the unlikely event that the Court grants review of that

question, Jiffy Lube respectfully requests the Court to

23

state in its Order that the grant does not implicate Jiffy

Lube and does not affect the judgment entered in favor of

Jiffy Lube.

¢

, CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

DAVID J.F. GROSS

JAMES W. PORADEK

AARON D. VAN OORT

Counsel of Record

TIMOTHY E. GRIMSRUD

FAEGRE & BENSON LLP

2200 Wells Fargo Center

90 Scuth Seventh Street

Minneapolis, MN 55402-3901

(612) 766-7000

Counsel for Jiffy Lube International, Inc.

App. 1

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

06-1077

TRANSCLEAN CORPORATION, JAMES P. VIKEN

JON A. LANG, AND DONALD E. JOHNSON

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

v. ;

JIFFY LUBE INTERNATIONAL, INC.,

Defendant-Appellee,

and

REGIONAL CAR WASH DISTRIBUTORS, INC., WALT

GISLASON (doing business as Walt’s Soft Car Wash),

and MIKE’S IN OUT 10 MINUTE OIL CHANGE, -

Defendants-Appellees,

and

INDY LUBE, INC.,

Defendant-Appellee, and

FRESH START, INC., LUBRICATION

TECHNOLOGIES, INC., LAYNE R. BASE (doing

business as Heartland Express Lube),

and PERFECT “10” QUICK LUBE, INC.,

Defendants-Appellees,

and

ULTRA-LUBE

Defendant-Appellee,

and

App. 2

BOB CLEMONS (doing business as Wonder Lube),

BILL CLARK OIL CO., ROYAL LUBE AND SERVICE,

INC., 13 NORTH EXPRESS LUBE, INC., SPOTS

QUICK LUBE, INC., and WHITE BEAR

TIRE & AUTO, INC.

Defendants.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the District of Minnesota in case no. 02-CV-1138,

Senior Judge Paul A. Magnuson

BRIEF OF PLAINTIFFS-APPELLANTS

TRANSCLEAN CORPORATION, JAMES P. VIKEN,

JON A. LANG, AND DONALD E. JOHNSON

ALAN M. ANDERSON

CHRISTOPHER A. YOUNG

FULBRIGHT & JAWORSKI L.L.P.

2100 IDS Center

80 South 8th Street

Minneapolis, MN 55402

(612) 321-2800

Attorneys for Plaintiffs-Appellees

December 30, 2005

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

CERTIFICATE OF INTEREST...........c:-e00000- ee i

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ............-cccsscesceecsecsesvessee vi

STATEMENT OF RELATED CASES..........:cccsecee-e0 1

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT ..........cccecceeseeeesee. 1

STATEMENT OF THE ISSUES............se-ccsscsesseeeeeeee 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..................ccccsssecesssveees 3

App. 3

PAE d REED AE BOUT Ei ccsvensnicnecsensensapesaronsonaviccssuess

A.

B.

C.

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT. ...............ccceseeseees ,

The Appellants, The ’080 Patent, And The T-

re ap nwonnbucsenonne .

The Bridgewood Litigation...................ceseeeeees |

PERO CORTON TAO aca scsi ss cisiccscssvescessescoee

1. Several Of The Participating Appellees

Admitted Infringement..................:ccceecees :

2. The Parties’ Motions For Summary Judg- .

IE wi petanceensscesasadninessdtcccsneosisvcssonssenessasuns |

3. Transclean’s Motion For Determination

of Default Damages ...................000.0000000008

PT aisha is yceiliiiiashapibnsunebeccbviinnecsciucaieeuseieseans

I.

THE DISTRICT COURT ERRED IN

GRANTING THE PARTICIPATING APPEL-

LEES’ MOTIONS FOR SUMMARY JUDG-

MENT OF CLAIM PRECLUSION ..................

A. The Supreme Court Has Guaranteed

Patentees The Right To Sue And Obtain

Damages Resulting From The Use Of In-

RE I Siccsd sic enceshadececnnsestctinsienest

1. The District Court Erred In Finding

That The Participating Appellees

Proved All Of The Elements Of Claim

PI i ccbccicacdsaicssticacincssabisenesas

2. The District Court’s Claim Preclusion

Ruling Relied On The Wrong Prece-

dent Which It Applied Incorrectly ......

