Amicus Curiae Brief — St. L. & O'Fallon R. Co. v. United States

Supreme Court brief1929

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

cen me s&s» &

Nos, 131, 132.

THE ST. LOUIS & O’FALLON RAILWAY COMPANY,

| and MANUFACTURERS’ RY. CO.,

Appellants,

va.

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, and

THE INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION,

Appellees.

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, and

THE INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION,

Appellants,

va,

THE ST LOUIS & O’FALLON RAILWAY |

COMPANY, and MANUFACTURERS’ RY. CO.,

Appellees.

SUBJECT INDEX.

PAGE

NE he ee em 8 RD oe st eT oe 1

Summary of Argument ......... EN AL AALS ee 1. 2

RISE CEO ie ee Ee, Cee 14

Panr ]

THE INSRPARABLE PROBLEM OF KATE REGULATION 4ND VALUE

REGULATION,

Point #

The valuation issue should not be isolated from the

issue of rate regulation... Li, peg! 14

All values are relative and cannot be stated with

out answering the questions:

Waeeey es WR Pr ei 15

ee COO EET oie ee rao ekek 15

Value under what conditions? ..... —

There is no one ‘‘true value" possessed Dh any

thing ped oa eS as ;

The value ef puble utility property is determined

bey the obligation to serve at reasonable rates. 1Y

The valuation of public utility property is an exer.

cise of the legislative power of rate regulation ms 0]

If judraal acthon gave utility properties a fixed

value by compelling the use of a judicial for

mula of valuation, the legislative power of

rate regulation would be destroved......... 23

Point 4

A careful analveis of the legal and economic con-

cepts of “property and ‘‘value’’ will clarify

the problem.

ii

PAGE

(a) **Property’’ is the dominion over

things possessed--a bundle of rights

—Wwhich is conferred by law........ a4

The source of property rights is the law-making

DEE “us cece cshbahk thes bebavenvsN cake wesee's ~b

(b) The value of property is the power to

command a price, which depends upon

the property rights conferred upon

an owner by law... caukns Wieeke

ie) The property of a publie utility owner

is not an absolute dominion, but one

qualified by public service obligations

(ad) The value of public utility property

is limited by the owner's limited

power to command a price ee

Point 5.

Therefore, the legisiative power of rate-revulation

must include the power of value regulation. .

An interpretation of Smyth vs. Ames

The ‘depreciated dollar’’ claim

Point 6.

The Supreme Court has consistently maintained:

(a) That the rate making power is legis

lative

ib) That there is no formula for finding

the value of a public utulity property

Paar I.

THE UNDERLUING INSD BR IN & VALUATION CASR.

Point 7.

The underlying iseue is) What is a fair price for

the public service rendered! a5

The ethical standards of regulation must be con.

sidered

Is the highest possible proe a fair proce!

SNP RRA ONLI PIE NT IE IE II APNE ND

iii

PAGE

The carriers are seeking to charge ‘‘ what the traffic

PS obs 6 tas ec Rhea tee 57

The cost of the service is a measure of the fair

price .. io nu ene ae les heh eRe bee En os . 59

legislative Power to Determine Public Poliey.... 68

Point &.

The question for judicial review is: Has a monop-

oly price or a confiscatory price been estab.

lished? pada’ are ee ss eae a

Definitions of a monopoly price and a confiscatory

price ..... Wats baa Wea 5.0 o's weds 65

A monopoly price ~ seites 68

A confiscatory price Tr T |< vene eden 69

A fair competitive price |. eo oe cree

Pant IIT,

THE LEGISLATIVE STANDARDS FORK RATE REGULATION AND VALUE

REGULATION,

Point 9.

Congress has authorized and directed the Inter.

state Commerce Commission to regulate rates

and values ey be ea

~)

to

Point 10.

The legislative power has provided no formula for

establishing reasonable rates or reasonable

Values, but required the Commission to exer-

cise a reasonable judgment based on adequate

information peeeenVessbecbavsce we

Pant IV

THE DRCISIVE ISSUE IN THE PRESENT CASE.

Point 11.

The reasonable judgment exercised by the Com.

mission has been based on the princi le of

fair competitive prices for services rendered. 8&1

iv

Structural elements of value...............-

ee oR bo rene ae 2

The judgment of the Commission may be tested by

considering :

(a) Whether traffic continues to move in

reasonable volume; and investments

continue to flow at reasonable rates

of reterm ....... ee Pe ae aS

ib) Whether the owners would have un

dertaken to furnish the service volun

tarily for the price which has been

fixed = 6s bee 4]

Point 12.

The Supreme Court does not sit as a board of re

Vision to substitute its judgement for that of

the Commission “4

Point 13.

The carriers are claiming that a property value

exists unaffected bey their obligation to serve

at a fair price oH

Point 14.

The carriers are contending that their property

has a ‘‘true value’? which must be determined

by giving dom nant consideration te a theo

retical cost of reproduction at pre sent prices

97

Point 15.

No property has any “true value’’; and ‘‘eosts”’

only furnish evidence of a fair price for the

service rendered

Reproduction costs are evidence of the highest pos

sible prices—monopoly prices 1

has

Point 16.

By claiming an absolute Value the carters are ask

ing the court to fix property values by formula

and thereby to fix rates +A 107

eos RENE ILE LOIS IPE LTE AGING AIOE? —

—

Point 17. PAGE

The carriers are asking the court to establish a fiat

value, which is a monopoly value, for public

utility property ..........6. cee e ee eee eee 107

Point 18.

The contentions of the carriers are based on false

concepts of ‘value’? and ‘property’, repudi-

ated by authoritative economists and jurists... 107

A comment upon MeArdle vs. Indianapolis Water

Company Cas bAcls abe k geen senaes .. Le

Point 19.

The carriers have not been deprived of any prop-

erty right to charge a fair price for services

rendered, or of any property value based on

such a property right .* Perey

An ‘earnest conflict of serious opinion” concern.

ing the wisdom of legislative action does not

bring a question of legislative poliey within

the scope of judicial inquiry ineeea een ie 115

The administrative powers of the Commission... 128

127

Appendix A iy ; Lsctck Vibe ees

Illustrative Instances in which Legislatures have

Diminished the Bundle of Rights called

“Property by Laws whieh have been Upheld

in the Courts

Appendix B - TT or ... 162

Limitations Upon Carrier Property Rights Spe-

cifically Imposed by the Interstate Commerce

Act.

Appendix C . *y- 164

Sections loa and 19a of the Interstate Commerce

Act.

Co ee oe ee) : —— unc

PES Re

— a rr PADI ERLE

Qi mag Eero ener ree ,

Taste or Cases Crrep.

PAGE

Aiken v. Boston ete. R. R. Co., 51 N. H. 504. .00...... 26

Ames v. Union Pacific Ry. Co., 64 Fed. 164........... 100

Bank of Columbia v. Okely, 4 Wheat. (UL S.) 235. ..31,119

Banton v. Belt Line Railway Co., 268 U.S. 418... 22

Bicek v. Mirah, 256 U. BS. 135..............:. .. .25, 26, 32

Bluetield Water Works ete. Co, v. Pub. Serv. Comm.,

262 U. S. 679.... ree Be Bo

Board of Commissioners v. res, 232 Pac. 834... 27

Boston Chamber of Commerce vo Boston, 217 UL S188 15

Boyd v. U.S, 116 US. 616... Se 1, PA Ae 115

Braceville Coal Co. v. a ge 26

Brush Flee. Co. v. ce «3k & See 9}

Calder v. Bull, 3 Dall, S.) 386 are Gab Mh eas 27

California v. Central I’. “4 ee; £ & eae ae

Cedar ee Gas Light Co. «. Cedar — 223 U.

O55 . a te Ce ee be wa hve 0. 9

Chines. ete., R. R vy. Ander rson, 22 it & sare as

Chicago, ete, Ro Rov. Transberger, 258 v 8. 67 3M

Chicago, Burlington & Quiney RR. . MeGuire,

ong U.S. 349. 63,110,111

,~R&Q. R. R. Co. v. een 218 &. eee

C.C.& St. L. Ry. Co. v. Backus, 154 U.S. 439. 16,34

Chicago, Milwaukee & St. P. Ry. Co. v. Minnesota, 154

” §. 418 i 5 RO

Cohens v. Virginia, 6 Wheat. (U.S) 264 113

Commonwealth vo Alger, 7 Cush (Mase) 53 JS

Cotting v. Kansas City Stock Yards Co., ISS ULS. 79 67

Crattwell v. Lwe, 17 Ves. Jr. 335 29

Darnell vo Fadwards, 244 U.S. 561 a

Darton Goose Creek RR Ca vi US 263 U.S. 456. .

1, 73. 74. ‘ h, “6. so. ma iz

Des Moines Ges Co. vy. City of Des Moines, 238 U.

A a. 105

Eaton v B.C. & Me RR, aT N. H. 306.. 25

_—

vii

PAGE

Esselstyn v. Holmes, 42 Mont. 507................... 30

Fletcher Co. v. Int. Assn. of Mach., 55 Atl. 1077...... 30

Ue D, POMNNE, Tes Ws BEDS cass bocca eV beens vee a's 29

Georgia Ry. and Power Co. v. R. R, Commission, 262

Ee oS ace ee ee 50, 51

Harper v. Stanbrough, 2 La. Ann. 377................ 29

Hitehman Coal Co. v. Mitehell, 245 U.S, 229. i ae

Hudson County Water Co. v. MeCarter, 209 U. Ss. 349. 71

Illinois Cent. R. R. Co. v. Commissioners, 161 Tl 247... 26

Illinois Central R. R. Co. v. 1. C. C., 206 U.S. 441.2... 95

International Harvester Co. v. Kentucky, 234 U. S.

SE, 40s datas i oan anbs-+cdan dened sdonue rite

International News Service v. Assoc. Press, 248 U.

BN Gc chink kaie yah ca neice ied tuk che ees oka ¢1.98

Inte rstate C ommerce indiana v. 1. C. R. R. Co., 215

EE IR nah A Se AB Ne a ge RE aye 63

Interstate Commerce Commission v. Union Pacifie R.

ee A ee

Jersey City Printing Co. v. Cassidy, 683 N. J. Eq. 759... 30

Kawananakoa v. Polybank, 205 U.S. 349........... 98, 30

la Belle Iron Works v. U.S... 256 U.S. 377... .... . 120

Lineoln Gas & Flec. Co. v. Lincoln, 250 U.S. 256... |... 91

L. & N. R. R. Co, v. Central Stockyards Co., 212 U.S.

132 FEU Eb de4de Coin eta t ORAK Cia Dae e kee s 32

Louisville v. ¢ eal rland T. & T. Co., 225 U.S. 430... 91

Louisville & Nashville R. R. Co. v. Garrett, 231 U.S.

Sar a ee ioe Clee pe ee Ue ea 49

Low v. Rees Printing Co., 41 Ne = a Se 26

McArdle v. Indianapolis Water Co., 272 U.S. 400. .112.114

McCulloch v. Maryland, 4 Wheat. (U. S.) 316........ 63

McCullom v. Smith, 19 Tenn. 372... hiv, eae ”

Minnesota Rate Cases, 230 U.S. 392...0.....0......

Setlonh decal 15, 16, 36, 49, 50, 51, 65, 84, 94, 105

Munescte & St. L. Ry. Co. v. Minneapolis, 186 U.S.

SE Gia Saas i hada ee i hes eee .100,117

hcaaesl ex rel, Southwestern Bell Tel. . v. Public

ee SO TE Wa ls 8 Sacks c2sceeventetecss 53

Ste Soth te OE

viii

PAGE

Missouri Pacifie Ry. Co. v. Humes, 115 U.S. 512...... 38

Monongahela Nav. Co. v. U.S., 148 US. 312... .. .16,34

Munn v. Hiinois, 4 UL S. 118 aoe o6 lee

Ohio Valley Water Company v. Ben Avon Borough,

253 U. S. 287 seeeeElane ca cee ee 2)

Omnia Commercial Co. v. United States, 261 US. 502. 31

Pacific Gas & Flee. Co. v. City and County of San Fran

eciseo, JOS US, 408 oi ae fy)

Pacifie Gas & Elec. Co. v. Police Court, 251 U.S. 22 ts

Peik v. C.& NW. Rv. 94 «UL S. 164 116

People v. City of Chicago, 321 1 466 63

Prentis v. Atlantic Coast Line Co., 211 U. 8. 210 112

Pullen vo Commissioners, 65 N.C. 361 41

Railroad Commission Cases, 116 Uo S. 207 116

Rev v. Lwon, 2 T R788 a“

Roberson v. Rochester Folding Box Co. 171 N YO538) 0

San Diego Land and Town Co v. Jasper, 989 US 439 100

San Diego Land and Town Co. v National City, 174

U. 8. 7% 31,41, 1%

Smyth vo Ames, 199 TS. 466

1%, 8, 40, 41, 42. 43, 48, 51, 99, 117, 118, 119

Sperry & Hutehinson Co. vo Rhodes, 220 oS wr a

Springfield ete Co. vy. Allen, 40.N. Yo osu m

St Louis v Hill, 116 Mo 427 *

Standard O}F Co wv Southern Pacific Co, 268 US

146 th, 0, 113

Stanisians County vo San Joaquin, ete, Co, W2ULS8

ma) | 1m)

State Utilities Commission vo Springfield Gas Co, 291

It 20 wh

Tavior v. Beckham, 178 U.S 548, 580 123

Terminal RoR. Awan. s Inited States, 226 US 17 wt

Terns and Pacifie RO Ko Cov Interstate Commerce

Commission, 162 0S. 197 / a

Thompson v Androscoggin Improvement Co, 4N A

Transcontinental vo Emmerson, 298 I!) 34 *

& ODA PLR ELLIE EPP LE

—

ix

PAGE

United States v. Steffens, 100 U.S. 82............... 2k

United States v. Terminal R. R. Assoe., 224 US. 383... 38

Van Horn v. Dorrence, 2 Dall, (UL S.) 304.......... 27

astern meee Came. Beeb. ©. OLB, nics cc cece nic ewes 57, 88

Willeox v. Consolidated Gas Co., 212 UL S.19.0...... 53,91

Wynehamer v, People, 13 N. Y. 378................ 25, 26

Taste oy Srarures Crrep,

Interstate Commerce Act, See, 15 (1)..00...... ee |

Interstate Commerce Act, Sec. ba (2). . 9.47. 48, 72,77, 96

Interstate Commerce Act, See. 15a (4)... . . » «Dp bay OH

Interstate Conumerce Act, See. lou (6) ah Ee 9

Printed in Appendix C

Interstate Commerce Act, Sev. 19a » + edd ta

Printed in Appendix C.

Trxrnooks anp Excycroremias Crrep.

23 Amer.-Fug. Enc. of Law, p. 261................-- 2

2 Austin, ‘‘Lectures on Jurisprudence’’, S17, Sees.

1051.6 Sn Lene “jie 5 alah ,25, 28

Bauer, American Economie Review, Vol. 14, No. 2, p.

262 eee

Bentham, Theory of Laewistation’’, Ch. Vill }'. eae. Js

1 Blackstone, Commentaries, 138 Rea . > sae ae

Bonbright, ‘*The Problem of Judicial Valuation’, Co

lumbia Law Review (Mav, 1927) 17,18

Bonbright, ‘The Eeonomie Merits of Original Cost and

Reproduction Cost’’, Harvard Law Review, March,

1928, 58, G22 70

Cooley, ‘Constitutional Limitations ’', 7th Ed. p. 511.28, 31

Ely, **Keonomies'’, Book 2, p. 172 a6

**Monopolies and Trusts” 69

Property and Contract "’, poo9 ps)

Franklin, Benjamin‘ Writings’’, Vol. X, (Smyth's

Ed), p. 59 ' iets = tw

x

PAGE

Gray, ‘‘ Nature and Source of Law"’, Sees, 34-53... ... 28

Hale, The ‘Physical Value’? Fallacy in Rate Cases,

30 Yale Law Journal, 710.. cates 10]

Hobbes, ** Leviathan’’, Part 2, Ch. 18, p. 1) a

Hobhouse, ‘* Property, Its Duties and Rights’, (1922) 0 2s

Holland, ‘*Jurisprudence’’, 11th Ed., 51 to 56 >»

Huxley, **Method and Results”, Pp 190.... ps

Jhering, ‘Spirit of the Roman Law’’, See. 60 Os

® Kent’s Commentaries, 340 28

Kirshman, ‘‘The Principle of Competitive Cost) in

Public Utility Valuation’’, 35 Yale Law Journal, 805 56

Laughlin, “The Elements of Politieal Feonomv’’, pp.

; 1}

79-77. . mS |

Locke, ** Treatise on Civil Government’, See. 50 es

Macleod, ‘*Elements of Feonomies’’, Vol. I, pp. 141,

143 . Fy Kn)

Marshall, ‘Principles of FReonomics”’ Rook 4 : Chee

7, See. 6 4.

