Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Aisenberg v. United States

Supreme Court brief2004

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

/ \ Supreme Court, U.S.

( |) FILED

———

No. 04 2° JUN 28 2004

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

In The :

Supreme Court of the United States

¢

STEVEN D. AISENBERG and

MARLENE J. AISENBERG,

Petitioners,

VS.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

¢

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Eleventh Circuit

¢

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

AND APPENDIX, VOLUME I,

PAGES APP. 1 - APP. 240

¢

BARRY A. COHEN

TODD FOSTER

COHEN, JAYSON & FOSTER, PA.

201 East Kennedy Boulevard

Suite 1000

Tampa, Florida 33602

(813) 225-1655 Fax (813) 225-1921

Attorneys for Petitioners Steven B. Aisenberg and

Marlene J. Aisenberg

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether the District Court erred in ordering com-

plete disclosure of the grand jury transcripts to the

Defendants after the government had moved to dis-

miss the indictment and admitted that the prosecu-

tion had been brought frivolously, vexatiously, or in

bad faith?

Whether the Hyde Amendment’s incorporation of the

“procedures and limitations (but not the burden of

proof) provided for an award under section 2412 of Ti-

tle 28, United States Code [the ‘Equal Access to Jus-

tice Act’]” encompasses all the procedures and

limitations of the Equal Access to Justice Act or is

limited to subsection (d) thereof?

ll

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

AND RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

The petitioners in this case are Steven and Marlene

Aisenberg. The Respondent is the United States of Amer-

1ca.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

| Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW .............. i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS............. il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES..0...o. ooo cocccecececcecee iv

OPINIONS AND JUDGMENTS IN THE COURTS

MI Sik Nena ceneaiesssiiitsnsknsahasuansiicesssctnssensasc,........

3

IT.

Certiorari should be granted because the

United States Court of Appeals for the Elev-

enth Circuit has decided an important ques-

tion of federal law in a way which conflicts

with relevant decisions of this Court and other

Courts of Appeal and which undermines the

policies underlying a district court’s ability to

supervise its grand juries .....0......00...0..............

Certiorari should be granted because the

United States Court of Appeals for the Elev-

enth Circuit has decided an important ques-

tion of federal law in a way which conflicts

with relevant decisions of this Court........_..

APPENDIX VOLUME I:

United States v. Aisenberg, 358 F.3d 1327 (11th Cir.

BU Sa NR a hthobncacussshvyndsnaccensnsncanevsanscacovacenssesece.c a... App. 1

District Court Order Granting Steven and Marlene

Aisenberg’s Petition for Fees and Costs Pursuant

to The Hyde Amendment (January 31, 2003)....... App. 46

12

12

iv

- TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

APPENDIX VOLUME II:

Order Denying Petition(s) for Rehearing and

Petition(s) for Rehearing En Banc (March 30,

DENBY accaccanssnsscsenderansssasnnnaressnedtbsaiscusncastansnacunecetes App. 241

Title 28, United States Code, § 2412. Costs and

WPOOG oincnseccscrccsscscnescoesvessecesesvevssnssncnveascsnanenqnaonsssqens App. 243

Testimony of Steve Aisenberg, Grand Jury 97-3,

United States District Court, Middle District of

Florida, February 11, 1998........-...:::sseseeseeeretees App. 249

Testimony of Marlene Aisenberg, Grand Jury 97-3,

United States District Court, Middle District of

Florida, February 11, 1998.........-.::ssssesssereeretees App. 262

Testimony of Linda Burton, Grand Jury 97-3,

United States District Court, Middle District of

Florida, February 4, 1998 ........-:::sssscsserereeeeeetees App. 277

Testimony of Linda Burton, Grand Jury 97-3,

United States District Court, Middle District of

Florida, October 21, 1998 .........::sccssesseereeeteeetees App. 327

Testimony of Linda Burton, Grand Jury 97-3,

United States District Court, Middle District of

Florida, November 4, 1998 ........-::::sseseserseeeetees App. 341

Testimony of Linda Burton, Grand Jury 97-3,

United States District Court, Middle District of

Florida, September 8, 1999 ..........::ssessseeeeeretees App. 345

V

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES:

Alyeska Pipeline Service Co. v. Wilderness Society,

Se BAe Be CE hettckintdinnian Male 26, 27

Butterworth v. Smith, 494 U.S. 1376 (1990)............... 15, 18

Chambers v. NASCO, Inc., 501 U.S. 32 (1991)........... 27, 28

Dennis v. U.S., 384 U.S. 855 (1966) ......cccccccccccccccccececccccee. 21

Douglas Oil Company of California v. Petrol Stops

Northwest, 441 U.S. 211 (1979)..0...ooceceeccccccccecsceeeee 13, 21

FD. Rich Co., Inc. v. United States ex rel. Industrial

Lumber Company, Inc., 417 U.S. 116 (1974)......cccccccce-. 26

Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424 (1983)........cccccccceccceee. 26

Hutto v. Finney, 437 U.S. 678 (1978) .....ccccccccecscescecceseeeees 26

In re: Biaggi, 478 F.2d 489 (2d Cir. 1973)........... i ialeialla 16

In re: Craig, 131 F.3d 99 (2d Cir. 1997)........cecccccccccsececeeeee 20

In re: Espy, 259 F.3d 725 (D.C. Cir. 2001)...........ccccceccceeeee 16

In re: North, 16 F.3d 1234 (D.C. Cir. 1994)........... 16, 19, 20

In re: Screw Antitrust Litigation, 91 F.R.D. 47

oe | | | ORONO NE MENA ER TANT oh Men EN- Pte Oh 22

Newmark v. Principi, 283 F.3d 172 (3d Cir. 2002)............ 24

Petition to Inspect and Copy Grand Jury Materials

(Hastings), 735 F.2d 1261 (11th Cir. 1984).......:17, 18, 20

Pittsburgh Plate Glass Co. v. U.S., 360 U.S. 395

CPI sstnisecenaninsennnseuainsuiaeigtnesiaccds dade ee 14,19

Rehabilitation Association of Virginia, Inc. v.

Metcalf, 8 F. Supp.2d 520 (F.D. Va. 1998)..........ccccccccce. 26

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— Continued

Page

Rolax v. Atlantic Coast Line R. Co., 186 F.2d 473

(Ath Cllr. LOGR)..cvcisscscasenssseiiastednnsnnnnconemnennciaresinensnyreney 26

United States v. Aisenberg, 947 F Supp. 2d 1272

(M.D. Fla. 2008)........-.-s:ssseseersesssssenesenssenenensnnncnsrenes passim

United States v. Aisenberg, 358 F.3d 1327 (11th Cir.

IAS asc nasnnansesennncicanasennenvesenenntnnensnnatine ners anna carn passim

United States v. Baggot, 463 U.S. 476 (1983) ......-:eeeeeereees 21

United States v. Proctor & Gamble Co., 356 USS.

B7'T (198) ....s0sssnesrscsonncnsonsonsennnasensnnenansnsoanannsnensenge 14, 22

United States v. Sells Engineering, 463 US. 418

PES) a osnsnessesdsnnscascencassoaniean taaeietnns tn nO aM nenete nt 15

United States v. Socony-Vacuum Oil Co., 310 U.S.

£650) COBO) sncasosssiescnnennsnancennsinankonsenennnsiessneeennatme nana 7 15

Vaughan v. Atkinson, 369 U.S. 527 (1962)......:::eeceeeerrrees 26

STATUTES:

96 UTE. OB scsssnesiscsnnisnoansasasenneennasmnneineionasenenentn ETE Tas 8

18 UTS. § LODE ..snnsisenenssnesnsennesanensennenninnenssnnnatonsnsse sens 8

DB U.S.C. § 2412 ......ccscerssneressesnnrvnnssennsnsnsnnsnnonnonncennsend passim

Pub. L. No. 105-119, § 617, 111 Stat. 2440, 2519

(1997) (reprinted in 18 U.S.C. § 3006A, historical

and statutory motes) ..........ssceseessssereeteessensenseees 1, 10, 24

Bed. R. Crim. P. 6 ......-:ssssssssvesssonennensensnansnconsnepoonoenes 2, 20, 21

OPINIONS AND JUDGMENTS

IN THE COURTS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (App. Vol. I, pg. 1-

45) is reported as U.S. v. Aisenberg, 358 F.3d 1327 (11th

Cir. 2004). The opinion and order of the district court

granting Appellants a reasonable attorney’s fee and

ordering complete disclosure of the grand jury transcripts

(App. Vol. I, pg. 46-224) is reported as U.S. v. Aisenberg,

247 F. Supp. 2d 1272 (M.D. Fla. 2003).

4

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals (App. Vol. I, pg.

1-45) was entered on February 6, 2004, and a timely

petition for rehearing was denied on March 30, 2004. (App.

Vol. II, pg. 241) This Court’s jurisdiction rests on 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1).

¢

STATUTES AND RULES INVOLVED

Pub. L. No. 105-119, § 617, 111 Stat. 2440, 2519 (1997)

(reprinted in 18 U.S.C. § 3006A, historical and statutory

notes) provides that:

During fiscal year 1998 and in any fiscal year

thereafter, the court, in any criminal case (other

than a case in which the defendant is repre-

sented by assigned counsel paid for by the public)

pending on or after the date of the enactment of

this Act [Nov. 26, 1997], may award to a prevail-

ing party, other than the United States, a rea-

sonable attorney's fee and other litigation

expenses, where the court finds that the position

2

of the United States was vexatious, frivolous, or

in bad faith, unless the court finds that special

circumstances make such an award unjust. Such

awards shall be granted pursuant to the proce-

dures and limitations (but not the burden of

proof) provided for an award under section 2412

of Title 28, United States Code. To determine

whether or not to award fees and costs under this

section, the court, for good cause shown, may re-

ceive evidence ex parte and in camera (which

shall include the submission of classified evi-

dence or evidence that reveals or might reveal

the identity of an informant or undercover agent

or matters occurring before a grand jury) and

evidence or testimony so received shall be kept

under seal. Fees and other expenses awarded

under this provision to a party shall be paid by

the agency over which the party prevails from

any funds made available to the agency by ap-

propriation. No new appropriations shall be

made as a result of this provision.

Pertinent provisions of Federal Rule of Criminal

Procedure 6(d)(3)(C)(i)(1) state in pertinent part:

“Disclosure otherwise prohibited by this rule of

matters occurring before the grand jury may also

be made — (I) when so directed by a court pre-

liminarily to or in connection with a judicial pro-

ceeding.”

Section 2412 of United States Code, Title 28 is set

forth at pages 243-248 of Volume II of the appendix.

+

3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case involves the frivolous, vexatious and bad

faith investigation and prosecution of Steven and Marlene

Aisenberg. At approximately 6:30 a.m. on November 24,

1997, Steven and Marlene Aisenberg called 911 to report

their infant daughter Sabrina missing, after they woke up

and found her crib empty.

Almost immediately, a task force was organized to

investigate Sabrina’s disappearance. (hereinafter the

“Sabrina Task Force”). The Sabrina Task Force included

the Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office (HCSO), the

Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) and the Florida

Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE). The United

States Attorney’s Office for the Middle District of Florida

was made part of the investigation and began issuing

grand jury subpoenas on December 1, 1997.

The HCSO appointed two detectives to lead the

investigation, Linda Burton and William Blake. Within

hours of Sabrina’s disappearance, Detective Burton told

Marlene Aisenberg that she believed Marlene knew what

had happened to Sabrina. While the ostensible search for

Sabrina continued, the intent of Detective Burton and her

supervisors clearly had become to prove that Marlene and

Steven Aisenberg had either murdered or sold their baby.

The Aisenbergs cooperated with authorities from the

moment they called 911 and reported Sabrina missing.

They provided authorities with complete accessete their

home, answered all questions of investigators, and will-

ingly took police polygraph examinations. However, after

the investigators openly accused Marlene Aisenberg of

involvement in Sabrina’s disappearance a second time

4

during a second polygraph examination, the Aisenbergs

hired defense counsel.

After hiring counsel, the Aisenbergs continued to

cooperate with law enforcement, but counsel, out of concern

for the integrity of the investigation, demanded that all

further interviews be conducted in his presence and be

recorded so as to avoid any possible misinterpretation of the

Aisenbergs’ statements. Law enforcement rejected these

conditions.

The unique circumstances of Sabrina’s disappearance

and the public’s clamor in view of a missing child under-

standingly caused this matter to receive extensive media

coverage. The effect of the recent Susan Smith and Jon

Benet Ramsey cases only heightened the attention this

case received, in Tampa, Florida, nationally and interna-

tionally. The pressure on the law enforcement community

to solve the crime was great. With no apparent leads as to

who abducted Sabrina, law enforcement undertook a

media campaign to attack and vilify the Aisenbergs. This

campaign included leaking information about alleged

failed polygraph tests and grand jury appearance dates.

The latter leak allowed the media to observe the Aisen-

bergs entering and leaving the grand jury chamber and

commentators to opine and report that, given the brevity

of their appearance, the Aisenbergs likely invoked the

Fifth Amendment; a continuation of a calculated plan to

infect a trial jury.

In an effort to “prove” the Aisenbergs’ guilt, law

enforcement, with the concurrence of the lead prosecutor,

developed a plan to intercept oral communications of the

Aisenbergs from within their marital bedroom and home.

On December 12, 1997, authority for such intercepts was

5

obtained from a State circuit judge. Two extensions to the

order of interception were obtained. The electronic surveil-

lance was discontinued on March 2, 1998, after generating

79 days of surveillance and recording over 2,600 conversa-

tions.

From its inception, the electronic surveillance suffered

from systemic, technical problems of distortion, interfer-

ence, and mechanical noises. Very few conversations, and

none incriminating, could be heard during the electronic

surveillance. Beginning in mid-December 1997, several of

the recordings were sent to the FBI lab in Quantico,

Virginia for expedited enhancement. The federal prosecu-

tors later reported that the enhancement efforts had failed

to improve the audibility or clarity of the intercept re-

cordings.

During this same time, law enforcement began devel-.

oping a theory that the Aisenbergs had physically abused

Sabrina prior to her disappearance. To support this theory,

investigators calculatedly and selectively captured still

images from a home video of Sabrina taken the day before

her disappearance and provided voluntarily by Marlene

Aisenberg. These selected images were then presented to

the county child protection team for review. Law enforce-

ment agents also claimed to have identified witnesses who

observed that Sabrina’s hair had been violently pulled

from her head shortly before her disappéarance. This

information was presented in affidavits in support of the

ap lications for extension of electronic surveillance.

As later proven in court, and found by the district

court, the Sabrina Task Force willfully ignored substantial

evidence contrary to its theory. Task Force members knew

that none of the two dozen or so people who observed

6

Sabrina within days of her disappearance reported any

signs of abuse or anything unusual about Sabrina’s disap-

pearance or behavior. These observers included the Aisen-

bergs’ babysitter and a majority of Marlene Aisenberg’s

extended family who saw Sabrina at a birthday party the

afternoon before her disappearance. The Aisenbergs also

proved in an evidentiary hearing that the alleged “inju-

ries” to Sabrina as depicted on the home video still images

were shadows on Sabrina’s face, which appeared as she

turned her head away from the light source. Experts who

viewed the entire video and a group of sequential images

from the video saw no evidence of injury, only shadows.

Had investigators not purposefully selected and presented

unrepresentative stills to its experts, they likely would not

have obtained the opinion they did.

Notwithstanding the near complete inaudibility of

alleged incriminating conversations and a plethora of

evidence disproving the investigators’ claims of physical

abuse, the two electronic surveillance extension applica-

tions relied exclusively on those grounds as justification

for continuing the surveillance. For example, the sworn

application for the first extension of electronic surveil-

lance included only twelve summaries and transcripts of

intercepted conversations and a recitation of the alleged

evidence that Steven and/or Marlene Aisenberg had

previously abused Sabrina. The second extension applica-

tion contained only fourteen summaries and transcripts

to support the need for continued electronic surveillance.

As will be discussed infra, the court ultimately found the

submitted summaries and transcripts materially mislead-

ing.

Simultaneous to the above, the United States Attor-

ney’s Office was presenting this false and misleading

“evidence” to a grand jury. The federal prosecutors pro-

vided grand jurors with transcripts of recordings that they

knew were, and were proven to be, imaudible and unintel-

ligible. The prosecutors knew from witnesses that there

were no injuries to Sabrina. These same prosecutors forced

the Aisenbergs to appear before the grand jury with full

knowledge that the Aisenbergs would invoke their Fifth

Amendment privilege against self-incrimination so that

the grand jury could be poisoned by these acts and so that

leaks of information regarding the Aisenbergs’ appearance

could be broadcast along with the opinion of commentators

that the Aisenbergs had refused to talk. (Grand Jury

Testimony of Steven Aisenberg, App. Vol. II, pg. 249-261:

Grand Jury Testimony of Marlene Aisenberg, App. Vol. II,

pg. 262-276)

The government was able to compel the Aisenbergs to

appear before the grand jury by falsely representing to a

district judge who was hearing the Aisenbergs’ motion to

quash subpoena, that the Aisenbergs were merely “sub-

jects” of the investigation. We know this representation

was false because it was made after agents of the grand

jury had sworn, in support of applications for electronic

surveillance, that probable cause existed to believe that

the Aisenbergs had murdered or sold Sabrina. Had the

prosecutors properly identified the Aisenbergs as targets

of the grand jury, the Department of Justice’s guidelines

could have been used as a basis to quash the subpoenas.

Of course, had the subpoenas been quashed, the govern-

ment would have been deprived of the media circus sur-

rounding the Aisenbergs being called before the grand

jury, and deprived of the benefit of the prejudice that

inured to the Aisenbergs as a result of the public pro-

nouncement of their invocation of the Fifth Amendment.

-

8

Beginning in February 1998, the grand jury was

presented transcripts of conversations allegedly inter-

cepted during the electronic surveillance. (App. Vol. II, pg.

