Respondents Brief — Panama Mail SS Co. v. Vargas

Supreme Court brief1930

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Due service and receipt of a copy of the within is hereby admittgs

this day of October, 1929.

Attorneys for Petitions

' Office Supreme Court,

eS FILED

FILE COPY Apr 1619

@ CHARLES ELMCRE ns

In the Supreme Court

OF THE

Buited States

“a ———

Octosrr TERM, 1929

No. 425

Panama Mari STEAMSHIP ComMPANY

(a corporation),

Petitioner,

vs. -

Exnestina ISABELLE VARGAS,

Respondent.

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT.

/ H. W. Horton,

Pacific Building, San Francisco,

Attorney for Respondent.

Subject Index

Page.

The learned Circuit Court of Appeals followed the decisions

of this Court, 266 U. S. 511, 518

b. Review of petitioner’s introduction

e. Reflections on the Circuit Court of Appeals

_ d. Full statement of the case

e. Respondent is corroborated by the laws of nature....

a. A carrier is liable for the wanton acts of its servant. .25, 26

b. Errors in statement of petitioner’s brief

e. The evidence hereia shows nothing but rape

d. The uncorroborated testiinony of the prosecutrix will

sustain a conviction of rape, if the trial Court or jury

believe her

. Respundent the victim of an assault which constituted

rape was only required to do the best she could and

the law did not require her to make a complaint... .

38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43

. Lack ef consent is all that is necessary to constitute

civil rape

. Petitioner’s authorities are all old, and have either

been overruled or modified

The law of criminal and civil rape

The law of civil rape

The Court erred in not awarding a larger sum as damages. .51, 53

Table of Authorities Cited

Baccio v. The People, 41 N. Y. 265

Campbell v. Pullman Palace Car Co., 42 Fed. 48<

Champagne v. Hamey, 189 Mo. 709

Commonwealth v. Cleary, 172 Mass. 175, 176

Connors v. State, 47 Wis. 526

Estate of McNamara, 181 Cal. 82, 89, 90

Garvick v. The Burlington Cedar Rapids Ry., 131 Iowa

Jensen v. Lawrence, 94 Wash. 148

Kansas City Southern Ry. Co. v. Willsie, 224 Fed. 908..

Kreamer v. Weigand, 91 Neb. 47, 51

Lind v. Closs, 88 Cal. 6

Lindville v. Green, 125 Mo. App. 290

Marshall v. Taylor, 98 Cal. 55

McGhee v. McCarley, 103 Fed. 55

McLain v. State, 159 Wis. 204

Mills v. United States, 164 U. S. 644

New Orleans & N. E. Railroad Co. v. Jopes, 142 U. S. 18, 20

Norton v. Larney, 266 U. 8. 511, 518

N. Y. Central Ry. v. Lockwood, 17 Wallace 357

N. Y. Central Ry. v. Mohiny, 252 U. 8. 157, 158

Olsen v. State, 11 Nebraska, 276

Palmer v. Baum, 123 Ill. App. 584

People v. Bensen, 6 Cal. 221, 223

People v. Bonzani, 24 Cal. App. 549

People v. Dohring, 59 N. Y. 374, 383

People v. Horn, 25 Cal. App. 583

People v. Jones, 76 Cal. App. 144, 148

People v. Kuches, 120 Cal. 566, 569

People v. Lawler, 79 Cal. App. 208, 209

People v. Martinez, 59 Cal. App. 121

People v. Mazzurco, 49 Cal. App. 275, 276

People v. Moore, 155 Cal. 237, 240

Taste oF AuTHoRITIEs CITED

za Pages

- People v. Norrington, 55 Cal. App. 103, 109.............. 43, 46

Peuple v. O'Sullivan, 104 N. Y. 481................0e0eee 40, 47

People v. Slaughter, 33 Cal. App. 565, 381................ 36

Peopl2 v. Valencia, 85 Cal. App. 306......... ii at oue a Kok 37

R. v. William Crocker, 17 English Criminal Appeals (1922),

TRE Rd e es sun SpA ERER SS OEEES BOM SbASTRA DA OR 36

State v. Barnes, 140 Minn. 519......... 2... ee cence ee eeee 48

Se ©. CONG, Te OU BO inch ckece sc ccapedersacvenves 38

Siete v. Cowing, 99 Minn. 123. .............cesceesenses 48

State v. Kinney, 44 Conn. 153............. ccc cee cence 49

ee Pe SOE BEG, GEG eas pks coh sends cevcesivecc 41

State v. Peters, 8 Jones (North Car.), 19-22.............. 41

State v. Sebastian, 81 Conn. 1, 6... . 2.2.2.2... ew eecceeens 49

Steamboat Co. v. Brockett, 121 U. S. 637, 645............. 25

The City of New York, 54 Fed. 181.............0.0-eeee- 37

Totten v. Totten, 172 Mich. 565, 575...............00008- 44

Whittaker v. State, 50 Wis. 518..............0 5 eee eeeee 47

Wiltska v. Moudray, 83 Minn. 73, 81............0--+0e0- 48

Text Books

Pages

American Law Reports, Ann. Vol. 6, 1911......5......... 44

Bishop on Criminal Law, Sec. 1122............00.-eeees 50

‘Collier’s New Excy., Ed. 5058, Vol. TV, Ds BB. ccs cccccanss 32

Cooley’s Blackstone, Vol. 2, p. 1374............0eeeeees 49

Re ar |: Sear re rere reer ES try ot ree re 45, 52

Wharton & Stille’s Medical Jurisprudence, Vol. III, p. 27..

In the Supreme Court

OF THE

United States

OctoBER TERM, 1929

No. 425

Panama Mart STeamMsHip CoMPANY

(a corporation),

Petitioner,

vs.

ERNESTINA ISABELLE VARGAS,

Respondent.

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT.

RESPONDENT ALSO RESPECTFULLY REQUESTS CON-

SIDERATION OF HER BRIEF FILED IN OPPOSITION

TO THE GRANTING OF WRIT OF CERTIORARI.

&

STATEMENT OF THE CASE.

The many inaccuracies, omissions and misstatements

in petitioner’s statement of the case contained in its

brief, including that part of it printed on page 1,

headed, ‘‘Introduction,’’ compel respondent to make a -

complete statement, which we offer with an apology

for its length, which is found to be unavoidable.

Briefly, however, the facts are that respondent, a

previously chaste girl of the age of 24 years, well

brought up and educated, went on board petitioner's

vessel, ‘‘Ecuador,’’ on October 10, 1927, at La Liber-

tad, Salvador, for passage to San Francisco. She was

a human being and petitioner took her safety in

charge and under its care when she went on the vessel,

She took seasick immediately upon arriving on the ves-

sel and so continued to San Francisco. About 38 hours

after her arrival on board, while she was in her room

alone, nauseated by seasickness and weak from the

lack of food, one Jose Blanco, or Jose Blanco Reyes,

petitioner’s second steward, a petty officer, entered the

stateroom occupied by her in an isolated part of the

vessel and criminally assaulted her against her utmost

resistance—the assault being as atrocious an assault

as ever was committed on a human being-—by reason

of which she became pregnant with child, born to her

according to the average law of human gestations, 280

days thereafter, and the child resembles Blanco. (R.

45, 149.) Respondent did not assume the risk of that

assault. as

All the expenses of the maintenance of the child,

amounting to $31.00 per month, not including cloth»,

having to be borne by respondent, she working as a

seamstress. (R. 44, 47, 49.)

There has never been any denial that he is the father

of the child and we find nothing in the record that

explains its conception excepting the testimony of

respondent and admissions made by Blanco himself

and just what petitioner depends upon we do not —

3

_ know, other than it has picked out a sentence here and

‘there in the testimony with the possible hope that it

might be believed, without a word of evidence to base

it on. That a weak, seasick, previously chaste girl,

well brought up, voluntarily solicited sexual inter-

course with a total stranger and had only spoken to,

to the extent of saying in substance, ‘‘I thank you,”’

38 hours before the outrage was committed. (R. 60-

61.)

Testimony has to be taken as a whole. We now ask

the court’s attention to that part of petitioner’s brief

marked ‘‘Introduction,’’ as follows:

The libel was filed March 22, 1928. (R. 8.) The

trial commenced September 12, 1928, and lasted three

days. (R. 21, 22, 23.)

In the five months and 21 days petitioner took the

depositions of the master, the steward, and the second

steward of the ‘‘Ecuador,’’ the latter being the per-

son who committed the outrage on respondent. It had

in court the purser as a witness, also a passenger, and

there is not the slightest intimation in the record that

it wished other witnesses or wanted any. The child

was born to respondent in a hospital in San Francisco,

on July 19, 1928. It was accessible to petitioner at

the trial if it wanted to compare its features with

Blanco’s. It never asked for time to get further

testimony, if it had or wanted any. So the following

statement on page 2 of peiitioner’s brief is without

any foundation,

“and was therefore barred from obtaining ‘evi-

dence invaluable in such cases.’’

4

Respondent testified through an interpreter. The

cross-examination was both by counsel for petitioner

and by the court. She was on the witness stand a day

and a half, and the court believed her. No one who

saw her on the stand and heard her testify could do

otherwise. Blanco, the Filipino steward, never at any

time tried to protect himself from the charges made

against him. On the contrary, as will hereafter ap-

pear, he admitted the outrage over and over again in

the office of petitioner, Panama Mail Steamship Com-

pany and elsewhere and never denied it until his

deposition was taken in counsel for petitioner’s office,

May 31, 1928.

