Petition for Writ of Certiorari — City of Bridgeport, Connecticut v. Russo (No. 06-1575)

Supreme Court brief2006

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

CITY OF BRIDGEPORT, JEREMY DEPIETRO, Officer

and CHRISTOPHER BORONA, Detective,

Petitioners,

¥,

CHRISTOPHER RUSSO,

Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Second Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

WILLIAM J. WENZEL *

PULLMAN & COMLEY LLC

850 Main Street

Bridgeport, CT 06604

(203) 330-2207

* Counsel of Record Attorneys for Petitioners

WiLSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 -— WASHINGTON, D. C. 20002

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Fourth Amendment to the United States

Constitution requires law enforcement officers to exhaus-

tively investigate items of evidence identified by a suspect

after an arrest based on probable cause?

2. Whether, notwithstanding an initial arrest based on a

valid warrant for the correct individual and the presentment

of that defendant to a court immediately after the arrest, a

law enforcement officer bears a continuing duty to properly

investigate and ascertain what evidence will prove to be

exculpatory?

(i)

il

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING’

The parties to the proceedings in the Second Circuit Court

of Appeals whose judgment is sought to be reviewed were:

Christopher Russo, Plaintiff; the City of Bridgeport, Connec-

ticut; Jeremy DePietro; John Rosa; Christopher Borona and

John Sherbo, Defendants.

' No corporate disclosure statement is required by Sup. Ct. R. 29.6, as

there is no non-governmental corporation as a party.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS. PRESENTED .......csscsersssnsseosssncssenessencess i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING ..............ce:e:esese0e il

TARAS OR PGS RIDES csnsesevernsviserscorcescsssnsnssasnsesns Vv

Ce I NURI ichieiicnnacensnetesanseinscoinipedarnanbnessiibasanens l

Pe RIE viinicdlasinsittaainnannnsiaiistiapinvinionsinenn saline yr

RELEVANT PPROVISIONS INVOLVED................... 2

SEAR EER GIR BERS CAS csescsssccscsesnnosnenesesncocconsee 3

1. The Investigation and Arrest Giving Rise to

i cccasnisnenaetacedibaithcaticonuinasn 5

2. The District Court Proceedings ................:.c00+ 8

3. The Decision of the Second Circuit................... 9

REASONS FOR GRANTING OF THE PETITION .... 9

SPLIT OF AUTHORITY IN THE CIRCUITS.............. 10

PRs PRUNE vicriseovvictisiinsisiclaahdallanseniaigatbaananaiabice 17

Rae GPE PIIUNED Sica sitiuuischiinhiniitas Sutin a dann eaegiaaaideetnidabinnhionk 18

Appendix A—Decision of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Second Circuit..............eeeeeeeeseereeeees la

Appendix B—Transcript of Argument and Decision

on Motions for Summary Judgment before The

Honorable Alvin W. Thompson (U.S.D.J. for the D.

CS csiscnnnginsvicasih nieces einainciaed baianaibicald emus eke ele 28a

Appendix C—Rule 56(a) Statement of the Individual

Defendants in Support of Motion for Summary

POI i insiesicicsnnnd ccieninithinicheenminaidisiaasiclecbenaiaalauaaumiale 73a

iV

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Appendix D—Rule 56(a) Statement of Defendant City

of Bridgeport in Support of Motion for Summary

Pac cteetitinieretiiemunsiviinnsicteibatishantiadetoninuataccitains

Appendix E—Plaintiffs Local Rule 56(a)(2) State-

ment in Response to the Individual Defendants’

Motion for Summary Judgment...................c:csceeeeeee

Appendix F—Plaintiff's Local Rule 56(a)(2) State-

ment in Response to Defendant City of Bridge-

port’s Motion for Summary Judgment ....................+.

Appendix G—Individual Defendants’ Exhibits in Sup-

port of Motion for Summary Judgment...................

Appendix H—Partial Deposition Transcript of Plain-

tiff Christopher Russo Submitted As Exhibit J in

Support of Defendant City of Bridgeport’s Motion

Oe IS Fe i siecisissivcricssriiiccmcnivcnnss

Appendix I—Plaintiff's Exhibits Submitted in Oppo-

sition to Defendants’ Motions for Summary Judg-

Appendix J—Partial Deposition Transcripts of Plain-

tiff Christopher Russo and Individual Defendant

Jeremy DePietro Submitted As Exhibits V, W and

X to Individual Defendants’ Reply in Support of

Motion for Summary Judgment............. ec eeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Page

78a

83a

93a

98a

130a

132a

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

FEDERAL CASES Page

Ahlers v. Schebil, 188 F.3d 365 (6th Cir. 1999)... 14

Baker v. McCollan, 443 U.S. 137 (1979).... 3, 4, 9-13, 16

Brady v. Dill, 187 F.3d 104 (1st Cir. 1999)........... 13-14

Cannon v. Macon County, | F.3d 1558 (11th Cir.

OE Picts cuctscosuchic ihdescctcshaansatcntasecabiaccadibiatoke 11

Eversole v. Steele, 59 F.3d 710 (7th Cir. 1995)..... 14

Fairley v. Luman, 281 F.3d 913 (9th Cir. 2002) ... 12

Russo v. City of Bridgeport, 479 F.3d 196 (2nd

Sa EE Bik cnsickbinsibindaisnahcaeniseesdtiessacuiapiekaosonicaicdeiied ase

Sanders v. English, 950 F.2d 1152 (Sth Cir.

SO cierischclarbargushsinktsgnsasaadetevebinhationbiwibncteanboabice 12

FEDERAL STATUTES

I A UIE shang sestirashinns pnnsnatiinanehicpntainnasiins 2-3, 8, 10

Be SEINE Po tassicerscinaiuvicinseiersisiaiasneanainnts 2

CONSTITUTION

Fourth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution......... passim

Section 1 of the Fourteenth Amendment to the

Ee ERIE A TT ie 2-3, 8-9, 12

MISCELLANEOUS

Supreme Court Rule 29.6 ........... iecsidcgesnhcgebuaiaiois ii

Connecticut Practice Book § 36-5 .............. eee

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

No.

CITY OF BRIDGEPORT, JEREMY DEPIETRO, Officer

and CHRISTOPHER BORONA, Detective,

Petitioners,

Vv.

CHRISTOPHER RUSSO,

Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Second Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioners, the City of Bridgeport, Jeremy DePietro and

Christopher Borona, respectfully petition this Court for a writ

of certiorari to review the judgment of the United States

Court of Appeals of the Second Circuit.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals is reported as Russo v.

City of Bridgeport, 479 F.3d 196 (2nd Cir. 2007). It is

reproduced in the Appendix at la-27a. The opinion of the

District Court (Thompson, J.) is unreported and was given

from the bench at the conclusion of oral argument on

Petitioners’ Motion for Summary Judgment. A transcript of

that hearing, including the decision of the District Court is

reproduced in the Appendix at 28a-72a.

2

JURISDICTION

On February 27, 2007, the Second Circuit Court of

Appeals entered its decision for which review is sought.

The jurisdiction of this Court is involved under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1).

RELEVANT PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Respondent, Christopher Russo, seeks damages for the

alleged violation of his constitutional rights, pursuant to 42

U.S.C. § 1983.

Every person who, under color of any statute, ordinance,

regulation, custom, or usage, of any State or Territory or

the District of Columbia, subjects, or causes to be

subjected, any citizen of the United States or other

person within the jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation

of any rights, privileges, or immunities secured by the

Constitution and laws, shall be liable to the party injured

in an action at law, suit in equity, or other proper

proceeding for redress, except that in any action brought

against a judicial officer for an act or omission taken in

such officer's judicial capacity, injunctive relief shall not

be granted unless a declaratory decree was violated or

declaratory relief was unavailable. For the purposes of

this section, any Act of Congress applicable exclusively

to the District of Columbia shall be considered to be a

statute of the District of Columbia.

Respondent had claimed a violation of the due process

clause of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States

Constitution, which provides that:

All persons born or naturalized in the United States, and

subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the

United States and of the State wherein they reside. No

State shall make or enforce any law which shall abridge

the privileges or immunities of citizens of the United

States; nor shall any State deprive any person of life,

liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor

3

deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal

protection of the laws.

U.S. Const. Amend. XIV, § 1.

The decision of the Circuit Court of Appeals rejected that

basis but found a right to exist under the Fourth Amendment

to the United States Constitution. The Fourth Amendment

provides that

The right of the people to be secure in their per-

sons, houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable

searches and seizures, shall not be violated, and no

Warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause, supported

by Oath or affirmation, and particularly describing

the place to be searched, and the persons or things to

be seized.

U.S. Const. Amend. IV.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Since this Court’s decision in Baker v. McCollan, 443 U.S.

137 (1979), a number of circuit courts have had occasion to

address factual patterns that went beyond the facts in that

case, and where the periods of detention were sufficiently

prolonged that violations of the Constitution, under the due

process clause of the Fourteenth Amendment, were found

sufficiently pled or proven. Typically, these prolonged deten-

tion cases under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 have involved mistaken

identity cases where the claim of the detained person was

simple: either they were not the person named in the war-

rant or, like Baker, the warrant had been issued based on

a mistake as to the identity of the person named therein.

Baker held that, in such situations, the initial arrest and some

period of continued detention were not violations of the U.S.

Csastitution, but suggested a continuing failure to address

the entity issue would be found to violate constitutional

requirements.

4

This case presents a case of first impression before this

Court, because it attempts to create an entirely new consti-

tutional duty by extrapolating from Baker’s suggestion of

constitutional limits. Here, there was no mistake in the

identity of the person named in the warrant or the person

arrested, the existence of probable cause for the arrest was

unchallenged, the suspect had been presented to court and

the continuing detention of the suspect was determined by

ongoing court proceedings. This case concerns whether or

not law enforcement officers have constitutional obligations

to conduct post-arrest investigations in a manner that will

uncover all exculpatory evidence. Based on the reasoning of

the Second Circuit, law enforcement officers will shoulder

personal responsibility and a continuing duty to exhaustively

investigate defenses brought to their attention by the suspect,

and to monitor the detention status of the suspect at all times

subsequent to their arrest and presentment to judicial offi-

cials. The decision imposes liability on officers solely on

the basis of how they handled a single item of evidence, a

videotape of an armed robbery, the exculpatory value of

which only became apparent after laboratory enhancement,

which these officers had not obtained. As such, it extends the

constitutional obligations of officers beyond simply assuring

that every seizure of a person is based on probable cause, and

it would require them to assess anew, each day, every lead

or clue that a suspect could later show would have been

exculpatory had it been pursued more exhaustively.

This decision presents a conflict in the decisions of the

circuit courts that have addressed the existence of a con-

tinuing duty of an officer to investigate exculpatory defenses

and whether an officer can become liable for subsequent

incarceration over which the officer has no control. The

decision also purports to find this constitutional duty already

heralded by this Court’s decision in Baker under circum-

stances where other circuits cite Baker for the opposite

conclusion.

5

A determination of the duties law enforcement officers

bear whenever a custodial arrest is made is essential to the

daily conduct of thousands of officers. Our legal system has

strongly encouraged officers to rely on judicial determina-

tions as to probable cause, pretrial detention and the right of

each accused to a speedy trial, but would now hold the

officers responsible for how well the judicial system

performs. These officers deserve a single, clear statement as

to what the Constitution requires of them and whether they

may continue to rely on the protection of judicial determi-

nations. Any such imposition of additional duties on law

enforcement officials will materially obstruct the day-to-day

operations of state and municipal police departments through-

out the nation and impede the effective ability of those

officers to protect the public.

1. The Investigation and Arrest Giving Rise to this Case.

On August 1, 2002, a gas service and convenience store

located in Bridgeport, Connecticut, was robbed by an armed,

unmasked male, who fled the scene of the crime. The

cashier, who was the victim of the robbery, gave a physical

description of the perpetrator to police, said he would be able

to identify the robber, and that there was a videotape avail-

able. (Appendix at 100a-101a.) The videotape was obtained

by the Bridgeport Police Department (the “BPD”) on the

same day of the robbery. Due to the poor quality of the video

and the condition of the tape, the investigating officers went

to a local security department and obtained still photographs

of the robber from the videotape. (Appendix at 124a.) Based

on the facial characteristics of these photos, a police depart-

ment computer selected possible matching photos from the

BPD photo identification database. (Appendix at 124a.) The

photo of plaintiff, Christopher Russo, was included in the

eight photos selected by the computer.

6

When the photos were shown to the cashier, he identified

the photo of Mr. Russo, stating: “He is the guy who robbed

me with the gun at the Amoco Station last night. I am posi-

tive. I am one hundred percent sure.” (Appendix at 101a.)

Based upon this identification, the BPD sought a warrant for

Mr. Russo’s arrest. Detective DePietro completed the Appli-

cation for Arrest Warrant, reciting in the written application

the above facts and also stating that the robbery was caught

on videotape, which tape was retrieved by him on the day of

the robbery. (Appendix at 106a-107a.) On September 9,

2002, a judge of the Connecticut Superior Court reviewed the

Application, found probable cause existed for the arrest of

Christopher Russo and issued a warrant. (Appendix at 106a-

107a.) Under Connecticut practice, the officer executing the

warrant “shall take the accused into custody, serve a copy of

the warrant upon him or her” and either release the accused

on bail or bring the arrestee before the court. (Connecticut

Practice Book § 36-5.)

On September 18, 2002, Mr. Russo was arrested by

officers from the State/FBI Task Force at his residence

without incident. (Appendix at 108a-109a.) When he arrived

at the BPD, he was interrogated by Officers DePietro and

Borona. The officers confronted Mr. Russo with photographs

taken from the videotape showing the face of the robber and

telling him that, given the photographic proof, he should

confess. Mr. Russo denied his guilt. Among the several

reasons offered for his innocence, Mr. Russo asked if the

robber had extensive tattooing on his arms, which Mr. Russo

did, and he also questioned whether he matched the physical

description. During the interrogation, Mr. Russo claims the

officers left the interrogation room, claimed to review the

videotape and returned claiming Mr. Russo should confess,

because the perpetrator had tattoos. Mr. Russo, however, did

not confess. At no time prior to September 18, 2002, nor

subsequent to that day, has Christopher Russo had any

7

contact with any of the individual officers sued. (Appendix at

Sa, 124a, 126a and 127.)

On September 19, 2002, Mr. Russo was arraigned before

the Superior Court and bound over for trial. Due to his prior

criminal record, and the pendency of other charges, his bail

was set at $100,000, and he was detained due to his inability

to post bail. (Appendix at 117a-118a.)

Even before Mr. Russo’s first court appearance on

September 19, 2002, the day after his arrest, Mr. Russo had

advised his appointed public defender of the existence of the

videotape and his belief it would exonerate him. (Appendix

at 6a.) Within weeks, his now retained private counsel was

also told about the videotape. (/d.)

On November 19, 2002, an investigator with the State’s

Attorney’s office went to the BPD’s property room to obtain

the videotape. The investigator found the tape had not been

logged into the evidence room but was locked in a desk

drawer of the lead investigating officer, Officer DePietro.

Sometime after November 25, 2002, the investigator obtained

the tape from Officer DePietro and reviewed it. Because the

investigator determined he could not see the perpetrator

clearly, on January 3, 2003, he requested laboratory enhance-

ment of the videotape which was received about January 23,

2003. (Appendix at 112a). After January 23, 2003, the en-

hanced videotape was made available to Mr. Russo’s counsel

who viewed it and reported to the State’s Attorney’s office

that his client could not be the perpetrator shown in the tape.

Ultimately, the State’s Attorney viewed the enhanced video-

tape personally and determined that the individual shown in

the videotape did not have tattoos such as Mr. Russo did. The

following day on April 23, 2003, on the motion of the pros-

ecution, the court dismissed the charges.

8

2. The District Court Proceedings

Following his release, Mr. Russo brought an action under

42 U.S.C. § 1983 against the City of Bridgeport and four

individual officers of the BPD, which action was removed to

the District of Connecticut. Among the claims asserted were

ones for false arrest, false imprisonment and violation of his

civil rights under the Fourth and Fourteenth Amendments.

After discovery, all the defendants filed a motion for

summary judgment that was heard by the Federal District

Court on July 12, 2005. At the hearing, the Honorable Alvin

W. Thompson painstakingly walked through the undisputed

events leading up to the arrest of Christopher Russo and came

to the conclusion that the arrest was fully supported by

probable cause, duly determined by a court of law, and based

on an unqualified identification by the victim, who had been

face-to-face with the robber. Plaintiff's counsel concealed

the existence of probable cause for the arrest (Appendix at

47a-48a.) but argued the real crux of the case was when, after

the arrest and during Christopher Russo’s interrogation of

September 18, 2002, the BPD officers first saw his tattoos

and were challenged by the suspect to determine if the man in

the videotape had tattoos. (/d.) At that time, however, with

Christopher Russo in custody, Judge Thompson asked plain-

tiff “who’s the decision maker in terms of what happens to

him.” Mr. Russo’s counsel said: “The court.” (Appendix

at 48a.)

