Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Lanard Toys, Inc. v. General Motors Corp (No. 06-1589)

Supreme Court brief2007

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Al

No.

In the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

LANARD TOYS, INC., and LANARD Toys, LTD..

Petitioners,

GENERAL MOTORS CorP. and AM GENERAL, LLC,

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Sixth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JOuUN A. WEST Roy T. ENGLERT, JR.*

LORE KRAFTE GARY A. ORSECK

CARRIE A. SHUFFLEBARGER =DAMON W. TAAFFE

Greenebaum Doll & Robbins. Russell, Englert.

McDonald PLLC Orseck & Untereiner LLP

2900 Chemed Center ISOLK Street, N.W.

255 East Fifth Street Suite 41 1

Cinemnat, OH 45202 Washington. D.C. 20006

(S13) 455-7600 (202) 775-4500

* Counsel of Record

QUESTION PRESENTED

in TrafFix Devices, Inc. v. Marketing Displays, Inc., 532

U.S. 23 (2001), this Court ruled (1) that a product design feature

is functional, and cannot be protected under trade dress law, if

it is “essential to the use or purpose of the article or if it affects

the cost or quality of the article,” and (ii) that, in making the

functionality determination, “there 1s no need * * * to engage

* * * in speculation about other design possibilities.” Jd. at 32.

The United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit has

since held that the “availability of alternative designs 1s

irrelevant” to whether a design feature is functional, whereas the

United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit has since

held that the availability of alternative designs 1s a “legitimate

source of evidence to determine whether a feature is functional.”

The question presented is whether the Sixth Circuit panel,

in holding that there is no genuine dispute of material fact that

certain design elements of respondents’ military vehicle are

nonfunctional, erred in considering the availability of alternative

product designs.

(1)

ii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Petitioners are Lanard Toys, Inc., and Lanard Toys

Limited, defendants-appellants in the courts below. Respon-

dents are General Motors Corporation and AM General, LLC,

plaintiffs-appellees in the courts below.

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

Neither Lanard Toys, Inc., nor Lanard Toys Limited is a

subsidiary or affiliate of a publicly owned corporation.

iil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

COL Fe a kde e ERROR MEE Aiea kG 5 0 be Ad nee dee eee (1)

PARTIES FOP PEE: CROCUS nv nec ca cncvass (11)

Kat EU RR EIS | Akw Rosas ERAS ROS OES (11)

TOs Ae FOG Re 6 Kn eo eRe Kee vi

Po eee rer eee reer inn y pee rr 1

PR NORE, ook Ck aA CR Oe ee l

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED ............ l

RA FEE SES a ee eR eo eke ae l

A. Trade Dress and the Functionality Doctrine ..... 2

B. Factual Background of the Present Case ........ 6

A. NE PENI vcd 345 da howe hee wae 10

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ............ 13

1. THE CIRCUITS ARE DEEPLY SPLIT ON

THE APPLICATION OF THE

FUNCTIONALITY TEST AS SET FORTH IN

pct) er ee eet Te eer See 13

A. Before TrafFix, Lower Courts Were

Confused About Whether A Competitive-

Need Analysis Was Appropriate For

Traditional Design Features ............ 14

1V

. TABLE OF CONTENTS—continued

Page

B. The 7rafFix Decision Makes Clear That

Different Tests Apply In Cases Of

Traditional And Aesthetic Functionality .. 17

we rrr ree Por 18

ll. THE SIXTH CIRCUIT’S OPINION

MISCONSTRUES TRAFFIX AND

DANGEROUSLY WEAKENS THE

FUNCTIONALITY REQUIREMENT ....... 23

lil. THE CIRCUIT CONFLICT CONCERNS A

MATTER OF OVERRIDING IMPORTANCE

AS TO WHICH NATIONAL UNIFORMITY IS

EEE Sao oe ner G a sw KS OR KEARNS 27

CORRE Siig chs stan eRe Red SNA CuRE RENNES 28

APPENDIX A

General Motors Corp. v. Lanard Toys, Inc., 468 F.3d

PT AO oo kon no dca ea hee see n's la

APPENDIX B

Judgment and Permanent Injunction, General Motors

Corp. v. Lanard Toys, Inc., Nos. 01-71103, 03-7273 1

CRae: NP Ed, BD cose ce As 23a

7

TABLE OF CONTENTS—continued

Page

APPENDIX C

Order denying rehearing, General Motors Corp. v.

Lanard Toys, Inc., No. 05-2085 (6th Cir. Jan. 31,

WEP eR ss hs 2nd FORCE Kans ER OA ES 45a

APPENDIX D

Deposition of Robert J. Gula (excerpts), General Motors

Corp. v. Lanard Toys, Inc., Nos. 01-71103, 03-7273 1

Ce ee | er an rare a 47a

APPENDIX E

Declaration of Robert J. Gula, General Motors Corp. v.

Lanard Toys, Inc., Nos. 01-71103, 03-72731 (E.D. Mich.

EE BNE oa ois Kd UNE RET ESOS 55a

APPENDIX F

a i ee 58a

BIS ee itn ee 63a

tt ak.) |, Shr errr amr REE ER 66a

PAP SES i 5 8 4a Ke eae ee eee aaa ee 75a

Vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page(s)

Cases:

AM General Corp. v. DaimlerChrysler Corp., 311 F.3d

TU Ea 6 565 a ee see ee ees 7,9

Antioch Co. v. Western Trimming Corp., 347 F.3d 150 (6th

EE ros cS GNA a SRA a SARE OA RISD 20

Application of Deister Concentrator Co., 289 F.2d 496

CL i Gk A eh sea t/a kk ben a A RS 14

Bonito Boats, Inc. v. Thunder Craft Boats, Inc., 489 U.S.

EO ae cad ass awn ie Caw ea hero 5, 27

Compco Corp. v. Day-Brite Lighting, Inc., 376 U.S. 234

(ERB ASR groper Saar isa Eran rere NES, Crear at 5

Deere & Co. v. Farmhand, Inc., 560 F. Supp. 85 (S.D.

tote Le cs Lal a eae gen oe eee aS 16

Eppendorf-Netheler-Hinz GmBH v. Ritter GmBH, 289

Pe ee CP GOED «wks sen os vk eee 1, 6, 18, 19

In re Morton-Norwich Products, Inc., 671 F.2d 1332

DR ely che. Saas oak bik 14, 15, 18

Invisible Fence, Inc. v. Technologies, Inc., 2007 WL

rence St Re eR Ge |) ern eereer 20

Inwood Laboratories, Inc. v. Ives Laboratories, Inc., 456

RUINED 60 ok 0 oa KAA RRR 5. 5, 16

Kellogg Co. v. National Biscuit Co.,

ER MEE Se ere rere emer 5

Vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—continued

Page(s)

LeSportsac, Inc. v. K Mart Corp., 754 F.2d 71 (2d Cir.

"RR Nee enetereperar spe Se Eaten re ORCS, 15

Maharishi Hardy Blechman Lid. v. Abercrombie & Fitch

Co., 292 F. Supp. 2d 535 (S.D.N.Y. 2003) ......... 2

Marketing Displays, Inc. v. TrafFix Devices, Inc., 200 F.3d

pig gt Ey.) Naren penetrate toma 17

New Colt Holding Corp. v. RJG Holdings of Florida, Inc.,

312 F. Supp. 2d 195 (D. Conn. 2004) ............ 20

Qualitex Co. v. Jacobson Products Co., Inc., 514 U.S. 159

kc awry BER Oren se Pet 3-5, 16, 23, 24

Sears, Roebuck & Co. v. Stiffel Co., 376 U.S. 225 (1964) . 5

Sicilia Di R. Biebow & Co. v. Cox, 732 F.2d 417 (Sth Cir.

MN os, 8s arn asd ur Sd cA EO ee ee ae 15

Straumann Co. v. Lifecore Biomedical Inc., 278 F. Supp.

ee Ee a SOE. sc boca KA aan bens 20

TrafFix Devices, Inc. v. Marketing Displays, Inc.,532 U.S.

PMO 04 646 nnd Ses Paka cole sd a eee passim

Two Pesos, Inc. v. Taco Cabana, Inc.,

PRs PR EEE cok ak oe ea ask eA pee 23

Valu Engineering, Inc. v. Rexnord Corp., 278 F.3d 1268

Ee OM GEE 556s 0 SNS eK a ere awe 6, 19, 20

Vill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—continued

Page(s)

Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. v. Samara Brothers, Inc., 529 U.S.

PS Eevee peneere arineny Somarie abere enrages 3, 24, 26

Statutes:

bo Sia © AOE 6s Si hoe ae eee tie 3

te OTN aks on a ka eee kes eee 27

ee tas OPO RED skwii ew SaNece ee keene a Ta is

EP Shae i COMER coo eee eee eee eee 4, 12, 26

Miscellaneous:

Margreth Barrett, Consolidating the Diffuse Paths to

Trade Dress Functionality: Encountering TrafFix on

the Way to Sears, 61 WASH. & LEE L. REv. 79

ONE. Sis acds Canrcte bea cleeReeeneaee 21

MICHAEL GREEN & GREG STEWART, HUMVEE AT WAR

CSG 6 Ka wks als Sb en elew nena een 7,8

Siegrun D. Kane, Trademarks Just Ain't What They Used

fo Be, S42 FEST AT POA) ves ecckest inv ives 21

1 J. THOMAS MCCARTHY, MCCARTHY ON TRADEMARKS

AND UNFAIR COMPETITION (4th ed. 2007) ...... passim

1X

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—continued

Page(s)

Vincent N. Palladino, Trade Dress Functionality after

TrafFix: the Lower Courts Divide Again, 93

TRADEMARK REP. 1219 (20038) .. 0.2... 2.22200 21

Justin Pats, Conditioning Functionality: Untangling the

Divergent Strands of Argument Evidenced by Recent

Case Law and Commentary, 10 MARQ. INTELL. PROP.

el GS ree 21

RESTATEMENT (FIRST) OF TORTS (1938) ........... 14, 16

Mark Alan Thurmon, The Rise and Fall of Trademark

Law’s Functionality Doctrine, 56 FLA. L. REV. 243

I a er a eke eave ae ees 2,6

TRADEMARK TRIAL AND APPEAL BOARD MANUAL OF

rea a ae 27

WEBSTER’S THIRD NEW INTERNATIONAL DICTIONARY

YS 23

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

OPINIONS BELOW

The majority and concurring opinions of the Sixth Circuit

(App., infra, 1a-22a) are reported at 468 F.3d 405. The district

court’s order granting summary judgment for General Motors

and AM General on trademark and trade dress infringement

(App., infra, 23a-44a) is unreported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered Octo-

ber 25, 2006. The order of the court of appeals denying rehear-

ing was entered January 31, 2007. App., infra, 45a-46a. On

March 29, 2007, Justice Stevens extended the time within which

to petition for a writ of certiorari to and including May 31, 2007.

This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Relevant statutory provisions are set forth at App., infra,

58a-76a.

STATEMENT

This case highlights the stark division among the courts of

appeals as to whether the existence of alternative product de-

signs is relevant to determining whether a product design

feature is “functional,” and therefore ineligible for trade dress

protection. By holding there is no genuine dispute of material

fact that a set of design features was nonfunctional — based sole-

ly on evidence that different, similarly functional design options

were available — the Sixth Circuit joined the Federal Circuit in

misconstruing this Court’s ruling that “speculation about other

design possibilities” has no bearing on the functionality ques-

tion. TrafFix Devices, Inc. v. Marketing Displays, Inc., 532

U.S. 23, 33-34 (2001). In so doing, it deepened the split among

the courts of appeals, with the Fifth Circuit reaching the

opposite conclusion that, under 7ra/Fix, “(t]he availability of

alternative designs is irrelevant.” Eppendorf-Netheler-Hinz

GmBH v. Ritter GmBH, 289 F.3d 351, 357 (5th Cir. 2002).

ceasing reueceunemanie ae sietnpcciaeasptanitudecannaunuaneiiiigueeienemas

a a a ie a a iat

2

District courts and commentators have lamented the

increasingly unsettled state of the law governing functionality.

See, e.g., Maharishi Hardy Blechman Ltd. v. Abercrombie &

Fitch Co., 292 F. Supp. 2d 535, 546 (S.D.N.Y. 2003) (“TrafFix

bears strongly on the import of alternative designs to the

question of functionality, but the exact holding of 7rafFix on

this point is highly elusive.”); Mark Alan Thurmon, The Rise

and Fall of Trademark Law’s Functionality Doctrine, 56 FLA.

L. REV. 243, 244, 326 (2004) (“Trademark law’s functionality

doctrine is a mess, and the responsibility for this mess rests

squarely with tiie United States Supreme Court.”).

The confusion surrounding this critically important issue

led the Sixth Circuit panel to conclude that the structural design

elements of respondents’ “Humvee” military vehicle were

nonfunctional, simply because other manufacturers had

succeeded in building similar military vehicles with somewhat

different designs. In addition to placing the Sixth Circuit in

direct conflict with the Fifth, that holding runs counter to this

Court’s trade dress jurisprudence. This case provides an

excellent opportunity for the Court to resolve the disagreement

among the circuits and to clarify the extent to which product

designs can be protected under trade dress law.

A. Trade Dress and the Functionality Doctrine

1. Though monopolies are disfavored under the law,

trademark rights are exceptions. See | J. THOMAS MCCARTHY,

MCCARTHY ON TRADEMARKS AND UNFAIR COMPETITION § 1:32

(4th ed. 2007). Granting monopoly rights in a trademark 1s not

anticompetitive because only the brand is protected, while the

right to copy the underlying product is unaffected. Thus,

consumers benefit in two ways: they can identify the products

made by the sellers they prefer (because the brand cannot be

copied), and they have access to competitively priced

alternatives (because the trademark does not grant monopoly

rights in the goods themselves).

“Trade dress” traditionally referred to the overall

appearance of a product’s packaging. See | J. THOMAS

3

MCCARTHY, supra, § 7:75. It is proiectible under trademark

law for the same reason word marks and logos are protectible:

to “prevent consumer confusion and protect the value of

identifying symbols.” /d. § 6:3. Over the years, the definition

of trade dress has expanded to include the shape and design of

the product itself. /d. § 8:5. Extending the trademark monopoly

to product design, however, creates a significant risk of

inhibiting competition by granting monopoly nghts in the

underlying goods themselves. For this reason, although the law

does recognize the ability of product design to function as a

source indicator, it also takes pains to guard against improper

protection of product design that would confer patent-like rights

without the limited term and rigorous review such rights

require. It does this through the functionality doctrine, which

permits the copying of functional features regardless of

secondary meaning or likelihood of confusion. See Qualitex

Co. v. Jacobson Products Co., Inc., 514 U.S. 159, 164-165

(1995). Because a functional design element is not protectible

under the Lanham Act, it may be copied by anyone — not just

direct competitors. See 15 U.S.C. § 1052(e)(5). This means

that, if the design elements of the military Humvee are

functional, they could be copied not only by the manufacturer’s

direct competitors, but also by Lanard and other toy and hobby

manufacturers.

This Court has cautioned against “misuse or overextension

of trade dress [protection].” 7rafFix, 532 U.S. at 29 (citing

Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. v. Samara Brothers, Inc., 529 U.S. 205,

213 (2000)). First, the Court has noted that “[t]rade dress

protection must subsist with the recognition that in many

instances there is no prohibition against copying goods and

products,” because “[a]llowing competitors to copy will have

salutary effects in many instances.” Traf/Fix, 532 U.S. at 29.

When multiple competitors are able to offer products that

feature the same functional design elements, the resulting price

competition inures to consumers’ benefit.

Second, “[i}t is the province of patent law, not trademark

law, to encourage Innovation by granting inventors a monopoly

4

Over new product designs or functions for a limited time * * *,

after which competitors are free to use the innovation.”

Qualitex, 514 U.S. at 164 (1995). Because the law generally

disfavors monopolies, patent applications are subject to rigorous

scrutiny, and the period of exclusive rights is limited. After that

period, competitors are free to appropriate the innovation

however they wish.

The functionality doctrine polices the boundary between

the domains of trade dress and patent law. “Ifa product’s func-

tional features could be used as trademarks * * * a monopoly

over such features could be obtained without regard to whether

they qualify as patents and could be extended forever.”

Qualitex, 514 U.S. at 164-165. And, because producers have

every incentive to characterize their designs as nonfunctional

(and thereby obtain exclusive rights in perpetuity), the party

seeking trade dress protection bears the burden of proving that

the matter sought to be protected is not functional. 15 U.S.C.

§ 1125(a)(3). The functionality doctrine thus prevents manu-

facturers from using trade dress law to circumvent the strictures

of the patent process.

The doctrinal division of labor therefore may be stated as

follows: If a product feature is functional, a producer seeking

exclusive use of it must obtain a patent, which will eventually

expire. In contrast, trade dress protection extends indefinitely,

but cannot cover a functional product attribute.

2. The 7rafFix opinion, issued in 2001, provides the

Court’s most recent analysis of the functionality doctrme. In

that case, plaintiff Marketing Displays, Inc. (“MDI”) had ob-

tained a patent for a type of wind-resistant roadside sign that

used a dual-spring design. After the patent expired, defendant

TrafFix Devices began manufacturing dual-spring signs that

looked like MDI’s, and MDI sued for trade dress infringement.

The district court granted summary judgment for defendant

TrafFix, holding that the dual-spring design was functional and

thus ineligible for trade dress protection. 7rafFix, 532 U.S. at

26. The Sixth Circuit reversed, citing the “competitive need”

5

test, under which a feature was deemed functional only if its

exclusive use would “put competitors at a significant non-

reputation-related disadvantage.” Qualitex, 514 U.S. at 165.

