Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Chaplin v. United States

Supreme Court brief1996

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

KERRY CHAPLIN,

Petitioner,

V.

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Ap»eals

for the Tenth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

REUBEN DAVIS *

SHANE M. EGAN

BOONE, SMITH, DAVIS,

Hurst & DICKMAN

500 Oneok Plaza

100 West Fifth Street

Tulsa, Oklahoma 74103-4215

(918) 587-0000

Counsel for Petitioner

* Counsel of Record

WILSON - EPes PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Whether the Court of Appeals, in refusing to allow

a criminal defendant an opportunity to present his argu-

ments on the illegality of a wiretap for the reason that a

prior panel of the Court of Appeals in a separate case

upheld the validity of the same wiretap, impermissibly

applied offensive collateral estoppel to deprive a criminal

defendant of his fundamental right to substantive due

process?

il

LIST OF INTERESTED PARTIES

Milton Edwards, Terry Ratliff, Sr., and William T.

Lawrence, Jr.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW .................

LIST OF INTERESTED PARTIES ........00..0.000000000000.....

Wiimote OR AU THORE TIS nanan. enc ocnceccensceresseseccee-

Sa Ng eked Suv cdepylterssineceancviane

Na cdi aca cacrodiceoncesspsansivesinbcgunpnansiindanens

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVI-

3 ha) Sg > | ER

DIA. OF Thue CASE ..............................

A. Pactual Backrround ................................................

B. The Opinion of the District Court ...... NIDA Soe, oa

C. The Opinion of the Court of Appeals

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ......

I. THE DECISION OF THE COURT OF AP-

PEALS DEPRIVES CHAPLIN OF HIS FUN-

DAMENTAL RIGHT OF DUE PROCESS BY

DENYING HIM AN OPPORTUNITY TO LITI-

GATE THE LEGALITY OF THE WIRETAP....

Il. A WRIT OF CERTIORARI SHOULD BE

GRANTED TO RESOLVE THE CONFLICT

AMONG THE COURTS OF APPEALS AS TO

WHETHER COLLATERAL ESTOPPEL MAY

BE APPLIED OFFENSIVELY AGAINST A

CRIMINAL DEFENDANT .....WW0000 oo...

ai sagas nace ts dnsacteeneouetensinesecancereeneve

6

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

Ashe v. Swenson, 397 U.S. 486, 90 S.Ct. 1189,

ee Tate BE NASD, siciincrcsssiteedciccseccosiceteines _ 9,10

Blonder-Tongue Lab., Inc. v. University of Ill.

Found., 402 U.S. 318, 91 S.Ct. 1434, 28 L.Ed.2d

EEE ols le er ee en ed 8

Catches v. United States, 582 F.2d 453 (8th Cir.

} | f . ) a IRI p eee et eee SRS rea NEARS AO ZON Liees 8

Coppedge v. United States, 369 U.S. 438, go S.Ct.

O27. Bien EE NS KAce nici dei, 8

Hansberry v. Lee, 311 U.S. 32, 61 S.Ct. 115, 85

Rea Ba Se “RD ie iicnactlias txdecee keene tenia eices 8

Hernadez-Uribe v. United States, 515 F.2d 20

(8th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1057, 96

St. Tet, 46 LBA CST CTS) 6.2 ccs.:.... 9

Martin v. Wilkes, 490 U.S. 755, 109 S.Ct. 2180,

LR ETE Tee BE CEO ocncccsnsedicenthesccetdeenssiscrnsesae 6

Pena-Cabanillas v. United States, 394 F.2d 785

, Bi Me |; eRe ang oC pe mae Nec eres 9

Sealfon v. United States, 332 U.S. 575, 68 S.Ct.

yp a Re Pw) | Se ee 10

United States v. Bonilla Romero, 836 F.2d 39 (1st

Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 817, 109 S.Ct.

BG, 200 Ee Oe Be Ces ise. 6

United States v. Brittain, 41 F.3d 1409 (10th Cir.

ae eee 7

United States v. Bruno, 333 F. Supp. 570 (E.D.

og SR 5 | SS WORDED SA Oy Be PRO HR WRT tte a 10

United States v. Colacurcio, 514 F.2d 1 (9th Cir.

cg” BIRLA AIR aig alarrc es AU Eee! A. Vell pe tc ae sale IR de, 9

United States v. De Angelo, 138 F.2d 466 (8rd Cir

Ra a Me edaierels coliCel ati Ten, acnlne hae Posh inal 10

United States v. Hamilton, 931 F.2d 1046 (5th Cir

bc RRR EAA URERER Reta oli hs hath e PR nde i I 9

United States v. Harnage, 976 F.2d 633 (11th Cir

Ponca cas ani ideas a ectapaneaaiva aaa kee 10

United States v. MacCollum, 426 U.S. 317, 96 S.Ct.

2086, 46.1. Fa.2a G66 (1976) .....................-:........ : 8

United States v. Pelullo, 14 F.8d 881 (8rd Cir.

BED asentitvecncrvascumrnadeeanasacinalnicid date aemean aoa 10

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

United States v. Rosenberger, 872 F.2d 240 (8th

CAO OMUEE swiccsscoic-thceicenaasahcaeaiianeceee see uma )

United States v. Tavarez, 40 F.3d 11386 (10th Cir.

BOWED -iccctieucpsvacacaoneiqnceneenaas aa ane 5,7

United States v. Thoresen, 428 F.2d 654 (9th Cir.

ROPE junsciatave tite Se ETON ION Crtrrer ars INO T OS 9

STATUTES AND CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

U.S. CONST. amend. V (Due Process Clause) .......... 2

DO Cec ae i cl hae elec ee ina eee 4

pPBRR oe ES eae ene SR mn ale ae ee 4

AQIS 254 GF CES Tb | nee Lr len eae 2,4

Sa TF A Te OD vciknc ni intencasnn tir cele, 2,4

See Rls I is et edinssses cece ae -.

SF Ae RED 2d hess cc oeeeren vst 2

FG Oe IE aha eel ee ees ea eee 4

OKLA. STAT. tit. 18, §§ 176.1 et seq. ........2....2..-...cee eee 2,3

MISCELLANEOUS AUTHORITIES

Comment, The Use of Collateral Estoppel against

the Accused, 69 Colum. L. Rev. 515, 516 (1969)... 9

1B JAMES W. MOORE ET AL., MOORE’S FEDERAL

PRACTICE {] 0.411[1] (2d ed. 1994) 2.0000. 6

RESTATEMENT OF JUDGMENTS § 93 (1942) .......... 6

Allan D. Vestal, Issue Preclusion and Criminal

Prosecution, 65 Iowa L. Rev. 281 (1980) ......... 9

IN THE

Suprene Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

KERRY CHAPLIN,

Petitioner,

V.

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Tenth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals is reported at 69

F.3d 281. (App. la-37a). The opinion of the district

court is not reported. (App. 38a-40a).

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on

October 24, 1995. On December 1, 1995, the court of

appeals denied the petitioner’s timely joint petition for

rehearing and suggestion for hearing en banc. (App. 4la-

42a). The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28

U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

1. The Due Process Clause of the Fifth Amendment

to the Constitution of the United States, provides in perti-

nent part:

. nor shall any person . . . be deprived of life,

liberty, or property, without due process of law...

2. The pertinent sections of the statutes under which

the petitioner was prosecuted, though the merits of this

petition do not turn upon such sections, were 21 U.S.C.

§ 841(a)(1), 21 U.S.C. § 843(b), and 21 U.S.C. § 846

and are reproduced at App. 43a-44a.

3. The relevant sections of the Oklahoma Security of

Communications Act, OKLA. STAT. tit. 13, §§ 176.1 ef

seq., though the merits of this petition do not turn upon

such sections, are reproduced at App. 44a-46a.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Factual Background

In the summer of 1990, Milton Edwards (“Edwards”)

and Terry Ratliff, Sr. (“Ratliff’) began purchasing small

quantities of cocaine from Balbino Tavarez (“Tavarez” )

in Houston, Texas for resale near their home in Atoka,

Oklahoma. (App. 3a). In July, 1992, Edwards ap-

proached Jerry Grist (“Grist”) and proposed that Grist

transport the cocaine from Houston to Tulsa. (App.

3a).

On April 19, 1993, J. Tully McCoy (“McCoy”), dis-

trict attorney for Judicial District 21, sought, pursuant

to the Oklahoma Security of Communications Act, OKLA.

STAT. tit. 13, $$ 176.1-.14 (the “Act”), an ex parte order

3

from the Oklahoma Court of Criminal Appeals to wire-

tap Grist’s residence and business phones in Atoka, Okla-

homa. (App. 4a, 8a, 9a). Section 176.9(C) of the Act

authorizes the “interception of wire . . . communications

within the territorial jurisdiction of the judicial district

of the district attorney requesting the order.” OKLA. STAT.

tit. 13, § 176.9(C). Judicial District 21 includes Cleve-

land, McCain, and Garvin counties. Atoka is in Atoka

County which is in Judicial District 19. (App. 9a).

Under the Act, an improper application for a wiretap

will render the resulting order invalid. OKLA. STAT. tit.

13, $ 176.7.

When the April 19, 1993 order was issued, a wiretap

device was placed on telephone lines physically located in

Atoka County near Grist’s phones. (App. 4a, 9a, 38a,

39a). Electronic signals from that device were then routed

by arrangement with the telephone company to a monitor

room in Cleveland County where state agents intercepted

and recorded calls between Grist and several individuals

including the petitioner, Kerry Chaplin (‘“Chaplin’’).

(App. 9a, 38a, 39a). Asa result of that wiretap, Tavarez.

Grist, and others were prosecuted in the Western District

of Oklahoma (the “Tavarez Suit”) and ultimately pled

guilty and agreed to cooperate in the prosecution of

Chaplin, Edwards, Ratliff and William T. Lawrence

(“Lawrence”) (collectively, “Defendants”). (App. 4a).

Prior to the wiretap of Grist’s phones, state agents were

unaware of any drug activities of Chaplin.

On September 21, 1993, as part of his effort to “co-

operate,” Grist contacted Chaplin to see if Chaplin was

interested in dealing with his friend “Joe” (DEA special

agent Joe Leszczynski). (App. 4a-Sa). Through subse-

quent calls and a one face-to-face meeting, Joe arranged

a meeting between Chaplin and Grist’s father, Herb Grist.

(/d.) On November 3, 1993, Chaplin was arrested in

Tulsa where he was videotaped purchasing one kilogram

of cocaine from cooperating witness Herb Grist. (App. 5a).

4

B. The Opinion of the District Court '

On January 26, 1994, Chaplin was indicted in the

United States District Court for the Northern District

of Oklahoma (the “District Court”) for conspiracy to

possess cocaine with intent to distribute and for posses-

sion of cocaine with intent to distribute under 21 U.S.C.

S$ 846, 841(a)(1), respectively, as well as for use of

a communications facility, in facilitating a violation of

federal narcotics laws under 21 U.S.C. § 843(b).° (App.

6a).

Following their indictment, Defendants filed a motion

to suppress asserting that the evidence against them was

derived from an illegal wiretap since McCoy lacked juris-

diction to obtain the wiretap order. (App. 8a, 39a). Spe-

cifically, Defendants argued that the wiretap was facially

invalid because McCoy, as district attorney for Judicial

District 21, was not authorized to seek a wiretap on

phones located in Judicial District 19 which was outside

his territorial jurisdiction. (App. 39a). On April 20,

1994, the District Court, while acknowledging that “[i]t

may be reasonably argued that the Oklahoma legislature

intended to restrict telephones to be intercepted to be

physically located within the jurisdiction of the district

attorney applying for the intercept order”, nevertheless

denied the motion to suppress. (App. 40a).

1The District Court has jurisdiction by virtue of 18 U.S.C.

§ 3251 which grants district courts original jurisdiction of offenses

against the laws of the United States. The United States Court

of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit (the “Court of Appeals’) has

jurisdiction by virtue of 28 U.S.C. § 1291 which grants the courts

of appeals jurisdiction over all final judgment of the district courts

and by virtue of 18 U.S.C. § 3742(a).

* Specifically, Chaplin was charged with one count of conspiracy

to possess cocaine with intent to distribute and to distribute cocaine

(“Count 1’), five counts of use of a communication facility in

furtherance of a narcotics felony (“Counts 2-6’), and one count of

possession of cocaine with intent to distribute (“Count 7’).