The District Court judge found that Mr. Russo’s federal

constitutional rights had not been violated and dismissed the

associated state law claims, declining to exercise supple-

mental jurisdiction. (Appendix at 72a.) The stated basis of

the District Court’s decision was that probable cause for the

arrest had been established, precluding the false arrest and

false imprisonment claims under § 1983. The District Court

also concluded that there was no genuine dispute that the

unenhanced videotape was insufficiently clear to exonerate

9

Mr. Russo (Appendix at 66a-69a.) and rejected the argument

that police officers violate a suspect’s constitutional right

when they fail to go out and investigate a suspect’s explana-

tion as to why they are not guilty, as claimed by the suspect.

For that reason, the District Court granted the motion for

summary judgment by all defendants.

3. The Decision of the Second Circuit

Russo appealed the District Court’s order granting sum-

mary judgment in favor of all defendants. The Second

Circuit affirmed the summary judgment with regard to two of

the four officers named as individual defendants. The Second

Circuit vacated, in part, the summary judgment as to Peti-

tioners. The Second Circuit affirmed summary judgment

with regard to the claims for false arrest and false impris-

onment on the basis that such claims cannot lie when the

challenged arrest was supported by probable cause. The Sec-

ond Circuit reversed the entry of summary judgment,

however, with regard to the claim of prolonged detention due

to the Petitioning officers’ alleged mishandling of “exculp-

atory” evidence (the videotape) and failure to turn such

evidence over to the prosecuting attorney. Specifically, the

Second Circuit’s decision held that “the right mentioned in

Baker . . . protected Russo from a sustained detention

stemming directly from the law enforcement officials refusal

to investigate available exculpatory evidence.” (Appendix at

18a.) The Second Circuit did not find that right on the basis

of the Fourteenth Amendment’s due process clause, as

claimed by Russo on appeal, but rather as a right guaranteed

under the Fourth Amendment’s prohibition on unreasonable

seizures of the person.

a

REASONS FOR GRANTING OF THE PETITION

A writ of certiorari is warranted in this case for several

reasons. First, the decision creates a split of authority among

10

the circuits that have considered the underlying constitutional

question of whether a law enforcement officer has a duty to

continue investigating claims of innocence or a suspect’s

offered defenses after making an arrest based on probable

cause. Several circuits have flatly rejected the duty that the

Second Circuit imposes. The Second Circuit’s decision also

creates a continuing constitutional obligation on the part of

law enforcement officers for the suspect’s detention, which

lies entirely beyond the officer’s control. When officers

execute a valid arrest warrant issued by a court of law, arrest

the correct person and promptly present that individual for

arraignment before the court, the court determines whether

the defendant should be detained or released and on what

terms and conditions. Under the Second Circuit’s decision,

an officer’s ability to rely on the independent determination

of probable cause reflected by a court issued warrant may

decay over time. Not only can an arrest initially reason-

able dissolve over time into an unconstitutional seizure, but

that point in time will first be announced years later in a

court proceeding.

Finally, the determination of the Second Circuit carries

significant public policy implications, as it will impose an

impossible burden on law enforcement officers and ultimately

prove counterproductive. Rather than encourage officers to

further investigate crimes, seek out confessions or develop

leads leading to the implication or discharge of other sus-

pects, officers will shun any information or further in-

volvement that might some day trigger a claim that this clue

was the true defense that would have resulted in the suspect’s

earlier release.

SPLIT OF AUTHORITY IN THE CIRCUITS

In Baker, this Court found a § 1983 claim against a sheriff

alleging the intentional failure to investigate and determine

that the wrong man was imprisoned, failed to state a

11

constitutional claim. Baker, 443 U.S. at 143-44. This Court,

in dicta, however, went on to state that a misidentified suspect

“could not be detained indefinitely in the face of repeated

protests of innocence even though the warrant under which he

was arrested and detained met the standards of the Fourth

Amendment.” Jd. at 144. Since Baker, the district and cir-

cuit courts have come to discern a constitutional prohibition

on prolonged detention, pointing to this language as support.

The decisions have come to increasingly diverge, however,

and are now substantially in conflict and disagreement creat-

ing substantial uncertainty in the law enforcement commun-

ity as to the responsibilities officers have under the Fourth

Amendment to the United States Constitution.

The Second Circuit in this case clearly looked to Baker for

the recognition of a constitutional right to be free from

prolonged detention. The Second Circuit also relied upon

several earlier decisions from circuit courts, including its own

prior decision, to reach its holding.

In the first of these, Cannon v. Macon County, | F.3d 1558

(11th Cir. 1993), an officer had arrested an individual whose

name matched that of a person with the same name listed on

the NCIC system. Despite her protests that she was not the

same person, and obvious differences in her appearance, age

and identifying data, the suspect was arrested, booked, held

for several days, and even extradited to another state before

her claims of mistaken identity were recognized. While the

Eleventh Circuit recognized the holding of Baker, it did not

find it precluded the claim made before it, and indeed read

Baker as recognizing “that after the lapse of a certain amount

of time, continued detention in the face of repeated protests

will deprive the accused of liberty without due process.”

Cannon, | F.3d at 1562. Ultimately, Cannon recognized a

“constitutional right to be free from continued detention after

it was or should have been known that the detainee was

entitled to release.” /d. at 1563.

12

Another circuit decision relied on by the Second Circuit

was Fairley v. Luman, 281 F.3d 913 (9th Cir. 2002). Fairley

involved a suspect arrested on outstanding warrants for his

identical twin brother. Though a number of citizens estab-

lished this fact, as did a court restraining order, and the

officers making the arrest reported it to the booking sergeant,

it was never pursued, and the suspect was held for 12 days

before being released. Even though the initial arrest was

based on a valid warrant, the Ninth Circuit found the con-

tinued detention to comprise a constitutional injury and found

that constitutional right recognized by Baker.

Likewise, the Second Circuit relied upon the decision of

the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals in Sanders v. English, 950

F.2d 1152 (Sth Cir. 1992). Sanders involved the arrest of a

suspect based on a warrant with the strength of the pros-

ecution’s case unraveling almost immediately after the arrest.

Multiple and seemingly unimpeachable witnesses to the

crime vouched for the suspect’s presence out of town at the

time of the robbery, and a number of witnesses either could

not identify the suspect or flatly stated he was not the robber.

The police officers in charge of the investigation actually

received this exculpatory information but then told the

witnesses they did not want to hear it. The district court,

relying on Baker, found that once Sanders was lawfully

arrested, the police officer had no obligation to conduct an

investigation to clear the suspect of the charges. Sanders, 950

F.2d at 1160. The Fifth Circuit reversed and held that this

Court’s decision in Baker did not bar Sanders’ claim because

the claim was not a failure to investigate claims of innocence,

but rather a failure to aid in the suspect’s release after the

officer knew the suspect had been misidentified.

Based on these cases “recognizing” Baker as establishing a

Fourteenth Amendment due process right to be free from

continued detention after an officer knows or should have

known the suspect was entitled to release, the Second Circuit

13

held “that the right mentioned in Baker and enunciated in the

above cited cases protected Russo from a sustained detention

stemming directly from the law enforcement officials’ refusal

to investigate available exculpatory evidence.” (Appendix at

18a.) The Second Circuit decision, however, clearly con-

tradicts the decisions from other circuits.

One of the clearest and most reasoned of these conflicting

decisions is that of the First Circuit Court of Appeals in

Brady v. Dill, 187 F.3d 104 (ist Cir. 1999). In Dill, the

plaintiff was arrested on an outstanding warrant issued for

him when a different individual who had impersonated Dill

failed to appear for a court appearance. Officers, responding

to an unrelated complaint, arrested Dill on the outstanding

warrant but soon came to believe he was the victim of

mistaken identity and did everything in their power to secure

his release, ultimately at the time of his initial arraignment

before a court of law. Though the First Circuit found the

period of detention was within the limits established by Baker

as reasonable for officers to sort out such claims of mistaken

identity, it went on to discuss the principles established by

Baker and the principles applicable in reviewing Fourth

Amendment seizure and post-arrest claims. The Dil/ court

noted this Court’s statements in Baker that police officers

do not have an affirmative duty to investigate every claim

of innocence.’ Dill also expresses grave reservations with

whether police officers are being asked, in effect, to “acting

unilaterally, . . . undo a judicial determination of probable

cause.” Jd. at 111 n.6. The First Circuit held that when a

warrant has been issued upon probable cause, police officers

are not required to exercise discretion or weigh proof. Their

obligations are to execute the warrant and return the suspect

' Dill also conflicts with the decision of the Second Circuit in that the

First Circuit held once the validity of the arrest is determined, the Fourth

Amendment issues are resolved. Dill, 187 F.2d at 108. The Second

Circuit’s decision based its decision on the Fourth Amendment.

14

to a court of law. Any requirement that police officers

“determine” the guilt or innocence of a suspect would “blur

the usual separation of functions” between law enforcement

and the judicial system. Jd. at 112. While Dill noted an

officer may have duties to disclose to prosecutor “known

exculpatory evidence,” /d. at 114, it noted “it is ordinarily

sufficient for the police officer to bring the relevant infor-

mation to the attention of the prosecutor or the proper judicial

official.” Id.

Other circuit courts have recognized that an officer has “no

constitutional obligation to conduct any further investigation

in the hopes of uncovering potentially exculpatory evidence”

once probable cause has been determined to exist. Eversole

v. Steele, 59 F.3d 710, 718 (7th Cir. 1995). This appears to

be the same standard applied in the Sixth Circuit, which has

held that while officers, pre-probable cause, cannot disregard

potentially exculpatory evidence, once probable cause is

established, the officer has no duty to investigate further or

pursue evidence that might exculpate. Ahlers v. Schebil, 188

F.3d 365, 371 (6th Cir. 1999).

There is also no basis in this case to claim that this case

involves known exculpatory evidence. The District Court

determined that, based upon the evidence presented in sup-

port and in opposition to the motion for summary judgment,

there was no genuine dispute that until the videotape was

enhanced, it was not exculpatory. (Appendix at 9a, 66a-67a.)

The evidence before the District Court was undisputed in this

regard and there is no contention in the Second Circuit’s

decision that this was not the case. Indeed, in construing the

evidence “in the light most favorable to Mr. Russo,” (Ap-

pendix at 4a.) the Second Circuit determined that the state

investigator who watched the pre-enhancement tape “deter-

mined that he could not see the perpetrator clearly,” and this

is what led to a request for laboratory enhancement of the

footage. (Appendix at 6a.)

15

Thus, the sole basis for the Second Circuit’s decision

below was the failure of the detectives to investigate.

(Appendix at 18a.) Until the tape was enhanced, the officers

had no basis to know the tape could prove exculpatory, other

than the denial of the suspect who had been identified,

positively, by the victim of the crime.

The undisputed evidence in this case also showed the

officers did nothing to hide or conceal the existence of the

videotape from Mr. Russo or anyone else. Mr. Russo alleges

in his complaint and in his sworn testimony submitted with

regard to the motion for summary judgment that the officers

disclosed to him the existence of the videotape and that a

person matching his description was shown therein. (Appen-

dix at 172a-173a.) Not only was Mr. Russo immediately told

of the existence of the videotape, and that it was in the BPD’s

possession, the officers disclosed that to the Superior Court,

as well. The documents submitted to the District Court with

regard to the motion for summary judgment clearly show that

the existence and location of the videotape was disclosed to

the Superior Court at the time the warrant was requested

(Appendix at 106a.) and under Connecticut law, a copy of the

arrest warrant is provided to the defendant at the time of the

arrest. Mr. Russo’s sworn testimony presented to the District

Court with regard to the motion for summary judgment

established that Mr. Russo told his defense counsel about the

existence of the videotape and how it could help exonerate

him before he was even arraigned on the morning of

September 19, 2002. (Appendix at 189a.) The record shows

Mr. Russo’s retained counsel knew within weeks of the

existence of the videotape and its potential importance to the

defense and, indeed, made some efforts to obtain it as part of

the defense. (Appendix at 190a-191a.) What is not in dispute

is that none of the Petitioners had any contact with Mr. Russo

either before the date of his arrest and interrogation or

subsequent thereto. They neither hid, nor failed to disclose

anything to the court, to defense counsel or the State’s

16

Attorney, but are being held fully responsible for Mr. Russo’s

continued detention, though they had no ability to control

that detention.

It is beyond dispute that the initial arrest of Christopher

Russo fully satisfied the Fourth Amendment’s requirement of

probable cause. The victim of the armed robbery had ample

opportunity to see the face of the unmasked perpetrator who

stood in close proximity to him. Still photographs, depicting

as clearly as possible the face of the robber, and not por-

traying any extremities, were obtained as part of the inves-

tigation. By inputting some of the facial characteristics of the

robber shown in the still photographs, a police department

computer selected photos from the BPD’s database that

contained similar characteristics. Those photos were shown

to the victim the same day as the robbery, and the victim

provided a positive and absolute identification of Christopher

Russo as the man who committed the crime. That infor-

mation was brought to a neutral judge of the Connecticut

Superior Court, who approved a warrant for Mr. Russo’s

arrest. There can be no question but that probable cause

existed for the arrest. By any version of the facts or

allegations, the issue of whether the videotape depicted a

robber with extensive tattooing, or even permitted such a

determination, was never an issue until after the arrest, when

Mr. Russo showed his tattooing and questioned whether the

robber had similar tattoos.

Under Connecticut law, upon issuance of the warrant, the

obligation of the officers serving the warrant was to make the

arrest and either release the defendant on approved conditions

of bail or bring the arrestee before the court. There is no —

dispute that this is exactly what the officers did. Christopher

Russo was arrested on September 18, 2002, and brought

before the court the following morning, September 19, 2002.

While the Second Circuit’s decision purports to simply follow

this Court’s ruling in Baker and subsequent circuit court

17

decisions extending that constitutional right, in point of fact,

it clearly departs from these authorities and comes into

conflict with heretofore unquestioned law in this Court and

other circuits.

PUBLIC POLICY

These conflicting decisions and principles of law create

nightmares for law enforcement officers. In situations where

a good faith investigation leads to an independent, court

determination of probable cause, officers make an arrest and

promptly return the accused to court, under what circum-

stances do they become liable for the prolonged detention of

that suspect? If the officers maintain the evidence and

disclose its existence to all sides, including the accused, what

more must they do to satisfy the Fourth Amendment? When

can officers rely on the courts to satisfy Constitutional

requirements of access to exculpable evidence, speedy trials

and limited pretrial detention? What right do officers have to

direct the enforcement of these rights after the suspect is

turned over to the Court?

These are fascinating and complex legal questions, but

officers deserve clear answers to these questions.

In this case, Christopher Russo was the person identified

by the victim of the crime, a warrant was issued for

Christopher Russo’s arrest, and Christopher Russo was in fact

arrested. There was no confusion, no mistake, and no failure

of due process. The only complaint by Christopher Russo,

and the entire basis for the Second Circuit’s decision, is that

the detectives in the BPD should have conducted a better

investigation, by pursuing a defense that Russo claimed

would exonerate him. Such a burden will require every law

enforcement officer making an arrest to either cut their case

load drastically and exhaust every possible defense or just run

the risk they will be second guessed any time they fail to

exercise perfect judgment.

18

CONCLUSION

This Court should grant Certiorari to consider whether the

Fourth Amendment imposes an obligation on law enforce-

ment officers to prevent any prolonged detention that can

result from their failure to investigate potentially exculpatory

evidence.

Respectfully Submitted,

WILLIAM J. WENZEL *

PULLMAN & COMLEY LLC

850 Main Street

Bridgeport, CT 06604

(203) 330-2207

* Counsel of Record Attorneys for Petitioners

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

August Term, 2005

Docket No. 05-4302-cv

CHRISTOPHER RUSSO,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.

CITY OF BRIDGEPORT, JEREMY DEPIETRO, Officer,

JOHN Rosa, Officer, CHRISTOPHER BORONA, Detective,

and JOHN SHERBO, Sgt.,

Defendants-Appellees.

(Argued: May 17, 2006

Decided: February 27, 2007)

Before: KEARSE, CALABRESI, and POOLER,

Circuit Judges.

Appeal from a judgment of the United States District Court

for the District of Connecticut (Thompson, J.) granting the

defendants’ motion for summary judgment. Affirmed in part,

vacated and remanded in part.

BURTON M. WEINSTEIN, Weinstein,

Weiner, Ignal, Napolitano & Shapiro,

Bridgeport, CT,

for Plaintiff-Appellant.

BARBARA BRAIIEL-MASSARO, Office

of the City Attorney, Bridgeport, CT,

for Defendants-Appellees.

2a

CALABRESI, Circuit Judge:

In a case of mistaken identity, Plaintiff-Appellant Chris-

topher Russo (“Russo”) was arrested and imprisoned for the

armed robbery of an Amoco service station and convenience

store in Bridgeport, Connecticut. Two hundred and seventeen

days after his arrest—and one day after the prosecutor

viewed, for the first time, Amoco’s videotape of the crime—

the state requested a nolle prosequi, and the charges against

Russo were dismissed.

Russo brought this action pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983

(“§ 1983”), against the City of Bridgeport (“the City”) and

four city police department employees—Officer Jeremy

DePietro (“DePietro”), Officer John Rosa (“Rosa”), Detective

Christopher Borona (“Borona”), and Sergeant John Sherbo

(“Sherbo”)}—collectively, “the officers” or “the individual de-

fendants-appellees.” He claimed, inter alia, that, in violation

of the Fourth Amendment, the officers and the City subjected

him to false arrest and false imprisonment. He also claimed

that the City and the individual defendants-appellees violated

his Fourth and Fourteenth Amendment rights by keeping him

incarcerated for a long time after his arrest, despite his

protestations of innocence and the availability of exculpatory

facts and evidence.

