Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Gibler v. Barnhart

Supreme Court brief2005

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

/ Supreme Court, U.S,

FILED

No.04-_94 1357 4PR 4 2005

fr

Ur;

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

—

TIMOTHY GIBLER,

Petitioner,

- v.

Jo ANNE B. BARNHART,

* Commissioner of the Social Security Administration,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

STEVEN BRUCE, *

PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES

FOUNDATION

507 Polk Street, Second Floor

San Francisco, California 94102

(415) 931-3070

* Counsel of Record Attorney for Petitioner

WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. - (202) 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D. C. 20001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Petitioner, Timothy Gibler, asks this Court to decide

whether the Social Security Administration can take away

social security disability benefits and Medicare needed for the

necessities of life from an individual without first providing:

a) Notice which a reasonable person can understand and

b) An opportunity to present objections at a meaningful

evidentiary hearing in accordance with basic due process

standards.

2. Petitioner, Timothy Gibler, asks this Court to decide if a

social security disability beneficiary may have access to the

federal court system to adjudicate due process issues over

which the Social Security Administration’s Administrative

Law Judges and Appeals Council have no jurisdiction.

3. Petitioner, Timothy Gibler, asks this Court to decide

whether the Social Security Administration can retroactively,

with no time limit, require beneficiaries, as a condition to

continue to receive social security disability benefits and

Medicare, to produce minute detail, such as the amount of

money spent on anti-psychotic medication, taxi fare or leav-

ing work early.

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ................ i

TABLE OF AUTHORITIEG................scssccssessseseereeseenees iv

UNITED STATES CODES. ...cccccrccccsccscesececcasvscccesescneses iv

FEDERAL REGULATIONS. ................s0.scssssrssrsesseesenee v

RUIN cccsccecccccecccecscccccescnsncsnessesecsecensosnseseeses I

FRI IOIN, ccccssscsccsccssessesscserssescccsnensrenssssssososssoesoses 3

STATEDENT OF PACTS q.ccccoscoscesccscorevsccsessccssccenceseose 3

A. Connation Of Bemettts ........ccsecsccccscesceccsccscseceseseee 3

B. District Court Disposition ...............scecceeeeeeeeeees 6

C. Hearing before the Administrative Law Judge .. 10

I UPEE SINS cccsennescsnsesnensctnsenensvasensenasennennsoqnecnnepenanen 10

STATUTORY AND REGULATORY SCHEME ........ 11

A. Disability Status and Work Activity...............-+ 11

B. Exhaustion................. susienibsnieccntionaptadnennen’ 13

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION........... 14

A. Continuing Due Process Violations................-+ 14

B. Right to Notice and an Opportunity to Appeal .. 14

C. Right to Fair and Accurate Evidence................. 16

ALL ADMINISTRATIVE REMEDIES WERE-

EXHAUSTED wechhanioee 17

THE NINTH CIRCUIT'S DECISION WAS NOT

MADE ON THE MERITS 19

CONCLUSION 20

APPENDIX A-i

(iii)

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

Bowen v. New York, 476 U.S. 467 (1986)......... 14, 16, 23

Corroa v. Shalala, 20 F. 3d 934 at 948. (9th Cir.

Fa sinnanitatinrtancinhinnaienatibiosiatiinniaie el tds seat ac 17

Dusenbery v. United States, 534 U. S. 161

Go atisniinitiniseniaisenstiiaeciiiatndl idee iil teen 21

Friends of the Earth v. Laidlaw Environmental

Services, 528 U. S. 167, 120 S. Ct. 693

ie icsienitindicavibbintiaincmieienadandeted cena 14

Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254 (1970).......c.cc000. 23, 24

Gonzalez v. Sullivan, 914 F.2d 1197, 1203 (9th

Seite: vip aiinssininsansatethiidillanssbetestiasiiis aitieaden a 2!

Lewis v. Apfel, 236 F. 3d 533 (9th. Cir. 2001)....... 17

Matthews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S., at 328, 96 S.Ct.,

Se ccsicntiiseihintinineidihitaaattgeiit lata 14

Matthews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319, 342-343

(FIO OPA ccisdaspnsemnnnigiiansnisdeesinadieeisamminiet casi stots: 24

Schweicker v. Chilicky, 487 U. S. 415, 415-417

a ecteriiitaialiemssadaibinilaacic elie ee - 24

Sweierkiewiez v. Sorema, 534 U.S. 506 (2002)..... 25

Udd v. Massanari, 245 F.3d 1096, 1099-1102

Ce Fare etscedanntintnitgitaeiidiccidaetaiets ree 21

Udd vy. Massanari, 245 F.2d 1096 (9th Cir.

icieilsichitiiiintnabaiiniiacbietl ite eee oe 22

Weinberger v. Salfi, 422 U.S. 795, 95 S. Ct.

SI) BAe CE tacihctiitinsinastnnitantag ee 16

UNITED STATES CODES

42 U.S.C. § 405(C)(3), (C4) A)....cccccecccsecesceceseees 15

Da a cilities EE 16

EE TA, Bc chinticvtcninconimas aie os 16

ra OD ineestnctcvinineniciteie eo oa pe

SS ft SRR ERecebaenies .pAie 24

G2 Ee Ci inicihstiessiteiettnsrinatigtetccrisseei 18, 25

42 U.S.C. § 1320 b-19, Pub. L. 106-170............... 17

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES —

FEDERAL REGULATIONS Page

20 C.E.R. § 406.803 ...ccrcscccsccscccesccosccccossssccesscsesceses 15, 22

20 C.F.R. § 404.909 (a) (1).....0g-..ecccrccrccsrcerccsersnees 18

20 C.F.R. § 404.987, €f. SO. ceccsecssessserseereeseeenensens 13

20 C.F.R. § 404.1505 ef. 5€q. .eescccseessesseereeeresseeees 16

20 C.F.R. § 404.15 10.....ccc.cccscccccssccesccececrsesecssseseess 10

20 C.F.R. § 404.15722........cccccccssscscceccescecreccssesssesees 10

20 C.F.R. § 404.1573(C), (1)-(6)..eeeseresesessereceeneees 17

20 C.F.R. § 404.1574(2) Table 1.0... cecsecseereeeeeee 16

20 C.F.R. § 404.1574 (a) & (8)(2) ..ercserserseereeneees 16

20 C.F.R. § 404.1574 (a)2 ...........cersscsrccecsecssocesesees 16

20. C.F.R. § 404. 1589.........cccccccoccscserrssccsnscscssccceses 18, 19

20 C.F.R. § 404. 1595(a) ............ccccccseccsrrescrssscsssenss 20

20 C.F.R. § 404.1595 (D) 1... ceeessersesseereensersenenseeees 9, 24

20 C.F.R. § 404.1595 (D)(2) ...ceseeereeeeserseeeeeeenesees 18, 20

20 C.F.R. § 404.1595 (C) .......ccccccsorresccesesssccseseceees 9

20 C.F.R. § 404.1596 (C) ....eccccrcerceresssrcsscecenssecseses 18

20 C.F.R. § 404. 1596(C)( 1)... eeccessecreeeeereeneeneenenes 24

20 C.F.R. § 404.1597 (a) ......cescsrcercercssssesecssssesseees 18

20 C.F.R. § 416.1112 (7) (2004) .0.......cccesreerseeees 17

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

No. 04-___

TIMOTHY GIBLER,

Petitioner,

Vv.

JO ANNE B. BARNHART,

Commissioner of the Social Security Administration,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

INTRODUCTION

Petitioner (“Gibler”) seeks judicial review of the due

process violations that he experienced when Respondent

Social Security Administration (“SSA”) summarily cut off his

disability benefits. Although those benefits were ultimately

restored (but at a lower monthly rate), it took two years for

the internal Social Security processes to reverse the initial

determination to end his benefits. The consequences were

catastrophic for a mentally disabled individual who relies on

his disability benefits which are essential for his survival.

The administrative mishandling of Gibler’s claims file

(which included evidence of his ongoing, critical medical

condition, as well as evidence that SSA had previously

determined that Gibler’s “work”—as an occasional singer in

2

church choirs—was de minimus) was egregious. So egre-

gious were its administrative omissions that due process

considerations lead to the conclusion that disability bene-

ficiaries should be protected by actual hearings before their

benefits are cut off as SSA has only afforded this protection

to disabilities if a review is denoted a “medical review”

verses a “work review.”

Any benefit of administrative ease by not affording notice

and a hearing prior to termination of benefits cannot override

basic notions of due process. This hesitancy by the courts

below is understood to facilitate administrative processing;

however, Gibler requests that this Court find his Fifth

Amendment rights were—and continue to be—violated.

The issues raised here are by no means moot. SSA

initiated yet another review of Gibler’s earnings history

(including re-review of years that had already been adju-

dicated by the Administrative Law Judge in this case) while

two appeals were still pending before the Ninth Circuit,

resulting in the United States Court of Appeals issuing an

emergency stay. =

Gibler was further denied his due process rights by Social

Security regulations that mandate that great weight be given

to stale evidence, that is, adverse action summarily taken on

earnings records that are over ten years old. Even the Admin-

istrative Law Judge below, who followed those regulations,

made clear that he was uncomfortable with their application

in the instant case.

Due process violations run throughout this case; yet so far

the courts have declined to address those concerns on the

merits.

3

JURISDICTION

This Petition flows from a Denial of two Petitions For

Rehearing En Banc before the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit dated January 5, 2005 (Appendix Exhs.

2,7 pp. 2,7)

___ STATEMENT OF FACTS

A. Cessation of Benefits

Gibler was diagnosed as schizophrenic when he was in his

twenties. Not long after, in 1979, he received Social Security

disability benefits and has remaincod on them ever since.

Periodic medical reviews performed by SSA in 1986, 1991

and 1996, have confirmed his ongoing disability. In 1987,

Gibler was subjected to a “work review.” His occasional

work as a pick-up singer in church choirs was determined to

be “sheltered work”. (Opinion of Administrative Law Judge,

dated August 30, 2001, Appendix Exh. 17, pp. 95-110)

In a continuing disability review report, dated and signed

by Gibler on January 15, 2000, which is the subject of this

appeal, Gibler informed SSA that he is afraid to leave his

apartment, he has agoraphobia, he is trying to see a

counselors, and “I could not remember where to go...1 must

quit... .” (ALJ Decision Exhibit List No. 28, Appendix Exh.

17, pp. 95-110). Similarly SSA typed an acknowledgment

that it was informed that Gibler was psychotic and would be

out on the street without benefits. (ALJ Decision, Exhibit List

No. 34.) In early February 2000 during the pendency of the

review, Gibler was placed in a psychiatric lock-up ward in a

San Francisco hospital for approximately a week to ten days.

(See hospital discharge summary dated February 18, 2000

from SSA file, Appendix Exh. 22, p.120)

On April 20, 2000 SSA, through one of its local San

Francisco field offices, sent Gibler a letter and questionnaire

requesting information about his work history since 1979.

4

According to Social Security records, the in-person and

written communications were followed by a telephone call to

Gibler, initiated by Social Security claims representative,

Donald Worms. Gibler and SSA claims representative

Worms went over Gibler’s work history for the previous

twenty years. For many years, the only work that Gibler had

been able to undertake had been occasional singing in choirs.

Shortly thereafter, Gibler received a written commu-

nication, dated July 27, 2000 (Appendix Exh. 19 pp. 113-

116), from SSA, requesting additional information for Gib-

ler’s earnings history for the years 1979 through 2000. This

letter listed seven employers (all churches or musical

associations), as well as a supposed period of “self-employ-

ment,” from January 1988 to December 1991. The employers

listed were the very ones that Gibler had named to claims

representative Worms. There was no mention of a hospital

discharge summary from February 2000 in the SSA file.

20 C.F.R. § 404.1595 (c) states “. . . If you agree with the

advance notice, you do not need to take any action... .” This

regulation also states at 404.1595 (b)1 that “* Medical reasons.

The advance notice will tell you what the medical infor-

mation in your file shows. . . .” SSA ignored its own

regulation by not telling Gibler that being in a lock-up

psychiatric ward was a ground for not terminating benefits

and that SSA was required to obtain an opinion from a [his]

psychiatrist, a treating source, infra at page 20.

This letter dated July 27, 2000, from SSA contained little

specific information. It did not set out the amount (or even

range) of Gibler’s purported earnings. The letter did not in

any way intimate that the Social Security concepts of

“sheltered work,” “work subsidies,” “impairment related

work expenses”, or “sporadic work” had been or could be

5

considered.' The letter discussed briefly SSA’s “substantial

gainful activity work” test (usually called “SGA”) and told

him of his so-called “trial work period,” which Gibler was

then first told ended in 1981.” The letter did suggest that

Gibler might have mistakenly been receiving disability bene-

fits since April 1988 (over twelve years previously), due to

“substantial work as of January 1988.” (Appendix, Exh. 19,

pp. 113-116)

Gibler, with the assistance of counsel, sought testimony

from his treating psychiatrist, Dr. Carol Banyas, who testified

in the district court via declaration (Declaration of treating

psychiatrist. Appendix, Exh. 20, pp.117-118). He also filed a

new application for disability benefits; which was approved

hased on the very same evidence used to terminate him.

For almost all years of his earnings history, Gibler’s wages

fell below the monthly SGA’ caps of $300 (that applied in

1980-1989), $500 (1990-1998) and $700 (1999-2000). In

two years, 1988 and 1990, his wages were higher.

Without any further communications the SSA summarily

ceased paying Gibler’s benefits on November |, 2000 with no

appealable notice."

Multiple attempts via telephone, fax and mail’ to have

Gibler’s benefits reinstated through Mr. Larimore, senior

attorney at SSA’s Regional Commissioner’s Office, Critical

Congressional Unit were unavailing because the claims file

' “Sporadic work” comes from substantial gainful activity 42 U.S.C.

423 (d) (1) and 20 C.F.R.404.1510 & 1572 and case law.

2 20 C.F.R. 404.1592(a)

*See 42 U.S.C. § 423(d)(1MA); 423(d(2A), and § 20 C.F.R.

§§ 404.1510 and 404.1572 .

4 The check he did not receive in November would have been for his

October benefits.

5 ~ : eas

* Numerous confirming letters are exhibits of record.

6

had already been closed and transferred to Baltimore, MD

where it was lost for five to six months. Although SSA

never® gave Gibler a formal notice initial cessation,’ in order

to put the appeal process on track, Gibler filed a “premature”

Request for Reconsideration on or about November 2000.

The Request for Reconsideration was denied by summary

notice, issued by SSA’s headquarters in Baltimore dated

March 23, 2001."

B. District Court Disposition

As Gibler had been deprived of benefit checks and

Medicare coverage for four months, on March 1, 2001, he

petitioned the District Court for a Writ of Mandamus, seeking

immediate re-instatement of benefits. Gibler also sought to

have the district court order SSA to commence a new

evaluation of Gibler’s medical condition given the testimony

of his former treating psychiatrist who stated there was

substantial increased risk of decompensation. (District Court

Case No. CV 01-0895 MJJ/JL, “Gibler I”).. SSA brought a

Motion to Dismiss for lack of subject matter jurisdiction

(based on not fulfilling the exhaustion administrative reme-

dies doctrine) which was denied, after hearing on June 12,

2001, by Order entered July 11, 2001. The District Court’s

basis for denying the motion to dismiss was a determination

that Gibler had raised a colorable constitutional claim of a

due process violation. (Order Denying Motion to Dismiss,

Appendix Exh. 15, pp. 60-81.

° Long after the Request for Reconsideration had been filed in this

case, the SSA issued a “reconstructed” Notice of Cessation.

’ This omission is conceded by the SSA. (SSA’s Brief In Support of

Cross Motion for Summary Judgment dated May 28, 2002 at page 11:1-3

and Brief of Appellee, Case No. 03-15836, page 5 and footnote 3.)

* Per District Court’s October 16, 2002, Order, Appendix Exh. 13,

pp. 22-42 reconsideration was denied on March 23, 2001. Normally,

Requests for Reconsideration are handled in a local (San Francisco) office

not in Baltimore, MD. -

7

At the June 12,2001 hearing and in its July 11, 2001 Order,

the District Court indicated that its concern was a prompt

resolution of Gibler’s case by way of a hearing before an

Administrative Law Judge. The District Court was appar-

ently unwilling or unabie to explore the full ramifications of a

prompt hearing and decision by an Administrative Law

Judge. The Court, moreover, suggested that mandamus would

not lie because Gibler had failed to exhaust his administra-

tive remedies. (Appendix Exh. 15; pp. 60-81, Order of July

11, 2001, page 4.)

In response, counsel for Gibler brought a second action for

declaratory and injunctive relief (Gibler II, District Court

Case No. C 01-2774 MJJ) and at or about the same time filed

a Motion for Injunctive and Declaratory Relief in the first

action (Gibler I). The court chose to deny the motion in the

first case (Gibler I) and to dismiss the second case (Gibler II).

Gibler was not permitted to utilize discovery. A Motion to

Compel Discovery was denied with respect to all depositions

and other discovery, except for production of one document

because a Magistrate Judge found the Court had already

decided not to rule on how due process impacts social

security procedures. (See Order of Magistrate Judge, Gibler I,

dated July 2, 2002, with a clear restatement of the posture of

the case and Order confirming stipulation of the parties.

(Appendix Exh. 14, pp. 43-59)

The case commenced by Petition for Writ of Mandamus

was thereafter left to languish until it was brought to

conclusion by Gibler’s Motion for Summary Judgment, filed

February 14, 2002 and denied, after hearing on October 15,

2002, by Order dated October 16, 2002 (Appendix Exh. 13,

pp. 22-42 ) At the same time, Respondent’s Cross-Motion for

Summary Judgment was granted.

The issues herein are not moot. At no time during this case

did the District Court go further than addressing a “colorable

8

claim of due process,” in so far as how promptly the hearing

by the Administrative Law Judge could be scheduled.”

“However, the Court expressly declined to reach the

issue of whether SSA’s scheme for review was uncon-

stitutional as applied to Gibler.” Order of January 11,

2002, at page 3.)

