Opposition Brief — State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance v. Campbell

Supreme Court brief2004

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

—— ' AUG 23 204

No. 04-116 ro

we

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

STATE FARM MUTUAL AUTOMOBILE INS. Co.,

Petitioner,

V.

INEZ PREECE CAMPBELL AND MATTHEW C. BARNECK,

SPECIAL ADMINISTRATOR AND PERSONAL REPRESENTATIVE

OF THE ESTATE OF CURTIS B. CAMPBELL,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UTAH SUPREME COURT

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TOA

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

L. RICH HUMPHERYS LAURENCE H. TRIBE

ROGER P. CHRISTENSEN Counsel of Record

KARRA J. PORTER KENNETH J. CHESEBRO

CHRISTENSEN & JENSEN 1575 Massachusetts Ave.

50 South Main St. Cambridge, MA 02138

Salt Lake City, UT 84144 (617) 495-4621

(801) 323-5000

JONATHAN S. MASSEY

JONATHAN S. MASSEY, P.C.

3920 Northampton St., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20015

(202) 686-0457

Counsel for Respondents

BATEMAN & SLADE, INC. BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS

RE eg ee Ne I ey Per ey ay ee Pet en ey ee ae

ee ae a oe Oe re Oe oe,

COUNTER STATEMENT

OF QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether this Court should grant review to consider

the Utah Supreme Court’s factbound application of the

guideposts prescribed by this Court BMW of N. Am., Inc. v.

Gore, 517 U.S. 559 (1996), and explicated in the

circumstances of this very case only one Term ago in State

Farm Mutual Auto. Ins. Co. v. Campbell, 538 U.S. 408

(2003).

TABLE OF CONTENTS

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF QUESTION

PRESENCE? sicsccncscthinimn pain nee 1

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .....0.ccsessccsssesssevssscossessssseseneses iV

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..........cccccccscssssesssessesssssesnsoes 2

I The Initial State Proceedings ...............:08 2

y This Covrt’s DeCisi@th ..<csssevesscsencsssnssevesesssss 3

i The Utah Supreme Court’s Decision ........... 5

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT ........:eceeeceeeeeeeees 6

I. THE UTAH SUPREME COURT

PROPERLY FOLLOWED THIS

COURT’S MANDATE ON

READ scesncsicsisavinstiiacacsemineantereionnennnen 8

II. THE UTAH SUPREME COURT’S

ANALYSIS OF |

REPREHENSIBILITY IS

CONSISTENT WITH THIS

COURT'S CIN cicssxscttsisereccteccsarienes 11

A. The Utah Supreme Court

Properly Followed This

Contr’ RCTS ccccnisnssvsencesnacisiccms 11

B. There Is No Merit To State

Farm’s Criticisms of the Utah

Supreme Court’s Application

of the Governing Legal

Standard To This Record ............... 12

il

Whether the harm was

economic or physical

Whether the Utah court

properly took the insurance

context into account in

assessing the reprehensibility

of State Farm’s misconduct

Ill. THE UTAH SUPREME COURT’S

ANALYSIS OF THE RATIO

GUIDEPOST IS ENTIRELY

CONSISTENT WITH THIS

<asbaebcentnsceaeanbeinadanannanmatcanaants 14

Indifference or reckless

disregard for the health

and safety of others ............ 15

Whether the target of

the conduct was

financially vulnerable ........ 15

Need to deter repetition

ace nisa call aciaaei aia conCveinaasinseian 17

State Farm’s lack of

PIE Sccnkanatnatsannctsnttesennad 19

Intentional trickery or

RIED seneinachaaecatsaneeassianeanas 21

State “values and

NINE nck siinstctadiviousicsty EM

TIC TY MIN EIE EIEN si ccsesacasssssasssenssaseceaiasess 23

ill

A. The Utah Court Properly

Followed This Court’s .

PRIN GA. sicacacacchebcn vskscedeciimudesnanes 24

B. The Utah Supreme Court

Properly Concluded That A

High Single Digit Ratio Was

i AR TT 25

IV. THE UTAH SUPREME COURT’S

ANALYSIS OF THE LEGISLATIVE

PENALTIES GUIDEPOST

COMPORTS WITH THIS COURT’S

Spe UIUN cosines paaianshasuaeicencassieamuticbercscoiee 26

V. THERE IS NO BASIS FOR

SUMMARILY REVERSING THE

UTAH SUPREME COURT’S

We NINE Senickcanioicaliccmecncantacemrchesicananelac 28

Span a Ma chsseccsccuninnneintienrnicca ecsucasauitaosievicsaRahasssabin 30

1V

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

BMW of N. Am., Inc. v. Gore,

ok ¢ ide De CR IPED satnnnininchateonealwana rr passim

City of Los Angeles v. David,

538 U.S. 715 (2003) (per curiam) ................:00008 29

Cohen v. Cowles Media Co., 501 U.S. 663 (1991) ........... 23

Highland Farms Dairy, Inc. v. Agnew,

OOP OF. GEE CES FP isicersaccsntentanacseseceinnebudesamenicuen 23

Hollock v. Erie Ins. Exch., 842 A.2d 409

(PR, SEO, CE. BIO) wstcncayeivaeraianemncnieg 21

INS v. Ventura, 537 U.S. 12 (2002) (per curiam) .............. 29

Major League Baseball Players Ass'n v. Garvey,

DIE Wiehe Oe COTE) srpivusnsonsvinstuaadeaideesutpamemadien 29

Mathias v. Accor Econ. Lodging, Inc.,

587 F.36672 17 Ce I vec 21

Minnesota v. Clover Leaf Creamery Co.,

GOP LL.B. SIO TTI E) tnencssiddaaenem aan 23

Pacific Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. Haslip,

GPP UG. 1 GRIPES insntanncinenemetiamaecamnenee 23

Sao Paulo State of the Federative Republic of Brazil v.

Am. Tobacco Co., 535 U.S. 229 (2002)

CONE TEI Seccscssivciirntiionianannan 29

SEC vy. Lipson, 278 F.3d 656 (7th Cir. 2002) ................06. 20

Shelley v. Kraemer, 334 U.S. 1 (1948) ..........ccccccsscccsssseeeee 23

Slusher v. Ospital, 777 P.2d 437 (Utah 1989) ........... eee 3

State Farm Mutual Auto. Ins. Co. v. Campbell,

S90 Ui. BOC LARE) cuit cinwaneueens passim

CASES (continued)

TXO Prod. Corp. v. Alliance Resources Corp..,

509 U.S. 443 (1993) vccecccccsssssseceesseeeeseeeereeees 6, 23

United States v. Bass, 536 U.S. 862 (2002)

(DET CULIAIN) .occcsesessssssssseserceceveeseseseseseerssvecsvevercoses 29

MISCELLANEOUS

Fed. R. Evid. 801 wo... ecccscccssssceeeesesseeeeesssseeeeseeecseneeeees 20

U.S.S.G. § BEL. ccc ccccccssccesssececeeeesseeeeesseeesseeeeeeeenes 20

Robert L. Stern & Eugene Gressman, ef al.,

SUPREME COURT PRACTICE (8" ed. 2002) .....cecesses. 28

vl

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR WRIT

OF CERTIORARI

Respondents Inez Preece Campbell and Matthew C.

Barneck, Special Administrator and Personal Representative

of the Estate of Curtis B. Campbell, respectfully submit this

Brief in Opposition to the Petition for Writ of Certiorari filed

in this case.

This case involves a punitive award against State

Farm for its fraudulent and bad faith conduct in handling a

third-party insurance claim. Just one Term ago, this Court

reviewed this case on the merits and held that the Utah courts

could not consider State Farm’s nationwide claims-

processing policies in determining the size of a punitive

award needed to fulfill Utah’s legitimate interests in

deterrence and punishment. State Farm Mutual Auto. Ins.

