Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Cox v. City of Dallas, Texas (No. 05-1226)

Supreme Court brief2005

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

=

make their dwellings available for sale is

decreased. For example, Federal Housing

Administration (FHA) mortgage appraisal

guidelines require the appraiser to identify all

inharmonious land uses that present a serious

detriment to either the health or safety of the

occupants or to the economic security of the

property, note such detriments, and recommend

that the property be rejected by the lender.

Adjoining or nearby hazards such as chemical

fumes, odors that are hazardous to the health of

neighborhood occupants and adversely affect the

market value of the property require the

appraiser to return the unfinished appraisal to

the lender. Without a finished appraisal, the loan

cannot be approved. Pet. App. 122a - 128a.

Petitioners also alleged purposeful violations of

the Fair Housing Act, 42 U.S.C. § 3604(a) and § 3604(b),

the Equal Protection clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment to the U.S. Constitution and 42 U.S.C.

- $1981. Petitioners sought damages under all of their

claims. Pet. App. 81a.

The City moved for summary judgment on all of

the Fair Housing Act claims solely on the grounds that

since petitioners had already purchased their homes

before the alleged policy began, the City could not have

made their homes unavailable to them or discriminated

against them in the provision of services related to the

earlier acquisition of their homes. Pet. App. 84a.

The district court found that the summary

judgment evidence raised an issue of fact on the

discriminatory effects of the City’s actions. Pet. App.

95a - 96a. Nevertheless, the district court granted the

motion on the Fair Housing Act claims for the sole

7

reason that since petitioners already owned their

homes, the City had not made petitioners’ homes

unavailable to petitioners. Therefore, according the

district court, the petitioners did not state a claim for

relief under the Fair Housing Act.

To affect the availability of housing within the

meaning of the FHA, the discriminatory actions

must have a direct impact on plaintiffs' ability, as

potential home buyers or renters, to locate in a

particular area or to secure housing. Pet. App.

84a.

In this case, it is undisputed that Plaintiffs own

the homes in which they live. (See Pl.'s MSJ Br.

at 2.) Plaintiffs do not allege that the City has

refused to sell or rent to them after the making

of a bona fide offer, or has refused to negotiate

for the sale or rental of a dwelling to them for

any discriminatory reasons. They claim that

illegal dumping at the Deepwood site decreased

the habitability of their homes and made their

homes harder to sell. (/d. at 9-10.) Pet. App. 85a.

To recover under §§ 3604(a), Plaintiffs

must prove that the City has made unavailable

or denied them dwellings on a prohibited basis.

Section 3604(a) protects the right of individuals

to live where they choose, but it does not protect

intangible interests in already-owned property,

such as_ habitability or value. Southend

Neighborhood Improvement Ass'n v. County of

St. Clair, 743 F.2d at 1210; see also Jersey

Heights Neighborhood Ass'n v. Glendening, 174

F.3d 180, 192-93 (4th Cir.1999). Because no

reasonable trier of fact could find that the City

8.

made unavailable or denied a dwelling to

Plaintiffs within the meaning of the FHA, the

City is entitled to summary judgment with

respect to Plaintiffs' claims under §§ 3604(a)

Pet. App. 85a-86a.

Accordingly, the Court holds that §§ 3604(b)

applies only to discrimination in the provision of

services that precludes the sale or rental of

housing. Because Plaintiffs here have not alleged

discrimination related to the acquisition of their

homes, the City is entitled to summary judgment

on Plaintiffs' claims brought under §§ 3604(b).

Pet. App. 89a.

This Court has previously held that because

Plaintiffs own their homes and no reasonable

trier of fact could find that the City made

unavailable or denied a dwelling to them within

the meaning of the FHA, the City is entitled to

summary judgment with respect to their claims

brought under §§ 3604(a) and (b) of the FHA.

Pet. App. 91a.

The summary judgment on the Fair Housing Act

claims prevented petitioners from obtaining a trial on

those claims. As pointed out by the Court of Appeals,

trial of the Fair Housing Act claims would have

proceeded under both a respondeat superior standard

and a discriminatory effects test liability standard. In

their Fair Housing Act proof, petitioners would not

have had the burden to show either discriminatory

purpose or direct involvement of the City of Dallas City

Council or other policymakers. Pet. App. 17a. The

district court later ruled against petitioners’ on their

9

purposeful discrimination claims after a trial on the

merits. Pet. App. 36a. The district court ruled that

petitioners had not shown either a discriminatory

purpose nor the direct involvement of the City Council

or Board of Adjustment in the policy at issue. Pet. App.

62a-63a, 69a. The Court of Appeals affirmed these

findings. Pet. App. 22a.’

The Court of Appeals affirmed the summary

judgment on the Fair Housing Act claims on the

grounds that the injuries asserted by petitioners, the

barriers to the sale of their homes and_ the

accompanying diminution in value, were not injuries

prohibited by the Fair Housing Act.

Plaintiffs argue that the City violated § 3604(a)

because the dump makes it more difficult for

them to sell their houses and lowers the value of

their houses. This claim enjoys factual support,

but it is not a claim of “unavailability” or “denial”

of housing under a proper reading of the FHA.

Pet. App. 10a-1la.

The failure of the City to police the Deepwood

landfill may have harmed the housing market,

decreased home values, or adversely impacted

homeowner; “intangible interests,” but such

results do not make dwellings “unavailable”

within the meaning of the Act. Pet. App. lla.

... These cases buttress our conclusion that the

simple language of § 3604(a) does not apply to

' The disposition of petitioners’ purposeful discrimination claims

under the Equal Protection clause of the Fourteenth Amendment

to the U.S. Constitution and 42 U.S.C. § 1981 is not the subject for

which review is sought because that disposition involved fact

determinations by the district court and the Court of Appeals.

10

current homeowners whose complaint is that the

value or habitability of their houses has

decreased because such a complaint is not about

“availability.” Pet. App. 13a.

We hold only that § 3604(a) gives no right of

action to current owners claiming that the value

or habitability of their property has decreased

due to discrimination in the delivery of

protective city services. Pet. App. I4a.

Because housing was not made “unavailable” to

plaintiffs, the district court’s rejection of their §

3604 (a) claim was proper. Pet. App. 16a.

Even assuming that the enforcement of zoning

laws alleged here is a “service,” we hold that §

3604(b) is inapplicable here because the service

was not “connected” to the sale or rental of a

dwelling as the statute requires. Pet. App. 17a.

The claims here do not assert the requisite

connection between the alleged discrimination

and the sale or rental of a dwelling - that is §

3604(b) does not aid plaintiffs, whose complaint

is that the value or “habitability” of their houses

has decreased. Pet. App. 18a.

The Court of Appeals made it clear that its 42

U.S.C. § 3604(b) ruling was premised directly on

petitioners’ status as existing homeowners. This is clear

from the Court of Appeals’ statement when it added

two possible exceptions to its rule that no existing

homeowners have a 42 U.S.C. § 3604(b) claim.

1]

This is not to say that § 3604(b) applies only if

the plaintiff was precluded from finding housing.

For example, § 3604(b) may encompass a claim of

a current owner or renter for attempted and

unsuccessful discrimination relating to the initial

sale or rental or for actual or constructive

eviction. Pet. App. 18a.

These narrow exceptions do not extend Fair

Housing Act protection to homeowners whose ability to

sell has been blocked or impeded by the discriminatory

provision of municipal services connected to the sale of

dwellings. Nor does it recognize Fair Housing claims in

which discrimination results in economic loss or damage

to intangible interests of a home owner.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The judgments below directly and unequivocally

contradict this Court’s decisions holding that 42 U.S.C.

§ 3604 provides a statutory claim for those who already

occupy their dwelling units but whose economic or

intangible interests are injured by actions making

dwellings unavailable to others because of race.

Trafficante v. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co., 409 U.S. 205

(1972); Gladstone Realtors v. Village of Bellwood, 441

U.S. 91 (1979); Havens Realty Corp. v. Coleman, 455

U.S. 368, 375-376 (1982). In this case, it was petitioners’

own homes that were being made unavailable to others

because of the City’s racially discriminatory policy that

caused and maintained the existence of the illegal

landfill in their neighborhood.

The judgments below directly conflict with the

decisions of other Circuits that explicitly cite the

12

Trafficante-Bellwood-Havens Realty precedent and

hold that owners and tenants indirectly injured by

practices alleged to make housing unavailable on

prohibited grounds do have aggrieved person claims

under 42 U.S.C. § 3604.

The judgments below directly affect not just the

interests of petitioners and other homeowners but also

the interests of fair housing organizations throughout

the country. These organizations, while not themselves

refused the right to purchase or rent a dwelling, do

have indirect injuries that state an aggrieved person

claim for relief under this Court’s precedent and the

Court of Appeals’ cases following that precedent.

Havens Realty 455 U.S. at 378 - 379; City of Chicago v.

Matchmaker Real Estate Sales Center, Inc., 982 F.2d

1086, 1094 - 1095 (7 Cir. 1992). The lower court

opinions eliminate these claims by fair housing

organizations by eliminating indirect injury as an

element of a 42 U.S.C. § 3604 claim for relief.

1. The judgments’ below. directly and

unequivocally contradict this Court’s decisions holding

that 42 U.S.C. § 3604 provides a statutory claim for

relief to existing homeowners whose economic or

intangible interests are injured by actions making

dwellings unavailable to others because of race.

The Fair Housing Act specifically sets out the

definition of persons who have a claim for relief to seek

damages and other remedies for violations of that Act.

The Act gives “aggrieved persons” a claim for relief

under its provisions.

An aggrieved person may commence a civil

action in an appropriate United States district

court or State court ... to obtain appropriate

relief with respect to such discriminatory

13

housing practice ....42 U.S.C. § 3613(a)(1)(A).

An “aggrieved person” is any person who

“claims to have been injured by a discriminatory

housing practice” or who believes that they “will be

injured by a discriminatory housing practice that is

about to occur.” 42 U.S.C. § 3601(i).

-A “discriminatory housing practice” means an

act that is unlawful under 42 U.S.C. § § 3604, 3605, 3606,

or 3617. 42 U.S.C. § 3601(f).

The relevant provisions of 42 U.S.C. § 3604 state:

It shall be unlawful--

(a) To refuse to sell or rent after the making of a

bona fide offer, or to refuse to negotiate for the

sale or rental of, or otherwise’ make

unavailable or deny, a dwelling to any person

because of race, color, religion, sex, familial

status, or national origin.

(b) To discriminate against any person in the

terms, conditions, or privileges of sale or rental

of a dwelling, or in the provision of services

or facilities in connection therewith, because

of race, color, religion, sex, familial status, or

national origin. 42 U.S.C.§ 3604. (Emphasis

added).

The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban

Development (HUD) interprets 42 U.S.C. § 3604 to

prohibit the provision of municipal services in a manner

that makes dwellings unavailable because of race. The

relevant provisions of the HUD regulations state:

b) It shall be unlawful, because of race, color,

religion, sex, handicap, familial status, or

14

national origin, to engage in any conduct relating

to the provision of housing or of services and

facilities in connection therewith that otherwise

makes unavailable or denies dwellings to persons

(d) Prohibited activities relating to dwellings

under paragraph (b) of this section include, but

are not limited to:

(4) Refusing to provide municipal services or

property or hazard insurance for dwellings or

providing such services or insurance differently

because of race, color, religion, sex, handicap,

familial status, or national origin. 24 C.F.R. §

100.70(d)(4)(Emphasis added).

The HUD interpretation on the scope of the Fair

Housing Act’s prohibitions is entitled to deference and

great weight. Meyer v. Holley, 537 U.S. 280, 287 (2003);

Nationwide Mutual Insurance Co. v. Cisneros, 52 F. 3d

1351, 1360 (6'" Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 516 U.S. 1140

(1996). The Court of Appeals’ decision in this case

accepted the rule that municipal services making

dwellings unavailable could be a discriminatory housing

practice and cited the cases so holding. Pet. App. 30a

* HUD’s statements that discriminatory municipal services that

affect the availabilit} of housing are within the scope of

discriminatory housing practices are at 54 Fed. Reg. 3232, 3240,

January 23, 1989 and 53 Fed. Reg. 44992, 44997, November 7, 1988.

* The discriminatory housing practice at issue in Cisneros was the

cancellation of homeowners’ insurance to complainants already

owning their homes. The Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

rejected the argument that since the cancellation had not made the

homes unavailable to the owners, the action was not covered by 42

U.S.C. § 3604. Cisneros, 52 F. 3d at 1354-1355, 1357.

15

n34, The Court of Appeals in this case did not dispute

the HUD interpretation that municipal services were

covered by the Fair Housing Act but rather held that

the language in 24 C.F.F. § 100.70(d)(4) supported the

court’s view that such conduct was illegal only when

challenged by buyers rather than by those who already

owned their homes. Pet. App. 28a-29a n30.

Neither of the lower courts in this case ruled

that the City’s actions did not make housing unavailable

by rendering the homes in the neighborhood ineligible

for purchase money mortgages. The Court of Appeals

explicitly found that the proof supported petitioners’

allegations that the City’s actions had made their

homes more ifficult to sell. Pet. App. 10a-lla. It

affirmed the dismissal of petitioners’ claims on the

grounds that this evidence and other evidence of the

effect of the City’s actions on the housing market was

irrelevant because petitioners themselves had already

acquired their homes before the illegal landfill began

operation. Pet. App. lla.

Rather than hold that the City’s actions had not

made housing unavailable, both lower courts focused on

the injuries asserted by petitioners for the basis for

dismissing the claims. Those injuries were not the

direct injury of being denied the opportunity to

purchase but rather the injury of being denied the

opportunity to sell because of race and_ the

accompanying loss of property value. Both courts held

that since these injuries were not the subject of specific

prohibitions in the Act, petitioners had no claim. Pet.

App. lla, 85a. -

The lower courts looked in the wrong place for

the actionable injury. Some of the injuries from

discriminatory housing practices can be directly

deduced from the wording of the practices prohibited.

16

A discriminatory refusal to rent inflicts the direct

injury of being denied a dwelling unit to rent. However,

the text of the Act does not state, describe, or limit the

injuries that will satisfy the “have been injured” or

“will be injured” provisions of the sections defining the

persons with a claim for relief under the Act. 42 U.S.C.

§§ 3601, 3613. Nor has HUD defined the injuries that

establish the aggrieved person claim for relief. 24

C.F.R. Part 100.

It is this Court that has supplied the answer to

the question of what type of injury satisfies the claim

for relief section of the Fair Housing Act. The answer is

that, in addition to the direct injury that results from a

discriminatory housing practice such as being refused

the opportunity to buy a dwelling because of race, any

injury that satisfies the case or controversy

requirement of Article III of the U.S. Constitution and

is caused by a discriminatory housing practice satisfies

the aggrieved person requirement for stating a claim

for relief under 42 U.S.C. § 3604.

This Court first held that any such ‘injury that

satisfies the Article III case or controversy standard is

sufficient for an aggrieved person Fair Housing Act

claim in Trafficante v. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co., 409

U.S. 205, 210 (1972). In Trafficante, whites who were

existing tenants at an apartment complex claimed that

the landlord was refusing to rent to black applicants.

The white tenants, whose dwellings clearly had not

been made unavailable to them, asserted that their

intangible interests in a racially integrated apartment

complex were injured by discriminatory housing

practices. This Court held that the alleged injury to the

intangible interests associated with racially integrated

housing satisfied the case or controversy requirement.

No more was required to bring the existing tenants

17

within the statutory definition of aggrieved persons

stating a Fair Housing Act claim. /d. at 212. The lower

court decisions overturned by this Court in T'rafficante

had held that since the petitioners had not themselves

been denied the rental of a unit because of race, they

were not the direct objects of a discriminatory housing

practice and thus were not aggrieved persons for

purposes of stating a Fair Housing Act claim.

Trafficante v. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co., 322 F.Supp.

352, 353 (N.D. Cal. 1971); Trafficante v. Metropolitan

Life Ins. Co., 446 F.2d 1158, 1162 (9'" Cir. 1971). The

lower court decisions at issue in this petition are based

on the same rule rejected by this Court in Trafficante,

409 U.S. at 212.

This Court, in a subsequent case, applied the

aggrieved person standard to hold that existing

homeowners who claimed that their property values

were being diminished had stated an aggrieved person

claim for relief under the Fair Housing Act. Bellwood,

441 U.S. at 103 n.9, 109, 115. The Bellwood homeowners

alleged that their injury was inflicted by the

defendants’ discriminatory housing practices steering

black potential home buyers to the petitioners’

-neighborhood while steering white potential home

buyers to other neighborhoods. The Court did not

decide whether or not this was a discriminatory

housing practice. Jd. at 115 n32. The Court did decide

that the economic and other injuries alleged by the

homeowners stated an an aggrieved persons Fair

Housing Act claim. /d. at 109, 115. This is the same

injury rejected by the lower courts in this case as

sufficient to support a Fair Housing Act claim. Pet.

App. 10a, 18a, 85a.

Neither the Trafficante plaintiffs nor the

Bellwood plaintiffs would have survived the test for

18

stating an aggrieved person claim applied by the lower

courts in this case. The intangible interests in an

integrated community at issue in Trafficante are not

listed in the Fair Housing Act, 42 U.S.C. § 3604. The

economic and other injuries caused by the manipulation

of the housing market in Bellwood are not injuries

listed in the Fair Housing Act, 42 U.S.C. § 3604.

Neither the Trafficante nor the Bellwood plaintiffs

could show that they themselves had been denied a

dwelling by the challenged practices. They had not.

Trafficante, 409 U.S. at 206. But since this Court found

that the injuries satisfied both the aggrieved person

statutory test and the Article III case or controversy

injury test, those plaintiffs stated aggrieved -person

claims under the Fair Housing Act. Trafficante, 409

U.S. at 208, 212; Bellwood, 441 U.S. at 103 n9, 109, 115.

This Court subsequently reaffirmed its

aggrieved person claim holding and extended the scope

of those with an aggrieved person claim for relief to fair

housing organizations alleging indirect injuries from

discriminatory. practices. Havens Realty Corp v.