Similarly, at an earlier hearing in the same case, the District

Court stated with respect to due process and social security

procedure:

. . I never took jurisdiction of the merits of the

determination. So you could not get judgment for

that.”"”

Ultimately, Gibler filed a third action for injunctive and

declaratory relief on February 25, 2003. (District Court Case

No. CV-03—0823 MJJ (Gibler II], one of the two subject

cases of this appeal). By this time, every conceivable

administrative avenue had been explored, even by moving to

“reopen” within SSA’s regulatory framework... The ALJ, on

Gibler’s request to reopen pursuant to 20 C.F.R. § 404. 987,

et. seq. amended his decision after which time, SSA’ appeals

council denied review. The District Court complaint (Gibler

Ill) was timely filed thereafter. (See Amendment to ALJ

decision dated October 30, 2002, as to reopening (Appendix,

pp. 111-112) Since the District Court had refused to address

the major due process issues in the mandamus case (Gibler I)

including precluding Gibler from taking any depositions,

Gibler sought declaratory and injunctive relief to urge the

district court to permit appropriate discovery and adjudicate

the due process issues. (Gibler III)

* October 16, 2002, Order, (Appendix Exh. 13, pp. 22-24

Wo

125).

Transcript, January 8, 2002 hearing, (Appendix Exh. 23, pp. 121-

9

The Gibler III complaint was dismissed for failure to state

a cause of action even though SSA addressed the allegations

on the merits. In its second Motion to Dismiss the complaint

SSA stated: Res judicata bars all grounds for recovery

which could have been asserted and the Court already

adjudicated the due process issues and 2) SSA had given

Gibler an opportunity to be heard. (Brief of SSA filed July

17, 2003, pages 4:8-12, 21-28). The District Court stated “To

the extent “collateral estoppel ”,[nor res judicata]. (Order of

August 21, 2003).

In any event, the constitutional issues were never adju-

dicated.

~Citing Friends of the Earth v. Laidlaw Environmental

Services, 528 U. S. 167, 120 S. Ct. 693 (2000), Gibler

believed he could be subjected to yet another work review

although his benefits had been restored. Gibler, in fact,

received another work review notice resulting in the Ninth

Circuit issuing an unopposed Emergency Order dated April

28, 2004 for a stay. (Appendix Exh. 9, pp. 12-13.

A Rule 60(B) Motion for Relief from Judgment was denied

by Order dated filed April 16, 2003 (Appendix Exh. 12 pp.

18-21) which preceded an appeal in the Ninth Circuit. (Gibler

1). Gibler requested the Circuit Court take into account a

merit reason for tolling for a late filing after a Judgment

based on Motions for Summary Judgment, i.e., that Gibler

was in a psychotic episode and temporarily would not (be-

cause of incapacitation) authorize the appeal. (See declaration

of Gibler’s attorney dated July 7, 2003, Appendix Exh. 10,

pp. 14-16 and Order denying request to toll from a two judge

“procedure only” panel). See Bowen vs. New York, 476 U.S.

467 (1986) and Matthews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S., at 328, 96

S.Ct., at 899 for tolling.

In each of the three cases detailed above, Gibler raised the

due process concerns that his Petition for Writ of Certiorari

addresses.

10

C. Hearing before the Administrative Law Judge

This has become the final decision of SSA. On August 27,

2001, a de novo'' hearing was held before United States

Administration Law Judge F. Neil Aschemeyer, who issued a

mostly favorable Decision on August 30, 2001. (Appendix

Exh. 17, pp. 95-110) For the first time since SSA began the

work review process in January 2000, there was a hearing

with an opportunity to present evidence in the form of

testimony and an opportunity to make objections.

The Administrative Law Judge determined that Gibler had

been disabled within the meaning of Title Il of the Social

Security Act and that he had not performed SGA since

January 1, 1991.'" Moreover, the Administrative Law Judge

found that after Gibler’s disability benefits were cut off, his

“only income at this time is the still small amount of wages

and food stamps, which are insufficient to cover his ordi-

nary living expenses.” (ALJ Opinion, supra.)

The Administrative Law Judge was obliged to accept

Social Security’s evidence of Gibler’s earnings records. 42

U.S.C. § 405(c)(3), (c)(4)(A); 20 C.F.R. § 404.803. He

expressed, however, serious reservations about the accuracy

of those records for the years 1988, 1989 and 1990, years

during which the SSA asserted that Gibler had been self-

employed. (ALJ Opinion, supra.)

Four months after this decision was rendered, Gibler’s

benefits were ultimately restored, in part, by the Baltimore,

MD payment center in December 2002.

EXHAUSTION

The ALJ and SSA’s Appeals Council (administrative

appeal) being bound by all SSA’s regulations and internal

'' See 20 C.F.R. § 404.943.

' Appendix pp 95-110, Exhibit 1—ALJ Opinion, page 7.

rulings, have no jurisdiction to rule on constitutional issues. A

filing under these circumstances would be futile and mean-

ingless. See Bowen vs. New York, 476 U.S. 467 (1986);

Weinberger vs. Salfi, 422 U.S. 795, 95 S. Ct. 2557, 2581

(1975).

After the ALJ reopened and amended his Decision, dated

October 30, 2002, review of which was denied by the

Appeals Council (Appendix Exh. 18, pp. 111-112.), the third

due process complaint was filed in the District Court, Gibler

lil.

STATUTORY AND REGULATORY SCHEME

A. Disability Status and Work Activity

To determine whether an individual is disabled within the

meaning of 42 U.S.C. §§ 416(i), 423(d) and 20 C.F.R.

§ 404.1505 ef seq., requires analysis of a host of complex

factors. Aside from analyzing how medical diagnoses'°

impact an individual's ability to work, SSA must also

consider an individual’s work history.

The amounts of the SGA caps have increased slowly over

the years. From 1980 to 1989, the cap was $300 per month.

20 C.F.R. § 404.1574(2) Table 1. From 1990 to June 1999,

the cap was $500 of earnings per month. /d, etc. If an

individual is being paid more than other similarly situated

workers receive for it, such activity is considered “subsidized

work.” 20 C.F.R. § 404.1574 (a)2. Earnings from “sub-

sidized” work do not “count” towards the SGA. 20 C.F.R.

§ 404.1574 (a) & (a)(2.)

An individual may “work” in a “sheltered workshop.” 20

C.F.R. § 404.1573(c), (1)-(6). Work in a sheltered workshop

does not count towards a calculation of SGA. Additionally,

'’ Which SSA contends are not at issue in the present cases, but which

Gibler asserts should have been addressed.

12

—

impairment related work expenses (IRWE’s) are deductible

from a presumptive monthly SGA dollar amount.

A parallel exception to those established by the regulations

cited above is “sporadic work.”

The reasons for initiating a particular work review are not

publicly known. In practice, for any reason and at any time-

even arbitrary and capricious reasons—the Agency may

begin a work review.

As explained above, earnings of a certain level only raise a

presumption of SGA. Lewis vs. Apfel vs. 236 F. 3d 533 (9th.

Cir. 2001); Corroa vs. Shalala, 20 F. 3d 934 at 948. (9" Cir.

1994) Many factors must be considered before benefits may

be cut off. In addition to the exceptions outlined above, there

are multiple “return-to-work” schemes, which permit a recip-

ient to experiment with returning to work before foregoing

his benefit checks. Similarly, he may participate in the

Ticket-to-work act and work incentive program 42 U.S.C.

§ 1320 b-19, Pub. L. 106-170, or under SSI rules a

beneficiary may keep one dollar for every two dollars earned.

20 C.F.R. § 416.1112 (7) (2004)"*

The congressional policy underlying these work schemes is

that the disabled should be encouraged to go back to work

and should in no way be discouraged from attempting to work

for fear of jeopardizing their benefits. (Ticket To Work Act,

supra).

Once the Agency has taken into consideration all of the

above factors, if it then makes a determination that a

disability benefits recipient is engaging in SGA, the Agency

may terminate his benefits. But now the burden of proof has

'* Although this applies to SSI recipients it shows Congress’ policy of

work incentives. If Gibler had not worked during his life he would not

have been ceased because of the “2 for 1” work incentive rule under the

poverty program.

13

shifted. Pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 423 (f) Disability insurance

benefit payments, which also apply to medical reviews, the

beneficiary is presumed to continue to qualify for disability

status absent a showing of substantial evidence to the

contrary. 42 U.S.C. § 423 (g) provides for continuation of

benefits pending review simply by requesting it.

Moreover, before benefits can actually be cut off, the

Agency must give the beneficiary proper notice. See 20

C.F.R. § 404.1589. Notice must contain certain informa-

tion, i.e.

“

_ The advance notice will tell you ... this work

shows you are not disabled.” 20 C.F. R. § 1595(b)(2).

Also see 20 C.F.R. § 404.1597(a).

The regulations provide that benefits will not stop if:

“We will not suspend your cash benefits if . . . (1)

The evidence in your file does not clearly show that you

are not disabled. . .” 20 C.F.R. § 404.1596 (c).

B. Exhaustion

After receiving an adverse determination, an individual

must file a Request for Reconsideration, within 60 days. 20

C.F.R. § 404.909 (a) (1). Within 60 days of a denial of

Reconsideration (in this case called a “Notice of Recon-

sideration,”) a claimant may file a request for hearing before

an administrative law judge. It generally takes between six

months to two years before the hearing is held. (See District

Court Order denying SSA’s Motion to Dismiss dated July 11,

2001. (Appendix Exh. 15, pp. 60-81)

It often takes months (in the case here, four months) for the

judge’s decision to be implemented.

After an adverse (or only partially favorable) decision from

the Administrative Law Judge, within sixty days, a claimant

may seek review from the “Appeals Council,” located in Falls

Church, VA. In this case, as neither the Administrative Law

14

Judge nor the Appeais Council had jurisdiction over due

process issues, further applications for relief from either one

would have meaningless, there being no further adminis-

trative remedies to exhaust.

Moreover, Gibler agreed with the ALJ's decision'® except-

ing only the part over which the ALJ had no jurisdiction, the

detail relating to the years 1988-1990. This was appealed to

the Appeals Council after the ALJ amended his decision. This

due process complaint, dismissed with prejudice, is now

before this Court (Gibler III). (Appendix Exh. 16, pp. 82-94).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

A. Continuing Due Process Violations

During the pendency of these appeals before the Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, SSA commenced another work

review. The period of time SSA proposed to consider in its

new work review included, years in the 1990s that had been

adjudicated by the Administrative Law Judge in the present

two cases in August 2001. SSA did not even oppose

Gibler’s request for an emergency stay pending appeal.

B. Right to Notice and an Opportunity to Appeal

To cease benefits, the continuing disability review scheme

calls for at least a two-step notice procedure: “. . . we will

notify you in writing and give you an opportunity to appeal.”

20 C.F.R. § 404.1589.

The July 27, 2000, letter from Social Security to Gibler

(Appendix Exh. 19, pp. 113-116) clearly was in the nature of

the first notice outlined in the regulation cited immediately

above. “[W]e will notify you that we are reviewing your

'* 20 C.F.R. 404.900 (3) provides for administrative review for people

who are “dissatisfied” with an ALJ decision.

15

eligibility for disability benefits and why we are reviewing

your eligibility ....” Id.

The second notice, which should have set out the claims

representative's decision and the reasons for it, was never

sent. The second notice would have included information on

Gibler’s right to appeal. Instead, Gibler’s benefits were

summarily cut off on November 1, 2000, before he was ever

given any opportunity to appeal. What the second notice

should have shown was Social Security's analysis of Gibler’s

earnings history and how the analysis compelled a conclusion

that he was engaging in SGA. The second notice should have

detailed Gibler’s opportunity to appeal from such an analysis,

not simply an invitation to provide further information.

“ _ | We will tell you why we have determined that

you are not now disabled, . . . and why this work shows

you are not disabled. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1595(a);

404.1595(b)(2).

Gibler had no procedural opportunity to challenge the

faulty nature of the Administration's analysis. The only

avenue of relief remaining was the filing of a premature

“appeal” (Request for Reconsideration) after Gibler’s benefits

were cut off. SSA claims representative Donald Worms had

never applied the mitigating factors of sheltered work, work

subsidies, impairment-related work expenses and sporadic

work to Gibler’s work history.

Yet, particularly in light of its own determination of

“sheltered work” back in 1987, the SSA was under an

obligation to perform such an analysis before termination.

The doctrines of res judicata and administrative finality apply

to social security decisions. Nothing has changed in Gibler’s

work or ability to work since the 1987 review. (See AiJ

opinion (Appendix Exh. 17, pp. 95-110)

SSA makes much of Gibler’s failure to reply to its July 27,

2000, letter. Yet, in his telephone conference with claims

16

representative Worms, Gibler had already complied and had

no further basic facts to supply about his employers or

earnings for the previous 20 years. In addition to obtaining

the opinion of Carol Banyas, M.D., the former primary

treating psychiatrist, Gibler filed a new application for

disability. Without an initial decision from which to appeal,

Gibler did all that could be expected. Notice was deficient

See Dusenbery v. United States, 534 U.S. 161 (2002).

Before their benefits are cut off, Social Security recipients

are entitled to proper notice. Udd vs. Massanari, 245 F.3d

1096, 1099-1102 (9th Cir. 2001); Gonzalez vs. Sullivan, 914

F.2d 1197, 1203 (9th Cir. 1990). In a case such as Gibler’s,

involving support for the necessities of life, such due process

protections are particularly vital.

C. Right to Fair and Accurate Evidence

In the case below, the Administrative Law Judge con-

sidered Gibler’s entire work history since 1979. The most

troubling part for the ALJ to analyze was Gibler’s earnings

records for 1988 and 1990 because a reasonable person would

not ordinarily be able to recall minute detail from ten to

thirteen years ago. Yet the ALJ went so far as to reveal in his

opinion that he had doubts about the accuracy of these

records: “.. . The self employment income established by the

claimant’s earnings record appears (on the surface) to be an

aberration. . .” (ALJ Opinion.)

The special considerations to which the Administrative

Law Judge referred in the passage quoted above were con-

siderations of “impairment-related work expenses,”'® as

sheltered work or sporadic work. Gibler’s case would have

been greatly bolstered, if he had been able to produce receipts

'® See the ALJ’s comments on page 3 of his August 30, 2001 opinion:

“[FJactor such as . . . whether the severity of the individual's impairment

or impairments requires” (ALJ Opinion)

17

for expenses, such as special anti-psychotic medications

needed or receipts from taxis taken after rehearsals. Those

years were too long ago to reasonably require Gibler to recall.

The Administrative Law Judge noted:

“Regulations at 20 C.F.R. § 404.803 state that after the

statutory time limit (3 years, 3 months and 15 days after

the end of a tax year), earnings records are conclusive. . .

since it is impossible to determine whether special

considerations existed in 1988 and 1990. . . .”

(ALJ Opinion.)

This statute of limitations is not reciprocal which means

SSA can go back 10, 20, 30 or more years in a retroactive

work review termination.

ALL ADMINISTRATIVE REMEDIES

WERE EXHAUSTED

An ALJ and the Appeals Council have no jurisdiction

outside of the social security act. Therefore, there was no

realistic opportunity to make a factual record on consti-

tutional issues beyond the ALJ decision.

SSA takes the position that Gibler failed to exhaust his

administrative remedies. This Court has construed the due —

process clause to require a meaningful opportunity to be

heard and present objections before benefits can be taken

away or property alienated. Too often, decisions by low-level

administrators, unfettered by considerations of fundamental

fairness, are ill-conceived, as they are motivated primarily by

such concerns as the number of cases processed each month.

Udd vs. Massanari, 245 F.2d 1096 (9th Cir. 2001).

The facts of the present case demonstrate a wanton

disregard of materials that were already contained in the SSA

field office files. First, Gibler had already undergone a work

review in 1987, wherein SSA had reached the conclusion that

Gibler’s sporadic singing in church (and occasionally, other)

choirs was in the nature of “sheltered work.” When, in 2000,

18

district office claims representative, Donald Worms, dis-

cussed Gibler’s work history with him, Gibler informed Mr.

Worms that he continued to earn a very limited income in

the same way, and that he was very excitable and nervous.

(Appendix Exh. 21 p. 119)

No sooner did the work review process get underway then

Gibler was placed in a hospital psychiatric lock-up ward for a

period of at least one week.'’ Gibler’s hospital discharge

papers were submitted to the local SSA office before SSA

acted to cut off his benefits. The question of continuing

disability should a!ways be raised whenever a social security

disability recipient is in a psychiatric lock-up ward.'*

Several times including at a hearing on January 8, 2002

SSA represented that *. . . This cessation was not based on a

continuing disability review, it was based on earnings over

several years.”'”

Yet, the basis for discontinuing Gibler’s benefits was that

he was working or able to work. SSA‘s national policy is to

ignore medical evidence and it has denied it had to consider

medical evidence throughout this litigation contrary to 20

C.F.R. § 404. 1595 (b)1 and 404.1596(c)(1).

Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254 (1970) is the seminal case

calling for hearings prior to termination of benefits. This case

falls within the parameters of Goldberg for terminating bene-

fits prior to a hearing as opposed to after and Bowen, supra

for egregious conduct in disregarding the fact that Gibler was

in a lock-up psychiatric ward during the work review.

'’ The record shows that Gibler entered the hospital of California

Pacific Medical Center, in San Francisco, discharged on February 18,

2000. (Appendix Exh. 22, p. 120)

‘* “Work,” as in engage in SGA, not as in singing for a choir every

once in a while.

’ See Transcript January 8, 2002 (Appendix Exh. 23, pp. 121-125)

19

Matthew vs. Eldridge, 424 U. S. 319, 342-343 (1976)

purported to distinguish disability beneficiaries from welfare

recipients and held that claimants of “modest means and

outside resources” (emphasis added) need not be protected by

the stringent standards of a Goldberg vs. Kelly hearing. Id.