B. The District Court’s Claim Preclusion

Ruling Precludes Transclean From En-

joining The Participating Appellees’ In-

fringing Use Of The T-Tech Devices.........

16

16

24

27

II.

IIT.

App. 4

C. Affirming The District Court’s Ruling

Would Cause Patentees To Include All Po-

tential Infringers As Defendants ................

THE DISTRICT COURT ERRED AS A MATTER

OF LAW IN RULING THAT TRANSCLEAN IS

PRECLUDED FROM LITIGATING THE IS-

SOE CP Saar k sania tincesiscensessscsocscnccoes

A. The Test For Issue Preclusion Is Not Met

With Respect To Damages .................000065

1. The First And Second Elements Of

Issue Preclusion Are Not Met.............

2. The Fourth Element Of Issue Preclu-

eg | SE ee

THE DISTRICT COURT ERRED IN DENY-

ING TRANSCLEAN’S MOTION FOR SUM-

MARY JUDGMENT DISMISSING JIFFY

LUBE AND INDY LUBE’S OBVIOUSNESS

DEF ar eer se deaseeciibivahstniciessexoierssconceee

A. Jiffy Lube’s Obviousness Contentions

Contradict The District Court’s Prior

BRUNE canicacassniwiiins Sera cdavnsnsscees

B. Jiffy Lube’s Claim Of Obviousness Based

On The JP 2-72299 Patent Fails On Its

SI vs shen suet agaisatbibesaessnsiecevescsssenccess

C. Jiffy Lube’s Obviousness Defense Fails

Because It Is Not Based On A Clear and

Particular Teaching, Suggestion, Or Mo-

tivation To Combine That Is Supported

By AcGriel TEViIIGO .. oo. cccrccsccccecscscccosecceses

D. Jiffy Lube’s Obviousness Defense Did

Not Address The Secondary Indicia Of

ees iiasstnscesescsocesvcesens

31

32

34

35

38

40

42

46

48

App. 5

IV. THE DISTRICT COURT ERRED IN RULING

THAT TRANSCLEAN IS NOT ENTITLED TO

ISSUE PRECLUSION ON THE DEFENSES

OF NON-INFRINGEMENT AND ANTICIPA-

EN cebnaiash bildscdacactaiticandtisbasubislabamicatalcgpiai dik nambidbagans 53

A. The District Court Applied The Wrong

PINE So incccsrssussercavosiina akipuedecuichateuuseceaiasoie 53

SRR III asides cdacaichs i chidvinituninhouduaveusvealacewhbs 58

CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE

ADDENDUM

* * ”

1. The District Court Erred In Finding That The

Participating Appellees Proved All Of The Ele-

ments Of Claim Preclusion.

“The general concept of claim preclusion is that when

a final judgment is rendered on the merits, another action

may not be maintained between the parties on the same

‘claim,’ and defenses that were raised or could have been

raised in that action are extinguished.” Hallco Mfg. Co.,

Inc. v. Foster, 256 F.3d 1290, 1294 (Fed. Cir. 2001). Claim

preclusion issues that are particular to patent law, like the

one presented here, must be analyzed under applicable

Federal Circuit law. Jd. at 1294. This Court reviews

questions regarding claim preclusion de novo. Faust v.

United States, 101 F.3d 675, 677 (Fed. Cir. 1996).

[To] prevail on a claim of [claim preclusion], the

party asserting the bar must prove that (1) the

parties are identical or in privity; (2) the first ©

suit proceeded to a final judgment on the merits;

and (3) the second claim is based on the same set

of transactional facts as the first.

Ammex, Inc. v. U.S., 334 F. 3d 1052, 1055 (Fed. Cir. 2003).

App. 6

The first element is met here. As the District Court

correctly noted, and as they admitted themselves, the

Participating Appellees have a “special .. . relationship” of

privity with Bridgewood. A6; A358, 370, 378; A864, 872,

880; A881; A882. The second element also is met. This

Court affirmed the District Court’s finding of infringement

and validity in the Bridgewood Litigation. Transclean

Corp. v. Bridgewood Servs., Inc., 290 F.3d at 1373, 1374.