The district court granted summary judgment to the City

and to all the individual defendants-appellees. We affirm in

part, and vacate and remand in part.

BACKGROUND

On August 1, 2002, an armed, unmasked person robbed an

Amoco auto service station in Brdgeport. The cashier

described the criminal as a white male in his late 30s,

between 5’6” and 5’8” tall, of medium build with a very

short, blond crew cut. The crime was recorded on videotape

by a security camera. Officer Rosa went to the scene of

the incident.

3a

Officer DePietro, who was assigned by Sergeant Sherbo to

investigate the robbery, obtained the videotape of the robbery

on August 1, 2002. After using a video-photo machine to

freeze still photographs of the criminal, DePietro prepared a

mug shot photo array by matching the assailant’s facial char-

acteristics to faces in the police photo identification database.

Russo’s picture was included in this line-up, and the Amoco

cashier identified Russo as the robber, stating that he was

“one hundred percent sure” of his identification. Based on

this evidence,’ police obtained and executed a warrant for

Russo’s arrest. On September 18, 2002, Russo was charged

with first-degree robbery.

Unable to afford the $100,000 bail that was set, Russo

remained in custody for more than seven months, until April

23, 2003, when the charges against him were dismissed. The

dismissal happened because the videotape taken by the sur-

veillance camera showed that “both sides of the perpetrator’s

left arm and one side of the forearm, and one side of the

perpetrator’s right forearm,” were free of any tattoos. Russo,

by contrast, had prominent tattoos on his forearms, hands,

neck, and legs, and, as noted in the arresting officer’s report,

they were there at the time of his arrest on September 18,

2002.

Indeed, in an earlier, 2001 arrest report on file with the

Bridgeport police department, individual defendant-appellee

Rosa documented the existence of “King Tut,” “demon-

devil,” and “tribal art” tattoos on Russo’s two forearms, in

addition to other tattoos on Russo’s upper arms and legs.” No

' The police did not conduct a live line-up, and it is undisputed that the

cashier never saw a picture of Russo that included any part of his body

below his face.

? The district court made no factual findings with respect to Russo’s

tattoos, and we are unable to glean from the photographic reproductions in

our record whether Russo’s hands were also tattooed in 2001, as they

were at the time of his arrest in 2002.

4a

evidence in the record or argument by the government

suggests that Russo lacked arm tattoos on the date of the

robbery or had somehow managed to mask them from the

victim or the video camera’s view.”

In addition to the distinctiveness of his tattoos, Russo’s

physical characteristics were different in important respects

from those of the Amoco robber, as described by the cashier.

At the time of Russo’s arrest for that robbery, Russo was

listed by the police as being a 27-year-old white male, 6’0”

tall, of medium build, who weighed 200 pounds and had

brown hair, but was balding. He was, therefore, younger,

taller, balder, and with different colored hair than the person

whom the victim had described to the police.

Construing the evidence in the light most favorable to

‘Russo, the following events occurred during the 217-day

period of Russo’s custody. Upon his arrest on September 18,

2002, Russo was taken for interrogation by individual defen-

dants-appellees DePietro and Borona, whom he had never

met before. The officers questioned Russo about the robbery

for two hours, seeking his confession. The officers informed

Russo that they had video surveillance of him committing the

robbery, and they showed him a photographic still that had

been “ripped or folded” to show only the robber’s head.

Russo protested that he could not be the person in the photo-

graph because of the shape of the criminal’s head, nose, and

> The district court’s speculation—which was never suggested by any

of the defendants and was unsupported by any evidence—that Russo

could theoretically have covered his tattoos with make-up prior to the

robbery and that the police officers may have relied upon this fact in

making their judgments about handling the evidence, was inappropriate

on a motion for summary judgment. See, e.g., Baker v. Home Depot, 445

F.3d 541, 543 (2d Cir. 2006) (restating the well-settled rule that a federal

court is “constrained, in reviewing a ruling on a motion for summary

judgment, to resolve all ambiguitics and draw all inferences in favor of []

the nonmoving party”).

Sa

hairline. He also told the officers to watch the videotape to

see whether the perpetrator had body tattoos.* The officers

left the interrogation room and returned a while later holding

a magnifying glass and a ruler. They then informed Russo

that the videotape showed a perpetrator with tattoos. Russo,

nevertheless, refused to plead guilty to the robbery.

After the questioning, DePietro came to Russo’s holding

cell one or two additional times seeking a confession in

exchange for giving Russo access to the hospital methadone

program.” The officers “kept on dismissing” the issue of his

tattoos. Russo also continued to press the other differences

between his and the perpetrator’s face and insisted that this

showed his innocence.

From the day of the robbery through a date after November

25, 2002, DePietro, who was the lead investigating officer on

the robbery, had possession of the videotape. DePietro and

Borona stated that they viewed the videotape, and testified

that they “did not notice tattoos” on the perpetrator. Indi-

vidual defendant Sherbo, the sergeant who had assigned

DePietro to investigate the robbery, attested that he did not

watch the videotape, because, in his view, the eyewitness

identification confirmed the assailant’s identity and made it -

unnecessary to view the surveillance footage. There is no

dispute that after the date of the interrogation, there was no

further contact between Russo and DePietro and Borona.

“ In his deposition, Russo testified that he raised the issue of his tattoos

immediately with the officers after learning of the videotape showing the

robber, “[b]ecause being into tattoos the way I am, the first thing about me

that makes me original is my tattoos.”

* At the time of the interrogation, Russo was experiencing early signs

of substance withdrawal, specifically, aching in his knees. He testified,

however, that [he] was very clear in everything [he] saw and said that

day.”

6a

After learning of the videotape through the questioning,

and believing—based on the officers’ representations—that

the robber had tattoos of the same size and location as he did,

Russo told his appointed attorney and later his retained

counsel that he wished to prove his innocence by seeing the

tape of the robbery in order to compare his own tattoo

imagery to that of the perpetrator. At Russo’s first court

appearance for arraignment and bond-setting on September

19, 2002, Russo’s appointed public defender did not raise the

issue of the videotape to the judge.

At a hearing before the state court, likely to have oc-

curred in early October, the prosecutor successfully countered

Russo’s lawyer’s request that the court compare Russo’s

tattoos to those of the perpetrator.° On November 1, 2002,

Russo’s counsel moved for the production of any exculpatory

material, and it is undisputed that the videotape was not

produced at this time. On December 2, 2002, Russo’s trial

attorney issued a written letter in which he specifically asked

to view the tape.

On November 19, 2002, an investigator for the Office of

the State Attorney visited the Bridgeport Police Depart-

ment property room to obtain the videotape. The investigator

found that the tape was missing. Sometime after Novem-

ber 25, 2002, the investigator obtained the tape from Officer

DePiétro, who had it locked in a drawer of his desk. Later, the

State investigator watched the tape and determined that he

could not see the perpetrator clearly. On January 3, 2003, he

requested a laboratory enhancement of the footage, which he

received on January 22, 2003.

° Neither party submitted a transcript of this proceeding, but Russo

testified that his parents heard Russo’s trial attorney requesting the tape

when Russo was not in the courtroom. This testimony was not challenged

by the defense.

7a

Later, at an unknown date before April 9, 2003, Russo’s

trial attorney was finally allowed to watch the tape.

Immediately thereafter, he told the state investigator that the

person on the tape could not be his client. The videotape was

not actually surrendered to the defense until Russo was

released in late April, 2003.

The state attorney was aware of Russo’s “fairly vivid

tattoos on his arms as well as on his neck” from the time he

first received the case. Yet, because Russo’s face resembled

the robber’s in photo stills taken from the videotape, his

office claimed to have been convinced that Russo was the

perpetrator until one day before seeking dismissal of the case.

Finally, on April 22, 2003, due to defense counsel’s contin-

uing “insistence” on Russo’s innocence, the prosecutor actu-

ally watched the videotape. The following day, after checking

with a probation officer to verify that Russo’s tattoos

predated the crime, the state requested a nolle prosequi.

At the hearing to request dismissal of the prosecution, the

state attorney noted that “often the less said is better”, but

he stated:

So, I had a talk—to sit down with a couple of inves-

tigators yesterday to actually view the videotape in the

thought that perhaps the videotape gave somehow some-

what of a better view of the perpetrator than the stills

that had been developed from the videotape. That, in

fact, happened. The videotape shows both sides of the

perpetrator’s left aim and one side of the forearm, and

one side of the perpetrator’s right forearm. And there

very clearly are no tattoos on any of those.

The court dismissed the case.

As recognized by the district court, the Bridgeport Police

Department had exclusive custody of the videotape evidence

from August 1, 2002 until at least November 26, 2002, a

period of 117 days. Construing the evidence in the light most

8a

favorable to the nonmoving party, the record indicates a

68-day time period—between the police interrogation on Sep-

tember 18, 2002 and the earliest date on which the tape may

have been obtained from DePietro—during which DePietro

and Borona were on notice of Russo’s claim of innocence

based on his tattoos. The state attorney himself did not watch

the videotape as moving picture footage, rather than frozen

stills, until more than seven months after Russo’s arrest.

Naming the City and the individual officers who conducted

his arrest and investigation as defendants, Russo filed a civil

rights action in state court. The action was removed to the

federal district court on October 17, 2003. Russo there filed a

second amended complaint which asserted a failure to train

and supervise by the City, as well as false arrest and unrea-

sonably lengthy detention by the City and by the individual

defendants. The complaint alleges that both the City and the

individual defendants-appellees lacked probable cause for

Russo’s arrest, demonstrated reckless and malicious indiffer-

ence to Russo’s claims of innocence, and failed to meet their

statutory obligation under Connecticut law to disclose ex-

culpatory evidence. In addition to his § 1983 count, Russo

claimed false arrest, false imprisonment, negligent infliction

of emotional distress, and intentional infliction of emotional

distress under state law.

By a brief endorsement order and final judgment dated July

13 and July 14, 2005, the district court granted summary

judgment to all the defendants. The court found that Russo’s

federal constitutional rights had not been violated, and, hav-

ing dismissed Russo’s federal claims, the court declined to

exercise supplemental jurisdiction over Russo’s state claims.

At oral argument, the district judge expressed his sympathy

for Russo given the length of his wrongful incarceration, but

he found no Fourth or Fourteenth Amendment violations. He

stated that probable cause for Russo’s arrest had been

established, and that this fact precluded false arrest and false

9a

imprisonment claims under § 1983. With respect to Russo’s

due process claims, the district court did not make specific

factual findings about the timing or scope of the state’s

investigation of the crime or videotape evidence. He did

conclude, however, that the evidence was insufficient to show

that the videotape was legible enough to exonerate Russo

prior to the tape’s enhancement in January, 2003. The court

went on to reject, as a matter of law, the argument that

“when the person whose’s [sic] been arrested provides an

explanation as to why they’re not guilty, the police officers

violate that person’s constitutional rights when they don’t go

out and investigate the claims made by the person who’s been

arrested.” Having found no violation of Russo’s federal

constitutional rights by the individual defendants, the district

court rejected the claims against the City without discussion.

DISCUSSION

I. Standard of review

““We review a grant of summary judgment de novo,

construing the record in the light most favorable to the non-

moving party” Hoyt v. Andreucci, 433 F.3d 320, 327 (2d Cir.

2006) (quoting Bourdon v. Loughren, 386 F.3d 88, 92 (2d

Cir. 2004)). We will affirm the district court’s grant of

summary judgment only if, taking all of plaintiff's evidence

as true and drawing all inferences in plaintiff's favor, we find

that no reasonable juror could conclude that Russo has

established that the defendants violated his constitutional

rights under circumstances subjecting them to liability under

§ 1983. See Amnesty Am. v. Town of W. Hartford, 361 F.3d

113, 122-23 (2d Cir. 2004); Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c).

II. Deprivation of constitutional rights

As in any § 1983 case on summary judgment, we first

determine whether, “[t]aken in the light most favorable to

the party asserting the injury, [] the facts alleged show the

{defendants’| conduct violated a constitutional right,” Saucier

10a

v. Katz, 533 U.S. 194, 201 (2001); see also Farrell v. Burke,

449 F.3d 470, 499, n.14 (2d Cir. 2006) (quoting same), and

only thereafter consider whether qualified immunity shields

individual defendants. Russo argues constitutional tort lia-

bility arising under the Fourth and Fourteenth Amendments.

He asserts that his lengthy detention and the withholding of

the videotape from state investigators constituted violations

of his right to be free from unreasonable seizures and of his

right to due process.

A. The Fourth Amendment claim based on false arrest and

false imprisonment

Russo’s first claim relies on theories of false arrest and

false imprisonment. In analyzing claims alleging the consti-

tutional tort of false arrest, “we have generally looked to the

law of the state in which the arrest occurred.” Davis v. Rod-

riguez, 364 F.3d 424, 433 (2d Cir. 2004) (examining Connec-

ticut law to assess a plaintiff's false arrest claim); see also,

e.g., Jaegly v. Couch, 439 F.3d 149, 151-52 (2d Cir. 2006)

(considering New York law). This follows our normal prac-

tice with respect to § 1983 claims. See Davis, 364 F.3d at

433 n.7.

In a false arrest action, Connecticut law places the burden

of proving an unlawful arrest on the plaintiff. Beinhorn v.

Saracen, 23 Conn. App. 487, 491, 582 A.2d 208, 210 (1990);

Davis, 364 F.3d at 433. And, in Connecticut, a false arrest

claim cannot lie when the challenged arrest was supported by

probable cause. Beinhorn, 23 Conn. App. at 491, 582 A.2d at

210. Interpreting an analogous rule under New York law in

the context of federal civil rights actions, our court has

uniformly rejected Fourth Amendment false arrest claims

premised on lawful arrests supported by probable cause. See

” Russo has abandoned his Sixth Amendment speedy trial claim on

appeal. See Fed. R. App. P. 28(a)(9)(A) (the appellant’s brief “must con-

tain . . . appellant’s contentions and the reasons for them”).

lla

Escalera v. Lunn, 361 F.3d 737, 743 (2d Cir. 2004); Weyant

v. Okst, 101 F.3d 845, 852 (2d Cir. 1996); Singer v. Fulton

County Sheriff, 63 F.3d 110, 118 (2d Cir. 1995). In the

present case, the district court properly found that there was

no disputed issue of material fact that Russo’s arrest was

supported by probable cause (the positive identification by

the gas station cashier).

The more vigorous dispute between the parties—but an

equally well-settled issue under Connecticut law—is whether

Russo’s on-going detention supported an independent § 1983

claim for false imprisonment. As in the case of false arrest,

we look to Connecticut state law principles to determine the

validity of Russo’s federal civil rights claim based on false

imprisonment. See Huang v. Johnson, 251 F.3d 65, 75 (2d

Cir. 2001).

Under Connecticut law, “‘[flalse imprisonment, or false

arrest, is the unlawful restraint by one person of the physical

liberty of another.’” Outlaw v. City of Meriden, 43 Conn.

App. 387, 392, 682 A.2d 1112, 1115 (1996) (quoting Green

v. Donroe, 186 Conn. 256, 267, 440 A.2d 973, 974 (1982)).

In Outlaw, the Connecticut Appellate Court stated that the

applicable law for false arrest and false imprisonment “is

identical,” and therefore “there is no cause of action for false

imprisonment if the plaintiff was arrested pursuant to a

facially valid warrant.” /d. at 1115 (describing the continuity

of this rule across 180 years of case law); see also Lo Sacco v.

* Indeed, in Outlaw, the Connecticut court of appeals considered the

false imprisonment/false arrest claim of a plaintiff who, like Russo, was

arrested based on an uncontested warrant, but who was ultimately relieved

from charges following exculpatory revelations on the eve of trial. Out-

law, 682 A.2d at 1113-14. The court found that in the context of a legally

authorized arrest, a plaintiff must show that a state actor misused the

“legal process to effect a valid arrest for an improper purpose.” /d. at 1115

(internal quotation marks omitted). In other words, the plaintiff had to

have made a malicious prosecution claim. This Russo has not done.

lp arin een

12a

Young, 20 Conn. App. 6, 20, 564 A.2d 610, 617 (1989)

(stating that a claim for false imprisonment may not lie where

“the arrest of the plaintiff is legally authorized”); Love v.

Town of Granby, 2004 WL 1683159, at *¢ (D. Conn. July 12,

2004).

The district court’s dismissal of Russo’s § 1983 claims for

false arrest and false imprisonment is therefore affirmed.’

B. The claim based on an unreasonably prolonged

detention

The heart of Russo’s second claim is that his prolonged

detention—caused by the individual defendants-appellees’

alleged mishandling of exculpatory evidence and failure to

turn that evidence over to the prosecuting attorney which, in

® Based on our conclusion that Russo did not make the requisite

showing that his arrest lacked probable cause, we need not decide whether

a nolle prosequi in Connecticut is a per se bar to a § 1983 claim of false

arrest. On the one hand, we have stated that “[a] person who thinks there

is not even probable cause to believe he committed the crime with which

he is charged must pursue the criminal case to an acquittal or an

unqualified dismissal, or else waive his section 1983 claim.” Roesch v.

