Opposition Brief — Webb v. Level 3 Communications, LLC (No. 05-1458)

Supreme Court brief2006

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

By,

—

No. 05-1458

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

GEORGE WEBB

Petitioner:

V.

LEVEL 3 COMMUNICATIONS, LLC,

Respondent.

On PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

Unitep States Court or APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Lisa HOGAN ; RICHARD P. BARKLEY

Lever 3 Communications, LLC Counsel of Record

1025 Eldorado Boulevard MEGHAN W. MARTINEZ

Broomtield, Colorado 80021 Brownstein Hyart & Farper, PC.

(720) 888-1000 410 17" Street. Suite 2200

Denver. Colorado 80202

(303) 223-1100

Counsel for Respondent

sAN2

fAD ta cr

t

Not ¢

Ned) » a. 44

1. Although the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals correctly

stated the summary judgment standard in its unpublished

Order and Judgment in this case, did the court misapply the

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

standard by not properly taking into account:

a.

(This restates Nos. 1, 2, 3, 4, and 9 of Webb’s Questions

Presented.)

2. Did the court misapply the correctly stated summary

Petitioner, George Webb’s (“Webb”)

views of his own qualifications as

compared with his views of other

employees of Respondent, Level 3

Communications, LLC (“Level 3”):

Webb’s argument with respect to the

criteria used by Level 3 in selecting

Webb to be laid off as part of a reduction

in force (“RIF”);

Prior employment events that occurred

approximately a year and a half before

Webb was laid off; and

Events that occurred after Webb was

laid off?

judgment standard by:

a.

Not considering Webb's evidence as a

whole;

Not drawing all reasonable inferences

from the evidence in Webb’s favor;

il

c. Explicitly or implicitly determining

issues of credibility; and

d. Not conducting a “sensitive inquiry” as

to Webb’s discrimination claim?

(This restates Nos. 5, 6, 7, and 8 of Webb’s Questions

Presented. )

3. Did the court misapply the correctly stated summary

judgment standard when it held that Webb had not established

a prima facie case of retaliation because he had not shown

any causal connection between the protected activity and the

adverse employment action?

(This restates No. 10 of Webb’s Questions Presented.)

iil

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

PURSUANT TO SUPREME COURT RULE 29.6

Level 3 Communications, LLC’s parent company is

Level 3 Communications, Inc.

Because Level 3 Communications, LLC is a limited

liability company, it does not have any stock. Level 3

Communications, Inc. is the only publicly held company that

holds an ownership interest of 10 percent or more in Level 3

Communications, LLC.

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

CPUS 1 ECPIND CREO ERD 6.5 Gch dc ce eevecee ces

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

PURSUANT TO SUPREME COURT RULE 29.6

& @ DB S96 26 2A. 86 OD OE OR OE SH CS. C.D 8 48 SS Ce YK EY OD OS

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES ............

Re R III NE Ak WS AS EN hs hens VR ES Se

RAR eereS GOP TEE CAB ois ies ne cee e es

I. FACTUAL BACKGROUND ............

Th, PRUs CADENA | nd wo aiee ewes

II. FACTUAL ERRORS IN THE PETITION ...

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION ....

I. THE PETITION SHOULD BE DENIED

BECAUSE THE QUESTIONS IT PRESENTS

MERELY ASSERT THAT THE TENTH

CIRCUIT MISAPPLIED THE SUMMARY

JUDGMENT STANDARD ..............

ll. THE PETITION SHOULD ALSO BE

DENIED BECAUSE NONE OF THE

REASONS SET FORTH IN RULE 10 FOR

GRANTING A PETITION APPLIES HERE

2-8 & 26 & 8 2:8 6.80 8 6. 8.42 3-6 °S. 6 8 OSS OA 6 88'S OS eS

11

12

IIT.

Contents

A. The Tenth Circuit’s Decision Does Not

Conflict with the Decision of Another

United States Court of Appeals on the

Same Important Matter, or a Decision by

a State Court of Last Resort .........

B. The Tenth Circuit’s Decision Is Not Such

a Departure from the Accepted and Usual

Course of Judicial Proceedings as to

Require an Exercise of the Court’s

Supervisory Power....... ee tS

WEBB’S ASSERTION THAT THE TENTH

CIRCUIT IN THIS CASE FAILED TO

FOLLOW ESTABLISHED LAW

GOVERNING SUMMARY JUDGMENT

MOTIONS IS WITHOUT MERIT .......

A. This Court Delineated the Correct

Summary Judgment Standard in Celotex,

Anderson, and Matsushita ..........

B. Webb’s Claim That the Tenth Circuit’s

Opinion Is Contrary to Reeves Is Without

WHE Fs os bc kee a aie eke

C. The Tenth Circuit Properly Applied the

Summary Judgment Standard in This

Case, and Thus the Petition Provides no

eae Gar MOWINONE ives pasb eee ss

Page

15

16

16

17

19

21

vi

Contents

An employee’s belief about his own

qualifications and performance is

insufficient to create a dispute as to

a genuine issue of material fact ...

Webb failed to show that Level 3

deviated from the RIF criteria ....

Webb failed to present evidence of

prior discriminatory acts, and he

failed to present evidence of a causal

connection between the prior acts and

the decision to include him in the

yg Gaia a enUna eso g airy Seemeie an ere™

Webb’s claim of post-layoff

discrimination in the denial of

retirement benefits was unsupported

by evidence and was unconnected

with the decision to include him in

SR: Be Esc 6 ch aes eek

The implications Webb attempts to

make with his rhetorical “questions

presented” are baseless ..........

The Tenth Circuit correctly found

that the RIF criteria were not

completely subjective ...........

Page

21

Pt

24

25

26

26

vil

Contents

Page

7. The Tenth Circuit correctly affirmed

the district court’s grant of summary

judgment on Webb’s retaliation

claim on the ground that no causal

connection existed between the

protected activity and the adverse

employment action ............. 27

EASES RG aly's VXCRRUUR Okt GRR OS - 29

vill

TABLE OF CITEDAUTHORITIES

Page

CASES:

Abuan v. Level (3) Commc’ns, Inc.,

Dad Eidek BLOM CAM Gls BOSD oc kee ccc nsec 6

Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc.,

ee Se COE no sk wk awe he ck ea eas passim

Ash v. Tyson Foods, Inc.,

Pe ee CD eck a kesh ks kao hes 22

Beaird v. Seagate Tech., Inc.,

EAS Fe 14 Cee ie; AIS) ok on e's 8 vas y

Brooks v. Barnhart,

No. 02-1449, 78 Fed. Appx. 52

PaaS ee AO 8g ke ek Nib a 8 Shas een 22

Brown v. McDonnell Douglas Corp.,

TAS Pe te CAE, F997) no cee ean’ 7

Cartagena v. Aegis Mortgage Corp.,

No. 01-20324, 275 F.3d 46 (Sth Cir. 2001) ..... 27

Orta-Castro v. Merck, Sharp & Dohme

Quimica P.R., Inc.,

aT Bee Be CEE GE, AOD i ob ene ck oe ees 26

Celotex Corp. v. Catrett,

ee eR) ee ee eres re ree passim

Colon-Sanchez v. Marsh,

peer Be fe gee eee eee 24

ix

Cited Authorities

Page

Combs v. PriceWaterhouse Coopers LLP,

382 F.3d TESS CAG Oe, BOO) ceca cece. 12

Curby v. Solutia, Inc.,

351 F. 3G BO Cee BD eee wee see se. 13

Faruki v. Parsons S.1.P., Inc.,

PAE we Behe Ce S| sy CEG ae 27

Hedberg v. Ind. Bell Tel. Co., Inc.,

4] P36 Dae Cee ED Ga eb wwe cn cees 18

Heno v. Sprint/United Mgmnt. Co.,

208 F.3d 847 (10th Cir. 2000) ...........: Bes 24

Holt v. KMI-Cont’l, Inc.,

OS FBG PES gi BO oa be cee eee ee 13

Hudson v. Chi. Transit Auth.,

375 F.20 Dok © Pee En one ses vce eee es 28

Hutson v. McDonnell Douglas Corp.,

G3 FSG 7 Fr ee aie ccc ess. 7

Immigration and Naturalization Serv. v. Abudu,

eee ee Me ere “12

Johnson v. U.S. Dep t of Health and Human Servs.,

RS NA ie ae a 13

vee. v. Barnhart.