(caeieceiniaeeieiaeieaaiie eae

On May 5, 1994, Chaplin was convicted on all of the

above counts. (App. 6a). On December 20, 1994,

Chaplin was sentenced to 151 months imprisonment on

Counts 1 and 7 to run concurrently, forty-eight months

on Counts 2-6 as to each count to run concurrently and

concurrently with Counts | and 7, and fined $5,000.00.

C. The Opinion of the Court of Appeals

On December 22, 1994, Chaplin filed a timely notice

of appeal. On appeal, Chaplin asserted inter alia that

the District Court erred in denying the motion to suppress

because the evidence against Chaplin was derived from

an illegal wiretap. Rather than reach the merits of the

issue, the Court of Appeals relied on its prior decision

in the Tavarez Suit which upheld the validity of the same

wiretap at issue in the instant case. (App. 8a-10a). See

United States v. Tavarez, 40 F.3d 1136 (10th Cir. 1994).

In Tavarez, another panel of the Court of Appeals held

that under the Act, jurisdiction to apply for an order

vests not only in the judicial district where the mechanical

devices are located, but also in the place where the con-

tents of the communication are first heard by law enforce-

ment Officials. (App. 9a-10a). Accordingly, the prior

panel concluded that because McCoy resided in the judi-

cial district where the phone conversations were first heard

by DEA agents, McCoy properly had jurisdiction. (App.

10a). The Court of Appeals then concluded that it was

bound by its construction of the Act in Tavarez absent an

intervening Supreme Court precedent or en banc recon-

sideration. (App. 10a). The Court of Appeals so held

even though Chaplin was not a party to the Tavarez Suit

and did not have an opportunity to present his arguments

on the invalidity of the wiretap.

6

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

A writ of certiorari should be granted for several rea-

sons. First, in refusing to allow Chaplin an opportunity

to present his arguments concerning the illegality of the

wiretap, the Court of Appeals impermissibly applied

offensive collateral estoppel to deprive Chaplin of his

fundamental right to substantive due process. As more

fully demonstrated below, such decision was in derogation

of the Due Process Clause of the Fifth Amendment of the

United States Constitution and conflicts with prior deci-

sions of this Court. In addition to the forgoing reason,

the Court should grant the petition for certiorari to re-

solve a conflict among the circuits as to whether collateral

estoppel can be applied offensively against criminal

defendants.

I. THE DECISION OF THE COURT OF APPEALS

DEPRIVES CHAPLIN OF HIS FUNDAMENTAL

RIGHT OF DUE PROCESS BY DENYING HIM AN

OPPORTUNITY TU LITIGATE THE LEGALITY OF

THE WIRETAP.

As a preliminary matter, it must be recognized that

the decision of the Court of Appeal completely ignores

the well-established rule that in the case of both res judi-

cata and collateral estoppel a judgment is conclusive only

against a party of the action in which it was rendered.

See 1B JAMES W. Moore ET AL., MOORE’S FEDERAL

PRACTICE € 0.411[1] (2d ed. 1994); RESTATEMENT OF

JUDGMENTS § 93 (1942) (“[A] person who is not a

party ... is not bound by or entitled to claim the bene-

fits of an adjudication”). In other words, the party to be

precluded from relitigating an issue decided in a previous

litigation, must have been either a party or in privity with

a party to that litigation. United States v. Bonilla Ro-

mero, 836 F.2d 39, 43 (1st Cir. 1987), cert. denied,

488 U.S. 817, 109 S.Ct. 55, 102 L.Ed.2d 33 (1988). In-

deed, this Court has referred to the foregoing as a prin-

ciple with which “all agree.” Martin v. Wilkes, 490 U.S.

755, 761, 109 S.Ct. 2180, 2184, 104 L.Ed.2d 835

J

(1989). In the instant case, it is uncontested that Chap-

lin was neither a party nor in privity with a party to the

Tavarez Suit. Accordingly, Chaplin cannot be bound by

determinations rendered in the Tavarez Suit and cannot

be precluded from litigating the illegality of the wiretap.

Ignoring the above well-established principle, the Court

of Appeals held that Chaplin was bound by a prior panel's

decision in a separate case to which Chaplin was not a

party. Indeed, after citing the prior panel’s rejection of

a “similar challenge” to the same wiretap in Tavarez, the

Court of Appeals stated:

Defendants concede that our decision in Tavarez

upheld the validity of the wiretap in question. De-

fendants' contend, however, that they were not a

party to that case and that we should reconsider

the issue and reach a different result. We disagree.

We are bound by our authoritative construction of

the Oklahoma wiretap statute in Tavarez absent an

intervening Supreme Court precedent or en banc

reconsideration. United States v. Brittain, 41 F.3d

1409, 1415 (10th Cir. 1994). Accordingly, we must

follow the Tavarez panel’s construction of the Okla-

homa wiretap statute in the instant case.

(App. 10a).

Whatever considerations of policy may bear on matters

of stare decisis, the Tavarez panel’s decision adjudicated

a legal claim regarding a specific, discrete, historical

event—the lawfulness of wiretaps on an_ individual’s

phones. Chaplin was not a party to the Tavarez case and

had no standing there to make his arguments regarding

the lawfulness of the wiretap. But he was, nevertheless,

prosecuted based on evidence obtained from that wiretap

and sought on appeal to be heard on the issue of its law-

fulness. Under such circumstances, the Court of Appeal’s

refusal to consider Chaplin’s arguments is tantamount to

collaterally estopping him from litigating the issue.

That Chaplin has due process protection to be heard

on the lawfulness of a dispositive adjudicative fact in-

is

volved in his case is demonstrated in Blonder-Tongue

Lab., Inc. v. University of Ill. Found., 402 U.S. 313, 91

S.Ct. 1434, 28 L.Ed.2d 788 (1971), a patent-infringe-

ment case, where the Court said:

Some litigants—those who never appeared in a prior

action—may not be collaterally estopped without

relitigating the issue. They have never had a chance

to present their evidence and arguments on the claim.

Due process prohibits estopping them despite one or

more existing adjudications of the identical issue

which stands squarely against their position. Hans-

berry v. Lee, 311 U.S. 32, 40 (1940).

Blonder-Tongue, supra, 402 U.S. at 329. A direct appeal

from a district court judgment in a criminal case is a

matter of right, Coppedge v. United States, 369 U.S. 438,

441, 82 S.Ct. 917, 919, 8 L.Ed.2d 21 (1962), a right

that has been described as a “fundamentai right of due

process,” Catches v. United States, 582 F.2d 453, 458

(8th Cir. 1978). Compare United States v. MacCollum,

426 U.S. 317, 96 S.Ct. 2086, 48 L.Ed.2d 666 (1976)

(dictum, plurality opinion). In refusing to hear Chap-

lin’s arguments on the illegality of the wiretap, the Court

of Appeals deprived Chaplin of his fundamental right

to due process of law.

Il. A WRIT OF CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED

TO RESOLVE THE CONFLICT AMONG THE

COURTS OF APPEALS AS TO WHETHER COL-

LATERAL ESTOPPEL MAY BE APPLIED OFFEN-

SIVELY AGAINST A CRIMINAL DEFENDANT

Even if one were to assume arguendo that collateral

estoppel could be invoked against Chaplin (which it can-

not since he was not a party to the prior litigation), the

Court should grant a writ of certiorari to resolve the

conflict among the courts of appeals as to whether col-

lateral estoppel may even be invoked by the government

against a criminal defendant. Although originally devel-

oped in civil cases, collateral estoppel has been applied

by this Court in criminal cases for the benefit of the de-

9

fendant. Ashe v. Swenson, 397 U.S. 436, 443, 90 S.Ct.

1189, 1194, 25 L.Ed.2d 469 (1970). This Court has not

addressed directly whether collateral estoppel can be ap-

plied against the defendant in a criminal case. However,

courts as well as commentators have noted that the appli-

cation of collateral estoppel to criminal defendants raises

difficult due process questions. See e.g., United States v.

Hamilton, 931 F.2d 1046, 1053 n.1 (Sth Cir. 1991);

Allan D. Vestal, Zssue Preclusion and Criminal Prosecu-

tion, 65 lowa L.Rev. 281, 312-21 (1980) (expressing

concern that application of collateral estoppel against

criminal defendants might infringe due process and jury

trial rights ,

Citing “wise public policy and common sense judicial

administration”, the Court of Appeals for Ninth Circuit

has allowed collateral estoppel to be invoked against a

criminal defendant. Pena-Cabanillas v. United States, 394

F.2d 785, 786-88 (9th Cir. 1968); accord United States

v. Colacurcio, 514 F.2d 1, 6-7 (9th Cir. 1975); see also

United States v. Thoresen, 428 F.2d 654, 666-67 (9th

Cir. 1970). The Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit

has likewise adotped this rule. See Hernadez-Uribe v.

United States, 515 F.2d 20, 21-22 (8th Cir. 1975}, cert.

denied, 423 U.S. 1057, 96 S.Ct. 791, 46 L.Ed.2d 647

(1976): United States v. Rosenberger, 872 F.2d 240,

241-42 (8th Cir. 1989) (defendant collaterally estopped

from moving to suppress evidence previously found to be

legally obtained). The rationale supporting such decisions

has been severely criticized for not paying sufficient atten-

tion to the constitutional objections. See Comment, The

Use of Collateral Estoppel against the Accused, 69 Colum.

L.Rev. 515, 516 (1969) (“[t]his practice [of applying

collateral estoppel against a criminal defendant] raises

serious policy and constitutional issues which have not

been adequately dealt with by the courts”).

Despite the above cases, “there has been a strong, un-

elaborated assumption that the doctrine of collateral

estoppel cannot be invoked in criminal cases against the

7 |

10

defendant.” United States v. Pelullo, 14 F.3d 881, 891

(3rd Cir. 1994); see also United States v. Harnage, 976

F.2d 633, 634 (11th Cir. 1992) (“[collateral estoppel’s]

use in the criminal arena, however, has traditionally been

limited to only one party—the defendant.”). Indeed,

Chief Justice Burger, though disagreeing with the Court’s

ultimate holding, stated that: “[if the defendant] had

been convicted at the first trial, presumably no court

would then hold that he was thereby foreclosed from liti-

gating the identification issue at the second trial.” Ashe

supra 397 U.S. at 465, 90 S.Ct. at 1205 (Burger, C.J.,

dissenting). Other courts have similarly concluded. See

United States v. De Angelo, 138 F.2d 466, 468 (3rd

Cir. 1943) (“[a]n accused is constitutionally entitled to

a trial de novo of the facts alleged and offered in support

of each offense charged against him and to a jury’s in-

dependent finding with respect thereto.”) cited in Sealfon

v. United States, 332 U.S. 575, 578, 68 S.Ct. 237, 239,

92 L.Ed.2d 180 (1948); United States v. Bruno, 333

F.Supp. 570, 576 (E.D. Pa. 1971) (“[a]n accused is al-

ways constitutionally entitled to a trial de novo of the

facts alleged . . . and collateral estoppel is available as a

defense even though it can never be raised offensively by

the prosecution.”) (emphasis supplied). The Eleventh

Circuit Court of Appeals has also held that the govern-

ment cannot collaterally estop a criminal defendant from

relitigating an issue decided against a defendant in a dif-

ferent court in a prior proceeding. See Harnage, supra,

976 F.2d at 636. In light of the above, a writ of certiorari

should be granted for the wholly additional reason that

in so doing the Court could resolve the present conflict be-

tween the courts of appeals as to whether or not col-

lateral estoppel can be applied against a defendant in a

criminal case.

1]

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, a writ of certiorari should

be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

REUBEN DAVIS *

SHANE M. EGAN

BOONE, SMITH, DAVIS,

HuRST & DICKMAN

500 Oneok Plaza

100 West Fifth Street

Tulsa, Oklahoma 74103-4215

(918) 587-0000

Counsel for Petitioner

February 23, 1996 * Counsel of Record

APPENDICES

TABLE OF CONTENTS

APPENDIX A Page

Decision of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Tenth Circuit, United States v. Edwards, et al.,

October 24, 1995 la

APPENDIX B

Order of the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Oklahoma, Denying Motion to

Suppress, United States v. Edwards, et al.. April

20, 1994 38a

APPENDIX C

Order of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Tenth Circuit, Denying Petition for Rehearing

and Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc. United

States v. Edwards, et al., December 1, 1995 tla

APPENDIX D

Relevant Statutory Provisions 43a

la

APPENDIX A

[Filed Oct. 24, 1995]

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

TENTH CIRCUIT

No. 94-5202

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff-A ppellee,

VS.

