Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Mitchell v. Continental Airlines, Inc. (No. 06-1626)

Supreme Court brief2007

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Sn The

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

a

MARILYN MITCHELL, KEVIN BALE,

AND SUSAN BOORSTEIN,

Petitioners,

V.

CONTINENTAL AIRLINES, INC. AND

INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF MACHINISTS

AND AEROSPACE WORKERS,

Respondents.

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Fifth Circuit

+

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

¢

STUART M, NELKIN*

CAROL NELKIN

JAY P. NELKIN

NELKIN & NELKIN, P. C.

5417 Chaucer

Houston, TX 77005

713-526-4500

“Counsel of Record Attorneys for Petitioners

COOKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO) si 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT 102) 342 283)

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether employees covered by the RLA must al-

lege unfair representation by their union as a

prerequisite to obtaining district court review of

the award of a Railway Labor Act Board despite

express language in the RLA authorizing any

employee aggrieved by the terms of an award of

the Board to file suit.

What constitutes “due notice” as required by

§ 153 First (j) of the RLA.

Whether employees subject to the RLA must ex-

haust administrative remedies in order to attack

a decision of an RLA Board rendered without no-

tice to the employees.

Whether employees subject to the RLA may as-

sert independent claims under the Constitution

for denial of due process when the deprivation of

rights related to actions by an RLA Board.

LIST OF PARTIES

The parties below are listed in the caption of the case.

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED .......cccccscscoscccsscsssescssscasessees i

I a sl shabu nmeeniboniis li

TR OE FAT Te EM one csccnecccccessccsccvecsssecesescosssess vi

EE Gl FAR OI vs ecencncsncesceneenesesccciensacenaccnnccass xii

TO ss cctateniiaeaanbacioeh 1

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION ..................cccccsseeeees 1

STATUTORY AND CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

a eaeitaeaalipant hab 1

STAT ICMISINT OF TPUS CASES o...ccccccccccccsccsccossccncccncsensss 3

ic (oI SII cs cacancaecaiensssnecbaednsatiaxdassdeeks 5

I I a culinanedinad 6

Oe, PE TR oa ead 7

REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE OF THE WRIT ........... 9

I REVIEW IS WARRANTED TO RESOLVE

CONFLICTS REGARDING WHETHER EM-

PLOYEES MUST ESTABLISH UNFAIR

REPRESENTATION BY THEIR UNION AS A

PREREQUISITE TO OBTAINING JUDICIAL

REVIEW OF THE AWARD OF AN RLA

BOARD DESPITE EXPRESS LANGUAGE IN

THE RLA AUTHORIZING ANY EMPLOYEE

AGGRIEVED BY A BOARD AWARD TO FILE

RIE canbe eilsdinia Ritnneintaie tins scsied eiics tac ashi ieubkuieninedite 9

A. The Fifth Circuit Is The First Court Of

Appeals To Make Unfair Representation

By A Union A Prerequisite To Judicial Re-

view Of The Decision Of An RLA Board ..... 9

IT.

IT.

1V

TABLE OF CONTENTS — Continued

Page

B. The Fifth Circuit Decision Is Contrary To

The Plain Language Of The RLA................

C. The Fifth Circuit Decision Conflicts With

This Court And Other Circuits By Failing

To Recognize The Differences Between The

RLA And The NLRA And LMRA.................

D. The Fifth Circuit's Acknowledgment That

A Conflict Exists With The Third Circuit’s

Decision In McQuestion v. N.J. Transit

Rail Operations While Attempting To Dis-

tinguish That Case Underscores The

Breadth Of The Fifth Circuit’s Ruling And

Emphasizes The Need For Review By This

REVIEW SHOULD BE GRANTED TO RE-

SOLVE CONFLICTS REGARDING WHAT

CONSTITUTES “DUE NOTICE” UNDER

§ 153 FIRST (j) OF THE RLA.....cesssesssssessecsseeen

REVIEW SHOULD BE GRANTED TO RE-

SOLVE CONFLICTS REGARDING WHETHER

AN “AGGRIEVED” EMPLOYEE UNDER § 153

FIRST (q) OR AN “INVOLVED” EMPLOYEE

UNDER §153 FIRST Gg) MUST EXHAUST

REMEDIES PRIOR TO FILING SUIT................

REVIEW SHOULD BE GRANTED TO RE-

SOLVE A CONFLICT AMONG THE CIRCUITS

REGARDING WHETHER EMPLOYEES SUB-

JECT TO THE RLA MAY ASSERT CLAIMS

UNDER THE CONSTITUTION FOR DENIAL

OF DUE PROCESS WHEN THE DEPRIVA-

TION OF RIGHTS RELATES TO ACTIONS BY

SiS TEE ssitiasiccrcnsinieasasiinnsannsaysusninisntinnangies

13

16

18

22

TABLE OF CONTENTS -— Continued

Page

A. A Conflict Exists Among The Circuits Re-

garding Whether Employees Who Assert

Rights Under The RLA May Assert Inde-

pendent Claims Under The Due Process

Clause Of The Constitution................:s00 26

B. A Conflict Exists Among The Circuits As

To Whether Due Process Claims Are Cog-

nizable Under The Railway Labor Act It-

WEE wiinitbinindsineinsicincmiogienmets 29

II ssisviseanvsntninscdiinisnnscaeeentisyncheisisckabuulabguivanies 30

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

FEDERAL CASES

Acuff v. United Papermakers & Paperworkers, 404

F.2d 169 (1968), cert. denied, 89 S.Ct. 1466 (1969) .. 9, 13

Air Line Pilots Ass’n Intern. v. Texas Intern. Air-

lines, Inc., 567 F. Supp. 66 (S.D. Tex. 1983) ................. 18

Allain v. Tummon, 212 F.2d 32 (7th Cir. 1954) ............... 21

Allen v. CSX Transportation, Inc., 22 F.3d 1180

eh MI ictus ica cticaniaibnixadesinsinkahsRcuianehediadssenanknernberdye 15

Armstrong Lodge No. 762 v. Union Pacific R.R., 783

a ee en SME ROPE iin éiascaxasccdtackinsissatcbinnctxaianceincons 29

Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railway Co. v.

Buell, 480 U.S. 557, 107 S.Ct. 1410, 94 L.Ed.2d

Re Nese aici cc icsase sastinacalacensakeiertacatiaisesannes 27, 28

Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Ry. v. United

Transp. Union, 175 F.3d 355 (5th Cir. 1999)........... 13, 29

Brock v. Republic Airlines, Inc., 776 F.2d 523 (5th

NN II Cia since chukka ivhbendaaagannieechhasiunehbekawniiacanneliihwanteas 10

Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers v. St. Louis

Southwestern Ry. Co., 757 F.2d 656 (5th Cir.

Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen v. Central of

Georgia Railway Company, 415 F.2d 403 (Sth

I I Sactb idlcnnas canals actin anessnicaaianesamya connie iabncicisanen 24

Brotherhood of Ry., Airline, and Steamship Cierks,

Freight Handlers, Express & Station Employees

v. St. Louis Southwestern Ry. Co., 676 F.2d 132

RN MII Sil cnknad cuba vckabudasednsneninceueankanckaeninasgbcbesinbhnads 19

Chandler v. American Airlines, Inc.,1992 WL 72955

SN NI REE TOR RUUD Sc chiccicinsadicaneviigniissdbcosnenesenveiavanhas 15

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Chernak v. Southwest Airlines, Co., 778 F.2d 578

CI Re sate ice tacccatianrsnetnvcecniaamienntnamianniin 13

Cole v. Erie Lackawanna Ry., 541 F.2d 528 (6th Cir.

I itindihscishakiosiisncguinia isis onniciblectnsnandiaatanlladainiahaduions 20

Colletti v. N. J. Transit Corp., 2992 WL 1769006 (3d

Te IED cadiennsceaivicdcnsssacibdcadveenueeaciadincnees 15

Communications Workers of America v. Beck, 487

Se ee IE theses inn dtisincenictiiiahdiechssiseibanseohatie dedlanbiichin isi irwnanie 13

Continental Airlines, Inc. v. International Brother-

hood of Teamsters, 391 F.3d 613 (5th Cir. 2004),

cert. denied, 126 S.Ct. 331. (2005) ..........0csccccccorccssesereone 13

Coppinger v. Metro-North Commuter Railroad, 861

ee a REY ED cictsesitsisckinndieaechaulbniaianianniarsnnians 28, 29

Davila v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 326 F.3d 1183 (11

Cir.), cert. denied, 540 U.S. 1016 (2008) ............... eee 15

Davis v. Passman, 442 U.S. 228, 99 S.Ct. 2264, 60

RMIT SU TTES scsiniipasa-cnavaianindceciodineuenabinabibeanresdnbsinn 29

D’Elia v. New York, N.H. & H. R.R., 338 F.2d 701,

702 (2d Cir. 1964) (per curiam), cert. denied, 380

U.S. 978, 85 S.Ct. 1340, 14 L.Ed.2d 272 (1968)............ 29

Edwards v. Universal Parcel Service, Inc., 2001 WL

Fr TR Ce a GA Bian ikceccsstnssiestinsenetstnanscnces 10

Elgin, J. & E. Ry. Co. v. Burley, 325 U.S. 711, 65

Bs ee icin kscickdascade naaciasniciiiendberstecaioiimaomciaseidans 21

Elmore v. Chicago & Illinois Midland Railway

Company, 782 F.2d 94 (7th Cir. 1986) ..............202 26, 27

English v. Burlington Northern Railroad Co., 18

Fen Pk CR Ba crits ckeccacsnuanéscaccnnicinans 20, 22, 27, 29

Finnerty v. Cowen, 508 F.2d 979 (2d Cir. 1974)................ 25

vill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Goff v. Dakota, Minnesota & E. R.R. Corp., 276 F.3d

ee ee Rr SE A chceinccanscpsicsaanniteraciaicaveiuninibionsdioniveanienene 29

Hall v. Eastern Air Lines, Inc., 511 F.2d 663 (5th

SIE NE eich cincahinshtasietadosqeesnianbivansepiannbninesadibniiinwnbinens 12, 29

Hawaiian Airlines, Inc. v. Norris, 512 U.S. 246, 114

S.Ct. 2289, 129 L.Bd.2d 203 (1994) ............sescccccssssssssees 11

Hayes v. Western Weighing & Inspection Bureau,

S38 F.2d 1434 (Sth Cir, 1988).........sssscsccssrescsessssocssveees 29

Henry v. Delta Air Lines, 759 F.2d 870 (11th Cir.

a eb Nachclistntckade visi tdvepnibniaiuadaukcidisanunsdueaiociseltes 13, 15, 30

INS v. Cardoza-Fonseca, 480 U.S. 421, 107 S.Ct.

ROOT |; OE Ec Be ABE (IOC) cvsisstissassssiievccnssvccovestescesensces 16

International Association of Machinists v. Central

Airlines, Inc., 372 U.S. 682, 83 S.Ct. 956, 10

a EE LRU esis ids ccineesnvahaceonabiiteduibusiebsiasedinsiis 11,12

International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers v.

Foust, 442 U.S. 42, 99 S.Ct. 2121 (1979) ........ eee ee cees 14

Jones v. Seaboard Sys. R.R., 783 F.2d 639 (6th Cir.

NET cis easakucdusic iis eiauceskiainbacecrcaeacutbanciauibeiaiiisadviiccinss 30

Kimross v. Utah Ry. Co., 362 F.3d 658 (10th Cir.

SUPP clatsniiiir nis iceuenpuaibe SbaiaieaiNG sa dasincapsiaakitmsecduamapiaaibedunsea ih edian 30

Landry v. Airline Pilots Association Intern. AFL-

CHP, Oi P.Be 406 (Gtk Cie. LOGO) ......0.ccccsececsccscscesccse00s 10

McNair v. United States Postal Service, 768 F.2d

ee Ey Sibi d cic inden nicinuicnishdetneinousonvadcendiel 9, 13,14

McQuestion v. New Jersey Transit Rail Operations,

Inc., 892 F.2d 352 (3d Cir. 1990) ............cccccccccccsccsess 16,17

Meeks v. Illinois Cent. Gulf R.R., 738 F.2d 748 (6th

SG ME ana taiaiteialit cininn sce casintannsdik eodeincasanianseuidarbuntciesenidinntane 22

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

O’Neill v. Public Law Bd. No. 550, 581 F.2d 692

CPi Coie BT avi cxccetaae a aeaiclasd aster ncinsececcscneeeee. 20, 21

Parsons v. Continental Airlines, Inc., 2007 WL

S TGAZS CTE Cae i ee i ontacccnvcsscsesiscvcccsssvsasiesss 15

Pokuta v. Trans World Airlines, Inc., 191 F.3d 834

CPi Cr Fe nc cae i eaheciscéanscicoveccesss 29

Radin v. United States, 699 F.2d 681 (4th Cir. 1983)....... 29

Rosen v. Eastern Air Lines, 400 F.2d 462 (5th Cir.

1968), cert. denied, 394 U.S. 959, 89 S.Ct. 1307,

FD 1c FE Be a i ish ascncieksnneatscesesccscsccsons. 29

Shafti v. PLC British Airways, 22 F.3d 59 (2d Cir.

SOD) wn ins cicccsicccccetecc cata ei erie iceivivoksesssesss 27, 29

Soileau v. Southwest Airlines Co., 2000 WL

1273394 (5th Cir, August 23, 2000) ............0cccssscsvecreeess 16

Steffens v. Brotherhood of Ry., Airline & SS.

Clerks, TOT F.2d 242 (7G Cit, TRB) .onn..ccccescscsscssccccccess 29

Stevens v. Teamsters Local 2707, Airline, Aerospace

and Allied Employees, 504 F. Supp. 332 (W.D.

2 TR) GARR SR ES EE 15

Steward v. Mann, 351 F.3d 1338 (11th Cir.

DOGS) wisnscsicueccnndinssnsieeeeeainlatmasesseuninn 11, 12, 18, 20, 25

Trial v. Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway Co.,

SOG Fee TI Ce Pe iiakekiensncrniccissccescecsecce.e0s.. 10

Union Pacific Railroad Co. v. Sheehan, 439 U.S. 89,

99 S.Ct. 399, 58 L.Ed.2d 354 (1978) ..............cccceeeeee 15, 25

United Sies'workers ef Am. Local 1913 v. Union

R.R. Co., G48 F.2d 905 (Sd Cir. 1981)..............ccccccscsssess 30

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

eens ec MIF ssickinciskccncssenns digesravapesasenssinesiions 2, 26 29

FEDERAL STATUTES

Be ED eth si rsinsansecocnnaticnsiuisieinisstnalitesaknciabamaube 1

Be NN a EE As chcatccconctitsepahdttenahadecasnenenadshadabanninaasicuasanaadae 26

I RPA ee sii sank eviatinnsskdciansniccainhasnica euerbonaban 1

ee sai ciicsicckcininitts tu catecaceiaanl 3, 9, 13, 14, 26

es AF EE daiesisandsacastclabosessanciacsddciphamosanen 3, 9, 13, 14, 26

Ee es ana aceine vgasnichacasicianiaiadeimmponainaatiaami 28, 29

BF ERE WO iiktiicnsinicdernninmionienbaneneiaial passim

Ne eae MINE siscnhssinconindeessnusaecaueaneabawnbandoaieakeenaea passim

PO RE ets ie OO BU Hi sichcnnicnintcasizcbenidcediccetanscieiaracensiehnaonanacialdieaiaal 3

BF Cea RR Ginsbs vias hssctinhatiaihaniduniphnkccindépneacoliaaniadielanta 12, 16

RULES OF THE UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT

TUONO: TAS siinccstninrisisnenidacedeactdiaenacinaniennas 1

SI TD sissies xiicnesiiaxsitn anniacecctipalnnibncocimouiambacteialdidedecbiieat iis xin ciated 1

MISCELLANEOUS

S. Rep. No. 1201 (1966), 1966 U.S. Code Cong. and

SRR; TOG i, BE sive hiacscsvinessicincauteanantaceented 12

TABLE OF APPENDICES

Page

Appendix A — Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Fifth Circuit dated March 7,

BITE sipilaseccavikoieris douselosatveictes iacctablaniukanticaden seblaubinbia App. 1

Appendix B - Memorandum Opinion and Order of

the United States District Court for the Southern

District of Texas dated and filed August 5, 2005 .... App.

Appendix C — Decision of the Chairman and Award

of the Board In the Matter of Arbitration be-

tween International Association of Machinists

District 142 and Continental Airlines, Inc. dated

eee tReet Ope eloke Diane rns eee App.

Appendix D —- Decision of the Chairman and Award

of the Board In the Matter of Arbitratiou be-

tween International Association of Machinists

District 142 and Continental Airlines, Inc. (not

Appendix E — Statutory and Constitutional Provi-

OUI URN OE wiisiisss txctncesscconterticvinmenihiuvenussccitiignes App.

Appendix F — Declaration of Marilyn Mitchell Islava .. App.

Appendix G — Declaration of Kevin Bale....................- App.

Apper ‘ix H — Declaration of Susan Boorstein............ App.

Appendix I — Declaration of Andrea Estelle............... App.

17

47

.o7

64

67

77

83

93

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Fifth Circuit is reported at 481 F.3d 225 (5th Cir.

2007). Appendix A. The Fifth Circuit affirmed the decision

of the United States District Court for the Southern

District of Texas which is reported at 2005 WL 2708192 (S.

D. Tex. August 5, 2005). Appendix B.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1).

The Fifth Circuit entered its judgment on March 7,

2007. Appendix A. No petition for rehearing or rehearing

en banc was filed. The present petition is timely filed

under 28 U.S.C. § 2101(c) and under Rules 13.1 and 30 of

this Court.

STATUTORY AND CONSTITUTIONAL

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

45 U.S.C. § 153 provides:

§ 153. National Railroad Adjustment Board

First. Establishment; composition; powers and

duties; divisions; hearings and awards; judicial

review

There is established a Board, to be known as the

“National Railroad Adjustment Board”, the members of

which shall be selected within thirty days after June 21,

1934, and it is provided —

* KK

(j) Parties may be heard either in person, by coun-

sel, or by other representatives, as they may respectively

elect, and the several divisions of the Adjustment Board

2

shall give due notice of all hearings to the employee or

employees and the carrier or carriers involved in any

disputes submitted to them.

