Petition for Writ of Certiorari — First National Bank of Milaca v. Benjamin

Supreme Court brief2004

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

FILED

Supreme Court of the Anited States

FIRST NATIONAL BANK OF MILACA,

Petitioner,

Vv.

MELANIE BENJAMIN, ET AL.,

Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Eighth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT CF CERTIORARI

SCOTT GREGORY KNUDSON

Counsel of Record

BRYANT D. TCHIDA

BRIGGS AND MORGAN, P.A.

332 Minnesota Street

Suite 2200

Saint Paul, MN 55101

(651) 808-6600

August 17, 2004 Counsel for Petitioner

: First National Bank of

Milaca

a BN

WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 — WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

i

QUESTION PRESENTED

When a tribe attempts to resurrect a reservation that

nonmembers justifiably believed long disestablished. by

asserting sovereign authority over the former reservation. can

a nonmember doing business within the former reservation

boundaries seek declaratory relief concerning those

boundaries only when the tribe has sought to enforce its

regulations over that nonmember business?

ii

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Pursuant to Sup. Ct. R. 29(6) Petitioner First National

Bank of Milaca states that it is a family-owned, closely-held

corporation with no parent company. and no publicly-held

corporation owns ten percent or more of the Bank's stock.

iil

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The parties to this proceeding are as follows:

1) Petitioner First National Bank of Milaca:

2) Petitioner County of Mille Lacs. Minnesota:

3) Respondent Melanie Benjamin, individually and

officially as Chief Executive, Mille Lacs Band of

Chippewa Indians:

4) Herb Weyaus. individually and officially as

Secretary/Treasurer, Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa

Indians:

5) Sandra Blake, individually and officially as

District Representative. Mille Lacs Band of

Chippewa Indians:

6) Marvin Bruneau, individually and officially as

District Representative. Mille Lacs Band of

Chippewa Indians:

7) Harry Davis. individually and officially as District

Representative. Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa

Indians.

hy

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page(s)

Ce re Re Ee sins aden scasaceaxccrasssinrpnnmateinaseinarnn i

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT..................0.. il

PART FU Ti Pe Oe viv vcncceticismsaixtneniniscssones iil

FP BF re Ftd ctcntctcintnicenmnntione v

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI... ee l

eR Se iv hscteasarntivctavinsinbncianstanistansicomacpoaenints l

FUT TIN oc cssscivessnannssarsoussnvenesonsenseeacnsnaneasaeonannensvanesten l

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

go fake a Eb t A 2 | Bere nnnsenmrror ren l

SEA Tree Sie Be Pie wis cisnccicecesesissesartiowcimnssttiioninn 2

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ........... 15

THIS CASE PRESENTS THE IMPORTANT

FEDERAL QUESTION OF WHEN A NON-

INDIAN PARTY MAY CHALLENGE THE

EXISTENCE OF TRIBAL POWER TO

RECIUL ATE OAIGATINESEICS sncsssscinicssscsisvoscocasisinn 15

CORBIN ERT G IES scnscncovcnscxsasstrnsesncadsabinhdapiineednincanenaskanaiadenenaie 27

V

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page(s)

CASES

Atkinson Trading Co. v. Shirley.

FO as Ns TE itescnrasciceacbeniaehaade 21

Babbitt Ford, Inc. v. Navajo Indian Tribe.

FR Ee PET COME Oe Ti iiciteiniceccsdininaseasinn 23

Baker Electric Co-op, Inc. v. Chaske.

Be FO CI CE, Beavis sscicevereccesstrccceniconns 19, 21

City of New Town, N.D. v. United States.

ROR Fide B20 CG Ce sence een 16.17. 18

DeCoteau v. Dist. County Court for Tenth Judicial

Dist..

AT ls NW PB cssctnessanncsnacdviep anaemia 4.5

Duke Power Co. v. Carolina Envtl. Study Group.

Inc..

TS As OF CR SPEDE Kiicsisenedsmniicasneiammeaaaian 16

Federal Express Corp. vy. Air Line Pilots Ass'n,

OF F.20 Set CEPA... CA TONS ainaxeincleauicannnn 15

Hornell Brewing Co. v. Rosebud Sioux Tribal Court.

SS 1 TORT CE, Fi icc ccc 21

Idaho v. Coeur d'Alene Tribe of Idaho,

FON Rie ON A CTT P ccinsiiattinivicadcstutegmeanemadani ae ates 17

Lower Brule Sioux Tribe v. State of South Dakota,

CUE. FZ et Ce RM: FI iccsssesnarncstaoastioenen 18

Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa Indians v. Minnesota,

PF Cdk FO CRUE, EI iciniincssertineemicoaneninnes b3, 21, 22

Nevada v. Hicks,

SOD APS Fae CAE Do civiniscesaoeemeaenntnnandaemanaana cee

vl

Northern States Power Co. v. Prairie Island

Mdewakanton Sioux Indian Cmty..

99] F.2d 458 (Bth Cir. 1993)..............cccccssssssessenneeees 20, 21

Northern States Power Co. y. Prairie Island

Mdewakanton Sioux Indian Cmty.,

781 F. Supp. 612 (D. Minn. 1991)... eeeeeseeeeeseteeeees 20, 21

Oneida Indian Nation of N.Y. v. City of Sherrill, N.Y.

337 F.3d 139 (2d Cir. 2003). cert. granted. 1248S. Ct.

DODE (DOD) avcssescscersconcsecessesosrerssenssocvonscsassesnenesonssansvensnennss 26

Pacific Gas & Elec. Co. v. State Energy Res.

Conservation & Dev. Comm'n.

AG1 U.S. 190 (19BBD ....cocccesscrccccsccrssccoscnssvonssnsccssensncnssenenses 16

Rosebud Sioux Tribe v. Kneip.

375 F. Supp. 1065 (D.S.D. 1974). aff'd. 521 F.2d 87

(8th Cir. 1975). aff'd. 430 U.S. 584 (1977)... ceeeeseeeeeesees 16

Rosebud Sioux Tribe v. Kneip.

MSE 15S SHA CEST TY svicvsnnvessisasirsssnvasconsnsnssstaccassavenns 3.17. 18

South Dakota v. Yankton Sioux Tribe.

BPD 15, SID CUDGRD cnvcscsseveresvervesssnncsastnancsdvennsncsncaners ae

Tenneco Oil Co. v. Sac & Fox Tribe of Indians of

Okla...

S55 FFs S72 CR Cie, VIBE) a vecccnsvsrsssicreseanscicsnanician OO 21

United States. v. Lara.

DPS Ch, LGA IIOAD ccncssescicenssscosrcnnsnccessnncsecesssnsnssaceneansn 24

United States v. Mille Lac Band.

979 U.S. 498 (1913) en eT MELEE It E

Williams-Willis v. Carmel Financial Corp..

139 F. Supp. 2d 773 (S.D. Miss. 2001) .....:eeceeseeeeeeteteees 23

Wisconsin v. Baker.

GOE F.2d 1323 Cth Clin. UGB). oncorscsssssnsensersiisssiencsnseen My BM

Vil

STATUTES

USE AA ches ce 23

FSS) © Fe OE crriinsnniininciemeonaae

A CEE, SE asisvcinsciecneiveieecicriitnieeaiicaien 23

ee ec Ae FO patents haszancpcaandieneinouuashinseensscansiameatesamonla 23

Be ele 6 VR ict sithieadsiokacneenmaal |

y BUR + Oe Kt | ereeweren ssniihiatiasiniitsieplaapibieniibiaetaniaaiidceiete l

Be le sb BE cischtoisatiieessinindinatinbiiemeneaaans |

Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. § 1251 ef S€q ........s.ssseeseseeeees 23

National Historic Preservation Act

BO ET 6 FOE Bi vcisseenivciscnnciiennstensnsencaiesennvans eee

Nelson Act. ch. 24, 25 Stat. 642 (1889) ou. eee 6

Be ee iii senieincchenciencieaaeeanninin 7

CS CLA. © Oe OF i iiscicccecctincenrindiniinarae ae

TREATIES

Treaty of Feb. 20, 1835, 10 Stat. PIGS ......0cccrcscsecsrcssressice 2

March 11. 1863 Treaty between the United States and

the Chippewa Indians.

Fe Ts Pee ckicsnnd nibassciasnscdicamsledaiadaatgeaiansensanesionmonacianssbadailaiies 4

May 7. 1864 Treaty between the United States and

the Chippewa Indians,

a ee 4

STATE RULES

Dbl: Oe OI i cnisnciavn casastsnrcecsnrncsnmantsoormarec 12

MILLE LACS BAND STATUTES

SINS BIE os pikes sn oeiidctnserno 12

NS Oe 12

Fe. SAO PSTN nn ome Famer 12

18 MLBSA § 101] vu... ee eeeeeeeeseeteeereeeeeeseteresensenneennennees 10

1B DAGESA © UGS ..ccreccssresensesns chaieadublalidinadeceanmaamannmneapinr 10

2A WAL BIGA. © F visensscvsncssscrsossensins stsenenseecneccescassseesenaes pape.

D4 MLBSA § 3 1......cccssscscccsscssscscrccsesesscssccscnsssscccesnsesasenees 12

24 MLBSA § 4......0cccessssssscccsossccscccesascescsosrsnssoncceennsees ie £6

24 MLBSA § 5 ......c.csesccsorecccsenssssccssoersescrecsosvessncsosasens 12, 22

24 MLBSA § 6 .u.......ccescesssesserssseeccsesssssncesscessnssecnseensens 12, 22

pA 8 Eo renee 12.22

24 MLBSA § 3501-3510... ce cceeceseeeteeeeeeneeeseeeeeseeeeeeeeeeenes 12

MISCELLANEOUS

H.R. Ex. Doc. No. 68, 37th Cong.. 3d Sess. (1863) .......... 2

H.R. Ex. Doc. No. 1. 38th Cong.. Ist Sess. 1182

H.R. Ex. Doc. No. 148. 48th Cong.. Ist Sess. 2207

CR BUAY cs vicscinsenticssscecccavasicecsssenseruccnssniniersnnssonnsnnavscsasibeitononses 4

H.R. Ex. Doc. No. 247. 51st Cong., Ist Sess. (1890).......... 6

SECONDARY AUTHORITY

Alex Tallchief Skibine. The Dialogic of Federalism

in Federal Indian Law and the Rehnquist Court: The

Need for Coherence and Integration,

8 Tex. F. on C.L. & C.R. 1 (Spring 2003)... ceeeeeeeeeees 24

Rebecca Kugel. To Be THE MAIN LEADERS OF OUR

PEOPLE A HISTORY OF MINNESOTA OJIBWE POLITICS

1825-1898 ( | TT CR aE ih ke PRON Te mnTe o 3

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner First National Bank of Milaca petitions this

Court for writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit in this

case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The district court’s opinion (9a-27a) is reported at 262 F

Supp. ? + 990 (D. Minn. 2003). The Eighth Circuit's opinion

(la-8a, is reported at 361 F.3d 460 (8t: Cir. 2004). The

order of the Eighth Circuit denying the petition of First

National Bank of Milaca for rehearing and for rehearing en

banc (28a) is unreported.

JURISDICTION

The district court had subject matter jurisdiction under 28

U.S.C. § 1331 because this case seeks declaratory relief

regarding federal Indian treaties and acts of Congress. The

district court's judgment was entered on May 7. 2003 and

was timely appealed to the Eighth Circuit on June 5. 2003.

The judgment of the Eighth Circuit was entered on March 9.

2004. The Eighth Circuit denied a timely petition for

rehearing and for rehearing en banc on May 19, 2004. This

Court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

United States Constitution. Art. III, § 2:

28 U.S.C. § 2201.

Certain treaties between the United States and the Chippwas

and certain statutes promulgated by the Mille Lacs Band are

found in the Appendix at 29a-S6a.

9

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The fundamental issue underlying this case is whether an

Indian reservation established in 1855 and extinguished by

plain treaty language eight years later continues to exist.

Petitioners First National Bank of Milaca (“Bank”) and the

County of Mille Lacs (“County”) believe that the reservation

was formally disestablished by subsequent treaties, and that

any provisional right of Respondents” ancestors to avoid

compulsory removal from the former reservation was

extinguished in subsequent negotiations authorized by

Congress. As stated in its brief amicus curiae to the Eighth

Circuit in this matter. the State of Minnesota concurs fully in

that position. (See App. 59).' Respondents. leaders of the

Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa (Ojibwe). maintain that the

reservation was never disestablished. if for no other reason,

some decendants of Band members have continued to live

within the boundaries of the original reservation up to the

present. (See App. 406-407. 411. 422).

In 1855 the United States signed a treaty with the

Mississippi Bands of Chippewa creating for them six

reservations in northern Minnesota. Treaty of Feb. 20, 1855.

10 Stat. 1165 (App. 7-13). One of these reservations

comprised approximately 61.000 acres in three townships on

the south shore of Mille Lacs Lake in north central

Minnesota. /d. By 1863. however. after the 1862 Sioux

uprising in southern Minnesota and a lesser known Chippewa

uprising that same year, the Interior Department revised its

reservation policy with the Mississippi Chippewa. See H.R.

Ex. Doc. No. 68. 37th Cong.. 3d Sess. at 3-4 (1863): H.R.

Ex. Doc. No. 1. 38th Cong.. Ist Sess. 1182 at 149-150

(1863): see also Rebecca Kugel. To BE THE MAIN LEADERS

' Cites to the Bank's Supreme Court Appendix are designated

as (__a), Whereas cites to the Bank's Eighth Circuit Appendix

are designated as (App. ).

&

3

OF OUR PEOPLE A HISTORY OF MINNESOTA OJIBWE POLITICS

1825-1898. 77-80 (1998).

That year the federal government negotiated a new treaty

with the Mississippi Chippewa that ceded the six reservations

created by the 1855 Treaty and removed the Mississippi

Chippewa to a single reservation farther north and more

remote from white settlements. March 11. 1863 Treaty

between the United States and the Chippewa Indians, 12 Stat.

1249 (29a-36a). The federal government also negotiated a

second treaty in 1864 that likewise ceded the reservations

established by the 1855 Treaty. May 7. 1864 Treaty between

the United States and the Chippewa Indians, 13 Stat. 693

(37a-42a).

The provision ceding the reservations created by the 1855

Treaty was straightforward :

The reservations known as Gull Lake. Mille Lac.

Sandy Lake, Rabbit Lake. Pokagomin Lake. and Rice

Lake. as described in the second clause of the second

article of the treaty with the Chippewas of the 22d

February. 1855, are hereby ceded to the United

States.

(30a. Article I) (38a. Article 1) (emphasis added).

Language such as this has been held “precisely suited” to

extinguish a reservation. Rosebud Sioux Tribe vy. Kneip. 430

U.S. 584. 592 (1977). see also South Dakota v. Yankton

Sioux Tribe, 522 U.S. 329, 343 (1998) (specific cession

language overrode savings clause). Similarly, Respondents

have not asserted in this litigation that the language of

cession in Article | was ambiguous or that the plain meaning

of these words of cession could not be understood by the

Chippewa negotiators.

The federal government viewed these treaties as

terminating the Mille Lacs Reservation. Reporting on the

1863 Treaty, the Secretary of the Interior wrote Congress:

4

As this treaty has been published. I deem it

unnecessary to allude to its provisions further than to

state. that by its terms the reservations at Gull lake,

Mille Lac. Sandy lake, Rabbit lake. Pokagomin lake,

and Rice lake. are ceded to the United States. and a

new reservation established in the vicinity of and

including the reserves of the Pillager and Lake

Winnibigoshish bands for the Indians of — the

reservations ceded ....

H.R. Ex. Doc. No. 1. 38th Cong.. Ist Sess. 1182 at 150

(1863).

While there can be little doubt that the 1863 and 1864

Treaties extinguished the Mille Lacs Reservation as a

juridical entity, current Band members assert that it continues

to exist. (App. 406-407. 411, 422). In large part their claim

is based on the following proviso found in Article 12 of both

the 1863 and 1864 Treaties:

Provided. that owing to the heretofore good conduct

of the Mille Lacs Indians. they shall not be compelled

to remove so long as they shall not in any way

interfere with or in any manner protest the persons or

property of the whites.

(34a. Article 12) (41a-42a, Article 12). The “good conduct”

referred to in the proviso was apparently the Mille Lacs

Band's open opposition to the uprising fomented by other

Chippewa in 1862. See H.R. Ex. Doc. No. 148, 48th Cong..

Ist Sess. 2207 at 4 (1884).

Familiar Nineteenth Century forces, see DeCoteaw v.

Dist. County Court for Tenth Judicial Dist.. 420 U.S. 425.

431 (1975). were at work in Mille Lacs County, where the

former reservation was located. Soon after cession, settlers

and loggers pressed to move onto the former reservation

land. See, e.g.. H.R. Ex. Doc. No. 148, 48th Cong., Ist Sess.

2207 at 8 (1884). By 1877 the Secretary of the Interior was

Boos tire

So OB.

5

compelled to resolve the validity of a settler’s claim to a

parcel within the former Mille Lacs reservation. Jd. The

Secretary determined that the claim was valid because the

reservation had been ceded. and all the Mille Lacs Band

retained was a reprieve from forced removal:

Under this proviso [referring to proviso of the twelfth

article of the treaty of 1863] it is true that, so long as

said Indians do not interfere with the persons or

property of the whites. they cannot be compelled to

remove: but it by no means gives them an exclusive

right to the lands. nor does it, in my judgment.

exclude said lands from sale and disposal by the

United States.

Id. (emphasis added). The Secretary concluded that the Mille

Lacs “might remain, not because they had any right to the

lands, but simply as a matter of favor.” /d. Although the

Secretary determined that the claim was valid. he suspended

the decision because there were still Mille Lacs Band

members residing on the former reservation. /d.

The federal government never formally exercised its right

to remove the members of the Mille Lacs Band (or members

of other Chippewa bands) that continued to live near Mille

Lacs Lake. This lead to uncertainty over the validity of

entries that white settlers had made on “about 55.000 acres.

or approximately nine tenths of the lands, ...°° United States

v. Mille Lac Band, 229 U.S. 498, 502-503 (1913). To resolve

the validity of these entries, Congress passed the Nelson Act.

ch. 24, 25 Stat. 642 (1889). This act was intended to address

the status of various reservations in Minnesota and to secure.

so far as possible. the consolidation of the various Chippewa

Indians onto two reservations in northern Minnesota. /d.

