Petition for Writ of Certiorari — City of Middletown v. Regional Economic Community Action Program, Inc.

Supreme Court brief2002

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Oo

011624 May -3 2002

No. OFFIOE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

CITY OF MIDDLETOWN, CITY OF MIDDLETOWN

PLANNING BOARD and JOSEPH DeSTEFANO,

Petitioners,

REGIONAL ECONOMIC COMMUNITY ACTION PROGRAM,

INC., and UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

ALEX SMITH

Assistant Corporation Counsel

of the City of Middletown BRIAN SOKOLOFF, ESQ.

Counsel of Record MIRANDA & SOKOLOFF, LLP

ROBERT N. ISSEKS 240 Mineola Boulevard

6 North Street The Esposito Boulevard

Middletown, New York 10940 Mineola, New York 11501

(845) 344-4322 (516) 741-7676

Attorneys for Petitioners

THE REPORTER COMPANY, Printers and Publishers, Inc.

18! Delaware Street, Walton, NY 13856—800-252-7181

(4019 — 2002)

Printed on Recycled Paper

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether a healthy and productive individual, who has

been treated and alcohol-free for at least 30 days, may be

deemed “disabled” by virtue of his or her status as a

“recovering alcoholic”?

2. Whether a challenge under the disability statutes to a

planning board’s decision denying a special use permit to

construct 2 large residential facilities for recovering alcoholics

in an industrially-zoned district right next to an active rail line

in the middle of a small city’s last industrially developable

corridor — when the city and planning board rejected all other

residential proposals, save one, in the industrial districts of that

rail corridor in the past 20 years, and where that city has

demonstrated substantial and undisputed commitment to

residential facilities for the disabled — warrants a trial due to (1)

a discussion during the planning board hearings, mostly by

non-planning-board members, concerning the city’s and

neighboring towns’ fair share obligations in providing services

to special needs populations, and (2) the planning board’s

approval of a nearby office and warehouse complex that

included a Head Start program for children?

3. Whether a claim for retaliation lies under the disability

statutes for not providing loan monies when it is undisputed

that provision of those monies would have violated federal

regulations?

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRRRIOTES RD vk vc ccau 6c etbubecduccssens i

TABLE OF CONTEC O sick ka cna wads bebe eeeedesuccaess ii

TABLE OF ALSEPALIINGe 655 26s Cees Pa veKdechopeaunens Vv

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI .............. 1

OPINIONS BELOW 2. iccseuuceses PobUN Abs eeasaseees 1

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION ................00000- 1

STATEMENT OF NOTIFICATIONS ................445: 1

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED ................ 1

STATEMENT OF ‘THIER CAME. cs k505040550uueteeseteas 2

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ................ 3

POINT 1

The recovering alcoholics who would have resided at

RECAP's facilities were not "disabled" ................ 3

A. Determining whether the "impairment" of

alcoholism constitutes a "disability" ............... 3

B. The proposed RECAP clients .......cccccccccceee 4

C. "Substantial limitation" versus “mitigating

MrT r rr rer rr Te tir ye ee 5

Pro ee el

Page

D. "Impairment" as "physical or mental" ............. 6

E. The “impairment-substantial limitation"

PI a a ndd-c-0 5.06 05005040 80506 cessacesenesa 8

F. The “individualized assessment" requirement

Se TT. PPT Teer rerereeeirereerrere 9

POINT 2

The Planning Board's denial of the Special Use Permit

did not violate the FHA, ADA or Rehabilitation Act asa

SE COU oc accvcccccewnnspedcvecccsesenseccecs 10

PE seid db ek WNekeneadeenuccedsusrincesese 10

The Middletown Zoning Ordinance ................. 11

The 1994 Planning Board hearings .................. 12

POT oo nv cccccccccecccnsncccccccscccececcecs 18

A. The disparate treatment prima facie case ...... 19

B. Legitimate justification ................e002- 20

ae NS Sw 04s CR 6DLS s56 400s case nc chdesoccace 22

ae: fF PPO UTTTETITLEReT Tere 22

1-a. The debate between the Mayor

GUN TARE GAINED ccc ccicccccececses 22

1-b. Isolated comments ................e0005 23

iV

Page

1-c. The Novesky comment ................. 24

1-d. Chairman Arluck's summary ............ 24

1-e. The Swierski statement ................. 25

1-f. Miner'scomments ..................00. 26

2. Differential treatment iebedeteawaaee bees 26

POINT 3

The retaliation claim was correctly dismissed as a matter

Vv

TABLE OF CONTENTS TO APPENDICES

Page

Appendix A - Opinion of Hon. Charles L.

Brieant, USDJ, dated September 25, 2000 ............. la

Appendix B - Final Opinion of Hon. Robert

Sack, USC], entered February 19, 2002 .............. 22a

Appendix C - Fair Housing Act (FHA), 42 U.S.C.

Ke f) MPPrrrerrrrrrrrerrr rr re eee 49a

Appendix D - Americans With Disabilities Act

(ADA), 42 USK. G TZ0R naka cb ieannanssises 58a

Appendix E - Rehabilitation Act, 29 U.S.C.

SP OO, oa cccccnaxasacncaaesénscdesseauansaes 61a

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

Albertsons, Inc. v Kirkingburg, 527 US 555 (1999) .......-+-- 9

Bragdon v Abbott, 524 US 624 (1998) ......--.+.0eee0es 3, 10

Brandt v Village of Chebanse, 82 F.3d 172 (7th Cir.

OOD... occcccdvecccsocescenasccusnesveaneneennuaes 21

Bryant Woods v Howard County, 911 F.Supp. 918

(D.Md. 1996), aff'd 124 F.3d 597 (4th Cir. 1997) .. 19, 20, 21

Buckley v Consolidated Edison Co., 127 F.3d 270

(Qn Cir. 1997) ...cccccccccccccccccccscsccccccceces 4

Burch v Coca-Cela Co., 119 F.3d 305, 316 n.9

(Bin Cie, TOTP) occ ccccccccnsccccscssceesescestnesees 4

Gamble v City of Escondido, 104 F.3d 300 (9th Cir.

BOOT) . oc vncccncccceccccccceseccesasuaesscsuseneas 20

Groome Resources v Parish of Jefferson, 234 F.3d 192

(Sth Cir. DOOD) 2. cccccccccccccccccccccccccccsscess 20

Hemisphere Building Co. v Village of Richton, 171

F.3d 437 (7th Cir. 1999) 2.0.2... ccc cece eee e ee eeeee 21

Jackson v City of Auburn, 41 F.Supp.2d 1300

(M.D. Alla. 1999) .......cccccccccccccccccccccccces 21

Johnson v St. Clare's Hospital & Health Center,

1998 WL 236235, *7-8 (SDNY 1998), aff'd 175

F.5d 1008 Cindi Cie. 20000 ..c.cccccaccescassennwenes 4

Vil

Page

Keys v City of Olathe, 75 F.Supp.2d 1235 (D.Kan.

1999), rev'd in part on other grounds, 248 F.3d

See GU UE bbc uannecessaenedsaauvacsedcde 23

LeBlanc-Sternberg v Fletcher, 67 F.3d 412 (2nd Cir

SOOT 55450 400640900000 000 ubSddKEe bE ea des ckeenvei 19

Mountain Side Mobile Estates v HUD, 56 F.3d

PT EY aacpuscwleskennbeuddaucokounas 21

Oxford House v City of St. Louis, 77 F.3d 249

SY CE 0 600s kek ceccdnendendwinnckne¥bowes 23

Roberts v New York State Dept. of Correctional

Services, 63 F Supp.2d 272 (WDNY 1999) .............. 4

St. Mary’s Honor Center v Hicks, 509 US 502 (1993) ....... 27

Sutton v United Air Lines, 527 US 471 (1999) .......... 3,5,6

Texas Dept. of Community Affairs v Burdine, 450 US

| Perr rey “adisthseddndectsseeesannenaws 22

Toyota Motor v Williams, 122 S.Ct. 681 (2002) ...... 3, 8, 9, 10

White v Lee, 227 F.3d 1214 (9th Cir. 2000) ................ 24

Federal Statutes:

PD 4h b00 bbs deennaseuaeekenndwiseveesss 1

42 US.C::

SD +2 0b wan wi Neaweenedeeakedenecddcaubbaces 8

SE 24 Adn aN eeakbdonsNeeeed oaewdoescateunedess 23

Vill

Page

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA),

Oe GeO OUD, 5 5 ho beak kc ds ddd cée0dcescdasas 1

Fair Housing Act (FHA), 42 U.S.C. §3601, et seq. .......... 1

Rehabilitation Act, 29 U.S.C. §701, et seq. .......... 0c cee 1

Federal Regulations:

poe oe | PPPPTETETETOPTTTTeerreiTe 29

29 C.F.R.:

PE SceueNakventheesbessnaacededwasdees cieave

SE crisccaekeskssdnenieenedatscsanann 8

New York Regulations:

EE oie cin yeas detcddnitakeenneednieneant 6

PD cstcsccbincdateosseavedencecanenesans 8

Other Authority:

New York General City Law, Article 3,

Ae ee PUY TET EL TTETETOPTTe rire re 23

l

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioners respectfully petition for a writ of certiorari to

review the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Second Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The District Court's opinion (Hon. Charles L. Brieant, USDJ)

granting Petitioners’ motion for summary judgment is

unpublished and is annexed as Appendix A. The Second

Circuit's original opinion (Hon. Robert Sack, USCJ), affirming

in part and reversing in part, is published at 281 F.3d 333. The

Second Circuit's final opinion is unpublished (2002 WL 449493

(2™.Cir.)) and is annexed as Appendix B.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The Second Circuit entered its final opinion on February 19,

2002. Petitioners invoke this Court's jurisdiction under 28

U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATEMENT OF NOTIFICATIONS

As required by this Court’s Rule 29(4), the Solicitor General

of the United States and the United States Attorney for the

Southern District of New York have each been served with 3

copies of this Petition for a Writ of Certiorari.

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The provisions of the Fair Housing Act (FHA), 42 U.S.C. §

3601, et seg., Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), 42 U.S.C.

§ 12101, et seq., and the Rehabilitation Act, 29 U.S.C. § 701, et

seq., relevant to this Petition are annexed, respectively, as

Appendices C, D and E.

2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In mid-1994, the Regional Economic Community Action

Program (RECAP) sought special use permits from the

Middletown Planning Board to operate service facilities on 2

contiguous parcels of land. On one parcel, owned by Richard

Rowley, RECAP sought to operate a Head Start facility,

together with day care services, various offices and a

warehouse. On the other parcel, owned by the Formisano

brothers, RECAP sought to construct and operate two

residential facilities: a halfvvay house for recovering male

alcoholics and a family support center for recovering female

alcoholics with children.

After two public hearings, in September 1994, the Board

unanimously granted a special use permit for the Rowley

projects. After five public hearings, in December 1994, the

Board, by a 4-2 vote, denied the special use permit for the

Formisano facilities.

RECAP and the Government contend the Formisano

decision violates the FHA, the ADA, and the Rehabilitation

Act. RECAP also alleges that Middletown retaliated against

RECAP for filing a January 1995 HUD complaint by reneging

on a funding commitment of approximately $53,000 for a

RECAP project at 208 North Street in Middletown.

Each of the above three Questions Presented has its own

separate and distinct set of relevant facts. Therefore, inan effort

to present with these questions with the “clarity” which is

“essential to ready and adequate understanding” (Rule 14(4) of

the Rules of the Supreme Court), each set of facts is contained

in the specific Reason for Granting the Writ to which it is

relevant.

3

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Point 1

The Recovering Alcoholics Who Would Have Resided at

RECAP’s Facilities Were Not “Disabled”

A. Determining Whether the “Impairment” of Alcoholism

Constitutes a “Disability”

This Court has outlined a_ three-step process for

determining whether an individual hasa “disability” under the

subject federal statutes: (1) whether she has a physical or

mental impairment; (2) whether the activity allegedly limited

by the impairment is a major life activity'; and (3) whether the

impairment substantially limits that major life activity.’ Bragdon

v Abbott, 524 US 624, 630 (1998). “[T]hese terms need to be

interpreted strictly to create a demanding standard for

qualifying as disabled”. Toyota Motor v Williams, 122 S.Ct. 681,

691 (2002)

Assuming that alcoholism is an “impairment” and thus

passes the first step of the Bragdon inquiry, the question

presented by this Petition is whether this impairment, as

experienced by the “recovering alcoholic” who has already

undergone treatment and who remains alcohol-free after at

'“[T]he touchstone for determining” whether an activity is a “major life

activity” is its “significance.” Bragdon, 524 US at 638. “[Slignificant” life

activities are those that are “central to the life process itself”, Id., and include

such functions as “caring for oneself, performing manual tasks, walking,

seeing, hearing, speaking, breathing, learning, and working.” 29 C.F.R. §

1630.2(I).

? “[S]ubstantially limits” suggests “considerable” or “specified to a large

degree”. Sutton v United Air Lines, 527 US 471, 491 (1999)

4

least 30 continuous days of abstinence, can qualify as

“disabled” under either the second or third step.’

B. The Proposed RECAP Clients

According to Peter Quinlan, RECAP’s former Director of

Chemical Dependency Services, the recovering alcoholics who

were to reside at RECAP’s proposed facilities were “healthy

and productive people.” They would have “already been

detoxed” by having gone through thirty days of treatment in

an “intensive setting” just prior to admission, and they no

longer would be drinking. The prospective RECAP residents

“are functional people” and “often when they’re in the

program they go to work... [and to | college”.

Quinlan explained that the RECAP clients “suffered from

poverty by and large,” and that part of the criteria for their

admission was “whether or not they had a functional disability

. . . [or] some other limitation other than their chemical

dependency,” such as a co-existing health problem (like being

HIV positive or having poor vision), a housing problem, a

“mental health” problem, or an “intellectual limitation,” and

perhaps another issue, such as “personal trauma from

childhood or relationships.’ The fact that a client is a

> See, Buckley v Consolidated Edison Co., 127 F.3d 270, 273 (2™ Cir.1997)

(“mere status of being a recovering alcoholic . . . does not, on its face, appear

to amount to a [substantial limitation on a major life activity].”); Burch v

Coca-Cola Co., 119 F.3d 305, 316 n.9 (5™ Cir.1997) (while alcoholism may “rise

to the level of a disability” in some circumstances, it is insufficient for plaintiff

to merely state that he is an alcoholic); Roberts v New York State Dept. of

Correctional Services, 63 F.Supp.2d 272, 285 (WDNY 1999) (alcoholism “is not

a disability per se under the ADA”); Johnson v St. Clare's Hospital & Health

Center, 1998 WL 236235, *7-8 (SDNY 1998), aff'd 175 F.3d 1008 (2™ Cir. 1999)

(recovering alcoholic failed to provide medical evidence suggesting that his

alcoholism substantially interfered with a major life activity, and therefore

failed to establish a prima facie case of discrimination under the ADA).

5

recovering alcoholic, “in and of itself” is not the reason that he

would benefit from a stay in the halfway house.

Dr. Barry Hawkins, Orange County Director of Chemical

Dependency Services, confirmed that “[t]he typical [RECAP]

resident is a working person wno has a job in the community”

and is part of “the work force.” According to Hawkins, the

recovering alcoholic is not the type of alcoholic “you're most

familiar with,” the type you see “laying around the streets, or

vomiting, or stumbling out of bars.” Rather the RECAP

resident would be “invisible,” “someone who doesn’t

drink”and “doesn’t act out,” “a contributing member of

society;” “there’s absolutely no distinction between them and

other citizens.” “The typical resident is a working person who

has a job in the community.” Being a recovering alcoholic’ is a

permanent status which “has nothing to do with [the] ability to

perform or not perform anything.”

_C. “Substantial Limitation” versus “Mitigating Measure”

This Court has made it clear that individuals, such as

RECAP’s proposed residents, must not “be evaluated in their

hypothetical uncorrected state.” Sutton, 527 US at 482. The

effects of “measures to correct for, or mitigate, a physical or

* Hawkins used the term “recovered alcoholic” to refer to “that type of

person who was eligible for admission to the men’s halfway house that

RECAP was proposing” as well as RECAP’s proposed “family support

center.”

> Besides providing the clients with shelter and meals, the very function

of the halfway house is to train the client in “independent living skills,” such

as how to apply for a job, to dress for a job interview, to shop, cook, clean

house and get through life without drinking, thus belying any claim that the

clients are “disabled” from performing them. The clients’ needs for such

training might not necessarily be attributed to their alcohol problem; “[iJt

could have been a number of things” such as a lack of education, or perhaps

that “[t]hey were abused physically or sexually.”

6

mental impairment . . . must be taken into account when

judging whether that person is ‘substantially limited’ in a

major life activity and thus ‘disabled’ under the Act.” Sutton,

527 US at 482. “A ‘disability’ exists only where an impairment

‘substantially limits’ a major life activity, not where it ‘might,’

‘could,’ or ‘would’ be substantially limiting if mitigating

measures were not taken.” Sutton, 527 US at 482.