We also respectfully state, that there is nothing in

the record upon which can be based the claim that the

trial court was influenced by natural indignation or

anything else but the law and the facts of the case,

It was submitted on briefs of both sides, held under

consideration more than four months, and the only

foundation for counsel’s strictures upon that court

must be his belief that the trial court should have de

cided an overwhelmingly established case: of rape,

rightfully or wrongfully in favor of his client.

And we respectfully submit that the reflections on

the learned Circuit Court of Appeals, found on pages

5, 37, 38 and 39 of petitioner’s petition herein, and the

following on. page 3 of its brief,|

“On ap the Cireuit C of Appeals in a two

page ee. practically washed its hands of the

ease by declaring it was a decision of facts in

which the upper court would not interfere,’’

are uncalled for.

5

Judge Rudkin wrote the opinion for that court.

His record as a state and federal judge on the Pacific

Coast is long and honorable, and he needs no champion

on that coast. He has a reputation for reading

all the testimony and the whole of the contents of all

the briefs in any case. The opinion he wrote herein

has the merit of brevity. On its face it shows con-

clusively that he read the whole record, and the con-

clusions of the court as shown by the opinion he wrote

and the judgments herein are in conformity with the

decisions of this court and also the general law.

As to the facts of the case:

In the trial court herein 13 witnesses testified, 7

for respondent and 6 for petitioner, and two deposi-

tions were introduced by respondent, and one that of

the second steward by petitioner.

The evidence (R. 21-24) shows that Miss Vargas

was a woman 24 years old at the time of the occur-

rence she complains of; that she is refined in her con-

duct and manner; well educated, both religiously and

scholastically, the language of her testimony shows

the latter, and not one word against her character

can be found in the evidence.

The evidence further shows (R. 24-25) that Miss

Vargas was born in San Miguel, Republic of Salva-

dor, and lived there all her life, she attended a non-

boarding school from the time she was seven to

twelve years old, and after that became an interne

student at the college of Santa Techla about one

hour’s ride from the capital of Salvador until she

was nineteen, when she went home and lived with

her parents for about five years, making a tittle trip

with her mother to ihe port of La Union, in 1912,

about 15 years before she went on the ‘‘ Ecuador,”

Her father is a jeweler in San Miguel, and in October,

192”. it ~vas decided that she should come to San

Francisco, for the purpose of learning the English

language, taking advantage of the fact that she had

a brother here. (R. 25.) Her father purchased a

ticket, gave her some money, which she deposited

with the purser when she went on board the ‘‘Ecua-

dor’’ and nothing else, having it returned when she

left the boat in San Francisco (R. 37), and she went to

the Port of La Libertad where the ‘‘Ecuador”’ was to

arrive (R. 26-29), a brother in San Salvador, her

cousin and her cousin’s husband being there also.

Her brother and cousin’s husband went with her to

the ‘‘Ecuador”’ in a g*soline launch. Upon getting on

board the brother went to the first person they met,

Jose Blanco, who she later found to be the second

purser or steward. She had been assigned to stateroom

31, which was one room from the end of a corridor

about 80 or 90 feet long. (R. 278.) Her brother ap-

pears to have gone down to the stateroom with her,

and they then went on deck to get her a deck chair,

which her brother purchased for her, Blanco telling

him where to get it. Her brother spoke to Blanco,

who told him that he spoke Spanish, and that he wouid

explain things in the dining-room to her. Her

brother stayed about fifteen minutes on the vessel, and

left for the shore. Blanco himself, by deposition, -

wy ea Ie

0

7

testifying (R. 219), speaking of her brother when on

the vessel :

fg And he asked you to take good care of

her

A. He was recommending me to take good

care of her because I was second steward.

. He asked you to take good care of her,

didn’t he?

A. Yes.

Q. And you said you would?

A. Yes, sir.”’

The only participation respondent had in that mat-

ter or conversation with Blanco prior to the assault is

found in the record at pages 60 and 61, as follows:

That when she went up the gang-plank Blanco asked

if there was anything he could do for her, and said

that he would be glad to serve her in any way, and the

following occurred:

“Q. What did you say?

A. I thanked him.

Q. And that was the only other conversation

as ie up to that time with that fellow?

. Yes.

Miss Vargas became badly seasick the moment she

got on board (R. 29), and so remained up to the time

the vessel arrived in San Francisco, all the witnesses

agree on that. (R. 172, 272.) She went on the vessel

October 10th, about 4 p. m. and the vessel left La

Libertad at 9:45 p. m. October 10th (R. 252), the

steamer having at 8 p. m., October 11th left San

Jose her last port of call and started for San Pedro,

California. (R. 253.) Miss Vargas left the deck at

about 9 p. m. and went to her room; she was alone

in the room, was seasick all night, getting up twice

to vomit in the wash basin (R. 31), but was unable

to vomit anything but bile (R. 94), as she had eaten

searcely anything since she went on the vessel, thirty-

seven hours before, and she woke about, as she thinks,

5 a. m.; having no watch she was not sure about the

time, about from 6 to 6:30, she unlocked the door

for coffee. She also testified that she had a great

deal of nausea. She testified (R. 31):

““A. I left my bed for the purpose of opening

up the door, as I could not go upstairs to get

coffee, I thought it was better to have it brought

there.”’ (R. 32.)

“‘Q. Did you try to dress at that time?

A. Yes, but I could not, because I could not

sustain myself, and I returned to bed.”’

Blanco entered her room at about 6:30 to 7 a. m.

(R. 32, 59), and first asked her how she felt from the

seasickness; she replied quite sick; he then pushed

the door shut, and took hold of one of her hands,

which she withdrew, and then commenced to use love

phrases to her telling her that he had sympathized

with her very much from the moment she came aboard

the ship and had commenced to like her quite a bit.

She asked him to do her the favor to keep still, and

he then got close to her and took her two hands; she

struggled to loosen herself, and he then raised her

two hands above the level of her shoulders and put

them against the pillows. (R. 32, 33.) ‘“‘He had both

of my hands and was lying on top of me and I was

helpless.’ (R. 70.) She kept struggling, telling him

that if he did anything to her he would greatly repent

it (R. 88), he kept kissing her and finally held one of

her hands with one hand and with that arm held the

other arm down, and with the other hand evidently

unbuttoned his pants and in spite of all she could do

had sexual intercourse with her, by that time her

struggles had got her over to the side of the bed, with

her legs from about six inches above her knees over

the side of the bed, he forced her legs apart by insert-

ing one of his legs between hers and got in the center

(B. 91) and completed his purpose.

There is not a shred of evidence that anyone was

near that room at the time other than Miss Vargas

and Blanco; it does appear that the twenty or more

bell-boys, bath-boys and waiters of whom Blanco was

in charge go on duty at 6 in the morning az] ‘the first

thing they do is to serub the floors of the dining-

room, wash the paint work down, wipe the dust down

and polish brass. (R. 270.) Room 31 was immedi-

ately below the dining-room. (R. 278.) After all

the scrubbing and cleaning is done, which with 20 men

doing it must make considerable noise, the waiters get

ready for breakfast, which is at 8 o’clock, after that

they clean up the rooms. (R. 277.)

There were but few passengers on the vessel. The

vessel had only about half of her complement of pas-

sengers. (R. 279.) Respondent’s Exhibit 2 (R. 48)

shows 55, and her complement was 109. (R. 276.)

And the only passengers in the corridor that the state-

room Miss Vargas occupied that appear in the record,

was a Chinaman and his family that joined the vessel

eae

10

at Gautemala, but changed on account of the heat.

(R. 94, 95.)

She was interrogated at length as to why she did

not ery out, and testified (R. 34):

‘‘A, Because at that particular moment I did

not have courage to cry out, and not knowing who

would come to my aid, and my voice might not

have been heard, on account of the noise that

there is in the morning aboard ship, I did not

think it possible to be heard.”’

(R. 87):

‘‘A. Because it didn’t oceur to me, I did not

know that that man entered with bad intentions.

What Tf did was to withdraw my hand forcibly.

A. Because at that moment it did not occur

to me to ery out; the only thing that occurred to

me was to defend myself.

Well, I moved my body and did everything

that was possible to loosen my hand.”

(R. 33):

‘“‘A. In the first place I did not holler out,

because it did not occur to me, because I was

afflicted with what was happening.”’

(R. 34): .

‘“‘A, Besides I was telling him to leave me

alone, to loosen his grip.

A. I don’t know. All I do know is that there

was an opening that led to the barber-shop, which

was some distance away from there, but at that

time in the morning I didn’t know whether it was

open.

(R. 87):

‘‘Because I did not think he came in with bad

intentions because at the moment of entering, he |

asked me, ‘Miss, how do you feel, how are you.’” |

i

pee

ee:

11

(R. 88): |

“Q. Did you strike him in the face, or scratch

him

A. I did not have the chance, because my

hands were held.’’

As to the unlocking of the door, she testified (R.

79) :

“Q. If it was for coffee, why didn’t you ac-

cept the coffee that Blanco, when he first came

into the room, offered to give you?

A. Because he offered to give me coffee, and

I knew that a messboy would bring it, and I did

not want to accept any favors from him.