MILTON EDWARDS,

Defendant-A ppellant.

No. 94-5203

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA.

Plaintiff-A ppellee,

VS.

TERRY RATLIFF, SR..

Defendant-A ppellant.

No. 94-5204

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA.

laintiff-A ppellee,

VS,

WILLIAM THOMAS LAWRENCE,

Defendant-A ppellant.

ae ee

2a

No. 95-5003

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff-A ppellee,

VS.

KERRY CHAPLIN,

Defendant-A ppellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Oklahoma

(D.C. No. 93-CR-185-C)

Before BALDOCK and McWILLIAMS, Circuit Judges,

and BROWN, District Judge.*

BALDOCK, Circuit Judge.

Defendants Milton Edwards, William Lawrence, Jr.,

Kerry Chaplin, and Terry Ratliff, Sr. were tried together

and convicted in a jury trial of conspiracy to possess with

intent to distribute cocaine and to distribute cocaine, 21

U.S.C. §§ 846, 841(a)(1). Defendants Chaplin and Ed-

wards were also convicted of use of a communication fa-

cility, a telephone, in facilitating a violation of federal

narcotics laws, 21 U.S.C. § 843(b). Defendants appeal

thcir convictions and sentences. We exercise jurisdiction

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1291 and 18 U.S.C. § 3742(a).

We affirm.’

* The Honorable Wesley E. Brown, Senior United States District

Judge for the District of Kansas, sitting by designation.

1 Because Defendants raise common issues, these cases have been

consolidated for purposes of appeal.

nn

3a

I. FACTS

Testimony and evidence presented during trial detailed

the following course of events. The instant conspiracy

arose in the summer of 1990, when Defendants Edwards

and Ratliff began purchasing small quantities of cocaine

from Balbino “Munchie” Tavarez in Houston, Texas for

resale near their home in Atoka, Oklahoma. Over the

next two years, Edwards purchased increasing quantities

of cocaine from Tavarez but experienced difficulties trans-

porting the cocaine from Houston.

In July 1992, Edwards approached Jerry Grist (“J.

Grist”) in Atoka, and proposed that J. Grist transport

the cocaine from Houston to Tulsa through the use of

J. Grist’s trucking company employees. J. Grist agreed

to this arrangement in exchange for payment of $1,000

per kilogram of cocaine transported. To carry out this

plan, Edwards and Ratliff escorted J. Grist to Dallas.

Texas to meet with Tavarez. There, J. Grist met with

Tavarez, received instructions on making cocaine pur-

chases, and observed Edwards purchase two kilograms of

cocaine from Tavarez.

se Oca

In September 1992, Edwards was placed on probation

for an unrelated 1990 drug charge and was placed in a

halfway house. During Edwards’ confinement, Tavarez

arranged transactions directly with J. Grist for Edwards.

At this point, Defendant Chaplin began purchasing co-

caine from J. Grist which allowed him to obtain better

quality cocaine than he was able to obtain on his own.

In making these purchases, Chaplin pooled his money into

a common fund with the other codefendants in order to

make bulk purchases of cocaine, as the price of cocaine

was less expensive when purchased in large quantities.

At trial, J. Grist estimated that he or his employees rou-

tinely transported multiple kilograms of cocaine from

*In a prior appeal, we affirmed Tavarez’ conviction for con-

spiracy to distribute methamphetamine and cocaine. See United

States v. Tavarez, 40 F.3d 1136 (10th Cir. 1994).

4a

Houston to Tulsa, at least every week, until his arrest on

May 9, 1993. Once the cocaine arrived in Tulsa, J. Grist

distributed the cocaine among the Defendants who had

invested in the purchase.

In February 1993, the district court revoked Edwards’

probation and sentenced him to prison. The following

September, Edwards contacted J. Grist from prison and

informed him that Ratliff would assume control of his

portion of the operation. Specifically, Ratliff would com-

municate with the Defendants about their cocaine needs,

collect the money, and place orders with J. Grist. Al-

though Edwards later replaced Ratliff with Defendant

Lawrence, Ratliff continued to receive cocaine from other

Defendants and occasionally pooled his own funds with

that of other Defendants to purchase cocaine from J.

Grist.

In April 1993, state agents received an order from an

Oklahoma state court authorizing the interception of tele-

phone communications from two specific telephone num-

bers used by J. Grist at his home and trucking business

in Atoka County, Oklahoma. Pursuant to the wiretap

order, agents intercepted telephone conversations between

J. Grist and Tavarez, some of which directly concerned

the cocaine distribution operation involving Defendants.

In particular, agents intercepted a phone call on May 7,

1993, which revealed that J. Grist planned to travel to

Houston to purchase a multi-kilogram quantity of cocaine

from Tavarez. On May 9, 1993, agents arrested J. Grist

near Atoka, Oklahoma as he was returning from Houston.

Four kilograms of cocaine were found in his possession,

purchased with funds provided by Defendants Lawrence,

Lewis, and Chaplin.

Following his arrest, J. Grist began cooperating with

government agents regarding the drug distribution opera-

tion.* As part of his cooperation, J. Grist made several

3On June 2, 1993, a grand jury indicted J. Grist on various

charges as a result of his participation in the instant drug opera-

Sa

monitored telephone calls to Ratliff informing him that a

“friend” from El Paso, Texas, was planning to visit Tulsa

for the purpose of distributing cocaine. Unbeknowst to

Ratliff, the “friend” was an undercover DEA Agent, Joe

Leszczynski. Agent Leszczynski contacted Ratliff on Sep-

tember 26, 1993, to discuss a potential drug transaction.

In addition to his discusisons with Ratliff, Agent Les-

zczynski contacted Defendant Chaplin by telephone sev-

eral times during October 1993 to arrange cocaine pur-

chases. On November 2. 1993, Leszczynski called Chap-

lin to finalize a drug buy the next day. During this call,

Chaplin discussed his past involvement with Defendants

in purchasing cocaine through J. Grist.

On November 3, 1993, government agents recorded

telephone calls made by a cooperating coconspirator,

Herbert Grist (“H. Grist”), father of J. Grist. In these

calls, H. Grist discussed a planned purchase of cocaine

with Chaplin and Ratliff. Chaplin then met H. Grist at

the Roadway Motel in Tulsa, in a room monitored by

agents through the use of hidden video and audio trans-

mitters. Agents observed Chaplin negotiate the purchase

of one kilogram of cocaine. After Chaplin paid for the

cocaine, agents arrested him.

Later the same day, H. Grist placed a telephone call

. to Ratliff to give him-the motel and room number. How-

ever, for some reason, Ratliff did not meet H. Grist at

the room and did not negotiate a purchase. Approxi-

mately 30 minutes after H. Grist spoke to Ratliff, Defend-

ant Edwards contacted H. Grist at the motel room and

arranged to meet to discuss a drug transaction. Shortly

thereafter, Edwards and Defendant Lawrence met H.

Grist at the motel room and agents monitored the meeting.

tion. On September 7, 1993, J. Grist pleaded guilty to these

charges. On appeal, we affirmed Grist’s conviction. See United

States v. Grist, No. 94-6049, 1995 WL 331242 (10th Cir. June 1,

1995) (unpublished opinion).

es

6a

At the meeting, Edwards and Lawrence indicated that

they did not want to pay cash for the cocaine but wanted

it “fronted”.* In accordance with instructions from DEA

agents, H. Grist agreed to “front” two kilograms of co-

caine to Edwards and Lawrence. After Lawrence took

possession of the cocaine, agents arrested Edwards and

Lawrence.

On January 26, 1994, Defendants were indicted for

conspiracy to possess with intent to distribute cocaine and

to distribute cocaine, 2! U.S.C. § 846, 841(a)(1). In

addition, Defendants Edwards and Chaplin were indicted

for use of a communication facility, a telephone, in facili-

tating, a violation of federal narcotics laws, 21 U.S.C.

§$ 843(b). Following their indictment, Defendants moved

to suppress evidence obtained pursuant to a_ wiretap,

claiming that the wiretap orcer was improperly issued.

The district court denied the motion. On May 5, 1994,

a jury found Defendants guilty as charged on all counts.

This appeal followed.

On appeal, Defendants raise the following common

issues challenging their convictions: (1) whether the

district court erred in failing to suppress evidence ob-

tained from a wiretap, and (2) whether a fatal variance

existed between the indictment, which alleged a single

_conspiracy, and the government’s proof at trial, which

established the existence of multiple conspiracies.

In addition to these common issues, Defendant Chaplin

challenges the sufficiency of the evidence as to his con-

spiracy conviction. Defendant Ratliff argues the district

court erred in failing to grant his motion for severance.

Defendants Edwards and Lawrence contend the district

court erred in admitting evidence of prior bad acts pur-

eee

4 Fronting consists of a “ ‘credit arrangement whereby a drug

buyer is given drugs in exchange for a promise to pay for them

at some later date.’”” United States v. Evans, 970 F.2d 663, 667

(10th Cir. 1992) (quoting United States v. Mosley, 965 F.2d 906,

915 (10th Cir. 1992) ), cert. denied, 113 S. Ct. 1288 (1993).

7a

suant to Fed. R. Evid. 404(b). Defendant Edwards filed

a pro se supplemental brief appended to the opening

brief by his attorney claiming that the district court erred

by: (1) allowing “the jury selection process to continue

after discovery of an impermissible disparity concerning

African-Americans,” and (2) denving a motion to depose

Herbert Grist pursuant to Fed. R. Crim. P. 15(a).°

5On September 11, 1995, Defendant Lawrence filed a pro se

motion, styled “Request for Withdraw! [sic] of Claim of Direct

Appeal of Counsel from Attorney Craig [sic] P. Bryant.” In his

motion, Defendant Lawrence requested that we stay his appeal so

that he may convince the assistant federal public defender renre-

senting him to raise pursuant to Anders v. California, 386 U.S.

738, 744 (1967) a double jeopardy and an immunity issue in this

direct appeal. In a July 31, 1995 letter attached as an exhibit

to Defendant’s motion, public defender Bryart concluded that he

would not raise the issues on appeal because the issues were not

raised at the district court and did not fall within the plain error

exception. Public defender Bryant, however, indicated that De-

fendant Lawrence could prepare a supplemental brief which Bryant

would in turn seek permission to file. In an order filed September

19, 1995, we denied Defendant Lawrence’s motion styled “Request

for Withdraw! [sic] of Claim of Direct Appeal of Counsel from

Attorney Craig [sic] P. Bryant.”

On September 25, 1995, three days hefore the September 28,

1995 oral arguments in this consolidated appeal, Defendant

Lawrence filed a pro se supplemental brief. In his supplemental

brief, Defendant Lawrence argues we should dismiss the indictment

underlying his conviction in the instant case hecause the indict-

ment violated the double jeopardy clause of the Fifth Amendment.

Specifically, Defendant Lawrence contends that the indictment. con-

stituted double jeopardy because he was previously subjected

to a civil forfeiture proceeding pursuant to 21 U.S.C. § 881(a) (6).

We liberally construe Defendant Lawrence’s pro se brief as a

motion for leave to file a supplemental brief with accompanying

brief, see Haines v. Kerner, 404 U.S. 519, 520-21 (1972), and

grant the motion to file a supplemental brief. We note, however,

that a pro se party “must follow the same rules of procedure that

govern other litigants.” Oklahoma Federated Gold and Numis-

matics, Inc. v. Blodgett, 24 F.3d 136, 139 (10th Cir. 1994). Be-

cause Defendant Lawrence neither raised the double jeopardy

issue in the district court nor »:sserted it in his opening brief,

we do not address it. See United States v. Griffin, 48 F.3d 1147,

8a

As to sentencing issues, all Defendants claim the

district court erroneously calculated the quantity of co-

caine used to determine their base offense levels. In

addition, Defendant Edwards claims the district court

improperly enhanced his sentence for (1) being an or-

ganizer or leader of the conspiracy, and (2) obstruction

of justice. Defendants Lawrence and Chaplin seek to

incorporate all arguments raised by their codefendants

insofar as they apply to their particular appeals. We

address Defendants’ arguments in turn.

