Opposition Brief — Plan Committee of Bank Building & Equipment Corp. of America v. Reliance Insurance Co. of Illinois, 114 S. Ct. 1066 (1994) (No. 93-1028)

Supreme Court brief1994

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

rb

| JAN 2 1 1994

No. 93-1028

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser Term, 1993

BANKRUPTCY PLAN COMMITTEE OF THE

BANK BUILDING & EQUIPMENT CORP.

OF AMERICA, IN LIQUIDATION,

Petitioner,

vs.

RELIANCE INSURANCE CoO.,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT

RELIANCE INSURANCE CO., IN OPPOSITION

Perry KREIDMAN

Counsel of Record

WiLson, Eisen, Moskow!rTz,

EDELMAN & DICKER

Attorneys for Respondent

Reliance Insurance Co.

150 East 42nd Street

New York, New York 10014

Of Counsel: (212) 490-3000

Wayne E. Borceest

JONATHAN C, THAU

Davip S. HEBBELER

&, : a ee

cad \

if Be hy

. BEST AVAILABLE COPY |”

a ee ae ge ee ee

—

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Where the court appointed bankruptcy representative asserts

breach of fiduciary duty claims of the bankrupt company against

the company’s former officers, seeking to recover damages sus-

tained by the company due to the officers’ breach of duties to

the company, under Delaware law does a directors and officers

liability insurance policy excluding claims by or on behalf of the

company against such officers preclude coverage for that lawsuit?

2. Where the Bankruptcy Code vests a bankruptcy repre-

sentative with the exclusive right to pursue claims on behalf of

the company, and the representative brings suit on such a claim

against the company’s officers without referring to the company’s

shareholders or satisfying any of the pre-requisites for a

shareholders’ derivative suit, under Delaware law is that action

a shareholders’ derivative suit that fits within an exception for

such actions in an exclusion in a director and officers liability

insurance policy that excludes claims by or on behalf of the com-

pany against its officers?

PARTIES TO THESE PROCEEDINGS

Petitioner is the Plan Committee of Bank Building and Equip-

ment Corporation of America, In Liquidation.

Myron Carpenter, Douglas Clements and The Boatmen’s Na-

tional Bank of St. Louis are not parties to the proceeding in the

court whose judgment is sought to be reviewed by this Court.

EE

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

PARTIES TO THESE PROCEEDINGS ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES \

OPINION BELOW ]

JURISDICTION 2

STATUTES INVOLVED 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE 2

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT 10

I. THERE IS NO CONFLICT AMONG THE

CIRCUIT COURTS ON THE QUESTIONS

PRESENTED l]

Il. THIS CASE IS BASED UPON THE

INTERPRETATION OF AN EXCLUSION

IN A DIRECTORS AND OFFICERS

LIABILITY INSURANCE POLICY

GOVERNED BY DELAWARE LAW 13

III. THE QUESTIONS DECIDED IN THIS

CASE WILL NOT GENERATE

EXTENSIVE LITIGATION . 14

IV. THE COURT OF APPEALS CORRECTLY

DECIDED THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED 16

A. Because A Bankruptcy Representative’s

Causes of Action Are Derived From

Those Previously Held By The Debtor

Company, The Plan Committee Action Is

‘ An Action On Behalf Of BBC 16

iv

Page

B. The Plan Committee Action Is Not A

Claim On Behalf Of BBC’s Creditors 19

C. The Bank Failure Cases Extensively

Relied Upon By Petitioner Have No

Bearing Upon The Interpretation Of A

Directors and Officers Liability Insurance

Policy In The Bankruptcy Of A

Commercial Corporation Under The U.S.

Bankruptcy Code 20

D. As Found By The Lower Courts Herein,

Because The Plan Committee Action Is

Not A Shareholders’ Derivative Action, It

Does Not Fall Within The Narrow

Derivative Suit Exception To The

“Insured vs. Insured” Exclusion 24

THERE ARE NO SIGNIFICANT MATTERS

OF PUBLIC POLICY IMPLICATED BY

THIS CASE, WHICH MERELY INVOLVES

THE INTERPRETATION OF AN

EXCLUSION IN AN INSURANCE POLICY

ISSUED TO DIRECTORS AND OFFICERS 26

CONCLUSION 28

APPENDIX

A

THE INSURANCE POLICY AND

DECLARATIONS A-1

FIRST AMENDED JOINT PLAN OF

LIQUIDATION OF BBC B-]

DISCLOSURE STATEMENT C-]

COMPLAINT IN THE PLAN COMMITTEE

ACTION D-1

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Aetna Casualty & Surety v. Kenner, 570 A.2d

1172 (Del. Supr. 1990) 26

American Casualty Co. vs. FDIC, 791 F. Supp.

276 (W.D. Okla. 1992) 15, 19

American Casualty Company of Reading, Pa. v.

FDIC, 944 F.2d 455 (8th Cir. 1991) 15

American Casualty Company v. Baker, 758 F.

Supp. 1340 (C.D. Cal. 1991) 13, 23

Bendis v. Federal Ins. Co., No. 89-2035-S, 1989

WESTLAW 161437 (D. Kan. Dec. 4, 1989),

aff'd on other grounds, 958 F.2d 960 (10th

Cir. 1991) 15

Braxton v. U.S., 111 S. Ct. 1854, 114 L. Ed. 2d

385 (1991) 13

Caplin v. Marine Midland Grace Trust Co., 406

U.S. 416, 92 S. Ct. 1678 (1972) 19

Commodity Futures Trading Commission v.

Weintraub, 471 U.S. 343, 105 S. Ct. 1986,

(1985) 18

Continental Casualty Co. v. Allen, 710 F. Supp.

1088 (N.D. Texas 1989) 21

In re Daisy Systems Securities Litigation, 132

B.R. 752 (N.D. Cal. 1991) .. 17, 18

Evanston Insurance Company v. FDIC, 1988

U.S. Dist. LEXIS 16263 (C.D. Cal. 1988) .. 25

v!

F.D.1.C. v. American Casualty Co., 814 F. Supp.

1021 (D. Wyo. 1991)

FDIC v. Zaborac, 773 F. Supp. 137 (C.D. Ill

1991), aff'd sub nom FDIC wv. American

Casualty Co. of Pennsylvania, 998 F.2d 404

(7th Cir. 1993) ..

In re Feiereisen, 56 B.R. 167 (D. Oregon 1985)

In re Fidelity America Financial Corp., 43 B.R

74 (Bkrtcy. E.D. Pa. 1984)

Fidelity and Deposit Co. of Maryland

Zandstra, 756 F. Supp. 429 (N.D. Cal. 1990

Fidelity and Deposit Co. of Maryland v. Conner,

973 F.2d 1236 (5th Cir. 1992)

Finci v. American Casualty Co. of Reading, Pa..,

323 Md. 358, 593 A.2d 1069 (1990)

Gary v. American Casualty Co., of Reading, Pa..

753 F. Supp. 1547 (W.D. Okla. 1990), affd on

other grounds sub nom FDIC V. American

Casualty Co., 975 F.2d 677 (10th Cir. 1992)

Hallowell v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Ins

Co., 443 A.2d 925 (Del. 1982)

International Ribbon Mills, Ltd. v. Arjan

Ribbons, Inc., 36 N.Y.2d 121, 325 N.E.2d 137.

365 N.Y.S.2d 808 (1975)

Levy v. National Union Fire Ins. Co., 889 F.2d

433 (2d Cir. 1989)

In re Light, 23 B.R. 482 (E.D. Mich. 1982)

In Re Louisiana World Exposition, Inc., 832 F.2d

1391 (5th Cir. 1987)

Page

1S,

vil

New Castle County v. Hartford Accident &

Indemnity Co., 970 F.2d 1267 (3d Cir. 1992)

Niemuller v. National Union Fire Insurance

Company of Pittsburgh, Pa., 92 Civ. 0070 (SS),

1993 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 18476 (December 29.