Otarola, 980 F.2d 850, 853 (2d Cir. 1992). However, several years later,

when we discussed Roesch v. Otarola and its Connecticut precedent, we

indicated that a judgment of conviction was a defense to a claim of either

malicious prosecution or false arrest, and then went on to say that we were

“not aware of any opinion by Connecticut’s highest court addressing the

issue of favorable termination in the context of a claim for false arrest

where there has been no determination as to guilt.” Weyant, 101 F.3d at

853 (emphasis added). The apparent tension between these decisions, and

their applicability in the context of Connecticut’s procedures for entering

a nolle prosequi specifically, has been the source of disagreement among

district judges in this circuit. Compare, e.g., Holman v. Cascio, 390 F.

Supp. 2d 120, 125-26 (D. Conn. 2005) (holding that the context of the

prosecutor’s decision to enter a nolle matters, and that such a decision

does not, per se, preclude initiation of a false arrest suit in federal court)

with Birdsall v. City of Hartford, 249 F. Supp. 2d 163, 171 (D. Conn.

2003) (holding that a prosecution resulting in a nolle is not a favorable

termination for the purpose of a false arrest claim).

13a

turn, prevented the prosecutor from complying with his duty

to give the exculpatory evidence to the defense—violated his

Fourteenth Amendment right to be free from deprivations of

liberty without due process of law. As he did before the dis-

trict court, Russo argues that the officers willfully mishandled

and suppressed two items of exculpatory evidence: (1) the

2001 arrest file showing Russo’s prominent tattoos and

(2) the moving footage of the surveillance videotape demon-

strating that the perpetrator was not tattooed. In addition,

Russo asserts municipal liability by the City of Bridgeport on

the theory that a failure to train and supervise these officers

led to the deprivations of Russo’s constitutional rights.

1. Individual defendants

To hold individual defendants-appellees DePietro, Borona,

Sherbo, and Rosa liable in their personal capacity, Russo

must show that their conduct violated his constitutional rights

and that their actions were taken under color of state law. See

42 U.S.C. § 1983; Hafer v. Melo, 502 U.S. 21, 25 (1991);

Eagleson v. Guido, 41 F.3d 865, 872 (2d Cir. 1994). To make

such a “personal” claim, Russo need not establish a connec-

tion to governmental “policy or custom.” Hafer, 502 U.S.

at 25.

To prevail on this claim, Russo must establish (1) that he

has a right to be free from continued detention stemming

from law enforcement officials’ mishandling or suppression

of exculpatory evidence, (2) that the actions of the officers

violated that nght, and (3) that the officers’ conduct “shocks

the conscience,” County of Sacramento v. Lewis, 523 U.S.

833, 846 (1998). In addition, even if Russo proves these

elements, he cannot prevail against the individual defendants

if the officers establish that they are entitled to qualified

immunity.

In the following subsection (a), we address the three ele-

ments of this claim and conclude that Russo has made out a

14a

prima facie case with respect to Officer DePietro and

Detective Borona. In doing so, we clarify that this type of

claim, which has in the past been treated as one based on

substantive due process, should be examined under the Fourth

Amendment instead. In subsections (b) and (c), we conclude

that summary judgment was appropriate as to Sergeant Shero

and Officer Rosa. Given these conclusions, subsection (d)

examines whether Officer DePietro and Detective Borona are

entitled to qualified immunity.

a. Officer DePietro and Detective Borona

Undisputed evidence shows that both DePietro and Borona

had responsibility for investigating the Amoco robbery, with

Borona accompanying DePietro to the service station on the

date of the crime. Similarly, that evidence establishes that

DePietro took control of the surveillance tape on the date of

the robbery, viewed the tape, prepared photographic stills

from the tape, served as the affiant in the warrant for

Russo’s arrest, obtained that warrant, and retained the original

videotape in his desk drawer through a date that was after

November 25, 2002.

Beyond that, the testimony in the case diverges. But read in

the light most favorable to Russo, as it must be, the record

evidence shows the following. DePietro and Borona ques-

tioned Russo and pursued follow-up discussions in which

they learned—not necessarily for the first time, as such

attributes were on record in police files—of Russo’s dis-

tinctive physical characteristics, and specifically of his

tattoos. They watched the unenhanced surveillance tape, and

they represented to Russo that they could see the perpetrator’s

arms. Then, while concealing the tape, they falsely insisted

that it showed a man with tattoos like his. Rather than

following police rules on the storage of evidence and the

processing of exculpatory evidence, DePietro put the tape in

his drawer, thus impeding the state attorney’s access to the

footage. As a result, and despite Russo’s repeated attempts to

1Sa

focus attention on the tape, it took more than six months for

that tape to reach Russo’s counsel, and more than seven

months before Russo was released from prison.

The question of whether such conduct amounted to a

deprivation of Russo’s constitutional rights is similar to one

posed to the Supreme Court in Baker v. McCollan, 443 U.S.

137 (1979), in which a plaintiff was arrested pursuant to a

valid warrant actually intended for his brother.'° /d. at 143.

The plaintiff remained incarcerated for eight days—despite

his protests of innocence and the availability of exculpatory

evidence—until the police compared his photograph to that of

the wanted man and released the innocent arrestee. Jd. at 141.

The plaintiff brought an action pursuant to § 1983 alleging

that the sheriff had failed to institute proper identification

procedures in violation of the plaintiff's due process rights.

As in Russo’s case, the plaintiff's claims were based on law

enforcement’s conduct after the plaintiff was incarcerated

pursuant to a valid warrant.

In Baker, the Supreme Court held that the plaintiffs

situation—which it found was a “depriv[ation] of his liberty

for a period of days” pursuant to a warrant satisfying Fourth

Amendment standards—did not, in the circumstances of that

case, give rise to a constitutional claim. /d. at 144. The Court

stated, however: “Obviously, one in [plaintiff's] position

could not be detained indefinitely in the face of repeated

protests of innocence even though the warrant under which he

was arrested and detained met the standards of the Fourth

Amendment.” Jd. at 144. Such protection derived from his

constitutional right to a speedy trial. /d. (citing United States

v. Marion, 404 U.S. 307 (1971)). But, going beyond this

Sixth Amendment right, the Court suggested that such a

'° The plaintiff's brother, rather than the police, precipitated the mix-up

by identifying himself as the plaintiff in the course of the crime and

subsequent proceedings. See Baker, 443 U.S. at 140-41.

l6a

prolonged detention could also be understood in terms of the

Fourteenth Amendment right to due process of law:

We may even assume, arguendo, that, depending on

what procedures the State affords defendants following

arrest and prior to actual trial, mere detention pursuant to

a valid warrant but in the face of repeated protests of

innocence will after the lapse of a certain amount of time

deprive the accused of “liberty . . . without due process

of law.”

Id. at 145 (quoting U.S. CONST. amend. XIV, § 1); see also

Wright v. Smith, 21 F.3d 496, 499 n.1 (2d Cir. 1994) (quoting

same). The Court made clear, however, that the plaintiff's

detention—“three days over a New Year’s weekend”! '—

amounted to no such deprivation. Baker, 443 U.S. at 145.

In a concurring opinion, Justice Blackmun reinforced the

Court’s due process discussion. He explained that, as he saw

it, the majority opinion did not “foreclose the possibility that

a prisoner in [plaintiff's] predicament might prove a due

process violation by a sheriff who deliberately and repeatedly

refused to check the identity of a complaining prisoner

against readily available mug shots and fingerprints.” Jd. at

148 (Blackmun, J., concurring). In other words, the due

process clause might well reach conduct more shocking than

that of the defendant in Baker. And, Justice Blackmun read

the Court’s opinion to “conclude[] only that ‘every’ claim of

innocence need not be investigated independently,” and that

defendant’s intent was “relevant to the existence of a con-

stitutional violation.” /d.

Following Baker, the Eleventh Circuit recognized a Four-

teenth Amendment due process right “to be free from con-

tinued detention after it was or should have been known that

'' Plaintiff was incarcerated for a total of eight days, but spent only

three days in the custody of the defendant sheriff.

17a

the detainee was entitled to release.” See Cannon v. Macon

County, 1 F.3d 1558, 1563 (11th Cir. 1993). In Cannon, a

sheriff's deputy arrested an innocent woman whose name was

similar to that of a fugitive and ignored the arrestee’s pro-

testations of innocence. Jd. at 1560-61. The deputy’s failure

to take any steps to identify the plaintiff as the fugitive, the

court held, provided sufficient evidence from which a jury

could find that the deputy acted with deliberate indifference

towards the plaintiff's due process rights. Jd. at 1564. Sim-

ilarly, the Ninth Circuit applied Baker’s recognition of a due

process interest to a twelve-day detention of a plaintiff ar-

rested on valid warrants intended for his twin brother. See

Fairley v. Luman, 281 F.3d 913, 918 (9th Cir. 2002). The

court held that the plaintiff “had a liberty interest in being

free from a twelve-day incarceration without any procedural

safeguard in place to verify the warrant he was detained on

was his and in the face of his repeated protests of innocence.”

Id.; see also Sanders v. English, 950 F.2d 1152, 1162 (Sth

Cir. 1992) (holding that the failure to release a pretrial

detainee after police officer knew or should have known that

plaintiff had been misidentified gives rise to cause of action

under § 1983)."”

And our own court has recognized the due process

protection suggested in Baker. Thus, in Satchell v. Dilworth,

we considered the claims of a plaintiff who, following com-

pletion of a criminal sentence, had been illegally rearrested

and incarcerated for thirty-one days based on misleading and

incomplete, if not deliberately false, information provided by

state correctional services. 745 F.2d 781, 782 (2d Cir. 1984).

'? Likewise the Seventh Circuit, having acknowledged “the general

proposition that a warrantless arrest does not support a claim under § 1983

ifthe arresting police had probable cause,” went on to say that this

“general rule [] does not preclude a// § 1983 actions for wrongful deten-

tions that follow constitutional arrests.” Sivard v. Pulaski County, 959

F.2d 662, 665 (7th Cir. 1992).

18a

The plaintiff, we stated in Satchell, might be able to prevail

on his due process claims if he could demonstrate that any of

the defendants intentionally’* concealed or conspired to

conceal evidence of the plaintiff's completion of his sentence..

Id. at 785.

Today, we hold that the right mentioned in Baker and

enunciated in the above cited cases protected Russo from a

sustained detention stemming directly from the law enforce-

ment officials’ refusal to investigate available exculpatory

evidence. The Bridgeport police officers retained sole custody

of the videotape evidence—and stored it in an improper

manner—for a full 68 days after Russo alerted them that

examining the pictures of the perpetrator for tattoos could

exonerate Russo. They did this after intentionally misstating

that the robber had tattoos. Moreover, their failure to perform

the simple task of checking the tape resulted in all of Russo’s

217-day incarceration.

We must clarify the source of this right, however. Al-

though Justice Blackmun in Baker—and several circuits in-

cluding our own in Satchell—have suggested that the nght

was rooted in substantive due process, we now conclude, in

light of more recent guidance from the Supreme Court, that

the right should instead be analyzed under the Fourth Amend-

ment. In Graham v. Connor, 490 U.S. 386 (1989), decided

almost ten years after Baker, the Supreme Court stated that

“[w]here a particular Amendment ‘provides an explicit

textual source of constitutional protection’ against a particular

sort of government behavior, ‘that Amendment, not the more

generalized notion of “substantive due process,” must be the

guide for analyzing these claims.“ Albright v. Oliver, 510

U.S. 266, 273 (1994) (plurality opinion) (quoting Graham,

' As discussed infra, Satchell’s holding that the plaintiff could also

prevail by proving that his unlawful incarceration resulted from negli-

gence has been revisited in light of Supreme Court precedent. See

O'Connor v. Pierson, 426 F.3d 187, 203 (2d Cir. 2005).

19a

490 U.S. at 395)). And more recently, in County of Sacra-

mento v. Lewis, 523 U.S. 833 (1998), the High Court noted

that Rochin v. California, 342 U.S. 165 (1952)}—a case on

which Justice Blackmun had relied in Baker “was decided

long before Graham v. Connor . . . and today would be

treated under the Fourth Amendment, albeit with the same

result.” Sacramento, 523 U.S. at 849 n.9.

Russo’s claim—which he presents as being based on

substantive due process—fits comfortably under the coverage

of the Fourth Amendment. We have observed that “[w]hen

the accused is physically detained following arraignment,

there can be no question that he has been seized within the

meaning of the Fourth Amendment.” Murphy v. Lynn, 118

F.3d 938, 944 (2d Cir. 1997); see also County of Sacramento,

523 U.S. at 844 (“[A] Fourth Amendment seizure [occurs] . . .

when there is a governmental termination of freedom of

movement through means intentionally applied.” (internal

quotation marks and emphasis omitted)); Oliver, 510 U.S. at

274 (plurality opinion) (“The Framers considered the matter

of pretrial deprivations of liberty and drafted the Fourth

Amendment to address it.”). And while “we have generally

looked to the law of the state in which the arrest occurred” in

analyzing § 1983 claims based on the Fourth Amendment,

Davis, 364 F.3d at 433 (emphasis added), the scope of the

Fourth Amendment’s protection against “unreasonable” seiz-

ures 1s, of course, not limited to state law.

Thus, since the Fourth Amendment provides a more “ex-

plicit textual source of constitutional protection,” in light of

Graham, the Fourth Amendment, rather than substantive due

process, should serve as “the guide for analyzing these

claims.” Graham, 490 U.S. at 395; cf: Fontana v. Haskin, 262

F.3d 871, 881 (9th Cir. 2001) (“‘[C]laims arising before or

during arrest are to be analyzed exclusively under the fourth

amendment’s reasonableness standard rather than the substan-

20a

tive due process standard .. . .””) (quoting Reed v. Hoy, 909

F.2d 324, 329 (9th Cir. 1990)).

We therefore treat Russo’s claim as being based on the

Fourth Amendment’s protection against unreasonable seiz-

ures. And, doing so, we conclude, in light of (1) the length of

time of Russo’s wrongful incarceration, (2) the ease with

which the evidence exculpating Russo—which was in the

officers’ possession—could have been checked, and (3) the

alleged intentionality of DePietro’s and Borona’s behavior,

that Russo has sufficiently alleged that he was unreasonably

seized. In other words, the evidence Russo has proffered

suffices to prevent summary judgment on Russo’s claim of a

Fourth Amendment violation by DePietro and Borona.

(1)

In Baker, the Supreme Court expressly recognized that “the

lapse of a certain amount of time” is an element in assessing

the existence of a constitutional encroachment. Baker, 443

U.S. at 145. Indeed, in one of the precedents relied on in

Baker, the Court had stated that “[t]he consequences of pro-

longed detention may be more serious than the interference

occasioned by arrest. Pretrial confinement may imperil the

suspect’s job, interrupt his source of income, and impair his

family relationships.” Gerstein v. Pugh, 420 U.S. 103, 114

(1975); see Baker, 443 U.S. at 143 (citing Gerstein). And the

Baker Court noted that the short duration of the plaintiffs

detention was central to the Court’s denial of the plaintiffs

claims. See id. at 145; accord Davis v. Hall, 375 F.3d 703,

718 (8th Cir. 2004); Cannon v. Macon County, | F.3d 1558,

1562 (11th Cir. 1993); Coleman v. Frantz, 754 F.2d 719, 724

(7th Cir. 1985). The total 217-day detention here, or even the

68-day detention between Russo’s arrest and DePictro’s

yielding of the tape to the prosecutor, plainly was prolonged

rather than short and carried constitutional implications.

2la

(2)

Whether DePietro and Borona watched the tape before

(falsely) telling Russo that the robber was tattooed, or failed

to follow up on Russo’s claims of innocence by refusing to

watch the tape at all, their conduct easily fits the hypothetical

presented in Justice Blackmun’s Baker concurrence: that the

standard for liability announced by the Court would reach an

officer who “refused to check the identity of a complaining

prisoner against readily available mug shots and finger-

prints.” See Baker, 443 U.S. at 148 (Blackmun, J., con-

curring) (emphasis added). An officer’s duty to investigate

specific, readily-verifiable claims of innocence in a reason-

able time period clearly covers reviewing a surveillance

camera video record of a crime, when, as here, it was an

easily available piece of physical evidence.

(3)

We have said that a substantive due process claim requires

more: To trigger liability, a police officer’s action must

“shock[] the conscience.” '* County of Sacramento, 523 U.S.

at 846. That is, it must be “‘arbitrary in the constitutional

sense,’ O’Connor v. Pierson, 426 F.3d 187, 203 (2d Cir.

2005) (quoting Collins v. City of Harker Heights, 503 U.S.

115, 128 (1992)). And, given our decision—following the

Supreme Court’s admonition in Graham—to treat Russo’s

claim under the Fourth Amendment, the “shock the con-

'* The Baker majority did not evaluate whether the defendant sheriff's

conduct in Baker “shocked the conscience. Justice Blackmun, however,

did explore the issue in his concurrence. He explained that liability was

rejected because “[nJothing in [the sheriff's] conduct suggest{ed] outrage-

ousness.” The sheriff, who was new to his position, could only be said to

have erred in his failure to supervise adequately his deputies’ conduct and

there was “no indication that petitioner was aware, or should have been

aware, either of the likelihood of misidentification or of his subordinates’

action.” 443 U.S. at 147-48.