Further in support of its holding in Matthews, this Court

adduced evidence of procedural safeguards in the multi-layered

review process including the use of medical professionals.

Congress over-ruled this holding of Matthews vs. Eldridge,

supra. In the Social Security Disability Benefits Reform Act

of 1984, 42 U.S.C. § 423 (f), (g), Congress enacted a pro-

vision requiring continuation of benefits pending a “face to

face” (hearing officer/judicial) hearing. In Schweicker vs.

Chilicky, 487 U. S. 415, 415-417 (1988), egregious abuses

were noted, e.g. ceasing social security beneficiaries on the

very same evidence used to initially determine that they were

disabled. Gibler was found disabled based on his new 2001

application for benefits filed in January 2001 based on the

very same evidence used to terminate him.

Here a medical review was required so as not to violate

procedural due process. A long line of cases commonly

known as the “treating source rule” whereby a treating

doctor’s opinion may not be rejected absent clear and con-

vincing evidence to the contrary.” A due process violation

occurred here when treating psychiatrists’ opinions were

disregarded.

THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION WAS NOT

MADE ON THE MERITS

Both the Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit and the

District Court failed to adjudicate the due process issues

squarely raised in the cases below. Yet Gibler is entitled to

his day in court.

” Moore vs. Commissioner, 278 F.3d 920 (9th Cir. 2002); Lester v.

Chater, 81 F. 3d 821, 835 (9th Cir. 1995)

20

In Sweierkiewiez v, Sorema, 534 U.S. 506 (2002), this

Court stated “we will not impose heightened pleading stan-

dards where Congress has not instructed us to do se...”

Gibler has both a Fifth Amendment right to access to the

courts because SSA is violating the 1984 amendments, supra

in that benefits are required pending appeal so as not to

violate due process.

The courts are needed to determine the fairness of Social

Security administrative hearings when, as in the cases here,

the evidentiary rules dictated by SSA regulations offend all

notions of due process by the treatment of stale evidence (ten

to thirteen years old, since 1987) as presumptively correct.

CONCLUSION

Gibler is asking this Court to find that necessities of life

cannot be taken away before notice and a meaningful

opportunity to be heard consistent with Congress’s amend-

ments giving recipients benefits pending appeal—42. U.S.C.

§ 423 (g) and the Due Process Clause.

Apparently, the District Court was reluctant to find

exhaustion and decide the due process issues on the merits

because of administrative ease. Although no depositions were

permitted, since SSA concedes it properly followed its na-

tional procedure, Gibler submits there are hundreds of thou-

sands of similarly situated people.

Respectfully submitted,

STEVEN BRUCE, *

PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES

FOUNDATION

507 Polk Street, Second Floor

San Francisco, California 94102

(415) 931-3070

* Counsel of Record Attorney for Petitioner

APPENDIX

A-i

TABLE OF CONTENTS '

FOR THE APPENDIX Page

Exh.1!. Judgment Filed January 14, 2005 in the

Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit in Case

03-16901 entitled “Timothy Gibler vs. Jo Anne

B. Barnhart, Commissioner of the Social

Security Administration” (District Court Case

No. 03-00823-MJJ)........ccccscecscossccsccceccsserscsecsees l

Exh.2. Order Filed on January 5, 2005, in the

Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit in Case

03-16901 entitled “ Timothy Gibler vs. Jo

Anne B. Barnhart, Commissioner of the Social

Security Administration” (District Court Case

No. 03-00823-MiSJ).........c.ccccccssccercceccercssnseensees 2

Exh.3. Memorandum Filed and Entered October

8, 2004, in the Court of Appeals for the Ninth

Circuit in Case 03-16901 entitled “Timothy

Gibler vs. Jo Anne B. Barnhart Commissioner

of the Social Security Administration” (District

Court Case No. 03-00823-MJJ).........cccccccsseeeeeee 3

Exh.4. Judgment Filed January 18, 2005 in the

United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth

Circuit in Case 03-15836 entitled “Timothy

Gibler vs. William A. Halter, Acting Com-

missioner of the Social Security Admin-

istration” (District Court Case No. Ol-

OQOBOSMII/IL) .....0..corecscorcccrcccsscssescesceccsencsessseses 6

' With regard to documents in the Appendix, counsel has reviewed

scanned reproductions of original documents and certifies that to a

substantial extent, they are true and correct replicas of the original

documents

A-ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Exh. 5. Order Filed January 5, 2005 in the

United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth

Circuit in Case 03-15836 entitled “Timothy

Gibler vs. Jo Anne B. Barnhart, Commissioner

of Social Security Administration” (District

Court Case No. 01-OO895MIJJ/IL) 0... .eceseeseeee

Exh. 6. Memorandum Filed and Entered October

7, 2004 in the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit in Case 03-15836 entitled

“Timothy Gibler vs. Jo Anne B. Barnhart,

Commissioner of the Social Security

Administration” (District Court Case No. 01-

TID seccesntuiuhenitilishsiieipainsddauibietiieteindintiteadgia

Exh. 7. Order filed September 9, 2004, in the

United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth

Circuit in Case 03-15836 Submitting Case

Without Oral Argument. (District Court Case

POR, GE MD cosisinecrsstinictntessnisnndtinninmane

Exh. 8. Order filed September 9, 2004, in the

United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth

Circuit in Case 03-16901 Submitting Case

Without Oral Argument. (District Court Case

UR SGI Acncsinsetcieessnnbtandstosanestnihanntensnn

Exh. 9. Emergency Order for Stay Issued in the

United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth

Circuit in Cases 03-15836 and 03-16901. Filed

April 28, 2004 (District Court Case No. 01-

SPINE AD cinticnissstovinninansncitsdesenniiabebdodiehpaiiamnssiit

Page

A-iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Exh. 10. Declaration of Steven Bruce in Support

of Opposition to Motion to Dismiss Filed

July 7, 2003 in the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit in Case 03-

15836 entitled “Timothy Gibler vs. Jo Anne

Barnhart, Commissioner of the Social Security

Administration” ((District Court Case No. 01-

OOSOSMII/IL)).....csccccsccescssscsseeecercenssrssssscssesseres

Exh. 11. Order Dismissing Plaintiff's Second

Amended Complaint with Prejudice Filed

September 22, 2003 in the United States

District Court for the Northern District of

California Case 03-00823-MJJ entitled

“Timothy Gibler vs. Jo Anne Barnhart” .......+++.

Exh. 12. Order Denying Plaintiff's Motion for

Relief from Judgment in United States District

Court Case entitled “Timothy Gibler vs. Jo

Anne B. Barnhart’ Dated April 16, 2003.

(District Court Case No. 01-00895MJJ /JL)......

Exh. 13. Order Filed October 16, 2002 Denying

Plaintiff's Motion for Summary Judgment and

Granting Motion for Summary Judg-

ment in the in the United States District Court

for the Northern District of California Case C

01-0895 entitled “Timothy Gibler vs. Jo Anne

Barnhart” (District Court Case No. OlI-

OOBOSMII/IL) .......ceccsssccsssvssccsesceneccescssnssssseeesees

Page

ia

17

18

22

A-iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Page

Exh. 14. Discovery Order Filed July 3, 2002 in

the United States District Court for the

Northern District of California Case C OI-

O895 entitled “Timothy Gibler vs. Jo Anne B.

Barnhart, Commissioner of the Social Security

Administration.” And Order Confirming Stip-

ulation Regarding Discovery Order Filed

August 5, 2002 (District Court Case No. 01-

8 Ne I 43

Exh. 15. Order Denying Res ondent’s Motion

To Dismiss filed July 11, 201 in the United

States District Court for t! . Northern Dis-

trict of California Case C 01-0895 entitled

“Timothy Gibler vs. Larry G. Massanari,

Acting Commissioner of the Social Security

RI, weicesninnciccitniinieniaaaiaticitiniataniibenas 60

Exh. 16. Second Amended Complaint for

Injunctive Relief, Declaratory Relief, Social

Security Benefits and Sanctions; Jury Demand

{Per Court Order] Filed August 28, 2003 in the

2003 in the United States District Court for the

Northern District of California in Case C 03-

0823 MJJ entitled “Timothy Gibler vs. Jo Anne

1D. De sscssncieniistiannanitiiaiinnataibiiiadeialadaaiegiiassis 82

Exh. 17. Decision of U.S. Administrative Law

Judge F. Neil Aschemeyer, Dated August 30,

2001, in the Claim of Timothy Gibler for

Period of Disability and Disability Insurance

Payments, Social Security Administration’s

Office of Hearings and Appeals ...................0+. 95

A-v

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Exh. 18. October 30, 2002 Amendment To De-

cision by U.S. ALJ, F. Neil Aschemeyer to

Reopen and Revise the Hearing Decision

Dated August 30, 2001. ..........sseeversesnesnenenes

Exh. 19. Social Security Administration Request

for Additional Earnings Information Dated

July 27, 2000 Issued by Field Office Manager

John Hanley .. pusneaceusssenpenndsnsnagnensssenbenenneans

Exh. 20. Declaration of Carol Banyas, M.D.,

Former Treating Psychiatrist, filed in United

States District Court for the Northern District

of California Case CV 01-0895 MJJ/JL

entitled “Timothy Gibler vs. Larry G. Massa-

nari, Acting Commissioner of the Social

Security Administration.” ............-sssseseeeeeeeeeees

Exh. 21. Report of Contact dated July 26, 200

by SSA Claims Representative Donald Worms

Exh. 22. Patient Discharge Instruction Sheet

Dated February 18, 2000...

Exh. 23. Transcript of Hearing January 8, 2002

on Plaintiff's Motion for Relief from Judgment

and for Bad Faith EAJA Attorney Fees in the

in the United States District Court for the

Northern District of California Case C-0-0895

entitled “Timothy Gibler vs. Jo Anne Barn-

hart” Cover page and pages 4, 5, 12 and 13....

Page

113

117

119

120

121

la

EXHIBIT 1

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

[Filed Jan 14, 2005]

No. 03-16901

D.C. No. CV-03-00823-MJJ

TIMOTHY GIBLER,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

v2

Jo ANNE B. BARNHART,

Commissioner of Social Security Administration,

Defendant-Appellee.

JUDGMENT

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Northern District of California (San Francisco).

This cause came on to be heard on the Transcript of the

Record from the United States District Court for the Northern

District of California (San Francisco) and was duly

submitted.

On consideration whereof, it is now here ordered and

adjudged by this Court, that the judgment of the, said District

Court in this cause be, and hereby is AFFIRMED.

Filed and entered Friday, October 8, 2004.

A TRUE COPY

Cathy A. Catterson

Clerk of Court

ATTEST

JAN 13 2005

by: illegible signature

2a

EXHIBIT 2

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

[Filed Jan. 5, 2005]

No. 03-16901

D.C. No. CV-03-00823-MJJ

TIMOTHY GIBLER,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

JO ANNE B. BARNHART,

Commissioner of Social Security Administration,

Defendant-Appellee.

ORDER

Before: CUDAHY,” GRABER, and FISHER. Circuit

Judges.

Judges Graber and Fisher have voted to deny the petition

for rehearing en bane and Judge Cudahy has so recom-

mended.

The full court has been advised of the petition for rehearing

en banc and no judge of the court has requested a vote on it.

The petition for rehearing en banc is DENIED.

* The Honorable Richard D. Cudahy, Senior Circuit Judge for the

United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit, sitting by

designation.

3a

EXHIBIT 3

NOT FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

[Filed Oct. 8, 2004]

No. 03-16901

D.C. No. CV-0300823-MJJ

TIMOTHY GIBLER,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

Jo ANNE B. BARNHART,

Commissioner of Social Security Administration,

Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of California

Martin J. Jenkins, District Judge, Presiding

Submitted October 5, 2004°

San Francisco, California

MEMORANDUM™

Before: CUDAHY,”** GRABER, and FISHER, Circuit Judges.

* This disposition is not appropriate for publication and may not be

cited to or by the courts of this circuit except as provided by Ninth Circuit

Rule 36-3.

** This panel unanimously finds this case suitable for decision without

oral argument. Fed. R. App. P. 34(a)(2).

*** The Honorable Richard D. Cudahy, Senior Circuit Judge for the

United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit, sitting by

designation.

4a

Plaintiff Timothy Gibler appeals from the district court’s

order dismissing, with prejudice, his second amended com-

plaint against the Social Security Administration. We have

jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1291, and we affirm.

We review de novo the dismissal of a complaint for lack

of subject matter jurisdiction, including dismissal for failure

to exhaust administrative remedies. Kildare v. Saenz, 325

F.3d 1078, 1082 (9th Cir. 2003). We also have de novo

review over dismissals for failure to state a claim, Miller v.

Yokohama Tire Corp., 358 F.3d 616, 619 (9th Cir. 2004), and

decisions regarding issue preclusion, San Remo Hotel, L.P. v.

San Francisco, 364 F.3d 1088, 1094 (9th Cir. 2004), petition

for cert. filed, 73 U.S.L.W. 3162 (U.S. Sept. 7, 2004) (No.

04-340).

After carefully reviewing the claims in Plaintiffs succes-

sive complaints, we conclude that the Second Amended

Complaint properly was dismissed with prejudice. Several of

Plaintiffs claims were not exhausted and do not warrant

waiver of the exhaustion requirement. See Johnson vy.

Shalala, 2 F.3d 918, 921 (9th Cir. 1993) (describing the

exhaustion requirement and judicial standards for waiving the

exhaustion requirement). Several of Plaintiff's claims were

litigated previously, in Gibler v. Barnhart, No. 03-15836, and

therefore are precluded. See Littlejohn v. United States, 321

F.3d 915, 923 (9th Cir.) (describing the requirements for issue

preclusion), cert. denied, 124 S. Ct. 486 (2003). Plaintiff's

remaining claims fail to state a “colorable constitutional claim

of due process violation that implicate[s] a due process right

[either] to a meaningful opportunity to be heard or to seek

reconsideration of an adverse benefits determination.” Evans

v. Chater, 110 F.3d 1480, 1483 (9th Cir. 1997) (alteration in

original) (citation and internal quotation marks omitted)

(describing an exception to the exhaustion requirement for

colorable due process claims).

Sa

Moreover, we hold that the district court did not abuse its

discretion when it dismissed Plaintiff's Second Amended

Complaint with prejudice, after giving Plaintiff two prior

opportunities to focus and clarify his complaint. Cf. McHenry

v. Renne, 84 F.3d 1172, 1180 (9th Cir. 1996) (holding that the

district court did not abuse its discretion by dismissing the

plaintiff’s third amended complaint with prejudice for failure

to abide by Rule 8, which requires that each averment of a

pleading be “simple, concise, and direct”).

AFFIRMED.

A TRUE COPY

Cathy A. Catterson

Clerk of Court

ATTEST

JAN 13 2005

by: illegible signature

Deputy Clerk

6a

EXHIBIT 4

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

[Filed Jan. 18, 2005]

No. 03-15836

D.C. No. CV-01-00895MJJ/JL

TIMOTHY GIBLER,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Ti

WILLIAM A. HALTER,

Acting Commissioner of the Social Security Administration,

Defendant-Appellee.

JUDGMENT

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Northern District of California (San Francisco).

This cause came on to be heard on the Transcript of

the Record from the United States District Court for the

Northern District of California (San Francisco) and was duly

submitted.

On consideration whereof, it is now here ordered and ad-

judged by this Court, that the judgment of the said District

Court in this cause be, and hereby is AFFIRMED.

Filed and entered Thursday, October 07, 2004.

A TRUE COPY

Cathy A. Catterson

Clerk of Court

ATTEST

JAN 13 2005

by: illegible signature

Ta

EXHIBIT 5

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

[Filed Jan 05, 2005]

No. 03-15836

D.C. No. CV-01-00895-MJJ/JL

TIMOTHY GIBLER,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.

Jo ANNE B. BARNHART,

Commissioner of Social Security Administration,

Defendant-Appellee.

| ORDER

Before. CUDAHY,” GRABER, and FISHER, Circuit

Judges.

Judges Graber and Fisher have voted to deny the petition

for rehearing en banc and Judge Cudahy has so recom-

mended.

The full court has been advised of the petition for rehearing

en banc and no judge of the court has requested a vote on it.

The petition for rehearing en banc is DENIED.

* The Honorable Richard D. Cudahy, Senior Circuit Judge for the

United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit, sitting by

designation.

8a

EXHIBIT 6

NOT FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

[Filed Oct. 7, 2004]

No. 03-15836

D.C. No. CV-01-00895-MJJ/JL

TIMOTHY GIBLER,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.

JO ANNE B. BARNHART,

Commissioner of the Social Security Administration,

Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of California

Martin J. Jenkins, District Judge, Presiding

Submitted October 5, 2004"

San Francisco, California

MEMORANDUM”

Before: CUDAHY,”** GRABER, and FISHER, Circuit Judges.

* This disposition is not appropriate for publication and may not be

cited to or by the courts of this circuit except as provided by Ninth Circuit

Rule 36-3.

** This panel unanimously finds this case suitable for decision without

oral argument. Fed. R. App. P. 34(a)(2).

“ The Honorable Richard D. Cudahy, Senior Circuit Judge for the

United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit, sitting by

designation.

9a

Plaintiff Timothy Gibler appeals from the district court's

order denying his motion for relief from judgment under

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 6003). We review only the

grounds raised in the motion and cannot review the merits of

the underlying judgment, Cel-A-Pak v. Cal. Agric. Labor

Relations Bd,, 680 F.2d 664, 668 (9th Cir. 1982) (per curiam),

and the standard is abuse of discretion, Bateman v. U.S.

Postal Serv., 231 F.3d 1220, 1223 (9th Cir. 2000).

Plaintiff sought relief from the judgment on the basis of

two legal arguments. “Legal error does not by itself warrant

the application of Rule 60(b),” however. Plotkin v. Pac.

Tel. & Tel. Co., 688 F.2d 1291, 1293 (9th Cir. 1982). Even

assuming that Plaintiff's Legal arguments had merit, the

district court did not abuse its discretion in concluding that he

had failed to demonstrate to that court “extraordinary circum-

stances which prevented” him from filing an appeal. /d.