Fae Pe tae Ce a enw c cece nes, 27

Cited Authorities

Page

Lexington Ins. Co. v. W. Pa. Hosp.,

AZS F306 SUR (SG See) 4s ke Sie eke awe 18

Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp.,

fe ge See Ca. | a ee ere ee passim

Nichols v. Loral Vought Sys. Corp.,

Bt 8.36 350 (oe et ee os hives ia se eee ees 13

Ost v. W. Suburban Travelers Limousine, Inc.,

BG F350 635.6 7n Ce ESP) nis eek hee saves 13

Platero v. Williams Field Servs. Co.,

No. 05-2006, 2006 WL 864851

CIOREC AGES. Zee) mea sins eivceiwn eee 27

Rea v. Martin Marietta Corp.,

29 F356 1450 Ci Ca. TPR) ci hie ee tae

Reeves v. Sanderson Plumbing Prods., Inc.,

Sa tS. Laat er 5s eA E Cs eS b ows es 19, 20, 21

Shorette v. Rite Aid of Me., Inc.,

13a Fr EL CO. PD Sst ee ees 13

Simms v. Okla. ex rel. Dep t of Mental Health and

Substance Abuse Servs.,

163 F360 152 (2G Ci. TOPE ee ees ies 13, 24

Stidham v. Minn. Mining & Mfg., Inc.,

Soe F306 Sao Cie Ce Bed ses Ca hes 7

xi

Cited Authorities aes

Page

Stone v. City of Indianapolis Pub. Utils. Div.,

Sek U.2e GO CHR BOOED oka evans pet ves 28, 29

Trotter v. Todd,

T1D eee oe (ee Cr, BES) cease 25

U.S. v. Diebold, Inc.,

ee a OAD obo che sear eee eenus 13

Webb v. Level 3 Commc’ns, L.L.C.,

No. 05-cv-773-RPM-BNB ;

(i. foie: ee At. 21, 2008) i ee 4

STATUTES:

29 U.S.C. §§ sSNA a eet tet vac eee ere 4-5

OTHER:

Pe ee as We ON nos 6 ks ok ads > MA Ak eee 19,21

SU eC ho ks 6 SG ob kee dea hi eee wee t.19

Pe A Es eae bs bee ews aerate 12,18

i Oe NE ck nha ak ou housek nae ee 11

PE sonic aia Mba ae bak cay ees passim

As ae PE eRe eed es Oe tans l

Ns ae ee Ne 5 re ee ee ae 15

xii

Cited Authorities

Sie SS SePrereryee CPE TT eT Te Tae ee

es a SUE Fe aOR eae ws ek ee Ge kaee eS

es Mae EE On RAIA a WEN eee ae ae

Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(e)

advisory committee’s note (1963) ............

Page

il

17

l

INTRODUCTION

Supreme Court Rule 10 provides: “A petition for a writ of

certiorari is rarely granted when the asserted error consists of . .

. the misapplication of a properly stated rule of law.” Sup. Ct.

R. 10. This is the only type of error Webb asserts in his Petition

for a Writ of Certiorari (“Petition”). Although Webb identifies

10 “Questions Presented,” each is based on a single underlying

argument: that the Tenth Circuit, in affirming the grant of

summary judgment against Webb and in favor of Level 3,

misapplied the summary judgment standard by giving too little,

or too much, papsseete value to certain purported “facts.”

ee tee

in the Petition are not appropriate for certiorari review.

In addition, none of the reasons given in Rule 10 for granting

review applies to the questions presented in the Petition. Webb

makes no attempt to argue that the Tenth Circuit’s decision

conflicts with a decision “of another United States court of

appeals on the same important matter,” or “by a state court of

last resort... .” Sup. Ct. R. 10(a). Similarly, although Webb

claims to discern a “trend” among federal courts “to limit

discrimination plaintiffs’ rights to present circumstantial

evidence in opposition to motions for summary judgment” (Pet.

at 16), Webb does not contend — even looking at the Tenth

Circuit’s decision through his own, distorted prism — that in

this case the court “so far departed from the accepted and usual

course of judicial proceedings” as to require “‘an exercise of

this Court’s supervisory power. . . .” Sup. Ct. R. 10. Thus, Webb

also fails to advance any reason why, under the guidelines

delineated in Rule 10, the Petition should be granted.

Moreover, the overarching claim of error by Webb — that

the Tenth Circuit in this case subverted the correct summary

judgment standard — is simply wrong. Despite his professed

obeisance to this Court’s description of the proper standard for

summary judgment, Webb never examines, quotes, or cites, Rule

56 or any of the Court's trilogy of seminal summary judgment

decisions: Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317 (1986),

Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242 (1986), and

Matsushita Electric Industrial Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475

U.S. §74 (1986). Had he done so, he would have been forced to

2

acknowledge that the Tenth Circuit’s decision is entirely

consistent with Rule 56 and Celotex, Anderson, and Matsushita.

Thus, Webb’s argument is not really — as he pretends — that

courts of appeals are not correctly applying the proper summary

judgment standard. It is that the proper summary judgment

standard imposed a burden he was unable to meet.

Further, Webb distorts the record in this case, and the Tenth

Circuit’s rulings based on the record. In truth, the reason the

district court granted summary judgment, and the court of

appeals affirmed that decision, is not because those courts

misapplied the correct summary judgment standard. It is because

Webb was unable to produce sufficient evidence (because no

evidence existed) that would have allowed a jury to find that

the proffered reason Webb was laid off was pretextual. Thus,

although Webb pretends that he was deprived of his claims due

to judicial error, in reality Webb’s claims were dismissed because

of a failure of proof.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

I. FACTUAL BACKGROUND

In late 1997, Webb was hired as a Senior Network

Developer by a predecessor of Level 3. At the time Webb was

hired, he was 55 years old. Webb initially worked for Level 3’s

predecessor in California, but relocated to Colorado in August

2000. Between January 1998 and June 2001, Webb had at least

four supervisors. Webb testified in deposition that he suffered

no disparate treatment from any of them because of his age.'

In June 2001, Level 3 went through the first of a series of

reductions in force (“RIF”), and Webb was notified that “[his]

employment or [his] position was being eliminated, and that

[he] would no longer have a job effective ... September 9"

1. Although Webb did not bring a claim of gender discrimination,

he opined that an early supervisor, Elsa Svensson (“Svensson”),

discriminated against him based on gender. But Webb had no evidence

of discrimination; his allegation was due to the fact that he “felt that

since [he] was the only male working for her . . . [he] might be held to

a different standard.” In fact, Webb testified that Svensson did not treat

Webb differently than his coworkers because of his age.

3

[2001].”? Webb ultimately was not laid off, however, because

he was transferred to Level 3’s Customer Operations department

as a “program manager”. The transfer, by Webb’s own

admission, was a lateral transfer. Webb testified that he did not

experience any discrimination while working in the Customer

Operations department. In fact, although Level 3 went through

several additional RIFs between June 2001 and January 2003,

Webb survived all of them.

After working in the Customer Operations department for

more than a year, Webb concluded that his position did not fully

utilize his abilities. On November 14, 2002, Webb met with a

representative in Level 3’s Human Resources department (“HR’’)

named Blake Isom (“Isom”). The sole reason for the meeting

was that Webb wanted to seek “assistance from HR in finding

opportunities that could better utilize [his] experience and

expertise. .. .” During the meeting, Isom asked Webb, “Have

you ever been discriminated against [at Level 3]?” In his

deposition, Webb said that he “believe[d]” he told Isom that

“a case could probably be made for it.” Webb, however, neither

intended nor expected Isom to conduct an age discrimination

investigation. Isom likewise did not understand that Webb was

claiming age discrimination, or that Isom should undertake an

investigation on behalf of Webb. Isom did not take any action

or discuss his conversation with Webb “with any managers or

employees in Customer Operations. . . .”

On January 16, 2003, more than two months after Webb

met with Isom, Level 3 went through another RIF. Forty-nine

employees — 25 who were under the age of 40 and 24 who were

40 years or older — were laid off. Webb was among the employees

2. Webb stated (after filing the first of his lawsuits against Level

3) that his inclusion in the June 2001 RIF was “the first time that [he]

started feeling like age might be impacting [his] employment in any

way.” Webb had no basis for his “feeling,” which is contrary to the

facts. At the time of the June 200! RIF, Level 3 employed two Senior

Network Developers: Webb and a female employee in her mid-30s.

Webb was able to transfer to a lateral position in another department,

but the employee in her 30s was not, and was laid off. Further, Webb's

implication — that the person who included him in the June 2001 RIF

might have discriminated against him — rings hollow in light of the fact

that Webb could not even identify that person.