22a

science” requirement must now be understood as a crucial

feature going to the “unreasonableness” of the seizure.

The state of mind of a government defendant is an integral

aspect of any “shock the conscience” standard. Thus, we have

read County of Sacramento to mean that while “a purpose to

cause halm” might be required in a situation such as a high-

speed chase, “deliberate indifference”—but not negligence—

can support a finding of liability in situations where the

government owes a special duty of care to those in its charge.

O’Connor, 426 F.3d at 203.

Here, Russo was in state custody—and hence in the charge

of the government—throughout the relevant proceedings.

Moreover, a reasonable jury could find that DePietro actively

hid the exculpatory evidence. As such, his conduct is of a

different order from that of the defendant in Baker, where

inadvertent omission, rather than an affirmative wrongdoing,

led to the detention. See 443 U.S. at 143; see also Whitley v.

Seibel, 613 F.2d 682, 685-86 (7th Cir. 1980) (distinguishing

Baker and finding liability because of defendant police offi-

cers’ improper behavior). In addition, by falsely describing

the content of the videotape, DePietro and Borona attempted

to evoke a confession from him by misrepresenting the very

evidence of Russo’s innocence that was available to them.

This act, combined with their failure to investigate the tape to

see if the tape was in fact exculpatory, would readily support

a jury finding of either intentional violation of, or deliberate

indifference to, Russo’s constitutional nghts. See Cannon, |

F.3d at 1564 (holding that a defendant’s failure to verify that

an arrestee was the fugitive sought on the arrest warrant

raised a question of fact as to defendant’s deliberate indif-

ference toward the plaintiffs due process rights). And,

DePietro’s failure to follow police procedures with respect to

the storage of the exculpatory evidence adds further evidence

on the basis of which a jury could find deliberate indifference

to Russo’s incarceration and to his asserted innocence.

23a

The evidence of shocking conduct on the part of DePietro

and Borona was sufficient to preclude a grant of summary

judgment in their favor on the merits of Russo’s “unrea-

sonable seizure” claim.

b. Sergeant Sherbo

Sherbo, for his part, took DePietro’s oath for Russo’s arrest

warrant application, assigned and supervised DePietro’s in-

vestigation, and made the determination that it was unnec-

essary to view the tape personally. Sherbo may not be held

liable simply because one or more of his subordinates com-

mitted a constitutional tort. “[He] may be found liable

[, however, for any] deliberate indifference to the rights of

others by his failure to act on information indicating uncon-

stitutional acts were occurring or for his gross negligence in

failing to supervise his subordinates who commit such

wrongful acts, provided that the plaintiff can show an

affirmative causal link between the supervisor’s inaction and

[his] injury.” Poe v. Leonard, 282 F.3d 123, 140 (2d Cir.

2002). But no evidence was proffered that Sherbo was on

notice of Russo’s tattoo-based claim of innocence. As a

result, no deliberate indifference by Sherbo to Russo’s rights

has been shown. Similarly, Sherbo’s conclusion that the

robbery victim’s positive identification precluded the need for

watching the videotape—standing alone—is in no sense

arbitrary, let alone shockingly so. See County of Sacramento,

523 US. at 846.

Summary judgment with respect to Sergeant Sherbo is

therefore affirmed.

c. Officer Rosa

Summary judgment was also appropriate with respect to

Officer Rosa, who responded to the Amoco robbery and

wrote an incident report. Rosa had arrested Russo in 2001 and

had recorded his tattoos in the arrest report that was the

reason Russo was in the police database when the 2002

24a

robbery occurred. But the record contains no evidence that

Rosa had possession of the videotape, had viewed the sur-

veillance sequence, had transformed it into still photographs,

or had prepared the photographic line-up. He had no role or

responsibility for Russo’s arrest, interrogation, or in the

robbery investigation generally. Indeed, Russo did not know

him or recognize his name. The district court did not err in

dismissing Russo’s suit against Officer Rosa.

d. Defendants’ Qualified Immunity

Based on our determination that a reasonable factfinder

could conclude that DePietro and Borona’s conduct violated

Russo’s Fourth Amendment rights, we move to the second

step of the Saucier inquiry and assess whether these officers

are entitled to qualified immunity as a matter of law. See

Saucier v. Katz, 533 U.S. 194, 201 (2001).

Qualified immunity protects public officials from liability

for civil damages when one of two conditions is satisfied: “(a)

the defendant’s action did not violate clearly established law,

or (b) it was objectively reasonable for the defendant to

believe that his action did not violate such law.’” Poe, 282

F.3d at 133 (quoting Tierney v. Davidson, 133 F.3d 189, 196

(2d Cir. 1998)); see also Lennon v. Miller, 66 F.3d 416, 421

(2d Cir. 1995) (summary judgment is appropriate if “the only

conclusion a rational jury could reach is that reasonable

officers would disagree about the legality of the defendant[’s]

conduct under the circumstances”). In this case, neither con-

_ dition has been satisfied.

First, Russo had a clearly-established constitutional right to

be free from prolonged detention caused by law enforcement

officials’ mishandling or suppression of exculpatory evidence

in a manner which “shocks the conscience.” See Baker, 443

U.S. at 144 (referring to such a right as [o]bvious[{]” in the

context of a warranted arrest and protestations of innocence,

and doing so as early as 1979); Wright, 21 F.3d at 499 n.1

25a

(quoting Baker’s statement); see also Cannon, 1 F.3d at

1564-65 (holding that a reasonable official would attempt to

verify identifying information in the face of the plaintiff's

assertions of mistaken identity).

Today we have clarified that Russo’s claim should be

“treated under the Fourth Amendment,” County of Sacra-

mento, 523 U.S. at 849 n.9, rather than under substantive due

process. But this clarification is of no consequence to the

question of whether the right was clearly established, because

the proper inquiry is whether the right itself—rather than its

source—is Clearly established. See, e.g., Wilson v. Spain, 209

F.3d 713, 716 (8th Cir. 2000) (“[T]here is no question that

[plaintiff's] right to be free from excessive force was clearly

established, even if there is some ongoing uncertainty about

which constitutional text is the source of that right.” (footnote

omitted)); Alexander v. Perrill, 916 F.2d 1392, 1398 n.11 (9th

Cir. 1990) (noting that the only issue before it with respect to

qualified immunity was “whether there was a clearly estab-

lished duty to investigate”; that its prior decision in Hay-

good v. Younger, 769 F.2d 1350 (9th Cir. 1985) (en Banc),

“answer[ed] that question in the affirmative”; and that “[flor

purposes of this appeal, it is unimportant that the Haygood

court found the prison officials ultimately violated the

plaintiff's right to be free from cruel and unusual punishment,

rather than the right to due process and to be free from double

jeopardy as alleged in this case”).

As to the second condition, the proffered evidence would

support a jury finding that DePietro and Borona acted in-

tentionally in hiding exculpatory evidence and misleading

Russo as to whether the videotape showed a perpetrator with

tattoos. Hence, a reasonable trier of fact need not conclude

that it was objectively reasonable for DePietro and Borona to

believe their actions were lawful. See Lennon, 66 F.3d at 420.

And, once again, it is of no consequence that we have

clarified the source of this right. The question of reasonable

26a

disagreement turns on whether reasonable officers could

disagree about whether conduct is illegal, not on whether they

know the precise constitutional reason why it is not lawful.

Qualified immunity to DePietro and Borona is unavailable

at summary judgment.

2. City of Bridgeport

Russo also alleged that the City of Bridgeport failed to

train and supervise its officers in the handling of exculpatory

evidence. Municipal liability under § 1983 for the conduct

of employees below the policymaking level requires that a

plaintiff show a violation of his constitutional rights that

resulted from a municipal custom or policy. See Dwares v.

City of New York, 985 Rid 94, 100 (2d Cir. 1993); Monell v.

Dep't of Social Services, 436 U.S. 658, 694 (1978). Having

rejected Russo’s claim of a violation of his constitutional

rights, the court below failed to make any factual findings as

to the City’s policies with respect to police department

handling of exculpatory evidence or with regard to the local

implementation of Conn. Gen. Stat. § 54-86c(c), which enu-

merates a state police officer’s duty to disclose exculpatory

evidence to the state attorney. Nor did the court examine the

application of municipal policies by the police department or

the individual defendants.

Nevertheless, the City has admitted, in its supplemental

responses to Russo’s requests for admissions, that “all indi-

vidual defendants . . . acted toward the Plaintiff in accordance

with custom, policy and practice.” We understand this to

constitute an admission that, if officers DePietro and Borona

are ultimately held to have violated Russo’s constitutional

rights, then municipal liability against the City will be

appropriate as well. Accordingly, given our holdings with

respect to Russo’s constitutional claims against DePietro and

Borona, summary judgment was inappropriate with respect to

Russo’s claim against the City.

27a

CONCLUSION

If a jury credits Russo’s evidence regarding DePietro’s and

Borona’s conduct, and if it finds that the videotape provided

adequate verification of Russo’s innocence based on his

unique physical characteristics, then Russo will have estab-

lished that he was unreasonably seized by DePietro and

Borona, in violation of his Fourth Amendment rights. Russo’s

long incarceration for the crime of another, in the face of

exculpatory evidence’ that was ignored or actively suppressed,

would amount to no less than “a decided lack of solicitude []

for the liberty of [the City’s] citizens,” Young v. City of Little

Rock, 249 F.3d 730, 735 (8th Cir. 2001). Moreover, the

validity of DePietro’s and Borona’s assertion of qualified

immunity cannot be determined at the summary judgment

stage. As such, the district court’s grant of summary judg-

ment to DePietro and Borona must be vacated. In addition,

given DePietro’s and Borona’s possible violation of Russo’s

constitutional rights, and the City’s admission that these

officers were acting “in accordance with custom, policy and

practice,” the district court’s grant of summary judgment to

the City must also be vacated. On the other hand, the dis-

trict court correctly granted summary judgment to defendants

Sherbo and Rosa.

Accordingly, this case is AFFIRMED in part, and VA-

CATED and REMANDED in part for further proceedings.

Costs are awarded to the appellant.

28a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF CONNECTICUT

[Filed JULY 12, 2005]

No. 3:03CV1972(AWT)

CHRISTOPHER RUSSO,

Plaintiff,

VS.

CITY OF BRIDGEPORT, et al.

Defendants.

ORAL ARGUMENT ON MOTION FOR

SUMMARY JUDGMENT

BEFORE: HON. ALVIN W. THOMPSON U:S.D.J.

APPEARANCES:

FOR THE PLAINTIFF:

PERELMUTTER, POTASH & GINZBERG, P.C.

11 Bank Street

Seymour, Connecticut 06483-0001

BY: JEFFREY D. GINZBERG, ESQ.

WEINSTEIN, WEINER, IGNAL, NAPOLITANO

& SHAPIRO

350 Fairfield Avenue

Bridgeport, Connecticut 06604

BY: BURTON M. WEINSTEIN, ESQ.

29a

FOR THE DEFENDANT:

CITY OF BRIDGEPORT

OFFICE OF THE CITY ATTORNEY

999 Broad Street

Bridgeport, Connecticut 06604

BY: BARBARA BRAZZEL-MASSARO, ESQ.

ARTHUR C. LASKE, III, ESQ.

* * *

[3] 3:06 P.M.

THE COURT: We’re here for argument on the motions for

summary judgment in the matter of Christopher Russo vs. the

City of Bridgeport, et al. The docket number is 3:03-CV-

1792.

Would counsel please state their appearances for the

record.

MR. GINZBERG: Your Honor, on behalf of the plaintiff,

Christopher Russo, my name is Attorney Jeffrey Ginzberg

from Seymour, Connecticut.

MR. WEINSTEIN: On behalf of the plaintiff, Attorney

Burton Weinstein, Bridgeport, Connecticut, sir.

MS. BRAZZEL-MASSARO: Good afternoon, Your

Honor. My name is Barbara Brazzel-Massaro. I’m with

Corporation Counsel for the City of Bridgeport. I represent

the individual police officers John Rosa, Jeremy DePietro,

Christopher Borona, and Sergeant Joseph Sherbo.

THE COURT: Did you say John Rosen or Russo?

MS. BRAZZEL-MASSARO: Rosa, R-o-s-a.

MR. LASKE: Good afternoon, Your Honor. Arthur Laske,

Assistant City Attorney, City Attorney’s Office, City of

Bridgeport. And I represent the City of Bridgeport.

THE COURT: Thank you.

30a

Let me take a moment to get my papers organized.

[4] (Pause)

THE COURT: I’m looking first at the Motion for Sum-

mary Judgment filed by the individual defendants, just so you

know—

MS. BRAZZEL-MASSARO: Yes, Your Honor.

THE COURT: —for reasons that may be obvious.

Mr. Weinstein called my chambers with a question about

something, I forget exactly what it was, a couple of weeks

ago. My law clerk conveyed the question to me and I pulled

the file down and I started reading, Before I’d know it, I’d

finished reading the motions so I was ready to discuss them

with you. I thought that would be faster than taking time to

try and write something up, I'll just have you in and talk it

through with you.

I do have some questions I want to review first in terms of

exactly what are the claims. I want to make sure we’re on the

same page on that.

The first count sets forwards a claim against the City and

the individual defendants. It’s a 1983 claim so it’s a Monel

claim against the City of Bridgeport. As I read it, it’s failure

to train and supervise against the City; and as to the

individual defendants, it appears to be false arrest.

MR. GINZBERG: And also unreasonably lengthy incar-

ceration once arrest had been made.

[5] THE COURT: So it’s false arrest and detention?

MR. GINZBERG: Correct. Unreasonably lengthy deten-

tion.

MR. WEINSTEIN: And particularly as a result of the

failure to disclose exculpatory information which was in the

possession of the City for some time before this arrest and

that’s—

3la

THE COURT: I understand the factual contention about

the state statute on disclosure of exculpatory information, but

under 1983 you have to bring a claim for violation of a

federal right. So that might be a corollary fact, but it wouldn’t

be a basis for the claim, as I understand it.

MR. WEINSTEIN: Except that for purposes of qualified

immunity, since the statute is mandatory, it would not be a

matter of discretion, but administrative obligation to turn that

information, over.

THE COURT: It’s still not the claim itself. It’s one of the

pieces of evidence that you’re talking about in support of the

claim or a factual circumstance I think that you’re pointing to

as in support of a claim as opposed to the claim being based

on the statute itself.

MR. WEINSTEIN: I’m sorry, I could not hear that last

part.

THE COURT: Well, I said it is not the basis—{6] let me

rephrase it.

You’re not pointing to that state statute as the federal right

that’s been violated because it’s not a federal statute.

MR. WEINSTEIN: No, I’m aware it’s not a federal statute.

However, my point—if I misstated, I apologize. The statute I

think removes any possible claim of discretion with regard to

turning over exculpatory material.

THE COURT: We can talk about that later. I’m not dis-

agreeing with you on that point.

So false arrest and unreasonably long detention.

And then. I think the other three counts are, pretty straight-

forward the way they’re set forth. Actually, they are brought

against—I guess they’re brought against the individual defen-

dants and the City.

MR. GINZBERG: Yes, Your Honor.

32a

MR. WEINSTEIN: If I may, sir, with regard to the City,

paragraphs 32 and 33 of the Second Amended Complaint

specifically raise the issues of failure to train and supervise

and disregard of the civil rights, which are the elements of the

claim, against the City.

THE COURT: Right. I was on Counts Two, Three and

Four, false arrest, imprisonment, and then negligent infliction

of emotional distress and intentional [7] infliction of emo-

tional stress. Okay.

Let me ask first about this claim of unreasonably long

detention. On what date was the plaintiff first presented

before—on what date was he arrested?

MR. GINZBERG: 9/18. 9/18/02 was the date that he was

picked up. And he was picked up at his home early in the

morning, he was in bed—

THE COURT: I’ve read all the papers.

Let me preface this because it might save us some time. I

looked at what happened with Mr. Russo, think it’s a terrible

situation. I don’t think anybody would disagree with that for

somebody to be detained so long and then have it determined

that they were not the person depicted on the videotape.

That’s not why we’re here. We’re here to talk about the legal

issues. And the questions, as I see them, are not whether what

happened to him was terrible but whether he in fact has a

legal claim against these defendants.

As I look at it, there are several reasons why what hap-

pened to him happened to him. I will tell you reading the file

I had to really ask myself how could this have not—what

could have been done so that this didn’t happen? And I think

the plaintiff is pointing to certain things that the police

officers could have done, but there [8] are certainly other

things that other people who were involved in the process

could have donc. And the question is: Are the police officers

liable and is the City liable for what happened?

33a

So I remember that he was in bed and all of that, so just

wanted to pin down he was arrested on September 1 8th.

MR. GINZBERG: Correct.

THE COURT: Was he presented before a judicial officer

on September 18?

MR. GINZBERG: September 19th was the date he was

presented to a judicial officer.

THE COURT: So he was arrested September 18th, pre-

sented September 19th.

MR. GINZBERG: That’s night.