Any “substantial limitation” the RECAP client might have

experienced as a result of her alcoholism would be either past

experience (from before she entered the facility) or “potentially

or hypothetically,” Sutton, 527 US at 482, experienced (in the

event she should fall off the wagon). Throughout a client's

residence at the RECAP facilities her drinking impairment

would not “presently”, Sutton, 527 US at 482, constitute a

substantial limitation on a life activity.

Since it was not Congress’ intent “to bring under the

[ADA’s] protection all those whose uncorrected conditions

amount to disabilities,” Sutton, 527 US at 484, it could not have

been Congress’ intent to brand these non-drinking

“recovering” alcoholics as permanently disabled. The

structured environment provided toa recovering alcoholic who

has just come. out of treatment (but who, by RECAP’s

admission, is not thereby unable to be a “productive citizen”)

is nothing more than a “mitigating measure”. The RECAP’s

clients’ need for such an environment no more constitutes a

disability than the myopic sisters’ need for eyeglasses in Sutton.

D. “Impairment” as “Physical or Mental”

The Second Circuit erroneously reasoned that (1) under

state regulation (14 NYCRR 375) all prospective RECAP clients

must be “unable to abstain without continued care in a

structured supportive setting,” (2) the need of a supportive

setting constitutes a “substantial limitation” on the ability to

7

live independently, a “major life activity,” and therefore (3) the

RECAP resident is “disabled” as a matter of law. This

reasoning fails because it necessarily extends the definition of

“impairment” beyond the mere “physical or mental,” as

limited by the express language of the disability statutes, to

include any number of social and economic circumstances

which, according to Quinlan and Hawkins, are taken into

consideration when determining an individual’s need for a

temporary stay in a halfway house. While consideration of

such circumstances may further the State’s regulatory

purposes, it has no role in determining whether an individual

is “disabled” under the federal disability acts. The phrase

“unable to abstain without continued care in a structured

supportive setting” is simply too subjective, vague and

malleable to serve as a sufficient criterion for determining

whether an individual is “disabled”.

If, for example, the Second Circuit's syllogistic reasoning

were applied to a productive, competent government official

who is also a recovering alcoholic in need of a “supportive

setting” in order to stay sober, such individual would have to

be deemed “disabled,” even if such need is fulfilled by her

stable home and loving family, rather than a halfway house.

The same would be true for the prosperous executive whose

“care in a supportive setting” consists of expensive weekly

sessions with a private therapist and daily sessions with a

personal trainer. What separates these hypothetical “recovering

alcoholics” from their less fortunate counterparts who end up

in RECAP-type halfway houses is socio-economic status, not

the “physical” or “mental” impairment of alcoholism. Indeed,

Quinlan and Hawkins were quite clear and explicit about this.

In other words, it is not recovering alcoholism, per se, which

would qualify an individual for temporary residence in one of

the proposed RECAP facilities. It is recovering alcoholism plus

some other difficult life circumstance, such as poverty,

8

homelessness, illiteracy or some other impairment or illness.

There is no indication that Congress intended such life

circumstances to be considered in determining whether an

individual meets the definition of “disabled”.

E. The “Impairment-Substantial Limitation” Distinction

This Court in Williams held that in order to satisfy the

“substantial limitation” requirement, “[t]he impairment’s

impact must . . . be permanent or long-term.” Williams, 122 S.Ct.

at 691, citing 29 CFR §§ 1630.2(j)(2)(ii)-(iii) (emphasis added).

While the Second Circuit was correct in observing that

under NYCRR § 375.8(c), “RECAP’s clients qualify to live ina

halfway house because they need its supportive environment,”

it is also true that “[u]nder New York law, a halfway house

admits only those to be discharged ‘between three and nine

months after admission’”. Thus, while the RECAP clients’

“impairment is .. . long-term,” as noted by the Second Circuit,

the impact of that impairment is of relatively short duration.

For reasons unstated, the Second Circuit has in effect held that

since the impairment of alcoholism is of long (or permanent)

duration, then so must be its substantially limiting “impact.”

There is no basis for sucha holding in either law or this record.

The Second Circuit further obfuscates the “impairment/

substantial limitation” distinction when, citing 42 U.S.C. §

12102(2)(B), it concludes that “even if RECAP'’s clients did not

meet the first definition of a disability, they would qualify

under the second because they have a record of having an

impairment.” Under § 12102(2)(B), “[t]he term ‘disability’

means, with respect to an individual — (A) a physical or mental

impairment that substantially limits one or more of the major

life activities of such individual [or] (B) a record of such an

impairment...” (emphasis added) It is therefore not enough

that the RECAP clients have a record of alcoholism; they must

9

have a record of an alcoholism which resulted ina “permanent

or long-term”, substantial limitation of a major life activity.

F. The “Individualized Assessment” Requirement and Class-

Type Actions

A determination as to whether an_ impairment

“substantially limits” a “major life activity” must be made on

a “case-by-case basis,” Albertsons, Inc. v Kirkingburg,527 US555,

565 (1999), and “[i]t is insufficient for individuals attempting to

prove disability status under this test to merely submit

evidence of a medical diagnosis of an impairment.” Williams,

122 S.Ct. at 691.

“An individualized assessment of the effect of an

impairment is particularly necessary when the impairment is

one whose symptoms vary widely from person to person.”

Williams, 122 S.Ct. at 692. As the instant record bears out,

alcoholism is definitely an impairment with widely varying

symptoms, particularly among “recovering alcoholics”.

The “individualized assessment” requirement strongly

suggests that any disability lawsuit brought on behalf of a

generalized class of unknown persons whose impairment is not

one that “invariably cause[s] a substantial limitation ona major

life activity,” Albertsons, 527 US at 566, might be a frivolous

lawsuit. This is not to say, of course, that all disability class-

type actions would be without merit. Some “physical or

mental” impairments can be identified generally by the very

limitations they cause. Being blind is the same as being

substantially limited in the major life activity of seeing; being

mentally retarded is the same as being substantially limited in

cognitive reasoning. These impairments can certainly be the

proper subjects of class-type disability claims, since it is

obvious that they also constitute “disabilities” .

10

But such is not the case with an impairment like

alcoholism, a so-called permanent condition that might cause

no limitation at all (other than the inability to drink alcohol in

moderation). The purported “substantial limitation” upon the

RECAP client's ability to live independently, which is

identified by contextual, socio-economic, theory-dependent

criteria, cannot possibly supplant the Bragdon-Williams

“individualized inquiry” requirement.

Point 2

The Planning Board’s Denial of the Special Use Permit Did

Not Violate the FHA, ADA or Rehabilitation Act as a

Matter of Law

Background

Middletown is a small city of approximately 4'2 square

miles, witha population just under 25,000. It enjoyed economic

prosperity due in substantial part to its location at the

intersection of 2 major railroad lines, the Erie Lackawanna and

the Ontario & Western. Like many small northeastern cities,

Middletown saw its fortunes decline in the 1970/80's when

nearby shopping malls decimated its downtown core, leaving

a Shell of vacant buildings. The Erie stopped service in the late

1970's-early 1980's, and by 1994 was a dead track. That left the

O&W line as Middletown’s last active rail line, although by

1994 the historic O&W Station was no longer being used as a

_ train station. and traffic along the line was minimal.

Faced with an economic and financial crisis in the early

1990's,° Middletown began serious revitalization efforts

* This crisis involved double-digit increases in property taxes, layoffs from

City government for the first time in a century, a half-million fund balance

deficit that threatened Middletown with loss of its bond rating and bank-

(continued...)

1]

involving the reinvigoration and emplacement of commercial

and industrial enterprises along the O&W line.’ Middletown

actively sought the construction of the world’s first commercial

waste-to-ethanol plant (the Masada project) on the southern

end of that line. If the 100 million-plus plant is built, rail traffic

along that line might substantially increase." By 1994 (and until

today, in fact), there existed practically no available, industrial-

ly-zoned land in Middletown, save for the O&W corridor.

The Middletown Zoning Ordinance

The O&W corridor is comprised mostly of industrial

districts, although there are residential districts that abut the

line in the older sections of Middletown. Due to cumulative

zoning and the early 20" century practice of locating homes

near rail lines, the industrial districts in the O&W corridor

contain some residential dwellings: single-,two-,and multi-

family; most are early 20" century vintage. With one exception,

*(...continued) ,

ruptcy, high unemployment, an exodus of families, increased foreclosures,

abandoned buildings, and double digit increases in crimes.

” Many of these new enterprises received loans from Middletown’s Office

of Economic and Community Development including the heavy commer-

cial /light industrial uses now occupying the former Formisano and Rowley

premises. The record is clear that after 1994, a number of commercial and

industrial users chose to locate along the O&W line, including the Rowley and

Formisano parcels.

® The O&W line comes to a dead end a few miles south of the City limits;

hence all rail traffic generated by commercial or industrial users in the

southern end of Middletown will pass directly by the Rowley and Formisano

properties.

12

there has been no new residentiai construction in the industrial

districts of the O&W corridor since 1980.”

The Zoning Ordinance makes no distinction between

residential uses that house the disabled or any special needs

population and residential uses which do not house the

disabled or needy. The Ordinance contains districts for multi-

family dwellings and residential complexes, comprising, about

25% to 35% of the City.

In the 1990's either the City or the Planning Board rejected

every proposal for residential complexes in the industrial

districts along the O&W line: in 1992, the Planning Board

opposed a proposal for a senior citizens complex in the

southern part of the corridor,” the City informally rejected a

proposal for senior citizen housing in the O&W Station," and

the City in 1991 rejected a RECAP proposal to place a halfway

house for recovering alcoholics in the O&W Station.

The 1994 Planning Board Hearings

In the spring of 1994, RECAP approached City officials

with the proposed Head Start and alcohol residential facilities;

Middletown Mayor Joseph DeStefano advised Bill Cummings,

President of the RECAP Board of Directors, that he would

oppose the location of the residential facilities on the

* The one exception is a residential complex in the corridor’s northern end

which the Planning Board approved in 1987 over opposition from the City;

the Planning Board has not allowed any premises in the entire corridor (all

zoning districts) to be converted from non-residential to residential use since

1980.

"° If that residential complex had been built, it is unlikely that the Masada

project would be tenable today.

" The O&W Station is contiguous to the Formisano property.

13

Formisano property (again, next door to the similar RECAP

proposal at the O&W Station that DeStefano opposed 3 years

earlier), and suggested RECAP find an alternative site for those

facilities.’ The Planning Board began to consider the applica-

tions for the Rowley and Formisano projects on August 18,

1994.

The first Middletown official to speak was Alderman Dan

Long, who expressed caution regarding the Rowley project

because of Middletown’s wish to maintain the area for

commercial and industrial uses. DeStefano indicated that he

shared Long's concern for the planning aspects, “especially

along our railroad”; because the Head Start and related projects

were “non-residential” and “program oriented”, he supported

the Rowley project.

DeStefano opposed the Formisano project, stating he had

supported recent RECAP housing projects, involving some

recovering alcoholics and substance abusers, and the proposal

was a “good project”, but concluded: “we are just trying to put

anend to the perception that the only type of development that

can go on in Middletown is human service development.”

In the September Hearing, DeStefano argued the Formisano

facilities, unlike the Rowley facilities, did not contribute to the

“orderly development” of that area, and would “infringe upon

future . . . light industrial and commercial development in and

around that corridor.”

" RECAP Executive Director Charles Darden admitted that prior to

December 1, 1994, RECAP never advised or suggested to the Planning Board

or any City official any alternative sites for the alcohol residential facilities.

14

RECAP Executive Director Darden stated that the project

was “isolated, the fact that there’s very few residential bodies

in this area. Most of it is primarily commercial.”

At the October Hearing, Alderman Long stated:

And we have a real active rail line that goes

through the City. And not a whole lot of old

municipalities have that. So we don’t have a

highway out there. That we can put a mall on. But

we do have a railroad ...

All the parcels in question tonight are on an active

rail line. It’s the only active rail line left in the City

... | have a question about a residential facility

along the active rail line. And if you follow this line

through our City you'll notice no high density

developments immediately adjacent to the line.

After stating “[rJail is an important ingredient in the economic

development formula”, Long stated, “So basically what we’re

'’ That the Second Circuit missed this crucial evidence is clear from its

observation that the properties in the surrounding area were “not largely

industrial”. The Second Circuit ignored maps in the record showing that the

Rowley and Formisano properties are practically ringed by commercial uses.

Middletown’s planning expert, Stuart Turner, testified:

I don’t think it would be bad planning to locate industrial uses on that

property .. . [blecause . . . that particular area is not predominantly

residential and . . . again, the city’s policy is reflected in the fact that they

have zoned that for industrial use and anticipates over time that . . . those

residential uses may or may not be there. . . . It is not intended to be a

residential area and that is the reason it is zoned that way.

Turner also testified, “I wouldn’t want to expand the residential development

in this particular area. I don’t think it is an appropriate place for residential

development... .There is a railroad around it that historically has been active

and may be more active.”

15

trying to do is .. . develop this corridor to help us go into the

year 2000 so we can survive as a City.”

DeStefano stated “the City is not looking to ... pre[vlent

those with special needs from coming in. We are concerned

with good orderly development.” DeStefano referenced the

only residential development in an industrial district on the

O&W line, and argued this was “poor planning” by the prior

planning board:

That the corridor is; the City from the day of its

inception, planned the rail lines for industrial and

commercial development. We have had some

mistakes. Let’s not repeat the mistakes of the past .

But the most significant issue facing the Board is

the orderly development issue.

The only active rail line in the City, a large

commercial industrial parcel along that rail bed, the

investment by the City and State to encourage

economic development in that area, and to give an

opportunity to the people who live in that area to

have jobs...

A properly planned development for this area will

enhance our tax base . . .* [T]his community is

dying for economic development. You're taking the

last piece of economic development and making a

major decision on the future course of this City...

'* DeStefano alluded to the proposed solid waste facility on the southern

end as an example of proposed development of the railroad bed and also as

an example of industrial development that could be thwarted by the RECAP

residential proposal. ;

16

In the November Hearing, Neil Novesky, the City’s

Economic Development Director, referenced ongoing dis-

cussions regarding expanding a foreign free trade zone into

Middletown:

One of those zones to be considered is that strip,

that rail strip coming from Wallkill all the way

through. Everybody is aware of it, pas[t] the

[Rowley] property, right into town.

The point is that it’s probably not in the best

interest of the City’s economic development

strategy to locate a facility on—a residential facility

particularly on a rail line which is potentially the

only viable development zone left in the City .. .

This is not a voice in opposition to the concept of a

residential alcohol rehabilitation facility, or any-

thing of that nature. I would say that it’s simply in

opposition to the specific site, which is on a rail

line, and it’s got potential economic development

use which cannot be overstated.””

Planning Board Chairman Seth Arluck discussed the

potential of idling trains at the O&W Station adjacent to the

Formisano property’®, noted he had “been around all kinds of

rail switching areas for years . .. and the vibration and so forth

'S When asked if the Formisano property was too small for industrial use,

Novesky gave an example of a small business Middletown had assisted, and

stated that “5,000 square feet could be a significant area of space depending

on the company.”

"© Arluck emphasized “the old O & W station are the last places where

there is any room to put an extra line in.”

17

07

from diesel engines is tremendous being that close”, and

stated:

At one time people built residences right up to the

track. In that area many of those people probably

worked in the train yards. Nobody really gave it a

second thought, but I think now we take a little

closer look at what kind of nuisances will exist for

residential purposes, and it’s significant...

I found it to be a nuisance and was sorry I had

bought a house so close to —- evena couple of blocks

from a train track. Now if I was living right next to

it... 1 think that it’s a real issue . .. 1 don’t think the

speed of the train is the issue. . . the worse thing it

can do is when... it’s moving more slowly, it is

more of a nuisance.”

At the December Hearing, Arluck noted that the Planning

Board had previously rejected a 1992 application for senior

housing in the O&W corridor."” Arluck concluded:

I am on record . . . as opposing non-industrial

development in an industrial zone...

So my recommendation to this Board is to deny this

application for that reason because it is in an

” Arluck emphasized the Formisano property “is very close to the track”.

'® Novesky cited his experience on the Metropolitan Transit Authority

with the issue of trains with diesel engines idling near residential facilities,

and indicated this could be a potential problem if a residential facility was

placed on the O&W line.

'? Arluck noted the previously approved Head Start and related uses were

not residential, and “[t]here is no one sleeping there at night’.

18

industrial zone, and I am concerned about the use

of the ability of other people, of other industrial

users in this area. I’m concerned about train traffic

next to a residential facility. ... I have —in the past,

I have not supported this use in this zone.

Board Member Thomas Swierski, a former Councilman, stated:

I believe that the City itself has extended itself and

embraced significant other services that have come

our way, and I have to say that for us to be the

magnet for the area is not necessarily for the best

industrial development of this or any other project.

So I would say, Mr. Chairman, that I feel that the

proper industrial development of this is more

important in my vote, and I will vote no for this

project.

Argument

Research has not disclosed an FHA lawsuit against a

municipality (1) with Middletown’s massive, recent and

undisputed commitment to facilities and services supporting

the poor and disabled,” (2) whose planning board had such

powerful, traditional and undisputed zoning reasons to deny

a permit for a residential facility on an active railroad line in

the middle of that small municipality’s last industrially

° Darden testified that Middletown today has more facility capacity for the

treatment of homeless people and recovering alcohol and substance abusers

than any other municipality in Orange County; in 1994, Middletown’s facility

capacity in this respect would have been a “toss up” with the City of

Newburgh. Darden could not name any city the size of Middletown anywhere

with as much facility capacity today to treat the homeless and recovering

alcohol and substance abusers.