Q. Why didn’t you want to accept any favors

from him, if he was the second steward, and you

never had a word with him, except going up the

gang plank ?

A. Up to that time I did not know he was

second steward.”’

After Blanco had accomplished his purpose, she got

up and cried. :

(R. 71):

“A. I didn’t say anything; I was so com-

pletely exhausted.”

(R. 35):

‘After the act, he saw me ery, and he told me

not to worry, that he would marry me.

A. That if I wanted to, we would get married

in San Pedro.

A. He says for me to say nothing to anyone;

that he would be of service to me, that I would

not get any advantage through it, because they

would not pay any attention to me.

I said nothing; I only cried.”’

The vessel arrived in San Francisco October 21st,

_and her sister-in-law met her on the steamer and took

12

her to her home. (R. 142.) Her brother missed her

as he was attending to some trunks or papers or some-

thing for her. He went out home when Miss Vargas

handed him a letter from their father that she had

brought up, in which he stated that he was sending

a ring to him by his sister; the brother asked for the

ring and Miss Vargas told him a man on the ship

had taken it away from her (R. 108, 109) ; the brother,

his wife and Miss Vargas then went down to the ship

to get the ring. (R. 110, 143.) There is nothing in

the record showing they had any other purpose in

going. The ring was on her finger at the time of the

assault, but being loose fell off to the floor in the

struggle, and Blanco picked it up, ‘‘gathered it,”’ as

she testified (R. 37), and carried it away with him.

Upon their arrival at the vessel Blanco took the ring

off his finger and handed it to the brother. Blanco

was not produced at the trial, his deposition was

taken, when he testified (R. 224, 225) that he never

had a ring, never saw a ring, and did not hand a

ring over on the above occasion, although three wit-

nesses produced in court testified that he did.

The brother, Ralph Vargas, testified (R. 111):

‘“‘A. Yes, he served-liquor there and I said, ‘I

thank you, I want’ you to come out for dinner to

my house,’ because I didn’t like to get anything

without paying for it.’’

The brother, and his wife were in complete ignor-

ance of the assault for some time after that, Miss

Vargas testifying she did not have the valor to tell

him as she was afraid it would shock him too much. |

(R. 39.) He testified that they had always been very _

strict in his family and she was afraid he would throw

her out. (R. 116.) She further testified (R. 74) that

she did not know she was in that condition until they

took her to a doctor (R. 38):

“A. No, I did not want to tell them, because

I did not want to cause a terrible impression,

because I had come especially recommended to

them in San Francisco.’

There were some exchanges of courtesies between

the brother and his wife and Blanco, but all the testi-

mony shows Miss Vargas had nothing to do with them.

The brother testified (R. 106) about going out to a

cafe:

“A. We took my sister along because we

could not leave her in the house by herseif.’’

The testimony shows that she never spoke to

Blanco at any of those times, and the visits between

Blanco and the Vargas family seem to have been con-

fined to two. (R. 73.)

In March, Miss Vargas had to tell someone of her

condition, and being afraid and ashamed to tell her

brother, she went to a friend of the family (R. 39): -

“T told Amaral I didn’t know what to do, that

I am in such a condition, that I would like to

leave this place and go somewhere else, because

I am afraid to shock my brother too much.”’

Shortly before that Miss Vargas complained about

not feeling well to her sister-in-law who took her to a

doctor. (R. 144.) When Miss Vargas came out of the

doctor’s room crying (R. 144), that was the first time

her sister-in-law knew anything about the matter;

_ her husband did not know then. (R. 146.)

SSS re Oe ee

14

Mrs. Vargas was afraid her husband would find

out about it, so she went to see Blanco and told him

her sister-indaw had told her what had happened to

her, and she wanted to know what he was going to

do about it because she was afraid her husband would

find out about it. He suggested getting a doctor for

a criminal operation, saying that he supposed it would

need money for that, that he had not any right then

but would be able to find some. She suggested marry-

ing respondent, as she was afraid her husband might

find out and do something rash. He then told her he

‘was married and had children. (R. 145, 146, 147.)

|

| Amaral, however, went and told her brother (R.

/130, 132, 133, 134) and asked him not to put her out

of his house. (R. 132.) And the brother told him to

‘take her to the United States authorities and make a

complaint, which was done, and Blanco was arrested.

The hearing was had before Commissioner Krull,

| and it seems they had a great deal of trouble about

getting an interpreter, they had three, none appears

| to have been able to interpret Spanish correctly. (R.

| 54, 92.) Commissioner Krull (R. 205):

“‘A. She could not speak English, and we had

quite a little time getting someone to interpret

and we finally called upon Mr. Grant, a bailiff of

the court, who talked Spanish, and he came in

and did the interpreting.”’

(R. 92):

**A. That it took considerable effort to make

myself understood literally with them when they

spoke to me.

°O. Could they talk good Spanish ?

A. No.” :

: ‘It appears that she'learned Blanco was a married

man for the first time at'the hearing before Commis-

sioner Krull. (R. 73.) Respondent testified as fol-

lows before Commissioner Krull (R. 69) :

“Q. Did you kiss him?

A. I resisted.

How did you resist ?

By trying to throw him off.

Did you hit him?

I could not, he held both my hands. ”’

* *

POPS

(R. 70):

“Q. And what did you do when he did that?

pie was helpless ; I couldn ’t do anything.

*

*

Q. Asa matter of fact, isn’t it the truth that

you didn’t fight with all the strength you had?

N lo, I resisted with all the strength Thad. .

* *

Q. Did ‘you scratch him at all or hit him?

A. No, I couldn’t do anything. He had both

of my hands and was lying on top of me, and I

was helpless.’’

(R. 71):

“Q. And what did you say?

A. I didn’t say anything; I was so completely

exhausted.”’

That is the only description of the attack there was

before Commissioner Krull, and seduction cannot be

made out of that. Blanco should have been held for

the Grand Jury, as that evidence shows nothing but

rape.

Defendant was represented there, Commissioner

Krull believed her story but thought the case was

duction. Blanco was there and made no denial, the

16

charge of rape was dismissed and a conversation held

in which it was agreed that Miss Vargas should go

down to the petitioner’s office next day and some

financial arrangement should be made on account of

her condition and that she should pursue her remedy

in the state court. (R. 202, 203, 204, 196, 197-201.)

Mr. Grant, then the bailiff of Judge Kerrigan’s, now

of Judge St. Sure’s court, testified in full on that and

that someone there gave him Mr. Shenick’s (appel-

lant’s port steward) card to give to Miss Vargas, so

that she would know where to go. (Libelant’s Ex-

hibit 1.)

Miss Vargas, accompanied by her brother and Mr.

Amaral, went down to both of appellant’s offices the

next day. Reaching the port steward’s office, Blanco

was called in; he there said he was sorry for what he

had done to Miss Vargas, was willing to pay the ex-

penses of her sickness and take care of the child, and

Mr. Shenick gave Mr. Amaral another of his, Mr.

Shenick’s cards, looked at the calendar and told him

to ring up on May 18th, the vessel would be back on

that day, for Amaral to call him over the ’phone and

bring those people down, and I will see that Joe gives

some money to her, and from then on would take care

of Miss Vargas and later on would take care of the

child. Blanco also said that ‘‘the child that was com-

ing was his, that he was sorry for what had happened

and would take care of her.’’ To have proceeded any

farther would have been compounding a felony.

The vessel went away; this case was commenced

about a week after the foregoing. The vessel returned —

and a day or so afterwards Blanco called up Mm. ;

Julian, the mother of Mrs. Vargas, on the phone,

went out to her house and talked to her quite a while

about the whole matter, told he that he was very

sorry, that he wanted to arrange everything amicably

with her because there was no need for any lawyers

nor any litigation; that he could pay the hospital

expenses; that if the child was a girl to give it the |

mother’s name, if a boy his name; that he was sorry

for what had occurred, because he was a married man,

but if Miss Vargas would wait he would get a divorce

and get married to her, but that he did not have any

ease or reason to get the divorce, ete. (R. 156, et

seq.)

Blanco was cross-examined twice and a foundation

was laid for impeachment on all ef the matters that

evidence was introduced on, and he denied everything,

contradicted the statement of Commissioner Krull,

Mr. Grant, and everyone else that testified for the

libelant, seven in all.

All we find to controvert the above mass of testi-

mony is (R. 211):

‘A. I never talked to Ernestina at all; just

pass there in saloon and salute me; just say ‘Good

morning.’

Q. At any time during the month of October,

1927, did you go into the room—stateroom 31—

while Ernestina was there?

A. No. I never seen her in the room.

Q. Did you at any time have any relations of

any kind with Ernestina?

A. No, sir.’’

He was cross-examined twice and a foundation was

_ laid for impeachment on all of the matters that evi-

me ;

dence was introduced on, and he denied everything,

contradicted the statement of Commissioner Krull,

Mr. Grant, and everyone else that testified for the

libelant, seven in all.

Mr. Shenick went on the stand and contradicted

Commissioner Krull, Mr. Krull’s records, Mr. Grant,

Mr. Amaral and Mr. Ralph Vargas.

A male child was born to Miss Vargas on the 19th

day of July, 1928, her labor pains commencing on the

18th; we assume that the labor pains are a part of

the birth of the child, and the 18th day of July, 1928,

was exactly 280 days after the 12th day of October,

1927, the average period of human gestation. It is

in evidence that the features of the child resemble

Blanco. (R. 45, 149.) Miss Vargas owes the doctor’s

bills, works as a seamstress and pays $25.00 per month

for the care of the child, and-$6.00 for milk. (R. 47.)