4

who were laid off. The person who decided to include Webb in

the 2003 RIF was Tim Leddy (“Leddy”), the same person who,

a year and five months earlier, had decided to hire Webb to

work in the Customer Operations department. Leddy — who

was himself 45 years old at the time of the RIF — submitted an

affidavit stating that he did not know Webb’s age in making the

decision to place Webb “among the individuals [Leddy] decided

to include in the RIF.” Likewise, Leddy did not know about

“Webb’s alleged complaints regarding his employment

(specifically, that he claims he was treated unlawfully because

of his age). In fact, [Leddy] was unaware that [Webb] had even

talked to Human Resources regarding any workplace issues.”

When the January 2003 RIF was announced, Webb was

offered the choice of a severance package or a retirement

package. The retirement package option expired in 45 days, and

Webb decided not to accept it. Thirty-seven days after the

retirement option expired, Webb changed his mind and

submitted to HR a “formal request to retire from Level 3... .”

Because Webb had “retained legal counsel with regard to [his]

claims concerning [his] separation from employment,”

HR referred Webb’s request to Level 3’s legal department.

Thereafter, Webb’s request for retirement benefits was denied

because it was untimely.

After Webb was laid off, he applied for several jobs at Level

3 — including a job for the position of Program Manager — but

he did not receive an interview. Although Webb has brought a

separate EEOC Charge — and a second age discrimination

lawsuit which is currently pending in federal court, see Webb v.

Level 3 Commc’ns, L.L.C., No. 05-cv-773-RPM-BNB (D. Colo.

filed Apr. 27, 2005) — based on Level 3’s post-termination failure

to hire him, Webb also alleged in this case that the failure to

hire showed that his inclusion in the RIF was based on

discrimination.

li. PROCEDURAL HISTORY

On October 7, 2003, Webb filed a lawsuit against Level 3

in the United States District Court for the District of Colorado

against Level 3. Webb alleged claims for discrimination and

retaliation in violation of the Age Discrimination in Employment

5

Act, 29 U.S.C. §§ 621-34 (2006) (“ADEA”). On April 1, 2004,

Level 3 moved for summary judgment on Webb’s claims.

On January 11, 2005, the district court granted Level 3’s

motion. The court found that although Webb had established a

prima facie case of age discrimination, Level 3 had produced a

legitimate, non-discriminatory reason for Webb’s discharge — a

RIF — and “no reasonable jury could conclude that Mr. Webb’s

employment was terminated for any reason apart from a

reduction in force.” (Supp. App. at 30a.) The court also found

that (a) Webb had failed to establish a prima facie case of

retaliation because he had “offered no evidence as to a causal

connection” between the protected action and the adverse

employment action (id. at 31a); and (b) even if Webb had

presented a prima facie case of retaliation, Level 3 had produced

evidence of a nondiscriminatory reason for Webb’s termination

and Webb had “not offered sufficient evidence from which a

reasonable jury could conclude that Level 3’s reason is

pretextual.” (/d.)

Webb appealed. On January 25, 2006, the United States

Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit affirmed the district

court’s grant of summary judgment.

Ill. FACTUAL ERRORS IN THE PETITION

Supreme Court Rule 15(2) provides that respondents “have

an obligation to the Court to point out in the brief in opposition,

and not later, any perceived misstatement made in the petition.”

Level 3 identifies the following misstatements in the Petition.

1. Webb asserts that Level 3 hired Webb “to tap into his

expertise in a certain technical area” (Pet. at 2), and that Webb

“was so informed by Level 3... .” (/d.) Neither assertion is

supported by any evidence. (See App. at | Sa-16a (“Webb [argues

that] Level 3 initially hired older employees in order to ‘milk’

their expertise. . .. Webb has presented no evidence to support

his conspiracy theory.”).)

2. Webb claims that he “directly observed that the company

was made up primarily of males in their 20s and 30s, and the

number of employees older than that was in the low single digits.

This was an objectively observable fact.” (Pet. at 2-3.) Webb's

contention is erroneous, and illustrates the fallacy in Webb's

6

persistent portrayal of subjective opinions as objective facts.

Although Level 3’s workforce (like that of many

telecommunications companies at the time) was comparatively

young, Webb’s claim that he “directly observed” that the

percentage of employees 40 or older was “in the low single

digits” is an egregious exaggeration. At the time of the January

2003 RIF, 28.2 percent of Level 3’s workforce was 40 or older.

(App. at 8a.)

3. Webb claims that in Abuan v. Level (3) Communications,

Inc., 353 F.3d 1158, 1165 (10" Cir. 2003), a jury finding of age

discrimination “was upheld upon evidence of a young work

force with little senior oversight.” (Pet. at 2.) Webb

mischaracterizes the basis on which the court upheld the jury

verdict in Abuan. In Abuan — which, unlike this case, did not

involve a RIF but involved the demotion of an employee during

a time when Level 3 was “actively recruiting new employees,”

353 F.3d at 1169 — the court’s evaluation of the sufficiency of

the evidence did not rely on, discuss, or even mention the age

of the workforce. See id. at 1168-70.°

4. Webb asserts that he learned that the RIF criteria that

Level 3 announced “were not applied to him at all.” (Pet. at 3.)

“Instead,” Webb argues, “a human resources manager informed

plaintiff that he had been terminated because his position had

been eliminated. This directly contradicted the announced RIF

criteria.” (/d.) There is no inconsistency between the announced

RIF criteria and a statement that Webb’s position had been

eliminated. In the January 2003 RIF, one Program Manager II

position — Webb’s — was eliminated. The selection of Webb’s

position (as opposed to another employee’s Program Manager

II position) was based on specified RIF criteria. In fact, Level

3’s application of its RIF criteria was examined at length by the

Tenth Circuit. Webb’s attempt to create a contradiction fails.

(See App. at 12-14a.)

5. Webb argues that he was the only Program Manager II

older than 45 years of age who was included in the RIF. (Pet. at

3.) Webb’s use of the “45 years old” cutoff is misleading. The

3. In its discussion of the facts, the court repeated testimony that

Level 3°s workforce was young. That testimony was not relied on in

evaluating the sufficiency of the evidence. /d. at 1165.

a,

7

ADEA protects individuals who are 40 years of age and older;

and four of the eight employees (including Webb) with the title

of Program Manager II were 40 years of age or older.‘

6. Webb claims that several employees under the age of

40 with whom Webb had worked, and whom he had “directly

observed” were not laid off even though they had not worked

for Level 3 as long as Webb had. (/d. at 3-4.) The Tenth Circuit

found that Webb “failed to provide any specific facts” supporting

his belief that he had more seniority and experience, and made

superior contributions, than his peers. (App. at 13a.) The court

stated: “There is virtually no evidence in the record, aside from

vague generalities and speculation, as to the qualifications of

Webb’s peers.” (/d.) Further, Webb never attempted to show

that the individuals to whom he is referring in this cryptic

statement were comparators.

7. Webb asserts that “[w]hile working at the company,

[Webb’s] formal performance evaluations were e .cellent, i.e.

‘at or above’ expectations.” (Pet. at 4.) Webb’s evaluations were

generally, but not uniformly, favorable. (Supp. App. at 23a (Fact

No. 10).) Further, Webb provides no evidence comparing his

evaluations to those of other employees.

8. Webb argues that the favorable reviews he received

constitute “strong evidence in a discrimination case... .” But

“in a RIF a record of positive performance reviews is generally

unpersuasive evidence of age bias because ‘even capable employees

are released when an employer is down-sizing.’ ” Brown v.

McDonnell Douglas Corp., 113 F.3d 139, 142 (8th Cir. 1997)

(quoting Hutson v. McDonnell Douglas Corp., 63 F.3d 771,

781 (8 Cir. 1995)); accord Rea v. Martin Marietta Corp., 29

F.3d 1450, 1456 (10th Cir. 1994) (quoted at App. at 13a.).°

4. The Tenth Circuit says that “Webb was one of seven individuals

who held the position of Program Manager II” and that “four were under

the age of forty, and three were over forty years of age.” (App. at 12a.)

This enumeration does not include Webb himself.

5. In fact, if positive performance evaluations are evidence of anything,

they are evidence of no discriminatory animus, since it is unlikely that a

company would praise an employee against whom it was prejudiced, just

so it could then take discriminatory action against him or her. See Stidham

v. Minn. Mining & Mfg., Inc., 399 F.3d 935, 940 (8th Cir. 2005).

8

9. Webb expresses the belief that his transfer in 2001 from

the Network Development department to the Customer

Operations department “made him vulnerable to RIF

termination.” (Pet. at 4.) Webb concedes that this belief is

“subjective,” but contends that his inclusion in the January 2003

RIF transforms his belief into “an objective fact.” (/d.) The fact

that Webb was included in a RIF after his transfer does not

mean he became “more vulnerable” as a result of the transfer.

