Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Murdoch v. Castro

Supreme Court brief2011

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

IN THEIL:

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

CHARLES FRANKLIN MURDOCH, JR...

Petitioner,

ROY CASTRO, WARDEN, AND

KDMUND G. BROWN, JR., ATTORNEY GENERAL

OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

Respondents

On Petition For Writ of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

for The Ninth Crreuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

STEVEN M. KLEPPER* SEYMOUR |. AMSTER

KRAMON & GRAHAM, PLA LAW OFFICES OF SEYMOUK I

ONE SOUTH STREET AMSTER

SUITE 2600 6420 VAN NUYS BOULEVARD

BALTIMORE, MARYLAND SUITE 300

21202 VAN NUYS, CALIFORNIA

(410) 752-6030 QAO

sklepper@kg-law.com (818) 947-0104

* Counsel of Record AttyAmster@aol.com

COUNSEL FOR PETITIONER

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

In /larrington v. Richter (No. 09-587), argued

October 12, 2010, this Court requested that the

parties bnef and argue the question of whether

AKDPA deference applies to a state court’s summary

disposition of a claim. Regardless of how this Court

resolves Aichter, Petitioner requests certiorari

whether to address a division of authority that hkely

will remain unresolved, or at least to summanily

vacate and remand for further consideration

Petitioner independently seeks certrorart with

respect to the Ninth Circuit's holding, following

Kighth Circuit cases, that this Court has opened the

B I

door to state law pnivileges) trumping — the

Confrontation Clause of the Sixth Amendment. The

questions are as follows:

1. Does AEDPA deference apply to a state court

opinion addressing only the petitioner's state law

claims, without mention of the petitioner's Federal

law claims, including claims under the

Confrontation Clause of the Sixth Amendment?

2. Did Swidler & Berlin v. United States, 524

U.S. 399, 118 S. Ct. 2081, 141 L. Md. 2d 379 (1998),

abrogate this Court’s Confrontation Clause decisions

holding that only an accuser’s Fifth Amendment

privilege against. selffincrimination can bar cross

examination regarding matters relevant to the

)

accuser’s bias? If not, is Petitioner entitled to a writ

of habeas corpus?

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Che parti to this proceeding are Pet

Charles Franklin Murdoch I) ind Respondent

MHdmund G. Brown, Ji \ttorney General of tl!

state of California, and Roy Cast: Ward

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Pape

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING 1

TABLE OF CONTENTS 1)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES vi

OPINIONS BELOW

JURISDICTION

PERTINENT CONSTITUTIONAL AND

STATUTORY PROVISIONS

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

\. Murdoch's Conviction

8. State Appeals 6

C. Proceedings Below

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ~

| AKDPA DEFERENCE CANNOT

\PPLY WHERE CIRCUMSTANCES

DEMONSTRATE THAT THE STATE

COURT OVERLOOKED THE

KFEDERAL CLAIM S

A. This Case Has Created a Circuit

Spht That Would Remain If the

Court Rules for the State in AycArer S

B. The Cahfornia Courts Overlooked

Murdoch’s Federal Claim 1O

TABLE OF CONTENTS (Continued)

Page

C. Ifthe Court Rules Against the State

on “Silent Denial’ Grounds | in

Richter, Vhis Case Provides’ an

Opportunity for a Broader Ruling.......... 13

D. If the Court Rules More Broadly

Against the State in AcAter,

Summary Rehefon Certiorari Is

PENI pac coon ea acasakcsanivon: eres LS

Il ON THE MERITS, HABEAS RELIEF

IS WARRANTED BECAUSE ‘THE

SUPERIOR COURT IMPROPERLY

LIMITED MURDOCH'S CROSS-

MHAAMINATION OF HIS ACCUSER........... 16

A. This Court's Pre- 1998 Precedents Do

Not Permit State Law Exceptions to

the Confrontation Clause ....................... pee

B. The Ninth Circuit Misread Swid/er..... = ao

C. Murdoch Is Entitled to a Writ of

aepens COTnus:......5....0..... ee eee ns ee

CONCLUSION ........ ener . ae

APPENDIX

United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth = Circuit, Plurality Opinion

(Tashima, J.), dated June 21, 2010.............. App. 1

United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Cireuit, Concurring Opinion

(Silverman, J.), dated June 21, 2010 App. 29

~~ j

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (Continued)

Gigho v. United States, 405 U.S. 150, 92S

Ct. 763, 31 L. Ed. 2d 104 (1972)

Johnson v. Norris, 537 F.3d 840 (8th Cir

>). ) ie

Lyell v. Renico, 470 F.3d 1177 (6th Cir.

2006)

Newton v. Kemna, 354 F.3d 776 (8th Cir

2004) .

Norde v. Keane. 294 F.3d 401 (2d Cn

2002)

Olden v. Kentucky, 488 U.S. 227, 109 S.

Ct. 480, 102 L. Ed. 2d 513 (1988) ...

Pennsylvania v. Ritchie, 480 U.S. 39, 107

S. Ct. 989, 94 L. Ed. 2d 40 (1987)..........

People v. Mincey, 827 P.2d 388 (Cal. 1992)

People v. Willams, 98 Cal. Rptr. 3d 770

(Ct. App. 2009) .

Romptilla v. Beard, 545 U.S. 374, 125 S. Ct

2456, 162 L. Ed. 2d 360 (2005) ......

Shelton v. Purkett, 563 F.3d 404 (8th Cir

2009)

Smith v. Illrnors, 390 U.S. 129. 8

748, 19 L. Ed. 2d 956 (1968) ..............

OO

N

|

rs

Swidler & Berlin v. United States. 524

U.S. 399, 118 S. Ct. 2081. 141 L. Ed. 2d

379 (1998)

+ >s)

a ))

.passim

passim

vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (Continued)

Vela v. Superior Court, 255 Cal. Rptr. 921

(Ct. Apo. 1OOS? ...2..iiciccneeee

Weeks v. Angelone, 528 U.S. 225, 120 S.

Ct. 727, 145 L. Ed. 2d 727 (2000) ..............

Whorton v. Bockting, 549 U.S. 406, 127 S.

Ct. 1173, 167 L. Bd. 2d 2 GOOG)

Wiggins v. Smith, 539 U.S. 510, 123 S. Ct.

2527, 156 L. Ed. 2d 471 (2009)...................

Willams v. Taylor, 529 U.S. 420, 120S. Ct.

1479, 146 L. Ed. 2d 435 (2000) .....0..0...00....

Yist v. Nunnemaker, 501 U.S. 797, 1111S.

Ct. 2590, 115 L. Ed. 2d 706 (1991) ............

STATUTES AND RULES

28 U.S.C. § 1266 oooceser

28 U.S.C. § 2256 vocccceccoseinscissae oe

Fed. KR. Bivic. GOS o5ciitsiececs suet

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Martha Dragich Pearson, Citation of

Unpublished Opinions as Precedent, 55

Hastings L.J. 1235 (May 2004)..................

Charles Alan Wright et al., 23 Fed. Prac. &

Proc. Evid. §§ 5426 to 5431 (supp. 2010)...

Seneenes 23

ee a

buenas 20

peewee 24

PETITION FOR CERTIORARI

Charles Franklin Murdoch, Jr. respectfully

petitions ior a writ of certiorari: to review the

judgment of the Ninth Circuit

OPINIONS BELOW

The plurality, concurring, and two dissenting

opinions of the en banc Ninth Circuit are reported at

609 F.3d 983 (Murdoch II) and reprinted herein at

App. 1, 29, 31, and 68. The 2004 panel opinion of the

Ninth Circuit is reported at 365 F.3d 699 (Murdoch

J). The 2007 panel decision of the Ninth Circuit is

reported at 489 F.3d 1063 (Murdoch //). The 2008

order granting en banc rehearing is reported at 546

F.3d 1051. The pertinent District Court opinion and

order are unreported and reprinted herein at App

69 and App. 96

Also reprinted herein are the March 26, 1998

unreported opinion of the California Court of Appeal

denying Murdoch's appeal and petition (App. 98) and

the July 8, 1998 order of the California Supreme

Court denying review (App. 135).

JURISDICTION

The Ninth Circuit issued its en banc decision on

June 21, 2010. On August 17, 2010, this Court

(KENNEDY, J.) extended until October 19, 2010 the

time for Murdoch to petition for certiorari. Murdoch

invokes this Court's jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. §

1254(1)

2

PERTINENT CONSTITUTIONAL

AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

The Sixth Amendment's Confrontation Clause

provides that, “liJn all criminal prosecutions, the

accused shall enjoy the right . . . to be confronted

with the witnesses against him.”

The Supremacy Clause of Article VI provides that

the “Constitution ... shall be the supreme Law of

the Land; and the Judges in every State shall be

bound thereby, any Thing in the Constitution or

Laws of any State to the Contrary notwithstanding.”

The Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty

Act (““AEDPA”), 28 U.S.C. § 2254, provides in

relevant part:

(d) An application for a writ of habeas

corpus on behalf of a person in custody

pursuant to the judgment of a State court

shall not be granted with respect to any claim

that was adjudicated on the merits in State

court proceedings unless the adjudication of

the claim—

(1) resulted in a decision that was

contrary to, or involved an unreasonable

application of, clearly established Federal

law, as determined by the Supreme Court

of the United States; or

(2) resulted in a decision that was based

on an unreasonable determination of the

facts in lhght of the evidence presented in

the State court proceeding.

3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Ninth Circuit has split from at least four

other Circuits, becoming the first to find that a

reasoned state court opinion, which overlooks rather

than decides a Federal claim, is entitled to AEDPA

deference. Such a ruling has no grounding in the

language of AEDPA or in the principles of federalism

underlying that statute. The Court should grant

certiorari to resolve this division of authority.

On the merits, the Ninth Circuit, joining the

Eighth Circuit, read this Court’s 1998 decision in

Swidler as opening the door to state law privileges

trumping the Federal right to cross-examine one’s

accuser on subjects relevant to impeachment. Under

this reasoning, AEDPA gives state courts virtually

unchecked discretion to invoke state law privileges

to hmit cross-examination of an accuser. The Eighth

and Ninth Circuits misread Swid/er, a non

constitutional decision, and are irreconcilable with

this Court’s Confrontation Clause decisions and the

Supremacy Clause. Federalism means that Federal

courts must give due respect to state courts; it does

not mean that state law preerpts Federal rights.

As set forth in this petition, Murdoch is entitled

to a writ of habeas corpus and a new trial.

A. Murdoch’s Conviction

On May 17, 1983, four men robbed the Horseshoe

Bar in Long Beach, California. During the course of

the robbery, one bystander was shot and killed;

another was stabbed and severely wounded. The

robbers left behind a fingerprint. The crime went

unsolved until 11 years later, when advances in

fingerprint technology enabled police to identify

Dino Dinardo as one of the perpetrators.

Officers arrested Dinardo on June 30, 1994.

Dinardo initially denied any involvement in the

crime, but he later recanted and admitted his

involvement. Ile identified Murdoch as one of his

accomplices. The State charged both Dinardo and

Murdoch with murder in the Los Angeles County

Superior Court.

The State tried Dinardo first. At a suppression

hearing, Dinardo tes tified that his confession had

been coerced, and that he had given the confession in

exchange for a promise that he would be released to

see his wife and daughter. Dinardo was convicted

and was sentenced to imprisonment of 25 years to

life.

At sentencing, the Superior Court expressed

doubt that the State could convict Murdoch without

Dinardo’s testimony, while noting the court's

discretion to reduce Dinardo’s sentence. In return

for Dinardo’s agreement to testify against Murdoch,

Dinardo received a reduction of his conviction to

voluntary manslaughter and a reduced sentence of

12 years’ imprisonment.

Dinardo was a key witness at Murdoch’s trial. He

testified that he and Murdoch, together with two

other men, robbed the Horseshoe Bar. According to

Dinardo, Murdoch carried a .22 caliber rifle and

While Dinardo was

fumbling with the buttons on the cash repister, he

heard a gunshot, emptied the register, and ran out

”?

announced, “This is a stick up.

the back door, joining the other two men in the

vetaway car, with Murdoch joining them about a

minute later. Dinardo recalled seeing Murdoch in

possession of the rifle both in the bar and in the car

During trial, the prosecutor informed the

Superior Court of the existence of a letter from

Dinardo to his former counsel! stating that the police

coerced him into impheating Murdoch in the crime

That letter (as the record in this action reveals)

stated approximately as follows

| would hke to make a statement about

the facts surrounding my arrest for

robbery and murder. | was taking care

of my young daughter when Long Beach

police arrested me at my home in

Berkeley Two policemen, Detective

Pavek and his partner, took me to the

Berkeley Police Department and

interviewed me. I wanted to get back to

my daughter as | worried about her

welfare. At that time, Detective Pavek

coerced a statement from me_= and

promised not to charge me if I made a

statement that Charles Murdoch

participated in the crime. But, I do not

actually know Mr. Murdoch, although |

know his brother. Mr. Murdoch and |

did not commit any crime

Upon objection by Dinardo’s then-counsel, the

Superior Court concluded that the letter was

protected by the attorney-chent privilege, and it

ruled that Murdoch could not use the letter t

©

impeach Dinardo on cross‘examination. Murdoch

was convicted of first-degree murder and received a

sentence of hfe imprisonment without parole.

B. State Appeals

Murdoch filed a direct appeal to the California

Second District Court’ of Appeal and also filed a

habeas corpus petition with the same court. [is

bref raised cleven arguments. The first ten were

objections under California law. The eleventh raised

objections under the United States Constitution:

Xl. EVEN [F DINARDO'’S) LETTER

WERE PRIVILEGED, APPELLANT'S

OTH AND GOTH AMENDMENT

RIGHTS TO A FAIR TRIAL AND TO

CONFRONT AND CROSS-EXAMINE

THE CHIEF WITNESS AGAINST HIM

WOULD TAKE PRECKEDENCKE OVER

DINARDO'S ATTORNEY-CLIENT

PRIVILEGE UNDER THE

PARTICULAR FACTS OF THIS CASH

On March 26, 1998, the Court of Appeal dented

Murdoch’s direct appeal and habeas petition in a 26°

page unpublished opinion. The opimon thoroughly

addressed Murdoch's ten state law claims.

But the Court of Appeal counted only to ten, not

eleven. It never mentioned Murdoch's Federal claim

or the Sixth Amendment. App. 105-133. The Court

of Appeal affirmed Murdoch's life sentence

Murdoch petitioned to the California Supreme

Court, which summarily denied review on July 8,

1998. App. 135.

C. Proceedings Below

On July 6, 1999, Murdoch petitioned the United

States District Court for the Central District of

Cahforma for a writ of habeas corpus. The District

Court demed the petition on March 7, 2002

On April 5, 2004, the Ninth Circuit held in

Murdoch I that AIEDPA deference did not apply. It

vacated and remanded with instructions for the

District Court to obtain Dinardo's letter and to

review Murdoch's Confrontation Clause claim on the

merits.

The District Court, finding that the constitutional

error was harmless, again denied the petition on

April 7, 2005. App. 96. On June 12, 2007, a divided

three-judge panel of the Ninth Circuit: affirmed in

Murdoch 11

On October 9, 2008, the Ninth Circuit) vranted

Murdoch's petition for rehearing en bane. On June

21, 2010, in Alurdoch /11 , a divided 11-judge Ninth

Circuit panel overruled Afurdoch J, held that AE DPA

deference appled, and affirmed the denial of the

writ

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

| AEDPA DEFERENCE CANNOT APPLY

WHERE CIRCUMSTANCES DEMONSTRATE

THAT THE STATE COURT OVERLOOKED

THE FEDERAL CLAIM

\. This Case Has Created a Circuit Split That

Would Remain If the Court Rules for the State

in /tichter

The Ninth Circuit has “become the only court in

the country to hold that a state court may adjudicate

a constitutional claim ‘on the merits’ by overlooking

it, and then have its carelessness rewarded with

AEDPA’s presumption that its adjudication was good

enough for government work.” App. 60 (Sozinski

C.J... dissentiny)

It is not unusual for a state court to issue a

reasoned decision that fails to mention a lederal

constitutional challenge See, eg. Danner 3

Kentucky, 525 U.S. 1010, 119 S. Ct. 529, 529, 142 1

Md. 2d 439 (1998) (SCALIA, J., dissenting from

demial of certiorari) (Although petitioner objected

that this procedure violated his constitutional right

to confront his accuser, neither the trial court nor

the [Kentucky] Supreme Court so muchas

7

mentioned the Sixth Amendment

Until this case, the authorities were unanimous

that AK DPA deference is not warranted in such a

situation. ShAe/ton v. Purkett, 563 F.3d 404, 409 (8th

Cir. 2009); Lyell vo. Renico, 470 F.3d 1177, 1182 (6th

Cir. 2006); Canaan vo. Mebride, 3895 F.3d 3876, 382

(7th Cir. 2005): Norde v. Neane, 294 F.3d 401, 410

(2d Cir. 2002)

This division of authority would not disappear if

the Court were to hold in Aichter that summary

dispositions are adjudications on the merits. Even in

the Circuits that afford AEDPA_ deference — to

summary adjudications, de movo review ‘vovernts|

when the opinion of a state court reveals that it did

not adjudicate a claim.” Chadwick v. Janecka, 312

F.3d 597, 606 (3d Cir. 2002) (Alito, J.)

Although, for imstance, the Second Circuit

generally defers to summary dispositions, 1 apphes

a multi-factor test to determine whether ina

particular case the petitioner can estabhsh that the

Federal claim was not in fact: adjudicated on the

merits. Norde, 294 F.3d at 410. A reasoned decision

addressing only the petitioner’s state law challenges,

not his Federal claims, satisfies that burden. /a.

Such a distinction makes sense. In Archter, the

State and supporting amucr offer the federalism

based argument that State courts lack the time and

resources to issue a reasoned opinion in every case

But these considerations do not apply where —as in

Danner. Shelton, Lyell, Canaan, Norde, and this

case- the state court already took the time to reduce

its reasoning to a written opinion, which establishes

that the court overlooked the Federal claim

“AEDPA’s purpose [is] to further the principles of

comity, finality, and federalism.” Wi//ams v. Taylor,

529 U.S. 420, 436, 120 S. Ct. 1479, 146 L. Ed. 2d 435

(2000) (KENNEDY, J... AKEDPA therefore ensures

that state courts are the primary) forum for

LO

determining whether a state prosecution comported

with Federal law. ld. at 437-38. Where the

petitioner can establish that the state court failed

even to consider his Federal claim, it means that the

state court offered no forum at all.