The Nelson Act empowered the President to appoint three

Commissioners, who were charged with one directive:

6

to negotiate with all the different bands or tribes of

Chippewa Indians in the State of Minnesota for the

complete cession and relinquishment in writing of all

their title and interest in and to all the reservations of

said Indians in the State of Minnesota, except the

White Earth and Red Lake Reservations, and to all

and. so much of these two reservations as in the

judgment of said commission is not required to make

and fill the allotments required by this and existing

acts. and shall not have been reserved by the

Commissioners for said purposes... .

Nelson Act at § 1.

After extensive negotiations. the Commissioners and the

Mille Lacs Band reached an agreement. namely, that the

Mille Lacs Band would relinquish its right of occupancy:

We. the undersigned. being male adult Indians over

eighteen years of age. of the Mille Lac band of

Chippewas of the Mississippi. occupying and

belonging to the Mille Lac Reservation under and by

virtue of a clause in the twelfth article of the treaty of

May 7. 1864 (13 Stat. at L. p. 693) do hereby certify

and declare that we have heard. read. and interpreted

and thoroughly explained to our understanding the act

of Congress approved January 14, 1889... and do

hereby forever relinquish to the United States the

right_of occupancy on the Mille Lac Reservation

reserved to_us by the twelfth article of the treaty of

May 7, 1864....

H.R. Ex. Doc. No. 247. 51st Cong.. Ist Sess. at 45-46 (1890)

(emphasis added).

Following these negotiations the Mille Lacs Band

claimed they did not get the compensation the Nelson Act

provided for their concessions. Congress waived sovereign

immunity to allow the Court of Claims to hear their

SRE Ee oer ats an

7

contention. 35 Stat. 619 (1909). Losing in that forum. the

government appealed to this Court, which held that no rights

of the Mille Lacs Band had been infringed when Congress

validated the land entries made prior to the Nelson Act:

We are accordingly of opinion that the act of 1889. to

which the Indians fully assented, contemplated and

authorized the completion, and the issuing of patents

on, all existing pre-emption and homestead entries in

the Mille Lac tract which, in the course of

proceedings in the Land Department, should be found

to be within the terms of the proviso to § 6, and

therefore that no rights of the Indians were infringed

in so disposing of lands embraced in such entries.

229 U.S. at 508-09 (emphasis added).

In so holding. the Court rejected two of the Band's

contentions: 1) the Band did not understand the terms of the

Nelson Act: and 2) the Mille Lacs area was still a reservation

after the 1863 and 1864 Treaties. /d. Both determinations

Were an essential part of the Court's holding. /d. To reach

this holding. the Court had also to hold that the Mille Lacs

Reservation had been extinguished before the Nelson Act.

i.e., by the 1863 and 1864 Treaties.

Today approximately 90% of the land within the former

reservation is owned by non-members. (App. 343-51). The

Census Bureau shows that the vast majority of the population

within the former reservation is non-Indian and that the

Indian population is concentrated primarily in one township.

_ (App. 337-342). These characteristics bear the hallmark of a

disestablished reservation. See Yankton Sioux Tribe, 522

U.S. at 356-57.

Despite its historical roots, this dispute arises out of

recent efforts of Band leaders to recreate the former 61.000

acre reservation. In 1989 then Chief Arthur Gahbow

delivered a State of the Band address in which ne declared:

8

There must be some divine plan the Great

Spirit has for us as a people. From the time I took

office 16 years ago. until recently | was not sure

what that plan was. But I don’t think it was

divine intervention, it was more common sense

and a sense of injustice that made me arrive at this

conclusion about the land.

That conclusion is this: We will take it back!

We have been on the defensive for 100 years.

I tell you this day. this hour, this moment in

history we are no longer just holding our ground.

As of right now we are on the offensive. We are

on the attack

To state simply. we will take it back.

* * *

_ For now let the word go forth from this time

and place. the state of this Band is sound and let

friend and foe alike know that we are on the

offensive.

We will not back down. We are on the attack.

There is no retreat. There is no surrender.

" fener

(App. 32. 46).

Gahbow’s successor, Marge Anderson. echoed this

approach in her 1998 State of the Band speech:

As Abraham Lincoln once said. “If I had eight

hours to chop down a tree, I'd spend six

sharpening my ax’ . . . [t]he Band has been good

at determining when its ax is sharp enough. And

when we make that determination, we don’t wait

a minute longer.

(App. 314).

9

The Gahbow declaration was followed by an aggressive

course of action in dealing with businesses within the former

1855 reservation. In 1992. the Band wrote to businesses

within that area, announcing the Band’s plan to require all

businesses operating within the boundaries of the former

reservation to be licensed by the Band. (60a-61a). A similar

letter was circulated more recently and also claims that all

businesses operating within the Band’s territory are required

to obtain a Band business license. (62a-63a).

As part of its now declared plan to reclaim the old

reservation in full, the Band has enacted an extensive series

of statutes. most codified in a two volume set published as

the Mille Lacs Band Statutes Annotated. (See, e.g.. 43a-56a:

see also App. 60-307). These Band ordinances establish a

comprehensive series of business regulations from land use

to banking. See id. In their motion to dismiss. Respondents

asserted evidence which they claim shows that those

ordinances apply only to businesses which consent to do

business with the Band. This assertion was a patent ploy to

avoid judicial resolution of the boundary dispute. Band

officials did not dispute that the Band’s ordinances and

letters apply on their face to the Bank where the Band claims

power to regulate — the former 1855 reservation. (App. 424-

426: see also App. 408. 412. 417).

Respondents also did not dispute that these ordinances

apply to the Bank. Nor could they do so, for Molly Big Bear.

who is in charge of the Band's licensing program. established

the program applies throughout the former 1855 reservation

and embraces anyone who does business with Band

members, including banks.

Q: “What is your understanding of the description of

within the boundaries of tribal territories? . . . *

A: “The 1855 boundaries.”

(App. 422).

10

Q: “So is it fair to say that under section 101 [18

MLBSA § 101] the corporate commission has the power to

license anyone who wishes to provide goods or services to

any member of the Mille Lacs Band?”

A: “¥e.

(App. 426: see also App. 423).

~ “This sentence [of 18 MSBSA § 101] makes

reference to goods or services of any material value, doesn’t

it?”

A: “Ye."

* * *

Q: “Would you agree that banking services are covered

by the word services in [the first sentence of 18 MLBSA

§ 101)?”

A: “ye.

Q: “Is there any exemption from licensing for banks in

this chapter two, the licensing provisions?”

A: “No.”

(App. 425).

____ The Band has also advanced its legal interpretation of the

1863 and 1864 Treaties to convince various federal agencies

of the continued existence of the 1855 reservation. (App.

413-416). For example. EPA has granted the Band

treatment-as-state status over the entire 1855 boundary area,

which means the Band can enforce federal environmental

rules within the Bank’s market area. Jd. The Band has also

convinced the United States Department of the Interior that

the former reservation still exists (App. 352-359) and that the

Band retains taxation authority over non-members (App.

324-325).

SE ier nlibinabinke

1]

This case ripened into a lawsuit after the County — in

opposition to the Band’s contention — refused to recognize

the existence of the former 1855 reservation boundaries and

instead brought an action for declaratory relief. The relief

the County sought was a declaration that the boundaries

established by the former 1855 reservation had been

disestablished.

The Bank intervened in the County’s case because its

settled expectations were that the Mille Lacs reservation

created by the 1855 Treaty with the Chippewa has long been

disestablished. Founded in 1897, the Bank is a small.

independent business of the Allen family. (57a). The Bank

is a federally chartered bank based in Milaca, Minnesota, the

county seat of Mille Lacs County. /d The Bank has a

branch in Isle, Minnesota, in Isle Harbor Township. Mille

Lacs County. /d. The Isle branch represents approximately

one-third of the Bank’s loans and deposits. (58a). For

example, the Isle branch of the Bank has 189 loans totaling

approximately $11.000,000 secured by real estate. dd A

major portion of these Isle branch loans are secured by real

estate located in Kathio. South Harbor and Isle Harbor

Townships, id., the townships that once comprised the 1855

reservation.

At a minimum, the Bank wanted the boundary issue

determined, for the resulting uncertainty has had an impact

on the Bank’s assets. Indeed, the specter of Band regulation

poses significant operational concerns to the Bank. because

the Band in its statutes has asserted enforcement authority

over federal banking laws and UCC Article Nine secured

creditor remedies. (67a-68a). For example. one such

provision states:

Any creditor be they a person, company, corporation.

association, partnership, cooperative. utility and any

other public or private commercial entity. who absent

a lawtul order from the Court of Central Jurisdiction.

12

who shall attempt to remove or disconnect any

property from any person under the jurisdiction of the

Band. shall be deemed to have committed a property

trespass offense in violation of 2 MLBSA § 304(m)

and the Solicitor General shall initiate civil action

against said person seeking their removal and

exclusion from lands under the jurisdiction of the

Non-Removable Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa

Indians for a period not to exceed 180 days.

24 MLBSA 8 3309 (53a).

Moreover. because the Bank has Band members as

customers, under Band statutes, any Band member doing

business with the Bank could take the Bank to tribal court for

alleged violations of the Truth in Lending Act, for example,

or violations of Article Nine of the U.C.C. 24 MLBSA §8§ 2.

3. 4. 5. 6. 3309, 3501-3510 (1996) (Sla-56a): see also 5

MLBSA 8§ 111. 113 (1996) (43a-44a; App. 382).

Nor is the Band’s assertion of regulatory authority

limited to commercial activities. Its environmental statute

regulates activities within the former reservation. (45a-47a:;

App. 208-293). Unsurprisingly, the boundary dispute is now

a realtor disclosure item for homes sold within the former

reservation. (App. 371: see also App. 387).? The Band has

also told homeowners in the disputed area they are subject to

the Band's tribal authority. (76a-82a).

° This real estate disclosure is given pursuant to Minn. R.

2805.1400, which states "[I]icensees shall disclose to any

prospective purchaser all material facts pertaining to the

property. of which the licensee is aware, which could

adversely and significantly affect an ordinary purchaser's use

or enjoyment of the property, or any intended use of the

property of which the licensee is aware." Minn. R.

2805.1400. subp. 3 (2003) (emphasis added).

13

Recognizing the, concrete stake the Bank has in

determining the status of the former reservation boundaries.

Magistrate Judge Erickson issued an order allowing the Bank

to intervene. (83a-87a). Magistrate Erickson relied heavily

on the Eighth Circuit’s decision in Mille Lacs Band of

Chippewa Indians vy. Minnesota, 989 F.2d 994 (8th Cir.

1993), which the Magistrate found controlling. (86a).

Magistrate Erickson noted that the intervenor landowners in

the Mille Lacs Band decision were allowed to intervene

because their property values could be adversely affected if

the Mille Lacs Band succeeded in acquiring treaty hunting

and fishing rights over that region. Jd. Hence, Magistrate

Erickson concluded that the Mille Lacs Band decision

compelled the Bank’s intervention because “FNB not only

owns property within the ‘former’ Reservation boundaries.

but also has a legal interest, through loans, in a large amount

of the property that could be affected by the disposition of

this litigation.” Jd.

The district court, however, determined the dispute

between the Bank and Respondents over the Band’s attempt

to resurrect the former 1855 reservation and to enact

regulations facially applicable to the Bank did not present a

justiciable controversy. (15a-27a). Although the district

court acknowledged that “[i]f the Band’s tribal authority

covers the full extent of the 1855 reservation, it might well

alter private and public sector relationships in the Mille Lacs

area,” (26a), the district court determined that absent actual

enforcement of the Band's statutes, the Bank lacked standing

and the issue was not ripe. (15a-27a).

The district court reached this conclusion on the mistaken

premise that the Bank is generally foreclosed from

maintaining a declaratory action in the absence of

infringement on the right to free speech or some other

fundamental right. (17a). The district court also side-

stepped the Bank’s evidence of actual harm to the value of its

business, its property and its security interests. (21a-22a).

14

Instead, the district court substituted its own judgment in

place of the factual record and concluded that property values

in the Mille Lacs region had been unaffected by the Band’s

reassertion of reservation boundaries. (22a).

Agreeing with the district court, the Eighth Circuit

determined that the Bank’s argument was mere speculation

and that the Bank failed to establish proof of injury sufficient

to withstand summary judgment. (5a-6a). The court did so

despite record evidence establishing present harm to the

Bank and its business from the controversy. irrespective of

whether the Band had acted to enforce its ordinances against

the Bank. /d. This evidence included. among other things.

an affidavit from the Bank’s Chairman stating “[t]he Band’s

assertion of regulatory authority over property the Bank owns

or on which it holds a security interest will depress the

market value of that property.” (58a). Additionally. the

Bank’s Chairman stated in a separate affrdavit:

One important aspect of extending credit is the

Bank's ability to perfect its security interest in loan

collateral. The Bank’s ability to perfect security

interests and to exercise creditor remedies will be

directly affected by the existence or nonexistence of

the disputed reservation boundaries. The Bank is

concerned that it might be subject to tribal court

jurisdiction for lending activities with members of the

Mille Lacs Band. The Bank does not want to be

subject to tribal court jurisdiction, and the Bank does

not want to be deprived of any rights or remedies it is

granted under Minnesota’s version of the Uniform

Commercial Code. If the Bank is deemed to be under

tribal court jurisdiction, its ability to enforce its rights

as a secured creditor will be impacted regardless of

whether the borrower is a Bandmember or not.

(67a-68a). The Bank’s Chairman further expressed concern

about the federal laws that regulate its day-to-day operations

15

and the need to “know with certainty where and how these

laws will be enforced and applied to manage its banking

activities.” (68a).

Despite this and other evidence, the Eighth Circuit

apparently afforded the district court's dismissal “unique and

substantial discretion.” (5a). Discretion. however. had no

place in review of this case because the abuse of discretion

standard of review only applies to review of a district court's

actual exercise of discretion under the declaratory judgment

act. Federal Express Corp. v. Air Line Pilots Ass'n, 67 F.3d

961, 963-64 and n.3 (D.C. Cir. 1995). Here, the district court

did not dismiss the case based on discretionary or prudential

considerations, but made a legal ruling that neither the Bank

nor the County had standing. Similarly, the Eighth Circuit

failed to cite any prudential consideration warranting

dismissal. Notwithstanding its reference to discretion. the

Eighth Circuit’s decision rested solely on a finding that the

Bank failed to adduce sufficient evidence of injury, i.e., there

was no standing. (5a-6a).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

THIS CASE PRESENTS THE IMPORTANT

FEDERAL QUESTION OF WHEN A NON-INDIAN

PARTY MAY CHALLENGE THE EXISTENCE OF

TRIBAL POWER TO REGULATE NON-INDIANS

The question whether the Mille Lacs Band has a

reservation within which it has authority to regulate

businesses activities is ready to be decided. The issue turns

on the effect of specific treaties, which either did or did not

disestablish the 1855 Mille Lacs Reservation. The issue

depends on historical fact, not some future event. Nothing

more needs to be done to define this dispute. As a business

within the disputed area and directly affected by the Band's

present assertion of legislative power, the Bank has a

sufficiently concrete interest in the dispute to have standing

to obtain a judicial resolution of whether the Bank is

16

answerable to Band authority for the Bank’s activities within

the disputed area.

This Court has consistently held that cases requiring no

further factual development are particularly amenable to

review. Duke Power Co. vy. Carolina Envil. Study Group.

Inc.. 438 U.S. 59, 81-82 (1978) (case ripe if further factual

development would not “significantly advance [the Court's]

ability to deal with the legal issues presented nor aid [the

Court in its] resolution.”):; Pacific Gas & Elec. Co. v. State

Energy Res. Conservation & Dev. Comm'n, 461 U.S. 190,

201 (1983). Here. neither the district court nor the Eighth

Circuit disputed that the issue is primarily legal. nor did those

courts identify any further factual development necessary to

resolve the reservation question. Indeed, the language ceding

the Mille Lacs Reservation in the 1863 and 1864 Treaties is

unambiguous. Likewise, it is undisputed that the Nelson Act

accomplished the elimination of the Mille Lacs Band’s

vestigial and provisional right to remain. Nothing in today’s

factual record can change those key facts.

In the context of boundary disputes. declaratory judgment

actions are especially appropriate because the court need do

nothing more than apply existing relevant case law to

specific treaty language. This Court and other courts have

exercised jurisdiction over declaratory judgments in

boundary disputes where the relief sought focused on the

Status of reservation boundaries. See, e.g. Rosebud Sioux

Tribe v. Kneip, 375 F. Supp. 1065, 1066 (D.S.D. 1974), aff'd.

S21 F.2d 87 (8th Cir. 1975), aff'd. 430 U.S. 584 (1977)

(plaintiffs sought a declaration that “three specific acts of

Congress did not diminish the Rosebud Sioux Reservation or

alter its boundaries from those defined in the act of March 2.

1889.°): City of New Town, N.D. v. United States, 454 F.2d

121. 122 (8th Cir. 1972) (declaratory judgment procedure

used to determine whether the reservation boundaries

continued to exist).

17

This case, like other boundary disputes, is amenable to

judicial resolution precisely because no further factual

development is necessary to crystallize the legal issue for

determination. As in Rosebud and New Town, there is a real.

concrete dispute between the parties. In Rosebud this Court

affirmed a declaratory ruling that addressed only the issue of

Whether the boundaries of a former reservation remained

intact. 430 U.S. at 585 (“[i]n June 1972 the Rosebud Sioux

Tribe sued in the United States District Court for the District

of South Dakota to obtain a declaratory judgment that the

original boundaries of their reservation, as defined in the Act

of March 2, 1889, 25 Stat. 888, had not been diminished by

three subsequent Acts of Congress .. .”). Rosebud did not

involve a member who had been arrested, charged civilly, or

otherwise subjected to state jurisdiction. /d. Rather, the tribe

and state had a disagreement over the existence of the

reservation boundaries and the tribe brought the case for

declaratory relief about the status of the reservation

boundaries. /d.

The issue here is on all fours with Rosebud. The Bank

and County contend that the reservation established by the

1855 Treaty has been disestablished. Band officials maintain

that the boundaries of the reservation created by the 1855

Treaty continue in legal effect: they also claim power to

regulate activities within the boundaries of the reservation

created by the 1855 Treaty. The federal courts. including this

Court. did not hesitate to exercise jurisdiction in Rosebud.

and there should have been no hesitation here.*

. Similarly, in /daho v. Coeur d'Alene Tribe of Idaho, 521

U.S. 261 (1997), although this Court dismissed the case on

Eleventh Amendment immunity grounds, this Court did not

question the Article III standing of a tribe to seek declaratory

relief about the status of reservation boundaries and the effect

on title to Lake Coeur d'Alene.