When the fact that she was with child became

noticeable, her brother and sister-in-law were forced

to send her to the country. (R. 42.)

*““A. I left here because even though no one

knows me, the friends of my brother who would

come there would make me feel ashamed that I

was in that condition.”’

Miss Vargas is of frail stature, Blanco is short and

very stout (R. 46) and weighs about 160 pounds. (R.

218.)

Blanco was before Commissioner Krull March 16,

1928, and made no denial. (R. 204.)

“‘Q. He never made any denial of this girl’s

charges ?

A. There was no denial.

19

Q. Blanco or Blanco Reyes was there?

A. He was present at the hearing.

Q. He never made any denial of this girl’s

charges ?

A. There was no denial.’’

The next day, March 16, 1928, the following oc-

eurred in one of petitioner’s offices (R. 117):

“Mr. Hurton. Q. What did Shenick tell you?

A. Shenick said that Blanco was—Blanco said

before that he was awfully sorry for what he

did to my sister, that he was able to help my

sister, that he was able to help my sister in any-

thing that it comes to, and he gave us a card, the

steward, that fellow gave us a card and told us

to come there, or call him up, and ‘Will you

come over to me and we will make some arrange-

ments.’

* * * * * * *

A. Blanco said he was awful sorry for what

he did.’’ (See R. 127, 128, 136, 137.)

The complete ignorance of the brother and sister-

in-law of the assault is shown by the fact that as soon

as he learned of the assault he told Mr. Amaral to

take her to the United States authorities. (R. 132.)

‘‘A. Yes, the brother told me to take her to

tae United States authorities, that she wanted to

make a complaint.”’

Upon going to counsel for petitioner’s office to

have his deposition taken Blanco’s front completely

changed, and both lower courts herein, the trial court

in effect and the Appellate Court directly (R. 298)

find he was guilty of false swearing, and on page 35

of petitioner’s brief, we find the following admis-

sions :

“We do not deny that this:steward is guilty

of false swearing.”

“He is a Filipino and from the testimony in

this case we think he lied to us.’’

Of course, that isan admission that he. told the

truth when he spoke to Mrs. Vargas, Mrs. Julian,

and to Mr. Vargas.and Mr. Amaral down in reti-

tioner’s office, at Pier 46 in San Francisco.

On the day of. the assault, Miss Vargas. spoke to

the steward and asked him to put someone in the

room with her, testifying that she did not want it to

happen again, that she was very much afraid. (R. 36.)

The steward testified (R. 269) that’ he knew enough

Spanish to talk to people on the ship and find out

their wants, respondent thought he-did not understand

her, but he must have done, as-that night Miss Villa-

vicencio went into the room about 9 or 9:30 p. m. (R.

172.) Miss Villavicencio was not in room 31 at the

time of the assault, her own testimony shows that

the vessel left La Libertad October 10th (R. 252),

Miss Villavicencio joined the vessel in Corrinto (R.

172), where the vessel left October 9th (R. 194), and

testified she slept in the second cabin for, two nights,

so according to her story she could not have gone

into room 31 prior to October 11th, but she says she

went there at La Libertad, the vessel’ had left La

Libertad and was:at San Jose de Guatemala on Octo-

ber 11th, having called at Acajutla-on the same day

(R: 252); she aso testified (R. 270) that it took

two and one half days to go from Corrinte to La —

Libertad, when in fact the steaming time was 13’ —

hours (R. 194); she also testified (R. 168) that she

went into room 31 between 5 and 6 in the afternoon

and on (R. 172) th-~. she went in at 9 or 9:30, when

she went to *_u.

She testified (R. 167, 172) that the vessel arrived

in San Francisco in November when the fact is she

arrived there on October 21st. (R. 252.)

The young lady’s testimony is such a mass of con-

tradictions and so contradictory to the facts, that

none of it is worth considering. But, she could have

heen assigned to room 31, and been absent on deck

or elsewhere about the vessel and this assault could

have happened.

The steward of the vessel as to when Miss Villaci-

eencio was put in room 31 (R. 271):

*‘A. It was either the night we left La Liber-

tad, or the next morning I would say; I am not

sure as to that.”’

The best that can be said for that is, that the

steward made a guess at the date, and was not sure

as to his guess.

All that Mr. Lorenzen knew about Miss Villavi-

cencio is based upon the following (R. 178):

“A. I believe, after I talked the matter over,

that she was a passenger from Corrinto, Nica-

ragua, to San Francisco, a steerage passenger.’’

That showed he had no independent knowledge on the

matter at all, and makes his whole testimony worth-

less, and as to Mr. Mallory, he was in San Francisco,

and his records would not have been admissible in

evidence if they had been produced; but they were

not even produced.

Blanco could not have entered the stateroom for

an hour after the door was unlocked.

As to not ringing thé bell when he came in, she

testified she did not think he came in with any bad

intention (R. 80), he almost immediately afterwards

took hold of her two hands and threw them up over

her shoulders and held them on the pillow, she could

not ring the bell then. (R. 33, 87, 88.)

She had nothing but a nightgown on. (R. 33.)

““As I was only in my nightgown, he finally

overcome /me.’

As to her going to breakfast after the attuck, the

following is what occurred:

(R. 76):

‘“‘A. Yes, I left at that hour to go to break-

fast, but I did not go to the dining-room, I re-

mained on deck because I could not stand up.”

(R. 93):

‘“‘A. All that I did was to walk from the door

that led to the deck, to the chair that was near

by—the deck chair was near by.

A. I remained seated in the deck chair during

the day and likewise the remainder of the days.”

The testimony on the wearing of the ring is as

follows (R. 84):

““Q. Where did the ring fall?

A. To the floor.

Q. He stole this ring?

A. He gathered it up.

Q. -And you saw him with the stolen ring

for all the rest of the voyage, wearing it?

A. I saw him wearing a ring on the hand, but

I didn’t know if that was the one.

Q. Didn’t you testify before the United States

Commissioner that that was the ring he was

wearing ?

A. No, I said that I did see him wearing a

ring, but I didn’t know whether that was the

ring; but that when I went with mv brother to

get the ring that that was the ring that he had

on.”’

Of course, it is obvious that if she had given the

ring to Blanco to keep for her, she would have asked

him for it before she left the ship to go to her

brother’s house, and would not have gone there with-

out it. She got her money from the purser before she

left the vessel. (R. 37.) The various presents men-

tioned on page 7 of petitioner’s brief, are as follows

(R. 112, 113):

Ralph Vargas noticed a pair of shoes on Blanco’s

feet ; the latter told him he got them in New York, and

Blanco asked his size and brought him a pair, and

he gave Blanco a cushion in return. Mrs. Vargas

asked him to bring her a parrot, but Blanco sent

her a canary bird instead that he wanted to give away

to somebody. Then Blanco placed an order for two

hats with Mr. Vargas to give to the firm the latter

worked for, saying he wanted them for two lady

friends of his; Mr. Vargas got the hats, took them

down to the boat with a charge of $15.00; Blanco

said he did not have the money then but would send

it from Los Angeles, but didn’t (R. 119, 120, 121);

and when Amaral respondent and Ralph Vargas went

down to the petitioner’s office pursuant to the arrange.

ments made in Commissioner Krull’s office, Amaral

demanded payment for the hats, and Blanco paid

the money after haggling about the price. (R. 128,

129.)

eee

II.

RESPONDENT'S ASSIGNMENT OF ERRORS.

(R. 291.)

The said lower court erred in not awarding appellee

a much larger sum than ten thousand ($10,000.00)

dollars for the wrong she sustained, as that amount

is not sufficient compensation for such wrong as shown

by the evidence herein, and it would require a much

larger sum than that to compensate her for such

wrong, and the record herein also shows that the ap-

pellant condoned the action of its second steward of

the vessel ‘‘Ecuador,” who committed the said wrong

upon appellee by treating the same lightly, not insist-

ing upon his prosecution for the erime he had com-

mitted, endeavoring to arrange for a compromise of

appellee’s wrong, and generally affording him aid and

comfort after he had violated the chastity of the ap-

pellee against her will, resistance and consent on board

of appellant’s vessel ‘“‘Ecuador.”’

Wherefore appellee prays that the award of dam-

ages to her herein may be largely increased.

25

TTT.

PETITIONER IS RESPONSIBLE IN DAMAGES

FOR THE ASSAULT.

Counsel for petitioner admitted that in both lower

courts; we however cite the following authorities:

New York Central Rd. Co. v. Mohiny, 252 U.

S. 150, 157-8. |

‘A carrier by rail is liable to a trespasser or

to a mere licensee willfully or wantonly injured

by its servants in charge of its train (Thomp-

son’s Commentaries on the Law of Negligence,

3307, 3308, and 3309, and the same sections in

White’s Supplement thereto) and a sound pub-

lie policy forbids that a less onerous rule should

be applied to a passenger injured when lawfully

upon one of its trains, this much of protection

was due plaintiff as a human being who intrusted

his safety to defendants keepmg. Southern Paci-

fic Co. v. Schuyler, 227, U. S. 601-613. It arose

from the faet that he was a human being of whose

safety the plaintiff in error had undertaken the

charge; with his consent he had placed his life

in its keeping. Missouri, Kans. & Texas Ry. Co.

v. Sealy, 248 U. S. 359-363.