Plaintiff also argues that we should reconsider a prior

panel’s ruling that he is not entitled to equitable tolling of the

period for appeal of the underlying judgment. The period for

filing a notice of appeal is subject to tolling only as provided

in Federal Rule of Appellate Procedure 4, Torres v. Oakland

Scavenger Co., 487 U.S. 312, 315, 317 (1988), the conditions

of which Plaintiff did not meet.

AFFIRMED.

A TRUE COPY

Cathy A. Catterson

Clerk of Court

ATTEST

JAN 13 2005

by: illegible signature

Deputy Clerk

10a

EXHIBIT 7

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

[Filed Sep. 9, 2004]

No. 03-15836

D.C. No. CV-01-00895-MJJ/JL

TIMOTHY GIBLER,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

¥.

JO ANNE B. BARNHART,

Commissioner of Social Security Administration,

Defendant-Appellee.

ORDER

This case shall be submitted on the briefs and record,

without oral argument, on October 5, 2004, in San Francisco,

California, pursuant to Fed. R. App. P. 34(a)(2).

FOR THE COURT

CATHY A. CATTERSON

CLERK OF COURT

By: /s/ [Illegible]

Deputy Clerk

lla

EXHIBIT 8

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

[Filed Sep. 9, 2004]

No. 03-16901

D.C. No. CV-03-00823-MJJ

TIMOTHY GIBLER,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

wi

Jo ANNE B. BARNHART,

Commissioner of Social Security Administration,

Defendant-Appellee.

ORDER

This case shall be submitted on the briefs and record,

without oral argument, on October 5, 2004, in San Francisco,

California, pursuant to Fed. R. App. P. 34(a)(2).

FOR THE COURT

CATHY A. CATTERSON

CLERK OF COURT

By: /s/ [Illegible]

Deputy Clerk

l2a

EXHIBIT 9

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

{Filed April 28, 2004]

Nos. 03-15836, 03-16901

DC# CVO | -895-MJJ

Northern District of California

(San Francisco)

TIMOTHY GIBLER,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

WILLIAM A. HALTER, Acting Commissioner of the

Social Security Administration,

Defendant-Appellee.

Before: O'SCANNLAN and BEA, Circuit Judges

Appellant's emergency motion for an order staying further

administrative proceedings pending review of these related

appeals is granted, pursuant to the agreement of the parties, as

follows only:

Appellant is not required to respond to the March

2004 inquiry for information;

The Social Security Administration will not take any

action concerning appellant’s benefit record;

The Social Security Administration will not send any

correspondence to appellant; and

13a

4. If appellant inadvertently receives a systems gener-

ated letter from the Social Security Administration

while these appeals are pending, he shall not be re-

quired to provide any response.

Appellant's request that this stay continue beyond disposi-

tion of these appeals through any remanded proceedings is

denied without prejudice to seeking such relief, if appropriate,

from the agency.

These related appeals are ready for calendaring.

Ida

EXHIBIT 10

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

[Filed July 07, 2003]

CIVIL ACTION NO. C 03-15836

STEVEN BRUCE, EsQ. CBN 70300

People With Disabilities Foundation

507 Polk Street, Mezzanine

San Francisco, CA 94102

Tel (415) 931-3070

(415) 931-2828

Attorneys for Appellant

TIMOTHY GIBLER

Appellant,

VS.

JO ANNE B. BARNHART, COMMISSIONER OF

THE SOCIAL SECURITY ADMINISTRATION

Appellee.

DECLARATION OF STEVEN BRUCE IN SUPPORT OF

OPPOSITION TO MOTION TO DISMISS

I, Steven Bruce am the attorney for Appellant and am duly

licensed to practice before this Court and hereby declare as

follows:

1. That on or about the time of Judgement in District

Court this case, October 17, 2002, my client was

undergoing severe exacerbation of his disability

(psychotic and schizophrenia). He was in contact

15a

periodically with the office and went back to the

mid-west.

2. Around that point in time, October, November, and

December, 2002, Mr. Gibler had tried to commit sui-

cide on at least two occasions and was having severe

problems with agitation, including panic attacks and

suicide attempts.

3. It was and is my opinion as his attorney that I did not

have clear authority to file the appeal at that time but

did have authority to file a Motion for Relief from

Judgment in which I clearly stated the Motion was

timely filed due to my client’s disability (mental

condition).

4. The United States attorney and Office of General

Counsel of Appellee fled no response to my Motion

for Relief from Judgment within the time permitted.

5. I called Claire Mueller, the paralegal in charge of

Social Security cases at the U.S. Attorney’s office in

San Francisco to ask why there was no opposition. I

was informed that it was overlooked and that ap-

pellee asked for a stipulation for more time to fide a

response. I signed the stipulation after which time

the Hon. Martin J. Jenkins signed the stipulation to

extend time.

6. The Motion was under submission for a long while

after which time a timely Notice of Appeal was filed.

I was convinced at that time that I had Mr. Giblet’s

clear authority to file the appeal herein.

I, Steven Bruce declare under penalty of perjury under the

laws of the United States that the foregoing is true and correct

to the best of my knowledge; and that this Declaration was

executed on July 7, 2003 at San Francisco.

/s/ Steven Bruce

STEVEN BRUCE

16a

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I certify that I served Appellant’s Declaration of Steven

Bruce in Support of Opposition to Motion to Dismiss by

mailing two copies of the document to their attorney on this

date addressed as follows: ©

GERALYN A. GULSETH, Esq.

Social Security Administration

333 Market Street, Suite 1500

San Francisco, CA 94102

Executed on July 7, 2003 in San Francisco, California.

/s/ Carolyn Pruitt

CAROLYN PRUITT

17a

EXHIBIT 11

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

[Filed Sep. 22, 2003]

No. C 03-0823 MJJ

TIMOTHY GIBLER,

Plaintiff,

Vv.

JO ANNE B. BARNHART,

Defendant.

ORDER DISMISSING PLAINTIFF’S SECOND

AMENDED COMPLAINT WITH PREJUDICE

Pursuant to the Court’s August 21, 2003 Order, Plaintiff's

Second Amended Complaint is DISMISSED with prejudice;

in addition, the Court declines to consider Plaintiff’s “cor-

rected” Second Amended Complaint, which was submitted

without leave of Court.

IT IS SO ORDERED

Dated: September 22, 2003

/s/ Martin J. Jenkins

MARTIN J. JENKINS

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

18a

EXHIBIT 12

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DSTRICIT OF CALIFORNIA

[Filed April 16, 2003]

No. CO1-0895 MJJ

TIMOTHY GIBLER,

| Plaintiff,

Ve

JO ANNE B. BARNHART,

Defendant.

ORDER DENYING PLAINTIFF’S MOTION FOR

RELIEF FROM JUDGMENT

INTRODUCTION

On October 16, 2002, the Court denied Plaintiff's motion

for summary judgment and granted summary judgment in

favor of Defendant (“October Order”). Now before the Court

is Plaintiffs motion for relief from judgment pursuant to

sections (b)(2), (b)(4) and (b)(6) of Federal Rule of Civil

Procedure 60. See Motion at 1:24. However, the only appli-

cable provision under these circumstances is 60(b)(6), which

provides for relief from judgement for “any . . . reason

justifying” such relief.' This motion requires the Court to de-

' Section (b)(2) provides relief from judgment where “newly discov-

ered evidence which by due diligence could not have been discovered in

time to move for a new trial under Rule 59(b).” See also Riviera v. M/T

Fossarina, 840 F.2d 152 (9th Cir. 1988) (‘newly discovered evidence’

19a

termine whether Plaintiffs bases for relief from judgement

constitute “extraordinary circumstances.” Lafarge, 791 F.2d

at 1338. having considered the briefing in this matter, the

Court DENIES Plaintiff's motion.

ANALYSIS

A. Matthews v. Eldridge

In denying (Plaintiffs procedural due process claim, the

Court relied on the three-Dart balancing test outlined by the

Supreme Court in Matthews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319

(1976):? See October Order at 8:5-14:25. Plaintiff contends

that Matthews has been overruled by the Supreme Court's

more recent decision in Dusenbery v. United States, 534 1.J.S.

161 (2002). See Motion at 2:5-16. The Court disagrees.

In Dusenbery, Supreme Court declined to apply the Mat-

thews balancing test to determine “the adequacy of the means

employed by the Federal Bureau of Investigation (“FBI”) to

provide notice to a federal prisoner of his right to contest the

administrative forfeiture of property seized (luring the execu-

tion of a search warrant for the residence where he was ar-

normally refers to evidence of facts in existence at the time of trial of

which the aggrieved party was excusably ignorant’). Here, Plaintiff offers

no newly discovered evidence. Section (b}(4) provides for relief from

judgment where “the judgment is void.” Plaintiff offers no explanation as

to why the Court’s judgment would be void. Moreover, Plaintiff cannot

plead under (b)(2) and (b)(4) if he chooses to plead under (b\(6). See

Lafarge Conseils Et Utudes, S.A. v. Kaiser Cement Gypsum Corp.,79 |

F.2d 1334,1338 (9th Cir. 1986) (“{a] motion brought under (O(b)(6) must

be based on grounds other than those listed in the preceding clauses”).

2 In Matthews Court balanced the following factors: (1) the private

interest that will be affected by the official action; (2) the risk of an

erroneous deprivation of such interest through the procedures used, and

the probable value, if any, of additional or substitute procedural safe-

guards; and (3) the Government's interest, including the function involved

and the fiscal and administrative burdens that the additional or substitute

procedure requirement would entail. /d. at 334-35.

20a

rested.” Jd. at 163.° The Court held that although Matthews

had been used to evaluate due process claims in a variety of

contexts, the decision was not (meant to establish an “all-

embracing test for deciding due process claims.” /d. at 168.

However, the Dusenbery Court never questioned the appro-

priateness of applying Matthews in the Social Security con-~

text, which is the very context in which the case itself arose.

See id. at 167-68. Therefore, Plaintiff's motion fur relief from

Judgment on this ground is denied.

B. Schweiker v. Chilicky _

The Court also relied on the Supreme Court’s decision in

Schweiker v. Chilicky, 487 U.S. 412 (1988), which held that a

Bivens remedy (money damages against government offi-

cials) was unavailable, as a matter of law, based on alleged

due process violations in the denial of social security benefits

because “Congress . . . has address the problems created by

state agencies’ wrongful termination of disability benefits.”

Id. at 429; see also October Order 13:7-14:1. Plaintiff con-

tends that he “does not fall within the class of [p]laintiffs

address by the Supreme Court in... Schweiker... 2’ Motion

at 5:3-4. Specifically, he argues that, unlike the plaintiffs in

Schweiker, he was denied benefits based on “work review,”

not a “continuing disability review.” Motion at 4:21-5:3.

However, this factual distinction does not affect the applica-

bility of the holding in Schweiker to the matter currently be-

fore the Court. Therefore, Plaintiffs motion for relief from

judgment on this ground is denied as well.

CONCLUSION

Based on the above analysis the Court DENIES Plaintiff’s

motion for relief from judgment.

* Rather, the Court applied a test of reasonableness under all the cir-

cumstances. See Dusenbery, 534 U.S. at 167-71 (citing Mullane v. Central

Hanover Bank & Trust Co., 339°U.S. 306, 314 (1950)).

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Dated: April 16, 2003

/s/ Martin J. Jenkins

MARTIN J. JENKINS

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

22a

EXHIBIT 13

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

[Filed October 16, 2002]

No. C 01-0895 MJJ

TIMOTHY GIBLER,

Petitioner,

JO ANNE B. BARNHART,

acting Commissioner of the Social Security Administration,

Respondent.

ORDER DENYING PLAINTIFF’S MOTION

AND GRANTING DEFENDANTS’ MOTION FOR

SUMMARY JUDGMENT

INTRODUCTION

Before this Court is a motion and cross motion for sum-

mary judgment pursuant to Rule 56 of the Federal-Rules of

Civil Procedure. In connection with his motion, Plaintiff

Timothy Gibler (“Plaintiff’) seeks a variety of relief, include-

ing a request for attorney’s fees and costs pursuant to the

Equal Access for Justice Act, 28 U.S.C. § 2412. (“EAJA”).

The motions require” the Court to determine whether Plaintiff

is entitled to judgment as a matter of law on his claim the

Social Security Administration (“SSA” or “Defendant”) vio-

lated his due process rights in terminating his disability

benefits on the basis that his work singing in a church choir

was substantial gainful activity (“SGA”) which rendered him

ineligible for benefits, and-then failing to immediately pro-

vide a hearing with an Administrative Law Judge (“ALJ”) to

23a

review the termination. Having read and considered the

papers,’ and having heard the parties at oral argument, the

Court DENIES Plaintiff's motion for summary judgment and-

GRANTS Defendant's dross motion.”

FACTUAL BACKGROUND

Plaintiff received social security benefits under Title II of

the Social Security Act (“Title II”) from on or about 1979

because of a severe psychiatric disorder. Plaintiff underwent

several continuing disability reviews since he became entitled

to benefits. Each review resulted in a finding there had been

no improvement in his psychiatric condition.

On July 26, 2000, Defendant provided Plaintiff with a

Notice of Proposed Decision, informing him his reported

work could affect his benefits and that he had ten (10) days in

which to provide more information before a final decision

and notice of termination. See Declaration of Donald Worms

(“Worms Decl.”) at § 3, E h. 2. Defendant issued this notice

on the basis of Plaintiffs claim of sporadic employment as .a

signer in a church choir since 1979. The notice explained he

had used up his practice work periods by 1988, his records

' Together with his motion, Plaintiff-requests the Court take judicial

notice of two things: 1). there are many Social Security beneficiaries who

are on both the program under Title JI of the Social Security Act (“Title

II”), which has no income and resources eligibility requirements, and the

program under Title of the Social Security Act program which does have

income and resource eligibility requirements; (2) the Administrative Law

Judge (“ALJ”) does not have authority or jurisdiction to adjudicate

constitutional claims. The Court DENIES Plaintiff's request as these are

facts which are not of the type judicially noticed. See Fed. R. Evid. 201(b)

(defining judicial noticed facts as those “not subject to reasonable dispute

in that it is either (1) generally known within the territorial jurisdiction of

the trial court or (2) capable of accurate and ready determination by resort

to sources whose accuracy cannot reasonably be questioned.”).

? Because the Court DENIES Plaintiff's motion, the request for relief,

including attorney’s fees and costs under the EAJA, is also DENIED.

24a

reflecting earnings of $11,319 for 1988, $3,790 for 1989

and $13,210 in 1990. See Declaration of Cheryl Jacobson

(“Jacobson Decl.”) at § 4. Defendant did not take Plaintiff s

medical record into account in making its termination deci-

sion, terminating benefits instead on grounds he completed of

a 9-month trial work period, as opposed to a change in medi-

cal condition.

The ten (10) days expired without any new submissions

from either Plaintiff or his attorney, although his attorney had

visited the SSA district office in San Francisco sometime in

August 2000 to review and copy the file. See Worms Decl. at

q 5. Records indicate, social security payments for Plaintiff

stopped in October 2000. See Jacobson Decl, at | 8. No final

notice had been issued, bit, at that time, his attorney filed a

request for reconsideration. In addition, Plaintiff, through his

attorney, contacted staff in multiple departments of the SSA,

requesting he remain on check status and have a medical

examination to evaluate his continuing disability. Neither,

however, was forthcoming.

On February 13, 2001, Plaintiff received the Notice of

Termination informing him he no longer qualified for social

security benefits because he had been engaging in SGA as of

January, 1988, and his entitlement to benefits had therefore

ended as of March 1988. This letter also informed Plaintiff of

his right to appeal the decision within sixty days and/or file a

new application.

On March 1, 2001, Plaintiff fled this instant action seeking

review of the termination of benefits, and immediate rein-

statement of benefits. See Complaint at 11:19-22; see also

August Order at 1:22-24 (describing motion as seeking

immediate reinstatement of benefits). At or about the same

time, Plaintiff filed a motion for reconsideration of the termi-

25a

nation with the SSA, which it denied on March 23, 2001.’

Plaintiff then requested a hearing with an ALJ to appeal the

decision.

In the interim, Defendant moved to dismiss the instant

action for lack of subject matter jurisdiction, arguing Plaintiff

had failed to exhaust all administrative remedies as required

by the Social Security Act and did not raise a colorable

constitutional due process claim. After hearing the parties and

considering the papers, the Court found Plaintiff had not

exhausted his administrative remedies and, on that basis, the

Court rejected almost all of his ‘constitutional claims. It

denied the motion, however, upon finding that Plaintiff raised

at least a colorable constitutional claim the procedures in

place for challenging an adverse SSA determination through

an ALJ hearing, as applied to him, violated his due process

rights, See July 11, 2001 Order Denying Motion to Dismiss

(“July Order”) at 16-22-17:3. This finding was based on the

length of time it took to obtain an ALJ hearing after an

adverse SSA determination and evidence Plaintiff may men-

tally decompensate before he was granted a hearing, which

could make such a hearing so unreasonably delayed as to

violate due process. See id. at 12:16-17:3. However, the Court

expressly declined to reach the issue of whether the SSA’s

scheme for review was actually unconstitutional as applied to

Plaintiff. See id. at 16:20-22.

After the July Order issued, the A notified Plaintiff his

appeal of the termination would be heard on August 27, 2001.

At or about the same time, Plaintiff moved for declaratory

and preliminary injunctive relief in the instant action,

requesting the Court order the SSA to reinstate him to

Medicare and all other Title II benefits within ten days, and

award him costs and attorney’s fees. The Court denied the

* During the reconsideration, Defendants transferred Plaintiff's file to

their Office of Central Operations in Baltimore, Maryland.