* *

(q) If any employee or group of employees, or any

carrier, is aggrieved by the failure of any division of the

Adjustment Board to make an award in a dispute referred

to it, or is aggrieved by any of the terms of an award or by

the failure of the division to include certain terms in such

award, then such employee or group of employees or

carrier may file in any United States district court in

which a petition under paragraph (p) could be filed, a

petition for review of the division’s order. A copy of the

petition shall be forthwith transmitted by the clerk of the

court to the Adjustment Board. The Adjustment Board

shall file in the court the record of the proceedings on

which it based its action. The court shall have jurisdiction

to affirm the order of the division or to set it aside, in

whole or in part, or it may remand the proceeding to the

division for such further action as it may direct. On such

review, the findings and order of the division shall be

conclusive on the parties, except that the order of the

division may be set aside, in whole or in part, or remanded

to the division, for failure of the division to comply with

the requirements of this chapter, for failure of the order to

conform, or confine itself, to matters within the scope of

the division’s jurisdiction, or for fraud or corruption by a

member of the division making the order. The judgment of

the court shall be subject to review as provided in sections

1291 and 1254 of Title 28.

The United States Constitution, Amendment V

provides:

No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or

otherwise infamous crime, unless on a presentment or

indictment of a Grand Jury, except in cases arising in the

3

land or naval forces, or in the Militia, when in actual

service in time of War or public danger; nor shall any

person be subject for the same offense to be twice put in

jeopardy of life or limb; nor shall be compelled in any

criminal case to be a witness against himself, nor be

deprived of life, liberty, or property, without due process of

law; nor shall private property be taken for public use,

without just compensation.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioners are flight attendants employed by Conti-

nental Airlines, Inc. in a bargaining unit represented by

the International Association of Machinists and Aerospace

Workers. Petitioners filed suit in the Southern District of

Florida seeking to vacate two related decisions of an RLA

Board rendered May 17, 2002.

On August 5, 2005, following transfer to the Southern

District of Texas, the district court entered judgment for

Continental and the IAM. Although Petitioners properly

brought their claims under the provisions of the Railway

Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. § 151 et seg. and the fifth amend-

ment, the district court, relying solely on cases interpret-

ing the provisions of the National Labor Relations Act, 29

U.S.C. § 151 et seg. and the Labor Management Relations

Act, 29 U.S.C. § 141 et seq., found that Petitioners lacked

standing to sue due to their failure to allege a breach of

the duty of fair representation against the LAM. Appendix

B, App. 38-39.

Petitioners asserted before the Fifth Circuit, and they

assert here that the Railway Labor Act, which is applica-

ble to the airline industry,’ differs from the NLRA and

the LMRA in that the RLA specifically authorizes any

' In 1936, Congress extended the RLA to cover the air transporta-

tion industry. 45 U.S.C. §§ 157-159.

4

employee aggrieved by the decision of an RLA Board to

seek review in federal district court. 45 U.S8.C. § 153 First

(q). Despite the express language of the RLA granting

employees such as Petitioners the right to prosecute a suit

in federal court to vacate an RLA Board decision, the Fifth

Circuit held:

Today, we logically extend our holdings in

McNair and Acuff to RLA cases, concluding that

when a CBA that is formed pursuant to the RLA

establishes a mandatory, binding grievance pro-

cedure and gives the union the exclusive right to

pursue claims on behalf of aggrieved employees,

one whose employment is governed by the CBA

lacks standing to attack the results of the griev-

ance process in court, except only that an em-

ployee has standing to bring a claim of unfair

representation.

Appendix A, App. 16.

The proceedings before the Board whose decision

Petitioners sought to have vacated, were based upon the

grievances of six flight attendants, including Mitchell and

Bale. These grievances complained of Continental’s retro-

actively and arbitrarily adversely adjusting the particular

grievant’s non-competitive seniority dates.’ The individual

grievants also contended that Continental had control over

calculating the flight attendants’ non-competitive seniority

dates, but failed to properly monitor or correctly calculate

these dates. The Board found:

* Continental’s flight attendants accrue different types of seniority:

pay, vacation, jump seat and pass riding, bidding and company service

seniority. Bidding seniority was not adjusted and is not at issue. The

seniority involved in this case is “non-competitive seniority.” No posting

or regular communication regarding non-competitive seniority has ever

been afforded Continental’s flight attendants.

5

[A] careful record of when an individual re-

turned to work from a leave of absence for pur-

poses of his or her seniority was not always

maintained. Adjustment was made for periods of

inactivity taken by some individuals when they

returned to work, but not for others.

Appendix C, App. 53. The Board also found that in many

instances, flight attendants who raised questions about

their seniority dates then had their seniority adversely

adjusted. Appendix C, App. 50-51.

A. Petitioner Mitchell: Mitchell began flying for

Continental on February 25, 1969. For 27 years, that date

was used as Mitchell’s pass riding seniority date. In 1996,

Continental changed Mitchell’s pass riding seniority date

without her knowledge. When Mitchell asked why less

senior flight attendants were boarding a flight before her,

she learned that her jump seat and pass riding seniority

had been retroactively adjusted for a company-offered

leave that she had taken years earlier. Several other

retroactive adjustments of her seniority occurred without

Mitchell’s knowledge.

After many attempts, Mitchell was permitted by the

LAM to file a grievance complaining about the unjustified,

inaccurate retroactive adjustments of her seniority.

Mitchell’s grievance was denied at both the step one and

step two levels by Continental. During the pendency of the

* Since 1969, company-offered leaves have been offered to Conti-

nental’s flight attendants in seniority order to alleviate the impact of

overstaffing and base closings. Company-offered leaves benefit Conti-

nental by encouraging senior higher paid flight attendants to take

unpaid leave resulting in fewer junior flight attendants being fur-

loughed. In this manner, Continental lowers its costs by having lower

paid flight attendants on duty, and does not have to pay furlough pay to

its junior flight attendants as required by the CBA. Appendix A, App. 3-

4,n.2.

6

grievance, Continental advised Mitchell on August 8, 2000

that her seniority had once again been adversely adjusted,

although she had not taken any other leaves of absence.

Mitchell attended both days of the Board hearing.

During a short recess on the second day of the hearing,

IAM’s attorney told Mitchell for the first time that she

would have to present her grievance by herself. When the

hearing reconvened, Mitchell was called to present her

claims. Mitchell was extremely upset and told the Board

members that she was not an attorney, and did not know

how to proceed. Despite the obvious lack of fairness, no

member of the Board did anything to intervene. Continen-

tal’s attorney was permitted to cross examine Mitchell who

was left with no one to object to improper questions.

Appendix F, App. 67-71; 73-74; Appendix I, App. 95-96.

B. Petitioner Bale: Bale was hired by Continental

as a flight attendant on July 1, 1987. In 1991, Bale ac-

cepted a company-offered leave. Continental did not advise

Bale or its other flight attendants that it would adjust the

service dates of those who accepted this company-offered

leave.

In 1993, Continental asked for volunteers to take

company-offered leave. Bale took 5 months of company-

offered leave at that time. The CBA in effect when Bale

took the company-offered leave did not indicate that a

flight attendant accepting a company-offered leave would

have his or her seniority adjusted as a result.‘ In 1994,

Bale took 2 months of company-offered leave. In 1995,

* Language indicating that a flight attendant’s seniority would be

adjusted for taking a company-offered leave does not appear in any

CBA until 1996.

Bale took his last company-offered leave which lasted 5

months.

Under the CBA, Bale should have received an addi-

tional week of vacation in July 1997 on his tenth anniver-

sary with Continental. When he did not receive this

additional week of vacation, he inquired, and was told he

would obtain the ten year vacation seniority date the

following year. However, when he inquired about the extra

week of vacation in 1998, he was told that his vacation

seniority date had been adversely adjusted again, even

though he had not taken any leave since 1995. On August

15, 2000, Bale filed grievances complaining of unfair

adjustment of his seniority. His grievances were denied at

the step one and step two levels.

Bale was given very little notice that the Board

hearing would take place. During his testimony, Bale was

stunned when, without warning to him, counsel for [AM

told the Board that Bale had filed grievances which the

IAM did not support, and that Bale would be presenting

those grievances on his own behalf. Bale was not prepared

to do so either by training or by having been given any

notification that it would be his responsibility to present

his grievance on his own.

Although it was apparent that Bale was surprised by

the actions of LAM’s attorney, the Board took no action to

prevent Bale’s being required to present his own griev-

ance. Appendix G, App. 77-82; Appendix I, App. 94-95.

C. Petitioner Boorstein: Boorstein began working

for Continental as a flight attendant on November 11,

1968. Over the years, Boorstein had taken several com-

pany-offered leaves but was unaware that her seniority

dates could be adjusted for taking such leave. Boorstein

did not know that her seniority had been adjusted until

less senior flight attendants were permitted to board a

flight ahead of her. When Boorstein inquired, she was told

for the first time that her seniority date had been adjusted

to a date in 1971.

Boorstein was not a party to the Board proceedings

discussed above. However, sometime after May 17, 2002,

Boorstein learned that the Board had issued a Decision

and Award that affected her seniority rights and those of

all other Continental flight attendants. Boorstein was not

given notice of the scheduled hearing prior to the hearing,

nor was she afforded any opportunity to present testimony,

seek relief, or otherwise participate in the Adjustment

Board proceedings.

When Boorstein read the Board’s Decision, she discov-

ered that, under its terms, a flight attendant would have

the responsibility to prove, without adequate access to the

information necessary, that her non-competitive seniority

had been retroactively adjusted during the two year period

prior to May 17, 2000. Boorstein and the other flight

attendants were advised by Continental and IAM that

anyone making a claim under the Board’s Decision was

subject to having Continental make adverse adjustments

to his or her seniority dates. Boorstein knew that obtain-

ing documents from Continental’s HR Department was

extremely difficult, and because she was aware that most

flight attendants who attempted to obtain their records or

otherwise inquired about their seniority dates were

subjected to arbitrary adverse adjustments of those dates,

Boorstein was too frightened to file a claim seeking to have

her seniority restored. Based upon her prior experiences

with Continental’s HR Department, Boorstein had a well

grounded belief that the only result of her attempting to

comply with the Board’s Decision would be that her

seniority dates would again be adversely adjusted. Appen-

dix H, App. 83-85.

9

REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE OF THE WRIT

I. REVIEW IS WARRANTED TO RESOLVE CON-

FLICTS REGARDING WHETHER EMPLOYEES

MUST ESTABLISH UNFAIR REPRESENTA-

TION BY THEIR UNION AS A PREREQUISITE

TO OBTAINING JUDICIAL REVIEW OF THE

AWARD OF AN RLA BOARD DESPITE EX-

PRESS LANGUAGE IN THE RLA AUTHORIZ-

ING ANY EMPLOYEE AGGRIEVED BY A

BOARD AWARD TO FILE SUIT.

A. The Fifth Circuit Is The First Court Of Ap-

peals To Make Unfair Representation By A

Union A Prerequisite To Judicial Review Of

The Decision Of An RLA Board.

The Fifth Circuit has now held for the first time in the

lengthy history of the RLA that where a CBA under the

RLA creates a mandatory binding grievance procedure

giving the union the exclusive right to represent employ-

ees in the grievance process, employees covered by the

CBA lack standing to attack the results of the grievance

process in court unless the employees bring a claim of

unfair representation against the union. In reaching this

opinion, the Fifth Circuit acknowledges that it has for the

first time extended its holdings in McNair v. United States

Postal Service, 768 F.2d 730 (5th Cir. 1985) and Acuff v.

United Papermakers and Paperworkers, 404 F.2d 169

(1968), cert. denied, 89 S.Ct. 1466 (1969), cases applicable

to the LMRA and the NLRA, to all claims brought pursu-

ant to the RLA.

The Fifth Circuit’s decision affects the rights of

thousands of Continental employees as well as the rights

of hundreds of thousands of employees working in indus-

tries covered by the RLA with regard to access to the

federal courts. The Fifth Circuit decision adversely im-

pacts the rights of these employees by severely restricting

10

the types of claims that may be brought under the RLA

and by effectively changing the Congressionally mandated

statute of limitations applicable to cases seeking review of

the decision of RLA Boards.

For example, prior to the Fifth Circuit ruling, an

employee covered by the RLA had the right to make a

claim for breach of the duty of fair representation but was

not required to do so. See Landry v. Airline Pilots Associa-

tion Intern. AFL-CIO, 901 F.2d 404, 411 (5th Cir. 1990).

Such a claim could be brought separately or as part of a

“hybrid” action joining a claim against the employer. Both

a claim for breach of the duty of fair representation and a

hybrid claim have six month statutes of limitations. In

contrast, a claim under the RLA for review of a Board

award on the basis that the Board failed to comply with

RLA requirements, that the Board exceeded its jurisdic-

tion, or that there was fraud or corruption by a Board

member has a two year statute of limitations. Trial v.

Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway Co., 896 F.2d 120,

125-26 (5th Cir. 1990); Brock v. Republic Airlines, Inc., 776

F.2d 523, 526-27 (5th Cir. 1985); Edwards v. Universal

Parcel Service, Inc., 2001 WL 777414 (6th Cir. July 5,

2001). The Fifth Circuit’s unwarranted rewrite of the RLA

should be reviewed by this Court.

B. The Fifth Circuit Decision Is Contrary To

The Plain Language Of The RLA.

The Railway Labor Act at 45 U.S.C. § 153 First (q)

provides:

If any employee, or group of employees, or

any carrier, is aggrieved by the failure of any di-

vision of the Adjustment Board to make an

award in a dispute referred to it, or is aggrieved

by any of the terms of an award or by the failure

of the division to include certain terms in such

11

award, then such employee or group of employees

or carrier may file in any United States district

court in which a petition under paragraph (p)

could be filed, a petition for review of the divi-

sion’s order.

The RLA was amended in 1936 to bring the airline

industry under its provisions. At that time, 45 U.S.C.

§ 153 dealing with the National Railroad Adjustment

Board was not made applicable to the airline industry.

In Hawaiian Airlines, Inc. v. Norris, 512 U.S. 246,

248, 114 S.Ct. 2239, 129 L.Ed.2d 203 (1994), this Court

made it clear that 45 U.S.C. § 153 is applicable to the

airline industry.

In Steward v. Mann, 351 F.3d 1338 (11th Cir. 2003),

the Eleventh Circuit held that 45 U.S.C. § 153 First (j)

should be applied to proceedings before an airline Board

despite the early statutory language excepting § 153 from

applicability to the airline industry. The Eleventh Circuit

based its holding in Steward on prior rulings of this Court

stating:

[W]jhen the Supreme Court confronted the ques-

tion of whether there was a federal cause of ac-

tion to enforce an award of an airline adjustment

board, it looked to the entirety of the RLA, rather

than just those provisions which Congress ex-

pressly applied to the airline industry. Interna-

tional Association of Machinists v. Central

Airlines, Inc., 372 U.S. 682, 685-89, 83 S.Ct. 956,

958-61, 10 L.Ed.2d 67 (1963). The Court con-

cluded that Congress intended that the awards of

airline adjustment boards be enforceable by a

federal cause of action, based on the RLA’s pur-

pose of quickly and finally resolving employee

grievances to avoid strikes. Jd. at 687, 690, 83

S.Ct. at 959, 961. The Court went on to suggest

that courts confronted with similar questions in

the future should consult other provisions of RLA

12

which do not expressly apply to airline adjust-

ment boards:

the provisions of a § 204 [codified at 45

U.S.C. § 184] contract, such as those

governing the composition of the ad-

justment board, the procedures to be

employed as to notice and hearing or for

breaking deadlocks, or the finality to be

accorded board awards, are to be judged

against the Act and its purposes and

enforced or invalidated in a fashion con-

sistent with the statutory scheme. Id.

at 694, 83 S.Ct. at 963.

Id. at 1344-45 (emphasis added).

After this Court’s 1963 holding in JAM v. Central

Airlines, Congress amended the RLA. The legislative

history regarding the 1966 amendments states that:

The principal purpose of the bill is to elimi-

nate the large backlog of undecided claims of

railroad employees pending before the National

Railroad Adjustment Board, to expedite disposi-

tion of grievances and disputes over the interpre-

tation and application of agreements, and to

provide equal opportunity for limited judicial re-

view of awards of the Board to employees and

employers. |

S. Rep. No. 1201 (1966), 1966 U.S. Code Cong. and Adm.

News, pp. 2285-86 (emphasis added).

The “limited judicial review” referred to in the legisla-

tive history is found at 45 U.S.C. § 153 First (q) and

requires an employee seeking to overturn the decision of

an RLA Board to demonstrate either that (a) the Board did

not follow the requirements of the RLA, (b) the Board

exceeded its jurisdiction, or (c) the Board acted fraudu-

lently or corruptly. 45 U.S.C. §153 First (q); Hall v.

Eastern Air Lines, Inc., 511 F.2d 663, 664 (5th Cir. 1975);

13

Chernak v. Southwest Airlines, Co., 778 F.2d 578, 580-81

(10th Cir. 1985); Henry v. Delta Air Lines, 759 F.2d 870,

872 (11th Cir. 1985); Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers

v. St. Louis Southwestern Ry. Co., 757 F.2d 656, 660-61

(5th Cir. 1985); Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Ry. v.

United Transp. Union, 175 F.3d 355, 357 (5th Cir. 1999);

Continental Airlines, Inc. v. International Brotherhood of

Teamsters, 391 F.3d 613, 617 (5th Cir. 2004), cert. denied,

126 S.Ct. 331 (2005).°

C. The Fifth Circuit Decision Conflicts With

This Court And Other Circuits By Failing

To Recognize The Differences Between The

RLA And The NLRA And LMRA.

The Fifth Circuit reviewed Petitioners’ claims under

case law interpreting the provisions of the National Labor

Relations Apt, \29 U.S.C. §§ 151 et seq. and the Labor

Managemént Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. §§141 et seq.

Neither McNair v. United States Postal Service, 768 F.2d

730 (5th Cir. 1985) nor Acuff v. United Papermakers and

Paperworkers, 404 F.2d 169 (5th Cir. 1968), cert. denied, 89

S.Ct. 1466 (1969), the cases relied upon by the Fifth

Circuit as the basis for its ruling involved RLA claims.