His claim rests not upon eontract of carriage,

but upon the general right of a human being not

to be injured by the negligence of another * * *.”’

Steamboat Co. v. Brockett, 121 U. S. 637, 645.

“‘a common carrier is bound as far as practica-

ble to protect his passengers, while being con-

veyed, from violence committed by strangers and

co-passengers, and undertakes absolutely to pro-

tect them against the misconduct of its own ser-

vants engaged in executing the contract.’’

New York Central Ry. Co. v. Lockwood, 17

Wallace 357;

New Orleans & N. E. Ratlroad Co. v. Jopes,

142 U. S. 18, 20;

26

Kansas City, Southern Ry. Co. v. Willslie, 224

Fed. 908.

And the many cases cited therein.

We could cite many others.

ARGUMENT.

If this court will consider claimed errors in the

admission of testimony herein:

The testimony on page 12 of petitioner’s brief was

admissible on two grounds; one was to impeach

Blanco. He was cross-examined twice and a founda-

tion laid. (R. 218, 246.)

Another ground, petitioner itself placed Commis-

sioner Krull on the stand. (R. 201-206.) He testified

about an arrangement made before him by which

respondent was to go down to petitioner’s office

where some financial arrangment would be made.

(R. 203.) Miss Vargas went to two offices, at one, the

main office, with Mr. Amaral and her brother and

were told that Mr. Schnick at pier 46 had charge of

the case and directed them there. What occurred in

that office was the consummation of an arrangement

made in which respondent took part. Commissioner

Krull (R. 203):

‘‘A. Blanco was there, and there was someone

there that represented the steamship company.”

What occurred at pier 46 was a part of a transaction

that respondent was entitled to.

The evidence of Mrs. Julian, page 13 of brief, was

admissible for the purposes of impeachment.

Miss Vargas had already testified that she had

made no outcry, so it was entirely immaterial whether

if she had made one it could have been heard. (Brief,

13, 14.)

Petitioner’s argument about the rooms on the corri-

dor on which stateroom 31 was situated is specious.

All the evidence shows there was no one in the rooms.

Blanco, as second steward, certainly knew that, hence

saw that he would be unmolested in his attack.

Miss Vargas had a right to sit on deck, a great

many seasick people prefer the deck where there is

plenty of air to a stuffy stateroom.

About having absolute protection with the door

locked, we all of us undoubtedly unlock some door or

other every day of our lives. The lock was there to

be unlocked and people usually use them by unlocking

them.

In People v. Lawler, 79 Cal. App. 208, 209, a lock

matter came up and it seems that counsel for defend-

ant based some claim upon it. The court says:

“Because at one time in her testimony the

prosecutrix testified that she locked the door to

her room before she went to bed, and, in another

place in her testimony, she testified that about

midnight the defendant entered her room, the ap-

pellant argues that her story is inherently im-

probable. To state the argument is to answer it.

Perhaps the prosecutrix was mistaken when she

testified that she locked the door, there are many

other possible explanations that would square

with her story.’’

ET SSA

Respondent did not unlock her door about breakfast

time. Breakfast time on the vessel is 8 o’clock, testi-

mony of Hr. Henry, the steward. (R. 270.)

The comparison of respondent’s testimony on pages

20 and 21 of petitioner’s brief, is a misstatement of

the record.

It will be remembered that there was trouble about

interpreters, and upon interrogation before the

trial court (R. 61-67) she denied she had ever testified

as the petitioner’s brief states she did. Respondent

stating (R. 54) speaking of the interpreter:

‘‘But he did not know how to interpret Span-

ish correctly ?”’

(R. 92):

‘‘A, That it took considerable effort to make,

myself understood literally with them when they

spoke to me.”’

Counsel for respondent has never been satisfied with

the transcript of purported testimony taken before

Commissioner Krull. Miss Russell, who took it, testi-

fied (R. 51) that she had everything down that oc-

curred before Commissioner Krull, and the testimony

of Mr. Krull and Mr. Grant shows clearly she had

not. (R. 96-206.)

The following in italics on pages 23 of petitioncr’s

brief is absolutely incorrect.

‘‘A. Yes, I introduced him at that time, and

said that he had taken care of the ring for me.”

Miss Vargas (R. 72) testified squarely that she did

not say that. As immediately below the foregoing, —

upon being asked if she did not so testify before Com-

missioner Krull, she said:

“A, No. He presented himself to: my brother

and I told him he.is the man who has the ring.”’

A further misstatement of the record is shown on

page 26 of petitioner’s. brief, as follows:

“Q. And you gave the hats to Blanco?

A. Yes.”

Ralph Vargas gave them to him in the sense that

he handed them to him, as on pages (R. 119, 120,

121) he testified that when he gave them to Blanco

the charge was $15.00 and Blanco said he hadn’t the

money then but would send it to him.

The card on page 34.of petitioner’s brief is not in

evidence. All respondent knew about it was it came

to the house and she gave it to her brother. Her

counsel sought to use-it to impeach Blanco, but after

visiting. the Shipping:Commissioner’s office: and com-

paring Blanco’s signature on the shipping articles of

the ‘‘Ecuador’’ he concluded the writing was. not

Blanco’s, so dropped !it; but even if Blanco sent it it

would not bind respondent. It was simply marked

for identification. (R. 49.) .

The quotation from Jensen v. Lawrence, 94 Wash.

148, on page 51 of petitioner’s brief, is only half of

the instruction given; the defendant excepted to the

instruction. The: court held» he was: not harmed by

it and decided as follows in that case.

Jensen v. Lawrence, 94 Wash. 148 (syllabus) :

“The evidence in a civil action for an as-

sault and rape is not insufficient to sustain a

verdict from the fact that gees made no out-

ery, where she testified that she resisted and was

overcome by force and that there was intercourse

without her consent.

“Rape, Civil Liability, Evidence, Sufficiency,

In a civil action for rape the failure of the plain-

tiff to make an outcry or complaint within a

reasonable time, may be explained or excused

and it is merely a circumstance which the jury

may consider tending to impeach the plaintiff,

and not a defense as a matter of law.’’

The record in this case shows that respondent did

not have a thing to do with the intercourse between

Blaneo and her brother and sister-in-law, and that

she never spoke to him, and the following statement

on page 36 petitioner’s brief, referring to Blanco:

“But the fact that a Filpino waiter from whom

little can be expected in the way of integrity”

* *

promotes the inquiry why did petitioner employ him

and try to compromise the matter and keep him in its

employment right along. His duties were (R. 256)

Curt Zastrow, the master of the ‘‘Ecuador’’:

**Q. What are Blanco’s duties?

A. Looking out for the comfort of the pas-

sengers and boss the boys; see that they keep

their rooms and respective passengers’ quarters

clean.’’ (R. 261.)

‘*He has got to look out for the comfort of the

passengers. That means to say that he has got

- to see that everything in the staterooms is all

right before the passenger goes in.”’

Henry, steward of the ‘‘Ecuador’’ (R. 209):

‘“‘A. He is to keep the boys working cleaning _

the rooms and runs the dining room; sees that _

the boys give the passengers the service.’ ,

_ Blanco was clearly in a position to attack a de-

fenseless girl, as he knew all about the ship and had

all the boys working overhead as they were in the

habit of doing at that time of the morning. He knew

_ the coast was clear.

A ship manned with unreliable people is unsea-

worthy and Blanco was the company as far as the

passengers were concerned.

He is a married man with four children, and re-

spectable women unquestionably travel on petitioner’s

vessel ‘‘Ecuador’’; just how petitioner could continue

to bring them in contact with him after the knowl-

edge they obtained on March 16, 1928, has not been

explained.

The port steward told Amaral (R. 128):

‘‘You know, Mr. Amaral, these things are

known to me. This is not the first time that

things of this kind happen, and a man gets stuck

on a girl. I am very sorry.”’

And he told Blanco in effect that if he furnished

money out of his wages, he could continue to work

for the company.

If petitioner employs the class of people mentioned

on pages 35, 36 of its brief, what can it expect?

re

I¥ THE OUTRAGE IN THIS CASE WAS NOT RAPE,

WHAT COULD IT HAVE BEEN?

Respondent, a girl of good family, well brought up,

well educated, leaves her home and goes on board of

32

a vessel among total strangers. She does not speak

the language of the vessel. Says “‘I thank you” toa

man at the gangway, takes seasick as soon as she gets

on board; does’ not see that man again for about

38 hours. At 9 p.m. of the next day she goes down to

her room, is seasick all night, had eaten scarcely any-

thing from the time she came on board and must

have been weak and sick. She is assaulted and made

pregnant with child. Of course there had to be sex-

ual intercourse. She testified as to how it happened.

There is no other explanation of it. Can it even be

suspected that she sought that sexual intercourse? The

physical facts of the child’s birth are present, corrob-

orating her. The admissions of the second steward

and the actions of the company corroborate her. There

is nothing in the record against her character; the

unimpeached record shows that that is the only aet

of sexual intercourse that ever took place with her.

Two courts have passed upon the law and the facts,

and the following corroboration appears in the law

of nature. It is uncontradicted that the child was

conceived October 12, 1927.

Estate of McNamara, 181 Cal. 82, 89-90.

‘While the average period of gestation is gen-

erally taken as 280 days.”’

