Opposition Brief — Cardenas-Garcia v. Texas Tech University

Supreme Court brief2005

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Lf HX

( | JUL 6 - 2005

No. 04-1239 LOFFICE OF THE CLERK |

In the

Supreme Court of the United States

JAIME CARDENAS-GARCIA AND JAHAN RASTY,

Petitioners,

Vv.

TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY, ET AL.,

Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

GREG ABBOTT R. TED CRUZ

Attorney General of Texas Solicitor General

~~ ee Counsel of Record

First Assistant Attorney RANCE L. CRAFT

General Assistant Solicitor General

EDWARD D. BURBACH P.O. Box 12548

Deputy Attorney General Austin, Texas 78711

for Litigation (512) 936-1700

COUNSEL FOR RESPONDENTS

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

pe re ee ee ee i

pe PP eee Tree EVE ree rere iil

RC ree Tee rere Pe rT rere l

I Es aie 3 ck oo eee dw 0c knee a8 2

PRONE 10 TAI GRO PORMIOR oon occ cece sincvacs 5

I. The Question Regarding What Conduct Qualifies as

an “Adverse Employment Action” in a Title VII

Retaliation Claim Does Not Warrant Review. ..... 5 -

A. Petitioners Overstate the Extent of the Conflict. 5

B. The Difference Between the Fifth Circuit Rule

and the Majority Rule Exists More in Principle

ee go a acer lo aw kkees 11

C. The Court Has Recently Declined to Review

I, io oe ae tO ee hash eae a 17

II. The Question Whether Disproportionate Pay Raises

Qualify as “Adverse Employment Actions” ina Title

VII Discrimination Claim Does Not Warrant

a EE Pe Lee etE oey re rt eee err ee 18

ii

III. | Alternative Grounds for Affirmance Make This

Case an Inappropriate Candidate for Review. . 19

Comchusiom ... «is cana bbe oe eee 21

ili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Amro v. Boeing Co., 232 F.3d 790 (CA10 2000) .......... 14

Anderson v. Coors Brewing Co., 181 F.3d 1171

DE sch vluuadey hous veuset ares eens Raed ks 12

Aquilino v. Univ. of Kan., 268 F.3d 930 (CA10 2001) ....... 9

Beamon v. Marshall & Ilsley Trust Co.,

Nos. 04-1521 & 04-2263,

2005 WL 1399307 (CA7 June 15, 2005) .......... 5, 8,14

Becker v. Gannett Satellite Info. Network, Inc.,

10 Fed. Appx. 135 (CA4 2001) (per curiam) ............ 6

Berry v. Stevinson Chevrolet, 74 F.3d 980 (CA10 1996) ..... 9

Blum v. Bacon, 457 U.S. 132 (1982) ...........0ceeee0e 19

Brackman v. Fauquier County, 72 Fed. Appx. 887

a rn 6

Bradley v. Widnall, 232 F.3d 626 (CA8 2000) ............. 5

Brown v. Brody, 199 F.3d 446 (CADC 1999) ............. 14

Cardenas v. Massey, 269 F.3d 251 (CA3 2001) ........... 13

Corneveaux v. CUNA Mut. Ins. Group,

Pe CU I CD 6 nike cndandadndeecdavicbes 9

Davis v. Town of Lake Park, 245 F.3d 1232 (CA11 2001) . 7, 14

iV

Dayton Bd. of Educ. v. Brinkman, 433 U.S. 406 (1977) ..... 19

Dick v. Phone Directories Co., 397 F.3d 1256 (CA10 2005) .. 9

Dirusso v. Aspen Sch. Dist. No. 1, 123 Fed. Appx. 826

a ee re er Err ney eer ry 9

Dollis v. Rubin, 77 F.3d 777 (CAS 1995) .............008. 7

Duncan v. Manager, Dep’t of Safety, 397 F.3d 1300

EE a hi -954 Kn 4 ean ee eee one kd 5,9

Fairbrother v. Morrison, No. 03-9242-CV,

2005 WL 1389894 (CA2 June 14, 2005) ............ 5,14

Felton v. Polles, 315 F.3d 470 (CAS 2002) ............ 13, 14

Forkkio v. Powell, 306 F.3d 1127 (CADC 2002) ........ 6, 10

Gillis v. Ga. Dep’t of Corr., 400 F.3d 883 (CA11 2005)..... 18

Grube v. Lau Indus., Inc., 257 F.3d 723 (CA7 2001) ........ 8

Gu v. Boston Police Dep’t, 312 F.3d 6(CA1 2002) ......... 5

Gupta v. Fla. Bd. of Regents, 212 F.3d 571 (CA11 2000).... 12

Haddon v. Executive Residence at White House,

FAA Ce Re CE ED kb ot on keeskessaperseaer 16

Harrington v. Harris, 118 F.3d 359 (CAS 1997) ....... 15,18

Hashimoto v. Dalton, 118 F.3d 671 (CA9 1997)........ 15, 16

Vv

Hernandez v. Crawford Bldg. Material Co., 321 F.3d 528

(CAS 2003) (per curiam), cert. denied,

POD i BOT CD on une Kd das en deeeela es 17

Hernandez-Torres v. Intercontinental Trading, Inc.,

Saw 5 -00SS Ge TOR ke ob kk xd039$oee 13

Honor v. Booz-Allen & Hamilton, Inc.,

S03 F285 GARB 5s 3 id dence 14

Jones v. Fitzgerald, 285 F.3d 705 (CA8 2002) ............ 16

Kang v. Bd. of Supervisors of La. State. Univ.,

75 Fed. Appx. 974 (CAS 2003) (per curiam),

cert. denied, 541 U3. 903 GOGA) gos oc oan accent 17

Kim v. Nash Finch Co., 123 F.3d 1046 (CA8 > J) Serene 13

Knox v. State, 93 F.3d 1327 (CA7 1996) ..............000. 8

LaCroix v. Sears, Roebuck, & Co.,

64D FSO GBE CCAS TOOT oe iia ee 13

Lyons v. England, 307 F.3d 1092 (CA9 2002) ............ 14

Manning v. Metro. Life. Ins. Co., 127 F.3d 686

CAS ISE2) oc iecisvatiavstueseeeien eee 10

Markel v. Bd. of Regents of Univ. of Wis. Sys.,

276 FSA SOB CAT BORD) 3s okkvcccied eee 8

Marrero v. Goya of P.R., Inc., 304 F.3d 7 (CA1 2002) ....... 8

vi

Mattern v. Eastman Kodak Co., 104 F.3d 702

(CAS 0999) occcvecevassitssse eee 7,15

Mota v. Univ. of Tex. Houston Health Sci. Ctr.,

261 F.3G SIZ CCAS SBOE) 0 0en0ees006csseseseseene 7

Passer v. Am. Chem. Soc'y, 935 F.2d 322 (CADC 1991) .... 10

Peltier v. United States, 388 F.3d 984 (CA6 2004) ......... 16

Primes v. Reno, 190 F.3d 765 (CA6 1999) ............... 14

Ray v. Henderson, 217 F.3d 1234 (CA9 2000) ..... 7,9, 10,15

Robinson v. City of Pittsburgh, 120 F.3d 1286

(CAS 1997) .vcccceseeecevsenedsauseeeee 6

Simas v. First Citizens’ Fed. Credit Union,

170 F.364 37 (CAL IGSSP oa ccacewsees 606554550 12

Stavropoulos v. Firestone, 361 F.3d 610 (CA11 2004),

cert. denied, 125 S$. Ct. 1950 (2005) .. ccccscccsascs 6,17

Tyler v. Union Oil Co., 304 F.3d 379 (CAS 2002) ......... 15

Vasquez v. Snow, 75 Fed. Appx. 275 (CAS5 2003)

(per curiam), cert. denied, 541 U.S. 936 (2004) ...... 11,17

Von Gunten v. Maryland, 243 F.3d 858

(CAA 2001)... ccccvsccksasneene eee 6, 10-12, 16

Walker v. Thompson, 214 F.3d 615 (CAS 2000) ............ 7

Vii

Wanamaker v. Columbian Rope Co.,

108 F.3d 462 (CA2 1997) ............. eet Perey yer 12

Washington v. Yakima Indian Nation,

Spy Ga MEP EENOED 10 56 kxcieesceseis fede 19

Weston v. Pennsylvania, 251 F.3d 420 (CA3 2001) ........ 13

White v. Burlington N. & Santa Fe Ry. Co.,

364 F.3d 789 (CA6 2004) (en banc) ................ 5, 12

Wideman v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc.,

PSS dee PUD CREE BOE ko doe Kad vabueceseceusiol 9

Wyatt v. City of Boston, 35 F.3d 13

CSRs FSP eP CID on bb cddcncesehectebasueeu 8, 13

Yartzoff v. Thomas, 809 F.2d 1371 (CA9 1987) ........... 13

Statutes and Rules

MURE OE ooo cies 2

MUSE OU 3. hiskioksascicnne eee 2

MUSE. MI ooo vos onckks cer 17

ee. Gis is. Oe oS euaecouece seat thee eee ll

Vill

Other Authorities

Brief for Respondent in Opposition,

Vasquez v. Snow, 541 U.S. 936 (2004)

os ie aah a BA ae be ew ae 11,17

Brief for Respondent in Opposition,

Noland v. Henderson, 532 U.S. 1019 (2001)