Mill, ‘* Political Economy'', Vol. HT, p. 3... 37

Pound, ‘An Introduction to the Philosophy of Law’

pp. 4, 224 . Shear

Raleigh, ‘‘Outline of the Law of Property’, po 1 Ra

Ritchie, *‘Natural Rights’’, p. 234 pL

6 Ruling Case Law, 241 %

2 Raoling Case Law, 37 *

Smith, ‘‘Personal Property’, 58 rf

Stimeon, ‘Public Law Making", Ch. 7 as

Taft, Chief Justice, Response to Resolutions on Janu

ary 16, 1922, 250 US) Appendix TI 25, 124

Tanang, Principles of Feonemice’’, Volo 1, p. 115

33, 115

Van Hise, ‘Concentration and Control’, 84, 86 na

| aa Ses Re Oe ot er caer

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Ovrenek Team, A. D. 1928

Nos. 13], 132.

eee

THE ST. LOUIS & O'FALLON RAILWAY COMPANY,

and MANUFACTURERS’ RY. CO.,,

Appellants,

Vs,

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, and

THE INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION,

Appellees.

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, and

THE INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION,

Appellants,

ve.

THE ST. LOUIS & ©’ FALLON RAIL'VAY

COMPANY, and MANUFACTURERS’ RY. CO.,

Appellees.

BRIEF IN BEHALF OF THE NATIONAL CONFER.

ENCE ON VALUATION OF AMERICAN RAIL.

ROADS, AS AMICUS CURIAE.

STATEMENT.

There are two reasons for offering this brief.

1. The principal issue in this case is one of extraordi-

nary public concern.

It ix: How shall radroad property be valued for rate.

making purposes, under the provisions of the Interstate

Commeree Act.

2 The official representatives of the public interest seem

constrained to adopt one theory of the law and to discard

an alternative (but inconsistent) theory, which is supported

Be Py

2

by equally impressive authority aad which would sustain

with equal force the action of the Interstate Commerce

Commission, which is under attack.

It would be unfortunate in this momentous proceeding

to have neo argument whatsoever presented to the court

upon principles which might be held decisive of the main

question here propounded.

Alternative Theories of the Law

It appears to be the position of counsel for the carriers

and for the government that the valuation of private prop

erty as the basis for public regulation i» ultimately a judi-

cia] function; that such property has a value, independent

of legislative action, which will be ascertained correctly if

an administrative commission will follow the valuation

rules laid down in the courts. The respective arguments

follow: that the Interstate Commission has discovered (or

failed to discover) this independent value of the carrier's

property, by following (or failing to follow) the judicial

rules, and that, therefore, its valuation should be sustained

for should be set aside) There is some show of authority

to justify counsel on beth sides in shayang the issues along

the lines indicated.

On the other hand, there is equally good authority for

urging that the valuation of private property as the basis

for public regulation i ultimately a legislative function:

that ‘‘property’’ has ne absolute, inevitable ‘‘value,”’

which exists independent of legislative action. There is

good authorty for urging that the value of property is

determined, not only by the play of economic forces, but

also by the laws which grant, regulate and prohibit that

private dominion over things pronscnmed, which i defined

in the law as ‘property. In the heht of these legal and

econemic prince ples, it becomes evident that a regulatory

commission is not directed to ascertain what the value of

fc WORE elit

3

public utility property ts (a question usually answered by

the stock exchange); but that such a commission has the

duty of determining what the value of the property should

be.

It will be conceded that if the value of property devoted

to pubhe service were an independent fact, to be ascer-

then it might be necessary for the court now to decide

whether such a fact had been correctly ascertained. But

if it be conceded, also, that public regulation of public

acrvice enterprises necessarily Increases and diminishes

the values of properties thus dedicated to public use, then

the court is nef now called upon to decide whether the com-

mission has correctly ascertained an independent fact. On

the contrary, it is the contention of present counsel that

the court is now called upon to decide this question: Did

the Interstate Commerce Commission administer reason-

ably a public policy properly defined by Congress, when

the Commission determined what value showd be given

to the present carrier property in order that the objects of

public regulation might be accomplished?

In behalf of the public interests represented in the Na-

tonal Conference on Valuation, its counsel seeks this op-

portunity to demonstrate:

(a) That the Interstate Commerce Commission might

have placed a lower valuation upon the O'Fallon property

under the present law, or under more explheit legislative

directions, enacted within constitutional limitations;

ih) That, in giving ‘‘due consideration to all the ele-

ments of value recognized by the law of the land for rate-

making purposes,’ the Commission gave such generous

weight to private interests in railroad property (in com-

parison with the weight given to public interests), that

tained as one would find the weight of a bushel of wheat,

4

these private interests have no reasonable ground for com-

plaint, although the rate-paying public might well pro-

test.

It should be evident that the present brief will neither

duplicate nor merely extend the briefs filed for the United

States and for the Interstate Commerce Commission, but

that it will raise additional Issues, deemed worthy of con.

sideration because the arguments here presented are sup-

ported by many opinions of the Supreme Court and by the

writings of legal and economic authorities of the highest

rank.

It is submitted that, when a litigant seeks to have the

legislative power of rate-making transferred to the courts,

it is fitting for the proponents of legislative power to ask

the court to consider primarily, not the wisdom, but the

constitutional validity of the exercise of the judicial power

which is invoked.

The opinions of the statutory three judge court, which

sustain the order of the Commission, are reported in 22 F

(2nd) 980. (RL, 125-140-148.)

gs Orrylanin ah es telN

| RPL EEE AES

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT.

nee

PART I.

THE INSEPARABLE PROBLEM OF RATE REGU.

LATION AND VALUE REGULATION.

1. The valuation issue should not be isolated from the

issue of rate regulation, If a public utility property can-

not be valued in such a manner as to insure reasonable

rates, then the conceded power of rate regulation is de-

stroved, The power to require reasonable rates compre-

hends the power to prevent unreasonable profits. To di-

minish profits, that might be made, is to diminish values,

that might be obtained. Therefore, the process of rate

regulation requires that the owners of a public utility prop-

erty shall be deprived of a part of its potential value.

Argument, p. 14.

“

- Between the maximum property valuation, which

would be the basis for, and the result of the highest feas-

ible rates, and the minimum property valuation which

would be the basis for, and the result of, the lowest feasible

rates, hes the lepisintive field of rate regulation, The val-

ation of a public utility property within these limits, as a

basix for rate making, ix an exercise of the legislative

power of rate regulation within the range of legislative

discretion—and js mof subject to yudicial review.

Argument, p. 20.

6

3. In order to justify judicial invasion of the field of

legislative discretion the carriers are seeking to isolate

the valuation issue from the issue of rate regulation. They

are asking the courts to give utility properties a fixed value

by compelling the use of a judicial formula of valuation,

All property values are the joint product of economic and

political forces. They depend upon mghts conferred and

protected by laws. Tf judicial action establishes a public

utility property value which cannot be changed by legis.

lative action, the legislative power of rate regulation is

destroyed.

Argument, p. 23.

4. A careful analysis of the legal and economic concepts

of ‘property’ and ‘‘ value’ wall clarify the problem.

Argument, p. 24.

ia) “‘Property os the dominion over things pos

sessed——a ‘bundle of rights''——which i» conferred by

law.

Argument, p. 24.

ib) The ‘'value’’ of property is the ‘power to com

mand a price" for things possonsecd, which depends

upon the power whic h the owner can exercise over his

meacesions—that is, upon the ‘property’ which has

wen conferred upon bam by law

Argument, p. 33.

~~ OGRE LOLA LEME PIII ERE NEL ES —

7

,

(c) The *tproperty’’ of a public utility owner is not

an absolute dominion, but one qualified by the public

service obligations which he has assumed. Among

these obligations is the duty to charge only ‘‘ reason-

able rates’’ for the use of the things which he has de-

voted to public service,

Argument, p. 37.

(d) Thus the ‘‘value’’ of his ‘‘property’’ is de-

pendent upon the inescapable fact that his property

(his ‘‘bundle of rights’’ conferred by law) includes

only a limited ** power to command a price’’. He can

only command a price which the legislative power es-

tablishes as ‘‘reasonable’’. The power to establish

‘reasonable rates’? necessarily il he the power to

establish a ‘‘reasonable value’’ for the property used.

Argument, p. 39.

5 Therefore the legislative power of rate regulation

must include the power of value regulation. If a law fixing

a formula for the finding of value were written in the

courts, the result would be the absolute destruction of a

vital, far reaching legislative power, by the substitution of

judicial authority for legislative authority in rate-making.

Argument, p. 39.

Supreme Court has consistently maintained—

that the rate making power is legislative ;

that there is no formula for finding the value

of a public utility property.

Argument, p. 49.

PART II.

THE UNDERLYING ISSUE IN A VALUATION CASE.

7. The underlying issue in a valuation case, as in any

rate-regulation case is; What is a fair price for the public

service rendered?!

Argument, p. 52.

& The sole question to be presented for judicial review

is: Has a ‘‘monopoly price’’ or a ‘‘confiscatory price’’ been

established!

Argument, p. 64.

(a) A ‘monopoly price’’, as here defined, is one

clearly exceeding any price obtainable by sellers under

fair competitive conditions.

Argument, p. 65.

(b) A ‘‘confiscatory price’’, as here defined, is one

clearly leas than any price obtainable by buyers under

fair competitive conditions

Argument, p. 65.

See ee : TIPE ALIEN ATI NN PE AE EE IME —

PART III.

THE LEGISLATIVE STANDARDS FOR RATE REGU-

LATION AND VALUE REGULATION.

9, In its exercise of the legislative power of rate-making

Congress, in the Interstate Commerce Act, has authorized

and directed the Interstate Commerce Commission

Argument, p. 72.

(a) ‘*To determine and prescribe what will be the

just and reasonable’ rates. (See. 15 (1) )

(b) To ‘‘establish or adjust such rates’’ so as to

provide a ‘‘fair return upon the aggregate value’’ of

railway property. (See. 15a (2) )

(c) To enforce a trusteeship imposed on every indi-

vidual railroad in regard to net income exceeding the

‘fair return’? upon the value of its individual prop-

erty. (See. 15a (6) )

(d) To determine the aggregate value through its

individual valuations ‘‘ascertained’’ through ‘‘its in-

vestigation under Section 19a"’, giving ‘‘due considera-

tion to all the elements of value recognized by the law

of the land for rate-making purposes.’’ (Sec. 15a (4).)

fg eR PP ORT IS REE POI ROLY AALS, LE I LY

10

10. The legislative power thus provided no formula for

fixing reasonable rates, but required its administrative

agent to obtain a vast amount of information, to consider it

and to report it, so that the basis for its conclusions might

be known. A mere reading of the Interstate Commerce

Act will demonstrate the impossibility of establishing ‘*rea-

sonable rates’? by any formula or—by the same token—

the impossibility of establishing the ‘‘value”’ of railway

property by any formula, ‘*A reasonable judgment having

its basis in a proper consideration of all relevant facts’’—

is clearly all that ix possible. Such a judgment has been

exercised by the Commission.

Argument, p. 78.

PART IV.

THE DECISIVE ISSUE IN THE PRESENT CASE,

11. This “reasonable jadgment"’ has been based on the

principle that competitive prices should be high enough to

support generously the credit of carriers whose securities

represent prudent investment, se that the existing facilities

may be maintained efficiently and further investments may

he induced-—and not unreasonably higher than the prices

which would have resulted if the public had undertaken to

furnish the service or to compete fairly with private enter.

prise.

Argument, p. 81.

(a) It would seem to be conclusive proof that rates

have been fixed within the range of legislative discre

tion (between a monopoly price and a confiscatory

price) if experience shows that the traffic continues

to move in a reasonable volume and that additional

investments continue to flow into the public service at

reasonable rates of return.

Argument, p. 88.

C- SFOS EL SAME PLM EEL ELD RAL RE ELIE LEI LE OVE ELLE SD ATES. RATER

11

(b) If rates or values established are attacked as

‘‘confiscatory’’, before an adequate experience has

been had to demonstrate their effect, the court is called

upon to decide (upon the record) that the owners of

the property involved would not have undertaken to

furnish this service, and would not now continue to

furnish it, voluntarily, for the price which has been

fixed.

Argument, p. 91.

12. This reasonable judgment has been exercised within

a ‘range of legislative diseretion’’ by a ‘‘tribunal appoint-

ed by law and informed by experience’’, and the Supreme

Court has held that it does not sit ‘tas a board of revision

to substitute our judgment for that of the legislature, or of

the Commission lawfully constituted by it, as to matters

’

within the province of either.’

Argument, p. 94.

13. But, in the present case, the carriers are seeking to

avoid all discussion of a fair price for the service, by claim-

ing that a property value exists independent of, and not to

be affected by, their obligation to serve at a fair price.

Argument, p. 96.

14. The carriers contend that their property has a ‘‘true

value which is the economic equivalent of the property’’,

which value ‘‘must be determined’’ by giving ‘‘dominant

consideration’ to a theoretical cost of reproduction at

“present prices’.

Argument, p. 97.

12

15. No property has any independent, or ‘‘true’’, value

—or any ‘‘economic equivalent’’—which is measured by

reproduction cost or any other cost. Earning power—

not cost—is the measure of value; as the Supreme Court

has always held. Costs only firnish evidence of what would

be a ‘fair price’’ for the service to recompense the seller

for his outlays. Reproduction costs are only evidence of

the highest possible prices—evidence of monopoly prices.

Argument, p. 98.

16. Through the device of claiming that an absolute

value inheres in their possessions, the carriers are in fact

asking the court to establish a formula for fixing the value

of their property; and thereby to establish a formula for

fixing rates; and thereby to take away from the legislative

branch of the government all substance of its constitutional

power to fix rates, in order that only a fair price shall be

charged for public services

Argument, p. 107.

17. The carriers are asking the court (actually but not

candidly) to establish a fiat value for all public utility prop

erties at the amount of their theoretical reproduction cost

to substitute a judicial formula for legislative discre

tion--to transfer the legislative power of rate making from

the legislatures to the courts; and by judicial action to es-

tablish monopoly values for these properties as the basis

for a constitutional night to charge monopoly prices.

Argument, p. 107.

BBO POOR DERE ER NORE ELLIE PI HEY: FANS JE HM REL LINHA TE See

13

18. The contentions of the carriers are based on (1) a

false economic concept of ‘‘value’’, which the court is

asked to adopt against the protests of all authoritative

economists; and (2) a false juristic concept of ‘‘ property’,

which the court is asked to adopt in repudiation of its own

opinions and the concensus of legal commentators,

Argument, p. 107.

1%. It is respectfully submitted that in the present case

the carriers have not been deprived of any property right

to charge a fair price for services rendered, or of any prop-

erty value based on such a property mght; that the rates,

the earning power and the resultant value of the property

of the carriers were established by the Interstate Commerce

Commission, in & conservative exercise of the legislative

power of rate regulation, well within the limits of the range

of legislative discretion; all in conformity with the laws

and the Constitution of the United States.

Argument, p. 114.

14

ARGUMENT .*

PART I

THE INSEPARABLE PROBLEM OF RATE RkAil

LATION AND VALUE REGULATION,

Point I.

The valuation issue should not be :solated from the issue

of rate regulation. If a public utility property cannot

be valued in such a manner as to insure reasonable rates,

then the conceded power of rate regulation is destroyed

The power to require reasonable rates comprehends the

power to prevent unreasonable profits. To diminish

profits, that might be made, 1s to diminish values, that

might be obtained. Therefore, the process of rate regu.

lation requires that the owners of a public utility prop

erty shall be deprived of a part of its potential value

The «ffert tas smal ate thes ‘ al pat sest) tmetie from the prolyl ft

of 1 shhis tatalits rewulatiot at aniv serve ta trbone mre thy

Gcrevel stl Peers Cel : : - «ti banged eitind ¢ . ; .

terrelmitiemia: ger egteie marisa jive WE rrtist pores inde he

huyage fast elefertninit ge tive “Vv mitie ” af tiPesqee rts che ‘ ateal '

retablie tise The use of the wond ‘value’’ seems unfort

fiate etre: Bn of the pteigecte mtiaet that We Te me eking to fhr ;

an cromome fact, when we are in truth seeking fo compro

mise economic claims incapable of a purely mathematical

fixation. the conflicting claims of seller and buyer concern

ng a fair price for a servicer But the word “value ’’ may

*italive it whations threaghout this trief are cure uniets of ber

wiee imdiicated

Coaunes! for the ratiraad in their briefs Im the lower court conetantir

demanded that the ccmpiniesion ehogid be 4 peowted to Gnd the tree va'ee

which le the economic eqeliraient of the property implying (thet the

veoperty hal an ateeiute ‘vaice which eheaul4 not be afoctet br govern

mental regulation af ite earning power Thue the entire ergument is

ebipged 6 an eromemic fallacy that wi!) fot feemt

nee

| eas SIRT ne

15

aid us to arrive at a just basis for rate regulation if we

realize at the outset that all ‘‘values’’ are relative and that

no *Value’’ can ever be stated except after considering and

answering the questions: Value, to whom! Value, for

whatf Value, under what conditions?

Value, to whom”?

It has been Jong settled that in a condemnation case, it

is the value to the owner (of property taken) and not the

value to the purchaser, which must be determined: because

“the question is, What has the owner lost’ Not, What has

the taker gained !"’ Boston Chamber of Commerce v. Bos.

fon, 217 UL S. S80, 195.