1993)

Office and Professional Employees’ Int? Union,

Local 2 v. FDIC, 962 F.2d 63 (D.C. Cir. 1992)

In Re Ozark Restaurant Equipment Company.

Inc., 816 F.2d 1222 (8th Cir. 1987)

Pepper vs. Litton, 308 U.S. 295, 60 S. Ct. 238

(1939)

In re Petroleum Corp. of America, 417 F.2d 929

(8th Cir. 1969)

Powell v. American Casualty Insurance Company

of Reading, Pa., 772 F. Supp. 1188 (W.D. Okl

1991)

Reliance Insurance Co. v. Weis et al.. 148 B.R

975 (E.D. Mo. 1992), affd 5 F.3d 532 (8th

Cir. 1993)

Septembertide Publishing, B.V. v. Stein and Day.

Inc., 884 F.2d 675 (2d Cir. 1989)

STATUTES

11 U.S.C. § 541(a)(1)

11 U.S.C. § 1102(a)(1)

U.S. Sup. Ct. Rule 10.1(a), 28 U.S.C.A

Del. Code Ann. Chancery Court Rule 23.1

Del. Corp. Law Ann. § 327

Page

26

20

19

15

9°

=

a

No. 93-1028

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Octoser Term, 1993

BANKRUPTCY PLAN COMMITTEE OF THE

BANK BUILDING & EQUIPMENT CORP.

OF AMERICA, IN LIQUIDATION.

Petitioner.

VS.

RELIANCE INSURANCE CA)..

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT

RELIANCE INSURANCE CO., IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW

The decision of the Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit.

Reliance Insurance Co. v. Weis. et al., 5 F.3d 532 (8th Cir. 1993),

affirmed the District Court's finding, Reliance Insurance Co.

v. Weis, et al., 148 B.R. 575 (E.D. Mo. 1992), that the petitioner's

action was brought “on behalf of” the bankrupt company against

its own officers and that such claims were excluded from

coverage by the “insured v. insured” provision of the directors

and officers liability insurance policy issued to the company by

the respondent. The decisions of the Court of Appeals and the

District Court are reproduced in the petitioner's appendix at

P. App. 23a-24a and P. App. 7a-22a! respectively.

JURISDICTION

The respondent adopts by reference the petitioner's statement

of jurisdiction.

STATUTES INVOLVED

The respondent adopts by reference the petitioner's statement

of the statutes involved in this proceeding.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The petitioner, the Bankruptcy Plan Committee (the “Plan

Committee”), was established and authorized to act on behalf

of the bankrupt Bank Building & Equipment Corporation of

America (“BBC”) in accordance with BBC Plan of Liquidation

(the “Plan”), as approved by the bankruptcy court. The Plan

specifically states that the Plan Committee was created to act

on behalf of BBC and its estate. (Relevant portions of the Plan

are reproduced in the appendix’ to this brief.)

The Plan Committee's authority is governed by the U.S.

Bankruptcy Code, 1] U.S.C. § 54]l(a)(1), which states that a

bankruptcy estate is comprised of “all legal or equitable interests

of the debtor,” ie. BBC. The Plan Committee's and the estate's

rights are derived exclusively from BBC; they do not acquire

or possess any other rights. The Plan Committee cannot, as sug-

gested by the petitioner, pursue claims emanating from third

parties such as BBC’s creditors.

' Reference to the Appendix of the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United

States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit, shall be made as (P. App

a).

* References to the Respondent's Appendix to this brief shall be made as (Resp

App. ).

en

The lower courts resolved a simple, straightforward question:

Under Delaware law, is the action commenced by the Plan Com-

mittee against BBC’s former officers excluded from coverage

under the directors and officers liability insurance policy issued

to BBC by the respondent, the Reliance Insurance Company

(hereinafter “Reliance”), pursuant to the provision that excludes

claims by or on behalf of the Company? Both the District Court

and the Court of Appeals applied Delaware law, the law that

governs the interpretation of the Reliance policy, found the

exclusion applied, and granted judgment to Reliance.

The Plan Committee is an entity created solely as a result of

BBC's bankruptcy, with only those powers and authority

prescribed in the Plan and the U.S. Bankruptcy Code. The Plan

itself states that the Plan Committee was selected to act on behalf

of BBC, with the authority to assert claims on BBC's behalf.

Section 1.31 of the Plan unequivocally states that the Plan Com-

mittee was appointed on behalf of BBC:

The Plan Committee shall mean the Committee of

three individual representatives, selected on behalf of

BBC by BBC's unsecured creditors committee ap-

pointed in BBC’s case pursuant to ll U.S.C. §

1102(a)(1). . .

P. App. 5a, (Emphasis added.)

In addition, Article XII, Section 12.1 of the Plan authorizes

the Plan Committee to prosecute the claims held by BBC’s estate:

This Plan contemplates the liquidation of all of the

property of the Consolidated Debtors. . . and the

prosecution of any all claims or causes of action held

by the estates of the Consolidated Debtors by the Plan

Committee. . . on behalf of the Estate prior to and

after the Effective Date to the extent that the Plan

Committee believes such prosecution to be feasible and

warranted.

Resp. App. B-l1, (Emphasis added.)

The Plan, Article I, Section 1.12, identifies BBC as one of the

consolidated debtors:

Consolidated Debtors shall mean the procedurally

combined estates of In re Bank Building and Equip-

ment Corporation of America, .. . In re BBC Manu-

factured Buildings, Inc., . . . and In re Accesseron

Products, Inc. .. .

Resp. App. B-1.

Similarly, Article XII, Section 12.3 of the Plan, provides that

the Plan Committee “... shall be responsible for prosecuting

and defending any and all claims relating to the Consolidated

Debtors’ estate. . ” Resp. App. B-1. Accordingly, the Plan Com-

mittee was authorized to pursue BBC’s rights and claims,

including BBC’s claim against its officers for their breach of

fiduciary duties and BBC’s corresponding losses and damages.

Other provisions of the Plan confer upon the Plan Committee

the authority to act as BBC’s board of directors and pursue

claims belonging to BBC, and describe the procedures to be

followed by the Plan Committee. Article XIV, section 14.1 states:

... The Plan Committee shall have the same authority

to act for the Consolidated Debtors as a board of

directors for each of the Consolidated Debtors . . .

Upon confirmation, all causes of action belonging to

any of the Consolidated Debtors shall vest and be

brought in the name of the Plan Committee, on behalf

of the particular Consolidated Debtor or Debtors in

which the cause of action had been previously vested.

Resp. App. B-1, B-2.

A Disclosure Statement was also filed in BBC’s bankruptcy

proceedings, to obtain approval of the objectives of the Plan from

BBC’s creditors and other interested parties. Relevant portions

of the Disclosure Statement are reproduced in the appendix to

this brief. Under the “First Amended Disclosure Statement Filed

a

in Connection with the [Plan]” (hereinafter “the Disclosure

Statement”), Article VII, section (C)6, provides that BBC’s “Plan

Committee .. . shall have the right to bring all actions and pro-

ceedings belonging to the Consolidated Debtors or their

Estates...” Resp. App. C-l.

Article V of the Disclosure Statement, entitled “Ongoing

Liquidation Efforts,” identifies the very claim against BBC’s

former officers which became the subject of the Plan Committee

Action and the instant declaratory judgment action:

One of the potential causes of action is a claim by BBC

against certain of its former officers ... arising out

of the alleged failure and fraud by Loughman Divi-

sion officers and employees at the Loughman Divi-

sion of BBC. The alleged misconduct of management

of the Loughman Division and the potential causes

of action are set forth in the report of the Court ap-

pointed Examiner, ...

* . *

... Proponents expect the Plan Committee to employ

special counsel to review the findings of the Examiner's

report in order to determine in greater detail the possi-

ble legal actions available against certain officers of

BBC, . . . and to assess and calculate any damages and

to pursue any appropriate action on behalf of BBC.

Resp. App. C-l, (Emphasis added).

Special counsel (the very attorneys who filed this petition)

were, in fact, retained by the Plan Committee to review the find-

ings in the bankruptcy examiner’s report and prosecute BBC’s

claim against its officers.