Coleman, 455 U.S. 363 (1982). The Court re-affirmed its

prior holding that residents alleging the loss of social,

professional, and economic benefits from the

discriminatory housing practices affecting not their

ability to buy or rent but the opportunities of others

were aggrieved persons for purposes of stating a 42

U.S.C. § 3604 claim. /d. at 376 - 77. The Court went on

to rule that a local fair housing organization that was

neither a prospective buyer or renter nor an existing

homeowner could state an aggrieved person claim for

relief. The fair housing organization could not allege

that it had been denied the opportunity to buy or rent.

Instead it alleged that the discriminatory housing

practices perceptibly impaired its ability to provide

19

counseling and referral services for low-and moderate

income homeseekers. The Court held that with this

injury the organization could satisfy the required

aggrieved person status for stating a claim under the

Act. Id. at 378-879. Neither the existing homeowners

nor the fair housing organization in Havens Realty

Corp. would have satisfied the direct injury restriction

on the aggrieved person claim for relief imposed by the

lower courts in this case.

The Court of Appeals in this case made no effort

to reconcile its holding with this Court’s Trafficante,

Bellwood, and Havens Realty precedent on the injury

element of the statutory aggrieved person claim for

relief established by the Act, 42 U.S.C. § 3613(a)(1)(A).

The court cites Bellwood in a footnote listing it as a

“non-controlling” case because it deals with situations

where current owners are suing because houses have

been made unavailable to others. Pet. App. 24a - 25a,

nl&. This is inexplicable. Petitioners directly claimed

that the City’s practices made their dwellings

unavailable to others, at least to others seeking to use

Federal Home Administration mortgages. Pet. App.

122a - 123a. The court found that the proof supported

petitioners’ claim that the City’s actions made their

homes harder to sell. Pet. App. 10a - lla. Bellwood

directly controls this case. The dismissive footnote does

not eliminate the contradiction between the Court of

Appeals and this Court’s precedent.

2. The lower courts’ judgments that because

petitioners were not denied the right to purchase or

lease their homes they do not have an aggrieved person

claim under 42 U.S.C. § 3604 directly conflict with the

decisions in other circuits that have followed this

Court’s precedent for determining aggrieved person

claims in Trafficante, Bellwood, and Havens Realty.

20

The black homeowners challenging zoning actions in

Fair Housing in Huntington Committee Inc. v. Town

of Huntington, 316 F.3d 357, 362 - 68 (2d Cir. 2003)

stated an aggrieved person claim. Local homeowners

stated an aggrieved persons claim for religious

discrimination in zoning that made _ dwellings.

unavailable to others of their religion. LeBblanc-

Sternberg v. Fletcher 67 F.3d 412, 424 - 25, 428 (2d Cir.

1995), cert. denied, 520 U.S. 1268 (1997). A homeowner

stated an aggrieved person claim for familial status

discrimination against potential buyers in Hamad v.

Woodcrest Condominium Ass'n, 328 F.3d 224, 230 - 32

(6 Cir. 2003) on a mere showing that the number of

potential buyers had been’ reduced by _ the

discriminatory conduct, not that they had_ been

foreclosed from selling. /d. at 230. An -existing

homeowner denied homeowners’ insurance stated an

aggrieved person claim in United Farm Bureau Mut.

Ins. Co., Ine. v. Metropolitan Human Relations Com'n,

24 F.3d 1008, 1010, 1015 -1016 (7"" Cir. 1994). A tenant

claiming associational and other injuries from steering

stated an aggrieved person claim in Harris v.

Itzhaki,183 F.3d 1048, 1049 - 50 (9 Cir. 1999). The

owners of a building they sought to sell for use as

dwellings stated an aggrieved person claim in San

Pedro Hotel Co., Inc. v. City of Los Angeles, 159 F.3d

470, 475 - 76 (9° Cir. 1998). A public housing tenant

residing next to the site of proposed project to be built

in black neighborhood stated an aggrieved person claim

in Jackson v. Okaloosa County, Fla., 21 F.8d 1531, 1589

- 40 (11 Cir, 1994),

The cases cited by the lower courts in this case

for the proposition that existing property owners do

not have an aggrieved person claim either do not cite,

discuss or follow the Trafficante, Bellwood, or Havens

21

Realty aggrieved person claim for relief precedent.

Southend Neighborhood Imp. Ass'n v. St. Clair County,

743 F.2d 1207, 1209 - 10 (7'" Cir.1984) cites Trafficante

once but only for the general principle that courts have

broadly applied the Fair Housing Act. The assertion

that the Act does not protect the intangible interests in

the already-owned property raised by the plaintiffs’

allegations is made without any reference to the

Trafficante-Bellwood-Havens Realty precedent.

Southend, 748 F. 2d at 1210. Tenafly Eruv Ass'n, Inc. v.

Borough of Tenafly, 309 F.3d 144 (3 Cir. 2002), cert.

dented, 538° U.S. 942 (2003) does not include any

discussion of or cites to the Trafficante-Bellwood-

Havens Realty precedent. Halprin v. Prairie Single

Family Homes of Dearborn Park Ass'n, 388 F.3d 327,

328-329 (7'" Cir. 2004) mentions Trafficante but avoids

its impact by claiming that the applicability of the Fair

Housing Act to post-sale discrimination was not an

issue in that case. The court in Jersey Heights

Neighborhood Ass'n v. Glendening, 174 F.3d 180, 192 -

193 (4'" Cir. 1999) did not discuss injury.

The district court opinion in this case has already

begun to contribute to additional splits in decisions. In

King v. Metcalf 56 Homes Ass’n, WL 2538379, *2-3 (D.

Kan. 2004), the district court cited the district court

opinion in this case as support for the holding that 42

U.S.C. § 3604 does not apply unless the plaintiff alleges

that the conduct prevented her from acquiring the

dwelling. The district court in King dismissed the 42

U.S.C. § 3604 claim on the same grounds as the lower

courts in this case - the plaintiff had already acquired

the housing. The King court does not discuss or

mention the Trafficante or Bellwood precedent. Jd. The

district court decision in this case was -also cited as

precedent for the same proposition in at least one case

-

22

in which the United States was seeking damages on

behalf of individual aggrieved persons. The district

court in that case rejected the proposition and held that

an aggrieved person claim for relief can be based on

indirect injuries. U.S. v. Koch, 352 F.Supp.2d 970, 972

(D. Neb. 2004).

3. Following Havens’ recognition of the role of

local fair housing organizations in seeking relief as an

aggrieved person on their own _ behalf, these

organizations have used the aggrieved person claim for

relief recognized by this Court to enforce the provisions

of the Fair Housing Act. City of Chicago, 982 F.2d at

1094 -1095; Fair Housing of Marin v. Combs, 285 F.3d

899, 905 (9'" Cir. 2002); Walker v. Todd Village, LLC,

2006 WL 618812, *1 (D.Md. 2006). Recognizing the

integral role that these fair housing organizations play

in the private enforcement of the Fair Housing Act, the

U.S. Congress passed and funded a program to provide

a national system of such fair housing organizations. 42

U.S.C. § 3616(a), Pet. App. 103a; 24 C.F.R. §125.401,

Pet. App. 114a« But-the rule providing a 42 U.S.C. §

3604 aggrieved person claim for relief only to direct

victims of a refusal to sell or rent set by the lower

courts in this case will substantially impair the

functioning of this Congressionally recognized and

funded fair housing enforcement mechanism. Douglas,

“Standing on Shaky Ground: Standing Under the Fair

Housing Act,” 34 Akron L. Rev. 613, 634 (2001);

Schwemm, “The Fair Housing Act After Twenty

Years,” 6 Yale Law and Policy Review 375, 381-382

(1988). These organizations, like petitioners, have not

themselves been denied the opportunity to buy or rent

a dwelling. But these organizations, like petitioners,

have suffered indirect injuries that provide them with

an aggrieved person claim for relief under 42 U.S.C. §

23

3604. Havens, 455 U.S. at 378-379. If the lower courts’

decisions are allowed to stand, there will be significant

precedential barriers to the functioning of these

organizations as part of the national system for private

enforcement of the F'air Housing Act.

CONCLUSION

The petition for writ of certiorari should be

granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Michael M. Daniel

Counsel of Record

Laura B. Beshara

DANIEL & BESHARA, P.C.

3301 Elm Street

Dallas, Texas 75226-1637

214-939-9230

214-741-3596 (Fax)

la

(any footnotes trail end of each document)

No. 04-11304

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

HAROLD COX; SHIRLEY DAVIDSON; ROBERT

STUBBLEFIELD; CYNTHIA HERRING; ELOISE

EDWARDS; BETTY CURLEY; LEO EASTER,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

Versus

CITY OF DALLAS TEXAS; ET AL,

Defendants,

CITY OF DALLAS TEXAS,

Defendant-Appellee.

November 9, 2005, Filed

COUNSEL: For HAROLD COX, SHIRLEY

DAVIDSON, ROBERT STUBBLEFIELD,

CYNTHIA HERRING, ELOISE EDWARDS,

BETTY CURLEY, LEO EASTER, Plaintiffs -

Appellants: Michael M Daniel, Laura Beth Beshara,

Dallas TX.

For CITY OF DALLAS TEXAS, Defendant -

Appellee: Janice Smith Moss, Assistant City Attorney,

Caroline Jordan, City Attorney's Office for the City of

Dallas, Dallas, TX.

For BAZELON CENTER FOR MENTAL HEALTH

LAW, FAIR HOUSING ACTION CENTER,

LAWYERS' COMMITTEE FOR CIVIL RIGHTS

2a

UNDER LAW, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION FOR

THE ADVANCEMENT OF COLORED PEOPLE,

NATIONAL FAIR HOUSING ALLIANCE, NEW

YORK LAWYERS FOR THE PUBLIC INTEREST,

Amicus Curiae: Reed N Colfax, Relman & Associates,

Washington, DC; Denise L Gilman, Washington

Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights, Washington, DC.

JUDGES: Before HIGGINBOTHAM, JONES and

DeMOSS, Circuit Judges.

OPINIONBY: PATRICK E. HIGGINBOTHAM

OPINION: PATRICK E. HIGGINBOTHAM, Circuit

Judge:

Asserting racial discrimination, homeowners sued the

City of Dallas under the Fair Housing Act and 42

U.S.C. §§ 1981 and 1983 for persistent failure to police

the operation of an illegal dump near their homes. The

district court granted summary judgment to the City

on the Fair Housing Act claim and ruled for the City on

the §§ 1981 and 1983 claims after a bench trial. We

affirm.

I

The City annexed the Deepwood neighborhood in 1956

and zoned it residential. In 1963, the City issued a

certificate of occupancy for a gravel pit, part of a sand

and gravel mining operation, at 523 Deepwood Street.

The pit required a certificate because it was a non-

conforming use. The City also re-zoned as industrial a

portion of the &5-acre site and issued a specific use

permit for a mining operation.

3a

Plaintiffs purchased homes in Deepwood between 1970

and 1978. It was a predominately white neighborhood

according to the 1970 U.S. Census. By the 1980 Census,

it was predominately black. During the early years of

this decade of racial transition, there was open dumping

of solid waste at the site, prompting visits to the site by

City and state officials. Their response was a call for

continuing surveillance.

Terry Van Sickle owned V.V. Construction. He also

owned the site from 1982 through 1992. In March of

1982, V.V. Construction applied for a permit to remove

sand and gravel from the site, assuring the City that it

would fill the old pits with solid waste. The permit was

issued the following month.

Within six months, one of the plaintiffs in this action

filed a complaint with the City, alleging massive illegal

dumping at the site. The City responded that Van

Sickle had been cited for improperly conducting a

sanitary landfill operation in a residentially zoned area.

Weekly re-inspections followed but, as late as

December 9, 1982, had detected no additional illegal

dumping. Plaintiffs had a different take. They continued

to complain at City Council meetings about dumping. In

the first four months of 1983, residents appeared five

times at City Council meetings, each time expressing

concern about the site; in particular, they voiced

concerns about truck traffic, noise, air pollution, and

illegal dumping.

On February 4, 1983, responding to these complaints,

the Assistant City Manager advised the mayor and the

City Council that Van Sickle had been fined for

operating a sanitary landfill on the site and that illegal

4a

dumping had ceased. The manager offered the view

that once truck traffic to the site was diverted away

from residential streets, most of the residents' concerns

would be resolved. That did not prove to be accurate.

Complaints by residents of Deepwood continued, as did

the efforts of staff to reassure the elected officials. On

May 18, 1983, a City employee sent a memo to a City

Councilwoman describing the site and indicating that

no contaminants were found in the soil or water table

and that continued monitoring was to take place every

four to six months for five years. Again, despite these

assurances, residents continued to complain that trash

was being dumped at the site.

The City Council remained attentive, if ineffectual,

requesting that the Board of Adjustment hold a public

hearing to consider terminating the nonconforming use

of the site. The resolution requesting the hearing

pointed to the operation of a "stone, sand, or gravel

mining use" on the property. It did not mention the

complaints that it was being used as an illegal dump.

The Board of Adjustment held the requested hearing

on July 26, 1988 to consider revoking the certificate of

occupancy for the nonconforming sand and gravel

mining operation. The board members visited the site

on the morning of the hearing. In preparation for the

inspection, however, Van Sickle had moved the trash

and covered it with dirt. At the hearing, he testified

that he had removed a considerable amount of trash

from the site and that he planned to mine gravel for two

more years and fill the resulting hole for another three

years. Two other individuals supported continuing the

nonconforming use. While two residents sent letters of

opposition to this plan to the Board of Adjustment,

\

Da

none attended the hearing. At the conclusion of the

hearing, the board decided to take no action to revoke

the certificate and to call another hearing in nine

months. There is no evidence in the record that the

board ever again considered the matter.

While Van Sickle owned the site, two City demolition

contractors dumped trash on the site. legal dumping

continued from 1985 to 1993, and during this time the

City invested little effort into deterring illegal

dumping.' Over these eight years, the City issued

fifteen citations for illegal dumping, six of which were

for dumping at the Deepwood site. A 1985 memo to the

mayor and City Council stated that the citations for

illegal dumping at the site had been only a partial

deterrent and noted that control of illegal dumping had

been "loose."

In 1987, the City sued Van Sickle, V.V. Construction,

and another defendant, Samson Horrice, for operating

an illegal solid waste facility. As if to make matters

plain, in 1988 the site caught fire and burned for over

seven months. Finally, in December of 1989, the City

obtained a judgment against the defendants ordering

them to cease dumping at the site and to submit and

implement a plan to close the site. But nothing changed.

The Bureau of Solid Waste Management of the Texas

Department of Health inspected the site in April of

1991. The inspectors reported continued unauthorized

dumping and no efforts to clean up the site as required

by the 1989 judgment. According to the reports, the

City was informed of the failure to clean up the site.

6a

In November of 1991, the City moved for contempt

against Van Sickle and Horrice for failure to comply

with the judgment. No hearing was held because the

City failed to serve one of the defendants. It appears

that no further action was taken to enforce the

judgment and ensure closure of the site. With this

inaction, a decade of erratic enforcement staggered to a

halt.

First State Bank had a lien on the site. In 1991, the

Department of Housing and Neighborhood Services

informed the bank that the site had been inspected and

was in compliance with the City code. In 1992, First

State Bank acquired the site when Van Sickle defaulted

on a loan, and two years later it sold the site to Herman

Nethery.

On August 1, 1994, Nethery, the new owner, applied for

a construction permit from the City on behalf of

Herman Nethery Recycling. Nethery described the

proposed project as "fill & mine property.” A section of

the application set aside for "office use only" contains a

notation that the application was not ready because it

needed an accompanying affidavit stating that the

proposed use had been in continuous operation since

the original certificate of occupancy was issued. An

affidavit was submitted to the City on August 2, 1994,

stating, "VV Construction Company is in fact in

business and continuing business on said property since

1982 to present time." The affiant was V.V.

Construction Co. by Herman Nethery Recycling. The

same day, the City issued a permit to Nethery for

mining at the site. The accompanying contractor's

authorization form notes that the City had to inspect

7a

the property before Nethery could receive a certificate

of occupancy.

Meanwhile, the City created an Illegal Dumping Team

of six code enforcement inspectors to prevent illegal

dumping at Deepwood and other sites. The inspectors

issued numerous citations to people operating the site

beginning on August 22, 1994. Despite the reports and

citations, the City issued a certificate of occupancy to

Nethery on December 5, 1994, apparently without first

conducting the required inspection. The certificate

allowed the operator of the site to "dump rock, gravel,

sand, clean dirt free of vegetation and concrete,

generated from Demolition efforts associated with the

Urban Rehabilitation Standards Board Demolition

Program." The City continued to issue citations for

illegal dumping through November of 1996.

During the time that Nethery owned it, the site was

operated by Herman Lee Gibbons. Gibbons was also a

subcontractor on certain City contracts for demolition

and hauling debris, and he dumped waste at the site.

Other subcontractors on City demolition projects did

the same. Gibbons and other site operators used copies

of the certificate of occupancy issued by the City to

prove to their customers that the site was a legal |

landfill.

Kenn Hornbeck, the City employee who supervised

City demolition contracts, did not seek to terminate

those subcontracts assertedly because he had been

provided no proof that material from City demolition

projects was being dumped illegally. Yet Hornbeck

knew that Gibbons was operating an illegal dump at the

site, and he continued to forward contracts with

8a

Gibbons to the City Council for approval without

informing them of Gibbons' connection with the dump.

His department's attempts to monitor whether City

demolition debris was disposed of properly were limited

to checking receipts submitted for landfill disposal.

In April of 1995, the City sued Nethery for operating an

illegal solid waste facility. Despite a_ resulting

temporary injunction ordering Nethery to cease all

operations at the site, illegal dumping continued

through the end of 1996. Nethery was twice held in

contempt of court and, as a result, spent 49 days in jail

and was ordered to pay $ 2,500 in fines.

On June 22, 1995, in a further attempt to eliminate the

continued illegal dumping, Environmental and Health

Services code inspectors, Dallas police officers, and

Department of Public Safety officers arrested 29 people

and issued 152 code violation citations. The depth of

resistance to City regulation is evident in the fact that

the regulators requested police assistance because the

operators of the facility were armed.

