Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Carlson v. ICI Americas Inc.

Supreme Court brief1996

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

\)) GB1'87 9 ve 27 5

No.

renner ements

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1995

DENNIS E. CARLSON,

Petitioner,

HONEYWELL, and ICI AMERICAS, INC.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

DENNIS E. CARLSON

Pro Se

208 S. LaSalie St.

Suite 1705

Chicago, Illinois 60604

(312) 263-4700

DLE, POON ET POR

B&B PRINTING, INC, 1523 W. ROSEMONT AVE. SUITE 2-E, CHICAGO, ILLINOIS 60660

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Appellate Court must review voidness

of a Judgment where all defendants were dismissed and the

appeal from the dismissal order was dismissed, requiring

reversal.

2. Whether the judgment of March 3, 1993 for

$147,000 in attorney fees is jurisdictionally void, requiring

reversal.

3. Whether Fed.R.Civ.P. § 72(b) bars review on

appeal of a miagistrate’s recommendation on Rule 11

sanctions, when a motion for rehearing was filed and

reiterated within 10 days after a _ second, final,

recommendation, for a monetary award, requiring reversal.

4. Whether a recommendation of a magistrate on

Rule 11 sanctions, which was not complete, in that the

sanction is not a part of the recommendation, an interlocutory

recommendation which can only be appealed when a later

recommendation is handed down with a monetary award

which completes the sanction, require reversal.

5. Whether a verified denial, not based upon personal

knowledge, vitiates a- parties contradictory pre-filing

admissions, requiring reversal.

li

6. Whether, arguendo, a statement allegedly made

by counsel that he was not, at one time, able to prove a

defendant liable, constitutes a clear admission that no facts

existed that could support a verdict against that defendant,

. requiring reversal.

7. Whether movant failed to properly serve a notice

with a transcript excerpt, due to concealment of the nature of

the motion, requiring reversal.

8. Whether deposition excerpts filed by Honeywell

raise an inference of defect and causation, requiring reversal.

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR WME scscscacscovsens i

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES. ....00cccccccccscosscccccscocosrceeresesees Vv

ORTMTIONS BELOW.......ccccscosssscvccsccscrseccssccssesccosoverevseses l

IIT ITETIL . .... .. ssssnsnnnunsogncoienenanprossoveevesosooesenes 2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS .........:::::cccseeseeeeeteees 3

STATEMENT OF CASE...........cccccccssssssscccsssssrereresscsccece 3

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT............0::00++ Y

POINT ONE:

IMPORTANCE OF RESOLVING

SANCTION MOTIONS ON

eo aalsiananamabeie 16

~ POINT TWO:

TRIAL COURT WAS WITHOUT

JURISDICTION TO SANCTION.... 23

POINT THREE:

FED.R.CIV.P. #72(B) DID

I ac aeaipiennilinnn 21

POINT FOUR:

POINT FIVE:

POINT FIVE:

CONCLUSION..

APPENDIX A:

APPENDIX B:

APPENDIX C:

iV

PETITIONER'S FEE

SANCTION MOTIONS ..........00:c000 27

THERE IS INSUFFICIENT

PROOF TO SUPPORT

TRY IR TA RIP os cncenppsnssnnessnsscencens 28

RESPONDENTS FAILED TO

SUPPORT THEIR BURDEN

ON PRE-FILING

INVESTIGATION..............006 peteibeeed 29

sitntesandsinvcaeenidasbiadapidmamsdaaamenld nanan 30

The opinion of the Court

of Appeals and Order on

Rehearing en DatiC.......scccceeerees la

The opinions of Magistrate

Judge Elaine Bucklo of

PE Dy, Bi stnsiicntntaccsnecesaies lla

The orders of the District Court

of July 13, 1989 and July 27,

Vv

APPENDIX D: The opinion and orders of the

District Court of December 12,

APPENDIX E: The reports and recommendations

of March 28, 1991 and July 10,

APPENDIX F: The order of April 9, 1991.......... 36a

APPENDIX G: District Court’s opinion of

CE FT TI ies caccaeceskecttecessses 39a

APPENDIX H: The order of the District Court

OE TIE Fo Fi bricessinsiccccincess 40a

APPENDIX I: The order of the District Court

OE DE i Deka kosctacinatesicncs 4la

APPENDIX J: The District Court order of March

25, 1994 and transcript of March

DG Ba ilitiibintsccssscacctincpernaaeassna 42a

APPENDIX K: The District Court's orders of

May 9, 1994 and June 20,

EER! SSR SOE EER pete Bele 47a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

Brainerd v. Bea

Ce Fk ee ee Ge, Pid ie hadi 19

vi

Brown v. Fed. St. Med. Bds. of U.S.

SOP Te, BE BAGG, CH ee ee cctinthctecssesissocscsarinerniortens 28

Cameau v. Rupp

CEs, BR, Ded, WS, Bees Me Decidvnsvcssaccvestiniidentobaoneds 22

Catlin v. Unites States

SAO US. 229, Be BiBen GUE DGD secsccccsksnoresedctcccsnese 20

Cipollone v. Ligget Group, Inc.

112 S.Ct. 2608 120 L. Ed.2d 407 (1992) .....000... 17,18

Clark Equipment v. Lift Parts Mfg. Co. Inc.

(7th Cir, 1992), 972 F. 2d 817.........cscssssossesescesovseoes 17,18

Employers Ins. of Wausau v. Crown

Cork & Seal Co., Inc.

(3rd Cir. 1990), 905 F.2d 42..............sscccssreees pakaieed 17,18

Eisen v. Carlisle & Jacquelin

417 U.S. 156, 40 L.Ed.2d 732 (1974)... eee 16

First National Bank of Salem, Ohio v. Hirsch

(Gita Che. BGIG), SOS FBG, Bees csitirscscnscetissccbesiotibienioeds 19

Griggs v. Provident Consumer Discount Co.

459 U.S. SG, TS LBA Zio CEO reaps cccesescecesonssce 19

Insurance Benefits Admin'rs, Inc. v. Margin

(ey We Bie ® 9: | eee 28

Lenard v. Argento

(Pe Cor. 1563S), GOP FA Bi acivncscctncsiniidcecttinceaiien 19,22

vil

Lindsey v. Perini

(6th Cir. 1969), 409 F.2d 1341 .....ceceesseeeeeereneenees 19

Maxus Energy Corp. & Subsids, v. U.S.

CISD), BL P.Bd 8 1GS....cccerscccsssersosovecscscrsovssssesssrenvovees 17

Needham v. White Laboratories, Inc.

(7th Cir. 1981), 639 F.2d 394, 397.........ccceeees 19

Parr v. Unites States

351 U.S. 513, 100 L.Ed. 1377 (1956) ..............0.. 20

Spring Garden Associates v. Resolution Trust Corp.

(Jad Cir. 1994), 26 F.26 412.......0cccrccccccccsssersoosees 17

Stern v. United States Gypsum, Inc.

ew Bir. Bc By, Ee ARUnnnmrnne 23

Stearnes v. Bauer's Opera House, Inc.

(7th Cir. 11/1993), 3 F.3d 1142.).............cccccssrovees 17

Tucson Medical Center v. Sullivan

RR TEE BEE TT Bidishcsachssanipiinnccoginendapronsncesegues 18

United States v. Munsinger Wear,

340 U.S. 36, 71 S.Ct. 104, 106, 95 L.Ed. 36......18

Textile Banking Co., Inc.

(7th Cir. 1981), 657- F.2d 844 we ceeecseeeseeees 20

Viii

STATUTES Page

Be AF les BR Faces insovsainissstaanintpasaeamiplintiiens 13,14

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1995

DENNIS E. CARLSON,

Petitioner,

2

HONEYWELL, and ICI AMERICAS, INC.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

OPINIONS BELOW

1. The opinion of the Court of Appeals was published at

64 F. 3d 327(7th Cir 1995) and . It is reproduced and

attached as Appendix A.

2. The opinions of Magistrate Judge Elaine Bucklo are

published at 120 F.R.D. 681 (N.D. Ill. 1988) and 123 F.R.D

583 (N.D. Ill. 1988) and are reproduced and attached as

Appendix B.

3. The orders of the District Court of July 13, 1989 and

July 27, 1989, are reproduced and attached as Appendix C.

4. The opinion and orders of the District Court of

December 12, 1990, are reproduced and attached as

Appendix D.

5. The reports and recommendations of March 28, 1991

and July 10, 1992 are reproduced and attached as Appendix

E.

6. The order of April 9, 1991 is reproduced and attached

as Appendix F.

7. The District Courts opinion of October 17, 1991 is

reproduced and attached as Appendix G.

8. The order of the District Court of October 7, 1992 is

reproduced and attached as Appendix H.

9. The order of the District Court of March 3, 1993 is

reproduced and attached as Appendix I.

10. The District Court order of March 25, 1994 and

transcript of March 15, 1994 is reproduced and attached as

Appendix J.

11. The District Court’s orders of May 9, 1994 and June

20, 1994 are reproduced and attached as Appendix K.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was originally

entered on August 28, 1995.

A Timely Petition for Reconsideration and for

Hearing en banc was made. That motion was denied and the

judgment of the Court of Appeals entered on September 28,

1995. This Court has jurisdiction to issue a writ of certiorari

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

"No person shall be ... deprived of life, liberty, or

property without due process of law ...” (U.S. Const., Article

V)

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner was sole counsel for Kristina Lorentzen and her

husband Alan who sued several defendants for Kristina’s

toxic condition alleged to have been caused by ingestion by

contact or inhalation of poisons routinely applied in the

elementary school where she taught and her condition

became apparent and for additional ingestion at a school to

which she was transferred within her employer's school

district.

Kristina alleged that the first school was constructed in a

manner that sealed the inside of it from the general external

atmosphere; that pesticidal poisons, including but not limited

to ICI Americas’ rat poison known as ICI's Talon G, were

released or over time degraded and emitted poison into the

school’s internal closed atmosphere.

She further alleged that the master control for the

atmospheric internal environment in the school had been

manufactured and installed according to requirements of

defendant Honeywell; the Honeywell control never properly

operated to cause ducts, fans and vents of the heating,

ventilation and air conditioning system and other system

components to sufficiently and properly move, clean or vent

the internal atmosphere of the school in which she was

required to work; and that the routinely applied poisons

released or emitted increased and remained within the school

causing toxic contamination of the atmosphere and chemical

death of cells in various systems of her body to a sufficient

extent to cause her pain, suffering and disability.

The contract applicator, Anderson Pest Control, Inc.,

disclosed in response to a pre-filing inquiry that Talon G was

one of several identified poisons available to technicians for

use at school district premises of Kristina Lorentzen’s

employer including the elementary school alleged to be

contaminated in which suffering and disability first became

apparent to her, but plaintiff's employer which had obtained

this information later refused to disclose any information

after the disclosure of pesticides made available by Anderson

for applications at schools by its technicians.

In response to defendant ICI America’s Request for

Admissions of codefendant Anderson Pest Control, Anderson

denied that Talon G, which had been represented to have

been available for routine use in plaintiffs employer's

schools, had been used in those schools and supported with

the explanation that although available at the plaintiff's

employers suburban schools for use rat poisons were not

used because of an unwritten Andersen policy for school

pesticidal use.

Honeywell answered the plaintiffs’ complaint in law and

discovery by admitting that it believed that it supplied

heating, ventilating and air conditioning [HVAC] component

controls but could not find its documents for its contribution

to the construction of the school where plaintiff's suffering

became apparent to her. Extensive discovery was pursued by

defendants beyond the geographical jurisdiction of the

assigned magistrate judge and district court judge prior to,

during and after the denials of Anderson and Honeywell's

claims of lack of documentation for its contribution to school

construction.

Honeywell filed a lengthy transcript from one of seven

sessions of plaintiffs deposition taken in two states

concerning her health before, at the time of and after she

worked in school premises complained of without serving a

copy of it on petitioner and without serving a notice that

identified the excerpt as having been submitted to Magistrate

Judge Elaine Bucklo.

No affidavits other than that of Anderson’s president were

filed, and no other deposition testimony was submitted or

filed in support of or in opposition to motions of ICI which

had requested findings of violation of Rule 11 but not any

particular fee, cost or other sanction for the claimed

violations. Magistrate Judge Bucklo’s first Report and

Recommendation findings of Rule 11 violation recites a

reliance on Kristina’s testimony that she had no knowledge

of a particular HVAC component that contributed to cause

her poisoned condition.

Petitioner and plaintiffs were not given notice of what was

before the magistrate for her consideration for a report and

recommendation. Petitioner therefore did not factually

oppose what appeared to be factually unsupported motions

for findings of lack of basis in fact for the allegations in the

complaint. Pre-filing information obtained by investigations

of persons available to a restricted degree to plaintiff Kristina

Lorentzen and unavailable to petitioner after inquiry by

Kristina was rejected or ignored.

