Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Budde v. Harley-Davidson, Inc.

Supreme Court brief2005

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

(1) Supreme Court, U.S.

FILED

041147 FEB 14 2005

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

No.

WILLIAM A. BUDDE, PETITIONER

Vv.

HARLEY-DAVIDSON, INC. AND

HARLEY-DAVIDSON MOTOR COMPANY

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

; FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

IRVING S. RAPPAPORT

Counsel of Record

1500 Edgewood Drive

Palo Alto, CA 94303

(650)321-7024

Attorney for Petitioner

CURRY & TAYLOR @ WASH D.C. @ (202) 223-3160 ¢ USSCINFO.COM

et OR tte

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

a Does the constitutional right of “due

process” include the right to require that the Court of

Appeals for the Federal Circuit (CAFC) follow its own

final appellate decision in a Markman claim construction

in a later appeal from a Federal District Court

summary judgment Ruling on patent infringement?

2. Does the constitutional right of “due

process” include the right to preclude a Federal District

Court from: 1) ignoring an earlier appellate decision on

a Markman claim construction handed down by the

CAFC, and 2) changing the claim construction

established as the “law of the case” in the prior CAFC

decision in a Ruling ona summary judgment motion?

—

il

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Pursuant to Rule 14.1(b), the following list

represents all of the parties before the United States

Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit Circuit.

William A. Budde, hereinafter “Budde” was the

Plaintiff in the United States Court of Appeals for the

Federal Circuit and is the Petitioner in this petition and

is represented by:

Irving S. Rappaport

1500 Edgewood Drive

Palo Alto, CA 943803

(650)321-7024

Harley-Davidson, Inc. and Harley-Davidson Motor

Company, hereinafter collectively “HD” were

Defendants in the United States Court of Appeals for

the Federal Circuit and are respondents in this petition

are represented by:

J. Donald Best

Michael Best & Friedrich LLP

One South Pinckney Street

Suite 700

Madison, WI 53703

(608) 257-3501

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

ge 1

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING ..........c.cecccesesesescescscscsesecosesecesseee Hy

EE NE EY AS eR a E ill

gk EEA CSN OT ST Vv

EE a eT ES DT «SE 1

SETS IS Oe PNA EAN Te 1

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED .....cececececececscsesescenee 1

SOOT ON TID COREE, ..scccosanssentesenscvanionssnneoussnnsienanenosesenmmuns 2

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ........ccececececececscsceceses 6

I. THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT FAILED TO

APPLY THE “LAW OF THE CASE”

Ios aT UIT cececsincinaeanineinstiinictdanns tecseiieiieatiinaeieinaadiieiieiaaaads 6

II. THE OCTOBER 5, 2004 FEDERAL CIRCUIT

DECISION VIOLATES BUDDE’S RIGHT TO

SPR ATTEN tictetincniiincilcinsiianitaeaieitihdtia iacndecaeiicia ais 13

III. THE OCTOBER 5, 2004 FEDERAL CIRCUIT

DECISION IGNORES THE DISTRICT

COURT'S EQUIVALENTS FINDING .....0......cccccecceeee 14

REARS NS RS SEO RETO EMER OE EE SR LAA 19

APPENDIX

CIRCUIT COURT ORDER (10/05/04) 2......cccccccccceccececesees la

Se

iv

DISTRICT: COURT ORDER (05/24/01) ....----sssvsssseeeeessseereee lla

DISTRICT COURT DECISION (06/30/03) ....---ssssssssssssseer 39a

DISTRICT COURT DECISION (01/29/99) .....----sssseseeseeeeeer 8la

ORDER DENYING REHEARING (11/15/04)....---seesevssseee 98a

FINDINGS _ FROM ABA IPL NEWSLETTER,

SUMMER 2003, VOL. 21, NO. 4 -sssssssesssseeeeesssennsnnnssssersenenee 100a

EXCERPT OF WHITE EXPERT REPORT ...--+svsssssssseeeee 125a

TRANSCRIPT OF HEARING OF JUNE 23, 2003 ON

CROSS-MOTIONS FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT ON

INFRINGEMENT........cecososssssssesssseonensnsenenenenennsnnonsnnseseesere® 131la

ee

V

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

AGOSTINI V. FELTON, 512 U.S. 203 | RARE a ee 6

APEX ELECTRICAL MFG. Co. Vv. MAYTAG Co., 122

F.2D 182, 187, 50 U.S.P.Q. (BNA) 90, 94 (7™ CiR.),

CERT. DENIED, 314 U.S. 687, 86 L. ED. 549, 62S. Cr.

BOS CODE) cnsinpstiniiciiiticumabisicgled tee: spidiscanbaalbiaaticidatia: 17

ARIZONA V. CALIFORNIA, 460 U.S. 605, 618, N. 8

COO) asenceeinisioseintiit cana 7

BEMIS MFG. v. DoRNOCH MEDICAL SYSTEMS, INC.,

21 FED. APPx, 930 (FED. CIR. 2001)......ccseccsssssesesoosess.... 14,15

DAVIS V. UNITED STATES, 417 U.S. 383, 342 (1974)........... 7

MAGRATH V. DRAPER CORP., 384 F.2p 672, 674, 155

U.S.P.Q. (BNA) 609, 610 (1°" CIR. 1967) ..inescscssssssssocecosssss.,. 17

MESSENGER V. ANDERSON, 225 U.S. 436, 444 (1912).............. 7

Mosa, B.V. v. DIAMOND AUTOMATION, INC., 325

F.3D 1306, 1812-14 (FED. CIR. i Naibicitignte es 11

NO-JOINT CONCRETE PIPE Co. V. HANSON, 344 F.2p

13, 15, 144 U.S.P.Q. (BNA) 519, 520 (9™ CiR.), CERT.

DENIED, 382 U.S. 843, 15 L.ED. 2p 83, 86 S. CT. 79

TI sornsinsinstanlttcinniigagl ait tec Nie 17

RICHARDS V. CHASE ELEVATOR, 159 U.S. 477, 486,

40 L. ED. 225, 16S. Cr. 53 ( MIB) oancosssircesssscayinsenaitinanin sen 18

ROYAL TYPEWRITER Co. V. REMINGTON RAND,

INC., 168 F.2p 691, 693, 77 U.S.P.Q. (BNA) 517, 519

(2D CIR.), CERT. DENIED, 335 U.S. 825, 98 L. Ep.

OT, COSC: IID isiisisitin ada ee 15

vi

SPECIALTY EQUIPMENT & MACH. CORP. V. ZELL

MOTOR CAR Co., 193 F.2D 515, 518, 92 U.S.P.Q.

(BNA) 84, 87 (4™ CIR. 1952) 17

WHITE V. DUNBAR, 119 U.S. 47, 51 (1886) 12

MISCELLANEOUS

28 U.S.C. § 1254 1

1 -

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals for the

Federal Circuit (CAFC) dated October 5, 2004, not

designated for publication, appears in the APPENDIX,

pages la through 10a, to this petition. A Combined

Petition for Panel Rehearing and Rehearing En Banc

was filed on October 19, 2004. The Combined Petition

was denied on November 15, 2004 and is found in the

APPENDIX at pages 98a through 99a.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28

U.S.C. § 1254, which states in part:

“Cases in the courts of appeals may be

reviewed by the Supreme Court by the

following methods:

(1) By writ of certiorari granted upon

the petition of any party to any civil or

criminal case, before or after rendition of

judgment or decree; .

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

Amendment V - Trial and Punishment,

Compensation for Takings guarantees that no person

shall be deprived of property without due process of

law:

2

“No person shall be held to answer for a

capital, or otherwise infamous crime,

unless on a presentment or indictment of

a Grand Jury, except in cases arising in

the land or naval forces, or in the Militia,

when in actual service in time of War or

public danger; nor shall any person be

subject for the same offense to be twice

put in jeopardy of life or limb; nor shall be

compelled in any criminal case to be a

witness against himself, nor be deprived

of life, liberty, or property, without due

process of law; nor shall private

property be taken for public use, without

just compensation.” (Bolding added)

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

For William (Billy) Budde, his whole life has

been about riding and customizing motorcycles,

particularly Harley-Davidson (HD) motorcycles. Mr.

Budde started riding at age 12, finished only 9" grade,

was a champion rider by age 18, and until his recent

divorce and loss of his motorcycle shop, invented and

developed customized features for HD motorcycles. He

and co-inventor, Floyd Knapp, made the patented

invention in 1989 and U.S. patent 4,955,348 (348 patent)

issued in 1990, covering electronic fuel injection for

Harley-Davidson V-twin engine motorcycles. In the

early ‘90s Mr. Budde was unsuccessful in his attempts

to get the attention of motorcycle behemoth HD to

license the ‘848 patent. They essentially refused to deal

with him, figuring they could crush him.

3

In January 1995 HD commenced selling V-twin

engine motorcycles which infringed the ‘348 patent. In

June 1997, Mr. Budde commenced a suit for patent

infringement against HD in the Federal District Court

for the Northern District of California. Although the

case was originally brought in Oakland, CA, the case

was transferred to San Jose, CA onto the docket of

District Court Judge Jeremy Fogel. ©

A Markman claim construction was issued by the

District Court on January 29, 1999. (APPENDIX,

pages 81a-97a.) That construction was appealed to the

CAFC, and on appeal the Districts Court’s claim

construction was amended by the CAFC on May 24,

2001. (APPENDIX, pages 11a-38a.) Reconsideration

was requested by HD and denied, and the final .

appellate decision consisting of a complete claim

construction of the single claim in suit was sent back to

the District Court for further proceedings.

In 2003 Cross Motions for Summary Judgment

relating to patent infringement were filed by the

parties. The District Court ruled on those motions in

July 2003 granting HD’s Motion and denying Mr.

Budde’s Motion (APPENDIX, pages 39a-80a). The

District Court, in ruling on the Summary Judgment

Motions, ignored the prior claim construction in the

CAFC 2001 decision and changed and re-construed the

claim. Further, in ruling on infringement, the District

Court took the accused infringing fuel injection systems

into consideration in rewriting the claim, and as to one

element, stated that there was ambiguity on the -

question of equivalence, even though in the original

claim construction affirmed in the first appeal, no

ambiguity was found as to the element in question.

4

On appeal for the second time, without a trial on

the merits, the CAFC on October 5, 2004 affirmed the

District Court’s Ruling on summary judgment on non-

infringement (APPENDIX, pages 1a-10a), finding that

the District Court merely “clarified” its earlier claim

construction, rather than having actually changed and

reversed the claim construction. Mr. Budde filed a

Combined Petition for Panel Rehearing and Rehearing

En Bane on October 19, 2004. The CAFC denied

Budde’s Combined Petition for Rehearing and for

Rehearing En Banc on November 15, 2004

(APPENDIX, pp. 98a-99a).

After almost eight years of litigation, without a

trial on the merits, Mr. Budde’s financial problems are

so severe due to the legal fees he has incurred in this

case, he may have to file for bankruptcy.

The record of Markman appeals in the last

several years shows reversals by the CAFC almost half

the time.! (See APPENDIX., pages 100a-124a) It

! Mark T. Banner, Chair of the Intellectual Property Section of the

ABA states in the IPL Newsletter, Summer 2003, Vol. 21, No. 4:

“Nothing I have written this past year generated as much mail as

the article proposing a review of the Markman process.” Letters,

e-mails, and comments came from members of the user community,

district court judges, individual inventors, and colleagues in the

outside bar. ... Federal Circuit judges, academics, and even clerks

of court had debated and written about the reversal rate, some

suggesting a rate as high as 47 percent ... the reversal rate on

claim construction for the first six months of 2003 is 48 percent ..

A thorough study of this situation cannot be done too soon. The

Markman procedure is broken. The analytical framework is

confusing and the results are confounding. The lack of

predictability is not serving the patent system well. ...Today, the

uncertainty inherent in the manner in which de novo review of

5

seems that the time is ripe for the Supreme Court to

lend some clarity to what the standards are for

Markman claim constructions. This Court needs to

make clear when a claim construction becomes final in a

case, so that the parties do not have to struggle with a

case in which the District Court and CAFC turn claim

construction into a continually moving ping-pong ball

back and forth between them, without the parties

having an opportunity to go to trial. On February 8,

2005 the en Banc Federal Circuit heard oral argument

to consider the proper way to interpret patent claims in

light of the specifications to correctly determine their

limitations. Phillips v. AWH Corp., Fed. Cir., No. 03-

1269. There is disarray as to what constitutes proper

Markman methodology.

The Budde case provides the Supreme Court a

unique opportunity to provide more detailed guidelines

on the requirements, standards and law relating to

Markman claim constructions provided by District

Courts and the appeal of such constructions to the

CAFC. In this case, Mr. Budde was denied due process

because of the continual changing of the Markman claim

construction by both the District Court and the CAFC,

even though it had been finalized in the first decision of

the CAFC in 2001. A District Court claim construction

Markman rulings takes place has created a widely held belief in

the business and user community that the outcome of patent cases

cannot be determined until after the Federal Circuit has ruled on

claim construction. The Federal Circuit, the argument goes has

created a morass of confused and contradictory claim construction

canons. ... We need to find a way to make the Markman process

more predictable. ... need to he law of clai nstruction.”

(Emphasis added) Exhibit A is his findings.

6

followed by a final construction by the CAFC should fix

claim construction for the remainder of the case, with

no prerogative in the District Court or the CAFC to

change the “law of the case” claim construction. The

claim construction handed down by the CAFC should

be final and not subject to change by the District Court

or the CAFC. Claim construction is an issue which the

parties should neither be allowed multiple bites of the

apple nor subjected to multiple constructions. One

claim construction by the District Court, finalized on

appeal by the CAFC, should be sufficient.

Instead of our judicial institutions giving him a

fighting chance, Mr. Budde finds himself harpooned by

two contradictory appellate decisions by the CAFC on

claim construction of his single claim at issue. Surely

this result is not what was contemplated by Markman

and is more than any party can stand or to which he/she

should be subjected. Accordingly Mr. Budde has filed

this Writ of Certiorari.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

I. THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT FAILED TO APPLY

THE “LAW OF THE CASE” DOCTRINE

Budde asserts the facts of this case and his

fundamental constitutional guarantees should have

required both the District Court and the CAFC to

apply the “law of the case” on claim construction as

decided in the first decision by the CAFC in 2001. This

Court in Agostini v. Felton, 512 U.S. 203 (1997), at 236,

discussed the requirements of the “law of the case”

doctrine stating:

7

“Under this doctrine, a court should not

reopen issues decided in earlier stages

of the same litigation. Messenger v.

Anderson, 225 U.S. 486, 444 (1912). The

doctrine does not apply if the court is

‘convinced that [its prior decision] is

clearly erroneous and would work a

manifest injustice.’ Arizona sv.

California, 460 U.S. 605, 618, n. 8 (1983).

In light of our conclusion that Aguilar

would be decided differently under our

current Establishment Clause law, we

think adherence to that decision would

undoubtedly work a ‘manifest injustice,’

such that the law of the case doctrine does

not apply. Accord, Davis v. United States,

417 U.S. 333, 342 (1974) (Court of Appeals

erred in adhering to law of the case

doctrine despite intervening Supreme

Court precedent).” (Emphasis added)

Neither the District Court nor the CAFC

discussed “manifest injustice”. Budde was not advised

that the District Court considered that its prior

Markman decision was clearly erroneous and, therefore,

was working a manifest injustice. HD did not advance

such an argument.

The District Court’s original claim

construction order in 1999 ruled:

“The third disputed term is a ‘pair of fuel

injectors mounted in a fuel injector and

throttle body secured to [the] intake

manifold.’ Budde argues that this

8

language is clear on its face and that it

requires that two fuel injectors be

mounted in a body referred to as a ‘fuel

injector and throttle body. Harley-

Davidson argues that this claim element

requires a throttle body injection system,

as opposed to a port injection system.

However, neither the claims nor the

specification include reference to

‘throttle body injection’ or ‘port

injection.’ Therefore, a proper

interpretation of this term need not

require any particular type of fuel

injection system. Rather, the

language of this claim simply requires

that two fuel injectors be mounted in

a fuel injector and throttle body. The

language of this claim element further

requires that the fuel injector and throttle

body be secured to the intake manifold.”

(APPENDIX, pages 87a and 88a, January

29, 1999 District Court Claim

Construction Order.) (Emphasis added).

Neither HD nor Budde appealed the District

Court’s claim construction on the _ location of the fuel

injectors, and the CAFC in the first appeal made no

change to that construction. In fact, the CAFC said in

its 2001 decision: |

“The parties do not dispute the

district court’s construction of the

following claim limitations: ... (3) pair

of fuel injectors mounted in a fuel

injector and throttle body ...” 250 F.3d

9

1369, 13876 (APPENDIX, page 22a)

(Emphasis added).

\

HD was therefore judicially estopped from even

raising this argument after it had been fully settled by

the 2001 CAFC appellate decision. But on remand, HD

renewed its previous arguments before the District

Court, and the District Court in its 2003 Ruling

improperly found that the “parties disagree as to what

type of body qualifies as a ‘fuel injector and throttle

body.” (APPENDIX, page 55a.) The District Court

then essentially reversed its own earlier 1999 claim

construction, ignoring the 2001 CAFC appellate

decision, and concluded:

“The limitation is ambiguous and

neither of the parties’ positions is entirely

satisfactory.” (APPENDIX, page 56a.)

