Petition for a Writ of Certiorari — Central Pacific R. Co. v. Alameda County

Supreme Court brief1932

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

“UF ee f° © tuspk

ees a rie

a ' Sd ae, OHARLZS Conuid om

7 ‘INTHE. “e .

Supreme Court of the United States

OcToBER ‘Term, 1931.

_

CENTRAL Paciric Raruway Company, a corporation, and

SourHern Paciric Company, a corporation, Pe-

titioners and Appellants below,

Vs.

County or ALAMEDA, a body politic and corporate, ~

Cuas. W. Hever, Ratpu Ricumonp, Jonny F. Mvt.°

LINS, RepMonp C. Sraats and ILLIAM J. Hamu.’

TON, Members of the Boarp or Supervisors oF

Sai Country, John’ Doe Corporation, Richard

Roe ‘Corporation, John Smith, Thomas Brown,

James Coe, Joseph Hoe, Edward Poe, Robert

Crow and Frederick Stow, Respondents and Re- —

spondents below. :

PETITION FOR WRIT OF GERTIORARI TO THE q

SUPREME COURT OF THR STATE OF .

CALIFORNIA AND BRIEF IN- SUPPORT

THEREOF. .

F ©. F.R. Oainpy,

1422 F. Street, N. W..

J __ Washington, D. ©.

Frank Tuunen, |

‘ a 65 Market Street, —

/ . San Francisco, Calif.

; Attorneys for Petitioners.

Guy V. SHovp,

65 Market Street, .

.San Francisco, Calif.

-Of Counsel.

Press or Byron 8. Apams, WasHINGTOon, D. CO,

s

ese

o..

~__

i %

INDEX,

Page

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI.. 1

Suthmary Statement of Matter Involved...... 2

Reasons far Allowance of be een 4

Prayer for Writ...... Pe Seen Tree 4°

' BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF PETITION FOR

_. WRIT.OF CERTIORARI............... 6

Opinion of the Court Below, 81 Cal. Dee, 652,

TUE en REET TC eT ena 6

WUE: ch0 8 Fw ankexhkvas dovuwaceens one 6

Statement of the Case ................... yo

Specification of os ad OTE re eI 12

Summary of the Argument. Tlie e re eT Teer ye 13

it ig ces gE PRO rn ne ae 13

1, The. Effect of the Act of Congress Approved

March 3, 1875 (18 Stat. 482) as Amenda-

tary. of Special Grants Theretofore Made

by Congress Has Been Considered by this

Court Favorably to Petitioners’ Conten-

tion. It Was not Within the Intent or the

Power of Congress to Impair Vested Title. 14

Authorities: | 2G *

Railway Company vs. Alling (Oct. Term.

1878) 99 U. 8. 463, 479 ............. 15

Sinking Fund Cases, 99 U. S. 700, 719,

WEF $55 o0 tndveadcobiessi te UL. 14.

sUnion Pacific R. R. Co. vs. Laramie

Stock Yards, 231 U. §. 190, 200 ...... 18

ii Index Continued. _

Union Pacific R. R. Co. vs. Snow, 231 U.

RR er ee gee eee

United States vs. Denver & Rio Grande

Railway, 150 U. S. 1, 10 ......... ee

Act of June 8, 1872 (17 Stat. 399) .....

Act of March 3, 1875 (18 Stat. 463) ....

2. The State Police Power and the Power to Ac-

quire Highway Rights by Adverse User

Could not Extend Beyond the Railroad

Company’s Power of Alienation. Prior to

May 25; 1920 (41 Stat. 621) the Railroad

Company Had no Power to Alienate Longi-

tudinal Strips of the Right of Way Ac-

quired by Congressional Grant ..........

, Authorities: -,

Barnes vs. Southern Pac. Co., 16 Fed.

tf area

‘Heilbron vs. St. Louis S. W. Ry. Co. of .

Texas, 52 Texas Civil Appeals, 575,

581 (113 S. W. 613) .......... oe;

Holland Co. vs. Nor. Pac. R, R.-Co., 208

ee SD ce ee

Holland Co. vs. Nor. Pac. R. R. Co., 214

5 5 Ree calles 0

_ Kindred vs. Union Pacific R. R. Co., 225

Pere Oe RRL

Leavenworth etc. Ry.. Co. vs. U.'S., 92

ee SS eee aon

Mulvihill vs. S. P. Co., 16 Fed. (2nd.) 100,

WY inend de anttce as tase di

' Page

a

29

21

p narahab agin oy

“4 a IA

.

1852, and April 4, 1864. ........ a ee

Index Continued. iii

eos: Page

Nadeau vs. Union Pacific R. R.Co., 253

a. So er eee 20

North.Coast Ry. vs. Nor. Pac. Ry.: Co.,

_ 48 Wash. 529, 94 Pac. 113 .......... 19

Nor. Pac. R. R. Co. vs. Smith, 171 U.S. -

ETT Pn he a

Nor. Pac. Ry. Co. vs. Townsend, .190 U.

git, Sra ee i 2

Oleott vs. Board of Supervisors, 16 Wall

Ce dbx, LWESSA GAHAN eke cad we < Siena 23

Railway Co. vs. Alling (Oet. Term 1878)

99 U. S. 463, 479 ...... oe

Sinking Fund. Cases, 99 U. S. rn 14

Southern Pac. Co. vs. Hyatt, 132 Cal. |

2M, SM, OM ..... oc... 23

United States vs. Denver & Rio Grande

sso Nessa ct. Serre ee +

Williams, Mayor, et al. vs. Aflantie

Coast Line R. Co., 17. Fed. (2nd.) 17,

_ Bere Se er ne ree 24

Interstate Commerce Act, Sec. 1 (Subdv.

ee Ser eo ees 23

_ Jones on Easements, Sec, wel, p. 232... 4

3. There Was No Federal Grant of County

Highways Prior to the Right of Way Grant

of July 1, 1862, Nor Until Four Years

- Thereafter. The County of: Alameda Did

Not Adopt the Traveled Way. asa County

Road. Any Claim of the County to the |

Traveled Way Was Renounced by the

State in the Legislative Acts of May 1,

iv . Index Continued.

Page

Authorities : :

Railroad Co. vs. Baldwin,. 103 U. S. 426 28

Town of Red Bloff vs. Walbridge, 15

Cal. App. 770 ....... ee en yas 26

Tucson Consolidated Copper (Co. vs.

