Appellees Briefo — London Co. v. Industrial Comm'n

Supreme Court brief1929

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

I. Reference to the Opinion of the Supreme Court of

. ———

, SER ad stent aU

11 ĩ —½!

2. Sections of the California Workmen's Compen-

RRA —— 8

III. Summary of Appellant's Contentions and Our

— TAT

IV. Argument of Reasons Why the Deeision of the

Supreme Court of the State of California

(

A. The Controlling Principle in This Case

B

The Local Law May Govern a Vessel in Its

PT———T—T—T—T—— a ay

ERS MEINE PLS Ree I LMT LLP

D.

EK. The Maritime Law Eular ged.

F. The Principle of the Strand Case

G. The Merchant Marine Aci

II. Admiralty Jurisdiction of Causes of Action

(a) Action Not Founded on Tortt

% — —

.

(¢) Action on Insurance Contracet

(f) No Violation of Exclusive Admiralty

Rn eae RT ELA,

EERE

TABLE OF CASES

—

Alaska Packers Asan. vs. Industrial Ace. Com., 200 Cal.

79

c 12, 13, 41

American Steamboat Co. vs. Chase, 16 Wall. 522, 530. 23, 32

Anderson vs. Pacifie Coast 8. 33

te., 48 8. Ct. 5055.

=. II, 12. 24. 25,

Groves va. Slaughter, 15 Pet. 505

Hooper vs, California, 155 U.S 3

Industrial Ace. Com va James Rolph Co, 264 L. 8

Ketchikan I. 4 8 Co. wa Bishop, 24 Fed. (2nd) 63

Knickerbocker lee Co. va. Stewart, 253 U. S. 149. 15,

Lord vx. Goodall Ete Steamship Co, 102 l“, & 343.

Miller's lud. Underwriters va Braud, 46 8 Ct 194, 23

U.S Se

% „ Merchants Bank, 6 How.

Newport Ete. Bridge (% va. U8 105 7 8. 492

18 ‘

> > .

Northern Coal 4 Dock Co ve Industrial Com, 213 N W.

6589

TABLE OF CASES—Continued

Pacific Mail S. 8. Co. vs Joliffe, 2 Wall. 450, 459. 735

Panama R. Co. vs. Johnson, 264 U. S. 375 23, 24, 26

Passenger Cases, 7 How. 399, 400 27

Pensacola Tel. Co. vs. West Ete. Tel Co., 96 U. 8. 22. 28

„r r 15, 17

Quong Ham Wah vs. Industrial Acc. Com., 184 Cal. 26. 38

Robbins Drydock & Repair Co. vs. Dahl, 266 U. S. 449 — 15

Rosengrant vs. Havard, 47 8. Ct. 454444. 12, 29, 30, 31

Sands vs. Manistee River Imp. Co., 123 U. S. 295 27

Sherlock vs. Alling, 93 U. S. 99, 10 33

Sinnot vs. Davenport, 22 How. 243_....-.......-.....-- 28

Southern Pacific Co. va. Jensen, 244 U. S. 205. 15, 23

8. 8. Bowdoin Co. vs. Industrial Acc. Com., 246 UI. S. 648

rr. . AA tpiisbaieneansunichsiienaaeeate 15, 17, 42

S. 8. Catala vs. Dagsland (B. C. D. 928), 3 D. L. R. 334. 42

State Freight Tax Case, 15 Wall. 2777. 27

Stoutenburgh va. Hennick, 129 U. S. 150 28

Sultan Ry. Timber Co. vs. Dept. of Labor Ete., 48 S. Ct.

—!! . K 12

„„den eie 23

The Belfast, 74 U. 8 T! A Aceresdnigsonc aa 19, 21

The Chelentis va. Luckenbach S. S. Oe. 247 U. 8. 872. — 1

The General Smith, 4 Wheat, 488 14

. 9 0 AA 23

. ü, i se 23

The Lottawanna, 21 Wall. (88 U. 8.) 55888. 14

. / h A 9

— ( ¾ ⁰— A tee rsdn ceicvivnishcecdinns 28

T. Smith & Son vs. Taylor, 276 U. S. 179999 18

U. A R. C. Knight Co., 156 U. S. 12, 82. 27, 28

— —, , ¶ A ]%⁰ . %˙˖¹

Washington vx. Dawson & Co., 264 U. S. 2199 17

Western Un. Tel. Co, vs. James, 162 U. 8. 6666. 35

Western Un. Tel. Co. va. a his eens. 27

Wilson va. McNamee, 102 U. 8. 57222 33

TEXTS AND STATUTES CITED

Conatitution of the United States, Art. III. See. 2

Federal Employers Liability Act, e. 149, 35 Stat 65, and

chapter 143, $6 Stat. 291 (45 U.S. C. A. §§ 51-59) 22. 26. 29

Jones, or Merchant Marine Act, 4] Stat. 1007

Judicial Code, Sections 24 and 256

Merchant Marine Act, 4] Stat 10077.

Workmen's Compensation Act of California (Chap. 586)

See. 6 (a) Cal, Laws 1917

See. 9 (e (1) Cal. Laws 1917

See. 9 (e) (3) Cal Laws 1917

See. 30, Cal. Laws 1917

IN THE

SUPREME COURT

UNITED STATES.

Ocroser TERM, 1928

No. 491

Lonpon GUARANTEE AND ACCIDENT COMPANY,

Lrp.,

Appellant,

vs.

InpustaaL AccipENT COMMISSION OF THE

Strate or CaLivornia, SARAH JANE Brooke,

anp JOHN ArTHUR BROOKE,

Appellees.

BRIEF FOR APPELLEES

I

REFERENCE TO THE OPINION OF THE SUPREME

COURT OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

The decision of the Supreme Court of the State

of California, now on appeal before this court, will

be found by this court on pages 106 to 109, inclusive,

in the printed transcript of record. This opinion,

though not yet printed in the official California

Reports, may be found in printed form in the

Advance Sheets of the California Decisions, volume

75, page 481.

Sig foe

II

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

1. The Facts.

The Morris Pleasure Fishing, Inc., is a corpora-

tion whose business is that of maintaining and

operating a small fleet of fishing vessels for the

accommodation of the general public seeking recre-

ation in deep sea fishing.

Its headquarters is at the city of Santa Monica

Municipal Pier (R. 39), which is fifteen or sixteen

hundred feet long (R. 48). In the fishing seasons,

its practice has been to send these small fishing ves-

sels out from Santa Monica Pier to the fishing

grounds in Senta Monica Bay, carrying passengers

who desire to fish at fixed charges for half-day and

full-day trips. For use in this business, this corpo-

ration on and prior to April 8, 1926, had six vessels

(R. 39). On April 8, 1926, there were “four in

operation, two laid up“ (R. 42). The four in oper-

ation ranged from four to fourteen tons registry

(R. 43). Each boat is captained by a licensed boat

operator or skipper, who is assisted by a crew of one

or more employees (R. 30, 40). The business is

confined entirely to the maintenance and operation

of these pleasure fishing vessels and transportation

of patrons desiring to fish in the waters of Santa

Monica Bay, except that the corporation would

supply these patrons with bait.

These vessels, equipped with gas engines (R. 43),

were capable of cruising a distance of five hundred

miles (R. 44), but none ever did. THESE VES-

SELS PRIOR TO APRIL 8, 1926, NEVER LEFT

THE WATERS OF SANTA MONICA BAY ON

THESE FISHING TRIPS (R. 43).

Santa Monica Bay is described by witness Captain

Cliff A. Morris (R. 43) as follows:

„e. Where did they usually go to fish?

A. In Santa Monica Bay, as they call it. It is

a bay inside of a line drawn between Point Fir-

min and Point Duma.

Q. About how far from shore?

A. About ten miles, approximately, from the

Santa Monica Pier.

Q. Did they ever make any exception to the

place where they went fishing? Just describe it

yourself.

A. When they land at San Pedro, they went

outside, up Santa Monica Bay, for repairs, but

they never run outside. They have since, our

boats, this summer, have gone outside ten miles,

ten miles, but not then. (Italies ours.)

These fishing vessels leave Santa Monica Pier with

patrons on board, going out to fishing grounds two

and one-half or three miles (R. 39), but not more

than five miles (R. 43) except that sometimes they

go over to what they call ‘the rock-cod bank,’ about

ten miles straight out. (R. 39.)

The only time, apparently, these vessels ever leave

Santa Monica Bay is when they go to San Pedro,

thirty miles around the shore, for repairs (R. 43).

These vessels were used exclusively for carrying

patrons desiring to do deep sea fishing (R. 43). This

— 642

corporation did not use these vessels for commercial

fishing for its own benefit ( R. 41, 43) ; the fish caught

belonged to the patrons (R. 40).

As a necessary incident to the operation of these

vessels the company employed seamen to navigate

the vessels.

John James Uttley Brooke, an unmarried minor,

eighteen years of age, on and prior to April B. 1926,

was employed by this corporation as an apprentice

navigator and seaman (R. 28, 30). He had applied

for a license as a navigator or skipper or boat oper-

ator, but could not get one (R. 30).