(Emphasis added).

The District Court found the language perfectly

clear in 1999, but in 2003, four years later, found the

language ambiguous in light of the same rejected

arguments presented by HD that its fuel injectors are

located slightly closer to the cylinders than to the-

throttle butterfly valve. As originally pointed out and

construed by the District Court, nothing in the claim

language or specification referred to any type of fuel

injection system, and under the doctrines of law of the

case and judicial estoppel, the District Court committed

reversible error in finding “ambiguous” that which it

previously found unambiguous. Nor did the District

Court conclude that a “manifest injustice” compelled a

departure from the settled claim construction. Clearly,

both HD’s Original and New EFI Systems satisfy this

10

claim element based on the original 1999 claim

construction by the District Court and affirmed by the

CAFC in 2001.

See APPENDIX, pages 125a and 126a, of White

Expert Report which show images of both Budde’s fuel

injectors mounted in the fuel injector and throttle body

integral with the intake manifold (page 125a) and the

corresponding views of the HD fuel injectors and their

throttle body and intake manifold. The only difference

between HD’s Original EFI System and New EFI

System is that in the New HD EFI system, the throttle

body and intake manifold are two pieces secured

together, as opposed to the one piece construction of

the Original EFI system (page 126a).

The District Court’s 1999 Ruling, upheld by

the CAFC on the first appeal in 2001, found that

the type of fuel injection system was not in issue,

as it was not even mentioned in the ‘348 patent.

The District Court’s so-called clarification is really a

misnomer for what has really occurred here, which is a

complete reversal and reconstruction of the District

Court’s 1999 claim construction Ruling, which Ruling

was upheld by the CAFC in 2001 and became the law of

this case. Based on the 2001 CAFC appellate decision,

the type of fuel injection system was not even in issue.

For the District Court to completely reverse itself in

the summary judgment Rulings on infringement in 2003

by finding that the location of the fuel injectors has

become a critical element in claim 1, violates the “law of

this case” as enunciated by the CAFC in its own 2001 _

appellate decision. Surely the affirmation of this 180-

degree reversal of its own 2001 decision in the CAFC’s

2004 appellate decision is a miscarriage of justice. In

li

essence, Budde has been hit by a “rolling” Markman

claim construction, whereby the District Court and

CAFC change claim construction, denying the parties

their day in court on the settled 2001 CAFC claim

construction. Surely, this is “manifest injustice”!

In addition, the District Court reached its 2003

Ruling on HD’s motion for summary judgment of non-

infringement by reading the language in claim 1

regarding the pair of fuel injectors in light of the

accused HD devices. This practice is clearly not in

concert with long-standing case law that in construing

claims, the accused devices are not to be considered.

The District Court violated the fundamental principle

of claim construction that courts may not interpret

claims with an eye to the infringing device. See, Moba,

B.V.v. Diamond Automation, Inc., 325 F.3d 1306, 1312-

14 (Fed. Cir. 2003). This departure by the District

Court tainted that court’s revisiting of claim

construction and speaks legions why the settled claim

construction following the 2001 CAFC decision should

have been treated as the “law of the case” as Judge

Fogel himself had acknowledged during the June 23,

2003 oral argument on the parties’ Cross-Motions.2 (See

APPENDIX, page 136a.)

* THE COURT: All right. Say again. I lost you there. The claim

construction was - - as I —— = no gE Oo

oe pn was ast the subject of the appeal with the iad

exception of the Court’s conclusion that there was a lack of

structure with respect to the vacuum sensor and that - - and that

aspect of the Court’s construction order was the subject of

reversal.

12

The District Court and CAFC both failed to

heed the admonition given to parties in patent suits in

the case handed down by this Court in White v.

Dunbar, 119 U.S. 47, 51 (1886):

“Some persons seem to suppose that a

claim in a patent is like a nose of wax

which may be turned and twisted in any

direction, by merely referring to the

specification, so as to make it include

something more than, or something

different from, what its words express.”

(Emphasis added).

The District Court and the CAFC failed-to apply

the law of the case doctrine in their 2003 and 2004

decisions, respectively, and treated claim 1 of the ‘348

patent as a “nose of wax” to require that it include a

specific location of the pair of fuel injectors. Nowhere is

such limitation expressed or shown in the specification

of the’348 patent. In essence, the District Court and

the CAFC have rewritten claim 1 of the 848 patent by

incorporating inconsequential differences found in the

HD accused devices as limitations into the claim. For

the courts themselves to engage in this sleight of hand

is unconscionable and should not be allowed to stand.

Therefore, for Mr. Budde to receive “due process”, the

CAFC’s new, decision of October 5, 2004 should be

reversed and the case remanded to the District Court

for a trial on the merits based on the 2001 CAFC claim

construction decision.

That’s where we are. So I don’t know that anything needs to be

modified any further. (Emphasis added.)

13

II. THE OCTOBER 5, 2004 FEDERAL CIRCUIT

DECISION VIOLATES BUDDE’S RIGHT TO

DUE PROCESS

For the CAFC in its October 5, 2004 decision to

now compound the error of the District Court in its

Ruling on the summary judgment motions in J uly 2003

not only violates the “law of the case” doctrine, but

represents a denial of due process to Mr. Budde by the

CAFC. The pair of fuel injectors was no longer an issue

regarding claim interpretation as of the CAFC’s May

24, 2001 decision. (APPENDIX, page 22a.) For the

CAFC to say in October 2004 that: 3

“On remand, the District Court clarified

its claim construction, stating that this

limitation required the fuel injectors be

mounted in the throttle body. Budde III,

slip op. at 12-13”. (APPENDIX, page 7a.)

(Emphasis added)

totally overlooks the reality of what occurred. The

District Court did not clarify its claim construction in

its 2003 Ruling but rather, clearly and unabashedly,

violated this Court’s “nose of wax” admonition by

changing and reversing its earlier 1999 claim

construction on this element. In doing so, the District

Court not only ignored the 2001 mandate of the CAFC

that the pair of fuel injectors was not in dispute, but

chose to ignore its own 1999 Ruling, as affirmed by the

2001 CAFC appellate decision, which established the

law of the case with respect to the fuel injectors. The

CAFC compounded the District Court’s 2003 Ruling

error by supporting this “nose of wax” reconstruction of

the claim in its October 2004 appellate decision. Not

14

only did the CAFC violate the clear “law of the case”

doctrine which it set in its own earlier 2001 decision in

this case, but in doing so denied Budde due process.

Budde should have been provided an

opportunity to submit evidence on the question of

literal infringement and, especially, infringement under

the doctrine of equivalents in view of the District

Court’s “clarification,” and the failure to have afforded

him that opportunity is a violation of Budde’s due

process rights. See Bemis Mfg. v. Dornoch Medical

Systems, Inc., 21 Fed. Appx. 930 (Fed. Cir. 2001). Even

if the law were to allow the law of the case doctrine to

be ignored, at a minimum, Budde should be allowed to

argue the changed claim construction based on further

evidence and expert testimony, which he has never had

the opportunity to do before the District Court or

CAFC.

Plaintiff has unquestionably been denied due

process. This Court should reverse the October 5, 2004

CAFC decision and remand this case for a trial on the

merits, if Mr. Budde is to receive any justice in this

matter, much less his day in court, which he has yet to

receive after over seven and one half years since this

case was filed.

Ill. THE OCTOBER 5, 2004 FEDERAL CIRCUIT

_ COURT’S EQUIVALENTS FINDING

The CAFC’s October 5, 2004 decision states:

“The district court, in the face of

‘conflicting expert opinions’ presented by

15

Budde and Harley-Davidson, found a

‘triable issue of material fact’ concerning

whether the difference in the location of

the fuel injectors was insubstantial, and

thus equivalent, under the doctrine of

equivalents. Id. The district court found

that the possible conclusion that the

placement of the fuel injectors in the

Harley-Davidson systems was equivalent

to the claimed placement would not

vitiate the limitation in question because

‘the fuel injectors clearly are present in

HD’s (Harley-Davidson’s] EFI system.”

(APPENDIX, page 9a.)

Expanding one element into two, or combining

two elements into one, does not preclude application of

the doctrine of equivalents. The solidity of this

precedent was referred to by Judge Learned Hand in

j j 168

F.2d 691, 693, 77 U.S.P.Q. (BNA) 517, 519 (2d Cir.),

cert. denied, 335 U.S. 825, 93 L. Ed. 379, 69 S. Ct. 50

(1948): |

“Although we are chary [sic] of all

objective absolutes in the field of patents,

reliance upon which has done more to

conceal and confuse the subject than

anything else, courts have with curious _

unanimity held that it does not avoid

infringement to combine into one member

that which the patent discloses as two, if

the single member performs the duties of

both in the same way. The decisions are

so numerous that we confine ourselves to

16

citing those which over the last thirty

years we have passed _ ourselves.”

[Citations omitted].

The simple fact is that in the Budde ‘348 patent

and in both the Old and New HD EFI systems there is

an induction module. The induction module in the ‘348

patent consists of a pair of fuel injectors, throttle body

and intake manifold. The Original HD EFI system also

consists of an-induction module made up of a throttle

body and intake manifold with the fuel injectors

mounted therein. Also, the New HD EFI system

consists of an induction module made up of a two-piece

unit having a throttle body and an intake manifold

bolted to the throttle body with fuel injectors mounted

therein. The “fuel injector and throttle body” is part of

a unitary assembly known as the induction module,

which in the ‘348 patent and the Original and New HD

EFI systems also includes the intake manifold, as

stated in the ‘348 patent at col. 4, lines 6 — 18:

“Fuel injectors 11 are mounted in a fuel

injector throttle body 13 for delivering

fuel from the injectors to the engine

cylinders through the intake manifold 15.

Since V-twin engines only have two

cylinders, only two separate injectors are

required. These fuel injectors are

standard units and for the _ present

invention can be the particular injectors

made by Bosch which are utilized in

Volkswagen flat four opposed cylinder air

cooled engines. The throttle body 13 is

secured to the intake manifold 15 which in

turn is secured to the cylinder heads

17

proximate the intake valves of the

engine.” |

There is no requirement in the ‘348 patent as to

the exact location of the pair of fuel injectors as found in

the 1999 District Court Ruling on claim construction

and upheld on appeal in the 2001 decision on claim

construction by the CAFC.

See, also, e.g., Apex Electrical Mfg. Co. v.

Maytag Co., 122 F.2d 182,187, 50 U.S.P.Q. (BNA) 90, 94

(7 Cir.), cert. denied, 314 U.S. 687, 86 L. Ed. 549, 62 S.

‘Ct. 297 (1941) (“Patents are not limited to the structure

described and shown, but the invention may be

embodied in various forms. ... Infringement is not

avoided by combining two elements in a claim into one

part”); Specialty Equipment & Mach. Corp. v. Zell

Motor Car Co., 193 F.2d 515, 518, 92 U.S.P.Q. (BNA) 84,

87 (4" Cir. 1952) (“(OJne using the substance and

essentials of a patented combination does not avoid

infringement by varying nonessential details. Neither

the joinder of different elements of a patented

combination into two or more doing together

substantially what was done by the single element will

evade a charge of infringement”); No-Joint Concrete

Pipe Co. v. Hanson, 344 F.2d 13, 15, 144 U.S.P.Q. (BNA)

519, 520 (9"" Cir.), cert. denied, 382 U.S. 848, 15 L.Ed. 2d

83, 86 S. Ct. 79 (1965) (“A substantial body of law

recognizes that infringement is not avoided by making

into one part that which has been shown as two”);

Magrath v. Draper Corp., 384 F.2d 672, 674, 155

U.S.P.Q. (BNA) 609, 610 (1* Cir. 1967) (“If unification

or combination be regarded as omitting something, it is

not enough to omit an element when the omission ‘is

attended by a corresponding omission of the function

18 _

performed by that element ... if the elements retained

performed the same function as before”) (quoting

Richards v. Chase Elevator, 159 U.S. 477, 486, 40 L. Ed.

225, 16S. Ct. 53 (1895)).

Essentially, the CAFC’s analysis of “fuel injector

and throttle body” (APPENDIX, pages 9a and 10a) of

its October 5, 2004 decision eliminates the language

“fuel injector and,” so that the fuel injectors are

mounted in a “throttle body”, thereby improperly

rewriting the claim. This impermissible rewriting

ignores the facts establishing equivalents under settled _

precedent that neither the joinder of different elements

of a patented combination into one, nor separation of

one integral part into two or more, doing together

substantially what was done by the single element, will

evade a charge of infringement.

Budde’s expert testified that there was

absolutely no difference between locating the fuel

injectors at one end of the induction module or the

other. Why has the CAFC overturned the District

Court’s finding that under the doctrine of equivalents

there is a triable issue of fact on the pair of fuel

injectors? In fact, the District Court’s initial 1999

claim construction with respect to the pair of fuel

injectors is the correct one, i.e., there is nothing in the

‘348 patent requiring any particular kind of fuel

injection system, the prosecution history does not

require location of the fuel injectors in a particular

location, and there is no such limitation in the claim to

restrict the range of equivalents. See page 8 above. At

a minimum, Budde is entitled to have this issue on

equivalents heard before a jury, where all the evidence

and experts can be heard. That is what the law

19

requires, where there is a dispute on a material issue of

fact under the doctrine of equivalents, as was found by

the District Court when considering the parties’ Cross-

Motions.

This case has been pending since 1997 and Mr.

Budde has not yet had the benefit of having his day in

Court, but rather, has been buffeted back and forth

between the District Court and the CAFC for seven

years on a claim construction that was clearly settled

by the District Court in its 1999 claim construction

Ruling and affirmed by the CAFC’s 2001 complete and

final decision on claim construction.

At a minimum, this Court should reverse the

erroneous CAFC decision of October 5, 2004 and

remand this case for a full trial on the merits of

infringement, validity, and damages, based on the

original and full claim construction contained in the

CAFC decision of 2001. Mr. Budde is entitled to

nothing less, if he is to receive due process, which the

Constitution guarantees. If the District Court and

CAFC had not been so anxious to summarily dispose of

this case, Mr. Budde could have had a full trial

(requiring no more than a week) several years ago.

CONCLUSION

The issue raised here is one of fundamental

rights of the parties to have the claim construction

fixed, not treated by the courts themselves as a “nose of

wax”, and not be subjected to a “rolling” Markman

claim construction, particularly when it has already

been appealed once and a final claim construction

ee yo Per eee re.

20

decision has been handed down by the CAFC as

occurred in this case back in 2001. It is fundamentally

unfair and contrary to any notion of justice to be

required to face years of expensive litigation around a

moving target as to the simple construction of a single

element of a single claim in suit, without ever having

the opportunity to have a full and open trial on all the

evidence with all the witnesses. Surely, this is neither

what our system of justice nor the Markman decision

contemplated for litigants in a patent suit. This is not

justice dispensed, or even long delayed, but simply

justice and due process completely denied!

In light of the foregoing, it is respectfully

requested that the United States Supreme Court give

William Budde his day in court by issuing a writ of

certiorari to the Court of Appeals for the Federal

Circuit and consider Petitioner’s argument that his

right to due process has been denied by the courts’

below.

Respectfully submitted,

Irving S. Rappaport

' Counsel of Record

1500 Edgewood Drive

Palo Alto, CA 94303

(650)321-7024

Attorney for Petitioner

la

(Any footnotes trail end of each document)

03-1610, -1641

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

WILLIAM A. BUDDE,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

V.

HARLEY-DAVIDSON, INC. and

HARLEY-DAVIDSON MOTOR COMPANY,

Defendants-Cross Appellants.

October 5, 2004, Decided

NOTICE: THIS DECISION WAS ISSUED AS

UNPUBLISHED OR NONPRECEDENTIAL AND

MAY NOT BE CITED AS PRECEDENT. PLEASE

REFER TO THE RULES OF THE FEDERAL

CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS FOR RULES

GOVERNING CITATION TO UNPUBLISHED OR

NONPRECEDENTIAL OPINIONS OR ORDERS.

COUNSEL: J. Donald Best, Michael Best, Madison,

WI, Russell L. Johnson, Skjerven, Morrill, San J ose,

CA, and John C. Scheller, Michael Best, Madison, WI,

for Defendants-Cross Appellants HARLEY-

DAVIDSON MOTOR COMPANY and HARLEY-

DAVIDSON, INC.

SISTINE

2a

Jack Russo and William C. Milks, III, Russo & Hale,

Palo Alto, CA, for Plaintiff-Appellant W'LLIAM A.

BUDDE.

JUDGES: Before RADER, BRYSON, and LINN,

Circuit Judges.

OPINION BY: LINN

OPINION: LINN, Circuit Judge.

William A. Budde (“Budde”) appeals from a final

decision of the U.S. District Court for the Northern

District of California granting a motion for summary

judgment of non-infringement of U.S. Patent No.

4,955,348 (“the ‘848 patent”) filed by Harley-Davidson,

Inc. and Harley-Davidson Motor Co. (collectively

“Harley-Davidson”). Budde v. Harley-Davidson, Inc.,

2003 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 25990, No. C-98-20447-JF (N.D.