Indeed, the undisputed facts establish just the opposite. If Webb

had not transferred to the Customer Operations department,

he would have been laid off a year and a half earlier, in the

June 2001 RIF. Further, the Tenth Circuit found that Webb had

“presented no evidence to support” the argument that his 2001

transfer made him more vulnerable to a subsequent RIF, and

that is was “based purely upon speculation, and speculation is

insufficient to raise a genuine issue of material fact as to pretext.”

(App. at 15a-16a.) Still further, even if one were to accept Webb’s

speculation that his 2001 transfer made him more vulnerable to

a RIF in 2003, that fact would not be probative in any way of

age discrimination. To make such a causal leap, one would have

to assume that when Webb was hired laterally in June 2001, the

person who hired him — Leddy — was sufficiently prescient to

realize that in a year and a half, (a) Level 3 would have another

RIF,° (b) the January 2003 RIF would affect the Customer

Operations department more heavily than the Network

Development department, and (c) Leddy would, at that time,

have the opportunity to lay off Webb. If Leddy had such

discriminatory animus, it would have been much simpler for

him simply not to hire Webb for the lateral position. As this

Court emphasized in Matsushita, “if the factual context renders

[a party’s] claim implausible . . . [the party] must come forward

with more persuasive evidence to support [his] claim. . . .”475

U.S. at 587.

had no knowledge about any subsequent layoffs in January 2003. Thus,

the undisputed evidence — as well as common sense — demonstrates

that Webb was not transferred so that he would be more vulnerable to

layoff a year and a half later.

9

10. Webb asserts that when he was transferred to Customer

Operations in 2001, “contrary to routine the company then

provided no planning for [his] future career progression, as it

did for other, younger employees.” (Pet. at 5.) The assertions

that Level 3 had a “routine” practice of planning for its

employees’ “career progression,” and that Level 3 planned for

the future career progression of its younger employees, are

unsupported by the record.

11. Webb states that “Elsa Svensson, in her mid-30s,” had

“no prior experience in network development and no prior

experience as a supervisor, as she readily conceded.” (/d. at 5.)

This statement is unsupported by the record. Webb did not

introduce Svensson’s “prior experience” into the record, and

he did not introduce evidence that Svensson “conceded” a lack

of experience.

12. Webb contends that “[nJinety percent of plaintiff’s

peers,” all of whom were under 40, received promotions while

Webb did not. (/d. at 5-6.) The Tenth Circuit found that Webb’s

allegations about unfair promotions were unsupported by the

record: Z

Webb offers the names of ten individuals whom he

contends are younger and less experienced but

received promotions. The record contains virtually

no evidence as to the specific qualifications of each

of these individuals, and the little evidence Webb

presented was based on hearsay, vague generalities,

and speculation. Webb also failed to identify, with

any detail, when these promotions occurred and how

these prior incidents are connected to his termination

in the January 2003 RIF.

(App. at 9a.) Further, Webb testified in deposition that the only

basis for his claim of discrimination in promotion was that the

people who were promoted to the level of director were younger

than he was. Still further, all of the individuals Webb identified

worked in Level 3’s Network Development department, which

Webb left in 2001. As the district court found, Webb “offer[ed]

no evidence to connect these prior instances of alleged

discrimination with Mr. Leddy’s decision to include him in the

[RIF].° (Supp. App. at 29a.)

10

13. Webb states that on November 14, 2002, he went to

HR to “register his concerns” about discrimination. (Pet. at 6-

7.) This assertion about the reason for Webb’s meeting with

HR is contradicted by Webb’s deposition testimony. Webb

testified at deposition that the sole reason for the meeting with

HR was that Webb wanted “assistance from HR in finding

opportunities that could better utilize [his] experience and

expertise. ...” Webb also states that during this meeting, he

expressed the view that Level 3 was “a company dominated by

younger males and that the company had a disproportionately

low number of older males.” (/d. at 7.) This assertion is contrary

to the record.

14. Webb states that the HR representative “took

handwritten notes during plaintiff’s discussion about

discrimination, but said notes have never been found.” (/d. at

7.) This is incorrect. The notes were typed up, and the typed

notes were identified in Level 3’s disclosures and made available

for inspection and copying.

15. Webb makes several statements about an employee

named Jason Pearce (“Pearce”). (/d. at 7-8.) These statements

concern the June 2001 RIF, and not the January 2003 RIF when

Webb was laid off. (See App. 15a.) Webb also attributes

statements about Webb’s superior experience to Pearce. (See,

e.g., Pet. at 8 (“Plaintiffhad been Pearce’s ‘mentor’ and “teacher,”

according to Pearce himself.’’).) Pearce, however, provided no

testimony in this case. Thus, Webb’s attribution of statements

to Pearce either are unsupported by the record, or are based

solely on hearsay (statements by Webb about what Pearce

purportedly said to Webb).

16. Webb contends that “[t]he sole explanation for the RIF

selection of plaintiff was completely subjective.” (Pet. at 8.)

The court found that Webb, yet again, failed to present evidence

supporting his assertion, and that the record showed otherwise.

(See App. at 13a-14a (“Webb has not shown that Leddy’s

decision was based entirely upon subjective criteria. Rather the

1]

evidence indicates that Leddy considered both objective and

subjective criteria.”’).)’

17. Inresponse to Level 3’s motion for summary judgment,

Webb presented an affidavit in which he, for the first time, told

a story about a meeting with Leddy (after Webb was discharged),

in which Leddy “spontaneously asked [Webb] if he thought he

had been discriminated against.” Webb contends this question

raises an issue of pretext. Ignoring the questionable veracity of

Webb’s fortuitous remembrance, the question is not probative

of discrimination by Leddy. See Fed. R. Evid. 401. (See also

App. at 19a (“Assuming Leddy made such an inquiry after

Webb’s termination, we do not believe a reasonable juror could

infer, from that statement alone, that Leddy had knowledge of

Webb’s prior meeting with Isom.”’).)*

18. Webb claims that although he was offered the option

of early retirement, when he attempted to select that option, he

was referred to Level 3’s legal department “because plaintiff

had hired a lawyer.” The legal department then denied Webb’s

request for early retirement. Webb’s claim ignores the facts that

(a) the option of early retirement — offered to all employees

who were subject to the January 2003 RIF — expired 45 days

after it was offered, (b) Webb initially declined to apply for the

option, and (c) it was only after the option expired that Webb

changed his mind and attempted to select the early retirement

option. Further, as the Tenth Circuit recognized, because the

denial decision occurred after Webb’s layoff and was made by

a different individual in a different department, it was “not

sufficiently connected to his termination to demonstrate pretext.”

(App. at Ila.)

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

Webb’s Petition should be denied for the following reasons:

First, the questions it presents are based on a supposed

7. Webb also asserts that Leddy’s “only pertinent statement of

analysis” was that “ ‘I considered input from Mr. Webb's direct

supervisor, Davetta Garcia.’ ” (Pet. at 8.) In truth, Leddy presented an

affidavit to the district court that provided additional detail. Moreover,

Webb elected not to take Leddy’s deposition.

8. Moreover, Webb fails to mention that in response to this

question, he did not claim discrimination.

12

misapplication by the Tenth Circuit of the correct summary

judgment standard, and certiorari review is “rarely granted”

based on such an asserted error. Moreover, Webb does not assert

that any of the reasons set out in Rule 10 for granting a petition

apply here. Second, Webb’s assertion that the court of appeals

failed to properly apply the correct summary judgment standard

is based on (a) Webb’s purposeful ignorance of the law governing

summary judgment — Webb does not examine, discuss, review,

or even cite to any of this Court’s trilogy of seminal summary

judgment decisions, and he does not discuss, review, or cite to

Rule 56 — ; and (b) a blatant mischaracterization of the factual

record in this case. If the applicable summary judgment standard

is applied to the actual facts, it becomes evident that the court

properly applied the summary judgment standard. Accordingly,

the Petition advances no reason why certiorari review would be

appropriate here.

I. THE PETITION SHOULD BE DENIED BECAUSE

THE QUESTIONS IT PRESENTS MERELY ASSERT

THAT THE TENTH CERCUIT MISAPPLIED THE

SUMMARY JUDGMENT STANDARD.

In his Petition, Webb does not dispute that the Tenth Circuit

delineated the correct summary judgment standard in its opinion.