The Fifth Circuit’s failure to assess Petitioners’ claims

under the proper standard resulted in their erroneous

dismissal because the prerequisites for a party’s seeking to

overturn the decision of an RLA Board differ greatly from

those required under the NLRA and the LMRA, See, e.g.,

Communications Workers of America v. Beck, 487 U.S. 735

(1988) (unlike the NLRA, the RLA establishes no agency

charged with administering its provisions, and instead

* As discussed in Section III, numerous courts have additionally

held that a fourth ground for overturning a Board decision is that the

Board denied the parties fundamental due process.

14

leaves it to the courts to determine validity of activities

challenged under the Act).

Unlike the RLA, in NLRA and LMRA cases, an ag-

grieved worker whose employment is governed by a

binding CBA normally lacks standing independently to

initiate grievance procedures or to contest such procedures

in court. McNair, 768 F.2d at 735. However, if a claimant

under the NLRA or the LMRA is able to demonstrate that

his union breached its duty of fair representation, he may

sue both the union and his employer for breach of the

agreement. Id.

These differences between the statutes were acknowl-

edged by this Court in International Brotherhood of

Electrical Workers v. Foust, 442 U.S. 42, 99 S.Ct. 2121

(1979) wherein this Court held:

Vaca involved a union certified under the

National Labor Relations Act and a collective-

bargaining agreement that permitted employees

to initiate the grievance process, but precluded

them from personally pursuing arbitration once

grievance procedures were exhausted. 386 U.S.

at 175 n.3, 87 S.Ct. at 909. The Railway Labor

Act is somewhat more solicitous of individual

rights. It authorizes employees who are unsuc-

cessful at the grievance level to seek relief in

their own right from the National Railroad Ad-

justment Board. §§3 First (i), (j), 45 U.S.C.

§§ 153 First (i), (j).

Id. at 49 n.11. The RLA also allows employees who are

aggrieved by the decisions of a Board to appeal to the

district court. 45 U.S.C. § 153 First (q).

Because Mitchell and Bale did not pursue a claim of

breach of the duty of fair representation, the Fifth Circuit

held that they did not have standing to challenge the

Board decision. Moreover, the Fifth Circuit expanded its

15

ruling on Petitioners’ individual claims to ali claims arising

under the RLA. If permitted to stand, the Fifth Circuit’s

opinion has effectively rewritten the statutory scheme

created by Congress as set forth in 45 U.S.C. § 153 First (q).

By failing to apply the statutory provisions of 45

U.S.C. § 153 First (q) to the claims brought by Mitchell

and Bale and by failing to acknowledge the differences

between the statutory framework for claims brought by

aggrieved employees under the RLA, the Fifth Circuit

created a conflict between its holding and the holdings of

this Court and numerous Courts of Appeals which have

held that employees in the airline and railroad industries

may sue to vacate the decision and award of an RLA Board

without having to allege a claim for unfair representation.

See, Union Pacific Railroad Co. v. Sheehan, 439 U.S. 89,

99 S.Ct. 399, 58 L.Ed.2d 354 (1978); Parsons v. Continen-

tal Airlines, Inc., 2007 WL 174428 (11th Cir. Jan. 24, 2007);

Davila v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 326 F.3d 1183 (11th Cir.),

cert. denied, 540 U.S. 1016 (2003); Henry v. Delta Air

Lines, 759 F.2d 870 (11th Cir. 1985); Allen v. CSX Trans-

portation, Inc., 22 F.3d 1180 (D.C. Cir. 1994); Colletti v. N.

J. Transit Corp., 2992 WL 1769006 (3d Cir. July 31, 2002);

Chandler v. American Airlines, Inc., 1992 WL 72955 (10th

Cir. April 10, 1992) (claim against union for breach of duty of

fair representation is a discrete claim quite apart from right

of individual employees expressly extended to them under

the RLA to pursue their employer before the Board); Stevens

v. Teamsters Local 2707, Airline, Aerospace and Allied

Employees, 504 F. Supp. 332 (W.D. Wash. 1980) (airline

employees covered by RLA have same statutory mght

individually to process grievances as railroad industry

employees).°

* The Fifth Circuit itself had previously ruled that a Board had

jurisdiction to hear a flight attendant’s complaints regarding termination

(Continued on following page)

16

Given the frequency with which disputes arise under

the terms of the RLA and given the conflicts that exist

among the Circuits, review of this important issue affect-

ing thousands of workers in the United States workforce

should be granted.

D. The Fifth Circuit’s Acknowledgment That A

Conflict Exists With The Third Circuit’s

Decision In McQuestion v. N.d. Transit Rail

Operations While Attempting To Distin-

guish That Case Underscores The Breadth

Of The Fifth Circuit’s Ruling And Empha-

sizes The Need For Review By This Court®

Numerous courts have relied upon the express lan-

guage of 45 U.S.C. § 153 First (q) to find that employees

covered by the RLA may seek judicial review of a ruling of

an RLA Board without alleging a claim of unfair represen-

tation. These courts, including this Court, have adhered to

the sound principle of law that if Congressional intent is

clear from the plain words of a statute, application of other

means of construction is unnecessary and unwarranted.

INS v. Cardoza-Fonseca, 480 U.S. 421, 445 n.29, 107 S.Ct.

1207, 94 L.ind.2d 434 (1987) (court must give effect to the

unambiguously expressed intent of Congress).

The wording of 45 U.S.C. § 153 First (q) could not be

clearer; yet the Fifth Circuit has gone to great length to

contort the clear meaning of the statutory language and to

import into the RLA extraneous concepts from other laws

which clearly were not intended by Congress to be appli-

cable to the railroad and airline industries.

and the airline’s failure to follow the terms of a CBA under 45 U.S.C.

§ 184, and that limited review of that decision may be heard upon the

filing of a suit in district court pursuant to 45 U.S.C. § 153. Soileau uv.

Southwest Airlines Co., 2000 WL 1273394 (5th Cir. August 23, 2000).

17

In discussing McQuestion v. New Jersey Transit Rail

Operations, Inc., 892 F.2d 352 (3d Cir. 1990), the Fifth

Circuit acknowledged that the Third Circuit found that

the plain language of 45 U.S.C. § 153 First (q) provides

individual employees standing to bring a petition for

review of an arbitral hearing initiated under the RLA.

However, the Fifth Circuit then limited the clear language

of the statute to employees with “uniquely individual

grievances.” Of course, nothing in the statute refers to

“uniquely individual grievances.” Moreover, the Fifth

Circuit underscored its hostility to the plain language of

the statute and its applicability to Petitioners’ claims by

announcing:

We do not foreclose and need not decide to-

day whether an individual employee may ever

bring such “uniquely individual claims,” render-

ing him the “real party in interest,” such that

§ 153 First (q) provides him standing to bring an

RLA claim. Rather, under the facts presented

here and those of our precedent, an aggrieved

employee will generally lack standing to bring an

RLA action.

Appendix A, App. 15, n.24. Contrary to the rulings of this

Court and to all other Circuits that have addressed the

issue, the Fifth Circuit has now indicated an intent to

write out of the RLA the express right of any employee to

seek redress in the district court.’

* The Fifth Circuit’s attempt to distinguish McQuestion on the

basis that McQuestion addressed “uniquely individual grievances” as

opposed to the general grievance brought by the IAM, is belied by the

fact that the initial Decision of the Board indicates it was hearing the

individual grievances of Mitchell, Bale and four other individuals.

Appendix C, App. 47. It is not until the second Decision of the Board

that a reference to a general grievance appears. See, Appendix D, App.

57. Even after the inclusion of the general grievance, the Board

(Continued on following page)

18

In light of the extreme interpretation of the RLA by

the Fifth Circuit which has created a conflict among the

Circuits and in light of the importance of the issue to so

many people who would benefit: from this Court’s clarifica-

tion of the statutory provisions involved, Petitioners

respectfully urge the Court to grant this Petition for Writ

of Certiorari.

II. REVIEW SHOULD BE GRANTED TO RESOLVE

CONFLICTS REGARDING WHAT CONSTI-

TUTES “DUE NOTICE” UNDER § 153 FIRST Gj)

OF THE RLA.

Petitioner Boorstein and some 9,000 other Continen-

tal flight attendants received no notice of the Board

hearing at which evidence was taken, and following which,

a Decision and Award was issued impacting their seniority.

The RLA, however, contains the following provision:

Parties may be heard either in person, by coun-

sel, or by other representatives, as they may re-

spectively elect, and the several divisions of the

Adjustment Board shall give due notice of all

hearings to the employee or employees and the

carrier or carriers involved in any disputes sub-

mitted to them.

45 U.S.C. § 153 First (j).°

Contrary to the clear language of § 153 First (j), the

Fifth Circuit held that Boorstein and those similarly

situated were not entitled to any notice whatsoever because

addressed the individual claims and made findings specific to the six

individuals involved.

* The RLA’s “due notice” provisions are applicable to the operations

of airline adjustment boards. Steward v. Mann, 351 F.3d at 1344-45; Air

Line Pilots Ass’n Intern. v. Texas Intern. Airlines, Inc., 567 F. Supp. 66,

76-77 (S.D. Tex. 1983).

19

the IAM had notice, and notice to the union would be

deemed sufficient notice to all those covered by the CBA.

Appendix A, App. 11-12.

The standard set by the Fifth Circuit in the instant

case effectively eliminates the due notice provision of the

RLA since by definition, anyone whose rights are being

determined by a Board is covered by the CBA. In reaching

its decision, the Fifth Circuit relied upon selected lan-

guage in Brotherhood of Railroad, Airline, & Steamship

Clerks, Freight Handlers, Express & Station Employees v.

St. Louis Southwestern Ry. Co., 676 F.2d 132, 136 (5th Cir.

1982) in which the court stated:

We are convinced, therefore that the Board

is obligated to notify an employee (or his repre-

sentative) of any proceeding that may result in

that employee’s losing his position. This re-

quirement should not prove burdensome in most

instances, since a letter of notification to one or

two union representatives normally will ensure

that all “involved” parties are apprised of the

dispute. In any event, inconvenience cannot ex-

cuse noncompliance with the law. See Estes, 89

F.2d at 771. Estes clearly established the rule

that the Board must extend notice “to all persons

who will be substantially affected by the order

that may be entered by the Board, unless notice

is waived.” Id.

When this earlier Fifth Circuit decision is read in its

entirety rather than by focusing on phrases taken out of

context, it is clear that the earlier decision required that

employees receive notice prior to a hearing unless they had

taken some action to waive that right. It is equally clear

that the court’s reference to the fact that in most instances

the only action required would be to send a letter to one or

two union representatives is explicitly premised upon the

expectation that the union representative would insure

20

that “‘all involved’ parties are apprised of the dispute.”

Here Boorstein and those similarly situated were “in-

volved” parties who were not in any way “apprised” that

their rights were being adjudicated.

The Fifth Circuit’s opinion regarding the due notice

provisions of the RLA conflicts with the pronouncement of

other Circuits. For example, the Eleventh Circuit has held

that the right of due notice applies to all employees whose

seniority might be affected by a Board award. Steward v.

Mann, 351 F.3d at 1338, 1345-46. While the Circuits are not

necessarily in agreement as to the extent of the notice that is

required, no Circuit has found, as did the Fifth Circuit, that

an employee’s being covered by a CBA will be sufficient to

satisfy the RLA’s due notice requirement.

The range of Circuit holdings on the issue of due

notice was described by the Ninth Circuit in English v.

Burlington Northern Railroad Co., 18 F.3d 741, 744-45

(9th Cir. 1994):

“Due notice” is not defined by the RLA, and

currently, the Sixth and Seventh Circuits appear

to be divided on what notice is due. Compare

Cole v. Erie Lackawanna Ry., 541 F.2d 528 (6th

Cir. 1976), cert. denied, 433 U.S. 914, 97 S.Ct.

2987, 53 L.Ed.2d 1100 (1977), with O’Neill v.

Public Law Bd. No. 550, 581 F.2d 692 (7th Cir.

1978). In Cole, the court held that even when the

union represents the employee at the Board

hearing, the employee must receive actual notice

of the proceedings, though formal notice need be

given only to the union. Jd. at 534. “Actual notice

... 1s notice of the hearing for a sufficient period

prior thereto to permit the employee to consult

with union officials and relay such information

as he possesses which might allow the union to

more effectively present his claim.” Jd.

* * %

21

In O’Neill, the Seventh Circuit reached a dif-

ferent conclusion, holding that actual notice is

not required if the employee is represented by

the union. O’Neill, 581 F.2d at 696. Rejecting the

Sixth Circuit’s conclusion, the O’Neill court held

that “where an individual employee authorizes

his union to represent him .. . and to receive any

notices on his behalf, [the RLA] does not require

that actual notice be given to the individual em-

ployee.” Id. at 695.

While at first blush it might appear that the Fifth

Circuit is in accord with the holding in O’Neill, the cir-

cumstances were not the same. The employee in O’Neill

had pre-authorized the union to receive notice, 581 F.2d at

695-96, while Boorstein had not done so.” Moreover, in an

earlier opinion where no authorization had been obtained

from employees whose rights were decided by an RLA

Board, the Seventh Circuit held that the failure to comply

with § 153 First (j) by failing to give employees notice and

depriving them of the right to participate in the hearing

resulted in the Board’s being without jurisdiction to prom-

ulgate its award. The court further held that the district

court was correct in enjoining enforcement of the award.

Allain v. Tummon, 212 F.2d 32, 36-37 (7th Cir. 1954).

The Ninth Circuit determined that the holding in Cole

requiring actual notice more closely adhered to this

Court’s pronouncements in Elgin, J. & E. Ry. Co. v. Burley,

325 U.S. 711, 65 S.Ct. 1282 (1945) (due notice requires at

least knowledge by the employee of the pendency of the

* In fact, the IAM took care to obtain written authorization from

Mitchell and Bale for the union to proceed on their behalf at the time

they filed their grievances. Appendix A, App. 15, 20-22. Boorstein had

not signed such an authorization. She was simply an employee who had

no knowledge that her rights were being adjudicated. Appendix A, App.

11-12.

22

proceedings or sufficient knowledge to put him on notice of

the hearing). The Ninth Circuit therefore held that an

employee must receive actual notice of a hearing before

the Board and sufficient time in which to help the union

present his claim. 18 F.3d at 745. In a similar vein, the

Sixth Circuit, in Meeks v. Illinois Cent. Gulf R.R., 738 F.2d

748 (6th Cir. 1984) held that a Board’s award was without

legal effect because the Board gave notice to the union but

failed to give personal notice to the employee.

Here, the Board made no attempt to give due notice to

Boorstein. Nonetheless, the Fifth Circuit determined that

Boorstein and the other affected flight attendants were not

entitled to any notice whatsoever.

This Court should grant the Petition to resolve the

conflicts among the Circuits with regard to the require-

ments for due notice so that those whose rights are deter-

mined by RLA Boards, those who represent such aggrieved

employees, and those who sit on RLA Boards will have the

benefit of this Court’s resolution of this important issue.

lil. REVIEW SHOULD BE GRANTED TO RESOLVE

CONFLICTS REGARDING WHETHER AN “AG-

GRIEVED” EMPLOYEE UNDER §153 FIRST

(q) OR AN “INVOLVED” EMPLOYEE UNDER

§ 153 FIRST G) MUST EXHAUST REMEDIES

PRIOR TO FILING SUIT.

The Fifth Circuit dismissed Boorstein’s claims based

upon her alleged failure to exhaust her collective bargain-

ing remedies, i.e., by not filing a grievance and by not

participating in the remedy crafted by the Adjustment

Board. Appendix A, App. 11-12, 16. The Fifth Circuit’s

dismissal on the ground of failure to exhaust is in conflict

with the statutory language of the RLA and with the

decisions of this Court and numerous Courts of Appeals.

23

It is undisputed that Boorstein and those similarly

situated did not file grievances or seek to have the adverse

adjustments of their seniority rights determined by a

Board. Had their rights not been made a part of the award

of the Board, they would not have had a right to file suit

absent their exhausting their collective bargaining reme-

dies. However, once the Board entered its Award creating a

process that impacted the flight attendants’ rights under

the CBA, all of Continental’s flight attendants, including

Boorstein, became “aggrieved” employees under § 153

First (q) and “involved” employees under § 153 First (j).

See, Sections I and II.

Without affording notice or the right to be heard to

Boorstein and the other flight attendants, the Adjustment

Board artificially limited the actionable time period for

Continental’s arbitrary adjustments to the flight atten-

dants’ non-competitive seniority to two years prior to the

date of the Board’s Decision. The Board also required the

flight attendants to seek relief at considerable peril to

their seniority. This was so, because the flight attendants

did not have access to their records, and the Board’s

“remedial order” provided that once invoking the process

to ascertain if any relief from arbitrary adjustments was

due under the Board’s own brand of industrial justice,

Continental was again free to arbitrarily adjust a flight

attendant’s seniority. Appendix H, App. 86, 88. The actions

of the Beard thus brought Boorstein and those similarly

situated well into the definitions of “aggrieved” and

“involved” employees under § 153 First. As described in

Sections I and II, employees who are “aggrieved” and/or

“involved” have a right to seek redress in district court

without any additional exhaustion of remedies.

Additionally, § 153 First (q) provides that an order of

the Board may be set aside in whole or in part or re-

manded if the Board did not follow the requirements of the

24

RLA, the Board exceeded its jurisdiction, or the Board

acted fraudulently or corruptly. Although the Board found

that Continental had failed to properly maintain its flight

attendants’ seniority system, and that “Adjustment was

made for periods of inactivity taken by some individuals

when they returned to work, but not for others,” Appendix

C, App. 53, the relief fashioned by the Board failed to

correct the lack of integrity of the seniority system. In-

stead the Board created an “equitable” solution to address

seniority problems engendered by the retroactive and

secretive adjustment of seniority rights by Continental.

The Board fashioned a remedy that was outside the terms

of the CBA, and therefore the Board’s imposition of the

“equitable” solution was outside the jurisdiction of the

Board. Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen v. Central of

Georgia Railway Company, 415 F.2d 403, 411-12 (5th Cir.

1969).

The purpose of the seniority provisions of the flight

attendants’ CBA is to maintain the integrity of the senior-

ity system. The essence of the seniority system is to treat

persons on the seniority roster in a fair and equitable

manner and not to favor some over others. Yet, by arbitrar-

ily setting cut off dates not anticipated by the CBA, by not

requiring the uniform application of seniority adjustments

or the rescission of all those adjustments arbitrarily

imposed, the remedy fashioned by the Board simply

substituted one form of corruption of the seniority system

with another equally unfair form.

