Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Breneman v. United States ex rel. Federal Aviation Administration

Supreme Court brief2005

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

-~ Supreme Court, U.S.

/ FILED

“No. 04-

~ Oa 727 NOV 25 2004

IN THE ued

Supreme Court of the United States

JOHN BRENEMAN and WILLIAM D. BRENEMAN,

Petitioners,

Vv.

UNITED STATES EX REL.; THE FEDERAL AVIATION

ADMINISTRATION; COMMONWEALTH OF

MASSACHUSETTS EX. REL.; MASSACHUSETTS

AERONAUTICS COMMISSION; 70 ACERS OF LAND

A/K/A/ TANNER HILLER AIRPORT,

Respondents.

On PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES Court OF APPEALS

FOR THE First CIRCUIT

—_——-— Sanna ~-—

nem a

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

= enn a

WILLIAM D. BRENEMAN

Counsel of Record

PETER J. GEORGES

BRENEMAN & GEORGES

3150 Commonwealth Avenue

Alexandria, Virginia 22305

(703) 683-8006

Counsel for Petitioners

191112 ce]

COUNSEL PRESS

(800) 274-3321 * (800) 359-6859

te’

CP ee ae ome - ee

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The First Circuit Court of Appeals affirmed the summary

judgment decision of the District Court concluding

petitioners quiet title and pendant constitutional and equitable

claims were barred by the principles of res judicata and

sovereign immunity due to the decision of the United States

Court of Federal Claims. A petition for a writ of certiorari

No. 04-496 from the Federal Circuit has been filed to review

the decision of the United States Court of Federal Claims.

This petition for a writ of certiorari from the First Circuit

seeks review of the court decisions that allow the public the

right of free transit across petitioners’ property and prevent

petitioners from removing illegal buried waste, erecting a

boundary fence and quieting title to their property.

Three questions are presented:

1. Does the Fifth Amendment provide protection

against Governmental action that prevents a private

landowner from removing illegal buried waste and

erecting a boundary fence in order to grant the public

the right of transit on the surface and at least three

feet below the surface of private property.

2. Did the waiver of sovereign immunity in actions to

quiet title under 28 U.S.C. § 2409a include the State

where the State claims an interest in the same

property as claimed by the United States and where

the State Constitution prohibits the taking of private

property for public use and the State voluntarily

participated in the regulatory regime established by

Congress.

i

Did Congress in dividing jurisdiction between the

Article III district courts and the Article I Federal

Court of Claims intend to impair the vitality of the

Fifth Amendment by allowing the limited

jurisdiction of the Article I court to become

res judicata over an action to quiet title under

28 U.S.C. § 2409a.

lil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ...........2cece00- i

pe ge ee ili

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES ............ Vv

py Se xii

nL scare aiuues eden ieee 1

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION ............. 1

CONSTITUTIONALAND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED ................. l

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ................. 2

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ... —i0

I. Does the Fifth Amendment Provide

Protection Against Governmental Action That

Prevents A Private Landowner From

Removing Illegal Buried Waste And Erecting

a Boundary Fence in Order to Grant the Public

the Right of Transit on the Surface and at

Least Three Feet Below the Surface of Private

CT ULUse Des 6400s bk eesehenscees ll

iv

Contents

Page

II. Did The Waiver Of Sovereign Immunity

In Actions To Quiet Title Under 28 U.S.C.

§ 2409a Include The State Where The State

Claims An Interest In The Same Property As

Claimed By The United States And Where

The State Constitution Prohibits The Taking

Of Private Property For Public Use And

The State Voluntarily Participated In

The Regulatory Regime Established By

ES bseakteedecd rived es saneie yes 18

Ill. Congress in Dividing Jurisdiction Between

Article III District Courts and the Article I

Federal Court of Claims Did Not Intend to

Impair The Vitality of the Fifth Amendment

By Allowing The Limited Jurisdiction Of The

Article I Court To Become Res Judicata Over

An Action To Quiet Title Under 28 U.S.C.

PS Ri secsisevesepdvneeuserneses: 23

CMY 90 kWh ds eendsd dwetetewcessens 30

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases .

Angelle v. State,

Bt La. COG Cw. TOGED noo d ic ckcsectcinsdses 22

Block v. North Dakota,

S61 UB. SIR CeeE hav hepa aawkasesveniee passim

Bowen v. Massachusetts,

GOT Uh ee Cle ba vd a euwhoeencaeatiasae 25, 29

Brown v. Hotel and Restaurant Employees and

Bartenders Int’I Union Local 54,

ge ee Pe ey er rey rae 21

California v. Arizona,

WES: SOCOTOD Ki edkeavasbaeeaeeeneee 24, 25

California v. Deep Sea Research, Inc.,

— 523 US. G91 CIF9E) oon cece cece scsscsecen 21

Cameron v. United States,

sf ope Se 2). re mr eis 12

Camfield v. United States,

SUT UE: DER CUED be nacdaceiccscce cet 12, 14

Cereghino v. State,

mae Ge. Be Oe EDGED i ko ocd de anawnas apy: 22

Chicago v. International College of Surgeons,

S22 US. TIOGISGT) 2k nevsiscassebuaceee 24

vi

Cited Authorities

City of Burbank v. Lockheed Air Terminal,

411 US. GOS CISTSD acccccecdsacasecsenanes

Cromwell v. County of Sac.,

94 U.S. S50 CIGTED a vcccccacccccettecdstes

Crosby v. National Foreign Trade Council,

SIO UB. TI GISS cccaccccscdcgnecanenus

Dillard v. Austin Indep. School Dist.,

806 S.W.2d 589 (Tex. Ct. App. 1991) ........

Eastern Enterprises v Apfel,

SO4 U.S. GOS CIPS ccdccvvccccisdactauads

FCC v. Florida Power Corp.,

4B0 U.S. BES (USET) cccccccccvccscesessens

Kaiser Aetna v. United States,

444 U.S. 164(1979) ......... cece ccueecees

Kelso, et al. v. City of New London, et al.,

INO, OGEGG, ccccccncccqecccusesgucesesese

Loretto Teleprompter v. Manhattan CATV Corp.,

456 UB. GPCRS 0 ecesscccnccwencnanens

Minnesota Co. v. National Co.,

TOUS. SACHUER co i.cccscsasuss eee

vii

Cited Authorities

Minnesota v. United States,

gS Re Pree ers ere

Montana v. United States,

Se ED oc ccdacnddusbdarsenaaees

Morse v. Stocker & Others,

Se ED 8 ob 0d 06006000880084%5

Nevada vy. United States,

EE fal civ u ou os es oeneeceketenws

New Hampshire v. Maine, 532 U.S. 742 (2001) ...

Northern Pipeline Co. v. Marathon Pipe Line, Co.,

458 U.S. 50 (1982) stayed 459 U.S. 813 (1982)

Pennhurst State School & Hosp. v. Halderman (II),

ee She EEE: Colatite ues Jasbevesawenens

Pumpelly v. Greenbay and Mississippi Canal Co.,

PE UTE oc abackockseseunaebwasses

Rice Hope Plantation v. South Carolina

Pub. Serv. Authority,

Se I NNUD oc cedccdccssncnases

Schumette v. State,

147 Neb. 193 (Neb. 1946) ...... Ce ype eRe

Page

28

26

Vill

Cited Authorities

Page

State v. 0.24148, etc., Acres of Land,

53 Del. 439, 171 A.2d 228 (Del. 1961) ........ 22

United States v. Causby,

DE ED 6b b6b bid o denne bank dscns 12

United States v. City of New Haven,

496 F.2d 452 (2d Cir. 1974), cert. denied and app.

dism’d, 419 U.S. 958 (1974) ............0.45. 14

United States v. Mitchell,

ee Gh RUUD Sic kcecdesssadesvon neds 25

United States v. Pewee Coal Co.,

ee Ce A aS ei Vad enisad eicuns ess 17

Verizon Md. Inc. v. Public Serv. Comm'n of MD,

ee Ge PD 6-6 occu hionwee nike de ness 21

Weber v. Board of Harbor Comm'rs,

Se Pe EE cba cbbatbwatcuesanasedoas 20

YMCA v. United States,

Be Ss EOE 6c ccknsodseeewabe voennes 17

ix

Cited Authorities

Page

Statutes

pe Lae b>) te rr re seo passim

A, ee ee

Be SLC EE 6b ha Seeks nbs a dee dnens passim

p gE oe Os re ne eer passim

gE a PP errr re rer ee TT eT errr? passim

ee OS oe do ee a kd Peed ee passim

gee Fl Ie errr en err passim

49 U.S.C. § 40103(a)(1) and (a)(2) ............ passim

i Mop | rr er a ree re passim

Re EE nied sek Sckicreaneeiaeneas passim

TE hepa veadn eeivs descceaknanes passim

DEARL. COON DOS FSM ow overs secencrenen passim

DE ARE is CRORE FOG OG occ cece cctcacnensn passim

eo El eg A 2S ree ere arr passim

gin Se ee Ae | nr re passim

x

Cited Authorities

Page

Other Authorities

Airport Design Advisory Circular 150/53001 ..... 2, 15

61% Edition of the New York Sectional Chart ..... 6

Airport Directory of the Airman’s Information

Pe OPE rrr ey yer yp Eee ren Te +

Black's Law Dictionary, 341 (5 ed. 1979) ........ ll

Black s Law Dictionary, 893 (8 ed. 2004) ........ 12

R. Frost North of Boston, “Mending Wall” (1914)... 12

Powell on Real Property,Vol. 9 § 68.03[3] p 68-10

: Sen ieead tne eee deter aeeae ee eae 14

Constitutional Law Principles and Policies,

Chemerinsky Second Edition p. 179 (2002) .... 18

Restatement (Second) of Judgments §§ 11, 26 (1982)

OP LT TE re ee Te Te eee eer, OT ee 26

D. Sharpiro Civil Procedure: Preclusion in Civil

Aetions 25, 2B-29 (2001) occ cceanscccccines 26-27

xi

Cited Authorities

Page

Constitutional Provisions

RFs Gs PUIG W cccsncicoccnnctessasncsesegas passim

Article 10 of the Constitution of the Commonwealth

er cL veh ean wee 3 1, 22, 23

xii

TABLE OFAPPENDICES

Appendix A — Opinion Of The United States Court

Of Appeals For The First Circuit Dated August

SEE Cake ck eaten tae en ee eee

Appendix B — Memorandum Decision Of

The United States District Court For The

District Of Massachusetts Dated September 23,

BP hike eonnsal sand ek a weienecaweuens

Appendix C we Stipulation Of Dismissal Entered In

WCV 1992-2705 Entered On April 2, 2001 ....

Appendix D — Constitutional Provisions And

Seen Tee eer EP err etree

Page

la

l6a

24a

See mee = —

l

OPINIONS BELOW

The First Circuit Court of Appeals judgment is reported at

381 F.3d 33 (1* Cir. 2003) and is included as Appendix A. The

Judgment of the District Court is published at 2003 WL

22203684 (D. Mass 2003) and is reprinted as Appendix B.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals for the First Circuit

was entered on August 25, 2004. This petition for writ of

certiorari was filed within 90 days of that date. This Court’s

jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

United States Constitution

Amendment V [1791]

No person shall be held to answer for a

capital, or otherwise infamous crime, unless on a

presentment or indictment of a Grand Jury, except

in cases arising in the land or naval forces, or in the

Militia, when in actual service in time of War or

public danger; nor shall any person be subject for

the same offence to be twice put in jeopardy of life

or limb; nor shall be compelled in any criminal case

to be a witness against himself, nor be deprived of

life, liberty, or property, without due process of law;

nor shall private property be taken for public use,

without just compensation.

Commonwealth of Massachusetts Constitution

Article 10 Bill of Rights

Each individual of the society has a right to be

protected by it in the enjoyment of his life, liberty

2

and property, according to standing laws. . . no part

of the property of any individual can, with justice,

be taken from him, or applied to public uses, without

his consent . .. And whenever the public exigencies

require that the property of any individual should

be appropriated to public uses, he shall receive a

reasonable compensation therefor.

The quoted portions of Article I and Article III of the U.S.

Constitution and the provisions of 49 U.S.C. § 40102(30)

“Navigable Airspace,” 49 U.S.C. §§ 40103(a)(1) and (a)(2)

Sovereignty and Public Right of Transit, 49 U.S.C. § 46301(a)

Civil Penalties, 49 U.S.C. § 46316 Criminal Penalty, 49 U.S.C.

§ 44718 Structures Interfering With Air Commerce, 28 U.S.C.