The site again caught fire and burned from February

1997 through April 1997. In April, the City Council was

briefed on the site. At the briefing, several council

members made statements indicating surprise and

dismay that the Deepwood site had not been corrected.

On member noted that “had it been in another area of

the City, it would not have occurred."

On November 14, 1997, Nethery was permanently

enjoined from operating a dump at the site. In addition,

both Nethery and Gibbons were charged and convicted

of organized criminal activity in connection with their

9a

operation of the site. Both men were sentenced to

prison, although Nethery's conviction was reversed on

appeal.

II

On February 5, 1998, homeowners filed a civil action in

federal district court against the City and others

seeking injunctive relief under the Resource

Conservation and Recovery Act, 42 U.S.C. § 6901,

injunctive relief and damages under 42 U.S.C. §§ 1981

and 1983, and damages under the FHA and its

accompanying regulations. Plaintiffs filed a similar case

on July 28, 1998 regarding a nearby dump After

consolidating the two cases, the district court

bifurcated the case for separate trials of the class claim

for injunctive relief under § 6901 and the non-class

claims for damages under the FHA and its regulations

and §§ 1981 and 1983.* After a bench trial, the district

judge granted plaintiffs' request for injunctive relief on

August 27, 1999, a judgment affirmed by this court.

As for damages, plaintiffs claimed violation of Equal

Protection rights under 42 U.S.C. §§ 1981 and 1983,

violation of the Fair Housing Act (FHA), 42 U.S.C. §§

1364(a),(b), and violation of federal housing regulations,

24 C.F.R. §§ 100.70(b),(d)(4). The district court granted

summary judgment to the City on the FHA and federal

housing regulations claims.® After a bench trial, the

court entered final judgment for the City on the

remaining claims under §§ 1981 and 1983." Plaintiffs

appeal the rejection of their claims under the FHA and

§§ 1981 and 1988, but not the rejection of their claims

under the federal regulations.

10a

III

We review de novo the district court's grant of

summary judgment to the City on the FHA claim.’

A =

Plaintiffs allege that the City violated § 3604(a) of the

FHA when it failed to prevent dumping at the site.

Section 3604(a) makes it unlawful "to refuse to sell or

rent after the making of a bona fide offer, or to refuse to

negotiate for the sale or rental of, or otherwise make

unavailable or deny, a dwelling to any person because

of race, color, religion, sex, familial status, or national

origin."®

The issue here is whether the failures and omissions by

the City violate the FHA by "otherwise making

unavailable or denying" a dwelling to any person

because of race.” In an analogous context, we have

stated that "although the ‘otherwise make available or

deny' phrase seems all-encompassing, its scope is not

limitless."° Plaintiffs attack the district court's

conclusion that, "to effect [sic] the availability of

housing within the meaning of the FHA, the

discriminatory actions must have a direct impact on

Plaintiffs' ability, as potential home buyers or

renters...to secure housing" and that "section 3604(a)

protects the right of individuals to live where they

choose, but it does not protect intangible interests in

already-owned property such as habitability or value."!!

Plaintiffs argue that the City violated § 3604(a) because

the dump makes it more difficult for them to sell their

houses and lowers the value of their houses. This claim

lla

enjoys factual support, but it is not a claim of

"unavailability" or "denial" of housing under a proper

reading of the FHA. The failure of the City to police the

Deepwood landfill may have harmed the housing

market, decreased home values, or adversely impacted

homeowners' "intangible interests, " but such results do

not make dwellings "unavailable" within the meaning of

the Act.

Sister circuits deciding cases turning on the reading of

"unavailable" are in accord. The Seventh Circuit, in

Southend Neighborhood Improvement Association v.

County of St. Claire, in addressing claims that the

county failed to clean up and maintain adjacent

properties, held that "plaintiffs' claim that the county's

discriminatory refusal to properly manage the

properties it owns damaged their interests in

neighboring properties” is "quite different from most of

the practices that courts have deemed illegal under §

3604(a)."” It then held that § 3604(a)

is designed to ensure that no one is denied the

right to live where they choose for

discriminatory reasons, but it does not protect

the intangible interests in the already-owned

property raised by the -plaintiffs' allegations.

Courts have applied this subsection to actions

having a direct impact on the ability of potential

homebuyers or renters to locate in a particular

area, and to indirectly related actions arising

from efforts to secure housing. On the other

hand, the plaintiffs here do not allege that they

. . 12a

have been hindered in an effort to acquire a

dwelling, but rather that the County's conduct

toward certain properties damaged their own

property.”

In Halprin v. Prarie Single Family Homes of

Dearborn Park Association, the Seventh Circuit

discussed §§ 3604(a) and (b):

[the] plaintiffs, however, are complaining not

about being prevented from acquiring property

but about being harassed by other property

owners. So it is difficult to see how they can have

been interfered with in the enjoyment of any

right conferred on them by section 3604.

Title VII protects the job holder as well as the

job applicant, so an employer who resorts to

harassment to force an employee to quit is

engaged in job discrimination within the meaning

of the Act. The Fair Housing Act contains no

hint either in its language or its legislative

history of a concern with anything but access to

housing. ... Since the focus [of Congress] was on

{minority's] exclusion, the problem of how they

were treated when they were included, that is,

when they were allowed to own or rent homes in

such areas, was not at the forefront of

congressional thinking. That problem - the

problem not of exclusion but of expulsion - would

become acute only when the law forced

unwanted associations that might provoke

efforts at harassment, and so it would tend not to

l3a

arise until the Act was enacted and enforced.

There is nothing to suggest that Congress was

trying to solve that future problem, an endeavor

that would have required careful drafting in

order to make sure that quarrels between

neighbors did not become a routine basis for

federal litigation."

The Fourth Circuit, in Jersey Heights Neighborhood

Association v7. Glendening, similarly held that there

was no claim under § 3604(a) for the government's

decision to locate a highway near a _ neighborhood

because the claim of the-plaintiffs, as current residents,

"is too remotely related to the housing interests that

are protected by the Fair Housing Act." The Third

Circuit came to the same conclusion in Tenafly Erv

Association v. Borough of Tenafly, where it held that

the Orthodox Jewish plaintiffs, who challenged the

City's removal of religious objects from utility poles,

had not stated a § 3604(a) claim because they were

current homeowners and the removal only made their

residency less desirable, not "unavailable." Along the

same lines, the D.C. Circuit has held that “by their plain

terms [§ 3604(a),((1)] reach only discrimination that

adversely affects the availability of housing" rather

than the "habitability.""

These cases buttress .our conclusion that the simple

language of § 3604(a) does not apply to current

homeowners whose complaint is that the value or

"habitability" of their houses has decreased because

such a complaint is not about "availability." The

discriminatory practice alleged here against current

homeowners is quite unlike the discriminatory

practices in other cases - for example, “racial steering,"

l4a

locking out owners of one race but not another,

mortgage redlining, insurance redlining, exclusionary

zoning - where the availability of housing for

prospective owners or tenants is implicated.'*

This is not to say that a current owner has no claim for

attempted and unsuccessful discrimination relating to

the initial sale or rental of the house, an issue we do not

decide.’ And it is not to say that a current owner or

renter evicted or constructively evicted from his house

does not have a claim.” We hold only that § 3604(a)

gives no right of action to current owners claiming that

the value or “habitability"’ of their property has

decreased due to discrimination in the delivery of

protective city services.

Plaintiffs argue that we found, in Hanson v. Veterans

Administration,” that actions falling short of complete

denial of either the right to buy or sell may yet be

covered by § 3604(a). Plaintiffs point to language in

Hanson said to suggest as much,” but it will not bear

that load. In Hanson, buyers and sellers alleged that

the Veterans Administration discriminated against

them by under-appraising houses because they were

located in a black neighborhood, appraisals determining

the size of the housing loans that the VA would

guarantee. We first concluded that at least one plaintiff

- a man who had been precluded from purchasing a

particular house by virtue of the under-appraising - had

standing to sue under § 3604(a). Consistent with our

holding that § 3604(a) is not available for current

owners who claim merely a decrease in value or

habitability, we assessed only the standing of a specific

buyer who had been precluded from acquiring his

chosen home. Even if one focuses on the fact that the

- Lda

court in Hanson allowed current homeowners to sue,

the heart of the case was about unavailability for

buyers - specific sales and purchases were being

blocked.

This reading of the case aligns it with the cases it cited.

In Hanson, we explained that, in United States v.

Mitchell,

the district court found that the defendant, which

owned an apartment complex, steered black

tenants to a particular section of the complex and

that this effectively denied the black tenants

access to equal housing opportunities. We

affirmed the conclusion of the district court that

these acts by the defendant made unavailable or

denied "a dwelling to any person because of

race." We held that "steering evidences an intent

to influence the choice of the renter on an

impermissible racial basis. The government need

only establish that race was a consideration and

played some role in the real estate transaction. *4

Hanson also cited Moore v. Townsend,” where the

Seventh Circuit dealt with defendants who had refused

to negotiate with plaintiffs because plaintiffs were black

and had thereby prevented the plaintiffs from acquiring

the home. The court affirmed the district court's award

of specific performance to the plaintiffs, noting that

"race is an impermissible consideration in a real estate

transaction, and it need only be established that race

played some part in the refusal to deal."*° This is

consistent with our reading of § 3604(a) because the

refusal to deal involved the acquisition, not value or

"habitability," of housing.

l6a

Plaintiffs also argue that the dump has made housing

"unavailable" because the land underneath the dump is

now unavailable for housing for them or prospective

residents. The court in Jersey Heights, in rejecting the

same argument, held that the government, at most,

made "unavailable" a portion of land that could at some

future time become host to homes, a_ possibility

insufficient to sustain an FHA claim.27 We agree.

Although it is true that the statutory definition of

"dwelling" includes "vacant land which is offered for sale

or lease for the construction or location thereon" of

residential buildings,” there is no indication that the

Deepwood site, other than being partially zoned

residential, was offered for sale for the construction of

residential buildings; furthermore, there is _ no

guarantee that housing would have been constructed on

the land, even had the City stringently enforced its

dumping laws. In addition, there is no indication that

other land is not available for housing. And, even if

there were no other land available for housing, it is not

clear that such a fact would be sufficient for a § 3604(a)

claim,” an issue we need not decide. The

"unavailability" of the land underneath the dump does

not support the FHA claim.”

Because housing was not made "unavailable" to

plaintiffs, the district court's rejection of their § 3604(a)

claim was proper.

B

Plaintiffs also allege that the City violated § 3604(b) of

the FHA when it failed to prevent dumping at the site.

Section 3604(b) makes it unlawful "to discriminate

against any person in the terms, conditions, or

17a

privileges of sale or rental of a dwelling, or in the

provision of services or facilities in connection

therewith, because of race, color, religion, sex, familial

status, or national origin.™' They contend that the City

discriminated against them in the provision of a

service” - the enforcement of zoning laws - and they

attack the district court's conclusion that. § 3604(b)

"applies only to discrimination in the provision of

services that precludes the sale or rental of housing."™

Even assuming that the enforcement of zoning laws

alleged here is a “service,"* we hold that § 3604(b) is

inapplicable here because the service was not

"connected" to the sale or rental of a dwelling as the

statute requires.

The district court observed that "it is necessary to

decide whether the language 'in connection with' refers

to the ‘sale or rental of a dwelling’ or merely the

‘dwelling’ in general."* And as the district court

correctly concluded, it is the former. This reading is

grammatically superior and supported by the decisions

of many courts.” There is more.

Although the FHA is meant to have a broad reach,

unmooring the "services" language from the "sale or

rental" language pushes the FHA into a general anti-

discrimination pose, creating rights for any

discriminatory act which impacts property values - say,

for generally inadequate police protection in a certain

area. And, unlike general discrimination prohibitions

enforced by § 1983, the FHA targets private activity,

does not require a governmental policy or custom, and

does not require proof of both discriminatory impact

and intent. While sweeping widely, the FHA does so in

the housing field and remains a housing statute - the

18a

focus of congressional concern. That the corrosive bite

of racial discrimination may soak into all facets of black

lives cannot be gainsaid, but this statute targets only

housing. And the "services" subject to the alleged

discrimination must be "in connection" with the "sale or

rental of a dwelling ... ."°7

The claims here do not assert the requisite connection

between the alleged discrimination and the sale or

rental of a dwelling - that is, § 3604(b) does not aid

plaintiffs, whose complaint is that the value or

"habitability" of their houses has decreased.

This is not to say that § 3604(b) applies only if the

plaintiff was precluded from finding housing. For

example, § 3604(b) may encompass the claim of a

current owner or renter for attempted and unsuccessful

discrimination relating to the initial sale or rental or for

actual or constructive eviction. Indeed, in Woods Drake

v. Lundy, this court held that the latter situation could

sustain a § 3604(b) claim.** In Woods Drake, a landlord

refused to continue renting to a tenant because the

tenant entertained black guests. The tenant vacated

and sued the landlord under § 3604(b) for imposing a

"whites-only" condition on the terms of his lease, and

the court held that he had a claim.* This was akin to

constructive conviction and was a clear discriminatory

condition of "sale or rental of the dwelling."

We are persuaded that the alleged service here was not

"connected" to the sale or rental of a dwelling, as the

statute requires. Thus, the district court properly

rejected the § 3604(b) claim.

iil

19a

Plaintiffs also appeal the district court's judgment, after

a bench trial, in favor of the City on the § 1981 and §

1983 claims. The district court concluded that there was

no proof of official action and, in the alternative, that

there was no proof of discriminatory intent.

The district court's findings of fact are subject to

clearly erroneous review.” "A finding is_ ‘clearly

erroneous’ when although there is evidence to support

it, the reviewing court on the entire evidence is left

with the definite and firm conviction that a mistake has

been committed." We construe the evidence in the

light most favorable to upholding the district court's

finding.” Rule 52(a) does not require the district court

to "recite every piece of evidence supporting its

findings" or to “sort through the testimony of each of

[the] witnesses." The rule "exacts neither punctilious

detail nor slavish tracing of the claims issue by issue

and witness by witness... . It simply requires findings

that are explicit and detailed enough to enable us to

review them under the applicable standard."#

In much of their brief, plaintiffs assert their own

version of the facts. To that extent, their efforts are in

vain.» They also argue that the district court failed to

consider key evidence: evidence of disparate treatment

between black and white communities. That evidence

allegedly shows that the City mishandled _ illegal

dumping in black neighborhoods while more diligently

handling illegal dumping in white neighborhoods, and

that there were other illegal landfills in black

neighborhoods, but not in similar white neighborhoods,

that accepted City demolition debris. We have required

that the district court explain or at least acknowledge

such evidence in, for example, Voting Rights Act

20a

cases. The City argues that this heightened recitation

requirement is confined to such cases. Plaintiffs point to

other types of cases insisting that the district court

address contrary evidence.” We need not decide this

question because we conclude that, even if such a

requirement exists, the district court complied with it

by properly explaining its conclusion that there was no

official policy and implicitly discounting the contrary

evidence.

Municipal liability under both* § 1981 and § 1983

requires proof of three elements in addition to the

underlying claim of a violation of rights: "a policymaker;

an official policy; and a violation of constitutional rights

whose 'moving force’ is the policy or custom." The

district court found that the City Council and the Board

of Adjustment are policymakers and that the City

Manager and the City Attorney are not policymakers.”

An "official policy" is either a policy statement,

ordinance, regulation, etc., that has been officially

adopted by a policymaker, or a persistent, widespread

practice of officials or employees, which although not

authorized by officially adopted and promulgated

policy, is so common and well settled as to constitute a

custom that fairly represents the municipality's policy.”!

Plaintiffs allege the latter. "An act performed pursuant

to a ‘custom' that has not been formally approved by an

appropriate decisionmaker may fairly subject a

municipality to liability on the theory that the relevant

practice is so widespread as to have the force of law."”

The policymaker must have either actual or

constructive knowledge of the alleged policy.” Plaintiffs

allege that there were two customs: 1) permitting

disposal of City demolition debris in predominantly

2la

black neighborhoods; and 2) failing to protect~ black

neighborhoods from illegal dumping.

Regarding disposal of debris from City projects, the

district court acknowledged that "the evidence supports

the inference that City demolition debris was dumped

at the Deepwood site" and that various City employees

"could have, through the exercise of proper diligence,

known about and stopped the dumping of City

demolition debris." However, the district court found

that even if there existed such a policy, the

policymakers had no actual or constructive knowledge

of it. The court was swayed by statements made at a

1997 City Council meeting, finding that they "belie any

prior knowledge of illegal dumping of City demolition

debris at Deepwood."” The court concluded that "there

is no evidence that either policymaker [the City Council

or the Board of Adjustment] had actual or constructive

knowledge of this practice [dumping City debris] at the

time it occurred."™

This finding is not clearly erroneous. The "missing"

evidence of disparate treatment of white and black

neighborhoods would not impact the finding that the

policymakers here had no actual or constructive

knowledge that City debris was being dumped illegally

at Deepwood.

As for failing to protect black neighborhoods from

dumping, the district court rehashed attempts by the

City to bring Deepwood back in line, including evidence

of citations issued for illegal dumping, suits against

Deepwood's owner and operator, a judgment requiring

cessation of illegal dumping and cleanup, and the

creation of an Illegal Dumping Team.” While the

22a

district court observed that "the City's efforts to stop

the illegal dumping at Deepwood were inconsistent,

inadequate, and largely ineffective for years," it

concluded that the City's actions amounted to

"negligence,"”’ not a custom. That conclusion is sound in

law and fact.

Plaintiffs assert that the district court should be

reversed for its failure to reference the evidence of

disparate treatment between black and_ white

neighborhoods - that is, the evidence of other black

neighborhoods suffering the same plight and of white

neighborhoods that were better-treated. Such a

requirement of "punctilious detail" goes nowhere in

this case. The district court's recitation of a litany of

evidence, and its conclusion that the City acted

negligently, came with full awareness of this "missing

evidence." Indeed, the court cited it in its denial of the

defendants’ motion for summary judgment, implicitly

discounting its value at trial.

IV

The judgments of the district court in favor of the City

are AFFIRMED.