As the Fifth Circuit itself held in Brotherhood of

Railroad Trainmen, 415 F.2d at 412:

... an arbitrator does not sit to dispense his own

brand of industrial justice. He may of course look

for guidance from many sources, yet his award is

legitimate only so long as it draws its essence

from the collective bargaining agreement. When

25

the arbitrator’s words manifest an infidelity to

this obligation, courts have no choice but to re-

fuse enforcement of the award (citing United

Steelworkers of America v. Enterprise Wheel and

Car Corp., 363 U.S. 593, 597 (19€9)).

As an “aggrieved employee” Boorstein was entitled

under § 153 First (q), to seek redress in district court to

overturn the decision of the Board. She did not have to

participate in the procedure established by the Board that

was wholly “without foundation in reason or fact.” With-

out question the Board exceeded its jurisdiction by impos-

ing its “equitable” solution. Boorstein was within her

rights under § 153 First to seek to prevent the enforce-

ment of the improper exercise of the Board’s authority.

Furthermore, as she was challenging the procedure used

by the Board, she was not required to exhaust any reme-

dies pertaining to that procedure, but was entitled to have

her claims ruled upon by the district court. Finnerty uv.

Cowen, 508 F.2d 979, 981-82 (2d Cir. 1974). The Fifth

Circuit’s opinion conflicts with the holding of this Court in

Union Pacific Railroad Co. v. Sheehan, 439 U.S. 89, 99

S.Ct. 399, 58 L.Ed.2d 354 (1978) and the holding of the

Court of Appeals in Steward v. Mann, 351 F.3d 1338 (11th

Cir. 2003). This Court should grant the Petition to give

guidance to the Courts of Appeals on these important

matters.

” The lack of a rational basis for the relief imposed by the Adjust-

ment Board is demonstrated by the results obtained. Of the six

individual grievants, three received no relief, and the others each

received one week of vacation pay. Of the eleven flight attendants who

filed claims, most did not obtain the relief they sought. Appendix D.

26

IV. REVIEW SHOULD BE GRANTED TO RESOLVE

A CONFLICT AMONG THE CIRCUITS RE-

GARDING WHETHER EMPLOYEES SUBJECT

TO THE RLA MAY ASSERT CLAIMS UNDER

THE CONSTITUTION FOR DENIAL OF DUE

PROCESS WHEN THE DEPRIVATION OF

RIGHTS RELATES TO ACTIONS BY AN RLA

BOARD.

A. A Conflict Exists Among The Circuits Re-

garding Whether Employees Who Assert

Rights Under The RLA May Assert Inde-

pendent Claims Under The Due Process

Clause Of The Constitution.

Petitioners claimed in the district court that they had

been denied due process of law as guaranteed by the fifth

amendment.” Mitchell and Bale alleged that they were

denied due process during the hearing before the Board

when they were without notice required to represent

themselves. Boorstein alleged that she was denied due

process when without notice or opportunity to be heard,

her rights were adjudicated without her knowledge by the

Board. In addition to invoking the district court’s jurisdic-

tion pursuant to 45 U.S.C. § 153 First (q), Petitioners

invoked the district court’s jurisdiction pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 1331 and the fifth amendment.

Having improperly relied upon NLRA/LMRA prereq-

uisites to deny Mitchell and Bale standing under the RLA,

the Fifth Circuit additionally invoked its newly created

standing qualification to preclude federal judicial review of

Mitchell and Bale’s due process challenge to the validity of

'' Petitioners’ vested seniority rights are without question “prop-

erty” within the meaning of the due process clause. Elmore v. Chicago

& Illinois Midland Railway Company, 782 F.2d 94, 96-97 (7th Cir.

1986).

27

the Board’s actions. Similarly, the Fifth Circuit, having

incorrectly determined that Boorstein failed to exhaust

her collective bargaining remedies, additionally refused to

address Boorstein’s constitutional claims. The Fifth

Circuit’s refusal to review Petitioners’ due process claims

conflicts with the decisions of this Court and with the

holdings of the Second, Seventh, Eighth, and Ninth

Circuits as well as with its own precedents which have

found either that an independent constitutional claim

exists separate and apart from the statutory claims under

the RLA or that such a due process claim is a ground for

vacating the decision of the Board that is encompassed

within the RLA itself.”

In Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railway Co. v.

Buell, 480 U.S. 557, 107 S.Ct. 1410, 94 L.Ed.2d 563 (1987),

this Court held that the RLA’s binding arbitration provi-

sions did not deprive the district court of jurisdiction to

hear an employee’s claim against his employer for per-

sonal injuries arising under the Federal Employers’

Liability Act. This Court unanimously rejected the rail-

road’s argument that the employee was required to resort

to the grievance machinery under the RLA, and that the

grievance procedure was his sole remedy. In rejecting the

railroad’s argument, this Court noted that the RLA did not

preempt other federal statutes that provided rights out-

side the scope of those covered by the RLA. Jd. at 565.

While the independent claim in Buell was a federal

statutory claim, the lower courts have applied Buell’s

” Because Boards created pursuant to the RLA are federal bodies,

their actions must pass federal constitutional muster. Shafti v. PLC

British Airways, 22 F.3d 59 (2d Cir. 1994); English v. Burlington

Northern R.R., 18 F.3d 741 (9th Cir. 1994); see also, Elmore v. Chicago

& Illinois Midland Railway Company, 782 F.2d at 96-97.

28

holding and reasoning to constitutional claims asserted by

employees covered by the RLA. Coppinger v. Metro-North

Commuter Railroad, 861 F.2d 33 (2d Cir. 1988). As the

Second Circuit in Coppinger observed:

For purposes of the narrow jurisdictional

question now before us, we are persuaded that

there is no principled basis upon which to distin-

guish § 1983 from the FELA at issue in Buell. In

enacting § 1983 Congress aimed to create an in-

dependent scheme for redressing constitutional

wrongs to aggrieved individuals by providing a

federal cause of action. Nothing in the statutory

plan suggests that a prior determination in an

arbitration proceeding prevents a plaintiff from

bringing suit in federal court or divests that

court of jurisdiction.

* *

More recently in Webster v. Doe, 486 U.S.

592, 108 S.Ct. 2047, 100 L.Ed.2d 632 (1988), the

Supreme Court stated that when Congress’ pur-

pose is to preclude judicial review of a constitu-

tional claim it must make its purpose plain. Jd.

108 S.Ct. at 2053. No such aim: may be discerned

in either the RLA or § 1983.

Id. at 37. The Second Circuit continued:

We hold therefore that the rights guaranteed

all citizens by the Fourth Amendment and under

§ 1983, and the strong public policy favoring ar-

bitration that underlies the RLA must allow ap-

pellant to pursue his contractual remedy under

the RLA and his separate cause of action under

§ 1983 independently of one another.

29

Id. at 39." This Court should resolve the conflict with

regard to whether employees covered by the RLA are

permitted to pursue an independent claim of denial of due

process in seeking to overturn the adverse decision of a

Board.

B. A Conflict Exists Among The Circuits As To

Whether Due Process Claims Are Cogniza-

ble Under The Railway Labor Act Itself.

Although the Fifth Circuit precluded Petitioners from

prosecuting their respective due process claims under the

RLA, the Fifth Circuit had previously been among those

Circuits that allowed a federal court to review due process

claims under the RLA. See, Goff v. Dakota, Minnesota & E.

R.R. Corp., 276 F.3d 992, 997 (8th Cir. 2002); Atchison,

Topeka and Santa Fe Ry. Co. v. United Transp. Union, 165

F.3d 355, 357 (5th Cir. 1999); Pokuta v. Trans World

Airlines, Inc., 191 F.3d 834, 839 (7th Cir. 1999); Shafii v.

PLC British Airways, 22 F.3d 59, 64 (2d Cir. 1994); Eng-

lish v. Burlington N. R.R. Co., 18 F.3d 741, 744 (9th Cir.

1994); Hayes v. Western Weighing & Inspection Bureau,

838 F.2d 1434, 1436 (5th Cir. 1988); Steffens v. Brother-

hood of Ry., Airline & S.S. Clerks, 797 F.2d 442 (7th Cir.

1986); Armstrong Lodge No. 762 v. Union Pacific R.R., 783

F.2d 131, 135 (8th Cir. 1986); Radin v. United States, 699

F.2d 681, 684 (4th Cir. 1983); Hall v. Eastern Air Lines,

Inc., 511 F.2d 663 (5th Cir. 1975); Rosen v. Eastern Air

Lines, 400 F.2d 462, 464 (5th Cir. 1968), cert. denied, 394

U.S. 959, 89 S.Ct. 1807, 22 L.Ed.2d 560 (1969); D’Elia v.

New York, N.H. & H. R.R., 338 F.2d 701, 702 (2d Cir. 1964)

'’ While the Second Circuit in Coppinger focused on 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983 as a jurisdictional grant to prosecute a constitutional claim, in

fact, this Court has held that a person may vindicate federal due

process rights by direct action under the fifth amendment. Davis v.

Passman, 442 U.S. 228, 99 S.Ct. 2264, 60 L.Ed.2d 846 (1979).

30

(per curiam), cert. denied, 380 U.S. 978, 85 S.Ct. 1340, 14

L.Ed.2d 272 (1965).

Now, denying an employee covered by the RLA who

cannot also show a breach of his union’s duty of fair

representation the right to have his or her constitutional

challenges heard, the Fifth Circuit has joined the Circuits

that do not permit a federal court to review due process

claims under the RLA. See, Kimross v. Utah Ry. Co., 362

F.3d 658, 662 (10th Cir. 2004); Jones v. Seaboard Sys. R.R.,

783 F.2d 639, 642 n.2 (6th Cir. 1986); Henry v. Delta Air

Lines, 759 F.2d 870, 873 (11th Cir. 1985); United Steel-

workers of Am. Local 1913 v. Union R.R. Co., 648 F.2d 905,

911-12 (8d Cir. 1981). This Court should resolve the

conflict among the Circuits regarding the important issue

of whether and to what extent a court may entertain

constitutional due process claims brought for the purpose

of reviewing the actions of RLA Boards.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, Petitioners respectfully

request that the Supreme Court grant review of this

matter.

Respectfully submitted,

STUART M. NELKIN*

CAROL NELKIN

JAY P. NELKIN

NELKIN & NELKIN, P. C.

5417 Chaucer

Houston, TX 77005

713-526-4500

Attorneys for Petitioners

*Counsel of Record

App. 1

481 F.3d 225

United States Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit.

Marilyn MITCHELL; Kevin Bale;

Susan Boorstein, Plaintiffs-Appellants,

v.

CONTINENTAL AIRLINES, INC.,; International

Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers,

Defendants-Appellees.

No. 05-20791.

March 7, 2007.

Carol L. Nelkin (argued), Stuart M. Nelkin, Jay P.

Nelkin, Nelkin & Nelkin, Houston, TX, for Plaintiffs-

Appellants.

Jon A. Geier, Paul, Hastings, Janofsky & Walker,

Washington, DC, Louis K. Obdyke, IV, Houston TX, Kelly

Jean Koelker, Paul, Hastings, Janofsky & Walker, Atlanta,

GA, for Continental Airlines.

John A. Edmond (argued), Guerrieri, Edmond, Clay-

man & Bartos, Washington, DC, Marc A. Zito, Houston,

TX, for Intern. Ass’n of Mach. & Aerospace Workers.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Texas.

Before KING, WIENER, and CLEMENT, Circuit

Judges.

WIENER, Circuit Judge:

Plaintiffs-Appellants Marilyn Mitchell, Kevin Bale,

and Susan Boorstein appeal the district court’s grant of

summary judgment, dismissing without prejudice their

App. 2

petition to vacate an arbitration award under the Railway

Labor Act (‘RLA”).’ For the following reasons, we affirm

the district court, concluding that Boorstein failed to

exhaust her contractually-created procedural remedies

and that Mitchell and Bale lack standing to bring a

petition under the RLA.

I. FACTS AND PROCEEDINGS

A. Background

The plaintiffs are flight attendants for Defendant-

Appellee Continental Airlines, Inc. (“Continental”). As

such, their employment is governed by a collective bar-

gaining agreement (“CBA”) between Continental and

Defendant-Appellee International Association of Machin-

ists and Aerospace Workers (“IAM”). The CBA provides a

system of procedures for the resolution of employment

grievances, ultimately requiring that unresolved griev-

ances be resolved by final and binding arbitration before a

Systems Board of Adjustment (“the Board”), as is permit-

ted by the RLA. In addition, the CBA specifies that the

IAM shall serve as the exclusive bargaining representative

for all flight attendants.

Under the CBA, Continental’s flight attendants accrue

various types of seniority, each of which is classified as

either competitive or non-competitive. Continental is

required to post competitive seniority dates biennially.

Flight attendants have thirty days after each such posting

to challenge the accuracy. Competitive seniority is not at

issue in this case; non-competitive seniority is, though.

' 45 U.S.C. §§ 151 et seq.

App. 3

Continental is not required to post non-competitive

seniority dates for its flight attendants. Non-competitive

rankings include pay seniority, vacation seniority, and

jump-seat and pass-riding seniority. Instead of posting

lists of non-competitive seniority periodically, they are

communicated in other, more discrete ways.

B. Boorstein

Boorstein had been employed as a Continental flight

attendant since November 1968, when in 1996, she

learned that her jump-seat seniority date had been

changed from her date of hire to a subsequent date in

1971. She also learned that her company service date had

been unfavorably changed when, on her thirtieth anniver-

sary with Continental, she received a cake of the type

customarily given to flight attendants with only twenty

years of service. Boorstein alleges that, after she inquired

into the unfavorable adjustments, her seniority status was

again adjusted adversely. Boorstein never filed a grievance

against Continental and never sought to resolve her

dispute through arbitration before the Board.

C. Mitchell

Mitchell began her employment with Continental in

January 1969, and began flying the next month. In 1996,

Mitchell’s pass-riding seniority date was retroactively

adjusted without her knowledge as a result of company-

offered leave that she had taken years earlier.’ The next

* Company-offered leave is optional leave offered by Continental to

its flight attendants. It is offered to those attendants with higher

seniority in lieu of leave being forced on junior flight attendants (1.e.,

(Continued on following page)

App. 4

year, Mitchell also discovered that her vacation seniority

date was different and less advantageous than previously

indicated. Throughout 1997 and 1998, Mitchell repeatedly

contacted and questioned Continental personnel regarding

the accuracy of her seniority dates. She alleges that her

questioning led to even greater unfavorable adjustments.

Unable to resolve her inquiries satisfactorily, Mitchell

contacted IAM in 1999. After prolonged discussions, IAM

eventually permitted Mitchell to file a grievance against

Continental, in which she contended that her non-

competitive seniority dates had been subjected to unfair,

adverse adjustments. That was in May 2000. Her griev-

ance was denied following a step-one and a step-two

hearing.

D. Bale

Bale joined Continental as a flight attendant in July

1987. In 1997, he discovered that his vacation seniority

date was less advantageous than his records indicated it

should have been. Bale periodically inquired into the

discrepancy between 1998 and 2000. He was eventually

informed that his vacation seniority date had been ad-

justed for company-offered leaves that he had taken

between 1991 and 1995.

furlough status), thereby alleviating the effect of overstaffing and base

closings. This is advantageous to Continental, because its payroll

expense is reduced by having lower paid flight attendants on duty, as

Continental does not have to pay its senior flight attendants who are on

company-offered leave and does not have to pay furlough pay to junior

flight attendants who would otherwise be on furlough status.

App. 5

In August 2000, Bale filed a grievance, complaining of

unfair and unequal adjustment of seniority. In June 2001,

Bale filed a second grievance, complaining that Continen-

tal violated the CBA by including managerial employees at

the level of director or above in the System Seniority List.

Both of these grievances were denied following a step-one

and a step-two hearing.

E. Involvement of IAM

A stamped, and then signed and dated notice appears

in the upper, right-hand corner of both Mitchell’s and

Bales’ grievances, in which each attendant acknowledged:

“I hereby authorize the International Association of

Machinists, with full power of attorney, to represent me in

all stages of the Grievance Procedure in the presenting

and settling of this grievance.” After Mitchell’s and Bale’s

grievances were denied by Continental, they were referred

to arbitration before the Board, which consisted of one

IAM representative, one Continental representative, and

one neutral chairperson. As the IAM had previously

learned that several other flight attendants’ non-

competitive seniority dates had been unfavorably adjusted

without their knowledge, it presented with those of

Mitchell and Bale the grievances of four similarly-situated

flight attendants in a two-day arbitration hearing before

the Board in February 2002.

Prior to this hearing being held, Mitchell and Bale

had received numerous notices of the hearing dates and

locations, the hearing date having been postponed and

rescheduled numerous times. In addition, both Mitchell

and Bale met with IAM representatives in 2001, and

App. 6

Mitchell attended a second preparatory meeting in Febru-

ary 2002.

When the hearing was finally convened in February

2002, Mitchell participated in person and Bale partici-

pated by telephone. Both Mitchell and Bale allege that,

immediately before the hearing, IAM informed them that

it would not be representing them, so they would have to

represent themselves. Both claim that they thus were

“ambushed” into putting on their own, admittedly defi-

cient, pro se case.

In May 2002, the Board rendered its arbitral decision

and award (“the Award”). The Board first decided that it

lacked jurisdiction over matters arising before the date

that the CBA was formed, April 1, 2000. It then concluded

that Continental had failed to maintain “a careful record

of when an individual returned to work from a leave of

absence for purpcses of his or her seniority” and that

“[ajdjustments [were] made for periods of inactivity taken

by some individuals when they returned to work, but not

for others.” After acknowledging Continental's failure to

maintain careful records and declaring that it was unable

to “examine all of the individual employment records of

the [more than 9,000] flight attendants employed by

Continental,” the Board prescribed the following procedure

to be used by flight attendants retrospectively challenging

their seniority dates and for Continental’s use in making

future adjustments:

[FJor retroactive adjustments that occurred

within the last two years, flight attendants may

protest such adjustments in their seniority dates

which occurred more than a year after the event

which triggered the adjustment. They may do so

within 30 days of the date on which this award is

App. 7

rendered, and the parties shall have the joint ob-

ligation of informing all flight attendants of this

decision.... For the future, the company shall

have a period of one year from the date on which

they first were notified by the Company ... to

file a protest.