THE COURT: Now, at that point the decision to detain

him, as I understand things, was made by the judicial! officer.

So how is there a claim against these officers for detention of

the defendant? They had him, as I understand it, for ques-

tioning at the Bridgeport headquarters on the 18th.

MR. GINZBERG: Right.

So if we take it from September 18th as the date which—in

a continuum, the worst possible thing that the City or the

police officers could have done as opposed to [9] August Ist,

let’s focus on what happened on September 18th and Sep-

tember 19th, as Your Honor suggests. I say that if the judicial

authority had known or if it had been brought to the judicial

authority’s attention the fact that there was a videotape which

showed clean arms of the perpetrator, the judicial authority,

would never have incarcerated or allowed the plaintiff to be

incarcerated. It’s just clear that that would not have happened.

So based upon what the police officers brought to the

attention of the judicial authority at that point, what they

portrayed, they portrayed a very surface and I think a callus

view of the circumstances. They portrayed a similarity in

appearance between the photograph from 2001 and the

eyewitness identification in August of 2002. That was way

34a

too superficial for the circumstances given, the vivid tattoos

and given the exculpatory videotape which was not turned

over. And that videotape was not turned over until he was

released in April of ’03. So they allowed that videotape to

remain completely out of view in a desk drawer somewhere

without bringing that information to the attention of the

proper authorities. They had a duty to do that. And they failed

to do that.

In addition to that—and that would have been outcome

determinative.

There’s another aspect which is equally [10] determinative

but not as stark as colorful tattoos on arms. And that is there

was a height and weight differential between the perpetrator

and the plaintiff.

The perpetrator was described to have been small, 5’8”,

very small build. And blonde hair. Not weighing very much.

This individual, the plaintiff, was huge, as we all know from

the facts.

THE COURT: Well, we can be more specific than that. He

was 6’, 6’1”—

MR. GINZBERG: He was 671”, 210 pounds. And not

blonde hair. His tattoos, vivid just doesn’t describe it. Dennis

Rodman would be considered tame compared to the colors on

these tattoos.

So just from looking at him, they should have imme-

diately—an alarm should have gone off to go back to that

videotape and recheck the videotape to make sure there were

some marks or tattoos on the arms.

THE COURT: What you’re describing, though, is not an

unlawful detention claim. You’re saying something that

would be the kind of thing people say when they’re going to

make a claim that somebody obtained an arrest warrant under

false pretenses. And I don’t see that claim here and | don’t

see the evidence for it here.

35a

Let me just back up a second. I’m going to mix the two

claims together here in terms of the false arrest.

[11] As I read the papers, there are certain things that hap-

pened that led up to the issuance of the arrest warrant.

Number one, we had the robbery which was recorded on

the surveillance tape.

Number two, Officer Rosa responded to the report of the

robbery. He took a statement from Mr. Saleem, the victim.

Then it was, I guess, Defendant Sherbo who assigned the

investigation to Detective—is it DePietro?

MS. BRAZZEL-MASSARO: DePietro, Your Honor, Jer-

emy DePietro.

THE COURT: —to Mr. DePietro. And then Mr. DePietro

went over to the convenience store/Amaco station, I’m not

sure which it is or it’s both. He learned that there—the ob-

tained the videotape, surveillance tape. And then he and at

some point Mr. Borona were involved in observing that the

videotape was difficult to see.

They went to, I don’t know if it’s St. Vincent’s Hospital

where they were able to print out photographs of the person.

The person had a pink towel around his neck, as I recall.

And with those photographs, at least DePietro, and I don’t

know what Borona’s involvement was, proceeded to look

through the book of photographs that the [12] Bridgeport

Police Department has and pulled out eight pictures that

showed individuals who had similar facial characteristics or

I'll say head, face and head characteristics as the person who

was depicted on the surveillance videotape.

Is there any disagreement about that yet?

MR. GINZBERG: So far so good.

THE COURT: Okay.

36a

Mr. Saleem who, according to I think Officer Rosa’s

report, had said that he would be able to identify the person if

he saw him again, was shown the photographs and he

identified the photograph of the plaintiff, Mr. Russo. And he

said something along the lines that he was a hundred percent

sure or certain. I mean, it was a positive identification.

MR. GINZBERG: By a 22-year-old. Correct.

THE COURT: Yes, he is 22 years old. I don’t know that

that’s particularly compelling as a fact.

MR. WEINSTEIN: May I suggest one discrepancy left out

at that time even before the arrest of—

THE COURT: We’re not at the arrest yet.

MR. WEINSTEIN: Given the circumstances, the reaching

over the counter, I respectfully submit, sir, it is very unlikely

that the victim would fail to have noticed those tattoos. They

were very obvious. And to [13] fail to mention them at all—

THE COURT: We’re not at the tattoos yet, Mr. Weinstein.

We’re at what the officers knew. This is—at this point, this is

what the officers—this is what the officers have been told.

MR. GINZBERG: Subjectively at this point, because the

standard is objective reasonableness, not their subjective

point of view.

THE COURT: I think it’s undisputed that this i: what the

officers knew. I’m talking objectively.

MR. GINZBERG: This is why I would respectfully dis-

agree with that. It’s what they believed. Their subjective

belief is not really what’s relevant.

THE COURT: What do you mean it’s what they believed?

MR. GINZBERG: It’s what an objective police officer

would have done under the circumstances.

37a

THE COURT: At this time we’re not talking about what an

objective police officer would have done under circum-

stances. We’re talking about what were the circumstances.

MR. GINZBERG: As of August 1 I’m with you so far.

THE COURT: Okay. So at this point the officer has a

positive identification and the officer goes out and [14] gets

an application—puts together an application for an arrest war-

rant and a judge signs the application and the warrant issues.

Why didn’t the officer—why isn’t there probable cause

when arrested at that point?

MR. GINZBERG: Because there was an arrest report,

Exhibit 2 I believe in my materials which indicated that

Christopher Russo had vivid tattoos back in 2001.

THE COURT: What you’re saying, in other words, is there

were other documents unrelated to this case in the records of

the Bridgeport Police Department that showed that he had

vivid tattoos.

MR. GINZBERG: Yes.

MR. WEINSTEIN: And further, sir, the Department is a

defendant.

THE COURT: Can we have just one person argue this,

please?

MR. WEINSTEIN: Very well, sir.

THE COURT: Why don’t we get to you later, Mr. Wein-

stein. If you could relax for a few minutes, okay?

The fact that there may be something else in the police

department’s records does not mean there is not probable

cause unless you can point to the fact or point [15] to some

authority for the proposition that in order to have probable

cause, a police officer needs to, in addition to having in this

case a positive identification by the victim, needs to go

38a

through and search all the information within the control of

the department to determine that there’s nothing that negates

a conclusion that there’s probable cause. I didn’t see any such

authority in the plaintiff's papers.

MR. GINZBERG: Well, I think there is a slight nuance.

I’m not saying that he should go into all of the records of the

Bridgeport Police Department. All I’m saying is that there

was one particular record that they were aware of because

they pulled out the photo. And in that record there was a

police report from 2001. And one of the officers involved in

this arrest was Officer Rosa. And his name is on the 2001

report.

THE COURT: Officer Rosa, though, was not involved in

putting together the photograph array, as I understand it. His

involvement—first of all, his involvement ceased when

he turned in his report, if I’m remembering reading the

papers correctly. So he was not involved in putting together

the array.

And second, can I ask for a clarification, either from one of

the counsel for the defendants or the City, the way I read the

papers it sounded as though there [16] was a set of photo-

graphs that were gone through. Is this a situation where the

City sits down and it goes through the files for all these

various arrests, or is there like a mug shot book?

MS. BRAZZEL-MASSARO: It’s a computer-generated

system, Your Honor. What the officers would do is they

would look at, for instance, certain characteristics. In this case

an individual who was white male, approximate age, the fact

that he had balding hair, the type and shape of his face. They

would put those characteristics actually into the computer and

the computer would generate a number of photographs that

would fit that particular type of description.

And then the computer, basically they would take out those

photographs that would fit that description that was generated

39a

if it was here through a report or if it was, for instance, an

individual giving a description to an individual drawing in a

police department, certain generated type of characteristics.

Based on that, then the officers would be just pulling out

photographs.

THE COURT: When you say “pulling out photographs,”

from where?

MS. BRAZZEL-MASSARO: From the computer. That’s

how it was done. Either Detective Borona or Detective De-

Pietro indicate that the photographs were randomly [17]

picked. Eight photographs were picked in this case that fit the

description that they put in. And then what they did was take

from the computer-generated photographs those eight photos

and provided them to Mr. Saleem for him to view.

So it was not actually going through case files, it was a

computer-generated photograph that came out based on the

description. And I think that’s what their affidavits indicated

in support of our motion, Your Honor. That’s what they were

talking about, the photo base. They talked about the photo

database system, which is what they did.

THE COURT: Do you have any evidence to the contrary,

Mr. Ginzberg?

MR. GINZBERG: No.

THE COURT: That’s an important point, I think, if what

you were suggesting is that when they went to the file to pull

the photograph out, they should have at least seen other

things in the file. It appears that it’s not—there’s no evidence

to dispute the defendants’ position that they literally didn’t go

to a file and open a file.

So I think we are back at a situation where they had these

characteristics, they plugged the information in, and the

computer generated photographs and they got a [18] positive

identification from the victim.

40a

And at that point I don’t know why there wasn’t probable

cause for the arrest, because they used that information to

obtain an arrest warrant from a judge.

MR. ,;GINZBERG: Based upon what they did up to that

point of time, there is an argument to be made that 7 there

was probable cause. If one takes the viewpoint that—

THE COURT: Well, you say there’s an argument to be

made that there’s probable cause. Can you cite authority for

me that there was not probable cause?

MR. GINZBERG: I don’t have authority to that point.

THE COURT: Well, why don’t you give me your analysis.

If you had been writing an opinion that you wanted to cite,

what would your analysis be as to why there was not probable

cause?

MR. GINZBERG: Because if they withheld information, I

think there is authority to the point of view that if you

withhold information, that that would remove probable cause.

By information, I’m referring, specifically to the videotape.

THE COURT: Well, at the point that they are obtaining the

search warrant, I don’t understand your argument about them

withholding the videotape because it [19] seems to me all the

things that are significant about the videotape become

significant in hindsight, not in terms of—I mean, when the

officers looked at the videotape, first of all, in the initial

viewing, it was difficult to see things. That’s why they went

over to the hospital to get the photographs. And they still

weren’t terribly clear in terms of his —at least the ones I

looked at in the papers, they weren’t particularly clear in

terms of his arms. And the person’s wearing a towel around

his neck.

MR. GINZBERG: Well, I dispute any conclusion that it

was unclear to the police officers. I posit to the Court that it

was very clear if you look at the videotape. The towel only

4la

hid the neck, it did not hide the arms. And if one only looks at

a small snippet of the videotape and from that makes a—

prints out one photograph, black and white photograph, I

agree that you would see only as much as you saw or

permitted yourself to see. But if you spent the time and

watched the videotape for as long as the perpetrator was in

the convenience store, it would become apparent to anyone

watching the videotape that he was flashing his arms in front

of the surveillance camera. So if you go beyond an initial

period of time when the perpetrator is in view to the point in

time where the perpetrator walks in and around [20] and back

out to the cashier’s table and he flashes his arms which don’t

have any towels, that argument loses credibility that it was

somehow unclear and goes into the area where I believe the

law is that an officer cannot 5 rely upon his subjective belief;

rather, it’s what a 5 reasonably objective police officer would

think when looking at the videotape.

THE COURT; You're collapsing two things there, though.

You’re collapsing what are, the facts and circumstances that

were known to the officer, and then what is the test you apply

in evaluating the officer’s conduct. And at this point I’m

focusing really on what was known to the officer.

The officer—at the point that the officer looked at the

videotape and got the information to get the computer-gen-

erated photographs, it seems to me it’s reasonable to put—as

I understand it, the computer program mug shots or mugs,

they’re not waist up. So to put in the information that shows

the face and then have the eyewitness come in and say they’re

a hundred percent certain that this is the person, .that’s how

the officer proceeded. The officer could have done a lot of

other things. He could have said, Well, Officer Rosa’s report

says the person had blonde hair. The videotape appears to

show someone who’s bald. I think it’s blonde crew cut is [21]

what Rosa’s report says. But the officer’s entitled to De-

42a

Pietro’s report I think says that the witness told him the

person had a shaved head.

So at this point it seems to me that what the facts show are

that DePietro sat down, he had a picture the person, he got

computer-generated photographs with those facial character-

istics. The witness positively identified the person as the

person who robbed him. And he obtained an arrest warrant

based on that positive identification.

MR. WEINSTEIN: But that’s a missing link. In order to

get the warrant, they had to have a name, a jacket number, an

address. If it was just the face, somebody would have had to

have done something to connect a person to that face. A

person with a prior jacket, a prior number, who had been

arrested by Rosa, and who had then physical characteristics,

6’-1”, 210, as opposed to the original description. At that

point any moderately competent police officer would have

said, “Wait a minute. The description given by the victim

is so grossly different from the description of the person

whose face got picked out, size, mass, the tattoos.” Anybody

with any competence would have said, “Maybe we better

check this.”

So it was not getting the picture and having [22] probable

cause because, yeah, he looks like that. It’s once they got that,

they took that information and did get the database, Exhibit 2,

which at that point should have told them that they should

have done something else than just tell the judge disregard the

height, the weight, and the tattoos.

THE COURT: Well, the other problem we have with your

talking about when the officers were before the judge is—I

mean, I’ve never practiced criminal law in state courts, but it

was my impression that it isn’t the police officers who come

in but it’s the State’s Attorney who comes in and—

43a

MR. WEINSTEIN: Based on what the officer tells him.

That’s why we have a statute that says you’ve got to give this

information to the officer.

The State’s Attorney simply presents the affidavit of the

officer. When the officer got the visible ID from the victim,

he then went and pulled the jacket. How else would he know

the name? How else would he know the address? They got

the jacket. That jacket, Exhibit 2, clearly contains the infor-

mation that demonstrates there were King Tut tattoos and that

this man in every other way did not match. At that point the

officers knew or ought to have known that they had the

wrong man.

[23] THE COURT: Because they find a jacket that shows—

MR. WEINSTEIN: A jacket that shows—

THE COURT: —that he had tattoos?

MR. WEINSTEIN: That’s Exhibit 2 to our—opposing

summary judgment.

THE COURT: Yes, I see that.

MR. WEINSTEIN: And it’s Officer Rosa. And it says “left

arm King Tut tattoos.”

And so the—at this point in order to get the warrant, you

put dewn a description of who you’re going after. And it

never occurred to them that they ought to have the description

match. That, I think, is where—

THE COURT: At that point why do the officers have to go

through—if they have a name and positive identification and

they know they just have to find out where to get the person,

why are they obligated to do anything other than to just get

the information they need to go out and pick up the person?

MR. WEINSTEIN: I think a jury could find that in order to

get the name, the name had to come from a record. They had

an address. That wasn’t generated with a picture. A jury could

44a

find—and it is for the jury to find—whether or not at that

point the gross difference in physical characteristics aside

from the tattoos should [24] have alerted them and at that

point they failed—

THE COURT: We don’t get to a jury unless we first pin

down the question of whether the officers had probable cause.

And I don’t have any authority for the proposition that the

officers didn’t have probable cause.

It’s clear that it’s a terrible situation that happened to Mr.

Russo, but that doesn’t mean the officers didn’t have prob-

able cause.

I’m also very troubled by the fact that he gets to his

arraignment, he says—I think he told his lawyer, if I’m

reading the defense papers correctly, that there’s a video and I

presume or would infer that he told his lawyer that the video,

that’s great, because if you look at it, you’ll see it’s not me.

Yet there’s no request for the video. I mean, there’s no

hearing before the judge. And at this point, the people who

really have the best information about what the video will

show are Mr. Russo and his counsel, not the police officers.

MR. WEINSTEIN: No, because counsel filed the regular

Practice Book motion for-production of exculpatory evi-

dence, which the prosecutor could not have complied with

and didn’t because the exculpatory evidence was locked in

the drawer of DePietro’s desk.

THE COURT: You can’t—

MR. WEINSTEIN: Also the fact that the following [25]

day or second day after, there was, according to the plaintiff,

an interview, an interview carried on by DePietro and Borona

in which the plaintiff said, “Look at my arm, look at the other

guy. It can’t be me.”

They go out, come back in a little while and pretend that

they looked at the videotape and said, “No, we measured,

45a

they’re the same. I'll tell you what. Cop for three years, we’ ll

give you a break.” And he refused to become a victim of that

attempted extortion knowing he was innocent.

At that point any jury to be able to determine whether

to believe Borona, even if you give the police the first

two days—

THE COURT: You’re arguing facts. I want to know why

there—at that point he’s been arrested, pursuant to the arrest

warrant.

MR. WEINSTEIN: According to what Judge Nevas de-

termined in—

THE COURT: You have not addressed why there wasn’t

probable cause for the arrest, first of all. And now you’re

arguing an additional point, which is that when the person

whose’s been arrested provides an explanation as to why

they’re not guilty, the police officers violate that person’s

constitutional rights when they don’t go out and investigate

the claims made by the person who’s been [26] arrested. I’m

sure we all wish that that had been done here, but the fact that

we think it would have been a good idea doesn’t mean it’s the

law that police officers are required to do it.