Reese (Ariz.), 100 Pac. 777, 778 . 28

Act of July 1, 1862 (12 Stat. 489) Sec. 12. 8

California Statute of April 26, 1858,

eerie vevars st aearees. Fieacue: 28

Conclusion . _ i ee Oe ee oe a ee a eee ‘ eee e eee eeee 29

TABLE OF CASES CITED.

Barnes vs. Southern Pacific Company, 16 Fed.

(2nd.) 100, 104° ..2.:.......000.. ee rent 25

Carlson vs. Curtis, 234 U. S. 103 ............... 10

- Dana vs. Dana, 250 U. S. RAS biNkoesboteee es - 10

Erie R. R. Co. vs. Hamilton, 248 U. B. 360 ...... 10

Gauthier vs. Morrison, 232 U. S, 452 .......... 10

Grayson vs. Harris, 267 U. S. ae eae 10

| oe tye iis 10.

Heilbron vs. St. Louis S. W. ~ Co. of Texas, 52

Texas Civil Appeals, 575, 581 (113 S. W. 613) 26

Holland Co. vs. Nor. Pac. R. R. Co.,°208 Fed. 598,

a ST Re ee an, TD aoe i eer ee 21

Holland Co. vs. ‘Nor. Pac. R. saa Co., 214 Fed. 920,

AS huwna Kalnnkie ry Ug, Ones Von 4

Jordan vs. Tashiro, ee ee ec 10

Kindred vs. Union Pacific R. R. Co., 225 U. S.,

‘MEE Sake eh oho ChE Ee Sev IE a oe esos bk, 20

. Knights of Pythias vs. Meyer, 265 U. S. 30. 10

Leavenworth ete. Ry. Co. vs. U. S., 92 U.S. 733,

oie ee, Patan 21

SPD Weiwtahpscerevae I ts 8h ta ae es nes

Index Continued. A.

Page

Missouri Valley Land Co. vs. Wiese, 208 U. S. 234 10

Missouri Valley Land Co. vs. Wrich, 208 U. S. 250 10

Mulvihill vs. S. P. Co., 16 Fed. (2nd.) 100, 104 25

Nadeau vs. Union Pacific R. R. Co., 253 U. S. 442 20

North Coast Railway vs. N orthern Pacific Ry.

Co., 48 Wash. 529,94 Pac. 113... 19

Northern Pacific R. Co. vs. Colburn, 164 U. S. 383 10

Nor, Pac. R. R. vs. Smith, 171 U. S. 261, 275 roa M8

‘Nor. Pac. Ry. vs, Townsend, 190 U. S. 267, 271. .4, 22

Olcott vs, Board of Supervisors, 16 Wall. 678 23

Railroad Co. vs. Baldwin, 103 U. S..426-...:.. -. 28

Railway Co. vs. Alling, (Oct. Term 1878) 99 U. S. |

. re A Te Oe rae -» of, 15

Sinking Fund Cases, 99 U. §. 700, 719, 757... .4, 14, 20

Southern Pacific Co. vs. Hyatt, 132 Cal. 240, 242,

< oveueay OS oi tere eee ie Ra 23

Southern Pacific Co, va. Wehuyler. 227 U. S. 601,

ee ONE nee poe arie ed ar ating: 10

Town of Red Bluff vs, Walbridge, 15 Cal. App. ~

a ane ae Rey oui tial De 26

Tueson . Consolidated Copper Co. vs Reese,

(Ariz.) 100 Pace. 777, 778 Le eee Tee TT eee ror ©

Union Pacifie R: R. Co. vs. Laramie Stock Yards, x

231 U. S. 190, 200 ........ See ee eames ous 18

Union Pacifie R. R. Co. vs. Snow, 231 U. 8. 204 18

United States vs, Denver & Rio Grande Railway, )

me 8... eos cans. i ee 4, 17, 20

Williams, Mayor, et al. vs. Atlantic Coast R. R.

Co., 17 Fed. (2nd.) 17... Pe mite ..4, 24

\ 5

TABLE OF STATUTES AND COURT RULE.

: | Page

Act of July 1, 1862 (12 Stat. 489) Sec. 12 ...:.. 9

Act June 8, 1872 (17 Stat. 08) ..... eed tae eae 15

Act March 3, 1875 (18 Stat: 482) ......°.... 3, 14

Act May 25, 1920 (41 Stat. ee 6,13

California Code Civil Procedure, Secs. 939, 940 3

. California Constitution, Art. VI, See. 2........ 3

Cal. Stats. 1852, ae re 10

Cal. Stat. April 26, 1858, See. 1 .....005.,...... 28

Cal. Stats. 1863-1864, p. 471 2.0... 10

Cal. Supreme Court Rule XXX,,See. Fo... 3

Interstate Commerce Act, Sec. 1 (Subdv. mw...

Judicial Code See, i eke 8

RB. S. Se0.2477 0... ccc, Pipa 9

U.S. C. A. Title 28, Sec. 344(b) ...:..0..... or

< TEXTBOOK. ©

Jones on Easements, Sec. 281, EID o bccadescks 4, 24

a. ca

. ’ IN THE ,

Supreme Court of the Burited States

Ocroser TERM, 1931,

No.: ——__—-

Centra Pactric Rattway Company, a corporation, and

SoutHern Pactric Company, a corporation, Pe-

titioners and Appellants. below; 7

vs. |

County oF ALAMEDA, a body politic and corporate,

Roe Corporation, John Smith, Thomas Brown,

James Coe, Joseph Hoe, Edward Poe, Robert

Crow and. Frederick Stow, Respondents and Re-

es

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE op

CALIFORNIA AND BRIEF IN SUPPORT

, -To the ‘Honorable Charles Evans Hughes, Chief

Justice of the United States, and the Associate

Justices of the Supreme Court of the United States:

Your petitioners respectfully show:

2

| Bom ;

SUMMARY STATEMENT OF MATTER

- . "INVOLVED. | .

_» That the Supreme Court’ of the State of California

is the highest court of Jaw .and equity in said state;

that the judgment of said: court hereinafter mentioned

is a final judgment, and presents a federal question

reviewable by this court on certiorari, as hereinafter:

particularly .pointed out. va ae

This was a statutory proceeding to quiet title, °

‘ brotight by. petitioners in the Superior Court of the

State of California in and for the respondenf county —

-of Alameda. The case involved respondents’ asser-

tion of right to maintain certain county roads en-

croaching longitudinally upon the railroad right of

way 400 feet in width granted to petitioners’ prede-

cessor, Central. Pacific Railroad Company of Cali-

fornia, by Act of Congress approved. July 1, 1862.