Co. v. Campbell, 538 U.S. 408 (2003). This Court vacated

the $145 million punitive award and instructed the Utah

Supreme Court on remand to apply the guideposts prescribed

in BMW of N. Am., Inc. v. Gore, 517 U.S. 559 (1996) — not

with reference to State Farm’s nationwide policies, but only

with regard to State Farm’s conduct in Utah that bore relation

to the harm suffered by the Campbells. The Utah Supreme

Court did exactly that in recalculating the award in

accordance with this Court’s mandate and entering an award

of approximately $9 million.

The Petition makes two principal points. First, it

repeatedly accuses the Utah court of “repudiat[ing] specific

findings by this Court” and of “refus[ing] to follow the

mandate of this Court.” Pet. 6, 28. Those charges are

unfounded and unfair. They rest on State Farm’s

mischaracterizations of the Utah Supreme Court’s opinion.

In fact, the Utah Supreme Court faithfully followed this

Court’s mandate and did not consider any out-of-state

conduct by State Farm in assessing the punitive award in this

case.

Second, the Petition seeks to re-argue the Utah

court’s factual findings. Even if there were merit to the

Petition’s arguments — and there is not — there would be no

reason for this Court to grant certiorari to decide the

factbound questions presented by State Farm. The Petition is

a textbook example of a factbound challenge to a lower

court’s application of a settled legal principle. The Petition

should be denied.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

1. The Initial State Proceedings. In 1981, Curtis

Campbell was responsible for an automobile accident that

disabled Robert Slusher and killed Todd Ospital. At the

time, Mr. Campbell was insured by State Farm up to

$25,000. As this Court found, “[eJarly investigations did

support differing conclusions as to who caused the accident,

but ‘a consensus was reached early on by the investigators

and witnesses that Mr. Campbell’s unsafe pass had indeed

caused the crash.’” 538 U.S. at 413 (quoting the opinion of

the Utah Supreme Court).

Nonetheless, State Farm chose not to settle the case.

As this Court observed, State Farm “ignored the advice of

one of its own investigators and took the case to trial,

assuring the Campbells that ‘their assets were safe, that they

had no liability for the accident, that [State Farm] would

represent their interests, and that they did not need to procure

separate counsel.’”” Jd. (quoting the opinion of the Utah

Supreme Court).

At trial, Mr. Campbell was found 100 percent

responsible and a judgment was entered against him for

$135,849. State Farm refused to pay this amount, suggesting

instead that the Campbells put their house up for sale to pay

off the judgment. State Farm’s counsel told the Campbells:

“You may want to put for sale signs on your property to get

things moving.’” Jd. “Nor was State Farm willing to post a

supersedeas bond to allow Campbell to appeal the judgment

against him. Campbell obtained his own counsel to appeal

the verdict.” Jd.

During the pendency of the appeal, in late 1984,

Slusher, Ospital, and the Campbells reached an agreement

whereby Slusher and Ospital agreed not to seek satisfaction

of their claims against the Campbells. In exchange, the

Campbells agreed to pursue a bad faith action against State

Farm. Jd. The Utah Supreme Court affirmed the judgment

against Campbell. Slusher v. Ospital, 777 P.2d 437 (Utah

1989). State Farm ultimately paid the entire judgment.

The Campbells filed a complaint against State Farm

alleging bad faith, fraud, and intentional infliction of

emotional distress. At trial, the Campbells were permitted to

introduce evidence regarding State Farm’s nationwide

claims-processing policies. See 538 U.S. at 415 (quoting the

opinion of the Utah Supreme Court).

The jury awarded the Campbells $2,086.75 in special

damages, $2.6 million in compensatory damages, and $145

million in punitive damages. The trial judge remitted this

amount to $1 million in compensatory damages and $25

million in punitive damages. On appeal, the Utah Supreme

Court reinstated the original jury verdict of $145 million in

punitive damages, relying on the evidence of State Farm’s

nationwide claims-processing policies.

2. This Court’s Decision. On plenary review, this

Court vacated the punitive award and remanded the case to

the Utah Supreme Court. This Court’s holding rested on the

legal conclusion that the Utah court erred in considering

State Farm’s nationwide policies as a basis for punitive

damages. This Court found that the evidence “concerned

State Farm’s business practices for over 20 years in

numerous States. Most of these practices bore no relation to

third-party automobile insurance claims, the type of claim

underlying the Campbells’ complaint against the company.”

538 U.S. at 415. “This case .. . was used as a platform to

expose, and punish, the perceived deficiencies of State

3

Farm’s operations throughout the country. The Utah

Supreme Court’s opinion makes explicit that State Farm was

being condemned for its nationwide policies rather than for

the conduct direct[ed] toward the Campbells.” /d. at 420.

This Court therefore concluded that the Utah

Supreme Court’s reinstatement of the $145 million punitive

award was legal error. However, this Court did not exonerate

State Farm. To the contrary, this Court found that State

Farm’s conduct was “reprehensible,” id. at 419, and it

reiterated many of the factual findings made by the Utah

courts. /d. This Court suggested that, while State Farm’s

misconduct could not justify a $145 million award, it could

nonetheless justify a “more modest” award of punitive

damages: “While we do not suggest there was error in

awarding punitive damages based upon State Farm’s conduct

toward the Campbells, a more modest punishment for this

reprehensible conduct could have satisfied the State’s

legitimate objectives, and the Utah courts should have gone

no further.” Jd. at 419-20.

This Court opined that “[o]ur jurisprudence and the

principles it has now established demonstrate . . . that, in

practice, few awards exceeding a single-digit ratio between

punitive and compensatory damages, to a significant degree,

will satisfy due process.” Jd. at 425. “Nonetheless, because

there are no rigid benchmarks that a punitive damages award

may not surpass, ratios greater than those we have previously

upheld may comport with due process where ‘a particularly

egregious act has resulted in only a small amount of

economic damages.” /d. (citation omitted).

This Court commented that “[a]n application of the

Gore guideposts to the facts of this case, especially in light of

the substantial compensatory damages awarded (a portion of

which contained a punitive element), likely would justify a

punitive damages award at or near the amount of

compensatory damages.” Jd. at 429. However, this Court

did not purport to calculate the maximum award that the

4

a ee

-

Constitution would permit on this record. Rather, the Court

expressly left that task to the Utah Supreme Court on

remand: “The proper calculation of punitive damages under

the principles we have discussed should be resolved, in the

first instance, by the Utah courts.” Jd. “(T]he case is

remanded for proceedings not inconsistent with this

opinion.” Jd.

3. The Utah Supreme Court’s Decision. On

remand, State Farm argued that the appropriate punitive

damages award was $1,002,086.75. The Campbells sought

$17,455,663.00. The Utah Supreme Court rejected the

arguments of both parties, recomputed the punitive award

under the legal standard prescribed by this Court, and entered

a punitive award of $9,018,780.75. The Utah Supreme

Court’s decision was unanimous and included the votes of

two new members not on the original panel.

The Utah Supreme Court began by making clear that

its “duty in the face of a remand order demands unwavering

fidelity to the letter and spirit of the mandate.” A.2a. “We

take seriously the Supreme Court's direction that ‘the proper

calculation of punitive damages under the principles we have

discussed should be resolved, in the first instance, by the

Utah courts.’” Jd. “[W]e must properly identify and apply

the Supreme Court’s principles announced in Campbell II.”

A.4a.

The Utah Supreme Court declined to consider any

out-of-state evidence concerning State Farm’s nationwide

claims-processing policies in assessing punitive damages.