Petitioner contends that Rule 72(b) of the Fed.R.Civ.P.

does not require the filing of an objection to a

recommendation for entry of a non dispositive order and that,

therefore, the merits of the basis for claims against

Honeywell and ICI had to be considered and the motion for

reconsideration should have been granted. Further, the

District Court had no jurisdiction 10, 30 or 90 days after the

dismissal of the entire lawsuit on December 13, 1990.

It lacked jurisdiction, therefore to adopt any report and

recommendation and had no jurisdiction on March 3, 1993

nor thereafter.

The Appellate Court, therefore, did not have jurisdiction to

do anything other than to declare the judgment of March 3,

1993 void for lack of jurisdiction in the U.S. District Court

on that date.

Further, had the magistrate, trial judge and appellate court

considered the merits of the claims made against ICI and

Americas, they would have been denied for lack of

evidentiary facts to support the claims made.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

In the record below, Honeywell Exhibit In Support Of

Motion For Sanctions And Memorandum of Law in Support

contains no notice of filing or certification of service on

plaintiffs’ counsel in the record although the docket sheet

shows a notice of filing at about that time.

Kristina K. Lorentzen’s deposition transcripts exceed 2,000

pages in length. A minute portion of this entire deposition

was relied on by the magistrate for attorney violative conduct

to the exclusion of the rest.

Plaintiff Kristina testified that doctors Crayton and

Randolph had determined that she was reactive to several

petrochemical compounds including natural gas, and that the

wholly enclosed Neubert school internal environment where

she taught school was likely to contribute to cause symptoms

that she had been experiencing. Many symptoms she had

begun experiencing at that school were associated with her

presence at that school and then at Dundee Highland school

in Unit School District 300 in Dlinois in 1986 and 1987.

She related her symptoms and condition of illness together

with the complaints of her fellow teachers with stale air,

overly hot temperatures, entrance and exit doors to the

Neubert school building which were kept propped to get

fresh air and open because of the stale air in the school,

reports by school administrative persons and janitors about

malfunctions of the HVAC system, that a heat sensor had

been installed backwards, that filters were required to be

changed, that the system did not work properly, and that

Tessendorf had been repeatedly on the premises to repair the

system, without apparent success..

Teachers had no controls for their individual rooms; there

was no aif movement; and a person in the heating business

advised her that the industry sometimes recirculated warm air

rather than bring in new cold air in the winter because it is

cheaper to heat the building that way. The west end of the

school did not ventilate, heat or cool properly; and the

system had never worked since installed. She had been told

by one of the school employees that Honeywell was a

construction contractor and had installed the HVAC system.

Further there was a design flaw in the ventilating system and

a school maintenance person or janitor Jensen told her that

a heat sensor did not allow for change of air.

She also testified that she had been informed when

inquiring that Honeywell was a construction contractor and

that she had been given no information to the contrary.

Jensen told her that a heat sensor had not been properly

placed for six years.

The magistrate’s first Report and Recommendation in

which she recommended that a finding of a violation of Rule

11 be entered and related that dismissal occurred shortly after

plaintiff was deposed and that ICI was named because

records showed that Honeywell was not involved. The

records submitted show that it was a $50,000.00 plus

contractor for the HVAC system's controls.

The first report states that appellant listed every chemical

ihat could have caused symptoms and waited to find out from

discovery what one’s were used. Plaintiff had inquired of the

school which had inquired of Anderson. The disclosure was

for chemicals available for use, and then the school refused

further information. Anderson's Steve Kuhse states in part in

his March 23, 1986 letter to plaintiff's employer that enclosed

were “sample labels of Pesticides available to the Anderson

technician.”

Those pleadings include both petitions for sanctions and

various pleadings responsive thereto by appellant. More

specifically the petitions of defendants for sanctions are as

follows:

ate at te

Appellant's filed pleadings described for mootness: -

March 22, 1991, MOTION by plaintiff for a more definite

statement, [Entry date March 26, 1991], March 22, 1991,

MOTION by plaintiff for evidentiary hearing. [Entry date

March 26, 1991], March 22, 1991, MOTION by plaintiff to

dismiss sanction request, [Entry date March 26, 1991].

Two of the four pleadings of plaintiffs filed by appellant

pertain to a petition for a fee sanction denied by Judge

Lindberg from which no appeal was taken.

Honeywell's stipulation and its dismissal were by

negotiated settlement. Plaintiffs agreed to drop all claims.

Honeywell dropped reservations of rights. Two stipulations

were submitted by its attorneys. The first reserved to

Honeywell is the right to proceed for sanctions or other relief

under either state or federal law. The second, without

reservation, was fully executed and filed by Honeywell.

Appellant argued below that the rights of the parties

existing at the time of the agreed settlement merged in the

settlement and dismissal by stipulation entered without

objection by any party pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. 41(a)(2).

Likewise is the dismissal of ICI. That stipulation is

appended. It contains an exchange of consideration.

[Executed July 14, 1989.] Argued was that no reservation of

rights is stated in this settlement stipulation.

Plaintiffs filed two successive lawsuits against the same

defendants. In each attached to filed complaints and/or

incorporated therein are documents from Kristina Lorentzen’s

employer which included Anderson Pest Control disclosures

10

of other defendants’ pesticide products available for its use at

the employer schools which ha“ been obtained prior to filing

the first lawsuit. In Magistrate Bucklo’s Report and

Recommendation the documentation is described.

HONEYWELL, INC.

Honeywell's motion to strike and dismiss Counts III and

IV of the complaint in 88 C 7142 {2nd suit} pursuant to ~

Fed.R.Civ.P. 10(b) {Because duplicative.} and in the

alternative pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b)(6) to dismiss Count

IV {For failure to state a cause of action for product

liability} was docketed on September 29, 1988. Honeywell

also filed an answer and affirmative defenses to Counts I

and II at the same time. Admitted is the following

allegation:

"The defendant, Honeywell Incorporated,

designed [and] provided components [for] and

the defendant, Tessendorf Mechanical,

installed said components and provided and

designed the remaining components of and

maintained the heating and ventilating system

at said Neubert school at the time mentioned

here ar.d or when it was constructed prior to

August 26, 1985.”

The plaintiffs’ amended complaint in the second lawsuit

was filed on February 16, 1989. Honeywell filed its answer

to the amended complaint on March 17, 1989, and admitted

as to paragraphs three of count one of that complaint that “it

had designed and provided some components for the heating

and ventilating system at Neubert School.” Paragraph three

of count one states as follows:

“The defendant, Honeywell Incorporated,

designed and provided components and the

defendant Tessendorf Mechanical installed

said components and provided and designed

the remaining components of and maintained

the heating and ventilating system at said

Neubert School at the times mentioned herein

or when it was constructed prior to August 26,

1985, but said system did not work and did

not vent the internal environment in said

school as intended, designed and required for

the safe occupancy of said school under

circumstances of use which were reasonably

foreseeable.”

Affirmatively alleged by Honeywell is the following:

“HONEYWELL complied with and was

justified in relying upon the plans and

specifications provided and approved by the

State of Illinois concerning heating, ventilating

and air conditioning systems. The state

specifications relied on by HONEYWELL

were not so apparently defective that

HONEYWELL had notice that the work was

dangerous and likely to cause injury.

Therefore, because HONEYWELL fully

complied with said plans and specifications,

HONEYWELL should not be found liable to

these plaintiffs.”

Honeywell's answer and affirmative defense to this

complaint was executed under oath by attorney Geoffrey A.

12

Bryce of Rooks, Pitts and Poust on March 17, 1989. The

answer specifically alleges that the corporate defendant lacks

knowledge sufficient to admit or deny allegations and that

such statements are true and correct. The last affirmative

defense alleges that Honeywell did provide work..

Honeywell was served on February 7, 1989, its answer

interrogatory three are as follows:

QUESTION: Did defendant or any other

person or entity to defendant's knowledge

enter into any written or oral agreements with

respect to the occurrence...

ANSWER: “Defendant Honeywell objects to

Interrogatory NO. 3 on the ground that as

applied to defendant Honeywell “occurrence”

is vague and ambiguous. Defendant

Honeywell cannot locate all of its files

concerning the school located west of Route

31 on Hunting Drive, Algonquin, [linois. It

is believed that the records were destroyed

pursuant to a company wide records retention

policy. According to the normal procedure

for Honeywell, it is believed that Honeywell

may have contracted with Illinois Heating &

Ventilating Co., Inc. to furnish certain

components and incidental installation per the

plans and specifications prepared by K.C. &

M. Engineers & Associates, Inc. and

Scheidematel & Trietler, Ltd. Architects.

Otherwise answering, none known at this

time.

nea amnceate

13

On July 13, 1989, the court ordered that “Plaintiffs’ oral

motion to dismiss Honeywell is granted.”

On September 8, 1989, Honeywell’s Motion for Sanctions

Pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. 11 and 28 U.S.C. § 1927 was filed,

consisting of two pages, four numbered paragraphs and a

wherefore clause (Page 2) requesting that there be (i) a

: finding of violation of Rule 11 and Section 1927; (ii)

) “reasonable attorneys’ fees and costs in connection with its

defense in Lorentzen I and in this case, including fees and

costs incurred in preparing this motion and memorandum”;

(iii) leave to file an itemized petition for fees and costs

within 28 days, and (iv) “other relief as this Court finds just

and reasonable relief”.

ICI AMERICAS, INC.

A Stipulation to Dismiss was, executed by appellant

on July 14, 1989 and returned to ICI Americas. It was

docketed by the clerk of the district court on July 28, 89 with

| ICI’s Motion to Enter Stipulation to Dismiss, also docketed

on the 27th.

} Pursuant to certification of service executed by Alan R.

: Dolinko of Sidley and Austin, counsel for ICI, the Motion to

Enter Stipulation was served on all counsel of record on July

19, 1989.

On July 27, 1989, the court recited that pursuant to (a)

motion of ICI Americas, Inc. and (b) Motion to Enter

Stipulation to Dismiss, it is ordered that “Pursuant to

stipulation, defendant ICI Americas Inc. is dismissed, with

prejudice, pursuant to Rule 41(a)(2). The related Motion to

14

Enter Stipulation to Dismiss (291), also filed July 27, 1989,

of ICI, moves pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. 41(a)(2) for an order

of court dismissing it from the lawsuit with prejudice in

accordance with the parties’ stipulation to dismiss which is

attached hereto.

On August 10, 1989, ICI Americas, Inc. filed its Motion

for Rule 54(b) Finding, mailed August 3, 1989 and a minute

order for judgment was entered that day reciting that a

dismissal had been entered on July 27, 1989, with prejudice

and by agreement pursuant to Rule 41(a)(1) [Actually per

Rule 41(a)(2) according to prior order & stipulation.] and that

"{the prior] order being a final judgment of dismissal in favor

of the defendant, defendant's motion for entry of judgment

pursuant to Rule 54(b) is granted.”.

On August 10, 1989, the clerk entered another order which

stated as follows:

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that

plaintiff having dismissed defendant ICI

Americas, Inc. on July 27, 1989, with

prejudice and by agreement, pursuant to Rule

41(a)(1) and that order being a final judgment

of dismissal in favor of the defendant, final

judgment pursuant to Rule 54(b) is hereby

entered. Enter judgment.

ICI Americas filed on November 2, 1989 its 3.5 page

Motion for Sanctions pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. 11 and 28

U.S.C. § 1927 against attorney Carlson only and 15 page

Memorandum reciting unverified purported fact in support.

15

Vol. 9 of 38 contains pages 1596 through 1895 from a two

thousand page deposition of the plaintiff taken in three

sessions and two states that contains a face sheet with the

caption of the case entitled, HONEYWELL EXHIBIT IN

SUPPORT OF MOTION FOR SANCTIONS AND

MEMORANDUM OF LAW IN SUPPORT filed September

7, 1889 and docketed September 8, 1989. It is unclear

whether it was made available to, reviewed by or relied on

by the magistrate or not.

Plaintiffs filed four transcripts and two affidavits in

opposition to defendants’ motions for sanctions. Appellant's

petition for Rule 11 sanctions filed on April 14, 1994 for

misrepresentations by defendants included exhibits A through

O consisting in part of the docketing statement designating

the mooted sanction motions or petitions and also documents

detailing Honeywell's involvement in the HVAC system in

exhibits L through O summarized as follows:

L - O: Honeywell contractor waivers to Illinois Heating

and Ventilating Co. for plaintiff's school building from 1978

through 1981, letters Honeywell to School District 300 for

unpaid balances such as $16,943.00 on a contract price of

$50,000.00 to $56,000.00 for the subject school and

Honeywell schematics for HVAC controllers, sensors,

monitors and fittings with related information. See Petition

for Rule 11 sanctions for Misrepresentation of Fact on and

before March 15, 1994 at page 11 and in foot note one on p.