The authority to bring suit on BBC’s causes of action was

exercised by the Plan Committee in November of 1991, when

it brought an action against BBC’s former officers entitled

Richard Miller ... acting in the name of the Plan Committee

for the Bankruptcy Estate of Bank Building and Equipment

Corp. of America v. Doug Clements, et al. in the Circuit Court

of the County of St. Louis, State of Missouri (the “Plan

Committee Action”).

The Complaint in the Plan Committee Action alleged that

“pursuant to the Plan, all causes of action belonging to the

bankruptcy estate of Bank Building & Equipment Corp. vest

and shall be brought in the name of the Plan Committee which

has the sole responsibility for implementing the plan.” Resp.

App. D-2. Relevant portions of the Complaint are reproduced

in the appendix to this brief.

The Plan Committee alleged that Doug Clements was an of-

ficer of BBC, and “ . .had a fiduciary duty to BBC to act in

the best interests of BBC.” Resp. App. D-2. Similarly, the com-

plaint asserted that “Weis, as Chief Executive Officer, and

Carpenter, as Chief Financial Officer, of BBC owed a duty to

BBC to exercise the care that an ordinarily careful and prudent

person would use in managing BBC and its subsidiaries and

supervising their subordinates.” Resp. App. D-2, D-3. The Plan

Committee alleged that “Weis and Carpenter breached their

‘duty of care to plaintiffs by negligently and carelessly failing

to supervise Clements. . .” Resp. App. D-3. Thus, it was asserted

that as a direct result of Clements’ conduct, “. . . BBC lost in excess

of $8,000,000.” Resp. App. D-2. Further, it was alleged that:

“lajls a direct result of Weis’ and Carpenter’s

negligence, as aforesaid, BBC lost in excess of

$8,000,000. Moreover, as a direct result of their

negligence, BBC was unable to survive as a profitable

business which reasonably could have been expected

to earn profits in excess of $15,000,000.”

Resp. App. D-3.

Certain former BBC officers requested that the respondent,

Reliance, provide coverage for the Plan Committee Action under

the directors and officers liability insurance policy issued by

Reliance to BBC.

Reliance, however, denied coverage because the Plan Com-

mittee Action was brought against the officers on behalf of BBC

and asserted claims on BBC’s behalf arising out of the breach

ee

of fiduciary duties owed to BBC by its officers. Reliance’s

disclaimer was based upon Endorsement No. | of the policy,

which states:

The Insurer shal! not be liable to make any payment

for loss in connection with any claim made against

the Directors or Officers: . . . by or on behalf of a

director and/or officer or by or on behalf of the “Com-

pany’, except for stockholder(s) derivative actions

brought by a shareholder(s) of the Company other

than a Director and/or Officer.

P. App. 4a.

The policy, under Section VI(J), provided that it would be

governed by Delaware law:

This policy, to the extent permitted by applicable law,

shall be construed in accordance with the law of the

jurisdiction of the incorporation of the Company

named in Item A of the Declarations. . .

Resp. App. A-l.

BBC is named in the Declarations and is incorporated in the

state of Delaware. Relevant portions of the Declarations are

reproduced in the appendix to this brief. Resp. App. A-l. Thus,

the policy should be construed in accordance with Delaware law.

It is important to note that under the policy, it was stated

that BBC’s bankruptcy did not alter the rights and obligations

of any party to the insurance contract. Reliance’s obligations

remain unchanged upon the bankruptcy of any insured, pur-

suant to Section VIII(C):

Bankruptcy or insolvency of a Director or Officer or a

Director's or Officer's estate or of the Company shall not

relieve the Insurer of any its obligations hereunder. . .

P. App. 4a.

Endorsement No. 4 of the policy conferred certain benefits

upon the insured officers in the event of BBC’s bankruptcy, in

that a smaller $2,500 retention would be charged to them if BBC

went bankrupt, rather than the $150,000 company reimburse-

ment which would apply if BBC declined to indemnify the

officers for reasons other than bankruptcy. Resp. App. A-l, A-2.

While the policy therefore contains express provisions deal-

ing with an insured’s bankruptcy, it is devoid of any indication

that Endorsement No. 1 would be eliminated or altered in the

event of any such bankruptcy.

Reliance commenced the instant declaratory judgment ac-

tion, Reliance Insurance Co. v. Carl Weis, et al., 148 B.R. 575,

(E.D. Mo. 1992), in the United States District Court for the

Eastern District of Missouri, seeking a declaration that it had

no obligation to defend or indemnify the former officers of BBC

under its directors and officers liability insurance policy. It

asserted that the Plan Committee Action was brought on behalf

of BBC and thus excluded from coverage by the exclusion in En-

dorsement No. 1.

Reliance moved for summary judgment arguing that the Plan

Committee Action was commenced by or on behalf of BBC, or

by the Plan Committee as BBC’s representative in bankruptcy

“standing in the shoes” of BBC for the purpose of prosecuting

all claims by BBC.

The Plan Committee cross-moved for summary judgment urg-

ing the Court to find coverage for this claim. It argued that the

Plan Committee Action was commenced on behalf of the BBC

bankruptcy estate and/or for BBC’s creditors. In addition, the

Plan Committee argued that because the Plan Committee Ac-

tion was the equivalent of a shareholders’ derivative action, it

was not excluded under Endorsement No. 1.

The District Court granted summary judgment in favor of

Reliance, finding that the Plan Committee Action was brought

“on behalf of BBC” against its own officers and excluded by En-

dorsement No. 1. That ruling was based upon the Plan and its

the provisions authorizing suit against BBC’s officers, the Plan

Committee’s Complaint, the Bankruptcy Code, and the policy.

The District Court stated that under the United States Bank-

ruptcy Code § 541(a)(1), the property of a bankruptcy estate is

defined as “all legal or equitable interests of the debtor in prop-

erty as of the commencement of the case.” P. App. 16a. (Em-

phasis added.) It found that the estate inherited all causes of

actions by BBC against others, and that BBC’s bankruptcy

representative may pursue such claims on behalf of the debtor.

The Court stated:

It is significant that the definition of the estate

embraces causes of action belonging to the debtor at

the time of the commencement of the action. .. Under

Section 541, the estate succeeds to any right of action

a debtor corporation may have to recover for damages

for misconduct, mismanagement or neglected duty by

a corporate officer or a director, and the trustee has

the authority to bring such actions on behalf of the

debtor corporation.

P. App. 16a.

The District Court also found that a trustee or, in this case.

a liquidation and distribution agent, “stands in the shoes of a

debtor corporation”, P. App. 16a, and can only prosecute causes

of action belonging to the debtor. It found that the claims in

the Plan Committee Action could have been brought by BBC,

as “the estate's legal and equitable interest in property rise no

higher than those of the debtor”. P. App. 17a. The District Court

concluded that BBC’s right of action against its officers and

directors was transferred to its bankruptcy estate upon the filing

of the bankruptcy petition and that the Pian Committee had the

authority to pursue this action to recover assets for the estate.

Thus, it was clear that the Plan Committee Action was filed

on behalf of BBC, within the meaning of Endorsement No. 1.

The District Court rejected as “meritless” the Plan Commit-

tee's argument that the action was actually a shareholders’

derivative action, as none of the prerequisites under Delaware

law for such a suit had been met. P. App. 2la.

In an unpublished decision, the United States Court of Ap-

peals for the Eighth Circuit affirmed “on the basis of the well-

reasoned opinion of the District Court.” P. App. 23a-24a.

10

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

The writ should be denied since none of the “special and im-

portant reasons” for granting a petition for a writ of certiorari

are present. Simply stated, the central issues involve whether

a bankruptcy representative of a commercial corporation acts

on behalf of the bankrupt company in asserting a breach of

fiduciary duty claim against the company’s officers and, cor-

respondingly, whether under Delaware law this claim is excluded

under a directors and officers liability insurance policy that

excludes coverage for claims against such officers “by or on behalf

of” the bankrupt company. This case does not involve a con-

trolling question of federal law, but merely focuses on the in-

terpretation of an insurance policy pursuant to state law; there

is no conflict between the U.S. circuit courts on this issue; it does

not relate to any significant question of public policy; and the

lower court correctly ruled in favor or the respondent.