(12 Stat. 489.) »

The county highway encroachments were described

in the complaint in six several parcels, and the trial -

- court adjudged the fee title vested in petitioner

Central Pacific Raftway Company as to all. (R. p:

54.) As to three parcels of highway the trial court

awarded exclusive possession to petitioners, Central

Pacific Railway Company as owner and Southern

Pacific Company as lessee and operator of the rail-

road. (R. p.' 61.)

The remaining three parcels of highway are por-'

tions of a public. county road extending through a |

three-mile pass in the hills of Alameda County, known .

as Niles Canyon. (See Defendants’ Exhibit D, being

_& portion of topographic sheet of the’ Pleasanton

3

Quadrangle United States Geological Survey, R. opp.

p. 1382.) As to these three parcels the trial court

found Central Pacific Railway Company’s title quali-.

fied by section 2 of the Act of Congress approved

March 3, 1875 (18 Stat. 482) being the general act

granting railroad rights of way through the public

domain. (R. pp. 61-62. )

_ Petitioners appealed as of right (California Code “

of Civil -Procedure, sections 939, 940) to the State

rom that part of the judgment hold-

ing the righ y title qualified by the Act of

March 3, 1875.°“Phe Supreme Court of California on

April 27, 1931, affirmed the judgment below. (R. p.

- ..199.) Petition for. rehearing was filed by the peti-

tioners here, and denied. (R. p. 200.) The judgment

of the Supreme Court became final May 27, 1931.

(Constitution of California, Article VI, Section 2;

California Supreme Court Rule XXX, Section 1.) -

In affirming the judgment the Supreme Court of

the State held (1) that this railroad right of way

granted by special act of Congress is amenable to

the police power of the state for longitudinal high-

way encroachments (R. p. 193 et seq.); (2) that the

respondent County of Alameda had acquired a right -

of way easement by adverse user (R. p. 199 et seq.) ;

(3) that the- special right of way grant of July 1,

1862, was amended by the Act of. March 3, 1875, au-

thorizing joint oecupancy of: the right of way by the

railroad and by the highway. (R. p. 199.)

4

IL.

REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE OF WRIT.

{1). The ruling of .the State Supreme Court that

the police power extends to the taking of longitu- ~

dinal. strips of railroad right of way specially granted

-by Congress is inconsistent with numerous rulings

of the Supreme Court of the United States, notably

Nor. Pac. R.'R. v. Smith, 171.U. S. 261, 275; North-

ern Pacific Ry. vs. Townsend, 190 U. S. 267.

(2). The ruling that longitudinal portions of the.

railroad right of way may be acquired by adverse

_ user is contrary to the decisions of this court above

mentioned and contrary to the general rule (Fed-

eral and State) that the continuous operation of a

railroad on the right of way forestalls adverse

rights in the general public. Williams, Mayor, et al.,

vs. Atlantic Coast R. R. Co., 17 Fed. (2nd) 17; H. 4.

€ L. D. Holland Co. vs. Nor. Pac. Ry. Co., 214 Fed.

920, 926; Jones on Easements, Sec. 281, p. 232. .

(3). The. ruling of the state court that the right

of way grant of July Ist, 1862, was, as to vested title,

qualified and diminished by the Act of March 2.

- 1875, is inconsistent with the ruling of this court in

the Sinking Fund Cases, 99 U. S. 700, 719, 757 ; Rail-

way Co.*vs. Alling, 99 U. 8. 463, 479; United States

vs. Denver &.Rio Grande Ry., 150 U.S. 1, 10.

Wherefore, your petitioners pray that a writ of

certiorari issue under the seal of this court, directed

to the Supreme Court of the State of California,

commanding said state court to certify and send to

5

this court a full and complete transcript of the record

and of the proceedings of the said State Supreme

Court had in’ the case designated and entitled on its

docket S.. F. No. 13041, Central Pacific Railway Com-

pany et al., Plaintiffs and Appellants, vs. County of

Alameda, et al., Defendants and Respondents, to the

end that this cause may be reviewed and determined

by this court, as provided by the statutes of the

United States; and that the judgment therein of said

State Supreme Court be reversed by this court, and

for such further relief as to this court may seem:

proper. — 3 %

- Dated: July 10, 1931. ae

| C. F.’R. Oamsy, |

Frank THUNEN,

. Attorneys for Petitioners.

Guy V. Sxouvp, | ry

Of Counsel.

6

BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF PETITION FOR WRIT

OF CERTIORARI.

I. |

OPINION OF THE COURT BELOW.

The opinion in the Supreme Court of the State of

California (R. p. 187 et seq.) is reported in 81 Cal.

Dec. page 652; QQ Pac. Rep. 7 J

|

JURISDICTION.

- (1). The date of the decision to be reviewed is April

27, 1931 (R. p. 187) which became final under the

state constitution (Art. VI,-See. 2) and the rule of

the-Supreme Court (Rule XXX, Sec. 1) on May 25,

1931. (R. p. 200.) es ;

(2). The statutory provision which is believed to

sustain the jurisdiction of this court is Judicial Code

Section 237(b); U. S. C. A. Title 28, Section -344(b).

This is a case where a railroad right of way title is

specially claimed by petitioners under a federal stat- -

ute (12 Stat. 489), and the court below has held that

claim invalid in part by reason of the following:

(a) an assumed retroactive amendment by a later

federal statute (18 Stat. 482) a question not hereto-

_fore in specific terms decided by this court, though

’ applicable decisions indicate a rule to-the contrary ;

(b) exercise of police power infringing federal ‘inter-

est and against the rule of federal decision; (c) ad- |

_ verse user to the same effect. |

7

(3). The facts showing that the nature of the case

and the ruling below were such as to bring the case

within the jurisdictional provisions relied upon are

briefly these: = : :

(a). The railroad right of way is claimed by peti-

tioners directly under Congressional grant of July 1,

1862. : (12 Stat. 489.) The State Supreme Court,

affirming the judgment of the trial court, held (R.. p.-

“>

189) :

~ “In 1865 Congress enacted the so-called Pacific

Land Grant Act, whereby the Central Pacific

Railroad Company was granted a right_of way

400 feet wide over and across government lands

in California to the Pacific coast, for the purpose

of constructing along the center thereof a rail-

road and telegraph line to serve as a link in the

first transcontinental railroad. Part of the route

selected by said company was through the Niles

canyon, which was ‘then unappropriated public

land.’’ °

And the Supreme Court has concluded with the

trial court (R. p. 190): |

-

‘*The trial court’s conclusions of law were that

the Central Pacific Railway Company is the

owner of the paramount title in fee to the land

now occupied said highway and lying within

the boundaries of said 400-foot right of way,

‘subject to an easement in favor of defendant

County of Alameda by. reason of necessity to

maintain its present right of way for highway

purposes * * * subject, however, to the terms. -

and conditions of that part of section 2 of the

Act of Congress approved March 3, 1875, entitled

q

8,

‘An act granting to railroads the right of way

through the public lands of the United States”’

