Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Chaplaincy of Full Gospel Churches v. England

Supreme Court brief2005

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

(! reme Ceurt, U.S.

SPE D

In The Se

Supreme Court of the amiss States

CHAPLAINCY OF FULL. GOSPEL CHURCHES, ET AL.,

AND ROBERT H. ADAIR, ET AL.,

Petitioners,

GORDON R. ENGLAND,

SECRETARY OF THE NAVY, ET AL.,

Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the

District of Columbia Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

John W. Whitehead Arthur A. Schulcz, Sr.

Douglas R. McKusick Affilliated Attorney with

THE RUTHERFORD INSTITUTE The Rutherford Institute

Post Office Box 7482 2521 Drexel Street

Charlottesville, Virginia 22906 Vienna, Virginia 22180

(434) 978-3888 (703) 645-4010

Of Counsel Counsel of Record

Date: December 20, 2004

——————————

LANTAGNE LEGAL PRINTING

801 East Main Street Suite 100 Richmond, Virginia 23219 (800) 847-0477

ite

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

I. Whether Congress intended 10 U.S.C. § 618(f) to bar

discovery into constitutional and statutory violations

in military promotion board proceedings.

Il. Whether Congress may bar discovery into

constitutional violations of the Navy’s promotion

procedures and thereby extinguish chaplains’ claims

of constitutional violations.

Il. Whether strict scrutiny applies when the Sovereign’s

authority to grant or deny government benefits to faith

group representatives is delegated to other faith group

representatives on loan from their faith community

(i.e., chaplains) and there are no guarantees that the

Sovereign’s authority will be used for neutral, secular

and non-ideological purposes.

ft.

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

The Petitioners, who were Plaintiffs-Appellees in the

Court of Appeals, are The Chaplaincy of Full Gospel

Churches, Martha Carson, Mark Johnston, Klon K. Kitchen, Jr.,

Denise Merrit, Duane Purser, Dan Roysden, Mary Helen

Spalding, Barby Wilson, Robert Adair, Michael Belt, Gregory

De Marco, Furniss Harkness, Michael Lavelle, George Linzey,

Timothy Nall, Thomas Rush, James Weibling, Michael Wright,

Richard Hamme (formerly John Witherspoon, a pseudonym),

William Blair, Larry Farrell, Raphael Quiles, Lyle Swanson,

Ronald Tomlin, and David Wilder. The individual Petitioners

are current, former or retired Navy chaplains whom the Navy

categorizes as “non-liturgical.” See Glossary.

The Respondents, who were Defendants-Appellants in

the Court of Appeals, are the United States Navy and the

following persons in their official capacity: Gordon England,

Secretary of the Navy (the “Secretary”); Vice Admiral Gerald

L. Howeing, Chief of Naval Personnel; Rear Admiral Louis V.

lasiello, Chief of Chaplains, and Rear Admiral Robert F. Burt,

Deputy Chief of Chaplains.

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

The Chaplaincy of Full Gospel Churches (hereafter

“CFGC”) is an agency established to endorse chaplains from

Christian Charismatic, non-denominational churches,

fellowships, and associations. CFGC is a 28 U.S.C. § 501(c)(3)

organization and a subdivision of Ammerman Trinity

Ministries, Inc., a corporation organized and registered under

Texas law. Neither Ammerman Trinity Ministries, Inc. nor

CFGC is a corporation whose stock is publicly traded.

—

-iii-

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW .............. i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS .................... ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED ...............00000. v

CITATIONS OF ORDERS AND OPINIONS ............ 1

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION ..................05. 1

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS .. 1

DEP Temes COP TIME CAGE oon cc cccccccccccccccccces 2

I.

Il.

il.

IN RE ENGLAND CONFLICTS WITH THIS

CAPRRE OPENED ovdcndvccacccesdécscnss 7

IN RE ENGLAND CONFLICTS WITH OTHER

ee PEE wknd eudcawscenescdeckeve 19

IN RE ENGLAND’S HOLDING IGNORES THE

RULES OF STATUTORY CONSTRUCTION ..... 20

IN RE ENGLAND’S HOLDING UNDERMINES

IMPORTANT NATIONAL POLICIES .......... 21

SUPREME COURT DIRECTION AND GUIDANCE

ON STRICT SCRUTINY IS NEEDED ........... 23

EE xia ans 4 as Knee deh ueaa Saw aeneeaes 26

-iv-

APPENDIX

Decision of the United States Court of Appeals in

In re England ........0..ceeee cere cece eeeeneeeenees A-1

Order of the United States Court of Appeals Denial

of Petition for En Banc Review .........++++0++e008: A-24

Order of the Court of Appeals amending its order denying

the Petitioners’ Petition for Rehearing En Banc ...... A-25

Opinion and judgment of the District Court for the District

of Columbia granting the Petitioners’ motion to

compel discovery, Chaplaincy of the Full Gospel

Churches v. Johnson, 217 F.R.D. 250 (D.D.C. 2003) ...... A-26

Opinion of the District Court for the District of Columbia

denying in part and granting in part Respondents’

motion to dismiss, Adair v. England, 183 F. Supp.

2d 31 (D.D.C. 2002)... 2. cece eee cence eee eee ees A-47

10 U.S.C. § 618 Action on reports of selection boards . A-109

EXHIBITS IN SUPPORT OF MOTION TO COMPEL

Declaration of Gary Paul Stewart ..........----++--- A-113

Declaration of Klon K. Kitchen, Jr. ..........----45- A-115

Affidavit of Floyd Cedric Ellison .........--+++++-- A-117

Declaration of Gary Paul Stewart (Supplemental) .... A-120

June 13, 2001, Southern Baptist Convention Resolution

No. 7 on Discrimination A, :inst Military Chaplains . A-122

8 AUGUST 2001 Associated Gospel Churches Resolution

Regarding Alleged Religious Discrimination Against

Military Chaplains Serving in the U.S. Navy ........ A-125

Glossary ..........c cece cece eee ence eeeeeeeeee A-127

-v-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

FEDERAL CASES

Abbott Laboratories v. Gardner, 387 U.S. 136 (1967) .... 16, 20

Adair v. England, 183 F. Supp. 2d 31 (D.D.C. 2002) .. 1, 23, 25

Adair v. England, 209 F.R.D. 5 (D.D.C. 2002) ............- 2

Adair v. England, 217 F.Supp.2d 7 (D.D.C. 2002) ........ 5, 7

Adair v. England, 217 F.R.D.250 (D.D.C. 2003) .......... 18

Aderand Constructors Inc. v. Pena, 515 U.S. 200 (1995) ..... 5

Baldridge v. Shapiro, 455 U.S. 345 (1982) ........--+000+ 19

Barlow v. Collins, 397 U.S. 159 (1970) .........--eeee 9,21

Bd. of Education of Kiryas Joel v. Grummet,

512 US. 57 (1998) . 00. cwcccsccccvesiessccessasseses 24

BE & K Construction Co. v. N.L.R.B., 536 U.S. 576 (2002) .. 17

California Motor Transport Co. v. Trucking Unlimited,

404 US. 508 (1972) 0.0.2 ccc ceccccsccssnccccscscssces 17

Cannon v. University of Chicago, 441 U.S. 677 (1979) ...... 21

Chaplaincy of the Full Gospel Churches v. Johnson,

276 F. Supp.2d 82 (D.D.C. 2003) ..... 6. eee eee eee eee eee 3

Chaplaincy of the Full Gospel Churches v. Johnson,

217 F.R.D. 250 (D.D.C. 20038) ......cccccessccccecccees 26

Christian v. United States, 337 F.3d 1338 (Fed. Cir.),

cert denied, 124 S.Ct. 1576 (2004) ........ cece eee ee eees 10

-vi-

City of Boerne v. Flores, 521 U.S. 507 7) ee 19

City of Littleton, Colo. v. Z. J. Gifts D-4, LLC, _ US. _.

124 S.Ct. 2219 (2004) ... 22. c cece eee e cere ener eeeeeeees 24

Clay v. United States, 537 U.S. 522 (2003) ......+-++++- 8, 21

Cleveland Bd. of Ed. v. LaFleur, 414 U.S. 632 (1974) ....... 25

Colautti v. Franklin, 439 U.S. 379 (1979) ......0-00eeee eee 8

Committee for Public Education v. Nyquist,

GID UB. FOB ccccccccccsccccssccccsccsacessseuces 23, 24

(1973)

Conley v. Gibson, 355 U.S. 41 (1957) ....--- +. essere eee 25

County of Allegheny v. ACLU, 492 U.S. 593 (1989) ......-- 23

Department of Air Force v. Roe, 425 U.S. 352 (1975) ....--. 22

Elkins v. United States, 364 U.S. 206 (1960) ........--+-- 14

Emory v. Secretary of Navy, 819 F.2d 291 (D.C. Cir. 1987) .. 10

Fluellen v. United States, 225 F.3d 1298 (Fed. Cir. 2000) ... 10

Freeman v. Seligson, 405 F.2d 1326 (D.C. Cir. 1968) ....... 20

Hickman v. Taylor, 329 U.S. 495 (1946) ....----+eeeeees 14

Hudson v. Palmer, 468 U.S. 517 (1984) ...... 06-22 ee eee 17

In re England, 375 F.3d 1169 (D.C. Cir. 2004) .......-+-+-- 1

In re Nelson, 873 F.2d 1396 (11th Cir. 1989) .....----+++: 19

Jaffe v. Redmond, 518 US. 1 (1996) ....----s.eeeeeeeeeee 15

a **

—

Jicarilla Apache Nation v. United States,

GO FOGAD, GET GID] oc ccccccccscccccccccccccccscccse 19

Johnson v. Robison, 415 U.S. 361(1974) ............00000. 19

Katcoff v. Marsh, 755 F.2d 223 (2d Cir. 1985) ............. 2

Larkin v. Grendel's Den, Inc., 459 U.S. 116 (1982) ...... 22, 25

Loven v. Valente, 456 U.S. 228 (1982) ..........22405- 5, 22

Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602 (1971) ............05. 25

Lucas v. Forty-fourth General Assembly of Colorado,

Ath wt). | PP PPrrrrrrrrr TT rrr rrerrerrrr rrr 18

Nyeholt v. Secretary of Veterans Affairs,

296 F.3d TSO (Ped. Cie. BOGE) wii ccc cvecccccsccccsess 19

Perrin v. United States, 444 U.S. 37 (1979) ...........2545: 9

Pierce County, Wash. v. Guillen, 537 U.S. 129 (2003) ...... 15

Porter v. United States, 163 F.3d 1304 (Fed. Cir 1998),

cert. denied, 528 U.S. 809 (1999) ............2245- péunus 8

School Board of Abington Township v. Schempp,

SPS UB. TIBI on ac cccccndesecescncannnssvcssases 26

St. Regts Paper Co. v. United States,

BER UD. Fie POD oc oc ccccccgeveccccccnsscccose 9, 13, 16

Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645 (1972) ..........2+-2005- 25

Steffel v. Thompson, 415 U.S. 452 (1974) .............. 21, 22

Trammel v. United States, 445 U.S. 40 (1980) ............. 14

U.S. v. Ron Par Enterprises, 489 U.S. 235 (1989) ........... 7

-Viii-

United States v. Bryan, 339 U.S. 323 (1950) .............. 13

United States v. Nixon, 418 US. 683 (1974) ............6. 14

United States v. Proctor and Gamble Co.,

BOO Ce CE es ced an ddcdssddeisccsssoseiecsades 14

United States v. Reynolds, 345 U.S. 1 (1982) .......... 13, 14

United States v. U.S. District Court for So. Dist. of Cal.,

S06 P3G TA02 (9Gs Cie. DODGE) ow wc ccccccccscccccccese 7,19

University of Pa. v. E.E.0.C., 493 U.S. 182 (1990) ...... 14,15

Washington v. Davis, 426 U.S. 219 (1976) ............. 7,17

Webster v. Doe, 486 U.S. 592 (1988) ............. eee eee 16

lg RP ee 19

Zambrano v. INS, 972 F.2d 1122 (9th Cir. 1992),

rev'd on other grounds, Reno v. Catholic Social Services,

POE CRP Hos harnsbixdnanntseuencésenéswaeens 19

FEDERAL STATUTES

OO a ahs eee a ee 2

i a ei aaa 7,8, 20

nk SO REPO R Dente aa ye 23

ie NOE i eG 17

WN AM ei i a a ee 1

DOr as UE hn 6 Rea cab rch caw ncuads Cenusans passim

OR Re eo 26

i Ce oe 26

i Ce a ei eee 15

ee Oe ERE ee re ee PUR ee RE 16

i ee ei ree 1

UAE AOE 05. oa 2

raat REE eB ROBE RARER Comme y Ai 2

i ii os ica, 2

ne BNE si eRe 3

BORO eee 13

URE CO oie 13

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Defense Officer Personnel Management Act of 1980 ..... 8

Federal Hazard Elimination Program, 23 U.S.C. § 152 ... 15

Federal Rule of Evidence MUP ETCRVO CEPT TTT rer erry 14

Religious Freedom Restoration Act,

$2 UDA. Fp POO ED, occ cc ckdsnnsccesincessccaws 3

Secretary of Navy Instruction 1401.3, encl., 9 1.C.1. ... 3,23

1980 U.S. Code and Cong. Admin. News 6333, 6337-39. 8,9

Senate Report 102- 482 .......0..... sees ee eee eens 22

The Senate Armed Services Committee’s 1992 “Report -

on the Conduct of Proceedings for the Selection of

Officers for Promotion in the U.S. Air Force.” .......... 10

Ce ee ee ee

ie.

CITATIONS OF ORDERS AND OPINIONS

The opinion and judgment of the United States Court

of Appeals for the District of Columbia is reported as In re

England, 375 F.3d 1169 (D.C. Cir. 2004) and is set forth in the

Appendix beginning at A-1. The orders of the Court of

Appeals for the District of Columbia denying the Petitioners’

Petition for Rehearing En Banc and amending that order are

not reported and are set forth in the Appendix at A-26and A-

27, respectively.

The opinion and judgment of the District Court for the

District of Columbia granting the Petitioners’ motion to

compel discovery is reported as Chaplaincy of the Full Gospel

Churches v. Johnson, 217 F.R.D. 250 (D.D.C. 2003) and is set

forth in the Appendix beginning at A-28. The opinion of the

District Court for the District of Columbia denying in part and

granting in part Respondents’ motion to dismiss is reported as

Adair v. England, 183 F. Supp. 2d 31 (D.D.C. 2002) and is set

forth in the Appendix beginning at A-51.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The judgment for which review is sought was entered

by the Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia on july

27, 2004. The Petitioners timely filed a Petition for Rehearing

En Banc in the Court of Appeals on September 7, 2004. The

Court of Appeals denied rehearing in a per curiam order

entered September 21, 2004. By an order entered October 4,

2004, the Court of Appeals amended the September 21, 2004

order to make that order applicable to both cases. This Court

has jurisdiction over this Petition pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

This case involves the construction of 10 U.S.C. § 618,

“ Action on Reports of Selection Boards,” which is set forth in

eee eee eee

-2-

the Appendix beginning at A-121. Section 618(f), at issue here,

provides “[e]xcept as authorized or required by this section,

proceedings of a selection board convened under § 611(a) of

this title may not be disclosed to any person not a member of

the board.”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case involves consolidated actions filed in the

District Court for the District of Columbia. One action was

brought by CFGC, a non-liturgical Christian chaplain

endorsing agency, and eight of its Navy chaplains. The other

action was brought by 17 other non-liturgical chaplains on

behalf of themselves and a class of Navy non-liturgical

chaplains. See Adair v. England, 209 F.R.D. 5 (D.D.C. 2002) |

(approving class certification). The District Court

consolidated the cases for the purpose of pretrial motions. :

The District Court had jurisdiction over these actions under 28

US.C. §§ 1331, 1343 and 1346, and 5 U.S.C. § 702.

Petitioners’ complaints alleged that the Navy Chaplain

Corps has discriminated against them and the class in

promotions, accessions, and career opportunities by favoring

Catholic and liturgical Protestant chaplains in violation of the

First and Fifth Amendments’ and the Religious Freedom

~

' Petitioners argue the only time that Respondents may consider

denomination is in chaplain accessions so the Chaplain Corps meets the

Navy’s Free Exercise needs. Katcoff v. Marsh, 755 F.2d 223, 234 (2d Cir.

1985). Constitutional justification for military chaplains is “not to deprive

the soldier of his right under the Establishment Clause not to have his

religion inhibited [due to military circumstances] and of his right under

the Free Exercise Clause to practice his freely chosen religion.” Id. at 231.

The right of Free Exercise is personal to the individual, id. at 228, 232, 234

(explaining soldier’s right to practice his freely chosen religion) id. at 225-

26 (Army established chaplain quotas based on religious demographics).

Since promotion is based on ability to supervise and other neutral,

secular military criteria, denomination is a forbidden promotion factor.

Compare id. at 226 (Army chaplain’s promotion based on military

performance and not on his effectiveness as a cleric).

3

Restoration Act (“RFRA”), 42 U.S.C. §§ 2000-bb, et seq. CFGC

began endorsing chaplains in the Navy and Army in 1984 and

in the Air Force in 1990. While its Army and Air Force

chaplains have done well in those services, when CFGC filed

its Complaint, none of its 32 Navy chaplains had been

promoted to Commander and only seven to Lieutenant

Commander.

Under 10 U.S.C. § 612, promotion boards must have'at

least five officers, one of whom is in the category under

consideration. Secretary of Navy _ Instruction

(“SECNAVINST”) 1401.3, encl., 1.C.1. requires the board be

composed of chaplains and one line officer. A Naval Inspector

General (“NIG”)’s investigation into the FY 2000 Chaplain

Captain promotion board described the voting procedure.

Each member, in secret, votes a confidence level for selection

from 0 to 100, in increments of 25. Since a combined score of

100 is needed for selection, a single vote of “0” ensures that the

candidate will not be selected.”

Petitioners challenge the Navy’s chaplain promotion

practice and policies of: (1) always having a Catholic selection

board member (i.e., a Catholic reserved seat), (2) the

identification of each chaplain’s faith group to the board

members, (3) the use of faith group as a factor in determining

who is retained or promoted rather than the chaplain’s

military record, (4) the influence of the Chief of Chaplains or

his Deputy in approving chaplain board members and as

President of the selection boards, (5) stacking promotion

boards with chaplains from the liturgical tradition (Catholic

and liturgical Protestant), and (6) the delegation of the

Sovereign’s power to “denominational representatives” (i.e.,

2 The NIG concluded that a female Chaplain board member had illegally

“zeroed out” a female chaplain candidate because the board member

disagreed with the candidate’s view of women in the military.

re

— |

chaplains) in awarding, withholding and terminating

government benefits (i.e., Navy promotions and careers).