B. The California Courts Overlooked Murdoch's

Federal Claim

Unhke in Arehter, which involved only an

unreasoned summary order, the record in this case

demonstrates the California courts’ reasoning. ‘The

petitioner in Achter originally filed his habeas

petition with the California Supreme Court, which

issued only the one-page summary order. By

contrast, Murdoch _ originally —_— petitioned the

California Court of Appeal, which issued a 26-page

opinion. Although the California Supreme Court did

not explain its denial of review, there is a rebuttable

presumption that the Cahforma Supreme Court

followed the reasoning of the opimon below. YJst v.

Nunnemaker, 501 U.S. 797, 803-06, 111 S. Cr. 2590,

115 L. Ed. 2d 706 (1991) (SCALIA, J.). This

presumption “looks through” to the “last reasoned

decision” of the California courts. /d. at 804. The

deference analysis therefore turns on whether the

Court of Appeal adjudicated Murdoch's’ Federal

claim on the merits.

The Court of Appeal’s 26-page opinion addressed

only Murdoch's state law claims on the merits. The

Ninth Circuit plurality conceded that the Court of

Appeal “did not mention the Confrontation Clause in

its opinion.” App. 16. All it found was a discussion

and quote “from the section of Murdoch’s brief in

which he raised the issue.” and a citation to a

that “dealt with the tension between the attor

chent privilege and the eg Clause

But the California Court of Appeal analyzed

arguments and authorities pes as they relat

state law privilege issues. App. 117-123. There

not even a boilerplate “catch-all” line to the eff

“we have considered Murdoch’s other argument:

reject them.” App. 38, 134

As Judge Kozinski’s dissent establishe:

explanation for the Court of Appeal’s failu

sustain Murdoch's Confrontation Clause object

clear It was an oversight Murdoch

precedents of the Supreme Court and the S

District Court of Appeal unambiguously holding

the attorney-chent privilege must yield t

Confrontation Clause if the material is probat

bias, including the behef that his «

testimony will result in a lenient sentence /

V

v. Mincey, 827 “ery 388, 422 (Cal. 1992) (colle

authorities); Vela v. Superior Court, 255 Cal.

921, 926 (Ct. App. 1989). This Confrontation C]

claim was Murdoch's eleventh enume

[tis not surprising that an unpublished opinion might

Winning argument. “[Ujnpublished opinions are rather

prepared, by law clerks or staff attorneys, with little ove:

by judges, and without attention to careful wording or p

e

future imphecations.”. Martha Dragich Pearson, (7rtaf

U/npublished Opinions as Precedent, 55 Hastings L.J

1302 (May 2004). California courts go so far as to p1

citation of unpublished Court of Appeal opinions, ext

narrow circumstances. Cal. R. Ct.. Rule 8.1115 [PJer

use of unpublished authority may be cause for sancet

People v. Wilhams, 98 Cal. Rptr. 3d 770. 777 (Ct. App. 2(

13

at issue in Aompilia and Beard, is a failure to

adjudicate a claim on the merits. The Second, Sixth,

Seventh, and Eighth Circuits have recognized this

fact. But the Ninth Circuit has made a new and

unjustified departure from the statute and this

Court's decisions.

Thus, even if the Court rules for the State in

Richter, this Court should grant certiorari to resolve

the division of authority that this case implicates.

C. If the Court Rules Against the State on “Silent

Denial” Grounds in Aichter, This Case

Provides an Opportunity for a Broader Ruling

The Court recognizes the need to clarify when a

claim was “adjudicated on the merits in State court

proceedings” under § 2254(d). In Harrington v.

Richter, 130 S. Ct. 1506, 176 L. Ed. 2d 108 (2010),

this Court sua sponte directed the parties to “bnef

and argue the following question: Does AEDPA

deference apply to a= state courts summary

disposition ofaclaim...?” /d. at 1506-07.

The Respondent's principal argument in Aychter

is that California law recognizes four types of

summary adjudications, and that the particular type

at issue—a “silent demial,” which occurs when a

majority of justices vote to deny the petition but

cannot agree whether the denial is on the merits or

on procedural grounds—1is not an adjudication on the

merits. If the Court decides Archter on this narrow

ground, certiorari will be necessary to address the

AEDPA deference issue in other contexts.

14

In such an event, this case would provide an

opportunity for the Court to issue a broader ruling.

At first blush, a case involving a 26-page state-court

opinion may not seem a good candidate for a ruling

on whether summary opinions are entitled to

deference. But, in granting deference in this case,

the Ninth Circuit treated the absence of analysis of

the Federal claim as a summary adjudication of that

claim: “[W]Jhen there is no reasoned state court

opinion explaining the denial of a defendant’s claim

in any respect, we must assume that the state court

has decided all the issues and perform an

independent review of the record to ascertain

whether the state court decision was objectively

reasonable.” App. 16.

This case highlights a fact strongly weighing

against AEDPA deference to summary dispositions:

judges are human beings who sometimes overlook

meritorious arguments. Ante § 1A. In such a case,

the state court has not served its AKDPA role as the

primary forum for constitutional challenges. Cases

like Murdoch’s, unlike cases involving one-page

orders, allow the petitioners to pull back the curtain

to reveal this unfortunate fact.

Perhaps the Court ultimately will find that, on

balance, the asserted benefits of deferring to

summary dispositions outweigh the costs. At the

very least, however, the Court should decide this

issue in a case that highlights the cost to individual

petitioners like Murdoch, whose constitutional

claims went unheard.

16

ll. ON THE MERITS, HABEAS RELIEF IS

WARRANTED BECAUSE THE SUPERIOR

COURT IMPROPERLY LIMITED MURDOCH'S

CROSS-EXAMINATION OF HIS ACCUSER

The Court separately can and should grant

certiorart on Murdoch’s substantive constitutional

challenge: that the Superior Court violated

Murdoch’s Confrontation Clause rights by barring

him from questioning Dinardo regarding the

exculpatory letter.

Because the Court of Appeal failed to adjudicate

this claim on the merits, § 2254(d) is inapplicable,

and de novo review applies. Supra § 1. But even if

this Court were to hold that AEDPA deference

applies, the California Court of Appeal’s denial of

relief nevertheless contravened, and involved an

unreasonable application of, this Court's precedents.

Since first holding that the Confrontation Clause

binds the states, this Court has consistently held

that a tnal court cannot bar inquiry into relevant

subjects of impeachment of an accuser, except to

protect another Federal right, the privilege against

self-incrimination. The Court has rejected state law

exceptions to this rule

But the Ninth Circuit has taken a different,

dangerous approach. Endorsing Eighth Circuit

decisions, the plurality held that AEDPA permits

any state law privilege to trump the Confrontation

Clause until this Court expressly rules otherwise

so long as the state can offer a “principled argument”

for why the privilege is more important than the

specific privileges at issue in this Court's precedents.

17

For the purposes of the Supremacy Clause,

however, all state law privileges are created equally.

If in conflict with a Federal constitutional right,

state law must yield. The Court should grant

certiorari to preserve the Supremacy Clause and the

Confrontation Clause in state prosecutions.

A. This Court’s Pre-1998 Precedents Do Not

Permit State Law Exceptions to _ the

Confrontation Clause

This Court first applied the Confrontation Clause

to the states in 1965. Douglas v. Alabama, 380 U.S.

415, 418, 85 S. Ct. 1074, 138 L. Ed. 2d 934 (1965).

Shortly thereafter, the Court reversed the conviction

of a defendant who “was denied the right to ask the

principal prosecution witness either his name or

where he lived, although the witness admitted that

the name he had first given was false.” Smith v.

[/linois, 390 U.S. 129, 131, 88S. Ct. 748, 19 L. Ed. 2d

956 (1968). “It is the essence of a fair trial that

reasonable latitude be given the cross-examiner.”

Id. at 132 (quoting A/ford v. United States, 282 U.S.

687, 692, 51 S. Ct. 218, 75 L. Ed. 624 (1931)).

“Prejudice ensues from a denial of the opportunity to

place the witness in his proper setting and put the

weight of his testimony and his credibility to a test,

without which the jury cannot fairly appraise them.”

Id. (quoting A/ford, 282 U.S. at 692).

Smith recognized only three restrictions that a

trial court could place on cross-examination of an

accuser. First, a trial court must protect the

accusers own properly invoked Fifth Amendment

privilege against self-incrimination. Second, a trial

18

court can prohibit cross-examination on irrelevant

subjects—that is, questions that merely harass,

annoy, or humiliate the witness. Third, within these

bounds, a trial court has discretion to determine the

manner of questioning, including discretion to decide

when defense counsel has exhausted questioning on

a relevant subject. Smith, 390 U.S. at 132-33

(quoting Alford, 282 U.S. at 694).

Since the 1960s, then, this Court’s Confrontation

Clause precedents have directed that “no obligation

is imposed on the [state] . . . to protect a witness

from being discredited on cross-examination, short of

an attempted invasion of his’ constitutional

protection from self inecrimination, — properly

invoked.” Smith, 390 U.S. at 132-33 (quoting A/ford,

282 U.S. at 694).

In 1974, this Court rejected a _ proposed

Confrontation Clause exception for Alaska’s

statutory privilege for juvenile convictions. In Davis

v. Alaska, 415 U.S. 308, 94 S. Ct. 1105, 39 L. Ed. 2d

347 (1974), the trial court had granted a protective

order precluding the defense from questioning the

key prosecution eyewitness regarding a juvenile

conviction for burglary. This protective order

violated the Confrontation Clause, under which “the

cross-examiner 1S not only permitted to delve into

the witness’ story to test the witness’ perceptions

and memory, but the — cross-examiner has

traditionally been allowed to impeach, 1.e., discredit,

the witness.” /d. at 316. Notwithstanding the

state’s interest in protecting juveniles, this Court

reiterated that the Fifth Amendment privilege

1

against. self-incrimination was the only basis for

barring inquiry into a relevant subject matter on

cross-examination of an accuser. /d. at 320 (citing

Alford, 282 U.S. at 694).

This Court has never retreated from Smuth and

Davis or recognized additional exceptions (much less

state law exceptions) to the right of the accused to

cross-examine his accuser on relevant subjects.

Rather, the Court has rejected various subject-

matter restrictions on cross-examination of accusers.

Olden v. Kentucky, 488 U.S. 227, 232, 109 S. Ct. 480,

102 L. Ed. 2d 513 (1988) (potential that revealing

aceuser’s “interracial relationship would prejudice

the jury against her” did not fall within “reasonable

limits on defense counsel’s inquiry into the potential

bias of a prosecution,” where testimony on. that

subject matter directly attacked accuser’s

credibility); Delaware v. Van Arsdall, A75 U.S. 6738,

679, 106 S. Ct. 1431, 89 L. Ed. 2d 674 (1986) (‘the

trial court prohibited all inquiry into the possibility

that [the accuser] would be biased as a result of the

State’s dismissal of his pending public drunkenness

charge”); Chambers v. Mississippi, 410 U.S. 284,

295, 93 S. Ct. 1038, 35 L. Ed. 2d 297 (1973)

(Confrontation Clause preempted “Mississippi

common-law rule that a party may not impeach his

own witness”).

The Ninth Circuit, after holding that § 2254(d)

apphed to this case, denied rehef because the

“relationship between the Confrontation Clause and

the attorney-chent privilege has not been clearly

established by the Supreme Court.” App. 27. This

20

reasoning is backwards. ‘The precedents of this

Court were clear in 1998, and remain clear, that the

only recognized exception to the Confrontation

Clause 1s another Federal constitutional right, the

rifth Amendment privilege against self

incrimination.

B. The Ninth Circuit Misread Swid/er

Notwithstanding the Supremacy Clause and this

Court’s precedents, the Ninth Circuit held that a

state law privilege could trump Murdoch’s rights

under the Confrontation Clause. This misconception

stems from a misreading of Swidler & Berlin vy.

United States, 524 U.S. 399, 118 S. Ct. 2081, 141 L.

Ed. 2d 379 (1998).

Swidler had nothing to do with the Confrontation

Clause. Rather, Swid/er involved a motion to quash

a grand jury subpoena, directed to a law firm,

secking privileged materials relevant to the

investigation of firings at the White House Travel

Office. The Court held that the attorney-chent

privilege under Fed. R. Evid. 501 survived the

suicide of the firm's chent, thus preventing

disclosure of notes of conversations with the chent.

regarding the firings. 524 U.S. at 401. Ina footnote,

the Court noted that the law firm, “while opposing

wholesale abrogation of the privilege in criminal

cases, concedeld] that exceptional circumstances

implicating a criminal defendant’s constitutional

rights might warrant breaching the privilege.” /d. at

409 n.3. But the Court declined to “reach this issue,

since such exceptional circumstances clearly are not

presented here.” /d.

a

Thus, both the petitioners and the respondent in

Swidler agreed that the notes might have’ been

discoverable if a criminal defendant's constitutional

rights were at stake. By its footnote, the Court

merely cautioned that it was not deciding anything

with respect to the apphleation of privilege if and

when the grand-jury investigation resulted in

indictments and trials. Such @ieta plays no part in

the AEDPA analysis. Carey v. Musladin, 549 U.S.

70, 74, 127 S. Ct. 649, 166 L. Ed. 2d 482 (2006).

Nothing in this cautionary footnote suggests that the

Court was revisiting three decades of Confrontation

Clause jurisprudence.

Swid/er's holding as to pre indictment subpoenas

necessarily had no bearing on the Court’s precedents

regarding cross‘examination at trial. “Phe opimions

of this Court show that the right to confrontation 1s a

trial right, designed to prevent improper restrictions

on the types of questions that defense counsel may

ask during cross-examination.” Pennsylvania v.

Ritchie, 480 U.S. 39, 52, 107 S. Ct. 989, 94 L. Ed. 2d

40 (1987) (emphasis in original). “The ability to

question adverse witnesses, however, does not

include the power to require the pretrial disclosure

of any and all information that might be useful in

contradicting unfavorable testimony.” /d@ at 53. In

Ritchie, the Court contrasted Vavis with its

decisions rejecting Confrontation Clause claims

predicated on a witness’ inability to remember key

testimony, or on the failure to disclose certain items

that could have been used in cross-examination. /«d

at 53°54 & n.10. Such authorities were in “full

accord with our earher decisions that have upheld a

Confrontation Clause infringement claim on this

issue only when there was a specific statutory or

court-imposed restriction at tmal on the scope of

questioning.” /d. at 53°54

Murdoch's objection involves a “court-1mposed

restriction at trial on the scope of questioning,” id.,

not matters of pretrial disclosure. Here, the State

disclosed the existence of Dinardo’s letter stating

that he was coerced into identifying Murdoch. Once

the State called Dinardo as a witness, due process

required the State to make such a disclosure. Gig/io

v. U/nited States, 405 U.S. 150, 153-55, 92 S. Ct. 763,

31 L. Ed. 2d 104 (1972). The Superior Court wrongly

prevented Murdoch, once he knew of the letter, from

using it to cross-examine Dinardo. ‘This objection

falls squarely within the Court’s established Sixth

Amendment case law. Artchie, 480 U.S. at 52

Unfortunately, the Ninth Circuit missed this

distinction between pretrial disclosure and mid-trial

restrictions on cross-examunation This

misconception finds it root in decisions of the Kighth

Circuit misreading the non-constitutional decision in

Swidler as imviting new) exceptions to the

Confrontation Clause. See JvAnson v. Norris, 537

I 3d 840, 846-47 (8th Cir. 2008); Newton v. Nemna

354 F.3d 776, 781-82 (8th Cir. 2004). According to

the Eighth Circuit, footnote 3 of Swid/er opened the

question of whether Vavis permits an exception to

the attorney chent privilege. The Ninth Circuit

followed these Eighth Circuit decisions and held that

Murdoch's constitutional claim necessarily presented

wy

an “open question” barring rehef under AEKDPA.

} ]

App. 24

Certiorar: is important not just to reverse the

Ninth Cireuit’s misreading of Swid/er but to

abrogate the even-more-pernicious Eighth Circuit

decisions. Those decisions involved the physician-

patient privilege and the psychotherapist-patient

privilege, not the attorney-chent privilege. By

extension of its misreading of Swid/er, the Eighth

Circuit has held that AEDPA bars review of state

court orders regarding any state law privilege,

except where the Court has specifically rejected that

privilege as a Confrontation Clause exception-—-that

is, the juvenile-records privilege and perhaps the

marital privilege.2 /d. See App. 26.

AEDPA would thus preclude Confrontation

Clause challenges regarding any number of state law

privileges—including communications with clergy,

accountants, journalists, social workers, researchers,

banking regulators, guardians ad litem, marriage

counselors, and nurses -not to mention Cahfornia

The marital privilege was at issue in Crawford v. Washington

541 U.S. 36, 124 S. Ct. 1354, 158 L. Ed. 2d 177 (2004)

Although the plurality and the dissents in this appeal reference

Crawford, Murdoch does not (and need not) rely on Crawford

Briefing in this appeal took place in 2006, after the Ninth

Circuit determined that Crawford apphed retroactively, but

before this Court held that Crawford apphed = only

prospectively. See Bockting v. Bayer, 399 F.3d 1010 (9th Cir

2005), rev'd sub nom., Whorton v. Bockting, 549 U.S. 406, 127

S. Ct. 1173, 167 L. Ed. 2d 1 (2007). Davis, Smith, and this

Court's other pre’ 1998 decisions are more than sufficient to

warrant habeas relief under any standard

24

privileges for communications with sexual assault

counselors, domestic violence counselors, and human

trafficking caseworkers. See Charles Alan Wright et

al., 23 Fed. Prac. & Proc. Evid. §§ 5426 to 5431

(supp. 2010); Cal. Evid. Code §§ 1035 to 1038.2. By

this rationale, if a state enacted a privilege for

communications with veterinarians, judges in that

state could hmit cross-examination of pet-owners

until this Court specifically decided otherwise.

The Ninth Circuit did not sweep quite as broadly

as the Kighth Circuit, finding it sufficient that the

“state court could have found a principled reason’

that the attorney-chent privilege was worthier of

protection than the juvenile records privilege or the

marital privilege. App. 26. But, by extension,

AEDPA would mandate deference if the State

offered a “principled reason” why, for instance, its

unique “sexual assault counselor” privilege was

similarly worthy of heightened protection in sexual

assault prosecutions.

These Enghth and Ninth Circuit decisions

threaten virtually any habeas challenge to a state

law conviction, no matter how clear the violation. A

clever prosecutor would need only to scour the case

law—including, as here, precedents having nothing

to do with the constitutional provision at issue—to

manufacture ambiguity in this Court’s precedents,

and then argue that AEDPA barred review until this

Court rejected that claim.