MR. WEINSTEIN: But they lied to him and said they did

investigate and the perpetrator had the tattoos. That goes

beyond the proposition that Your Honor’s suggesting. He

says, “Look at me, I’m innocent, look at my tattoos.” They go

out and say, “Okay, we checked., We even measured with a

ruler the data.” And came back and lied to him and tried to

extort a confession out of him knowing they were lying if you

believe what was said.

And it’s for a jury to determine whether or not the—

THE COURT: You’re jumping way—you’re being pre-

sumptuous when you argue it’s for a jury to decide when

we’re here on a motion for summary judgment and I’m

asking you about probable cause. I think you—

46a

MR. WEINSTEIN: They have a continuing obligation to

disclose exculpatory material. And if the police officers saw

the tattoo, which is—you can’t miss. And the man says,

“Look, it can’t be me, take a look at the tapes.” At that

point—at that point an affirmative obligation under the statute

to do something more than just ignore their own—the City’s

own records [27] showing the gross physical description.

Because if that’s not the case—

THE COURT: Where are you finding this affirmative obli-

gation, under the exculpatory evidence statute, Connecticut

statute?

MR. WEINSTEIN: Yes, that’s their duty.

And also it was made quite explicit by Judge Nevas in his

decision on a motion for summary judgment in the Murvin

case.

THE COURT: I read the Murvin case, it doesn’t help you

at all here. Sorry. That’s my—

MR. WEINSTEIN: In possession of information after the

fact that contradicted—

THE COURT: Murvin is not this case.

First of all, I mean, you’re saying this tape which was

viewed by the officers clearly showed that Mr. Russo had

these tattoos, but the only evidence I see in this record is that

even the prosecutor in the state court action when the parties

were in state court did not agree that the tape exonerated Mr.

Russo nor did the state’s investigator, Mr. Donovan. Mr.

Donovan’s affidavit states that—I think it was Mr. Mirsky

who was the attorney for Mr. Russo told Mr. Donovan that

this tape clearly shows it’s not Mr. Russo. And Mr. Donovan

says, “I cannot agree that the tape shows it’s not Mr. Russo.”

[28] Then when they were in court, I don’t remember the

name of the state prosecutor, but I believe Mr. Russo at his

deposition testified that this issue came up in court before the

47a

judge, I assume, and the remark from the prosecutor was, “A

jury will have to decide that.”

So what we have, in contrast to that, are your arguments

about what the officers should have tumbled to. But what we

have in evidence is the people that were actually involved at

the time did not see the tape as exonerating Mr. Russo. The

prosecutor was still proceeding with the prosecution.

MR. WEINSTEIN: Ham and Gooden boih address some

of the situations where “I was at work, check my work

records” —

THE COURT: Id like to talk about what I’m talking

about, the facts of this case.

MR. WEINSTEIN: Yes.

THE COURT: The facts of this case are I believe as I

stated them. We have your arguments that you want to put

before a jury. But what I have to look at is: What is the

evidence that’s in the record now?

MR. GINZBERG: Up to September 18th. Your Honor, up

to September 18th when the arrest was made, the point that

you’re making is probable cause. But at the point after the

arrest was made and Mr. Russo was in [29] custody, there

became a different burden upon the police, because at that

point Mr. Russo—

THE COURT: If I can compartmentalize this. Are you

conceding there was probable cause?

MR. GINZBERG: I am conceding, for purposes of this

discussion, that there was probable cause.

THE COURT: Okay. But you’re not giving me any—what

I hear you saying is you’re not conceding for purposes of the

motion—

ak

MR. GINZBERG: Right.

48a

THE COURT: —but just this part of the discussion?

MR. GINZBERG: Right.

THE COURT: But you haven’t given me anything that

would show that there was not probable cause.

MR. GINZBERG: Right.

THE COURT: That’s my conclusion, just so we’re clear.

Okay.

Now you want to talk about after September 18th.

MR. GINZBERG: I concede that point for purposes of our

discussion. Obviously an arrest was made.

But I think the focus of this case, the most important part

of this case really is what happened after Mr. Russo was

taken into custody. It was after the custodial arrest that Mr.

Russo then had this [30] interrogation that occurred on

September 18th. And during this custodial interrogation, he

had an opportunity, once again, to make his point to the

police officer. The police officer said to him, “We have the

tape.” And Mr. Russo said, “Well, then you must know that it

couldn’t be me. Because what did the perpetrator have on his

arms: Did he look like me? Did he have tattoos on his arms?”

And that’s really the more important part of the case

because it’s really from September 18th on until April where

Mr. Russo was in custody. And at that point the individual

defendants, the City was on notice that there was a claim of

unreasonably lengthy detention by virtue of the tattoos.

THE COURT: At the point that Mr. Russo is in custody,

who’s the decision maker in terms of what happens to him?

MR. GINZBERG: The court.

THE COURT: I thought he was in custody and he had to

be arraigned. He was in custody but there had to be an

arraignment to determine whether he should be detained or

not.

49a

MR. GINZBERG: Right.

THE COURT: I hope I’m getting the terminology right.

MR. WEINSTEIN: Not an arraignment. This was [31]

based on information, based on affidavit and warrant.

THE COURT: He was presented and arraigned the next

day, what do you call that? The court proceeding on the 19th?

MR. WEINSTEIN: It was—

THE COURT: What was the court proceeding on the 19th

of September?

MR. WEINSTEIN: They proceeded by way of the infor-

mation and he was arrested. And he was held in custody.

From that point on, there was a continuing obligation as a

matter of law—

THE COURT: I’m sorry, you’re not answering my ques-

tion. All I wanted to get to was from the arrest, they brought

him into headquarters and questioned him for a couple of

hours. But as I understand it, there’s some obligation that he

be presented before a judicial officer before he can be

detained further. And I was making reference to the court

proceeding on what I have been told was September 19th.

What’s that proceeding called in state court?

MS. BRAZZEL-MASSARO: Your Honor, I have it. It was

an arraignment.

THE COURT: An arraignment. So he was arraigned.

And at that point, it appears to me, at least, [32] that the

judge is making the decision based on the arguments received

from the prosecutor and defense counsel. And | agree with

you defense counsel—I’m sorry, the prosecutor is basing his

or her decision on how to proceed on information that is

obtained from the police officers. But it’s the two lawyers

arguing to the judge. And the judge made the decision to

detain.

50a

MR. GINZBERG: But how can the judge—again, I’m not

disagreeing with your point about the probable cause, I’m

moving on to a different point, as you say, compartmentalize

the separate point.

Once the judge hears arguments and there has been a

disconnect between what the police officers are giving to the

prosecutor—I’m talking about September 19th as there was in

this case—the judge doesn’t have any discretion at that point

to disagree with the State’s Attorney’s Office.

There was a continuing obligation beginning on the 18th

and continuing to the 19th to go back and look at that video-

tape and determine, based upon the police officer’s investi-

gation, whether it was right. Don’t forget—

THE COURT: Well, Mr. Russo is sitting there in court in

front of the judge and the prosecutor with the defense

attorney. Mr. Russo, as I understand it, told his [33] lawyer at

the first appearance, “You can show it’s not me because I

have these tattoos. And it’s unlikely anyone else will show up

on the videotape with these type of tattoos.” It seems to me if

that were the situation in this courtroom, I would expect to be

hearing from the defense counsel, “Look. Look at the video-

tape. My client has these tattoos. It’s unlikely anybody else

has tattoos like this.” And the prosecutor would be hearing

that too. And they would look at Mr. Russo and they would

say, “Well, it seems to me that’s something that ought to be

explored.” But at that point it’s not the officers who are

running the show, it’s the prosecutor and the judge who are

having this discussion.

MR. GINZBERG: But at that point the police are telling

the prosecutor that the perpetrator has tattoos just like Mr.

Russo because they conducted this interrogation where they

were measuring the tattoos to make sure they were similar.

THE COURT: Where does the record show that the police

officers told the prosecutor that the person on the videotape

has tattoos like Mr. Russo?

5la

MR. GINZBERG: That does not—

MR. WEINSTEIN: If Your Honor please—

MS. BRAZZEL-MASSARO: Your Honor, there is no such

fact that has ever been stated. The only person who [34] has

said that was Mr. Russo. In fact, the testimony of the officer

is very—at least in the deposition was vet: different from that.

THE COURT: I’m not talking about the conversation in

the interrogation room. Mr. Ginzberg made a reference to the

officers are telling the prosecutor.

MS. BRAZZEL-MASSARO: Your Honor, if you look at

the affidavits that were submitted by both officers, they indi-

cate after the arrest of Mr. Russo they never saw him again or

had anything to do with the case, in fact, until they met him

here one day at a status conference. So that they had nothing

to do with it once it went to the State’ Attorney’s Office with

the file.

The file indicates that there’s a warrant and the warrant

shows that there’s a videotape that was provided, but there

was no conversation between the State’s Attorney and the

police officers that has ever been indicated in any testimony,

evidence, anything of that nature.

MR. WEINSTEIN: If Your Honor please, Exhibits and 6

describe what the police knew at the relevant time. Exhibit

ee

THE COURT: I think I asked Mr. Ginzberg—lI asked Mr.

Ginzberg about a specific statement. You’re going to some-

thing else. Can we finish with that first?

[35] MR. GINZBERG: Yes.

THE COURT: My question was—

MR. WEINSTEIN: But the tattoos—

52a

THE COURT: —I believe you made a reference to the—I

think you made a reference to the state prosecutor being told

by the officers that the person on the videotape had tattoos.

MR. GINZBERG: I’m assuming that, Your Honor. Be-

cause there seems to be, in my opinion, a fact question here as

to why the prosecutor wouldn’t tell the judge that there was

an issue with regard to the tattoos. It seems to me that a

reasonable prosecutor, knowing that there was a videotape

and a claim of tattoos, would have instructed the judge that

there was exculpatory evidence here and we need to take a

closer look.

THE COURT: But you can’t assume that for purposes of

this motion.

MR. GINZBERG: I think it’s a fact question that needs to

be resolved in favor of the plaintiff.

THE COURT: It’s pure speculation under the summary

judgment standard.

MR. GINZBERG: It’s not. It’s a factual issue, Your Honor.

I beg to differ with the Court.

MR. WEINSTEIN: Your Honor, if you look at Exhibit—

[36] MS. BRAZZEL-MASSARO: That issue has never—

THE COURT: Excuse me, we’re stopping.

Mr. Weinstein, please sit down. I’d like to hear Ms.

Massaro respond to that point.

MS. BRAZZEL-MASSARO: Your Honor, that issue has

never been raised. During the entire deposition of Officer

DePietro, that question was never asked of him. In fact, I

believe he was asked questions about his contact with anyone

after this, and he indicated there was no contact, Your Honor.

So he had, in his deposition testimony, indicated that there

was none. So I don’t know where we’re suddenly coming up

with this as a fact question. It was never alleged in the

53a

complaint, it was never addressed in the deposition. Today

for the first time we hear this statement that the officers went

to the prosecutor telling them that the individual in the

videotape had tattoos. That has-never been raised.

THE COURT: I think it’s been described as an assumption.

Mr. Weinstein, you had a point?

MR. WEINSTEIN: Yes.

If Your Honor please, Exhibit Number 5 attached to the

56(a)(2) statement is dated September 18, 2002, and it is the

report on Mr. Russo from the police department. 6:20 that

morning, the date of the arrest, he was charged [37] with

robbery first degree on a warrant. At that point—at that

point—the notation is made “tattoos right neck, left neck,

right forearm, right hand, left hand.” And the description of

him is 6 ft., 200 pounds.

Compare that—compare that—-with the description of the

perpetrator as being a white male 56” to 5’8”, medium build

with no mention whatever of any tattoos.

I respectfully submit, sir, at that point any competent police

officer at all would have known that there is a sufficient

discrepancy between the two to require some sort of inves-

tigation, especially the following day in view of the protes-

tations “Look at me, look at my tattoos.” And that’s why

there was no probable cause to continue. And there was an

affirmative burden to tell the magistrate that there was

exculpatory information here and to investigate.

MS. BRAZZEL-MASSARO: Your Honor, if I may, that

Exhibit 5 was the arrest report that was done, as you see, by

the arresting officer, Detective Martin. That was not some-

thing that was done by any of the officers here. , There’s no

information to indicate that any of the defendants in this case

were involved. That’s the paperwork that was done the day he

was arrested by Detective Martin. I don’t know what rele-

54a

vance it has to [38] this particular claim against these de-

fendants.

THE COURT: Did you have other points you wanted to

make, Mr. Ginzberg?

MR. GINZBERG: Not at this time, Your Honor.

MR. WEINSTEIN: If I may make one, sir?

THE COURT: Yes.

MR. WEINSTEIN: The reason that Inspector Donovan and

the State’s Attorney’s Office had the enhanced photograph

made that exonerated Mr. Russo was that everybody agreed

the quality, the quality of the original videotape and even the

effort to enhance it at the hospital was too vague, it wasn’t up

to standards, nobody could be quite sure.

Under those circumstances, I respectfully submit the situa-

tion is no different than failure to check the time slip alibi as

in hand or the gross misdescription. There has got to be some

obligation, and there is in the Connecticut statute as well as

under the law that protects us from illegal imprisonment

where there is clear indication of a missing identification.

There’s some obligation to try to follow through.

Here actual knowledge on the part of the department, the

department records that had to be consulted clearly indicated

that the perpetrator did not bear a resemblance to Mr. Russo.

And that’s why, when the [39] police proceeded until finally

even those who were blind could see he was not the right

man, it cost Mr. Russo two hundred—

THE COURT: 213?

MR. WEINSTEIN: 217.

THE COURT: 217 days?

MR. WEINSTEIN: 217 days of his life.

55a

THE COURT: Did you want to address that, Mr. Brazzel-

Massaro?

MS. BRAZZEL-MASSARO: Your Honor, I only wanted

to make a couple of comments to correct some statements that

were made on the record.

I think Attorney Ginzberg indicated that the videotape was

in the drawer of Detective DePietro’s desk until April 2003.

Obviously, we know that that’s. not so since Inspector

Donovan did obtain that from him.

THE COURT: I believe it was November 25.

MS. BRAZZEL-MASSARO: Thaet’s correct, Your Honor.

November 19th was the date that he asked for it and actually

Detective DePietro was not in, he was a trainee at that time.

On the 25th he returned and received the tape, from Detective

DePietro at that time.

In addition, Your Honor, I did indicate that there was one

affidavit that addressed the computer generated, that was

Detective Borona who was able to [40] obtain it through the

computer. If you will review his affidavit, I believe—

THE COURT: Is that attached to your original?

MS. BRAZZEL-MASSARO: That was attached to my

original motion, Your Honor, I believe. And his affidavit is

actually Exhibit M.

THE COURT: Yes.

MS. BRAZZEL-MASSARO: And he indicates on the sec-

ond page of his affidavit how it was that they accomplished

getting the computer-generated information.

THE COURT: Give me a second to read that, please.

(Pause)

THE COURT: Okay, thank you.

56a

MS. BRAZZEL-MASSARO: And then lastly, Your Honor,

the only thing that I do want to refer to is one of the last

statements that was made by Attorney Weinstein regarding

Inspector Donovan and what he had to do.

Everybody agreed that the tape was of poor quality and

needed to be enhanced. And that is exactly what we’re talking

about here. And the April 23, 2003 transcript with Attorney

Benedict, I believe, was the state’s attorney at that time who

handled the matter, and I just want to quote what he indicated

after they had the [41] tape. He said, “We thereafter, having

heard about the tattoos on the arms, had still photographs

developed from the videotape. And from still photographs I

believe myself amongst other persons who had seen Mr.

Russo in the courtroom all were reasonably convinced, if not

completely convinced, that Mr. Russo was in fact the person

who appears in the still photos of the videotape taken at the

convenience store.”

Your Honor, I think that tells it all.

THE COURT: Yes, Mr. Ginzberg?

MR. GINZBERG: Thank you, Your Honor.

If | might, on that last point, I want to bring to Your

Honor’s attention that that argument by the State’s Attorney

Benedict was made in hindsight. The only statement he gave

was in April of ’03, and that was the date which he said, “The

less said about the case the better.” So he was reflecting on

photos that were presented some time ago. And the statement

really was what I would consider more or less a redoing of

past history on his part.

THE COURT: Although Inspector Donovan’s, as I under-

stand it, was not. His conversation took place with Attor-

ney Mirsky towards the end of, I don’t know, November,

January—

57a

MS. BRAZZEL-MASSARO: I think the letter was [42]

actually December 2 of 2003. There was a question as to the

videotape. Inspector Donovan indicated that he had questions

about the clarity of the videotape and sent it for an

enhancement to the state lab. It wasn’t until January of 2003,

I think it was January 23, 2003 that the videotape was re-

turned enhanced from the state lab.

And then it was some conversation thereafter, I think it was

in March was the last conversation that Inspector Donovan

had, Your Honor, based on his affidavit.

Your Honor, are you looking for the affidavit of Inspector

Donovan?

THE COURT: No, I was just looking for the photographs

again.