(18 Stat. 482), declaring ‘‘and the location of

such right of way through any canyon, pass or

‘defile shall not cause the disuse of any wagon

or other public highway located therein, nor

prevent the location through the same of. any

such wagon road or highway where such road

or highway may be necessary for. the public

accommodation; and where any change in the.

location of such wagon road is necessary to per-

mit the passage of such railroad through any

canyon, pass or defile, said railroad company

- shall, before entering upon the ground occupied

by such wagon road, cause the same to be re-

constructed at its own expense in the most favor-

able location and in as perfect a manner as the

original road.’’’ ”’ :

(b). In addition to the foregoing assumed retro-

active amendment of the Act of July 1st, 1862, by

the Act of March 3, 1875, the State Supreme Court

has found the grant of July 1st, 1862, further quali-

fied by general law subjecting longitudinal portions

of such rights of way to be taken for highway pur- .

poses by condemnation under the state police power.

The ‘opinion in this regard recites (R. p. 193):

‘‘Moreover, it has been consistently held that

-° in eases of public necessity such rights of way

are at all times amenable to the police . power .

_ Of ‘the state and subject: to the State’s right of

eminent domain, provided that in the. exercise

thereof the special purpose of the grant to the

railroad is not: thereby impaired.’’ :

Upon this same point the state court says further,

citing certain other state cases (R. p. 195) :

‘9

“It is, therefore, held here that the petitioner

. May invoke*the power of eminent domain- to

acquire a longitudinal part of claimant’s right of

way if the showing as to the necessities of the

two companies in the interest of the public ser-

vice is sufficient to warrant it.’ i

(c). The State Supreme Court has found a third

limitation: upon the right *of way title, that the 400

foot width may be diminished by adverse user. Upon

this point the opinion recites (R. p. 199): )

‘“But even assuming that the act of 1875 does

‘not so apply, the county is nevertheless clearly

entitled to a decree under the doctrine of adverse

user, establishing its easement in those portions

of the right of way now occupied by its highway,

leaving for further determination the question

of the superior need of those portions of the

right of way, in case appellants should. claim

that the same were essential to the convenient

operation of its railroad.’’ | |

(d). Respondents’ claim also rests upon a federal

question. The Supreme Court holds (R: p. 188):

‘‘For approximately seventy years the county’

of Alameda maintained a public highway

through and ali. bottom of the Niles canyon

from Niles to Sun®. It was laid out and declared

to be such by the county in 1859; and has since

served as one of the main arteries of travel be--

tween, the bay regions of southern Alameda

.« County and the Livermore valley.’’

'» This statement is challenged by petitioners upon the

federal issue that until J uly 26, 1866 (R. S. See. 2477)

bg was no authority from Congress by which the

ebunty could acquire a right of way over the public

* 10

Ps

.domain. The railroad right of ‘way title was then

perfect.

(e). A further and incidental questioh is presented _

in that the jegislature of the state of California on

May 1, 1852, memorialized Congress for .this trans-

continental railroad as a measure of self-protection,

and granted to the federal government a right of way

therefor. (Cal. Stats. 1852, p. 150.) On April 4, 1864,

the state legislature ratified the congressional railroad

right of way grant of J uly Ist, 1862. (Cal. Stats. 1863- ,

1864 p. 471.) These legislative enactments rise above

any claim by the county and feed petitioners’ claim

under the federal statute. The recital last quoted

is further challenged by petitioners upon the evi-

dence, the findings of the trial court, and local law.

(4). The cases believed to sustain

of this court to review said: cause on certiorari are as

follows: Jordan. vs. Tashiro, 278 U.

vs. Harris, 267 U. S. 352; Knights

Meyer,.265 U. S: 80; Dana vs. Dana, 250 U. S. 220;

Erie R. R. Co. vs. Hamilton, 248 UU.

vs. Curtis, 234 U. 8. 103; Gauthier y

ITT.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE.

The facts underlying the primary issues are stated

in the petition and in the foregoing

8. Morrison, 232

U.S. 452; Southern Pacifié Co. vs. Schuyler, 227 U. 8:

601, G11; Missouri Valley Land Co.

' .U. S. 234; Same vs. Wrich, Id. 250 : |

a Canal Co. vs. Patten Paper Co., 172 U. 8. 58; North-

: ern Pacific R. Co. vs. Colburn, 164 U.

the jurisdiction

S. 123; Grayson

of Pythias vs.

S. 369; Carlson

vs. Wiese, 208

Green Bay etc.

S. 383.

portions of this

i,

11

the board in November, 1858,. survey No. 247 was

made by the board and filed in May, 1859; and that

after due notice and hearing the board declared the

road as surveyed and located to be a public highway

and directed ‘that it be opened forthwith.’’

The local law provided (Cal. Stats. April 3 T5

that no road shall be considered a public ighway

that line was glever opened, Most of the travel was

in the bed of the creek. (R. p. 113.) Crossings were

fs

Supervisors of the defendant County of: Alameda _

March 27, ‘1911, or whether - the highway actually

.- BB

traveled prior to 1911 followed: the line of survey

No. 247 for any distance whatever.’’ (R. p. 50.)

The Supreme Court says upon this point: ‘‘In 1910

or thereabouts, on account of the flood waters of the _

creek, the county was obliged to reconstruct much of

its highWay, and in doing so it moved a considerable:

stretch, lying about midway between Stony Brook and

Sunol, within the railroad right of way and on the

north side of the creek, to the south side of the creek

and outside of the right of way.’’ (R. p. 189.)

Vv... |

SPECIFICATION OF ERRORS.

1. The court erred in holding that the Act of July

1, 1862, was retroactively amended and qualified by

the Act of March 3rd, 1875, as to petitioners’ vested

title. rn

2. The court erred in holding that the police power

of the state extends to the appropriation of longi-

tudinal strips of land within the boundaries of the

right of way 400 feet in width granted by the Act.

of July 1, 1862. —

3. The court erred in holding that respondents had

acquired the right/by adverse user to maintain a

county road paralleling and within the boundaries of

the railroad right of way granted by the Act of

July 1, 1862. . .