SD, ED “bo xb cscs adc se cdebanedtanweed’c 11

Rosalie Berger Levinson, Parsing the Meaning of

“Adverse Employment Action” in Title VII Disparate

Treatment, Sexual Harassment, and Retaliation Claims:

What Should Be Actionable Wrongdoing?,

Pe GEA Ei ee ee GD do decors neh oeesndeviewus 10

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

The Court should deny the petition for writ of certiorari because

it does not present an important question of federal law over which

the courts of appeals conflict. The courts of appeals have reached

a near-consensus regarding the standard for “adverse employment

actions” in Title VII retaliation claims, with ten of the twelve

circuits requiring that any such action be “material,” “serious and

tangible,” or “significant.” And while the Fifth Circuit’s “ultimate

employment decision” test is worded somewhat differently from the

majority rule, the Solicitor General has observed that “it is unclear

that there is any real difference in practice” between the two

standards. Indeed, a review of case law from other circuits shows

that it is far from certain that Petitioners would have viable claims

in those jurisdictions under the specific facts of this case.

Underscoring the insignificance of this conflict, the Court has

already denied review on this question once during this Term. And

just last Term, the Court declined to review three Fifth Circuit cases

applying the same “ultimate employment decision” standard that

Petitioners challenge here. Nothing about the Fifth Circuit’s

unpublished, non-precedential decision in this case warrants a

sudden change in course. Consistent with its recent dispositions of

petitions raising this issue, the Court should deny review.

Petitioners’ second question raises a false conflict between Fifth

and Eleventh Circuit precedent regarding whether disproportionate

pay raises present actionable discrimination claims under Title VII.

Precedent from both courts states that denials of “significant” raises

are actionable. To the extent the court of appeals’s non-

precedential opinion in this case rests on a categorical rule that

disproportionate pay raises can never be actionable in

discrimination cases, it is at most a misapplication of circuit

precedent that does not warrant review.

Finally, this case is inappropriate for the Court’s review because

numerous alternative grounds for affirmance exist that would

require the Court to engage in a cumbersome, case-specific analysis

2

of Respondents’ various defenses. Accordingly, the Court should

deny the petition.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

1. Respondents incorporate by reference the factual background

set forth in the district court’s January 20, 2004 Order. Pet. App.

15a-30a.

2. In December 2002, Petitioners filed suit against Texas Tech

University ("TTU") alleging national origin discrimination and

retaliation in violation of Title VII and violation of due process

pursuant to 42 U.S.C. §1983. R1-19. In June 2003, Petitioners

amended their complaint to add: (1) Respondents Thomas Burton

and William Marcy as named defendants; (2) a claim of harassment

under Title VII against TTU; and (3) claims of national-origin

discrimination, retaliation, and harassment under 42 U.S.C. §§1981

and 1983 against all Respondents. R93-122. The district court

subsequently granted TTU's partial motion to dismiss Petitioners’

claims for monetary damages against TTU under §§1981 and 1983

as barred by Eleventh Amendment immunity. R191-97.

In October 2003, Respondents Burton and Marcy filed a motion

for summary judgment. R287. On January 20, 2004, the district

court granted this motion, dismissing all of Petitioners’ claims

against Burton and Marcy on numerous independent, alternative

grounds. Pet. App. 14a-69a.

First, with respect to Cardenas-Garcia’s discrimination and

retaliation claims based on his annual performance review, the

district court held that: (1) Cardenas-Garcia had not established the

“adverse employment action” element of a prima facie case for

either claim because the review was not an “ultimate employment

decision”; (2) alternatively, Burton and Marcy had produced

evidence of a legitimate, non-discriminatory reason for the

review—Cardenas-Garcia’s poor work performance—and there was

no genuine issue of material fact that the reason was pretextual; and

3

(3) as an alternative ground on the discrimination claim, the

evidence did not show that Cardenas-Garcia was reviewed

differently than someone in similar circumstances because the

professor with whom he compared reviews had _ other

accomplishments that justified the better review. Pet. App. 52a-

53a.

With respect to Rasty’s discrimination and retaliation claims

based on the investigation of academic-dishonesty charges against

him, the district court held that: (1) Rasty had not established the

“adverse employment action” element of a prima facie case for

either claim because the investigation—which found inaccuracies

in Rasty’s publication record, but not sanctionable “academic

misconduct”—did not result in an “ultimate employment decision”;

(2) alternatively, Burton and Marcy had produced evidence of a

legitimate, non-discriminatory reason for the investigation—

inaccurate statements regarding Rasty’s publications—and there

was no genuine issue of material fact that the reason was pretextual;

(3) as an alternative ground on the discrimination claim, the

evidence did not show that Rasty was investigated differently than

someone in similar circumstances because the professor with whom

he compared himself had admitted and corrected mistakes in his

academic record, thereby obviating the need for an investigation;

and (4) as an alternative ground for the retaliation claim, Rasty had

not established the causation element of a prima facie case because

he offered only conclusory statements of retaliatory motive. Pet.

App. 59a-6 la.

And with respect to Petitioners’ discrimination and retaliation

claims that they received proportionately lower pay raises than

some of their Anglo-American colleagues, the district court held

that: (1) claims predicated on many of the raises were barred by the

statute of limitations; (2) alternatively, Petitioners had not

established the “adverse employment action” element of a prima

facie case for either claim because the variations in pay raises did

4

not qualify as “ultimate employment decisions”; and (3)

alternatively, Burton and Marcy had produced evidence of a

legitimate, non-discriminatory reason for the raise amounts—they

were justified by differences in performance—and there was no

genuine issue of material fact that the reason was pretextual. Pet.

App. 51a, 53a-54a, 65a-66a.

Finally, as to all of Petitioners’ claims, the district court held

that Burton and Marcy were entitled to qualified immunity.

Specifically, the court held that Petitioners had failed to show

violation of a clearly established right and, alternatively, they had

not shown that Burton’s and Marcy’s actions were objectively

unreasonable. Pet. App. 56a-57a, 66a-67a.

In December 2003, TTU filed its motion for summary

judgment. R956. On January 22, 2004, the district court granted

TTU's motion, dismissing all of Petitioners’ claims against TTU for

essentially the same reasons provided in the Order granting Burton

and Marcy’s summary-judgment motion. Pet. App. 4a-13a. The

district court entered final judgment for all Respondents on January

22, 2004. R1681.

3. In an unpublished, per curiam opinion, the court of appeals

affirmed the district court’s judgment. Pet. App. la-3a. The court

of appeals held that Cardenas-Garcia’s annual review and the

investigation into charges of academic dishonesty against Rasty did

not satisfy the “adverse employment action” element of a prima

facie case because they were not ultimate employment decisions.

Pet. App. 2a. With respect to Petitioners’ claims based on lower

pay raises, the court of appeals reviewed its jurisprudence and

observed “we have never held that a proportionately lesser pay

increase, where an increase was received every year, could fulfill

the [adverse employment action] requirement.” Pet. App. 3a.

5

REASONS TO DENY THE PETITION

I. THE QUESTION REGARDING WHAT CONDUCT QUALIFIES AS

AN “ADVERSE EMPLOYMENT ACTION” IN A TITLE VII

RETALIATION CLAIM DOES NOT WARRANT REVIEW.

A. Petitioners Overstate the Extent of the Conflict.

Petitioners overstate the extent of the circuits’ disagreement

regarding what constitutes an “adverse employment action”

sufficient to state a prima facie case of retaliation under Title VII.

In fact, the circuits have now reached near-unanimity on the

standard for such actions.

