Opposition Brief — Tennessee v. Dja Vu of Nashville, Inc. (No. 05-1194)

Supreme Court brief2005

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

effort to cure the constitutional deficiencies pointed out in

the PlaintitfS* briefing. App. I[9-I6I.

The second motions for preliminary injunction were

litigated in a three-day evidentiary hearing between April

13 and April 15, 1999. Following the evidentiary hearing,

but before the district court ruled on the motions, Metro

enacted fifty-two additional changes to Ch. 6.54. App. 162-

175.

The district court thereafter granted the second

motions for preliminary injunction, enjoining the Ordi-

nance in its entirety. Pet. App. 109a-16la. The Plaintiffs

then filed a motion for leave to file a second motion for

interim attorney fees, which was granted. The district

court then conducted a status conference to inform the

parties of its intent to convert the preliminary injunction

into a permanent injunction, which it ultimately did by

entering a final judgment to that effect. Pet. App. 107a-

108a. Consequently, Chapter 6.54 was permanently

enjoined in its entirety.

On January 18, 2000, Metro enacted an additional

seven amendments to Ch. 6.54 to supposedly address the

various rulings of the district court. App. 176-181. Six days

after these amendments were enacted, Metro filed a

Notice of Appeal in regard to the Order granting a perma-

nent injunction, and the Plaintiffs then filed a Notice of

Cross-Appeal. Plaintiffs also filed their second motion for

“interim” attorney fees on January 21, 2000, which by that

time constituted a request for fees and costs in furtherance

of a final judgment.

At oral argument on the initial appeal (regarding the

lifting of the first injunction), a panel of the Sixth Circuit

concluded from the bench that the various then-pending

6

appeals should be consolidated, and declined to hear

argument at that time.

On May 5, 2000, Metro filed a Motion to Vacate or

Dissolve Injunction pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. Rule 60(b),

predicated upon the seven latest amendments to the

Ordinance. The district court denied that motion, finding

that it was without jurisdiction to hear the matter in view

of the filing of Metro’s Notice of Appeal. App. 4. On June

23, 2000, Metro then filed a Notice of Appeal in regard to

that ruling (this being the fourth then-pending appeal).

- Metro then filed a motion in the Sixth Circuit Court

(as part of the fourth appeal) for a limited remand so as to

permit the district court to rule on the Rule 60(b) motion.

That motion was denied by an Order entered October 4,

2000, although that appeal was then consolidated with the

three other appeals. App. 5-6.

After a hearing on the four appeals, the Sixth Circuit

issued an opinion on December 6, 2001, affirming in part

and reversing in part, but maintaining the injunction in

place. Deja Vu of Nashville, Inc. v. Metro. Gov't of Nash-

ville and Davidson County, Tennessee, 274 F.3d 377 (6th

Cir. 2001), (“Deja Vu I”). Pet. App. 28a-75a. In addition, the

Sixth Circuit did not fault the district court for denying

the Rule 60(b) motion, noting Metro’s concession at oral

argument that the filing of that appeal had been a “proce-

dural misstep.” Jd. at 403. A petition by the Defendant for

rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en banc was

denied by the Sixth Circuit on February 5, 2002. App. 7.

On January 7, 2002, Plaintiffs filed a third motion for

attorney fees and costs, predicated primarily upon work

expended on the various appeals.

In light of the various rulings by the Sixth Circuit,

Metro enacted an additional series of amendments to Ch.

6.54, with the revised codified version of the Ordinance

appearing at App. 182-241. In addition, the Tennessee

legislature adopted conditional revisions to T.C.A. § 27-9-

11l(e) — the procedural statute enacted after the first

ruling of the district court enjoining Ch. 6.54 — which were

to take effect, however, only in the event that this Court

denied Metro's petition for a writ of certiorari on that

issue. See, e.g., App. 22-23 (discussed in the Historical and

Statutory Notes), and Pet. App. 212a.

Indeed, the Defendant filed a petition for a writ of

certiorari in this Court, which was denied on May 13,

2002. Metro. Govt of Nashville and Davidson County v.

Deja Vu of Nashville, Inc., 535 U.S. 1073 (2002). This

ruling essentially ended the “merits” portion of this

litigation, with Plaintiffs being “prevailing parties” pursu-

ant to 42 U.S.C. § 1988 in that Ch. 6.54 was — in its

entirety — permanently enjoined from enforcement.

After this Court denied the petition for a writ of

certrorari, Plaintiffs filed their fourth motion for attorney

fees and costs, which sought reimbursement for work

primarily involved in responding to that petition and

working on that fee request.

Defendant never objected to the hourly rates charged

by the primary attorneys representing the Plaintiffs. In

addition, because one of the Plaintiffs’ attorneys was on

“retainer” with his client, absolutely no claim for reim-

bursement of his time was sought. App. 274-275, 7 1-5;

App. 298-299, 491-5. Plaintiffs also substantiated, by

affidavit, that not all time incurred had been requested for

reimbursement; that billing judgment had been exercised;

8

and that counsels had coordinated with one-another to

negate, or at least minimize, duplication of effort. See, e.g.,

App. 281-283, qf 8, 11-12; App. 278, 6; and App. 288-291,

pp. 2-5.

On September 30, 2002, Magistrate Judge Juliet

Griffin issued her Report and Recommendation granting,

in part, the first three motions for attorney fees. Pet.

App. 79a-106a. Specifically finding that it was impossible

to accurately apportion the time spent on various issues,

since the work on the issues upon which Plaintiffs pre-

vailed had to have been intertwined with work on issues

upon which the Plaintiffs did not prevail, she reduced the

attorney fee claim for work done on the appeal to the Sixth

Circuit by two thirds. Pet. App. 104a-105a. In addition, the

Magistrate disallowed a significant portion of fees for work

that was either performed regarding issues upon which

Plaintiffs did not prevail in the district court, or work that

was not specifically characterized. Pet. App. 95a-102a. She

also denied Plaintiffs’ requests for costs, with leave to

refile these claims accompanied by a detailed explanation

of the necessity and propriety of the expenses. Both

Plaintiffs and Defendant filed objections to this Report and

Recommendation. App. 300-302 and 303-315. Additionally,

Plaintiffs refiled their motion for costs and expenses,

seeking reimbursement of $58,565.66 in costs. The Defen-

dant never filed a response to that motion.

On December 5, 2002, District Court Judge Todd J.

Campbell issued an Order adopting the Report and Rec-

ommendation, but since Magistrate Griffin had not in-

cluded a final total of the amount owed, Judge Campbell

requested that the parties stipulate to that figure. Pet.

App. 77a-78a. In furtherance of that Order, the parties

submitted a Stipulated Notice stating that $367,080.37

9

was awarded to Shafer & Associates. P.-C.; $10,928.36 was

awarded to the law firm of Michael Pleasants; and

$53,090.83 was awarded to Sirkin, Pinales, Mezibov &

Schwartz. App. 316-318.

Magistrate Griffin later issued a second Report and

Recommendation on September 16, 2003, granting Plain-

tiffs’ fourth motion for attorney fees in the amount of

$46,870.00. Pet. App. 26a. In addition, noting that the

Defendant had failed to file any opposition to the refiled

motion for costs, the Magistrate awarded Plaintiffs their

expenses in the amount of $58,565.66. Pet. App. 27a.

Judge Campbell approved this Report and Recommenda-

tion by an Order entered on September 30, 2003. Pet.

App. 18a.

On the same day that Order was issued, Defendant

filed what can only be described as a perfunctory objection

to the second Report and Recommendation. App. 319-321.

Defendant raised no objection therein to the attorney fees

claimed in the proceedings before this Court. Rather,

Metro objected to certain fees claimed for work done on

Plaintiffs’ second and third fee petitions, and simply

claimed — in a conclusory fashion — that those fees should

be reduced “by at least two-thirds.” App. 320. Pursuant to

a motion to amend or alter the final order on attorney fees

to reflect the fact that Defendant had, indeed, timely

objected to the Report and Recommendation, the district

court acknowledged the objections but found nothing in

them to justify changing its prior order. Pet. App. 76a.

Metro appealed.

During the pendency of the attorney fee award appeal,

this Court rendered its ruling in City of Littleton, Colorado

v. Z.J. Gifts D-4, L.L.C., 541 U.S. 774 (2004).

10

On February 25, 2005, which was over eight months

following the ruling by this Court in Z.J. Gifts, but five

years and one month after Chapter 6.54 was amended to

purportedly correct the constitutional deficiencies affirmed

by the Sixth Circuit in Deja Vu J, and two years and nine

months from the date that the amendments to T.C.A. § 27-

9-111(e) went into effect (that being as of this Court’s

denial of Metro’s petition for a writ of certiorari), Metro

filed a motion to lift the permanent injunction predicated,

in part, upon this Court’s ruling in Z.J. Gifts. App. 322-

325. The district court granted the motion, but declined to

rule on Z.J. Gifts’ applicability to these circumstances

because it found the Ordinance and statutory amendments

enacted as a direct result of this litigation had cured the

constitutional infirmities noted by the Sixth Circuit. App. 15.

Subsequently, the Sixth Circuit conducted oral argu-

ment on the fee appeal and affirmed the attorney fees and

costs awards. Deja Vu of Nashville, Inc. v. Metro. Gov't of

Nashville and Davidson County, Tennessee, 421 F.3d 417,

418 (6th Cir. 2005) (“Deja Vu IT”). Pet. App. 1la-17a. The

majority held that, even assuming the applicability of Z.J.

Gifts, Plaintiffs did not lose their status as “prevailing

parties.” It reached this conclusion by observing that

rulings of this Court do not apply retroactively to cases

that were not then open on “direct review,” and that this

case was not so open at the time of the ruling in Z.J. Gifts

because direct review had been completed when this Court

denied certiorari. Jd. at 420-21.

Moreover, the Court of Appeals held that this case did

not present any “special circumstances” that would render

the award of attorneys’ fees unjust under 42 U.S.C. § 1988,

and that Z.J. Gifts did not invalidate the theory on which

Plaintiffs had prevailed. Succinctly put, the Sixth Circuit

1]

concluded that the decision in Z.J. Gifts did not “foreclose

the result that was reached by the district court in this

case under very different circumstances.” Jd. at 422.

Accordingly, the Plaintiffs were entitled to their award of

attorneys’ fees. Id. at 424.

Metro then petitioned for rehearing and rehearing en

banc, which was ultimately denied. Pet. App. 201a-202a.

The Defendant’s Petition followed.

¢

REASONS THAT THE PETITION

SHOULD BE DENIED

For over seven years, Plaintiffs had the enforcement

of Chapter 6.54 enjoined in its entirety, first by way of a

preliminary injunction, and then as a result of the entry of

a final judgment granting permanent injunctive relief.

Because the challenged Ordinance impacted-upon First,

Fourth, and Fourteenth Amendment rights, and because

Plaintiffs sued Metro under, among other things,

42 U.S.C. § 1983, Plaintiffs, as prevailing parties in this

litigation, were entitled to an award of attorneys’ fees

pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1988.

“In the absence of special circumstances a district

court not merely ‘may’ but must award fees to the prevail-

ing plaintiff....” Indep. Fed’n of Flight Attendants uv.

Zipes, 491 U.S. 754, 761 (1989) (emphasis in original).

Succinctly put, if plaintiffs “succeed on any significant _

issue in litigation which achieves some of the benefit the

parties sought in bringing suit,” an award of attorney fees

is warranted. Hensley v. Eckerhert, 461 U.S. 424, 433

(1983), citing Nadeau v. Helgemoe, 581 F.2d 275, 278-79 (1st

Cir. 1978) (emphasis added). This occurs if the plaintiff can

12

“point to a resolution of the dispute which changes the

legal relationship between itself and the defendant.” Texas

State Teachers’ Ass’n v. Garland Indep. Sch. Dist., 489 U.S.

782, 792 (1989) (emphasis added).

The Petitioner asserts that this Court should grant

review of the attorney fee award because after this Court

denied a petition for a writ of certiorari on the merits of

Metro's constitutional defenses, this Court issued its

decision in City of Littleton, Colorado v. Z.J. Gifts D-4,

L.L.C., 541 U.S. 774 (2004), which Metro contends abro-

gated the validity of the previous judicial review ruling of

the Sixth Circuit here. This, the Defendant asserts,

constitutes “special circumstances” to deny an award of

attorney fees pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1988. The Petitioner

is in error.

I. THIS IS NOT A CASE WHERE “SPECIAL

CIRCUMSTANCES” ARE EVEN APPLICABLE.

Even assuming that the ruling in Z.J. Gifts is applica-

ble to the decision of the Sixth Circuit on the merits

portion of this case (which is it is not, for the reasons as

are set forth in Section III, infra), “special circumstances”

simply do not exist here because the district court has

already found that, by adoption of amendments to Chapter

6.54 and revisions to T.C.A. § 27-9-11l(e), the constitu-

tional infirmities discussed by the Sixth Circuit in Deja Vu

I have been corrected as a direct result of this litigation.

When Metro sought to vacate the permanent injunc-

tion in 2005, it argued to the district court that the injunc-

tion should be lifted because: (a) it had deleted the

definition of “sexually oriented” that the Sixth Circuit found

to be unconstitutional; (b) changes to T.-C.A. § 27-9-11l(e)

13

had rectified the prompt judicial review problem that the

Sixth Circuit had noted; and (c) the decision in Z.J. Gifts

abrogated the Sixth Circuit’s judicial review holding in

Deja Vu I. App. 323-324. The district court agreed with the

first two contentions, but further ruled that it “need not

decide whether Z..J. Gifts dictates the result in this case,

since the amended ordinance guarantees prompt judicial

review.” App. 15.

Consequently, this is not an action where “special

circumstances” are even applicable. Rather, it is a normal

circumstance where a lawsuit results in a judgment

enjoining the enforcement of an invalid law, and the

government then, as a result of the court’s ruling, at-

tempts to legislatively “fix” the problem. Certainly, pursu-

ant to all existing precedent, attorney fees are warranted

in such circumstances.

Carried out to its logical conclusion, the Petitioner in

essence would have this Court remand the attorney fee

proceedings to have the district court render some type of

hypothetical ruling on whether Z.J. Gifts indeed abrogates

the Sixth Circuit’s judicial review ruling in Deja Vu J,

when that court has already concluded in its decision

vacating the permanent injunction that it need not reach

the question of how Z.J. Gifts might apply to these cir-

cumstances. Accordingly, even if there is a split in the

circuits on what may constitute a “special circumstance” so

as to warrant denial of an attorney fee award, this is not

the case to review such an issue-given the lower court’s

previous ruling.

14

Il. “SPECIAL CIRCUMSTANCES” DO NOT EX-

IST HERE BECAUSE THERE ARE INDE-

PENDENT GROUNDS JUSTIFYING THE

AWARD OF ATTORNEY FEES.

While Metro’s entire “special circumstances” argu-

ment rests upon this Court’s ruling in Z.J. Gifts, the

attorney fee award includes compensation for work having

nothing to do with matters that might arguably be affected

by Z.J. Gifts. The fee award, therefore, is independently

justified.

First, Metro apparently concedes that Chapter 6.54,

as originally enacted, did not provide for appropriate

prompt judicial review — even in light of Z.J. Gifts. See

Petition, p. 8 n.2 (“... [T]he Metropolitan Government is

seeking review of only the attorney’s fees that accrued

subsequent to dissolution of the first injunction”).

Second, not only did Plaintiffs prevail in the district

court on the argument that the definition of “sexually

oriented” was unconstitutionally vague and overbroad, but

the Sixth Circuit chastised Metro for having even ap-

pealed that ruling.

... [W]e are a bit confused as to why this defini-

tion had to be litigated at all, as Metropolitan

Nashville argues strenuously in its brief that it is

superfluous. ... For whatever reason, Metropoli-

tan Nashville saw fit to have us decide whether

this apparently meaningless term must be re-

moved from its Ordinance. We have and it must.

Deja Vu I, 274 F.3d at 389. Yet, Plaintiffs were compelled

to incur attorney fees regarding this issue in the district

court and in the appellate court as well.

15

Third, the Plaintiffs were required to litigate an entire

appeal which was clearly, and admittedly, unnecessary. In

discussing Metro’s appeal of the district court’s denial of

its Fed.R.Civ.P. Rule 60(b) motion, the Sixth Circuit

observed that “ ... Metropolitan Nashville concedes that

the district court is under no obligation to issue [an order

stating that it is disposed to grant a Rule 60(b) motion],

and in fact characterized this appeal as a ‘procedural

misstep’ at oral argument. We agree.” Deja Vu I, 274 F.3d at

403 (emphasis and clarification added). Nevertheless,

Plaintiffs had to incur a significant amount of attorney

fees responding to this admitted “procedural misstep.”

Fourth, the Magistrate — and by adopting the Report

and Recommendation thereof, the district court as well —

further noted that Plaintiffs had prevailed on standing

and mootness arguments raised by the Defendant, and

that it was “not insignificant for the plaintiffs that the

Sixth Circuit has spoken definitively on” the issue of the

privacy rights as raised by the Plaintiffs with regard to

information demanded on license applications. Pet. App.

104a. And, Metro does not contend that the rulings on

these matters were in any regard erroneous.

Moreover, in regard to the above matters, it is, of

course, relevant that the Magistrate significantly reduced

the attorney fee claims contained in the first three fee

motions. Pet. App. 95a-102a, 104a-105a. The Magistrate

did this irrespective of the overlying observation in

Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424 (1983), that claims for

relief which involve a common core of facts require coun-

sel’s time to be devoted generally to the litigation as a

whole, and “[w]here a lawsuit consists of related claims, a

plaintiff who has won substantial relief should not have

his attorney's fees reduced simply because the district

16

court did not adopt each contention raised.” Jd. at 440

(emphasis added).’