4, The court erred in holding. that the respondent

-Céunty of Alameda could acquire any highway right

prior to the highway grant of July 26, 1866 (R. S.

13

Sec. 2477) ; or that it could acquire any license which

was not defeated ‘by the Act of Congress approved

July 1, 1862. -

5. The court erred in holding that the way traveled

through Niles Canyon at or prior to the time of the

railroad right 6f way grant was ever adopted by the

board of supervisors of Alameda County as a publi»

highway. ‘ :

| V.

’ SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMEN ‘A

1. The effect of the Act of Congress Approved -

March '3, 1875 (18 Stat. 482) as Amendatory of Spe-

cial .Grants theretofore Made by Congress Has Been

Considered by this Court Favorably tu Petitioners’

Contention. It was not within the Intent or ‘the

Power of Congress to Impair Vested Title.

2. The State Police Power and the Power té Ac-

_. quire Highway Rights by Adverse User Could not’

Extend beyond the Railroad Company’s Power of:

Alienation. Prior to May 25, 1920 (41 Stat. 621) the

Railroad Company Had No Power to Altenate Longi-

tudinal Strips of the Right of Way Acquired by Con-

gressional Grant. -

3. There Was No Federal Grant of County High-

ways Prior to the Right of Way Grant of July ‘1,

1862, nor until Four Years thereafter. The County

of Alameda Did not Adopt the Traveled Way as a

County Road. Any Claim of the County to the

Traveled Way Was. Renounced by the State in the

Legislative Acts of May 1, 1852, and April 4, 1864,

Fe

<a REO 47,

o

VI.

ARGUMENT.

1.

The Effect of the Act of Congress Approved March

3, 1875 (48 Stat. 482), as Amendatory of Special

Grants Theretofore Made by Congress Has Been Con-

sidered by this Court Favorably to Petitioners’ Con-

tention. It was Not Within the Intent or the Power

of Congress to Impair Vested Title.

6

We have said under this point that this. court has °

not heretofore in specific terms decided ‘the question

whether the Act of March 3rd, 1875, constituted a

retroactive amendment ‘of previous special grants in

cases where the title was, vested prior to March: 3rd,

1875.. There are cases from this cowrt, however, which

seem’ to compel a ruling that the Act of March 3rd,

‘1875, cannot be construed as an amendment. of the

Act of July 1, 1862, so as to diminish the.'right of

way here in question. Certainly there is nothing in.

the act of 1875. purporting to modify or prejudice

- any-prior grant; nor is it conceivable that congress

could have qualified- the grant. of July Ist, 1862; as

to vested right-of way. had congress so desired. The

| Sinking Fund Cases, 99 U.S. ‘700, 719, 757, are among.

the first to decide this principle.’ We find in the lari-

guage of Mr. Chief Justice Waite, at page 719 of that

opinion a very persuasive statement in line with our

contention :

‘“‘The United States are as pried bound by their

contracts as are individuals. If they repudiate

their obligations, it is as much repudiation, -with

all the —e and reproach that term implies, as .

>

15

it would be if the repudiator had been a state or

* . a municipality~or a citizen. No change can be

* made in,the title created by the grant of the

lands, or in the contract for the subsidy bonds, .

« without the consent of the corperation. All this |

is indisputable.’’ |

There were dissenting views on certain points, but

apparently there was no dissent upon the integrity

of the vested title. The foregoing quotation occurs

in the main opinion, and the bénch seems to have

' béen efitirely agreed upon the proposition that the

grant vested title indefeasible except upon.breach of

' the implied condition that the grant would be exer-

_eised for the. purpose intended. Mr. Justice Field

says upon the same ‘point at page 757, that so far as ~

the title is concerned, the contract between the gov-

ernment and the railroad company was an executed .

and closed transaction, and that the title was as much

‘beyond the reach of the government as any other.

property vested in private proprietorship.

Cases are limited where the specific issue of title

was presented; we have found none where the ques-

tion-involved right of way vested prior:to March 3rd,

1875. There is a case where the special right of way

grant preceded. the Act of March 3rd, 1875, but the

title was not claimed, and the grant was subiect to

forfeiture, on March 38rd, 1875. Railway Company vs.

Alling (Oct. Term 1878) 99 U. S, 463, 479. That case

had to do with the following facts:

Congress on June 8, 1872 (17 Stat. 399) granted

to Denver and Rio Grande Railway Company a right

of way, conditioned that the grentee should complete

its road to a point on the Rio Grande as far south

‘as Santa Fe within five years, and complete each

e:

16

year thereafter fifty miles additional south of that

point. “The road was not completed to Santa Fe

within the allotted period, and on -March 3, 1877,

Congress amended ‘the grant of June 8, 1872, extend-

ing the period to ten years from the original act to .

complete the road as far south as Santa Fe. In the

meantime, and after the approval of the. Act of

March 3, 1875, Caiion City and San Juan. Railway

Company asserted its claim under the latter act to

occupy the Grand Canon of the Arkansas. Mr.

Justice Harlan, expressing the opinion of the court,

said at page-479: ioe

‘‘Our next inquiry is as to.the extent to which

the rights of the Denver Company were ‘affected

or modified by the act of ‘March 3, 1875. . When

that act was passed, its grant of the right of way

by the act of Jyne 8, 1872, had not been acted

upon as to the Grand Cafion of the Arkansas.

There had not been, on March 3, 1875, an actual

location of its line through that defile, nor any

occupancy thereof, in good faith, for the pur-

pose of constructing its road. -The five years

originally given to that company, within which

to complete its railway, to a point on the Rio

Grande as far south as Santa Fe, expired on the © “7

8th of June, 1877.° Before, however, the expira-

tion of that period, the time was extended to ten

years from the passage of the original act. Now,

it is solely by reason of such extension that the

Denver Company had the right, on the 19th of ©

April, 1878, to take possession of the Grand

Cafion, and prepare for the final location and

construction of ‘its road through that pass.

When, therefore, it accepted the benefits of ‘the

Act of March 3, 1877, it must be held to have

assented to the provisions of the Act of March

; an

3, 1875, whereby it was declared in:the interest

of the ‘public, ‘that any other railroad company

duly. organized under the laws of any State or

‘Territory might use and occupy the cafion, for

the purpose of itssroad, in common with the road.

first located.’’

The reasoning of the court necessarily accepts the °

hypothesis that the Denver Company by reason of

its default had no rights whatsoever in. the Grand

- Cafion of the Arkansas on March 3, 1875. Congress

could and did waive the forfeiture and imposed upon —

the ‘grant the further restrictions of oe Act of

March 3, 1875.