1. Ten of the twelve circuits currently require a plaintiff to

show that he suffered a retaliatory action that meets a threshold of

materiality or significance. The First, Second, Sixth, Seventh,

Eighth, Tenth, and District of Columbia Circuits use the term

“material.”' The Third and Eleventh Circuits apply essentially the

1. Gu v. Boston Police Dep’t, 312 F.3d 6, 14 (CA1 2002) (holding

that “[t]o be adverse, an action must materially change the conditions of

plaintiffs’ employ”); Fairbrother v. Morrison, No. 03-9242-CV, 2005

WL 1389894, at *13 (CA2 June 14, 2005) (explaining that “[a]n adverse

employment action is a ‘materially adverse change’ in the terms and

conditions of employment” (citations and internal quotations omitted));

White v. Burlington N. & Santa Fe Ry. Co., 364 F.3d 789, 797, 800 (CA6

2004) (en banc) (reaffirming circuit standard that plaintiff must show “a

materially adverse change in the terms of her employment” (citations and

internal quotations omitted)); Beamon v. Marshall & Ilsley Trust Co.,

Nos. 04-1521 & 04-2263, 2005 WL 1399307, at *6 (CA7 June 15, 2005)

(requiring retaliation plaintiff to show that “he suffered a materially

adverse employment action”); Bradley v. Widnail, 232 F.3d 626, 632

(CA8 2000) (holding that “[a]n adverse employment action is exhibited

by a material employment disadvantage” (emphasis in original)); Duncan

v. Manager, Dep't of Safety, 397 F.3d 1300, 1314 (CA10 2005) (noting

that “[a]n adverse employment action must be materially adverse to the

|

6

same standard using different language, requiring the adverse action

to be “serious and tangible enough to alter an employee’s

compensation, terms, conditions, or privileges of employment.”

And while the Fourth Circuit ostensibly demands only a showing

that the employer’s actions “adversely affected ‘the terms,

conditions, or benefits’ of the plaintiff's employment,” Von Gunten

v. Maryland, 243 F.3d 858, 865 (CA4 2001), in practice it has

rejected actions it did not deem “significant,” id., at 868 (finding

poor performance reviews and change in job assignments were not

adverse actions because court could not discern “any significant

difference” between earlier performance review and challenged

review and change in job assignment was not “truly .. .

significant”).? Reviewing these various standards, the Eleventh

Circuit has concluded that, regardless of the language used, “[a]s

employee’s job status” (citation and internal quotations omitted));

Forkkio v. Powell, 306 F.3d 1127, 1131 (CADC 2002) (describing circuit

standard that “an employee suffers an adverse employment action if he

experiences materially adverse consequences affecting the terms,

conditions, or privileges of employment or future employment

opportunities”).

2. Robinson v. City of Pittsburgh, 120 F.3d 1286, 1300 (CA3 1997);

Stavropoulos v. Firestone, 361 F.3d 610, 617 (CA11 2004) (citation and

internal quotations omitted), cert. denied, 125 S. Ct. 1850 (2005).

3. See also Brackman v. Fauquier County, 72 Fed. Appx. 887, 893

(CA4 2003) (per curiam) (holding that plaintiff did not show adverse

employment action because “we fail to see how [the challenged action]

had a ‘significant detrimental effect’ on [the plaintiff]’) (citation

omitted); Becker v. Gannett Satellite Info. Network, Inc., 10 Fed. Appx.

135, 140 (CA4 2001) (per curiam) (holding that plaintiff did not show

adverse employment action where employer “did not significantly alter:

her job responsibilities in any detrimental or significant way”).

7

applied, these standards are essentially interchangeable.” Davis v.

Town of Lake Park, 245 F.3d 1232, 1239 (CA11 2001).

The Fifth Circuit has articulated a different threshold, requiring

the employee to show that he suffered an “ultimate employment

decision,” which “include[s] acts ‘such as hiring, granting leave,

discharging, promoting, and compensating.’” Mattern v. Eastman

Kodak Co., 104 F.3d 702, 707 (CA5 1997) (quoting Dollis v. Rubin,

77 F.3d 777, 781-82 (CA5 1995)). Elaborating on this standard, the

court has explained that “[a]n employer's action does not rise to the

level of an ‘adverse employment action’ when it fails to have more

than ‘mere tangential effect on a possible future ultimate

employment decision.’” Mota v. Univ. of Tex. Houston Health Sci.

Ctr., 261 F.3d 512, 519 (CA5 2001) (quoting Walker v. Thompson,

214 F.3d 615, 629 (CA5 2000)). Accordingly, the Fifth Circuit

standard is largely the same as the standard predominant among

other circuits, differing only in the margin between “material” or

“serious” employment actions and actions that concern or have

more than a tangential effect on hiring, granting leave, discharging,

promotions, and compensation.

Finally, the Ninth Circuit alone adopts a broader interpretation

of what constitutes an adverse employment action. In Ray v.

Henderson, 217 F.3d 1234, 1243 (CA9 2000), it held that “an

action is cognizable as an adverse employment action if it is

reasonably likely to deter employees from engaging in protected

activity.”

2. Petitioners incorrectly describe the circuits’ standards as

more divergent by relying on the Ninth Circuit’s erroneous and

dated assessment of circuit law in Ray. Pet. 15. In that case, the

court claimed that its “expansive view” of actionable adverse

employment actions was shared by the First, Seventh, Tenth,

Eleventh, and District of Columbia Circuits. Ray, 217 F.3d, at

1241-42; see also Pet. 15. But, as previously discussed, all of these

courts now require a showing of “material” or “serious and

8

tangible” actions to establish a prima facie case of retaliation. See

supra nn.1, 2.

Moreover, an examination of the cases relied on by the Ninth

Circuit further demonstrates why Ray’s description of the state of

circuit law on this issue in 2000 is either outdated or simply wrong.

In Wyatt v. City of Boston, 35 F.3d 13, 15-16 (CA1 1994) (per

curiam), the First Circuit stated in dicta that, apart from discharge,

“other adverse actions” covered by Title VII include, inter alia,

“disadvantageous transfers or assignments” and “toleration of

harassment.” But eight years later, notwithstanding Wyatt’s dicta,

the First Circuit specifically rejected a retaliation claim based on

disadvantageous transfer and toleration of harassment on the ground

that those particular actions in that case did not satisfy the Court’s

“materially adverse” standard. Marrero v. Goya of P.R., Inc., 304

F.3d 7, 22-27 (CA1 2002).

Similarly, in Knox v. State, 93 F.3d 1327, 1334 (CA7 1996), the

Seventh Circuit stated in dicta that there is “nothing in the law of

retaliation that restricts the type of retaliatory act that might be

visited upon an employee.” But in the nine years since Knox was

decided, the court has decidedly distanced itself from this dicta,

embracing the much stricter “materially adverse” standard.

Beamon, 2005 WL 1399307, at *6; see also Markel v. Bd. of

Regents of Univ. of Wis. Sys., 276 F.3d 906, 911 (CA7 2002)

(holding plaintiffs claims that she was “denied ‘better’ equipment,

the ability to travel and make presentations, and removed from

certain accounts that caused her not to receive bonuses” were not

material, and thus, not actionable); Grube v. Lau Indus., Inc., 257

F.3d 723, 729 (CA7 2001) (holding that “unfair reprimands or

negative performance evaluations, unaccompanied by some tangible

job consequence, do not constitute adverse employment actions”).‘

4. Like the Ninth Circuit, Petitioners also misplace reliance on the

Wyatt and Knox dicta to describe—incorrectly—the current state of

9

The Tenth Circuit cases cited in Ray do not align that court with -

the Ninth Circuit’s broad definition of adverse employment actions.

In Corneveaux v. CUNA Mut. Ins. Group, 76 F.3d 1498, 1507

(CA10 1996), the plaintiff was actually denied severance benefits—

a compensation decision that would be actionabie in any circuit.

And, although the Tenth Circuit held in Berry v. Stevinson

Chevrolet, 74 F.3d 980, 986 (CA10 1996), that a criminal

prosecution could constitute an adverse employment action because

of its impact on future hiring, the court has since effectively limited

Berry to its facts by declining to extend it to other situations not

deemed materially adverse. See, e.g., Dick v. Phone Directories

Co., 397 F.3d 1256, 1269 (CA10 2005) (declining to extend Berry

to filing of police report against employee); Dirusso v. Aspen Sch.

Dist. No. 1, 123 Fed. Appx. 826, 839 (CA10 2004) (declining to

extend Berry to negative job reference given to future employer);

Aquilino v. Univ. of Kan., 268 F.3d 930, 934 (CA10 2001)

(declining to extend Berry to removal of plaintiff from committee,

notwithstanding impact on future employment). Finally, as

discussed previously, the Tenth Circuit now requires a “materially

adverse” employment action to state a prima facie case of

retaliation. Duncan, 397 F.3d, at 1314.

The Ninth Circuit simply misread the Eleventh Circuit’s

decision in Wideman v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., 141 F.3d 1453

(CA11 1998). In Ray, the Ninth Circuit described Wideman as

holding that actionable adverse employment actions “include”

matters such as “requiring plaintiff to work without lunch break,

giving her a one-day suspension, soliciting other employees for

negative statements about her, changing her schedule without

notification, making negative comments about her, and needlessly

delaying authorization for medical treatment.” Ray, 217 F.3d, at

1241-42 (citing Wideman, 141 F.3d, at 1456). In fact, the Eleventh

circuit law on this issue. Pet. 17.

10

Circuit held that these actions “considered collectively are sufficient

to constitute prohibited discrimination” under Title VII’s anti-

retaliation provision. 141 F.3d, at 1456 (emphasis added). The

court specifically declined to decide “whether anything less than the

totality of the alleged reprisals would be sufficient.” Jd.