19

developable area, and (3) whose very existence was threatened

by an unprecedented and undisputed economic and financial

crisis.

The divisive issue concerning the respective obligations of

urban and suburban/rural governments for housing and

caring for special needs populations is one of the most

important social issues facing America today. Because the

discussion of this issue at the Planning Board hearings forms

the primary basis of the Second Circuit’s holding, a message

has been sent that volunteer planning board members cannot

discuss this important issue without fearing monetary damages

from disgruntled applicants and incurring the wrath of Justice

Department censors. The Second Circuit has instructed

municipal boards to play it safe and silence speakers on this

controversial issue.

Petitioners do not concede the District Court finding of a

prima facie case, but for the sake of brevity, these arguments

will be presented primarily in the section regarding pretext.

The compelling justification for the Planning Board's action is

intertwined with the District Court’s determination that no

material issue of fact warrants presentation of the pretext issue

to a jury.

A. The Disparate Treatment Prima Facie Case

Second and Fourth Circuit holdings require Respondents

to provide evidence from which a factfinder could reasonably

infer that the Planning Board's vote was significantly motivated

by factors related to the disabled status of the residents of the

prospective RECAP facilities.” Even if this Court rejects the

2! See, LeBlanc-Sternberg v Fletcher, 67 F.3d 412, 425 (2™ Cir. 1995); Bryant

Woods v Howard County, 911 F.Supp. 918, 929 (D.Md. 1996), aff'd 124 F.3d 597

(continued...)

20

Ninth Circuit’s Gamble formulation, the “significant motiva-

tion” test cannot be met at bar.”

B. Legitimate Justification

[T]he FHA does not provide a blanket waiver of all

facially neutral zoning policies and rules, regardless of

the facts . . . which would give the disabled carte

blanche to determine where and how they would live

regardless of zoning ordinances to the contrary .. .

Bryant Woods, 124 F.3d at 603; Groome Resources v Parish of

Jefferson, 234 F.3d 192, 216 (5™ Cir. 2000) (federal govt. cannot

*"(...continued)

(4" Cir. 1997)

Under the Ninth Circuit’s formulation, Respondents cannot establish a

prima facie case because they cannot show that Middletown has granted

anyone else a special use permit to construct a residential facility in the

industrial districts of the O&W corridor in the 1990's. See, Gamble v City of

Escondido, 104 F.3d 300, 305 (9"" Cir. 1997) where the necessary elements of a

prima facie claim to survive summary judgment in an FHA zoning case were

articulated:

(1) plaintiff is a member of a protected class; (2) plaintiff applied for a

conditional use permit and was qualified to receive it; (3) the conditional

use permit was denied despite plaintiff being qualified; and (4) defendant

approved a conditional use permit for a similarly situated party during a

period relatively near the time plaintiff was denied its conditional use

permit.

* For example, in Bryant Woods, a developer was denied a permit from a

planning board to expand a group home for the disabled. Citing legitimate

concerns regarding parking congestion and the fact that there were other

similar facilities located in the municipality, the Fourth Circuit upheld the

district court’s grant of summary judgment on FHA claims. The district court

rejected the developer’s contentions that the planning board took community

pressure into account, was motivated by discriminatory animus, and offered

shifting and irrational justifications for its decision; it was “clear from the

record that the Planning Board considered legitimate land use criteria in

arriving at its decision.” 911 F.Supp. at 930.

21

through FHA “regulate the intricacies of local zoning

decisions” )

Municipalities offering less important justifications than

Middletown have satisfied this burden as a matter of law. See,

Mountain Side Mobile Estates v HUD, 56 F.3d 1243 (10" Cir. 1995)

(municipality’s justifications— sewer system limitations, quality

of life in mobile home park — overcame prima facie case of FHA

discrimination resulting from municipal occupancy limitation

on families); Brandt v Village of Chebanse, 82 F.3d 172 (7" Cir.

1996) (village did not discriminate against plaintiff who sought

to build home for the handicapped in light of legitimate

concerns regarding flooding and lack of sanitary and storm

sewers): Jackson v City of Auburn, 41 F.Supp.2d 1300 (M.D.Ala.

1999) (rejection of apartment complex for black tenants in white

single-family neighborhood survived FHA challenge because

plaintiffs could not show that any permits had been granted to

similarly situated applicants and because city had legitimate

justification that a duplex development would not be

compatible with single-family subdivisions).

The Second Circuit's opinion ignores the well established

zoning precept that a permit for one residential facility will

create a precedent for more. “[D]iscrete zoning decisions

influence future decisionmaking through their precedential

value within the administrative and judicial systems.” Bryant

Woods, 911 F.Supp. at 942; Hemisphere Building Co. v Village of

Richton, 171 F.3d 437, 439 (7 Cir. 1999) (in a fair housing

challenge, a standard argument against piecemeal rezoning or

granting of special use permits “is that by allowing the

character of a neighborhood to change, it paves the way for

further requests for rezoning [or special use permitting], until

the land-use plan that generated the zoning is completely

eroded ... A municipality can if it wants try to retard the

erosion of its land-use plans by being chintzy about permitting

departures from its existing zoning.”) How would the

22

Middletown Planning Board turn down the next residential

proposal in that rail corridor, e.g., a senior citizen complex two

blocks away, or garden apartments a mile away, etc.? There is

no evidence in the record disputing the domino effect of

emplacing a residential facility onthe Formisano property — the

eradication of an industrial zone.”

C. Pretext

When the burden shifts back, a plaintiff must raise a

genuine factual question whether the defendant's proffered

reasons are pretextual "either directly by persuading the court

that a discriminatory reason more likely motivated the

[defendant] or indirectly by showing that the [defendant's]

proffered explanation is unworthy of credence." Texas Dept. of

Community Affairs v Burdine, 450 US 248, 255-256 (1981).

The Second Circuit held that Respondents deserve a trialon

pretext for 2 reasons: (1) various statements made by

DeStefano, other City officials, and Planning Board members,

and (2) allegedly different treatment by the Planning Board of

the Rowley project.

1. The Statements

1-a. The Debate Between the Mayor and RECAP Officials

The Second Circuit uses the debate during the hearings

between DeStefano and RECAP regarding whether there was

a need for the Formisano facilities in Middletown to taint the

Board vote. But this debate dovetails into FHA disparate

treatment and disparate impact balancing tests because the

actual need has been a question: there never has been a family

?? Thus the Second Circuit’s concern regarding the size of the Formisano

parcel is irrelevant.

23

support center in Orange County, and Darden admitted that

this need has been met by scattered site housing. Darden

admitted that with the expansion of a Newburgh halfway

house, he was not sure if there is a need for another halfway

house in Orange County. See, Oxford House v City of St. Louis, 77

F.3d 249, 253 (8 Cir. 1996) (FHA does not "insulate [the

disabled] from legitimate inquiries designed to enable local

authorities to make informed decisions on zoning issues.")

Apart from isolated comments, Board members did not

participate in this debate, and it is clear from the record that all

of their votes were based on sound planning concerns.

DeStefano was not a member of the Board, nor did he have any

authority or supervisory power over it.”

1-b. Isolated Comments

The Second Circuit identifies a couple isolated comments

out of five hearings (hundreds of transcript pages): 1 comment

each from Arluck, Miner, and Board counsel Alex Smith.”

** Although the Planning Board is a City agency, it is an entity charged

with duties under State law and its decisions involving special use permits

are governed by State law. New York General City Law, Article 3, Sections

27, 27-a, 27-b.

* The Second Circuit suggests discriminatory bias on Smith’s part because

he asked RECAP officials to place on the record their reasons for their

conclusory assertions that the facilities were needed in Middletown. A duty

of municipal attorneys is to ensure that a full record is made before municipal

boards, something that Smith often did during the hearings — and often on

issues that inured to RECAP’s benefit.

The Second Circuit criticizes Smith for questioning whether residents of the

RECAP facilities would have criminal histories. But the FHA specifically

allows this inquiry. 42 USC 3604(f)(9); Keys v City of Olathe, 75 F.Supp.2d 1235

(D.Kan.1999), rev'd in part on other grounds, 248 F.3d 1267 (10 Cir.2001)

24

Upon examination, these comments were questions

directed at RECAP’s refrain that the Formisano facilities were

needed in Middletown,” and have been judicially recognized

both as protected speech and legitimate inquiry. The specter,

however, of the Second Circuit’s holding is Justice Department

censorship of speech at municipal planning and zoning

hearings.”

1-c. The Novesky Comment

The Second Circuit finds pretext in a general comment by

Novesky regarding the deterrent effect of “a certain type of

social service or support service program”, but fails to

acknowledge that a couple of moments before, Novesky made

clear that he was referring to “a residential facility particularly on

a rail line” .

1-d. Chairman Arluck’s Summary

At the last hearing, Arluck summed up the reasons given

to the Board to vote for or against the RECAP project. The

Second Circuit make much of his last reason to deny:

Another reason that was brought up proposing [sic]

this by the Mayor and Council Members that

there’s an over-concentration of residential and

** The Arluck comment is simply a non-judgmental observation that a

debate had taken place.

”” Cf., White v Lee, 227 F.3d 1214 (9" Cir. 2000) (Actions of HUD officials in

conducting eight-month investigation into conduct of neighbors who

opposed conversion of motel into multi-family housing unit, including

questioning of neighbors and endorsing settlement by which investigation

would be terminated if neighbors relinquished their constitutionally

protected expressive activities, impermissibly chilled neighbors’ First

Amendment right to engage in expressive activity )

25

social service facilities in the City, which tends to

put a demand on City services, while at the same

time eroding the tax base. (emphasis supplied)

The Second Circuit states that Arluck was urging the Board to

get into the overconcentration debate and utilize this issue as

a reason to deny, but ignores two critical points:

First, the record reflects that Arluck was simply

summarizing for the Board arguments that had been made pro

and con fo it. Arluck did not attempt to critique or legitimize

these pro and con arguments and did not take a position until

he provided his reasons to deny the project.

Second, the word “residential” was highlighted in the

above quote because it implicates 2 flaws that permeate the

Second Circuit’s opinion: (1) the term “overconcentration”

necessarily implies an FHA violation, and (2) its disregard of

the fact that the Formisano facilities were in an industrial

district. A planning board exists to control and guide municipal

growth, and in so doing must balance residential and industrial

growth. There is nothing wrong with a planning board

preventing the overconcentration of residential facilities -

whether single family homes, senior citizen complexes, or

facilities for the disabled — in industrial districts.

1-e. The Swierski Statement

Contrary to the inference made by the court below, any fair

reading of Swierski’s statement indicates clearly that he voted

to preserve what he termed this “important” industrial

corridor, and that although RECAP’s project had value, it was

outweighed by the need for industrial development. Balancing a

project for the disabled against industrial and commercial

development in an industrial zone does not violate the FHA if

the scale tips toward development.

26

1-f. Miner's Comments

The Second Circuit distorts Miner's mention in his

deposition that he had a “concern” regarding the over-

concentration issue during the hearings into making it “one of

his bases for opposing the permit”.” Miner made clear,

however, his belief that the overconcentration issue did not have

to be decided in this case, and there is no evidence it formed a

“base” of his vote.

2. Di ntial T n

The Second Circuit reasoned that pretext can be inferred

because the Board approved the Rowley project. The court

below viewed this as different treatment of similarly situated

groups because the Head Start project was a non-industrial use

and because the children coming to that facility would have

suffered from the same potential nuisance from the rail line as

would the residents on the contiguous Formisano property.

First, the children would not have been exposed to the same

potential nuisance because they would be there only limited

hours of the day, and more importantly, would have been

located in a portion of the larger Rowley property on the North

Street side that was significantly further away from the rail line

than the Formisano facilities which were right next to the

® The Second Circuit ignores Miner’s emphatic deposition testimony that

his primary concerns were “applying planning considerations as to whether

to approve [the RECAP project] for a particular site wherein economic

development concerns had already been identified” and the “future

implications of such a permit on the future direction of economic and

industrial and commercial growth within the city.”

27

tracks.” And the RECAP warehouse building would have

further separated the children’s area from the tracks.

Second, the Head Start, the day care center and its related

offices was a non-residential, commercial enterprise that would

have complemented nearby commercial and industrial uses

because the labor force would have a facility to care for

younger children.”

“[A] reason cannot be proved to be ‘a pretext for

discrimination’ unless it is shown both that the reason was

false, and that discrimination was the real reason”. St. Mary's

Honor Center v Hicks, 509 US 502,515 (1993)(emphasis supplied)

Neither Respondents nor the Second Circuit provide any issue

of material fact warranting a trial on the falsity of the Planning

Board’s obviously legitimate reasons to deny the Formisano

application.

*’ The record reflects that the Formisano facility would have been less than

50 feet from the tracks. As Arluck put it, “when I drove down there and saw

Formisano’s property and I could reach out and touch that railroad line, and

said, why should somebody — just because they are a substance abuser . . .

why should they have to be next to a railroad?”

* The Second Circuit overlooks that the Head Start project was to be

accompanied by an infant day care center and that — even assuming the

notion that day care complements nearby commerce/industry requires

explication — the record reflects that comments were made to the Planning

Board that low income working parents needed such services, and that the

Rowley project would thus be a positive step toward attracting industrial-

based jobs to Middletown. Arluck made it clear during the hearings that the

significant difference between the two projects was the “non-residential”

nature of the Rowley uses.

28

Point 3

The Retaliation Claim Was Correctly Dismissed as a

Matter of Law

As Chairman of the Planning Board, just prior to his

election as Mayor, and over political opposition, DeStefano

supported RECAP’s application for a residential facility for

homeless men, some of whom had alcohol and substance abuse

recovery issues, at 208 North Street.

By letter dated June 23, 1993, the Middletown Community

and Economic Development Office provided a preliminary

loan commitment in the amount of $53,139 for the purchase of

furnishings by RECAP at 208 North Street. RECAP did not seek

to draw down any funds from this loan until a letter dated

December 8, 1994. By that time, the 1993 loan monies in the

Community Development Office had been obligated; never-

theless, the Office began to review the RECAP request, and

asked in writing that RECAP submit required documentation

for a Rental Rehabilitation loan; RECAP never submitted this

documentation.

In early 1995, the Office began to receive complaints that

RECAP was using contractors which had previously been

disapproved by the Office for utilizing unlicensed workers and

for the poor quality of their work. In March 1995, the Office

received its first request from RECAP for a specific dollar

amount for 208 North Street.

The District Court correctly held that no material issue of

fact exists as to the motivation behind Middletown’s refusal to

provide the loan for 208 North Street. The City rejected

RECAP’s request because RECAP never submitted the required

application, the funds that were initially targeted in 1993 were

spent on other deserving projects for low income persons, and,

most importantly, because RECAP insisted on using a banned

29

contractor in the renovation work done at 208 North Street. In

its Rule 56.1 statement submitted to the District Court, RECAP

did not deny that it used a banned contractor.”!

Given the use of a banned contractor, approval of the

RECAP loan would have violated HUD regulation §570.609

which is entitled, “Use of debarred, suspended or ineligible

contractors or subrecipients”:

Assistance under this part shall not be used directly

or indirectly to employ, award contracts to, or

otherwise engage the services of, or fund any

contractor or subrecipient during any period of

debarment, suspension, or placement in

ineligibility status under the provisions of 24 CFR

part 24.”

The Second Circuit also erred in its “protected activity”

analysis. According to its Complaint, RECAP’s retaliation cause

of action is based solely upon Middletown’s alleged desire to

retaliate for RECAP’s filing of a complaint with HUD in

January 1995 attacking the Formisano decision. The Second

Circuit allowed RECAP to, in effect, amend its Complaint by

adding a new “protected activity”: a letter sent by RECAP’s

attorneys to the City and Planning Board on December 5, 1994,

five days after the Formisano decision. The letter demanded

that the decision be “rescinded”; it was faxed to City Hall and

threatened “legal action” “if we do not hear from you by the

end of the business day tomorrow”. But the Second Circuit

ignores that on the evening of December 5, 1994, the RECAP

Board of Directors met and voted not to authorize legal action

* Nor did RECAP provide any admissible evidence that it ever submitted

an application.

* 24 CFR Ch. V (4-1-95 Edition)

30

against Middletown. Darden admitted there was no authority to

send the December 5" letter after the Board’s vote. Board

members Richard Baum and Richard Roberts, who were then

Orange County Legislators, advised DeStefano that neither the

letter nor legal action was authorized, and that the City should

disregard same. RECAP cannot assert that the sending of an

unauthorized letter — with an hours-later instruction from its

Board of Directors to disregard it -- constitutes “protected

activity”. The District Court correctly held that one cannot

retaliate against a nullity.”

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this Petition for a Writ of

Certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

ALEX SMITH

Assistant Corporation Counsel

of the City of Middletown — BRIAN SOKOLOFF, ESQ.