The court of appeals reasoned that it took “little imagination to

conceive of a hidden dual-spring mechanism or a tri or quad-

spring mechanism that might avoid infringing [MDI’s] trade

dress.” TrafFix, 532 U.S. at 27 (internal quotation marks omit-

ted). Because there were possible configurations other than

MDI’s dual-spring design, the court of appeals concluded that

the dual spring was not competitively necessary, so it was

nonfunctional in the relevant sense.

This Court reversed, holding that MDI’s dual-spring design

was functional despite the availability of alternatives. It

explained that although the “competitive need” test is proper in

cases of “aesthetic functionality” — in which mere appearance

actually serves a function — competitive need is “incorrect as a

comprehensive definition.” TrafFix, 532 U.S. at 32-33. The

Court did not intend for that test to displace the so-called

traditional test, in which a design feature is considered

functional “if it is essential to the use or purpose of the article

or if it affects the cost or quality of the article.” /d. at 32

(quoting Jnwood Laboratories, Inc. v. Ives Laboratories, Inc.,

456 U.S. 844, 850 n.10 (1982)).

In reaffirming the /nwood test as the definiiive standard for

determining whether a product design feature may be protected

as trade dress, the Court underlined its longstanding

commitment to the principles that trademark protection cannot

be granted 1n derogation of the constitutional scheme, and that

the purpose of trade dress protection is to promote — not stifle —

competition. See Ke//logg Co. v. National Biscuit Co., 305 U.S.

111 (1938) (plaintiffs patent in the pillow-shaped form of

shredded wheat having expired, competitors were not prevented

from selling the cereal in the same functional shape). See also

Sears, Roebuck & Co. v. Stiffel Co., 376 U.S. 225 (1964);

Compco Corp. v. Dav-Brite Lighting, Inc., 376 U.S. 234 (1964):

Inwood, 456 U.S. at 857; and Bonito Boats, Inc. v. Thunder

Craft Boats, Inc., 489 U.S. 141, 160 (1989).

6

Importantly, the Court in 7rafFix made a special point of

clarifying that, under the traditional test, “[t]here is no need

* * * to engage, as did the Court of Appeals, in speculation

about other design possibilities, such as using three or four

springs which might serve the same purpose.” TrafFix, 532

U.S. at 33. MDI’s dual-spring design was functional, because

it “is not an arbitrary flourish in the configuration of MDI’s

product; it is the reason the device works. Other designs need

not be attempted.” /d. at 34.

3. Unfortunately, the Court’s instruction in 7rafFix that

“[t]here is no need * * * to engage * * * in speculation about

other design possibilities” has spawned more confusion among

the lower courts than it dispelled. The Fifth Circuit understands

the statement to mean that, under the traditional test, “{t]he

availability of alternative designs is irrelevant.” Eppendorf, 289

F.3d at 355. In contrast, the Federal Circuit “do[es] not read the

Court’s observations in 7rafFix as rendering the availability of

alternative designs irrelevant”; rather, the availability of alter-

native designs 1s “a legitimate source of evidence to determine

whether a feature is functional.” Valu Engineering, Inc. v.

Rexnord Corp., 278 F.3d 1268, 1276 (Fed. Cir. 2002); accord |

J. THOMAS MCCARTHY, supra, § 7:75 (“In the author’s view,

the observations by the Supreme Court in 7rafFix do not mean

that the availability of alternative designs cannot be a legitimate

source of evidence to determine in the first instance if a

particular feature is in fact ‘functional.””).

In the words of one commentator, “[t]he current division

and confusion in the lower federal courts is much more

significant than the minor split * * * that led the Supreme Court

to intervene in 7rafFix.” Mark Alan Thurmon, 7he Rise and

Fall of Trademark Law's Functionality Doctrine, 56 FLA. L.

REV. 243, 334 (2004).

B. Factual Background of the Present Cas®

1. In the early 1980s, the United States government

solicited proposals for a new High Mobility Multipurpose

Wheeled Vehicle, which the government called an “HMMWV”

7

(or a “Humvee,” in military slang) to be used by the Armed

Forces. AM General was one of three companies awarded

“Phase I” contracts, under which the government paid them to

develop Humvee prototypes to be tested by the military. 4M

General Corp. v. DaimlerChrysler Corp., 311 F.3d 796, 808

(7th Cir. 2002).

Pursuant to the contract, AM General designed its proto-

type to detailed and precise military performance specifications

supplied by the government. During the testing phase, the

military raised various performance issues with respect to AM

General’s prototype. In response, AM General’s engineers

made numerous design modifications, including significant

changes to the design of the vehicle’s nose grille. /bid. The

government awarded the Humvee contract to AM General in

1983. Ibid.

Although AM General did not initially identify the design

elements in which it claims exclusive nghts, AM General’s pro-

totype embodied each of the five design elements that the Sixth

Circuit would eventually decide constituted respondents’

protectible trade dress: the grille, the slanted and raised hood,

the split windshield, the rectangular doors, and the squared

edges. MICHAEL GREEN & GREG STEWART, HUMVEE AT WAR

28 (2005). It is unlikely that a contractor bidding on a military

project would spend money to add mere ornamental flourishes

to its design, but in any event it is clear that these five design

elements were critically functional to an effective military

combat vehicle:

¢ Grille. A vehicle’s grille must protect the radiator

behind it while simultaneously allowing air to pass

freely through it. The grille at issue here consists of

a series of vertical openings sized to allow maximum

airflow while protecting the radiator from damage.

The grille’s initial appearance was quite different

from the one ultimately put into production. The

early prototype had narrow, horizontal openings; the

8

vertical opening design came later. /d. at 26, 28.'

Shorter vertical slats are stronger than longer hori-

zontal ones, which is important for a combat vehicle

that might be overturned or have debris land on it.

The grille is set high on the Humvee, allowing for

maximum ground clearance and superior mobility.

The lights are set wide for broader illumination than

the Humvee’s predecessors, and high so as not to be

obstructed by bmish or high water.

¢ Slanted and raised hood. The Humvee’s hood is

sloped to enhance visibility. The opening on the front

part of its hood is a continuation of the grille, allow-

ing air to circulate even when the nose is against a

solid object (such as a wall) or under water. As with

the grille, the hood is raised to maximize underbody

clearance. See http://www.amgeneral.com/

vehicles hmmwv_features.php.

* Split windshield. The split windshield design

incorporates two separate panels of glass. If one

panel is shattered, visibility remains through the other

panel. The supporting divider may strengthen the

windshield frame, including enhancing its ability to

support the weight of the Humvee if it flips over in

combat. Weapons, cameras, sensors, and other

equipment can be attached to the divider. See

http://www.emx-inc.com/EMX_Accessories.html.

* Rectangular doors. The rectangular shape of the

Humvee doors maximizes the opening area for rapid

ingress and egress of soldiers wearing body armor,

helmets, and packs, and carrying nfles. The shape

also allows the military’s armored version of the

' It is unlikely that this change was made for ornamental rather than

functional reasons, because the accelerated time frame for testing the

prototype left barely enough time to test for reliability and durability. /d

at 23-26.

9

doors to be interchangeable (left to right side of

vehicle and vice versa) and adds strength to the

Humvee. Http://www.amc.army.mil/amc/pa/

releases04/tardec.html. Adding armor panels to rec-

tangtlar doors is also easier and cheaper than adding

them to irregularly shaped ones.

* Squared edges. The squared edges obviously

maximize the interior space within the overall size

parameters of the Humvee. As with the rectangular

doors, the squared edges facilitate the addition of

armor plates or panels.

2. In 1993, AM General applied for a federal trademark

registration for the grille design. Registration was twice refused

on the ground that the grille did not serve as a source identifier

and was likely to be confused with existing registrations for the

grille configuration for the JEEP Wrangler. AM General, 311

F.3d at 809. AM General was finally granted a trademark

registration for the grille design in 1996. /hid.

Shortly after the first Gulf War, in an effort to capitalize on

the popularity of the Humvee, AM General introduced a com-

mercial vehicle, which it called the Hummer. /d. at 808. The

Hummer is a modified version of the military vehicle. In 1999,

AM General transferred to GM all rights in the civilian Hummer

vehicle, and licensed back from GM the right to continue using

the grille on the military Humvee, as required by the military

specifications. /d. at 810. Soon after acquiring nghts to the

civilian Hummer vehicle (now known as the “H1”), GM

unveiled the new H2, a less expensive and smaller vehicle. The

H2 differed in many respects from its predecessor, incorporating

luxury features not available on the HI or, of course, on its

military counterpart. /bid. The H2 — and, later, the H3 — did

not, for example, incorporate the split windshield designed for

the military vehicle. At the time this action commenced, AM

General claimed ownership of the military vehicle trade dress

by virtue of a “Confirmatory Trademark Agreement” executed

after this litigation began. GM claimed ownership of the civilian

10

vehicle trade dress, and both parties asserted rights in an

unspecified, shared trade dress common to both.

3. In 1992, petitioner Lanard, a company that manufac-

tures and sells an assortment of military-themed toys, began

selling a toy vehicle called the Mudslinger, modeled after the

military Humvee. App., infra, 2a-3a. The toy’s packaging

included the phrase “Hyper Humvee.” /bid. AM General’s

licensing agent protested Lanard’s use of the word “Humvee”

and also suggested that replicas might infringe its trade dress.

Though Lanard believed “Humvee” was a generic military

designation, it agreed to remove the term from packaging for the

toy modeled after that military vehicle and to refrain from

challenging AM General’s ownership of the mark HUMVEE.

Lanard has never produced or sold replicas of the civilian

Hummer.

In 1997, Lanard sought a license to use the Humvee and

Hummer names on its toy vehicles, but AM General refused.

!bid. Lanard then contacted AM General’s new licensing agent,

enclosing photos of the toy vehicles and again seeking a license

to use the names. AM General responded a year and a half

later, demanding that Lanard stop selling certain of its military

vehicles because of an infringing “nose design.” /bid.

Subsequent efforts to resolve the matter through negotiation

were unsuccessful.

C. Procedural History

1. In March 2001, nine years after Lanard began selling

toy military vehicles modeled after the Humvee and at least

eight years after AM General first had notice of such sales, GM

filed suit against Lanard in the United States District Court for

the Eastern District of Michigan, claiming infringement of the

Hummer’s trade dress. In June 2003, Lanard filed a complaint

against AM General in the same court, seeking a declaratory

judgment as to AM General’s rights in the Humvee vehicle and

grille design. App.. infra, 3a. After AM General asserted coun-

terclaims for infringement, the cases were treated as consoli-

dated for purposes of discovery, summary judgment, and trial.

I]

During discovery, Lanard deposed Robert J. Gula, then-

Senior Vice President of Engineering and Product Development

for AM General, and formerly the Deputy Project Manager for

the Humvee operation. Gula testified that the shape of the

Humvee “was basically a byproduct of a vehicle that was de-

signed to meet a performance specification,” and that “the shape

of the vehicle was a result of what it took to meet those require-

ments.” App., infra, 52a, 54a.

Apparently recognizing that Gula’s testimony amounted to

a concession that the claimed trade dress elements of the Hum-

vee were functional, GM and AM General prepared a declara-

tion for Gula’s signature (App., infra, 55a-57a) later that same

day, asserting that the same performance standards could be

achieved (and had been achieved by other manufacturers)

through one or more alternative design options:

The Government’s requirements could have been met with

any number of different vehicle appearances. * * * AM

General’s prototype could have had a different appearance

and still functioned in the same way. That is because the

exterior appearance and styling of the vehicle is not essen-

tial to the use or purpose of the vehicle. Indeed, not using

the same appearance and styling as AM General’s proto-

type did not impede Chrysler or Teledyne from meeting

the Government’s technical specification or from compet-

ing for the Government contract.

App., infra, 57a.

In April 2004, GM and AM General (jointly) and Lanard

each moved for summary judgment. To carry their statutory

burden of proving the nonfunctionality of their unregistered

product design,» GM and AM General relied exclusively on

Gula’s rehabilitative declaration emphasizing the availability of

alternative designs. Respondents submitted no additional evi-

~ Respondent GM owns a federal registration for the grille design only.

When a design is registered. the burden of proof regarding functionality shifts

to the party challenging the validity of the trade dress rights.

12

dence of any kind, and the record therefore contains no evidence

whatever that the claimed features are incidental, arbitrary, or

ornamental, or that they are not “the reason the device works.”

TrafFix, 532 U.S. at 33.

The district court mistakenly believed that functionality is

a defense to infringement of an unregistered trade dress and that

Lanard had the burden of proof on that issue. See 15 U.S.C.

§ 1125(a)(3) (“the person who asserts trade dress protection has

the burden of proving that the matter sought to be protected is

not functional’). App., infra, 28a. The court granted GM’s and

AM General’s motion with respect to the Mudslinger vehicle.

Ibid. After a jury trial on Lanard’s laches defense and on

damages, the jury awarded GM an 8% royalty on sales of the

toy vehicle, as well as Lanard’s profits.

2. On appeal, although acknowledging that the district

court had erred in treating functionality as a defense rather than

requiring plaintiffs to prove nonfunctionality as an element of

the infringement claim, the Sixth Circuit affirmed the summary

judgment ruling. With respect to the validity of the asserted

trade dress elements, the only question at issue here, the panel

first determined that the trade dress consisted of the vehicle’s

grille, slanted and raised hood, split windshield, rectangular

doors, and squared edges. Then, after stating that the availability

of other potential designs was “insufficient evidence” of

nonfunctionality, the panel nonetheless concluded that

respondents’ design is nonfunctional, basing its decision on

Gula’s declaration as to the availability of alternatives, which

was the on/y evidence in the record on that point. App., infra,

| 3a-1 4a.

Further underscoring the absence of any evidence of

nonfunctionality in the record, and its confusion regarding the

functionality doctrine, the pancl went on to say that GM and

AM General had met their burden of proving the

nonfunctionality of the unregistered product design because “the

plain appearance of the vehicle shows that the elements which

comprise its trade dress are inherently non-functional.” App..,

infra, 14a (emphasis added). For, although [t]he military un-

13

doubtedly had function in mind while designing the Humvee,”

the exterior appearance and styling of the vehicle were “more

likely an unrelated afterthought.” App., infra, 14a.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Court should grant review of the Sixth Circuit’s deci-

sion for at least three reasons. First, the lower courts are sharp-

ly divided over the question whether the availability of design

alternatives is relevant to assessing a design feature’s function-

ality. Commentators agree that this Court’s pronouncement in

TrafFix is the source of that confusion. Second, the Sixth

Circuit’s opinion conflicts with this Court’s precedents. In rely-

ing on the availability of alternative design choices as the basis

for its determination of nonfunctionality, the Sixth Circuit de-

parted from the principle that, 1f a design feature is “the reason

the device works,” then “other designs need not be attempted.”

TrafFix, 532 U.S. at 34. The panel also invoked as a basis for

its holding the novel concept of “inherent[ | nonfunctional|[ity],”

which, if not set straight, could drastically erode the function-

ality limitation on trade dress protection. Third, a clear and

uniform test for functionality 1s critically important; not only

does it demarcate the bounds of trademark law, but a split

involving the Federal Circuit (which controls the Patent and

Trademark Office’s standards for registering a mark) has

particularly troubling consequences for the consistent

application of trade dress doctrine across the country.

I. THE CIRCUITS ARE DEEPLY SPLIT ON THE

APPLICATION OF THE FUNCTIONALITY TEST

AS SET FORTH IN TRAFFIX.

The basic reason why lower courts are at odds in their

understanding of the 7rafFix standard for functionality is that

they disagree over the extent to which that decision effected a

change in the law. To understand their confusion, one must first

appreciate the legal landscape before 7rafFix was decided.

14

A. Before TrafFix, Lower Courts Were Confused

About Whether A Competitive-Need Analysis

Was Appropriate For Traditional Design

Features

The evolution of the functionality doctrine over the last

several decades reflects a pattern of lower courts moving toward

a functionality test based on “competitive need” — a standard

that considers the availability of alternative designs — and strain-

ing to fit this Court’s guidance into that model. The Court,

however, has never embraced a competitive-need test for func-

tionality with respect to traditional products, although it has

applied it in cases of aesthetic functionality. As the brief history

recounted below makes clear, 7rafFix corrected the Sixth

Circuit and other lower courts that had mistakenly applied the

aesthetic functionality test in cases of traditional functionality,

where analysis of competitive need has no place — and where

the availability of alternative designs is therefore irrelevant.

|. In 1938, the Restatement of Torts outlined a claim for

“Imitation of Appearance.” To prove that a defendant’s

imitation was unprivileged, the plaintiff was required to show

that a product’s features were nonfunctional, and a “functional

feature” was defined to be one that “affects [the product’s]

purpose, action or performance, or the facility or economy of

processing, handling or using [it].”. RESTATEMENT (FIRST) OF

TORTS § 742 (1938). That definition of functionality was very

broad, essentially equating to usefulness, and many lower courts

— most notably the Court of Customs and Patent Appeals

(“CCPA”)—added glosses to the formulation, eventually reduc-

ing It to the question “whether the law permits * * * a monop-

oly” like the one a plaintiff seeks to gain through its infringe-

ment claim. Application of Deister Concentrator Co., 289 F.2d

496, 499 (CCPA 1961).