Finally, in Passer v. American Chemical Society, 935 F.2d 322,

330-31 (CADC 1991), the District of Columbia Circuit held that an

adverse employment action could include an act that affected future

employment prospects. But that court has since specified that any

such effect must be a “materially adverse consequence[].” Forkkio,

306 F.3d, at 1131.°

Indeed, Petitioners’ own authority acknowledges that the

“emerging trend” among the circuits is a movement toward the

more restrictive “materially adverse” standard. See Rosalie Berger

Levinson, Parsing the Meaning of “Adverse Employment Action”

in Title VII Disparate Treatment, Sexual Harassment, and

Retaliation Claims: What Should Be Actionable Wrongdoing?, 56

OKLA. L. REV. 623, 636 & n.29 (2003). Thus, contrary to

Petitioners’ assertion that this conflict is “intractable” and

“entrenched,” this trend suggests that circuit law is evolving toward

a consensus, and, therefore, does not warrant review by the Court.

3. In sum, the conflict raised by Petitioners is extremely

lopsided, with all almost all circuits requiring that an adverse

5. The Ninth Circuit also erroneously aligned the Eighth Circuit with

the Fifth Circuit as using the “ultimate employment decision” standard.

Ray, 217 F.3d, at 1242. Although the Eighth Circuit has used those

words to describe actionable conduct, it has defined that phrase to include

any “tangible change in duties or working conditions that constituted a

material employment disadvantage.” Manning v. Metro. Life. Ins. Co.,

127 F.3d 686, 692 (CA8 1997); see also Von Gunten, 243 F.3d, at 864

(recognizing that Eighth Circuit actually uses “material disadvantage”

standard rather than “ultimate employment decision” standard).

11

employment action be “material,” “serious and tangible,” or

“significant” to state a retaliation claim. And the Fifth Circuit’s

rule ostensibly differs from this standard only in the narrow margin

between such “material” employment actions and “ultimate

employment decisions” that have more than a tangential effect on

hiring, granting leave, discharging, promotions, and compensation.

B. The Difference Between the Fifth Circuit Rule and the

Majority Rule Exists More in Principle than in Practice.

The small and somewhat vague distinction between the Fifth

Circuit’s “ultimate employment decision” standard and the

materiality/significance standard used by almost all other circuits

does not present an “important” conflict that merits certiorari

review. See Sup. CT.R. 10. The difference exists more in principle

than in practice, as evidenced by Petitioners’ failure to show a clear,

divergence in the application of these standards to the facts of this

case.

1. Petitioners rely on the Solicitor General’s comment that

“(t]he courts of appeals have articulated different standards for

what types of employment conduct are actionable” under Title VII’s

anti-retaliation provision. Pet. 17 (quoting Brief for Respondent in

Opposition at 7, Noland v. Henderson, 532 U.S. 1019 (2001)

(mem.) (No. 00-1259) (emphasis added)). But the Solicitor General

has since opined that “‘it is unclear that there is any real difference

in practice between the ‘ultimate employment decision’ standard .

. . and the ‘adverse employment action’ standard” employed by

most circuits. Brief for Respondent in Opposition at 5, Vasquez v.

Snow, 541 U.S. 936 (2004) (mem.) (No. 03-887). In other words,

although the circuits may employ different verbal formulations of

the standard for evaluating alleged retaliatory actions, application

of those standards yields little difference in results.

The Fourth Circuit echoed this assessment in Von Gunten,

noting that “[s]ometimes the practical differences between these

ee Cd hae et

12

two standards are difficult to discern” and the distinction results in

a “sometime slight real world difference.” 243 F.3d, at 864. And ;

although the Fourth Circuit stated that the standards could produce

different results if “strictly applied,” id, they would not have

yielded disparate results in Von Gunten. The court rejected the

plaintiffs claims that denying her use of a state vehicle,

downgrading her annual review, changing her job assignments,

mishandling her requests for leave, and failing to deal adequately

with her complaints of harassment constituted, either individually

or collectively, adverse employment action sufficient to state a

retaliation claim. /d., at 867-70.

The “slight real world difference” in these standards largely

results from the fact that courts are resolving this issue

experientially by deciding particular cases on their peculiar facts.

See White, 364 F.3d, at 799 (stating that “we have over the last

twenty years given some shape to the definition by describing the

kinds of material adverse employment actions that rise above the

level of trivial”); Gupta v. Fla. Bd. of Regents, 212 F.3d 571, 587

(CA11 2000) (holding that “[w]hether an action is sufficient to

constitute an adverse employment action for purposes of a

retaliation claim must be determined on a case-by-case basis”).°

Even the Fifth Circuit’s seemingly more categorical approach can

yield varying results depending on the circumstances. For example,

although the court held in this case that Petitioners’ poor

na a a RE Se Pn

6. See also Anderson v. Coors Brewing Co., 181 F.3d 1171, 1178

(CA10 1999) (noting that “we take a case-by-case approach in

determining whether a given employment action is ‘adverse’”); Simas v.

First Citizens’ Fed. Credit Union, 170 F.3d 37, 49 (CAI 1999)

(observing that “[d]jetermining whether an action is materially adverse

necessarily requires a case-by-case inquiry”); Wanamaker v. Columbian

Rope Co., 108 F.3d 462, 466 (CA2 1997) (commenting that “courts must

pore over each case to determine whether the challenged employment

action reaches the level of ‘adverse’”).

|

13

performance reviews did not constitute “ultimate employment

decisions,” Pet. App. 2a, in another case it assumed that a low

performance evaluation was an “ultimate employment decision”

where it automatically postponed an annual raise. See Felton v.

Polles, 315 F.3d 470, 488 (CAS5 2002). Consequently, the circuits’

different “articulations” of the standard for adverse employment

actions are less relevant than how they are applied in a given case.

2. The limited practical effect of these differently phrased

standards is reflected in Petitioners’ unconvincing attempt to show

that the conflict is necessarily outcome-determinative in this case.

Pet. 20-22.

Petitioner Cardenas-Garcia alleges a conflict between the Fifth

Circuit’s decision that one of his annual reviews was not an adverse

employment action and cases from four other circuits. Pet. 20-21

(citing Wyatt v. City of Boston, 35 F.3d 13, 16 (CA1 1994) (per

curiam); Yartzoff v. Thomas, 809 F.2d 1371, 1376 (CA9 1987);

Cardenas v. Massey, 269 F.3d 251, 263-64 (CA3 2001); Kim v.

Nash Finch Co., 123 F.3d 1046, 1060 (CA8 1997)). Thus, he

asserts that his retaliation claim predicated on his annual review

would have been viable in these jurisdictions. Pet. 21.

But the viability of Cardenas-Garcia’s retaliation claim is not

simply a matter of geography. All of these courts—including the

Ninth Circuit—have held under certain circumstances that negative

performance reviews did not qualify as adverse employment

actions. See Hernandez-Torres v. Intercontinental Trading, Inc.,

158 F.3d 43, 47 (CAI 1998) (holding that critical reports on

plaintiff's productivity were not adverse employment actions);

Weston v. Pennsylvania, 251 F.3d 420, 430-31 (CA3 2001)

(holding that written reprimands were not actionable adverse

employment actions when plaintiff did not show material change in

terms and conditions of employment); LaCroix v. Sears, Roebuck,

& Co., 240 F.3d 688, 691-92 (CA8 2001) (holding that performance

review was not actionable where plaintiff did not show it resulted

14

in a material employment disadvantage); Lyons v. England, 307

F.3d 1092, 1118 (CA9 2002) (holding that lower evaluation was not

actionable where it did not translate into further adverse decision).’

And, as discussed previously, the Fifth Circuit has suggested that a

performance review could be actionable if it directly affected

compensation. See Felton, 315 F.3d at 488.

These divergent assessments of whether performance reviews

present actionable retaliation claims naturally result from the fact-

specific inquiry courts conduct to determine whether a particular act

is “material” or “reasonably likely to deter employees” or has “more

than a mere tangential effect” on future employment decisions. As

such, Cardenas-Garcia’s claim regarding his annual review—which

apparently is based on a single comment that Burton made in his

7. Indeed, all of the other circuits have held likewise. See, e.g.,

Fairbrother v. Morrison, No. 03-9242-CV, 2005 WL 1389894, at *14

(CA2 June 14, 2005) (holding that negative evaluation was not adverse

employment action); Honor v. Booz-Allen & Hamilton, Inc., 383 F.3d

180, 189 (CA4 2004) (holding that negative employment evaluation did

not “rise[] to the level of an adverse employment action”); Primes v.