But at has been long settled also that in rate regulation

its the value to the purchaser (of services rendered) which

must be detertnined, because the publicis entitled to demand

“that ne more be exaeted from it for use of a publie high

Way than the services rendered by it (the company) are

reasonably worth.’ Smyth v. Ames, 169 US. 466: Minne-

sotn Rate Cases, 280 US. 552

The impossibility of ascertaining a value without an-

swering the question: Value. to whom’? is made clear in

the opinion delivered in Boston Chamber of Commerce v

Boston, supra, where itis held:

“But the Constitution does not require a disregard

at the state of the title It does not require a parce]

of land to be valued as an unencumbered whole. It

merely requires that an owner of property taken should

he pad for what is taken from him. It deals with

petsoms, not with tracts of land" (jy. 195).

Value, for what”

Karning yrower determines “'value’’ for Purposes of con

demwation or taratiom.

In valuing a bridge company’s property ina condemmna

from ense it was held that the earnings of this publie utility

Loe am

16

*“*‘must enter into and largely determine the matter of

value

Monongahela Nav. Co. v. U.S... 148 U.S. 312, 319.

In a railroad farefion cause, it was held that the value of

property results from and varies with the profitableness

of its use; and that ‘tthere is no peeumary value outside of

that which results from such use.’*

CoC Co €& St. L. Ry Ce. v. Backus, UA U.S. 439,

495)

Bat in a rote regulates case, it was held that value was

not—and could not he determined by actual earning power;

because ‘'the value of the use, as measured by return, can-

not be made the ertterion when the retarn itself is in ques

tron

Minnesota Rate Cases, 290 U.S. 352, 461.

Value, under what conditions?

Citations of authority are hard!y newled to demonstrate

that all property values degend upon conditions that affect

earning power Let us assume that the A-B Company has

been earning 2) per cent on an investment of $1,000,000

and that tts servier is then dapleate!d by a competitor whe

cuts prices, thereby reducing the profits of the original

enterprise to 5 per cent The value of the A-B properts

would be affeetedd by the changed conditions Let us for

ther assume that the A.B Company is a public utility. [>

not the value of its property affected by ite pabhe service

obligations? Maw not rates he required that are reason

ably comparable to the charges for which the public could

supply the aame service and make a reasonable return on

ite invewtment®? Must the public actually engaged in com

petition, in order to rexiuce unreasonable rates and to fir

reasonable ‘‘valuves"’ for pubhe utslity properties? Or, is

public regulation intended as a substitute for competi:

_

17

tion and based upon the theory that, when monopoly is

tolerated, or authorized, competitive rates can be estab-

lished by law! Can it be questioned that these conditions,

under which public utility properties actually exist, must

be given ‘‘due consideration’’ as *‘elements of value’’ in

placing a ‘‘value’’ on these properties as a basis for public

regulation!

Just because these questions—and so many of the ‘‘ele-

ments of value’’--are blandly ignored in the arguments of

public utility counsel (and apparently given no considera-

tion In many Judicial opinions), it seems desirable, even if

not necessary, to begin this argument with a restatement

of the principal purpose of public utility regulation, and

with an insistence that the valuation issue should not be

isdlated from the major problem in which it arises.

The distinction, at least, between rate-making value

and market value, even though it is sometimes recog-

mized in judicial opinions, is far from adequately recog-

nized. Yet itus a distinction which underlies the whole

theory of public utility regulation, a theory which is

based on the principle that certain enterprises, called

pubhe utilitues, should not be allowed to charge what-

ever prices they might be able to charge if their power

to coeree customers by means of the bargaining process

were not to be limuted. In view of the fact that the

market values of public service enterprises are simply

a capitalization of the expected carnings that follow

the exercise of the property owner's coercive powers,

they enannot properly be used as the basis of a rate con-

trol which is designed, not alone to observe, but to

limit, these powers. It is the recognition of this fun-

damental difference between valuation ax a measure

and valuation as a modifier of market forces that has

caused many writers on public regulation to put valu-

ation for rate making in a place by itself and to dis-

Unguish between this ‘value’ whieh cannot properly

mean market value. and other judicial values, such as

value for taxation, for damages, or for condemnation

which, it is assumed, do properly mean market value."’

Bonbnght.—"' The Problem of Judicial Valuation.”’

Columbia Law Review, May, 1927.

BR eson cw escens . + SEEN

St ae Is

—

18

The attempt to isolate the valuation of a public utility

property for rate-making purposes from the problem of

rate-regulation fails, not only because it leaves out of con-

sideration a most influential ‘‘element of value,"" but also

because it leaves the value to be determined in an economic

vacuum. The valuator is asked to find the value of the

property, not to its actual owner, but the value to any

owner. No such value exists in fact. The valuator is asked

to determine the value, not for rafe making purposes, but

for aay purpose. No such value exists in fact. The valu

ator is asked to determine the value, not under stated con-

ditions, but under awy combtions. Ne such value exists in

fact.

Economists bave long since agreed Ubat there is no ‘true

Value’’ possessed by anything as an ‘‘abiding intrinsic

worth’’. As expressed by a writer in the Columbia Law

Review, Volume J7, page 624:

** The ‘value’ of a thing ix always its value for the par

ticular purpose, and in the particular conthiet, in hand

at the tume of valuation. Henee there is no necessary

relation between any given Value and cost, for cost was

promoted and met by punt interests which may or may

net carry over inte the present sifuation without

change The only ‘true value’ for the present will be

the one which best resolves conflicting imfterests in terms

of a stable adjustment. So far a» the interests change,

the ‘true value’ selution Likewise reqaires change. On

may recall here the fact that back in the period of fall

ing prices the railroads were accused of urging that

true value for purposes of rate making Was sVvnony

mous with histerteal, rather than with reproduction

cost.”

Realtting pounantly that no coonomist will support the

long, diseteditedd notion that there is such a thing as one

“true value'’, counsel for the carriers have been led to the

assertion, in briefs in the lower court, that ‘‘for the last

three centuries the economic theonmets have been anable to

agree among themneelves upon a theory of value" Hut the

LER ALBA NEIRE SIMI BIE P IT ESR ARDEA

19

primary meaning of pecuniary value, universally accepted

by economists, is the “‘power to command a price,’’ or, in

other words, an ‘‘exchange ratio’’; and counsel for the car-

riers are seeking judicial support of the irrational propo-

sitien that things in themselves have a ‘true value’’, inde-

pendent of the factors determining the owner's **power to

command a price’, or independent of the factors determin.

ing the ratio at which one commodit’ under designated con-

ditiens, will exchange for another.

It is impossible even to discuss a method of fixing a value

in an cconeme vacuum. Therefore, counsel for the ear-

riers, While claiming that they desire to have the court lay

down the rules for finding the one ‘true value’ (whieh is

supposed to exist for anybody, for any purposes, under any

conditions), are in reality seeking to have the court lay

dewn the rules for finding a value which can exist only as

the “‘value’’ of his property fo a monopolist, used by him

as the Imasis for fixing the highest possible prices for buyers

who are compelled to buy! (See Point 15, enfra.)

It may be conceded that if there were no legislative power

of rate-regulation capable of reducing the power of the

pabhie utility owner to command a price, he might be able

to renlive substantially the ‘value’? whieh is now claimed

as the one ‘true value’. The reason hy he cannot realize

such wa ‘'value'’, that ix, the reason why he has no such

“pewer to command a price’’, ix because the legislative

power of rate-regulation exists,

Therefore. from the beginning to the end of this argu.

Went, ios hecessary to combat the effort of the carriers

to iwolate the valuation issue from the rate-regulation issue.

It is necessary to continue to insist that the value of pub.

lic utility property is determined by and must be made

responsive to the obligation to serve at reasonable rates.

In order to prevent this attempted isolation of the valua

Yon IssUC, We must insist that no value can be stated for

20

any property, unless it be ‘stated as a value to a particular

owner, for particular purposes, under particular conditions,

A value cannot be stated for a public utility property as a

part of the process of rate regulation, without stating it as:

(1) a value to owners who are subject to the obligations of

public service; (2) a value for rate-making purposes, Which

must be consistent with, and determined by the law that

public utility rates must be reasonable; and, therefore, (3)

a Value arrived at by taking into consideration the incon.

sistent and contheting private interests of sellers and buy,

ers, Which must be compromised in order to deal fairly

with all private interests and to arrive at that balancing of

private imterests which is called, ‘‘the pubhe interest’’.

Point 2.

Between the maximum property valuation which would be

the basis for and the result of the highest feasible rates,

and the minimum property valuation which would be the

basis for and the result of the lowest feasible rates, lies

the legislative field of rate-regulation. The valuation of

a public utility property within this field, as a basis for

rate-making, is an exercise of the legislative power of

rate regulation, within the range of legislative discretion

—and is not subject to judicial review.

There are certain cconomie limitations upon rate regu

lation which cannot be disregarded Rates might be fixed

so high as to stop the use af the service, or 80 low as to

stop the furmushing of the service, Legislative action te

compel either result would not be the regulation of pubhe

serview, but ite destruction | and misguided efforts in this

direction might well be restrained bw the courts on the

ground of the constitutional limitations upon legislative

power

But. the legislative power with which we are here con

cerned has been exerted only to compel the charging of

CRA URN NE MTNA LAURER NET ESPNS SHY HENS ve m ANDEAN TTA _—

21

‘reasonable rates'’. So the question presented is only one

as to whether the Interstate Commerce Commission has

acted in conformity with its delegated authority. In view

of the conflicting interests of the sellers and buyers of any

service, itis clear that there must be a considerable margin

between those rates which would be most satisfactory to the

sellers, producing the maximum value for their property,

and rates which would be most satisfactory to the buyers,

producing the cheapest efficient service for their use. There

must be a considerable margin between rates which would

be so unsatisfactory to sellers that they would cease to

make further investments and seek to be relieved of public

service Obligations, and rates which would be so unsatis-

factory to buyers that they would cease to use the service,

In and bevond the twilight zone between unreasonable

rates and extortionate rates, a court in exercising judicial

power may find it necessary to exercise its ‘independent

judgment as to both law and facts;"’ and the same judicial

review may be required in and beyond the twilight zone

between unreasonably low rates and confiscatory rates.

This, we understand to be the doctrine announced in the

much discussed case entitled Ohio Valley Water Company

Vv. Ben Aton Borough, 253 U.S. 287. Thus we find, at each

end of the field of legislative power in rate regulation, a

zone of unoertainty, wherein, in one case the independent

judgment of the court upon the facts may cause it to set

aside a commission order, although in another case, upon

only slightly different facts, a similar order may be sus-

tained,

The point we desire to make now is that there tu an

assured teld of legislative discretion (which hes between

the vones of uneeriainty Which may be called unreasonably

high and unreasonably low rates) wherein legislative power

is exercised through an administrative commission whose

acts within this field are not subject to judicial review. Yet

ERIN ARE Rs Owe, Se 2 ‘ ‘ ERIE IN SERPS NYY DAT RPE SL ea

there must be a considerable margin for difference of opin-

jon as to what are ‘‘reasonable rates’’, so that within this

same assured field of legislative discretion values differing

in large amounts might be fixed for the same property by

different commissions, or by the same commission under

different circumstances. Banton vy. Belt Line Railway Co,

268 U.S. 415.

To give short, specific examples: (1) Different real

estate appraisers of equal experience and impartialty will

differ widely as to the values of the same real estate in a

large city. (2) The same appraiser may place different

values upon the same real estate before and after the pas-

sage of a toning ordinance, or the enactment of some other

legal restriction upon the uses of real estate. (5) Rea!

estate peculiarly valuable for a railroad passenger terminal

may lose some of that value through the growth of motor

bus transportation and the consequent decline of local pas-

senger business. This last example indicates the interde-

pendence of rates and values. It may be impossible to

charge former local passenger rates in competition with

motor bus transporation or private automobile transporta.

tion. The decline of business, or its diminished profitable.

ness, will reduce both the values of property peculiarly

adapted to the business and the prices which can be charged

and obtained for the service

At this stage of the argument, it is only our purpose to

emphasize the fact that there ts a field of legislative power

within which there mast be a legisiative discretion in the

fixing of values for rate making purposes. The effort of

counsel for the carriers to establish a judicial rule of

valuation, so that a ‘‘value"’ must be fixed at a specific

amount, whereby ‘‘reasonable rates’’ must also be fixed

at a specific amount, is in reality an effort to substitute a

judicial rule for the ‘' reasonable jadement"’ of legislative

agente within the field of legislative discretion.

SUSAR ALTE NIE IEG TPT ILE RRS eee LE

Mane

23

Point 3.

In order to justify judicial invasion of the field of legisla-

tive discretion the carriers are seeking to isolate the valu-

ation issue from the issue of rate regulation. They are

asking the courts to give utility properties a fixed value

by compelling the use of a judicia] formula of valuation.

All property values are the joint product of economic and

political forces. They depend upon rights conferred and

protected by laws. If judicial action establishes a public

utility property value which cannot be changed by legis-

lative action, the legislative power of rate regulation is

destroyed.

The judicial formula of valuation which the carriers are

seeking to have established is that the present value of

public utility property is always to be found by estimating

the reproduction cost of the identical property at present

prices! The field of judgment left to the Commission is

only a limited Judgement in the weighing of evidence as to

the amount of this reproduction cost, including the weighing

of evidence as to what are the current or anticipated prices

which should be applied. If such a formula were laid down,

there would be an end of the legislative power of rate-

regulation. If property devoted to publie service (which

has no inevitable value) must be green an absolute value,

bearing a fixed relation to cost, then the charge for the use

of such property becomes practically a fixed charge: and the

determination of reasonable rates is no longer an exercise

of legislative judgment, wherein the interests of the public

may receive due consideration. Rate regulation is made an

artitrary process for determining what the public must

pay for public services, regardless of what the service is

“The true value that te the economic equivalent of the property.

murt te ascertained in a way to determine the worth ax of the time of

the controversy, that is, the then present value This requires that

efective and dominant consideration be given to the then present prices.”

Reply Nrief for Carriers in the District Court, p 12

24

‘‘reasonably worth’’ to the public. Thereby, in the per-

ennial economic conflict between private sellers and public

buyers, the inherent legislative power to protect public buy-

ers is destroyed.

If property had an absolute value, an ‘abiding, intrin-

sic worth’’, there would be a justification for the establish

ment, by judicial rule, of a method whereby such a value

must be ascertained. But since no property, whether used

in private or public service, has any such absolute value,

the effort to establish a judicial formula is simply an effort

to have the courts give to public utility property this spe-

cial **value’’

power of government, would be clearly an exercise of legis.

an act which, so far as it may be within the

lative power. The inevitable effect of such an exercise of

judicial power would |e to destroy the substance of the

legislative power of rate regulation, which, to be effective,

must include the power of value regulation.

Since the entire argument of counsel for the carriers

depends upon the assertion that there is one ‘‘true value”,

one “economic equivalent of property’'’, which can be ascer-

tained by applying appropriate reproduction cost prices to

an inventory of physical objects, it becomes necessary to

return to fundamentals and to ask the court to consider the

nature of the legal and economic coneepts of ** property"

and ‘‘value’’.

Point 4.

A careful analysis of the legal and economic concepts of

‘‘property’’ and ‘‘value’’ will clarify the problem.

(a) Property is the dominion over things possessed

—# ‘‘bundle of rights’’ conferred by law.

The greatest confusion is brought into any determina-

tion of the value of property rights by the common assump-

tion that what i« being valued ix a physical object, when in

fact things do not have pecuniary values «themselves; and

. eR IRENE IN UPI tek erm OOS

25

pecuniary values are found only in the rights of persons

to use things, which rights are conferred and protected by

law. These rights are the substance of an owner’s

‘*property’’.

**There can be no conception of property aside from

its control and use and upon its use depends its

value. Branson v. Bush, 251 U.S. 182, 187."’

Block vy. Hirsh, 256 U.S. 135, 165 (dissenting opin-

ion).

‘In its proper use the term property applies only

to the rights of the owner in the thing possessed.”’

Amer.-Eng. Ene. of Law, Vol. 23, p. 261.

2 Austin, Jurisprudence, Sees. 1051, 1056.

Macleod, Elements of Economics, Vol. 1, pp. 141,

143.

Raleigh, Outline of the Law of Property, p. 1.

perty, |

‘The term property (although in common parlance

frequently applied to a tract of land or a chattel) in

its legal signification means only the rights of the

owner in relation to it. It denotes a right * ° °

over a determinate thing. Property is the right of

any person to possess, use, enjoy, and dispose of a

thing.’’

Wynchamer v. People, 13 N.Y. 378.

1 Blackstone, Com., 138.

2 Austin, Jurisprudence, 817; cited in Eaton v.

B.C. d M. R. R., infra.

**All that makes this property of any value is the

aggregation of rights or qualities which the law an-

nexes as incident to the ownership of it."’

Eaton v. B.C. & M. R.R., 51 N. H. 504.

‘Private property includes rights more or less nu-

merous. Far from being a simple thing it is complex

and has been called by law text-book writers a ‘bundle

of rights’.

Fly, Property and Contract, p. 59.

One of the best statements of the nature of property is

found in the classic opinion of Mr. Justice Doe, in Thomp-

26

f,

sow V. Androscoggin Improvement Company, 54 N. H. 545,

at 551, 552, 554 (1874), which has been quoted with ap-

proval by numerous courts:

Property in land must be considered, for many

purposes, not as an absolute, unrestricted dominion,

but as an aggregation of qualified privileges, limita.

tions which are prescribed by the equality of rights,

and a co-relation of rights and obligations, necessary

for the highest enjoyment of land, by the entire com.

munity of proprietors oe”

The soil is often called property * ° ° but the

proposition that the soil ix property conveys a very

imperfect idea of the namerous and variously limited

rights comprised in landed estate. And it is sometimes

necessary to remember that the name of property be

longs to some of the essentially proprietary rights

vested in the person called the owner of the soil. * * *

Property is taken when any of those proprietary rights

is taken of which property consists. Aromond v. Green

Bay, ete. Company, 31 Wis, 316, 385.""