Cal. July 29, 2003) (“Budde III”). Harley-Davidson

cross-appeals the denial of its argument in support of

summary judgment that the “fuel injector and throttle

body” limitation was not met under the doctrine of

equivalents. Reversal of the district court’s ruling on

that issue, however, would not alter the judgment in

Harley-Davidson’s favor, so that issue is not properly

presented as a cross-appeal. Bailey v. Dart Container

Corp. of Mich., 292 F.3d 1360, 1362 (Fed. Cir. 2002). A

prevailing party has no right to cross-appeal.

Lindheimer v. Ill. Bell Tel. Co., 292 U.S. 151, 176, 78 L.

Ed. 1182, 54 S. Ct. 658 (1934). Accordingly, we dismiss

the cross-appeal and treat the challenge as the

assertion of an alternative ground for affirming the

summary judgment of non-infringement.

3a

We affirm the district court’s judgment that Harley-

Davidson did not infringe the ‘348 patent, literally or

under the doctrine of equivalents, for the reasons set.

forth below.

I. BACKGROUND

The ‘348 patent issued in 1990 and is directed to an

electronic fuel injection (“EFI”) system for V-twin

motorcycle engines. Budde v. Harley-Davidson, Inc.,

250 F.3d 1369, 1371 (Fed. Cir. 2001) (“Budde II”). Claim

1 of the ‘348 patent is representative, with the disputed

terms highlighted:

1. A fuel injection conversion system for V-twin

motorcycle engines having two cylinders, an ignition

system, and a fuel source, comprising an intake

manifold providing separate ducts for delivering a fuel

and air mixture separately to each cylinder,

a pair of fuel injectors mounted in a fuel injector and

throttle body secured to said intake manifold,

a fuel distributor for delivering an_ individual

pressurized fuel flow to each of said injectors,

a fuel pump for delivering a pressurized fuel flow from

the fuel source to the fuel distributor,

a fuel flow pressure regulator for controlling the

pressure of the fuel flow delivered by the distributor to

said injectors,

an electronic sensing means for determining when the

ignition system of the engine delivers an electronic

PRES ATA ELE BE IAF DS.

4a

pulse to fire each spark plug of the cylinders and

producing an electronic signal in response thereto,

a throttle potentiometer for sensing the position of the

throttle and producing an electronic signal in response

thereto,

a status sensing means for measuring a combination of

air intake and engine temperature, and vacuum in the

intake manifold and producing electronic signals

therefrom, and

a control unit which discriminates which spark plug of

the engine is firing a fuel-air mixture charged cylinder

of the engine from the asymmetrical spark plug firing

order related electronic signal from said electronic

sensing means, said control unit electronically

integrating the electronic signals from the throttle

potentiometer, the electronic sensing means, and the

status sensing means to generate electronic signals

which control the fuel injectors and operate them at the

proper time and for the calculated duration to deliver

the proper amount of fuel to said cylinders for the

engine operating conditions by timed injection.

‘348 patent, col. 12, ll. 26-65 (emphases added).

Budde is a co-inventor and owner of the ‘348 patent. In

1997, Budde sued Harley-Davidson for infringement of

the ‘348 patent, alleging that two of Harley-Davidson’s

electronic fuel injection systems-the “old” and “new”

EFI systems-infringed its patent. Budde III, 2003 U.S.

Dist. LEXIS 25990, *7; see also Budde v. Harley-

Davidson, Inc., No. C-98-20447-JF, slip op. at 2 (N.D.

Cal. Jan. 29, 1999) (“Budde I”); Budde II, 250 F.3d at

5a

1374. The district court held a Markman hearing, then

construed seven of the disputed claim limitations.

Budde II, 250 F.3d at 1374-75. Because Budde

concluded he could not establish infringement under the

district court’s claim constructions, the district court, at

Budde’s request, entered summary judgment of non-

infringement. Id. at 1375.

Budde then appealed to this court, challenging the

constructions of two claim limitations. Id. at 1376. We

construed the two terms, vacated the summary

judgment, and remanded the case for further

proceedings. Id. at 1382.

On remand, Budde alleged that Harley-Davidson

infringed the ‘348 patent, while Harley-Davidson

responded that it did not infringe and that the ‘348

patent was invalid and unenforceable. Budde III, 2003

U.S. Dist. LEXIS 25990, *7. On cross-motions for

summary judgment, the district court granted Harley-

Davidson’s motion for summary judgment that Harley-

Davidson did not infringe the ‘348 patent, either

literally or under the doctrine of equivalents. 2003 U.S.

Dist. LEXIS 25990, *9. In that judgment, the district

court concluded that several limitations of claim 1 were

not met by Harley-Davidson’s systems, literally or

under the doctrine of equivalents, but found that a

“triable issue of material fact” remained as to whether

Harley-Davidson’s systems met the “pair of fuel

injectors” limitation of claim 1 under the doctrine of

equivalents. 2003 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 25990, *11.

Budde again appealed to this court. We have

jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1295(a)(1).

6a

II. DISCUSSION

A. Standard of Review

“We review a district court’s grant of summary

judgment de novo.” ACTYV, Inc. v. Walt Disney Co., 346

F.3d 1082, 1087 (Fed. Cir. 2003). When evaluating a

motion for summary judgment, we view the record

evidence through the same evidentiary standard that

would prevail at trial. Eli Lilly & Co. v. Barr Labs.,

Inc., 251 F.3d 955, 962 (Fed. Cir. 2001). Summary:

judgment is only appropriate if there are no genuine

issues of material fact and the movant is entitled to

judgment as a matter of law. Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c); SRI

Int’l v. Matsushita Elec. Corp. of Am., 775 F.2d 1107,

1116 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (en banc). On summary judgment,

claim construction is a matter of law that we review de

novo. Comparison of the claims to the accused device

requires a factual determination that every claim

limitation or its equivalent is found in the accused

device. Because infringement is a question of fact,

infringement is properly decided at summary judgment

only when no reasonable jury could find that every

limitation recited in the properly construed claim either

is or is not found in the accused device.

Int’l Rectifier Corp. v. IXYS Corp., 361 F.3d 1363, 13869

(Fed. Cir. 2004) (internal citations and quotation marks

omitted).

B. Analysis

Budde argues that the district court erred in granting

summary judgment that Harley-Davidson did not meet

Ta

the “conversion system,” “intake manifold,” “pair of fuel

injectors,” “electronic sensing means,” “status sensing

means,” and “control unit” limitations in claim 1 of the

‘348 patent. To prevail on appeal, Budde must show

error as to each claim limitation. Because we conclude

that the district court correctly concluded that neither

of Harley-Davidson’s systems contained the “pair of

fuel injectors” limitation of claim 1 of the ‘348 patent,

and because we hold as a matter of law that no

reasonable jury could find infringement under the

doctrine of equivalents of any Harley-Davidson system

without reading the “pair of fuel injectors” limitation

out of the claim, we affirm. We need not consider the

arguments pertaining to the remaining disputed claim

limitations.

Budde argues that the district court erred in construing

the “pair of fuel injectors mounted in a fuel injector and

throttle body” limitation in claim 1 of the ‘348 patent.

This claim limitation states in pertinent part: “a pair of

fuel injectors mounted in a fuel injector and throttle

body secured to said intake manifold.” ‘348 patent, col.

12, ll. 33-34. The district court initially construed this -

term to require “that two fuel injectors be mounted in a

fuel injector and throttle body.” Budde I, slip op. at 8.

The parties did not appeal the construction of this claim

term, and this court did not decide issues related to this

claim construction in the prior Budde II appeal. On

remand, the district court clarified its claim

construction, stating that this limitation required that

the fuel injectors be mounted in the throttle body.

Budde III, 2003 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 25990, *24.

We discern no error in the district court’s claim

construction. The express language of the claim

i Pot

ELAR RAE eS Rohe ey Pe = z we

Boar essemieninss DP Mi TAE GK ae as ON hg Fitba Lr 4 wee

8a

distinguishes between a “fuel injector and throttle

body” and an “intake manifold” and recites that the fuel

injectors are mounted to the “fuel injector and throttle

body,” which is secured to the “intake manifold.” See

‘348 patent, col. 12, ll. 33-34. Under the ordinary and

customary meaning of the words of the claim, the pair

of fuel injectors must be mounted in the “fuel injector

and throttle body” and not the “intake manifold.” Thus,

the district court was correct in concluding that

mounting the pair of fuel injectors in the intake

manifold does not literally infringe the claim.

The district court found undisputed evidence that in

Harley-Davidson’s “old” EFI system, the parts

corresponding to the throttle body anc intake manifold

claim limitations were combined int» an integral

“induction module.” Budde III, 2003 U.s. Dist. LEXIS

25990, *26. Because the pair of fuel injectors are

mounted in the intake manifold portion of the induction

module rather than the throttle body portion, the “old”

EFI system did not literally meet the claim limitation.

Id. Concerning Harley-Davidson’s “new” EFI system,

the district court found it was undisputed that the

throttle body and intake manifold are separate parts

bolted together and that the fuel injectors are mounted

in the intake manifold. Id. We agree and, thus, concur in

the district court’s conclusion that no reasonable juror

could find that either of Harley-Davidson’s “old” or

“new” EFI systems literally met the “pair of fuel

injectors” limitation of claim 1 of the “348 patent. Claim

1 is therefore not literally infringed by these systems.

Harley-Davidson challenges the district court’s denial

of Harley-Davidson’s motion for summary judgment

that its systems did not meet the “pair of fuel injectors”

. 9a

limitation under the doctrine of equivalents. The

district court, in the face of “conflicting expert

opinions” presented by Budde and Harley-Davidson,

found a “triable issue of material fact” concerning

whether the difference in the location of the fuel

injectors was insubstantial, and thus equivalent, under

the doctrine of equivalents. Id. The district court found

that the possible conclusion that the placement of the

fuel injectors in the Harley-Davidson systems was

equivalent to the claimed placement would not vitiate

the limitation in question because “the fuel injectors

clearly are present in HD’s {Harley-Davidson’s] EFI

system.” Id. 2

The district court correctly notes that Warner-

Jenkinson cautioned that “it is important to ensure that

the application of the doctrine [of equivalents], even as

to an individual element, is not allowed such broad play

as to effectively eliminate that element in its entirety.”

Warner-Jenkinson Co. v. Hilton Davis Chem. Co., 520

USS. 17, 29, 187 L. Ed. 2d 146, 117 S. Ct. 1040 (1997); see

also Dolly, Inc. v. Spalding & Evenflo Cos., 16 F.3d 394,

398 (Fed. Cir. 1994) (“The doctrine of equivalents is not

a license to ignore claim limitations.”). As previously

discussed, the claim limitation in question explicitly

distinguishes between the “fuel injector and throttle

body” and the “intake manifold” and recites that the

fuel injectors are “mounted in [the] fuel injector and

throttle body.” ‘348 patent, col. 12, ll. 33-34 (claim 1)

(emphasis added). To conclude that the placement of

the fuel injectors on the intake manifold (or on the

intake manifold side of the induction module) is

equivalent to the claimed mounting of the injectors in

the “fuel injector and throttle body” ignores the

principal relationship between the three components

10a

recited in the limitation-the “fuel injectors,” the “fuel

injector and throttle body,” and the “intake manifold”-

and makes the relational claim language superfluous.

Thus, a finding of equivalence under the doctrine of

equivalents would read “mounted in a fuel injector and

throttle body” out of the claim and vitiate the claim

limitation. In light of this legal error, and given the

undisputed evidence concerning the combination of

Harley-Davidson’s accused systems, we hold no

reasonable juror could find that Harley-Davidson’s

“new” and “old” EFI systems infringe claim 1 of the

‘348 patent literally or under the doctrine of

equivalents.

III.CONCLUSION __ _

For the foregoing reasons, and on the alternative

ground asserted by Harley-Davidson as to the “pair of

fuel injectors” limitation of claim 1, we affirm the

district court’s judgment that the Harley-Davidson

systems at issue did not infringe the 48 patent, either

literally or under the doctrine of equivalents.

IV. COSTS

No costs.

lla

99-1533, 99-1534

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

WILLIAM A. BUDDE,

Plaintiff- Appellant,

V.

HARLEY-DAVIDSON, INC. and

HARLEY-DAVIDSON MOTOR COMPAN : #

Defendants-Cross Appellants.

May 24, 2001, Decided

COUNSEL: Robert M. Skolnik, of West Long Branch,

New Jersey, argued for plaintiff-appellant. ~

Michael E. Husmann, Michael Best & Friedrich LLP, of

Milwaukee, Wisconsin, argued for defendants-cross

appellants. With him on the brief was J. Donald Best.

JUDGES: Before BRYSON, LIN N, and DYK, Circuit

Judges.

OPINION BY: LINN

OPINION: LINN, Circuit Judge. ‘

William A. Budde appeals the district court’s judgment

of non-infringement. Budde v. Harley-Davidson, Inc.,

C-98-20447-JF (EAI) (N.D. Cal. June 30, 1999). This

judgment was entered at Budde’s request, following

the district court’s claim construction order, which

12a

Budde now challenges. Budde v. Harley-Davidson, Inc.,

C-98-20447-JF (EAI) (N.D. Cal. Jan. 29, 1999) (“Order

Construing Claims”). We hold that the district court

erred in concluding that the claim limitation “electronic

sensing means for determining when the ignition

system of the engine delivers an electronic pulse to fire

each spark plug” requires sensing the electronic pulse

that fires the spark plugs and that the specification

contained no structure corresponding to the function of

the “electronic sensing means.” We also address the

conditional cross-appeal of Harley-Davidson, Inc. and

Harley-Davidson Motor Co. (collectively “Harley-

Davidson”), and hold that the district court did not err

in its construction of the claim limitation “status

sensing means.” We vacate the judgment of non-

infringement and remand the case for further

proceedings consistent with this opinion.

BACKGROUND

I.

A. Overview

U.S. Patent No. 4,955,348 (the “ ‘348 patent”) covers

fuel injection conversion systems for reciprocating

engines generally and V-twin motorcycle engines in

particular. The invention is described as being

particularly well-suited for use with V-twin engines

customarily used on Harley-Davidson motorcycles. 348

patent, col. 1, ll. 7-11.

Such engines have an ignition system, a fuel delivery

system, and two cylinders. Each cylinder includes a

cylinder head, a piston, and a spark plug. The ‘348

13a

patent discloses that Harley-Davidson motorcycle

engines typically use one of three types of ignition

systems: (1) a breaker ignition system; (2) an electronic

ignition system; or (3) a magneto ignition system. Id. at

col. 4, ll. 66-67. In each type of ignition system, a device

or sensor is used to sense crankshaft or camshaft

position. This sensor generates a series of low voltage

timing pulses at shaft positions corresponding to the

top of the power stroke position of each of the two

cylinders. These low voltage pulses feed an ignition coil

that, in turn, supplies high voltage pulses to the spark

plugs. The patented system is compatible with all of

these ignition systems to provide a fuel injection

conversion system that will retrofit any Harley-

Davidson V-twin motorcycle engine. Id. at col. 2, ll. 49-

ys

Fuel injection has long been recognized as an efficient

way to provide a fuel-air mixture to reciprocating

engines. Fuel injection has also been known to be

difficult to implement, because it requires a

sophisticated sensing system to properly time the

delivery of a fuel charge to each successive cylinder in

the firing sequence. Budde asserts that at the time he

and his co-inventor, Floyd Knapp, filed the patent

application that issued as the ‘348 patent, there were

substantial compatibility problems in fitting a fuel

injection system - either in the initial manufacturing

process or in an after-market modification - onto an

engine that was originally designed for carburetion. A

critical compatibility problem was deriving timing

information. Id. at col. 3, ll. 33-36.

Timing information is crucial to proper operation of a

fuel injection system, because it assures that the

l4a

injection system feeds fuel only to the cylinder that is

to be fired. Most fuel injection systems acquire timing

information from the engine’s spark distributor.

However, in a carbureted Harley-Davidson V-twin

engine, the firing system does not use a spark

distributor. In a Harley-Davidson engine, when one

cylinder is on the power stroke, the other is on the

exhaust stroke, and both spark plugs may be fired

simultaneously with no adverse consequences. This

eliminates the need for a distributor or any like

electromechanical device for “steering” spark pulses.

Id. at col. 3, ll. 33-39. Thus, to convert a simultaneously

firing V-twin engine to fuel injection requires adding

some device or arrangement to ascertain which of the

two cylinders needs a fuel charge from the injectors at

any particular time in the cycle.

To add a distributor, a cam and switch, or any other

type of electromechanical device for the purpose of

generating the needed timing information for a fuel

injection conversion system requires making

undesirable and impractical mechanical modifications to

the engine. Id. at col. 3, ll. 44-50. The invention

described in the ‘348 patent overcomes this problem by

deriving the needed timing information electronically

rather than by adding an electromechanical device.

The invention is based on the recognition that while

both spark plugs in a Harley-Davidson V-twin engine

fire simultaneously, the time between successive spark

plug firings is not identical. Instead, the time

separation alternates between 4/9 and 5/9 in each

complete timing cycle to accommodate the

asymmetrical relationship between the cylinders in the

V-twin arrangement. By detecting the low voltage

15a

timing pulses produced in the engine’s existing ignition

System, and by measuring the time between successive

low voltage timing pulses, the system of the ‘348 patent

determines electronically (i.e., using a control unit)

when each respective cylinder is ready for a fuel charge

without having to add a distributor, a cam and switch,

or any other sort of electromechanical device to the

engine. Id. at col. 2, ll. 21-34. This not only eliminates

having to make mechanical alterations to the engine,

but also enables the patented conversion system to be

installed on any simultaneously firing V-twin engine

regardless of which of the three different types of

ignition systems the engine uses.