In the Award, the Board also (1) decided that its

ruling would apply to Bale’s grievance and provided the

IAM and Continental an opportunity to resolve his griev-

ance amicably based on the rules set forth in the Award;

(2) denied as untimely those grievances relating to indi-

viduals holding managerial positions at the director level

and higher as untimely; and (3) denied Mitchell’s griev-

ances “because the adjustments were made contemporane-

ously and in order to retain seniority one must be on the

list of Company employees and to accrue seniority one

must be in the active service of the Company and be

receiving pay for such service.” Finally, the Board retained

jurisdiction over “all disputes arising based upon this

decision including questions regarding remedy.”

Continental and LAM then issued a joint notice to all

flight attendants, informing them of the existence of the

Award, its terms and conditions, and the deadline for filing

claims pursuant to the Award. In October of that year,

after negotiations between Bale and Continental proved

unsuccessful, the Board issued a second arbitral award,

finding that the seniority adjustments of which Bale

complained “were actually made in September 1998,

outside the timeframe for claims that can be submitted

under the [Award].” The Board, therefore, denied Bale’s

grievance.

In May 2004, the plaintiffs filed a petition for review of

the Award in the Southern District of Florida, requesting

App. 8

that the district court (1) enjoin Continental from imple-

menting the Award, (2) vacate the Award, and (3) remand

the matter to the Board. The plaintiffs contended that the

Award failed to comply with and conform to the require-

ments of the RLA and that it violated their constitutional

right to due process. In August 2004, the Southern District

of Florida transferred the action to the District Court for

the Southern District of Texas, from which this appeal is

taken.

In August 2005, the district court, treating the plain-

tiffs’ petition for review and defendants’ opposition to it as

cross-motions for summary judgment, denied the plaintiffs’

petition for review and entered judgment in favor of

Continental and IAM, concluding that the plaintiffs’

failure to allege a breach of IAM’s duty of fair representa-

tion left them without standing. In addition, the district

court dismissed the plaintiffs’ constitutional due process

claims, ruling that the plaintiffs had failed to state a claim

for which relief could be granted. The plaintiffs timely

filed a notice of appeal.

II. LAW AND ANALYSIS

A. Standard of Review

We review a grant of summary judgment de novo,

applying the same standard as the district court.’ The RLA

regulates labor disputes between airline carriers and their

employees by establishing mandatory procedures for the

* Riverwood Int'l Corp. v. Employers Ins. of Wausau, 420 F.3d 378,

382 (5th Cir.2005),.

App. 9

resolution of disputes, both major and minor, to prevent

the commercial interruptions that might otherwise result.’

The RLA distinguishes disputes by whether they seek

to create contractual rights or to enforce them.’ A major

dispute concerns the formation of a CBA, which arises

when a CBA is not in place or when a party seeks to

change the terms of a CBA.° A minor dispute concerns

grievances or the interpretation or application of agree-

ments covering rates of pay, rules, or working conditions.’

Pursuant to the RLA, minor disputes must be resolved

through a compulsory, binding arbitration procedure

before an adjustment board. These arbitral procedures

may be established by the union and the employer through

their CBA.” None questions that the disputes underlying

this appeal are minor ones under the RLA.

Prior to filing a RLA lawsuit in federal court, employ-

ees claiming a violation of their CBA-established rights

ordinarily must first exhaust the non-judicial remedies

specified in their CBA.” An employee may, however, bring

suit without previously exhausting these remedies if (1)

the union wrongfully refuses to process the employee’s

grievance, thereby violating its duty of fair representation;

(2) the employer’s conduct amounts to a repudiation of the

* Cont'l Airlines, Inc. v. Int’l Bhd. Of Teamsters, 391 F.3d 613, 616-

17 (5th Cir.2004).

* Consol. Rail Corp. v. Ry. Labor Executives’ Ass’n, 491 U.S. 299,

302, 109 S.Ct. 2477, 105 L.Ed.2d 250 (1989).

* Td.

” Id. at 303, 109 S.Ct. 2477.

* Id.

* Morales v. S. Pac. Transp. Co., 894 F.2d 743, 745 (5th Cir.1990).

App. 10

specified contractual, remedial procedures; or (3) exhaus-

tion of the contractual remedies would be futile.”

When an RLA lawsuit arising from a minor dispute is

properly before us, we will only review an arbitral decision

and award on one of three narrow and exclusive grounds:

(1) whether the Board failed to comply with the RLA’s

requirements; (2) whether the Board failed to confine itself

to matters within the scope of its jurisdiction; and (3)

whether the Board’s decision was the result of fraud or

corruption.'' We have recognized a fourth, implied ground

for review: whether an award was rendered in violation of

a party’s due process rights.” Absent one of these grounds,

an adjustment board’s findings and orders are binding and

conclusive as to the parties." Thus, unless we find that an

adjustment board’s arbitral award is “wholly baseless and

completely without reason,” we must affirm the Board’s

decision. “

B. Merits

On appeal, the plaintiffs contend that the district

court erroneously granted summary judgment in favor of

Continental and IAM (collectively, “the defendants”),

because (1) the plaintiffs do have standing to bring an action

under the RLA; (2) the plaintiffs were unconstitutionally

” Rabalais v. Dresser Indus., Inc., 566 F.2d 518, 519 (5th Cir.1978).

" Cont’ Airlines, 391 F.3d at 617.

* Bhd. of Locomotive Eng’rs v. St. Louis Sw. Ry. Co., 757 F.2d 656,

661 (5th Cir. 1985).

* E. Air Lines, Inc. v. Transp. Workers Union, 580 F.2d 169, 172

(5th Cir.1978).

4 Id.

App. 11

denied due process, as they were not provided sufficient

notice, and the Board failed to maintain a record of the

arbitral hearing; and (3) the Award was “wholly baseless

and completely without reason.” The plaintiffs explicitly

disavow any claim that the IAM breached its duty of fair

representation.

In contrast, the defendants urge us to affirm the

district court, because (1) Boorstein failed to exhaust the

requisite arbitral remedies under the CBA; (2) all of the

plaintiffs lack standing to bring an RLA action; (3) the

plaintiffs’ constitutional due-process rights were not

violated; and (4) the Award was not “wholly baseless and

completely without reason.”

i. Boorstein’s Claim

On appeal, Continental argues that Boorstein’s claim

is not viable because of her failure to exhaust her non-

judicial remedies under the CBA. We agree.

It is undisputed that Boorstein not only failed to file a

grievance regarding the unfavorable adjustment of her

non-competitive seniority, but, despite receiving notice of

her right to do so, she failed to request review and correc-

tion of any adjustment within the thirty-day period made

available to all flight attendants by the Board’s award, all

in derogation of the CBA. Boorstein does not offer, and our

own review fails to reveal, any reason why her failure to

pursue the appropriate remedies under the CBA should be

excused.

In addition, the Board was not required to provide

Boorstein with personal notice of the February 2002

hearing. As a flight attendant and thus a subscriber to the

App. 12

CBA, Boorstein had authorized the IAM to act exclusively

on her behalf. Thus, as the district court correctly recog-

nized, notice to the IAM-Boorstein’s representative-

constituted adequate notice to Boorstein and all similarly-

situated employees who had not filed individual griev-

ances.” We affirm the district court’s dismissal of Boor-

stein’s claims.

ii. Mitchell’s and Bale’s Claims

In McNair v. United States Postal Service, we held

that, under the Labor Management Relations Act

(“LMRA”),” which was made applicable by the Postal

Reorganization Act”:

When a collective bargaining agreement establishes a

mandatory, binding grievance procedure and gives the

union the exclusive right to pursue claims on behalf of

aggrieved employees, the results obtained by the union are

normally conclusive of the employees’ rights under the

agreement. This means, of course, that an aggrieved

worker whose employment is governed by such an agree-

ment normally lacks standing independently ... to attack

in court the results of the grievance process. ...

These rules are not, however, without exception. It is

established that, if the union has breached its duty of fair

representation, by arbitrarily refusing to pursue a claim

through the grievance process or by doing so in a perfunctory

'* See Bhd. of Ry., Airline, & S.S. Clerks v. St. Louis S.W. Ry. Co.,

676 F.2d 132, 136 (5th Cir. 1982).

* 29 U.S.C. §§ 141 et seq.

” 39 U.S.C. § 1209.

App. 13

or otherwise inadequate manner, an aggrieved employee is

not foreclosed by the results of the grievance process. He

may sue his employer or his union or both but, in order to

recover, he must prove that the union breached its duty of

fair representation and that the employer breached the

collective bargaining agreement. *

As we explained in Acuff v. United Papermakers &

Paperworkers, which was decided under the National

Labor Relations Act (“NLRA”),” this reality is necessary to

effectuate the purposes behind federal labor statutes,

which require that the interests of particular individuals

be subordinated to the interests of the group at the con-

tract-negotiation stage and beyond.” If an employee could

compel arbitration of a grievance without his union’s

blessings, a CBA’s contractual conflict-resolution proce-

dures would be substantially undermined, “thus destroy-

ing the employer’s confidence in the union’s authority and

returning the individual grievant to the vagaries of inde-

pendent and unsystematic negotiation.” The same can be

said of an employee’s ability to seek judicial review of an

arbitral award, after being abandoned by his union.”

Here, the plaintiffs recognize our decisions in McNair

and Acuff and do not dispute their holdings, agreeing that

an individual employee lacks standing to seek review of an

arbitral award under the LMRA and NLRA, except that an

* 768 F.2d 730, 735 (5th Cir. 1985).

* 29 U.S.C. §§ 151 et seq.

* 404 F.2d 169, 171 (5th Cir. 1969).

** Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171, 191, 87 S.Ct. 903, 17 L.Ed.2d 842

(1967).

® McNair, 768 F.2d at 735.

App. 14

employee may bring a claim that the union breached its

duty of fair representation. Rather, the plaintiffs contend

that our holdings in McNair and Acuff are limited to

LMRA and NLRA claims; so they argue that they are not

barred from bringing claims under the RLA. The plaintiffs,

however, offer no support or reasoning for why claims

grounded in the RLA should be treated differently from

claims under the LMRA or the NLRA, other than their

transparent acronymic differences or location within the

United States Code.

Indeed, we see the plaintiffs’ argument as constituting

a distinction without difference. Regardless of whether a

CBA is established under the LMRA, NLRA, or RLA, its

existence is premised on effectuating a key purpose behind

federal labor statutes, viz., placing the interests of the

group ahead of the interests of the individual employees.

As we have previously recognized, it would be “paradoxical

in the extreme” if a union that is vested with the exclusive

authority to bring an employment grievance and pursue it

up to and through binding arbitration were not likewise

vested with the exclusive responsibility to instigate and

prosecute a review of an arbitral award in court.” Thus,

for the same reasons articulated in McNair and Acuff, we

conclude that, when a CBA formed pursuant to the RLA

establishes a mandatory, binding grievance procedure and

vests the union with the exclusive right to pursue claims

on behalf of aggrieved employees, an aggrieved employee

whose employment is governed by the CBA lacks standing

to attack the results of the grievance process in court — the

* Acuff, 404 F.2d at 171.

App. 15

sole exception being the authorization of an aggrieved

employee to bring an unfair representation claim.”

Here, the plaintiffs expressly disavowed any claim

that LAM breached its duty of fair representation. More-

over, the CBA explicitly establishes that the IAM shall

represent all flight attendants in grievance procedures.

Both Mitchell and Bale specifically bestowed on the LAM

(and never revoked) full power of attorney to represent

them at all stages of the grievance procedure. We therefore

affirm the district court’s conclusion that Mitchell and

Bale lacked standing to petition for review of the Award.”

* Contra McQuestion v. N.J. Transit Rail Operations, 892 F.2d 352,

354-55 (3d Cir.1990) (concluding that the plain language of 45 U.S.C.

§ 153. First (q) provides individual employees with uniquely individual

grievances standing to bring in federal court a petition for review of a

arbitral hearing initiated pursuant to the RLA). Unlike the underlying

arbitral hearing here, which was brought by the [AM on behalf of all

Continental flight attendants, the arbitration in McQuestion was

“conducted solely to resolve appellants’ uniquely individual grievance,”

such that the two plaintiffs/employees in McQuestion were the “ ‘real

parties in interest.’” Jd. at 354 (quoting McQuestion v. N.J. Transit Rail

Operations, No. 88-4037, slip op. at 10 (D.N.J. May 12, 1989)). We do

not foreclose and need not decide today whether an individual employee

may ever bring such “uniquely individual claims,” rendering him the

“real party in interest,” such that § 153 First (q) provides him standing

to bring an RLA claim. Rather, under the facts presented here and

those of our precedent, an aggrieved employee will generally lack

standing to bring an RLA action.

** As we have concluded that Boorstein failed to exhaust her CBA-

created procedural remedies and that Mitchell and Bale lack standing

to bring a petition for review under the RLA, we need not reach the

plaintiffs’ constitutional due-process claims or their contention that the

Award was “wholly baseless and completely without reason.”

App. 16

III. CONCLUSION

Today, we logically extend our holdings in McNair and

Acuff to RLA cases, concluding that when a CBA that is

formed pursuant to the RLA establishes a mandatory,

binding grievance procedure and gives the union the

exclusive right to pursue claims on behalf of aggrieved

employees, one whose employment is governed by the CBA

lacks standing to attack the results of the grievance

process in court, except only that an employee has stand-

ing to bring a claim of unfair representation. We also

acknowledge and apply our precedent that requires an

employee to exhaust his procedural remedies under a CBA

before commencing a RLA lawsuit. Based on the applicable

law and our extensive review of the parties’ briefs and the

record on appeal, we conclude that the district court did

not commit any error. Accordingly, we affirm the summary

judgment of the district court in favor of the defendants.

AFFIRMED.

App. 17

2005 WL 2708192

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

HOUSTON DIVISION

MARILYN MITCHELL, § CIVIL ACTION NO.

KEVIN BALE, andSUSAN § _ H-04-3470

BOORSTEIN,

Plaintiffs,

v.

CONTINENTAL AIRLINES,

INC. and INTERNATIONAL

ASSOCIATION OF MA-

CHINISTS AND AERO-

SPACE WORKERS,

Defendants.

CP G2 Or COP “OP (OP COR KO? LO? COR COP

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

Plaintiffs, Marilyn Mitchell, Kevin Bale, and Susan

Boorstein, bring this action against Continental Airlines,

Inc. (Continental) and the International Association of

Machinists and Aerospace Workers (IAMAW) seeking to

vacate the Decision of the Chairman and Award of the

System Board of Adjustment (Decision and Award) in the

arbitration between IAMAW and Continental on griev-

ances brought by Mitchell, Bale, and others regarding

Continental’s retroactive adjustment of flight attendants’

seniority dates. Pending before the court is Plaintiffs’

Petition for Review (Docket Entry No. 1). The parties

agree that the case should be resolved by dispositive

App. 18

motion.’ For the reasons explained below, the court con-

cludes that the petition should be denied, and this action

dismissed.

I. Factual Background

Plaintiffs are Continental flight attendants whose

employment is governed by a collective bargaining agree-

ment (CBA) between Continental and the IAMAW under

which the IAMAW serves as the exclusive bargaining

representative for all flight attendants.’ The CBA con-

tains, inter alia, procedures for resolving grievances over

the construction and application of its terms, which

‘ Plaintiffs’ Reply Brief in Support of Petition for Review, Docket

Entry No. 54, p. 2 n.1.

* See Petition for Review (PR), Docket Entry No. 1, 72, and

Excerpts for Agreement between Continental Airlines, Inc. and [AMAW,

Exhibit 3 in Joint Appendix to Briefs of Continental Airlines, Inc., and

LAMAW, attached to Docket Entry No. 47 (Joint Appendix). All exhibits

contained in the Joint Appendix are authenticated by the Declaration of

Robert S. Clayman, I[AMAW’s counsel at the arbitration hearing

(Clayman Declaration). Although plaintiffs argue that many of the

exhibits in the Joint Appendix should be stricken because Clayman has

not properly authenticated his Declaration, plaintiffs have not argued

that the grievance procedures they followed are non-binding, or that the

exhibits contained in the Joint Appendix are not the documents that

defendants represent them to be, i.e., true copies of excerpts from the

CBA, grievances filed with Continental, exhibits presented to the

arbitration board, and communications between the parties. Moreover,

the Joint Appendix contains many exhibits to which plaintiffs have

lodged no objection. The only exhibits on which the court has relied are

exhibits to which plaintiffs have not objected. See Objections to the

Exhibits in Defendants’ Joint Appendix, Exhibit A attached to Plaintiffs’

Reply Brief in Support of Petition for Review, Docket Entry No. 54.

App. 19

provide for final and binding arbitration before a Systems

Board of Adjustment.°

Continental flight attendants accrue various types of

seniority, which are classified as either competitive or non-

competitive. The CBA requires Continental to post bi-

annually a list of flight attendants’ competitive seniority

dates. Flight attendants have thirty days after the list is

posted to protest errors. Competitive seniority is not at

issue in this case. (PR J 14) The CBA does not require

Continental to post flight attendants’ non-competitive

seniority dates. (PR J 15) Instead, non-competitive senior-

ity dates are communicated to flight attendants in various

ways. Pay seniority dates appear on pay stubs. Vacation

seniority is reported in annual statements to individual

flight attendants. Jump-seat and pass-riding seniority is

based either on the “JA” entry in Continental’s SONIC

computer system or on the date showing on a company

identification card. Flight attendants requesting tickets

on-line have sometimes been surprised to find that their

jump-seat and pass-riding seniority dates have been

adjusted without notice. (PR J 17)

In 1996 Boorstein learned that her jump-seat senior-

ity date had been changed from her date of hire, November

11, 1968, to a date in 1971. (PR J 62) When she belatedly

received a cake for her 30th anniversary with Continental,

Boorstein learned that her company service date had also

been changed. (PR 7 63) Boorstein alleges that when she

* See Exhibit 3 in the Joint Appendix and Clayman Declaration,

q 3. Clayman explains that a Systems Board of Adjustment is the

airline industry counterpart of the statutorily established National

Railway Adjustment Board (NRAB) process for resolving industry-

related disputes. See 45 U.S.C. §§ 153, 184

App. 20

inquired about the adjustments “her seniority was again

adversely and unequally impacted.” (PR J 64)

In 1997 Mitchell discovered that her vacation senior-

ity date was less advantageous than her records indicated

it should have been. (PR J 25) Mitchell alleges that when

she questioned the accuracy of her vacation seniority date,

Continental readjusted it even less favorably. (PR J 25) In

1999 Mitchell contacted the IAMAW “about various

seniority and contract violations.” (PR § 31) Plaintiffs

allege that during a meeting with a representative of

Continental’s Human Resources office Mitchell was told

that “Continental was aware that everyone had not been

similarly adjusted ... but ... that Continental did not

have the time or the manpower to go through the records

of 25,000 flight attendants to determine if the seniority

dates were adjusted as they should have been.” (PR { 35)

On May 24, 2000, Mitchell filed grievance no. 05446 in

which she complained that on May 20, 2000, unfair,

adverse adjustments were made to her non-competitive

seniority dates. (PR { 37) In the top, right-hand corner of

the grievance is a stamped notice signed and dated by

Mitchell that states: “I hereby authorize the International

Association of Machinists, with full power of attorney, to

represent me in all stages of the Grievance Procedure in

the presenting and settling of this grievance.” Mitchell’s

grievance was denied following both a step-one hearing

held on July 12, 2000, and a step-two hearing held on

September 8, 2000. (PR { 38) Although originally set for

April 10, 2001, arbitration before the National Mediation

* See Exhibit 8 in the Joint Appendix at page 9.