Footnotes

nl The district court noted that a coordinated effort by

the Street and Sanitation Service Department, the

State Health Department, the Department of Housing

and Neighborhood Services, and the Public Works

Department was begun in 1985 to clean up the site. This

was apparently ineffective.

es

23a

n2 It appears that the plaintiffs did not seek damages

for this second dump, the "South Loop 12 Dump," after

the injunction was issued for both dumps.

n3 It appears that the bifurcation order ignored the

claims for injunctive relief under §§ 1981 and 1983, but

they became moot after the court granted the

injunction under § 6901.

n4 Cox v. City of Dallas, 256 F:3d 281, 285 (5th Cir.

2001).

nd Cox v. City of Dallas, 2004 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 2729,

Civ. 3:98-CV-1763-BH, 2004 WL 370242, at *5-*9 (N.D.

Tex. Feb. 24, 2004) (unpublished).

n6 Cox v. City of Dallas, 2004 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 18968,

No. 3:98-CV-1763-BH, 2004 WL 2108253, at *16 (N.D.

Tex. Sept. 22, 2004) (unpublished).

n7 Boudreaux v. Swift Transp. Co., Inc., 402 F.3d 536,

540 (5th Cir. 2005).

n8 42 U.S.C. § 3604(a).

n9 Plaintiffs do not contend that any of the other

clauses of § 3604(a) apply.

nl0 Meadowbriar Home for Children, Inc. v. Gunn, 81

F.3d 521, 531 (5th Cir. 1996) (construing an analogous

clause of the FDA, § 3604(f)).

nll Cox, 2004 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 2729 at *19, 2004 WL

370242, at *6 (internal citations and quotations

omitted).

24a

nl2 743 F.2d 1207, 1210 (7th Cir. 1984).

n13 Id.

nl4 388 F.3d 327, 329 (7th Cir. 2004) (emphasis in

original).

n15 174 F.3d 180, 192 (4th Cir. 1999).

n16 309 F.3d 144, 157 n.13 (3d Cir. 2002).

nl7 Clifton Terrace Assocs., Ltd. v. United Techs.

Corp., 289 U.S. App. D.C. 121, 929 F.2d 714, 719 (D.C.

Cir. 1991).

nl8 Evans v. Tubbe, 657 F.2d 661, 663 n.3 (5th Cir.

1981) (erecting gate across the only access road to

properties and giving gate keys only to white owners

made properties "unavailable" under § 3604(a)); United

States v. Mitchell, 580 F.2d 789, 790-91 (5th Cir. 1978)

(steering black to one section of large housing complex

and indicating that no other vacancies were available

violated § 3604(a)); Southend Neighborhood, 743 F.2d at

1209 (emphasis added), citing Halet v. Wend Inv. Co.,

672 F.2d 1305 (9th Cir. 1982) (discriminatory rental

decisions); United States v. City of Parma, 661 F.2d 562

(6th Cir. 1981) (rejection of public and low-income

housing and adoption of restrictive land use

ordinances); Marable v. H. Walker & Assocs., 644 F.2d

390 (5th Cir. 1981), appeal after remand, 704 F.2d 1219

(11th Cir. 1983) (unequal application of rental criteria

by landlord); United States v. Mitchell, 580 F.2d 789 —

(5th Cir. 1978) (racial steering); United States v. City of

Black Jack, 508 F.2d 1179 (8th Cir. 1974) (adoption of

restrictive zoning law); NAACP v. Am. Family Mut.

25a

Ins. Co., 978 F.2d 287, 297-98 (7th Cir. 1992). The non-

controlling cases cited by amici do not contradict this:

they either do not deal directly with § 3604(a), see

Neudecker v. Boisclair Corp., 351 F.3d 361, 364-65 (8th

Cir. 2003); DiCenso v. Cisneros, 96 F.3d 1004, 1008 (7th

Cir. 1996); Honce v. Vigil, 1 F.8d 1085, 1088-90 (10th

Cir. 1993); Byrd v. Brandeburg, 922 F. Supp. 60, 62-66

(N.D. Ohio 1996), do not address the "availability" issue

head-on, see United States v. L&H Land Corp., Inc.,

407 F.. Supp. 576, 579-80 (S.D. Fla. 1976); Lane v. Cole,

88 F. Supp. 2d 402, 405-06 (E.D. Pa. 2000), or deal with

situations where current owners are suing because

houses have been made unavailable to others, see supra

note 11; Gladstone Realtors v. Vill. of Bellwood, 441

USS. 91, 110-11, 99 S. Ct. 1601, 60 L. Ed. 2d 66 (1979);

United States v. Am. Inst. of Real Estate Appraisers of

Nat. Ass'n of Realtors, 442 F. Supp. 1072, 1079 (N.D.

Ill. 1977). It is true that insurance redlining (although

generally not mortgage redlining) may injure current

owners in their capacity as current owners, in the

unusual circumstance that they apply for insurance ~

after purchasing a house, but the evil there is still

access to homes for new owners/tenants - that is, the

practice of insurance redlining serves to reduce access

to houses to future owners, as it “indirectly relates [to]

actions arising from efforts to secure housing.” See

Southend Neighborhood, 743 F.2d at 1210. Thus, it is

properly within the ambit of § 3604(a). See, e.g.,

NAACP v. Am. Family Mut. Ins. Co., 978 F.2d 287,

297-98 (7th Cir. 1992).

nl9 See, e.g., Heignts v. Cmty. Cong. v. Hilltop Realty,

Inc., 629 F. Supp. 1282, 1249 (N.D. Ohio 1983); Coty.

Hous. Trust v. Dep't of Consumer and Regulatory

Affairs, 257 F. Supp. 2d 208 (D.D.C. 2003); but see

26a

Halprin, 388 F.3d at 329 (denying § 3604(a) claim where

plaintiffs "are complaining not about being prevented

from acquiring property but about being harassed by

other property owners" (emphasis added)).

n20 See Jersey Height, 174 F.3d at 192 (noting that

plaintiffs had not alleged "that anyone has for

discriminatory reasons been evicted from his home or

denied the right to purchase or rent housing" (emphasis

added)); Clifton Terrace Assocs., 929 F.2d at 719-20

(noting that "the denial of certain essential services

relating to a dwelling, such as mortgage financing,

sewer hookups, zoning approval, or basic utilities,

might result in the denial of housing" per § 3604(a)); but

see Halprin, 388 F.3d at 329 (holding that attempted

constructive eviction by orchestrated harassment

campaign of neighbors and housing association was not

covered by § 3604(a), and noting that plaintiffs "are

complaining not about being prevented from acquiring

property but about being harassed by other property

owners" (emphasis added)).

n21 We realize that a § 3604(a) claim for "constructive

eviction" would be a type of "habitability" claim - that

the "habitability" has so decreased that continued

residency is not objectively reasonable. We reject only

those "habitability" claims that fall short of constructive

eviction, leaving the question of constructive eviction

for another day. See supra note 21 (citing Clifton

Terrace Assocs., 929 F.2d at 719-20 (describing the

denial of certain "essential services" - a type of

constructive eviction - as possibly resulting in a §

3604(a) claim)).

n22 800 F.2d 1381 (5th Cir. 1986).

27a

n23 Id. at 1886 ("Courts have consistently given an

expansive interpretation to the Fair Housing Act; to

state a claim under the Act, it is enough to show that

race was a consideration and played some role in a real

estate transaction");

We conclude that section 804(a) [§ 3604(a)| does

address the claim asserted by appellants.

Discriminatory appraisal may effectively prevent

blacks from purchasing or selling a home for its

fair market value. This interferes with the

exercise of rights granted by the Fair Housing

Act.

Id.

n24 Hanson, 800-F.2d at 1386 (quoting United States v.

Mitchell, 580 F.2d 789, 791 (5th Cir. 1978) (citations

omitted)). \

n25 525 F.2d 482 (7th Cir. 1975).

n26 /d. at 485 (emphasis added). Although claims were

brought under both § 3604(a) and § 1982, the court

apparently addressed only the latter; nonetheless, the

case is consistent with our holding.

n27 Jersey Heights, 174 F.3d at 192-98 (plaintiffs

claimed that the highway "will serve as the northern

boundary to their community, closing off expansion in

that direction and locking African Americans into what

is allegedly the only neighborhood open to them").

n28 42 U.S.C. § 3602(b).

28a

n29 See Jersey Heights, 174 F.3d at 192-93 (holding that

§ 3604(a) was not violated even where there was

allegedly no land for expansion)

n30 Finally, plaintiffs cite 24 C.F.R. § 100.70(a),(d),

which interpret part of § 3604(a), for the proposition

that the § 3604(a) “is violated by actions that impede,

restrict[,] discourage, obstruct, or restrict persons'

attempt to sel/ or buy housing or treat those persons'

attempt to sell or buy housing differently because of

race of color" (emphasis added). Again, however,

plaintiffs have incorrectly shifted the focus (here, the

focus of the regulations) from preventing restrictions

on the buyers' choice to preventing restrictions on the

buyers' and sellers' choice. Section 100.70(a) states that

discrimination is unlawful "in connection with seeking,

negotiating for, buying or renting a dwelling," not in

connection with selling a dwelling. And § 100.70(c)

states specifically that the acts prohibited under

subsection (a) "are generally referred to as unlawful

steering practices;" our case does not involve unlawful

steering. Plaintiffs and amici also argue that §

100.70(d)(4), which states that refusing to provide

municipal services or insurance based on race is

unlawful, shows that plaintiffs have a § 3604(a) claim.

However, the preface to § 100.70(d)(4) states that

"prohibited activities relating to dwellings under

paragraph (b) of this section include, but are not limited

to... ." Section 100.70(b) states that it is unlawful to

discriminate by "engaging in any conduct relating to the

provision of housing or of services and facilities in

connection therewith that otherwise makes unavailable

or denies dwellings to person." This language, which

parrots the "otherwise make unavailable or deny"

language in § 3604(a), prohibits conduct only insofar as

29a

the conduct "denies" housing or makes it “unavailable" -

it does not (and cannot) expand the reach of the

underlying statute. This conclusion is buttressed by the

fact that the other prohibited activities listed in §

100.70(d)(1)-(3) relate to the sale or rental of a dwelling,

not its continuous use, and the title of § 100.70 is "Other

prohibited sale and rental conduct." And, as we have

shown, the alleged actions here have not “denied" or

made "unavailable" housing to plaintiffs.

n31 42 U.S.C. § 3604(b).

n32 The only other language in § 3604(b) that could

possibly apply is that regarding the "privileges of sale."

It is not clear if plaintiffs argue that they were denied

such privileges (they never use the word "privileges"

except in quoting the statute), and the district court

analyzed only the "services" claim. Amici, however,

argue the issue. Generously characterizing plaintiffs’

argument to include this contention, we find it

unavailing for the same reason that the "services" claim

is unavailing: the privileges here are not connected to

the "sale or rental of a dwelling.” Amici argue that

"privileges" must include the privileges of continued

occupancy and quiet enjoyment, and they cite Halprin,

388 F.3d at 329, which they argue contains language

supporting this position but rejects "inexplicably" the §

3604(b) claim. But amici never explain why "privileges"

does not pertain only to the "sale or rental of a

dwelling;" their argument, relying solely on the

meaning of the word "privileges," is unconvincing. And

their reliance on Ha/prin is misplaced. The court in that

case conceded only that, "as a purely semantic matter

the statutory language might be stretched far enough

to reach a case of ‘constructive eviction’ .. ." (emphasis

Oe

30a

added). As we noted in Part A, supra, and as we note in

Part B, infra, we do not foreclose the possibility of a §

3604(a) or (b) claim as the result of eviction or

constructive eviction, because such actions may make

housing "unavailable" or deny "privileges of sale" or

"services."

n33 Cox, 2005 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 2729, 2004 WL 370242,

at *8.

n34 There is some authority that it is such a service. See

Southend Neighborhood, 743 F.2d at 1210 (holding that

S$ 3604(b) “applies to services generally provided by

governmental units such as police and fire protection or

garbage protection"); Jersey Heights, 174 F.3d at 193

(holding that § 3604(b) applies to "garbage collection

and other services of the kind usually provided by

municipalities" (quoting Mackey v. Nationwide Ins.

Cos., 724 F.2d 419, 424 (4th Cir. 1984)). However, there

is also authority suggesting that it is not such a service.

See Clifton Terrace Assocs., 929 F.2d at 720 (suggesting

that § 3604(b) may not apply to municipal services at

all, and holding that § 3604(b) does not apply to the

provision of elevator repair services); Southend

Neighborhood, 743 F.2d at 1210 (holding that § 3604(b)

does not apply to the decision where to location a

highway); Jersey Heights, 174 F.3d at 193 (holding that

§ 3604(b) does not apply to a county's failure to clean

up, maintain, and make safe property adjacent to a

residential neighborhood). In any event, we do not

decide the issue.

n35 Cox, 2004 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 2729 at *20, 2004 WL

370242, at *7 (quoting § 3604(b)).

dla

n36 See, e.g, Clifton Terrace Assocs., 929 F.2d at 720;

Halprin v. Prairie Single Family Homes, 208 F. Supp.

2d 896, 901 (N.D. Ill. 2002); Laramore v. Ill. Sports

Facilities Auth., 722 F. Supp. 448, 452 (N.D. Ill. 2002).

To the extent that some courts hold that general police

and fire protection are within the scope of § 3604(b), one

may be able to read their holdings as to the contrary;

however, one can still conceivably connect police and

fire protection to the "sale or rental of a dwelling"

(especially rental). See Southend Neighborhood, 743

F.2d at 1210 (holding that § 3604(b) "applies to services

generally provided by governmental units such as

police and fire protection or garbage protection");

Jersey Heights, 174 F.3d at 193 (holding that § 3604(b)

applies to "garbage collection and other services of the

kind usually provided by municipalities" (quoting

Mackey v. Nationwide Ins. Cos., 724 F.2d 419, 424 (4th

Cir. 1984)); Lopez v. City of Dallas, 2004 U.S. Dist.

LEXIS 18220, No. 3:03-CV-2223-M, 2004 WL 2026804,,

at *7 (N.D. Tex. Sept. 9, 2004) (unpublished).

n37 As with 24 C.F.R. § 100.70, see supra note 29,

plaintiffs and amici argue that § 100.65(b), which

implements § 3604(b), shows that no such connection is

required. However, the preface to § 100.65(b) states

that "prohibited actions under this section include, but

are not limited to... ." The section referenced (section

a)) states that it is unlawful to discriminate by

"imposing different terms, conditions, or privileges

relating to the sale or rental of a dwelling or to deny or

limit services of facilities in connection with the sale or

rental of a dwelling." This language, which parrots the

language in § 3604(b), prohibits conduct only insofar as

the conduct "relates to" or is "in connection with" the

sale or rental of a dwelling." And the alleged conduct

32a

here does not "relate to" and is not “in connection with"

any sale or rental. We recognize that, while some of the

actions prohibited by the regulations - using different

leases or contracts for sale and failing to process an

offer or application - clearly are connected to the "sale

or rental of a dwelling,” others appear not to be - for

instance, failing or delaying maintenance or repairs.

But we decline to take such a cramped view of the

latter type of actions - even they can be "connected to"

the sale or rental of a dwelling, as when, for instance,

such actions are aimed at evicting or constructively

evicting a tenant. See infra note 38 and accompanying

text.

n38 667 F.2d 1198 (5th Cir. 1982).

n39 667 F.2d at 1201-02.

n40 FED. R. CIV. P. 52(a) ("In all actions tried upon the

facts without a jury . .. the court shall find the facts

specially and state separately its conclusions of law

thereon .... Findings of fact, whether based on oral or

documentary evidence, shall not be set aside unless

clearly erroneous, and due regard shall be given to the

opportunity of the trial court to judge of the credibility

of the witnesses."); Anderson v. City of Bessemer City,

N.C., 470 U.S. 564, 573, 105 S. Ct. 1504, 84 L. Ed. 2d 518

(1985).

n41 Anderson, 470 U.S. at 573 (quoting United States v.

United States Gypsum Co., 333 U.S. 364, 395, 68 S. Ct.

525, 92 L. Ed. 746 (1948)) (internal quotation marks

omitted).

33a

n42 Travelhost, Inc. v. Blandford, 68 F.3d 958, 965 (Sth

Cir. 1996).

n43 Schlesinger v. Herzog, 2 F.3d 135, 139 (5th Cir.

1993). :

n44 /d. (internal quotation marks and citations omitted)

(brackets in original).

n45 Schlesinger, 2 F.3d at 139 (footnote omitted):

In essence, the appellants list their own version

of the facts and then complain that the district

court violated Rule 52 by ignoring these "facts."

The district court did not ignore facts. It simply

found facts contrary to the appellants' liking.

n46 See, e.g., Westwego Citizens for Better Gov't v. City

of Westwego, 872 F.2d 1201, 1203 (5th Cir. 1989) (stating

that voting rights cases are unique and require special

attention to the record); Houston v. Lafayette County,

Miss., 56 F.3d 606, 612 (5th Cir. 1995) (finding clear

error in voting rights case and remanding for more

extensive explanation of why certain statistics were

rejected); Teague v. Attala County, 17 F.3d 796, 798

(5th Cir. 1994) ("This court is unable to discharge our

appellate function in voting rights cases without more

guidance by the trial court concerning its credibility

choices on the welter of evidence before it.")

n47 See, e.g., Lopez v. Current Director, 807 F.2d 430,

434 (5th Cir. 1987) (noting in discriminatory discharge

and treatment case that "only if the district court

specifies which evidence it adopted and which evidence

it rejected in making its finding can we properly and

34a

effectively apply the clearly erroneous standard");

Ratliff v. Governor's Highway Safety Program, 791

F.2d 394, 401 (5th Cir. 1986) (noting in a national origin

employment discrimination case that district court

"must at least refer to the evidence tending to prove

and disprove the merits of the proffered explanation

and state why the court reached the conclusion that the

explanation has not been discredited. We have,

therefore, routinely reversed a trial court that has

failed to set forth sufficient findings of fact and

conclusions of law in actions under Title VII."); Collins

v. Baptist Memorial Geriatric Ctr., 9387 F.2d 190, 196-97

(5th Cir. 1991) (remanding quid pro quo claim for

further consideration because that claim "was not

separately focused upon" by district court).

n48 Evans v. City of Houston, 246 F.3d 344, 358 (5th

Cir. 2001) (extending the Monwnell official action

requirement to § 1981 claims).

n49 Piotrowski v. City of Houston, 237 F.3d 567, 578

(5th Cir. 2001) (citing Monell v. Dep't of Social Servs.,

436 U.S. 658, 694, 98 S. Ct. 2018, 56 L. Ed. 2d 611

(1978)).

nd50 Cox, 2004 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 18968, 2004 WL

2108253, at *7-*9. The parties agree that the City

Council is a policymaker, but the City argues that the

Board of Adjustment is not. We assume, but do not

decide, that the Board of Adjustment is a policymaker.

nd1 See Cozzo v. Tangipahoa Parish Council, 279 F.3d

273, 289 (5th Cir. 2002).

nd52 Board of County Comm'rs of Bryan County v.