As stated above, in each type of ignition system

addressed by the present invention, a device or sensor

is used to sense camshaft position and emits a low

voltage spark plug firing pulse (timing pulse) in

response thereto. The invention described in the ‘348

patent feeds the low voltage timing pulses generated

by the ignition system’s existing device or sensor to a

control unit. The control unit then measures the time

between successive low voltage timing pulses. Since the

time between the firing of cylinder 1 and then cylinder

2 is different from the time between the firing of

cylinder 2 and then cylinder 1, the control unit is able to

determine from the stream of low voltage timing pulses

which cylinder needs to be charged with fuel. The

output of the control unit thus provides the needed

timing signals for the fuel injectors without any

mechanical modification of the engine. Cf. ‘348 patent,

col. 3, ll. 44-47.

oo ada an aries tl aia he

- *

QUENCES TORE Sr TF x

16a

B. Detailed Discussion

The ‘348 patent describes the breaker, electronic, and

magneto ignition systems in detail in lines 5 through 56

of column 5. The patent describes how, in each of these

ignition systems, low voltage timing pulses are

provided by various sensing devices. For breaker and

electronic ignition systems, the sensing devices include

mechanical points, solid-state devices, or Hall effect

devices. Mechanical points are typically driven by a

camshaft, which in turn is driven by the engine’s

crankshaft. As the camshaft rotates, it forces the points

apart. When the points are separated, the ignition coil

temporarily loses its ground (ie. the points

temporarily “break” the low voltage current being fed

to the ignition coil) and generates a high voltage pulse

that fires the spark plugs. Thus, spark plug firing is

caused by, and therefore can be determined by, the low

voltage interrupt generated by the points as the

camshaft rotates. This low voltage interrupt is input to

the control unit of the present invention.

A Hall effect device tracks camshaft position using a

metallic timing cup having a pair of windows cut into

the cup’s sides. See ‘348 patent, at col. 5, ll. 37-39. The

metallic timing cup is typically attached to a camshaft,

id., which is driven by the engine’s crankshaft

assembly. The position of the windows on the metallic

timing cup corresponds to the position of the pistons

within the two cylinders, respectively. See id. at col. 5,

ll. 39-41. That is, each window corresponds to a plug

firing and causes a magnetic field that creates a low

voltage pulse that is sent to the ignition coil, id., to

cause the ignition coil to send a high voltage pulse to

fire the spark plugs. Thus, spark plug firing is caused

17a

by, and therefore can be determined by, a Hall effect

device’s tracking of windows on a metallic timing cup.

The low voltage pulse created by the Hall effect device

is input to the control unit of the present invention. Id.

at col. 5, ll. 48-45.

Magneto ignition systems are described as using a

rotating magnet to generate a constantly changing flux

in the core winding of a magneto coil. In the same

manner as in the breaker or electronic systems,

interruption of the control coil current in the magneto

system causes high voltage signals to be generated to

fire the spark plugs. Thus, spark plug firing is caused

by, and therefore can be determined by, the low voltage

interrupt caused by the changing flux. This low voltage

interrupt is input to the control unit of the present

invention.

- The patented system describes the output of the

electronic ignition system sensor (e.g., mechanical

points, solid-state devices, Hall effect devices) as

directly feeding the control unit. Id. at col. 5, ll. 43-45. If

the ignition system uses mechanical points or a Hall

effect device, the output of these sensors is described as

being used to feed the control unit. Id. at col 5, Il. 45-48.

Similarly, the interruption of the control coil current in

the magneto system is described as being used to feed

the control unit. Id. at col. 5, ll. 50-51. Thus, the 348

patent describes the electronic sensors which are

present in the three conventionally used V-twin

motorcycle engine ignition systems and the manner in

which those sensors determine when, in the engine

timing cycle, the ignition system of the engine delivers

a low voltage pulse to fire the spark plugs.

18a

The written description of the ‘348 patent goes on to

describe how the control unit analyzes the low voltage

timing pulses generated by the electronic sensing

devices to determine which cylinder should be charged

with fuel. It does this by measuring the time span

between successive pulses. The relationship of spark

plug firing between cylinders is fixed for any given type

of internal combustion engine based on its structural

configuration. In a V-twin engine, the period between

spark plug firing between the first cylinder (cylinder 1)

and the second cylinder (cylinder 2) is asymmetrical

due to the V-shape formed by (or the angle between)

the cylinders. Id. at col. 5, 1. 57-col. 6, 1. 3. In a Harley-

Davidson V-twin engine utilizing a Hall effect device,

the windows on the camshaft’s metallic timing cup

reflect this asymmetry. That is, the distance, in one

direction, between the window representing cylinder 1

and the window representing cylinder 2 is 4/9 of the

circumference of the timing cup in a typical Harley-

Davidson engine. The distance, moving in the same

direction, between the window representing cylinder 2

and the window representing cylinder 1 is 5/9 of the

circumference of the timing cup.

By measuring the asymmetrical firing of the spark

plugs, the conversion system of the ‘348 patent

electronically determines which cylinder should be

injected with fuel. An engine timer in the control unit

measures the time duration between spark plug firings,

i.e., the time between electronic signals received from

the electronic ignition system sensor. The control unit

stores the times for comparison to determine the longer

and shorter periods. By comparing the differences, the

desired sequence of cylinder charging is determined by

the control unit. The varying distance between the cup

19a

windows can be translated into the time lapse between

the spark plug firing from cylinder 1 to cylinder 2,

which is different than the time lapse between the

spark plug firing from cylinder 2 to cylinder 1. For

example, when the control unit detects a 4/9 spacing (or

time gap) between the windows, cylinder 1 is to be

injected with fuel. Conversely, when the Hall effect

device detects a 5/9 spacing (or time gap) between the

windows, cylinder 2 is to be injected with fuel. Id. at col.

6, ll. 4-10.

The 348 patent’s fuel injection system uses a number of

other sensors to detect various system parameters and

supply further input signals to the control unit. See id.

at col. 2, Il. 4-19. The control unit integrates (or

processes) the input signals, and transmits output

signals to the fuel injectors causing each fuel injector to

charge its associated cylinder with fuel at the proper

time. nl See id. at col. 3, 1. 65 - col. 4, 1. 3.

IT.

Budde filed a complaint for patent infringement against

Harley-Davidson on June 11, 1997 in the Northern

District of California. The district court held a

Markman hearing on January 14, 1999 to construe the

claims of the %48 patent, and issued its Order

Construing Claims on January 29, 1999. Seven claim

limitations were disputed by the parties. Because all

seven of the then-disputed limitations appeared in claim

1 of the ‘%48 patent, the district court’s Order

Construing Claims addressed only claim 1, which

recites (with the disputed terms underlined):

20a

1. A fuel injection conversion system for V-twin

motorcycle engines having two cylinders, an ignition

system, and a fuel source, comprising an intake

manifold providing separate ducts for delivering a fuel

and air mixture separately to each cylinder,

a pair of fuel injectors mounted in a fuel injector and

throttle body secured to said intake manifold,

a fuel distributor for delivering an _ individual

pressurized fuel flow to each of said injectors,

a fuel pump for delivering a pressurized fuel flow from

the fuel source to the fuel distributor,

a fuel flow pressure regulator for controlling the

pressure of the fuel flow delivered by the distributor to

said injectors,

an electronic sensing means for determining when the

ignition system of the engine delivers an electronic

pulse to fire each spark plug of the cylinders and

producing an electronic signal in response thereto,

a throttle potentiometer for sensing the position of the

throttle and producing an electronic signal in response

thereto,

a status sensing means for measuring a combination of

air intake and engine temperature, and vacuum in the

intake manifold and producing electronic signals

therefrom, and

2la

a control unit which discriminates which spark plug of

the engine is firing a fuel-air mixture charged cylinder

of the engine from the asymmetrical spark plug firing

order related electronic signal from said electronic

sensing means, said control unit electronically

integrating the electronic signals from the throttle

potentiometer, the electronic sensing means, and the

status sensing means to generate electronic signals

which control the fuel injectors and operate them at the

proper time and for the calculated duration to deliver

the proper amount of fuel to said cylinders for the

engine operating conditions by timed injection.

Id. at col. 12, ll. 26-64.

As part of its claim construction, the district court

interpreted the claim limitation “electronic sensing

means for determining when the ignition system of the

engine delivers an electronic pulse to fire each spark

plug” and found that the 348 patent specification failed

to disclose structure corresponding to the claimed

function as construed by the court. Budde concluded

that he could not prove infringement based on the

court’s claim construction and motioned the district

court to enter final judgment in favor of Harley-

Davidson to facilitate an early appeal. The district court

granted Budde’s motion and entered a judgment of non-

infringement. We have jurisdiction over Budde’s appeal

from the district court’s judgment pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 1295(a)(1) (1994).

DISCUSSION

I. Standard of Review

A finding of non-infringement requires a two-step

analytical approach. First, the claims of the patent must

be construed to determine their scope. Carroll Touch,

Inc. v. Electro Mech. Sys., Inc., 15 F.3d 1573, 1576, 27

U.S.P.Q.2D (BNA) 1836, 1839 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Second,

a determination must be made as to whether the

properly construed claims read on the accused device.

Id. In this ease, Budde has conceded the second part of

the infringement analysis, leaving only the propriety of

the district court’s claim construction in issue. Claim

construction is a matter of law that we review de novo.

Id.

II. Analysis

The parties do not dispute the district court’s

construction of the following claim limitations: (1)

conversion system; (2) fuel and air mixture; (3) pair of

fuel injectors mounted in a fuel injector and throttle

body; (4) individual pressurized fuel flow; and (5)

control unit.

Budde challenges the district court’s construction of the

“electronic sensing means” claim limitation. In its

conditional cross-appeal, Harley-Davidson challenges

the district court’s construction of the “status sensing

means” claim limitation. Harley-Davidson asserts that

the district court erred in concluding that the

specification of the ‘348 patent discloses structure

corresponding to the “status sensing means limitation.”

23a

Our analysis focuses on the construction of these two

disputed claim limitations.

The parties agree that the two disputed claim

limitations are written in means-plus-function form, and

we agree. In construing means-plus-function claim

limitations, a court must first define the particular

function claimed. Thereafter, the court must identify

“the corresponding structure, material, or acts

described in the specification.” It is not until the

structure corresponding to the claimed function in a

means-plus-function limitation is identified and

considered that the scope of coverage of the limitation

can be measured. 35 U.S.C. § 112, para. 6; Sage Prods.,

Ine v. Devon Indus., Inc., 126 F.3d 1420, 1428, 44

U.S.P.Q.2D (BNA) 1103, 1110 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re

Donaldson Co., 16 F.3d 1189, 1195, 29 U.S.P.Q.2D

(BNA) 1845, 1850 (Fed. Cir. 1994) (“if one employs

means-plus-function language in a claim, one must set

forth in the specification an adequate disclosure

showing what is meant by the language” (emphasis

added)).

Whether or not the specification adequately sets forth

structure corresponding to the claimed function

necessitates consideration of that disclosure from the

viewpoint of one skilled in the art. See 35 U.S.C. § 112,

para. 1; N. Am. Vaccine, Inc. v. Am. Cyanamid Co., 7

F.3d 1571, 1579, 28 U.S.P.Q.2D (BNA) 1333, 1339 (Fed.

Cir. 1993); cf. In re Ghiron, 58 C.C.P.A. 1207, 442 F.2d

985, 991, 169 U.S.P.Q. (BNA) 723, 727 (CCPA 1971)

(stating that “if such a selection would be ‘well within

the skill of persons skilled in the art’, such functional-

type block diagrams may be acceptable and, in fact,

preferable if they serve in conjunction with the rest of

24a

the specification to enable a person skilled in the art to

make such a selection and practice the claimed

invention with only a reasonable degree of routine

experimentation”). Moreover, failure to disclose

adequate structure corresponding to the recited

function in accordance with 35 U.S.C. § 112, paragraph

1, results in the claim being of indefinite scope, and thus

invalid, under 35 U.S.C. § 112, paragraph 2. In re

Dossel, 115 F.3d 942, 945, 42 U.S.P.Q.2D (BNA) 1881,

1884 (Fed. Cir. 1997).

For a court to hold that a claim containing a means-

plus-function limitation lacks a disclosure of structure

in the patent specification that performs the claimed

function, necessarily means that the court finds the

claim in question indefinite, and thus invalid. Because

the claims of a patent are afforded a statutory

presumption of validity, overcoming the presumption of

validity requires that any facts supporting a holding of

invalidity must be proved by clear and convincing

evidence. Ultra-Tex Surfaces, Inc. v. Hill Bros. Chem.

Co., 204 F.3d 1360, 1367, 53 U.S.P.Q.2D (BNA) 1892,

1898 (Fed. Cir. 2000); Panduit Corp. v. Dennison Mfg.

Co., 810 F.2d 1561, 1570, 1 U.S.P.Q.2D (BNA) 1593,

1595 (Fed. Cir. 1987) (stating that the presumption

mandated by § 282 is applicable to all of the many

bases for challenging a patent’s validity). Thus, a

challenge to a claim containing a means-plus-function

limitation as lacking structural support requires a

finding, by clear and convincing evidence, that the

specification lacks disclosure of structure sufficient to

be understood by one skilled in the art as being

adequate to perform the recited function.

25a

Electronic Sensing Means

Claim 1 of the 848 patent recites “an electronic sensing

means for determining when the ignition system of the

engine delivers an electronic pulse to fire each spark

plug of the cylinders and producing an electronic signal

in response thereto.” The district court parsed the

claimed function as: “(1) determining when the ignition

system of the engine delivers an electronic pulse to fire

each spark plug of the cylinders; and (2) producing an

electronic signal in response thereto.” Order

Construing Claims, slip op. at 9. Neither party disputes

the district court’s characterization of the claimed

function, and we see no reason to disagree. The district

court then held that the ‘348 patent “fails to disclose

any structure corresponding to the claimed function of

the electronic sensing means.” Order Construing

Claims, slip op. at 11.

Budde disputes the district court’s analysis, asserting

that the process by which the district court consulted

the specification to define the structure corresponding

to the claimed function was improper. Specifically,

Budde asserts that the district court erred in

impermissibly narrowing the term “determining” in the

claimed function to require electronic “sensing.”

Although Budde’s description of the district court’s

error is perhaps oversimplified, the district court in fact

narrowed its own interpretation of the defined function,

based on its incorrect reading of statements contained

in the summary and objects of the invention. Based

upon those portions of the patent disclosure, the district

court erroneously stated that the structure

corresponding to the claimed function could not be

26a

structure that sensed the position of the camshaft. We

discuss the district court’s error in more detail below.

As a quid pro quo for the convenience of employing §

112, paragraph 6, Budde has a duty to clearly link or

associate structure to the claimed function. Kemco

Sales, Inc. v. Control Papers Co., 208 F.3d 1352, 1360,

54 U.S.P.Q.2D (BNA) 1308, 1313 (Fed. Cir. 2000) (citing

B. Braun Med., Inc. v. Abbott Labs., 124 F.3d 1419,

1424, 43 U.S.P.Q.2D (BNA) 1896, 1900 (Fed. Cir. 1997)).

Budde asserted to the district court that Figure 3 and

the following passage of the specification defined the

structure capable of performing the claimed function:

In the present invention, sensors are utilized to obtain a

timing signal from the ignition system which is inputted

to the control unit of the fuel injection system for

utilization in controlling the operation ‘of the fuel

injectors. The Electronic ignition systems use sensors

that may be optical (usually infrared), or magnetic

(usually Hall effect devices). These sensors detect the

windows cut in the sides of a metallic “cup” that is

attached to the end of the cam shaft. Each window

corresponds to a plug firing and the angle between the

windows corresponds to the angle between the

cylinders. The position of the lobes of a Breaker ignition

system have a corresponding relationship. The output

of the Electronic ignition system sensor is used directly

by the control unit of the present invention.

Col. 5, ll. 31-45.

The district court held that neither the text nor the

figure cited by Budde discloses structure capable of

determining when the ignition system of the engine

27a

delivers an electronic pulse to fire the spark plugs. The

district court found that the text cited by Budde merely

identifies two types of sensors utilized by ignition

systems in Harley-Davidson carbureted engines that

detect windows in a cup on the camshaft, and that “the

electronic sensing means called for by the claim may

not be a structure that senses the position of the

camshaft.” Order Construing Claims, slip op. at 10-11.

The district court based this assertion on the following

statements in the summary and objects of the ‘348

patent:

“The present invention is designed to acquire the

required timing information for providing the fuel

injectors with their instructions by picking up an

electronic pulse off the ignition system.”

‘348 patent, col. 2, ll. 21-24 (emphasis added).

“An electronic sensing means is provided for

determining when the ignition system of the engine

delivers an electronic pulse to fire the spark plugs of

the cylinders... .”

‘348 patent, col. b, 1. 68 - col. 2, 1.3 (emphasis added).

“It is another object of the invention to provide a fuel

injection conversion system for Harley-Davidson

motorcycle engines which is able to time the fuel

injection sequence from analysis of the spark pulses...

‘348 patent, col. 2, ll. 41-44 (emphasis added).