A.5a-6a. Therefore, the Utah Supreme Court carefully

limited its focus to State Farm’s in-state conduct that bore

relation to the harms suffered by the Campbells. A.6a. The

Utah court heeded this Court’s observation that punitive

awards bearing a single-digit ratio with compensatory

damages are more likely to satisfy due process. A.l5a. The

Utah court held that “State Farm’s behavior toward the

Campbells was so egregious as to warrant a punitive

5

damages award of $9,018,780.75, an amount nine times

greater than the amount of compensatory and_ special

damages.” A.19a.

The Utah Supreme Court issued a measured, balanced

opinion that rejected the Campbell’s requested damages and

ruled in State Farm’s favor in an important respect with

respect to the ratio guidepost. On remand, the Campbells

argued that the total “compensable harm” for ratio purposes

should be treated as $1,939,518.10 (meaning that the relevant

ratio in this case would be calculated not as 9:1 but as

approximately 4.6:1). On the basis of 7XO Prod. Corp. v.

Alliance Resources Corp., 509 U.S. 443, 449 (1993), the

Campbells contended that costs and attorney fees, as well as

the excess portion of the verdict not covered by insurance,

should be included as part of the denominator in computing

the ratio between compensatory and punitive damages. But

the Utah Supreme Court rejected the Campbells’ argument

on the ground that it was foreclosed by this Court’s opinion

in Campbell. A.18a. Thus, the Utah Supreme Court strove to

honor this Court’s mandate and refused to accept the

arguments of either party that it believed departed from that

mandate.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

In State Farm Mutual Auto. Ins. Co. v. Campbell, 538

U.S. 408 (2003) (“Campbell”), this Court vacated the

previous punitive damage award in this case because “(t]he

Utah Supreme Court’s opinion makes explicit that State

Farm was being condemned for its nationwide policies rather

than for the conduct direct[ed] toward the Campbells.” /d. at

420. This Court did not have the benefit of the Utah courts’

view of the proper punitive award based solely on State

Farm’s conduct in Utah with respect to the Campbells.

Accordingly, this Court corrected the Utah courts’ erroneous

consideration of nationwide claims-processing policies and

instructed the Utah Supreme Court to undertake “[t]he proper

calculation of punitive damages under the principles we have

6

as penne siliias

oy

discussed.” /d. at 429. On remand, the Utah court

recalculated the award “based solely on [State Farm’s]

behavior that affected the Campbells and took place within

Utah.” A.6a. The Utah Supreme Court properly applied the

legal standard this Court outlined, and there is no reason for

this Court to review its judgment.

State Farm disagrees with the Utah Supreme Court’s

factual findings. The Petition repeatedly seeks to re-argue

the evidence in this case. See, e.g., Pet. 10 (arguing about

what inferences “the record” permits); id. at 11 (Utah court’s

finding “inconsistent with” “the record in this case’’); id. at

12 (“the record does not support” Utah court’s finding); id. at

12-13 (recounting trial testimony at length); id. at 14 (“[t]he

record in this case” allegedly shows no need for deterrence);

id. at 14 n.7 (“unrebutted testimony of State Farm’s regional

vice president” allegedly undermines Utah courts’ findings);

id. at 15 (Utah courts’ findings allegedly wrong “[i]n view of

the record’’).

State Farm impermissibly asks this Court to sit as

fact-finder to second-guess the factual determinations of the

lower courts. The Petition dredges up inadmissible and

uncorroborated hearsay. E£.g., id. at 16 n.8. The Petition

relies on evidence that was not before the jury or trial court.

Id. at 15 n.7, 16 n.8. The Petition goes so far as to dispute

this Court's previous finding that State Farm told the

Campbells to put a for-sale sign on their house. Compare

Pet. 13 n.6 with 538 US. at 419. :

State Farm’s description of the record in this case is

not accurate. More to the point, however, State Farm’s

attempt to retry the facts of the case demonstrates the

Petition’s lack of merit. This Court’s scarce resources and

distinctive capacities are not sensibly devoted to a fact-

finding mission of the sort State Farm evidently

contemplates. Rule 10 states that “[a] petition for writ of

certiorari is rarely granted when the asserted error consists of

erroneous factual findings or the misapplication of a properly

7

stated rule of law.” This Petition, which ignores Rule 10, is a

classic attempt to challenge a lower court’s factbound

application of a settled legal rule.

Nor would granting the Petition provide any

appreciable assistance to the lower courts. This Court has

already provided ample guidance regarding the due process

factors that govern punitive damage awards. Just one Term

ago, this Court issued its decision in Campbell explicating

the constitutional factors previously announced in BMW of N.

Am., Inc. v. Gore, 517 U.S. 559 (1996). There is no reason to

review the punitive award in this case yet again. The lower

courts are still absorbing this Court’s decision only one Term

ago vacating the initial punitive award in this very case.

After the BMW decision, this Court waited six years for the

lower courts to sort out the implications of that decision,

before granting certiorari in Campbell. Further percolation in

the lower courts would enable this Court to decide what

additional guidance, if any, is appropriate. It is much too

soon for this Court to revisit ground so recently tilled. The

Petition should be denied.

I. THE UTAH SUPREME COURT PROPERLY

FOLLOWED THIS COURT’S MANDATE ON

REMAND.

On remand, the Utah Supreme Court faithfully

followed this Court’s mandate. The Petition is demonstrably

wrong in asserting that “(t]he Utah Supreme Court flatly

refused to honor the spirit and letter of this Court’s opinion.”

Pet. 25. The Utah court made clear that “our duty in the face

of a remand order demands unwavering fidelity to the letter

and spirit of the mandate.” A.2a. “[W]e must properly

identify and apply the Supreme Court’s principles announced

in Campbell II.’ A.4a. The Utah court explained that this

Court “narrow[ed] the scope of relevant evidence which we

may consider in evaluating the reprehensibility of State

Farm’s conduct, and . . . provid[ed] more detailed guidance

for determining the relationship between compensatory and

8

punitive damages.” A.5Sa. “We have carefully considered the

scope of the Supreme Court’s mandate and have endeavored

scrupulously to confine ourselves to it.” A.18a.

The primary focus of this Court’s opinion in

Campbell was the Utah court’s improper consideration of

extraterritorial evidence. On remand, the Utah Supreme

Court recomputed the award without reference to State

Farm’s nationwide claims-processing policies. Instead, the

court limited its focus to State Farm’s in-state conduct that

bore relation to the harms suffered by the Campbells. A.6a

(‘We are mindful that it was our consideration of irrelevant

extra-territorial evidence concerning reprehensibility which

attracted most of the Supreme Court’s criticism in Campbell

II. We therefore reevaluate State Farm’s conduct based

solely on its behavior that affected the Campbells and took

place within Utah.”). In imposing a punitive award that was

nine times the amount of compensatory damages, the Utah

court heeded this Court’s admonition that punitive awards

bearing a single-digit ratio with compensatory damages are

more likely to satisfy the BMW guideposts as a matter of due

process. 538 U.S. at 425.

State Farm focuses on this Court’s comment in

Campbell that “{a]n application of the Gore guideposts to the

facts of this case, especially in light of the substantial

compensatory damages awarded (a portion of which

contained a punitive efement), likely would justify a punitive

damages award at or near the amount of compensatory

damages.” 538 U.S. at 429. However, the quoted language

is a prediction (“likely would justify”), not a holding or a

directive.

If this Court had intended to hold in Campbell that a

1:1 ratio between punitive and compensatory damages was

the constitutional maximum in this case, it would have

directed entry of judgment for that amount. Instead, this

Court’s mandate was completely different. This Court did

not purport to calculate the maximum award that the

9

Constitution would tolerate on this record. Rather, this Court

expressly left that task to the Utah Supreme Court on

remand: “The proper calculation of punitive damages under

the principles we have discussed should be resolved, in the

first instance, by the Utah courts.” Jd. “(T]he case is

remanded for proceedings not inconsistent with this

opinion.” Jd. Further, this Court twice underscored the

“discretion” that states possess “over the imposition of

punitive damages,” within the constraints of due process.