35a

Brown, 520 U.S. 397, 404, 117 S. Ct. 1382, 1387 L. Ed. 2d

626 (1997).

n53 See Piotrowski, 237 F.3d at 579. ("Actual or

constructive knowledge of a custom must be

attributable to the governing body of the municipality

or to an official to whom that body has delegated policy-

making authority."); Webster v. City of Houston, 735

F.2d 838, 842 (5th Cir. 1984).

n54 Cox, 2004 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 18968 at *30, 2004 WL

2108253, at *10.

nd55 Id.

n56 Id. -

nd57 Cox, 2004 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 18968, 2004 WL

2108253, at *10-*12.

nd58 2004 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 18968 at *34, [WL] at *11.

n59 In discussing the general basis for its rejection of

the § 1983 claim as part of its summary rejection of the

§ 1981 claim, the court stated: "Plaintiffs failed to

establish by a preponderance of the evidence that the

City's actions were more than negligence and were the

result of an intent to discriminate against them on the

basis of race, rather than gross negligence."). 2004 U.S.

Dist. LEXIS 18968 at *47, [WL] at *16.

n60 Schlesinger, 2 F.3d at 139.

36a

Civil Action No. 3:98-C V-1763-BH

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS,

DALLAS DIVISION

HAROLD COX, et al,

Plaintiffs,

V.

THE CITY OF DALLAS,

Defendant.

September 21, 2004, Decided

September 22, 2004, Filed

COUNSEL: For Harold Cox, Plaintiff: Laura Beth

Beshara, Law Office of Michael M Daniel, Dallas, TX.

Michael M Daniel, Law Office of Michael M Daniel,

Dallas, TX.

For Shirley Davidson, Plaintiff: Laura Beth Beshara,

Law Office of Michael M Daniel, Dallas, TX.

For Robert Stubblefield, Plaintiff: Laura Beth Beshara,

Law Office of Michael M Daniel, Dallas, TX.

For Cynthia Herring, Plaintiff: Laura Beth Beshara,

Law Office of Michael M Daniel, Dallas, TX.

For Eloise Edwards, Plaintiff: Laura Beth Beshara,

Law Office of Michael M Daniel, Dallas, TX.

ola

For Betty Curley, Plaintiff: Laura Beth Beshara, Law

Office of Michael M Daniel, Dallas, TX. -

For Leo Easter, Plaintiff: Laura Beth Beshara, Law

Office of Michael M Daniel, Dallas, TX.

For Dallas TX City of, Defendant: Albert M Bronson,

Attorney General of Texas, Environmental Protection

Division, Austin, TX. Janice Smith Moss, Dallas City

Attorney's Office, Dallas, TX. Thomas P Perkins, Jr,

Dallas City Attorney's Office, Dallas, TX. Caroline

Jordan, Dallas City Attorney's Office -- City Hall,

Dallas, TX. John L Anderson, Dallas City Attorney's

Office, Dallas, TX.

For Dan Pearson, in his capacity as Executive Director

of the Texas Natural Resources Conservation

Commision, Defendant: Albert M Bronson, Attorney

General of Texas, Environmental Protection Division,

Austin, TX.

Terry Van Sickle, Defendant.

Herman Nethery, Defendant.

JUDGES: IRMA CARRILLO RAMIREZ, UNITED

STATES MAGISTRATE JUDGE.

OPINIONBY: IRMA CARRILLO RAMIREZ

OPINION:

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF

LAW

38a

Plaintiffs sued the City of Dallas ("City"), alleging

violations of 42 U.S.C. § 1983 and 42 U.S.C. § 1981. On

March 1-3, 2004, the Court conducted a bench trial of

this case. After consideration of the testimony and

evidence presented during the trial, the parties’ pre-

trial and post-trial proposed findings of fact and

conclusions of law, the _ post-trial briefing, the

arguments of counsel, and the relevant authorities, the

Court finds and concludes as set forth below.

I. BACKGROUND-

On February 5, 1998, Plaintiffs filed civil action

number 3:98-CV-0291 against the City and others,

alleging illegal dumping and race discrimination. On

July 28,1998, Plaintiffs filed a second suit, civil action

number 3:98-CV-1763, against the City and others for

alleged illegal dumping and race discrimination. The

district court entered an order consolidating the two

cases under 3:98-EV-0291 on August 17, 1998. On

December 17, 1998, the district court bifurcated the

claims in the consolidated cases. The district court's

order specified that civil action 3:98-CV-0291 would be

a class action suit for injunctive relief brought under 42

J.S.C. § 6901 for illegal dumping and would be tried

first. The order further specified that after resolution of

the illegal dumping claims, Plaintiffs’ claims of race

discrimination would be tried in civil action 3:98-CV-

1763, which was not a class action suit. After a bench

trial in 3:98-CV-0291, the district court entered a final

judgment granting Plaintiffs’ request for injunctive

relief on August 27, 1999. On September 7, 1999, civil

action 3:98-CV-0291 was closed, and civil action 3:98-

CV-1 763 was reopened. Civil action 3:98-CV-1763 was

transferred to this Court on March 11, 2003, for the

39a

conduct of all further proceedings in Plaintiffs’ suit

against the City for race discrimination.

In Plaintiffs' Revised Fourth Amended Complaint,

filed October 2, 2003, Plaintiffs alleged violations of the

Fourteenth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution, 42

U.S.C. § 1981, 42 U.S.C. § 1983, the Fair Housing Act,

42 U.S.C. § 3601 et seqg., and 24 C.F.R. § 100.70(b),

(d)(4). In particular, Plaintiffs asserted that the City

failed to stop the illegal dumping at the Deepwood site

with the intent to discriminate against Plaintiffs

because of their race. (Compl. at 13.) On February 24,

2004, this Court awarded summary judgment to the

City on Plaintiffs’ claims brought under the Fair

Housing Act, 42 U.S.C. § 3604(a) and (b), and 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983 for violations of 24 C.F.R. § 100.70(b), (d)(4). A

bench trial on Plaintiffs' remaining claims of violations

of 42 U.S.C. § 1981 and 42 U.S.C. § 1983 was held on

March 1-3, 2004.

Il. FINDINGS OF FACT'

1. Plaintiffs are African-American homeowners living in

a residential neighborhood adjacent to a landfill located

at 523 Deepwood Street, Dallas, Texas ("Deepwood

site"). (Am. JPO at 4.)

2. The City is a municipal government organized and

operating under the laws of the state of Texas. (Am.

JPO at 4.)

3. The Deepwood neighborhood was annexed by the

City on August 6, 1956, and was zoned R-7.5

(Residential). (Am. JPO at 8.)

40a

4. On March 20, 1968, the City granted permission to

locate an office building at the Deepwood site for a

nonconforming sand and gravel mining operation. (Am.

JPO at 8.)

5. A certificate of occupancy was issued on August 16,

1963, for a gravel pit at the Deepwood site on the basis

that the use was nonconforming. (Am. JPO at 8.)

6. At that time, the ethnic background of the residents

of the Deepwood neighborhood was predominately

white, non-Hispanic. (Am. JPQ at 8.)

7. A portion of the Deepwood site was zoned Industrial-

2, and Specific Use Permit ("SUP") 182 was issued for a

mining operation adjacent to the _ residential

neighborhood, on March 30, 1965. (Am. JPO at 5, 8.) To

date, SUP 182 has not been revoked. (Am. JPO at 7.)

8. Between the 1970 and 1980 U.S. Census, the ethnic

background of the residents of the Deepwood

neighborhood changed from predominately white, non-

Hispanic to predominately African-American. (Am.

JPO at 8.)

9. Plaintiffs purchased homes in the Deepwood

neighborhood between 1970 and 1978. (Am. JPO at 8.)

10. As early as 1976, there was open dumping of solid

waste at the Deepwood site. See Cox v. City of Dallas,

256 F.3d 281, 285 (5th Cir. 2001). At that time, officials

from the City and the state visited the site and called

for continuing surveillance. /d.

4la

11. From 1982 through 1992, the Deepwood site was

owned by Terry Van Sickle, owner of V.V.

Construction Co. (Am, JPO at 5-6.)

12. On March 16, 1982, V.V. Construction Co. submitted

a permit application for removal of sand and gravel

from the Deepwood site. (Am. JPO at 5.) The

application stated that the old pits were to be filled

with solid waste, meaning “all putrescible and non

putrescible discarded materials or unwanted rock, dirt,

metal, sand gravel wood etc." (Am. JPO at 5.)

13. On April 6, 1982, V.V. Construction Co. was issued a

certificate of occupancy for mining sand and gravel at

the Deepwood site based on the March 16, 1982

application. (Am. JPO at 5.)

14. In a letter dated April 16, 1982, the City granted

Van Sickle permission to fill the mined area at the

Deepwood site. (Am. JPO at 5.)

15. On November 22, 1982, one of the plaintiffs in this

action filed a complaint with the City, alleging massive

illegal dumping at the Deepwood site. (P.'s Exh. 46.)

16. The City's response to the complaint indicates that a

citation to municipal court had been issued to the owner

of the property on November 11, 1982, for conducting a

sanitary landfill operation in R-7.5 zoning. (P.'s Exh.

47.) Weekly reinspections revealed no additional illegal

dumping as of December 9, 1982. (P.'s Exh. 47.)

17. In the first four months of 1983, residents of the

Deepwood: neighborhood appeared five times at City

42a

Council meetings to express concern about the

Deepwood site. (P.'s Exh. 48-52.)

18. In response to residents’ concerns raised at City

Council meetings about truck traffic, noise, air

pollution, and illegal dumping, the Assistant City

Manager issued a memorandum to the Mayor and City

Council dated February 4, 1983. (D.'s Exh. 92.) The

memorandum indicated that the owner of the

Deepwood site was fined for operating a sanitary

landfill on the site, and that illegal dumping at the site

had ceased. /d. The author stated his belief that once

truck traffic to the site was diverted away from

residential streets, most of the citizens' concerns would

be resolved. /d.

19. At the instruction of the City Council, tests were

conducted at the Deepwood site on February 22, 1983,

to determine the quality of the fill materials. (D.'s Exh.

111.) The study found that the site was "being filled

with soil and rock with approximately 20 percent other

materials such as brush, trees, and demolition rubble

being allowed." /d. The soil was not found to be

contaminated. [d.

20. A May 18, 1983 memorandum from a City employee

to a City Councilperson reported that no contaminants

were found in the soil or water table at the Deepwood

site and that continued monitoring of the site was to

take place every four to six months for five years. (D.'s

Exh. 51.)

21. On April 27, 1983, the City Council passed a

resolution requesting that the Board of Adjustment

initiate a public hearing to consider terminating the

43a

nonconforming use of the Deepwood site. The

resolution referenced the operation of a "stone, sand, or

gravel mining use" on the property but did not mention

the fact that the site had been used as an illegal dump.

(P.'s Exh. 97.)

22. Notice of the hearing was issued by the Board of

Adjustment and the hearing was held on July 26, 1983.

(P.'s Exh. 99, 101.)

23. The morning of the hearing, the members of the

Board of Adjustment inspected the Deepwood site. (P.'s

Exh. 108 at 8.)

24. The Board of Adjustment believed the basis for

considering terminating the nonconforming use at the

Deepwood site was the noise, dust, and _ traffic

associated with the mining operation. (P.'s Exh. 108 at

1.) Two letters from residents in favor of terminating

the nonconforming use at the site were sent to the

Board of Adjustment. (P.'s Exh. 100.) At the hearing,

Mr. Van Sickle testified that he had removed a

considerable amount of debris from the site, and that he

planned to mine gravel for two more years and fill the

hole for another three years. (P.'s Exh. 103 at 5.) Two

other individuals testified in favor of continuing the

nonconforming use. (P.'s Exh. 101.) At the conclusion of

the hearing, the Board of Adjustment voted to take no

action terminating the nonconforming use and to call

another hearing in nine months. (P.'s Exh. 101.)

25. The issue of terminating the nonconforming use at

the Deepwood site was never again considered by the

Board of Adjustment.

44a

26. The City Council did not request further action by

the Board of Adjustment on the issue of the

nonconforming use at the Deepwood site.

27. In a letter dated October 16, 1985, the Texas

Department of Health complained to the City about

solid waste permits being issued by the Dallas Urban

Housing Authority in violation of the Texas Solid

Waste Disposal Act. (P.'s Exh. 126.) The letter noted

that if permits were issued for materials excluded by

the Act, the City was responsible for ensuring that no

prohibited materials were deposited. /d.

28. A November 7, 1985 memorandum to the Mayor and

‘City Council stated that the issuance of citations for

illegal dumping in the area surrounding the Deepwood

site had proven only a partial deterrent to the problem

of illegal dumping. (P.'s Exh. 127.) The memorandum

noted that control of illegal dumping at the Deepwood

site had been "loose." A coordinated effort by the Street

and Sanitation Service Department, the State Health

Department, the Department of Housing and

Neighborhood Services, and the Public Works

Department was begun to clean up the illegal dumps.

Id.

29. From 1985 through 1993, the City invested minimal

effort into deterring illegal dumping. Of the three

citations issued by the City for illegal dumping in 1985,

one was for dumping at the Deepwood site. (P.'s Exh.

128.) Two citations for illegal dumping were issued in

1986, both for dumping at the Deepwood site. /d. Five

citations for illegal dumping were issued in 1987, three

of which were for dumping at the Deepwood site. /d.

Two citations were issued in 1988, neither of which was

45a

for illegal dumping at the Deepwood site. Jd. No

citations were issued in 1989 or 1990. Jd. Two citations

for illegal dumping were issued in 1991, neither, for

Deepwood. Jd. No citations for illegal dumping were

issued in 1992, and only one citation was issued in 1993.

Id.

30. Illegal dumping continued at the Deepwood site,

and in 1987, the City sued Van Sickle, V & V

Construction Co., and Samson Horrice for operating an

illegal solid waste facility or municipal solid waste site.

(Am. JPO at 5.)

31. In 1988, the Deepwood site caught fire and burned

for over seven months. Cox v. City of Dallas, 1999 U.S.

Dist. LEXIS 22748, 1999 WL 33756552, *4 (N.D. Tex.

1999).

32. On December 29, 1989, the City obtained a

judgment against Van Sickle and Horrice for operating

an illegal municipal solid waste disposal site. (Am. JPO

at 6.) The judgment ordered cessation of disposal of

municipal solid waste at the Deepwood site and

submission and implementation of a plan to close the

site. Id.

33. Resident complaints about illegal dumping at the

Deepwood site were received in 1990, 1991,1993, and

1994, by the agency charged with code enforcement.

(P.'s Exh. 54, 55, 56, 57.)

34. On November 21, 1991, the City moved for contempt

against Van Sickle and Horrice for failure to comply

with the terms of the judgment. (P.'s Exh. 136.)

46a

35. No hearing was held on the contempt charges and

no further action was taken to enforce the judgment.

(P.'s Exh, 136, 138.)

36. On October 7, 1991, the lienholder on Van Sickle's

note on the Deepwood site, First State Bank, was told

by the Department of Housing and Neighborhood

Services that the Deepwood site had been inspected

and was in compliance with City code. (P.'s Exh. 130.)

37. In a letter to the Texas Department of Health

concerning cleanup of the Deepwood site, dated

December 18, 1991, the City stated that prior to any

sand and gravel mining taking place at the site, the City

would require its cleanup and submission of a plan

addressing environmental concerns and hazards. (P.'s

Exh. 111, 131.)

38. First State Bank acquired the Deepwood site in

1992, when Van Sickle defaulted on the loan. (Am. JPO

at 6.)

39. First State Bank sold the Deepwood site to Herman

Nethery in 1994, (Am. JPO at 6.)

40. On August 1, 1994, Nethery submitted a

construction permit application to the City on behalf of

Herman Nethery Recycling. (Am. JPO at 6.) The

proposed project was described as "fill & mine

property." /d.

41. Nethery was advised that the application needed an

accompanying affidavit stating that the proposed use

had been in continuous operation since the original

certificate of occupancy was issued. (Am. JPO at 6.) On

47a

August 2, 1994, Nether submitted an affidavit to the

City which stated that "VV Construction Company is in

fact in business and continuing business on said

property since 1982 to present time." (Am. JPO at 6.)

42. On August 2, 1994, the City issued a permit to

Nethery for mining at the Deepwood site. (Am. JPO at

6.) The accompanying contractor's authorization notes

that inspection of the property was required prior to

issuing the certificate of occupancy. (P.'s Exh. 88.)

43. At the beginning of fiscal year 1994-1995, the City

created an Illegal Dumping Team, which consisted of

six code enforcement inspectors whose mandate was to

stop and prevent illegal dumping. (Def.'s Exh. 117, 118.)

44. From August 22, 1994 through 1997, city inspectors

issued numerous citations for illegal dumping at the

Deepwood site. (Am. JPO at 7; Def.'s Exh. 81, 82.)

45. Despite the reports and citations for illegal

dumping, the City issued a certificate of occupancy to

Nethery for the Deepwood cite on December 5, 1994,

without first conducting the requisite inspection. (Am.

JPO at 7.)

46. During the time Nethery owned the Deepwood site,

it was operated by Herman Lee Gibbons. (P.'s Exh. 194

at 298.)