Reno, 190 F.3d 765, 767 (CA6 1999) (holding that low evaluation was

not adverse employment action under circumstances of that case); |

Beamon v. Marshall & Ilsley Trust Co., Nos. 04-1521 & 04-2263, 2005 |

WL 1399307, at *6 (CA7 June 15, 2005) (observing that “although

negative performance evaluations may be evidence of discrimination,

they are not alone considered to be actionable adverse employment

actions); Amro v. Boeing Co., 232 F.3d 790, 799 (CA10 2000) (holding

that lower performance evaluation was not adverse employment action);

Davis v. Town of Lake Park, 245 F.3d 1232, 1240 (CA11 2001) (holding

that negative job performance memoranda did not constitute actionable

adverse employment actions); Brown v. Brody, 199 F.3d 446, 458

(CADC 1999) (noting that a “thick body of precedent . . . refutes the

notion that formal criticism or poor performance evaluations are

necessarily adverse actions”).

15

evaluation, Pet. App. 18a-19a—does not present a clear circuit

conflict that merits review.

For the two remaining adverse actions raised by Petitioners

(disproportionate pay raises and disciplinary investigations), they

can cite only an alleged conflict with two cases from the Ninth

Circuit, which alone among the circuits has adopted a broad

definition of adverse employment action. Pet. 21-22 (citing Ray,

217 F.3d, at 1243-44; Hashimoto v. Dalton, 118 F.3d 671, 676

(CA9 1997)). And even then, neither of these cases directly

conflicts with the Fifth Circuit’s decision below.

In Ray, the Ninth Circuit held that a reduction in the plaintiff's

pay constituted an adverse employment action. 217 F.3d, at 1244.

This holding does not conflict with Fifth Circuit precedent

generally, which holds that a reduction in pay qualifies as an

actionable adverse employment action. Tyler v. Union Oil Co., 304

F.3d 379, 397 (CAS 2002). Nor does Ray’s holding regarding pay

reductions present an actual conflict with this case, in which

Petitioners complain that the amount of the pay raises they received

constitutes an adverse employment action. Pet. App. 54a, 65a-66a.°

8. Even if Ray could be broadly read to mean any disproportionate

adjustment in pay is actionable, it still does not present a circuit conflict.

The Fifth Circuit does not categorically reject retaliation claims

predicated on disproportionate pay raises. Harrington v. Harris, 118

F.3d 359, 366 (CAS 1997). Indeed, such actions certainly represent

“compensation” determinations, which the Fifth Circuit has always

considered “ultimate employment decisions.” See Mattern, 104 F.3d at

707. Accordingly, to the extent the court of appeals’s non-precedential

opinion in this case rests on a categorical rule that disproportionate pay

raises can never be actionable in retaliation cases, see Pet. App. 3a, it is

at most a misapplication of circuit precedent that does not warrant

review. See infra Part II.

16

In Hashimoto, the Ninth Circuit held that a negative job

reference could constitute an adverse employment action despite the

fact that it “turned out to be inconsequential” because the

prospective employer would not have hired the plaintiff even

without the negative reference. 118 F.3d, at 676. Rasty claims that

Hashimoto conflicts with the court of appeals’s holding that TTU’s

investigation into academic-dishonesty charges against him was not

an ultimate employment decision. Pet. 21-22. There are several

problems with this purported conflict.

As an initial matter, the negative job reference in Hashimoto

and the academic investigation into Rasty’s statements about his

publications are so factually dissimilar that a genuine conflict does

not exist. Rasty nevertheless tries to present a conflict in rationale,

asserting that, in contrast to the job reference in Hashimoto, TTU’s

investigation was held not to be an adverse employment action

because it cleared Rasty of academic misconduct, and thus was

“inconsequential.” See Pet. 21-22. But that was the district court’s

reasoning, Pet. 21-22; Pet. App. 59a; the Fifth Circuit simply held

that an investigation did not qualify as an ultimate employment

decision, Pet. App. 2a. That Petitioners are reaching back to the

district court’s opinion to try to establish a conflict with a factually

inapposite decision further demonstrates that this case does not

warrant the Court’s review. Finally, exemplifying the limited

practical difference between the “ultimate employment decision”

standard and the materiality/significance standard, the Fifth

Circuit’s opinion in this case comports with decisions from other

circuits holding that internal investigations are not actionable

adverse employment actions. See, e.g., Peltier v. United States, 388

F.3d 984, 988 (CA6 2004); Haddon v. Executive Residence at White

House, 313 F.3d 1352, 1363-64 (CAFed 2002); Jones v. Fitzgerald,

285 F.3d 705, 714-15 (CA8 2002); Von Gunten, 243 F.3d, at 869.

For these reasons, Rasty’s claim regarding the academic-dishonesty

investigation does not present a genuine conflict warranting review.

17

C. The Court Has Recently Declined to Review This

Question.

Underscoring the unimportance of this issue, the Court has

already declined to address it this Term in another case where it was

squarely presented. Stavropoulos v. Firestone, 361 F.3d610 (CA11

2004), cert. denied, 125 S. Ct. 1850 (2005) (Question Presented:

“Should this Court grant certiorari to resolve the circuit split

regarding the type of employer conduct that constitutes an ‘adverse

employment action’ in a Title VII retaliation suit under 42 U.S.C.

2000e-3(a)?”). Since the Court denied review in Stavropoulos in

April 2005, there have been no developments in the legal landscape

that have transformed this issue into one that suddenly merits the

Court’s review.

Indeed, the Court has recently refused to review this question

even when presented through the vehicle of a Fifth Circuit decision

applying that court’s “ultimate employment decision” standard.

Just last Term, the Court denied review in three Fifth Circuit cases

squarely presenting that issue.’ There is nothing about the Fifth

9. Kang v. Bd. of Supervisors of La. State. Univ., 75 Fed. Appx. 974

(CA5 2003) (per curiam), cert. denied, 541 U.S. 903 (2004) (Question

Presented: “Does section 704(a) of Title VII of the 1964 Civil Rights Act,

which prohibits retaliation against an employee for filing a charge with

the EEOC, permit an employer to engage in retaliatory action so long as

that reprisal does not constitute an ‘ultimate employment decision’?”’);

Vasquez v. Snow, 75 Fed. Appx. 275 (CAS 2003) (per curiam), cert.

denied, 541 U.S. 936 (2004) (Question Presented: “Whether a plaintiff

must show an ultimate employment action rather than an adverse

employment action to establish a claim for retaliation under Title VII.”);

Hernandez v. Crawford Bldg. Material Co., 321 F.3d 528 (CAS 2003)

(per curiam), cert. denied, 540 U.S. 817 (2003) (Question Presented: “Do

the anti-retaliation provisions of Title VII and the Age Discrimination in

Employment Act, which forbid an employer from discriminating against

an employee for seeking to enforce his or her rights under Title VII and

18

Circuit’s unpublished, non-precedential opinion in this case that

makes it a more appropriate vehicle to address this question."

Consistent with its treatment of this unimportant issue over the last

two terms, the Court should again deny review. —

Il. THE QUESTION WHETHER DISPROPORTIONATE PAY RAISES

QUALIFY AS “ADVERSE EMPLOYMENT ACTIONS” IN A TITLE

VII DISCRIMINATION CLAIM DOES NOT WARRANT REVIEW.

Petitioners also assert a conflict between the Fifth Circuit and

the Eleventh Circuit as to whether disproportionate pay raises may

constitute “adverse employment actions” in a Title VII

discrimination claim. Pet. 27-29. But in reality, precedent from

these courts is in accord on this issue, and the Fifth Circuit’s non-

precedential opinion in this case does not disturb that consensus.

In Gillis v. Georgia Department of Corrections, the Eleventh

Circuit held that an employer’s decision that “disentitles an

employee to a raise of any significance is an adverse employment

action under Title VII.” 400 F.3d 883, 888 (CA11 2005) (emphasis

added). Fifth Circuit law is similar. In Harrington v. Harris, the

court held that certain variations in the percentage of merit pay

increases among a university’s faculty did not qualify as “adverse

employment actions” because they “were not significant.” 118 F.3d

359, 366 (CAS 1997). But, the court added, “[i]f Plaintiffs had

received no merit pay increase at all or if the amount of such

ADEA respectively, actually permit such retaliation so long as the

employer’s actions do not constitute an ‘ultimate employment

decision’?”).

10. See Pet. App. la; STH Cir. R. 47.5.4 (“Unpublished opinions

issued on or after January 1, 1996, are not precedent, except under the

doctrine of res judicata, collateral estoppel or law of the case (or similarly

to show double jeopardy, abuse of the writ, notice, sanctionable conduct,

entitlement to attorney’s fees, or the like).”’).

x

a

“4

2

3

be

5

:

19

increase were so small as to be simply a token increase which was

out of proportion to the rnerit pay increases granted to others, we

might reach a different conclusion.” Jd. Thus, precedent from the

Eleventh Circuit and Fifth Circuit does not conflict on this point.

Accordingly, to the extent the court of appeals’s non-precedential

opinion in this case rests on a categorical rule that disproportionate

pay raises can never be actionable in discrimination cases, see Pet.