Campbell, 538 U.S. at 416, 417 (internal quotation marks

omitted).

State Farm improperly seeks to recast the language of

the mandate in Campbell from that of constrained guidance

to that of ministerial directive. State Farm’s interpretation

conflicts with this Court’s customary practice, which is to

announce the governing legal standard and remand to the

appropriate lower court for application of that standard to the

facts of the particular case, and not to employ the lower court

as a mere calculator or scribe. In BMW of North America,

Inc. v. Gore, 517 U.S. 559 (1996), for example, this Court

instructed the Alabama Supreme Court to undertake on

remand an “independent determination” of an appropriate

punitive damages award consistent with the guideposts

erected by this Court. /d. at 586.

It is therefore most implausible to construe this

Court’s prior opinion as holding that a 1:1 ratio was the

constitutional maximum in this case. Such a const-uction

would be especially implausible in light of the prior

proceedings here, for the focus of this Court’s Campbell

opinion was whether the Utah Supreme Court could consider

the nationwide scope of State Farm’s claims-processing

policies, or whether instead the Utah court was required to

limit its attention to State Farm’s conduct within Utah that

“bore .. . relation to the Campbells’ harm.” 538 USS. at 422.

That was the sole legal question on which State Farm sought

this Court’s review. Pet. in No. 01-1289 at i (award “is based

upon the defendant’s alleged business practices nationwide

10

Over a twenty year period”). State Farm affirmatively

represented that this Court would not need to thoroughly

analyze the evidence of this case in order to resolve the

question presented. See, e.g., Reply Brief filed April 10,

2002, at 5 (“Plaintiffs attempt to dissuade this Court from

granting review by claiming incorrectly that State Farm is

asking the Court to conduct a fact-intensive review as to

whether the 27,000 page record supports the $145 million

punitive damages award by the jury in this case.”’).

Accordingly, even if this Court had examined every

page of the voluminous record in this case in deciding State

Farm v. Campbell, it would have done so through an aperture

that posed one particular question: whether State Farm’s

nationwide conduct could properly be considered in

justifying a $145 million award. This Court never asked the

question necessarily posed by State Farm’s latest petition:

what would be the highest allowable award upon considering

only State Farm’s conduct that (a) occurred in Utah and (b)

relates to the harm suffered by the Campbells? This Court

left that question for the Utah court to resolve in the first

instance.

II. © THE UTAH SUPREME COURT’S

ANALYSIS OF REPREHENSIBILITY IS

CONSISTENT WITH THIS COURT’S

OPINION.

A. The Utah Supreme Court Properly

Followed This Court’s Mandate.

The Utah Supreme Court explained that, in assessing

reprehensibility, it would “reevaluate State Farm’s conduct

based solely on its behavior that affected the Campbells and

took place within Utah.” A.6a. The Utah court concluded

that, under this standard, State Farm’s misconduct was highly

reprehensible. A.8a-14a.

That conclusion, and the subsidiary factual findings

that composed it, are completely consistent with this Court’s

11

mandate. In fact, this Court specifically found that State

Farm’s conduct was “reprehensible” (538 U.S. at 419) and

re-affirmed many of the findings of the Utah courts. This

Court noted, for instance, that “[t]he trial court found that

State Farm’s employees altered the company’s records to

make Campbell appear less culpable. State Farm disregarded

the overwhelming likelihood of liability and the near-certain

probability that, by taking the case to trial, a judgment in

excess of the policy limits would be awarded. State Farm

amplified the harm by at first assuring the Campbells their

assets would be safe from any verdict and by later telling

them, postjudgment, to put a for-sale sign on their house.”

538 U.S. at 419. This Court opined that, while such

misconduct could not justify a $145 million award, it was

nothing short of “reprehensible” and could certainly justify

punitive damages: “While we do not Suggest there was error

in awarding punitive damages based upon State Farm’s

conduct toward the Campbells, a more modest punishment

for this reprehensible conduct could have satisfied the State’s

legitimate objectives, and the Utah courts should have gone

no further.” Jd. (emphasis added). Thus, this Court invited

the Utah courts to calculate a “more modest” punishment

than the original $145 million judgment. On remand, the

Utah Supreme Court did exactly that. 3

B. There Is No Merit To State Farm’s

Criticisms of the Utah Supreme Court’s

Application of the Governing Legal

Standard To This Record.

The Petition argues that the Utah Supreme Court

misapplied the reprehensibility guideposts in a number of

respects. None of State Farm’s arguments has merit. In any

event, State Farm’s objections are obviously so fact-specific

that they present no question warranting certiorari.

1. Whether the harm was economic or physical.

State Farm accuses the Utah Supreme Court of

“directly contradict[ing] this Court’s analysis” as to whether

12

the Campbell’s harm was economic or physical. Pet. 9. To

the contrary: the Utah Supreme Court expressly stated that

“[w]e are mindful of the Supreme Court’s observation that

‘the harm [in this case] arose from a transaction in the

economic realm, not from some physical assault or trauma.’”

A.9a (quoting 538 U.S. at 426) (emphasis added). Tellingly,

this Court did not opine that the Campbells’ injury as

disclosed by this record was purely “economic.” It bears

repeating that this Court stated only that the injury “arose

from a transaction in the economic realm,” 538 U.S. at 426,

as indeed it did. The Utah Supreme Court’s recognition that

the harm suffered by the Campbells here extended beyond

that ordinarily associated with a purely financial misdeed and

encompassed the personal anxiety and the emotion-charged

risk they faced as a result of State Farm’s conduct is

therefore entirely consistent with this Court’s opinion.

The state court properly found that “the gravity of

harm which an insurer may potentially inflict on an insured is

unique to the nature of the product and service that insurance

provides.” A.9a. “Peace of mind clearly plays a central role

in accounting for the appeal of liability insurance.” A.10a.

“When an insurer decides to delay or to deny paying benefits,

the policyholder can suffer injury not only to his economic

well-being but to his emotional and physical health as well.”

A.10a (internal quotation marks omitted). Surely State Farm

is not asking this Court to grant certiorari in order to upset

that factual conclusion.

Emblematic of the Petition’s misstatements of the

record is State Farm’s assertion that, “as the trial court found,

the record was devoid of ‘objective evidence of emotional or

mental distress.’” Pet. 10 (citation omitted). To the contrary,

the trial court denied State Farm’s motion for judgment on

the Campbells’ claim for intentional infliction of emotional

distress, finding that there was substantial evidence to

support the claim. JA3359a-62a. The trial court opined that

“there was ample competent evidence that the Campbells did

suffer substantial emotional damages as a proximate result of

13

State Farm’s wrongful conduct.” JA3364a. “Many

witnesses, including high-ranking State Farm officials,

acknowledged at trial that an excess verdict alone (even if

never executed on, in the end) would likely cause mental

distress and would traumatically affect the insured.” JA

3367a. Witnesses described the 65-year-old Campbell as

“devastated,” “distraught,” “tied up in knots” — so “fragile”

and “greatly distressed” that they feared that he might suffer

another stroke or a heart attack. JA 813a-14a, 821la, 825a-

29a, 1586a-87a, 1660a. The Utah Supreme Court properly

concluded that the noneconomic dimensions of the injury

suffered by the Campbells were “profound.” A.12a.

2. Whether the Utah court properly took the

insurance context into account in assessing the

reprehensibility of State Farm’s misconduct.

State Farm relatedly accuses the Utah Supreme Court

of unjustifiably “inflat[ing] its estimate of reprehensibility.”

