Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Wallace v. Ohio Department of Commerce, Division of State Fire Marshal

Supreme Court brief2004

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

\ § & Gout, U.S.

(1) WRILED

Q4 204 AUG 10 2004

No. 04- OFFIGE OF THE CLERK

In the

Supreme Court of the Anited States

JOHN WALLACE, INDIVIDUALLY AND AS

ADMINISTRATOR OF THE ESTATE OF

JASON O. WALLACE, ET AL.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

OHIO DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE,

DIVISION OF STATE FiRE MARSHAL,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

to the Supreme Court of Ohio

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

STANLEY M. CHESLEY

Counsel of Record

Pau M. De Marco

RosBert A. STEINBERG

D. ARTHUR RABOURN

JANE H. WALKER

Waite, SCHNEIDER, BAYLESS

& Cues._ey Co., L.P.A.

1513 Fourtu & Vine Tower

One West FourtH STREET

CINCINNATI, OH 45202

(513) 621-0267

Becker Gallagher Legal Publishing, Inc.

800.890.5001

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether it violates the Fourteenth Amendment’s Due

Process Clause for a state court to ignore the law that is

effective at the time of its decision?

il

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Petitioners/Plaintiffs are individuals injured or

representatives of individuals killed in a fire on July 3,.1996

at the Flying Dragon fireworks store located in Scottown,

Ohio. The Respondent is the Ohio Department of Commerce,

Division of Fire Marshal.

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ...................

CONSTITUTIONAL AND

STATUTORY PROVISIONS

INVOLVED IN THIS CASE ..................

THIS CASE PRESENTS AN IMPORTANT

OPPORTUNITY FOR THIS COURT TO

ARTICULATE THAT IT IS A FEDERAL DUE

PROCESS VIOLATION WHEN A STATE COURT

FAILS TO APPLY THE LAW IN EFFECT AT THE

TIME OF ITS DECISION .................

A. A State Appellate Court’s Failure To Apply the Law

in Effect at the Time of the Decision is a Federal Due

Process Violation .......................

iV

B. Neither the Ohio Court of Appeals Nor the Supreme

Court of Ohio Followed the Law in Effect at the Time

Oe ee ee Oe I ond se hes ee Sees 7

ee PE ee ere Cee eee ee 17

APPENDIX

Appendix A

Order of the Supreme Court of Ohio Denying

Jurisdiction to Hear the Case,

ee eS, OE i a oe ee ee Ree la

Appendix B

Opinion of the Court of Appeals of Ohio, Tenth

Appellate District, Franklin County,

eo a a re ee 2a

Appendix C

Opinion of the Supreme Court of Ohio,

Decided September 4, 2002 ..........0000: 27a

Appendix D

Court of Appeals of Ohio, Tenth Appellate District,

Judgement Entry and Opinion,

PRE CT BOG OEE koe ei ewe ew ee eee 85a

Appendix E

Opinion of the Court of Claims of Ohio,

Filed October 29, 1999 ..............0.:. 109a

Appendix F

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions

a Pee ee eee ee ee Tee Te eee re 13la

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Boddie v. Connecticut, 401 U.S. 371 (1971) ...-. 6

Bradley v. School Bd. of The City of Richmond, 416

U.S. 696 (1976) 2... ee ee ee ees 5

Galas v. McKee, 801 F.2d 200 (6" Cir. 1986) .... 6

Garland v. ODOT, 48 Ohio St. 3d 10, 548 N.E.2d

133 (1990) .. 0... ccc weer cere c eens 13, 15

In re Cincinnati Radiation Litig., 874 F. Supp. 796

(S.D. Ohio 1995) ... 6.2.20 2 eee rece ecee 6

Logan v. Zimmerman Brush Co., 455 U.S. 422

t) ) ) re ee ee eo. 5-6

Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co., 339

U.S. SOB CIID) onc eae ensenss 6

Reynolds v. State, 14 Ohio St.3d 68, 14 OBR 506,

471 N.E.2d 776 (1984) .....-----+-- 4, 7-8, 13

Semadeni v. ODOT, 75 Ohio St. 3d 128, 661 N.E.2d

1013 (1996)... cc ec ere emcees 13, 15

Thorpe v. Housing Auth. Of the City of Durham, 393

U.S. 268 (1968) .....--- eee eee eres 5

Valot v. Southeast Local Schools Dist., 107

F.3d 1220 (6" Cir.), cert. denied, 139 L.

Ed. 2d 108 (1997) .....---- ee eee eee eee 6

Wallace v. Ohio Dept. of Commerce, Div. of State

Fire Marshall, 96 Ohio St.3d 266, 773 N.E.2d

1018 (2002) ........-2005- 3, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11

Vi

STATUTES

ee ss RPO 5b kw ee ag ee Ow ee 1

RAT TSN Ce Sartre Panes selene ae

iss PORE) ke ee Wa cae eee ae 3, 8, 16

a Tees. Tee”

indie

1

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Supreme Court of Ohio denying

jurisdiction in this case is reported at 102 Ohio St.3d 1447

and is reproduced in Appendix A, p. la. The earlier opinion

of the Supreme Court of Ohio reversing and remanding the

decision entered by the Ohio Court of Appeals for the Tenth

Appellate District is reported at 96 Ohio St.3d 266 and

reproduced in Appendix C, p. 27a. The opinion of that

Court of Appeals upholding the Ohio Court of Claims’

judgment against Petitioners on remand is unreported and is

reproduced in Appendix B, p.2a. The earlier opinion of the

Court of Appeals affirming the decision of the Court of

Claims is unreported and is reproduced in Appendix D,

p.85a. The judgment of the Court of Claims is unreported

and is reproduced in Appendix E, p.109a

JURISDICTION

The order of the Supreme Court of Ohio denying

jurisdiction was entered on May 12, 2004. This Court has

jurisdiction to review the judgment of the Supreme Court of

Ohio by writ of certiorari pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

INVOLVED IN THIS CASE

This case involves the Fourteenth Amendment to the

Constitution of the United States and Ohio Revised Code,

Section 2743.02, which are set forth in Appendix F, pp. 131-

132.

2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioners/Plaintiffs are individuals injured or

representatives of individuals killed in a fire on July 3, 1996

at the Flying Dragon fireworks store located in Scottown,

Ohio. Petitioners alleged that the negligence of

Respondent/Defendant Ohio Department of Commerce

Division of Fire Marshal (“fire marshal”), was the proximate

cause of the injuries suffered by Petitioners and their

decedents. Todd Hall, a mentally disturbed boy, used a

cigarette to ignite fireworks inside the Flying Dragon. The

fireworks Hall lit in turn ignited other fireworks and a

devastating fire occurred, resulting in the death of nine people

and serious injuries to eleven others.

The Flying Dragon was operating under a license issued

by the fire marshal. A condition of this license required the

Flying Dragon to be equipped with an approved, operable fire

suppression system, which includes an automatic sprinkler

system. An additional condition of licensure required fire

marshal inspectors to make annual and seasonal inspections of

the fireworks store. The seasonal inspection was required

during the peak firework sales season - between May 15 and

July 4 - each year. Safety being the primary concern,

seasonal inspections during the peak fireworks sales season

always included an inspection of all safety features, including

adequacy of exits and the operation of sprinkler systems. A

directive issued by the chief fire marshal inspector on May

26, 1996 required that at least one visit be made to each

licensed fireworks store during the peak period to monitor

overall compliance.

On or about June 7, 1996, the fire marshal received a

complaint that the Flying Dragon was illegally selling Class

B fireworks. Based on this information, the fire marshal

eee ee ee ee oe _

3

decided to postpone the seasonal inspection in order to

perform a “bust-buy” targeting the illegal fireworks. The

bust-buy occurred on June 28, 1996, but the fire marshal

agents did not conduct the seasonal inspection upon

concluding the bust-buy. The fire marshal also failed to

perform the mandated inspection for the remainder of the

peak period between June 28, 1996 and July 3, 1996, the day

the fire occurred.

Fo!! wing a bench trial, the Ohio Court of Claims ruled

in fa\ .1 of the fire marshal primarily <n the basis that the

public duty rule precluded Petitioners from suing the fire

marshal for breach of the duty to inspect the fireworks store.

On appeal, the Court of Appeals for the Tenth Appellate

District affirmed the Court of Claims’ decision. In Wallace

v. Ohio Dept. of Commerce, Div. of State Fire Marshal, 96

Ohio St.3d 266, 773 N.E.2d 1018 (2002), however, the

Supreme Court of Ohio held that the fire marshal (like all

other state agencies) was barred from invoking the public duty

rule and remanded the case to the appeals court. The syllabus

stated:

The public-duty rule is incompatible with R.C.

2743.02(A)(1)’s express language requiring that the

state’s liability in the Court of Claims be determined

“in accordance with the same rules of law applicable

to suits between private parties.” In negligence suits

against the state, the Court of Claims must determine

the existence of a legal duty using conventional tort

principles that would be applicable if the defendant

were a private individual or entity.

Id. at 1019. The state supreme court added:

The language in R.C. 2743.02 that the state shall

4

“have its liability determined * * * in accordance with

the same rules of law applicable to suits between

private parties” means that the state cannot be sued for

its legislative or judicial functions or the exercise of an

executive or planning function involving the making

of a basic policy decision which is characterized by

the exercise of a high degree of official judgment or

discretion. However, once the decision has been

made to engage in a certain activity or function, the

state may be held liable, in the same manner as

private parties, for the negligence of the actions of its

employees and agents in performance of that activity

or function. (Reynolds v. State, 14 Ohio St.3d 68, 14

OBR 506, 471 N.E.2d 776 (1984), paragraph one of

the syllabus approved.)

On remand, the court of appeals rejected Petitioners’

claim again and affirmed based on discretionary function

immunity, even though there was no evidence of a high level

decision not to inspect the store between June 28 and July 3,

1996, and even though all evidence suggested that the fire

marshal made the opposite decision. The Supreme Court of

Ohio denied review.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

THIS CASE PRESENTS AN IMPORTANT

OPPORTUNITY FOR THIS COURT TO

ARTICULATE THAT IT IS A FEDERAL DUE

PROCESS VIOLATION WHEN A _ STATE

COURT FAILS TO APPLY THE LAW IN

EFFECT AT THE TIME OF ITS DECISION.

By affirming based on discretionary function immunity

and denying review of the appellate court’s ruling in favor of

5

the fire marshal, the court of appeals and the Supreme Court

of Ohio, respectively, so far departed from established

principles of Ohio law that their decisions violate due process

and warrant this Court’s intervention. It is particularly

important that this Court intervene not only to remedy the

Ohio courts’ errors, but also to deter other state courts from

committing the same due process violation to the detriment of

litigants in a variety of contexts across the country.

Specifically, it is important that this Court review this case

for the purpose of expressly articulating that it is a violation

of the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment to

the United States Constitution when a state court fails to

follow the well-established principle that it must apply the law

in effect at the time of its decision. While this Court has long

instructed that reviewing courts must adhere to this salutary

principle, this Court has never articulated its underlying

constitutional basis, namely due process of the law.

A. A State Appellate Court’s Failure To Apply the

Law in Effect at the Time of the Decision is a

Federal Due Process Violation.

It is a fundamental principle of law that a reviewing court

is required to apply the law that is in effect at the time of its

decision. See Bradley v. School Bd. of The City of

Richmond, 416 U.S. 696, 711 (1974); Thorpe v. Housing

Auth. Of the City of Durham, 393 U.S. 268, (1968). A state

appellate court’s failure to apply the law in effect at the time

of the decision is a due process violation because it results in

litigants being deprived of fundamental and non-fundamental

rights. The state courts deprived Petitioners of both

procedural and substantive due process of law by denying

them the fundamental right of meaningful access to the courts.

Logan v. Zimmerman Brush Co., 455 U.S. 422, 428-30

6

(1982); Boddie v. Connecticut, 401 U.S. 371, 375-78 (1971).

A substantive due process violation occurs where a

fundamental right is denied in a manner that does not survive

strict scrutiny. Valot v. Southeast Local Schools Dist., 107

F.3d 1220, 1228 (6" Cir.), cert. denied, 139 L. Ed. 2d 108

(1997); see also Galas v. McKee, 801 F.2d 200, 204 (6" Cir.

1986).

To survive strict scrutiny, the state court’s decision must

promote a compelling state interest, and the means chosen

must be narrowly tailored to meet that goal. /d. The

Supreme Court of Ohio’s action cannot pass strict scrutiny as

there can be no compelling interest in ignoring the law it

established in Wallace v. Ohio Dept. of Commerce, Div. of

State Fire Marshall, 96 Ohio St.3d 266, 2002-Ohio-4210, 773

N.E.2d 1018 (2002).

The Ohio courts also deprived Petitioners of procedural

due process of law by denying them the property right of

meaningful access to the courts to pursue a cause of action.

This property right is protected by the Due Process Clause.

See generally Logan, 455 U.S. 422, 428-29; Mullane v.

Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co., 339 U.S. 306, 313-14

(1950); In re Cincinnati Radiation Litig., 874 F.Supp. 796,

825 (S.D. Ohio 1995). Interference with pursuing a cause of

action violates due process. Jd. Petitioners’ pursuit of their

cause of action was substantially impaired by the courts of

Ohio.

Petitioners’ circumstances are not unique. If this Court

does not expressly articulate that failing to apply the law in

effect at the time of the decision is a federal due process

violation, other litigants in a various contexts will face the

same risk of state appellate courts depriving them of their due

process rights.

MME SHi Le DOA

7

B. Neither the Ohio Court of Appeals Nor the

Supreme Court of Ohio Followed the Law in Effect

at the Time of Each Court’s Decision.

After rejecting the fire marshal’s primary ground for

affirmance, the public duty doctrine, the Ohio Supreme Court

in Wallace v. Ohio Dept. of Commerce, Div. of State Fire

Marshall, 96 Ohio St.3d 266, 2002-Ohio-4210, 773 N.E.2d

1018 (2002), left it to the court of appeals “to resolve, if

necessary, on remand” the viability of “the state’s alternative

argument based on the fire marshal’s discretionary function

immunity.” Id. at (36. However, the Ohio Supreme Court

did not leave the court of appeals without guidance in

evaluating that defense.

In paragraph two of the Wallace syllabus, the Ohio

Supreme Court articulated the standard for evaluating the

State’s claimed discretionary function immunity in a manner

consistent with the Court of Claims Act:

The language in R.C. 2743.02 that the state shall

“have its liability determined * * * in accordance with

the same rules of law applicable to suits between

private parties” means that the state cannot be sued for

its legislative or judicial functions or the exercise of an

executive or planning function involving the making

of a basic policy decision which is characterized by

the exercise of a high degree of official judgment or

discretion. However, once the decision has been

made to engage in a certain activity or function, the

state may be held liable, in the same manner as

private parties, for the negligence of the actions of its

employees and agents in performance of that activity

or function. (Reynolds v. State, 14 Ohio St.3d 68, 14

8

OBR 506, 471 N.E.2d 776 (1984), paragraph one of

the syllabus approved.)

(Emphasis added). The Ohio Supreme Court also observed

that,

[e]ven without the public-duty rule, the state already

enjoys a fair degree of protection from litigious

second guessing of discretionary governmental

decisions that necessarily involve difficult choices

about how to allocate the state’s resources.

Id. at 436 (emphasis added). Then the court specifically

addressed the state’s defense of discretionary function

immunity in this case:

In this case, for example, Reynolds arguably bars

liability for the fire marshal’s actions if the [plaintiffs’]

harm resulted from a discretionary executive decision

to forgo a seasonal inspection; if, on the other hand,

the fire marshal’s negligent performance of an

inspection was the proximate cause of the [plaintiffs’]

harm, R.C. 2743.02(A)(1) allows for liability.

A D6 ase dass alba advo om VA ds tn Alon

Id. (emphasis in original). |

Petitioners’ claims in this case carefully steer clear of

alleging that their harm resulted from “discretionary

governmental decisions that necessarily involve difficult

choices about how to allocate the state’s resources,” id., or

“from a discretionary executive decision to forgo a seasonal 3

inspection . . . .” Id. The record in the Court of Claims

reflects only three material decisions by the fire marshal: (1) F

the May 24, 1996 directive from the Assistant Chief of the

Fire Marshal's Inspection Bureau, Daniel Lehman, head of all :

— —

9

state fire safety inspectors, requiring all inspectors to conduct

at least one seasonal (i.e., safety) inspection of all licensed

fireworks stores during the period from May 24 to July 4,

1996, (2) the decision to conduct a “bust-buy” operation at

the Flying Dragon, and (3) the decision by Lehman that the

seasonal inspection of the Flying Dragon would not be

performed until after the investigators had conducted the

“bust-buy” operation, which they completed on June 28,

1996. Assuming, arguendo, that each of these decisions

reasonably could be classified as “the exercise of an executive

or planning function involving the making of a basic policy

decision which is characterized by the exercise of a high

degree of official judgment or discrvtion,” Wallace, supra, at

paragraph two of the syllabus, the central question was

whether any one or more of these decisions constituted “the

proximate cause of the [plaintiffs’] harm,” or instead whether

that harm proximately resulted from the fire marshal’s

negligent performance or implementation of a decision

already made. Wallace, 96 Ohio St.3d at 436. '

' Because of its resolution of the now-moot public duty issue,

the Court of Claims did not resolve that central question as a factual

matter. Twice in its Decision, the Court of Claims assumed,

without deciding, that defendant had acted in a negligent manner by

performing or failing to perform an inspection of the Flying

Dragon. At page 11 of its Decision, the Court of Claims began its

analysis of the public duty rule with the words, “Even if the court

were to find that defendant had acted in a negligent manner by

performing or failing to perform its duty to inspect . . . .” At page

15 of its Decision, the Court of Claims concluded that the public

duty doctrine would preclude state liability “even if defendant’s

agents were negligent in implementing the discretionary decision to

forego [sic] a seasonal inspection and conduct the operation . . . .”

Given that the Court of Claims indulged these assumptions,

arguendo, for the sole purpose of deciding the legal issue posed by

the public duty rule, it is clear that the Court of Claims did not

10

There was no evidence that reasonably could support a

finding that Petitioners’ harm “resulted from a discretionary

executive decision to forgo a seasonal inspection... .” It is

undisputed that the decision was not to forgo a seasonal

inspection of the Flying Dragon altogether, but merely to

postpone it until after the “bust-buy” was completed. It is

undisputed that fire safety inspector Thomas Baker, fire safety

inspector Michael Kraft, and arson investigator Donald Eifler

participated in and completed the “bust-buy” operation at the

Flying Dragon on June 28, 1996. It also is undisputed that,

at the conclusion of that operation, they revealed themselves

to be agents from the fire marshal’s office. At that point,

they had fully implemented the decision to (1) conduct the

“bust-buy” operation and (2) postpone the seasonal inspection

until they had done so. With the completion of the “bust-

buy,” they no longer were acting under the disability that

Lehman had imposed when he postponed the seasonal

inspection of the Flying Dragon until after the “bust-buy” was

completed. In other words, two of the three policy directives

mentioned above had been completely fulfilled and were no

longer operative.