Pages 3 and 4 of the Department of Defense

Inspector General (“DODIG”) investigation into the FY 97

and 98 Chaplain Commander promotion boards (the DODIG) -

were the Adair Complaint’s Exhibit 6. The DODIG found

that denominational consideration “may have been a factor in

the final selection made by the FY 97 board (after several

votes, a Roman Catholic was picked over a Baptist),” DODIG

at 3, and “we found some evidence that denominational

considerations may have been a factor in selections made by

the FY 98 board.” Id. at4. Opposing Respondents’ motion to

dismiss, Petitioners provided as exhibits the NIG and DODIG

investigations into the FY 97 and 98 Chaplain Commander

. promotion boards and their interviews. The exhibits clearly

showed denomination had influenced the selection of

chaplains on the FY 97 and 98 boards, supporting Petitioners’

assertion. For example, in Exhibit 7, Rear Admiral Holderby,

President of the FY 97 board, admitted to the NIG that the

board selected a priest with a poor record, rather than

“another chaplain with a perfect record,” because of

denominational considerations after a priest board member’s’

“impassioned plea.”

Denying Petitioners’ request to treat their Opposition

as a summary judgment motion and consider the exhibits, A-

102, the District Court dismissed Petitioners’ claim that

allowing chaplains to exercise the sovereign’s power on

promotion boards or allowing chaplains to rate other

chaplains raised First Amendment concerns. Rather than

evaluate the implications of Exhibit 6 and the proffered

evidence, the District Court applied the presumption of

regularity to chaplains as board members, A-104, and held

“the plaintiffs’ assertion that chaplains will necessarily.

discriminate against other chaplains on the basis of religion is

an unsupported allegation that is not sufficient to state a claim

for a First Amendment violation.” A-105. It went on to hold

5.

that because “Navy chaplains are first and foremost Naval

officers ... when they sit on promotion boards, they act as

officers,” not as denominational representatives.” A-107, 108

Petitioners subsequently argued in partial summary

judgment (PSJ) that the Navy’s practice of identifying each

chaplain’s faith group to the board members was subject to

strict scrutiny under Aderand Constructors Inc. v. Pena, 515 U.S.

200, 227-28 (1995) (use of forbidden classifications analyzed

- under strict scrutiny). The District Court denied Petitioners’

PSJ, holding that under Larsen v. Valente, 456 U.S. 228, 246-47

(1982) strict scrutiny applied only after Petitioners showed

favoritism in board proceedings. Adair, 217 F.Supp.2d 7, 12-15

(D.D.C. 2002) (denying PSJ). “[I]f the plaintiffs can demonstrate

after discovery that some or all of the Navy’s policies and

practices suggest a denominational preference, then the court

will apply strict scrutiny to those policies and practices for

which plaintiffs have met this initial burden.” Id. at 14-15

(emphasis added).

To pursue evidence of religious prejudice and

favoritism in board proceedings and document the impact of

identifying each chaplain’s denomination to the chaplain

board members, as required by the District Court’s Order,

Petitioners asked the Secretary of Navy to release chaplain

board personnel from the oath of secrecy he requires of all

selection board personnel. This oath is enforced by the

Uniform Code of Military Justice. The Secretary refused,

relying upon the provisions of 10 U.S.C. § 618(f). Petitioners

filed a motion to compel, supported with declarations from 1)

board personnel stating they had relevant evidence of

promotion board misconduct, (e.g., A-125-26), and 2) chaplains

who had been told of religious prejudice by board members.’

“Two 1996 Captain Chaplain selection board members described to other

chaplains how the board (1) reconvened after it had adjourned in

response to the Catholic board member's complaint that no Catholic had

been selected and (2) deselected a Protestant to select the Catholic

suggested by the Catholic board member. A-127-131.

-6-

Other evidence of promotion board misconduct came from

the DODIG and NIG. The District Court granted the motion,

relying on D.C. Circuit precedents. A-35-48. “It is hard to

argue that the testimony of former selection board personnel

with direct knowledge of board proceedings is not ‘relevant’

and ‘reasonably calculated to lead to the discovery of

admissible evidence’ regarding alleged Navy discrimination

against non-liturgical chaplains in those very proceedings.” A-

37. The District Court concluded that Petitioners “have

provided an adequate factual basis for their belief that the

requested testimony will provide evidence of government

misconduct.” A-41. To protect the Respondents’ interests in

frank and candid discussions, the District Court directed the

parties to “jointly provide” a discovery plan. A-49.

Respondents appealed under the collateral order exception

and filed a petition for mandamus. Id. at A-10.

The Court of Appeals (a) reversed, holding that the

phrase “may not disclose” in 10 U.S.C. § 618(f) was the

language of command barring discovery of board

proceedings, A-22, and, (b) although recognizing that a

chaplain was “a professional representative of a particular

denomination,” A-4, denied Petitioners’ request to review

under collateral appellate jurisdiction the District Court's

finding that (1) chaplain board members served as officers, not

denominational representatives, and (2) no First Amendment

concerns arose from delegating the Sovereign’s power to these

particular “denominational representatives” acting as chaplain

selection board members. Id. at A-2. Petitioners’ request for

rehearing en banc of the panel’s decision was denied on

September 21, 2004. A-26.

REASONS FOR ALLOWING THE WRIT

As shown below, the D.C. Circuit decided an

important question of federal law that is in conflict with the

relevant decisions of this Court, undermines important federal

policies, and raises constitutional issues. The challenged

a

a

-7-

decision is also in conflict with decisions of the Courts of

Appeals for the Ninth, Eleventh, and Federal Circuits on the

same or similar issue. In fact, In re England conflicts with a

decision on the very same issue rendered in the U.S. District

Court for the Southern District of California allowing an

involuntarily retired chaplain alleging religious discrimination

to depose personnel who sat on the chaplain’s selection board,

notwithstanding the provisions of 10 U.S.C. § 618(f)). The

Ninth Circuit denied the Respondents’ interlocutory appeal

and petition for a writ of mandamus to review the district

court’s order. United States v. U.S. District Court for So. Dist. of

Cal., 384 F.3d 1202 (9" Cir. 2004). In re England’s departure

from the accepted course of judicial proceedings and relevant

decisions of this Court warrant an exercise of this Court's

supervisory power.

I. IN -RE ENGLAND CONFLICTS WITH THIS

COURT’S PRECEDENTS

In holding that 10 U.S.C. § 618(f) barred discovery

‘ from promotion board personnel, the Court of Appeals

effectively barred Petitioners’ Fifth Amendment claims, see

Washington v. Davis, 426 U.S. 219, 239-40 (1976) (plaintiff must

show invidious discrimination to establish a governmental

Due Process violation), First Amendment claims, see Adair, 217

F.Supp.2d at 14-15 (chaplains must show illegal preference in

board proceedings), and RFRA. This decision clearly conflicts

with this Court’s precedents.

A. A Statute Must Be Interpreted to Give Effect

to All Its Provisions

The Court of Appeals’ interpretation of 10 U.S.C. §

618(f) is contrary to 10 U.S.C. § 101(f)’s “Rules of

Construction.” This violates the rule that courts are to

interpret statutes in a manner that gives effect to every

provision, the intent of Congress, and does not lead to absurd

results. U.S. v. Ron Par Enterprises, 489 U.S. 235, 242 (1989).

-8-

The statute at issue here, 10 U.S.C. § 618(f), was part of

the Defense Officer Personnel Management Act of 1980

(DOPMA). It was the result of six years of congressional

efforts to reform the military officer personnel management

system and make officer promotions more fair and equitable.

1980 U.S. Code and Cong. Admin. News (USCCAN) 6333,

6337-39. .DOPMA’s major components were thoroughly

covered and explained in its legislative history. Porter v.

United States, 163 F.3d 1304, 1313 (Fed. Cir. 1998), cert denied,

528 U.S. 809 (1999).

The Court of Appeals’ finding that § 618(f)’s “may not

be disclosed” is the language of command, A-15, is

inconsistent with 10 U.S.C. § 101(f)’s contrary command which

states in pertinent part:

(f) Rules of construction.— In this title -

(1) “shall” is used in an imperative sense;

(2) “may” is used in a permissive sense;

(3) “no person may * * *” means that no

person is required, authorized, or permitted to

do the act proscribed[.]

Congress not only defined the interpretation of “may” in §

618(f), but also provided other specific language in § 101(f)(3)

to signify when it intended an absolute prohibition on

disclosure. “As a rule, ‘a definition which declares what a

term means ... excludes any meaning that is not stated.’”

Colautti v. Franklin, 439 U.S. 379, 392 n.8 (1979) (citations

omitted).

Had Congress intended § 618(f) to be an absolute bar

to any type of disclosure, it would have used prohibitive

language. An absolute bar in § 618(f) consistent with §

101(f)(3) would read “no person may disclose the proceedings

of a selection board ...”, but that is not the language Congress

put in § 618(f). The omission is presumed to be intentional and

purposeful. Clay v. United States, 537 U.S. 522, 528 (2003).

-9-

Since Congress did not use § 101(f)(3)’s mandatory prohibition

language, the words it did choose, “may not be disclosed,”

must be interpreted in § 101(f)(2)’s “permissive sense” and in

the context of a narrow interpretation to preclude the

suppression of competent evidence as required by St. Regis

Paper Co. v. United States, 368 U.S. 208, 218 (1961). This means

that disclosure is presumed, but the Secretary has authority

not to disclose it. This interpretation (1) is consistent with “the

presumption that judicial review of executive decisions is the

rule, and nonreviewability an exception which must be

demonstrated,” Barlow v. Collins, 397 U.S. 159, 166 (1970); (2)

is consistent with Congress’ well-established oversight role in

investigating and correcting misconduct or bias in promotion

board proceedings, see B below; (3) shows Congress’ intent

that board misconduct be exposed and corrected as required

by the Constitution and Federal Court precedent at the time

DOPMA was passed, and; (4) avoids constitutional questions.

The Court of Appeals does not have authority to

change Congress’ choice of words or their meaning. Shielding

prejudice from judicial review also conflicts with and

undermines DOPMA’s objectives. 1980 USCCAN at 6337-39.

Denying constitutional claims and restricting the right to seek

redress are other absurd results. See B-D below.

In re England’s holding is also absurd because it

construed the word “proceedings” in a very narrow sense to

mean only “deliberations,” the specific issue before it. A-22.

However, in § 618(f) Congress used “proceedings”, which has

a much broader context and includes all of the processes,

beginning with the decision to hold a selection board and

ending with the release of the board results. In re England's

narrow interpretation conflicts with the rule that words not

specifically defined must be given their common usage. Perrin

v. United States, 444 U.S. 37, 42 (1979). The D.C. and Federal

Circuits and the Court of Federal Claims would seem to have

violated § 618(f) by their consistent responses to officers’

challenges to various previous selection board proceedings.

-10-

For example, an African-American Naval Reservist alleged the

proceedings of a Rear Admiral selection board denied him fair

consideration in Emory v. Secretary of Navy, 819 F.2d 291 (D.C.

Cir. 1987). “The Court of Federal Claims held that the

proceedings by which an Army board recommended the

involuntary retirement of certain Army officers were

constitutionally invalid because of instructions by the

Secretary of the Army that the Board give minority and female

officers preferential treatment.” Christian v. United States, 337

F.3d 1338, 1339 (Fed. Cir.), cert denied, 124 S.Ct. 1576 (2004)

(emphasis added). Fluellen v. United States, 225 F.3d 1298,

1300-01 (Fed. Cir. 2000), rejected an Air Force officer’s

challenge to the use of panels to determine promotions.

Nothing in DOPMA suggests a narrow reading of the word

“proceedings.”

B. = In re England Would Bar Congress’ Oversight

Investigations Into Promotion Board

Misconduct

In re England's conclusion that § 618(f) “categorically

bars mere disclosure to anyone not a member of the

promotion selection boards,” A-21, rested on its finding that

Congress’ words in § 618(f) provide no exception to a bar on

disclosure. Id. at A-15. This “no exception” holding_also

precludes Congress from reviewing or investigating selection

board proceedings. This is not only absurd but raises a

constitutional question, see F infra, due to the separation of

powers. Would Congress abdicate its constitutional

responsibility to oversee and investigate the officer promotion

and selection proceedings without any explanation or

justification in DOPMA? Congress certainly has not

understood that it had abdicated its oversight responsibilities.

Senate Report 102- 482 (the “Report”) sets forth the

Senate Armed Services Commuttee (SASC)’s 1992 “Report on

the Conduct of Proceedings for the Selection of Officers for

Promotion in the U.S. Air Force.” It publicly reports on the

SASC’s investigation into misconduct in officer selection

Ain

board proceedings, “serious and systematic deficiencies in the

procedures used by the Air Force to recommend officers to

general officer positions.” Id. at 1. The Report contradicts In

re England in numerous ways. First, Congress asked for

information directly related to selection board deliberations,

and the Air Force and DOD responded. Id. at 1-2. If § 618(f)

were an absolute bar to disclosure, DOD and the Air Force

could have refused to provide such information to Congress

and Congress would have been unable to obtain information

required for its constitutional oversight function. The Report

would have mentioned the services’ waiver of § 618(f) if it

were a bar.

Second, the Report emphasized that the “fair and

impartial conduct of the selection process is a matter of great

concern to the Cominittee. The integrity of the selection

process is essential to the integrity of the officer corps.” Id. at

1. In the context of the Report, this is in stark contrast to

Secretary England’s declaration concerning the importance of

hiding misconduct from discovery, A-12, 17, showing the

Respondents’ position is without foundation and contrary to

the public interest. If Congress were concerned enough about

“the integrity of the selection process” to bring board

misconduct and board discussions into the public view, it

follows that courts should also be concerned when allegations

of unconstitutional misconduct are surfaced. The courts’ role

as guardians of the Constitution parallels Congress’ oversight

role.

Third, the Report also described the Senate’s earlier

investigation of impropriety in a Marine Corps selection board

that “involved verbal communications by the Secretary of the

Navy and the Commandant ... to the President of the selection

board” similar to the Air Force problem. Id. at. 3. The Report

expressed Congress’ concern in the “fairness of the selection

process” and in protecting board members from outside

influences during the selection process, id, another example of

Congress’ practice and belief that exposure of selection board

-12-

misconduct was an important public policy and interest.

Fourth, General McPeak testified about selection board

proceedings, identifying deficiencies in the system including

“liJmproper briefings of the Secretary and the Chief of Staff

[“CoS”] of the preliminary decisions of selection boards prior

to final action by the board.” Id. at 6; compare with § 618(f).

According to the In re England absolute bar theory, the General

violated § 618(f) since he revealed and discussed selection

board proceedings and deliberations. The Report identified

obvious § 618(f) violations: board results were routinely

discussed with the Secretary and non-board member CoS

before the board report was signed, id. at 12, and a board

President and the CoS discussed a Brigadier General under

consideration for selection. Id. at 12-13. The Report: (1)

emphasized the Air Force's failure “to conduct its selection

board proceedings as required by law, in a manner that

insulated board members from any communication that could

be viewed by board members as influencing them toward a

particular selection,” id. at 13; (2) specifically identified as a

potential § 618(f) violation the board access afforded the non-

board member Deputy CoS for Personnel and board members

questioning him about officers under consideration, id. at 13-

14; and (3) also identified improper communications by board

members with outside sources concerning comments in

records before the board. Id. at 15.

The Report also reveals the absurdity of In re England's

holding in the context of the Separation of Powers. Under the

Court of Appeals’ “absolute bar” theory, all military services

would be able to deny, hide or conceal from Congress the

information necessary for Congress to properly exercise its

constitutional oversight responsibilities. _ The DODIG

investigation into the FY 97 and 98 Chaplain Commander

boards acknowledges on page 7 that it was initiated by

Congressmen. Respondents must argue that Congress is an

exception to § 618(f) but the Judiciary is not. The Constitution

assigns courts a fact-finding responsibility. For the same

ry

reason that the military cannot deny Congress the information

necessary for its oversight, Respondents may not deny the

Court its proper role in controlling the evidence and

addressing alleged violations of the Constitution. United

States v. Reynolds, 345 U.S. 1, 9-10 (1982) (“judicial control over

the evidence cannot be abdicated to the caprice of executive

officers”).

C. Statutes Prohibiting Disclosure Do Not Bar

Discovery Absent Specific Language

Showing Congress’ Clear Intent

Addressing a claim for a statutory discovery privilege,

this Court has held that “[oJurs is a duty to avoid a

construction that would otherwise suppress competent

evidence unless the statute, strictly construed, requires such a

result.” St. Regis Paper, 368 U.S. at 218. “Indeed, when

Congress has intended like reports not to be subject to

compulsory process it has said so.” Id. Section 618(f) does not

have the specific language showing Congress’ intent to bar

discovery, such as “no report may be used as evidence or ...

for any purpose in any suit or action for damages [arising

from the report]” found in 45 U.S.C. § 41 and 49 U.S.C. §

320(f), which St. Regis Paper cited as. -

This Court has emphasized the fundamental nature of

the right to be able to develop evidence to vindicate individual

rights in the American adversarial system:

Testimonial exclusionary rules and privileges

contravene the fundamental principle that “the

public ... has a right to every man’s evidence.”

Linited States v. Bryan, 339 U.S. 323, 331 (1950).

As such, they must be strictly construed and

accepted “only to the very limited extent that

permitting a refusal to testify or excluding

relevant evidence has a _ public good

transcending the normally predominant

: -14-

principle of utilizing all rational means for

ascertaining truth.” Elkins v. United States, 364

U.S. 206, 234 (1960) (Frankfurter, J., dissenting).

Accord, United States v. Nixon, 418 U.S. 683,

_ 709-710, (1974).

Trammel v. United States, 445 U.S. 40, 50-51 (1980); see also

United States v. Reynolds, 345 U.S. at 1, 9-10 (“judicial control

over the evidence cannot be abdicated to the caprice of

executive officers”); United States v. Proctor and Gamble Co., 356

U.S. 677 (1958) (discussing the importance of discovery);

Hickman v. Taylor, 329 U.S. 495, 507 (1946) (same).