Pet. 11. The court did no such thing. The court simply

recognized the realities of the insurance context. “When an

insurer callously betrays the insured’s expectation of peace of

mind, as State Farm did to the Campbells, its conduct is

substantially more reprehensible than, for example, the

undisclosed repainting of an automobile which spawned the

punitive damages award in Gore.” A.lla. Plainly, some

injuries “arising in” the economic realm are more

reprehensible than others. State Farm provides no authority

to support its strange claim that all such injuries must be

considered without regard to the particular circumstances of

the individual case. State Farm does not identify any circuit

split on the issue. Nor does it offer any other reason for this

Court to review the matter.- Even if State Farm’s “irrelevance

of context” argument had merit, the matter would plainly

benefit from further percolation in the lower courts. There is

no occasion now for this Court’s review.

14

—

3. Indifference or reckless disregard for the health

and safety of others.

The Utah Supreme Court found that “{t]here is little

doubt that State Farm could reasonably have known that its

conduct would cause stress and trauma to a policyholder.

State Farm was clearly indifferent to this result, evincing a

reckless disregard for the Campbells’ peace of mind.” A.12a.

State Farm contends that this factor must be limited to

instances of physical injury or danger, Pet. 11, but it offers

no analysis of why a defendant’s culpable indifference to

devastating emotional injuries must be treated as irrelevant to

the reprehensibility guidepost. Nor does State Farm establish

any relevant conflict among lower court decisions requiring

this Court’s intervention. In fact, in BMW this Court opined

that “infliction of economic injury, especially when done

intentionally through affirmative acts of misconduct, .. . can

warrant a substantial penalty.” 517 U.S. at 576.

4. Whether the target of the conduct was

financially vulnerable.

The Utah Supreme Court found that “not only were

the Campbells financially vulnerable, but their vulnerability

enabled, if not motivated, State Farm’s conduct.” A.12a.

The trial court specifically found that “State Farm was

aware of the Campbells’ vulnerability and fragility, and of

the complete trust the Campbells had placed in State Farm

and its agents. State Farm intentionally and fraudulently

betrayed this trust and took advantage of the Campbells’

vulnerability.” JA 3361a (emphasis added).

On this crucial point, State Farm resorts to re-arguing

the record evidence supporting the Utah courts’ factual

findings. Pet. 12-13. Plainly; however, this Court does not

sit as a factfinder to second-guess factual determinations

made by the lower courts. In any event, there was ample

record evidence of the Campbells’ vulnerability and of how

State Farm exploited that vulnerability. “At the time of State

15

SSRN SS AEA Gee er a ee a, A eo ed a

Farm’s wrongful conduct, the Campbells were elderly and

Mr. Campbell has residuary effects from a stroke and

Parkinson’s disease.” JA 3360a. “The Campbells were

economically vulnerable, having suffered previous financial

setbacks and having meager financial resources.” Jd. “Mr.

Campbell had previously experienced severe emotional

trauma, including the murder of his first wife, the desertion

of his second wife after his stroké, and the death of his third

wife from cancer less than two years after their marriage.

Mrs. Campbell had gone through a bitter divorce. The

Campbells’ home had previously gone into foreclosure and

one of their cars had been repossessed due to the wrongful

actions of Mrs. Campbell’s ex-husband.” JA 336la. “The

Campbells were quiet, unassuming, and trusting individuals.”

JA. 3366a.

State Farm argues that this Court has somehow

already rejected the Utah courts’ findings regarding the

Campbells’ vulnerability simply because “[t]his Court in its

opinion did not address this factor’ as part of its

“reprehensibility analysis.” Pet. 12. But even if such silence

could constitute an implicit finding, the fact is that this Court

did address the Campbells’ vulnerability when it reiterated

the Utah courts’ finding that “State Farm amplified the harm

by at first assuring the Campbells their assets would be safe

from any verdict and by later telling them, postjudgment, to

put a for-sale sign on their house.” 538 U.S. at 419. The

Utah Supreme Court pointed to this very episode as support

for its finding that State Farm exploited the Campbells’

vulnerability: “It is difficult to imagine State Farm making

this statement to a sophisticated insured whom State Farm

believed to have the wherewithal to protect himself from its

predations.” A.12a.

That this Court in its prior opinion did not engage in a

more elaborate analysis of the Campbells’ vulnerability only

goes to show that this Court focused on correcting the Utah

courts’ erroneous consideration of State Farm’s nationwide

claims-processing policies, not on the proper punitive award

16

based solely on State Farm’s conduct in Utah. Now that the

Utah Supreme Court on remand has manifestly applied the

proper legal standard, there is no reason to review its

factbound judgment.

5. Need to deter repetition.

The Utah court found that “State Farm’s obdurate

insistence that its treatment of the Campbells was proper

clearly calls out for vigorous deterrence.” A.13a. State Farm

accuses the Utah Supreme Court of “subverting” this Court’s

opinion, Pet. 14. But the Utah Supreme Court did no such

thing. It explained that “the Supreme Court expressly found

that we erred in determining that State Farm was a recidivist”

and that “we are bound by the Supreme Court’s finding that

State Farm was not a recidivist.” A.13a. The Utah court

focused not on recidivism but on State Farm’s propensity to

commit further misconduct in the future — a matter that is

separate from (and not foreclosed by) this Court’s finding

that State Farm was, at the time of trial, not a recidivist. The

Utah Supreme Court explained that “[w]e will not and,

consistent with our duty on remand, cannot invoke deterrence

as a justification for punitive damages based on conduct

dissimilar to that which State Farm inflicted on the

Campbells. We can, however, find ample grounds to defend

an award of punitive damages in the upper range permitted

by due process based on our concern that State Farm's

defiance strongly suggests that it will not hesitate to treat its

Utah insureds with the callousness that marked its treatment

of the Campbells.” A.13a (emphasis added). The Utah

court’s approach is entirely consistent with this Court’s

opinion and also amply supported by the record. See Part II-

B-6, infra.

State Farm argues that there were no “similar

subsequent bad acts” in Utah after its mistreatment of the

Campbells. Pet. 14. But State Farm misstates the evidence,

and in any event its argument does not undermine the Utah

Supreme Court’s finding of propensity for future misconduct.

17

At trial, State Farm was forced to acknowledge there were at

least seven excess verdict third-party cases in Utah between

1978 and 1995, JA 288a-89a, and was unable to refute the

proof that this figure is likely to be a dramatic

understatement. Because State Farm deliberately stopped

tracking adverse verdicts in the mid-1970s as a defensive

measure, 65 P.3d at 1147 (4 26), 1148 (4 30); JA 1346a-50a;

JA 1412a-18a, its estimate at trial was indisputably little

more than a conservative guess. To arrive at the figure of

seven excess verdict cases, a State Farm official did nothing

more than make phone calls to various company employees

and defense counsel in Utah, asking if they happened to

remember any excess verdicts involving State Farm insureds.

JA 287a-89a. And this figure was reached only after a court-

ordered recount. In the initial count, State Farm’s sworn

discovery response was that its Utah management knew of no

other excess verdicts. R. 10270:134-35; R. 10285:205-07.

Not surprisingly, State Farm’s own statistical expert said, “I

would have a tendency to be afraid of that data.” R.

10283:204. In observing that “(t]he Campbells have

identified scant evidence of repeated misconduct of the sort

that injured them,” 538 U.S. at 423, this Court did not “find,”

contrary to the record at least as understood below, that the

Campbells’ was the only State Farm excess verdict third-

party case in Utah.

State Farm also relies on supposed “state of mind”

letters that it sought to submit after the trial in this case. Pet.