But there are further matters which render the

“special circumstances” argument here to be misplaced.

This Court specifically denied a petition for a writ of

certiorari filed by Metro to examine whether the judicial

review provisions of Chapter 6.54 were consistent with the

First Amendment. The fees associated with responding to

that petition were the primary basis for the fourth motion

for attorney fees, and the Magistrate even noted that

Metro did “not specifically address any fees requested in

the plaintiffs’ fourth motion. The plaintiffs are clearly

prevailing parties in the matters involved in their fourth

motion.” Pet. App. 24a, n.2. Similarly, Metro never even

filed a response to the Plaintiffs’ revised motion for costs

and expenses. Pet. App. 26a. Consequently, there is no

basis to disturb any of those awards, irrespective of the

ruling in Z.J. Gifts.

In addition, it should not be lost on this Court that the

constitutional attack upon Chapter 6.54 has been a virtual

moving target given the fact that Metro has engaged in a

never-ending array of amendments to the Ordinance as a

result of the constitutional claims raised by the Plaintiffs.

Prior to the last set of amendments adopted as a result of

the Sixth Circuit’s ruling in Deja Vu I, Metro enacted no

less than two hundred thirty-five different revisions to

Chapter 6.54 after the Plaintiffs filed suit challenging its

constitutionality. And this is not a circumstance where

* In fact, the Sixth Circuit seems to have questioned why the

Plaintiffs had not filed a cross-appeal seeking full compensation for all

of the attorney time expended in the litigation. Deja Vu IJ, 421 F.3d at

423-24.

17

Metro could contend that Plaintiffs are not entitled to

attorney fees in regard to the matters resulting in these

changes because of this Court’s decision in Buckhannon

Bd. and Care Home, Inc. v. West Virginia Dep't of Health

and Human Res., 532 U.S. 598 (2001). Rather, here,

Plaintiffs obtained a final judgment and are therefore

entitled to reimbursement for all attorney fees reasonably

incurred in litigating their claims. See, e.g., Hensley, 461

U.S. at 440.

Finally, and probably most importantly, while Peti-

tioner complains only about fees charged after the lifting of

the first injunction (Petition, p. 8 n.2), none of the chal-

lenged fees would have been incurred had Metro not

incorrectly sought to vacate that injunction pursuant to a

still-flawed judicial review process. This is particularly

true given that the breadth of the subsequent litigation

was set when, pursuant to Metro’s request, the district

court required the Plaintiffs to raise all preliminary

injunction claims in their second motions (App. 2), irre-

spective of the fact that the lower court had previously

declined to even rule on the Pendergrass Plaintiffs’ civil

disabilities argument because of its judicial review ruling.

Pet. App. 197a.

For all of these reasons, the attorney fee award as

issued by the district court, which significantly reduced

the claims for reimbursement made by the Plaintiffs, is

not the proper case to provide further direction in regard

to the “special circumstances” exception, if any is even

needed. :

18

Ill. THIS COURT’S DECISION IN Z.J. GIFTS

DOES NOT INVALIDATE ANY THEORY ON

WHICH THE RESPONDENTS PREVAILED

ON THE MERITS OF THIS CASE, AND CAN-

NOT THEREFORE CONSTITUTE A “SPECIAL

CIRCUMSTANCE” FOR DENYING FEES.

Irrespective of the other matters upon which the

Respondents prevailed ‘below (discussed in Section II,

supra), Metro argues that this Court’s decision in Z.d.

Gifts invalidated the “judicial review” ruling of the Sixth

Circuit in Deja Vu I. Petition, pp. 16-24. The Petitioner is,

however, in error.

In Z.J. Gifts, this Court resolved the split among the

circuits with regard to whether the phrase “prompt judi-

cial review” as set forth in Freedman v. Maryland, 380

U.S. 51 (1965), required a prompt judicial determination of

a license denial or only prompt access to the courts.

Z.J.Gifts, 541 U.S. at 781-84. In Deja Vu I, the Sixth

Circuit reiterated that it was in the “determination” camp.

Deja Vu I, 274 F.3d at 400 (“the licensing scheme ‘must

also assure a prompt judicial decision, to minimize the

deterrent effect of an interim and possible erroneous

denial of a license’”), quoting Freedman, 380 U.S. at 59.

The primary decision in Z.J. Gifts is in accord with

this ruling, where this Court held that its previous refer-

ence to “prompt judicial review” required a “prompt

judicial decision.” Z.J. Gifts, 541 U.S. at 781 (emphasis

added). In fact, this Court went on to note that “we reject

the city’s argument to the contrary.” Jd.

Consequently, the substantive ruling in Deja Vu J in

regard to how the phrase “prompt judicial review” is to be

operationalized is in direct accord with this Court’s holding

19

in Z.J. Gifts. More importantly, however, this Court’s

decision in Z.J. Gifts does not address in the least the

basis for the Sixth Circuit’s judicial review ruling in Deja

Vu I; that being that Chapter 6.54 failed to satisfy Freed-

man because the availability of judicial review was not

guaranteed. Rather, Chapter 6.54, and Tennessee law,

provided for judicial review only by way of a discretionary

common law writ of certiorari. .Deja Vu I, 274 F.3d at 401.

Respectfully, this Court in Z.J. Gifts never addressed the

question of whether a discretionary judicial review process

would satisfy Freedman. Consequently, this portion of the

Sixth Circuit’s ruling is undisturbed by the ruling in Z./.

Gifts.

In fact, the Ninth Circuit recently addressed this

distinction when it considered, post Z.J. Gifts, an ordi-

nance where licensing decisions could be appealed not only

by a special action, but also by a “regular lawsuit seeking

an injunction against the enforcement of the ordinance

after a contested license denial.... ” Dream Palace v.

County of Maricopa, 384 F.3d 990, 1007 (9th Cir. 2004).

The Ninth Circuit observed:

The fact that a denied applicant can seek review

other than through a discretionary writ distin-

guishes this case from Deja Vu [I/... . In Deja Vu,

the Sixth Circuit held that a licensing ordinance

that required an applicant to seek judicial re-

view, if at all, via a discretionary writ unconstitu-

tionally failed to guarantee a final judicial

adjudication on the merits.

Dream Palace, 384 F.3d at 1007, n.10 (emphasis and

clarification added, citation omitted). And it is therefore

not insignificant that this Court denied Metro’s petition

20

regarding the discretionary judicial review process at issue

here.

Metro also argues that Z..J. Gifts is further applicable

because Chapter 6.54 contains — it asserts similar to the

Colorado ordinance analyzed by this Court — “reasonably

objective, nondiscretionary criteria” upon which licensing

decisions are to be made. Petition, pp. 21-22, citing Z.J.

Gifts, 541 U.S. at 783. There are, however, two problems

with this argument. First, under the Petitioner’s conten-

tion, this Court would have to remand to the district court

for it to make a determination, in an attorney fee dispute,

of whether Chapter 6.54 indeed contained “reasonable

objective, nondiscretionary criteria”; an issue which the

district court was never required to directly address in the

“merits” portion of this lawsuit.’ Second, the record below

simply does not bear out Metro’s conclusory assertion.

After the first preliminary injunction was lifted, adult

businesses in Nashville were required to undergo the

licensing process. The record demonstrates that applica-

tions were denied for such subjective, discretionary rea-

sons as a business having “unclean couches, restroom

walls and fixtures, and shower stalls”; not eliminating “all

unnecessary items on the lower level”; not eliminating

storage that may attract rodents and insects; not having

“tight fitting lids or covers” on all garbage containers; and

having floors that were not “thoroughly cleaned through-

out the facility and common area.” App. 246-258.

* Cf., Hensley, 461 U.S. at 437 (“A request for attorneys’ fees should

not result in a second major litigation”).

* Of course, it should not be lost on this Court that none of these

reasons are set forth in Chapter 6.54 as a ground to deny, suspend, or

(Continued on following page)

21

In addition, that the licensing criteria under Chapter

6.54 is neither objective nor nondiscretionary is directly

demonstrated by the simple fact that the licensing board

had numerous “split” votes on applications. For example, a

motion to approve Deja Vu’s license failed for the lack of a

“second.” A motion was then made to deny the application,

which received two votes “for” and two “against.” App. 266-

269, 271. Similarly, Ken’s Gold Club was granted a license

on a two-to-one vote (App. 266), when it had previously

been denied a license, also on a two-to-one vote. App. 262-

264.

For all of these reasons, this Court’s ruling in Z.J.

Gifts does not abrogate the judicial review ruling of the

Sixth Circuit in Deja Vu I. And, in any event, such a

determination should not be made in a collateral attorney

fee proceeding.’ Consequently, the decision in Z.J. Gifts

does not present “special circumstances” warranting the

denial of attorney fees here.

revoke a license. These actual proceedings of the Metropolitan “Sexu-

ally Oriented Business Licensing Board,” however, aptly demonstrate

the total unbridled discretion afforded to that board, which is permitted

to deny licenses for any subjective, discretionary, reason whatsoever. At

issue here is not, therefore, the “reasonably objective_nondiscretionary

criteria” that this Court reviewed in Z.J. Gifts.

* This is particularly true here where Metro attempts — improperly

— to relitigate the correctness of the Sixth Circuit’s decision in Deja Vu |

(Petition, pp. 19-20), irrespective of this Court’s denial of the Defen-

dant’s petition to directly review that ruling. In addition, Metro’s

arguments in this regard are erroneous because review through T.C.A.

§ 27-9-111(e) was still discretionary at the time the Sixth Circuit issued

its opinion in Deja Vu J, notwithstanding the fact that a time limit was

provided to resolve the judicial proceeding if the court decided to permit

the appeal.

22

IV. THERE IS NO SUBSTANTIAL SPLIT IN THE

CIRCUITS WARRANTING REVIEW BY THIS

COURT.

A “court’s discretion to deny a fee award to a prevail-

ing plaintiff is narrow.” New York Gaslight Club, Inc. uv.

Carey, 447 U.S. 54, 68 (1980) (Title VII Fees). In support of

its Petition, Metro asserts that there is a split among the

circuits with regard to establishing when the narrow

“special circumstance” may arise so as to justify denial of a

fee award. In addition, the Petitioner argues that a plain-

tiff in a § 1983 claim should not be considered to be a

“prevailing party” when a change in the law occurs after

judgment and finality of appellate proceedings on the

merits but before the conclusion of attorney fees proceed-

ings.” Petition, pp. 13-16.

In regard to the latter contention, Metro correctly

cites Harper v. Virginia Dep't of Taxation, 509 U.S. 86, 97

(1993), for the proposition that a decision of this Court

announcing a new rule of federal law is to be “given full

retroactive effect in all cases still open on direct re-

view....” (emphasis added). Certainly, this case was no

longer on “direct review” when, on May 13, 2002, this

Court denied Metro’s petition for a writ of certiorari with

regard to the Sixth Circuit “merits” ruling in Deja Vu I.

Nevertheless, the Petitioner would have this Court take

this case to announce a new rule of law holding that

Harper should apply “to a case wherein there has already

been a final order on the merits but attorney’s fees are still

* Petitioner’s argument assumes, of course, that Z.J. Gifts invali-

dates the basis of the judicial review ruling of the Sixth Circuit in Deja

Vu I, which Plaintiffs assert is not the case for the reasons set forth in

Section III, supra.

23

at issue.” Petition, p. 12. However, there is no split among

the circuits on this particular issue (indeed, Petitioner has

not claimed one to exist), and the only appellate decision

which Metro cites for this proposition, New York State

Nat'l Org. for Women v. Terry, 159 F.3d 86 (2nd Cir. 1998),

actually comes to the opposite conclusion.

In Terry, the district court had entered a “merits”

ruling, the Court of Appeals had affirmed it, and this

Court had ultimately denied a petition for a writ of certio-

rari. Id. at 96 n.6. These are basically the facts here. In

responding to a contention that the plaintiffs in that

action were no longer prevailing parties because of this

Court’s decision in Bray v. Alexandria Women’s Health

Clinic, 498 U.S. 1119 (1991), which was released while the

Terry attorney fee award was still on appeal, the Second

Circuit observed:

It is true the award of attorney’s fees was on di-

rect review when Bray was decided, and there-

fore is subject to the retroactive application of

any new rule of law announced therein... . Bray,

however, did not announce a new rule of law with

respect to awards of § 1988 attorney’s fees. Its

new rule related to entitlement to prevail under

§ 1985(3).

Terry, 159 F.3d at 97.

More specifically, the Second Circuit stated that the

intervening decision of Bray did not affect the district

court’s grant of judgment for the plaintiffs there because

that holding “had become final before Bray was de-

cided. ...” Terry, 159 F.3d at 96. Accordingly, the appellate

court concluded that the “merits” judgment in plaintiffs’

24

favor “was not on direct review” in the later proceedings,

id., and noted:

Because plaintiffs were prevailing parties under

§ 1985(3), they were entitled to an award of at-

torney’s fees under § 1988. This was not affected

by the fact that, after the judgment in their favor

under § 1985(3) became final,’ new law declared

by the Supreme Court would have made them

ineligible for a new judgment under § 1985(3).

Id. (emphasis added). Accordingly, not even Terry supports

adoption by this Court of the “new rule” suggested by the

Petitioner.®

Moreover, while the Petitioner implies that this Court

has not provided direction in regard to when “special

circumstances” may be found to justify the denial of an

attorney fee award, that is not, however, the case. For

* A judgment “becomes final” when the availability of appeal has

been exhausted or has lapsed, and the time to petition for certiorari has

passed. Bradley v. Sch. Bd. of Richmond, 416 U.S. 696, 711 n.14 (1974),

citing Linkletter v. Walker, 381 U.S. 618, 622 n.5 (1965). In Terry, the

Second Circuit noted that when “a writ of certiorari is denied, the

judgment below stands under the doctrine of res judicata ‘even if a new

theory of law [is] thought up,’” and that “res judicata consequences are

not ‘altered by the fact that the judgment may have been wrong or

rested on a legal principle subsequently overruled in another case.’”

Terry, 159 F.3d at 96 n.6, quoting Brown v. Allen, 344 U.S. 443, 543

(1953) (Jackson, J., concurring); and Federated Dep't Stores, Inc. v.

Moitie, 452 U.S. 394, 398 (1981).

" At best, the Second Circuit in Terry noted that the subsequent

ruling in Bray “might” make the attorney fee award unjust, but found

that not to be the case in the particular circumstances there. 159 F.3d

at 97. Here, it is far from clear that Z.J. Gifts even invalidates the

underlying basis of the judicial review decision of the Sixth Circuit in

Deja Vu I. See Deja Vu I, 421 F.3d at 422 (Z.J. Gifts did not foreclose

the result reached “in this case under very different circumstances”).

25

example, in Farrar v. Hobby, 506 U.S. 103 (1992), this

Court concluded that although the award of nominal

damages made that plaintiff a “prevailing party” eligible

to receive attorney fees under 42 U.S.C. § 1988, the cir-

cumstances there — a demand of Seventeen Million Dollars

yet an award of only One Dollar — did not justify the

entitlement to fees. In reviewing virtually the entire body

of case law which this Court had issued then-to-date, this

Court observed that the entitlement to fees was inexorably

intertwined with the determination of the amount of fees

to be awarded, which in turn generally depended upon the

degree of success in litigation. Jd. at 109-116.

In citing to Texas State Teachers Ass’n uv. Garland

Indep. Sch. Dist., 489 U.S. 782 (1989), for the proposition

that a “technical victory may be so insignificant ... as to

be insufficient to support prevailing party status” (Farrar,

506 U.S. at 113, citing Garland, 489 U.S. at 792), this

Court concluded that when a plaintiff recovers only nomi-

nal damages because of his failure to prove an essential

element of his claim for monetary relief, the “only reason-

able fee is usually no fee at all.” Farrar, 506 U.S. at 115.

See also id. at 118 (O’Connor, J., concurring) (noting that

the “special circumstances” exception, while often articu-

lated separately from a reasonableness inquiry, sometimes

“is bound up with reasonableness: It serves as a short-

hand way of saying that, even before calculating a loadstar

or wading through all the reasonableness factors, it is

clear that the reasonable fee is no fee at all”); Hewitt v.

Helms, 482 U.S. 755 (1987) (The plaintiff there had ob-

tained “no relief” by way of a revision of prison regula-

tions which were enacted after he was released from

incarceration, and was therefore not entitled to an award

of attorney fees); Rhodes v. Stewart, 488 U.S. 1 (1988)

26

(Plaintiff not entitled to an award of attorney fees under

42 U.S.C. § 1988 when the case was moot be‘ore original

judgment was issued because one plaintiff/inmate had

died and the other had been released from custody, and

the judgment therefore afforded the plaintiffs no relief).

What these cases make clear is that the focus is still,

and always has been, on the degree of success obtained by

the Plaintiff. Here, the entire Ordinance which these

Plaintiffs challenged was enjoined, first preliminarily but

then permanently, for over seven years. Under all of the

existing precedent of this Court, no special circumstances

justify the denial of an attorney fee award in these circum-

stances.

Nor is there any significant split in the circuits as

suggested by the Petitioner. .