18

In New Town the district court granted declaratory relief

and the Eighth Circuit affirmed the declaratory relief where

the sole issue was the status of a reservation boundary. 454

F.2d at 123. As in Rosebud, the New Town case did not

involve any specific controversy or dispute other than

whether the reservation continued to exist. /d. Although one

tribal member had been arrested some eight years prior to the

time the New Town case was brought, the real catalyst for the

action was the issuance of an opinion from the Solicitor for

the Department of the Interior which “concluded that the

1910 Act had not altered the boundaries of the reservation . .

Id. That is the exact situation here. The Mille Lacs

Band has convinced the Solicitor of the Department of the

Interior to issue an opinion that the 1855 reservation

boundaries remain intact. The Band has also convinced the

EPA to grant it treatment as a state status on the grounds that

the 1855 reservation still exists and the Mille Lacs Band.

therefore. retains jurisdiction over that region.

The case of South Dakota vy. Yankton Sioux Tribe, 522

U.S. 329 (1998) is also instructive. There, tribal, federal and

state officials had a “disagree[ment] as to the environmental

regulations applicable to a proposed waste site.” /d. at 340.

Although the tribe initially sought injunctive relief, the

injunction issue was abandoned on appeal, and the sole issue

presented for review was the status of the reservation

boundaries. /d. at 341. As in Rosebud. this Court did not

hesitate to grant certiorari to resolve the reservation boundary

question. /d. at 341-42: accord Lower Brule Sioux Tribe v.

State of South Dakota, 711 F.2d 809, 812 (8th Cir. 1983)

(exercising jurisdiction over an action involving “a dispute

between the State of South Dakota and the Lower Brule

Sioux Tribe over which of them will regulate hunting and

fishing activity at the Fort Randall and Big Bend dam and

reservoir projects.”). Like the relief sough in the }ankton

Sioux Tribe case. the Bank here seeks relief to determine who

en

19

has jurisdiction within the disputed region, which turns on

the status of the reservation boundaries.

These cases illustrate that there need not be. as the district

court and Eighth Circuit would require here, actual

enforcement of tribal regulations before a party may

challenge a tribe’s assertion of jurisdiction. When the

dispute crystallizes into a disagreement over the existence of

reservation boundaries and the tribe’s authority over the

reservation, the federal courts have jurisdiction to resolve the

dispute.

Indeed, the federal circuit courts have consistently

recognized that a party may maintain a pre-enforcement

action when a tribe asserts regulatory authority over the

party. For example. in Baker Electric Co-op, Inc. v. Chaske.

28 F.3d 1466 (8th Cir. 1994), the Devils Lake Sioux Tribe

enacted a tribal utilities code, asserting regulatory authority

within the historic boundaries of the Devils Lake Sioux

Indian Reservation. /d. at 1470. In response to~ the

enactment of the utilities code, Baker Electric Cooperative

and Sheyenne Valley Cooperative brought suit against

members of the tribal utilities commission — seeking

declaratory and injunctive relief. /d. The Devils Lake Band

moved for dismissal on the basis that the tribal utilities code

had never been enforced. /d. at 1471.

The court squarely rejected the argument that pre-

enforcement suits regarding tribal ordinances are improper:

we reject the Tribe’s contention that officer suits are

inappropriate where the officers have not acted. The

RECs seek to enjoin the members of the Tribal

Utilities Commission from enforcing the Tribal

Utilities Code, and therefore their suits are squarely

of the type recognized and approved of by this court

in Northern States Power.

20

Id. (citation omitted). The Bank's circumstances and the

relief sought here are indistinguishable from the circum-

stances and relief the utilities sought in Baker Electric.

Similarly. in Northern States Power Co. v. Prairie Island

Mdewakanton Sioux Indian Cmty, 991 F.2d 458 (8th Cir.

1993). the utility brought a pre-enforcement action to enjoin

a tribal’ ordinance that on its face regulated shipments of

nuclear materials over reservation lands. /d. at 459-60. In

the district court the tribe argued that the court should not

enter injunctive relief because the tribe did not really intend

to enforce its ordinance according to its terms and was

willing to enter into a cooperative agreement with the utility.

Northern States Power Co. v. Prairie Island Mdewakanton

Sioux Indian Cmty. 781 F. Supp. 612, 616 (D. Minn. 1991).

Thus there was really no harm. /d.

The district court flatly rejected this argument: “[s]o long

as the Tribal Council has authority to enforce the ordinance

‘to the letter.” the court must assume the Tribal Council will

do so and analyze the effect of the ordinance as written.” Jd.

The Eighth Circuit affirmed the district court’s conclusion on

appeal. Northern States Power, 991 F.2d at 463 (“[t]he

district court simply assumed that the tribe would enforce the

ordinance as written and refused to speculate that the tribe

and NSP might someday enter into negotiations and agree

upon a less burdensome regulatory scheme.”): see also

Wisconsin v. Baker, 698 F.2d 1323. 1326 (7th Cir. 1983)

(declaratory judgment action initiated against tribal officials

only three days after tribal ordinance enacted): Tenneco Oil

Co. v. Sac & Fox Tribe of Indians of Okla., 725 F.2d 572.

574-75 (10th Cir. 1984) (allowing pre-enforcement challenge

to tribal ordinances).

The vague assurances made by Band officials in this case

are no different than the vague assurance made by the tribe in

Northern States Power. Here, Band officials argued, and the

district court agreed. that because Band officials only intend

21

to enforce their statutes to the extent allowed by federal law

and because federal law restricts a tribe’s ability to enforce

statutes against non-members, the Bank had really suffered

no harm in the absence of actual enforcement. (18a & n.8).

If, however, the Bank knew for certain that it was not located

within a reservation, the reach of tribal authority over the

Bank would not be in question. Cf Atkinson Trading Co. v.

Shirley, 532 U.S. 645, 653 (2001) (“An Indian tribe's

sovereign power to tax — whatever its derivation — reaches no

further than tribal land.”); Hornell Brewing Co. v. Rosebud

—Stoux Tribal Court, 133 F.3d 1087, 1091-92 (8th Cir. 1998)

(no tribal jurisdiction exists outside the boundaries of a

reservation). The Band has asserted the reservation exists

and has enacted a panoply of laws to regulate business

activity within the former reservation, including banking.

The Eighth Circuit’s decision here conflicts with Baker

Electric, Northern States Power, Wisconsin v. Baker and

Tenneco Oil, which the court simply ignored. Strikingly, the

Eighth Circuit also ignored its own decision in Mille Lacs

Band of Chippewa Indians v. Minnesota, 989 F.2d 994 (8th

Cir. 1993). Mille Lacs Band involved whether the Band had

rights under an 1837 treaty to hunt and fish in an area within

Minnesota that included Mille Lacs County. /d. at 996. On

appeal from the district court’s denial of intervention, the

Eighth Circuit held that because the landowner intervenors

had: interests in property located within the area where the

Band was asserting hunting and fishing rights and because

those property interests could be adversely affected by the

Band’s actions, the intervenors had a legally _protectable

interest. /d. at 998.* In reversing the denial of intervention,

: Tellingly, the federal magistrate in this case recognized that

the Mille Lacs decision was directly on point and concluded

that that decision compelled a ruling allowing the Bank to

intervene. (86a).

22

the Eighth Circuit observed “the result of the litigation also

may affect the proposed intervenors’ property values.” /d. at

998. That observation, made in granting the property owners

party status. certainly supports the Bank's standing here.

where more concrete harm was shown. More startling is the

lower court's complete failure to address its own precedent.

For the Bank. whether the 1855 reservation continues to

exist today as a juridical entity within which the Mille Lacs

Band has broad regulatory authority is no theoretical issue or

law school faculty debate. Resolution of the reservation

boundaries will have meaningful effect because a decision on

the merits will remove any uncertainty over whether there is

still a 61.000-acre reservation in the middle of Minnesota

Where the Band has any authority to act. The Bank has taken

out mortgages within the former reservation. It loans money

to customers within that area and its customers include Band

members.

On their face. Band regulations currently apply to the

Bank. and any Band member that has a credit dispute could

haul the Bank into tribal court today if the 1855 reservation

continues to exist. For example, the Band has asserted

jurisdiction over TILA claims by incorporating 15 U.S.C.

§ 1601 ef seg. into 24 MLBSA § 5 (5la-52a) and asserting

jurisdiction over all such claims “located on lands subject to

the jurisdiction of the Non-Removable Mille Lacs Band of

Chippewa Indians.” 24 MLBSA § 2 (5la). The Band has

enacted a similar provision that purports to grant the Mille

Lacs Band Tribal Court exclusive jurisdiction over claims

arising under the Uniform Commercial Code and Minnesota

consumer protection laws on lands subject to the jurisdiction

of the Band. 24 MLBSA 8§ 2. 4, 5 and 6 (S5la-52a). If valid.

the Bank's right to enforce its Article Nine remedies is

presently circumscribed. See 24 MLBSA § 3309 (requiring

tribal court order to repossess collateral) (53a). This alone

should be sufficient to confer standing on the Bank to

determine whether or not the reservation continues to exist.

23

If it does, the Bank may be answerable to tribal court and

needs to plan accordingly.

The Band’s patent assertion of authority to regulate

businesses within the claimed reservation puts the Bank in a

tenuous position. Exactly how tenuous is shown by

Williams-Willis v. Carmel Financial Corp., 139 F. Supp. 2d

773 (S.D. Miss. 2001). In Williams-Willis, the plaintiff

brought a Truth In Lending Act (TILA), 15 U.S.C. § 1601 e7

seq., Claim against a bank in tribal court. /d. at 774-75. The

bank removed the case to federal court based on the federal

question raised. In granting the plaintiff's motion to

remand, the court held the action non-removable from tribal

court, despite the federal TILA claim being asserted. /d. at

775-76.

The Bank also faces an issue over how it can enforce any

security interests it might have with Band members. In

Babbitt Ford, Inc. v. Navajo Indian Tribe, 710 F.2d 587 (9th

Cir. 1983), a secured creditor attempted peaceable

repossession of its collateral within the Navajo reservation.

Id. at 590-91. The tribal court granted damages to the debtor

on the ground that its tribal code barred such self help, an

action two federal courts affirmed. /d. at 591. These cases

demonstrate how reservation boundaries affect the Bank.

Other consequences flow from reservation status. For

example, the Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. § 1251 ef seg.. has

been read to embrace tribal jurisdiction over non-members.

33 U.S.C. § 1377. Treatment as a state status is dependent

on reservation status because 33 U.S.C. § 1377(h)(1) defines

“federal Indian reservation” identically to “Indian Country”

in 18 U.S.C. § 1151. Likewise, the National Historic

Preservation Act, 16 U.S.C. § 470(a) et seg.. provides that a

tribe may be able to assume “all or any part of the functions

of a State Historic Preservation Officer in accordance with

subsections (b)(2) and (b)(3) of this section, with respect to

tribal lands, as such responsibilities may be modified for

tribal programs through regulations issued by the Secretary . .

24

16 U.S.C. § 470a (d)\(1(C)(2). “Tribal lands.” of

course. are defined as “all lands within the exterior

boundaries of any Indian reservation.” 16 U.S.C.

470w(14)(a).

These jurisdictional grants are not merely hypothetical.

The Band is asserting power over the Bank; it has also

attempted to control the actions of private landowners solely

because the land was within the former reservation. (76a-

82a). Who controls land use affects land values. If the 1855

reservation exists. the Band can avoid county zoning

entirely.” This increases the risk to the Bank that its

collateral will be unexpectedly devalued. The issue of

whether the 1855 reservation still exists could hardly be more

concretely defined.

The district court and the Eighth Circuit skirted the issue

by accepting the Band’s argument that the Bank has no

standing due to this Court’s constraints on tribal authority

over nonmembers. Yet it is no secret that numerous tribes

are currently working to overturn this Court’s decisions

limiting tribal authority over nonmembers. See, e.g.. Alex

Tallchief Skibine. The Dialogic of Federalism in Federal

Indian Law and the Rehnquist Court: The Need for

Coherence and Integration, 8 TEX. F. ON C.L. & C.R. 1, 2

(Spring 2003). In fact. recently in United States v. Lara, 124

S. Ct. 1628 (2004), this Court recognized Congress's power

to overturn restrictions on tribal authority over nonmembers

and affirmed tribal criminal jurisdiction over nonmember

Indians. /d. at 1633.

Rather than acknowledge the reality of what is going on

in this case. the district court and Eighth Circuit determined

that the Bank failed to establish proof of injury sufficient to

* Indeed. the Band disputes that it is subject to County zoning

laws. (70a). The Band also claims it is immune from

County taxation and pays its taxes only under protest (69a).

withstand summary judgment. Those courts did so despite

evidence establishing present harm to the Bank and its

business from the controversy, irrespective of whether the

Band had acted to enforce its ordinances against the Bank.

The Band's assertion of regulatory authority over property

which the Bank owns or on which it holds a security interest

should be sufficient to establish its standing to contest that

potential jurisdiction. Moreover, the Band's regulatory

scheme impacts the Bank’s livelihood. (58a-59a; 67a-68a).

Indeed, the specter of Band regulation poses significant

operational concerns to the Bank, because the Band in its

Statutes has asserted enforcement authority over federal

banking laws and U.C.C. Article Nine remedies. (67a-68a).

Furthermore, because the Bank has Band members as

customers, under Band statutes, any Band member doing

business with the Bank could take the Bank to tribal court for

alleged violations of the Truth in Lending Act, for example.

or violations of Article Nine of the U.C.C.

More importantly, however, the district court and the

Eighth Circuit failed to recognize the unique nature of an

action like this. For more than a century, nonmember

residents of Mille Lacs County considered the boundaries of

the former 1855 reservation disestablished. Due to the

Band's reassertion of juridical and sovereign authority over

this region, residents and businesses within a 61,000 acre

area are left in the precarious position of not knowing

whether they live within an Indian reservation. Aside from

the financial impact to the Bank and its security interests, the

Band's assertion of juridical and sovereign authority in itself

is injury enough to confer Article III standing.

This is also an issue that impacts nonmembers and

members alike on a daily basis. Nonmembers have the right

to know where they stand, and the federal courts should not

hesitate to issue a declaratory ruling in a case like this. In the

words of Justice Souter, “[t]he ability of nonmembers to

know where tribal jurisdiction begins and ends, it should be

26

ss

stressed. is a matter of real. practical consequence... .

Nevada vy. Hicks, 533 U.S. 353, 383 (2001) (Souter, J.

concurring) (emphasis added).

Where. as here. a tribe attempts to resurrect long

disestablished reservation boundaries. nonmembers living

and doing business within those boundaries should have

access to the federal courts to obtain declaratory relief

concerning the tribal claim. The situation here is similar to

the situation in Oneida Indian Nation of N.Y. v. City of

Sherrill, N.Y., 337 F.3d 139 (2d Cir. 2003), cert. granted, 124

S. Ct. 2904 (2004). There. this Court granted certiorari to

resolve the status of a claimed reservation. /d. This is of

little surprise as the Oneida Tribe there is attempting rewrite

history to reclaim a 300.000 acre reservation in Central New

York /d. Here. the Mille Lacs Band is attempting to rewrite

history and reclaim a 61.000 acre reservation in the heart of

Minnesota.

This Court should thus grant certiorari in this case to

establish that what the Mille Lacs Band has done here is

sufficient to confer Article III jurisdiction on the federal

courts to resolve the dispute. The Mille Lacs Band has laid

claim to and asserted jurisdiction over a 61.000 acre

reservation in which the Bank is located, and the Bank seeks

redress to establish that it is not subject to Band regulation by

virtue of being within a reservation. Previously this Court

and other federal circuit courts had addressed reservation

boundary disputes when the issue was crystallized and

concrete, as it is here. Granting certiorari will al'ow the

Court to clarify that its precedent provides federal

jurisdiction over a reservation boundary dispute brought by a

litigant with a well defined interest in the outcome. Which

sovereigns can regulate a business is an issue of such

importance that those private businesses affected should not

have to wait for a tribal court summons. The Bank should

have the right now to challenge the Band's attempt to “take it

back.”

27

CONCLUSION

~ ( . *¢ > . ~

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for a writ of

certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

SCOTT GREGORY KNUDSON

Counsel of Record

BRYANT D. TCHIDA

BRIGGS AND MORGAN, P.A.

332 Minnesota Street

Suite 2200

Saint Paul, MN 55101

(651) 808-6600

August 17, 2004 Counsel for Petitioner

First National Bank of Milaca

APPENDICES

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

EIGHTH CIRCUIT

[Filed: March 9, 2004.]

No. 03-2527, 03-2537.

COUNTY OF MILLE LACS,

Plaintiff-—Appellant,

FIRST NATIONAL BANK, OF MILACA,

Intervenor Plaintiff,

V.

MELANIE BENJAMIN, individually and officially as Chief

Executive, Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa Indians; HERB

WEYAUS, individually and officially as Secretary/Trea-

surer, Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa Indians; SANDRA

BLAKE, individually and officially as District Represen-

tative, Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa Indians; MARVIN

BRUNEAU, individually and officially as District Represen-

tative, Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa Indians; HARRY

DAVIS, individually and officially as District Represen-

tative, Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa Indians,

Defendants—Appellees,

2a

STATE OF MINNESOTA; STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA,

Amicus on Behalf of Appellant.

COUNTY OF MILLE LACS,

Plaintiff,

FIRST NATIONAL BANK, of MILACA,

Intervenor Plaintiff—Appellant,

V.

MELANIE BENJAMIN, individually and officially as Chief

Executive, Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa Indians; HERB

WEYAUS, individually and officially as Secretary/Trea-

surer, Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa Indians; SANDRA

BLAKE, individually and officially as District Represen-

tative, Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa Indians; MARVIN

BRUNEAU, individually and officially as District Represen-

tative, Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa Indians; HARRY

DAVIS, individually and officially as District Represen-

tative, Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa Indians,

Defendants—Appellees,

STATE OF MINNESOTA, Amicus on Behalf of Appellant.

Rehearing and Rehearing En Banc Denied May 19, 2004.

Before RILEY, BOWMAN and SMITH, Circuit Judges.