II. Motion to Suppress

Defendants first contend the district court erred in

denying their motion to suppress evidence obtained pur-

suant to a wiretap. Specifically, Defendants contend that

the wiretap application and order were invalid because

the district attorney who applied for the wiretap order

was without jurisdiction to do so. In addition, Defendant

Ratliff contends the application for a wiretap contained

an insufficient showing of requisite necessity for inter-

ception and that the government failed to minimize the

telephone conversations monitored. On appeal from a

motion to suppress, we accept the district court’s factual

findings unless clearly erroneous, review questions of law

de novo, and view the evidence in the light most favorable

to the prevailing party. United States v. Williamson, |

F.3d 1134, 1135 (10th Cir. 1993).

A. Jurisdiction of District Attorney to Apply for

Order

The wiretap order in question was obtained pursuant

to the Oklahoma Security of Communications Act, Okla.

Stat. Ann. tit. 13, $§ 176.1-.14. Under the federal wire-

1151 n.6 (10th Cir.) (refusing to address Eight Amendment

issue raised for first time on direct appeal from a criminal con-

viction), cert. denied, 115 S. Ct. 2630 (1995); Codner v. United

States, 17 F.3d 1331, 1832 n.2 (10th Cir. 1994) (declining to con-

sider issues not raised in the appellant’s opening brief).

9a

tap statute, 18 U.S.C. § 2516(2), we must defer to state

law “‘on the question of the validity of [a] wiretap or-

der obtained in state court under state law.’” United

States v. Tavarez, 40 F.3d 1136, 1137 (10th Cir. 1994)

(quoting United States v. McNulty, 729 F.2d 1243, 1266

(10th Cir. 1983) (en banc)). We review a district

court’s determination of state law de novo. Salve Regina

College v. Russell, 499 U.S. 225, 231 (1991).

Section 176.9(C) of the Oklahoma wiretap statute au-

thorize the “interception of wire . . . communications

within the territorial jurisdiction . . . of the district at-

torney requesting the order.” Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 13,

§ 176.9(C). The application for a wiretap in the instant

case sought authorization to intercept telephone conver-

sations from two telephones located in Atoka County,

Oklahoma, located in Judicial District 19. The district

attorney who applied for the wiretap resided in Judicial

District 21, located in Cleveland County, where the

agents monitored the conversations.

Under § 176.9(C), Defendants contend “interception”

of communications occurs only where the tapped phones

are physically located. Because the tapped phones were

located in Judicial District 19, Defendants contend the

district attorney for District 21 did not have authority to

apply for the order because he did not reside in the dis-

trict where the phones were physically located. Accord-

ingly, Defendants contend that the wiretap authorization

was invalid and that the district court should have sup-

pressed all evidence obtained pursuant to the wiretap.

We rejected a similar challenge to the validity of the

wiretap in question in Tavarez. In Tavarez, the defend-

ant argued that the district attorney who applied for the

wiretap in the instant case was without jurisdiction to

do so because he did not reside in the judicial district

where the tapped phones were physically located. Tavarez,

40 F.3d at 1138. In rejecting this argument, we held

that under the Oklahoma wiretap statute, jurisdiction to

10a

apply for an order vests not only in the judicial district

where the mechanical devices are located, but also “in

the place where the contents of the communication are

first heard by law enforcement officials.” /d. Because

the district attorney who applied for the wiretap order

resided in the district where the phone conversations were

first heard by DEA Agents, we concluded the district at-

torney properly had jurisdiction. /d.

Defendants concede that our decision in Tavarez up-

held the validity of the wiretap in question. Defendants

contend, however, that they were not a party to that

case and that we should reconsider the issue and reach

a different result. We disagree. We are bound by our

authoritative construction of the Oklahoma wiretap stat-

ute in Tavarez absent an intervening Supreme Court prec-

edent or en banc reconsideration. United States v. Brit-

tain, 41 F.3d 1409, 1415 (10th Cir. 1994). Accord-

ingly, we must follow the Tavarez panel’s construction

of the Oklahoma wiretap statute in the instant case. Un-

der Tavarez, jurisdiction to apply for a wiretap order un-

der the Oklahoma wiretap statute vests “in the place

where the contents of the communication are first heard

by law enforcement officials.” Tavarez, 40 F.3d at 1138.

Because the intercepted communications were first heard

by law enforcement officials in District 21, the district

attorney for District 21 had authority to apply for the

order. Thus, the district court did not err in rejecting

Defendants’ jurisdictional challenge to the wiretap order.°

B. Requisite Necessity for Interception

Defendant Ratliff contends the affidavit for wiretap

authorization contained an insufficient showing that the

wiretap was necessary for agents to determine the nature

® We deny Defendant Chaplin’s ‘Motion to Certify a Question of

State Law” to the Oklahoma Court of Criminal Appeals regarding

the interpretation of the Oklahoma Security of Communications

Act. See, e.g., Anaconda Minerals Co. v. Stoller Chem. Co., 990

F.2d 1175, 1178 (10th Cir. 1993) (declining to certify a question

of state law where prior panel had decided the issue).

lla

and scope of the criminal activity in question. Specifi-

cally, Defendant contends that the affidavit failed to in-

dicate that normal investigative techniques were attempted

and failed prior to resort to a wiretap.

“*A wiretap authorization order is presumed proper,’

and the Defendants carry the burden of overcoming this

presumption.” United States v. Mondragon, 52 F.3d 291,

292 (10th Cir. 1995) (quoting United States v. Nunez,

877 F.2d 1470, 1472 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 493

U.S. 981 (1989)). We review de novo whether the

order complies with the necessity requirement. /d.

In the instant case, the wiretap order was issued pur-

suant to the Oklahoma wiretap statute. Okla. Stat. Ann.

tit. 13, § 176.9. The provisions of the Oklahoma wiretap

Statute are virtually identical to the federal wiretap stat-

ute. Compare Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 13, § 176.9 with 18

U.S.C. § 2518(c). Under the Oklahoma statute, each

application for a wiretap must include “[a] full and

complete statement as to whether or not other investiga-

tive procedures have been tried and failed or why they

reasonably appear to be either unlikely to succeed if tried

or are too dangerous.” Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 13, § 176.9

(A)(3); see also 18 US.C. §2518(1)(c). This is

known as the necessity requirement. See Mondragon, 52

F.3d at 293. In addition, the judge issuing the order

must make a finding that “[njormal investigative proce-

dures have been tried and have failed or reasonably ap-

pear to be either unlikely to succeed if tried or are too

dangerous.” Okla. Stat. Ann. .tit. 13, § 176.9(C)(3);

see also 18 U.S.C. § 2518(3)(C). The purpose of these

requirements is to ensure that the relatively intrusive de-

vice of wiretapping “is not resorted to in situations where

traditional investigative techniques would suffice to ex-

pose the crime.” United States v. Kahn, 415 U.S. 143,

153 n.12 (1974).

In examining necessity challenges to wiretap orders,

we have repeatedly held that law enforcement officials are

12a

not required “to exhaust all other conceivable investiga-

tive procedures before resorting to wiretapping.” United

States v. Apodaca, 820 F.2d 348, 350 (10th Cir.), cert.

denied, 484 U.S. 903 (1987); accord United States v.

Page 808 F.2d 723, 729 (10th Cir.) (“[A] wiretap au-

thorization can be issued even if every possible means of

investigation has not been tried.”), cert. denied, 482 U.S.

918 (1987). Consequently, we have upheld applications

for wiretap orders where the application indicated: (1)

several investigatory methods had been utilized prior to

resort to wiretapping, see, e.g., Page, 808 F.2d at 729;

(2) normal investigative techniques had been frustrated

“by various problems local police were unable to over-

come,” United States v. Armendariz, 922 F.2d 602, 607

(10th Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 502 U.S. 823 (1991);

(3) increased visual surveilalnce would have increased

the possibility of detection, see Apodaca, 820 F.2d at

350; and (4) potential witnesses were unwilling to testify

in court because of fear of reprisal, United States v.

Smaldone, 583 F.2d 1129, 1133 (10th Cir. 1978), cert.

denied, 439 U.S. 1073 (1979).

In the instant case, the application for a wiretap order

set forth a full and complete statement as to the investiga-

tive techniques and procedures which had been utilized

prior to resort to a wiretap. See Vol. 1, tab 52, ex. B.

Moreover, the state court issuing the order found that

“{njormal investigative procedures have been tried” and

have been unsuccessful. See Vol. 1, tab 32, ex. C. We

therefore conclude there was a sufficient explanation indi-

cating that a wiretap was necessary. Thus, the district

court did not err in rejecting Defendant's necessity

challenge.

C. Minimization

Defendant Ratliff also contends that the intercepted

calls were not minimized in violation of the Oklahoma

wiretap statute. We conclude Defendant has failed to

properly present this issue for appellate review. Fed. R.

13a

App. P. 28(a)(5) states: “The brief of the appellant

shall contain... an argument. . .. The argument shall

contain the contentions of the appellant with respect to

the issues presented, and the reasons therefor, with cita-

tions to the authorities, statutes and parts of the record

relied on.” In enforcing this rule, we have held that “[ilt

is insufficient merely to state in one’s brief that one is

appealing an adverse ruling below without advancing rea-

soned argument as to the grounds for appeal.” American

Airlines v. Christensen, 967 F.2d 410, 415 n.8 (10th

Cir. 1992).

In the instant case, Defendant fails to support his mini-

mization issue with any reasoned argument or citations

to the record. Indeed, Defendant has made no attempt

to demonstrate how minimization efforts were improper

other than a conclusory statement that “[t]here was not

minimization of the telephone calls monitored.” Brief of

Aplt. Ratliff at 19. This isolated sentence is insufficient

to adequately contest his conviction on this ground on

appeal. Consequently, we do not address Defendant's

minimization argument.

Ill. Sufficiency of the Evidence and Variance

Defendant Chaplin contends the district court erred in

denying his motion for judgment of acquittal because the

evidence was insufficient to support his conspiracy con-

viction. Alternatively, Chaplin joins his codefendants in

arguing that there was a fatal variance between the in-

dictment, which alleged a single conspiracy, and the gov-

ernment’s proof at trial, which established the existence

of multiple conspiracies. We address each argument in

turn.

A. Sufficiency of the Evidence

Chaplin contends the evidence was insufficient to prove

he knowingly agreed to join the conspiracy with his co-

defendants to distribute cocaine. Specifically, Chaplin

contends the evidence fails to establish direct transactional

l4a

links, or even acquaintanceship, between him and his co-

defendants, In reviewing a conviction for sufficiency of

the evidence, we examine the entire record in the light

most favorable to the government, and determine whether

the direct and circumstantial evidence is such that any rea-

sonable jury could find the defendant guilty beyond a rea-

sonable doubt. United States v. Pedraza, 27 F.3d 1515,

1524 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 115 S. Ct. 347 (1994).

In order to prove Chaplin was guilty of conspiracy with

his codefendants, the government was required to prove:

“*(1) agreement with another person to violate the law;

(2) knowledge of the essential objectives of the con-

spiracy; (3) knowing and voluntary involvement; and

(4) interdependence among the alleged coconspirators.’ ”

Id. (quoting United States v. Johnson, 12 F.3d 1540,

1545 (10th Cir. 1993)). “To establish that [Chaplin]

agreed to participate in the conspiracy, the [g]overnment’s

evidence must show a unity of purpose or a common

design and understanding with coconspirators to accom-

plish one or more of the objects of the conspiracy.”

United States v. Angulo-Lopez, 7 F.3d !506, 1510 (10th

Cir, 1993) (quotation omitted), cert. denied, 114 S. Ct.

1563 (1994). “[T]he requisite agreement to act in con-

cert need not result in any . . . formal [hierarchical]

structure.” United States v. Banks, 10 F.3d 1044, 1054

(4th Cir. 1993), cert. denied, 114 S. Ct. 1850 (1994).

In the instant case, the evidence was suflicient to show

“a unity of purpose” among Defendants. Angulo-Lopez,

7 F.3d at 1510. The evidence at trial indicated that J.

Grist or his trucking company employees would period-

ically travel to Houston to purchase cocaine, and divide

the cocaine among the defendants upon return to Tulsa.

In order to effectuate these purchases, Chaplin pooled his

money into a common fund with his codefendants so that

J. Grist could make large purchases of cocaine at a favor-

7 Defendants strenuously contend that there was no evidence

concerning the existence of any pooling arrangement or their

15a

Chaplin also obtained better quality cocaine. This evi-

dence demonstrates an ongoing course of conduct between

Defendants in order to achieve a common goal or pur-

pose: to profit from the illicit distribution of cocaine.