This Court should grant certiorar: to correct the

Eighth and Ninth Circuits’ plain misreading of

Swidler. Cf Marx v. Texas, 528 U.S. 1034, 1208S

20

Ct. 574, 575, 145 L. Ed. 2d 436 (1999) (SCALIA, J.,

dissenting from denial of certiorari) (‘I do not think

the Court should ever depart from the plain meaning

of the Bill of Rights. But when it does take such a

step into the dark it has an obligation, it seems to

me, to clarify as soon as possible the extent of its

permitted departure.”). These holdings are not

merely wrong, but dangerously wrong. This Court's

Confrontation Clause precedents recognize only the

Fifth Amendment privilege against self

incrimination, not any state law privilege, as a bar to

cross‘examination on matters relevant to the

accuser’s bias or lack of credibility.

C. Murdoch Is Entitled to a Writ of Habeas

Corpus

If this Court agrees that the Ninth Circuit

misread Swid/er and this Court’s Confrontation

Clause decisions, the inquiry circles back to the

question originally at issue in this appeal: whether

Murdoch is entitled to a writ of habeas corpus

vacating his conviction.

Murdoch respectfully urges this Court to reverse

outright, as Judge Kozinski would have held, and to

direct the District Court to issue the requested writ

of habeas corpus. Murdoch filed his original petition

1l years ago, in 1999. It was not until five years

later that the Ninth Circuit originally remanded in

Murdoch I. When Murdoch appealed again in 2005,

it took another five years for the Ninth Circuit to

deny relief in Afurdoch //, to vacate that decision on

petition for rehearing, and then to issue an en ban

opinion revisiting and reversing Murdoch /

'S ae

rA®

The record is fully developed and establishes

Murdoch's entitlement to long-delayed relhef. Davis

held that the accused’s lost opportunity to use

evidence of a juvenile criminal record to impeach his

accusers general credibility was “constitutional

error of the first magnitude and no amount of

showing of want of prejudice would cure it.” 415

U.S. at 318 (quoting Smith, 390 U.S. at 131 (quoting

Brookhart v. Janis, 384 U.S. 1, 3, 86 S. Ct. 1245, 16

L. Ed. 2d 314 (1966))). Smyth found such “first

magnitude” error where a trial court barred cross-

examination regarding the accuser’s real name. 390

U.S. at 131. “The correct inquiry is whether,

assuming that the damaging potential of the cross:

examination were fully realized, a reviewing court

might nonetheless say that the error was harmless

beyond a reasonable doubt.” Van Arsda/l/, 475 U.S.

at 684 (error not harmless where court prohibited

cross-examination regarding dismissal of public

drunkenness charge).

This case involves even starker prejudicial error,

with the prohibited examination involving a letter

directly contradicting the chief accuser's inculpatory

testimony. The District Court determined in this

case that the error was harmless because the

privileged letter was not credible and contrary to the

testimony of some of Murdoch's own witnesses. It

further noted, as did the Ninth Circuit plurality,

that Murdoch had the opportunity to cross-examine

Dinardo’s account of the crime, even though

Murdoch could not ask whether Dinardo previously

gave a different account

These holdings miss that “forcing a witness to

confront and explain his prior statements that

contradict his testimony is the gold standard for

effective cross-examination.” App. 46 (Kozinski, C.J.,

dissenting) (collecting authorities). Even accepting

for the sake of argument that the privileged letter

was not credible, the letter still opened the door for

the classic impeachment of “Were you lying then, or

are you lying now?”

There is no dispute that Dinardo was a key

witness against Murdoch. App. 5-6. The forensic

evidence implicated Dinardo, not Murdoch. App. 4.

One eyewitness, the bartender, identified Murdoch,

but that identification came 11 years after the crime.

App. 7.

It was one thing for Dinardo to admit on the

stand that he would have done “whatever it took” to

reduce his sentence, and that he had previously led

to protect himself. But it would have been another

thing entirely for Murdoch to confront Dinardo with

a prior statement that Dinardo was coerced into

identifying Murdoch. App. 5, 25.

At best, the State has arguments for why the

letter would not have doomed its case against

Murdoch. But that speculation cannot establish

harmlessness beyond reasonable doubt, particularly

not as this Court has applied that standard in Davis,

Smith, and Van Arsdal/.

Murdoch is serving a life sentence, without

possibility of parole, after the Superior Court

allowed him to confront his accuser only with one

hand tied behind his back. Murdoch asks the Court

to reverse the judgment of the Ninth Circuit and to

direct the issuance of a writ of habeas corpus.

CONCLUSION

The Court should grant this petition for

certiorari and vacate or reverse the judgment of the

Ninth Circuit

Respectfully submitted

STEVEN M. KLEPPER*

KRAMON & GRAHAM, P.A.

ONE SOUTH STREET, STE. 2600

BALTIMORE, MARYLAND 21202

(410) 752-6030

sklepper@kg-law.com

* Counsel of Record

SEYMOUR |. AMSTER

LAW OFFICES OF SEYMOUR |. AMSTER

6320 VAN NUYS BOULEVARD, STE. 300

VAN NuyS, CALIFORNIA 91401

(818) 947-0104

AttyAmster@aol.co1

App. 1

FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

CHARLES FRANKLIN _ |

MURDOCH, JR.,

Petitioner-Appellant, | No. 05-55665

Vv. | D.C. No.

ROY CASTRO, Warden; | CV 99-06900

EDMUND BROWN, JR.,” RSWL

Attorney General of the

State of California, | OPINION

Respondents -Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Central District of California

Ronald S.W. Lew, District Judge, Presiding

Argued and Submitted

March 24, 2009 — San Francisco, California

Filed June 21, 2010

Before: Alex Kozinski, Chief Judge, Andrew J

Kleinfeld,A. Wallace Tashima, Sidney R. Thomas,

Barry G. Silverman, M. Margaret McKeown, Kim

McLane Wardlaw, William A. Fletcher, Consuelo M.

Callahan, Sandra S. Ikuta, and N. Randy Smith,

Circuit Judges.

Opinion by Judge Tashima:

Concurrence by Judge Silverman;

Dissent by Chief Judge Kozinski:;

Dissent by Judge Thomas

“Edmund Brown, Jr., is substituted for his predecessor, Bill Lockyer

as Attorney General of the State of Califormia. Fed. R.-App.P. 434c)(2)

App. 3

OPINION

TASHIMA, Circuit Judge:

Charles Murdoch was convicted of murder in

California state court. Before trial, the prosecutor

informed the court that a prosecution witness and

participant in the crime had written a letter to his

attorney claiming that Murdoch was not involved in

the crime and that the witness had been coerced into

implicating Murdoch. The state court ruled that

Murdoch could not have access to the letter because

it was protected under California's attorney-client

privilege. In order to determine whether Murdoch is

entitled to habeas relief, we must decide whether,

under "clearly established Federal law, as

determined by the Supreme Court of the United

States," 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d)Q), the Confrontation

Clause of the Sixth Amendment of the United States

Constitution! compelled the release of the letter to

Murdoch in spite of the attorney-chent privilege.

I. BACKGROUND

On May 17, 1983, four men robbed the

Horseshoe Bar in Leng Beach, California. During the

course of the robbery, one bystander was shot and

1 "In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy the

right... to be confronted with the witnesses against him."

U.S. CONST. Amend. VI.

2 The factual and procedural summary ts taken largely from

Murdoch v. Castro, 489 F.3d 1063, 1064-67 (9 Cir. 2007)

("Murdoch If").

App. 4

killed; another was stabbed and severely wounded.

The men recovered approximately $200 from the

cash register and left behind a fingerprint. The

crime went unsolved until 11 years later, when

advances 1n fingerprint technology enabled police to

identify Dino Dinardo as one of the perpetrators.

Officers arrested Dinardo on June 30, 1994, in

Berkeley, Cahfornia. When first questioned, Dinardo

denied any involvement in the crime, but later

recanted, admitting his involvement in the robbery,

and identifying Murdoch as one of his accomplices.

Both Dinardo and Murdoch were charged with

murder accompanied by special circumstances.

Dinardo was tried first. At a suppression hearing

that preceded his trial, Dinardo testified that his

confession to the Long Beach polce had been

coerced, and that he had given the confession in

exchange for a promise that he would be released to

see his wife and daughter. Dinardo was convicted

and was sentenced to 25 years' to life imprisonment.

At sentencing, the judge said to Dinardo:

[ would like to do something

different, Mr. Dinardo. You've

probably been told it's a set sentence.

I have to give it. The only thing I can

say 1s I have 90 days to change the

sentence if anything changes in the

way of your mind or the District

Attorney's mind insofar as trying to

resolve this with something less than

the set sentence

App. 5

Frankly, from the standpoint of

the other trial, unless the District.

Attorney has something more, I just

wonder without your assistance where

they're going; but maybe sometimes

cases develop at the last minute. But,

to my knowledge, I don't know of any

other evidence. They have a_ very

difficult case without your assistance.

But that's actually between

attorneys, and it's not the judge's

province.

I was hoping there would be a

resolution so that I could sentence you

to something jess, which I would

prefer to do from everything about this

case, especially the length of time and

all the years that you lived what

appears to be a law-abiding life before

you got arrested.

Dinardo subsequently did testify and, in

return, received a reduction of his conviction § to

voluntary manslaughter and a reduced sentence of

12 years' imprisonment.? Dinardo was a key witness

3. The dissent states that "[flor a judge to goad someone he's

just given a life sentence into helping the prosecution by

promising to give him his life back, but only if he helps finger

the defendant, is judicial extortion.” Diss. op. at 9046. What

the Chief Judge harshly labels as "judicial extortion" has long

been a part of our criminal justice system. See, eg., US.S.G. §

SK1.1 (providing for a downward sentencing departure for

App. 6

at Murdoch's tnal. He testified that, in 1983,

Murdoch had approached him "to do a job" and that

the two of them, together with two other men,

robbed the Horseshoe Bar. According to Dinardo,

when Murdoch entered the bar, Murdoch carried a

substantial assistance in the prosecution of another person); 18

U.S.C. § 3553(f(5) (providing that a “safety harbor” sentence

below a statutory minimum is available only if, wnter alia, the

sentencing court finds that the defendant has fully cooperated

with the Government). Perhaps the most famous example of

such judicial "goading" or "extortion" is that of Chef Judge

Sirica in the Watergate trial. There, as reported by 7ime

magazine in its 1973 man of-the-year story, Judge Sirica "kept

the pressure on the other convicted conspirators to talk too by

giving them harsh provisional sentences ranging up to 40

years. ... He promised to review the sentences later and said

that the final sentencing ‘would depend on your full cooperation

with the grand jury and the Senate Select Committee.’

Available at http://www.time.com/subscriber/personoftheyear

archive/stories/973. html (ast visited May 15, 2010).

The dissent characterizes Judge Sirica's conduct of the

Watergate trial as “unconscionable” and “a blemish on the

reputation of the federal courts... ." Diss op. at 9046 n.*. ‘The

.C. Circuit, sitting en banc, however, did not express the

same, harsh view. It not only affirmed Judge Sirica's conduct,

but lauded it in the face of charges that he conducted the trial

and sentencing in an inquisitorial manner. See l/nited States 1

McCord, 509 F.2d 334, 347 (D.C. Cir. 1974) (en bane) ("The

judge, hke the prosecutor in this respect, is not a passive by-

stander in the arena of justice, a spectator at a ‘sporting event,’

rather he or she has the most pressing affirmative

responsibility to see that justice 1s done in every case.”

(footnotes omitted)), cert. denied, 421 U.S. 930 (1975). see a/so

U/nited States v. Liddy, 509 F.2d 428, 442 (D.C. Cir. 1974)

("Judge Sirica's palpable search for truth in such a trial was

not only permissrble, 1t was in the highest tradition of has office

as a federal judge.").

App. 7

.22 cahber rifle and announced loudly, "Don't nobody

move. This is a stick-up." Dinardo took this as his

cue to empty the cash register. He fumbled with the

buttons on the register, heard a gunshot, emptied

the register, and ran out the back door, joining the

other two men in the getaway car, with Murdoch

joining them about a minute later. He _ recalled

seeing Murdoch in possession of the rifle both in the

bar and in the car. Dinardo testified that the first

time he learned that someone had been shot in the

robbery was the day of his arrest, 11 years after the

crime

During Murdoch's trial, Murdoch's attorney,

Dinardo's attorney, the prosecutor, and the presiding

judge discussed a letter from Dinardo addressed to

his then counsel. The letter was first brought to the

court's attention by the prosecutor, who indicated

that in her interviews of Dinardo, he told her of the

existence of a letter in which he, Dinardo, stated

that he was coerced by the police into implicating

Murdoch in the erime. Dinardo's new counsel

asserted the attorney-chent privilege and = work-

product doctrine as grounds for refusing to disclose

the letter. The court concluded that Dinardo's letter

to Dinardo's former counsel, who was | still

representing Dinardo when the letter was written,

was protected by the attorney-client privilege and

thus could not be used, on cross-examination, to

impeach Dinardo

Although Dinardo was not. cross-examined

about the letter, Murdoch's counsel succeeded in

App. 8

eliciting testimony that challenged Dinardo's

credibility as a witness. Dinardo testified that he

had been convicted of the same murder for which

Murdoch was now being tried and that by testifying

in Murdoch's trial, he would "get out in about five

years" rather than 21 or more years. He admitted

that when he was initially questioned by the police,

he had hed and denied that he had ever been inside

the Horseshoe Bar. He admitted that he would have

done "whatever it took" to get out of custody and be

reunited with his daughter. He also testified to

convictions for grand theft in 1982 and petty theft in

1984. On re-direct examination by the prosecutor,

Dinardo testified that during the police questioning,

he named a "Charles or Chuck" as someone else

involved in the crime, but he could not remember the

last name. He was shown photographs at the end of

the interview, and he identified Murdoch as one of

his accomphices. On re-cross, he stated that he had

testified in his own trial that his confession had been

coerced. He also admitted that, had the fingerprints

not identified him as one of the robbers, he would

have continued to lhe to the police about his

involvement.

In addition to Dinardo, other witnesses from

the Horeshoe Bar testified and provided in-court

identification of Murdoch. The bartender, Dyanne

Spence, described looking into Murdoch's eyes down

the barrel of a rifle pointed at her face. "He's been

scaring me for years," she said. She also testified

that she had identified Murdoch at a live lineup at

the county jail in 1994 and that she was sure

App. 9

"beyond a shadow of a doubt" that Murdoch had

committed the crime.

Murdoch was convicted of first-degree murder

with a robbery-murder special circumstance, and

sentenced to life imprisonment without parole. The

California Court of Appeal affirmed the conviction,

and denied Murdoch's petition for a writ of habeas

corpus. The California Supreme Court denied

Murdoch's petition for review

Murdoch then filed a federal petition for a

writ of habeas corpus, which the district court

dismissed. On Murdoch's first appeal, we vacated the

order denying Murdoch's’ habeas petition and

remanded the case to the district court stating:

Today, we address a situation

where a substantial showing has been

made that, depending upon the

content of Dinardo's letter, the

Confrontation Clause and attorney-

chent privilege are potentially at odds

—a set of facts the Supreme Court has

not yet examined. Its_ precedents,

however, clearly provide that

evidentiary privileges or other state

laws must yield if necessary to ensure

the level of cross-examination

demanded by the Sixth Amendment

App. 13

therefore the Sixth Amendment did not require that

the letter be released to him. /d. at 1069-70.

Judge Bright’ dissented from the panel's

decision. He believed that access to the letter would

have allowed Murdoch to impeach Dinardo's

testimony much more effectively than was possible

without the letter, and that, on the basis of Murdoch

I, habeas relief should have been granted. /d. at

1070-72 (Bright, J., dissenting).

We granted Murdoch's petition for rehearing

en banc.5 Murdoch v. Castro, 546 F.3d 1051 (9th Cir.

2008).

IT. JURISDICTION AND

STANDARD OF REVIEW

We review de novo the district court's denial of

a § 2254 habeas petition. 7i/cock v. Budge, 538 F.3d

1138, 1143 (9 Cir. 2008). Under the Antiterrorism

and Effective Death Penalty Act of 1996 ("‘AEDPA"),

a habeas petition challenging a state court conviction

will not be granted unless the decision "was contrary

to, or involved an unreasonable application of,

clearly established Federallaw, as determined by

the Supreme Court of the United States." 28 U.S.C. §

4 The Honorable Myron H. Bright, Semor United States

Circuit Judge for the Eighth Circuit, sitting by designation,

was a member of the Murdoch // panel.

The en banc court ordered supplemental! briefing on the

question of whether the court should reconsider its decision in

Murdoch I

App. 16

relief for an unreasonable application of law can be

"based on the application of a governing legal

principle to a set of facts different from those of the

case in which the principle was announced. /d. at

76.© Habeas relief for an unreasonable application of

law can be "based on an application of a governing

legal principle to a set of facts different from those of

6 The California Court of Appeal, which rendered the last

reasoned state court decision in this case, addressed Murdoch's

Confrontation Clause argument only obliquely. It did not

mention the Confrontation Clause in its opinion, but it did

discuss and quote from the section of Murdoch's brief in which

he raised the issue. The court also quoted from Peop/e v.