47. On December 13, 1994, a city employee authorized

Gibbons to "dump rock, gravel, sand, clean dirt free of

vegetation and concrete, generated from demolition

efforts associated with the Urban Rehabilitation

48a

Standards Board Demolition Program" at _ the

Deepwood site. (Def.'s Exh. 100.)

48. The operators of the Deepwood site produced copies

of City-issued documents to prove to their customers

that the site was a legal landfill. (P.'s Exh. 194 at 299.)

49. Gibbons, through his company Fruit of the Spirit

Services, was a subcontractor on certain City

demolition contracts for demolition and/or hauling of

debris. (Tr. Vol. n at 71-72; P.'s Exh. 196; P.'s Exh. 197

at 432-33; P.'s Exh. 218 at 507-08.)

50. Fruit of the Spirit Services trucks dumped debris at

the Deepwood site. (P.'s Exh. 118 at 2-3; P.'s Exh. 367

at 517; P.'s Exh. 378 at 21854.) -

51. Other subcontractors on City demolition projects

also disposed of debris at the Deepwood site. (P.'s Exh.

105 at 98-99, 102-103; P.'s Exh. 194 at 298; P.'s Exh. 196

at 426-26; P.'s Exh. 197 at 482, 484.)

52. Even though he had knowledge that some City

contractors were engaged in illegal dumping, the City

employee who supervised City demolition contracts for

the Department of Public Works and Transportation,

Kenn Hornbeck, did not seek to terminate those

demolition contracts because he had been provided with

no proof that material from City demolition sites was

being dumped illegally. (Tr. Vol. II at 52-57, 70.)

53. Attempts by the Department of Public Works and

Transportation to monitor whether City demolition

debris was disposed of in legal landfills were limited to

checking any receipts submitted for landfill disposal to

49a

see if they were from a legal landfill prior to

reimbursement. (Tr. Vol. I] at 55-59, 88-90, 101.)

54. Although Hornbeck knew Gibbons was operating an

illegal dump at the Deepwood site, Hornbeck continued

to forward contracts with Fruit of the Spirit Services as

a subcontraetor to the City Council for approval

without informing them of Gibbons’ connection with the

dump. (Tr. Vol. H at 75-76.)

55. On April 28, 1995, the City sued Nethery for

operating an illegal solid waste facility. (Am. JPO at 9.)

56. In spite of a 1995 temporary injunction ordering

Nethery to cease all operations at the Deepwood site,

illegal dumping continued through November 1996.

(P.'s Exh. 80.)

57. Nethery was twice held in contempt of court. As a

consequence, he spent 49 days in jail and was ordered

to pay $ 2,500 in fines. (Am. JPO at 9.)

58. In an attempt to eliminate the continued illegal

dumping at the Deepwood site, Environmental and

Health Services code inspectors, Dallas police officers,

and Department of Public Safety officers arrested 29

people and issued 152 code violation citations on June

22, 1995. (P.'s Exh. 392.) The assistance of law

enforcement officers was requested because the

operators of the facility were armed. /d.

59. The Deepwood site again caught fire and burned

from February 1997 through April 1997. (P.'s Exh. 37.)

0a

60. The City Council received a briefing on the

Deepwood site on April 16, 1997. (P.'s Exh. 38.) At the

briefing, councilwoman Charlotte Mayes stated that:

...it was pure neglect to allow something of

that magnitude to occur from 1982 to

present. This -- this -- this is kind of, to me,

unheard of that we would have a situation

that serious that we would choose to

somewhat look the other way... . This --

this type of situation in my opinion, should

have never escalated to the point to where it

is today. And had it been in another area of

the city, it would not have occurred. And all

I'm saying is this, we need to deal with this.

We need to deal with it expeditiously.

(P.'s Exh. 38 at 12-13.) Councilman Don Hicks stated:

You're not going to be able to get intelligent

people or unintelligent people to understand

that the City didn't have the principle

responsibility to stop this thing from going

on. I would like to the FBI investigation

(sic) to see if anybody in staffs got some

money for this. Is -- it's just too open... . 560

complaints, 95 within the last year and a

half, and nobody can stop it...

(P.'’s Exh. 38 at 19-20.) Councilman Larry Duncan

added:

We need to make sure that it gets cleaned

up for all the reasons you enumerated, and if

we can use federal money and state money

5la

to do that, so much the better, but we still,

however it happens, need to make that

commitment and make _ that happen

regardless of what it takes because we're

left with the problem. ... And the point is,

how did it go on this long? How many others

are there out there?

(P's Exh. 38 at 22.)

61. In a judgment entered on November 14, 1997,

Nethery was permanently enjoined from operating a

municipal solid waste facility at the Deepwood site.

(Am. JPO at 9.)

62. Mr. Nethery and Mr. Gibbons were both charged

with organized criminal activity in connection with

their operation of the Deepwood site. (Am. JPO at 9.)

Both men were found guilty and sentenced to prison.

Id. Mr. Nethery's conviction was reversed on appeal.

Id. :

63. Prior to the initiation of Civil Action No. 3:98-CV-

0291-H, the City made no efforts to remove the solid

waste at the Deepwood site.

II. CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

A. 42 U.S.C. S 1983; Equal Protection

Plaintiffs sue under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 for intentional

discrimination on the basis of race. To establish a claim

of intentional discrimination under §$ 1983, a plaintiff

must first prove a prima facie case of discrimination.

Wallace v. Texas Tech University, 80 F.3d 1042, 1047

(5th Cir. 1996). A plaintiff must show that an official

52a

action constitutes a violation of the Hqual Protection

Clause by providing proof of racially discriminatory

intent or purpose. Village of Arlington Heights v.

Metropolitan Housing Development Corp., 429 U.S.

252, 265, 50 L. Ed. 2d 450, 97 S. Ct. 555 (1977). To

prevail, Plaintiffs must show that the City's failure to

stop the illegal dumping at the Deepwood site was the

result of an official action, that the City intended to

discriminate against Plaintiffs on the basis of race, and

that the action violated the Equal Protection Clause.

1. Official action

In suing a municipality, a plaintiff must first prove

there was an official action by showing "three elements:

a policymaker; an official policy; and a violation of

constitutional rights whose moving force' is the policy

or custom." Piotrowski v. Houston, 237 F.3d 567, 578

(5th Cir. 2001) (citing Mone!! v. Dep't of Soc. Servs., 436

U.S. 658, 694, 56 L. Ed. 2d 611, 98 S. Ct. 2018 (1978)).

"Actual or constructive knowledge of a custom must be

attributable to the governing body of the municipality

or to an official to whom that body has delegated policy-

making authority." Jd. at 579. Municipal liability cannot

he predicated on a theory of respondeat superior.

Rivera v. Houston Ind. School Dist., 349 F.3d 244, 247

(Sth Cir. 2003). Rather, the unconstitutional conduct

must be “directly attributable to the municipality

through some sort of official action or imprimatur."

Piotrowski, 237 F.3d at 578. A given policy is

attributable to the municipality when the policy was

made by an official to whom the governing body has

given policymaking authority. Bennett v. City of Slidell,

728 F.2d 762, 769 (5th Cir. 1984).

a. Poli:cymakers

53a

Plaintiffs assert that the City Council, the Board of

Adjustment, the City Manager, and the City Attorney

are policymakers for the City whose actions violated

Plaintiffs' constitutional rights. (Compl. at 14-15.)

A policy maker "must have final policymaking

authority." Rivera, 349 F.3d at 247. "When an official

has final authority in a matter involving the selection of

goals or of the means of achieving goals, his choices

represent governmental policy." Victoria W. v.

Larpenter, 205 F. Supp. 2d 580, 589 (E.D. La. 2002)

(citing Burge v. Parish of St. Tammany, 187 F.3d 452,

468 (5th Cir. 1999)). However, "policymaking authority

is more than discretion." Bennett, 728 F.2d at 769. A

policymaker takes the place of the governing body in a

designated area of city administration; he decides the

goals for a particular city function, devises the means of

achieving those goals, and is not supervised in the area

of his responsibility except as to the totality of his

performance. Webster v. City of Houston, 735 F.2d 838,

841 (Sth Cir. 1984). Policymaking authority is delegated

either by formal action of the governing body or by

conduct or practice which acknowledges the official in a

policymaking role. Bennett, 728 F.2d at 769. Whether or

not an official has final policymaking authority is a

question of state law. Jd. Both parties agree that the

City Council is a policymaker for the City.

The Board of Adjustment is authorized by state law.

TEX. LOC. GOV'T CODE § 211.008 authorizes a

municipality's governing body to create a board of

adjustment, which may then "make special exceptions

to the terms of the zoning ordinance that are consistent

with the general purpose and intent of the ordinance

and in accordance with any applicable rules contained in

the ordinance." The powers and duties of the Board of

54a

Adjustment are set forth in Dallas City Code Chapter

51A-3.102. (D.'s Exh. 39.) Included in its powers is the

authority to decide special exceptions, to grant

variances, and to discontinue, enlarge, or change a

nonconforming use. /d. Decisions of the Board of

Adjustment are final unless appealed to the district

court, but are not appealable to the City Council. Jd.

Although the Board of Adjustment does not have the

power to enact zoning ordinances, it does have final

authority to establish that part of municipal zoning

policy concerning the grant or denial of variances or

special exceptions. Because the Board of Adjustment

has final authority concerning the enforcement of

zoning decisions, its decisions constitute municipal

policy and make it a policymaker for the City for

purposes of § 1983. See e.g. Schiazza v. Zoning Hrg.

Bd. of Fairview Township, 168 F. Supp. 2d 361, 373

(M.D. Pa. 2001) (holding that a zoning board which had

final authority to grant or deny variances and special

exceptions was a policymaker); Loreto Dev. Co., Inc. v.

Village of Chardon, 1998 U.S. App. LEXIS 12183, 1998

WL 320981, *2-3 (6th Cir. June 4, 1998) (finding a

zoning board to be a policymaker when it had discretion

to deny or grant zoning permits and issue variances);

Manor Healthcare Corp. v. Lomelo, 929 F.2d 633, 638

(11th Cir. 1991) (holding that a mayor was not a final

policymaker with respect to zoning decisions where the

city charter provided that the city counsel could

override the mayor's veto of zoning ordinances).

The City Manager is appointed by the City Council

to be the chief administrative and executive officer of

the city. (D.'s Exh. 31 at 27.) Appointment of a city

manager is authorized by TEX. LOC. GOV'T CODE §$

25.029, That statute sets forth the powers and duties of

55a

a city manager,-whieh include administering the

municipal business and any additional powers and

duties delegated by the governing body by ordinance.

TEX. LOC. GOV'T CODE § 25.029(a), (b). The City

Manager has the responsibility to see that all laws and

ordinances are enforced and to "recommend to the

council for adoption such measures as he may deem

necessary or expedient." (D.'s Exh. 31 at 28.) Neither

state law nor city ordinance grants final policymaking

authority to the City Manager concerning matters of

zoning enforcement. Therefore, the City Manager is not

a policymaker for the City for purposes of this lawsuit.

The appointment Of a-city-attorney is authorized by

TEX. LOC. GOV'T CODE § 24.051, which permits the

governing authority to define the duties of the position.

Pursuant to the City charter, the City Attorney is the

director of the legal department. (D.'s Exh. 31, p. 29.)

His duties include “upon his own initiative or upon the

direction of the city council" to appear in any and all

litigation affecting the City and "to institute such legal

proceedings as may be necessary or desirable on behalf

of the city." (D.'s Exh. 31, p. 29-31.) While it is clear that

the City Attorney has some discretion concerning the

institution of legal proceedings on behalf of the City,

neither state law nor city ordinance grants him final

authority to set policy with regard to zoning

enforcement. In fact, the institution of certain legal

proceedings may be directed by the City Council.

Therefore, the City Attorney is not a policymaker for

purposes of $ 1983.

For purposes of this lawsuit, the City Council and

the Board of Adjustment are policymakers whose

actions may subject the City to liability for

constitutional violations.

56a

b. Official pdicy

Plaintiffs assert that the City "implemented a policy

that allowed damping of demolition debris, including

wood, shingles, and other biodegradable material at

illegal landfills" which were disproportionately located

in minority ar2zas. (Compl. at 15-16.) Plaintiffs also

assert that the City "failed to use the zoning and land

use powers to protect African-American single-family

and other residential neighborhoods." (Compl. at 18.)

A city may be liable under § /983 if the execution of

one of its customs or policies deprives a plaintiff of his

constitutional rghts. Monell, 436 U.S. at 691. However,

liability does not attach merely because a city employed

a tortfeasor. id. at 694; Campbell v. City of San

Antonio, 43 F3d 973, 977 (Sth Cir. 1995). Municipal

liability under ¢ 1983 “is limited to action for which the

municipality is actually responsible . . . that is, acts

which the municipality has officially sanctioned or

ordered." Pemtaur v. Cincinnati, 475 U.S. 469, 479-80,

89 L. Ed. 2d 452, 106 S. Ct. 1292(1986). A city's policy or

custom must be "the moving force of the constitutgonal

violation." Palmer v. City of San Antonio, 810 F.2d 514,

516 (5th Cir. 1987) (quoting Monell, 436 U.S. at 694). A

single incident, unaccompanied by supporting history,

is not a sufficient basis for inferring a custom or policy

unless the actors involved were given official policy-

making authority. Worsham v. Pasadena, 881 F.2d

1336, 1339-40 (5th Cir. 1989) (citations omitted); see

also Palmer, 810 F.2d at 516. The alleged custom or

policy must be adopted by the municipality's governing

body before a municipality may be held liable. See

Bennett, 728 F.2d at 767.

57a

An official policy is: (1) a policy statement,

ordinance, regulation, or decision that is officially

adopted and promulgated by the governing body or by

an official who has policymaking authority; or (2) a

persistent, widespread practice of officials or

employees, which, although not authorized by officially

adopted and promulgated policy, is so common and well

settled as to constitute a custom that fairly represents

the municipality's policy. Cozzo v. Tangipahoa Parish

Council, 279 F.3d 273, 289 (5th Cir. 2002) (citing

Johnson v. Moore, 958 F.2d 92, 94 (5th Cir. 1992)).

Plaintiffs do not claim that the alleged discriminatory

policies were officially adopted and promulgated by the

City Council. Rather, they allege that there existed a

persistent, widespread practice of city employees and

officials which was so common and well settled that it

fairly represented the City's policy.

"An act performed pursuant to a custom’ that has

not been formally approved by an _ appropriate

decisionmaker may fairly subject a municipality to

liability on the theory that the relevant practice is’ so

widespread as to have the force of law." Board of

County Comm'rs of Bryan County v. Brown, 520 U.S.

397, 404, 137 L. Ed. 2d 626, 117 S. Ct. 1382 (1997). "If

actions of city employees are to be used to prove a

custom for which the municipality is to be held liable,

those actions must have occurred for so long or so

frequently that the course of conduct warrants the

attribution to the governing body of knowledge that the

objectionable conduct is the expected, accepted practice

of city employees." Webster v. City of Houston, 735 F.2d

838, 842 (5th Cir. 1984). The governing body must have

either actual or constructive knowledge of the alleged

policy. Jd. The governing body may be said to have

58a

constructive knowledge of a practice if "it would have

known of the violations if it had properly exercised its

responsibilities, as for example, where the violations

were so persistent and widespread that they were the

subject of prolonged public discussion or of a high

degree of publicity." Bennett, 728 F.2d at 768. When the

governing body has "knowledge of a pattern of

constitutionally offensive acts by their subordinates but

fail[s] to take remediai steps, the municipality may be

held liable for a subsequent violation if the |] inaction

amounts to deliberate indifference or to tacit

authorization of the offensive acts." Turpin v. Mailet,

619 F.2d 196, 201 (2nd Cir. 1980).

(1) Dumping of City demolition debris

Plaintiffs first allege a persistent, widespread

practice by City officials or employees attributable to a

policymaker to permit dumping of City demolition

debris at illegal landfills disproportionately located in

minority areas. (Compl. at 15-16.) City contractors

dumped debris at the Deepwood site. (Findings of Fact

PP 49, 50, 51.) The Department of Public Works and

Transportation employee who supervised City

demolition contracts turned a blind eye to illegal

dumping by City contractors absent proof that it was

City debris which was being illegally dumped. (Finding

of Fact P 52.) However, virtually no effort was made to

determine whether City demolition debris was disposed

of in legal landfills, even when it was known that

Gibbous, a subcontractor on City demolition projects,

was operating the Deepwood site as an illegal dump.

(Findings of Fact PP 53, 54.)

The evidence supports the inference that City

demolition debris was dumped at the Deepwood site. It

59a

is also clear that employees at the Department of Public

Works and Transportation could have, through the

exercise of proper diligence, known about and stopped

the dumping of City demolition debris. However, the

practice of failing to properly supervise the disposal of

City demolition debris which then made its way into the

Deepwood site does not rise to the level of an official

policy which may be attributed to a City policymaker.

Statements made by City Council members after the

site caught fire in 1997 belie any prior knowledge of

illegal dumping of City demolition debris at Deepwood.

As previously determined, the City Councii and the

Board of Adjustment were policymakers for the City.

There is no evidence that either policymaker had actual

or constructive knowledge of this practice at the time it

occurred. There is no evidence that the policymakers

were informed that contractors or subcontractors were

disposing of City demolition debris at the Deepwood

site. (Findings of Fact P 54.) Nor is there any evidence

showing that the fact that City demolition debris was

being illegally dumped was the subject of prolonged

public discussion or of a high degree of publicity such

that the policymakers may be said to have had

constructive knowleage of it. Plaintiffs have not

established by a preponderance of the evidence that

there existed a persistent, widespread practice of City

officials or employees attributable to a policymaker to

permit dumping of City demolition debris at illegal

landfills in minority areas.

(2) Failure to terminate illegal dumping

Plaintiffs also allege a persistent, widespread

practice by City officials or employees attributable to a

policymaker of failing to use the zoning and land use

powers to protect African-American neighborhoods.