Leland Gregory, married, and the father of two

minor children (R. 35, 37), was employed by this cor-

poration as a boat operator or master of a boat

(R. 44) on and prior to April 8, 1926. Captain Stan-

ton Morris was the official in charge of this business

(R. 48) and the immediate superior of Brooke

(R. 48) and Gregory.

On April 8, 1926, the sea was rough and none of

these boats could be operated that day (R. 43, 40).

One of these veasels, the W. K.,“ was moored, with

no one aboard (R. 45, 40), in Santa Monica Bay,

about one-half to three-quarters of a mile from the

pier (R. 47). In the storm, this vessel, with no one

aboard, broke loose from her moorings early in the

afternoon and began to drift toward the «hore

(R. 45). At the time, a group of these employees

were gathered on the pier (R. 47). Captain Morris

arrived on the scene and said to these employees

(including Gregory and Brooke), Come on boys,

let us save it’? (R. 48). Captain Morris, Brooke and

Gregory got into an eighteen-foot skiff lying at the

wharf and started out toward the drifting vessel.

When they were about fifty feet from the vessel

„W. K.,“ their skiff overturned and all three were

drowned (R. 47).

Appellant, London Guarantee and Accident Co.,

Limited, had issued a standard workmen’s compen-

sation insurance policy to the employer corporation,

Morris Pleasure Fishing, Inc., covering its liability

to pay compensation to injured employees of said

corporation where such employees suffered industrial

injury or death arising out of or in the course of that

employment.

2. Two Awards Made by the Industrial Accident Com-

mission

Thereafter, the mother and stepfather of Brooke

filed an application or claim for a death benefit with

the California Industrial Accident Commission.

Likewise, the widow and minor children of Gregory

filed another application or claim for death benefit

with the Industrial Accident Commission. Hear-

ings were held in the two proceedings, which by stipu-

lation were considered together.

No dependency being shown by the mother and

stepfather of Brooke, they were denied a death bene-

fit but were awarded the sum of one hundred

fifty dollars on account of burial expense, pursuant

to the provisions of section 9 (e) 3, which provides:

“If the deceased employee leaves no person

dependent upon him for support, the employer

shall be hable for the reasonable expenses of his

burial, not exceeding one hundred fifty dollars

and such other benefit as may be provided by

lau-.

In the Gregory case, the widow and minor children

of the deceased employee Gregory were found to be

wholly dependent and were awarded a death benefit

of five thousand dollars, based on maximum annual

earnings, in addition to funeral expenses in the sum

of one hundred fifty dollars, a total of five thou-

sand one hundred fifty dollars, pursuant to the pro-

Visions of section 9%) 1, which provides:

In ease the deceased employee leaves a person

or persons wholly dependent upon him for sup-

port, such dependents shall be allowed the reason-

able XI of his burial, hot exceeding ore hun-

dred fifty dollars, and a death benefit, which shall

he a sum sufficient, when added to the disability

indemnity which at the time of his death has

acerued and become payable, under the provisions

of subsection (6) hereto, to make the total disa-

bility indemnity and death benefit equal to three

times his average annual earnings, such average

annual earnings to be taken at not less than three

hundred thirty-three dollars and thirty-three

eents nor more than one thousand six hundred

sixty-«iy, dollars and sixty-six cents.

The award made by the California Industrial Acci-

dent Commission in the Gregory case has never been

appealed, but, by «tipulation of all parties, is depend-

8

ent upon the appeal now before this court. The deci-

sion of this court, therefore, in the case at bar will

determine whether or not the widow and minor chil-

dren of Leland Gregory are to receive this award of

five thousand one hundred fifty dollars.

These two awards were made under the authority

of the provisions of the Workmen’s Compensation,

Insurance and Safety Act of 1917 (chapter 586 of

the California Statutes of 1917, as amended), and

particularly under the authority of sections 9 (c) 1,

9 (c) 3 (above quoted), and section 6 (a) of that act.

Section 6 (%) provides:

“See, 6. (a) Liability for the compensation

provided by this act, in lieu of any other liability

whatsoever to any person, shall, without regard to

negligence, exist against an employer for any

injury sustained by his employees arising out of

and in the course of the employment and for the

death of any such employee if the injury shall

proximately cause death, in those cases where the

following conditions of compensation concur:

(1) Where, at the time of the injury, both the

employer and employee are subject to the com-

pensation provisions of this act.

(2) Where, at the time of the injury, the

employee is performing service growing out of

and incidental to his employment and is acting

within the course of his employment.

(3) Where the injury is proximately caused by

the employment, either with or without negli-

genes, and is not caused by the intoxication of the

injured employee, or is not intentionally Self-

inflicted.”’

on Oe

Ili

SUMMARY OF CONTENTIONS AND ARGUMENT

A

APPELLANT'S CONTENTIONS SUMMARIZED

Appellant founds this appeal upon an assignment

of ten errors, summarized as follows:

(1) The CONTRACT of employment was MARI-

TIME,

(2) The EMPLOYMENT was MARITIME.

(3) The employees’ SERVICES were MARI-

TIME.

(4) The INJURY to employees was MARITIME,

(5) The employer's BUSINESS was MARI-

TIME.

(6) The STATE STATUTE (Compensation Act)

ma; net be applied and the benefits therein given

furnished the dependents of Brooke and Gregory,

the deceased emplovees,

(7) ALL matters (including the rights and liabil-

ities of employee, eraployver and employer's insurance

earrier) were erclasseelg within the jurisdiction of

the admiralty courts.

(8) The application of a state statute (the Com-

pensation Act) violates section 2 of article LI] of the

federal constitution.

(9) The juriediction of a STATE COURT (Cali-

fornia Industrial Accident Commission) contravenes

the erclusive jurisdiction of the admiralty courts in

the case at bar.

(10) The AWARD of the California Commission

contravenes the exclusive jurisdiction of the admi-

ralty courts.

SUMMARIZED to the last analysis, appellant's

contention is that the admiralty courts had exclusive

jurisdiction because the contract was maritime, the

employment was maritime, the services were mari-

time, the business was maritime and the casualty

occurred upon navigable waters.

Noticeable by their absence among appellant's con-

tentions are:

(1) Brooke’s injury constituted a maritime tort;

(2) That the maritime law furnished any remedy

specifically :

(a) Wages, maintenance and cure under the

rule of The Osceola, 189 U. 8. 158. in

disability (not death) cases;

(hb) Suit for damages;

(3) That the transportation of fishing patrons

exclusively on the waters of Santa Monica Bay was

interstate or foreign commerce,

(4) That article I. tion 8. subdivision 3 of the

federal constitution was violated,

B

StuMMany or AnGuMENT

REASONS WHY THE DECISION OF THE SUPREME COURT OF

THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA SHOULD BE AFFIRMED

A. The Controlling Principle Already Enunciated,

B. The Local Law May Govern With the Vessel in

Its Home Port.

(„ Why the Jensen Case Does Not Control.

D. The Effect of the Commerce Clause of the Con-

stitution.

E. The Maritime Law Enlarged.

F. The New Principle of the Strand Case.

G. The Merchant Marine Act.

H. Admiralty Jurisdiction of Causes of Action.

a. Action set founded on maritime tort.

No tert preveds.

„ No“ maritime tort.

Action founded on compensation statute.

Action on insurance contract,

. Enforcement of state statute and insur-

ance contract does not violate exclusive

wmimiralty jurisdiction,

lV

ARGUMENT

Reasons Why the Decision of the Supreme Court of the

State of California Should Be Affirmed

The BUSINESS of the employer was entirely

INTRASTATE and the WORK of the deceased

employees, Brooke and Gregory, was entirely

LOCAL in character. There was no commerce or

navigation of INTERSTATE or FOREIGN charac-

ter, no port to pert transportation, in fact, no depart-

ure from the one pert of Santa Monica.

No rights and liabilities of persons engaged in

interstate or foreign trade are here involved. The

cause of action is nonmaritime.

nO ed

The maritime law furnishes no remedy upon the

facts found in the case at bar. .

ONE FACT, the use of navigable waters in the

employer's business, permits the admiralty court to

assert jurisdiction IN GENERAL MARITIME

cases, Opposing facts, the LOCAL character of the

business and the nonmaritime character of the

CAUSE OF ACTION, deprive the jurisdiction of

the admiralty courts of its EXCLUSIVENESS.,

A

Tur Controuiinc NC ALaEapy Enunciatep

By Tuns Court

The rule now is that the application of state work-

men's compensation acts to maritime injuries or to

injuries occurring upon navigable waters is forbid-

den only where the application of that statute would

interfere with the characteristic harmony and uni-

formity of the maritime law in its interstate and

international aspects,

It is now established that it is not merely the

uniformity of the general maritime law which is

essential but the uniformity of the general mari-

time law tn ifs interstate and international aspect

and that maritime injuries of a local significance

may still be governed by the State Compensation

Act. (Italies ours.)

(rant Smith-Porter Ship Co. vs. Rohde, 257

U. S. 469.

And again:

“Under such circumstances regulation of

rights, obligations, and consequent liabilities of

the parties, as between themselves, by a local rule,

would not necessarily work material prejudice to

any characteristic feature of the general maritime

law, or interfere with the proper harmony or

uniformity of that law in ITS INTERNA-

TIONAL OR INTERSTATE RELATIONS.”