Godlewski, 21 Cal. Rptr. 2d 796, 800 (Ct. App. 1993), a case

that dealt with the tension between the attorney-client

privilege and the Confrontation Clause. Whether the state

court adequately responded to Murdoch's Confrontation Clause

argument, however, 1s irrelevant. Even when there is no

reasoned state court opinion explaining the denial of a

defendant's claim in any respect, we "must assume that the

state court has decided all the issues and ‘perform an

independent review of the record to ascertain whether the state

court decision was objectively reasonable.'" Heynoso, 461 F.3d

at 1109 (quoting Pham v. Terhune, 400 F.3d 740, 742 (9th Cir

2005) (per curiam)) (internal quotation marks omitted). Thus

we do not review Murdoch's claim de novo, as we would if the

state court had clearly indicated that it had not reached the

merits of Murdoch's claim. See id; Prrtle, 313 F.3d at 1167

The dissent refuses to accept these established principles of

AEDPA review. Instead, it spends several pages discussing the

state appellate court's duty under state law to “analyzel J .

leach] contention" and convinces itself that the state court

erroneously “dechineld] to reach [the] issue" and "overlooked" it

See Diss. op. at 9050-52. But whether we review a claim de

novo under the AEDPA is a question of federal law and, on that

question, as explained above, we are bound by /feynoso and

Pirtle

App. 17

the case in which the principle was announced.” /d.;

accord Panetti v. Quarterman, 1278S. Ct. 2842, 2858

(2007), but only when the principle’ "clearly

extend[s]" to the new set of facts. Wright v. Van

Patten, 128S. Ct. 743, 745 (2008) (per curiam)

A review of the Supreme Court's recent case

law on this subject suggests that, when a state court

may draw a principled distinction between the case

before it and Supreme Court caselaw, the law is not

clearly established for the state-court case. In

Musladin 11, 549 U.S. at 77, the Supreme Court

vacated a decision of this court, Mus/adin- v

Lamarque, 427 F.3d 653, 661 (9th Cir. 2005)

("Musladin T'), in which this court held that the

state court unreasonably applied clearly established

federal] law by allowing the victim's family members,

in a murder tnal, to wear buttons depicting the

victim while in the presence of the jury

In support of our decision in Mus/adin /, we

rehed primarily on two Supreme Court cases: /’stelle

vy. Willams, 425 U.S. 501 (1976), and //olbrook v

Flynn, 475 U.S. 560 (1986). In Wiliams, the Court

noted that, when a defendant appears before the

jury in prison garb, "{t}he defendant's clothing is so

hkely to be a continuing influence throughout the

trial that ... an unacceptable risk is presented of

impermissible factors coming into play." 425 U.S. at

505. Thus, a defendant's right to a fair trial is

violated if he is required to appear in the presence of

the jury in such attire. /d@. at 505-06. The Court

reaffirmed this basic position in //ynn, but held that

App. 18

the presence of extra security personnel in the

courtroom during trial did not necessarily violate the

defendant's Sixth and Fourteenth Amendment rights

because, unlike the situation described in W7//rams,

it was not “inherently prejudicial." Flynn, 475 U.S.

at 569. Although the presence of additional security

in the courtroom might violate a defendant's right to

a fair trial in a particular case, Flynn's trial, in

which four uniformed state troopers sat silently in

the first row of the spectator section, did not present

such a case. /d. at 569-72. In Mus/adin /, we held

that the presence of the victim's family in the

courtroom while wearing buttons was inherently

prejudicial, and was an unreasonable application of

the test described in Wi//rams and Flynn. Mus/adin

[427 F.3d at 658-61.

When the Supreme Court vacated our grant of

habeas rehef in Mus/adin J, it pointed out that

"Ibloth Wiliams and Flynn dealt with government:

sponsored practices." Mus/adin IT, 549 U.S. at 75. No

Supreme Court case had apphed Wi/Zams and Flynn

to courtroom conduct by private actors, and, because

part of the test established in Wi//iams and Flynn

asked "whether the [allegedly prejudicial] practices

furthered an essential state interest," it was not

clearly established that the test would apply to

actions by private actors. /d. at 76. The Court

summarized its reasoning as follows:

Given the lack of holdings from

this Court regarding the potentially

prejudicial effect of spectators’

App. 19

courtroom conduct of the kind involved

here, it cannot be said that the state

court “unreasonablly] appliled) clearly

established Federal law." § 2254(d)(1).

No holding of this Court required the

California Court of Appeal to apply

the test of Willams and Fiynn to the

spectators' conduct here. Therefore.

the state court's decision was not

contrary to or an- unreasonable

appheation of clearly established

federal law.

/d. at 77 (emendations in original).

Similarly, in Van Patten, the Court held that

it was not clearly established that a defendant

received ineffective assistance of counsel if his

lawyer represented him via speakerphone, rather

than by being physically present in the courtroom.

128 S. Ct. at 746-47. The Seventh Circuit had

granted habeas relief on the basis of United States v.

Cronic, 466 U.S. 648 (1984), which held that in

certain circumstances a defendant need not prove

that he was actually prejudiced by his attorney's

conduct. The logic of Cronic is that, in some

situations, "the likelihood that any lawyer, even a

fully competent one, could provide’ effective

assistance is so small that a presumption of

prejudice is appropriate without inquiry into the

actual conduct of the trial." /d at 659-60. One

situation in which Cronic apples is when "counsel

lis] either totally absent, or prevented from assisting

App. 20

the accused during a= critical stage of the

proceeding." /d. at 659 n.25. The Court reversed the

Seventh Circuit because Cron did not Clearly apply

to the facts at hand. Van Patten, 128 S. Ct. at 746.

Although an attorney who participated in a hearing

telephonically might not do as well as one who was

physically present in the courtroom, the state court

could) reasonably believe that the attorney's

performance would not be so poor as to justify rehef

without showing prejudice: “Our cases provide no

categorical answer to this question." /d

In Panetti, 127 S. Ct. 2842, by contrast. there

Was no principled way to apply the Court's precedent

to a somewhat new factual situation and reach the

state court's result: thus, the Court granted habeas

rehef. Panett? concerned the pending execution of

person with a history of mental illness. 127 S. Ct.

2848-49. The Court identified the controlling legal

principle as the holding of Ford \- Wainwright, 477

U.S. 399 (1986), which required that a prisoner who

has made "a substantial threshold showing of

msanity" be given a competency hearing before being

subject to execution. Jd. at 426 (Powell. J.

concurring in part and concurring in the judgment).’

The Court held that it was clearly established that

ford required a competency hearing with procedural!

protections for the prisoner, even though the

standard in ford was stated in general terms and

Because Justice Powell's Opinion represente d the narrow est

> a

ground on which five Justices agreed, the Panett: court

recognized it as the controlling oprmon. 127 S) Ct. at 2856

App. 21

the facts were not identical to those with which 1

was now faced. Panett:, 127 S. Ct. at 2858-59. There

was no reasonable way to apply ford that would not

reach this result, and thus the state court had

unreasonably apphed the law when it failed to

provide Panetti with a proper competency hearing

ld. at 2858

[2] The common thread in all these cases is

that when there is a principled reason for the state

court to distinguish between the case before it and

Supreme Court precedent, the state court's decision

will not be an unreasonable apphication of clearly

established Supreme Court law. As we stated in

Moses \ Payne, 555 F 3d 742 (9th Cir. 2009)

(Wjhen a Supreme Court decision does

not "squarely address{ ] the issue in

thle} case" or establish a legal

principle that “clearly extendls]" to a

new context to the extent required by

the Supreme Court in these recent

decisions, it cannot be said, under

AEDPA, there is "clearly established"

Supreme Court precedent addressing

the issue before us, and so we must

defer to the state court's decision

ld. at 754 (emendations in original) (quoting Van

Patten, 128 S. Ct. at 746, 745)

13] ‘The Supreme Court has examined the

potential conflicts between the Confrontation Clause

»»)

App. 22

and other rights and_ privileges. including the

marital privilege, Crawford v. Washington, 04] US.

36 (2004).8 the Fifth Amendment privilege against

self-incrimination, Douglas v. Alabama, 380 U.S. 410

(1965). and the state's interest in the confidentiality

of adjudications of juvemle delinquency, Davis v

Alaska. 415 U.S. 308 (1974). But no Supreme Court

case has directly addressed the potential conflict

between state-law attorney-client privilege and the

Confrontation Clause, as we acknowledged in

Murdoch 1 365 F.3d at 702 ("Today, we address a

situation where a substantial showing has been

made that, depending upon the content of Dinardo's

letter. the Confrontation Clause and attorney chent

privilege are potentially at odds —a set of facts the

Supreme Court fas not yet examimed.") (emphasis

added). Indeed. in a case involving the attorney”

client privilege, the Supreme Court has expressly

stated that it would not consider the question

whether the attorney-client privilege might yield in

the face of constitutional rights. Swid/er & Berlin v.

United States, 524 U.S. 399, 408 n.3 (1998).

In Swidler, the Supreme Court addressed the

scope of the attorney-client privilege - specifically,

"the extent to which the privilege survives the death

of the client.” /a@. at 403. The Independent Counsel

8 Crawford was decided after Murdoch's conviction became

final and does not apply retroactively on collateral review. See

Whorton v. Brockting, 549 U.S. 406 (2007). Thus, whether the

Supreme Court in Crawford explamed “what the Sixth

Amendment was supposed to prevent,” Diss. op. at 9056, 1s

irrelevant to our review under the AK DPA

App. 23

sought notes taken by an attorney during a meeting

with his chent, former Deputy White House Counsel

Vincent Foster. Foster sought legal representation,

but, shortly after the meeting, he committed suicide.

Jd. at 401-02. The Independent Counsel argued that

"the attorney-chent privilege should not prevent

disclosure of confidential communications where the

chent has died and the information is relevant to a

criminal proceeding." /d@. at 403.

‘The Court began by discussing the purpose of

the privilege, "to encourage ‘full ands frank

communication between attorneys and their clients

and thereby promote broader public interests in the

observance of law and the administration of justice.'

" Td. (quoting Upjohn Co. v. United States, 449 U.S.

383, 389 (1981)). The Independent Counsel

analogized the situation to the testamentary

exception to the attorney-chent privilege, arguing

that "in criminal proceedings, the interest in

determining whether a crime has been committed

should trump chent confidentiality." /d. at 406. The

Court disagreed, stating that, unhke with the

testamentary exception, "[t]here is no reason to

suppose as a general matter that grand jury

testimony about confidential communications

furthers the client's intent." /d. As pertinent here,

the Court further reasoned that "there is no case

authority for the proposition that the privilege

apphes differently in criminal and civil cases." /d. at

408-09. Significantly, the Court noted that,

"Petitioners, while opposing wholesale abrogation of

the privilege in criminal cases, concede that

App. 24

exceptional circumstances implicating a criminal

defendant's constitutional mghts might warrant

breaching the privilege." but the Court stated that

"lwle do not... need to reach this issue, since such

exceptional circumstances clearly are not presented

here." /d. at 408 n.3 (emphasis added).

[4] The Supreme Court accordingly has

explicitly stated that it was not deciding whether the

attorney-chent privilege might have to yield to a

criminal defendant's constitutional rights. We have

held that a constitutional principle is not clearly

established for purposes of § 2254 where the

Supreme Court has expressly concluded that an

issue is an “open question." Aarp v. Ornaski, 431

F.3d 1158, 1185 (9th Cir. 2005): see also Meyia v

Garcia, 534 F.3d 1036, 1046 (9th Cir. 2008) (holding

that the Supreme Court had not clearly established,

for purposes of § 2254, that the admission of

propensity evidence In that case was

unconstitutional because the Supreme Court had

expressed no opinion on the issue and the petitioner

accordingly could "point to no Supreme Court

precedent" establishing the constitutional right):

Larson v. Palmateer, 515 F.3d 1057, 1066 (9th Cir.

2008) ("Because the Court has expressly left this

issue an open question, the state court did not

unreasonably apply clearly established federal law

in determining that the admission of evidence of

Larson's criminal history did not violate due

process." (internal quotation marks omitted)).

App. 25

The Eighth Circuit has rehed on the Supreme

Court's express reservation of the issue in Swid/er to

hold that the issue is not clearly established for

purposes of § 2254. In Newton v. Aemna, 354 F.3d

776 (8th Cir. 2004), the state trial court demed the

defendant's motion to produce the only eyewitness'

medical records. The Eighth Circuit "noteld] that the

Supreme Court has_ recognized in other

circumstances that constitutional rights can trump

evidentiary privileges," citing Davis and Swidler. /d.

at 781. The court stated, however, that Swid/er

"expressly left open the question of whether a

criminal defendant's constitutional rights might

overcome the attorney-client privilege,” and

therefore concluded that the Supreme Court had not

clearly established whether a state's "physician-

patient privilege must give way to a defendant's

desire to use psychiatric records in_— cross

examination." /d. at 781, 782; see also Johnson v.

Norris, 537 F.3d 840, 846-47 (8th Cir. 2008)

(discussing Newton and Swidiler and concluding

that, although Davis and Pennsylvania v. Alitchie,

480 U.S. 39 (1987), "establish that in at least some

circumstances, an accused's constitutional rights are

paramount to a State's interest in protecting

confidential information," those cases "do not

establish a specific legal rule that answers whether a

State's psychotherapist-patient privilege must yield

to an accused's desire to use confidential information

in defense of a criminal case"). As the Eighth Circuit

reasoned in Newton, "[gliven the restrictive nature

of habeas review, it is not our province to speculate

as to whether the Supreme Court, if faced with the

App. 26

issue, would find that [a state's] physician-patient

privilege must give way to a defendant's desire to

use [privileged material] in cross-examination."

Newton, 354 F.3d at 782.

It is not mere formalism to distinguish

between attorney-client privilege and other rights

and privileges the Court has dealt with in its

Confrontation Clause jurisprudence. The attorney-

chent privilege is, after all, "one of the oldest

recognized privileges for confidential

communications," Swidler, 524 U.S. at 403. The

Supreme Court might well decide that it is worthy of

greater protection than the marital privilege, see

Crawford v. Washington, 541 US. 36, or the

confidentiality of juvenile delinquency proceedings,

see Davis v. Alaska, 415 U.S. 308. In addition, the

Court might be more likely to protect documents

subject to attorney-client privilege because it is

easier to maintain such_ protection without

eliminating the defendant's ability effectively to

cross‘examine a witness. Because the attorney-client

privilege protects only a communication between an

attorney and a client, not the facts that are

communicated, a defendant would remain free to

question the witness about the underlying facts, just

as happened here. Despite not having access to the

letter, Murdoch was able to cross-examine Dinardo

on a wide range of subjects, including Dinardo's

earlier denial of involvement in the murder. As the

Supreme Court has explained, the attorney-client

privilege does not "create a broad ‘zone of silence’

over" the subject matter of the communication. "The

App. 27

privilege only protects disclosure of I[thel

communications [themselves]; it does not protect

disclosure of the underlying facts," so long as the

underlying facts can be proven without resort to the

privileged materials. Upjohn, 449 U.S. at 395.

In Crawford, by contrast, the marital privilege

prevented the defendant from cress-examining the

witness at all. See 541 U.S. at 40. The same was true

in Douglas v. Alabama, 380 U.S. at 416-17, when the

witness asserted his Fifth Amendment privilege

against self-incrimination.

[5] We acknowledge the possibility that the

Supreme Court may in the future well decide that

the Confrontation Clause in some cases requires the

disclosure of documents that are subject to the

attorney-client privilege. But under the highly

deferential standard established by AE DPA and the

Supreme Court, as long as the state court could have

found a principled reason not to apply the Court's

precedents to the current case, we may not grant

habeas relief. As was the case in Mus/ladin IT, 549

U.S. at 77, "InJo holding of thle Supreme] Court

required the Calfornia Court of Appeal to apply"

cases such as Douglas and Davis to Murdoch. The

relationship between the Confrontation Clause and

the attorney-chent privilege has not been clearly

established by the Supreme Court; as a result, we

cannot say that the California court unreasonably

App. 29

SILVERMAN, Circuit Judge, concurring

This case 1s built on a false premise that

there was somehow a conflict between Dinardo's

right to claim the attorney-client privilege under

California law and Murdoch's federal constitutiona!

right of confrontation. There was no conflict. The

trial court could have sustained Dinardo's claim of

privilege, and then having done _ so, stricken

Dinardo's direct testimony on the ground that

Murdoch could not be effectively cross-examined.

This is a very common scenario when a witness

testifies on direct but then cannot be cross

examined. See TVoolate v. Borg, 828 F.2d 571, 572

(9th Cir. 1987) (Ordinarily, when a _ testifying

witness cannot or will not be cross-examined, the

appropriate relief... 1s to strike the direct testimony

of the witness and to instruct the jury to disregard

it.") Gnternal quotation marks omitted); United

States v. Brown, 634 F.2d 819, 824 (5th Cir. 1981)

(stating that while "it is by no means clear that the

appropriate resolution to a conflict between [the

confrontation] right and the marital privilege is the

actual introduction of the testimony" a defendant is

entitled "to strike that portion of the testimony of

the witnesses against him with regard to which his

right of confrontation is lost"); 1 Kenneth S. Broun,

et al., McCormick on Evidence § 19 (6th ed. 2006)

(stating that "many judges and writers" agree that

excluding the direct testimony is the proper remedy

when a witness cannot be properly cross-examined).

App. 30

The problem 1s that Murdoch's counsel on/y

sought disclosure of the letter Dinardo had written

to his lawyer, deputy public defender Star. When the

trial court sustained the claim of attorney-client

privilege, that’s where Murdoch's lawyer was content

to leave it. His lawyer unquestionably perfected his

objection to the court's denial of the disclosure

request, but never sought to strike Dinardo's

testimony. This is the remedy that the law provides

in the case of a witness who cannot be cross:

examined for any reason. If the direct testimony

cannot be tested by cross-examination, it cannot

stand and is stricken.

Had the trial court denied a motion to strike

Dinardo's testimony, we would have a legitimate

confrontation problem on our hands, but no such

motion was ever made. Thus, it cannot be said that

the state court denied Murdoch's confrontation right

at all, much less that it acted unreasonably or

contrary to clearly established Supreme Court law.

In the absence of a constitutional violation, federal

habeas corpus relief cannot be granted. 28 U.S.C. §

2254(a), (d).

For these reasons, | would affirm the denial of

habeas rehef.

App. 31

Chief Judge KOZINSKI, dissenting, with

whom Judges W. Fletcher and Wardlaw join, and

Judges Thomas and McKeown join with respect to

Parts 2 and 3:

If it wasn't for bad luck, Murdoch wouldn't

have no luck at all. He's wakin' up this mornin’ in

jail when there's strong proof he ain't done nothing

wrong. | would certainly defer to a jury's contrary

verdict if it had seen this evidence and convicted

Murdoch after a fair trial, presided over by a fair

judge, followed by an appeal where the justices

considered all of his) constitutional claims. But

Murdoch had none of these.

Start with the trial judge: He was so worried

that the prosecution couldn't put on sufficient

evidence to convict Murdoch that he sentenced

Murdoch's alleged confederate (Dinardo) to life in

prison, but promised to give him a big break if he

testified against Murdoch. ‘True to his word, right

after Dinardo fingered Murdoch, and as Murdoch's

jury was retiring to deliberate, the judge rewarded

Dinardo by reducing his life sentence to a walk-away

twelve years—or, as Dinardo himself estimated,

actual time served of about five years.

Put yourself in Dinardo's shoes: You've just

been sentenced to spend the rest of your days behind

bars, never again to hold your infant daughter in

your arms. But the judge immediately dangles the

promise of leaving prison and resuming a normal life

before she turns eight, 1f only you help nail Murdoch.

App. 32

Prosecutors are known to offer defendants a break if

they testify truthfully against a co-defendant. For a

judge to goad someone he's just given a hfe sentence

into helping the prosecution by promising to give

him his life back, but only if he helps finger the

defendant, is judicial extortion.” You'd have to be

more than human not to do or say whatever it takes

to grab that brass ring.

I didn't coin the term: it comes from Philip Kurland,

probably the preeminent constitutional scholar at the time of

Watergate, who referred to Chief Judge Sirica's similar

misconduct as "a form of extortion.” Man of the Year: Judge

John J. Simca, 7ime, Jan. 7, 1974. James Fellers, then the

ABA's President-Elect, hkened Judge Sirica's treatment of the

Watergate defendants to the “torture rack and the Spanish

Inquisition." /d@. Dean Monroe Freedman of Hofstra Law Schoo!

argued that "Sirica deserves to be censured for becoming the

prosecutor himself." /d.