11. This pursuant to subpoena referred to by Magistrate’

Bucklo’s R. & R. as having disclosed lack of Honeywell

involvement. Not made available to her, i.e., no transcripts

or documents having been served on appellant nor described

by notice of defendants as having been filed in support of

petitions for sanctions against appellant.

16

On October 17, 1991, the presiding District Court Judge

adopted Magistrate Bucklo’s report and recommendation of

March 28, 1991, which recommended that defendants’

motions for sanctions against attorney Carlson be granted, but

which failed to specify the sanction, and thus was not a final

recommendation.

On November 22, 1991 ICI filed its Notice of Filing and

two page Petition for Costs and Fees which adopts the

affidavit of attorney Beyer which in turn attaches a statement

of fees comprised of a series of abbreviated two to six word

references to work done from February 5, 1988 through

February 21, 1991 and cost entries for messenger services,

Fed- Exp. duplicating, bindery work not described and

reporter costs.

IMPORTANCE OF RESOLVING SANCTION

MOTIONS ON MERIT OR LACK THEREOF

It is of paramount concern that constitutionally conferred

limited jurisdiction in federal courts is not e> ceeded.

It is of great importance that the doors of the courthouse

are not closed to litigants by sanctioning attorneys for

attempting to prosecute suits for substantial injury that are

difficult, complex and which ultimately exhaust the economic

resources of clients and counsel for prosecution of otherwise

viable claims.

It is improper for the court to speculate on the reason for

dismissal, when there is no factual basis in the record.

17

A primary public policy of state and federal government

is the protection of life and property. Access to the courts

should not be barred for pesticide contamination in

elementary schools that cause delayed disability and loss of

a normal life for generations of susceptible individuals

routinely poisoned.

The heavy burden on courts and all litigants arising from

unseeable chemical cellular destruction of organs and systems

of the body from post 1940 use of fabricated hydrocarbon

poison compounds, must not be laid at the feet of the bearer

of such litigation because the litigants and their counsel

staggered from exhaustion under burden of discovery

required of them by multinational corporations.

No agency or fund exists to toxic personal injury claims.

The traditional attorney's contingent fee is ordinarily an

inadequate fund to finance toxic tort personal injury claims

as demonstrated by the record below.

Il.

THE TRIAL COURT WAS WITHOUT

JURISDICTION TO ENTER A JUDGMENT

The appellate opinion herein conflicts with jurisdictional

requirements articulated in Spring Garden Associates v.

Resolution Trust Corp., (3rd Cir. 1994), 26 F.2d 412, 415:

Employers Ins. of Wausau v. Crown Cork & Seal Co., Inc.,

(3rd Cir. 1990), 905 F.2d 42, 45; Stearnes v. Bauer's Opera

House, Inc., (7th Cir. 1171993), 3 F.3d 1142 {at bottom of p.

40 of appellant’s original brief}; Maxus Energy Corp. &

Subsids. v. U.S., (1994), 31 F.3d 1135; Clark Equipment v.

Lift Parts Mfg. Co. Inc., (7th Cir. 1992), 972 F. 2d 817:

Cipollone v. Ligget Group, Inc., ____ U.S. ___, 112 S.Ct.

18

2608, 2620, 120 L. Ed.2d 407 (1992). There is a denial of

due process guaranteed to all, including attorneys, by the

14th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.

Every federal appellate court has a special required

- obligation to satisfy itself not only of its own jurisdiction, but

also that of lower courts in the cause under review. Spring

Garden Associates v. Resolution Trust Corp., (3rd Cir. 1994),

26 F.2d 412, 415; Employers Ins. of Wausau v. Crown Cork

& Seal Co., Inc., (3rd Cir. 1990), 905 F.2d 42, 45; Stearnes

v. Bauer's Opera House, Inc., (7th Cir. 11/1993), 3 F.3d 1142

{at bottom of p. 40 of appellant’s original brief}; Maxus

Energy Corp. & Subsids. v. U.S., (1994), 31 F.3d 1135. This

duty is violated.

Jurisdictional mootness arose when the stipulations to

dismiss were filed in 1989, Clark Equipment v. Lift Parts

Mfg. Co. Inc., (7th Cir. 1992), 972 F. 2d 817. Also see

Cipollone v. Ligget Group, Inc., ___ U.S. ____, 112 S.Ct.

2608, 2620, 120 L. Ed.2d 407 (1992), cited and relied on by

the court in Clark (See brief at point five) Federal courts

lack jurisdiction to consider the merits of claims that are

deemed moot because judicial power extends only to cases

or controversies. Tucson Medical Center v. Sullivan, (C.A.),

947 F.2d 971, 977; United States v. Munsingwear, 340 U.S.

36, 30, 71 S.Ct. 104, 106, 95 L.Ed. 36.

Jurisdiction expired shortly after if not before the

underlying lawsuit was dismissed in its entirety for failure of

ICI and Honeywell to file a complete or supplemental Rule

11 petition by requesting a specific fee sanction before or

after Judge Lindberg warned that Rule 11 sanctions sought

needed to be jurisdictionally perfected.

19

Loss of jurisdiction was spread of record pursuant to the

October 7, 1992, explicit and specific designation and

declaration of mootness of the fee petitions of defendants.

No appeal from that jurisdictional declaration has ever been

taken by defendants no doubt because this court held in

Brainerd v. Beal, 498 F. 2d 901 (7th Cir., 1975), that a

notice of appeal was jurisdictionally void because filed one

day late. In accord is Needham v. White Laboratories, Inc.,

(7th Cir. 1981), 639 F.2d 394, 397. Ignoring the October 7,

1992 declaration of lack of jurisdiction over fee petitions

does not, according to any logic or authority, revest

jurisdiction for entry of a judgment in March of 1993.

This court held that a motion for reconsideration of a fee

award operates as a Rule 59(e) motion to postpone running

of the time to appeal. Lenard v. Argento, (7th Cir. 1983),

699 F.2d 874, cert. denied, 464 U.S. 315. Not only was

there no notice of appeal filed from the October 7, 1992

order, but there also was no motion to reconsider the October

7, 1992 declared mootness. Nor was there a motion to open

the December 13, 1990 dismissal of the entire lawsuit.

Neither the court of appeals nor a cooperative opponent

can revive an appeal when notice of appeals was not timely

filed. Griggs v. Provident Consumer Discount Co., 459 U.S.

56, 74 L.Ed.2d 225 (1982); Lindsey v. Perini, (6th Cir.

1969), 409 F.2d 1341; First National Bank of Salem, Ohio v.

Hirsch, (6th Cir. 1976), 535 F.2d 343, 345, n. 1. In the

instant cause the defendants did not even take an appeal nor

move for retention of jurisdiction over the motions which

failed to contain a request for a fee sanction and which,

therefore, were not even sufficient Rule 11 fee sanction

requests.

20

The October 7, 1992 mootness order passed on the only

claims not yet explicitly ruled on as of that date, and no

appeal has ever been taken from that order to date.

Therefore, the fee award is void as the confirmation of that

judgment by the court of appeals is also void.

As a matter of practicality the October 7, 1992-order was

final. Eisen v. Carlisle & Jacquelin, (1974) 417 U.S. 156, 40

L.Ed.2d 732 . The mootness declaration of October 7 left

the court with nothing more to do except to enforce its

* judgment of mootness. Catlin v. Unites States, (1945) 324

U.S. 229, 89 L.Ed. 911, 916; Parr v. Unites States, (1956)

351 U.S. 513, 100 L.Ed. 1377. The district court and this

court have failed to enforce the October 7, 1992 judgment.

In Textile Banking Co., Inc., (7th Cir. 1981), 657 F.2d 844,

the court held that it did not have jurisdiction to review a

default judgment order entered in supplementary proceedings

to satisfy a judgment where late notice of appeal was not

timely filed, notwithstanding interim efforts to persuade the

district court to vacate a judgment. In the instant cause the

defendants wrote an interim letter to the court to cause it to

award a $147,000.00 judgment about five months after entry

of the October 7, 1992 jurisdictional mootness order. A

letter ignoring that judgment order cannot confer jurisdiction

nor jurisdiction be restored by ignoring below and on appeal

the October 7, 1992 ruling.

The reviewing Court ignored that the motions were not,

jurisdictionally timely filed; that the supplemental fee specific

fees claimed were not filed until many months after the

underlying lawsuit was dismissed in 1991 as to all defendants

remaining after the July 1989 stipulated dismissals; that

approximately one half year elapsed before judgments were

entered in March of 1994, and jurisdictionally barred

petitions were declared on October 7, 1992, by Judge

Lindberg, to be “moot” for which a docketing statement cites

by docket numbers for both 92 fee petitions and every related

responsive pleading.

Il.

Fed.R.Civ.P. #72(b) DID NOT APPLY TO THE FIRST

REPORT AND RECOMMENDATION FOR A NON

DISPOSITIVE FINDING

Point one: Rule 41(a)(2) did not preserve jurisdiction for

the filing of a Rule 11 motion or petition, and neither

subsection (a) nor (b) applied to the first recommendation

and report of the magistrate.

Fed.R.Civ.P. 72(b) does not require an appeal from a

report and recommendation which is interlocutory. Since the

first report and recommendation was not final, multiple

appeals would result. On appeal the court erroneously found

that an objection was jurisdictionally necessary to appeal the

magistrate’s first report and recommendation for a finding of

a violation of Rule 11.

The court erred in holding that there was no objection to

a report and recommendation for sanctions because a timely

objection was filed upon a final report The Court of Appeals

ignored the fact that appellant's pleading filed within 10 days

of the first report states that “if the motion (to reconsider) is

denied, plaintiffs object to the declared violation of Rule 11

violation.

22

Cameau v. Rupp, (D. Kan. 1992), 142 F.R.D. 683, which

holds that a motion to vacate, such as petitioner filed,

obviates the need to object within 10 days to a magistrate’s

ruling. In Lenard v. Argentino (7th Cir.), 600 F.2d 874, 898.

a motion to reconsider made within a ten day time limit

. extended the time within which to file a notice of appeal.

The lack of an appropriate title for a pleading which timely

attacks a magistrate’s report and recommendation is not fatal

to jurisdiction. Courts are charged with considering substance

over form. It is clear that an objection was timely filed.

Had the motion been entitled objection and motion for

reconsideration for stated reasons, the court would have

taken an opposite position, as there is nothing in the law that

says that a pleading.cannot serve more than one function or

purpose.

In sum, the opinion of August 28, 1995 affirms a judgment

for $147,000.00 without a word about whether or not the

jurisdictional issue raised by appellant below and on appeal

had merit. That issue must be addressed whether properly

and sufficiently raised or not by appellant. Stern v. United

States Gypsum, Inc., 547 F.2d 1329, 1333 (7th Cir.), cert.

denied, 434 U.S. 975.

Similarly, the trial court gave no explanation for its bald

conclusion that it had jurisdiction to enter judgment in March

of 1993 on petitions it had declared moot in 1992.

Point Two: Defendants were not compelled by plaintiffs

or petitioner to submit to “needless discovery” where they in

fact set the discovery priorities and schedules they desired

with the magistrate’s approval.

23

The court of appeals opinion is factually in error in stating

that Honeywell and ICI were compelled to participate in

discovery for two years before respectively dismissed.

Sanction was entered in the trial court for the declared

failure of petitioner to perform a reasonable pre-filing

investigation. Sanctions were affirmed for what this court

characterized as needlessly requiring defendants to submit to

discovery.

The needless discovery conclusion is drawn from an

uncritical reading of paragraph seven of ICI’s three page

incomplete October 16, 1989 motion for sanctions which

falsely states it “spent two years defending against this

factually baseless lawsuit.”

No defendant appeared in the first of two lawsuits filed

except to contest service by mail pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. 4/.

The second suit was filed on August 17, 1988. ICI filed

an answer to the complaint on September 7, 1988.

Honeywell filed on the same date. ICI denied knowledge

sufficient to form a belief as to the truth of the allegations

made against it and concluded therein that it was without

fault or liability Likewise Honeywell denied sufficient

knowledge but admitted that it had designed and provided

_ components for the hearing and ventilating system at

Neubert, a fact that its attorney argued in hearings on post

judgment motions and on appeal was not true.

The Anderson affidavit, referenced in the District Court

opinion at page three, is apparently that of corporate officer

Thomas O'Hara. It was executed on March 13, 1989, about ©

six months after defendant ICI appeared.

The corporate officers affidavit contains 8 brief

paragraphs. At paragraph 8 O’Hara concludes based on his

“knowledge” of “record keeping practices” and a review of

“those records” that Anderson Pest Control did not use,

apply or place Talon-G into Neubert Elementary School

between August 85 and May 87.

Steven Kuhse’s affidavit, Anderson's Manager, executed on

August 10, 1989, about one month after dismissal of ICI,

states that when he disclosed Talon-G in response to

- plaintiffs’ pre-filing inquiry for the identity of pesticides used,

he did not know what products were used but only intended

to disclose which ones were available for use by applicators

rather than which ones were used as requested by plaintiffs.