Before recognizing privileges, this Court requires a

showing of the balancing of competing interests. This Court's

insistence on “clear and convincing evidence” of Congress’

intent to preclude constitutional or statutory claims is

consistent with this Court’s own approach to establishing

common law privileges under its authority in Federal Rule of

Evidence 501. Privileges are in derogation of the fundamental

principle of justice that there is a right to every man’s

evidence, restrict the search for truth by limiting the rights of

discovery, and limit the right to pursue litigation to vindicate

fundamental rights. Therefore, the Court requires a clearly

defined public good before recognizing a privilege and a

careful balancing of the conflicting public concerns.

In University of Pa. v. E.E.O.C., 493 U.S. 182 (1990), the

issue was whether federal courts should recognize a “peer

review” privilege for universities and protect from disclosure

peer review documents and records of deliberations of a

plaintiff's tenure application. The evidence sought by the

E.E.O.C. and plaintiff in University of Pa. was similar to the

information Petitioners seek here - direct evidence of the

decision makers’ deliberations refusing the University’s

privilege request. This Court expressed its reluctance to

recognize a privilege “where it appears that Congress has

considered the relevant competing concerns and has not

-15-

provided the privilege itself.” Id. at 189. The Court explained:

“The balancing of conflicting interests of this type is

particularly a legislative function.” id. The important phrase

here and in University of Pa. is “balancing of conflicting

interests.” Evidence of balancing is necessary to establish that

the asserted privilege “serves important private interests” as

well as public interest. Jaffe v. Redmond, 518 U.S. 1, 11 (1996).

On one side of the balance are the fundamental right to every

man’s evidence and “the normally predominate principle of

utilizing all available means for ascertaining the truth,” id. at

9 (quoting Tramell, 443 U.S. at 50), and the duty of every

citizen to give relevant evidence to vindicate both

fundamental and statutory rights. Id. (citing United States v.

Bryan, 339 U.S. at 323, 331). On the other side are competing

public values such as national security or state secrets.

Pierce County, Wash. v. Guillen, 537 U.S. 129 (2003)

recently upheld Congress’ determination that data on traffic

accidents at specific locations collected to support funding

requests under the Federal Hazard Elimination Program (the

“Program” or “HEP”), 23 U.S.C. § 152, should be barred from

pretrial discovery and tort litigation. This Court's

examination of the Program’s legislative and statutory history

clearly showed that Congress had balanced the competing

public concerns in the light of its statutory objectives. Id. at

133-36. To encourage states and local governments to colleci

accident data without fear that the data would be used against

them in tort litigation, Congress adopted 23 U.S. § 409, which

prohibits information compiled in connection with the HEP

from being “subject to discovery or admitted into evidence in

Federal or state court proceedings ... in any action for

damages” arising from “a location addressed in the § 152

data.” Id. at 134 (quoting amended § 409). Congress clearly

defined a narrow restriction on discovery in civil litigation in

a way that protected the compelling interest in traffic safety,

while at the same time allowing plaintiffs to pursue claims by

other means. Id. at 146 (plaintiffs not any “worse off than

they would have been had § 152 funding never existed”).

——

Ab

Guillen illustrates Congress’ balancing of competing public

interests and its expression of its clear intent to create a

narrow, well- defined privilege.

In contrast to 23 U.S.C § 409’s clear language, neither

10 U.S.C § 618(f) nor DOPMA’s legislative history provide

clear and convincing evidence of Congress’ intent to restrict

judicial review or discovery. Section 618(f) has none of the

specific language which this Court cited in its previous cases,

see St. Regis Paper at 368 U.S. at 218, (citing 45 U.S.C. § 41 and

49 U.S.C. § 320(f)). In contrast to the provisions in Guillen,

which did not make plaintiffs any worse off because they were

free to obtain the necessary evidence through other means, In

re England's bar on discovery of board proceedings also bars

Petitioners’ claims because there is no other way to establish

the prejudice necessary to prove First and Fifth Amendment

violations in chaplain selection board proceedings.

D. To Bar Constitutional or Statutory Claims, A

Statute Must Show “Clear and Convincing”

Evidence of Congressional Intent

This Court has consistently held that claims of a

statutory bar to judicial review of constitutional or statutory

claims must be supported by “clear and convincing evidence

of congressional intent” to do so. Johnson v. Robison, 415 U.S.

‘ 361, 373-74 (1974) (quoting Abbott Laboratories v. Gardner, 327

US. 139, 141 (1967)). In Webster v. Doe, 486 U.S. 592 (1988), this

Court reemphasized the Johnson “heightened standard,” id. at

603, and found that language in the National Security Act

barring statutory claims did not contain the necessary

specificity to show Congress’ intent to bar constitutional

claims. Id. at 603-04. Section 618(f) has no language that

meets the Johnson/Webster standard.

This Court has consistently warned that “to deny any

judicial forum for a colorable constitutional claim” raises

constitutional issues. Webster, 486 U.S. at 603. Petitioners

-17-

argued that § 618(f)’s context, words, and placement show

Congress intended that it be a housekeeping statute,

protecting the board results between adjournment and their

public release. This position is supported by § 101(f), DOD

Instruction 1320.14 (guidance for conduct of selection boards)

citing 10 U.S.C. § 616, not § 618(f), as the legal basis for not

disclosing board proceedings, and Congress’ own

investigations into promotion board misconduct as shown in

B above. Instead, the D.C. Circuit interpreted 10 U.S.C. §

618(f) in a way which raises, rather than avoids, constitutional

issues as shown in I.C above and I.E andF below.

E. The Right to Petition for Redress Includes the

Right to Seek Judicial Review

Barring discovery into board proceedings effectively

extinguishes Petitioners’ First Amendment right to petition for

redress of constitutional violations. “The right of access to the

courts is but one aspect of the right to petition.” California

Motor Transport Co. v. Trucking Unlimited, 404 U.S. 508, 510

(1972). While even prisoners have this right, Hudson v. Palmer,

468 U.S. 517, 523 (1984), In re England effectively denies

Petitioners this right as to unconstitutional misconduct on

selection boards. In re England ignores this Court's

admonition that “we would not lightly impute to Congress an

intent to evade ... freedoms protected by the Bill of Rights,

such as the right to petition...” BE & K Construction Co. v.

N.L.R.B., 536 U.S. 576, 525 (2002) (citation omitted).

In re England’s comment that Petitioners remain free to

pursue their constitutional claims that arise from promotion

board misconduct without discovery, A-21, is absurd. To win

on their claims that denomination rather than military merit

was an illegal criteria for promotion, Petitioners must be able

to provide evidence of board bias. Washington v. Davis, 426

US. at 239-40. As the District Court held, this can only come

from board personnel, A-46-47, as clearly demonstrated by

Respondents’ own investigations into chaplain board

-18-

misconduct. Petitioners supported their motion to compel

with evidence of such misconduct. See note 3 supra and A-127-

131. Likewise, given the law of the case, Adair, 217 F.R.D. at

14-15, In re England effectively bars Petitioners’ Due Process

claim that the identification of each chaplain candidate's

denomination to the board members influenced the board

members’ decisions.

The DODIG and NIG investigations of Chaplain

Commander boards provide evidence that Catholics with poor

records were selected over Protestants with perfect records

because of denomination. Those boards denied promotions to

Petitioners Blair, Farrell, Lavelle, and Quiles. In re England

now denies discovery into those and other boards. A FY 92

Lieutenant Commander board recorder testifies at A-132 that

the board selected an obese priest whose record was far

inferior to others who were not selected, including Petitioner

Hamme, who had a perfect record.* The recorder is willing to

testify as to the board’s discussion leading to the selection of

the priest. Id. Absent testimony of board personnel, how do

Petitioners show that their First and Fifth Amendment rights

were violated by the board proceedings or establish the

preference required by the District Court? The subtle

processes which show denominational preference identified

by one board member to the NIG can only be established

through testimony of those who experienced it.

F. In re England Violates the Separation of

Powers

“Courts sit to adjudicate controversies involving

alleged denials of constitutional rights.” Lucas v. Forty-fourth

General Assembly of Colorado, 377 U.S. 713, 736 (1964). By

holding that § 618(f) barred discovery and judicial review of

*The recorder’s declaration was submitted as a supplement to his original

declaration, A-125-26, in requesting en banc review.

-19-

board proceedings, In re England validates an illegal transfer

of authority to declare the law and adjudicate constitutional

issues without judicial review to the Secretary of the Navy.

Congress does not have the power to do this. This Court has

consistently held that “[t]he power to interpret the

Constitution, in a case or controversy, remains in the

Judiciary.” City of Boerne v. Flores, 521 U.S. 507, 524 (1977).

Il. IN RE ENGLAND CONFLICTS WITH OTHER

COURTS OF APPEALS

The Ninth, Eleventh, and Federal Circuits require

specific language showing Congress’ intent to bar discovery

into statutory and constitutional claims. In Zambrano v. INS,

972 F.2d 1122, 1125-26 (9 Cir. 1992), rev‘d on other grounds,

Reno v. Catholic Social Services, 509 U.S. 43 (1993), the Ninth

Circuit not only required specific language to bar discovery,

but also specifically rejected In re England’s application of

Baldridge v. Shapiro, 455 U.S. 345 (1982). Id. (Baldridge involved

statutes with specific exclusion language). In a similar

chaplain’s case, Wilkins v. U.S.A., 99cv1579, the San Diego

District Court relied on Zambrano to hold § 618(f) did not bar

discovery and granted plaintiff's motion to compel, similar to

the one the D.C. Circuit reversed. United States v. U.S. Dist.

Court for So. Cal., 384 F.3d at 1202, denied Respondents’ appeal

and mandamus petition.

In In re Nelson, the Eleventh Circuit held that a statute

required specific language showing Congress’ clear and

convincing intent to bar discovery “in judicial proceedings.”

873 F.2d 1396, 1397 (11th Cir. 1989). The Federal Circuit has

held that “[o]nly upon a showing of ‘clear and convincing

evidence of congressional intent’ may access to judicial review

be restricted.” Nyeholt v. Secretary of Veterans Affairs, 298 F.3d

1350, 1353 (Fed. Cir. 2002); see also Jicarilla Apache Nation v.

United States, 60 Fed.Ct. 611, 613 (2004) (statute must have

specific language to bar discovery). Because § 618(f) does not

meet this criteria, discovery of board proceedings may take

-20-

place in the Ninth, Eleventh, and Federal Circuits, while it is

barred in the D.C Circuit. Someone is wrong.

Ironically, both the Ninth and Eleventh Circuits cited

Freeman v. Seligson, 405 F.2d 1326 (D.C. Cir. 1968) as

supporting authority. The D.C. Circuit held in Freeman that

“when Congress has thought it necessary to protect against

court use of records it has expressly so provided by specific

language.” 405 F.2d at 1351. Freeman explained:

The principle favoring full access to the courts

and litigants to relevant information in the

absence of strong competing considerations, is

an important foundation for the achievement

of justice by the courts in individual lawsuits.

The principle is national policy of high rank,

wholeheartedly endorsed and furthered by

Congress. In the absence of a_ specific

prohibition against disclosure in judicial

proceedings, such as Congress set forth in

some statutes, clear and strong indication is

required before it may be implied that the

policy of prohibition is of such force as to

dominate the broad objective of doing justice.

Id. at 1348. In re England distinguished Freeman's holding and

gnored its rationale, effectively reversing it.

Ill. IN RE ENGLAND’S HOLDING IGNORES THE

RULES OF STATUTORY CONSTRUCTION

As shown in I.A above, In re England ignored 10 U.S.C.

§ 101(f) and interpreted “may” in the mandatory sense rather

than “a permissive sense.” A-20-21. Moreover, courts

presume that Congress intended judicial review of

administrative decisions and “only upon a showing of ‘clear

and convincing evidence’ of a contrary legislative intent

should the courts restrict judicial review.” Abbott Laboratories

Me

v. Gardner, 387 U.S. at 136, 141. See also Barlow v. Collins, 397

U.S. at 166-67 (same). There is no “clear and convincing

evidence of contrary legislative intent” in § 618(f) or in

DOPMA.

Courts interpret a statute’s plain words in the context

of the existing law when the statute was passed; courts

presume Congress knows the law and drafts its legislation in

light of court decisions. Cannon v. University of Chicago, 441

U.S. 677, 696-97 (1979). “Congress expects its statutes to be

read in conformity with this Court’s precedents.” Clay v.

United States, 537 U.S. at 527. In re England ignored this rule.

Section 618(f) was passed in 1980, after Abbott Laboratories,

Johnson, and other federal courts had required “clear and

convincing evidence” of Congress’ intent to bar discovery.

Application of the law in 1980 makes § 618(f) merely a

housekeeping statute.

IV. IN RE ENGLAND’S HOLDING UNDERMINES

IMPORTANT NATIONAL POLICIES

A. In re England Creates a Safe Haven For

Forbidden Prejudice

In re England's finding that § 618(f) bars discovery will

shield racial, gender, and religious prejudice in board

proceedings from judicial review aixd remedy. To argue that

Congress intended to create a safe area for unconstitutional

prejudice and misconduct is absurd, particularly without one

word of such intent in DOPMA. In re England stands in stark

contrast to the judiciary’s leading role in national policies

eliminating illegal bias. “Since the Civil War, the Federal

Government and the federal courts have been the ‘primary

and powerful reliances’ in protecting citizens against

[invidious] discrimination.” Cannon, 441 U.S. at 407 (quoting

Steffel v. Thompson, 415 U.S. 452, 464 (1974). In re England

would abdicate and reverse the historic role of federal courts

“for vindicating every right given by the Constitution.” See

2.

Steffel, 415 U.S. at 463-64. In re England also contradicts

Congress’ intent “to pierce the veil of administrative secrecy

and to open agency action to the light of public scrutiny” as

shown in Senate Report 102-482 and expressed in the Freedom

of Information Act (FOIA). See Department of Air Force v. Roe,

425 U.S. 352, 361 (1975) (explaining FOIA’s purpose).

B. In re England Encourages the Politicization of

Religion

This Court has consistently warned against the fusion

of government and religious functions, Larkin v. Grendel’s Den,

Inc., 459 U.S. 116, 126 (1982), and the resulting “political

fragmentation on sectarian grounds.” E.g., Larsen, 456 U.S. at

252-53, 244-46. Petitioners’ evidence supporting their

allegations of denominational preference in chaplain

promotions, including the Respondents’ own investigations,

evidences a “political fragmentation based on sectarian

grounds.”

Petitioners represent a broad spectrum of the non-

liturgical community. Petitioner CFGC represents

approximately 7.5 million Charismatic Christians. The

Southern Baptist Convention (over 16 million members) and -

the Associated Gospel Churches (4.5 million) have passed

resolutions condemning the Navy’s religious prejudice against

their Navy chaplains and members. A-134-136 and A-137-138

respectively. Petitioners can identify other faith groups which

have'expressed concern over Respondents’ prejudice against

their chaplains and Navy members. Yet In re England fosters

sectarian strife by allowing the issue of religious prejudice to

fester unaddressed by creating a unique safe haven for

religious bias and favoritism.

-23-

V. SUPREME COURT DIRECTION AND GUIDANCE

ON STRICT SCRUTINY IS NEEDED

Respondents’ chaplain promotion boards have five or

six members, 10 U.S.C. § 612, who vote in secret, the majority

of whom SECNAVINST 1401.3 requires be chaplains.

Respondents’ own investigations into board misconduct show

that a single “zero” ensures that a candidate is not selected.

Petitioners challenge the entire chaplain selection process on

First and Fifth Amendment grounds. The Court of Appeals

noted that chaplains are “unique” Naval officers because they

are denomination representatives hired to conduct religious

services, A-4, but failed to apply that finding to the issue

before it, despite Petitioners’ request. A-25. This should be

an abuse of discretion because of the apparent First

Amendment issues, this Court’s guidance, and the District

Court's clear error.

A. Courts Have a Duty to Carefully Examine

Establishment Clause Claims

“What our cases require is careful examination of any

law challenged on establishment grounds with a view to

ascertain whether it furthers any of the evils against which

that Clause protects.” Committee for Public Education v.

Nyquist, 413 U.S. 756, 772 (1973); County of Allegheny v. ACLU,

492 U.S. 593, 609 (1989) (explaining court’s duty of

“unwavering vigilance” against Establishment Clause

violations). Having specifically noted the unique role of

chaplains as denominational representatives who are on loan

from their faith communities, hired to perform religious

services, and military officers, A-4, the Court of Appeals then

declined to consider the obvious implications of its definition

which contradicted the District Court’s holding that chaplains

sat on promotion boards as “Naval officers,” not

denominational representatives. See Adair, 183 F.Supp.2d at

62, A-107. In re England’s definition of chaplains as

denominational representatives brings them under the rule of

-24-

Bd. of Education of Kiryas Joel v. Grummet, 512 U.S. 657, 698-99

(1994), that the Sovereign’s power may not be delegated to

persons defined by their religious identity. The application of

strict scrutiny would have resolved the Establishment Clause

issue and made the Respondents’ appeal moot and void.

This Court recently reemphasized that courts are to

vindicate First Amendment rights in a manner that prevents

“undue delay.” City of Littleton, Colo. v. Z. J. Gifts D-4, LLC,

124 S.Ct. 2219 (2004). These cases will soon enter their sixth

year, and the fundamental question of whether strict scrutiny

applies when denominational representatives exercise the

sovereign’s power in awarding or denying government

benefits has not been resolved by an appellate court. Having

been asked to consider an obvious error that unduly delayed

resolution of important First Amendment rights and values,

the Court of Appeals abused its discretion in not examining

the issue “with a view to ascertain whether it furthers any of

the evils against which [the Establishment] Clause protects.”

Committee for Public Ed., 413 U.S. at 772.

B. The District Court’s Holding That No First

Amendment Concerns Arise when

Denominational Representatives Exercise the

Sovereign’s Power Is Clear Error.

The District Court's holding that no First Amendment

claims arise when the sovereign’s discretionary authority to

award or terminate government benefits to denominational

representatives is delegated to other denominational -

representatives, A-102-113, was clear error for four reasons.