Sirica's unconscionable conduct 1s a blemish on the

reputation of the federal courts. While covering him with wet

warm kisses as to his other questionable conduct, the D.C.

Circuit stopped short of approving Sirica's blackjacking of the

defendants. l’nited States v. MfeCord, 509 F.2d 334, 346 n.35

(D.C. Cir. 1974) (en banc). No one. until today, has. Even the

trial judge in Murdoch and Dinardo's cases recognized a judge

Shouldn't act this way. See p. 9063 infra. We've said as much in

the past: "[JJudicial involvement in plea negotiations inevitably

carries with it the high and unacceptable risk of coercing a

defendant to accept the proposed agreement," and that

"violatels] a defendant's fundamental constitutional rights.’

United States v. Bruce, 976 F.2d 552, 556 (9th Cir. 1992)

"[CJourts must not use the sentencing power as a carrot and

stick ... and they must not create an appearance of such a

practice." L’nited States v. Stockwell, 472 F.2d 1186, 1187 (9th

Cir. 1973). One wonders whether these cases survive today

App. 33

Not only did the trial judge strong-arm

Dinardo into testifying, he prevented the defense

from seeing—and so from using for cross-

examination—-a letter Dinardo had written a year

earlier exculpating Murdoch and disclosing that the

pohce had coerced Dinardo into making false

accusations. The letter, written by Dinardo's own

hand on notebook pauper, 1s still under seal, protected

by Dinardo's vestigial attorney-chent privilege, but

Judge Bright's reconstruction is a fair summary:

1 would hke to make a

statement about the facts surrounding

my arrest for robbery and murder. |

was taking care of my young daughter

when Long Beach police arrested me

at my home in Berkeley. Two

policemen, Detective Pavek and his

partner, took me to the Berkeley

Pohce Department and interviewed

me. I wanted to get back to my

daughter as | worried about her

welfare. At that time, Detective Pavek

coerced a statement from me and

promised not to charge me if 1 made a

statement that Charles Murdoch

participated in the crime. But, | do not

actually know Mr. Murdoch, although

I know his brother. Mr. Murdoch and |

did not commit any crime.

Murdoch v. Castro, 489 F.3d 1063. 1071 (9th Cir.

2007) (Bright, J., dissenting).

App. 34

This letter would have destroyed Dinardo as a

Witness, so the trial] Judge suppressed it After all

Vhat's the point of putting the screws on Dinardo

only to have his te stimony decimated by his contr ars

prior statement? So the defense never got to see the

letter and the Jury never heard of it. despite cases

from the state court of appeal and the state supreme

court squarely holding Murdoch was entitled to the

letter.

You'd think that. with all] that controlling

authority on point, the state appellate court would

have reversed the conviction. But vou'd be wrong

Judges can only reverse a conviction if they conside;

the defendant's winning argument. Here. the court

of appeal, for reasons that can be explained only one

Way, see pp. 9050-52 infra. did not. It's not like the

court summarily affirmed the conviction: it spent

thirty pages 60InNg Over Murdoch's other - irguments

and knocking them down like bowling pins. But

Murdoch's best argsument—the one for which the

sovernment had yo answer—the state appellate

judges just skipped over as if he never made it. This

ls passing strange, but it's What happened

Now, to complete Murdoch's run of ill luck, a

plurality of our panel grants deference to a non

existent state-court "adjudication" of his winning

claim and concludes that the state courts were not

unreasonable in holding what they in fact never

held. And, even though a majority of the en ban

panel agrees that Murdoch was denied his right t

confrontation. our concurring colleague denies rehet

pp 4°)

based on a procedural default argument that the

state has never made. If everybody went to heaven, |]

do beheve poor Murdoch would miss the call

1. AEDPA Deference. The plurality holds that

the state courts adjudicated Murdoch's

Confrontation Clause claim on the merits, so we

must defer under AEDPA. Pl. op. 9032-33 & n.5.

That's contrary to the facts, because the last

reasoned decision of the state courts contains not a

single word about the Confrontation Clause: it's

contrary to the concerns of comity and federalism

that motivated AEDPA, because the state courts

have interpreted the Confrontation Clause as

Murdoch suggests: and it's contrary to the very

essence of habeas review, because no court will ever

actually decide Murdoch's constitutional claim on

the merits (unless lightning strikes and the Supreme

Court intervenes).

a. Murdoch argued to the state courts that his

Sixth Amendment right to confrontation was

violated when Dinardo was allowed to testifv. but

could not be cross-examined about a letter he wrote

exculpating Murdoch. Over the course of nearly

twenty pages, Murdoch argued to the state court of

appeal that "while the attorney-chent privilege is

entitled to great deference, the privilege must

nonetheless yield when it clashes with more

compelling Sixth Amendment rights of a criminal!

defendant to confrontation and cross‘examination

Opening Brief at 125. People v. Murdoch, No

NA020621 (Cal. Ct. App. May 22. 1997). He also

‘y »

App. o6

argued that, if the privilege couldn't be forced to

yield, "the constitutionally mandated solution to the

dilemma us to exclude the witness‘ testimony." Jd. at

137 (emphasis in original). In other words, Murdoch

argued that either he should have been allowed to

cross-examine Dinardo about the letter, or Dinardo's

testimony should have been excluded. These

arguments were backed up by plenty of citations to

federal cases hke Douglas vy. Alabama, 380 U.S. 415

(1965), and Davis vy. Alaska, 415 U.S. 308 (1974).

And they were slam-dunks under California cases

like Velav. Superror Court, 208 Cal. App. 3d 141 (Ct.

App. 1989), and People v. Minceyv, 2 Cal.4th 408

(1992), both of which held that the Sixth

Amendment right to confrontation supersedes the

attorney -chent privilege

Murdoch took his appeal to the same court of

appeal that decided Ve/z. and his case was assigned

to the very same division of that court. He opened

his Confrontation Clause argument by citing e/a,

and he even had two of the VFe/a justices on his

panel. Yet they did = not discuss Murdoch's

Confrontation Clause claim or distinguish Ve/a and

Mincev. They simply ignored the issue, devoting not

a single word to it over the course of a detailed

thirty-page opimon that decided every one of

Murdoch's other claims. The court of appeal's

discussions of Murdoch's claims under the Fourth

and Fourteenth Amendments consume almost seven

pages. People v. Murdoch, No. NA20621, ship op. at

6-10, 19-20 (Cal. Ct. App. Mar. 26, 1998). Its

analysis of Murdoch's Ex Post Facto Clause

App. 37

argument takes up almost four pages. /d. at 23°26.

The Sixth Amendment isn't even mentioned

The court of appeal's failure to discuss the

Confrontation Clause 1s all the more conspicuous

because its opimon addressed Murdoch's other

arguments about Dinardo's testimony and the letter:

almost a third of the opimon—nine pages Is

devoted to these topics. Zd. at 14°19. Four and a half

of those are specifically devoted to Murdoch's

complaint that the letter was improperly withheld.

Jd at 14:19. But these pages are filled with

discussions of California evidence law, the nature of

the attorney-client privilege under California law

and various state law objections. None of the cases

the court of appeal cites apply the correct Sixth

Amendment standard or do the relevant analysis.

The Federal Constitution isn't mentioned, the

Confrontation Clause isnt mentioned and

there's definitely no discussion of Douglas, Davis,

Vela or Mincey.

If you wonder how this could have happened,

just read the state's response brief in the court of

appeal. Like the court of appeal's opinion, it cites

neither Vela nor Mincey. The state now here engages

Murdoch's Sixth Amendment claim or so much as

mentions his Confrontation Clause arguments about

the letter. Response Brief at 33-36, Murdoch, Nos

B100877+.

None of this could possibly be Murdoch's fault.

he couldn't have done more to put the court of appeal

App. 38

on notice of his claim. Just look at the table of

contents in his opening brief:

XI. EVEN IF DINARDO'S LETTER

WERE PRIVILEGED, APPELLANT'S

OTH AND 6TH AMENDMENT

RIGHTS TO A FAIR TRIAL AND TO

CONFRONT AND CROSS- EXAMINE

THE CHIEF WITNESS AGAINST

HIM WOULD TAKE PRECEDENCE

OVER DINARDO'S ATTORNEY

CLIENT PRIVILEGE UNDER THE

PARTICULAR FACTS OF THIS

CASE

Id. at v. Murdoch's reply brief even tried to

"respectfully redirect! ] the Court's attention" to the

sections of his opening brief that set out his

Confrontation Clause arguments, ones

that the state's brief had overlooked. Reply Bnief at

54-56 & n.17. sd. Yet the court of appeal still decided

his case without any discussion or acknowledgment

of the Confrontation Clause.

We know they must have overlooked it,

because California appellate courts can't

intentionally skip over any claims: The California

Constitution prohibits it. See 5 Cal. Jur. 3d

Appellate Review § 706: see also Cal. Const. art. VI,

§ 14. To be sure. something as concise as

"Defendant's remaining contentions do not merit

discussion" will suffice. See Lewis vo Superior Court,

19 Cal. 4th 1232, 1261-64 (1999); People v. Rajyas, 118

App. 39

Cal. App. 3d 278, 288-90 (Ct. App. 1981). But

something must be said to indicate that the court 1s

aware of the remaining issues and has resolved,

rather than overlooked, them. The court of appeal in

this case didn't include even a catch-all line and

thus. according to state law, must be presumed to

have overlooked the unaddressed issues.

It's not as though judges arm immune from

making this kind of mistake. £-¢., United States v.

California, 558 F.2d 1347, 1353 (9th Cir. 1977)

(noting on rehearing that “we overlooked” an

argument made “in [the] briefs on appeal" ), rev'd,

438 U.S. 645 (1978): George Pepperdine Found. v.

Pepperdine, 126 Cal. App. 9d 154, 163-64 (Ct. App.

1954) (noting on rehearing that, "Ibly inadvertence,”

the court had "neglected" to distinguish between two

separate demurrers): see also Fed. R. App. P.

4AQ(aX(2); 5 Cal. Jur. 3d Appellate Review § 723

(2009). Truth be told, it happens to all of us once ina

while.

An oversight usually doesn't make a difference

because issues insignificant enough to escape notice

are often meritless. See, e.g., California, 558 F.2d at

1353; Pepperdine, 126 Cal. App. 2d at 164. But

Murdoch had a winning argument based on binding

California case law interpreting the federal

Confrontation Clause—an argument the state

effectively conceded by not responding to it. So, had

the court of appeal actually thought about that

claim. as it was required to, it would have had to

App. 40

grant relief or disregard one of its own cases (Ve/a)

while figuring out some way to distinguish on-point

precedent from the California Supreme Court

(Mincey). Courts just don't do that kind of work in

white ink.

Not California Courts of Appeal at any rate.

The requirement that they show they “necessarily

and carefully analyzed the contentions" in play is no

mere formality. Rojas, 118 Cal. App. 3d at 290. They

can be reversed for disregarding it. See Amwest Sur.

Ins. Co. v. Wilson, 11 Cal.4th 1243, 1266-68 (1995).

The Cahfornia Supreme Court has called this

requirement an "liJmportant incidentl ] of the right

to appeal," one that's "been in existence as to [the

Cahfornia Supreme Court] since the adoption of the

state Constitution of 1879 and as to the Courts of

Appeal since their creation in 1904." People vy.

Medina, 6 Cal.3d 484, 489, 490 n.5 (1972) Gnternal

citations omitted). For us to presume that an

unmentioned claim was rejected on the merits does

not respect state law. It disdains it.

When a California court fails to mention a

claim, at least in catch-all fashion, we can be sure

that it didn't decide the claim. And there is

absolutely no authority for the proposition that a

totally unmentioned, and therefore undecided, claim

can be deemed to have been "adjudicated on the

merits" when state law would treat the claim as

overlooked. See, e.g., 16A Federal Procedure § 41:179

(L. ed., West 2010) ("In making the determination of

whether an issue was ‘adjudicated on the merits’ in

App. 4]

state court, the habeas court inquires into: (1) what

state courts have done in similar cases... ."). The

Supreme Court has held that when a state court

declines to reach an issue because it erroneously

concludes it need not, our review is de novo. Eg.,

Rompilla v. Beard, 545 U.S. 374, 390 (2005); Wiggins

v. Smith, 539 U.S. 510, 534 (2003). It makes no

sense to treat an oversight born of negligence better

than a mistake born of careful, if ultimately

incorrect, reasoning.

b. This case exemplifies the problem with

deferring to the sounds of silence. Had the court of

appeal thought about Murdoch's claim, it would have

realized that binding case law resolved the key issue

in Murdoch's favor. Six years before Murdoch filed

his appeal, the California Supreme Court held that a

trial court erred in upholding an assertion of

attorney-client privilege that conflicted with the

Sixth Amendment. Mincey, 2 Cal.4th at 463-64. The

facts of Mincey will sound familiar: A _ witness,

implicated in the crime for which Mincey was

convicted, testified pursuant to a cooperation

agreement. The witness had communications with

her attorney that, the defense believed, would cast

doubt on her credibility at trial. The defense tried to

question her about those statements, but she

successfully asserted the attorney-client privilege. In

those precise circumstances—where cross-

examination as to attorney-client communications

would have shed light on a witness's bias—the

highest court in California held that the trial court

App. 43

the Constitution or laws or treaties of the United

States." 28 U.S.C. § 2241(c)(3). This upsets the

"delicate balance" struck by AEDPA between

vindicating the rights of criminal defendants and

upholding the authority of state courts as_ the

primary forum for adjudicating’ thes right

Wiliams, 529 U.S. at 436

AEDPA vests the state courts with primary

responsibility for determining whether a prisoner's

confinement violates the Constitution. See id. When

states accept this responsibility—as evidenced by

their adjudication of a petitioner's constitutional

claims on the merits—AEDPA requires us to accord

sreat deference. 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d). When states

don't, AE DPA deference doesn't apply and we must

)

review the claim de novo. E.g., Rompilla, 545 U.S. at

390: Wiggins, 539 U.S. at 534

This scheme preserves the essence of habeas

review announced in Moore v. Dempsey, 261 U.S. 86,

91-92 (1923) (Holmes, J.), because it ensures that

some court is open to review the constitutionality of

a petitioner's custody. But if a federal court defers to

a state that failed to decide a claim, no court a

prisoner may turn to will ever determine if his

custody actually violates the Constitution. |

hypothesis the state courts didn't, and our review

will be limited to determining whether there was an

"unreasonable" constitutional error. See Delgado v

Lewis, 223 F.3d 976, 981-82 (9th Cir. 2000). That's

probably why our colleagues in other circuits have

refused to defer in these circumstances. Lye// \

App. 44

Renico, 470 F.3d 1177, 1182 (6th Cir. 2006) (Sutton,

J.); Canaan v. McBride, 395 ¥.3d 376, 382 (7th Cir.

2005) (D. Wood, J.):; Norde v. Keane, 294 F.3d 401,

410 (2d Cir. 2002) (Miner, J.); Gruning v. DiPaolo,

311 F.3d 69, 71 & n.5 (1st Cir. 2002) (Torruella, J.):

Neill vy. Grbson, 278 F.3d 1044, 1053 (10% Cir. 2001)

(Tacha, C.J.), and even less egregious ones, She/ton

v. Purkett, 563 F.3d 404, 408-09 (8th Cir. 2009)

(Beam, J.); Henderson v. Cockrell/, 333 ¥.3d 592, 600-

01 (5th Cir. 2003) Wolly, J.); Fortini v. Murphy, 257

F.3d 39, 47 (st Cir. 2001) (Boudin, C.J.); Hameen v.

Delaware, 212 F.3d 226, 248 (3d Cir. 2000)

(Greenberg, J.); see also Bell vy. Cone, 543 U.S. 447,

460-61 (2005) (per curiam) (Ginsburg, J.,

concurring); Chadwick v. Janecka, 312 F.3d 597,

605-06 (3d Cir. 2002) (Alito, J.).

2. Merits. I would therefore decide Murdoch's

Sixth Amendment claim de novo. Murdoch had no

opportunity to cross-examine effectively the key

prosecution witness about the primary issue

regarding his credibility: whether he wrote a letter

admitting that his testimony against Murdoch was

coerced and untrue. This was not some remote

inconsistency regarding a minor detail irrelevant to

guilt or innocence; this went to the heart of the

prosecution's case. Murdoch's Sixth Amendment

rights were clearly violated. But I would rule for

Murdoch even on the plurality's own terms, because

it would have been an objectively “unreasonable

application of... clearly established federal law .. .

as determined by the Supreme Court" for the

App. 45

California courts to conclude otherwise. 28 U.S.C. §

2254(d)(1).

a. The plurality concludes that the supremacy

of the Sixth Amendment over California's attorney:

chent privilege isn't "clearly established." Pl. op. at

9042. "There are few subjects," however, "upon

which [the Supreme] Court and other courts have

been more nearly unanimous than in their

expressions of behef that the right of confrontation

and cross-examination 1s an- essential and

fundamental requirement for the kind of fair trial

which is this country's constitutional goal." Pointer

v. Texas, 380 U.S. 400, 405 (1965).

In Crawford v. Washington, 541 U.S. 36

(2004), the Supreme Court held up the trial of Sir

Walter Raleigh as an example of what the Sixth

Amendment was” supposed to prevent. Read

Raleigh's fate and = consider’ what's "clearly

established" about the Sixth Amendment:

The most notorious instances of civil-

law examination occurred in the great

political trials of the 16% and 17th

centuries. One such was the 1608 trial

of Sir Walter Raleigh for treason. Lord

Cobham, Raleigh's alleged accomplice,

had imphcated him... . Raleigh

argued that Cobham had hed to save

himself: "Cobham is absolutely in the

King's mercy, to excuse me cannot

avail him; by accusing me he may

App. 46

hope for favour.” . _ [Despite

Raleigh's protestations that he was

being tried "by the Spanish

Inquisition,” the jury convicted, and

Raleigh was sentenced to death

One of Raleigh's trial judges later

lamented that " 'the justice of England

has never been so degraded and

injured as by the condemnation of Sir

Walter Raleigh.’ "

Crawford, 541 U.S. at 44 (citations omitted). This

history is not part of the rule announced in

Crawford. It long predates it. See, e.g. California \

Green, 399 U.S. 149, 157 n.10 (1970)

So, if the Sixth Amendment has been clearly

established to mean anything, it's that the Cobhams

and Dinardos of the world—defendants who

impheate others as accomplices to curry favor with

the sovereign—must either be subject to rigorous

cross-examination or stand mute before the jury.