§ 2409a Real Property Quiet Title actions, 28 U.S.C. § 1346

United States as defendant, Massachusetts General Laws

Chapter 90 § 35B Approach Protection, Massachusetts General

Laws Chapter 90 § 44 are lengthy and are therefore set out in

Appendix D pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 14.1(f) along with

a citation to the Airport Design Advisory Circular 150/5300.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioners stand to lose a portion of their private property

to the United States as navigable airspace through which the

public has a right of transit. The loss of the right to exclude the

public from the petitioners’ property includes a boundary fence

and land not in dispute between the public use airport and the

petitioners.

Petitioners John Breneman and William D. Breneman assert

this portion of the surface and at least three feet below the surface

of their private real estate has been taken for public use without

just compensation in violation of the Fifth Amendment.

Alternatively, petitioners claim a portion of their private real

estate has been taken by the United States and transferred to an

nei can ue Oe

3

adjacent public use airport for public use by an act of spoliation

in violation of the Fifth Amendment. Spoliation is the use of

Governmental power to transfer private property from one

private owner to another for the benefit of the public.

The Act of taking or spoliation occurred on January 5, 2001

when the United States issued two Determinations of Hazard

pursuant to 49 U.S.C. § 44718. These Determinations of Hazard

by the United States are backed by civil and criminal penalties.

These civil and criminal penalties have prevented the petitioners

from returning their land to its original condition and from

removing an estimated 25,000 cubic yards of illegal buried waste

on about 5 acres of land and replacing a hill and a boundary

fence at the end of their property. The hill and fence were illegally

removed and waste buried at the end of petitioners’ property by

the owners of the adjacent airport without petitioners’ knowledge

or permission.

The act of taking or spoliation by the United States on

January 5, 2001 imposed a navigational servitude on portions

of the surface, above the surface and at least three feet below

the surface of petitioners’ property as “navigable airspace.”

This “navigable airspace” claimed by the United States for public

use allows the free transit of citizens on the surface, above the

surface and at least three feet below the surface of petitioners’

property under 49 U.S.C. § 40103(a)(2). The Commonwealth

of Massachusetts provided its official imprimatur to the

determinations of hazard with Massachusetts civil and criminal

penalties to deny the replacement of the hill needed to shield

the fence.

This is not a case that concerns a subjacent landowner

attempting to extend property rights into “navigable airspace”

by erecting a building or a previously non existing structure.

Rather this case presents a vital constitutional question this Court

has never before addressed: whether the United States can extend

*?

4

its navigable airspace onto and at least three feet below the

surface of a landowner’s property for a public purpose and

thereby prevent a landowner from returning land to its original

condition while denying compensation. Alternatively, can the

United States classify a portion of the surface and at least three

feet below the surface of private property as, “navigable

airspace” and transfer it to a public use airport for the benefit of

the public without compensation.

Petitioners’ property existed for at least 40 years with the

hill that shielded a boundary fence between the petitioners’

property and the Tanner Hiller Airport. The shielding hill and

boundary fence limited the use of the Tanner Hiller Airport to

small aircraft and gliders and prevented the acquisition, use and

taking of “navigable airspace” on the surface, above the surface

as well as below the surface of petitioners’ property irrespective

of the length of the single runway at the airport. It further limited

the public use of the airport to small aircraft and gliders.

The extension of the runway and the taking of new “navigable

airspace” paved the way for the introduction of larger, noisier

and heavier aircraft.

The Tanner Hiller Airport is a public use airport listed in

the Airport Directory of the current Airman’s Information

Manual. A public use airport is open to the public and consistent

with uniform national standards has its flight path (“airspace

needed to ensure safety in takeoff and landing of aircraft’’)

comprehensively regulated as “navigable airspace” under

49 U.S.C. § 40102(30). See also 14 C.F.R. § 77.1-77.75.

Petitioners’ property is not on airport property, is not an

airport and has never been listed as an airport in the Airport

Directory of the Airman’s Information Manual. Petitioners’

property has been in their family since about October, 1933

long before the creation of the Tanner Hiller Airport and the

1958 Federal Aviation Act that redefined “navigable airspace”

IN ge pe ete ae

5

as the airspace above the minimum altitudes of flight prescribed

by regulation . . . “including the airspace needed to ensure the

safety in the takeoff and landing of aircraft.” 49 U.S.C.

§ 40102(30).

At some unknown date prior to August, 1991' the Tanner

Hiller Airport illegally altered the existing flight path by

removing the shielding hill and boundary fence on petitioners’

property and extending the runway, without notice to

petitioners’, the FAA or the Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Aeronautics Commission (MAC) in violation of the mandatory

notice requirements of 14 C.F.R. § 77.13(5)(i). Large quantities

of gravel were removed and sold and petitioners’ property was

excavated from about 4 feet to 20 feet below the elevation of

the runway.’ An estimated 25,000 cubic yards of illegal solid

waste was then buried under petitioners’ property and at least 5

acres of petitioners’ property were destroyed and destabilized.

In the process the federally mandated Runway Primary Surface,

Runway Object Free area, Runway Protection Zone and Runway

Approach Surfaces were extended onto petitioners’ property.

The Commonwealth mandated runway approach surfaces are

different from and conflict with the federally mandated standards

leaving petitioners subject to different state and federal standards

both having separate civil and criminal penalties.

1. An issue of fact was presented in WCV 92-2705 as to the exact

date the boundary fence, gravel, trees and hill were removed from

petitioners’ property and the runway was extended. The case in WCV

92-2705 was for trespass and conversion and not for taking of navigable

airspace, as an airport has no power of eminent domain. The exact date

of the removal of the boundary fence, gravel, trees and hill remains an

issue of fact in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts Appeals Court

No. A.C.-2003-P-234 sub judice.

2. On land that previously was in all places 4 to 80 feet higher

than the elevation of the runway.

6

About August, 1991 petitioners discovered the damage to

their property. Action was instituted in WCV 92-2705 for

trespass and conversion. In December, 1997 petitioners

discovered and reported a discrepancy in runway length to the

FAA. In April, 1998, the FAA received a copy of a letter from

the Massachusetts Aeronautics Commission (MAC) advising

the Airport Master Record did not correctly note the proper

runway length.

For two more years, periodic runway inspections were made

and all official publications continued to report the same original

runway length and neither the United States nor MAC made an

attempt to assert a claim to “navigable airspace” on the surface

or below the surface of petitioners’ property. Petitioners’ relied

upon the official publications of the FAA and attributed the fact

the original runway length remained the same for more than 2

more years was due to the fact the runway had been illegally

extended in violation of the mandatory notice requirements of

14 C.F.R. § 77.13. Petitioners remained confident the United

States and MAC would allow petitioners’ to return their property

to its original condition when the private action between the

petitioners, the Tanner Hiller Airport and Amorello Construction

Company was completed in WCV 1992-2705. Petitioners relied

upon the inaction of MAC and the United States.

On or about May 18, 2000, after obtaining a copy of the

61% Edition of the New York Sectional Chart, petitioners’ first

noticed the United States intended to take their property for the

benefit of the public. On June 14, 2000 petitioners filed

mandatory notices of proposed construction and sent copies to

MAC seeking to return their land to its “original condition” by

removing buried waste, replacing the hill at the end of their

property and erecting a boundary fence and prevent the taking

of their property by the United States as “navigable airspace.”

A Fon tba

7

On September 21, 2000 MAC advised the proposed 10 foot

replacement fence was not in an airport approach area as defined

by MGL Chapter 90, Section 35B and therefore was not subject

to a permit from MAC. The proposed fence was not located in

an airport landing area as defined by a different Massachusetts

regulatory standard and therefore did not-place the public use

airport in non-compliance with MAC regulations. The proposed

hill was determined to be within an airport approach area and

therefore was subject to a permit from MAC under standards

different from the federal standards.

Thereafter, in an act of taking or spoliation, the United States

without notice or a hearing and upon prompting from the Tanner

Hiller Airport, issued a Determination of Hazard in Aeronautical

Study No. 00-ANE-0439-OE on January 5, 2001, that

petitioners’ replacement hill would constitute a hazard to air

navigation. The United States, also without notice or a hearing

and upon prompting from the Tanner Hiller Airport, issued a

Determination of Hazard in Aeronautical Study No. 00-ANE-

0438-OE on January 5, 2001° that petitioners’ placement of a

10-foot boundary fence on their property to separate it from the

Tanner Hiller Airport would constitute a 13-foot hazard‘ to air

navigation because it was on the Runway Primary Surface of

the illegally extended runway.

3. After previously advising the FAA petitioners did not own the

property, the Tanner Hiller Airport dropped its claim of adverse

possession one month after the FAA issued its determinations of hazard.

See Stipulation of Dismissal cover letter and docket entry 24a.

4. The 13-foot hazard to air navigation was arrived at by taking

the 10- foot high fence and adding a 3-foot below-the-ground penetration

to yield a 13-foot hazard to air navigation, thereby deciding “navigable

airspace” extends not only on the surface but also at least 3-feet below

the surface of petitioners’ property.

8

Petitioners have sought to have their land returned to them

in order to remove the illegal buried waste and return their land

to its original condition. Their efforts have been impeded by

jurisdictional issues of competing state and federal regulatory

standards’ and arguments of res judicata based on cases and

decisions of courts lacking jurisdiction or not accepting

jurisdiction to decide issues involving “navigable airspace.”

Due to jurisdictional limitations mandated by Congress on

Article I and Article If] courts petitioners were required to divide

their cause of action under the Fifth Amendment to conform to

the jurisdictional limitations of the District Court and the Court

of Federal Claims. These jurisdictional limitations were

specified in the complaints filed the same day, December 13,

2002, in the United States District Court for the District of

Massachusetts and the United States Court of Federal Claims.

Petitioners’ in the District Court sought to quiet title to their

property and equitable relief under 28 U.S.C. § 2409a Quiet

Title Act, since quieting title required the presence of the

Commonwealth of Massachusetts and the Tanner Hiller Airport

as necessary parties along with the United States. Only the

United States District Court for the District of Massachusetts

had original and exclusive subject matter jurisdiction of Quiet

Title actions 28 U.S.C. § 1346(f) and personal jurisdiction over

the Tanner Hiller Airport, the Commonwealth of Massachusetts

and the United States either or all of which claimed or maintained

an interest in petitioners’ property. Moreover, only the District

Court had jurisdiction of the claim for relief under 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983 and provided a right to a jury trial, which was requested,

to apportion liability among the parties for their interference

with petitioners’ property rights.

5. These State and federal regulatory schemes both include different

civil and criminal penalties for attempting to take back private property

that has been identified as “navigable airspace.”

9

The United States Court of Federal Claims lacked

jurisdiction over all adverse claimants, lacked jurisdiction over

Quiet Title actions under 28 U.S.C. § 2409a and lacked

jurisdiction in rem and equitable remedies inherent in resolving

the issues in the Complaint. The United States District Court

for the District of Massachusetts does not have jurisdiction over

the inverse condemnation action if the value of the property

taken by the United States exceeded $10,000.00. Petitioners

were forced to divide their action under the Fifth Amendment

to conform to the jurisdictional limitations imposed by Congress

in the Tucker Act and Quiet Title Act, imposed by Congress in

the waivers of sovereign immunity.

As a result of the above-described conflict, the United States

Court of Federal Claims decided it had jurisdiction over the

part of the claim pleaded in the Federal Claims Complaint but

improperly granted summary judgment to the United States as

pointed out in the petition for writ of certiorari in No. 04-496.

The First Circuit and the District Court erroneously concluded

the decision of the United States Court of Federal Claims

decision was res judicata for the different claim pleaded in the

District Court. The division of an action as mandated by

Congress due to the jurisdictional limitations of each of the

courts cannot as a matter of law be res judicata for the claims in

United States District Court since it alone had original exclusive

jurisdiction to quiet title under 28-U.S.C. § 2409a and to provide

the relief requested in that Complaint.

Despite all actions taken by petitioners to quiet title, issues

of title, ownership and control of their property remain

unanswered and uncertain. The District Court stated that

petitioners “do not have actual possession of the land in

controversy — the Airport does.” 22a. Notwithstanding this

unsupported statement the Airport in the stipulation filed in State

10

court stated that it did not have adverse possession of petitioners’

property. 24a. Ifthe Airport has actual possession of petitioners’

property it is the result of Governmental action involving an

unconstitutional act of taking or spoliation. Petitioners are

entitled to know from the District Court who owns their property

as well as its boundaries as the District Court is the only court

with jurisdiction over this issue under 28 U.S.C. § 2409a when

an action of the United States results in a disputed title to real

property.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

Three compelling reasons exist for granting the petition

for certiorari in this case.

First, conflict exists among the circuits on the same facts

of this case as to the legal effect of the Determinations of Hazard.

The D.C. Circuit has held the Determinations of Hazard have

“no enforceable legal effect’ while the Federal Circuit and First

Circuit have given legal effect to the Determinations of Hazard

in deciding petitioners lost the “right to exclude” or “lost

possession” of their property.