Defendant Honeywell and ICI were dismissed in mid July

of 1989. On July 13, 1989, Honeywell was dismissed on oral

motion pursuant to an agreement and an executed stipulation

from which a reservation of claims for sanctions had been

stricken by agreement. The stipulation was executed on July

14, 1989. The stipulation to dismiss ICI was executed on

July 14, 1989, and it was later filed by ICI on July 20, 1989,

at its leisure.

The District Court's opinion that petitioner put ICI through

needless discovery compliance is tantamount to holding as a

matter of law that a codefendant’s corporate officer's self

serving affidavit based on fragmented slips of paper by

various applicators not specifically identified and of unknown

nature and competency is peremptory on the issue of what

products applicators used in fact. Accordingly, this court's

ruling would require that plaintiffs and their attorney forego

cross examining the affiants regarding the reliability of their

reported conclusions, the bases for same and the various

25

applicators. This, petitioner contends, is not a result

reasonable requirement since it is tantamount to allowing

defendants to be summarily dismissed on the affidavit of a

codefendant that the dismissed defendant was not involved

but merely available for involvement. Criminal defendants

would welcome such a procedure to avoid conviction for

crimes perpetrated if a cooperative codefendant is available.

Honeywell in fact provided the master controls for the

HVAC system, a fact irrefutably proved by more than

$57,000.00 in contract documents for the Neubert Elementary

School which Honeywell spuriously and falsely claims is a

school that either does not exist or which it did not work on

contrary to its answer.

Petitioner asked for and was refused an evidentiary hearing

although the magistrate’s report is based on her presumption

that dismissal that followed production of school records is

evidence of the lack of Honeywell involvement although in

fact the cpposite is true. The dismissal was for lack of

financial means and resources to prove a strict liability defect

under Illinois law which, does not mean that the HVAC

Honeywell controls were not malfunctioning at all times

mentionec. as supported by the personal experiences of the

plaintiff and other teachers in the building during hot and

cold seasons.

The magistrate did not set a briefing schedule for

resolution of the Honeywell motion for a recommendation of

a declaration of a Rule 11 violation notwithstanding

assertions to the contrary by defendants. The docketing sheet

shows no briefing schedule or hearing date.

26

Adding to confusion, Honeywell submitted under a cover

pleading erroneously labeled a memorandum a copious

excerpt from the plaintiff's deposition in which this teacher

admitted lack of engineering or legal expertise. Since no

transcript excerpt was served on petitioner, no other excerpts

_ or affidavits in opposition were submitted.

For the lack of an English teacher's expert opinion, the

magistrate concluded that there was no Honeywell

involvement. This notwithstanding that plaintiff testified in

deposition to her personal knowledge that the HVAC system

in her experience did not cool, heat nor move fresh air.

Honeywell control components regulated the Neubert

Elementary School entire HVAC system and that Honeywell

stated it had not known the extent of its involvement when

filing answers to interrogatories although opining that it had

likely submitted components for the system. These matters

were all addressed in petitioner's briefs and ignored on

appeal.

Point Three: The statement that the magistrate supervised

and knew, therefore, the content of discovery is inherently

contradictory because supervision does not amount to review

of any transcript of any deposition from amongst more than

40 sessions that occurred.

According to the record she only read the transcript for the

deposition of one Anderson Pest Control applicator and there

concluded that defense counsel violated rules of discovery by

interfering with the interrogation of petitioner of the

deponent. This court's reliance on supervision of discovery

by a magistrate who attended no session of plaintiff's

deposition is mere sand upon which to base a judgment for

27

$147,000.00. No dispositive motion on the merits was

noticed for hearing nor ruled upon.

The appellate court opinion herein does not address any of

the points raised by petitioner's brief, does not explain why

it was not necessary for defendants’ to show as a basis for

sanction that plaintiffs could never have proved clainis made

against them, that mootness does not apply, that jurisdiction

was not lost by the filing of stipulations in 1989 nor the late

1991 dismissal of all defendants not already dismissed nor by

the October 7, 1992 order declaring all pending matters moot

where the only matters not specifically resolved were the two

1992 fee petitions.

IV.

PETITIONER'S FEE SANCTION MOTION

The court of appeals concluded that the claims for fee

sanction awards for false statements of fact were waived by

failure to move for hearing and that this failure was not

excused by the failure of the district court’s reporter to

transcribe the record for appeal for that portion of the record

wherein the misrepresentations were stated. Where the only

matters on appeal related to frivolous pleadings and

sanctions, this court insists that at petitioner's peril he was

required to raise for hearing a motion for sanctions without

the necessary underlying transcript for a judge who

repeatedly refused to hear matters unless related transcripts

of proceeding were provided.

Petitioner was also at peril if he moved for hearing on his

motion for sanctions without a transcript and was damned for

not having waited for it before asking for a ruling from Judge

28

Lindberg. The failure or refusal of the court's reporter to

provide a transcript in any period of time that could be

loosely characterized as less than unreasonably tardy was the

death knell for petitioner's cross motion for sanctions.

Appellant's motion for sanctions was stricken sua sponte

‘without a hearing at the very time that the record pertaining

to the hearing in which misrepresentation of fact and law

were made that are complained of in the sanction motion

inexplicably remained un-transcribed by the official court

reporter assigned to Judge Lindberg notwithstanding several

orders and motions on appeal pertaining to the failure to

transcribe those proceedings.

V.

THERE IS INSUFFICIENT PROOF TO

SUPPORT THE FEE AWARD

A Rule 11 motion which is itself frivolous or which

contains an excessive fee request not proportional to conduct

deemed violative is sanctionable. In any event, in assessing

sanctions on such a motion the court must indicate how and

what is proportional to the abuse committed. /nsurance

Benefits Admin'rs, Inc. v. Martin, (C.A. 7th, 1989), 871 F.2d

1354.

The failure to specify time and services in itself justifies

sanction denial. In Brown v. Fed. St. Med, Bds. of U.S., 839

F. 2D 1142, 1149 (7th Cir. 1992), the court of appeals

required specific reasons for substantial fees and the manner

of computation.

SS eEeEOEeEeEEE———&« St —————

29

This was not done by the trial court in the instant cause

nor required on appeal. Reasons were not articulated. Burda

v. M. Eker Co., (7th, 1992), 954 F.2d 434. Rule 11 does not

permit fee shifting for mere compensation. U.S. ex rel Leno

v. Summit Cons. Co., 892 F.2d 788.

VI.

RESPONDENTS FAILED TO SUPPORT THEIR

BURDEN ON PRE-FILING INVESTIGATION

The first Report and Recommendation from the magistrate

judge presumes that dismissal after receipt of subpoenaed

school construction documents is an admission that petitioner

(herein sometimes referred tu as appellant) knew then and

that he knew before that there never had been a basis for

plaintiff's claims. The more plausible inference is that he

expected that the documents did show that Honeywell

contributed $65,000.00 in controls for the wholly automated

contributing internal environment of the school.

On appeal the court refused to consider an offer of

pictures, on site reports and documentation from school

district records to show that there was more than enough

evidence to show that Honeywell designed and supplied the

HVAC system. What was cited from the common law

record and submitted from on site inspections demonstrates

that inferences based on a voluntary dismissal cannot stand

as a basis for sanction. ° ‘

There is no admissible evidence in the record that rat

poison brought to the plaintiff's school on routine pesticide

applications was never evér used. The inference is that if rat

30

poison is brought to a school where food is served that it is

likely or at least possible that it was used where admittedly

made available for such use according to pre-filing

admissions attached to each and every complaint filed by

plaintiffs and petitioner.

The 1000 pages of transcript submitted by Honeywell

show that plaintiff had knowledge of the Honeywell

controlled HVAC system failure which consequently retained

poison contamination in the school where her toxic systems

arose and persisted at all times when deposed in seven

sessions. That a trier of fact may ultimately believe a claimed

<unwritten policy of Anderson against the use of rat poison

Talon G does not mean that plaintiff and petitioner had no

reason to believe otherwise.

IN CONCLUSION, petitioner prays that this court reverse

the judgment for $147,000.00 and remand this cause for

hearing on petitioner's sanction motions.

Respectfully submitt

YL:

Dennis E. Carlson

Pro se

208 S. LaSalle St.

Suite 1705

Chicago, Illinois 60604

(312) 263-4700

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

CHICAGO, ILLINOIS 60604

September 28, 19 95.

Honorable JESSE E. ESCHBACH, Circuit Judge

Honorable MICHAEL S. KANNE, Circuit Judge

Honorable LANA DIAMOND ROVNER, Circuit Judge

No. 94-1687 and 94-2593

KRISTINA K. LORENTZEN |] Appeal from the United

and ALAN LORENTZEN ] States District (Court

Plaintiffs ]for the Northern District

Jof Illinois, Eastern

v. ]Division

J

ICI AMERICAS INC. and ] No. 88 C 7142

HONEYWELL, INC. ]

Defendants-Appellees |

}George W. Lindberg

Appeal of DENNIS CARLSON})Judge

’ ORDER

On consideration of the petition for rehearing with

Suggestion for rehearing en banc filed by appellant, Dennis

E. Carlson on September 12, 1995, no judge in active service

2a

has requested a vote thereon, and all of the judges on the

original panel have voted to deny the petition. Accordingly,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the petition for rehearing

with suggestion for rehearing en banc be, and the same is,

. hereby DENIED.

3a

3n the

United States Court of Appeals

For the Seventh Circuit

Nos. 94-1687 and 94-2593

KRISTINA K. LORENTZEN

and ALAN LORENTZEN,

Plaintiffs,

v.

ANDERSON PEST CONTROL, KLEAN MASTER,

KANKAKEE INDUSTRIAL SuPPLY COMPANY, et al.,

Defendants-Appellees.

APPEAL OF: DENNIS E. CARLSON

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division.

No. 88 C 7142—George W. Lindberg, Judge.

ARGUED JUNE 6, 1995—DecipED AvuGusT 28, 1995

Before ESCHBACH, KANNE, and ROVNER, Circuit

Judges.

ROVNER, Circuit Judge. The district court sanctioned

Dennis Carlson, plaintiffs’ attorney in the underlying ac-

tion, for failing to conduct a proper pre-filing investiga-

tion and for continuing to pursue baseless litigation against

Honeywell, Inc. (“Honeywell”) and ICI Americas, Inc.

(“ICI”) after discovery revealed that they were not proper

parties to the action. The district court declined to sanc-

tion ICI and Honeywell for allegedly filing a baseless joint

da

Nos. 94-1687 & 94-2593

Rule 54(b) motion and for allegedly making misrepresenta-

tions to the court. We affirm the rulings of the district

court because Carlson waived his right to appeal the im-

position of sanctions when he failed to properly object to

. the magistrate-judge’s Report and Recommendation, and

because the district court did not abuse its discretion in

setting the amount of the sanction or in refusing to sanc-

tion ICI and Honeywell.

I. BACKGROUND

Carlson represented Kristina and Alan Lorentzen in a

lawsuit against, among others, Honeywell and ICI. The

Lorentzens alleged that Kristina had developed multiple

chemical sensitivities after being exposed to certain chem-

icals in two poorly ventilated schools where she taught

in suburban Chicago.? The Lorentzens named ICI as a

defendant because ICI manufactures a rodenticide called

Talon-G, which the Lorentzens alleged contributed to Kris-

tina’s injuries. Honeywell, the Lorentzens alleged, de-

signed and provided components for the ventilating sys-

tem of one of the schools. The Lorentzens also named as

a defendant Anderson Pest Control (“Anderson’’), which

allegedly applied the offending chemical substances in the

relevant schools.

Through requests to admit directed to Anderson, ICI

was quickly able to discern that Talon-G had never been

applied in any school where Kristina Lorentzen taught.

Carlson himself admitted that neither he nor his client

ever had specific knowledge as to what substances had

plied in the schools. Rather, he determined that

Talon was one of the substances that Anderson had

available for use in the school district. Faced with the

1 The —— was initially dismissed pursuant to Fed. R. Civ.

P. 44) for failure to serve process within 120 days. The complaint

was refiled approximately one year later, and subsequently amended.

This latest version io the aulject of this aupedl

2 Alan Lorentzen’s claim was for loss of consortium.

Sa

Nos. 94-1687 & 94-2593

sworn statements of Anderson that Talon-G had not been

applied, Carlson refused to immediately dismiss ICI from

the case, instead subjecting it to two years of needless

discovery before voluntarily dismissing the company from

the case.

The circumstances with Honeywell were not much dif-

ferent. Carlson relied entirely on his client’s assertion that

Honeywell was responsible for ventilation problems at one

of the schools without conducting any independent investi-

gation. Instead, Carlson relied on discovery to ascertain

whether Honeywell properly belonged in the suit. When

pressed to produce information and documents tying Honey-

well to any alleged ventilation problems at the school,

Carlson finally admitted that he had only recently reviewed

construction records for the school and that he had no

evidence to keep Honeywell in the case. After Honeywell

had expended considerable resources defending itself against

the baseless charges, Carlson voluntarily dismissed the

company from the case.

