Opposition Brief — Core Communications, Inc. v. Federal Communications Commission

Supreme Court brief2010

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 10-785

Jn the Supreme Court of the Anited States

MEGAN KRAINSKI,

Petitioner,

Vi

NEVADA, EX REL. BOARD OF REGENTS OF THE NEVADA SYSTEM

OF HIGHER EDUCATION, ON BEHALF OF THE UNIVERSITY OF

NeEvabaA, LaS VEGAS, ET AL.,

Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United

States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

February 14, 2011

SUSAN CARRASCO O’BRIEN

Counsel of Record

ASSISTANT GENERAL COUNSEL

UNIVERSITY OF Nevapa, Las VEGAS

4505 MarRYLAND Parkway, Box 41085

Las Vecas, Nevapa 89154-1085

Pur#: (702) 895-5185

Susan.OBrien@unlv.edu

Attorneys for Respondents State of

Nevada ex. rel. Board of Regents of the

Nevada System of Higher Education on

behalf of the University of Nevada, Las

Vegas; Rebecca Mills; Richard Clark;

Phillip Burns; Nannette Jimenez; Tyree

Pint; Officer L. Tramposch; Officer B.

Gott; Officer J. Culver; Susan M.

Carrasco; and Leslie Wallenfeldt

Becker Gallagher - Cincinnati, OH - Washington, D.C. - 800.890.5001

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

: Whether Petitioner, as the plaintiff in District

Court, pled only bare assertions and conclusory

allegations, resulting in a failure to state a claim upon

which relief could be granted in accordance with this

Court’s standard of review established in Bell Atl.

Corp. v. Twombly, 550 U.S. 544, 555, 127 S. Ct. 1955

(2007) and Ashcroft v. Igbal,_ —=5 =S5U.S. 129 S.. Ct.

1937, 1949, 173 L. Ed. 2d 868 (2009).

I]. Whether Petitioner, as the plaintiff in District

Court, pled factual matter that, if taken as true, states

a claim that Respondents, in their individual

capacities, deprived her of a clearly established

constitutional right?

lil. Whether Petitioner's failure to properly raise

the issue of leave to amend before the District Court

and more significantly, failure to actually set forth any

facts which might support a leave to amend,

warranted denial of leave to amend.

il

LIST OF PARTIES

Petitioner has accurately presented a list of all

parties to the proceeding in the court whose judgment

is under review and, as such, Respondents incorporate

Petitioner’s Rule 14.1(b) Statement. (Petitioner’s

Petition for Writ of Certiorari, hereinafter referred to

as “Pet” or “Petition” p.1i).

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ..................

Lee GE CRIMI 6-6 65 des ooo ke hd Oe ee

TAILLE OF COVINT 0G on nc cece canenwe aves il

py Oe tk wip yt ey rare

CITATIONS OF OFFICIAL/UNOFFICIAL

REPORTS OF OPINIONS AND ORDERS

ENTERED IN THE CASE BY COURTS .....

CONCISE STATEMENT OF BASIS FOR

COE ik a ke one ee ee

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED ................

I. STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..............

Il. THE OPINIONS BELOW .................

Ms eee er err ry ee

THE COURT OF APPEALS CORRECTLY

CONCLUDED THAT THE DISTRICT

COURT’S DECISION TO _ DISMISS

PETITIONER’S COMPLAINT BASED UPON

BELL ATL. CORP. V. TROWMBLY AND

ASHCROFT V. IQBAL, AS WELL AS

PRINCIPLES OF QUALIFIED IMMUNITY,

WAS NOT CONTRARY TO OR AN

UNREASONABLE APPLICATION OF

CLEARLY ESTABLISHED FEDERAL LAW

8

iV

A. The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals Majority

Correctly Applied Governing U.S. Supreme

Court Pleading Standards ..............

B. The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals Majority

Correctly Applied Governing U.S. Supreme

Court Qualified Immunity Principles ..

C. The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals Majority

Correctly Determined Petitioner Failed to

Set Forth New Facts Before the District

Court, and for that matter, the Ninth

Circuit, Which Petitioner Could Include in

her Complaint to Overcome its Fatal

Re ele th a hy SE ee

Oe. PEE ek ey ht ey pace

APPENDIX

Appendix A: Complaint, United States

District, District of Nevada

Le 2, Oe) a oe er a AS

Appendix B: Opposition to Defendants Motion

to Dismiss Plaintiffs Complaint,

United States District Court,

District of Nevada

12

1b

oO a) en eae 23b

V

Appendix C: Reporter’s Transcript of

Proceedings, United Siates

District Court, District of

Nevada, The Honorable James C.

Mahan, Judge Presiding

(October 14, 2008) .......... 68b

vl

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Anderson v. Creighton,

438 U.S. 635, 107 S. Ct. 3034, 97 L. Ed. 2d 523

ee a aa wad Wve 6s x se ©0400 0 13

Ashcroft v. Igbal,

US. , 129 S. Ct. 1937, 173 L. Ed. 2d

ES En a passim

Beck v. Ohio,

379 U.S. 89, 85 S. Ct. 223, 13 L. Ed. 2d 142

es sc ek cde bee 13

Bell Atl. Corp. v. Twombly,

550 U.S. 544, 127 S. Ct. 1955 (2007) .... passim

Foman v. Davis,

371 U.S. 178, 83 S. Ct. 227, 9 L. Ed. 2d 222

ed in a wba ees ees 15

Harlow v. Fitzgerald,

457 U.S. 800, 102 S. Ct. 2727, 73 L. Ed. 2d 396

a, IS 12

Henry v. United States,

361 U.S. 98, 80 S. Ct. 168, 4 L. Ed. 2d 134

ee es Gk we se 13

Hope v. Pelzer,

536 U.S. 730, 122 S. Ct. 2508, 153 L. Ed. 2d 666

ee cia eke ns cece ns 13

Vil

Hunter v. Bryant,

502 U.S. 224, 112 S. Ct. 534, 116 L. Ed. 2d 589

(1901) (per euriam) ...........222.55- 11, 14

Krainski v. NSHE et al.,

616 F.3d 963 (9th Cir. 2010) ........... passim

Lemmons v. Georgetown Univ. Hosp.,

241 F.R.D. 15, 100 Fair Empl. Prac. Cas. (BNA)

563, 89 Empl. Prac. Dec. (CCH) P 42,777

ES. CO Ce ae re Leas ah 16

Mitchell v. Forsyth,

472 U.S. 511, 105 S. Ct. 2806, 86 L. Ed. 2d 411

EN ah ora rae wane te eres atta es 12

Monell v. Dep't of Social Servs. of N.Y.,

436 U.S. 658, 98 S. Ct. 2018, 56 L. Ed. 2d 611

Rats trie er eee vat at dun oa 5

Pearson v. Callahan,

555 U.S. 223, 129 S. Ct. 808, 172 L. Ed. 2d 565

I MS cae ea he, 7, 12, 13, 14

Romero v. Wilson Elementary Sch. Distr. No. 7,

No. CV 05-2231-PHX-MHM, 2006 U.S. Dist.

LEXIS 57652, 2006 WL 2374844 (D. Ariz. Aug.

SC Sy ee ee ee 16

Saucier v. Katz,

533 U.S. 194, 121 S. Ct. 2151, 150 L. Ed. 2d 272

sk PERN ane hae ai heedng Pam Se Ae Be AT Ac edna atl Rat tae 12

Thomas v. R.I.,

542 F.3d 944, 71 Fed. R. Serv. 3d 944 (1st Cir.

re aan ce ia ee ee ee ele 16

Vill

United States v. 3 Parcels in La Plata Cnty.,

919 F. Supp. 1449, 1995 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 20664

(DD. TOW Re 6 bs neo ose 17

United States ex. rel. Lee v. Fairview Health Sys.,

413 F.3d 748 (8th Cir. 2005) .............. 16

CONSTITUTION

U.S. Comet. amend. f¥ . 56... «shee ae passim

STATUTES

42 UA. § 30S one 0 5 eee 1,12

RULES

Fed. R. Gv. ? 7D) ...n eee 15, 16

Fed. BR. Caw. P. MONS) 26 oe eee 9

Fed. BR. Civ. F: Mia) .. 2.35 eee 15

Local Rate 16-1) 6.26 oe nce ee eee ee 3

OTHER AUTHORITIES

5 Charles Alan Wright et al., Federal Practice and

Procedure §§1191& 1192 (3d ed. 2004) ..... 16

6 Charles Alan Wright et al., Federal Practice and

Procedure §§1473 & 1483 (3d ed. 2010) ..... 15

l

CITATIONS OF OFFICIAL/UNOFFICIAL

REPORTS OF OPINIONS AND

OKDERS ENTERED IN THE

CASE BY COURTS

Petitioner has accurately presented the citations of

the official and unofficial reports of all opinions and

orders entered in this case by courts and

administrative agencies and, as such, Respondents

incorporate Petitioner's “Opinions Below” Statement.

(Pet. p.1).

CONCISE STATEMENT OF BASIS

FOR JURISDICTION

Petitioner has accurately presented the basis for

jurisdiction of this Court, including the statutory

provisions and time facts on which jurisdiction rests

and, as such, Respondents incorporate Petitioner's

“Jurisdiction” Statement. (Pet. p.1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

In addition to statutory provision 42 U.S.C. § 1983,

referenced to by Petitioner (Pet. p. 2), the Fourth

Amendment of the U.S. Constitution is also involved in

this case.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Statement of the Case

Respondents’ refer to and incorporate the summary

of the procedural history and facts set forth by the

majority of the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals below

in Krainski v. NSHE et al., 616 F.3d 963, 965-967 (9th

Cir. 2010).

Misstatements of in Petition

Respondents do, pursuant to Rule 15.2, point out

misstatements of fact or law in the Petition that bear

on what issues would be before the Court if certiorari

were granted.

Contrary to Petitioner’s assertion, the District

Court provided a detailed analysis and explanation of

its decision at the time of the hearing on Respondent’s

Motion to Dismiss. (RA, 70b-73b). Moreover, during

the hearing Petitioner asked the Court to reconsider

its position on the Fourth Amendment claim and

substantive due process claim. (RA, 75b). = Lastly,

Petitioner failed to raise the request for leave to

amend at all during the hearing (RA, 68b-79b) or

following the hearing via a motion for reconsideration.

The District Court’s Order of October 20, 2008, simply

memorialized the analysis provided to the parties

during the hearing on the Motion to Dismiss.

(Petitioner's Appendix, 23-27).

Petitioner’s request to amend, included in her

Opposition to Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss, was not

clearly stated or sufficiently supported and failed to

comply with the local rules’ requiring the moving

party to attach the proposed amended pleading to any

”

motion. (Respondents’ Appendix, hereinafter “RA,

66b-67b). Petitioner’s request was a “naked” request

made in passing without any support. /d. Other than

including the passing reference in her Opposition,

Petitioner failed to provide the District Court with

notice of the basis for the request, including any

statements whatsoever regarding what the proposed

amendment might look like. Id.

Petitioner’s misrepresents the allegations

Petitioner pled in her own Complaint. Contrary to

Petitioner’s assertion, she did not plead “continuous

and unyielding harassment and threats made by Polee

to Krainski.” (Petition, p.8). Petitioner actually pled

that she met with the University employee,

Respondent Leslie Wallenfeldt, and advised her of “on-

going harassing and threatening behavior by

{Petitioner’s} roommate.” Krainski v. Polee, 616 F.3d

at 966. In several places within the Petition she

asserts allegations that never appeared in her

Complaint or on appeal before the Ninth Circuit. It is

only now, in the Petition, that Petitioner sets forth the

following allegation, four separate times: “and that no

physical evidence of an attack existed whatsoever.”

(Pet. p.9; pp.12-13; p.14).

' Local Rule 15-1(a):

Unless otherwise permitted by the court, the moving party shall

attach the proposed amended pleading to any motion to amend so

that it will be complete in itself without reference to the

superseding pleading. An amended pleading shall include copies

of all exhibits referred to in such pleading.

4

Missing from the Petition is an accurate summary

of the criminal proceedings. Petitioner was arrested

for the crime of Assault with a Deadly Weapon.

Krainshi, 616 F.3d at 966. Petitioner subsequently

entered into a plea deal, which involved a submittal on

the record wherein Petitioner pled guilty to a reduced

crime of misdemeanor Disorderly Conduct, which

would be dismissed upon her completion of impulse

control counseling. (RA, 72b).

Misstatements of Law tin Petition

The decision of the Ninth Circuit panel is in accord

with governing legal principles set by this Court

regarding qualified immunity and the standard of

review on a motion to dismiss. See Argument, Section

Ili, A, below. The decision of the Ninth Circuit

corresponds with Bell Atl. Corp. v. Twombly and

Ashcroft v. Iqbal, holding that threadbare recitals of

the elements of a cause of action, supported by mere

conclusory statements do not suffice to overcome a

motion to dismiss. Bell Atl. Corp. v. Twombly, 550

U.S. 544, 555, 1275. Ct. 1955 (2007); Ashcroft v. Iqbal,

U.S. , 129 S. Ct. 1937, 1949, 173 L. Ed. 2d

868 (2009).

Il.

THE OPINIONS BELOW

The District Court granted Respondents’ Motion to

Dismiss. ‘The Eleventh Amendment immunity barred

Petitioner’s constitutional claims against UNLV and

the UNLV Employees in their official capacities.

Krainshi, 616 F.3d at 967-968. Qualified immunity

barred Petitioner’s federal claims against the UNLV

5

Employees in their individual capacities. The District

Court also found Petitioner failed to make out federal

claims for Fourteenth Amendment precedural due

process, having alleged that she received some notice

and hearing; substantive due process, having failed to

allege a violation of a cognizable fundamental liberty

or property interest; or violation of the Fourth

Amendment relative to search and seizure, having

pled facts constituting probable cause to arrest her by

the police officer defendants employed by the

University. (Pet. App. 23-27). The District Court

having dismissed Petitioner’s federal claims, with

prejudice, declined to exercise jurisdiction over the

remaining state law claims and therefore dismissed

such claims without prejudice to Petitioner’s right to

bring them in state court. Jd.

The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals panel affirmed

the District Court’s dismissal of Petitioner’s

constitutional claims against UNLV and UNLV

Employees in their official capacities. Krainski, 616

F.3d at 967-968. The Ninth Circuit panel further

affirmed the District Court’s dismissal of Petitioner’s

theory under Monell v. Dep’t of Social Servs. of N.Y.,’

that her constitutional rights were infringed by a “de

facto policy” of UNLV and the UNLV Employees in

accordance with this Court’s express decline to extend

Monell’s theory of municipal liability under § 1983 to

state entities or state officials. Jd. at 968 (citations

omitted).

* 436 U.S. 658, 690 n.55, 691, 98 S. Ct. 2018, 56 L. Ed. 2d 611

(1978).

6

A majority of the Ninth Circuit panel affirmed the

District Court’s dismissal of Petitioner's Fourth

Amendment claim against Respondents because

Respondent police officers were entitled to qualified

immunity in that, “a reasonable police officer could

have believed that his or her conduct was lawful’ when

arresting a suspect following a report from two

University employees and the student alleging an

attack.” Id. at 969.

There was a two to one decision, with a Justice

dissenting, in part, with regards to dismissal of

Petitioner’s Fourth Amendment claim. The dissenting

Justice indicated the conclusory allegations made by

Petitioner in her Complaint: that the UNLV police

officers knew or should have known, that the

allegations [against Petitioner] were false, were

sufficiently pled. (Pet. App. 18). Respectfully, the

dissent misapplied the principles enunciated by this

Court in Bell Atl. Corp. v. Twombly, and Ashcroft v.

Iqbal, which are addressed below. The Justice further

dissented, in part, with regards to the issue of leave to

amend, which Petitioner failed to properly place before

the District Court, but which even if considered, failed

to set forth any factual basis whatsoever to support a

leave to amend, and for which Petitioner actually did

not ever set forth any new facts that she could include

in her Complaint to avoid its shortcomings.

The Ninth Circuit affirmed the District Court’s

dismissal of Petitioner’s substantive and procedural

due process claims based upon qualified immunity as

the contours of the right asserted by Petitioner were

not sufficiently clear that a reasonable person would

understand that what he or she is doing violates that

7

right. Pearson v. Callahan, 555 U.S. 223, 129 S. Ct.

808, 821, 172 L. Ed. 2d 565 (2009).

Lastly, the Ninth Circuit majority affirmed the

District Court’s decision to dismiss the federal claims

with prejudice and denial of leave to amend

Petitioner's Complaint. Frankly, Petitioner’s

Complaint failed to contain sufficient factual matter to

state a facially plausible claim to relief. Ashcroft v.

Iqbal, 1298. Ct. at 1949. No new facts were presented

to the District Court by Petitioner that she could

include in her complaint to overcome its shortcomings.

Even at the late stage of oral argument before the

Ninth Circuit the best Petitioner could come up with

was more conclusory allegations.* Even considering

those conclusory allegations, they did not constitute

facts under this Court’s enunciated standards, which

properly led to the affirming of the District Court’s

denial of leave to amend.

We are certainly aware of many more facts now than we

were when we first drafted the complaint. So essentially,

the allegations we could add to the complaint at this point

is to be more specific about the actual] conspiracy that took

place, who it occurred between, what school officials were

actually involved with this.

Krainski, 616 F.3d 963 at 973.

8

Il.