First, with the exception of the fees awarded in this

particular case, the Petitioner does not contend that in any

of the decisions which it cites for this perceived “circuit

split,” the appellate courts had come to the wrong conclu-

sion in.regard to whether or not special circumstances

existed. Second, the mere fact that the First Circuit in

Stefan v. Laurenitis, 889 F.2d 363, 371 (1st Cir. 1989), the

Fourth Circuit in Doe v. Bd. of Educ. of Baltimore County,

165 F.3d 260 (4th Cir. 1998), and the Sixth Circuit in Wikol

v. Birmingham Pub. Schls. Bd. of Educ., 360 F.3d 604, 611

(6th Cir. 2004), do not adopt, verbatim, the Ninth Circuit

two-part test does not mean that they are applying stan-

dards that are in any significant way different, or that the

27

decisions in the other circuits would have reached differ-

ent results if they had utilized the Ninth Circuit stan-

dards.”

For example, in finding “special circumstances” to

exist so as to preclude an award of fees for services per-

formed by an attorney-parent who represented his or her

child in an Individuals with Disabilities Education Act

proceeding, the Fourth Circuit in Doe relied (Doe, 165 F.3d

at 261-65) upon the very similar facts in the ruling of this

Court in Kay v. Ehrler, 499 U.S. 432, 438 (1991) (holding

that a pro se plaintiff who is an attorney is not entitled to

be awarded attorney’s fees under 42 U.S.C. § 1988(b),

because the statutory policy of “furthering the successful

prosecution of meritorious claims is better served by a rule

that creates an incentive to retain counsel in every such

case”’’) (emphasis added). Accordingly, the Fourth Circuit,

similar to the Ninth Circuit, utilizes reference to the

* The Fourth Circuit correctly observes that the Ninth Circuit test

does not provide any “legitimate reason for departing from the usual

rule of awarding reasonable fees to prevailing plaintiffs under fee-

shifting statutes.” Doe, 165 F.3d at 264 n.2.

” In Kay, this Court noted that although § 1988 was in no doubt

intended to encourage litigation protecting civil rights, “it is also true

that its more specific purpose was to enable potential plaintiffs to obtain

the assistance of competent counsel in vindicating their rights.” 499 U.S.

at 436 (emphasis added). See also S.Rep. No. 94-1011 at 2 (1976) as

reprinted in 1976 U.S.C.C.A.N., 5908, 5910. (“. .. If private citizens are

to be able to assert their civil rights, and if those who violate the

Nation’s fundamental laws are not to proceed with impunity, then

citizens must have the opportunity to recover what it cost them to

vindicate these rights in court.”). These purposes are clearly furthered

by the award here.

28

congressional intent underlying the fee-shifting statutes in

order to determine whether special circumstances exist."

Even the approach of the Ninth Circuit, which Peti-

tioner apparently contends is the correct interpretation

(see Petition, p. 14 — but see n.9, supra), demonstrates that

special circumstances are not present here. In Seattle Sch.

Dist. No. 1 v. Washington, 633 F.2d 1338 (9th Cir. 1980),

the court noted that the “congressional purpose in provid-

ing attorney’s fees in civil rights cases was to eliminate

financial barriers to the vindication of constitutional

rights and to stimulate voluntary compliance with the

law.” Id. at 1348, citing S. Rep. No. 94-1011 (1976) re-

printed in 1976 U.S.C.C.A.N. 5908, 5910; H.R. Rep. No.

1558, 94th Cong., 2d Sess., (1976). Based upon this, the

Ninth Circuit concluded that the district court had erred

in depriving a school district of an award of attorney fees

merely because it was a public-funded entity. Seattle Sch.

Dist., 633 F.2d at 1348. Here, constitutional rights were

clearly vindicated, and in light of the over two hundred

thirty-five amendments to Chapter 6.54 which were en-

acted during the course of this litigation, the threat of

additional fees has certainly “stimulate[d] voluntary

compliance with the law.”

" Petitioner’s reliance upon Raishevich v. Foster, 247 F.3d 337 (2nd

Cir. 2001), to establish a “split” among the circuits is unavailing for the

reason that the particular test used by the Second Circuit there dealt

specifically with the unique question of whether plaintiffs counsel’s

entitlement to a contingency fee award on a damage claim would vitiate

the underlying purpose of providing an attorney fee award pursuant to

42 U.S.C. § 1988. Id. at 344-46. Here, none of the attorneys were

retained pursuant to a contingency fee agreement, and there was no

damage award entered by the district court.

29

The phrase “special circumstances” certainly refers to

unique situations which, by definition, cannot be univer-

sally described in advance by any monolithic rule of law.

Further elaboration by this Court is not then necessary.

e

CONCLUSION

For the reasons as are set forth herein, Plain-

tiffs/Respondents respectfully request this Honorable

Court deny the petition for a writ of certiorari.

Dated: May 19, 2006

BRADLEY J. SHAFER

(Counsel of Record)

ANDREA E. PRITZLAFF

SHAFER & ASSOCIATES, P.C.

3800 Capital City Blvd., Suite 2

Lansing, Michigan 48906

517-886-6560

Counsel for Respondents

MICHAEL F. PLEASANTS

PLEASANTS LAW FIRM

8 South Third St., Suite 200

Memphis, Tennessee 38103

901-572-7332

H. Louis SIRKIN

SIRKIN, PINALES & SCHWARTZ, LLP

105 West Fourth St., Suite 920

Cincinnati, Ohio 45202

513-721-4876

Co-Counsels for Respondents

INDEX OF APPENDIX TO DEJA VU OF

NASHVILLE, INC.’S RESPONSE TO

PETITION FOR CERT

Page

VOLUME I |

Deja Vu of Nashville, Inc. et al. v. Metropolitan

Govt of Nashville/Davidson County, United

States District Court for the Middle District of

Tennessee, Case No. 3:97-1066, Order by Magis-

trate Griffin regarding Case Management Hear-

ing, Filed October 30, 1998 ...................00006 Sone we App. 1

Deja Vu of Nashville, Inc. et al. v. Metropolitan

Govt of Nashville/Davidson County, United

States District Court for the Middle District of

Tennessee, Case No. 3:97-1066, Order Denying

Rule 60(b) Motion, Filed May 26, 2000................... App. 4

Deja Vu of Nashville, Inc. et al. v. Metropolitan

Govt of Nashville/Davidson County, United

States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit,

Case No. 00-5881, Order denying remand, Filed

COIN Ee SE alacant cco eee App. 5

Deja Vu of Nashville, Inc. et al. v. Metropolitan

Govt of Nashville/Davidson County, United

States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit,

Case Nos. 99-5071/00-5284/5288/5881, Order,

Fuse FEES By OOS i sis esii cedpcacesreccioviabiveeegs veces App. 7

Deja Vu of Nashville, Inc. et al. v. Metropolitan

Govt of Nashville/Davidson County, United

States District Court for the Middle District of

Tennessee, Case No. 3:97-1066, Memorandum

te CUO, FTE BE DIO ais isis Divsmans i caadbisscanitounsi App. 8

42 United States Code Annotated §1988 — Proceed-

ings in Vindication of Civil Rights ...............0...... App. 18

ul

INDEX OF APPENDIX TO DEJA VU OF

NASHVILLE, INC.’S RESPONSE TO

PETITION FOR CERT — Continued

Page

42 United States Code Annotated §1983 — Civil

Action for Deprivation of Rights .......................... App. 20

Tennessee Code Annotated §27-8-101 Common

Tennessee Code Annotated §27-9-111 (2002) — With

Historical and Statutory Notes..................ceeee App. 22

Metropolitan Government of Nashville and David-

son County Bill No. 097-796 (Original Bill), Ap-

OPOVOE PIMGNE Be, LOE vas siccachioisicss erecenseiianees App. 24

Metropolitan Government of Nashville and David-

son County Bill No. SO97-1022......0..... ee. App. 90

VOLUME II

Metropolitan Government of Nashville and David-

son County Bill No. 099-1503, Approved Febru-

EY 24; BENG Go Riciwchicicos eine App. 119

Metropolitan Government of Nashville and David-

son County Bill No. O99-1814................ cc eee App. 162

Metropolitan Government of Nashville and David-

son County Bill No. BL99-61, Approved January

By Makai es apneic baccarat ia ebhacecaseo naa App. 176

Recodified Version of Chapter 6.54...............ccceee App. 182

Defendants’ Motion to Dissolve Preliminary Injunc-

tion and Request for Hearing, United States Dis-

trict Court for the Middle District of Tennessee,

Case No. 3:97-1066, Filed July 21, 1998............. App. 242

INDEX OF APPENDIX TO DEJA VU OF

NASHVILLE, INC.’S RESPONSE TO

PETITION FOR CERT - Continued

Page

Excerpts of Transcript of April 27, 1999 Metropoli-

tan Adult Entertainment Board Hearing........... App.

Metropolitan Sexually Oriented Business Licensing

Board Notice of Decision on Application Regarding

Deja Vu of Nashville, dated April 28, 1999.......... App.

Excerpts of Transcript of May 11, 1999 Metropoli-

tan Adult Entertainment Board Hearing............ App.

Excerpts of Transcript of May 25, 1999 Metropoli-

tan Adult Entertainment Board Hearing........... App.

Metropolitan Sexually Oriented Business Licensing

Board Letter Regarding Denial of Deja Vu of

Nashville’s License Application, dated May 26,

RUIN EE ii. Nncegh viv vind xxonsBieuak bina bnaanteskes seven iaaeekeatenes App.

Affidavit of John E. Herbison-in Support of Co-

Counsel’s Request for Interim Attorney Fees,

‘United States District Court for the Middle Dis-

trict of Tennessee, Case No. 3:97-1066, Signed

SE ans dante tovadvcancnia sion easinceaiemutsinaos App.

Affidavit of H. Louis Sirkin in Support of Plaintiffs’

Supplemental Motion for Attorneys’ Fees, United

States District Court for the Middle District of

Tennessee, Case No. 3:97-1066, Signed June 11,

I ch capiadl Satacupieckevand ipeie cbucddtrte Adesionsaxvanind nears pause App.

Affidavit of Bradley J. Shafer in Support of Plain-

tiffs’ Motion for Attorney Fees, United States Dis-

trict Court for the Middle District of Tennessee,

Case No. 3:97-1066, Signed June 14, 1999 .......... App.

271

273

276

279

INDEX OF APPENDIA TO DEJA VU OF

NASHVILLE, INC.’S RESPONSE TO

i PETITION FOR CERT —- Continued

Page

Affidavit of Michael F. Pleasants in Support of

Application for Attorney’s Fees, United States

District Court for the Middle District of Tennes-

see, Case No. 3:97-1066, Signed June 14, 1999 ...App. 287

Defendants’ Memorandum of Law in Response to

Plaintiffs’ Brief for Attorneys’ Fees, Pages 1, 19,

and 20 only, United States District Court for the

Middle District of Tennessee, Case No. 3:97-1066,

NUD BU, TIE ciact i nsintinsincscinsadaisecnasehdenenets App. 293

Affidavit of John E. Herbison in Support of Co-

Counsel’s Request for Attorney Fees, United

States District Court for the Middle District of

Tennessee, Case No. 3:97-1066, Signed January

EAR AEA ERE Cs PR yin RE RAL ter een oAC App. 297

Plaintiffs’ Objections to Magistrate’s October 1,

2002 Report and Recommendation, Filed October

De I iaccasikcataidassis cp cnisansecl ncshlededsibdabnntacndncuoniie App. 300 -

Defendants’ Objection to the Report and Recom-

mendation, Filed November 8, 2002................... App. 303

Stipulated Notice of the Total Attorney Fees

“Awarded” by the Magistrate’s Report and Rec-

ommendation, United States District Court for

the Middle District of Tennessee, Case No. 3:97-

1066, Filed February 7, 20038 ................. eee App. 316

Defendants’ Objection to the Report and Recom-

mendation, United States District Court for the

Middle District of Tennessee, Case No. 3:97-1066,

Filed September 30, 2003................cccssssesceesseseees App. 319

INDEX OF APPENDIX TO DEJA VU OF

NASHVILLE, INC.’S RESPONSE TO

PETITION FOR CERT — Continued

Page

Defendants’ Motion to Dissolve the Injunction,

United States District Court for the Middle Dis-

trict of Tennessee, Filed February 25, 2005........ App. 322

ci App. 1

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE MIDDLE DISTRICT OF TENNESSEE

NASHVILLE DIVISION*

DEJA VU OF NASHVILLE, _ )

INC., et al. ) No. 3-97-1066

) Consolidated with

) No. 3-97-1176

METROPOLITAN GOVERN-—)—

¥.

MENT OF NASHVILLE )

AND DAVIDSON COUNTY, _ )

TENNESSEE, et al. )

ORDER

On October 28, 1998, a hearing was held upon the

parties’ request, at which time the following matters were

addressed:

1. The deadline for the plaintiffs to respond to the

defendants’ pending motion (Docket Entry No. 34) to

dissolve the preliminary injunction is extended to Novem-

ber 2, 1998. Such response shall be transmitted by per-

sonal delivery or facsimile to defendants’ counsel by 11:00

a.m., C.S.T. (Nashville time).

—

2. Any reply to such response shall be filed by the

defendants, if necessary, by November 4, 1998, and a copy

transmitted by facsimile to plaintiffs’ counsel.

3. The defendants announced that they agreed to

extend the grace periods for the business plaintiffs and the

individual plaintiffs to 120 days and 45 days, respectively,

* Any typographical and/or incorrect punctuation found in the

following pages were intentionally left to show accurately how the

original documents appeared.

App. 2

from the date of entry of any order granting the defen-

dants’ pending motion to dissolve the preliminary injunc-

tion for such plaintiffs to make application for a license

under the amended ordinance, and that none of the

ordinance provisions will be effective against the plaintiffs

nor will any action be taken against the plaintiffs for their

non-compliance with the ordinance during the grace

period as set forth above.

4. After the entry of any order granting the defen-

dants’ pending motion to dissolve the preliminary injunc-

tion, the plaintiffs shall have 10 working days to file a

supplemental motion for preliminary injunction, in which

all issues upon which the plaintiffs relies in this case shall

be raised.’ Although the parties and the Court had origi-

nally, by prior scheduling orders, contemplated that the

plaintiffs’ second motion(s) for preliminary injunction

would be heard at the same time as the defendants’ motion

to dissolve the injunction, after further consideration, it

appears that it would be more efficient to delay considera-

tion of any second motion for preliminary injunction until

after the resolution of the defendants’ pending motion to

dissolve the preliminary injunction.’

5. The deadline for filing all dispositive motions

(except motions for injunctive relief) shall be extended,

and an extended deadline determined after the resolution

of the defendants’ motion to dissolve the preliminary

injunction, if denied, or after the plaintiffs’ anticipated

' In other words, the plaintiffs shall not piecemeal motions for

preliminary injunction but shall raise all grounds in support of a

motion for preliminary injunction at one time.

* Specifically, if the Court were to deny the motion to dissolve,

there would be no need for a second motion for preliminary injunction.

App. 3

second motion for preliminary injunction, if the motion to

dissolve is granted. |

6. As a result of the agreement reached among the

parties, the plaintiffs’ motion to continue (Docket Entry

No. 57) the hearing scheduled for November 5, 1998, was

WITHDRAWN, and the Clerk is directed to terminate that

motion.

7. As a result of the scheduling matters addressed

above, the defendants WITHDREW their motion to grant

the defendants’ motion to dissolve based on the plaintiffs’

failure to file a response or to clarify the scope (Docket

Entry No. 59), and the Clerk is directed to terminate that

motion as pending.

8. Plaintiffs’ counsel shall call the office of the

undersigned within five (5) days of the resolution of the

pending motion to dissolve the injunction’ and, if the

motion is granted, within five (5) days of the resolution of

the plaintiffs’ anticipated second motion for preliminary

injunction.

It is so ORDERED.

/s/ Juliet Griffin

JULIET GRIFFIN

United States Magistrate Judge

=

* If the motion is denied, further proceedings will be scheduled,

and deadlines established for filing dispositive motions. If the motion is

granted, specific deadlines for the plaintiffs to file a supplemental

motion for preliminary injunction and for briefing on such motion will

be established.

App. 4

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT MIDDLE DIS-

TRICT OF TENNESSEE NASHVILLE DIVISION

DEJA VU OF NASHVILLE, INC.,

et al.

No. 3-97-1066

No. 3-97-1176

Judge Higgins

Wis

]

]

J

]

THE METROPOLITAN

GOVERNMENT OF NASHVILLE }j

AND DAVIDSON COUNTY,

TENNESSEE, et al.

ORDER

(Filed May 26, 2000)

The defendants’ motion’ (filed May 5, 2000; -Docket

Entry No. 224) to vacate or dissolve injunction under Rule

60(b) is denied because the Court is without jurisdiction in

view of the filing of a notice of appeal.

It is so ORDERED.

/s/ Thomas A. Higgins

Thomas A. Higgins

United States District Judge

5-23-00

" See also the defendants’ memorandum (Docket Entry No. 225) in

support of the motion and plaintiffs’ response (Docket Entry No. 226) in

opposition to the motion.