Second, the lower courts ignored Supreme Court precedent

in Kaiser Aetna v. United States, 444 U.S. 164 (1979) and created

an exception to the application of the Fifth Amendment in

~~~——Petermination of Hazard cases and applied a regulatory taking

analysis instead ofa physical taking analysis to support the taking

or spoliation. It appears both the United States and the MAC

deemed petitioners’ property was more valuable to the public

as part of the navigable airspace. The petition should therefore

be granted for the same reason the petition for writ of certiorari

was granted in Kelso, et al. v. City of New London, et al.,

No. 04-108, namely it represents a case where private property

was taken by the United States as “navigable airspace” or taken

and transferred to an adjacent property owner for the benefit of

the public in an act of spoliation.

At I ta i wk I MBP REF Yh

11

Third, the First Circuit and District Court improperly

decided the issue of State sovereign immunity and improperly

concluded the decision of the United States Court of Federal

Claims decision was res judicata and failed to properly evaluate

the jurisdictional limitations imposed by Congress and the U.S.

Constitution on Article I and Article III Courts.

I. Does the Fifth Amendment Provide Protection Against

Governmental Action That Prevents A Private

Landowner From Removing Illegal Buried Waste And

Erecting a Boundary Fence in Order to Grant the Public

the Right of Transit on the Surface and at Least Three

Feet Below the Surface of Private Property.

The First Circuit and District Court failed to both quiet

title and apply a per se takings analysis to a case involving the

taking or spoliation of private property. The taking or spoliation

of private property included the taking of the ground and at

least three feet below the ground and included the taking of the

right of the petitioners to remove illegal buried waste and exclude

the public by replacing a boundary fence. The physical taking

or act of spoliation involved governmental action that require

the petitioners to submit to the physical occupation of the land

and the very soil itself. “This element of required acquiescence

is at the heart of the concept of occupation.” FCC v. Florida

Power Corp., 480 U.S. 245, 252 (1987).

The common law right to the soil included the right to the

sky and was based on the Latin maxim Cujus est solum, ejus est

usque ad coelum et ad inferos or, “To whomsoever the

soil belongs, he owns also to the sky and to the depths.”

Blacks Law Dictionary 341 (Sth ed. 1979). In this case the

surface of the larid, the soil and below the soil has been deprived

the landowners by Governmental action that allows the right of

public passage on and at least 3 feet below the surface of the

petitioners’ property and forces petitioners to suffer buried waste

on their property.

12

United States v. Causby, 328 U.S. 256, 261 (1946)

recognized that the growth of aviation necessitated some

modification of the common law concept. This modification

had been codified in the Air Commerce Act of 1926, Ch. 344,

§ 10, 44 Stat. 574 presently codified at 49 U.S.C. § 40102(30)

where Congress declared “navigable airspace” of the United

States to include airspace needed to ensure safety in the takeoff —

and landing of aircraft. Congress in 49 U.S.C. §§ 40103(a)(1)

and (a)(2) further declared that “navigable airspace” was within

the “exclusive sovereignty” of the United States and that a

“citizen of the United States has a public right of transit through

navigable airspace.” Causby at 241, recognized that where this

“public highway” interfered with the landowner’s use and

enjoyment of the land the landowner was entitled to

compensation. In this case the interference with the use and

enjoyment of the land by the public highway converts at least 5

acres of petitioners’ property into public land.

Public land is “[l]ands or interests held by the government

without regard to how the government has acquired ownership

...” Black’s Law Dictionary, 893 (8" ed. 2004). It has long been

unlawful for a landowner to erect a fence enclosing a public

highway or public lands. Camfield v. United States, 167 U.S.

518 (1896) and Cameron vy. United States, 148 U.S. 301 (1892).

Petitioners’ land could have only become public land by an

act of the Government. The Airport stipulated it did not have

adverse possession of petitioners’ property. Massachusetts has

long recognized that private land becomes public land only by

an act of Government. A private individual cannot be forbidden

to maintain a fence® on his own property that injures no one

except those who desire to pass over a private road across his

6. The importance of a boundary fence was best explained by

Robert Frost’s well known adage, “good fences make good neighbors.”

R. Frost North of Boston, “Mending Wall” (1914).

13

land. Requiring a private landowner to convert a private road

into a public thoroughfare by the act of Government amounts

to an unconstitutional taking. Morse v. Stocker & Others, 1 Allen

150 (Mass. 1861). As pointed out in Morse:

The power of the legislature over private property,

under the constitution, is certainly not absolute, and

must be exercised under limitations which have been

carefully guarded and defined; and it is one of the

gravest duties of this court to determine, in any case

presented for its decision, whether those limitations

have been exceeded. And it is important, ... to

examine carefully, in the first place, what rights the

public already had in the streets or ways to which

the statute applies; and then to consider whether any

additional rights could be thus acquired or exercised.

Id. at 152.

In Morse the court correctly noted that without the

acquiescence of the Government in which the road was laid

out, the way would not have been considered a public way. Until

Governmental action the landowner was free to shut up the road

and terminate those passing over it since such use constituted a

license revocable at the landowner’s pleasure. When, however

the Government, without title from the landowner, deprives the

owner of the right to exclude the public such action is:

a substantial appropriation of private property to a

public use, within the meaning of the tenth article

of the bill of rights; and, as the statute makes no

provision for any compensation to the owner of the

property, it is in direct conflict with that

constitutional requirement.

Morse at 158.

At RADAR Pa eed Se

NA i US nln th cin bt ei

SEE | ea ee ee ae

14

Then, as now, once the Government claims an interest in

land and prevents the private landowner from excluding the

public, the only remedy is to seek an action of ejectment or

quiet title in a United States “District Court having jurisdiction.

over the locality where the land [is] enclosed, or any part thereof,

shall be situated, to hear and determine proceedings in equity

... Camfield v. United States, 167 U.S. 518, 522 (1892). Today

this procedure is included in 28 U.S.C. §§ 2409a and 1346(f)

which provides the district courts with exclusive original

Jurisdiction over actions to quiet title to lands in which the United

States claims an interest.

Petitioners’ loss of their “right of possession” to their

property was the result of Governmental action with the

Determinations of Hazard in 2001 that appropriated their

property for public use as part of the “navigable airspace” over

which the United States has exclusive sovereignty by virtue

of 49 U.S.C. § 40103(a)(1). Prior to the January, 2001

Governmental action petitioners and the Airport were free to

agree upon and accept the surveyed boundaries as the policy of

most courts is to encourage private boundary settlement

agreements. See Powell on Real Property, Vol. 9 § 68.03(3]

pp. 68-10. Petitioners’ property rights could not have been

privately appropriated since the Airport had stipulated that it

did not acquire possession of petitioner’s property by adverse

possession. This stipulation between private ‘parties was

effectively trumped by the United States Determinations of

Hazard which identified petitioners’ property as “navigable

airspace.”

As pointed out in United States v. City of New Haven, 496

F.2d 452 (2d Cir. 1974); cert. denied and app. dism’d, 419 U.S.

958 (1974), once petitioners’ property was classified as

“navigable airspace” no state court decision could infringe upon

or change the right of the United States to control and exercise

15

its sovereignty over this “navigable airspace.” Once petitioners’

property became part of the “navigable airspace” of the United

States, petitioners only option was to seek to clear title to their

property under 28 U.S.C. § 2409a. Under 28 U.S.C. § 2409a,

actions to quiet title to property in which the United States claims

an interest are within the exclusive original jurisdiction of the

district courts. See 28 U.S.C. § 1346 (f).

The mandatory legal effect of Determinations of Hazard is

demonstrated in this case by analysis of 49 U.S.C. § 44718 and

more particularly section 44718(b) under which the

Determinations of Hazard were issued and 49 U.S.C. § 46301(a)

providing for a civil penalty and 49 U.S.C. § 46316 providing

for a criminal penalty. The civil penalties of 49 U.S.C. § 46301(a)

exclude sections 44717 and 44719-44723 but do not exclude

Section 44718. The criminal penalty in 49 U.S.C. § 46316

excludes only Section 4471 8(a) but not Section 44718(b) which

specifically provided for the issuance of the Determinations of

Hazard in this case.

Petitioners, in oral argument before the First Circuit pointed

out that violation of the Determinations of Hazard carried

civil and criminal penalties under federal law and cited both

49 U.S.C. § 46301 and 49 U.S.C. § 46316 to demonstrate the

Determinations of Hazard in this case have an enforceable legal

effect. Petitioners repeatedly argued the Determinations of

Hazard have an enforceable legal effect and cited the separate

civil and criminal penalties under the laws of the Commonwealth

of Massachusetts Chapter 90 Section 35B and Section 44.

Airport Design Advisory Circular 150/5300-13 recognizes

and supports the “required acquiescence” at the heart of physical

occupation by the requirement to remove any replacement fence

or hill. Airport Design Advisory Circular 150/5300-13 p. 4

16

requires removal of obstructions to air navigation that were the

subject of the previous Determinations of Hazard by providing:

(6) 14 CFR Part 77 Obstructions to Air Navigation.

‘Obstructions to air navigation must be removed

unless an FAA aeronautical study, based on proposed

operations, determined otherwise.’

In this case the existing Determinations of Hazard based

on FAA Aeronautical studies have already determined otherwise.

Any replacement fence or hill would now have to be removed.

Removal would be required as the United States has never

disclaimed its adverse interest in petitioners’ property by

rescinding or revoking their Determinations of Hazard as

contemplated by 28 U.S.C. § 2409a.

The Government effects a physical taking when it requires

the landowner to submit to the physical occupation of his land.

“This element of required acquiescence is at the heart of the

concept of occupation.” FCC v. Florida Power Corp., 480 U.S.

245, 252 (1987). Periodically flooding a landowners property

Pumpelly v. Green Bay Co., 80 U.S. 166 (1871), taking away

the right to exclude the public from private property Kaiser

Aetna v. United States, 444 U.S. 164, 176 (1979) or doing little

more than requiring a landowner to suffer the installation of a

cable requires compensation under the Takings Clause if the

Government is responsible for the compelled physical invasion

of the property.

This Court has repeatedly held that as to property reserved

for private use, “the right to exclude [others is] one of the most

essential sticks in the bundle of rights that are commonly

characterized as property.” Loretto v. Teleprompter Manhattan

CATV Corp., 458 U.S. 419, 433 (1982), quoting Kaiser

Aetna v. United States, 444 U.S. 164, 176 (1979). When the

Government physically takes possession of an interest in

onsniiaensaniceieiil

17

property for some public purpose, it has a categorical duty to

compensate the former owner regardless of whether the interest

taken constitutes an entire parcel or merely a part thereof

United States v. Pewee Coal Co., 341 U.S. 114, 115 (1951).

“Government occupation of private property deprives the

property owner of this use of the property, and it is this

deprivation for which the Constitution requires compensation”

Loretto at 432 quoting YMCA v. United States, 395 U.S. 85, 92

(1969).

Despite clear precedent demonstrating that compelled

physical invasion of private property triggers a per se physical

taking analysis, the First Circuit’s affirmance of the District

Court improperly accepted the regulatory taking analysis of the

Court of Federal Claims. Moreover, both the First Circuit and

the District Court improperly construed the Eleventh

Amendment and improperly relied upon the Federal Claims

decision as being res judicata on all issues raised in petitioners

Complaint including quiet title under 28 U.S.C: § 2409a which

was beyond the jurisdiction of the Court of Federal Claims.

Petitioners’ loss of the “right to exclude,” “right of

possession” and the right of exclusive use of their property to

the public warrant serious consideration under the Fifth

Amendment due to available civil and criminal sanctions, both

state and federal. The taking of private land by the United States’

imposition of a navigational servitude is complete and unless

rectified by the Court is inconsistent with the protections

afforded landowners under the Fifth Amendment.

18

II. Did The Waiver Of Sovereign Immunity In Actions To

Quiet Title Under 28 U.S.C. § 2409a Include The State

Where The State Claims An Interest In The Same

Property As Claimed By The United States And Where

The State Constitution Prohibits The Taking Of Private

Property For Public Use And The State Voluntarily

Participated In The Regulatory Regime Established By

Congress.

It would appear to be axiomatic that a State is not free to

assert a constitutional right to do a constitutional wrong.

The purpose of State sovereign immunity is to shield State

governments against private actions while defining the

relationship between the federal and state governments.