(Italies and capitalization ours.)

Grant Smith-Porter Ship Co. va. Rohde, 257

U. S. 469.

This rule has been adhered to by this court in the

following line of decisions:

Miller's lad, Underwriters vs. Braud, 46 Sup Ct.

194;

Rosengrant vs. Havard, 47 Sup. Ct. 454;

Alaska Packers Assn. vs. lndustrial Acc, Com.,

48 Sup. Ct. 346;

Sultan Ry. Timber Co. vs. Dept. of Labor, et.,

48 Sup. Ct. 505.

Eclipse Mill Co. vs. Dept. of Labor, etc., 48 Sup.

Ct, 305.

In the joint opinion on the last two cited cases

this court said:

“It is settled by our decisions that, where the

employment, although maritime in character, per-

tains to local matters, having only an incidental

relation to navigation and commerce, the rights,

obligations, and liabilities of the parties, as

between themaclves, may be regulated by local

rules which do pot work material prejudice to the

characteristic features of the general maritime

law or interfere with its uniformity’ * * *.”’

pas cele

In the same two cases, Mr. Justice Brandeis, in Eis

concurring opinion, also says:

put in both the controlling principle

is well settled, and the question presented is

simply whether on the principal facts it is

applicable. (Italics ours.)

Under the facts found in the case at bar, even if

this court, after consideration of our argument to the

contrary, as hereinafter set forth, should hold that

the admiralty courts did have jurisdiction, then, and

in that event, the foregoing stated principle would

still permit the assertion of jurisdiction by the Indus-

trial Accident Commission of the State of California

and the application of the provisions of the Work-

men's Compensation Act of that state to the rights

and liabilities of the parties to this proceeding. This

principle is alone decisive of the question presented

in this proceeding.

Petitioner's differentiation between seamen and

other maritime workers engaged in work of a local

character and argument that the rule of the Rohde

case does net apply because Brooke was a seaman

fails when this court’s decision in Alaska Packers

Assn, vs. Industrial Acc. Com., 48 Sup. Ct. 346, is

called to mind. In that case, Peterson's contract of

employment called for services as a seaman or fisher-

man. At the moment of his injury he was shoving his

fishing boat off the beach, a fishing boat which he had

navigated and which was capable of being used on a

several days’ cruise. This court held that such

ee

service of a seaman was not ‘so directly connected

with navigation and commerce that to permit the

rights of the parties to be controlled by the local law

would interfere with the essential uniformity of the

general maritime law.“

B

Tur Loca Law May Govern Wirn THE VESSEL IN

Ivs Home Port

The facts in the case at bar disclose that neither of

the deceased employees, Brooke or Gregory, were

even members of the crew of the drifting vessel

„W. K., which, together with the other three vessels,

in condition to be operated, NEVER LEFT THE

PORT OF SANTA MONICA in the course of the

business of the employer.

With a vessel in its home port, it is the policy of

the general maritime law to allow matters concerning

it to be governed by the local law. The maritime law

ia more largely interested im vessels to the extent that

they are participating in interstate or foreign com-

merce or are voyacing. It surrenders to the domestic

law all regulation of matters concerned purely with

the domestic or internal affairs of the vessel, and the

civil rights and duties of its owner in his relation to

individuals in the state of his own domicile.

The General Smith, 4 Wheat. 435;

The Lottawana, 21 Wall. (88 U. 8.) 558,

These vessels were in their home port.

Application of the provisions of the Compensation

8

Act of California to the rights of these employees and

the liabilities of this employer and to the contractual

liabilities of the insurance carrier, appellant herein,

under the circumstances found in the case at bar,

has always been permitted by the admiralty courts,

Cc

Wu THe Jensen Decision Dors Nor Corno.

Appellant's argument, in substance, is based upon

the decision of this court in the Jensen case, Southern

Pacific Co. vs. Jensen, 244 U. S. 645, as followed by

other decisions of this court in

Clyde S. S. Co. vs. Walker, 244 U. S. 255;

Peters vs. Veasey, 251 U. S. 121;

The Chelentis vs. Luckenbach S. S. Co., 247

U.S. 372;

Knickerbocker lee Co, vs. Stewart, 253 C. S.

149;

Industrial Accident Com, vs. James Rolph Co.,

24 U.S. 219;

Robbins Drydock & Repair Co. vs. Dahl, 266

U.S. 449;

F. I. Bowdoin Co, vs, Industrial Acc. Com., 246

U.S. 648,

As stated by this court in the Jensen case, supra:

“And plainly, we think no such legislation is

valid if it contravenes the essential purpose

expressed by an act of congress, or works material

prejudice to the characteristic features of the gen-

eral maritime law, or interferes with the proper

harmony and uniformity of that law in its inter-

national and interstate relations. If New York

16

can subject foreign ships coming into her ports to

such obligations as those imposed by her compen-

sation statute, other states may do likewise. The

necessary consequences would be destruction of

the very uniformity in respect to maritime mat-

ters which the constitution was designed to estab-

lish: and freedom of navigation between the

states and with fore tpn countric * would be sert-

ously ham pe red and ne ded.” (Italies ours.)

It clearly appears in the Jensen case that Jensen,

working as a stevedore, was unloading A SHIP

ENGAGED IN INTERSTATE AND FOREIGN

COMMERCE. There was, therefore, a direct rela-

tion between Jensen's services and that class of com-

meree. Distinetively, in the case at bar, the ship was

not engaged in interstate or foreign commerce.

Likewise, WITHOUT EXCEPTION, in every

ease cited by petitioner as adopting the rule in the

Jensen case, the ship upon which the injury oecurred

was ENGAGEDIN INTERSTATE OR FOREIGN

TRADE.

By contrast, WITHOUT EXCEPTION, in every

ease following the rule in the Rohde case, the ship

was NOT ENGAGED in interstate or foreign com-

merten,

This basic differentiation goes on beyond mere

cancidence and must indicate the foundation of the

distinction between local maritime matters under

the state courts’ coneurrent jurisdiction and purely

maritime matters under the admiralty courts’ exclu-

sive Jurisdiction.

3

In Clyde S. S. Co. vs. Walker, 244 U. 8. 255,

Walker, a stevedore, was injured while unloading

the Steamer Cherokee,“ just arrived in New York

Harbor from North Carolina.

In S. S. Bowdoin Co, vs. Industrial Acc. Com.,

246 U.S. 648, Sievers, a seaman, was injured on the

deck of the Steamer ** Bowdoin“ at Port of Eureka,

California. The steamer ** Bowdoin"’ was engaged in

interstate trade.

In Peters vs. Veasey, 251 U. S. 121, Veasey was

injured while working as a stevedore unloading a

eargo from the Steamer ‘*Seria’’ at a dock in New

Orleans. This vessel was in trade.”’

In Knickerbocker Ice Co. vs. Stewart, 253 U. 8.

149, Stewart was drowned when he fell from a barge.

The only question was the effect of an act of congress

amending sections 24 and 256 of the Judicial Code,

approved October 6, 1917, C. 97, 40 Stat. 395. Un-

fortunately, it was stipulated that the employment

was maritime.

injuries received by one Stewart

while engaged in helping unrig a derrick on one

of the defendant's barges. Jt is conceded that

the work in which the injured man was engaged

was of a maritime nature and upon that conceded

fact the argument is made. * * (Italies

ours. )

Knickerbocker lee Co. vs. Stewart, 226 N. Y.

302, 303.

In both Washington vs. Dawson & Co. and Indus-

trial Acc. Com, vs. James Rolph Co., decided by this

I

court with joint opinion, 264 U. S. 219, this court

affirmed its ruling in Knickerbocker Ice Co. vs.

Stewart, supra, to the effect that that particular con-

gressional act was unconstitutional. In both of these

cases, however, the vessels were engaged in inter-

state trade and the question presented involved the

services of stevedores in unloading the cargo from

these ships.

In T. Smith & Son vs. Taylor, 276 U. S. 179,

Taylor was injured on the dock in New Orleans and

the compensation law of Louisiana was applied fol-

lowing the rule in the Nordenholt case. He was not

injured on navigable waters.

Northern Coal & Dock Co, vs. Strand, 49 Sup.

Ct. . the last case cited by appellant, will be more

fully discussed hereafter.

In the case at bar, the vessels of the employer

NEVER had engaged in interstate or foreign com-

meree or in port to port commerce. Stevedores were

never required to work unloading the cargo of these

vessels, for these vessels were not engaged in trade.

The commerce in which the vessels in the case at bar

were engaged was purely a Hal. intrastate, domestic

commerce LOCAL to the city of Santa Monica. J.

was not hooked to the terminal ond of nor an integral

part of ang wnteratate or forrign commerce.

The jurisdiction of the admiralty courts over mari-

time matters embraces many subjects.

“The principal subjects of admiralty jurisdic-

tion are maritime contracts and maritime torts,

*

including captures jure belli, and seizures on

water for municipal and revenue forfeitures.

(1) Contracts, claims, or service, purely mart-

time, and touching rights and duties pertaining

to commerce and navigation, are cognizable in

the admiralty.

(2) Torts or injuries committed on navigable

waters, of a civil nature, are also cognizable in

the admiralty courts.“ (Italies ours.) The Bel-

fast, 74 U. S. page 637.