App. 5

No. 00-5881

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

DEJA VU OF NASHVILLE, INC., a )

Tennessee corporation; MICHAEL )

RUCKER, individually; MICHAEL )

BUTLER, individually; MERONEY )

ENTERTAINMENT, INC., doing

business as Ken’s Gold Club, a

Tennessee corporation; THE

PLEASURE PALACE, INC., a

Tennessee corporation;

DAWN PIERCE, individually;

ELIZABETH MARTZ, individually;

JERRY C. PENDERGRASS;

THE 822 CORPORATION; 421

CORPORATION,

ORDER ~—

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

(Filed Oct. 4, 2000)

CAROUSEL AMUSEMENT

CENTER, INC., a Tennessee

corporation,

Plaintiff,

Vv

THE METROPOLITAN

GOVERNMENT OF NASHVILLE

AND DAVIDSON COUNTY,

TENNESSEE; EMMITT TURNER,

Chief of Police of the Metropolitan

Police Department,

Defendants-Appellants

Before: MARTIN, Chief Judge, WELLFORD and

SUHRHEINRICH, Circuit Judges. }

App. 6

The defendants appeal the district court’s order

denying their motion for relief from judgment pursuant to

Fed. R. Civ. P. 60(b) They now move this court for a limited

remand to the district court for consideration of the Rule

60(b) motion on the merits Alternatively, the defendants

move for consolidation of this appeal with three others

that are pending before the court. The plaintiffs oppose a

remand but concur in the request for consolidation.

The three related appeals, Case Nos..99-5701 and 00-

5284/5288, are nearly ready for submission to the court.

Further, there appear to be issues within those appeals

that remain for this court’s disposition. Under these

circumstances, the appeals shall proceed at this time.

The defendants’ motion is DENIED insofar as it seeks

a remand to the district court and GRANTED insofar as it

seeks consolidation of this appeal with Nos. 99-5071 and

00-5284/5288.

ENTERED BY ORDER

OF THE COURT

/s/ Leonard Green/sr

Clerk

App. 7

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS |

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

DEJA VU OF NASHVILLE,

INC., A TENNESSEE

CORPORATION, ET AL.,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

V.

)

)

)

)

)

ORDER

rote aes toot ie ) (Filed Feb. 5, 2002)

NASHVILLE AND

DAVIDSON COUNTY, )

TENNESSEE, ET AL.,

)

Defendants-Appellees.

BEFORE: MARTIN, Chief Judge; WELLFORD and

SUHRHEINRICH, Circuit Judges.

The court having received two petitions for rehearing en

banc, and the petitions having been circulated not only to the

original panel members but also to all other active judges of

this court, and no judge of this court having requested a vote

on the suggestion for rehearing en banc, the petitions or

rehearing have been referred to the original panel.

The panel has further reviewed the petitions for rehear-

ing and concludes that the issues raised in the petitions were

fully considered upon the original submission and decision of

the cases. Accordingly, the petitions are denied.

ENTERED BY ORDER

OF THE COURT

/s/ Leonard Green

Leonard Green, Clerk

App. 8

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE MIDDLE DISTRICT OF TENNESSEE

AT NASHVILLE

DEJA VU OF NASHVILLE, )

et al. )

‘ NO. 3:97-1066

METROPOLITAN Goan ee Caan

GOVERNMENT of

NASHVILLE/DAVIDSON _ )

COUNTY

ORDER

(Entered April 27, 2005)

Pending before the Court is a Motion to Dissolve the

Injunction (Docket No. 294), filed by the Metropolitan

Government of Nashville and Davidson County (“Metro”).

Plaintiffs have filed a Response (Docket No. 305) in oppo-

sition.

Metro’s Motion is GRANTED, and the injunction

previously entered in this case (Docket No. 199) is dis-

solved.

Pursuant to request from Metro, the effective date of

this Order shall be August 1, 2005, in order to allow

sexually oriented businesses and entertainers sufficient

time to comply with the requirements of Chapter 6.54 of

the Metropolitan Code of Laws.

All matters having been ruled upon, the case is

dismissed and the Clerk is directed to close the file.

App. 9

IT IS SO ORDERED.

/s/ Todd Campbell

TODD J. CAMPBELL

UNITED STATES

DISTRICT JUDGE

App. 10

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE MIDDLE DISTRICT OF TENNESSEE

AT NASHVILLE

DEJA VU OF NASHVILLE, )

et al. )

‘ NO. 3:97-1066

BET AOE hd Pau ) pire Res too a

GOVERNMENT of

NASHVILLE/DAVIDSON _ )

COUNTY

MEMORANDUM

(Entered April 27, 2005)

Pending before the Court is a Motion to Dissolve

Injunction (Docket No. 294), filed by the Metropolitan

Government of Nashville and Davidson County (“Metro”).

Plaintiffs have filed a Response (Docket No. 305) in oppo-

sition. For the reasons stated herein, the Motion is

GRANTED.

Metro seeks to dissolve an injunction issued on De-

cember 23, 1999, enjoining enforcement of Chapter 6.54 of

the Metropolitan Code of Laws. Docket No. 189. Metro has

presented evidence that both the facts and the law have

changed since entry of that injunction, justifying its

dissolution. ;

The Order enjoining the ordinance at issue was

appealed to the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals, which, in a

published opinion, affirmed it in part and reversed it in

part. Relevant to the decision on Metro’s Motion to Dis-

solve Injunction, the Sixth Circuit held: “Upon remand,

the district court should maintain the injunction until

App. 11

Metropolitan Nashville satisfies it that the constitutional

problems with the Ordinance’s definition of ‘sexually

oriented’ and its judicial review procedures have been

corrected.” Deja Vu of Nashville, Inc. v. Metropolitan Gov't

of Nashville and Davidson County, Tennessee, 274 F.3d

377, 403 (6th Cir. 2901).’ The issue before this Court is

whether Metro has made a satisfactory showing in that

regard. After remand from the Sixth Circuit, this case was

reassigned to the undersigned District Judge by Order

(Docket No. 251) entered on May 16, 2002.

DEFINITION OF “SEXUALLY ORIENTED”

With regard to the definition of “sexually oriented”

found to be unconstitutional, Metro has presented evi-

dence that the ordinance has been amended to eliminate

the potential overbreath found to be unconstitutional by

the Sixth Circuit. The current ordinance defines “sexually

oriented” as follows:

“Sexually oriented” when used to modify film,

movie, motion picture, videocassette, slides, or

other photographic reproductions shall mean a

film, movie, motion picture, videocassette, slides,

or other photographic reproductions that regu-

larly depicts material which is distinguished or

characterized by an emphasis on matter depict-

ing or describing “specified sexual activities or

specified anatomical areas” offered for observa-

tion by the patron(s) on the premises of a sexu-

ally oriented business.

’ This dictate from the Sixth Circuit makes Plaintiffs’ Rule 60<——————

argument meritless.

App. 12

Metro Code of Laws, § 6.54.010(Y) (attached to Docket No.

294 as Ex. A).

The Sixth Circuit found the former definition of

“sexually oriented” to be overbroad because it could apply

to a range of expression that does not cause the secondary

effects that the ordinance was aimed to prevent. Deja Vu,

274 F.3d at 388. A law is overbroad under the First

Amendment if it reaches a substantial number of imper-

missible applications relative to the law’s legitimate

sweep. Id. at 387.

This Court finds that the amended definition is not

overbroad and complies with the First Amendment. It no

longer applies to just any film, movie, motion picture, etc.,

but rather only to those which “regularly depict material

which is distinguished or characterized by an emphasis on

matter depicting or describing ‘specified sexual activities

or specified anatomical areas’ offered tor observation by

the patron(s) on the premises of a sexually oriented

business.”

The Court further finds that the amended definition

has eliminated the potential for reaching a substantial

number oi impermissible applications by its restrictions

that the subject media be “on the premises of a sexually

oriented business,” and “regularly depict” material with

“an emphasis on” the specified sexual activities or speci-

fied anatomical areas defined elsewhere in the ordinance.

App. 13

For these reasons, Metro has satisfied the Court that

the constitutional problems with the ordinance’s definition

of “sexually oriented” have been corrected.”

\

JUDICIAL REVIEW PROCEDURES

As for the sufficiency of its judicial review procedures,

Metro argues both that the judicial review procedures

have been changed and that the law as to what is required

has changed.

The Sixth Circuit found that the judicial review

procedures in effect at the time of the injunction provided

no assurance of prompt judicial review because there was

no affirmative evidence showing that every writ of certio-

rari would be granted. Deja Vu, 274 F.3d at 402. The court

held that because the ordinance’s judicial review proce-

dures did not guarantee prompt judicial review as re-

quired by the First Amendment, those procedures were

facially’ unconstitutional. Jd. at 402-403.

The judicial review procedures provided by Tennessee

law have since changed. The relevant statute now provides:

If the final decision of a board or commission re-

vokes, suspends, or denies a license or permit that is

required prior to engaging in conduct protected by

the First Amendment to the Constitution of the

United States, and either the petitioner or the

* The Sixth Circuit also noted that the phrase “sexually oriented”

is “never used but in conjunction with some other word that has its own

definition” and is “apparently meaningless.” Deja Vu, 274 F.3d at 389.

Thus, “sexually oriented” can “easily be severed” in any event. /d.

* Plaintiffs’ assertion that the constitutionality of the ordinance

herein was decided on a case-by-case basis is wrong.

App. 14

respondent requests an expedited hearing, the

court shall immediately grant the writ of certio-

rari, and shall hear the matter and issue its dect-

ston within forty (40) days of the court granting

the writ of certiorari.

Tenn. Code Ann. § 27-9-111(e) (emphasis added).

The Court finds that this amended, mandatory’

language does guarantee prompt judicial review as re-

quired by the First Amendment. The statute is sufficient

“affirmative evidence” that every writ of certiorari con-

cerning protected speech will be granted. Accordingly,

Metro has satisfied this Court that the constitutional

problems with its judicial review procedures have been

corrected.’

Even if the amended ordinance did not specifically

guarantee prompt judicial review, which it does, Metro —

argues that it is sufficient to withstand constitutional

muster under the recent case of City of Littleton, Colorado

v. Z.J. Gifts D-4, L.L.C., 124 S.Ct. 2219 (2004). In that

case, the Supreme Court held that Colorado’s ordinary

judicial review procedures suffice to protect First Amend-

ment judicial review rights, so long as the courts remain

sensitive to the need to prevent First Amendment harms

and administer those procedures accordingly. Jd. at 2224.

Specifically, the Court stated “we have no reason to doubt

the willingness of Colorado’s judges to exercise these powers

wisely so as to avoid serious threats of delay-induced First

* Plaintiffs’ contention that the statute is discretionary has no

merit,

* It is also clear that the statute was amended specifically to

comply with the Sixth Circuit’s opinion in this case, as reflected in 2002

Pub. Acts, c. 615, § 2 regarding the effective date.

App. 15

Amendment harm. We presume that courts are aware of

the constitutional need to avoid ‘undue delay result[ing] in

the unconstitutional suppression of protected speech.’” Jd.

at 2225.°

In addition, the Supreme Court held that where the

regulation simply conditions the operation of an adult

business on compliance with neutral and nondiscretionary

criteria’ and does not seek to censor content, an adult

business is not entitled to an unusually speedy judicial

decision in the first place. Jd. at 2226. The Court need not

decide whether Z.J. Gifts dictates the result in this case,

since the amended ordinance guarantees prompt judicial

review.

For these reasons, the Court is satisfied that the

previously-determined unconstitutional deficiencies in

Metro’s judicial review procedures in this case have been

corrected, and that the amended statute provides the

required First Amendment protections. Metro’s Motion to

Dissolve the Injunction is GRANTED.

FURTHER LITIGATION

Plaintiffs argue that dissolution of the injunction

should not end this litigation because the injunction

hearing was never consolidated with a trial on the merits.

* “Colorado’s rules provide for a flexible system of review in which

judges can reach a decision promptly in the ordinary case, while using

their judicial power to prevent significant harm to First Amendment

interests where circumstances require.” Z.J. Gifts at 2226. Metro

argues the same presumption should be afforded Tennessee's rules and

courts.

* The Court does not use the words “objective” or “subjective” as

suggested by the Plaintiffs.

App. 16

Judge Higgins’ Order of December 23, 1999, provides

otherwise. That Order states:

In this action, as stated on the record at the

hearing on December 21, 1999, it appears that no

further or additional relief is sought beyond that

which has been granted by the preliminary in-

junction.

The preliminary injunction heretofore issued

is herewith made a permanent injunction.

The entry of this order shall constitute the

final judgment in this action.

Docket No.199.

In addition, as Metro points out, Magistrate Griffin

specifically ordered the Plaintiffs to file (within ten days of

any order granting Defendants’ prior Motion to Dissolve

Preliminary Injunction) a supplemental motion for pre-

liminary injunction, “in which all issues upon which the

plaintiffs relies (sic) in this case shall be raised. In other

words, the plaintiffs shall not piecemeal motions for

preliminary injunction but shall raise all grounds in

support of a motion for preliminary injunction at one

time.” Docket No. 61. That “supplemental” motion (Docket

No. 83) was granted by Judge Higgins (Docket No. 188),

appealed to the Sixth Circuit (Docket No. 208), affirmed in

part and reversed in part (274 F.3d. 377), and is the

subject of the pending Motion to Dissolve Injunction. All

issues upon which the PlaintiffS rely in this case should

App. 17

have been raised.* Indeed, the Sixth Circuit found that

Plaintiffs raised “all of their constitutional challenges to

the Ordinance.” Deja Vu, 274 F.3d at 386.”

TODD J. CAMPBELL

* The Court cannot and will not revisit other substantive rulings

previously made herein.

* Plaintiffs also argue there is a pending Motion for Review of the

Magistrate Judge’s Order. The only pending motion in this case is this

Motion to Dissolve the Injunction. All other motions were termed when

the judgment was made final (Docket No. 199) and appealed.

To the extent Plaintiffs seek to raise new matters arising after the

Sixth Circuit’s opinion, or related to new ordinance provisions, they

should file a new case.

Plaintiffs also argue that various state constitutional issues are

pending. The Court disagrees for the reasons stated above, but in any

event declines supplemental jurisdiction over any state law claims. 28

U.S.C. § 1367(c).

App. 18

42 U.S.C. § 1988. Proceedings in vindication of civil

rights

(a) Applicability of statutory and common law

The jurisdiction in civil and criminal matters conferred on

the district courts by the provisions of titles 13, 24, and 70

of the Revised Statutes for the protection of all persons in

the United States in their civil rights, and for their vindi-

cation, shall be exercised and enforced in conformity with

the laws of the United States, so far as such laws are

suitable to carry the same into effect; but in all cases

where they are not adapted to the object, or are deficient

in the provisions necessary to furnish suitable remedies

and punish offenses against law, the common law, as

modified and changed by the constitution and statutes of

the State wherein the court having jurisdiction of such

civil or criminal cause is held, so far as the same is not

inconsistent with the Constitution and laws of the United

States, shall be extended to and govern the said courts in

the trial and disposition of the cause, and, if it is of a

criminal nature, in the infliction of. punishment on the

party found guilty.

(b) Attorney’s fees

In any action or proceeding to enforce a provision of

sections 1981, 198la, 1982, 1983, 1985, and 1986 of this

title, title [IX of Public Law 92-318 [20 U.S.C.A. § 1681 et

seq.], the Religious Freedom Restoration Act of 1993 [42

U.S.C.A. § 2000bb et seq.], the Religious Land Use and

Institutionalized Persons Act of 2000 [42 U.S.C.A. § 2000cc

et seq.], title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 [42 U.S.C.A.

§ 2000d et seq.], or section 13981 of this title, the court, in

its discretion, may allow the prevailing party, other than

App. 19

the United States, a reasonable attorney’s fee as part of

the costs, except that in any action brought against a

judicial officer for an act or omission taken in such officer’s

judicial capacity such officer shall not be held liable for

any costs, including attorney’s fees, unless such action was

clearly in excess of such officer’s jurisdiction.

(c) Expert fees

In awarding an attorney’s fee under subsection (b) of this

section in any action or proceeding to enforce a provision of

section 1981 or 1981a of this title, the court, in its discre-

tion, may include expert fees as part of the attorney’s fee.

App. 20

42 U.S.C. § 1985. Civil action for deprivation of rights

Every person who, under color of any statute, ordinance,

regulation, custom, or usage, of any State or Territory or

the District of Columbia, subjects, or causes to be sub-

jected, any citizen of the United States or other person

within the jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation of any

rights, privileges, or immunities secured by the Constitu-

tion and laws, shall be liable to the party injured in an

action at law, suit in equity, or other proper proceeding for

redress, except that in any action brought against a

judicial officer for an act or omission taken in such officer’s

judicial capacity, injunctive relief shall not be granted

unless a declaratory decree was violated or declaratory

relief was unavailable. For the purposes of this section,

any Act of Congress applicable exclusively to the District

of Columbia shall be considered to be a statute of the

District of Columbia.

App. 21

T.C.A. § 27-8-101. Constitutional basis. — The writ of

certiorari may be granted whenever authorized by law,

and also in all cases where an inferior tribunal, board, or

officer exercising judicial functions has exceeded the

jurisdiction conferred, or is acting illegally, when, in the

judgment of the court, there is no other plain, speedy, or

adequate remedy. [Code 1858, § 3123 (deriv. Const. 1834,

art. 6, § 10); Shan., § 4853; Code 1932, § 8989; T.C.A. (orig.

ed.), § 27-801.]

App. 22

T.C.A. § 27-9-111 (2002). Hearings; findings

(a) At the expiration of ninety (90) days from the filing of

the transcript, the cause shall stand for trial, and shall be

heard and determined at the earliest practical date, as one

having precedence over other litigation, except suits

involving state, county or municipal revenue.

(b) The hearing shall be on the proof introduced before the

board or commission contained in the transcript, and upon

such other evidence as either party may desire to introduce.

(c) The judge shall reduce all findings of fact and conclu-

sions of law to writing and make them parts of the record.

(d) In making such findings of fact, the judge shall weigh

the evidence and determine the facts by the preponder-

ance of the proof.