App. 21

Board took place in Washington, D.C., on February 5-6,

2002. (PR {J 38-41)

In 1997 Bale discovered that his vacation seniority

date was less advantageous than his records indicated it

should have been. (PR 7] 50-51) In the fall of 2000 Bale

contacted Continental’s Human Resources Department to

inquire about his non-competitive seniority dates. (PR

{i 53) Plaintiffs allege that on October 30, 2000, Continen-

tal advised Bale that his seniority dates had been adjusted

for company offered leaves that he had taken between

1991 and 1995. (PR 453) Based on Bales’ rate of pay,

plaintiffs allege that Bale’s vacation seniority date must

have been adjusted sometime after 1996 and before Bale

was to have received an extra week of vacation in 1997.

(PR Uf 51 and 55)

On August 15, 2000, Bale filed a grievance no. 06082

in which he complained that on that date Continental

engaged in an unfair and unequal adjustment of non-

competitive jump-seat seniority.” (PR [57) On June 27,

2001, Bale filed grievance no. 06540 in which he com-

plained that on May 30, 2001, Continental violated the

CBA by including Diane Carr and others in the same

category (i.e., managerial employees at the level of director

or above) in the jump-seat seniority system.’ (PR 9 57) In

the top, right-hand corner of each of Bale’s grievances is a

stamped notice signed and dated by Bale that states: “I

hereby authorize the International Association of Machin-

ists, with full power of attorney, to represent me in all

stages of the Grievance Procedure in the presenting and

* See Exhibit 5 in the Joint Appendix.

* See Exhibit 20 in the Joint Appendix.

App. 22

settling of this grievance.” Each of Bale’s grievances was

denied following both step-one and step-two hearings.* (PR

{ 57) Continental explained that Bale’s non-competitive

jump-seat seniority date had been adjusted in compliance

with various work rules and agreements that allow flight

attendants to maintain but not to accrue non-competitive

seniority during periods of personal and/or company

offered leave. An arbitration was scheduled for February 5,

2002. (PR 57)

Mitchell’s grievance no. 05446 and Bale’s grievance nos.

06082 and 06540 were considered together with grievances

filed by three other individuals (Sonnichsen, Bice, and Shaw)

at an arbitration hearing conducted by a three-person

System Board (Board) consisting of a union representative,

a company representative, and a neutral third-party chair

on February 5-6, 2002, in Washington, D.C.’ “The five

individual grievances, which [were] brought together for

decision, all involve[d] adjustments to vacation, pass, or

company seniority, and all of which were made substan-

tially after the events occurred which occasioned the

adjustment of seniority by the company.” “Testimony

indicated that some adjustments were made when an

individual flight attendant asked a question regarding his

or her seniority. Accordingly, in certain cases adjustments

were made for some flight attendants, but not for others.””

” See Exhibit 5 (grievance no. 06082) at page 5 and Exhibit 20

(grievance no. 06540) at page 4, in the Joint Appendix.

* See Exhibits 5 and 20 in the Joint Appendix.

* See Decision of the Chairman and Award of the Board, Exhibit 1

in the Joint Appendix at page 2.

'° Id. at p. 2.

" Id. at p. 4.

‘App. 23

The Board identified the issue in dispute — “Were the

various adjustments which were made to flight attendant

seniority proper, as in some cases they were made long

after the events which caused the adjustments, and, if not,

what is the appropriate remedy?”

The [AMAW argued to the Board that

the doctrine of estoppel bars the company from

retroactively altering seniority dates to correct

errors that the company has permitted to stand

for long periods of time. It further contend|[ed]

that the doctrine of laches bars the company

from belatedly asserting a right to adjust senior-

ity. Finally, the [[AMAW] contend[ed] that the

principles of disparate treatment prohibit the

company from selectively adjusting seniority

rights. As a remedy the [L[AMAW] suggest/ed]

that: (1) the company be prohibited from making

any adjustments to grievants’ seniority to reflect

an event that occurred more than one year in the

past; (2) that the company be required to make

grievants whole for the vacation and other bene-

fits lost as a result of the company’s adjustments

to their seniority; (3) that, in the future, the

company may only look back for one year in mak-

ing adjustments to seniority, and that flight at-

tendants have one year in which to challenge

such seniority adjustments; and (4) that for a

sixty (60) day period following the issuance of the

decision in this case, flight attendants may notify

the company that it retroactively adjusted their

seniority to reflect an event that occurred more

than one year ago and that the company shall re-

scind such adjustments and make the affected

” oe

App. 24

flight attendants whole for the vacation and

other benefits lost as a result of the company’s

adjustments to their seniority.”

Continental argued that it had the right to adjust

flight attendants’ non-competitive seniority dates in

compliance with work rules and agreements that allow

flight attendants to maintain but not to accrue non-

competitive seniority during periods of personal and/or

company offered leave. Continental contended that it

“should not be held to the same time limits of thirty (30)

days which are contained in the collective bargaining

agreement because nothing in that agreement or the past

practice of the parties indicates any intent to place such

restrictions on the company’s ability to administer senior-

ity adjustments.” Continental also argued that

[uJnderlying time limits on filing of claims is the

interest in discouraging ‘sleeping on one’s rights’

or appearing to acquiesce to a given policy or

practice. In contrast, there is no reason or princi-

ple justifying rejection, based merely on the pas-

sage of time, of accurate seniority adjustments.

[Continental suggested that if the Board con-

cludes that the timing of adjustments is subject

to some rule of reasonableness, a time limit far

different from the 30-day period for filing pro-

tests and grievances must be used. It suggest[ed]

that it should be no less than one calendar year

after conclusion of the event giving rise to the ad-

justment (such as the flight attendant returning

to active duty), or after the regular publication of

the seniority date (such as for vacation seniority).

' Id. at pp. 4-5.

‘* Id. at p. 5.

App. 25

[Continental also argued] that if it is limited to

going back one year, flight attendants likewise

should be limited in seeking revisions of estab-

lished seniority, or adjustments made to senior-

ity, more than one year prior to the date of the

adjustment.”

The Board first decided that it lacked “jurisdiction to

go back further than the beginning of the collective bar-

gaining agreement between the Company and the

IAM[AW] at the time the grievances being heard were

filed,””* i.e., April 1, 2000.” The board then decided that

for retroactive adjustments that occurred within

the last two years [beginning on the date of the

award, i.e., May 17, 2002], flight attendants may

protest such adjustments in their seniority dates

which occurred more than a year after the event

which triggered the adjustment. They may do so

within 30 days of the date on which this award is

rendered, and the parties shall have the joint ob-

ligation of informing all flight attendants of this

decision. Flight attendants who are on leaves of

absence shall have 30 days after their return to

duty to file such protests. In the event a flight at-

tendant files such a protest, the company may

look at any event which concluded during the

two-year period and make adjustments to include

any non-duty time which enced during that two-

year period. For the future, the company shall

have a period of one year from the date on which

a flight attendant returns to duty to adjust his or

* Id. at pp. 5-6.

° Id. at pp. 6-7.

See Title Page of Agreement between Continental Airlines, Inc.

and L[AMAW, Exhibit 3 in the Joint Appendix.

App. 26

her seniority date. Likewise, flight attendants

will be limited in challenging adjustments made

to seniority more than one year prior to the daie

of the adjustment. Within that time parameter,

individual flight attendants shall have 30 days

from the date on which they first were notified by

the Company (e.g., System Seniority posting, pay

register, annual retirement statement, and an-

nual vacation notification letter) to file a pro-

test.

The Board also decided that its ruling would apply to

Bale’s individual grievance,” denied grievances related to

individuals holding managerial positions at the director

level and above as untimely,” and denied Mitchell’s “griev-

ances claiming that the Company incorrectly adjusted her

vacation, pay and JA [jump seat] seniority dates ...

because the adjustments were made contemporaneously.””

Finally, the Board retained jurisdiction of “all disputes

arising based upon this decision including questions

regarding remedy.”

On May 20, 2002, Continental and the IAMAW jointly

issued a notice to all flight attendants stating that “Arbitra-

tor Robert O. Harris has issued his decision in the matter of

several seniority grievances. His decision has required a joint

obligation of the parties to inform the flight attendants of the

award.” The joint notice explained the terms of the award

* See Decision of the Chairman and Award of the Board, Exhibit 1

in the Joint Appendix at pages 7-8.

° Id. at p. 8.

* Id.

21 Id

” Id. at p. 9.

* Exhibit 66 in the Joint Appendix.

App. 27

and warned that “all claims must be filed no later than

June 17, 2002. Any request, claim or grievance filed after

that date will be considered untimely and will not be

processed. Copies of the decision are posted in the bulletin

books for review or is available from your Union represen-

tative.” On the same day IAMAW District 142 also issued

a separate notice that described the arbitration decision to

“(ajll Continental [flight [alttendants.””

On or about October 14, 2002, the Board issued a

second Decision and Award that resolved grievances

submitted to it pursuant to the Decision and Award dated

May 17, 2002.” This Decision and Award resolved griev-

ance no. 07607 brought by Bale:

The Grievant claims his pass, pay and vacation

seniority dates were adjusted in October 2000.

The Company’s records show that the adjust-

ments were actually made in September 1998,

outside the time frame for claims that can be

submitted under the Decision and Award.”

Plaintiffs ask the court to vacate and remand the

Decision and Award, and to enjoin Continental from

implementing it. (PR 9 12) Plaintiffs contend that the

Decision and Award “fails to comply with the requirements

of the ... [Railway Labor Act] RLA, fails to conform or

confine itself to matters within the scope of its jurisdiction,

is based upon fraud or corruption and has denied

ay

* Exhibit 67 in the Joint Appendix.

* Exhibit 2 in the Joint Appendix.

* Id. at pp. 2-3.

App. 28

{plaintiffs and others similarly situated due process of

law.” (PR { 12)

II. Plaintiffs’ Claims

In their Petition for Review (Docket Entry No. 1)

plaintiffs assert claims for violation of the RLA and for

violation of their right to due process guaranteed by the

Fifth Amendment of the United States Constitution.

A. Railway Labor Act Claims

Plaintiffs assert two RLA claims: (1) the Decision and

Award does not comply with the RLA (PR {J 84-90), and

(2) the Decision and Award fails to conform or confine

itself to matters within the scope of the board’s jurisdiction

(PR 7 91-94).

Citing McNair v. United States Postal Service, 768

F.2d 730, 735 (5th Cir. 1985) (per curiam), defendants

argue that this action should be dismissed because “indi-

vidual employees lack standing to seek judicial review of a

Systems Board of Adjustment award when, as here, a

Union as their exclusive bargaining representative has

prosecuted the grievances on their behalf.”” Citing Acuff v.

United Papermakers & Paperworkers, AFL-CIO, 404 F.2d

169 (5th Cir. 1968), cert. denied, 89 S.Ct. 1466 (1969), and

Clark v. Hein-Werner Corp., 99 N.W.2d 132 (Wis. 1959), cert.

denied, 80 S.Ct. 878 (1960), plaintiffs respond that defen-

dants’ argument is contradicted by cases that have recog-

nized an individual’s standing to challenge an arbitration

* Defendant Continental AirLines, Inc.’s Response to Plaintiffs’

Petition for Review, Docket Entry No. 48, p. 13.

App. 29

award when the interests of the individual employees

differ from the interests of their union.”

1. Standing Under the RLA

In McNair the Fifth Circuit recognized that

[wlhen a collective bargaining agreement estab-

lishes a mandatory, binding grievance procedure

and gives the union the exclusive right to pursue

claims on behalf of aggrieved employees, the re-

sults obtained by the union are normally conclusive

of the employees’ rights under the agreement.

McNair, 768 F.2d at 735 (citing Hines v. Anchor Motor

Freight, Inc., 96 S.Ct. 1048 (1976), and Vaca v. Sipes, 87

S.Ct. 903 (1967)). “This means, of course, that an ag-

grieved worker whose employment is governed by such an

agreement normally lacks standing independently to

initiate grievance procedures, to sue for breach of the

collective bargaining agreement, or to attack in court the

results of the grievance process.” Jd. (citing Acuff, 404 F.2d

at 171). Nevertheless, the court also recognized that

“[t}hese rules are not ... without exception.” Jd. The court

explained that

if the union has breached its duty of fair repre-

sentation, by arbitrarily refusing to pursue a

claim through the grievance process or by doing so

in a perfunctory or otherwise inadequate manner,

an aggrieved employee is not foreclosed by the re-

sults of the grievance process. He may sue his em-

ployer or his union or both but, in order to recover,

* Plaintiffs’ Reply Brief in Support of Petition for Review, Docket

Entry No. 54, fourth through seventh unnumbered pages.

App. 30

he must prove that the union breached its duty of

fair representation and that the employer

breached the collective bargaining agreement.

Id. (citing Vaca, 87 S.Ct. at 903).

The cases plaintiffs cite similarly recognize that

individual employees seeking to challenge an award made

by a system board of adjustment at an arbitration, after

the union — as their exclusive bargaining representative —

has prosecuted the grievances on their behalf, must show

both that the company breached the CBA and that the

union breached its duty of fair representation. See Acuff,

404 F.2d at 171 (individual employees lacked ability to

intervene in arbitration proceeding where union had not

breached its duty of fair representation); Clark, 99 N.W.2d

at 136-137 (applying fair representation test to decide

whether individual employees were entitled to relief from

arbitration award).

2. Fair Representation

(a) Plaintiffs Disavow Fair Representation Claim

The Fifth Circuit’s opinions in Acuff, 404 F.2d at 169,

and McNair, 768 F.2d at 730, recognize that individual

employees lack standing to challenge arbitration awards

made pursuant to a binding arbitration provision where,

as here, the aggrieved employees were represented by

their union unless the employees can show that the union

breached its duty of fair representation. Plaintiffs do not

dispute that the CBA at issue in this case contains a

mandatory, binding arbitration provision, or that the

IAMAW held the exclusive right to represent them at the

App. 31

arbitration.” Moreover, plaintiffs expressly disavow any

claim that the IAMAW breached its duty of fair represen-

tation:

Plaintiffs assert no claims against IAMAW, and

in particular, Plaintiffs do not assert any claim of

breach of the duty of fair representation. Rather,

IAMAW is joined here for the sole reason that as

a party to the arbitration which resulted in the

Decision and Award, it is a party needed for just

adjudication under Rule 19(a), Fed. R. Civ. P.

(PR 47)” Nevertheless, citing Clark, 99 N.W.2d at 137-

138, plaintiffs argue that they have standing to bring this

action because “where the substantial interests of the

representative are not necessarily or even probably the

same as those he purports to represent, due process

* See Section 20(B\9) of the April 1, 2000-October 1, 2004,

Agreement between Continental Airlines, Inc., and the LAMAW, Exhibit

3 in the Joint Appendix (“Decisions of the Board in all cases referred to

it shall be final and binding upon the parties hereto and the parties

must abide by that decision.”).

* See IAMAW’s Brief in Opposition, Docket Entry No. 47, p. 14 &

n.3 (asserting that any duty-of-fair-representation claim would be time

barred by the six-month statute of limitations applicable to such

claims). See Wood v. Houston Belt & Terminal Ry., 958 F .2d 95, 97 (5th

Cir. 1992) (six-month limitation period applies to hybrid actions

brought by individual employees against their employers involving

interpretation of a CBA, and against their unions for breach of the

union’s duty of fair representation), and Smith v. Int'l Org. of Masters,

Mates & Pilots, 296 F.3d 380, 382-383 (5th Cir. 2002) (six-month

limitations period applies to fair representation claim brought only

against an employee’s union).

App. 32

militates vigorously against giving the decision effect upon

them.”

(b) Differing Interests

Plaintiffs contend that “while IAM[AW] may assert

that it is not interested in having the award set aside,

IAM[AW] brief p. 15, [p]laintiffs, whose interests are

different, have standing to seek review of that award.””

Plaintiffs explain that “[p]resumably, the Union does not

want the award set aside based upon the prospective relief

it obtained, LAM[AW] brief p. 15, ... [but that] despite its

assertion of success, it was highly unsuccessful in restor-

ing [their] ... selectively and improperly adjusted senior-

ity.”

In Clark the union’s successful pursuit of its position

resulted in the demotion of several employees. The Su-

preme Court of Wisconsin held that the arbitration award

should not be binding upon adversely affected employees

whose interests were diametrically opposed to the position

espoused by the union where those employees were not

given notice of the arbitration hearing. The Court ex-

plained that

where the interests of two groups of employees

are diametrically opposed to each other and the

union espouses the cause of one in the arbitra-

tion, it follows as a matter of law that there has

* Plaintiffs’ Reply Brief in Support of Petition for Review, Docket

Entry No. 54, fourth through seventh unnumbered pages, fifth-sixth

unnumbered pages.

* Jd. at sixth unnumbered page.

* Id. at n.6.

App. 33

been no fair representation of the other group...

even ... though, in choosing the cause of which

group to espouse, the union acts completely ob-

jectively and with the best motives. The old ad-

age, that one cannot serve two masters, is

particularly applicable to such a situation.