In defining these relationships, State governments must be in

compliance with the U.S. Constitution and federal law under

the Supremacy Clause. While some commentators have labeled

Eleventh Amendment decisions as a “tortuous line of Supreme

Court cases” or “little more than a hodgepodge of confusing

and intellectually indefensible judge made law” the principle

of Eleventh Amendment sovereign immunity is to protect state

autonomy while ensuing compliance with federal law. See

Constitutional Law Principles and Policies, Chemerinsky

Second Edition p. 179 (2002) and law review articles cited

therein. The First Circuit and District Court improperly

concluded the petitioners’ action under 28 U.S.C. § 2409a was

barred by the Eleventh Amendment.

Congress intended 28 U.S.C. § 2409a to provide the,

“exclusive means by which adverse claimants could challenge

the United States’ title to [or interest in] real property.” Block v.

North Dakota, 461 U.S. 273, 286 (1983). 28 U.S.C. § 2409a is

a waiver of sovereign immunity by the United States and

Congress intended to include the States in the waiver so that

QTA actions included all persons whether they be States, private

citizens or private or public corporations.

19

In Block v. North Dakota the State argued that the statute

of limitations in 28 U.S.C. § 2409a was not binding upon the

State since it waived only federal sovereign immunity and not

State sovereign immunity. In deciding the waiver of federal

sovereign immunity included the State in judicial challenges to

the title to real property the Court stated:

In fashioning sovereign — immunity waiver

legislation, Congress is certainly free to exempt the

States from a statute of limitations or any other

condition of the waiver. But there is no merit to North

Dakota’s assertion that a condition on a

congressional waiver of ‘federal sovereign immunity

should be regarded as inapplicable to States in

absence of express intent to the contrary. This Court

has never sanctioned such a rule.... And in

Minnesota v. United States, 305 U.S., at 388 — 389,

where the United States had waived its immunity

on the condition that any suit against it had to be

brought in a federal court, we concluded without

hesitation that plaintiff State’s suit should have been

dismissed for lack of jurisdiction, because it had been

filed in state court, even though the federal — court

condition did not expressly apply to States. Thus

neither Congress nor the decisions of this Court have

suggested that the States are presumed exempt from

satisfying the conditions placed by Congress on its

immunity waivers; and, in light of our Constitution,

which makes federal law ultimately supreme, these

holdings should not have been surprising.

461 U.S. at 288-89 (emphasis supplied).

Congress in passing 28 U.S.C. § 2409a recognized the

necessity of protecting national public interests. National public

interest includes uniform national standards for public use

20

airports. Therefore, suit by a private individual or a State against

the United States affects the congressionally recognized public

interest. Congress had no intention of exempting the State from

compliance with 28 U.S.C. § 2409a when the State and Federal

government take title or claim an interest in the same property

adverse to the property rights of a private landowner.

“That section [§ 2409a] must be applied to the States because

they are necessarily included by the nature of the mischiefs to

be remedied.” Block v. North Dakota, 461 U.S. at 290 quoting

Weber v. Board of Harbor Comm'rs, 85 U.S. 57, 70 (1873).

A Quiet Title action for the adjudication of who owns the

surface and three feet below the surface of petitioners’ land is

exclusively and uniquely within the jurisdiction of the district

court as mandated by Congress under 28 U.S.C. § 2409a.

Only the district court as a court of equity can acquire jurisdiction

of all the rights involved and also of all the owners of those

rights, and thus settle and permanently adjudicate in a single

proceeding all the rights, or claims to rights, of all the claimants

to the common land that has been classified as “navigable

airspace” over which the United States has exclusive sovereignty

under 49 U.S.C. § 40103(a)(1). The First Circuit and District

Court failed to quiet title to petitioners’ property as title to the

disputed property remains even more complicated in view of

the District Court’s statement the Airport is in possession of

petitioners’ property in spite of the stipulation by the Airport in

State court that it did not have adverse possession of petitioners’

property.

In such cases where the requirement exists for a uniform

national standard the Court has applied the Supremacy Clause

to preempt State and local interests. City of Burbank v. Lockheed

Air Terminal, 411 U.S. 624 (1973). Petitioners’ complaint

asserts a straightforward claim of preemption actionable under

the Supremacy Clause of the United States Constitution,

21

U.S. Const., art. VI, cl. 2. This Court has never required that

such preemption claims be expressly authorized by an act of

Congress. Rather, preemption claims are actionable directly

under the Supremacy Clause and do not require a separate

statutory cause of action under the federal law at issue.

See, e.g., Crosby v. National Foreign Trade Council, 530 US.

363, 387-88 (2000); Brown v. Hotel and Restaurant Employees

and Bartenders Int’I Union Local 54, 468 U.S. 491, 501-02

(1984). Eleventh Amendment sovereign immunity also does not

divest the federal courts of exclusive jurisdiction where federal,

State and private rights are intertwined. California v. Deep Sea

Research, Inc., 523 U.S. 491 (1998). The reasoning in California

v. Deep Sea Research is equally applicable to the present case.

A quiet title action seeking resolution of the conflicting

federal, state and private claims to “navigable airspace” which

includes the surface and below the surface of petitioners’

property is as important as the federal, state and private claims

were to the federal property on board the S.S. Brother Johnathan.

The United States is a party to this action and like California v.

Deep Sea Research the Commonwealth of Massachusetts has

posited an adverse claim to a unified res namely, “navigable

airspace.” This “navigable airspace” like the property in the

S.S. Brother Johnathan constitutes a unified res that is not within

the State’s possession. California v. Deep Sea Research at 495. .

See also Pennhurst State School & Hosp. v. Halderman (II),

465 U.S. 89, 105 (1964) (where the court recognized the need

to promote the supremacy of federal law must be accommodated

within the Constitutional immunity of the State).

The sovereign immunity issue in this case also squarely

presents the question of whether a State can use sovereign

immunity to interfere with federal property and federal law. As

pointed out in Verizon Mad. Inc. v. Public Serv. Comm'n of MD,

535 U.S. 635, 645 (2002) such interference risks the waiver of

sovereign immunity.

22

The Commonwealth in this case not only voluntarily

participated but appears to have been directly responsible for

monitoring and measuring the runway at the Airport as agent

and as copartner with the United States in the taking or spoliation

of petitioners’ property. These actions by the Commonwealth

coupled with the Massachusetts Constitutional prohibitions

against taking private property constitute a waiver for the Taking

or spoliation of petitioners’ property. Article 20 of the

Constitution of the Commonwealth provides for the payment

of just compensation upon taking of private property for a public

use by providing:

... no part of the property of any individual can,

with justice, be taken from him, or applied to public

uses without his own consent . . .And whenever the

public exigencies require that the property of any

individual should be appropriated to public uses, he

shall receive a reasonable compensation therefor.

Such constitutional provisions have been held to be self-

executing waivers of State sovereign immunity. Cereghino v.

State, 230 Or. 439 (Or. 1962); Angelle v. State, 212 La. 1069

(La. 1948); Schumette v. State, 147 Neb. 193 (Neb. 1946); Rice

Hope Plantation v. South Carolina Pub. Serv. Authority, 216

S.C. 500 (S.C. 1907) and Dillard v. Austin Indep. School Dist.,

806 S.W.2d 589 (Tex. Ct. App. 1991). See also State v. 0.24148,

etc., Acres of Land, 53 Del. 439, 171 A.2d 228, 231 (Del. 1961)

where the court stated:

It seems well settled that such constitutional

provisions are self-executing waivers on the part of

the State of its sovereign immunity. Consequently,

where there is a taking of property for public use

without a condemnation proceeding, the filing of a

separate action for damages against the State by the

landowner as a matter of law has been consented to

23

by the State. This is a common — law remedy and

depends in no wise upon the institution by the State

of condemnation proceedings. (Citations omitted).

It would appear a similar waiver would be consistent with

Morse v. Stocker & Others, | Allen 150 (Mass. 1861) in which

the court observed:

We can see in all this nothing but a substantial

appropriation of private property to a public use,

within the meaning of the tenth article of the bill of

rights; and, as the statute makes no provision for

any compensation to the owner of the property, it is

in direct conflict with that constitutional

requirement. ;

Id. at 158.

In this case the State’s constitutional waiver was

incorporated by Congress in 28 U.S.C. § 2409a which made

the Quiet Title Act the exclusive means by which adverse

claimants could challenge United States’ title and interest in

real property. This waiver of sovereign immunity was per force

intended to include the States if the State also made claim to the

same property.

Ill. Congress in Dividing Jurisdiction Between Article Il

District Courts and the Article I Federal Court of

Claims Did Not Intend to Impair The Vitality of the

Fifth Amendment By Allowing The Limited

Jurisdiction Of The Article I Court To Become

Res Judicata Over An Action To Quiet Title Under

28 U.S.C. § 2409a.

The major problem with the First Circuit decision and the

District Court decision is that it gave res judicata effect to an

Article I court decision not having subject matter jurisdiction

over the claims presented in district court. The District Court

ee

24

for the District of Massachusetts is an Article III court to which

Congress gave exclusive original jurisdiction over actions to

quiet title under 28 U.S.C. § 2409a and 28 U.S.C. § 1346(f).

See California v. Arizona, 440 U.S. 59 (1979). In California

the Supreme Court noted Congress intended to confine

jurisdiction to the federal courts when an action was required

to quiet title to an estate or interest in real property in which an

interest is claimed by the United States.

The United States Court of Federal Claims is an Article I

court which is akin to an administrative agency or legislative

court with its jurisdiction limited by a particular type of case

for which Congress created the Article I court. Congress created

the Federal Court of Claims to decide claims for money damages

against the United States. In creating an Article I court Congress

cannot give it the same jurisdiction as an Article III court,

otherwise the constitutional distinction between an Article I court

and the concept of an Article III protected court would have no

meaning. Northern Pipeline Co. v. Marathon Pipe Line, Co.,

458 U.S. 50 (1982) stayed 459 U.S. 813 (1982) (violation of

Article III for non Article III judges to have jurisdiction granted

by § 241(a) of the Bankruptcy Act of 1978).

Congress has the power to promulgate rules that effect

federal court jurisdiction. Chicago v. International College of

Surgeons, 522 U.S. 156 (1997). The jurisdictional limitations

imposed on federal court jurisdiction must be observed by the

courts and litigants alike. The petitioners were required by a

Congressional jurisdictional mandate to divide their claim along

the jurisdictional lines imposed by Congress for Article I and

Article III courts.

Congress did not assign equitable, common law Fourteenth

Amendment, Fifth Amendment Due Process relief, claims under

42 U.S.C. § 1983 and quiet title claims to the Court of Federal

25

Claims. The Court of Federal Claims does not have common

law jurisdiction over issues of title to property rights and

equitable issues appurtenant thereto as pled in the District Court

complaint.

Congress in the Tucker Act 28 U.S.C. § 1491(a)(1)

gave the Court of Federal Claims exclusive jurisdiction over

money claims in excess of $10,000 against the United States.

The Tucker Act constituted a limited waiver of sovereign

immunity and vested jurisdiction for money damages in the

Court of Federal Claims. The Tucker Act did not waive sovereign

immunity for quiet title actions, invalidation actions and actions

requiring equitable remedies. See Eastern Enterprises v Apfel,

524 U.S. 498, 520 (1998); United States v. Mitchell, 463 U.S.

206, 216 (1983) and Bowen v. Massachusetts, 487 U.S. 879,

905 (1988). Sovereign immunity for Quiet Title actions was

separately waived in 28 U.S.C. § 2409a. See California v.

Arizona, 440 U.S. 59, 61-62 (1979) and Block v. North Dakota,

461 U.S. 273, 275-76, (1983). Exclusive original jurisdiction

for Quiet Title actions is in the United States District Court

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1346(f),

The unsettled relationship between the various Circuit

courts as to the division of a cause of action between money

damages and equitable relief under the Taking Clause is outlined

in Eastern Enterprises v Apfel, 524 U.S. 498, 520-22 (1998).

The unsettled relationship is central to this case as 28 U.S.C.

§ 2409a constituted a waiver of sovereign immunity and

jurisdictionally mandated a separate action to quiet title in the

District Court 28 U.S.C. § 1346(f). Due to the jurisdictional

limitations placed on Article I and Article III courts by Congress

and the Constitution and the different waivers of sovereign

immunity under 28 U.S.C. § 1491(a)(1) under the Tucker Act

and 28 U.S.C. § 2409a under the Quiet Title Act the decision of

_

26

the Court of Federel Claims could not be res judicata on the

quiet title claim under 28 U.S.C. § 2409a and the other claimed

relief, even if the Court of Federal Claims decision were correct