(e) If the final decision of a board or commission revokes,

suspends, or denies a license or permit that is required

prior to engaging in conduct protected by the First

Amendment to the Constitution of the United States, and

either the petitioner or the respondent requests an expe-

dited hearing, the court shall immediately grant the writ

of certiorari, and shall hear the matter and issue its

decision within forty (40) days of the court granting the

writ of certiorari. When an expedited hearing is requested,

the board or commission shall forward the transcript

described in § 27-9-109 within seven (7) days of the grant

of the writ of certiorari.

1951 Pub.Acts, c. 261, § 1; 1987 Pub.Acts, c. 28, §§ 1 to 3;

1998 Pub.Acts, c. 794, § 1, eff. April 23, 1998. Amended by

2002 Pub.Acts, c. 615, § 1.

Formerly 1932 Code, § 9014; § 27-911.

App. 23

HISTORICAL AND STATUTORY NOTES

2002 Pub.Acts, c. 615, § 1, deleted the first sentence of

subsec. (e), which formerly read: “If the final decision of a

board or commission revokes, suspends, or denies a license

or permit that is required prior to engaging in conduct

protected by the First Amendment to the Constitution if

the United States, and either the petitioner or the respon-

dent requests an expedited hearing, the court shall hear

the matter and issue its decision within forty (40) days of

the court granting the writ of certiorari” and replaced it

with the language “If the final decision of a board or

commission revokes, suspends, or denies a license or

permit that is required prior to engaging in conduct

protected by the First Amendment to the Constitution of

the United States, and either the petitioner or the respon-

dent requests an expedited hearing, the court shall imme-

diately grant the writ of certiorari, and shall hear the

matter and issue its decision within forty (40) days of the

court granting the writ of certiorari.”

2002 Pub.Acts, c. 615, § 2, provides:

“This act shall not take effect until such time as the

United States Supreme Court has denied the petition for a

writ of certiorari filed by the Metropolitan Government of

Nashville and Davidson County in the case of Deja vu, Inc.

v Metropolitan Government, 274 F.3d 377 (6th Cir. 2001),

or if the United States Supreme Court grants a writ of

certiorari, this act shall not take effect until such time as

the United States Supreme Court affirms the Sixth Cir-

cuit’s opinion on the issue of ‘prompt judicial review.’ If the

United States Supreme Court reverses the Sixth Circuit’s

opinion on ‘prompt judicial review’ this act shall never

take effect.”

App. 24

BILL NO. 097-796

AN ORDINANCE AMENDING TITLE 6 OF

THE METROPOLITAN CODE OF LAWS BY

ADDING A NEW CHAPTER 6.54, LICENSING

AND REGULATION OF ADULT ENTERTAIN-

MENT AND ADULT BUSINESSES.

WHEREAS, the Metropolitan County Council of the

Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson

County (“Metropolitan Council”) may, pursuant to Section

2.01(40) of its Charter and the general laws of the State of

Tennessee, enact regulatory ordinances protecting and

promoting the general welfare,-health, and safety of its

citizens; and,

WHEREAS, the Metropolitan Council has previously

enacted Sections 17.12.080(29), 17.60.020(C)(1), and

17.64.270 of the MCL which regulate the location of

sexually oriented businesses; and, ~-

WHEREAS, since the adoption of _the above-

referenced ordinances, the Metropolitan Council has

received and considered reports and recommendations

from employees, citizens, other local governments, and

other reputable sources and has determined that loca-

tional criteria alone do not adequately protect the health

and general welfare of the people of Metropolitan Nash-

ville Davidson County, and,

WHEREAS, the Metropolitan Council has determined

that permitting and/or licensing is a legitimate and rea-

sonable means of accountability to ensure that operators

of adult entertainment establishments comply with

reasonable regulations and to ensure that operators do not

knowingly allow their establishments to be used as places

for illegal sexual activity or solicitation; and,

App. 25

WHEREAS, it is not the Intent of this ordinance to

suppress any speech activities protected by the First

Amendment, but to enact a content neutral ordinance

which addresses the secondary effects of adult entertain-

ment establishments; and,

WHEREAS, it is not the intent of the Metropolitan

Council to condone or legitimize the distribution of obscene

materials, and the Metropolitan Council recognizes that

state and federal law prohibits the distribution of obscene

materials and expects and encourages state and federal

enforcement officials to enforce state and federal obscenity

statutes against any such illegal activities in Metropolitan

Davidson County; and,

WHEREAS, the locational requirements of the Adult

Entertainment Zoning Ordinance are unaffected by the

following amendment.

WHEREAS, the Metropolitan Council desires to

amend the Code of Laws of the Metropolitan Government

of Nashville and Davidson County (“MCL”) to regulate

adult entertainment establishments in order to promote

and secure the general welfare, health, and safety of the

citizens of Metropolitan Nashville and Davidson County.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ENACTED BY THE

COUNCIL OF THE METROPOLITAN GOVERNMENT

OF NASHVILLE AND DAVIDSON COUNTY.

SECTION 1. Purpose and Findings.

(A.) PURPOSE. It is the purpose of this ordinance to

regulate adult entertainment establishments to promote

the health, safety, morals, and general welfare of the

citizens of Metropolitan Nashville Davidson County. The

provisions of this ordinance have neither the purpose nor

App. 26

effect of imposing a limitation or restriction on the content

of any communicative materials, including sexually

oriented materials or entertainment. Similarly, it is not

the intent nor effect of this ordinance to restrict or deny

access by adults to sexually oriented materials protected

by the First Amendment, or to deny access by the distribu-

tors and exhibitors of sexually oriented materials or

entertainment to their intended market.

(B.) FINDINGS. Based on evidence concerning the

adverse secondary effects of adult uses on the community

presented in hearings and reports made available to the

Metropolitan Council, and on findings incorporated in the

DLS d/b/a Diamonds and Lace Showbar v. The City of

Chattanooga, 107 F.3d 403 (6th Cir. 1997); DLS, Inc d/b/a

Diamonds and Lace Showbar v. City of Chattanooga, 914

F.Supp. 193 (E.D. Tenn. 1995); DLS, Inc d/b/a Diamonds

and Lace Showbar v City of Chattanooga, 894 F.Supp.

1140 (E.D. Tenn. 1995); City of Renton v. Playtime Thea-

ters. Inc., 475 U.S. 41 (1986); Coleman A. Young v. Ameri-

can Mini-Theaters, Inc., 427 U.S. 50 (1976); and studies

and judicial opinions concerning the adverse secondary

effects of adult uses on communities such as Austin,

Amarillo, and Beaumont, Texas; Phoenix and Tucson,

Arizona; Minnesota {see Report of the Attorney General’s

Working Group on the Regulation of Sexually Oriented

Businesses (June 6, 1989)], Seattle, Washington; [see

Northend Cinema, Inc. v. Seattle, 90 Wash.2d 709, 585

P.2d 1153 (1978)]; and Houston, Texas; [see SDJ, Inc. v.

City of Houston, 837 F.2d 1268 (5th Cir. 1988); as well as

newspaper articles [see Peep Shows Role Unregulated

(Tennessean, April 8, 1991)] reports from the Police De-

partment and reports from the Department of Health of

App. 27

the Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson

County, the Metropolitan Council finds:

1. Unlawful and unhealthy activities that are occur-

ring within adult entertainment establishments are

presently uncontrolled by the operators of these estab-

lishments and, there is presently no mechanism to control

the unhealthy and unlawful activities that are occurring

within these establishments or to make the owners and

operators of these establishments responsible for the

activities that occur on their premises.

2. Certain employees of adult entertainment estab-

lishments in Davidson County engage in a higher inci-

dence of certain types sexually oriented criminal activity,

unhealthy and illegal sexual contact, and other unlawful

activities at these businesses than employees of other

establishments

3 Sexual acts, including homosexual and heterosex-

ual masturbatory acts and oral and anal sex acts, are a

regular occurrence at adult entertainment establishments

in Davidson County, especially those establishments

where there are private or semi-private booths or cubicles

for viewing films, videos, or live sex shows. é

4. Offering and providing such space, areas and

rooms where such activities take place creates conditions

that generate prostitution and other crimes, as well as

unhealthy conditions.

5. Persons frequent certain adult theaters, adult

bookstores, and adult video stores for the purpose of

providing sex within the premises of such adult theaters,

adult bookstores, and adult video stores and patrons

frequent certain adult theaters, adult bookstores, adult

App. 28

nightclubs, and adult video stores for the purpose of

procuring prostitutes.

6. At least fifty communicable diseases may be

spread by activities currently occurring in adult enter-

tainment establishments, including, but not limited to,

syphilis, gonorrhea, human immuno-deficiency virus

infection (HIV), genital herpes, hepatitis B, hepatitis Non

A, hepatitis Non B, amebiasis, and shigella infections.

7. Since 1981 and to the present, there have been an

increasing cumulative number of reported cases of ac-

quired immuno-deficiency syndrome (AIDS) caused by the

human immuno-deficiency virus (HIV) in the United

States —

600 cases in 1982 8,555 in 1985 68,959 in 1994

2,200 in 1983 336,522 between 61,614 in 1995

4,600 in 1984 1986 and 1992 and 36,693 cases

77,641 in 1993 in 1996;

and in Tennessee —

3 cases in 1982 345 in 1987 2,380 in 1992

7 in 1983 666 in 1988 1,308 in 1993

28 in 1984 1,012 in 1989 818 in 1994

70 in 1985 1,389 in 1990 1,018 in 1995

161 in 1986 1,820 in 1991 and 965 cases in 1996;

and in Davidson County —

187 cases in 1992 207 in 1995

308 in 1993 153 in 1996.

177 in 1994

8. As of February 28, 1993, there have been 2,521

reported cases of AIDS in Tennessee, with 1,502 deaths

being reported. Of those 2,521 cases, 2,340 were males and

181 were females.

App. 29

9. The number of cases of early syphilis in the

United States has risen with

33,613 cases reported in 1982

32,698 in 1983

28,607 in 1984-

27,131 in 1985

27,883 in 1986

35,147 in 1987

40,117 in 1988

44,540 in 1989

= 45,200 in 1990

10. The number of cases of early syphilis in Tennes-

see has grown with

1,150 in 1982

1,013 in 1983

1,014 in 1984

1,168 in 1985

1,160 in 1986

1,330 in 1987

2,766 in 1989

1,989 in 1990

2,011 in 1991

2,786 in 1992

2572 in 1993

2312 in 1994

1,910 in 1988 2,035 in 1995

and 1,807 in 1996

and in Davidson County syphilis cases reported annually

have risen with 101 cases in 1982 -

104 in 1983 130 in 1988 149 in 1993

86 in 1984 211 in 1989 100 in 1994

52 in 1985 515 in 1990 194 in 1995

87 in 1986 437 in 1991 292 in 1996

173 in 1987 388 in 1992

11. The number of cases of gonorrhea in the United

States reported annually remains at a high level, with

960,633 civilian cases reported in 1982 —

780,905 in 1987

719,536 in 1988

733,151 in 1989

and 611,932 through November 1990;

900,435 in 1983

878,556 in 1984

911,419 in 1985

900,868 in 1986

App. 30

and in Tennessee —

32,444 in 1982

30,896 in 1983

30,749 in 1984

32,110 in 1985

26,455 in 1986

23,740 in 1987

19,336 in 1988

19,557 in 1989

56,763 through

December 1992

14,285 in 1993

15,197 in 1994

13,894 in 1995

11,710 in 1996

12. The number of cases of gonorrhea reported annu-

ally in Davidson County remains at a high level, with -

5,325 in 1982

4,744 in 1983

5,294 in 1984

5,202 in 1985

4,731 in 1986

3,846 in 1987

3,815 in 1988

3,409 in 1989

2,966 in 1990

2,701 in 1991

2,390 in 1992

2,388 in 1993

3110 in 1994

2,622 in 1995

2,033 in 1996.

13. The Surgeon-General of the United States in his

report of October 22, 1986, has advised the American

public that AIDS and HIV infection may be transmitted

through sexual contact, intravenous drug abuse, exposure

to infected blood and blood components, and from an

infected mother to her newborn.

14. According to the best scientific evidence, AIDS

and HIV infection, as well as syphilis and gonorrhea, are

principally transmitted by sexual acts.

15. According to the best scientific evidence, numer-

ous other diseases and infestations, including chlamydia,

pelvic inflammatory disease, chancroid, herpes, hepatitis

B, lympho-granuloma venereum, granuloma inguinale,

genital warts, trichomomasis, scabies, pediculosis, amebi-

asis, giardiasis, and others are transmitted by sexual acts.

16. Conditions in some adult entertainment estab-

lishments are unsanitary and unhealthy, in part, because

App. 31

the activities conducted there are unhealthy, and in part,

because the owners and operators of the facilities fail to

regulate the unhealthy and unsanitary activities and fail

to maintain the facilities in a sanitary and healthy condi-

tion.

17. The United States Center for Disease Control

has issued universal precautions, including housekeeping

and disinfection guidelines, for the prevention of transmis-

sion of the HIV virus and other diseases. These guidelines

should be followed anytime there is the potential for

exposure to blood and other body fluids.

18. Staff members of the police and health depart-

ments have observed semen, blood, fecal matter and urine

within the public areas of adult entertainment establish-

ments in Davidson County. These unhealthy conditions

are worse in areas within adult entertainment establish-

ments where persons view sexually oriented films, sexu-

ally oriented movies, adult videos or witness sexually

oriented live entertainment.

19 Permitting entertainers to be in close contact

with patrons initiates the exchange of money which may

reasonably be expected to serve as an opportunity to solicit

for and an inducement to agree to unprotected and/or

illegal sexual activity, including prostitution and thus

poses a threat to both groups by promoting the spread of

communicable diseases, and encouraging crime.

20. When the previously described activities charac-

teristic of adult entertainment establishments are present

within Davidson County, Tennessee, other activities which

are illegal or unhealthy tend to accompany them, concen-

trate around them and be aggravated by them. Such other

activities include, but are not limited to, prostitution,

App. 32

pandering, solicitation for prostitution, lewd and lascivious

behavior, exposing minors to harmful materials and

possession, distribution and transportation of obscene

materials.

21. The findings noted in paragraphs 1 through 20

raise substantial governmental concerns.

22. Adult entertainment establishments should be

reasonably regulated in order to protect those substantial

governmental concerns.

23. A reasonable licensure procedure is an appropri-

ate and effective mechanism to place the burden of that

reasonable regulation on the owners and operators of

adult entertainment establishments. Further, such a

licensing procedure will place a heretofore nonexistent

incentive on the operator to see that the adult entertain-

ment establishment is run in a manner that is consistent

with the health, safety and welfare of its patrons and

employees, as well as the citizens of Davidson County,

Tennessee. It is appropriate to require reasonable assur-

ances that the licensee is the actual operator of the adult

entertainment establishments, fully in possession and

control of the premises and the activities occurring

therein.

24. Removal of doors on booths — wherein patrons

view sexually oriented movies, sexually oriented films,

adult videos, or sexually oriented live entertainment — and

requiring sufficient lighting in premises with booths

advances the substantial governmental interest of curbing

the illegal and unsanitary sexual activity occurring at

adult entertainment establishments

App. 33

25 The prevention of sexual contact between patrons

and employees at adult entertainment establishments is

unrelated to the suppression of free expression, but serves

to address the concerns raised in the findings contained

herein.

26. Prohibiting dancers and patrons from engaging

in sexual fondling and caressing in adult theaters or adult

cabarets would reduce the opportunity for prostitution and

thus should deter prostitution and other crimes of a sexual

nature.

27. The disclosure of certain information by those

persons ultimately responsible for the day-to-day opera-

tion and maintenance of an adult entertainment estab-

lishment is substantially related to the significant

governmental interest of preventing the spread of sexu-

ally-transmitted diseases and reducing or eliminating the

criminal activity associated with adult entertainment

establishments.

28 It is desirable in the prevention of the spread of

communicable diseases and in the investigation of crimi-

nal activity, to obtain a limited amount of information

regarding certain operators and employees who either

engage in the conduct which this ordinance is designed to

prevent or are likely to be witnesses to such activity.

29. Asubstantial rational relationship between adult

entertainment establishments and sexually related crimes

establishes a compelling justification for barring those

persons who have committed crimes from the management

of such businesses.

30 The fact that an applicant for an adult use license

has been convicted of a sexually-related crime leads to a

App. 34

rational inference that the applicant is more likely to

engage in conduct in contravention of this ordinance.

31. The barring of such individuals from manage-

ment of adult uses for a period of years serves as a deter-

rent to and prevents the conduct which leads to the

transmission of sexually transmitted diseases and to the

promotion of that criminal activity associated with adult

uses.

32. The general welfare, health, and safety of the

citizens of Metropolitan Nashville and Davidson County

will be promoted by the enactment of this ordinance.

SECTION 2: Title 6 of the Code of Laws of The

Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson

County is amended by adding a new Chapter 6.54.

6.54 Licensing and Regulation of Adult Business:

6.54.010 Definitions.

A. Definitions

For the purpose of this chapter, the words and

phrases used herein shall have the following mean-

ings, unless otherwise clearly indicated by the con-

text:

1. Adult entertainment means the regular pres-

entation, for a fee or incidentally to another ser-

vice, of material or exhibitions distinguished or

characterized by an emphasis on matter depict-

ing, describing, or relating to “specified sexual

activities” or “specified anatomical areas” as de-

fined below for observation by patrons therein.