SMITH, Circuit Judge.

County of Mille Lacs (“County”) and the First National

Bank of Milaca (“Bank”), appeal from an order of the district

court dismissing their action seeking to determine the legal

status of the boundaries of the Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa

Indians (“Band”) reservation. We affirm.

Tar nef, Sey Oe

3a

I.

The facts for this case extend back nearly 170 years. The

district court opinion described them well, and we will not

recapitulate them all. County of Mille Lacs v. Benjamin, 262

F.Supp.2d 990 (D.Minn.2003). Relevant to this appeal, the

appellants brought suit in federal court seeking declaratory

relief regarding the boundary status of the Mille Lacs Indian

Reservation. The County and the Bank contend that the

reservation’s boundary status is a critical issue to many

residents in Mille Lacs County. The Bank alleges that the

reservation’s boundary status must be defined because the

Band’s assertion of regulatory authority over parts of the

reservation’s territory has had a negative effect on the value

of the Bank’s security interests. In the Bank’s view, the

Band’s allegations of ownership and jurisdiction to parts of

the reservation have harmed the Bank’s economic interest.

The County contends that the uncertainty of the reser-

vation’s boundaries is detrimental to the County’s ability to

enforce laws and building and environmental permits that are

directly dependent on the reservation’s boundaries.

At the close of initial discovery, the Band moved for

summary judgment on the following grounds: standing, ripe-

ness, sovereign immunity, and indispensable party. The

district court granted the Band’s motion after determining that

neither the Bank nor the County had standing to question the

legal status of the reservation’s boundaries. Also, the court

determined that the present dispute was not ripe for adjudi-

cation. On May 7, 2003, the district court, in granting the

Band’s motion for summary judgment, dismissed the claim

with prejudice. This appeal followed.

On appeal, the County and the Bank argue that they have

suffered both threatened injury and present harms to their

ability to plan and conduct business. Specifically, they allege

numerous harms, including: greater regulatory oversight by

4a

the EPA, limits on county and state regulatory authority, and

expansion of the reach of tribal authority. Lastly, the appell-

ants contend that the district court erred in dismissing the

suit with prejudice because the dismissal was based on

jurisdictional grounds. We consider each argument in turn.

II.

We review a district court’s grant of summary judgment

based on standing de novo. Oti Kaga, Inc. v. S. Dakota Hous.

Dev. Auth., 342 F.3d 871, 877 (8th Cir.2003) (citing Nat'l.

Fed’n. of the Blind of Mo. v. Cross, 184 F.3d 973, 979 (8th

Cir.1999)). Summary judgment is proper if there is no gen-

uine issue as to any material fact and the moving party is

entitled to judgment as a matter of law. Fed.R.Civ.P. 56(c).

When ruling on a summary judgment motion, a court must

view the evidence “in the light most favorable to the

nonmoving party.” Oti Kaga, Inc., 342 F.3d at 877 (citing

Dush v. Appleton Elec. Co., 124 F.3d 957, 962-63 (8th

Cir.1997)).

A. Standing

Federal courts only have jurisdiction to hear actual cases

and controversies. U.S. Const. art. III, § 2, cl. 1. “[F]ederal

courts are without power to decide questions that cannot

affect the rights of litigants in the case before them.” North

Carolina v. Rice, 404 U.S. 244, 246, 92 S.Ct. 402, 30 L.Ed.2d

413 (1971). The controversy must be definite and concrete,

touching the legal relations of parties having adverse legal

interests. Nat’l Fed’n of the Blind of Mo., 184 F.3d at 979

(emphasis added). A party must satisfy constitutional

standing requirements for its case to proceed to adjudication.

Id. A party has standing to bring a claim if it has suffered

some actual or threatened injury.

“The controversy requirement of the Declaratory Judgment

Act is synonymous with that of Article III of the Consti-

Sa

tution.” Carson v. Pierce, 719 F.2d 931, 933 (8th Cir.1983)

(citing Aetna Life Ins. Co. v. Haworth, 300 U.S. 227, 239-40,

57 S.Ct. 461, 81 L.Ed. 617 (1937); Cass County v. United

States, 570 F.2d 737, 739 (8th Cir.1978)). In order to

demonstrate standing, a plaintiff must “demonstrate that he

has suffered [an] injury in fact, that the injury is fairly

traceable to the actions of the defendant, and that the injury

will likely be redressed by a favorable decision.” Bennett v.

Spear, 520 U.S. 154, 162, 117 S.Ct. 1154, 137 L.Ed.2d 281

(1997) (citing Lujan v. Defenders of Wildlife, 504 U.S. 555,

560-561, 112 S.Ct. 2130, 119 L.Ed.2d 351 (1992);

*464Valley Forge Christian Coll. v. Am. United for Sepa-

ration of Church and State, Inc., 454 U.S. 464, 471-472, 102

S.Ct. 752, 70 L.Ed.2d 700 (1982) (internal citations omitted)).

“The essential distinction between a declaratory judgment

action and an action seeking other relief is that in the former

no actual wrong need have been committed or loss have

occurred in order to sustain the action.” Horne v. Firemen’s

Ret. Sys. of St. Louis, 69 F.3d 233, 236 (8th Cir.1995)

(quoting United States v. Fisher-Otis Co., 496 F.2d 1146,

1151 (10th Cir.1974)). The County and the Bank argue that

they have standing because they have suffered threatened

injury caused by the Band’s alleged ownership of certain

parts of the Mille Lacs Indian Reservation. We disagree.

We give a district court’s decision to dismiss a declaratory-

judgment action unique and substantial discretion. See

Brillhart v. Excess Ins. Co., 316 U.S. 491, 62 S.Ct. 1173, 86

L.Ed. 1620 (1942); Horne v. Firemen’s Retirement System

of St. Louis, 69 F.3d 233, 236-37 (8th Cir.1995). Here,

the district court correctly concluded that the appellants

lacked standing.

The Bank alleged in its complaint that the Band’s assertion

of regulatory authority over property in which the Bank holds

a security interest reduced the value of its collateral.

Specifically, the Bank alleges that, if imposed, the Band’s

6a

enactments could impact federal banking laws and the

Minnesota Uniform Commercial Code thereby directly

affecting the Bank’s operations. Also, the Bank noted that the

Band owns a nearby financial institution that competes

directly with the Bank. The Bank provided affidavits of

lenders expressing concern whether clear title to their

property can be obtained in the disputed area. The Bank also

provided letters from residents stating that they would not

have purchased property within the boundaries of a

reservation and that they would not have built a home within

the boundaries of a reservation. These statements of concern,

however, do not establish an injury in fact. At best, they

reflect speculative harms based upon the assumed future

intent of the Band.

The County has failed to establish standing. We agree with

the Band that the County has been unable to point to any

definite controversy that exists from the Band’s purported

expansion of tribal jurisdiction over the disputed portion of

the reservation. The County presented no evidence that its

ability to enforce state or local law on the reservation has

been usurped or even affected by the Band’s alleged

intentions. In order to demonstrate standing, a plaintiff must

demonstrate that he has suffered an injury or a threatened

injury. Neither the County nor the Bank has shown that it

is in immediate danger of sustaining threatened injury

traceable to an action of the Band. Therefore, they are unable

to demonstrate standing. Furthermore, because there is no

actual “case or controversy” before our Court, the ripeness

issue is moot.

B. Dismissal

The district court issued its summary judgment with

prejudice. A district court is generally barred from dismissing

a case with prejudice if it concludes subject matter

jurisdiction is absent. Ahmed v. United States, 147 F.3d 791,

7a

797 (8th Cir.1998) (citing Johnson vy. Boyd-Richardson Co.,

650 F.2d 147, 148 (8th Cir.1981) (“Under Rule 41(b) of the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, dismissal for lack of

jurisdiction is not an adjudication on the merits and thus such

a dismissal should be without prejudice”)); Charchenko v.

City of Stillwater, 47 F.3d 981, 985 (8th Cir.1995). Because

the district *465 court dismissed solely on jurisdictional

grounds, dismissal with prejudice is premature. We reverse

this portion of the judgment and direct that the district court

enter judgment without prejudice.

lil,

In conclusion, we affirm the district court’s dismissal for

lack of standing. However, we reverse the district court’s

decision to dismiss the complaint with prejudice. The

appellant’s motion to supplement the record is denied.

361 F.3d 460

Briefs and Other Related Documents (Back to top)

2003 WL 23096741 (Appellate Brief) Reply Brief of

Plaintiff-Appellant County of Mille Lacs (Oct. 17,

2003)Original Image of this Document (PDF)

e 03-2537 Docket)

(Jun. 17, 2003)

e 03-2527 Docket)

(Jun. 16, 2003)

e 2003 WL _ 23096738 (Appellate Brief) Brief of

Plaintiff-Appellant County of Mille Lacs (2003)Original

Image of this Document (PDF)

e =2003 WL 23096739 (Appellate Brief) Brief of the

State of South Dakota, Amicus Curiae, in Support of

Petitioner (2003)Original Image of this Document (PDF)

8a

e 2002 WL 32340890 (Appellate Brief) Brief of

Appellant First National Bank of Milaca (2002)Original

Image of this Document (PDF)

9a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

D. MINNESOTA

No. 02-CV-407 JMRRLE

COUNTY OF MILLE LACS et al.

.

MELANIE BENJAMIN et al.

May 6, 2003

ORDER

ROSENBAUM, Chief Judge.

Plaintiff County of Mille Lacs (“County”), and intervenor,

First National Bank of Milaca,' ask the Court to declare the

legal status of an Indian reservation.” The reservation was

established by an 1855 treaty between the Mille Lacs Band of

Chippewa Indians and the United States of America.

Defendants are individual leaders of the Mille Lacs Band of

Chippewa Indians. This matter is before the Court on

defendants’ motion for summary judgment.

' The First National Bank of Milaca has intervened as a plaintiff. See

Fed.R.Civ.P. 24(a)(2). For purposes of this motion, the Court will refer to

the County and the Bank collectively as plaintiffs.

> Plaintiffs also ask the Court to strike defendants’ supplemental

exhibits and affidavits. Because these materials were not used by the

Court in rendering its decision, plaintiffs' motion is moot.

10a

I. Background

A brief history of the reservation provides a context for this

dispute. In 1837, not far from Fort Snelling, Minnesota, the

United States and 12 Chippewa Nation Bands negotiated a

treaty under which the Chippewa Bands ceded title to certain

upper midwest lands to the United States.

On February 22, 1855, the Minnesota Chippewa entered

into another treaty, whereby six separate tracts of reservation

land were established as a permanent home for the Minnesota

Chippewa, including the Mille Lacs Band. The Mille Lacs

Band encompassed some 61,000 acres around Kathio, South

Harbor, and Isle Harbor townships in Minnesota (hereinafter

“the 1855 reservation’).

Two additional treaties, 12 Stat. 1249 (1863) and 13 Stat.

693 (1864),° are of interest. In 1863, and again in 1864, the

Minnesota Chippewa entered into treaties ceding further

lands to the United States. Article XII of both treaties

provides, “that, owing to the heretofore good conduct of the

Mille Lac [sic] Indians, they shall not be compelled to

remove [from their reservation to White Earth] so long as

they shall not in any way interfere with or in any manner

molest the persons or property of the whites.”

The treaty terms were not, however, always honored. As

stated by the Court of Claims, “[t]he 1863 and 1864 treaties

notwithstanding, between 1871 and 1889, 55,976.42 acres of

the Mille Lac land were filed against under the public land

laws, 1.e., homestead and preemption entries were made on

over ninety percent of it.” Minn. Chippewa Tribe v. United

States, 11 Cl.Ct. 221, 225 (1986). On July 4, 1884, to forestall

this loss, Congress stayed any patenting or disposal of Mille

Lacs land pending further legislation. See Ch. 180, 23 Stat.

> The 1864 Treaty also earmarked specific tracts of land for Mille Lacs

Band leadership.

lla

76, 98 (1884). In 1889, not long thereafter, Congress passed

the Nelson Act, which applied the policies of the General

Allotment Act to the Chippewa Bands. The Nelson Act

contained several provisions significantly different from the

General Allotment Act. While the General Allotment Act

provided individual members with certain proceeds from the

sale of tribal land, the Nelson Act directed any profits derived

from land sales into a collective permanent trust fund for the

Minnesota Chippewa Band.

On February 15, 1909, Congress authorized the Court of

Claims:

to hear and determine a suit or suits to be brought by and

on behalf of the Mille Lac [sic] Band of Chipp-

ewa Indians in the State of Minnesota against the United

State [sic] on account of losses sustained by them or the

Chippewas of Minnesota by reason of the opening of the

Mille Lac [sic] Reservation . . . to public settlement

under the general land laws of the United States.

35 Stat. 619, c. 126 (1909). The Mille Lacs Band filed suit

pursuant to the 1909 Act to recover losses resulting from the

1889 Act. This suit was ultimately heard and resolved by the

United States Supreme Court, which ordered an assessment

of damages in favor of the Band. See United States v. Mille

Lac Band of Chippewa Indians, 229 U.S. 498, 33 S.Ct. 811,

57 L.Ed. 1299 (1913). Shortly after this decision, the United

States purchased land for the Mille Lacs Band and made

allotments to it and its members. The 4,000 acres purchased

at that time are held in trust, and are not disputed here.

In 1990, the Mille Lacs Band filed a lawsuit which casts its

shadow over the present matter. By joining with several other

Bands, they sought a declaratory judgment to establish

entitlement to continued implied hunting and fishing rights

originally guaranteed in the 1837 Treaty. Nine years later, the

United States Supreme Court ruled in their favor, and in

12a

Minnesota v. Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa Indians, 526 U.S.

172, 119 S.Ct. 1187, 143 L.Ed.2d 270 (1999), found that the

1837 Treaty protected the their hunting and fishing rights.

Notwithstanding the finality of the Supreme Court’s decision,

there still remain a number of unresolved issues between the

Mille Lacs Band and neighboring landowners.

It is'also appropriate to recognize that, over the past few

years, the Mille Lacs Band has opened two highly successful

casinos, and has used revenues therefrom to acquire addi-

tional land. During this time, the Mille Lacs Band leaders

have referred to a possible reassertion of their claim to land

within the 1855 reservation boundaries. This claim has

exacerbated relations between the Mille Lacs Band and its

nearby neighbors, who brought this case. Plaintiffs ask the

Court to declare that the Mille Lacs Band has no claim to any

land beyond that which it occupies today.

Il. Discussion

Defendants premise their motion to dismiss on four juris-

dictional arguments. First, they claim plaintiffs lack standing

to assert their claims. Second, they deny plaintiffs’ claims are

ripe for adjudication. Third, they claim sovereign immunity

bars the action. Fourth, they claim plaintiffs’ failure to join

the United States in this action is a failure to join an

indispensable party.“

Before addressing the merits of their motion, the Court

must consider the posture of the motion. The First National

Bank of Milaca argues that dismissal, not summary judgment,

is the proper remedy for a non-justiciable suit. Pl. Opp’n

Mem. at 8 (citing Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b)). While the Court agrees

that if plaintiffs lack standing dismissal is the proper remedy,

it finds defendants have properly raised justiciability argu-

* The Court finds it lacks subject matter jurisdiction and declines to

rule on the latter two arguments.

13a

ments through their summary judgment motion. Dep’t of

Commerce v. U.S. House of Representatives, 525 U.S. 316,

329, 119 S.Ct. 765, 142 L.Ed.2d 797 (1999); Lujan y.

Defenders of Wildlife, 504 U.S. 555, 561, 112 S.Ct. 2130, 119

L.Ed.2d 351 (1992).

Defendants are foreclosed from filing a motion to dismiss,

having already interposed an answer. Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b) (“A

motion making any [12(b) ] defenses shall be made before

pleading if a further pleading is permitted.”); see also 5A

Charles Alan Wright & Arthur R. Miller, Federal Practice and

Procedure § 1361 (Supp.2002) (“{MJotions raising [a lack of

subject matter defense] may be considered by the court even

when interposed after the responsive pleading has been filed,

although technically [it is] no longer [a] Rule 12(b) motion

[ ].”). Therefore, because a motion to dismiss is procedurally

barred, the Court employs the traditional summary judgment

analysis to evaluate standing.

Under this rubric, plaintiffs must establish a genuine issue

of material fact as to justiciability in order to survive

summary judgment. Dep’t of Commerce, 525 U.S. at 329,

119 S.Ct. 765 (“To prevail on a... motion for summary

judgment—as opposed to a motion to dismiss—{ ] mere

allegations of injury are insufficient. Rather, a plaintiff must

establish that there exists no genuine issue of material fact as

to justiciability or the merits.”); Lujan, 504 U.S. at 56i, 112

S.Ct. 2130 (“Since [the elements of standing] are not mere

pleading requirements but rather an indispensable part of

the plaintiffs case, each element must be supported ir. the

same way as any other matter on which the plaintiff bears

the burden of proof, i.e., with the manner and degree of

evidence required at the successive stages of the litigation.”)

(citations omitted).

ecient eis

14a

A. Standing

The question of standing “involves constitutional limi-

tations of federal court jurisdiction.” Bennett v. Spear, 520

U.S. 154, 162, 117 S.Ct. 1154, 137 L.Ed.2d 281 (1997)

(quoting Warth v. Seldin, 422 U.S. 490, 498, 95 S.Ct. 2197,

45 L.Ed.2d 343 (1975)). “To satisfy the case or controversy

requirement of Article III, which is the irreducible consti-

tutional minimum of standing, a plaintiff must, generally

speaking, demonstrate that he has suffered injury in fact, that

the injury is fairly traceable to the actions of the defendant,

and that the injury will likely be redressed by a favorable

decision.” Jd. “In addition to constitutional requirements,

standing also involves prudential limits on the exercise of

federal jurisdiction.” Rosebud Sioux Tribe v. McDivitt, 286

F.3d 1031, 1036 (8th Cir.2002) (citing Bennett, 520 U.S. at

162, 117 S.Ct. 1154).

Constitutional standing “assures that the legal questions

presented to the court will be resolved, not in the rarified

atmosphere of a debating society, but in a concrete factual

context conducive to a realistic appreciation of the

consequences of judicial action.” Valley Forge Christian

Coll. v. Ams. United for Separation of Church and State, Inc.,

454 U.S. 464, 472, 102 S.Ct. 752, 70 L.Ed.2d 700 (1982).

“Absent specific facts establishing distinct and palpable

injuries fairly traceable to [the defendants’ conduct]” the

injury in fact requirement is not satisfied. Ark. ACORN Fair

Hous., Inc. v. Greystone Dev., Inc., 160 F.3d 433, 435 (8th

Cir.1998). Therefore, absent an actual controversy, the Court

lacks jurisdiction. See Caldwell v. Gurley Ref. Co., 755 F.2d

645, 648 (8th Cir.1985).