The Participating Appellees cannot, however, prove the

third element.

App. 7

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

06-1077

TRANSCLEAN CORPORATION, JAMES P. VIKEN,

JON A. LANG, AND DONALD E. JOHNSON

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

v.

JIFFY LUBE INTERNATIONAL, INC.,

Defendant-Appellee, :

and

REGIONAL CAR WASH DISTRIBUTORS, INC.,

WALT GISLASON (doing business as Walt’s Soft Car

Wash), and MIKE’S IN OUT 10 MINUTE OIL CHANGE,

Defendants-Appellees,

and

INDY LUBE, INC.,

Defendant-Appellee, |

and

FRESH START, INC., LUBRICATION TECHNOLOGIES,

INC., LAYNE R. BASE (doing business as Heartland

Express Lube), and PERFECT “10” QUICK LUBE, INC.,

Defendants-Appellees,

and

ULTRA-LUBE

Defendant-Appellee,

and

App. 8

BOB CLEMONS (doing business as Wonder Lube), BILL

CLARK OIL CO., ROYAL LUBE AND SERVICE, INC.,

13 NORTH EXPRESS LUBE, INC., SPOTS QUICK

LUBE, INC., and WHITE BEAR TIRE & AUTO, INC.

Defendants.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the District of Minnesota in case no. 02-CV-1138,

Senior Judge Paul A. Magnuson

REPLY BRIEF OF PLAINTIFFS-APPELLANTS

TRANSCLEAN CORPORATION, JAMES P. VIKEN,

JON A. LANG, AND DONALD E. JOHNSON

ALAN M. ANDERSON

CHRISTOPHER A. YOUNG

FULBRIGHT & JAWORSKI L.L.P.

2100 IDS Center

80 South 8th Street

Minneapolis, MN 55402

(612) 321-2800

Attorneys for Plaintiffs-Appellees

February 22, 2006

TABLE OF CONTENTS

IRDA NTE, sactecitsaricictsnsnstensensaenionpanientincsbennitaninldoiitiia 1

I. BIRDSELL V. SHALIOL AND ITS PROGENY

PRESENT THE SAME SITUATION AS THIS

A. The Manufacturers And Other Infringers

In Birdsell And Its Progeny Were In Priv-

ity, Just Like The Participating Appellees’

a I pinitsctacierensicsnvieamicnnns 2

' B. Birdsell And Its Progeny Involved The

Doctrine Of Claim Preclusion ..................055 5

II.

III.

App. 9

WHILE RELYING ON INAPPLICABLE

PRECEDENT APPLYING THIRD CIRCUIT

LAW, THE PARTICIPATING APPELLEES FAIL

TO ACKNOWLEDGE THIS COURTS HOLD-

ING IN SHOCKLEY V. ARCAN, WHERE IT

SPECIFICALLY ENDORSED AND ADOPTED

THE SUPREME COURTS HOLDING IN

SRE TEE Aipiencinsnninnvinsinnwinenaainnniainintasaseirnnnns

THE PARTICIPATING APPELLEES HAVE

NOT ARTICULATED ANY REASON WHY

TRANSCLEAN IS PRECLUDED FROM SU-

ING TO ENJOIN THEIR CONTINUED IN-

Ny oisicieiaecedticnecsisiasssniitiinscrin :

THE PARTICIPATING APPELLEES’ ARGU- |

MENT IN SUPPORT OF THE DISTRICT

COURT'S RULING ON ISSUE PRECLUSION

REGARDING DAMAGES IS CONTRARY TO

THE LAW OF THIS COURT. ................sssseseessees 7

THE PARTICIPATING APPELLEES WRONGLY |

CLAIM THAT THE DISTRICT COURTS DE-

NIAL OF TRANSCLEAN’S MOTION FOR IS-

SUE PRECLUSION ON INFRINGEMENT

AND ANTICIPATION WAS PROPER BE-

CAUSE NEITHER CLAIM WAS ACTUALLY

LITIGATED IN THE BRIDGEWOOD LITI-

CAI Bn issheicansenssnsitsarnntndsinataiblinbesanciaoyenniesabsanatene

JIFFY LUBE’S FAILURE TO SUBSTANTIVELY

RESPOND TO TRANSCLEAN’S APPEAL RE-

LATING TO OBVIOUSNESS DEMONSTRATES

THAT THIS COURT SHOULD REVERSE THE

DISTRICT COURTS DENIAL OF TRANS-

CLEAN’S MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDG-

13

14

20

ne rseriaeisiiionsnsinionsitnciniiiactaiinsivinnnensinanianibanseaninsenee 27

CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE

* * *

A. The Manufacturers And Other Infringers In Bird-

sell And Its Progeny Were In Privity, Just Like

The Participating Appellees’ And Bridgewood.