In 1982, the CCPA pushed its functionality reasoning to

its natural conclusion: if “the effect upon competition is really

the crux of the matter,” then the test for functionality is whether

other producers have a competitive need for the design feature

in question. /n re Morton-Norwich Products, Inc., 67\ F.2d

15

1332, 1341 (CCPA 1982). In Morton-Norwich, the court held

that a spray bottle design was not legally functional, reasoning

that the basis of the functionality doctrine is “not the right to

slavishly copy articles which are not protected by patent or

copyright, but the need to copy those articles, which is more

properly termed the right to compete effectively.” /d. at 1339.

It noted that “[t]he evidence, consisting of competitor’s molded

plastic bottles for similar products, demonstrates that the same

functions can be performed by a variety of other shapes with no

sacrifice of any functional advantage. There is no necessity to

copy appellant’s trade dress to enjoy any of the functions of a

spray-top container.” /d. at 1342. Thus, the Morton-Norwich

“competitive need” test for functionality explicitly examined the

availability to competitors of functionally equivalent designs.

Id. at 1341-1342.

2. Later that year, this Court decided /nwood Labora-

tories, Inc. v. Ives Laboratories, Inc., 456 U.S. 844 (1982).

Although Jnwood was not a case about functionality, the Court

observed in a footnote that, “[i]Jn general terms, a product

feature is functional if it is essential to the use or purpose of the

article or if it affects the cost or quality of the article.” /d. at

850 n.10. In the years following /nwood, many courts of

appeals read /nwood not to preclude a competitive-need

analysis. The Second Circuit took the lead, characterizing the

Inwoed “cost or quality” language as dictum, and applying

Morton-Norwich. See LeSportsac, Inc. v. K Mart Corp., 754

F.2d 71, 76-77 (2d Cir. 1985); see also Sicilia Di R. Biebow &

Co. v. Cox, 732 F.2d 417, 429 (Sth Cir. 1984) (“The ultimate

inquiry concerning functionality * * * is whether characterizing

a feature or configuration as protected ‘will hinder competition

or impinge upon the rights of others to compete effectively in

the sale of goods.’” (quoting Morton-Norwich, 671 F.2d at

1342)).

3. In 1995, this Court’s Qualitex decision lent some sup-

port to the lower courts’ belief that /nwood did not foreclose the

competitive-need analysis set forth in Morton-Norwich. In

Qualitex, the issue was whether plaintiff could enjoy trade dress

16

protection of the particular green-gold color it used on its dry

cleaning press pads. The Court held that a mere color can, if it

has taken on secondary meaning, meet the basic legal

requirements for a trademark. 5/4 U.S. at [66. fn so doing, it

used language that could be interpreted to equate the Inwood

“essential to the use or purpose” or “affect[ing] the cost or

quality of the article” standard with competitive need:

This Court * * * has explained that, “in general terms, a

product feature is functional,’ and cannot serve as a

trademark, “if it is essential to the use or purpose of the

article or if it affects the cost or quality of the article,” that

is, if exclusive use of the feature would put competitors at

a significant non-reputation-related disadvantage.

Id. at 165 (quoting Jnwood, 456 U.S. at 850 n.10). The “sig-

nificant non-reputation-related disadvantage” test of competitive

need was one that had long been used in cases of aesthetic

functionality, because the traditional “essential to the use or

purpose * * * or * * * affect[ing] the cost or quality” test does

not work well in that setting. For example, if farmers prefer to

match the color of their loaders to the color of their tractors, a

competitor entering the market might have a competitive need

to copy “John Deere green” even though that color would not

render the equipment more useful. See Deere & Co. v.

Farmhand, Inc., 560 F. Supp. 85, 97-98 (S.D. Iowa 1982). For

that reason, aesthetic functionality has always been evaluated in

terms of competitive need. See RESTATEMENT (FIRST) OF

TORTS § 742 cmt. a (1938) (“The determination of whether or

not [aesthetic] features are functional depends upon * * *

whether prohibition of imitation by others will deprive the

others of something which will substantially hinder them in

competition.”). The language in Qualitex, however, could be

read as the Court’s endorsement of the competitive-need

standard in cases of both aesthetic and traditional functionality.

17

B. The TrafFix Decision Makes Clear That Different

Tests Apply In Cases Of Traditional And

Aesthetic Functionality

As explained above, the question in 7rafFix was whether

plaintiff, a manufacturer of temporary roadside signs capable of

withstanding gusts of wind, could invoke trade dress rights to

prevent a competitor from imitating its dual-spring design. The

Sixth Circuit held that the dual-spring design was not functional,

reasoning that, because various other spring configurations

might accomplish the same end as plaintiff's design, the dual-

spring design was not one whose exclusive use would “put com-

petitors at a significant non-reputation-related disadvantage.”

Marketing Displays, Inc. v. TrafFix Devices, Inc., 200 F.3d 929,

940 (6th Cir. 1999) (quoting Qualitex, 514 U.S. at 165). In

other words, the Sixth Circuit read Qualitex to endorse a

competitive-need analysis in cases of traditional functionality.

This Court reversed, holding that the competitive-need

standard is “incorrect as a comprehensive definition” of func-

tionality. TrafFix, 532 U.S. at 33. It explained that, although

“lijt is proper to inquire into a ‘significant non-reputation-

related disadvantage’ in cases of esthetic functionality, the

question involved in Qualitex,” that test “did not purport to dis-

place the th[e] traditional rule” set forth in Jnwood. /bid. \n-

stead, “[w]here the design is functional under the /nwood

formulation there is no need to proceed further to consider if

there is a competitive necessity for the feature.” /bid.

The Court had little trouble concluding that MDI’s dual-

spring design was functional, because it “provides a unique and

useful mechanism to resist the force of the wind.” /bid. The

Court made clear that “[t]here is no need * * * to engage, as did

the Court of Appeals, in speculation about other design

possibilities, such as using three or four springs which might

serve the same purpose. * * * The dual-spring design is not an

arbitrary flourish in the configuration of MDI’s product; it 1s the

reason the device works. Other designs need not be attempted.”

lhid.

18

C. The Ensuing Chaos

Unfortunately, the explanation of functionality in 7rafFix

has, if anything, spawned more confusion than it dispelled.

Within a year after that decision, the courts of appeals had once

again split on one of the questions 7rafFix sought to answer:

what evidentiary role, if any, the availability of alternative

product designs should play in assessing functionality.

1. In Eppendorf-Netheler-Hinz GmBH vy. Ritter GmBH,

289 F.3d 351 (Sth Cir. 2002), plaintiff Eppendorf was a

manufacturer of pipette tips that accurately dispensed small

volumes of liquid for medical purposes. Eppendorf sued Ritter

for infringement of certain asserted trade dress elements, such

as the plastic fins on the pipette tips. /d. at 354. At trial, which

took place before this Court decided 7rafFix, Eppendorf’s

expert argued that the design features were nonfunctional

because “the appearance and number of fins could be changed

without affecting the function of the fins.” /d. at 357. The jury

found the features to be nonfunctional, and on appeal Eppendorf

defended the verdict on the ground that “the evidence clearly

established ‘that there were alternative designs to each of the

eight non-functional features.” /bid.

The Fifth Circuit reversed the finding of nonfunctionality.

It explained that, although Eppendorf’s argument involving

alternative designs was “consistent with this court’s [previous]

utilitarian definition of functionality,” it is “unpersuasive in

light of the Court’s discussion of functionality in 7rafFix.”

Ibid” It read TrafFix as establishing two tests for functionality:

one for traditional products, and one for aesthetically functional

products. Under the traditional test for functionality, “a product

feature is functional, and cannot serve as a trademark, if it is

* In this context, a “utilitarian” feature is one for which copying is a

competitive necessity. See Morton-Norwich, 671 F.2d at 1339

(“‘Utilitarian® means ‘superior in function (de facto) or economy of

manufacture.” which ‘superiority’ is determined in light of competitive

necessity to copy.”).

19

essential to the use or purpose of the article or if it affects the

cost or quality of an article.” /d. at 355 (quoting TrafFix, 532

U.S. at 32). “Under this traditional definition,” it reasoned, “if

a product feature is ‘the reason the device works,’ then the

feature is functional. The availability of alternative designs is

irrelevant.” Ibid. (emphasis added). Because Eppendorf’s

expert conceded that “fins of some shape, size, or number are

necessary to provide support for the flange and to prevent

Geformation of the product,” the Fifth Circuit held that they are

“essential to the operation of the Combitips,” and therefore

“functional as a matter of law.” /d. at 358. Thus, in its view of

the law, “[a]lthough alternative designs are relevant to the

utilitarian [/.e., competitive-need] test of functionality, alterna-

tive designs are not germane to the traditional test for function-

ality.” Jd. at 358.

2. The Federal Circuit sees things quite differently. In

Valu Engineering, Inc. v. Rexnord Corp., 278 F.3d 1268 (Fed.

Cir. 2002), the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board had

sustained Rexnord’s challenge to Valu’s registration of trade

dress relating to its designs of conveyor guide rails, holding that

the shapes were functional under the four Morton-Norwich

“competitive need” factors, one of which explores the

availability of alternative designs. /d. at 1272. The Federal

Circuit affirmed the Board’s finding of functionality and, in

particular, its examination of alternative design possibilities

under the Morton-Norwich analysis.

Unlike the Fifth Circuit, which read 7rafFix as foreclosing

the competitive-need approach to functionality that considered

alternative design possibilities, the Federal Circuit “d[id] not

understand the Supreme Court’s decision in TrafFix to have

altered the Morton-Norwich analysis.” Jd. at 1276. The Federal

Circuit opined that

the Morton-Norwich factors aid in the determination of

whether a particular feature 1s functional, and the third

factor focuses on the availability of “other alternatives.”

* * * Nothing in 7rafFix suggests that consideration of

alternative designs 1s not properly part of the overall mix,

20

and we do not read the Court’s observations in 7rafFix as

rendering the availability of alternative designs irrelevant.

Rather, we conclude that the Court merely noted that once

a product feature 1s found functional based on other

considerations there is no need to consider the availability

of alternative designs, because the feature cannot be given

trade dress protection merely because there are alternative

designs available. But that does not mean that the

availability of alternative designs cannot be a legitimate

source of evidence to determine whether a feature is

functional in the first place.

Ibid. The Federal Circuit noted that its view was in accord with

that of a leading treatise. See | J. THOMAS MCCARTHY, supra,

§ 7:75 (“In the author’s view, the observations of the Supreme

Court in 7rafFix do not mean that the availability of alternative

designs cannot be a legitimate source of evidence to determine

in the first instance if a particular feature is in fact

‘functional.’”).

3. In the years since the Federal Circuit decided Valu

Engineering, numerous courts have noted the division of

authority on the evidentiary role, if any, that alternative designs

play in assessing functionality. See Antioch Co. v. Western

Trimming Corp., 347 F.3d 150, 156 (6th Cir. 2003) (noting the

split among the Fifth and Federal Circuits and holding that, “‘at

the very least, a court is not required to examine alternative

designs when applying the traditional test for functionality”);

Straumann Co. v. Lifecore Biomedical Inc., 278 F. Supp. 2d

130, 135 n.4 (D. Mass. 2003) (characterizing the relevance of

the availability of design alternatives as a “hotly contested ques-

tion” in the Fifth, Sixth, and Federal Circuits); /nvisible Fence,

Inc. v. Technologies, Inc., 2007 WL 273129, *4-5 (N.D. Ind.

Jan. 26, 2007) (noting the split among the Fifth, Sixth, and

Federal Circuits); New Colt Holding Corp. v. RJG Holdings of

Florida, Inc., 312 F. Supp. 2d 195, 213-214 (D. Conn. 2004)

(same).

The secondary literature likewise has chronicled the in-

creasingly diverse functionality landscape, and called for this

21

Court to issue further guidance. See Vincent N. Palladino,

Trade Dress Functionality after TrafFix: the Lower Courts

Divide Again, 93 TRADEMARK REP. 1219, 1219-1220 (2003)

(there 1s a “new split of authority” over whether “evidence

concerning the availability of alternative designs [is] relevant’);

Justin Pats, Conditioning Functionality: Untangling the Diver-

gent Strands of Argument Evidenced by Recent Case Law and

Commentary, 10 MARQ. INTELL. PROP. L. REV. 515, 520 (2006)

(a “great deal of variance has surfaced” in the courts of appeals

since 7rafFix, with some courts considering alternative designs

as part of a competitive-need analysis, and others eschewing

them under the /nwood test); Margreth Barrett, Consolidating

the Diffuse Paths to Trade Dress Functionality: Encountering

TrafFix on the Way to Sears, 61 WASH. & LEE L. REV. 79, 83,

129-135 (2004) (noting the “considerable disagreement * * *

among * * * scholars and the courts of appeals over precisely

how the Supreme Court intended its functionality standard to be

interpreted and applied,” including whether “to exclude evi-

dence of alternatives from the initial functionality deter-

mination”); Siegrun D. Kane, Trademarks Just Ain't What They

Used to Be, 842 PLI/PAT 261, 272 (2005) (“There is an ongoing

debate about whether 7rafFix changed the longstanding

principle that the availability of alternative designs constitutes

evidence of nonfunctionality.”).

4. In the present case, the Sixth Circuit adopted reasoning

indistinguishable from the Federal Circuit’s. The court purport-

ed to adopt a position between the Fifth Circuit’s position and

the Federal Circuit's — it took note of the existence of alterna-

tive designs, but called them “insufficient evidence for non-

functionality” because the “mere existence of other potential

designs 1s no defense to a design’s functionality.” App., infra,

[3a (emphasis added). Having said that, however, the panel

went on to assign the presence of alternatives precisely the

dispositive role it professed to disclaim. The on/v evidence of

nonfunctionality in the record was the Gula declaration, which

asserted that the Humvee’s gnille, slanted and raised hood, split

windshield, rectangular doors, and squared edges were “not

22

essential to the use or purpose of the vehicle,” insofar as the

government’s performance requirements “could have been met

with any number of different vehicle appearances.” App., infra,

57a. If this case had been heard in the Fifth Circuit, it would

have come out the other way. Because the Fifth Circuit would

have found no evidence of nonfunctionality whatever in the

Gula declaration, it would have held that GM could not meet its

burden. The Court should step in to resolve the circuit split to

ensure uniform outcomes in the courts below.

It is particularly bizarre that the Sixth Circuit affirmed a

grant of summary judgment to respondents based on the Gula

declaration alone. That document (App., infra, 55a-57a) — a

four-page, litigation-driven testimonial from AM General’s

Senior Vice President — at most showed the availability of

alternative designs. Not a word of it remotely supported the

proposition that the design features at issue are nonfunctional.

Even if true that the Humvee “could have had a different

appearance and still functioned in the same way” (App., infra,

57a), the record was utterly devoid of evidence that any of the

elements identified by the court was “an arbitrary flourish in the

configuration of” the Humvee. TrafFix, 532 U.S. at 34. To the

contrary, as AM General’s own website makes abundantly

clear, these features are “the reason the [vehicle] works.” /bid.

Only by adhering to the same preconceptions it followed in

TrafFix, which led to a reversal in this Court, could the Sixth

* Evidence supporting the nonfunctionality of the grille, which is the

subject of a federal registration, must be analyzed differently from

evidence supporting the other four elements of the product design.

Because a federal registration for a design feature is presumably granted

only upon a showing of nonfunctionality, the registration itself may be

considered evidence. However, there are two problems with looking to

the registration as evidence of nonfunctionality in this case. First, the

registration was issued upon a lesser showing than the one established in

TrafFix. See infra at 27-28. Second, even an incontestably registered

mark remains subject to the functionality defense (see 15 U.S.C.

§ 1115(b)(8)), but Lanard has been deprived of its statutory right to

defend itself on these grounds. See infra at 26.

a3

Circuit have believed that a declaration suggesting the

availability of alternative designs sufficed to meet plaintiffs’

burden of establishing nonfunctionality. This Court should

once again review the Sixth Circuit’s excessive enthusiasm for

granting trade dress protection to functional design elements.

ll. THE SIXTH CIRCUIT’S OPINION

MISCONSTRUES TRAFFIX AND DANGEROUSLY

WEAKENS THE FUNCTIONALITY

REQUIREMENT

In two distinct ways, the Sixth Circuit’s opinion in this

case threatens to erode the high evidentiary requirement this

Court has imposed for parties attempting to prove that their

product designs are nonfunctional. First, allowing plaintiffs to

use evidence of alternative design possibilities in support of

their nonfunctionality arguments makes it considerably easier

for them to gain exclusive use of design features without resort

to the rigorous patent review process. Second, by describing the

Humvee’s design elements as “inherent/y non-functional” (Pet.

App., infra, 14a (emphasis added)) — a novel and nonsensical

classification — the opinion below risks setting a precedent that

relieves plaintiffs of their burden of adducing factual support

for their nonfunctionality arguments.

1. A return to first principles makes clear that the Sixth

and Federal Circuits broke with this Court’s precedents in

concluding that evidence of alternative designs is relevant to an

assessment of functionality. As this Court has explained, the

purpose of trade dress protection, like trademark protection, is

“to ‘secure to the owner of the {trade dress] the goodwill of his

business and to protect the ability of consumers to distinguish

among competing producers.*” Zwo Pesos, Inc. v. Taco

Cabana, Inc., 505 U.S. 763, 774 (1992) (citation omitted). It

accomplishes this by granting producers the exclusive right to

use product designs whose on/y purpose is to identify the

producer of the good, /.¢., ones that have no function. If a

design is functional, exclusive use of it must come, if at all,

through the patent process. See Qualitex, 514 U.S. 159 at 164

(“It is the province of patent law, not trademark law, to

24

encourage innovation by granting investors a monopoly over

new product designs or functions for a limited time * * *, after

which competitors are free to use the innovation.”).