26a

motion based upon its findings, as articulated in the July 11

Order, that it did not have jurisdiction to hear claims relating

to past and present entitlement of benefits: See August 16,

2001 Order Denying Application for Temporary Restraining

Order (“August Order”) at 6:13:16. The Court rejected the

government's argument, however, that Plaintiffs due process

claim was moot because of the SSA’s recent decision to grant

Plaintiff an ALJ hearing on August 27, 2001. See id. at 8:6-

21. It made its, decision because it was not absolutely clear

the allegedly wrongful behavior would not recur and because

it was not clear whether Plaintiff's due process rights were

already violated by the delay. See id.

On August 27, 2001, Plaintiff presented his appeal to the

ALJ After consideration of all of the evidence presented, the

ALJ found Plaintiff had completed a 9-month trial work

period in 1981, his disability ceased as of January 1988 due to

his demonstrated ability to engage in substantial gainful

activity, and he was not entitled to benefits under Title II as

of April 1988. See Plaintiffs Opposition to Cross Motion,

Reply to Motion (“Mot. Rep.”), Exh. 6 (ALJ Decision). The

ALJ further found Plaintiff had been disabled under Title II

since January |, 1991, and through August 30, 2001; he was

entitled to both monthly benefits and Medicare at all times

since January 1991; and although Plaintiff should not have

been paid benefits between April 1988 through December

1990, the SSA would waive any overpayment of benefits

because Plaintiff was not “at fault,” and because Plaintiff was

fiscally incapable of covering his ordinary living expense. See

id. Social security payments were restarted on August 31,

2001. See Jacobson Decl. at §§ 8-9.* The ALJ Decision

became final when Plaintiff allowed the time to appeal lapse

without seeking appeal.

* Plaintiff Medicare coverage had been terminated in April 2001, and

was restarted in November 2001. See Jacobson Decl. at €€ 8, 10.

27a

On November 8, 2001, the Clerk of the Court entered

judgment because the Court had denied Plaintiff's. motion for

declaratory relief and injunctive relief Plaintiff moved for

relief from the Clerk’s judgment pursuant to Rule 60 of the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and requested the Court

entered judgment in his favor. He further requested attorney’s

fees and costs under the EAJA.

The Court granted relief from judgment on January 11,

2002, on grounds the entry of judgment was in error. See

January 11, 2002 Order Granting Motion for Relief from

Judgement (“January Order”) at 4:18-5:1. Indeed, Plaintiffs

due process claim remained and, as such, entry of judgment

was premature. See id. On the same basis, the Court denied

Plaintiff's request for entry of judgment in his favor. See id.

at 5:1 n.3. It further denied Plaintiff's request under RAJA.

on a finding Plaintiff failed to establish it was a prevailing

party, as he must. See id. at 6:1-9:6.

LEGAL STANDARD

Summary judgment is appropriate if there is no genuine

issue as to any material fact and the moving party is entitled

to judgment as a matter of law. Fed. R. Civ. Pro. 56(c). The

moving party bears the initial burden of establishing that

there is no genuine issue of material fact. /d.; Celotex Corp.

v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 322 (1986). If the moving party does

not bear the burden of proof at trial, the initial burden of

showing that no genuine issue of material fact remains may

be discharged by demonstrating that “there is an absence of

evidence to support the nonmoving party’s case.” /d. at 325.

The moving party is not required to produce evidence

showing the absence of genuine issues of material fact. See

Lujan v. National Wildlife Fed’n, 497 U.S. 871, 885 (1990).

Nor must the moving party support his or her own motion

with evidence negating the non-moving party’s claim. See id.

28a

After the moving party makes a properly supported motion,

the responding party must present specific facts showing that

contradiction is possible. British Airways Bd. v. Boeing Co.,

585 F.2d 946, 950-52 (9th Cir. 1978). It is not enough for the

responding party to point to the mere allegations or denials

contained in the pleadings. Instead, it must set forth, by

affidavit or other admissible evidence, specific facts demon-

strating the existence of an actual issue for trial. The evidence

must be more than a mere “scintilla;” the responding party

must show that the trier of fact could reasonably find in

its favor. Anderson vy. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242,

252 (1986). However, in. reviewing a motion for summary

judgment, the Court does not make credibility determinations

with respect to evidence offered, and is required to draw all

inferences in the light most favorable to the non-moving

party. See T W Elec. Serv., Inc. v. Pacific Elec. Contractors

Ass'n, 809 F.2d 626, 630-31 (9th Cir. 1987). Summary

judgment is therefore not appropriate “where contradictory

inferences may reasonably be drawn from undisputed evi-

dentiary facts ... .” Hollingsworth Solderless Terminal Co. v.

Turley, 622 F.2d 1324, 1335 (9th Cir. 1980).

DISCUSSION

Plaintiff now moves for summary judgment on the due

process claim, arguing that by failing to consider medical

records prior to termination and instead terminating benefits

on grounds of SGA, Defendants violated Plaintiffs due

process rights. See Plaintiffs Motion for Summary Judgment

(“Mot.”). Indeed, according to Plaintiff, regardless of whether

the denial was non-medical, the SSA knew Plaintiff was

disabled ‘and should have reviewed Plaintiff's medical

records and confirmed Plaintiff was disabled. See id. More-

over, Plaintiff argues, by terminating benefits without a

hearing prior to termination, Defendant violated Plaintiffs due

process rights as he was not gainfully employed and was at

great risk of losing his livelihood, not having enough money

29a

to pay his rent, to pay for food or continued medical treat-

ment. See id. at 13-14. Given his condition argues Plaintiff,

the lapse of time, from the date first terminated to the date

Defendants reinstated benefits, was too long. See id. at 13.

Defendant opposes the motion and brings a cross motion

on grounds there is no outstanding case or controversy, OF

available remedy. See Defendant’s Opposition to Mot. and

Cross Motion (“Mot. Opp.””) at 4:1-7:6. It further contends

the SSA procedures are adequate and do not constitute a

violation of due process, even as applied to Plaintiff. See id.

at.7:7-15:28. In arguing no due process violation occurred,

Defendant asserts there is no factual dispute as to Plaintiff's

waiting period for his ALJ hearing and decision. See id.

at 8:20-22. The Court addresses each of the arguments

below, beginning with Defendant’s contention regarding

jurisprudence.

A. Article Ill

To satisfy Article HI standing requirements for a federal

court action; a plaintiff must show that he suffered an injury

in fact, that the injury is fairly traceable to the challenged

action of the defendant, and that it is likely a favorable deci-

sion would address the injury. See Friends of the Earth v.

Laidlaw Environ. Servs., 528 U.S. 167, 180-81 (2000). An

actual controversy must be .extant at all stages of review.

See Arizonans for Official English v. Arizona, 520 U.S. 43,

67 (1997).

Defendant argues there is no outstanding case or contro-

versy, or available remedy. See Mot. Opp. at 4:1-7:6.

Specifically, Defendants contend in August 2001, the AU

issued a mostly favorable decision by restarting his benefits,

* In his papers, Plaintiff claims there was a lapse of 458 days. It is un-

clear to the Court how Plaintiff came upon the 458 days figure as benefits-

terminated in October 2000, and payment resumed on August 31, 2001.

30a

paying hint retroactively owed benefits, and waiving recov-

ery of overpaid benefits for the years 19884 990. See id.

(citing ALJ Findings). Thus, according to Defendant, Plaintiff

already received the only remedies available to him under

Title Il, a hearing and reinstatement of benefits. See id. at

4:17-24.

Plaintiff contends his benefits were wrongfully terminated

by Defendant which intentionaily ignored pertinent informa-

tion proving disability. The Supreme Court, however, in

Schweiker v. Chilicky, 487 U.S. 412 (1988 ), found the

erroneous termination of social security disability benefits is

not the basis for a due process suit. See id. at 428-29. The

Supreme Court made this finding despite allegations state and

federal officials would, among other things, intentionally dis-

regard favorable dispositive evidence in terminating benefits.

See id. at 418.

Because the Supreme Court iias already deter .ed that even

where intentional conduct is involved, the wrongful termina-

tion of benefits does not constitute a basis for a due process

violation, Plaintiff's arguments, to the extent based on SSA’s

conduct in ignoring medical evidence when terminating

benefits do not form the basis of the due process claim. This

is especially true here since Plaintiff allowed the ALJ’s

decision to go final, without seeking appeal.

Having found that, Plaintiff premises part of his due

process claim on the time involved before the ALJ would

hear his appeal. That the appeal was heard on August 27,

2001, did not dispose of his due process claim entirely as

Plaintiff objects to the time already passed, namely since

March 2001, when he requested a hearing.° Indeed, this is the

“ According to Defendant, between March and August 2001, the aver-

age number of reques.s for hearings pending was 998, in San Francisco

alone. See Declaration of Serena Hong (“Hong Decl.”) at 45. The average

time between the request for hearing and the actual hearing was 244 days.

See id.

3la

precise ruling made by the Court with its August Order. See

August Order at 7:10-8:23. The Court, therefore finds, for the

second time, jurisprudence is not lacking.

B. Due Process Claim

A colorable Constitutional claim of due process violation is

anf exception to the jurisdictional limitations of the Act. See

Evans v. Chater, 110 F.3d 1480, 1483 (9th Cir. 1997) (find-

ing that “the exception applies to any colorable constitutional

claim of due process violation-that implicates a due process

right either to a meaningful opportunity to be heard or to seek

reconsideration of an adverse benefits determination”). The

fundamental requisite of due process of law is the opportunity

to be heard at a meaningful time and in a meaningful manner.

Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254, 267 (1970).

Due ‘process is “flexible and calls for such procedural pro-

tections as the particular situation demands?’ Matthews v.

Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319, 334 (1976). In determining whether

ihe SSA administrative procedures were constitutionally

sufficient, the Matthews Court balanced the following factors:

(1) the private interest that will be affected by the official

action; (2) the risk of an erroneous deprivation of such

interest through the procedures used, and the probable value,

if any, of additional or substitute procedural safeguards; and

(3) the Government’s interest, including the function involved

and the fiscal and administrative burdens that the additional

or substitute procedure requirement would entail. See id. at

334-35.

Instructive in the analysis of whether the administrative

process involved here violated Plaintiffs due process rights

are two cases: Goldberg y. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254 (1970) and

Matthews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319 (1976). The Supreme

Court in Goldberg determined the procedures involved in.

denying welfare benefits to its recipients violated due proc-

ess when it ;vovided for no pre-termination hearing. See

32a

Goldberg, 397 U.S. at264. In considering the first factor, the

Court found the private interest impacted by the denial of

benefits was great as welfare “provid[ed] the means to obtain

essential food, clothing, housing and medical care.” /d. at

264. According to the Court, termination of aid pending

resolution of a controversy over eligibility could deprive an

otherwise eligible recipient of the “very means by which to

live while he waits.” /d.

With respect to the second factor, the Goldberg Court

determined a pre-termination hearing was necessary because

“credibility and veracity are at issue” and “written submis-

sions arc a wholly unsatisfactory basis for decision.”

Goldberg, 397 U.S. at 268-69. Finally, it found important

government interest were promoted by affording welfare

recipients a pre-termination evidentiary hearing, especially

since promoted general welfare of the public and secured the

“blessings of liberty to ourselves and our posterity.” /d. at

264-65. Any interest in conserving fiscal and administrative

resources, it determined, were not overriding in the welfare

context, and any drain could be reduced by developing

procedures for prompt pre-termination hearings and by skill-

ful use of personnel and facilities. See id. at 266.

In Matthews, the Supreme Court found the procedures

followed by the SSA in terminating Title 1T disability

benefits were constitutionally valid, and that an evidentiary

hearing was not required prior to termination to protect a

recipients due process fights. See Matthews, 424 U.S. at 349.

The Court found the impact on claimant’s interest in the

uninterrupted source of income pending a final administrative

decision on his claim was less devastating than that of welfare

recipients. See id. at 34043. The basis for its determination

was that eligibility for disability was not based on a financial

need, and, as such, a disabled worker’s need was “likely to be

less than that of a welfare recipient.” Matthews, 424 U.S. at

342. Indeed, although the Court recognized terminated

33a

recipients and their families could suffer “significant” hard-

ships, the recipient would have the “possibility of access to

private resources, [and) other forms of government assistance

_...” Id. “In view of these potential sources of temporary

income, there is less reason here than in Goldberg to depart

from the ordinary principle . . . that something less than an

evidentiary hearing is sufficient prior to adverse adminis-

trative action.” /d. at 343. The Court made this determination

despite having recognized that the delay between a request

for hearing before an AU and a decision on the claim was

between ten (10) and eleven (11) months, and the time

between the actual termination of benefits and a final decision

after hearing exceeded a year. See id. at 342.

In considering the second factor, the Matthews Court

evaluated the impact of adding a pre-termination hearing to

the fairness and reliability of the procedures, as it existed.

See Matthews, 424 U.S. at 343-44. It determined a pre-

termination hearing would add little to the procedures already

in place because the type of determination already required in

the continued eligibility determinations of social security

disability benefits involved “sharply focused and easily

documented” matters, unlike the credivility determinations

made by administrators in the welfare arena as discussed in

Goldberg. Matthews, 424 U.S. at 343. The factors considered,

including whether the claimant could engage in SGA, were

described as “amenable to effective written presentation.” /d.

at 344 n.28.

Finally, the Supreme Court determined the administrative

burden and other societal costs associated with requiring a

pre-termination hearing would be great. See Matthews, 424

U.S. at 347. It further found the constitutional system did

not require the imposition of judicial type procedures on

administrative action to assure fairness, and that all that is

required is that “the procedures be tailored, in light of the

decision to be made to “the capacities and circumstances of

34a

those-who are to be heard [citation omitted] to insure that

they are given a meaningful opportunity to present their

“case.’” Jd. at 348-39. It concluded as follows:

In assessing what process is due in this case, substantial

weight must be given to the good-faith judgments of

individuals charged by Congress with the administration

of social welfare programs that the procedures they have

provided assure fair consideration of the entitlement

ciaims of individuals. [citation omitted]. This is espe-

cially so where, as here, the prescribed procedures not

only provide the claimant with an effective process for

asserting his claim prior to any administrative action, but

also assure a right to an evidentiary hearing, as well as to

subsequent judicial review, before the denial of his claim

becomes final.

Id. at.349. With these two cases in mind, the Court considers

the factors necessary to determine whether the administrative

procedure here violated plaintiff's due process rights.

1. Plaintiffs Interest Affected by Defendant’s Conduct

In the context of reviewing the procedure in connection

with the administration of welfare benefits, the Goldberg

Court found the effect of the defendant’s conduct on the

welfare recipient’s interest was great, as it went to the core of

the recipient’s ability to exist. See Goldberg, 397 U.S. at 264

(finding “termination of aid pending resolution of a contro-

versy over eligibility may deprive an eligible recipient of the

very means by which to live while he waits. Since he lacks

independent resources, his situation becomes immediately

desperate.”). In the context of reviewing procedures in

connection with the administration of disability benefits, the

Matthews Court found the effect of the SSA’s conduct on the

recipient was less devastating, because disability recipients

had access to potential sources of temporary income as the

35a

benefit was not based on financial need. See Matthews, 424

U.S. at 340-43.

Plaintiff here was a recipient of disability, not welfare,

benefits. As such, the Matthews Court’s characterization of

the affect of the SSA’s conduct on disability benefit

recipients would appear to apply. Plaintiff, however, argues it

does not. Specifically, the termination of benefits here

affected Plaintiff by rendering him unable to pay rent, buy

food or seek medical assistance. See Mot. Rep, at 9:16-10:1.

According to Plaintiff, his unique circumstances equated

him the welfare recipients in Goldberg, about whom the

Supreme Court found termination of benefits would have a

profound impact.

Defendant counters thé instant action is exactly like the

scenario discussed in Matthews and the Matthews Court

characterization should apply. Specifically, according to

Defendant, Plaintiff had personal resources, having earned

roughly $9,570 in 1999, and $7,120 in 2000. See Jacobson

Deck at § 4. In addition to the money earned, Plaintiff further

received social security benefits for most of 2000. See id. at

44 5, 8. Moreover, like the plaintiff in Matthews, Defendant

contends Plaintiff had access to public assistance pend-

ing further administrative review, having in fact applied to

other assistance during the time terminated. See Mot. Rep. at

10:14-15.

While sympathetic to the dire circumstances alleged to-

have been faced by Plaintiff, the Court is not persuaded

Matthews does not apply. Specifically, with its cross motion,

Defendant f submits, and Plaintiff does not contest, evidence

of some personal resources, albeit not in any significant

amounts. Plaintiff himself further attested he had in fact

applied-for other public assistance during the period termi-

nated. As such, like in Matthews, while the hardship suffered

by Plaintiff with-the erroneous termination of benefits may

have been significant, Plaintiff here had “potential sources of

36a

temporary income.” On this basis, the Court is not persuaded

by Plaintiff to depart from the findings of the Matthews

Court. With this determination in mind, the Court turns to the

remaining factors.

2. Probative Value of Additional Procedures

Although unclear, Plaintiff suggests two additional proce-

dures which he contends are required here to protect his due

process rights. First, by contesting the delay between termi-

nation and the ability to appear before the AU during which

Plaintiff received no benefits, Plaintiff contends termination

prior to hearing violates his due process rights, especially

since, in his case, he was without benefits for nearly a year

since termination. As such, the first additional procedure

suggested is an immediate review, or, the imposition of a pre-

termination hearing.

Second, Plaintiff argues the SSA violated his due process

rights by failing to consider medical evidence demonstrating

he was disabled. See Mot. at 7:27-8:11. As such, Plaintiff

appears to suggest requiring a mandatory review of medical

evidence, even when termination is based on non-medical

grounds. The Court, in keeping with the Matthews factors,

considers the probative value of both additional procedures in

turn below.

a. Immediate Review by ALJ and/or Pre-Termination

Hearing

In determining a pre-termination hearing was not required

for the social security procedures to comport with due

process, the Matthews Court found that in the context of

administering social security disabi'ity benefits, a hearing was

not required to effectively establish eligibility because evi-

dence was more amendable to written, as opposed to oral,

presentations. See Matthews, 424 U.S. at 343-44, n.28;

compare Goldberg, 397 U.S. at 269 (folding written presen-

37a

tations wholly unsatisfactory where criteria for eligibility

included witness credibility amid veracity).