15 n.7. The trial court ruled that these letters were “not in the

trial record” and were “stricken from the record,” and State

Farm did not appeal. R. 10292, 10090-91, 10213-15. On

rehearing in the Utah Supreme Court, State Farm appended

alleged “state of mind” letters to its petition, without any

affidavit attesting that they had actually been sent or any

identification of recipients. The Utah Supreme Court denied

rehearing without making the letters part of the record or

even mentioning them: In 1996 and 1997, State Farm flatly

denied the existence of any “peace of mind” policy in two

18

CN Pd OL NO Ct Me i

cases. R. 9179-80, 9190-9203 (attorney affidavit). In 1998,

State Farm failed to send any “peace of mind” letter in yet

another case. Campbells’ Obj. to Rehearing Pet. in Utah S.

Ct. at 5 & Exh. 2. By 1999, according to two Utah attorneys

formerly employed at the company, State Farm had

“revok[ed]” any “policy of sending ‘peace of mind’ letters.”

Id. at 5 & Exh. 1, J 25(e).

6. State Farm’s lack of remorse.

A related point arises in connection with the Utah

Supreme Court finding that State Farm “has not voiced so

much as a whisper of apology or remorse” and has not

“forsworn the conduct that caused the Campbells’ injury.”

A.12. State Farm complains that, by referring to its lack of

remorse, the Utah court punished it impermissibly for its

“appellate briefing.” Pet. 23. This complaint is baseless.

The Utah Supreme Court did not ground the punitive

award on State Farm’s decision to appeal the verdict. Rather,

it grounded that award on State Farm’s conduct toward the

Campbells and on the fact that State Farm exhibited no

contrition or other sign that it would modify its conduct in

the future. The Utah court pointed to trial testimony, not

simply to appellate briefing, to make that point. A.12a-13a.

The finding of lack of remorse was supported not merely by

testimony that State Farm was “proud” of the way it treated

the Campbells (contra Pet. 24 n.12), but also by the

testimony of a State Farm claims adjuster that he had not

seen anything in State Farm’s conduct relating to the

Campbells that violated State Farm guidelines or-policies, JA

2712a; by testimony that State Farm subsequently failed to

instruct its employees not to engage in the offending conduct,

JA 2454a; and by testimony that State Farm failed to

discipline any employee. JA 2455a. In BMW, this Court

indicated that whether a defendant has taken corrective action

can be “significant” in assessing a punitive award. 517 U.S.

at 579 & n.31. Here, by contrast, State Farm showed no

contrition or willingness to reform.

19

Clearly, State Farm could have exhibited contrition

completely outside the courtroom while continuing to press

its constitutional objections in court and on appeal with.

undiluted vigor. In any event, courts routinely draw adverse

inferences from parties’ judicial submissions (or from gaps in

those submissions), with no suggestion that they are

“penalizing” the party for its use of the judicial process. E.g.,

Fed. R. Evid. 801(d)(2)(D) (attorney’s oral or written

statements may be admissible against client).

State Farm’s “remorse” argument, if taken seriously,

would invalidate the “acceptance of responsibility” provision

of the Sentencing Guidelines, under which a defendant who

fails to show remorse will receive a longer sentence than one

who does. U.S.S.G. § 3E1.1. Courts have uniformly rejected

due process challenges to this provision, and to the

consideration of remorse in sentencing generally, on the

obvious ground that “acceptance of responsibility for illegal

conduct is a routine and unexceptionable feature even of

criminal, let alone of civil, punishment. The criminal who in

the teeth of the evidence insists that he is innocent, that

indeed not the victims of his crime but he himself is the

injured party, demonstrates by his obduracy the likelihood

. that he will repeat his crime, and this justifies the imposition

of a harsher penalty on him.” SEC v. Lipson, 278 F.3d 656,

664 (7th Cir. 2002) (Posner, J.). Precisely that analysis

disposes fully of State Farm’s argument.

State Farm claims a conflict in this connection with

two decisions by intermediate appellate courts in California

(notably, not by the California Supreme Court). Pet. 22. But

there is no conflict. Unlike the parties in those cases, State

Farm was not punished for its “trial tactics and litigation

conduct” (id.); it was punished in view of the likelihood that

it would repeat its misconduct in the future. The remaining

cases cited in the Petition (at 22) prove the opposite of what

State Farm asserts; they show that, even if punitive damages

are imposed based in part on a defendant’s litigating strategy

(which was not the case here), such damages have nothing to

20

do with penalizing the right to a defense. Rather, they

compensate for the under-deterrence caused by such a

defendant’s efforts “to make litigating against it very costly,

which in turn may make it difficult for the plaintiffs to find a

lawyer willing to handle their case.” Mathias v. Accor Econ.

Lodging, Inc., 347 F.3d 672, 677 (7"™ Cir. 2003) (Posner, J.).

See also Hollock v. Erie Ins. Exch., 842 A.2d 409, 421 (Pa.

Super. Ct. 2004) (“an extremely aggressive defense . . . in

turn can prove very costly to a plaintiff and potentially deter

it from pursuing the matter”). There is no lower court

conflict and no reason for this Court’s review.

7. Intentional trickery or malice.

The Utah Supreme Court properly found that “the

substantial emotional damages sustained by the Campbells”

were “no mere accident” but instead were the result of State

Farm’s intentional malice, trickery, and deceit. A.14a. In its

special verdict, the jury found for the Campbells on their

fraud claim, and the Utah Supreme Court held that the fraud

claim provided ‘an independent basis” for the verdict. 65

P.3d at 1166 (§ 113). The finding of fraud, and the finding

that the verdict could independently rest on fraud, are both

amply supported by the record. This Court expressly noted

with apparent approval the trial court’s finding that “State

Farm’s employees altered the company’s records to make

Campbell appear less culpable.” 538 U.S. at 419. “For

example, State Farm manager Bob Noxon instructed

Summers to manufacture the false story that Todd Ospital,

who was killed in the automobile accident for which Mr.

Campbell was found to be at fault, was speeding because he

was on his way to see a pregnant girlfriend. “In truth, there

was no pregnant girlfriend, nor was Mr. Ospital even

speeding; this story was invented only to cause prejudice in

the record. This deceitful conduct can only be explained as

part of a scheme to reduce State Farm’s economic exposure.”

A.14a. (State Farm’s attempt to excuse its misconduct relies

on uncorroborated hearsay deposition testimony from a State

Farm employee known to have repeatedly placed false

21

'

i AME AREA SRL AI ae ti ADEN te 2 POE. me Ca.

information in files. R. 10268, 10275, 10281, 10284. The

deposition was not presented to the jury or trial court. Pet.

16 n.8). The record also makes clear that, while this case

was pending, State Farm held a meeting in Utah at which in-

house counsel instructed Utah claims managers “to search

their offices and destroy a wide range of material of the sort

that had proved damaging in bad-faith litigation.” Trial ct.

opinion 8/3/98 4 55. The record overwhelming supports the

Utah Supreme Court’s finding of intentional trickery and

malice.

8. State “values and traditions.”

State Farm argues that the Utah Supreme Court’s

reference to “Utah’s values and traditions” (A.7) represents a

violation of federal due process. Pet. 16-20. That argument

is wide of the mark. The remark simply underscored the

seriousness with which the court viewed State Farm’s

misconduct. This Court’s own opinion in Campbell reveals

that punitive damages jurisprudence has not erased Our

Federalism in the manner that State Farm suggests. “A basic

principle of federalism is that . . . each State alone can

determine what measure of punishment, if any, to impose on

a defendant who acts within its jurisdiction.” 538 U.S. at

422. “The States need not, and in fact do not, provide such

protection in a uniform manner.” Jd. (internal quotation

marks omitted). This Court thus reaffirmed the states’

autonomy to make policy choices about the relative

reprehensibility of conduct within their own respective

borders.