Collier’s New Encyclopaedia, Edition of 1928,

Vol. 4, page 305:

‘“‘GestaTION. In physiology, the act of carry-

ing young in the uteras from the time of concep-

tion to that of parturition, the average time of a

woman’s pregnancy is 9 solar months, or about

280 days, though it may be as few as 7 or as ~

many as 10. * * *”’ :

_ She commenced to have labor pains, which undoubt-

edly are a part of the birth of a child on July 18th,

280 days after October 12, 1927, and the only explana-

tion of the conception is that given by her and the

admissions of Blanco himself which he subsequently

denied making.

In

Wharton & Stille’s Medical Jurisprudence, Vol.

III, page 27,

we find

“If her intercourse has been confined to one

individual, there is no difficulty in drawing a cor-

rect conclusion from the premises. * * *

As a basis for that rule the period of gestation

is taken at 280 days.’’

On page 29 there is a computation of several hun-

dred cases from different doctors, that give an aver-

age of 269.7 days. Then a minimum duration given by

Auvard of 242 days, and a maximum given by Rossie

of 317 days, as follows:

Auvard, minimum 242 days

Rossie, maximum 317 days

Total 559 days

Mean 279.5 days

The child was conceived, and born, its conception

was according to the average, and there is nothing in

the record anywhere that points to anyone as being

its father but Blanco, and his paternity of the child

has never been disputed.

The trial court saw her physique, the frailty of her

. person and concluded from her manner of testifying

34

that a man short and stout, weighing 160 pounds

committed the offense of rape, the learned Circuit

Court of Appeals sustained the decree, so the facts

are established, and this court has held as follows:

Norton v. Larney, 266 U. 8. 511, 518.

“* * * The well-settled rule of this court is

that where two courts have reached the same con-

clusion upon a question of fact it will be accepted

here unless clearly erroneous. * * *”

Mills v. U. S., 164 U. 8. 644.

«“* * * Whether such threats were made or

whether in their absence she resisted to the extent

of her ability at the time and under the circum-

stances was a question for the jury. * * *”

If the case is tried before the court, the question is

one for the trial court.

The following testimony of the prosecution is un-

contradicted. What more could she have done?

(R. 34):

«“* * * because every time he would get up

close to me in the struggle he would kiss me.”’

(R. 69):

“Q. How did you resist?

A. By trying to throw him off.

. Did you hit him?

A. I could not; he held both my hands.”’

(R. 70):

‘““A. TI resisted with all the strengtn I had.

Q. Did you scratch him at all or hit him?

A. No, I eouldn’t do anything; he had both

of my hands and was lying on top of me and I

was helpless.”’

(R. 87):

‘“‘A. Well I moved my body and did every-

thing that was possible to loosen my hands. ‘y

35

Q. He had one of your hands in each of his

hands?

‘‘A. He grabbed my hand, and when I was

finally able to withdraw my hand, then after-

wards he grabbed my hand here (pointing toward

the sacrum) and I managed, then, in my struggle,

I was able to get to the edge of the bed.

Q. Did you strike him in the face, or scratch

him ?

A. I did not have the chance, because my

hands were held.

A. Yes, he did hold my two hands, but not

with his two hands. It was one hand (pointing

with her arm) at first he took her jeft arm and

then took her right arm, and thrust it toward her

shoulder and held it against her body. As he was

very heavy (taking the interpreter’s left hand)

he held it at an angle, in about such a position

(off the interpreter’s breast) ; with one hand thus

he would hold me, and the part of the body he

would hold with his arm.

A. He had both hands most all the time, ex-

cept for one moment he withdrew a hand, but I

don’t know whether it was for the purpose of

lowering his pants or not, but that was the only

wt when both of his hands did not hold my two

ands.”’

(R. 90):

‘‘A. Almost on the edge of the bed. My legs

were up, and then taking her two hands, and

holding them over her thus, beyond the edge of

the bed. Then, again (illustrating) placing her

hands about six inches above her knees, from this

part upwards, that part of the body upwards, and

this part over the edge of the bed.”’

(R. 91):

‘“A. One of his legs budged my legs apart and

got in the center.”’

(R. 71):

“A. I didn’t say anything; I was so com-

pletely exhausted.”’

On (R. 45) respondent testified in effect that the

bedclothing was almost clean, but that she was almost

on the edge of the bed, but that Blanco’s clothing was

stained. And on page 91 that Blanco threw her night-

gown up, and she could not tell whether there was any

blood on the sheets as they were all bundled up, but

that when she put her drawers on she stained them

with blood.

R. v. William Crocker, 17 English Criminal

Appeals, (1922) 46.

Lord Chief Justice Darling:

“The jury had the opportunity of seeing and

hearing the witness, and there are persons—espe-

cially young persons, who somehow are able to

convey the fact that the story they tell is true,

and here, after the learned judge’s warnings, the

jury came to the conclusion that the girl’s story

was true and ought to be acted upon.

The Court considers that it would be a new de-

parture if it allowed this appeal, as it cannot

usurp the functions of the jury.”

(Syllabus) :

“‘On the trial of a sexual offense against a fe-

male her evidence need not necessarily in law be

corroborated.’’

People v. Slaughter, 33 Cal. Appellate 365, 381.

“Tt is true that her testimony should be clear

and convincing, but it is for the jury and the

trial judge to determine whether it fulfills that

requirement.”’

People v. Jones, 76 Cal. App. 144, 148.

37

j “Tt is well settled that one may be convicted

of rape upon the uncorroborated testimony of the

prosecutrix, if the jury believes her story.”’

People v. Mazzurco, 49 Id. 275, 276;

Lindville v. Green, 125 Mo. App. 290;

People v. Valencia, 85 Cal. App. 306.

Where the case is tried before a judge, the rule is

the same.

The City of New York, 54 Fed. 181.

“The demeanor of the witness is a material and

important part of the evidence, which cannot be

sent up with the record; and, because this ts so,

the rule prevails in appeals in admiralty that the

opinion of the trial judge will not be disturbed

upon questions of fact, depending upon the credi-

bility of witnesses who were examined im his

presence, unless there is a decided preponderance

of evidence the other way.’

But in this case respondent is overwhelmingly cor-

roborated by the testimony of witness and the laws of

nature.

VL.

THE LAW OF CRIMINAL AND CIVIL RAPE.

Counsel contends that because there was no outcry

or complaint until the prosecutrix was compelled

to tell someone by reason of her condition, that she is

not entitled to recover, neither of those matters were

ever inflicted as a penalty, and are always subject to

explanation.

It is proper to say at this time that no two persons

male or female will ever act alike in emergencies, and

no rule of conduct can ever be made that will fit tt

human natures, if there was any such hard and fast

rules, it would be the duty of the law to establish

training schools to educate women in what to do when

criminally attacked so that they could all act alike,

and in this case such a school would have been neces-

sary on the ‘‘Ecuador.”’

Criminal rape is an act of sexual intercourse with

a female not the wife of the perpetrator, where she

resists, but her resistance is overcome by force or

violence.

There is nothing anywhere in the definition of rape

that requires her to make an outcry. In the case of

robbery one person may call out and another may be

too terrified to do so, as with all violence to the per-

son, and as the Supreme Court of the State of Cali-

fornia, properly said in

People v. Kuches, 120 Cal. 566, 569.

‘(State v. Cone, 8 Jones 18): One person

would be paralyzed by fear and rendered voice-

less and helpless by circumstances which would

only inspire another with higher courage and

greater strength of will to resist an assault.”

The uniform rule at this time is that outery or no

outery, the question is one for the jury or the trial

court, and if either believe her, her uncorroborated

evidence is sufficient to sustain a verdict of guilty ina

criminal case.

Respondent cites the case of Olsen v. State, ll

Nebraska 276, and quotes:

‘‘Nature had given-her hands and feet with —

which she could kick and strike, teeth to bite, and —

39

a voice to cry out; all these should have been put

in requisition in defense of her chastity.”’

That case was decided in 1881, in the subsequent

civil rape case of Kramer v. Weigand, 91 Neb. 47, 51,

decided in 1912. The same court draws a distinction

between civil and criminal rape, and says:

‘‘When confronted under such circumstances

by a sudden, unexpected assault and seized by a

fear of being discovered, a virtuous woman, be-

fore making an outcry, might trust to her powers

of resistance until it was too late, and even con-

ceal the outrage in the hope of escaping ex-

posure.”’

And also cites People v. Dohring, 59 N. Y. 374, where

the court says:

“Of course, the phrase, ‘the utmost resistance,’

is a relative one; and the resistance may be more

violent and prolonged by one woman than an-

other, or in one act of attending physical circum-

stances than another. In one case a woman may

be surprised at the onset and her mouth stopped

so that she cannot cry out, or her arms pinioned

so that she cannot use them, or her body so

pressed upon that she cannot struggle.’’

The uncontradicted evidence is that respondent’s

arms were held, her body pressed upon and she was

continually being kissed, and that 20 men waiters

were scrubbing the deck of the saloon immediately

above her head, polishing brass and generally clean-

ing up the saloon and that there is always a lot of

noise at that time in the morning, all those things

must be t “:en into consideration, they operated on her

mind, she says they did, and she was necessarily weak

40

from the lack of food and seasickness, in other words

she was not a normal woman.