There is a “basic understanding that when one

person accuses another of a crime’ under

circumstances in which the declarant stands to gain

by inculpating another, the accusation 1s

presumptively suspect and must be subjected to the

scrutiny of cross-examination." Lee v. J///inors, 476

U.S. 530, 541 (1986). There is also a "basic

understanding" that forcing a witness to confront

and explain his prior statements that contradict his

testimony is the gold standard for effective cross:

App. 47

examination. See Harris v. New York, 401 U.S. 222,

223-26 (1971). Nothing can deny a= criminal

defendant the right to have the government's key

witness subject to this examination, certainly not

"the vagaries of the rules of evidence." Crawford, 541

US. at 61. Not even a coordinate constitutional

provision. Harris, 401 U.S. at 225-26.

b. The plurality stumbles into error because it

never takes AEDPA's first step—identifving the

fundamental legal principles announced in_ the

Supreme Court's cases. Instead, the plurality treats

the Supreme Court's Sixth Amendment

jurisprudence like a series of unconnected contests

between the mght to confrontation and a particular

rule of evidence: the Confrontation Clause v. the

marital privilege: the Confrontation Clause v. the

Fifth Amendment: the Confrontation Clause vy.

hearsay: etc. This way of looking at the Supreme

Court's cases is myopic and wrong.

The Supreme Court uses cases with discrete

facts to announce general principles. AEDPA

instructs state courts to reasonably apply those

principles, see Willams v. Taylor, 529 U.S. 362, 412

(2000), which the Court defines as the "fundamenta/

principles established by [fits] most relevant

precedents." Addul-Kabir v. Quarterman, 550 U.S

233, 258 (2007) (emphasis added). "AEDPA does not

require state and federal courts to wait for some

nearly identical factual pattern before a legal rule

must be apphed.” Panett: v. Quarterman, 551 U.S

930, 953 (2007) Gnternal citations and quotation

App. 48

marks omitted): see a/so Lockver vo Andrade. 538

U.S. 63, 76 (2003). The plurality's insistence that

habeas petitioners produce a " 'spotted calf on the

precise issue at hand” has no foundation in law

Bradley vo. Duncan, 315 F.3d 1091, 1101 (9th Cir

2002)

When there's no case on poimt. AEDPA

permits rehef if "a state court either unreasonably

extends a legal principle from [the Supreme Court's]

precedent to a new context where it should not apply

or unreasonably refuses to extend that principle to

ew context Where it should apply." Wilhams, 529

U.S. at 407 (emphasis added). All of the Court's

Confrontation Clause jurisprudence points to one

fundamental principle: Criminal defendants must be

afforded the opportunity to effectively cross-examine

the witnesses against them. £.g.. Davis, 415 US. at

316; Pornter, 380 U.S. at 405: Douglas, 380 US. at

418-20. That, and nothing else, is what needs te be

"clearly established." See Addu/-Aabir, 550 US. at

L080.

We can divine this "fundamental principle”

solely from cases where a hearsay exception or court

procedure prevented effective cross-examination.

e.g, Lillv v. Virginia, 527 U.S. 116 (1999): Cer \

Jowa, 487 U.S. 1012 (1988). Wi/Lams instructs us to

reason analogically, and it would be unreasonable to

refuse to extend the principle established in those

cases to Murdoch's case. The right to’ eross

examination is) “functional,” and the harm t

“rehabihty in truth finding,” Aentucky ve Stincer

App. 49

482 U.S. 730, 737 (1987), caused by denying a

defendant access to a prior inconsistent statement by

the chief witness against him is far greater than the

harm of allowing a witness to testify behind a

screen. Compare Cov, 487 U.S. at 1020, with Lee.

476 U.S. at 541. See also United States v. Ala

i real

]

2VEITIS,

1174. 1184 (9th Cir. 1994)) Burry. Sullivan.

618 F.2d 583, 58

7 (9th Cir. 1980).

But we need not look afield. The Supreme

Court has a specific category of Confrontation Clause

cases that address "restrictions imposed by law or by

the tral court on the scope of cross-examination."

Stincer, 482 U.S. at 737 Unternal quotation marks

omitted). For example. the Court found == a

Confrontation Clause violation where “defense

counsel was restricted by. state confidentiality

provisions from questioning a witness about his

juvenile criminal record, although such evidence

might have affected the witness’ credibility." /d. at

738 (citing Davis, 415 U.S. at 318). Even where the

law that restricts cross-examination 1s a coordinate

constitutional provision hke the Fifth Amendment,

admitting the witnesses’ testimony while upholding

the privilege violates the Confrontation Clause

Douglas, 380 U.S. at 420. The plurality cites no cases

—because none exist—where the Supreme Court

upheld the admission of testimony after a witness

invoked a privilege that prevented "Impeachlment]

by use of his earher conflicting statements.” Harris,

401 U.S. at 226. No such cases exist because “it 1s

axiomatic that the defendant may employ the

witness's prior inconsistent statements in order to

App. 50

impeach" the witness's testimony. United States v

Adamsor, 291 F.3d 606, 612 (9th Cir. 2002).

Ths pluralitv's discussion of whether the

attorney-chent privilege is "worthy of greater

protection” than a state's marital privilege, pl. op. at

9042, is utterly beside the point. Surely neither 1s of

higher digmity than the Fifth Amendment

privilege—the granddaddy of all evidentiary

privileges—-which nevertheless proved insufficient to

overcome the Confrontation Clause in Douglas. 380

U.S. at 420. Even if the attorney-chent privilege

were of the same dignity as the Fifth Amendment.

the need for "cross-examination and impeachment"

would overcome it. ffarrrs, 401 U.S. at 223-26. As in

Harris, it's not an all-er-nothing proposition:

Murdoch could have been allowed to cross-examine

Dinardo based on the letter, but Dinardo could have

been allowed to retain a species of use Immunity, in

that the letter could not then be used by the state

against him in a criminal case. See. e.g., Bittaker v.

Woodford, 331 F.3d 715, 721-25 (9th Cir. 2003) (en

bane); see also People v. Hunter, 2005 WL 1377738.

at *10 (Cal. Ct. App. dune 10. 2005) (khine. J.

concurring).

At any rate, this issue is much simpler than

the plurality makes it out to be. Either an

evidentiary privilege operates to deny an

opportunity for effective cross-examination or it

doesn't: if it does, the Sixth Amendment prohibits

both giving effect to the privilege and admitting the

witness's statements. The privilege may yield or the

App. 51

witness may be excluded, but one or the other has to

give. The bottom line is clearly established by a long

line of Supreme Court cases: A witness may not

testify agaist a defendant in a criminal trial if that

witness cannot be cross-examined effectively.

Swidler & Berlin vy. United States, 524 US.

399, 408 n.3 (1998), is nowhere to the contrary. The

plurality relies on Swid/ers supposed "reservation"

of a question about the attorney chent privilege as

proof that the superiority of the Bill of Rights over

Cahfornia evidence law remains an open question.

Obviously Swid/er didn't make any such reservation.

First, Swid/er was a case about whether the

attorney-chent privilege survived the death of a

chent: it did not deal with a conflict between that

privilege and anvone's constitutional rights. /d. at

401. Second. even the petitioner in Swid/er conceded

that the privilege could be breached when a crimini:

defendant's constitutional rights are imphiecated. /d

at 408 n.3. Third, the Supreme Court did not

"reserve" a Sixth Amendment question for another

day: the Court's opinion contains not a single word

about the Confrontation Clause. The Court simply

noted that it did not "need to reach" the far broader

question of when the attorney-chent privilege must

yield ain the face of a cmmuinal= defendant's

constitutional rights at trial. /d.

But again, all this is beside the point. It

doesn't matter if the attorney-chent privilege turns

out to be the Rock of Gibralter. If it is, the Supreme

Court's cases teach that the testimony of the un-

App. 52

cross-examined witness can't come in. We know this

from Douglas, which dealt with just such an

inviolable privilege—the Fifth Amendment. 380 U.S.

at 420. Nothing in Swid/er calls this remedy into

question, because Swid/er dealt only with whether

the privilege can be breached. The prosecutors there

weren't trying to admit the privileged

communications at trial: they were trying to learn of

their contents in furtherance of an investigation.

c. These "fundamental principles” of the mght

to confrontation have not escaped other federal

courts of appeals. The Second Circuit has held that

"where assertion of the [attorney-client] privilege

unduly restricts a defendant's cross-examination, the

witness’ direct testimony may have to be stricken.”

l/nited States v. Coven, 662 F.2d 162, 170-71 (2d

Cir. 1981). The Seventh Circuit has affirmed that

"the mght of confrontation conferred by the Sixth

Amendment" can trump "[elven privileges recognized

when the Constitution was written," wz. the

attorney-client privilege. United States v. Rainone,

32 F.3d 1203, 1206 (7th Cir. 1994). And the Eleventh

Circuit thinks the same, having held in Jen&zns vy.

Wainwright that "limitations on questioning" based

on the attorney chent privilege are permissible only

to the extent that the court "permitls] cross:

examination sufficiently thorough to satisfy the sixth

amendment." 763 F.2d 13890, 1392 (11th Cir. 1985):

see also Mills v. Singletary, 161 F.3d 1273, 1288

(11th Cir. 1998). Until the plurality wreaked havoc

with our law. we were a comfortable member of this

group. Mfurdoch v. Castro, 365 F.3d 699, 702 (9th

App. 53

Cir. 2004). Many state courts have also recognized

that the attorney-chent privilege may not prevent

effective cross-examination. Most significant of these

for our case is California, see pp. 9052-53 supra, but

it is hardly alone, see State v. Cascone, 487 A.2d

186, 190-91 (Conn. 1985): Neku v. United States, 620

A.2d 259, 262-63 (D.C. 1993). The plurality ignores

these voices by relying on a single footnote in an

irrelevant Supreme Court case. If this is what the

"clearly established law" test requires, then AEDPA

did not limit habeas rehef: it eliminated it.

d. The opportunity to cross-examine is

particularly important when it can "exposle] a

witness’ motivation in testifying." Delaware v. Van

Arsdall 475 U.S. 673, 678-79 (1986) (internal

quotation marks omitted). It's all the more

important when that witness is an accomplice

cooperating with the government. Lee, 476 U.S. at

O41; see also Mayans, 17 F.3d at 1184: Burr, 618

F.2d at 587. And Van Arsdal/ holds—it "clearly

establishes"—that "cutting off all questioning about

an event that the State conceded had taken place

and that a jury might reasonably have found

furnished the witness a motive for favoring the

prosecution in his testimony” violates a defendant's

night to confront the witness. 475 U.S. at 679: see

also Adamson, 291 F.3d at 612.

Here, the state's star witness wrote a letter

that, according to the prosecutor at trial, said "in

sum and substance... that Mr. Dinardo was coerced

by the police into implicating defendant Murdoch in

App. 54

this crime." [TR 249] "A reasonable jury might have

received a_ significantly different impression of

[Dinardo's] credibility” had they heard about it. Van

Arsda/l, 475 US. at 680. The trial judge demed

Murdoch's jury the chance. That means Murdoch's

Sixth Amendment right to confrontation was

violated. Jd.; Davis, 415 U.S. at 318. It would be

unreasonable to conclude otherwise.

When there has been a Confrontation Clause

error, we "cannot [consider] whether the witness’

testimony would have been unchanged, or the jury's

assessment unaltered, had there been confrontation:

such an inquiry would obviously involve pure

speculation.” Coy, 487 U.S. at 1021-22.

Harmlessness "must therefore be determined on the

basis of the remaining evidence.” /d. at 1022. Though

the plurality purports not to reach this issue, there

are rather large hints throughout the opinion that

Murdoch's inability to cross‘examine Dinardo was no

big deal. Nothing could be farther from the truth.

Consider what the trial would have looked

like sans Dinardo. Murdoch has always steadfastly

maintained his innocence. No physical evidence has

ever linked him to the crime. Four witnesses from

the bar testified, but only three even vaguely

recognized Murdoch. [TR 604] And they were highly

equivocal. One patron said: "It's been 13 years. And |

can't be positive.” [TR 625] Another could only say

that Murdoch looked "similar" to the gunman,

because "it was so many years ago." [TR 550, 579]

Though the plurality makes much of the bartender's

App. 55

identification of Murdoch, pl. op. at 9029, she was

shown Murdoch's picture in a_ photo. array

immediately after the robbery and didn't recognize

him. [TR 161] More than a dozen years later, she

points to the only defendant in the courtroom and is

sure it's him. Weak tea. There was no way the

prosecution could have gotten a conviction without a

miracle called Dinardo.

But don't take my word for it; just see what

the trial judge, who presided both over Murdoch's

case and Dinardo's, has to say about it: "[U]nless the

District Attorney has something more, I just wonder

without {Dinardo's] assistance where they're going."

Appendix at 9069. [SER 363] He notes that

Murdoch's prosecutors “have a very difficult case

without [Dinardo's] assistance." /d. [SER 363] That's

why the judge wanted "to be able—that there would

be some agreement that might be beneficial to Mr.

Dinardo and the prosecution." Jd. at 9068. [SER 362]

Just in case this was too subtle to move Dinardo, the

trial judge goes on to explain that he. wants "to do

something different," for Mr. Dinardo, rather than

give him the "set sentence" the law required upon

conviction for first degree murder. /d. at 9069. [SER

363] All of this was, as he acknowledged, "not the

judge's province" and a matter “actually between

attorneys." /d. [SER 363] But the trial judge also

wanted Dinardo to know that "I have 90 days to

change [your] sentence if anything changes in the

way of your mind" about testifying against Murdoch.

Id. (SER 363] Disgraceful.

App. 56

Denying Murdoch the nmght to. confront

Dinardo cannot have been an error harmless beyond

a reasonable doubt. If the state courts held

otherwise—which they didn't—they unreasonably

applied law clearly established by the Supreme

Court

e. The court of appeal did not decide

Murdoch's constitutional claim, so it's unclear

whether the harmless-error standard of Brecht \

Abrahamson, 507 U.S. 619, 631 (1993), applies in

place of the Chapman standard. See Fry v. Piiler

551 U.S. 112, 118-19 (2007). But it makes no

difference. Just as it would’ be objectively

unreasonable to conclude that the error in this case

was harmless beyond a reasonable doubt, see pp

9062-63 supra, it's obvious this error had a

"substantial and injurious effect or influence in

determining the jury's verdict." Brecht, 507 US. at

631.

The plurality suggests that Murdoch

"succeeded in eliciting testimony that challenged

Dinardo's credibility as a witness,” so any error

couldn't have affected the jury's verdict. Pl. op. at 5

Even if that kind of argument could be made here,

but see Coy, 487 U.S. at 1022, there's a huge

difference between routine impeachment for bias

and specific evidence that a witness has admitted

that his trial testimony is untrue and a product of

coercion from the get-go. The Supreme Court has

long recognized the extraordinary effect that a

witness's own inconsistent statement can have on a

App. 57

jury. In a case addressing confessions, the Court

held that a defendant's own inconsistent statements

are "probably the most probative and damaging

evidence that can be admitted against him." Arizona

v. Fulminante, 499 U.S. 279, 296 (1991) (internal

quotation marks omitted). The same, of course,

would have been true for Dinardo. The letter was

nothing less than a confession that Dinardo had lied

about the central matter of his testimony. No

only that, but the letter would have explained why

Dinardo was lying. It shows it wasn't just the trial

judge's generous deal. The police had pressured him

from the outset.

Plea bargains are cut every day and jurors

know it. A letter ike Dinardo's comes along once in a

hfetime. As Judge Bright put it in his powerful

dissent, "[t]he letter and its disavowal of Murdoch's

involvement in the crime would have been the piece

de résistance, leading inextricably to the conclusion

that Dinardo was not only generally unreliable but

also untrustworthy regarding the one element of his

testimony that the jury (as its verdict demonstrates)

must have believed." Murdoch, 489 F.3d at 1071.

"The concluding question on cross-examination of

Dinardo seems obvious: 'Were you lying then or are

you lying now?’ " /d. Forcing a witness to admit to

the jury that he's a liar is the Holy Grail of cross-

examination. What Murdoch got instead was a paper

cup.

Surely there must be grave doubt whether the

jury would have reached a different result if the

App. 58

letter had been admitted. Murdoch is entitled to a

new trial so that cross-examination—the "greatest

legal engine ever invented for the discovery of truth,"

Green, 399 U.S. at 158 (internal quotation marks

omitted)—can be allowed to do its work.

3. Procedural Default. Judge Silverman

agrees that Murdoch was denied his right to

confrontation, but refuses relief because Murdoch's

trial counsel "never sought to strike Dinardo's

testimony." Concurrence at 9045. Judge Silverman

doesn't contest that Murdoch argued on appeal that

Dinardo's testimony should have been stricken. His

problem with the timing of Murdoch's request must

therefore sound in procedural default rather than

exhaustion. In other words, Judge Silverman seems

to think that, because Murdoch didn't move to

exclude Dinardo's testimony at trial, his objection

came too late—perhaps for failure to obey a

contemporaneous objection rule or the like. State

and federal law of procedural default belie such a

claim.

As far as Ve/a reveals, Murdoch requested at

trial precisely the remedy provided for under

California law. Striking a witness's direct testimony

isn't the on/y way California could have observed the

Sixth Amendment's essential command. Ve/a holds

as a matter of state law that, if necessary to permit

effective cross-examination, California's attorney-

client privilege "must give way." 208 Cal. App. 3d at

150. That's exactly what Murdoch asked for at trial.

App. 59

1 also doubt whether the Cahfornia courts

would have held Murdoch to any default, if default

there was. California law says that "la] defendant is

not precluded from raising for the first tame on

appeal a claim asserting the deprivation of certain

fundamental, constitutional rights." People v. Vera,

15 Cal.4th 269, 276-77 (1997); see also People v.

French, 43 Cal.4th 36, 46-47 (2008). And even if the

California courts would ordinarily have held that

Murdoch's claim was procedurally defaulted, the

trial judge's conduct in this case might have excused

any default. See People v. Hill, 17 Cal.4th 800, 820-

22 (1998). These uncertainties would make me think

long and hard whether, if California would hold that

Murdoch somehow procedurally defaulted his claim,

that's an "independent and adequate" procedural bar

to federal relief. C£ Townsend v. Knowles, 562 F.3d

1200, 1207-08 (9th Cir. 2009). I would also have to

consider whether Murdoch can excuse any default by

showing cause and prejudice, particularly in light of

the trial judge's conduct. Cf Cook vy. Schriro, 538

F.3d 1000, 1025-26 (9th Cir. 2008).