1. Law of the Case

First National Bank of Milaca claims the Court’s inquiry

into its standing is foreclosed by Magistrate Judge Noel’s

Order allowing it to intervene. The Bank asserts the

15a

Magistrate’s ruling established the binding “law of the case.”

The Bank is incorrect; its position misconstrues the “law of

the case.”

The Bank cites a number of cases, including Klein vy.

Arkoma Prod. Co., 73 F.3d 779, 784 (8th Cir.1996), to

support its position. Klein, however, refers not to a

magistrate’s ruling vis-a-vis the district court hearing the

case, but rather to the precedential effect of an appellate

court’s decision on the lower court when the matter is

remanded. This case is entirely different.

If the Bank’s argument is correct, this Court could never

alter a magistrate’s decision, or indeed, one of its own. To the

contrary, it is clear that a district court may correct itself to

avoid later reversal when convinced a decision “is clearly

erroneous and would work a manifest injustice.” Arizona v.

California, 460 U.S. 605, 618, 103 S.Ct. 1382, 75 L.Ed.2d

318 n. 8 (1983); Lovett v. Gen. Motors Corp., 975 F.2d 518,

$22 (8th Cir.1992); 28 U.S.C. § 636 (granting district court

judge’s authority to reverse erroneous magistrate orders). In

Lovett, the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals upheld a district

court’s reconsideration of its own standing decision. See id.

Because the law of the case doctrine applies only to issues

decided by final judgments, id., the earlier decision did not

bind the court. Here, the Magistrate did permit the Bank to

intervene. But the law of the case does not bar this Court’s

consideration of the Bank’s standing.

2. Do Plaintiffs Have Standing?

Constitutional standing requires that plaintiffs suffer some

injury to justify the Court’s entry of a declaratory judgment.

Standing requires either actual or threatened injury. Babbitt,

* Article III standing is a prerequisite to intervention. Standard Heating

& Air Conditioning Co. v. City of Minneapolis, 137 F.3d 567, 570 (8th

Cir.1998).

l6a

442 U.S. 289, 292, 99 S.Ct. 2301, 60 L.Ed.2d 895 (1979).

“At the summary judgment stage the party invoking federal

jurisdiction must have at least alleged specific facts that,

taken as true, demonstrate the party suffered an injury in fact,

that is one which is ‘(a) concrete and particularized, and (b)

actual or imminent, not conjectural or hypothetical.’” Nat’/

Fed’'n for the Blind v. Cross, 184 F.3d 973, 979 (8th

Cir.1999) (citing Lujan, 504 U.S. at 560-61, 112 S.Ct. 2130).

Plaintiffs’ primary claim arises out of threatened regulation

by Mille Lacs Band ordinances.° The Court finds this

claimed injury does not meet the constitutional requirement

for standing; it is not actual, concrete, or imminent.

While actual enforcement of regulatory ordinances is not

required by law, standing requires more than an “imaginary

or speculative” fear of prosecution. Babbitt v. United Farm

Workers Nat’l Union, 442 U.S. 289, 298, 99 S.Ct. 2301, 60

L.Ed.2d 895 (1979). An injury may involve past prosecution,

United Food & Commercial Workers Int'l Union v. IBP, Inc.,

857 F.2d 422, 427 (8th Cir.1988), or the intent to engage in

the exercise of a constitutionally guaranteed right, Doe v.

Bolton, 410 U.S. 179, 188, 93 S.Ct. 739, 35 L.Ed.2d 201

(1973). See also Stoianoff v. Montana, 695 F.2d 1214 (9th

Cir.1982) (“The mere existence of a statute, which may or

may not ever be applied to plaintiffs, is not sufficient to create

a controversy within the meaning of Article III.”). In order to

*996 allege a cognizable injury, plaintiffs must demonstrate a

realistic danger of enforcement by the Band:

° See, e.g. 18 M.L.B.S.A. § 101 (requiring Band licensure to conduct

business with the Band or within its jurisdiction); 24 M.L.B.S.A.

§§ 3301-3309, 3501-3510 (setting debtor/creditor law); 11 M.L.B.S.A.

§ 9 (providing environmental protection regulations); 11 M.L.B.S.A.

§ 1002 (regulating waste disposal); 5S M.L.B.S.A. §§ 111(a)-(e), 113

(establishing general tribal court jurisdiction); 24 M.L.B.S.A. § 2-6, 5

M.L.B.S.A. §§ 101, 111-13(asserting various areas of exclusive tribal

court jurisdiction within the tribal lands).

17a

In Steffel v. Thompson, the United States Supreme Court

permitted a pre-enforcement First Amendment challenge to a

law, but the law was a criminal statute. See 415 U.S. 452,

459, 94 S.Ct. 1209, 39 L.Ed.2d 505 (1974). The Court

limited potential prosecution claims to cases where the threat

of prosecution is not imaginary, speculative, or chimerical.

Id.; United Food, 857 F.2d at 425-30 (first amendment

challenges to previously enforced criminal picketing statutes);

High Ol’ Times, Inc. v. Busbee, 621 F.2d 135, 138-39 (Sth

Cir.1980) (first amendment challenge to a criminal statute).

These cases, in contrast to the present case, uniformly involve

chilled speech, an area traditionally afforded a high degree of

constitutional protection. Plaintiffs point to neither an

imminent threat of criminal prosecution nor to a history of

past prosecution. The ordinances about which they complain

certainly present no threat to their right to free speech, or

other fundamental rights.

Plaintiffs offer Northern States Power Co. v. Prairie Island

Mdewakanton Sioux Indian Community, 991 F.2d 458 (8th

Cir.1993), to support their claim to standing. Their reliance is

misplaced. Prairie Island is distinguishable on its facts. In

Prairie Island, the Mdewakanton Sioux expressed its present

intention to enforce a tribal ordinance regulating the transport

of nuclear waste on an established reservation which houses a

functioning nuclear electrical generation plant. Jd. at 459.

On those facts, Northern States Power could easily

demonstrate an actual ongoing injury stemming from the

ordinance, including delays in the shipping of hazardous

nuclear waste and the inability to monitor the safety of a

nuclear energy plant. See id. at 463. Prairie Island is not

analogous to this case.

The Mille Lacs Band has neither threatened nor

demonstrated an intention to enforce its ordinances beyond its

4000 acres. See Assoc. of Prop. Owners/Residents of Port

Madison Area vy. Individual Council Members of the

4

18a

Suquamish Tribal Council, C01-5317FBD, *4 (W.D. Wash.

April 17, 2002) (finding no injury where tribe had not tried to

enforce ordinance against plaintiff). The only shred of

evidence supporting plaintiffs’ claim of imminent enforce-

ment is a March 23, 1992, letter from defendants concerning

licensing. Defendants claim this letter was sent in error, and

that licensing is required only of those with whom the Mille

Lacs Band, itself, does business.’ Given that the Mille Lacs

Band sent this letter more than 10 years ago, has run its

licensing program for the past 11 years, and has never

directly contacted either plaintiff, the Court finds the

proffered letter wholly fails to demonstrate an immediate or

certain threat of enforcement or injury. Absent a credible

threat of enforcement, plaintiffs’ claims are mere conjecture

and do not give rise to standing. Brown-Outagamie-Oneida

Jurisdiction Comm’n v. Powless, 85-C-1052 (E.D.Wisc. Sept.

28, 1990) (finding case not ripe where tribe had not-attempted

to enforce ordinance).

The text of the Mille Lacs Band ordinances similarly fails

to prove pending enforcement. The only reference to the 1855

reservation is in the definitions section of the hunting, fishing,

and wild rice ordinances. See 11 M.L.B.S.A. § 2001(n). This

reference facially relates to the landmark Minnesota v. Mille

Lacs Band of Chippewa Indians case. Such a limited *997

reference is insufficient to indicate an intent to enforce all of

the Mille Lacs Band ordinances on the land within the 1855

boundaries.*

’ A similar letter, sent in 2001, expressly includes only those doing

business with the tribe, see PI.Ex. 18. This letter appears consistent with

defendants’ sworn statements. See Twait Dec. at 2; Big Bear Aff. at 1-2.

* Similarly, 11 M.L.B.S.A. § 9(e), which provides jurisdiction to

enforce environmental regulations, is limited to the extent of United States

law. As federal law largely proscribes the broad assertion of tribal

jurisdiction over non-Indians, Nevada v. Hicks, 533 U.S. at 388- 92, 121

19a

The County complains it has been injured in its ability to

protect public safety, citing concerns over civil regulatory and

traffic laws, and zoning regulations. It insists, therefore, that

it needs this Court’s clarification of tribal land boundaries.

The Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals considered this issue in

Norvell v. Sangre de Cristo Dev. Co., Inc., 519 F.2d 370

(10th Cir.1975), in which the State of New Mexico sought

a declaratory judgment establishing the scope of its juris-

diction over a company operating on reservation land. /d. at

371-72. New Mexico claimed its “direct concern[ ] with the

applicability of its laws and regulations not only as to the

Company, but derivatively to the community of approxi-

mately 15,000 non-Indian persons who will ultimately live

and do business in the non-Indian community” was sufficient

to create an actual case or controversy. /d. at 374. The

appellate court did not agree, holding that absent evidence

that Indians were refusing to comply with state law, no case

or controversy existed. /d. at 376-77. The same principle

holds here; the County’s mere interest in the proper

enforcement of law and community safety does not provide

standing. /d.

The Mille Lacs Band and its members have consistently

complied—however grudgingly—with the County’s zoning

regulations and state traffic laws. The deposition testimony of

the Mille Lacs County Sheriff, Dennis Boser, indicates the

Mille Lacs Band has taken no actions which adversely affect

the County’s ability to enforce state or county law, and that

any legal conflicts which do exist have not harmed public

safety. See Pl. Bank Ex. 7 at 14, 19, 47. Even assuming the

Mille Lacs Band members obey the County’s ordinances only

“under protest,” plaintiffs have not shown that their

S.Ct. 2304, the Court will not construe this provision beyond both actual

enforcement and its terms.

20a

compliance “under protest” has created a real injury.” When

examined, the County’s position appears to be that the Court

should hold that defendants’ compliance with County law

constitutes injury. The Court is unable to find any legal

precept that can support this theory.

The County’s concern over potential liability similarly

affords no colorable claim. The County claims its potential

liability stemming from law enforcement beyond its juris-

diction constitutes a cognizable injury. It supports this

position by citing Ross v. Neff, 905 F.2d 1349 (10th

Cir.1990), in which a state police officer arrested an Indian in

Indian Country in a non-Public Law 280 state. This arrest led

to a civil rights case involving potential municipal liability.

The Court finds Ross insufficient to support this claim.

It is clear that potential liability stemming from a filed

complaint can be sufficient to create standing. See Va. Sur.

Co. v. Northrop Grumman Co., 144 F.3d 1243, 1246 (9th

Cir.1998). On the other hand, an *998 amorphous threat of

future liability alone does not result in injury. If such an

inchoate claim could support standing, a court could

intervene whenever any entity faced the possibility of future

litigation. See O’Shea v. Littleton, 414 U.S. 488, 497, 94

S.Ct. 669, 38 L.Ed.2d 674 (1974) (finding plaintiffs lacked

standing to complain of an injury that would occur “if they

proceed[ed] to violate an unchallenged law and if they [were]

charged, held to answer and tried in any proceedings”);

Caribbean Marine Serv. Co., Inc. v. Baldrige, 844 F.2d 668,

675 (9th Cir.1988) (finding no standing where plaintiffs claim

* The cases cited by the County cannot be read to stand for this

proposition. See, e.g., Altvater v. Freeman, 319 U.S. 359, 63 S.Ct. 1115,

87 L.Ed. 1450 (1943) (continued dispute over reissued patents gave rise to

controversy); Atchison, Topeka & Sante Fe Railway Co. v. O'Connor, 223

U.S. 280, 285-87, 32 S.Ct. 216, 56 L.Ed. 436 (1912) (action to recover

taxes paid under protest). Neither case is premised on a defendant’s actual

compliance with a law.

2la

increased exposure to liability dependent on multiple con-

tingencies); City of South Lake Tahoe v. Cal. Tahoe Reg’!

Planning Agency, 625 F.2d 231, 238-39 (9th Cir.1980)

(finding no standing where exposure to civil liability is

speculative).

Here, the County’s exposure to liability depends on the

likelihood of its officers’ violating the constitutional rights of

Mille Lacs Band members by reason of municipal policy or

custom. Monell v. Dep’t of Soc. Servs., 436 U.S. 658, 98

S.Ct. 2018, 56 L.Ed.2d 611 (1978). The Court has no

evidence before it which suggests such an illegal policy is in

place in Mille Lacs County. This scenario is scarcely the

kind of risk upon which jurisdiction can be based. The Court

must, absent evidence to the contrary, assume the County’s

law enforcement officers will continue to protect the citizenry

and avoid constitutional wrongs. The Court finds the

County’s proffered “threat of civil liability is too attenuated

and conjectural to constitute a basis for standing.” Caribbean

Marine, 844 F.2d at 675.

Next, plaintiffs claim statements made by defendants

regarding their rights under the 1855 Treaty have caused a

loss or degradation of local real estate values. The Bank

claims $11,000,000 in real estate loans have been

jeopardized; the County claims a loss of property tax revenue

and a potential diminution of resale value should it sell

municipally-owned land. Plaintiffs offer these claims,

underpinned by the affidavit of real estate appraiser Roger

Wagner. The Court rejects this insubstantial evidence.

Mr. Wagner’s affidavit lacks the foundation necessary to

fulfill Rule 56(e)’s requirement that statements in reply to a

motion for summary judgment “set forth such facts as would

be admissible into evidence.” The only “fact” underlying his

opinion is a published advertisement identifying a piece of

property as “outside the disputed boundaries.” He offers

neither statistical nor empirical evidence comparing land

22a

values within or without the 1855 reservation boundaries.

He does not point to a single instance where the Bank has

ever declined a mortgage or tendered one at a higher rate

for property within or without those borders. The affidavit

does not state that property values are lower in Mille Lacs

County compared to its surrounding neighbors either as a

result of or in connection to any perceived risk. Plaintiffs’

“expert” offers nothing other than conjecture to show that

verbal sparing over the 1855 boundaries has caused any

devaluation or decline in real estate values. Mr. Wagner

presents no data or quantification as to the actual lost value

caused by the dispute, but merely offers his personal belief

that some effect has occurred.

The Court notes the 1855 reservation borders include much

of Mille Lacs Lake and other highly desirable vacation,

business, and residential property. Taking into account the

historically strong interest in owning this lakefront property,

and the absence of evidence of so much as a single sale where

proximity to Indian Country affected price, the Court finds

plaintiffs allege no injury or risk of future injury.

Setting aside the utter paucity of admissible evidence

supporting this claim, there is another problem with this

proffered jurisdictional theory. Even assuming plaintiffs have

correctly described landowners’ fears, any claimed

diminution of land value would result from the disinterest of

third-party potential-purchasers in owning land in the

reservation—not from legal uncertainty. The impact of

this Court’s decision depends, therefore, on actions of third-

party property buyers and owners who are not parties to

this litigation. See Lujan, 504 U.S. at 560-61, 112 S.Ct. 2130

(“there must be a causal connection between the injury

and the conduct complained of—the injury has to be ‘

fairly . . . traceable to the challenged action of the defendant,

and not. . . the result [of] the independent action of some

third party not before the court’ “). Independent personal

23a

decisions on land value remain outside the control of

the Court. Because this Court cannot affect buyers per-

ceptions about the nature of title within a reservation—

however unfounded—a decision on the merits will not redress

these concerns.

Plaintiffs’ devaluation argument also reflects confusion as

to the nature of declaratory relief. Plaintiffs ask the Court to

determine whether the 1855 reservation continues as a valid

legal entity. The Court may decide the case as plaintiffs wish

and find the reservation disestablished or diminished. But the

Court could also make the contrary ruling and find the 1855

reservation a legally valid entity. If the Court were to do

so—and notably the defendants have not sought this

finding—the result could well solidify rather than ameliorate

plaintiffs’ fears. Plaintiffs’ complaints stem then, not from

uncertainty, but from fears and perceptions concerning an

unfavorable decision on the lawsuit they have themselves

initiated. This is not the kind of injury the law recognizes as

conferring standing.

Before the Court will invoke its sweeping declaratory

judgment power, it must preside over a live controversy.

Here, plaintiffs have not offered proof that such a controversy

of constitutional dimension exists. The Court, therefore,

cannot address the serious issues before it.

B. Ripeness

As an alternative, but certainly related basis, the Court

finds this case is not ripe for adjudication. See U.S. Const.

Art. III; see also United Food, 857 F.2d at 425-26 (applying

ripeness to Declaratory Judgment Act). The ripeness doctrine

precludes any decision on a legal or factual question absent “a

real, substantial controversy between parties having adverse

legal interests, a dispute definite and concrete, not hypo-

thetical and abstract.” See Babbitt, 442 U.S. at 298, 99 S.Ct.

2301 (quotations omitted). Ripeness requires “fitness of the

24a

issues for judicial decision” and examination of “the hardship

to the parties of withholding court consideration.” See Abbott

Labs. v. Gardner, 387 U.S. 136, 149, 87 S.Ct. 1507, 18

L.Ed.2d 681 (1967).

The Declaratory Judgment Act calls upon the Court to

apply a heightened standard of ripeness, allowing judicial

intervention only where “there is a substantial controversy,

between parties having adverse legal interests, of sufficient

immediacy and reality to warrant the issuance of a

declaratory judgment.” See Lake Carriers Ass’n v. Mac-

Mullan, 406 U.S. 498, 506, 92 S.Ct. 1749, 32 L.Ed.2d 257

(1972); Gopher Oil Co. v. Bunker, 84 F.3d 1047, 1050 (8th

Cir.1996) (citing Caldwell, 755 F.2d at 649). The Court’s

declaratory power is strictly discretionary, see Wilton v. Seven

Falls Co., 515 U.S. 277, 282, 115 S.Ct. 2137, 132 L.Ed.2d

214 (1995). and is to be exercised with caution.