Other forceful statements of the same doctrine, univer

sally recognized by the courts, may be found by reference

to the following selected authorities: Block v. Hersh, 256

U.S. 135, 155, 156 (1920): Transcontenental vo. Emmerson,

298 Tl. 394, 390 ef seq. (1921); Wonchamer v. People, 13

N. ¥. 378, 433 (1856). (** Whatever subverts his rights

in regard to (a chattel) annihilates his property in it’):

Tiimeonts Central Ro Ro Co. ¥. Commucssoners, 161 Til 247,

OM, 251 (1896). St) Lows vo Hell, 116 Me. S27 (1893): Low

v. Recs Pronteng Co, 41 Nebr. 127, 146 (184); Athen wv.

Bostom, etc. R. Ro Co, 51 N. HE 904 (1872); Springfield, etc

Company v. Allen, 43 N.Y. 380 (1871); Bracecille Coal (

v. People, 147 TL 66, 71 (189%), 6 ROC LL, 261; 22 BCL,

37.

The Source of Property Rights

Starting. therefore, with a realistic concept of property

as a bundle of rights, let us next consider briefly the source

of these rights. One of our heritages from the ‘‘natural

PPA PRIM LLL 20 CRAIC AIP EE OPN ee EE ee

27

rights’’ period of legal and political philosophy has been

a tendency in some circles to attempt to classify the rights

of property as natural and inalienable rights, not dependent

upon civil government. This is diseussed by Dean Pound

‘**An Introduction to the Philosophy of Law’’. (Page 204.)

Lawyers of romantic inclination have sometimes asserted

that the right of property is of divine origin. {For example,

Smith on Personal, Property, page 58 (1908). And Van

Horn v. Dorrence, 2 Dall. (U. S.) 304, 310 (1795).] But

the more realistic jurists now present a uniform front on

the subject, and agree that this ‘‘bundle of rights’’ called

“property '’, is created by the state—conferred by law. One

of the earliest statements of this fundamental truth is to

be found in the opinion of the United States Supreme Court

in Calder v. Bull, 3 Dall. (U.S.) 386, at 394 (1798), where

Mr. Justice Chase wrote:

“It seems to me, that the right of property, in its

ongin, could arise only from compact, express or im-

plied, and | think it is the better opinion, that the right

as well as the mode, or manner, of acquiring property,

and of alienating or transferring, inheriting, or trans-

mitting it, is conferred by society; it is regulated by

civil institution, and ix always subject to the rules pre-

seribed by positive law. When I say that a right is

vested in a citizen, | mean, that he has the power to do

certain actions; or to possess certain things, according

to the law of the land."’

In Jaternational News Service v. Associated Press, 248

U.S. 215, Mr. Justice Holmes, concurring, wrote:

**Property, a creation of law, does not arise from

value although exchangeable as a matter of law. Many

exchangeable values may be destroved intentionally

without compensation."’

In Pullen vo Comissioners, 66 SN. C. 361, at 363 (1872),

the court stated:

‘Property itself * * * is the creature of posi-

tive law. The legislative power declares what objects

in nature may be held as property."’

In Board of Commissioners v. Ryan, 232 Pac. 834 (Okla.

1925), the court's syllabus reads:

‘Property in all its forms is a creature of law."’

ATRIA ORME NETL IE ELE EST TE BEE ROE GIG IE ELIE SLE ELAM EPL SEES

28

Numerous other statements to the same effect are avail-

able from early times to the most recent advance sheets,

See: United States v. Steffens, 100 U.S. 82, 93

(1907): Commonwealth v. Alger, 7 Cush. (Mass.) 53,

84,85 (1851). In Publie Law Making, Ch. 7, Prof. F. J.

Stimson a distinguished lawver and teacher, states:

“That property is but the creature of law all English

jurists admit.”’ Cooley, Constitutional Limitations,

7th Ed. p. 511; 2 Rent’s Commentaries, 340.

Dean Pound has written that ‘‘ownership is a purely

legal conception having its origin in and depending on the

law’’, and this conception is that of all the jurists,

See: Pound, “An Introduction to the Philosophy

of Law,’ p, 224; 2 Austin, Lectures on Jurisprudence,

Sec. 731; Grav, Nature and Source of Law, Sees, 34.55

26-41-51-53; Holland on Jurisprudence, 11th Ed. 51

to 56; S7-88; Hobbes, Leviathan, Part 2, Ch. 18, p

137-238 (1651); Ritehie, Natural Rights, p. 234; Jher

ing, Spirit of the Roman Law, Sec. 6); Locke, Treatise

on Civil Government, Sec. 4); Huxley, Method and

Results, p. 190.

In his book on the Theory of Legislation, Ch. VITE, p. 111,

the great critic of the legal svsetem, Jeremy Bentham puts

the matter suecinetly:

“There is no such thing as natural property °°

It is entirely the work of lnw ° °° Property and

law are horn together and dic together He fore law's

were made there was no property; take away laws and

property ceases.""

Benjamin Franklin puts it similarly, Writings, Vol. X,

p. 59 (Smyth's ed.):

Private property therefore is a Creature of Soc

ety, and ix subject to the Calls of that Society, when

ever its Necessities shall require it, even to its Inst |

farthing."’

For a compact and authoritative exposition of *' The

Notion of Property’’ see “Property, its Duties and

Rights.”’ chapter on ‘‘The Historical Evolution of

Property,” by L. T. Hobhouse (1922).

LRT eR PN ee ee at a

—

29

It is not necessary to rely merely on opinions of courts,

concerning the source of property rights. Their decisions

reveal the same source, An interesting illustration in re-

cent times of the creation by law, through the Legislature,

of a new property right, a new stick added to the bundle

of rights, is furnished by the so-called ‘tright of privacy”’

cases. It was decided in Roberson v. Rochester Folding

Box Company, 171 N. Y. 538 (1902), that the rights in a

portrait of one who is the subject thereof, did not include

the right to control the unauthorized use of copies. The

Legislature of New York thereupon created such a property

right. A certain young woman found that her portrait was

being used for advertising purposes and brought suit under

the statute for an injunction and for damages, an action

predicated upon a property right which did not exist before

the statute. This statute was upheld as constitutional by

the United States Supreme Court in Sperry d& Hutchinson

Company Vv. Rhodes, 220 U.S. 502 (1911), Mr. Justice

Holmes stating that the law had the effeet of bringing this

property right into existence.

It is well known that at common law there is no property

right in a dead bedy'; and vet by statute it would be easily

possible for the State to create such a property right,

vesting it in a relative, for example. In fact, it was even

the law within the experience of men still living that one

human being could have property rights in another? The

source of such property rights was the law of the states.

It is not only the Legislatures which create legal rights:

they may be created by the courts themselves. For ex-

ample, there was a time not so far distant when the intan-

gible known as **good-will’’ was not regarded as a property

nght.* Now it is the merest commonplace to state that

“good-will’’ is one of the most valuable property rights

‘Blackstone's Commentaries, 429. Rea v Lynn, 2 T. R. 783 (1788);

Foster v. Foster, 220 8 W 2168 (Tex C 1920)

"Bee euch slave cases as MceCuliom v Smith, 19 Tenn. 342 (1888), and

Harper +. Blonbrowgh, 2 La Ann 377 (1847).

‘Hee for example. the statement of Lord Eldon in Crattwell v. Lye, 17

Vea Jr 356. at 346 (1810)

HSER EERIE NER EDT EY EON GE GEE MEO IEEE TELA BAY BA HOTT LEE

30

and in a few types of business it is almost the only property

right of value. In Esselstyn v. Holmes, 42 Mont. 507, 516

(1910), the court deseribed good-will as follows:

‘It is property capable of transfer and the owner

is entitled to the same protection in the exclusive en-

joyment of it as he is in that of his tangible posses

sions."’

The source of this well known property right is the law,

acting, in this instance, not through the Legislature, but

through the courts. Another illustration of present-day

importance is the creation by some courts of a new kind

of property right described as the right of an employer

to a ‘‘free flow of labor’’'

It has been necessary to demonstrate with some care that

property is a ‘bundle of rights’ conferred by law—rights

flowing from the exercise of sovereign power-—and to dem.

onstrate that property is not a natural, absolute right of

fixed extent, in order to help destroy the fallacious doctrine

that property can have a value independent of, and not

subject to modification by the exercise of legislative power.

Even a fixed property right could not have the same

value to all persons, for all purposes, and under all con-

ditions. Bat since the right to be valued is itself conferred

by law, it should be apparent that there cannot exist a

right of property and a resultant value of property con

trary to the will of the sovereign power which has created

the property and given it its value.

“There can be no legal right as against the authority

that makes the law upon which the right depends.”

Kawanonaloa * Polybask, 205 U.S. 349.

Therefore, we find that since the law is the source of

all property rights and resultant property values, the law.

makers can create or destroy, and increase or diminish the

Por « Ciecewion of thie newly created right. ave Jerecy City Printing

Company « Casvidy 02 N J By Th) (190T). Fictcker Company + Inter

eattions! Aseoctation of Machinists, SS AN) 1OTT IN J Bq. 1963). ané

Gitcehmen Coal Compony + Mitr heli, 245 U BR PPP, et B62 (1917)

Lehi NPL EERSTE OV ELST OREE THE PERE LE DP LEL LOE DL EL EIU

i ala

31

bundle of property rights, which owners can exercise; and

thereby the law-makers likewise can change the values of

such properties to their owners. Nor does the constitution

of the United States prevent the legislative power from

depriving men of property rights. The constitution merely

prohibits a deprivation ‘‘without due process of law’’, in

which is comprehended arbitrary action against individuals,

or the practical destruction of all recognized rights of

ownership under an excessive exertion of the so-called

“police power’. In a word, owners may not be deprived

of property rights by the ‘‘arbitrary exercise of the powers

of government unrestrained by the established principles

of private rights and distributive justice’’. (Bank of Col.

umlia v, Okelu, 4 Wheat. (U. S.) 235, 244.) The definition

of *‘due process of law’ just quoted has been approved

by the great constitutional lawyer, Judge Cooley in his com-

ment that ‘‘we have met in no judicial decision a statement

that embodies more tersely and accurately the correct

view'’. (Cooley, Constitutional Limitations, 7th Edition

(1903) page 505.) For a further discussion of the measure

of this constitutional limitation we refer to the Conclusion

Appendix A of this Brief, page 157.

Thus, while it is well-settled law that legislative power

may not deprive persons of property without due process

of law, or ‘withhold from the owners of private property

just compensation for its use’’, which ‘‘ would be a depriva-

tion of property without due process of law’’ (San Diego

Land and Town Company v. National City, 174 U. S. 739),

it is equally clear and well-settled that the ‘‘bundle of

rights’’, which constitute property, can be increased or

diminished by legislative power and thereby property

values can be likewise increased or diminished. (Omnia

Commercial Co. v. U.S. 261 U.S. 502.)

One of the most valuable of the sticks in the bundle of

property rights is the right of use. This right may be

entirely destroyed by statutes, such as those concerning

SREP S Sea EERE IEE RE OT LN RET ES MS EAA LAS ERS BIOGEN RE ea

7

32

liquer, gambling devices, obscene literature, adulterated

foods, etc., whereby a pre-existing right of use may be taken

away or rendered almost valueless. By the same token, the

regulation of use, by the laws governing the use of property

devoted to public service, must inevitably destroy some

property rights and values, while, at the same time, perhaps

giving other property rights and values. The imposition

of an affirmative duty vpon a railroad was described in an

opinion of the Supreme Court as ‘*taking its property in

a very effective sense’’. Yet the regulation was upheld

(L. d& N. Radroad Company v. Central Stockyards Com. |

pany, 222 U.S. 132, 145.) Many further examples of the

subtraction, addition and modification of property rights in

the exercise of legislative power in public utility regulation,

will he given under subsequent points. For the present we

may well sum up the discussion of the nature of property

and the effect of legislative action upon property rights and

values by quoting from an opinion of this court:

**The fact that tangible property is also visible tends

to give rigidity to our conception of our rights in it

that we do not attach to others less concretely clothed

But the netion that the former are exempt from leg.

islative modification required from time to time in civi-

lized life is contradicted not only by the doctrine of

eminent domain, under which what ia taken is paid

for, but by that of the polee power in its proper sense,

under which ga right» may be cut down and to

that extent taken without pay."

Block +. Hirsh, 26 US. 135.

As an appendix to this brief, we are printing a mass of

illustrative instances, on which legislators have diminished

the bundle of right« called ‘‘property’’ by laws which

have been upheld in the courts. The purpose of this ex

tensive review of authorities is to demonstrate that an abso.

lute right of property, and an absolute calue of property,

independent of, and not to be modified by, legislative action,

cannot be established by a judicial formula of valuation,

without the destruction of an essential legislative power

Panne oe Sal tira Ree SM

33

which always has been preserved and upheld by judicial

authority and which must be preserved and upheld, in ae-

cordance with constitutional limitations. (Appendix A.)

(b) gy el of property is the — to com-

mand a price’’ for things possessed, depends

upon the power which the owner can exercise over his

that is, upon the ‘‘property’’ which has

conferred upon him by law.

If there is an accurate understanding of the nature of

property, it must follow inevitably that no property can be

valued except after due consideration of the extent of that

power over the use of the things possessed which the par-

ticular owner is permitted to exercise, for particular pur-

poses, under particular conditions, by virtue of the par-

ticular rights conferred upon him by law.

There has been a wealth of discussion in legal and

economic literature, concerning methods of ascertaining

value, and concerning the nature of *'value’’, as a phtloso-

phical concept. But there is no diffeulty in stating what

,

“pecuniary value’’ ts. It is the ‘‘power to command a

price’’.

—that is, the purchasing power of a commodity in terms of

ather commodities, This value depends upon the profits,

present and anticipated, which the use of property may

To state such a value is to state an exchange ratio

bring to the owner and, therefore, depends wholly upon

the power of the owner to command a price for the use of

his property. The cconomists and the courts are in agree-

ment upon this conception of value:

‘The value of a commodity means in economics its

vower of commanding other commodities in exchange.

t means the rate at which the commodity exchanges

for others, * ° ° The value of a commodity thus

conceived is its value in exchange. This is very differ.

ent from its usefulness or utility or importance. In

every-day discourse we use the word ‘value’, sometimes

to indicate exchange value, sometimes to indicate utili-

ty or importance."’

Taussig, Vol. 1, page 115, Principles of Economics.

“a gy Teas eee eo gm Rs cere st pce CHP ROE RN RET mI a er ie ae ene a

34

‘In brief, exchange value is purchasing power; that

is, a commodity has more or less value as it may be

exchanged for more or less of other things. 7 9s

In order to have value an article must be: (1) one

which is transferable; (2) one for which we are will.

ing to undergo some sacrifice; (3) one capable of satis.

fying some desire.”’

Laughlin, The Elements of Political Economy,

pages 75.77.

“The value of property generally speaking is de.

termined by its productivencss, the profits which its

use brings to the owner."’

Monongahela Case, 148 U.S. 328.

‘But the value of property results from the use to

which it is put and varies with the profitableness of

that use, present and prospective, actual and antici.

pated. There is no pecuniary value outside of that

which results from such use."’

C GC. 6. & &. L. Ry. Co. ¥. Backus, 154 U_S. 439,

445

The foregoing opinions of the court are supported by

more recent opinions, In International Harvester Com-

pany v. Kentucky, 234 U.S. 216, the court was required

to construe a statute making it a crime to sell harvesters

at a price in excess of their ‘real value’’. The plaintiff

in error contended that the law provided no undei sss

able rule of conduct, for the reason that no one could tell

what the ‘‘real value’ of a harvester would be at a partica.

lar time. The answer to this question by the highest court of

Kentucky was that ‘‘real value’’ had been previously de-

clared, and was declared, to be ‘the market value under

fair competition and under pormal market conditions”

The Supreme Court of the United States reversed the

Kentucky judgments on the basis of an opinion precisely

in point in the present consideration of the contention of

counsel for the carriers that their property has one ‘‘true

value’. Mr. Justice Holmes wrote the opinion of the

. , os 5 . - >

Nak SO a aa CBE TERA MPT

~ i

35

court (two justices dissenting) which, after stating the

previously quoted definition of value by the Kentucky

Court, reads in part as follows :

‘*We have to consider whether, in application, this

is more than an illusory form of words, when, nine

years after it was incorporated, a combination invited

by the law is required to guess at its peril what its

product would have sold for if the combination had

not existed and nothing else violently affecting values

had occurred."’

After remarking ‘‘how impossible it is to think away the

principal facts of the case as it exists, and say what would

have been the price in an imaginary world’’, the opinion

continues :

‘Value is the effect in exchange of the relative so-

cial desire for compared objects expressed in terms

of a common denominator.