At the point when the “bust-buy” was completed, the only

operative policy decision that fire marshal agents were bound

to implement was Lehman’s unequivocal directive of May 24,

1996, which required a seasonal inspection of every fireworks

store, including the Flying Dragon.” The evidence of record

decide as a factual matter whether plaintiffs’ harm “resulted from

a discretionary executive decision to forgo a seasonal inspection”

or instead from “the fire marshal’s negligent performance of an

inspection . . . .” Wallace, supra, at 436.

> The court of appeals’ opinion suggests that this directive

merely encouraged, as opposed to required, seasonal inspections.

ETAT LA NOPE NAR ROE NT a a aa Bes Mae Aer hn

Ait ba

11

substantiates plaintiffs’ contention that, as to the Flying

Dragon, that policy decision became operative again

immediately upon the completion of the “bust-buy” on June

28, 1996 and it remained operative on June 29, June 30, July

1, July 2, and July 3, 1996.

Petitioners’ negligence claim thus falls on the permissible

side of the line carefully drawn by the Ohio Supreme Court

in the last sentence of paragraph two of the Wallace syllabus:

that “once the decision has been made to engage in a certain

activity or function” —- i.e., the decision by Lehman that the

Flying Dragon must be inspected for fire safety hazards after

the “bust-buy” was completed but before July 4, 1996 - “the

state may be held liable, in the same manner as private

parties, for the negligence of the actions of its employees and

agents in the performance of that activity or function.” The

fact that fire marshal agents negligently failed to perform a

reasonable and proper safety inspection of the Flying Dragon

before the fire was not in any way attributable to

“discretionary governmental decisions that necessarily involve

difficult choices about how to allocate the state’s resources.”

Wallace, at 436. Rather, to the extent such discretionary

decisions are even involved here, the intent of those decisions

was to require the agents to conduct a proper safety inspection

of the Flying Dragon once the “bust-buy” was completed.

Thus, this case involves the negligent performance of a

App. A, 43. This is at odds with the language of the directive itself

- “‘[t]he minimal acceptable level of activity is one visit to each

facility,’” Wallace, at {5 - and with the fire marshal’s brief before

the Supreme Court of Ohio in Wallace, which stated at page 5, “In

May 1996, the bureau chief issued a directive mandating a second,

‘cursory,’ seasonal inspection - before the Fourth of July holiday.”

(Emphasis added.)

12

function or activity that state discretionary decision-making

actually imposed on the state’s agents.

The fire marshal had no evidentiary basis to contest that

its agents negligently delayed performing that function or

activity. There is no evidence that fire marshal agents Baker,

Kraft, and Eifler had not read Lehman’s directive, or that

they believed it did not apply to the Flying Dragon, or that

they lacked the qualifications to detect fire safety hazards at

the Flying Dragon, including an inoperative sprinkler system

in plain view. On every previous seasonal inspection of the

Flying Dragon, an agent from the fire marshal’s office had

inspected the sprinkler system to ensure that it was turned on

and working. But agents Baker, Kraft, and Eifler did not

perform any such reasonable and proper safety inspection on

June 28, 1996. Not only did they not do so, but neither did

any other agent from the fire marshal’s office over the

ensuing five days. Had any agent done a proper safety

inspection as contemplated by Lehman’s “seasonal

inspection” directive of May 24, 1996, he or she would have

detected that the sprinkler system was turned off.

The negligence of respondent’s agents in implementing the

policy decision to inspect the Flying Dragon for fire safety

hazards began on June 28, 1996 and went uncured for five

days, right through the moment the fire started, when the full,

horrible consequences of defendant’s negligence took hold.

The only reasonable conclusion to draw from the evidence is

that petitioners’ harm proximately resulted from “the fire

marshal’s negligent performance” of an activity that

respondent itself set in motion, via its own directive to inspect

the Flying Dragon after the “bust-buy” was completed but

before July 4, 1996. Therefore, the state’s discretionary

function immunity has no application to plaintiffs’ claim in

this case.

13

The court of appeals’ opinion consistently fails to

distinguish a true decision, which can be cloaked with

discretionary function immunity, from implementation of the

decision, which is not. Whenever discretionary function

immunity is asserted as. a defense to a claim that state

employees negligently failed to Carry out some required

action, the conduct of the employees charged with carrying

out the action must be carefully distinguished from the

original decision to carry it out. Semadeni v. ODOT » 75 Ohio

St.3d 128, 132, 661 N.E.2d 1013, 1017 (1996). Although

this Court held in Garland v. ODOT, 48 Ohio St.3d 10, 548

N.E.2d 233 (1990), that the state has a reasonable time to

carry out a highly discretionary decision, the state can be held

liable for unjustified delays in implementation once a decision

to proceed has been made. Jd. at 12; Semadeni, 75 Ohio St.3d

at 132-33; cf. Reynolds v. State, 14 Ohio St.3d 68, 471

N.E.2d 776 (1984), syllabus, para. 1. In Garland, Semadeni,

and their progeny, the key question always has been whether

the evidence justified the delay in implementing the decision.

In other words, did the evidence show that the state, even

after making the original decision, still was involved in some

discretionary planning, such that the delay in implementation

was reasonable? Garland, 48 Ohio St.3d at 12. Or did the

evidence show that the state either was not actively

implementing the decision, or was merely involved in low-

level decision-making related to the “time and manner” of

performance, such that the delay in implementation could be

considered unreasonable and negligent? Semadeni , 75 Ohio

St.3d at 132-33. The common thread running through

Garland and Semadeni is that both rested on evidence

concerning why there had been a delay in implementing the

decision.

In this case, however, there was no evidence linking the

fire marshal office’s delay in conducting the seasonal

14

inspection with some actual high-level decision. The record

shows that the decision had been made to do the seasonal

inspection as soon as the bust-buy was completed. The record

leaves no room to conclude that, by sequencing the seasonal

inspection after the bust-buy, the fire marshal had decided that

agents did not have to complete the seasonal inspection. Such

a conclusion would be no more reasonable than a child who

infers from a parental command “Take out the garbage as

soon as you finish your homework” that he really is not

required to take out the garbage. The decision to postpone

the seasonal inspection until after the bust-buy could not

reasonably be equated with a decision that no seasonal

inspection would be conducted. To the contrary, the only

plausible interpretation of the record is that a seasonal

inspection was required. Absent plausible evidence of a

decision not to conduct a seasonal inspection at all,

discretionary function immunity has no application.

Rather than rest on evidence, the court of appeals

opinion’s application of discretionary function immunity rests

purely on speculation concerning high-level decisions that

might have been made and that might have been the reasons

why the seasonal inspection did not take place before the fire.

First, the opinion speculates that the failure of fire marshal

agents to conduct the seasonal inspection might have been due

to a decision (presumably after the bust-buy) that a seasonal

inspection would not take place at the Flying Dragon before

July 4, 1996. App. 8a, 417. But, again, there is absolutely no

evidence to support the opinion’s speculation that such a

decision ever was made. To the contrary, Bureau Chief

Lehman, who would have made such a decision, had

expressly assured Barbara Hess, his subordinate, of just the

opposite. It is undisputed he told Hess, the field supervisor

in charge of the Flying Dragon, that the seasonal inspection

15

in fact was planned and would be conducted. Even one of the

agents involved in the bust-buy understood that, once the

bust-buy was over, the seasonal inspection would take place.

There was no evidence that the failure of fire marshal agents

to conduct the seasonal inspection was due to a decision after

the bust-buy that the inspection would not take place.

Second, and presumably in the alternative, the court of

appeals’ opinion speculates that the reason why the seasonal

inspection did not take place before the fire might have been

that the fire marshal’s office did not have had enough time to

complete it after the bust-buy. App. 8a, 417. Although the

opinion cites Garland as support, this opinion actually is

incompatible with Garland and Semadeni. In Garland, the

evidence showed that, during the period of the delay in

implementation, the state agency “was still performing a

discretionary function.” 48 Ohio St.3d at 12. Thus, the

Garland Court held it had a reasonable time to implement its

decision-making. Because in Semadeni the evidence showed

the opposite - that the state agency was simply lax in

implementation — the state was not afforded the same leeway.

Garland and Semadini are thus reconcilable with one another,

but the court of appeals’ opinion is not reconcilable with

either. ——"

In this case, there is not a shred of evidence suggesting

that the six days that remained in the peak firework sales

Season were not enough time to conduct a seasonal inspection.

Although the court of appeals excused the delay by saying that

“obviously schedules must be coordinated,” App. 8a, 17, the

record lends no credence to this excuse. Assistant Chief

Lehman had told Supervisor Hess that there would be enough

time to conduct the seasonal inspection at the same time as the

bust-buy. Moreover, the inspector who usually inspected the

Flying Dragon had only one other fireworks store to inspect.

16

What makes the court of appeals opinion’s speculation all

the more egregious is that the fire marshal did not even argue

before that court that six days were not enough to complete

the seasonal inspection. To the contrary, the fire marshal

incredibly argued below that “had the store not burned to the

ground, that inspection undoubtedly would have taken place

....” Fire Marshal’s Court of Appeals Brief, p. 8 (emphasis

added). Not only was there no evidence of insufficient time

to do the seasonal inspection, there also was no evidence that,

in the period after the bust-buy, the fire marshal’s office was

still somehow engaged in discretionary decision-making

related to the Flying Dragon’s seasonal inspection. Again,

laying aside the court of appeals’ naked speculation, all of the

evidence points to inertia and inattentiveness on the part of the

fire marshal’s office as the cause for its delay in performing

the seasonal inspection. It is not consonant with the Due

Process Clause, Ohio Revised Code Section 2743.02(A)(1),

or the public interest for courts to rescue state agencies from

being held accountable for the consequences of their inertia

and inattentiveness, given that private citizens enjoy no such

leeway. This issue warrants review.

17

CONCLUSION

Based on the decisions of the Supreme Court of Ohio and

the Ohio Court of Appeals denying Petitioners’ Constitutional

right to pursue their claim, Petitioners respectfully submit that

certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Stanley M. Chesley

(Counsel of Record)

Paul M. De Marco

Robert A. Steinberg

D. Arthur Rabourn

Jane H. Walker

WAITE, SCHNEIDER, BAYLESS

& CHESLEY CoO., L.P.A.

1513 Fourth & Vine Tower

One West Fourth Street

Cincinnati, OH 45202

OER Te

Li? ee eS eS ae ee a

la

APPENDIX A

SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

No. 04-222

[Filed May 12, 2004]

John Wallace, Individually and as Administrator of the —)

Estate of Jason O. Wallace, et al., )

Appellants, )

)

v. )

)

Ohio Dept. of Commerce, Division of State Fire Marshal. )

Appellee. )

)

ENTRY

Upon consideration of the jurisdictional memoranda filed

in this case, the Court declines jurisdiction to hear the case.

COSTS:

Docket Fee: $40.00, paid by Waite, Schneider, Bayless,

Chesley Co., L.P.A.

(Franklin County Court of Appeals; No. 99AP1303)

/s/

THOMAS J. MOYER

Chief Justice

2a

APPENDIX B i

COURT OF APPEALS OF OHIO, :

TENTH APPELLATE DISTRICT,

FRANKLIN COUNTY

No. 99AP-1303

[Filed December 18, 2003]

ir Rec ah IES AM a A he i sl ate Rta he's Seto) be se 8D at

John Wallace, Individually and as Administrator )

of the Estate of Jason O. Wallace et al., )

Plaintiffs-Appellants, )

) 3

v. )

)

Ohio Department of Commerce, ) i

Division of State Fire Marshal, )

Defendant-Appellee. . )

)

(C.C. No. 97-01325) |

ON REMAND FROM THE OHIO SUPREME COURT

Wallace v. Ohio DOC, 2000 Ohio App. LEXIS 4831 (Ohio

Ct. App., Franklin County, Oct. 19, 2000)

JUDGES: PETREE, P.J. BROWN and McCORMAC, JJ.,

concur.

3a

OPINION

PETREE, P.J.

[{1] | This case is before this court on remand from the

Ohio Supreme Court’s decision in Wallace v. Ohio Dept. of

Commerce, Div. of State Fire Marshal, 96 Ohio St. 3d 266,

2002 Ohio 4210, 773 N.E.2d 1018 , which reversed Wallace

v. Dept. of Commerce (Oct. 19, 2000), Franklin App. No.

99AP-1303, 2000 Ohio App. LEXIS 4831.

[{2] The factual background, procedural history, and

testimony underlying this case previously have been reported

in both this court’s earlier opinion and the Ohio Supreme

Court’s opinion of Wallace. See Wallace, Franklin App. No.

99AP-1303, 2000 Ohio App. LEXIS 4831, and Wallace, 96

Ohio St.3d 266, at 42-11. Accordingly, only a condensed

summary is provided here.

[{3] OnJuly 3, 1996, Todd Hall entered the Ohio River

Fireworks store in Scottown, Lawrence County, Ohio, with

a lit cigarette. Before store employees could intervene, Hall

used the lit cigarette to set fire to a stack of “crackling wheel”

fireworks, which, in turn, ignited other fireworks within the

store. A fire resulted that killed nine people and injured

several others.' At the time of the fire, Flying Dragon, Inc.,

possessed a valid fireworks wholesaler license, which had

been issued by the fire marshal, to operate the Ohio River

Fireworks store. In October 1995, the Ohio River Fireworks

' See Wallace, 96 Ohio St.3d 266, at 42, fn. 1. (Hall was later

indicted on multiple counts of involuntary manslaughter and

aggravated arson. Additionally, Hall, who suffers from a severe

mental disorder, has been found incompetent to stand trial.)

4a

store had been inspected by the fire marshal as required by

statute. See, generally, R.C. 3743.16. Additionally, prior to

1996, as a matter of internal policy, fire marshal inspectors

were encouraged to make seasonal inspections of fireworks

businesses during the July 4th fireworks season to ensure

compliance with applicable statutes and regulations. During

the spring of 1995, two seasonal inspections were conducted,

and the store’s sprinkler system was determined to be

functional.

[44] In June 1996, after a commercial competitor

informed the fire marshal that Ohio River Fireworks was

advertising and selling Class B fireworks’ to parties that were

unauthorized to purchase them, Michael Kraft, then an acting

field supervisor, organized a “bust buy” operation, during

which fire marshal agents would try to purchase Class B

fireworks without a proper license. A seasonal inspection of

the Ohio River Fireworks store was postponed until after the

“bust buy” was completed and was not performed prior to the

fire on July 3, 1996.

[45] On June 28, 1996, five days before the fatal fire,

Donald Eifler, an arson investigator, and Thomas Baker and

Michael Kraft, two fire safety inspectors, conducted a “bust

buy,” during which Eifler purchased Class B fireworks

without a proper license. None of the three fire marshal

agents who were present at the “bust buy” conducted a fire

inspection at any time that day.

? Class B fireworks are now referred to as “1.2G fireworks.”

See 1997 Am.Sub.H.B. No. 215, 147 Ohio Laws Part I, 1325-26,

1353.

iMag DS ihe ne eh AA cM AR Ae OS.

Sa

[{6] Following the fatal fire, plaintiffs, persons injured

in the fire and administrators of the decedents’ estates, filed

a lawsuit in the Ohio Court of Claims, alleging negligence

against the state fire marshal.

({7] At trial, plaintiffs presented testimony that

suggested the store’s sprinkler system was shut off at the time

of the fire and this shutdown was not an isolated occurrence.

Additionally, plaintiffs presented expert opinion testimony

that decedents would have had an improved chance of

survival if the sprinkler system had functioned properly.

Moreover, plaintiffs presented evidence that, at the time of

the “bust buy,” state fire marshal agents could have easily

determined whether the store’s sprinkler system was

operational.

[48] | After a four-day trial that was limited to the issue

of liability, the Court of Claims found in favor of the state fire

marshal. On appeal, this court in Wallace, supra, affirmed

based on an application of the public-duty rule.

[49] However, in Wallace, 96 Ohio St.3d 266, 2002

Ohio 4210, 773 N.E.2d 1018, the Ohio Supreme Court

reversed this court’s decision and remanded the cause. Id. at

441. See, also, id. at syllabus.

[10] In Wallace, the Ohio Supreme Court declined to

address two issues raised by the parties in that appeal,

namely, “(1) the appellants’ proposition concerning the

proper foreseeability standard in assessing issues regarding

proximate causation and (2) the state’s alternate argument for

affirmance based on the fire marshal’s discretionary-function

immunity.” Wallace, 96 Ohio St.3d, at 440. The Wallace

court also noted that “because the court of appeals held that

the public-duty rule barred the appellants’ claims, it had no

6a

occasion to reach these issues; accordingly, we leave those

issues for the court of appeals to resolve, if necessary, on

remand.” Id.

[{11] On remand, plaintiffs assert three assignments of

error:

ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR NO. 1:

THE COURT OF CLAIMS ERRED IN NOT

HOLDING THAT THE STATE’S

DISCRETIONARY FUNCTION IMMUNITY DOES

NOT APPLY TO THE NEGLIGENCE CLAIM

ASSERTED BY PLAINTIFFS IN THIS CASE.

ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR NO. 2:

THE TRIAL COURT ERRED TO THE PREJUDICE

OF PLAINTIFFS BY RELYING ON THE

TESTIMONY OF DEFENDANT’S EXPERT, DR.

GEORGE NICHOLS, WHO BASED HIS OPINION

OF THE PHYSIOLOGICAL EFFECTS OF THE

FIRE SOLELY UPON THE INADMISSIBLE PRIOR

OPINION OF DEFENDANT’S EXPERT, DR. JOHN

HOFFMAN [sic].

ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR NO. 3:

THE COURT OF CLAIMS ERRED TO THE

PREJUDICE OF PLAINTIFFS IN FINDING THAT

THE CONDUCT OF A THIRD PARTY WAS AN

INTERVENING ACT THAT WAS THE SOLE

CAUSE OF THE FIRE IN QUESTION AND THAT

THIS ACT WAS NOT FORESEEABLE.

7a

[{12] Plaintiffs’ first assignment of error asserts the trial

court erred by not holding the state’s discretionary function

immunity did not apply to plaintiffs’ negligence claim.