The Court finds this litigation involves only hypothetical

and speculative *1000 disagreements. See Cass County v.

United States, 570 F.2d 737, 738 (8th Cir.1978) (finding

generalized claims of confusion over jurisdiction lack needed

specificity). According to plaintiffs, legal uncertainty over

tribal jurisdiction within the 1855 reservation boundaries has

created an unbearable hardship requiring judicial action.'°

While the Courts have found uncertainty regarding legal

'° Plaintiffs support this contention by pointing to Justice Souter’s

concurrence in Nevada v. Hicks, 533 U.S. 353, 383, 121 S.Ct. 2304, 150

L.Ed.2d 398 (1995). That case involved a tribal court’s assertion of

jurisdiction over state actors in a § 1983 case. The language plaintiffs

quote, however, comes from a portion of Justice Souter’s opinion which

urges ending any linkage of tribal jurisdiction from status. He argues that

maintaining this connection creates an “unstable jurisdictional crazy

quilt.” /d. At best, the quoted language can be read as a call for bright-

line rules governing subject matter jurisdiction for tribal courts. The

Court cannot find in the Justice’s quoted language any support for a

requirement to resolve every possible dispute over land ownership or

reservation status.

25a

status can justify judicial action in a limited number

of cases, see, e.g., Thomas v. Union Carbide Agric. Prods.

Co., 473 U.S. 568, 581, 105 S.Ct. 3325, 87 L.Ed.2d 409

(1985), those cases involved a clear injury in the absence of

judicial action. See id. (wherein regulation restricted access

to jury trial). Here, any overlapping jurisdictional claims

are highly conjectural, and a decision on these abstracted

claims is unwarranted. See Cass County, 570 F.2d at 741-

42 (connecting boundary decisions to disputes over taxing

authority, criminal jurisdiction, and fishing and hunting

rights cases).

Plaintiffs cite a number of cases where courts have

resolved land disputes through declaratory judgment, but

none of them are analogous to this case. In each of the cited

cases, there were concrete and specific incidents involving

reservation boundaries and sovereignty. See id.; Yankton

Sioux Tribe v. South Dakota, 796 F.2d 241 (8th Cir.1986)

(conversion and declaratory action arising from non-Indian

harvesting on a reservation lake).

Plaintiffs ask the Court to focus on the Rosebud Sioux

Tribe litigation. See Rosebud Sioux Tribe v. Kneip, 375

F.Supp. 1065 (D.S.D.1974), aff'd 521 F.2d 87 (8th Cir.1975),

aff'd 430 U.S. 584, 97 S.Ct. 1361, 51 L.Ed.2d 660 (1977).

That suit sought a declaration of the original reservation

boundaries intact after the defendant county exercised both

civil and criminal jurisdiction over tribe members. 430 U.S.

at 585, 97 S.Ct. 1361, 51 L.Ed.2d 660. In City of New Town

v. United States, 454 F.2d 121 (8th Cir.1972), plaintiff,

a North Dakota municipality, sought declaratory relief in the

wake of particularized challenges to municipal authority.

Even if plaintiffs have tracked the pleadings filed in those

cases, their having done so does not make this dispute

ripe. The distinction is pristine: Rosebud Sioux and City of

New Town presented ripe factual disputes; this one does

not. The cited cases involved explicit efforts by one sovereign

26a

to exercise particular powers beyond their lawful jurisdiction;

they did not present abstracted concerns over reservation

boundaries.

Plaintiffs offer a laundry list of problems and fears they

feel are related to the possible existence of the 1855

reservation boundaries, and suggest these make this case ripe

for adjudication. Their list includes greater regulatory

authority under the EPA and National Historic Preservation

Act, limits on county and state regulatory authority, and an

expansion of the reach of tribal authority and sovereignty

should the 1855 boundaries be in place. This litany of

concerns misapprehends ripeness. If the Band’s tribal

authority covers the full extent of the 1855 reservation, *1001

it might well alter private and public sector relationships in

the Mille Lacs area. The mere fact that a decision will be

momentous does not, however, make this the proper time to

render it.

Similarly, the ordinances examined above do not provide

evidence of hardship. Simply put, in the absence of any

immediate or impending concrete injury—where plaintiffs

lack standing—any hardship caused by delayed review is

conjectural. Plaintiffs claim the mere possibility that the Mille

Lacs Band might try to enforce its ordinances is a valid

- ongoing threat, even if the ordinances have never been

enforced. As explained, the law permits declaratory relief

in a limited number of circumstances where enforcement is

pending. Those circumstances are not present here; the parties

are not faced with a choice between protected conduct and

a risk of sanction. See Caldwell, 755 F.2d at 650 (stating

the “threat of enforcement must have immediate coercive

consequences” in order to intervene before regulatory action).

Ripeness is a question of timing. This Court will not

exercise its declaratory judgment authority to interpret

treaties and decide grave questions regarding reservation

disestablishment in the absence of a real dispute. Plaintiffs

27a

have failed to demonstrate why this Court should exercise

its authority at this time. Accordingly, the Court lacks

jurisdiction over this dispute.

III. Conclusion

It is axiomatic that federal court jurisdiction is limited. A

justiciable case or controversy is central to the constitutional

constraints on a federal court’s ability to act. The Court has

found plaintiffs lack standing to bring their claims and,

alternatively, their claims are not yet ripe for adjudication.

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED that:

1. Defendants’ motion [Docket No. 31] is granted.

2. Plaintiffs’ motion to strike [Docket No. 54] is dismissed

as moot.

3. This case is dismissed with prejudice.

262 F.Supp.2d 990

28a

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 03-2527/2537

COUNTY OF MILLE LACs,

Appellant,

v.

MELANIE BENJAMIN, ETC., ef ai/.,

Appellees.

Order Denying Petition for Rehearing and

for Rehearing En Banc

The petitions for rehearing en banc are denied. The petition

for rehearing by the panel are also denied.

(5128-010199)

May 19, 2004

Order Entered at the Direction of the Court:

/s/ Michael E. Gans

MICHAEL E. GANS

Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit

ee re ae

29a

APPENDIX D

INDIAN AFFAIRS

LAWS AND TREATIES

Vol. Il

(TREATIES)

COMPILED AND EDITED

BY

CHARLES J. KAPPLER, LL. M..,

CLERK TO THE SENATE COMMITTEE

ON INDIAN AFFAIRS

WASHINGTON:

GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE

1904

30a

TREATY WITH THE CHIPPEWA OF THE MSSISSIPPI AND

THE PILLAGER AND LAKE WINNIBIGOSHISH BAND, 1863.

Articles of agreement and convention, made and

concluded at the city of Washington, this

eleventh day of March, A. D. one thousand eight

hundred and sixty-three, between William P.

Dole, Commissioner of Indian Affairs, and Clark

W, Thompson, superintendent of Indian affairs of

the northern superintendency, on the part of the

United States, and Henry M. Rice, of Minnesota,

for and on behalf of the Chippewas of the Mis-

sissippi and the Pillager and Lake Winnibigo-

shish bands of Chippewa Indians in Minnesota.

ARTICLE 1. The reservations known as Gull

Lake, Mille Lac, Sandy Lake, Rabbit Lake, Poka-

gomin Lake, and Rice Lake, as described in the

second clause of the second article of the treaty with

the Chippewas of the 22d February, 1855, are

hereby ceded to the United States, excepting one-

half section of land, including the mission-buildings

at Gull Lake, which is hereby granted in fee simple

to the Reverend John Johnson, missionary.

ARTICLE 2. In consideration of the foregoing

cession, the United States agree to set apart for the

future homes of the Chippewas of the Mississippi,

all the lands embraced within the following-

described boundaries, excepting the reservations

made and described in the third clause of the second

article of the said treaty of February 22, 1855, for

the Pillager and Lake Winnibigoshish bands; that is

to say, beginning at a point one mile south of the

most southerly point of Leech Lake, and running

thence in an easterly course to a point one mile

south of the most southerly point of Goose Lake;

thence due east to a point due south from the

intersection of the Pokagomin reservation and the

Mississippi River; thence on the dividing-line be-

tween “Deer River and Lakes” and “Mashkorden’s

River and Lakes,” until a point is reached north of

the first-named river and lakes; thence in a direct

Mar. 11, 1863.

12 Stats., 1249.

Ratified,

Mar. 13, 1863.

Proclaimed

Mar. 19, 1863.

Certain reserva-

tions ceded to the

United States,

except, etc.

Reservation set

apart in lieu

thereof.

Boundaries.

3la

line north westwardly to the outlet of “Two-Routes

Lake;” thence in a southwesterly direction to the

northwest corner of the “Cass Lake” reservation;

thence in a southwesterly direction to “Karbekaun”

River; thence down said river to the lake of

the same name; thence due south to a point due west

from the beginning; thence to the place of

beginning.

ARTICLE 3. In consideration of the foregoing ces-

sion to the United States, and the valuable improve-

ments thereon, the United States further agree: 1st.

To extend the present annuities of the Indians,

parties to this treaty, for ten years beyond the

periods respectively named in existing treaties; 2nd.

And to pay toward the settlement of the claims for

depredations committed by said Indians in 1862, the

sum of twenty thousand dollars, or so much thereof

as may be necessary, provided that no money shall

be paid under this item, except upon claims which

have been duly adjudicated and found to be due

under existing treaties, from said Indians, and

allowed by the Secretary of the Interior, or under his

direction; 4th. To the chiefs of the Chippewas of the

Mississippi, sixteen thousand dollars, (provided

they shall pay to the chiefs of the Pillager and Lake

Winnibigoshish bands one thousand doliars,) to be

paid upon the signing of this treaty, out of the

arrearages due under the 9th article of the treaty

concluded at La Pointe, in the State of Wis-

consin, on the 30th of September, 1854; 5th. And to

pay the expenses incurred by the legislature of the

State of Minnesota in the month of September,

1862, in sending commissioners to visit the Chip-

pewa Indians, amounting to thirteen hundred and

thirty-eight dollars and seventy-five cents.

ARTICLE 4. The United States further agree to

clear, stump, grub, and break in, the reservation

hereby set apart for the Chippewas of the Mis-

sissippi, in lots of not less than ten acres each, at

such point or points as the chiefs of each band may

select, as follows, viz: For the Gull Lake band,

Annuities.

Reservation to be

cleared, etc., in

lots.

32a

seventy acres; for the Mille Lac band, seventy acres;

for the Sandy Lake band, fifty acres; for the

Pokagomin band, fifty acres; for the Rabbit Lake

band, forty acres; for the Rice Lake band, twenty

acres; and to build for the chiefs of said bands one

house each, of the following description: to be

constructed of hewn logs; to be sixteen by twenty

feet each, and two stories high; to be roofed with

good shaved pine shingles; the floors to be of

seasoned pine-plank, jointed; stone or brick fire-

places and chimneys; three windows in lower story

and two in the upper story, with good substantial

shutters to each, and suitable doors; said houses to

be pointed with lime mortar: provided, that the

amount expended under this article shall not exceed

the sum of three thousand six hundred dollars.

ARTICLE 5. The United States agree to furnish to

said Indians, parties to this treaty, ten yoke of good,

steady, work oxen, and twenty log-chains, annually,

for ten years, provided the Indians shall take proper

care of, and make proper use of the same; also, for

the same period, annually, two hundred grubbing-

hoes, ten ploughs, ten grindstones, one hundred

axes, handled, not to exceed in weight three and

one-half pounds each; twenty spades. Also two car-

penters and two blacksmiths, and four farm labor-

ers, and one physician—not exceeding, in the aggre-

gate, one thousand dollars.

ARTICLE 6. The United States further agree to

remove the saw-mill from Gull Lake reservation, to

such point on the new reservation hereby set apart

as may be selected by the agent, and to keep the

same in good running order, and to employ a

competent sawyer, so long as the President of the

United States may deem it necessary; and to extend

the road between Gull Lake and Leech Lake, from

the last-named lake to the junction of the Mis-

sissippi and Leech Lake Rivers; and to remove the

agency to said junction, or as near thereto as prac-

ticable; but not more than three thousand dollars

shall be expended for this purpose.

Houses for chiefs.

Oxen and tools.

Carpenters,

blacksmiths, etc.

Sawmill.

33a

ARTICLE 7. The President shall appoint a board

of visitors, to consist of not less than two nor more

than three persons, to be selected from such Chris-

tian denominations as he may designate, whose duty

it shall be to attend the annuity payments to the

Indians, and to inspect the fields and other im-

provements of the Indians, and to report annually

thereon, on or before the first of November; and

also as to the qualifications and moral deportment of

all persons residing upon the reservation under the

authority of law; and they shall receive for their

services five dollars per day for the time actually

employed, and ten cents per mile for travelling

expenses: Provided, That no one shall be paid in

any one year for more than twenty days’ service, or

for more than three hundred miles’ travel.

ARTICLE 8. No person shall be recognized as a

chief whose band numbers less than fifty persons;

and to encourage and aid the said chiefs in

preserving order, and inducing by their example and

advice the members of their respective bands to

adopt the pursuits of civilized life, there shall be

paid to each of said chiefs, annually, out of the

annuities of said bands, a sum not exceeding one

hundred and fifty dollars, to be determined by the

Commissioner of Indian Affairs, according to their

respective merits.

ARTICLE 9. To improve the morals and Indus-

trial habits of said Indians, it is agreed that no agent,

teacher, interpreter, traders, or their employes, shall

be employed, appointed, licensed, or permitted to

reside within the reservations belonging to the

Indians, parties to this treaty, missionaries excepted,

who shall not have a lawful wife residing with them

at their respective places of employment or trade

within the agency, and no person of full or mixed

blood, educated or partially educated, whose fitness,

morally or otherwise, is not conducive to the

welfare of said Indians, shall receive any benefits

from this or any former treaties.

Board of visitors

to be present at

annuity payments.

Who to be

recognized as

chiefs.

Agents, teachers,

etc., to have

families, and to be

of good moral

charater.

34a

ARTICLE 10. All annuities under this or former

treaties shall be paid as the chiefs in council may

request, with the approval of the Secretary of the

Interior, until otherwise altered or amended: Pro-

vided, That not less than one-half of said annuities

shall be paid in necessary clothing, provisions, and

other necessary and useful articles.

ARTICLE 11. Whenever the services of laborers

are required upon the reservation, preference shall

be given to full or mixed bloods, if they shall be

found competent to perform them.

ARTICLE 12. It shall not be obligatory upon the

Indians, parties to this treaty, to remove from their

present reservations until the United States shall

have first complied with the stipulations of Articles

4 and 6 of this treaty, when the United States shall

furnish them with all necessary transportation and

subsistence to their new homes, and subsistence for

six months thereafter: Provided, That owing to the

heretofore good conduct of the Mille Lac Indians,

they shall not be compelled to remove so long as

they shall not in any way interfere with or in any

manner molest the persons or property of the

whites.

ARTICLE 13. Female members of the family of

any Government employé residing on the reserva-

tion, who shall teach Indian girls domestic econ-

omy, shall be allowed and paid a sum not exceeding

ten dollars per month while so engaged: Provided,

That not more than one thousand dollars shall be so

expended during any one year, and that the

President of the United States may suspend or annul

this article whenever he may deem it expedient to

do so.

ARTICLE 14. It is distinctly understood and

agreed that the clearing and breaking of land for the

Chippewas of the Mississippi, as provided for in the

fourth article of this treaty, shall be in lieu of all

former engagements of the United States as to the

breaking of lands for those bands.

Payment of

annuities.

Laborers to be full

or mixed bloods,

where competent.

Indians not to

remove from

present reserva-

tions, until, after,

etc.

Mille Lac Indians.

Female teachers.

Clearing and

breaking, in lieu

of former

engagement.

35a

In testimony whereof, the.said William P. Dole

Signature.

and Clark W. Thompson, on behalf of the United

States, and Henry M. Rice and the undersigned

chiefs and headmen, on behalf of the Indians,

parties to this treaty, have hereunto set their hands

and affixed their seals this eleventh day of March,

A. D. one thousand eight hundred and sixty-three.

Wm. P. Dole, Commissioner of Indian Affairs. [SEAL.]

Clark W. Thompson, superinten-

dent of Indian affairs for the

northern superintendency.

[SEAL.]

Henry M. Rice. [SEAL.]

Qui-we-shen-shish, or Bad Boy, his

x mark. [SEAL.]

Wa-bo-geeg, or White Fisher, his x

mark. [SEAL.]

J. Johnson, Rabbitt Lake band:

[SEAL.]

Me-jaw-ke-ke-shick, or Sky that

Touches the Ground, his x mark.

[SEAL.]

Ah-ah-jaw-wa-ke-shick, Crossing

Sky, his x mark. [SEAL.]

Naw-gaw-ne-gaw-bow, or One

Standing Ahead, his x mark.

[SEAL.]

Sandy Lake and Rice Lake bands:

[SEAL.]

Aw-aw-bedway-we-dung, or Re-

turning Echo, his x mark.

[SEAL.]

Po-ke-ga-ma band: [SEAL.]

Ma-ya-je-way-we-dung, or Chor-

rister, his x mark. [SEAL.]

Shob-osh-kunk, or Passes under

Everything, his x mark. [SEAL.]

Me-no-min-e-ke-shen, or Rice-

maker, his x mark. [SEAL.]

Pe-dud-ence, Rat’s Liver, his x

mark. [SEAL.]

Te-daw-kaw-mo-say, Walking to

and fro, his x mark. [SEAL.]

Mose-o-man-nay, or Moose, his x

mark. [SEAL.]

Way-sa-wa-gwon-aib, Yellow

Feather, his x mark. [SEAL.]

Me-no-ke-shick, or Fine Day, his x

mark. [SEAL.]

Pillager band of Leech Lake:

Be-she-kee, or Buffalo, his x mark.

[SEAL.]

Naw-bon-e-aush, Young Man’s

Son, his x mark. [SEAL.]

O-ge-ma-way-che-waib, Chief of

the Mountain, his x mark.

[SEAL.]

Ke-me-wen-aush, Raining Wind,

his x mark. [SEAL.]

Keh-beh-naw-gay, the Winner, his

x mark. [SEAL]

Kob-mub-bey, or North Star, his x

mark. [SEAL.]

Mis-co-pe-nen-shey, Red Bird, his

x mark. [SEAL.]

Maw-je-ke-shick, Travelling Sky,

his x mark. [SEAL.]