State Farm acknowledges that a state’s legislative

enactments may serve as an appropriate source of state

“values and traditions,” but it maintains that state courts

cannot be permitted to invoke “values and traditions” on their

own. Pet. 18-19. State Farm has evidently confused the

reprehensibility guidepost with the legislative penalties

guidepost of BMW. The latter is by definition tethered to

state legislative enactments. But this Court has never

22

a tnetl

SOE A cee Nt ARM eta a

SS a ee PE Ee a > mek ee

suggested that, in assessing reprehensibility, state courts are

limited to considering state statutes. E.g., BMW, 517 U.S. at

585 (“we of course accept the Alabama courts’ view”

regarding “the state interest in protecting its citizens from

deceptive trade practices”) (emphasis added). Indeed, the

day has long passed when the Constitution was thought to

distinguish the law made by state judges from that made by

state legislators. See, e.g., Cohen v. Cowles Media Co., 501

U.S. 663, 668 (1991); Shelley v. Kraemer, 334 U.S. 1, 19

(1948). It is a corollary that federal law has precious little to

say on the degree to which a state makes its law through its

courts or through its legislature. See Highland Farms Dairy,

Inc. v. Agnew, 300 U.S. 608, 612-13 (1937); see also

Minnesota v. Clover Leaf Creamery Co., 449 U.S. 456, 480-

81 (1981) (Stevens, J., dissenting).

State Farm’s argument that including judge-made

factors in the reprehensibility analysis “produces an ad hoc,

subjective inquiry” (Pet. 19) is flatly foreclosed by this

Court’s precedents. See TXO, 509 U.S. at 465-66 (plurality

opinion) (common law rule satisfied notice component of due

process); Pacific Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. Haslip, 499 U.S. 1, 22

(1991) Gudge-made factors “impose[] a sufficiently definite

and meaningful constraint on the discretion of Alabama

factfinders in awarding punitive damages”). In any event,

State Farm fails to establish any circuit conflict on the issue

or any need for this Court’s review.

Ill. THE UTAH SUPREME COURT’S ANALYSIS

OF THE RATIO GUIDEPOST IS ENTIRELY

CONSISTENT WITH ~~ THIS COURT’S

DECISION.

In Campbell, this Court held that the Utah Supreme

Court’s prior analysis of the ratio guidepost was flawed

because it was premised on out-of-state conduct, as well as

on State Farm’s wealth and other improper factors. 538 U.S.

at 426-27. On remand, the Utah Supreme Court corrected

these errors by focusing solely on State Farm’s conduct with

23

respect to the Campbells. A.15a. State Farm nonetheless

accuses the Utah Supreme Court of “refus[ing] to follow the

mandate of this Court” with respect to the ratio guidepost.

Pet. 28. State Farm’s accusation of bad faith is as groundless

as it is insulting.

A. The Utah Court Properly Followed This

Court’s Mandate.

In Campbell, this Court opined that it has “been

reluctant to identify concrete constitutional limits on the ratio

between harm, or potential harm, to the plaintiff and the

punitive damages award.” 538 U.S. at 425. “We decline

again to impose a bright-line ratio which a punitive damages

award cannot exceed.” Jd. (emphasis added). However, the

Court’s “jurisprudence and the principles it has now

established demonstrate . . . that, in practice, few awards

exceeding a single-digit ratio between punitive and

compensatory damages, to a significant degree, will satisfy

due process.” Jd. Nonetheless, this Court emphasized that

“(t]he precise award in any case, of course, must be based

upon the facts and circumstances of the defendant's conduct

and the harm to the plaintiff.” Jd. (emphasis added).

The Utah Supreme Court faithfully followed this

Court’s opinion. The Utah court took as a given this Court’s

admonition that, “‘when compensatory damages are

substantia!, then a lesser ratio [of compensatory to punitive

damages], perhaps only equal to compensatory damages, can

reach the outermost limit of the due process guarantee.’”

A.14a (quoting 538 U.S. at 425). The Utah court treated

itself as bound by this Court’s conclusion that the Campbells”

compensatory award was “substantial,” and did not purport

to question this Court’s observation that the compensatory

damages likely had been based on a component which was

duplicated in the punitive award. A.14a.

But that binding general frame of reference did not

preclude the Utah Supreme Court’s factual determination,

24

A A pe At at iad dl

based on “the circumstances of the compensatory damages

award in this case,” that the trial judge’s remittitur of

compensatory damages ensured that they did not in fact

contain a punitive element. A.15a (emphasis added). The

jury had originally awarded the Campbells $2.6 million in

compensatory damages. State Farm argues that this award

contained a punitive element. Pet. 26 n.13. But the trial

court granted State Farm’s motion for remittitur and reduced

the award to $1 million: $600,000 for Mr. Campbell and

$400,000 for Mrs. Campbell. A.15a. The trial court engaged

in an exhaustive review of the evidence in the case and the

emotional harm suffered by the Campbells. JA 3364a-68a.

The Utah Supreme Court observed that “[t]he trial court’s

ruling was supported by extensive and detailed findings

explaining the basis for the reduced compensatory damages

award. Based on this thorough record, we conclude that the

trial court’s compensatory damages award was purged of

elements which may have been more properly placed in the

category of punitive damages.” A.15a.

The Utah Supreme Court’s analysis accurately

applied the legal framework set forth by this Court to the

particular circumstances of this case and this trial record. It

is, of course, a question purely of Utah law ‘just what

constituted the legally compensable injury to the Campbells

in this case, State Farm never having sought review in this

Court on any of the components of that definition of

compensable injury. Therefore, the question of what

“Gnjuries” the award received by the Campbells

“compensat::d” was a matter within the sole purview of the

Utah courts.

B. The Utah Supreme Court Properly

Concluded That A High Single Digit Ratio

Was Appropriate.

The Utah Supreme Court reasonably determined that

a high single-digit ratio was warranted in this case because

the Campbells suffered significant noneconomic injury in the

25

form of emotional distress and because State Farm’s conduct

toward the Campbells was highly reprehensible. A.16a. The

Campbells were forced to live in fear of financial ruin for 18

months, which is exactly the kind of hard-to-measure, non-

economic harm that this Court has noted would justify a

higher ratio than usual. See Campbell, 538 U.S. at 425;

BMW, 517 U.S. at 582. The Utah court’s conclusion is

completely consistent with this Court’s mandate, and State

Farm’s factbound challenges to that conclusion simply

recapitulate arguments already addressed in the context of the

reprehensibility guidepost. See Part II, supra.

IV. THE UTAH SUPREME COURT’S ANALYSIS

OF THE LEGISLATIVE PENALTIES

GUIDEPOST COMPORTS WITH ~ THIS

COURT?’S OPINION.

In Campbell, this Court held that the Utah Supreme

Court’s prior analysis of the legislative penalties guidepost

was improper because it rested on out-of-state conduct. See

538 U.S. at 428 (“here again [the Utah court’s] references

were to the broad fraudulent scheme drawn from evidence of

out-of-state and dissimilar conduct.”). On remand, the Utah

Supreme Court corrected this error by focusing solely on

State Farm’s conduct with respect to the Campbells, without

considering any out-of-state or dissimilar acts. A.16a-17a.

In Campbell, this Court pointed to a potential $10,000

fine for fraud as “the most relevant civil sanction” to which

State Farm was exposed for its conduct toward the

Campbells. 538 U.S. at 428; see also Utah Code Ann. §

31A-26-303 (2003). This Court did not decide the question

of State Farm’s exposure under the Utah statute — an issue

that is purely a matter of Utah law. See BMW, 517 USS. at

577 (“only state courts may authoritatively construe state

statutes”).

The Utah Supreme Court properly followed this

Court’s mandate by analyzing the statutory penalty for fraud

in relation to this case. The Utah court opined that, “while a

26

eee ee ee

$10,000 fine for fraud may appear modest in relationship to a

multi-million dollar punitive damages award, it is identical to

the maximum fine which may be imposed on a person in

Utah for the commission of a first degree felony, the

Classification assigned our most serious crimes.” A.17a

(citing Utah Code Ann. § 76-3-301 (2003)). The statutory

penalty for fraud faced by State Farm reflects the

legislature’s determination that the company’s misconduct

was very serious indeed.