“If a product’s functional features could be used as trade-

marks, * * * a monopoly over such features could be obtained

without regard to whether they qualify as patents and could be

extended forever.” Qualitex, 514 U.S. at 164. That is why the

Court has regularly cautioned against “misuse or over-extension

of trade dress [protection].” TrafFix, 532 U.S. at 29 (citing

Wal-Mart, 529 U.S. at 213). Thus, if trade dress law is to serve

its purpose of enabling reputation-based competition without

also risking an end run around the strictures of patent law for

useful features, it is critical to have a meaningfully broad, fact-

based definition of functionality.

The need to limit the scope of trade dress protection

explains the breadth of the traditional functionality test set forth

in /nwood and reaffirmed in TrafFix: “a product feature is

functional if it essential to the use or purpose of the article or if

it affects the cost or quality of the article.” 7rafFix, 532 U.S. at

32. Under that formulation, if a product design is “the reason

the device works” (id. at 34), it is not eligible for trade dress

protection, which extends only to features that are “arbitrary

flourish[es].” /bid. It is true that the proponent of trade dress

protection faces a high bar, because “product design almost in-

variably serves purposes other than source identification.” /d.

at 29. But that 1s as it should be — whether a feature’s asserted

usefulness qualifies it for protection is the province of patent,

not trade dress law.

Because design features can be functional without being

competitively necessary, the existence of alternative product

designs — which gives insight only into competitive need — 1s ir-

relevant to assessing a product’s functionality. Reliance on the

availability of alternatives would be akin to allowing trademark

protection for the word “car” as long as the alternative “auto”

is available. But that deviates sharply from the longstanding

imperative that trademark law does not protect what must by its

nature and purpose be available to alkcompetitors. It does not

25

matter how many synonyms exist for a particular generic

designation; all are in the public domain. By the same token, no

matter how many alternatives exist for a particular useful

design, all must remain in the public domain and available to

competitors.

Only evidence that a design feature is a mere arbitrary

flourish is evidence of nonfunctionality. The Sixth Circuit erred

in concluding otherwise, as did the Federal Circuit before it. By

allowing plaintiffs to point to alternative designs as evidence of

nonfunctionality, those courts impermissibly lower the bar to

obtaining trade dress protection.

2. The Sixth Circuit’s opinion also threatens to weaken

the functionality requirement with its remarkable statement that

“the plain appearance of the vehicle shows that the elements

which comprise its trade dress are inherently non-functional.”

App., infra, 14a (emphasis added). The classification of the

design features at issue here as falling within that novel

doctrinal category implies that, in the panel’s view, the features

are by their very nature incapable of serving any function. See

WEBSTER’S THIRD NEW INTERNATIONAL DICTIONARY

(UNABRIDGED), at 1163 (1986) (defining “inherent” to mean

“structural or involved in the constitution or essential character

of something”).

As applied to the grille, split windshield, rectangular

doors, squared edges, and raised hood of a military vehicle, the

“inherently non-functional” label is simply a way to substitute

the court’s preferred conclusion for any analysis whatever of

the inconvenient facts.” The Sixth Circuit effectively ruled that

* This is especially grievous with respect to the grille, as the Sixth

Circuit's substitute for establishing nonfunctionality robs competitors of

their statutory right to rebut the presumption of validity of a registered

mark on functionality grounds. The Lanham Act provides that the

functionality of a design feature is a defense that can be asserted at any

time, even after a registration has become incontestable. See 15 U.S.C.

§ 1115(b)(8). If. however, a feature is “inherently nonfunctional,” 1.e.,

incapable ot serving a function, then challenging the validity of the mark

26

the grille design is incapable of protecting the vehicle’s radiator

while allowing air to pass freely through it; the split windshield

is incapable of adding strength to the windshield and frame,

enhancing the vehicle’s ability to support its own weight if

flipped upside down; the rectangular doors are incapable of

maximizing the opening area for fast ingress and egress of

soldiers wearing gear and carrying rifles; the squared edges are

incapable of maximizing space within the overall size

limitations of the vehicle; and the slanted and raised hood is

incapable of providing greater visibility and wheel clearance.

On a doctrinal level, the notion of “inherently non-

functional” product design has no place in trade dress law.

“{P]roduct design almost invariably serves purposes other than

source identification,’ which is why “consumer predisposition

to equate the feature with the source does not exist.” Wal-Mart,

529 US. at 213. Just as product “design * * * is not inherently

distinctive” (id. at 212), it cannot be inherently nonfunctional.

Instead, much as a party attempting to register a mark must

prove that it has acquired secondary meaning (ibid. ), a plaintiff

claiming trade dress infringement bears the burden of proving

nonfunctionality. See 15 U.S.C. § 1125(a)(3). The Sixth

Circuit’s language to the contrary is doctrinally untethered.

Most significant for present purposes, however, is the fact

that the “inherently non-functional” description of the

Humvee’s trade dress elements threatens to give other federal

courts license to relieve plaintiffs of the burden of factually

proving nonfunctionality. It similarly threatens to deprive

defendants of their ability to show that the features are indeed

functional; after all, there is no contrary evidence that could

ever overcome an “inherent” characteristic. Each potential

development would make it easier for plaintiffs to show

nonfunctionality, which risks allowing trademark law to “make

on functionality grounds is literally impossible. Therefore, the present

split in the circuits not only precludes uniformity of case law, it

effectively negates even that uniformity meant to be effected by federal

statute.

27

an ‘end run’ around the strict requirements of utility patent law

by giving equivalent rights to exclude.” 1 J. THOMAS

MCCARTHY, supra, § 7:64.

fil, THE CIRCUIT CONFLICT CONCERNS A MAT-

TER OF OVERRIDING IMPORTANCE AS TO

WHICH NATIONAL UNIFORMITY IS REQUIRED

This Court has underscored the importance of a uniform

national rule in the realm of intellectual property. See Bonito

Boats, 489 U.S. at 162 (“one of the fundamental purposes

behind the Patent and Copyright Clauses of the Constitution

was to promote national uniformity in the realm of intellectual

property”). The circuit split following 7rafFix shows that there

is in fact no national uniformity with respect to the critical issue

of when an unpatented design feature may be protected under

trade dress law; to the contrary, it has troubling implications for

the registrability and enforcement of product design trade dress.

Once a trademark registration is registered in the Patent

and Trademark Office, it is presumptively valid, and the burden

shifts te any challenger to prove (for example) that the

registered design is functional. See 15 U.S.C. § 1057(b).

However, because the Patent and Trademark Office is bound by

the decisions of the Federal Circuit (TRADEMARK TRIAL AND

APPEAL BOARD MANUAL OF PROCEDURE § 101.03), federal

trademark registration for a product design will necessarily be

issued or refused based on the Federal Circuit’s interpretation

of the 7rafFix test. As explained above, that court permits

plaintiffs to point to the availability of alternative designs as

evidence of nonfunctionality, which makes it easier for

plaintiffs to prove nonfunctionality in the Federal and Sixth

Circuits than in the Fifth Circuit. If a product design

registration is granted due in part to the existence of

alternatives, but the owner seeks to enforce that registration in

the Fifth Circuit, that court will have to choose between giving

effect to the statutory presumptions and applying its own

understanding of this Court’s TrafFix test. Hence, at least in

some jurisdictions, the circuit split creates an unacceptable

disconnect between the standard for establishing that a product

28

design is nonfunctional for registration purposes, and the

standard for establishing that it is nonfunctional for

enforcement purposes.

Clear instructions from this Court with respect to inter-

pretation of the “essential to the use or purpose” prong of the

functionality test are therefore necessary to ensure a uniform

national rule in the realm of intellectual property.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted.

JOHN A. WEST ROY T. ENGLERT, JR.*

LORI KRAFTE GARY A. ORSECK

CARRIE A. SHUFFLEBARGER DAMON W. TAAFFE

Greenebaum Doll & Robbins, Russell, Englert,

McDonald PLLC Orseck & Untereiner LLP

2900 Chemed Center 1801 K Street, N.W.

255 East Fifth Street Suite 411

Cincinnati, OH 45202 Washington, D.C. 20006

(513) 455-7600 (202) 775-4500

* Counsel of Record

MAY 2007

la

APPENDIX A

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

No. 05-2085

GENERAL MOTORS CORP. and AM GENERAL, LLC,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

Vv.

LANARD TOYS, INC. and LANARD TOYS LTD.,

Defendants-Appellants.

ARGUED: July 19, 2006.

DECIDED: Oct. 25, 2006.

Before: MARTIN and RYAN, Circuit Judges; MARBLEY,

District Judge.”

RYAN, J., delivered a separate concurring opinion.

OPINION

BOYCE F. MARTIN, JR., Circuit Judge.

The district court, in a trademark and trade dress

infringement suit filed against Lanard Toys by General Motors

* The Honorable Algenon L. Marbley, United States District

Judge for the Southern District of Ohio, sitting by designation.

2a

Corporation, granted summary judgment for General Motors on

its claims while denying Lanard’s motion for summary

judgment based on the affirmative defenses of laches and

estoppel. Lanard now appeals those decisions. The dispute is

over a series of toy vehicles produced by Lanard called “THE

CORPS! ATK” which resemble the Hummer vehicle produced

by General Motors. Based on the following discussion, we

affirm the district court’s decisions.

I.

A. Development of Hummer

In the 1980s, the United States government commissioned

AM General to produce a high mobility military vehicle. The

result was called the High Mobility Multi-Wheeled Vehicle or

HMMWY, which was commonly referred to as the “Humvee.”

After garnering recognition through its use in the first Gulf War,

AM General decided to introduce a civilian version of the

Humvee in 1992, known as the Hummer. The design of both

the Humvee and Hummer included a front grille with seven

vertical pill-capsule shaped slots, bookended by round

headlights of approximately equal size to the slots. AM General

received a registered trademark for the grille design on March

5, 1996. AM General never sold more than 900 Hummers in

any calendar year from 1992 to 1999, in part due to a price tag

of over $100,000. In December of 1999, AM General

transferred the Hummer brand to General Motors as well as all

intellectual property rights in the civilian vehicle while

maintaining all rights in the Humvee name and the military

vehicle. After the transfer, General Motors created the H2, a

smaller version of the Hummer.

B. Lanard’s interactions with the Humvee/Hummer

brands

In 1992, Lanard Toys, Inc. began selling a toy vehicle called

the “MUDSLINGER.” It was modeled after the Humvee

military vehicle, including a similar grille design to that of the

Humvee. The box for the MUDSLINGER labeled the toy as a

3a

“Hyper Humvee.” Lanard’s sales records show that the

MUDSLINGER had limited sales between 1992 and 1996,

including no sales for the years of 1994 and 1996. In July 1993,

AM General contacted Lanard regarding the use of their

trademarked name of “Humvee” on its toys. After

correspondence between the two parties, Lanard agreed to stop

using the “Humvee” name on its toys, but continued to

manufacture the MUDSLINGER toy. There is dispute between

the parties as to whether Lanard agreed with AM General that

Lanard could continue to manufacture MUDSLINGER toys.

In February 1997, Lanard contacted AM General regarding

putting the “Humvee” name back on its toys. Lanard, at the

time, was producing a number of military vehicle toys,

including the “THE CORPS! ATK” vehicle at issue in this

case. The ATK vehicle has a similar design to that of the

MUDSLINGER vehicle. In response to Lanard’s letter, AM

General sent a cease-and-desist letter to Lanard to stop using all

of AM General’s trademarks. Lanard responded by stating that

it did not use either the Hummer or Humvee names on its

packaging.

In November 1998, AM General sent a demand letter to

Lanard regarding the ATK vehicle’s “nose design.” Lanard

responded by refusing to comply with the demand to stop

producing the toy. In November 2000, General Motors

contacted Lanard to inform it that Lanard’s military toy vehicles

infringed on the Hummer vehicle produced by General Motors.

Lanard again rejected that contention and continued to produce

its toys. On March 20, 2001, General Motors filed suit claiming

that Lanard’s toys infringed on its rights to the Hummer vehicle

and grille design.

C. Procedural History

General Motors’s complaint alleged that Lanard’s toys

infringed on its Hummer vehicle and grille design, resulting in

trademark infringement, trade dress infringement, dilution, and

common law trademark infringement. On July 16, 2003, Lanard

filed a complaint against AM General seeking a declaratory

4a

judgment as to AM General’s rights in the Humvee vehicle and

grille design. AM General, on September 29, 2003, filed a

counterclaim against Lanard for infringement on its Humvee

trade dress. In April 2004, all parties moved for summary

judgment and the district court granted summary judgment for

AM General and General Motors on their trade dress and

trademark infringement claims. The district court dismissed all

of Lanard’s defenses except for laches and estoppel.

From March 8 to 10, 2005, a jury trial was held on damages

and the issue of laches and estoppel. The jury awarded damages

to General Motors as a eight percent royalty on sales of the

ATK ($340,330), plus over $900,000 from Lanard’s profits.

Acting in an advisory capacity, the jury denied Lanard’s laches

and estoppel defenses. Lanard filed a timely appeal to this

Court on August 10, 2005.

II.

A. Summary Judgment Standard

This Court reviews a district court’s decision to grant

summary judgment de novo. Bennett v. City of Eastpointe, 410

F.3d 810, 817 (6th Cir. 2005). Summary judgment is only

appropriate “if the pleadings, depositions, answers to

interrogatories, and admissions on file, together with the

affidavits, if any, show that there is no genuine issue as to any

material fact and that the moving party is entitled to a judgment

as a matter of law.” Fed.R.Civ.P. 56(c). “The burden 1s

generally on the moving party to show that no genuine issue of

material fact exists, but that burden may be discharged by

‘showing-that is, pointing out to the district court-that there is

an absence of evidence to support the nonmoving party's case."”

Bennett, 410 F.3d at 817 (quoting Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477

U.S. 317, 325, 106 S.Ct. 2548, 91 L.Ed.2d 265 (1986)). “In

reviewing a summary judgment motion, credibility judgments

and weighing of the evidence are prohibited. Rather, the

evidence should be viewed in the light most favorable to the

non-moving party.” /d. (citing Anderson vy. Liberty Lobby, Inc.,

477 U.S. 242, 255, 106 S.Ct. 2505, 91 L.Ed.2d 202 (1986)).

Sa

“Thus, the facts and any inferences that can be drawn from

those facts, must be viewed in the light most favorable to the

non-moving party.” /d. (citing Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v.

Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 587, 106 S.Ct. 1348, 89

L.Ed.2d 538 (1986)).

B. Trademark Infringement Claim

To demonstrate trademark infringement, the plaintiff must

show that the use of the allegedly infringing trademark “‘is likely

to cause confusion among consumers regarding the origin of the

goods offered by the parties.” Daddy ’s Junky Music Stores, Inc.

v. Big Daddy's Family Music Center, 109 F.3d 275, 280 (6th

Cir.1997) (citing 15 U.S.C. § 1114). In order to determine

confusion, this Court examines the eight so-called Frisch

factors: “(1) strength of the plaintiff's mark, (2) relatedness of

the goods or services, (3) similarity of the marks, (4) evidence

of actual confusion, (5) marketing channels used, (6) likely

degree of purchaser care, (7) the defendant’s intent in selecting

its mark, and (8) likelihood of expansion of the product lines.”

Gibson Guitar Corp. v. Paul Reed Smith Guitars, LP, 423 F.3d

539, 548 (6th Cir. 2005) (citing Frisch's Rests., Inc. v. Elby’s

Big Boy of Steubenville, Inc.,670 F.2d 642, 648 (6th Cir. 1982),

cert. denied, 459 U.S. 916, 103 S.Ct. 231, 74 L.Ed.2d 182

(1982)). “These factors imply no mathematical precision, but

are simply a guide to help determine whether confusion is

likely.” /d. (citing Homeowners Group, Inc. v. Home Mktg.

Specialists, Inc.,931 F.2d 1100, 1107 (6th Cir. 1991)). As we

have noted:

This Circuit considers the question of whether there is

a likelihood of confusion a mixed question of fact and

law. Factual findings must be made with respect to the

likelihood of confusion factors set out above.

However, the further determination of whether a given

set of foundational facts establishes a likelihood of

confusion is a legal conclusion. Because this case is

presented to us after a grant of summary judgment, our

task is to determine whether the Distnct Court

6a

correctly held that no genuine issues of material fact

were presented regarding the likelihood of confusion

factors.

Id. at 548 n. 11 (citing Homeowners Group, 931 F.2d at 1107).

1. The District Court’s Treatment of the Frisch Factors

The district court held that Lanard’s ATK vehicle grille

design infringed on the Hummer Nose Design trademark

(Trademark No. 1,959,544). Lanard’s primary objection to the

summary judgment against them on the infringement of the 544

trademark was the failure by the district court to discuss any of

the Frisch factors in its judgment. “[N]ot all of these factors

may be particularly helpful in any given case. But a thorough

and analytical treatment must nevertheless be attempted.”

Daddy’s Junky Music Stores, 109 F.3d at 280. Lanard argues

that no such “thorough and' analytical treatment” was given to

the trademark infringement claim in this case. General Motors

responds by noting that “[t]his Court reviews judgments, not

opinions,” /n re Big Rivers Elec. Corp., 355 F.3d 415, 442 (6th

Cir. 2004), and argues that “there is no need for a detailed

analysis because all factors favor a likelihood of confusion.”

Despite General Motors’s contention, Lanard’s argument

appears to be a correct onc.