The considerations governing this Court's review of a writ of

certiorari are, in part, as follows:

.l. A review on writ of certiorari is not a matter of

right, but of judicial discretion. A petition for a writ

of certiorari will be granted only when there are

special and important reasons therefor. The follow-

ing, while neither controlling nor fully measuring the

Court’s discretion, indicate the character of reasons

that will be considered:

(a) When a United States court of appeals has

rendered a decision in conflict with a decision of

another United States court of appeals on the same

matter; or has decided a federal question in a way in

conflict with a state court of last resort; or has so far

departed from the accepted and usual course of

judicial proceedings, or sanctioned such a departure

from a lower court, as to call for an exercise of this

Court's power of supervision.

U.S. Sup. Ct. Rule 10.1(a), 28 U.S.C.A.

This case does not embrace any of the above considerations.

An important question of federal law was not decided, as the

Court of Appeals affirmed the lower court's interpretation of

an insurance policy pursuant to Delaware law. Indeed, the peti-

tioner admits that Delaware law applies. Petitioner's Brief, p. 17,

n. 7. Moreover, it is well established that state law controls the

interpretation of insurance policies and federal courts sitting in

diversity should follow those decisions. Supreme Court review of

such issues controlled by state law is unwarranted and unnecessary.

There is no conflict on any pertinent issue in this case between

the United States courts of appeals. This is highlighted by the

petitioner's brief, which refers only to decisions of the lower

federal courts. In fact, the District Court herein essentially found

that the decisions cited by the petitioner on similar exclusions

in directors and officers policies (“D&O” policies) involved bank

failures governed by federal banking laws and interests, rather

than commercial bankruptcies affected by such federal concerns.

Such decisions were rendered only by federal district courts. In

any event, they are not controlling in this case, where there are

no federal banking statutes or entities at issue.

To the extent that reference was made to the Bankruptcy Code

and caselaw to construe the exclusion, the opinion below is con-

sistent with the longstanding principle that a bankruptcy repre-

sentative “stands in the shoes” of the bankrupt company under

its contracts and insurance policies. There is nothing controversial

or earth-shattering about that principle or its application to D&O

policies or any other insurance policies or contracts. The decision

follows rather than departs from controlling precedent relating

to insurance coverage for bankrupt companies, and is consistent

with the “accepted and usual course of judicial proceedings.”

For the foregoing reasons, this Court should not accept the

petitioner's writ.

I. THERE IS NO CONFLICT AMONG THE CIRCUIT

COURTS ON THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The petitioner erroneously asserts that this Court should exer-

cise its judicial discretion because there is a conflict among the

“lower federal courts” on the issues in this case. Petitioner’s Brief,

12

p. 10. This is an utterly inadequate basis for Supreme Court

intervention, as only a conflict among United States courts of

appeals justifies such a review.

The petitioner has not cited a single case from any jurisdic-

tion, let alone a circuit court of appeals, interpreting the

Bankruptcy Code in a way so as to decline, under Delaware or

any other state’s law, to enforce an insured v. insured exclusion

against a claim by a bankruptcy representative of a commercial

corporation against its officers. The petitioner only cited district

court decisions declining to enforce such exclusions, and then

only in the context of bank failure cases governed not by the

Bankruptcy Code but by federal banking laws.

In the petition’s only reference to a purportedly conflicting

circuit court decision, the petitioner asserts that the appeal did

not even address the insured v. insured exclusion:

... FDIC v. Zaborac, 773 F. Supp. 137, 144 (C.D. Il.

1991), affd sub nom FDIC wv. American Casualty Co.

of Pennsylvania, 998 F.2d 404 (7th Cir. 1993)(not

reaching issue of scope of “insured v. insured exclusion).”

Petitioner's Brief, p.12. (Emphasis added).

In fact, the Seventh Circuit's opinion in that case tacitly ap-

proves the insured vs. insured exclusion:

...[T]he plain language of Endorsement #8 [the in-

sured vs. insured exclusion] of the policy would have

excluded from coverage an action by the Bank itself

against the directors or officers.

998 F.2d at 408.

There is clearly no conflict among the federal circuits on the

pertinent issue, i.e., Delaware's treatment of the insured v.

insured exclusion under a contract of D&O insurance in a private

commercial bankruptcy.

13

Il. THIS CASE IS BASED UPON THE INTERPRETA.

TION OF AN EXCLUSION IN A DIRECTORS AND

OFFICERS LIABILITY INSURANCE POLICY

GOVERNED BY DELAWARE LAW

This writ should also be denied since the Court of Appeals

did not ultimately decide a controlling question of federal law.

It merely affirmed the District Court's interpretation of the

Reliance policy under Delaware law.

This Court has stated that a “principal purpose for which we

use our certiorari jurisdiction . . . is to resolve conflicts among

the Circuit Courts of Appeals and state courts concerning the

meaning of provisions of federal law.” Braxton v. U.S., 111 S.

Ct. 1854, 114 L. Ed.2d 385 (1991). Fedc.al courts sitting in diver-

sity must apply state, not federal law in construing D&O policies.

Reliance Insurance Co. v. Weis, et al., 148 B.R. 575 (E.D. Mo.

1992), affd 5 F.3d 532 (8th Cir. 1993) (Delaware law); Fidelity

and Deposit Co. of Maryland v. Zandstra, 756 F. Supp. 429 (N.D.

Cal. 1990) (California law); American Casualty Company v.

Baker, 758 F. Supp. 1340 (C.D. Cal. 1991) (Oklahoma law); Gary

v. American Casualty Co., 753 F. Supp. 1547 (W.D. Okla. 1990)

(Oklahoma law), affd on other grounds sub nom. FDIC v.

American Casualty Co., 975 F.2d 677 (10th Cir. 1992).

The District Court below found the policy's choice of law provi-

sion controlling and determined that Delaware law must be applied:

[T]he insurance policy in question clearly states

that Delaware law shall control in cases regarding in-

terpretation and application of the policy. Section VI,

subsection J... . [T]herefore this Court elects to apply

Delaware law as to the interpretation and validity of

the insurance policy at issue, especially with regard

to Endorsement 1.

P. App. 12a.

The petitioner concedes that Delaware law “is the law ap-

plicable to the [Reliance policy]. . .” Petitioner's Brief, p. 17,

n. 7. Reliance can conceive of no compelling reason why this

Court should use this case to jump into the thicket of insurance

14

policy interpretation, an area long governed by state law. As

there is no controlling federal question at issue, this Court should

deny the petitioner's writ of certiorari.

Insofar as the opinion below states that the Plan Committee,

as BBC’s bankruptcy representative, merely stands in BBC's

shoes, that decision is in total accord with federal and state prece-

dent. See Point IV below. As such, this decision fosters no con-

flict with any circuit.

Ill. THE QUESTIONS DECIDED IN THIS CASE WILL

NOT GENERATE EXTENSIVE LITIGATION

The petitioner baldly contends that the questions presented

here will arise in every bankruptcy in which there is a claim

against the directors or officers and a policy of directors and

officers liability insurance. However, the petition has failed to

identify a single precedent interpreting an “insured vs. insured”

exclusion in a claim in a commercial bankruptcy.

The impact of this decision on cases arising out of private,

corporate bankruptcies cannot under any stretch of imagination

be as great as predicted. If the issue was as significant as por-

trayed by the petitioner, surely a similar dispute would have sur-

faced in other commercial bankruptcies where D&O insurance

was involved, and the petitioner would rely upon the decisions

from those bankruptcy cases rather than the bank failure cases

to which it is forced to analogize.