ARGUMENT

THE COURT OF APPEALS CORRECTLY

CONCLUDED THAT THE DISTRICT COURT'S

DECISION TO DISMISS PETITIONER’S

COMPLAINT BASED UPON BELL ATL. CORP. V.

TROWMBLY AND ASHCROFT V. IQBAL, AS

WELL AS PRINCIPLES OF QUALIFIED

IMMUNITY, WAS NOT CONTRARY TO OR AN

UNREASONABLE APPLICATION OF CLEARLY

ESTABLISHED FEDERAL LAW

Petitioner seeks review of his case by writ of

certiorari, arguing that the court of appeals’ decision

regarding dismissal of her Fourth Amendment claim,

and denial of leave to amend, was contrary to federal

law. Petitioner asserts that a higher pleading

standard was required for her claims and that she

should have been granted leave to amend despite

having set forth no factual support for such leave to

amend. (Pet. 11-14 and 15-18).

The petition should be denied, however, because

the questions Petitioner presents are not accurately

reflective of the decision below. Rather, both the

district court and court of appeals correctly concluded

that Respondents were entitled to qualified immunity

as to Petitioner’s Fourth Amendment claim. (Pet. App.

10-11 and 26-27). The court of appeals included in its

opinion discussion of the issue of leave to amend that

Petitioner failed to set forth sufficient factual matter

to state a facially plausible claim to relief, because she

presented no new facts to overcome the shortcomings

of the Complaint.

9

A. The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals

Majority Correctly Applied Geverning U.S.

Supreme Court Pleading Standards

The Ninth Circuit did not establish a heightened

pleading standard for Section 1983 cases. Rather, the

Ninth Circuit simply correctly applied the principles

set forth by this Court in Ashcroft v. Iqbal, 129 S. Ct.

1937, and Bell Atl. Corp. v. Twombly, 550 U.S. 544.

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 8(a)(2) requires “a

short and plain statement of the claim showing that

the pleader is entitled to relief.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 8(a)(2).

Although the “short and plain statement” requirement

“does not require ‘detailed factual allegations,’...it

demands more than an unadorned, the defendant-

unlawfully-harmed-me accusation.” Iqbal, 1298S. Ct.

at 1949. “A pleading that offers ‘labels and

conclusions, or a ‘formulaic recitation of the elements

of a cause of action will not do.’... Nor does a

complaint suffice if it tenders ‘naked assertion{s]’

devoid of ‘further factual enhancement.” Iqbal, 12958.

Ct. at 1949 (citing Twombly, 550 U.S. at 557)).

Frankly, Petitioner alleged, at best, threadbare

recitals of the elements of a cause of action, supported

by mere conclusory statements, which do not suffice.

Iqbal, 129 S. Ct. at 1950. Petitioner’s Complaint

alleged Respondent UNLV police Officers Goff,

Tramposch and Culver violated her Fourth

Amendment right to be free from warrantless arrest

absent probable cause. Petitioner failed to allege facts

that supported her legal contentions that her arrest

lacked probable cause. Petitioner failed to allege facts

that supported her legal contention that the police

officers “knew or should have known the allegations

10

made by victim Polee” were false. Petitioner failed to

allege facts to suggest UNLV police officers had any

reason to disbelieve the statements made by the victim

and the two University employees that Petitioner

attacked Polee with scissors. Petitioner pled:

28. Defendants Wallenfeldt, Pini and Polee then

contacted UNLV Police and made false

statements to police officer (sic) in an attempt to

have Plaintiff arrested.

29/49. Defendant Officers Goff, Tramposch and

Culver, knew, or should have known, that the

allegations made by Defendant Polee were false,

but arrested Plaintiff for the alleged crime of

Assault with a Deadly Weapon;

30/50. Prior to making the arrest, Defendant

Officers Goff, Tramposch, and Culver did not

conduct any investigation into the claims made

by Defendant Polee, and had no probable cause

or warrant to arrest Plaintiff.

(Pet. App. 4). The tenet that a court must accept as

true all of the allegations contained in a complaint is

inapplicable to legal conclusions. /qgbal, 1129S. Ct.

at 1949 (emphasis added). The Court is not bound to

accept as true a legal conclusion couched as a factual

allegation. Jd. While legal conclusions can provide a

framework of a complaint, they must be supported by

factual allegations. Jd. Petitioner’s bare assertions

amounted to nothing more than a “formulaic recitation

of the elements,” for a Fourth Amendment claim and

conclusory allegations are not entitled to be assumed

true. Id. at 1951.

11

Because the arresting officers are protected by

qualified immunity, and becausc Petitioner did not

allege facts that showed a clear violation of the Fourth

Amendment, Petitioner’s claim of Fourth Amendment

violation was properly dismissed. Pursuant to

Twombly and Iqbal, the Court is to consider the

factual allegations in Petitioners complaint to

determine if they plausibly suggest an entitlement to

relief. Here, Petitioner's Complaint alleges

“Defendants Wallenfeldt, Pini and Polee contacted

UNLV Police and made false statements to the police

officer (sic) in an attempt to have Plaintiff arrested.”

(Pet. App. 4). Even assuming the few well pleaded

facts gave rise to a plausible inference that UNLV

Police Officers lacked probable cause, it is not

necessary to reach whether or not probable cause was

lacking because assuming the police officers were

mistaken, there is no law that would have made it

clear to a reasonable officer in these officers’ position

that their assessment of probable cause violated

Petitioner’s constitutional rights. Thus, under the

standards of Twombly and Iqbal, Petitioner, failed to

allege more by way of factual content to “nudg[e]” her

claim of Fourth Amendment violation “across the line

from conceivable to plausible.” Jd. at 1952. Moreover,

the police officers would still be entitled to qualified

immunity based on their objectively reasonable, albeit

mistaken, belief that there was probable case. Hunter

v. Bryant, 502 U.S. 224, 227-29, 112 S. Ct. 534, 116 L.

Ed. 2d 589 (1991) (per curiam).

12

B. The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals

Majority Correctly Applied Governing U.S.

Supreme Court Qualified Immunity

Principles

UNLV police officers, arrested Petitioner, a suspect,

following a report from Polee, the student alleging

attack, and two UNLV employees indicating that

Plaintiff had attacked Polee with a pair of scissors.

The UNLV police officers were properly entitled to

qualified immunity from 42 U.S.C. 1983 sust, because

taken in light most favorable to Petitioner, the facts

alleged demonstrated a reasonable police officer could

have reasonably believed the arrest was lawful. The

doctrine of qualified immunity protects government

officials from liability for civil damages “insofar as

their conduct does not violate clearly established

statutory or constitutional rights of which a reasonable

person would have known.” Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457

U.S. 800, 818, 102 S. Ct. 2727, 73 L. Ed. 2d 396 (1982).

Because qualified immunity is “an immunity from

suit rather than mere defense to liability,” this Court

has “repeatedly stressed the importance of resolving

immunity questions at the earliest possible stage in

litigation.” Mitchell v. Forsyth, 472 U.S. 511, 526, 105

S. Ct. 2806, 86 L. Ed. 2d 411 (1985). Harlow, 457 U.S.

at 818; Pearson v. Callahan, 129 S. Ct. 808, 815.

Determining whether officials are owed qualified

immunity involves two inquiries: (1) whether, taken

in the light most favorable to the party asserting the

injury, the facts alleged show the officer’s conduct

violated a constitutional right; and (2) if so, whether

the right was clearly established in light of the specific

context of the case. Saucter v. Katz, 533 U.S. 194, 201,

13

12158. Ct. 2151, 150 L. Ed. 2d 272 (2001), overruled by

Pearson v. Callahan, 129 S. Ct. at 818 (hoiding it is

within a Court’s sound discretion to address these two

prongs in any sequence they see fit). “For a

constitutional right to be clearly established, ‘its

contours must be sufficiently clear that a reasonable

official would understand that what he is doing

violates that right’ at the time of his conduct.”

Anderson v. Creighton, 438 U.S. 635, 640, 107 S. Ct.

3034, 97 L. Ed. 2d 523 (1987); Hope v. Pelzer, 536 U.S.

730, 739, 122 S. Ct. 2508, 153 L. Ed. 2d 666 (2002).

UNLV police officers are entitled to immunity if a

reasonable officer could have believed probable cause

existed to arrest Petitioner. Probable cause existed if

“at the moment the arrest was made, the officers had

probable cause to make it — whether at that moment

the facts and circumstances within their knowledge

and of which they had reasonably trustworthy

information were sufficient to warrant a prudent man

in believing that the petitioner had committed or was

committing an offense.” Beck v. Ohio, 379 U.S. 89, 91,

85 S. Ct. 223, 228, 13 L. Ed. 2d 142 (1964); Henry v.

United States, 361 U.S. 98, 102, 80S. Ct. 168, 4 L. Ed.

2d 134 (1959).

No constitutional violation occurred in this case

because the police officers arrested Petitioner based on

information from three people. Petitioner admittedly

pled that UNLV police officers Goff, Tramposch, and

Culver arrested Petitioner based upon information

derived from statements of the student who reported

the attack, Polee, and two University officials, Tyree

Pini and Leslie Wallenfeldt that Petitioner had

attacked Polee with a pair of scissors. (Pet. App. 4).

Petitioner included bare allegations in her Complaint

14

that the officers “knew or should have known, that the

allegations....were false” (Pet. App. 4) but failed to

allege in either her complaint or at oral argument

before the District Court or the Ninth Circuit any facts

suggesting that the police officers had a reason to

disbelieve or suspect that the statements made by the

victim and the two other university employees were

false.

Even assuming, arguendo, that the police officers

erred in concluding that probable cause existed to

arrest Petitioner, the police officers nevertheless would

be entitled to qualified immunity because their

decision was reasonable, even if mistaken. Qualified

immunity shields UNLV police officers Goff,

Tramposch and Culver from suit for damages if a

reasonable officer could have believed [Petitioner

Krainski’s] arrest to be lawful, in light of clearly

established law and the information the [arresting]

officers possessed. Hunter, 502 U.S. at 227. “Even law

enforcement officials who ‘reasonably but mistakenly

conclude that probable cause is present’ are entitled to

qualified immunity.” Jd., Pearson v. Callahan, 129 S.

Ct. at 815 (“The protection of qualified immunity

applies regardless of whether the government official’s

error is ‘a mistake of law, a mistake of fact, or a

mistake based on mixed questions of law and fact.”).

Accordingly, the UNLV police officers were properly

entitled to qualified immunity as to Petitioner’s Fourth

Amendment claim.

15

C. The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals

Majority Correctly Determined Petitioner

Failed to Set Forth New Facts Before the

District Court, and for that matter, the

Ninth Circuit, Which Petitioner Could

Include in her Complaint to Overcome its

Fatal Shortcomings

On the next to the last page of her Opposition to

Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss, Petitioner requested

the following:

In the unlikely event that this Court was to find

any of Plaintiffs causes of action insufficient,

leave to amend is graciously requested.

Plaintiff strongly believes that this Court could

‘conceive of facts’ that would render his (sic)

claims valid, if he (sic) were permitted to

amend.

(RA, 66b-67b)

Wnen a party files a proper motion for leave to

amend, rule 15(a) further provides “leave shall be

freely given when justice so requires (emphasis

added).” Fed. R. Civ. P. 15(a); see also Foman v. Davis,

371 U.S. 178, 182, 83 S. Ct. 227, 9 L. Ed. 2d 222

(1962); see generally 6 Charles Alan Wright et al.,

Federal Practice and Procedure §§1473 & 1483 (3d ed.

2010). The liberal granting of motions for leave to

amend reflects the basic policy that pleadings should

enable a claim to be heard on its merits. See Foman,

371 US. at 181-82; 6 Wright et al., supra §1473 at 601

602. This policy is not limitless and must be balanced

against Fed. R. Civ. P 7(b\1) which governs the

requirements for all motions and provides that any

16

motion must “be in writing ... ; state with

particularity the grounds for seeking the order . . . ;

and state the relief sought.” See also 5 Wright &

Miller, supra § 1191 at 50-51 (3d ed. 2004). By

requiring notice to the court and the opposing party of

the basis for the motion, rule 7(b)(1) advances the

policies of reducing prejudice to either party and

ensuring that “the court can comprehend the basis of

the motion and deal with it fairly.” 5 Wright & Miller,

supra § 1192 at 56; see also id. § 1191 at 50. The

District Court has wide discretion to recognize a

motion for leave to amend in the interest of a just, fair

or early resolution of litigation. See id., § 1194.

Many districts, including Nevada,* have local rules

requiring the moving party to submit a copy of the

amended pleading with the motion for leave. See, e.g.,

Thomas v. R.1I., 542 F.3d 944, 950, 71 Fed. R. Serv. 3d

944 (1st Cir. 2008) (discussing failure to comply with

local rule); United States ex. rel. Lee v. Fairview Health

Sys., 413 F.3d 748, 750 (8th Cir. 2005) (noting

plaintiffs failure to comply with local rule requiring

submission of copy of amended complaint); Lemmons

v. Georgetown Univ. Hosp., 241 F.R.D. 15, 30, 100 Fair

Empl. Prac. Cas. (BNA) 563, 89 Empl. Prac. Dec.

(CCH) P 42,777 (D.D.C. 2007) (local rule requires

submission of proposed amendment); Romero v. Wilson

Elementary Sch. Distr. No. 7, No. CV 05-2231-PHX-

MHM, 2006 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 57652, 3-4, 2006 WL

2374844, 2 (D. Ariz. Aug. 15, 2006) (noting local rule

requiring parties to file a notice identifying the

differences between the original and amended

pleadings and submit a “strike-through” version of the

4a

See footnote 1, supra

17

proposed amendment); United States v. 3 Parcels in La

Plata Cnty., 919 F. Supp. 1449, 1457, i995 U.S. Dist.

LEXIS 20664, 22 (D. Nev. 1999) (No _ proposed

amended pleadings accompanied the party’s motion.

That failure alone required the court to deny the

party’s motion to amend his claim and answer).

The court of appeals properly affirmed denial of

Petitioner’s request for leave to amend because the

Complaint lacked sufficient factual matter to state a

facially plausible claim to relief, and no new facts were

ever presented by Petitioner to demonstrate she could

remedy the Complaint’s shortcomings. Petitioner

mentioned a request for leave to amend on the next to

the last page of her Opposition to the Defendants’

Motion to Dismiss. (RA, 66b-67b). The request for

leave to amend was not clearly stated nor sufficiently

supported and failed to comply with the local rules

requiring the moving party to attach the proposed

amended pleading to any motion. Instead, Petitioner’s

request was a “naked” request made in passing

without any support. Other than including the

passing reference in her Opposition, Petitioner failed

to provide the District Court with notice of the basis

for the request, including any statements whatsoever

regarding what the proposed amendment might look

like. District Courts are surely not required to engage

in independent research or read the minds of litigants

to determine if information justifying an amendment

exists.

Petitioner’s request Jacked a statement for the

grounds for amendment and dangled at the end of her

Opposition to the Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss and

simply did not rise to the level of a motion for leave to

amend. Because the motion for leave to amend was

18

never properly before it, the District Court did not

abuse its discretion is failing to address Petitioner’s

request for leave to amend.

Moreover, even if the Court overlooked this

procedural defect, the District Court’s decision to grant

the motion to dismiss was sound. At the actual

hearing (October 14, 2008) before the District Court on

the Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss, Petitioner did not

suggest that she wanted to amend her complaint to

add facts to the Fourth Amendment claim. (RA, 74b-

75b). On appeal, before the Ninth Circuit, Petitioner

stated at oral argument (December 3, 2009):

We are certainly aware of many more facts

now than we were when we first drafted the

complaint. So essentially, the allegations we

could add to the complaint at this point 1s to be

more specific about the actual conspiracy that

took place, who it occurred between, what

school officials were actually involved.

(Pet. App. 21).

However, Petitioner did not state she was aware of

“facts” at the time of the District Court hearing or that

she brought these “facts” forth to the District Court’s

attention. More importantly, and fatally, at oral

argument before the Ninth Circuit, Petitioner failed to

specify what “facts” she claimed to have.

Petitioner failed to raise the issue of amendment

during the hearing before the District Court.

Petitioner certainly had an opportunity to present. all

of her arguments before the Court, and certainly did

so. In fact, Petitioner even requested the District

19

Court reconsider its position of the Fourth Amendment

and substantive due process claims. (RA, 75b-76b).

The District Court listened to Petitioner’s arguments

and in view of the dialogue, did in fact reconsider but

was not moved by Petitioner’s argument. Id.

Significantly, Petitioner failed to raise the issue of

amendment during the hearing. (RA, 68b-79b).

Instead, Petitioner essentially demands that the

District Court should have sua sponte raised the leave

to amend issue when she failed to follow the rules,

failed to raise it during oral argument on the

Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss; and failed to bring it

properly before the Court. Assuming Vetitioner had

made the claim to the District Court, as she boldly

made before the Ninth Circuit, there are simply no

facts pled (emphasis added). To survive a motion

dismiss, a complaint must contain sufficient factual

matter to state a facially plausible claim to relief.

Iqbal, 128 S. Ct. at 1949. Although the “short and

plain statement” of Rule 8 does not require “detailed

factual allegations,’...it demands more than an

unadorned, the defendant-harmed-me accusation.” Jd.

No new facts were ever actually presented by

Petitioner to overcome any of the shortcomings of the

Complaint.

20

IV.