The admiralty jurisdiction also extends to actions

based upon violation of the old-time rules of the sea

re passage, collision, salvage, pilotage and similar

subjects.

It is pertinent to point out at this time that NONE

OF THE SUBJECTS above enumerated are the

basis of the cause of action in the case at bar.

Therefore, while the jurisdiction of the admiralty

courts might be exclusive in its application to other

subjects than the one involved in the case at bar, the

peculiar nature of the present case, i. cr, its own facts

and circumstances, do not invoke the exclusive juris-

diction of the admiralty courts.

I

Errect or THe ComMERCRE CLAUSE OF THE

CONSTITUTION

It ix our contention that on the facts found herein,

the admiralty courts had no jurisdiction of the cause

tried in the courts below, notwithstanding Brooke

was a seaman and his death occurred on navigable

waters.

3

In conjunction with our argument supporting this

contention, we ask this court to refer to Appendix

“A.” attached to this brief, for a better understand-

ing of our concept of the meaning of the words

“‘admiralty,’’ maritime,“

gation.”’

‘“eommerce and navi-

Federal jurisdiction over commerce and naviga-

tion rests upon two sources having one common

authority :

1. The commerce clause of the federal constitu-

tion (article I. section 8, subdivision 3);

2. The jurisdiction of the federal courts in all

cases of admiralty and maritime jurisdiction (article

III. section 2);

The first source gives to congress the power ‘to

regulate commerce with foreign nations, and among

the several states, and with the Indian tribes.“

The second souree in creating the federal courts

and defining their judicial powers extends that judi-

cial power “to all cases of admiralty and maritime

jurisdiction."

Summed up, therefore, the control of the federal

government over commerce and navigation is;

(1) The power of congress to regulate:

a. interstate cormmerce, and

b. foreign commerce.

That power is coequal over both forms of

commerce.

(2) The jurisdiction of the federal .courts over

all cases of admiralty and maritime jurisdic-

55 Oe te

tion. Not over „cases“ of nonmaritime

causes of action.

The exclusive jurisdiction of the admiralty courts

in certain (admiralty and maritime) cases is exer-

cised concurrently with the jurisdiction of the same

courts as granted by congress (Judicial Code, See-

tions 24 and 256) over all civil causes of admiralty

and maritime jurisdiction,

„he jurisdiction thus conferred embraces two

classes of civil cases. The first respects acts and

injuries done upon navigable waters. The second

respects contracts purely maritime, and touching

rights and duties pertaining to commerce and

navigation.”

Netherlands etc. Co. vs. Gallagher, 282 Fed. 171.

page 173.

The Belfast, 74 U. S. 637.

Thus, the inherent power of the federal judiciary

as granted it by the constitution (article III. section

2) over admiralty or maritime cases is strengthened,

enlarged and rounded out by an act of congress fune-

tioning under its own constitutional grant of power.

(Article I, section 8, subdivision 3.) The two grants

of power, one constitutional, the other legislative, are

exercised by the admiralty courts for a common pur-

pose, ie. to secure, maintain and preserve uniform-

ity in the regulation of interstate and foreign com-

merce and, thereby, harmony in that branch of our

interstate and foreign relations. The two constitu-

tional grants of power, one to the judiciary and the

3

other to congress, have thus merged in a common

field and are to be viewed as each supplementing the

other.

“The exclusive jurisdiction in admiralty cases

was conferred on the national government as

closely connected with the grant of the commer-

cial power. It is a court instituted for the pur-

pose of administering the law of the seas. There

sects to be ground, therefore, for restraining its

jurisdiction, in some measure, within the limit

of the granting of the commercial power, which

would confine it, in cases of contracts, to those

concerning the navigation and trade of the coun-

try upon the high seas and tide waters within

foreign countries and among the several states.“

( Italies ours.)

New Jeracy Steam Nav. Co. vs. Merchants Bank,

6 Howard, 392.

.

Tur Maur Law ENLancep

Congress gave to workers engaged in transporta-

tion by rail (, om land) of interstate and foreign

commerce certain rights and causes of action. [ Fed.

eral Employers’ Liability Act of 1908, chapter 149,

35 Stat. G, and chapter 143, 36 Stat. 291 (45 U. 8. C.

A. sections 51599.

These were greater rights than those rights of

maritime workers engaged in interstate and foreign

trade. The injustice and inequality of this situation

was largely corrected by the Jones Act (Sec. 33 of

the Merchant Marine Act, approved June 5, 1920, 41

sis oa

Stat. 1007), which incorporated into the ‘‘maritime

law by reference those rights enjoyed by workers

on interstate carriers by rail.

Engle vs. Davenport, 271 U. S. 33, 35;

Panama t. Co. vs. Johnson, 264 U. S. 375.

F

Tur New Princrece or THE StTRaNnD CASA

The recent decision of this court in the Strand

case establishes a new rule even while adopting and

following the principle enunciated by this court in

Southern Pacific Co. vs. Jensen, 244 U. S. 205.

Prior to the decision in the Jensen case, supra, this

court had always held that the maritime law fur-

nished no remedy in a death ease and the state law

might apply.

The Harrisburg, 119 U. 8. 199;

The Alaska, 130 U. S. 201;

American S. . Co. vs. Chase, 16 Wall. 522;

The Hamilton, 207 U. B. 398.

The Jones Act having given a remedy in cases of

death of maritime workers, the admiralty courts now

have EXCLUSIVE jurisdiction in such cases of

death to maritime workers where the casualty

occurred on navigable waters. That is the NEW

PRINCIPLE evolved by this court on November

23, 1928, in

Northern Coal d Dock Co. vs. Strand, 49 Sup.

Ct, .

In this case, a stevedore was killed on board the

5

vessel while unloading a vessel which had brought

coal from other lake ports. This was port to port

commerce; it was more, IT WAS INTERSTATE

COMMERCE.

The vessel in which he was working at

the time of his death was the steamer Matthew

Andrews, which had brought a carload of coal

from Toledo, Ohio, to Superior by way of the

Great Lakes * * *,"’

Northern Coal & Dock Co. vs, Industrial Com.,

213 N. W. 658-9,

In the Strand case, supra, this court recognized

the difference between internal or local or domestic

or intrastate commerce under the Jurisdiction of the

state law administered exclusively by the state law

as eontradistinguished from foreign and interstate

or (as called in admiralty) maritime commerce under

the maritime law administered erclustvely by the

admiralty courts in two ways:

(a) Referenee to the rule of the Rohde case,

trrant Smith-Porter Ship Co. ve Rohde;

(b) Reference to the rule of Panama H. Coe. vs.

Joknsou, amt New Vork Cent. BR. Co. vx. Winfield.

Analyzing thowe references we Hud:

(a) This court said on page 89;

we Me have alee beld that state statutes

providing compensation for employees through

commissions might be treated as amending or

neelifving the maritime law in cases where they

concern purely Jocal matters and occasion no

interference with the uniformity of such law in

its international and interstate relations. Grant

Smith-Porter Ship Co. vs. Rohde, 257 U. 8.

469 R * 9.

The unloading of a ship is not matter of purely

local concern. It has direct relation to commerce

and navigation, and uniform rules in respect

thereto are essential * * *."’ (Italics ours.)

Why did not the rule in the Rohde case control on

the facts found in the Strand case? The business

was a land business; it was local in character; the

contract of employment primarily was a nonmari-

time contract.

It did not apply because:

1. The services being rendered by Strand at the

time of his injury were a DIRECT PART OF

INTERSTATE COMMERCE,

® Strand in rendering those services Was 4 seaman

engaged in that commerce called maritime.“

3. As a seaman engaged in interstate commerce,

the maritime law furnished a remedy.

(b) The court said, referring to the Johnson and

Wiafeld cases, supra, on page S89:

“New York Central H. Co, vs. Winfield, 244

U. 8. 147, 11. considered the effect of the

Federal Employers’ Liability Act * * *°

npon the former right of employees to recover

under the laws of the states“

We held ‘the act is comprehensive and also

exclusive.’ and denied the right of an employee

of an interstate carricr to recover under a state

statute even in respect of injuries suffered with-

out fault as to which the federal act provides no

remedy,

Panama H. Co. vx. Johnson, 264 U. S. 375, ruled

that section 20, Act of March 4, 1915, as amended

by the Merchant Marine Act, incorporated the

Federal Employers’ Liability Act into the mari-

time law of the United States. (Italics ours.)

Why and how did the principles of these two cases

give the admiralty court in the Strand case a juris-

diction exclusive of that of the state courts?

Because:

1. Regulation of interstate commerce by congress

is exclusive ;

2. The Merchant Marine Act incorporated the

Federal Employers’ Liability Act into the maritime

law, bringing with it exclusive jurisdiction of cases

directly involving interstate commerce.

3. The maritime law thereby furnished a remedy

in deaths on navigable waters of seamen and steve-

dores engaged in interstate commerce.

G

Tur Menenwanr Maur Act

(a) But the Merehant Marine Act did not bring

into the maritime law any rules applicable to domes-

tic or local or interstate commerce. Court jurisdiction

over this class of commerce was never relinquished by

the states to the federal government through the fed-

eral constitution.