See United States v. Fox, 902 F.2d 1508, 1515 (10th

Cir.), cert. denied, 498 U.S. 874 (1990); United States

v. Dickey, 736 F.2d 571, 582 (10th Cir.) (“There was

sufficient evidence to show that the conspiracy was com-

prise of a common goal between all participants, i.e., to

possess and distribute drugs . . . for profit.”), cert. denied,

469 U.S. 876 (1984).

Chaplin contends, however, the element of interdepend-

ence is lacking in the instant case because “there is no

evidence that any of his codefendants knew [him], asso-

ciated with [him], or knew that [he] was also purchasing

cocaine.” Brief of Aplit. Chaplin at 12. Rather, Chaplin

contends that the only connection between him and his

codefendants was their dependence on J. Grist as the

common. central drug supplier. /d. at 13. Thus, Chaplin

argues that “[t]o find ‘interdependence’ among [him] and

his codefendants under these circumstances would render

the word meaningless.” Reply Brief of Aplt. Chaplin at

17. We disagree.

knowledge of such arrangement. Rather, Defendants contend that

the evidence merely shows that “[J.] Grist got money from various

persons buying from him and used the money to buy drugs from

his own upstream supplier for redistribution to the buyers down-

stream, including the defendants.”

We disagree with Defendants’ characterization of the record.

The record in the instant case is replete with instances showing

Defendants’ knowledge of a pooling arrangement with J. Grist.

See, e.g., Aplt. Addm. Tab. 6A, p.2 (Grist indicates to Chaplin

that he cannot make a drug purchase until he obtains enough funds

because “2 or 3 guys kinda got behind—an... it... kinda put me

in a crunch.”); id. Tab 10A, p.2 (Grist indicates to Chaplin that

he has been unable to make a large purchase yet because “[i|t

takes a pretty good amount to get very many wheels [kilograms

of cocaine}.”); Vol. X at 506 (indicating Edwards’ knowledge

that he had contributed to a $90;000 common fund that had been

confiscated by police when one of Grists’ couriers was arrested).

l6a

The mere presence of a central figure does not neces-

sarily establish interdependence in a single conspiracy.

United States v. Roberts, 14 F.3d 502, 511 (10th Cir.

1993). Rather, interdependence exists where “each co-

conspirators’ activities ‘constituted essential and integral

steps toward the realization of a common, illicit goal.’ ”

Fox, 902 F.2d at 1514 (quoting United States v. Brewer,

630 F.2d 795, 799 (10th Cir. 1980)); see also Evans,

970 F.2d at 671 (“What is needed is proof that [the

conspirators] intended to act together for their shared mu-

tual benefit within the scope of the consipracy charged.” ).

Moreover, in order to establish interdependence, the gov-

ernment need not show that the “[c]Joconspirators .. .

know the identities or details of each scheme or have

connections with all other members of the conspiracy.”

Roberts, 14 F.3d at 511. Rather, where large quantities

of drugs are being distributed through a key distributor,

“each major buyer may be presumed to know that he is

part of a wide-ranging venture, the success of which de-

pends on performance by others whose identity he may

not even know.” Dickey, 736 F.2d at 581.

We conclude the government presented ample evidence

establishing the element of interdependence in the instant

case. The scheme for distributing cocaine depended upon

the successful achievement of several integrated steps, in-

cluding transport of numerous purchases of cocaine from

Houston, collection of money from Defendants, pooling

of money in order to purchase large quantities of cocaine,

and delivery of the cocaine to Defendants in Oklahoma

for resale to cocaine consumers. See Fox, 902 F.2d at

1515 (finding requisite interdependence where defendants

pooled funds and made several wholesale purchases of

cocaine). Moreover, the fact that Chaplin’s coconspira-

tors were allegedly unaware of his identity or that he was

purchasing cocaine is irrelevant. See Roberts, 14 F.3d at

511. By participating in purchases of large quantities of

drugs, all Defendants necessarily had knowledge of par-

ticipation in a greater scheme. See Dickey, 736 F.2d at

17a

581. Accordingly, we find sufficient evidence from which

any reasonable jury could find that Chaplin knowingly

conspired with his codefendants to distribute cocaine.

Thus, the district court properly denied Chaplin’s motion

for judgment of acquittal.

B. Variance and Multiple Conspiracy Jury Instruction

Defendants contends that there was a fatal variance be-

tween the indictment, which alleged a single conspiracy,

and the government's proof at trial, which established the

existence of multiple conspiracies. Specifically, Defend-

ants contend that Chaplin’s drug activities constituted a

separate, independent conspiracy to those of his codefend-

ants and that evidence of this separate conspiracy created

a prejudicial “spillover”. Additionally, Defendants con-

tend the district court erred by failing to give a multiple

conspiracy jury instruction.

l.

“A variance arises when the evidence adduced at trial

establishes facts different from those alleged in an indict-

ment.” Dunn v. United States, 442 U.S. 100, 105

(1979). However, a variance is not fatal to the govern-

ment’s case unless the variance affects “the substantial

rights of the accused.” Berger v. United States, 295 U.S.

78, 82 (1935). Accordingly, where a single conspiracy

is charged in the indictment, and the government proves

only multiple conspiracies, a defendant who suffers sub-

stantial prejudice must have his conviction reversed.

Kotteakos v. United States, 328 U.S. 750, 773-74 (1946).

Whether a single conspiracy existed is a fact question

for the jury and we review the jury’s decision in a light

most favorable to the government. United States v.

Powell, 982 F.2d 1422, 1431 (10th Cir. 1992), cert.

denied, 113 S. Ct. 2361 (1993). In determining whether

a single conspiracy existed, a focal point of the analysis

is whether the alleged coconspirators’ conduct exhibited

interdependence. United States v. Daily, 921 F.2d 994,

18a

1007 (10th Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 502 U.S. 952

(1991). Interdependence exists where “each coconspira-

tors activities ‘constituted essential and integral steps to-

ward the realization of a common, illicit goal.”” Fox,

902 F.2d at 1514 (quoting United States v. Brewer, 630

F.2d 795, 799 (10th Cir. 1980) ).

Defendants assert the evidence failed to show a single

conspiracy because the evidence fails to show any con-

nection between Chaplin and the other defendants.

Rather, Defendants contend that the evidence essentially

consists of testimony showing a number of discrete buy-

sell transactions by the various codefendants from J. Grist,

the supplier of the cocaine.

This argument “considerably shades and understates the

relevant evidence of [Defendants’] conduct” in the instant

case. Banks, 10 F.3d at 1055. As we have already

stated, there was ample evidence demonstrating interde-

pendence among Defendants in their scheme to purchase,

transport, and deliver cocaine from Houston to Tulsa.

See supra part III.A. Throughout this scheme, each De-

fendant “ ‘demonstrated a substantial level of commitment

to the conspiracy, [for example] by engaging in a con-

sistent series of smaller transactions’ that furthered its

ultimate object of supplying the consumer demand of the

market.” Jd. at 1054 (quoting United States v. Edwards,

945 F.2d 1387, 1393 (7th Cir. 1991)). Accordingly, we

conclude the evidence supports the jury’s conclusion that

Defendants were members of a single conspiracy as

charged in the indictment. Thus, no variance existed.

2.

Even assuming a variance between the indictment and

the proof at trial, Defendants are not entitled to relief

unless the variance affected their substantial rights. See

Powell, 982 F.2d at 1432 (addressing substantial rights

prong even though court concluded no variance existed);

United States v. Irwin, 654 F.2d 671. 683 (10th Cir.

19a

1981) (same). Defendants Edwards, Lawrence. and Rat-

liff contend that evidence of Chaplin’s alleged separate

conspiracy affected their substantial rights by creating a

“spillover” effect which forced them “to acquit [them-

selves] of Chaplin’s actions.”

A defendant's substantial rights are affected in the con-

text of a variance when the jury determines a defendant’s

guilt by relying on evidence adduced against coconspira-

tors who were involved in separate conspiracies. Kottea-

kos, 328 U.S. at 774. In evaluating whether a potential

prejudicial spillover impermissibly affected the fairness of

a trial in which a variance occurred, we have considered

the following factors: (1) whether the proliferation of

separate conspiracies in the case affected the jury’s ability

to segregate each defendant’s individual actions and par-

ticipation; (2) whether the variance caused confusion

among the jurors as to the limited use of certain evidence;

and (3) the strength of the evidence underlying the con-

viction. Powell, 982 F.2d at 1432.

Applying these factors to the instant case, we conclude

Defendants’ substantial rights were not affected by any

alleged variance. The facts of this case were not so intri-

cate as to render the jury unable to segregate the evidence

associated with each defendant’s individual actions, where

there were only four defendants and alleged proof of two

conspiracies. See Berger, 295 U.S. at 83 (upholding con-

viction for participation in a single conspiracy where

there were only five defendants and two conspiracies

proven at trial). Moreover, the district court’s jury in-

structions minimized any possible prejudice. The court’s

instructions advised the jury that “[iJt is your duty to

give separate and individual consideration to the evidence

as it relates to each individual defendant [and] leave]

out of consideration entirely any evidence admitted solely

against some other defendant or defendants.” See Vol. I,

Tab 96, p. 6. Finally, ample evidence established a single

conspiracy. See supra part III.B.1. We therefore conclude

20a

that even assuming a variance existed, Defendants’ sub-

stantial rights were not affected.

3.

Defendants next contend the district court erred in

failing to give a multiple conspiracy jury instruction. When

reviewing a challenge to jury instructions, we consider

the instructions given as a whole to determine whether

the instructions adequately state the law and provide the

jury with an ample understanding of the issues and con-

trolling principles of law. Brown v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc.,

11 F.3d 1559, 1564 (10th Cir. 1993). We review the

district court’s exclusion of a jury instruction for an abuse

of discretion. /d.

“A multiple conspiracy charge instructs the jury to

acquit if it finds that the defendant was not a member of

the indicted conspiracy but rather was involved in another

conspiracy.” United States v. Cavin, 39 F.3d 1299, 1310

(5th Cir. 1994). In Evans, we held that a district court’s

failure to give a multiple conspiracy jury instruction is not

reversible error as long as the instructions informed the

jury that “‘the government had the burden of proving

beyond a reasonable doubt the [single] conspiracy as

alleged, and that the evidence should be considered sep-

arately as to each individual defendant.’” Evans, 970

F.2d at 675 (quoting United States v. Watson, 594 F.2d

1330, 1340 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 444 U.S. 840

(1979)). In the instant case, the jury was so instructed.*

8 The district court gave the following pertinent instructions

which are virtually identical to those we approved in Evans:

It is your duty to give separate and individual considera-

tion to the evidence as it relates to each individual defendant.

When you do so, you should analyze what the evidence in the

case shows with respect to that individual defendant leaving

out of consideration entirely any evidence admtited solely

against some other defendant or defendants.

[ Continued }

2la

Accordingly, we conclude the district court did not abuse

its discretion in declining to instruct the jury on multiple

conspiracies.”

IV. Severance Motion

Defendant Ratliff contends the district court erred in

denying his motion for severance because the district

court’s decision to try him jointly with his codefendants

prejudiced him." Specifically, Defendant claims that evi-

dence admitted against his codefendants in the form of

statements made by Edwards to a police officer and a

8 [Continued |}

Unless otherwise stated, each defendant is entitled to have

his case determined from evidence as to his own acts, state-

ments, and conduct and any other evidence in the case which

may be applicable to him.

Mere similarity of conduct among various persons and the

fact they may have associated with each other, and may have

assembled together and discussed common aims and interests,

does not necessarily establish proof of the existence of a con-

spiracy.

See Vol. I, Tab 96, pp. 6, 18.

® Defendant Lawrence concedes the district court’s instructions

satisfied the standards of Evans and Watson. See, e.g., Brief of

Aplt. Lawrence at 19 (“These instructions appear to satisfy the

standard set by this Court, in Evans and Watson.”). However,

Lawrence contends that we should revisit this issue and follow

those circuits which have concluded that a defendant is entitled

to a multiple conspiracy instruction as a theory of defense when

the facts warrant such a defense. See Cavin, 39 F.3d at 1310;

United States v. Oreto, 37 F.3d 739, 748 (1st Cir. 1994), cert.

denied, 115 S. Ct. 1161 (1995); United States v. Kennedy, 32 F.3d

876, 884 (4th Cir. 1994), cert. denied, 115 S. Ct. 1995); United

States v. Dennis, 917 F.2d 1031, 1033 (7th Cir. 1990); United

States v. Cambindo Valencia, 609 F.2d 603, 625 (2d Cir. 1979),

cert. denied, 446 U.S. 940 (1980). In Evans, we specificaily re-

jected such an approach, see Evans, 970 F.2d at 674-75, and we

must follow that decision. See Brittain, 41 F.3d at 1415.