Nor could he; the court expressly quoted the standard set forth

in Rule 56. “Summary judgment is appropriate,” the court stated,

“ ‘if the pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories, and

admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if any, show

that there is no genuine issue as to any material fact and that the

moving party is entitled to a judgment as a matter of law.’ ”

(App. at 4a (quoting Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c).) Further, the court

articulated the proper perspective for reviewing summary

judgment evidence. “ ‘We view the evidence, and draw

reasonable inferences therefrom, in the light most favorable to

the nonmoving party.’ ” (App. at 4a (quoting Combs v.

Price Waterhouse Coopers LLP, 382 F.3d 1196, 1199 (10th Cir.

2004) (citation omitted)); see, e.g., Immigration and

Naturalization Serv. v. Abudu, 485 U.S. 94, 101 (1988) (* ‘On

summary judgment the inferences to be drawn from the

underlying facts contained in such materials must be viewed in

the light most favorable to the party opposing the motion.’ *’)

13

(citing U.S. v. Diebold, Inc., 369 U.S. 654, 655 (1962)). Thus,

the Tenth Circuit “properly stated” the “rule of law” applicable

to summary judgment motions.

Nonetheless, Webb argues that the Tenth Circuit erred

because it misapplied the applicable summary judgment

standard. First, Webb asserts, the court gave insufficient credence

to evidence, favorable to him, showing (1) inconsistency and

subjectivity in the application of RIF criteria; (2) the “young

age of the company’s workforce;” (3) Webb’s personal

comparison of himself with younger employees; (4) prior acts

against Webb; and (5) post-termination acts against him. (Pet.

at 12-13.) Second, Webb contends, the court misapplied the

summary judgment standard by ruling that (1) “[t]he decision

to terminate [Webb] was in part objective and that defeats a

showing of pretext;” and (2) “after [Webb’s] termination, his

duties were divided up among other employees, and that defeats

a showing of pretext.” (Pet. at 13.)

Webb mischaracterizes both the “evidence” and the Tenth

Circuit’s rulings. More significantly for purposes of ruling on

the Petition, however, the purported errors claimed by Webb

are nothing more than allegations that Rule 56 was misapplied.

For instance, Webb criticizes at length the Tenth Circuit’s ruling

— which is consistent with decisions over more than a decade

by other circuit courts of appeal’ (and with other decisions by

the Tenth Circuit) — that Webb’s personal beliefs about the

superiority of his own qualifications compared to the

qualifications of other employees are insufficient to create a

genuine issue of material fact as whether the reasons given for

including Webb in the RIF were pretextual. But Webb’s criticism

is simply another way of saying that the court did not properly

apply the summary judgment standard because it failed to draw

9. See, e.g., Curby v. Solutia, Inc., 351 F.3d 868, 874 (8th Cir.

2003); Simms v. Okla. ex rel. Dept of Mental Health and Substance

Abuse Servs., 165 F.3d 1321, 1329 (10th Cir. 1999): Shorette v. Rite Aid

of Me., Inc., 155 F.3d 8, 15 (1st Cir. 1998); Ost v. W. Suburban Travelers

Limousine, Inc., 88 F.3d 435, 441 (7th Cir. 1996): Nichols v. Loral Vought

Sys. Corp., 81 F.3d 38, 42 (Sth Cir. 1996): Holt v. KMI-Cont'l. Inc., 95

F.3d 123, 129 (2nd Cir. 1996); Johnson v. U.S. Dept of Health and

Human Servs., 30 F.3d 45, 47 (6th Cir. 1994).

14

all “reasonable inferences” from Webb’s characterization of his

qualifications. Similarly, Webb criticizes the Tenth Circuit

because it supposedly “weighed and discounted” certain

unsubstantiated allegations — which Webb incorrectly calls

“circumstantial evidence” — including such things as “the

background level of a workforce dominated by young people

with little senior supervision, a prior reassignment of [Webb]

to a job that made him more vulnerable to layoff; [and the] .

failure thereafter to provide career planning typical for other,

y unger employees. . . .” (Pet. at 25-26.) Again, however, the

court’s purported weighing and discounting of this “evidence”

implicate nothing more than the way the court applied the

correctly articulated summary judgment standard.

The same is true of each of the 10 questions presented by

the Petition. Each addresses the correct way for a court to apply

the standard for summary judgment. The first question asks

whether a court should discount an employee’s “evidence of

his own qualifications and performance . . . as mere opinion.”

(Pet. at ii.) The second question asks whether it is error for a

court to conclude that an employer’s “total deviation from

announced criteria for [a] reduction in force” was insufficient

to prove pretext. (/d.) The third asks whether a court misapplies

the summary judgment standard if it rules that “prior acts against

plaintiff and in favor of others outside the protected class” are

not relevant to prove pretext. (/d.) The fourth asks whether a

court conclusion that “subsequent acts against an employee after

termination . . . are relevant to prove pretext” is error. And on

and on. Characterized fairly, each question does nothing more

than challenge a supposed ruling that, according to Webb,

misapplied the correct standard for summary judgment. As such,

each assertion of error consists of — at most — the “misapplication

of a properly stated rule of law” for which review is “rarely

granted.” Sup. Ct. R. 10.

Il. THE PETITION SHOULD BE DENIED BECAUSE

NONE OF THE REASONS SET FORTH IN RULE 10

FOR GRANTING A PETITION APPLIES HERE.

Nor does this case presents one of the “rare” instances that

might justify review of a court of appeals’ alleged “misapplication

of a properly stated rule of law.” This is a garden-variety age

15

discrimination case. It does not raise unusual or complex

questions of law, it does not present unsettled issues, it does not

require consideration of new or novel analyses, and it does not

concern legal questions about which other courts disagree. In

fact, this case does not implicate — and Webb does not even attempt

to argue that this case implicates — any of the guidelines identified

in Rule 10 as “indicat[ing] the character of the reasons the Court

considers” in granting certiorari review. Sup. Ct. R. 10.'°

A. The Tenth Circuit’s Decision Does Not Conflict with

the Decision of Another United States Court of

Appeals on the Same Important Matter, or a

Decision by a State Court of Last Resort.

Rule 10 recognizes that certiorari review may be granted

where a court of appeals (a) issues a decision that conflicts “with

the decision of another United States court of appeals on the

same important matter,” or (b) decides “an important federal

question in a way that conflicts with a decision by a state court

of last resort. . . .”” Sup. Ct. R. 10. Neither situation exists here.

Webb’s Petition indisputably does not assert a conflict between

the Tenth Circuit’s decision in this case, and a decision by a

state court in another case. In fact, Webb’s Petition does not

cite to a single state court decision, conflicting or otherwise."

Likewise, Webb’s Petition does not assert a conflict between

the decision here and decisions by other court of appeals. Indeed,

the opposite is true. Webb argues that the Tenth Circuit is

following the lead of other appellate courts in supposedly

misapplying the proper summary judgment standard. (See Pet.

at 14-15 (repeated assertion that “an increasing number of courts

of appeals” are misapplying the correct standard for summary

judgment) (capitalization and emphasis omitted).) Webb

identifies several rulings by the court in this case, and then cites

consistent decisions over the past 10 years by the Tenth Circuit

or other courts of appeals. See, e.g., id. at 22 (criticizing Tenth

10. In his Petition, Webb never once discusses, quotes from,

paraphrases, or cites to Rule 10.

11. Because no state court decision is at issue, the guidelines for

certiorari review in Rule 10(b) and (c) are also inapposite. See Sup. Ct.

R. 10(b), (c).

16

Circuit for “adopt[ing] a rule of law previously created by

Seventh Circuit” and citing consistent decision by Eleventh

Circuit); id. at 24 (describing “ ‘mere opinion’ line of cases from

Tenth Circuit and from other circuits” as “a de facto variety of

[a] new rule of law” in Eighth and Ninth Circuits); id. at 17

(citing consistent decisions by Ninth and Eighth Circuits). Thus,

Webb does not complain of inconsistent rulings by other

appellate courts; he complains of consistent rulings by them.

B. The Tenth Circuit’s Decision Is Not Such a

Departure from the Accepted and Usual Course of

Judicial Proceedings as to Require an Exercise of

the Court’s Supervisory Power.

Under Rule 10, this Court also considers granting certiorari

review when a court of appeals “has so far departed from the

accepted and usual course of judicial proceedings . . . as to call

for an exercise of this Court’s supervisory power. . . .” Sup. Ct.

R. 10. That is not the situation here.'* The Petition itself

demonstrates that the Tenth Circuit’s decision is not a dramatic

departure from “accepted and usual” decisions by other courts.