CONCLUSION

The petition for writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

SUSAN CARRASCO O’BRIEN

Counsel of Record

Nevada State Bar No. 2396

Assistant General Counsel

UNIVERSITY OF NEVADA, LAS VEGAS

4505 Maryland Parkway, Box 41085

Las Vegas, Nevada 89154-1085

Ph#: (702) 895-5185

Susan.OBrien@unlv.edu

Counsel for Respondents

State of Nevada ex. rel. Board of

Regents of the Nevada System of

Higher Education on behalf of the

University of Nevada, Las Vegas;

Rebecca Mulls; Richard Clark; Phillip

Burns; Nannette Jimenez; Tyree Pini;

Officer L. Tramposch; Officer B. Gott;

Officer J. Culver; Susan M. Carrasco;

and Leslie Wallenfeldt

APPENDIX

Appendix A:

Appendix B:

Appendix C:

1

APPENDIX

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Complaint, United States

District, District of Nevada

FOG ae.) tb

Opposition to Defendants Motion

to Dismiss Plaintiffs Complaint,

United States District Court,

District of Nevada

(July 11, 2008) ........ 23b

Reporter's Transcript of

Proceedings, United States

District Court, District of

Nevada, The Honorable James C.

Mahan, Judge Presiding

(October 14, 2008) 68b

APPENDIX A

JASON J. BACH, ESQ.

Nevada Bar No.: 7984

THE BACH LAW FIRM, LLC

2620 Regatta Dr., Ste. 102

Las Vegas, NV 89128

Tel: (702) 925-8787

Fax: (702) 925-8788

Attorney for Plaintiff

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF NEVADA

* KKK *

CASE:

[Filed April 2, 2008]

MEGAN KRAINSKI.

Plaintiff.

Vv.

THE STATE OF NEVADA. ex. Rel. BOARD

OF REGENTS OF THE NEVADA SYSTEM

OF HIGHER EDUCATION, on behalf of the

UNIVERSITY OF NEVADA, LAS VEGAS;

a Political Subdivision of the State of Nevada;

REBECCA MILLS, individually and as Vice

President for Student Life of the University of

Nevada, Las Vegas; RICHARD CLARK,

a ee eet ee ed ee

2b

individually and as Director of Student

Conduct and Residential Life of the University

of Nevada, Las Vegas; PHILLIP BURNS,

individually and as Senior Student Conduct

Officer of the University of Nevada, Las

Vegas; NANNETTE JIMENEZ, individually

and as a Student Conduct Officer of the

University of Nevada, Las Vegas; SUSAN M.

CARRASCO, individually and as Assistant

General Counsel of the University of Nevada,

Las Vegas; TYREE PINI, individually and as

Assistant Residential Life Coordinator;

LESLIE WALLENFELDT, individually and as

Residential Life Coordinator of the University

of Nevada, Las Vegas; OFFICER BRETT

GOFF, P#302, individually and as a police

officer with the University of Nevada, Las

Vegas Police Department; OFFICER L.

TRAMPOSCH, P#312, individually and as a

police officer with the University of Nevada,

Las Vegas Police Department; OFFICER J.

CULVER, P#309, individually and as a police

officer with the University of Nevada, Las

Vegas Police Department; KENYA POLEE,

individually; DOES I-XX, inclusive,

~~ ee a — — ~— me ee ee eee a ee” ee Mh ae

Defendants. )

COMPLAINT

(Jury Demanded)

COMES NOW, Plaintiff, MEGAN KRAINSKI

(hereinafter referred to as “Plaintiff”), by and through

her attorney of record, JASON J. BACH, ESQ. of THE

BACH LAW FIRM, LLC, and hereby complains and

3b

alleges against the above-named Defendants, and each

of them, based upon knowledge, information and a

reasonable belief derived therefrom, as follows:

INTRODUCTION

This is a Complaint for Damages and Declaratory

Judgment, pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 57, brought by

a student of the University of Nevada, Las Vegas. The

claims, against the University System, the University,

the Vice President, Attorneys, Employees and Officers

of this public university, are based upon 42 U.S.C.

Section 1983 and the Fourth, Fifth, and Fourteenth

Amendment of the United States Constitution,

alleging infringement of Plaintiffs right to substantive

and procedural due process, and right to be free of

false arrest and imprisonment, and malicious

prosecution. Plaintiff also relies on the University’s

Student Conduct Code and alleges a pendent breach of

contract claim. Plaintiff has also asserted a claim

against all Defendants for negligent hiring, training,

and supervision, intentional and negligent infliction of

emotional distress, civil conspiracy, abuse of process,

defamation, slander, libel, and injunctive and

declaratory relief.

PARTIES & JURISDICTION

i. This Court has jurisdiction over the claims

set forth in this action pursuant to 28 U.S.C. Section

1331 (federal question) and 28 U.S.C. Section 1343

(civil rights).

ms Supplemental jurisdiction over Plaintiffs

pendent state law claims is invoked pursuant to 28

U.S.C. Section 1367, as the claim arises out of the

4b

same transaction and occurrence as Plaintiffs federal

claim.

3. Venue is proper in the District of Nevada

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 1391(b) in that the claims arose

in this district, and Plaintiffs and Defendants are

located in this district.

4. Costs, expert witness fees, and attorney’s

fees are sought pursuant to 42 U.S.C. Section 1988.

5. Plaintiff is currently a resident of the State

of Nevada, and at all relevant times, was a student at

the University of Nevada, Las Vegas.

6. Defendant THE STATE OF NEVADA, ex.

Rel. BOARD OF REGENTS OF THE NEVADA

SYSTEM OF HIGHER EDUCATION, on behalf of the

UNIVERSITY OF NEVADA, LAS VEGAS is a political

subdivision of the State of Nevada and operates the

University of Nevada, Las Vegas (hereinafter referred

to as “UNLV”), a public educational institution of

higher learning.

‘is Defendant REBECCA MILLS is the Vice

President for Student Life at UNLV. She is named in

this case both individually and in her official capacity

as Vice President for Student Life at UNLV.

8. Defendant RICHARD CLARK is the Director

of Student Conduct and Residential Life at UNLV. He

is named in this case both individually and in his

official capacity as Director of Student Conduct and

Residential Life at UNLV.

Sb

9. Defendant PHILLIP BURNS is the Senior

Student Conduct Officer at UNLV. He !s named in this

case both individually and in his official capacity as

Senior Student Conduct Officer at UNLV.

10. Defendant NANNETTE JIMENEZ is a

Student Conduct Officer at UNLV. She is named in

this case both individually and in her official capacity

as a Student Conduct Officer at UNLV.

11. Defendant SUSAN M. CARRASCO is the

Assistant General Counsel at UNLV. She is named in

this case both individually and in her official capacity

as Assistant General Counsel at UNLV.

12. Defendant TYREE PINI is the Assistant

Residential Life Coordinator at UNLV. He is named in

this case both individually and in his official capacity

as Assistant Residential Life Coordinator at UNLV.

13. Defendant LESLIE WALLENFELDT is the

Residential Life Coordinator at UNLV. She is named

in this case both individually and in her official

capacity as Residential Life Coordinator at UNLV.

14. Defendant OFFICER BRETT GOFF P#302

is a police officer with the UNLV Police Department.

He is named in this case both individually and in his

official capacity as a police officer at UNLV.

15. Defendant OFFICER L. TRAMPOSCH

P#312 is a police officer with the UNLV Police

Department. He is named in this case _ both

individually and in his official capacity as a police

officer at UNLV.

6b

16. Defendant OFFICER J. CULVER P#309 isa

police officer with the UNLV Police Department. He is

named in this case both individually and in his official

capacity as a police officer at UNLV.

17. Defendant KENYA POLEE is, at all times

relevant, believed to be a resident of the State of

Nevada.

18. That the true names or capacities, whether

individual, corporate, associate or otherwise, of

Defendants DOES I through XX are unknown to

Plaintiff, who therefore, sues said Defendants by such

fictitious names.

19. Plaintiff is informed and believes and

thereon alleges that each of the Defendants designated

herein as DOES are responsible in some manner for

the events and happenings referred to in this action

and proximately caused damages to Plaintiff as herein

alleged, and that Plaintiff will ask leave of this Court

to amend this Complaint, to insert the true names and

capacities of said Defendants, and when the same have

been ascertained to join such Defendants in this

action.

20. At all times herein, the individual

Defendants, with the exception of Defendant POLEE

and the Defendant UNLV, have been acting under

color of law.

21. Atall times relevant hereto, and in all their

actions described herein, Defendants’ actions took

place in the State of Nevada, County of Clark.

7b

22. Defendants, and each of them, did the acts

and omissions hereinafter alleged in bad faith and

with knowledge that their conduct violated well

established and settled law.

GENERAL FACTUAL ALLEGATIONS

23. Plaintiff enrolled as a student at UNLV for

the Fall 2007 semester.

24. As Plaintiff was from New Jersey, she

elected to reside in Defendant UNLV’s campus

residential housing.

25. On September 10, 2007, Plaintiff met with

Defendant WALLENFELDT and advised her of

on-going harassing and threatening behavior by

Plaintiff's roommate, Defendant POLEE.

26. Defendant POLEE is’ a_ prominent

student-athlete at UNLV, listed on the University’s

website as “the top long jumper for the Rebels... among

the top long jumpers in the MWC (Mountain West

Conference).”

27. On September 11, 2007, Defendants

WALLENFELDT and PINI contacted Defendant

POLEE, without Plaintiff's consent and in breach of

confidentiality, and informed her of the allegations

made by Plaintiff, and conspired with Defendant

POLEE to fabricate a story about Plaintiff attempting

to attack POLEE with a pair of scissors, all before

Plaintiff would have an opportunity to file a formal

complaint against Defendant POLEE.

8b

28. Defendants WALLENFELDT, PINI, and

POLEE then contacted UNLV Police and made false

statements to police officer in an attempt to have

Plaintiff arrested.

29. Defendant Officers GOFF, TRAMPOSCH,

and CULVER, knew, or should have known, that the

allegations made by Defendant POLEE were false, but

arrested Plaintiff for the alleged crime of Assault with

a Deadly Weapon.

30. Prior to making the arrest, Defendant

Officers GOFF, TRAMPOSCH, and CULVER did not

conduct any investigation into the claims made by

Defendant POLEE, and had no probable cause or

warrant to arrest Plaintiff.

31. Plaintiff was eventually exonerated of all

criminal charges in January 2008, but not before she

was arrested and incarcerated at the Clark County

Detention Center, causing her to lose her liberty and

causing severe psychological trauma and _ physical

injury.

32. In October 2007, Defendants UNLV, MILLS,

CLARK, BURNS, JIMENEZ, and CARRASCO brought

formal charges against Plaintiff for alleged violations

of the University of Nevada, Las Vegas Student

Conduct Code, including committing an act “that is in

violation of federal, state, or local law,” “Threatening,

assaulting, or causing physical harm to. . . another;”

and “Attempting to violate any provision of the

Student Conduct Code.”

33. Defendants UNLV, MILLS, CLARK,

BURNS, JIMENEZ, and CARRASCO failed to provide

9b

Plaintiff with proper notice of the formal hearing,

violating her U.S. Constitutional Rights, the UNLV

Student Conduct Code, and the Nevada System of

Higher Education (NSHE) Code.

34. Defendants UNLV, MILLS, CLARK,

BURNS, JIMENEZ, and CARRASCO held a formal

hearing on November 13, 2007, at which time they

each failed to allow Plaintiff to be represented and/or

assisted by her advisors, despite the explicit

representation made by Defendants that Plaintiff

would be allowed to be represented and/or assisted by

said advisors, intentionally causing Plaintiff to be

ineffective at representing herself at said hearing, all

in violation of her U.S. Constitutional Rights, the

UNLV Student Conduct Code, and the Nevada System

of Higher Education (NSHE) Code.

35. Despite the fact that no evidence was ever

presented to support any of the allegations made

against Plaintiff, Defendants UNLV, MILLS, CLARK,

BURNS, JIMENEZ, and CARRASCO found Plaintiff

to be “Responsible” of said charges, completely

ignoring the evidence that exonerated Plaintiff, forever

tarnishing the educational transcript and record of

Plaintiff, as well as causing severe psychological and

physical injuries, all in violation of her U.S.

Constitutional Rights, the UNLV Student Conduct

Code, and the Nevada System of Higher Education

(NSHE) Code.

36. Plaintiff filed a timely appeal of Defendants

decision. However, Defendants UNLV, MILLS,

CLARK, BURNS, JIMENEZ, and CARRASCO again

ignored the facts and dismissed the appeal, all in

violation of her U.S. Constitutional Rights, the UNLV

10b

Student Conduct Code, and the Nevada System of

Higher Education (NSHE) Code.

37. Defendants have taken said actions against

Plaintiff in retaliation for her making a complaint

against a star athlete, and further retaliating against

her for asserting her rights pursuant to the U.S.

Constitutional Rights, the UNLV Student Conduct

Code, and the Nevada System of Higher Education

(NSHE) Code.

38. As a result of the above, Defendants, and

each of them, have wrongly caused Plaintiff! to be

sanctioned and for the above-noted sanctions to be

wrongly placed on her record, all in violation of her

U.S. Constitutional Rights, depriving her of the

opportunity to obtain an education and further her

career, and inflicting emotional distress and physical

injury, all damaging her in an amount in excess of

SEVENTY-FIVE THOUSAND DOLLARS

($75,000.00).

FIRST CAUSE OF ACTION

CIVIL RIGHTS VIOLATION, DUE PROCESS

VIOLATION, FIFTH AND FOURTEENTH

AMENDMENT TO THE UNITED

STATES CONSTITUTION

39. Paragraphs 1 through 38, inclusive are

incorporated by reference.

4(). The actions of Defendants resulted from, and

were taken, pursuant to a de facto policy of Defendant

UNLV, which is implemented by Police Officers,

Student Conduct Officers, Assistant General Counsels,

llb

Directors of Student Conduct, and by the Vice

President for Student Life, and other employees of the

said Defendants, all acting under the color of law, who

chose to violate Plaintiffs constitutional rights,

without rightful authority of law.

41. Supervisory and policy making officers and

officials of said Defendants have known the existence

of the de facto policy described above for a substantial

period of time.

42. Despite their knowledge of the said illegal

policy and practices, supervisory and policy-making

officers and officials of the said Defendants have not

taken steps to determine said practices, have not

disciplined or otherwise properly supervised the

individual employees who engaged in the said

practices, have not effectively trained Police Officers,

Student Conduct Officers, Directors of Student

Conduct, and the Vice President for Student Life with

regard to the proper constitutional and statutory

limits on the exercise of their authority, and have

instead sanctioned the policy and the practices

described herein.

43. That the above actions by Defendants have

resulted in both the substantive and procedural due

process denial of rights, all in violation of the Fifth and

Fourteenth Amendment to the United States

Constitution.

44. That by reason of the aforesaid actions,

Defendants’ actions exhibit deliberate indifference to

and/or reckless disregard for the constitutional rights

of Plaintiffand other similarly situated students, all in

violation of the Plaintiffs constitutional rights, and as

12b

a direct and proximate result thereof, the Plaintiff

sustained severe damages in an amount in excess of

SEVENTY-FIVE THOUSAND DOLLARS

($75,000.00).

45. That by reason of the aforesaid actions,

Plaintiff is entitled to a Permanent Injunction,

prohibiting the Defendants and their agents from

placing a hold on her academic transcript or placing

any notation of findings or sanctions against her in her

student file or upon her transcript.

46. Theacts, conduct and behavior of each of the

Individual Defendant’s was performed knowingly,

intentionally, oppressively, and maliciously, by reason

of which Plaintiff is entitled to punitive damages in a

sum in excess of SEVENTY-FIVE THOUSAN’)

DOLLARS ($75,000.00).

47. It has been necessary for the Plaintiff to

obtain the services of an attorney to prosecute this

action and Plaintiff is entitled to an award of

attorney’s fees and costs of suit incurred herein.

SECOND CAUSE OF ACTION

UNLAWFUL ARREST AND IMPRISONMENT,

UNLAWFUL SEARCH AND SEIZURE, FOURTH

AND FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT TO THE

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION

48. Paragraphs 1 through 47, inclusive are

incorporated by reference.

49. Defendant Officers GOFF, TRAMPOSCH,

and CULVER, knew, or should have known, that the

13b

allegations made by Defendant POLEE were false, but

arrested Plaintiff for the alleged crime of Assault with

a Deadly Weapon.

50. Prior to making the arrest, Defendant

Officers GOFF, TRAMPOSCII, and CULVER did not

conduct any investigation into the claims made by

Defendant POLEE, and had no probable cause or

warrant to arrest Plaintiff.

51. Plaintiff was eventually exonerated of all

criminal charges in January 2008, but not before she

was arrested and incarcerated at the Clark County

Detention Center, causing her to lose her liberty and

causing severe psychological trauma and _ physical

injury.

52. The arrest, imprisonment, search and

seizure described above was unreasonable and in

violation of the Fourth Amendment of the United

States Constitution. As a result of these acts, Plaintiff

has suffered physical injuries, loss of community

reputation, loss of day and future income, and to incur

severe financial obligations in order to retain attorneys

to seek redress against the unlawful conduct of the

Defendants, as well as other painful injuries,

deprivation of her hberty, invasion or her privacy,

grievous mental suffering, and pain and suffering, all

in violation of 42 U.S.C. § 1983 and the Fourth and

Fourteenth Amendments to the United States

Constitution, all to her damage in an amount in excess

of SEVENTY-FIVE THOUSAND DOLLARS

($75,000.00).