Our construction of this decision is reinforced by

ellony: 150 U. 8.1, 10. In that case the curse

‘challenged the right of Denver & Rio Grande Rail-

way Company to avail itself of the incidental benefits —

of the Act of March 3, 1875, because the company

having accepted the specia] grant of June 8, 1872, ~

subsisting at the time of the passage of the Act of |

March 3, 1875, could not rightfully claim the benefits -

of the latter act. The court said, at page 10:

-.“In that case the Denver Company (the de-

fendant in error here) had in 1871 and 1872

merely made a preliminary survey of its tine

- through the Grand Cajion of the Arkansas, but

had postponed the actual location and firial ap-

propriation of its roadway through that defile ©

until April, 1878, at which date it was subject to —

_ the provisions of the Act of 1875 (the second

section of which conferred upon other roads the

right, upon certain terms and conditions, to use

its track or roadway through such defiles), for

ao

18

, ios

the reason that after the passage of that act the

Denver .Company. had accepted the benefit. of

the Act of March 3, 1877, extending the time for

the completi8n of its road to Santa Fe, which

extension the court assumed would hardly have

been given by Congress except subject to the

conditions contained in the Act of 1879. Being :

subject to the provisions of the law, as con--

tained in the second section of the act of 1875,

while in the exercise of its rights under’ the act

of 1872, as amended by the act of 1877, in no way

«prevented the railway company. from complying

with its conditions and securing the benefits con-

ferred by the first section of the act of 1875.’’

Otherwise-expressed, the right of way grant to the

Denver Company was in a sense executory on March

3, 1875, by reason of condition broken. The grantee

was bound to accept its new privileges subject to ex:

isting lew. But such is’ not the case before this

court. Here there was no ‘preach of condition, no

failure to perform: on the part of the railway com-

pany. The road was constructed long. prior to the

Act of March 3rd, 1875. ‘.

The opinion below purports to find support for °

retrospective’ amendatory operation of the Act of

March 3rd, 1875, in the wholly irrelevant act of con-—

gress approved June 24, 1912, ratifying certain right

of way deeds executed by the Union Pacific Railroad

Company. The opinion cites Union Pacific R. R. Co.

vs. Laramie Stock Yards, 231 U.S. 190, 200, and Umon

Powific R. R. Co. vs. Snow, Id. 204, and the opinion

- erroneously declares the effect of these decisions as

follows:

.

°

+s : . oad Ca

-

1y

“‘On the contrary it appears therefrom. that in —

- 1912 Congress did enact legislation which had the

direct effect of depriving the. Union Pacific R. R. |

Co. of certain unused portions of the rights of

way previously granted to it under this very

act of 1862, and the right of Congress so to do

‘ was not challenged. " (BR. p. 197.)

Contrary to the opinion of the state court, the

Supreme Court of the United States distinctly held

' that to.give the Act of June 24, 1912, a retroactive’ ,

effect ‘‘may incur the opposition of the Constitution.”’

(231 U. S. 200.)

~~ The Act of June 24, 1912, is not only irrelevant to °

the grant to Central Pacific Railroad Company of

California but irrelevant also to the purpose and ~

effect of section 2 of the Act of March 3rd, 1875.

2. .

The State Police-Power and the Power to Acquire

Highway Rights by Adverse User Could Not Extend

Beybnd the Railroad Company’s Power of Alienation.

Prior to May 25, 1920 (41 Stat. 621), the Railroad

Company Had No Power to Alienate Longitudinal -

' Strips of the Right of keine Acquired by Congres-

sional Grant.

This point of “contention bears upon the second and

third specifications of error. The state court rests

its opinion on the issue of police power in part upon

several federal decisions involving right of way cross-

ings, (R. p. 194.) For the authority to take by ~

eminent domain extended longitudinal strips the

opinion rests wholly. upon a state case, North Coast

Railway vs. Northern Pacific Railway Company, 48

20

.. Wash. 529, 94 Pac. 113 (R. p- 194) but the North

Coast-Northern Pacific case does not purport to es-

tablish a rule governing right of way titles fully

“Vested under special federal grant prior to the Act

of March 3rd, 1875. The ruling is‘nof out of harmony

with what we have- quoted from ‘the Sinking Fund

Cases and from Railway vs. Alling and U nited States

vs. Denver & Rio Grande Railway. ‘The Northern

Pacific Railroad Company claimed under the special |

‘Tight of way grant of July 2nd, 1864, but the right

of way involved in. that case was in a narrow defile,

known as ‘‘Union Gap,’’ owned by certain Indians,

and was expressly regarded by the Supreme Court of

Washington as not subject to the right of way grant.

until ceded by the Indians in 1885. The Supreme

Court of Washington has to: say upon this point

(94 Pae. 113): 7

‘That portion of the right of way here .in

question liés within said reservation, and was

- not -a part of the public lands within the mean-

- ing of the: said act of Congress, which the

United States could then absolutely grant. The |

‘reservation thereof to the Indians, therefore, re-

mained in force until the year 1885.”’

‘This decision was long before the rule established |

by this court in Nadeau vs. Union Pacific R. R. Co.,

253 U. 8. 442 and Kindred vs. Umon Pacific R. R. Co., —

225 U. S. 582, to the effect that the right ‘of way

granted by the Act of 1862 was effective in Indian

reservations. Whether the reasoning of the Supreme

Court of Washington was sound or -not under the

circumstances of that case, it is clear that the court

rested its decision upon the assumption that the”

ae 21 |

right of way did not take effect in Union Gap until

the year 1885. If the special grant of July 2nd, 1864,

did not take effect in praesenti, it did not take ‘effect

_at all (Leavenworth etc. Ry. Co. vs. U. S., 92 U.S.

733, 748-749), and the Northern Pacific Railw ay Com- °

pany kad to look to subsequent federal authority for

its right of way through Union Gap. The court may

. - well have assumed, as did this court. in the Alling

Y

case, supra, that any federal authority granted sub- .

sequent to the Act of March 3rd, 1875, was conferred

~in view of that grant and subject to its limitations.

The late Judge Rudkin. of the Ninth Federal Cir-

cuit was a member of the Supreme Bench of Wash-

_ ington when the North Coast-Northern Pacific case

was decided. It was. he who rendered the decision in

the ‘eastern district of Washington in the case of ©

Holland Co. vs. Nor. Pac, R. R. Co., 208 Fed. 098, 603..

That case denies the power of the railway company

to ahienate a longitudinal strip of its congressional

right of way .for highway purposes. The opinion

declares, page 603, that. the power of the railroad

company to dispose of any part of its right. of way

of its own volition is measured by what it may be

compelled to do under the police power of the state.