Daddy's Junky Music Stores advises a court to conduct a

“thorough and analytical treatment” of the Frisch factors. The

district court may have conducted such a treatment, but it has

given no indication of its analysis and what reasoning it used to

arrive at its conclusion in either its order, or the transcript of the

summary judgment hearing. This leaves a reviewing court little

to work with in determining whether the trademark infringement

' General Motors and AM General present a unified front in

responding to Lanard’s appeal. Therefore, we will refer to both

of the Plaintiffs in this case as General Motors. Where

necessary, we will distinguish between AM General and

General Motors.

Ta

claim was deserving of judgment as a matter of law. Daddy's

Junky Music Stores requires that the district court make express

factual findings as to the Frisch likelihood-of-confusion factors.

109 F.3d at 280. With that said, the district court erred in not

conducting a proper discussion of the Frisch factors. However,

because we review a summary judgment motion de novo, the

district court’s silence is not, standing alone, a reversible error

and we must now conduct a de novo review of the

likelihood-of-confusion factors.

2. Likelihood of Confusion

As discussed supra, there are eight likelihood-of-confusion

factors which we must weigh to determine confusion and,

therefore, trademark infringement. Upon review of the record,

we find there to be sufficient evidence to grant summary

judgment in favor of General Motors on the issue of a

likelihood-of-confusion. The “strength of the mark” factor

heavily favors General Motors, as the trademark in question has

been federally registered and General Motors places the grille

ofa Hummer prominently within a number of its advertisements

for the vehicle. The “similarity of the marks” and the

“defendant’s intent in selecting the mark” both heavily favor

General Motors, as there is undisputed evidence that the design

of the front grille of Lanard’s toys was copied directly from the

Hummer vehicle. Also, the “likely degree of purchaser care”

favors General Motors, as the product in question is a series of

toys. It is highly unlikely that a child or adult, in the selection

of a toy, will carefully evaluate whether the Hummer-like

vehicle is actually from the maker of Hummer or another source

of goods. They will merely recognize the grille shape,

recognize the general shape, and purchase based on that

recognition. The “relatedness of the goods and services” also

weighs in favor of Gencral Motors, as the toy car is quite

closely related to the actual car on which the registered

trademark of the grille is found. The factors of “marketing

channels used” and “likelihood of expansion of product lines”

do not strongly favor either party 1n this case. There appears to

be no evidence of how the marketing for either product might

8a

overlap, and while General Motors states it has considered

making Hummer toys, there is no real proof that the company

is seriously considering this possibility.

The only remaining factor is that of “evidence of actual

confusion.” Lanard argues that a survey used by General

Motors to demonstrate actual confusion was actually focused on

the overall vehicle’s trade dress, not the trademark in the grille,

an assertion which General Motors concedes. The only proof of

actual consumer confusion presented by General Motors ts a

K-Mart purchase order form and a screen-shot from

Amazon.com’s Toys “R” Us section, both of which list

Lanard’s toys as “Humvees.” What General Motors fails to

acknowledge 1s that the mere use of the Humvee name by retail

stores does not inherently mean that Lanard has infringed on the

trademark of the grille design or that the grille design itself is

the reason for the confusion. As General Motors must

acknowledge, the confusion by K-Mart or Toys “R” Us could

stem from the overall exterior of the toys and not necessarily

from the grille design. In order to prove actual confusion, the

confusion must stem from the mark in question-in this case, the

grille design. Given the uncertainty in this evidence, we hold

that the “evidence of actual confusion” factor does not favor

either party, although neither would this factor be determinative

on the overall issue of the likelihood-of-confusion. See Daddy's

Junky Music Stores, 109 F.3d at 284 (“Due to the difficulty of

securing evidence of actual confusion, a lack of such evidence

is rarely significant.”). In sum, the weight of the factors in favor

of a finding a likelihood of confusion convinces us that

summary judgment was appropriate in this case, despite the

district court’s failure to adequately discuss the Frisch factors.

C. Trade Dress Claim

Trademarks and trade dress are separate and distinct causes

of action under the Lanham Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1050 er seg.

Gibson Guitar, 423 F.3d at 547. Trade dress has been described

by the Supreme Court as the “*design or packaging of a product’

which has acquired a ‘secondary meaning’ sufficient ‘to identify

9a

the product with its manufacturer or source.’” /d. (quoting

TrafFix Devices, Inc. v. Mktg. Displays, Inc., 532 U.S. 23, 28,

121 S.Ct. 1255, 149 L.Ed.2d 164 (2001)).

Trade dress refers to the image and overall appearance

of a product. It embodies that arrangement of

identifying characteristics or decorations connected

with a product, whether by packaging or otherwise,

{that} make[s] the source of the product distinguishable

from another and ... promote[s] its sale. Trade dress

involves the total image of a product and may include

features such as size, shape, color or color

combinations, texture, graphics, or even particular sales

techniques.

Id. at 547 n. 10 (internal citation omitted).

A party seeking to recover for trade dress infringement must

prove by a preponderance of the evidence that (1) the trade

dress is not functional; (2) the trade dress is distinctive in the

marketplace and has acquired “secondary meaning,” thereby

indicating the source of the goods; and (3) the trade dress of the

accused product is confusingly similar. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc.

v. Samara Bros., Inc., 529 U.S. 205, 210, 120 S.Ct. 1339, 146

L.Ed.2d 182 (2000). Lanard is silent on the issue of whether the

trade dress of its toys is confusingly similar to the trade dress

asserted by General Motors and AM General. This silence is

taken as a concession of this element of trade dress

infringement. We must therefore review de novo whether there

was a material issue of fact as to each of the remaining two

elements. The district court held that Lanard’s “CORPS!

ATK” vehicle violated the Hummer/Humvec trade dress as a

matter of law.

1. Elements and Ownership of Trade Dress

Before addressing the application of the trade dress

infringement elements, we must first address Lanard’s challenge

to both the ownership of the Hummer and Humvee trade dress

and what that trade dress is comprised of. Lanard’s argument

10a

can be summed up in two statements. First, neither the district

court, AM General, nor General Motors listed the appropriate

elements constituting the protected trade dress. Second, the

district court inappropriately lumped together the trade dress of

the civilian Hummer vehicle (owned by General Motors) with

the military Humvee vehicle (owned by AM General), thereby

prejudicing many of Lanard’s arguments against trade dress

infringement.

[I]t will not do to solely identify in litigation a combination

as ‘the trade dress.’ Rather, the discrete elements which make

up that combination should be separated out and identified in a

list.” McCarthy on Trademarks § 8:3 (4th ed.2001). General

Motors argues that the trade dress was properly identified as the

“exterior appearance and styling” of the vehicles in question.

However,

focus on the overall look of a product does not permit

a plaintiff to dispense with an articulation of the

specific elements which comprise its distinct dress.

Without such a precise expression of the character and

scope of the claimed trade dress, litigation will be

difficult, as courts will be unable to evaluate how

unique and unexpected the design elements are in the

relevant market.

Landscape Forms, Inc. v. Columbia Cascade Co., 113 F.3d373,

381 (2d Cir. 1997). General Motors argues that it met that

burden in its summary judgment brief when it identified the

trade dress clements as “the exterior appearance and styling of

the vehicle design which includes the grille, slanted and raised

hood, split windshield, rectangular doors, squared edges, etc.”

While the district court did not repeat this list as the specific

trade dress which Lanard infringed upon, we hold this is

sufficient to fulfill the “discrete elements” requirement of a

trade dress claim.

Lanard’s only dispute that this description by General

Motors ts not an acceptable list of “discrete elements” involves

the “etc.” at the end of the description. In requiring a list of

lla

“discrete elements,” we are looking to avoid “vague and

indeterminate references to the ‘overall appearance’ or ‘look’ of

plaintiff's packaging.” McCarthy on Trademarks § 8:3. In the

end, the question is whether or not “the court and the parties

coherently define exactly what the trade dress consists of and

determine whether that trade dress is valid and if what the

accused is doing is an infringement.” Id. Based on the list of

elements presented by Gencral Motors, it can be understood

exactly what they are looking to protect. The “etc.” marking

must be ignored in such a listing as it does not define any

further element to be included in the trade dress. See William

Strunk, Jr. & E.B. White, The Elements of Style 46 (4th ed.

2001) (“In formal writing, etc. is a misfit.”). Because the listing

is not vague and provides exact details as to what General

Motors secks to protect, we find the elements listed by General

Motors to be sufficient to define exactly what constitutes the

Hummer/ Humvee trade dress.

Lanard’s second argument is that the district court treated

the trade dress claims from AM General and General Motors as

the same. The district court referred in its summary judgment

order to the “Hummer/Humvee Trade Dress” as the trade dress

on which the ATK vehicle infringed. The two plaintiffs also

combined the trade dress claims of the Hummer and the

Humvee throughout their summary judgment brief and

subsequent reply brief. However, the design elements of each

are not identical, as admitted to by an AM _ General

representative: “The HUMVEE contains certain design

elements not present on the Hummer, including, but not limited

to: ‘X’-shaped cross bars on the doors, a slant back with no

windows, mounted weapons or a weapons turret, and a blackout

headlight in the left front hood recess.” While these distinctions

appear to be significant changes to the “exterior appearance and

styling,” they do not change the basic trade dress as defined by

the discrete clements listed above. Both the military Humvee

and the civilian Hummer share common appearance elements

which constitute a trade dress (specifically, the grille, slanted

and raised hood, split windshield, rectangular doors, and

12a

squared edges). The elements listed which were not a part of

the civilian Hummer’s design are also not listed in the discrete

elements which make up the trade dress as alleged by General

Motors/AM General. Therefore, the district court’s combining

of the Hummer and Humvee trade dresses into one trade dress

comprising the common elements between those vehicles 1s

permissible. |

2. Functionality of Trade Dress

Lanard also challenges whether the protected trade dress in

this case is actually nonfunctional, claiming that as a functional!

feature, it cannot be protected under trade dress law. TrafFix

Devices, Inc. v. Marketing Displays, Inc., 532 U.S. 23, 29, 121

S.Ct. 1255, 149 L.Ed.2d 164 (2001). A trade dress’s

nonfunctional nature must be proven by the party asserting the

trade dress protection. 15 U.S.C. § 1125(a)(3); TrafFix, 532

U.S. at 29, 121 S.Ct. 1255.

{A] product feature is functional, and cannot serve as a

trademark, if it is essential to the use or purpose of the

article or if it affects the cost or quality of the article, that

is, if exclusive use of the feature would put competitors

at a significant non-reputation-related disadvantage.

Qualitex Co. v. Jacobson Products Co., 514 U.S. 159, 165, 115

S.Ct. 1300, 131 L.Ed.2d 248 (1995) (internal quotation marks

omitted). Ifa trade dress is found to be functional, the mere fact

that there are other non-infringing designs which would serve

the same functional purpose is no defense to functionality.

Antioch Co. v. Western Trimming Corp., 347 F.3d 150, 155 (6th

Cir.2003).

Lanard’s first objection to the district court’s ruling on this

issue 1s the court’s clear misunderstanding of the role of

functionality in a trade dress claim. The district court, in Its

order, stated that “Lanard’s defense of ‘functionality’ is

dismissed.” This demonstrates an inappropriate shifting of the

burden on the issue of functionality from General Motors to

Lanard. The district court erred in its labeling of the issue of

l3a

functionality as a defense to be proven by Lanard, instead of

requiring General Motors to prove the absence of functionality

as an element of trade dress infringement. However, this error

is not reversible, and we must continue our de novo review of

the issue in order to determine if General Motors has proven its

trade dress to be non-functional.

General Motors, in proving non-functionality, relies heavily

on the declaration of Mr. Robert Gula, Senior Vice President of

Engineering and Product Development for AM General. Gula

testified that the appearance of the Humvee was unrelated to its

function, stating that “AM General’s prototype [of the Humvee]

could have had a different appearance and still functioned the

same way” and that the appearance was “not essential to the use

or purpose of the vehicle.” However, Gula’s first statement 1s

insufficient evidence for non-functionality as the mere existence

of other potential designs is no defense to a design’s

functionality. Antioch, 347 F.3d at 155. What remains is

Gula’s statement that the appearance and styling was “not

essential to the use or purpose of the vehicle.”

Lanard counters General Motors’s proof on this issue by

quoting from Gula’s deposition testimony in which he stated

“{t]he shape [of the Humvee] was basically a byproduct of a

vehicle that was designed to meet a performance specification.”

Gula continued to testify that part of those performance

specifications were “dimensional limitations, maximum width,

maximum height, maximum overall length. [The Army]

dictated approach and departure angle and | think breakover

angle.” These performance-based specifications all seem to

directly affect the “exterior appearance and styling” of the

Humvee. However, Gula later stated in his declaration that

“The Government’s technical specification did not address the

exterior appearance or the styling of the vehicle.”

We conclude that General Motors must prevail on the issue

of functionality. The trade dress in question has been defined

as “the exterior appearance and styling of the vehicle design

which includes the grille, slanted and raised hood, split

14a

windshield, rectangular doors, squared edges, etc.” We fail to

see what function these elements perform. While we understand

that Generaf Motors bears the burden of proof of

non-functionality, the plain appearance of the vehicle shows that

the elements which comprise its trade dress are inherently

non-functional. The statement by Gula regarding “performance

specifications,” which was relied upon by Lanard, does not

contribute to what makes up the Hummer/Humvee trade dress.

In fact, General Motors has managed to significantly alter the

height, width, and length of the Humvee in creating its newer

models of the Hummer while maintaining the same trade dress

as the original military vehicle. The military undoubtedly had

function in mind when designing the Humvee. However, this

does not necessarily mean that the exterior appearance and style

was based on function; rather, it was more likely an unrelated

afterthought.

Lanard repeatedly and dramatically stated during oral

argument that it stakes its entire claim in this case on the issue

of functionality. Unfortunately, this was like picking a show

pony in a thoroughbred race. The district court was correct in

holding that the Hummer/ Humvec trade dress is non-functional.

3. Secondary Meaning

Finally, Lanard argues that an issue of material fact remains

as to whether the allegedly protected trade dress has acquired

secondary meaning. Again, General Motors bears the burden of

proof on the issue of secondary meaning. Wal-Mart Stores, 529

U.S. at 210, 120 S.Ct. 1339. To demonstrate secondary

meaning, the evidence must show that “in the minds of the

public, the primary significance of the trade dress is to identify

the source of the product rather than the product itself.” /nwood

Labs., 456 U.S. at 851, 102 S.Ct. 2182 n. 11. This Court applies

a seven-factor test to determine whether secondary meaning

exists in a trade dress: (1) direct consumer testimony, (2)

consumer surveys, (3) exclusivity, length, and manner of use,

(4) amount and manner of advertising, (5) amount of sales and

number of customers, (6) established place in the market, and

15a

(7) proof of intentional copying. Marketing Displays, Inc. v.

TrafFix Devices, Inc., 200 F.3d 929, 937 (6th Cir. 1999), rev'd

on other grounds, TrafFix Devices, Inc. v. Marketing Displays,

Inc., 532 U.S. 23, 121 S.Ct. 1255, 149 L.Ed.2d 164 (2001).

Lanard first argues that the district court erred in not

applying the seven-factor test or referring to any of the factors

in either its decision or at the summary judgment hearing.

Additionally, the district court appears to have incorrectly

shifted the burden on this issue by stating that “Lanard’s defense

of ‘secondary meaning’ is dismissed.” Secondary meaning is an

element of trade dress infringement which must be proven by

the plaintiffs, not the defendants. Wa/-Mart Stores, 529 U.S. at

210, 120 S.Ct. 1339. On this issue, the district court erred in

ruling against such a “defense” because Lanard is not required

to present evidence on secondary meaning. That burden falls to

General Motors. However, as this is de novo review, we must

continue to apply the seven-factor test in order to determine if

General Motors has sufficiently proven that the trade dress has

acquired secondary meaning.

In order to prove secondary meaning, General Motors relies

on a number of sources. First, it draws this Court's attention to

a General Motors business report which states that Hummer has

96% brand recognition. The report, dated December |, 1999,

states that 96% of the 228 respondents were able to correctly

identify a picture of the Hummer as in fact being a Hummer. ”

This survey appears to be powerful evidence in that it

essentially forced consumers to look at the “exterior appearance

and styling” and to identify the source of that product. General

Motors also relies on a survey from 2002, conducted in

anticipation of this litigation. This “Marylander survey”

concluded that Hummer’s trade dress had secondary meaning to

almost 77% of the respondents, but its conclusion is slightly

* The survey respondents were looking at a picture of AM

General's civilian Hummer vehicle, not AM General’s military

vehicle or General Motors’s civilian Hummer vehicles.

l6a

misleading. The 77% represents the number of people who,

when they were showed pictures of Hummer vehicles, stated

that a specific make comes to mind, including. Hummer (54%),

Humvee (14%), General Motors (2%), Hoomer (1 %), Hummer

truck (1 %), Military Hummer (1 %), and those who could not

name the make but knew they were all from one company

(15%).* Nevertheless, knowledge that a product comes from a

single source, even without naming that source, is sufficient to

establish secondary meaning. See 15 U.S.C. § 1157.

Lanard argues that General Motors’s survey evidence ts not

enough to establish secondary meaning. First of all, it argues

that secondary meaning must be proven before the first

allegedly infringing use of the trade dress. See McCarthy on

Trademarks § 15:4; Burke-Parsons-Bowlby Corp. _ v.

Appalachian Log Homes, Inc., 871 F.2d 590, 596 (6th Cir.

1989) (“Secondary meaning must be established prior to other’s

first use of a similar [design].””). Survey evidence from either

1999 or 2002 is therefore not relevant given that Lanard

developed the MUDSLINGER in 1992 and the allegedly

infringing ATK in 1997. General Motors retorts that such a

blanket rule would invalidate all surveys of trade dress

conducted in anticipation of litigation.