2. Adult entertainment establishment means

any commercial establishment —- including but

App. 35

not limited to: “adult bookstore”, “adult video

store”, “adult theater”, “adult nightclub”, sexual

encounter center, massage parlor, rap parlor, lin-

gerie modeling, or sauna — which for a fee or in-

cidentally to another service, regularly presents

material or exhibitions distinguished or character-

ized by an emphasis on matters depicting, describ-

ing, or relating to “specified sexual activities” or

“specified anatomical areas” as defined below for

observation by patrons therein. Adult entertain-

ment establishment further means any commercial

establishment to which the public patrons or mem-

bers are invited or admitted and which are so

physically arranged as to provide booths, cubi-

cles, rooms, compartments or stalls separate

from the common areas of the premises for the

purpose of viewing sexually oriented motion pic-

tures, sexually-oriented movies, sexually oriented

films, adult videos, or wherein an entertainer pro-

vides sexually oriented entertainment to a member

of the public, a patron or a member.

(a) Adult bookstore means an establish-

ment having any of its stock and trade in books,

magazines, other periodicals, or any other items

which are distinguished or characterized by their

emphasis on matter depicting, describing or re-

lating to “specified sexual activities” or “specified

anatomical areas” as defined below for observa-

tion of the patrons therein, or in conjunction

therewith has facilities for the presentation of

sexually oriented entertainment, including but

not limited to sexually oriented movies, adult

videos, sexual y oriented films, or sexually ori-

ented live entertainment, for observation by pa-

trons therein.

App. 36

(b) Sexually oriented means any exhibition

of any motion pictures, films, videos, or live per-

formance, display or dance of any type, removal

of articles of clothing or appearing unclothed,

pantomime, modeling, or any other personal ser-

vice offered customers which has a significant or

substantial portion of such performance any ac-

tual or simulated performance of “specified sex-

ual activities” or exhibition and viewing of

“specified anatomical areas”.

(c) Adult theater means an enclosed build-

ing regularly used for presenting films, motion

pictures, video cassettes, slides, or other photo-

graphic reproductions or other material depict-

ing, describing or relating to “specified sexual

activities” or “specified anatomical areas,” as de-

fined below, for observation by patrons therein.

(d) Adult nightclub means a theater, con-

cert hall, auditorium, nightclub, bar, restaurant,

or similar commercial establishment which regu-

larly features live performances that are charac-

terized by any actual or simulated performance

of “specified sexual activities” or the exposure of

“specified anatomical areas,” as defined below.

(e) Adult video store means a commercial

establishment having any stock in “adult videos”

— as defined below — which are rented or sold and

presented for a fee or incidentally to another ser-

vice; or in conjunction therewith, regularly pre-

sents on the premises sexually oriented motion

pictures or sexually oriented films, “adult videos”,

or sexually oriented live exhibitions which are dis-

tinguished or characterized by an emphasis on

matter depicting, describing; or relating to “speci-

fied sexual activities” or “specified anatomical

App. 37

areas” as defined below for observation by pa-

trons therein.

(f) Adult videos means a video, CD, laser

disk, or similar medium with a cover that depicts

“specified sexual activities” or “specified ana-

tomical areas” or a transparent or less than

opaque cover through which “specified sexual ac-

tivities” or “specified anatomical areas” can be

viewed.

3. Aggravated rape as defined in The Tennessee

Code Annotated § 39-15-502.

4. Aggravated sexual battery as defined in The

Tennessee Code Annotated § 39-15-504.

5 Employee means any and all persons, includ-

ing independent contractors, who work in or at or

render any services directly related to the opera-

tion of an adult entertainment establishment.

6 Entertainer means any person who provides

live entertainment within an adult entertain-

ment establishment as defined in this section,

whether or not a fee is charged or accepted for

entertainment and whether or not entertainment

is provided as an employee or an independent

contractor.

7. Indecent exposure as defined in The Tennes-

see Code Annotated § 39-15-511.

8. Location means a single site for which only

one use and occupancy permit would be required

9 The Metropolitan Area — General services dis-

trict of the Metropolitan Government of Nash-

ville and Davidson County

App. 38

10. The Metropolitan Council means the legis-

lative body of The Metropolitan Government of

Nashville and Davidson County, Tennessee

11. Obscenity as defined in The Tennessee Code

Annotated § 39-17-901(10) through (14).

12. Operator means any person, partnership, or

corporation operating, conducting or maintaining

an adult entertainment establishment.

13. Prostitution as defined in The Tennessee

Code Annotated § 39-13-512

14. Patronizing prostitution as defined in The

Tennessee Code Annotated § 39-15-13-512.

15 Promoting prostitution as defined in The

Tennessee Code Annotated § 39-15-13-512.

16 Rape as defined in The Tennessee Code An-

notated § 39-15-503.

17. Rape of a child as defined in The Tennessee

Code Annotated § 39-15-522

18. Sexual battery as defined in The Tennessee

Code Annotated § 39-15-505.

19. Sexual exploitation of a minor as defined in

The Tennessee Code Annotated § 39-17-1003,

§ 39-17-1004, and § 39-17-1005.

20. Specified sexual activities mean

(a) Human genitals in a state of sexual

stimulation or arousal;

(b) Acts of human masturbation, sexual in-

tercourse or sodomy; -

App. 39

(c) Fondling or erotic touching of human

genitals, pubic region, buttock or female

breasts.

21. Specified anatomical areas mean:

(a) Less than completely and opaquely cov-

ered:

(i) Human genitals, pubic region,

(11) Buttocks;

(iii) Female breasts below a point im-

mediately above the top of. the areola;

and

(b) Human male genitals in a discernibly

turgid state, even if completely opaquely

covered

22. Statutory rape as defined to The Tennessee

Code Annotated § 39-15-506.

6.54.020 Adult Entertainment Licensing Board

A. Establishment

An adult entertainment licensing board is hereby cre-

ated and designated the metropolitan adult enter-

tainment licensing board (herein “board”).

B. Membership — Terms

1. The board shall consist of five members, who

shall have been residents of the metropolitan area for

not less than one year, and who shall continue to be

eligible so long as they reside in the metropolitan

a.ea, to be appointed by the mayor and confirmed by

a majority vote of the metropolitan council.

App. 40

2. At least one of the five members shall be an

attorney, and one of the five members shall be a

health provider.

3. Of the five members first appointed, two shall

be appointed for a term of two years, and two shall be

appointed for a term of three years, and one shall be

appointed for a term of four years. Thereafter, each

member shall be appointed for a term of four years,

and shall serve until his/her successor is appointed.

Any vacancy other than the expiration of terms shall

be filled for the un-expired term

C. Election of officers — Term

The board shall organize by the election of a chair and

a vice-chair, who shall serve for a period of one year or

until a successor shall have been chosen.

D. Meetings — Quorum required — Minutes and tran-

script

1. The board shall hold two regular meetings

each month at a time fixed by the board, and may

hold such special meetings as may be necessary

2. The attendance of at least a majority of the

members of the board, not including unfilled posi-

tions, shall be required to constitute a quorum for the

purpose of transacting business.

3. Minutes shall be kept of the meetings in

permanent form and a record shall be kept of the ac-

tion of the board with respect to every application for

a license and/or a permit. The concurring vote of a

majority of the members present and voting shall be

necessary for the granting, revoking, suspending or

any other action involving licenses or permits.

4 No transcript of the proceedings had before

the board shall be in any form other than narrative

App. 41

unless the board shall have been requested to provide

for an exact copy of the testimony by an interested

party at least twenty-four hours prior to a board

meeting. The cost of an exact copy shall be borne by

the person requesting the same.

E. Powers and duties.

1. The board shall have jurisdiction over the li-

censing, regulating and controlling of all adult enter-

tainment establishments as provided herein, located

in the metropolitan area.

2 The board may promulgate such bylaws, rules

and regulations not inconsistent with state law, the

metropolitan charter, or any ordinance, as it deems

appropriate for the conducting of its business.

3. The board has the authority to subpoena wit-

nesses to testify before the board

F. Inspectors — Authority.

The board is empowered to employ suitable person(s)

as inspectors which inspectors shall not hold any ser-

vice status. The board shall prescribe the duties of

such inspectors so as to enforce the applicable provi-

sions of this title.

G Procedures for Hearings

This section shall apply to all hearings by the board

including but not limited to hearings for revocation

suspension, or denial of a license/permit.

1 Upon receiving a written request for a hear-

ing, the board shall send the party reqtesting the

hearing a notice stating the time and place of the

hearing and the right to be represented by counsel.

App. 42

2. At the hearing, the party requesting the

hearing shall appear on his/her own behalf or be rep-

resented by counsel. All witnesses shall be sworn. The

chair shall allow the party requesting the hearing to

present witnesses on his/her own behalf and to cross-

examine all witnesses testifying against him/her.

3. All decisions of the board shall be in writing,

setting forth the findings of the board, and shall be

signed by the chair or vice-chair Any decisions of the

board to deny a renewal, suspend, or revoke a li-

cense/permit shall not take effect earlier than ten (10)

days after the date the decision was rendered to allow

the effected party adequate time to seek judicial re-

view.

4. Minutes shall be kept of all proceedings be-

fore the board in permanent form and a record shall

be kept of the actions of the board with respect to all

hearings.

5 Arecord (which may consist of a tape or simi-

lar electronic recording) shall be made of all oral pro-

ceedings. The record must be maintained by the board

for a period of ninety days Such record or any part

thereof shall be transcribed at the request of any

party at such party’s expense.

6. Any party desiring a court reporter to be pre-

sent at the hearing must arrange for the court re-

porter to be present.

6.54.030 License Required.

A Except as provided in subsection F below, from

and after the effective date of this ordinance, no adult

entertainment establishment shall be operated or

maintained within the metropolitan area without first

obtaining a license to operate issued by the board.

App. 43

B. Any person, partnership, or corporation which

desires to operate more than one (1) adult entertain-

ment establishment must have a license for each es-

tablishment

C. Only one license nay be issued for each adult en-

tertainment establishment location.

D. No license or interest in a license may be trans-

ferred to any person, partnership or corporation.

E. It shall be unlawful for any entertainer or opera-

tor to work in or about, or to perform any service di-

rectly related to the operation of any unlicensed adult

entertainment establishment. It shall be unlawful for

any employee to knowingly work in or about, or to

knowingly perform any service directly related to the

operation of any unlicensed adult entertainment es-

tablishment while adult entertainment is being pre-

sented.

F All existing adult entertainment establishments

at the time of the passage of this ordinance must

submit an application for a license within one hun-

dred twenty (120) days of the effective date of this or-

dinance. If a license is not applied for within said one-

hundred-twenty day period, then such existing adult

entertainment establishment shall cease operations.

6.54.040 Application for license.

A. Application —

1. Any person, partnership, corporation or any

other entity desiring to secure a license shal] make

application to the board. The applicant shall file the

original application with six copies. The original ap-

plication shall be dated by the board and held in the

files of the board. A copy of the application shall be

App. 44

distributed promptly by the board to: the police de-

partment, the department of codes administration,

the health department, the fire department, and to

the applicant.

2 Application forms shall be available at the of-

fice of the board

3 The application form shall include all the in-

formation indicated in subsection 6.54.040(5)(a)

through (1).

4. The following persons must obtain a license:

any partner of a partnership who will participate in

the day to day operation of the business, any officer or

director of a corporate applicant, and any stockholder

holding a majority controlling percentage of the stock

of a corporate applicant and who will participate in

the day to day operation of the business.

5. The applicant shall furnish the following in-

formation under oath:

(a) Name and address, including all aliases

(business address is sufficient);

(b) Proof that the individual is at least eighteen

(18) years of age;

(c) All residential addresses of the applicant for

the past three (3) years (for the purpose of facill-

tating the police investigation into the applicants

criminal background),

(d) The business, occupation or employment of

the applicant for five (5) years immediately pre-

ceding the date of the application (for the pur-

pose of facilitating the police investigation into

the applicants criminal background);

App. 45

(e) Whether the applicant previously operated

in this or any other county, city or state under an

adult entertainment establishment license or

similar business license. Whether the applicant

has ever had such a license revoked or sus-

pended, the reason therefore, and the business

entity or trade name under which the applicant

operated that was subject to the suspension or

revocation;

(f) All violations, convictions, or any or pleas of

nolo contendere to any crime of rape, aggravated

rape, aggravated sexual assault, statutory rape,

rape of a child, sexual exploitation of a minor, in-

decent exposure, prostitution, patronizing prosti-

tution, promoting prostitution, obscenity, or other

similar crimes of a sexual] nature, or any crime

involving moral turpitude.

(g) All citations issued and sustained by a court

within the past two years for violations of any

provisions of the metropolitan zoning code appli-

cable to adult entertainment establishments, in-

cluding but not limited to sections 17.12.080(29),

17.60.020, 17.64.270.

(h) Fingerprints and two (2) portrait photo-

graphs at least two (2) inches by two (2) inches of

the applicant. (for the purpose of facilitating the

police investigation into the applicants cmminal

background)

(i) The address of the adult entertainment es-

tablishment to be operated by the applicant.

(j) Ifthe applicant is a corporation the applica-

tion shall specify the name of the corporation the

date and state of incorporation the name and ad-

dress of the registered agent and the name and

App. 46

address of all officers and directors of the corpo-

ration, and any stockholder holding a majority

controlling percentage of the stock of a corporate

applicant and who will be involved in the day to

day operation of the business.

(k) If the applicant is a partnership, joint ven-

ture, or any other type of business the applica-

tion shall specify the name and address of all

persons who will be involved in the day to day

operation of the business

(1) A statement by the applicant that he/she is

familiar with the provisions of this ordinance and

is in compliance with them.

6 If the applicant intends to have booth, stalls,

cubicles, or rooms on the premises for the purpose of

viewing sexually oriented movies, sexually onented

films, or adult videos, or sexually oriented live exhibi-

tions, then along with the application, the applicant

shall provide the board with his/her application a dia-

gram, drawn to scale, of the premises including but

not limited to the location and layout of all booths,

stalls, cubicles, or rooms and the location of the

clerk/managers stand or counter. Though the diagram

shall be drawn to scale, it does not have to be profes-

sionally prepared

B. Inspections.

1. The police department, codes department,

fire department, and health department shall, upon

receipt of a copy of the application, inspect the prem-

ises to insure that the establishment complies with

the metropolitan code including the applicable zoning

ordinances, fire code statutes, ordinances and regula-

tions, and the health code statutes, ordinances and

regulations.

App. 47

2. If a diagram is required to be submitted un-

der 6.54.040(A\(6), then the code inspector shall con-

firm the layout of the booths, stalls, cubicles, or rooms

complies with the submitted diagram and the re-

quirements set out in 6.54.050(A)

3. The police department, codes department,

fire department, and health department shall com-

plete their respective inspections and shall communi-

cate the results of their respective inspections to the

board in writing within thirty (30) days of receipt of

the application. The writing shall end with one of the

following statements:

The location at

complies with the relevant and applicable code

sections and applicable rules and regulations of

the board.

The location at

does not comply with the relevant and applicable

code sections or does not comply with the relevant

and applicable rules and regulations of the

board. It is in violation of the following provi-

sions Section numbers of code violations

4. All ongoing businesses shall be inspected in

accordance with 6.54.040(B)(1) and (2) regardless of

whether the business already has a valid use and oc-

cupancy permit.

5. If the building/structure has a valid use and

occupancy permit, the applicant shall provide the

board with a copy of the valid use and occupancy

permit which shall be made part of the file.

C. Board Action on Inspection Results.

1. Within twenty (20) days of receiving the

results of the investigation conducted by the police

App. 48

department, codes department, fire department, and

health department the board will meet and determine

if the applicant is in compliance with the applicable

statutes, ordinances, and regulations. If the board de-

termines that the applicant is in compliance with the

applicable statutes, ordinances, and regulations, in-

cluding but not limited to the zoning code, and the

applicant has not committed any of the crimes listed

in 6.54.040(A)(5)(f), is at least eighteen years of age,

and has not given any false or misleading information

on the application or omitted any material facts from

the application then the board shall grant the license.

2. Any applicant convicted of or who pleaded

nolo contendere to any crime of rape, aggravated rape,

aggravated sexual assault, statutory rape, rape of a

child, sexual exploitation of a minor, indecent expo-

sure, prostitution, patronizing prostitution, promoting

prostitution, obscenity, or other similar crime of a

sexual nature, or any crime involving moral turpitude

in any jurisdiction shall be ineligible to receive a

permit for the time period described below. Such de-

nial and the reason for the denial shall be mailed to

the applicant within ten (10) days of receiving the re-

sults of the investigation. The applicant may re-apply

to the board once the time period has expired

(a) If the conviction or plea was for a misde-

meanor violation then the applicant shall be in-

eligible to receive a permit for two (2) years from

the date of the conviction plea, or release from

confinement imposed for the conviction which-

ever is later.

(b) Ifthe conviction or plea was for a felony vio-

lation then the applicant shall be ineligible to re-

ceive a permit for five (5) years from the date of

the conviction, plea, or release from confinement

imposed for the conviction whichever is later.

App. 49

(c) The time is computed from the date of the

application to the date of the conviction, plea, or

release from confinement based on the convic-

tion.

3. If it is determined by the board, using the

application and the investigation information, that

the applicant has violated the provisions of the zoning

code applicable to adult entertainment within the

past two years, then the applicant is ineligible for a

license for one (1) year from the date the citation was

sustained. A violation of the zoning code shall be evi-

denced by a citation which has been sustained by any

court in the metropolitan area.