[{13] Under discretionary function immunity, “the state

cannot be sued for its legislative or judicial functions or the

exercise of an executive or planning function involving the

making of a basic policy decision which is characterized by

the exercise of a high degree of official judgment or

discretion. However, once the decision has been made to

engage in a certain activity or function, the state may be held

liable, in the same manner as private parties, for the

negligence of the actions of its employees and agents in the

performance of that activity or function.” Wallace, 96 Ohio

St.3d 266, 2002 Ohio 4210, 773 N.E.2d 1018, paragraph two

of the syllabus, approving Reynolds v. State (1984), 14 Ohio

St.3d 68, 14 Ohio B. 506, 471 N.E.2d 776, paragraph one of

the syllabus.

[{14] Applying Reynolds, the Wallace court noted:

* * * In this case, for example, Reynolds arguably

bars liability for the fire marshal’s actions if the

appellants’ harm resulted from a discretionary

executive decision to forgo a seasonal inspection; if,

on the other hand, the fire marshal’s negligent

performance of an inspection was the proximate cause

of the appellant’s harm, R.C. 2743.02(A)(1) allows

for liability against the state.

Id. at 36. (Footnote omitted: emphasis sic.)

[{15] Here, the fire marshal decided to postpone a

Seasonal inspection until after the “bust buy” was conducted.

(Tr. 1158-1159.) The state fire marshal’s decision to postpone

8a

the seasonal inspection was a discretionary executive decision.

See Wallace, 96 Ohio St.3d, at P36.

[416]Nevertheless, plaintiffs contend that after the “bust

buy” operation was completed, the original policy decision to

seasonably inspect the Ohio River Fireworks store remained

operative, and state fire marshal agents were negligent in

implementing this policy decision. Plaintiffs further contend

this alleged negligence proximately caused harm to plaintiffs.

————

[17] Here, the state fire marshal’s decision to postpone

a seasonal inspection of the Ohio River Fireworks store was

made after an earlier directive encouraged fire marshal

inspectors to make seasonal inspections of fireworks

establishments. Therefore, whether the earlier directive to

make a seasonal inspection of the Ohio River Fireworks store

was still operational within the original time parameters is

open to question. Additionally, after deciding to postpone the

seasonal inspection, whether the state fire marshal had a

reasonable amount of time before the fatal fire within which

to implement the seasonal inspection without incurring tort

liability is also debatable. See, e.g., Garland v. Ohio Dept. of

Trans. (1990), 48 Ohio St.3d 10, 12, 548 N.E.2d 233,

rehearing denied, 49 Ohio St. 3d 705, 551 N.E.2d 618

(“holding that once an agency has made a discretionary

decision, it has a reasonable amount of time to implement that

decision without incurring tort liability”). It was reasonable

to delay execution of the seasonal inspection until the “bust

buy” was conducted as stated above. Since the “bust buy”

was conducted on June 28, 1996, there then commenced a

reasonable time thereafter to implement the safety inspection.

It was not an abuse of discretion to fail to schedule the safety

inspection within five days thereafter (to the date of the fire)

as obviously schedules must be coordinated. Therefore, the

9a

trial court did not err in finding discretionary immunity

applicable.

[{18] Accordingly, plaintiffs’ first assignment of error is

unpersuasive and overruled.

[419] Plaintiffs’ third assignment of error asserts the trial

court erred by (1) finding Todd Hall’s act of igniting

fireworks with a lit cigarette was an intervening act that was

the sole cause of the fire, and (2) Todd Hall’s action was

unforeseeable.

[420] According to former R.C. 2743.02(A)(1):

The state hereby waives its immunity from liability

and consents to be sued, and have its liability

determined, in the court of claims created in this

chapter in accordance with the same rules of law

applicable to suits between private parties, except that

the determination of liability is subject to the

limitations set forth in this chapter * * *.

[21] Toestablish actionable negligence between private

parties, a party must show duty, a breach of duty, and injury

proximately resulting therefrom. Texler v. D.O. Summers

Cleaners & Shirt Laundry Co. (1998), 81 Ohio St.3d 677,

680, 1998 Ohio 602, 693 N.E.2d 271; Menifee v. Ohio

Welding Products, Inc. (1984), 15 Ohio St.3d 75, Tt; 32

Ohio B. 179, 472 N.E.2d 707; Wallace, 96 Ohio St.3d 266,

at 422.

[{22] Historically, the issue of foreseeability has been

viewed as a factor in both the duty element and proximate

cause element of a negligence claim. See, e.g., Palsgraf v.

Long Island RR. Co. (1928), 248 N.Y. 339, 162 N.E. 99

10a

(Andrews, J., dissenting); see, also, Dobbs, The Law of Torts

(2001) 451, Section 182 (observing that “Judge Cardozo and

the majority [in Palsgraf] insisted that the issue should be cast

in the terminology of duty [or negligence] and that the

substantive rules should relieve the defendant of liability if

harm to the plaintiff was unforeseeable. Judge Andrews and

the dissenters thought that the issue should be cast in the

terminology of proximate cause and that as a matter of

substantive law, foreseeability should not be determinative”).

(Emphasis sic.)

[423] “‘Duty, as used in Ohio tort law, refers to the

relationship between the plaintiff and the defendant from

which arises an obligation on the part of the defendant to

exercise due care toward the plaintiff.’” Wallace, 96 Ohio

St.3d 266, at 423, quoting Commerce & Industry Ins. Co. v.

Toledo (1989), 45 Ohio St.3d 96, 98, 543 N.E.2d 1188. “

‘There is no formula for ascertaining whether a duty exists.

Duty “* * * is the court’s ‘expression of the sum total of

those considerations of policy which lead the law to say that

the particular plaintiff is entitled to protection.” (Prosser, Law

of Torts (4th 3d.1971) pp. 325-326.) Any number of

considerations may justify the imposition of duty in particular

circumstances, including the guidance of history, our

continually refined concepts of morals and justice, the

convenience of the rule, and social judgment as to where the

loss should fall. (Prosser, Palsgraf Revisted (1953), 52

Mich.L.Rev. 1, 15).”’” Wallace, 96 Ohio St.3d 266, at 424,

quoting Mussivand v. David (1989), 45 Ohio St.3d 314, 318,

544 N.E.2d 265, quoting Weirum v. RKO Gen. Inc. (1975),

15 Cal.3d 40, 46, 123 Cal.Rptr. 468, 539 P.2d 36. The

existence of a duty is a question of law for the court. Malone

v. Miami Univ. (1993), 89 Ohio App.3d 527, 530, 625

N.E.2d 640, jurisdictional motion overruled, 68 Ohio St. 3d

1410, 623 N.E.2d 567, citing Mussivand, supra.

lla

[424] Whether a duty exists depends on the foreseeability

of the injury. Menifee, supra, at 77. As stated in Menifee:

The test for foreseeability is whether a reasonably

prudent person would have anticipated that an injury

was likely to result from the performance or

nonperformance of an act. * * * The foreseeability of

harm usually depends on the defendant's knowledge.

* * *

Id. See, also, Wallace, 96 Ohio St.3d 266, at q23.

[425] When determining whether a defendant should

have recognized the risks involved, only those circumstances

that a defendant perceived, or should have perceived, at the

time of a defendant’s action should be considered. Menifee,

at 77.

[{26] Additionally, as stated in Fed. Steel & Wire Corp.

y. Ruhlin Constr. Co. (1989), 45 Ohio St.3d 171, 543 N.E.2d

769:

Ordinarily, there is no duty to control the conduct of

a third person by preventing him or her from causing

harm to another, except in cases where there exists a

special relationship between the actor and the third

person which gives rise to a duty to control, or

between the actor and another which gives the other

the right to protection. * * * Thus, liability in

negligence will not lie in the absence of a special duty

owed by a particular defendant.

Id. at 173-174. (Footnote omitted.) See, also, Restatement of

the Law 2d, Torts (1965) 122, Duty to Control Conduct of

12a

Third Persons - General Principle, Section 315;* Wallace, 96

Ohio St.3d 266, at 438 (state defendant, like any private

defendant, is protected by traditional tort concepts of duty,

and Ohio tort law “requires a special relationship in order to

satisfy the duty element in certain types of negligence actions,

such as actions based on failure to act or failure to control the

conduct of a third person”).

3 Comment c of Section 315 of the Restatement of the Law 2d,

Torts (1965), 122 provides that “[t]he relations between the actor

and a third person which require the actor to control the third

person’s conduct are stated in §§ 316-319. The relations between

the actor and the other which require the actor to control the

conduct of third persons for the protection of the other are stated in

§§ 314A and 320.” |

Sections 316 to 319 of the Restatement of the Law 2d, Torts

(1965), concern a duty of a parent to control conduct of a child;

duty of a master to control conduct of servant; duty of possessor of

land or chattels to control conduct of licensee; and duty of those in

charge of a person having dangerous propensities.

Section 314A of the Restatement of the Law 2d, Torts (1965),

concerns special relations giving rise to duty to aid or protect, e.g.,

duties of a common carrier, innkeeper, possessor of land who holds

it open to the public, and one who takes custody of another under

circumstances such as to deprive the other of normal opportunities

for protection.

Section 320 of the Restatement of the Law 2d, Torts (1965),

concerns a duty of a person having custody of another to control the

conduct of third persons.

Section 315 of the Restatement of the Law 2d, Torts (1965),

122 has been adopted as law in Ohio. Fed. Steel & Wire Corp.,

supra, at 173, fn. 1.

~ na

13a

[{27] Furthermore, as noted by this court in Evans v.

Ohio State Univ. (1996), 112 Ohio App.3d 724, 740, 680

N.E.2d 161, appeal not allowed, 77 Ohio St. 3d 1494, 673

N.E.2d 149:

Concerning criminal acts of a third party which the

defendant might reasonably anticipate, “the mere fact

that misconduct on the part of another might be

foreseen is not of itself sufficient to place the

responsibility upon the defendant.” Prosser & Keeton,

[Law of Torts (5 Ed.1984)] at 305. Rather, “it is only

where misconduct was to be anticipated, and taking

the risk of it was unreasonable, that liability will be

imposed for consequences to which such intervening

acts contributed.” Jd. at 313.

[{28] Here, the state fire marshal did not have a special

relationship with plaintiffs or Todd Hall that gave rise to a

duty to protect plaintiffs or control the action of Todd Hall.

See, generally, Restatement of the Law 2d, Torts (1965),

122, Section 315. Nor, based on the evidence, can we

conclude Todd Hall’s misconduct, i.e., deliberately igniting

the “crackling wheel” fireworks, was to be anticipated.

[429] Furthermore, based on our review of the evidence,

we find the objective of the June 28, 1996 visit to the Ohio

River Fireworks store was to conduct an undercover

investigatory operation, not a safety inspection and, on June

28, 1996, state fire marshal safety inspectors did not complete

a safety inspection of the fireworks store. See, also, Court of

Claims decision, at 16 (“defendant’s agents were on the

premises for the sole purpose of making a bust-buy and not to

perform an inspection”); Court of Claims decision, at 10

(“[a]lthough there was conflicting testimony at trial regarding

the amount of time Eifler and Baker remained in the store, it

l4a

is cfear that their objective was to complete the bust-buy

operation and that they did not perform a safety inspection on

June 28, 1996"); Wallace, 96 Ohio St.3d 266, at P7 (“none

of the three fire marshal agents who were present at the “bust

buy” conducted a fire safety inspection at any time that day”).

[{30] Nevertheless, plaintiffs contend on June 28, 1996,

state fire marshal agents were still negligent because state fire

marshal safety inspectors did not observe that the store’s

sprinkler system was allegedly shut down, a violation which,

according to plaintiffs, a reasonable, prudent fire marshal

safety inspector would have observed, and state fire marshal

safety inspectors did not take reasonable action to remedy this

alleged violation and other alleged violations, thereby

preventing plaintiffs’ harm.

[{31] Even assuming the sprinkler system’s alleged

shutdown was plainly visible, because the objective of the

June 28, 1996 visit to the fireworks store was to complete an

undercover investigatory operation, not a safety inspection,

and state fire marshal agents were faced with personal safety

concerns associated with the “bust buy” operation, we are not

persuaded that, under these circumstances, the fire marshal

safety inspectors breached a duty of reasonable care. See Tr.

404 (direct examination of Thomas E. Baker) (“Q. * * *

when you’re down in Scottown for this bust buy, is there a

reason that you didn’t remain on the site and conduct the kind

of walk-through inspection that you talked about before? A.

We were in a hostile situation down there. I felt for my life

and I did not want to go any farther, except to get out of

there”). See, also, Mussivand, supra, at 318 (“the common-

law duty of due care is that degree of care which an ordinarily

reasonable and prudent person exercises, or is accustomed to

exercising, under the same or similar circumstances”).

(Emphasis added.)

15a

({32] Accordingly, based on the foregoing, we conclude

state fire marshal agents did not breach a duty of reasonable

care to plaintiffs.

[433] Furthermore, even assuming on June 28, 1996, the

state fire marshal inspectors may have breached a duty of

reasonable care, to prevail on a claim of actionable

negligence,. plaintiffs are still required to prove by a

preponderance of the evidence that the state fire marshal’s

alleged negligence proximately caused plaintiffs harm. See,

e.g., Wallace, 96 Ohio St 3d 266, at P38, quoting Jean W. v.

Commonwealth (1993), 414 Mass. 496, 511-512, 610 N.E.2d

305 (“[a] plaintiff must also shoulder the burden of

establishing proximate cause, which could be exceedingly

difficult in cases where the governmental conduct alleged to

have caused injury is particularly attenuated or exacerbated by

intervening circumstances. ‘Especially in instances where the

public employee’s purported negligence stems from a failure

to prevent or mitigate a harmful situation that he did not

cause, a plaintiff’s burden of establishing proximate cause will

be significant’”).

[{34] “Proximate causation has been described as ‘some

reasonable connection between the act or omission of the

defendant and the damage the plaintiff has suffered.’” Queen

City Terminals, Inc. v. Gen. Am. Trans. Corp. (1995), 73

Ohio St.3d 609, 618, 1995 Ohio 285, 653 N.E.2d 661,

reconsideration denied, 74 Ohio St. 3d 1422, 655 N.E.2d

742, quoting Prosser & Keeton, Law of Torts (5 Ed.1984)

263, Section 41. “The rule of proximate cause *“requires that

the injury sustained shall be the natural and probable

consequence of the negligence alleged; that is, such

consequence as under the surrounding circumstances of the

particular case might, and should have been foreseen or

anticipated by the wrongdoer as likely to follow his negligent

l6a

act.”’” Jeffers v. Olexo (1989), 43 Ohio St.3d 140, 143, 539

N.E.2d 614, quoting Ross v. Nutt (1964), 177 Ohio St. 113,

114, 203 N.E.2d 118, quoting Miller v. Baltimore & Ohio

Southwestern RR. Co. (1908), 78 Ohio St. 309, 325, 85 N.E.

499, 6 Ohio L. Rep. 109, overruled on other grounds, Schultz

v. Barberton Glass Co. (1983), 4 Ohio St.3d 131, 4 Ohio B.

376, 447 N.E.2d 109. See, also, Mussivand, supra, at 321,'

modifying Jeffers, supra (“in Jeffers * * * we equated

foreseeability with proximate cause. This is misleading since

they are not equitable. Rather, in order to establish proximate

cause, foreseeability must be found”).

Unlike duty, which is a question of law, Malone, supra,

at 530, proximate cause has been described as “usually a

mixed question of law and fact to be determined by the jury,

under the instructions of the court, although, where the

controlling facts are undisputed or conceded, it may be a

question of law for the court.” Columbus Ry. Power & Light

Co. v. Pickles (1926), 28 Ohio App. 183, 188, 5 Ohio Law

Abs. 516, 162 N.E. 614, citing Davis, Agt. v. Atlas Assur.

Co. Ltd. (1925), 112 Ohio St. 543, 551, 3 Ohio Law Abs.

332, 147 N.E. 913, and Lake Shore & Michigan S. Ry. Co.

v. Liidtke (1904), 69 Ohio St. 384, 69 N.E. 653, 1 Ohio L.

Rep. 881-

Here, the trial court concluded that “the sole proximate

cause of plaintiffs’ injuries was Hall’s act of arson. Under the

totality of the circumstances, this court cannot find that the

criminal act of a third party was a foreseeable event for which

defendant can be found liable under a negligence theory.”

Court of Claims decision, at 18-19. However, earlier in its

decision, the trial court also stated:

* * *Given the lethal environment that developed

within thirty seconds after the fireworks were ignited,

eee een TT

17a

the court finds that even a fully functioning sprinkler

system would not have completely prevented plaintiffs’

injuries. However, the court also finds that

defendant’s argument that an operational sprinkler

system would have made little or no difference in the

outcome is implausible.

Id. at 5. (Emphasis added.)

[437] Thus, although the trial court concluded Todd

Hall’s arson was the sole proximate cause of plaintiffs’ harm,

Court of Claims decision, at 18-19, the trial court also

suggests an operational sprinkler system might have prevented

some of plaintiffs’ harm, id. at 5, thereby creating an

ambiguity by suggesting the lack of an operational sprinkler

system may have also been a proximate cause of plaintiffs’

harm.

[438] According to Restatement of the Law 2d, Torts

(1965) 465, Section 440:

A superseding cause is an act of a third person or

other force which by its intervention prevents the

actor from being liable for harm to another which his

antecedent negligence is a substantial factor in

bringing about.

See, also, Restatement of the Law 2d, Torts (1965), 465,

Section 441 (defining intervening force).

[439] In Cascone v. Herb Kay Co. (1983), 6 Ohio St.3d

155, 6 Ohio B. 209, 451 N.E.2d 815, paragraph one of the

syllabus, approving and following Thrash v. U-Drive-It Co.

(1953), 158 Ohio St. 465, 110 N.E.2d 419, paragraph two of

the syllabus, the Ohio Supreme Court held:

18a

Whether an intervening act breaks the causal

connection between negligence and injury, thus

relieving one of liability for his negligence, depends

upon whether that intervening cause was conscious

and responsible agency which could or should have

eliminated the hazard, and whether the intervening

cause was reasonably foreseeable by the one who was

guilty of the negligence.

[140] Additionally, the Cascone court, quoting Mudrich

v. Standard Oil Co. (1950), 153 Ohio St. 31, 39, 90 N.E.2d

859, further observed:

“* * * If an injury is the natural and probable

consequence of a negligent act and it is such as should

have been foreseen in the light of all the attending

circumstances, the injury is then the proximate result

of the negligence. It is not necessary that the

defendant should have anticipated the particular

injury. It is sufficient that his act is likely to result in

an injury to someone. Neff Lumber Co. v. First

National Bank of St. Clairsville, Admr., 122 Ohio St.