14b

53. The act, conduct and behavior of Defendant

Officer’s, individually, were performed knowingly and

intentionally, oppressively and maliciously, by reason

of which Plaintiff is entitled to punitive damages in a

sum in excess of SEVENTY-FIVE THOUSAND

DOLLARS ($75,000.00).

54. That by reason of the aforesaid actions,

Defendants’ actions exhibit deliberate indifference to

and/or reckless disregard for the constitutional rights

of Plaintiffand other similarly situated students, all in

violation of the Plaintiffs constitutional rights, and as

a direct and proximate result thereof, the Plaintiff

sustained severe damages in an amount in excess of

SEVENTY-FIVE THOUSAND DOLLARS

($75,000.00).

55. It has been necessary for the Plaintiff to

obtain the services of an attorney to prosecute this

action and Plaintiff is entitled to an award of

attorney’s fees and costs of suit incurred herein.

THIRD CAUSE OF ACTION

BREACH OF CONTRACT

56. Paragraphs 1 through 55, inclusive are

incorporated by reference.

57. __Plaintiffhas an express and implied contract

with Defendants in connection with rights explicitly

guaranteed by UNLV pursuant to the UNLV Student

Conduct Code, NSHE Code, and the UNLV Student

Handbook.

15b

58. The actions of Defendants constitute a

breach of the express and implied contract.

59. Asaresult of the breach committed against

the Plaintiff, she has been damaged in an amount in

excess of SEVENTY-FIVE THOUSAND DOLLARS

($75,000.00).

60. That by reason of the aforesaid actions,

Plaintiff is entitled to a Permanent injunction

prohibiting the Defendants and their agents from

placing a hold on her academic transcript, or placing

any notation of any findings or sanctions against her

in Plaintiff's student file or upon her transcript.

61. It has been necessary for the Plaintiff to

obtain the services of an attorney to prosecute this

action, and Plaintiff is entitled to an award of

attorney’s fees and costs of suit incurred herein.

FOURTH CAUSE OF ACTION

NEGLIGENCE / NEGLIGENT HIRING,

TRAINING, & SUPERVISION

62. Paragraphs 1 through 61, inclusive, are

incorporated by reference.

63. At all times material and relevant herein,

the Defendants had a duty to not violate the

Constitutional rights of their students.

64. At all times relevant herein, Defendant

UNLV had a duty not to hire individuals with a

propensity towards committing unlawful acts against

those who lawfully go about their business, and to

16b

adequately train and supervise their agents, officers,

and employees.

65. At all times relevant herein, the Defendant

UNLV had a duty to protect the public, such as

Plaintiff, from the illegal actions of their own agents,

officers, employees and others. In addition, Defendant

UNLV had a duty not to hire individuals with a

propensity towards committing unlawful acts against

the public, and to adequately train and supervise their

employees.

66. Defendants, and each of them, breached

their respective duties, and are therefore negligent and

lable to the Plaintiff, who has suffered serious

economic loss, loss of reputation, loss of daily and

future income, and to incur severe financial obligations

in order to retain attorneys, as well as other painful

injuries, deprivation of his liberty, invasion of his

privacy, grievous mental suffering, all to her damage

in an amount in excess of SEVENTY-FIVE

THOUSAND DOLLARS ($75,000.00).

67. It has been necessary for the Plaintiff to

obtain the services of an attorney to prosecute this

action, and Plaintiff is entitled to an award of

attorney’s fees and costs of suit incurred herein.

FIFTH CAUSE OF ACTION

INTENTIONAL AND NEGLIGENT

INFLICTION OF SEVERE MENTAL DISTRESS

68. Paragraphs 1 through 67, inclusive, are

incorporated by reference.

17b

69. Asa result of Defendants’ intentional and

negligent conduct and omissions, Plaintiff, suffered

and continues to suffer great mental and emotional

harm, anguish, insecurity, self-revulsion, damage to

her self-esteem, and_ self-worth, shame and

humiliation, including but not limited to: severe and

clinical depression, anxiety, loss of sleep, and change

of appetite.

70. Plaintiff has required medical and

psychological care as result of the malfeasance and

nonfeasance of Defendants. This has caused Plaintiff

to incur expenses for medical care, treatment, and

expenses incidental thereto. The total amount of

Plaintiffs damages cannot yet be fully ascertained,

and as such we respectfully ask leave of this Court to

amend Plaintiffs Complaint to insert the full amount

when such have been fully ascertained.

71. Asa result of the mental distress described

above, Plaintiff has suffered serious psychologica!

injury, loss of community reputation, medical

expenses, and to incur severe financial obligations in

order to retain attorneys to seek redress against the

unlawful conduct of the Defendants, as well as

deprivation of his liberty, invasion of his privacy, and

grievous mental suffering, all to damages in an

amount in excess of SEVENTY-FIVE THOUSAND

DOLLARS ($75,000.00).

72. The acts, conduct and behavior of the

Defendants were performed willfully, intentionally,

oppressively, fraudulently and maliciously, by reason

of which Plaintiff, is entitled to punitive damages in a

sum in excess of SEVENTY-FIVE THOUSAND

DOLLARS ($75,000.00).

18b

73. It has been necessary for Plaintiff to obtain

the services of an attorney to prosecute this action, and

Plaintiff is entitled to an award of attorney’s fees and

costs of suit incurred herein.

SIXTH CAUSE OF ACTION

INJUNCTIVE DECLARATORY RELIEF

74. Paragraphs 1 through 73 inclusive are

incorporated by reference.

75. Defendant actions of placing a hold on her

academic .sanscript, and the placing of notations of

any accusations, findings, or sanctions against her, in

Plaintiff's student file or upon her transcript, is unjust

and illegal.

76. Theharmcaused by Defendant is irreparable

and can only be mitigated by the release of the above

transcripts and omission of any notations. For that

reason, Plaintiff is entitled to an order requiring

Defendants to immediately release any holds on her

transcript, remove any notations of any disciplinary

accusations, findings or sanctions, and prohibiting

Defendants from further interfering with Plaintiffs

educational future.

77. As a result of the acts committed against

Plaintiff, she has been damaged all in an amount in

excess of SEVENTY-FIVE THOUSAND DOLLARS

($75,000.00).

78. As a result of Defendants’ intentional

conduct, they have caused Plaintiff to incur attorney’s

fees in an amount in excess of SEVENTY-FIVE

19b

THOUSAND DOLLARS ($75.000.00) and _ thus

Plaintiff is entitled to an award of attorney’s fees.

SEVENTH CAUSE OF ACTION

CIVIL CONSPIRACY

79. Paragraphs 1 through 78 inclusive are

incorporated by reference.

80. At all times herein referred to, Defendants

conspired with each other to fraudulently take action

against Plaintiff to make false allegations about

Plaintiff, to have her arrested and charged with a

crime, and to have her punished for student conduct

code violations, all while knowing that Plaintiff had

not performed any of the acts in which they accused

her of.

81. Asa result of the mental distress described

above, Plaintiff has suffered serious psychological

injury, loss of community reputation, medical

expenses, and to incur severe financial obligatiens in

order to retain attorneys to seek redress against the

unlawful conduct of the Defendants, as well as

deprivation of her liberty, invasion of her privacy, and

grievous mental suffering, all to damages in an

amount in excess of SEVENTY-FIVE THOUSAND

DOLLARS ($75,000.00).

82. The acts, conduct and behavior of the

Defendants were performed willfully, intentionally,

oppressively, fraudulently and maliciously, by reason

of which, Plaintiff is entitled to punitive damages in a

sum in excess of SEVENTY-FIVE THOUSAND

DOLLARS ($75,000.00).

20b

83. It has been necessary for Plaintiff to obtain

the services of an attorney to prosecute this action and

Plaintiff is entitled to an award of attorney’s fees and

costs of suit incurred herein.

EIGHTH CAUSE OF ACTION

DEFAMATION, LIBEL AND SLANDER PER SE

84. Paragraphs 1 through 83 inclusive are

incorporated by reference.

85. That Defendants’ conduct described above

severely harmed the reputation and character of the

Plaintiff with the making of false statements to third

parties, both orally and in writing.

86. That Plaintiffhas suffered loss of reputation,

shame, mortification and hurt feelings as a result of

Defendants deliberate, malicious, intentional, and

oppressive conduct.

87. Asa direct and proximate result of the false

statements made by Defendants, Plaintiff has suffered

injury and damages alli in an amount in excess of

SEVENTY-FIVE THOUSAND DOLLARS

($75,000.00).

88. Theacts, conduct and behavior of each of the

individual Defendants were performed knowingly,

intentionally, oppressively, and maliciously, by reason

of which, Plaintiff is entitled to punitive damages in a

sum in excess of SEVENTY-FIVE THOUSAND

DOLLARS ($75,000.00).

21b

89. It has been necessary for the Plaintiff to

obtain the services of an attorney to prosecute this

action, and Plaintiff is entitled to an award of

attorney's fees and costs of suit incurred herein.

NINTH CAUSE OF ACTION

MALICIOUS PROSECUTION/ABUSE

OF PROCESS

90. Paragraphs 1 through 89 inclusive are

incorporated by reference.

91. The Defendants’ conduct, described above,

resulted in the prosecution of Plaintiff by the actions

of the Defendants, without probable cause, with

malice, requiring Plaintiff to unnecessarily defend

herself to have said criminal charges dismissed, thus

violating her U.S. Constitutional Rights and State law.

92. The Defendants’ conduct, described above,

resulted in Defendants utilizing the UNLV Student

Conduct Code process as a vehicle to maliciously take

action against Plaintiff, to jeopardize Plaintiffs

educational future and career, and force her to defend

herself in said process, in violation of her U.S.

Constitutional Rights and State law..

93. Asadirect and proximate result of the above

described conduct by Defendants, Plaintiff has suffered

injury and damages all in an amount in excess of

SEVENTY-FIVE THOUSAND DOLLARS

($75,000.00).

94. The acts, conduct and behavior of each of the

Individual Defendant’s was performed knowingly,

22b

intentionally, oppressively, and maliciously, by reason

of which, Plaintiff is entitled to punitive damages in a

sum in excess of SEVENTY-FIVE THOUSAND

DOLLARS ($75,000.00).

95. It has been necessary for the Plaintiff to

obtain the services of an attorney to prosecute this

action, and Plaintiff is entitled to an award of

attorney: fees and costs of suit incurred herein.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiff prays that this Honorable

Court: Enter judgment in Plaintiffs favor, and against

the Defendants, and each of them: (a) for

compensatory damages in an amount in excess of

SEVENTY-FIVE THOUSAND DOLLARS

($75,000.00); (b) for punitive damages each in an

amount in excess of SEVENTY-FIVE THOUSAND

DOLLARS ($75,000.00); (c) for injunctive and

declaratory relief; and (d) together with the costs and

disbursements of this action and such other attorney’s

fees pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1988, and further relief as

justice requires.

DATED this 1“ day of April, 2008.

THE BACH LAW FIRM, LLC

By-/s/ JASON BACH

JASON J. BACH, ESQ.

Nevada Bar No.: 7984

2620 Regatta Dr., Ste. 102

Las Vegas, NV 89128

Tel.: (702) 925-8787

Attorneys for Plaintiff

23b

APPENDIX B

JASON J. BACH, ESQ.

Nevada Bar No.: 7984

THE BACH LAW FIRM, LLC

6053 South Fort Apache Rd., Suite 130

Las Vegas, NV 89148

Tel: (702) 925-8787

Fax: (702) 925-8788

Attorney for Plaintiff

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF NEVADA

K*eXK* *

CASE NO.: 2:08-cv-00417-JCM-GWF

[Filed July 11, 2008]

MEGAN KRAINSKI,

Plaintiff,

Vv.

THE STATE OF NEVADA. ex. Rel. BOARD

OF REGENTS OF THE NEVADA SYSTEM

OF HIGHER EDUCATION, on behalf of the

UNIVERSITY OF NEVADA, LAS VEGAS;

a Political Subdivision of the State of Nevada;

REBECCA MILLS, individually and as Vice

President for Student Life of the University of

Nevada, Las Vegas; RICHARD CLARK,

'

a ee a ee ee a a a a ee a

24b

individually and as Director of Student

Conduct and Residential Life of the University

of Nevada, Las Vegas; PHILLIP BURNS,

individually and as Senior Student Conduct

Officer of the University of Nevada, Las

Vegas; NANNETTE JIMENEZ, individually

and as a Student Conduct Officer of the

University of Nevada, Las Vegas; SUSAN M.

CARRASCO, individually and as Assistant

General Counse! of the University of Nevada,

Las Vegas; TYREE PINI, individually and as

Assistant Residential Life Coordinator;

LESLIE WALLENFELDT, individually and as

Residential Life Coordinator of the University

of Nevada, Las Vegas; OFFICER BRETT

GOFF, P#302, individually and as a police

officer with the University of Nevada, Las

Vegas Police Department; OFFICER L.

TRAMPOSCH, P#312, individually and as a

police officer with the University of Nevada,

Las Vegas Police Department; OF FICER J.

CULVER, P#309, individually and as a police

officer with the University of Nevada, Las

Vegas Police Department; KENYA POLEE,

individually; DOES I-XX, inclusive,

Defendants.

Nee Nee eee ee eee ii OT OO OO OO i OS i ie aes es ee Cl”

OPPOSITION TO DEFENDANTS MOTION TO

DISMISS PLAINTIFF'S COMPLAINT

COMES NOW, Plaintiff, MEGAN KRAINSKI

(hereinafter referred to as “Plaintiff’), by and through

her attorney of record, JASON J. BACH, ESQ. of THE

BACH LAW FIRM, LLC, and hereby opposes

25b

Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss Plaintiffs Complaint,

pursuant to FRCP 12(b)(6). Plaintiffs opposition is

based on the foregoing Points and Authorities,

Plaintiffs Complaint, all papers and pieadings on file

herein, and any oral argument requested from the

Court.

DATED this 10th day of July, 2008.

THE BACH LAW FIRM, LLC

By: /s/Jasond. Bach

JASON J. BACH, ESQ.

Nevada Bar No.: 7984

6053 South Fort Apache Rd., Suite 130

Las Vegas, NV 89148

Attorneys for Plaintiff

MEMORANDUM OF POINTS AND

AUTHORITIES

I.

LEGAL ARGUMENT

A. STANDARD OF REVIEW PURSUANT TO

FRCP 12(b)(1) AND 12(b)(6).

The Court’s review of a 12(b) motion is based

strictly on the contents of the Complaint. The Court

must accept the allegations as true and construe them

in the light most favorable to the Plaintiff. Abramson,

897 F.2d at 391; Love v. United States, 871 F.2d 1488

(9th Cir. 1989). In such a case, the court may accept al!

of the alleged facts, and all inferences from the alleged

facts, as true.

26b

Pursuant to Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

12(b)(1), a Court must dismiss an action, “if as a

matter of law ‘it is clear that no relief could be granted

under any set of facts that could be proved consistent

with the allegations’.” Neitzske v. Williams, 490 U.S.

109 (1989) quoting Hishon v. King & Spaulding,

467 U.S. 69, 73, 104 S.Ct. 2229 (1984); Abramson v.

Brounstein, 897 F.2d 389, 391 (9th Cir. 1990);

Gibson v. United States, 781 F.2d 1334 (9th Cir.

1986).

The Court’s review of a 12(b)(6) motion is based on

the contents of the Complaint. The Court must accept

the allegations as true and construe them in the light

most favorable to the Plaintiff. Abramson, 897 F.2d at

391; Love v. United States, 871 F.2d 1488 (9th Cir.

1989).

From reviewing Plaintiffs Complaint, it is clear

that allegations she sets forth arise to a level of

various Constitutional violations, actionable under 42

U.S.C. § 1983 and Fourteenth Amendment to the

United States Constitution. In describing the actions

of Defendants’, Plaintiffs Complaint reasonably infers

that each government Defendant participated in the

intentional denial of Plaintiffs right to due process. In

addition, Plaintiffs Complaint establishes that money

damages in excess of $75,000 were incurred as a result

of Defendants’ illegal conduct. For these reasons,

Plaintiffs Complaint is viable and should not be

dismissed.

27b

B. ELEVENTH AMENDMENT IMMUNITY DOES

NOT APPLY TO INDIVIDUAL DEFENDANTS

OR THE ABILITY OF THIS COURT TO

ENJOIN ALL DEFENDANTS.

State officials may be held personally liable for

damages under § 1983 based upon actions taken in

their official capacities. Hafer v. Melo, 502 U.S. 21

(1991). It is incorrect for a district court to interpret

Will v. Michigan Dept. of State Police, 491 U.S. 58

(1989) to mean that § 1983 does not authorize suits

against state officials for damages arising from official

acts. Hafer at 23. State executive officials are not

entitled to absolute immunity for their official actions.

Id. at 29, citing Scheuer v. Rhodes, 416 U.S. 232, 243

(1974). Even if state law requires the state to pay any

damages awarded against a state official, a § 1983

action is not “against” the state for the purposes of the

Eleventh Amendment immunity. Demery ov.

Kupperman, 135 F.2d 1139 (9" Cir. 1984).

An action will not be deemed to be against the

state, and thus barred by the Eleventh Amendment,

where the plaintiff seeks to impose personal liability

on state officials sued in their individual capacity as a

result of actions undertaken by that official which

violated plaintiffs federally protected rights. Bair v.