and not before this court in Docket No. 04-0496.

The doctrine of res judicata or claim preclusion generally

requires a party to bring all grounds for recovery arising from a

single transaction or series of transactions in a single lawsuit.

This rule of claim preclusion as well as collateral estoppel does

not apply where the initial forum does not have the power to

award the full measure of relief due to jurisdictional limitations

of the court. See Cromwell v. County of Sac., 94 U.S. 351 (1876)

and New Hampshire v. Maine, 532 U.S. 742, 749 (2001).

In the present case Congress mandated the division of

petitioners cause of action along the jurisdictional lines of the

Article I United States Court of Federal Claims and Article III

United States District Court for the District of Massachusetts.

Petitioners’ complaints in each court cited the jurisdictional

limitations of the other court as well as the fact both actions

were being filed the same day due to the jurisdictional limitations

of each court mandated by Congress. Notwithstanding

petitioners’ efforts to clearly delineate the jurisdictional

limitations of each court the First Circuit and the District Court

gave res judicata effect to the judgment of the United States

Court of Federal Claims for claims that were beyond the

jurisdiction of the Article I court.

Res judicata and collateral estoppel doctrines require the

initial forum have the power to award the full measure of relief

sought in the later litigation. See Restatement (Second) of

Judgments §§ 11, 26 (1982) and D. Sharpiro Civil Procedure:

27

Preclusion in Civil Actions 25, 28-29 (2001)’. As stated in the

Restatement (Second):

The general rule [against relitigation of a claim] is

largely predicated on the assumption that the

jurisdiction in which the first judgment was rendered

was one which put no formal barriers in the way of

a litigant’s presenting to the court in one action the

entire claim including any theories of recovery or

demands for relief that might have been available to

him under applicable law. When such barriers in fact

existed and were operative against a plaintiff in the

first action, it is unfair to preclude him from a second

action in which he can present those phases of the

claim which he was disabled from presenting in the

first. Restatement § 26(1)(c) cmt. c.

In cases such as the present where a party is precluded from

litigating issues due to formal jurisdictional or sovereign

immunity barriers imposed by Congress a subsequent action

will not be barred by res judicata even where it arises from the

same factual circumstances as the other action. Due to the

jurisdictional limitations on the relief available in the United

States Court of Federal Claims, that decision, even if correct,

could not have claim preclusive effect in district court.

See Montana v. United States, 440 U.S. 147, 153-54 (1979).

The First Circuit and District Court both erred in deciding

the Court of Federal Claims decision was res judicata in the

District Court Quiet Title action under 28 U.S.C. § 2409a as the

claims were beyond the subject matter jurisdiction of the Article

7. Professor Shapiro touches upon the special problems embedded

in the doctrine of sovereign immunity and Congressional legislation

limiting the power of the court to certain matters and cites the “court’s

obligation to recognize sua sponte a potential lack of competence over

subject matter.

28

I court. The Court of Federal Claims did not have jurisdiction

over the parties, issues or subject matter of the district court

action due to the jurisdictional limitations mandated by

Congress. The same day filed actions did not involve the same

claim and did not involve the same parties. Only the District

Court had subject matter and personal jurisdiction over the

Commonwealth of Massachusetts and the Tanner Hiller Airport

which were necessary parties in the QTA since each appear to

have diverse claims to petitioners’ property or the navigable

airspace of the United States.

The First Circuit and District Court’s reliance upon res

judicata to deny petitioners’ claim to quiet title has done more

to cloud title to petitioners’ land than it has to quiet title as it is

_in conflict with the stipulation filed in WCV 1992-2705 and

the decision of the Court of Appeals For the District of Columbia

Circuit for if the Determinations of Hazard indeed have no

enforceable legal effect, they could not have changed possession

to petitioners’ property. More than a century ago this Court

explained that:

Where questions arise which affect titles to land

it is of great importance to the public that when they

are once decided they should no longer be considered

open. Such decisions become rules of property, and

many titles may be injuriously affected by their

change. ... [W]here courts vacillate and overrule

their own decisions ... affecting the title to real

property, their decisions are retrospective and may

affect titles purchased on the faith of their stability.

Doubtful questions on subjects of this nature, when

once decided, should be considered no longer

doubtful or subject to change.

Nevada v. United States, 463 U.S. 110, 129 n.10 quoting

Minnesota Co. v. National Co., 70 U.S. 332 (1865).

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A — OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES |

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

DATED AUGUST 25, 2004

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

No. 03-2616

JOHN BRENEMAN and WILLIAM D. BRENEMAN,

Plaintiffs, Appellants,

Vv.

UNITED STATES ex. rel. THE FEDERAL AVIATION

ADMINISTRATION; COMMONWEALTH OF

MASSACHUSETTS ex. rel. MASSACHUSETTS

AERONAUTICS COMMISSION; 70 ACRES OF LAND

A/K/A TANNER HILLER AIRPORT,

Defendants, Appellees.

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT

COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS

[Hon. Rya W. Zobel, U.S. District Judge]

Before

Seyla, Circuit Judge,

Cyr, Senior Circuit Judge,

and Lipez Circuit Judge.

2a

Appendix A

LIPEZ, Circuit Judge.

In the continuation of a long legal battle, plaintiff landowners

brought suit in December 2002 against the Massachusetts

Aeronautics Commission (MAC), the Federal Aviation

Administration (FAA) and Tanner Hiller Airport, a privately-

owned facility, claiming that various actions taken by these

entities infringed upon the landowners’ property rights.

The district court granted the motions to dismiss of the three

defendants, and dismissed the complaint with prejudice.

Concluding that the plaintiffs’ claims were barred by

principles of res judicata and sovereign immunity, we affirm.

We also grant the Airport’s motion for fees and costs as a

sanction for the plaintiffs’ frivolous appeal of the decision

in favor of the Airport.

I.

In the late 1980s, the Airport hired a contractor to extend its

runway Closer to the boundary of the Brenemans’ property.'

As part of that project; the contractor removed a fence, a

hill, and other obstacles that were on the Brenemans’ side of

the property line. The Brenemans allege that they discovered

the alterations in 1991 and brought suit in the Massachusetts

Superior Court in September 1992 for, inter alia, trespass,

conversion, and to quiet title against the Airport.?

1. Although the property owned by the Brenemans is largely

undeveloped, there is a residence on it.

2. The Airport filed a counterclaim in this action, claiming that

it had acquired the property through adverse possession. The court

dismissed that claim without prejudice in response to a stipulation

from the parties that was docketed on April 2, 2001.

3a

Appendix A

See Breneman v. Wolfson, No. WCV922705, 1999 WL

1203920 (Mass.Super.Ct. Oct. 21, 1999).? They added the

gravel company as a defendant in April 1997. The court

awarded summary judgment to the gravel company on statute

of limitations and repose grounds in Breneman v. Tanner,

No. 922705, 1999 WL 1336436 (Mass.Super.Ct. Feb. 1,

1999), and granted summary judgment to the Airport on the

same grounds a few months later in Breneman v. Wolfson,

No. WCV922705, 1999 WL 1203920 (Mass.Super.Ct.

Oct. 21, 1999).

In late 1997, while their superior court case was pending,

the plaintiffs wrote a letter to the FAA, complaining that they

learned during discovery that the Airport’s runway was longer

than the length listed in the New York Section Chart for

Pilots, the FAA’s official directory of airports in that region.

The agency apologized for the error and published a corrected

version of the sectional chart on May 18, 2000.

When the Brenemans learned of that correction, they filed

notices with the FAA and the MAC, proposing to construct a

hill and a boundary fence to replace the ones that the

contractors had removed. The FAA responded with two

hazard studies on January 5, 2001, concluding that both

proposed construction projects would create potential dangers

to air traffic at the Airport. The hazard studies determined

that the proposed ten foot high fence would exceed the

“primary surface,” an imaginary plane extending two hundred

feet from the end of the runway that provides a safety buffer

for aircraft, by thirteen feet, and that the proposed hill would

3. We have provided a chronology of the various legal

proceedings in the appendix to this opinion.

4a

Appendix A

exceed the “approach surface,” an imaginary plane extending

outward and upward from the end of the runway, by sixty-

two feet.

After reviewing the FAA studies and providing the

Brenemans with a public hearing, the MAC denied the

Brenemans a permit to build the hill on August 15, 2001.

The Brenemans challenged the MAC’s denial of their permit

in Worcester Superior Court, alleging that the commission

violated Massachusetts law and that it took *36 their property

without due process in violation of the Fifth and Fourteenth

Amendments to the United States Constitution and Article

10 of the Massachusetts Declaration of Rights. The court

denied all of the Brenemans’ claims. See Breneman v.

Massachusetts Aeronautics Comm'n, No. 0101893B, 2004

WL 856640, (Mass.Super.Ct. Mar. 15, 2004).

On April 9, 2001, while their permit application with MAC

was still pending, the Brenemans filed appeals of the FAA’s

hazard studies in the United States Court of Appeals for the

D.C. Circuit. That court issued its unpublished decision on

February 26, 2002, after the MAC denied the construction

permit. Concluding that the FAA’s fence study was purely

advisory in nature and that the plaintiffs had not suffered

any actual harm from its publication, the court held that the

Brenemans lacked standing to challenge that hazard

determination. Breneman vy. FAA, No. 01-1165, 2002 WL

449015 at *7-*8 (D.C.Cir. Feb.26, 2002) (per curiam).

Observing that MAC’s denial of the Brenemans’ hill permit

was based in part on the FAA study, the court concluded that

they had demonstrated a sufficiently concrete harm to

establish standing with regard to the FAA hill study. However,

Sa

Appendix A

the court concluded that the study was committed to agency

discretion and thus was unreviewable under the

Administrative Procedure Act (“A.P.A.”). Jd. The court also

dismissed their “constitutional challenges” to the FAA’s hill

determination without identifying what those challenges

were. /d. at *2. After reviewing the record from those

proceedings, we conclude that the court was referring to the

Brenemans’ claim that the FAA should have granted them

notice and an opportunity to comment while it-was—

conducting the study.‘

On December 13, 2002, the Brenemans continued their legal

campaign by filing two more suits, this time in the United

States Court of Federal Claims and the United States District

Court for the District of Massachusetts. Their complaint in

the Court of Federal Claims alleged a physical and regulatory

taking against the FAA.’ The physical taking claim was based

on 49 U.S.C. § 40102(a)(32), which defines “navigable

airspace” as including “airspace needed to ensure safety in

takeoff and landing of aircraft.” The Brenemans alleged that

the FAA’s correction of the runway length in the updated

4. The court noted that the Brenemans violated the D.C.

Circuit’s “chutzpah doctrine” by challenging the propriety of the

hazard study “when they conceded at oral argument that they intend

to build the hill in part to impede air traffic at the Airport.” /d. at *1.

5. The Brenemans filed their Court of Federal Claims action a

few hours before they filed their Feoeral District Court complaint in

an effort to maintain the Court of Federal Claims’s subject matter

jurisdiction over the case. See 28 U.S.C. § 1500 (“The United States

Court of Federal Claims shall not have jurisdiction of any claim for

or in respect to which the plaintiff or his assignee has pending in any

other court any suit or process against the United States. . . .”).

6a

Appendix A

sectional chart constituted a tacit approval of the runway

extension. Observing that this extension forced the runway

primary surface beyond the property line, the Brenemans

alleged that the FAA took title to their airspace and the first

three feet of soil lying within two hundred feet of the end of

the runway and converted it into navigable airspace. They

based their regulatory taking claim on the FAA’s

determination that the construction of the hill and the fence

would create hazards for air travel.

The Court of Federal Claims rejected their physical taking

claim, concluding that it could not find a precedent to support

the proposition that “mere creation or recognition of

navigable airspace” can result in a taking. It denied their

regulatory taking claim because the hazard reports were only

advisory studies that had no enforceable legal effect. See

Breneman v. United States, 57 Fed. Cl. 571 (2003), aff'd,

No. 03-5156, 2004 WL 1153329 (Fed.Cir. May 10, 2004).

As stated, the Brenemans also filed a seven count federal

complaint in the District of Massachusetts against the MAC,

the FAA, and the Airport on the same day that they filed

their complaint in the Court of Federal Claims. The complaint

repeated the physical and regulatory takings claims® as well

as the due process claim that it had previously litigated in

the D.C. Circuit. It also included claims that 1) the hazard

studies were substantively infirm; 2) the MAC and the Airport

6. The count marked as “Inverse Condemnation” was actually