As noted previously (see supra §11.A), the Petition complains

that the court’s decision in this case is in accordance with

accepted and usual decisions of other courts, not that it 1s a far

departure from them.

Ill. WEBB’S ASSERTION THAT THE TENTH CIRCUIT

IN THIS CASE FAILED TO FOLLOW ESTABLISHED

LAW GOVERNING SUMMARY JUDGMENT

MOTIONS IS WITHOUT MERIT.

Rather than attempt to argue that his Petition should be

granted because the questions it presents fall within the

guidelines identified in Rule 10, Webb apparently believes the

Court should grant the Petition because the Tenth Circuit’s ruling

epitomizes what Webb perceives as a massive groundswell of

judicial insubordination by federal courts. According to Webb,

the Tenth Circuit in this case (and other federal circuit courts in

similar cases), is refusing to follow established precedent by

12. To the extent this guideline is directed toward procedural

irregularities, it is inapposite on its face because Webb does not identify

any uregularity in the judicial proceedings themselves.

17

this Court delineating the proper application of Fed. R. Civ. P.

56. Asa result, Webb implies, this Court should grant the Petition

to quell the judicial insurrection by the Tenth Circuit (and the

other courts of appeal)."’

Webb’s view that the Tenth Circuit in this case failed to

follow established precedent is legally and factually erroneous.

The decision by the court in this case is entirely consistent with

Rule 56 and this Court’s summary judgment decisions.

Accordingly, the Petition presents no reason why certiorari

review would be appropriate.

A. This Court Delineated the Correct Summary

Judgment Standard in Celotex, Anderson, and

Matsushita.

Twenty years ago, this Court issued a trilogy of cases —

Matsushita Electric Industrial Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475

U.S. 574 (1986), Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242

(1986), and Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 323-24

(1986) — that addressed the purposes of, and standards for,

summary judgment. A principal purpose of Fed. R. Civ. P. 56,

the Court declared, “is to isolate and dispose of factually

unsupported claims or defenses. . . .”” Celotex, 477 U.S. at 323-

24; see also Matsushita, 475 U.S. at 587 (“purpose of summary

judgment is to ‘pierce the pleadings and to assess the proof in

order to see whether there is a genuine need for trial’ ’’) (quoting

Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(e) advisory committee’s note (1963)).

Accordingly, the Court concluded, Rule 56 “should be

interpreted in a way that allows it to accomplish this purpose.”

Celotex, 477 U.S. at 324.

The Court then outlined the correct interpretation of Rule

56. A party moving for summary judgment must demonstrate

to the district court that “* ‘the pleadings, depositions, answers

to interrogatories, and admissions on file, together with the

13. Even if the Court were to conclude that courts of appeals have,

in certain cases, misapplied the correct summary judgment standard,

the Court should still deny the Petition. Regardless what other appellate

courts may be doing, in this case the Tenth Circuit correctly applied the

summary judgment standard. Thus, a grant of certiorari review here,

for the purpose of instructing other appellate courts in other appellate

cases, would be nothing more than an advisory opinion.

18

affidavits, if any,’ ” show that “ ‘there is no genuine issue as to

any material fact and that the moving party is entitled to

judgment as a matter of law.’ ” Celotex, 477 U.S. at 322 (quoting

Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c)). When the moving party makes a proper .

showing, the nonmoving party — if it bears the burden of proof

at trial — must “go beyond the pleadings and by [its] own

affidavits, or by the ‘depositions, answers to interrogatories,

and admissions on file,’ designate ‘specific facts showing that

there is a genuine issue for trial.” ” Jd. at 324.

The obligation of a nonmoving party to show a factual

dispute “has two components.” Matsushita, 475 U.S. at 586.

The dispute must be material, and it must be and genuine. See

Anderson, 477 U.S. at 247-48 (the Rule 56 standard “provides

that the mere existence of some alleged factual dispute between

the parties will not defeat an otherwise properly supported

motion for summary judgment; the requirement is that there be

no genuine issue of material fact”) (emphasis in original)).

A disputed fact is material when it “might affect the outcome of

the suit under the governing law. . . .” /d. at 248. Thus, “[f]actual

disputes that are irrelevant or unnecessary” are not material and

“will not be counted.” /d.

A disputed issue of fact is genuine when it is sufficient to

allow a reasonable jury to return a verdict for the nonmoving

party. /d. at 249. Evidence that “is merely colorable, or is not

significantly probative,” will not create a genuine issue, and

“summary judgment may be granted.” /d. at 249-50 (citations

omitted); see also Matsushita, 475 U.S. at 587 (“When the

moving party has carried its burden under Rule 56(c), its

opponent must do more than simply show that there is some

metaphysical doubt as to the material facts. In the language of

the Rule, the nonmoving party must come forward with ‘specific

facts showing that there is a genuine issue for trial.’ ”) (citations

omitted) (emphasis in original). Likewise, evidence that is based

on speculation “does not create a genuine issue of fact; instead,

it creates a false issue, the demolition of which is a primary

goal of summary judgment.” Lexington Ins. Co. v. W. Pa. Hosp.,

423 F.3d 318 (3d Cir. 2005) (quoting Hedberg v. Ind. Bell Tel.

Co., Inc., 47 F.3d 928, 932 (7" Cir. 1995) (emphasis in original)).

19

Under Rule 56, therefore, judges are not “ ‘required to

submit a question to a jury merely because evidence has been

introduced by the party having the burden of proof, unless the

evidence be of such a character that it would warrant the jury in

finding a verdict in favor of that party.” ” Anderson, 477 U.S.

at 251 (citations omitted). Rather, “in every case, before the

evidence is left to the jury, there is a preliminary question for

the judge, not whether there is literally no evidence, but whether

there is any upon which a jury could properly proceed to find a

verdict for the party producing it, upon whom the onus of proof

is imposed.” /d.

B. Webb’s Claim That the Tenth Circuit’s Opinion Is

Contrary to Reeves Is Without Merit.

As noted previously, although Webb contends that the Tenth

Circuit erroneously applied the corrects standard for summary

judgment, he does not discuss Celotex, Anderson, or Matsushita.

Rather, Webb relies solely on Reeves v. Sanderson Plumbing

Products, Inc., 530 U.S. 133 (2000), in which this Court

evaluated the standard (which is identical to the summary

judgment standard) for ruling on a motion for judgment as a

matter of law under Fed. R. Civ. P. 50.'* Webb claims that the

Tenth Circuit failed to follow:

the teaching of Reeves, supra, that questions of fact

are to be approached the same in discrimination cases

as in other cases. /d., at 148. “It therefore follows

that, in entertaining a motion for judgment as a

matter of law, the court should review ail of the

evidence in the record.” /d., at 150. [emphasis

added]. “. .. In so doing, however, the court must

draw all inferences in favor of the nonmoving party,

and it may not make credibility determinations or

weigh the evidence.” /d.

(Pet. at 23.)

14. To the extent Webb intends to suggest by his exclusive reliance

on Reeves that its standard differs from the standard in Celotex, Anderson,

and Matsushita, that suggestion is untenable. This Court clearly saw no

substantive difference; the Court cited all three of the summary judgment

decisions in Reeves, and it cited Anderson multiple times.

20

Webb’s argument that the Tenth Circuit’s decision is

contrary to Reeves is based on a misreading of the court of

appeal’s decision and a mischaracterization of the “evidence”

Webb presented. For example:

¢ Webb contends that “the Tenth Circuit was

required to take as true that plaintiff had

previously been evaluated by the company as ‘at

or above’ expectations” and that the court violated

Reeves when it failed to do so. (/d.) But the Tenth

Circuit expressly found that “overall Webb’s

performance met or exceeded expectations.”'°

(App. at 2a.) The Court did not find — because

there was no evidentiary basis for finding — that

Webb’s positive evaluations demonstrated

pretext. (See supra at 104 8 & n.5.)

¢ Webb claims that the Tenth Circuit “violat[ed]

the tenants of Reeves” when the court rejected

the allegation that Webb’s firing contravened the

announced RIF criteria, on the ground that a

purported inconsistency identified by Webb was

“insignificant.” (Pet. at 25 (citing App. at 7a).)

As shown below, the court neither weighed the

evidence nor stated that Webb’s allegation of an

inconsistency was “insignificant.” (See §1II.C.2,

infra & n.17.) Rather, the court found that Webb

had failed to show an inconsistency.

* Webb asserts that he presented “other forms of

circumstantial evidence,” including “the

background level of a workforce dominated by

young people with little senior supervision, [and]

a prior reassignment of plaintiff to a job that made

him more vulnerable to layoff. . . .” (Pet. at 25.)