MS. BRAZZEL-MASSARO: Your Honor, I noticed it was

April actually when he actually sent the last letter. to the

correction center. I wanted to make sure | didn’t misstate.

April 21.

THE COURT: Okay. Is there anywhere in the papers—I

see Exhibit 7 to the plaintiff's opposition a series of photo-

graphs which are, I assume, the photographs that are from the

surveillance camera stills?

MR. GINZBERG: Yes.

THE COURT: Are those the ones that then were used to—

let me be more precise.

We have the videotape itself, Are these from [43] the

videotape or are these the photographs that were prepared by

the officers when they went to the hospital tc get the prints

made?

MS. BRAZZEL-MASSARO: No, those are not the photo-

graphs that were prepared by the officers. I think 1 provided

the originals.

58a

THE COURT: I don’t mean the photo array.

MS. BRAZZEL-MASSARO: The, photographs, yes, I did

provide those to the Court also. I think I have with me copies

of what the State’s Attorney had as the photos, which is really

four quadrant-type photographs, Your Honor. It’s not done in

this fashion.

If I understood the memorandum of the plaintiff, these

photographs are actually the photographs that they had done

through their videographer. So they were not the actual

photographs that were available to the officers nor to the

State’s Attorney.

I believe if you look at my Exhibit O, that it has a series of

photographs. I think I provided the Court with the originals

of those.

THE COURT: Yes. I actually am working with the cham-

bers’ copy.

MS. BRAZZEL-MASSARO: And I do have another series

from the State’s Attorney’s Office which are very similar to

these, Your Honor, also.

[44] THE COURT: I'll make one observation which I don’t

think is a material fact for purposes of the probable cause

issue, but it’s something I don’t think I’ve mentioned in terms

of some of the other arguments that have been made.

We do have the fact that the person who robbed the

establishment had this towel around his neck. And my recol-

lection is that, as you got further into the case, some of the

people on the prosecution and law enforcement side viewed

that as a circumstance that could suggest they, shouldn’t put

as much weight on Mr. Russo’s version of events as they

might otherwise, because the towel would obscure any no-

ticeable tattoos that he had around his neck. I was reminded

of that when I saw this.

59a

I don’t think that’s a material fact for purposes of the

probable cause analysis, however, because I still come back

to the fact that you had the video surveillance tape used to

produce a photograph. Those photographs were put into the

computer which generated a lineup. A witness came in and

made a positive identification, hundred percent positive

identification, after having said the witness would be able to

identify the person if he saw him again. Based on that, an

arrest warrant was obtained and the arrest was made pursuant

to a warrant, not by any of these defendants, by the way.

[45] So as to false arrest, I really don’t see any genuine issue

of material fact. And it seems to me there was probable cause

for the arrest and therefore there is no—well, therefore there’s

no constitutional violation and the defendants are entitled to

judgment as a matter of law on the probable cause on the

false arrest claim.

MR. WEINSTEIN: But as to false imprisonment from the

time they knew or ought to have known that they had the

wrong person because of the police records, because the arms

of—the perpetrator didn’t have his arms covered. And be-

cause of the facts in which they were obliged by Connecticut

law to disclose if they had bothered to look, the false

imprisonment I think was here.

I would respectfully call Your Honor’s attention to the fact

that as far as DePietro, who was the top man on the case, is

concerned, he had no idea what exculpatory evidence was or

meant.

If Your Honor would be good enough to look at our

56(a)(2) statement, September 10th. We have a transcript. It’s

Exhibit 3 of the deposition of DePietro. And I asked the

question: “And during the course of your career as a police

officer from the time you first were hired until today, has

anyone ever told you that if you encounter exculpatory

information on a case you have been investigating, that you

60a

have an obligation to inform the [46] State’s Attorney in

charge of the prosecution of that ca of the existence of the

exculpatory, information?” Answer: “Specifically, no.”

Then I asked: “Did anybody during the entire course of

your training as a police Officer ever indicate to you that

there was a state statute which says you have an obligation to

inform the State’s Attorney in charge of the file—who are in

charge of the prosecution of the case you investigated of any

exculpatory information as soon as you learn it?” Answer:

“Specifically has anybody specifically told me that? I’m not

sure. I couldn’t answer.”

The chief investigator on this case had no idea, first of all,

even what exculpatory information was and then that if he

encountered it he should turn it over.

I respectfully submit, sir, that the law in this district, as

expressed by both Judge Goettel in the Calovine case and by

Judge Nevas in the Murvin case, is that if exculpatory ma-

terial is learned after the initial arrest, there is an affirmative

duty constitutionally under the fourth, quote, procedural

substantive due process and under Connecticut law to call

that to the prosecution or the magistrate. Because otherwise

innocen people can be locked up indefinitely until time of

trial and nobody cares under the law. That is not the law.

[47] THE COURT: Now you’re amending your complaint,

though.

MR. WEINSTEIN: I’m sorry, sir?

THE COURT: Now you’re amending your complaint.

MR. WEINSTEIN: No, sir.

THE COURT: You don’t have a procedural or—you made

reference to procedural and substantive due process.

MR. WEINSTEIN: We have paragraph 34 of the Second

Amended Complaint, as a result of the violation of plaintiff's

6la

civil rights, his false imprisonment, false incarceration, he

suffered the following damages. That’s paragraph 34.

THE COURT: So you’re not making a procedural due

process claim.

MR. WEINSTEIN: I’m making both. But we have made

the false imprisonment claim. And that false imprisonment

occurred when they knew or ought to have known that there

was information which contradicted the information they

gave to the judge and never disclosed that. It’s not fair to the

magistrate.

THE COURT: In your analysis, when did the false impris-

onment commence and when did it end?

MR. WEINSTEIN: Oh. It ended when the charge was dis-

missed, That’s the easy one, False imprisonment [48] ended

on April 23, 2003.

It commenced, I respectfully submit, at least the day of that

interview, the following day I guess the 20th, maybe the 19th,

the day of the interview when they saw the tattoos.

By that time, it’s very difficult to’ believe the chief inves-

tigating officer was totally oblivious to the record of the man

that he had arrested. He knew about the tattoos before. There

was no indication of any tattoos on the arms in any of the

photographs. And he then says, “Look, cop a plea.”

THE COURT: Let’s have Ms. Massaro address that false

arrest. Is that addressed in your papers, Ms. Massaro?

MS. BRAZZEL-MASSARO: Your Honor, we were not

aware that there was a false imprisonment claim. We thought

it was unreasonable detention claim, which is what I think

Attorney Ginzberg indicated in the beginning of his argu-

ment. I suppose at this particular time we’re no aware that

that was a claim that was made.

62a

However, I think that even if you look at the facts in this

case, that that claim, cannot survive either

But let me just go back to the initial statement about what

Detective DePietro testified to in the deposition. I think that

Attorney Weinstein, [49] unfortunately, has chosen certain

questions and answers and not provided the Court with a full

response of Detective DePietro during the course of that dep-

osition when he was asked on at least three separate occasions

regarding exculpatory evidence and was even asked to define

what he thought was exculpatory evidence on page 13 of the

deposition. I think that’s one of the exhibits that the City has

provided to the Court. And then thereafter was asked a little

bit more about exculpatory evidence, and I think that was part

of the City’s exhibit. It was pages 72, I believe, 75 through 77

again when he was asked at his deposition about his training

and exculpatory evidence where he indicated he got specific

information about exculpatory evidence and what he was to

do with it.

Let’s go back to the claim whether or not there was false

imprisonment. There’s been no claim in this case that these

officers falsely imprisoned Mr. Russo And in fact, if you find

that there was probable cause to arrest him on September

18th, 2002, and he was then arraigned on September 19,

2002, and the Court was to make a determination as to

whether or not there was sufficient information to hold him

and what the bail would be, then there is no false arrest of Mr.

Russo.

THE COURT: You mean no false imprisonment.

[50] MS. BRAZZEL-MASSARO; No false imprisonment,

I’m sorry, of Mr. Russo.

In fact, that’s what the court did. And bail was set at

$100,000 I believe on September 19th based on this arrest

_and also some other arrests that he was involved in because

he was on probation, as I understand it, at that time. So that

63a

there’s no false imprisonment that would be connected

specifically to these particular defendants at that time, Your

Honor.

THE COURT: I agree.

MR. GINZBERG: If I may, Your Honor, I’m just pointing

to the Court the second count which alleges false impris-

onment.

THE COURT: I’m really focusing on the federal claim at

this point.

MR. GINZBERG: Well, the federa! claim is incorporated

by reference into the second count because paragraph 3—

THE COURT: I don’t disagree with you, but I’m really

focusing on the federal claim. Because if I don’t have

jurisdiction over the federal claim, I’m not going to keep the

state law claims.

MR. WEINSTEIN: Your Honor, I suggest that it is a

federal failure, a federal constitutional violation to know or

ought to know that a perpetrator is 5’6” and slim [51] build

and to be aware of a description of a 6’1”, 210-pound man

and not tell the court that discrepancy is irrelevant when you

make the decision to issue the warrant. And if you don’t

discover it until the next day or the day after, there is a

continuing obligation to inform the court and the prosecutor

that you’ve got the wrong man.

And to establish the precedent that the police can simply

disregard information which they either know or ought to

know after an arrest and wait months until the case comes to

trial before innocent people are turned loose is not in accord

with the Constitution, which is exactly what I think the

defendants are claiming they have a right to do.

THE COURT: I don’t understand that they’re claiming to

have the right to do that. I understand they’re claiming that

if they have them—well, | won’t go through the facts again.

They had probable cause. And they proceeded.

64a

MR. WEINSTEIN: To arrest, but not to continue to detain.

That’s the point. Probable cause to get the warrant is one

thing. Probable cause to act or fail to act in such a way to

maintain the imprisonment of a man that probable cause

alone applies to, that’s what we’re basing on.

[52] THE COURT: Well, I guess I’ve given you my con-

clusion that there are no genuine issues of material fact as to

the claimed false arrest and the defendants are entitled to

judgment as a matter of law.

I also said I agreed with Ms. Massaro’s analysis in terms of

false imprisonment because the plaintiff was arrested pur-

suant to an arrest warrant—

MR. GINZBERG: Just one point, Your Honor? I’m sorry.

THE COURT: Let me finish this and then I'll hear you.

—and he was presented before a judicial officer who

concluded that he should be detained.

So I don’t see any genuine issues as to false imprisonment

either. I think the defendants are entitled to judgment as a

matter of law on that part of Count One as well.

MR. GINZBERG: On that point on Count One, Your

Honor, the false imprisonment, there is authority for the

proposition that the Fourth Amendment does apply to the

point in time between the arrest but before the trial And the

cases that I have in mind are Sanders vs. English 950 F.2d

1152, a Fifth Circuit case, and Jones vs. City Chicago, which

is a Seventh Circuit case. And to conclude that just because

there was probable cause and then sweep [53] into the next

issue that that rules out a Fourth Amendment claim for

unreasonably lengthy detention I feel gives short shrift to that

second claim of the unreasonable length.

THE COURT: But I believe what you’re arguing is, first of

all, that the—two things: First of all, that the videotape

showed and that the defendants knew that the person on the

65a

videotape did not have tattoos on his arm. And we don’t have

any evidence that would create a genuine issue of material

fact as to that point. All the evidence in the record is to the

contrary.

And secondly, you’re arguing that—you’re arguing that

assuming that you win on the first point, which I think you

don’t, the officers have an affirmative duty to go out and

investigate claims that are put forth by the person who’s been

arrested—in this case, the plaintiff, Mr. Russo—while the

court proceedings are going on. And I believe that—can’t

remember the name of the case, but there’s a case cited in the

defendants’ papers that I believe stands for the proposition

that once the arrest is made and certainly once you get to the

point of the arraignment and there’s a detention by a judicial

officer, the police officer’s job is done. They don’t have

obligations.

Do you remember which case that was, [54] Ms. Massaro?

MS. BRAZZEL-MASSARO: Your Honor, I don’t, but

have a case Shattuck vs. Town of Stratford, 233 F.Supp.2d.

301, which was a decision by Judge Droney on November 13,

2002. But I don’t think that that was the case I cited in my

brief.

THE COURT: I printed those cases out. I just have so

many papers here on the bench I can’t put my hand on it.

It is cited in the defendants’ papers.

MS. BRAZZEL-MASSARO: Yes; Your Honor, Williams

vs. the City of New York.

THE COURT: Yes. The Williams case. That’s what I’m

thinking of.

MR. GINZBERG: I guess the Court is—

THE COURT: I’m going to—your question?

66a

MR. GINZBERG: My question is: Does that mean that the

Court is not going to consider the Sanders case that I cited

where the police officer found exculpatory evidence after

the arrest and the Jones vs. City of Chicago case in which a

police officer kept street files, quote/unquote, they were

called street files?

THE COURT: No, it doesn’t mean I’m not going to con-

sider those cases. It means, as I stated a moment ago, that I

don’t think you’ve created a genuine issue of [55] material

fact as to whether the officers knew they had exculpatory

evidence until the tape was enhanced. And at that point, in

fact, the officers weren’t involved in the case; it was in the

hands of the state investigator, Mr. Donovan, and the prose-

cutors. I just don’t think you’ve created a factual issue as to

whether the officers were aware of exculpatory evidence.

It’s undisputed that the tape was unclear. So I’m not

ignoring those cases, I just don’t think you’ve put forth

evidence that creates an issue for trial as to whether they

knew they had exculpatory evidence.

MR. GINZBERG: I’m a little stunned because I thought

that the videotape is clear in what it shows and Your Honor is

saying that it’s not clear, that Your Honor is assuming—not

assuming, I said the wrong word. Your Honor is taking the

point of view of what the police officer believed on Sep-

tember |8th.

THE COURT: I guess what I’m looking at is what I have

in front of me as evidence in the record. And what I have as

evidence in front of me in the record is the statements by

everyone who looked at the tape prior to it being enhanced to

the effect that the tape was unclear and it needed to be

enhanced, which was done in January or—

MS. BRAZZEL-MASSARO: January.

67a

THE COURT: Around the January time frame. And [56] it

needed to be enhanced because it was unclear.

And at that point I believe the tape being enhanced and

showing that there are no tattoos on the arms of the person

who committed the crime, it’s clear that that’s exculpatory

evidence. But before then, it’s not exculpatory evidence. And

there’s no evidence that any defendant in this case had a basis

for knowing that.

MR. WEINSTEIN: Except for the gross difference in

physical appearance, the 6’1”, 200—

THE COURT: We’re talking about the tape now.

MR. WEINSTEIN: I beg your pardon?

THE COURT: I’m dealing with the tape now and want to

make sure I’ve finished with that. You want to come back and

talk about the physical appearance, we can talk about that

next.

So my answer is, I’m not ignoring those cases. I’m just

saying the point in time at which there is a discovery that

there’s exculpatory evidence is in January. And at that point

none of these defendants are involved in the case.

MR. GINZBERG: And I guess—

THE COURT: In the criminal case, that is.

MR. GINZBERG: So Your Honor is saying that what the

police officers’ subjective opinion was about what the: tape

showed really governs.

[57] THE COURT: No. Because it wasn’t just the officers.

The question is: What does the evidence in the case show

was discernible from the videotape? And the evidence in the

case is the statements of the officers. I have the tape, a cutout

from the tape here myself. I also have the statements of Mr.

Donovan, the state inspector, and I have in the record before

68a

me the statements of the prosecutor. And that’s the only

evidence that I have as to what you could discern from the

tapes. With that evidence, the only conclusion that you can

draw is that you cannot tell that the person who robbed

the store did not have tattoos based on that surveillance

videotape.

MR. GINZBERG: I think that Your Honor said that we

were going to deal with the videotape and what the officers

believed on September 18th about that videotape. And now

Your Honor’s going into the Donovan portion of the case

which came about in January of 03.

THE COURT: I only went there in response to your

question.

MR. GINZBERG: I attempted to discuss what Your Honor

raised, which was let’s deal with the videotape. And the

statement that I made to Your Honor for comment was,

“You’re taking the police officers’ subjective opinion about

what the tape revealed as of [58] September 18th, ’02.” And

Your Honor said, “No, I’m considering the Donovan portion

of it.”

The Donovan portion of it didn’t come about until January

of ’03. I think the Donovan portion of it is irrelevant to our

discussion now about the videotape. I’m talking specifically

about the videotape. And what I’m hearing from Your Honor

is that you’re taking the position that the police officers’

perception of those videotapes is what governs.

THE COURT: No. The question I thought we were

discussing, the argument that was made which was that there

was a duty to disclose information that exonerated Mr. Russo.

That’s where this part of the discussion started. And my

analysis was that there was no indication that there was

evidence that exonerated Mr. Russo until the enhanced

tape was prepared in January of 2003. That’s what we were

discussing.

69a

MR. GINZBERG: Okay. Within that compartment, the

only way that Your Honor could come to that point of view

would be by looking at the videotape. And on September 18,

‘02, if one were to look at the videotape, one would have seen

exonerating evidence. And that was not turned over.

THE COURT: What’s your factual basis for saying that—

point to me, point out to me something in the [59] record that

supports that conclusion. That’s where I’m hung up on

accepting your argument. What’s in the record that supports

that conclusion?

MR. GINZBERG: That the videotapes shows—

THE COURT: Was exonerating evidenc

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.