Krug, 853 F.2d 672 (9 Cir. 1988); Central Reserve

Life of North America Ins. Co. v. Struve, 852 F.2d

1158 (9 Cir. 1988).

Moreover, nearly 100 years ago the United States

Supreme Court cleared the way for Plaintiff's, such as

Mr. Lucey, to enforce their Constitutional Rights

against state officials through injunctive relief. Ex

parte Young, 209 U.S. 123 (1908). The Court held

28b

that injunctive relief may be obtained through the

federal courts when state officials are accused of

violating the Fourteenth Amendment:

[T]he use of the name of the State to enforce an

unconstitutional act to the injury of

complainants is a proceeding without the

authority of and one which does not affect the

State in its sovereign or governmental

capacity. . . . The officer. . . is in that case

stripped of his official or representative

character and is subjected in his person to the

consequences of his individual conduct.

Id., at 159-160.

In other words, even if a state is immune from

injunctive relief, the federal courts can put an end to

unconstitutional conduct by state officials, by enjoining

those state officials in their individual capacity. Jd.

However, the case relied upon by State Defendants’

in their Motion, Seminole Tribe of Florida v.

Florida, 517 U.S. 44 (1996), does not bar injunctive

relicf by a federal court, in a § 1983 case, against the

actual State or officials in their official capacity. The

limitations imposed on the federal courts by Seminole

Tribe, only apply against a state where Congress had

prescribed a “detailed remedial scheme for the

enforcement against a State of a statutorily created

right. . ..” Ellis v. University of Kansas Medical

Center, 163 F.3d 1186 (10" Cir. 1998), citing

Seminole Tribe, 517 U.S. at 74. However, Seminole

Tribe does not limit the federal courts ability to

enforce constitutional rights, such as Ms. Krainski’s

due process rights. See, Ellis, 163 F.3d 1186.

Additionally, § 1983 did not create a detailed remedial

29b

scheme, or any substantive rights at all, but is simply

a vehicle for bringing constituticna! claims before the

federai courts. Jd. As such, UNLV is subject to the

injunction powers of this court, as Plaintiffs claims are

constitutional in nature, not statutory.

Plaintiff has the right to bring causes of action for

money damages against the individual Defendants.

Hafer v. Melo. This court has every ability to enjoin

all Defendants from continuing to violate Plaintiffs

constitutional rights. It may be accomplished by an

order to the State university, or by an order to the

individual defendants in their individual capacity,

pursuant to Ex parte Young.

1. THE ELEVENTH AMENDMENT DOES

NOT BAR A FEDERAL SUIT AGAINST

OFFICIAL CAPACITY DEFENDANTS, AS

CONSTITUTIONAL VIOLATIONS ARE

ON-GOING.

The Ninth Circuit has held that the Eleventh

Amendment does not bar federal suits against Nevada

officials, in their official capacity, where the relief

sought is prospective in nature and is based on an

on-going violation of the plaintiffs federal

constitutional or statutory rights. Central Reserve

Life of North America Ins. Co. v. Struve, 852 F.2d

1158 (9" Cir. 1988), citing Ex Parte Young;

Charley’s Taxi Radio Dispatch Corp. v. Sida of

Hawaii, Inc., 810 F.2d 869, 874 (9" Cir. 1987). That

is certainly the case here. As alleged in Plaintiffs

Complaint, Defendants’ have made notations upon her

transcripts of the unlawful disciplinary actions taken

against Plaintiff. As such, Defendants continue to

violate Plaintiffs Fourteenth Amendment Rights,

30b

which gives this Court jurisdiction over Defendants in

their official capacity, and Defendants are not entitled

to Eleventh Amendment immunity in their official

capacity. Central Reserve Life of North America

Ins. Co. v. Struve.

C. INDIVIDUAL DEFENDANTS ARE NOT

ENTITLED TO QUALIFIED IMMUNITY AS

THEY VIOLATED PLAINTIFF'S CLEARLY

ESTABLISHED CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHTS.

A defendant is entitled to qualified immunity if the

defendant did not violate “clearly established rights” at

the time of the conduct in question. See, Harlow uv.

Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800, 818 (1982). Defendants

accurately point to the two-prong test established in

Saucier v. Katz, 533 U.S. 194 (2001).

The test for qualified immunity is objective. The

defendant’s actual purpose or state of mind is not

material. Whether rights were “clearly established” at

the relevant time is determined in most instances by

looking at controlling published court decisions as of

that time. See, United States v. Lanier, 520 U.S.259,

269-71 (1997) (discussing qualified immunity in

§ 1983 and Bivens cases).

While the law in this matter is clearly established

in favor of Plaintiffs, it is not necessary for a plaintiff

to show a published decision establishing the rights in

question under precisely the same circumstances as

those presented in the case in question. Some conduct

so clearly violates a person’s rights that the question

is unlikely to come before the courts for a decision. The

Supreme Court has explained in the context of both

fair warning for criminal law and qualified immunity

31b

for civil rights defendants, that “general statements of

the law are not inherently incapable of giving fair and

clear warning, and in other instances a general

constitutional rule already identified in the decisional

law may apply with obvious clarity to the specific

conduct in question, even though ‘the very action in

question has [not] previously been held unlawful.”

United States v. Lanier, 520 U.S. at 271, quoting

Anderson v. Creighton, 483 U.S. 635, 640 (1987). To

rule that until the Supreme Court has spoken, no right

of litigants in this circuit can be deemed established

before we have decided the issue would discourage

anyone from being the first to bring a damages suit in

this court; he would be certain to be unable to obtain

any damages. Burgess v. Lowery, 201 F.3d 942, 85

A.L.R.5th 719 (7th Cir. 2000) (affirming denial of

summary judgment based on qualified immunity).

In Capeoman v. Reed, 754 F.2d 1512, 1514 (9th

Cir.1985), the 9" Circuit interpreted the meaning of

Harlow’s “clearly established” rights standard. They

concluded that in the absence of binding precedent, a

court should look at all available decisional law

including decisions of state courts, other circuits, and

district courts to determine whether the right was

clearly established. Ward v. County of San Diego,

791 F.3d 1329, 1332 (9 Cir. 1986), citing Capeoman.

An additional factor is the likelihood that the Supreme

Court or the Ninth Circuit would have reached the

same result as courts that had already considered the

issue. Id., citing Capeoman at 1515.

Similarly, in Buonocore v. Harris, the Fourth

Circuit held that the Fourth Amendment prohibits

government agents executing a valid search warrant

from aiding a private individual carry out an

32b

independent search of a home for items unrelated to

those specified in the warrant. Affirming a denial of

summary judgment based on qualified immunity, the

court found that no opinion directly on point was

needed to show that the alleged conduct violated

clearly established rights. 65 F.3d 347, 356-57 (4th

Cir.1995). The Fourth Circuit quoted another Seventh

Circuit case on this issue: “the absence of [many]

reported case[s] with similar facts demonstrates

nothing more than wide-spread compliance with

well-recognized constitutional principles.” Jd. at 357,

quoting Eberhardt v. O’Malley, 17 F.3d 1023, 1028

(7th Cir.1994).

The absence of such cases, however, does not mean

a government employee is entitled to immunity for

such conduct. “There has never been a section 1983

case accusing welfare officials of selling foster children

into slavery; it does not follow that if such a case arose,

the officials would be immune ... because no previous

case had found liability in those circumstances.” K.H.

ex rel. Murphy v. Morgan, 914 F.2d 846, 851 (7th

Cir.1990). The controlling question is whether a

reasonable government official would have understood

at the time of the conduct in question that the conduct

violated the Plaintiffs’ constitutional rights.

In this matter, however, the United States

Supreme Court has clearly established the law, by way

of their decision in Goss v. Lopez, 419 U.S. 574 (1975).

[A] student’s legitimate entitlement to a public

education [is] a property interest which

protected by the Due Process Clause and which

may not be taken away for misconduct without

33b

adherence to the minimum procedures required

by that Clause. Id.

Numerous other cases have also expressed the due

process rights of public university students. Dixon uv.

Alabama State Board of Education, 294 F.2d 150

(5" Cir. 1961), cert. denied, 368 U.S. 930 (1961);

Marin v. University of Puerto Rico, 377 F. Supp.

613 (D.P.R. 1974); Crook v. Baker, 584 F.Supp. 1531,

1556 (E.D. Mich. 1984); Gabrilowittz v. Newman, 582

F.2d 100 (1* Cir. 1978).

The Fourteenth Amendment protection that is

owed to Plaintiff has been clearly established as far

back as Dixon v. Alabama State Board of

Education 1961, or at least since Goss v. Lopez in

1975. The Defendant government officials in this case

knew that Plaintiff was entitled to due process, and

knew what “due process” was, but deliberately violated

Plaintiffs constitutional rights by taking discipline

action against her without adequate notice or a

hearing. As a result, Defendants violated Plaintiffs

“clearly established rights” and are not entitled to

qualified immunity. Harlow; Saucier.

D. PLAINTIFF HAS ADEQUATELY STATED A

CLAIM FOR HER CAUSE OF ACTION

PURSUANT TO 42 U.S.C. §1983.

1. PLAINTIFF HAS COMPLIED WITH FRCP

8(a).

FRCP 8(a) states, in relevant part: “A pleading

which sets forth a claim for relief, whether an original

claim, counter-claim, cross-claim, or third-party claim,

34b

shall contain . . . (2) a short and plain statement of the

claim showing that the pleader is entitled to relief. . .”

Plaintiffs Complaint provides detailed explanations

of the allegations being made against Defendant

UNLYV, as well as the individual Defendants’. The due

process allegations, bought pursuant to 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983 and the Fourteenth Amendment, detail the lack

of notice, procedural defects, and lack of legitimate

state interest which constitute a lack of due process.

Plaintiffs Complaint also details the false arrest and

unlawful seizure committed by Defendants.

Moreover, Defendants’ have been provided ample

notice of Plaintiffs state law allegations. Each of

Plaintiffs causes of action incorporates the general

factual allegations in paragraphs 23-38 of Plaintiffs

Complaint.

2. PLAINTIFF HAS PROPERLY ALLEGED A

DE FACTO POLICY.

This is a case where Defendants’ have policies and

procedures in place to adequately provide students,

such as Plaintiff, procedural and substantive due

process, but chose to ignore those policies and

procedures and enact their own “de facto policy.”

The term “policy” “generally implies a course of

action consciously chosen from among _ various

alternatives.” City of Oklahoma v. Tuttle, 471 U.S.

808, 823, 105 S.Ct. 2427, 2436, 85 L.Ed.2d 791 (1985).

Monell v. Department of Social Services, 436 U.S.

658 (1978), imposes liability for injuries resulting from

such a choice, if a Constitutional deprivation was

“visited pursuant to governmental ‘custom’ even

35b

though such a custom has not received formal approval

through the body’s official decision-making channels.”

Moneil, 436 U.S. at 690-91, 98 S.Ct. at 2035-36. This

is also referred to as a “de facto policy.”

As explained in Oklahoma City v. Tuttle, once a

de facto policy is established, “it requires only one

application ... to satisfy fully Monell’s requirement

that the government be held liable only for

constitutional violations resulting from the

government's official policy.” Jd., at 822

“(Ijf ... officials know or should know of the

particular vulnerability, then the Fourteenth

Amendment imposes on them an obligation not to act

with reckless indifference to that vulnerability.”

Redmen v. County of San Diego, 942 F.2d 1435 (9"

Cir. 1991); quoting, Colburn v. Upper Darby

Township, 838 F.2d 663, 669 (3rd Cir.1988), cert

denied, 489 U.S. 1065, 109 S.Ct. 1338, 103 L.Ed.2d 808

(1989)

“A person deprives another ‘of a constitutional

right, within the meaning of section 1983, if he does an

affirmative act, participates in another’s affirmative

acts, or omits to perform an act which he is legally

required to do that causes the deprivation of which

[the plaintiff complains).” Leer v. Murphy, 844 F.2d

628, 633 (9th Cir.1988); quoting Johnson v. Duffy,

588 F.2d 740, 743 (9th Cir. 1978)

Plaintiff needs not show that individual Defendants

and UNLV maintained a policy affirmatively

encouraging officials, or each other, to violate the

Constitutional rights of its students; “ govern

ments may be liable under Section 1983 for

36b

constitutional injuries inflicted by their employees if

their failure adequately to guard against such injuries

through training and supervision rises to the level of

‘deliberate indifference’ to the constitutional rights of

citizens who come in contact with those employees.

Doe By and Through Knackert v. Estes, 926

F Supp. 979, 987 (D.Nev. 1996); citing, City of Canton

at 388.

Plaintiffs Complaint adequately alleges that

Defendants’ actions were taken pursuant to such a “de

facto policy.” As such, Plaintiffs cause of action is

sufficiently plead.

3. PLAINTIFF HAS PROPERLY ALLEGED

THAT DEFENDANTS HAVE VIOLATED

HER CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT TO DUE

PROCESS.

The United States Supreme Court has established

that students have a property interest in their

education. Goss v. Lopez, 419 U.S. 574 (1975)

|A] student’s legitimate entitlement to a public

education [is] a property interest which is

protected by the Due Process Clause and which

may not be taken away for misconduct without

adherence to the minimum procedures required

by that Clause. Id

The first case to recognize a university student's

right to due process in a disciplinary hearing was

Dixon v. Alabama State Board of Education, 294

F.2d 150 (5“ Cir. 1961), cert. denied, 368 U.S. 930

(1961). In this case from the civil rights era, Alabama

State College expelled nine black students, without

37b

notice and without the benefit of a hearing, (/d., 158)

after the students conducted a sit-in demonstration at

a pubiic courthouse lunch grill that refused service to

blacks. Id., 152, n.3. The Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals

held that due process required notice and a hearing

before a student at a tax-supported college can be

expelled for misconduct. /d., 158.

Furthermore, the Court made clear that a state

institution may not circumvent the fundamental night

to due process by conditioning a grant of admission

upon students’ agreeing to give up their constitutional

right to due process. Jd., 156, citing Slochower v.

Board of Educ., 350 U.S. 551, 555 (1956). The school

must establish some reasonable grounds for its

disciplinary actions and must do so procedurally

through “fundamental principles of fairness.” /d., 157.

The court would test fairness by examining the

sufficiency of the hearing and the preceding notice. /d.,

158-159.

The Dixon court broadly defined the notice and

hearing required in cases of student expulsion:

[AJn opportunity to hear both = sides in

considerable detail is best suited to protect the

rights of all involved. This is not to imply that a

full-dress judicial hearing, with the nght to

cross-examine witnesses, is required. Id., 159.

More than a decade later, the federal District Court

for the District of Puerto Rico took due process a step

further. In Marin v. University of Puerto Rico, 377

F. Supp. 613 (D.P.R. 1974) the court held that students

are entitled to:

38b

(1) adequate advance notice of

(a) the charges,

(b) the specific, previously promulgated

regulations under which the charges

are brought, and

(c) the evidence against the student;

(2) a full, expedited evidentiary hearing

(a) presided over by an-= impartial,

previously uninvolved official,

(b) the proceedings of which are

transcribed, at which the student

(c) can present evidence and

(d) cross-examine opposing witnesses,

(e) with the assistance of retained

counsel.

(3) a written decision by the presiding official

encompassing

(a) findings of fact,

(b) the substantial evidence on which the

findings rest, and

(c) the reasons for the — official’s

conclusion. [d., 623

The Marin court held that these due process

protections must be guarded most scrupulously when

the university’s action may damage the student’s

standing in the community, or may impose a stigma or

“mark on one’s record that may well preclude further

study at any public and many private institutions and

limit the positions one can qualify for after

termination of one’s studies.” /d., 622, citing Roth, 408

39b

U.S. 573. To date, Marin marks the outer limit of

rights recognized for students.

Until the United States Supreme Court’s Gass v.

Lopez, 419 U.S. 565 (1975) decision in 1975,

jurisdictions remained split as to whether students

were entitled to any due process by public educational

institutions. In Goss, the Court set aside the summary

10-day suspensions of nine high school students

charged with various acts of disruptive conduct during

school hours. /d. “At the very minimum,” the Court

held, due process required notice and an informal

hearing prior to the students’ suspension. Id., 579

“(Djue process requires, in connection with a

suspension of 10 days or less, that the student be given

oral or written notice of the charges against him and,

if he denies them, an explanation of the evidence the

authorities have and an opportunity to present his side

of the story.” Jd. Had the suspension exceeded 10 days

the Court might have required “more formal

procedures.” Id., 584. The Court concluded that the

adequacy of the notice and the nature of the hearing

sufficient to satisfy due process would vary according

to an “appropriate accommodation of the competing

interests involved.” /d., 579.

A landmark decision, Goss opened the gates for

cases brought by students at all educational levels. In

one example of Goss’s application, Crook v. Baker

584 F. Supp. 1531, 1556 (E.D. Mich. 1984) the federal

District Court for the Eastern District of Michigan

held that a university student was entitled to notice

and a hearing before the University of Michigan could

rescind a graduate’s master’s degree on the grounds

that he had fabricated data underlying his thesis. Id.

40b

After Goss, schools could no longer deny students their

procedural due process, and expect to get away with it.

a. Plaintiff Has Alleged That She Was Not

Provided with Notice, Thus Violating Her

Fourteenth Amendment Rights.

The Goss Court determined that high school

students facing the deprivation of a property right by

suspension from school must, at a minimum. “be given

some kind of notice and afforded some kind hearing.”