28a

The district court found that these statements require

the electronic sensing means to pick-up or sense high

voltage pulses fed to the spark plugs from the ignition

coil, rather than sensing camshaft position. Finding no

structure for sensing the high voltage pulses fed to the

spark plugs, the district court concluded that the 48

patent specification failed to disclose structure

corresponding to the claimed function of the electronic

sensing means. We note, however, that the “electronic

sensing means” claim limitation merely recites the

functions of “determining when” pulses are delivered to

fire the spark plugs and “producing an electronic signal

in response thereto,” not the function of sensing the

high voltage pulses sent from the ignition coil to the

spark plugs. Contrary to the view of the district court,

‘determining’ when pulses are delivered to fire the

spark plugs does not require direct detection of those

pulses. Such a determination can be done indirectly, by

detecting a low-voltage electronic signal from a sensor

that determines, from the position of the cam shaft,

when high-voltage pulses are to be delivered to the

spark plugs. That interpretation of the manner in which

the electronic sensing means determines when the

ignition system delivers an electronic pulse to fire each

spark plug is consistent with the statements in the

summary and objects of the invention. These sections of

the specification contrast the conventional system for

obtaining timing information “from the electronic

distributor,” ‘848 patent, col. 2, ll. 25-26, with the

system employed by the invention, i.e., obtaining timing

information “from an analysis of the spark plug firing

pulses,” ‘848 patent, col. 2, Il. 33-34. In context, it

appears that the “spark plug firing pulses” that are

analyzed, and the “electronic pulse” that is “picked up . .

. off the ignition system,” 48 patent, col. 2, ll. 23-24,

29a

refer to the low-voltage signal from the :electronic

sensor, not the high-voltage pulse that is sent to fire the

spark plugs.

The district court, and Harley-Davidson on appeal, rely

heavily on a passage from the objects of the invention,

which describes one of the objects as being to provide a

fuel injection conversion system that is “able to time

the fuel injection sequence from analysis of the spark

pulses rather than from a mechanical electronic reading

of the electro-mechanical or electronic-mechanical

ignition timing unit which fires the spark plugs.” ‘348

patent, col. 2, ll. 41-47. While the district court found

that the “electro-mechanical ignition timing unit”

referred to is a Hall effect device (or other device for

sensing camshaft position), we think the better

interpretation is that the reference to the “electronic-

mechanical ignition timing unit” refers to the

conventional method of acquiring timing information,

which the specification identifies as “acquiring the

timing information from the electronic distributor.” ‘348

patent, col. 2, Il. 25-26. The problem solved by this

invention is determining which plug is being fired (in

order to determine the proper fuel injection sequence)

in the absence of a distributor. Thus, one skilled in the

art would understand that the patent is referring to

determining the proper injection sequence using a

control unit that analyzes: (1) when the ignition system

delivers a low voltage pulse to cause spark plug firing;

and (2) the timing between delivery of the low voltage

pulses. The control unit can perform this analysis based

on the low voltage pulse received from a Hall effect

device (or other optical or magnetic sensor), a solid-

State sensor, or a standard mechanical point setup. Use

a

30a

of the control unit negates the need for a distributor to

determine the proper injection sequence.

In supporting the district court’s opinion, Harley-

Davidson’s attempts to prove a lack of corresponding

structure focus on the disclosure set forth in the

summary and objects of the invention and, in particular,

statements that the claimed function includes an

“analysis of the spark plug firing pulses.” Harley-

Davidson invites us to conclude therefrom that the

claimed function of “determining when the ignition

system . . . delivers an electronic pulse to fire each

spark plug” requires that the electronic sensing means

analyze the firing pulses. To this end, Harley-Davidson

points out that although their expert testified that a

Hall effect device can determine a window within which

spark plug firing occurs, he further testified that the

Hall effect device could not determine the exact time of

ignition coil activation. Harley-Davidson asserts that

because the Hall effect device cannot determine the

exact time of ignition coil activation, it does not analyze

the spark plug firing pulses, and therefore it cannot

perform the claimed function of determining when the

ignition system delivers an electronic pulse to fire each

spark plug. We are not persuaded by Harley-

Davidson’s argument, which fails to recognize that, as

we have discussed, the summary and objects of the

invention can fairly be read to refer to an electronic

sensing means that determines the firing sequence of

the spark plugs by detecting a low-voltage electronic

signal from a sensor within the ignition system.

Moreover, whatever force Harley-Davidson’s argument

might have viewing the summary and objects of the

invention sections of the specification in isolation, it

cannot be squared with the specific passage that

3la

describes in detail the electronic sensing means, see

‘348 patent, col. 5, ll. 31-56.

The specification must be read as a whole to determine

the structure capable of performing the claimed

function. See 35 U.S.C. § 112, para. 6 (1994) (requiring

that a means-plus-function claim limitation “be

construed to cover the corresponding structure,

material, or acts described in the specification and

equivalents thereof’ (emphasis added)); see also

Serrano v. Telular Corp., 111 F.3d 1578, 1588, 42

U.S.P.Q.2D (BNA) 1538, 1542 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (holding

that the proper construction of a claim limitation under

§ 112, paragraph 6 looks to the “disclosed structure

[that] is described in a patent specification, including

any alternative structures identified”). In construing

terms used in patent claims, it is necessary to consider

the specification as a whole, and to read all portions of

the written description, if possible, in a manner that

renders the patent internally consistent. In addition, it

is important to construe claim language through the

“viewing glass” of a person skilled in the art.

Interactive Gift Express, Inc. v. Compuserve Inc., 231

F.3d 859, 866, 56 U.S.P.Q.2D (BNA) 1647, 1653 (Fed.

Cir. 2000).

As discussed previously, the problem solved by the

Budde invention is how to determine which cylinder

needs a charge of fuel in an engine that has no

distributor and fires both plugs simultaneously. This

problem is_ preferably solved without making

impractical and undesired mechanical modifications to

the engine. This is achieved by deriving the needed

timing information’ electronically, rather than

mechanically, by analyzing the asymmetrical pulse train

32a

generated by the engine’s existing ignition system.

Analysis of the pulse train determines when each

cylinder is ready for a fuel-charge. As described in the

‘348 patent specification, the control unit of the

patented system receives as an input the low voltage

timing pulses picked up from the existing ignition

system. These pulses trigger the simultaneous firing of

the spark plugs and, by their asymmetry, impart

information that the control unit uses to determine

electronically, rather than mechanically, which of the

two cylinders is on the power stroke and is thus ready

for a fuel charge.

The summary and objects of the invention are followed

by a description of the preferred embodiment, and must

be read, if possible, in a manner consistent with the rest

of the written description. The rest of the written

description clearly states that “there are three types of

motorcycle ignition systems: Breaker, Electronic, and

Magneto. Any one of these types may be in use on a

Harley engine, and the solution to providing a

conversion system requires the adaptability to

determine fuel injector timing from any one of them.”

‘ - 7348 patent, col. 4, 1. 66 - col. 5, l. 3 (emphasis added). At

column 5, lines 35-51, a number of alternative sensors

are disclosed that determine when the ignition system

delivers a low voltage electronic pulse to fire the spark

plugs. The alternative sensors include: (1) an optical

sensor; (2) a magnetic sensor (e.g., a Hall effect device);

(3) a standard mechanical point setup; and (4) a solid-

state sensor. As we discussed in the background

portion of this opinion, the detailed description

discloses not only each of these sensors, but how the

signals from those sensors are fed as an input to the

control unit which, in turn, analyzes the low voltage

33a

timing pulses to determine electronically when each

cylinder needs a fuel charge. These four sensor types

are listed under the heading of “Electronic Sensing” in

the description of the preferred embodiment, thus

directly linking the disclosed structure to the

“electronic sensing means” limitation in the claims.

Each of these sensors is structure corresponding to the

claimed function of the electronic sensing means. They

each determine when the engine’s ignition system

delivers a timing pulse to fire the spark plugs and

produce electrical signals in response thereto.

Harley-Davidson also relies on a portion of co-inventor

Knapp’s deposition testimony to show that co-inventor

Knapp could not find structure in the specification of

the 848 patent corresponding to the electronic sensing

means. However, the portion of the testimony that

Harley-Davidson cites is not sufficient to render

negligible the written description of the four

embodiments of the electronic sensing means discussed

above.

In addition, we note that the district court’s Order

Construing Claims discussed neither the level of skill in

the art, nor the requirement that a lack of

corresponding structure be proven by clear and

convincing evidence. In fact, the district court never

addressed the validity of claim 1. It merely concluded,

in its Order Construing Claims, that there was no

structure corresponding to the claimed function of the

“electronic sensing means.” Despite the fact that the

district court entered its judgment of non-infringement

without addressing the issue of validity, its decision

necessarily renders claim 1 invalid. Thus, the district

court should have applied the “clear and convincing”

34a

evidentiary standard in assessing Harley-Davidson’s

assertion that the specification of the ‘348 patent fails to

disclose structure corresponding to the “electronic

sensing means.” The district court’s failure to apply the

correct “clear and convincing” standard to Harley-

Davidson’s evidentiary submission on this issue is

another reason why we hold that the district court’s

construction of the “electronic sensing means”

limitation was erroneous. So holding requires us to

consider Harley-Davidson’s conditional cross appeal.

Status Sensing Means

Claim 1 of the ‘348 patent includes “a status sensing

means for measuring a combination of air intake and

engine temperature, and vacuum in the intake manifold

and producing electronic signals therefrom.”

The district court correctly identified the claimed

function as: “(1) measuring a combination of air intake

and engine temperature; (2) measuring vacuum in the

intake manifold; [and] (8) producing electronic signals

from those measurements.” Order Construing Claims,

slip op. at 12. The parties do not dispute that the

specification of the 848 patent discloses a thermistor as

the structure capable of performing the first and third

functions. However, the parties dispute whether the

patent sufficiently discloses structure capable of

performing the second function, i.e., measuring vacuum

in the intake manifold. The district court held that the

corresponding structure was identified in the written

description of the patent as a “commercially available”

vacuum sensor that produces an analog signal. Harley-

Davidson asserts that this generic reference in the

specification of the 848 patent does not adequately

35a

disclose structure for measuring vacuum in the intake

manifold.

The specification states, at column 6, lines 38-40,

“vacuum sensors are commercially available units

which produce analog signals for the control unit.” In

addition, Figure 3 of the ‘348 patent is a block diagram

of the fuel injection controller that includes a box

labeled “VACUUM SENSOR.”

In its claim construction analysis and corresponding

determination of definiteness of the means-plus-

function claims under 35 U.S.C. § 112, paragraph 2, the

district court held that “the box labeled VACUUM

SENSOR and the passage describing ‘commercially

available units’ meet the definiteness requirement of §

112, P 2.” Order Construing Claims, slip op. at 14. The

district court explained,

Vacuum sensors were well known in the art of

motorcycle engine manufacturing at the time the

patent issued. The phrase “commercially available

units” particularly and distinctly pointed out to those

skilled in the art the vacuum sensors [that] the 348

patent claimed. Accordingly, the structure which

corresponds to the [second function] is a vacuum sensor

which produces an analog signal and which was

commercially available at the time the patent was

issued.

Id.

Harley-Davidson asserts that Budde’s use of

“commercially available units” unfairly allows him to

incorporate by reference every commercially available

36a

vacuum sensor, which is not allowable under our

holding in Atmel Corporation v. Information Storage

Devices, Inc., 198 F.3d 1874, 1381, 53 U.S.P.Q.2D

(BNA) 1225, 1229 (Fed. Cir. 1999). We are not

persuaded by this argument because the facts of the

present case are distinguishable from Atmel.

In Atmel, the means-plus-function claim limitation was

“high voltage generating means disposed on said

semiconductor. . . .” 198 F.3d at 1376, 53 U.S.P.Q.2D

(BNA) at 1226. The specification stated, “the present

invention may include high-voltage generator circuit 34.

Known Circuit techniques are used to implement high-

voltage circuit 34. See On-Chip High Voltage

Generation in NMOS Integrated Circuits Using an

Improved Voltage Multiplier Technique, IEEE Journal

of Solid State Circuits, Volume SC-11, No. 3, June

1976.” Id. in addition, the figures of the patent depicted

the high voltage generator circuit 34 as a black box. Id.

at 1377, 53 U.S.P.Q.2D (BNA) at 1226. This court held

that the patentee could not incorporate the disclosure

of the cited article by reference to fulfill the

definiteness requirement of § 112, paragraph 2. Id. at

1382, 53 U.S.P.Q.2D (BNA) at 1230. In other words, the

content of the article could not be used to discern

sufficient structure in the specification that

corresponded to the claimed function.

In the present case, the issue is not whether subject

matter absent from the _ specification can be

incorporated by reference to satisfy the requirement

that corresponding structure be adequately described

in the specification. The issue is whether the

characterization, in the patent specification, of the

vacuum sensor as a “commercially available unit” would

37a

be understood by one skilled in the art as structure

capable of performing the function recited in the claim

limitation. The record reflects, as found by the district

court, that vacuum sensors were well known in the art.

See In re Dossel, 115 F.3d at 946-47, 42 U.S.P.Q.2D

(BNA) at 1885 (“Clearly, a unit which receives digital

data, performs complex mathematical computations and

outputs the results to a display must be implemented

by or on a general or special purpose computer

(although it is not clear why the written description

does not simply state ‘computer’ or some equivalent

phrase.)”).

Harley-Davidson points to its expert’s testimony at the

Markman hearing that the expert “didn’t see any

description in the patent of the vacuum sensor other

than that [the invention] has one and it’s in the

diagram.” Relying on Atmel, Harley-Davidson argues

that testimony from those skilled in the art is

instructive as to whether the specification discloses

structure corresponding to the claimed function.

Atmel, 198 F.3d at 1379, 53 U.S.P.Q.2D (BNA) at 1228.

However, Harley-Davidson’s expert misses the mark in

not shedding any light on the significance to, or

understanding of, one skilled in the art of the described

“commercially available” vacuum sensor. He also

admitted that he was “not very well versed in pressure

sensors.” This is hardly the type of testimony that

amounts to clear and convincing evidence that one

skilled in the art would not understand the scope of

claim 1 when read in light of the specification. In view

of the foregoing, we conclude that the district court did

- not err in holding that the ‘48 patent sufficiently

discloses structure capable of measuring vacuum in the

intake manifold.

38a

CONCLUSION

Because the judgment of non-infringement was entered

based on an erroneous claim construction of “electronic

sensing means,” we vacate the judgment of non-

infringement and remand for further proceedings

consistent herewith.

VACATED AND REMANDED

Footnotes

nl Budde’s brief informs us that the “proper time” is

when the piston of the fuel injector’s associated

cylinder is returning from an exhaust stroke.

39a

Case Number C-98-20447-JF,

[Doc. Nos. 136, 1387, 188, 144, 149, 166, 179, 185, 188]

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA,

SAN JOSE DIVISION

WILLIAM A. BUDDE,

Plaintiff,

V.

HARLEY-DAVIDSON, INC., et al.,

Defendants.

July 29, 2003, Decided -

July 30, 2003, Filed

COUNSEL: For WILLIAM BUDDE, Plaintiff: Jack

Russo, Tim C. Hale, William Milks, Russo & Hale, Palo

Alto, CA.

For HARLEY-DAVIDSON, INC., a _ Wisconsin

corporation, defendant: Russell L. Johnson, Skjerven

Morrill LLP, San Jose, CA; Michael E. Husmann,

Michael Best & Friedrich, Milwaukee, WI; John C.

Scheller, Michael Best & Friedrich, Madison, WI;

Russell L. Johnson, Sidley Austin Brown & Wood,

LLP, San Francisco, CA; J. Donald Best, Richard H.

Marschall, Michael Best & Friedrich LLP, Medison,

WI.

For HARLEY-DAVIDSON MOTOR COMPANY, a

Wisconsin corporation, defendant: Russell L. Johnson,

Skjerven Morrill LLP, San Jose, CA; Michael E.

40a

Husmann, Michael Best & Friedrich, Milwaukee, WI;

John C. Scheller, Michael Best & Friedrich, Madisor,

WI; Russell L. Johnson, Sidley Austin Brown & Wood,

LLP, San Francisco, CA; J. Donald Best, Richard H.

Marschall, Michael Best & Friedrich LLP, Medison,

WI.

JUDGES: JEREMY FOGEL, United States District

Judge.

OPINIONBY: JEREMY FOGEL E

OPINION:

ORDER (1) GRANTING DEFENDANTS’ MOTION

FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT OF

NONINFRINGEMENT AND DENYING

PLAINTIFF'S MOTIONS FOR SUMMARY

JUDGMENT OF INFRINGEMENT; (2) DENYING

THE PARTIES’ CROSS-MOTIONS WITH

RESPECT TO DEFENDANTS’ AFFIRMATIVE

DEFENSES; AND (3) ADDRESSING THE

PARTIES’ MOTIONS TO STRIKE EVIDENCE

On June 23, 2003, the Court heard the parties’ cross-

motions for summary judgment. The motions fall into

two groups: those addressing the issue of infringement

and those addressing the affirmative defenses of patent

invalidity and unenforceability. The Court also heard

several motions to strike evidence submitted by both

sides. The Court will grant Defendants’ motion for

summary judgment of noninfringement and deny

Plaintiffs motions for summary judgment of

infringement. The Court will deny the parties’ cross-

motions for summary judgment with respect to

4la

Defendants’ affirmative defenses. With respect to the

motions to strike evidence, the Court will address those

motions only as they relate to evidence actually

considered by the Court in analyzing the substantive

motions. None of the evidence actually considered by

the Court is subject to exclusion for the reasons set

forth below.