Counsel of Record MIRANDA & SOKOLOFF, LLP

ROBERT N. ISSEKS 240 Mineola Boulevard

6 North Street The Esposito Boulevard

Middletown, New York 10940 Mineola, New York 11501

(845) 344-4322 (516) 741-7676

Attorneys for Petitioners

* Thus the Second Circuit's reliance upon an alleged threat made during

a mid-December telephone call is misplaced because the conversation took

place before any protected activity had occurred.

APPENDIX

la

Appendix A—Opinion of Hon. Charles L. Brieant, USDJ,

dated September 25, 2000

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

REGIONAL ECONOMIC COMMUNITY

ACTION PROGRAM, INC.,

Plaintiff,

97 Civ. 8808 (CLB)

-against-

MEMORANDUM

CITY OF MIDDLETOWN, CITY OF & ORDER

MIDDLETOWN PLANNING BOARD and

JOSEPH DeStefano

Defendants.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff-Intervenor,

-against-

CITY OF MIDDLETOWN,

Defendant.

Brieant, J.

By motion filed February 4, 2000, heard and fully submitted

on April 19, 2000, the City of Middletown ("City" or

"Middletown"), City of Middletown Planning Board ("Planning

Board") and Joseph DeStefano, defendants in this civil rights

action for violation of the Fair Housing Amendments Act, 42

2a

U.S.C. §3601, et seq. ("FHA"), the Americans with Disabilities

Act, 42 U.S.C. §12101, et seq. ("ADA"), Section 504 of the

Rehabilitation Act of 1993, 29 U.S.C. §794, and retaliation, move

for summary judgment pursuant to Rule 56, Fed. R. Civ. P.

Plaintiff Regional Economic Community Action Program, Inc.

("RECAP" or "Plaintiff') and Plaintiff-Intervenor the United

States of America (collectively "Plaintiffs") filed opposition

papers on April 4, 2000. Defendants filed reply papers on April

17, 2000. Plaintiffs filed surreply papers on April 26, 2000.

Plaintiffs seek money damages as well as equitable relief in the

form of declaratory judgments and injunctive relief.

Background

While Plaintiffs allege claims for violations of the FHA,

ADA, and the Rehabilitation Act, and Plaintiff RECAP alleges

a claim of retaliation, this case is, at its heart, no more than a

land use dispute concerning the proper exercise of a

municipality's authority to administer and enforce its local

zoning regulations.

Plaintiff RECAP is a not-for-profit corporation established

in 1965, for the provision of education, housing, social services

and other programs to low income individuals in Orange

County, New York. Defendant Middletown is an incorporated

municipality in Orange County, New York. Defendant

Planning Board is a voluntary board whose members are

appointed by the Mayor of Middletown subject to confirmation

by Middletown's Common Council. Smith Aff. 93. Defendant

Joseph DeStefano is the Mayor of Middletown.

In 1994, RECAP sought Special Use Permits from the

Planning Board to establish facilities on two contiguous parcels

of land in Middletown which it planned to lease with the

option to purchase from two private owners. On one parcel,

3a

RECAP sought permission to operate a Head Start facility,’

together with day care services, administrative offices and a

storage facility (the "Rowley Property").’ On the other parcel

(the "Formisano Property"), RECAP sought permission to

construct and operate a supportive residence to assist women

recovering from alcoholism and their children (the "Family

Support Community") as well asa second supportive residence

to assist men recovering from alcoholism (the "Men's

Community Residence") (collectively the "Proposed

Residences").”

Both properties are located along the former Ontario &

Western rail line corridor (the "O&W"), the last active rail line

in Middletown. While the track of the former O&W line was

still in use by Conrail for freight only in 1994, the O&W station

was not being used as a train station and the traffic along the

' Head Start is a comprehensive federal child development program which

serves children, pregnant women and their families. It is a child-focused

program and has the overall goal of improving the school readiness of young

children in low-income families. The Head Start program is administered by

the Head Start Bureau, the Administration on Children, Youth and Families,

Administration payee and Families, Department of jawe and Human

mission

.htm> (last visited oiamer 19, 2000).

* The Rowley Property is 2.5 acres, located across the street from RECAP's

existing building and runs to the former Ontario & Western railroad, where

a rail spur on the property connects it to the track. RECAP planned to

reconfigure existing buildings on the Rowley Property and construct new

ones to accommodate a 10,000 square foot space for Head Start classes, day

care for infants and additional rental space.

* The Formisano Property is one half acre situated across the street from

RECAP's existing building and also borders the railroad track. On this

property, RECAP planned to convert an existing building into a halfway

house for 24 men recovering from alcoholism, and construct a new building,

partly on the Formisano Property and partly on the Rowley Pfoperty, to

house 20 recovering alcoholic mothers and their children.

4a

line was minimal. Fusco Aff. at 3. The majority of industrial

or potentially industrial plots available in Middletown are

located along the O&W corridor. Fusco Aff. at 95-6, Ex. O. The

rail track was useful only for abutting industrial users and

without more such users it faced abandonment. The O&W line

ends south of the City limits, so that there would be no rail

freight traffic south of the City line.* Fusco Aff. at 7.

Under the applicable Middletown Zoning Ordinance in

effect in 1994 (the "Zoning Ordinance"), all zoning districts in

Middletown in which the uses proposed by RECAP were

permitted required a Special Use Permit from the Planning

Board.” Id. 411. The Zoning Ordinance also provided for

districts for multi-family dwellings or apartment house

complexes that make up 25-35% of the City and which also

require Planning Board approval. In the 1990s, either the City

or the Planning Board rejected every proposal for large

residential complexes in the industrial districts along the O &

W corridor. These proposals included one for a senior citizens

complex in the southern part of the corridor, which was

rejected by the Planning Board, and two proposals for housing

* At the relevant times, Middletown actively sought the construction of a

commercial waste-to-ethanol plant (the "Masada" project) on the southern

end of the O&W line. Such a plant would result in a substantial increase in

the traffic along the rail line. The availability of the O&W line was a factor in

attempting to attract the Masada project. Fusco Aff.

> The ordinance in effect in 1994 also provided for "cumulative zoning,"

which allowed, for example, single and two family residences in commercial

and industrial districts, and commercial uses in industrial districts as of right.

Fusco Aff. at 99. “Cumulative zoning" has been largely discontinued in

Middletown and elsewhere. Fusco Aff. at $9. With one exception, there has

been no new residential construction in either the residential or the industrial

districts of the O&W corridor since 1980. Fusco Aff.

Sa

in the former O & W Station, both of which were informally

rejected by the City.°

On August 18, 1994, the Planning Board held a first public

hearing and began considering RECAP's applications for

Special Use Permits for the Rowley and Formisano Properties

(the "Properties"). The Planning Board held two public

hearings concerning both of the Properties, and three

additional public hearings solely concerning the Formisano

Property. RECAP told the board that RECAP preferred "an

overall approach" but it was possible that RECAP could make

the Children's Center project work without the Formisano

property.’ Ex. H io Smith Aff 153-154. Chairman Seth Arluck

informed RECAP that the Planning Board would consider the

Rowley and Formisano projects separately. _

On September 19, 1994, after a second hearing, the

Planning Board unanimously approved the Rowley project,

subject to RECAP obtaining a negative State Environmental

Quality Review Act ("SEQRA") declaration and agreeing to

payment of property taxes or a payment in lieu of taxes. The

Formisano project was also discussed at this hearing.

° The Planning Board did approve of two residential dwellings in 1991,

and a senior citizen complex in 1999, all in the south-eastern portion of the

O&W corridor. DeStefano Aff. 72. These developments were within high

density residential districts. Id. In the 1990s, the Planning Board also

approved the rezoning of two industrial districts into residential districts;

however, neither of these were within the O&W corridor. DeStefano Aff. at

45. In 1990, the Planning Board approved the rezoning of a single parcel in

the O&W corridor from industrial to residential use. A church and a cemetery

separated this parcel from the rail line. Id. at 94.

’The Complaint alleges, however, that the Children's Center was

"doomed" without the Formisano Property. Complaint 762. No evidence in

the record supports this contention.

6a

On December 1, 1994, at the final hearing of the Planning

Board on the Formisano Property, Chairman Arluck

summarized the arguments which had been presented for and

against the application during the course of the various

hearings. Dec. Tr. at p. 44-45. Chairman Arluck stated that he

“oppos[ed] non-industrial development in an industrial zone"

and that he was "concerned about the use ... of other industrial

users in this area." He further stated that he was "concerned

about train traffic next to a residential facility.” Dec. Tr. at 50-

51. Other considerations discussed by persons in attendance at

the hearings on the Formisano Property included: concerns

about having a residential facility along the only active rail line

in the city (Oct. Tr. at 32-34); the number of licensed residential

care facilities already existing in the community (Oct. Tr. at 36-

38); risks inherent in locating a residential facility in a rail

corridor including concerns about idling engines and rail line

traffic near residential facilities (Nov. Tr. at 67-68, 70-73, 93-96);

and concerns about a traffic problem because of a dangerous

intersection identified by the Commissioner of Public Works.

In addition, concerns were expressed about the loss of potential

economic development for industrial uses (Nov. Tr. at 62-64).

Furthermore, the Planning Board received and noted favorable

comments from members of the public who had benefitted

from RECAP’s programs in the past. Oct. Tr. at 16-30.

Ultimately, the Planning Board rejected only the Formisano

application. It did so by a divided vote. The reasons expressed

by the majority of the Planning Board were a desire to preserve

the industrial rail corridor for industry and concern for the

potential nuisance which an active rail line presents to

residents. All members who voted against the project stated

that they would have voted in favor of the project if it had been

in another location in Middletown and that they would have

opposed any residential use on the Formisano property. Arluck

Aff., Swierski Aff., Moson Aff., and Miner Aff.

7a

In the spring of 1995, Middletown offered to reconvene the

Planning Board to address reasonable accommodations and

possible alternative sites for the RECAP projects. Darden Dep.

at 506-507. RECAP rejected the offer claiming it did so because

at the time there was no funding available. Cummings Dep. at

51-52.

Commercial tenants now occupy both of the Properties.

Mountain Restaurant Supply occupies the Formisano Property.

Keck Industries, a manufacturer and finisher of furniture for

houses of worship, and Best Mexican Foods, a food distributor,

occupy the Rowley Property.

By letter dated December 5, 1994, RECAP informed

Defendants for the first time that RECAP believed the denial of

the Formisano Special Use Permit violated the FHA and the

ADA. This letter was not authorized by the RECAP Board of

Directors, and Defendants were informed thereafter that it

should be disregarded. On December 22, 1994, Plaintiff and

Defendants met in an attempt to resolve the dispute without

litigation. On December 31, 1994, Plaintiff filed a complaint

with the United States Department of Housing and Urban

Development ("HUD") claiming that denial of the Formisano

Special Use Permit constituted violations of the FHA, ADA and

the Rehabilitation Act.

Claimed Retaliation

By letter dated December 8, 1994, Plaintiff requested funds

from the Middletown Office of Community Development (the

“Office") for furnishings for Plaintiff's 208 North Street facility"

based upon a letter dated June 23, 1993 from the Office in

" During the relevant time, RECAP operated a low income housing

development at 208 North Street.

8a

which the Office provided a "commitment" of funds.” By that

time, the Office's 1993 funds had already been obligated.

Despite these prior obligations, the Office reviewed RECAP's

request and then requested in writing that RECAP submit the

required documentation for a Rental Rehabilitation loan.

RECAP did not submit this documentation.

In 1995, the Office began to receive complaints from local

contractors that RECAP was not paying prevailing wage rates

and that RECAP was using contractors who had been

disapproved by the Office for utilizing unlicensed mechanics

and for the poor quality of their work. The Office also began an

inquiry into the financial and lien status of 208 North Avenue,

and forwarded its fileon RECAP, according to routine practice,

to the Mayor's office for financial review. The Mayor returned

the file and stated that in his judgment there were no financial

concerns of any significance.

Plaintiff commenced this action on November 26, 1997,

claiming that the City denied RECAP's application for the

Special Use Permit for the Formisano Property because of the

disabled status of the individuals who would reside on the

property and did so in violation of the FHA, the ADA and the

Rehabilitation Act. RECAP also claims that Defendants denied

Plaintiff the 208 North Street funding in retaliation for the filing

of a complaint with HUD. On June 17, 1998, the United States

of America filed an intervenor Complaint and joined in

RECAP's ADA, FHA and Rehabilitation Act claims.”

'* RECAP claims that this commitment was a grant, while Defendants

argue that it was a preliminary loan commitment.

'’ The United States of America did not join in RECAP's retaliation claim

and makes no claims against Mayor DeStefano as an individual.

9a

Discussion

The standards for granting summary judgment in this

Circuit are so well known as to obviate the need for citation.

We note, however, that all facts must be viewed in the light

most favorable to the non-moving party.

The New York legislature has empowered and urged the

legislative authorities of municipalities in the state to establish

Planning Boards to administer local ordinances, approve plats

and act legislatively to ensure well-balanced land use in their

jurisdiction. While municipalities do not have the inherent

power to enact or enforce land use regulations, the legislature

of New York has chosen as a matter of policy to delegate such

zoning power to cities, villages and towns, through general

enabling acts. See CLS Gen. City Law § 20(24), 20(25); CLS Vill.

Law §§ 7-700 et seq.; CLS Town Law §§ 261 et seq. The General

City Law of New York provides that

subject to the constitution and general laws of this

state, every city is empowered ... to regulate and

limit the height, bulk and location of buildings

hereafter erected, to regulate and determine the

area of yards, courts and other open spaces, and to

regulate the density of population in any given

area, and for said purposes to divide the city into

districts.

Such regulations shall be uniform for each class of

buildings throughout any district, but the

regulations in one or more districts may differ from

those in other districts. Such regulations shall be

designed to secure safety from fire, flood and other

dangers and to promote the public health and

welfare, including, so far as conditions may permit,

provision for adequate light, air, convenience of

10a

access ... and shall be made with reasonable regard

to the character of buildings erected in each district,

the value of land and the use to which it may be

put, to the end that such regulations may promote

the public health, safety and welfare and the most

desirable use for which the land of each district

may be adapted and may tend to conserve the

value of buildings and enhance the value of land

throughout the city.

N.Y. Gen. City Law § 20(24) (McKinney 2000).

The statute further provides the City with the power

to regulate and restrict the location of buildings,

designed for specified uses, and for said purposes

to divide the city into districts and to prescribe for

each such district the trades and industries that

shall be excluded or subjected to special regulation

and the uses for which buildings may not be

erected or altered. Such regulations shall be

designed to promote the public health, safety and

general welfare and shall be made with reasonable

consideration, among other things, to the character

of the district, its peculiar suitability for particular

uses, the conservation of property values and the

direction of building development, in accord with

a well considered plan.

N.Y. Gen. City Law § 20(25) (McKinney 2000).

Pursuant to such enabling statutes, city planning boards

work to implement zoning ordinances which are established to

provide for the development of a balanced, cohesive

community which will make efficient use of the community's

available land for the benefit of the entire community. Such

*

,

3

E

¥

x

a

Ea

ahs

whe

¥

$.

%

Ex,

lla

zoning ordinances and land use regulations divide the

community into districts for the purpose of imposing»

reasonable land use regulations which will promote

harmonious uses of the City's land and general public health,

safety and welfare.

The Middletown zoning ordinance in effect in 1994 which

the Middletown Planning Board was empowered to administer

and implement stated that one of its primary purposes was to

promote orderly development ... to protect the

character and maintain the stability of residential,

business and manufacturing areas within the city,

and to promote the orderly and_ beneficial

development of such areas.

MIDDLETOWN, N.Y., ZONING ORDINANCE, ch. 123-1(a), art. I.

In this case, the Planning Board was presented with two

separate applications for Special Use Permits to establish

residential uses in a specialized area of Middletown which was

zoned for industrial use and where land use decisions were

informed by the presence of the last rail line in the city. The

denial of one of those two applications brought on this lawsuit.

The municipal land use decision at issue in this case is being

attacked not on principles by which zoning disputes are

ordinarily resolved in this Court, but through statutes whichdo

not relate directly to land use or zoning, that is the FHA, the

ADA and the Rehabilitation Act.

The FHA makes it unlawful to "make unavailable or deny,

a dwelling to any buyer or renter because of a handicap." See 42

U.S.C. §3604(f)(1). The ADA proscribes discrimination against

persons with disabilities by public entities. See 42 U.S.C..

§12132. The Rehabilitation Act prohibits recipients of federal

funding from discriminating against persons with disabilities.

12a

See U.S.C. §794(a). In challenging a zoning or land use decision

such as the Planning Board's decision here, a Plaintiff may

prevail under these statutes by establishing (1) intentional

discrimination, (2) a disparate impact of a neutral law, or (3) a

failure to make a reasonable accommodation. See, ¢.g.,

Huntington Branch NAACP v. Town of Huntington, 844 F.2d 926,

933 (2d Cir.), aff'd, 488 U.S. 15 (1988) (intentional discrimination

and disparate impact under FHA); Doe v. Pfrommer, 148 F.3d 73,

82 (2d Cir. 1998) (intentional discrimination and disparate

impact under ADA); Sunrise Development, Inc. v. Town of

Huntington, 62 F.Supp.2d 762, 773-76 (E.D.N.Y. 1999). Plaintiffs’

submissions do not bring their case within the foregoing bases

for relief."