277-351) The prosecutors and investigators vouched for

their accuracy. Vouching for the accuracy of the transcripts

was necessary as the grand jurors were unable to hear

what was allegedly on the recordings and had to rely on

the investigators’ statements as to what the Aisenbergs

were saying. (App. Vol. II, pg. 336)

On September 9, 1999, an indictment was returned

alleging that the Aisenbergs conspired to violate and did

violate 18 U.S.C. §§ 1001 and 2 by, among other things,

making false statements to law enforcement respecting

Sabrina’s disappearance. According to the district court’s

opinion, the indictment “misleadingly projects an image of

parental disregard and disinterest in Sabrina’s medical

welfare” (App. Vol. I, pg. 51) and “contains a series of

allegations of dubious relevance, detached context, or

questionable veracity.” (App. Vol. I, pg. 54) In sum, the

“ndictment is unaccountably lengthy and replete with

matters that are (at best) mere surplusage and unneces-

sary to the essential purpose of an indictment.” (App. Vol.

I, pg. 53)

The tape recordings obtained during the electronic

surveillance were the “motive force and principal support”

for the United States’ case against the Aisenbergs. (App.

Vol. I, pg. 66) The United States consistently expressed its

reliance on the statements captured during the electronic

surveillance to the district judge, and approximately

twenty-four of the indictment’s fifty-nine overt acts were

derived specifically from intercepted communications.

Notwithstanding the United States’ heavy reliance on

these recordings for use before the grand jury and planned

9

use as the principal evidence against the Aisenbergs at

trial, the district judge would later state that, after re-

peated review of the recordings, he could hear none — that

is none — of the strongly inculpatory quotations attributed

to the Aisenbergs in the laundry list form indictment

featured in a national news conference covering the

announcement of the Aisenbergs’ arrest. (App. Vol. I, pg.

66)

The United States also intentionally prepared materi-

ally misleading transcripts of the intercepted conversa-

tions. During discovery, the magistrate judge ordered the

parties to exchange transcripts of conversations they

intended to introduce during their cases-in-chief at trial

and to attempt to arrive at a stipulated transcript.’ The

parties could not agree on any stipulated transcripts so

each submitted its own versions to the court. When the

district court compared the United States’ transcripts to

the audio recordings the United States intended to intro-

duce into evidence, it found the difference “shocking.”

(Order Respecting Audibility, App. Vol. II, pg. 225-240)

On October 16, 2000, the magistrate judge set a

Franks hearing to review thirteen (13) of the conversations

presented in the affidavits to extend the electronic surveil-

lance and on the allegations that Sabrina Aisenberg had

physical injuries which were readily apparent two days

before her disappearance. After ten days of testimony, the

magistrate judge issued a report and recommendation,

subsequently adopted by the district court, recommending

"The quality of the recordings was so poor that the Aisenbergs’

counsel could not locate many of the relevant conversations to prepare a

transcript until directed to a specific location on the actual audio tape

by the United States.

10

suppression of the electronic surveillance. (App. Vol. I, pg.

154-224) In his report and recommendation, the magis-

trate judge described the recordings, transcripts and

summaries as containing:

systemic, technical problems producing recordings

plagued by distortion, interference, and mechani-

cal noises; application transcripts that make no

sense; revised transcripts that continue to make

no sense; revised transcripts that contradict the

application transcripts in material respects; a

continual effort to amend transcripts (to purport-

edly improve them) up to and through the date of

this report; admissions, as evidenced by the gov-

ernment’s transcripts, that significant amounts

of particular conversations cannot be understood

or were not recorded (due to minimizations); and

the government’s tacit acknowledgment that cer-

tain recordings are so poor or so irrelevant it will

not offer them as evidence at trial.

(App. Vol. I, pg. 172-173) Shortly after the Report and

Recommendation was issued, the United States filed a

Request for Leave to File Dismissal, which was granted by

the court on February 22, 2001.

On March 26, 2001, the Aisenbergs filed a timely

Application for Fees and Costs Pursuant to the Hyde

Amendment, Section 617 of Public Law No. 105-119, 111

Stat. 2440, 2519 (1997). In support of their application,

the Aisenbergs identified numerous instances of frivo-

lous, vexatious and bad faith conduct by investigators

and prosecutors. This misconduct included: willful failure

to fairly investigate other leads and suspects; improper

and illegal leaks to the media; manipulation of evidence

concerning alleged injuries to Sabrina: misrepresentations

in the application for authorization to intercept oral

11

communications; manipulation and distortion of electroni-

cally intercepted conversations; and providing the federal

grand jury with false and misleading “evidence” concern-

ing the Aisenbergs.

The United States did not contest the application of

the Hyde Amendment. This was an unprecedented conces-

sion. Rather, as is discussed infra, it merely objected to the

manner in which the fee should be calculated.

Throughout the proceedings, the Aisenbergs sought

access to the grand jury minutes to show the level and

extent of the government misconduct in this matter. On or

about February 17, 2000, the Aisenbergs filed their Motion

for Production of Grand Jury Minutes and for Hearing to

Determine Whether to Dismiss Indictment for Investiga-

tive and Prosecutorial Misconduct. On or about July 29,

2002, in support of their Application for Fees and Costs

Pursuant to the Hyde Amendment, the Aisenbergs again

requested a copy of the grand jury minutes.

After the indictment against the Aisenbergs was

dismissed, the media sought access to the sealed recordings

created during the electronic surveillance. The media

sought the opportunity to hear for themselves the tape

recordings which had been the basis for the United States’

prosecution and had been totally discredited by the magis-

trate and district court judges. Originally, the United

States objected to such a disclosure because there was an

“ongoing” investigation into Sabrina’s disappearance. The

United States maintained this position until the district

court granted its request to present evidence of the ongo-

ing investigation in camera. Shortly thereafter, the United

States inexplicably withdrew its objection and agreed to

the release of the recorded conversations.

12

Although the United States had withdrawn its objec-

tion to release the Aisenbergs’ recorded conversations, it

continued to object to the release of the grand jury min-

utes on the basis of an ongoing criminal investigation. On

at least two occasions the district court asked the United

States to provide evidence that release of the grand jury

minutes would interfere in any manner with the alleged

investigation. The United States refused. The district

court thereafter issued its opinion awarding fees and

unsealing grand jury materials. (App. Vol. I, pg. 46-225)

That decision was later reversed by the Eleventh Circuit

Court of Appeals. (App. Vol. I, pg. 1-45)

¢

REASONS FOR GRANTING PETITION

I. Certiorari should be granted because the

United States Court of Appeals for the Elev-

enth Circuit has decided an important ques-

tion of federal law in a way which conflicts

with relevant decisions of this Court and other

Courts of Appeal and which undermines the

policies underlying a district court’s ability to

supervise its grand juries.

As noted elsewhere, for the first time in our nation’s

history, the United States conceded that one of its prosecu-

tions was brought in bad faith, frivolously, and/or vexa-

tiously. The misconduct forming the basis of that concession

occurred in the grand jury stage of this case. As chronicled

in the district court’s order, a federal grand jury was

manipulated into indicting the Aisenbergs through a

course of misconduct in which prosecutors and government

witnesses willfully presented the grand jury with false

evidence, suppressing known truths and creating an

13

illusion of culpability of the Aisenbergs, notwithstanding

the evidence. It was not altruism which motivated the

government to concede liability under Hyde. Rather, it was

recognized that the egregiousness of its misconduct before

the grand jury was indefensible and that its position

would only become more embarrassing and indefensible

once discovery proceedings began, if it contested the

applicability of the Hyde Amendment.

Prior to ordering disclosure of grand jury materials,

the district court performed the traditional analysis that

accompanies consideration of such disclosure. The district

court understood the need for secrecy of grand jury inves-

tigations so that the independence and fact-finding ability

of that body not be compromised. Its opinion fully consid-

ered the factors set out in Douglas Oil Company of Cali-

fornia v. Petrol Stops Northwest, 441 U.S. 211 (1979),

before concluding: “With only the most minimal and

inconsequential countervailing considerations, the Aisen-

bergs’ request (for grand jury disclosure) is reasonable and

fair.” 247 F. Supp.2d at 1322.

The district court noted an additional reason why

disclosure of the grand jury materials was appropriate: the

government’s concession of vexatious, frivolous or bad

faith conduct. This unprecedented concession, coupled

with the reality that millions of dollars in public funds

would be used to satisfy it created a factor and situation

never before encountered by a district court. The trial

court knew that under these special circumstances, strict

adherence to the Douglas Oil’ factors was not appropriate.

? The opinion of the Court of Appeals incorrectly characterizes the

Hyde Amendment as the “principal means” used by the district court to

justify grand jury disclosure. 358 F.3d at 1350. Indeed, the district court

(Continued on following page)

14

Precedents of this Court confirm the wisdom and result

reached by the district court on this issue.

Justice Brennan, dissenting in Pittsburgh Plate Glass

Co. v. U.S., 360 U.S. 395 (1959) observed:

Grand jury secrecy is maintained to serve par-

ticular ends. But when secrecy will not serve

those ends or when the advantages gained by se-

crecy are outweighed by a countervailing interest

in disclosure, secrecy may and should be lifted,

for to do so in such a circumstance would further

the fair administration of justice.

Pittsburgh Plate Glass Co., 360 U.S. at 403.

In U.S. v. Proctor & Gamble Co., 356 U.S. 677 (1958),

the Court stated that while rules of secrecy should ordi-

narily prevail, any justification for secrecy is lost if the

government abuses the process and subverts rules of fair

play and ethical conduct:

It is only when criminal procedure is subverted

that ‘good cause’ for wholesale discovery and pro-

duction of a grand jury transcript would be war-

ranted.

Proctor & Gamble Co., 356 U.S. at 684.

The district court understood that since there was no

active grand jury investigation of this matter, the ends of

justice required full exposure of the wrongful conduct

conceded by the government. This need to satisfy the ends

of justice and the public interest was recognized over sixty

considered all relevant factors before considering the added effect of the

government’s concession of liability under Hyde.

15

years ago in U.S. v. Socony-Vacuum Oil Co., 310 U.S. 150

(1940):

Grand jury testimony is ordinarily confiden-

tial.... But after the grand jury’s functions are

ended, disclosure is wholly proper where the

ends of justice require it.

Socony-Vacuum Oil Co., 310 U.S. at 233-34. See, also, U.S.

v. Sells Engineering, 463 U.S. 418, 445 (1983) (“Under the

particularized need standard, the district court may weigh

the public interest, if any, served by disclosure to a gov-

ernmental body.”) Viewing, then, all factors in the aggre-

gate, the district court concluded:

The United States should not ke entitled to

shield the pertinent history behind the cloak of

grand jury secrecy, especially in a case in which

the defendants seek disclosure, the evidence is

largely public, the grand jury’s session ended

months earlier, no trial will occur, and the matter

is essentially at a standstill. The only contrary

interest remaining is that of the United States,

which may want to avoid a full airing of the epi-

sode. That interest, unaccompanied by some

other material consideration, is without mean-

ingful weight.

United States v. Aisenberg, 247 F. Supp. 2d 1272, 1323

(M.D. Fla. 2003). ;

In addition to conflicting with decisions of this Court,

the Eleventh Circuit’s opinion also conflicts with other

* That fewer reasons for secrecy can be defended after the grand

jury has concluded its session was reaffirmed in Butterworth v. Smith,

494 U.S. 1376, 1381-82 (1990).

16

courts that permit disclosure of grand jury materials

where the public had the right to know the complete story

of events so as not to be manipulated or deceived by

dishonest acts of its ostensible public servants. The Dis-

trict of Columbia Circuit found disclosure of Rule 6(e)

materials appropriate in Jn re: North, 16 F.3d 1234 (D.C.

Cir. 1994), and again in In re: Espy, 259 F.3d 725 (D.C. Cir.

2001). In Espy, the Court released portions of the Inde-

pendent Counsel’s Report of investigation after consider-

ing criticisms that the report without the 6(e) material

“misleads the reader about certain facts in the ‘story’,

stating:

(T]hat the public interest in full disclosure of

that which has been partially or misleadingly

disclosed already weighs in favor of granting the

publication.

In re: Espy, 259 F.3d at 730."

In a Second Circuit case, Jn re: Biaggi, 478 F.2d 489,

494 (2d Cir. 1973), the Court identified the public’s right to

know the truth about a political candidate as a factor

favoring disclosure of the candidate’s testimony before the

grand jury. After it had been reported in the local press

that the candidate had invoked his Fifth Amendment

privilege in an appearance before the grand jury, the

‘In North, a factor favoring disclosure was that “leaks, and media

accounts were made without the right of reply by the subjects, were

partial, and were in the judgement of the Court more unfair to the

persons named than will be the present release of the completed Report

with the comments of the named persons and this Court’s express

repudiation of imprimatur.” North, 16 F.3d at 1241. The district court

below considered the effect of media leaks on the Aisenbergs. It was

factor (5) in that portion of the opinion authorizing disclosure of the

grand jury materials.

17

candidate denied the allegation and stated that he would

seek to have the records unsealed. As submitted to the

court, the candidate’s request to unseal his testimony was

untenable, and probably known to be so. At stake, then,

was the candidate’s ability to deceive the public as to the

true state of proceedings before the grand jury. In conclud-

ing that the public had the right to know the true facts

given the deception Biaggi had attempted to perpetuate,

the Court, through Chief Judge Friendly, found:

When Mr. Biaggi sought a full disclosure, al-

though with the names of other persons named

in the questions and answers unredacted, he

waived his rights to have the minutes remain se-

cret, and the public interest required that

the request be granted with proper protec-

tion to the persons named. (Emphasis added).

Id.

A similar result was obtained in Petition to Inspect

and Copy Grand Jury Materials (Hastings), 735 F.2d 1261

(11th Cir. 1984), where, to further the public’s interest in

an honest judiciary, a district court disclosed grand jury

materials to a judicial committee investigating a U.S.

District Judge who had been indicted for bribery and

acquitted. In affirming the lower court’s agreement for

access to these materials, the Eleventh Circuit held:

A careful evaluation of these competing con-

cerns leads this Court to the inescapable conclu-

sion that the minimal trespass upon the

traditional values associated with grand jury

confidentiality is significantly outweighed by

the need of the Special Committee to examine

the grand jury material and expeditiously exe-

cute its Congressional duty, thereby furthering

18

the broad purposes of the (Judicial Councils Re-

form and Judicial Conduct and Disability) Act.

Id. at 1268.

It must be kept in mind that the purpose of this

requested disclosure is to reveal the misconduct of federal

agents, prosecutors and police detectives in their framing

of two innocent citizens for a serious crime. The right of

the citizenry to be informed of such matters is compelling,

and the concomitant need to deter future misdeeds by

government officials compels the need for disclosure of

grand jury materials here. The district court’s opinion

specifically noted:

The insulation of misdirected or overzealous

prosecutorial exertions from public scrutiny

forms no part of the justification for grand jury

secrecy. The public is entitled to know.

Aisenberg, 247 F. Supp. 2d at 1324.

In Butterworth v. Smith, 494 U.S. 624, 632 (1990), this

court recognized the public’s enhanced right to information

“related to alleged governmental misconduct.” This factor

is considered in the district court’s opinion, yet never

mentioned by the Eleventh Circuit.

The Aisenbergs also have a right to this information

because it not only is needed in their pending civil rights

case (Aisenberg v. Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office,

®° The need to “set the record straight” is especially high here, given

pervasive government leaks suggesting the guilt of the Aisenbergs, the

government's nationally televised press conference trumpeting their

indictment, and the indictment itself, released to the press, which

painstakingly details all alleged inculpatory statements of the Aisen-

bergs among its overt acts.

19

et al., 8:03-cv-2063-T-23EAJ (M.D. Fla.)) against those

responsible for their prosecution, but also because its

disclosure will demonstrate their innocence. Speaking to

this issue in North, the Court of Appeals found:

[W]e do think that the reality of the partial pub-

lic knowledge of the information in the Report

weighs strongly in releasing the whole. Particu-

larly is this true, as some movants and some

commentators want the Report released because

in their view the Report would support a conclu-

sion that they had engaged in no wrongdoing. We

therefore weigh this factor in favor of release.

In re: North, 16 F.3d at 1241.

The Eleventh Circuit takes an overly narrow view of

the authority of a district court to grant the relief it did.

The appellate court completely failed to recognize the

inherent power of a district court, outside of Rule 6(e), As

explained in Pittsburgh Plate Glass:

The federal trial courts as well as the Courts of

Appeal have been nearly unanimous in regarding

disclosure as committed to the discretion of the

trial judge. Our cases announce the same princi-

ple, and Rule 6(e) is but declaratory of it.

Pittsburgh Plate Glass, 360 U.S. at 399.

Even prior opinions of the Eleventh Circuit recognize

the inherent authority of district courts to order the

disclosure outside of Rule 6(e). Twenty years ago, after

recognizing the above cited rule from Pittsburgh Plate

Glass, the Eleventh Circuit held:

This concept (inherent authority to release grand

jury materials), to be sure, provides little guid-

ance as to when.a court is free to go beyond the

20

rule; still, it is certain that a court’s power to or-

der disclosure of grand jury records is not strictly

confined to instances spelled out in the rule. Rule

6(e), which was not intended to create new law,

remains subject to the law or traditional policies

that gave it birth.

Hastings, 735 F.2d at 1268.

Of course, those “traditional policies” to which the

Hastings Court referred are those which permit grand jury

disclosure to further the ends of justice, to reveal govern-

mental misconduct, to provide the public with true ver-

sions of events within its interest and to promote the truth

independent of Rule 6(e).

Another important factor is the extent to which the

requested information has already been made public. In

re: Craig, 131 F.3d 99, 107 (2d Cir. 1997); In re: North,

supra, 16 F.3d at 1244-45. The Eleventh Circuit opinion

outlined various items of information already made public

before concluding that the matter has been sufficiently

aired and no further disclosure is necessary. The appellate

court’s analysis falls far short. Although much information

is known, the district court determined that what remains

sealed must be disclosed so important features of this case

are explained. The district court posed several questions

that the public and Aisenbergs have the right to have

answered, yet which cannot be answered based upon the

limited disclosure made to date. The open questions

identified by the district court include:

® See, 358 F.3d 1350 at n.35 (listing disclosed information) and 358

F.3d at 1352 wherein the court concluded that the conduct of the

prosecution has been sufficiently made public © so that the public can

know about this misdirected prosecution.”