The Participating Appellees argue that neither Bird-

sell nor its progeny involved parties that were in privity.

Id. at 34. That is incorrect. The users of the infringing

machine in Birdsell had the same relationship with the

infringing manufacturer as the Participating Appellees

had with Bridgewood. Thus, if the Participating Appellees

were in privity with Bridgewood, then the defendants in

Birdsell were also in privity with the manufacturer of the

infringing machine.’

In Birdsell, the Ashland Machine Company (“AMC”)

had previously been found to infringe the patent-in-suit by

manufacturing a particular machine. Birdsell v. Shaliol,

485 U.S. at 485. The defendants in Birdsell were subse-

quently accused of infringing the same patent because

they used one of the same machines manufactured by

AMC that had previously been found to infringe. Jd. at

485. The situation here is identical. Transclean previously

proved that Bridgewood infringed United States Patent

No. 5,318,080 (“the 080 Patent”) by manufacturing and

selling the T-Tech Device, and later sued the Participating

* Because this Court reviews questions regarding claim preclusion

de novo, Faust v. United States, 101 F.3d 675, 677 (Fed. Cir. 1996), it

could determine that the Participating Appellees and Bridgewood were

not in privity.

App. 11

Appellees for infringement of the ’080 Patent by using T-

Tech Devices.

If the Participating Appellees were in privity with

Bridgewood, then the defendants in Birdsell were also in

privity with AMC. That fact, however, did not dissuade the

Supreme Court from allowing the patent holder to sue the

users and from seeking damages for their infringement.

Birdsell v. Shaliol, 112 U.S. at 489. Because the parties

here are identically situated with the parties in Birdsell,’

the same result, i.e., reversal of the lower court’s claim

preclusion ruling, should occur. |

The Jurgens cases provide an even more compelling

basis to reject the Participating Appellees’ argument

regarding privity. In Jurgens v. McKasy, 927 F.2d 1552

(Fed. Cir. 1991), the plaintiffs sued McKasy for distribut-

ing an infringing product and for trade dress infringe-

ment. Jd. at 1556. The plaintiffs also sued CBK, Ltd.

(“CBK”), the manufacturer of the infringing product. Jd.

They did not, however, accuse CBK of patent infringe-

ment. Jd. Instead, CBK was only accused of infringing the

plaintiffs’ trade dress. Jd. The jury found the distributor

* Bridgewood and the Participating Appellees are nearly identi-

cally situated with the parties in severa] of the other cases cited by

Transclean. See, e.g., Cold Metal Process Co. v. E.W. Bliss Co., 285 F.2d

231, 2242-43 (6th Cir. 1960) (reversing the dismissal of a patent

holder’s infringement claim against a user of mills already found to

infringe in suit against their manufacturer); Dowagiac Mfg. Co. v. Deere

& Webber Co., 284 F. 331 (8th Cir. 1922) (allowing patent holder to sue

jobber of same grain drills already found to infringe in suit against

their manufacturer), Kryptok Co. v. Stead Lens Co., 190 F. 767 (8th Cir.

1911) (allowing a patent holder to sue purchasers of allegedly infringing

bifocal lenses while suit against manufacturer was still pending).

App. 12

liable for patent and trade dress infringement, and found

CBK liable for trade dress infringement. Id.

In Jurgens v. CBK, Ltd., 80 F.3d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1996),

the same plaintiffs again sued CBK, this time claiming

that it infringed the same patent by manufacturing the

same product that was the subject of the previous suit. Jd.

at 1568-69. The Jurgens cases thus involved not only

parties that were in privity, but actually involved the same

parties. In essence, the Jurgens cases involved defendants

with the ultimate form of privity - they were precisely the

same entity.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.