4. If a diagram is required under 6.54.040(A)(6)

and based on the code investigation, the board deter-

mines that the actual structure does not comply with

6 54 050(A) or the submitted diagram, then the appli-

cant is not in complhance with this code section and

the license shall be denied until the applicant is in

compliance.

5 If-in the course of the investigation it is dis-

covered any false or misleading statement or informa-

tion was given on the application, or material facts

were omitted from the application, the board shall

deny the application.

(a) The applicant shall be ineligible to re-

ceive a permit for one (1) year from the date of

the application which contained the misleading

statements or omissions unless the omission or

misleading statement referred to the age of the

applicant or any of the crimes listed in

6.54.040(A)(5)(f).

(b) If the misleading statements or omis-

sions referred to the age of the applicant, then the

applicant shall not be eligible to receive a license

App. 50

until all persons who will participate in the day

to day operation of the business are eighteen or

until one year has passed from the date of the

application which contained the misleading

statements or omissions whichever is longer.

(c) If the misleading statements or omis-

sions referred to any of the crimes listed in

6 54.040(A)(5)(f), then the applicant shall not be

eligible to receive a permit until the time period

described in 6 54.040(C)(2)(a) through (c) has ex-

pired or until one year has passed from the date

of the application which contained the mislead-

ing statements or omissions whichever is longer

6. Within twenty (20) days of receiving the re-

sults of the investigation conducted by the police de-

partment, codes department, fire department, and

health department, if the board shall determine that

the applicant is not in compliance with the applicable

statutes, ordinances, and regulations, the applicant

shall be notified in writing that the license is denied

for failing to comply with applicable statutes, ordi-

nances, and regulations This notice shall specify the

violation If the applicant can come into compliance as

described m subsections 6.54.040(D) the denial shall

not take effect The notice shall also specify that the

applicant may request a hearing within ten (10) days

as described in 6.54.040(E), cure the violation within

fifteen (15) days and request re-inspection or request

an extension of time as described in 6.54.040(D.).

7 The board has the discretion to hold any and

all applications for further investigation if: (a) the ini-

tial investigation indicates a need for additional in-

formation, or (b) the initial investigation requires

investigation into out of state records; or (c) verifica-

tion of out of state employment is needed. Such addi-

tional investigation shall not exceed an additional

App. 51

thirty (30) days, from the end of the initial twenty

(20) days specified in 6.54.040(C)(6), unless otherwise

agreed to by the applicant. Upon conclusion of such

additional investigation, the board shall advise the

applicant in writing whether the application is

granted or denied in accordance with this section.

8. Whenever an application is denied or held for

further investigation, the board shall advise the ap-

plicant in writing of the reasons for such action.

9. Failure or_refusal of the applicant to give any

information relevant to the investigation of the appli-

cation, or his or her refusal or failure to appear at any

reasonable time and place for examination under oath

regarding said application or his or her refusal to

submit to or cooperate with any investigation re-

quired by this ordinance, shall constitute an admis-

sion by the applicant that he/she is ineligible for such

license and shall be grounds for denial thereof by the

board. This in no way requires the applicant to agree

to additional time extensions beyond that allowed in

subsection 6.54.040(C)(7).

10. No license shall be issued unless the police

department has investigated the applicants criminal

history by entering the information included on the

application into the appropriate computer database or

otherwise obtaining the information. The results of

that investigation shall be filed in writing (this may

be the print-out given by the computer database) with

the board no later than thirty (30) days after the date

application was received by the police department.

This thirty (30) day period is the same thirty (30)

days described in 6.54.040(B)(3).

D. Extensions of Time for the Applicant

1. If the license is denied under subsection

6.54.040(C)(6), the applicant may re-institute his/her

App. 52

application by notifying the board in writing that

he/she has come into compliance and requests re-

inspection

(a) The applicant has fifteen (15) days from

the mailing of the notice, given in 6 54.040(C)(6)

to cure the violation and notify the board. If the

violations have been corrected within the fifteen

(15) day period, the owner has the responsibility

to contact the board.

(b) The board has five days to notify the

appropriate inspector that the applicant believes

he/she has come into compliance

(c) Upon notification by the board the ap-

propriate inspector shall return to the location

_ for re-inspection and shall submit another writ-

ten report as_ indicated in_ subsection

~ 6.54.040(B)(3). The inspector has ten (10) days

from the date he/she was notified by the board to

re-inspect the premises and inform the board as

to whether the applicant has come into compli-

ance.

(d) Based on the report of the inspector(s),

the board shall determine if the applicant has

come into compliance and if so the board shall is-

sue the license at the next regular meeting.

(e) Ifthe owner fails to either contact the ap-

propriate inspector to report that the code viola-

tions have been corrected or if the code violations

have not been corrected then the application is de-

nied in accordance with 6 54.040(C)(6)

2. If the process of curing the violation requires

more time than that provided in 6 54.040(D)(1), the

applicant may request an extension from the board If

App. 53

the applicant does not make such a request in the

time allotted the application is denied in accordance

with 6.54 040(C)(6) and 6.54 040(D)(3).

(a) The request for an extension must be made

in writing within fifteen (15) days from the mail-

ing of the notice given in 6.54.040(C)(6).

(b) The board shall hear the applicants request

for an extension at the next regular meeting.

(c) The hearing on the extension shall follow

the same rules as set out in 6.54.020(G) except

that the decision of the board shall grant or deny

the extension and a decision to grant an exten-

sion shall take effect immediately.

(d) An extension shall only be granted when

board decides that the applicant has demon-

strated a good faith effort to make the necessary

repairs or cure the violation(s) in a timely man-

ner.

3. If the applicant fails to follow the procedure

set out in 6.54.040(D)(1) including the time limit or

fails to get an extension within the time allowed and

in accordance with 6.54.040(D)(2) then the application

is denied and the applicant must reapply to obtain a li-

cense. Following the procedure set out in 6.54.940(D)(1)

or 6.54.040(D)(2) requires no additional fees. Once the

deadlines to cure the violation or ask for an extension

of time have passed, the notice sent in 6.54.040(C)(6)

shall be treated as a denial of the license.

FE. Denial of the License Application

1. When an application is denied, the applicant

has the right to request a hearing within ten (10)

days of notification.

App. 54

(a) The request shall be in writing and filed

with the board within ten (10) days of notifica-

tion of the denial.

(b) Once the request is received by the

board, the board shall schedule a hearing at the

next regular meeting of the board.

(c) At the hearing, the applicant may pre-

sent evidence as to why his/her license should

not be denied

(d) The board shall hear all relevant evi-

dence regarding the license application and the

denial and shall affirm or reject the denial of the

application at the hearing and in writing stating

the reasoning for the boards decision. Denial of

the application can be immediately appealed by

the applicant to the Chancery Court of Davidson

County. The metropolitan department of law may

initiate an action for a declaratory judgment

(e) The denial of the license shall be mailed

by US mail within ten (10) days to the address of

the applicant as listed on the application.

(f) Failure on the part of the applicant to

request a hearing within the time limit provided

is a waiver of the right to a hearing by the board.

This waiver has no effect whatsoever on the ap-

plicants right to appeal any denial to the Chan-

cery Court of Davidson County.

2. Any denial of an application for a license may

be immediately appealed to the Chancery Court of

Davidson County The metropolitan department of law

may institute proceedings for a declaratory judgment

App. 55

6.54.050 Standards for issuance of license.

A. Physical Layout of Adult Entertainment Establish-

ment.

1. Any adult entertainment establishment hav-

ing available for customers, patrons or members any

booth, room or cubicle for the private viewing of any

adult entertainment, including but not limited to

sexually oriented films, sexually oriented movies,

adult videos or sexually oriented live exhibitions,

shall submit a diagram under 6.54.040(A)(6) and the

diagram submitted must be substantially the same as

the structure observed by the inspector. Further, the

structure and the diagram shall comply with the fol-

lowing requirements:

2. Access. Each booth, room or cubicle shall be

totally accessible to and from aisles and public areas

of the adult entertainment establishment and shall be

unobstructed by any door, gate, lock or other control-

type devices.

3. Construction. Every booth, room or cubicle

shall meet the following construction requirements.

(a) Each booth, room or cubicle shall be

separated from adjacent booths, rooms and cubi-

cles and any nonpublic areas by a solid or opaque

wall;

(b) Have at least one side totally open to a

public lighted aisle so that there is an unob-

structed view at all times of anyone occupying

same,

(c) All walls shall be solid and without any

openings, extended from the floor to a height of

not less than six feet and be light colored, nonab-

sorbent, smooth textured and easily cleanable;

App. 56

(d) The floor must be light colored, nonab-

sorbent, smooth textured and easily cleanable;

and

(e) The lighting level of each booth, room or

cubicle when not in use shall be a minimum of

ten (10) foot candles at all limes as measured

from the floor.

4. Occupants. Only one individual shall occupy

a booth, room or cubicle at any time. No occupant of

same shall engage in «ny type sexual activity, cause

any bodily discharge or litter while in the booth. No

individual shall damage or deface any portion of the

booth.

5. The provisions enunciated in subsections 1

through 3 of this section shall not apply to bathrooms

unless the bathroom contains any equipment which

would allow the viewing of sexually oriented films,

sexually oriented movies, adult videos or sexually ori-

ented live exhibitions.

B. The applicant.

1. To receive a license to operate an adult enter-

tainment establishment, an applicant must meet the

following standards.

(a) Ifthe applicant is an individual the ap-

plicant shall be at least eighteen (18) years of

age

(b) Ifthe applicant is a corporation all offi-

cers directors and stockholders required to be

named under section 6.54.040(A)(5)(j) shall be at

least eighteen (18) years of age;

(c) If the applicant is a partnership, joint

venture, or any other type of organization where

two or more persons have a financial interest all

App. 57

persons having a financial interest in the busi-

ness and who have the ability to control or be in-

volved in the day to day operation of the business

shall be at least eighteen (18) years of age.

2 No individual applicant, no officer, director or

stockholder required to be named under Section

6.54.040(A)(5)j) and no partners required to be

named under Section 6.54.040(A)(5)(k) who shall have

been convicted of or have plead nolo contendere to any

crime of rape. aggravated rape, aggravated sexual as-

sault, statutory rape, rape of a child, sexual exploita-

tion of a minor, indecent exposure, prostitution,

patronizing prostitution, promoting prostitution, ob-

scenity, or other similar crime of a sexual nature, or

any crime involving moral turpitude in any jurisdic-

tion shall be eligible to receive a permit for the time

period described below.

(a) If the conviction or plea was for a mis-

demeanor violation then the applicant shall be

ineligible to receive a permit for two (2) years

from the date of the conviction, plea, or release

from confinement imposed for the conviction

whichever is later.

(b) Ifthe conviction or plea was for a felony

violation then the applicant shall be ineligible to

receive a permit for five (5) years from the date of

the conviction, plea, or release from confinement

imposed for the conviction whichever is later.

(c) The time is computed from the date of

the application to the date of the conviction, plea,

or release from confinement based on the convic-

tion. ;

3. The applicant shall not have given any false

or misleading information on the application, or omit-

ted any material facts from the application.

App. 58

(a) If the applicant gave any false or mis-

leading information or omitted any material

facts, than the applicant shall be ineligible to re-

ceive a license for one year from the date of the

application which contained the misleading state-

ments or omissions unless the omission or mislead-

ing statement referred to the age of the applicant

or any of the crimes listed in 6.54.050(B)(2).

(b) If the misleading statements or omis-

sions referred to the age of the applicant, then

the applicant shall not be eligible to receive a li-

cense until he/she is eighteen or until one year

has passed from the date of the application

which contained the misleading statements or

omissions whichever is longer.

(c) If the misleading statements or omis-

sions referred to any of the crimes listed in

6.54.050(B)(2) then the applicant shall not be elli-

gible to receive a permit until the time period de-

scribed in 6.54.050(B)(2)(a) through (c) has

expired or until one year has passed from the

date of the application which contained the mis-

leading statements or omissions whichever is

longer.

(d) If the misleading statements or omis-

sions referred to violations of the zoning code

then the applicant shall not be eligible to receive

a permit until the time period described in

6.54 050(B)(4) has expired or until one year has

passed from the date of the application which

contained the misleading statements or omis-

sions whichever is longer.

4. No applicant shall have been found to have

previously violated chapter 6.54 or violated the metro-

politan zoning code applicable to adult entertainment

App. 59

establishments, including but not limited to sections

17 12.080(29), 17.60.020, 17 64.270 as evidenced by ci-

tations issued and sustained by a court within one (1)

year immediately preceding the date of the applica-

tion. If such violations exist the applicant shall be in-

eligible for a license for one (1) year from the date the

citation was sustained

6.54.060 Permit Required.

In addition to the license requirements previously set

forth for owners and operators of adult entertainment

establishments no person shall be an entertainer in

an adult entertainment establishment without first

obtaining a valid permit issued by the board

6.54.070 Application for permit.

A. Application.

1. Any person desiring to secure a permit shall

make application to the board. The original applica-

tion with four copies shall be filed with and dated by

the board. A copy of the application shall be distrib-

uted promptly by the board to the metropolitan nash-

ville police department, and to the applicant.

2. The application for a permit shall be upon a

form provided by the board. An applicant for a permit

shall furnish the following information under oath:

(a) Name and address including all aliases,

(b) Written proof that the individual is at

least eighteen (18) years of age,

(c) All residential addresses of the appli-

cant for the past three (3) years (for the purpose

App. 60

of facilitating the police investigation into the

applicants criminal background);

(d) The applicants height, weight, color of

eyes, and hair(for the purpose of facilitating the

police investigation into the applicants criminal

background);

(e) The business, occupation, or employ-

ment of the applicant for five (5) years immedi-

ately preceding the date of the application (for

the purpose of facilitating the police investiga-

tion into the applicants criminal background);

(f) Whether the applicant while previously

operating in this or any other city or state under

an adult entertainment establishment permit or

similar business: for whom applicant was em-

ployed or associated at the time has ever had

such a permit revoked or suspended the reason

therefor and the business entity or trade name

for whom the applicant was employed or associ-

ated at the time of such suspension or revocation;

(g) Whether the applicant has ever been

convicted of or pleaded nolo contendere to any

and all crimes of rape, aggravated rape, aggra-

vated sexual assault, statutory rape, rape of a

child, sexual exploitation of a minor, indecent ex-

posure, prostitution, patronizing prostitution,

promoting prostitution, obscenity, or other simi-

lar crime of a sexual nature, or any crime involv-

ing moral turpitude in any jurisdiction;

(h) Fingerprints and two (2) portrait photo-

graphs at least two (2) inches by two (2) inches of

the applicant (for the purpose of facilitating the

police investigation into the applicants criminal

background); and

B.

App. 61

(i) Astatement by the applicant that he/she

is familiar with the provisions of this ordinance

and is in compliance with them.

Standards for Issuance of Permit.

1 To receive a permit as an entertainer, an ap-

plicant must meet the following standards:

(a) The applicant shall be at least eighteen

(18) years of age;

(b) An applicant who has been convicted of

or who pleaded nolo contendere to any crime of

rape, aggravated rape, aggravated sexual assault,

statutory rape, rape of a child, sexual exploitation

of a minor, indecent exposure, prostitution, pa-

tronizing prostitution, promoting prostitution, ob-

scenity, or other similar crime of a sexual nature,

or any crime involving moral turpitude in any ju-

risdiction shall be ineligible to receive a permit

for the time period described below.

(i) If the conviction or plea was for a mis-

demeanor violation then the applicant shall

be ineligible to receive a permit for two (2)

years from the date of the conviction, plea,

or release from confinement imposed for the

conviction whichever is later.

(ii) If the conviction or plea was for a fel-

ony violation then the applicant shall be in-

eligible to receive a permit for five (5) years

from the date of the conviction, plea, or re-

lease from confinement imposed for the con-

viction whichever is later.

(iii) The time is computed from the date of

the application to the date of the conviction,

App. 62

plea, or release from confinement based on

the conviction.

(c) The applicant shall not have given any

false or misleading information on the applica-

tion, omitted any material facts from the applica-

tion.

(i) Ifthe applicant gave any false or mis-

leading information or omitted any material

facts, then the applicant shall be ineligible

to receive a permit for one year from the

date of the application which contained the

misleading statements or omissions unless

the omission or misleading statement re-

ferred to the age of the applicant or any of

the crimes listed in 6 54.070(A)(2)(g)

(ii) If the misleading statements or omis-

sions referred to the age of the applicant,

then the applicant shall not be eligible to re-

ceive a permit until he/she is eighteen or un-

til one year has passed from the date of the

application which contained the misleading

statements or omissions whichever is longer

(iii) If the misleading statements or omis-

sions referred to any of the crimes listed on

6.54.070(A\(2)(g) then the applicant shall

not be eligible to receive a permit until the

time period described in 6.54.070(B)(1)(b)()

through (ii) has expired or until one year

has passed from the date of the application

which contained the misleading statements

or omissions whichever is longer.

(d) The applicant shall not have been found

to violate any provision of chapter 6.54 within

one (1) year immediately preceding the date of

the application

App. 63

C_ Investigation.

The police department shall investigate the criminal

history of the applicant and submit this history in

writing (this may be the print-out generated by a

computer database) to the board within thirty (30)

days of receipt of the application by the police de-

partment.

D Board Action Based on the Investigation.

1. The board shall convene to review the appli-

cation and the police investigation report within fif-

teen (15) days of receiving the results of the

investigation conducted by the police department. If

the board determines, based on the application and

the report of the police department that the applicant

has not committed any of the crimes listed in

6.54 070(A)(2)(g), is at least eighteen years of age, and

has not given any false or misleading information on

the application or omitted any material facts from the

application the board shall grant the permit to the

applicant at that meeting. Information regarding

prior residence shall never be the basis for the denial

of a permit.