App. 3a, it is at most a misapplication of circuit precedent that does

not warrant review.

III. ALTERNATIVE GROUNDS FOR AFFIRMANCE MAKE THIS

CASE AN INAPPROPRIATE CANDIDATE FOR REVIEW.

If the Court were to grant the petition, Respondents would

defend the judgment below by advancing alternative grounds for

affirmance raised in the Fifth Circuit briefing but not reached by

that court. See Blum v. Bacon, 457 U.S. 132, 138 n.5 (1982)

(noting that respondents “may rely upon any matter appearing in the

record in support of the judgment below”); Dayton Bd. of Educ. v.

Brinkman, 433 U.S. 406, 419 (1977) (explaining that respondents

are “entitled under our precedents to urge any grounds which would

lend support to the judgment below”).

Although the court of appeals’s disposition pretermitted

consideration of numerous other defects in Petitioners’ claims, a

respondent may “defend its judgment on any ground properly raised

below whether or not that ground was relied upon, rejected, or even

considered by the District Court or the Court of Appeals.”

Washington v. Yakima Indian Nation, 439 U.S. 463, 478 n.20

(1979). Although Respondents’ strong arguments for affirming the

judgment would be presented for this Court’s review should it grant

the petition, the existence of these alternative grounds for

affirmance provides yet another reason why this case is an

unsuitable vehicle for review of the questions urged by Petitioners.

20

The Court would become mired in a detailed record and

evidentiary questions regarding whether Petitioners’ claims of

disparate treatment were founded on comparisons with “similarly

situated” persons, whether Respondents had met their burden to

show legitimate, non-discriminatory reasons for their actions,

whether there is a genuine issue of material fact as to pretext, and

whether Burton and Marcy were entitled to qualified immunity.

Indeed, the bulk of the district court’s opinion was dedicated to

these issues rather than the “adverse employment action” question

addressed by the Fifth Circuit. See Pet. App. 47a-69a. Because the

issues related to the definition of “adverse employment action”

concern only a portion of the district court’s order as applied to a

discrete set of facts, this case does not merit the Court’s attention.

21

CONCLUSION

The Court should deny the petition for writ of certiorari.

July 6, 2005

Respectfully submitted,

GREG ABBOTT

Attorney General of Texas

BARRY R. MCBEE

First Assistant Attorney

General

EDWARD D. BURBACH

Deputy Attorney General

for Litigation

R. TED CRUZ

Solicitor General

Counsel of Record

RANCE L. CRAFT

Assistant Solicitor General

Office of the Attorney General

P.O. Box 12548

Austin, Texas 78711

(512) 936-1700

2: [Supreme Court, US.

FILED

No. 04-1239 JUL ? { 2005

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

5n The

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

&

_.

JAIME CARDENAS-GARCIA and JAHAN RASTY,

Petitioners,

V.

TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY, THOMAS BURTON,

individually and in his official capacity as Chair of the

Mechanical Engineering Department at Texas Tech

University; WILLIAM MARCY, individually and in his

official capacity as Associate Dean and later Dean of the

College of Engineering at Texas Tech University,

Respondents.

o¢—

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Fifth Circuit

@

v

REPLY BRIEF FOR PETITIONERS

ry

LEvI G. MCCATHERN JOHN R. ATES

TISHA LYNN DODGE (Counsel of Record)

McCATHERN Mooty ALBO & OBLON, L.L.P.

3710 Rawlins 2200 Clarendon Blvd.

Dallas, Texas 75219 Arlington, Virginia 22201

(703) 562-3385

July 21, 2005

ee

——

te ne eee St ee ae

| ern re ee ee ——~

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

SR SIE GAIN BIIN Blinds tninonsedwonicssbascsive.cusuoneivdastes i

PAPA EE FRAT REAR BAIS ope ccseisnesecsscounecennsiseneaeoesss ii

REPLY BRIEF FOR PETITIONERG....................0006 1

I. Certiorari Should Be Granted To Resolve

The Circuit Conflict Regarding The Proper

Standard For Actionable Retaliation.............. 2

II. This Court Should Resolve The Circuit Split

Over What Constitutes Discrimination.......... 9

SN RAIN iad senitsavcp rides gales snsepaitars nacersvausebuneaxs 10

i

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES:

Beamon v. Marshall & Ilsley Trust Co., Nos. 04-

1521 & 04-2263, 2005 WL 1399307 (CA7 June

BEE Fe ens ons aca hacia cs deeds eck Adasen en ee 3

Berry v. Stevinson Chevrolet, 74 F.3d 980 (CA10

WINE ani Hina icch i sccntarcdishadacxuvhcsbdensaceisteeatedacas 3, 5, 6, 7

Burlington Indus., Inc. v. Ellerth, 524 U.S. 742

GRIME is ocus daccsuducbecsvicsasnasbbaabeapabnicgncisscusccdieeibisedtpehidatainas 3,4

Clark County Sch. Dist. v. Breeden, 532 U.S. 268

CLT CE COPII iss ae ee sccssinsckcaas 9

Faragher v. City of Boca Raton, 524 U.S. 775 (1998)......... 3

Felton v. Polles, 315 F.3d 470 (CA5 2002) .............0..0.....00 7

Firestine v. Parkview Health Sys., 388 F.3d 229

LEIA POI vies cine Gincrcuvascocccemubicsieds Goansnntackccssbasucnideidesoauine 6

Gillis v. Ga. Dep’t of Corrections, 400 F.3d 883

CEST BN ss fants hcacaccrsicta Siac cckeceeasencsensassdeeeseeie 1, 7, 9, 10

Graube v. Lau Indus., 257 F.3d 723 (CA7 2001)................ 3

Haddon v. Executive Residence at White House, 313

Fe See CCA, BED fives gsacieinscctcaabncassdodseisicocccasouss 7

Harrington v. Harris, 118 F.3d 359 (CA5 1997)....... 7, 9,10

Henandez v. Crawford Bldg. Material Co., 321 F.3d

528 (CA5 2003), cert. denied, 540 U.S. 817 (2003).......... g

Hernandez-Torres v. Intercontinental Trading, Inc.,

166 P8438 (CAS 2008) i eke. 7,9

Herrnreiter v. Chi. Hous. Auth., 315 F.3d 742 (CA7

MIE ai isa ciadssgiech thatccsnatecdapisdvsibsieenieswesdideneisabivaness 2, 3, 5, 6

Page

Hilt-Dyson v. City of Chicago, 282 F.3d 456 (CA7

I ietkcovidscdbincscus skin talack nel enue aba ukiiees 3

Johnson v. Milwaukee Sch. of Eng’g, 258 F. Supp.

Bk OG Lae WE, BN) aos psc ekctaigessokbn shel cnanues os 3

Kang v. Bd. of Supervisors of La. State Univ., 75

Fed. Appx. 974 (CA5 2003), cert. denied, 541 US.

RST CN ii ss sisted a ected cio tcanenindbonuss 8

Knox v. State, 93 F.3d 1327 (CA7 1996) ...................cceeeeeees 5

LaCroix v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 240 F.3d 688

AGE RL 5 9 aber SOO URE MSA RR Rr MIDE Ie RR SEN MOIE HS PCED NOS POR EED 7

Lyons v. England, 307 F.3d 1092 (CA9 2002) .................... 7

Markel v. Bd. of Regents of the Univ. of Wis. Sys.,

DTG Fk PO kL Bd oo bbb cco sts asseenewenvebdassciccearsecs 3

Marrero v. Goya of P.R., Inc., 304 F.3d 7 (CA1

7 | | ROSE Se CUTER Dok eae ml Se B/S RAV = Boe oer Re Ns leno Go ape oe 5

Mattern v. Eastman Kodak Co., 104 F.3d 702 (CA5

LE § PERE TES) ARE SO Let TENET IK TE EHEC ELE CNTR EB EBTE AR 1

Noviello v. City of Boston, 398 F.3d 76 (CA1 2005)........ 3,5

Passer v. Am. Chem. Soc’y, 935 F.2d 322 (CADC

RT Foi nceictacansccssnk saci caanss rks adit fae cceavgwanns 3, 5

Rabinovitiz v. Pena, 89 F.3d 482 (CA7 1996) .................... 10

Ray v. Henderson, 217 F.3d 1234 (CA9 2000) ........ 2,4, 5,6

Russell v. Principi, 257 F.3d 815 (CADC 2001)................ 10

Smith v. Sec. of Navy, 659 F.2d 1113 (CADC 1981)............. 4

Stone v. City of Indianapolis Pub. Utils. Div., 281

WB COO GT DE wicca ses GB bsacacdscreecsicncdpevarnete 2,3

Swierkiewicz v. Sorema N.A., 534 U.S. 506 (2002)............. 9

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Vasquez v. Snow, 75 Fed. Appx. 275 (CA5 2003),

cert. denied, 541 U.S. 936 (2004)...............ccsssscsssereceeeeees 8

White v. Burlington N. & Santa Fe Ry. Co., 364

Bae TU AAI PO i ai 5a casio aces nscoadheossasancbosoone 3,4

Williams v. Waste Mgmt. of Iil., 361 F.3d 1021 (CA7

MNT idisiubssed ga tase aAtlv dain sich tas aiceaiaaleipisianae lvecoustooamiat 2,3