Directors and officers of companies with D&O policies are

quite capable of reading their policies and apprehending that

the insurer is unwilling to cover certain defined risks, such as

the company’s claims against its own officers. Knowing that their

insurance policies in plain and unequivocal terms exclude such

claims asserted before the bankruptcy of their company, it is

easy enough for them to understand that they will not be covered

for the same claim post-bankruptcy. If they are unhappy with

the policy, they can either try to negotiate its terms before pur-

chasing it, or buy a better policy from another insurer. Disputes

between bankrupt corporations, their officers, and their D&O

insurers on the scope of the insured v. insured exclusion thus will

15

not often arise, as all parties must readily recognize that such

a claim constitutes a risk that the insurer is not willing to in-

sure and one the courts are unwilling to compel it to cover.

Of interest, other courts have upheld similar insured vs. in-

sured exclusions in directors and officers policies. Fidelity and

Deposit Company of Maryland v. Conner, 973 F.2d 1236 (5th

Cir. 1992); Bendis v. Federal Ins. Co., No. 89-2035-S, 1989

WESTLAW 161437 (D. Kan. Dec. 4, 1989), affd on other

grounds, 958 F.2d 960 (10th Cir. 1991); Levy v. National Union

Fire Ins. Co., 889 F.2d 433 (2d Cir. 1989); Powell v. American

Casualty Insurance Company of Reading, 772 F. Supp. 1188

(W.D. Okl. 1991). In so doing, these courts have implicitly re-

jected the view that such exclusions would have the detrimental

effect on corporate life suggested by the petitioner. In the Conner

case, the Fifth Circuit enforced the exclusion in a third-party

claim by a director against former directors:

We find that there is no interpretation of the insured

v. insured exclusion as it pertains to the third party

claims asserted by Conner - that is, the plain language

of the insured v. insured exclusion bars Conner’s claims

against his former colleagues.

973 F.2d at 1245.

In American Casualty Company of Reading, Pa. v. FDIC,

944 F.2d 455 (8th Cir. 1991), which upheld the “regulatory ex-

clusion” of a D&O policy issued to a bank later taken over by

the FDIC, the court expressed views equally applicable to the

petitioner's contention:

The parties are sophisticated business people who

dealt [with each other] at arm’s length ... We will

not discard their agreement and remake their business

relationship ... Nor can we agree that. . . [the policy]

was unconscionable. It was a bargain struck by adult

business people. We have no reason to suppose that

a better deal could have been gotten for the bank from

any other insurer.

944 F.2d at 459-460.

16

While the petitioner asserts that the decision below removed

the protection of insurance coverage “at the very moment when

it is of the greatest value”, Petitioner's Brief, p. 18, BBC's officers

had to know in advance, merely by reading the Reliance policy,

that claims against them by or on behalf of BBC would not be

covered. As insurance policies remain intact and binding after

bankruptcy, this decision will not have any major impact on

such proceedings, deter officers from such employment, or

generate new sources of disputes between such parties.

In fact, Endorsement No. | is for all practical purposes unaf-

fected by the filing of a petition in bankruptcy. The insureds

under the policy have no lesser protection as a result of this en-

dorsement post-petition as they would have pre-petition.

IV. THE COURT OF APPEALS CORRECTLY

DECIDED THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The court below correctly concluded that the Plan Committee

Action is a claim on behalf of BBC against its former officers.

It followed the longstanding rule that a bankruptcy represent-

ative “stands in the shoes” of the debtor corporation under its

contracts and insurance policies, subject to the same defenses

that could have been raised against the bankrupt corporation

and possessing the same rights and causes of action of the cor-

poration. The Court of Appeals also correctly held that the Plan

Committee Action was not a shareholders derivative action, as

none of the prerequisites for filing such a suit were met.

A. Because A Bankruptcy Representative's Causes of Ac-

tion Are Derived From Those Previously Held By The

Debtor Company, The Plan Committee Action Is An

Action On Behalf Of BBC

The lower courts held that pursuant to the Bankruptcy Code,

the Plan, and the relevant case law, the Plan Committee Ac-

tion is a claim on behalf of BBC. The courts correctly saw no

meaningful distinction in relation to the Plan Committee's causes

of action between BBC and its bankruptcy estate, as the estate

and the vehicle through which it acts, the Plan Committee,

merely derive their rights and claims from BBC.

17

The petitioner states that the opinion below erroneously “ig-

nored the separate legal existence of the bankruptcy estate and

the debtor. . .” Petitioner’s Brief, p. 14. Rather, the district court

stated that for the purpose of determining whether the “insured

v. insured” exclusion applied, there was “no significant legal

distinction” between BBC and its bankruptcy estate, since the

Plan Committee Action was a claim filed on behalf of BBC and

its estate. P. App. 2a. The action on behalf of either entity was

based on BBC’s rights, BBC’s officers’ misconduct, and BBC’s

damages, and is a claim “by or on behalf of” BBC within the

plain language of Endorsement No. 1.

The documents and pleadings in BBC’s bankruptcy pro-

ceeding creating the Plan Committee reveal that it could only

pursue claims which passed from BBC to the estate and then

to the Committee. BBC’s claim against its officers was transferred

to the Plan Committee, as were its rights under the D&O policy.

The Plan Committee acquired BBC’s rights subject to all con-

tractual and common law defenses and obligations that existed

when bankruptcy was filed. In re Feiereisen, 56 B.R. 167 (D.

Oregon 1985) (the bankruptcy trustee stands in the shoes of the

debtor and has the same rights and duties under the debtor's

insurance policy); In re Daisy Systems Securities Litigation, 132

B.R. 752 (N.D. Cal. 1991) (insurance policies are property of

the bankruptcy estate); In re Light, 23 B.R. 482 (E.D. Mich.

1982). In In re Light, supra, the Court described a bankruptcy

trustee's status under a debtor’s insurance policies as follows:

.. . atrustee in bankruptcy . . . is not an independent

co-insured under a policy of insurance. Rather, the

bankruptcy trustee takes interest in the insurance

policy pursuant to the interest of the debtor . .

“standing in the shoes”, as it were.

23 B.R. at 484.

The claim against BBC’s officers, now prosecuted by the Plan

Committee, must meet the same fate under the Reliance policy

as if it was pursued by BBC: it is excluded from coverage due

to Endorsement No. 1.

18

The lower courts’ opinions were also a proper application of

the principle that BBC’s bankruptcy did not alter or expand

Reliance’s obligations or BBC’s or any other insureds’ rights under

the Reliance policy. See In Re Ozark Restaurant Equipment

Company, Inc., 816 F.2d 1222 (8th Cir. 1987); In Re Louisiana

World Exposition, Inc., 832 F.2d 1391 (5th Cir. 1987); In Re

Daisy Systems Securities Litigation, 132 B.R. 752 (N.D. Cal.

1991). The policy’s terms, conditions, and exclusions, including

the “insured vs. insured” exclusion, remain fully enforceable after

BBC’s bankruptcy.

As the petitioner notes, bankruptcy is not intended to pro-

tect the bankrupt corporation’s insurance companies. Petitioner's

Brief, p. 19. No such protection has been granted to Reliance,

since a claim by BBC for breach of fiduciary duties against its

officers would have been excluded before or after BBC's

bankruptcy. The petitioner’s contention that the decision below

- constitutes an unjustifiable windfall for Reliance is therefore

preposterous.

The petitioner cites other irrelevant cases, Commodity Futures

Trading Commission v. Weintraub, 471 U.S. 343, 105 S. Ct. 1986

(1985) and Pepper vs. Litton, 308 U.S. 295, 60 S. Ct. 238 (1939)

in support of the proposition that the Plan Committee represents

the creditors and shareholders of BBC. In Commodity Futures,

the issue was whether a trustee could waive the corporation’s

attorney-client privilege on pre-bankruptcy communications.

That clearly has no bearing upon a bankrupt company’s status

under an insurance policy. The Court merely indicated that the

trustee has a fiduciary duty to the shareholders as well as the

creditors of the bankrupt corporation. Whether or not the Plan

Committee owes such duties, its rights under Reliance’s policy

are no greater than those previously possessed by BBC. Similarly,

Pepper v. Litton is inapplicable as it primarily involved the

disallowance by the bankruptcy court of a claim against the

estate by the dominant shareholder of the bankrupt company.