Intentional Discrimination

Plaintiffs’ claim that intentional discrimination was

involved in the Planning Board's decision must be analyzed

under a burden shifting analysis. See Cabrera v. Jakabovitz, 24

F.3d 372, 380-83 (2d Cir. 1994), cert. denied, 513 U.S. 876 (1994)

(citing McDonnell v. Douglas, 411 U.S. 792 (1973)). Plaintiffs

must establish a prima facie case that the challenged municipal

zoning decision was discriminatory, at which point defendants

may produce evidence of non-discriminatory, legitimate

'’ The Court assumes for purposes of this motion that the prospective

residents are "disabled" under the relevant statutes. See Altman v. New York

City Health & Hosps. Corp., 100 F.3d 1054, 1059 (2d Cir. 1996). Defendants

argue that this determination constitutes a violation of the Establishment

Clause of the United States Constitution because RECAP will be implement-

ing an Alcoholics Anonymous ("AA") program at its residence, which

invokes a Higher Being. See Warner v. Orange County Dept. of Probation, 173

F.3d 120 (2d Cir. 1999). The Court rejects this argument for such a determina-

tion does not require "judicial assessment of religious dogma" and therefore

does not violate the Establishment Clause's prohibition against excessive

governmental entanglement with religion. See Gargano v. Diocese of Rockville

Centre, 80 F.3d 87, 89-90 (2d Cir. 1996).

13a

reasons for the decision. See id. Once defendants have offered

a legitimate basis for the decision, Plaintiffs must prove that the

proffered reasons are pretextual in order to succeed. See id.

In order to establish a prima facie case of intentional

discrimination under the FHA and the ADA, Plaintiffs need to

allege that the disabled status of the population of the

proposed residence was one significant motivating factor in

Defendants’ decision. See Innovative Health Systems, Inc. v. City

of White Plains, 931 F.Supp. 222, 241 (S.D.N.Y. 1996), aff'd, 117

F.3d 37 (2d Cir. 1997); see also Robinson v. 12 Lofts Realty, Inc, 610

F.2d 1032, 1042-43 (2d Cir. 1979). In order to establish a claim

under the Rehabilitation Act, however, Plaintiffs must show

that the action was taken solely because of the disability. See

Flight v. Gloeckler, 68 F.3d 61, 64 (2d Cir. 1995). In order to

establish a prima facie claim under the Rehabilitation Act,

Plaintiffs must show (1) they are "handicapped persons" under

the Act; (2) they are “otherwise qualified" for the benefit that

has been denied; (3) they are being denied benefits solely by

reason of their disabilities; and (4) the entity denying plaintiff's

benefits receives federal financial assistance. Id. at 63.

Plaintiffs rest their contention that a jury could find that the

Planning Board’s decision was based upon the prospective

residents’ alcoholism on public statements made by Mayor

DeStefano and other officials during the Planning Board’s

hearings. During the course of the hearings, Mayor DeStefano

argued, from the audience, against Plaintiff's proposal by

discussing various matters related strictly to land use concerns,

and also expressed concern regarding the total number of social

service programs in the city. August TR. at 163-66; Sept. Trans.

at 87-88. Other officials also commented on land use concerns,

as well as about the concentration of social service facilities in

Middletown. Sept. Trans. At 201-02, 205-06. The Court assumes

for purposes of this motion that Plaintiffs have thereby

established a prima facie case of intentional discrimination

14a

under the FHA and ADA. As Plaintiffs cannot show that the

decision was made solely for reasons of the proposed residents’

disability, however, Plaintiffs have failed to establish a prima

facie claim under the Rehabilitation Act. See Flight, 68 F.3d at 64.

Defendants have articulated legitimate, non-discriminatory

reasons for their action. See Soules v. United States Dep't of Hous.

& Urban Dev., 967 F.2d 817, 822 (2d Cir. 1992). Defendants have

provided evidence that good faith concerns about land use,

including a need to preserve the industrial corridor of

Middletown, as well as concerns about placing a residential

facility along a rail line were the actual motivations for the

Planning Board’s decision. These reasons are legitimate and

nondiscriminatory and are in furtherance of Middletown’s

valid zoning regulations. See Forest City Daly Housing v. North

Hempstead, 175 F.3d 144, 152 (2d Cir. 1999). Defendants are not

required to make special exception for disabled individuals if

Defendants would deny the same permit for traditional

residences. The Planning Board acted reasonably and within

the scope of its authority to administer and enforce

Middletown’s zoning restrictions in the interest of the health,

safety and welfare of the general public of their city.

Because Defendants have satisfied their burden, in order to

succeed Plaintiffs must establish that the justifications asserted

by Defendants are pretextual in order to succeed. See Soules, 967

F.2d at 822. Plaintiffs have failed to produce evidence that

Defendants’ justifications are pretextual. The fact that

Defendants approved the Special Use Permit for the proposed

use of the Rowley Property by RECAP is not inconsistent with

their legitimate justifications for denying the Special Use

Permit for the Formisano Property. The Head Start program to

be conducted on the Rowley Property involves a non-

residential facility operating only in daylight hours, which

would provide support services that would facilitate desired

industrial development. Turner Rept., Ex. R to Smith Aff. The

15a

Head Start program could provide day care for the children of

industrial workers, and its convenient availability near the

places of employment of the parents is an amenity which could

promote industrial growth by improving working conditions.

Plaintiffs also have failed to produce evidence that

Defendants’ desire to protect the prospective residents from the

danger and nuisance of the rail line is pretextual. While the

Head Start permit was approved despite a nuisance concern,

the Head Start program is non-residential. The children

participating in the Head Start program are not at the facility

at night, so the noise and fumes of an active freight line would

not disturb their sleep. Further, the head Start building would

be further away from the tracks that the proposed residential

buildings, witha storage warehouse existing between the head

Start facility and the tracks. The children attending the Head

Start program are not similarly situated to the proposed

residents.

As Plaintiffs cannot show that Defendants’ proffered

reasons were pretextual, Plaintiffs cannot succeed on their

intentional discrimination claims.

The Planning Board Approvals and Rezoning with respect

to other parcels cited by Plaintiff do not establish that

Defendants’ rationale regarding the preservation of the

industrial corridor is pretexual. In the 1980s and 90s, the

Planning Board approved only one residential development in

an industrial zone along the O&W corridor. All other

residential developments in the vicinity of the corridor,

including a senior citizen complex, the five unit dwellings and

the condo complexes have been in residential districts. Further,

the rezoning approvals cited by Plaintiffs occurred outside the

O&W corridor, and are not relevant to the present action.

Plaintiffs’ contention that pretext is shown because the

preservation of the industrial corridor was not raised until the

16a

third meeting about the Formisano Property, are not borne out

by the record. The preservation issue was, in actuality, raised

by the first official to speak at the first meeting regarding the

properties in August of 1994, during the portion of the

discussion relating to the Rowley Property. Aug. Tr. at 145-6.

Disparate Impact

"A disparate impact analysis examines a facially neutral

policy or practice, such as a hiring test or zoning law, for its

differential impact or effect on a particular group." Huntington

Branch, NAACP v. Town of Huntington, 844 F.2d 926, 933 (2d Cir.

1988). In order to establish a prima facie case of disparate

impact, Plaintiffs must show that the Planning Board’s

practices "actually or predictably result in [] discrimination; in

other words that it has a discriminatory effect." Huntington, 844

F.2d at 934. Once a prima facie case of disparate impact is

established, Defendants must prove that their practice

furthered a legitimate governmental interest and that there

were no alternatives with less discriminatory effect. Id. at 933.

The Court assumes for the argument that Plaintiffs have

established a prima facie case of disparate impact. Thus, the

Court must determine "whether the proffered justification is of

substantial concern such that it would justify a reasonable

official in making this determination." See Huntington, 844 F.2d

at 939. Here, the proffered justification of preserving the

industrial corridor and maintaining orderly and productive

land use were of substantial concern to Middletown and

justified the Planning Board’s decision.

Plaintiff's proposed alternatives for promoting industrial

development do not address Defendants’ preservation

justification. Further, in terms of non-discriminatory

alternatives, twenty-five to thirty-five percent of the City of

Middletown is zoned appropriately for Plaintiff's use. A

OE HOR vite it ei

17a

reasonable alternative would be to have used any parcel within

this portion of the City instead of the proposed property. Fusco

Aff. See Suffolk Interreligious Coalition on Housing, Inc. v. Town of

Brookhaven, 575 N.Y.S.2d 548, 550 (2d Dept. 1991) (denial had

no discriminatory effect when available vacant land zoned for

multi-family used existed). The Planning Board decided that

Plaintiff's residences would be placed inappropriately in an

area zoned for industrial use. Defendants did not preclude

Plaintiff in any way from attempting to secure parcels of land

in an area of Middletown appropriately zoned for its proposed

use. In fact, it was Plaintiff who rejected the Planning Board’s

offer to reconvene to discuss alternative locations. The

members of the Planning Board who voted against the project

stated affirmatively and publicly that they would have voted

in favor of the project if it had been in another location in

Middletown and no reason is shown to doubt their sincerity.

Arluck Aff., Swierksi Aff., Moson Aff. and Miner Aff.

Reasonable Accommodation

Defendants are required to give disabled individuals

"reasonable accommodations in rules, policies, practices, or

services, when such accommodations may be necessary to

afford such person equal opportunity to use and enjoy a

dwelling." 42 U.S.C. §3604(f)(3)(B). To determine if a requested

accommodation is required the Court must determine that the

“permits would be granted for comparable “traditional”

residences - that is, residences in which persons without

disabilities can live...." Forest City Daly Housing v. North

Hempstead, 175 F.3d 144, 146 (2d Cir. 1999). Reasonable

accommodations are those which do not cause undue hardship

or fiscal or administrative burdens on the municipality and do

not undermine the basic purpose which the zoning ordinance

at issue seeks to achieve.

18a

Defendants offered to reconvene the Planning Board to find

reasonable alternatives, but Plaintiff declined, ostensibly

because of a temporary lack of funding at the time the offer

was made. As no other Special Use Permits for residential use

in the industrial district were issued by the Planning Board in

the 1990s, Plaintiffs cannot establish a claim of failure to

provide a reasonable accommodation.

The Claims Against Mayor DeStefano

As noted earlier, the United States has not intervened with

respect to this aspect of the litigation. In all events, Mayor

DeStefano individually is entitled to summary judgment in his

favor because he was not a decision maker in the process

through which Plaintiff's application was denied. See X-Men

Security Inc. v. Pataki, 196 F.3d 56 (2d Cir. 1999) (Congressmen

and NY State Assemblyman sued for advocating non-renewal

of public contract because of plaintiff's affiliation with Nation

of Islam). Plaintiff attempts to distinguish X-Men by showing

that Mr. DeStefano had a political and social relationship with

Planning Board members, certainly not an unusual situation for

an elected official in a small community.” Plaintiff asserts that

DeStefano opposed other social services programs by litigation

and otherwise and that DeStefano's personal attorney was also

the lawyer for the Planning Board. The Mayor had no voting

power on the Planning Board and had no power to review the

Board's decision. The facts alleged by Plaintiffs do not

transform him into a Planning Board decision maker. The only

formal relationship between the Planning Board and the Mayor

is that the Mayor appoints Planning Board members who

receive no salary. Their terms of office are seven years, thereby

assuring their independence.

'’ The population of the City of Middletown is approximately 25,000.

Fusco Aff.

z

=

&

y

:

¥

ie.

3

FoR Gat TREATING A YOLEN oO ee Ae ae oA a i Na ST Sl at

19a

As emphasized also by our Court of Appeals in X-Men,

Mayor DeStefano's speech as a member of the audience at a

public hearing of the Planning Board is protected by the First

Amendment for, "although a state agency that was a decision

maker would be exposed to liability if it made its decision

based on unlawful considerations that were argued to it, see,

e.g., United States v. Yonkers Board of Education, 837 F.2d 1181,

1223-26 (2d Cir. 1987), cert denied, 486 U.S. 1055 (1988), speech

by persons who are not decision makers and who merely

engage in advocacy without threats, intimidation, or coercion

is protected by the First Amendment." X-Men, 196 F.3d at 70.

There is no evidence of any communications or actions by

Mayor DeStefano beyond the statements he made at the public

hearings. His statements were political speech in an open

political forum, and are protected by the First Amendment. For

the foregoing reasons, the Court dismisses Plaintiff's FHA,

ADA and Rehabilitation Act claims as against Mayor

DeStefano.

Retaliation

To establish a prima facie case of retaliation, Plaintiff must

establish (1) participation in a protected activity known to the

defendant, (2) subsequent adverse action, and (3) evidence of

a causal connection between the protected activity and the

subsequent adverse action. Richardson v. New York State

Department of Correctional Services, 180 F.3d 426, 443 (2d Cir.

1999). The burden then shifts to defendants to provide a non-

discriminatory reason for its actions. See id. Once Defendants

have done so, Plaintiff must prove that the proffered reason is

pretextual. See id. Plaintiff has alleged sufficiently that RECAP

was engaged in protected activity, specifically filing a

complaint with HUD concerning the Planning Board decision,

and the Court assumes for purposes of the motion that it

20a

suffered an adverse action, specifically, the withdrawal of the

“committed” funds."®

Plaintiff has alleged a causal connection between RECAP’s

protected activities and the withdrawal of the funding

“commitment,” if such it was, simply by showing that the

protected activity was followed closely in time by the adverse

action. The Office denied Plaintiff the funding while Plaintiff's

HUD complaint was still being investigated. Plaintiff has

alleged sufficiently a prima facie case of retaliation. See DeCintio

v. Westchester County Medical Center, 821 F.2d 111, 115 (2d Cir.),

cert. denied, 484 U.S. 965 (1987); Colon v. Coughlin, 58 F.3d 865,

872 (2d Cir. 1995).

Defendants, however, have provided nondiscriminatory

justifications for their action. Defendants state that the

Community Development Office declined to provide funding

to Plaintiff because Plaintiff used a disapproved contractor,

was not paying prevailing wage rates and because its available

funds had been spent on other projects. This decision was

made by Mr. Neil Novesky, the Director of the Community

"© In its opposition papers, Plaintiff also claims that it was engaged in

protected activity with relation to an unrelated litigation involving PACER,

a subsidiary of RECAP, against Middletown and in sending a letter to the

City from RECAP's attorneys threatening legal action concerning the

Formisano Property. Neither of these are appropriate bases for a retaliation

claim. PACER, and not RECAP was a Plaintiff in PACER v. Planning Board of

the City of Middletown, 217 A.D.2d 47 (3d Dept. 1995), which involved the

denial of tax exemptions. The December 5, 1994, letter in which RECAP’s

attorney's threatened legal action in relation to the Formisano property was

not authorized by RECAP’s Board of Directors. See Ex. 2 to Figueroa Aff.; Ex.

V toSmith Aff. Darden Dep. 484-92. Plaintiff told Defendants to disregard the

letter, effectively making it a nullity. Roberts Aff. This withdrawn letter is not

sufficient support for a claim of retaliation, as both Defendants and Plaintiffs

were aware that it was not authorized.

ONL NE AAPG PO pM OE Fs

PNET LALOR GLA GLO POLE AI AANIR IRE Dh) EROS SOL LOLOL ERR 9 36 on

CO RL LI DOO LLLLDIDV ESPN IRN Ge RB vate

.

*

.

3

¥.

z

b ad

é

$

=

w

2la

Development Office.” RECAP presents no evidence that the

expressed concerns of Mr. Novesky were pretextual. The

disputed issues in the case as to whether the funds were a

preliminary loan commitment ora firm grant commitment and

whether or not the commitment, if such it was, had an

expiration date, do not address the issue of whether

Defendants stated justifications for the denial of the funding

were pretextual. Plaintiff has failed to show pretext.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, Defendants’ motion for

summary judgment is granted. The Clerk shall file a final

judgment.

SO ORDERED.

Dated: White Plains, New York

September 25, 2000

s/CHARLES L. BRIEANT

Charles L. Brieant, U.S.DJ.

" It was Mayor DeStefano who notified RECAP of the denial of the funds.

As noted earlier, the Mayor found no financial irregularities on the part of

RECAP.

22a

Appendix B—Final Opinion of Hon. Robert Sack, USCJ,

entered February 19, 2002

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

August Term, 2000

(Argued: June 7, 2001 Decided: February 5, 2002)

Docket Nos. 00-6318, 00-6354

REGIONAL ECONOMIC COMMUNITY ACTION PROGRAM, INC.,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

-and-

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Intervenor-Plaintiff-Appellant,

-U.-

CITY OF MIDDLETOWN, CITY OF MIDDLETOWN PLANNING

BOARD, and JOSEPH DESTEFANO,

Defendants-Appellees.

Before:

KEARSE, STRAUB, and SACK,

Circuit Judges.