302, 309, 171 N.E. 327.”

Cascone, at 159-160.

[441] “Traditionally, an intentional tort committed by a

third party constitutes an intervening act which supersedes the

negligence of the party creating the risk of harm, and relieves

that party from liability.” Volter v. C. Schmidt Co., Inc.

(1991), 74 Ohio App.3d 36, 37, 598 N.E.2d 35, jurisdictional

motion overruled sub nom. Volter v. Cincinnati, Inc., 62

Ohio St.3d 1441, 579 N.E.2d 214.

19a

[442] Sections 448 and 449 of the Restatement of the

Law 2d, Torts (1965) offer additional insight into the nature

of liability for third party acts. See, also, Fed. Steel & Wire

Corp., supra, at 176.

[443] According to Restatement of the Law 2d, Torts

(1965) 480, Intentionally Tortious or Criminal Acts Done

Under Opportunity Afforded by Actor’s Negligence, Section

448:

The act of a third person in committing an intentional

tort or crime is a superseding cause of harm to another

resulting therefrom, although the actor’s negligent

conduct created a situation which afforded an

opportunity to the third person to commit such a tort

or crime, unless the actor at the time of his negligent

conduct realized or should have realized the likelihood

that such a situation might be created, and that a third

person might avail himself of the opportunity to

commit such a tort or crime.‘

* Comments b and c to Section 448 of Restatement of the Law

2d, Torts (1965), at 481-482, discuss circumstances where a

defendant will be liable for the acts of third parties:

“b. When special grounds for anticipating criminal action by

third person. There are certain situations which are commonly

recognized as affording temptations to which a recognizable

percentage of humanity is likely to yield. So too, there are

situations which create temptations to which no considerable

percentage of ordinary mankind is likely to yield but which, if they

are created at a place where persons of peculiarly vicious type are

likely to be, should be recognized as likely to lead to the

commission of fairly definite types of crime. If the situation which

the actor should realize that his negligent conduct might create is of

either of these two sorts, an intentionally criminal or tortious act of

20a

[444] of the Law 2d, Torts (1965) 482, Tortious or

Criminal Acts the Probability of Which Makes Actor’s

Conduct Negligent:

If the likelihood that a third person may act in a

particular manner is the hazard or one of the hazards

which makes the actor negligent, such an act whether

innocent, negligent, intentionally tortuous, or criminal

does not prevent the actor from being liable for harm

caused thereby.”

the third person is not a superseding cause which relieves the actor

from liability.

“c. When actor’s negligence consists in creating risk of criminal

action by third person. The actor’s conduct may be negligent solely

because he should have recognized that it would expose the person,

land, or chattels, of another to an unreasonable risk of criminal

aggression. If so, it necessarily follows that the fact that the harm

is done by such criminal aggression cannot relieve the actor from

liability (see § 449). However, it is not necessary that the conduct

should be negligent solely because of its tendency to afford an

opportunity for a third person to commit the crime. It is enough that

the actor should have realized the likelihood that his conduct would

create a temptation which would be likely to lead to its commission.

“This is true although the likelihood that such a crime would be

committed might not be of itself enough to make the actor’s conduct

negligent, and the negligent character of the act arises from the fact

that it involves other risks which of themselves are enough to make

it unreasonable, or from such risks together with the possibility of

crime.”

* Comment a to Section 449 provides:

“This Section should be read together with § 302 B, and

the Comments to that Section, which deal with the

21a

[445] Here, even if state fire marshal agents had

performed a seasonal inspection of the Ohio River Fireworks

store prior to the fatal fire, such an inspection would not have

eliminated the hazard of Todd Hall’s intentional igniting of

fireworks within the store. Further, there is no evidence to

support a finding that state fire marshal agents knew, or

should have known, their alleged negligence would have

exposed plaintiffs to a risk of criminal aggression.

[446] Therefore, notwithstanding ambiguity contained in

the trial court’s decision concerning proximate cause, as a

matter of law, we cannot determine the trial court’s finding

that Todd Hall’s misconduct was the sole proximate cause of

plaintiffs harm is against the manifest weight of the evidence.

See C.E. Morris Co. v. Foley Constr. Co. (1978), 54 Ohio

St.2d 279, 376 N.E.2d 578, syllabus (“judgments supported

by some competent, credible evidence going to all the

essential elements of the case will not be reversed by a

reviewing court as being against the manifest weight of the

evidence”); Seasons Coal Co., Inc. v. Cleveland (1984), 10

Ohio St.3d 77, 80, 10 Ohio B. 408, 461 N.E.2d 1273 (“an

appellate court should not substitute its judgment for that of

the trial court when there exists * * * competent and credible

foreseeable likelihood of the intentional or even criminal

misconduct of a third person as a hazard which makes the

actor’s conduct negligent. As is there stated, the mere

possibility or even likelihood that there may be such

misconduct is not in all cases sufficient to characterize the

actor’s conduct as negligence. It is only where the actor is

under a duty to the other, because of some relation between

them, to protect him against such misconduct, or where the

actor has undertaken the obligation of doing so, or his

conduct has created or increased the risk of harm through

the misconduct, that he becomes negligent.”

22a

evidence supporting the findings of fact and conclusions of

law rendered by the trial judge”).

[447] Accordingly, plaintiffs’ third assignment of error

is not persuasive and is overruled.

[448] Plaintiffs’ second assignment of error asserts the

trial court erred by relying on the testimony of Dr. George

Nichols, a defense expert witness, who based his opinion

upon the allegedly inadmissible prior opinion of Dr. John

Hoffmann, another defense expert witness. Specifically,

plaintiffs contend Dr. Hoffmann based his opinion upon an

out-of-court experiment that failed to substantially replicate

the conditions that existed at the time of the fatal fire.

Therefore, plaintiffs reason Dr. Hoffmann’s opinion lacked a

proper foundation and should have been excluded. Plaintiffs

further contend the facts that defense counsel asked Dr.

Nichols to assume were taken from Dr. Hoffmann’s earlier

opinion testimony and, therefore, Dr. Nichols’ opinion was

impermissibly based on the opinion of the other defense

expert witness, Dr. Hoffmann.

[449]. In general, courts should favor the admissibility of

expert testimony whenever such testimony is relevant and

Evid.R. 702 criteria are met. State v. Nemeth (1998), 82 Ohio

St.3d 202, 207, 1998 Ohio 376, 694 N.E.2d 1332. Generally,

a determination as to the admissibility of expert testimony is

a matter within the discretion of the trial court and will not be

disturbed absent an abuse of discretion. Miller v. Bike Athletic

Co. (1998), 80 Ohio St.3d 607, 616, 1998 Ohio 178, 687

N.E.2d 735, citing Calderon v. Sharkey (1982), 70 Ohio

St.2d 218, 436 N.E.2d 1008. However, a trial court’s

discretion is not unlimited. Miller, at 616. An “abuse of

discretion” implies that a court acted in “an unreasonable,

arbitrary, or unconscionable manner.” State ex rel. Sartini v.

23a

Yost, 96 Ohio St. 3d 37, 2002 Ohio 3317, at P21, 770 N.E.2d

584, citing State v. Herring (2002), 94 Ohio St.3d 246, 255,

2002 Ohio 796, 762 N.E.2d 940, reconsideration denied, 95

Ohio St. 3d 1423, 2002 Ohio 1737, 766 N.E.2d 163,

certiorari denied, 537 U.S. 917, 154 L. Ed. 2d 202, 123 S.

Ct. 301.

[450] According to Evid.R. 702:

A witness may testify as an expert if all of the

following apply:

* * *

(C) The witness’ testimony is based on reliable,

scientific, technical, or other specialized information.

To the extent that the testimony reports the result of a

procedure, test, or experiment, the testimony is

reliable only if all of the following apply:

(1) The theory upon which the procedure, test, or

experiment is based is objectively verifiable or is

validly derived from widely accepted knowledge,

facts, or principles;

(2) The design of the procedure, test, or experiment

reliably implements the theory;

(3) The particular procedure, test, or experiment was

conducted in a way that will yield an accurate result.

[451] Here, plaintiffs contend Dr. Hoffmann’s out-of-

court experiment failed to substantially replicate the

conditions that existed at the time of the fatal fire when he

conducted his experiment and, therefore, the trial court should

have excluded Dr. Hoffmann’s opinion.

24a

[{52] In Miller, supra, the Ohio Supreme Court held in

paragraph two of the syllabus:

When an out-of-court experiment is not represented to

be a reenactment of the accident and deals with one

aspect or principle directly related to the cause or

result of the occurrence, the conditions of the accident

need not be duplicated.

[453] Additionally, in St. Paul Fire & Marine Ins. Co.

v. Baltimore & Ohio RR. Co. (1935), 129 Ohio St. 401, 195

N.E. 861, paragraph one of the syllabus, the Ohio Supreme

Court held:

Evidence of experiments performed out of court,

tending to prove or disprove a contention in issue, is

admissible if there is a substantial similarity between

conditions existing when the experiments are made

and those existing at the time of the occurrence in

dispute; dissimilarities, when not so marked as to

confuse and mislead the jury, go to the weight rather

than the admissibility of the evidence.

[454] . Here, based on our review of the record, we find

Dr. Hoffmann’s out-of-court experiment was not represented

to be a reenactment per se of the accident. Rather, Dr.

Hoffmann’s out-of-court experiment dealt with principles

concerning the release. of gaseous elements from the

“crackling wheel” fireworks during the fatal fire.

Furthermore, to the extent there were dissimilarities, the trial

court found these differences should be applied to the weight

of the evidence, instead of admissibility.

[{55] Applying Miller and St. Paul Fire & Marine Ins.

Co., we conclude the trial court’s admission of Dr.

25a

Hoffmann’s out-of-court experiment did not constitute an

abuse of discretion. Accordingly, plaintiffs’ contention that

Dr. Hoffmann’s opinion lacked a proper foundation is

unpersuasive.

[{56] Evid.R. 703 provides that “the facts or data in the

particular case upon which an expert bases an opinion or

inference may be those perceived by him or admitted in

evidence at the hearing.”

[457] In Burens v. Indus. Comm. (1955), 162 Ohio St.

549, 124 N.E.2d 724, paragraph one of the syllabus, the Ohio

Supreme Court held that “the hypothesis upon which an

expert witness is asked to state an opinion must be based upon

facts within the witness’ own personal knowledge or upon

facts shown by other evidence.”

[58] In this case, Dr. Nichols’ opinion testimony was

based upon evidence elicited by Dr. Hoffmann’s experiment

and testimony about the experiment that tended to establish

the assumption that was posed to Dr. Nichols. We find Dr.

Nichols’ opinion testimony to have been properly rendered.

See, e.g., State v. Volgares (May 17, 1999), Lawrence App.

No. 98CA6, 1999 Ohio App. LEXIS 2356, dismissed, appeal

not allowed, 86 Ohio St. 3d 1489, 716 N.E.2d 721, motion

for delayed appeal denied (2000), 89 Ohio St. 3d 1442, 731

N.E.2d 688, citing Price v. Daughtery (1982), 5 Ohio App.

3d 157, 160, 5 Ohio B. 339, 450 N.E.2d 296 (“an expert may

render an opinion based on a hypothetical question so long as

sufficient testimony regarding the facts of the hypothetical

have been introduced at trial”); Mulford-Jacobs v. Good

Samaritan Hosp. (Nov. 20, 1996), Hamilton App. No. C-

950634, 1996 Ohio App. LEXIS 5210, citing Price, supra

(“an expert may base his opinion on an assumption when the

assumption has an evidentiary basis upon which the jury can

26a

determine whether such facts have been established”). Cf.

Zelenka v. Indus. Comm. (1956), 165 Ohio St. 587, 594, 138

N.E.2d 667 (“it is well settled that the opinion of an expert

witness cannot be predicated either in whole or in part upon

the opinions, inferences and conclusions of others, whether

expert or lay witnesses”); Seley v. G.D. Searle & Co. (1981),

67 Ohio St.2d 192, 206, 423 N.E.2d 831 (observing that

Zelenka rule has been subjected to criticism).

[459] Therefore, plaintiffs’ second assignment of error

is unpersuasive and overruled.

[{60] Accordingly, having overruled all three of

plaintiffs’ assignments of error, we hereby affirm the

judgment of the Court of Claims of Ohio.

Judgment affirmed.

BROWN and McCORMAC, JJ., concur.

McCORMAC, J., retired of the Tenth Appellate District,

assigned to active duty under authority of Section 6(C),

Article IV, Ohio Constitution.

27a

APPENDIX C

SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

Case No. 2000-2178

[Decided September 4, 2002]

WALLACE ET AL.,

APPELLANTS,

v.

OHIO DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE,

DIVISION OF STATE FIRE MARSHAL,

)

)

)

)

)

)

APPELLEE. )

)

APPEAL from the Court of Appeals for Franklin County,

No. 99 AP-1303.

SYLLABUS: SYLLABUS OF THE COURT

1. The public-duty rule is incompatible with R.C.

2743.02(A)(1)’s express language requiring that the state’s

liability in the Court of Claims be determined “in

accordance with the same rules of law applicable to suits

between private parties.” In negligence suits against the

State, the Court of Claims must determine the existence of

a legal duty using conventional tort principles that would

be applicable if the defendant were a private individual or

entity. (Hurst v. Ohio Dept. of Rehab. & Corr. [1995], 72

Ohio St.3d 325, 650 N.E.2d 104, and Anderson v. Ohio

28a

Dept. of Ins. [1991], 58 Ohio St.3d 215, 569 N.E.2d

1042, overruled to the extent inconsistent herewith;

Sawicki v. Ottawa Hills [1988], 37 Ohio St.3d 222, 525

N.E.2d 468, distinguished.)

2. The language in R.C. 2743.02 that the state shall “have its

liability determined * * * in accordance with the same

rules of law applicable to suits between private parties”

means that the state cannot be sued for its legislative or

judicial functions or the exercise of an executive or

planning function involving the making of a basic policy

decision which is characterized by the exercise of a high

degree of official judgment or discretion. However, once

the decision has been made to engage in a certain activity

or function, the state may be held liable, in the same

manner as private parties, for the negligence of the actions

of its employees and agents in the performance of that

activity or function. (Reynolds v. State [1984], 14 Ohio

St.3d 68, 14 OBR 506, 471 N.E.2d 776, paragraph one

of the syllabus, approved.)

JUDGES: COOK, J. DOUGLAS, F.E. SWEENEY and

PFEIFER, JJ., concur. DOUGLAS, J., concurs separately.

MOYER, 'C.J., RESNICK and LUNDBERG STRATTON,

JJ., dissent. LUNDBERG STRATTON, J., dissents.

COOK, J.

[{1] This case asks us to decide whether the state may

raise the public-duty rule as a bar to liability in an action in

the Court of Claims alleging negligent inspection by the Ohio

Department of Commerce, Division of the Fire Marshal (“fire

marshal”). Because the public-duty rule is inconsistent with

the express language of the Court of Claims Act, we hold that

the state may not.

29a

I

[42] On July 3, 1996, Todd Hall carried a lit cigarette

into the Ohio River Fireworks store in Scottown, Lawrence

County, Ohio. Before store employees could intervene, Hall

used the cigarette to ignite a stack of “crackling wheel”

fireworks. Those fireworks ignited other fireworks in the

store and caused a devastating fire, which killed nine people

and injured several others.! Although the store was equipped

with a sprinkler system, the system was disabled at the time

of the blaze.

[43] On the day of the fire, Flying Dragon, Inc., held a

valid fireworks wholesaler license, issued by the fire marshal,

to operate the Ohio River Fireworks store. As a condition of

licensure, James Saddler, a certified safety inspector

employed by the fire marshal, had inspected the Ohio River

Fireworks store in October 1995 as required by statute. See

R.C. 3743.16. During the mandatory licensing inspection,

Saddler had tested the store’s sprinkler system and found it to

be operational. Saddler noted no safety violations and

recommended approving the store’s license renewal

application.

[44] In addition to the mandatory annual licensing

inspection, Ohio River Fireworks was also subject to R.C.

3743.21(A), which authorizes the fire marshal to inspect a

licensed wholesaler’s premises at any time during the license

' A Lawrence County grand jury later indicted Hall on multiple

counts of involuntary manslaughter and aggravated arson. See State

v. Hall (2001), 141 Ohio App.3d 561, 564, 752 N.E.2d 318. Hall,

who suffers from a severe mental disorder, has been declared

incompetent to stand trial several times. Id. at 565-566, 752

N.E.2d 318

30a

period.” Prior to 1996, as a matter of internal policy, the

chief of the fire marshal’s code enforcement bureau

encouraged inspectors to make seasonal inspections of

fireworks establishments during the July 4th fireworks season

to ensure compliance with applicable statutes and safety

regulations. Under this policy, Saddler performed two such

seasonal inspections of the Ohio River Fireworks facility

during the spring of 1995 and found the store’s sprinkler

system to be functional. In May 1996, Daniel L. Lehman,

then acting as chief of the fire marshal’s code enforcement

bureau, reiterated the policy in an interoffice memorandum:

[45] “Although the annual licensing inspection is

conducted during the renewal period in the fourth quarter of

each calendar year, it is important to have every licensed

fireworks facility visited by an inspector between now and

July 4, 1996. The minimum acceptable level of activity is one

visit to each facility, and return visits should be as needed and

in consultation with the respective supervisor. The licensed

facilities should be appropriately monitored by these cursory

inspections to check for overall compliance during this peak

period.”

[{6] In June 1996, a commercial competitor of the Ohio

River Fireworks store informed the fire marshal that Ohio

River Fireworks was advertising and selling Class B

fireworks to individuals who were not authorized to purchase

them. See former R.C. 3743.45(B), 1995 Am.Sub.S.B. No.

?’R.C. 3743.21(A) provides: “The fire marshal may inspect the

premises, and the inventory, wholesale sale, and retail sale records,

of a licensed wholesaler of fireworks during the wholesaler’s period

of licensure to determine whether the wholesaler is in compliance

with Chapter 3743. of the Revised Code and the rules adopted by

the fire marshal pursuant to section 3743.18 of the Revised Code.”