1

„The completely internal commerce of a state,

then, may be considered as reserved for the state

itself.“

Newport, ete., Bridge Co. vs. U. S., 105 U. 8.

492.

“The states have as full control over their

purely internal commerce as congress has over

commerce among the several states and with for-

eign nations.“

Mobile County vs. Kimball, 102 U. S. 699.

„The internal commerce of a state—that is, the

commerce which is wholly confined within its

limits—is as much under its control as foreign or

interstate commerce is under the control of the

general government."

Sands vs. Manistee River Imp. Co., 123 U. 8.

25.

„All commercial action within the limits of a

state, and which does not extend to any other state

or foreign country, is exclusively under state leg-

islation, Congress has no more power to control

thix than a state has to regulate commerce ‘with

foreign nations and among the several states.

Passenger Cases, 7 How. 400.

See also:

Weatern Union Tel. Co. vs. Texas, 105 U. S. 466;

Groves vs. Slaughter, 15 Pet. 505;

Passenger Cases, 7 How. 399;

State Freight Tax Case, 15 Wall. 277;

U.S. ve. K. C. Knight Co., 156 U. S. 12.

Busines done within this state can not be

—

made to mean business done between that state

and other states.“

Pacific Express Co, vs. Seibert, 142 U. S. 350.

The power of congress, however, over the sub-

ject does not extend further than the regulation of

commerce with foreign nations and among the

several states. Bevond these limits the states have

not surrendered their power over the subject, and

may exercise it independently of any control or

interference of the general government.”’

Sinnot vs. Davenport, 22 How, 243.

(Congress) has nothing to do with the purely

internal commerce as is carried on between differ-

ent parts of the same state, if its operations are

confined exclusively to the jurisdiction and terri-

tory of that state, and do not affect other nations

or states or the Indian tribe.“

Lord vs. Goodall, te., Steamship ., 102 U. 8.

543.

See also:

Pensacola Tel. Co. vs. Weat, te., Tel. Co., %

U. S. 22;

Covington, te, Bridge Co. va. Kentacky, 154

. 8. 210;

Trade Mark (ans, . 8. 96;

Stoutenburgh vs. Hennick, 129 U. 8. 150;

Nene ve. Moor, 14 How, 573;

U.S. we. E. C. Knight Co., 156 F. 8. 32.

(h) The Merchant Marine Act did not enlarge the

maritime law so as to furnish a remedy in death cases

of seamen engaged in a domestic or local enterprise.

Neither the decision of this court in the Strand

1

case, supra, so holds, nor does any other decision by

this court of which we are aware so hold. Neverthe-

less, it is a vital question in the case at bar and a

question that the Industrial Accident Commission of

California, as well as other state commissions, is

repeatedly confronted with.

It may be that the rule enunciated by this court in

the Rohde case was intended to cover this kind of a

situation, but, so far as can be ascertained from the

language of this court in the Rohde case and its

sequent line of decisions, this court did not se-

cifically say so. The determination of that question

by this court in a written opinion would be of

immeasurable help to all commissions and lower

courts as well as to the litigants and their attorneys

in future cases involving this same situation.

Justices Stone, Holmes and Brandeis in their con-

curring opinion in the Strand case, supra, impliedly

hold that workmen, other than seamen, killed on

navigable waters would not have a remedy in the

admiralty courts even though rendering services in

connection with interstate commerce. They do not

cite, but must have had in mind, Rosengrant vs. Hav-

ard, 47 Sup. Ct. 451.

To sum up:

(1) Under the Federal Employers’ Liability Act,

interstate workers have a remedy only in the federal

eourts, while intrastate workers have none under that

act, but do find a remedy in the state courts;

(2) Under the maritime law in death cases, Sen-

win SO wee

men in interstate commerce have a remedy only in

the admiralty courts.

Where is the remedy for those seamen killed while

engaged in domestic or intrastate commerce :

(3) Workmen (not seamen) performing services

incidental to interstate commerce have a remedy in

the state courts. Rosengrant vs. Havard, supra.

(4) While workmen (not seamen) engaged in

intrastate commerce have a remedy only in the state

courts and none in the admiralty.

H

Jvempicrion or Causes or ACTION

The jurisdiction of the admiralty courts over

‘eases’ or causes of action is confined to ‘cases of

admiralty or maritime jurisdiction.”’

The cause of action in the case at bar is one over

which admiralty has no jurisdiction because:

(a) It is not founded on a maritime tort;

(1) Appellant has not so claimed in his

assignment of errors on appeal to this

court ;

(2) The Supreme Court of California so

found (R. 109).

“* © * (Cases are cited to the proposition

that admiralty jurisdiction in tort matters

depend upon locality but that proposition is not

involved here. The case is not one of tort. Tort

is neither alleged nor suggested.:* * *"

(Italics ours.)

— 31 —

Ketchikan L. d S. Co. vs. Bishop, 24 Fed.

(2d) 63.

»The action was not brought to recover dam-

ages for a tort, but solely for compensation under

our statute.“ (R. 109.)

(b) There was no ‘‘tort’’ proven, maritime or

otherwise, only a ‘‘casualty’’ that happened to occur

on navigable waters.

No wilful or negligent act of commission or omis-

sion was shown, claimed or proven.

(e) There was no“ maritime“ tort.

The services of Brooke were rendered pursuant to

a contract of employment involving domestic or

intrastate commerce only.

But in cases of this character, the locality of

the injury is not the sole and exclusive test; the

services to be performed must also be of maritime

nature.”’

Grant Smith-Porter Ship Co. vs. Rohde;

Rosengrant vs. Harvard, 47 Sup. Ct. 454.

In the cause now under consideration, the

record discloses facts sufficient to show a mari-

time tort to which the general admiralty juris-

diction would extend save for the provisions of

the State Compensation Act; but the matter is of

mere local concern and its regulation by the state

will work no material prejudice to any character-

istic feature of the general maritime law. The

act prescribes the only remedy; its exclusive

features abrogate the right to resort to the admi-

ralty court which otherwise would exist.“

a oe

Miller’s Ind. Underwriters vs. Braud, 257

U. S. 59.

(d) The action was founded on a compensation

statute of California which regulated the rights of

employees and the liability of employers, both being

residents and citizens of the State of California.

“If the contract relates exclusively to the

interior navigation and trade of a state, jurisdie-

tion is disclaimed.”

New Jersey Steam Nav. Co. vs. Merchants Bank,

6 How, 392.

Where no remedy exists for an injury in the

admiralty courts the fact that such courts exist

and exercise jurisdiction in other causes of action

leaves the state courts as free to exercise jurisdic-

tion in respect to an injury not cognizable in the

admiralty as if the admiralty courts were un-

known to the constitution and had no existence

in our jurisprudence.”

American Steamboat Co. va. Chase, 16 Wall. 530.

“The power of congress to regulate commerce

is undoubtedly a beneficent one. The police laws

of the state are equally so, and it is our duty to

harmonize them."

Cook ve. Marshall County, 196 U. S. 273.

“The reserved power of the states to guard the

health, morals, and safety of their people is more

vital to the existence of society than their power

in respect to trade and commerce having no pos-

sible connection with those subjects."

Rowman vs. Chicago, etc., N. (u., 125 U. S. 524.

In conferring upon congress the regulation

of commerce, it was never intended to cut the

wont OE as

states off from legislating on all subjects relating

to the health, life and safety of their citizens,

though the legislation might indirectly affect the

commerce of the country. Legislation, in a great

variety of ways, may affect commerce and persons

engaged in without constituting a regulation of

it, within the meaning of the constitution.“

Sherlock vs. Alling, 93 U. S. 99.

lt may be said generally that the

legislation of a state not directed against com-

merce or any of its regulations but relating to the

rights and liabilities of citizens and only in-

directly and remotely affecting the operations of

commerce is of obligatory force upon citizens

within its territorial jurisdiction, whether on land

or water, or engaged in commerce, foreign or

interstate, or in any other pursuit.“

Sherlock vs. Alling, 93 U. S. 103.

See also Cooley vs. Port Warde ns, 12 How. 299,

320;

Pacific Mad S. S. Co. vs. Jolie, 2 Wall. 450, 459;

Er Parte McNed, 13 Wall. 236. 241;

Wilson vs. McNamee, 102 C. S. 572;

Olson vs. Smith, 195 U.S. 332, 341:

Anderson vs. Pacific Coast S. S. Co., 225 U. 8.

187.

( Insurance is not commeree. Appellant was

the insurance carrier of the employer. Its contract

or policy of insurance through regulation by the

Compensation Act of the State of California (section

30) necessarily contained a provision whereby appel-

lant beeame ‘‘directly and primarily liable“ to

injured employees (seamen) of its insured if injured,

et BE ne

and to the dependents of these employees of its

insured if such employees (including seamen) were

killed in the course of their employment. This clause

of the contract created a direct liability to the depend-

ents of Brooke and Gregory when they were thus

drowned in the course of their employment.

The dependents of both employees so killed filed

their action with the Industrial Accident Commission

ot California and their claim against appellant

based on such contract was established and a judg-

ment or award thereon made in their favor.