First, the holding conflicts with the rule that government may

not “deliberately delegate discretionary power to an

individual, institution, or community on the ground of

religious identity”, Bd. of Education of Kiryas Joel v. Grummet,

512 USS. at 699, without “effective guarantees” that the power

would be used for secular, neutral, and non-ideological

-25-

purposes. 512 at 703 (citing Larkin v. Grendel's Den, Inc., 459

US. 116, 125 (1982)).

Second, the district court applied the rebuttable

presumption of regularity in an irrebuttable manner. See Adair,

183 F.Supp.2d at 60, A-104. This Court has found that

irrebuttable presumptions raise Due Process concerns when

fundamental interests are at issue. See Cleveland Bd. of Ed. v.

LaFleur, 414 U.S. 632 (1974); Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645

(1972). Here First and Fifth Amendment rights are at issue.

Third, the district court’s conclusion that the First

Amendment did not apply because chaplains were “first and

foremost” officers, A-107, is contrary to this Court's

presumption that persons or groups defined by their religious

identity are presumed to advance their faith perspectives and

their entanglement with the Sovereign requires strict scrutiny

because “the conflict of function inheres in the situation.”

Larkin, 459 U.S. at 125 (quoting Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S.

602, 627 (1971)). In Lemon, the presumption was applied to

government-funded sectarian school teachers teaching non-

religious subjects.

Fourth, the District Court’s dismissal of Petitioners’

constitutional claim on a motion to dismiss is contrary to

Conley v. Gibson, 355 U.S. 41, 47 (1957). Exhibit 6 of Petitioners’

Complaint provides evidence that denomination was a fact in

promotion. If the Complaints’ allegations of misconduct on

boards were taken as true, the presumption of regularity could

not apply. Given access to board personnel, Petitioners can

prove facts that rebut the assumption.

Cc. This Court Should Define the Proper

Application of Strict Scrutiny

The failure of the District Court to apply the

appropriate standard of strict scrutiny has unnecessarily

prolonged this case and other Establishment Clause violations.

-26-

On June 5, 2003, Petitioners filed a motion for a structural

injunction to force the Navy to stop preferential treatment for

over-age Catholic active duty Naval Reserve chaplains. CFGC

Doc. No. 142. 10 U.S.C. § 14509 limits Reservists’ active duty

service to age 60. 10 U.S.C. § 14703(a) allows the Secretary to

extend chaplains above the grade of Lieutenant Commander

to age 67. Petitioners identified at least 16 Catholic Reserve LT

and LCDR chaplains on active duty who exceed the statutory

age limit of 60, seven were over 67, and four were in their 70s.

Although they have not met the statutory requirements for

retirement, the Navy categorizes the seven “over age 67”

chaplains as “retired reserve on active duty” to allow these

Catholics to reach the 20 years active duty required for a

pension. Only Catholics are allowed to remain on active duty

beyond the statutory age limits to qualify for government

pensions. The District Court has yet to rule on this injunction,

despite the obvious preference, the applicability of strict

scrutiny, and both statutory and Establishment Clause

violations.

Petitioners filed a Writ of Mandamus seeking to order

the Navy to follow its own regulations and not prefer Catholic

clergy. CFGC, 276 F.Supp.2d 82 (D.D.C. 2003). To hide

violations of its Reserve recall policy, the Navy recalled a

Catholic Reserve chaplain as a flight surgeon. Since the

Complaint’s allegations included favoritism, the District Court

denied the Writ. Id. at 84. Strict scrutiny should have

produced a different result.

CONCLUSION

Standing at the intersection of the Free Exercise and

Establishment Clauses, these cases raise fundamental First

Amendment issues of first impression. This Court has often

cited military chaplains as examples of the accommodation

available in the Constitution and the “play in the joints” of

these two clauses. See School Board of Abington Township v.

Schempp, 374 U.S. at 296-98 (Brennan, J. concurring, citing

-27-

chaplains as accommodation necessary to provide for the free

exercise of religion by military personnel). The question

posed by this petition is whether the Navy must follow the

Constitution in all of its practices and procedures, or whether

it may set its own course, independent of law and judicial

accountability. For all the above reasons, the Court should

grant this Petition for Certiorari.

Respectfully Submitted,

Of Counsel Arthur A. Schulcz, Sr.

John W. Whitehead Affiliated Attorney

Douglas R. McKusick with The Rutherford

THE RUTHERFORD INSTITUTE Institute

P. O. Box 7482 2521 Drexel Street

Charlottesville, VA 22906 Vienna, VA 22180

(434) 978-3888 (703) 645-4010

Counsel of Record for

Petitioners

December 17, 2004

No.

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

CHAPLAINCY OF FULL GOSPEL CHURCHES, ET AL.,

AND ROBERT H. ADAIR, ET AL.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

GORDON R. ENGLAND,

SECRETARY OF THE NAVY, ET AL.,

Respondents.

Un Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the

District of Columbia Circuit

Douglas R. McKusick Affilliated Attorney with

THE RUTHERFORD INSTITUTE The Rutherford Institute

Post Office Box 7482 2521 Drexel Street

Charlottesville, Virginia 22906 Vienna, Virginia 22180

(434) 978-3888 (703) 645-4010

Of Counsel Counsel of Record

Date: December 20, 2004

LANTAGNE LEGAL PRINTING

801 East Main Street Suite 100 Richmond, Virginia 23219 (800) 847-0477

;

APPENDIX

John W. Whitehead Arthur A. Schulcz, Sr.

APPENDIX

Decision of the United States Court of Appeals in

CMU GU Wau bw udeswesressrceccccccrccsscscces A-1

Order of the United States Court of Appeals Denial

of Petition for En Banc Review ............0seeeeee A-24

Order of the Court of Appeals amending its order denying

the Petitioners’ Petition for Rehearing En Banc ...... A-25

Opinion and judgment of the District Court for the District

of Columbia granting the Petitioners’ motion to

compel discovery, Chaplaincy of the Full Gospel

Churches v. Johnson, 217 F.R.D. 250 (D.D.C. 2003) ...... A-26

Opinion of the District Court for the District of Columbia

denying in part and granting in part Respondents’

motion to dismiss, Adair v. England, 183 F. Supp.

Ses pap esses cscccessccesccsse A-47

10 U.S.C. § 618 Action on reports of selection boards . A-109

EXHIBITS IN SUPPORT OF MOTION TO COMPEL

Declaration of Gary Paul Stewart .................. A-113

Declaration of Klon K. Kitchen, Jr. ................. A-115

Affidavit of Floyd Cedric Ellison ................-. A-117

Declaration of Gary Paul Stewart (Supplemental) .... A-120

June 13, 2001, Southern Baptist Convention Resolution

No. 7 on Discrimination Against Military Chaplains . A-122

8 AUGUST 2001 Associated Gospel Churches Resolution

Regarding Alleged Religious Discrimination Against

Military Chaplains Serving in the U.S. Navy ........ A-125

A-1

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

Argued April 22, 2004 Decided July 27,2004

No. 03-5329

In re: Gordon R. England, Secretary of the Navy, et al.,

Petitioners

Consolidated with

03-5333, 03-5334

On Petition for Writ of Mandamus and

Appeals from the United States District Court

for the District of Columbia

(No. 00cv00566)

(No. 99cv02945)

Robert M. Loeb, Attorney, U.S. Department of Justice,

argued the cause for petitioners/appellants. With him on

the briefs were Peter D. Keisler, Assistant Attorney General,

Roscoe C. Howard, Jr., U.S. Attorney, and Marleigh D. Dover,

Attorney.

Arthur A. Schulcz, Sr. argued the cause and filed the

brief for respondents /appellees.

Before: GINSBURG, Chief Judge, and GARLAND and

ROBERTS, Circuit Judges.

Opinion for the Court filed by Circuit Judge ROBERTS.

ROBERTS, Circuit Judge:

Navy chaplains, like other Navy officers, are

recommended for promotion by "selection boards" consisting

of superior officers who meet and discuss the relative merits

of candidates for promotion. The federal statute establishing

the procedures for such selection boards, which applies to all

the armed services, provides that board proceedings "may not

A-2

be disclosed to any person not a member of the board,” 10

U.S.C. § 618(f), and board members take an oath of

confidentiality to implement this requirement. Certain current

and former Navy chaplains and their particular endorsing

agency, the Chaplaincy of Full Gospel Churches (CFGC), sued

the Navy, alleging that it discriminates against chaplains

affiliated with the CFGC in, among other things, promotion

decisions. The chaplains and the CFGC sought to compel the

Secretary of the Navy to release selection board members from

their oath of confidentiality, to allow them to testify about

selection board proceedings leading to the challenged

decisions.

The district court ruled that Section 618(f) did not

preclude disclosure of selection board proceedings through

civil discovery, because Congress had not expressly addressed

the question of such discovery in providing that board

proceedings "may not be disclosed." The court accordingly

ordered the Secretary to release selection board members from

their oath. We reverse and hold that Sectiori 618(f) bars the

disclosure through civil discovery of promotion selection

board proceedings.

I. Background

A. The History and Organization of Navy Chaplains

In November 1775, the Continental Congress adopted

the first regulations to govern the fledgling Continental Navy.

See Rules for the Regulation of the Navy of the United

Colonies of North America (Nov. 28, 1775), reprinted in relevant

part in 1 Clifford M. Drury, The History of the Chaplain Corps,

United States Navy 3 (Bureau of Naval Personnel 1984).

Although those regulations did not expressly create a chaplain

position, Article 2 provided that "[t]he Commanders of the

ships of the thirteen United Colonies, are to take care that

divine service be performed twice a day on board, and a

sermon preached on Sundays, unless bad weather or other

A-3

extraordinary accidents prevent." Id. These duties often fell to

the captain himself or a designee: only two chaplains were

known to have served in the Continental Navy during the

Revolutionary War, and the Navy limited the number of

chaplains on active duty to nine until 1842 and to 24 from then

until 1914. Drury, supra, at 5, 62.

Early chaplains were responsible for educating

midshipmen and sailors in addition to their religious duties.

The Navy placed great emphasis on the chaplains’ role as

teacher, selecting them "more for their teaching ability than for

their experience or training as ministers." Id. at 18. Indeed, the

first "naval academy" was established 200 years ago at the

Washington Navy Yard by Chaplain Robert Thompson, who

taught midshipmen mathematics and navigation. Id. at 18- 20.

The success of that academy led to the establishment of the

United States Naval Academy at Annapolis, Maryland in 1845.

From those beginnings, the Navy Chaplain Corps has

grown with the service to over 800 strong. It is the

responsibility of Navy chaplains to "provide for the free

exercise of religion for all members of the [Navy and Marine

Corps], their dependents, and other authorized persons."

Directive No. 1304.19, Appointment of Chaplains for the

Military Services J 3 (Dep't of Def. Sept. 18, 1993) (Directive).

The Navy chaplain's mission is to accommodate the religious

needs of sailors and Marines by providing religious services,

counseling, and support. See Marine Corps Warfighting

Publication 6-12, Religious Ministry Support in the United States

Marine Corps 1-4, 1-5 (Dec. 12, 2001). In addition to this

religious ministry, Navy chaplains also provide ethics

instruction and critical incident debriefings, and advise

commanders on religious, moral, and ethical issues. Id. at 1-5.

A Navy chaplain's role within the service is "unique,"

involving simultaneous service as clergy or a "professional

representative[ ]" of a particular religious denomination and

as a commissioned naval officer. OPNAVINST 1730.1,

A-4

Chaplains Manual 1-2-1-3 (Dep't of the Navy Oct. 3, 1973). A

chaplain must satisfy not only the normal physical and

educational requirements to become a commissioned officer,

but also must have a graduate level theology degree or

equivalent and an ecclesiastical endorsement -- official notice

from a faith group endorsing agency that a candidate ‘is

professionally qualified to represent that faith group within the

military Chaplaincy." Chaplain Candidate Program Officer

Handbook Glossary; see Directive {J 5.1-5.2. Ecclesiastical

endorsement must be maintained throughout a chaplain's

career; withdrawal of ecclesiastical endorsement at any point

in a chaplain's career could result in separation from the Navy.

Directive { 5.1.4.

The Navy categorizes chaplains into four general

religious categories or "faith groups" according to similarities

in religious denominations: Roman Catholic, Liturgical

Protestant, Non-Liturgical Protestant, and Special Worship.

Liturgical Protestant primarily includes those protestant

denominations that trace their origins to the Protestant

Reformation and whose religious services are characterized by

a set liturgy or order of worship, including the Lutheran,

Episcopal, Methodist, and Presbyterian denominations. CFGC

Second Am. Compl. § 12(a) (CFGC Compl.). Non-Liturgical

Protestant refers to protestant denominations "without a

formal liturgy or order in their worship service" whose clergy

do not wear religious dress during services, comprising the

Baptist, Evangelical, Pentecostal, Bible, and Charismatic

churches. Id. { 12(b). The Special Worship category includes

the Christian Orthodox, Jewish, Muslim, and Mormon faiths.

Appellants’ Br. at 5.

B. The Personnel System

The Navy uses the same personnel system for all

officers, including chaplains. That system seeks to manage

officers’ careers to provide the Navy with the best qualified

personnel through three critical personnel decisions: (1)

A-5

promotion; (2) continuation on active duty; and (3) selective

early retirement. A naval officer must be recommended by a

promotion selection board to advance in rank from lieutenant

(junior grade) through rear admiral (lower half). See 10 U.S.C.

§ 611(a). Continuation on active duty decisions occur when

the needs of the Navy require the selection of certain officers --

otherwise subject to discharge or retirement for failing to be

promoted to the next rank -- to continue on active duty for an

established period of time. See id. § 637(a)(1), (d). Conversely,

selective early retirement decisions generally involve the

selection of officers in the grade of captain who were passed

over for promotion two or more times for involuntary, early

retirement. Id. § 638(a)(1).

Each of these personnel decisions involves a selection

board comprised of naval officers who deliberate, make

selections, and then submit their recommendations to the

Secretary of the Navy. Promotion selection boards are

convened under 10 U.S.C. § 611(a); continuation on active

duty and selective early retirement boards are convened under

10 U.S.C. § 611(b). Selection boards must consist of five or

more active-duty naval officers who "must be serving in a

grade higher than the grade of the officers under

consideration by the board, except that no member of a board

may be serving in a grade below ... lieutenant commander.” 10

U.S.C. § 612(a)(1). At least one member of the board must be

from the category being considered; thus, if a selection board

is considering chaplains, at least one board member must be

a chaplain. See id. § 612(a)(2)(A).

Promotion selection boards may only consider an

eligible officer's official military personnel file and the

selection board "precept" issued to the board by the Secretary

of the Navy. See 10 U.S.C. § 615(a), (b). A precept is the

Secretary's official guidance to the board, consisting of: (1) the

maximum number of officers that the board may recommend

for promotion, (2) "information or guidelines relating to the

needs of the [Navy] for officers having particular skills," and

A-6

(3) applicable guidelines from the Secretary of Defense. Id. §

615(b). A promotion selection board considers these items and

recommends those officers "whom the board ... considers best

qualified for promotion.” Id. § 616(a).

_ The promotion board reports its recommendations to

the Secretary, 10 U.S.C. § 617(a), who takes action on the

report in accordance with Section 618. If the Secretary

"determines that the board acted contrary to law or regulation

or to guidelines furnished the board under Section 615(b),” the

Secretary must return the board's recommendations with a

written explanation for further proceedings. Id. § 618(a)(2).

The Secretary otherwise reviews the board's recommendations

and adopts or modifies the list, and then forwards it to the

President through the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff

and the Secretary of Defense. See id. § 618(b), (c). The President

ultimately appoints recommended officers for promotion to

the next rank, subject to confirmation by the Senate for

promotions above the rank of lieutenant (junior grade). See id.

§ 624.

The other statutory selection boards - continuation on

active duty and selective early retirement -- are convened

under Section 611(b) and have somewhat different procedures.

The Secretary has final authority over these boards, and no

Presidential or Senatorial action is involved. In addition,

unlike the situation with promotion boards, there are no

statutory guidelines that dictate what information other

statutory selcction boards may consider.

By statute, each member of a selection board must take

an oath to perform his duties “without prejudice or partiality

and having in view both the special fitness of officers and the

efficiency of [the Navy]." 10 U.S.C. § 613. As noted, members

of promotion selection boards may not disclose the

proceedings of the board to anyone not a member of the

board, "[e]xcept as authorized or required by [Section 618]." Id.

§ 618(f). Navy regulations also require all selection board

A-7

members to take an oath to "not divulge the proceedings of

this board except as authorized or required by the Secretary of

the Navy or higher authority." Mem. in Support of Mot. for an

Order Requiring Def. Secretary of the Navy to Release

Personnel Associated with Chaplain Promotion Boards from

their Oath Not to Disclose Promotion Board Proceedings (Oct.

29, 2002) (Pls.' Mot.), Ex. 1, Oaths; see also SECNAV

Instruction 1420.1A, Promotion and Selective Early Retirement

of Commissioned Officers on the Active Duty Lists of the

Navy and Marine Corps { 12(f) (Dep't of the Navy Jan. 8,

1991) ("Each member ... shall swear or affirm that he or she

will not disclose the proceedings or recommendations of the

board except as authorized or required by SECNAV or higher

authority.").

Section 618(f) was enacted as part of the Defense

Officer Personnel Management Act (DOPMA), Pub. L. No. 96-

513, 94 Stat. 2835 (1980) (codified in scattered sections of 10

U.S.C.). Through DOPMA, Congress sought to update the

existing statutory framework for military promotions

established by the Officer Personnel Act of 1947, Pub. L. No.

80-381, 61 Stat. 795, by eliminating the services’ individual

promotion systems in favor of "a single, permanent promotion

system under a single, applicable statutory grade table and

under laws that would be the same for each service." S. Rep.

No. 96-375, at 3 (1979). Section 618(f) codified in a uniform

manner the established practice in the individual services of

barring the disclosure of selection board proceedings. See, ¢.g.,

Brenner v. United States, 202 Ct. Cl. 678, 686 (Ct. Cl. 1973) ("The

proceedings of selection boards are secret.") (Navy); Sanders v.

United States, 594 F.2d 804, 815 (Ct. Cl. 1979) (en banc)

("Selection board proceedings are secret") (Air Force); Army

Regulation 624-100, Promotion of Officers on Active Duty { 2-

8 (Oct. 20, 1975).