3la

2, 146 Ohio Laws, Part IV, 7647 (forbidding licensed

wholesalers to sell Class B fireworks to an Ohio resident who

is not a licensed wholesaler, manufacturer, or exhibitor); see,

also, R.C. 3743.44(A) (setting forth similar restriction on

sales to nonresident purchasers).’ After learning of this

possible violation, Michael Kraft--then acting as the assistant

chief of the fire marshal’s code enforcement bureau--

organized a “buy bust” operation during which fire marshal

agents would attempt to purchase Class B fireworks without

a proper license. To prevent the planned operation from being

compromised, Kraft and Lehman postponed any seasonal

inspection of the Ohio River Fireworks store until after they

had completed the buy bust. As a result of this directive,

Saddler did not perform a seasonal inspection of the Ohio

River Fireworks facility prior to the fire.

[{7] Five days before the fatal fire, arson investigator

Donald Eifler posed as a customer at Ohio River Fireworks

and successfully purchased Class B fireworks without being

required to show authorization to do so. When the buy bust

was complete, Kraft retrieved the money used in the operation

for evidentiary purposes and ordered the store’s proprietor to

stop selling Class B fireworks to unauthorized purchasers.

None of the three fire marshal agents who were present at the

buy bust conducted a fire safety inspection at any time that

day.

> The statutory and regulatory nomenclature for fireworks has

since changed. The statutes now refer to Class B fireworks as

“1.4G fireworks.” In addition, fireworks that were formerly

referred to as “Class C fireworks” are now known as “1.3G

fireworks.” See Section 215, 1997 Am.Sub.H.B. No. 215, 147

Ohio Laws, Part I, 1353.

32a

[48] The appellants, persons injured in the fire and

administrators of the decedents’ estates, filed this lawsuit in

the Court of Claims, alleging negligence claims against the

fire marshal. The amended complaint alleged, among other

things, that the fire marshal was negligent in failing to

perform an adequate fire safety inspection on the date of the

buy bust and otherwise failing to comply with the internal

policy of conducting seasonal inspections during the peak

fireworks season. The appellants further alleged that a

reasonable inspection by the fire marshal would have revealed

the store’s inoperable sprinkler system and a host of other fire

hazards.

[49] Attrial, the appellants presented testimony indicating

that the store’s sprinkler system was turned off at the time of

the fire. The appellants also presented testimony suggesting

that the shutdown of the sprinkler system was not an isolated

occurrence: inspector Thomas Baker testified that he had

found the sprinkler system shut down during a “walk

through” he performed at the Ohio River Fireworks store in

July 1994. In addition, the appellants offered testimony from

two experts, who opined that the decedents would have had

a good chance of surviving the fire if the sprinkler system had

functioned properly. Another expert testified that any one of

the fire marshal agents who were present for the buy bust

could have easily determined whether the sprinkler system

was operational. This expert also added that a safety

inspection on the day of the buy bust would have revealed

several other fire hazards throughout the store that should

have been remedied.

[{10] Following a four-day trial limited to the issue of

liability, the Court of Claims ruled in favor of the fire

marshal. In its written opinion, the court gave three distinct

reasons for its decision. First, the court found that the fire

ee ee

33a

marshal’s failure to conduct an additional seasonal inspection

at the Ohio River Fireworks facility resulted from a “high

degree of discretion” exercised by Chief Lehman. The court

therefore concluded that liability was precluded by the

discretionary-function immunity recognized by this court in

Reynolds v. State (1984), 14 Ohio St.3d 68, 14 OBR 506, 471

N.E.2d 776, paragraph one of the syllabus. Second, the court

found that the public-duty rule precluded liability against the

fire marshal. Invoking this court’s decision in Sawicki v.

Ottawa Hills (1988), 37 Ohio St.3d 222, 525 N.E.2d 468, the

Court of Claims ruled that the fire marshal’s inspection duties

| were “owed to the general public” and that the appellants had

failed to establish a “special relationship” between them and

the fire marshal that would preclude application of the public-

duty rule. Finally, the Court of Claims decided that the

proximate cause of the appellants’ harm was Hall’s criminal

act of arson. The court concluded that this criminal act “could

not have been foreseen by a reasonably prudent person” and

thus broke any chain of causation that existed between any

negligence by the fire marshal and the harm suffered by the

appellants.

({11] The appellants appealed to the court of appeals,

which found the public-duty rule to be dispositive of the

action. The court of appeals held that statutes authorizing

inspections by the fire marshal were designed to protect the

public generally and not any particular individual. The court

; further agreed with the Court of Claims that there existed no

special relationship between the fire marshal and the injured

parties that would preclude application of the public-duty rule.

The court of appeals therefore affirmed the Court of Claims’

judgment based on the public-duty rule and declared the

appellants’ remaining assignments of error moot. The cause

is now before this court pursuant to the allowance of a

discretionary appeal.

nial bape able

Aron TN ats chs ANNE Wri eid an

34a

II

[{12] The principal focus of this appeal is the

applicability of the public- duty rule to actions against the

state and its agencies in the Court of Claims. The appellants

argue that the public-duty rule is inconsistent with R.C.

2743 .02(A)(1)’s express authorization of suits against the state

in the Court of Claims. Alternatively, the appellants argue

that the public-duty rule, if available as a defense to

negligence actions against the state, functions as a vestige of

state sovereign immunity and therefore violates Section 16,

Article I of the Ohio Constitution. Finally, the appellants

argue that even if the public-duty rule were statutorily and

constitutionally valid, the rule is inapplicable to the

circumstances in this case.

[{13] In Sawicki v. Ottawa Hills, 37 Ohio St.3d 222, 525

N.E.2d 468, this court addressed whether a municipality

could be held liable for negligently failing to provide adequate

police protection in response to a call for help from the victim

of an attempted rape and robbery. This court held that the

village of Ottawa Hills could not be held liable for the

negligence alleged because of the public-duty rule. This

common-law doctrine, which “originated at English common

law and was particularly applied to the office of [the] sheriff,”

precludes a private party from sustaining a cause of action

against a public officer for breach of a public duty. Id. at 229-

230, 525 N.E.2d 468; see, also, South v. Maryland (1855),

59 U.S. (18 How.) 396, 403, 15 L. Ed. 433. In other words,

a public entity owes a duty only to the general public when

performing its functions and is therefore not liable for torts

committed against an individual absent a special duty owed to

the injured person. See Stone v. North Carolina Dept. of

Labor (1998), 347 N.C. 473, 477-478, 495 S.E.2d 711;

35a

Fudge v. Kansas City (1986), 239 Kan. 369, 372, 720 P.2d

1093.

[14] | Various public-policy considerations are the

principal justification for the doctrine. Primary among these

is the protection of the public fisc from lawsuits tending to

second-guess the allocation of scarce resources. Sawicki, 37

Ohio St.3d at 231, 525 N.E.2d 468. Because individuals,

juries, and courts are “ill-equipped to judge governmental

decisions as to how particular community resources should be

or should have been allocated to protect individual members

of the public,” courts have used the public-duty rule to shield

public entities from the “severe depletion of those resources”

that could result from imposing liability for “every oversight

or omission” by a public official. Ezell v. Cockrell

(Tenn.1995), 902 S.W.2d 394, 398; see, also, Tipton v.

Tabor (S.D.1997), 1997 SD 96, 567 N.W.2d 351, 356. In

Sawicki, for example, this court observed that there were

“insufficient police resources to meet every need” and that

“police departments must be able to prioritize and create

responses without the benefit of hindsight.” Sawicki, 37 Ohio

St.3d at 231, 525 N.E.2d 468.

[{15] In adopting the public-duty rule, this court was also

careful to distinguish it from the defense of sovereign

immunity, which this court had abolished as a common-law

defense for municipalities and counties in a series of decisions

in the 1980s. See, e.g., Zents v. Summit Cty. Bd. of Commrs.

(1984), 9 Ohio St.3d 204, 9 OBR 516, 459 N.E.2d 881;

Strohofer v. Cincinnati (1983), 6 Ohio St.3d 118, 6 OBR 178,

451 N.E.2d 787; Enghauser Mfg. Co. v. Eriksson Eng. Ltd.

(1983), 6 Ohio St.3d 31, 6 OBR 53, 451 N.E.2d 228.

Whereas immunity was an absolute defense to liability when

applicable, the public-duty rule “comported with the

principles of negligence, and was applicable to the

36a

determination of the extent to which a statute may encompass

the duty upon which negligence is premised.” Sawicki, 37

Ohio St.3d at 230, 525 N.E.2d 468; see, also, Williams v.

State (1983), 34 Cal.3d 18, 22- 23, 192 Cal.Rptr. 233, 664

P.2d 137. Accordingly, the abrogation of common-law

immunity for municipalities did not eliminate the public-duty

rule, which “was coexistent at common law with the doctrine

of sovereign immunity.” Sawicki, 37 Ohio St.3d at 230, 525

N.E.2d 468.

[{16] The Sawicki court also recognized an important

common-law exception to the public-duty rule. If a “special

relationship” existed between the injured party and the public

official--such that the latter assumed an affirmative duty to act

on behalf of the former--then the public-duty rule would not

bar government liability. Id. at paragraph four of the syllabus;

see, also, Cuffy v. New York City (1987), 69 N.Y.2d 255, 513

N.Y.S.2d 372, 505 N.E.2d 937. “If a special relationship is

demonstrated, then a duty is established, and inquiry will

continue into the remaining negligence elements.” Sawicki, 37

Ohio St.3d at 230, 525 N.E.2d 468.

[{17] Following Sawicki, this court extended the public-

duty rule beyond the area of local law enforcement to bar

governmental liability for alleged negligence in connection

with various duties imposed by statute or municipal

ordinance. See, e.g., Delman v. Cleveland Hts. (1989), 41

Ohio St.3d 1, 534 N.E.2d 835 (point-of- sale housing

inspection); Commerce & Industry Ins. Co. v. Toledo (1989),

45 Ohio St.3d 96, 543 N.E.2d 1188 (firefighting by municipal

fire department); Williamson v. Pavlovich (1989), 45 Ohio

St.3d 179, 543 N.E.2d 1242 (enforcement of municipal

parking ordinance); but, cf., Brodie v. Summit Cty. Children

Serv. Bd. (1990), 51 Ohio St.3d 112, 118-119, 554 N.E.2d

1301 (finding public-duty rule inapplicable when statute

37a

imposed affirmative duty for the specific benefit of children).

And in later decisions, this court extended Sawicki beyond

actions involving local government. In at least two cases

decided in the decade following Sawicki, this court applied the

public-duty rule to foreclose liability in actions against the

state in the Court of Claims. See Hurst v. Ohio Dept. of

Rehab. & Corr. (1995), 72 Ohio St.3d 325, 650 N.E.2d 104

(applying public-duty rule to bar liability for negligently

failing to detain parole violator); Anderson v. Ohio Dept. of

Ins. (1991), 58 Ohio St.3d 215, 569 N.E.2d 1042 (applying

public-duty rule to bar liability for negligent liquidation of

assets).* And even though a handful of states have rejected

the public-duty rule as a bar to government liability,” a

* This court also analyzed application of the public-duty rule in

Ashland Cty. Bd. of Commrs. v. Ohio Dept. of Taxation (1992), 63

Ohio St.3d 648, 590 N.E.2d 730, a case in which numerous county

boards of commissioners, boards of education, and auditors sought

to hold the Tax Commissioner responsible for alleged misfeasance

in assessing and apportioning the values of certain property. A close

reading of Ashland, however, reveals that this court held that the

Court of Claims lacked subject matter jurisdiction. 63 Ohio St. 3d

at 651-653, 690 N.E.2d 730. Thus, the case’s subsequent

discussion of the public-duty rule was dicta.

> See, e.g., Adams v. State (Alaska 1976), 555 P.2d 235; Ryan

v. State (1982), 134 Ariz. 308, 656 P.2d 597; Leake v. Cain

(Colo. 1986), 720 P.2d 152; Commercial Carrier Corp. v. Indian

River Cty. (Fla.1979), 371 So. 2d 1010; Fowler v. Roberts

(La.1990), 556 So. 2d 1; Jean W. v. Commonwealth (1993), 414

Mass. 496, 610 N.E.2d 305; Maple v. Omaha (1986), 222 Neb.

293, 384 N.W.2d 254; Doucette v. Bristol (1993), 138 N.H. 205,

635 A.2d 1387; Schear v. Bernalillo Cty. Bd. of Commrs. (1984),

101 N.M. 671, 687 P.2d 728; Brennen v. Eugene (1979), 285 Ore.

401, 591 P.2d 719; Coffey v. Milwaukee (1976), 74 Wis.2d 526,

247 N.W.2d 132; DeWald v. State (Wyo.1986), 719 P.2d 643.

38a

majority of jurisdictions that have considered the question

apply the doctrine in some form.°

° £4a} See, e.g., Williams v. State (1983), 34 Cal.3d 18, 192

Cal.Rptr. 233, 664 P.2d 137; Shore v. Stonington (1982), 187

Conn. 147, 444 A.2d 1379; Morgan v. Dist. of Columbia

(D.C.App.i983), 468 A.2d 1306; Ruf v. Honolulu Police Dept.

(1999), 89 Haw. 315, 972 P.2d 1081; Kolbe v. State (lowa 2001),

625 N.W.2d 721; Fudge v. Kansas City, 239 Kan. 369, 720 P.2d

1093; Cracraft v. St. Louis Park (Minn.1979), 279 N.W.2d 801;

State ex rel. Barthelette v. Sanders (Mo.1988), 756 S.W.2d 536;

Coty v. Washoe Cty. (1992), 108 Nev. 757, 839 P.2d 97; Cuffy v.

New York City, 69 N.Y.2d 255, 513 N.Y .Supp.2d 372, 505 N.E.2d

937; Catone v. Medberry (R.1.1989), 555 A.2d 328; Steinke v.

South Carolina Dept. of Labor (1999), 336 S.C. 373, 520 S.E.2d

142; Tipton v. Tabor (S.D.1997), 1997 SD 96, 567 N.W.2d 351;

Rollins v. Petersen (Utah 1991), 813 P.2d 1156; Chambers-

Castanes v. King Cty. (1983), 100 Wn. 2d 275, 669 P.2d 451;

Benson v. Kutsch (1989), 181 W.Va. 1, 380 S.E.2d 36.

{4b} Five other states--Georgia, Indiana, Michigan, North

Carolina, and Vermont--have applied the public-duty rule in a more

limited fashion. The supreme courts in Georgia and Indiana have

expressly declined to apply the public-duty rule beyond the context

of police and emergency services. See Dept. of Transp. v. Brown

(1996), 267 Ga. 6, 8-9, 471 S.E.2d 849 (limiting Rome v. Jordan

[1993], 263 Ga. 26, 426 S.E.2d 861); Benton v. Oakland City

(Ind.1999), 721 N.E.2d 224, 232-234 (limiting Mullin v. S. Bend

{Ind. 1994], 639 N.E.2d 278). Similarly, the Michigan Supreme

Court recently refused to extend the public-duty rule beyond cases

involving the alleged failure of a police officer to protect a plaintiff

from a third person’s criminal acts. Beaudrie v. Henderson (2001),

465 Mich. 124, 134-142, 631 N.W.2d 308 (limiting White v.

Beasley [1996], 453 Mich. 308, 552 N.W.2d 1). The North

Carolina Supreme Court has embraced the public-duty rule in suits

against the state but has declined to extend it to suits against

municipalities. Compare Stone v. North Carolina Dept. of Labor,

347 N.C. at 477-479, 495 S.E.2d 711 (applying public-duty rule to

en ee

Lo Pith ie Mined nb Po ded

39a

[{18] Consistent with this line of cases, the state urges us

to affirm the lower courts’ application of the public-duty rule

in this case. Because the fire marshal’s inspection duties are

owed to the public at large and because the appellants have

failed to establish a special relationship as defined in Sawicki,

the state argues that the public-duty rule is as applicable in

this context as it was in the cases in which we have previously

applied it. In addition to the state’s arguments for affirmance,

we are also cognizant of cases from other jurisdictions that

have applied the public-duty rule to bar government liability

for an allegedly negligent fire inspection--the gravamen of the

appellants’ claim in this case. See, e.g., Stone, 347 N.C. at

480-482, 495 S.E.2d 711; Cracraft v. St. Louis Park

(Minn. 1979), 279 N.W.2d 801, 805-807. Despite all of these

factors militating in favor of continued application of the

public- duty rule to suits against the state, we cannot adhere

to the doctrine without first determining whether it has a place

within the statutory scheme created by the legislature in R.C.

Chapter 2743.

bar claim against the state arising out of negligent failure to conduct

fire safety inspection), with Thompson v. Waters (2000), 351 N.C.

462, 464-465, 526 S.E.2d 650 (declining to extend public-duty rule

to insulate county from liability for negligent building inspection).

The Vermont Supreme Court has apparently drawn the same

distinction as North Carolina. Compare Sorge v. State (2000), 171

Vt. 171, 762 A.2d 816, 819-820 (applying public-duty rule and

special- relationship exception to an action against the state alleging

negligent supervision of juvenile in custody), with Hudson v. E.

Montpelier (1993), 161 Vt. 168, 179, 638 A.2d 561 (expressly

declining to adopt the public-duty rule in an action alleging

negligence by municipal employees).

40a

iil

[419] Although this court has applied the public-duty rule

to suits against the state in the Court of Claims, this court has

not specifically analyzed whether application of the doctrine

is compatible with the express language contained in R.C.

Chapter 2743. Of specific importance is R.C. 2743.02(A)(1),

which states:

[420] “The state hereby waives its immunity from

liability and consents to be sued, and have its liability

determined, in the court of claims created in this chapter in

accordance with the same rules of law applicable to suits

between private parties, except that the determination of

liability is subject to the limitations set forth in this chapter

* * * ” (Emphasis added.)

[421] The parties do not dispute that R.C. Chapter 2743

does not “set forth” the public-duty rule as a limitation to the

state’s liability for tortious conduct. The viability of the

doctrine in suits against the state therefore depends on

whether we can fairly characterize the public-duty rule as a

rule of law “applicable to suits between private parties.”

More specifically, we must decide whether the public-duty

rule is compatible with the legal rules governing ordinary

negligence suits involving private parties in the common pleas

courts. We agree with the appellants that it is not.

[422] The appellants in this case seek to hold the fire

marshal responsible for damages on a negligent-inspection

theory of liability. It is well settled that the elements of an

ordinary negligence suit between private parties are (1) the

existence of a legal duty, (2) the defendant’s breach of that

duty, and (3) injury that is the proximate cause of the

defendant’s breach. Mussivand v. David (1989), 45 Ohio

AO le AS OY

4la

St.3d 314, 318, 544 N.E.2d 265. The duty element of

negligence, with which courts have linked the public-duty

rule, is a question of law for the court to determine. Id.