But I need not reach any of these difficult

issues because procedural default is "'an affirmative

defense, and the state has the burden of showing

that the default constitutes an adequate and

independent ground’ " for denying relief. Scott v.

Schriro, 567 F.3d 573, 580 (9th Cir. 2009) (quoting

Insyxiengmay v. Morgan, 403 F.3d 657, 665 (9th Cir.

2005)) (emphasis in original). California didn't argue

to the district court, and it hasn't argued to us, that

the state courts rejected Murdoch's Confrontation

App O60

Clause claim on a procedural ground (or even that

they should have). Nor has the state argued, as

Judge Silverman would hold, that} Murdoch was

required to request exclusion of the witness at trial

and that his failure to do so bars him from obtaining

federal relief. That's the end of the road for any

theory that Murdoch should be denied relief because

he didn't ask for a particular remedy from the state

trial court. Chaker v. Crogan, 428 F.3d 1215, 1220

21 (9th Cir 2005) Habeas courts do not scour the

record in search of every conceivable defect im a

petitioner's presentation of a claim to the state

courts. Ve/a is but one example of why: What we

might require to preserve a claim is not always what

the state courts would require Compare

Concurrence at 9044-45 with Vela, 208 Cal. App. 3d

at 15]

California as satished with the procedural

posture of this case. We are in) no position to

disagree

Today we become the only court in the country

to hold that a state court may adjudicate a

constitutional claim "on the merits" by overlooking

it, and then have its carelessness rewarded with

AKDPA's presumption that. its adjudication was good

enough for government work. We defer to a decision

the state courts never made to reach a result that

the state's highest court disagrees with. We fail to

give effect to the plain meaning of the Confrontation

App. 61

Clause—one of the best-established principles of

Anglo-American law on the ground that it isn't

"clearly established." Any one of these errors would

be remarkable, but their combination produces a

truly spectacular miscarriage of justice

The purpose of AH DPA is to allow state courts

to operate in good faith. So, in the ordinary case,

when a defendant has an unbiased judge and the

state courts take his constitutional claims seriously,

we must defer even if we disagree on the merits. But

this isn't an ordinary case. The state trial judge

coerced a key witness into testifying and the state

appellate judges never addressed the key claim on

appeal. Cases hike this are the reason federal habeas

exists. When a federal constitutional claim falls

through the cracks of a. state's criminal justice

system, federal courts must be there to catch it. No

one else can. Charles Murdoch certainly deserved

better from the California courts. Ultimately,

though, it is we who surely did let him fall.

App. 62

Appendix

LONG BEACH, CALIFORNIA; WEDNESDAY,

SEPTEMBER 20, 1995

PM. SESSTON

DEPARTMENT SOUTH KO HON. CHARLES D

SHELDON, JUDGI

(APPEARANCES AS HERETOFORE NOTED.

CTH FOLLOWING PROCEHEDINGS Wilekt tibet.)

IN OPEN COURT)

THE COURT: MR. DINARDO IS BEFORE

THE COURT. THE LAWYER IS HERE, TOO, MR

PULLER. MR. CARBAUGH IS HleRIe FOR THI

PMOPLIE

Wk HAVE CONTINUED THIS A NUMBER

OF PIMES

MR. FULLER: JUSTONE MOMENT, YOUR

HONOK

THe COURT: GO AHHAD

(THE DEFENSE COUNSEL SPEAKS WITH

HUIS CLIENT SOTTO VOICE.)

App. 63

MR. FULLER: Wk ARE READY TO

PROCKED

THE COURT: THIS COURT WOULD LIKI

TO BE ABLE -- THAT THERE WOULD BE SOME

AGREEMENT THAT MIGHT BE BENEFICIAL TO

MR. DINARDO AND THE PROSECUTION, BUT

WHAT I'VE HEARD INFORMALLY I5

APPARENTLY WE'RE GOING FORTH WITH THI:

SENTENCING

IS THAT TRUE, MR. FULLER?

MR FULLER: YES, YOUR HONOR, THAT

IS

THE COURT: OKAY

MR. CARBAUGH: AND ECAN SAY THE

PEOPLE ARE READY FOR SENTENCING. | CAN

ALSO SAY THAT MR. FULLER AND | HAVE

HAD MANY DISCUSSIONS THAT I KNOW H's

COMMUNICATED TO MR. DINARDO, AND MR

DINARDO HAS CHOSE 'TO PROCEED THE WAY

App. 65

MINUTE. BUT, TO MY KNOWLEDGE, I DON'T

KNOW OF ANY OTHER EVIDENCE. THEY HAVE:

A VERY DIFFICULT CASE WITHOUT YOUR

ASSISTANCE. BUT THAT'S ACTUALLY

BETWEEN ATTORNEYS, AND UPS NOT THI

JUDGE'S PROVINCE.

I WAS HOPING THERE WOULD BE A

RESOLUTION SO THAT | COULD SENTENCE

YOU TO SOMETHING LESS, WHICH 1 WOULD

PREFER TO DO FROM EVERYTHING ABOUT

THIS CASE, ESPECIALLY THE LENGTH OF

TIME AND ALL THE YEARS THAT YOU LIVED

WHAT APPEARS TO BE A LAW-ABIDING LIFE

BEFORE YOU GOT ARRESTED.

UNFORTUNATELY FOR YOU, TECHNOLOGY

HAS ADVANCED TO THe POINT WHERE YOU

GOT ARRESTED WAY LATE IN ‘THE GAMIs¢

THE COURT MUST IMPOSE 25

YEARS TO LIFE FOR THE CONVICTION OF THE

JURY. THAT'S WHAT IMPOSE. TWILL STAY

THE 12022 ALLEGATION. IT THINK IPS ON

YEAR. THAT STAY

App. 66

WILL BECOME PERMANENT WHEN YOU

SERVE THE TERM THAT YOU ARE GOING TO

HAVE TO SERVE UNLESS SOMETHING

CHANGES IN THE NENT 90 DAYS.

$200 RESTITUTION FINE. 13967

AOVERNMENT CODE.

WHEN YOU ARF RELEASED ON

PAROLE, ANY VIOLATION OF TERMS AND

CONDITIONS OF PAROLE OR ANY LAW, YOU

COULD GO BACK TO PRISON FOR ADDITIONA,

TIME DURING THE TIME YOU ARE ON PAROLE

ADDITIONALLY, 1F YOU WANT TO

APPEAL THE CONVICTION, THE SENTENCE OR

BOTH, DON'T HAVE THE MONEY TO DO SO, AN

ATTORNEY WILL BE APPOINTED FOR YOU TO

PILE THE APPEAL BETWEEN NOW AND 60

DAYS FROM NOW. AND APPLY FOR AN

ATTORNEY, IF YOU WANT ONE, TO THE

DISTRICT COURT OF APPEALS.

MR. FULLER? YOUR HONOR, SO THE

RECORD IS COMPLETE. | AM AT THIS TIME

App OY

IhILED MARCH 7, 2005]

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

WESTERN DIVISION

CHARLES ) Civil No. CV-99-06900-

MURDOCH. ) RSWL (Me)

Petiiiones. THIRD REPORT AND

" ’ RECOMMENDATION

| ’ OF UNITED STATES

ROY CASTRO. ’ MAGISTRATE JUDGE

Warden, et al., . ONA PETITION FOR

Resecauedan ’ WRIT OF HABEAS

’ CORPUS BY A PERSON

IN STATE CUSTODY

This Third Report and Recommendation is

submitted to the Honorable Ronald S.W. Lew,

United States District Judge, pursuant to the

provisions of 28 U.S.C. § 636 (b) (1) (B) and General

Order 194 of the United States District Court for the

Central District of California. For the reasons

discussed below, the magistrate judge recommends

that the court deny the present petition on the

merits with prejudice.

BACKGROUND

The petitioner is a state prisoner at the High

Desert State Prison in Susanville, California.

On December 28, 1995, after a tmal in the Los

Angeles County Supenor Court, a jury found the

and ‘ttempt .

Dism

petitioner mmitted tl aurd

iT t j

engaged

and burglar nd that nD)

armed wit! Sreari Motion 1 .

On February Or +} ty

petitioner |

with

[Mot

Appeal di | the petition for \ c |

[Mot I |),

appeal, the California |

trial irt judgement beth

attempted murde1

judgment in a

Exh. D

review I tf

Disn x}

Supreme | rt den

\Mot:

App. 72

On March 8, 2002, the district judge caused to be

entered a judgment denying the petition on the

merits.

The petitioner appealed.

On April 5, 2004, the Ninth Circuit Court of

Appeals in a published opinion vacated the judgment

and remanded the action to the district court for

further proceedings. Murdoch v. Castro, 365 F.3d

699 (9 Cir. 2004).

STATEMENT OF FACTS

The following facts are taken from the reported

decision of the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals:

Petitioner Charles Murdoch is currently serving a

life sentence without possibility of parole in the

California penal system for convictions of first

degree murder and attempted murder. The

convictions are based upon a murder which occurred

in 1983 while four people were committing a robbery

in the Horseshoe Bar in Long Beach California. One

bystander was shot and killed; another was stabbed

and wounded. After an initially fruitless

investigation, the case was designated an unsolved

crime. The investigation remained dormant until

1994, when the Long Beach Police Department had

acquired the necessary technology to access a

previously inaccessible central fingerprint database

and ran the prints on file in this case. That led to

the identification of Dino Dinardo as one of the

robbers. The Horseshoe's bartender, Dyanne

Spence, then tentatively identified Dinardo, and he

was arrested in June 1994.

App. 73

When first questioned by a police detective,

Dinardo denied any involvement in the incident.

Under pressure from the police, however, he then

recanted, admitted to his involvement in_ the

robbery, and identified Charles Murdoch, the

petitioner, as one of his accomphces. The District

Attorney eventually charged both Dinardo and

Murdoch with murder accompanied by special

circumstances, crimes carrying possible sentences of

life imprisonment without parole.

Dinardo was tried by himself and convicted by a

jury of first-degree murder and sentenced to twenty-

five years to life. At Dinardo's sentencing, however,

the sentencing judge suggested that his sentence

might be subsequently reduced if he cooperated and

testified against Murdoch. Dinardo took the hint

and agreed to testify against Murdoch in return for a

reduction of his _— conviction to voluntary

manslaughter with a sentence of twelve years.

At Murdoch's trial, Dinardo testified that on the

day of the robbery, Murdoch came by his house with

an unidentified Mexican-American man Dinardo did

not know and asked if Dinardo wanted to make some

money by doing "a job," which he understood to

mean committing a hold-up. Dinardo was to grab

the money out of the till while the others, who would

be armed with a gun and a knife, kept watch.

Another unidentified Mexican-American man was

driving the car they rode in to the bar. Murdoch

entered the bar armed with a .22 caliber rifle and

announced the robbery. Dinardo jumped across the

bar and took two hundred dollars out of the register,

App. 74

at which time he heard a shot. He left through the

back door and they all divided the money. Dinardo

testified that he did not know anyone was hurt until

he was questioned by the investigators in 1994.

In addition to Dinardo, witnesses from the bar

also testified, including bartender Spence. After

Murdoch's arrest in 1994, Spence identified him in a

line-up, but she and others had been’ unable

positively to identify Murdoch in photo arrays eleven

years earlier, on the heels of the robbery. The record

strongly suggests that without Dinardo's accomplice

testimony, the prosecution's case against Murdoch

was weak.

Murdoch used Dinardo's reduced sentence and

lesser conviction to impeach him, but here's the rub.

Prior to opening statements, the prosecutor informed

the trial court and defense counsel she’ had

discovered the existence of a letter, apparently

written by Dinardo to his attorney, in which Dinardo

allegedly exonerated Murdoch and claimed that his

own statements to the contrary had been coerced by

the police. The prosecutor claimed never to have

possessed or actually seen the letter. She knew of its

existence only through an interview with Dinardo.

The letter, it turned out, was in the possession of

Dinardo's attorney, who asserted on Dinardo's behalf

that it was protected by the attorney-client privilege.

The trial court took possession of the letter without

allowing Murdoch's counsel or the prosecutor to see

it and ruled after reading it that Dinardo was

entitled to the privilege. The court did so without

mention of the constitutional guarantee now at

App. 75

issue. After so ruling, the court returned the letter

to Dinardo's attorney and ordered that he safekeep 11

in case of appeal.

One direct appeal, and in his petitions for state

post conviction and federal habeas relief, Murdoch

raised, unter alfia, his claim that the trial court's

failure to allow him to see or use the privileged letter

violated his right to confrontation. The California

Court of Appeal denied relief, and the California

Supreme Court dechned his) petition for review

Petitioner's federal habeas petition was denied by

the district court. This circuit pranted a Certificate

of Appealability limited to the issue of "Whether

appellant's federal constitutional rights were

violated when the trial court ruled that prosecution

witness Dinardo's letter was protected by attorney

chent privilege." Murdoch v. Castro, 365 F.3d at

700-702.

DECISION OF THE

NINTH CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS

The Ninth Circuit’ construed the petitioner's

claim as one under the Confrontation Clause of the

Sixth Amendment. The petitioner asserted that he

had been deprived of the right to effective cross

examination of Dino Dinardo when the trial court

sustained Dinardo's claim of attorney-client privilege

and prevented disclosure of a letter which Dinardo

wrote to his lawyer while in jail awaiting trial. The

Ninth Cireuit held that this factual situation

presented:

"a situation where a substantial showing has

been made that, depending upon the content of

App. 76

Dinardo's letter, the Confrontation Clause and

attorney-chent. privilege are potentially at odds -- a

set. of facts the Supreme Court has not yet examined.

Its precedents, however, clearly provide that

evidentiary privileges or other state laws must yield

if necessary to ensure the level of cross-examination

demanded by the Sixth Amendment."

Murdoch v. Castro, 365 F.3d at 702, citing Olden v.

Kentucky, 488 U.S. 227, 232, 109 S.Ct. 480, 102

L.ld.2d 513 (1988), Delaware vo Van Arsdall, 475

U.S. 6738, 679, 106 S.Ct. 1431, 89 L.Ed.2d 674 (1986);

Davis v. Alaska, 415 U.S. 308, 319, 94 S.Ct. 1105, 39

L.Ed.2d 347 (1974); and Douglas v. Alabama, 380

U.S. 415, 85 S.Ct. 1074, 13 L.Ed.2d 934 (1965).

Kssentially, the Ninth Circwt held that the

attorney-chent privilege might have to yield in a

particular case if the mght of confrontation would be

violated by enforcing the privilege. Murdoch v.

Castro, 365 F.3d at 703, citing United States v.

Rainone, 32 F.3d 1203, 1206 (7 Cir. 1994). "The

court must ultimately decide whether the probative

value of the fexcluded] alleged — privileged

communication was such that the defendant's mght

to effective cross examination was) substantially

diminished.". Murdoch v. Castro, 365 F.3d at 703,

quoting United States ex rel. Blackwell v. Franzen,

688 F.2d 496, 501 (7 Cir. 1982).

The Ninth Circuit decision concluded:

Without knowing the contents of the letter, or

seeing any evidence that the contents were

examined by the state courts during Mudoch's post-

conviction rehef proceedings, the federal courts are

App. 77

not able to determine whether or not the Califorma

Court of Appeal's decision "was contrary to, or

involved an unreasonable application of, clearly

estabhshed Federal law, as determined by the

Supreme Court of the Umited States: or (2) resulted

in a decision that was based on an unreasonable

determination of facts in lhght of the evidence

presented in the State court proceeding." 28 U.S.C.

§ 2254 (d). Similarly, without the letter, we are

unable to determine in the first instance whether, in

this case, the attorney-chent privilege "must fall

before the right of petitioner to seek out the truth in

the process of defending himself." Davis, 415 US. at

320, 94 S.Ct. 1105. We will not "require yielding of

so vital a constitutional right as the effective cross

examination for bias of an adverse witness,” where

neither the state nor federal courts actually

reviewed the privileged material on habeas and

made a decision as to its relevant probative value.

la.

We now vacate the district court's denial of

Murdoch's § 2254 petition, and remand this case to

the district court. We instruct the district court to

use its process to obtain the letter. Once the letter is

obtained, the district court shall then determine in

camera and as the court deems appropriate whether,

as apphed to the totality of facts in this case, the

denial of access to Dinardo's letter resulted in an

unconstitutional denial of Murdoch's = Sixth

Amendment right to confront witnesses

Murdoch v. Castro, 365 F.3d at 706.

App. 78

THE LETTER

Pursuant to the directive of the Ninth Circuit

Court of Appeals, the magistrate judge has reviewed

the letter at issue in camera. The letter is a two

page handwritten letter signed by Dino Dinardo,

dated December 1, 1994, attached to a copy of what

appears to be the face of an envelope in which the

letter was originally enclosed. The envelope 1s

addressed to "Kenneth Starr [sic] & Nelda Barrett."

The handwriting addressed to "Kenneth Starr” on

the face of the envelope appears to be different from

the handwriting used to write “Nelda Barrett.”

"Kenneth Starr" is written in cursive script. "Nelda

Barrett" is written in block printed letters. Attorney

Ken Star is or was a Deputy Public Defender who

represented Dino Dinardo at the preliminary

hearing in this action on December 8 and 12, 1994.

ICT, p. L.] Attorney Nelda Barrett 1s or was a

Deputy Alternate Public Defender who represented

petitioner Murdoch at the same preliminary hearing.

(CT, p. 1]

The letter is subject to a claim of privilege, a

claim which has been sustained by the state courts. !

If this court were explicitly to disclose the contents of

The Ninth Circuit opimon points out that a federal

habeas court cannot review the propriety of a claim of privilege

based upon the state law of evidence. Murdoch v. Castro, 365

F 3d at 703. n. 1. Thus, this court cannot properly explore

whether Dinardo waived his claim of privilege by addressing or

possibly distributing the letter to Murdoch's counsel, Nelda

Barrett. The Califormia Court of Appeal discussed this issue

and concluded that there was no waiver. [Respondent's Motion

to Dismiss, filed January 15, 2000, Exh. D., p. 232-3

App. 79

the letter, the privilege would irrevocably be

breached. To preserve the privilege as best is

possible, the magistrate judge will not now disclose

the exact text of the letter. However, at a later point

in this Third Report and Recommendation, to

accomplish the task the Ninth Circuit assigned to

this court, the magistrate judge discusses and

analyzes the assertions in the letter to determine the

“probative effect" of the letter. It should suffice at

this point to say that the letter contains factual

assertions regarding petitioner Murdoch's

participation in the robbery-murder which sare

inconsistent with and which contradict Dinardo's

trial testimony and Dinardo's statement to the police

upon his arrest on June 30, 1994.