Cc. Procedural History

Plaintiffs -- current and former Non-Liturgical

A-8

Protestant chaplains and their endorsing agency, the

Chaplaincy of Full Gospel Churches (CFGC) (collectively

"Chaplains") -- filed two separate suits against the Secretary of

the Navy, other Navy officials, and the Navy (collectively

"Navy"), alleging that "the Navy has established, promoted,

and maintained religious quotas and other discriminatory

practices in the Navy Chaplain Corps in violation of the First

and Fifth Amendments." Chaplaincy of Full Gospel Churches v.

Johnson, 217 F.R.D. 250, 253 (D.D.C. 2003) (CFGC); see also

Adair v. England, 217 F. Supp. 2d 7, 8 (D.D.C. 2002). The district

court subsequently consolidated the cases for purposes of all

pretrial motions. Adair, 217 F. Supp. 2d at 8. The Chaplains

allege that the Navy's discriminatory practices favor Catholic

and Liturgical Protestant chaplains to the detriment of Non-

Liturgical Protestant chaplains. See CFGC Compl. 7 3, 56-63.

As pertinent here, the Chaplains allege that the Navy

discriminates against chaplains endorsed by the CFGC

through promotions and retention. See CFGC, 217 F.R.D. at

253. The Chaplains claim that this discrimination is

manifested in the policies for and operation of promotion and

other statutory selection boards, permitting "religious bias"

and "denominational issues" -- criteria not related to career

performance -- to interfere with the proper selection of the

best-qualified chaplains for advancement. Adair Class Action

First Am. Compl 4. 50 (Adair Compl.); see CFGC, 217 F.R.D. at

253-54. The Chaplains allege that the Navy: (1) provided

promotion boards with each candidate's religious

denomination, CFGC Compl. { 69; (2) used religious quotas

and denominational criteria for promotion and forced

retirement selections, Adair Compl. J 50; (3) denied

promotions based upon ideological criteria, see id.; and (4)

"stacked" promotion and other statutory selection boards with

Catholic and Liturgical Protestant chaplains, id. J 47.

The Chaplains requested that the Secretary release

board members from their oath of confidentiality to allow

them to testify; the Secretary declined to do so. The Chaplains

A-9

thereupon filed a motion to compel discovery of selection

board proceedings, seeking to depose board members. See Pls.’

Mot. The Navy argued that 10 U.S.C. § 618(f) barred disclosure

of selection board deliberations. The district court disagreed

and granted the Chaplains' motion, holding that "[b]ecause

section 618(f) does not contain specific language barring

discovery, and because of the circuit's emphasis on providing

litigants full access to relevant information, the court

concludes that section 618(f) does not create an absolute or

qualified privilege barring discovery of selection-board

proceedings." 217 F.R.D. at 260. The Navy filed an

interlocutory appeal and a petition for mandamus, which we

consolidated.

II. Appellate Jurisdiction

This court has appellate jurisdiction over "final

decisions" of the district court. 28 U.S.C. § 1291; DSMC, Inc. v.

Convera Corp., 349 F.3d 679, 682 (D.C. Cir. 2003). Discovery

orders are accordingly generally appealable only upon a final

decision in the case, not on an interlocutory basis. McKesson

Corp. v. Islamic Republic of Iran, 52 F.3d 346, 353 (D.C. Cir.

1995). The Navy nonetheless argues that we have

interlocutory jurisdiction to hear its appeal under the collateral

order doctrine. See Cohen v. Beneficial Indus. Loan Corp., 337

U.S. 541, 546 (1949).

"The collateral order doctrine is best understood not as

an exception to the ‘final decision’ rule laid down by Congress

in § 1291, but as a ‘practical construction’ of it." Digital Equip.

Corp. v. Desktop Direct, Inc., 511 U.S. 863, 867 (1994) (quoting

Cohen, 337 U.S. at 546). The collateral order doctrine allows

appeals from the "small category" of decisions "that are

conclusive, that resolve important questions separate from the

merits, and that are effectively unreviewable on appeal from

the final judgment in the underlying action." Swint v. Chambers

County Comm'n, 514 U.S. 35, 42 (1995); see United States v. Philip

Morris Inc., 314 F.3d 612, 617 (D.C. Cir. 2003).

A-10

1. It is undisputed that the district court conclusively

ordered the Navy to release board members from their oaths

not to disclose board proceedings. The district court

considered and rejected all the Navy's arguments opposing

the motion to compel, and, with respect to the question on

appeal, concluded that "section 618(f) does not create an

absolute or qualified privilege barring discovery of selection-

board proceedings." CFGC, 217 F.R.D. at 260. The first

requirement is satisfied.

2. To satisfy the second requirement under the

collateral order doctrine, the Navy must show that "appellate

review will resolve an important issue completely separate from

the merits of the action." Philip Morris, 314 F.3d at 617

(emphases added). Determining whether Section 618(f) bars

discovery in this case does not require this court to consider

the merits of the Chaplains' constitutional claims; the

separability prong of the second requirement is clearly

satisfied.

“Importance” is a more subjective inquiry. The

Supreme Court has explained that this inquiry requires a

"judgment about the value of the interests that would be lost

through rigorous application of [the] final judgment

requirement," and that " ‘important’ in Cohen's sense [means]

being weightier than the societal interests advanced by

ordinary operation of final judgment principles." Digital

Equip., 511 U.S. at 878- 79. This court has explained that an

issue is important under Cohen "if the interests that would

potentially go unprotected without immediate appellate

review of that issue are significant relative to the efficiency

interests sought to be advanced by adherence to the final

judgment rule." Philip Morris, 314 F.3d at 617 (quoting In re

Ford Motor Co., 110 F.3d 954, 959 (3d Cir. 1997)).

In Philip Morris, we analyzed whether the collateral

order doctrine provided appellate jurisdiction to hear an

interlocutory appeal challenging denial of an attorney-client

A-11

privilege claim. The court held that the attorney-client

privilege was "important" under Cohen, concluding that "the

institutional benefits of allowing interlocutory review of

attorney-client privilege claims outweigh the costs of delay

and piecemeal review that may result." Philip Morris, 314 F.3d

at 618. The court explained that the privilege " 'encourage[s]

full and frank communication between attorneys and their

clients' " and "promotes ‘broader public interests in the

observance of law and administration of justice.’ " Id. (quoting

Upjohn Co. v. United States, 449 U.S. 383, 389 (1981); alteration

in Philip Morris). Those "important institutional interests"

would be "eviscerate[d]" by an erroneous privilege ruling,

underscoring the importance of interlocutory review. Id.

The Navy argues that Section 618(f) similarly creates a

privilege that protects the deliberations of military promotion

boards from disclosure. According to the Secretary of the

Navy, "[f]ree, uninhibited, and candid deliberations by

selection boards are ... vital to the effective functioning of the

selection board process," and disclosure of board proceedings

would "severely undermine the ability ... of the Navy to

effectively operate its promotion and selective early retirement

system." Decl. of Gordon R. England, p 9 (England Decl.). The

proper application of Section 618(f) therefore implicates

institutional interests in the proper administration of the

armed forces.

The statutory nature of the claimed privilege also

supports a finding of importance under Cohen. In Digital

Equipment, the Supreme Court suggested that "[w]Jhere

statutory and constitutional rights are concerned," it is easier

to conclude that they are "weightier than the societal interests

advanced by the ordinary operation of final judgment

principles." 511 U.S. at 879. We cannot say that the importance

of the interests assertedly protected by Congress through

Section 618(f) should be subordinated to the general interest

in avoiding litigation delay and piecemeal review. If it is

correct about the critical nature of the protection from

ao. |

A-12

disclosure provided by Section 618(f), the Navy should not |

lose the benefit of that protection prior to appellate review. '

3. To satisfy the final requirement for invoking the

collateral order doctrine, the appellant must show that the

district court's order "will be effectively unreviewable on

appeal from a final judgment." Philip Morris, 314 F.3d at 617.

In Philip Morris, this court determined that a party's claim of

attorney-client privilege would be "effectively unreviewable"

because disclosure of privileged material "would mak[e] the

issue of privilege effectively moot" on appeal. 314 F.3d at 619.

"Disclosure followed by appeal after final judgment is

obviously not adequate in [privilege] cases -- the cat is out of

the bag." In re Papandreou, 139 F.3d 247, 251 (D.C. Cir. 1998).

Ae em ae

So too here. The right at issue -- the Navy's claim of

statutory privilege -- would be destroyed if board members

were compelled to testify; there would be no privilege to

protect on appeal from final judgment. "It would be

impossible for [this] court to sort out and redress the |. m

caused by the incorrect disclosure." Philip Morris, 314 F.3d at

619.

Having found that this interlocutory appeal satisfies

the Cohen requirements, we hold that the collateral order

doctrine provides appellate jurisdiction to review the district

court's order.’ We now turn to the merits of the Navy's claim

' Ina related case, the Ninth Circuit summarily dismissed for lack of

jurisdiction a similar appeal from an order requiring disclosure, citing

Bank of America v. National Mortgage Equity Corporation, 857 F.2d 1238 (9th

Cir. 1988). Wilkins v. United States, No. 04-55046 (9th Cir. Apr. 27, 2004)

(unpublished order). That dismissa] does not conflict with our finding of

jurisdiction here because the case our sister circuit relied upon -- Bank of

America -- did not consider whether the collateral order doctrine

provided appellate jurisdiction. See Bank of America, 857 F.2d at 1239

(determining whether court had appellate jurisdiction under an exception

for third parties aggrieved by a discovery order). On the same day that it

issued the order dismissing the Government's appeal, the Ninth Circuit

also ordered that the Government's parallel petition for mandamus be

of statutory privilege.

III. Merits

The Federal Rules of Civil Procedure encourage the

exchange of information through broad discovery. Federal

Rule of Civil Procedure 26(b)(1) authorizes "discovery

regarding any matter,not privileged, that is relevant to the

claim or defense of any party." The district court concluded

that the selection board proceedings at issue in this case are

relevant to the Chaplains’ claims, and thus are discoverable

under Rule 26(b)(1). The Navy argues, however, that Section

618(f) creates a statutory privilege barring the disclosure of

selection board proceedings. Although the terms of a statute

should be strictly construed "to avoid a construction that

would suppress otherwise competent evidence,” St. Regis

Paper Co. v. United States, 368 U.S. 208, 218 (1961), if there is a

valid statutory privilege, then "information may be withheld,

even if relevant to the lawsuit and essential to the

establishment of plaintiff's claim." Baldridge v. Shapiro, 455 U.S.

345, 360 (1982).

1. We begin with the plain language of the statute in

question. "It is well established that ‘when the statute's

language is plain, the sole function of the courts -- at least

where the disposition required by the text is not absurd -- is to

enforce it according to its terms.’ " Lamie v. United States Tr.,

124 S. Ct. 1023, 1030 (2004) (quoting Hartford Underwriters Ins.

Co. v. Union Planters Bank, N.A., 530 U.S. 1, 6 (2000)). Section

618(f) provides, in full:

Except as authorized or required by this

section, proceedings of a selection board

convened under section 611(a) of this title may

referred to a merits panel. See United States v. Wilkins, No. 04-70709 (9th

Cir. Apr. 27, 2004) (unpublished order). Disclosure in Wilkins has been

stayed pending resolution of that petition.

No ONES SOE ae RE EP EE RT ET TN

A-14

not be disclosed to any person not a member of

the board.

This is the language of command -- "may not be disclosed" --

in a context in which commands are expected to be obeyed.

There is no inherent ambiguity in the phrase "may not be

disclosed" that would justify departing from those plain terms

pursuant to a judicially-crafted exception.

That conclusion is fortified by the fact that Congress

provided an express exception to the otherwise categorical ban

on disclosure. The opening clause of Section 618(f) provides an

exception for disclosures "authorized or required" by Section

618 itself. In other words, the drafters of Section 618(f) wrote

the ban on disclosure in such broad and absolute terms that

they felt the need to specify that board proceedings could be

disclosed in connection with the very reason you have them --

to submit recemmendations to the Secretary of a military

department, the Secretary of Defense, and ultimately the

President for action under Section 618.

Section 618 also directs the Secretary of a military

department to review the board reports "to determine whether

the board has acted contrary to law or regulation or to

guidelines furnished the board." 10 U.S.C. § 618(a)(1). A

Department of Defense Instruction accordingly permits the

Secretary of a military department to release board members

from the confidentiality requirements if "the integrity of the

board's proceedings has been affected by improper influence

of senior military or civilian authority, misconduct by the

board president or a member, or any other reason." Instruction

1320.14, Commissioned Officer Promotion Program

Procedures { 6.2.1.3 (Dep't of Def. Sept. 24, 1996); accord id. [J

6.2.2.5, E4.1.6. Contrary to the Chaplains’ contention, the fact

that the Secretary of the Navy exercised this authority in

connection with Inspector General inquiries in 1997 and 1998

does not support implying an additional exception for civil

discovery. The statute makes no provision for disclosure

A-15

pursuant to the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, even as it

does for disclosure pursuant to Section 618 itself, and we are

reluctant to imply an additional exception for that purpose.

See Consumer Prod. Safety Comm'n v. GTE Sylvania, Inc., 447

U.S. 102, 109 (1980) (declining to imply an exception to

Consumer Product Safety Act restrictions on disclosure of

accident reports for disclosures under FOIA; "[i]f Congress

had intended to exclude FOIA disclosures from [the statutory

restrictions] it could easily have done so explicitly ... as it did

with respect to the other listed exceptions... We are

consequently reluctant to conclude that Congress’ failure to

include FOIA requests within the exceptions ... was

unintentional."). "When Congress provides exceptions in a

statute, it does not follow that courts have authority to create ~

others." United States v. Johnson, 529 U.S. 53, 58 (2000); see also

Detweiler v. Pena, 38 F.3d 591, 594 (D.C. Cir. 1994) ("Where a

statute contains explicit exceptions, the courts are reluctant to

find other implicit exceptions.").

"[W]here the terms of a statute are unambiguous,

judicial inquiry is complete," Adams Fruit Co. v. Barrett, 494

U.S. 638, 642 (1990), and resort to "the more controversial

realm of legislative history" is unnecessary. Lamie, 124 S. Ct. at

1031. We find it "instructive," however, id. at 1033, to note that

such history as there is fully comports with our plain language

reading, and that nothing in that history remotely suggests

that Congress intended an unexpressed exception to the ban

on disclosure for civil discovery.

Disclosure of selection board proceedings in civil

discovery would certainly undermine, if not totally frustrate,

the purpose of Section 618(f). As the Secretary of the Navy ex-

plained in his declaration, "[s]election board members will be

less likely to engage in frank and open discussion if such

discussions will be open to public scrutiny." England Decl., J

9. If board members knew that candidates passed over for

promotion could gain access to board proceedings, that would

clearly inhibit frank assessment of candidates’ relative

A-16

strengths and weaknesses. As Secretary England explained:

[D]etermining which officers are best qualified for

promotion from a pool of many fully qualified

candidates involves inherently difficult and subjective

evaluations. ... Release of information regarding these

proceedings to the public will severely undermine the

ability of the Department of the Navy to effectively

operate its promotion and selective early retirement

systems.

Id.

2. The Supreme Court has addressed the question of

whether broad, statutory bans on disclosure should be applied

according to their terms, when doing so interferes with a civil

litigant's effort to obtain discovery of relevant material under

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 26. In Baldridge v. Shapiro, 455

U.S. at 348-52, two municipalities sued the Department of

Commerce, seeking to obtain from the Census Bureau raw

census data -- including individual respondents’

questionnaires -- to challenge the results of the 1980 census.

Section 8(b) of the Census Act, 13 U.S.C. § 8(b), provided in

relevant part that "the Secretary [of Commerce] may furnish

copies of tabulations and other statistical materials which do

not disclose information reported by, or on behalf of, any

particular respondent." Section 9(a) of the Act, 13 U.S.C. § 9(a),

provided that:

Neither the Secretary, nor any other officer or

employee of the Department of Commerce or bureau

or agency thereof, may, except as provided in section

8 of this title --

(3) permit anyone other than the sworn officers and

employees of the Department or bureau or agency

there- of to examine the individual reports.

The Court recognized that the discovery rules

A-17

“encourage open exchange of information," and quoted the

admonition in St. Regis Paper to avoid construing statutes to

suppress otherwise competent evidence. 455 U.S. at 360. The

Court nevertheless held that the "unambiguous language of

the confidentiality provisions," id. at 355, barred discovery of

the protected information: -

Congress, of course, can authorize disclosure in

executing its constitutional obligation to conduct a

decennial census. But until Congress alters its clear

provisions under ss 8(b) and 9(a) of the Census Acct, its

mandate is to be followed by the courts.

Id. at 362.

The Court noted that Congress's purpose in barring

disclosure was to promote the success and accuracy of the

census by assuring the public that responses would be kept

confidential, and that "[d]isclosure by way of civil discovery

would undermine the very purpose of confidentiality

contemplated by Congress." Id. at 361. The Constitution

expressly authorizes Congress to conduct a census "as they

shall by Law direct," U.S. CONST. art. I, § 2, cl. 3, and the Court

concluded that Congress's "wisdom" in barring all disclosure

of individual information "is not for us to decide in light of

Congress’ 180 years' experience with the census process.” Id.

3. The district court took a different approach here and

declined to apply the plain language of Section 618(f), because

while Congress said board proceedings "may not be

disclosed," it did not say board proceedings may not be

disclosed in civil discovery. See CFGC, 217 F.R.D. at 260

("section 618(f) does not contain specific language barring

discovery"). The Supreme Court has repeatedly rejected such

an approach to statutory construction as a general matter. See,

e.g., PGA Tour, Inc. v. Martin, 532 U.S. 661, 689 (2001) (" 'the

fact that a statute can be applied in situations not expressly

anticipated by Congress does not demonstrate ambiguity. It

demonstrates breadth.’ ") (quoting Pennsylvania Dep't of

A-18

Corrections v. Yeskey, 524 U.S. 206, 212 (1998) (quoting Sedima,

S.P.R.L. v. Imrex Co., 473 U.S. 479, 499 (1985))); accord

Consumer Elecs. Ass’n v. FCC, 347 F.3d 291, 298 (D.C. Cir. 2003)

("[T]he Supreme Court has consistently instructed that

statutes written in broad, sweeping language should be given

broad, sweeping application."). The district court relied for the

opposite approach upon our cases stating that "general

statutory bans on publication do not bar limited disclosure in

judicial proceedings, including court-supervised discovery,"

Laxalt v. McClatchy, 809 F.2d 885, 889 (D.C. Cir. 1987), and

noting that "where Congress thought it necessary to protect

against court use of records it has expressly so provided by

specific language." Freeman v. Seligson, 405 F.2d 1326, 1351

(D.C. Cir. 1968); see also Friedman v. Bache Halsey Stuart Shields,

Inc., 738 F.2d 1336, 1343 (D.C. Cir. 1984) (quoting Freeman).