21

[W]hether the Aisenbergs were merely “subjects”

of the grand jury when the United States issued

a subpoena for their appearance, whether the

examination of the Aisenbergs before the grand

jury served a bona fide investigative purpose,

rather than another prosecutorial purpose,

whether the recordings from the Aisenbergs’

home were presented fairly, whether the testi-

mony established probable cause for the indict-

ment, and whether the proceedings otherwise

were in accord with established law, Department

of Justice policy, and other pertinent guides.

Aisenberg, 247 F. Supp. 2d at 1324. The Eleventh Circu't’s

opinion avoids discussion of the information required to

answer these questions.

The Eleventh Circuit also misapplied the standard of

what information should be disclosed to the Aisenbergs in

connection with their civil rights lawsuit against those

responsible for their illegal prosecution, a lawsuit which

has at its heart the events which took place before the

grand jury. The Eleventh Circuit merely concluded the

Aisenbergs already have a “wealth of evidence about the

government’s conduct.” United States v. Aisenberg, 358

F.3d 1327, 1350-51, and that no further disclosure is

required. This is error.

Disclosure of grand jury materials for use in a civil

lawsuit is plainly permitted under Rule 6(e)(3)(C)(i) where

the requested materials are necessary and “preliminary to

or in connection with a judicial proceeding” (the pending

civil lawsuit). United States v. Baggot, 463 U.S. 476, 480

(1983). In Douglas Oil, 441 U.S. at 223, this Court in-

structed lower courts to weigh carefully the competing

interests involving disclosure in light of all relevant

22

circumstances and standards announced by this Court

The Court cited Dennis v. U.S., 384 U.S. 855, 872 (1966)

for the proposition that disclosure of grand jury minutes is

appropriate where the movants show “it to be likely that

the witnesses’ testimony at trial was inconsistent with

their prior grand jury testimony.” The Proctor & Gamble

Court also stated that:

[T]he typical showing of particularized need

arises when a litigant seeks to use the grand jury

transcript at trial te impeach a witness, to re-

fresh his recollection, to test his credibility, and

the like.

Proctor & Gamble, 356 U.S. at 683. See, also, In re: Screw

Antitrust Litigation, 91 F.R.D. 47, 49-50 (D.Mass., 1941)

(recognizing increased need for disclosure of grand jury

materials when necessary to equalize access to relevant

facts which each side possesses.)

Receipt of remaining undisclosed information from the

grand jury proceeding is essential to the Aisenbergs for

their pending civil matter. Only the government (and the

district court) know what occurred within the grand jury;

we do not. The government prosecutors and agents, when

deposed or testifying, or even replying to routine civil

discovery, have the great advantage of knowing what

occurred and knowing that their answers will never be

tested against what will remain secret under the Eleventh

Circuit’s decision to keep the grand jury proceedings

sealed. It is known from the Aisenberg criminal case that

the defendant prosecutors lied to the court about matters

ranging from the validity of proffered transcripts to the

integrity of the investigation. We know too from the

criminal case that the police officers being sued lied

repeatedly in affidavits for electronic surveillance, in their

23

testimony to the grand jury (suborned by the prosecutors),

and in weekly reports to the judge supervising the oral

intercept from within the Aisenbergs’ marital bedroom and

home. These falsehoods are well documented in the dis-

trict court’s opinion.

To permit the grand jury materials to remain sealed in

this case is contrary to the concept of justice, as prosecu-

tors will know, from this point forward, that they can

continue to abuse the grand jury process and the rights of

others with impunity and without any fear of being held

accountable for their misconduct. If such rule applies to

this case, given the egregious facts and the government’s

unprecedented concession of bad faith liability, then it will

be argued and probably accepted that there should be no

grand jury disclosure in any case.

II. Certiorari should be granted because the

United States Court of Appeals for the Elev-

enth Circuit has decided an important ques-

tion of federal law in a way which conflicts

with relevant decisions of this Court.

The United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh

Circuit improperly held that the Hyde Amendment re-

stricts the ability of district courts to sanction governmen-

tal bad faith conduct in federal criminal prosecutions by

limiting the award of attorneys fees to $125 per hour.

United States v. Aisenberg, 358 F.3d 1327, 1342 (11th Cir.

2004). This interpretation flies in the face of this Court’s

precedents establishing the inherent common law power of

district courts to sanction bad faith litigation by awarding

reasonable attorney fees based on the lodestar approach of

reasonable hourly rates multiplied by reasonable hours

worked. This power is essential to the functioning of the

24

district court as it deters litigants from engaging in

inappropriate, unethical conduct. By its ruling, the Elev-

enth Circuit has removed the district court’s power to

exercise this authority to deter bad faith governmental

misconduct. Such a ruling cannot stand because it detracts

from the traditional powers of the court and deprives a

court of its historical ability to regulate the conduct of

those who practice before it.

The Hyde Amendment, 18 U.S.C. §3006A note,

“prescribes an ‘award to a prevailing party’ of ‘a reasonable

attorneys fee and other litigation expenses’ after an

unsuccessful criminal prosecution that the court finds

‘vexatious, frivolous, or in bad faith.’” United States v.

Aisenberg, 247 F.Supp.2d 1272, 1288 (M.D. Fla. 2003). The

Hyde Amendment then provides that its statutory award

of a “reasonable attorney’s fee” “shall be granted pursuant

to the procedures and limitations (but not the burden of

proof) provided for an award under Section 2412 of Title

28, United States Code”, which is the Equal Access to

Justice Act (EAJA). The Hyde Amendment does not define

the particular “procedures and limitations” of EAJA under

which its fee awards shall be made.

EAJA permits attorney fee awards of two differing

amounts. Section 2412(b) permits district courts to order

the United States to pay an uncapped reasonable attor-

ney’s fee “to the same extent that any other party would be

liable under the common law or under the terms of any

statute which specifically provides for such an award.” On

the other hand, Section 2412(d) “mandates a (capped) fee

award [of $125 per hour] to the prevailing party who sues

the government if the government’s position was not

substantially justified.” Newmark v. Principi, 283 F.3d

172, 177 (3d Cir. 2002) (emphasis in original).

25

Comp..ring Sections 2412(b) and 2412(d), the Elev-

enth Circuit held that “only § 2412(d) contains any proce-

dures and limitations for an award of attorney’s fees under

the EAJA.” Aisenberg, 358 F.3d at 1339. The Eleventh

Circuit noted three procedures and limitations under

Section 2412(d):

(1) that a party must file for an award of attor-

ney’s fees within thirty days of final judgment,

§ 2412(d)(1)(B); (2) that “attorney fees shall not

be awarded in excess of $125 per hour unless the

court determines that... a special factor, such as

the limited availability of qualified attorneys for

the proceedings involved, justifies a higher fee”,

§ 2412(d)(2)(A)(ii); and (3) that an individual may

not recover attorney’s fees if his net worth ex-

ceeds $2,000,000 at the time the civil action was

filed, nor may the owner of a business whose net

worth exceeds $7,000,000 and had more than 500

employees at the time the civil action was filed,

§2412(d)(2)(B).

Id. The Eleventh Circuit concluded that “Section 2412(d)

provides procedures and limitations to fee awards under

the EAJA, but § 2412(b) provides none.” Jd. at 1340.

Accordingly, the Eleventh Circuit held “that the Hyde

Amendment incorporates all of the procedures and limita-

tions in § 2412(d) and does not incorporate § 2412(b).” Id.

at 1342.

The Eleventh Circuit erred in concluding that Section

2412(b) is unavailable to district courts in order to sanc-

tion governmental misconduct in cases involving bad faith.

Section 2412(b) does contain limitations before fee awards

can be made. These include (1) the common law limit of

26

sanctioning a litigant’s bad faith conduct,’ as recognized by

this Court in such cases as FD. Rich Co., Inc. v. United

States ex rel. Industrial Lumber Company, Inc., 417 U.S.

116, 129-30 (1974); Alyeska Pipeline Service Co. v. Wilder-

ness Society, 421 U.S. 240, 258-59 (1975); Hutto v. Finney,

437 U.S. 678, 690 n. 14 (1978), and Chambers v. NASCO,

Inc., 501 U.S. 32, 45 (1991) and (2) the requirement

awards under § 2412(b) be “reasonable” The lodes*ar

method is used to determine reasonable fees based on “the

number of hours reasonably expended on the litigation

multiplied by a reasonable hourly rate.” Hensley v. Ecker-

hart, 461 U.S. 424, 433 (1983). Plainly, then, Section

2412(b) provides both procedures and limitations for fee

awards as sanctions for bad faith litigation.

The Eleventh Circuit was equally wrong in deciding

that because the Hyde Amendment incorporates the

qualification requirements of Section 2412(d) it did not

incorporate that part of Section 2412(b) authorizing

district courts to use their inherent common law power to

sanction bad faith litigation by a party, here the United

States. The requirements of Section 2412(b) are not

mutually exclusive to those of Section 2412(d). That is why

the Hyde Amendment refers to the procedures and limita-

tions of Section 2412 generally rather than § 2412(b) or

’ Rehabilitation Association of Virginia, Inc. v. Metcalf, 8 F.Supp.2d

520, 525 (F.D. Va. 1998) (“The second sentence of Section 2412(b) serves

as a limitation on the first sentence, such that Section 2412(b) author-

izes an award of fees only ‘to the same extent that any other party

would be liable under the common law or under the terms of any

statute which specifically provides for such an award’”).

® Under the common law, bad faith fee awards must be reasonable.

Vaughan v. Atkinson, 369 U.S. 527, 531 n.3 (1962) and Rolax v. Atlantic

Coast Line R. Co., 186 F.2d 473, 481 (4th Cir. 1951), both of which this

court cited in FD. Rich Co., Inc. v. United States ex rel. Industrial

Lumber Company, Inc., 417 U.S. 116, 129 n. 17 (1974.)

27

§ 2412(d). Merely because the filing and net worth re-

quirements of Section 2412(d) must be met for all Hyde

Amendment awards does not mean that uncapped reason-

able fee awards cannot be made under Section 2412(b) as a

sanction for bad faith litigation.

This Court repeatedly has held that district courts

possess an inherent common law power to “assess attor-

ney’s fees when a party has ‘acted in bad faith, vexa-

tiously, wantonly, or for oppressive reasons.’” Chambers v.

NASCO, Inc., 501 U.S. at 45-46, quoting Alyeska Pipeline,

421 U.S. at 258-59. Section 2412(b) merely permits this

inherent power to be applied against the United States in

a criminal case, just as against any other litigant guilty of

bad faith conduct. By referring to the procedures and

limitations of Section 2412 generally, rather than only to

those contained in Section 2412(d), Congress authorized

district courts to exercise this inherent power to police

themselves by “mak[ing] the prevailing party whole for

expenses caused by his opponent’s obstinacy.” Chambers,

501 U.S. at 46, quoting Hutto, 437 U.S. at 689 n. 14.

Although the Eleventh Circuit never recognized this

issfie, its interpretation creates an unnecessary separation

of powers problem. Under this Court’s longstanding

precedent, district courts possess the inherent power to

sanction bad faith conduct through awards of reasonable

uncapped attorney fees. Chambers, 501 U.S. at 46 (as-

sessment of reasonable attorney fees as sanction for bad

faith conduct based on “a court’s inherent power to police

itself”); Alyeska Pipeline, 421 U.S. at 259 (assessment of

reasonable attorney fees as sanction for bad faith conduct

based on “assertions of inherent power in the courts”). Yet,

under the Eleventh Circuit’s interpretation, the inherent

power of district courts to control the conduct of litigants

28

before it by awarding reasonable attorney fees as a sanc-

tion for bad faith conduct would be drastically limited as

the maximum available sanction is reduced to $125 per

hour. Just as this Court held in Chambers that the various

sanctioning provisions of the Federal Rules of Civil Proce-

dure do not “displace[] the inherent power to impose

sanctions for ... bad-faith conduct”, so too should this

Court hold that the Hyde Amendment does not reduce the

inherent power of district courts to sanction bad faith

conduct by the Government in criminal cases by awarding

reasonable uncapped attorney fees as sanctions.

The Eleventh Circuit’s conclusion that “the Hyde

Amendment incorporates all of the procedures and limita-

tions in § 2412(d)” is also wrong because the payment

provisions of § 2412(d)(1)(D) for EAJA awards fundamen-

tally conflict with the payment provisions of the Hyde

Amendment. The last sentence of Section 2412(d)(1)(D)

provides that “[flees and expenses awarded under this

paragraph shall be paid only as a consequence of appro-

priations provided in advance.” This provision “limits

awards to circumstances in which a congressional appro-

priation has been ‘provided in advance’, i.e., Congress has

created a designated fund for payment.” Aisenberg, 247

F.Supp.2d at 1294. On the other hand, the last two sen-

tences of the Hyde Amendment contains a precisely

contrary direction concerning payment:

Fees and other expenses awarded under this

provision to a party shall be paid by the agency

over which the party prevails from any funds

made available to the agency by appropriation.

No new appropriations shall be made as a result

of this provision.

eT Mai MOA Lah ' Daln 4 Xd

29

Id. Put another way, Section 2412(d)(1)(D) of the EAJA

“permits payment of fees and costs only if the agency is

financially prepared by the mechanism of an anticipatory

appropriation”, while “[o]n the other hand, Hyde Amend-

ment payments are intended to resonate within the

affected agency by denting the, money available for the

agency's other activities — without the prospect of reim-

bursement.” Id.°

Obviously the procedures and limitations of Section

2412(d)(1)(D)’s payment provisions cannot simply be

incorporated into the Hyde Amendment because to do so

would “utterly neutralize[] the Hyde Amendment’s prohi-

bition against a compensating appropriation to counter the

budgetary effect of Hyde Amendment assessments.... ”

Id. Therefore, the Eleventh Circuit’s conclusion that the

Hyde Amendment incorporates all of the procedures and

limitations of § 2412(d) cannot be correct. Rather, the

accurate conclusion is that “Congress intended to incorpo-

rate those provisions [of Section 2412(d)] consistent with

and useful to the heartland provisions of the primary

statute.” Id. at 1295. Accordingly, the availability of

reasonable uncapped attorney fees under § 2412(b) is

properly incorporated into the Hyde Amendment, as well

as the eligibility requirements contained in § 2412(d).

This Court must reverse and correct the Eleventh

Circuit’s erroneous interpretation of the Hyde Amend-

ment, and restore the district courts’ ability to sanction the

government through the imposition of reasonable fees, in

* This clear difference is because the Hyde Amendment has a clear

deterrent purpose which the EAJA lacks. ~

30

those few, egregious cases of governmental misconduct

such as was conceded present here.

Respectfully submitted,

BarrRY A. COHEN

TODD FOSTER

COHEN, JAYSON & FOSTER, P.A.

201 East Kennedy Boulevard

Suite 1000

Tampa, Florida 33602

(813) 225-1655 Fax (813) 225-1921

Attorneys for Petitioners Steven B. Aisenberg and

Marlene J. Aisenberg

App. 1

358 F.3d 1327

United States Court of Appeals,

Eleventh Circuit.

UNITED STATES of America, Plantiff-Appellant,

v.

Steven B. AISENBERG, Marlene J. Aisenberg,

Defendants-Appellees.

No. 03-10857.

Feb. 6, 2004.

Elizabeth D. Collery, Washington, DC, Tamra Phipps,

Tampa, FL, for Plaintiff-Appellant.

Steven P. Ragland, Michael E. Tigar, Annapolis, MD,

Barry A. Cohen, Todd Foster, Law Firm of Barry A. Cohen,

Tampa, FL, for Defendants-Appellees.

James B. Lake, Gregg D. Thomas, Rachel Elise

Fugate, Holland & Knight, LLP, Tampa, FL, for Tampa

Tribune, WFLA-TV and The Miami Herald, Amici Curiae.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Middle District of Florida.

Before BLACK, HULL and COX, Circuit Judges.

HULL, Circuit Judge:

The government appeals the district court’s order

granting: (1) attorney's fees in the amount of $2,680,602.22

under the Hyde Amendment for the bad faith prosecution of

Steven and Marlene Aisenberg in connection with the

disappearance of their daughter Sabrina, and (2) the whole-

sale disclosure of all grand jury transcripts. After review,

we reverse and reduce the attorney's fee award to

App. 2

$1,298,980.00. We also vacate the ordered disclosure of all

grand jury transcripts.

I. FACTUAL BACKGROUND

Because this case has an extensive procedural history,

we first outline the events leading to the wiretapping of

the Aisenbergs’ home in 1997 and 1998, the indictment of

the Aisenbergs in 1999, the dismissal of that indictment in

2001, and the award of attorney’s fees and wholesale

disclosure of all grand jury transcripts in 2003.

A. Missing Child Investigation

During the early morning of November 27, 1997,

Marlene Aisenberg placed a call to “911” to report the

disappearance of her five-month-old daughter, Sabrina

Aisenberg. Law enforcement officials conducted an intense

and exhaustive search for the child, which was ultimately

unsuccessful. The child remains missing to this day.

Throughout their interactions with the Aisenbergs

and after making no headway in their recovery efforts, law

enforcement officials developed suspicions directed at the

Aisenbergs. On December 12, 1997, sixteen days after the

child’s disappearance, the county sheriff’s office success-

fully applied to the state circuit court for authorization to

intercept oral and telephonic communications in the

Aisenbergs’ home.

The December 12, 1997, application for electronic

surveillance was supported by an affidavit signed jointly

by detectives Linda Sue Burton and William Blake of the

county sheriff’s office. The affiants claimed that probable

cause existed to believe that the Aisenbergs murdered or

App. 3

sold their child based on certain facts.’ The state circuit

court authorized the wiretap, and on December 13, 1997,

law enforcement officials placed electronic interception

devices in the Aisenbergs’ home.