PROCEEDINGS IN THE STATE TRIAL COURT

The proceedings in the trial court regarding

disclosure of the December 1, 1994 letter were as

follows. Before opening statements in the trial, the

prosecutor informed the court and _ petitioner's

counsel that, during an interview with Dinardo, she

had been told of the existence of a letter from

Dinardo. The prosecutor stated that she had not

actually read the letter. However, she believed that

the letter said that "Dindardo was coerced by the

police into implicating Defendant Murdoch in this

crime." [RT 249]

The petitioner's trial counsel was aware of the

existence of the letter, but not of its contents. Before

Dinardo testified, the petitioner's counsel! stated his

behef that Dinardo's lawyer, Jack Fuller, had the

letter. The petitioner's counsel requested the court

F :

App. 80

to order Fuller to produce it. Mr. Fuller asserts

claim of work product. The trial judge orderea

Fuller to deliver the letter to the court for its review

[RT 728.] Fuller then produced the letter, notin:

that it was delivered to Dinardo's previous lawye1

Mr. Star. [RT 751.] Fuller also noted that th

envelope accompanying the letter was also address«

to Ms. Nelda Barrett, the petitioner's previous

lawyer. Fuller asserted a claim of attorney-client

privilege and the work product doctrine with respi

to the letter. [RT 751]. After reviewing the content

of the letter, the trial judge held that the attorney

clhent privilege applied to the letter. [RT 768.] Th

trial judge further stated: "I see no exception to thi

attorney-client privilege, in my opinion, it's inviolati

insofar as these facts are concerned... ." [RT 7691]

The trial judge ordered Mr. Fuller to retain th

letter in his possession in case it was needed in

further proceeding. [RT 769.]

PROCEEDINGS IN THE

In some manner that is not clear on the record

before this court, the December 1, 1994 letter was

submitted under seal to the Calhfornia Court

Appeal while that court considered the petitioner

appeal and state habeas petition. Pursuant to thi

court's order, the sealed manila envelope from thx

Cahfornia Court of Appeal and the letter contained

therein have now been deposited with this court

The outside of the sealed envelope contains what

appears to be the signatures of various justices of th

‘

App. 82

contradicted the version of events which Dinardo

told at trial -- and at the time of his arrest -- with

respect to apellant's culpability." In his habeas

petition, Murdoch asserts the letter did even more

because it “substantively exculpates petitioner." We

are not persuaded. "{I]t is patent that the attorney:

chent privilege is not one to be easily discarded

merely because a defendant asserts that invocation

of the privilege results in the denial of his nght to a

fair trial." (People v. Godlewski (1993) 17

Cal.App.4' 940, 947.) "[Wle conclude that only the

most extraordinary circumstance would justify

disclosure of privileged communications between

lawyer and chent ...." Ud, at p. 945.) We do not

find such an extraordinary circumstance here. [lId.,

Exh. D, pp. 234-35.] This is the entire discussion by

the California Court of Appeal of the petitioner's

claim of a right of access to the contents of the

December 1, 1994 letter.

DISCUSSION

The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals ordered this

court:

(1) to obtain the December 1, 1994 letter and to

discover its contents in camera;

(2) to determine whether the contents of the

letter were examined by the state courts during the

petitioner's post-conviction proceedings;

(3) to determine whether the decision of the

California Court of Appeal was contrary to, or

involved an unreasonable application of, clearly

established federal law as established by the

App K 4

Supreme Court of the United States or resulted in a

decision that was based on an_ unreasonable

determination of facts in the light of the evidence

presented in the State court proceeding; and

(4) to determine whether the denial of access to

Dinardo's letter resulted in an unconstitutional

denial of petitioner Murdoch's Sixth Amendment

right to confront witnesses.

Contents of the Letter

Long Beach police officers arrested Dino Dinardo

in Berkeley, California on June 30, 1994. [RT 907.]

After his arrest, Dinardo made a_e statement

inculpating petitioner Murdoch. [RT 921, 924-5.]

Dinardo wrote the letter at issue in the present

petition on December 1, 1994, a week or so before the

joint preliminary hearing for Dinardo and Murdoch,

which was heard on December 8 and 12, 1994.

Murdoch's trial was in December of 1995. Dinardo

testified at Murdoch's trial that Murdoch planned

the robbery, that Murdoch recruited Dinardo as a

participant in the robbery, that Dinardo and

Murdoch committed the robbery, and that Murdoch

shot and killed one of the bar patrons during the

course of the robbery.

This court has read Dinardo's December 1, 1994

letter. The letter flatly contradicts Dinardo's June

30, 1994 statement and Dinardo's trial testimony

regarding Murdoch's participation in the robbery-

murder. The letter states that Dinardo never

committed any crime with Murdoch. If the contents

of the letter had been disclosed at trial to Murdoch's

trial counsel, it is clear that trial counsel would have

App. 86

This court thus answers the second and third

questions put to it by the Ninth Circuit Court of

Appeals as_ follows: The trial court and _ the

Cahfornia Court of Appeal both read the December

1, 1994 letter of Dinardo to his counsel. After

reading the letter, the trial court declined to order

disclosure of the letter because, in its view, the

attorney-client privilege is "inviolate" or, in effect,

absolute. The California Court of Appeal declined to

order disclosure of the letter on the ground that

there existed no “most extraordinary circumstance"

justifying disclosure. This holding was not based on

a process of weighing Murdoch's right to confront

witnesses against Dinardo's attorney-client

privilege.

In its opimion in Murdoch v. Castro, the Ninth

Circuit held that the precedents of the United States

Supreme Court "clearly provide that evidentiary

privileges or other state laws just yield if necessary

to ensure the level of cross-examination demanded

by the Sixth Amendment. ld. at 702. By declining

to consider whether, on the facts of this case,

Murdoch's right of confrontation trumped Dinardo's

right of non-disclosure of privileged communications,

the decision of the California Court of Appeal "was

contrary to, or involved an unreasonable application

of, clearly established Federal law, as determined by

the Supreme Court of the United States." 28 U.S.C

§ 2254 (d) (1). That, however, does not end the

inquiry. This court must determine whether

Murdoch's right of confrontation was violated on the

facts of this case

App. 87

Probative Value of Dinardo's Letter

To this point in time, the petitioner's claim

regarding Dinardo's December 1, 1994 letter to his

lawyer has been reviewed, in sequence, by the

California Supenor Court, the Calfornia Court of

Appeals, the California Supreme Court, this court

and the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals. Until now,

no court has attempted to determine whether the

petitioner's right of confrontation was violated by

failure to allow the petitioner to read an use the

letter at trial. Because no court has yet made that

determination, this court must now make it

The Ninth Circuit decision in this matter stated

that the ultimate issue for this court to determine is

whether, on "the totality of facts in this case, the

denial of access to Dinardo's letter resulted in an

unconstitutional denial of Murdoch's Sixth

Amendment right to confront witnesses.". Murdoch

v. Castro, 365 F.3d at 706. In making a decision

regarding that ultimate issue, the Ninth Circuit

stated that the court must make "a decision as to

[the] relevant probative value" of Dinardo's letter. Id.

at 706. It thus appears that the Ninth Circuit

adopted the test which it quoted in an earlier portion

of its opinion. "The court must ultimately decide

whether the probative value of the lexcluded] alleged

privileged communication was such that’ the

defendant's right to effective cross examination was

substantially diminished." Id. at 703, quoting

United States ex rel. Blackwell v. Franzen, 688 F.2d

at 501. This court thus proceeds to determine the

probative value of the Dinardo letter

App. 88

Making this determination inevitably involves

disclosure of more of the contents of the letter. A

determination of the probative value of the letter

involves an analysis of the factual assertions in the

letter and a comparison of those factual assertions

with facts admitted in pre-trial or trial testimony.

following facts:

(1) After Dinardo's arrest in’ Berkeley, Long

Beach Police Detective Pavek coerced a statement

from Dinardo by promising not to charge Dinardo in

exchange for Dinardo's statement;

(2)In this statement, Dinardo was forced to

identify petitioner Murdoch as a participant in the

crime;

(3) Dinardo does not actually know Murdoch

although Dinardo is aquainted with Murdoch's

brother; and

(4) Murdoch and Dinardo did not commit any

crime.

yd

The opinion of the Ninth Circuit ordered this court, on

the one hand, to review the letter in camera and, on the other

hand, to determine the relevant probative value of the letter.

Murdoch v. Castro, 365 F.3d at 706. This court issues its

opinions 1n public documents. The court cannot fully maintain

the privileged nature of the letter, while publicly discussing the

relevant probative value of the letter. The best that can be

done to accomplish the somewhat conflicting mandate of the

Ninth Circuit ts to refrain from publishing the exact words of

the letter, while summarizing and discussing the factual

assertions stated therein.

App. 89

Detective Ronald Pavek testified at the trial that

he made no promises to Dinardo during the June 30,

1994 interview:

There were no promises made to that man

[Dinardo] ever.

In fact, we were very emphatic in the oral

interview. I am not empowered to do anything. This

is a murder-robbery We're talking about here, and

the best way to help himself was to tell me exactly

what happened.

There was never any inferences made, there was

never any promises made that if you cooperate with

us, everything wall go easier.

We don't do that. We can't do that. We are not

allowed to do that. And 1 couldn't do anything for

him anyhow. I'm just a policeman.

[RT 917, lines 5-15.] Detective Pavek testified that,

during the June 30, 1994 interview, Dinardo kept

referring to a person named "Charles or Chuckie".

[RT 921.) Eventually, Pavek recalled that Pavek

had a group of photo mug shots in his file from the

earher investigation in 1983. Pavek showed those

photos to Dinardo, including a photo of petitioner

Charles Murdoch. Dinardo grabbed the photo of

Murdoch and said, "That's him, that's Charles." [RT

925.) Dinardo turned the photo over and saw

Murdoch's name written on the back of the photo.

Pavek testified that "He [Didonato] said Murdock

[sic] Murdock that's it." [RT 926.]

Dinardo testified at the petitioner's trial that,

during Detective Pavek's interview with Dinardo on

App. 90

June 30, 1994, Dinardo hoped to get released

Gradually, as the interview went on, Dinardo knew

he would not be released. [RT 860-2, 860-7, 860-9.]

John Murdoch, the brother of petitioner Charles

Murdoch, testified at the trial. John Murdoch 1s two

vears older than his brother, Charles. [RT 664.]

When John Murdoch was 13 years old, Dino Dinardo

played in the same neighborhood as John and

Charles Murdoch. [RT 665, 667.]

Witness Patrick Condon testified at) petitioner

Murdoch's trial. Condon was Murdoch's former

roommate, sharing a house with Murdoch in the

time between 1980 and 1983. [RT 712-13.] Condon

knew Dino Dinardo to be a fmend of Charles

Murdoch. [RT 712.) When Condon and Charles

Murdoch hved together, Dinardo would come over

and visit Charles Murdoch. [RT 713.]

Investigating police officers collected fingerprints

from the area of the bar cash register after the

robbery-murder. [RT 162, 890-91.] | Fingerprints

taken from the scene of the crime were matched to

Dino Dinardo in 1994. [RT 898-99.]

The four factual assertions in the December 1,

1994 letter were: (1) that the police coerced Dinardo:

(2) to ineulpate Murdoch; (3) with whom Dinardo

was unacquainted: (4) in circumstances in which

Murdoch and Dinardo did not commit any crime. Of

these assertions, tmal testimony rebutted the first

three, and half of the fourth, leaving only the

assertion that Murdoch did not commit the crime. In

these circumstances, the excluded letter does not

appear to have significant probative value. Most

strikingly, if the petitioner had been able to present

the contents of Dinardo's letter to a jury, the

petitioner would necessarily have had to contend

that Dinardo's trial testimony was false while the

contents of the letter were true However, the

petitioner's own brother and his tormer roommate

testified that Dinardo and Charles Murdoch were

friends. The statement in the letter that letter that

Dinardo did not know Charles Murdoch was false,

given the testimony of the petitioner's own brother

and his roommate. Moreover, at least half of the

statement in the letter that Murdoch and Dinardo

had not committed any crime was demonstrably

false. Dinardo's fingerprint was found on or near the

bar cash register. Dinardo's denial of involvement in

the crime was thus patently false The clear

falsehoods undermine the credibility of every othe:

statement in the letter

The essential value of the December 1, 1994

letter to petitioner Murdoch was as a= prior

inconsistent statement of Dinardo to impeach

Dindardo's trial testimony that Murdoch committed

the robbery-murder. The letter contains a pre-trial

statement of Dinardo stating that Murdoch was not

involved in the robbery-murder. Admission of that

statement into evidence in isolation clearly would

have benefitted Murdoch. However, other factual

statements in the letter were either contradicted by

trial testimony (the assertion that the police coerced

the June 30, 1994 statement from Dinardo and

coerced Dinardo to inculpate Murdoch) or were

demonstratively false in the hght of other testimony

(the assertions that Dinardo was not acquainted

App. 92

with Murdoch and that Dinardo had not committed

any crime). The letter is the only evidence of a prior

inconsistent statement of Dinardo — regarding

Murdoch's involvement in the’ robbery-murder.

However, taken as a whole, the intrinsic probative

value of the letter was and is low.

If Murdoch had been able to use the letter to

impeach Dinardo at trial, the impeachment value of

the letter would have been markedly attenuated

because of the nature of the facts Dinardo asserted

in the letter. The court concludes that, given the low

intrinsic probative value of the December 1, 1994

letter, the petitioner's right to effective cross:

examination at the trial was not’ substantially

diminished by the trial court's exclusion of the letter

from evidence. United States ex rel. Blackwell v.

Franzen, 688 F.2d at 501.

Prejudice

Kiven if the court were to find that the December

1, 1994 letter had significant probative value and

that exclusion of the letter constituted a violation of

the Confrontation Clause, the court must. still

determine if the petitioner suffered prejudice as a

result of the trial court's exclusion of the Jetter from

evidence. <A constitutionally improper denial of a

criminal defendant's opportunity to impeach a

witness, like other Confrontation Clause errors, 1s

subject to harmless error analysis. Delaware v. Van

Arsdall, 475 U.S. at 684. "[T]he demial of the

opportunity to cross-examine an adverse witness

does not fit within the hmited category of

constitutional errors that are deemed prejudicial

every case." Id. at 682

On habeas review of trnial-type errors such as that

alleged here, this court must apply the harmless

error standard set forth in Brecht v. Abrahamson,

507 U.S. 619, 637, 113 S.Ct. 1710, 123 L.BEd.2d 353

(1993). See Shumway v. Payne, 223 F.3d 982, 986

(9th Cir. 2000); Bains v. Cambra, 204 F.3d 964, 976

77 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 531 U.S. 1037, 121 S.Ct

627, 148 L.Ed.2d 536 (2000). Brecht forbids a grant

of habeas relef for a trial-type error unless the error

had a "substantial and injurious effect or influence

in determining the jury's’ verdict." Brecht \

Abrahamson, 507 U.S. at 637

"When a federal judge in a habeas proceeding is

in grave doubt about whether a trial error of federal

law had a ‘substantial and injurious effect or

influence in determining the jury's verdict,’ that

error is not harmless. And, the petitioner must win."

O'Neal v. McAninch, 513 U.S. 432, 436, 115 S.Ct

992, 130 L.Ed.2d 947 (1995)

Kven if the failure to admit the letter at issu

violated the Confrontation Clause, the error in

failing to admit the letter was harmless. As the

court has stated above, three and half out of the four

assertions in Dinardo's letter were either

controverted or proved to be demonstrably false at

trial. Given these facts, the probative value of the

letter was not substantial. In these circumstances

this court should not harbor a grave doubt whether

if the letter had been admitted into evidence and

onsidered by the jury. the jury would have reached

Aici ¥

App. 94

a different verdict and acquitted petitioner Murdoch

of the robbery-murder.

The court acknowledges that the testimony ol

Dinardo was probably decisive in convicting

Murdoch. The trial in this case was held more than

twelve years after the robbery-murder. The events

took place quickly. No eyewitness claimed to be

acquainted with the perpetrators before the date o!

the robbery-murder. At trial, there were two weak

identifications of the petitioner by eyewitnesses and

one somewhat stronger identification. Without

Dinardo's testimony, it 1s questionable whether the

jury would have convicted Murdoch. The prosecutor

obviously believed that. Otherwise, she would not

have offered to reduce Didonato's offense t

manslaughter in exchange for his testimony.

Dinardo's testimony was crucial. Evidence that

Dinardo had earher told a story different from that

which he told the jury might conceivably have

caused the jury to doubt Dinardo's trial testimony

The difficulty in this case is that Dinardo's prior

inconsistent statement was inextricably linked with

other statements which either conflicted with other

evidence or were demonstrably false. Given those

problems, this court should not find that admission

of the December 1, 1994 letter would have changed

the jury's ultimate determination of Murdoch's guilt

If the court finds that the failure to admit Dinardo's

letter at Murdoch's trial constituted a violation of

the Confrontation Clause, the court should find that

the error was harmless

The failure of the Califorma court

whether Murdoch's nght of confrontation trump

Dinardo's claim of privilege was contrary to the

f this case as found by the Ninth Circuit. Hows

evidence did not violate the Confrontation Clau

because the contents of the letter did not hay

substantial probative value in the light of the oth

evidence in this case Even if the contents of th

letter are deemed to have significant probative valu

and the failure to admit the letter into eviden

violated the Confrontation Claus the error was

harmless. ‘The court should deny the ri

claims of the petition

RECOMMENDATION

e magistrate judge therefore recommen

the court issue an order: (1) approving and adopt

j

this Third Report and Recommendation: and

directing that judgment be entered d

netition on +h moeorite wu the wie . ]

| ‘ i ij i; . i

App. 96

[FILED APRIL 7, 2005]

THIS CONSTITUTES NOTICE OF ENTRY AS

REQUIRED BY FRCP, RULE 77(d)

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA -

WESTERN DIVISION

CHARLES ) Civil No. CV-99-06900-

MURDOCH, ) RSWL (Me)

Petitioner, ORDER ADOPTING

REPORT AND

| RECOMMENDATION

ROY CASTRO, ' OF UNITED STATES

Warden, et al., ' MAGISTRATE JUDGE

Respondents

Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 636(b){(1)(C), the court

has reviewed the pleadings and other papers herein,

the Third Report and Recommendation of United

States Magistrate Judge, and the objections thereto,

and accepts and adopts the Magistrate Judge's

findings, conclusions and recommendations. The

court has made a de novo determination of those

portions of the report as to which objection has been

made.

IT IS ORDERED that the Clerk shall serve copies

of this Order and the Judgment by United States

Mail on the petitioner and the Attorney General for

the State of California

Dated: April 7, 2005

RONALD S.W. LEW

United States District Judge

KNTERED

CLERK U.S. DISTRICT COUR

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.