[{23] “Duty, as used in Ohio tort law, refers to the

relationship between the plaintiff and the defendant from

which arises an obligation on the part of the defendant to

exercise due care toward the plaintiff.” Commerce & Industry

Ins. Co., 45 Ohio St.3d at 98, 543 N.E.2d 1188; see, also,

Huston v. Konieczny (1990), 52 Ohio St.3d 214, 217, 556

N.E.2d 505. This court has often stated that the existence of

a duty depends upon the foreseeability of harm: if a

reasonably prudent person would have anticipated that an

injury was likely to result from a particular act, the court

could find that the duty element of negligence is satisfied.

Texler v. D.O. Summers Cleaners & Shirt Laundry Co.

(1998), 81 Ohio St.3d 677, 680, 693 N.E.2d 271; Commerce

& Industry, 45 Ohio St.3d at 98, 543 N.E.2d 1188; Menifee

v. Ohio Welding Products, Inc. (1984), 15 Ohio St.3d 75, Tas

15 OBR 179, 472 N.E.2d 707. In addition, we have also

stated that the duty element of negligence may be established

by common law, by legislative enactment, or by the particular

circumstances of a given case. Chambers v. St. Mary’s

School (1998), 82 Ohio St.3d 563, 565, 697 N.E.2d 198;

Eisenhuth v. Moneyhon (1954), 161 Ohio St. 367, 53 0.0.

274, 119 N.E.2d 440, paragraph one of the syllabus.

Admittedly, however, the concept of duty in negligence law

is at times an elusive one. As this court explained in

Mussivand:

[{24] “There is no formula for ascertaining whether a

duty exists. Duty ‘* * * is the court’s “expression of the sum

total of those considerations of policy which lead the law to

say that the particular plaintiff is entitled to protection.”

(Prosser, Law of Torts (4th ed.1971) pp. 325-326.) Any

42a

number of considerations may justify the imposition of duty

in particular circumstances, including the guidance of history,

our continually refined concepts of morals and justice, the

convenience of the rule, and social judgment as to where the

loss should fall. (Prosser, Palsgraf Revisited (1953), 52

Mich.L.Rev. 1, 15).’” Id., 45 Ohio St.3d at 318, 544

N.E.2d 265, quoting Weirum v. RKO Gen., Inc. (1975), 15

Cal.3d 40, 46, 123 Cal.Rptr. 468, 539 P.2d 36. See,

generally, Palsgraf v. Long Island RR. Co. (1928), 248 N.Y.

339, 162 N.E. 99.

[425] In light of Mussivand’s explanation of the duty

element, there is a substantial argument that the public-duty

rule is merely an expression of policy that leads us to

conclude that private interests are not generally entitled to

protection against conduct by public officials performing

public duties. See Shore v. Stonington (1982), 187 Conn. 147,

152, 444 A.2d 1379. And were we deciding this case in the

same context in which we decided Sawicki--in an immunity

vacuum and applying purely common-law principles--we

might be more willing to decide that the public- duty rule

“comports with the principles of negligence” by aiding the

court in a determination of whether a duty imposed upon a

public employee “may encompass the duty upon which

negligence is premised.” Sawicki, 37 Ohio St.3d at 230, 525

N.E.2d 468. But unlike in Sawicki, our analysis of common-

law negligence principles here is tempered by statutory

dictates.

[426] To accept the state’s contention that the public-duty

rule is applicable here because it “determines whether a

defendant has any duty to begin with” ignores a vital feature

of the doctrine that is incompatible with R.C. 2743.02(A)(1).

The applicability of the public-duty rule depends upon the

public status of the particular defendant raising it as a bar to

43a

liability. In other words, only governmental entities and their

employees may rely on the rule. It is spurious logic to

conclude that a doctrine that is, by definition, available only

to public defendants can be consistent with a statute

mandating that suits be determined in accordance with rules

of law applicable to private parties. See Leake v. Cain

(Colo. 1986), 720 P.2d 152, 159-160 (holding that the public-

duty rule contravened Colorado statute providing that

“liability of the public entity shall be determined in the same

manner as if the public entity were a private person,”

Colo.Rev.Stat. 24-10-107); Brennen v. Eugene (1979), 285

Ore. 401, 411, 591 P.2d 719 (“any distinction between

‘public’ and ‘private’ duty is precluded by statute in this

state”). The limitation on liability occasioned by the public-

duty rule subjects a plaintiff suing in the Court of Claims to

a heightened burden of establishing the duty element of

negligence that would not exist if that same plaintiff were

suing a private defendant in common pleas court. See Adams

v. State (Alaska 1976), 555 P.2d 235, 242. Given the

unambiguous directive of R.C. 2743.02(A), there is no legal

or logical basis to conclude that the public-duty rule, which is

by definition unavailable to private litigants, can apply to suits

against the state in the Court of Claims.’

? Justice Lundberg Stratton’s dissenting opinion surmises that

our holding, which depends upon the statutory language of R.C.

2743.02(A), could lead to the “unintended consequence” of

invalidating Civ.R. 62(C), which permits the state to obtain a stay

of a judgment without the necessity of providing a bond. This

contention is remarkable, for our holding cannot lead to any such

result. It is one thing to say, as we do today, that a common-law

rule is incompatible with statutory language setting forth the general

public policy of Ohio in the area of suits in the Court of Claims. It

is quite another thing to contend that duly enacted rules or statutes

would be equally invalidated. See, e.g., Rockey v. 84 Lumber Co.

44a

[{27] In coming to this conclusion, we acknowledge the

contrary interpretation of R.C. 2743.02(A)(1) expressed over

twenty-five years ago in Shelton v. Indus. Comm. (1976), 51

Ohio App.2d 125, 5 O.0.3d 286, 367 N.E.2d 51. In Shelton,

also a case alleging an injury resulting from a negligent safety

inspection, the court of appeals opted for a narrower

interpretation of the language providing for state liability in

accordance with the same rules of law applicable to suits

between private parties:

[28] “Construing that provision more narrowly, one

could say that a private party’s duty to inspect and to enforce

safety standards is not created by statute, but only by virtue

of some other legal relationship and, hence, there is no rule

of law making a private party liable for a failure to perform

statutory duties of inspection and enforcement of safety

standards which were enacted to protect the health, safety,

and welfare of all of the citizens of Ohio.” 51 Ohio App. 2d

at 130, 5 0.0.3d 286, 367 N.E.2d 51.

[429] Using this reasoning, the court of appeals held that

an action could not lie against the Industrial Commission

when the breach of duty giving rise to governmental liability

arose only by statute. Other courts have used a similar mode

of analysis to reconcile the public-duty rule with statutory

waivers of sovereign immunity worded similarly to R.C.

(1993), 66 Ohio St.3d 221, 611 N.E.2d 789, paragraph two of the

syllabus (“The Ohio Rules of Civil Procedure, which were

promulgated by the Supreme Court pursuant to Section 5(B),

Article IV of the Ohio Constitution, must control over subsequently

enacted inconsistent statutes purporting to govern procedural

matters”); R.C. 1.51 (announcing general rule of construction that

specific provision controls over a general one when provisions are

in irreconcilable conflict).

45a

2743.02(A)(1). See, e.g., Stone, 347 N.C. at 478-479, 495

S.E.2d 711. At first glance, the Skelton line of reasoning may

carry with it some superficial appeal as a way to reconcile

R.C. 2743.02(A)(1) with the public- duty rule. We reject this

attempted reconciliation, however, because accepting it would

run contrary to other areas of Ohio tort law.®

[{30] Shelton’s reasoning operates on the unstated

premise that statutes creating duties for governmental actors

cannot satisfy the duty element for purposes of the state’s

liability for negligence because there are no statutory duties

that may similarly bind private parties. Cases from this court,

however, suggest otherwise. We have expressly stated that a

duty, for purposes of a negligence claim, may arise out of a

legislative enactment. Chambers, 82 Ohio St.3d at 565, 697

N.E.2d 198; see, also, Gelbman v. Second Natl. Bank of

Warren (1984), 9 Ohio St.3d 77, 79, 9 OBR 280, 458 N.E.2d

1262. And this court has cited statutory law as a means of

addressing whether the duty element was satisfied in

negligence suits against private parties. See, e.g., Mussivand,

45 Ohio St.3d at 320, 544 N.E.2d 265; Shroades v. Rental

Homes (1981), 68 Ohio St.2d 20, 22 0.0.3d 152, 427

N.E.2d 774. Thus, as a general matter, government actors are

not alone in having duties imposed upon them by statute. The

* Justice Lundberg Stratton’s dissent points to legislative silence

following Shelton as purported evidence of the General Assembly’s

endorsement of the court of appeals’ interpretation of R.C.

2743.02(A). A legislature does not, however, express its will by

failing to legislate. “‘The act of refusing to enact a law *** has

utterly no legal effect, and thus has utterly no place in a serious

discussion of the law.’” Rice v. CertainTeed Corp. (1999), 84 Ohio

St.3d 417, 421, 704 N.E.2d 1217, quoting United States v. Estate

of Romani (1998), 523 U.S. 517, 535, 118 S. Ct. 1478, 140 L. Ed.

2d 710 (Scalia, J., concurring in part and concurring in judgment).

46a

fact that a statute may impose a duty to act, even if a private

person would not have such a duty, “does no more than

identify the source of the duty.” Jean W. v. Commonwealth

(1993), 414 Mass. 496, 508, 610 N.E.2d 305 (Liacos, C.J.,

concurring); see, also, Beaudrie v. Henderson (2001), 465

Mich. 124, 140, 631 N.W.2d 308.

[431] Accordingly, we hold that the public-duty rule is

incompatible with R.C. 2743.02(A)(1)’s express language

requiring that the state’s liability in the Court of Claims be

determined “in accordance with the same rules of law

applicable to suits between private parties.” In negligence

suits against the state, the Court of Claims must determine the

existence of a legal duty using conventional tort principles

that would be applicable if the defendant were a private

individual or entity. This court’s decisions applying the

public-duty rule in actions brought in the Court of Claims are

necessarily overruled to the extent inconsistent with our

decision today.’

* Baum v. Ohio State Hwy. Patrol (1995), 72 Ohio St.3d 469,

650 N.E.2d, 1347, is not one of the cases that we overrule today. It

is true that Baum, which precluded liability for negligence arising

out of a state trooper’s operation of his vehicle while responding to

an emergency call, cited Sawicki for the proposition that “liability

under R.C. Chapter 2743 cannot be imposed since the action did

not result from the breach owed to the particular plaintiff.” Id. at

471-472, 650 N.E.2d 1347. Baum did not, however, involve the

public-duty rule. Baum held that the state was immune from liability

unless a state trooper committed willful or wanton misconduct while

operating his or her vehicle in response to an emergency call. Id.

at syllabus. If Baum had truly hinged on the public-duty rule, there

would have been no need for us to address whether the state was

entitled to an immunity defense. See Sawicki, 37 Ohio St.3d at 230,

525 N.E.2d 468.

47a

IV

[432] In declaring the public-duty rule inapplicable to

suits against the state in the Court of Claims, we are mindful

of the various public policies that courts have used to justify

application of the rule. Indeed, the public policies that this

court cited in Sawicki--the integrity of the public fisc and the

need to avoid judicial intervention into policy decisions--are

as significant now as they were when Sawicki was decided.

For several reasons, however, the policy rationales that have

supported application of the public-duty rule are not as

compelling when applied to suits against the state in the Court

of Claims.

[433] First, no matter what considerations of policy

support the judicial application of the public-duty rule, we

must remember that R.C. Chapter 2743 has legislatively set

forth the public policy of this state. That policy, expressed in

R.C. 2743.02(A)(1), is to allow suits against the state

according to the same rules as between private parties,

“except that the determination of liability is subject to the

limitations set forth in this chapter.” (Emphasis added.) As

we have stated previously, the public-duty rule is neither “set

forth” in R.C. Chapter 2743 nor a rule of law applicable to

suits between private parties. It is inappropriate for the court

to engraft the public-duty rule as an additional limitation on

liability that the General Assembly has not provided. If the

public-duty rule is to become a rule of substantive law

applicable to suits in the Court of Claims, it is the General

Assembly--the ultimate arbiter of public policy--that should

make it so by way of legislation."® It is not this court’s role

'0 See, e.g., Wilson v. Anchorage (Alaska 1983), 669 P.2d 569,

571 (noting that the Alaska legislature immunized public entities

a

48a

to apply a judicially created doctrine when faced with

statutory language that cuts against its applicability.

[434] Second, there are already important safeguards in

our jurisprudence that satisfy the public-policy concerns

addressed by the public-duty rule. In Reynolds v. State

(1984), 14 Ohio St.3d 68, 14 OBR 506, 471 N.E.2d 776, a

case in which this court squarely addressed the meaning of

R.C. 2743.02(A)(1), this court acknowledged that the state’s

potential liability under R.C. Chapter 2743 is not unbounded.

Analogizing to its earlier holdings concerning the limitations

on the abrogation of municipal immunity, this court rejected

the notion that the General Assembly’s abrogation of

sovereign immunity in’R-C. 2743.02 extended to essential

acts of governmental decisionmaking. Id. at 70, 471 N.E.2d

776; see, also, Enghauser Mfg. Co., 6 Ohio St.3d at 35, 6

OBR 53, 451 N.E.2d 228. Accordingly, this court held:

from liability based on negligent safety inspections of private

property following Adams, 555 P.2d 235, in which the Alaska

Supreme Court refused to recognize the public-duty rule); Clouse

v. State (2001), 199 Ariz. 196, 199, 16 P.3d 757 (noting that

Arizona legislature reinstated immunity for variety of public

functions following abrogation of the public-duty rule in Ryan v.

State [1982], 134 Ariz. 308, 656 P.2d 597); Persilver v. Louisiana

Dept. of Transp. (La.App.1991), 592 So. 2d 1344, 1347, fn. 2

(noting that Louisiana statute providing immunity for discretionary

acts supersedes Louisiana Supreme Court’s rejection of public-duty

rule in Fowler, 556 So. 2d 1); Barry, Brum v. Town of Dartmouth

and the Public Duty Rule: Navigating an Interpretive Quagmire

(2000), 41 B.C. L. Rev. 383, 410-413 (chronicling the

Massachusetts legislature’s reinstatement of some aspects of the

public-duty rule following judicial abrogation of the doctrine in

Jean W., 414 Mass. 496, 610 N.E.2d 305)

49a

[435] “The language in R.C. 2743.02 that ‘the state’ shall

‘have its liability determined * * * in accordance with the

same rules of law applicable to suits between private parties

* * *° means that the state cannot be sued for its legislative or

judicial functions or the exercise of an executive or planning

function involving the making of a basic policy decision

which is characterized by the exercise of a high degree of

official judgment or discretion. However, once the decision

has been made to engage in a certain activity or function, the

state may be held liable, in the same manner as private

parties, for the negligence of the actions of its employees and

agents in the performance of [that activity or function].”

Reynolds at paragraph one of the syllabus; accord Garland v.

Ohio Dept. of Transp. (1990), 48 Ohio St.3d 10, 11, 548

N.E.2d 233.

[436] The law as set forth in Reynolds, which we today

reaffirm, addresses public-policy concerns identical to those

that courts have used to justify the public- duty rule. That the

state already enjoys some measure of qualified immunity for

discretionary functions cuts against recognition of an

additional rule insulating public entities from liability merely

because of their public status. See Ryan v. State (1982), 134

Ariz. 308, 310, 656 P.2d 597 (holding that Arizona’s

statutory immunity for discretionary acts “should allay these

fears” that “people will be afraid to act in official capacities”

after abrogation of public-duty rule); Hudson v. E. Montpelier

(1993), 161 Vt. 168, 178-179, 638 A.2d 561 (declining to

adopt the public-duty rule as a means of limiting municipal

liability when qualified official immunity for discretionary

functions already existed). Even without the public-duty rule,

the state already enjoys a fair degree of protection from

litigious second-guessing of discretionary governmental

decisions that necessarily involve difficult choices about how

to allocate the state’s resources. In this case, for example,

50a

Reynolds arguably bars liability for the fire marshal’s actions

if the appellants’ harm resulted from a discretionary executive

decision to forgo a seasonal inspection; if, on the other hand,

the fire marshal’s negligent performance of an inspection was

the proximate cause of the appellants’ harm, R.C.

2743.02(A)(1) allows for liability against the state."

[437] Third, and perhaps imost significant, our rejection

of the public-duty rule’s application to suits in the Court of

Claims does not automatically open the floodgates to

excessive governmental liability. For one thing, the absence

of the public-duty rule will not automatically result in new

duties--and thereby new causes of action--that could impose

tort liability on the state. This court has previously stated that

“R.C. 2743.02(A) does not create a new right of action

against the state, but places the state upon the same level as

any private party.” McCord v. Ohio Div. of Parks &

Recreation (1978), 54 Ohio St.2d 72, 74, 8 O.0.3d 77, 375

N.E.2d 50. Thus, suits against the state are inherently limited

by the type of action asserted against it; if the cause of action

is not cognizable as between private parties, then there can

likewise be no state liability. For instance, actions (unlike this

case) that do not sound in tort but seek recovery purely for a

statutory violation will not necessarily lie against the state--

particularly if the statute in question provides no private right

'' Thus, Justice Resnick’s dissent grossly mischaracterizes (or

misunderstands) our holding by insisting that our decision subjects

the fire marshal to liability for “deciding to postpone a cursory,

discretionary, and seasonal inspection.” Infra at P52 (Resnick, J.,

dissenting). If the dissent’s contention were true, it would amount

to an implicit overruling of Reynolds. Our reaffirmation today of

the Reynolds syllabus--namely, the recognition that the state cannot

be held liable for highly discretionary decisions--refutes any such

claim.

Sla

of action. Cf. Smith v. Wait (1975), 46 Ohio App.2d 281,

283-286, 75 Ohio Op. 2d 560, 350 N.E.2d 431 (finding no

state liability in an action alleging violations of statutory

provisions concerning registration of securities).

[{38] For another thing, conventional negligence

principles already provide some measure of protection against

the possibility of the state becoming the de facto guarantor of

every injury somehow attributable to the actions of a state

tortfeasor. A state defendant, just like any private defendant,

remains protected by traditional tort concepts of duty,

including foreseeability and pertinent public-policy

considerations. Leake v. Cain, 720 P.2d at 160; Chambers-

Castanes v. King Cty. (1983), 100 Wn. 2d 275, 292, 669

P.2d 451 (Utter, J., concurring in the result). Moreover, our

tort law already requires a special relationship in order to

satisfy the duty element in certain types of negligence actions,

such as actions based on failure to act or failure to control the

conduct of a third person. See Littleton v. Good Samaritan

Hosp. & Health Ctr. (1988), 39 Ohio St.3d 86, 92, 529

N.E.2d 449: Hill v. Sonitrol of Southwestern Ohio, Inc.