60a

(Compl. at 18.) In 1982, the City issued a certificate of

occupancy for sand and gravel mining at the Deepwood

site based upon an application which clearly expressed

the owner's intent to vse the site as a landfill. (Findings

of Fact P 12, 13.) In 1983, in the face of repeated

complaints by residents to the City Council and

- evidence that citations for illegal dumping were issued

to the owner of the Deepwood site, the City Council

ordered tests for contaminants on the site and

requested that the Board of Adjustment consider

terminating the nonconforming use. (Findings of Fact

PP 17, 18, 19, 21.) The Board of Adjustment was not

informed that the Deepwood site was being used as an

illegal dump and decided to take no action to terminate

the nonconforming use. (Findings of Fact P 24.) The

Board of Adjustment failed to call another hearing on

the matter as planned, and despite continued reports of

illegal dumping at the Deepwood site, the City Council!

did not request that the board take up the issue again.

(Findings of Fact P 25, 26.)

From 1985 through 19938, City code inspectors

issued few citations for illegal dumping, and those that

were issued for dumping at the Deepwood site failed to

remedy the problem. (Findings of Fact P 28, 29.) In

1987, the City sued the owner and operator of the

Deepwood site and, in 1989, obtained a judgment

requiring the cessation of illegal dumping and cleanup

of the site, but that judgment was never enforced.

(Findings of Fact P 30, 32, 35.) In spite of the judgment

requiring cleanup of the Deepwood site and recent

citations for illegal dumping, a permit for mining and a

certificate of occupancy were again issued to the site's

owner in 1994, without any inspection of the property

6la

having been conducted. (Findings of Fact P 37, 42, 438,

44, 45.)

In 1994, the City created the Illegal Dumping Team,

consisting of six code enforcement inspectors to stop

and prevent illegal dumping. (Findings of Fact P 43.)

City inspectors issued numerous citations for illegal

dumping at the Deepwood site. (Findings of Fact P 44.)

In 1995, the City sued the owner of the Deepwood site

for operating an illegal solid waste facility and a

temporary injunction was granted ordering the owner

to cease all operations at the site. (Findings of Fact P-

55, 56.) In spite of the temporary injunction and the

subsequent contempt proceedings against the site's

owner, illegal dumping at the Deepwood site continued.

(Findings of Fact P 56, 57.) In 1995, a raid on the

Deepwood site netted 29 arrests and 152 citations.

(Findings of Fact P 58.) In 1997, the owner of the

Deepwood site was permanently enjoined from

operating the facility. (Findings of Fact P 61.)

The evidence clearly shows that the City Council

was informed of the existence of an illegal dump site at

Deepwood as early as 1982. However, Plaintiffs have

not shown by a preponderance of the evidence that the

City Council failed to use the City's zoning and land use

powers to protect the surrounding neighborhood.

Citations were issued and testing at the site was

conducted for contaminants. The City Council referred

the matter of the continuing nonconforming use to the

Board of.Adjustment. While the issuance of citations

for illegal dumping throughout the city was virtually

nonexistent during the period of 195 through 1993,

during this same period the City sued the operator of

the Deepwood site, obtained a judgment ordering

cleanup of the site, and sought (but failed to follow

62a

through with) contempt sanctions for failure to comply

with the judgment. Subsequently, hundreds of citations

were issued and another lawsuit was filed and a

judgment obtained. That the City's efforts to stop the

illegal dumping at Deepwood were inconsistent,

inadequate, and largely ineffective for years is obvious.

Also obvious is the failure of individual City

departments and employees to communicate with each

other, to conduct rudimentary investigations prior to

issuing permits, and to diligently enforce a judgment

once obtained. Furthermore, if the City had

discontinued the nonconforming use or refused to issue

the certificates of occupancy, the owners of the

Deepwood site would have been robbed of the

appearance of legitimacy. Had the City enforced the

1989 judgment, the facility may not have continued to

operate into 1997. However, Plaintiffs have not shown

by a preponderance of the evidence that these failures

were the result of a widespread practice attributable to

the City Council or to the Board of Adjustment of not

using the City's zoning and land use powers to protect

African-American neighborhoods.

Because Plaintiffs have failed to prove by a

preponderance of the evidence that there existed an

official policy attributable to a policy which permitted

dumping of City demolition debris at or caused the

continued existence of the Deepwood site, they have

not established the official action element of their §

1983 claim.

2. Discriminatory Intent

Even if the Court had found that an official action of

the City resulted in the creation and continued

existence of the Deepwood site, Plaintiffs' claim under §

63a

1983 would still fail. In showing that an official action®

constitutes a violation of the Equal Protection Clause,

Plaintiffs must also provide proof of racially

discriminatory intent or purpose. Village of Arlington

Heights v. Metropolitan Housing Development Corp.,

429 U.S. 252, 265, 50 L. Ed. 2d 450, 97 S. Ct. 555 (1977).

To determine intent, courts consider both

circumstantia] and direct evidence of intent. Jd.

Where a facially neutral state law has been shown to

produce disproportionate effects along racial lines,

courts consider the factors set out in Arlington

Heights.Hunter v. Underwood, 471 U.S. 222, 228, 85 L.

Ed. 2d 222, 105 S. Ct. 1916 (1985). The factors to be

considered include: (1) whether the official action "bears

more heavily on one race than another;" (2) the

historical background of the decision; (3) the sequence

of events leading up the challenged decision; (4)

departures from the normal procedural sequence; and

(5) the legislative or administrative history. Arlington

Heights, 429 U.S. at. 265-68. However, "an action does

not violate the equal protection clause simply because

the decisionmaker knows that it will have a disparate

impact on racial or ethnic groups." United States v.

LULAC, 793 F.2d 636, 646 (5th Cir. 1986).

Disproportionate impact of state action on different

racial ethnic groups does not of itself violate the

Constitution. /d. A_ violation of the Fourteenth

Amendment occurs “only if a state decisionmaker

selects or continues in a particular course of action at

least in part because of, not merely in spite of, its

adverse effects upon an_ identifiable group." /d.

"Foreseeability of discriminatory impact, without more,

does not constitute the forbidden discriminatory

purpose." Price vy Austin Indep. School Dist., 945 F.2d

\

64a

1307, 1319 (5th Cir. 1991). Rather, the decisionmaker

must have selected the particular course of action at

least in part because of its adverse effects upon the

racial or ethnic group. /d.

a. Discriminatory effect

The first Arlington Heights factor addresses the

discriminatory effect of the official action. Plaintiffs

have shown that their neighborhood is predominately

inhabited by African-Americans and that the

neighborhood has been the site of an illegal dump site

since 1982. (Findings of Fact PP 8, 15.) Clearly, the

failure to stop the illegal dumping at the Deepwood site

had a disproportionate impact on African-Americans.

b. Historical background

The next Arlington Heights factor is the historical

background of the City's action. Previous courts have

found that the City of Dallas historically participated in

deliberate racial segregation and failed to expend the

resources necessary to remedy the results of that

discrimination. See Williams v. City of Dallas, 734 F.

Supp. 1317, 1406-07) (N.D. Tex. 1990); Walker v. U.S.

Dep't of Housing and Urban Dev., 734 F. Supp. 1289,

1303 (N.D. Tex. 1989), Mitler v. City of Dallas, 2002

U.S. Dist. LEXIS 2341, 2002 WL 230834, *4 (N.D. Tex.

Feb. 14, 2002). Prior discrimination is relevant to the

issue of intent. Rogers v. Lodge, 458 U.S. 618, 625, 73 L.

vd. 2d 1012, 102 S. Ct. 3272 (1982) (holding that

"evidence of historical discrimination is relevant to

drawing an inference of purposeful discrimination").

Prior findings of discrimination by the City do not,

however, end the inquiry. Price, 945 F.2d at 1316 (5th

Cir. 1991). In this case, the Deepwood neighborhood

was predominately white at the time the City

65a

authorized a sand and gravel mining operation, and at

the time open dumping was first observed at the

Deepwood site. (Findings of Fact PP 4, 5, 6, 8,10.) Thus,

while the City's past history of discrimination weighs in

favor of a finding of discriminatory intent, the historical

background of the Deepwood site does not.

c. Sequence of events

The third Arlington Heights factor is the specific

sequence of events leading up to the challenged action.

The original certificate of occupancy for a

nonconforming sand and gravel mining operation at the

Deepwood site was issued when the residents of the

neighborhood were predominately white. (Findings of

Fact P 4, 5, 6, 8.) After the racial makeup of the

neighborhood changed from predominately white to

predominately African-American, a new application for

certificate of occupancy was submitted to the City

which clearly stated that the owner of the Deepwood

site intended to use the site for solid waste, and a

certificate of occupancy was issued on the basis of that

application. (Findings of Fact P 8, 12, 18.)

In response to Plaintiffs' numerous complaints to

the City regarding the illegal dumping, citations were

issued and the City ordered tests of the site for

contaminants. (Findings of Fact PP 15, 16,17,18;19,20.)

The City Council requested that the Board of

Adjustment consider terminating the nonconforming

use of the Deepwood site, but did not inform the board

of the citations for illegal dumping at the site. (Findings

of Fact P 21.) The Board of Adjustment determined not

to terminate the nonconforming use at the site at that

time and did not reconsider the issue at any time

thereafter. (Findings of Fact PP 24, 25, 26.) City

66a

inspectors sporadically issued citations to for illegal

_ dumping at Deepwood, but the dumping continued.

(Findings of Fact PP 28, 29.) The City finally sued the

owner of the Deepwood site but failed to enforce its

judgment against him, wh’eh required closure of the

site. (Findings of Fact PP 30, 32, 34, 35.)

Notwithstanding that the site had not been cleaned

as required by the prior judgment and that further

citations for illegal dumping had been issued, the City

granted a new certificate of occupancy to the new

owner of the Deepwood site without first inspecting the

premises. (Findings of Fact PP 36, 42, 43, 44.) From

1994 through 1997, numerous citations for illegal

dumping at the Deepwood site were issued and a

temporary injunction was entered ordering the

cessation of all operations at the site, but the dumping

continued. (Findings of Fact P 44, 56, 57.) The illegal

dumping finally ceased after a permanent injunction

prohibiting the operation of a municipal solid waste

facility at the Deep wood site was entered and the

owner and operator of the site were charged with

organized criminal activity. (Findings of Fact PP 61,

62.) While this evidence supports the conclusion that

the City's efforts to stop the illegal dumping at the

Deepwood site were ineffective, if not negligent at

times, the evidence also shows that the City did not

wholly abdicate its responsibility to the residents of the

Deepwood neighborhood and ignore the fact that illegal

dumping was taking place.

d. Normal procedural sequence

Very little evidence of the normal procedural

sequence, the fourth Arlington Heights factcr, was

presented to the Court at trial. Plaintiff's presented no

67a

evidence regarding the normal procedure used by the

City in processing an application for certificate of

occupancy. No evidence was presented to show that

employees of the department charged with such duty

were aware of which materials were proper fill

materials for a sand and gravel mining operation, and

that they routinely denied applications which specified

that improper fill materials will be used. It is unclear

from the evidence of record whether, when processing

an application for certificate of occupancy, city

inspectors were routinely asked if the entity seeking a

permit had received prior citations or if the site in

question had prior problems.

No evidence was adduced showing the normal

procedure used when the Board of Adjustment was

asked to consider terminating a nenconforming use. It

is not evident from the record that the Board was

usually provided with information regarding repeated

citizen complaints about illegal activities at a location

prior to a hearing. There was no evidence presented

showing that the Board normally did have subsequent

hearings after it has deferred a decision. Nor was there

evidence that the City Council normally requested

further consideration by the Board if the Board failed

to make a determination.

The Court received no evidence showing that after

the City obtained a judgment, it usually followed

through with contempt proceedings and enforcement of

that judgment if the party sued refused to comply with

the terms of the judgment.

There was evidence showing that the normal

procedure for determining whether a contractor was

dumping City demolition debris in a legal landfill was to

68a

check that any landfill disposal receipts submitted were

from a legal location. (Findings of Fact P 53.) No other

verification procedures were in place and no evidence

was submitted indicating that the City varied from that

procedure in this case.

Absent any evidence that the City's procedures or

normal practices differed in any way from the practices

which allowed dumping at the Deepwood site to

continue, the Court cannot conclude that this factor

weighs in favor of finding intentional discrimination.

The City's inability to coordinate the actions of its

departments and to ensure that they are provided with

the essential information necessary to ensure that

actions were taken in the best interests of the City and

its citizens is bewildering. The failures which resulted

in the continued existence of the Deepwood site are

numerous and nothing short of negligence. However,

Plaintiffs have not adduced any evidence that the

normal procedural sequence differed from that which

allowed the Deepwood site to exist.

e. Legislative or administrative history

The last Arlington Heights factor addresses the

legislative or administrative history surrounding the

challenged action. "Statements made by members of the

decisionmaking governmental bodies are most

pertinent to this factor." Jim Sowell Construction Co.,

Inc. v. City of Coppell, 61 F. Supp.2d 542, 550 (N.D.

Tex. 1999). Statements by City Council members

indicating outrage at the existence and duration of the

illegal dumping at the Deepwood site were introduced

at trial. (Findings of Fact P 60.) Councilwoman Mayes

stated, "This -- this type of situation . . . should never

escalated to the point to where it is today. And had it

69a

been in another area of the city, it would not have

occurred." Jd. Councilman Hicks stated, "I would like to

the FBI investigation (sic) to see if anybody in staffs

got some money for this. Is -- it's just too open. . . . 560

complaints, 95 with the last year and a half, and nobody

can stop it." /d. Councilman Duncan added "And the

point is, how did it go on this long? How many others

are there out there?" /d.

These statements clearly express outrage by City

Council members at the existence and the duration of

the Deepwood site. Although the statement by

Councilwoman Mayes indicates her belief that such a

situation would not have occurred in another part of. the

city, neither her statement, nor those of the other City

Council members imply that the City Council

intentionally turned a blind eye to the dumping due to

the ethnic background of the neighborhood's residents.

Rather the statements show that the City Council was

unaware of the continuing problem prior to the 1997

fire. The evidence presented at trial pertaining to the

legislative or administrative history pertaining to the

Deepwood site does not indicate an intent to

discriminate against Plaintiffs by City policymakers.

After considering the evidence relevant to the

Arlington Heights factors, the Court determines that

Plaintiffs have failed to prove by a preponderance of

the evidence that the City intended to discriminate

against them on the basis of race. Accordingly, the

Court concludes that Plaintiffs are not entitled to

recover for their claim brought under 42 U.S.C. $ 1983

for violation of the 14th Amendment.

B. 42 U.S.C. § 1981

70a

Plaintiffs also seek relief under 42 U.S.C. § 1981. To

establish a right to relief under § 1981, Plaintiffs must

show: (1) that they belong to a racial minority; (2) that

the City intended to discriminate against them on the

basis of race; and'(3) that the discrimination concerned

one or more of the activities enumerated in the statute.

Arguello v. Conoco, Inc., 380 F.3d 355, 358 (5th Cir.

2003). As noted above, the evidence presented at trial

clearly supports an inference of gross negligence by the

City exemplified by lackadaisical code enforcement,

absence of communication between City departments,

and virtually no follow-through by either the Board of

Adjustment or the City Attorney's office, among other

things. However, Plaintiffs failed to establish by a

preponderance of the evidence that the City's actions

were more than negligence and were the result of an

intent to discriminate against them on the basis of race,

rather than gross negligence. Accordingly, Plaintiffs

are not entitled to relief for their claims under § 1981.

IV. CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, the Court finds for

the City on Plaintiffs claims for violation of 42 U.S.C. §

1981 and for violation of the 14th Amendment brought

under 42 U.S.C. § 1988.

SO ORDERED, this the 21st day of September,

2004.

IRMA CARRILLO RAMIREZ

UNITED STATES MAGISTRATE JUDGE

FINAL JUDGMENT

This Judgment is issued pursuant to FED. R. CIV.

P. 58(a), and resolves Plaintiffs' claims against

Defendant for violations of 42 U.S.C. § 1983 and 42

7la

U.S.C. § 1981. These claims came on for trial before the

Court on March 1-3, 2004. The issues having been duly

tired and a decision having been duly rendered, it is

ORDERED, ADJUDGED, and DECREED that

judgment be entered in favor of Defendant and that

Plaintiffs shall take nothing by their claims. It is

further

ORDERED, ADJUDGED, and DECREED that

the Clerk shall transmit a true copy of this judgment to

the parties.

SO ORDERED, this 21st day of September, 2004.

IRMA CARRILLO RAMIREZ :

UNITED STATES MAGISTRATE JUDGE

Footnotes

nl At the close of trial, the Court took under

advisement the admissibility of certain evidence

submitted by the parties, and requested post-trial

briefing on the issues of the applicability of the law of

the case doctrine to this case and the admissibility of

certain other evidence. Because the Court does not rely

on any of the contested evidence in reaching its

decision, the issue of its admissibility is not reached.

n2 The Arlington Heights factors address a "decision"

by the municipality. As noted in Section I above,

Plaintiffs' claim that the discriminatory "decision" was

in fact an omission, i.e., the failure to stop illegal

dumping at the Deepwood site.

72a

Civil Action No. 3:98-C V-1763-BH

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS,

; DALLAS DIVISION

HAROLD COX, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

V.

THE CITY OF DALLAS, et al.,

Defendants.

February 24, 2004, Decided

February 24, 2004, Filed

COUNSEL: For Harold Cox, Plaintiff: Laura Beth

Beshara, Law Office of Michael M Daniel, Dallas, TX.

Michael M Daniel, Law Office of Michael M Daniel,

Dallas, TX.

For Shirley Davidson, Robert Stubblefield, Cynthia

Herring, Eloise Edwards, Betty Curley, Leo Easter,

Plaintiffs: Laura Beth Beshara, Law Office of Michael

M Daniel, Dallas, TX.

For Dallas TX City of, Defendant: Janice Smith Moss,

Dallas City Attorney's Office, Dallas, TX. Thomas P

Perkins, Jr, Dallas City Attorney's Office, Dallas, TX.

Albert M Bronson, Attorney General of Texas, Austin,

TX. Caroline Jordan, Dallas City Attorney's Office -

City Hall, Dallas, TX. John L Anderson, Dallas City

Attorney's Office, Dallas, TX.

73a

For Dan Pearson, in his capacity as Executive Director

of the Texas Natural Resources Conservation

Commission, Defendant: Albert M Bronson, Attorney

General of Texas, Austin, TX.