99 N.W.2d at 137. The Court reasoned that even though

the employer’s position at arbitration was identical to the

plaintiffs’ position, “the plaintiffs were entitled to notice of

the hearing, and an opportunity to intervene, as a matter

of sound labor policy.” Jd. at 138. Since, as explained

below, Clark is no longer good law on the duty of fair

representation, and since the plaintiffs in this case either

participated in the arbitration (Mitchell and Bale) or failed

to file a grievance (Boorstein), the court is not persuaded

that Clark supports plaintiffs’ application for relief from

the arbitration award. See Gray v. Marinette County, 546

N.W.2d 553, 560 (Wis. Ct. App. 1996), and Miller Brewing

Co. v. Brewery Workers Local Union No. 9, 562 F.Supp.

1368, 1373 (E.D. Wis. 1983), aff’d in part and rev’d in part

on other grounds, 739 F.2d 1159 (7th Cir. 1984), cert.

denied, 105 S.Ct. 912 (1985).

In Miller Brewing the court declared that “Clark is not

good law.” 562 F.Supp. at 1373. The court explained that

Clark was decided seven years before the United States

Supreme Court announced the current standard for

evaluating the union’s execution of its duty in Vaca uv.

Sipes, in which the Court held that “[a] breach of the

statutory duty of fair representation occurs only when a

union’s conduct toward a member of the collective bargain-

ing unit is arbitrary, discriminatory, or in bad faith.” Jd.

(citing Vaca, 87 S.Ct. at 916). In Gray the court rejected

Clark as having been “decided in 1959, while the law on

App. 34

fair representation was ‘still in a state of flux.’” 546

N.W.2d at 560. The court explained that the Supreme

Court’s decision in Humphrey v. Moore, 84 S.Ct. 363

(1964), extinguished the rationale underlying the Clark

decision. 546 N.W.2d at 560. In Humphrey the Supreme

Court held that a union does not breach its duty of fair

representation where it takes a “good faith position con-

trary to that of some individuals whom it represents [] or

in supporting the position of one group of employees

against that of another.” 84 S.Ct. at 371. Reasoning that

“[clonflict between employees represented by the same

union is a recurring fact,” and that gagging the union

would weaken the collective bargaining and grievance

process, the Court held that unions must be free to take a

position on significant disputes and should not be neutral-

ized when the issue is between two sets of employees. Id.

at 371-372.

Since Clark is no longer recognized as good law, the

court is not persuaded that it supports the plaintiffs’ claim

for relief in this case. See Miller Brewing, 562 F.Supp. at

1373 (“Clark is not good law”). See also Gray, 546 N.W.2d

at 560 (explaining that Humphrey, 84 S.Ct. at 363, contra-

dicts any suggestion in Clark that when a union chooses to

represent a union member whose interests are “diametri-

cally opposed” to those of another member, the union has

breached its duty of fair representation to the second

member).

(c) Fifth Circuit Precedent

The law in this circuit has long been that individual

employees may not seek to vacate an arbitration award

App. 35

against the interests of its collective bargaining represen-

tative. See Acuff, 404 F.2d at 171-172. In Acuff the arbitra-

tor denied the grievances of a number of terminated

employees and reinstated others without back pay. Some

of the employees moved to vacate the award. The district

court denied the motion, and the court of appeals affirmed

holding that unless the union breached its statutory duty

of fair representation the employees did not have the right

to override the interests of the group as a whole by seeking

to set aside the awards. Id. Asserting that “the interests of

particular individuals are subordinated to the interests of

the group,” the Fifth Circuit reasoned that “[i]t would be

paradoxical in the extreme if the union, which is author-

ized to decide whether a grievance is to be pursued to the

arbitration state at all, could not be authorized to assume

full responsibility for a grievance it did pursue, without

the intervention of the individual union members immedi-

ately concerned.” Jd.

(1) Mitchell and Bale

Since Mitchell and Bale each filed grievances alleging

that Continental had violated the terms of the CBA, and

each granted the LAMAW “full power of attorney, to repre-

sent [them] in all stages of the [glrievance [p]rocedure in

the presenting and settling of [their] grievance[s],”” and

since neither Mitchell nor Bale alleges that the IAMAW

breached its duty of fair representation, the court con-

cludes that Mitchell and Bale are bound to abide by the

* See Exhibit 5 (grievance no. 06082), Exhibit 8 (grievance no.

05446), and Exhibit 20 (grievance no. 06540) in the Joint Appendix.

App. 36

decision of the Board. See Acuff, 404 F.2d at 171-172, and

McNair, 768 F.2d at 735.

(2) Boorstein

Although, unlike Mitchell and Bale, Boorstein never

filed a grievance alleging that Continental had violated

the terms of the CBA and did not receive individual notice

of the arbitration, the court concludes that she, too, is

bound to abide by the decision of the Board because she is

a member of the same collective bargaining unit as

Mitchell and Bale and, like them, was represented at the

arbitration by the IAMAW. Plaintiffs cite Steward v.

Manan, 351 F.3d 1338, 1344-1345 (11th Cir. 2003), as a case

in which a group of pilots who had not received notice of a

pending arbitration successfully brought suit to set aside

the resulting award.

Steward involved the issue of whether the statutory

notice provision contained in 45 U.S.C. § 153 First ()

applied to proceedings before an airline board of adjust-

ment. 351 F.3d at 1344-1345. The statutory notice provi-

sion requires an adjustment board to “give due notice of all

hearings to the employee or employees and the carrier or

carriers involved in any disputes submitted to them.” 45

U.S.C. § 153 First (j). An employee is “involved” for pur-

poses of § 153 First (j) if she would be adversely affected

by the board’s decision. Jd. at 1345 (citing Estes v. Union

Terminal Co., 89 F.2d 768, 770 (5th Cir. 1937)). After

holding that the due notice requirement of § 153 First (j)

applies to airline boards of adjustment, the court ad-

dressed the specific issue before it: whether a group of

individual pilots who were directly and adversely affected

by the arbitration award were entitled to notice of the

App. 37

arbitration hearing. Jd. at 1345-1346. The court distin-

guished the facts before it from the typical case:

[t]he Supreme Court has said that due notice is a

flexible standard which takes into account the

realities of the relationships between the em-

ployer, the union, and the employee. See Elgin, J.

& E. Ry. Co. v. Burley, 66 S.Ct. 721, 723 & n.9

(1946). In the usual case, the union represents

the employee before the board. Id. at 723; Estes

v. Union Terminal Co., 89 F.2d 768, 769-771 (5th

Cir. 1937). Thus, in the usual case, when the

board gives the union, rather than the employee,

notice of the hearing, courts will not automati-

cally set aside the board’s award for failure to

give due notice to the employee ... This, how-

ever, is the unusual case in which the union does

not represent the involved employees before the

board. We have said that, in these unusual cases,

the board should personally notify the involved

employees who are unrepresented.

Id. at 1346. Unlike the “unusual” case presented in Stew-

ard where the aggrieved employees were not represented

by the union, this case is the “usual case” because Boor-

stein, like Mitchell and Bale, was (and is) represented by

the IAMAW.

Notice to the union constitutes adequate notice to

employees like Boorstein who have not filed an individual

grievance. Bhd. of Ry., Airline & S.S. Clerks v. St. Louis

Southwestern Ry., 676 F.2d 132 (5th Cir. 1982).

The Board is obligated to notify an employee (or

his representative) of any proceeding that may

result in that employee’s losing his position. This

requirement should not prove burdensome in

most instances, since a letter to one or two union

App. 38

representatives normally will ensure that all ‘in-

volved’ parties are apprised of the dispute.

Id. at 135-136. Since the LAMAW had notice of the arbitra-

tion and represented the grievants at the arbitration, the

court concludes that Boorstein and other members of

plaintiffs’ collective bargaining unit who never filed a

grievance lack standing to challenge the resulting award

without showing that the [AMAW breached its duty of fair

representation. See Acuff, 404 F.2d at 169-171, and

McNair, 768 F.2d at 735.

3. Conclusions

Grievances of five individual flight attendants that

involved adjustments of non-competitive seniority for

vacation time, pass and jump seat riding, and/or company

seniority, all of which were made substantially after

occurrence of the events that occasioned the adjustments,

were brought together for binding arbitration at which the

grievants were all represented by the L[AMAW. The court

concludes that Mitchell and Bale, two of the five individual

grievants, lack standing to challenge the arbitration

award because they have not alleged that the LAMAW

breached its duty of fair representation. The court con-

cludes that Boorstein, a flight attendant who belongs to

the same collective bargaining unit as Mitchell and Bale

but who, unlike Mitchell and Bale, never filed a grievance,

also lacks standing to challenge the arbitration award

because, like Mitchell and Bale, she has not alleged that

the LAMAW breached its duty of fair representation.

Accordingly, the court concludes that the RLA claims

plaintiffs have asserted in their PR should be dismissed

for lack of subject matter jurisdiction. See McNair, 768

F.2d at 737 (determination that plaintiffs lack standing to

App. 39

sue robs the court of subject matter jurisdiction). Since

dismissals based on the court’s determination that it lacks

subject matter jurisdiction are not dismissals on the

merits, plaintiffs’ RLA claims will be dismissed without

prejudice. See Air Line Pilots Association, 567 F.Supp. at

72-74 (refusal to exercise jurisdiction establishes conclu-

sive effect only on issue of federal jurisdiction).

B. Fifth Amendment Claims

Plaintiffs allege that the Board denied their funda-

mental right to due process of law guaranteed by the Fifth

Amendment to the United States Constitution. (PR {J 95-

97) Plaintiffs’ allegations are that

96. By denying [pllaintiffs Mitchell and Bale

due notice that they would be required to repre-

sent themselves at the [a]rbitration hearing and

by failing to take any steps to insure that they

would not be made to endure trial by ambush,

the Chairman and the Board deprived [p]laintiffs

Mitchell and Bale of due process of law under the

Fifth Amendment to the Constitution of the

United States.

97. By denying [pllaintiff Boorstein due notice

that her rights would be determined at the

[aJrbitration and by denying her the opportunity

to be heard and to fully participate in a proceed-

ing wherein valuable rights of hers were decided

without her knowledge and participation, the

Chairman and the Board deprived [pllaintiff

Boorstein and those similarly situated to her of

due process of law under the Fifth Amendment to

the Constitution of the United States of America.

App. 40

(PR 79 96-97) Plaintiffs argue that the Chairman and

Board violated their fundamental right to due process “[i]n

[flailing to [mJaintain a [rlecord of the [hJearing at [w]hich

the [cllaims of [plaintiffs Mitchell and Bale [wlere

(hjeard,”” and “in [flailing to [p]rovide [nlotice of the

{hlearing to [pjlaintiff Boorstein and [o]ther [s]imilarly

[slituated ([fllight [alttendants, the [a]djustment [bloard

[vjiolated [f}undamental [d]ue [p]rocess [plrinciples of

[notice and the [rlight to be {hleard [wJhen [i]t [iJssued

[i]Jts [alward [iJmpacting Boorstein’s [sJeniority and the

[sleniority of [aJll [fllight [a]ttendants.””

Continental contends that this issue was put to rest

by the Supreme Court in Union Pacific Railroad v. Shee-

han, 99 S.Ct. 399 (1978) (per curiam), in which the Court

held that

[j]Judicial review of Adjustment Board orders is

limited to three specific categories: (1) failure of

the Adjustment Board to comply with the re-

quirements of the Railway Labor Act; (2) failure

of the Adjustment Board to conform, or confine,

itself .o matters within the scope of its jurisdic-

tion; and (3) fraud or corruption ... Only upon

one or more of these bases may a court set aside

an order of the Adjustment Board.

Id. at 402. Despite this language some courts, including

the Fifth Circuit, have held that a due process challenge

may constitute an independent ground for judicial review

of an arbitration award. See Atchison, Topeka and Santa

Fe Ry. Co. v. United Transportation Union, 175 F.3d 355,

* Plaintiffs’ Brief in Support of Petition for Review, Docket Entry

No. 43, p. 13.

* Id. at p. 18.

App. 41

357 (5th Cir. 1999) (this circuit “has recognized a fourth

basis for setting aside an award, in cases where the award

failed to meet the requirements of due process”) (citing

Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers v. St. Louis South-

western Railway Co., 757 F.2d 656, 660-661 (5th Cir.

1985)). See also Hayes v. Western Weighing and Inspection

Bureau, 838 F.2d 1434, 1436 (5th Cir. 1988) (noting that

later decisions interpreting Sheehan “have cabined the

reach of the due process challenge”). Plaintiffs predicate

their due process claims on the fact that the Board did not

maintain a record of the proceedings before it, and the fact

that Boorstein and other flight attendants like her who

never filed a grievance did not receive notice of the arbi-

tration or an opportunity to be heard at the arbitration.

1. Failure to Maintain a Record

Since the court has already concluded that plaintiffs

lack standing to challenge the arbitration award under the

RLA, the court concludes that the Board’s failure to

maintain a record cannot have violated the plaintiffs’

rights to due process because even if there were a record to

review the court lacks jurisdiction to set aside the Board’s

decision based on its review of that record. See Cusak uv.

Trans-Global Solutions, Inc., 222 F.Supp.2d 834, 843 (S.D.

Tex. 2002) (characterizing lack of a complete record from

arbitration proceeding as “irrelevant” where court was

without power to set aside decision of the arbitrators).

2. Lack of Notice to Boorstein and Others Similarly

Situated

Citing Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co.,

70 S.Ct. 652, 657 (1950), plaintiffs argue that Boorstein as

App. 42

well as all other similarly situated flight attendants who

never filed a grievance based on adjustments made to

their non-competitive seniority were denied adequate

notice of the pendency of the arbitration and an opportu-

nity to present their claims regarding their seniority

rights to the arbitral Board.” In Mullane the Court stated

that

[aJn elementary and fundamental requirement of

due process in any proceeding which is to be ac-

corded finality is notice reasonably calculated,

under all the circumstances, to apprise inter-

ested parties of the pendency of the action and

afford them an opportunity to present their ob-

jections.

Id. Citing Elmore v. Chicago & Illinois Midland Railway

Co., 782 F.2d 94, 96-97 (7th Cir. 1986), plaintiffs assert

that their “vested seniority rights are without question

‘property’ within the meaning of the due process clause of

the Fifth Amendment,” and citing Primakow v. Railway

Express Agency, Inc., 56 F.Supp. 418, 416 (E.D. Wis. 1943),

plaintiffs argue that notice to the IAMAW was not notice

to them.”

Defendants argue that plaintiffs’ non-competitive

seniority should not be deemed a constitutionally pro-

tected property interest sufficient to trigger due process

protections of the Fifth Amendment, and that even if it is,

it should not be used to expand the notice and hearing

rights contained in the RLA.

* Id. at pp. 18-19.

* Id. at p. 19.

App. 43

Assuming without deciding that plaintiffs possess a

protected property interest in non-competitive seniority,

the court concludes that plaintiffs have failed to allege

facts sufficient to state a claim for violation of their Fifth

Amendment rights to due process because in this circuit

notice to the union constitutes notice to the employee. See

St. Louis Southwestern Ry., 676 F.2d at 136 (“the Board is

obligated to notify an employee (or his representative) of

any proceeding that may result in that employee’s losing

his position. (This requirement should not prove burden-

some in most instances, since a letter to one or two union

representatives normally will ensure that all ‘involved’

parties are apprised of the dispute”). The holding in

Primakow, 56 F.Supp. at 413, cited by the plaintiffs, is not

to the contrary.

In Primakow the plaintiff-employee claimed a senior-

ity status superior to that of another employee, Ella

Gregg, on whose behalf the union filed a grievance. At the

ensuing arbitration proceeding the union argued Gregg’s

cause, and the company argued the plaintiff’s cause.

Following an arbitration decisjon in Gregg’s favor, the

plaintiff contended that she was not bound by the decision

because she was not a party to the controversy and had

not received notice of the hearings before the arbitral

board. The court addressed the issues of whether the

plaintiff had due and timely notice of the hearings before

the board, and whether by her conduct she had waived

such notice. The court concluded that the plaintiff was

entitled to notice of the hearings because it could not “be

contended that the brotherhood was representing [her] in

the controversy|, and] . . . was in fact vigorously contesting

her claim and, in championing the cause of Mrs. Gregg,

[was actually] ... oppos{ing] the interests of the plaintiff.”

App. 44

Id. at 416. The court also concluded that since plaintiff

had written letters to the company about the matter in

controversy that she had not waived her right to notice of

the arbitration. Jd. Unlike the plaintiff in Primakow who

had written to the company about the controversy before

the arbitration took place, but was neither represented at

the arbitration nor notified by her union that the arbitra-

tion would take place, Boorstein never filed a grievance or

took any other steps to protect her non-competitive senior-

ity before the arbitration took place. Nevertheless, Boor-

stein was represented by the L[AMAW at the arbitration as

a member of the grievants’ collective bargaining unit.

Although St. Louis Southwestern Ry., 676 F.2d at 136,

and Primakow, 56 F.Supp. at 413, concerned the RLA’s

statutory notice requirement, the Board’s notice to the

IAMAW in satisfaction of the RLA’s statutory notice

requirement necessarily satisfies the Fifth Amendment’s

notice requirement. See Locomotive Eng’rs v. St. Louis

Southwest Ry., 757 F.2d 656 (5th Cir. 1985) (recognizing

due process as ground for judicial review but rejecting

constitutional claim that was based on the same reasoning

as a rejected statutorily-based claim for judicial review).

3. Conclusion

The root requirement of procedural due process is that

an individual be given notice and an opportunity to be

heard before he or she is deprived of a property interest.

Mullane, 70 S.Ct. at 657. Due process requires the oppor-

tunity to be‘heard at a meaningful time and in a meaning-

ful manner. Mathews v. Eldridge, 96 S.Ct. 893, 902 (1976).

Assuming without deciding that the CBA creates a pro-

tected property interest in non-competitive seniority the

App. 45

court concludes that plaintiffs have failed to allege facts

that state a claim for violation of their right to due process

because the court’s conclusion that they lack standing to

challenge the arbitration award under the RLA makes the

Board’s failure to maintain a record irrelevant, and be-

cause notice to the LAMAW constituted notice to Boorstein

and the other flight attendants who never filed a grievance

concerning Continental’s adjustments to their non-

competitive seniority. Accordingly, the court concludes that

the Fifth Amendment claims plaintiffs have asserted in

their Petition for Review should be dismissed for failure to

state a claim for which relief may be granted.

Ill. Conclusions and Order

For the reasons explained above, Plaintiffs’ Petition for

Review (Docket Entry No. 1) is DENIED, plaintiffs’ RLA

claims will be DISMISSED without prejudice, and

plaintiff’s claims for violation of their Fifth Amendment

rights to due process will be DISMISSED with preju-

dice.