Webb argues that the Tenth Circuit violated the

standard set forth in Reeves by “weigh[ing] and

discount[ing]” this “circumstantial evidence.” (/d.)

15. Webb surely is not suggesting that a court must take such an

assertion by an employee as true if an employer produces the actual

performance evaluations, and they show that the employee received

lower ratings.

21

But again, the Tenth Circuit did not weigh or

discount any evidence. Rather, it concluded that

these allegations either were “based purely upon

speculation” (App. at 16a), or insufficient,

without more, to “create an inference of

discrimination.” (See App. at 8a.) Both of these

conclusions are consistent with Reeves, and with

Celotex, Anderson, and Matsushita. Indeed,

Webb’s reliance on Reeves’ analysis under Fed.

R. Civ. P. 50 to argue that the Tenth Circuit should

have given greater weight to such things as

Webb’s speculation about the effect of his transfer

on his vulnerability to future layoffs is ironic.

Because such speculation by Webb would not be

admissible at trial, it would never be considered

in a motion under Rule 50.

C. The Tenth Circuit Properly Applied the Summary

Judgment Standard in This Case, and Thus the

Petition Provides No Basis for Reversal.

In this case, the district court and the court of appeals both

determined that the purported “evidence” presented by Webb

was insufficient to allow a jury to return a verdict in favor of

him. (App. at 20a; Supp. App. at 31a.) And examination of the

issues underlying the “questions presented” by the Petition

demonstrates that those courts were correct. Accordingly, not

only does the Petition fail to present any question for which

certiorari review is appropriate, it does not even present a basis

for reversal of the Tenth Circuit decision.

1. Anemployee s belief about his own qualifications

and performance is insufficient to create a dispute

as to a genuine issue of material fact.

The first question presented in the Petition concerns the

probative value of an employee’s belief as to his or her own

qualifications and performance as compared with other

employees.'® Webb’s contends that he “well-established [sic]:

16. Because Webb's characterizations of the “Questions Presented”

are one-sided, Level 3 rephrases them 1n what it considers a more neutral

manner.

22

(1) his own qualifications, based upon his own direct knowledge

of them; (2) the qualifications of comparators, who disclosed

those qualifications to him; (3) his own performance, as

expressed in performance evaluations by the company; [and]

(4) the performance of comparators, as he directly observed it

on the job... .” (Pet. at 18 (emphasis omitted).) Webb argues

that the evidence he produced on these subjects was sufficient

to establish that his inclusion in the RIF was pretextual, and the

Tenth Circuit misapplied the correct summary judgment standard

when it refused to consider these “objective assessments” on

the ground that they were “inadmissible opinion.” (/d. (emphasis

omitted).)

Webb misstates both the evidence he presented and the

Tenth Circuit’s rulings. The court did not hold that evidence by

Webb about the qualifications and performance of comparators

could not be considered in determining whether his layoff was

pretextual. See Ash v. Tyson Foods, Inc., 126 S. Ct. 1195, 1197

(2006). In fact the Tenth Circuit has held in multiple cases

that evidence of a disparity in qualifications may be sufficient

to create a question of fact as to pretext. See, e.g., Brooks v.

Barnhart, No. 02-1449, 78 Fed. Appx. 52, 55-56 (10" Cir.

Oct. 7, 2003). Rather, in this case the Tenth Circuit found that

Webb did not present sufficient evidence about the qualifications

and performance of other employees:

Webb has failed to provide any specific facts for

this conclusory statement [that he had more seniority,

more experience, and superior contributions when

compared to his peers]. There is virtually no evidence

in the record, aside from vague generalities and

speculation, as to the qualifications of Webb’s peers.

(App. at 13a.) Indeed, the Tenth Circuit’s finding is generous to

Webb. Not only did he not present evidence about the

qualifications of individuals he deemed to be comparators, he

did not present evidence showing that the individuals he

identified were in fact comparators.

Similarly, the Tenth Circuit did not rule that Webb’s

performance evaluations were inadmissible opinions. What the

court found was that in the context of a RIF, evidence of

satisfactory performance alone is not probative of pretext

23

because “ ‘someone has to be let go, . . . including satisfactory

employees.” ” (App. at 13a (quoting Rea v. Martin Marietta

Corp., 29 F.3d 1450, 1456 (10" Cir. 1994)). And because Webb,

once again, failed to produce any evidence of the performance

evaluations received by supposed comparators of Webb, the

court had no basis for concluding that a genuine issue of material

fact existed about whether Webb’s layoff was pretextual because

his evaluations were significantly superior to those of his

comparators.

The Tenth Circuit did conclude that Webb’s subjective

beliefs about the superiority of his own qualifications and

performance (or the inferiority of the performance of other

employees) was insufficient to prove pretext. (App. at 13a.) But

that has to be the case. If an employee could create a triable

issue of fact merely by expressing a heartfelt belief that he or

she was more qualified or performed better than other

employees, summary judgment would never be granted.

2. Webb failed to show that Level 3 deviated from

the RIF criteria.

The second quest on presented in the Petition concerns an

employer’s alleged deviation from the established criteria in

determining whether an employee will be included in the RIF.

Webb contends that Level 3 “announced one set of criteria for

selecting employees to be laid off (performance, skills,

qualifications, tenure)” but then “informed plaintiff he was being

laid off, instead, for a different reason — his job had been

eliminated.” (Pet. at 25.) Webb contends that the Tenth Circuit’s

label of this change as a “minor inconsistency” demonstrates

that the court “weighed” the evidence, violating basic summary

judgment law. (/d. (emphasis in original).)

Once again, Webb misreads the court’s decision. The court

did not dismiss Webb’s assertion on the ground that the supposed

change in criteria was a “minor inconsistency.’ It did so on

17. Webb’s “minor inconsistency” assertion is unwarranted, and

completely misrepresents the Tenth Circuit's analysis. (Compare App.

at 7a (quoting Beaird v. Seagate Tech., Inc., 145 F.3d 1159, 1168 (10th

Cir. 1998), for “minor inconsistency” standard) with App. at 12a-14a

(evaluating Webb’s claim of deviation from criteria without mentioning

“minor inconsistency”).)

24

the ground that Webb’s assertion — even if accepted as true —

did not show an inconsistency between the announced RIF

criteria and the statement that Webb’s position had been

eliminated. In the January 2003 RIF, one Program Manager II

position — Webb’s — was eliminated by Level 3. The selection

of Webb’s position (as opposed to another employee’s Program

Manager II position) was based on specified RIF criteria.

According!y, the two statements are completely consistent with

one another, and no reasonable jury could find that they were

evidence of pretext.

3. Webb failed to present evidence of prior

discriminatory acts, and he failed to present

evidence of a causal connection between the prior

acts and the decision to include him in the 2003

RIF

Webb characterizes the third question in the Petition as

whether evidence of prior acts of discrimination against him is

relevant to prove pretext. But that issue is not implicated here.

The Tenth Circuit did not hold, in this case or any other case of

which Level 3 is aware, that evidence of prior acts of

discrimination against a party is never relevant to establish

pretext. Rather, the court held in this case, as it has held in

numerous other cases over the past 20 years, see, e.g., Colon-

Sanchez v. Marsh, 733 F.2d 78, 81 (10" Cir. 1984), that evidence

of prior discriminatory acts against a party can establish pretext

if“ ‘the prior incidences of alleged discrimination can somehow

be tied to the employment actions disputed in the case at hand.” ”

Heno v. Sprint/United Mgmnt. Co., 208 F.3d 847, 856 (10" Cir.

2000) (quoting Simms v. State of Okla., 165 F.3d 1321, 1330

(10 Cir.1999); (see App. at 9a, 10a.) Here, the Tenth Circuit

found that Webb’s allegations of prior discrimination were

insufficient to establish pretext for three reasons: they were

unsupported by evidence, Webb failed to make any showing of

a connection between the prior allegations and his inclusion in

the January 2003 RIF, and the alleged events were too remote

in time to demonstrate pretext. (See App. at 9a-1 1a.)

25

4. Webbs claim of post-layoff discrimination in the

denial of retirement benefits was unsupported by

evidence and was unconnected with the decision

to include him in the 2003 RIF.

The fourth question presented in the Petition is “[w]hether

subsequent acts against an employee after termination, such as

denial of retirement benefits, are relevant to prove pretext.” (Pet.

at ii.) Webb’s attempt to use post-layoff events to prove pre-

layoff discrimination founders for two reasons. First, Webb, once

again, failed to produce evidence from which a jury could find

that the events were due to discrimination. For example, Webb

claims that the denial of retirement benefits was discriminatory.