This Court has historically favored the use of consumer

surveys as proof of secondary meaning. See Tumblebus, Inc. v.

Cranmer, 399 F.3d 754, 761 n. 9 (6th Cir. 2005); see also Black

& Decker, Inc. v. Pro-Tech Power Inc., 26 F.Supp.2d 834

(E.D.Va.1998) (holding that a 1998 survey showing 85% brand

recognition was strong enough to establish secondary meaning

in 1992). However, the question remains whether we should

ignore all survey evidence conducted post-infringement or

* These numbers do not add up to 77% as respondents were

allowed to name more than one make. The 77% named either

one of those makes which the survey deemed “Hummer/GM

Brands” or did not name a make but said they all came from one

company.

l7a

accept the evidence with the understanding that the survey does

not reflect a pre-infringement world. A court may easily take

into consideration the strength of recognition at the time of the

survey in light of the amount of time passed between that date

and the date of infringement. We have previously taken the

latter course in an unpublished decision. Ashland Oil v.

Olymco, 1995 WL 499466, at **3-5, 1995 U.S.App. LEXIS

24652 (6th Cir. August 21, 1995). This seems to be the

appropriate choice, given the relatively unlikely scenario that a

company has conducted a pre-infringement survey and this

Court’s strong support for survey evidence in evaluating

secondary meaning. In light of the strong statistical evidence

(96% recognition in 1999 and 77% recognition in 2002), we

hold that General Motors’s survey evidence was sufficient to

support secondary meaning. See Ashland Oil, 1995 WL

499466, at 1995 U.S.App. LEXIS 24652 at *9-13 (holding that

50% is generally acceptable for secondary meaning and 38% is

marginal recognition).

Finally, there is a dispute between the parties over whether

the intentional copying of a trade dress constitutes inherent

secondary meaning in that trade dress. The Supreme Court has

stated that “product-design trade dress can never be inherently

distinctive.” Wal-Mart Stores, 529 U.S. at 214, 120 S.Ct. 1339.

Therefore, secondary meaning for any product design trade

dress can not be inherent through evidence of copying. While

Lanard believes the Wal-Mart court completely eliminated

consideration of intentional copying in product design cases,

that is not the case. Intentional copying may be used to show

secondary meaning as the seventh factor in this Court's

seven-factor test, but it is only one of many considerations in

that test and does not alone establish secondary meaning.

Therefore, Lanard’s intentional copying of the Humvee trade

dress is relevant, but not determinative, to the issue of

secondary meaning.

18a

We have now discussed two factors-consumer surveys and

proof of intentional copying-of the seven-factor test required by

TrafFix Devices. 200 F.3d at 937. Because we must focus on

secondary meaning developed before infringement, General

Motors has very little evidence as to the remaining five factors.

Direct consumer testimony is unavailable pre-1992. There was

little “exclusivity, length, and manner of use” of the trade dress

pre-1992. There was no advertising, with the exception of the

presence of the Humvee in the Gulf War. Finally, there was no

sales and no established place in the market for the vehicles at

that time. However, General Motors presents exceptionally

strong survey evidence of recognition of its trade dress along

with the intentional copying by Lanard. Lanard was

unsuccessful in its attempt to discredit the proof offered by

Genera! Motors. Given this strong evidence by General Motors

and Lanard’s inability to present evidence to the contrary on any

of the seven factors, we hold that summary judgment was

appropriate as to the issue of secondary meaning.

General Motors therefore has established that there are no

material issues of fact as to any of the three elements of trade

dress infringement. Therefore, summary judgment was

appropriate as to this issue.

D. The Laches and Estoppel Defenses

Lanard’s final appeal challenges the district court’s decision

denying Lanard summary judgment based on laches and

estoppel defenses.’ Laches is the “negligent and unintentional

failure to protect one’s rights.” Nartron Corp. v.

ST Microelectronics, Inc., 305 F.3d 397, 408 (6th Cir.2002). To

demonstrate a valid estoppel claim, Lanard “must show that it

had been misled by [General Motors/AM General] through

* It should be noted that the burden here shifts from the previous

two appeals because in this appeal of summary judgment,

Lanard was the moving party at the district court, while General

Motors was the non-movant.

19a

actual misrepresentations, affirmative acts of misconduct,

intentional misleading silence, or conduct amounting to virtual

abandonment of the trademark.” Jd. at 412. In its estoppel

defense, Lanard relies on the “silence” and “virtual

abandonment” requirements. Because the application of these

related defenses here turns on AM Gencral’s silence and the

potential abandonment of its claims, we will address both

defenses together. 7

1. Summary Judgment Appeal Post-Jury Verdict

Before we can reach the merits of the laches and estoppel

defenses, we must be sure that an appeal of a summary

judgment can be heard. After denying Lanard’s motion for

summary judgment on laches, the district court submitted the

question of the laches and estoppel defenses to the jury and the

jury rejected Lanard’s defenses. We will generally not rule on

an appeal of summary judgment :f the issue went to trial.

Garrison v. Cassens Transport Co., 334 F.3d 528, 537 (6th Cir.

2003). However, an exception to that rule exists if the summary

judgment was based on a pure question of law rather than on a

material issue of facts, in which case this Court may review the

summary judgment motion. Paschal v. Flagstar Bank, 295 F.3d

565, 572 (6th Cir. 2002). Although the district court did not

provide an explanation for why it denied Lanard’s motion for

summary judgment on laches and estoppel, it subsequently

submitted the question to the jury, thereby insinuating that there

were questions of fact for the jury to answer. We thus reason

from the district court’s ruling that its denial of summary

judgment was not based on a pure question of law, but on

factual disputes over the elements of laches.

Lanard argues that the submission of the question of laches

to a jury is irrelevant because the district court did so “in an

advisory sense.” Because the jury’s determination on this issue

was only advisory, Lanard argues, there was no jury verdict on

the issue of laches and this Court may therefore hear the appeal.

Based on this “advisory” jury determination, we agree. While

a jury may be used to consider factual disputes in a laches

20a

defense, the fact that the jury was used in an advisory manner

suggests that our review of the denial of summary judgment is

appropriate.

2. Elements of Laches

This Court has held that:

[a] party asserting laches must show: (1) lack of

diligence by the party against whom the defense is

asserted, and (2) prejudice to the party asserting it. In

this Circuit, there 1s a strong presumption that a

plaintiff's delay in asserting its rights is reasonable as

long as an analogous state statute of limitations has not

elapsed. In evaluating whether a party has been diligent

in protecting its trademark, we look to the state-law

statute of limitations for injury to personal property.

Here, under Michigan law, that period 1s three years. In

other words, a delay beyond the three-year statutory

period is presumptively prejudicial and unreasonable.

The period of delay begins to run when plaintiff had

actual or constructive knowledge of the alleged

infringing activity.

Nartron, 305 F.3d at 408 (internal quotation marks and citations

omitted). The applicable state statute of limitations in this case

is three years. M.C.L.A. § 600.5805(10).

Lanard believes the facts demonstrate that AM General was

negligent in the protection of its rights and that AM General’s

silence misled Lanard into continuing with the production of tts

toys. Because Lanard was the moving party in the summary

judgment motion on the issue of the defenses, we must view the

facts in the light most favorable to General Motors and AM

General. Additionally, in reviewing the facts, we must keep in

mind that the subject matter of the case before us is Lanard’s

use of the trademarked grille design and the trade dress, not its

use of the term “Humvee.”

AM General was first aware of Lanard’s MUDSLINGER

toy in 1993 when AM General contacted Lanard about the use

2la

of “Hyper Humvee” on its packaging. After Lanard agreed to

discontinue the use of “Hyper Humvee” on its packaging, AM

General’s representative wrote to Lanard on August 26, 1993:

“You state in your telefax that Lanard Toys is redoing its

packaging. If that means that Lanard Toys intends to continue

selling toy vehicles that replicate AM General’s HUMMER

vehicle, we believe that Lanard Toys may still be violating our

client’s rights.” Based on this letter, there appears to be a

material issue of fact as to whether AM General was aware that

Lanard Toys was going to continue making its Humvee-styled

toys without the “Humvee” name. A reasonable fact-finder

could interpret Lanard’s silence to constitute agreement with

AM General that the company would cease making its toys or,

as actually happened, the letter could have been ignored by

Lanard. Considering the language in AM General’s letter and

the failure of Lanard to respond, a jury could believe that AM

General was unaware that Lanard continued making its

Humvec-styled toys.

The partics again contacted each other in 1997, and this

time Lanard initiated the dialogue to make a deal with AM

General to add the name “Humvee” back to the toys, and

included pictures of the toys in question. Based on this Ictter,

there is still a material issue of fact as to whether AM General

took this letter to mean Lanard was already producing the

Humvee-styled toys and wanted to use the “Humvee” name, or

whether the entire production of the toys rested on whether AM

General would allow Lanard to use the name. Because there

remains a question of fact whether AM General delayed in the

exercising of its rights, the district court was correct to deny

summary judgment as to the laches and estoppel defenses and

submit those questions to a jury.

Based on the discussion above, we affirm the decisions of

the district court.

RYAN, Circuit Judge, concurring.

22a

While I concur entirely with my colleagues’ conclusion that

the district court’s judgment must be affirmed, | v. rite separately

to emphasize that | vote to affirm only because I’m satisfied that

there is no “genuine issue of material fact,” under Fed.R.Civ.P.

56, that can preclude judgment for the plaintiff, as a matter of

law, particularly as the term of art “genuine issue” has been

interpreted by the Supreme Court in the Ce/ofex trilogy. See

Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 106 S.Ct. 2548, 91

L.Ed.2d 265 (1986), Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S.

242, 106 S.Ct. 2505, 91 L.Ed.2d 202 (1986), Matsushita Elec.

Indus. Co., Ltd. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 106 S.Ct.

1348, 89 L.Ed.2d 538 (1986).

] express no view about the sufficiency of the evidence with

respect to any issue in the case.

23a

APPENDIX B

United States District Court

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN

SOUTHERN DIVISION

Nos. 01-71103, 03-7273 1

GENERAL MOTORS CORP. and AM GENERAL, LLC,

Plaintiffs,

Vv. :

LANARD TOYS, INC. and LANARD TOYS LTD.,

Defendants.

Arthur J. Tarnow, District Judge.

JUDGMENT AND PERMANENT INJUNCTION

1. WHEREAS this Court granted summary judgment in the

above-captioned case on August 27, 2004 resolving numerous

issues in this case prior to tral, which Summary Judgment

Order is attached hereto as Exhibit A;

2. WHEREAS the Court, on March 8, 2005, entered an

Order of Dismissal As To Certain Claims Over Defendants’

| Objections, which is attached hereto as Exhibit B;

3. WHEREAS the Court held trial on March &, 2005

through March 10, 2005 on the remaining issues; and

4. WHEREAS the jury rendered its verdict on March 10,

2005 on these remaining issues,

24a

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, ADJUGED AND DECREED

that this judgment and permanent injunction is entered as

follows:

A. The defendants used the asserted trademark or trade

dress intentionally knowing that it was an infringement.

B. Judgment is entered against defendants, jointly and

severally, in favor of GM/AMG in the amount of $1,274,141.

C. Defendants have not met their burden of proof on their

laches and estoppel defenses, and those defenses are dismissed

with prejudice.

D. GM/AMG are awarded their costs as the prevailing

party and pre-judgment interest from March 20, 2001, the

amount of which shall be based on the Michigan statutory rate,

to be determined based on the final amount awarded after post-

judgment submissions to the Court.

E. The Court reserves the issue as to whether to adjust the

amount of defendants’ profits awarded to plaintiffs under 15

U.S.C. § 1117(a) which shall be decided by post-judgment

motions to be filed within 10 days of entry of this judgment.

F. The Court also reserves the issue of whether to increase

the award of damages to plaintiffs up to an additional three

times and/or award attorneys’ fees to the plaintiffs, which shall

be decided by post-judgment motions to be filed within 10 days

of entry of this judgment.

G. Pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 65, defendants, their officers,

agents, servants, employees, and attorneys, and those persons 1n

active concert or participation with defendants who receive

notice of this permanent injunction by personal service or

otherwise, are permanently enjoined and restrained from:

(1) Importing, manufacturing, producing, distributing,

circulating, selling, offering for sale, advertising,

promoting or displaying the Corps! ATK vehicle;

(2) Imitating. copying or making any unauthorized use

of the Hummer Nose Design Trademark (U.S.

25a

Trademark Registration No. 1,959,544), as show in

Exhibit C, and/or the trade dress of the

Hummer/Humvee Vehicle, as shown in its entirety

by the Pictures Exhibit D;

(3) Importing, manufacturing, producing, distributing,

circulating, selling, offer for sale, advertising,

promoting or displaying any service or product

using any simulation, reproduction, counterfeit or

copy of, and/or any service that is confusingly

similar to either the Hummer Nose Design

Trademark and/or the trade dress of the

4 Hummer/Humvee Vehicle;

(4) Using any ffalse designation of origin or false

description (including, without limitation, any

letters, symibols, or designs constituting the

Hummer Nose Design Trademark and/or the trade

dress of the WHummer/Humvee Vehicle) or

performing ainy act, which can, or is likely to, lead

members of tthe trade or public to believe that any

service or product manufactured, distributed or sold

by defendanits is in any manner associated or

connected with GM, AMG, the HUMMER® brand,

or the Hummer Nose Design Trademark and/or the

trade dess of the Hummer/Humvee Vehicle, or is

sold, manufactured, licensed, sponsored, approved

or authorized by GM or AMG;

H. This judgment and permanent injunction only deals with

the rights and obligations of the parties in the United States and

is not intended to affect tlhe parties’ claims and defense in other

countries.

{. Should GM or AMG accuse Lanard’s Ultra Corps., Super

Shots and/or Infrared Vehicle, which were part of this case, with

infringement of the Nose Design Trademark and/or trade dress

of the Hummer/Humvee vehicle after the date of this judgment,

GM and/or AMG agree not to pursue any such accusation as a

|

YH RSS SPI EPS EN PARDONS pr na

26a

contest of this Order, but instead shall file a new lawsuit with

respect to such accusations.

J. Defendants and their agents, employees, servants,

attorneys, successors, and assigns, and all others in privity or

acting in concert herewith, shall file with this Court, and serve

upon GM/AMG’s counsel within thirty (30) days of this

judgment, a written report under oath, setting forth in detail the

manner and form in which they have complied with the

permanent injunction.

K. GM/AMG and/or auditors of GM/AMG shall be allowed

to audit and inspect the books, records, and premises of the

defendants for a period of three (3) months after entry of this

judgment and permanent injunction to determine defendants’

compliance with this permanent injunction.

IT 1S SO ORDERED.

Arthur J. Tarnow

United States District Judge

ee

Date: Apr. 12, 2005

27a

EXHIBIT A

United States District Court

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN

SOUTHERN DIVISION

Nos. 01-71103, 03-7273 1

GENERAL MOTORS CORP. and AM GENERAL, LLC,

| Plaintiffs,

Vv.

LANARD TOYS, INC. and LANARD TOYS LTD.,

Defendants.

Arthur J. Tarnow, District Judge.

ORDER REGARDING

SUMMARY JUDGMENT MOTIONS

Plaintiffs, General Motors Corporation (“GM”) and AM

General, LLC (“AMG”) have moved for summary judgment.

Defendants, Lanard Toys, Inc. and Lanard Toys Limited

(““Lanard”) has also moved for summary judgment. The Court

has considered the briefs and arguments of the parties and is

fully appraised of the issues. For the reasons set forth on the

record on Friday, August 13, 2004, the Court hereby orders:

1. Lanard’s “CORPS! ATK Vehicle” is held to infringe

both the Hummer/Humvee Trade Dress and the Hummer Nose

Design Trademark (U.S. Registration No. 1,959,544).

28a

2. Lanard’s “Mean Machine” is held not to infringe the

Hummer/Humvee Trade Dress or the Hummer Nose Design

Trademark.

3. Lanard’s “Ultra Corps!” toy is held not to infringe the

Hummer/Humvee Trade Dress. The Court also determined that

infringement of the Hummer Nose Design Trademark presents

a jury question.

4. Lanard’s “Super Shots” toy is held to present a jury

question as to infringement of both the Hummer/Humvee Trade

Dress and the Hummer Nose Design Trademark.

5. Lanard’s “Infrared Vehicle” toy is held to present a jury

question as to infringement of both the Hummer/Humvee Trade

Dress and the Hummer Nose Design Trademark.

6. Lanard’s defenses of “functionality” and no “secondary

meaning” are dismissed.

7. Lanard’s defense of “ownership” is dismissed.

8. All of Lanard’s Affirmative Defenses are dismissed at

summary judgment except for Lanard’s laches and estoppel

defenses.

Therefore,

IT ISORDERED that the Defendants’ Renewed Motion for

Summary Judgment [115] 1s GRANTED IN PART and

DENIED IN PART.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that General Motors’ Motion

for Summary Judgment of Infringement of the Hummer Nose

Design Trademark [160] is GRANTED IN PART and DENIED

[IN PART.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Plaintiffs’ Joint Motion

for Summary Judgment of Infringement of the Hummer and

Humvee Vehicle Trade Dress [161] is GRANTED IN PART

and DENIED IN PART.

29a

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Plaintiffs’ Joint Motion

for Summary Judgment as to Defendants’ Affirmative Defenses

[162] is GRANTED IN PART and DENIED IN PART.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Defendants’ Renewed

Motion to Strike the Declaration of Charles Ellerbrock [172] is

DISMISSED AS MOOT.

IT 1S FURTHER ORDERED that Plaintiffs’ Motion to File

Reply Bricfs in Excess of Five Pages [180] is GRANTED.