I. BACKGROUND

United States Patent No. 4,955,348 (“the patent” or

“the 348 patent”) teaches a system for converting

car» ureted V-twin motorcycle engines to fuel injection.

The specification focuses on Harley-Davidson (“HD”)

engines, but states that the conversion system will

work on all V-twin motorcycle engines. A V-twin

engine has two cylinders arranged at an angle to each

other in a “V” configuration. The cylinders alternately

are filled with a mixture of fuel and air. This fuel/air

mixture then is compressed by a piston that moves up

and down inside the cylinder. A spark plug is used to

ignite the compressed fuel/air mixture. The resulting

combustion drives the piston in an up-and-down motion

that is translated into circular motion by other parts of

the engine.

Prior to model year 1995, HD manufactured only

carbureted V-twin motorcycle engines. In a carbureted

engine, a mechanical device -- the carburetor -- mixes

the correct amount of fuel and air so that the engine

runs properly. In simple terms, the carburetor is a tube

that narrows in one portion. Air flowing through the

carburetor creates a vacuum that draws in fuel. The

resulting fuel/air mixture is delivered to the cylinder.

42a

In a fuel injected engine, an electronically controlled

valve -- the fuel injector -- sprays fuel either directly

into the cylinder or into the air flow at the cylinder’s

intake valve. According to the patent specification, fuel

injection is more efficient than carburetion but can be

difficult to implement because of difficulties in

determining when and how much fuel should be

provided for each stroke of each cylinder (“timing

information”). Most fuel injection systems acquire

timing information from the engine’s distributor, a

device that “steers” spark pulses to one cylinder or the

other. At the time of the application that ultimately

issued as the 348 patent, HD V-twin engines were

unusual in that they did not use a distributor. Rather,

the spark plugs associated with both cylinders fired

simultaneously. The patent addresses the problem of

acquiring timing information absent a distributor.

The specification notes that additional hardware such

as a cam and switch arrangement could be added to the

engine in order to provide timing information, but also

notes that such additions “would probably be highly

objectionable to most Harley owners. “848 patent, col.

3, 11. 44-47. The specification further observes that the

differences among motorcycle models, and the ignition

systems used by different models, would make adding a

cam and switch arrangement complicated and

impractical. Id. at col. 3, 11. 47-50. The specification

asserts that the patented conversion system “provides

a solution to these problems.” Id. at col. 3, 11. 58-59.

In its 2001 ruling addressing this Court’s claim

construction, the Federal Circuit described the

patented conversion system as follows:

43a

The invention is based on the recognition that while

both spark plugs in a Harley-Davidson V-twin engine

fire simultaneously, the time between successive spark

plug firings is not identical. Instead, the time

separation alternates between 4/9 and 5/9 in each

complete timing cycle to accommodate the

asymmetrical relationship between the cylinders in the

V-twin arrangement. By detecting the low voltage

timing pulses produced in the engine’s existing ignition

system, and by measuring the time between successive

low voltage timing pulses, the system of the 348 patent

determines electronically (i.e., using a control unit)

when each respective cylinder is ready-for a fuel charge

without having to add a distributor, a cam and switch,

or any other sort of electromechanical device to the

engine.

Budde v. Harley-Davidson, Inc., 250 F.3d 1369, 1372

(Fed. Cir. 2001). The Court went on to state as follows:

As discussed previously, the problem solved by the

Budde invention is how to determine which cylinder

needs a charge of fuel in an engine that has no

distributor and fires both plugs simultaneously. This

problem is preferably solved without making

impractical and undesired mechanical modifications to

the engine. This is achieved by deriving the needed

timing information electronically, rather than

mechanically, by analyzing the asymmetrical pulse

train generated by the engine’s existing ignition

system. Analysis of the pulse train determines when

each cylinder is ready for a fuel charge. As described in

the 348 patent specification, the control unit of the

patented system receives as an input the low voltage

timing puises picked up from the existing ignition

ee ee eS ee as

44a

system. These pulses trigger the simultaneous firing of

the spark plugs and, by their asymmetry, impart

information that the control unit uses to determine

electronically, rather than mechanically, which of the

two cylinders is on the power stroke and is thus ready

for a fuel charge.

Id. at 1380.

In model year 1995, HD began manufacturing V-twin

motorcycles with fuel injection. HD first came out with

its “original” electronic fuel injection (“EFI”) system, a

sequential port injection system in which each fuel

injector sprays fuel directly into the intake port of one

of the cylinder heads just prior to the opening of the

intake valve. In model year 2001, HD began marketing

its “new” EFI system, which also is a sequential port

injection system but which differs in some respects

from the original system. The V-twin engines equipped

with the original and new EFI systems differ in several

respects from the older V-twin engines equipped with

carburetors. One significant difference is that the

newer fuel injected engines fire the spark plugs

alternately, rather than simultaneously as in the older

carbureted engines described in the patent.

Plaintiff William Budde (“Budde”), co-inventor and

owner of the 348 patent, asserts that both the original

and new EFI systems infringe the patent. Defendants

Harley-Davidson, Inc. and Harley-Davidson Motor

Company (collectively “HD”) assert that there is no

infringement and that in any event the 348 patent is

invalid and unenforceable on a number of grounds. The

parties have filed cross-motions for summary judgment

on the issues of infringement, invalidity and

45a

unenforceability. The parties also have filed a number

of motions to strike evidence. The Court will address

the mctions to strike evidence as necessary to its

analysis of the motions for summary judgment.

Il. INFRINGEMENT

Budde seeks summary judgment of infringement,

asserting that the patent reads on both the original

EFI system and the new EFI system. HD seeks

summary judgment of noninfringement, asserting that

its EFI systems do not meet several claim limitations.

The determination of infringement of a patent is a two-

step process. Lockheed Martin Corp. v. Space

Systems/Loral, Inc., 324 F.3d 1308, 1318 (Fed. Cir.

2003). The Court first construes the claims of the patent

to determine their proper scope. Id. The Court then

compares the properly construed claims to the accused

device. Id. While claim construction is a question of law,

infringement is a question of fact. Id. Accordingly,

summary judgment on the issue of infringement is

appropriate only if no reasonable jury could return a

verdict for the nonmoving party, viewing the facts and

inferences in the light most favorable to that party. Id.

With respect to the first step, this Court previously

construed the disputed terms contained in claim 1. nl

The Federal Circuit reversed with respect to one term,

“electronic sensing means,” and left the remainder of

the claim construction undisturbed. Applying the claim

construction as modified by the Federal Circuit, the

question is whether either party has established that no

reasonable trier of fact could find for the other on the

question of infringement.

46a

To prove infringement, the patentee must show that

the accused device meets each claim limitation either

literally or under the doctrine of equivalents. Catalina

International Marketing, Inc. v. Coolsavings.com, Inc.,

289 F.3d 801, 812 (Fed. Cir. 2002). Literal infringement

requires that the accused device contain each limitation

of the patent claim. Id. Infringement under the doctrine

of equivalents requires that the accused device contain

an equivalent for each limitation not literally satisfied.

Id. An element in the accused product is equivalent to a

claim limitation if the differences between the two are

“Gnsubstantial” to one of ordinary skill in the art. Id.,

citing Warner-Jenkinson Co. v. Hilton Davis Chem. Co.,

520 U.S. 17, 40, 187 L. Ed. 2d 146, 117 S. Ct. 1040 (1997).

Insubstantiality may be determined by asking whether

the accused device “performs substantially the same

function in substantially the same way to obtain the

same result” as the claim limitation. Id. at 813. This

function-way-result test for insubstantiality may not be

suitable in all cases. Warner-Jenkinson, 520 U.S. at 40.

Whatever formulation is used, equivalence must be

determined on an element-by-element basis, and not as

to the invention as a whole. Id. at 29. Moreover, < is

important to ensure that the application of the doctrine,

even as to an individual element, is not allowed such

broad play as to effectively eliminate that element in its

entirety.” Id.

Claim 1 of the patent is set forth below with the

limitations at issue highlighted in bold. The Court will

address each of the disputed limitations in turn.

47a

1. A fuel injection conversion system for V-twin

motorcycle engines having two cylinders, an ignition

system, and a fuel source, comprising

an intake manifold providing separate ducts for

delivering a fuel and air mixture separately to each

cylinder,

a pair of fuel injectors mounted in a fuel injector and

throttle body secured to said intake manifold,

a fuel distributor for delivering an _ individual

pressurized fuel flow to each of said injectors,

a fuel pump for delivering a pressurized fuel flo 7 from

the fuel source to the fuel distributor,

a fuel flow pressure regulator for controlling the

pressure of the fuel flow delivered by the distributor to

said injectors,

an electronic sensing means for determining when the

ignition system of the engine delivers an electronic

pulse to fire each spark plug of the cylinders and

producing an electronic signal in response thereto,

a throttle potentiometer for sensing the position of the

throttle and producing an electronic signal in response

thereto,

a status sensing means for measuring a combination of

air intake and engine temperature, and vacuum in the

intake manifold and producing electronic signals

therefrom, and

5) De site i ets

:? ee te ey Oe ee ee ee ee LS ae Se ee

48a

a control unit which discriminates which spark plug of

the engine is firing a fuel-air mixture charged cylinder

of the engine from the asymmetrical spark plug firing

order related electronic signal from said electronic

sensing means, said control unit electronically

integrating the electronic signals from the throttle

potentiometer, the electronic sensing means, and the

status sensing means to generate electronic signals

which control the fuel injectors and operate them at the

proper time and for the calculated duration to deliver

the proper amount of fuel to said cylinders for the

engine operating conditions by timed injection.

A. Fuel Injection Conversion System

This Court has construed the term “conversion

system,” which appears in the preamble of claim 1, to be

a limitation on the claim. The Court stated that the

patented conversion system “requires a fuel injection

system suitable for an engine that can be operated as a

carbureted engine, regardless of whether the fuel

injection system was designed as an after-market

product or as original equipment.” Order of January 29,

1999 (“Claim Constr. Order”), 6. This construction was

articulated in the context of determining whether the

term “conversion system” is a limitation at all and, if so,

whether it includes original equipment. The Court

quoted the specification’s statement that an important

object of the invention is to convert V-twin motorcycle

engines from carburetion to fuel injection, but

concluded that “nothing in the specification indicates,

however, that the patent does not cover a fuel injection

system designed by an original manufacturer to fit an

engine it has previously manufactured only with a

carburetor.” Id. The Court’s point was that a

49a

conversion system otherwise covered by the patent

does not fall outside the scope of the patent simply

because it is provided as original equipment rather than

as an after-market conversion kit. Nothing in the

Court’s construction was intended to delete the

requirement that the “conversion system” described by

the patent actually “convert” one type of engine to

another.

For the most part, Budde’s arguments ignore the

“conversion” aspect of the patent and focus on the

Court’s statement that the invention requires a fuel

injection system “suitable for an engine that can be

operated as a carbureted engine.” While this excerpt of

the Court’s construction order appears quite broad

standing on its own, it must be read in the context of

the Court’s construction as a whole and of the patent

itself. As is discussed above, the Court’s construction

did not eliminate the “conversion” aspect of the patent.

Moreover, a reading of the patent makes clear that the

entire purpose of the invention is to convert to fuel

injection an engine originally designed for carburetion.

The abstract of the patent describes the invention as

“{a] conversion kit for V-twin motorcycles to convert

them from carbureted to fuel injection.” The

specification states the objects of the invention as

follows: (1) “to provide a fuel injection conversion

system for V-twin motorcycle engines which converts

them from carburetion to fuel injection”; (2) “to provide

a fuel injection conversion system for Harley-Davidson

motorcycle engines which is able to time the fuel

injection sequence from analysis of the spark pulses

rather than from a mechanical electronic reading of the

electro-mechanical or electronic-mechanical ignition

timing unit which fires the spark plugs”; and (38) “to

50a

provide a fuel injection conversion system for Harley-

Davidson motorcycles which will retrofit any V-twin

motorcycle engine.” 348 patent, col. 2, 11. 37-52. Read in

context then, the Court’s construction requires either

an after-market kit that can convert a V-twin

motorcycle engine with a carburetor to fuel injection or

an original equipment fuel injection system that fits an

engine previously manufactured only with a carburetor

(thus effectively “converting” to fuel injection an engine

previously designed for carburetion). n2

Budde asserts that HD uses the same basic engine in its

carbureted V-twin engine motorcycles and its fuel

injected V-twin motorcycles. According to Budde, this

same basic engine comes in two “flavors,” carbureted

and fuel injected. Therefore, Budde asserts, HD’s

original and new EFI systems fall within the Court’s

construction of “conversion system.”

If Budde were correct in asserting that HD simply puts

its EFI systems on the same basic engine previously

manufactured only with a carburetor, the Court would

conclude that the conversion system limitation reads on

HD’s EFI systems. However, the undisputed evidence

is to the contrary. HD’s original and new EFI systems

will not work with a V-twin engine unless such engine

has specially designed parts that integrate with the

EFI systems. For example, it is undisputed that HD’s

original EFI system utilizes a camshaft position sensor

that relies upon a specially designed rotor cup. It

similarly is undisputed that both the original and new

EFI systems utilize a crankshaft position sensor that

determines the location of the crankshaft based upon

the passage of specially designed teeth on the engine

flywheel. It is undisputed that HD’s carbureted V-twin

5la

engines did not have these specially designed engine

parts prior to model year 1999. HD introduces evidence

that, as a result, HD’s EFI systems would not work

with the pre-1999 carbureted engines absent addition to

the engines of the specially designed rotor cup (original

EFI system, and specially designed teeth on the

flywheel (both original and new EFI systems). Jones

Decl., P 11; Farrell Decl., P 11; Lodise Decl., P 20. n3

The patent specification explicitly scorns such

mechanical alterations as “highly objectionable” and

emphasizes the invention’s ability to convert any V-

twin engine from carburetion to fuel injection absent

mechanical alterations. 348 patent, col. 3, 11. 44-59.

It is undisputed that beginning in model year 1999 HD

incorporated the above-described rotor cup and

flywheel into its carbureted V-twin engines. An

argument could be made, then, that these later

carbureted engines are essentially the same as those

utilizing HD’s EFI systems, the only difference being

the type of fuel delivery system added by HD. HD

introduces evidence, however, that the engines utilizing

the EFI systems have other specially designed parts

such as the fuel pump, regulator and fuel lines that are

necessary to withstand the high fuel pressure

requirements of the EFI systems. Farrell Decl., P 19.

HD introduces evidence that the EFI systems could

not be used without replacement of these parts. Id.

Consequently, this is not the situation posited by the

Court’s claim construction order, in which an original

equipment manufacturer in essence “converted” to fuel

injection an engine previously designed only for

carburetion. To the contrary, the evidence indicates

that the V-twin engines manufactured with HD’s EFT

systems are significantly different from the V-twin

ee ee ee oF,

52a

engines previously manufactured with carburetors, and

that HD’s EFI systems are not suitable for use with

the latter engines absent significant mechanical

alterations to such engines.

Budde introduces the reports of his expert, Robert

White (“White”), in support of his assertion that HD

uses the same basic engine in its carbureted V-twin

engine motorcycles and its fuel injected V-twin engine

motorcycles. White’s conclusory statements to this

effect are unsupported, however, and seem to hinge

upon the fact that both types of engines are V-twin

engines. White Report, PP 20-22; White Supp. Report,

P 15. Under White’s overly broad interpretation of

“engine,” the “conversion system” limitation would

read on any fuel injection system used with a V-twin

engine. Such an interpretation is not consistent with

the Court’s claim construction order, which focuses on

whether an original manufacturer in essence has

“converted” to fuel injection an engine previously made

only with a carburetor. Nor is such an interpretation,

which effectively would eliminate the “conversion”

limitation, consistent with settled precedent. See

Warner-Jenkinson Co., Inc. v. Hilton Davis Chemical

Co., 520 U.S. 17, 29-30, 187 L. Ed. 2d 146, 117 S. Ct.

1040 (1997) (holding that each element contained in a

patent claim is material to defining the scope of the

invention and that it is improper to interpret a patent

so broadly as to effectively eliminate any element in its

entirety).

’ Based upon the record before it, the Court concludes

that no reasonable trier of fact could find that HD’s

EFI systems are conversion systems within the

meaning of the patent.

53a

B. Intake Manifold Providing Separate Ducts

Claim 1 discloses “an intake manifold providing

separate ducts for delivering a fuel and air mixture

separately to each cylinder.” The Court has construed

this limitation to require “an intake manifold with two

ducts, each of which separately delivers a fuel and air

mixture to a cylinder.” Claim Constr. Order at 7. HD

concedes that this limitation reads on its original EFI

system, but asserts that it does not read on its new EFI

system. Budde asserts that the limitation does read on

HD’s new EFI system.

HD interprets the word “duct” to mean a tube running

from one end of the intake manifold to the other. HD

points out that Figure 6 of the patent shows two such

tubes, and that HD’s original EFI system similarly uses

two such tubes. HD distinguishes this configuration

from that of its new EFI system, in which a single tube

runs from one end of the intake manifold to the other

but splits into two outlets, or branches, at one end so

that the fuel/air mixture can be delivered to the two

cylinders. Budde interprets the word “duct” to mean

not the tube running the length of the intake manifold

but rather one of the two outlets or branches

referenced above. Because HD’s new EFI system

utilizes a tube that branches into two outlets, Budde

contends that the two-duct requirement is met.