On January 9, 1998, and again on February 6, 1998,

the county sheriff’s office applied for extensions of the

wiretapping authority, relying on: (1) transcripts of the

Aisenbergs’ conversations obtained during the December

1997 wiretaps; (2) a pediatrician’s opinion that pictures of

the child indicated that hair had been pulled out of the left

side of the baby’s head and the area around the left eye

was bruised; and (3) statements by the hair dresser of the

Aisenbergs’ children that she noticed hair missing from

the child’s head. The state circuit court granted the extension

applications, and the wiretapping continued until March 2,

1998, resulting in seventy-nine days of surveillance and

including 2,600 conversations recorded on fifty-five audio

recordings. As discussed later, the magistrate judge ulti-

mately found that the Aisenbergs’ conversations intercepted

from the December 1997 wiretaps were largely unintelligible

and that the pediatrician’s and the hairdresser’s statements

" Some of the facts alleged were that: (1) Marlene Aisenberg

sounded hysterical in her initial “911” missing-child report, but while

her husband spoke to the “911” operator, she spoke calmly to an

unknown party on another telephone; (2) there was not enough food or

diapers in their home to maintain the well-being of a five-month-old

child for one day; (3) during the county detectives’ third interview of

Marlene Aisenberg, she made statements and gestures indicating that

she knew the person who took the child and that the child was being

taken care of; and (4) the county detectives’ telephonic interview with

an FBI special agent regarding a study indicating that in 91.67% of

P cases where the last location of a child under age one is the victim’s

home, the child was killed in the home by a caregiver.

Bee. kas

Gk he ERE 887 Agi e' aia is Be

ete

App. 4

in the extension applications were misquoted or taken out

of context.

B. Indictment and Arrest

On January 30, 1998, the United States served the

Aisenbergs with subpoenas to appear before the grand

jury. The Aisenbergs communicated their unequivocal

intent to invoke the Fifth Amendment before the grand

jury and so advised the government through correspon-

dence and a hearing before the district court. The govern-

ment insisted that the Aisenbergs still appear. On

February 11, 1998, the Aisenbergs appeared before the

grand jury, invoked their Fifth Amendment rights, and

refused to answer most questions.

On September 9, 1999, a federal grand jury returned a

seven-count indictment against the Aisenbergs.’ The

indictment charged the Aisenbergs with one count of

conspiracy to make false statements of material facts to

law enforcement officials, in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 37],

and with six counts of making false statements of material

facts to law enforcement officials during the initial missing

child report and during the subsequent investigation, in

violation of 18 U.S.C. §§ 1001 and 1002. On the same day,

the Aisenbergs were arrested in Maryland, where they had

moved.

The Aisenbergs appeared at an initial hearing at

which the government urged the magistrate judge (1) to

require the Aisenbergs to submit to urinalysis and (2) to

2 The 1999 indictment was returned approximately twenty-one

months after Sabrina’s disappearance in late 1997 and eighteen months

after the termination of the wiretapping in early 1998.

lll —

PN ARE EO LABOR AE Pop Stl IES 0

og cite in ae

App. 5

require investigation by a social services professional to

protect the Aisenbergs’ other two children. During that

hearing, an Assistant United States Attorney asserted

that the government had in its possession a taped state-

ment in which Steven Aisenberg stated, “I wish I hadn’t

harmed her. It was the cocaine.” The government also

claimed to have in its possession taped statements indicat-

ing that the Aisenbergs were “drugged.” As will be dis-

cussed later, the district court ultimately determined that

the recordings purportedly containing these alleged

statements were “largely inaudible” and the magistrate

judge found them “unintelligible.”

C. Motion to Suppress

On February 17, 2000, the Aisenbergs filed a motion

to suppress the audio recordings of their home and the

related transcripts. The Aisenbergs’ motion claimed that

the county detectives’ affidavits, supporting the wiretap

applications, contained false statements, that without

these statements there was no probable cause for the

wiretaps, and that the audio recordings of their home

must be suppressed. The Aisenbergs also requested an

* Shortly after the indictment, the government moved to disqualify

the Aisenbergs’ defense counsel and to compel retention of separate,

independent counsel. The government argued that defense counsel had

a conflict of interest in representing both Aisenbergs. In denying the

motion, the magistrate judge stressed, inter alia, that the Aisenbergs

had made a knowing and intelligent waiver of conflict-free representa-

tion, that the government had not shown that an actual or serious

potential conflict existed by the joint representation, that the govern-

ment had not shown that it was likely that one defendant would testify

against the other, and that the prejudice caused by disqualifying

defense counsel outweighed the government’s perceived concerns. The

government did not appeal this determination.

App. 6

evidentiary hearing based on Franks v. Delaware, 438 US.

154, 98 S.Ct. 2674, 57 L.Ed.2d 667 (1978).*

During December 2000 the magistrate judge con-

ducted a Franks evidentiary hearing, which involved ten

days of testimony from forty witnesses and over one

hundred exhibits, primarily from the government's inves-

tigative files. On February 14, 2001, the magistrate judge

issued a comprehensive report recommending that the

district court suppress all audio recordings from the

wiretaps of the Aisenbergs’ home. United States v. Alsen-

berg, 247 FSupp.2d 1272, 1324-57 (M.D.Fla.2003).°

In his report, the magistrate judge made extensive

fact findings based on the voluminous evidence during the

Franks hearing.® For example, the magistrate judge found:

(1) that in the initial wiretap application, the county

detectives not only made false statements, but also omit-

ted material facts regarding the Aisenbergs’ initial missing

child report; (2) that in the initial wiretap application, the

county detectives’ statement that Marlene Aisenberg was

‘In Franks, the Supreme Court held that where a defendant

makes a substantial preliminary showing that a false statement

knowingly and intentionally, or with reckless disregard for the truth,

was included by an affiant in a search warrant affidavit, and if the

allegedly false statement was necessary to the finding of probable

cause, the Fourth Amendment requires that a hearing be held at the

defendant’s request to determine admissibility of the fruits of the

search. 438 U.S. at 171-72, 98 S.Ct. at 2684-85.

> Although the magistrate judge’s report was filed on February 14,

2001, the district court later published the magistrate judge’s report as

an attachment to its January 31, 2003, order awarding attorney’s fees

under the Hyde Amendment. Thus, we cite to the now published

magistrate judge’s report.

® In addition to over one hundred exhibits, there are ten volumes of

transcripts from the Franks hearing, which cover 2,585 pages.

SG io eens m

iin h aniline. et ee Baap

App. 7

“calm” and “collected” was made with reckless disregard

for the truth; (3) that the county detectives failed to inform

the state circuit court that they knew several people who

had seen the child the day before the missing report but

had not yet interviewed them; (4) that the county detec-

tives failed to inform the state circuit court that they were

still awaiting the financial analysis of the couple and the

crime lab’s processing of the evidence; (5) that in their

extension applications, the county detectives reported

conversations that no reasonably prudent listener could

hear from the tapes, that the county detectives quoted

conversations that do not even appear at all in the support-

ing transcripts of the tapes or do not appear in the manner

described, and that the county detectives deliberately or with

reckless disregard summarized conversations out of context;’

(6) that after redacting the unintelligible conversations in

the recordings, the county detectives’ applications for wiretap

extensions did not support probable cause to believe that the

Aisenbergs committed murder;’ (7) that the Aisenbergs’

"In his report, the magistrate judge described the wiretap

application process in great detail and outlined how errors occurred in

the wiretap extension applications, in the handwritten summaries of

those tapes, and later in the more formal transcripts of those tapes.

Aisenberg, 247 F.Supp.2d at 1325-27.

* During the Franks evidentiary hearing, the Aisenbergs’ expert,

Bruce E. Koenig, testified that all the wiretaps had problems. Koenig

previously served as the Special Agent Supervisor in the FBI’s engi-

neering section and received a bachelor of science from the University

of Maryland and a master’s degree in forensic science from George

Washington University, as well as completing graduate level courses at

George Mason University, University of Utah, and Massachusetts

Institute of Technology, and electronic courses at DeVry Institute of

Technology in Chicago. According to Koenig, the intercept system

introduced extraneous sounds such as ringing phones, hissing, and

humming; this noise directly impacted the ability to understand the

recorded speech; and distortion, caused by microphones picking up the

(Continued on following page)

App. 8

intercepted communications were unrelated to offenses

included in permissible wiretaps under Florida’s wiretap

scheme, and thus should be suppressed; (8) that during

the wiretaps, law enforcement officials failed to minimize

the recordings of conversations not otherwise subject to

the interception authorization, as required by Florida

Statute § 934.09(5) (1997); and (9) that: the county detec-

tives had not met the elements of Florida Statute

§ 934.09(1)(c) (1997), requiring that they demonstrate that

they had tried other reasonable investigative procedures

before applying for electronic surveillance. Aisenberg, 247

F.Supp.2d at 1331-57.

After the magistrate judge’s report of February 14,

2001, the district court never ruled on the Aisenbergs’

motion to suppress because the United States Attorney’s

Office promptly moved for leave to dismiss the indictment

against the Aisenbergs. On February 22, 2001, the district

court dismissed the indictment.”

speakers’ voices from too great a distance, added to the unintelligibility.

The qualifications of the government’s expert, Anthony Pellicano,

starkly contrasted with Koenig’s. Pellicano received his high school

equivalency while serving in the military and never obtained advanced

schooling. Although Pellicano stated that he was able to hear the

Aisenbergs’ conversations set out in the county detectives’ applications,

Koenig, the district court, and the magistrate judge could not.

° In addition to filing a motion to suppress, the Aisenbergs also filed

a motion for an audibility hearing challenging the accuracy of the

transcripts of the tapes that the government sought to use at trial. On

April 17, 2000, the government requested a delay of the audibility

hearing until trial, or alternatively for each party to submit separately

prepared transcripts to the jury without any audibility hearing. The

government later obtained other delays of the audibility hearing before

the district court. Although the district court entered a November 9,

2000, order noting that the quality of the audio recordings was “generally

poor,” the actual audibility hearing before the district court never

(Continued on following page)

a Caaernatcd Syrah tel, ae ee

App. 9

D. Atsenbergs’ Application under Hyde Amendment

Qn March 26, 2001, the Aisenbergs moved for an

award under the Hyde Amendment, which provides that

the court may award attorney’s fees and other litigation

expenses if the “court finds that the position of the United

States was vexatious, frivolous, or in bad faith.” Pub. L.

No. 105-119, § 617, 111 Stat. 2440, 2519 (1997) (reprinted

in 18 U.S.C. § 3006A, historical and statutory notes). In

response, the government conceded that an award of fees

and litigation expenses was appropriate under the Hyde

Amendment, but disputed the amount of fees owed.

At the government’s request, the district court ordered

that the parties participate in mediation. The mediator

issued a June 13, 2002, report stating that “the parties

have reached an impasse.” The parties then presented

their Hyde Amendment arguments to the district court

over a four-day hearing during October 2002.

On January 31, 2003, the district court awarded the

Aisenbergs $2,680,602.22 in attorney’s tees and $195,670.32

in litigation expenses under the Hyde Amendment. Although

the government had conceded the applicability of the Hyde

Amendment, the district court’s order recounted at great

occurred because on February 14, 2001, the magistrate judge recom-

raended that the district court grant the Aisenbergs’ motion to suppress,

and the government then dismissed the indictment on February 22,

2001.

'° “The Hyde Amendment was enacted as part of P.L. 105-119, the

... Commerce, Justice, and State, the Judiciary, and Related Agencies

Appropriations Act of 1998, and is found as a statutory note to 18

U.S.C. § 3006A.” United States v. Gilbert, 198 F.3d 1293, 1298 (11th

Cir.1999).

App. 10

length the events evincing the government’s bad faith

prosecution of the Aisenbergs. Aisenberg, 247 F.Supp.2d at

1275-87."

In the district court, the government emphasized that

the Hyde Amendment subjects awards to “the procedures

and limitations” provided for under 28 U.S.C. § 2412,

which, the government pointed out, includes a $125 hourly

limitation on attorney’s fees in § 2412(d)(2)(A)@i). Pub. L.

No. 105-119, § 617, 111 Stat. 2440, 2519 (1997) (reprinted

in 18 U.S.C. § 3006A, historical and statutory notes). The

district court, however, agreed with the Aisenbergs (1) that

they were not limited to this, $125 hourly limitation in

§ 2412(d)(2)(A)(ii), but rather could recover rates up to

$400 per hour as attorney’s fees under § 2412(b), and (2)

that even if § 2412(d)(2)(A)(ii) applied, special factors

justified a departure from the $125 hourly limitation. The

district court’s award also included a fifteen percent

multiplier of the attorney’s fees, or $349,643.77, to com-

pensate the Aisenbergs for “the delay in the receipt of

payment.”

The district court’s award was based on a total of

11,251.70 attorney hours by ten attorneys in the law firm

of Cohen, Jayson & Foster, P.A. in Tampa, Florida, and on

rates varying from $150 to $400 per attorney. On appeal,

the government does not contest the 11,251.70 hours

awarded or $195,670.32 in litigation expenses. Instead,

the government contends that the district court erred (1)

in not following the $125 hourly cap applicable under the

" As noted in footnote 5, supra, the district court also published

the magistrate judge’s earlier report, dated February 14, 2001, which

likewise made extensive findings about the county detectives’ miscon-

duct. Aisenberg, 247 F.Supp.2d at 1324-57.

SEA A Wie eeu dy wy

App. 11

Hyde Amendment, and (2) in awarding $349,643.77 as a

fifteen percent enhancement for delay in payment.

E. Grand Jury Transcripts

In the same January 31, 2003, order on attorney's

fees, the district court ordered that the government must

file and disclose all grand jury transcripts by February 10,

2003. The Aisenbergs initially requested the grand jury

transcripts in 2000, and requested them again in 2002 to

support their claim for attorney’s fees. After acknowledg-

ing that the government opposed this disclosure, the

district court explained that it had “deferred any ruling on

the motions [for the transcripts] because Hyde Amend-

ment liability was conceded by the United States,” and

thus discovery of the transcripts “appeared most likely

unnecessary.” Aisenberg, 247 F.Supp.2d at 1322. The

district court further noted that its award closes the

attorney’s fee issue. Id.

Nonetheless, the district court ordered wholesale

disclosure of all grand jury transcripts primarily because

the Aisenbergs persisted in their interest in them and the

public has a “strong interest” in inspecting troubled

prosecutions in Hyde Amendment cases. Id. at 1323-24.

Specifically, the district court reasoned that when a Hyde

Amendment award is made out of “public funds to reim-

burse defendants victimized by a ‘vexatious, frivolous, or

bad faith’ prosecution,” the public has “a strong interest”

in the events leading to that prosecution and “in inspect-

ing these troubled prosecutions to determine the source of

the United States’ misdirection.” Jd. at 1323.

The district court also concluded that non-disclosure

serves no remaining interest of the Aisenbergs because

App. 12

they already had been indicted, this fact was well known,

and the Aisenbergs consent to the release. Jd. As for the

government’s interest, the district court observed that the

grand jury deliberations were completed, that the criminal

investigation was at a standstill, and that this circum-

stance will persist indefinitely, creating what the court

termed “only the most minimal and inconsequential

countervailing considerations.” Id. The district court

determined that the Aisenbergs’ and the public’s interest

was in disclosure and that “the only contrary interest

remaining is that of the United States, which may want to

avoid a full airing of the episode.” Jd. at 1323-24.

F. Stay of Grand Jury Disclosure

After the district court ordered wholesale disclosure of

all grand jury transcripts by February 10, 2003, the

government filed a motion to stay the immediate public

disclosure pending appeal.” The government emphasized

that the Aisenbergs would not suffer injury from a stay

because they had obtained a dismissal of the indictment

2 In its stay motion, the government stressed that the Supreme

Court has instructed that parties seeking grand jury materials “must

show that the material they seek is needed to avoid a possible injustice

in another judicial proceeding, that the need for disclosure is greater

than the need for continued secrecy, and that their request is structured

to cover only material so needed. Such a showing must be made even

when the grand jury whose transcripts are sought has concluded its

operations. .. .” See Douglas Oil Co. of Cal. v. Petrol Stops Northwest,

441 US. 211, 222, 99 S.Ct. 1667, 1674, 60 L.Ed.2d 156 (1979); United

Kingdom v. United States, 238 F.3d 1312, 1320-21 (11th Cir.2001)

(adopting Douglas Oil standard). The government argued that the

Aisenbergs had not met these three requirements and that the district

court’s order was not based on an identified particularized need for the

transcripts, but rather on an alleged public interest in scrutinizing the

activities of a misdirected investigation.

LE

REGED ASW ot

App. 13

against them and an unprecedented amount of attorney's

fees under the Hyde Amendment without access to or any

need for the grand jury materials. The government also

stressed that this serious crime remained unsolved and

disclosure would interfere with its ongoing investigation.”

In reply, the Aisenbergs objected to any stay and

emphasized that they needed the grand jury material to

support their civil lawsuit “against the lawyers and law

enforcement personnel responsible for the bad faith,

vexatious and frivolous prosecution of the Aisenbergs.” See

Aisenberg v. Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office, No.

'* In a January 4, 2002, hearing involving the intervenor media’s

request for the wiretap recordings and other records under seal, the

government offered to present information in camera to the district

court about its continuing investigation of Sabrina’s disappearance and

had witnesses available to do so, but the district court refused to hear

the proffer.