Appeal from an order of the United States District Court for

the Southern District of New York (Charles L. Brieant, Judge)

oer SDAA NEM ACARI Lee IE EEN INAS RAF pt oras+4

I RA om Ga Det Sn

23a

granting summary judgment in favor of the defendants City of

Middletown, City of Middletown Planning Board, and Joseph

DeStefano on the 5th plaintiffs’ claims of discrimination and

retaliation in violation of the Fair Housing Act, 42 U.S.C. § 3601

et seq., the Americans with Disabilities Act, 42 U.S.C. § 12101 et

seq.,and the Rehabilitation Act, 29 U.S.C. § 701 et seq. The plain-

tiff Regional Economic Community Action Program, Inc., and

intervenor-plaintiff the United States assert, inter alia, that the

defendants unlawfully discriminated by denying Regional

Economic Community Action Program a special-use permit

authorizing it to establish two halfway houses for recovering

alcoholics in Middletown. We hold that the district court erred

by granting summary judgment to the defendants on the plain-

tiffs' claims of disparate treatment and retaliation. We affirm,

however, the district court's grant of summary judgmenton the

plaintiffs' disparate impact and failure to make reasonable

accommodation claims.

Affirmed in part; vacated in part; and remanded.

LESLIE A. LUPERT, Orans, Elsen & Lupert, LLP (Simeon

Goldman, Disability Advocates, Inc., of counsel),

New York, NY, for Plaintiff-Appellant.

JEFFREY OESTERICHER, Assistant United States Attorney

for the Southern District of New York, (Mary Jo

White, United States Attorney, and Neil M.

Corwin and Sara L. Shudofsky, Assistant United

States Attorneys, of counsel), for Intervenor-

Plaintiff-Appellant.

ALEX SMITH (Robert N. Isseks, of counsel), Middletown,

NY, for Defendants-Appellees.

SACK, Circuit Judge:

The plaintiff, Regional Economic Community Action

Program, Inc. ("RECAP"), and the intervenor-plaintiff, the

United States of America, brought this action under the Fair

Housing Act, 42 U.S.C. § 3601 et seq. ("FHA"), the Americans

with Disabilities Act, 42 U.S.C. § 12101 et seq. ("ADA"), and the

Rehabilitation Act, 29 U.S.C. § 701 et seq. They alleged that the

defendants--the City of Middletown ("Middletown" or "the

City"), located in Orange County, New York, the City of

Middletown Planning Board ("Planning Board"), and Joseph

DeStefano, the mayor of Middletown--discriminated against

RECAP on the basis of its clients’ disabilities by refusing to

grant RECAP a special-use permit authorizing it to establish

two halfway houses for recovering alcoholics. The United

States District Court for the Southern District of New York

(Charles L. Brieant, Judge ) granted summary judgment to the

defendants on all of the plaintiffs' claims. Because we find

sufficient evidence from which a reasonable juror could infer

disparate treatment by the City and the Planning Board and

retaliation by the City and DeStefano, we vacate the district

court's grant of summary judgment as to those claims. But we

affirm the court's grant of summary judgment on the disparate

impact claim against all three defendants and_ the

discrimination claims against DeStefano.

BACKGROUND

I. The RECAP Project

Because the plaintiffs appeal from the grant of a summary

judgment against them, we recite the relevant facts in the light

most favorable to them. See Holtz v. Rockefelier & Co., 258 F.3d

62, 69 (2d Cir. 2001).

ot

E

=

%

?

¥

te

ey

if

a

£4]

Ss

EASES EE ALI I

RECAP, a not-for-profit corporation founded in 1965,

provides education, housing, social services, and other forms

of assistance to low income individuals in Orange County,

New York. In 1994, RECAP sought to create a "family support

community" in the City by consolidating the operation of

several proposed and existing assistance programs on two

parcels of land near its existing outpatient clinic for recovering

alcoholics. RECAP's plan involved three properties: (1) its

existing facility located at 40 Smith Street; (2) a parcel of land

directly across the street owned by Gary Formisano (the

"Formisano property"); and (3) the lot adjacent and to the north

of the Formisano property, owned by Richard Rowley (the

"Rowley property”).

A railroad track once owned by the Ontario & Western

Railroad ("O & W") runs along the eastern borders of both the

Rowley and Formisano properties. A rail spur on the Rowley

property connects it to the O & W track. RECAP intended to

use the Rowley property for "Head Start" classes, daycare for

infants, and pediatric medical and dental services. It planned

to convert an existing building on the Formisano property :nto

a halfway house for twenty-four men recovering from

alcoholism. Finally, RECAP's plan contemplated the

construction of a new building located partly on the Rowley

property and partly on the Formisano property to house

twenty recovering alcoholic mothers and their children.

Full-time staff would supervise both halfway houses

twenty-four hours a day.

In 1994, Middletown's zoning ordinances applicable to

these properties authorized "cumulative zoning,” whichallows

both residential and commercial uses in an industrial zone. The

Rowley property was zoned "I-2," or heavy industrial; the

Formisano property was zoned "I-1," or light industrial. Both

the childcare facility proposed for the Rowley property and the

halfway houses proposed for the Formisano and Rowley

26a

properties were permitted uses under these zoning ordinances,

but each required a special-use permit from the Planning

Board. All zones, both residential and industrial, require

special-use permits for the construction of multi-family

housing units. The purpose of a special-use permit is to allow

the Planning Board to determine whether a proposed project

will have an unduly adverse effect on the neighborhood. See

Pacer, Inc. v. Planning Bd., 217 A.D.2d 47, 50-51, 635 N.Y.S.2d

704, 705-06 (3d Dep't 1995).

Although both properties were part of a single project,

RECAP had to apply to the Planning Board separately for a

special-use permit for each property. The Planning Board

considered RECAP's application regarding the Rowley

property, where RECAP planned to establish the childcare

center, during two hearings held in August and September

1994. It unanimously approved the special-use permit for that

property at the September hearing, subject to negotiation of a

specific agreement for the payment of taxes and confirmation

that the project would not adversely affect the environment.

The Planning Board first considered RECAP's application

for a special-use permit for the Formisano property--the parcel

where RECAP intended to establish one halfway house for

recovering alcoholics, and part of the home for recovering

alcoholic mothers and their children--at the August 1994

hearing. This and subsequent hearings about the Formisano

property became, unlike the discussions about the Rowley

property, contentious. The Planning Board debated RECAP's

application at four hearings held between August 1994 and

December 1994. At the final meeting in December, the members

of the Planning Board denied RECAP’s application by a vote of

four to two.

Shortly thereafter, RECAP requested that the Planning

Board reconvene to consider providing a reasonable

:

ee

SSN ELE ERIS EI IOP KREIS IE I ALEPY

27a

accommodation for RECAP's clients’ disabilities and to

reconsider its decision to deny RECAP a special-use permit for

the halfway houses that it proposed to establish on the

Formisano property. The City did not respond to that request

until June 1995. By then, RECAP, having lost a prospective

grant, could no longer finance the project. Further details with

respect to the Planning Board's deliberations on whether to

issue the special-use permit for the Formisano property are set

forth below in the "Discussion" section of this opinion.

II. Events Leading to RECAP's Retaliation Claim

In the early 1990s, RECAP acquired a building at 208 North

Street, also in Middletown, where it planned to create a facility

for the homeless. By letter dated June 23, 1993, the City's Office

of Community and Economic Development informed RECAP

that it would be "pleased to provide [a] commitment of $53,139

for the purchase of furnishings for the [North Street] project...."

Antonio Figueroa, now RECAP's Director of Special Projects/

Facilities, subsequently spoke several times with Neil Novesky,

Director of the Office of Economic and Community Develop-

ment, updating him on the progress of the project. Novesky

told Figueroa that once RECAP notified him that the

construction was complete, RECAP could draw down the

committed funds.

On December 5, 1994, four days after the Planning Board

denied RECAP the Formisano permit, counsel for RECAP

wrote to defendant DeStefano alleging that the permit denial

violated the FHA and the ADA. He threatened legal action

unless the Board rescinded its decision. Three days later, on

December 8, RECAP completed construction of the North

Street project and requested release of the promised funds. The

City responded in a letter the same day by requesting that

RECAP submit certain forms required for withdrawal of the

funds, and telling RECAP that it would forward these forms.

28a

RECAP never received them. Instead, Figueroa called the

assistant as recommended in the letter. She referred him back

to Novesky, who in turn told Figueroa that he would have to

speak to Alex Smith, assistant corporation counsel to the City.

Smith then informed Figueroa that the funds the City had

promised to RECAP would be in the form of a loan rather than

a grant.

On December 20, 1994, Smith telephoned Figueroa to tell

him that Mayor DeStefano was worried about RECAP's ability

to secure this loan. Smith said, according to Figueroa’s

affidavit, that "if RECAP had not pursued legal action against

the Mayor, he would be much more cooperative" and that

"RECAP has to learn not to bite the hand that feeds it." On

December 31, RECAP filed a complaint regarding the denial of

the Formisano permit with United States Department of

Housing and Urban Development ("HUD"). In April 1995,

RECAP received a letter from DeStefano raising financial and

labor concerns about the North Street project. RECAP

responded on April 13 witha letter seeking to allay DeStefano's

concerns, but received no reply. RECAP heard nothing further

until early 1996, when DeStefano informed RECAP that the

City had withdrawn its funding commitment.

III. Proceedings in the District Court

In November 1997, RECAP brought this action alleging that

the defendants unlawfully denied RECAP a special-use permit

for the Formisano property. RECAP alleged that the defendants

acted with a "discriminatory motive to prevent persons with

disabilities from obtaining suitable housing in Middletown,”

Compl. 7 68, and intentionally failed "to make reasonable

accommodations in Middletown's and the Planning Board's

rules, policies, practices and services when such accommoda-

tions are necessary to afford people with disabilities equal

opportunity to use and enjoy dwellings," Compl. { 72, in

PRR: ARLES RMON ot ahr HRS HOR Na

*

3

&

4

¢

e

2

NG RI ET RIOR ei rat. RN

5B NCPR RET MR RARE LH afte Nein aude name saN OS

29a

violation of the FHA, the ADA, and the Rehabilitation Act.

RECAP further argued that because Middletown's zoning

ordinances had a disparate and adverse impact on disabled

individuals, they violate the FHA. Finally, RECAP asserted a

separate retaliation claim against DeStefano and the City based

on their alleged refusal to honor funding commitments to

RECAP with respect to the North Street project.

In June 1998, the district court permitted the United States

to intervene in these proceedings. The United States named the

City as the sole defendant and alleged that it had discriminated

against RECAP in violation of the FHA, the ADA, and the

Rehabilitation Act when the Planning Board denied RECAP a

special-use permit for the Formisano property.

In February 2000, the defendants moved for summary

judgment on all claims. First, they argued that the recovering

alcoholics whom RECAP intended to shelter in the halfway

houses were not disabled within the meaning of the FHA, the

ADA, or the Rehabilitation Act. Second, they contended that,

in any event, their decision to deny RECAP the special-use

permit was based on legitimate, non-discriminatory reasons.

Finally, they argued that summary judgment should be granted

on the plaintiffs’ disparate impact and _ reasonable

accommodation theories of liability and on RECAP’s retaliation

claim.

On September 25, 2000, the district court granted the

defendants' motien for summary judgment on all of the

plaintiffs’ claims. The district court concluded, inter alia, that

with regard to the plaintiffs’ disparate treatment claim, the

defendants had articulated legitimate, non-discriminatory

reasons for their action, and the plaintiffs had failed to show

that those reasons were a pretext for unlawful discrimination.

The district court also granted summary judgment on RECAP's

30a

disparate impact, reasonable accommodation, and retaliation

claims. This appeal followed.’

DISCUSSION

I. Standard of Review

We review the district court's grant of summary judgment

de novo, construing the evidence in the light most favorable to

the non-moving party. See Tenenbaum v. Williams, 193 F.3d 581,

593 (2d Cir.1999), cert. denied, 529 U.S. 1098 (2000). Summary

judgment is required where "there is no genuine issue as to any

material fact and ... the moving party is entitled to a judgment

as a matter of law," Fed.R.Civ.P. 56(c), i.e., "[w]here the record

taken as a whole could not lead a rational trier of fact to find

for the non-moving party." Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith

Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 587 (1986). A fact is "material" for

these purposes if it "might affect the outcome of the suit under

the governing law." Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc .,477 U.S. 242,

248 (1986). An issue of fact is "genuine" if "the evidence is such

that a reasonable jury could return a verdict for the nonmoving

party." Id.

' The district court granted DeStefano summary judgment on the

discrimination claims on the independent ground that he was not a decision

maker in the process through which the Planning Board denied RECAP the

special-use permit and therefore could not be held personally liable. The

plaintiffs do not dispute the merits of this decision on appeal and thus waive

any appeal of that decision. See Fed. R.App. P. 28(a)(5); LoSacco v. City of

Middletown, 71 F.3d 88, 92-93 (2d Cir.1995). For this reason, we do not address

the grant of summary judgment to DeStefano on the plaintiff's discrimination

claims. The district court's judgment in that regard remains undisturbed. The

court's dismissal of the discrimination claims against DeStefano, however,

does not require dismissal of the retaliation claim. Cf. McMenemy v. City of

Rochester, 241 F.3d 279, 283 (2d Cir.2001) (noting that Title VII prohibits

retaliation against an employee who opposes “any practice made an unlawful

employment practice,” not just those of the defendant) (quoting 42 U.S.C. §

2000e- 3(a) (emphasis added)).

3la

II. The Statutory Framework

The plaintiffs assert claims under three federal statutes: the

FHA, the ADA, and the Rehabilitation Act. The FHA makes it

unlawful "[t]o discriminate in the sale or rental, or to otherwise

make unavailable or deny, a dwelling to any buyer or renter

because of a handicap." 42 U.S.C. § 3604(f)(1). It defines

discrimination to include "a refusal to make reasonable

accommodations in rules, policies, practices, or services, when

such accommodations may be necessary to afford [a

handicapped] person equal opportunity to use and enjoy a

dwelling." Id. § 3604(f)(3)(B). The ADA and the Rehabilitation

Act also prohibit all discrimination based on disability by

public entities. Each statute requires that covered entities make

reasonable accommodations in order to provide qualified

individuals with an equal opportunity to receive benefits from

or to participate in programs run by such entities. Specifically,

the ADA provides that "no qualified individual with a

disability shall, by reason of such disability, be excluded from

participation in or be denied the benefits of the services,

programs, or activities of a public entity, or be subjected to

discrimination by any such entity," 42 U.S.C. § 12132; and the

Rehabilitation Act states that "[n]o otherwise qualified

individual with a disability ... shall, solely by reason of her or

his disability, be excluded from the participation in, be denied

the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any

program or activity receiving Federal financial assistance..." 29

U.S.C. § 794(a). "All three statutes apply to municipal zoning

decisions." Forest City Daly Hous., Inc. v. Town of North

Hempstead, 175 F.3d 144, 151 (2d Cir.1999); see also Innovative

Health Sys., Inc. v. City of White Plains, 117 F.3d 37, 44 (2d

Cir.1997) (ADA and the Rehabilitation Act apply to zoning

decisions), overruled on other grounds by Zervos v. Verizon New

York, 252 F.3d 163, 171 n. 7 (2d Cir.2001).

32a

III. Whether RECAP's Clients are Disabled Within the

Meaning of the ADA, the FHA, and the Rehabilitation

Act

The defendants first argue that RECAP’s clients are not

"disabled" within the meaning of the FHA, the ADA, and the

Rehabilitation Act.? Notwithstanding this contention, the

district court assumed that the prospective residents of the

halfway houses meet the statutory definition of "individual

with a disability." We agree that they do.

To demonstrate a disability under each of these statutes, a

plaintiff must show: (1) a physical or mental impairment which

subsiantially limits one or more major life activities; (2) a

record of having such an impairment; or (3) that they are

regarded as having such an impairment. See 42 U.S.C.

§ 3602(h); 42 U.S.C. § 12102(2); 29 U.S.C. § 705(20). RECAP's

clients fall into the first two categories.

In the first category, an individual is considered disabled

if he or she: (1) suffers from a physical or mental impairment,

that (2) affects a major life activity, and (3) the effect is

“substantial.” See Bragdon v. Abbott, 524 U.S. 624, 631 (1998).

> The defendants do not challenge RECAP's standing to bring suit.

Mindful of the necessity of standing to our jurisdiction, see Leibovitz v. N.Y.

City Transit Auth., 252 F.3d 179, 184 (2d Cir.2001), however, we observe that

RECAP has standing both as an individual plaintiff and under organizational

standing theory. See Irish Lesbian & Gay Org. v. Giuliani, 143 F.3d 638, 649 (2d

Cir.1998). RECAP suffered an injury through the denial of its special-use

permit application; it therefore has individual standing. See Havens Realty

Corp. v. Coleman, 455 U.S. 363, 379 (1982); Ragin v. Harry Macklowe Real Estate

Co., 6 F.3d 898, 905 (2d Cir .1993). Second, RECAP serves a class of individu-

als with discrimination claims; the interests at issue are germane to RECAP's

purpose; and no individual participation is required under these circum-

stances. It therefore also meets the organizational standing requirements of

Hunt v. Wash. State Apple Adver. Comm'n, 432 U.S. 333, 347 (1977).