Wyatt v. City of Boston, 35 F.3d 13 (CA1 1994) (per

PN icy shh de fase chieeebaisssd nadenicesessescsussusneuhsesdonbale 5

Yartzoff v. Thomas, 809 F.2d 1371 (CA9 1987).............00. 7

STATUTES:

Ms By IO) oii i ssssissc2 Cigcicecdavincoacsconseseddcceusantwasanabans 1

MD EFT i BO rise isi saciiicsninnbicdccesosassenthunssacancasandbcbeds 1

OTHER AUTHORITIES:

Joan M. Savage, Note: Adopting the EEOC Deterrence

Approach to the Adverse Employment Action Prong

in a Prima Facie Case for Title VII Retaliation, 46

Bas Bhs BOs Ae I wrk dich cosa bdnassgusscduscscnsoasscnsaancnoebents 4,6

U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Comm’n

Compliance Manual, § 8 (May 1998) ...............ccceeeeeeceeeee 3

1

REPLY BRIEF FOR PETITIONERS

This Court should grant certiorari on both questions

presented. Respondents’ brief in opposition confirms that the

courts of appeal are in disarray regarding proper standards

for actionable retaliation under § 704(a) of Title VII of the

Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-3(a), and action-

able discrimination under § 703(a), 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(a).

The Fifth Circuit rejected Petitioners’ retaliation claims

because none of the acts at issue (lower salaries; unjustified

poor performance reviews that resulted in disproportion-

ately lower raises and salaries, and disciplinary investiga-

tions) constituted an “adverse employment action,” which

the Fifth Circuit requires to be an “ultimate employment

decision.” Pet. App. 2-3; Mattern v. Eastman Kodak Co., 104

F.3d 702, 708-09 (CA5 1997). A majority of the courts of

appeals, although at times using the same “adverse em-

ployment action” phraseology, embrace a rationale and

standard for retaliation claims that is materially different

than that adopted by the Fifth Circuit. There is no consen-

sus among the courts of appeal regarding the appropriate

standard for analyzing retaliation claims; the difference in

legal standards is entrenched and important; and the

disparity in results among the circuits from the application

of the varying standards is untenable.

The Fifth Circuit also rejected Petitioners’ discrimina-

tion claims, applying its strict “ultimate employment deci-

sion” test. See Pet. App. at 3. Yet, the Eleventh Circuit has

held that “actions that affect compensation are considered

adverse employment actions,” specifically finding that “an

evaluation that directly disentitles an employee to a raise of

any significance is an adverse employment action under Title

VIL.” Gillis v. Ga. Dept of Corrections, 400 F.3d 883, 888

(CA11 2005). The Fifth Circuit here held the opposite.

This case is an ideal vehicle for resolving these splits of

authority because the Fifth Circuit decided this case solely on

the “ultimate employment decision” issue; there is no alterna-

tive basis for its holding. This Court should grant certiorari to

bring needed clarity to these important questions.

2

I. Certiorari Should Be Granted To Resolve The

Circuit Conflict Regarding The Proper Stan-

dard For Actionable Retaliation.

Contrary to Respondents’ assertion (BIO 5-11), courts

of appeal have not converged on a test for what constitutes

actionable retaliation. In attempting to paper over the deep

conflict that exists, Respondents assert two arguments: 1)

that the “ultimate employment decision” test is “largely the

same” as that used in most other circuits and differs only in

the margin between “material” and “serious” employment

actions required by some circuits and “ultimate” actions

required by the Fifth Circuit; and 2) that case law has

changed since the Ninth Circuit adopted an expansive

standard that Respondents admit conflicts with the Fifth

Circuit’s strict test. These attempts to downplay the conflict

are not persuasive; indeed, cases cited by Respondents

plainly illustrate the intractable split regarding the appro-

priate standard for retaliation claims.

1. At base, this is a conflict over whether discrimina-

tion and retaliation claims are subject to the same “adverse

action” standard, despite difference in language between the

two provisions. Pet. 23-27; Pet. App. 70. The Fifth Circuit

holds discrimination and retaliation claims are subject to the

same standard, requiring an “adverse employment action”

that actually is an “ultimate employment decision.” Pet. App.

at 2. Other circuits and the EEOC do not require even an

adverse employment action, and certainly not an ultimate

employment decision. See, e.g., Herrnreiter v. Chi. Hous.

Auth., 315 F.3d 742, 745 (CA7 2002) (Posner, J.) (“We do not

mean to suggest ... that retaliation, to be actionable under

Title VII (or other statutes), has to involve an adverse

employment action. It does not.”);' Ray v. Henderson, 217

‘ Another opinion by Judge Posner, Stone v. City of Indianapolis Pub.

Utils. Div., 281 F.3d 640 (CA7 2002), uses adverse employment action

language. Yet, the Seventh Circuit reads Herrnreiter as limiting Stone. See

Williams v. Waste Mgmt. of Ill., 361 F.3d 1021, 1031, n.4 (CA7 2004) (noting

Herrnreiter was decided post-Stone and “retaliation claims need not always

involve an adverse action directly related to employment, just an adverse

(Continued on following page)

3

F.3d 1234, 1240-43 (CA9 2000) (adopting EEOC standard

and “hold{ing] that an action is cognizable as an adverse

employment action if it is reasonably likely to deter employ-

ees from engaging in protected activity”); U.S. Equal Em-

ployment Opportunity Comm’n Compliance Manual, § 8, at

14 (May 1998) (opining that the retaliation provision “set([s]

no qualifiers on the term ‘to discriminate,’ and therefore

prohibit[s] any discrimination that is reasonably likely to

deter protected activity.”); see also Noviello v. City of Boston,

398 F.3d 76, 88-90 (CA1 2005) (deferring to EEOC standard

when recognizing retaliatory harassment claim); Berry v.

Stevinson Chevrolet, 74 F.3d 980, 986 (CA10 1996) (rejecting

view that retaliation claim must be based on “formal prac-

tices linked to an existing employer/employee relationship”);

Passer v. Am. Chem. Soc’y, 935 F.2d 322, 331 (CADC 1991)

(retaliation is not limited “only to acts of retaliation that take

the form of cognizable employment actions”).”

action by an employer of some kind, depending on the facts”) (emphasis in

original). Thus, Respondents’ reliance on Beamon v. Marshall & Ilsley Trust

Co., Nos. 04-1521 & 04-2263, 2005 WL 1399307 (CA7 June 15, 2005) is

misplaced because it cited a pre-Herrnreiter case, Hilt-Dyson v. City of

Chicago, 282 F.3d 456 (CA7 2002), which in turn relied on Stone. Stone is

no longer good law. Williams, 361 F.3d at 1031, n.4.

Reliance on Markel v. Bd. of Regents of the Univ. of Wis. Sys., 276 F.3d

906 (CA7 2002), and Graube v. Lau Indus., 257 F.3d 723 (CA7 2001), also is

misplaced as both concerned discrimination not retaliation claims.

Standards for discrimination and retaliation claims should differ. See

Johnson v. Milwaukee Sch. of Eng’g, 258 F. Supp. 2d 896, 905-06 (E.D. Wis.

2003) (citiag Herrnreiter and Ray, holding “[a] Title VII discrimination

plaintiff must establish an adverse employment action. However, the same

is not true in a retaliation case.”).

* The split also results from confusion regarding the affect of the

definition of “tangible employment action” in Burlington Indus., Inc. v.

Ellerth, 524 U.S. 742, 761 (1998). Ellerth concerned employer liability for

sexual harassment. 524 U.S. at 761 (stating that the “tangible employment

action” definition was “for resolution of the vicarious liability issue . . . ”);

see also Faragher v. City of Boca Raton, 524 U.S. 775, 805 (1998) (holding

affirmative defense is available “[w)hen no tangible employment action is

taken”). Yet some courts have imported the “tangible employment action”

definition into all Title VII claims. See, e.g., White v. Burlington N. & Santa

Fe Ry. Co., 364 F.3d 789, 795-800 and n.1 (CA6 2004). Others have taken

(Continued on following page)

4

Unlike the Fifth Circuit’s categorical, “laundry list”

approach, these circuits and the EEOC focus not on the type

of employment action at issue, but upon the retaliatory

motive and the effects on the employee, which necessarily

requires a case-by-case approach. See Joan M. Savage, Note:

Adopting the EEOC Deterrence Approach to the Adverse

Employment Action Prong in a Prima Facie Case for Title VII

Retaliation, 46 B.C. L. Rev. 215, 216-17 (2004) (noting the

above circuits “employ a broad, case-by-case approach, which

focuses on the retaliatory motive rather than solely on the

severity of the action”); see also Smith v. Sec. of Navy, 659

F.2d 1113, 1119-20 and n.56 (CADC 1981).