However, in the context of the government’s stay motion, the

district court did offer to receive evidence in camera from the govern-

ment about the viability of its ongoing investigation in order to evaluate

whether disclosure would cause irreparable harm. The government

submitted a May 1, 2003, affidavit of an Assistant United States

Attorney, assigned to the General Crimes Section of the Criminal

Division in the Middle District of Florida, stating that “[t]he investiga-

tion is currently active and ongoing, and is being conducted with state

and federal law enforcement officers,” and disclosure “would compro-

mise the ongoing investigation.” The government declined to present

witnesses or further information in camera at the stay hearing on May

2, 2003. The government asserted that a court evidentiary inquiry into

whether a government investigation is viable would constitute an

unwarranted judicial intrusion into prosecutorial functions delegated to

another branch of government. In this stay context, the government’s

position was that the record both in camera and in the public record

already established sufficiently that the crime remained unsolved and

that there was an ongoing criminal investigation.

App. 14

8:03-CV-2063-7-23EAJ (M.D.Fla.2003)." The Aisenbergs

cited Federal Rule of Criminal Procedure 6(e)(3)(C))(D,

which permits disclosure of grand jury material “when so

~ directed by a court preliminarily to or in connection with a

judicial proceeding.” Fed.R.Crim.P. 6(e)(3)(C)(i(1) (2002).”

The Aisenbergs further challenged the viability of any

continuing criminal investigation” and asserted that much

of the information presented before the grand jury was

already public, leaving few, if any, justifications for non-

disclosure.

“ In their objection to the government’s request for a stay, counsel

for the Aisenbergs stated that they were “currently drafting a civil

complaint.” The Aisenbergs then filed their lawsuit in September 2003

in the state circuit court, before oral argument in this appeal. The

Aisenbergs’ civil lawsuit was subsequently removed to the United

States District Court for the Middle District of Florida. Although the

civil lawsuit was not filed at the time of the district court’s disclosure

order in January 2003, the Aisenbergs apparently all along wanted the

grand jury transcripts not only for their attorney’s fee claim in the

criminal case, but also to sue the government civilly. Because both

parties have briefed and argued whether the grand jury transcripts are

discoverable under Rule 6(e)(3)(C)(iI) to aid the Aisenbergs’ civil

lawsuit, we consider that issue as well in this appeal.

‘6 The Aisenbergs’ objection to the government’s stay motion also

argued that disclosure would help them during their appellate litiga-

tion regarding the attorney's fees award. The Aisenbergs asserted that

“(njo doubt, the government will argue in the appellate court ... that

the governmental conduct at issue did not justify the award of

fees....” The government, however, has not made this argument on

appeal, but rather has continued to concede that attorney’s fees are

owed under the Hyde Amendment. Thus, the Aisenbergs have not

shown that they need the grand jury transcripts as to any attorney's fee

issues under the Hyde Amendment. z

© At a February 5, 2003, hearing regarding the government's stay

motion, the Aisenbergs’ defense counsel questioned whether the

government’s investigation was sufficiently “active” because according

to a news report, it was staffed by a single investigator.

——

ADLER ta PART ety ea ile

cele iA WSL TNL WE.

App. 15

On May 5, 2003, the district court entered an order

rejecting the government’s request for a stay pending

appeal.” In that order, the court concluded, inter alia, that

the government’s “putative ‘investigation’ is entitled to no

weight in the decision regarding the stay,” and that “there

is apparently no meaningful investigation to endanger.”

The district court stated that the Aisenbergs were preju-

diced by the continued secrecy and that “their public

exoneration and the pursuit of rights they assert against

the United States are impaired by continuing non-

disclosure.”

The government then moved in this Court for a stay of

disclosure of the grand jury transcripts pending appeal,

which was granted on June 26, 2003.

II. STANDARD OF REVIEW

On appeal, the government contests only (1) the

amount of the attorney’s fees awarded and (2) the district

court’s disclosure of all grand jury transcripts.

This Court reviews a district court’s award or denial of

Hyde Amendment attorney’s fees and costs for abuse of

discretion. United States v. Adkinson, 247 F.3d 1289, 1290

(11th Cir.2001); United States v. Gilbert, 198 F.3d 1293,

1298 (11th Cir.1999). “An abuse of discretion occurs if the

judge fails to apply the proper legal standard or to follow

proper procedures in making the determination, or bases

an award [or a denial] upon findings of fact that are

’ While the parties briefed the stay issue, the district court did

enter a temporary stay, which was dissolved by the district court’s

May 5, 2003, order.

App. 16

clearly erroneous.” Id. (internal quotation marks and

citation omitted) (alteration in original).

This Court reviews a district court’s order granting

disclosure of grand jury transcripts for an abuse of discre-

tion. See United Kingdom v. United States, 238 F.3d 1312,

1319-21 (11th Cir.2001).

III. DISCUSSION

A. The Language of the Hyde Amendment

“We begin our construction of the Hyde Amendment

___ with the words of the statutory provision themselves.”

Gilbert, 198 F.3d at 1298. The Hyde Amendment provides

in pertinent part:

[T]he court, in any criminal case (other than a

case in which the defendant is represented by as-

signed counsel paid for by the public) ... may

award to a prevailing party, other than the

United States, a reasonable attorney's fee and

other litigation expenses, where the court finds

that the position of the United States was vexa-

tious, frivolous, or in bad faith, unless the court

finds that special circumstances make such an

award unjust. Such awards shall be granted pur-

suant to the procedures and limitations (but not

the burden of proof) provided for an award under

section 2412 of title 28, United States Code.

Pub. L. No. 105-119, § 617, 111 Stat. 2440, 2519 (1997)

(reprinted in 18 U.S.C. § 3006A, historical and statutory

notes) (emphasis added).

This circuit’s prior Hyde Amendment decisions have

dealt primarily with whether the prevailing federal crimi-

nal defendant carried his burden to show the required

App. 17

prerequisite to a fee award, to wit: that the United States’

position was “vexatious, frivolous, or in bad faith.” See

Adkinson, 247 F.3d at 1293; Gilbert, 198 F.3d at 1297. In

this case, however, the government conceded the applica-

bility of the Hyde Amendment in the district court and

that the Aisenbergs are entitled to recover their attorney's

fees and expenses. This appeal requires us to determine

only issues relating to the amount of the attorney's fees

owed. Those issues are:

(1) whether the Hyde Amendment incorporates

the procedures and limitations in § 2412(d), mak-

ing the $125 hourly limitation in § 2412(d)(2)(A)(i)

applicable to all Hyde Amendment claims, or

whether the Hyde Amendment also incorporates

the other avenues of relief contained in § 2412(b);

(2) whether special factors exist justifying a de-

parture from the $125 hourly limitation on at-

torney’s fees provided in § 2412(d)(2)(A)(ii); and

(3) whether a district court may increase a

Hyde Amendment award by a multiplier for a de-

lay in payment.

The parties acknowledge that the Hyde Amendment

provides that fee awards “shall be granted pursuant to the

procedures and limitations (but not the burden of proof)

provided for an award under section 2412” of the Equal

Access to Justice Act (““EAJA”). Pub. L. No. 105-119, § 617,

111 Stat. 2440, 2519 (1997) (reprinted in 18 U.S.C. § 3006A,

historical and statutory notes). The parties’ dispute is over

how we should construe the Hyde Amendment’s language of

“procedures and limitations ... provided for an award

under § 2412.” Thus, at the outset we also must examine

what “procedures and limitations” are provided for an

award under § 2412.

App. 18

Section 2412 of the EAJA contains two separate

subsections relating to attorney’s fees: § 2412(b) and

§ 2412(d). Of these, only § 2412(d) contains any procedures

and limitations for an award of attorney’s fees under the

EAJA. Specifically, § 2412(d) states: (1) that a party must

file for an award of attorney’s fees within thirty days of

final judgment, § 2412(d)(1)(B); (2) that “attorney -fees

shall not be awarded in excess of $125 per hour unless the

court determines that ... a special factor, such as the

limited availability of qualified attorneys for the proceed-

ings involved, justifies a higher fee,” § 2412(d)(2)(A)(ii);

and (3) that an individual may not recover attorney’s fees if

his net worth exceeds $2,000,000 at the time the civil action

was filed, nor may the owner of a business whose net worth

exceeds $7,000,000 and had more than 500 employees at the

time the civil action was filed, § 2412(d)(2)(B).”*

To date, all circuits to consider this issue have con-

cluded that the procedures and limitations in § 2412

incorporated by the Hyde Amendment are the procedures

and limitations in § 2412(d). See United States v. Knott,

256 F3d 20, 26-27 (1st Cir.2001) (holding net worth

limitation of § 2412(d)(2)(B) applies to recovery under

Hyde Amendment, and § 2412(b) does not provide avenue

' Section 2412(d) also contains this burden of proof: the United

States must show that its position was “substantially justified or that

special circumstances make an award unjust,” when defending an

application for attorney’s fees. § 2412(d)(1)(A). However, this burden of

proof is specifically excepted from the Hyde Amendment, which limits

the recovery of attorney’s fees to the “procedures and limitations (but

not the burden of proof)” of § 2412. Pub.L. No. 105-119, § 617, 111 Stat.

2440, 2519 (1997) (reprinted in 18 U.S.C. §3006A, historical and

statutory notes). This reference to burden of proof is further evidence

that the language of the Hyde Amendment is directed at incorporating

the procedures and limitations of § 2412(d).

| SS

Cte abba att Hiei BR BASE ptr tbe AM a ce bon

App. 19

for recovery under Hyde Amendment); United States v.

Sherburne, 249 F.3d 1121, 1129 (9th Cir.2001) (holding cap

on aitorney’s fees provided in § 2412(d)(2)(A)(ii) applies to

recovery under Hyde Amendment); United States v.

Ranger Elec. Communications, Inc., 210 F.3d 627, 633 (6th

Cir.2000) (holding thirty-day limitation for filing award for

attorney's fees provided in § 2412(d)(1)(B) applies to Hyde

Amendment application). We now join those circuits.”

We recognize that the Aisenbergs contend that their fee

award under the Hyde Amendment is governed by § 2412(b),

not § 2412(d). We reject this argument for several reasons.

First, the plain language of the Hyde Amendment

limits awards to “the procedures and limitations (but not

the burden of proof) provided for an award under section

2412.” Pub. L. No. 105-119, § 617, 111 Stat. 2440, 2519

(1997) (reprinted in 18 U.S.C. § 3006A, historical and statu-

tory notes). Section 2412(d) provides procedures and limita-

tions to fee awards under the EAJA, but § 2412(b) provides

none. Ranger, 210 F.3d at 634 (noting that § 2412(b) “pro-

vides neither procedural guidance nor eligibility limita-

tions”) (Jones, J., concurring). Thus, “allowing defendants

to elect to proceed under § 2412(b) would effectively read

"© See also United States v. Truesdale, 211 F.3d 898, 907 (5th

Cir.2000) (noting that government’s reading of Hyde Amendment as

incorporating the procedures and limitations in § 2412(d) “seems

reasonable” but ultimately not deciding the issue). Although the Fourth

Circuit has not yet ruled on this issue, a district court in United States

v. Holland, 34 F.Supp.2d 346 (E.D.Va.1999), concluded that a prevailing

defendant may choose to recover an award of attorney’s fees under the

Hyde Amendment through either § 2412(b) or § 2412(d). Jd. at 359,

vacated in part on other grounds on reconsideration, 48 F.Supp.2d 571

(E.D.Va. May 18, 1999), aff'd on other grounds, 214 F.3d 523 (4th

Cir.2000).

App. 20

the clause ‘under the procedures and limitations of section

2412’ out of the Hyde Amendment.” Knott, 256 F.3d at 27.

As the First Circuit also aptly recognized in Knott,

any reading of the Hyde Amendment not incorporating the

procedures and limitations of § 2412(d):

undercuts the language of the provision and pol-

icy concerns underlying the incorporation of

these procedures and limitations. If defendants

could elect to proceed under § 2412(b), ... it is

not clear that the Hyde Amendment’s incorpora-

tion of “procedures and limitations” from the

EAJA would have any practical effect. In order to

give meaningful effect to the plain language of

the Hyde Amendment, then, the incorporation is

best read to refer to the limitations contained in

EAJA § 2412(d).

Id. at 27; see also Ranger, 210 F.3d at 633 (noting that

a construction of the Hyde Amendment that does not apply

§ 2412(d) “does not give effect to the plain meaning of the

Hyde Amendment nor the policy considerations behind

it”); Sherburne, 249 F.3d at 1129 (stating in relation to the

award of attorney’s fees under the Hyde Amendment that

“It]he statute is explicit — the limitations of the EAJA

apply. The EAJA caps attorney's fees at $125 per hour”).

Second, because § 2412(d) of the EAJA supplies an

independent, substantive ground upon which a civil

litigant may recover fees under the EAJA, its sole incorpo-

ration comports with the plain meaning of the Hyde

Amendment. The plain language of the Hyde Amendment

refers to “procedures and limitations ... provided for an

award under section 2412.” Pub. L. No. 105-119, § 617, 111

Stat. 2440, 2519 (1997) (reprinted in 18 U.S.C. § 3006A,

historical and statutory notes) (emphasis added). This

ee

VD GR TPE ic Me:

App. 21

language supports the exclusive incorporation of § 2412(d)

because § 2412(d) alone provides a self-contained, substan-

tive means for recovering attorney’s fees. Specifically,

§ 2412(d) provides that “a court shall award to a prevailing

party ... fees and other expenses, ... unless the court

finds that the position of the United States was substan-

tially justified.” 28 U.S.C. § 2412(d)(1)(A).

In contrast to § 2412(d), § 2412(b) does not provide a

substantive or independent basis for an attorney’s fee

award under § 2412 but acts as only a waiver of sovereign

immunity when the common law or another statute

provides for an attorney’s fee award. Specifically, § 2412(b)

provides that “[t]he United States shall be liable for such

fees and expenses to the same extent that any other party

would be liable under the common law or under the terms

of any statute which specifically provides for such an

award.” 28 U.S.C. § 2412(b). Furthermore, as expressed by

the First Circuit in United States v. Knott, “it would create

a peculiar circularity to allow a defendant relying on the

Hyde Amendment as the substantive basis of a request for

attorneys’ fees to elect to proceed through EAJA § 2412(b)

in order to avoid the limitations imposed in EAJA

§ 2412(d), given that the Hyde Amendment itself incorpo-

rates the procedures and limitations of the EAJA.” 256

F.3d at 27; Ranger, 210 F.3d at 633 (stating that “it would

be circular to go back to the Hyde Amendment to treat it

as an independent statute giving the right to attorneys’

fees without the thirty-day limitation”).”

* This is the first time in which this Court directly has addressed

the question of whether a Hyde Amendment applicant can avoid

§ 2412(d) and proceed under § 2412(b). We note, however, that in

United States v. Adkinson, 247 F.3d 1289 (11th Cir.2001), this Court

(Continued on following page)

App. 22

Third, the established principle that waivers of

sovereign immunity are to be construed narrowly counsels

our construction of the Hyde Amendment. Lane v. Pena,

518 U.S. 187, 192, 116 S.Ct. 2092, 2096, 135 L.Ed.2d 486

(1996) (stating that a waiver of sovereign immunity “must

be unequivocally expressed in statutory text,” and “will be

strictly construed ... in favor of the sovereign”) (citations

| omitted); Maritime Mgmt., Inc. v. United States, 242 F.3d

1326, 1336 (11th Cir.2001) (noting that “the EAJA is a

waiver of sovereign immunity and as such must be strictly

construed”). This principle adds further support for the

incorporation of the procedures and limitations of

§ 2412(d) in awarding attorney’s fees under the Hyde

Amendment. Knott, 256 F.3d at 27; Ranger, 210 F.3d at

633.

indicated in footnote two that “[w]e recognize that recovery under the

Hyde Amendment is allowed under only limited circumstances, and is

subject to the restrictions and procedures articulated by the language of

the law and its legislative history.” Jd. at 1291 n. 2. As examples of

those limitations, the Adkinson Court then listed the requirement that

an individual’s “net worth was less than two million dollars,” citing

§ 2412(d). Id. Accordingly, Adkinson already reflects an understanding

that the “procedures and limitations” of § 2412 referenced in the Hyde

Amendment are those found in § 2412(d). However, the issue in

Adkinson was whether the factual circumstances in Adkinson demon-

strated bad faith, and the Adkinson court remanded the case to the

district court “for a determination of the amount of fees and expenses”

the defendants were entitled to under the Hyde Amendment. Jd. at

1293. On remand, the district court in Adkinson concluded, as we do

here, that § 2412(d)(2)(A)(ii)’s $125 hourly cap is incorporated by the

Hyde Amendment and applied the fee cap. United States v. Adkinson,

256 F.Supp.2d 1297, 1308-11 (N.D.Fla.2003). This order is now on

appeal with the Eleventh Circuit. Adkinson v. United States, No. 03-

11104, 2004 WL 292044, 360 F.3d 1257 (11th Cir. argued Jan. 15, 2004).

LS lll

PMA LA ey Tk Bit DWE 24 ERS ie de

App. 23

Fourth, although unnecessary to our review,” the

legislative history of the Hyde Amendment provides

support for our construction of the Hyde Amendment. In

United States v. Gilbert, this Court reviewed the legisla-

tive history of the Hyde Amendment. 198 F.3d at 1299-

1303. In its original form, the Hyde Amendment was

patterned after 28 U.S.C. § 2412(d)(1)(A).” Id. at 1300;

Ranger, 210 F.3d at 634 (Jones, J. concurring). After

forceful criticism from members of Congress and the

Executive Branch due in part to the relatively low stan-

dard permitting recovery, the Hyde Amendment’s lan-

guage was modified, narrowing the grounds for recovery.

Gilbert, 198 F.3d at 1300-03. The adopted version of the

Hyde Amendment disavowed the burden of proof on the

government contained in § 2412(d)(1)(A), required that the

prevailing criminal defendant carry the burden of proof,

and further narrowed the standard of recovery to those

cases in which “the position of the United States was

vexatious, frivolous, or in bad faith.” Jd. at 1302 (citing

Pub. L. No. 105-119, § 617, 111 Stat. 2440, 2519 (1997)

(reprinted in 18 U.S.C. § 3006A, historical and statutory

notes)).

* “Given the plain meaning of the statutory language, we could

bypass any consideration of legislative history.” Gilbert, 198 F.3d at

1299.