The district court seriously overread those precedents.

In Laxalt, for example, we held that the Privacy Act did not

prohibit disclosure of protected material in discovery, but the

provision in question expressly permitted disclosure “pursuant

to the order of a court of competent jurisdiction." 5 U.S.C. §

552a(b)(11) (1982); see Laxalt, 809 F.2d at 887 n.7. We

specifically noted that fact in concluding that the Privacy Act

did not trump the normal discovery rules. See Laxalt, 809 F.2d

at 889. This holding is hardly precedent for overriding a

categorical prohibition on disclosure of the sort at issue here.

Friedman and Freeman considered different versions

and clauses of Section 8(a) of the Commodities Exchange Act

(CEA), governing investigative files of the Secretary of

Agriculture and, later, the Commodity Futures Trading

Commission (CFTC). In each case, we ruled that the provision

in question did not bar civil discovery. In Friedman, however,

the clause simply provided that the CFTC "may withhold from

public disclosure any data or information concerning or

obtained in connection with any pending investigation of any

person." 7 U.S.C. § 12(a) (emphasis added). "May withhold" is

not tantamount to "may not be disclosed."

A-19

In Freeman, the clause at issue provided that the

Secretary of Agriculture "may publish" the results of

investigations and statistical information of interest to the

public, "except data and information which would separately

disclose the business transactions of any person and trade

secrets or names of customers.” See 405 F.2d at 1340-41

(emphasis omitted; quoting statute). The majority held that

disclosure in civil discovery was not "publishing" of the sort

prohibited by this language; Congress was concerned with

“widespread dissemination of information not otherwise

available to the public, and not with disclosure in judicial

proceedings." Id. at 1349. Here, Section 618(f) does not merely

prohibit "publication," it categorically bars mere disclosure to

anyone not a member of the promotion selection board.”

4. In Baldridge, the Court noted that a conclusion that

a statutory privilege exists "shields the requested information

from disclosure despite the need demonstrated by the

2As the district court recognized, see CFGC, 217 F.R.D. at 258 n. 9, St.

Regis Paper is even further afield. The provision of The Census Act at

issue in that case precluded disclosure by government officials of certain

information; the question was whether that provision should be

construed to protect private entities from turning over the same

information in response to civil discover. St. Regis Paper, 386 U.S. at 215-

7. The Court's statement that it should “avoid a construction that would

suppress otherwise competent evidence unless the statute, strictly

construed, requires such a result,” id. at 218, was made in the course of

rejecting an argument for expanding the reach of a statutory privilege

beyond its terms. The Court declined to do so, noting that “we cannot

rewrite the Census Act.”

The Chaplains also seek support for their clear statement rule from

Webster v. Doe, 486 U.S. 592, 603 (1988) (“where Congress intends to

preclude judicial review of judicial claims, its intent to do so must be

clear”). Section 618(f), however, does not preclude judicial review of the

Chaplains’ claims, and the government has not argued that it does. As

the government recognizes, “plaintiffs here remain free to litigate their

discrimination claims and to support them with evidence.” Reply Br. at

4.

A-20

litigant." 455 U.S. at 362; see id. at 360 ("If a privilege exists,

information may be withheld, even if relevant to the lawsuit

and essential to the establishment of a plaintiff's claim."). As

the Supreme Court reiterated this past Term:

Our unwillingness to soften the import of Congress’

chosen words even if we believe the words lead to a

harsh outcome is longstanding. It results from

"deference to the supremacy of the Legislature, as well

as recognition that Congressmen typically vote on the

language of a bill.”

Lamie, 124 S. Ct. at 1032 (quoting United States v. Locke, 471 U.S.

84, 95 (1985)). As in Baldridge, we accordingly apply the bar

on disclosure as written, and conclude that it applies to block

civil discovery of promotion selection board proceedings in

civil litigation.

5. Section 618(f) applies to "proceedings of a selection

board convened under section 611(a) of this title." 10 U.S.C. §

618(f) (emphasis added). Section 611(a) provides authorization

to convene "selection boards to recommend for promotion,"

while Section 611(b) provides authorization to convene the

other statutory selection boards -- continuation on active duty

and selective early retirement -- governed by Sections 637 and

638 respectively. 10 U.S.C. § 611(a), (b). There is no provision

similar to Section 618(f) -- barring disclosure of board

proceedings -- in Sections 637 and 638. 10 U.S.C. §§ 637, 638.

The plaintiffs’ motion to compel was titled "Motion for

an Order Requiring Defendant Secretary of the Navy to

Release Personnel Associated with Chaplain Promotion

Boards from their Oath Not to Disclose Promotion Board

Proceedings.” Although the title mentioned only promotion

boards, the plaintiffs requested the court to compel the

Secretary to release all members of "promotion, selective early

retirement (‘SER’) and other statutory boards" from their oath

of non- disclosure. Mem. in Support of Pls.’ Mot. at 2. The

plaintiffs used the term "selection board" throughout the

A-21

motion to refer collectively to all types of selection boards. See

id. at 7, 9; see also id. at 7 (citing to the complaint for allegations

of impropriety in the selective early retirement process).

The Navy understood the plaintiffs to be seeking

disclosure of promotion boards and selective early retirement

boards. Defs.' Opp. to Pls.' Mot. at 5 n.3. Throughout the

opposition, the Navy used the term "selection board" and did

not distinguish among the different types of boards. See id. at

2, 6, 16, 17. The Navy argued that the district court should

deny “discovery into the deliberations of Chaplain Corps

promotion and selective early retirement (‘SER’) boards”

because "10 U.S.C. § 618(f) absolutely bars disclosure of the

Navy's selection board proceedings." Id. at 1. The district court

also treated the plaintiffs’ motion as seeking disclosure of all

selection boards. CFGC, 217 F.R.D. at 254 n.4. Without

distinguishing between the various boards, see id. at 258-60,

the district court granted the plaintiffs’ motion, holding that

‘section 618(f) does not create an absolute or qualified

privilege barring discovery of selection-board proceedings."

Id. at 260.

On appeal, neither of the parties distinguished

between the different types of selection boards. The plaintiffs

referred collectively to "selection boards,” see Appellees’ Br. at

37, 46, and also discussed both promotion selection boards, see

id. at 40, 44, and selective early retirement boards, id. at 45, in

their arguments against the existence of a statutory bar. The

plaintiffs never argued that Section 618(f) by its terms did not

apply to continuation on active duty or selective early

retirement boards. The Navy similarly treated the selection

boards collectively, arguing on appeal that Section 618(f)

barred disclosure of both promotion and selective early

retirement boards. Appellants’ Br. at 17, 19-21.

We are frankly a bit surprised that throughout this

dispute about whether a one-sentence statutory provision

barred disclosure of selection board proceedings, neither party

A-22

pointed out that the statute, by its terms, applied only to

certain types of selection board proceedings. This calls to mind

what Judge Friendly described as Felix Frankfurter's

"threefold imperative to law students” in his landmark

statutory interpretation course: "(1) Read the statute; (2) read

the statute; (3) read the statute!" Henry J. Friendly, Benchmarks

202 (1967). In any event, in reversing the district court's

decision with respect to promotion selection boards, we do not

decide whether proceedings of other statutory selection

boards are discoverable. Neither the district court nor the

parties addressed that as a distinct question, and analysis of it

may turn in part on a proper understanding of Section 618(f).

We accordingly vacate the district court's decision with

respect to continuation on active duty and selective early

retirement selection boards, and remand for further

consideration. The parties should be afforded the opportunity

to litigate, and the district court in the first instance to decide,

whether continuation on active duty and selective early

retirement board proceedings are protected, and to what

extent, in light of our decision on the proper reading of Section

618(f).

IV. The Chaplains' Pendent Claims

In their brief, the Chaplains present two additional

issues, arguing that the district court erred in rejecting their

claims that (1) Navy chaplains should be considered clergy,

not naval officers, for the purpose of evaluating their

constitutional claims, and (2) allowing Navy chaplains to sit

on promotion boards violates the Establishment Clause of the

First Amendment. See Appellees’ Br. at 46, 52-55. Recognizing

that these issues are not presently appealable by themselves,

the Chaplains nonetheless urge this court to exercise pendent

appellate jurisdiction to review them now.

"This court does not exercise pendent appellate

jurisdiction frequently or liberally." National R.R. Passenger

Corp. v. Expresstrak, 330 F.3d 523, 527 (D.C. Cir. 2003). Such

A-23

jurisdiction may be appropriate only when (1) a

“nonappealable order is ‘inextricably intertwined’ with the

appealable order," or (2) review of the nonappealable order is

" ‘necessary to ensure meaningful review’ " of the appealable

order. Gilda Marx, Inc. v. Wildwood Exercise, Inc., 85 F.3d 675,

679 (D.C. Cir. 1996) (quoting Swint v. Chambers County

Comm’n, 514 U.S. at 51). No such considerations are present in

this case. The Chaplains’ constitutional claims -- not even

presented on a cross-appeal -- are not intertwined with, nor

necessary to ensure meaningful review of, the statutory

privilege issue that is within our jurisdiction. We accordingly

decline to consider them.

+ + +

We reverse the district court's decision with respect to

promotion selection boards, vacate the district court's decision

with respect to continuation on active duty and selective early

retirement selection boards, and remand for further

proceedings consistent with this opinion. The petition for

mandamus is dismissed as moot.

A-24

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

No. 03-533 September Term, 2004

Filed On: September 21, 2004

[849249]

Chaplaincy of Full Gospel Churches, et al.,

Appellees,

v.

Gordon R. England, Secretary of the U.S. Navy, et al.,

Appellants

BEFORE: Ginsburg, Chief Judge, and Edwards

Henderson, Randolph, Rogers,

Tatel, Garland, and Roberts, Circuit

Judges

ORDER

Upon consideration of appellees’ petition for rehearing

en banc, and the absence of a request by any member of the

court for a vote, it is

ORDERED that the petition be denied.

Per Curiam

FOR THE COURT:

Mark J. Langer, Clerk

BY:

Michael C. McGrail

Deputy Clerk

A-25

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CiRCUIT

No. 03-533 September Term, 2004

. Filed On: October 4, 2004

[852610]

Chaplaincy of Full Gospel Churches, et al.,

Appellees,

Vv.

Gordon R. England, Secretary of the U.S. Navy, et al.,

Appellants

consolidated with 03-5334

ORDER

It is ORDERED on the court’s own motion, that the

order issued September 21, 2004 be amended to include the

consolidated case No. 03-5334.

FOR THE COURT:

Mark J. Langer, Clerk

BY:

Michael C. McGrail

Deputy Clerk

A-26

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

CHAPLAINCY OF FULL GOSPEL

CHURCHES, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

Vv. : Civil Action No.:

: 99-2945 (RMU)

HANSFORD JOHNSON,

Acting Secretary of the Navy, et al., : Document Nos.:

: 125, 129, 134, 135

Defendants _ : 137, 150

FILED

ROBERT H. ADAIR et al., : SEP 2 - 2003

: Nancy Mayer

Plaintiffs, : Whittington, Clerk

: U.S. District Court

v.

: Civil Action No:

HANSFORD T. JOHNSON, : 00-0566 (RMU)

Acting Secretary of the Navy, et al., :

Defendants.

MEMORANDUM OPINION

GRANTING THE PLAINTIFFS’ MOTION TO COMPEL;

DENYING OTHER PENDING DISCOVERY MOTIONS; AND

DIRECTING THE PARTIES TO SUBMIT A REVISED

JOINT STATUS REPORT

I. INTRODUCTION

This matter comes before the court on the plaintiffs’

= ee

acre

A-27

motion to compel the testimony of Navy chaplain selection-

board personnel. The plaintiffs, current and former Navy

chaplains, bring this suit against the Secretary, other Navy

officials, and the Navy alleging that the Navy's policies and

practices - including the selection-board process - favor

liturgical Christians over non-liturgical Christians in violation

of the First and Fifth Amendments to the Constitution. The

plaintiffs now wish to depose former members of chaplain

selection boards. The defendants contend that the requested

testimony is not relevant and assert the deliberative-process

privilege as well as an absolute or qualified statutory

privilege. Because the requested testimony is relevant, the

deliberative-process privilege does not apply, and no statutory

privilege exists, the court grants the plaintiffs’ motion. The

court also denies other pending discovery motions and directs

the parties to submit a revised joint status report.

II. BACKGROUND’

The plaintiffs in this case allege that the Navy has

established, promoted, and maintained religious quotas and

other discriminatory practices in the Navy Chaplain Corps in

violation of the First and Fifth Amendments. Second Am.

Compl. at 2. According to the plaintiffs, until the 1980s, the

Navy hired chaplains from various faith groups based on

objective criteria, such as the relative percentage a religion

represented in the total American population. Id. at 23-24. In

‘The plaintiffs in both this action and the related case of Adair v. Johnson

allege that the Navy has established and maintained an unconstitutional

religious quota system for promotion, assignments, and retention of

Navy chaplains, in violation of the First and Fifth Amendments. Adair

Second Am. Compl.; Chaplaincy Second Am. Compl. Pursuant to the

parties’ joint recommendation, the court consolidated the two cases for

pretrial purposes. Order dated Sept. 26, 2000. Because the plaintiffs filed

their motion to compel in the Chaplaincy care, however, the court draws

the factual history from the Chaplaincy complaint. For a more detailed

discussion of the factual backgrounds of both cases, see Adair v. England,

183 F. Supp. 2d 31 (D.D.C. 2002) and Chaplaincy of Full Gospel Churches v.

Danzig, No. 99-2945, slip op. at 2-7 (Aug. 17, 2000).

A-28

response to a shift in America's religious demographics away

from liturgical Protestant denominations and toward non-

liturgical Christian faith groups, however, the Navy allegedly

abandoned its objective criteria and adopted a subjective

"thirds policy.” Id. at 24. Under the thirds policy, the Navy

allegedly reserved one-third of its Chaplain Corps slots for

Catholics, one-third for liturgical Protestants, and one-third

for members of all other religions (including non-liturgical

Christians). Id.

According to the plaintiffs, the Navy applied the thirds

policy not only to accessions,’ but to promotions and

retentions. Id. at 25. To identify officers for promotion and

early retirement, the Navy uses selection boards that evaluate

a chaplain's capacity and potential for further service. Id. at 28,

30 (citing 10 U.S.C. §§ 612 et seq.). The plaintiffs allege that to

maintain liturgical control of the Chaplain Corps, the Navy

uses the promotion and early retirement selection boards to

diminish non-liturgical chaplains’ opportunity for promotion

and to "thin down" the number of non-liturgical chaplains at

the higher ranks by forcing them out of service. Id. at 24, 28,

32-33. In support of their allegations, the plaintiffs set forth

various statistics and anecdotal evidence. E.g., id. at 4-9, 14-17,

19-20, Exs. 2-4, 6. The plaintiffs also point to a 1995 report ("the

Ellis Report") noting a "clear" and "disconcerting" institutional

bias against non-liturgical chaplains in key Navy positions

and a 1997 report ("the Stafford Report") indicating that one

promotion board "may have systematically applied a

denominational quota system, perhaps to ensure balanced

denominational representation across the Chaplain Corps." Id.

at 26-27, 32, Exs. 5, 8.

The plaintiffs filed their complaint in November 1999.

*The term “accessions” refers to individuals the Chaplain Corps brings

into the Navy, either active duty or reserve, as commissioned officers

during the current fiscal year. Adair v. England, 217 F. Supp. 2d 7,9 n.5

(D.D.C. 2002) (quoting the Defendants’ submission).

A-29

Two years later, in January 2001, the court's Calendar

Committee transferred this case and the related case of Adair

v. Johnson, Civil Action No. 00-0566, to this member of the

court. On January 10, 2002, the court issued a comprehensive

memorandum opinion granting in part and denying in part

the defendants’ motion to dismiss both consolidated cases.

Adair v. England, 183 F. Supp. 2d 31 (D.D.C. 2002). The court

concluded, inter alia, that the plaintiffs had successfully stated

a claim that the defendants’ policies and practices violated the

Constitution.’ Id.

On October 29, 2002, the plaintiffs filed their motion to

compel the testimony of Navy chaplain selection-board

personnel.’ They contend that the testimony of selection-board

personnel is material to their claims, but that the Navy has

refused to allow such personnel to testify on the grounds that

the proceedings of a selection board "may not be disclosed to

any person not a member of the board." Pls.’ Mot. to Compel

("Pls.' Mot.") at 1 (citing 10 U.S.C. §§ 618(f)). On May 1, 2003,

3Since then, the court has issued rulings on several additional motions.

E.g., Chaplaincy of Full Gospel Churches v. Johnson, 276 F. Supp. 2d 82, 2003

U.S. Dist. LEXIS 13984, 2003 WL 21940397 (D.D.C. Aug. 14, 2003);

Chaplaincy of Full Gospel Churches v. Johnson, 276 F. Supp. 2d 79, 2003 U.S.

Dist. LEXIS 13280, 2003 WL 21783173 (D.D.C. Aug. 4, 2003); Adair v.

Johnson, 216 F.R.D. 183; 2003 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 11930, 2003 WL 21659610

(.D.C. 2003); Adair v. England, 217 F. Supp. 2d 7 (D.D.C. 2002); Adair v.

England, 209 F.R.D. 5 (D.D.C. 2002); Adair v. England, 209 F.R.D. 1 (D.D.C.

2002); Adair v. England, 217 F. Supp. 2d 1 (D.D.C. 2002); Adair v. England,

193 F. Supp. 2d 196 (D.D.C. 2002).

‘although the title of the plaintiffs’ motion refers only to chaplain

promotion boards, the text of the motion refers to chaplain selection

boards generally. Pls.’ Mot. at 1 (referring to the need for the testimony of

those associated with "chaplain selection boards"), 2 (requesting the

release of those associated with "chaplain selection boards . . including

promotion, selective early retirement . . . and other statutory boards").

Like the defendants, the court therefore assumes that the plaintiffs seek

discovery of all chaplain selection boards. Defs.’ Opp'n at 2 n.3.