JUDGES: IRMA CARRILLO RAMIREZ, UNITED

STATES MAGISTRATE JUDGE.

OPINION BY: IRMA CARRILLO RAMIREZ

OPINION:

ORDER

Before the Court are:

(1) Plaintiffs’ Motion for Partial Summary Judgment

(P.'s MSJ"), filed October 14, 2003;

(2) Plaintiffs' Brief in Support of Motion for Partial

Summary Judgment ("P.'s MSJ Br."), filed October 14,

2003;

(5) Plaintiffs’ Appendix in Support of Plaintiffs'

Motion for Partial Summary Judgment ("P.'s MSJ

Appx."), filed October 14, 2003;

(4) Defendant City of Dallas' Response to Plaintiffs'

Motion for Partial Summary Judgment ("Def.'s

Resp."), filed November 3, 2003;

(5) Defendant's Brief in Support of City of Dallas’

Response to Plaintiffs' Motion for Partial Summary

Judgment ("Def.'s Resp. Br."), filed November 3, 2003;

74a

(6) Appendix in Support of Defendant's Response to

Plaintiffs' Motion for Partial Summary Judgment

("Def.'s Resp. Appx."), filed November 3, 2003;

(7) Plaintiffs' Reply Brief in Support of Plaintiffs’

Motion for Partial Summary Judgment ("P.'s Reply"),

filed November 18, 2003;

(8). Defendant City of Dallas' Motion for Summary

Judgment ("Def.'s MSJ"), filed November 14, 2003;

(9) Brief in Support of City of Dallas' Motion for

Summary Judgment ("Def.'s MSJ Br."), filed November

14, 2003;

(10) Appendix in Support of Defendant's Motion for

Summary Judgment ("Def.'s MSJ Appx."); filed

November 14, 2003;

(11) Plaintiffs' Response in Opposition to City's Motion

for Summary Judgment ("P.'s Resp."), filed December

4, 2003;

(12) Plaintiffs’ Brief in Support of Plaintiffs' Response

in Opposition to the City's Motion for Summary

Judgment ("P.'s Resp. Br."), filed December 4, 2003;

(13) Plaintiffs’ Appendix in Support of Plaintiffs'

Response in Opposition to the City's Motion for

Summary Judgment ("P.'s Resp. Appx."), filed

December 4, 2003; and

(13) City of Dallas' Reply to Plaintiffs' Response in

Opposition to the City's Motion for Swmmary

Judgment, filed December 19, 2003.

75a

Having reviewed the pertinent pleadings and the law

applicable to the issues raised, the Court finds that

Plaintiffs' Motion for Partial Summary Judgment

should be DENIED, and Defendant City of Dallas'

Motion for Summary Judgment should be GRANTED,

in part and DENIED, in part.

I. BACKGROUND!

A. factual History

Plaintiffs are homeowners in a_ residential

neighborhood adjacent to a landfill located at 523

Deepwood Street, Dallas, Texas ("Deepwood site").

(Pl.'s MSJ Appx. at 1299.) The Deepwood neighborhood

was annexed by the City on August 6, 1956, and was

zoned R-7.5 (Residential). (Def.'s MSJ Appx. at 742.) On

March 20, 1963, the City granted permission to locate

an office building at the Deepwood site for a non-

conforming sand and mining operation. (Def.'s MSJ

Appx. at 742.) A certificate of occupancy ("CO") was

issued on August 16, 1963, for a gravel pit at the

Deepwood site or the basis that the use was non-

conforming. (/d. at 742.) A portion of the Deepwood site

was zoned Industrial-2, and Specific Use Permit

("SUP") 182 was issued for a mining operation adjacent

to the residential neighborhood, on March 30, 1965. (/d.

at 677.)

The 1970 U.S. Census showed that the residents of

the Deepwood neighborhood were predominately

white, non-Hispanic. (/d. at 5-6.) Plaintiffs purchased

homes in the neighborhood between 1970 and 19738.

(Pl.'s MSJ Appx. at 721, 724, 730, 739-40, 743, 750, 756.)

By 1980, the U.S. Census indicated that the residents of

76a

the neighborhood were predominately African-

American. (Def.'s MSJ Appx. at 5-6.)

As early as 1976, there was open dumping of solid

waste at the Deepwood site. See Cox v. City of Dallas,

256 F.3d 281, 285 (Sth Cir. 2001). At that time, officials

from the City and the state visited the site and called

for continuing surveillance. /d.

From 1982 through 1992, the Deepwood site was

owned by Terry Van Sickle, owner of V.V.

Construction Co. (Pl.'s MSJ Appx. at 959.) On March 16,

1982, V.V. Construction Co. submitted a permit

application for removal of sand and gravel from the

Deepwood site. (/d. at 25.) The application stated that

the old pits were to be filled with solid waste, meaning

“all putrescible and non putrescible discarded materials

or unwanted rock, dirt, metal, sand gravel wood etc."

(Id.) On April 6, 1982, V.V. Construction Co. was issued

a CO for mining of sand and gravel at the Deepwood

site. (/d. at 26.)

On November 22, 1982, one of the plaintiffs in this

action filed a complaint with the City, alleging massive

illegal dumping at the Deepwood site. (/d. at 3.) The

City's response to the complainant indicates that a

citation to municipal court had been issued to the owner

of the property on November 11, 1982, for conducting a

sanitary landfill operation in R-7.5 zoning. (/d. at 4.)

Subsequent reinspections revealed no additional illegal

dumping as of December 9, 1982. (/d.) However,

Plaintiffs continued to complain at City Council

meetings regarding the Deepwood site. (/d. at 6-21, 52.)

In response to a request regarding the residents'

coneerns, the Assistant City Manager issued a

memorandum to the mayor and city council dated

(7a

February 4, 1983. (/d. at 52.) The memorandum

indicates that Terry B. Van Sickle, the owner of the

Deepwood site, was fined for operating a sanitary

landfill on the site and that illegal dumping at the site

had ceased. (/d.) It appears that the _ residents’

complaints continued, and a subsequent memorandum

from a City employee to a City Councilwoman was

issued on May 18, 1983. Ud. at 51.) That memorandum

reported that no contaminants were found in the soil or

water table at the Deepwood site and that continued

monitoring of the site was to take place every four to

six months for five years. (/d.) Despite these

assurances, residents of the neighborhood continued to

complain to the City that trash was being disposed of at

the site. (/d. at 69-70.)

The City of Dallas Board of Adjustment held a

hearing on July 26, 1983, to consider whether to

terminate the nonconforming sand and gravel mining

operation at the Deepwood site. (/d. at 67.) The

morning of the hearing, the board members inspected

the site. (/d. at 82.) In preparation for the inspection,

Mr. Van Sickle caused the trash at the site to be moved

and covered with dirt. (/d. at 91.) At the hearing, Mr.

Van Sickle testified that he had removed a considerable

amount of debris from the site, and that he planned to

mine gravel for two more years and fill the hole for

another three years. (/d. at 79.) Letters from residents

expressing opposition to continued mining at the site

were sent to the Board of Adjustment, but none of the

residents attended the meeting. (/d. at 68-70.) At the

conclusion of the hearing, the Board of Adjustment

-oted to take no action terminating the nonconforming

tisg: and to call another hearing in nine months. (/d. at

71.) There is no indication in the record that the issue of

78a

terminating the mining operation at the Deepwood site

was ever again considered by the Board of Adjustment.

During the time Mr. Van Sickle owned the

Deepwood site, two city demolition contractors used

the Deepwood site to dump loads of debris. (/d. at 98-

99, 963.)

Illegal dumping continued at the Deepwood site,

and in 1987, the City sued Mr. Van Sickle, V&V

Construction Co., and Samson Horrice for operating an

illegal solid waste facility or municipal solid waste site.

(Def.'s MSJ Appx. at 120.) On December 29, 1989, the

City obtained a judgment against those defendants for

operating an illegal. municipal solid waste disposal site.

(Pl.'s MSJ Appx. at 40-46.) The judgment ordered those

defendants to cease the disposal of municipal solid

waste at the Deepwood site and to submit and

implement a plan to close the site. (/d. at 43-44.)

An inspection of the Deepwood site was conducted

by the Bureau of Solid Waste Management of the Texas

Department of Health on April 22, 1991. (Pl.'s MSJ

Appx. at 1164-66.) The inspectors reported continued

unauthorized dumping and no efforts to clean up the

site as required by the December 29, 1989 judgment.

(/d.) The inspection report indicates that the City was

informed of the failure to clean up the site. (/d.)

On November 21, 1991, the City moved for contempt

against Mr. Van Sickle and Mr. Horrice for failure to

comply with the terms of the judgment. (Compl. at 5.)

No hearing was held on the contempt charges because

the City failed to serve one of the defendants. /d. It

appears that no further action was taken to enforce the

judgment and to ensure closure of the Deepwood site.

79a

In 1992, the Deepwood site was acquired by First

State Bank when Mr. Van Sickle defaulted on a loan.

(Compl. at 5; Def.'s MSJ at 4.) The bank sold the

Deepwood site to Herman Nethery in 1994. (/d.)

On August 1, 1994, Mr. Nethery submitted a

construction permit application to the City on behalf of

Herman Nethery Recycling. (Pl.'s MSJ Appx. at 35.)

The proposed project was described as "fill & mine

property." (/d.) The section of the application set aside

for "office use only" contains a notation that the

application was not ready because it needed an

accompanying affidavit stating that the proposed use

had been in continuous operation since the original CO

was issued. (/d.) An affidavit was submitted to the City

on August 2, 1994, stating, "VV Construction Company

is in fact in business and continuing business on said

property since 1982 to present time.” (/d. at 36.) The

affiant was VV Construction Co. by Herman Nethery

Recycling. (/d.) On August 2, 1994, the City issued a

permit to Mr. Nethery for mining at the Deepwood site.

(Id. at 37.) The accompanying contractor's authorization

notes that inspection of the property was required prior

to issuing the CO. (/d. at 38.) Following citizens' reports

of illegal dumping at the Deepwood site, city inspectors

issued numerous citations to persons eperating the

Deepwood site for illegal dumping beginning in August

22, 1994. (/d. at 111-25.) Despite the reports and

citations for illegal dumping, the City issued a CO to

Mr. Nethery on December 5, 1994, apparently without

first conducting the prerequisite inspection. (/d. at 39,

964.) The City continued to issue citations for illegal

dumping at the Deepwood site through November 27,

1996. (7d. at 111-25.)

80a

During the time Mr. Nethery owned the Deepwood

site, it was operated by Herman Lee Gibbons. (PI.'s

MSJ Appx. at 276.) Mr. Gibbons was also a

subcontractor on certain City demolition contracts for

demolition and/or hauling of debris. (/d. at 417-418.)

During September 1996, a different subcontractor on a

City demolition project was observed disposing of

demolition debris at the Deepwood site. (/d. at 298.)

On April 28, 1995, the City sued Mr. Nethery for

operating an illegal solid waste facility. (Def.'s MSJ

Appx. at 72-79.) In a judgment entered on November

14, 1997, Mr. Nethery was permanently enjoined from

operating a municipal solid waste facility at the

Deepwood site. (/d. at 99.) Additionally, Mr. Nethery

and the operator of the site, Herman Lee Gibbons, were

both charged with organized criminal activity in

connection with their operation of the Deepwood site.

(Pl.'s MSJ Appx. at 151-62.) Both men were found

guilty and sentenced to prison. Mr. Nethery's

conviction was reversed on appeal. Nethery v. State, 29

S.W.3d 178 (Tex. App. - Dallas 2000).

B. Procedural History

On February 5, 1998, Plaintiffs filed civil action

number 3:98-CV-0291 against the City of Dallas and

others, alleging illegal dumping and race discrimination.

On July 28, 1998, Plaintiffs filed a second suit, civil

action number 3:98-C V-1768, against the City of Dallas -

("Defendant") and others for alleged illegal dumping

and race discrimination. The district court entered an

order consolidating the two cases under 3:98-CV-0291

on August 17, 1998. On December 17, 1998, the district

court ordered bifurcation of the claims in the

consolidated cases. The district court's order specified

Sla

that 3:98-CV-0291, which would be tried first, would be

a class action suit for injunctive relief brought under 42

U.S.C. § 6901 for illegal dumping. The order further

specified that after resolution of the illegal dumping

claims, Plaintiffs' claims of race discrimination would be

tried under 3:98-C V-1763, which was not a class action.

After a bench trial in 3:98-CV-0291, the district court

entered a final judgment granting Plaintiffs' request for

injunctive relief on August 27, 1999. On September 7,

1999, civil action 3:98-CV-0291 was closed, and civil

action 3:98-CV-1763 was reopened. Civil action 3:98-

CV-1768 was transferred to this Court on March 11,

2003, for the conduct of all further proceedings in

_Plaintiffs' suit against the City for race discrimination.

In Plaintiffs' Revised Fourth Amended Complaint,

filed October 2, 2003, Plaintiffs allege violations of the

Fourteenth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution, 42

U.S.C. § 1981, the Fair Housing Act, 42 U.S.C. § 3601

et seq., and 24 C.F.R. § 100.70(b), (d)(4). In particular,

Plaintiffs assert that the City's actions in failing to stop

the illegal dumping at the Deepwood site were taken

for the purpose of discriminating against Plaintiffs

because of their race. (Compl. at 13.) Plaintiffs have

moved for partial summary judgment on their claims of

discriminatory purpose in the provision of municipal

services and on their claims of discriminatory impact

from a city policy for the provision of municipal

services, brought under the Fair Housing Act, 42

U.S.C. § 3604(b). The City has moved for summary

judgment on all of Plaintiffs’ claims.

Il. STANDARD OF REVIEW

This case involves issues of law and issues of fact.

“Summary judgment is an appropriate mechanism for

82a

resolving issues of law- arising from a materially

complete factual record." Burlington Northern & Santa

Fe Ry. v. Bhd. of Maint. of Way Emples., 93 F. Supp.

2d 751, 756 (N.D. Tex. 2000). "Furthermore, disputes

over the legal inferences to be gleaned from the facts in

evidence will not prevent summary judgment; thus,

where a non-movant merely debates the consequences

flowing from admitted facts, summary judgment is

proper." /d. "Interpretations of statutory provisions

that are dispositive and which raise only questions of

law, there being no contest as to the operative facts, are

appropriate for summary judgment." United States v.

Miller, 2003 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 24884, 2003 WL

23109906, at *3 (N.D. Tex. Dec. 22, 2003).

With regard to factual issues, summary judgment is

appropriate when the pleadings and record evidence

show that no genuine issue of material facts exists and

that the movant is entitled to judgment as a matter of |

law. See Little v. Liquid Air Corp., 37 F.3d 1069, 1075

(5th Cir. 1994). "The substantive law will identify which

facts are material." Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477

JS. 242, 248, 91 L. Ed. 2d 202, 106 S. Ct. 2505 (1986). A

genuine issue of material fact exists "if the evidence is

such that a reasonable jury could return a verdict for

the nonmoving party." /d. The movant makes such a

shewing by informing the court of the basis of its

motion and by identifying the portions of the record

which reveal there are no genuine material fact issues.

Celotex Corporation v. Catrett, 477 US. 317, 323, 91 L.

Ed. 2d 265, 106 S. Ct. 2548 (1986). The pleadings,

depositions, admissions, and affidavits, if any, must

demonstrate that no genuine issue of material fact

exists. FED. R. CIV. P. 56(c).

83a

Once the movant makes this showing, the

nonmovant must then direct the court's attention to

evidence in the record sufficient to establish that there

is a genuine issue of material fact for trial. Celotex, 477

U.S. at 323-24. To carry this burden, the "opponent

must do more than simply show ... some metaphysical

doubt as to the material facts." Matsushita Electric

Industrial Co., Ltd. v. Zenith Radio Corporation, 475

U.S. 574, 586, 89 L. Ed. 2d 538, 106 S. Ct. 1348 (1986).

Instead, the nonmovant must show that the evidence is

sufficient to support a resolution of the factual issue in

his favor. Anderson, 477 U.S. at 249.

While all of the evidence must be viewed in a light

most favorable to the motion's opponent, Anderson, 477

U.S. at 255 (citing Adickes v. S.H. Kress & Company,

398 U.S. 144, 158-59, 26 L. Ed. 2d 142, 90 S. Ct. 1598

(1970)), neither conclusory’ aiiegations nor

unsubstantiated assertions will satisfy the non-

movant's summary judgment burden. Little v. Liquid

Air Corporation, 37 F.3d 1069, 1075 (5th Cir. 1994) (en

bane); Topalian v. Ehrman, 954 F.2d 1125, 1131 (Sth

Cir.), cert. denied, 506 U.S. 825, 121 L. Ed. 2d 46, 113 S.

Ct. 82 (1992). Summary judgment in favor of the

movant is proper if, after adequate time for discovery,

the motion's opponent fails to establish the existence of

an element essential to his case and as to which he will

bear the burden of proof at trial. Celotex, 477 U.S. at

322-23.

Il. ANALYSIS

_ A, Fair Housing Act, 42 U.S.C. § 3601 et seq.

1. Section 3604(a)

84a

The City moves for summary judgment on

Plaintiffs' claims of violations of 42 U.S.C. § 3604(a) of

the Fair Housing Act ("FHA"). The City asserts that

these claims fail because there has been no refusal to

sell or rent to Plaintiffs. (Def.'s Br. at 7.) Section

3604(a) of the FHA makes it unlawful to "refuse to sell

or rent after the making -f a bona fide offer, or to

refuse to negotiate for the sale or rental of, or

otherwise make unavailable or deny, a dwelling to any

person because of race, color, religion, sex, familial

status, or national origin."

"To affect the availability of housing within the

meaning of the FHA, the discriminatory actions must

have a direct impact on plaintiffs’ ability, as potential

home buyers or renters, to locate in a particular area or

to secure housing." Miller v. City of Dallas, 2002 U.S.

Dist. LEXIS 2341, 2002 WL 230834, *13 (N.D. Tex.,

2002) (citing Southend Neighborhood Improvemen

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Cox v. City of Dallas, Texas (No. 05-1226) | Frix