* Representative Hyde’s comments when initially offering the

Amendment also indicate that the Hyde Amendment was patterned

after § 2412(d). Representative Hyde stated, when describing recovery

under the Hyde Amendment, that, “if it was an abuse of process, if it

was frivolous, if it was malicious, then the victim, the defendant who

has prevailed, is entitled to attorney’s fees, very modest, $125 an hour.”

145 Cong. Rec. H7791 (daily ed. Sept. 24, 1997) (statement of Rep.

Hyde).

App. 24

Thus, as detailed in Gilbert, the Hyde Amendment

was initially patterned after § 2412(d), and the language

was modified only in an.effort to narrow the grounds of

recovery and not, as the Aisenbergs suggest, to broaden

the sections under § 2412 in which Hyde Amendment

applicants may recover. Thus, construing the Hyde

Amendment to provide a narrow ground of recovery by

incorporating the procedures and limitations of § 2412(d)

is consistent not only with the principle of narrowly

construing waivers of sovereign immunity, but also with

the legislative history of the Hyde Amendment.

For all of these reasons and consistent with all other

circuits that have addressed the issue, we hold that the

Hyde Amendment incorporates all of the procedures and

limitations in § 2412(d) and does not incorporate § 2412(b).

Thus, the district court erred in concluding that the

Aisenbergs could proceed under § 2412(b) and avoid the

$125 hourly limitation in § 2412(d)(2)(A)(ii).

B. Special Factors Removing $125 Fee Cap

The district court alternatively concluded that even if

§ 2412(d) applied, special factors existed justifying a

departure from the $125 hourly limitation in

§ 2412(d)(2)A)ii). Specifically, § 2412(d)(2)(A)(ii) provides

that “attorney fees shall not be awarded in excess of $125

per hour unless a court determines that an increase in the

cost of living or a special factor, such as the limited avail-

ability of qualified attorneys for the proceedings involved,

justifies a higher fee.” 28 U.S.C. § 2412(d)(2)(A)Gi). The

district court relied on two special factors: (1) the govern-

ment’s concession that an attorney’s fees award was

appropriate under the Hyde Amendment; and (2) its

i

App. 25

finding that the government’s prosecution of the Aisen-

bergs was vexatious and in bad faith. In addition to those

two factors, the Aisenbergs rely on two more factors, which

are: (3) the delay caused by the government litigating

meritless positions; and (4) the limited availability of

qualified attorneys.”

Much of the EAJA case law defines “special factor” in

§ 2412(d)(2)(A)(ii) of the EAJA by what it is not. In Pierce

v. Underwood, 487 U.S. 552, 573, 108 S.Ct. 2541, 2554,

101 L.Ed.2d 490 (1988), the Supreme Court stated that

special factors in the context of § 2412(d)(2)(A)(ii) do not

include “[t]he novelty and difficulty of issues, the undesir-

ability of the case, the work and ability of counsel, and the

results obtained,” nor “factors applicable to a broad spec-

trum of litigation” including “the contingent nature of the

fee.” Id. (internal quotation marks omitted). Similarly, in

Pollgreen v. Morris, 911 F.2d 527, 537 (11th Cir.1990), this

Court noted that special factors in the context of

§ 2412(d)(2)(A)(ii) do not include “the motivations of the

attorneys in bringing the case, the pro bono nature of the

case, the fact that the litigation served to ‘vindicate public

rights, and the hardships experienced by counsel in

departing from the statutory hourly rate.” Jd. (citing Jean

v. Nelson, 863 F.2d 759, 775-76 (11th Cir.1988)).% This

* Both the district court and the government agree that the “cost

of living” exception in § 2412(d)(2)(A)ii) is not applicable here. In its

Janua.y 31, 2003, order, the district court stated that “[n]o marked

increase in the cost of living has occurred since 1998.” Aisenberg, 247

F.Supp.2d at 1304. The Aisenbergs do not assert on appeal that an

increase in the cost of living requires a departure from the $125 hourly

cap in § 2412(d)(2)(A)(ii), but rather contend that the above four special

4 factors justify exceeding the $125 hourly cap.

AS cal Sen Set Noa aia tat van Cob andor NAC OADAE Tn

“ We recognize that the Aisenbergs rely on Jean v. Nelson, 863

F.2d 759 (11th Cir.1988), where this Court stated in footnote thirteen

(Continued on following page)

BriSirs wea iki wa

App. 26

Court in Pollgreen further stated that “[a] delay that

occurred because the government litigated a position that

lacked substantial justification is not a permissible special

factor because any litigation eligible for EAJA fees, by

definition, involves the government’s pursuit of an unjusti-

fied position.” 911 F.2d at 538.

Turning to the special factors asserted by the Aisen-

bergs, we first conclude that the government's concession

that the Hyde Amendment applied does not supply a

special factor warranting a fee cap departure. Neither the

unprecedented nature of the concession, nor the magni-

tude of the underlying error that the concession impliedly

suggests, can be a special factor. As the government points

out, finding otherwise would create perverse incentives

that “an improper purpose can be a factor that is additional to a

‘frivolous’ position,” and further explained that “if the government in

this case advanced litigation for any improper purpose such as harass-

ment, unnecessary delay or increase in the plaintiffs’ expense, then

consistent with Pierce, its action warrants the imposition of a special

factor.” 863 F.2d at 776 n. 13; Pollgreen, 911 F.2d at 537-38 (stating that

“(t]he government’s delay in litigating a case is a permissible special

factor only when the motivation for the delay was improper or the

length of the delay itself was inappropriate. ... If the government’s

litigation delay was the result of bad faith or the length of the delay

was excessive, regardless of the merits of the position litigated, then

such a delay could constitute a special factor”).

The government correctly points out, however, that Jean v. Nelson

involved an application for attorney’s fees under the EAJA where fees

are awarded when the government’s position was not substantially

justified. 863 F.2d at 777 (citing 28 U.S.C. § 2412(d)(1)(A)). Under this

lower standard, a case involving a vexatious or bad faith prosecution is

an exception. The same cannot be said of an application under the Hyde

Amendment, which, by definition, must have involved vexatious or bad

faith litigation. Thus, we conclude that the rationale in footnote

thirteen of Jean does not apply in the Hyde Amendment context, and

we decline to extend Jean.

SAD EEDA ote RAIS NE Pe es ie 0S

SWAT MAE and Dae

App. 27

that discourage useful settlements and encourage pro-

tracted litigation. See Pierce, 487 U.S. at 568, 108 S.Ct. at

2552 (observing, in award of attorney’s fees under EAJA

§ 2412(d), that government’s willingness to settle as proof

that its position was not substantially justified “would not

only distort the truth but penalize and thereby discourage

useful settlements”); Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424,

437, 103 S.Ct. 1933, 1941, 76 L.Ed.2d 40 (1983) (stating

that “[a] request for attorney’s fees should not result in a

second major litigation”).

Similarly, the district court’s independent finding in

its attorney’s fees order that the government’s position was

vexatious, frivolous, or in bad faith, does not provide a

special factor. The Hyde Amendment requires that all

successful applicants show that the government’s position

was vexatious, frivolous, or in bad faith. As such, a district

court’s determination that the government’s prosecution

was vexatious, frivolous, or in bad faith does not justify a

fee cap departure because every successful application

under the Hyde Amendment would then be subject to a fee

cap departure.”

* See Pollgreen, 911 F.2d at 538 (noting in an EAJA case that “[a]

delay that occurred because the government litigated a position that

lacked substantial justification is not a permissible special factor

because any litigation eligible for EAJA fees, by definition, involves the

government’s pursuit of an unjustified position”); Jean, 863 F.2d at 782

(stating in an EAJA case that, “as a finding that the government’s

position had no ‘reasonable basis both in law and fact’ is a condition

precedent to every EAJA award, allowing a premium based on the

government’s ‘contentions and litigating postures’ will likely lead courts

to double-count the substantial-justification factor”) (Kravitch, J.,

concurring in part, dissenting in part).

App. 28

The Aisenbergs also emphasize the delay between the

Aisenbergs’ fee application in March 2001 and ultimate

recovery of fees in 2003. In Pollgreen, this Court held that

the “government’s delay in litigating a case is a permissi-

ble special factor only when the motivation for the delay

was improper or the length of the delay itself was inap-

propriate.” 911 F.2d at 537. The government’s litigation

over the amount of attorney’s fees due, after conceding

liability, does net constitute the special factor of improper

purpose. Specifically, the government's position that

§ 2412(d)(2)(A)(ii) limits attorney’s fees to $125 per hour

under the Hyde Amendment is supported by the statutory

language, as well as other circuits’ case law. As such, we

conclude that the government’s motivation for litigating

the amount of attorney’s fees was not the result of an

“improper purpose.”

Finally, the Aisenbergs argue on appeal that “the

limited availability of qualified attorneys for the proceed-

ings involved[] justifies a higher fee.” See 28 U.S.C.

§ 2412(d)(2)(A)(ii). The district court made no such finding,

and there is no evidence to support any such finding in

this record. To the contrary, the record shows ten lawyers

in Cohen, Jayson & Foster, P.A. in fact worked on this

criminal case.

The Aisenbergs also claim that their lawyers incurred

a substantial economic detriment in representing unpopu-

lar clients and in handling the complex legal, factual, and

professional obstacles in this case. Although this practice

is commendable, the Supreme Court and this Court already

® While the district court found that the government’s motivation

for the prosecution was improper, it did not find that there was any

improper intent in litigating the amount of attorney's fees.

App. 29

have addressed this issue under § 2412(d) and have held that

such hardship does not qualify as a special factor. See Pierce,

487 U.S. at 573, 108 S.Ct. at 2554 (stating that special

factors in the context of § 2412(d)(2)(A)(ii) do not include

“[t]he ‘novelty and difficulty of issues,’ ‘the undesirability of

the case,’ the ‘work and ability of counsel,’ and ‘the results

obtained’” nor “factors applicable to a broad spectrum of

litigation,” including “‘the contingent nature of the fee’”)

(internal citations omitted); Pollgreen, 911 F.2d at 537

(stating that special factors in the context of

§ 2412(d)(2)(A)(ii) do not include “the motivations of the

attorneys in bringing the case, the pro bono nature of the

case, the fact that the litigation served to ‘vindicate public

rights, and the hardships experienced by counsel in

departing from the statutory hourly rate”) (citation omit-

ted).

In sum, we conclude that no special factors exist in this

record to justify a departure from the $125 hourly limitation

provided in § 2412(d)(2)(A)(ii), as incorporated by the Hyde

Amendment. Thus, the district court abused its discretion in

departing above that $125 hourly limitation.

As discussed earlier, the government does not contest

on appeal the number of attorney hours or the litigation

expenses of $195,670.32. Thus, when the $125 fee is

applied to those 11,251.70 hours, the attorney’s fee due is

$1,298,980, plus litigation expenses of $195,670.32, for a

total of $1,494,650.32 due the Aisenbergs.

C. Enhancement for Delay in Payment

The district court also erred in applying a multiplier

of 1.15 to the attorney’s fees awarded based on the delay in

the Aisenbergs’ receiving reimbursement for their attorney’s

App. 30

fees. Specifically, the district court concluded that “(t]he

circumstances of the present action, which has persisted for

over five years, justify the application of a multiplier of 1.15

to the lodestar of $2,330,958.45 to compensate the Aisen-

bergs for the delay in reimbursement.” Aisenberg, 247

F.Supp.2d at 1321. This 1.15 multiplier added $349,643.77

to the fee award of $2,330,958.45, for a total of

$2 680,602.22 in attorney’s fees.

It is well established that “interest cannot be recov-

ered in a suit against the Government in the absence of an

express waiver of sovereign immunity from an award of

interest.” Library of Congress v. Shaw, 478 U.S. 310, 311,

106 S.Ct. 2957, 2960, 92 L.Ed.2d 250 (1986); Newton v.

Capital Assur. Co., 245 F.3d 1306, 1309 (11th Cir.2001)

(stating that “‘[i]n the absence of express congressional

consent to the award of interest separate from a general

waiver of immunity to suit, the United States is immune

from an interest award’”) (alteration in original) (quoting

Shaw, 478 U.S. at 314, 106 S.Ct. at 2961). Moreover, the

Supreme Court has admonished that compensation for

delay and interest “share an identical function,” that they

both “are designed to compensate for the belated receipt of

money,” and that “the no-interest rule cannot be aveided

simply by devising a new name for an old institution.” Shaw,

478 U.S. at 321-22, 106 S.Ct. at 2965. Thus, an award of

“compensation for delay” is equivalent to an award of

interest. Jd. at 321, 106 S.Ct. at 2965.” Accordingly, we

7 The district court relied on Missouri v. Jenkins, 491 U.S. 274,

282, 109 S.Ct. 2463, 2468, 105 L.Ed.2d 229 (1989), and Norman v

Housing Authority of Montgomery, 836 F.2d 1292, 1302 (11th Cir.1988),

but failed to observe that those two cases involved state defendants as

opposed to the United States. For example, in Jenkins, the defendant

was a state and the Supreme Court held that the Eleventh Amendment

(Continued on following page)

App. 31

must view the district court’s compensation for delay as

effectively an award of interest.

Further, the Supreme Court has declined to find “the

requisite waiver of immunity from interest in the statu-

tory requirement of awarding ‘reasonable’ attorney’s fees,”

and has “consistently ... refused to impute an intent to

waive immunity from interest into the ambiguous use of a

particular word or phrase in a statute.” Shaw, 478 U.S. at

320, 106 S.Ct. at 2964. The Supreme Court has instructed

that “[a] statute allowing costs, and within that category,

attorney’s fees, does not provide the clear affirmative

intent of Congress to waive the sovereign’s immunity” to

interest payments. Jd. at 321, 106 S.Ct. at 2965.

Nothing in the Hyde Amendment, nor the incorpo-

rated § 2412(d) of the EAJA, provides the required un-

equivocal waiver of immunity of the United States for the

payment of interest or compensation for delay.” Instead,

did not prohibit enhancement of an attorney’s fee award, ancillary to a

grant of prospective relief, for a delay in payment. 491 U.S. at 284, 109

S.Ct. at 2469. The Supreme Court in Jenkins, however, expressly

distinguished its holding in that case from the holding of Library of

Congress v. Shaw, 478 U.S. 310, 106 S.Ct. 2957, 92 L.Ed.2d 250 (1986),

and stated that the “no-interest rule” applicable to the United States in

Shaw was not at issue in Jenkins, and further that the “no-interest

rule” provides an “ ‘added gloss of strictness,’ only where the United

States’ liability for interest is at issue.” Jenkins, 491 U.S. at 281 n. 3,

109 S.Ct. at 2468 n. 3. The Supreme Court also noted in Jenkins that

Shaw’s proscription of compensation for delay in payment does not

apply generally, but rather in the specific context where the United

States is liable and has not waived its sovereign immunity. /d.

* Section 2412(d)(2\A\ii) provides for an adjustment to the $125

hourly limitation based on “an increase in the cost of living.” 28 U.S.C.

§$ 2412(d 2x A\ii). In EAJA cases, circuit courts have concluded that

this provision does not waive the government's sovereign immunity

with respect to interest. See, e.g, Sorenson v. Mink, 239 F.3d 1140, 1148

Continued on following page)

App. 32

the Hyde Amendment provides for only “reasonable

attorney’s fee[s] and other litigation expenses.” Pub. L. No.

105-119, § 617, 111 Stat. 2440, 2519 (1997) (reprinted in 18

U.S.C. § 3006A, historical and statutory notes). Therefore,

we conclude that the district court also erred in enhancing

the attorney’s fee award by fifteen percent, or $349,643.77,

for the delay in payment of these fees.

D. General Grand Jury Principles

We now turn to the district court’s wholesale disclo-

sure of all grand jury transcripts. We first review the

general princimles governing the disclosure of secret grand

jury material and then apply them to this case.

“It has long been a policy of the law that grand jury

proceedings be kept secret... . The English rule of grand

jury secrecy has been incorporated into our federal com-

mon law and remains ‘an integral part of our criminal

justice system.’” Blalock v. United States, 844 F.2d 1546,

1555 (11th Cir.1988) (citing Douglas Oil Co. of Cal. v.

Petrol Stops Northwest, 441 U.S. 211, 218 n.9, 99 S.Ct.

1667, 1672 n. 9, 60 L.Ed.2d 156 (1979)); see also United

States v. Phillips, 843 F.2d 438, 441 (11th Cir.1988) (stat-

ing that “[t]he secrecy of the grand jury is sacrosanct”). In

Douglas Oil, the Supreme Court summarized the reasons

for, and interests served by, grand jury secrecy as follows: (1)

(9th Cir.2001); Masonry Masters, Inc. v. Nelson, 105 F.3d 708, 712

(D.C.Cir.1997); Marcus v. Shalala, 17 F.3d 1033, 1039 (7th Cir.1994),

Perales v. Casillas, 950 F.2d 1066, 1077 (5th Cir.1992); Chiu v. United States,

948 F.2d 711, 721 (Fed.Cir.1991). Because the Hyde Amendment incorporates

§ 2412(dX2XAXii), these circuit decisions involving § 2412(dX2XAXii) in the

EAJA context are persuasive. We can locate, however, no circuit decision

ruling on the interest issue under the Hyde Amendment.

App. 33

“if preindictment proceedings were made public, many pro-

spective witnesses would be hesitant to come forward volun-

tarily, knowing that those against whom they testify would be

aware of that testimony”; (2) “witnesses who appeared before

the grand jury would be less likely to testify fully and

frankly, as they would be open to retribution as well as to

inducements”; (3) “[t]here ... would be the risk that those

about to be indicted would flee”; (4) there would be the risk

that those about to be indicted “would try to influence

individual grand jurors to vote against indictment”; and

(5) “by preserving the secrecy of the proceedings, we

assure that persons who are accused but exonerated by

the grand jury will not be held up to public ridicule.” 441-

U.S. at 219, 99 S.Ct. at 1673.