It is from that award appellant seeks relief, i. e.,

relief from appellant's liability based on its own con-

tract of insurance. In effect, therefore, in this appeal

appellant contends that enforcement of the terms of

that insurance contract by the state courts will

violate the “exelusive’’ jurisdiction of the admiralty

courts.

„„ * * Recovery in a state court upon an

insurance policy upon the life of a seaman for

death occurring on a ship on the high seas while

in the performance of his duties would not, I sup-

pose, he deemed to have that effect or be precluded

by the admiralty law, even though some of the

provisions of the policy were imposed by state

statute.””

Northern Coal & Dock Co. va. Strand, 49 Sup.

Ct. . 90.

„The contention here is that, inasmuch as the

contract was one for marine insurance, it was a

matter of interstate commerce, and as such beyond

the reach of state authority.

wines OD cane

* * * This proposition involves an erroneous

conception of what constitutes interstate com-

merce. That the business of insurance does not

generally appertain to such commerce has been

settled since the case of Paul vs. Virginia, 8 Wall.

168.“

Hooper vs, California, 155 U. S. 653.

If the power to regulate interstate commerce

applied to all the incidents to which said com-

merce might give rise and to all contracts which

might be made in the course of its transaction,

that power would embrace the entire sphere of

mercantile activity in any way connected with

trade between the states; and would exclude state

control over many contracts purely domestic in

their nature.“

Hooper vs. California, 155 U. S. 655.

See also Western Union Tel. Co. vs. James, 162

U. 8. 656.

(f) Enforcement of the state statute and the insur-

ance contract by the State of California does not and

can not:

(1) Conflict with any superior maritime law in

death cases ;

(2) Contravene any applicable act of congress;

(3) Disturb the uniformity of the maritime law;

(4) Interfere with the proper harmony of the

maritime law in its international or interstate

relations ;

(5) Work prejudice to any characteristic feature

of the maritime law.

3

It does furnish THE ONLY REMEDY under

any law in any court to the dependents of the deceased

employees, Brooke and Gregory.

V

ANSWERING APPELLANT'S ARGUMENT

Appellant has grouped its argument under five

points which we answer in seriatim:

Pont 1

Hereinabove, beginning on page 15, we have

endeavored to show that the rule of the Jensen case

does not control on the facts found in the case at bar,

Point 2

We submit that appellant has misconstrued our

stated conception ef the extent of admiralty jurisdic-

tion as being limited to the scope of interstate and

foreign commerce.

The jurisdiction of the admiralty courts funda-

tmientally ts a power to decide CASES, The adini-

ralty courts do net have jurisdiction over maritime

contracts, as such, but the courts’ jurisdiction extends

to CASES arising from or founded upon maritime

eontracts, Likewise the jurisdiction of the admiralty

courts is not a jurisdiction of maritime torts but is a

jurisdiction of CASES founded on maritime torts.

The juriadiction of the admiralty Wirts is eoequal

in extent with the boundaries and application of the

maritime law. The maritime law is the law of

nations, intended to preserve harmony and unt form-

2275

1

ity in commercial intercourse between nations. The

maritime law as it stood at the time of its recognition

by the federal constitution and adoption into the law

of this country as administered by the admiralty

courts constituted an unwritten code of the usages

of the sea, particularly as to rules of passage, liability

in the event of collision, salvage, pilotage and similar

subjects. The maritime rules controlling these sub-

jects were the foundation upon which the harmony

and uniformity of commercial intercourse might be

preserved,

In the case at bar the maritime law unquestion-

ably reached to the vessels of the employer, appel-

lant’s insured, in their use of the navigable waters of

Santa Monica Bay.

If the case now before this court were an action

founded upon a collision between one of these vessels

and other vessels, it would be subject to the maritime

rules of the sea and the cause of action would lie

exclusively within the jurisdiction of the admiralty

court, but that subject is not the subject upon which

the present case or cause of action is founded. The

present cause of action is not based upon the contract

of employment primarily, it is not based upon such

contract at all but is predicated upon the status of

emplover and employee residents of this state.

Cudahy Packing Co. vs. Parramore, 263 . S.

418;

North Alaska Salmon Co, vs. Pillabury, 174

Cal. 1;

aint OB cs

Quong Ham Wah vs. Industrial Acc. Com., 184

Cal. 26;

Alaska Packers Assn. vs. Industrial Acc. Com.,

200 Cal. 579.

The present action is not founded on tort.

The parties to the present action were not perform-

ing services that had any incidental relation, let alone

a direct contact, with interstate and foreign com-

merece.

Thus, while we concede that the admiralty court

would have jurisdiction over the vessels of appel-

lant’s assured in the case at bar, over contracts made

in connection therewith, the very torts committed

thereby or thereon, over a collision occurring to and

between such vessels and such other similar subjects,

we respectfully maintain that that jurisdiction of the

admiralty courts is not EXCLUSIVE unless it be

shown that a cause of action was founded upon the

use of those ships either directly in or as an incidental

part of or as in contact with interstate and foreign

commerce.

Lacking the interstate and foreign character of

either commerce or business, then the local law might

apply concurrently without disturbing the harmony

or interfering with the uniformity of the maritime

law in its interstate and international relations.

We do not deny that the jurisdiction of the

admiralty courts extends to navigable waters,

whether wholly intrastate or otherwise, if ronnected

to the open sea, thereby serving ax a channel over

— 39 —

which interstate and foreign commerce may be car-

ried, but we do not concede that such jurisdiction is

exclusive in all kinds of cases arising thereon. In

matters of local concern and lacking interstate and

foreign character, and particularly cases arising

therefrom, the jurisdiction of the admiralty courts

is not exclusive, as was decided by this court in the

Rohde case, supra, with its subsequent line of deci-

sions. On cases arising out of the navigation of ves-

sels, such as collision, etc., the admiralty jurisdiction

might be exclusive.

Pant 3

THESE VESSELS NEVER

1, WENT TO ANY OTHER PORT;

2. LEFT SANTA MONICA BAY;

3. LEFT THE BOUNDARIES OF THE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA.

In the first paragraph of page 24 of Appellant's

brief, Appellant says:

These voyages over three miles out

were all beyond the territorial jurisdiction of the

State of California, citing

“California Constitution, Article XXI. See-

tion 1.

and then counsel refers to Appendix to his brief,

quoting Article XXI. Section 1 of the Constitution

of the State of California (page 35 of the brief).

Counsel apparently overlooked the effect of the

last sentence of that section which defines the boun-

3

daries of the State of California, for in that last sen-

tence we find this language:

also, including all the islands, harbors, and bays

along and adjacent to the coast. (Italics ours.)

Santa Monica Bay is, therefore, included within

the boundaries of the State of California according

to the description by Clifford A. Morris (R. 43). Cap-

tain Morris fixes the line drawn between Point Fir-

min and Point Duma as the outside line of Santa

Moniea Bay and this line is ten miles approxi-

mately, from the Santa Monica Pier.“ Captain Mor-

ris also aid. hut they never run outside.

Counsel's quotation of Section 1 of Article XXI

of the California constitution refutes his argument

that these vessels ever left the territorial jurisdiction

of the State of California.

The weakness of the maritime character of these

boats is demonstrated by appellant's statement that

Brooke at times * * * had actual charge of a

beat. Brooke was not a licensed skipper. He was

not even twenty-one years of age. A license had been

refused him. Yet be is permitted to have “‘actual

charge of a boat. These vessels, in effect, were

nothing but OVERSIZED ROW BOATS used for

fishing.

We can not feel that this was a maritime business

which lay within the exclusive jurisdiction of the

admiralty courts, whose assertion of exclusive juris-

diction was essential to preserve the harmony and

— 4] —

uniformity of the maritime law or of any of its essen-

tial characteristics.

Pont 4

As one of the facts and circumstances“ of this

case, it is again pointed out to this court that Brooke

was not a member of the crew of the W. K.“ at the

time of his injury; that the W. K.“ was deserted at

the time of Brooke’s drowning and death. These

facts are not decisive of the issue presented in the

ease at bar, but are pointed out to this court merely

as a part of the whole, iLe., all the facts and circwn-

stances of this case.

As pointed out in our Argument hereinabove, the

fact that Brooke Met his death on navigable waters,

i.e, locality, is not alone decisive to indicate and fix

the exclusive jurisdiction of the federal courts,

Point 5

Appellant states A state compensation act can

not be made applicable to an accident in which the

employee Was a seaman or apprentice navigator,

without affecting or impinging upon the admiralty

jurisdiction to an extent heretofore never permitted

by this court. A seaman’s injury or death on navi-

gable waters can never be a local matter within the

local jurisdiction."

The answer to this statement is found in the opin-

ion of this court in Alaska Packers Assn. vs. Indus-

trial Acc. Com., 48 Sup. Ct. 346. In that case, Peter-

po ln

son was a seaman or fisherman under his contract of

employment. Yet the work that-he was engaged in

at the time of his injury was of such a local character

that the provisions of the Compensation Act were

permitted to apply by this court as not affecting or

impinging upon the admiralty jurisdiction.

The case of S. S. Bowdoin Co. vs. Industrial Ace.

Com., 246 U. S. 648 (a California case) is not deci-

sive, for in that case the injured man, Sievers, was a

member of the crew of a vessel engaged in interstate

trade, thus distinguishing it from the facts in the case

at bar. The contrast between that case and the case

at bar marks the difference between the application

of the rule of the Jensen case and the application of

the rule in the Rohde case.