But Webb cannot dispute that he was notified that the option to

receive retirement benefits would expire, that Level 3 never

attempted to prevent Webb from exercising the option before it

expired, and that Webb did not try to exercise that option

until more than a month after it expired. See Trotter v. Todd,

719 F.2d 346, 349 (10" Cir. 1983) (no prima facie case where

defendants complied with internal policy). Thus, to show that

the decision to deny his untimely request for option benefits

was due to discrimination, Webb would have to produce

evidence that other employees — who were outside the ADA’s

protected class and who were subject to the RIF — were allowed

to receive retirement benefits pursuant to the option when their

requests were made untimely, even though Webb was not.

Needless to say, there is no such evidence.

Second, for post-discharge actions to be probative of

pretext, they, just like prior actions, must be causally connected

to the discharge. But here, no causal connection existed. (Pet.

at lla.) The decision to deny Webb’s untimely request for

retirement benefits was not made by Leddy — the person who

included Webb in the RIF — and there is no evidence that Leddy

even knew about the decision. Accordingly, the Tenth Circuit

correctly found that the post-termination actions about which

Webb complains, such as the denial of his request to exercise

untimely the early retirement option, are not probative on the

issue of pretext.

26

5. The implications Webb attempts to make with his

rhetorical “questions presented” are baseless.

Four of the 10 questions presented in the Petition are

rhetorical. They ask whether, in a discrimination case:

(a) circumstantial evidence must be considered as a whole; (b) all

reasonable inferences should be drawn in the nonmovant’s favor;

(c) a court should conduct a “sensitive inquiry” as to

discriminatory animus and pretext, and (d) issues of credibility

although Webb uses these rhetorical questions to imply that the

Tenth Circuit did not follow basic summary judgment standards,

that implication is false. First, the court’s decision demonstrates

on its face that the court considered the evidence as a whole.

After exhaustively evaluating Webb’s allegations, the court of

appeals concluded: “Based on the foregoing, Webb has failed

to present sufficient evidence of pretext to preclude summary

judgment on his age discrimination claim.” (App. at 16a

(emphasis added).) Second, the Tenth Circuit expressly

recognized its obligation to draw all reasonable inferences in

Webb’s favor. (See App. at 4a.) Third, the care taken by the

Tenth Circuit in evaluating the evidence demonstrates that it

performed a “sensitive inquiry” into Webb’s claims. Although

the decision was unpublished, the court’s opinion is 20 pages

long. (See App. at la-20a.) And fourth, the decision discloses

that the court did not determine issues of credibility. Nowhere

did it reyect evidence presented by Webb on the ground that it

was not credible. To the contrary, even where the court could

have legitimately rejected evidence by Webb — such as Webb’s

belated recollection of a mesting with Leddy, see Orta-Castro

v. Merck, Sharp & Dohme Quimica P.R., Inc., 447 F.3d 105,

110-11 (1st Cir. 2006) — the Tenth Circuit did not do so. Instead,

it accepted the evidence presented by Webb as true, and

evaluated his claims based on it.

6. The Tenth Circuit correctly found that the RIF

criteria were not completely subjective.

The penultimate question presented in the Petition is based

on Webb’s assertion that the criteria used in determining the

employees to include in the RIF were “substantially subjective.”

According to Webb, this demonstrates pretext. (Pet. at ii.) Webb

27

misstates the rule concerning the use of subjective criteria.

Pretext “is ordinarily inferred ‘only when the criteria on which

the employers ultimately rely are entirely subjective.’ ” Platero

v. Williams Field Servs. Co., No. 05-2006, 2006 WL 864851,

at *3 (10th Cir. Apr. 5, 2006) (emphasis in original) (quoting

Jones v. Barnhart, 349 F.3d 1260, 1267-68 (10th Cir.2003)).

Here, as Webb’s question presented implicitly concedes, “Leddy

considered both objective and subjective criteria.” (App. at 14a.)

Moreover, “[t]he inference of pretext in this context is based

on the idea that a decision-maker could cloak his bias in an

unassailable subjective judgment. Thus, when a subjective

decision is made by someone whose motives have been put in

question in the case, an inference of pretext may be appropriate.”

Slip Op. at 3, Platero, No. 05-2006 (original emphasis partially

omitted). But the motives of the decision maker who included

Webb in the RIF — Leddy — have never been “put in question.”

(See Supp. App. at 23a) (“There is no evidence that Mr. Leddy

decided to include Mr. Webb in the 2003 reduction in force

because of his age.”’). In fact, the opposite is true. Leddy himself

was a member of the same protected class as Webb; which would

tend to negate any inference of prejudice. And Leddy was also

the same person who, a year and a half earlier, had made the

decision to hire Webb. This fact, as numerous courts have

recognized, creates “ ‘an inference that discrimination was not

the employer’s motive in terminating the employee.’ ”

Cartagena v. Aegis Mortgage Corp., No. 01-20324, 275 F.3d

46 (5" Cir. 2001) (not selected for publication) (quoting Faruki

v. Parsons S.1.P., Inc., 123 F.3d 315, 320 n.3 (5 Cir. 1997).

Accordingly, the mere fact that some of the criteria used in

selecting employees for inclusion in the RIF were subjective is

insufficient for a jury to find that Webb’s inclusion was

discriminatory.

7. The Tenth Circuit correctly affirmed the district

court’ grant of summary judgment on Webb’

retaliation claim on the ground that no causal

connection existed between the protected activity

and the adverse employment action.

The final question presented in the Petition concerns the

correct elements of a claim for retaliation. In his complaint,

28

Webb alleged that his inclusion in the RIF was in retaliation for

his charge, made to Isom in November 2002, that Webb had

been the victim of discrimination. The district court granted

summary judgment on Webb’s retaliation claim, which the Tenth

Circuit affirmed, on the ground that the undisputed evidence

showed that the person who took the adverse employment action

— Leddy — had no knowledge that Webb had met with Isom,

or engaged in a protected activity at that meeting, and thus there

was no causal connection between the protected activity and

the adverse employment action. (See App. at 16a-20a.)

Webb does not seriously dispute that he was unable to

present evidence of any causal connection. Instead, Webb argues

that that the Tenth Circuit erred in requiring evidence of a causal

connection between Webb’s protected activity and his inclusion

in the RIF. (App. at 16a-20a.) Webb argues that the Tenth Circuit

should have applied the standard adopted in Stone v. City of

Indianapolis Pub. Utils. Div., 281 F.3d 640 (7" Cir. 2002).

According to Webb, under Stone, to establish a “prima facie

case of retaliation, no causal connection need be demonstrated:

plaintiff need merely show that comparators who did not

complain about discrimination did not suffer the adverse action.”

(Pet. at 29.)

Webb misstates the standard adopted in Stone. Stone does

not say that that a plaintiff must only show that others who did

not complain about discrimination did not suffer an adverse

employment action. It says that a plaintiff must show that after

complaining about discrimination, “only he, and not any

similarly situated employee who did not [complain about

discrimination], was subjected to an adverse employment

action. .. .” Stone, 281 F.3d 640, 644 (7 Cir. 2002) (emphasis

added); see also Hudson vy. Chicago Transit Auth., 375 F.3d

552, 559 (7" Cir. 2004). Thus, under Stone, Webb would have

to show that he complained of discrimination, and then only he

was laid off. But in light of the fact that Webb was laid off as

part of a RIF, in which 49 people were laid off, he could not

make that showing. Thus, application of the standard in Stone

would not alter the result in this case. Under either standard,

Webb would not be able to show a prima facie case of retaliation.

- 2

Indeed, it seems unlikely that the Seventh Circuit would

apply the indirect-evidence standard adopted in Stone to an

action involving a RIF. Because a RIF, by definition, involves

the layoff of multiple employees, no employee would be able

to show that only he or she, and not any employee who did not

complain of discrimination, “was subjected to an adverse

employment action.” Application of the Stone standard in the

context of a RIF, therefore, would effectively shield employers

from retaliation claims based on indirect discrimination.

CONCLUSION

As shown above, Webb has not identified any reason why

it would be appropriate for this Court to grant the Petition.

Accordingly, Level 3 requests that the Petition be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

RICHARD P. BARKLEY

Counsel of Record

MEGHAN W. MarTINEZ

BROWNSTEIN Hyatt & Farser, P.C.

410 17" Street, Suite 2200

Denver, Colorado 80202

(303) 223-1100

LisA HOGAN

Lever 3 Communications, LLC

1025 Eldorado Boulevard

Broomfield, Colorado 80021

(720) 888-1000

Counsel for Respondent

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.