a sprawling fifteen page, forty paragraph litany of grievances,

including both physical and regulatory takings, lodged against the

parties. The general thrust of that count seems to concern the inverse

condemnation/regulatory taking.

7a

Appendix A

conspired to violate the Brenemans’ constitutional rights by

concealing the date on which the Airport extended its runway;

and 3) all of the parties “appropriated and confused” the

Brenemans’ property rights. There was also a claim to quiet

title against the FAA.

In dismissing the claims against the Airport, the district court

summarily rejected the inverse condemnation, section 1983,

and “use of property” claims by noting that these claims may

not be brought against private parties. It interpreted the

Brenemans’ allegations that the actions of the defendants

“constitute an appropriation and confusion of plaintiffs’

property with the Tanner Hiller Airport property” as possibly

raising a trespass claim and dismissed that claim on statute

of limitations grounds. Finally, it concluded that there was

no support for the allegation that the MAC and the Airport

conspired to violate the Brenemans’ rights. The district court

dismissed the allegations against the FAA and the MAC on

res judicata and Eleventh Amendment grounds respectively.

Breneman vy. United States ex rel. the Fed. Aviation Admin.,

No. Civ. A02-12400RWZ, 2003 WL 22203684 (D.Mass.

Sept.23, 2003).

The Brenemans raise three claims on appeal. First, they claim

that the district court improperly dismissed their quiet title

claim against the FAA based on its erroneous conclusion that

the Airport held actual possession of the disputed property.’

Second, they claim that the court applied the wrong standard

when it dismissed their takings claims against the FAA and

7. The district court apparently viewed the quiet title claim

directed at the FAA as a claim directed at the Airport. This error

does not affect our disposition of this appeal.

8a

Appendix A

the MAC. Third, they argue that the court failed to apply a

sufficiently rigorous test to the MAC’s claim of Eleventh

Amendment immunity. They do not challenge the district

court’s dismissal of their claims against the Airport.

II.

A. The Ciaims against the FAA

The Brenemans ignore the grounds upon which the district

court dismissed their claims against the FAA. Rather than

address the res judicata effects of the Court of Federal Claims

decision, which formed the basis of the district court’s

opinion, they raise irrelevant arguments regarding the

substantive standards that the court should have applied to

their takings and quiet title claims against the FAA.

Concluding that the district court’s ruling regarding the res

judicata effects of the Court of Federal Claims decision was

correct, we ignore‘the Brenemans’ extraneous arguments.

“Under the federal law of res judicata, a final judgment on

the merits of an action precludes the parties or their privies

from relitigating claims that were raised or could have been

raised in that action.” Apparel Art Int’l, Inc. v. Amertex

Enters. Ltd., 48 F.3d 576, 583 (1st Cir.1995) (footnote

omitted). Res judicata “relieve[s] parties of the cost and

vexation of multiple lawsuits, conserve[s] judicial resources,

and ... encourage[s] reliance on adjudication.” Allen vy.

McCurry, 449 U.S. 90, 94 (1980). The elements of a res

judicata claim under federal law are: “(1) a final judgment

on the merits in an earlier proceeding, (2) sufficient

identicality between the causes of action asserted in the earlier

9a

Appendix A

and later suiis, and (3) sufficient identicality between the

parties in the two actions.” Banco Santander de P.R. v. Lopez-

Stubbe (In re Colonial Mortgage Bankers Corp.), 324 F.3d

12, 16 (ist Cir.2003). Recognizing that the judgment in the

Court of Federal Claims was final and that the FAA and the

Brenemans were both parties to the proceedings in the Court

of Federal Claims and in the Federal District Court, we can

quickly dispose of the first and third prongs. We apply a

“transactional approach” to the second prong of this test:

“The necessary identity will be found to exist if both sets of

claims—those asserted in the earlier action and those asserted

in the subsequent action—derive from a common nucleus of

operative facts.” Gonzalez v. Banco Cent. Corp., 27 F.3d 751,

755 (1st Cir.1994) (citation omitted).

We have no difficulty concluding that the Brenemans’ claims

are barred by the judgment in the Court of Federal Claims.

The complaints in both proceedings were based upon the

FAA’s correction of the sectional chart and its publication of

the two hazard studies; therefore, they both originated from

a “common nucleus of operative facts.” Indeed, it appears

that the Brenemans essentially filed identical takings claims

in both proceedings, and their quiet title claim seems to be a

duplicate of the takings claims filed under a different

heading.® Moreover, even if the Brenemans did not raise the

8. The paragraph in the district court complaint that was most

relevant to the quiet title action alleged that the United States claimed

the “right to control and regulate portions of the surface, above the

surface and below the surface of plaintiffs’ property, which interferes

with plaintiffs’ right to use, possess, dispose and enjoy their property

as well as the requirements of [a Massachusetts statute] that plaintiffs

(Cont'd)

10a

Appendix A

exact same claims in the Court of Federal Claims, we

conclude that they could have litigated all of their claims

against the FAA in the Court of Federal Claims. Without

belaboring the analysis, we agree with the district court’s

admonition that “Plaintiffs cannot continue to file lawsuits

until they obtain the result they seek.” Breneman, 2003 WL

22203684, at *3.

B. The Claims Against the MAC

The Brenemans complain that the district court improperly

dismissed their complaint against the MAC on Eleventh

Amendment grounds without conducting a sufficiently

detailed analysis of whether the commission is an “arm of

the state.” We conclude that the district court had a sufficient

basis for concluding that the MAC was entitled to immunity.

We often employ-a two-step test to determine if an entity is

an “arm of the state.” Fresenius Med. Care Cardiovascular

Res., Inc. v. Puerto Rico and Caribbean Cardiovascular Ctr

Corp., 322 F.3d 56, 65 (1st Cir.2003). In the first step, we

look at structural factors to determine whether “the state

(Cont'd)

return their property to its ‘original condition.’” The complaint also

alleged that the FAA and MAC studies and orders “have created a

cloud on the title to plaintiffs’ property by preventing plaintiffs from

removing buried waste, restoring their land to its ‘original condition.’”

In a separate paragraph, they claim that the agencies “in regulating

plaintiffs’ property as an Airport have placed a cloud cn plaintiffs’

title to their property by dedicating to the public on behalf of the

Tanner Hiller Airport rights to control use of the plaintiffs’ land on

the surface, above the surface and below the surface of plaintiffs’

property.” -

-

lla

Appendix A

clearly structured the entity to share its sovereignty.” Jd. at

68. However, “[i]f the factors assessed in analyzing the

structure point in different directions, then the dispositive

question concerns the risk that the damages will be paid from

the public treasury. . . . This analysis focuses on whether the

state has legally or practically obligated itself to pay the

entity’s indebtedness.” Jd.

We have no difficulty concluding that the Commonwealth

structured the MAC to share its sovereignty. As the district

court noted, “[i]n their Complaint, plaintiffs state that

defendant CMAC ‘is an administrative agency of the

Commonwealth of Massachusetts and acts for the

Commonwealth of Massachusetts.’” Breneman, 2003 WL

22203684, at *4. Furthermore, according to the affidavit filed

by Wayne C. Kerchner, MAC’s Chief Legal Counsel, the

commission is an agency within the Executive Office of

Transportation and Construction, its operating budget is

subject to appropriation by the General Court (the state

legislature) with the approval of the governor, and its hearings

and enforcement proceedings are subject to the State

Administrative Procedure Act. Finally, according to

Massachusetts statutory law, the governor appoints all of the

MAC commissioners, and the commission has general police

powers to regulate aeronautics through rules and regulations

that have the force of law. See Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 90, § 39.

Concluding that the MAC is entitled to Eleventh Amendment

immunity, we affirm the district court’s dismissal of the

Brenemans’ claims.

12a

Appendix A

C. The Airport’s Motion for Costs

Shortly after oral argument, the Airport filed a motion seeking

$3,865.22 in attorney’s fees and costs as a sanction for the

Brenemans’ appeal, and explaining its grievance:

[I]t is clear from Breneman’s [sic] Appellate Brief

that the issues raised in this Appeal were directed

to the other Appellees and not to the Airport. The

Airport raised this in its Brief and at oral

argument. As such the Breneman’s Appeal as it

relates to the Airport is insubstantial and not

reasonably calculated to result in a change in the

judgment as to the Airport.

In a subsequent response, without citing any authority, the

Brenemans argued that the appellees cannot move for

sanctions under Fed. R.App. P. 38 until a court has declared

that their appeal was frivolous.

There is no validity to the Brenemans’ claim. Rule 38 states:

“If a court of appeals determines that an appeal is frivolous,

it may, after a separately filed motion or notice from the court

and reasonable opportunity to respond, award just damages

and single or double costs to the appellee.” (emphasis added).

There are two requirements here: 1) a court must determine

that an appeal was frivolous and 2) the appellant must be

given notice and an opportunity to respond before the

imposition of sanctions. Neither the text of the rule nor our

case law requires a court to determine that an appeal was

frivolous before an appellee can move for sanctions.

However, the appellant must have notice of the request for

13a

Appendix A

sanctions and an opportunity to respond to it before the court

imposes sanctions.

The Rules Advisory Committee added the notice and

comment requirement to the rule in 1994 in response to the

Supreme Court’s admonition that sanctions “should not be

assessed lightly or without fair notice and an opportunity for

a hearing on the record.” Roadway Express., Inc. v. Piper,

447 U.S. 752, 767 (1980). See Fed. R.App. P. 38 advisory

committee’s notes (1994). With regard to the first form of

notice, a motion from one of the parties, the Committee

explained:

A separately filed motion requesting sanctions

constitutes notice. A statement inserted in a party’s

brief that the party moves for sanctions is not

sufficient notice. Requests in briefs for sanctions

have become so commonplace that it is unrealistic

to expect careful responses to such requests

without any indication that the court is actually

contemplating such measures. Only a motion, the

purpose of which is to request sanctions, is

sufficient.

Id. The Airport filed such a motion, and the Brenemans filed .

a detailed response to it. They have been afforded due process.

We can turn to the merits of the Airport’s motion.

The Airport’s motion for sanctions did not allege that the

Brenemans’ entire appeal was frivolous; it simply argued that

their appeal “‘as it relates to the Airport is insubstantial and

not reasonably calculated to result in a change in the judgment

l4a

Appendix A

as to the Airport.” As our imposition of a sanction in Ochoa

Realty Corp. v. Faria, 815 F.2d 812, 817-18 (1st Cir.1987),

demonstrates, the Airport did not have to prove that the entire

appeal was frivolous in order to justify its request for

sanctions. Although the Brenemans forced the Airport to incur

significant costs litigating this appeal by naming it as an

adverse party in the docketing statement, they failed to

explicitly address the district court’s dismissal of their claims

against the Airport. Despite the Airport’s repeated

protestations, the Brenemans never explained why they

considered the Airport to be an adverse party in this appeal.’

As we noted in Ochoa Realty, “[w]e will not countenance

frivolous impositions of this sort upon one’s litigation

adversaries.” Jd. at 818.

The Airport submitted an affidavit documenting $3,420 in

attorney’s fees and $445.22 in costs that it incurred defending

against the Brenemans’ appeal. We have no reason to question

the reasonableness of these costs, and the Brenemans have

not raised any issue as to reasonableness. Convinced that a

sanction of attorney’s fees plus costs is required under the

circumstances, we award $3,865.22 to the Airport.

9. The Brenemans argued in their response to the Airport’s

motion for sanctions that “[t]he Airport is an indispensable party to

this action due to its action in conspiring with the Government to

convert Appellants’ property into ‘navigable airspace’ and its

inconsistent positions with respect to ownership of the Appellants’

property.” Although the Brenemans alleged conspiracy theories in

their complaint, they developed no argument on this issue on appeal.

That omission is the critical point for our sanctions analysis.

15a

Appendix A

Il.

We affirm the judgment of the-district court. We award

attorney’s fees and costs totaling $3,865.22 to appellee Tanner

Hiller Airport.

So ordered.

l6a

APPENDIX B — MEMORANDUM DECISION OF

THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS

DATED SEPTEMBER 23, 2003

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS

CIVIL ACTION NO. 02-12400-RWZ

JOHN BRENEMAN AND WILLIAM D. BRENEMAN

V.

UNITED STATES, EX REL. THE FEDERAL AVIATION

ADMINISTRATION, ET AL.

MEMORANDUM OF DECISION

September 23, 2003

ZOBEL, J.

Plaintiffs John and William Breneman own property

located in New Braintree, Massachusetts, which is adjacent

to the privately owned, public use Tanner Hiller Airport

(“Airport”). Most of the land is undeveloped. Between May

21, 1986, and October 17, 1988, Airport owner Leonard

Tanner (“Tanner”) hired A. Amorello & Sons, Inc.

(“Amorello”’) to remove gravel, stone walls, a fence, and a

hill from plaintiffs’ property in order to extend a runway.