In a recent decision, a seaman was held entitled to

the benefits of the Compensation Act even though

killed on navigable waters. In

F. S. Catala vs. Dagsland, (B. C. D. 928) 3 D. I.

R. 334,

the deceased employee was working on a fishing

boat. In a collision of the S. 8. Catala" the em-

ployee was killed. The Exchequer Court of Canada

held there was no jurisdiction in such court on its

admiralty side to entertain an action for damages for

loss of life. Any right of action for damages under

the circumstances could only be maintained by virtue

of the Workmen's Compensation Act of British

Columbia. 6

ride re

RIGHTS and REMEDIES have a definite dis-

tinction. The law confers rights. The maritime

law confers one class of rights. The Workmen’s

Compensation Act of California confers another

class of rights. We emphasize, the rights conferred

by these two separate laws are DISTINCT each

from the other.

REMEDIES are necessary to the enforcement of

rights. In enforcement, the remedy lies through a

cause of action or case. The admiralty courts have

jurisdiction of cases wherein the rights conferred

by the maritime law are to be enforced. The

REMEDY for a maritime right lies in the admiralty

courts’ jurisdiction. The state courts, on the con-

trary, have jurisdiction only over cases wherein the

enforcement of rights conferred by the state statutes

(Workmen's Compensation Act) is sought.

The remedy for rights given by the State Com-

pensation Act can only be sought through that quasi-

judicial body, the Industrial Accident Commission

of the State of California, appellee herein.

Summed up, the rights of the maritime law and

of the State Compensation Act are not in conflict,

even though pertaining to and conferred upon a

seaman, Likewise, the remedics on the facts found

in the case at bar, pursued by a seaman before the

Industrial Accident Commission, appellee herein,

does noi violate the exclusive jurisdiction of the

admiralty courts.

The right enforced by the state courts in the case

at bar was an award for FUNERAL EXPENSES

in the sum of $150. The maritime law grants no

1

such right either to seamen, to dependents of seamen,

or to other persons providing to deceased seamen

that service. The admiralty courts have no juris-

diction to enforce that or any such right.

—

VI

CONCLUSION

There has been no violation of or impinging upon

the EXCLUSIVE jurisdiction of the Admiralty

courts by either the application of the Compensation

Act of the State of California or the decision of the

Supreme Court of the State of California under the

circumstances and facts found in the case at bar.

There being no taint of interstate or foreign com-

merce, no port to port transportation or navigation,

no hooking to the end of any interstate carrier in the

little, local, concession, pleasure business carried on

by the Morris Pleasure Fishing, Ine, at Santa

Monica, California, confined entirely to the use of

the waters of Santa Monica Bay, the rule of the

Rohde case controls, there being no

1. contravening of the essential purpose ex-

pressed by any act of Congress, or

2. working of material prejudice to the char-

acteristic or any characteristic features of the

general maritime law in its interstate or inter-

national relations, or

3. interfering with the proper harmony and uni-

formity of that law in its international and

interstate relations.

On the contrary, the case is that of a casualty,

maritime in character only because it occurs on navi-

gable waters and occurs to a seaman engaged in

domestic or local commerce of limited extent and,

therefore, constitutes a matter of a local signifi-

cance” which “may still be governed by the State

Compensation Act.“

The regulation of the rights and liabilities of the

parties to this controversy by the State Compensa-

tion Act and adjudication of those rights and liabili-

ties, clearly not maritime in character, does not con-

stitute that kind of a ease which lies within the

exclusive jurisdiction of the Admiralty courts.

Respectfully submitted that the decision of the

Supreme Court of the State of California should be

affirmed.

G. C. FAULKNER,

Attorney for Appellee, Industrial Accident

Commission of the State of California,

9

APPENDIX “A”

Admiralty and Admiralty Courts Defined

“What is Admiralty? It is the law, not of the

water, but of the seas.”

The Robert W. Parsons, 191 U. S. 48.

“The dominion of the Admiralty was over the

sea—the ships and the men who frequented it—

their contracts and their torts.”

Ward vs. Chamberlain, 2 Black 446.

„It“ (Admiralty) „grew up out of the fact

that the ocean is not the territorial property of

any nation, but the common property ef all; that

the vessels engaged in commerce between the dif-

ferent nations ought, so far as possible, to be sub-

ject to a uniform law, and not annoyed by the

conflicting local laws and customs of the several

nations which they visit.“ (Italies ours.)

The Robert W. Parsons, 191 U. S. 48

„The Admiralty and maritime jurisdiction, like

the common law or chancery jurisdiction, em-

braces a system of procedure known and estab-

lished for ages. It may be called a system of

regulations embodied and matured by the most

enlightened and commercial nations of the

mord. (Italies ours.)

Jackson vs. The Steamboat Magnolia, 20

Howard 308.

“The exclusive jurisdiction in Admiralty cases

was conferred on the national government as

closely connected with the grant of the commer-

cial power. It is a court instituted for the pur-

pose of administering the law of the seas. There

** maritime

seems to be ground, therefore, for restraining its

jurisdiction, in some measure, within the limit of

the granting of the commercial power, which

would confine it, in cases of contracts, to those

concerning the navigation and trade of the coun-

try upon the high seas and tide waters within

foreign countries and among the several states.“

(Italies ours.)

New Jersey Steam Nav. Co. vs. Merchants Bank,

6 Howard 392.

»The best guides as to the extent of the admir-

alty jurisdiction of the federal courts are the con-

stitution of the United States, the laws of Con-

gress, and the decisions of this court.“

The Belfast, 7 Wall. 636.

MAKITIME

There is a definite distinction between the word

* and the word marine“ though both

are used freely in matters pertaining to the sea,

»The same transaction may be maritime in one

ease and not maritime in another.“

Hughes on Admeralty, (24 ed.) page 22.

Maritime law is defined.

“* * * The law of nations and the law of

maritime commerce, the maritime law * * °

in no manner and a uniform administration of that

great branch of the law of nations, known as the

general maritime law, be secured except by the

transfer of all the cases of admiralty and martime

jurisdiction to the congnizance of the national

jadiciary and by committing to Congress the

authority to make all laws necessary and proper

to carry into execution the power so vested, as by

altering and amending the maritime law under

which such cases are adjudged. * * State legis-

lation. * is not framed to display the

characteristic features of the maritime law or to

impair that uniformity whieh in international

and interstate relations the constitution designed

to establish in conferring the maritime power

upon the United States.“

(Benedict on Admiralty, Vol. 1, page 13.)

‘**Maritime’ means pertaining to the sea or

ocean, or the navigation thereof; or to commerce

conducted by navigation of the sea or (in Amer-

ien) of the Great Lakes and rivers.“

Black Law Dictionary.

It is not easy to get an exact definition of the

term ‘maritime contract.’ It is far easier to say

what ix not a maritime contract * “.“

Doolittle vs. Gnobelach, 39 Fed. 40.

“The contract for constructing The Ahala'

was nonmaritime, and although the incompleted

structure upon which the accident occurred was

lying in navigable waters, neither Rohde's gen-

eral employment, nor his activities at the time

had any direct relation to navigation or com-

merece. Thames Towboat Co. vs. The Schooner

‘Francis McDonald,’ 254 U. S. 242."

Grant Smith-Porter Co. vs. Rohde, 257 U. 8.

469.

The word maritime“ has never been clearly and

succinctly defined. Its use is somewhat hazy (and

nebulous). We do find in the opinions of the courts

the words ‘essentially’? and ‘“‘wholly’’ and ‘‘en-

tirely’’ as a prefix to the word maritime“ and

descriptive of the degree to which, services, employ-

ments, contracts or torts and like matters may be

„nmritime, and where such words are used, inva-

riably the case is one where the trade, commerce, or

transportation involved is interstate or foreign. On

the contrary, where the trade, commerce or transpor-

tation are focal or intrastate“ or ‘‘domestic,”’

the court holds, the services or liens or contracts or

torta and like matters to be noumaritime“ or so

little maritime in character as to not be within the

exclusive“ admiralty jurisdiction.

To give the court jurisdiction over a contract

as maritime it must relate to the trade or busi-

ness of the sea, or must be essentially maritime

in its character.

The Mary F. Chisholm, 129 Fed. 814. 817.

COMMERCE CAND NAVIGATION )

Commerce embraces and includes navigation:

It ix well-settled law that the word com-

mere as used in the constitution comprehends

navigation, which extends to every species of

commercial intereourse between the United

States and foreign nations, and to all commerce

in the several states, exeept such as is completely

internal, and which does not extend to or affect

the other states."

Hall va. DeCair, % U. 8. 491.

It is well-settled law that the word commerce,

as used in the constitution, comprehends naviga-

tion and that it extends to every species of com-

mercial intercourse between the United States

and foreign nations and to all commerce in the

several states, except such as is completely inter-

nal and which does not extend to or affect other

states.

State Tonnage Tax Cases, 12 Wall. 214.

See also

Gilman vs, Philadelphia, 3 Wall. 724.