Ma-ne-to-ke-shick, Spirit of the

Day, his x mark. [SEAL]

O-Gee-tub, the Trader, his x mark.

[SEAL.]

a

36a :

Executed in presence of—

E. A. C. Hatch, Paul H. Beaubien,

Geo. C. Whiting, United States interpreter,

A. S. H. White, Peter Roy, interpreter,

George Fuller, J. G. Morrison, interpreter,

James White head, James Thompson.

D. Geo. Morrison,

ee

37a

APPENDIX E

INDIAN AFFAIRS

LAWS AND TREATIES

Vol. II

(TREATIES)

COMPILED AND EDITED

BY

CHARLES J. KAPPLER, LL. M.,

CLERK TO THE SENATE COMMITTEE

ON INDIAN AFFAIRS

WASHINGTON:

GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE

1904

38a

TREATY WITH THE CHIPPEWA OF THE MSSISSIPPI AND

THE PILLAGER AND LAKE WINNIBIGOSHISH BAND, 1864.

Articles of agreement and convention made and

concluded at the city of Washington this seventh

day of May, A. D. 1864, between William P. Dole,

Commissioner of Indian Affairs, and Clark W.

Thompson, superintendent of Indian affairs for the

northern superintendency, on the part of the

United States, and the Chippewa chief Hole-in-

the-day, and Mis-qua-dace, for and on behalf of

the Chippewas of the Mississippi, and Pillager and

Lake Winnebagoshish bands of Chippewa Indians

in Minnesota.

ARTICLE |. The reservations known as Gull Lake,

Mille Lac, Sandy Lake, Rabbit Lake, Pokagomin

Lake, and Rice Lake, as described in the second

clause of the second article of the treaty with the

Chippewas of the twenty-second of February, 1855,

are hereby ceded to the United States, excepting one

half section of land, including the mission buildings

at Gull Lake, which is hereby granted in fee simple to

the Reverend John Johnson, missionary, and one

section of land, to be located by the Secretary of the

Interior on the southeast side of Gull Lake, and which

is hereby granted in fee simple to the chief Hole-in-

the-day, and a section to chief Mis-qua-dace, at

Sandy Lake, in like manner, and one section to chief

Shaw-vosh-kung, at Mille Lac, in like manner.

ARTICLE 2. In consideration of the foregoing

cession, the United States agree to set apart, for the

future home of the Chippewas of the Mississippi, all

the lands embraced within the following-described

boundaries, excepting the reservations made and

described in the third clause of the second article of

the said treaty of February 22d, 1855, for the Pillager

and Lake Winnebagoshish bands; that is to say,

beginning at a point one mile south of the most

southerly point of Leach Lake, and running thence in

an easterly course to a point one mile south of the

most southerly point of Goose Lake, thence due east

to a point due south from the intersection of the

Pokagomin reservation and the Mississippi River,

thence on the dividing-line between Deer River and

lakes and Mashkordens River and lakes, until a point

May 7, 1864.

13 Stat. 693.

Ratified

Feb. 9, 1865.

Proclaimed

Mar. 20, 1865.

Gull Lake and

other reservations

ceded to the

United States,

except, etc.

Hole-in-the-day-

Mis-qua-dace,

Shaw, voch-

kung.

Reservation for

the Chippewa of

the Mississippi.

Boundaries.

39a

is reached north of the first-named river and lakes;

thence in a direct line northwesterly to the outlet of

Two Routs Lake, then in a southwesterly direction to

Turtle Lake, thence southwesterly to the head-water

of Rice River, thence northwesterly along the line of

the Red Lake reservation to the mouth of Thief River,

thence down the centre of the main channel of Red

Lake River to a point opposite the mouth of Black

River, thence southeasterly in a direct line with the

outlet of Rice Lake to a point due west from the place

of beginning, thence to the place of beginning.

ARTICLE 3. In consideration of the foregoing

cession to the United States, and the valuable

improvements thereon, the United States further

agree, first, to extend the present annuities of the

Indians, parties to this treaty, for ten years beyond the

periods respectively named in existing treaties;

second, and to pay towards the settlement of the

claims for depredations committed by said Indians in

1862, the sum of twenty thousand dollars; third, to

the chiefs of the Chippewas of the Mississippi, ten

thousand dollars, to be paid upon the ratification of

this treaty; and five thousand dollars to the chief

Hole-in-the-day, for depredations committed in

burning his house and furniture in 1862.

ARTICLE 4. The United States further agree to pay

seven thousand five hundred ($7,500) dollars for

clearing, stumping, grubbing, breaking, and planting,

on the reservation hereby set apart for the Chippewas

of the Mississippi, in lots of not less than ten acres

each, at such point or points as the Secretary of the

Interior may select, as follows, viz: For the Gull Lake

band, seventy (70) acres; for the Mille Lac band,

seventy (70) acres; for the Sandy Lake band, fifty

(50) acres; for the Pokagomin band, fifty (50) acres;

for the Rabbit Lake band, forty (40) acres; for the

Rice Lake band, twenty (20) acres; and to expend five

thousand dollars ($5,000) in building for the chiefs of

said bands one house each, under the direction of the

Secretary of the Interior.

ARTICLE 5. The United States agree to furnish to

said Indians, parties to this treaty, ten (10) yoke of

good steady work oxen, and twenty log-chains

annually for ten years, provided the Indians shall take

Annuities to be

extended for ten

years.

Payment toward

settlement for

depredations, and

to the chiefs.

Payments for

clearing, etc., lots

in reservation.

See. Art. 14.

Houses for

chiefs.

Oxen, plows,

and agricultural

implements to

be furnished.

40a

proper care of and make proper use of the same; also

for the same period annually two hundred (200)

grubbing-hoes, ten (10) ploughs, ten (10) grindstones,

one hundred (100) axes, handled, not to exceed in

weight three and one-half pounds each, twenty (20)

spades, and other farming implements, provided it

shall not amount to more than fifteen hundred dollars

in one year; also two carpenters, and two black-

smiths, and four farm-laborers, and one physician.

ARTICLE 6. The United States further agree to pay

annually one thousand dollars ($1,000) towards the

support of a sawmill to be built for the common use

of the Chippewas of the Mississippi and the Red Lake

and Pembina bands of Chippewa Indians, so long as

the President of the United States may deem it

necessary; and to expend in building a road, bridges,

&c., to their new agency seven thousand five hundred

dollars ($7,500;) and to expend for new agency

buildings, to be located by the Secretary of the

Interior for the common use of the Chippewas of the

Mississippi, Red Lake, and Pembina, and Pillager and

Lake Winnebagoshish bands of Chippewa Indians,

twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000.)

ARTICLE 7 There shall be a board of visitors, to

consist of not less than two nor more than five per-

sons, to be selected from such Christian denomi-

nation or denominations as the chiefs in council may

designate, whose duty it shall be to be present at all

annuity payments to the Indians, whether of goods,

moneys, provisions, or other articles, and to inspect

the fields, buildings, mills, and other improvements

made or to be made, and to report annually thereon,

on or before the first day of November; and also as to

the qualifications and moral deportment of all persons

residing upon the reservation under the sanction of

law or regulation, and they shall receive for their

services five dollars per day for the time actually

employed, and ten cents per mile for travelling

expenses; Provided, That no one shall be paid in any

one year for more than twenty days’ service, or for

more than three hundred miles’ travel.

Carpenters,

blacksmiths,

laborers, and

physician.

Sawmill.

Road, bridges,

etc.

Buildings.

Board of visitors

to be present at

annuity payment,

make inspection,

and report

annually.

Pay.

4la

ARTICLE 8. No person shall be recognized as a

chief whose band numbers less than fifty persons;

and to encourage and aid the said chiefs in preserving

order, and inducing by their example and advice, the

members of their respective bands to adopt the

pursuits of civilized life, there shall be paid to each of

said chiefs annually out of the annuities of said

bands, a sum not exceeding one hundred and fifty

dollars, ($150,) to be determined by their agent ac-

cording to their respective merits.

ARTICLE 9. To improve the morals and industrial

habits of said Indians, it is agreed that no agent,

teacher, interpreter, trader, or other employees shall

be employed, appointed, licensed, or permitted to

reside within the reservations belonging to the

Indians, parties to this treaty, missionaries excepted,

who shall not have a family residing with them at

their respective places of employment or trade within

the agency, whose moral habits and fitness shall be

reported upon annually by the board of visitors; and

no person of full or mixed blood, educated or

partially educated, whose fitness, morally or other-

wise, is not conducive to the welfare of said Indians,

shall receive any benefit from this or any former

treaties, and may be expelled from the reservation.

ARTICLE 10. All annuities under this or former

treaties shall be paid as the chiefs in council may

request, with the approval of the Secretary of the

Interior, until otherwise altered or amended, which

shall be done whenever the board of visitors, by the

requests of the chiefs, may recommend it: Provided

That no change shall take place oftener than once in

two years.

ARTICLE 11. Whenever the services of laborers are

required upon the reservation, preference shall be

given to full or mixed bloods, if they shall be found

competent to perform them.

ARTICLE 12. It shall not be obligatory upon the

Indians, parties to this treaty, to remove from their

present reservations until the United States shall have

first complied with the stipulations of Articles IV and

VI of this treaty, when the United States shall furnish

them with all necessary transportation and subsis-

tence to their new homes and subsistence for six

Chiefs with

bands of less than

fifty not to be

recognized.

Gratuities.

Agent, teachers,

etc., to have

families.

Improper persons

not be have

benefits of

treaties.

Payment of

annuities.

Preference given

to full or mixed

bloods as

laborers.

Indians not to

remove from

present

reservations

until, etc.

42a

months thereafter: Provided, That, owing to the

heretofore good conduct of the Mille Lac Indians,

they shall not be compelled to remove so long as they

shall not in any way interfere with or in any manner

molest the persons or property of the whites:

Provided, That those of the tribe residing on the

Sandy Lake reservation shall not be removed until the

President shall so direct.

ARTICLE 13. Female members of the family of any

government employeie] residing on the reser-

vation, who shall teach Indian girls domestic econ-

omy, shall be allowed and paid a sum not exceeding

ten dollars per month while so engaged: Provided,

That not more than one thousand dollars shall be so

expended during any one year, and that the President

of the United States may suspend or annul this article

whenever he may deem it expedient to do so.

ARTICLE 14. It is distinctly understood and agreed

that the clearing and breaking of land for the

Chippewas of the Mississippi, as provided for in the

fourth article of this treaty, shall be in lieu of all

former engagements of the United States as to the

breaking of lands for those bands, and that this treaty

is in lieu of the treaty made by the same tribes,

approved March | !th, 1863.

In testimony whereof the said Wm. P. Dole and

Clark W. Thompson, on behalf of the United States,

and Chippewa chiefs, Hole-in-the-day and Mis-qua-

dace, on behalf of Indians parties to this treaty, have

hereunto set their hands and affixed their seals this

seventh day of May, A. D. one thousand eight

hundred and sixty-four.

W. P. Dole, Commissioner Indian Affairs.

Clark W. Thompson, Superintendent Indian Affairs.

Que-ze-zance, or Hole-in-the-day, his x mark.

Mis-qua-dace, or Turtle, his x mark.

Signed in presence of-

Peter Roy, special interpreter.

Benjn. Thompson.

Certain females

may be paid as

teachers.

Proviso.

Provisions for

clearing, etc.,

lands to be in

lieu of former

provisions.

[SEAL.]

[SEAL.]

[SEAL.]

[SEAL.]

43a

APPENDIX F

5 MLBSA § 111. Subject matter jurisdiction

(a) The Court of Central Jurisdiction shall have jurisdic-

tion over all civil and criminal matters as prescribed by law.

(b) The Court of Central Jurisdiction is hereby granted

exclusive original jurisdiction over all criminal or civil causes

of action, involving any person, where such grievance or

dispute arises concerning any property personal or otherwise,

located on lands or contiguous waters subject to the

jurisdiction of the Non-Removable Mille Lacs Band of

Chippewa Indians.

(c) The Court of Central Jurisdiction shall have subject

matter jurisdiction over any cause of action that may arise

from unwritten cultural law or a violation thereof. The Court

of Central Jurisdiction however, in the exercise of its

authority to enforce all provisions of unwritten cultural law

and upon the authority it possess as to accord equal justice

shall give full force and effect to 24 MLBSA Chapter 1, if the

provisions of that chapter are not inconsistent with any

custom or cultural law heretofore or hereafter in place in the

determination of cultural causes of action arising pursuant to

any statute of the Non-Removable Mille Lacs Band of

Chippewa Indians.

(d)(1) The Court of Central Jurisdiction shall have jurisdic-

tion over all civil matters in which the Non-Removable Mille

Lacs Band of Chippewa Indians, any of its political

subdivisions or entities, or its officers, appointees or employ-

ees are parties in their official capacity. Nothing herein shall

be construed as a waiver of sovereign immunity of the Band

unless specifically authorized in accordance with Band law or

by specific Band Statute.

(2) The Court of Central Jurisdiction has exclusive juris-

diction over all suits in which Band officials are defendants

where declaratory and equitable relief is sought.

44a

(e) The District Court of the Court of Central Jurisdiction

shall have original jurisdiction over all criminal and civil

matters except as otherwise provided for by law.

(f) The Court of Appeals shall have original jurisdiction

over election disputes pursuant to the Minnesota Chippewa

Tribal Election Ordinance and on issues certified to the Court

of Appeals from foreign jurisdictions.

5 MLBSA § 113. Personal jurisdiction.

The Court of Central Jurisdiction shall have civil jurisdic-

tion over any person, corporation, business organization or

other private entity that:

(a) Transacts business with any member of the Band

within the territorial jurisdiction of the Band;

(b) Engages in any activity which results in injury or

property damage within the territorial jurisdiction of the Mille

Lacs Band;

(c) Engages in any activity which results in a dispute over

the ownership, use, possession or interest in any property

within the territorial jurisdiction of the Band;

(d) Contracts to insure any person, property, corporation,

business organization or risk located within the territorial

jurisdiction of the Band;

(e) Enters into a written or verbal sales or service

agreement within the territorial jurisdiction of the Mille Lacs

Band or where performance of the agreement is to be within

the territorial jurisdiction of the Mille Lacs Band;

(f) Engages in conduct that may affect the environment

or territories under the jurisdiction of the Band or affects the

natural resources of the Band or threatens the health, safety,

peace or welfare of Mille Lacs Band or inhabitants thereof.

45a

APPENDIX G

11 MLBSA § 9. Jurisdictional authority.

The Environmental Protection Commission shall exercise

all the environmental jurisdiction possessed by the Non-

Removable Mille Lacs Bands of Chippewa Indians as stated

herein:

(a) The Non-Removable Mille Lacs Bands of Chippewa

Indians shall exercise concurrent environmental jurisdic-

tion with the United States of America over the air space

encompassing all lands and waters subject to the

jurisdiction of the Band.

(b) The Non-Removable Mille Lacs Bands of Chippewa

Indians shall exercise concurrent environmental jurisdic-

tion with the United States of America over all streams,

lakes, ponds, marshes, watercourses, waterways, wells,

springs, reservoirs, aquifers, irrigation system, drainage

systems and all other accumulations of water, surface

or underground, natural or artificial, public or private,

which are contained within, flow through or border upon

lands of the Mille Lacs Bands of Chippewa Indians.

(c) The Non-Removable Mille Lacs Bands of Chippewa

Indians shall exercise concurrent environmental jurisdic-

tion with the United States of America over:

(1) all lands within the exterior boundaries of the

Mille Lacs Reservation and Sandy Lake Reservation

as established by the Treaty of 1855;

(2) all lands held in trust by the United States of

America for the benefit of the Minnesota Chippewa

Tribe, which are lawfully delegated to the jurisdiction

of the Mille Lacs Bands; and, all lands held in trust

by the United States of America for the benefit of the

Non-Removable Mille Lacs Bands of Chippewa

Indians;

(3) all lands subject to the jurisdiction of the Band

pursuant to federal law, notwithstanding the issuance

46a

of any patent, and including rights-of-way running

through said lands;

(4) all individual allotments for the benefit of any

member of. the Non-Removable Mille Lacs Bands of

Chippewa Indians which are located within the

exterior boundaries of the Mille Lacs and Sandy Lake

Reservations as established by the Treaty of 1855;

(5) all lands held in fee status in the name of the Non-

Removable Mille Lacs Bands of Chippewa Indians

which are located within the exterior boundaries of the

Mille Lacs and Sandy Lake Reservations as estab-

lished by the Treaty of 1855.

(d) The criminai and civil jurisdiction of the Non-Re-

movable Mille Lacs Bands of Chippewa Indians shall

extend to all enrolled members of the Mille Lacs

Bands of Chippewa Indians, enrolled members of the

Minnesota Chippewa Tribe who reside within the

territorial jurisdiction of the Mille Lacs Bands of

Chippewa Indians, Indians from other tribes who enter

the territorial jurisdiction, including Indian Country, of

the Mille Lacs Bands of Chippewa Indians, Indians from

other tribes who enter the territorial jurisdiction of the

Mille Lacs Bands of Chippewa Indians by virtue of

residency, employment or violation of Mille Lacs Band

Statute(s) within the territorial jurisdiction of the Mille

Lacs Bands of Chippewa Indians.

(e) The exercise of civil jurisdiction of the Non-Remov-

able Mille Lacs Bands of Chippewa Indians over non-

Indians, in environmental protection causes of action

shall exist to the extent authorized by the laws of the

United States of America. The criminal jurisdiction of

the Non-Removable Mille Lacs Bands of Chippewa

Indians shall not extend to non-Indians.

(f) The jurisdiction of the Non-Removable Mille Lacs

Bands of Chippewa Indians shall extend to all persons,

political sub-divisions and their officers and agents,

public or private corporations, associations, partnerships

47a

and any other individuals or entities who shall violate

the environmental protection laws of the Band within the

exterior boundaries of the Mille Lacs and Sandy Lake

Reservations or on lands held in trust or fee status in the

name of the Band, as authorized pursuant to the laws of

the United States of America.