‘It is a fact, and generally is more or less easy to

ascertain. But what it would be with such increase of

a never extinguished competition as it might be guessed

would have existed had the combination not been made,

with exclusion of the actual effect of other abnormal

influences, and, it would seem, with exclusion also of

any increased efficiency in the machines, but with in-

clusion of the effect of the combination so far as it

was economically beneficial to itself and the commu-

nity, is a problem that no human ingenuity could

«solve, The reason is not the general uncertainties of

a jury trial, but that the elements necessary to deter-

mine the imaginary ideal are uncertain both in nature

and degree of effect to the acutest commercial mind.

The very community, the intensity of whose wish rela-

tively to its other competing desires determines the

price that it would give, has to be supposed differently

organized and subject to other influences than those

under which it acts. It is easy to put simple cases;

but the one before us is at least as complex as we

have supposed, and the law must be judged by it. In

our opinion it cannot stand."’

In Standard Ou Company v. Southern Pacific Company,

268 U.S. 146, the question presented to the court was the

SF ESRLGL Ie EP OETA DOL LYS EPR ET SO att STEELE EGO AEM RE REE

36

value of a steamship which had been lost after a collision.

Here clearly only a question of ‘‘market value’’ was pre-

sented, not a value for rate-making purposes, not the

value which property ought to have, but the value which

property actually had to an owner for purposes of sale

under existing market conditions. The opinion of the court

pointed out that where no market value could be estab-

lished through contemporaneous sales of like property, the

value might be taken as the sum ‘‘that in all probability

would result from fair negotiations between an owner

willing to sell and a purchaser willing to buy’. The opin-

ion held that ‘‘cost of reproduction as of the date of valua-

tion constitutes evidence properly to be considered in the

ascertainment of value’’, and then continued:

‘It is to be borne in mind that value is the thing to

be found and that neither cost of reproduction new, nor

that less depreciation is the measure or sole guide.

The ascertainment of value is not controlled by arti-

ficial rules."’

After quoting, with approval, the requirement for a

‘reasonable judgment’ laid down in the Minnesota Rate

Cases, supra, the opinion, by Mr. Justice Butler, quoted,

with evident approval, from an English case, as follows:

**But there is another matter infinitely more impor-

tant than this (referring to original cost less depre-

ciation) —known even to the most unlearned—the con-

stant change which takes place in the market. It is

the market price which the court looks to, and noth

ing else, as the value of the property. It is an old

saying, ‘The worth of a thing is the price it will

bring’.

Thus reviewing the established economic and legal con-

cept of value, we see that a pecuniary value, a value

which can be stated in terms of money, depends wholly

upon the owner's power to command a price. If the seller

commands the market (through a practical monop-

37

oly), he can command the highest possible, or whatever is

to him the most profitable, price. If the buyers command

the market (where there is intense competition) they can

command the lowest possible price, perhaps the least

profitable to the seller. As a result, the values of prop-

erty used must depend entirely upon market conditions

and depend upon the location of power to control the prices

for the use of property,

Long ago John Stuart Mill warned students of political

economy that value and prices are determined by competi-

tion alone, and stated:

‘‘In so far only as they are thus determined can

they be reduced to any assignable law.’’

Political Economy, Volume III, Page 3.

Therefore, it becomes apparent that when the force of

competition ho longer operates as a regulator of values and

prices, When prices are regulated by governmental action,

there is wo cconomac law which operates to fix ‘‘ reasonable

rates’’ or to establish ‘*reasonable values’’ for property,

unless the rate-making authority adopts, as a principle of

regulation, some competitive principle, so as to exert po-

iiftecal law in the direction of the economic law that would

operate under such assumed conditions,

(c) The ‘‘property’’ of a public utility owner is not an

absolute dominion, but one q ed by the public

service obligations which he has assumed. Among

these obligations is the duty to charge nee hg

sonable rates’' for the use of the things ch he

has devoted to public service.

The limited dominion which a public utility owner can ex-

ercise over his possessions, the diminished number of sticks

in his **bundle of rights,’’ is exemplified in the mass of

cases cited in Appendix A, to which we have previously re-

ferred. In addition to these cases attention should be called

to the limitations specifically imposed on carrier property

PORK ENNELY te a eset SOE AREER TTR Le RIERA CUT YX, MR PARR SA

PNP 2

38

rights by the Interstate Commerce Act, which are summar.

ized in Appendix B.

To assert that a railroad corporation has the same un-

qualified dominion over a terminal station, yards, engines

and cars—that a private corporation has over its factory

would be to assert an obvious untruth. There would be

precisely the same untruth in the assertion that the ‘* prop-

erty’ of the railroad corporation and the manufacturing

corporation is the same private property. Therefore it can-

not be rationally asserted that these different properties

have the same values, or even that their different values

can be ascertained by assuming contrary to fact that their

owners have the same rights of dominion over the things

they possess. Obligations imposed by law are direct inter-

ferences with that exclusive control which is the very es-

sence of ‘‘property’’ and the foundation of property

‘‘values."’ International News Service v. Associated Press,

248 U.S. 215.

This court has repeatedly recognized that property values

are diminished by obligations, such as those listed in Ap-

pendices A and B and has sustained the validity of such

diminutions. For example:

Railroads may be required to share terminals.

U. Ss. - Te rminal Radroad Assoc ialion, U4 U, S.

383.

Railroads may be required to fence rights of way.

Missount Pacific Railway v. Humes, WS US. 512.

Railroads may be required to destroy weeds, to supply

drainage for surface water, to sprinkle streets.

Che ugu, ete., Radroad v. Anderson, 242 U.S. ZnS.

Chicago, etc., Radroad vy. Transberger, 238 U.S. 67.

Pacific Gas d Electrve Co. v. Polwe Court, 251 U.

S. 22.

PARE IL ORI ECO TY ADP OA

39

The obligation to charge only ‘‘reasonable rates’”’ is an

exceedingly radical diminution of property value—but it

has been sustained for centuries.

(d) Thus the ‘‘value’’ of his ‘‘property’’ is dependent

ly inescapable fact that his property (his

7 of rights’’ conferred by law) only

eae she pe Gao eee a

only command a p ve power

establishes as ‘‘reasonable.’’ Theo to estab-

lish ‘‘reasonable rates’’ seccenasti, tatntion the

power to estublish a ‘‘reasonable value’’ for the

property used.

The legislative power, in limiting the owner’s ‘power to

command a price’’ has not deprived the owner of property,

but has merely determined, in an exercise of legislative

authority, the extent of the dominion which the owners of

public utility property shall be permitted to exercise over

things possessed. The legislative power has determined

that a public utility owner’s ‘‘property’’ shall not include

the power to command the prices most satisfactory to him;

and therefore has determined that his property shall not

have the ‘‘value’’ most satisfactory to him.

Point 5.

Therefore the legislative power of rate regulation must

include the power of value regulation. If a law fixing a

formula for the finding of value were written in the courts,

the result would be the absolute destruction of a vital, far-

reaching legislative power, by the substitution of judicial

authority for legislative authority in rate making.

Ever since the opinion was handed down in Smyth vy,

Ames, there has been a persistent effort to obtain in the

court the establishment of a judicial formula for finding

the ‘‘fair value of the property’’, which the court held

40

should be the basis of fixing reasonable rates.'| The court

stated that in order to ascertain ‘‘that value’’ consid-

eration should be given to numerous irreconcilable and in-

harmonious factors such as original cost and present cost

of construction, amount and market value of bonds and

stocks and probable earning capacity of the property and

undefined ‘‘other matters’’. The subsequent controversies

over valuation and rate regulation have been waged be-

tween interests seeking to have ‘‘dominant consideration”

given to one particular factor. In other words, the effort

has been to change a judicial opinion as to matters which

should be taken into ‘‘consideration,’’ in the exercise of a

reasonable legislative judgment, to a judicial formula pre-

seribing rules which would practically control the exercise

of the legislative judgment.

In the meantime jurists and economists have criticised

the Smyth vo Ames opinion because the court had appar.

ently put the cart before the horse and held that ‘‘ value”

should be ascertained as the basis for earning power when

it is a perfectly obvious and inescapable economic fact that

‘value’ is the result of earning power. Yet if the opinion

of the court had announced that reasonable rates should be

fixed upon such a basis that as a result the owner would be

able to realize a reasonable value in the use of his property,

“We bold. however that the tusis of a alcuistions as to the ree

somableness of rates to te charged ty « corperation maintaining a high

way under legisiative sanction must be the fair value of the property

being aeod by It for the convenience of the public And in order to

ascertain that value, the original cost of construction, the amount es:

pended In permanent Improvements the amoant and market value of {te

teode and stack, the present as compared with the original cost of con

struction, the probable earning capacity of the property under particular

rates prescribed by statute and the sum required fo meet operating es

penecs, are all matters for consideration. and are to be given such weight

as may be just and right in each case We do not may that there may

pot be other mattere to be regarded in estimating the value of the prop

erty What the company te entitied to ack 's @ fair return upon the value

of that which it emplore for the pallic convenience On the other hand

what the public te entitled to demand fs that no more be exacted from it

for the use of the public bighwar than the services rendered by it are

reasonably worth” Amyfs « Ames 169 1 BH 466 546

BER OGRE EE LINER ts

41

criticism could not have gone to the length of stating that

the rule of Smyth v. Ames is *‘legally and economically un-

sound’’. Any objection would have been confined to a pro-

test that the court had not prescribed any test for what it

would regard as a ‘‘reasonable value”’.

An Interpretation of Smyth v. Ames.

It seems clear, however, upon a review of the preceding

and succeeding cases, that the opinion in Smyth v. Ames

was intended to mean that the result of reasonable rates

should be to establish a reasonable value for the property.

This is evidenced by the fact that the same justice who

wrote the opinion in Smyth v. Ames shortly thereafter, in

writing the opinion in San Diego Land and Town Com-

pany Vv. Natwnal City, 174 U.S. 739, stated that “the rights

of the public would be ignored if rates for the transporta-

tion of persons or property on a railroad are exacted with-

out reference to the fair value of the property used for

the public or the fair value of the service rendered’’. Later

in the same opinion he stated explicitly that the company

was entitled to a ‘‘fair return upon the reasonable value of

the property at the time it is being used for the public’.

In the thirty vears since the opinion of Smuth v. Ames

was written, the Supreme Court has steadfastly resisted

every pressure to establish a judicial formula for valuation.

whereby a Commission would be required to fix reasonable

rates upon the hasis of a fiat value of property, withont

compromising the conflicting interests of owner and user

of property by exercising a legislative discretion to deter.

mine what are reasonable values for properties and reason

able prices for services. In the oft quoted opinion in

Smyth v. Ames, the court clearly intended to lav down the

law that rates should not be determined solely according

to certain formulated interests of the buyers or sellers of

—_ CLLR SINS ott OR

Reet xt: poe sin " 2 :

9

~-

service, but should be determined after consideration of

the conflicting and varying factors of value upon which are

based the conflicting and varying claims of parties in eco-

nomic conflict.

The various ‘‘matters for consideration,’? which are

stated, are to be ‘‘given such weight as may be just and

right in each ease,"’ * * * and there may be ‘other

matters to be regarded.’’ The court clearly anticipates not

merely the exercise of discretion in individual cases, but

also the gradual formulation of principles based on experi.

ence in rate regulation, in the course of which there must

be a constant balancing and compromising of *‘what the

company (the seller) is entitled to ask" and **what the pub.

lie (the buver) is entitled to demand.’ If we regard the

‘*rule’’ of Smyth vo Ames as a rule of evidence--not as a

rule of decision—it becomes somewhat useful instead of

wholly confusing. To describe the evidence which can be

(or must be) considered by a jury requires a deseription of

evidentiary facts that are in conflict. But to write a formula

for decision requires a weighing of evidentiary facts and

the elimination of conflict. The conflicting factors stated

and not resolved in the opmmen in Smyth». Ames show that

a rule of evidence —not a rule of decision —-was intended.

Let ux consider, for example, the factors of orginal cost

and reproduction cost. In a time of declining prices in a

competitive market, the seller will urge that he must be

recompensed for cost of production; and the buyer will urge

that he could produce the same goods or services today ata

lower cost. The market price resulting will be more or less

of a compromise of these claums, with a tendency for prices

to be fixed at cost of production, because, as Alfred Mar

shall, dean of the English economists, writes, ‘Coast of re.

production exerts little direct influence on value, save when

parchasers can conveniently wait for the production of new

supplies."" Principles of Eoonumics (1907), Book 5, Chap

OSTEO PLE LEE WILE ES I

43

7, Sec. 6. On the other hand, suppose prices are rising. The

seller's argument will be that he is entitled to sell the goods

at what it would cost to produce them today, and the buyer’s

argument will be that the seller should be satisfied with a

fair profit based on what it actually cost the seller to pro-

duce the goods.

It will be noted that today sellers of transportation serv-

ice are seeking to have prices based upon reproduction

cost, although thirty vears ago they were seeking to have

prices based on original cost. Their claims are not

grounded upon faith in a particular economic theory or

reverence for abiding principles of justice, but upon a rec-

ognition of immediate self-interest. It may be urged that

the buyers of transportation service also have shifted

ground in the last thirty vears on the basis of immediate

self-interest. But the establishment of a policy of gov-

ernment should not be based upon the immediate interests

of either sellers or buyers. In writing the so-called rule of

Smyth v. Ames, the Supreme Court declined to hold that

rates should be fixed upon dominant consideration of the

interest of the buyers. !t declined to hold that in a time of

falling prices, reproduction cost alone should be used to

measure the rate base. The court did hold that original

cost and reproduction cost and many other elements of

value should be given consideration, so that a ‘‘fair value”’

might be established for property used for public service.

Following the same logic, in recent years the Supreme

Court has repeatedly declined to hold that rates should be

fixed upon dominant consideration of the interest of the

sellers. In other words, after a period of rising prices it is

held— just as it was thirty vears ago after a period of fall.

ing prices—-that reproduction cost alone shall not be used

to measure the rate base.

The Interstate Commerce Commission (and any rate-

making public bedy) is required to take a long view of the

Beep terme aysremrey 28 «tay SUAS TNS PETS IS Stig P BEELER IPMS lil a NP aaa

4H

interests of sellers and buyers, in order to see, not merely

how to satisfy the immediate interest of one or both

groups, or how to work out a temporary compromise of the

conflicting interests, but in order to see how to provide a

reasonably permanent basis for compromising the conflict.

ing interests. Standards of fairness that will persist are es

sential, For this reason the Conunission has been compelled

to give greater weight to the actual cost of production,

shown by the money invested in the property than to the

theoretical cost of dupheating the property, This is because

cost of duplication could only be used as a rate base on a

time of rising prices and could wof be used cn a time of

declining prees, A railroad property is built up through

contributions of capital, which must be represented by se

eurities; and these securities must be maintained at ap

proximately par, in order to sustain the credit absolutely

required for the continuing expansion and improvement of

facilities. If the property in which the capital has been

invested is valued for rate-making purposes at not less

than the amount of investment, it is at least possthle to sus.

tain the credit of the enterprise. Om the other hand, if the

property is valued at fess than the amount actually invested

and represented by outstanding securities, it will be om

posmble to sustain adequately the credit of the enterprise

If reproduction cost, in a time of rissa prices, is utilized

as a rate hase, not only will market valnes of securities rep

resenting actual investment be inflated. but sarpluses will

he earned, which may he used (and have heen used) as the

hasi«s for additional stock ja«nes (lan the expanded hor

rowing power will provide the basis for floating additional

bonds. But, if a period of declimmng prices follows, a lower

rate base, founded on reproduction cost, cannot be estab

lished by the regulatory commission without impairing the

eredit which the previous actions of the Commission have

LAELIA IEA ER BEEN, ea are Rs aw

45

built up, and which must be sustained in order to promote

the most efficient public service.

Therefore, a regulatory commission knows that a repro-

duction cost factor, utilized in favor of the interests of the

sellers today, simply cannot be utilized reciprocally in the

interest of the buyers tomorrow, Thereby, it is evident

that to give dominant weight to this factor is to adopt for

regulation today a principle which cannot be applied to

regulation tomorrow.

On the other hand, when the Commission considers the

factor of the money investment necessary to build up the

existing properties, the Commission knows that. if. that

money has heen prudently expended and if outstanding

securities represent the investment prudently made, then

rates which provide a fair return upon that investment will

sustain the credit of the company in a time of either rising

prices, or falling prices. Merely by shifting the amount of

the fair return to meet the current rates for money, the

Commission will be able to sustain the credit of the enter.

prise. If prices fall and it is urged that the properties

could be duplicated for less than the amount of money in-

vested in them, public policy in favor of protecting invest-

ment and sustaining the credit of public service enterprises

will prevent any actual duplication and will justify the

charging of rates necessary to preserve the valnes of out-

standing securities in order to give investors a reasonable

return and to sustain credit so that the service may be im

proved and extended. [Certainly the judicial authority

would tread firmer ground in protecting an actual market

value of securities representing investment than in pro-

tecting a theoretical monopoly value which investors never

have realized and never will realize without the aid of spe.

cial legislation. ]

On the other hand, in a time of rising prices, although a

stable rate base might deny to the owners of securities a

% eis COPMIE REL E TOPO REE MES, TERRA RET RETIN OR ES YE RS

WRB Reg BRS PEO REE OTS TNL, ORR RER ss

“I

46

temporary speculative profit, they would have little cause

to complain of rates sufficient to give them an income equal

to the current fair return upon similar investments, and a

market value of one hundred cents on the dollar in the case

of the sale of securities, Therefore, from the standpoint

of seeking a principle of rate-regulation which can be ap-

plied permanently, regardless of shifting price levels, a

regulatory commission is compelled to accept the fact that

investment is a far more useful factor than reproduction

cost, in stabilizing security values, in sustaining credit, and

in doing equal justice to sellers and buyers at all times

There is, of course, still left open to the sellers the ‘‘de

preciated dollar’? argument—-a claim of little benefit: to

bondholders and, therefore, simply a claim that railroad

stockholders should be given an economic security not pos

sessed by any other class of investors in the nation,

The ‘‘Depreciated Dollar’’ Claim.