The dictionary definition of “duct” is “a tube, channel,

or canal through which a gas or liquid moves.”

Webster’s New World Dictionary 419 (8d college ed.

1988). There is no indication in the specification that

Budde intended a different meaning. To the contrary,

the specification emphasizes the use of two separate

54a

tubes to deliver a fuel/air mixture to each cylinder

without any crossover:

The unique configuration of the intake manifold

includes the fact that it has separate intake tubes or

ducts for each injector whereby there is no cross-over

of fuel-air mixture between the two injectors and

whereby accurate timed injection can be accomplished.

‘348 patent, col. 4, 11. 17-22. Because the specification

makes clear that a duct is a tube, the two-duct

requirement cannot be met by a single duct or tube that

contains two outlets or branches at one end. Moreover,

the latter configuration could not deliver the fuel/air

mixture without any crossover, which feature of the

two-duct configuration is touted by the specification.

This analysis is consistent with the Court’s construction

of the limitation, which requires that each duct

referenced in claim 1 “separately” deliver a fuel/air

mixture to one of the cylinders.

Budde’s expert, White, refers to the two outlets at the

end of the single tube in HD’s new EFI system as

“ducts,” but offers no facts in support of this reference,

no explanation for the patent language discussed above

and no evidence that one of ordinary skill in the art

would define “ducts” in this manner. White Report, P

29; White Supp. Report, PP 19, 21.

The Court concludes that no reasonable trier of fact

could find that the single-duct configuration of HD’s

new EF system literally meets the two-duct limitation

set forth in claim 1. The Court further concludes that no

reasonable trier of fact could find that the single-duct

configuration of HD’s new EFI system meets the claim

55a

limitation under the doctrine of equivalents. The

specification emphasizes the differences between the

patented configuration and other fuel injection systems

that have fuel/air crossover. 348 patent, col. 4, 11. 17-30

The specification further explains that, with a two-duct

configuration, a small air communication passage

between the two ducts is provided “to equalize the

pressure in the tubes for balance between the cylinders

and during engine operation without cross-over of the

fuel-air mixture.” Id. at col. 4, 11. 36-41. Given the

specification’s characterization of the two-duct

configuration as “unique,” and the details provided

regarding the differences between this configuration

and those in which there is fuel/air crossover, no

reasonable trier of fact could conclude that the

differences between the patented _ two-duct

configuration and HD’s single-duct configuration are

insubstantial.

C. Pair Of Fuel Injectors Mounted In A Fuel Injector

And Throttle Body

Claim i discloses “a pair of fuel injectors mounted in a

fuel injector and throttle body secured to said intake

manifold.” The Court has construed this limitation to

require that the two fuel injectors be mounted in a body

referred to as a “fuel injector and throttle body” and

that “the fuel injector and throttle body be secured to

the intake manifold.” Claim Constr. Order at 8. The

parties disagree as to what type of body qualifies as a

“fuel injector and throttle body.” HD asserts that this

body is the combination of the fuel injectors and the

throttle body; that is, that the limitation is simply an

awkwardly worded requirement that the fuel injectors

be mounted in the throttle body. Budde asserts that the

56a

fuel injectors need not be mounted in the throttle body,

and that a “fuel injector and throttle body” is made up

of the fuel injector component -- meaning the fuel

injectors and whatever part they are mounted upon --

and the throttle body component.

The limitation is ambiguous and neither of the parties’

positions is entirely satisfactory. However, Budde

admitted in his deposition that under the patent the

fuel injectors must be mounted in the throttle body.

Budde Depo., 469:8-18. He further admitted that the

limitation at issue is not met if the fuel injectors are not

mounted in the throttle body. Id. at 469:14-18. Given

that Budde is the inventor, his testimony is highly

persuasive. The specification supports Budde’s

testimony. Under the section labeled “Basic Elements,”

the specification identifies each of the invention’s

components and provides corresponding references to

Figure 1. Both the “fuel injector throttle body” and the

“throttle body” are identified as component 13 of

Figure 1.

Budde does not provide any factual support for his

position. Budde does argue that the Court’s Claim

Construction Order explicitly rejected HD’s position,

pointing to a portion of the Order in which the Court

declined to construe the limitation as requiring throttle

body injection rather than port injection. Claim Constr.

Order at 7-8. However, the Court declined to construe

the limitation in this manner because neither the claims

nor the specification make reference to “throttle body

injection” or “port injection.” Id. The fact that it

declined to construe the limitation in terms_of a

particular type of injection system did not constitute an

affirmative finding for Budde on the throttle body

57a

injection versus port injection issue 2nd does not

preclude a conclusion that the limitatio. 1s construed,

requires the fuel injectors to be mounted i: the throttle

body.

In HD’s original EFI system, the throttle body and

intake manifold are combined into one _ integral

“{nduction module.” The fuel injectors are mounted in

the intake manifold portion of the induction module

rather than the throttle body portion. As a result, HD

argues, the limitation does not read on the original EFI

system. HD points out that if the entire induction

module is viewed as the throttle body, the intake

manifold portion of the induction module effectively is

eliminated. However, the intake manifold is a separate

required structure under claim 1, in fact, the “fuel

injector and throttle body” must be “secured” to the

intake manifold. Accordingly, the Court concludes that

no reasonable trier of fact could find that in the original

EFI system the fuel injectors are mounted in the

throttle body as required under claim 1. The Court

concludes likewise with respect to HD’s new EFI

system. In that system, the throttle body and the

intake manifold are separate parts bolted to each other

and the fuel injectors are mounted in the intake

manifold, not the throttle body.

Budde asserts that even if the limitation is not literally

met by HD’s EFI systems, the limitation is met under

the doctrine of equivalents. Budde presents the expert

opinion of White in support of this assertion. White

Report, P 36; White Supp. Report, PP 25-26. HD

presents its own expert opinions to the contrary. Jones

Decl., PP 27, 32; Farrell Decl., PP 42, 48; Lodise Deci.,

PP 33, 39. Given these conflicting expert opinions, the

58a

Court concludes that there is a triable issue of material

fact as to whether the differences in ‘he location of the

fuel injectors are “insubstantial” for purposes of the

doctrine of equivalents.

HD contends that reading the limitation broadly

enough to cover HD’s EFI systems would vitiate the

claim limitation that the fuel injectors be mounted in

the throttle body. Warner-Jenkinson provides that “it

is important to ensure that the application of the

doctrine, even as to an individual element, is not

allowed such broad play as to effectively eliminate that

element in its entirety.” Warner-Jenkinson, 520 U.S. at

29. A finding of equivalence as argued by Budde would

not eliminate the fuel injector element in its entirety;

the fuel injectors clearly are present in HD’s EFI

systems. The question is whether the change in their

location from the throttle body to the intake manifold is

insubstantial. The Court disagrees with HD that

answering this question in the affirmative would

entirely eliminate a claim element in violation of

Warner-Jenkinson.

HD contends that the 348 patent discloses, but does not

claim, location of the fuel injectors in the intake

manifold. There can be no infringement under the

doctrine of equivalents if the alleged equivalent was

disclosed but not claimed in the patent, even if the

accused structure otherwise would be equivalent.

Johnson & Johnston Associates, Inc. v. R.E. Service

Co., 285 F.3d 1046, 1054 (Fed. Cir. 2002) (en banc).

However, the patent does not clearly disclose location

of the fuel injectors in the intake manifold. HD relies

upon the specification’s discussion of two means for

using fuel injection to provide the necessary fuel/air

59a

mixture, one being injection of the fuel directly into the

cylinder and the other being injection of fuel into the air

flow upstream of the cylinder. 348 patent, col. 1, 11. 24-

31. This discussion does not mention the throttle body

or the intake manifold and appears to be a general

discussion rather than a disclosure of particular

locations of the fuel injectors.

D. Electronic Sensing Means

Claim 1 discloses “an electronic sensing means. for

determining when the ignition system of the engine

delivers an electronic pulse to fire each spark plug of

the cylinders and producing an electronic signal in

response thereto.” This Court determined that this

means-plus-function element performs two functions:

“(1) determining when the ignition system of the engine

delivers an electronic pulse to fire each spark plug of

the cylinders; and (2) producing an electronic signal in

response thereto.” Claim Constr. Order at 9. The

Federal Circuit agreed. Budde, 250 F.3d at 1377.

“In order to establish literal infringement of a means-

plus-function claim, the patentee must establish that

the accused device employs structure identical or

equivalent to the structure disclosed in the patent and

that the accused device performs the identical function

specified in the claim.” WMS Gaming, Inc. v.

International Game Technology, 184 F.3d 1339, 1350

(Fed. Cir. 1999). Structure in an accused device is

equivalent to structure disclosed in the patent if “the

differences between the structure in the accused device

and any disclosed in the specification are insubstantial.”

Id. at 1351. A means-plus-function claim that does not

literally read on an accused device nonetheless may be

60a

infringed under the doctrine of equivalents if the

differences between the claim and the accused device

are insubstantial. Id. at 1352. Lack of equivalent

structure under a means-plus-function limitation may

preclude a finding of equivalence under the doctrine of

equivalents. Id. at 1353. Such will be the case unless a

variant accused of infringement, but which does not

literally infringe, results from technological advances

developed after the patent was granted and constitutes

so insubstantial a change from what is claimed in the

patent that it should be held to be an infringement. Id.

HD introduces evidence that its EFI systems do not

perform the function of “determining when the ignition

system of the engine delivers an electronic pulse to fire

each spark plug of the cylinders.” Jones Decl., P 34;

Farrell Decl., P 55; Lodise Decl., P 41. This function is

critical to the patented invention, which analyzes the

asymmetrical pulse train generated by the engine’s

ignition system to solve the problem of “how to

determine which cylinder needs a charge of fuel in an

engine that has no distributor and fires both plugs

simultaneously.” See Budde, 250 F.3d at 1380.

However, as HD points out, the engines upon which its

EFI systems are used do not fire both spark plugs

simultaneously and thus do not generate the 4/9 and 5/9

timing separation utilized by the patented invention

and discussed at length by the Federal Circuit. See id.

at 1372, 1874. HD’s EFI systems simply do not rely

upon -- and therefore do not seek to determine -- spark

plug firing information. Jones Decl., PP 35-36; Farrell

Decl., PP 56-57; Lodise Decl., PP 42-43. HD’s EFI

systems instead determine engine phase, i.e., which

_ cylinder is coming up on compression and which one on

the exhaust stroke.

6la

Budde relies upon White’s opinion that there is a

“direct correspondence” between detecting engine

phase and determining when pulses are delivered to

fire the spark plugs. White Report, P 54. More

specifically, White states that “determining when the

engine phase is at approximately the top of the

compression stroke . . . is the same as determining

when the spark plug for that cylinder is fired. Id. Budde

asserts that, as a result, devices in HD’s EFI systems

that determine phase necessarily determine when the _

spark plugs fire. Budde asserts that those devices in

HD’s systems are identical or structurally equivalent to

the devices disclosed by the patent.

kiven assuming that Budde is correct and that there is a

correspondence between the functions of “determining

when the ignition system of the engine delivers an

electronic pulse to fire each spark plug of the cylinders”

(performed by the patented invention) and determining

phase (performed by the accused devices), these

functions are not identical. HD introduces evidence

that, while the spark plug fires at approximately the

time the piston is at the position known as top dead

center (“TDC”), spark plug firing typically is measured

in terms of “advance” before TDC, measured in

crankshaft degrees. Farrell Decl., P 60. Spark advance

can vary from ten to forty degrees before TDC during

operation of the engine. Id. Accordingly, a

determination of engine phase does not provide all the

information necessary to determine spark plug firing.

Id.

Budde does not submit evidence that contradicts the

above description of phase and spark plug advance.

Budde’s expert, White, admitted in his deposition that

62a

spark advance information is not provided by phase

information and that he has no evidence that the

accused devices seek or use spark plug firing

information. White Depo., 225:3 - 227:22. Based upon

this record, it is clear that HD’s EFI systems do not

perform the function recited in the limitation. The fact

that approximate spark plug firing information may be

inferred from phase information does not mean that

HD’s EFI systems perform the function of

“determining” spark plug firing information. If HD’s

EFI systems do not perform the function recited in the

claim, it is irrelevant whether HD’s EFI systems

contain the same or similar structure as the invention.

Accordingly, no reasonable jury could find literal

infringement of the electronic sensing means. Similarly,

no reasonable jury could find infringement under the

doctrine of equivalents because the function performed

by HD’s EFI systems, determining phase information,

is not substantially the same as the function recited in

the patent.

E. Status Sensing Means

Claim 1 discloses “a status sensing means for measuring

a combination of air intake and engine temperature, and

vacuum in the intake manifold and producing electronic

signals therefrom.” The Court has construed the

function claimed by this means-plus-function limitation

to be three-fold: (1) measuring a combination of air

intake and engine temperature; (2) measuring vacuum

in the intake manifold; and (8) producing electronic

signals from those measurements. Claim Constr. Order

at 12. With respect to the second function of measuring

vacuum in the intake manifold, the Court has found that

“the structure which corresponds to the vacuum

63a

sensing means is a vacuum sensor which produces an

analog signal and which was commercially available at

the time the patent issued.” Id. at 14.

HD introduces evidence that its original EFI system

does not perform the function of measuring vacuum in

the intake manifold; does not produce an electronic

signal from such measurement; and does not use a

commercially available vacuum sensor or its equivalent

to perform these functions. Jones Decl., P 43; Farrell

Decl., P 65; Lodise Decl., P 51. Budde argues that the

original EFI system’s Alpha-N fuel management

system “indirectly” measures vacuum in the intake

manifold. The Alpha-N fuel management system uses

inputs in combination with a lookup table to calculate

fuel needs. Budde’s contention appears to be that the

recited function of measuring vacuum in the intake

manifold is performed during this process because the

data contained in the lookup table includes data on

vacuum in the intake manifold. However, the fact that

such data exists on the lookup table does not mean that

HD’s system “measures” vacuum in the intake

manifold. Moreover, such “measurement” clearly is not

performed by a commercially available vacuum sensor

that produces an analog signal as required under the

Court’s claim construction. The Court concludes that no

reasonable trier of fact could conclude that this indirect

method of measuring vacuum meets the claim limitation

either literally or under the doctrine of equivalents.

Even assuming for purposes of analysis that the

measuring function is performed by the Alpha-N fuel

management system, it is performed in an entirely

different way. There is no evidence that the measuring

of vacuum results in an electronic signal corresponding

to the vacuum measurement.

64a

Budde argues in the alternative that the measuring

function is performed by a barometric pressure sensor

located on the exterior of the engine. However, there is

no evidence that this barometric pre*sure sensor

measures vacuum in the intake manifold. Budde cites to

the deposition of Earnest Metz, an engineering

manager of HD, for the proposition that vacuum in the

intake manifold can be determined from barometric

pressure. However, the cited testimony states exactly

the converse -- that “if the algorithms were correct, you

could get barometric pressure out of intake manifold

pressure.” Metz Depo., 328:21-23. While HD concedes

that a barometric pressure sensor could, in fact, be used

to measure vacuum in the intake manifold, there simply

is no evidence that the barometric pressure sensor in

HD’s original EFI system actually is used for this

purpose.

F. Control Unit

Claim 1 discloses “a control unit which discriminates

which spark plug of the engine is firing a fuel-air

mixture charged cylinder of the engine from the

asymmetrical spark plug firing order related electronic

signal from said electronic sensing means... .” This

Court has construed this limitation to require that “the

control unit must determine which spark plug of the

engine is firing a charged cylinder at any given moment

based on the different time periods between spark

firings.” Claim Constr. Order at 15. The reference to

the “different time periods” refers to the alternating 4/9

and 5/9 time separation between the simultaneous

firings of the plugs that results from the V-twin

arrangement of the cylinders. See Budde, 250 F.3d at

1372, 1374. This Court further has construed the

65a

limitation to require that “the control unit must control

the fuel injectors based on electronic signals derived

from the signals of the throttle potentiometer, the

electronic sensing means, and the status sensing

means.” Claim Constr. Order at 15-16.

Both the original and new EFI systems utilize a form of

control unit to control the fuel injectors. HD contends

that its control unit, which it refers to as an “electronic

control module” or “ECM,” is so different from the

patented control unit that there is no infringement

either literally or under the doctrine of equivalents.

Budde contends that the control unit limitation does

read on HD’s EFI systems.

It is undisputed that the spark plugs do not fire

simultaneously in the HD motorcycles at issue.

Accordingly, neither of HD’s EFI systems determine

which spark plug is firing a charged cylinder by

comparing the alternating 4/9 and 5/9 separation

between the firings as is done in the patented

invention. As is discussed above, the EFI systems do

not contain the electronic sensing means that, in the

patented invention, determines when the ignition

system delivers an electronic pulse to fire each spark

plug. Also as discussed above, the original EFI system

does not contain the status sensing means that provides

additional input to the control unit. Accordingly, no

reasonable trier of fact could conclude that the control

unit claimed by the patent literally is present in the

accused devices. Moreover, no reasonable trier of fact

could conclude that HD’s ECM, which relies upon

different inputs, performs substantially the same

function in substantially the same way as the patented

control unit.