It in no way refutes the principle that a bankruptcy trustee or

other representative stands in the shoes of the debtor in assert-

ing the debtor’s claim.

19

B. The Plan Committee Action Is Not A Claim On

Behalf Of BBC’s Creditors

A representative in bankruptcy has no legal standing to assert

claims on behalf of the bankrupt’s creditors. See Caplin v.

Marine Midland Grace Trust Co., 406 U.S. 416, 429, 92 S. Ct.

1678, 32 L. Ed.2d 195 (1972); In re Ozark Restaurant Equipment

Co., Inc., supra; In re Petroleum Corp. of America, 417 F.2d

929 (8th Cir. 1969). The bank failure decisions cited by the peti-

tioner, such as American Casualty Co. vs. FDIC, 791 F. Supp.

276 (W.D. Okla. 1992), and Fidelity and Deposit Co. v.

Zandstra, 756 F. Supp. 429 (N.D. Cal. 1990), add nothing to

the analysis in this case, because in those cases federal banking

statutes provided that the FDIC and FSLIC could sue as suc-

cessors to the failed bank, in their own right as creditors, and

also on behalf of the bank’s creditors. Under the Bankruptcy

Code, the Plan, the Disclosure Statement, and the Reliance

policy, the Plan Committee merely stands in the shoes of BBC

when prosecuting its claims against BBC’s former officers. It

does not represent the creditors of that company.

The petitioner also argues that the Plan Committee acts on

behalf of creditors, because they benefit from any recovery ob-

tained by the Plan Committee. In rejecting this argument, the

lower court stated that “the pending State Court action was filed

on behalf of BBC and its estate, although the benefits sought

may eventually inure to the creditors.” P. App. 2la. Whether

BBC's creditors benefit from the Plan Committee action is ir-

relevant; the ultimate question is on whose behalf was the ac-

tion commenced? As a bankruptcy representative possesses on-

ly those rights or causes of action transferred to it by the debtor,

the answer must be “on behalf of” the debtor, BBC.

The petitioner quotes In re Fidelity America Financial C orp.,

43 B.R. 74 (Bkrtcy. E.D. Pa. 1984): “[t]he trustee acts as the

representative of the estate, managing its funds for the benefit

of its creditors.” Petitioner’s Brief, p. 15. This indicates that the

bankruptcy trustee acts as the estate's representative, not the

creditors. While the trustee may manage funds for the creditors’

benefit, the trustee in no official sense represents those creditors.

20

C. The Bank Failure Cases Extensively Relied Upon

By Petitioner Have No Bearing Upon The Inter-

pretation Of A Directors and Officers Liability

Insurance Policy In The Bankruptcy Of A Com-

mercial Corporation Under The U.S. Bankrupt-

cy Code

If the insured vs. insured exclusion is as significant in bank-

ing matters as averred by the petitioner, any case reaching this

Court on that point should undoubtedly arise out of an actual

bank failure handled by federal banking regulators. Only in such

a case would a full record be presented reflecting the purported

significance of the exclusion on the regulation and operation

of such institutions.

The District Court and the Court of Appeals correctly

recognized the inapplicability of precedent relating to failed

financial institutions:

The Court has carefully reviewed the caselaw cited

by the parties. Unfortunately, these cases are not ex-

tremely helpful in providing guidance to the Court.

The majority of cases cited deal with exclusion clauses

similar to the present one, however, the interpreta-

tion and application of the clause is limited to facts

involving bank failures. The principles espoused are

restricted to the unique situation of the FDIC or the

RTC taking control of a failed bank. The present situa-

tion deals with a bankrupt corporation no longer

physically or legally in existence as it had been before

the bankruptcy. The Court is constrained to draw

from the basic tenets of insurance law and bankruptcy

law in order to resolve this matter.

P. App. l4a.

In a case cited by the petitioner, Office and Professional

Employees’ Intl Union, Local 2 v. FDIC, 962 F.2d 63 (D.C.

Cir. 1992), the court found that as the claim procedures of the

Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery, and Enforcement Act

of 1989 (“FIRREA”) do not define the terms “claim” and “claim-

ant”, it was appropriate to borrow the bankruptcy law’s

21

definition of these terms. In the instant action, the provisions

of FIRREA or any other federal banking statute are not at issue.

Further, Office and Professional Employees did not find a direct

analogy between federal banking law and the Bankruptcy Code,

it merely stated that the terms of statutory scheme could be

borrowed to clarify a gap in another statute. From this limited

finding, the petitioner leaps to the faulty premise that the status

of the FDIC under the banking laws is similar to the Plan Com-

mittee under the Bankruptcy Code. BBC was not a bank and

the Plan Committee is simply not the FDIC.

The petitioner incorrectly relies upon bank failure cases such

as F.D.1.C. v. American Casualty Co., 814 F. Supp. 1021 (D.

Wyo. 1991) and Continental Casualty Co. v. Allen, 710 F. Supp.

1088 (N.D. Texas 1989) to assert that insured v. insured exclu-

sions are ambiguous unless they actually refer to the specific

person or entity in question. Petitioner’s Brief, p. 12. The

Reliance exclusion is quite clear, however, in referring to claims

“on behalf of” the company, which unambiguously encompasses

claims in or out of bankruptcy by BBC’s agents or represen-

tatives. Moreover, in the Allen case, the court found that the

exclusion was ambiguous primarily because there was proof in

the record of the insurer’s own witness’ “inability to understand

the definition of ‘insured’ and meaning of the endorsement.” 710

F. Supp. 1088 at 1098. There is absolutely no proof in the record

in the instant case that any party or any insured did not under-

stand the exclusion in the Reliance policy. Hence, under the

reasoning of Allen, there is no basis to support a finding of am-

biguity in Endorsement No. 1.

In the same vein, the Reliance exclusion would not have been

found ambiguous by the American Casualty court, as the ex-

clusion clearly applies to any claim brought not only by the in-

sured company but on its behalf, such as a claim passing from

BBC to its bankruptcy estate and the Plan Committee.

A very recent decision by the United States District Court,

Southern District of New York, further confirms that the decision

below is entirely consistent with the principles governing

bankruptcy representatives’ rights under insurance policies issued

to the debtor. Niemuller v. National Union Fire Insurance

22

Company of Pittsburgh, Pa., 92 Civ. 0070 (SS), 1993 U.S. Dist.

LEXIS 18476 (December 29, 1993). In a case involving the

assignment of a corporation’s breach of fiduciary duty claim

against its officer, the court enforced against the defendant a

comparable insured vs. insured exclusion in a D&O policy, find-

ing that an assignee “stands in the shoes” of the assignor cor-

poration and is subject to the same defenses as that corpora-

tion. The court emphatically rejected the defendant’s reliance

upon the bank failure cases (also cited by the petitioner herein)

relating to the insured v. insured exclusion.

Addressing the rights of an assignee of a corporation rather

than its bankruptcy representative, Niemuller applies with equal

force to the Plan Committee Action and the exclusion in the

Reliance policy:

It is clear law that an assignee steps into the shoes of

the assignor and gains only so much as that to which

the assignor is entitled. See Septembertide Publishing

B.V. v. Stein & Day, Inc., 884 F.2d 675, 681-82 (2d Cir.

1989), citing International Ribbon Mills, Ltd. v. Ar-

jan Ribbons, Inc., 36 N.Y.2d 121, 126, 325 N.E.2d 137,

365 N.Y.S.2d 808 (1975) (“It is elementary ancient law

that an assignee never stands in any better position

than his assignor. He is subject to all equities and

burdens which attach to the property assigned because

he receives no more .. . than his assignor.”) An assignee

is in no better or worse position than the assignor. . . .

This traditional rule is no less applicable to the present

case. DDCC and Sussex will become party plaintiffs

in the pending Qantel litigation claims solely due to

a transfer of interest... . They gain nothing more than

Qantel, but similarly they are placed in no worse a

position. Thus, if the Policies exclude <1e claims

brought by Qantel, which plaintiff admits they do,

then they also exclude those claims continued by

successors-in-interest.