It seems unnecessary here to review the many arguments

which have been presented aguinst the validity of the ‘de

preciated dollar’’ claim. It is dealt with in the report of

the Commission and presumably will be dealt with in other

briefs. It ix, however, peculiarly pertinent to the present

argument to point out that the depreciated dollar claim is

a claim for equitable consideration and not the claim of a

legal right, Millions of people bay life insurance policies

to protect those near and dear to them, when they them

selves, have gone They pay premiums in dollars saved by

personal eacrifice. If prices fall, their beneficiaries may

receive more than was sacrificed If prices rise, their

heneficiaries may receive much less than was sacrificed

Trust funds are bmilt op for private persons, donations are

made to universities, hospitals, churches and charities. In.

vestments for eoch purposes are made in bonds, bearing a

fixed interest, payable nitimately in dollars. In other words,

the noblest, moxt aneeclfish uses of money require reliance

npen a retorn in meaner for money invested.

, - . ns eeceenoeeeouiemnnnems a

? ve STE PEO RS AEA LENT PRINT OF EME TIRE Re

ee ee STE Uae ate 4

47

The great enterprises of the community rest upon bor-

rowed money; national, state and municipal bonds and

corporation bonds. The railways have been constructed

and extended largely by borrowed money. The imperative,

dominating need in the establishment of public policy,

whether in regulation of public utilities or otherwise, to

promote the security and comfort of the vast majority of

the people of the nation, is to insure the stability of money

returns from money investment,

To secure a stable purchasing power for money seems to

be an appropriate ideal for private or political action. So

far as such stablization can be reasonably accomplished,

it will eliminate the depreciated dollar issue. But in the

absence of effective stabilization, in the face of fluctuations

in purchasing power whereby benefits ebb and flow. be.

tween creditors and debtors, between buyers and sellers,

there ix no possible justifieation for the exercise of legis.

lative power to save one group of investors from losses

suffered by vastly larger and more important groups of

security holders. Let it be clearly understood that the ben-

efit to be hestowed upon the railroad stockholder cannot be

obtained except by imposing additional sacrifice upon those

who have not received the same special treatment. Bene

ficiaries of life insurance policies, the beneficiaries of trust

funds, the holders of public and private bonds, would all be

required, ont of their income having a diminished purchas.

ing power, to make up the loss of purchasing power suf.

fered by holders of railway stock.

There is no equity in the depreciated dollar argument. It

could have a sound basis only if it were necesary thus

fo increase the purchasing power of the stockholders divi-

dends, in order to sustain the credit of the enterprise. That

argument cannot be made because, ax previously shown, a

fair return upon investment fixed by current rates for

48

money will necessarily sustain the values of securities rep.

resenting investment and sustain the credit of the enter.

prise,

Let us consider another factor mentioned in Smyth y,

Ames and frequently derided as a basis for measuring

‘fair value’’. It is a factor which has a clear bearing

upon fair rates. This factor is ‘‘probable earning capac

itv’’. If a large amount of traffic can be carried over the

same rails, the property will produce a higher return from

a lower margin of profit, that is, out of lower rates, than

if a small amount of traffic is carried. Such an earning

capacity gives greater value to one private property than

is found in a similar property that may have cost as much,

but has not the same earning capacity. But in fixing rates

which must be the same rates for the same service, there

must be an averaging of the earning capacities of the rail

roads affected, so that in the aggregate they will earn fair

returns. Congress has so directed the Commission to fix

rates in Section Mia of the Interstate Commerce Act. (Dis.

cussed later in this brief under Point 9) Bat it is not here

contended by anv party that two lines of railroad, having

the same original or reproduction cost, should be given dif.

ferent values as a bmais for rate making because one has

a greater earning capacity than the other, Yet, according

to all standards for valuing property used in private bus.

hess, the two properties would hare different values, al.

though their actual cost of construction or theoretical cost

of reprextaction might be the same

It must be evident that the legislative power of rate regu.

lation becomes in operation a power of value regulation

Therefore, in determining what rates ought to be charged,

what rates are reasonable rates, the regulatory power must

determine what values are reasonable values to be realized

out of the use of property in public service. The moment

a formula is laid down whereby a regulatory commission is

49

deprived of the power of compromising the conflicting,

economie claims of buyers and sellers, and is required to

adopt a formula for determining the value of the seller’s

property and thereby the value of the service rendered to

the buyer, this vital and far reaching legislative power is

destroyed by substituting for the legislative discretion a

judicial discretion in determining how the conflicting eco-

nomic interests shall be compromised.

Point 6.

The Supreme Court has consistently maintained:

(a) That the rate making power is legislative.

(b) That there is no formula for finding the value

of a public utility property.

‘The rate making power is a legislative power and

nevessarily implies a range of legislative discretion."’

Minnesota Rate Cases, 230 U. 8. 352, 432

‘It is the province of the Legislature to make the

law; and when the Legislature or the body acting under

its authority establishes the rate to be thereafter

charged by the carrier, it is the duty of the courts

to enforce the rule of law so made unless the consti-

tional limits of the rate making power have been

transgressed. The rate making power necessarily im-

plies a range of legislative discretion; and so long

as the legislative action is within the proper sphere,

the courts are not entitled to interpose and upon their

own investigation of traffic conditions and transpor-

tation problems to substitute their judgment with re-

spect to the reasonableness of the rates for that of

the Legislature or of the railroad commission exercis-

ing its delegated power."’

Lowsedle & Nashville Railroad Co. v. Garrett,

231 U. S. 298,

**Rate making is no function of the courts; their

duty is to inquire concerning results, and uphold the

guaranties which inhibit the taking of private prop.

50

erty for public use without just compensation under

any guise.’’

Pacific Gas and Electric Co. v. City and County of

San Francisco, 265 U.S. 403.

The making of rates ix a legislative, and not a

judicial, function.”

Terminal Railroad Assn. v. U. S., 266 U.S. 17.

‘What the company is entitled to demand in order

that it may have just compensation is a fair return

upon the reasonable value of the property at the time

it is being used for the public. * ° * The ascertain.

ment of that value is not controlled by artificial rules.

It is not a matter of formulas, but there must be a

reasonable judgment having its basis in a proper con-

sideration of all relevant facts."’

Minnesota Rate Cases, 280 U.S. 352, 434.

Georgia Ry. and Power Co. v. R. RB. Commusswon,

262 U.S. 625.

Standard Oil Co. x. Southern Pactfie Co., 268 US.

146.

In refusing to authorize the applieation of a formula, it

was held in the Georgia Power Case, just cited, that ‘*‘the

refusal of the Commission and of the lower court to hold

that for rate making purposes the physical properties of

a utility must be valued at the replacement cost leas depre-

ciation, was clearly correct.” Likewise, in the last case

cited, it was held that ‘‘neither cost of reproduction new,

or less depreciation, is the measure oF sole guide’ in find-

ing **value’’.

The statements just quoted are peculiarly important

because they are both followed by the quotation from the |

Minnesota Rate Cases, transcribed above. Furthermore, |

in the Georgia Case, the opinion of the court was accom

panied by one dissenting opinion in which Mr. Justice Me-

Kenna asserted that the problem of valuation was, in hist

opinion, ‘‘direct and simple—with no baffling element ip

it.’ He continued: ‘Tt was only to find the reproduction

_—

51

cost of the utility and this necessarily was constituted of

the cost of its materials and the cost of their fabrication,

less an estimate of depreciation from the new. These

costs and depreciations representing its value at the mo-

ment of time it was being regulated and being used by

the public, such moment being the time prescribed by the

law for the determination of its value—determination of

that upon which the rate for its use was to be based.’’

Thus it appears that in 1923 only one member of the

Supreme Court (now deceased) took the position that there

was a formula for finding the value of a public utility prop-

erty for rate making purposes. This formula he stated;

and it is precisely the same formula which counsel for the

carriers are now seeking to have the court adopt. But

the opinions of all the other members of the court have

squarely asserted that valuation is not a matter of formula,

but that there must be a ‘‘reasonable judgment having its

basis in a proper consideration of all relevant facts’’.

These relevant facts have been detailed in the familiar quo-

tation from Smyth v. Ames, which is repeated in the Min-

nrsota Rate Cases, supra, and in the Georgia Power Case,

supra, It is perfectly clear that these ‘‘relevant facts’’

are those necessary for consideration in determining what

are reasonable rates.

Thus, in substance, the court more than thirty years

after the decision in Smyth v. Ames is still refusing to an-

nounce that public utility properties must be given a value

to be determined by following a judicial rule—-a value

which would absolutely prevent the exercise of legislative

discretion in rate making. But the court has repeatedly de-

cided that rates and the resultant values of public utility

properties must be determined by the exercise of a reason-

able judgment, by the legislature or the commission law-

fully constituted by it to exercise such judgment. Minne-

sota Rate Cases, supra, p. 433.

RANT AONE EOP FUE EE IM SPL LOL G9 RISE NE AE AE RR RS re

52

PART II.

THE UNDERLYING ISSUE IN A VALUATION CASE.

Point 7.

The underlying issue in a valuation case, as in any rate

regulation case, is: What is a fair price for the public ser.

vice rendered’?

The general underlying issue which is involved in this

case is the ancient one of ‘‘the fair distribution of the re-

wards of industry.’’ The particular underlying issue which

must be decided is the equally ancient one of ‘‘the fair

price’’—the inevitable difference of opinion between the

seller and the buyer of a commodity or a service.

Naturally a seller desires to charge the highest possible

price (consistent with the largest aggregate profit) and a

buyer desires to pay the lowest possible price (consistent

with the largest aggregate service). When prices are de-

termined by private bargaining, the seller and buyer at.

tempt to justify their respective demands by ethical argu-

ments——since man is a moral, reasoning animal. But in the

end the dominance of the seller or the buyer is determined

by economic power, by the control of the market, sometimes

inadequately described as the law of supply and demand.

When the government takes upon itself the decision of

this ancient and not altogether honorable controversy, be-

tween the seller and the buyer, the ethical arguments gain

importance because modern government (or at least, let us

say, government under the Constitution of the United

States) rests on moral sanctions. Justice is to be estab.

lished, domestic tranquility insured and the general welfare

promoted.

EEN TLIO LL SAS

53

A commission is created to ascertain and to enforce the

charging of ‘‘just and reasonable’ rates. The ethical

standard is explicitly stated. The governmental power is

called into action primarily for the benefit of the users of

public utility service. But public power is not to be exerted

solely in behalf of one class of citizens, and ‘*just and rea-

sonable’? rates must be just and reasonable to the sellers

as well as to the buyers. Thus we find provided also the

requirement that there shall be a ‘‘fair’’ return to the sell-

ers upon the ‘‘fair’’ value of the property used for public

service. The ethical standard again is explicitly stated.

The following quotation contains a typical expression of

the ethical concept which dominates judicial opinions upon

rate regulation ;

‘There must be a fair return upon the reasonable

value of the property at the time it is being used for

the public.”’

Willcox v. Consolidated Gas Co., 212 U.S. 19, 41.

Missourt ex rel. Southwestern Bell Tel. Co. v. Pub-

lic Service Commission, 262 U. 8S. 276.

It may be pointed out that we are here considering what

may be called material ethies rather than spiritual ethics.

It is not necessary to state a moral code based upon meta-

physical conceptions of what is right and wrong, or good

or bad. The ethies involved are those of enlightened self-

interest, that is, immediate self-interest. If the buyer pays

induced to furnish,

extend and improve the service he desires. If the seller

charges more than a fair price buyers will not use the

less than a fair price, sellers will not be

ser-

Vice to its utmost capacity ; community prosperity will be

retarded ; buying power will be reduced.

The Ethical Standards of Regulation

It seems necessary to recall attention to the underlying

issue in public utility rate regulation and to the ethical

54

standards which it is the duty of a regulating commission

to enforce, because, in the arguments made in behalf of

both sellers and buyers before courts and commissions,

there is a constant confusion of appeals to ethical consider.

ations and assertions of arbitrary rights resting upon sup-

posed sovereign or economic law. There are claims that

governmental power must be exerted to enforce the alleged

rights of one party regardless of what is fair to the other

party, or that economic power must he permitted free exer.

cise regardless of what is fair to the party thus coerced.

It is respectfully submitted that, if a just decision is to be

rendered upon the ixsue now before this court, it is neces.

sary at the outset for the court to found its consideration

upon this proposition :

Every theory * * ° every argument * * ° every

claim of legal right * * * every assertion of economic

* * * must be tested by the standard of what is

fair to the other party.

A legal right to an excessive profit cannot be asserted

to prevent the Interstate Commerce Commission from ful-

filling its legal obligation to fix a ‘just and reasonable”

rate. The protection of an economic power to charge an

excessive selling price cannot be demanded from a Com

mission which is established for the very purpose of pre

venting such an abuse of economic power. The legal rights

and economic powers which may be found in private prop-

erty when devoted to private competitive enterprise cannot

be asserted as legal rights and economic powers of private

property when devoted to public service and subjected to

public regulation for the very purpose of preventing the

unjust exercise of legal nights and economic powers.

It is quite evident in reading the briefs he retofore sub

mitted by counsel for the carriers in this proceeding (whiek

follow the lines of arguments usually made by pubhe utility

lawyers to courts and commissions) that they are demand.

55

ing legal sanction for the highest possible selling price for

the service which they furnish, although the very purpose

of rate regulation by public authority is to prevent the

charging of such a price.

Is the Highest Possible Price a Fair Price?

The carriers claim: (1) that they should be reimbursed

in the rates for all operating costs including labor and

materials necessary to maintain their properties in good

operating condition; (2) that the rates should permit them

to accumulate the necessary depreciation reserves to re-

place large units which become inoperative or obsolete ;

(3) that they should be reimbursed for all taxes paid; and

(4) that, having been protected against any possible expen-

ditures ont of profits they should then receive, as net profits

out of the use of private property, a fair return upon the

present market values of all lands plus the reproduction

cost at present prices of all their physical properties (with-

out deducting any depreciation for expired service-life),

including in that reproduction cost a return on many un-

realizable, wholly theoretical ‘‘increases’’ in ‘‘value’’; and

a return on all imaginable intangibles such as *‘ going con-

cern value’’. Without pausing to criticise the absurd in-

flations of reproduction costs in the methods utilized by the

carriers” imaginative estimators, it should be pointed out

that on no conceivable theory could private property util-

ized in private competitive business earn regularly as large

profits as those claimed for the public utility owners.

When current prices will cover operating costs, mainte-

nance, taxes, depreciation and a ‘‘fair return’’ on all pos-

sible capital outlays (including the present cost of dupli-

eating the identical plant and business) there will be no

lack of competitors, where competition is possible. Such

prices clearly exceed the highest possible prices which can

be maintained in a competitive market, because competitive

56

prices will ordinarily produce much less, and cannot pro-

duce regularly so large a return on capital invested.

‘‘On account of this tendency of prices to equal the

expense of production, the expense of producing a unit

of a commodity is called its normal value.’’ Ely, Eco-

nomics, Book 2, p. 172 (1909).

‘*A competitive standard is a cost standard. Where

two or more producers are competing for the sale of

the same article, and that article is capable of bein

reproduced in unlimited quantities, the price will ten

to settle at the cost of production. This, however, is

not the cost to the marginal or high cost producers, as

is often erroneously imagined; it is the cost to the most

efficient producer who in time increases the volume and

reduces the price of his product to the extent that in-

efficient producers whose costs exceed the price are

driven to the wall. The result is that the least cost in

the long run becomes the standard of competitive cost,

and the public gets the service upon the best terms pos-

sible. It is this cost-of-service principle, that regula-

tion is striving to preserve.

° . * 2 .

‘*Regulation of public utilities in the United States

has as its deepest purpose the perpetuation of ideals

and standards attained in the field of natural competi-

tion. Any other presumption or conclusion would

ignore the fundamental principles of American indus-

trial development and place the purposes of law and

economics at variance."’

Kirshman, The Principle of Competitive Cost in

Public Utility Valuation, 35 Yale Law Journal

805.

Government regulation was established for the purpose

of deciding the age ald issue hetween the seller and the

buyer upon the ethical standard of a price that is ‘‘fair"’

to both. Yet the carriers are demanding that government

regulation, established primarily for the purpose of pro-

tecting the buyrr against the oppressions of a government

created monopoly, should now be utilized to insure so far

as possible to the seller the highest possthle selling price

which he can exact from the buyer. The price sought is

pe RES EDGR TI SEER

—

57

higher than any which can be maintained in a competitive

market—and therefore is a ‘‘monopoly price,’’ as herein-

after defined. This oppressive demand is presented in the

disguise of a ‘‘constitutional right’’.

‘*‘What the Traffic Will Bear.’’