Both ICI and Honeywell asked the court to sanction Carl-

son pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 11 and 28 U.S.C. § 1927.

They maintained that Carlson had failed to conduct an

adequate pre-filing investigation and then had’ continued

to pursue the baseless litigation in the face of clear evi-

dence that neither Honeywell nor ICI had injured his

clients. After the motions were fully briefed, the district

court referred them to a magistrate-judge. On March

28, 1991, the magistrate-judge issued a detailed Report

and Recommendation, recommending that the motions for

sanctions pursuant to Rule 11 and 28 U.S.C. § 1927 be

granted. The magistrate-judge found that costs and attor-

ney’s fees would be an appropriate sanction against Carl-

son, and that he not be allowed to recoup the sanction

from his clients. The Report and Recommendation explained |

that written objections, if any, were to be filed with the

district court within ten days, pursuant to Fed. R. Civ.

P. 72(b), and that failure to object would constitute a

waiver of objection on appeal.

Nos. 94-1687 & 94-2593

Instead of filing objections with the district court,

Carlson filed a motion with the magistrate-judge to vacate

the Report and Recommendation. The ——

. denied’ the motion to vacate, and six weeks

filed a “Motion for a Ruling” in the district court, whch

was also denied. After adopting the Report and Recom-

mendation without objection, the district court ordered

ICI and Honeywell to file fee petitions. Carison was given

an opportunity to respond to these fee petitions, but

focused his argument on the order imposing sanctions

rather than on the amount of the fee requested. The magis-

trate-ju recommended that the petitions of ICI and

Honeywell be granted in their entirety, explaining that

in light of the amount of time necessary to defend agai

the less charges, the fees sought were reasonable. The

magistrate-judge also determined that nothing less than

a substantial monetary sanction would deter Carlson from

similar conduct in the future.

This time, Carlson filed an objection to the Report and

Recommendation with the district court. On March 3,

1993, the district court adopted the second Report and

Recommendation, ordering Carlson to pay $74,499.61 to

ICI and $71,420.70 to Honeywell. Carlson filed a motion

to vacate that order, but after briefing and argument, the

district court denied his motion. Shortly thereafter, seek-

ing to confirm the entry of final judgement, both ICI and

Honeywell ~— motions for final judgment pursuant to

Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(b). The district court denied these

motions, and Carlson then filed his own motion for Rule

11 sanctions, arguing that the Rule 54 motions of ICI and

Honeywell were baseless. After briefing and argument,

the district court denied Carlson’s motion for sanctions.

Undeterred, Carlson filed a second motion for sanctions,

this time contending that ICI and Honeywell had made

false statements during the oral argument on Carlson’s

earlier motion for sanctions. The district court denied this

motion pursuant to Local General Rule 12(1), which allows

the court to dismiss motions sua for failure to pros- —

ecute. In this appeal, Carlson enges the order impos-

7a

Nos. 94-1687 & 94-2593

ing sanctions against him, as well as the orders denying

sanctions against ICI and Honeywell.

II. DISCUSSION

Failure to file objections with the district court to a

magistrate’s report and recommendation waives the right

to appeal all issues addressed in the recommendation, both

factual and legal. Egert v. Connecticut General Life Ins.

Co., 900 F.2d 1032, 1089 (7th Cir. 1990). In Egert, the

same magistrate-judge had issued the same warning she

issued here: that written objections to any finding of fact,

conclusion of law or recommendation must be filed with

the district court within ten days or such objections will

be waived on appeal. We held that the failure of the

defendant to h that warning constituted a waiver of

the defendant’s right to have this court review the

magistrate’s findings, and we therefore declined to do so.

Id. Because Carlson failed to object before the district

court to the magistrate-judge’s recommendation that sanc-

tions be imposed, we will not review the district court’s

decision to adopt that recommendation and to sanction

Carlson. Furthermore, the district court imposed its sanc-

tion under both Rule 11 and 28 U.S.C. § 1927 and Carlson

failed to challenge the imposition of sanctions under sec-

tion 1927. Thus, the section 1927 award supplies an addi-

tional, independent bzsis for upholding the decision of the

district court. We affvm, therefore, the imposition of sanc-

tions against Carlson.

_ Carlson did timely object to the second Report and

Recommendation which addressed the amount of sanctions

to be imposed, and therefore preserved that issue for

review by this court. We review the district court’s order

setting sanctions for abuse of discretion. Cooter & Gell

v. Hartmarx Corp., 496 U.S. 384, 405, 110 S.Ct. 2447,

2461, 110 L.Ed.2d 359 (1990). “Generally, an abuse of dis-

cretion only occurs where no reasonable person could take

the view adopted by the trial court. If reasonable persons

could differ, no abuse of discretion can be found.” Durr

8a

Nos. 94-1687 & 94-2593

v. Intercounty Title C. of Illinois, 14 F.3d 1183, 1187 (7th

Cir. 1994) (quoting Harrington v. DeVito, 656 F.2d 264,

269 (7th Cir 1981)). Rule 11 a rmits an award of those

expenses directly caused by a less filing, including at-

torneys’ fees in defending against the filing. Jd.

The magistrate-judge’s Report and Recommendation, fully

adopted by the district court, reflects careful considera-

tion of the detailed billing records submitted by ICI and

Honeywell. Having supervised the discovery that accounted

-for the bulk of the fees in question, the magistrate-judge

was in the best position to know whether the fees sought

were reasonable. Based on her experience with the litiga-

tion, she held that the fees were reasonable and that only

a substantial monetary sanction would deter Carlson from

engaging in similar conduct in the future. This court’s re-

view of the record reveals that the holdings of the district

court are well founded in fact and law.

Against this background, Carlson offers nearly unintelligi-

ble statements regarding the legal standards for setting

fees. While some of these assertions may be correct state-

ments of the law in the abstract, Carlson does not apply

them to the facts before us. Carlson offers no specific ex-

amples of excessive fees or vague billing records. In fact,

he makes no cogent argument at all. The district court

did not abuse its discretion in setting the amount of the

sanction equal to the fees and costs reasonably incurred

by ICI and Honeywell in defending this baseless action.

We therefore affirm the amount of the sanctions imposed

upon Carlson.

Similarly, the district court did not abuse its discretion

in denying Carlson’s motions for sanctions against ICI and

Honeywell for filing the joint Rule 54(b) motion and for

allegedly making misrepresentations in open court. The

district court denied the motion seeking sanctions for the

alleged misrepresentation for failure to prosecute the mo-

tion. Local General Rule 12(1) provides that where a mov-

ing party delivers a motion for which no date of present-

ment is set and fails to serve notice of presentment within

9a

Nos. 94-1687 & 94-2593

ten days of delivering the copy of the motion to the court,

the court may on its own.initiative deny the motion. That

is exactly what happened here. Carlson argues that he

failed to notice up the motion because he did not have

a transcript of the hearing where the alleged misrepresen-

tations were made. But Carlson’s apparent inability to ob-

tain a transcript has no bearing on his ability to notice

up the motion. The court was well within its discretion

to dismiss the motion for failure to prosecute.

Moreover, the court was within its discretion when it

denied the motion for sanctions for filing the allegedly

baseless Rule 54(b) motions. In what had become a case

unto itself involving sanctions and attorney’s fees, the

joint Rule 54(b) motion was made for the proper purpose

of putting an end to the baseless litigation, and not to

harass, delay or cause unnecessary expense. Indeed, the

record reveals that ICI and Honeywell were more than

anxious to put an end to the litigation and at no time

sought to needlessly protract it. Therefore, the district

court did not abuse its discretion in refusing. to impose

sanctions on the basis of the joint Rule 54(b) motion. We

affirm the district court’s rulings denying sanctions against

ICI and Honeywell.

III. RULE 38 SANCTIONS

Unfortunately, our affirmance does not conclude this

sorry proceeding, and there is one more issue we must

address. Both ICI and Honeywell have moved on appeal

for sanctions against Carlson pursuant to Fed. R. App.

-P. 38. The imposition of sanctions pursuant to Rule 38

involves a two-step inquiry. First we must decide whether

the appeal is, in fact, frivolous. If so, we must determine

whether sanctions are appropriate in this case. Perry v.

Pogemiller, 16 F.3d 188, 189 (7th Cir. 1993). An appeal

is frivolous “ ‘when the result is obvious or when the ap-

pellant’s arguments are wholly without merit.’ ” Ashkin -

v. Time Warner Cable Corp., 52 F.3d 140, 146 (7th Cir.

1995) (quoting Flaherty v. Gas Research Inst., 31 F.3d

10a

Nos. 94-1687 & 94-2593

451, 459 (7th Cir. 1994)). We at times have also required

some evidence of bad faith before finding that sanctions

should be imposed. Flaherty v. Gas Research Inst., 31

F.3d 451, 459 (7th Cir. 1994).

Carlson’s appeal borders on the frivolous. He presents

no argument sufficient to overcome the difficult abuse of

discretion standard which applied in this case. Moreover,

the defendants faced a daunting and unenviable challenge

in responding to Carlson’s rambling fifty page brief in

which some cognizable argument may have lurked. Never-

theless, we think Carlson did not appeal in bad faith; his —

judgment was simply poor. We do not condone the slip-

shod manner in which he has litigated this case, including

this appeal. But given the severity of the sanctions im-

posed below, no useful “x” would be served in fur-

ther sanctioning Carlson. We therefore exercise our dis-

cretion not to impose further sanctions, and the motions

for sanctions pursuant to Rule 38 are denied.

AFFIRMED.

A true Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

USCA AOTXXXC-92-001—Midwest Law Printing Co., Inc., Chicago—8-28-95

lla

APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

KRISTINA KRUSE LORENTZEN and

ALAN LORENTZEN,

Plaintiffs,

)

)

)

)

v. ) No. 87 C7275

HONEYWELL HEATING, a division of _)

MINNESOTA, MINING and _ )

MANUFACTURING, a Minnesota Corp., )

et al., )

)

Defendants.

REPORT AND RECOMMENDATION

of Magistrate Elaine E. Bucklo

Plaintiffs Kristina and Alan Lorentzen filed this diversity

motion on August 18, 1987. The “ction alleges that Kristina

suffered personal injuries while teaching at Neubert

Elementary School in Algonquin, Illinois due to chemicals

used by an exterminating company and improper installation

of a heating and ventilating system. The caption of the

- complaint names Tessendorf Constructors and Tessendorf

Service Corporation as two of the defendants. Notably, they

are not named in the body of the complaint although relief is

sought against them and it may be assumed from paragraph

5 of the complaint that they are charged with having some

part in the design, installation or maintenance of the school

ventilating system.

12a

The named Tessendorf corporations were apparently not

the Tessendorf corporation that did work at Neubert School.

Their lawyer, upon learning of the lawsuit after a newspaper

reporter contacted the defendants, called plaintiff's attorney

Dennis Carlson and informed him he had the wrong party.

Carlson offered to dismiss the case against the Tessendorf

corporation if their lawyer would send a letter stating what

he had said in writing. The Tessendorfs’ lawyer, Boyd Gates,

refused this offer. Instead he filed a motion for sanctions

under Rule 11 Fed.R.Civ.P., on August 24, 1987. The

- motion was supported by an affidavit.

At the initial hearing on the motion, plaintiffs voluntarily

dismissed the case against the named Tessendorf defendants.

Defendants refused to withdraw their motion for sanctions,

however. That motion was referred to me. I held a hearing

on the motion on December 9, 1987.

The two Tessendorf corporations sued by the plaintiffs are

owned at least in part by the same person, Ronald

Tessendorf. |The actual Tessendorf corporation that

performed work at Neubert School is owned by another

member of the Tessendorf family but the corporations are

unrelated. All of these various Tessendorf corporations are

located in the same general area.

Plaintiffs had made an attempt to learn the identity of

defendants. Kristina Lorentzen was told by the school janitor

that Tessendorf Constructors had worked on the ventilating

system at the school. She thereafter wrote a leter (sic) to

Tessendorf Constructors, on June 11, 1987, stating her belief

that the company had done work at Neubert School and

demanding copies of its maintenance and repair records for

the school. The company did not respond to plaintiff's letter

and did not inform her that it had not done work at the

school. Instead, believing she was a “crack-pot,” according

to Mr. Boyd, the company forwarded the letter to Tessendorf

Mechanical Industries, the actual corporation that worked at

the school.

Kristina also attempted prior to the institution of this suit

to obtain relevant records from Neubert School. She was

refused access to these records by letter dated July 10, 1987.

Defendants say plaintiffs or their attorney could have done

more. They point out that plaintiffs letter to Tessendorf

Constructors was not particularly, polite and assumed (rather

than asked) that the company had done work at the school.