1993 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 18476, pp. 7-9.

23 -

The court convincingly distinguished the banking cases cited

by the defendant and by the petitioner in the case at bar:

In support of his argument that the Exclusion Clause

extends only to a suit brought “by” Qantel and not

successors-in-interest as assignees, Niemuller relies

upon cases from other jurisdictions which involve

regulatory banking agencies. These cases, however, are

wholly distinguishable.

The primary and determinative distinction between

the entities involved in those cases and the assignees

in the instant case is that the assignees in the cases

noted by plaintiff are statutorily created entities

charged by federal or state law with the obligation

to pursue certain claims, including claims of other in-

terested parties such as creditors. Thus, the rights and

claims brought by these statutory entities are not

analogous to those of an ordinary assignee.

Plaintiff relies primarily on the reasoning of Fidelity

& Deposit Co. of Md. v. Zandstra, 756 F. Supp. 429

(N.D. Cal. 1990), and cases adopting its approach. See

American Casualty Co. of Reading, Pa. v. Baker, 758

F. Supp. 1340 (C.D. Cal. 1991) (following Zandstra);

Finci v. American Casualty Co. of Reading, Pa., 323

Md. 358, 383, 593 A.2d 1069 (1990) (citing Zandstra

and American Casualty Company)... . However, as

the court in Zandstra explicitly recognized, the FDIC

was not an ordinary assignee and, thus, deserved

dissimilar treatment from that accorded other

assignees in the same situation.

In reaching its decision that the Exclusion Clause

did not apply, the court noted the unique character

of the FDIC. As the court stated, regulatory banking

agencies have greater standing than ordinary

successors-in-interest because they, empowered by

statute, represent the bank as well as the creditors,

depositors and shareholders of the bank.... [T]he

24

Zandstra court concluded, “the FDIC did not merely

stand in the shoes of the original party.” . .

. o *

As noted previously, and in no way undermined by

the regulatory cases cited by Niemuller, ordinary

assignees have neither independent claims nor any

greater rights than those belonging to their assignors.

Therefore, there is no reason to rely upon the

regulatory cases cited by Niemuller in interpreting the

Exclusion Clause at issue in this case.

Id. 9-12.

Whatever special right the FDIC may have to circumvent

exclusions in a bank’s D&O policy, that right simply was not

conferred upon the Plan Committee in the instant matter or

the assignees of Qantel in Niemuller.

D. As Found By The Lower Courts Herein, Because

The Plan Committee Action Is Not A Share-

holders’ Derivative Action, It Does Not Fall

Within The Narrow Derivative Suit Exception

To The “Insured vs. Insured” Exclusion.

The Plan Committee Action is neither a shareholders’

derivative action nor comparable to such an action, since it fails

to comply with Delaware's statutory requirements for a

shareholders’ derivative suit. Even if the Plan Committee Ac-

tion is, in the petitioner’s words, in “the nature of a derivative

suit,” Petitioner’s Brief, p. 16, it would not fall within the nar-

row exception of the exclusion that encompasses only actual

derivative suits. The lower courts correctly found the petitioner's

construction of the shareholders’ derivative suit part of Endorse-

ment No. 1 to be “meritless.” P. App. 2la.

None of the requirements for a derivative action under

Delaware law have been met by the Plan Committee Action:

... the complaint shall allege that the plaintiff was a

shareholder or member at the time of the transaction

25

of which he complains for his share or membership

thereafter devolved on him by operation of law. The

complaint shall also allege with particularity the

efforts, if any, made by the plaintiff to obtain the

action he desires from the directors or comparable

authority and the reasons for his failure to obtain the

action or for not making the effort.

Chancery Court Rule 23.1 Del. C. Ann. See also § 327 Del. Corp.

Law Annotated.

The lower court correctly found that the Plan Committee

Complaint lacked any allegations about shareholders or their

efforts to obtain through the BBC’s directors the relief sought

in the Complaint. As “[n]Jone of the prerequisites under Delaware

law for filing a shareholders derivative action have been met”

the action did not fall within the exception to the exclusion. P.

App. 2la.

In any event, it is clear that this entails Delaware law, and

not a matter of federal law warranting review by this Court.

The petitioner also contends that the Plan Committee Action

is in “the nature of a derivative suit,” in asserting claims for

breach of fiduciary duty that could have been asserted by

shareholders. Asserting claims that could have been pressed by

shareholders does not transform this suit into an actual

shareholders derivative action. F idelity and Deposit Company

. Of Maryland v. Conner, supra; Evanston Insurance Company

v. FDIC, 1988 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 16263 (C.D. Cal. 1988). An

actual shareholders derivative action is the only exception to the

exclusion in the Reliance policy. See also, FDIC v. American

Casualty Company of Reading, Pa., 998 F.2d 404, 409 (7th Cir.

1993): “The FDIC's complaint contains none of the allegations

necessary to maintain a shareholder derivative action under Fed.

R. Civ. P. 23.1, such as the Bank’s refusal to file suit.”

By the guise of artful construction, the petitioner seeks to

impose an obligation upon Reliance to which it never agreed.

However, the controlling Delaware rules of construction pro-

hibit a court from crafting an interpretation that is inconsistent

26

with the intent of the parties or the clear language of their agree-

ment. New Castle County v. Hartford Accident & Indemnity

Co., 970 F.2d 1267, 1270 (3d Cir. 1992); Hallowell v. State Farm

Mutual Automobile Ins. Co., 443 A.2d 925 (Del. 1982); Aetna

Casualty & Surety v. Kenner, 570 A.2d 1172, 1174 (Del. Supr.

1990); Delaware’s Supreme Court has stated that the words of

an insurance policy should not be destroyed or twisted under

the guise of construing them. Aetna Casualty & Surety v. Ken-

ner, 570 A.2d at 1174; Hallowell v. State Farm Mutual, 443 A.2d

at 926. The lower courts herein were well aware of Delaware's

rules of construction in refusing to stretch the shareholders’

derivative exception in Endorsement No. | to the unwarranted

lengths sought by the petitioner.

V. THERE ARE NO SIGNIFICANT MATTERS OF

PUBLIC POLICY IMPLICATED BY THIS CASE,

WHICH MERELY INVOLVES THE INTERPRETA-

TION OF AN EXCLUSION IN AN INSURANCE

POLICY ISSUED TO DIRECTORS AND OFFICERS

If the petitioner’s dire views of this decision were accepted,

every time a corporation with a dispute over the exclusions in its

insurance policy entered bankruptcy, an overriding question of

federal bankruptcy law would be triggered. From the petitioner's

perspective, if the insured v. insured exclusion is upheld in bank-

ruptcies, no prudent person would serve on a board or act as an

officer of a corporation. A series of cases, however, have already

upheld insured v. insured exclusions, both in the corporate and

failed bank settings. Of course, our economy has not come to a

screeching halt occasioned by the abrupt resignation of corporate

directors and officers, or the inability of companies to find new,

qualified, and willing candidates for such positions. Seasoned

executives are no more likely to withdraw from corporate life

because of the insured v. insured exclusion in a D&O policy than

homeowners are likely to give up their homes because of exclu-

sions in their homeowners’ liability insurance policies.

Furthermore, if the exclusion is as onerous as suggested by

the petitioner, perhaps insureds should negotiate with their in-

surers to eliminate it from their D&O policies.

en

27

When insurance policies are issued to corporations whose of-

ficers and directors can gauge the scope of coverage and the ef-

fect of the exclusions by simply reading their terms and condi-

tions, no overriding federal public policy concern is created. The

interpretation of such policies has long been a matter of state

law. The petitioner asks this Court to rule on a matter of

Delaware insurance law, without demonstrating how the opinion

below unduly impairs or affects urgent matters of federal public

policy. There is simply no persuasive reason for this Court to

become involved in such a straightforward interpretation of an

insurance policy governed by Delaware law.

28

CONCLUSION

For the reasons discussed above, the petition for a writ of cer-

tiorari should be denied by this Court.