SIGNED at Houston, Texas, on this 5th day of Au-

gust, 2005.

/s/ Sim Lake

SIM LAKE

UNITED STATES

DISTRICT JUDGE

App. 46

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

HOUSTON DIVISION

MARILYN MITCHELL, KEVIN §

BALE, and SUSAN BOORSTEIN, §

Plaintiffs, ;

Vv. §

CONTINENTAL AIRLINES, INC.

and INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIA-

TION OF MACHINISTS AND

AEROSPACE WORKERS,

Defendants.

§ CIVIL ACTION NO.

H-04-3470

COP? Qn SOP COR Or

FINAL JUDGMENT

In accordance with the Memorandum Opinion and Order

denying plaintiffs’ petition for review, the claims that plaintiffs

have alleged under the Railway Labor Act are DISMISSED

without prejudice, and the claims that plaintiffs have

alleged under the Fifth Amendment to the United States

Constitution are DISMISSED with prejudice.

Costs will be taxed against plaintiffs.

This is a FINAL JUDGMENT.

SIGNED at Houston, Texas, on this 5th day of Au-

gust, 2005.

/s/ Sim Lake

SIM LAKE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

App. 47

246 96 246 2h he 2c 2c fe 2h 3s 2k fe 24s 2 2c 2s 2 as 2s 2k 2h 2 i ofc 2 2c 2k 9 2k ok 2 i ok OK

In the Matter of Arbitration

between

INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION

OF MACHINISTS DISTRICT 142

and

CONTINENTAL AIRLINES, INC.

i 2 He 2 ie ae 24 2 2h 2 a ak 2s he 2h fe 2 2 2h 2c fs 2c 2s 2s 2 oe 2 2 OK 2K OK KK

eeeee Eee HE E EH F

GRIEVANCE Nos. 04554 (Sonnichsen);

05473, 05446, and 06171 (Mitchell);

06050 (Bice); 06056 (Cruz);

06062, 06540, and 07236 (Bale); 06107 (Shaw)

DECISION OF THE CHAIRMAN

AND

AWARD OF THE BOARD

Appearances

For the Association

Robert S. Clayman

Guerrieri, Edmond & Clayman ye

For the Carrier

Jeffrey D. Wall, Esquire

System Board Members

From the Agsociation

Jeff Oliver

From the Carrier

Cindy Seffair

Neutral Chairman

Robert O. Harris

App. 48

Appointment

Under Title II of the Railway Labor Act, as amended,

the parties entered into a collective bargaining agreement

which provides in Section 19 for the establishment of a

System Board of Adjustment. The present Board, consist-

ing of Jeff Oliver, member appointed by the Association;

Cindy Seffair, member appointed by Continental Airlines;

and Robert O. Harris, chosen by the parties as the chair-

man and neutral member, was designated to hear and

decide the issues involved in the instant case.

The arbitration hearing was held on February 5 and

6, 2002 in Washington, D.C., where the parties presented

testimony, written evidence, and arguments to support

their respective positions. An executive session of the

Board also was held on February 6, 2002. Briefs were filed

on March 21, 2002. The arbitration proceeding now is

complete and the matter in dispute is ready for decision.

Facts

The five individual grievances, which have been

brought together for decision, all involve adjustments to

vacation, pass, or company seniority, and all of which were

made substantially after the events occurred which occa-

sioned the adjustment of seniority by the company. The

individual situations were summarized by the IAM, as

follows:

Kevin Bale: From October 1991 through October

1992, Bale took a company offered leave of ab-

sence. The company stated that in January 1991 it

began to make adjustments to pass seniority for

such leaves. However, upon his return and for ap-

proximately seven years thereafter, the company

App. 49

permitted Bale to use the seniority date on his

ID card for pass-riding purposes, a date which

was not adjusted to reflect his 1991 leave of ab-

sence.

Ann Bice: For approximately fifteen years, Bice

used a vacation seniority date of 3/24/75. In

March 2000, the company informed her that her

seniority date was incorrect and was being ad-

justed to 5/19/77, a loss of 787 days of seniority.

In January 2001, the company corrected its pre-

vious adjustment after further review and ad-

justed her seniority to 2/10/76, still a loss of 323

days of seniority. The revised adjustment re-

flected events which had occurred as early as

June 1975 and as late as July 1984.

Rebecca Cruz: For approximately ten years, Cruz

used a vacation seniority date of 6/11/75, until

the company notified her that it was adjusting

her date to 7/5/75, a loss of 24 days of seniority.

After Cruz inquired about the adjustment, on

December 1, 1999, the company reviewed its re-

cords and announced that her seniority would be

further adjusted to 2/1/76, a total loss of 204 days

of seniority. The revised adjustment reflected

events which had occurred as early as May 1982

and as late as March 1989.

Marilyn Mitchell: In June 1995, the company ad-

justed her seniority date to 7/20/70. For over

three years, Mitchell used this date. In Septem-

ber 1998, however, the company retroactively ad-

justed her seniority to 4/4/71, a loss of 258 days

of seniority. The company based its adjustment

on events which occurred as early as August

1991 and as late as June 1995.

App. 50

Arlene Sonnichsen: In August 1998, the Com-

pany made a timely, but partial, adjustment of

her time on furlough from 1994 through 1997.

Shortly thereafter she requested clarification re-

garding her seniority. As a result, in January

1999, the company made further adjustments to

her seniority based on events which had occurred

as early as August 1971 and including an ad-

justment for her entire time on furlough, result-

ing in a loss of 133 days of seniority.

The collective bargaining agreement requires a

biannual posting of a System Seniority List for flight

attendants for bidding seniority. There is no mention in

the agreement for posting other types of seniority: pay

seniority, vacation accrual seniority, jumpseat and pass-

riding seniority and company service seniority. The agree-

ment allows flight attendants 30 days within which to

protest errors in the bidding seniority list after its posting;

however, no posting or other regular listing of an individ-

ual’s seniority for other purposes ever has been made.

The company has communicated the several non-

competitive seniority dates in various ways. Pay seniority

dates appear on pay stubs since at least the first collective

bargaining agreement negotiated with the IAM; vacation

seniority has been sent to flight attendants annually;

jumpseat and pass-riding seniority has been made based

on the date appearing on their company identification

cards or JA entry in the SONIC computer system, al-

though recently, if a ticket was requested on line, a differ-

ent, adjusted date might be used, of which the flight

attendant may never have been informed.

Testimony indicated that some adjustments were made

when an individual flight attendant asked a question

App. 51

regarding his or her seniority. Accordingly, in certain cases

adjustments were made for some flight attendants, but not

for others.

Issue in Dispute

Were the various adjustments which were made to

flight attendant seniority proper, as in some cases they

were made long after the events which caused the adjust-

ments, and, if not, what is the appropriate remedy?

Contentions of the Parties

It is the contention of the union that the doctrine of

estoppel bars the company from retroactively altering

seniority dates to correct errors that the company has

permitted to stand for long periods of time. It further

contends that the doctrine of laches bars the company

from belatedly asserting a right to adjust seniority. Finally,

the union contends that the principles of disparate treat-

ment prohibit the company from selectively adjusting

seniority rights. As a remedy, the union suggests that: (1)

the company be prohibited from making any adjustments

to grievants’ seniority to reflect an event that occurred

more than one year it the past; (2) that the company be

required to make grievants whole for the vacation and

other benefits lost as a result of the company’s adjust-

ments to their seniority; (3) that, in the future, the com-

pany may only look back for one year in making

adjustments to seniority, and that flight attendants have

one year in which to challenge such seniority adjustments;

and (4) that for a sixty (60) day period following the

issuance of the decision in this case, flight attendants may

notify the company that it retroactively adjusted their

App. 52

seniority to reflect an event that occurred more than one

year ago and that the company shall rescind such adjust-

ments and make the affected flight attendants whole for

the vacation and other benefits lost as a result of the

company’s adjustments to their seniority.

The carrier takes the position that the company

should not be held to the same time limits of thirty (30)

days which are contained in the collective bargaining

agreement because nothing in that agreement or the past

practice of the parties indicates any intent to place such

restrictions on the company’s ability to administer senior-

ity adjustments. It further contends that application of a

purely procedural time limit rule to the administration of

seniority adjustments would adversely impact the sub-

stance or merits of the flight attendant seniority systems.

Permitting or denying otherwise correct adjustments

based solely on compliance with an arbitrary time limit

would, as a practical matter, result in unfair and inequita-

ble adjustments among similarly-situated members of the

bargaining unit. It maintains that, as a practical matter,

the company cannot be expected to administer its various

seniority systems by executing all adjustments within 30

days of each event giving rise to an adjustment. The

company notes that “Underlying time limits on filing of

claims is the interest in discouraging ‘sleeping an one’s

rights’ or appearing to acquiesce to a given policy or

practice. In contrast, there is no reason or principle justify-

ing rejection, based merely on the passage of time, of

accurate seniority adjustments.” The company suggests

that if the Board concludes that the timing of adjustments

is subject to some rule of reasonableness, a time limit far

different from the 30-day period for filing protests and

grievances must be used. It suggests that it should be no

App. 53

less than one calendar year after conclusion of the event

giving rise to the adjustment (such as the flight attendant

returning to active duty), or after the regular publication

of the seniority date (such as for vacation seniority). The

company also believes that if it is limited to going back one

year, flight attendants likewise should be limited in

seeking revisions of established seniority, or adjustments

made to seniority, more than one year prior to the date of

the adjustment. The company believes that limits must

apply equally whether the adjustment would be in the

flight attendant’s favor or not.

Discussion

Between 1979 and the present, Continental has

undergone four mergers, two bankruptcy proceedings, and

three strikes. The parties to this dispute are far different

from those who had set company seniority policy during

much of this period. It is clear from the parties positions,

stated above, that there is a genuine desire to equitably

resolve the problem presented by the various grievances

before the Board. The doctrines cited by the union are

concerned with equity and involve the basic_principle that

employees of the same class should be treated equally. The

record before this Board shows that in prior years and

prior administrations, a careful record of when an individ-

ual returned to work from a leave of absence for purposes

of his or her seniority was not always maintained. Ad-

justment was made for periods of inactivity taken by some

individuals when they returned to work, but not for

others. Because the records from prior years may not be

sufficiently accurate to resolve all disputes which may

arise, it will be necessary to establish a retrospective rule

which is different from that pertaining to the future.

App. 54

However, this Board does not have jurisdiction to go back

further than the beginning of the collective bargaining

agreement between the Company and the IAM at the time

the grievances being heard were filed. Thus the IAM claim

regarding adjustments made for maternity leave taken

under collective bargaining agreements prior to 1983 must

be dismissed. Furthermore, such claims were previously

settled in 1989 and gave flight attendants the right to file

claims at that time.

Furthermore, this Board cannot examine all of the

individual employment reeords of the flight attendants

employed by Continental, and there is no way to remedy

errors which have caused individuals to lose jumpseat and

pass-riding seniority. Accordingly, for retroactive adjust-

ments that occurred within the last two years,’ flight

attendants may protest such adjustments in their senior-

ity dates which occurred more than a year after the event

which triggered the adjustment. They may do so within 30

days of the date on which this award is rendered, and the

parties shall have the joint obligation of informing all

flight attendants of this decision. Flight attendants who

are on leaves of absence shall have 30 days after their

return to duty to file such protests. In the event a flight

attendant files such a protest, the company may look at

any event which concluded during the two-year period and

make adjustments to include any non-duty time which

ended during that two-year period. For the future, the

company shail have a period of one year from the date on

which a flight attendant returns to duty to adjust his or

her seniority date. Likewise, flight attendants will be

\

" The two-year period shall begin on the date of the award.

App. 55

limited in challenging adjustments made to seniority, more

than one year prior to the date of the adjustment. Within

that time parameter, individual flight attendants shall

have 30 days from the date on which they first were

notified by the Company (e.g. System Seniority posting,

pay register, annual retirement statement, and annual

vacation notification letter) to file a protest.

In resolving the individual grievances which have

been filed, the Board finds that the grievance of Sue Shaw

is denied because of a failure to prove her claim as she did

not testify; as for Ann Bice, Arlene Sonnichsen, Kevin

Bale’, and Rebecca Cruz the rules as previously stated

shall be applied to their individual situations. The griev-

ances of Marilyn Mitchell are decided as follows: the

grievances claiming that the Company incorrectly ad-

justed her vacation, pay and JA seniority dates are denied

because the adjustments were made contemporaneously

and in order to retain seniority one must be on the list of

Company employees and to accrue seniority one must be

in the active service of the Company and be receiving pay

for such service. Her grievance contesting the Company’s

adjustment of her Company service date is denied, as

among other things, Company service dates determine

retirement and benefits and, as it relates to service credit,

are not governed by the terms of the collective bargaining

agreement but rather by the rules of the Continental

Airlines Retirement Program.

Grievances claiming that individuals holding Director

level and above positions and individuals placed on the

* Mr. Bale also claimed disparate treatment; however this claim

need not be decided in view of the award in this case.

App. 56

System Seniority List with dates that do not coincide with

the date that they were placed on flight attendant payroll

and the individual working as inflight liaison to dining

services should be removed from the System Seniority List

are denied as untimely and because of Letter of Agreement

22.

Award

The grievance is sustained in accordance with the

Discussion above. In the event there is a protest which

cannot be resolved it may be submitted to the System

Board of Adjustment in accordance with the grievance

procedure under Section 19. This Board will retain juris-

diction of all disputes arising based upon this decision

including questions regarding remedy.

/s/ Robert O. Harris

Robert O. Harris

Chairman

/s/ Cindy Seffair /s/ Jeffrey S. Oliver

Cindy Seffair Jeff Oliver

Carrier Member Union Member

(Concur) (Dissent) (Concur) (Dissent)

In Part In Part In Part In Part

App. 57

2s fe 2fe fe 2 2s 2 ake 2 af fs ok afc afc af 24k of 2 as aft 2fe 2fe fe 2s afc 24k 99 of afc 24 24 2h 2 afc fe 3k

In the Matter of Arbitration

between

INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION

OF MACHINISTS DISTRICT 142

and

CONTINENTAL AIRLINES, INC.

fe 2 ahs 2s 2h fe as 2fe 2 fe fe fe fs fe fe af fe fe of fs afc afc 2s ois ofc fc af as afc 2s ak ofc ofc 2s 2k 2

EEE KEEE Ee EE F

GRIEVANCE Nos. 04554 (Sonnichsen), 05473, 05446,

and 06171 (Mitchell); 06050 (Bice); 06056 (Cruz); 06082,

06540, and 07236 (Bale); 06107 (Shaw); and General

Grievance G-17 (IAM)

DECISION OF THE CHAIRMAN

AND AWARD OF THE BOARD

Appearances

For the Association

Robert S. Clayman

Guerrieri, Edmond & Clayman

For the Carrier

Jeffrey D. Wall, Esquire

System Board Members

From the Association

Jeff Oliver

From the Carrier

Cindy Seffair

Neutral Chairman

Robert O. Harris

The following grievances were submitted to the

System Board of Adjustment for resolution pursuant to the

Decision and Award dated May 17, 2002. The Board

App. 58

retained jurisdiction under that Award to resolve all

disputes arising from it, including questions of remedy and

other seniority protests flied in conformance with the

Decision and Award. The parties have submitted three

cases addressed in the Decision and Award for the Boards

consideration as to remedy. The Board finds as follows:

Grievance No. 04554 (Sonnichsen)

The Grievant’s vacation seniority date is October 4,

1973. The Company shall pay her one weeks vacation pay

at her rate of pay in effect in 1999.

Grievance No. 06050 (Bice)

The Grievant’s vacation seniority date is March 24,

1975. The Company shall pay her one weeks vacation pay

at her rate of pay in effect in 2001.

Grievance No. 06056 (Cruz)

The Grievant’s vacation seniority date is July 5, 1975.

The Company shall pay her one week’s vacation pay at her

rate of pay in effect in 2001.

Grievance No. 07607 (Bale)

The Grievant claims his pass, pay and vacation

seniority dates were adjusted retroactively in October

2000. The Company’s records show that the adjustments

were actually made in September 1998, outside the time-

frame for claims that can be submitted under the Decision

and Award. The grievance is denied.

App. 59

Eleven additional cases were submitted for the

Board’s consideration regarding adjustments in various

seniority dates. Having reviewed the evidence and argu-

ments of the parties, the Board rules as follows:

Grievance No. 07431 (Morales; Ryan)

The Grievants’ pass boarding seniority dates were

adjusted retroactively for leaves of absence taken more

than one year before. In accordance with the principle set

forth in the Decision and Award, such retroactive adjust-

ment shall be rescinded, and their pass boarding seniority

dates each shall be July 1, 1984. There shall be no change

to their current Company service seniority dates.’

Gnievance No. 07432 (Piazza)

The Grievant claims her pay seniority was adjusted in

September 2000 for leaves taken in 1997 and 1998. The

Company’s payroll records demonstrate that her pay,

vacation and Company service seniorities were adjusted in

a timely fashion upon her return from leave in both 1997

and 1998. She was not adjusted retroactively in 2000. The

grievance is denied.

* As noted in the May 17 Decision and Award, protests concerning

adjustments in Company service dates are outside this Board’s

purview. Company service dates determine retirement and benefits

and, as it relates to service credit, are not governed by the terms of the

collective bargaining agreement but rather by the rules of the Conti-

nental Airlines Retirement Program.

App. 60

Grievance No. 07433 (Heffernan)

The Grievant claims that retroactive adjustments

were made to her Company service and pass boarding

seniority date. The Company’s records show that a clerical

“keypunch” error changed her original hire date of No-

vember 1, 1987 to February 24, 1987. The date of hire and

pass seniority dates were then retroactively adjusted in

2001 to account for leaves of absence taken more than one

year before. The retroactive adjustment in pass seniority

shall be rescinded, but the correction and adjustment of

her Company service date shall stand. Her pass seniority

date shall be November 1, 1987 and her Company service

seniority date shall be April 29, 1988.

Grievance No. 07434 (Mysel)

The Grievant’s pay and pass boarding seniority dates

were adjusted retroactively in July 2000 for leaves taken

in 1992. Her pay seniority shall be returned to April 6,

1993, and her pass seniority shall be returned to Septem-

ber 5, 1992.

Grievance No. 07435 (Wintenburg)

The Grievant’s vacation, pay and pass

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.