Nevertheless, the company did not inform plaintiff of the

correct name of the corporation involved although it knew

she had incorrect information and surely knew that it would

be relatively easy to make a mistake of this nature with three

or four corporations with simila: names located in the same

area.

Under the circumstances, I do not think plaintiffs

violated Rule 11 with respect to Tesssendorf Constructors.

Rule 11 requires “some prefilinz inquiry into both the facts

and the law to satisfy the affirtnative duty imposed by the

tule. The standard is one of reasonableness under the

- circumstances.” Michigan, national Bank v. Krozer Company,

629 F.Supp. 1149 (E.D. Mich. 1985). It does not, however,

make either litigants or their attorney guarantors of the

correctness of their allegations: Here, some inquiry was

made, defendants are partly to blame for the mistake, and

plaintiffs were unsuccessful in their efforts to learn more. In.

addition, as soon as they learned their mistake, they corrected

Y

l4a

it. They offered to do so without defendants’ attorney ever

having to come to court if he would simply confirm what he

said over the telephone in writing.

These reasons do not provide a justification for naming

Tessendorf Service Corp. as a defendant. Plaintiffs say they

learned Ronald Tessendorf was a corporate official of both

Tessendorf corporations named in the complaint and sued

both to avoid statute of limitations problems if the wrong one

was sued. That is not enough reason for suit against

Tessendorf Service Corp. but since defendants have not

attempted to separate the two defendants, I see no reason to

do so. In addition, there is authority to support plaintiffs’

argument that Rule 11 was not intended to punish a mistake

that is quickly corrected. As in Baransky v. Serhant, 106

F.R.D. 247 (N.D. Ill. 1985), I agree that sanctions should

not be imposed where plaintiffs acted so quickly to correct

their error and defendant's attorney refused unreasonably to

provide plaintiffs’ attorney with a simple statement in writing

prior to filing their motion.

Defendant's real complaint, and the reason their attorney

did not comply with Mr. Carlson’s reasonable request to send

a letter, is that a local newspaper published a story about the

filing of the lawsuit and the story named the Tessendorf

corporations as defendants. If plaintiffs or Carlson talked to

the newspaper and said anything defamatory, they of course

can be sued for defamation. Defendants cannot recover

under Rule 11, however, for liable or slander in a newspaper

article and the fact that the newspaper reported the

15a

allegations of the complaint does not change this fact./

I recommend that the motion for sanctions be denied.

“s/Elaine E. Bucklo”

ELAINE E. BUCKLO

United States Magistrate

Dated: January 4, 1988

Written objections to any finding of fact, conclusion of law,

or the recommendation for disposition of this matter must be

filed with the Honorable Brian Barnette Duff within ten(10)

days after service of this Report and Recommendation. See

Fed.R.Civ.P. 72(b). Failure to object will constitute a waiver

of objections on appeal.

Copies have been mailed to:

DENNIS E. CARLSON BOYD L. GATES

330 West Washington Street 25 North Western Avenue

Suite 708 Carpentersville, IL 60110

Chicago, IL 60606

Attorreys for Plaintiffs Attorneys for Defendants

’ The newspaper may have made an assumption from the

complaint. As noted earlier, the complaint itself does not

actually say what the Tessendorf corporations allegedly did.

As such, it was poor pleading but less damaging to the

defendants.

16a

APPENDIX C

Minute order form (rev 3/88e)

UNITED STATED DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS,

EASTERN DIVISION

Assigned Judge Brian Barnette Duff “

Case Number 88 C 7142 Date July 13, 1989

Case Kristina Kruse Lorentzen v. Anderson Pest Control

Title

DOCKET ENTRY:

(1) Judgment is entered as follows :

(2) v {Other docket entry].

Plaintiffs’ motion to spread or record plaintiffs’ contentions in

opposition to Anderson's motion to strike, etc., is stricken,

without prejudice, for the reasons stated in open court.

Defendant Anderson Pest Control's oral motion to dismiss it

for want of prosecution is granted. Plaintiff's oral motion to

dismiss Honeywell, Incorporated is granted. Defendants

given to July 17, 1989 to file memorandum in support of the

joint motion to dismiss.

5 _ _ Answer brief to motion due 14 Aug 89

Reply to answer brief due 28 Aug 89

12 _v_ No notices required

RECEIVED FOR DOCKETING 89 JUL 14 AM 7:55

Document # 273

bi nereeeeneeenenenteeninenteeemmnenmeentmnememeisitiitliitel

17a

Minute order form (rev 3/88e)

UNITED STATED DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS,

EASTERN DIVISION

Assigned Judge Brian Barnette Duff

Case Number 88 C 7142 Date July 27, 1989

Case Kristina Kruse Lorentzen and Alan Lorentzen v.

Title Anderson Pest Control, et al.

MOTION:

a) ICI Americas Inc.

(b) Motion to Enter Stipulation to Dismiss

DOCKET ENTRY:

(1) Judg nent is entered as follows :

(2) _v [Other docket entry]

Pursuant to stipulation, defendant ICI Americas Inc., is

dismissed, with prejudice, pursuant to Rule 41(a)(2)

12 _v_ Docketing to mail notices

RECEIVED FOR DOCKETING 89 JUL 28 AM 8:05

18a

APPENDIX D

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

KRISTINA KRUSE LORENTZEN and) “

ALAN LORENTZEN, )

Plaintiffs, )

)

v. ) No. 89 C 7142

) JUDGE GEORGE

ANDERSON PEST CONTROL, et al., ) W. LINDBERG

)

Defendants. )

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

Plaintiffs have recently filed two motions and five

objections to orders and reports and recommendations of the

magistrate in this case. In addition, there are several motions

for summary judgment and motions for sanctions pursuant to

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 11 pending. The court will

now rule on the recent motions and objections and on the

motions for summary judgment.

The motions and objections pending may be broken down

into four categories for purposes of discussion. First, there

are those motions and objections relating to the magistrate’s

recommendation that the court dismiss this case with

prejudice. Those motions and objections are plaintiffs’ (1)

objections to the September 14, 1990, report and

recommendation of the magistrate that this case be dismissed;

(2) motions filed October 15, 1990, for leave to file a reply

19a

to defendant's response to plaintiff's objections to the report

and recommendation of the magistrate of September 14,

1990; (3) motion filed September 21, 1990, “to file a

response to defendant HYSAN’s Motion to Dismiss and to

file a response and/or objections to magistrate Bucklo’s

recommendation thereon;” and (4) objections to the

magistrate’s order of September 18, 1990. Second, there are

the motions for summary judgment. Third, there are those

objections pertaining to orders of the magistrate regarding

fees of various sorts. Those objections are plaintiffs (1)

objections to the September 14, 1990, order of the magistrate

reducing the fees to be paid to experts retained by

defendants; (2) objections to the magistrate’s order of

September 17, 1990, regarding witness fees; and (3)

objections to the magistrate’s decision of October 9, 1990,

regarding fees. Fourth, there are the motions for sanctions

pursuant to Rule 11. FRCP11. These categories will be

discussed in turn.

The first category of pending motions and objections

concern the magistrate’s recommendation that this case be

dismissed. The two motions will be considered first.

The first of these motions request that this court “grant

leave to file a sesponse to defendant HYSAN’s Motion to

Dismiss and to file a response and/or objections to Magistrate

Bucklo’s recommendation thereon for the reason that matters

were argued that were not contained in the motion ruled on,

the motion was not received until the Friday before the

Monday hearing held thereon, and the Magistrate’s opinion

contains erroneous and /or unfounded conclusions.” To the

extent that the motion requests leave to file a response to the

motion to dismiss, it was properly within the scope of the

referral of the motion to dismiss to the magistrate and

20a

belonged before her. Apparently this motion or a similar

motion was brought before the magistrate, and her report and

recommendation of September 18, 1990, contains her ruling

on it. Leave will not be granted to file a response to the

magistrate’s recommendation of dismissal. The proper

procedure is to make objections to the report and

recommendation of the magistrate. 28 U.S.C. § 636(b)(1)(B);

FRCP 72(b). Plaintiffs filed their Objections and Arguments

in Response to Magistrate’s Recommendation to Dismiss on

September 24, 1990,

[page 2]

[T]here is no basis for the claim beyond the magistrate’s

ordering of new affidavits, which need not have been done

due to a belief that she was being lied to in the first ones.

Also, plaintiffs offer no legally sufficient reason for striking

all defendants’ motions for false statements of fact made by

fewer than all of them. The magistrate was obviously

unpersuaded by this argument, as she did not strike the

motions of any defendants or mention in her order that she

believed they had lied.

Finally, a great deal of the argument made by plaintiffs is

directed, both specifically and generally, at claimed defects

in the affidavits submitted by defense counsel. As plaintiffs

have not supplied copies of those documents, it is impossible

for the court to ascertain the accuracy of plaintiff's claims.

Plaintiffs have therefore failed to establish that the

magistrate’s order of October 9, 1990, was clearly erroneous

or contrary to law. Their objections to that order will be

overruled.

21a

The fourth and final category of motion to be resolved by

this opinion are the pending motions for sanctions pursuant

to rule 11 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. FRCP

11. This category brings to the attention of the court a

potentially broader problem. Because of the procedural

chaos of this case, it is difficult to ascertain exactly what

motions remain pending.

The court will therefore order all parties who have pending

motions, whether or not referred to the magistrate, to file

status reports on their pending motions. This will apply to

all pending motions, whether or not they are motions for

sanctions. The status reports will identify the nature of the

motion; when it was filed; what, if any, memoranda were

filed in support of or opposition to the motion; and when it

was fully briefed and ready for a decision. [f there are any

unresolved objections to magistrate’s

[page 31]

orders or reports and recommendations, they should be

treated like motions for the purposes of these status reports.

Any motion or objection which is not listed cn a status report

filed by the due date shall be deemed abandoned and will be

subject to being dismissed for want of prosecution. After the

due date for the receipt of the status reports the court will

determine which, if any, of the motions to refer to the

magistrate.

ORDERED: Plaintiff's motion filed September 21, 1990

is denied. Plaintiffs motion filed October 15, 1990, for leave

to file a reply to defendants’ response to the objections to the

magistrate’s recommendations to dismiss is denied.

22a

The magistrate’s recommendations of September 14, 1990,

regarding dismissal of this action are accepted in whole,

defendant Hysan‘s motion to dismiss joined in by the other

defendants is granted, and this case is dismissed with

prejudice.

The objections to the magistrate’s order of September 18,

1990 are overruled.

All pending motions for summary judgment are denied as

moot.

Plaintiff's objections to the September 14, 1990, order of

the magistrate reducing the fees to be paid to experts retained

by defendants are overruled.

Plaintiff's objections to the September 17, 1990, order of

the magistrate granting in part defendant’s motion to

reconsider her order of July 3, 1990, respecting expert fees

are overruled.

The motion for leave to file pleadings responsive to the

magistrate’s order of October 9, 1990, is denied. Plaintiff's

objections to the magistrate’s order of October 9, 1990,

determining the amount of the sanction to be imposed for

plaintiffs violation of the court's order of February 5, 1990,

are overruled.

All parties who have pending motions, whether or not

referred to the magistrate, shall file status reports on their

pending motions on or before January 15, 1991. The

[page 32]

23a

status reports shall identify the nature of the motion; when it

was filed; what, if any, memoranda were filed in support of

or opposition to the motion; and when it was fully briefed

and ready for a decision. If there are any unresolved

objections to magistrate’s orders or reports and

recommendations, they shall be treated like motions for

purposes of these status reports. Any motion or objection

which is not listed on a status report filed by the due date

shall be deemed abandoned and will be subject to being

dismissed for want of prosecution.

“s/George W. Lindberg”

George W. Lindberg

United States District Judge

Date Dec 13 (990

[page 33]

24a

Minute order form (rev.3/88e)

UNITED STATED DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS,

EASTERN DIVISION

Assigned Judge Judge Lindberg

- Case Number 88 C 7142 Date December 13, 1990

Case Kristina Kruse Lorentzen and Alan Lorentzen v.

Title Anderson Pest Control, et al.

MOTION:

(a) ICI Americas Inc.

(b) Motion to Enter Stipulation to Dismiss

DOCKET ENTRY:

(1) _x Judgment is entered as follows :

(2) [Other docket entry]

Enter Memorandum Opinion and Order: Defendant Hysan’s

motion to dismiss joined in by other defendants is granted,

and case is hereby dismissed with prejudice. See opinion for

further rulings on other pending matters. All parties who

have additional pending motions shall file a status report on

or before January 15, 1991 any motions or objections not

listed shall be deemed abandoned and subject to dismissal for

want of prosecution.