419 U.S. 579 (emphasis in original). In an earlier

decision, the Supreme Court had established that “|a]n

elementary and fundamental requirement of due

process ... is notice reasonably calculated, under all the

circumstances, to apprize interested parties of the

pendency of the action and afford them an opportunity

to present their objections.” Mullane v. Central

Hanover Trust Co. , 339 U.S. 306, 314 (1950); see also

Memphis Light, Gas & Water Div. v. Craft, 436

U.S. 1, 13 (1978). Applying that standard in Goldberg

v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254, 268 (1970) (fairness in some

cases may require more than seven days’ notice of the

termination of welfare benefits) the Supreme Court

held that a few days notice is inadequate for the

termination of welfare benefits. Lower courts have

specifically held that notice of five days or less for an

employment termination hearing is insufficient notice.

Walker v. U.S., 744 F.2d 67, 70 (10th Cir.1984) (five

days’ notice to a public employee insufficient pre-

termination notice); Wagner v. Little Rock School

District, 373 F.Supp. 876 (E.D.Ark. 1974) (one day

inadequate to notify a school teacher of her

termination hearing).

41b

In a case involving a private college, the United

States District Court for the District of Vermont

reversed Middiebury College’s one year suspension of

a student, holding that the school deviated from its

published notice policy by informing the accused

student of only one of the two charges that had been

brought against him. Fellheimer, 869 F. Supp. at

246-47. The court held that the college must “state the

nature of the charges with sufficient particularity to

permit the accused party to meet the charges,” as

expressed in the school’s policy. Jd.

What constitutes adequate notice may be difficult

to measure, but colleges and universities are clearly at

an advantage over a student who may have limited or

no resources with which to prepare for a hearing. The

guiding principle should be that students have ample

time to secure and obtain the advice of counsel, review

and investigate the claims against them, and prepare

a defense to the accusations made against them.

Considering the limited resources of students, a notice

of fewer than ten working days likely does not allow an

accused student time to adequately defend himself.

Plaintiff has alleged, that despite the UNLV

Student Conduct Code in place, “Defendants UNLV,

MILLS, CLARK, BURNS, JIMENEZ, and CARRASCO

failed to provide Plaintiff with proper notice of the

formal hearing, violating her U.S. Constitutional

Rights, the UNLV Student Conduct Code, and the

Nevada System of Higher Education (NSHE) Code.”

Plaintiffs Complaint, paragraph 33. Plaintiffs

allegation of improper notice is sufficient to put

Defendants on notice pursuant to FRCP 8&(a).

42b

b. Plaintiff Has Alleged That She Was

Disciplined, Despite Defendants

Knowledge That She Was Innocent, Thus

Violating Her Fourteenth Amendment

Rights.

In addition to the procedural protections outlined

above, the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment provides a guarantee against arbitrary

decisions that would impair appellants’

constitutionally protected interests. Dixon, 294 F.2d

at 157. This guarantee of “substantive due process”

protects certain fundamental “substantive” rights we

all share. The Supreme Court has said of substantive

due process that, “the Due Process Clause guarantees

more than fair process, and the ‘liberty’ it protects

includes more than the absence of physical restraint.”

Washington v. Glucksberg, 521 U.S. 702, 719 (1997).

It provides “heightened protection against government

interference with certain fundamental rights and

liberty interests.” Id. at 720. As the court stated in

Dixon, “the governmental power to expel the plaintiffs

... 1s not unlimited and cannot be arbitrarily exercised.

Admittedly, there must be some reasonable and

constitutional ground for expulsion or the courts would

have a duty to require reinstatement.” Dixon, 294

F.2d at 157. Under principles of substantive due

process, students cannot be disciplined for

constitutionally protected actions, or for actions which

the government has no legitimate interest in

punishing.

In addition to protecting such fundamental rights

as free speech, substantive due process assures that

any government action bear, at a minimum, a rational

relationship to a legitimate governmental interest. In

43b

Alabama & Coushatta Tribes v. Big Sandy School

District, 817 F.Supp. 1319 (£.D. Tex. 1993), the

federal District Court for the Eastern District of Texas

provided two theories upon which a_ successful

substantive due process claim may be made. “If the

Suspensions were patently unreasonable or

disproportionate to the offense, the [students] would be

entitled to relief,” or, if there was a “substantial

departure from academic norms,” the student would

also be entitled to relief. Jd. at 1335.

Plaintiffs Complaint explicitly states that

Defendants retaliated against her for her actions

against a star athlete and found her responsible for

various actions despite no evidence ever being

presented.

35. Despite the fact that no evidence was

ever presented to support any of the allegations

made against Plaintiff, Defendants UNLV,

MILLS, CLARK, BURNS, JIMENEZ, and

CARRASCO found Plaintiff to be “Responsible”

of said charges, completely ignoring the

evidence that exonerated Plaintiff, forever

tarnishing the educational transcript and record

of Plaintiff, as well as causing severe

psychological and physical injuries, all in

violation of her U.S. Constitutional Rights, the

UNLV Student Conduct Code, and the Nevada

System of Higher Education (NSHE) Code.

36. Plaintiff filed a timely appeal of

Defendants decision. However, Defendants

UNLV, MILLS, CLARK, BURNS, JIMENEZ,

and CARRASCO again ignored the facts and

dismissed the appeal, all in violation of her U.S.

44b

Constitutional Rights, the UNLV Student

Conduct Code, and the Nevada System of

Higher Education (NSHE) Code.

37. Defendants have taken said actions

against Plaintiff in retaliation for her making a

complaint against a star athlete, and further

retaliating against her for asserting her rights

pursuant to the U.S. Constitutional Rights, the

UNLV Student Conduct Code, and the Nevada

System of Higher Education (NSME) Code.

These acts by the Defendants were taken without

a legitimate state interest and thus violate the

Plaintiffs substantive due process rights.

c. Plaintiff Has Alleged That Defendants’

Ignored Their Own Due Process

Safeguards, Thus Violating Her

Fourteenth Amendment Rights.

It is not enough for a school to go through the

motions of enacting a student conduct code. For any

such code to have credibility, the institution must

abide by it. In Lightsey v. King, 567 F.Supp. 645

(E.D.N.Y. 1983) a student was given a grade of “zero”

for cheating, even after the institution’s Honor Board

found him “not guilty” of the allegations. The court

held that “there was no difference between failing to

provide a due process hearing and providing one but

ignoring the outcome. By holding the Honor Board

hearing and then disregarding its result, the Academy

violated Lightsey’s right to due process.” Jd. At 649.

Courts review the disciplinary decisions of schools

to ensure that they are not arbitrary and capricious,

45b

and that the process is conducted with basic fairness.

Coveney v. Pres. of Coll. ef the Hoty Cross, 445

N.&.2d 136, 138 (Mass. 1983); Ahlum ov.

Administrators of the Tulane Educ. Fund, 617 So.

2d 96, 98-99 (La. Ct. App. 1993); Psi Upsilon of

Phila. v. University of Pa., 591 A.2d 755, 760 (Pa.

Super. Ct. 1991); Anderson, 1995 WL 813188, at

* 4-*5: Cloud v. Trustees of Boston Univ., 720 F.2d

721, 725 (1st Cir. 1983).

In Anderson v. Mass. Inst. Of Tech., the

Massachusetts Superior Court went so far as to adopt

a rule that the court may intervene in the student-

school relationship when the student demonstrates

that the school’s action was arbitrary and capricious,

when the school failed to follow its own disciplinary

rules, or when the school did not afford the student

with a hearing that was fundamentally fair.

Anderson, 1995 WL 813188, at * 4. “Such hearings at

the very least should provide the student with written

notice of the charges against him or her; a written

description of the evidence upon which the charges are

based; the names of the witnesses which the university

intends to call at the hearing; an unbiased disciplinary

committee or tribunal; an opportunity to be heard and

present witnesses in his behalf; and the nght to

confront and controvert the evidence presented by the

university.” Id.

It is fundamentally unfair when a large public

university, such as Defendant’, publishes a Student

Conduct Code, distributes that code to the all of its

students, publishes that code on its web site, holds its

students accountable for abiding by that code, but then

the university chooses to repeatedly ignore its own

rules of due process as prescribed by the code.

46b

Plaintiffs Complaint specifically alleges that

Defendants’ had these policies and procedures in place,

via their Student Conduct Code and Nevada System of

Higher Education (NSHE) Code, but those to ignore

them. Plaintiffs Complaint, paragraphs 34.

4. PLAINTIFF HAS PROPERLY ALLEGED A

VIOLATION OF HER FOURTH AND

FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT RIGHTS TO

UNLAWFUL ARREST AND SEIZURE.

Police officers have the power to arrest citizens

without a warrant if they have probable cause. See

Atwater v City of Lago Vista, 532 US 318, 322

(2001). A citizen who is arrested without probable

cause can bring a civil action against the officer under

42 USC § 1983 for false arrest. A false arrest is a

violation of the Fourth Amendment right against

unreasonable seizure of persons. Hand v Gary, 838

F2d 1420, 1427 (5 Cir 1988) (“The Fourth and

Fourteenth Amendments guard against arrest without

probable cause.”).

Under § 1983, citizens may seek redress for

violations of their constitutional rights by state or local

officials The statute guarantees that “[e]very person

who, under color of any statute, ordinance, regulations,

custom or usage, or any State or Territory...subjects

...any...person...to the deprivation of any rights,

privileges, or immunities secured by the Constitution

and laws, shall be liable to the party injured. 42 USC

§ 1983 (2000). A § 1983 action has two essentia!

elements: that the alleged injury was committed by a

person acting under color of state law, and that this

conduct deprived the person of a right “secured by the

Constitution and the laws” ofthe United States. Flagg

47b

Brothers, Inc. v Brooks, 436 US 149, 155-56 (1978)

(holding that a private business’s action as permitted

under New York Uniform Commercial Code was not

“under color or state law” as required for a § 1983

claim). The primary purpose of § 1983 are “to deter

state actors from using the badge of their authority to

deprive individuals of their federally guaranteed nghts

and to provide relief to victims if such deterrence

fails.” Wyatt v Cole, 504 US 158, 161 (1992), citing

Carey v Piphus, 435 US 247, 254-57 (1978). Thus,

this broad remedy protects citizens against the

violation of any federal right by state officials.

Unconstitutional false arrest is a cognizable claim

under § 1983, and is in fact one of the most common

§ 1983 claims brought against police officers (From

1989-1993, excessive force issues were the most

common in § 1983 claims against police at 24 percent,

and false arrest claims were the second most common

at 22 percent. Forty percent of cases against the police

involved both excessive force and false arrest.

Scarborough and Hemmens, 21 T Jefferson L Rev at

11). An illegal arrest is an unreasonable seizure under

the Fourth Amendment (See Hand v Gary, 838 F2d

1420, 1427 (5" Cir 1988), quoting Thomas v Sams,

734 F2d 185, 191 (5 Cir 1984) (“The right to be free

from illegal arrest plainly enjoys [constitutional]

protection.”); Patzig v O’Neil, 577 F2d 841, 848 (3d

Cir 1978) (“Clearly, an arrest without probable cause

is a constitutional violation actionable under § 1983.”)),

which protects “persons, houses, papers, and effects

against unreasonable searches and seizures” (US

Const Amend IV (emphasis added)). This guarantee

applies to the states through the Due Process Clause

of the Fourteenth Amendment. See Monroe v Pape,

365 US 167, 171 (1961).

48b

Actions for unconstitutional false arrest generally

parallel the common law action of false arrest or false

imprisonment. See City of Newport v Fact Concerts,

Inc., 453 US 247, 258 (1981) (One important

assumption underlying the Court’s decision in this

area [tort liability under § 1983] is that members of

the 42d Congress were familiar with common law

principles...and that they likely intended these

common-law principles to obtain, absent specific

provisions to the contrary.”) At common law, the

elements of a false arrest claim were (1) the detention

of the plaintiff, and (2) the unlawfulness of the

detention. See Winn & Lovett Grocery Co. v Archer,

126 Fla 308, 171 S 214, 218 (1936) (“[T]o recover for

false arrest of the person, it must be shown that the

restraint was unreasonable and such as was not

warranted by the circumstances.”). See also VorholE v

Vorholt, 111 W Va 196, 160 SE 916, 917-18 (1931)

(“The gist of an action for false imprisonment is the

illegal detention of a person without lawful process or

by an unlawful execution of such process.”); Garrity v

Fleming, 121 Kan 42, 245 P 1054, 1055 (1926) (“False

arrest or imprisonment is any unlawful physical

restraint by one of another’s liberty, whether in prison

or elsewhere.”).

Police officers may make arrests without a warrant,

but the lawfulness of that arrest turns on whether

there was probable cause. United States v Watson,

423 US 411, 417 (1976). For the purposes of a false

arrest claim, probable cause exists where the officer

had “reasonably trustworthy information” of facts and

circumstances that would lead a “prudent man” to

believe that an offense had been committed. Karr v

Smith, 774 F2d 1029, 1031 (10“ Cir 1985) (discussing

when an officer has probable cause to make an arrest,

49b

including the “fellow officer” rule that allows probable

cause to be determined according to the collective

information possessed by all officers involved).

Probable cause has been described by the Supreme

Court as a “practical, nontechnical” requirement that

balances the competing interests of effective law

enforcement and the protection of citizens’ rights.

Brinegar v United States, 338 US 160, 176 (1949).

In practical terms, a court determines whether there

was probable cause by examining the circumstances of

the arrest and deciding whether the “historical facts”

available at the time of the arrest, “viewed from the

standpoint of an objectively reasonable police officer,

amount to...probable cause.” Ornelas v United

States, 517 US 690, 696 (1996) (stating that probable

cause is not a “finely-tuned standard” but instead is a

fluid concept that depends on the particular

circumstances of a situation.).

For the purposes of a § 1983 action, probable cause

does not depend upon what the magistrate found at

the preliminary hearing or arraignment. Whitley v

Seibel, 613 F2d 682, 685 (7" Cir 1980) (explaining

that a court will assess the presence of probable cause

in a § 1983 false arrest action using a “reasonable man

standard” regardless of the magistrate’s ruling). If a

magistrate determines that no probable cause existed

to hold the suspect for the crime, that does not

automatically make the officer liable in a § 1983

action. The question is whether a reasonable office

would have believed there was probable cause at the

time of the arrest, regardless of what the magistrate

eventually found at the probable cause hearing, or

what the grand jury found at the arraignment. Id.

50b

The Ninth Circuit places the burden of proof for

probable cause on the defendant. Dubner v City and

County of San Francisco, 266 F3d, 959, 965 (9 Cir

2001) (explaining that the arresting officer has the

burden of showing probable cause once the plaintiff

makes a prima facie case of unlawful arrest.). The

initial burden is on the plaintiff to establish an

invasion of his rights, that is, an illegal arrest, and the

plaintiff can make a prima facie case, “simply by

showing that the arrest was conducted without a valid

warrant.” Dubner, 266 F3d at 965. Once the plaintiff

makes a prima facie case, the burden shifts to the

defendant to produce evidence of probable cause. Id.

An arrest made without a warrant is presumptively

unlawful if the defendant “is unable to or refuses to

come forward with any evidence that the arresting

officers had probable cause.” Id.

Thus, the defendant bears the burden of

production, and must introduce enough evidence on

the issue of probable cause so that the issue can be

decided by the factfinder rather than on summary

judgment.

The Ninth Circuit advances a policy rationale-that

the defendant officers should bear the burden of

production because they have the best access to the

evidence that would tend to prove or disprove probable

cause. Dubner, 266 F3d at 965 (“This minimal burden

shifting forces the police department, which is the

better position to gather information about the arrest,

to come forward with some evidence of probable

cause.”). Thus, the Ninth Circuit places the burden of

production on the defendant officers because they, not

the plaintiffs, have the best access to the information

5lb

and can most cost-effectively produce this evidence at

trial. Id.

Plaintiff was arrested by Defendants on a charge of

felony assault with a deadly weapon. Defendants

wrongly assert that Plaintiff was not exonerated of the

charges against her. The minutes of the Las Vegas

Justice Court, which were attached as Exhibit 1] to

their Motion, clearly show that Plaintiff was never

adjudicated “guilty” of any crime, and that the charges

against her were “dismissed.” No judge ever made any

finding that the Defendant Officers had any probable

cause at the time of Plaintiffs arrest. To the contrary,

the charge was later amended to a misdemeanor

disorderly conduct, and then dismissed. It is

impossible for Defendants to meet their burden

pursuant to Dubner on a motion to dismiss. Plaintiffs

Complaint is properly plead, and must proceed to trial.

See Id.

E. PLAINTIFF’S STATE CLAIMS EACH

SUFFICIENTLY ALLEGE A PROPER CAUSE

OF ACTION.

1. BEACH OF CONTRACT.

Courts have held that schools may not deviate from

the express due process protections established in

their student conduct codes, whether they are public or

private, as such deviations would violate the implied

contractual interests of the student. Tedeschi v.

Wagner College, 404 N.E. 2d 1302 (N.Y. 1980).

To understand whether a contract exists between

a student and an institution, one must examine the

elements of a contract. A contract requires that there

52b

be a bargain which includes both a manifestation of

mutual assent to the exchange and “consideration.”

Restatement (Second) of Contracts §17(1). In contract

law parlance, consideration is the returned promise or

performance bargained for. /d. For example, a student

pays tuition in consideration for an education. An

institution provides education in consideration for

tuition.