10 Defendants Lawrence and Chaplin also adopt this argument

by reference in their brief.

22a

videotape of the November 3, 1993 cocaine sale between

the undercover agent and Chaplin, had a negative “spill-

over” effect on the jury and prevented the jury from

making a reliable judgment about his guilt or innocence.

We disagree.

“{I]n a conspiracy trial it is preferred that persons

charged together be tried together.” United States v. Scott,

37 F.3d 1564, 1579 (10th Cir. 1994), cert. denied, 115

S. Ct. 773 (1995). We review a district court’s denial of

a severance motion for an abuse of discretion, United

States v. Williams, 45 F.3d 1481, 1483 (10th Cir. 1995),

and “will not reverse the lower court’s decision absent a

strong showing of prejudice.” United States v. Wright,

932 F.2d 868, 876 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 112 S. Ct.

428, 450 (1991). Prejudice occurs when “ ‘there is a seri-

ous risk that a joint trial [will] compromise a specific

trial right of one of the defendants, or prevent the jury

from making a reliable judgment about guilt or inno-

cence.” Williams, 45 F.3d at 1484 (quoting Zafiro v.

United States, 113 S. Ct. 933 (1993)). “Neither a mere

allegation that defendant would have a better chance of

acquittal in a separate trial, nor a complaint of the ‘spill-

over effect’ [of damaging evidence] is sufficient to war-

rant severance.” United States v. Levine, 983 F.2d 165,

167 (10th Cir. 1992) (quotations omitted).

We conclude Defendant has failed to show the requisite

prejudice warranting severance. As we have stated, the

facts of this case were not so intricate as to render the

jury unable to segergate the evidence associated with each

defendant’s individual actions. See supra part III.B.2.

Moreover, the district court minimized any possible prej-

udice by instructing the jury that “[i]t is your duty to

give separate and individual consideration to the evidence

as it relates to each individual defendant [and] leav{[e]

out of consideration entirely any evidence admitted solely

against some other defendant or defendants.” See Vol. I,

Tab 96, p. 6; Zafiiro, 113 S. Ct. at 938 (“[L]imiting in-

eer eee . aa

23a

structions . . . often will suffice to cure any risk of preju-

dice.”). Under these circumstances, we conclude the dis-

trict court did not abuse its discretion in denying De-

fendant’s motion to sever.

V. 404(b) Evidence

Defendants Edwards and Lawrence contend the district

court erred in admitting evidence of prior bad acts pur-

suant to Fed. R. Evid. 404(b). We review the district

court’s decision to admit evidence under Rule 404(b)

for an abuse of discretion. United States v. Patterson, 20

F.3d 809, 812 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 115 S. Ct. 128

(1994).

During trial, the government moved to admit excerpts

from testimony given by Edwards and Lawrence as gov-

ernment witnesses at an unrelated 1991 cocaine conspiracy

trial in the Northern District of Oklahoma. The excerpts

included testimony in which Edwards and Lawrence testi-

fied that they had known each other for at least five or

six years and became involved in the cocaine business in

1986. Edwards testified that he had purchased two to

three kilograms of cocaine from Lawrence in 1986 and

began purchasing cocaine in Los Angeles and Houston for

resale in Tulsa, in 1988. Lawrence testified that he

and Edwards had made two or three trips to Houston to

purchase cocaine, and would place the cocaine inside a

spare tire before returning to Tulsa.

The government offered the prior testimony in order

to rebut Defendants’ contention that they were not in-

volved in a cocaine conspiracy with each other and with

J. Grist. Thus, under Rule 404(b), the government con-

tended that the prior testimony showed knowledge of the

charged conspiracy and an absence of mistake. Defend-

ants’ objected to the admission of the testimony contend-

ing that even if the evidence was admitted for a proper

purpose under Rule 404(b), the evidence was more

24a

prejudicial than probative and should be excluded. The

district court overruled the objection stating that “[i]t’s

the view of the Court that such evidence of prior state-

ments, activities would . . . go to the issues of motive,

knowledge, opportunity, and absence of mistake or acci-

dent, and would therefore be apropriate.” '' Vol. XI at

804. The court therefore admitted the prior testimony.

Defendants contend the district court improperly ad-

mitted the prior testimony under Rule 404(b) because

the evidence related to events which occurred in 1988

and was thus too remote in time to the events charged in

the instant case. Consequently, Defendants contend that

the probative value of the evidence was substantially out-

weighed by its prejudicial impact.”

Evidence of a defendant’s prior crimes, wrongs, or acts

is “admissible only for limited purposes and only when

various prerequisites are satisfied.” United States v. Robin-

1 Defendant Lawrence appears to suggest that the district court

erred in admitting the prior testimony because it failed to articu-

late the specific purpose for which the evidence was admitted, but

instead merely restated the language of Rule 404(b). We disagree.

We have held that “a broad statement merely invoking or re-

stating Rule 404(b) will not suffice” to identify the specific purpose

for which a district court admitted Rule 404(b) evidence. United

States v. Kendall, 766 F.2d 1426, 1436 (10th Cir. 1985), cert.

denied, 474 U.S. 1081 (1986). However, even if the district court

fails to specifically articulate the basis for admission, the error

is harmless as long as a proper purpose is apparent from the

record. United States v. Record, 873 F.2d 1363, 1873 (10th Cir.

1989). As our analysis indicates, the specific purpose for admitting

the prior testimony in the instant case is apparent from the record.

12 Fed. R. Evid. 404(b) provides:

Evidence of other crimes, wrongs, or acts is not admissible to

prove the character of a person in order to show action in

conformity therewith. It may, however, be admissible for

other purposes, such as proof of motive, opportunity, intent,

preparation, plan, knowledge, identity, or absence of mistake

or accident.

25a

son, 978 F.2d 1554, 1558 (10th Cir. 1992), cert. denied,

113 S. Ct. 1855 (1993). Rule 404(b) requires that

(1) the evidence must be offered for a proper pur-

pose; (2) the evidence must be relevant; (3) the

trial court must make a Rule 403 determination of

whether the probative value of the similar acts is

substantially outweighed by its potential for unfair

prejudice; and (4) pursuant to Fed. R. Evid. 105,

the trial court shall, upon request, instruct the jury

that the evidence of similar acts is to be considered

only for the proper purpose for which it was ad-

mitted.

United States v. Johnson, 42 F.3d 1312, 1315 (10th Cir.

1994) (quotation omitted). “ “We have previously recog-

nized the highly probative value of uncharged prior acts

evidence to show motive, intent, knowledge or plan in

the context of a conspiracy prosecution.’” United States

v. Easter, 981 F.2d 1549, 1554 (10th Cir. 1992), quot-

ing United States v. Record, 873 F.2d 1363, 1375 (10th

Cir. 1989)), cert. denied, 113 S. Ct. 2448 (1993). This

is particularly true where the uncharged acts are similar

in method to the charged conspiracy and sufficiently close

in time. Jd.

Here, Defendants’ prior acts involved their joint efforts

regarding distribution of cocaine purchased in and trans-

ported from Houston, Texas—a similar scheme with which

Defendants were eventually charged—and were sufficiently

close in time to the charged conduct. See United States

v. Wint, 974 F.2d 961, 967 (8th Cir. 1992) (narcotics

offense committed five years earlier was “reasonably close

in time” to charged offense), cert. denied, 113 S. Ct.

1001 (1993); United States v. Drew, 894 F.2d 965, 970

(8th Cir.) (evidence of defendant’s participation in run-

ning drug house three years earlier to offense in question

probative of issues of intent, knowledge, and plan), cert.

denied, 494 U.S. 1089 (1990). In this context. the prior

acts evidence was highly relevant to show Defendants’

i

26a

knowledge of the plan or scheme to possess and dis-

tribute cocaine. Furthermore, the prior acts evidence re-

butted Defendants’ claim that they were not involved in

a cocaine conspiracy with each other. See Easter, 981

F.2d at 1554 (upholding the admission of prior acts evi-

dence under similar circumstances).

In addition, the probative value of the evidence was

not substantially outweighed by its potential for unfair

prejudice. Although the district court did not explicitly

rule on the prejudicial impact of the evidence, the court

admitted the evidence following Defendants’ objections

based upon prejudice. Thus, “we can assume the judge

weighed the prejudicial impact against the probative value

of the evidence”, Patterson, 20 F.3d at 814, before mak-

ing the final determination to admit the prior testimony.

Because “[w]e are required to give the trial court ‘sub-

stantial deference’ in Rule 403 rulings”, id. (quoting

Easter, 981 F.2d at 1554), we will not disturb the dis-

trict court’s implicit determination regarding the proba-

tive value of the evidence. See id. Moreover, the district

court’s jury instructions included an instruction limiting

the use of the prior acts evidence. Under these circum-

stances, we conclude the district court did not abuse its

discretion in admitting the prior acts evidence pursuant to

Rule 404(b).

VI. Defendant Edwards’ Pro Se Issues

A. Composition of Jury Venire

Defendant Edwards contends the district court erred

because it “allow[ed] the jury selection process to con-

tinue after discovery of an impermissible disparity con-

cerning underrepresentation of a fair cross-section of

African-Americans” on the jury venire. According to

Defendant Edwards, “[t]he seventy person jury venire

presented for jury selection in this matter included only

one non-caucasian, leaving a strong inference [of] .. .

impropriety.” Specifically, Defendant Edwards argues

ee

27a

that “it is beyond belief that in Tulsa County, where a

9.8% of African-Americans reside, that zero-percent

African-Americans are summoned for the jury venire.” ™

Defendant Edwards contends that we remand for the dis-

trict court to conduct an evidentiary hearing regarding the

alleged systematic exclusion of African-American venire

persons.

“A criminal defendant has a Sixth Amendment right

to a jury pool comprised of a fair cross section of the

community.” United States v. Robertson, 45 F.3d 1423,

1439 (10th Cir.) (citing Duren v. Missouri, 439 U.S.

357, 358-59 (1979)), cert. denied, 115 S. Ct. 2258, 115

S. Ct. 2259 (1995). To establish a prima facie violation

of the Sixth Amendment-based fair-cross-section require-

ment,

the defendant must show (1) that the group alleged

to be excluded is a “distinctive” group in the com-

munity; (2) that the representation of this group in

venires from which juries are seleced is not fair and

reasonable in relation to the number of such persons

in the community; and (3) that this underrepresenta-

tion is due to systematic exclusion of the group in

the jury-selection process.

Duren, 439 U.S. at 364; see also United States v. Yazzie,

660 F.2d 422, 425-26 (10th Cir. 1981), cert. denied,

455 U.S. 923 (1982).

We conclude Defendant Edwards has failed to estab-

lish a prima facie violation of the fair-cross-section re-

quirement. Although Defendant Edwards relies on sta-

tistics outside the record in an attempt to show that the

representation of African-Americans is “not fair and rea-

sonable in relation to the number of such persons in the

community,” Duren, 439 U.S. at 364, Defendant Edwards

13 In his reply brief, Defendant Edwards contends that “African-

Americans comprise approximately 8.3% of the population in Tulsa

County.”

28a

has failed to show that a “systematic exclusion” of Afri-

can-Americans occurred. By chance, the venire had one

non-caucasion. In the absence of a showing of a “syste-

matic exclusion” of African-Americans, Defendant Ed-

wards has failed to demonstrate a prima facie violation

of the fair-cross-section requirement. See Duren, 439

U.S. at 364; Robertson, 45 F.3d at 1439. Consequently,

we reject Defendant Edward’s request to remand to the

district court for an evidentiary hearing.

B. Fed. R. Crim. P. 15

Defendant Edwards next argues that the district court

erred in denying his motion to depose H. Grist pursuant

to Fed. R. Crim. P. 15. We disagree.