12 _x_ Docketing to mail notices

x mail AO 450 form

25a

APPENDIX E

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

KRISTINA KRUSE LORENTZEN and )

ALAN LORENTZEN, )

Plaintiffs, )

)

No. 89 C 7142

)

)

ANDERSON PEST CONTROL, et al., )

)

Defendants. )

REPORT AND RECOMMENDATION

Kristina Kruse Lorentzen and Alan Lorentzen filed suit

against Anderson Pest Control, Whitmire Research

Laboratories, Inc., The Dow Chemical Co., Nor-Am

Chemical, Inc., ICI Americas, Master, Pennwalt Corporation,

Hysan Corporation, Bell Laboratories, Inc. and Tessendorf

Mechanical Industries, Inc. seeking damages for physical

injuries Mrs. Lorentzen allegedly suffered when she was

exposed to certain chemicals at two schools in the Chicago

~ Community School District 300 (“district 300”) where she

taught. Mrs. Lorentzen alleged that this exposure was caused

at least in part by an inadequate heating, ventilation and air

conditioning system ("H.V.A.C”) in the Neubert School.

The original complaint (naming all of the above

defendants) was filed on August 18, 1987 as Case No. 87 C ~

7275. An amended complaint was filed on August 24, 1987

26a

and a second amended complaint was filed on May 8, 1988,

which was dismissed by Judge Duff on June 17, 1988,

pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. 4(j). See Lorentzen v. Honeywell

Heating, Div. of Minnesota Mining & Mfg., 120 F.R.D. 681

(N.D. Ill. 1988). The entire proceeding relating to Case No.

87 C 775 will be referred to as Lorentzen I.

On August 27, 1988, plaintiffs refiled their claims (which

were identical to those in the second amended complaint) and

were assigned Case No. 88 C 7142 ("Lorentzen II").

- Plaintiffs amended that complaint on December 16, 1988.

After the amended complaint was filed, extensive discovery

commenced. As discovery continued, plaintiffs voluntarily

dismissed two defendants, Honeywell, Inc. (“Honeywell”) and

ICI Americas, Inc. ("ICI"), pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. 41(a).

Final judgments were entered in favor of ICI and Honeywell

on August 10, 1989 and August 3, 1989, respectively. After

dismissal, ICI and Honeywell moved for sanctions pursuant

to Fed.R.Civ.P. 11 and 28 U.S.C.§ 1927 against plaintiff's

attorney, Dennis E. Carlson.' Those motions were referred to

me and I recommend that they be granted.

' Honeywell also seeks sanctions against plaintiffs conclude,

however, that the violations in this case are characterized by

Judge Schwarzer, “Sanctions Under the New Federal Rule

ll-a Closer Look,” 104 F.R.D. 181, 203 “primarily

professional dereliction” since plaintiffs cannot be expected

to know the requirements of pleading or of Rule 11.

Accordingly, I recommend that sanctions be imposed solely

on their attorney, Dennis Carlson, and that he not be allowed

to seek reimbursement from his clients for these amounts.

27a

Rule 11

A party is subject to Rule 11 sanctions when its pleading,

motion or other paper is

not well grounded in fact [or] warranted by

existing law or a good faith argument for the

extension, modification or reversal of existing

law, [or] it is . .. interposed for any

improper purpose, such as to harass or to

cause unnecessary delay or needless increase

in the cost of litigation.

Fed.R.Civ.P. 11; In re Ronco, Inc.,838 F. 2d 212, 217 (7th

Cir. 1988) (brackets in original). The court must employ an

objectively reasonable view of the law and facts and if it is

not, “the lawyer or party proceeding recklessly must foot the

bill.” Id.

Both ICI and Honeywell contend that Mr. Carlson failed

to conduct a proper pre-filing investigation which would have

shown that plaintiffs were without a factual basis to name ICI

and Honeywell as defendants. Rule 11 imposes a duty upon

attorneys to conduct a reasonable independent investigation

before filing suit. Fred A Smith Lumber Co. v. Edidin 845

' F, 2d 750, 751 (7th Cir. 1988); Autotech Corp. v. NSD

Corp., 125 F.R.D. 464, 469 (N.D. Ill. 1989). See also Brandt

v. Schal Associates, Inc., 121 F.R.D. 358, 385 (N.D. Il.

1988) (“In the run-of-the-mill reasonable investigation case,

the attorne\’ says, ‘my client told me x.’ At that point the

issue becomes whether the attorney performed an adequate

pre-filing investigation to determine whether his or her >

client's story was supported.”)

28a

The purpose of this timing requirement is

obvious: counsel should not be permitted - -

without reasonable investigation - - to file

pleadings, motions, or other papers, and the,

only if challenged (and after imposing

substantial costs on the opposing party), be

allowed to scramble to find facts and taw

justifying his original filing.

Phoenix Airway Inn Associates v. Essex Financial Services,

' Inc., 741 F.Supp. 734, 735 (N.D. Ill. 1990). The Seventh

Circuit has established several factors which should be

considered when assessing the reasonableness of a pre-filing

inquiry. These include whether the attorney had sufficient

time to investigate the claims; the extent to which the

attorney had to rely on the client for the factual foundation

of the pleading; whether the case was accepted from another

attorney; the complexity of the facts; and whether discovery

would have been beneficial to the development of the

underlying facts. Brown v. Federation of State Medical

Boards of the United States, 830 F.2d 1492, 1435 (7th Cir.

1987). The probability that more investigation would turn up

important evidence is also a factor to consider. Lebovitz v.

Miller, supra, 856 F. 2d at 905.

Here, however, Mr. Carlson admits that he relied on the

Lorentzens’ representations as a factual basis of the

complaint, but Mr. Carlson had ample time to investigate

before the original filing of Lorentzen I]. Indeed, between

that time and the filing of Lorentzen I] he could have (and

should have) continued his investigation of the claims.

In support of its motion, Honeywell refers to the

deposition testimony of Kristina Lorentzen, taken shortly

29a

before her counsel's decision to move for dismissal, in which

she admitted that she had no information as to whether

Honeywell did anything in regard to the construction of the

Neubert School (Dep. June 2 1989, pp. 1795-96).’

In response to Honeywell's motion, Mr. Carlson states that

he believed prior to filing that some Honeywell product may

have been used in the H.V.A.C. system at Neubert School

based on the fact that a thermostat in the school bore the

Honeywell name.’ In addition, that Mrs. Lorentzen testified

that she attempted to gain as much information under the

Freedom of Information Act and form her employer as she

was able from potential defendants and District 300.

In any event, the record is devoid of any evidence that Mr.

Carlson attempted to substantiate any of the information

which Mrs. Lorentzen supplied to him prior to naming

Honeywell as a defendant. Yet, the amended complaint

? Mrs Lorentzen was also asked whether any Honeywell

component part contributed to her injuries, but her counsel

refused to allow her to answer, Dep., June 2, 1989 at 1795.

Despite repeated court orders, plaintiffs never answered

Honeywell's interrogatories seeking information about the

plaintiffs’ claim against Honeywell.

. > Mr. Carlson contends that the only reason he dismissed

Honeywell was becausé the discovery burden was too

onerous. I find this contention implausible. Mr. Carlson

filed his motion for voluntary dismissal shortly after he

received the Neubert School construction records pursuant to

his July 5, 1989 subpoena. Notably, he did not seek these

records until almost two years after he filed his original -

complaint naming Honeywell as a defendant.

30a

alleges that Honeywell designed, installed or maintained the

H.V.A.C. system and that it was insufficient in properly

ventilating chemicals from the school. Mr Carlson relied

upon discovery to ferret out whether Honeywell was

legitimately involved in this suit. Such conduct is improper.

See Phoenix Airway Inn vy. Essex Financial Services, Inc.,

741 F. Supp. at 736. While Mr. Carlson may have suspected

that Honeywell was somehow liable he should have either

waited to file the complaint so that could conduct some

investigation or filed it without naming Honeywell and,

* should his hunch have proved right, sought leave to amend

the complaint and add Honeywell as a defendant. Valve &

Primer Corp. v. Val-matic Vale & Mfg. Corp., No. 87 C

8726, 1990 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 11173 (ND. Ill. 1990).

The pre-filing investigation (or lack thereof) relating to ICI

tells a similar story. According to Mr. Carlson, ICI was

named as a defendant because one of its chemicals, Talon-G,*

vento use in District 300 buildings and which could have

_caused some of the symptoms Mrs. Lorentzen was

experiencing. Instead of attempting to discover which of

wamagy those chemicals were in fact used at the schools, Mr. Carlson

aang @ecided to name all of the manufacturers on the list whose

chemicals could create symptoms of a type Mrs. Lorentzen

experienced as defendants and see what transpired during

discovery.

* The Parties agree that Talon-G was the only product

manufactured by ICI at issue here.

I —

3la

Anderson stated in response to discovery requests, that it

did not use Talon-G at the Neubert School.’ Mr. Carlson

later admitted that he and his clients had no knowledge of

any person having seen the application of Talon-G or other

pesticides at the Neubert School.

As with Honeywell, Mr. Carlson could not, consistently

with the requirements of Rule 11, name ICI as a defendant

on the basis that it might have manufactured a chemical that

he thought might have caused Mrs. Lorentzen’‘s symptoms

and hope through discovery to find evidence to substantiate

the possibility.

I recommend that Honeywell's and ICI’s motion be granted

and that fees and costs be assessed against Mr. Carlson.

Section 1927

Section 1927 imposes personal liability upon an attorney

for unreasonably and vexatiously multiplying proceedings 28

U.S.C. § 1927; Ordower v. Feldman, 826 F. 2d 1569, 1574

(7th Cir. 1987);

If a lawyer pursues a path ‘hat a reasonably

careful attorney would have known, after

appropriate inquiry, to be unsound, the

* Instead of moving to dismiss his complaint against ICI

following this discovery, plaintiffs’ attorney opposed ICI's

motion for summary judgment, despite his lack of contrary

evidence. He finally voluntarily dismissed his claim against

ICI in August of 1989.

32a

conduct is objectively unreasonable and

vexatious. . . A lawyer's reckless indifference

to the law may impose substantial costs on the

adverse party. Section 1927 permits a court

to insist that the attorney bear the cost of his

own lack of care.

Id. citing In re TCI, Ltd., 769 F. 2d 441, 445 (7th Cir. 1985).

By failing to conduct any pre-filing investigation, Mr.

~Carlson acted unreasonably and vexatiously and violated

Section 1927. Mr. Carlson is therefore liable for ICI”s and

Honeywell's attorneys’ fees and costs incurred in Lorentzen

I and Lorentzen II.

Conclusion

Accordingly, I recommend that Honeywell's and ICI's

motions for sanctions against attorney Dennis Carlson

pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. 11 and 28 U.S.C. § be granted.

“s/Elaine E. Bucklo

Elaine E. Bucklo

United States Magistrate Judge

Dated: March 28, 1991

33a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

KRISTINA KRUSE LORENTZEN and)

ALAN LORENTZEN, )

Plaintiffs, )

)

No. 89 C 7142

)

)

ANDERSON PEST CONTROL, et al., )

: )

)

Defendants.

REPORT AND RECOMMENDATION

In an order dated October 17, 1991, the district court

granted motions by ICI Americas, Inc. (“ICI”) and

Honeywell, Inc. (“Honeywell”) seeking sanctions against

attorney Dennis Carlson pursuant to Rule 11, Fed.R.Civ.P.

and 28 U.S.C. § 1927. ICI has filed a petition seeking

$65,278.75 in fees and $9,220.86 in costs for a total of

$74,499.61 in fees and costs. Honeywell's petition seeks

$63,197.50 in fees and $8,223.20 for a total of $71,420.70.

I presided over discovery in this case and am aware of the

amount of time required to be spent by attorneys in the case.

With respect to that time, the fees sought are reasonable.

Attorney Carlson makes only a perfunctory objection that

the amount of fees sought is unreasonable,’ and indeed notes

that his own (or his clients’) costs in the Litigation were ~

34a

between $50,000 and $60,000. He argues that fees should

not be imposed because the underlying conduct was not

sanctionable but that issue has been decided against him. He

also argues that the amount requested exceeds his income for

1990, that “at this time he has no funds to pay any sanction”

and that a sanction in the amount requested would impose a

hardship on him. ICI and Honeywell note, however, that Mr.

Carlson does not disclose his income for 1991 or 1989, or his

assets. The Seventh Circuit has stated, in another case in

which it upheld a sanction against similar arguments, that

- hardship “is the intent behind a sanction award imposed to

deter and punish. A sanction without teeth may lack

sufficient bite for these purposes.” Kapco Mfg. Co., Inc. v.

C & O Enterprises, Inc., 886 F. 2d 1485, 1496 (7th Cir.

1989).

Mr. Carlson’s conduct in the present case violated Rule 11

and Section 1927 to the damage of ICI and Honeywell, who

were required to engage counsel, and defend the baseless

claims brought against them. Based on my experience in

overseeing discovery in this litigation, I do not think anything

less than a substantial monetary sanction will deter Mr.

' His argument that the billing records are “cryptic,” if

meant to imply that they provide insufficient information, is

without foundation. I have reviewed the billing records and

they are sufficiently detailed. If counsel was unclear about

particular entities should have pointed those out, or asked for

further detail.