There should be no misunderstanding of the true nature

of the contentions of the carriers in this and similar pro-

ceedings. [It is submitted that the claim of one carrier in

one proceeding can be properly tested by considering the

aggregate effect of the consistent claims of all the carriers

in similar proceedings.| They are seeking to obtain the

right to charge ‘‘all the traffic will bear’’. This theory of

rate making has been advanced persistently by the car-

riers and other public utilities ever since government reg-

ulation began.’ The carriers generally admit (and admitted

specifically in the recent western rate case, 113 1. C. C. 3),

that af the moment the traffic will not bear the rates which

they claim they are entitled, as a matter of law, to charge.

The carriers are asserting a legal right to charge rates

vastly in excess of what the traffic will bear. Thereby, they

are laving the foundation for indefinite claims for increases

in the event that the traffic will stand the strain.

“What is clear is that the value of railroad property is no basis for

rate making An arbitrarily established 5%% on value, when found,

might well inflict gross injustice upon the shipper and put into the rail-

road treasuries a sum greater than the worth of the service rendered.

There have been many suggestions and many legislative attempts to fix

an arbitrary basis for rates by limiting earnings. Every single one of

these has failed The proper baste is just as clear today as it was thirty

years ago it is what the traffic will bear”

~Editorial, Wall Street Journal—Auguet 2, 1926.

“It in highly tmprotmtle that it would ever be possible to get the

railways to agree to seek an advance in rates sufficient to give a so-called

fair return on a reproduction cost valuation Their managers would

know that if they did so they would encounter the united opposition of

regulating commissions and shippers, and would arouse public sentiment

tore hostile than ever existed before Railway officers fully realize that

rates should be made not only in accordance with what the traffic will

bear, but aleo in accordance with what public sentiment will stand.”

83 Railway Age, 1147 (1927).

——__ ELE IR LAER CAA OE LEER TN CE OEE RE,

58

Is it not clear that the very fact that the railroads today

cannot charge the rates which they claim they are entitled

to charge (as a matter of legal right and as a matter of

economic right) shows that they do not possess the legal

and economic rights which they claim? They claim that the

‘value’ of their properties is equal to their reproduction

cost and therefore that reproduction cost estimates must

control the fixing of the amount of value. They themselves

insist that the word ‘‘value’’ is here used in its ‘ordinary

meaning’, which is ‘* pecuniary value’’ or ‘market value",

or in the terms of the economists, ‘‘value in exchange”.

Yet every such ‘‘value’’ is absolutely determined by ¢arn-

ing power and the carriers themselves must freely admit

that their properties do not have today the earning power

necessary to support the values claimed.

Let us suppose that an individual had built a factory in

1914 which cost him $1,000,000 and that the most he had

ever been able to make out of its operation was $40,000 a

year. Suppose he employed an engineer to make a theo.

retical estimate of the ‘‘reproduction cost’’ of his factory,

together with a large addition for the ‘going concern

value’ of his 4 per cent business, and thereby he arrived

at a reproduction cost new (without depreciation) of

$2,500,000. Would a bank lend him $1,000,000 at 5 per cent

on that security, knowing that the present net earnings

would fall short of paying the interest on the loan by $10,

000! Would any impartial judge fix the ‘‘valuc’’ of that

property at $2,500,0007

It will he the purpose of present counsel subsequent!)

to demonstrate that reproduction cost cannot be accepted

as the measure of ‘‘value’’ under any definition of the word

‘‘yalue’’. But for the moment it is desired merely to point

out that when counsel for the carriers admit that the traffic

will not produce the earning power necessary to substanti-

ate the pecuniary or market ‘‘value'’ which they claim as

ALOE DELS SN AIOLL LL PELE ELI EL LILLE AS BEETLE ER

_

59

the ‘value’ of their properties, they reveal in a white light

the fictitious nature of the entire ‘‘value’’ claim. They

themselves admit that in fixing ** just and reasonable’’ rates

the Commission ts not required to provide a fair return

upon the “‘value’’ which they claim. Thereby, they admit

that such a value does not e¢rist, either as a rate base or a

‘‘market value’’ or a ‘‘fair value’’ or any other kind of a

‘*‘value’’.

The Cost of Service—as a Measure of the Fair Price

If the establishment of a ‘‘fair value’’ for rate-making

purposes is recognized as one of the objectives of the rate

fixing process, instead of being regarded as a prerequisite

base, the question remains: How can a fair price be fixed

hefore the ‘‘fair value’’ of property used is fixed? The

method is clearly indieated) as soon as one realizes that,

where there is no legislative rate making, prices are always

fixed without a prior determination of value; and the same

factors that determine unregulated prices can be utilized

te fix regulated prices. These factors are (1) Cost; (2)

Profit; (3) Bargaining power.

Cosr.

Whether a seller furnishes goods or service his first con-

sideration in fixing a price is to get back his out-of-pocket

cost. Without argument it will be accepted that the seller

ought to get back this cost—although under stress of com-

petition the seller is not always able to do this. This cost

will include labor costs, material costs and capital costs—

actually paid out.

Prortr.

In addition to getting back his out-of-pocket costs, the

seller will desire to obtain a ‘‘profit,’’ within which term

we will include compensation for his own services and com-

——— MINI LAT TOL ONIN EL ARE SIE SEU ae EN Oe

60

pensation for the use of his own property. Despite much

discussion and many efforts to establish standards for fix-

ing a ‘‘reasonable compensation’’ for personal services or

for the use of property, we are left, in a competitive eco-

nomic system, with only one clear standard, which is; ‘‘mar-

ket value”’ in a ‘‘fair market’’—meaning a market in which

there is an even balance of bargaining power between

sellers and buyers. Since supplies and demands cannot

remain in perfect balance *‘market values’’ are constantly

changing and a ‘*fair market” is only an ideal, But *‘com-

petitive prices’? measure (within a considerable range of

variance) that margin of profit to the individual which is

commonly accepted as ‘reasonable’’ compensation for the

use of his services or his property.

Baraarnine Powen,

Since, therefore, we are forced to find in competition the

sole basis for determining what is a ‘‘fair price,"’ it Is clear

that an advantage of bargaining power will drive prices

either up toward ‘‘monopoly prices,’’ obtainable where

sellers dominate the market, or down toward ‘‘confiscatory

prices,”’ obtainable where buyers dominate the market. Be-

fore attempting the difficult task of defining these prices, in

a manner consistent with judicial opinions, let us point out

that there are two kinds of ‘‘cost’’ that both play a power-

ful part in determining the competitive price for a service—

the actual original cost of producing the service and the

present theoretical cost of duplicating the service. If the

buyers have the advantage of bargaining power, they will

drive prices down toward actual cost, toward the prices at

which supplies will diminish and prices will rise. If the

sellers have the advantage, they will drive prices up toward

present cost of duplication, toward the prices at which sup-

plies will increase and pr.ces will fall.

ee ae

61

Thus we see that, although one set of ‘‘costs’’ will pro-

vide no safe measure of ‘‘value,’’ consideration of both sets

of ‘‘costs’’ will help us to locate the field of ‘‘competitive

prices’’ and thereby to estimate what a ‘‘competitive value’’

would be. Thus reports of original and reproduction costs

will furnish factors useful for consideration in fixing a

“fair price.’’ With these costs of public service before us,

it becomes necessary to assume the existence of a continu-

ing competition in the furnishing of this service. This is

merely the assumption that there has been at all times a

balance of bargaining power between the sellers and users

of public service (which would prevent the sellers from

charging more than ‘‘fair prices’’). This assumption is

based on the public policy actually adopted, whereby, in-

stead of engaging in active competition with privately

owned utilities, in order to obtain competitive rates, the

legislative power has been exercised to give the public the

same protection through rate-regulation. This is the only

practical method (so far discovered) of encouraging pri-

vate interests to engage in public service and of protecting

public interests at the same time.

If the legislative power should be denied the right to fix

rates so as to compel public utility owners to charge no

more than ‘‘fair competitive prices’’ there would be a clear

duty imposed upon the legislative department to exercise

its undoubted power to engage in active competition.

‘*The power to construct or to authorize individuals

or corporations to construct national highways and

bridges from state to state is essential to the complete

control and regulation of interstate commerce."'

California v, Central P. R. Co., 127 U.S. 39. Ap-

proved in Dayton Goose Creck Railroad Com-

pany v. United States, 263 U.S. 456, 479,

No monopoly is so entrenched in property rights as to

make a competitive service impossible in this rapidly chang-

ing world. If the railroads of the United States could not

ae PIM EN INTE NRE, SONI ELS OLLI? ENTE IS ONAN

“7

62

be taken for public use without paying a compensation equal

to their ‘monopoly value,’’ based on the theoretical cost of

duplicating the identical properties—other means of com-

petition would not be lacking.

Already surfaced highways link together inore cities and

towns than are served by the steam railroads. The com-

mercial use of airplanes is in its infancy and the airways

are as yet not subject to private property rights. Engi-

neers have pointed out long ago the appalling waste of

energy in hauling a train weighing ten times the weight of

its passengers, in order to transport these persons by rail;

and have called attention to the fact that motor buses hau!

practically their own weight of passengers.

The legislative power is still adequate to compel common

earriers to charge fair competitive rates through creating

actual competition in service, without duplicating the tden

tical properties now used. But it is hardly to be assumed

that such means are necessary. It would require an ex-

traordinary change in the legal principles that have been

developed and maintained for centuries, to bring a ruling

that the legislative power of rate regulation is not sufficient

to insure the furnishing of public service at the same ‘rea

sonable rates’ that would be obtainable through the har

gaining power of actual, fair competition,

Nor is it to be expected that the exercise of legislative

judgment in fixing rates in the rather large field of com.

petitive prices will be subjected to judicial revision; be

cause, in the long run, the final decision must rest in the

legislative department. Having determined the prices at

which a fair competition can be maintained, the legislative

power, in protection of the public interest, must finally de

cide to enforce the charging of such ‘fair prices,”’ either

by the governmental power of rate regulation or by the

governmental power of competition. Such a determination

of public policy is a purely leguslatire act.

z MO Vat rok, ce Sas Sa ths Co saa nt Oa F ENF EAS RIN Th REE OLORE Y

63

Legislative Power to Determine Public Policy.

‘*Where the lawis * * *° calculated to effect any

of the objects entrusted to the Government, to under-

take here to inquire into the degree of its necessity

would be to pass the line which circumscribes the ju-

dicial department, and to tread on legislative ground.’’

Marshall, C. J., in McCulloch v. Maryland, 4 Wheat.

(U. 8S.) 316, 423.

‘‘Nor was the holding of the court final upon the

point of public policy. The legislature, provided it

acts within its constitutional authority, is the arbiter

of the public policy of the state.”’

C. RB. d Q. Railroad Co. v. McGuire, 219 U.S. 549,

565.

To the same effect is

Interstate Commerce Commission vo 1. C. R. R.,

215 U.S. 452, 470.

“The public policy of a State is to be found em-

bodied in its constitution, its statutes, and, when these

are silent on the subject, in the decisions of its courts.

The public policy of the State, when not fixed by the

constitution is not unalterable but varies upon any

given question with changing legislation thereon, and

any action which, in the absence of legislation thereon,

by the decisions of the courts has heen held contrary

to the publie policy of the State, is no longer contrary

to such public policy when such action is expressly

authorized by legislative enactment.”’

The People v. City of Chicago, 321 I. 466-475.

Does it not follow that legislative power exists to enforce

legislative policy? Therefore it should be clear that the field

of legislative power in rate making extends between monop-

aly prices and confiscatory prices, covering a wide range of

competitive prices, wherein the exercise of a ‘‘reasonable

judgment

is not subject to judicial review.

Point 8.

The sole question to be presented for judicial review is:

Has a ‘‘monopoly price’’ or a ‘‘confiscatory price’’ been

established?

The Interstate Commerce Commission has been author-

ized only to establish ‘‘ just and reasonable’’ rates. There-

fore, such unreasonable rates as might be charged (1) in the

absence of competition, or (2) in the presence of destrue.

tive competition, could not be established within the dele.

gated power. Thus only fair competitive prices are compre.

hended within the range of legislative discretion; and for

convenience and clarity of discussion we may be permitted

to define the field of discretion in rate-regulation as follows:

There is a central line where the bargaining powers of

sellers and buyers are evenly balanced, where competitive

conditions are ideal. From this line the field extends to

right and left into domains where sellers and buyers re-

spectively have an incrensing advantage in bargaining

power, until we reach a zone of uncertainty at each end of

the assured field of regulatory power. In these zones of

uncertainty the judicial power may, in the exercise of its

‘independent judgment,"’ determine: (1) that too great

**power to command a price’’ has been given to the sellers

and ‘‘monopoly prices’ have been fixed; or (2) that too

great ‘‘power to command a price’’ has been given to the

buyers and ‘‘confiscatory prices’’ have been fixed. Under

the standard of *‘reasonable rates’’ the owners of property,

used in public service, are entitled to realize ‘‘ reasonable

values’’ for such property. It follows that unfair competi-

tive prices will confer either a ‘‘monopoly value'’ or 4

*‘confiscatory value’’ upon the property used. Therefore,

we are justified in defining the field of judicial review as

z=

comprehending those ‘‘monopoly prices’’ or ‘‘confiscatory

prices’? that are clearly more or less than ‘‘fair competi-

tive prices.’’

(a) A ‘‘monopoly price,’’ as here defined, is one clearly

as any price obtainable by sellers under fair

competitive conditions.

(b) A ‘‘confiscatory price’’ as here defined, is one

clearly less than any price obtainable by buyers

under fair competitive conditions.

In order that the foregoing definitions may be serviceable

in the present discussion, it is necessary to emphasize that

the standard of ‘‘fair’’ competitive conditions must be also

defined and the word ‘‘clearly’’ must be liberally construed

—or there will be an unwarranted contraction of the field

of legislative discretion.

**It is fundamental that the judicial power to declare

legislative action invalid upon constitutional grounds

is to be exercised only in clear cases. The constitu-

tional invalidity must be manifest and if it rests upon

disputed questions of fact, the invalidating facts must

be proved."’

Minnesota Rate Cases, 230 U.S, 352, 452.

65

We are now faced with the necessity of describing with

some accuracy the field of fair competitive conditions so

that lines may be drawn between fair (competitive) prices

and either excessive (monopoly) prices or insufficient (con-

fiscatory) prices. A clear understanding of (1) what are

competitive conditions, (2) when they are ‘‘fair,’’ and (3)

what are fair competitive prices, is indispensable to a ra-

tonal criticism of rate-regulation. Under other social, po-

litical and economic systems there might be more easily

defined standards of ‘fair prices’’ and ‘‘fair values’? (al-

though we have no assurance that they would be better

standards). But we must face the fact that under actual

present conditions we have no standards of *‘fair prices’’

or ‘‘fair values’’ except the prices and values which

actually prevail in a ‘‘fair’’ market—which is a free market

where neither seller or buyers have any special advantage

in bargaining power.

The fact that actual ‘‘market value’’ is the only real

value which can be ascertained as an economic fact at a

particular time, has been recognized and clearly stated by

the economic and legal authorities (including the Supreme

Court) which are quoted in this brief under Point 4, b,

supra. There has been, however, comparatively little ju-

dicial discussion, in rate regulation cases, concerning what

are fair competitive conditions that create and maintain

a fair market. Yet ‘‘fair prices’’ and ‘‘fair values’’ can

not be found anywhere except in a fair market. If such

prices are to be established by law (instead of being fixed

in an actual market) the rate-making legislative power must

choose: either to create an actual market by establishing

actual competition, or to create the standard of a free and

fair market by assuming conditions of free and fair com.

petition.

Such a standard has been stated by the Supreme Court

of Illinois in the following language :

‘*Fixing rates by public authority may secure to

each individual the sienaieen of collective bargaining

by all in behalf of the whole body of consumers and

result in such a rate as might properly be supposed to

result from free competition, if free competition were

possible.’’

State Utilities Commission v. Springfield Gas Com-

pany (120), 201 TL, 208, 2s.

Is this standard of rate-regulation and value regulation

inconsistent with any principle announced, or any decision

made, by the Supreme Court of the United States? It is

useless to follow counsel for the carriers through all the

devious paths of argumentation whereby they seek to estab-

lish a legal right to charge unjust and unreasonable rates

It is unnecessary to comment upon quotations from judicial

—

67

opinions with which they seek legalistic justification for a

violation of their legal obligation to charge just and rea-

sonable rates. The question just stated still remains un-

answered.

It is only necessary to review the holdings of the Supreme

Court, from the decision in Munn y, Illinois down to date,

to demonstrate that this court has never held that rates for

public utility service must be based upon a valuation of

property that would compel the users to pay a monopoly

price or the highest possible price, or any price greater than

the reasonable worth of the service to the users. Such a

review appears in many recent opinions of this court and

need not be duplicated here. There have been written, how-

ever, many opinions of the court, denying that a. public

utility has a constitutional right to charge more than the

service is ‘reasonably worth’’ to the user; even though

(according to some opinions) ‘‘reasonable’’ rates to the

user may not always provide a ‘*reasonable’’ profit to the

seller, (See, for example, Cofting v. Kansas City Stock

Yards Company, 183 U.S. 79.) But there has been no de-

cision or opinion of the Supreme Court holding that rates

would not be ‘reasonable’? if they were fixed upon the

basis stated by the Supreme Court of Illinois in the opinion

just quoted.