HON. ARTHUR TARNOW

U.S. District Court Judge

Dated: August 27, 2004

30a

EXHIBIT B

United States District Court

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN

SOUTHERN DIVISION

Nos. 01-71103, 03-72731

GENERAL MOTORS CORP. and AM GENERAL, LLC,

Plaintiffs,

v.

LANARD TOYS, INC. and LANARD TOYS LTD.,

Defendants.

Arthur J. Tarnow, District Judge.

ORDER OF DISMISAL AS TO CERTAIN CLAIMS

OVER DEFENDANTS’ OBJECTIONS

WHEREAS, plaintiffs have accused defendants (hereinafter

‘Lanard”’) of infringement of U.S. Trademark Registration No.

1,959,544 and the Trade Dress of the Hummer/Humvee vehicle

with respect to five toys manufactured and sold by Lanard; and

WHEREAS, the Court on August 27, 2004 ruled with

respect to those five toys as follows:

1. Lanard’s Corps! ATK Vehicle is held to infringe both the

Hummer/Humvee Trade Dress and the Hummer Nose Design

Trademark (U.S. Registration No. 1,959,544).

3la

2. Lanard’s “Mean Machine” is held not to infringe the ©

Hummer/Humvee Trade Dress or the Hummer Nose Design

Trademark.

3. Lanard’s “Ultra Corps!” toy is held not to infringe the

Hummer/Humvee Trade Dress. The Court also determined that

infringement of the Hummer Nose Design Trademark presents

a jury question.

4. Lanard’s “Super Shots” toy is held to present a jury

question as to infringement of both the Hummer/Humvee Trade

Dress and the Hummer Nose Design Trademark.

5. Lanard’s “Infrared Vehicle” toy is held to present a jury

question as to infringement of both the Hummer/Humvee Trade

Dress and the Hummer Nose Design Trademark.

WHEREAS, plaintiff's have requested that the three toys

for which there are remaining questions as to infringement not

be included in tnal for efficiency and to reduce the number of

issues to be tried as Lanard has no current sales of these

products and the amount of sales involved with respect to any

past damages would be small; and

WHEREAS, plaintiffs have agreed to release defendants

from any past liability with respect to said products as a

condition of such dismissal.

WHEREAS, defendants object to this dismissal because

they continue to market the three toys and they will be

prejudiced if they are required to defend a new lawsuit raising

the same claims because they will have incurred substantial

attorneys’ fees to defend the claims in this case and because

they do not believe that any claimed efficiency will offset this -

prejudice;

WHEREAS, the court has determined, over defendants’

objections, that it will allow Plaintiffs to voluntarily dismiss

their claims based on the three toys.

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED as follows:

32a

1. Plaintiffs hereby release defendants for any liability with

respect to infringement of the °544 registration and/or

Hummer/Humvee Trade Dress with respect to sales of Lanard’s

accused Infrared Vehicle, Ultra Corps! and Supper Shots toy

products through the date of this dismissal with prejudice.

2. As a result of this release, plaintiffs’ claims in this case

against these three toys are dismissed with prejudice as to sales

prior to the date of this dismissal and without prejudice to bring

these claims against future sales of these products after the date

of this dismissal.

SO ORDERED.

Dated: March 8, 2005

HON. ARTHUR TARNOW

U.S. District Court Judge.

33a

EXHIBIT C

Tat. Cl: 3

Priog U.S. Cl: 19 wets

Unted Saas Pata nd Teena Otis MES

PRINCIPAL REGISTER

a -

USS HoelSl, Wt COMMERCE SRR NO, 24-411.2%4 PILED 2-13-1903.

MARK CONSISTS OF THE CONFIGU- eS ARE GE ae

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

34a

EXHIBIT D

35a

Sd eo

36a

37a

essays

53

;

#

&

:

Ope

38a

4la

42a

a ee

a teat »

+ -

45a

APPENDIX C

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

No. 05-2085

GENERAL MOTORS CORP. and AM GENERAL, LLC,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

v.

LANARD TOYS, INC. and LANARD TOYS LTD.,

Defendants-Appellants.

FILED: Jan. 31, 2007

Before: MARTIN and RYAN, Circuit Judges; MARBLEY,

District Judge.”

ORDER

The court having received a petition for rehearing en banc,

and the petition having been circulated not only to the original

panel members but also to all other active judges of this court,

and no judge of this court having requested a vote on the

suggestion for rehearing en banc, the petition for rehearing has

been referred to the original panel.

* The Honorable Algenon L. Marbley, United States District

Judge for the Southern Distnct of Ohio, sitting by designation.

46a

The panel has further reviewed the petition for rehearing

and concludes that the issues raised in the petition were fully

considered upon the original submission and decision of the

case. Accordingly, the petition is denied.

ENTERED BY ORDER OF THE COURT

Leonard Green, Clerk

47a

APPENDIX D

United States District Court

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN

SOUTHERN DIVISION

Nos. 01-71103, 03-72731

GENERAL MOTORS CORP. and AM GENERAL, LLC,

Plaintiffs,

V.

LANARD TOYS, INC. and LANARD TOYS LTD.,

Defendants.

Arthur J. Tarnow, District Judge.

Deposition of ROBERT J. GULA

The Deposition of ROBERT J. GULA,

Taken at 1000 Town Center, 22nd Floor

Southfield, Michigan,

Commencing at 10:08 a.m.,

Friday, April 23, 2004

Before Kathryn L. Janes, CSR-3442, RMR, CRR

1 APPEARANCES

2

3 MARC LORELLI

4 Brooks & Kushman, P.C.

5 1000 Town Center, 22nd Floor

6 Southfield, Michigan 48075

7 (248) 358-4400

8 Appearing on behalf of the Plaintiff, General Motors

9 Corporation.

10

11 PAUL J. PERALTA

12 Baker & Daniels

13 205 West Jefferson Boulevard, Suite 250

14 South Bend, Indiana 46601

15 (574) 234-4149

16 Appearing on behalf of the Plaintiff, AM General, LLC.

17

18 KEVIN D. O’REAR

19 AM General

20 105 North Niles Avenue

21 South Bend, Indian 46617

22 (574) 284-2915

23 Appearing on behalf of the Plaintiff, AM General, LLC.

24

25

49a

Page 3

1 GREGORY D. HANLEY

2 Wasinger, Kickham & Hanley, P.C.

3 26862 Woodward Avenue, Suite 100

4 Royal Oak, Michigan 48067

5 (248) 414-9900

6 Appearing on behalf of the Defendants.

50a

Page 4

1 Southfield, Michigan

2 Friday, April 23, 2004

3 10:08 a.m.

4

5 ROBERT J. GULA,

6 Was thereupon called as a witness herein, and after

7 having first been duly sworm to testify to the truth,

8 the whole truth and nothing but the truth, was

9 examined and testified as follows:

10 EXAMINATION

11 BY MR. HANLEY:

12 Q. Good morning, Mr. Gula.

13 A. Hi.

14Q. We just met, my name is Greg Hanley and I’m one of

the

15 attorneys that are representing Lanard Toys, Inc. and

16 Lanard Toys Limited in this case that involves your

17 company, AM General. Your deposition is being

taken

18 pursuant to a special rule of federal procedure that

19 allows us to take the deposition of an entity or a

20 corporation and the corporation responds by

21 designating people such as yourself to testify to

22 certain matters that we’ve asked for testimony on; do

23 you understand that?

24 A. Sure.

25 Q. Allright. Do you understand that you’ve been

—— OMOAIDU DWN

Ww No

©

Nn

17 A.

\O

20

Sla

Page 17

System was added. That was not - that was not

provided on the military vehicle. Pioneer tool kit

was deleted.

BY MR. HANLEY:

That’s all you can recall at this time?

That’s abut all I can recall at the outset of the

program in ‘92.

Did the shape of the vehicle ever change during the

time that AMG was manufacturing?

You're referr'ng to the shape - I need to have

differentiated between the roof and what we call

below

the belt-line area of the vehicle?

Okay. Explain for somebody like me who is not a

technical person the distinction you’re making?

(Whereupon Mr. O’Rear entered the

deposition room at 10:30 a.m.)

The shape of the roof was different on the commercial

vehicle than on the military vehicle. The shape of

the body, which 1s generally defined as everything

below the bottom of the windows, has never changed.

21 BY MR. HANLEY:

aa.

23 A.

24

25

Okay. How did the roof portion change?

Well, as I said, it was changed from a - the military

vehicle had either canvas roof or it had a

ballistically-protected armored roof with a turret.

OAAINOR WH

Dr 0

10 A.

11Q.

12

13

ee

15

16

17

18

19

20 A.

21

22

23

24

52a

Page 18

Neither of those were suitable for the commercial

marketplace so we designed a steel roof that had a

different appearance obviously than a canvas roof.

And that was a design that was done from the very

beginning?

Correct.

Okay. All rnght. Were you involved in the design

decisions relating to the shape of the original

military vehicle?

No.

I mean, do you know why that particular shape was

decided upon?

MR. PERALA: Which particular shape are we

taking about?

MR. HANLEY: The shape of the onginal

military vehicle back in 1985.

MR. PERALTA: Are you including everything,

that 1s the roof, the body, everything?

MR. HANLEY: Yes.

The shape was - I was not involved in - | was not

responsible for the design process, but I observed the

design process from the capacity I described. The

shape was basically a byproduct of a vehicle that was

designed to meet a performance specification.

25 BY MR. HANLEY:

>

COMNDUNRWN

— — ©

= ©

NO eee

CSCO mONN MN SW ND

NyeN NN

AWN =

> 0

~~)

7)

t

53a

Page 19

And what was the performance specification?

Well, the Army calls it a systems specification, and

it described everything from a requirement that the

vehicle be diesel powered, have an automatic

transmission, the types of differentials, that it be

full-time four-wheel drive, to the level of cooling

performance, the level of acceleration and speed

performance, and the dimensional limitations,

maximum

width, maximum height, maximum overall length. It

dictated approach and departure angle and | think

breakover angle, but I’m not sure of that.

Weight, it defined a maximum curb weight,’

it defined the ride quality, hill-climbing capability,

side-slope capability, fording, water-fording

capability and storage capability. There was a list

of equipment that the vehicle had to be able to stow.

It defined durability and reliability, maintainability

requirements. It defined the weapons that the vehicle

had to be capable of mounting and their - on the

weapons that were fired from the vehicle, | think it

defined the firing ranges, up, down, side to side,

noise, defined pass-by noise, interior noise.

. Anything else?

. Probably a lot of other things that I just can’t

remember.

Omen AMNARWN —

“af Qe

O>2

54a

Page 20

But would it be fair to say that the shape and

configuration that ultimately was decided upon was

driven by the need to satisfy those requirements?

As I said, the shape wasn’t - the shape was a result

of what it took to meet those requirements. There was

no requirement for shape or appearance or anything.

All right. The government didn’t dictate the shape?

No.

AM General ultimately arrived at a vehicle with that

particular shape because of the requirements that you

just listed in detail; would that be correct?

Well, we arrived at a vehicle that met the

requirements that happened to be shaped the way it’s

shaped.

Okay. Okay. Now, when you designed the roof for

the

commercial vehicle, you said that that was different

obviously than what was on the military vehicle, what

were the factors that drove those design decisions?

Cost, we decided to make it a steel roof instead of

aluminum, like the body of the vehicle, time, because

the tooling lead time for a steel roof was shorter

than that of an aluminum roof. It had to match up to

the existing windshield, attach to the windshield in

the same manner that the armored roof attached.

Anything else?

55a

APPENDIX E

United States District Court

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN

SOUTHERN DIVISION

Nos. 01-71103, 03-7273 1

GENERAL MOTORS CORP. and AM GENERAL, LLC,

Plaintiffs,

Vic

LANARD TOYS, INC. and LANARD TOYS LTD.,

Defendants.

Arthur J. Tarnow, District Judge. °

DECLARATION OF ROBERT J. GULA

Il, ROBERT J. GULA, declare as follows:

1. I am an adult, more than 18 years old, and competent to

testify. The facts stated in this Declaration are based on my

personal knowledge and the business records of AM General

LLC, which are maintained under my supervision.

2. | am currently the Senior Vice President of Engincering

and Product Development for AM General. | have held this job

since November 1997.

3. I began working for AM General in 1971. In 1981, I was

the “Deputy Project Manager - HMMWV System” for AM

General. My duties included: preparing and maintaining

56a

schedules for AM General's HMMWV Program, coordinating

the activities of the functional organizations to ensure on-

schedule performance and delivery of contractually compliant

deliverable items; and managing and preparing the Phase |

Technical Proposal submitted to the Government, which

described AM General’s offering for the HMMWV System. In

1988, | became the Director of Engineering at AM General. I

was made Vice President of Engineering in 1992 and Senior

Vice President of Engineering in 1997.

4. In 1979, the Government solicited proposals from

industry because it wanted to replace the U.S. military’s light

vehicle fleet which included: the M561, a six wheel drive

vehicle made by Consolidated Diesel Electric; the M880, a

military derivative of a Dodge pickup truck; and the M151, a

quarter-ton payload truck based on a Ford design. In February

of 1981, the AM General received the Government’s formal

Request for Proposal which asked AM General to submit a

written proposal for a High Mobility Multipurpose Wheeled

Vehicle, HMMWV.

5. On April 27, 1981, AM General submitted to the

Government, AM General’s “Technical Proposal: Solicitation

DAAE07-81-R-4002 (Step One) HIGH MOBILITY

MULTIPURPOSE WHEELED VEHICLE (HMMWV)”

(“Technical Proposal”). [I was primarily responsible for

preparing and submitting the technical volume of this proposal.

The Technical Proposal included drawings of the HMMWV,

which were conceived and prepared by AM General employees

before April 27, 1981.

6. In July 1981, AM General was one of three companies

that received a “Phase I Contract” from the Government. The

Phase | Contract was a fixed-price, best efforts contract that

paid AM General (and two other competing companies) to

develop and submit prototype vehicles that met the

Government’s technical specification. The Government’s

technical specification did not address the exterior appearance

or styling of the vehicle.

57a

7. The other two companies that received a Phase |

Contract were Chrysler Corporation and Teledyne Continental

Motors. While still following the Government’s technical

specifications, Chrysler and Teledyne developed prototype

vehicles having an exterior appearance and styling different than

each other and AM General’s. The Government’s requirements

could have been met with any number of different vehicle

appearances. The particular appearance and styling of the

prototype vehicles was chosen by the various competing

companies. AM General’s prototype could have had a different

appearance and still functioned the same way. That is because

the exterior appearance and styling of the vehicle is not essential

to the use or purpose of the vehicle. Indeed, not using the same

appearance and styling as AM Gencral’s prototype did not

impede Chrysler or Teledyne from meeting the Government’s

technical specification or from competing for the Government

contract.

8. AM General was awarded the Phase II Production

Contract in 1983 which established AM General as the only

manufacturer for the HMMWV. AM General has sold this

vehicle to the Government continuously since 1985.

9. During my time at AM General, I have also been

involved with design of the civilian Hummer vehicle, now

called the Hummer Hi. Based on the popularity of AM

General’s military vehicle, a demand for a civilian version

arose. Other than the unique military features (such as the

camouflage paint, the fabric doors, the weapon mounts, military

lighting, etc.), the civilian Hummer H1 and the military vehicle

have a similar exterior design appearance. Indeed, the civilian

and military vehicles are manufactured on the same assembly

line with many of the same parts.

! declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true

and correct.

ROBERT J. GULA

Date: 4-23-04

58a

APPENDIX F

15 U.S.C. § 1114. Remedies; infringement; innocent

infringement by printers and publishers

(1) Any person who shall, without the consent of the registrant--

(a) use in commerce any reproduction, counterfeit, copy, or

colorable imitation of a registered mark in connection with the

sale, offering for sale, distribution, or advertising of any goods

or services on or in connection with which such use is likely

to cause confusion, or to cause mistake, or to deceive; or

(b) reproduce, counterfeit, copy, or colorably imitate a

registered mark and apply such reproduction, counterfeit,

copy, or colorable imitation to labels, signs, prints, packages,

wrappers, receptacles or advertisements intended to be used

in commerce upon or in connection with the sale, offering for

sale, distribution, or advertising of goods or services on or in

connection with which such use is likely to cause confusion,

or to cause mistake, or to deceive,

shall be liable in a civil action by the registrant for the remedies

hereinafter provided. Under subsection (b) hereof, the registrant

shall not be entitled to recover profits or damages unless the acts

have been committed with knowledge that such imitation is

intended to be used to cause confusion, or to cause mistake, or

to deceive.

As used in this paragraph, the term “any person” includes the

United States, all agencies and instrumentalities thereof, and all

individuals, firms, corporations, or other persons acting for the

United States and with the authorization and consent of the

United States, and any State, any instrumentality of a State, and

any officer or employee of a State or instrumentality of a State

acting in his or her official capacity. The United States, all

agencies and instrumentalities thereof, and all individuals,

firms, corporations, other persons acting for the United States

and with the authorization and consent of the United States, and

59a

any State, and any such instrumentality, officer, or employee,

shall be subject to the provisions of this chapter in the same

manner and to the same extent as any nongovernmental entity.

(2) Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter, the

remedies given to the owner of a right infringed under this

chapter or to a person bringing an action under section 1125(a)

or (d) of this title shall be limited as follows:

(A) Where an infringer or violator is engaged solely in the

business of printing the mark or violating matter for others

and establishes that he or she was an innocent infringer or

innocent violator, the owner of the right infringed or person

bringing the action under section 1 125(a) of this title shall be

entitled as against such infringer or violator only to an

injunction against future printing.