33a

RECAP's clients suffer from alcoholism. Alcoholism, like

drug addiction, is an “impairment' under the definitions of a

disability set forth in the FHA, the ADA, and the Rehabilitation

Act. See Buckley v. Consol. Edison Co., 155 F.3d 150, 154 (2d

Cir.1998) (in banc) (recovering drug addict may be considered

to have a "disability" under the ADA); Teahan v. Metro-North

Commuter R.R. Co., 951 F.2d 511%, 518 (2d Cir.1991)

(discrimination against substance abusers illegal under the

Rehabilitation Act); Rodgers v. Lehman, 869 F.2d 253, 258 (4th

Cir.1989) (holding that "[a]lcoholism is a handicapping

condition within the meaning of the [Rehabilitation] Act");

Sullivan v. City of Pittsburgh, 811 F.2d 171, 182 (3d Cir.1987)

("Case law establishes that alcoholics are handicapped within

the meaning of [the Rehabilitation Act]."). Legislative history

also supports this conclusion. See H.R.Rep. No. 101-485(ID, at

51 (1990), reprinted in 1990 U.S.C.C.A.N. 303, 333 (noting that

“physical or mental impairment" includes "drug addiction and

alcoholism") (internal punctuation omitted). RECAP's clients

therefore meet the first part of the definition of a disability.

But mere status as an alcoholic or substance abuser does

not necessarily imply a "limitation" under the second part of

that definition. See Burch v. Coca- Cola Co., 119 F.3d 305, 316-17

(5th Cir.1997) (holding that alcoholism is not a per se disability

under the ADA and evidence that alcoholics, in general, are

impaired is inadequate to show the substantial limitation of

one or more major life activities), cert. denied, 522 U.S. 1084

(1998). To prevail, a recovering drug addict or alcoholic "must

demonstrate [not only] that he [or she] was actually addicted

to drugs or alcohol in the past, [but also] that this addiction

substantially limit[s] one or more of his [or her] major life

activities." Id. at 274.

As the Supreme Court recently observed, "[T]o be

substantially limited . . . , an individual must have an

impairment that prevents or severely restricts the individual

34a

from doing activities that are of central importance to most

people's daily lives." Toyota Motor Mfg., Ky., Inc. v. Williams, 534

U.S. 184, __, 122 S.Ct. 681, 691 (2002). The impairment's impact

must also be "permanent or long-term." Id. Major life activities

include “functions such as caring for one's self, performing

manual tasks, walking, seeing, hearing, speaking, breathing,

learning, and working.” 28 C.F.R. § 41.31(b)(2); 45 C.F.R. §

84.3(j)(2)(ii); 24 C.F.R. § 100.201(b). The function of "caring for

one's self," we have held, “encompasses normal activities of

daily living; including feeding oneself, driving, grooming, and

cleaning home." Ryan v. Grae & Rybicki, P.C., 135 F.3d 867, 871

(2d Cir.1998) (citing Dutcher v. Ingalls Shipbuilding, 53 F.3d 723,

726 (5th Cir.1995)). Williams, confirms that such “tasks central

to most people's daily lives" constitute major life activities. 534

U.S. at __, 122 S.Ct. at 693.

RECAP’s clients qualify to live ina halfway house because

they need its supportive environment. New York State

regulations prescribe admission criteria that would have

applied to the proposed Formisano-property halfway houses.

See N.Y. Comp.Codes R. & Regs. tit. 14, § 375.8(c). Only

“persons who are unable to maintain abstinence and continued

recovery in an available independent living situation" would

have had access to the facilities. Id. § 375.1. In particular,

RECAP could only have admitted persons who, inter alia, (1)

had been "diagnosed as suffering from alcohol dependence”; (2)

had “completed a course of alcoholism treatment” in an

inpatient or outpatient setting; (3) were "determined to be

unable to abstain without continued care in a structured

supportive setting"; and (4) were “in need of alcoholism

services on an outpatient basis in addition to the supportive

counseling available in the halfway house." Id. § 375.8(c).

Residents cannot remain once they have “attained the skills and

ability necessary to maintain abstinence and continue recovery

in ... suitable independent living.” Id. § 375.1(g).

35a

We therefore conclude, as did the United States District

Court for the District of New Jersey on a similar issue, that

RECAP’S clients’ "addictions substantially limit their ability to

live independently and to live with their families"; that they are

“entitled thereby to the protections of [the FHA, ADA, and the

Rehabilitation Act]"; and that their “inability to live

independently constitutes a substantial limitation on their

ability to ‘care for themselves.’ " United States v. Borough of

Audubon, 797 F.Supp. 353, 359 (D.N.J.1991), aff'd, 968 F.2d 14

(3d Cir.1992). Because the inability to live independently

without suffering a relapse--a baseline prerequisite for

admittance to the RECAP facility--limits the major life activity

of “caring for one's self," an activity that is "necessarily [an]

important part[ ] of most people's lives,” Williams, 534 U.S. at

___, 122 S.Ct. at 693, the residents of the proposed haifway

houses would have met the second part of the statutory

definition of a disability. All of the halfway house's residents

must be substantially impaired in a major life activity to

continue residing there.”

Finally, to qualify as disabled, the limitation of RECAP's

clients must have been "substantial." A limitation is substantial

if it "[s]ignificantly restrict [s] . . . the condition, manner or

duration under which an individual can perform a particular

major life activity as compared to the condition, manner, or

duration under which the average person in the general

population can perform that same major life activity." 29 C.F.R.

§ 1630.2(j)(1). Individuals must show only "substantial

limitations," not “utter inabilities," to qualify for statutory

protection. Bragdon, 524 U.S. at 641. Here, the plaintiffs’ clients

would have been deemed substantially limited because they

> While the determination of substantial impairment is admittedly made

“in .-. a case-by-case manner,” the existence of statutorily defined levels of

impairment obviates the concern expressed in Williams about varying

intensities of symptoms. Id. 534 U.S. at ___, 122 S.Ct. at 692.

36a

are unable to abstain from alcohol abuse without continued

care; absent assistance, they cannot adequately care for

themselves. See Borough of Audubon, 797 F.Supp. at 359 (finding

a substantial limitation under analogous circumstances). Their

impairment is also long-term. See Williams, 534 U.S. at __, 122

S.Ct. at691. Under New York law, a halfway house admits only

those to be discharged "between three and nine months after

admission." N.Y. Comp.Codes R. & Regs. tit. 14, § 375.8(g); see

also id. § 375.8(f)(3) (providing for monthly assessments).

In any event, even if RECAP's clients did not meet the first

definition of a disability, they would qualify under the second

because they have a record of having an impairment. See 42

U.S.C. § 12102(2)(B).

IV. Analysis of the Plaintiffs' Claims

Plaintiffs who allege violations under the ADA, the FHA,

and the Rehabilitation Act may proceed under any or all of

three theories: disparate treatment, disparate impact, and

failure to make reasonable accommodation. See Doe v.

Pfrommer, 148 F.3d 73, 82 (2d Cir.1998) (noting the possible

application of these three theories under the ADA and the

Rehabilitation Act); see also Forest City Daly Hous., Inc., 175 F.3d

at 150-51 (all three statutes permit reasonable accommodation

claims); Smith & Lee Assocs., Inc. v. City of Taylor, 102 F.3d 781,

790 (6th Cir.1996) (FHA permits all three theories). The

plaintiffs in this case make claims under each.

A. Disparate Treatment Theory

The plaintiffs allege that the Planning Board denied

RECAP's application for a special use permit for the Formisano

property because of the identity of the residents of the

proposed halfway houses--recovering alcoholics. The district

court concluded, however, that the plaintiffs had failed to raise

37a

a triable issue of fact as to whether the Planning Board's stated

reason for the denial was a pretext for discrimination. We

disagree.

We analyze claims of intentional discrimination under the

FHA, the ADA, and the Rehabilitation Act under the familiar

McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792 (1973),

burden-shifting analysis established for employment

discrimination cases under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of

1964, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e et seq. See Smith & Lee Assocs., Inc., 102

F.3d at 790-91; Cabrera v. Jakabovitz, 24 F.3d 372, 380-84 (2d

Cir.1994). Under this scheme, the plaintiffs must first establish

a prima facie case of discrimination. See McDonnell Douglas, 411

USS. at 802.

To establish a prima facie case of discrimination under the

FHA and the ADA, the plaintiffs must present evidence that

“animus against the protected group was a significant factor in

the position taken by the municipal decision-makers

themselves or by those to whom the decision-makers were

knowingly responsive." LeBlanc-Sternberg v. Fletcher, 67 F.3d

412, 425 (2d Cir.1995) (emphasis added; citation and internal

quotation marks omitted); see also Smith & Lee Assocs., 102 F.3d

at 790 (noting that to establish a prima facie case, the plaintiff

must show "that discriminatory purpose was a motivating

factor in the City's decision to deny ... [the] petition") (citation

and internal quotation marks omitted). To establish a prima

facie case of discrimination under the Rehabilitation Act, by

contrast, the plaintiffs must show that the defendants denied

the permit "solely" because of the disability. See Flight v.

Gloeckler, 68 F.3d 61, 64 (2d Cir.1995).

_ If the plaintiffs make out a prima facie case, then the

burden of production shifts to the defendants to provide a

legitimate, nondiscriminatory reason for their decision. See

Reeves v. Sanderson Plumbing Prods., Inc., 530 U.S. 133, 142

38a

(2000); Heyman v. Queens Vill. Comm. for Mental Health for

Jamaica Cmty. Adolescent Program, Inc., 198 F.3d 68, 72 (2d

Cir.1999). If the defendants meet that burden, "the McDonnell

Douglas framework . . . disappear[s] and the sole remaining

issue [is] discrimination vel non." Reeves, 530 U.S. at 142-43

(citations and internal quotation marks omitted). The plaintiffs

must then prove that the defendants intentionally

discriminated against them on a prohibited ground. See id. at

143. Where, however, the plaintiffs "make a substantial

showing" that the defendants’ proffered explanation was false,

"it is permissible for the trier of fact to infer the ultimate fact of

discrimination from the falsity of the employer's explanation."

Id. at 146- 47 (emphasis in original).

The district court in this case concluded that the plaintiffs

had failed to demonstrate the presence of a triable issue of fact

as to whether the defendants’ "articulated, legitimate,

non-discriminatory" reasons were pretextual. Reg‘l Econ. Cmty.

Action Program, Inc. v. City of Middletown, No. 97 Civ. 8808(CLB)

(S.D.N.Y. Sept. 25, 2000), slip op. at 13. We disagree. Based on

the evidence in the record, we think that a reasonable juror

could conclude that the defendants’ proffered reason for

denying RECAP a special-use permit was a pretext for

unlawful discrimination.

“Discriminatory intent may be inferred from the tctality of

the circumstances, including . . . the historical background of

the decision . . . ; the specific sequence of events leading up to

the challenged decision... ; [and] contemporary statements by

members of the decisionmaking bcay, . . ." LeBlanc, 67 F.3d at

425 (citations and internal quotation marks omitted). The

district court correctly decided that the plaintiffs introduced

sufficient evidence from which a reasonable juror could

conclude that the plaintiffs made out a prima facie case. Their

initial bucden of production under the McDonnell Douglas

analysis is "minimal." St. Mary’s Honor Ctr. v. Hicks, 509 U.S.

39a

502, 506 (1993); McGuinness v. Lincoln Hall, 263 F.3d 49, 53 (2d

Cir. 2001). City officials and Planning Board members made

numerous statements from whicha reasonable juror could infer

that they denied RECAP's permit application because of the

identity of its clients. For example, Mayor DeStefano began the

August 1994 hearing about the Formisano permit by stating:

And what I have tried to convey to RECAP and

through different surrogate[s] is that enough is

enough. And that in order for RECAP to maintain the

level of respect in the community, to maintain the level

of cooperation from not only governmental agencies,

but this people [sic] that live in and around these areas,

that they have to recognize that Middletown is not the

hub of human services programs. ... But at some point

we have tried to say to the different not for profit

agencies that in regards to housing enough is enough.

That the city is over and above has done more than we

probably should have done [sic]. ... Do [this project] in

Goshen. Do it in Warwick. Do it in Montgomery. Find

a building there. Do it in some other community that

has not contributed to the extent, not even close to

what Middletown has contributed in regards to

participation and human service programs.

He later added that "I told [the head of RECAP] two or three

years ago that he would have trouble getting that type of

project through the City; that this City has done more than its

share."

Other City officials made similar comments. Alex Smith,

counsel to the Planning Board, asked at the September 1994

hearing: "Does it make more sense to have a facility in

Newburgh and Greenville [two other Orange County

communities], or maybe we should have two in Newburgh. I

think this Board has the right to make those kinds of value

40a

judgments." He later expressed concern that the City had no

guarantee that "these people [RECAP's clients] would or would

not have criminal histories." He also echoed Mayor DeStefano's

view that "[t]he problem is that . . . there seems to be a

tremendous over-concentration of these types of facilities [i.e.,

halfway houses] in this City as compared to the surrounding

townships." At the November hearing, the City's Director of

Economic and Community Development told the Planning

Board that "if the [Formisano] building is occupied by a certain

type of social service or support service program, perhaps

occupying the building next door will be deterred."

The evidence suggests that the Planning Board members

may have been similarly motivated. One board member said:

"The question that we're all wrestling with ... is if this is very

wide spread [sic] in our society and there's a great need for this

_everywhere, as we will all admit, why do we have to have all

the treatment facilities right here in Middletown?" At the end

of the September hearing, the chairman of the Planning Board

concluded that "[t]here's a need for this project. There's some

issues [sic] about whether it should be in Middletown, and

that's what it boils down to. . . ." Before the final vote in

December, the chairman recommended that the Planning

Board deny RECAP a special-use permit because "there's an

over-concentration of residential and social service facilities in

the City." When he cast his vote, yet another board member

remarked: "I believe that the City itself has extended itself and

embraced significant other services that have come our way,

and I have to say that for us to be the magnet for the area is not

necessarily the best industrial development of this or any other

project." This evidence more than suffices to establish the

plaintiffs’ prima facie case.

Second, as the district court correctly determined, the

defendants met their subsequent burden of production, see

Reeves, 530 U.S. at 142, by articulating legitimate, non-

4la

discriminatory reasons for their denial of the Formisano

property permit. They maintain that they denied RECAP a

special-use permit in order to preserve the land along the

O & W railroad line for industrial development and also to

protect the halfway house residents from the nuisance effect of

the railroad.

We disagree, however, with the district court's third

conclusion: that the plaintiffs did not introduce evidence that

raises a genuine issue of material fact as to whether the

defendants’ proffered reasons were a pretext for unlawful

discrimination. To establish such pretext, in addition to the

evidence that supports their prima facie case, the plaintiffs rely

on three categories of evidence: (1) the granting of a special-use-

permit for the Rowley property, (2) deposition testimony, and

(3) a map of the surrounding area. A review of the record on

appeal indicates at a minimum that this evidence casts doubt

on the defendants’ proffered reasons for denying RECAP a

special use permit.

At the August 1994 hearing, the Planning Board approved

a special-use permit for the Rowley property, where RECAP

intended to build a childcare facility. In December 1994, the

Board rejected RECAP's application fora special-use permit for

the Formisano property, where RECAP intended to establish

the halfway houses. The applications for both properties were

made at the same time, by the same entity, for adjoining

properties; the principal difference between them seems to be

the people whom the projects sought to serve: The Rowley

property would serve children, and the Formisano property

would serve recovering alcoholics. The plaintiffs argue

persuasively that if industrial growth and development were

the Planning Board's true concerns, then the Board would have

also raised the issue in connection with the Rowley property.

Indeed, the two- and-one-half acre Rowley property is five

times the size of the Formisano property; it has a_rail spur that

42a

connects it to the O & W track; and it is zoned for heavy rather

than light industrial use. For these reasons, it arguably would

be more attractive than the Formisano property for industrial

use.

The district court found that "[t]he Head Start program to

be conducted on the Rowley property involves a non-

residential facility operating only in daylight hours, which

would provide support services that would facilitate desired

industrial development." Reg ‘l Econ. Cmty. Action Program, Inc.,

slip op at 14. We find no support for the conclusion that the

Head Start program would facilitate industrial development.

The defendants provide no evidence, for example, that

in. sstrial workers’ children would be eligible for a Head Start

prugram. Cf. Head Start 2001 Poverty Guidelines, at http://

www.headstartinfo.org/publications.htm (last modified Oct. 31,

2001) (detailing income restrictions for Head Start children's

families).

The plaintiffs also introduced evidence that calls into

question the defendants’ second proffered reason for denying

RECAP a special-use permit: to protect the halfway house

residents from the nuisance effect of the railroad. The evidence

indicates that at the time of the Planning Board's decision,

trains rarely traveled on the O & W line; when they did, it was

_ at very low speeds. A reasonable juror might wonder why the

Planning Board worried more about the impact of the railroad

on recovering alcoholics than on the children whom it knew

would be receiving education, medical attention, and other

social services at the adjoining Rowley property. More

generally, a juror could infer that if the industrial development

and railroad-nuisance concerns led the Planning Board to deny

RECAP the special-use permit for the Formisano property, then

these same concerns would have led the Planning Board to

deny it a special-use permit for the Rowley property. These

inferences could establish that the Planning Board's disparate

43a

treatment of these two properties demonstrates intentional

discrimination against recovering alcoholics and that its stated

concerns about the Formisano property were pretextual.