A-30

the plaintiffs filed a motion asking the court to find that the

defendants have waived their opposition to the plaintiffs’

motion to compel, or, in the alternative, to allow them to file

their waiver motion as,a supplemental pleading. ” Pls.’ Waiver

Mot. The plaintiffs also filed a motion to alter the limits for the

number of depositions and interrogatories, motions to refer

the motion to alter and future discovery motions to a

magistrate judge, and a motion to vacate existing discovery

dates. The court turns first to the plaintiffs’ motion to compel,

and then to the remaining discovery motions.

Ill. ANALYSIS

A. Legal Standard for a Motion to Compel®

Under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 37(a), a party

may move the court in which the action is pending for an

order compelling disclosure. FED. R. CIV. P. 37(a). The party

must certify that the movant has conferred in good faith with

the party refusing disclosure in an effort to avoid court action.

Id. If the court grants the motion to compel, the court "shall,

after affording an opportunity to be heard, require the party

... whose conduct necessitated the motion . . . to pay to the

"The plaintiffs style their motion as a "Notice of Defendant's [sic])Waiver

of Opposition to Plaintiffs’ Motion for an Order Compelling the Secretary

of the Navy to Release Board Personnel from Their Oath of Secrecy or in

the Alterative a Motion to File a Supplemental Pleading.” Pls.’ Waiver

Mot. at 1.

° In this case, although the plaintiffs do not style their motion as a motion

to compel, everything about their motion is characteristic of a Rule 37

motion to compel. FED. R. Civ. P. 37(a). Specifically, the plaintiffs seek to

compel certain disclosures by the defendants. Pls.’ Mot. at 1; accord FED. R.

Civ. P. 37(a)(2). In addition, following Rule 37 procedures, the plaintiffs

"have requested on several occasions that the Secretary release board

members from their oath [and the] Navy has refused, necessitating this

motion." Pls.’ Mot. at 1-2; accord FED. R. CIV. P. 37(a)(2). Accordingly, the

defendants view the motion as a Rule 37 motion to compel, and the court

joins them in that view. E.g., Defs.' Opp'n at 32 & Ex. H.

ee ew ee

I Ni Bay ti PD

A-31

moving party the reasonable expenses incurred in making the

motion, including attorney's fees." Id. 37(a)(4); see also Standing

Order { 9. This award of expenses is intended to "deter the

abuse implicit in carrying or forcing a discovery dispute to

court when no genuine dispute exists." Cobell v. Norton ("Cobell

I"), 213 F.R.D. 16, 29 (D.D.C. 2003) (quoting FED. R. Civ. P.

37(a)(4) advisory committee's note).

A court may not award Rule 37 expenses, however, if

it finds, inter alia, that "the opposing party's nondisclosure,

response, or objection was substantially justified." FED. R. Civ.

P. 37(a)(4). An opposing party's objection qualifies as

‘substantially justified" if "there is a genuine dispute or if

reasonable people could differ as to the appropriateness of the

contested action." Pierce v. Underwood, 487 U.S. 552, 565 (1988);

Cobell v. Norton (“Cobell IT"), 213 F.R.D. 48, 61 (D.D.C. 2003); see

also 8A FED. PRAC. & PROC. § 2288 (stating that an objection to

a motion is substantially justified "if the motion raised an issue

about which reasonable people could genuinely differ on

whether a party was bound to comply with a discovery rule");

accord Pub. Citizen Health Research Group v. Young, 909 F.2d

546, 552 (D.C. Cir. 1990) (stating, in the context of the Equal

Access to Justice Act, that the question "is whether there was

a reasonable basis in fact and law for the government's

litigating position").

A trial court enjoys broad discretion in choosing a

sanction under Rule 37. Sturgis v. Am. Ass'n of Retired

Persons,1993 WL 518447, at *1 (D.C. Cir. 1993) (per curiam).

That said, "the central requirement of Rule 37 is that any

sanction must be just." Bonds v. District of Columbia, 93 F.3d

801, 808 (D.C. Cir. 1996).

B. The Parties' Arguments

The defendants advance three arguments in opposition

to the plaintiffs’ motion to compel. First, the defendants argue

that the testimony the plaintiffs seek is not relevant in light of

A-32

the statistical evidence before the court, and thus is not

discoverable under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 26(b).

Defs.' Opp'n at 5-16 (citing FED. R. Civ. P. 26(b)(1)). Second,

the defendants contend that even if the requested testimony

is relevant, it is absolutely protected from disclosure pursuant

to 10 U.S.C. § 618(f), the statute barring disclosure of selection-

_board deliberations. Id. at 16-19. Finally, the defendants state

that even if section 618(f) does not act as an absolute bar to

discovery, the requested testimony is protected by a qualified

statutory privilege or the deliberative-process privilege

because the government's interest in maintaining

confidentiality of board deliberations far outweighs the

plaintiffs’ need for the requested testimony. Id. at 19-31.

The plaintiffs counter each of these arguments.

Marshaling statistical evidence of their own, the plaintiffs

assert that the testimony they seek is relevant under Rule

26(b). Pls.’ Reply at 2-10. Moreover, according to the plaintiffs,

section 618(f) does not serve as an absolute bar to disclosure

for purposes of discovery. Pls.' Mot. at 8-9; Pls.' Reply at 11-13.

Nor, in the plairitiffs' view, does a qualified statutory privilege

apply, as the plaintiffs’ need for the testimony outweighs any

countervailing factors. Pls.’ Mot. at 16-19. As for the

deliberative-process privilege, the plaintiffs state that it cannot

apply because the integrity of the deliberative process here -

the Navy chaplain selection boards - is squarely at issue. Pls.’

Mot. at 5-8.

C. The Court Concludes That

the Requested Testimony Is Relevant

1. Relevance Under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure

26(b)(1)

Rule 26(b)(1) authorizes discovery "regarding any

matter, not privileged, that is relevant to the claim or defense

of any party.” FED. R. Civ. P. 26(b)(1). The term "relevance" is

broadly construed, and "relevant information need not be

A-33

admissible at the trial if the discovery appears reasonably

calculated to lead to the discovery of admissible evidence." Id.;

Food Lion, Inc. v. United Food & Comm‘! Workers Int'l Union, 103

F.3d 1007, 1012 (D.C. Cir. 1997); see also Smith v. Schlesinger,

513 F.2d 462, 473 n.37 (D.C. Cir. 1975) (noting that "a party

may discover information which is not admissible at trial if

such information will have some probable effect on the

organization and presentation of the moving party's case").

Put another way, "[a] showing of relevance can be viewed as

a showing of need[, as] for the purpose of prosecuting or

defending a specific pending civil action, one is presumed to

have no need of matter not relevant to the subject matter

involved in the pending action." Friedman v. Bache Halsey

Stuart Shields, Inc., 738 F.2d 1336, 1341 (D.C. Cir. 1984). That

said, relevancy does not encompass discovery of information

with "no conceivable bearing on the case." Id. (citing 8 FED.

PRAC. & PROC.2d § 2008). A trial court enjoys considerable

discretion over discovery matters. Id.; United States v. Krizek,

192 F.3d 1024, 1029 (D.C. Cir. 1999).

2. The Testimony of Selection-Board Personnel

Is Relevant Under Rule 26(b)(1)

The plaintiffs seek to obtain testimony from former

selection-board personnel with first-hand knowledge of

various board «ieliberations. Pls.’ Mot. at 1-2 & Exs. 4-5. Both

here and in the Adair case the plaintiffs claim that the Navy

has established, promoted, and maintained religious quotas

and other discriminatory practices favoring liturgical

Christian chaplains over non-liturgical chaplains in violation

of the First and Fifth Amendments. See generally Second Am.

Compl.; Adair Second Am. Compl. Throughout this litigation,

the plaintiffs repeatedly have cited the selection-board process

as a prime example of the Navy's allegedly discriminatory

practices. E.g., Second Am. Compl. at 27-28, 30-32; see also, e.g.,

Chaplaincy of Full Gospel Churches v. Johnson, 2003 WL

21940397, at *1 (D.D.C. Aug. 14, 2003); Adair v. Johnson, 216

F.R.D. 183, 2003 WL 21659610, at *3 (D.D.C. July 15, 2003);

A-34

Adair v. England, 217 F. Supp. 2d 7, 9-14 {D.D.C. 2002); Adair v.

England, 209 F.R.D. 5, 10 (D.D.C. 2002); Adair v. England, 183 F.

Supp. 2d 31, 42 (D.D.C. 2002). It is hard to argue that the

testimony of former selection-board personnel with direct

knowledge of board proceedings is not "relevant" and

“reasonably calculated to lead to the discovery of admissible

evidence" regarding alleged Navy discrimination against non-

liturgical chaplains in those very proceedings. FED. R. CIv. P.

26(b)(1); Food Lion, 103 F.3d at 1012; accord Alexander v. Fed.

Bureau of Investigation, 186 F.R.D. 170, 174 (D.D.C. 1999)

("Alexander I") (granting the "Filegate" plaintiffs’ motion to

compel testimony because their proposed questions were

reasonably calculated to lead to the discovery of a White

House connection to the release of Linda Tripp's security information).

The defendants, however, attempt to argue the point>

Specifically, the defendants contend that "anecdotal evidence"

of board proceedings cannot prove the plaintiffs’ allegations

of religious bias, and thus that the requested testimony cannot

be relevant. Defs.' Opp'n at 13-14 (listing cases holding that

anecdotal evidence is insufficient to prove a pattern or practice

of discrimination). But this logic would turn Rule 26 on its

head by requiring the plaintiffs to prove their claim before

permitting them to seek discovery. Although the defendants

may believe that the plaintiffs’ evidence is insufficient to

support their claims, "discovery is not to be denied because it

relates to a claim or defense that is being challenged as

insufficient.” 8 FED. PRAC. & PROC. C.2d § 2008. Accordingly,

the court concludes that the plaintiffs’ requested testimony is

relevant within the meaning of Rule 26(b)(1). FED. R. Civ. P.

26(b)(1); Food Lion, 103 F.3d at 1012.

D. The Court Concludes that the

Government-Misconduct Exception

Bars Application of the Deliberative-Process Privilege

1. The Deliberative-Process Privilege

ra

ee ee

A-35

The general purpose of the deliberative-process

privilege is to "prevent injury to the quality of agency

decisions.” Nat'l Labor Relations Bd. v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 421

U.S. 132, 151 (1975). The three policy objectives underlying the

privilege are (1) to encourage creative and candid discussions

within an agency and thereby improve the quality of agency

policy decisions; (2) to protect against premature disclosure of

proposed policies before final adoption, and (3) to protect the

integrity of the decision-making process by ensuring that

officials are judged by their final decision, rather than for

matters considered beforehand. Jordan v. Dep't Justice, 591 F.2d

753, 772-73 (D.C. Cir. 1978). Toward that end, the privilege

protects "documents and other materials that would reveal

advisory opinions, recommendations, and deliberations

comprising part of a process by which governmental decisions

and policies are formulated." In re Sealed Case, 121 F.3d 729,

737 (D.C. Cir. 1997) (quoting Sears, 421 U.S. at 150).

Accordingly, for the privilege to apply, the government must

show that the material is both predecisional and deliberative.

Id.

Because the deliberative-process privilege is a qualified

privilege, it may be overcome by a sufficient showing of need

by the party seeking discovery. Id. Once the government has

asserted the privilege, the court must balance the party's need

against the harm that may result from disclosure, taking into

account the relevance of the evidence, the availability of other

evidence, the seriousness of the litigation and the issues

involved, the role of the government in the litigation, and the

possibility of future timidity by government employees. Id. at

737-38; First E. Corp. v. Mainwaring, 21 F.3d 465, 468 n.5 (D.C.

Cir. 1994).

When there is any reason to believe that government

misconduct has occurred, however, our court of appeals has

made clear that the deliberative-process privilege disappears

altogether. In re Sealed Case, 121 F.3d at 746; In re Subpoena

Duces Tecum Served on the Office of the Comptroller of the

A-36

Currency, 145 F.3d 1422, 1424 (D.C. Cir. 1998) (noting that "if

the plaintiff's cause of action is directed at the government's

intent .. . it makes no sense to permit the government to use

the privilege as a shield"); see also Waters v. U.S. Capitol Police

Bd., 2003 WL 21004636, at *9 (D.D.C. May 6, 2003) (stating that

"it is iriconceivable" that Congress intended the deliberative-

process privilege to apply to information bearing on whether

an agency engaged in discrimination); Dominion Cogen D.C.,

Inc. v. District of Columbia, 878 F. Supp. 258, 268 (D.D.C. 1995)

(finding that the privilege does not apply where the plaintiff's

allegations "place the deliberative process itself directly in

issue"). Under this government-misconduct exception, the

court does not engage in the usual balancing test, but simply

concludes that the privilege does not "enter the picture at all."

In re Subpoena Duces Tecum, 145 F.3d at 1425; see also Alexander

I, 186 F.R.D. at 177 (rejecting as "incorrect" the government's

argument that the balancing test applies in the face of

identifiable government misconduct). To invoke the

government-misconduct exception, the party seeking

discovery must provide an adequate factual basis for believing

that the requested discovery would shed light upon

government misconduct. Judicial Watch of Fla. v. Dep't of

Justice, 102 F. Supp. 2d 6, 15-16 (D.D.C. 2000); Alexander v. Fed.

Bureau of Investigation, 186 F.R.D. 154, 164 (D.D.C. 1999)

("Alexander II").

2. The Plaintiffs Have Provided an Adequate Factual Basis

for Their Belief Regarding Government Misconduct

The defendants argue that the deliberative-process

privilege protects the requested testimony because selection-

board proceedings are both predecisional and deliberative.

Defs.’ Mot. at 20-21. Moreover, the defendants assert that the

government-misconduct exception does not apply because the

plaintiffs have provided no "reason to believe" that the

requested testimony would shed light on alleged Navy

sich pemaniaan

9 ae la

A-37

discrimination against non-liturgical chaplains.’ Id. at 22.

Specifically, the defendants contend that the plaintiffs’

statistics "bear out no systemic discrimination against non-

liturgicals as a class." Id. The plaintiffs dispute the defendants’

arguments, and point to evidence that they believe

demonstrates the Navy's misconduct. The plaintiffs cite to the

Stafford Report, along with a 1999 report by the inspector

general of the Department of Defense ("DoD IG report") and

a 1998 investigation by the inspector general of the Navy

("Navy IG report"), all of which the plaintiffs say raise

questions about the impartiality of the chaplain selection

boards. Pls.' Mot. at 6, 10-13 & Ex. 2; Pls.' Reply at 3. The

plaintiffs also cite to various statistics that they believe

demonstrate the application of the thirds policy to chaplain

promotions. Pls.’ Mot. at 13-16 & Exs. 9-10.

Without addressing the merits of the plaintiffs’ claims,

the court concludes that the plaintiffs have provided an

adequate factual basis for their belief that the requested

testimony will provide evidence of government misconduct.

Alexander II, 186 F.R.D. at 165. The various reports and

statistics cited by the plaintiffs are adequate at this stage to

support a belief that the Navy engaged in discrimination

against non-liturgical chaplains.* Id. (finding that the inclusion

”As an aside, the defendants take issue with the plaintiffs’

characterization of government misconduct as an automatic exception to

the deliberative-process privilege. Defs.' Mot. at 22 n.9 (adopting the

position of the government defendants in Alexander I, 186 F.R.D. at 177).

The defendants suggest that "the proper analysis of the deliberative

process privilege would involve the court's consideration of government

misconduct as a factor in balancing of the interests, but not as an

automatic exception to application of the deliberative process privilege."

Id. In ligh: of the clear statements by our court of appeals, however, this

court agrees with Judge Lamberth's conclusion that the defendants’

suggestion is "simply incorrect." Alexander I, 186 F.R.D. at 178.

’The court's conclusion that the plaintiffs’ statistics provide an adequate

basis for a belief in Navy misconduct does not pass judgment on the

relative strengths of the parties’ statistics. Alexander II, 186 F.R.D. at 164-

A-38

of certain misinformation in draft responses to members of

Congress about Filegate provided an adequate basis to be lieve

that government misconduct had occurred); cf. Judicial Watch;

102 F. Supp. 2d at 15-16 (holding that the plaintiff's bare and

unsupported allegation of misconduct by the Attorney

General did not provide an adequate basis to believe that

discovery would shed light on government misconduct).

Because the plaintiffs have adequately provided a reason to

believe that Navy misconduct has occurred, the deliberative-

process privilege disappears and cannot prevent discovery of

the requested testimony. In re Subpoena Duces Tecum, 145 F.3d

at 1424; In re Sealed Case, 121 F.3d at 746.

E. The Court Concludes that Section 618(f)

Does Not Bar Limited Discovery

1. Statutory Bans on Publication’

"It is well-settled in this circuit that general statutory

~

65 (distinguishing between proving misconduct and providing a basis for

a belief in misconduct). The court is acutely aware of the disagreements

between the parties over the use and accuracy of statistical data

regarding, inter alia, Navy chaplain accessions and promotions. E.g.,

Adair, 217 F. Supp. 2d at 15. In fact, toward that end, the court has

stressed that "a thorough discovery period will greatly assist the court in

evaluating the merits of the parties’ claims." Id.

*In their analysis, the parties cite to St. Regis and Women in Science, two

cases that analyze statutes barring disclosure of confidential reports. Pls.’

Mot. at 8 (citing St. Regis Paper Co. v. United States, 368 U.S. 208 (1962) and

Ass'n for Women in Science v. Califano, 566 F.2d 339, 346 (D.C. Cir. 1977));

Defs.' Opp'n at 16-19 (same). In contrast to section 618(f), however, the

statutes at issue in St. Regis and Women in Science focus on disclosure of

confidential reports received from citizens. Defs.' Opp'n at 18; St. Regis,

368 U.S. at 295; Women in Science, 566 F.2d at 343, 346. Because the

confidential-reports privilege is not at issue in this case, however, the

court instead looks to authority addressing with statutes that bar the

publication or disclosure of information. E.g., Laxalt v. McClatchy, 258 USS.

App. D.C. 44, 809 F.2d 885, 887 n.7 (D.C. Cir. 1987) (examining Privacy

Act proscriptions on disclosure of records).

A-39

bans on publication do not bar limited disclosure in judicial

proceedings, including court-supervised discovery." Laxalt v.