(B) Where the infringement or violation complained of is

contained in or is part of paid advertising matter in a

newspaper, magazine, or other similar periodical or in an

electronic communication as defined in section 2510(12) of

Title 18, the remedies of the owner of the right infringed or

person bringing the action under section | 125(a) of this title

as against the publisher or distributor of such newspaper,

magazine, or other similar periodical or electronic

communication shall be limited to an injunction against the

presentation of such advertising matter in future issues of such

newspapers, magazines, or other similar periodicals or in

future transmissions of such electronic communications. The

limitations of this subparagraph shall apply only to innocent

infringers and innocent violators.

(C) Injunctive relief shall not be available to the owner of the

right infringed or person bringing the action under section

1125(a) of this title with respect to an issue of a newspaper,

magazine, or other similar penodical or an electronic

communication containing infringing matter or violating

matter where restraining the dissemination of such infringing

matter or violating matter in any particular issue of such

periodical or in an electronic communication would delay the

60a

delivery of such issue or transmission of such electronic

communication after the regular time for such delivery or

transmission, and such delay would be due to the method by

which publication and distribution of such periodical or

transmission of such electronic communication is customarily

conducted in accordance with sound business practice, and not

due to any method or device adopted to evade this section or

to prevent or delay the issuance of an injunction or restraining

order with respect to such infringing matter or violating

matter.

(D)(i)(D) A domain name registrar, a domain name registry, or

other domain name registration authority that takes any action

described under clause (11) affecting a domain name shall not

be liable for monetary relief or, except as provided in

subclause (II), for injunctive relief, to any person for such

action, regardless of whether the domain name is finally

determined to infringe or dilute the mark.

(II) A domain name registrar, domain name registry, or other

domain name registration authority described in subclause (1)

may be subject to injunctive relief only 1f such registrar,

registry, or other registration authority has--

(aa) not expeditiously deposited with a court, in which an

action has been filed regarding the disposition of the domain

name, documents sufficient for the court to establish the

court’s control and authority regarding the disposition of the

registration and use of the domain name:

(bb) transferred, suspended, or otherwise modified the

domain name during the pendency of the action, except

upon order of the court; or

(cc) willfully failed to comply with any such court order.

(ii) An action referred to under clause (i)(1) 1s any action of

refusing to register, removing from registration, transferring,

temporarily disabling, or permanently canceling a domain

name--

6la

(1) in compliance with a court order under section 1 125(d)

of this title; or

(II) in the implementation of a reasonable policy by such

registrar, registry, or authority prohibiting the registration of

a domain name that is identical to, confusingly similar to, or

dilutive of another’s mark.

(iii) A domain name registrar, a domain name registry, or

other domain name registration authority shall not be liable

for damages under this section for the registration or

maintenance of a domain name for another absent a showing

of bad faith intent to profit from such registration or

maintenance of the domain name.

(iv) If a registrar, registry, or other registration authority takes

an action described under clause (ii) based on a knowing and

material misrepresentation by any other person that a domain

name is identical to, confusingly similar to, or dilutive of a

mark, the person making the knowing and material

misrepresentation shall be liable for any damages, including

costs and attorney’s fees, incurred by the domain name

registrant as a result of such action. The court may also grant

injunctive relief to the domain name registrant, including the

reactivation of the domain name or the transfer of the domain

name to the domain name registrant.

(v) A domain name registrant whose domain name has been .-

suspended, disabled, or transferred under a policy described

under clause (ii)(I1) may, upon notice to the mark owner, file

a civil action to establish that the registration or use of the

domain name by such registrant is not unlawful under this

chapter. The court may grant injunctive relief to the domain

name registrant, including the reactivation of the domain

name or transfer of the domain name to the domain name

registrant.

(E) As used in this paragraph--

(i) the term “violator” means a person who violates section

112S(a) of this title; and

62a

(ii) the term “violating matter” means matter that is the

subject of a violation under section 1 125(a) of this title.

(3)(A) Any person who engages in the conduct described in

paragraph (11) of section 110 of Title 17, and who complies

with the requirements set forth in that paragraph is not liable on

account of such conduct for a violation of any right under this

chapter. This subparagraph does not preclude liability, nor shall

it be construed to restrict the defenses or limitations on rights

granted under this chapter, of a person for conduct not described

in paragraph (11) of section 110 of Title 17, even if that person

also engages in conduct described in paragraph (11) of section

110 of such title.

(B) A manufacturer, licensee, or licensor of technology that

enables the making of limited portions of audio or video content

of a motion picture imperceptible as described in subparagraph

(A) is not liable on account of such manufacture or license for

a violation of any right under this chapter, if such manufacturer,

licensee, or licensor ensures that the technology provides a clear

and conspicuous notice at the beginning of each performance

that the performance of the motion picture 1s altered from the

performance intended by the director or copyright holder of the

motion picture. The limitations on liability in subparagraph (A)

and this subparagraph shall not apply to a manufacturer,

licensee, or licensor of technology that fails to comply with this

paragraph.

(C) The requirement under subparagraph (B) to provide notice

shall apply only with respect to technology manufactured after

the end of the 180-day period beginning on April 27, 2005.

(D) Any failure by a manufacturer, licensee, or licensor of

technology to qualify for the exemption under subparagraphs

(A) and (B) shall not be construed to create an inference that

any such party that engages in conduct described in paragraph

(11) of section 110 of Title 17 is liable for trademark

infringement by reason of such conduct.

63a

15 U.S.C. § 1115. Registration on principal register as

evidence of exclusive right to use mark; defenses

(a) Evidentiary value; defenses

Any registration issued under the Act of March 3, 1881, or the

Act of February 20, 1905, or of a mark registered on the

principal register provided by this chapter and owned by a party

to an action shall be admissible in evidence and shall be prima

facie evidence of the validity of the registered mark and of the

registration of the mark, of the registrant’s ownership of the

mark, and of the registrant’s exclusive right to use the registered

mark in commerce on or in connection with the goods or

services specified in the registration subject to any conditions or

limitations stated therein, but shall not preclude another person

from proving any legal or equitable defense or defect, including

those set forth in subsection (b) of this section, which might

have been asserted if such mark had not been registered.

(b) Incontestability; defenses

To the extent that the right to use the registered mark has

become incontestable under section 1065 of this title, the

registration shall be conclusive evidence of the validity of the

registered mark and of the registration of the mark, of the

registrant’s ownership of the mark, and of the registrant’s

exclusive right to use the registered mark in commerce. Such

conclusive evidence shall relate to the exclusive right to use the

mark on or in connection with the goods or services specified in

the affidavit filed under the provisions of section 1065 of this

title, or in the renewal application filed under the provisions of

section 1059 of this title if the goods or services specified in the

renewal are fewer in number, subject to any conditions or

limitations in the registration or in such affidavit or renewal

application. Such conclusive evidence of the right to use the

registered mark shall be subject to proof of infringement as

defined in section 1114 of this title, and shall be subject to the

following detenses or defects:

64a

(1) That the registration or the incontestable right to use the

mark was obtained fraudulently; or

(2) That the mark has been abandoned by the registrant; or

(3) That the registered mark is being used by or with the

permission of the registrant or a person in privity with the

registrant, so as to misrepresent the source of the goods or

services on or in connection with which the mark is used; or

(4) That the use of the name, term, or device charged to be an

infringement is a use, otherwise than as a mark, of the party’s

individual name in his own business, or of the individual

name of anyone in privity with such party, or of a term or

device which is descriptive of and used fairly and in good

faith only to describe the goods or services of such party, or

their geographic origin; or

(5) That the mark whose use by a party is charged as an

infringement was adopted without knowledge of the

registrant’s prior use and has been continuously used by such

party or those in privity with him from a date prior to (A) the

date of constructive use of the mark established pursuant to

section 1057(c) of this title, (B) the registration of the mark

under this chapter if the application for registration is filed

before the effective date of the Trademark Law Revision Act

of 1988, or (C) publication of the registered mark under

subsection (c) of section 1062 of this title: Provided,

however, That this defense or defect shall apply only for the

area in which such continuous prior use is proved; or

(6) That the mark whose use is charged as an infringement

was registered and used prior to the registration under this

chapter or publication under subsection (c) of section 1062 of

this title of the registered mark of the registrant, and not

abandoned: Provided, however, That this defense or defect

shall apply only for the area in which the mark was used prior

to such registration or such publication of the registrant’s

mark; or

65a

(7) That the mark has been or is being used to violate the

antitrust laws of the United States; or

(8) That the mark is functional; or

(9) That equitable principles, including laches, estoppel, and

acquiescence, are applicable.

66a

15 U.S.C. § 1125. False designations of origin, false

descriptions, and dilution forbidden

(a) Civil action

(1) Any person who, on or in connection with any goods or

services, or any container for goods, uses in commerce any

word, term, name, symbol, or device, or any combination

thereof, or any false designation of origin, false or misleading

description of fact, or false or misleading representation of fact,

which--

(A) is likely to cause confusion, or to cause mistake, or to

deceive as to the affiliation, connection, or association of such

person with another person, or as to the origin, sponsorship,

or approval of his or her goods, services, or commercial

activities by another person, or

(B) in commercial advertising or promotion, misrepresents the

nature, characteristics, qualities, or geographic origin of his or

her or another person’s goods, services, or commercial

activities,

shall be liable in a civil action by any person who believes that

he or she is or is likely to be damaged by such act.

(2) As used in this subsection, the term “any person” includes

any State, instrumentality of a State or employee of a State or

instrumentality of a State acting in his or her official capacity.

Any State, and any such instrumentality, officer, or employee,

shall be subject to the provisions of this chapter in the same

manner and to the same extent as any nongovernmental entity.

(3) In a civil action for trade dress infringement under this

chapter for trade dress not registered on the principal register,

the person wo asserts trade dress protection has the burden of

proving that the matter sought to be protected is not functional.

(b) Importation

Any goods marked or labeled in contravention of the provisions

of this section shall not be imported into the United States or

? 67a

admitted to entry at any customhouse of the United States. The

owner, importer, or consignee of goods refused entry at any

customhouse under this section may have any recourse by

protest or appeal that is given under the customs revenue laws

or may have the remedy given by this chapter in cases involving

goods refused entry or seized.

(c) Dilution by blurring; dilution by tarnishment

(1) Injunctive relief

Subject to the principles of equity, the owner of a famous

mark that is distinctive, inherently or through acquired

distinctiveness, shall be entitled to an injunction against

another person who, at any time after the owncr’s mark has

become famous, commences use of a mark or trade name in

commerce that is likely to cause dilution by blurring or

dilution by tarnishment of the famous mark, regardless of the

presence or absence of actual or likely confusion, of

competition, or of actual economic injury.

(2) Definitions

(A) For purposes of paragraph (1), a mark is famous if it is

widely recognized by the general consuming public of the

United States as a designation of source of the goods or

services of the mark’s owner. In determining whether a mark

possesses the requisite degree of recognition, the court may

consider all relevant factors, including the following:

(i) The duration, extent, and geographic reach of advertising

and publicity of the mark, whether advertised or publicized

by the owner or third parties.

(ii) The amount, volume, and geographic extent of sales of

goods or services offered under the mark.

(iii) The extent of actual recognition of the mark.

‘iv) Whether the mark was registered under the Act of

March 3, i881, or the Act of February 20, 1905, or on the

principal register.

68a

(B) For purposes of paragraph (1), “dilution by blurring” is

association arising from the similarity between a mark or trade

name and a famous mark that impairs the distinctiveness of

the famous mark. In determining whether a mark or trade

name is likely to cause dilution by blurring, the court may

consider all relevant factors, including the following:

(i) The degree of similarity between the mark or trade name

and the famous mark.

(ii) The degree of inherent or acquired distinctiveness of the

famous mark.

(iii) The extent to which the owner of the famous mark is

engaging in substantially exclusive use of the mark.

(iv) The degree of recognition of the famous mark.

(v) Whether the user of the mark or trade name intended to

create an association with the famous mark.

(vi) Any actual association between the mark or trade name

and the famous mark.

(C) For purposes of paragraph (1), “dilution by tarnmtshment”

is association arising from the similarity between a mark or

trade name and a famous mark that harms the reputation of the

famous mark.

(3) Exclusions

The following shall not be actionable as dilution by blurring

or dilution by tarnishment under this subsection:

(A) Any fair use, including a nominative or descriptive fair

use, or facilitation of such fair use, of a famous mark by

another person other than as a designation of source for the

person’s own goods or services, including use in connection

with--

(i) advertising or promotion that permits consumers to

compare goods or services; or

oer. 69a

(ii) identifying and parodying, criticizing, or commenting

upon the famous mark owner or the goods or services of

the famous mark owner.

B) All forms of news reporting and news commentary.

(C) Any noncommercial use of a mark.

(4) Burden of proof

In a civil action for trade dress dilution under this chapter for

trade dress not registered on the principal register, the person

who asserts trade dress protection has the burden of proving

that--

(A) the claimed trade dress, taken as a whole, is not

functional and ts famous; and :

(B) if the claimed trade dress includes any mark or marks

registered on the principal register, the unregistered matter,

taken as a whole, is famous separate and apart from any

fame of such registered marks.

(5) Additional remedies

In an action brought under this subsection, the owner of the

famous mark shall be entitled to injunctive relief as set forth

in section 1116 of this title. The owner of the famous mark

shall also be entitled to the remedies set forth in sections

1117(a) and 1118 of this title, subject to the discretion of the

court and the principles of equity if--

(A) the mark or trade name that is likely to cause dilution by

blurring or dilution by tarnishment was first used in

commerce by the person against whom the injunction 1s

sought after October 6, 2006; and

(B) in a claim arising under this subsection--

(i) by reason of dilution by blurring, the person against

whom the injunction is sought willfully intended to trade

on the recognition of the famous mark; or

70a

(ii) by reason of dilution by tarnishment, the person

against whom the injunction is sought willfully intended

to harm the reputation of the famous mark.

(6) Ownership of valid registration a complete bar to

action

The ownership by a person of a valid registration under the

Act of March 3, 1881, or the Act of February 20, 1905, or on

the principal register under this chapter shall be a complete

bar to an action against that person, with respect to that mark,

that--

(A)(i) is brought by another person under the common law

or a statute of a State; and

(ii) seeks to prevent dilution by blurring or dilution by

tarnishment; or

(B) asserts any claim of actual or likely damage or harm to

the distinctiveness or reputation of a mark, label, or form of

advertisement.

(7) Savings clause

Nothing in this subsection shall be construed to impair,

modify, or supersede the applicability of the patent laws of the

United States.

(d) Cyberpiracy prevention

(1)(A) A person shall be liable in a civil action by the owner of

a mark, including a personal name which is protected as a mark

under this section, 1f, without regard to the goods or services of

the parties, that person

(i) has a bad faith intent to profit from that mark, including a

personal name which is protected as a mark under this section;

and :

(ii) registers, traffics in, or uses a domain name that--

(1) in the case of a mark that is distinctive at the time of

registration of the domain name, 1s identical or confusingly

similar to that mark;

T7la

(11) in the case of a famous mark that is famous at the time

of registration of the domain name, is identical or

confusingly similar to or dilutive of that mark; or

(111) is a trademark, word, or name protected by reason of

section 706 of Title 18 or section 220506 of Title 36.

(B)(i) In determining whether a person has a bad faith intent

described under subparagraph (a), a court may consider factors

such as, but not limited to

(I) the trademark or other intellectual property rights of the

person, if any, in the domain name;

(II) the extent to which the domain name consists of the legal

name of the person or a name that is otherwise commonly

used to identify that person;

(III) the person’s prior use, if any, of the domain name in

connection with the bona fide offering of any goods or

services;

(IV) the person’s bona fide noncommercial or fair use of the

mark in a site accessible under the domain name;

(V) the person’s intent to divert consumers from the mark

owner’s online location to a site accessible under the domain

name that could harm the goodwill represented by the mark,

either for commercial gain or with the intent to tarnish or

disparage the mark, by creating a likelihood of confusion as

to the source, sponsorship, affiliation, or endorsement of the

site;

(V1) the person’s offer to transfer, sell, or otherwise assign the

domain name to the mark owner or any third party for

financial gain without having used, or having an intent to use,

the domain name in the bona fide offering of any goods or

services, or the person’s prior conduct indicating a pattern of

such conduct:

(VII) the person’s provision of material and misleading false

contact information when applying for the registration of the

domain name, the person’s intentional failure to maintain

72a

accurate contact information, or the person’s prior conduct

indicating a pattern of such conduct;

(VIII) the person’s registration or acquisition of multiple

domain names which the person knows are identical or

confusingly similar to marks of others that are distinctive at

the time of registration of such domain names, or dilutive of

famous marks of others that are famous at the time of

registration of such domain names, without regard to the

goods or services of the parties; and

(EX) the extent to which the mark incorporated in the person’s

domain name registration is or is not distinctive and famous

within the meaning of subsection (c) of this section.

(ii) Bad faith intent described under subparagraph (A) shall not

be found in any case in which the court determines that the

person believed and had reasonable grounds to believe that the

use of the domain name was a fair use or otherwise lawful.

(C) In any civil action involving the registration, trafficking, or

use of a domain name under this paragraph, a court may order

the forfeiture or cancellation of the domain name or the transfer

of the domain name to the owner of the mark.

(D) A person shall be liable for using a domain name under

subparagraph (A) only if that person is the domain name

registrant or that registrant’s authorized licensee.

(E) As used in this paragraph, the term “traffics in” refers to

transactions that include, but are not limited to, sales, purchases,

loans, pledges, licenses, exchange

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.