_ As to complaints, or present discovery, in the case

of

Commonwealth v. Cleary, 172 Mass. 175, 176,

Judge, now Justice Holmes, wrote the following com-

mon sense view of that:

“The rule that in trials for rape the govern-

ment may or must prove that the woman con-

cerned made complaint soon after the commission

of the offense is a perverted survival of the

ancient requirement that she should make hue

and. ery as a preliminary to bringing her appeal.

Tf it means what it has been taken to mean, that

the government can prove fresh complaint as part

of its original case, it cannot be justified by the

principles of evidence which now prevail. In

general, you cannot corroborate the testimony of

a witness by proof that he has said the same

thing before when not under oath.”

No woman wants to tell to the world that she is no,

longer a good girl, particularly strangers, and the law

does not require that she shall tell strangers or anyone

else. As to strangers, in the following case cited by

petitioner: a

People v. O’Sullivan, 104 N. Y. 481.

We find on pages 489-490:

‘‘But there may be circumstances which will ex-

euse delay as when the prosecutrix * * .

among strangers.”’

Miss Vargas was among strangers, and she natu-

rally thought (R. 81):

41

‘A, I did not compiain to any of them in the

first place, because they did not speak Spanish,

and, in the second place, because they might con-

sider me a woman of bad repute or conduct.”’

(R. 72):

“T decided to suffer my disgrace alone,

without telling anybody.”’

Those are the answers of a modest woman.

State v. Peters, 8 Jones N. Car. 19, 22.

‘‘But it is nowhere held that this female in-

stinet is so strong and unerring as to have been

made the foundation of a rule of law, as dis-

tinguished from a rule in respect to evidence and

the weight to which it is entitled, which is a

matter for the jury.”’

Lindville v. Green, 125 Mo. App. 290:

‘‘but we know of no case where the testimony of

the prosecuting witness has been rejected solely

on this ground, * * .* it must be remembered

that plaintiff had no mother nor any other woman

sufficiently close in her confidence and friendship

in whom to confide.’’ (306.)

‘‘Winding as we do, that her conduct was not

necessarily inconsistent with the natural im-

pulses of feminine modesty and virtue.”’

Kramer v. Weigand, 91 Neb. 50.

‘“‘In her testimony she explained that she did

not think to make an outcry, and that she was

ashamed to tell what had taken place.” _

Respondent is not the only woman that did not like

‘to tell people of her trouble.

State v. Miller, 191 Mo. 612.

“They seem to indicate that an outcry is a

necessary essential part of the proof of this of-

42

il

fense, whereas the failure of an outcry is simply

a fact tending to discredit the good faith of the

charge, a circumstance only of more or less

weight, depending upon the surrounding circum-

stances. A failure to make it raises no presump-

tion of law that the prosecutrix has sworn falsely;

it is a circumstance to be weighed by the jury.

(State v. Machis, 240 Mo. 650, 1. e., 668, 662, and

so also the delay in making the complaint.”’

People v. Horn, 25 Cal. App. 583.

**(Syllabus) In a prosecution for rape it was

proper for the court to reject an instruction of-

fered by the defendant, which, if given, would

have impressed upon the jury the importance of

the absence of proof that the prosecutrix made

complaint of the assault immediately after it oc-

curred, as such an instruction would tend to

create the impression that a conviction of the

crime of rape could not legally be justified where

there was not proof of immediate discovery of

some third party by the prosecutrix of the fact

of the assault upon her person, which is not re-

quired by the law.’’

(588) :

“The fact that the prosecutrix in a case of rape

might have made complaint of the assault to a

third person immediately after it took place may

be shown for the purpose of corroboration only.”

People v. Martinez, 59 Cal. App. 121.

‘*As we have stated, the fact of defendant’s

guilt did not depend upon corroboration of her.

testimony, and fact that she a female under six-

teen years of age, made no outcry but concealed

from others the knowledge of the act was not

material to the inquiry, provided, the jury upon

sufficient evidence was satisfied that he was guilty

of the act charged.”’

43

Garvik v. The Burlington Cedar Rapids Ry.

etc., 131 Iowa, 415, 418.

‘‘While the ordinary female who has been

ravished will make the fact known to her family

or friends at the very earliest possible moment,

complaint is not always made and we have re-

peatedly held that conviction in criminal cases

panes ad rape is proper though no complaint is

made.

People v. Norrington, 55 Cal. App. 103, 108,

109.

‘Though the absence of stich outcries may

have a tendency to refute the hypothesis of guilt,

it is by no means conclusive. While, from the

nature of the crime, it may be expected in such

cases that the utmost reluctance would be mani-

fested, and the utmost resistance made which the

circumstances of the case will allow, still, to hold,

as a matter of law, that such manifestations and

resistance are essential to the existence of the

crime, so that it could not be committed if they

were wanting, would be going further than any

well considered case in criminal law has hither-

to gone. (State v. Pilegge, 61 Wash. 264.)’’

Baccio v. The People, 41 N. Y. 265.

“that it is so natural as to be almost inevitable,

that a female upon whom the crime has been com-

mitted will make immediate complaint thereof

to her mother, or other confidential friend.”’

Miss Vargas had no mother, and no friend on

board, and Blanco had told her that if she told any-

one they would not pay any attention to her, she had

a right to think on that that the whole crew were as

bad as he was, as to the passengers, she testified (R.

81):

. 44

c# * * because they might consider me a woman

of ill repute and bad conduct.

(R. 82):

A. I did not have any confidence in her, she

was not any friend, other than an acquaintance, a

mere acquaintance on board.”

Counsel admit the Fillipino waiters were bad.

VIL.

THE LAW OF CIVIL RAPE.

Jensen v. Lawrence, 94 Wash., supra;

6 American Law Reports, Annotated, 1011

(syllabus).

‘“Where an assault is accomplished by lascivious

conduct by her assailant, and he improperly

handles the wronged female, or indulges in undue

or indecent familiarity with her person, it con-

stitutes at least an indecent assault, and if the

intention is to secure carnal knowledge of the

female, it will constitute assault with intent to

commit rape, and where actually accomplished by

ravishment; it will constitute rape, providing the

a does not consent to the acts complained

‘0 ds

“This doctrine finds support in the following

cases which involve an assault with one of the

characters complained of.’

The footnote contains a list of authorities from a

great many states of the Union.

Totten v. Totten, 172 Mich. 565, 575:

“The court in its charge clearly and correctly

defined assault and battery and rape, then stated

that in this civil ease: ‘The mere fact that she

did not resist to the utmost would not excuse the —

45

defendant from his unlawful acts, if you find he

had intercourse with her against her consent.’’

The charge was held correct; authorities cited.

In the case of

People v. Bonzani, 24 Cal. App. 549,

the court says on page 558, when discussing the crime

of criminal rape:

“‘Men often become demons on such occasions

or while attempting an outrage by force upon the

opposite sex.”’

Of course, any one is entitled to damages for any

kind of an assault the aggravated character thereof

simply increasing the amount of the recovery.

33 Cyc. 1521:

“‘But conduct of plaintiff short of consent is

no justification, and if force was used to over-

come the resistance of plaintiff and she finally

consented to intercourse, although not in conse-

quence of the violence, defendant is still liable in

damages for the assault.’’

Palmer v. Baum, 123 Ill. App. 584.

In that case the parties had been drinking together,

and the court stated the law to be as follows, on page

587 :

‘‘The penetration of the person of the woman

without her consent, although no considerable

force is shown to have been exercised, it amounted

in law to an assault; such an assault being clearly

unlawful, foree may be implied. The mere fact

that the woman may have permitted appellant to,

and did herself, indulge in such lascivious conduct

is to almost amount to an invitation to him to do

as he did, did not in law authorize or license him

to penetrate her person without her knowledge or

consent.”’

46

Civil rape is necessarily an aggravated assault and

battery, and the courts uniformly hold that lack of

consent to penetration is all that is necessary to sus-

tain a conviction.

VIII.

PETITIONER’S AUTHORITIES.

They are from nine states in the Union, all of con-

siderable age, and the court rendering the decisions

has either modified the language or said something

else in about all of them.

In this case there is no conflict of evidence now, and

respondent is overwhelmingly corroborated. There are

some special facts in each case cited by petitioner, as

follows:

People v. Benson, 6 Cal. 221, 223.

The Supreme Court of California distinguishes that

case in People v. Moore, 155 Cal. 237, saying, refer-

ring to People v. Benson, on page 240:

“In several subsequent cases the language of

that part of the opinion in the Benson case in

which the weakness and inconsistency of the evi-

dence is commented upon has been adopted as a

ground of decision. But they were cases in which.

the prosecuting witness was uncorroborated as to

the assault, and where circumstances inconsistent

with her testimony were clearly proved. * * *”

People v. Benson is also commented upon by the

District Court of Appeal in

People v. Norrington, 55 Cal. App. 103, 109,

where the court says that it and other cases were re- _

viewed by the Supreme Court in People v. Moore,

and

“They have no application where, as here, all

the outward facts are clearly established.’’

The conviction was sustained in People v. Dohring,

59 N. Y. S. 374, and we have already quoted from that

decision.

We have also heretofore quoted from

People v. O’Sullivan, 104 N. Y. 481.

In that case the prosecutrix claimed she had been

assaulted by a Catholic priest, in whose house she was

housekeeper, she remained in the house, went to con-

fessional, and made no complaint for eleven months.