2. Any applicant convicted of or who pleaded

nolo contendere to any crime of rape, aggravated sex-

ual assault, statutory rape, rape of a child, sexual ex-

ploitation of a minor, indecent exposure, prostitution,

patronizing prostitution, promoting prostitution, ob-

scenity, or other similar crime of a sexual nature, or

any crime involving moral turpitude in any jurisdic-

tion shall be ineligible to receive a permit for the time

period described below. Such denial and the reason

for the denial shall be mailed to the applicant with

in ten (10) days of the meeting described above in

6.54.070(D)\(1). The applicant may re-apply to the

App. 64

board once the time period described below has ex-

pired.

(a) If the conviction or plea was for a mis-

demeanor violation then the applicant shall be

ineligible to receive a permit for two (2) years

from the date of the conviction, plea, or release

from confinement imposed for the conviction

whichever is later.

(b) Ifthe conviction or plea was for a felony

violation then the applicant shall be ineligible to

receive a permit for five (5) years from the date of

the conviction, plea, or release from confinement

imposed for the conviction whichever is later.

(c) The time is computed from the date of

the application to the date of the conviction, plea,

or release from confinement based on the sonvic-

tion.

3. If in the course of the investigation it is dis-

covered any false or misleading statements or infor-

mation was given on the application, or material facts

were omitted from the application, the board shall

deny the application.

(a) The applicant shall be ineligible to re-

ceive a permit for one year from the date of the

application which contained the misleading

statements or omissions unless the omission or

misleading statement referred to the age of the

applicant or any of the crimes listed in

6.54.070(A)(2)(g).

(b) If the misleading statements or omis-

sions referred to the age of the applicant, then

the applicant shall not be eligible to receive a

permit until he/she is eighteen or until one year

has passed from the date of the application

App. 65

which contained the misleading statements or

omissions whichever is longer.

(c) If the misleading statements or_omis-

sions referred to any of the crimes listed in

6.54.070(A)(2)(g) then the applicant shall not be

eligible to receive a permit until the time period

described in 6.54.070(D)(2)(a) through (c) has ex-

pired or until one year has passed from the date

of the application which contained the mislead-

ing statements or omissions whichever is longer.

4. The board may hold any and all applications

for further investigation if (a) the initial investigation

indicates a need for additional information; or (b) the

initial investigation requires investigation into out-of-

state records, or (c) verification of out of state em-

ployment is needed Such additional investigation

shall not exceed an additional thirty (30) days unless

otherwise agreed to by the applicant. Upon conclusion

of such additional investigation, the board shall ad-

vise the applicant in writing whether the application

is granted or denied in accordance with this section.

5. Whenever an application is denied or held for

further investigation, the board shall advise the ap-

plicant in writing of the reasons for such action.

6 When an application is denied, the applicant

has the right to requests a hearing within ten (10)

days of receipt of notification of the denial.

(a) The request shall be in writing and filed

with the board within ten (10) days of receipt of

notification of the denial.

(b) Once the request is received by the

board, the hearing will be held at the next regu-

lar meeting of the board.

App. 66

(c) At the hearing, the applicant may pre-

sent evidence as to why his/her permit should not

be denied.

(d) The board shall hear evidence on the is-

sues and shall affirm or reject the denial of an

application at the hearing and in writing stating

the reasoning for the boards decision.

(e) The denial of the permit shall be mailed

by US mail within ten (10) days to the address of

the applicant as listed on the application.

(f) Failure on the part of the applicant to

request a hearing within the time limit provided

is a waiver of the right to a hearing by the board.

This waiver has no effect whatsoever on the ap-

plicants right to appeal any denial to the Chan-

cery Court of Davidson County.

7. Any denial of the application for a permit

may be immediately appealed to the Chancery Court

of Davidson County. The metropolitan department of

law may also initiate proceedings for a declaratory

judgment in the Chancery Court of Davidson County.

8. Failure or refusal of the applicant to give any

information relevant to the investigation of the appli-

cation or his or her refusal or failure to appear at any

reasonable time and place for examination under oath

regarding said application or his/her refusal to submit

to or cooperate with any investigation required by

this ordinance shall constitute an admission by the

applicant that he/she is ineligible for such permit and

shall be grounds for denial thereof by the board. This

provision in no way requires the applicant to agree to

any extensions beyond the extension described in

6.54.070(D)(4).

App. 67

6.54.080 Fees.

A. A license fee of five hundred dollars ($500.00)

shall be submitted with the application for a license.

If the application is denied one-half ('4) of the fee

shall be returned.

B. A permit fee of one hundred dollars ($100.00)

shall be submitted with the application for a permit.

If the application is denied one-half ('/) of the fee

shall be returned.

6.54.090 Display of license or permit.

A. The license shall be displayed in a conspicuous

public place in the adult entertainment establish-

ment.

B_ The permit shall be carried by or be accessible to

the entertainer during that entertainer’s working

hours and shall be displayed upon request of any cus-

tomer, any member of the police department, or any

person designated by the board

C. If the business for which a license was issued

ceases to exist in that a majority of the business as-

sets have been liquidated, or the business has closed

and ceased operations, then the license shall be

turned into the board.

6.54.100 Besawal of license or permit.

A. Every license/permit issued pursuant to this or-

dinance will terminate at the expiration of one (1)

year from the date of issuance unless sooner revoked

and must be renewed before operation is allowed in

the following year

App. 68

B. Any operator desiring to renew a license or any

entertainer desiring to renew a permit shall make

application to the board The application for renewal

must be filed not later than sixty days (60) days be-

fore the license/permit expires. The original applica-

tion for renewal plus six copies shall be filed and

dated by the board.

C. The board shall send a copy to the same depart-

ments who would receive a copy of the initial applica-

tion. These departments shall process the application

in the same manner and within the same time limits

which apply to the initial application

D. The board shall provide the applicant with a copy

of the application from the previous year and a new

application form.

E The renewal form shall be the same form de-

scribed in 6.54.040(A) for a license and 6.54.070(A) for

a permit except as indicated below in subsection

6.54.100(H).

F. For a renewal the applicant may fill out the new

form in its entirety or fill in any information which

has changed over the year and is now different than

the information indicated on the application from the

prior year.

G. If the applicant chooses to only include informa-

tion concerning items which have changed he/she will

swear to the accuracy of both the information con-

tained in the renewal form and the information at-

tached from the prior year.

H. The renewal application form shall be the same

form described in 6.54.040(A) for a license or

6.54.070(A) for a permit except the final line shall state:

I swear the information I have given in the appli-

cation from 199_ is still accurate and any facts or

App. 69

circumstances which have changed are indicated

in thi pplication for a renewal of the license/

pel

signature of applicant

I. A license renewal fee of five hundred dollars

($500.00) shall be submitted with the application for

renewal. In addition to the renewal fee, a late penalty

of one hundred dollars ($100.00) shall be assessed

against the applicant who files for a renewal less than

sixty (60) days before the license expires. If the appli-

cation is denied, one-half ('/2) of the fee collected shall

be returned

J. A permit renewal fee of one hundred dollars

($100.00) shall be submitted with the application for

renewal. In addition to said renewal fee, a late pen-

alty of tifty dollars ($50.00) shall be assessed against

the applicant who files for renewal less than sixty (60)

days before the license expires. If the application is

denied, one-half ('/.) of the fee shall be returned.

K The application for a renewal is subject to the

same rules and limitations including the time limits de-

scribed for the initial application including subsections

6 54.040, 6.54 050, 6.54.070, and 6.54.140 (causes for

revoking a license/permit) Giving false or misleading in-

formation or omitting material information on a re-

newal application is grounds for denying the renewal

of the license/permit

L. Denial of an application to renew a license/permit

can be appealed to the board

1. A hearing by the board shall be re-

quested, by the applicant or the applicants agent,

within t } of the denial for the renewal.

App. 70

2 The board shall hold the hearing at the

next regular meeting where the applicant will be

given an opportunity to testify and cross examine

all witnesses.

3. The previous license/permit shall con-

tinue to be valid until the board has rendered a

decision and the ten days required in subsection

6.54.020(G)(3) have passed.

M. The denial of any renewal for a license/permit

may be appealed to the Chancery Court of Davidson

County by the applicant. The metropolitan depart-

ment of law may initiate proceedings for a declaratory

judgment in the Chancery Court for Davidson County.

6.54.110 Hours of operation.

A. All adult entertainment establishments shall be

closed between the hours of 2:00 a.m. and 6:00 a.m.

Monday through Saturday and between the hours of

3:00 a.m. and 12:00 noon on Sundays.

B. All public areas of every adult entertainment es-

tablishments shall be open to inspection at any time

during normal business hours by the following de-

partments: police, codes, fire, and health.

6.54.120 Responsibilities of the operator.

A. An operator is responsible for the conduct of all

entertainers while on the licensed premises and any

act or omission of any entertainer constituting a vio-

lation of the provisions of this ordinance shall be

deemed the act or omission of the operator for pur-

poses of determining whether the operator’s license

shall be revoked, suspended, or renewed subject to

the limit described in subsection 6.54.140(11)

App. 71

BT shall be posted and conspicuously displayed

mon areas of each adult entertainment es-

t of any and all entertainment pro-

mises Such list shall further indicate

ce or charge in dollar amounts for each

ntertainment hsted. Viewing sexually oriented mo-

tion pictures, sexually oriented films, sexually ori-

ented movies, sexually oriented live entertainment or

adult videos shall be considered entertainment.

C No employee of an adult entertainment estab-

lishment shall allow any minor to loiter around or to

frequent an adult entertainment establishment or to

allow any minor to view adult entertainment as

deemed herein.

D. Every adult entertainment establishment shall

ically arranged in such a manner that the en-

tire interior portion of the booths, cubicles, rooms or

stalls, wherein adult entertainment is provided, shall

be visible from the common area of the premises hav-

ing at least one side totally open to a public lighted

aisle so that there is an unobstructed view at all

times of anyone occupying same. Visibility shall not

be blocked or obscured by doors, curtains, partitions,

drapes, or any other obstruction whatsoever. Further

any wall forming any portion of the booths, cubicles,

rooms or stalls shall be solid and without any open-

ng xtended from the floor to a height of not less

r} section shall be construed in con-

1 O50(A)

iwful to install enclosed booths, cu-

or stalls for the purpose of secluded

wing of sexually oriented motion pictures, sexually

riented movies, sexually oriented films or adult vid-

ly oriented live entertainment

App. 72

F The operator shall be responsible for and shall

provide that any booth, cubicle, room, stall or area

used for the purpose of viewing sexually oriented mo-

tion pictures, sexually oriented movies, sexually ori-

ented films or adult videos or sexually oriented live

entertainment shall be readily accessible at all times

and shall be continuously opened to view in its en-

tirety.

-

G. No operator, entertainer of an adult entertain-

ment establishment shall demand or collect all or any

portion of a fee for entertainment before its comple-

tion. This provision does not apply to any fee charged

at the door for admittance to the premises, or any fee

charged for food or beverages.

H. A sign shall be conspicuously displayed in the

common area of the premises, and shall read as fol-

lows:

This Adult Entertainment Establishment is regu-

lated by The Metropolitan Code of Nashville and

Davidson County (Code Section #s). Entertainers

Are

a Not permitted to engage in any type of sex-

ual conduct;

b Not permitted to demand or collect all or

any portion of a fee for entertainment before its com-

pletion

I. It shall be the duty of the operator, all entertain-

ers and employees, on the premises for furthering the

business, not including independent contractors on

the premises for repairs or construction, to ensure

that the line of sight and view area between the main

floor area and any stalls, booths, cubicles, or rooms

remains unobstructed by any doors, walls, merchan-

dise, display racks or other materials at all times that

App. 73

any patron is permitted access to any room, booth,

stall, or cubicle.

J. It shall be the duty of the operator, all entertain-

ers and employees on the premises for furthering the

business, not including independent contractors on

the premises for repairs or construction, to ensure

that the illumination described above is maintained

at all times that any patron is present on the prem-

ises.

K No operator, entertainer or employee on the prem- -

ises for furthering the business not including inde-

pendent contractors on the premises for repairs or

construction, shall allow openings of any kind to exist

between viewing rooms, booths, stalls or cubicles, and

no person shall make or attempt to make an opening

of any kind between viewing rooms, booths, stalls or

cubicles.

L. The operator or his/her agent shall, during each

business day, regularly inspect the walls between the

viewing rooms, booths, stalls or cubicles to determine

if any openings or holes exist. If such openings exist it

is the duty of the operator to repair the damage as

soon as possible. No patron shall be permitted access

to a viewing room, booth, stall or cubicle where an

opening or a hole exists. It shall be the duty of the op-

erator to ensure those rooms are unoccupied by pa-

trons until the opening is repaired and covered.

6.54.130 Prohibitions and unlawful sexual acts.

A. No operator, entertainer, or employee of an adult

entertainment establishment shall permit to be per-

formed, offer to perform, perform, or allow customers

employees or entertainers to perform sexual inter-

course or oral or anal copulation or other contact

stimulation of the genitalia.

App. 74

B_ No operator, entertainer, or employee shall en-

courage or permit any person upon the premises to

touch caress or fondle the breasts, buttocks, anus, or

genitals of any other person

C. No entertainer, employee, or customer shall be

permitted to have any physical contact with any other

entertainer, employee, or customer on the premises

during any performance All performances shall only

occur upon a stage at least eighteen inches (18) above

the immediate floor level and removed at least six (6)

feet from the nearest customer.

6.54.140 Revocation or suspension of license/permit.

A. The board shall revoke a license or permit for any

of the following reasons:

1. Discovery that false or misleading in-

formation or data was given on any application,

or material facts were omitted from any applica-

tion,

2. The operator or entertainer becomes in-

eligible to obtain a license or permit under

6.54.050(B) and 6.54.070(B).

3. Any cost or fee required to be paid by

this ordinance is not paid;

4. An operator employs an entertainer who

does not have a permit or provides space on the

premises whether by lease or otherwise to an in-

dependent contractor who performs or works as

an entertainer without a permit;

5. Any intoxicating liquor, cereal malt bev-

erage, narcotic, or controlled substance is sold or

allowed to be sold on the licensed premises;

App. 75

6. Any operator employee or entertainer

sells, furnishes, gives, displays, or causes to be

sold, furnished, given, or displayed to any minor

any adult entertainment or sexually oriented

material,

7. Any operator, employee, or entertainer

denies access to law enforcement personnel dur-

ing business hours to any portion of the licensed

premises wherein adult entertainment is permit-

ted or to any portion of the licensed premises

wherein adult material is displayed or sold;

8. Any operator allows continuing viola-

tions of the metropolitan code or the rules and

regulations of the following departments: health,

codes, fire, or zoning, or any violations of this

chapter.

9. Any operator fails to maintain the li-

censed premises in a clean, sanitary and safe

condition in accordance with the applicable stat-

utes, ordinances, and regulations of the federal,

state, and local governments.

10. The attempted transfer of a_ license/

permit or any interest in a license/permit shall

automatically and immediately revoke the li-

cense

B. In the case of a first offense by an operator where

the conduct was solely that of an entertainer the pen-

alty shall not exceed a suspension of thirty (30) days

if the board shall find that the operator had no actual

or constructive knowledge of such violation and could

not by the exercise of due diligence have had such ac-

tual or constructive knowledge.

Me

App. 76

C Any and all other violations of this chapter shall

be subject to either a fine or a suspension or both a

fine and a suspension.

D_ The board shall follow the following procedure for

revoking or suspending a license or a permit.

1. Before revoking or suspending any li-

cense or permit the board shall give the operator

or entertainer least ten (10) days written notice

of the charges against him/her. In such cases the

charges shall be specific and in writing except

under 6.54.140(A)(10) above

2. The licensee/permittee shall have the

opportunity for a hearing before the board at

which time the operator or entertainer may pre-

sent evidence bearing upon the question of sus-

pension/revocation. The licensee/permittee has

fifteen days from the receipt of the notice de-

scribed above in 6.54.140(D)(1) to notify the

board that he/she wishes to have a hearing.

3. The board shall hear all the evidence

pertaining to the revocation or suspension at the

next regular meeting.

4. If the licensee/permittee fails to request

a hearing before the board within the fifteen

days described in 6.54.140(D)(2) he/she will have

waived the right to a hearing by the board. This

has no effect, whatsoever, on the _ licensee’s/

permittee’s right to appeal any revocation to the

Chancery Court of Davidson County.

5 If the licensee/permittee requests a hear-

ing the license/permit shall remain in effect and

valid during the appeal to the board until such

time as the hearing is held. Further if the

App. 77

license/permit is suspended or revoked the sus-

pension/revocation shall not go into effect until

the minimum ten (10) day waiting period has

passed as described in 6.54.020(G)(3).

E. Any operator or entertainer whose license or

permit is revoked shall not be eligible to receive a li-

cense or permit for one (1) year from the date of revo-

cation :

6.54.150 Penalties and prosecutions.

A. Any individual, partnership, or corporation vio-

lating any of the provisions of this chapter shall be

subject to any of the following penalties:

1. $500 00 for each offense; and/or

2. a suspension of any license/permit for a

specified period of time for each offense; or

3. revocation of any license/permit for any

conduct listed in subsection 6.54.140.

B. The penalty of suspension may not be combined

with revocation A fine alone can be a penalty or it

may be combined with a suspension.

C. Each violation of this ordinance shall be consid-

ered a separate offense and any continuing violation

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.