The Planning Boara members' deposition §testirnony

provides additional evidence of pretext. When questioned

about the reason for the Board's disparate treatment of the two

properties, one member testified: "I cannot recall what |

thought at the time, what other people thought at the time and

in what detail the economic development argument began to

figure in. So I can't really recall specifically what the distinction

was." That same member also testified that "the concern that

Middletown had a high number of treatment facilities in

general was certainly brought home to me, was certainly a

recurring theme in this overall discussion." Another Planning

Board member stated that he was not concerned with industrial

or commercial development in relation to the Rowley property

permit.

Finally, the plaintiffs supplied the district court witha map

of the area as it existed in 1994. The map appears to show that

the area surrounding the properties in question was not largely

industrial. If true, this may cast doubt in jurors’ minds upon the

defendants’ assertion that they sought to "preserve" it as an

industrial area.

Based on this evidence, then, a reasonable juror could

refuse to credit the defendants’ stated reasons for denying

RECAP a special-use permit and find that the real reason was

discrimination based on the identity of RECAP's clients. The

evidence also would suffice to permit a rational juror to find

that the defendants denied RECAP the permit solely because of

RECAP's clients’ disabilities--the more demanding finding

required for the plaintiffs to make out a cause of action under

the Rehabilitation Act. We therefore hold that the district court

44a

erred by granting summary judgment to the defendants on

each of the three statutory claims.

B. Disparate Impact Theory

RECAP also asserts a cause of action under the FHA and

ADA because the Planning Board's denial of the special-use

permit had a "disparate impact" on people with disabilities. The

FHA and the ADA provide relief not only from policies

adopted and actions taken with a discriminatory intent, but

also from the application of facially neutral standards that have

an unlawful discriminatory effect upon a protected class. See

LeBlanc-Sternberg, 67 F.3d at 425; Huntington .“vanch, NAACP v.

Town of Huntington, 844 F.2d 926, 933- 34 (2+ Cir.1988). We

agree with the district court, however, that in the present case,

as a matter of law, the defendants’ actions cannot give rise to a

disparate impact claim.

"A disparate impact analysis examines a facially-neutral

policy or practice, such as a hiring test or zoning law, for its

differential impact or effect on a particular group." Huntington

Branch, NAACP, 844 F.2d at 933. To establish a prima facie case

under this theory, the plaintiff must show: "(1) the occurrence

of certain outwardly neutral practices, and (2) a significantly

adverse or disproportionate impact on persons of a particular

type produced by the defendant's facially neutral acts or

practices." Gamble v. City of Escondido, 104 F.3d 300, 306 (9th

Cir.1997) (internal quotation marks and citation omitted); see

also Huntington Branch, NAACP, 844 F.2d at 934.

For example, a handicapped person might challenge a

zoning law that prohibits elevators in residential dwellings.

That neutral law might havea disproportionate impact on such

a plaintiff and others with similar disabilities, depriving them

of an equal opportunity to use and enjoy dwellings there. Here,

by contrast, RECAP does not challenge a facially neutral policy

45a

or practice; it challenges one specific act: the denial of a

special-use permit for the Formisano property. No comparison

of the act's disparate impact on different groups of people is

possible. RECAP therefore fails to allege a cognizable cause of

action under a disparate impact theory, and the district court

correctly granted the defendants summary judgment on this

claim.

C. Reasonable Accommodation Theory

For similar reasons, RECAP and the United States fail to

state a claim upon which relief can be granted under a

reasonable accommodation theory. A municipality

discriminates in violation of the FHA, the ADA, or the

Rehabilitation Act if it refuses to make changes to "traditional

rules or practices if necessary to permit a person with

handicaps an equal opportunity to use and enjoy a dwelling.”

Shapiro v. Cadman Towers, Inc., 51 F.3d 328, 333 (2d Cir.1995)

(quoting H.R.Rep. No. 711, 100th Cong., 2d Sess. (1988),

reprinted at 1988 U.S.C.C.A.N. 2173, 2186). Returning to the

example of the zoning ordinance prohibiting elevators, a

proper reasonable accommodation claim might assert that the

zoning authority should have waived or modified its rule

against elevators in residential dwellings to permit those who

need them to use them and thereby have full access to and

enjoyment of residences there. See Salute v. Stratford Greens

Garden Apartments, 136 F.3d 293, 301-02 (2d Cir.1998)

(providing examples of “"pical accommodation cases).

Here, however, the zoning rules do not prohibit the

proposed haiiway houses in the first place. The plaintiffs do

not seek a variance to a traditional rule or practice that was

neutrally applied. Rather, they challenge the defendants’

specific decision to deny RECAP a special-use permit for

discriminatory reasons. The plaintiffs' argument in this case is

that the Planning Board determined that the planned use

46a

would have an adverse effect on the neighborhood because of

an illegitimate reason, the identity of the group of users.

Because the plaintiffs do not point to the prerequisite neutral

application of a rule, they fail to state a claim under a

reasonable accommodation theory.

V. The Retaliation Claim

Finally, RECAP alleges that the defendants retaliated

against it for threatening to complainand actually complaining

about the denial of the permit by withdrawing funds

committed to it by the City for a different project. We conclude

that this allegation states a claim against the City and

DeStefano.

Under the FHA, it is unlawful, "to coerce, intimidate,

threaten, or interfere with any person in the exercise or

enjoyment of, or on account of his having exercised or enjoyed,

or on account of his having aided or encouraged any other

person in the exercise or enjoyment of, any right granted or

protected by [inter alia, section 3604] of this title." 42 U.S.C. §

3617. The ADA and Rehabilitation Act include similar

prohibitions. See 42 U.S.C. § 12203(b); 29 U.S.C. § 791(g). We

apply the McDonnell Douglas burden-shifting rules to claims of

retaliation pursuant to these statutes. See Sarno v. Douglas

Elliman-Gibbons & Ives, Inc., 183 F.3d 155, 159 (2d Cir.1999);

Richardson v. N.Y. State Dept. of Corr. Serv., 180 F.3d 426, 443 (2d

Cir.1999). RECAP therefore must first establish a prima facie

case of retaliation. Richardson, 189 F.3d at 443. It must show

"that [it was] engaged in protected activity, that the [defendant]

was aware of this activity, that the [defendant] took adverse

action against the plaintiff, and a causal connection exists

between the protected activity and the adverse action, i.e., that

a retaliatory motive played a part in the adverse employment

action." Sands v. Runyon, 28 F.3d 1323, 1331 (2d Cir.1994)

(discussing the elements of a retaliation claim under the

47a

Rehabilitation Act) (internal quotation marks omitted); see also

Weissman v. Dawn Joy Fashions Inc., 214 F.3d 224, 234 (2d

Cir.2000) (discussing the elements of an ADA retaliation claim);

San Pedro Hotel Co., Inc. v. City of Los Angeles, 159 F.3d 470, 477

(9th Cir.1998) (discussing the elements of a FHA retaliation

claim).

RECAP elicited sufficient evidence to support a prima facie

case of retaliation against the City and DeStefano. RECAP's

letter dated December 5, 1994, and its filing of a complaint with

the HUD were protected activities. Both constitute "oppos[ition

to] an{ ] act or practice made unlawful" by the applicable

anti-discrimination statutes. 42 U.S.C. § 12203(a); see also Cruz

v. Coach Stores, Inc., 202 F.3d 560, 566 (2d Cir. 2000) (defining

protected activity as "action taken to protest or oppose

statutorily prohibited discrimination"). The defendants do not

assert that they were unaware of this activity. RECAP suffered

an adverse action in losing funding that had been committed

to it, and the events leading to the ultimate loss of funding

began very shortly after RECAP's protected activity.

"The causal connection needed for proof of a retaliation

claim can be established indirectly by showing that the

protected activity was closely followed in time by the adverse

action." Cifra v. Gen. Elec. Co., 252 F.3d 205, 217 (2d Cir.2001)

(citation and internal quotation marks omitted). We "ha[ve] not

drawn a bright line to define the outer limits beyond which a

temporal relationship is too attenuated to establish a causal

relationship. . . ." Gorman-Bakos v. Cornell Coop. Extension, 252

F.3d 545, 554 (2d Cir. 2001). An inference of a causal

relationship might be made based on Smith's comment to

Figueroa that RECAP should not "bite the hand that feeds it."

While the ultimate denial of funding did not occur immediately

after the protected activity, a reasonable juror could conclude

that the defendants withdrew RECAP's funding because of the

events following the denial of the Formisano property permit.

48a

The defendants proffer two legitimate, non-retaliatory

reasons for the withdrawal of funds: (1) the funding was only

available for a limited time period; and (2) RECAP employed

banned contractors. RECAP presents sufficient evidence to

raise a material issue of fact as to whether these proffered

reasons were a pretext for retaliation. We note, moreover, that

the defendants offer no evidentiary support for the

non-retaliatory reasons they proffer, and we find no indication

in the record that the funding was only offered for a limited

time. We further note that although RECAP responded to the

defendants’ expressed concerns about the project, the

defendants neither answered this response nor indicated that

the issue that gave rise to it continued to concern them. A

reasonable juror could conclude that the defendants are now

citing these reasons in order to obscure their retaliatory motive.

We therefore hold that summary judgment should not have

been granted on RECAP’s retaliation claim against the City and

DeStefano.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the district court

is affirmed in part, vacated in part, and remanded for further

proceedings consistent with this opinion.

49a

Appendix C—Fair Housing Act (FHA), 42 U.S.C.

§3601, et seq.

UNITED STATES CODE ANNOTATED

TITLE 42. THE PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE

CHAPTER45--FAIR HOUSING

SUBCHAPTER I--GENERALLY

§ 3602. Definitions

As used in this subchapter--

(a) “Secretary” means the Secretary of Housing and Urban

Development.

(b) "Dwelling" means any building, structure, or portion

thereof which is occupied as, or designed or intended for

occupancy as, a residence by one or more families, and any

vacant land which is offered for sale or lease for the

construction or location thereon of any such building,

structure, or portion thereof.

(c) "Family" includes a single individual.

(d) "Person" includes one or more individuals, corporations,

partnerships, associations, labor organizations, legal

representatives, mutual companies, joint-stock companies,

trusts, unincorporated organizations, trustees, trustees in cases

under Title 11, receivers, and fiduciaries.

(e) "To rent" includes to lease, to sublease, to let and otherwise

to grant for a consideration the right to occupy premises not

owned by the occupant.

(f) "Discriminatory housing practice" means an act that is

unlawful under section 3604, 3605, 3606, or 3617 of this title.

50a

(g) "State" means any of the several States, the District of

Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, or any of the

territories and possessions of the United States.

(h) "Handicap" means, with respect to a person--

(1) a physical or mental impairment which substantially

limits one or more of such person's major life activities,

(2) a record of having such an impairment, or

(3) being regarded as having such an impairment,

but such term does not include current, illegal use of or

addiction to a controlled substance (as defined in section 802 of

Title 21).

(i) "Aggrieved person" includes any person who--

(1) claims to have been injured by a discriminatory housing

practice; or

(2) believes that such person will be injured by a

discriminatory housing practice that is about to occur.

(j) "Complainant" means the person (including the Secretary)

who files a complaint under section 3610 of this title.

(k) "Familial status" means one or more individuals (who have

not attained the age of 18 years) being domiciled with--

(1) a parent or another person having legal custody of such

individual or individuals; or

Sila

(2) the designee of such parent or other person having such

custody, with the written permission of such parent or other

person.

The protections afforded against discrimination on the basis of

familial status shall apply to any person who is pregnant or is

in the process of securing legal custody of any individual who

has not attained the age of 18 years.

(1) "Conciliation" means the attempted resolution of issues

raised by a complaint, or by the investigation of such

complaint, through informal negotiations involving the

aggrieved person, the respondent, and the Secretary.

(m) "Conciliation agreement" means a written agreement

setting forth the resolution of the issues in conciliation.

(n) "Respondent" means--

(1) the person or other entity accused in a complaint of an

unfair housing practice; and

(2) any other person or entity identified in the course of

investigation and notified as required with respect to

respondents so identified under section 3610(a) of this title.

(o) "Prevailing party” has the same meaning as such term has

in section 1988 of this title.

ORGS ae Cok Bctgp en

52a

UNITED STATES CODE ANNOTATED

TITLE 42. THE PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE

CHAPTER 45--FAIR HOUSING

SUBCHAPTER I--GENERALLY

§ 3604. Discrimination in the sale or rental of housing and other

prohibited practices

As made applicable by section 3603 of this title and except as

exempted by sections 3603(b) and 3607 of this titlef it shall be

unlawful--

(a) To refuse to sell or rent after the making of a bona fide

offer, or to refuse to negotiate for the sale or rental of, or

otherwise make unavailable or deny, a dwelling to any person

because of race, color, religion, sex, familial status, or national

origin.

(b) To discriminate against any person in the terms,

conditions, or privileges of sale or rental of a dwelling, or in the

provision of services or facilities in connection therewith,

because of race, color, religion, sex, familial status, or national

origin.

(c) To make, print, or publish, or cause to be made, printed,

or published any notice, statement, or advertisement, with

respect to the sale or rental of a dwelling that indicates any

preference, limitation, or discrimination based on race, color,

religion, sex, handicap, familial status, or national origin, or an

intention to make any such preference, limitation, or

discrimination.

(d) To represent to any person because of race, color,

religion, sex, handicap, familial status, or national origin that

any dwelling is not available for inspection, sale, or rental

when such dwelling is in fact so available.

53a

(e) For profit, to induce or attempt to induce any person to

sell or rent any dwelling by representations regarding the entry

or prospective entry into the neighborhood of a person or

persons of a particular race, color, religion, sex, handicap,

familial status, or national origin.

(f)(1) To discriminate in the sale or rental, or to otherwise

make unavailable or deny, a dwelling to any buyer or renter

because of a handicap of--

(A) that buyer or renter,’

(B) a person residing in or intending to reside in that

dwelling after it is so sold, rented, or made available; or

(C) any person associated with that buyer or renter.

(2) To discriminate against any person in the terms,

conditions, or privileges of sale or rental of a dwelling, or in the

provision of services or facilities in connection with such

dwelling, because of a handicap of--

(A) that person; or

(B) a person residing in or intending to reside in that

dwelling after it is so sold, rented, or made available; or

(C) any person associated with that person.

(3) For purposes of this subsection, discrimination

includes--

' So in original. The comma probably should be a semicolon.

54a

(A) a refusal to permit, at the expense of the

handicapped person, reasonable modifications of existing

premises occupied or to be occupied by such person if such

modifications may be necessary to afford such person full

enjoyment of the premises except that, in the case of a rental,

the landlord may where it is reasonable to do so condition -

permission for a modification on the renter agreeing to restore

the interior of the premises to the condition that existed before

the modification, reasonable wear and tear excepted.’

(B) a refusal to make reasonable accommodations in

rules, policies, practices, or services, when such accommoda-

tions may be necessary to afford such person equal opportunity

to use and enjoy a dwelling; or

(C) in connection with the design and construction of

covered multifamily dwellings for first occupancy after the

date that is 30 months after September 13, 1988, a failure to

design and construct those dwellings in such a manner that--

(i) the public use and common use portions of such

dwellings are readily accessible to and usable by handicapped

persons;

(ii) all the doors designed to allow passage into

and within all premises within such dwellings are sufficiently

wide to allow passage by handicapped persons in wheelchairs;

and

(iii) all premises within such dwellings contain the

following features of adaptive design:

(I) an accessible route into and through the dwelling;

? So in original. The period probably should be a semicolon.

55a

(II) light switches, electrical outlets, thermostats, and

other environmental controls in accessible locations;

(III) reinforcements in bathroom walls to allow tater

installation of grab bars; and

(IV) usable kitchens and bathrooms such that an

individual in a wheelchair can maneuver about the space.

(4) Compliance with the appropriate requirements of the

American National Standard for buildings and _ facilities

providing accessibility and usability for physically

handicapped people (commonly cited as "ANSI A117.1")

suffices to satisfy the requirements of paragraph (3)(C)(iii).

(5)(A) If a State or unit of general local government has

incorporated into its laws the requirements set forth in

paragraph (3)(C), compliance with such laws shall be deemed

to satisfy the requirements of that paragraph.

(B) A State or unit of general local government may

review and approve newly constructed covered multifamily

dwellings for the purpose of making determinations as to

whether the design and construction requirements of

paragraph (3)(C) are met.

(C) The Secretary shall encourage, but may not require,

States and units of local government to include in their existing

procedures for the review and approval of newly constructed

covered multifamily dwellings, determinations as to whether

the design and construction of such dwellings are consistent

with paragraph (3)(C), and shall provide technical assistance to

States and units of local government and other persons to

implement the requirements of paragraph (3)(C).

S6a

(D) Nothing in this subchapter shall be construed to

require the Secretary to review or approve the plans, designs or

construction of all covered multifamily dwellings, to determine

whether the design and construction of such dwellings are

consistent with the requirements of paragraph 3(C).

(6)(A) Nothing in paragraph (5) shall be construed to affect

the authority and responsibility of the Secretary or a State or

local public agency certified pursuant to section 3610(f)(3) of

this title to receive and process complaints or otherwise engage

in enforcement activities under this subchapter.

(B) Determinations by a State or a unit of general

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.