McClatchy, 258 U.S. App. D.C. 44, 809 F.2d 885, 889 (D.C. Cir.

1987). Two factors underlie this conclusion. First, full access by

the courts and litigants to relevant information is “an

important foundation for the achievement of justice by the

courts in individual lawsuits." Freeman v. Seligson, 132 U.S.

App. D.C. 56, 405 F.2d 1326, 1348 (D.C. Cir. 1968). Second, the

purpose of statutory publication bans is not to prevent

discovery, but rather to prevent the broadcasting of sensitive

information to the general public. Friedman, 738 F.2d at 1343-

44. Moreover, our court of appeals has declined to infer a

qualified privilege from statutory publication bans, given that

“wh re Congress has thought it necessary to protect against

court use of records [it] has expressly so provided by specific

language." Id. at 1343 (internal quotations omitted); see also

Laxalt, 809 F.2d at 889 (stating that "we . . . refuse[] to infer the

creation of a qualified privilege from congressional silence’).

Instead, Congress "must clearly and strongly indicate its intent

to contradict [the] broad objective favoring disclosure in

judicial proceedings." Friedman, 738 F.2d at 1343 (internal

quotations omitted).

Although statutory publication bans do not bar

discovery, they are relevant in determining the appropriate

scope and manner of discovery. Laxalt, 809 F.2d at 889. The

interests protected by statutory publication bans "reflect a

congressional judgment that certain delineated categories of

documents may contain sensitive data which warrants a more

considered and cautious treatment." Id. (quoting Friedman, 738

F.2d at 1344). Therefore, in exercising its supervision of

discovery, a court “must accord the proper weight to the

policies underlying these statutory protections, and compare

them with the factors supporting discovery in a particular

A-40

lawsuit.""° Id. A court then may use traditional devices - such

as protective orders or in camera inspection - to shape a

discovery plan that will give effect to liberal discovery rules

without threatening the interests protected by statutory

publication bans. Id. (noting that "the courts can limit . . . the

persons having access to information, their freedom to discuss

[that] information . . . and the uses to which the information

may be put").

2. Section 618(f) Does Not Bar Limited

Disclosure in Judicial Proceedings

As noted, the statute at issue here is section 618, which

governs military board deliberations for active-duty service

members, including chaplains. 10 U.S.C. § 618. Section 618(f)

states that "except as authorized or required by this section,

proceedings of a selection board convened under section

611(a) of this title may not be disclosed to any person not a

member of the board." Id. To comply with section 618(f), all

selection-board personnel take an oath swearing or affirming

that they "will not divulge the proceedings of this board

except as authorized or required by the Secretary of the Navy

or higher authority." Pls.' Mot. Ex. 1.

The defendants assert that section 618(f) creates a

blanket prohibition against disclosure (including discovery) of

selection-board proceedings. Defs.' Opp'n at 16-17. Stressing

One court has interpreted Friedman's "proper weight" analysis as

requiring the classic balancing of confidentiality - vs. - need as a

prerequisite to allowing discovery to proceed. Gould, Inc. v. Mitsui Mining

& Smelting Co., Ltd., 139 F.R.D. 244, 246 (D.D.C. 1991) (citing Friedman, 738

F.2d at 1344). A close reading of Laxalt reveals that the court's “proper

weight" analysis serves not as a prerequisite to discovery, however, but

simply as an aid to the court in determining how to exercise its traditional

authority to limit disclosure. Laxalt, 809 F.2d at 889-90 (stating that “a test

of necessity [is not] a prerequisite to initiating discovery of records" and

that "the need to balance conflicting interests is entirely different from the

proposition . . . that [records] are exempt . . . from civil discovery absent a

specific showing of need" (emphasis in original)).

A-41

Congress’ "clear direction that the deliberations of the boards

be disclosed to no person not a member of the board," the

defendants state that section 618(f) "addresses government

information about the official conduct of military offices in a

sensitive and important matter, and expressly protects that

information to anyone, save the Secretary.” Id. at 18-19.

Alternatively, the defendants argue that section 618(f) creates

a qualified privilege, and that the plaintiffs’ need for the

requested testimony does not outweigh the government's

interest in preventing its disclosure. Id. at 19, 26. The plaintiffs

dispute both arguments. First, the plaintiffs state that section

618(f) does not create an absolute bar to discovery. Pls.' Mot.

at 8-9. Second, the plaintiffs contend that even if section 618(f)

creates a qualified privilege, the court should extend the

government-misconduct exception to section 618(f) and allow

discovery. Id. at 9.

Following the directive of our court of appeals, the

court looks to the plain language of section 618(f) to determine

whether it creates an absolute or qualified privilege against

discovery. Laxalt, 809 F.2d at 889; Friedman, 738 F.2d at 1343.

Because section 618(f) does not contain specific language

barring discovery, and because of the circuit's emphasis on

providing litigants full access to relevant information, the

court concludes that section 618(f) does not create an absolute

or qualified privilege barring discovery of selection-board

proceedings. Id. The court therefore grants the plaintiffs’

motion to compel.

Remaining before the court, however, is the relevance

of section 618(f) in determining the appropriate scope and

manner of discovery. Laxalt, 809 F.2d at 889. Toward that end,

the court must weigh the policies underlying section 618(f)

against the factors supporting discovery here. Id.

Looking first to the policies underlying section 618(f),

the court notes that the legislative history of section 618(f),

although somewhat sparse, indicates that Congress enacted

A-42

the provision "to encourage candid discussions free from

outside interference.” S. REP. 102-482, at 2 (1992); accord Defs..'

Opp'n Ex. H ("England Decl.") (stating that "free, uninhibited,

and candid deliberations by selection boards are . . . vital to

the effective functioning of the selection board process" and

that "release of information regarding these proceedings to the

public will severely undermine the [Navy's] ability to

effectively operate its promotion and selective early retirement

systems”). At the same time, the legislative history of the act

that established section 618(f) as part of the selection-board

process reveals Congress’ steadfast interest in ensuring a

uniform and merits-based selection system. E.g., H.R. REP. 96-

1462, at 3, 66-69 (1980), reprinted in 1980 U.S.C.C.A.N. 6333

(describing the new uniform selection-board procedures of the

1980 Defense Officer Personnel Management Act).

Congressional pronouncements since then have emphasized

the need to maintain "the integrity of a selection system that

provides all officers with a fair opportunity to be selected on

merit" and to "keep the promotion system fair and free from

manipulation." 133 CONG. REC. $10642-02 (daily ed. July 24,

1987) (statement of Sen. Nunn); see also S. REP. No. 102-1, at 24

1991) (indicating that "the integrity of the promotion process

is essential to the integrity of the officer corps"); S. REP. No.

102-113 (1991) (stating that "[board] selections must be fair,

impartial and based upon demonstrated potential instead of

subjective criteria, and they must be seen as such by our

officer corps"). Taken together, these actions indicate that

Congress views section 618(f) as a means of promoting frank

discussions among selection-board personnel, but does so in

the context of ensuring the overall integrity of the armed

forces selection systein. Laxalt, 809 F.2d at 889.

Turning to the factors supporting discovery, the court

notes that, given the confidentiality created by the oath, only

selection-board personnel - the witnesses to the decision-

making process - have direct knowledge of possible religious

discrimination in the selection-board process. The defendants

suggest that the plaintiffs instead pursue discovery regarding

A-43

the Navy's allegedly discriminatory intent by interviewing the

Chaplain Corps leadership and regarding the Navy's bias by

testing the accuracy of the defendants’ promotion board

statistics. Defs.' Opp'n at 30. But these alternatives do not

constitute direct evidence, and this court has already indicated

that it would defer until after discovery its decision as to how

much of the plaintiffs’ initial showing of a suggestion of

denominational preference must be composed of statistical

evidence. Adair, 217 F. Supp. 2d at 15 n.9.

Accordingly, the scope and manner of discovery in this

case must take into account the defendants’ interest in

preventing a chill in selection-board discussions, the

defendants’ interest in maintaining integrity in selection-board

proceedings, and the plaintiffs’ interest in direct evidence of

possible religious discrimination. Laxalt, 809 F.2d at 889. The

court therefore exercises its supervisory authority to permit

the plaintiffs to conduct limited discovery of selection-board

personnel in a manner that is focused and that minimizes the

possibility of harm to the selection-board process. Id. at 889-

90. Rather than impose a discovery plan from above, however,

the court directs the parties - who know their nature and

extent of their interests far better than the court - to jointly

propose a plan of discovery regarding the testimony of

selection-board personnel.

Finally, because the court grants the plaintiffs’ motion

to compel, Rule 37(a)(4) directs the court to require the

defendants to pay reasonable expenses unless the defendants’

objection was "substantially justified." FED. R. CIv. P. 37(a)(4).

In this case, the court concludes that the defendants’

opposition to the plaintiffs’ motion to compel was

substantially justified because "reasonable people could differ"

on whether the defendants, having asserted a deliberative-

process or statutory privilege, were bound to comply with

A-44

discovery rules." Pierce, 487 U.S. at 565; accord In re Multi-Piece

Rim Prods. Liability Litig., 653 F.2d 671, 680 (D.C. Cir. 1981)

(affirming the district court's finding of substantial

justification in part because of the subtlety of the legal issues

presented). Accordingly, awarding reasonable expenses

against the defendants would not be just and would not serve

the rule's purpose of deterring unwarranted discovery

objections. Bonds, 93 F.3d at 808; Cobell I, 213 F.R.D. at 29; FED.

R. Clv. P. 37(a)(4) advisory committee's note.

F. The Court Denies Other Pending Discovery Motions and

Directs the Parties to Submit a Revised Status Report

The court now turns to the plaintiffs’ motion asking the

court to find that the defendants have waived their opposition

to the plaintiffs’ motion to compel, or, in the alternative, to

allow them to file their waiver motion as a supplemental

pleading. In this waiver motion, the plaintiffs raise two

concerns. First, the plaintiffs theorize that the def-ndants have

waived any privilege by propounding an interrogatory that

seems to direct the plaintiffs (including those plaintiffs who

served as selection-board personnel) to divulge selection-

board proceedings in violation of both section 618(f) and their

oath. Pls.’ Waiver Mot. at 2-11. Second, the plaintiffs state that

as a result of the defendants’ actions, they face a Hobson's

choice of violating discovery rules or their oath. Id. at 10-11. In

light of the court's decision today, the plaintiffs’ motion is

moot, and the court denies it as such.”

"The court also notes that the parties raised their disagreement regarding

discovery of selection-board proceedings early on, giving the court ample

advance notice of the existence and non-frivolous nature of the dispute.

E.g., Joint LCvR 16.3 Report dated Feb. 4, 2002.

"As an aside, the court notes that any Hobson's choice disappeared as

soon as the plaintiffs consulted with the defendants. Prior to the filing of

the motion, the defendants’ counsel attempted both orally and in writing

to clarify the disputed interrogatory. Defs.' Resp. at 4 & Ex. A. These

communications from the defendants’ counsel should have resolved any

dilemma allegedly facing the plaintiffs as a result of the defendants’

A-45

As for the remaining discovery motions, the court

denies without prejudice the plaintiffs' motion to alter the

limits for the number of depositions and interrogatories, along

with the plaintiffs’ motions to refer that motion and future

discovery motions to a magistrate judge.’ The court also

denies as moot the plaintiffs' motion to vacate the discovery

dates set forth in the parties’ October 1, 2002 joint status

report."

Accordingly, the court directs the parties to submit a

revised joint status report that outlines not only the parties’

plan of discovery regarding the testimony of selection-board

personnel (as described in part III.E.2 supra), but proposes an

amended discovery schedule that takes into account the

parties’ progress to date and the current posture of the case.”°

Because both parties have indicated an eagerness to move

forward on discovery, the court expects the parties to actively

continue working on discovery matters as they draft their

amended schedule. E.g., Defs.' Resp. to Pls.’ Status Report &

Mot. ("Defs.' Resp.") at 3 (stating that "defendants oppose an

infinite, unending discovery timetable that gives plaintiffs no

incentive whatsoever to diligently pursue discovery and bring

this matter to a decision on the merits"); Pls.’ Reply to Defs.'

Resp. at 2 (stating that "delay [in discovery] only harms

plaintiffs and helps the defendants").

interrogatory.

'5On June 26, 2003, the court granted the parties’ request to hold the

plaintiffs’ motion to alter in abeyance until the parties complied with the

court's Standing Order. Order dated June 26, 2003.

‘4 Although the court has not issued a formal schedule for discovery in

this case, the parties established a discovery schedule as part of their

court-ordered October 1, 2002 status report, and that schedule has guided

the parties’ efforts to date. Status Report dated Oct. 1, 2002.

The court expects that in this effort, the parties will stipulate to

reasonable alterations to the deposition and interrogatory limitations, and

will resolve any outstanding issues regarding expert disclosures.

A-46

Finally, to keep this case on track, the court puts the

parties on notice that it expects a maximum of cooperation

and a minimum of filings from the parties. Toward that end,

the court will henceforth strictly enforce its Standing Order

and the federal and local discovery rules, imposing sanctions

when warranted.

IV. CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the court grants the

plaintiffs’ motion to compel and denies other pending

discovery motions. An order consistent with this

Memorandum Opinion is separately and contemporaneously

issued this 2nd day of September, 2003.

Ricardo M. Urbina

United States District Judge

A-47

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

ROBERT H. ADAIR, et al.

Plaintiffs,

v. : Civil Action No.:

: 00-0566 (RMU)

GORDON R. ENGLAND,

Secretary of the Navy, et al., : Document Nos.:

: 5, 7,8, 11, 19,23

Defendants’ :

FILED

. CHAPLAINCY OF FULL : JAN 10 2002

GOSPEL CHURCHES, et al. : Nancy Mayer

| : Whittington, Clerk

. Plaintiffs, | U.S. District Court

v.

: Civil Action No:

HANSFORD T. JOHNSON, : 99-2945 (RMU)

Acting Secretary of the Navy, et al., : Document Nos.:

‘Zo, 42

Defendants.

MEMORANDUM OPINION

DENYING IN PART AND GRANTING IN PART THE DEFENDANTS'

MOTION TO DISMISS; DENYING AS MOOT THE DEFENDANTS'

MOTION TO HOLD THE PROCEEDINGS IN ABEYANCE; DENYING

WITHOUT PREJUDICE THE PLAINTIFFS' MOTION FOR PARTIAL

SUMMARY JUDGMENT; DENYING WITHOUT PREJUDICE THE

PLAINTIFFS' MOTION TO ALLOW A CHAPLAIN PLAINTIFF TO

USE A PSEUDONYM

A-48

I. INTRODUCTION

These cases incite a probing scrutiny of the First

Amendment's Establishment and Free Exercise Clauses. While

the vast majority of First Amendment religion cases involve

laws or governmental policies that allegedly promote or

inhibit religion in relation to the secular realm (e.g., school-

voucher cases, prayer-in-school cases), the instant cases

implicate the more unusual claim that governmental policies

favor one religion over another.

Although the above-captioned cases are not

consolidated for all purposes, they have been consolidated for

purposes of the pending motions.' In the Chaplaincy case, the

plaintiffs are an endorsing agency for military chaplains and

seven of its individual members. In the Adair case, the

plaintiffs are 17 current and former non-liturgical chaplains in

the Department of the Navy ("the defendants", "Navy", or

"DON"). In both cases, the plaintiffs allege that the Navy has

established and maintained an unconstitutional religious

quota system for promotion, assignments, and retention of

Navy chaplains, in violation of both the Establishment Clause

and the Free Exercise Clause of the First Amendment, and the

Equal Protection Clause of the Fifth Amendment. Specifically,

the plaintiffs allege that the Navy's policies and practices favor

liturgical Christian chaplains over non-liturgical Christian

chaplains.

The principal motion before the court is the

defendants’ motion to dismiss the complaint in the Adair case.

' In January 2001, the court's Calendar Committee transferred both of

these cases from Judge June Green to this member of the court. In an

order dated September 26, 2000, Judge Green accepted the parties’ joint

recommendation and consolidated the two cases for purposes of the

pending motions. See Order dated September 26, 2000. The parties agree

that their briefs on the Adair case control and that the court should apply

its rulings on the Adair motions to the Chaplaincy case as well. See

Stipulation dated September 25, 2000.

A-49

For the reasons that follow, the court will deny in part and

grant in part the defendants’ motion to dismiss. In addition,

because the court declines to convert the defendants’ motion

to dismiss into a motion for summary judgment, the court will

deny without prejudice the plaintiffs’ motion for partial

summary judgment and will order a briefing schedule on the

piaintiffs' motion.

Moreover, because the court will now resolve the

defendants’ motion to dismiss, the court will deny as moot the

defendants’ motion to hold in abeyance the proceedings on the

plaintiffs’ motion for partial summary judgment until the

court resolves the defendants' motion to dismiss. Lastly, the

plaintiffs filed a motion to allow one chaplain plaintiff, who

feared harassment and retaliation, to use a pseudonym to

pursue this litigation. Because the plaintiffs filed a motion for

class certification, which would render the motion for a

pseudonym moot, the court will deny without prejudice the

plaintiffs’ motion to allow one plaintiff to use a pseudonym

and will revisit the issue, if necessary, after the court has ruled

on the plaintiffs’ motion for class certification.

II. BACKGROUND

A. Factual History’

1. The Navy Chaplain Corps

Congress provided for the organization of the Navy

Chaplain Corps, whose members are commissioned Naval

officers who possess specialized education, training, and

experience "to meet the spiritual needs of those who serve in

? For purposes of the instant motion to dismiss, the court must accept all

the complaint's well-pled factual allegations as true and draw all

reasonable inferences in the plaintiff's favor. See Scheuer v. Rhodes, 416

U.S. 232, 236 (1974), overturned on other grounds by Harlow v. Fitzgerald,

457 U.S. 800 (1982). Indeed, the defendants acknowledge this point in

their motion to dismiss. See Mot. to Dismiss at 4 n. 1.

A-50

the Navy and their families." See Adair First Am. Compl.

("Compl.") at 21; see also Mot. to Dismiss at 4 (citing 10 U.S.C.

§ 5142); Katcoff v. Marsh, 755 F.2d 223 (2d Cir. 1985) (rejecting

Establishment Clause challenge to Army chaplaincy program

since such program was necess

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Chaplaincy of Full Gospel Churches v. England · 543 U.S. 1152 | Frix