Fed. R. Crim. P. 15 governs depositions in criminal

proceedings. Rule 15(a) provides in relevant part:

(a) When Taken. Whenever due to exceptional

circumstances of the case it is in the interest of

justice that the testimony of a prospective witness of

a party be taken and preserved for use at trial, the

court may upon motion of such party and notice to

the parties order that testimony of such witness be

taken by deposition ....

Fed. R. Crim. P. 15(a). Rule 15 “does not contemplate

use of depositions of adverse witnesses as discovery tools

in criminal cases.” United States v. Carrigan, 804 F.2d

599, 602 (10th Cir. 1986). Instead, the “exceptional

circumstances” standard of Rule 15(a) requires that the

district court exercise “its discretion in determining

whether a deposition should be taken under the particular

circumstances presented.” United States v. Fuentes-

Galindo, 929 F.2d 1507, 1509 (10th Cir. 1991). We

review the district court’s decision regarding the taking of

a deposition under Rule 15(a) for an abuse of discretion.

Id.

Prior to trial in the instant case, the government in-

formed Defendants that it would not call H. Grist as a

Oe ne eee oe eee

29a

witness. H. Grist, the father of J. Grist, had acted as the

cooperating coconspirator with the government in the

November 3, 1993 drug transactions at the Roadway

Motel. Although the government did not intend to call

H. Grist as a witness, the government intended to intro-

duce videotape at trial of the drug transactions wherein

H. Grist appeared. After Defendants learned the govern-

ment did not intend to call H. Grist as a witness, De-

fendants’ investigator personally interviewed H. Grist sev-

eral weeks before trial. Although the investigator inter-

viewed H. Grist, neither Defendant Edwards nor Lawrence

subpoenaed H. Grist as a witness.

On April 29, 1994, several days into the trial, Defend-

ants Edwards and Lawrence filed a motion pursuant to

Fed. R. Crim. P. 15(a) to take the deposition of H.

Grist. Defendants Edwards and Lawrence argued that the

deposition was necessary because H. Grist would provide

exculpatory testimony. Specifically, Defendant Edwards

contended that H. Grist would state that Defendant Ed-

wards had said during the November 3, 1993 transaction

at the Roadway Motel in Tulsa that he was no longer

in the drug business. Further, Defendant Edwards argued

that H. Grist would testify that Defendant Edwards did

not go to the Roadway Motel to purchase cocaine but to

visit Grist, a family friend. Defendant Lawrence argued

that H. Grist would state that he did not know Defendant

Lawrence before the November 3, 1993 incident, thereby

negating the inference that Lawrence and Grist knew one

another as coconspirators. Because H. Grist was suffering

from a heart condition and in poor health, his doctor

recommended that he not be deposed.

The district court first observed that H. Grist’s doctor

had advised against a deposition because of the fragility

of his health. The district court also established that

H. Grist’s competency was in question because he had

been subject to oxygen deprivation. Finally, the district

court stated that the allegedly exculpatory information

H. Grist would provide in a deposition “is not that im-

30a

portant.” Consequently, the district court denied the mo-

tion to depose H. Grist pursuant to Rule 15, Vol. [X at

361-62. Under the particular circumstances of this case

we cannot say the district court abused its discretion in

denying Defendants’ motion to depose H. Grist pursuant

to Fed. R. Crim. P. 15(a). See Fuentes-Galindo, 929

F.2d at 1509. Consequently, we conclude the district

court did not err in denying Defendants’ motion to depose

H. Grist.

VII. Sentencing Issues

A. Quantity of Cocaine

Defendants contend the district court erroneously cal-

culated the quantity of cocaine used to determine their

base offense levels. Specifically, Defendants contend their

sentences were based upon a greater amount of cocaine

than was reasonably foreseeable as part of the conspiracy.

We review a district court’s drug quantity calculation

under a clearly erroneous standard “and we will not dis-

turb it unless it has no support in the record, or unless

after reviewing all the evidence we are firmly convinced

that an error has been made.” United States v. Clark, 57

F.3d 973, 977 (10th Cir. 1995) (quoting United States

v. Cook, 949 F.2d 289, 296 (10th Cir. 1991)).

In a drug conspiracy case, a defendant’s sentence is

not based merely upon “ ‘the amount with which the de-

fendant dealt personally.” Angulo-Lopez, 7 F.3d at 1512

(quoting United States v. Savage, 891 F.2d 145, 151 (7th

Cir. 1989)). Rather, “[a] defendant . .. is sentenced

based on the total amount of drugs involved as if the

object of the conspiracy had been completed, provided

that the drug quantities were reasonably foreseeable to the

defendant and within the scope of his conspiratorial agree-

ment.” United States v. Robertson, 45 F.3d 1423, 1445

(10th Cir.) (citation omitted), cert. denied, 115 S. Ct.

2258 (1995). The government must prove the quantity

of drugs for sentencing purposes by a preponderance of

3la

the evidence. United States v. Richards, 27 F.3d 465,

468 (10th Cir. 1994). Evidence used to establish the

drug quantities “must possess a ‘minimum indicia of re-

liability.’ United States v. Reves, 40 F.3d 1148, 1150

(10th Cir. 1994) (quoting United States v. Coleman,

947 F.2d 1424, 1428 (10th Cir. 1991), cert. denied, 112

S. Ct. 1590 (1992) ).

1. Defendants Chaplin, Ratliff and Lawrence

The district court attributed a quantity of cocaine in

excess of fifteen kilograms to Defendants Chaplin, Ratliff,

and Lawrence, yielding a base offense level of thirty-four,

see U.S.S.G. § 2D1.1(c)(3) (providing for a base offense

level of thirty-four for an amount of “{a]t least 15 kg

but less than 50 kg of Cocaine”), and a guideline range

of 151-188 months. Defendants contend that in calculat-

ing this quantity, the district court improperly sentenced

them for drugs distributed independently by other mem-

bers of the conspiracy because the amounts were not rea-

sonably foreseeable. Excluding those amounts, Defendants

Chaplin, Ratliff, and Lawrence contend that less than

fifteen kilograms of cocaine are properly attributable to

them, thus yielding a base offense level of thirty-two, see

id. § 2D1.1(c)(4), and a guideline range of 121-151

months.

At sentencing, the district court conducted a compre-

hensive examination of the evidence and testimony pre-

sented at trial. Based upon the evidence and testimony

presented, the court determined that while the exact amount

was uncertain, the record supported a finding that an

excess of fifteen kilograms of cocaine were properly attrib-

utable to Chaplin. After careful review of the record, we

conclude the court’s finding was not clearly erroneous.

United States v. Chatman, 994 F.2d 1510, 1517 (10th

Cir.) (“We give due regard to the district court’s opor-

tunity to judge the credibility of witnesses on whose testi-

mony it relied.”), cert. denied, 114 S. Ct. 230 (1993).

32a

Accordingly, we conclude the district court did not err in

calculating the quantity of cocaine attributable to De-

fendants Chaplin, Ratliff, and Lawrence.

2. Defendant Edwards

The district court attributed an amount in excess of

fifteen kilograms of cocaine to Edwards in calculating a

base offense level of thirty-four. See U.S.S.G. § 2D1.1

(c)(3) (providing for a base offense level of thirty-four

for an amount of “[a]t least 15 kg but less than 50 kg

of Cocaine”). In calculating this quantity, Edwards con-

tends the district court should have excluded amounts dis-

tributed by Chaplin and those amounts distributed while

he was in federal custody on unrelated charges because

they were not reasonably foreseeable. We disagree.

“[A] critical factor in determining the proper sentence

is the degree of any given defendant’s involvement in the

conspiracy.” Evans, 970 F.2d at 679 (quotation omitted).

Here, the district court, reviewing the evidence and testi-

mony presented at trial, found that the quantities were

reasonably foreseeable and properly attributable to Ed-

wards because he organized and directed the distribution

scheme and continued “in the endeavors [of the con-

spiracy] during that period of incarceration.” Vol. XIV

at 985. Giving due deference to the district court’s factual

and credibility determinations, we conclude the court's

findings and calculations are not clearly erroneous, and

we will not disturb them. See, e.g., United States vy.

Gutierrez, 48 F.3d 1134, 1139 (10th Cir.) (rejecting

defendant’s argument that drugs distributed were not fore-

seeable, in light of defendant’s substantial involvement

in the conspiracy), cert. denied, 115 S. Ct. 2598 (1995):

Banks, 10 F.3d at 1057 (same).

33a

B. Organizer or Leader and Obstruction of Justice

Enhancements

1.

Defendant Edwards contends the district court erred by

imposing a four-level increase in his base offense level

because he “was an organizer or leader of a criminal

activity that involved five or more participants or was

otherwise extensive.” U.S.S.G. § 3B1.1(a). Edwards con-

tends the evidence was insufficient to support the district

court’s finding that he was an “organizer or leader.” Spe-

cifically, he contends that because he was incarcerated

during a large portion of the conspiracy, he could not have

been a leader or organizer. We review the district court’s

finding that a defendant was a leader or organizer for

clear error. Robertson, 45 F.3d at 1448.

A §3Bl1.1(a) enhancement “is an enhancement for

organizers or leaders, not for important or essential fig-

ures.” United States v. Torres, 53 F.3d 1129, 1142 (10th

Cir.) (quotations omitted), cert. denied, 115 S. Ct. 2599

(1995). Consequently, the gravamen of a § 3B1.1(a)

enhancement is control or organization: “ ‘the defendant

must have exercised some degree of control over others

involved in the commission of the offense or he must have

been responsible for organizing others for the purpose of

carrying out the crime.” Robertson, 45 F.3d at 1448

(quoting United States v. Reid, 911 F.2d 1456, 1464

(10th Cir. 1990).

In the instant case, the evidence presented at trial over-

whelmingly indicates that Edwards “exercised some degree

of control over others involved in... the offense or [was]

responsible for organizing others for the purpose of carry-

ing out the crime.” Jd. Edwards organized the conspiracy.

set up an elaborate courier system through use of Grist’s

trucking company, and introduced Grist to Tavarez—

the conspiracy’s major source of cocaine—in order to

34a

further the overall scheme of transporting cocaine from

Houston to Oklahoma. Moreover, contrary to Edwards’

contentions, the evidence indicates that he exercised con-

trol over various members of the conspiracy while he

was incarcerated. Consequently, we agree with the dis-

trict court’s observation that “there’s no doubt . . . that

the determination that [Edwards] was a leader is estab-

lished almost beyond refutation.” Vol. XIV at 985. Ac-

cordingly, we hold the district court did not err in en-

hancing Edwards’ base offense level due to his role as an

organizer or leader.

y

Finally, Edwards contends the district court erred by

enhancing his sentence by two levels for obstruction of

justice pursuant to U.S.S.G. § 3C1.1. This section pro-

vides for an enhancement “[i]f the defendant wilifully ob-

structed or impeded, or attempted to obstruct or impede,

the administration of justice during the investigation,

prosecution, or sentencing of the instant offense.” /d.

We review the district court’s factual determinations con-

cerning obstruction of justice for clear error. United

States v. Urbanek, 930 F.2d 1512, 1514 (10th Cir. 1991),

giving due deference to the district court’s ability to judge

the credibility of witnesses upon whose testimony it relied.

Chatman, 994 F.2d at 1517.

The district court based the obstruction of justice

enhancement upon testimony given by one of Edwards’

codefendants in a related case, Herbert Lewis. At trial,

Lewis testified that during a telephone conversation, Ed-

wards threatened him and instructed him to say as little

as possible if questioned by law enforcement agents about

the cocaine distribution conspiracy:

MR. OMEILIA: During that conversation that you

were having with him on the phone . . . did the

defendant [Edwards] talk to you about cooperating

with law enforcement?

35a

LEWIS: Well, he said—I asked him had he heard

anything about me, you know, and he said, not yet

but I’m pretty sure something will come up and if it

comes to a point that you've got to testify, if you

have to say anything about me, say the least possible

because if you don’t, then, remember I still got a

cloud over your heard [sic] and—

MR. OMEILIA: _ Did you respond to that?

LEWIS: What to say? And just say as least as

possible.

MR. OMEILIA: Did he tell you anything to say?

He told you what not to say.

LEWIS: Basically some of the things that he told

me to say was different from what I told the agents,

but the great—like the end of it, the end of it was

correct, but the beginning as far as how I got in-

volved in it, it was to be all put on Mr. [J.] Grist.

MR. OMEILIA: He told you to tell the agents

that?

LEWIS: Yes.

MR. OMEILIA: And did you tell the agents that?