(1988), 36 Ohio St.3d 36, 39, 521 N.E.2d 780; see, also, 2

Restatement of the Law 2d, Torts (1965) 116-122, Sections

314-315.'2 Thus, when a duty is neither imposed by statute

nor undertaken by an instrumentality of the state, the state

defendant is already insulated from liability based on a failure

to act. See, e.g., Juliano v. Ohio Dept. of Health (1985), 18

Ohio St.3d 303, 304, 18 OBR 350, 480 N.E.2d 817 (finding

2 Our recognition that this principle applies to both state and

private defendants renders puzzling the dissent’s claim that today’s

decision somehow imposes an affirmative duty to act upon state

defendants that would not exist for private defendants. See infra at

P90-93, 95-98, 104-106 (Resnick, J., dissenting). We have said

quite the opposite.

EE

52a

no liability for failure to inspect diving board when statute

imposed no such duty); cf. Lopatkovich v. Tiffin (1986), 28

Ohio St.3d 204, 207, 28 OBR 290, 503 N.E.2d 154 (snow

removal ordinance was at most a “duty to assist the city,” did

not “raise a duty on owners and occupiers to the public at

large,” and therefore could not form basis for negligence

liability). A plaintiff must also shoulder the burden of

establishing proximate cause, which could be exceedingly

difficult in cases where the governmental conduct alleged to

have caused injury is particularly attenuated or exacerbated by

intervening circumstances. “Especially in instances where the

public employee’s purported negligence stems from a failure

to prevent or to mitigate a harmful situation that he did not

cause, a plaintiff's burden of establishing proximate cause will

be significant.” Jean W. v. Commonwealth, 414 Mass. at

511-512, 610 N.E.2d 305 (Liacos, C.J., concurring); see,

also, Brennen, 285 Ore. at 408, 591 P.2d 719 (“the

requirement that the risk created by the activity of the

municipal agent fall with the ‘zone of foreseeability’ imposes

an additional limitation on the scope of governmental

liability”).

[§39] For all of these reasons, the public-policy rationales

that supported our adoption of the public-duty rule in Sawicki

do not carry the same force when analyzing whether the

doctrine should apply to suits against the state in the Court of

Claims. Given the legislature’s expression of public policy in

the text of R.C. 2743.02(A)(1) and the built-in safeguards

against excessive governmental liability already in place, we

find no reason to continue Sawicki’s extension to suits brought

under R.C. Chapter 2743."

'> Insofar as Sawicki dealt only with municipal liability, we

have no occasion to overrule it or any of our decisions applying the

53a

Vv

[440] For the foregoing reasons, we reject the public-duty

rule as a bar to the state’s liability for negligence in actions

brought in the Court of Claims. Because we hold that the

public-duty rule is inconsistent with the statutory language of

R.C. 2743.02(A)(1), we need not reach the appellants’

arguments challenging the constitutionality of the doctrine.

See State ex rel. DeBrosse v. Cool (1999), 87 Ohio St.3d 1,

7, 716 N.E.2d 1114 (“Courts decide constitutional issues only

when absolutely necessary”). We also decline to address two

other issues raised by the parties on this appeal: (1) the

appellants’ proposition concerning the proper foreseeability

standard in assessing issues regarding proximate causation and

(2) the state’s alternate argument for affirmance based on the

fire marshal’s discretionary- function immunity. Because the

court of appeals held that the public-duty rule barred the

appellants’ claims, it had no occasion to reach these issues;

accordingly, we will leave those issues for the court of

appeals to resolve, if necessary, on remand.

[441] The judgment of the court of appeals is reversed,

and the cause is remanded for further proceedings not

inconsistent with this opinion.

Judgment reversed and cause remanded.

public-duty rule to actions not brought under R.C. Chapter 2743.

Various courts of appeals, however, have considered Sawicki

(among other cases) to have been legislatively superseded by the

General Assembly’s enactment of R.C. Chapter 2744. See, e.g.,

Sudnik v. Crimi (1997), 117 Ohio App.3d 394, 397, 690 N.E.2d

925: Franklin v. Columbus (1998), 130 Ohio App.3d 53, 59-60,

719 N.E.2d 592; Amborski v. Toledo (1990), 67 Ohio App.3d 47,

51, 585 N.E.2d 974.

54a

DOUGLAS, F.E. SWEENEY and PFEIFER, JJ., concur.

DOUGLAS, J., concurs separately.

MOYER, C.J., RESNICK and LUNDBERG STRATTON,

JJ., dissent.

LUNDBERG STRATTON, J., dissents.

DOUGLAS, J., concurring.

[442] Justice Cook has, with surgical skill, dissected the

so-called public- duty rule and, in the process, has shown why

the rule has no efficacy or relevance in Ohio. The intellectual

honesty of the opinion, drawing its conclusions from the facts

as opposed to trying to make the law and facts fit

preconceived notions, makes it difficult for the dissenters to

mount a credible argument in opposition to the majority

opinion. Perhaps that is why both dissents carry on, page after

page, citing fact patterns and cases that have no relevance to

the case at bar.

[443] Justice Cook has, for all to see and understand,

explained ‘the clear differences between the doctrine of

sovereign immunity as it applies to the state on the one hand,

and to municipalities on the other. Yet even though the case

now before us involves the state, both dissents continue to

confuse the concepts by citing and relying on the inapplicable

Sawicki v. Ottawa Hills (1988), 37 Ohio-St.3d 222, 525

N.E.2d 468--a case arising out of municipal tort liability. The

failure to grasp this basic distinction is why we now find the

law of Ohio to be confused in its application in these types of

cases.

55a

[444] It would be an easy task to respond to the dissents

point by point, but since they both start with a faulty premise

and go downhill from there, not much would be gained by

doing so. Just one statement from each should suffice.

[445] Justice Resnick, in discussing the doctrine of

sovereign immunity, states that “it functions to exempt

government from the usual liability that flows from the breach

of an established duty of care.” Well, yes, that is exactly what

it does. Justice Resnick says that that is OK. Many of us now

say that it is not OK. How one justifies that a governmental

entity can injure one of its citizens without liability but if the

same injury is caused by a fellow citizen liability attaches

escapes many of us and lies at the heart of our disagreement.

[446] Justice Stratton says about the majority opinion that

“the reasoning is so internally inconsistent that I find it

difficult to even argue against.” Now that is strange. A

proposition that is so internally inconsistent should be an easy

mark. It could be, of course, that the lack of any real law

contrary to the majority opinion is the reason it is difficult to

argue against.

[447] But it is not the issue of whether they are wrong

and we are right or vice versa that determines the outcome.

The outcome is determined by the law of this state and the

framers of our Constitution and makers of our statutes. It

should not escape interested readers that both dissents, by

necessity and convenience, ignore the real law in the case--

Section 16, Article I of the Ohio Constitution. In a separate

sentence, which seems to have no particular relevance to the

other sentence of the section, the framers provided that “suits

may be brought against the state, in such courts and in such

manner, as may be provided by law.” No limitations, other

than place and manner, are set forth. No sovereign immunity

’

S6a

exception. No public-duty exception. Nothing but simple

language--the state may be sued.

[448] Given the constitutional language, nothing more

was needed. But maybe just to be sure, the General Assembly

enacted R.C. 2743.02(A)(1), which provides that “the state

hereby waives its immunity from liability and consents to be

sued, and have its liability determined * * * in accordance

with the same rules of law applicable to suits between private

parties * * *.” Justice Cook has now explained what all of

that means. The dissenters have ignored the constitutional

language.

[449] Notwithstanding the constitutional language, the

dissenters say that there are limitations on the state’s liability

and that those limitations come dressed up as the “public-duty

rule.” If this premise is accepted, then it must logically follow

that without a corresponding amendment to the Constitution,

the General Assembly could provide that no suit could be

brought against the state. This obviously is not and could not

be the law.

[{50] Justice Cook has done the law a great service. The

opinion déserves to be supported, not denigrated. I

respectfully concur.

ALICE ROBIE RESNICK, J., dissenting.

[§51] I am hardly one who concedes infallibility to legal

precedent, however long or recently established. See, e.g.,

Wright v. Bloom (1994), 69 Ohio St.3d 596, 635 N.E.2d 31

(overruling paragraph two of the syllabus of Jn re Estate of

Thompson [1981], 66 Ohio St.2d 433, 20 0.0.3d 371, 423

N.E.2d 90); Clark v. Southview Hosp. & Family Health Ctr.

(1994), 68 Ohio St.3d 435, 438, 628 N.E.2d 46 (overruling

57a

paragraph four of the syllabus of Albain v. Flower Hosp.

[1990], 50 Ohio St.3d 251, 553 N.E.2d 1038). Nor am I

inclined to view preexisting conceptions of duty as immutable

or sacrosanct. See Estates of Morgan v. Fairfield Family

Counseling Ctr. (1997), 77 Ohio St.3d 284, 297-298, 673

N.E.2d 1311. But if our decisions are to afford any stability

or certainty to the law, then the principles they embrace--

those founded on sound reason and well suited to the interest

of justice--should not be discarded at will.

[452] Today’s majority, relying primarily on a statute that

is irrelevant to the matter at hand, suddenly abolishes a long-

established, well-respected, and prevalent legal doctrine ina

case that demonstrates, better than most others, the necessity

of its retention. By abandoning the so-called public-duty rule

in claims against the state, the majority subjects the fire

marshal to liability for deciding to postpone a cursory,

discretionary, and seasonal inspection at the Ohio River

Fireworks store in order to conduct a “buy bust” to expose

that facility’s illegal sale of more dangerous Class B fireworks

to unauthorized purchasers. By the same token, the majority’s

decision would apply to subject the fire marshal to liability

had he decided to conduct the inspection rather than the buy

bust and members of the public were subsequently harmed or

killed by Class B fireworks in the hands of an unauthorized

purchaser. It is exactly this kind of judicial interference with

governmental decision-making and deployment of community

resources that marks the public-duty doctrine as a cogent,

viable, and compelling feature of the common law. For these

and the following reasons, i must respectfully, but

strenuously, dissent.

[453] The ascendancy of the public-duty doctrine in this

country, and its concomitant “special-reiationship exception, ”

is often attributed to the United States Supreme Court's

58a

decision in South v. Maryland (1855), 59 U.S. (18 How.)

396, 15 L. Ed. 433. In that case, the plaintiff was abducted,

held for several days, and released only when he obtained the

ransom demanded by his kidnappers. According to the

plaintiff, the local sheriff knew he had been kidnapped and

where he was detained, yet did nothing to secure his release

or arrest the kidnappers. The plaintiff sued the sheriff on his

official bond, claiming that “the sheriff did not well and truly

execute and perform the duties required of him by the laws”

of the state of Maryland. 59 U.S. at 401, 18 How. 396, 15 L.

Ed. 433.

[454] The plaintiff received a judgment against the sheriff

in the circuit court, but the Supreme Court reversed the

award. In so doing, the high court held, “It is an undisputed

principle of the common law, that for a breach of a public

duty, an officer * * * is amenable to the public, and

punishable by indictment only.” 59 U.S. at 402-403, 18 How.

396, 15 L. Ed. 433. The court noted, however, that an

exception may lie where there exists a “special individual

right, privilege, or franchise in the plaintiff, from the

enjoyment of which he has been restrained or hindered by the

malicious act of the sheriff.” 59 U.S. at 403, 18 How. 396,

15 L. Ed. 433.

[455] A substantial majority of jurisdictions now adhere

to the principle that the duties of public officers and

employees ordinarily are owed exclusively to the body politic

with whom they contracted, and are enforceable only

administratively or by criminal proceedings. Those duties are

not owed to individuals who may be affected by their breach

but on whose behalf the employees have not assumed to act.

Accordingly, state or local governmental bodies cannot be

held liable at common law for the breach of a duty owed

generally to the public as such, but can be held liable for the

59a

breach of a duty owed specially to individual members of the

public. Correlatively, a governmental entity cannot be held

liable for negligence in failing to enforce or carry out its

public duties under a regulatory or penal statute absent a

special relationship between the government and the injured

plaintiff or a statutory provision to the contrary.

[456] At the heart of the public-duty doctrine lies an

assemblage of cogent policy considerations that operate to

define the extent to which it is economically and socially

feasible to subject governmental units to the loss-distributing

function of tort law. These considerations include most

prominently the need to preserve the already limited

governmental resources that are available to protect the public

health, safety, and welfare, the principle that courts should

not interfere with or second-guess the policy decisions made

by the other branches of government, particularly with regard

to the proper allocation of community resources and services,

and the likelihood that unlimited exposure to liability would

threaten effective governmental functioning for socially

desirable ends. Without the doctrine’s protection, the

government would be confronted with limitless,

unpredictable, and, in extreme circumstances, catastrophic

liability, which could drain the very resources that are needed

in the first instance to promote the public safety and welfare.

Aside from damages, governmental entities would incur

considerable expenses in defending the lawsuits. Most suits

will survive pretrial dismissal or summary judgment motions,

since the element of causation, which is almost always a

question of fact, will come to replace duty as the

determinative issue. In addition, a contrary rule, one whose

duty element is satisfied by foreseeability alone, would invite

judicial scrutiny of every action taken, as well as every action

that could have been but was not taken, by the other branches

of government that has some effect in the public domain.

60a

Such a rule would subject the entire panoply of policy and

enforcement decisions routinely made by the political

branches to judicial oversight every time a particular injured

plaintiff finds that its employees failed to properly execute

their public duties or ward against harm caused by a third

party. Moreover, in the absence of a special duty or

relationship, it has always been considered unjust and beyond

the function of tort law to impose a duty on any party to act

affirmatively to protect another from being harmed by a

condition or situation that the party neither created nor

exacerbated. There is no legitimate reason for dispensing with

this principle merely because the defendant is a governmental

body. It is the sum total of these and other considerations of

policy that has led the majority of courts to adopt the

doctrine’s essential general-duty/special-duty dichotomy. See

Shearer v. Gulf Shores (Ala:1984), 454 So. 2d 978; Williams

v. State (1983), 34 Cal.3d 18, 192 Cal.Rptr. 233, 664 P.2d

137; Shore v. Stonington (1982), 187 Conn. 147, 444 A.2d

1379; Namauu v. Honolulu (1980), 62 Hawaii 358, 614 P.2d

943; Ruf v. Honolulu Police Dept. (1999), 89 Haw. 315, 972

P.2d 1081; Ransom v. Garden City (1987), 113 Idaho 202,

743 P.2d 70; Kolbe v. State (lowa 2001), 625 N.W.2d 721;

Robertson v. Topeka (1982), 231 Kan. 358, 644 P.2d 458;

Ashburn v. Anne Arundel Cty. (Md.1986), 306 Md. 617, 510

A.2d 1078; Williams v. Mayor of Baltimore (2000), 359 Md.

101, 753 A.2d 41; Cracraft v. St. Louis Park (Minn.1979),

279 N.W.2d 801; Hage v. Stade (Minn.1981), 304 N.W.2d

283; State ex rel. Barthelette v. Sanders (Mo.1988), 756

S.W.2d 536; Jungerman v. Raytown (Mo.1996), 925 S.W.2d

202; Phillips v. Billings (1988), 233 Mont. 249, 758 P.2d

772; Frye v. Clark Cty. (1981), 97 Nev. 632, 637 P.2d 1215;

Coty v. Washoe Cty. (1992), 108 Nev. 757, 839 P.2d 97;

Motyka v. Amsterdam (1965), 15 N.Y.2d 134, 256 N.Y.S.2d

595, 204 N.E.2d 635; O’Connor v. New York City (1983), 58

N.Y.2d 184, 460 N.Y.S.2d. 485, 447 N.E.2d 33; Cuffy v.

ve een de

6la

New York City (1987), 69 N.Y.2d 255, 513 N.Y.S.2d 372,

505 N.E.2d 937; Stone v. North Carolina Dept. of Labor

(1998), 347 N.C. 473, 495 S.E.2d 711; Melendez v.

Philadelphia (1983), 320 Pa.Super. 59, 466 A.2d 1060;

Catone v. Medberry (R.1.1989), 555 A.2d 328; Barratt v.

Burlingham (R.1. 1985), 492 A.2d 1219; Orzechowski v.

Rhode Island (R.1.1984), 485 A.2d 545; Bellamy v. Brown

(1991), 305 S.C. 291, 408 S.E.2d 219; Steinke v. South

Carolina Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (1999), 336

S.C. 373, 520 S.E.2d 142; Washington v. Lexington Cty. Jail

(App.1999), 337 S.C. 400, 523 S.E.2d 204; Tipton v. Tabor

(S.D.1997), 1997 SD 96, 567 N.W.2d 351; Ezell v. Cockrell

(Tenn.1995), 902 S.W.2d 394; Vaquera v. Salas

(Tex.App.1991), 810 S.W.2d 456; Rollins v. Petersen (Utah

1991), 813 P.2d 1156; Sorge v. State (2000), 171 Vt. 171,

762 A.2d 816; Chambers-Castanes v. King Cty. (1983), 100

Wn. 2d 275, 669 P.2d 451; Oberg v. Dept. of Natural

Resources (1990), 114 Wn. 2d 278, 787 P.2d 918; Benson v.

Kutsch (1989), 181 W.Va. 1, 380 S.E.2d 36; Holsten v.

Massey (1997), 200 W.Va. 775, 490 S.E.2d 864; Walker v.

Meadows (1999), 206 W.Va. 78, 521 S.E.2d 801;

Annotation, Modern Status of Rule Excusing Governmental

Unit from Tort Liability on Theory That Only General, Not

Particular, Duty Was Owed under Circumstances (1985), 38

A.L.R.4th 1194; 57 American Jurisprudence 2d (2001) 137-

145, Municipal, County, School, and State Tort Liability,

Sections 102-105.

[457] According to appellants, however, there is a

growing perception that the doctrine “unjustifiably creates

inequitable and harsh results for plaintiffs,” which has “led an

increasing number of states to abandon the public duty

doctrine altogether.” In support, appellants cite decisions of

the high courts of the following ten states: Alaska, Arizona,

Colorado, Iowa, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico,

62a

Oregon, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. The majority also

discerns that “a handful of states have rejected the public-duty

rule as a bar to government liability,” listing decisions from

the same states with the exception of Iowa and the addition of

Florida, Massachusetts, and Louisiana.