Here, Plajntiff does not assert the SSA failed to give him

time to submit written presentations as to why benefits should

not be terminated before the benefits were in fact terminated..

Plaintiff further does not provide that had he followed the

procedure available, namely submitting written presentations

as to eligibility, the procedure would have been insufficient.

Instead, the record seems to indicate otherwise. According to

Defendant, Plaintiff was sent a Notice of Proposed Decision

to terminate, with instructions stating he could submit further

evidence for consideration within ten (10) days, See Worms

Decl., Exh. 2. Plaintiff’s counsel did in fact review the file

after receipt of notice, but did not make further submissions.

See id. a4 5.

There is no evidence showing that had he submitted the

medical evidence establishing disability, the SSA would have

decided not to terminate benefits. However, by having failed

to submit written presentations when afforded the oppor-

tunity, Plaintiff is unable to demonstrate that the criteria for

eligibility in the administration of disability benefits was not

amenable to written presentations. Moreover, with the

declarations of Plaintiff and doctors Plaintiff does submit,

Plaintiff appears to support the Matthews Court decision that

the criteria in determining eligibility to disability benefits is

easily documented. In light of this finding, the Court fails to

see why either an immediate appeal or a pre-termination

hearing would have any probative impact on the process

already in place, even as applied to Plaintiff.

b. Review Medical Evidence Before Termination on

SGA Basis

Defendant counters the procedures taken by it were in

compliance with terminations based on non-medical reasons,

such as terminations based on a finding of SGA. See Mot.

38a

Opp. at 14:9-45:4. Plaintiff does not dispute the procedures

followed by Defendant in Processing the appeal complied

with terminations for non-medical reasons, only arguing

Defendant knew Plaintiff was still disabled yet failed to

consider medical evidence before terminating benefits. See

Plaintiff's Reply. Opposition to Cross Motion (“Mot. Rep.”)

at 2:15-3:9.

As determined before, the Court finds Plaintiff failed to

frame a due process violation,’ but instead raises the issue of

whether current SSA regulations require medical evidence to

be taken into account before termination of his benefits on a

non-medical basis. Plaintiff's argument requires an analysis

of current SSA regulations and their applicability in his case,

and does not raise a constitutional issue. See July Order at

9:9-11:2.

Moreover, wrongful termination of benefits does not

constitute a violation of due process, even if there is evidence

the officers reviewing the criteria intentionally ignored

pertinent evidence establishing eligibility. See Schweiker, 487

U.S. at 418, 428-29. As such, the Court could not find the

failure to consider medical evidence before terminating for

non-medical reasons constitutes a due process violation,

especially since the failure to consider evidence is not the

basis of a violation at all, according to Schweiker. The Court

” The Court, in its order, instructed that to state a due process claim that

the review of medical evidence prior to termination of Title II benefits is

Constitutionally required, Plaintiff would need to allege that a failure to

take such evidence into account is so unreasonable that it affords him no

process at all. See July Order at 9:10-16 (citing, among others, Bateson v.

Geisse, 857 F.2d 1300, 1303 (9th Cir.1988) (holding that “to establish a

violation of substantive due process, a plaintiff is ordinarily required to

prove that a challenged government action was ‘clearly arbitrary and

unreasonable, ordinarily required to prove that a challenged government

action was ‘clearly arbitrary and unreasonable, having no substantial

relation to the public health, safety, morals, or general welfare,’”)).

39a

therefore finds there is little or no p-obative value to requiring

the Defendant review medical records when terminating

benefits for non-medical reasons.

3. Governmental Interest/Impact of Additional Procedure

on Fiscal and Administrative Burdens

In Matthews, the Supreme Court determined the adminis-

trative burden and other societal, costs associated with

requiring a pre-termination hearing Would be great, giving

“substantial” weight to the judgments of those persons

administering disability benefits. See Matthews, 424 U.S. at

347. Plaintiff does not, with his motion; provide the Court

with any indication why it should depart from the findings of

the Matthews Court, not even arguing the third factor should

be analogized to the Goldberg Court’s discussion in the

context of administering welfare benefits.

Defendant, on the other hand, provides evidence the burden

on the administration and society would be no different, if not

greater, than when the Matthews Court made its determi-

nation. Specifically, Defendant submits evidence there were

an average of 998 requests for AU hearings in San Francisco

alone between March 2001, when Plaintiff requested a

hearing, and August 2001, when the ALT scheduled and

heard the appeal. See Hong Decl. at ¥ 5. In addition, there was

an average wait of 244 days between requesting a hearing and

actually being heard. See id. As such, and according to

Defendant, by requiring a pre-termination hearing, costs

would be increased significantly and claimants waiting for

review might be adversely affected.

The Court finds Defendant’s arguments persuasive, Indeed,

there are a large number of claimants seeking hearings. The

cost of providing benefits until a hearing is had for each of

the claimants seeking review would be high as other

claimants waiting for review would be delayed further. This

is especially true where, as here, Plaintiff has not established

40a

his interests affected were greater than that of the Matthews

plaintiff, and that anything could be gained by the additional

procedures suggested. Compare Goldberg, 397 U.S. at 266

(finding where termination of welfare benefits involved, the

interest in conserving costs failed to override the impact of

terminating benefits, and the value of oral presentations in

assessing eligibility).

4. Other Grounds

a. Notices

Plaintiff further argues that the notices issued by the SSA

were unconstitutionally vague. As with the argument above,

Plaintiff made this argument earlier and the Court rejected it

See July Order at 8:25-9:8. The Court, therefore, again finds

this argument without merit.

b. Misrepresentations

Plaintiff alleges the SSA intentional misrepresented various

SSA rules and procedures concerning Medicare coverage and

the “Ticket to Work” provisions in depositions, briefing

submitted and at hearings in connection with this action. See

Mot. at 8:20-9:16. The Court is unclear how misrepresen-

tations, if any made, by the SSA in connection with this

action interfered with Plaintiff's due process rights as he was

represented, and he obtained an ALJ hearing within five

months of his request. On this ground, therefore, the Court

finds Defendant had not violated Plaintiff's due process

rights.

5. Conclusion

After careful consideration of the factors articulated in

Matthews, the Court is unable to see how Plaintiff is in a

situation different from any of the other thousands of recip-

ients of disability benefits, so much so that the application of

normal administrative procedures would violate his due proc-

ess rights when the Supreme Court has already determined

4la

that the exact same procedures comport with due process. It

also is not persuaded that the imposition of deadlines for ALJ

hearing, the imposition of a pre-pre-termination hearing, or

the requirement that the SSA review medical evidence prior

to termination for non-medical reasons would have any

impact on the system in play.

The Court makes these findings without diminishing the

difficulty Plaintiff claims to have faced during the termi-

nation. Indeed, it is aware, having been advised, Plaintiff

incurred credit card debt, borrowed money from friends and.

family just to survive, feared losing his home, and had to

terminate medical care with his preferred physician. The

same considerations have been considered by other courts

which have upheld the constitutionality of these very same

procedures. Indeed, the Supreme Court in Schweiker put it

best when it determined:

[T]hat suffering months of delay in receiving the income

on which one has depended for the very necessities of

life cannot be fully remedies by the “belated restoration

of benefits.” The trauma to respondents; and thousands

of others like them, must surely have gone beyond what

anyone of normal sensibilities would wish to see

imposed on innocent disabled citizens. Nor would we

care to “trivialize” the nature of he wrongs alleged in

this case. Congress, however; has addressed the prob-

lems created by state agencies’ wrongful termination of

disability benefits. Whether or not we believe that its

response was the best response, Congress is the body

charged with making the inevitable compromises re-

quired in the design of a massive and complex welfare

benefits program. Congress has discharged that

responsibility to the extent that it affects the case before

us, and we see no legal basis that would allow us to

revise its decision.

Schweiker, 487 U.S. at 428-29.

42a

Because Plaintiff fails to establish he is entitled to

judgment as a matter of law, the Court finds Plaintiff does not

prevail on his due process claim. Rather, Defendant succeeds

in demonstrating the process, as currently administered,

protects the due process rights of all, including Plaintiff

Accordingly, Plaintiffs motion is DENTED, and Defendant’s

motion is GRANTED.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Court DENIES Plaintiff’s

motion for summary judgment; and GRANTS Defendants’

cross-motion. Plaintiffs prayer for relief, including the request

pursuant to the BAJA, is DENIED.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Dated October 16, 2002

/s/ Martin J. Jenkins

MARTIN J. JENKINS

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

43a

EXHIBIT 14

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

[Filed July 03, 2002}

No. C 01-0895 MJJ (JL)

DISCOVERY ORDER

TIMOTHY GIBLER,

Plaintiff,

Vv.

Jo ANNE B. BARNHART,

Commissioner of the Social Security Administration,

INTRODUCTION

Plaintiff Timothy Gibler’s Motion to Compel the Produc-

tion of Documents and Depositions' [Document Num-

ber 57 on the court’s docket] came on for hearing June 26,

2002. Steven Bruce appeared on behalf of Plaintiff. Geralyn

Gulseth appeared on behalf of Defendant, Jo Anne Barnhart,

Commissioner of Social Security, (“Defendant”). The court

heard oral argument and took the matter under submission.

BACKGROUND

I. Facts

Plaintiff is an individual with a severe psychiatric disorder

who has been receiving benefits under Title II of the Social

' There was also a request to shorten time in order for the motion to be

heard prior to the hearing on the motions for summary judgment. The

district court vacated the hearing date, which mooted the request to

shorten time, which is therefore denied.

44a

Security Act since 1979. While he was receiving benefits, Mr.

Gibler underwent several continuing disability reviews by

doctors contracted by the State Agency whose role, pursuant

to the Social Security Act, is to conduct medical evaluations

ensuring claimants remain disabled within the meaning of the

Act.

On January 15, 2000, Plaintiff filled out a form entitled

“Report of Work Activity-Continuing Disability”, where he

for the first time reported his sporadic paid work singing for

church choirs. He had been singing for the choirs since

October 1979. On July 26, 2000, the Social Security Admini-

stration (“SSA”) provided Gibler with a “Notice of Proposed

Decision” that his reported work could affect his benefits and

that he had ten days in which to provide more information

before a final decision and Notice of Termination. Gibler

contends, and the Acting Commissioner does not dispute, that

Gibler’s medical record was not taken into account in

reaching this determination. In December 2000 Plaintiff did

not receive his benefits check, and his attorney filed a Re-

quest for Reconsideration even though no Notice of

Termination had been issued. At that time, Gibler requested

that he continue receiving benefits. His request was denied.

Gibler, through his attorney, contacted staff in multiple de-

partments of the SSA during January and February 2001, to

request reinstatement of his benefits and a medical exami-

nation to evaluate his continuing disability, but neither was

forthcoming. On February 13, 2001, Gibler received a notice

informing him that he no longer qualified for Social Security

benefits due to his work activity, and that his benefits were

discontinued retroactive to March 1988. (Defendant’s Oppo-

sition to Plaintiff's Motion to Compel, pg. 2.). On August 30,

2001, the Administrative Law Judge (“AU”) affirmed Social =

Security’s finding that Plaintiffs disability had ceased in

January 1988 due to his work activity, (Defendant’s Oppo-

sition to Plaintiff's Motion to Compel,_pg. 2, lines 4-5).

uy

45a

II. Procedural History

On March 2001, Plaintiff filed a petition for Writ of

Mandamus, alleging that Defendant violated Plaintiff's due

process rights Under the Fifth Amendment of the United

States Constitution by failing to hold a hearing prior to the

termination of his disability benefits. Goldberg v. Kelly, 397

U.S. 254, 275 (1:978.) However, the court in Goldberg held

that the Due Process Clause requires that a recipient be af-

forded an adequate evidentiary hearing before the termination

of welfare benefits, and the fact that there is a subsequent

constitutionally fair p: ceeding does riot alter the result. /d. at

260. The Goldberg holding is restricted to welfare benefits, as

distinguished from disability benefits. /d.

In May 2001, the Defendant moved to dismiss the petition

for lack of subject matter jurisdiction. At that point, the

Defendant had denied Plaintiff's request for reconsideration,

but Plaintiff had not yet exhausted his administrative reme-

dies through the hearing and Appeals Council level of

administrative review. 20 C.F R. §§ 404.900, et.seq. (2001).

The district court (Hon. Martin J. Jenkins) denied the

Defendant’s motion to dismiss for lack of subject matter

jurisdiction on July 11, 2001. The court found no basis for

mandamus jurisdiction. The court also determined that it did

not have jurisdiction over Plaintiff's substantive claim for

past or present Social Security benefits. (Defendant’s Oppo-

sition to Plaintiff’s Motion to Compel, pg. 2, line 12).

However, the court found that Plaintiff had raised a

colorable constitutional issue that the delay in obtaining a

hearing violated his due process rights. The court did not rule

on the issue of whether the SSA’s scheme for review of a

work activity cessation was unconstitutional as applied to

Plaintiff.

In July 2001, Plaintiff moved for declaratory and pre-

liminary injunctive relief. The Defendant opposed Plaintiffs

46a

motion and informed the court that Plaintiff*s claim was still

pending before an ALJ at the hearing level of review. (De-

fendant’s Opposition to Plaintiffs Motion to Compel, pg. 2).

On August 10, 2001, the court denied Plaintiff's motion for

declaratory and preliminary injunctive relief. However, the

court found that the scheduled hearing did not render

Plaintiff's due process claim “moot”, because Plaintiff could

legitimately contend that his due process rights had already

been violated by the delay in obtaining a hearing and by the

fact that the AU did not address all of his claims. (Defen-

dant’s opposition to Plaintiff's Motion to Compel, pg. 2, lines

20-28).

After the court denied injunctive and declaratory relief, the

All held a hearing on August 27, 2001, and issued a decision

on August 30, 2001. (See Exhibit | of Plaintiff's Motion for

Relief From the Judgment). The All’s decision was mostly

favorable to Plaintiff. First, the AU affirmed Social Security’s

finding that Plaintiffs disability had indeed ceased in January

1988 due to his work activity. However, the AU found that

Plaintiff became disabled again in January 1991 and that he

continued to be disabled through the date of the August 2001

decision. Thus, Plaintiff was entitled to all of the benefits he

had received since January 1991, as well as continuing bene-

fits and Medicare coverage. Furthermore, the AU waived

recovery of the overpayment of benefits resulting from Plain-

ffs work activity for the years 1988, 1989, and 1990.

Therefore, Plaintiff did not have to repay the Social Security

Administration for the benefits he received during those

years.

In Defendant’s Opposition to Plaintiff's Motion to Compel,

Defendant asserts that “there is no further remedy that can be

achieved by Plaintiff in this action because he has received

the only remedy provided by the Social Security ..ct:

retroactive benefits.” (Defendant’s opposition to Plaintiff's

Motion to Compel, pg. 4, lines 19- 21). Plaintiff argues that

47a

his monthly check is lower than it was before SSA cut off his

benefits. However, Plaintiff's dispute with the calculation of

benefits is not an issue before this court. The district court has

ruled that it has no jurisdiction over the substantive claims of

entitlement. (Defendant’s opposition to Plaintiffs Motion to

Compel, pg. 4, footnote 2.)

On November 8, 2001, the Clerk of the court entered a

judgment denying Plaintiff's motion for declaratory and

injunctive relief. Plaintiff moved for relief from the Clerk’s

entry of judgment pursuant to FRCP 60 and requested that

the court enter judgment in his favor.

The district court granted relief from the judgment on

January 11, 2002. The court explained that the Clerk had

erroneously entered judgment while the Plaintiff's due

process claim was still outstanding. However the court

denied Plaintiff’s motion to enter judgment in his favor and

denied his motion for attorney’s fees.

On February 14, 2002, Plaintiff moved for summary

judgment. The Defendant opposed the motion, and moved for

summary judgment on the due process claim on April 16,

2002. However, the hearing on these pending motions has

been postponed because Plaintiff claims that discovery is

necessary to flesh out his motion.

III. This Motion

On April 29, 2002, Plaintiff moved for an Order com-

pelling Defendant to produce nine depositions and two

documents (one cassette tape and one Notice of Award).

Specifically, plaintiff requests (1) to take the depositions of

nine Social Security employees, (2) a tape of his August 2001

hearing before the AU; and (3) a copy of the Notice of his

Award of benefits pursuant to the ALJ’s August 30, 2001

decision. (See C.R. 72-74: Plaintiff's Motion to Compel

Production of Documents tone Tape and Notice of Award)

48a

and the Taking of Depositions.?. The Defendant requests that

this court find that discovery is unnecessary at this time and

stay discovery until the District Court decides the parties’

pending cross- motions for summary judgment.

On May 30, 2002, the Assistant United States Attorney

Mailed a cassette tape of Plaintiff's August 30, 2001 adminis-

trative hearing to Plaintiff's counsel. In addition, pursuant to

the Privacy Act, Defendant provided documents related to

Plaintiff's Social Security claims, including in a Notice of

Award letter informing Plaintiff that his payments would

begin in August 2001. The only document withheld by De-

fendant was a privileged attorney-client communication.

Since the Tape, and Notice of-Award have been provided

to Plaintiff by Defendant, the only remaining issue before this

court is whether Defendant must produce the nine individuals

to testify about the proceedings leading up to the termination

of Plaintiff's Social Security benefits.

Plaintiff seeks to question the deponents as to:(1) why the

Social Security Administration (SSA) employees sent Mr.

Gibler’s file to Baltimore; (2) whether an Administrative Law

Judge has jurisdiction over due process issues; (3) whether

Defendant knew of Plaintiffs financial status at the time that

Plaintiff's benefits were terminated without a prior Goldberg

v. Kelly due process hearing.

Defendant opposes Plaintiffs motion to compel on the basis

of relevance. Defendant asserts that there-are no genuine

issues of material fact which require the nine depositions and

that, contrary to Plaintiff's contentions, the only remaining

issue in this case is whether the Plaintiffs due process rights

were violated by his having to wait for a post- termination of

benefits hearing before an ALJ. “Defendant claims that this is

an issue of law and does not involve disputed facts.