The terms of a contract need not be fully expressed

and contained within a formal document, but may be

implied by law or from the parties’ conduct or other

evidence of mutual assent. 3A. Corbin Contracts

§ 541 AT 97 (1960); See also Wagenseller v.

Scottsdale Memorial Hospital, 710 P.2d 1025, 1036

(Ariz. 1985) (opinion superseded by statute). There are

two types of implied contracts, implied-in-fact and

implied-in-law. Wagenseller, 710 P.2d at 1036. An

implied-in-fact contract is one that is inferred from the

statements or conduct of the parties. /d. “It is not a

promise defined by the law, but one made by the

parties, though not expressly.” Jd. Student conduct

codes, for example, are implied-in-fact contracts. In

contrast, an implied-in-law duty arises when the

contract is silent, but the law requires that a duty be

imposed even though the parties may not have

intended it. Jd., citing 1 A. Corbin, supra note 21, §17,

at 38.

A contractual relationship begins when the

institution accepts the student’s application for

admission. Curtis J. Berger & Vivian Berger,

Academic Discipline: a Guide to Fair Process for

the University Student, 99 Colum. L. Rev. 289,

318-19 (1999). The effect of the acceptance is to make

an irrevocable offer to the successful applicant, usually

53b

for a limited period time, for a seat in the entering

class. By making a deposit befcre tie offer expires, the

applicant extends the offer until the beginning of the

school year. Before classes start, the applicant will

arrive on campus and register, thereby becoming an

enrolled student. If the student is a degree candidate,

he or she expects to be offered a curriculum which, if

completed satisfactorily, will lead to the degree. The

student further expects that the school will treat him

or her fairly, including not being subjected to arbitrary

grading or dismissal, extreme tuition hikes, or a

sizable escalation of the degree requirements. These

expectations are implied-in-law terms of the contract

the student enters into with the institution. Though

not explicitly spelled out, they are essential to the

student’s ability to benefit from the bargain he entered

into with the institution, and are thus implied (by law)

as part of the contract. Payment of a student’s tuition

constitutes consideration for these expectations. Id.

In return, the school expects payment of tuition and

fees and compliance by the student with a set of rules,

both academic and non-academic, as a member of the

university community. The school’s expectations, like

those of the student, are implied-in-law terms of the

contract. These mutual understandings and

expectations form the essence of a contractual

relationship. /d.

An _ additional, and essential, part of the

student-university relationship is the implied-in-fact

contract created by a written student conduct code.

Usually issued annually, the student conduct code is

one of the primary documents used by the school to

describe to students the academic and non-academic

requirements and limitations placed upon them. The

D4b

student conduct code puts students on notice that their

continued enrollment is subject to their obedience of

the school’s rules, and also informs them of the

procedures to be followed in the event of any alleged

disobedience. The written code provides the terms and

conditions to be followed by both the school and the

student, thus creating an implied-in-fact contract

between the school and the student.

In Tedeschi v. Wagner College, 404 N.E. 2d 1302

(N.Y. 1980) a private college suspended a part-time

student because of her alleged disruptive and abusive

conduct during and outside class. The student filed

suit seeking monetary damages and reinstatement in

the college. Id., 1304. She alleged that the school had

not given her a hearing or any opportunity to defend

herself. Jd. The New York state trial court entered

judgment for the defendant, holding that the United

States Constitution did not apply because the private

college was not “state involved” and because the

school’s informal procedure was carried out in good

faith and was not arbitrary. Jd. After a split Appellate

Division affirmed, the New York Court of Appeals

reversed, ordering that the student be conditionally

reinstated. Jd., 1307.

The court pointed to a college brochure, “1976-1977

Guidelines of Wagner College,” which outlined

Wagner's procedure for adjudicating academic and

non-academic suspension or dismissal. Jd., 1304. The

college had failed to convene the Student-Faculty

Hearing Board, which the guidelines required, prior to

suspending the student. /d., 1306. On appeal, she

argued that the student-private college relationship is

contractual and that an implied term of the contract is

that the school will observe its own rules. /d., 1305.

55b

In short, New York’s highest court held:

Whether by analogy to the law of associations,

on the basis of a supposed contract between

university and student, or simply as a matter of

essential fairness in the somewhat one-sided

relationship between the institution and the

individual, we hold that when a university has

adopted a rule or guideline establishing the

procedure to be followed in relation to

suspension or expulsion that procedure must be

substantially observed. Jd., 1306. (emphasis

added).

Since Tedeschi, a number of other courts have

required private schools to act in accordance with their

published policies. Fellheimer v. Middlebury Coll.,

869 F. Supp. 238, 244 (D. Vt. 1994) (college breached

its contractual duty when it failed to put student on

notice of all charges against him); Holert v. Univ. of

Chi., 751 F. Supp. 1294, 1301 (N.D. Ill. 1990) (student

is entitled to the procedural safeguards that the school

agreed to provide); Schaer v. Brandeis Univ., 735

N.E.2d 373, 381 (Mass. 2000) (a university should

foliow its established rules); Anderson v. Mass. Inst.

of Tech., 1995 WL 813188, *1, *4 (Mass. Super. 1995)

(courts may intervene when school’s action was

arbitrary and capricious). For example, in Fellheimer

v. Middlebury College, the United States District

Court for the District of Vermont held that Middlebury

College was contractually bound to provide students

with the procedural safeguards and rights it promised

in its publications. 869 F. Supp. at 241. To deviate

from those published procedures would make the

hearing fundamentally unfair. Jd., 246.

56b

In addition, a university’s suspension or other

punishment of a student without good cause, violates

the covenant of good faith and fair dealing, which is an

implied-in-law term of the contract. See 3 A. CORBIN,

supra note 17, § 541 at 97. See also 5 S. WILLISTON,

THE LAW OF CONTRACTS § 670 at 159 (3d ed. 1961);

Wagenseller, 710 P.2d at 1038, citing Restatement

(Second) of Contracts § 205; Savoca Masonry Co.

v. Homes & Son Construction Co. , 542 P.2d 817, 821

(Ariz. 1975). The covenant of good faith and fair

dealing requires that neither contracting party do

anything that will injure the right of the other to

receive the benefits of their agreement, See

Wagenseller, 710 P.2d at 1038, citing Comunale v.

Traders & General Insurance Co., 328 P.2d 198,

200 (Cal. 1958); Fortune v. National Cash Register

Co., 364 N.E.2d 1251, 1257 (Mass. 1977) in this case

the right of the student to receive an education, and

the right of the university to educate others. It imposes

on the school a good faith duty, at a minimum, to

substantially adhere to its published disciplinary

procedures. In certain circumstances, breach of

contract, including breach of the covenant of good faith

and fair dealing, may provide the basis for a tort claim.

See Id. at 1038-39, citing Noble v. National

American Life Insurance Co., 624 P.2d 866, 868

(Ariz. 1981); Seamen’s Direct Buying Service v.

Standard Oil Co. of California, 686 P.2d 1158 (Cal.

1984); Wallis v. Superior Court, 207 Cal.Rptr. 123

(1984); Gates v. Life of Montana Insurance Co. , 638

P.2d 1063 (Mont. 1982).

In Napolitano v. Trustees of Princeton

University, 453 A.2d 279 (N.J. Super. Ct. Ch. Div.

1982), a New Jersey state court held that a university

disciplinary hearing, which resulted in the withholding

57b

of the student’s degree for one year, failed to compiy

with the university’s own rules when the student was

not timely informed that she had the right to

cross-examine witnesses. The court ordered the

disciplinary cominittee to rehear the matter and, at

that hearing, to allow the plaintiff to call any

witnesses she wished and to cross-examine any

witnesses presented against her, as the school rules

provided. Id. , 281-82.

Princeton had not refused to allow the student to

cross-examine adverse witnesses, but had failed to

inform her in timely fashion that she had such a right.

Id., 281. While the term “good faith” was not used by

the court, the court appears to have been saying that

the university had a good faith contractual duty to

timely inform the student that she had a right to

cross-examine witnesses, in addition to its duty to

protect the right as expressly stated in the student

handbook.

Another issue to be considered is the bargaining

strength of the contracting parties. The contract

between a student and a school is almost always

prescribed by the institution, with the student having

virtually no bargaining power. Contracts of adhesion

create one party that has no bargaining power or

ability to participate in the drafting of the contract,

making that party weaker. The Restatement of

Contracts, dealing with standardized agreements,

allows courts to consider the “reasonable expectations”

of the weaker party. Restatement (Second) of

Contracts, §211. Standardized Agreements.

Moreover, if an entity performs a service of “great

importance to the public,” the courts must give greater

than usual scrutiny to the terms of the entity’s

58b

standardized contract with a weaker party.

Restatement (Second) of Contracts, §195. This

power imbalance goes to the very essence of the

“one-sided relationship” described by the Tedeschi

court in reinstating a part-time student based on the

school’s failure to follow its own procedures. Tedeschi

v. Wagner College, 404 N.E.2d 1302, 1806 (N.Y. App.

Ct. 1980).

Like the above cases, UNLV and the Nevada

System of Higher Education (NSHE) has established

a conduct codes and rules, published them in its

handbook, published them on their website, and is

requiring its students to live by those Codes. They too

are required to honor it. By promising Plaintiff that

she would have the right to be represented by counsel

at her hearing, and then revoking that right just

minutes before her hearing was to begin. Plaintiff

relied not only upon the representations made in the

NSHE Code, but also the express assurances in

writing that she would be allowed to be represented by

counsel. By conducting said hearing and refusing to

allow Plaintiff to be represented by counsel, they

breached their contract with Plaintiff. By failing to

include the name of the complainant in the formal

hearing notice, they breached their contract with

Plaintiff. By finding Plaintiff responsible for an act,

despite the fact that no evidence existed, thus violating

Plaintiffs due process, they breached their contract

with Plaintiff. By failing to correct these material

failures on appeal, they breached their contract with

Plaintiff. This cause of action is sufficiently plead in

Plaintiffs Complaint.

2. NEGLIGENCE.

“To prevail on a negligence theory, a plaintiff must

generally show that: (1) the defendant owed a duty of

care to the plaintiff, (2) the defendant breached that

duty; (3) the breach was the legal cause of plaintiffs

injury and (4) the plaintiff suffered damages.” Doud v.

Las Vegas Hilton Corporation, 109 Nev. 1096, 864

P.2d 796 (Nev. 1993).

In the present case, Defendants’ owed a duty of

care to each of their students who paid tuition to be

enrolled at their University. The Defendants breached

that duty by refusing to treat Plaintiff with

fundamental fairness and afford her the due process

she was promised in Defendants’ Student Conduct

Code. Plaintiff has suffered severe damages as a result

of the interruption in her education, future economic

injuries, emotional damages and upset. For all of the

foregoing reasons, this Honorable Court should deny

Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss on the negligence

claim.

3. NEGLIGENT HIRING, TRAINING, AND

SUPERVISION.

The duty of reasonable care in hiring has been

established to ensure employers conduct reasonable

background checks on potential employees, to ensure

that the employee is fit for the position. Hall v. SSF,

Inc., 930 P.2d 94, 98-99 (Nev. 1996); quoting Burnett

v. C.B.A. Sec. Serv., Inc., 820 P.2d 750, 752 (Nev.

1991). The employer breaches this duty if it fails to

conduct a reasonable background check or if the

employer knew, or should have known, of an

employee’s dangerous propensities. See, Id.

60b

Additionally, employers can be held lable for

negligently training their employees. Vinci v. Las

Vegas Sands, Inc., 984 P.2d 750, 751 (Nev. 1999).

Finally, when an employer actively supervises the

employees, controls both the details and methods of

how the employee performs their work, had the ability

to terminate the employee’s employment, the

employers failure to supervise is subject to a claim of

negligence. Rockwell, Jr. v. Sun Harbor Budget

Suites, 925 P.2d 1175, 1182 (Nev. 1996).

The individual Defendants in this case were

employed and put in the positions they are in, despite

not having the proper qualifications to understand and

safeguard the constitutional and due process rights of

students. Moreover, individual Defendants were not

properly trained upon hiring and were not adequately

supervised to ensure that the constitutional and due

process rights of students were being protected. Even

more egregious, Defendant UNLV and individual

Defendants were aware that their employees were

violating the constitutional rights of students, and

violating the UNLV Student Conduct Code and NSHE

Code, but turned a blind eye to this know behavior. As

a result of the negligent hiring, training, and

supervision, Plaintiff was subjected to a violation of

her constitutional and civil rights.

4, INTENTIONAL INFLICTION OF

EMOTIONAL DISTRESS.

In order to establish a cause of action for

intentional infliction of emotional distress, a plaintiff

must establish: (1) extreme and outrageous conduct

with either the intention of, or reckless disregard for,

causing emotional distress, (2) the plaintiff suffered

61b

severe or extreme emotional distress, and (3) actual or

proximate causatien. Olivero v. Lowe, 116 Nev. 395,

398,995 P.2d 1023 (2000); Star v. Rabello, 97 Nev.

124, 125, 625 P.2d 90 (1981). Extreme and outrageous

conduct is that which is “outside all possible bounds of

decency and is regarded as ‘utterly intolerable in a

civilized community.” Maduike v. Agency

Rent-A-Car, 114 Nev. 1, 4, 953 P.2d 24 (1998).

In the case at bar, Plaintiff alleges and has set

forth facts proving that the Defendants conduct

constitutes: (1) extreme and outrageous conduct; (2)

committed in reckless disregard of the probability that

the Plaintiff would suffer severe emotional distress; (3)

which resulted in Plaintiff suffering severe emotional

distress; and (4) which was proximately caused by the

Defendants acts. Defendants have acted with reckless

disregard to the probability that the Plaintiff would

suffer emotional distress by intentionally and falsely

arresting Plaintiff and depriving her of due process.

These actions were deliberately intended to hurt

Plaintiff, despite the fact that as University officials,

Defendants’ were supposed to protect Plaintiff from

harm.

5. CIVIL CONSPIRACY

A Plaintiff is entitled to go to trial on a claim on

civil conspiracy, when the evidence presents a possible

inference of such a conspiracy. United Steel Workers

of America v. Phelps Dodge Corp., 865 F.2d 1539,

1546-47 (9" Cir. 1989). In that case, the Ninth Circuit

held that Phelps Dodge’s frequent interaction with the

local police department, at least created an inference

of a conspiracy that should be resolved by the finder of

fact. Id.

62b

In the case at bar, Plaintiffs Complaint has

presented numerous examples of the inseparable

relationship between the Defendants. This direct

evidence allows an inference to be drawn from the

abundant circumstantial evidence that Plaintiffs

claims are “justifiable” and “legitimate.” Matsushita

Electric v. Zenith Radio, 475 U.S. 574, 587-88, 106

S.Ct. 1348, 1356 (1986). The Defendants powerful

stature, combined with their inseparable relationship

with the each other, provide “undisputed background

or contextual facts,” T.W. Electrical Service v.

Pacific Electrical Contractors, 809 F.2d 626, 631

(9 Cir. 1987), from which the jury could legitimately

draw inferences. The jury would be justified in

inferring that the Defendants had both the ability and

the opportunity to conspire with each other. The

ability and opportunity to conspire, while insufficient

alone, constitute circumstantial evidence of actual

participation in the conspiracy. See Adickes v. S.H.

Kress & Co., 398 U.S. 144, 158, 90 S.Ct. 1598, 1609

(1970). This circumstantial evidence does not stand

alone, but rather serves to buttress the direct evidence

and the permissible inferences arising from it. In

addition an act done for a legitimate purpose in

furtherance of a conspiracy may, together with other

evidence, be evidence of a conspiratorial purpose.

Braverman v. United States, 317 U.S. 49, 53, 63

S.Ct. at 99, 101 (1942).

6. DEFAMATION, LIBEL, SLANDER PER SE.

As a general rule, a slanderous statement, no

matter how insulting or defamatory, is not actionable

unless actual or “special” damages are proven.

Brandav. Sanford, 97 Nev. 643 (1981); citing Modla

v. Parker, 495 P.2d 494 (Ariz.App.), cert. denied 409

63b

U.S. 1038 (1972); Kirk v. Village of Hillcrest, 335

N.E.2d 535 (IlLApp. 1975); W. Prosser, Law of Torts,

112 (4th ed. 1971). A statement is considered slander

per se, L.e., actionable without a showing of such

special damages, only if it falls into one of usually four

categories: (1) imputations that plaintiff has

committed a crime; (2) imputations that would injure

plaintiff's trade, business or office; (3) imputations that

the plaintiff has contracted a loathsome disease; and,

the category relevant for our purposes, (4) imputations

of unchastity in a woman. Branda, 97 Nev. at 646;

citing Atkinson v. Equitable Life Assur. Soc’y, 519

F.2d 1112 (5th Cir. 1975) (Florida law); Gulf Constr.

Co. v. Mott, 442 S.W.2d 778 (Tex.Civ.App. 1969);

Restatement (Second) of Torts § 570 (1977).

Defendants made numerous statements that

Plaintiff was a violent criminal, thus severely harming

her reputation. These statements meet the first

criteria for slander per se, as an imputation that

Plaintiff has committed a crime. Branda, 97 Nev. at

646.

It is generally accepted that for both libel and

slander it is a question of law and, therefore, within

the province of the court, to determine if a statement

is capable of a defamatory construction. Branda, 97

Nev. at 646; citing Thompson v. Powning, 15 Nev.