LEWIS: Yes, I did.

MR. OMEILIA: Because you had been threatened?

LEWIS: I was scared.

MR. OMEILIA: All right. And did he tell you

to say anything about anybody else?

LEWIS: Yes. If you have to put it on anybody,

put it on Mr. Lawrence.

Vol. VIII at 213 (emphasis added). Edwards contends

that this evidence is insufficient to support an obstruction

of justice enhancement because it does not show that

“Edwards tried to get Lewis to make false statements.”

36a

Brief of Aplt. Edwards at 28. Consequently, Edwards

contends that “[t]elling Lewis to provide as little informa-

tion ‘as possible’ means nothing at all.” /d.

Defendant’s argument simply mischaracterizes the evi-

dence presented and ignores the applicable guidelines.

Contrary to Defendant’s assertion, an obstruction of jus-

tice enhancement does not apply only when a defendant

attempts to induce a witness to make false statements.

Rather, an enhancement is warranted if the defendant

“threaten[s], intimidat[es], or otherwise unlawfully in-

fluenc[es] a co-defendant, witness, or juror, directly or

indirectly, or attempt[s] to do so.” U.S.S.G. § 3C1.1 ap-

plication note 3(a). This is precisely what the district

court determined occurred here. Indeed, the court stated

that “there was a concerted effort being made through

that telephone conversation to alter the truth, the testi-

mony, and that there would be repercussions if that didn’t

occur. That’s the way Mr. Lewis took it, that’s the under-

standing I had as I heard [the testimony], and .. . I

would not be surprised if [the jury] interpreted it the

same way.” Vol. XIV at 979. Giving due regard to the

district court’s ability to judge the credibility of wit-

nesses, we conclude the district court was not clearly er-

roneous in enhancing Defendant Edward’s sentence for

obstruction of justice.

VIII. Conclusion

In conclusion, we AFFIRM the convictions and sen-

tences imposed by the district court as to all Defendants.

We DENY Defendant Chaplin’s “Motion to Certify a

Question of State Law.” We DISMISS Defendant Law-

rence’s Petition for Writ of Habeas Corpus and accom-

panying Motion for Evidentiary Hearing.”

14 Proceeding pro se, Defendant Lawrence has filed in this court

a “Petition for Writ of Habeas Corpus and Order Discharging

from Custody” and an accompanying motion requesting an evi-

dentiary hearing. Construing Defendant’s motions liberally, see

Haines v. Kerner, 404 U.S. 519, 520 (1972), we view them as

37a

seeking collateral relief from his conviction pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 2255. See, e.g., United States v. Rourke, 984 F.2d 1063, 1067

(10th Cir. 1993) (liberally construing a pro se motion as one

brought pursuant to § 2255); Ray v. United States, 295 F.2d 416,

417 (10th Cir. 1961) (petition designated as petition for writ of

habeas corpus and filed in original criminal action was properly

treated as a § 2255 motion). “Federal courts of appeals have no

power to consider an original motion to set aside sentence under

... § 2255.” United States v. Auman, 8 F.3d 1268, 1272 (8th Cir.

1993) (citing cases). Rather, “[mJotions under [§ 2255] must be

brought in the sentencing court, preferably before the sentencing

judge who is most familiar with the case.” Carter v. Attorney

Gen. of the United States, 782 F.2d 138, 141 (10th Cir. 1986).

Because we have no jurisdiction to consider Defendant’s § 2255

motion, we dismiss Defendant’s motions without prejudice in order

that he may file them in the proper forum.

38a

APPENDIX B

[Filed Apr. 20, 1994]

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OKLAHOMA

Case No. 93-CR-185-C

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff,

VS.

MILTON EDWARDS, WILLIAM THOMAS LAWRENCE, JR.

HERBERT LEwIs, JR., KERRY CHAPLIN, and

TERRY RATLIFF,

Defendants.

ORDER

The Court has reviewed the supplemental briefs filed

regarding defendants’ motion to suppress evidence ob-

tained by state agents through interception of wire com-

munications. From consideration of the undisputed facts

and relevant law, the court finds as follows.

It is undisputed that the two target telephone facilities

were located in Atoka County, Oklahoma and that the

listening post for the intercepted communications were

located in Cleveland County, Oklahoma. The territorial

jurisdiction of the requesting district attorney included

Cleveland County but his jurisdiction did not extend to

Atoka County. The wire tap order issued by the Presid-

ing Judge of the Oklahoma Court of Criminal Appeals

authorized an interception of telephone communications

in Atoka County. The agents performing the interception

leased from the telephone company a telephone number

39a

and the service to and from that number. The telephone

company provided the “binding post number” for the tar-

get telephone number and the “binding post number” for

the law enforcement telephone number. The “binding

post number” is different and separate from the telephone

number. The law enforcement agency then connected the

binding post for the target telephone number to the bind-

ing post for the law enforcement telephone through an

electronic isolator, to prevent unauthorized persons from

detecting the wiretap. This connection physically oc-

curred in Atoka County. State agents monitored the lis-

tening vost in Cleveland County. The electronic signals

passing to and from Atoka County were received and

heard in Cleveland County.

The defendants contend that the interception was un-

lawful because the telephone facilities where the com-

munications were intercepted were not located in the jur-

isdiction of the district attorney who applied for the in-

tercept order. The statute only authorizes an interception

within the territorial jurisdiction of the district attorney

requesting the order. 13 O.S. § 176.9(c).

The government contends that since the intercepted

communications were received and heard in Cleveland

County, the territorial jurisdiction requirement was met.

In determining whether an interception of wire commu-

nication by state agents in Oklahoma is lawful and within

jurisdictional limitations, the Court must apply Oklahoma

statutory law contained in 13 O.S. § 176.1 et al. The

Court finds that the statutory language is plain and un-

ambiguous. Oklahoma Statute Title 13, § 176.9(c) pro-

vides in relevant part:

Upon the submission of the application, an ex

parte order may be entered, as requested or as modi-

fied, authorizing interception of wire, oral or elec-

tronic communications within the -territorial jurisdic-

tion of the judicial district of the district attorney

requesting the order if the judges of competent juris-

40a

diction determines on the basis of the facts submitted

by the applicant that: [There is probable cause].

(emphasis added).

The statute defines “intercept” to mean the aural acqui-

sition of the contents of any wire, oral or electronic

communication through the use of electronic, mechanical

or other device. 13 O.S. § 176.2(8). “Aural acquisition”

means obtaining knowledge of a communication through

the sense of hearing which is contemporaneous with the

communication. 13 O.S. § 176.2(2). Under the statute,

the aural acquisition of the communication occurred in

Cleveland County, which is within the territorial jurisdic-

tion limits of the district attorney who applied for the

intercept order.

It may reasonably be argued that the Oklahoma legis-

lature intended to restrict the telephones to be intercepted

to be physically located within the jurisdiction of district

attorney applying for the intercept order. However, such

an argument must fail under the plain language of the

authorizing statute. The Court is limited to the language

contained in the statute and the language supersedes any

speculation as to legislative intent. The statute covers

the entire subject and creates the authority, and that is

the only authority that can be enforced by the courts.

The Court finds and concludes that the wire intercep-

tion was lawful and accordingly, defendants’ motion to

suppress evidence is denied.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 20th day of April, 1994.

s/ H. Dale Cook

H. DALE CooK

United States District Judge

4la

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

Nos. 94-5202, 94-5203, 94-5204, 95-5003

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff-A ppellee,

V.

MILTON EDWARDS, TERRY RATLIFF, SR.,

WILLIAM THOMAS LAWRENCE, and KERRY CHAPLIN,

Defendants-A ppellants.

ORDER

Entered December 1, 1995

Before BALDOCK, McWILLIAMS, Circuit Judges, and

BROWN %, District Judge.

This matter comes on for consideration of appellants’

petition for rehearing and suggestion for rehearing in

banc.

Upon consideration whereof, the petition for rehearing

is denied by the panel that rendered the decision.

In accordance with Rule 35(b), Federal Rules of Ap-

pellate Procedure, the suggestion for rehearing in banc

was transmitted to all of the judges of the court who are

* The Honorable Wesley E. Brown, United States District Court

for the District of Kansas, sitting by designation.

42a

in regular active service. No member of the panel and no

judge in regular active service on the court having re-

quested that the court be polled on rehearing in banc,

Rule 35, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, the sug-

gestion for rehearing in banc is denied.

Entered by the Court

PATRICK FISHER

Clerk

By: /s/ Opal Carter

OPAL CARTER

Deputy Clerk

OE

43a

APPENDIX D

RELEVANT STATUTORY PROVISIONS

21 U.S.C. § 841

§ 841. Prohibited acts A

Unlawful acts

(a) Except as authorized by this subchapter, it shall be

unlawful for any person knowingly or intentionally—

(1) to manufacture, distribute, or dispense, or

possess with intent to manufacture, distribute, or dis-

pense, a controlled substance;

ok *

21 U.S.C. § 843

§ 843. Prohibited acts C

* % 3k *

Communication facility

(b) It shall be unlawful for any person knowingly or

intentionally to use any communication facility in com-

mitting or in causing or facilitating the commission of any

act or acts constituting a felony under any provision of

this subchapter or subchapter II of this chapter. Each

separate offense under this subsection. For purposes of

this subsection, the term “communication facility” means

any and all public and private instrumentalities used or

useful in the transmission of writing, signs, signals, pic-

tures, or sounds of all kinds and includes mail, telephone,

wire, radio, and all other means of communication.

3 % ok *

21 U.S.C. § 846

§ 846. Attempt and conspiracy

Any person who attempts or conspires to commit any

offense defined in this subchapter shall be subject to the

44a

same penalties as those prescribed for the offense, the

commission of which was the object of the attempt or

conspiracy.

OKLA. STAT. tit. 13, § 176.2

176.2. Definitions

As used in the Security of Communications Act:

2K 2k ok me

6. “Electronic communication” means any transfer of

signs, signals, writing, images, sounds, data, or intelligence

of any nature transmitted in whole or in part by a wire,

radio, electromagnetic, photoelectronic or photooptical

system, but does not include:

a. the radio portion of a cordless telephone com-

munication that is transmitted between the cord-

less telephone headset and the base unit,

b. any wire or oral communications,

c. any communication made through a tone-only

paging device, or

d. any communication from a tracking device;

* * *

8. “Intercept” means the aural acquisition of the con-

tents of any wire, oral or electronic communication

through the use of any electronic, mechanical or other

device;

K * x *

OKLA. STAT. tit. 13, § 176.7

§ 176.7. Court order authorizing interception of commu-

nications

The Attorney General, upon application by a district

attorney, may make application to a judge of competent

jurisdiction for, and such judge may grant in conformity

with the Security of Communications Act, an order au-

thorizing the interception of wire, oral or electronic com-

45a

munications by any law enforcement agency of this state

or any political subdivision thereof having responsibility

for the investigation of the offense as to which the appli-

cation is made, when such interception may provide evi-

dence of the commission of the offense of murder, the

cultivation or manufacture or distribution of narcotic

drugs or other controlled dangerous substances as defined

in the Uniform Controlled Dangerous Substances Act, or

trafficking in illegal drugs, as defined in the Trafficking

in Illegal Drugs Act, and any conspiracy to commit the

crimes specifically enumerated in this section.

OKLA. STAT. tit. 13, § 176.9

176.9. Application for court order—Contents—A dditional

evidence—Ex parte order—Specifications of order

—Time limitations—Reports

4 a ok ok

C. Upon the submission of the application, an ex parte

order may be entered, as requested or as modified, au-

thorizing interception of wire, oral or electronic communi-

cations within the territorial jurisdiction of the judicial

district of the district attorney requesting the order if the

judge of competent jurisditcion determines on the basis

of the facts submitted by the applicant that:

1. There is probable cause for belief that an in-

dividual is committing, has committed or is about

to commit a particular offense enumerated in Section

176.7 of this title;

2. There is probable cause to believe that par-

ticular communications concerning the offense will

be obtained through such interception;

3. Normal investigative procedures have been

tried and have failed or reasonably appear to be

either unlikely to succeed if tried or are too danger-

ous; Or

4oha

4. There is probable cause to believe that the

facilities from which, or the place where the wire,

oral or electronic communications are to be inter-

cepted, are being used by an individual or are about

to be used in connection with the commissions of

such offense or are leased to, listed in the name of

or commonly used by such person.

“ * x x

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.