Conversely, the ‘police power of the state cannot ex-

tend beyond the power of the railroad company to

give its voluntary consent, because both propositions

- are limited in the same degree by the same federal

restriction. Nowhere in the federal statutes prior

to May 25, 1920 (41 Stat. 621) can be found any

authority for the ‘alienation for highway: purposes

of any portion of a railroad right of way ——-

by. special act of Congress. : :

22

. On appeal of the Holland case to the Circuit Court

of Appeals for the Ninth Cireuit (214 Fed. 920) the

appellate tribunal considered the authorities uphold-

ing ways laid out across the right of way, and held

at page 926:

‘(But in no substantial sense do these consid-

erations apply to the case of a street. or other

‘highway: laid out along, instead of across, the

right of way. Granting the need of a road run-

ning parallel or in, the same ‘general direction

with the railroad, there is no necessity for im-

posing the burden thereof upon the right of way. °

It is hardly probable that-the practice of so -lo-

eating a highway was common at the time: the

act was passed, and, upon the whole, it is unrea-

-sonable to suppose that Congress anticipated

that such a use would ever be made of the right

of way. It imposes a much greater burden than

a mere crossing, for. it is practically exclusive

of both possession and use by the railroad com-

pany, while a crossing only qualifies or tempo-

rarily interrupts such. possession and tse.”’

Limitation upon the company’s power of .aliena-

tion is clearly set forth in Northern Pacific Railroad

vs. Smith, 171. U. S. 261, quoted in Northern Pacific

Ry. Co. vs. Townsend, 190 U. '§. 267, 271:

‘‘Nor can it be rightfully contended that the

. portion of. the right of way appropriated was

‘not necessary for the execution of the powers

conferred by Congress, for, as said in Northern’

Pacific Railroad Co. v.. Smith, 171 U. S. 261, 275;

(18 S. Ct. 794, 799; 43 L. Ed. 157) speaking of

the very grant under consideration: ‘By grant-

ing a right of way four hundred feet in width,

Congress ‘must be understood to have conelu-

sively detertfained that a strip of that width was

23

necessary for a public work of such importance.’

Neither courts nor juries, therefore, nor the gen-

eral public, may be permitted to conjecture that

Cy a portion of such right of way is. no longer

| needed for the use of the railroad and title to it

_ has vested: in whomsoever chooses to occupy the

‘same. The whole of the granted right of way

-must be presumed to be necessary. for the pur- |

poses of the railroad, as against a claim by an

individual of an exclusive right of possession

for private purposes.’’ _

This judicial declaration doés not necessarily con-

clude the inquiry. as to concessions which might be

- made for public purposes. On the other hand. it ‘does -

not even suggest power of alienation or liability to °

loss. by adverse user for public purposes not in fur-

therance of railroad operation. Under the Interstate

Commerce Act, section 1, (Subdv. 18), a common car-

rier may not alienate or abandon any part of its

property, for any purpose without first having ob-

tained from the Interstate Commerce Commission a

certificate that the present: or future public conveni-

‘- ence and necessity will not be prejudiced.

‘The Supreme Court of California has long recog-

nized the principle clearly expressed by the Supreme

Court of the United States that a railroad right of

way is itself a public highway of a special and re-

stricted nature In Southern Pacific Company vs.

‘Hyatt, 132 Cal. 240, 242, 244, the state court quotes

from Olcott vs. Board ‘of Supervisors, 16 Wall. 678,

saying: =

“Tha » lroads, though constructed by private

corporations ana owned by them, are public high-

_ ways, has been the doctrine of nearly all the

courts ever since such conveniences for passage -

and transportation have had any existence.”’

24

' * * * “Tt ig said that railroads are not public

highway ver se; that they are only declared such

‘ by the decisions of the courts; and that they have

been declared public. only with respect to the

power of eminent ‘domain. This‘is-a mistake. In

their very nature they are public highways. It |

iteeded, no decision of courts to make them such.’’

“The same case quotes with approval (page 244) the

general rule declared in Jones ‘on Easements: . |

.. ae *

‘Jones on Easements lays down~the rule. that

the prescriptive right to a passageway~ along the ~

track or right of way of a railroad cannot be

acquired by the public, or by individuals, while

the railroad is. constantly using a single track

over such right of way. ‘The construction and

. operation of one track on its location is an as-

sertion of right to the entire width of its right of

way. The presence of one track cqnstantly in use -

- is a definite badge of ownership and the only

_ practical assertion‘ of title that can be made. If

the public has used paths by the side of the rail-

_ road track for any length of time, the use must

' be considered as permissive, and not adverse,

(Citing a long list of authorities from different —

states; Jones on Easements, sec. 281, p. 232.)°" °

The federal view point is given in Williams, Mayor, .

et al.-vs. Atlantic Coast Line R. Co., 17 Fed. (2nd.)

17, 21, that the law does not require a railroad in

- erder to preserve its right of way, to act the dog in

manger and churlishly refuse to allow the pubfic to

use a portion of its right of way for a street or

road where such portion is not then needed. The

court in’ that case enjoined the town of Mullins, South

Carolina, from laying hard surface paving on portions

of a street within the railroad right of way, notwith-

2 . , . 7

= ° . aa

. . . » . 4-0 * — % mantents ee or e Aree: atten Be

ADE eee E NRE, RS FEET Fo spree wee ade fi <4 s ae : ey wR WE

25

standing the fact that there was in that ease us legal

restriction on the company to convey or dedicate, and

the city-had used the street for half a century. (Page ..

21.) The court approved the rule, page 20, that no

right could be acquired by the town by prescription,

and on page 21, thet there was no element either of

estoppel or abandonment presented by the circum-

stances. | . ee ees ?