35a

Carlson from similar conduct in the future. Accordingly, |

recommend that ICI's petition for fees and costs in the

amount of $74, 499.61 and Honeywell's petition for fees and

costs in the amount of $71,420.70 be granted.

“s/Elaine E. Bucklo”

Elaine E. Bucklo

Unites States Magistrate Judge

Dated; July 10, 1992.

36a

APPENDIX F

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

KRISTINA KRUSE LORENTZEN and) .

ALAN LORENTZEN, )

Plaintiffs, )

)

v. ) No. 89 C 7142

)

ANDERSON PEST CONTROL, et al., )

)

Defendants. )

ORDER

Plaintiffs’ motion to vacate or reconsider my report and

recommendation of March is denied. “Plaintiffs” (in fact

their attorney, Dennis Carlson, since I recommended

sanctions only against him) argue that they had no

opportunity to respond to the motions. That is patently

false. The motions were brought in 1989 by ICI America

and Honeywell. Plaintiffs in fact responded.' Furthermore,

the motions were referred to me on January 24, 1991. Ata

status on February 21, 1991, I told Mr. Carlson that I would

' Plaintiffs filed a 15-page response to the Honeywell motion

on October 11, 1989. On November 11, 1989, Judge Duff

ordered plaintiffs to respond to ICI’s motion by November

24, 1989. Plaintiffs’ response was filed on that date.

|

37a

not be able to rule on the motions for several weeks and

stated that if he wanted to and could show good cause why

he should be allowed to file any additional response to the

motions, I would consider any additional material.

Mr. Carlson never sought to file an additional response

prior to my decision on March 28, 1991. Mr. Carlson's

statements in his present motion that his previous responses

were simply “something” to “have on file if the court should

be inclined to consider the pending motions” and that he

believed he could at some future time file an additional

pleading thus fly in the face of the pleadings on this motion,

Judge Lindberg’s January 24, 1991 order, the status hearing

before me on February 21, 1991, and Rule 11, Fed.R.Civ.P.

Mr. Carlson’s additional arguments are also without merit.

As Mr. Carlson knows, the March 28, 1991 “order” was a

report and recommendation. As I told him in open court on

March 22, 1991, in response to his objection, in order to

alleviate any possible jurisdictional issue, I would issue all

opinions on sanctions in this case as reports and

recommendations. His renewed objection is therefore

frivolous. His last objection, that the has a right to an

evidentiary hearing, is foreclosed first, by the fact that in his

responses, he did not request an evidentiary hearing, and

second, by the fact that my recommendation of sanctions is

based on Mr. Carlson's failure to submit any evidence in

response to the motions for sanctions that would show that

he made an objectively reasonable investigation of the facts

before filing his complaints against Honeywell and ICI, and

admissions in the record by Mr. Carlson and plaintiff Kristina

Lorentzen, which I conclude demonstrates as a matter of law

that they lacked a sufficient basis for filing the complaint -

against either ICI or Honeywell. Since I did not make

38a

findings of any disputed facts, and based, as I must, my

decision that Mr. Carlson violated Rule 11 on an objective

standard, there was no need for an evidentiary hearing.

Furthermore, Mr. Carlson could not sit back and decline to

offer any evidence to show he made an objectively

reasonable investigation and then demand an evidentiary

hearing, presumably to attempt to show that he did make

such an investigation, after a recommendation of sanctions is

made.

ENTER ORDER

“s/Elaine E. Bucklo”

ELAINE E. BUCKLO

United States magistrate Judge

Dated: April 9, 1991

39a

APPENDIX G

Minute order form (rev.3/88e)

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS,

EASTERN DIVISION

Assigned Judge JUDGE LINDBURG

Case Number 88 C 7142 Date October 17, 1991

Case Kristina Kruse Lorentzen and Alan Lorentzen v.

Title Anderson Pest Control, et al.

MOTION:

Defendant Honeywell, Inc. Motion for Sanctions Pursuant

to F.R.C.P. 11 and 23 U.S.C. Sec. 1987

DOCKET ENTRY:

(1) Judgment is entered as follows :

(2) _x [Other docket entry]

The Court hereby adopts the Magistrate's report and

recommendation. Petition for fees to be filed by November

22, 1991. Response due December 6, 1991. Reply due

. December 13, 1991.

12_x_ Docketing to mail notice

RECEIVED FOR DOCKETING 91 OCT 18 AM 8:28

40a

APPENDIX H

Minute Order Form (rev. 12/90)

UNITED STATED DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS,

Assigned Judge GEORGE W. LINDBURG

_ Case Number 88 C 7142 Date October 7, 1992

Case LORENTZEN ET. AL. V. ANDERSON PEST

Title CONTROL, ET AL.

MOTION:

DOCKET ENTRY:

(1) Judgment is entered as follows :

(2) _x [Other docket entry]

Order all pending motions moot

11_x_ No notices required

October 8, 1992

Document #1110

4la

APPENDIX I

Minute Order Form (rev. 12/90)

UNITED STATED DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS,

Assigned Judge George W. Lindberg

Case Number 88 C 7142 Date’ March 3, 1993

Case Lorentzen v. Anderson Pest Control, et al.

Title

MOTION:

Dennis E. Carlson's objections to Magistrate Judge’s report

and recommendation of July 10, 1992 with respect to the

petitions of defendants ICI Americas, inc. (ICI) and

Honeywell, Inc. (Honeywell) for awards of attorney's fees

and costs.

DOCKET ENTRY:

(1)___ = Judgment is entered as follows :

(2) _x__ [Other docket entry]

The court has reviewed de novo the portions of the

magistrate judge’s report and recommendation of July 10,

1992 to which plaintiff has objected. 28 USC §

636(b)(1)(B); FRCP 72(b). Plaintiffs objections are

overruled and the report and recommendation is accepted in

its entirety. ICI’s petition for fees and costs is granted and

ICI is awarded fees and costs in the amount of $74,499.61.

Honeywell's petition for fees and costs is granted and

Honeyweil is awarded fees and costs in the amount of

$71,420.70.

“s/George W. Lindberg”

RECEIVED FOR DOCKETING 93 MAR -3 5:39

_x_ Docketing to mail notices Document # 1111

42a

APPENDIX J

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

KRISTINA KRUSE LORENTZEN and)

ALAN LORENTZEN, )

Plaintiffs, )

)

v. ) No. 89°C 7142

) March 15, 1994

ANDERSON PEST CONTROL, et al., ) 11:00 a.m.

)

Defendants. )

TRANSCRIPT OF PROCEEDINGS

BEFORE THE HONORABLE GEORGE W. LINDBERG

[pg 26)

THE COURT: Okay. The Cour has considered the

arguments of counsel, both orally today and in writing, and

pursuant to Federal Rules of Civil Procedure 52 and 59. The

Court is of the opinion that it had and has jurisdiction over

the question of whether to sanction Mr. Carlson. The

mooting order in October of 1992 was, as counsel has

recognized, a housekeeping order. This clerk's records were

at that time indicating in many cases, in fact scores of cases,

that

[page 27)

43a

certain motions were pending which were long since moot.

In order to make this court's records reflect that those

motions were no longer pending it was necessary to enter the

order mooting them. As the fact that the parties were not

notified of the action indicates that order was not intended to

have any effect on non-moot pending motions. Thus while

counsel for Mr. Carlson is correct that motions for sanctions

remain pending after the magistrate judge issued her report

and recommendation until this Court ruled on those motions,

he is not correct; that the mooting order decision despite its

overly broad term, in fact, obliterated those motions.

The Court also does not believe that the stipulations to

dismiss ousted this court of jurisdiction over the Rule 11

sanction matters brought against Mr. Carlson. First, Federal

Rule of Civil Procedure by its terms only permits the

dismissal of an entire action and not of an individual. That

would be of Rule 41(a)(2) - - 41(a). First, its terms only

permits dismissal of an entire action not of individual

defendants or claims.

To do so on stipulation would have required the signatures

of all parties. In this case, however, plaintiffs and these

defendants were allowed to terminate the claim against these

defendants utilizing procedure of rule 41(a).

[page 28)

The result they sought could have been achieved by an

amendment of the complaint eliminating these defendants

pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 15(a), but that

was not done.

44a

This does not mean that these defendants were not

dismissed from the case, however, because the Rule 54(b)

findings were certainly sufficient to have that effect. It does

not mean that nothing of any finality occurred until - - I'm

sorry. It does mean that nothing of any finality occurred

until those Rule 54(b) findings were made. All of this may

not ultimately affect the outcome here. .

The stipulations did not contain any language precluding

motions of Rule 11 sanctions by the defendants. The law

~ permits the Court to consider Rule 11 sanction matters even

after final judgment in a case.

Therefore, the Court concludes that it has jurisdiction over

the Rule 11 proceedings against Mr. Carlson. Magistrate

Judge Bucklo, Judge Duff, and this judge all had the

opportunity t6 observe Mr. Carlson's handling of the case.

At one time or another all three of us experienced the

frustration of attemptirg to get him to comply with our

orders. The experience of this judge is sufficient to find that

Magistrate judge Bucklo was indeed correct, that no lesser

sanction than that imposed would serve the purpose of

(page 29)

deterring Mr. Carlson from sanctionable conduct similar to

that to which the instant sanctions were imposed.

The Court would finally note that Magistrate Judge Bucklo

had before her the submissions of defendants with regard to

the amount of sanctions to impose. Mr. Carlson at that time

had an opportunity to contest any of these defendants’ claims

for attorney fees and to place before the Court any additional

45a

material helpful to the Court in deciding on the amount of

sanctions.

on the issues of sanctions. Therefore, Dennis Carlson's

motion pursuant to Federal Rules of Civil Procedure 52 and

59 and his request that this matter be set for an evidentiary

hearing are denied.

These proceedings are concluded. Thank you , gentlemen.

CERTIFICATE

I certify the foregoing is a cornct transcript from the

record of the proceedings in the abov>-entitled case taken on

March 15, 1994.

—Si_ Therese A. Pintozzi_

Official Court Reporter Date

Minute Order Form (rev. 12/90)

UNITED STATED DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS,

Assigned Judge George W. Lindberg

Case Number 88 C 7142 Date March 25, 1994

Case Lorentzen v. Anderson Pest Control, et al.

Title

MOTION:

DOCKET ENTRY:

(1) Judgment is entered as follows :

(2) x Ss [Other docket entry]

Oral argument held on March 15, 1994 on Dennis Carlson's

motion for reconsideration of Rule 11 sanctions against

attorneys for Honeywell and ICI Americas pursuant to Rules

52(b) and 59. For reasons sated in open court Dennis

Carlson's motion for rsconsideration is denied.

11 x Docketing to mail notices

RECEIVED FOR DOCKETING 94 MAR 25 PM 4:52

11 mar 28 1994

Document #1150

lie

47a

APPENDIX K

Minute Order Form (rev. 12/90)

UNITED STATED DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS,

Assigned Judge George W. Lindberg

Case Number 88 C 7142 Date May 9, 1994

Case Kristina Kruse Lorentzen and Alan Lorentzen v.

Title Anderson Pest Control, et al.

MOTION:

Attomey Dennis E. Carlson's petition for Rule 11 sanctions

for misrepresentation of fact on and before March 15, 1994.

DOCKET ENTRY:

(1) Judgment is entered as follows -

(2)_x [Other docket entry]

Attorney Dennis E. Carlson's petition for Rule 11 sanctions

for misrepresentation of fact on and before March 15, 1994,

is denied for failure to prosecute. US Dist CT, ND Ill, GR

12(1)

11 x Docketing to mail notices

RECEIVED FOR DOCKETING 94 MAY -8

11 May 10 1994 Document #1158

Minute Order Form (rev. 12/90)

UNITED STATED DISTRICT COURT

_ NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS,

Assigned Judge George W. Lindberg

Case Number 88 C 7142 Date June 20 1994

Case Lorentzen v. Anderson Pest Control, et al.

Title

MOTION:

Attorney Dennis Carlson's motion to vacate and for ruling

on the allegations of his Rule 11 motion pursuant to rule 59.

DOCKET ENTRY:

(1)__ ~~ Sudgment is entered as follows :

(2)_x + [Other docket entry]

Attorney Dennis Carlson's motion to vacate and for ruling on

the allegations of his Rule 11 motion pursuant to Rule 59 is

denied. The court, sua sponte, strikes the response of

defendant ICI Americas, Inc [1157], to attorney Carlson's

petition for Rule 11 sanctions because the setting of a

briefing schedule is in the court's discretion, US Dist Ct, N

D fil, GR 12(O), and no briefing schedule was ever set by

the court on attorney Carlson's petition.

——“siGeorge W. Lindberg” _

11_x. Docketing to mail notices

RECEIVED FOR DOCKETING 94 JUN 20 PM 4:22

11 Jun 21 1994 Document #115 illegible

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.