48a

APPENDIX H

24 MLBSA § 101. Power to license.

The Corporate Commission shall have the sole power

and authority to license commercial entities who sell or offer

for sale any goods and/or services to person(s) on lands

subject to the jurisdiction of the Non-Removable Mille Lacs

Band of Chippewa Indians. Any persons(s), company(ies),

corporation(s), association(s), partnership(s), cooperative(s),

utility(ies) and any other public or private commercial entity

who desires to sell or offer for sale any goods and/or services

of any material value or to sell or offer for sale the exchange

of property, real or personal, as defined in 24 MLBSA

§ 3302, with any Band member or Indian or any per-

son subject to the jurisdiction of the Mille Lacs Band of

Chippewa Indians; or with the Non-Removable Milie Lacs

Band of Chippewa Indians; or any political sub-division or

entity thereof, shall upon establishing the fact to the

satisfaction of the Corporate Commission that he is a proper

person or entity to engage in such activity, be permitted to do

so under such rules and regulations as the Corporate Commis-

sion may prescribe through the issuance of lawful Orders of

the Commission. Any such Commission Order shall not be

applicable to any commercial entity during the term of any

existing license but shall become effective upon the issuance

of a new license or upon renewal of an existing license.

24 MLBSA § 103. Classes of Licenses.

The Non-Removable Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa

Indians hereby designates the following classes of licenses

which shall be available for any commercial entity who

desires to engage in the sale of any goods and/or services on

lands subject to the jurisdiction of the Band. The following

classes of licenses shall be made available to any person,

company, corporation, association, partner-ship, cooperative,

utility, or financial institution, be it public or private who

49a

seeks to engage in the sale of such goods or services on lands

subject to the jurisdiction of the Non-Removable Mille Lacs

Band of Chippewa Indians. The class of license sought shall

be issued according to the classification of the goods and/or

services sold on said lands.

(a) Retail Sales License. This license is available to a

person who sells any goods and commodities at retail on

lands under the jurisdiction of the Band.

(b) Entertainers License. This license is available to a per-

son who provides entertainment to the public. For example: a

band, theater or dance troupe, etc.

(c) Professional Services License. This license is avail-

able to a person who provides services in the practice of

medicine and surgery, chiropractic, nursing, optometry, psy-

chology, dentistry, pharmacy, podiatry, veterinary medicine,

architecture, engineering, surveying, landscape architecture,

accountancy and law.

(d) Utilities License. This license is available to a person

providing telephone, electrical, water, sewer, gas to the

public.

(e) Public Accommodations License. This license is

available to a person providing lodging, prepared foods or

beverages, and equipment rental to the public.

(f) Hawkers, Peddlers, Transient Merchants License. This

license is available to a person who transacts any temporary

and transient business on lands under the jurisdiction of the

Band including selling goods, wares, merchandise and dis-

tributing literature of any type.

(g) General Service License. This license is available to a

person who provides commercial services to the public, such

as refuse disposal, plumbing, auto or equipment repair, elec-

trical, carpentry, cleaning and maintenance services, personal

care and other like general services.

50a

(h) Special Events License. This license is available to a

person who conducts commercial activity usually on a one

time per annum basis, but not exceeding three times per

annum. Said activity does not occur on a regular or consistent

basis.

(i) _ Miscellaneous License. This license is available to a

person who sells goods or services that do not fall into

another category in subsections (a) to (h).

Sla

APPENDIX I

24 MLBSA § 2. Exclusive original jurisdiction.

(a) The Court of Central Jurisdiction is hereby conferred

exclusive original jurisdiction over all civil causes of action,

involving any person, where such grievance or dispute arises

concerning any property, personal or otherwise, located on

lands subject to the jurisdiction of the Non-Removable Mille

Lacs Band of Chippewa Indians.

(b) The Court of Central Jurisdiction shall have exclusive

original jurisdiction over all civil matters in which the Non-

Removable Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa Indians, any of its

political subdivisions or entities, or its officers, appointees or

employees are parties in their official capacity. Nothing

herein shall be construed as a waiver of sovereign immunity

of the Band unless specifically authorized in accordance with

Band law or by specific Band Statute.

24 MLBSA § 3. Concurrent jurisdiction.

The jurisdiction invoked by this chapter over any person,

cause of action or subject shall be concurrent with any valid

jurisdiction over the same of the Courts of the United States;

provided, however, this chapter does not recognize, grant or

cede jurisdiction to any other political or governmental entity.

24 MLBSA § 4. Application of Uniform Commercial

Code of State of Minnesota

Pursuant to the provisions of 18 MLBSA § 301, the

provisions of Minnesota Statutes Chapter 336, the Uniform

Commercial Code, shall apply to any applicable civil causes

of action which arise pursuant thereto.

24 MLBSA § 5. Truth in Lending Act.

The provisions of the laws of the United States of Amer-

ica relative to truth in lending as set forth in 15 USC 1601, et

seq. shall apply to all persons who are creditors and lessors

52a

as defined by the act. The justices of the Court of Cen-

tral Jurisdiction shall be bound thereby to the provisions of

said act.

24 MLBSA § 6. Consumer Protection Laws of State of

Minnesota

The' Consumer Protection Laws of the State of Minnesota

shall apply as the Consumer Protection Laws of the Non-

Removable Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa Indians. The

justices of the Court of Central Jurisdiction shall be bound

thereby to enforce the provisions of said Consumer Protection

Laws.

53a

APPENDIX J

24 MLBSA § 3309. Unlawful removal or disconnection of

property.

Any creditor be they a person, company, corporation,

association, partnership, cooperative, utility and any other

public or private commercial entity, who absent a lawful

order from the Court of Central Jurisdiction, who shall

attempt to remove or disconnect any property from any

person under the jurisdiction of the Band, shall be deemed to

have committed a property trespass offense in violation of 2

MLBSA § 304(m) and the Solicitor General shall initiate civil

action against said person seeking their removal and

exclusion from lands under the jurisdiction of the Non-

Removable Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa Indians for a

period of time not to exceed 180 days.

* * * *

24 MLBSA § 3501. Applicability.

The replevin procedure set out in this subchapter shall be

utilized for all cases before the Court of Central Jurisdiction.

24 MLBSA § 3502. Claim for immediate delivery of

property

The plaintiff, in an action to recover the possession of

personal property, at the time of issuing the summons or at

any time before answer, may claim the immediate delivery of

such property as provided in this subchapter.

74 MLBSA § 3503. Affidavit.

When an immediate delivery is claimed, an affidavit must

be made by the plaintiff or by someone in his behalf stating

that the plaintiff is the owner of the property claimed, is

lawfully entitled to the possession of it, or that he had a

lawful lien against such property, payment of which is in

54a

default. The facts of such ownership or right to possession

must be set forth along with a detailed description of the

property. Said affidavit must state that the property is

wrongfully detained by the defendant and that the alleged

cause of the detention of the property, according to his best

knowledge, information, and belief that the property has not

been taken for a tax, assessment against the property of the

plaintiff, or, if so seized, that it is by law exempt from such

seizure. Said affidavit must also state the actual value of the

property.

24 MLBSA § 3504. Direction to law enforcement officer.

The plaintiff, after completing and endorsing the affidavit

required by 24 MLBSA § 3503, may require any law

enforcement officer of the Non-Removable Mille Lacs Band

of Chippewa Indians to take the property from the defendant

and deliver it to the plaintiff.

24 MLBSA § 3505. Security furnished by plaintiff.

Before possession of any property may be taken by the

plaintiff, he must furnish to the Court sufficient security in

the form of cash or sureties. The surety shall be at least

double in amount the value of the property as stated in the

affidavit. If the defendant shall be later adjudged the rightful

owner of the property or shall be entitled to possession of the

property, the security provided by the plaintiff shall be used

in any recovery by the defendant against the plaintiff.

24 MLBSA § 3506. Seizure of property.

Upon receipt of the affidavit, endorsement, and security by

the Band law enforcement officer, the officer shall take the

property described in the affidavit, if it be in the possession of

the defendant or his agent, and retain it in his custody. He

shall keep it in a safe place and deliver it to the party entitled

thereto upon receiving his lawful fees and necessary expenses

for keeping the property. If the property of any part thereof be

55a

concealed in a building or enclosure, the officer shall publicly

demand its deliver. If it is not delivered, then the officer

must obtain a search warrant from the Court of Central

Jurisdiction.

24 MLBSA § 3507. Service on defendant.

The officer, at the time of taking any property, shall serve

on the defendant a copy of the affidavit, endorsement, and

proof of security or cash bond and notice of levy showing the

property taken by delivering the same to the defendant

personally, if he can be conveniently found, or to his agent

from whose possession the property is taken; or if neither can

be found, by leaving age and discretion.

24 MLBSA § 3508. Third party claims or return to

defendant.

(a) If the property taken be claimed by any other person

than the defendant or his agent, and such person shall make

an affidavit of his title thereto and right to possession thereto,

stating such right and title, and serve the same upon the

officer, the officer shall not be bound to keep the property or

deliver it to the plaintiff unless the plaintiff shall indemnify

the officer against such claim by deposit with the Clerk of

Court of security in amount and sufficiency as required in the

original affidavit for the delivery. No claim to such property

by any other person than the defendant or his agent shall be

valid against the officer, unless made as provided; and

notwithstanding such claim when so made, he may retain the

property a reasonable time to demand such indemnity.

(b) The defendant may retain or require the return of the

property by giving the Clerk of Court, within three (3) days

after the taking, sufficient security or cash deposit of an

amount not less than was required by the plaintiff for the

delivery.

56a

(c) If the defendant or a third party does not require a

return of the property within three (3) days after the taking

and service of papers on- the defendant, the property shall be

delivered to the plaintiff.

24 MLBSA § 3509. Sureties and deposits.

(a) Sureties may be provided by any person or company

allowed by the Court. Security may be given in the form of a

cash deposit. A receipt shall be given by the Clerk of Court

and the deposit shall remain in the custody of the Court until

the Court shall make an order disposing of it.

(b) The defendant or plaintiff may require the surety of

the other to prove the validity of their sureties. The plaintiff

and defendant shall be given seven (7) days from date of

service of a copy of the affidavit to question the validity of

the surety. If it is not questioned within seven (7) days, it

shall be deemed waived and cannot later be questioned by

either party.

24 MLBSA § 3510. Officer's report.

(a) Within twenty (20) days after taking the property, the

officer shall be notified by the Clerk of the Court in writing to

make a verified report of his proceedings in taking and

disposing of the property, and file the same together with the

original affidavit, endorsement, or security and a notice of his

copy of levy, with the Clerk of the Court.

(b) The failure or neglect of the officer to make such veri-

fied report of his proceedings shall not, however, void his

proceedings under the affidavit and endorsement but shall

render him liable for contempt of court.

57a

APPENDIX K

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF MINNESOTA FOURTH DIVISION

CIV. NO. 02-407 JMR/RLF

COUNTY OF MILLE LACS,

Plaintiff,

VS.

MELANIE BENJAMIN, et ai.,

Defendants.

AFFIDAVIT OF B. P. ALLEN, JR.

STATE OF MINNESOTA __)

)

COUNTY OF MILLE LACS )

B. P. Allen, Jr. states under oath as follows:

1. I am currently the Chairman and have served in the

capacity of President, CEO and/or Director of the First

National Bank of Milaca (the “Bank”) for approximately 46

years.

2. The Bank is federally chartered and is located in Milaca,

Minnesota.

3. The Bank was founded in 1897 and is a family-con-

trolled business.

4. The Bank owns and operates a branch in Isle, Minnesota

(the “Isle Branch”).

58a

5. The Isle Branch represents approximately one-third of

the Bank’s loans and deposits, and the Isle Branch has

originated approximately 189 loans secured by approximately

$11,000,000 in real estate.

6. The Bank’s market area extends throughout the former

Mille Lacs Reservation boundaries, including Kathio, South

Harbor and Isle Townships

7. A substantial portion of the Isle Branch loans are

secured by real estate located in Kathio, South Harbor and

Isle Townships.

8. The Isle Branch does business with several members of

the Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa (the “Band”).

9. In 1992, the Band contacted Isle and Onamia area

businesses and stated its intention to require all businesses

operating within the boundaries of the former Mille Lacs

Reservation to be licensed by the Band.

10. The Band recently contacted Isle and Onamia area

businesses and stated that the Band has the power to regulate

all commercial activities on lands subject to the Band’s

jurisdiction. |

11. The Band’s assertion of regulatory authority over

property the Bank owns or on which it holds a security

interest will depress the market value of that property. As a

result, the Bank is concerned about taking a mortgage interest

on property that is adjacent to land owned by the Band due to

the potential for conflicting land use regulations. The Band’s

efforts to regulate dealings with its members, through its

licensing system, will also affect the Bank’s business and its

profitability.

12. The Bank seeks to intervene in the County of Mille

Lacs’ action against the Band to protect the value of the

property it owns or on which it has a security interest which

will result if the former 1855 reservation is found to exist

59a

along its original boundaries. Similarly, if the Band has the

authority to license businesses within the area of the former

1855 reservation, the Bank’s livelihood will be adversely

affected.

13. Attached to my affidavit as Exhibits are true and

correct copies of the following:

Exhibit 1: March 23, 1992 Letter from the Mille Lacs

Band of Chippewa Indians;

Exhibit 2: Letter from Molly Big Bear on Behalf of the

Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa Indians;

Exhibit 3: Milk Lacs Band Stat. Ann. Index 2, Title 18,

§ 103.

This concludes my affidavit.

By: B.P. Allen, Jr.

B.P. ALLEN, JR.

Subscribed to and sworn before me

This 3rd day of May, 2002.

/s/ Patricia A. Packard

PATRICIA A. PACKARD

Notary Public

60a

EXHIBIT NO. 1

[SEAL]

MILLE LACS BAND OF CHIPPEWA INDIANS

Corporate Commission

March 23, 1992

Dear Madame/Sir:

The Corporate Commission Of the Miile Lacs Band of

Ojibwe Indians is currently in the process of licensing all

organizations doing business upon tribal lands. Tribal law

requires all organizations to be licensed pursuant to Band

Statute 1090-MLC-47.

It is the goal of the Corporate Commission and of the Band

to establish an effective system of regulation concerning

business transactions within the boundaries of tribal

territories. To achieve this goal, all organizations must be

issued vendors licenses.

A vendors license permits organizations to do business on

tribal lands. Just as Minnesota licenses businesses, so too,

does the Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe Indians. The licensing

statute’s purpose (Section 1.01 of 1090-MLC-47) is as fol-

lows: The Band Assembly hereby finds and determines that

the regulation and licensure of all persons, companies,

corporations, associations, partnerships, cooperatives, utili-

ties, and any other public or private commercial entity who

engage in the sale of any goods and/or services with any

constituent band of Non-Removable Mille Lacs Band of

Ojibwe Indians is an effective way to regulate commercial .

activity on lands under the jurisdiction of the band and that

such regulation is vital to economic security, political

integrity and general welfare of the members of any

constituent band of the Non-Removable Mille Lacs Band of

Ojibwe Indians.

6la

Section 7 of said statute list the fee schedule, which is

based on the annual gross sales of business transactions done

with the Band. A copy of the fee schedule is enclosed to aid

in determining the fee sum. Also enclosed is the licensing

application, which the organization will submit to the

Corporate Administrator, along with the proper licensing fee.

All organizations have 90 calendar days from the above date,

in which to become licensed.

Should you have any questions or concerns, feel free to

contact me at (612) 532-7777, Ext. 137. Thank you in

advance for your cooperation.

Sincerely,

/s/ Melissa C. Hill

Corporate Administrator

62a

EXHIBIT NO. 2

[SEAL]

MILLE LACS BAND OF CHIPPEWA INDIANS

Executive Branch of Tribal Government

Corporate Commission

Dear Madam/Sir

It is the goal of the Mille Lacs Band and the Corporate

Commission of the Mille Lacs Band to establish an effective

system of regulation concerning business transactions within

the boundaries of tribal territories. To achieve this goal, the

Corporate Commission of the Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe

Indians is currently in the process of updating all licenses of

organizations doing business upon tribal lands.

According to the Mille Lacs Band Statutes Annotated

(MLBSA), The Corporate Commission shall have the sole

power and authority to license commercial entities who sell

or offer for sale any goods and/or services to person(s) on

lands subject to the jurisdiction of the Non-Removable Mille

Lacs Band of Chippewa Indians. Any person(s), com-

pany(ies), corporation(s), association(s), partnership(s), coop-

erative(s), utility(ies) and any other public or private

commercial entity who desires to sell or offer for sale any

goods and/or services of any material value or to sell or offer

for sale the exchange of property, real or personal, as defined

in 24 MLBSA § 3302, with any Band member or Indian or

any person subject to the jurisdiction of the Mille Lacs Band

of Chippewa Indians; or with the Non-Removable Mille Lacs

Band of Chippewa Indians; or any political subdivision or

entity thereof, shall upon establishing the fact to the

satisfaction of the Corporate Commission that he is a proper

person or entity to engage in such activity, be permitted to do

so under such rules and regulations as the Corporate Com-

mission may prescribe through the issuance of lawful Orders

63a

of the Commission. Any such Commission Order shall not be

applicable to any commercial entity during the term of any

existing license but shall become effective upon the issuance

of a new license or upon renewal of an existing license.

When an application for a license or permit is filed with the

Commissioner of Corporate Affairs, the application shall be

accompanied by a non-refundable fee of ten dollars ($10.00).

The Corporate Commission shall have ninety days from the

date of filing to approve or deny any application Not-

withstanding, the Commissioner of Corporate Affairs shall

issue a temporary license valid for ninety days upon receipt

and filing of said application. A Vendors license permits

organizations to do business on tribal lands. Tribal law

requires all organizations to be licensed pursuant to 18

MLBSA § 101. An Annual Vendor license renewal form will

be issued the month prior to your Temporary License

expiration date.

Enclosed you will find an explanation of the Classes of

licenses, and a Temporary Vendor License application to do

business with the Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa -Indians.

Please fill it out and return it to the address on the bottom,

along with the $10.00 application fee.

If you should have any questions or concerns, please

contact me at (320) 532-8832. Thank you for your

cooperation and patronage.

Sincerely,

/s/ Molly Big Bear

MOLLY BIG BEAR

Business Regulation Officer

Corporate Commission

Enc.

64a

EXHIBIT NO. 3

The Non-Removable Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa

Indians hereby designates the following classes of licenses

which shall be available for any commercial entity who

desires to engage in the sale of any goods and/or services on

lands subject to the jurisdiction of the Band. The following

classes of licenses shall be made available to any person,

company, corporation, association, partnership, cooperative,

utility, or financial institution, be it public or private who

seeks to engage in the sale of such goods or services on lands

subject to the jurisdiction of the Non-Re

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.