195 (1880); R. Sack, Libel, Slander and Related

Problems, 72 (P.L.1. 1980). If susceptible to different

constructions, one of which is defamatory, resolution

of the ambiguity is a question of fact for the jury.

Thompson, supra.

Plaintiff intends to present evidence and witnesses

to establish that these statements by Defendant are

64b

completely false, and damaged Plaintiff. As a result,

Plaintiffs cause of action for defamation, libel and

slander per se should not be dismissed.

7. MALICIOUS PROSECUTION / ABUSE OF

PROCESS

In Nevada, the elements of a malicious prosecution

claim are: “(1) want of probable cause to initiate the

prior criminal proceeding; (2) malice; (3) termination

of the prior criminal proceedings; and (4) damage.”

LaMantia v. Redisi, 38 P.3d 877, 879 (Nev. 2002). “A

malicious prosecution claim requires that the

defendant initiated, procured the institution of, or

actively participated in the continuation or a criminal

proceeding against the plaintiff.” Id. at 879

880(emphasis added).

The two elements required to establish the tort of

abuse of process are: “(1) an ulterior purpose by the

defendants other than resolving a legal dispute, and

(2) a willful act in the use of the legal process not

proper in the regular conduct of the proceeding.”

Posadas v. City of Reno, 109 Nev. 448, 457, 851 P.2d

438, 444-45 (1993), citing Kovacs v. Acosta, 106 Nev.

57, 59, 787 P.2d 368, 369 (1990). An ulterior purpose

is any improper motive underlying the issuance of

legal process. Laxalt v. McClatchy, 622 F.Supp. 737,

751 (D.Nev.1985). A showing of malice and want of

probable cause is not necessary to recover for abuse of

process. Bull v. McCuskey, 96 Nev. 706, 709,615 P.2d

957, 960 (1980), overruled in part on other grounds by

Ace Truck v. Kahn, 103 Nev. 503, 746 P.2d 132

(1987); Nevada Credit Rating Bur. v. Williams, 88

Nev. 601, 606, 503 P.2d 9, 12 (1972). In Bull, this

court upheld a jury award for abuse of process where

65b

the respondent’s attorney, with knowledge that there

was no basis for the claim, brought suit against a

physician for medical malpractice with the ulterior

purpose of coercing a nuisance claim settlement. Bull,

96 Nev. at 707, 709, 615 P.2d at 959-60. In Nevada

Credit Rating Bur., this court sustained an award

for abuse of process where the respondent attached

property valued greatly in excess of the alleged debt

with the ulterior purpose of coercing payment.

Nevada Credit Rating Bur., 88 Nev. at 606-07, 503

P.2d at 12-13.

In Posadas, the Nevada Supreme Court ruled that

the district court erred in granting summary judgment

to the City of Reno on the issue of abuse of process. Id.

in that case, the plaintiff alleged that the City filed

criminal charges against him for the purpose of forcing

him to resign his position as a police officer. Id.

Likewise, the only reason Defendants brought charges

against Plaintiff was an attempt to protect their star

athlete, and later, to justify the false arrest of Plaintiff

and attempt to hinder any civil claims she may have.

Defendants clearly did not have any legal authority

to arrest and jail Plaintiff. Moreover, Defendants

certainly did not have any basis to trump up bogus

student conduct code charges against Plaintiff, other

than to retaliate against her for asserting her

constitutional rights, and attempt to justify the arrest

of Plaintiff.

66b

KF. IN THE EVENT THAT THIS COURT IS

INCLINED TO GRANT ANY PORTION OF

DEFENDANTS’ MOTION, PLAINTIFF

REQUESTS LEAVE TO AMEND

COMPLAINT.

While Fed. R. Civ. P. 15 places leave to amend

within the sound discretion of the trial court, the 9”

Circuit has stressed that a court must remain guided

by “the underlying purpose of Rule 15... to facilitate

decision on the merits, rather than on the pleadings or

technicalities.” Untted States v. Webb, 655 F.2d 977,

979 (9 Cir. 1981); see also Conley v. Gibson, 355 U.S.

41, 48, 2 L. Ed. 2d 80, 78S. Ct. 99 (1957).

The standard for granting leave to amend is

generous. In Scott v. Eversole Mortuary, 522 F.2d

1110, 1116 (9" Cir. 1975) the 9" Circuit reversed the

district court’s dismissal of plaintiffs count insofar as

it denied leave to amend because it could “conceive of

facts” that would render plaintiffs claim viable and

could “discern from the record no reason why leave to

amend should be denied.” Similarly, in Breter ov.

Northern California Bowling Proprietors’ Ass’n,

316 F.2d 787, 789-90 (9 Cir. 1963) this Court held

that leave to amend should be granted if underlying

facts provide proper grounds for relief or if the

complaint can be saved by amendment. Leave to

amend should be granted “if it appears at all possible

that the plaintiff can correct the defect.” Id. at ‘790

(quoting 3 Moore, Federal Practice, § 15.10 at 838 (2d

ed. 1948)).

The factual history of the events giving rise to this

litigation are extensive. In the unlikely event that this

Court were to find any of Plaintiffs causes of action

67b

insufficient, leave to amend is graciously requested.

Plaintiff strongly believes that this Court could

“conceive of facts” that would render his claims valid,

if he were permitted to amend. Scott v. Eversole

Mortuary, 522 F.2d 1110 (9™ Cir. 1975).

Il.

CONCLUSION

Having established that Plaintiffs Complaint is

sufficiently plead, and that each cause of action

sufficiently states a claim for which relief may be

granted, Plaintiff prays that this Court will deny all

Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss.

DATED this 10th day of July, 2008.

THE BACH LAW FIRM, LLC

By: _/s/ Jason J. Bach

JASON J. BACH, ESQ.

Nevada Bar No.: 7984

6053 South Fort Apache Rd., Suite 130

Las Vegas, NV 89148

Attorney for Plaintiff

(Certificate of Service omitted in printing this appendix]

kK O*

68b

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF NEVADA

THE HONORABLE JAMES C. MAHAN, JUDGE

PRESIDING

NO. 2:08-CV-0417-JCM-GWFE

[Filed November 25, 2008]

MEGAN KRAINSKI,

Plaintiff,

VS.

STATE OF NEVADA EX. REL.

BOARD OF REGENTS OF THE

NEVADA SYSTEM OF HIGHER

EDUCATION, et al.,

Defendants.

a La _ ae ee ae

MOTION HEARING

REPORTER’S TRANSCRIPT OF

PROCEEDINGS

TUESDAY, OCTOBER 14, 2008

1:30 P.M.

69b

APPEARANCES:

For the Plaintiff: JASON BACH, ESQ.

For the Defendants: RICHARD LINSTROM, ESQ.

CHRISTIAN GABROY, ESQ.

Reported by: Joy Garner, CCR 275

Official Federal Court Reporter

[p.2]

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA, TUESDAY,

OCTOBER 14, 2008

1:30 P.M.

* * *

PROCEEDINGS

THE CLERK: This isthe time set for the hearing

of Defendant Kenya Polee’s motion to dismiss, Civil

Case Number 2:08-CV-0417-JCM-GWF, Megan

Krainski versus State of Nevada, and all others.

Counsel, please note your appearance for the

record.

THE COURT: Mr. Bach?

MR. BACH: Jason Bach on behalf of the plaintiff.

THE COURT: Thank you.

Mr. Linstrom?

70b

MR. LINSTROM: Your Honor, Richard Linstrom

here for the state defendants.

THE COURT: Thank you.

MR. GABROY: Judge, Christian Gabroy on behalf

of Defendant Kenya Polee and Third-Party Plaintiff

Kenya Polee.

THE COURT: All right. Thank you.

All right, I’ve reviewed this

{[p.3]

with my brain trust. Let me tell you what I’m inclined

to do, and I'll give you all a chance to argue. What I’m

inclined to do is to dismiss the federal claims and let

me tell you the rationale. I think the Eleventh

Amendment bars a lawsuit against the state, you

know, sovereign -- unless the state waives sovereign

immunity.

UNLV is a state instrumentality and its

employees are state employees protected in their

official capacities by the Eleventh Amendment. As far

as the employees acting in their individual capacities,

I think they are entitled to qualified immunity. State

officials in their individual capacity are protected from

civil liability arising from discretionary acts that do

not violate clearly established constitutional rights.

And, of course, the case that you’ve all referred

to, Saucier versus Katz, but first to -- the first inquiry

is whether an official’s conduct violated the person’s

constitutional rights. And then, second, the

71b

constitutional rights were clearly established at the

time of the incident so that a reasonable official would

have known that this conduct was

[p.4]

unlawful.

And here it seemed like there are three

constitutional claims. One is procedural due process,

but if you look at the cases that the defendants cite,

and Dixon versus Alabama State Board of Education

which, of course, is Fifth Circuit, but the Goss case

which is a United States Supreme Court case, but in

Goss the Goss Court held that due process does not

require even the opportunity to secure counsel to

confront and cross-examine the witnesses supporting

the charge or to call her own witnesses to verify her

version of the incident.

I mean so it’s an very limited procedural due

process. Counsel is not a required element of student

due process claims, and so it seems like the due

process claim just doesn’t pertain. As far as

substantive due process -- does she pronounce her

name Kreenski (phonetic) or Kranski (phonetic)?

MR. BACH: Krainski.

THE COURT: Krainski -- failed to allege any

fundamental liberty or property interest that should be

protected by the court

72b

[p.5]

aside from those associated with the due process claim.

I’m turning now to substantive due process, but again

she failed to allege any fundamental liberty or

property interests that should be protected by the

court apart from those that were raised in the

procedural due process claim.

Now, the third possible federal claim is search

and seizure, the Fourth Amendment and whether --

the question is whether a reasonable officer would

have believed that there was cause to believe that a

crime had been committed and the suspect had

committed that crime. Here Krainski was charged

with a crime. She was not exonerated from the charges

that she alleges, rather the court minutes reflect that

she was initially charged with a felony. The charged

was reduced to a misdemeanor, and then the charge

was eventually dismissed with a diversion that she

successfully completed.

So there are no federal claims then remaining

from the plaintiff, and so what I would be inclined to

do then is not to keep the state court claims, but to

send you to state court to litigate any of those claims,

but I just

[p.6]

don’t see -- ’m a court of limited jurisdiction and I

don’t see any federal court claim here.

Now, Mr. Linstrom, you can talk me out of that.

It’s your motion so you get the first bite at the apple.

73b

MR. LINSTROM: We'll submit, your Honor.

MR. GABROY: Nothing, your Honor.

THE COURT: All right, Mr. Bach?

MR. BACH: Your Honor, just briefly. You’ve

addressed all the issues that pertain to the motion to

dismiss. The issue of substantive due process, the

fundamental argument that we’re making here is that

this was essentially a conspiracy concocted by certain

defendants, not all of the defendants, but certainly

Defendant Pini and Wallenfeldt along with Defendant

Polee to basically set up Ms. Krainski to be arrested so

to -- essentially to get her kicked out of this room. It’s

a retaliation argument if that is true.

THE COURT: But she could have a fundamental

right to be on the track team for that to pertain,

doesn’t she?

MR. BACH: No, my client as an

{p.7]

individual is not on the track team. She was just a

student.

THE COURT: Oh, all right.

MR. BACH: And we're arguing she hasa

fundamental right to be a student.

THE COURT: All right.

74b

MR.BACH: Andas having that fundamental right

as a student, she also has a right not to be conspired

against to be kicked out of school or -- you know, she

wasn’t eventually kicked out of school, but that’s

ultimately what they were hoping to do here, but they

were successful in having her arrested. They were

successful in having the Student Conduct Code Board

take action against her. We argue that under Goss she

does have a fundamental right to an education. She

has a right not to be conspired against and retaliated

against because she had an issue with the star athlete.

Dealing with the issue of the Fourth

Amendment exoneration and whether or not she was

or was not exonerated, what the court minutes reflect

is that the matter was submitted to the judge. Judge

Bennett did not make a finding of guilt. There is no

judgment of guilt.

[p.8]

There was nothing. Now, the fact that the minutes

reflect that the defendant in that case -- the plaintiff in

this case -- entered into some sort of diversion program

where she'd take an impulse control class.

The fact that she had already done so at the

time of the hearing, the judge then dismissed the

matter. There was no adjudication in that matter. A

diversion perhaps, an adjudication of guilty, no. All

there is is an exoneration, and the matter was

dismissed.

THE COURT: Well, except a dismissal is not an

exoneration. A matter can be dismissed for any

number of reasons. I mean let’s say that I bring a

75b

charge against somebody and then I fail to show up

and the judge says, well, where is Mr. Mahan? He’s

supposed to prosecute the claim. Well, he’s not here.

All right, then the case is dismissed. I mean lIet’s

assume that you assault and batter me and so I’m in

a cast and there’s no question that you committed this,

but if I fail to show up, the judge is going to say,

where's the complaining witness? Well, he’s not here,

your Honor. Okay, well, dismissed then.

[p.9]

Do you understand what I’m saying? Not that

you were exonerated, but there are a lot of things that

can make a case be dismissed. It’s not like if you’re

dismissed, that equals exoneration.

MR. BACH: Right, I understand. Perhaps in the --

the courts haven’t necessarily been crystal clear on

this issue of what constitutes exoneration for the

purposes of a 1983 case. In fact, even within the Ninth

Circuit there seems to me some split decisions as to

what exoneration means.

THE COURT: We are talking about the Ninth

Circuit, so there is always going to be cases on every

side.

MR. BACH: Sure, absolutely. So we would ask that

the Court reconsider it’s position on that issue.

THE COURT: Okay, all right.

MR. BACH: And reconsider the issue of

substantive due process and whether or not our client

had a right to be free from these individuals within the

76b

university conspiring and retaliating against her. You

know, that’s not a procedural due process issue. That’s

a

{p.10]

substantive due process issue because she has a

fundamental right to an education, and there is

certainly nothing within the Student Conduct Code

that addresses the issue of university employees

retaliating against a student, but as a substantive due

process issue, we would ask that you reconsider on

that issue as well.

THE COURT: All right.

Mr. Linstrom?

MR. LINSTROM: Your Honor, I believe most of

these questions have been addressed by our pleadings,

but just 1a terms of the exoneration issue, I think it’s

only relevant in terms of was there grounds for the

arrest, and the facts pled by plaintiff even say that,

well, the police knew or should have known that they

received a false report.

Well, we know that the report itself can be the

basis for a valid arrest and a basis for probable cause,

therefore, in some ways the exoneration is almost, I

would say, beside the point in terms of the 1983 action.

The other thing I would suggest is the term

“retaliation” is not properly used in this context

because that talks about action taken in response to or

in

[p.11}

punishment for exercising a legitimate right.

THE COURT: That’s right.

MR. LINSTROM: The fact that people maybe by

the time they get around to doing the disciplinary

hearing don’t care for someone --

THE COURT: Well, retaliation, that’s your point.

Retaliation is you do something, like you report me to

the authorities, and I say, okay, I’m going to retaliate

against you have, Mr. Linstrom, and not just attack

you somehow. I mean retaliation is -- retaliation is like

payback if you will, and it’s just not here. It’s not pled.

MR. LINSTROM: Right, and that wasn’t what

was pled. This is not -- it wasn’t pled as a retaliation.

It was pled as a civil rights violation, and I believe

we've taken care of those or confronted those issues in

our original reply.

THE COURT: Yeah.

MR. LINSTROM: Thank you.

THE COURT: Thank you. And I just don’t see the

federal claims and I’m not inclined to keep the -- I'm a

Court of limited jurisdiction. I’m not inclined to keep

the state

[p.12)

law claims here. So what I’m inclined to do is to

dismiss the lawsuit and let you bring it, if you want to,

78b

in state court, but again on the merits, and IJ think I’ve

told you I think the state officials in their official

capacity are entitled to protection under the Eleventh

Amendment.

So now there is a hearing tomorrow. I

understand we've got more motions coming up

tomorrow. I don’t know whether they are now rendered

moot.

MR. LINSTROM: Your Honor, just so I’m clear,

the motion for sanctions that was also on today, I take

it the Court is looking at that as moot.

THE COURT: Yeah, and I just don’t think that’s

- I think it’s litigation, and so I'm inclined to deny

that. Thank you. Yeah, you’re nght, and I’m going to

deny that.

MR. GABROY: And then, Judge, tomorrow the

motions involve my third-party complaint --

THE COURT: Right.

MR. GABROY: -- against the university involving

the student athlete that we allege that there was a

right violated to the level of a 1983

[p.13]

action against the university. That’s scheduled for

10:00 a.m. tomorrow.

THE COURT: So, all right, we'll deal with that

tomorrow then. All right.

79b

MR. GABROY: Thank you, Judge.

THE COURT: All mght. So, Mr. Linstrom, if you

would, prepare an appropriate order granting your

motion and denying the motion for sanctions.

MR. LINSTROM: Very well. Thank you.

THE COURT: Thank you. We will be in recess.

(Whereupon, the proceedings concluded.)

I hereby certify that pursuant to Section 753, Title

28, United States Code, the foregoing is a true and

correct transcript of the stenographically reported

proceedings held in the above-entitled matter.

Date: November 24, 2008 /s/ Joy Garner

JOY GARNER, CCR 275

U.S. Court Reporter

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Opposition Brief — Core Communications, Inc. v. Federal Communications Commission · 562 U.S. 1044 | Frix