Rule 6(e) of the Federal-Rules of Criminal Procedure

codifies this secrecy principle and prohibits the disclosure

of grand jury material except in the limited circumstances

provided for in Rule 6(e)(3). The only Rule 6(e)(3) excep-

tion at issue here is in Rule 6(e)(3)(C)(i)(I), which permits

disclosure of grand jury material “when so directed by a

court preliminarily to or in conjunction with a judicial

proceeding.” Fed.R.Civ.P. 6(e)(3)(C)(iXD.

Although Rule 6(e)(3) enumerates the exceptions to

the traditional rule of grand jury secrecy, the Supreme

Court and this Court have recognized that the district

courts have inherent power beyond the literal wording of

* In 2002, Rule 6 of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure was

amended as part of the general restyling of the Federal Rules of

Criminal Procedure. This exception to the secrecy of grand jury

materials is now in Rule 6(e)(3)(E)(i) (2003). Previously, this exception

was found in Rule 6(eX3\CXix1) (2002). We need not decide which version

applies because the language is essentially the same in either version.

App. 34

Rule 6(e)(3) to disclose grand jury material and that Rule

6(e)(3) is but declaratory of that authority. Pittsburgh

Plate Glass Co. v. United States, 360 U.S. 395, 398-99, 79

S.Ct. 1237, 1240-41, 3 L.Ed.2d 1323 (1959); Petition to

Inspect and Copy Grand Jury Materials, 735 F.2d 1261,

1268 (11th Cir.1984) (hereinafter “Appeal of Hastings”)."

Nonetheless, we also have indicated that courts “are not

empowered to act outside of Rule 6(e) in other than excep-

tional circumstances consonant with the rule’s policy and

spirit.” Appeal of Hastings, 735 F.2d at 1269; see id. at

1272.” Thus, while district courts have inherent authority

to act outside Rule 6(e)(3), any inherent disclosure author-

ity is exceedingly narrow and exists only in exceptional

circumstances. See id. at 1272 (concluding that “a petition

by a judicial investigating committee presents one of the

°° As we explained in Appeal of Hastings, “This is not to say the rule is

not normally controlling. It is. But ... the rule is not the true source of the

district court’s power with respect to grand jury records but rather is a

codification of standards pertaining to the scope of the power entrusted to

the discretion of the district court....” 735 F.2d at 1268. In Appeal of

Hastings, this Court also noted that “the history of Rule 6(e) indicate[s]

that the exceptions permitting disclosure were not intended to ossify the

law, but rather are subject to development by the courts in conformance

with the rule’s general rule of secrecy.” Jd. at 1269.

* In Appeal of Hastings, this Court amplified this principle as

follows:

[Clourts must adhere to Rule 6(e) in “garden variety” peti-

tions for grand jury disclosure. The rule was intended to

provide a reliable statement of the law in this area, and

would be rendered meaningless if departures were freely

sanctioned. We assume that courts are not empowered to act

outside Rule 6(e) in other than exceptional circumstances

consonant with the rule’s policy and spirit.

Id. at 1269.

<

He Sale te

App. 35

occasions when a district court may act outside the strict

boundaries of Rule 6(e)”).”

The Aisenbergs seek to uphold the grand jury disclo-

sure based both on the district court’s inherent authority

and on the exception in Rule 6(e)(3)(C)(i)(D. The guidelines

for determining when grand jury secrecy may be broken

are well settled and apply in both situations. Specifically,

parties seeking disclosure must show:

(1) “that the material they seek is needed to

avoid a possible injustice in another judicial pro-

ceeding”;

(2) “that the need for disclosure is greater than

the need for continued secrecy”; and

(3) “that their request is structured to cover

only material so needed.”

Douglas Oil Co., 441 U.S. at 222, 99 S.Ct. at 1674; United

Kingdom v. United States, 238 F.3d 1312, 1320-21 (11th

Cir.2001); United States v. Burke, 856 F.2d 1492, 1495-96

(11th Cir.1988); United States v. Elliott, 849 F.2d 554, 557

(11th Cir.1988); Appeal of Hastings, 735 F.2d at 1273.

These same demanding standards apply even after the

grand jury has concluded its operations. Douglas Oil Co.,

441 U.S. at 222, 99 S.Ct. at 1674 (stating that “[s]uch a

* Since Appeal of Hastings was decided, the United States

Supreme Court in Carlisle v. United States, 517 U.S. 416, 116 S.Ct.

1460, 134 L.Ed.2Zd 613 (1996), stated that district courts lack “inherent

supervisory power” to develop rules that circumvent or conflict with the

Federal Rules of Crimina! Procedure. Jd. at 425-26, 116 S.Ct. at 1466.

The government contends that the district court’s disclosure decision

conflicts with Rule 6(e) and is per se beyond the court’s inherent

authority. We need not decide this issue because, as explained later, the

district court exceeds any inherent authority it has in any event.

App. 36

showing must be made even when the grand jury whose

transcripts are sought has concluded its operations, as it

had in Dennis [v. United States, 384 U.S. 855, 86 S.Ct.

1840, 16 L.Ed.2d 973 (1966)]”); Elliott, 849 F.2d at 557

(same); Burke, 856 F.2d at 1496 (same). “[I]n considering

the effects of disclosure on grand jury proceedings, the

courts must consider not only the immediate effects upon a

particular grand jury, but also the possible effect upon the

functioning of future grand juries.” Douglas Oil Co., 441

U.S. at 222, 99 S.Ct. at 1674.

Further, the burden of demonstrating that the need

for disclosure outweighs the need for, and public interest

in, secrecy rests upon the private party seeking disclosure.

Id. at 223, 99 S.Ct. at 1675; United States v. Liuzzo, 739

F.2d 541, 545 (11th Cir.1984). In order to carry this bur-

den, the party seeking disclosure of grand jury material

must show a compelling and particularized need for

disclosure. United States v. Procter & Gamble Co., 356

U.S. 677, 682, 78 S.Ct. 983, 986, 2 L.Ed.2d 1077 (1958)

(stating that the “‘indispensable secrecy of grand jury

proceedings’ must not be broken except where there is a

compelling necessity,” and that instances where the need

outweighs the countervailing policy must “be shown with

particularity”) (internal citation omitted); United States v.

Sells Eng’g, Inc., 463 U.S. 418, 443, 103 S.Ct. 3133, 3148,

77 L.Ed.2d 743 (1983) (stating that, “[w]e have consis-

tently construed [Rule 6(e)(3)(C)G)(D] ... to require a

strong showing of particularized need for grand jury

materials before any disclosure will be permitted”); United

Kingdom v. United States, 238 F.3d at 1320-21; Cox uv.

Adm’r U.S. Steel & Carnegie, 17 F.3d 1386, 1421 (11th

Cir.1994); Burke, 856 F.2d at 1496; Elliott, 849 F.2d at 557;

United States v. Cole, 755 F.2d 748, 758-59 (11th Cir.1985),

App. 37

In re Grand Jury Proceedings, 613 F.2d 501, 506 (5th

Cir.1980); Allis-Chalmers Mfg. Co. v. City of Fort Pierce,

323 F.2d 233, 242 (5th Cir.1963).”

To show a compelling and particularized need, the

private party must show “‘circumstances had created

certain difficulties peculiar to this case, which could be

alleviated by access to specific grand jury materials,

without doing disproportionate harm to the salutary

purpose of secrecy embodied in the grand jury process.’”

Elliott, 849 F.2d at 558 (quoting Liuzzo, 739 F.2d at 545).

As we stated in Cox, “‘disclosure of grand jury testimony is

properly granted where there is a compelling need for such

disclosure and such disclosure is required by the ends of

justice.’” Cox, 17 F.3d at 1421 (quoting Allis-Chalmers,

323 F.2d at 242).

Even when persons requesting disclosure have carried

the burden of showing that they have a compelling and

particular need for the grand jury material in order to

avoid an injustice and that their need for disclosure

outweighs the secrecy need, access is limited and covers

only those materials actually needed. Cox, 17 F.3d at 1421

(““Disclosure even in these circumstances must be closely

* Our precedent in this area stems in part from Allis-Chalmers,

where the Fifth Circuit held:

that disclosure of grand jury testimony is properly granted

where there is a compelling need for such disclosure and

such disclosure is required by the ends of justice. Disclosure

even in these circumstances must be closely confined to the

limited portions of the testimony for which there is found to

be a particularized need.

323 F.2d at 242. This Court adopted as binding precedent all Fifth

Circuit decisions prior to October 1, 1981. Bonner v. City of Prichard,

661 F.2d 1206, 1209 (11th Cir.1981) (en banc).

App. 38

confined to the limited portions of the testimony for which

there is found to be a particularized need.’”) (emphasis in

original) (quoting Allis-Chalmers, 323 F.2d at 242); In re

Subpoena to Testify Directed to Custodian of Records, 864

F.2d 1559, 1562 (11th Cir.1989) (stating that “le]lven when

the person requesting such disclosure has shown a par-

ticularized need for the materials, access is limited and

covers only those materials actually needed”); Liuzzo, 739

F2d at 545 (noting that when particularized need is

shown, “access to grand jury materials must still be

‘discrete[] and limited[],’ and must be ‘structured to cover

only the material needed’”) (alterations in original) (quot-

ing Procter & Gamble, 356 U.S. at 683, 78 S.Ct. at 987,

and Douglas Oil Co., 441 U.S. at 222, 99 S.Ct. at 1674).

Accordingly, a “blanket request for all ... grand jury

materials ... cannot be described as the kind of particu-

larized request required for the production of otherwise

secret information.” United Kingdom v. United States, 238

F.3d at 1321.

Finally, the district court has “substantial discretion”

in determining whether grand jury materials should be

released. Douglas Oil Co., 441 U.S. at 223, 99 S.Ct. at

1675; see also Pittsburgh Plate Glass Co., 360 U.S. at 399,

79 S.Ct. at 1240 (1959); United Kingdom v. United States,

238 F.3d at 1320; Coronado v. BankAtlantic Bancorp, Inc.,

992 F3d 1315, 1322 (11th Cir.2000). We now apply these

principles to this case.

E. Grand Jury Transcripts in Aisenbergs’ Case

At the outset, we note that the district court did not

rule on the Aisenbergs’ requests for grand jury transcripts

until its attorney’s fees order of January 31,2003. By this

PAILS TOLLE PAE DESAI IO ISO SG cathe eb Peet AP ei €

RAO d bp AAI ee Nel 0 ise | ad loa iE Se Neon pS PO

App. 39

time, the indictment had been dismissed, the government

had conceded that attorney’s fees were due under the

Hyde Amendment, and the district court had determined

the amount of those fees. The district court even acknowl-

edged that it had deferred ruling on the Aisenbergs’ grand

jury request until after the fee award was made because

liability_was conceded and the grand jury discovery was

most likely unnecessary. Aisenberg, 247 F.Supp.2d at 1322.

Nonetheless, the district court ordered disclosure. We

conclude that the district court erred in ordering disclo-

sure of all grand jury transcripts for several reasons.”

First, the district court’s order relies heavily on the

fact that Hyde Amendment attorney’s fees have been

awarded in this case and that public taxpayers must pay

them. Based on these facts, the district court concluded

that the public has a “strong interest” in inspecting this

troubled prosecution through the Aisenbergs gaining

access to the grand jury materials. Aisenberg, 247

F.Supp.2d at 1323-24. Although acknowledging the Aisen-

bergs’ burden to show entitlement to grand jury materials,

the district court in effect used its Hyde Amendment

award as the principal means to justify grand jury disclo-

sure. The district court suggested in a footnote that

“[plerhaps an award under the Hyde Amendment ought to

“ The district court’s attorney’s fees order barely referred to Rule

6(e) and did not mention Rule 6(e)(3)(C)(i)(I) at all. Instead, the district

court originally appeared to act under its inherent supervisory acuthor-

ity. In its subsequent stay order, however, the district court did mention

Rule 6(e) and that the Aisenbergs’ “pursuit of rights they assert against

the United States are impaired by continuing non-disclosure.” This

appears to reference the Aisenbergs’ civil lawsuit against the govern-

ment. The Aisenbergs seek to uphold the disclosure under both Rule

6(e)(3)(C)iXD) and the district court’s inherent authority. Thus, we have

considered both grounds in reaching our conclusion in this case.

App. 40

tilt decisively the balance of considerations under Rule

6(e) ... to the extent that public disclosure of grand jury

proceedings is the presumptive consequence absent some

persuasive reason for non-disclosure of all or part of the

grand jury transcript.” Aisenberg, 247 FSupp.2d at 1324

n. 34. In essence, this shifts the burden to the government

in Hyde Amendment cases to show a compelling and

particularized need for non-disclosure of grand jury

transcripts, as opposed to the Aisenbergs having the

burden to show such a need for disclosure.

We decline to carve out new rules for Hyde Amend-

ment cases. Nothing in the Hyde Amendment itself modi-

fies the above well-established legal standards for

discovery of sealed grand jury materials. See Gilbert, 198

F.3d at 1304-05 (addressing failure to introduce exculpa-

tory evidence before the grand jury and stating that

“(njothing in the text or legislative history of the Hyde

Amendment indicates that Congress intended to modify

the law relating to discovery in criminal cases, to expand

the Brady doctrine, or to categorize as prosecutorial

misconduct actions which clearly were not misconduct

under existing law”). If anything, the Hyde Amendment

furthers the protection of grand jury secrecy. Specifically,

the Hyde Amendment allows the government to defend itself

against Hyde Amendment motions and protect confidential

information by submitting certain evidence ex parte, in

camera, and under seal, such as the names of confidential

informants and evidence of matters occurring before the

grand jury. Pub. L. No. 105-119, § 617, 111 Stat. 2440, 2519

(1997) (reprinted in 18 U.S.C. § 3006A, historical and

statutory notes); see United States v. Truesdale, 211 F.3d

898, 907 (5th Cir.2000) (stating that “the provision [in the

Hyde Amendment] for in camera review of evidence was

App. 41

included to enable the government to defend itself against

Hyde Amendment motions and at the same time protect

confidential information”).

Second, to the extent that the district court properly

left the burden on the Aisenbergs, the district court abused

its discretion by failing to follow the well-established and

demanding legal standards regarding what the Aisenbergs

must show to be entitled to secret grand jury material. As

outlined above, whether relying on the court’s inherent

authority or Rule 6(e)(3)(C)(G)(1), the Aisenbergs have the

burden to show: (1) “that the material they seek is needed

to avoid a possible injustice in another proceeding”; (2)

“that the need for disclosure is greater than the need for

continued secrecy”; and (3) “that [the Aisenbergs’] request

is structured to cover only material so needed.” Douglas

Oil Co., 441 U.S. at 222, 99 S.Ct. at 1674. The Aisenbergs

aid not satisfy any of these three prongs, and the district

court erred in not requiring them to do so.

For example, the Aisenbergs have not shown a com-

pelling and particularized need for any portions of the

grand jury transcripts for their civil lawsuit. Instead, the

Aisenbergs already have a wealth of evidence about the

government’s conduct.” Indeed, the overwhelming nature

** Due to the government’s voluntary disclosure, the magistrate

judge’s discovery orders, or their own investigation, the Aisenbergs

already have the following evidence: (1) the wiretap application and

extension requests; (2) the wiretap tapes; (3) the handwritten

transcripts of those tapes upon which the county detectives relied; (4)

the government’s transcripts of those tapes, including the FBI’s work

notes; (5) all written and recorded statements of the Aisenbergs,

including excerpts of investigative reports containing the substance of

their statements, their polygraph exams, and their grand jury

testimony; (6) testimony of forty witnesses during the Franks hearing;

(7) voluminous exhibits from the Franks hearing, including videotapes

(Continued on following page)

App. 42

of this evidence apparently led even the government to

move to dismiss the indictment and to concede that attor-

ney’s fees were owed under the Hyde Amendment.”

Third, the district court also erred in concluding that

the government’s interest in grand jury secrecy was

“minimal” (in its attorney’s fees order) and constituted “no

interest” (in its stay order), and that the government’s only

interest was “to avoid a full airing of the episode.” Aisen-

berg, 247 F.Supp.2d at 1324. Although the prior grand

jury’s deliberations are concluded, this case involves an

unsolved, serious crime — the mysterious disappearance of

and photographs of Sabrina at the November 23, 1997, birthday party,

summaries of the county detectives’ interviews, and a doctor’s report

relied on by county detectives; (8) statements given to law enforcement

by family, friends, and neighbors; (9) the state special prosecutor’s

report outlining “substantial errors” by county law enforcement and his

investigative file, including approximately 3,000 documents from the

state attorney’s office and the United States Attorney’s office; (10)

affidavits by attendees of the November 23, 1997, birthday party

indicating that Sabrina was content and did not have bruises nor

missing hair; (11) sworn statements of the Aisenbergs’ babysitter and

friends indicating that Sabrina was in good condition without missing

hair or bruises days before the missing child report; (12) police inter-

views and sworn statements by a hair stylist shop’s employees indicat-

ing Sabrina’s condition and, in some instances, noting misstatements in

the police reports; (13) a forensic audio specialict’s affidavit opining that

the wiretap tapes did not contain the word “cocaine” nor the phrase “I

wish I hadn’t harmed her”; (14) a doctor’s affidavit stating that the

photographs of Sabrina at the November 23, 1997, birthday party do

not indicate inflicted injuries; and (15) a witness’ affidavit describing

questions asked of her before the grand jury.

*% In its January 31, 2003, order, the district court stated: “For

reasons conspicuous in the record of this extraordinary case, the United

States of America concedes liability - apparently the only such conces-

sion by the Department of Justice since enactment of the Hyde

Amendment - for a prosecution that was either ‘vexatious, frivolous, or

in bad faith’ within the meaning of the Hyde Amendment.” Aisenberg,

247 F.Supp.2d at 1275.

App. 43

a five-month old child from a private home with no forced

entry. Even if the government’s investigation is, as the

district court aptly said, “essentially at a standstill,” id.,

the government still has a substantial interest in keeping

the grand jury material secret until this serious crime is

solved and while its investigation continues. Release of

grand jury transcripts will tell the perpetrator precisely

what the government has and what it lacks. Even if, as

the Aisenbergs argue, much of this information is already

public through other means, release of the sealed grand

jury materials will give the perpetrator a virtual roadmap

to evade detection and capture.