Trees were also cleared and waste was buried thereon.

Plaintiffs discovered the alterations in August 1991 and

slightly more than a year later, commenced the first of a series

of legal and administrative actions for redress.

17a

Appendix B

On September 25, 1992, plaintiffs filed suit in state court

against Tanner who, in turn, impleaded Amorello as a third-

party defendant. Two years later, plaintiffs added Amorello

as a defendant. Plaintiffs alleged trespass, willful trespass to

trees in violation of state law, continuing trespass and damage _

to the land, conversion, negligence, and unfair and deceptive

trade practices. They sought damages, establishment of land

boundaries, an order demanding that defendant remove the

runway extension, and funds to remove the materials

defendants dumped onto plaintiffs’ property and to-return

the land to its original condition. The Worcester Superior

Court granted defendant Amorello’s Motion to Dismiss on

grounds that plaintiffs’ claims were barred by the statute of

limitations. Breneman v. Tanner, No. 922705, 1999 WL

1336436 (Mass. Super. Ct. Feb. 1, 1999). On October 21,

1999, the court allowed defendant Amorello’s Motion for

Summary Judgment as to Tanner’s contribution claim and

also allowed defendant Tanner’s Motion for Summary

Judgment as to all claims (except his counterclaim of adverse

possession) because they were time-barred. Breneman v.

Wolfson,' 10 Mass. L. Rptr. 634 (Mass. Super. Ct. 1999).

Plaintiffs’ appeal is pending. The parties subsequently

dismissed the adverse possession claim without prejudice.

Some time in December 1997, plaintiffs reported to the

Federal Aviation Administration (“FAA”) a discrepancy

between runway length as reported by the FAA in the Airport

Directory of the Airman’s Information Manual and as

measured by plaintiffs. The FAA acknowledged the

inaccurate runway measurement and apologized to the

plaintiffs on behalf of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts

1. John Wolfson is the executor of Leonard Tanner’s estate.

:

a

18a

Appendix B

Aeronautics Commission (““CMAC”). On May 18, 2000, FAA

published the 61st Edition of the New York Sectional Chart,

an aeronautical navigation chart for pilots showing the

extended runway. Subsequently, plaintiffs filed notices for

proposed reconstruction of the fence and hill on their

property. On February 15, 2001, FAA issued an Order in

Aeronautical Study, which determined that replacement of

the hill and fence would be hazardous to air navigation. Soon

thereafter, on April 9, 2001, plaintiffs appealed the FAA’s

dismissal of their petition for review of the Order to the

United States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia

Circuit,. In an unpublished opinion, the court determined that

the plaintiffs lacked standing to challenge the FAA’s advisory

opinion concerning the resurrection of the fence. Although

the plaintiffs established standing to challenge the FAA’s

opinion concerning the replacement of the hill, the court

found that the determination was not arbitrary and capricious

and further, that plaintiffs “ran afoul of this court’s chutzpah

doctrine when they conceded at oral argument that they intend

to build the hill in part to impede air traffic at the Airport.”

Breneman v. Federal Aviation Administration, No. 01-1165,

Consolidated with 01-1166, 2002 U.S. App. LEXIS 4322,

at *7 (D.C. Cir. Feb. 26, 2002). Finally, the court found all

of plaintiffs’ other constitutional challenges to the FAA’s

determination concerning the hill to be meritless.

On September 13, 2001, plaintiffs returned to Worcester

Superior Court with a petition in equity seeking review of

the CMAC’s final decision which denied their request to

replace the hill on their property. After a hearing on plaintiffs’

Motion for Summary Judgment on September 16, 2002, the

court took the matter under advisement. According to the

19a

Appendix B

docket sheet submitted by plaintiffs, decision has not yet

been rendered. (P1.’s Response to August 12, 2003 Order at

Exh. C.).

Next, plaintiffs filed suit against the United States in

the Court of Federal Claims on December 13, 2002, claiming

inverse condemnation based on the actions of the FAA.

On August 6, 2003, the court denied the government’s Motion

to Dismiss, but granted its Motion for Summary Judgment,

and entered judgment for the United States. The court found

the FAA’s publication of the New York Sectional Chart

recognizing the extension of Tanner’s runway and its hazard

determinations based on plaintiffs’ plans to rebuild the fence

and hill did not constitute a Taking under the Fifth

Amendment. Breneman v. The United States, No. 02-1854

L, 2003 U.S. Claims LEXIS 234 (Fed. Cl. August 6, 2003).

On the same day that they initiated suit in the Court of

Federal Claims, plaintiffs filed a seven count Complaint in

this Court against the FAA, the CMAC, and the Airport.

Plaintiffs claim that the “final orders and regulation of the

FAA and CMAC in conjunction with the actions of the Tanner

Hiller Airport have appropriated the greater portion of the

plaintiffs’ property to the public without compensation.”

(Complaint at 2). They characterize the action as one seeking

“an injunction and invalidation of the actions of the FAA

[and] CMAC as well as compensation for the temporary use

of their property or in the alternative damages and

compensation for the inverse condemnation of their

property.” (Complaint at 4). Each defendant has filed a

Motion to Dismiss.

20a

Appendix B

Plaintiffs cannot sustain their claims against the Airport.

Count I fails because inverse condemnation is a cause of

action against a governmental entity and the Airport is

privately owned. United States v. Clark, 445 U.S. 253, 257,

100 S. Ct. 1127, 1130 (1980). To the extent that plaintiffs

are asserting claims against the Airport for trespass or

conversion, they are barred by the three-year statute of

limitations. Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 260, § 2A (actions of tort

and replevin must be commenced within three years after

the cause of action accrues).? Count II, entitled “Invalidation

of Government Action,” does not apply to the Airport.

Counts III and IV allege violation of and conspiracy to

violate 42 U.S.C. § 1983. Although the typical Section 1983

case is against a state actor, a Section 1983 claim is viable

against a private party if the plaintiff can show that the private

defendant had an agreement with a state actor to deprive

plaintiff of rights. Adickes v. S.H. Kress & Co., 398 U.S. 144,

151, 90 S. Ct. 1598, 1605 (1970). Here, plaintiffs contend

suppressing or concealing [and conspiring to suppress and

conceal] the date(s) and facts surrounding the illegal

extension of the runway at the Tanner Hiller Airport.”

(Complaint at 30). However, the alleged suppression is not a

2. In deciding plaintiffs’ state law claims, the Court exercises

its supplemental jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1367(a), which

states that “in any civil action of which the district courts have original

jurisdiction, the district courts shall have supplemental jurisdiction

over all other claims that are so related to claims in the action within

such original jurisdiction that they form part of the same case or

controversy under Article III of the United States Constitution.”

2la

Appendix B

violation of the Fifth Amendment; and, in any case, there is

no evidence that the Airport and the CMAC had such an

agreement. Furthermore, any concealment was highly

unlikely; the Massachusetts Superior Court noted that “while

it may not have been easy to initially discover buried tree

stumps, a plainly visible gravel hill and many trees were

openly leveled, placing the plaintiffs on notice.” Breneman

v. Tanner, No. 922705, 1999 WL 1336436 (Mass. Super. Ct.

Feb. 1, 1999).

In Count V, entitled “Use of Property,” plaintiffs contend

that the Airport used their property without authorization or

compensation, but does not specify the grounds on which

the claim is brought. If they are alleging a violation of Mass.

Gen. Laws ch. 131, § 40, they, as private parties, cannot sue.

Christoffels v. Alton Properties, Inc., 285 N.E.2d 453, 454

(Mass. 1972) (stating that Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 131, § 40

“protects only the public interest and confers no enforceable

rights on the plaintiffs.”).

Count VI alleges that the actions of the defendants

“constitute an appropriation and confusion of plaintiffs’

property with the Tanner Hiller Airport property by creating

the appearance that the approach surfaces, the primary surface

of the runway and other parts of Tanner Hiller Airport are

part of the [ ] “airport” when in reality this property belongs

to the plaintiffs.” (Complaint at 33-34.). Again, to the extent

that plaintiffs are claiming trespass, their claim is, as noted

earlier, barred by the three-year statute of limitations. Finally,

plaintiffs’ last claim to quiet title to the property and remove

the cloud from its title cannot be maintained “unless both

actual possession and the legal title are united in the plaintiff.”

22a

Appendix B

Daley v. Daley, 14 N.E.2d 113, 116 (Mass. 1938). Here,

plaintiffs do not have actual possession of the land in

controversy—the Airport does. Because plaintiffs cannot

_prevail on any of their claims against the Airport, the Airport’s

Motion to Dismiss is allowed.

Res judicata bars plaintiffs’ claims against the FAA. Res

judicata is a judicially constructed doctrine based on three

policy considerations: (1) avoiding the cost of multiple

lawsuits, (2) conserving judicial resources, and (3) preventing

inconsistent outcomes. Bay State HMO Management, Inc. v.

Tingley Systems, Inc., 181 F.3d 174, 181 (1st Cir. 1999).

“The doctrine of res judicata bars all parties and their privies

from relitigating issues which were raised or could have been

raised in a previous action, once a court has entered a final

judgment on the merits in the previous action.” Aunyx Corp.

v. Canon U.S.A., Inc., 978 F.2d 3, 6 (1st Cir. 1992). There

are two aspects of res judicata—claim preclusion and

collateral estoppel. Grella v. Salem Five Cent Savings Bank,

42 F.3d 26, 30 (1st Cir. 1994). The elements of claim

preclusion are: “(1) a final judgment on the merits in an earlier

action; (2) an identity of parties or privies in the two suits;

and (3) an identity of the cause of action in both suits.” Jd.

The entry of a final judgment on the merits extinguishes

plaintiffs’ rights to pursue remedies as to the whole or part

of the transaction at issue in the complaint. Jsaac v. Schwariz,

706 F.2d 15, 16 (ist Cir. 1983).

Plaintiffs have already appealed the FAA’s decision to

the D.C. Circuit and brought the same claims against the

United States in the Court of Federal Claims resulting in

GROEN TPE POHL LEER NPE Ce Ee

23a

Appendix B

judgment for the defendant.’ Here, for the third time,

plaintiffs are seeking to invalidate the FAA’s determinations.

Plaintiffs cannot continue to file lawsuits until they obtain

the result they seek.

Finally, CMAC contends that plaintiffs’ suit against it is

barred by the Eleventh Amendment. “It is clear, of course,

that in the absence of consent a suit in which the State or one

of its agencies or departments is named as the defendant is

proscribed by the Eleventh Amendment.” Pennhurst State

School & Hospital v. Halderman, 104 S. Ct. 900, 908, 465

U.S. 89, 100 (1984). This is true regardless of the nature of

the relief sought. /d. In their Complaint, plaintiffs state that

defendant CMAC “is an administrative agency of the

Commonwealth of Massachusetts and acts for the

Commonwealth of Massachusetts.” (Complaini at 6).

Because defendant CMAC has not consented to suit,

plaintiffs’ claims must be dismissed.

Accordingly, the Motions to Dismiss by the Airport, the

FAA, and the CMAC are ALLOWED. Judgment may be

entered dismissing the complaint with prejudice.

DATE RYA W. ZOBEL

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

3. The parties are the same in the two suits as recognized by

plaintiffs in their Complaint: “[t]he defendant, FAA, is an

administrative agency of the United States and acts for the United

States.” (Complaint at 6.).

24a

APPENDIX C — STIPULATION OF DISMISSAL

ENTERED IN WCYV 1992-2705

ENTERED ON APRIL 2, 2001

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS

WORCESTER, SS.

SUPERIOR COURT DEPARTMENT

of the TRIAL COURT

DOCKET NO. 92-2705

WILLIAM D. BRENEMAN and JOHN BRENEMAN

Plaintiffs

vs.

JOHN M. WOLFSON, EXECUTOR OF THE

ESTATE OF LEONARD TANNER

STIPULATION OF DISMISSAL

WITHOUT PREJUDICE

Now come the parties in the above-entitled matter and hereby

stipulate to the dismissal as to the Counterclaim for Adverse

Possession only, without prejudice.

William D. Breneman

and John Breneman,

By Their Attorney,

s/ James C. Donnelly

James C. Donnelly

BBO #129700

MIRICK O’CONNELL

100 Front Street

Worcester, MA 01608

(508) 791 8500

25a

Appendix C

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED,

John M. Wolfson, Executor

of the Estate of Leonard Tanner,

By His Attorney,

s/ Richard T. Tucker

Richard T. Tucker

BBO #503960

BERNSTEIN BURWICK

& TUCKER, LLC

._ 10 Mechanic Street

Worcester, MA 01608

(508) 755 5555

26a ’

APPENDIX D — CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

AND STATUTES INVOLVED

United States Constitution

Article I

Section 8. The Congress shall have

Power. . . ; To constitute Tribunals inferior to the

supreme Court;

oe * * *

United States Constitution

Article III

Section 1. The judicial Power of the United

States, shall be vested in one supreme Court, and

in such inferior Courts as the Congress may from

time to time ordain and establish.

SERB EAI ARB AINE ME TAG BALD A at anid

hat 8 Phere

*x* *« *

Section 2. The judicial Power shall extend

to all Cases, in Law and Equity, arising under this

Constitution, the Laws of the United States, and

Treaties made, or which shall be made, under their

Authority; - to all Cases affecting Ambassadors,

other public Ministers and Consuls; - to all Cases

of admiralty and maritime Jurisdiction; - to

Controversies to which the United States shall be

a Party; - to Controversies between two or more

States; - between a State and Citizens of another

WHA Ae HENNE SAAD I et AI

;

PY

'

,

€

‘.

:

:

'

|

27a

Appendix D

State; - between citizens of different States; -