The views of the Cirtuit Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Cixeuit: in the Holland case, supra, are again

approved in Barnes vs. Southern Pacific Company, 16

Fed. (2nd.) 100, 104, .and Mulvihill vs. Southern

Pacific Company, 16 Fed. (2nd.) 100, 104:

‘‘Congress has .net authorized the disposition

of unused portions: of the right of way. /The

power of. the railroad company to alien e, as

well as the power of others to acquire, ayy part

thereof, is measured, not by what can b spared

from railroad uses, but by what is’ required to

-. meet such needs of the public or of individuals

as fall within the scopé of the principle already

discussed. Privileges conferred. by revocable

licenses are, of course, excluded. In such cases

the railroad company never loses its right to

possession and control.’’ » 3

We quote also from éhe Court of Civil Appeals of

the State of Texas: ees

‘‘To hold that the mere use by the public, with-

out objection, of a portion of a railway right of ©

way, and continued during the statutory period

of limitation, or for twenty years, would cause the

Af

Tailway company to lose the use of its property

» which it may need for legitimate .purposes con-

nected with its. operation, would cause unutter-

»

;

; ; seine *

men aw) os ad aie me , _ “

ae Sprains iain

Peg rT

26

‘able confusion and bring about ‘in-this state a con-

dition of affairs which would seriously interfere

with railway traffic. A railroad is-itself a pub-

lic highway, constructed and operated for the

public benefit, and some courts have gone so far

as to hold that a right by prescription, or limita- .

‘tion, cannot be acquired against a railroad to any

_portion of its right of way. SouthertrP. Ry. Co.

v. Hyatt, 54 L. RB. A., 522; Northern P. Ry. Co. v.

Smith, 171 U. S., 260; Jones on Easements, sec.

281, and authorities cited in note. There are_

many portions of railway tracks and rights of

way, especially around and near depots in cities

and large towns, where the public use the right of

way for passing to and fro continuously, and -

where such use has been kept up in some cases

far beyond the period of time necessary to create

an absolute easement—yet no court in this state

has ever treated such persons, when injured while

using the railway right of way, as i:more than

licensees.”’

Heilbron vs. St. Louis S. W. Ry. Co. of Texas,

52 Texas Civil Appeals, 575, 581 (113 Ss. W.

613).° ; .

> » &

There Was No Federal Grant of County Highways

Prior to the Right of Way Grant of J uly 1, 1862, Nor

Until Four Years Thereafter. The County of Ala-

meda Did Not Adopt the Traveled Way as a County

Road. Any Claim of the County to the Traveled Way

Was Renounced by the State in the Legislative Acts

of May 1, 1852, and April @, 1864.

The opinion below #ecognizes the lack of congrés-

_ sional authority for the county highway through

Niles Canyon. The court quotes from Town of Red

Bluff, vs. Walbridge, 19 Cal. App. 770, and says (BR.

pp. 191-192): - —

27

“AS against the federal government it (the

-» county here) could. not perhaps make a publie

“e highway over its lands without its consent or ac-

- quiescence, but the federal ‘government is not

complaining and its policy has always been to

encourage the building of highways over the

public domain, thereby facilitating its settlement

_ and use, and this policy was crystallized into a

statute passed on the 26th day of July, 1866.”’

. The court. below refers to the Niles Canyon high- ©

way as a way of necessity. (R. p. 190.) The doctrine

of ways of neeessity is foreign to the facts, there be- .

. ing no privity or other relation whatsoever between |

the railroad company andthe county. Nor is it a fact

that the topography of N iles Canyon offers any seri-

ous obstacle to modern highway construction. We

may look to the opinion itself for the statement that

in 1910 or thereabouts the county found it practical

**to reconstruct much of its highway, and in doing so

it moved a considerable stretch, lying about midway

between, Stony Brook. and Sunol, within the railroad

right of way and on the north side of the creek, to the

south side of the creek and outside of the right of

way’. (R. p. 189.), This court may judicially know,

what is matter of common knowledge, that highway

engineers today are not balked by mountains or can-

yons, and are governed as much by scenery as by

facility of construction.

The record is conclusive-that the line adopted by the

board of supervisors of Alameda County in 1859 i-

north of Alameda Creek throughout its entire distance

through the canyon. It is equally conclusive that the

way traveled was on both sides of the creek and in

considerable part in the bed of the creek. Naturally

* those seeking passage through the canyon, where no-

28

improved way existed, followed the route of easiest

‘travel. Under the statute that did not constitute the

way a public road. The California Statute of April

26, 1858, provides in section 1 that: ;

‘©All roads in.the counties of Tuolumne and

_ Alameda shall be considered as publi¢ highways,

which are now used as such, and have been de-

clared such by order of the court of sessions Or”

board of supervisors, or which may be declared

such hereafter, by the board of supervisors with-

in: their respective counties; provided, that noth-

ing in this act shall-apply to any incorporated

city or town within the counties named.”’

- The route adopted by the board of supervisors was .

never opened, and the way used was never adopted.

‘Public highways are such only as come within

thé express provisions of the statute declaring

thenf to be such, and that roads established with-

out authority of law, for the convenience of in- |

dividuals, are without any legal status either as

public highways or as private ways.”’

Tucson Consolidated Copper Co, vs. Reese

(Ariz.), 100 Pac. 777, 778. 3 .

It may be conceded that the highway act of July;

’ 26, 1866, would take immediate effect upon approval

as to highways previously laid out, if the lands tra-

versed were unappropriated public lands on the date

of the act; but that is not our case, Title to the lands

here in question had passed out of the government -

and into Central Pacific Railroad. Company of Cali-

fornia instanter upon the approval of the right of

way grant of July Ist, 1862. Railroad Co. vs. Bald-

win, 103 U.S. 426. | . ;

29

The County of Alameda is only a political subdivi-

sion of the state; its claims cannot rise above the

sovereign right. We have quoted the State’s memo-

rial of May 1, 1852, to Congress petitioning for this

very transcontinental railroad as a matter of self-

interest and granting to the federal: government a

right of way to that end. We have also cited the Act ©

of April 4, 1864, whereby the state ratified and ap- _

proved the grant made to petitioners’ predecessor

on July 1, 1862. ,

ment retains a vital interest in maintaining its in-

tegrity. Section 12 of the grant provides in part

that ‘‘the whole line of said railroad and branches

and telegraph shall be operated and used ‘for all pur-

poses of communication, travel, and transportation, so

far as the public and government are concerned, as’

one connected, continuous line?’, The federal govern-

ment is directly interested in the question whether

_ the county may as a matter of right appropriate to its

own exclusive use essential portions of the right of

way. , oe

‘

CONCLUSION.

It is therefore respectfully submitted that the

_ Inerits of this case rest essentially upon federal ques-

tions calling for the exercise by this court of its

supervisory powers, and that: a writ Gf certiorari.

‘

30

should issue to the end that this court may. review

and reverse the decision of the court below.

Dated July 10, 1931:

C. F. R. Oaiisy, ;

1422 F Street, N. W:, —

Washington, D. C.

PRANK THUNEN, .

65 Market Street,

San Francisco, Calif.

| Attorneys for Petitioners.

Guy V. SxHovp,

65 Market Street,

San Francisco, Calif.

Of Counsel.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.