> “CLR.” is the Clerk’s record of documents filed in this case.

49a

As stated above, Defendant asserts that there are no further

remedies that can be obtained by Plaintiff in this action

because he has already received the only remedy provided by

the Social Security Act: retroactive benefits.’ Schweiker v.

Chilicky, 487 U.S. 412, 428- 429 (1988). Defendant further

asserts that under Schweiker there are no money damages

available for alleged constitutional violations committed by

the SSA. /d. At 112.

ANALYSIS

I. General Statement of the Law: Relevance of

Documents.

Under Fed. R. Civ.P. 26(B)(1), parties may obtain discov-

ery regarding any matter, not privileged, that is relevant to the

claim or defense of any party, including the existence, de-

scription, nature, custody, condition, and location of any

books, documents, or other tangible things, and the identity

and location of persons having knowledge of any discov-

erable matter. For good cause, the court may order discovery

of any matter relevant to the claims and defenses of a party.

Relevant information need not be admissible at trial if the

discovery appears reasonably calculated to lead to the dis-

covery of admissible evidence. FRCP 26(b)(1). This rule is

subject to limitations as provided in FRCP 26 (b)(2).

Under Rule 26(b)(2), although certain documents may be

relevant to the claims and defenses of both parties and are

reasonably calculated to lead to. the discovery of admissible

evidence, if the discovery sought is obtainable from some

other source that is “more convenient, less burdensome, or

’ The Commissioner has since paid Plaintiff his benefits for the

relevant period. See C.R.71. Plaintiff argues that his monthly benefit

amount is lower than it was before SSA terminated his benefits. Plaintiffs

Motion to Compel, p. 4. However, this dispute regarding the calculation

of benefits is not at issue before this court.

50a

less expensive”, then discovery should be obtained from that

source. FRCP 26(b)(2).

A) The Government has produced the Hearing Tape and

Notice of Award Letter.

The Tape and the Notice of Award letter sought to be

discovered by Plaintiff are relevant to the claims and defenses

of both parties. Both documents are reasonably calculated to

lead to the discovery of admissible evidence. The tape of the

hearing has been provided.

In Plaintiffs Reply he asserts that Defendant’s statement

that she has supplied the Notice of Award is misleading. The

benefits which resumed in August 2001 were not a result of

the hearing held on August 29, 2001, but were pursuant to

separate application filed in January, 2001. The original

Notice of Award is dated August 27, 2001 (two days before

the hearing of August 29, 2001 took place). In other words,

there may be two Notices of Award. Plaintiff contends that

the Notice of Award he received is defective, because it did

not explain how monthly fees were calculated, and therefore,

formed no objective basis for appeal. If such a second notice

exists, Plaintiff should be given the second Notice of Award

as well. It is so ordered.

B) Relevance of Nine Depositions.

1) Jurisdiction

This court has ruled that it has “no jurisdiction over Plain-

uff’s claim with regards to past and present Social Security

benefits”. (Defendant’s opposition to Plaintiff's Motion to

Compel, pg. 2, line 12). This court also declined to find juris-

diction over Plaintiff's claim that “SSA’s notices were inade-

quate.” (Defendant’s opposition to Plaintiff's Motion to

Compel, pg. 6). Consequently, any inquiry into these areas

would be Irrelevant.

Sla

2) Relevance

a) Whether the Depositions are Necessary and

Relevant to Determine Whether it was Proper

for the SSA to Send Plaintiff's File to Balti-

more, and Whether the SSA did so inten-

tionally and maliciously’.

Plaintiff argues that he must depose these employees to

show that the SSA allegedly “intentionally and maliciously”

sent his file to Baltimore for the reconsideration. C.R. 72- 74:

Motion to Compel, § 2-3, 7. Plaintiff also claims that the

employees deprived him of his right to a Goldberg v. Kelly

due process hearing.

Deiendant contends that whether its scheme of adminis-

trative review of violated Plaintiff's rights is a legal issue that

can be resolved without more discovery on the present record.

The potential deponents are: Donald Worms; and Curtis

Faville—claims representative; John Hanley supervisor

who handled the initial cessation review; Royce Hanley and

her supervisor in SSA’s Office of Central operations in

Baltimore, the individual who handled the reconsideration

review: AU Neil Aschemeyer—who heard Plaintiff's claim in

August 2001 and issued a mostly favorable decision); John

Larimore—an employee in the Congressional Unit in SSA’s

Regional Commissioner's office, whom Plaintiff's attorney

contacted during the initial stages of administrative review;

and Carolyn Goodwin—a SSA employee in Baltimore con-

tacted about administrative remedies available to Plaintiff.

(The Administrative Chief Judge of SSA’s Region IX, Arthur

Cahn, has no personal knowledge:of this case.) (Memo-

randum in Support of Defendant’s Motion to Stay Discovery

and in opposition to Plaintiff's Motion to Compel Discovery,

pg. 5).

Defendant asserts that testimony from the nine deponents is

not required to resolve the due process question. (Defendant’s

S2a

opposition to Plaintiffs Motion to Compel, pg. 6, lines 3-4).

Defendant states that the SSA employees complied with the

regulations for reviewing a benefit cessation based on work

activity. (Defendant’s opposition to Plaintiff's Motion to

Compel, pg. 6, lines 1-2). Moreover, Defendant asserts that

even if the SSA employees acted incorrectly, Plaintiff can

seek no further remedy because the only remedy provided by

the SSA is retroactive benefits, which Plaintiff has already

received. Schweiker v. Chilicky, 487 U.S. 412, 428- 429.

This court finds that Judge Jenkins may well be able to

decide the motions without the nine depositions requested by

Plaintiff. If not, the court may revisit the issue.

b) Whether Discovery of the Nine Depositions is

Necessary and Relevant to Determine if an

Administrative Law Judge has the Authority to

Adjudicate Due Process Issues.

Whether an All has the authority to adjudicate due process

issues is a question of law for the court to decide. Thus, dis-

covery of the nine deponents in this context is not necessary.

c) Whether Discovery of the Nine Depositions is

Necessary and Relevant to Determine Whether

SSA Employees Knew that Plaintiff was In-

digent and at Risk of Losing his Medical Care

when his Disability Benefits were Terminated.

Plaintiff argues that he needs to question these nine SSA

employees to determine whether they knew he was indigent

and at risk of losing his medical care when his disability

benefits were terminated. However, as Defendant argues, the

issue is not whether the Commissioner knew about Plaintiff’s

circumstances at the time Plaintiff's benefits were terminated,

but whether Plaintiff's due process rights were violated as a

result of the termination of his disability benefits.

53a

Plaintiff argues that he was not afforded a due process

hearing as required by Goldberg and that the nine depositions

are necessary to determine if his due process rights were

violated. A determination of whether Plaintiffs due process

rights were violated as a result of the termination of his

disability benefits can be derived from a review of the SSA

regulations and internal policy manual and the present record.

Specifically, 42 U.S.C.A. §§ 405 (b)(1) governs the proper

procedures that the SSA must follow when terminating an

individual’s disability benefits. As Defendant states in her

opposition to Plaintiff's Motion to Compel,” [T]he issue of

whether Commissioner’s scheme of administrative review of

Plaintiff’s benefit cessation violated his rights can be resolved

without discovery of the SSA decision-makers and their

supervisors who worked on or helped to effectuate Plaintiff's

administrative appeal.” (Defendant’s opposition to Plaintiff's

Motion to Compel, pg. 5, lines 13-14). The SSA regulations

and internal policy manual outline the current procedures to

terminate disability benefits. Review of the SSA regulations

and internal policy manual is “more convenient, less burden-

some, and less expensive” for both parties. FRCP 26(b)(2).

Thus, it is not necessary to take the nine depositions request-

ed regarding disability termination procedures.

The present administrative procedure is outlined in 42

U.S.C.A. § 405(b)(1), which states that “upon request by any

such individual .. . who makes a showing in writing that his

or her rights may be prejudiced by any decision the

Commissioner of Social Security has rendered, the Commis-

sioner shall give such applicant and such other individual

reasonable notice and an opportunity for a hearing with re-

spect. to such decision, and, if a hearing is held, shall, on the

basis of evidence adduced at the hearing, affirm, modify, or

reverse the Commissioner’s findings of fact and such de-

cision.” 42 U.S.C.A. § 405(b)(1).

S4a

Section 405(b)(1) was last am._.ided in 1994, and the sub-

stantive changes in 1994 within section 405(b)(1) do not

affect the requirement that an individual must be given

“reasonable notice and an opportunity for a hearing with re-

spect to the adverse decision”. 42 U.S.C.A. § 405(b)(1 ). In

October 2000 when Plaintiff's Social Security checks were

terminated, the 1994 version of § 405(b)(1) was controlling.

A review of 42 U.S.C.A. § 405(b)(1) along with SSA regu-

lations, SSA procedures, and the administrative record may

be the SSA internal policy manual sufficient to determine

whether Plaintiff's due process rights were violated by not

receiving a hearing. The nine depositions are not necessary at

this time to determine whether Plaintiff's due process rights

were violated.

Section 12:1 “Constitutional right to hearing” of the Social

Security Claims and Procedures states that “Both the Social

Security Act and the Due Process Clause of the Fifth

Amendment require that a claimant receive an opportunity to

personaily appear at a hearing, before a claim for disability

benefits is denied.” Harvey L. McCormick, Social Security

Claims and Procedures, Volume Two, § 12:1, pg. 3 (Fifth

Edition, West Group 1998). This suggests that a hearing may

be required before the termination of disability benefits. If so,

Plaintiff should have had a hearing prior to the termination of

his disability benefits. In any event, review of the SSA

regulations and internal policy manual is an adequate means

at this time for the court to assess whether Plaintiff's due

process rights were violated by not receiving a hearing prior

to the termination of his disability benefits without of the nine

depositions.

SUMMARY

Plaintiff alleges that his due process rights were violated

When his benefits were terminated. The court may determine

whether Plaintiffs due process rights were violated by

reviewing the Social Security Administration regulations and

5Sa

internal policy manual on the present record as suggested by

Defendant. The nine depositions are not necessary at this

time. The tape and Notice of Award have previously been

produced by Defendant. If there is an additional Notice of

Award, it shall be produced forthwith. Otherwise, Plaintiff's

motion to compel is denied without prejudice. Defendant’s

motion to stay further discovery is granted.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

DATED: July 2, 2002

/s/ James Larson

JAMES LARSON

United States magistrate Judge

S6a

United States District Court for the

Northern District of California

July 2, 2002

* * CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE * *

Case Number: 3:01-cv-00895

GILBER

Vs

HALTER

I, the undersigned, hereby certify that | am an employee in

the office of the Clerk, U.S. District Court, Northern District

of California.

That on July 2, 2002, 1 SERVED a true and correct

copy(ies) of the attached, by placing said copy(ies) in a

postage paid envelope addressed to the person(s) hereinafter

listed, by depositing said envelope in the U.S. Mail, or by

placing said copy(ies) into an inter-office delivery receptacle

located in the Clerk’s office.

STEVEN BRUCE, Esq.

People With Disabilities Foundation

507 Polk Street, Mezzanine

San Francisco, CA 94102

ALEX G. TSE, Esq.

U.S. Attorney’s office

450 Golden Gate Avenue

P.O. Box 36055

San Francisco, CA 94102

RICHARD W. WIEKING, Clerk

BY:

Deputy Clerk

57a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

[Filed Aug. 5, 2002]

CASE NO. C 01-0895 MJJ (JL)

TIMOTHY GIBLER,

Plaintiff,

VS.

Jo ANNE B. BARNHART,

Commissioner of Social Security Administration,

Defendant.

ORDER CONFIRMING STIPULATION TO

CORRECTION OF DISCOVERY ORDER

DATED JULY 3, 2002

Whereas Plaintiff and Defendant have reviewed Plaintiff's

letter of July 16, 2002 relating to a clerical error in said Order

hereby stipulate as follows:

On line 9 of page 2 “. . . where he for the first time reported

his sporadic paid work singing for church choirs,” is deleted,

and the following is inserted therein: “As the Administrative

Law Judge found in his decision dated August 30, 2001, Mr.

Gibler reported his earnings.

Dated: 7/29/02 Dated: 7/31/02

/s/ Steven Bruce /s/ Alex G. Tse

STEVEN BRUCE ALEX G. TSE

Attorney for Plaintiff Attorney for Defendant

IT IS SO ORDERED:

DATED: 8-5-02

/s/ James Larson

HONORABLE JAMES LARSON

Magistrate Judge of the

District Court

59a

United States District Court

for the

Northern District of California

August 5, 2002

* * CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE * *

Case Number: 3:01-cv-00895

GILBER,

VS.

HALTER.

|, the undersigned, hereby certify that I am an employee in

the office of the Clerk, U.S. District Court, Northern District

of California.

That on August 5, 2002, I SERVED a true and correct copy-

(ies) of the attached, by placing said copy(ies) in a postage

paid envelope addressed to the person(s) hereinafter listed, by

depositing said envelope in the U.S. Mail, or by placing said

copy(ies) into an inter-office delivery receptacle located in

the Clerk's office.

Steven Bruce, Esq.

People With Disabilities Foundation

507 Polk Street, Mezzanine

San Francisco, CA 94102

Alex G. Tse, Esq.

U.S. Attorney's Office

450 Golden Gate Avenue

P.O. Box 36055

San Francisco, CA 94102

Richard W. Wieking, Clerk

By: /s/ [Illegible]

Deputy Clerk

60a

EXHIBIT 15

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

[Filed Jul 11, 2001]

No. C 01-0895 MJJ

TIMOTHY GIBLER,

Petitioner.

va

LARRY G. MASSANARI, Acting Commissioner

of the Social Security Administration

Respondent.

ORDER DENYING RESPONDENT’S MOTION

TO DISMISS FOR LACK OF SUBJECT

MATTER JURISDICTION

INTRODUCTION

Before the Court is Respondent Larry G. Massanari’s,'

Acting Commissioner of the Social Security Administration

(“the Acting Commissioner”), motion to dismiss Petitioner

Timothy Gibler’s (“Gibler’) petition for a writ of mandamus

for lack of subject matter Jjurisdiction. Having considered the

moving papers and the arguments of counsel at the hearing on

this matter, and for the reasons set forth below, the Court

DENIES the’Acting Commissioner’s motion to dismiss.

' Larry G. Massanari became the Acting Commissioner of Social

Security on January 20, 2001. He was therefore substituted for former

Acting Commissioner. William Halter, the original respondent in this suit,

pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 25(d)(1).

6la

Although Petitioner has failed to exhaust administrative rem-

edies, this Court has jurisdiction because Gibler has raised a

colorable Constitutional claim of Due Process violation.

FACTUAL BACKGROUND

Gibler received social security benefits under Title II of the

Social Security Act (hereinafter “the Act”) from on or about

1979 until December, 2000; because of a severe psychiatric

disorder. Since 1979, he has undergone several continuing

disability reviews performed by doctors contracted by the

state agency to determine if he is still disabled within the

meaning of am Act. On January 15, 2000, Gibler filled out a

form entitled “Report of Work Activity-Continuing Dis-

ability,” where he reported sporadic paid work activity

involving singing for church choirs. On July 26, 2000, the

Social Security Administration (“SSA”) provided Gibler with

a Notice of Proposed Decision to inform him. that his

reported work could affect his benefits and that he had ten

days in which to * provide more information before a final

decision and Notice of Termination. Gibler contends, and the

Acting Commissioner does not dispute, that Gibler’s medical

record was not taken into account in making this deter-

mination. In December, 2000, Gibler did not receive a social

security check, and his attorney filed a Request for Recon-

sideration even though no Notice of Termination had been

issued. At that time Gibler requested that he be kept on check

status pending appeal, but was not.

Gibler, through his attorney, contacted staff in multiple

departments of the SSA during January and February, 2001,

and requested that he remain on check status and have a

medical examination to evaluate his continuing disability, but

neither was forthcoming. On February 13, 2001, Gibler

received a notice informing him that he no longer qualified

for social security benefits because of his work, and that he

was not entitled to payment retroactive to March, 1988. This

letter also informed Gibler of his right to appeal the decision

62a

within 60 days and/or file a new application. Gibler’s

challenge to this decision was denied at the reconsideration

level on March 23, 2001, and he has requested an Admin-

istrative Law Judge (“ALJ”) hearing to appeal the decision. In

April 2001, Gibler requested that he be reinstated to check

status pursuant to the Ticket to Work and Work Incentives

Improvement Act of 1999 (hereinafter “Ticket to Work Act”),

42 U.S.C. § 1320b-19, and its expedited reinstatement pro-

visions included in 42 U.S.C. 423(1). He was deemed

ineligible for expedited reinstatement because his request did

not come within 60 months of termination (because his

benefits were terminated retroactively to 1988), and because

the provision was not in effect at the time his benefits were

terminated. See Resp.’s Motion to Dismiss Ex. 3. According

to operating instructions distributed to SSA workers on

December 29, 2001, the expedited reinstatement provisions of

the Ticket to Work Act went into effect January 1, 2001 and

apply to former Title II and Title XVI beneficiaries who had

their benefits terminated based on work and file a request for

-reinstatement within 60 months of termination. See Pet. for

Writ of Mandamus, Ex. 3.

Gibler has since filed a new application for benefits which

has been tentatively approved by the SSA since February

2001, and his request for a hearing with an AU is pending

while the SSA consolidates his claims files. Since the

termination of his benefits, Gibler has been taken off Medi-

care and is unable to continue seeing his treating psychiatrist.

He has sought treatment at county facilities to ward off

psychiatric decompensation.