Dated: New York, New York

January 21, 1994

Respectfully submitted,

PERRY KREIDMAN

Counsel of Record

WILSON, ELSER, MOSKOWITZ,

EDELMAN & DICKER

150 East 42nd Street

New York, New York 10017-5639

(212; 490-3000

Attorneys for Respo.dent

Reliance Insurance Company

Of Counsel:

WayNeE E. BorGEEST

JONATHAN C. THaAu

Davin S. HEBBELER

APPENDIX

A-1

A. THE INSURANCE POLICY AND DECLARATIONS

INSURANCE POLICY

Endorsement No. 4

It is understood and agreed that:

1. Insuring Agreement I.A is amended by adding the

following:

If the Company is permitted or required by law to

ultimately indemnify a Director or Officer, or to ad-

vance costs and/or defense expenses on their behalf

and does not in fact do so other than for reason of

the Financial Insolvency of the Company, then the

Insurer shall pay all loss on behalf of the Director or

Officer, subject to the third listed deductible amount

set forth in Item D, Retention, of the Declarations and

all provisions, terms and conditions of this policy.

* * *

VII GENERAL CONDITIONS

J. Situs

This policy, to the extent permitted by applicable law, shall

be construed in accordance with the law of the jurisdiction of

incorporation of the Company named in Item A of the Declara-

tions or, in the case of matters pertaining to a Subsidiary, the

law of the jurisdiction or incorporation of such Subsidiary.

DECLARATIONS

ITEM A: Name of Insured and Address:

Bank Building & Equipment Corporation of America

3630 South Geyer Road

St. Louis, Missouri 63127

A-2

ITEM D: RETENTION

$ 2,500.00

$ 10,000.00

$ 150,000.00

each Director or Officer, each loss, including

claim expense, but in no event exceeding

in the aggregate each loss, including claim

expense, as respects Directors and Officers

in the aggregate each loss, including claim

expense, as respects Company Reimbursement

* . al

B-1

B. FIRST AMENDED JOINT PLAN

OF LIQUIDATION OF BBC

1.12 Consolidated Debtors shall mean the procedurally com-

bined estates of In re Bank Building and Equipment Corporation

of America, Case No. 90-02011-BKC-DPM, In re BBC Manufac-

tured Buildings, Inc., Case No. 90-02571-BKC-DPM and In re

Accesseron Products, Inc., Case No. 90-02572-BKC-DPM.

* * .

12.1 This Plan contemplates the liquidation of all the property

of the Consolidated Debtors . . . and the prosection of any and

all claims or causes of action held by the estates of the Con-

solidated Debtors by the Plan Committee . .. on behalf of the

estates both prior to and after the Effective Date, to the extent

the Plan Committee believes such prosecution to be feasible and

warranted.

12.3 ... Once appointed, the Plan Committee .. . shall be

responsible for prosecuting and defending any and all claims

and causes of action relating to the Consolidated Debtors’ estate,

including, without limitation (1) claims of each estate against

any Person (including, without limitation, any claims or causes

of action arising under Sections 544, 545, 547, 548, 549 and

553(b) of the Bankruptcy Code), (b) claims of any Person against

the estates or related Persons which affect the estates or interests

of Creditors therein, and (c) objections to Disputed Claims

scheduled or filed against the estates.

14.1 ... The Plan Committee thereafter shall have the same

authority to act for the Consolidated Debtors as a board of

directors for each of the Consolidated Debtors and it shall

B-2

continue to act until all assets are liquidated, al] distributions

are made to Creditors pursuant to this Plan and a final decree

is entered closing each bankruptcy estate, whereupon all of its

powers and rights shall terminate and it shall be deemed

dissolved. Upon confirmation, all causes of action belonging to

any of the Consolidated Debtors shall vest and be brought in

the name of the Plan Committee, on behalf of the particular

Consolidated Debtor or Debtors in which the cause of action

had been previously vested ...

C-]

C. DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

* * *

V. ONGOING LIQUIDATION EFFORTS

One of the potential causes of action is a claim by BBC against

certain of its former officers . . . arising out of the alleged failure

of certain BBC officers ... to detect and take significant ac-

tion to prevent certain misconduct and fraud by Loughman Divi-

sion officers and employees at the Loughman Division of BBC.

The alleged misconduct of management of the Loughman Divi-

sion and the potential causes of action are set forth in the report

of the Court appointed Examiner David A. Warfield, who con-

ducted an in depth review of the allegations at BBC’s Loughman

Division.

In the event legal action is not instituted prior to the Con-

firmation Date, Proponents expect the Plan Committee to

employ special counsel to review the findings of the Examiner's

report in order to determine in greater detail the possible legal

actions available against certain officers of BBC ... , to further

investigate insurance coverage available under the D&O policy,

to assess and calculate any damages and to pursue any ap-

propriate legal action on behalf of BBC.

VII. THE PLAN OF LIQUIDATION

6. Reservation of Rights. The Plan Committee, by and through

the Agent, shall have the right to bring all actions and proceed-

ings belonging to the Consolidated Debtors or their Estates . . .

D-1

D. COMPLAINT IN THE PLAN COMMITTEE ACTION

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE COUNTY OF ST. LOUIS

STATE OF MISSOURI

RICHARD MILLER, as the Liquidation

and Distribution Agent on behalf of H.

BERNARD ENGEL; JAMES BURZYNSKI

as the representative of Jim & Slim’s Tool

Supply; and ARTHUR SHAFER, as the

representative of Morgan Drive-Away, Inc.,

acting in the name of the Plan Committee

for the Bankruptcy Estate of Bank

Building and Equipment Corporation of

America,

Plaintiffs,

Vv.

DOUG CLEMENTS,

Serve: 205 West Fourth

Waterloo, IL 62298

Monroe County, Illinois

CARL J. WEIS JR.,

Serve: 721 Twin Fawns Drive

St. Louis, MO 6313]

St. Louis County, Missouri

MYRON CARPENTER,

Serve: 843 Gardenway Drive

Ballwin, MO 63011

St. Louis County Missouri

Defendants.

?

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

Cause No.

Team/ Division

D-.2

PETITION

Plaintiffs, for the Petition against Defendants and each of

them, state as follows:

Parties

1. On or about April 30, 1990, Bank Building and Equipment

Corporation of America (“BBC”) filed for relief under Chapter

1] of the United States Bankruptcy Code. On July 22, 1991, the

First Amended Joint Plan of Liquidation of BBC (“Plan”) was

confirmed by the court. Pursuant to the Plan, all causes of action

belonging to the bankruptcy estate vest and shall be brought

in the name of the Plan Committee, which has sole responsibility

for implementing the Plan.

95. As President of Loughman, Clements had a fiduciary duty

to BBC to act in the best interests of BBC.

96. Clements instead used his position as an officer and

employee of BBC to further his own interests at the expense of

BBC, as aforesaid, thereby breaching his fiduciary duty .. .

98. ... Asa direct result of the contracts wrongfully accepted

by Clements, BBC lost in excess of $8,000,000.

99. Additionally, if Clements had not breached his duty to

BBC as alleged, BBC would not have been forced to liquidate

and would be an ongoing, profitable business. Clements

therefore also damaged BBC by denying it the profits it could

reasonably have been expected to earn, reasonably estimated

to be in excess of $15,000,000.

102. Weis, as Chief Executive Officer, and Carpenter, as Chief

Financial Officer, of BBC owed a duty to BBC to exercise the care

D-3

that an ordinarily careful and prudent person would use in man-

aging BBC and its subsidiaries and supervising their subordinates.

103. As more particularly alleged above, Weis and Carpenter

breached their duty of care to plaintiffs by negligently and care-

lessly failing to supervise Clements and the operations of Lough-

man, thereby permitting Clements to destroy Loughman — and

with it BBC ...

104. As a direct result of Weis’ and Carpenter's negligence,

as aforesaid, BBC lost in excess of $8,000,000. Moreover, as a

direct result of their negligence, BBC was unable to survive as

a profitable business which reasonably could have been expected

to earn profits in excess of $15,000,000.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.