[458] Yet a closer analysis reveals that the public-duty

doctrine has not been entirely discarded in all thirteen of these

states. Just last year, the Supreme Court of Iowa clarified that

it had never discarded the public-duty rule, while confirming

its continued adherence to the rule on public-policy grounds.

Kolbe, supra, 625 N.W.2d at 729-730. Thus, despite

appellants’ mistaken belief to the contrary, the majority

correctly lists lowa as a jurisdiction that continues to adhere

to the public-duty doctrine.

[59] In Brennen v. Eugene (1979), 285 Ore. 401, 591

P.2d 719, the Supreme Court of Oregon did indeed reject the

public-duty doctrine, but limited its decision to cases of active

governmental misfeasance. Thus, in distinguishing a number

of cases in which the public-duty doctrine was applied to

governmental inaction, such as a city’s failure to enforce its

housing code, the court stated:

[460] “These cases, which deal with a failure on the part

of public officials to act at all, involve considerations quite

different from those in a case such as this, where an act is

alleged to have been performed and performed negligently.

As a general rule, one is held to a higher standard of care

when he affirmatively acts than when he fails to act at all.

(461] “Because this case is not one of failure to act at all,

we express no opinion on the scope of governmental duty in

such a case.” (Citation omitted.) Id. at 409, 591 P.2d 719.

See, also, Dist. of Columbia v. Forsman (D.C.App.1990),

63a

580 A.2d 1314, 1317, fn. 5 (noting distinction and rejecting

Brennen “as authority for appellees’ position here,” where the

district allegedly failed to require an adjacent property owner

to obtain a demolition permit prior to commencing work that

led to the collapse of plaintiffs’ residence).

[{62] In Jean W. v. Commonwealth (1993), 414 Mass.

496, 610 N.E.2d 305, the Supreme Judicial Court of

Massachusetts rejected the public-duty rule on a four-to-three

vote, largely because of the confusing way in which the

doctrine had developed and been applied in Massachusetts.

Nevertheless, the court decided not to abolish the doctrine at

that time. Instead, the chief justice’s opinion announced the

court’s intention to abolish the doctrine at the end of the 1993

legislative session so as to give the Massachusetts legislature

an opportunity to preempt its decision by passing additional

limitations on governmental liability. If not for this

maneuver, the case may have been decided differently. Thus,

a swing vote in that case commented as follows:

[463] “I join in the Chief Justice’s opinion principally

because the abandonment of the public duty rule is made

prospective. * * *

[464] “From my point of view, the prospective nature of

the opinion recognizes that abandonment of the public duty

rule could lead to a deluge of lawsuits against governmental

entities, particularly municipalities, which will drain their

already limited resources. As I said in Cyran v. Ware, 413

Mass. 452, 455 [597 N.E.2d 1352] (1992), for example,

‘society would not favor, and public policy does not support,

a rule which would expose a municipality to liability for

damages every time its fire department does not, in plaintiff's

view, fight a fire satisfactorily. In busy urban areas such

exposure could be limitless, and in extreme circumstances (as

64a

recent events in Los Angeles illustrate), the potential cost of

such governmental liability could be catastrophic.’ In addition

to damages, governmental entities will incur considerable

costs to defend the lawsuits. Most of the suits will probably

survive summary judgment (since causation, the issue which

will be at the heart of most * * * actions under the new rule,

is almost always a question of fact). The costs of defense thus

will encompass fees and expenses for discovery, which in

present lawsuits is often lengthy and costly, and fees for trial

and appeals. The costs could have severe impact on public

treasuries. I am not persuaded that the Legislature either

intended or anticipated this result when G.L. c. 258 [the

Massachusetts Tort Claims Act] was enacted.” Id., 414 Mass.

at 523-524, 610 N.E.2d 305 (Greaney, J., concurring.)

[{65] In any event, the Massachusetts legislature

responded to the decision in Jean W. by codifying many

aspects of the public-duty rule, including a provision barring

liability for negligent inspections by public employees. See

Gallego v. Wilson (D.Mass.1995), 882 F. Supp. 1169, 1172;

Barry, Brum v. Town of Dartmouth and the Public Duty Rule:

Navigating an Interpretive Quagmire (2000), 41 B.C.L.Rev.

383, 410-413; Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 258, Section 10(f).

[{66] The decisions cited by appellants and the majority

in support of the rejection of the doctrine in Alaska, Arizona,

Colorado, and Louisiana have all been superseded or

abrogated by subsequent legislative action in those

jurisdictions as well. See Wilson v. Anchorage (Alaska 1983),

669 P.2d 569, 571; Clouse v. State (2001), 199 Ariz. 196,

199, 16 P.3d 757; Aztec Minerals Corp. v. Romer

(Colo. App.1996), 940 P.2d 1025, 1031, 25 Colo. Law. No.

12 220; Persilver v. Louisiana Dept. of Transp.

(La.App.1991), 592 So. 2d 1344, 1347, fn. 2.

65a

[467] Finally, even the most ardent and ingenious

proponent of the rule’s abolition would be hard-pressed to

argue that it no longer exists in Florida. As noted by the

majority, the Supreme Court of Florida rejected the public-

duty rule in Commercial Carrier Corp. v. Indian River Cty.

(Fla. 1979), 371 So. 2d 1010, 1015-1016. Nevertheless, the

court was impressed by the notion that “ ‘in any organized

society there must be room for basic governmental policy

decision and the implementation thereof, unhampered by the

threat or fear of sovereign tort liability.’ “ Id., 371 So. 2d at

1019, quoting Evangelical United Brethren Church v. State

(1965), 67 Wn. 2d 246, 254, 407 P.2d 440. Accordingly, the

court replaced the public-duty rule with a “discretionary-

function exception” to Florida’s statutory waiver of sovereign

immunity. Rather than utilizing the public-duty/special-duty

dichotomy to determine governmental tort liability, the

discretionary-function exception “distinguishes between the

‘planning’ and ‘operational’ levels of decision-making by

governmental agencies.” Id., 371 So. 2d at 1022.

[{68] Ina series of cases decided on April 4, 1985, the

Florida Supreme Court endeavored to clarify the law of

governmental tort liability, particularly with regard to the

planning/operational dichotomy it created in Commercial

Carrier Corp. See Trianon Park Condominium Assn., Inc. v.

Hialeah (Fla.1985), 468 So. 2d 912; Reddish v. Smith

(Fla.1985), 468 So. 2d 929; Everton v. Willard (Fla.1985),

468 So. 2d 936; Carter v. Stuart (Fla.1985), 468 So. 2d 955;

Duvall v. Cape Coral (Fla.1985), 468 So. 2d 961; Daytona

Beach v. Huhn (Fla.1985), 468 So. 2d 963; Rodriguez v.

Cape Coral (Fla.1985), 468 So. 2d 963.

[469] As relevant here, Florida’s high court clarified that

although governmental entities are not immune from liability

for their operational activities, neither are they automatically

66a

subject to liability for acts or omissions that occur at the

operational level of government. “In order to subject the

government to tort liability for operational phase activities,

there must first be either an underlying common law or

statutory duty of care in the absence of sovereign immunity.”

Trianon Park Condominium Assn., 468 So. 2d at 919.

[{70] In determining that the city had no underlying duty

of care to inspect for building code violations in Trianon

Park, the court stated: “The enforcement of building codes

and ordinances is for the purpose of protecting the health and

safety of the public, not the personal or property interests of

individual citizens. * * * Statutes and regulations enacted

under the police power to protect the public and enhance the

public safety do not create duties owed by the government to

citizens as individuals without the specific legislative intent to

do so.” Id., 468 So. 2d at 922.

[{71] In determining that a deputy sheriff had no

underlying duty of care to arrest a drunk driver in Everton,

the court explained:

[472] “We recognize that, if a special relationship exists

between an individual and a governmental entity, there could

be a duty of care owed to the individual. * * * In such a case,

a special duty to use reasonable care in the protection of the

individual may arise. See, e.g., Schuster v. City of New

York, 5 N.Y.2d 75, 154 N.E.2d 534, 180 N.Y.S.2d 265

(1958).

[473] “A law enforcement officer’s duty to protect the

citizens is a general duty owed to the public as a whole. The

victim of a criminal offense, which might have been

prevented through reasonable law enforcement action, does

not establish a common law duty of care to the individual

67a

citizen and resulting tort liability, absent a special duty to the

victim. This majority view was expressed by the United States

Supreme Court in its early decision in South v. Maryland, 59

U.S. (18 How.) 396, 15 L. Ed. 433 (1855).” Id., 468 So. 2d

at 938.

[474] Thus, as one Florida Supreme Court justice stated,

“Today the majority embraces the very analysis explicitly

quashed in Commercial Carrier.” Trianon Park Condominium

Assn., 468 So. 2d at 924 (Ehrlich, J., dissenting). And as

observed by another, “Careful readers will recognize, absent

the labeling, the substance of the [public duty] doctrine.” Id.,

468 So. 2d at 926 (Shaw, J., dissenting).

[475] It would therefore appear that the number of states

willing to discard all vestiges of the public-duty rule has not

increased to 12 or 13, but has actually dwindled to about 4 or

5 at the most.

[{76] Moreover, the argument that the public-duty rule

should be abandoned because of the hardship it causes to

plaintiffs has “been raised before and rejected. It is true that

some individuals will suffer substantial hardship as a result of

their inability to recover for their injuries from a municipality

that negligently fails to enforce its own regulations. The

deleterious impact that such a judicial extension of liability

would have on local governments, the vital functions that they

serve, and ultimately on taxpayers, however, demands

continued adherence to the existing rule. All the more is this

so when there has been reliance for decades on this doctrine

for purposes of municipal fiscal planning. If liability to

individuals is to be imposed on municipalities for failure to

enforce statutes or regulations intended for the general

welfare, that imposition should come from the Legislature.”

68a

O’Connor vy. City of New York, 58 N.Y.2d at 192, 460

N.Y.S.2d 485, 447 N.E.2d 33.

[{77] When we first adopted the public-duty rule to

determine a municipality’s tort liability in Sawicki v. Ottawa

Hills (1988), 37 Ohio St.3d 222, 525 N.E.2d 468, we had

already abolished the judicially created doctrine of municipal

immunity in Enghauser Mfg. Co. v. Eriksson Eng. Ltd.

(1983), 6 Ohio St.3d 31, 6 OBR 53, 451 N.E.2d 228. We

explained: “Rather than being an absolute defense, as was

sovereign immunity, the public duty rule comported with the

principles of negligence, and was applicable to the

determination of the extent to which a statute may encompass

the duty upon which negligence is premised. * * * It can

therefore be concluded that the public duty rule is an

independent doctrine and, consequently, survives the

abrogation of sovereign immunity.” Sawicki, 37 Ohio St.3d

at 230, 525 N.E.2d 468.

[{78] When the court applied the public-duty rule to

claims against the state in Anderson v. Ohio Dept. of Ins.

(1991), 58 Ohio St.3d 215, 569 N.E.2d 1042, and Hurst v.

Ohio Dept. of Rehab. & Corr. (1995), 72 Ohio St.3d 325,

650 N.E.2d 104, the state had already waived its immunity

from liability under R.C. 2743.02. Consistent with Sawicki,

we naturally determined that the public-duty rule is a defense

independent of sovereign immunity and, therefore, is

unaffected by the waiver of state immunity. Anderson, 58

Ohio St.3d at 218, 569 N.E.2d 1042; Hurst, 72 Ohio St.3d at

329, 650 N.E.2d 104. |

[{79j According to the majority, however, Anderson and

Hurst should have been decided differently from Sawicki

because the state, in waiving its immunity under R.C.

2743.02(A)(1), consented to be sued, and have its liability

sinsek hit esata dla saa

69a

determined, “in accordance with the same rules of law

applicable to suits between private parties. “Thus, while the

public-duty rule may have survived the abrogation of

municipal immunity, as held in Sawicki, a different inquiry is

required to determine whether the rule survives the waiver of

state immunity under R.C. 2743.02(A)(1).

[{80] This analysis must fail, however, because it

proceeds from a false premise. In order to distinguish

Anderson and Hurst from Sawicki, it must necessarily be

shown that R.C. 2743.02(A)(1)’s waiver of state immunity is

distinguishable from Enghauser’s abrogation of municipal

immunity. In other words, R.C. 2743.02(A)(1) must be

interpreted to impose a broader or different liability on the

state than Enghauser imposes on municipalities. This is the

majority’s unstated yet essential premise, for without it there

is no basis on which to avoid Sawicki’s holding that the

public-duty rule survives the abrogation of sovereign

immunity.

[{81] Yet in Reynolds v. State (1984), 14 Ohio St.3d 68,

70, 14 OBR 506, 471 N.E.2d 776, the very case upon which

the majority relies to support the second paragraph of its

syllabus, we specifically rejected this interpretation of R.C.

2743.02, stating that “the abrogation of the sovereign

immunity of the state, which was accomplished by the passage

of R.C. 2743.02, is not significantly different from the

common-law abrogation of municipal sovereign immunity

accomplished by this court [in Enghauser].” We then held

that the language in R.C. 2743.02 that the state shall “have its

liability determined * * * in accordance with the same rules

of law applicable to suits between private parties” means

essentially the same thing as Enghauser held with regard to

the abrogation of municipal immunity. Compare Reynolds, at

paragraph one of the syllabus, with Enghauser, 6 Ohio St.3d

a a

70a

31, 6 OBR 53, 451 N.E.2d 228, at paragraph two of the

syllabus.

[482] There is, therefore, no substantial difference

between R.C. 2743.02(A)(1)’s waiver of state immunity and

Enghauser’s abrogation of municipal immunity. To the

contrary, R.C. 2743.02(A)(1) imposes the same liability on

the state that Enghauser imposes on municipalities. Thus, in

determining the viability of the public-duty rule, there is no

valid basis on which to distinguish suits against the state from

suits against municipalities.

[483] On a more basic level, there is no reciprocal

reiationship between R.C. 2743.02(A)(1) and the public-duty

rule. Sovereign immunity is a defense that bars only the

enforcement of civil liability. Conceptually, it does not deny

the existence of a duty or the wrongfulness of government

conduct. Instead, it functions to exempt government from the

usual liability that flows from the breach of an established

duty of care. The sovereign-immunity doctrine may readily

admit of the existence of a tort because it applies nonetheless

to disallow all liability within the limits of the immunity.

[{84] In waiving the state’s immunity from liability, R.C.

2743.02(A)(1) does nothing more than remove this

exemption, thereby exposing the state to liability for those

acts or omissions that would have been actionable at common

law but for its immunity. The statute does not expressly

abolish the public-duty rule, nor does it purport to define

negligence, establish duties, or create new causes of action.

It leaves these matters for judicial determination in

accordance with the same common-law principles that govern

the liability of private parties. R.C. 2743.02(A)(1) does not,

therefore, obviate the plaintiff's burden of establishing the

elements of actionable negligence.

Tla

[485] The liability of any defendant charged with

negligence is premised on the existence and breach of a duty

owed to the person claiming injury. In determining the

existence of any duty, courts must inevitably consider the

status of the parties involved, including their relationships to

one another and society at large, and then make a social

judgment as to whether and what extent the plaintiff's

interests are entitled to legal protection against the defendant’s

conduct. The considerations of policy that inhere in this

determination will necessarily vary and shift depending on the

nature of the duty for which legal recognition is sought.

[{86] In ascertaining the existence of a public duty,

courts must therefore consider the relationship between

government and its citizens and decide whether public policy

supports a rule that would subject the government to liability

every time one of its employees fails to enforce a statute or

regulation intended for the general welfare. Viewed in this

light, the public-duty rule is but a conclusory expression of

these considerations that lead us to answer this inquiry in the

negative. It is basically a function of those common-law

principles that inhere in the determination of duty and, as

such, lies beyond the reach of either the application or the

abrogation of sovereign immunity.

[487] This is why the two doctrines--sovereign immunity

and public duty--are considered to be independent of one

another, so that the abrogation of one does not affect the

viability of the other. This is also why most courts have

adopted or retained the public-duty rule, as we did in

Anderson and Hurst, despite the passage of statutes similar to

R.C. 2743.02 in their respective jurisdictions. See, e.g.,

Washington v. Lexington Cty. Jail, 337 S.C. at 404-405, 523

S.E.2d 204; Walker v. Meadows, 206 W.Va. at 83, 521

S.E.2d 801; Stone v. N. Carolina Dept. of Labor, 347 N.C.

72a

at 478, 495 S.E.2d 711; Tipton v. Tabor, 567 N.W.2d at 356-

357; Holsten v. Massey, 200 W.Va. at 780-784, 490 S.E.2d

864; Ezell v. Cockrell, 902 S.W.2d at 399; Denis Bail Bonds,

Inc. v. State (1993), 159 Vt. 481, 622 A.2d 495; J & B Dev.

Co., Inc. v. King Cty. (1983), 100 Wn. 2d 299, 304, 669

P.2d 468; Cracraft v. St. Louis Park, 279 N.W.2d at 803-

806; Motyka v. Amsterdam, 15 N.Y .2d at 138, 256 N.Y.S.2d

595, 204 N.E.2d 635; 57 American Jurisprudence 2d, supra,

Municipal, County, School, and State Tort Liability, Sections

92 and 93.

[488] The majority argues, however, that this view of the

public-duty rule as a function of duty “ignores a vital feature

of the doctrine that is incompatible with R.C. 2743.02(A)(1).

The applicability of the public-duty rule depends upon the

public status of the particular defendant raising it as a bar to

liability. In other words, only governmental entities and their

employees may rely on the rule. It is spurious logic to

conclude that a doctrine that is, by definition, available only

to public defendants can be consistent with a statute

mandating that suits be determined in accordance with rules

of law applicable to private parties.” (Emphasis sic.)

[489] This analysis is conceptually upside down. In

passing R.C. 2743.02(A)(1), the General Assembly

incorporated the common-law rules of negligence. The

applicable common-law rule that is relevant here provides that

actionable negligence depends upon the breach of a duty owed

by the defendant to the injured plaintiff. The application of the

public-duty rule is dependent upon the public status of the

particular defendant who invokes it because the duty that is

sought to be imposed on that defendant depends solely on the

defendant’s public status. It is the alleged duty, not the rule,

that in the first instance brings the defendant’s public status

73a

into play. The rule simply responds to the public nature of the

duty for which legal recognition is sought.

[{90] Moreover, the rejection of the public-duty rule will

actually result in the state having its liability determined in

accordance with rules of law that are not applicable in suits

brought against private tortfeasors. Private parties do not owe

a duty of protection

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.