In Lind v. Closs, 88 Cal. 6, the resistance, if any,

was equivocal, and the defendant admitted a great

deal of what the prosecutrix testified to, claiming con-

sent; she, however, told so many conflicting and im-

probable stories that the verdict was set aside.

See

Kramer v. Weigand, supra.

In Oleson v. State, 11 Neb. 276, the case was re-

versed for errors in admission of testimony; whatever

else appears was therefore dictum.

Connors v. State, 47 Wis. 523, was reversed for

errors in instructions, and there was strong evidence

in favor of defendant.

Whittaker v. State, 50 Wis. 518, was reversed for

improper instructions.

One of those cases was decided in 1880, and one

prior thereto. In the subsequent case of

McLain v. State, 159 Wis. 204,

48

decided in 1914, which is also a later case than Brown

v. State, 125 Wis., largely relied upon in petitioner’s

brief, the same court says:

‘Tt must be remembered that the term ‘utmost

resistance’ is a relative rather than a positive

term. What would be ‘utmost resistance’ on the

part of a weak, nervous person with a tempera-

mental and easily frightened disposition, might

be the veriest sham on the part of a robust person

in cz health whose nerves and courage are nor-

ma Rd

Counsel for petitioner seems to misunderstand.

State v. Cowing, 99 Minn. 123 (Syllabus) :

“In a prosecution for rape, resistance of the

female is of necessity an issue only as it is in-

voked in the proof of her want of consent, which

is always require.. To show unwillingness her

resistance must be proportionate to the occasion

under the circumstances and at the time of the

act complained of; in many cases there must be

resistance to her utmost, or at least to the extent

of her ability. In peculiar cases a less degree may

be sufficient. In exceptional cases, rape may be

made out without any proof of resistance.”’

Same court, Wiltska v. Moudray, 83 Minn. 73, 81:

“The defendants further request, after point-

ing out in a proper manner the evidentiary force

of silence by plaintiff, and her failure to denounce

the perpetrator of the assault afterwards, de-

strovs the value of such suggestions by the quali-

fying — that such failure to make an outcry,

or to denounce her assailant, creates a presump-

tion against her. The instruction in that regard

went too far.”’

In State v. Barnes, 140 Minn. 519, the court held

that the whole question was one for the trial court or _

jury.

Champagne v. Hamey, 189 Mo. 709, presents a sin-

gular state of facts. Hamey was convicted of rape, in

a criminal case, the Appellate Court sustained the

conviction, but reversed a judgment for damages —

presumably upon the same evidence. But in that case

the families lived within 90 feet of one another, and

the girl made no complaint of force for about a year

and until after a child was born.

State v. Kinney, 44 Conn. 153.

Is contrary to all the decisions, as it holds that the

details of an extrajudicial statement can be given in

evidence.

The case was decided in 1876, and the court says

(p. 156):

“‘We are aware that the decision in this case

goes farther than the courts have gone in Eng-

land and in most of the states in this country.”’

In 1908 the same court says in State v. Sebastian,

81 Conn. 1, 6:

“* * * and proof has been admitted of com-

plaints made many months after the time when,

as the complainant declared, the rape took place.”’

On the quotation from Blackstone, he, Blackstone

(Cooley’s Blackstone, 1374), takes up the original rule

established many years before. Parliament fixed forty

days as the time in which a complaint could be made,

then abolished it and fixed no time at all, as the writer

adds ‘‘for the reason that time does not run against

the king.’’ At that time England probably had about

two or three million people, was largely rural, every-

one knew everyone else in the vicinity, and the previ-

ous reputation of a girl was well known, so that that

alone was at hand to know whether the complaint wag

well founded or not, a complainant was not among

strangers, not in a new environment, and the condi-

tions were entirely different to that of a young person

going on board of a modern steamship.

Blackstone divides women up into two classes, writ-

ing of those of good and those of bad fame, and what

appears on page 43 of petitioner’s brief relates to

women of bad fame, and even then he writes that it

is but a question of credibility, as follows:

“These and the like circumstances carry a

strong but not conclusive presumption that her

testimony is false or feigned.”’

That language shows that the credibility of the

prosecutrix is a question for the trial tribunal.

In Mills v. United States, this court refused to pass

upon the facts, except comment on the improbability

of the story of the complaining witness. The court

cites Sec. 1122 of Bishop on Crimmmal Law. In the

last, 9th ed., published in 1923, we find the following

in that section, speaking of the authorities:

‘“‘The stronger ones just quoted might not be

very objectionable in a barbarous age, but in our

age, to compel a frail woman, or girl of fourteen,

to abandon her reason, and measure all her

strength with a robust man, knowing that the

effect will be to make her present deplorable con-

dition the more wretched, yet, not to preserve her

virtue, on pain of being otherwise deemed a pros-

titute instead of the victim of an outrage, is ask-

ing too much of virtue and giving too much to

vice. The text of the law, we have seen, and, it

is believed, the better judicial doctrine requires

only that the case shall be one in which the wo

man did not consent. Her resistance, however,

must not be a mere pretense, but in good faith.

51

IX.

THE COURT ERRED IN NOT AWARDING A LARGER

f SUM AS DAMAGES.

The award was $10,000.00. That amount put out at

bank interest would produce but $425.00 per annum.

Miss Vargas has to pay her lawyer, so she will not net

that amount. It is costing her $25.00 per month for

care of her child brought into the world against

will, and $6.00 for milk, a total of $31.00 per

month, or $372.00 per year, without clothes or other

necessaries.

In the case of

Campbell v. Pullman Palace Car Co., 42 %'ed.

484,

heretofore cited herein, the court charged the jury,

on the question of damages, that she was entitled to

recover for detriment to her health and strength by

the wrong done her, including pain and suffering,

mental and physical. An award of $11,000.00 was

made and the case was afterwards affirmed by this

court. In that case the facts showed no sexual inter-

course, no force, and money was worth much more

than it is now.

McGhee v. McCarley, 103 Fed. 55.

In the following case money was of much greater

purchasing power at that time and the jury gave an

award of $25,000.00, and the facts in that case were

not nearly as bad as they are in this.

Marshall v. Taylor, 98 Cal. 55.

The Supreme Court says on that subject on pages

62, 63:

““We are not prepared to say that the damages

are excessive, Courts are not dis to make

smooth the ways of the seducer. At common law

in these cases, verdicts of juries were seldom held

to be excessive, and this, too, where the parent

recovered damages upon the fiction of loss of

service. With much greater reason should we not

disturb the amount of a verdict where the party

directly injured is the party plaintiff. Through

the seducer’s arts a young girl has been outlawed

from society; she has been cast upon the world,

robbed of her innocence; and injury has been

done which nothing can repair; a loss has been

suffered which nothing can alleviate.’’

In that case a child was born, but the evidence was

sharply conflicting.

Corporations are liable in exemplary damages in

cases like this, and exemplary damages are the rule in

such eases.

See 33 Cyc. 1521.

The ability of defendant to pay is shown by the

fact that it is capitalized for $1,500,000.00.

We do not think appellant is entitled to any sym-

pathy in this case. Its Port Steward was present at

| the hearing before Commissioner Krull, and it was

' there determined that Miss Vargas was entitled to

redress. The whole actions of appellant since have

been a ratification of what he did, but the young lady,

who was entitled to safe carriage, as her relatives paid

for it, has never received the coldest consideration

from appellant.

Respectable women travel on the ocean. The fol-

lowing shows that appellant does not seem to think

that is of much consequence (R. 126), which is a part

of the conversation between Mr. Schenick, appellant’s

Port Steward, Amaral, and Mr. and Miss Vargas:

“‘He said, addressing Joe, ‘You know that you

can’t work for this company unless you take good

care of this girl and the child that is coming that

is yours.’ ””

Blanco was still kept in appellant’s employ.

We respectfully submit, that respondent’s case is

overwhelmingly established, that the claims about out-

cries and complaints are but matters that no longer

are considered of any importance, except when the

testimony of the prosecutrix stands alone, and is weak,

and then only for corroboration, and that the ecor-

roboration of respondent in this case is so overwhelm-

ing that they are unimportant.

The defense in the case seems to be as follows:

1. That if the crime of rape is committed and the

woman attacked makes no outery or subsequent com-

plaint the crime of rape is not committed even though

she is overwhelmingly corroborated.

2. That Commissioner Krull did not think the

crime was rape. What difference does that make?

Two courts charged with passing all of the facts have

held that it was, and the testimony before him shows

he made a mistake.

3. The innuendo that Miss Vargas unlocked the

door of her stateroom to allow Blanco to enter. The

uncontradicted proof herein is that they never talked

together.

4. That Miss Villavicencio had been assigned to

stateroom 31 while the vessel was in La Libertad.

54

The testimony shows that she was not assigned until

the evening after the attack. But if she had been

assigned, this attack could have been made while she

was absent from the room.

As to the ring, Miss Vargas left money with the

purser, and had it returned before she left the vessel,

If she had wished safekeeping for the ring she would

have given that to the purser also, and if she had

given it to Blanco she would have got it back again

when she left the vessel, as she did her money, and

not made another trip down there with her brother

and sister-in-law to get it.

We respectfully submit that her case shows an

atrocious assault, is overwhelmingly established and

that she is entitled to larger damages.

Dated, San Francisco,

April 7, 1930.

Respectfully submitted,

H. W. Horton,

Attorney for Respondent.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.