Gibler seeks a writ of mandamus from this Court ordering

a medical termination review to determine his eligibility for

benefits as well as reinstatement to check status pending

appeal. He contends that this Court has subject matter

jurisdiction pursuant to 8 U.S.C. § 1329 (jurisdiction over all

63a

causes arising under Title II of the Social. Security Act),” 28

U.S.C. § 1361 (jurisdiction to compel an officer of the United

states to perform a duty owed to the petitioner) and 28 U.S.C.

§ 1331 (federal question jurisdiction). The Acting Com-

missioner has moved to dismiss the petition for a writ of

mandamus under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 12(b)(1) for

lack of subject matter jurisdiction, arguing that Gibler has

failed to exhaust available administrative remedies within the

SSA as required by 28 U.S.C. § 1361 and that he has not

raised a colorable Constitutional Due Process claim to invoke

jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1331.

LEGAL STANDARD

A motion brought under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure

12(b)(1) seeks dismissal of the plaintiff s complaint for lack of

subject matter jurisdiction. “Unlike a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, a

Rule 12(b)(1) motion can attack the substance of a com-

plaint’s jurisdictional allegations despite their formal suf-

ficiency, and in so doing rely on affidavits or any other

evidence properly before the court.” St. Clair v. City Chico,

880 F.2d 199, 201 (9th Cir. 1989). Because federal courts are

presumptively without jurisdiction in civil matters, the burden

of proving the Court’s authority to consider a case rests on

the party asserting jurisdiction. See Kokkonen v. Guardian

Life Ins. Co. of America, 114 S. Ct. 1673, 1675 (1994).

2 8 U.S.C. § 1329 states in pertinent part that: “The district courts of

the United States shall have jurisdiction of all causes, civil and criminal,

brought by the United States that arise under the provisions of this

subchapter. . . . Nothing in this section shall be construed as providing

jurisdiction for suits against the United States or its agencies or officers.”

Under its express terms, 8 U.S.C. § 1329 is not a valid basis for

jurisdiction in a claim against the Acting Commissioner of the Social

Security Administration, and will not be discussed further.

64a

ANALYSIS

A. Failure to Exhaust Administrative Procedure and

Waiver for Jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. 1361

Under 42 U.S.C. § 405(g), the Act provides the sole

jurisdictional basis for judicial review of administrative

actions concerning benefits claims, and judicial review is

available only where the Commissioner has issued a final

decision after a hearing to which claimant is a party.

Schweiker v. Chilicky, 487 U.S. 412, 424 (1988) (emphasis

added); see also 42 U.S.C. 405(g). Therefore, a court

generally does not have jurisdiction when a claimant has

failed to exhaust the administrative procedures set forth in the

Act. Bass v. Social Security Administration, 872 F.2d 832,

833 (9th Cir. 1989). Further, a writ of mandamus is intended

to provide a remedy for a petitioner “only if he has exhausted

all other avenues of relief, and only if the respondent owes

him a clear nondiscretionary duty.” Laurie Q. v. Callahan,

973 F. Supp. 925, 933 (N.D. Cal. 1997) (quoting Heckler v.

Ringer, 466 U.S. 602, 616 (1984)). Here, the Court holds that

Gibler has not exhausted all administrative remedies and has

not met the requirements for a waiver of the exhaustion

requirement.

1. Failure to Exhaust

Gibler has not exhausted all administrative remedies within

the SSA for his challenge of the cessation of his benefits in

December, 2000 based on work, or for his demand for rein-

statement of benefits. According to a letter from Gibler’s

attorney to this Court dated April 3, 2001, this case was not

filed pursuant to Procedural Rule 16-I(e) after a final deci-

sion by the SSA, but was instead .fled as a writ of mandamus

before final administrative action based on Constitutional and

other grounds.

Although Gibler has initiated a request for a hearing before

an ALJ to challenge the cessation of benefits in December,

65a

2000, this request is pending while the SSA consolidates his

claims and there has been no final decision on this issue. See

Bash, 872 F.2d at 833 (holding that a decision is not the final

decision of the Secretary until after a decision by the appeals

council following a hearing before an ALJ. Additionally,

Gibler has not yet challenged the denial of reinstatement

based on the SSA’s interpretation of the expedited reinstate-

ment provisions of the Ticket to Work Act within the SSA’s

appeal framework.’ Thus, Gibler has not exhausted all avail-

able agency procedures. See Sims v. Apfel, 530 U.S.103, 108

(2000) (finding that without a final decision, a claimant

cannot obtain judicial review because he has failed to exhaust

administrative remedies). Because he has not met the

exhaustion requirement, it is unnecessary for this Court to

reach the issue of whether the Acting Commissioner owed

Gibler a clear, nondiscretionary duty to take his medical

disability into account when discontinuing benefits and to

continue the payment of benefits during appeal.

2. Waiver of the Exhaustion Requirement

In some cases, courts may waive the exhaustion require-

ment and assert jurisdiction because “cases may arise where a

claimant’s interest in having a particular issue resolved is so

great that deference to the agency’s judgement is inappro-

priate.” Cassim v. Bowen, 824 F.2d 791, 795 (9th Cir. 1987)

(quoting Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319, 330 (1976)).

Judicial waiver of the exhaustion requirement is proper only

if the claim at issue is: “(1) collateral to” a substantive claim

* The Acting Commissioner concedes that “it is not clear at this

juncture whether a viable administrative remedy concerning the denial of

expedited reinstatement is available.” Resp.’s Motion to Dismiss 6:16-17.

However, it appears to the Court that the denial of the expedited rein-

statement request is an initial determination subject to further adminis-

trative review. See 20 C.F.R. § 404.902(b) (stating that initial determina-

tions are determinations-made subject to administrative and judicial

review and include determinations about reentitlement to benefits).

66a

of entitlement (collaterality), (2) colorable in its showing that

refusal of the relief sought will cause an injury which

retroactive payments can not remedy (irreparability),’ and (3)

one whose resolution would not serve the purposes of

exhaustion (futility).” Briggs, 886 F.2d at 1139 (quoting Bass,

872 F.2d at 833); see also Mathews, 424 U.S. at 330-31;

Bowen v. City of New York, 476 U.S. 467, 483 (1986);

Cassim, 824 F.2d at 795. Gibler contends that he has met the

three-part test for judicial waiver of the exhaustion require-

ment, so jurisdiction should be exercised even if he has not

exhausted all available administrative remedies. However, the

Court cannot waive the exhaustion requirement because

Gibler’s claim is not wholly collateral to his underlying claim

for benefits, and exhaustion of administrative remedies would

not be futile.

a. Collaterality

In order to be collateral to a substantive claim of entitle-

ment, Gibler’s request for an order that the SSA reinstate him

to check status and perform a medical evaluation must not be

“inextricably intertwined” with his claim for social security

benefits. Hironymous v. Bowen, 800 F.2d 888, 894 (9th Cir.

1986). In Hironymous, the petitioner sought to overturn an

SSA determination of ineligibility based on his adjusted

resources. /d. The court found that “although granting a writ

would not result in an award of benefits, it would remove

from the Secretary’s consideration a substantive factor

immediately relevant” to the underlying claim. Jd. However,

in Briggs, 886 F.2d at 1139-40, it was determined that the

* The Ninth Circuit, in Cassim, appears to have initially interpreted this

factor of the exhaustion waiver under a “colorable Constitutional chal-

lenge” standard. 824 F.2d at 795. However, when the court later used the

three-part test in Briggs v. Sullivan, 886 F.2d 1132, 1139 (9th Cir. 1989),

it interpreted the second factor under an “irreparability” standard as

apparently contemplated by the Supreme Court in Mathews and followed

by courts thereafter.

—

67a

plaintiffs’ complaint, regarding suspension of social security

payments when their representatives could no longer serve

the role, was wholly collateral to the claimants’ substantive

benefits eligibility claim. The court reasoned that, because all

plaintiffs in the action were already deemed entitled to

benefits and the question remaining was to whom the benefits

should be paid, this issue was collateral to the Secretary’s

eligibility criteria. Jd. Thus, the case was not a claim of

“substantive eligibility for benefits.” /d.

Here, Gibler has been tentatively approved for benefits

status as of February, 2001, and does not have a claim of

eligibility pending with the SSA. Instead, he is challenging

the SSA determination that he was ineligible for benefits

from March, 1988 to February, 2001, and believes that medi-

cal evidence should have been taken into account in making

that determination. However, granting a writ reinstating

Gibler to check status pending appeal would remove from

consideration at the administrative level whether or not he

was eligible for expedited reinstatement of benefits under the

Ticket to Work Act. Likewise, granting a writ ordering a

medical examination to determine if cessation was proper as

of 1988 would also interfere with an agency determination of

Gibler’s underlying claim. The Court finds that, although his

request for reinstatement and a medical examination is not

inextricably intertwined with a current claim for benefits, it is

so closely related to his claim of substantive eligibility for

benefits from March, 1988 to February, 2001 that it is not

“wholly collateral.”

b. Irreparability

“A colorable showing of irreparable injury for the purposes

of waiver of the exhaustion requirement is one that is not

‘wholly insubstantial, immaterial, or frivolous.’” Briggs, 886

F.2d at 1140 (holding that a showing that denial of payment

would result in months without food or shelter meets “a far

higher standard than colorable”). Here, Carol Banyas, Gib-

68a

ler’s primary treating psychiatrist, stated that “there is a

substantial risk of decompensation during this time due to the

fact that he no longer has Medicare. His ability to function on

a day to day basis is at considerable risk . . . . It is clear that

he has a severe psychotic disorder and is in urgent need of

psychiatric treatment.” Banyas Decl. ¢ 5. Additionally,

Gibler’s attorney stated in a letter to John Larimore dated

December 20, 2000 that his client was about to become

homeless and had no money for rent or food. Pet. for Writ of

Mandamus Ex. 2. From these statements, the Court finds that

Gibler will likely suffer irreparable harm if social security

benefits continue to be denied.

c. Futility

Finally, this Court must determine whether Gibler’s claim

is one whose resolution “would not serve the purposes of

exhaustion.” Briges, 886 F.2d at 1139. In Briggs, the court

found that futility is satisfied where the claimant demon-

strates that “there [i]s nothing to be gained from permitting

the compilation of a detailed factual record, or from agency

expertise.” /d. at 1140 (quoting Cassim, 824 F.2d at 795).

Because of the dispute regarding the interpretation and ad-

ministration of the new Ticket to Work Act and its expedited

reinstatement provisions, this case would certainly benefit

from agency expertise. Additionally, the SSA has an interest

in making initial interpretations of the new provisions through

agency procedures and a hearing with an ALJ. The futility

requirement is therefore not met.

Here. Gibler has not exhausted his administrative remedies

within the SSA because he has a request for a hearing before

an ALJ currently pending. Additionally, he has not met the

three-part test for an exception to the exhaustion requirement

because his claim is not collateral to a substantive claim of

ci.gibility for benefits and exhaustion would not be futile.

Thus, the Court cannot exercise mandamus jurisdiction over

this claim pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1361.

69a

B. Constitutional Claims of Due Process Violation for

Jurisdiction under 281 J.S.C. § 1331

A colorable Constitutional claim of Due Process violation

is an exception to the jurisdictional limitations of the Act. See

Udd v. Massanari, 245 F.3d 1096, 1098-99 (9th Cir. 2001);

Evans v. Chater, 110 F.3d 1480, 1483 (9th Cir. 1997) (find-

ing that “the exception applies to any colorable constitutional

claim of due process violation that implicates a right either to

a meaningful opportunity to be heard or to seek reconsid-

eration of an adverse benefits determination”). The funda-

mental requisite of due process of law is the opportunity to be

heard at a meaningful time and in a meaningful manner.

Goldberg y. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254, 267 (1970). A challenge that

is not “wholly insubstantial, immaterial, or frivolous” raises a

colorable Constitutional claim. Boettcher v. Secret of Health

and Human Services, 759 F.2d 719, 722 (9th Cir. 1985).

Gibler alludes to several possible Constitutional Due Proc-

ess violations in his Petition for Writ of Mandamus and in his

Reply to Respondent's Motion to Dismiss. First, he contends

that the Notice of Termination dated February 20, 2001

violates Due Process and the Social Security Act and

regulations because it did not take into account his medical

impairments to determine if he was capable of engaging in

substantial gainful activity. Second, Gibler contends that Due

Process is further violated because the procedures in place for

contesting the SSA’s determination of ineligibility through an

All hearing, as applied to him, do not comport with Due

Process because they force him to risk psychiatric decom-

pensation pending review. Third, Gibler states that Due

Process has been violated because the three notices he

received are unconstitutionally vague. At oral argument,

Gibler also introduced the possibility that Due Process was

violated when the SSA failed to reinstate him to benefits

status pursuant to the Ticket to work Act. Based on the entire

record and arguments presented during oral argument, the

70a

Court finds that Gibler’s challenge of the timing of his ALJ

hearing in light of his potential decompensation is the only

colorable Due Process claim sufficient to afford this Court

jurisdiction.

1. Notices Unconstitutionally Vague

The Court finds no merit in the contention that the notices

Gibler received, retroactively cutting off his benefits, are

unconstitutionally vague because they do not state that

medical evidence was used in the determinations and do not

state whether Gibler was terminated because of employment

or self-employment. The notices state when and why Gibler

was terminated, as well as information on how to appeal and

file a new application. Therefore, they provide an opportunity

to be heard in a meaningful time and in a meaningful manner;

the essence of Due Process. Boettcher, 759 F.2d at 723 (citing

Mathews, 424 U.S. at 333). Additionally, before receiving

these notices Gibler received a Notice of Proposed Decision

dated July 27, 2000.in-which the information the SSA

considered in making the adverse determination is listed in

detail. Thus, Gibler could adequately challenge the adverse

determination based on the entirety of the information

provided by the SSA. His allegation of vague notices is not a

colorable’ Due Process claim.

2. Review of Medical Evidence before Termination

In order to make a colorable claim that the review of

medical evidence prior to termination of Title II benefits is

Constitutionally required, Gibler would need to allege that a

failure to take such evidence into account is so unreasonable

that it affords him no process at all. See Patel v. Penman, 103

F.3d 868, 874 (9th Ch.. 1996) (quoting Bateson v. Geisse, 857

F.2d 1300, 1303 (9th Cir.1988) (holding that “to establish a

violation of substantive due process, a plaintiff is ordinarily

required to prove that a challenged government action was

‘clearly arbitrary and unreasonable, having no substantial

: Tla

relation to the public health, safety, morals, or general wel-

fare.’”)). Gibler, however, simply argues that the Act and its

regulations require the SSA to take medical evidence into

account, and that failure to do so amounts to a Due Process

violation. This argument fails to frame a colorable claim of

Due Process violation. Instead it raises the issue of whether or

not current SSA regulations required medical evidence to be

taken into account before termination of his benefits, and

requires an analysis of current SSA regulations and their ap-

plicability in his case. Therefore, his claim should be resolved

by an ALI and not by this Court.

Gibler asserts that the decision to terminate his benefits

without a medical evaluation is a Due Process violation

because it does not follow Social Security Regulations

(“SSRs”) currently in place. He relies on Han v. Bowen, 882

F.2d 1453 (9th Cir. 1989) to demonstrate that SSRs inter-

preting the Act or its regulations are binding on the SSA,

including ALJs. Gibler cites SSR 82-66 “Establishing a

Cessation-Date in a Continuing Disability Claim” and SSR

83-34 “Determining Whether work is Substantial Gainful

Activity,” among others, to show that the SSRs were violated

by the termination of Gibler’s benefits and the lack of

medical review. Gibler cites Barker v. Secretary of Health

and Human Services, 882 F.2d 1474 (9th Cir. 1989); where

the court held that the ability to perform sheltered work

activity does not establish an ability to engage in substantial

gainful work. He also relies on Lopez v. Heckler, 713 F.2d

1432, 1434 (9th Cir.1983), which states that “before Social

Security disability benefits can be terminated on the ground

that the recipient is no longer disabled, the Secretary must

introduce evidence that the recipient’s medical condition has

improved.” ;

However, whether or not medical information should have

been taken into account in Gibler’s case, based on current

SSRs, is a factual argument that can and should be made first

72a

in front of an ALJ The Acting Commissioner contends that

Gibler’s benefits were not terminated because of a change in

continuing disability that would allow him to perform

substantial gainful activity, but because he completed a “trial

work period” of more than nine months.” See generally 20

C.F.R. § 404.1592. Thus, the SSRs and cases cited by Gibler

do not appear to apply to his case. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1592(a)

states that “the trial work period is a period during which you

may test your ability to work and still be considered disabled.

... During this period you may perform ‘services’ . . . [A]fter

the trial work period has ended we will consider the work you

_ did during the trial work period in determining whether your

disability ended at any time after the trial work period.” 20

C.F.R. § 404.1592(b) goes on to define services as “any

activity (whether legal or illegal), even though it is not

substantial gainful activity, which is done in employment or

self-employment for pay or profit.” (emphasis added). While

the SSA might need to take medical information into account

in determining whether a claimant has performed substantial

gainful activity, Gibler’s argument that the SSA is bound by

the same standard in this case appears to be incorrect because

a trial work period need not include substantial gainful

activity.

Because Gibler has failed to frame a colorable Due Process

claim stemming from the denial of a medical evaluation prior

to termination of benefits, but instead raises a factual question

regarding the applicability and interpretation of specific

* Gibler has provided the Court with an earnings record reflecting the

amount he earned during the months from September 1983 to July 2000,

including those found by the SSA to be a “trial work period.” Although

the Court notes the varied amounts of Gibler’s earnings, the issue of

whether Gibler has completed a “trial work period” based on these

earnings is not before this Court and should be presented to an AL as part

of a challenge to the determination of ineligibility.

73a

portions of the Act and its regulations, there is no basis for

the Court to assert jurisdiction over this claim.

3. Reinstatement Pursuant to the Ticket to Work Act

“Gibler also appears to contend that the SSA’s failure to

reinstate him to benefits status pursuant to the Ticket to Work

Act and its expedited reinstatement provisions, or to afford

him an avenue for appeal from a denial of reinstatement,

constitutes a Due Process violation. However, such allega-

tions have not been stated as colorable Constitutio

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.