The Utah Supreme Court further noted that, although

this Court rejected a $145 million punitive award as

excessive, this Court indicated at the same time that what this

Court called a “more modest” award, such as $1 million,

would be reasonable — notwithstanding the fact that, as the

Utah court observed, such an award would be “one hundred

times greater than the $10,000 fine.” A.17a. “Thus,

somewhere between $1 million and $145 million,” the Utah

Supreme Court properly inferred from this Court’s opinion,

“the difference between the $10,000 civil penalty and the

punitive damages award becomes so great that the latter

‘dwarfs’ the former.” Jd. As to State Farm’s assertion “that

[this] Court impliedly found that the civil penalty would be

dwarfed by a $17 million punitive damages award,” the Utah

court rightly refrained from offering any opinion, finding it

sufficient to express its “conviction that a punitive damages

award of $9,018,780.75 is in line with the third Gore

guidepost.” /d. Because the Utah court reached this

conclusion, it did not inquire into other potential penalties

faced by State Farm, A.18a, although the court made plain its

view — as a matter of state law obviously not reviewable by

this Court — that “State Farm’s behavior,” especially given

the company’s insistence that such behavior was nothing it

need feel remorse over and the consequent risk that it might

“become a pattern in Utah, may indeed be justification for

termination of its license, a penalty that surely would cost it

more than $10,000.” A.17a n.8 (emp.iasis added).

27

These findings are fully consistent with this Court’s

mandate. There is simply no basis for State Farm’s assertion

that the Utah court “improperly discounted the importance of

the comparable penalties” and “disparage[d]” that guidepost.

Pet. 29. To the contrary, the Utah court explained that “[t]he

nature of a civil or criminal penalty provides some useful

guidance to courts when fixing punitive damages because it

reflects ‘legislative judgments concerning appropriate

sanctions for the conduct at issue.” A.17a (quoting

Browning-Ferris Indus. v. Kelco Disposal, Inc., 492 U.S.

257, 301 (1989) (O’Connor, J., concurring in part and

dissenting in part)). The Utah court’s observation that “the

quest to reliably position any misconduct within the ranks of

criminal or civil wrongdoing based on penalties affixed by a

legislature can be quixotic,’ A.17a, far from signaling

resistance to this Court’s legislative penalties guidepost,

merely echoed this Court’s parallel observation that “(t]he

existence of a criminal penalty does have bearing on the

seriousness with which a State views the wrongful action.

When used to determine the dollar amount of the award,

however, the criminal penalty has less utility.” Campbell,

538 U.S. at 428 (emphasis added). The Utah court simply

recognized, as did this Court in Campbell, that the

excessiveness inquiry cannot be reduced to a rote arithmetic

calculation.

V. THERE IS NO BASIS FOR SUMMARILY

REVERSING THE UTAH SUPREME COURT’S

JUDGMENT.

The Petition seeks summary reversal of the Utah

Supreme Court’s judgment. There is no basis for such a

request. Principles of federa!’» counsel that the judgment

of a state’s highest court shewid not be summarily reversed

absent exceptional circumstances. Robert L. Stern & Eugene

Gressman, et al., SUPREME COURT PRACTICE 323 (8" ed.

2002). That test cannot be met here. The Utah Supreme

Court faithfully followed this Court’s mandate. State Farm’s

contrary claim rests on improper second-guessing of the state

28

A LA ANNI Oa Mlle Se Perret

court’s factual determinations, on the basis of extra-record

“non-evidence.” E.g., Pet. 15 n.7, 16 n.8. State Farm also

tries to convert this Court’s Campbell decision into a fixed

1:1 ratio rule, which is precisely the opposite of what this

Court made plain it was holdimg — rejecting, as it has

repeatedly rejected, any rigid rstaematical rule in assessing -

punitive awards. See Campbell, 538 U.S. at 425; BMW, 517

USS. at 582.

This Court’s practice supports summary reversal only

where a lower court has committed a clear error of law that

conflicts with a decision of this Court or other well-

established principle. E.g., City of Los Angeles v. David, 538

U.S. 715, 716 (2003) (per curiam) (“the Ninth Circuit’s

holding runs contrary to well-settled principles of

constitutional law”); JNS v. Ventura, 537 U.S. 12, 16 (2002)

(per curiam) (“well-established principles of administrative

law”); United States v. Bass, 536 U.S. 862, 863 (2002) (per

curiam) (lower court decision “is contrary to [United States vy.

Armstrong, 517 U.S. 456 (1996),] and threatens the

‘performance: of a core executive constitutional function””)

(citation omitted); Sao Paulo State of the Federative

Republic of Brazil v. Am. Tobacco Co., 535 U.S. 229, 232

(2002) (per curiam) (lower court -used improper legal

standard to decide recusal issue).

In this case, however, State Farm’s argument comes

down to the proposition that the Utah Supreme Court erred in

finding the pertinent facts revealed by the record in the

course of applying the BMW guideposts. Even if the Utah

court made a factual mistake — which it did not — no such

factual error could justify summary reversal. See, e.g., Major

League Baseball Players Ass'n v. Garvey, 532 U.S. 504, 513

(2001) (Stevens, J., dissenting) (“‘factbound determination[s]”

inappropriate for summary reversal). Nor has State Farm

even -attempted to argue that the Utah Supreme Court is an

outlier among the lower courts in the way in which it has

interpreted this Court’s mandate.

29

In any event, the extensive, 27,000-page record below

would make it impossible for this Court to déspose of this |

case summarily. In the previous Campbell proceeding before

this Court, the focus was on whether the Utah Supreme Court

erred in considering State Farm’s nationwide claims-

processing policies. The briefing and joint appendix were

prepared with that focus in mind. Thus, if this Court were to

review the Utah Supreme Court’s application of the BMW

guideposts to this factual record with respect to in-state Utah

conduct, the Campbells would clearly be entitled to argue all

the law and facts that support a $9 million punitive award on

this record — including evidence that was not (because it did

not have to be) identified in Campbell or included in the joint

appendix. See, e.g., Campbells’ Opening Br. on Remand in

Utah S. Ct. at 12-15 & n.12 (June 9, 2003); Reply Br. 24 &

n.13, 27-28 (July 16, 2003). In short, plenary briefing and

argument would be unavoidable.

Notably, the Petition does not contend that summary

reversal in this case would provide any appreciable guidance

to the lower courts on punitive damages issues. Nor would

such a contention be plausible. For this Court has recognized

that “[t]he precise award in any case, of course, must be

based upon the facts and circumstances of the defendant’s

conduct and the harm to the plaintiff” Campbell, 538 U.S. at

425. “[{T]here are no rigid benchmarks that a punitive

damages award may not surpass.” Jd. Accordingly, even if

this Court were to engage in an exhaustive review of the

evidentiary record to decide the reasonableness of the

punitive award, the exercise would be of little or no value to

lower courts considering different punitive awards based on

different factual records. The fact-intensive review urged by

the Petition would therefore be a singularly inappropriate use

of this Court’s necessarily finite resources. -

CONCLUSION

The petition for writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

30

L. RICH HUMPHERYS

ROGER P. CHRISTENSEN

KARRA J. PORTER

CHRISTENSEN & JENSEN

50 South Main St.

Salt Lake City, UT 84144

(801) 323-5000

LAURENCE H. TRIBE

Counsel of Record

KENNETH J. CHESEBRO

1575 Massachusetts Ave.

Cambridge, MA 02138

(617) 495-4621

JONATHAN S. MASSEY

JONATHAN S. MASSEY, P.C.

3920 Northampton St., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20015

(202) 686-0457

Counse’ for Respondents

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.