If commerce does not include navigation, the

government of the Union has no direct power

over that subject, and can make no law prescrib-

ing what shall constitute American vessels, or

requiring that they shall be navigated by Ameri-

can Samen.“

Gibbons vs. Ogden, 9 Wheat. 190.

What is commerce ;

‘Transporting conmmodities is commerce, * * *

Both trade and commerce are included so long as

each relates to that which is interstate or for-

eign.”

U.S. vs. Trans-Missouri Freight Assoc., 166 U.

8. 325.

“Commerce, undoubtedly, is traffic, but it is

something more; it is intercourse. It describes

the commercial intercourse between nations, and

parts of nations, in all its branches, and is regu-

lated by prescribing rules for carrying on that

intercourse, ”’

Gibbons va. Ogden, 9 Wheat. 190.

Commerce among the states,’ as defined by

this court, is ‘trade,’ ‘traffic,’ ‘intercourse,’ and

20

dealing in articles of commerce between states,

by its citizens or others, and carried on in more

than one state.“

Groves vs. Slaughter, 15 Pet. 511.

See also

Lottery Case, 188 U. S. 352.

Commerce divided into two classes. 1, Interstate

or foreign. 2. Local or intrastate or domestic. They

are distinguished thus:

“Commerce with foreign nations must signify

ecommerce which in some sense is necessarily con-

nected with these nations, transactions which

either immediately, or at some stage of their

progress, must be extraterritorial. The phrase

ean never be applied to transactions wholly inter-

nal, between citizens of the same community, or

to a polity and laws whose ends and purposes and

operations are restricted to the territory and soil

and jurisdiction of such community.“

Furie vs. Moor, 14 How. 573.

“There is a trade among the several states

whieh ix distinet from that carried on within the

territorial limita of a state. The regulation and

control of the former ix committed by the national

constituticen to congress.”

U.S. ve. B.C. Keight Co., 156 U. S. 32.

“It has been repeatedly held that there is a

commerce entirely within a state, among its own

citizens, which congress has no power to regu-

late. ö

Stoutenburgh vx. Hennick, 129 U. S. 150.

The power of congress, however, over the sub-

ject does not extend further than the regulation

of commerce with foreign nations and among the

several states. Beyond these limits the states

have not surrendered their power over the sub-

ject, and may exercise it independently of any

control or interference of the general govern-

ment.“

Sin not vs. Davenport, 22 How. 243.

The power given to congress to regulate com-

merce with foreign nations, and among the states,

has been deemed exclusive, from the nature and

objects of the power, and the necessary implica-

tions growing out of its exercise.”

New York vs. Miln, 11 Pet. 158.

See also

Groves vs. Slaughter, 15 Pet. 505;

Maine vs. Grand Trunk E. R. Co., 142 U. S 233;

Hall vs. DeCuir, 95 U. S. 487;

Hennington vs. Georgia, 163 U. S. 318.

Purpose of commerce clauses of constitution:

»The commerce clauses of the constitution had

their origin in a wise and salutary policy. They

give to congress the entire control of the foreign

and interstate commerce of the country. They

were intended to secure harmony and uniformity

in the regulations by which they should be gov-

erned. Wherever such commerce goes, the power

of the nation accompanies it, ready and compe-

tent, as far as possible, to promote its prosperity

and redress the wrongs and evils to which it may

be subjected.

8

Inman Steamship Co. vs. Tinker, 94 U. S. 245.

„The doctrine now firmly established is, that

where the subject upon which congress can act

under its commercial power is locul in its nature

or sphere of operation, such as harbor pilotage,

the improvement of harbors, the establishment of

beacons and buoys to guide vessels in and out of

port, the construction of bridges over navigable

rivers, the erection of wharves, piers, and docks,

and the like, which ean be properly regulated only

by special provisions adapted to their localities,

the state can act until congress interferes and

supersedes its authority; but where the subject is

national in its character, and admits and requires

uniformity of regulation, affecting alike all the

states, such as transportation between the states,

including the importation of goods from one state

into another, congress can alone act upon it and

provide the needed i. cuiauens.””

Bowman vs. Chicago, Ete., E. (o., 125 U. S. 507.

Lal, or internal, or domestic, or intrastate com-

meree:

“The states have as full control over their

purely internal commerce as congress has over

commerce among the several states and with for-

eign nations

Mobile County vs. Kimball, 102 U. S. 699.

„The internal commerce of a state—that is, the

commerce which is wholly confined within its

limit is as much under its control as foreign or

interstate commerce is under the coutrol of the

general government.”

8

Sands vs. Manistee River Imp. Co., 123 U. 8.

295.

„All commercial action within the limits of a

state, and which does not extend to any other

state or foreign country, is exclusively under

state legislation. Congress has no more power to

control this than a state has to regulate com-

merce ‘with foreign nations and among the sev-

eral states’.”’

Passenger Cases, 7 How, 400.

„Comprehensive,“ says Mr. Chief Justice

Marshall, ‘as the word among“ is, it may be

very properly restricted to that commerce which

concerns more states than one,’ and ‘the com-

pletely internal commerce of a state, then, may

he considered as reserved for the state itself.’ ”’

Newport, Etc., Bridge Co, vs. L. S., 105 U. 8.

492.

(Congress) has nothing to do with the purely

internal commerce as is carried on between dif-

ferent parts of the same state, if its operations

are confined exclusively to the jurisdiction and

territory of that state, and do not affect other

nations or states or the Indian tribes,”’

Lord vs. Goodall, Etc., Steamship Co., 102

U. B. 543.

„Busines done within this state can not be

made to mean business done between that state

and other states.“

Pacific Express Co, vs. Seibert, 142 U. S. 350.

See also

Pensacola Tel. Co. vs. West, Etc., Tel. Co., 96

U. 8. 22;

State Freight Tax Case, 15 Wall. 277;

Passenger Cases, 7 How. 399.

State police laws valid:

“The power of congress to regulate commerce

is undoubtedly a beneficent one. The police laws

of the state are equally so, and it is our duty to

harmonize them.

Cook vs. Marshall County, 196 U. S. 273.

»The reserved power of the states to guard the

health, morals, and safety of their people is more

vital to the existence of society than their power

in respect to trade and commerce having no pos-

sible connection with those subjects.“

Bowman vs, Chicago, Etc., R. Co., 125 U. S. 524.

“A state regulates its own internal commerce,

may pass inspection and police laws, designed to

guard the health and protect the rights of its

citizens.”

Groves va, Slaughter, 15 Pet. 505.

It is well settled that the state may make

valid enactments in the exercise of its legislative

power to promote the welfare and convenience of

its citizens, although in their operation they may

have an effect upon interstate traffic.”

Pennsylvania N. Co, vs. Hughes, 191 U. S. 488.

“That which belongs to commerce id within the

jurisdiction of the United States, but that which

3

does not belong to commerce is within the juris-

diction of the police power of the state.“

U.S. vs. E. C. Knight Co., 156 U. S. 12.

Insurance is not commerce:

»The contention here is that, inasmuch as the

contract was one for marine insurance, it was a

matter of interstate commerce, and as such

beyond the reach of state authority.

This proposition involves an erro-

neous conception of what constitutes interstate

commerce, That the business of insurance does

not generally appertain to such commerce has

been settled since the case of Paul vs. Virginia,

8 Wall. 168."’

Hooper vs. California, 155 U. S. 653.

If the power to regulate interstate commerce

applied to all the incidents to which said com-

meree might give rise and to all contracts which

might be made in the course of its transaction,

that power would embrace the entire sphere of

mercantile activity in any way connected with

trade between the states; and would exclude state

control over many contracts purely domestic in

their nature.“

Hooper vs. California, 155 U. S. 655.

Where the power of congress to regulate is

exclusive the failure of congress to make express

regulations indicates its will that the subject shall

be left free from any restrictions or impositions ;

and any regulation of the subject by the states,

except in matters of local concern only, as here-

after mentioned, is repugnant to such freedom.”

1

Robbins vs. Shelby Taxing Dist., 120 U. S. 493.

Regulation of commerce embraces ships and sea-

men:

“The power of congress to require vessels to

be enrolled and licensed is derived from the pro-

vision of the constitution which authorized it ‘to

regulate commerce with foreign nations and

among the several states’.”’

Wiggins Ferry Co. vs. East St. Louis, 107

U. S. 377.

“If congress license vessels to sail from one

port to another, in the same state, the act is sup-

posed to be necessarily incidental to the power

expressly granted to congress, and implies no

claim of a direct power to regulate the purely

internal commerce of a state, or to act directly

on its system of police.“

Gibbons vs. Ogden, 9 Wheat, 204.

“Unquestionably the power to regulate com-

merce includes navigation as well as traffic in its

ordinary signification, and embraces ships and

vessels as the instruments of intercourse and

trade as well as the officers and seamen employed

in their navigation.“

State Tonnage Tar Cases, 12 Wall. 216.

‘Repeated decisions of this court have deter-

mined that the power to regulate commerce em-

braces all the instruments by which such com-

merce may be conducted ; and it is settled law that

where the subject to which the power applies is

national in its character, or of such a nature as

— 860 —

to admit of uniformity of regulation, the power

is exclusive of all state authority.“

Hall vs. DeCuir, 95 U. S. 497.

See also

License Cases, 5 How. 578.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.