between Citizens of the same State claiming Lands

under the Grants of different States, and between

a State, or the Citizens thereof, and foreign States,

Citizens or Subjects.

* %*« %+* *

Title 49 United States Code, Section 40102(30)

‘Navigable airspace’ means airspace above the

minimum altitudes of flight prescribed by

regulations under this subpart and subpart III of

this part, including airspace needed to ensure

safety in the takeoff and landing of aircraft.

Title 49 United States Code, Section 40103(a)(1)

and (a)(2)

(a) Sovereignty and Public Right of Transit. —

(1) The United States Government has

exclusive sovereignty of airspace of the

United States.

(2) Acitizen of the United States has a public

right of transit through the navigable

airspace.

%

f

i

é

:

i

)

e

-

’

‘

re

t

-

y

—

g

5

*

©

F

2

&

€

eS

¥

x

§

¢

i

i

PA

&

a

2

*

¥

Ps

2.

BS

3

:

*

E

Es

ERENCE PEE NEE TE ER Bee IRE NENA Oe SRN ei

28a

Appendix D

Title 49 United States Code, Section 46301(a)

CIVIL PENALTIES

(a) General penalty. (1) A person is liable to

the United States Government for a civil penalty

of not more than $1,000 for violating-

(A) chapter 401 [49 USCS §§ 40101 et seq.]

(except sections 40103(a) and (d), 40105,

40116, and 40117), chapter 411 [49 USCS

§§ 41101 et seq.], chapter 413 (except sections

41307 and 41310(b)-(f)), chapter 415 (except f

sections 41502, 41505, and 41507-41509),

chapter 417 (except sections 41703, 41704,

41710, 41713, and 41714), chapter 419 [49

USCS §§ 41901 et seq.], subchapter II or

III of chapter 421 [49 USCS §§ 42111 et seq.

or 42121], chapter 441 [49 USCS §§ 41101

et seq.] (except section 44109), 44502(b) or

(c), chapter 447 (except sections 44717 and

44719-44723), chapter 449 (except sections

44902, 44903(d), 44904, 44907(a)-(d)(1)(A)

and (d)(1)(C)-(f), and 44908), or section

47107(b) (including any assurance made under

‘such section) of this title;

(B) a regulation prescribed or order issued

under any provision to which clause (A) of

this paragraph applies;

29a

Appendix D

(C) any term of certificate or permit issued under

section 41102, 41103 or 41302 of this title; or

(D) a regulation of the United States Postal

Service under this part [49 USCS §§40101 et

seq. ].

(2) A person operating an aircraft for the

transportation of passengers or property for

compensation (except an airman serving as an

airman) is liable to the Government for a civil penalty

of not more than $10,000 for violating-

(3) A civil penalty of not more than $10,000 may

be imposed for each violation under paragraph (1)

of this subsection related to-

(A) the transportation of hazardous material;

(B) the registration or recordation under chapter

of 441 of this title [49 USCS §§ 44101 et seq.]

of an aircraft not used to provide air

transportation;

(C) a violation of section 44718(d), relating to

the limitation on construction or establishment

of landfills;

(D) a violation of section 44725, relating to the

safe disposal of life-limited aircraft parts; or

(E) a violation of section 41705, relating to

discrimination against handicapped individuals.

30a

Appendix D

Title 49 United States Code, Section 46316 General |

criminal penalty when specific penalty not provided

(a) Criminal penalty. Except as provided by

subsection(b) of this section, when another

criminal penalty is not provided under this chapter

[49 USCS §§ 46301 et seq.], a person that

knowingly and willfully violates this part

[49 USCS §§ 40101 et seq.], a regulation

prescribed or order issued by the Secretary of

Transportation (or the Under Secretary of

Transportation for Security with respect to

security duties and powers designated to be carried

out by the Under Secretary or the Administrator

of the Federal Aviation Administration with

respect to aviation safety duties and powers

designated to be carried out by the Administrator)

under this part [49 USCS §§ 40101 et seq.], or

any term of a certificate or permit issued under

section 41102, 41103, or 41302 of this title shall

be fined under title 18. A separate violation occurs

for each day the violation continues.

(b) Nonapplication. Subsection (a) of this

section does not apply to chapter 401 [49 USCS

§§ 40101 et seq.] (except sections 40103(a) and

(d), 40105, 40116, and 40117), chapter 441 [49

USCS §§ 44101 et seq.] (except section 44109),

chapter 445 [49 USCS §§ 44501 et seq.], chapter

447 [49 USCS §§ 44701 et seq.] (except section

44718(a)), and chapter 449 [49 USCS §§ 44901

et seq.] (except sections 44902, 44903(d), 44904,

and 44907-44909) of this title.

3la

Appendix D

Title 49 United States Code, Section 44718

Structures interfering with air commerce

(a) Notice. - By regulation or by order when

necessary, the Secretary of Transportation shall

require a person to give adequate public notice, in

the form and way the Secretary prescribes, of the

construction, alteration, establishment, or expansion,

- or the proposed construction, alteration,

establishment, or expansion, ofa structure or sanitary

landfill when the notice will promote -

(1) safety in air commerce; and

(2) the efficient use and preservation of the

navigable airspace and of airport traffic capacity

at public-use airports.

(b) Studies. - (1) Under regulations prescribed by

the Secretary, if the Secretary decides that

constructing or altering a structure may result in an

obstruction of the navigable airspace or an

interference with air navigation facilities and

equipment or the navigable airspace, the Secretary

shall conduct an aeronautical study to decide the

extent of any adverse impact on the safe and efficient

use of the airspace, facilities, or equipment. In

conducting the study, the Secretary shall consider

factors relevant to the efficient and effective use of

the navigable airspace, including -

322

Appendix D

(A) the impact on arrival, departure, and

en route procedures for aircraft operating

under visual flight rules;

(B) the impact on arrival, departure, and

en route procedures for aircraft operating

under instrument flight rules;

(C) the impact on existing public-use

airports and aeronautical facilities;

(D) the impact on planned public-use

airports and aeronautical facilities; and

(E) the cumulative impact resulting from

the proposed construction or alteration of

a structure when combined with the impact

of other existing or proposed structures.

(2) On completing the study, the Secretary

shall issue a report disclosing completely the

extent of the adverse impact on the safe and

efficient use of the navigable airspace that the

Secretary finds will result from constructing

or altering the structure.

(c) Broadcast Applications and Tower Studies. -

In carrying out laws related to a broadcast

application and conducting an aeronautical study

related to broadcast towers, the Administrator of

the Federal Aviation Administration and the

Federal Communications Commission shall take

action necessary to coordinate efficiently -

33a

Appendix D

(1) the receipt and consideration of, and

action on, the application; and

(2) the completion of any associated

aeronautical study.

(d) Limitation on Construction of Landfills. —

(1) In general. - No person shall construct or

establish a municipal solid waste landfill (as

defined in section 258.2 of title 40, Code of

Federal Regulations, as in effect on the date

of the enactment of this subsection) that

receives putrescible waste (as defined in

section 257.3-8 of such title) within 6 miles

of a public airport that has received grants

under chapter 471 and is primarily served by

general aviation aircraft and regularly

scheduled flights of aircraft designed for 60

passengers or less unless the State aviation

- agency of the State in which the airport is

located requests that the Administrator of the

Federal Aviation Administration exempt the

landfill from the application of this subsection

and the Administrator determines that such

exemption would have no adverse impact on

aviation safety.

(2) Limitation on applicability. — Paragraph

(1) shall not apply in the State of Alaska and

shall not apply to the construction,

establishment, expansion, or modification of,

34a

Appendix D

or to any other activity undertaken with respect

to, a municipal solid waste landfill if the

construction or establishment of the landfill

was commenced on or before the date of the

enactment of this subsection.

Title 28 United States Code, Section 2409a.

Real property quiet title actions

(a) The United States may be named as a party

defendant in a civil action under this section to

adjudicate a disputed title to real property in which

the United States claims an interest, other than a

security interest or water rights. This section does

not apply to trust or restricted Indian lands, nor

does it apply to or affect actions which may be or

could have been brought under sections 1346,

1347, 1491, or 2410 of this title, sections 7424,

7425, or 7426 of the Internal Revenue Code of

1986, as amended (26 U.S.C. 7424, 7425, and

7426), or section 208 of the Act of July 10, 1952

(43 U.S.C. 666).

(b) The United States shall not be disturbed in

possession or control of any real property involved

in any action under this section pending a final

judgment or decree, the conclusion of any appeal

therefrom, and sixty days; and if the final

determination shall be adverse to the United

States, the United States nevertheless may retain

such possession or control of the real property or

of any part thereof as it may elect, upon payment

35a

Appendix D

to the person determined to be entitled thereto of

an amount which upon such election the district

court in the same action shall determine to be just

compensation for such possession or control.

* * *

(e) If the United States disclaims all interest in

the real property or interest therein adverse to the

plaintiff at any time prior to the actual

commencement of the trial, which disclaimer is

confirmed by order of the court, the jurisdiction

of the district court shall cease unless it has

jurisdiction of the civil action or suit on ground

other than and independent of the authority

_conferred by section 1346(f) of this title.

(f) Acivil action against the United States under

this section shall be tried by the court without a

jury.

(g) Any civil action under this section, except for

an action brought by a State, shall be barred unless

it is commenced within twelve years of the date

upon which it accrued. Such action shall be

deemed to have accrued on the date the plaintiff

or his predecessor in interest knew or should have

known of the claim of the United States.

36a

Appendix D

Title 28 United States Code, Section 1346.

United States as defendant

(a) The district courts shall have original

jurisdiction, concurrent with the United States Court

of Federal Claims, of:

(2) Any other civil action or claim against the

United States, not exceeding $10,000 in

amount, founded either upon the Constitution,

or any Act of Congress, or any regulation of an

executive department, or upon any express or

implied contract with the United States, or for

liquidated or unliquidated damages in cases not

sounding in tort, except that the district courts

shall not have jurisdiction of any civil action

or claim against the United States founded upon

any express or implied contract with the United

States or for liquidated or unliquidated damages

in cases not sounding in tort which are subject

to sections 8(g)(1) and 10(a)(1) of the Contract

Disputes Act of 1978. For the purpose of this

paragraph, an express or implied contract with

the Army and Air Force Exchange Service,

Navy Exchanges, Marine Corps Exchanges,

Coast Guard Exchanges, or Exchange-Councils

of the National Aeronautics and Space

Administration shall be considered an express

or implied contract with the United States.

* * *

37a

Appendix D

(f) The district courts shall have exclusive

original jurisdiction of civil actions under section

2402a to quiet title to an estate or interest in real

property in which an interest is claimed by the

United States.

Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90 Section 35B

Approach Protection

No person shall erect or add to the height of any

structure within a rectangular area lying fifteen

hundred feet on either side of the extended center

line of a runway or landing strip of an airport

approved by the commission for a distance of two

miles from the end of such runway or landing strip

so that the height thereof will be more than one

hundred and fifty feet above the level of such

runway or landing strip, nor, within that portion

of such area which is within a distance of three

thousand feet from the end of such runway or

landing strip, so that the height thereof will be

greater than a height above the level of such

runway or landing strip determined by the ratio

of one foot vertically to every twenty feet

horizontally measured from the end of such

runway or landing strip, unless a permit therefor

has been granted by the commission.

38a

Appendix D

The provisions of this section shall not apply

(1) to areas subject to airport approach regulations

adopted pursuant to sections forty A to forty I,

inclusive, (2) to air approaches to the General

Edward Lawrence Logan International Airport,

nor (3) to structures which will be thirty feet or

less in height above ground.

Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90 Section 44

Penalties

Any person failing to comply with any

requirement, or violating any provision, of

sections thirty-five to fifty-two, inclusive, or the

rules and regulations for the enforcement of said

sections made by the commission, or airport

approach regulations made by a city or town under

section forty A, and in full force and effect, shall

be punished by a fine of not less than ten nor more

than five hundred dollars, or by imprisonment for

not less than one month nor more than six months,

or both. Whoever operates an aircraft while under

the influence of intoxicating liquor shall be

punished by imprisonment for not less than one

month nor more than two years.

39a

Appendix D

Airport Design Advisory Circular 150/5300-13

(6) 4 CFR Part 77 Obstructions to Air Navigation.

Obstructions to air navigation must be removed

unless an FAA aeronautical study, based on

proposed operations, determined otherwise...

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.