66a

G. Summary Judgment Of Noninfringement Is

Appropriate

Based upon the foregoing analysis, the Court concludes

that no reasonable trier of fact could conclude that ail of

the limitations set forth in claim 1, or their equivalents,

are present in either of HD’s EFI systems. The Court

therefore will grant HD’s motion for summary

judgment of noninfringement with respect to both the

original and new EFI systems, -- and deny Budde’s

corresponding motions for summary judgment of

infringement.

Ill. INVALIDITY AND UNENFORCEABILITY

HD asserts a number of affirmative defenses based

upon the alleged invalidity and unenforceability of the

348 patent: (1) invalidity under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a) on

the ground that the invention was “known or used” by

others; (2) invalidity under 35 U.S.C. § 102(b) on the

grounds that the invention was in public use and was on

sale prior to the critical date; (3) invalidity under 35

U.S.C. § 102(f) on the ground that the patent

application failed to name all inventors; (4)

unenforceability on the ground that Budde committed

inequitable conduct before the United States Patent

and Trademark Office (“PTO”); (5) invalidity under 35

U.S.C. § 103 on the ground that the invention was

obvious in light of the prior art; (6) invalidity under 35

U.S.C. § 112 on the grounds that Budde failed to

disclose the best mode to the PTO, that the patent is

not enabled without Budde’s instruction manual, that

the claims are indefinite and that the written

description requirement is not met. HD moves for

summary judgment as to its defenses under § 102(b)

67a

and § 102(f) and as to its defense of inequitable

conduct. Budde moves for summary judgment as to all

the affirmative defenses.

Because a patent issued by the PTO is entitled to a

statutory presumption of validity under 35 U.S.C. §

282, HD has the burden on these motions of proving its

defenses by clear and convincing evidence. See Oakley,

Inc. v. Sunglass Hut International, 316 F.3d 1331, 1339

(Fed. Cir. 2003). The defenses are grouped as follows

for convenience of analysis.

A. § 102(b) -- Public Use Or On Sale Prior To The

Critical Date (Cross-Motions)

Under 35 U.S.C. § 102(b), a person is entitled to a

patent unless “the invention was patented or described

in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in

public use or on sale in this country, more than one year

prior to the date of the application for patent in the

United States.” 35 U.S.C. § 102(b). The patent

application that issued as the 348 patent was filed on

November 8, 1989, making the critical date for § 102(b)

analysis November 8, 1988. The parties have filed cross-

motions for summary judgment with respect to §

102(b). HD asserts that the patented conversion system

was in public use and on sale prior to the critical date.

Budde asserts that the patented conversion system

could not have been in public use or on sale prior to the

critical date, because it was not completed until October

1989, shortly before the patent application was filed.

Public use under § 102(b) “does not necessarily mean

open and visible in the ordinary sense; it includes any

use of the claimed invention by a person other than the

68a

inventor who is under no limitation, restriction, or

obligation of secrecy to the inventor.” New Railhead

Manufacturing, L.L.C. v. Vermeer Manufacturing, 298

F.3d 1290, 1297 (Fed. Cir. 2002). What might otherwise

appear to be public use does not raise the § 102(b) bar

if the inventor was testing claimed features of his or her

invention. Id. However, once an inventor realizes that

the invention as later claimed indeed works for its

intended purpose, further “experimentation” may

constitute a barring public use. Id.

The on sale bar under § 102(b) applies if, prior to the

critical date, the invention is the subject of a

commercial offer for sale and is ready for patenting. In

re Kollar, 286 F.3d 1326, 1829 (Fed. Cir. 2002). The bar

applies only if the device offered for sale embodies all of

the limitations of the patent claim in question or would

have rendered that claim obvious. Allen Engineering

Corp. v. Bartell Industries, 299 F.3d 1336, 1352 (Fed

Cir. 2002).

HD cites numerous instances in which Budde stated

during his deposition that the invention was completed

in 1986. For example, he stated that the invention

claimed in the 348 patent was “essentially complete” in

1986; that he did not pursue a patent in 1986 because he

lacked the money to do so; and that if he had had the

money, he could have obtained the patent in 1986.

Budde Depo., 85:20 - 87:2. He further stated that once

the invention was completed in 1986, it worked for its

intended purpose. Id. at 89:23 - 90:3. When questioned

about a 1986 interview with Hot Bike magazine that

resulted in a February 1987 article, Budde stated that

the article talked about the electronic fuel timed

injection as discussed in his patent. Id. at 90:14-24.

69a

When shown a photograph that was published with the

1987 Hot Bike article, Budde identified the photograph

as being the fuel injection system-covered by his

patent. Id. at 153:7-10.

With respect to public use, HD refers to the 1986

interview with the reporter from Hot Bike, Budde

admitted in his deposition that he let the reporter ride a

motorcycle fitted with the fuel injection system. Budde

Depo., 90:23-24. It is apparent from the article that

Budde discussed his fuel injection conversion system at

length with the reporter. With respect to on sale, HD

presents evidence -- and it does not appear to be

disputed -- that Budde distributed a flyer advertising

his fuel injection conversion system in late 1986 and/or

early 1987. Budde also placed an advertisement for

custom timed injection kits in the February 1987

edition of Motorcycle Product News. At least two

customers were given pricing information in March and

April 1987 in response to inquiries. Id. at 195:3-21;

244:2-6.

Viewed in a vacuum, the evidence presented by HD

appears to be clear and convincing proof that the

invention in question was completed in 1986; that at

least one person other than the inventor and not under

any obligations of secrecy (the Hot Bike reporter), used

the invention prior to the critical date; and that the

invention was offered for sale prior to the critical date.

However, Budde cites to other portions of his

deposition in which he stated that the invention was not

complete until after Floyd Knapp (“Knapp”), listed on

the patent application as co-inventor, made his

contribution. Knapp was the last of a series of

engineers that Budde hired to help develop the

70a

electronic portion of the invention. Earlier engineers

included Bob Lang (“Lang”), Tom Hankins (“Hankins”)

and Dale Hanson (“Hanson”). Knapp did not come onto

the project until 1989. When asked why only he and

Knapp were named as patent inventors, Budde stated

as follows: “I explained to him that I went through

other engineers before that, but they never really had

anything complete. And Floyd was the person that

made this over and refinished it and made the one that

I had that we were patenting.” Budde Depo., 532:11-15.

Budde also testified that, although Tom Hankins

developed an earlier working prototype of the

invention, “it wasn’t the full; because like I explained to

you, Floyd’s the one that basically redid the whole

thing and finished it.” Id. at 576:9-11. With respect to

the alleged offers for sale, Budde testified that he

advertised the system to see if there was market

interest. Id. at 76:7-21; 118:5-22. He also testified that

he did not offer the invention for sale until after he filed

his patent application, stating: “I know it was after I

filed for the patent. I know for sure, because I

remember talking to -- I remember once it was sent in,

the patent applied for and then you could offer it for

sale, or you could make sales.” Id. at 111:21-25. Budde

testified that he did not authorize anyone to quote

customers prices, and speculated that an employee

might have asked him for a ballpark “target price” and

passed it on to a customer. Id. at 110:10-16; 112:1-14;

242:18-243:5.

Budde also submits his own declarations in which he

States unequivocally that the invention ultimately

patented was not completed until Knapp made his

contribution; that the fuel- injection system

demonstrated to the Hot Bike reporter was an earlier

Tla

prototype but was not the patented system; and that he

could not have offered the patented system for sale

prior to the critical date because it did not exist then.

HD moves to strike Budde’s declarations as “sham,”

asserting that they flatly contradict his deposition

testimony and clearly were manufactured solely in an

attempt to avoid summary judgment. “The general rule

in the Ninth Circuit is that a party cannot create an

issue of fact by an affidavit contradicting his prior

deposition testimony.” Kennedy v. Allied Mutual

Insurance Co., 952 F.2d 262, 266 (9th Cir. 1991). This

rule does not, however, dispose of every case in which a

contradictory affidavit is introduced to explain portions

of earlier deposition testimony. Id. at 266-67. Before

striking an affidavit, the Court must make an

affirmative finding that the affidavit is an attempt to

create a “sham issue of fact” rather than the result of an

honest discrepancy, a mistake or newly discovered

evidence. Id. at 267.

The Court is not persuaded that Budde’s declarations

should be stricken as sham. While the declarations

certainly contradict portions of Budde’s_ earlier

deposition testimony, the deposition testimony itself is

contradictory and confusing. The Court is troubled by

the discrepancies in the deposition itself, and the

discrepancies between the deposition and the two

declarations at issue, but is not left with a firm

conviction that the declarations were prepared for the

purpose of creating “sham” issues of fact. The Court

notes that issues of fact exist even without reference to

the declarations, as the deposition as a whole is

anything but clear as to the date the patented invention

was completed. Moreover, the contemporaneous

72a

deposition of Knapp, as well as Knapp’s declaration, n4

indicate that Knapp did not rely upon the work of the

engineers who preceded him but designed the

electronics from scratch. Knapp Depo. at 56:17-25;

Knapp Decl. at PP 14-16. Knapp’s statements give

credence to Budde’s deposition and declaration

statements that Knapp did far more than simply tidy up

the invention, but actually came up with crucial

elements of the invention in 1989.

Based upon this record, the Court concludes that there -

are triable issues of material fact as to whether the

invention that is the subject of the 348 patent was

completed in 1986 or 1989. It follows that there are

triable issues of material fact as to application of the

public use and on sale bars, because if the invention was

not completed until 1989, as asserted by Budde, it could

not have been used or offered for sale prior to the

critical date.

B. § 102(f) -- Failure To Name All Inventors (Cross-

Motions) ,

Under 35 U.S.C. § 102(f), “[a] person shall be entitled

to a patent unless he did not himself invent the subject

matter sought to be patented.” The word “he” refers to

the inventive entity named on the patent. Pannu v.

Iolab Corp., 155 F.3d 1344, 1349 (Fed. Cir. 1998).

Accordingly, this subsection is deemed to require that a

patent accurately list the correct inventors of a claimed

invention; misjoinder or nonjoinder of the correct

inventors renders the patent invalid. Id. The parties

have filed cross-motions with respect to § 102(f).

73a

HD cites to portions of Budde’s deposition testimony in

which he describes the contributions of the engineers

who predated Knapp, specifically Lang and Hankins;

states that the invention was completed in 1986; states

that he did not name Lang as an inventor because he

-was just paid to do a job; and states that he did not

name Hankins for the same reason and because

Hankins had a drinking problem. Budde Depo., 82:16 -

83:2; 85:24 - 87:2; 99:9 - 101:17; 279:1-15: 281:1-18; 390:1 -

391:2. Budde cites to other portions of his deposition in

which he states that Knapp is the engineer who “redid”

the project. Budde Depo., 576:9-11; 532:11-15. Budde

also cites to his declarations and to Knapp’s deposition

and declaration, discussed above, all of which indicate

that Knapp did not rely upon the work of Lang and

Hankins but designed the electronics from scratch.

Based upon this record, the Court concludes that there

are triable issues of material fact as to whether Lang

and Hankins contributed to the invention that is

covered by the 348 patent. |

C. Inequitable Conduct Before The PTO (Cross-

Motions)

This defense is in essence a restatement of the defenses

discussed above. HD asserts that Budde failed to

disclose to the PTO that the invention was publicly

used and on sale prior to the critical date, and that he

- had failed to name all inventors. The parties have filed

cross-motions with respect to the inequitable conduct

defense. Because there are triable issues with respect

to the public use and on sale bars, and with respect to

the contributions of persons other than the named

inventors, there is a triable issue with respect to the

inequitable conduct defense.

74a

D. § 102(a) -- “Known Or Used By Others” (Budde’s

Motion)

‘

Under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a), a person is entitled to a

patent unless “the invention was known or used by

others in this country, or patented or described in a

printed publication in this or a foreign country, before

the invention thereof by the applicant for patent.” 35

U.S.C. § 102(a). HD asserts that if the invention of

Budde and Knapp was completed in 1989, it is invalid

because substantially the same invention was

completed by the separate team of Budde, Lang and

Hankins in 1986. Only Budde moves for summary

judgment as to this defense. As is discussed above,

there are triable issues as to whether the contributions

of Lang and Hankins are reflected in the invention that

ultimately was patented. Accordingly, judgment is not

appropriate with respect to this defense.

E.§ 103 -- Obviousness (Budde’s Motion)

Under 35 U.S.C. § 108(a), “[a] patent may not be

obtained though the invention is not identically

disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this

title, if the differences between the subject matter

sought to be patented and the prior art are such that

the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious

at the time the invention was made to a person having

ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter

pertains.” 35 U.S.C. § 103(a). Obviousness is a

conclusion of law based upon factual determinations.

Environmental Designs, Ltd. v. Union Oil Co. of

California, 713 F.2d 698, 695 (Fed. Cir. 1983). Those

factual determinations involve: (1) the scope and

content of the prior art; (2) the differences between the

75a

prior art and the claimed invention; (3) the level of

ordinary skill in the pertinent art; and (4) additional

evidence, which may serve as indicia of non-

obviousness. Id.

HD claims that a motorcycle known as the Ducati 851 is

prior art, and that the Ducati 851, combined with other

prior art, renders the 348 patent invalid for

obviousness. Only Budde moves for summary judgment

with respect to the § 103 defense, asserting that the

Ducati 851 is not prior art to the 348 patent because it

was not in public use or on sale in the United States

prior to the critical date. In opposition to the motion,

HD submits documents attached to the declaration of

John Scheller. These documents were obtained from

the American Motorcyclist-Association (“AMA”), from

various publications and from the Internet, and are

sufficient to create a triable issue of material fact as to

whether the Ducati 851 was in public use or on sale in

the United States prior to the critical date.

Budde moves to strike the documents as not properly

authenticated and as hearsay. However, the Court

concludes that the documents are properly

authenticated and are admissible. A number of the

documents are periodical publications admissible under

Fed. R. Evid. 902(6). The documents produced by the

AMA are admissible as business records under Fed. R.

Evid. 803(6). The remaining documents are properly

authenticated under Fed. R. Evid. 901. Based upon

these documents, which describe the Ducati 851 and

other prior art from the relevant time frame, the Court

concludes that there are triable issues of material fact

as to whether the 348 patent is invalid for obviousness

under § 103.

76a

F. § 112 -- Best Mode, Enablement, Indefiniteness,

Written Description (Budde’s Motion)

HD asserts four defenses under 35 U.S.C. § 112: (1)

Budde failed to provide the best-mode for his invention

to the PTO; (2) the patent is not enabled without

Budde’s instruction manual; (3) the claims of the patent

are indefinite; and (4) the claims of the patent fail the

written description requirement of § 112. Only Budde

moves for summary judgment with respect to the § 112

defenses.

Under § 112, a patent “shall set forth the best mode

contemplated by the inventor of carrying out his

invention.” A best mode analysis has two components.

Chemcast Corp. v. Arco Industries Corp., 913 F.2d 923,

927 (Fed. Cir. 1990). First it must be determined

whether the inventor knew of a mode of practicing the

claimed invention that the inventor considered to be

better than any other at the time the inventor filed the

patent application. Id. at 928. If so, the second part of

the analysis compares what the inventor knew with

what was disclosed. Id. The relevant question is

whether the disclosure was adequate to enable one

skilled in the art to practice the best mode; in other

words, whether the inventor “concealed” the preferred

mode from the public. Id. Compliance with the best

mode requirement is a question of fact. Id. Budde’s

motion asserts that HD cannot prove by clear and

convincing evidence that he failed to satisfy the best

mode requirement. HD’s opposition references an

instruction manual that Budde prepared for his fuel

injection system. The instruction manual contains more

detailed installation instructions than are contained in

the patent. Budde’s reply asserts that this manual

77a

cannot constitute evidence that he failed to provide the ©

best mode to the PTO, because the manual was

prepared after the patent application was filed.

However, it could be inferred that the manual reflects

knowledge Budde had prior to its preparation, i.e., prior

to the filing of the patent application. It is unclear

whether the contents of the manual reflect-a failure to

disclose the best mode to the PTO. Accordingly, there

is a triable issue of material fact as to this defense.

Section 112 requires that “the specification shall contain

a written description of the invention, and of the

manner and process of making and using it, in such full,

clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person

skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is

most nearly connected, to make and use the same.” HD

asserts that the patent is not enabled without reference

to the manual discussed above. Budde’s motion

characterizes this assertion as “ludicrous.” However,

HD cites to White’s deposition testimony that one of

ordinary skill in the art would need the manual to use

the claimed conversion system. White Depo., 278:16-25;

- 282:8-14. Accordingly, there is a triable issue of

material fact as to whether the invention is enabled

without the manual.

Section 112 requires an adequate written description of

the claimed invention and requires that the claims be So

definite that one skilled in the art would understand

what is claimed when read in light of the specification.

HD asserts that, if the patent can be construed to cover

its EFI systems as argued by Budde, the patent fails

the written description and -the definiteness

requirements because one skilled in the art would not

understand the patent to cover a number of features of

a

78a

the HD EFI systems. HD relies upon the declarations

of its experts, discussed extensively in connection with

the infringement analysis, for the proposition that the

patent does not clearly claim several elements of HD’s

EFI systems. Budde contends that this asser

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Budde v. Harley-Davidson, Inc. · 544 U.S. 1000 | Frix