Nor do we believe it can be fairly urged, or that this court

will have much patience with the contention, that, if the

private property of a public utility owner be given a value

which the owner might reasonably expect to reauize in a

state of free competition, nevertheless, the owner’s prop-

erty might thereby be ‘‘confiscated,”” or that he might be

deprived of a ** just compensation’’ measured by ‘‘the es-

tablished principles of private rights and distributive jus-

tiee.’”

Therefore, it is submitted that, if the Interstate Com-

merce Commission, acting under its delegated authority to

fix ‘‘reasonable”’ rates, has fixed such rates anywhere be-

tween monopoly prices and confiscatory prices (as here

defined) with the object of establishing what may be called

‘fair competitive prices,’’ the action of the Commission

has been taken safely within the limits of its delegated

power. if such ‘‘competitive prices’’ have been estab-

lished, then ‘‘competitive values’’ for property must have

been established also and the carriers cannot be heard to

complain that their properties have a much greater ‘‘true

value.’’ A greater value could only result from giving the

carriers a greater ‘‘power to command a price.’’ Such a

value could only result from assuming that the owners

ought to be subjected to less than free competition in the

furnishing of service. To make such an assumption would

be equivalent to granting the owners a partially monopo-

listic power, thus awarding them a monopolistic value for

their property based on a right conferred by law to charge

monopolistic prices.

A Monopoly Price

A **monopoly price’’ is not necessarily as high as an *‘ex-

tortionate price,"’ or a ‘‘hold-up price.'’ The owner of a

property right peculiarly necessary to a buyer may exact

an extortionate price. Bat such prices are obtained in indi-

vidual instances and rarely can be realized in a continuous

course of business. A monopoly cannot count on gouging

the public year after year by charging extortionate prices,

because eventually public or private competition will de

velop, in furnishing either the same service or a substitute

service. In addition to this threat of competition, there is

another natural limitation upon a permane:.t policy of ex-

tortionate prices. Quite commonly larger profits can be

made by selling greater quantities of goods, or more ser-

vices at a lower margin of profit, than can be made by sell-

ing smaller quantities for a greater margin of profit. There-

fore, a monopoly, wisely administered, will not charge ex-

tortionate prices, but will charge the highest possible price

consistent with the largest aggregate profit. Thus we may

expect a ‘‘monopoly price’’ to be a little less than the pres-

ent cost of duplicating the service (including a fair return

upon the necessary investment), because if the price equals

the present cost of duplicating the service, competition is

almost inevitable. This fact is emphasized in Van Hise on

Concentration and Control, pages 84-86, where the learned

author quotes with approval a similar analysis of ‘‘monop-

oly prices’’ by Ely in ‘* Monopolies and Trusts.’

A Confiscatory Price:

A ‘‘confiscatory price,’’ as here defined, is not as low as

a ‘‘cut-throat’’ price. Such prices, which are less than

cost of production and allow little or no profit to recom-

pense the owners of property used, may develop temporar-

ily where there is unregulated destructive competition. But

in a condition of fair competition, it may be assumed that

prices will not be reduced much below the level which will

provide a fair profit. Yet, what sellers will regard as a fair

profit depends largely upon current opportunities for in-

vestment and the returns obtainable on investment involv-

ing sunilar risks of loss and similar chances of gain.

In truth, competitive prices offer a wide range of possi-

bilities, rising to enormous speculative profits and sinking

to no profits at all. Vigorous criticism has been expressed

concerning the results of the competitive price system and

the unwisdom of attempting to regulate monopoly prices

70

upon the assumed basis of free competition.' This eriti-

cism, however, is based on the assumption that free com-

petition may produce anything from speculative profits to

loss of capital—which is true. There is, however, a range

of competitive prices which may be regarded as ‘‘fair’’

which lie between the excessive and insufficient prices which

we are defining now as ‘monopoly prices’? and **confis-

catory prices.”’

We have included within monopoly prices not only those

competitive prices which result from a complete control

of the market, but also those resulting from a partial con-

trol, in the interest of sellers. Likewise we must include

in our group of confiscatory prices, Hot only those which

result from a ruthless, destructive competition where sell-

ers are striving principally to avoid bankruptey in a market

controlled by buyers, but also those unsatisfactory prices

which result from a market partially controlled by buyers.

A Fair Competitive Price

Throughout this effort to define fair prices and fair com-

petitive conditions, it has been evident that it is impossible

to provide a formula or scientific test whereby accountants

and statisticians can take a mass of data and merely by a

series of computations produce figures representing fair

prices, Even where there ix active competition, a study of

"The attempt to carry over into the Geld of the large scale monopoly

the same price system that is assumed to prevail in the Geld of the

small competitive enterprise be heaad to result in a serious misfit One

reason why it ts « mieft i» that the competitive price system disregards

eo ruthiees!y the financial needs of the individeal producer To the low

cost prodecer, it yields profits far beyond the current rate of interest 08

invested cepital. to the bigh cost producer brings deficits that spell

bankruptcy and ruin As jong a6 competition is full and free. this

process hareh though K be to the anfortunate producer, may serve very

well the istorest of (he consumer For what matters it to him that aay

one pradecer is crippled so lone as be can turn to 8 more fortanate rivel

far his necessary serviews and commeditie’ Not so under monopoly

Nat so with « fellway that le alone ip eorving « community ~

fionbriaht. “The Keonemic Merits of Original Cost apd

Reproduction Cost”

Harvard Law Heview. March. 172% 693. 632

se ceciciaseal ca

—7—~V~“~”"

71

existing market prices must be qualified by a judgment as

to the fairness of competition, and the extent to which the

bargaining power of sellers or buyers may have been aided

by temporary, unfair conditions or by unjust use of political

or economic power, Like every ethical problem presented

for discussion and opinion, there must be taken into con-

sideration the balancing and compromising of conflicting

interests, the shifting currents of public and private inter-

ests, the necessities which arise from human weaknesses

and incapacities; and the uncertainties which thwart all

efforts to determine what are the ideal uses of human

strength and capacity.

‘*The boundary at which the conflicting interests

balance cannot be determined by any general formula in

advance, but points in the line, or helping to establish

it, are fixed by decisions that this or that concrete case

falls on the nearer or farther side.’’

Hudson County Water Co. v. McCarter, 209 U. 8.

349, 355.

It is seldom the ideally just, the mechanically perfect,

solution which can be sought as an immediate object of

political action. And so in the regulation of fair prices,

one of the most difficult problems that can be presented for

determination by officers of government, we have been

forced in this country to lay down by legislation, and to

support by judicial opinion, the vague standard of what is

“fair’’ and ‘‘reasonable’’; and to establish commissions

composed of men who may be expected to think and act

impartially upon intimate knowledge of the problems con-

fided to them, and to arrive at a reasonable judgment. Then

unless we permit a fair trial of the results it is practically

impossible ever to determine the reasonableness or unrea-

sonableness of the judgment exercised. The old human road

of trial and error seems unavoidable.

As previously pointed out, any effort to coerce this ad-

ministrative judgment, this exercise of legislative discre-

—

72

tion, by the establishment of formulas for the determination

of what is ‘‘fair’’ and ‘‘reasonable’’ is simply an effort to

destroy the substance of legislative power by denying to

the legislative department the power to determine what

property rights shall be conferred upon, and exercised by,

private persons engaged in furnishing public service, which

will be consistent with and not destructive of the public

interest.

It is submitted that in dealing with the problem of rate

regulation and value regulation which has been presented to

the Interstate Commerce Commission for its solution in con-

formity with legislative standards which have been ex,

pressed in general terms, the Commission has exercised

reasonably the legislative power delegated to it. To dem-

onstrate this, the precise legislative standards provided

must now be considered, and interpreted in the light of the

general standards of rate-regulation heretofore reviewed.

PART IIL.

THE LEGISLATIVE STANDARDS FOR RATE REGU.

LATION AND VALUE REGULATION,

Point 9.

In its exercise of the legislative power of rate-making Con.

gress, in the Interstate Commerce Act, has authorised

and directed the Interstate Commerce Commission:

(a) ‘To determine and prescribe what will be the

just and reasonable’’ rates. (Sec. 15 (1).)

(b) Se “NERD oF tpn ea EAS 80 a8 Be

vide a ‘‘fair return upon the

of railway property. (Sec. 15a (2).)

(c) 2.) imposed on every indi-

vidual railroad in regard to net income exceed

Mh ge a

(6).)

d) To determine the aggragute value throagh is

' individual valuations ‘‘ascertained’’ through

SMA

—

73

‘its investigation under Section 19a,’’ giving

‘‘due consideration to all the elements of value

recognized by the law of the land for rate-mak-

ing purposes.’’ (Sec. 15a (4).)

(Sections 15a and 19a are printed in full in Appendix C.)

There are two particulars in which the legislative action

of Congress providing for regulation of transportation

rates is to be distinguished from previous and customary

rate regulation.

First, the basis of rate fixing is not the value of an indi-

vidual property, but the ‘aggregate value’’ of many prop-

erties which are held in separate ownership.

Second, the rates fixed are expected to provide an exces-

sive return for some property, a part of which is to be

recaptured for public uses.

The effect of these unique factors in rate regulation is

to demonstrate conclusively that the purpose in valuing an

individual property is not to determine an absolute value,

but is merely to fix an amount which will represent the

value which the property should have for its owner in view

of his legal obligation to charge only just and reasonable

rates. Under the scheme of regulation adopted, a carrier

not only may earn and retain 6% of the ‘‘value’’ fixed for

its property, but it may earn much more; and it may retain

one-half the excess earnings which are held temporarily in a

reserve fund, which may be drawn upon to pay returns on

property values in the form of dividends or interest or

rent. But such reserve fund need not be maintained after

it reaches 5% of the ‘‘value’’ fixed.

It should be apparent that the carrier's concept of one

“true value"’ is wholly inapplicable to the methods provided

for fixing values and rates in the Transportation Act of

1920. In Dayton-Goose Creek Railroad Company v. United

States, 263 U. 8, 456, counsel for the carriers made the fol-

lowing claim, according to the opinion of the court:

“The value of property, it is argued, really depends

on the profit to be expected from its use and should

—_ MEINE LIE ee ap ee AO RO A NO OS

74

be calculated on the income from rates prevailing when

the law was passed, which must be presumed to have

been reasonable.’’

The court held that this argument was not open to the

carrier on the record because the carrier had not made the

issue before the Commission that the value reported by

it to the Commission was not the ‘‘true value."’ As a re-

sult, it was held:

‘*We cannot consider an issue of fact that was pri-

marily at least committed by the act to the Commission,

when the carrier has not invoked the decision of that

tribunal."’

Although the Supreme Court did not pass upon this

‘‘valne”’ claim of the carrier, it must be clear that the claim

could not have been sustained. If the *‘true value’’ of the

carrier property must be calculated ‘‘from rates prevail-

ing,”’ then no excess income could possibly be recaptured

and prevailing rates producing unjustifiable profits could

not be reduced. On the other hand, if existing rates were

insufficient for many carriers they could not be increased

because, by the same circuitous reasoning, these rates would

also provide a fair return on the value of the property

ascertained by capitalizing the net income under existing

rates.

But the claim of the carriers in the Dayton-Goose Creek

Case did emphasize one fact in conflict with the present

claims of the carriers, which is that ‘‘value’' in the ordinary

sense must depend upon earning power. Thereby, it is again

made evident that the value to be fixed by the Interstate

Commerce Commission is not the value that properties

have under existing rates, or might! have under rates which

could be charged, but the value which they ought to have

under reasonable rates.

The entire opinion in the Dayton-Goose Creek Case

illuminating in showing the many factors which must be

considered by the Interstate Commerce Commission in fixing

reasonable rates, in accordance with the existing law. Fur-

75

thermore, the opinion, in emphasizing that the carriers have

no constitutional right to expect such profits as may be

obtained from private enterprise, demonstrates clearly that

the carriers have no constitutional right to have their prop-

erties valued on the same basis as properties would be

valued when devoted to private business. Particularly it

should be clear that the carriers have no constitutional

right to have their properties valued on the basis of the

highest possible values which could be obtained for prop-

erties devoted to private business.

‘**The carrier owning and operating a railroad, how-

ever strong financially, however economical in its facil-

ities, or favorably situated as to traffic, is not entitled

as of constitutional right to more than a fair net oper-

ating income upon the value of its properties which are

being devoted to transportation. By investment in a

business dedicated to the public service, the owner must

recognize that as compared with investment in private

business he cannot expect either high or speculative

dividends, but that his obligation limits him to only

fair or reasonable profit.”

(Dayton-Goose Creek Opinion, p. 481.)

We would point out that the obligation limiting the own-

ers of public utility property ‘“‘to only fair or reasonable

profit’? has the inevitable result of limiting the values of

their properties to only ‘fair or reasonable’’ values.

The following further quotation from the Dayton-Goose

Creck Case is most pertinent:

**In the New England Divistons Case (Akron, C. & Y.

R. Co. v. United States), 261 U.S. 184, 67 L. Ed. 695,

43 Sup. Ct. Rep. 270, it was held that, under par. 418,

the Commission, in making division of joint rates be-

tween groups of carriers, might, in the public interest,

consult the financial needs of a weaker group in order

to maintain it in effective operation as part of an ade-

quate transportation system, and give it a greater share

of such rates, if the share of the other group was ade-

quate to avoid a confiscatory result.

‘In both cases it was pointed out that the Transpor-

tation Act adds a new and important object to previous

GROTON AT LOLOL SEL TIEN A OR

76

interstate commerce legislation, which was designed pri-

marily to prevent unreasonable or discriminatory rates

against persons and localities. The new Act seeks af.-

firmatively to build up a system of railways prepared

to handle promptly all the interstate traffic of the coun-

try. It aims to give the owners of the railways an

opportunity to earn enough to maintain their proper.

ties and equipment in such a state of efficiency that they

ean carry well this burden. To achieve this great pur-

pose it puts the railroad systems of the country more

completely than ever under the fostering guardianship

and control of the Commission, which is to supervise

their issue of securities, their car supply and distribu-

tion, their joint use of terminals, their construction of

new lines, their abandonment of old lines, and by a

proper division of joint rates, and by fixing adequate

rates for interstate commerce, and, in case of diserim.

ination, for intrastate commerce, to secure a fair re-

turn upon the properties of the carriers engaged.

“*Tt was insisted in the two cases referred to, and it is

insisted here, that the power to regulate interstate com.

merce is limited to the fixing of reasonable rates and

the prevention of those which are discriminatory, and

that, when these objects are attained, the power of

regulation is exhausted. This is too narrow a view of

the commerce clause. To regulate in the sense intended

ia to foster, protect and control the commerce with

appropriate regard to the welfare of those who are

immediately concerned, as well ax the public at large,

and to promote its growth and insure its safety."’ (p.

477.)

When Congress sought by the Transportation Act,

through the Interstate Commerce Commission, ‘‘to build

up a system of railways prepared to handle promptly all

the interstate traffic of the country,’’ Congress dealt with

the transportation system as a whole. As the court held

later in the same opinion (p. 479):

“If Congress may build railroads under the com-

merce clause, it may certainly exercise affirmative con-

trol over privately owned railroads to sec that such

railroads are equipped to perform, and do perform the

requisite public service.’

ml Lye phe tthe: RNY A RSL aar egw OTE Wat I ar fa se ete

NW SN a Nee Ge wt .

77

Thereby, in fixing rates, the Interstate Commerce Com-

mission could not avoid a constant comparison of the actual

privately owned system with a possible publicly owned Sys-

tem designed to render the same service. The Commission

could not avoid considering what rates would be necessary

to support such a publicly owned transportation system,

and in fixing reasonable rates the Commission would be

forced to conclude that reasonable rates for service under

private ownership could not greatly exceed such rates as

would be reasonable under public ownership.

The Commission might well find it necessary to allow a

larger rate of return for private capital than would be nec-

essary to recompense public capital. But on what theory

could the Commission assume that more capital would be

required to develop a privately owned system than would

be necessary to develop a publicly owned system?

Beyond this difference in rate of return what justifica-

tion would the Commission have for increasing rates for

privately owned roads above those which would be neces.

sary to support publicly owned railroads? © ‘rtainly pri-

vate enterprise does not claim that its operating expenses

are actually greater than those which would be incurred

by the government,

It seems therefore that the heart of regulation of rates

in conformity with the provisions of Section Ia is the pro-

vision for valuation. Individual properties are to be

valued but rates are to be based upon an aggregate valu-

ation, Inevitably rates so fixed will give different earn-

ing powers to the individual roads. Some will earn more

than the average fair return, some will earn less. The

aggregate valuation measures the rate basis, not by the

‘value’? of individual roads (in any ordinary definition

“market value’’), but by the value of a system of roads

which are not under common ownership, and thereby com-

prehends not the ‘‘value’’ to the individual owners, but the

PAR RL eet) He RENN, TIN MANLY ROE: PURO PT LR RP I a

PS ke TEA BSS '

78

value of the whole system as an instrument of public serv.

ice, which means essentially the value of the system to the

users. The primary standard for the Commission fixed by

the Transportation Act is to determine the reasonable

worth of the service to the users.

Point 10.

The ‘egislative power thus provided no formula for fixing

reasonable rates, but required its administrative agent

to obtain a vast amount of information, to consider it

and to report it, so

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.