In addition, future prospective witnesses would be

hes:tant to come forward and would be less likely to testify

fully and frankly, knowing that the prior grand jury

testimony about this same missing child has been made

public. Those witnesses would anticipate that those

against whom they testify may similarly later be made

aware of their testimony. As the Supreme Court has

explained, “in considering the effects of disclosure on

grand jury proceedings, the courts must consider not only

the immediate effects upon a particular grand jury, but

also the possible effect upon the functioning of future

grand juries.” Douglas Oil Co., 441 U.S. at 222, 99 S.Ct. at

167‘ The Supreme Court further instructed that

“[plersons called upon to testify will consider the likelihood

that their testimony may one day be disclosed to outside

parties,” and because “[flear of future retribution or social

stigma may act as powerful deterrents to those who would

come forward and aid the grand jury in the performance of

its duties,” “the interests in grand jury secrecy, although

reduced, are not eliminated merely because the grand jury

App. 44

has ended its activities.” Id. The government, as well as

the public and the Aisenbergs, have a strong interest 1n

solving this serious, missing child crime, in future wit-

nesses not being reluctant to testify about this crime

before the grand jury, and thus in the secrecy of the grand

jury not being broken. The unique circumstances of this

case strongly counsel in favor of grand jury secrecy in the

interest of solving this serious crime.

Fourth, and most importantly, we agree with the

district court that the public and the Aisenbergs have a

strong interest in any bad faith prosecution being fully

exposed. We also agree that the insulation of such prosecu-

tions forms no part of the justification for grand jury

secrecy. However, the conduct in this prosecution already

has been publicly aired at great length not only in exten-

sive hearings before the magistrate judge and district

court, but also by the comprehensive orders and reports

entered by the magistrate judge, the district court, and the

state special prosecutor. Those orders and reports exhaus-

tively examine the evidence of the government's conduct

and elucidate in great detail the troublesome events in

this case. Further, as recounted above, the Aisenbergs

already have a wealth of evidence exposing the govern-

ment’s conduct in this case. Given that the government's

conduct already has been revealed and publicly aired, the

district court erred in concluding that the grand jury

transcripts must be disclosed so that the public can know

about this misdirected prosecution. The public already

knows.

For all these reasons, the district court erred in

ordering disclosure of the grand jury transcripts.

App. 45

IV. CONCLUSION

We reverse and vacate the district court’s January 31,

2003, order to the extent it granted the Aisenbergs’

$2,680,602.22 in attorney’s fees. On remand, the district

court shall enter judgment in favor of the Aisenbergs for

$1,298,980.00 in attorney’s fees, plus litigation expenses of

$195,670.32, for a total of $1,494,650.32. We also reverse

and vacate the district court’s January 31, 2003, order to

the extent it granted the Aisenbergs’ motion for release of

the grand jury transcripts in issue and order that these

grand jury transcripts shall remain sealed.

REVERSED and VACATED IN PART; REMANDED.

App. 46

247 FSupp.2d 1272

United States District Court,

M.D. Florida,

Tampa Division.

UNITED STATES of America

v.

Steven B. AISENBERG and Marlene J. Aisenberg

No. 8:99-CR-324-T23MAP.

Jan. 31, 2003.

Stephen Kunz, Rachelle DesVaux-Bedke, Ernest F.

Peluso, John Moran, Terry Zitek, U.S. Attorney’s Office,

Tampa, FL, for U.S.

Barry A. Cohen, Todd Foster, Michael A. Gold,

Stephen L. Romine, Harry M. Cohen, Kevin J. Darken,

Cohen, Jayson & Foster, Tampa, FL, for defendants

Steven and Marlene Aisenberg.

ORDER

MERRYDAY, District Judge.

Steven and Marlene Aisenberg (the Aisenbergs) seek

recovery of “a reasonable attorney’s fee and other litigation

expenses” pursuant to Section 617 of Public Law Number

105-119, 111 Stat. 2440, 2519 (1997) (the Hyde Amend-

ment).! For reasons conspicuous in the record of this

' The Hyde Amendment, which is widely published as a “legisiative

note” attached to 18 U.S.C. § 3006A (popularly entitled “The Criminal

Justice Act”), states:

During fiscal year 1998 and in any fiscal year thereafter, the

court, in any criminal case (other than a case in which the

(Continued on following page)

App. 47

extraordinary case, the United States of America concedes

liability - apparently the only such concession by the

Department of Justice since enactment of the Hyde

Amendment - for a prosecution that was either “vexatious,

frivolous, or in bad faith” with:n the meaning of the Hyde

Amendment. The United States’ unprecedented concession

leaves for determination only the correct statutory meas-

ure of the “reasonable attorney’s fee and other litigation

expenses” available under the Hyde Amendment.”

defendant is represented by assigned counsel paid for by the

public) pending on or after the date of the enactment of this

Act [Nov. 26, 1997], may award to a prevailing party, other

than the United States, a reasonable attorney’s fee and

other litigation expenses, where the court finds that the po-

sition of the United States was vexatious, frivolous, or in

bad faith, unless the court finds that special circumstances

make such an award unjust. Such awards shall be granted

pursuant to the procedures and limitations (but not the

burden of proof) provided for an award under section 2412 of

title 28, United States Code. To determine whether or not to

award fees and costs under this section, the court, for good

cause shown, may receive evidence ex parte and in camera

(which shall include the submission of classified evidence or

evidence that reveals or might reveal the identity of an in-

formant or undercover agent or matters occurring before a

grand jury) and evidence or testimony so received shall be

kept under seal. Fees and other expenses awarded under

this provision to a party shall be paid by the agency over

which the party prevails from any funds made availabie to

the agency by appropriation. No new appropriations shall be

made as a result of this provision.

* The United States conceded the application of the Hyde Amend-

ment to the Aisenberg prosecution in the initial response (Doc. 378) to

the Aisenbergs’ application. (Doc. 367) The United States’ concession

states:

While rejecting the general tenor and specific characteri-

zations of Defendants’ application, the Government has

(Continued on following page)

-

App. 48

THE AISENBERG PROSECUTION

By a telephone call to the “911” emergency service,

Marlene Aisenberg reported the disappearance of her

daughter Sabrina in the early morning on November 24,

1997. Law enforcement responded promptly and in the

next days an intense and thorough “manhunt” occurred

but failed to recover Sabrina. (The Aisenbergs insist with

distinctive force that this search was mainly a search for

Sabrina’s dead body, rather than a search for a living

child. The United States contests this interpretation. In

concluded, after thorough review and consultation within

the United States Attorney’s Office for the Middle District of

Florida, and the Department of Justice, Washington, D.C.,

that the best interests of justice are served by not contesting

the application of the Hyde Amendment in this case.

On February 14, 2001, the Magistrate judge issued a comprehen-

sive, meticulous, and thoroughly researched Report and Recommenda-

tion to the Court in which he determined that important affidavits of

Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office detectives were, among other

things, the product of reckless disregard for the accuracy of critical

information. He thereafter recommended that this Court suppress

evidence which was critical to the successful prosecution of the indict-

ment handed up against the Defendants. The Government closely

reviewed and carefully considered the Magistrate Judge’s Report and

Recommendation. While not fully agreeing with the Magistrate Judge,

the Government concluded that objections to the Report and Recom-

mendation would be unsuccessful. Accordingly, the Government

requested leave of the District Court to file a dismissal of the indict-

ment against Defendants. That request was granted on February 22,

2001. ;

Therefore, based upon the specific findings in the Magistrate

Judge’s Report and Recommendation, and for the purpose and in the

context of this case only, the Government does not contest the applica-

tion of the Hyde Amendment for a determination of Defendants’

reimbursable attorneys’ fees and costs.

App. 49

either event, an enormous effort occurred.) Sabrina re-

mains missing.

On December 12, 1997, eighteen days after Sabrina’s

disappearance and after developing suspicions directed at

the Aisenbergs, the Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office

applied successfully to the circuit court in Hillsborough

County, Florida, for authorization to intercept oral com-

munication, including telephonic communication, in the

Aisenbergs’ home. Authorities furtively placed electronic

interception devices throughout the Aisenbergs’ home the

next day, December 13, 1997. Owing to extensions of the

interception authority, for which law enforcement applied

on January 9 and again on February 6, 1998, the surveil-

lance remained active until March 2, 1998, yielding

seventy-nine days of surveillance, including approximately

2,600 conversations recorded on fifty-five audio recordings

(the interception protocol included minimization at two

minutes and cessation of the bedroom interception be-

tween midnight and 7:00 a.m.).

On September 9, 1999, about twenty-one months after

Sabrina’s disappearance and about eighteen months after

discontinuation of the state-authorized interception in the

Aisenbergs’ home, a federal grand jury returned a twenty-

seven page, six-count indictment alleging (1) that both in

the Aisenbergs’ initial report and during the consequent

investigation the Aisenbergs violated 18 U.S.C. §§ 1001

and 1002 by, among other things, uttering “false, fictitious,

or fraudulent statements” to law enforcement respecting

Sabrina’s disappearance and (2) that the Aisenbergs

App. 50

conspired to effect the deceptions that violated Sections

1001 and 1002.°

> Between Sabrina’s disappearance and the indictment, the United

States issued subpoenas requiring Steven and Marlene Aisenberg to

appear before the grand jury. The United States effcted service of the

subpoenas on the Aisenbergs in a provocative manner (i.e., personal

service at the Aisenbergs’ home rather than service through the.

Aisenbergs’ attorney) and at an unusual time (i2., Friday evening,

January 30, 1998, just four days before February 4,1998, return date).

Both in correspondence and in a hearing before Urited States District

Judge Henry Adams, the Aisenbergs communicated to the United

States an unequivucal intent to invoke the Fifth {mendment in any

appearance before the grand jury. Although the Aisenbergs obtained a

brief postponement of their grand jury appearance, the United States

persisted. Accordingly, the Aisenbergs appeared before the grand jury

(at a time inexplicably known by all members of tie interested press)

and, as promised, refused to testify. Ir other words, the United States

insisted upon placing before the grand jury witnesses (characterized

dubiously by the United States as mere “subjects” of the grand jury

investigation) whom the United States knew would not testify after

asserting their Fifth Amendment rights. See Unitec States Department

of Justice, United States Attorneys’ Manual § 911.154 (Aug.2002),

available at http://www.usdoj.gov/usao/eousa/foia_reading_room/usany/;

1 Sara Sun Beale et al., Grand Jury Law and Practice §§ 6:10, 6:23 (2d

ed.2002). A review of the transcript of the Aisenbergs’ appearance before

the grand jury reveals that they were asked approx mately one hundred

futile but undoubtedly embarrassing questions (each of which the

Aisenbergs lawfully declined to answer). The transcript provides a

graphic and disquieting example of the sort of mischief by the United

States that commends the arguments against pernitting a grand jury

summons under circumstances similar to those nvolving the Aisen-

bergs (i.e., after a forma! notice by counsel for grand jury “targets” of an

assertion of the right against self-incrimination). The grand jury is a

forum for the pursuit of solemn investigation and not a theater for the

presentation of a spectacle. See United States Attorneys’ Manual § 9-

11.010. (“In dealing with the grand jury, the prosecutor must always

conduct himself or herself as an officer of the cour: whose function is to

ensure that justice is done and that guilt shall notescape nor innocence

suffer... . In discharging these responsibilities, the prosecutor must be

(Continued on following page

tat ral al RRL AMET

App. 51

The indictment begins in part A, paragraphs one

through eight, by alleging some unusual details, including

the Aisenbergs’ exact street address, the name of the

Aisenbergs’ pet dog (“Brownie”), the number of bedrooms

and bathrooms in the house, the existence of certain

physical features at and near the Aisenbergs’ home (a cut-

de-sac [sic], a wooden fence, a concrete wall, a nearby road,

street lights), and the presence of both the Aisenbergs’

alarm system and an accompanying exterior sign, which

warns prospective intruders and other passersby about the

alarm system. In paragraph two the indictment refers for

the first time to Sabrina Aisenberg, and the indictment’s

author elects to designate Sabrina as “Baby Sabrina”

(presumably to capture whatever sensational and evoca-

tive value attaches to an alleged crime against an innocent

infant). Paragraph nine of the indictment alleges that:

In November 1997, Baby Sabrina suffered from

ear infections and perforated ear drums, requir-

ing medical treatment. STEVEN B. AISENBERG

and MARLENE J. AISENBERG missed two fol-

low-up medical appointments for Baby Sabrina

on November 10, 1997 and November 17, 1997.

(The obvious thrust of paragraph nine, which eventu-

ally proves wholly unjustified and misleading because

Sabrina saw the pediatrician during her siblings’ ap-

pointments and the Aisenbergs canceled Sabrina’s sepa-

rate appointments, is to project to the reader an image of

parental disregard and disinterest in Sabrina’s medical

welfare, presumably only days before her disappearance.)

scrupulously fair to all witnesses and must do nothing to inflame or

otherwise improperly influence the grand jurors.”)

App. 52

In part B the indictment succinctly charges a conspir-

acy between the Aisenbergs to violate Section 1001 and

continues into part C, which alleges in twelve paragraphs

the “manner and means” by which the Aisenbergs imple-

mented the alleged conspiracy, including falsely reporting

both the kidnapping and the “circumstances of the disap-

pearance,” failing to comply with law enforcement’s

requests for certain cooperation, providing false and

misleading information to law. enforcement, agreeing

between themselves not to “tell anyone the truth concern-

ing the disappearance of Baby Sabrina,” and diverting

toward their “personal expenses” the money received from

others to assist in the search for Sabrina. (This latter

accusation presumably evidences the Aisenbergs’ supposed

moral laxity rather than an identified federal crime.)

In part D the indictment specifies fifty-nine “overt

acts” (counting one per paragraph) allegedly undertaken

by the Aisenbergs in furtherance of their conspiracy to

deceive law enforcement. The “overt acts” begin with an

allegedly false report to police about the time of Sabrina’s

disappearance and with the allegedly conflicting reports

concerning the details. The “overt acts” section of the

indictment contains much that has caused controversy and

rancor throughout this case. Some of the allegations seem

trivial; for example, Brownie’s alleged and suspicious

failure to bark on the night of Sabrina’s disappearance.”

‘ Presumably the reader of the indictment is invited to recall (with

dark suspicion) the exploits of Sherlock Holmes. As they searched for

the cherished racehorse “Silver Blaze,” Holmes and Dr. Watson

encountered one Colonel Ross, with whom they conversed concerning

the horse’s unaccountable disappearance: “Is there any point to which

you [, Mr. Holmes,] would wish to draw my attention?” [, Ross asked.]

(Continued on following page)

App. 53

Some of the allegations seem almost gratuitous; for exam-

ple, the repeated (and undoubtedly embarrassing) refer-

ence to Marlene Aisenberg’s involuntary urination when

she found Sabrina missing. Some of the allegations seem

redundant or, at least, unnecessarily elongated; for exam-

ple, the detailed account of the Aisenbergs’ alleged leth-

argy and disinterest in law enforcement’s investigation. In

sum, the indictment of the Aisenbergs is unaccountably

lengthy and replete with matters that are (at best) mere

surplusage and unnecessary to the essential purpose of an

indictment, which is to provide a “plain, concise, and

definite written statement of the essential facts constitut-

ing the offense charged,” as prescribed by Rule 7(c)(1),

Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure. This purpose is

properly accomplished by an orderly and businesslike

account of “only those facts and elements of the alleged

offense necessary to sufficiently inform the accused of the

“To the curious incident of the dog in the night-time.”

“The dog aid [sic] nothing in the night-time.”

“That was the curious incident,” remarked Sherlock Holmes.

Of course, Holmes later explains himself to Dr. Watson:

“... IT had grasped the significance of the silence of the dog,

for one true inference invariably suggests others. The Simp-

son incident had shown me that a dog was kept in the sta-

bles, and yet, though someone had been in and had fetched

out a horse, he had not barked enough to arouse the two

lads in the loft. Obviously the midnight visitor was someone

whom the dog knew well.”

2 Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, THE ANNOTATED SHERLOCK HOLMES,

“Silver Blaze” (William S. Baring-Gould ed., Clarkson N. Potter, Inc., 2d

ed.1977) (1892).

The infallibility of Sherlock Holmes’ miraculous powers of observa-

tion and deduction is, it is well to remember, merely delicious fiction.

App. 54

charge and to safeguard the accused from double jeop-

ardy.” United States v. Gold, 743 F.2d 800, 812 (11th

Cir.1984). An indictment is an instrument designed to

fairly notify a defendant of the essential facts comprising

an offense against a specified law. An indictment is not an

opportunity for the United States to marshal all available

details of the inculpatory evidence, to advance arguments

(especially tendentious or highly provocative arguments)

and promote inferences in support of conviction, or to

unnecessarily defame, embarrass, or — more to the particu-

lar point of the Hyde Amendment —- gratuitously vex the

defendant.

Admittedly, no distinct boundary exists distinguishing

a merely lengthy or a “speaking” indictment from an

indictment purposefully swollen with unduly suggestive

detail. The prosecutor enjoys some latitude and, of course,

an indictment is neither likely to nor intended to flatter a

defendant. However, a fair reading of the Aisenberg

indictment (independent of any consideration of the events

that follow the indictment, which events adulterate one’s

view dramatically) leaves the disinterested observer with

reinforced skepticism about the intention of the indict-

ment’s author. This troubling suspicion is compounded and

further reinforced by a series of allegations of dubious

relevance, detached context, or questionable veracity, for

example, that Marlene Aisenberg “feigned a catatonic

state in front of law enforcement agents,” that the Aisen-

bergs “failed to provide the requested lists for law en-

forcement,” that “Mar

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.