Yet, under the Fifth Circuit’s strict test, the court

categorizes actions as “ultimate” or not, with only the former

supporting a claim. As a result, as shown in this case,

important questions of motive and cumulative effect are

dismissed by the analysis. The chill on an employee's will-

ingness to oppose discrimination is not considered, which can

emasculate effective enforcement of Title VII . Pet. at 19-20.

Moreover, even circuits that require “adverse employ-

ment action” nonetheless have explicitly rejected the Fifth

Circuit’s strict test. See, e.g., White, 364 F.3d at 795-800; id.

at 808-17 (Clay, J., concurring); see also BIO at 12, n.6 (citing

courts that have rejected Fifth Circuit’s categorical approach

and instead decide question on case-by-case basis).

In sum, the circuits have splintered, and this Court

should grant certiorari in this case to resolve the confu-

sion. See Savage, Note: Adopting the EEOC Deterrence

Approach, 46 B.C. L. REV. at 230-38.

the correct view that the “tangible employment action” definition should

not be incorporated into ai! Title VII claims, and specifically not into

retaliation claims. Ray, 217 F.2d at 1242, n.5 (rejecting argument that

Ellerth sets standard for retaliation claims); Hillig v. Rumsfeld, 381 F.3d

1028, 1031-32 (CA10 2004) (same and noting Ellerth does not set standard

for discrimination claims). Even if Elleth’s “tangible employment action”

standard applies to retaliation claims, it conflicts with the Fifth Circuit's

ultimate employment decision test. Pet. at 25-6.

5

2. The circuit split continues. Respondents acknow]l-

edge the split, but posit that the conflict is not as ea-

trenched as Ray states, (BIO 7-10), and that the cases Ray

relies upon are “outdated or simply wrong.” Jd. at 8. Yet,

cases decided since Ray clearly demonstrate that the

circuits remain deeply divided and show that the Ninth

Circuit is not alone in adopting the EEOC’s position.

For example, Respondents argue that the First Circuit in

Marrero v. Goya of P-R., Inc., 304 F.3d 7, 22-27 (CA1 2002),

moved away from an expansive retaliation standard articu-

lated in Wyatt v. City of Boston, 35 F.3d 13, 15-16 (CA1 1994)

(per curiam), which was cited approvingly in Ray. BIO at 8.

Respondents assert that Marrero rejected a retaliatory

harassment claim because it did not meet a “materially

adverse” employment action standard. Yet, Respondents

overlook that the First Circuit held this year that retaliatory

harassment is actionable. Noviello, 398 F.3d at 76, 88-90. In so

holding, the First Circuit recognized the circuit split and

deferred to the EEOC standard adopted in Ray. Id. at 90.

Respondents next mistakenly argue that the Seventh

Circuit has distanced itself from the broad language in

Knox v. State, 93 F.3d 1327, 1334 (CA7 1996), which was

cited approvingly in Ray. Rather, as noted by Judge

Posner, speaking for the Seventh Circuit in Herrnreiter:

We do not mean to suggest . . . that retaliation, to be

actionable under Title VII (or other statutes), has to

involve an adverse employment action. It does not.

Aviles v. Cornell Forge Co., 183 F.3d 598, 605-06 (7th

Cir. 1999); Aviles v. Cornell Forge Co., 241 F.3d 589,

593 (7th Cir. 2001); Passer v. American Chemical So-

ciety, 935 F.'2d 322, 331-32 (D.C. Cir. 1991); EEOC

Compliance Manual § 8, P 8008 (1998) (directive No.

915.003); see also Veprinsky v. Fluor Daniel, Inc., 87

F.3d 881, 891-92 (7th Cir. 1996). Some cases reach

this conclusion by interpreting “adverse employment

action” in the retaliation context as not requiring an

actual employment action; an example is Berry uv.

Stevinson Chevrolet, 74 F.3d 980, 986-87 (10th Cir.

1996), where the retaliation took the form of prefer-

ring charges of theft and forgery against an employee

6

who had filed a charge of discrimination See also

Ray v. Henderson, 217 F.3d 1234, 1242-43 (9th Cir.

2000). . .. We left open in [another] case the question

whether retaliation in other forms was actionable

under Title VII [or whether retaliation must take the

form of an adverse job action]. The cases cited earlier

in this paragraph have now resolved the issue by

holding that the provision is not so confined.

Ibid., 315 F.3d at 745-46 (emphasis in original); see also

Firestine v. Parkview Health Sys., 388 F.3d 229, 235 (CA7

2004) (retaliation is not limited to adverse job action). By

citing the EEOC, Ray, Passer and Berry as stating the

correct retaliation standard, the Seventh Circuit has

placed itself solidly in line with Ray.

Finally, Berry articulated a broad retaliation test that is in

line with Ray, but Respondents assert that the Tenth Circuit

has since retreated. BIO at 9. Yet, just a year ago, the Tenth

Circuit specifically held that “we have not abandoned the

[adverse action] definition we used in Berry . .. we have contin-

ued to liberally define the term ‘adverse employment action’

and take a case-by-case approach.” Hillig, 381 F.3d at 1031-33.

In sum, rather than converging on the Fifth Circuit's

narrow test, other courts of appeals are adhering to a more

expansive view of what constitutes actionable retaliation.

3. This split over the rationale and standard is not

merely a difference in semantics; application of the varying

tests is leading to divergent results. See Savage, Note: Adopt-

ing the EEOC Deterrence Approach, 46 B.C. L. REv. at 238.

Had Petitioners worked in other circuits they would have had

actionable retaliation claims, but because they worked in the

Fifth Circuit, they were adjudged to have no claims.

Contrary to Respondents’ characterization (BIO at 13-14),

Petitioners not only claim: that performance evaluations

standing alone are actionable, but also claim that the poor

performance reviews resulted in a lower raise when compared

to similarly-situated colleagues and that the cumulative effect

of the actions at issue constituted actionable retaliation. See

Pet. at 4, 7. Indeed, Petitioner Cardenas-Garcia’s performance

review specifically criticizes his protected activity, and this

7

retaliatory review of his performance directly resulted in a

reduced raise. See Pet. at 4.

Respondents’ own authority supports finding an actionable

retaliation claim. See Hernandez-Torres v. Intercontinental

Trading, Inc., 158 F.3d 438, 47 (CA1 1998) (noting retaliation

“encompasses a variety of adverse employment actions, includ-

ing ... unwarranted negative job evaluations”); LaCroix uv.

Sears, Roebuck & Co., 240 F.3d 688, 691-92 (CA8 2001) (noting

negative review would be actionable where used as a basis to

detrimentally alter terms or conditions of employment); Lyons

v. England, 307 F.3d 1092, 1118 (CA9 2002) (Gimplying that

performance evaluation that gives rise to further negative

employment action would violate Title VID); Yartzoff' v. Thomas,

809 F.2d 1371, 1376 (CA9 1987) (holding that “transfers of job

duties and undeserved performance ratings, if proven, would

constitute ‘adverse employment decisions’ cognizable under

[Title VIPs] retaliation provision”); see also Pet. at 20-22."

Respondents’ cases also confirm that the retaliatory

investigation into Petitioner Rasty’s alleged academic

dishonesty and interference with his research, Pet. at 5-7,

would be actionable outside the Fifth Circuit. See also Pet.

at 22. For example, in Haddon v. Executive Residence at

White House, 313 F.3d 1352, 1363-64 (CAFed. 2002), the

Federal Circuit cited Berry favorably for the proposition

* The case at bar is not merely misapplication of circuit precedent.

BIO at 14, and n.8. First, Felton v. Polles, 315 F.3d 470, 488 (CA5 2002),

did not suggest that a poor performance evaluation could be actionable

if it directly affected compensation. Rather the court assumed that

postponing a raise constituted actionable discrarmination. Yet, the Fifth

Circuit in this case held that a negative performance review, even if

enacted with retaliatory motive and even though it resulted in a reduced

raise, does not constitute an “ultimate employment action.” Pet. App. at 2.

Second, their reliance on Harrington v. Harris, 118 F.3d 359, 366 (CA5

1997), is misplaced, as discussed supra at 9-10. Finally, even if discrimi-

nation and retaliation cases should be analyzed under the same stan-

dards (and considering the pay raise issue alone), the reduced raises

Petitioners received as a direct result of their discriminatory/retaliatory

performance reviews is actionable in the Eleventh Circuit. See Gillis, 400

F.3d at 888 (any decision that “disentitles an employee to a raise of any

significance is an adverse employment action”).

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.